Opposition Brief — Panter v. American Synthetic Rubber Corp.
Supreme Court brief1988
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
(® Supreme Coutt, mn
RILED
No. 87-2078 JUL 14 1988
DOERR Spon
SUPREME COURT OF ME UNITED STATES
October Term, 1988
GORDON PANTER, JIM MALLORY, LEO
VINCENT, J. J. EDRINGTON, JOE TEDE-
SCUCCI, R. L. FRENCH, JOHN W. VOGT,
TILFORD WAGERS, J ” — KEN-
NETH PEARL : : Petitioners
AMERICAN SYNTHETIC RUBBER CORPO-
RATION, and
UNITED RUBBER, CORK, LINOLEUM AND
PLASTIC WORKERS OF AMERICA, Local
423 and
UNITED RUBBER, CORK, LINOLEUM AND
PLASTIC WORKERS OF AMERICA, Inter-
national Union AFL-CIO - - - Respondents
On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals
BRIEF OF AMERICAN SYNTHETIC RUBBER
CORPORATION IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
MATTHEW R. WESTFALL
Counsel of Record
C. LAURENCE WOODS III
TONY C. COLEMAN
WESTFALL, TALBOTT & WOODS
501 South Second Street
Louisville, Kentucky 40202
Telephone: (502) 584-7722
Attorneys for American
Synthetic Rubber Corp.
WESTERFIELO-BONTE CO., 619 W. KENTUCKY-P.O. BOX 3251, LOUISVILLE, KY
aA
LIST OF PARENT COMPANIES, SUBSIDIARIES
AND AFFILIATES
Pursuant to Rule 28.1 of the Supreme Court Rules, the
following is a list of all parent companies, subsidiaries and
affiliates of American Synthetic Rubber Corporation.
The following companies have a minority ownership in-
terest in American Synthetic Rubber Corporation:
)
2.
3.
eT Pr SS
American Hoechst Corporation
Chromalloy American Corporation
Converse Rubber Corporation/A Division of
Electra
Dunlop Tire & Rubber Corporation
Goodall Rubber Company
Pickens Footwear
W. R. Grace & Company
Hewitt-Robbins/A Division of Litton Industrial
Systems, Inc.
Lacrosse Rubber Mills Company
Michelin Corporation
Norbalt Rubber Corporation
Rubbermaid Incorporated
Dart Industries, Inc.
Simplex Wire & Cable Company
il
TABLE OF CONTENTS
List of Parent Companies, Subsidiaries and Affiliates saa
wanes OC Raters ...6 6 A eee ili-iv
Counterstatement of the Case ...................... 1- 5
ery Of BEN . i... 6. Se san eee 5- 6
ps PNET ee er er rte Oe 6-12
A. Petitioners Have No Claim Against ASRC Under
the Labor Management Reporting and Disclo-
sure Act, 29 U.S.C. Section 401 et seq. ......... 6
B. Petitioners Have No Claim Against ASRC Under
Section 301 of The Labor Relations Act, 29
U.S.C. Section 1956. 68 a6@, «iss éaceneide canes 6- 7
C. Petitioners’ Seniority Rights Are Not “Status
DONC te ooo vec snk ba ee ys oe 7-9
D. ASRC Did Not Violate The Employee Retire-
ment Income Security Act, 29 U.S.C. Section
1001 et seq. In Limiting Petitioners’ Right to
Beveramee Pay... .cns.00ss nese see 10-12
| rie ag 12
iil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: PAGE
Charland v. Norge Division, Borg-Warner Cor-
poration, 407 F. 2d 1062 (6th Cir., 1969) ....... 9
Duncan v. Peninsula Shipbuilders Assn., 394 F. 2d
NE aga oss 60 a ck oa as oak ween 6
Flight Officers v. United Air Lines, 756 F. 2d 1262
i Cen bs chide pb ccceccseenes 11
Ford Motor Co. v. Huffman, 345 U.S. 330 (1953) .. 9
Gordon v. IBWU-PMA Benefit Funds, 616 F. 2d 433
i ce rc deck ahaa base eee va 11
Hayes v. Consolidated SVC Corp., 517 F. 2d 564 (1st
Cate eve hiss aacdddessecesiacves 7
Phillips v. Amoco Oil Co., 614 F. Supp. 694 (N.D.
ees awa cbaes eave baeneses 11
Republic Steel Corp. v. Maddox, 379 U.S. 650 (1965) 11
Sutton v. Weirton Steel Division of National Steel
Corporation, 724 F. 2d 406 (4th Cir., 1983),
cert. den. 467 U.S. 1205 (1984) ................ 10
Thompson v. New York Central Railroad, 361 F. 2d
I EMS chk nse ensdvescenevssees 6
U.A.W. v. Yardman, Incorporated, 716 F. 2d 1476
(6th Cir., 1983), cert. den. 465 U.S. 1007 (1984). .7, 8, 9
West v. Butler, 621 F. 2d 240 (6th Cir., 1980) ..... 10
White Farm Equipment Company v. White Motor
Corp., 788 F. 2d 1186 (6th Cir., 1986) .......... 10
Statutes:
Employee Retirement Income Security Act,
29 U.S.C. Section 1001 e#t seq. ................- 4,10
ey POC ow ct cece ee ewes 10
EE EE EERO ED ccc ccd es cencces 10
| ee re 11
ES SS | Ee Serer 10
OR OD ed cae c de eeeceesees 10
iv
PAGE
Kentucky Civil Rights Act, Kentucky Revised Stat-
te SN GI ones soy sd awwcauseusonacevess 4
Labor Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. See-
I ae eet a yh oad ask gon ois oe 3, 6
Labor Management Reporting and Disclosure Act, |
et Ses ee I a on oo oa dca combs saniaecns 3, 6 |
Rule:
Rule 17.1, Supreme Court Rules ...... errors 5)
No. 87-2078
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UMTED STATES
October Term, 1988
GORDON PANTER, JIM MAtuory, LEO VIN-
CENT, J. J. EDRINGTON, JOE TEDESCUCCI,
R. L. FrRencu, JoHN W. Voct, TILFoRD
WaceErs, JIM Burns, KENNETH PEARL - Petitioners
Versus
AMERICAN SYNTHETIC RUBBER CORPORA-
TION, and
UNITED RUBBER, CorK, LINOLEUM AND
Puastic WorKERS OF AMERICA, Local
423 and
UNITED RUBBER, CoRK, LINOLEUM AND
Piastic WORKERS OF AMERICA, Interna-
tional Union AFL-CIO - - Respondents
ON PETITICN FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SIXTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS
BRIEF OF AMERICAN SYNTHETIC RUBBER
CORPORATION IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE
In March 1981, Respondents American Synthetic
Rubber Corporation (ASRC) and United Rubber,
Cork, Linoleum and Plastic Workers of America,
Local 423 (Union) negotiated a three year collective
2
bargaining agreement. Under that agreement, em-
ployees who had more than two years of seniority re-
tained recall rights no matter how long they remained
laid off. The agreement also provided for severance
pay upon lay off. However, under the agreement, an
employee who received severance pay forfeited all his
seniority and recall rights. (R. 51 and 65)."
Petitioners were employed by ASRC. They were
represented for collective bargaining purposes by the
Union. Petitioners, as well as a number of other em-
ployees, were laid off in 1981 as a result of ASRC’s
decision to close part of its manufacturing facility.
In March, 1984, the Union and ASRC negotiated
a new collective bargaining agreement. In those nego-
tiations one of ASRC’s initial proposals was to change
the agreement so as to terminate the seniority and re-
eall rights of any employee after a period of layoff of
more than one year. The Union and ASRC eventually
agreed that seniority and recall rights would be termi-
nated after a period of layoff of two years or more.
The provision excluded active employees as well as
those on medical leaves of absence. (R. 114).
The Union and ASRC further agreed that when the
1981-84 contract expired and was replaced by the 1984-
87 contract, those employees who had been on layoff
more than two years would automatically lose their
seniority and recall rights. Since, under both con-
tracts, the relinquishment of seniority and recall rights
1All citations are to the Joint Appendix which is a part of the
record before the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals.
3
was a quid pro quo for the receipt of severance pay,
those employees would have no right to severance pay
once the 1984-87 contract became effective. (R. 72 and
217).
A meeting was scheduled by the Union for March
7, 1984, with ASRC’s employees for the purpose of
voting to ratify the contract. (R. 296). In order to
give the laid off employees, who would lose their sen-
iority under the new contract, time to await the results
of the ratification meeting, the Union and ASRC
agreed that they would have until March 9, 1984 at
6:00 p.m. to apply for their severance pay. The Union
and ASRC also agreed that if the employees did not
apply for their severance pay before that time they
would lose any right to severance pay. (R. 215-216).
All employees on layoff were given notice that they had
to apply for severance pay by that time or they would
lose their right to severance pay. (R. 118).
On March 7, 1984, the Union membership ratified
the contract by a vote of 79 to 7. (R. 296). By 6:00
p.m. on March 9, 1984, all employees who were laid
off had requested their severance pay, except Peti-
tioners. (R. 52).
On March 9, 1984, Petitioners filed suit in the
United States District Court for the Western District
of Kentucky. The Complaint alleged that the Union
and ASRC violated the Labor Management Relations
Act (LMRA), 29 U.S.C. Section 185(a) and the Labor
Management Reporting and Disclosure Act (LMRDA),
29 U.S.C. Section 401 et seq. by negotiating a contract
4
which infringed on Petitioners’ seniority and recall
rights. (R. 14-23).
On March 22, 1984, Petitioners filed an Amended
Complaint. (R. 28-38). It added a claim that the
Union and ASRC violated the Kentucky Civil Rights
Act, KRS Chapter 344, by discriminating against the
Petitioners on the basis of their age.
On April 24, 1985, Petitioners moved for leave to
file a Second Amended Complaint. The District Court
denied this motion but allowed Petitioners to file a
Third Amended Complaint. (R. 39-44). It raised an-
other new claim. Petitioners alleged that ASRC and
the Union conspired to deprive them of their severance
pay benefits in violation of the Employee Retirement
Income Security Act, 29 U.S.C. Section 1001 ef seq.
The District Court granted summary judgment to
the Union and ASRC on each of Petitioners’ claims by
various orders and memoranda entered throughout the
course of the litigation. On December 17, 1984, the
District Court granted ASRC’s motion for summary
judgment on Petitioners’ age discrimination and See-
tion 301 claims. The Court denied Petitioners’ Motion
for a Preliminary Injunction and the Union’s motion
for summary judgment on the Petitioners’ LMRDA
claim. (R. 69-94).
On November 1, 1985, the Court granted ASRC’s
motion for summary judgment on Petitioners’ claim
under the LMRDA as it related to ASRC. (R. 65-68).
On May 1, 1986, the Court denied the Union’s re-
newed motion for summary judgment and granted
5
ASRC’s with respect to all of Petitioners’ claims except
the allegation that ASRC had violated ERISA. (R.
59-63).
On September 5, 1986, the Court granted the Un-
ion’s motion for summary judgment on the LMRDA
claims. The District Court also granted ASRC’s mo-
tion to dismiss Petitioners’ claim for severance pay
under ERISA. The sole claim remaining before the
Court, at this point, was that of Petitioner J.J. Ed-
rington, who alleged that he had applied for his sev-
erance pay prior to the March 9, 1984, deadline, but
had not been paid. (R. 50-58).
On February 9, 1987, the District Court denied Pe-
titioner’s motion to set aside its September 5, 1986,
Order. It also granted ASRC’s motion to dismiss
Edrington’s claim on the basis that he failed to exhaust
the administrative remedies available to him under the
collective bargaining agreement. (R. 46-49).
On February 27, 1987, Petitioners filed a Notice of
Appeal. (R. 45). After briefs were filed and oral
argument was held, the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals
affirmed the District Court’s decision. A per curiam
order was entered on April 25, 1988.
Petitioners have now requested this Court to review
the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals’ decision.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
Supreme Court Rule 17.1 provides that certiorari
will be granted ‘‘only when there are special and im-
portant reasons therefor.’’ Petitioners have presented
no special or important reason that would justify the
6
granting of certiorari in this case. The District Court
properly granted summary judgment on Petitioners’
claims and the Sixth Cireuit Court of Appeals prop-
erly affirmed.
ARGUMENT
A. Petitioners Have No Claim Against ASRC Under The
Labor Management Reporting and Disclosure Act. 29
U.S.C. Section 401 et seq.
Petitioners’ argument under the LMRDA focuses
upon the Union’s alleged violations of this statute.
The District Court properly granted summary judg-
ment to ASRC on the basis that the LMRDA ‘does not
apply to employers but only to the relationship between
the Union and its members.’’ (R. 66). The statute
does not provide for a cause of action against an em-
ployer. See, Thompson v. New York Central Railroad,
2961 F. 2d 137 (2nd Cir., 1966) and Duncan v. Penin-
sula Shipbuilders Assn., 394 F. 2d 237 (4th Cir., 1968).
Petitioners do not contend that the District Court
erred in granting summary judgment to ASRC on
their ¢laims under the LMRDA. Accordingly, there
is no reason for granting certiorari on this claim with
respect to ASRC.
B. Petitioners Have No Claim Against ASRC Under Sec-
tion 301 Of The Labor Management Relations Act, 29
U.S.C. Section 185a et seg.
Petitioners’ argument under Section 301 of the
——= +
LMRA focuses upon the Union’s alleged breach of its
duty of fair representation. Petitioners have no claim
against ASRC under Section 30L.
7
In the original and Amended Complaint in this
case, Petitioners admitted that the collective bargain-
ing agreement, which was the source of their recall
and seniority rights, expired on March 1, 1984. (R.
16 and 31).
Accordingly, Petitioners have not and cannot allege
that there has been a breach of a collective bargaining
agreement. Absent an alleged breach of a collective
bargaining agreement, federal courts do not have juris-
diction under Section 301. Hayes v. Consolidated SVC
Corp., 517 . 2d 564 (1st Cir., 1975).
Again, Petitioners have presented no reason which
would justify the granting of certiorari with respect
to ASRC on their claims under Section 301 of the
LMRA.
C. Petitioners’ Seniority Rights Were Not
“Status Benefits”.
Petitioners contend that their recall and seniority
rights under the 1981-84 collective bargaining agree-
ment were ‘‘status benefits’’ which could not be altered
by ASRC and the Union. Petitioners’ argument is
without merit and provides no reason for the grant of
certiorari in this case.
[In support of their argument, Petitioners rely ex-
clusively on the Sixth Circuit of Appeals decision in
U.AW. v. Yardman, Incorporated, 716 F. 2d 1476
(1983), cert. den. 465 U.S. 1007 (1984). Yardman is
inapposite. In Yardman, the employer, after the ex-
piration of the collective bargaining agreement, ter-
minated the life and health insurance benefits which
8
the agreement had provided retirees. The union sued
under Section 301, on behalf of the retired employees,
contending that the company was obligated to pay the
retirees’ life and health insurance even after the con-
tract’s termination.
The Sixth Cireuit Court of Appeals agreed. In
framing the issue to be decided, the Court stated,
‘‘whether retiree insurance benefits continue beyond
the expiration of the collective bargaining agreement
depends upon the intent of the parties.’”” As the Court
recognized, ‘‘the parties to a collective bargaining
agreement may provide for rights which will survive
termination of their contractual relationship.”’ IJd.,
at 1479.
To determine the parties’ intent, the Court indi-
cated that the language of the agreement, as well as the
context in which it was negotiated, must be examined.
In upholding the union’s claim, the Court found that
the language of the agreement demonstrated an intent
that the retirees’ insurance benefits would continue
after the expiration of the contract. In further sup-
port of its conclusion, the Court held that ‘‘retiree
benefits are in a sense ‘status’ benefits which, as such,
carry with them an inference that they continue so long
as the prerequisite status is maintained.’’ Id., at 1482.
Yardman does not support Petitioner in this case.
Yardman involved a dispute over the interpretation of
ambiguous language in a collective bargaining agree-
ment. The union claimed the language created a
9
vested right to insurance benefits. The employer ar-
gued it did not.
In this case, on the other hand, there is no conten-
tion that Petitioners’ recall or seniority rights turn
upon the interpretation of ambiguous language. There
is no dispute between ASRC and the Union as to the
meaning of the language governing these rights. The
Union and ASRC, through negotiations, agreed to a
provision which clearly eliminated Petitioners’ sen-
iority and reeall rights. Thus, there is no reason to
engage in contract interpretation in order to determine
ASRC’s and the Union’s intent.
The legal issue in this case, which was not present in
Yardman, is whether ASRC and the Union had the
right to eliminate Petitioners’ seniority. ASRC and the
Union had the right to make such a modification. In
fact, courts have uniformly held that seniority rights
are not vested benefits and, thus, are subject to modi-
fication through collective bargaining. Charland v.
Norge Division, Borg-Warner Corporation, 407 F. 2d
1062 (6th Cir., 1969) and Local 1251, United Auto-
mobile Workers v. Robertshaw Controls Co., 405 F. 2d
29 (2nd Cir., 1968). This Court recognized as much
in Ford Motor Co. v. Huffman, 345 U.S. 330 (1953)
wherein it was held that a union has the authority and
discretion to negotiate seniority provisions which affect
employees differently.
Petitioners’ argument that their seniority and ‘re-
call rights were ‘‘status’’ benefits not subject to change
presents no reason for the grant of certiorari.
10
D. ASRC Did Not Violate The Employee Retirement In-
come Security Act, 29 U.S.C. 1001 et seq., In Limiting
Petitioners’ Right To Severance Pay.
Petitioners’ final argument is that ASRC and the
Union violated the Employee Retirement Income Se-
curity Act (ERISA), 29 U.S.C. Section 1001 et seq.
Petitioners’ argument is legally baseless and presents
no reason for granting certiorari.
The District Court properly granted summary
judgment to ASRC on Petitioners’ severance pay
claims. Provisions concerning severance pay are ‘‘em-
ployee welfare benefit plan[s]’’ as defined by ERISA.
29 U.S.C. Section 1002(1). The ‘‘vesting’’ require-
ments of ERISA do not apply to benefits provided by
‘employee welfare benefit plan[s].’’ 29 U.S.C. See-
tion 1051(1). Also see, White Farm Equipment Com-
pany Vv. White Motor Corp., 788 F. 2d 1186 (6th Cir.,
1986). Since severance benefits are not vested, they
are subject to modification through collective bargain-
ing. Sutton v. Weirton Steel Division of National
Steel Corporation, 724 F. 2d 406 (4th Cir., 1983), cert.
den. 467 U.S. 1205 (1984).
The only provisions of ERISA Petitioners claim
ASRC violated are 29 U.S.C. Section 1140 and 1141.
Section 1140 only applies to and protects vested rights.
It affords no protection to unvested benefits such as
severance pay. Sutton, supra, at 410-411. Section
1141 of ERISA is a criminal! provision which provides
no civil cause of action. West v. Butler, 621 F. 2d
240, 244 (6th Cir., 1980).
11
Petitioners also argue that ASRC’s actions in
limiting their right to severance pay were arbitrary
and capricious. The arbitrary and capricious stand-
ard of review is imposed by ERISA on administrators
of a pension or welfare plan. 29 U.S.C. Section 1104.
Also see, Gordon vy. IBWU-PMA Benefit Funds, 616
F. 2d 483 (9th Cir., 1980). Sueh fiduciary require-
ments only apply in connection with the administration
of employee benefit plans. ‘They do not apply to a modi-
fication or termination of a plan which does not pro-
vide vested benefits. Sutton, supra, at 410-411; Phil-
lips, supra; and Flight Officers v. United Air Lines,
756 F. 2d 1262 (7th Cir., 1985).
ASRC and the Union had the right under ERISA
to agree that Petitioners would not be entitled to sev-
erance pay if it was not requested before 6:00 p.m. on
March 9, 1984. The District Court properly held that
there was no violation of ERISA and granted sum-
mary judgment to ASRC on that basis. Petitioners
have presented no reason why the District Court was
incorrect.
Petitioners mention that J.J. Edrington requested
severance pay vefore the March 9, 1984 cutoff date.
(pp. 18-19). The Distriet Court’s summary judgment
vu Edrington’s claim for severance pay did not involve
ERISA. Rather, Edrington’s claim was dismissed be-
cause he failed to exhaust the administrative remedies
available to him under the collective bargaining agree-
ment. (R. 48). This decision was proper under Pe-
public Steel Corp. v. Maddox, 379 U.S. 650 (1965).
12
As with Petitioners’ other claims, their arguments
based upon ERISA present no reason for this court
to grant certiorari.
CONCLUSION
In light of the foregoing, American Synthetic Rub-
ber Corporation requests that this petition be denied.
MatrHew R. WEsT
Counsel of Recofa
C. LAuRENcE Woops III
Tony C. CoLEMAN
WESTFALL, TALBOTT & Woops
501 South Second Street
Louisville, Kentucky 40202
Telephone: (502) 584-7722
Attorneys for American
Synthetic Rubber Corporation
ae AE Ah aD.
ee)
mt a —
< ea eNO as gd mn
Dine
4 me gigiea tee
i
;
i
4
j
:
2
:
:
4
a
13
CERTIFICATE
It is hereby certified that a copy of the foregoing has
been served by mail pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 28.3
upon Michael Boylan, Counsel for Petitioners, 807 W. Mar-
ket Street, Louisville, Kentucky 40202; John Frith Stew art,
300 Marion E. Taylor Bldg., Louisville, Kentucky 40202
and Paul Malesick, 87 S. High Street, Akron, Ohio 44308,
Counsel for Respondent Unions.
WY A (bed
Attorney for Ameri
Synthetic Rubber Cory at
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.