Opposition Brief — Interstate Commerce Commission v. Texas

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 87-1938

tee me

In The Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1987

2 ih Siti: Sa aa oem eg aes encus

- h x ti % ‘ ele : fet ye oy 3m MS : f

Os

on

INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION, Petitioner,

STATE OF TEXAS, ET AL., Respondents.

v.

OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

(CORRECTED)

JIM MATTOX

Attorney General of Texas

MARY F, KELLER

First Assistant Attorney

General

ANNE E. SWENSON

Assistant Attorney General

ROBERT OZER*

Chief, Class Action Section

Enforcement Division

P. O. Box 12548

Austin, Texas 78711-2548

(512) 463-2080

* Counsel of Record

July, 1988

WILLIAM PAUL, RODGERS, JR.

General Counsel

CHARLES D.: GRAY |

Assistant General Counsel

National Association of Regulatory

Utility Commissioners

1102 ICC Building

P. O. Box 684

Washington, D.C.

(202) 898-2200

20044-0684

P. MICHAEL COLE

BYRD R. LATHAM

Special Assistant Attorneys General

Alabama Public Service Commission

P, O. Box 470

Athens, Alabama

(205) 232-2010

35611-0470

a GA FR RE Bsc cntintccpecnaivitscensencssidenesaviesoacninssitie

Pe ROI SIF BRIE NPRM cskesensssazsrcconsaniaravacnacisrnionsntacnsnncions

A. Statutory Framework for Federal and State

I sisi ith a ialicliinsincceinntiliciilabsiatdiipiiniinhiansesnsasees

B. Interplay of Proceedings Before The

is

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PRESEN UG MIMS REWRD CRUE ED icnsicissccsssscscnsssscicnsisenscnsesinese

I.

II.

This Court Lacks Jurisdiction To Review

TO FRR GORPCUIT SE ECIBIOU ccc cisvcccnecicscscetccesecectess.

A. This Court Lacks Jurisdiction Absent

Proper Representative of the

RI siiiiinsdheripaensseniccnicdinnninesaincencddsnasnnimnncens

This Court Lacks Jurisdiction To Decide

Merits Before Judgment In the Fifth

I pail scariest el aids atnasnamndeesencrnincactonces

This Court And Fifth Circuit Lack

Jurisdiction To Order Injunctive Relief

SA SHE Piedad ceicsnnsiensonerncenidtcvcinns

ICC Lacked Jurisdiction To Issue The

Orders Sought To Be Enforced,

Consequently This Court Has No

Authority To Enforce Them...

For Prudential Reasons This Court Should

SE a a istiteibaicicsacaniitatclinncneinerkebintapsanbipeisicnasen

A. To Grant Certiorari Here Would Be An

Uneconomical Use Of Judicial Resources

Because It Is Unlikely This Court Could

Decide Whether An Injunction Should

Interstate Commerce Commission and Judicial

be RIE REESE SUS Rs Rp en

Proceedings Before The Fifth Circuit................

ll

PAGE

Issue Before The Fifth Circuit Rules On 3

CR UIIS ecscinsisnniesssnpninhskdasiecaiacembadatipiactiniannbinitins 13

B. Circuit Courts Should Have the

Opportunity To Interpret Service

EOE RBG ceissncsrsssarsscntuaniassnstiiemedesiateindemnaninnabaamdante 13

C The Issue of Whether An Injunction

Should Issue Is Case Specific And Not

Worthy Of This Court's Review.................. 15

III. ICC Cannot Prevail On The Merits Of The

Armstrong Petition For Review..................::ss00+ 16

A. ICC Lacked Jurisdiction To Issue The

Armstrong Declaratory Orders................... 16

B. Service Storage Does Not Apply Where

Commerce Is Facially Intrastate............... 20

C Even Assuming The ICC Had Jurisdiction,

Under Younger-Burford Analysis The ICC

Or This Court Should Decline To Exercise

BO, SITING a toassancsnehecnennssnneniiiibanssitniliciaeamiitindilliskiaaamaaaanstall 23

APPENDIX A (two letters between counsel for

Armstrong and the General Counsel for the

APPENDIX B (document index obtained from

A> ORME BO TT TEI aici ass sinsahtinnseiaiiannlaanancenanmienaitoaaiinn 9a

APPENDIX C (affidavit of ICC's Freedom of

Information/Privacy Officer)..............ccccccssssseececeeesesees lla

APPENDIX D (Court of Appeals Order,

POOURRNIOE BF, FIT) .xccosnisscscstiepaeenteeiteainances 22a

APPENDIX E (E&B letter requesting jury trial

Mk WRNRD GIRUECE GOMOD. iciicictsicacimiminccetioenins 24a

ili

INDEX OF AUTHORITIES

Cases PAGE

Beers v. North American Van Lines Inc., 836 F.2d

5 ER eae none mare eEeD 18

Burford v. Sun Oil Co., 319 U.S. 315 (1943)... .. 23

Califano v. Sanders, 430 U.S. 99 (1977) ......... ee ceeeeeee 17

Castle v. Hayes Freight Lines, 348 U.S. 61

acct tndtasstnesiinnoonensenacdonenine 21

Chick Kam Choo v. Exxon Corp., ____ U.S.

108 S. Ct. 1684, _- L.Ed.2d _

i sd andsbiscdbicsiabonsbons 23

City of Miami v. ICC, 669 F.2d 219 (Sth Cir. |

as saenaetnssonsenasshans 25

_ Civil Aeronautics Board v. American Air

NE BEE COUR conciccccssccncssnnsssccsccscsseccoceses 10

Coleman v. PACCAR, Inc., 424 U.S. 1301 (1976) ....... 9

Coopers & Lybrand v. Livesay, 437 U.S. 463

ia es catcasitannsamsennddenebscbeesoensateonesecenes 8

District of Columbia Court of Appeal v. Feldman,

I os seat asisdincnstisnehsnnnebmnacnsonsonanees 19

E & B v. Mattox, No. A-86-CA-466 (W.D. Tex. Aus.

SEES ARATE OCT eo

Franchise Tax Board v. Construction Laborers

WE BEMIEE, SOS U.S. 1 C1DGS) nccceccccccsccccecescccsessecees 18

Funbus Systems, Inc. v. State of California Public

Utilities Commission, 801 F.2d 1120 (9th Cir.

iis etnncateenetnenspinnnenteneneseuresesenensccencosesse 16

Greenfield & Montague Transportation Area v.

Donovan, 758 F.2d 22 (1st Cir. 1985)... eee 19

Gulfstream Aerospace Corporation v. Mayacamas

Corporation, 2.2. 2» oe & Ct. 11393, 99

i ssc daadatichaceshonenisoneenenahenadanacceshenssenoseeee 8

Illinois Terminal Railroad v. ICC, 671 F.2d 1214

Nee a i cicsateniieneinenmmenncaninbetopenentestenennenenbaians 17

iv

INDEX OF AUTHORITIES, continued

PAGE

Jones Motor Co. v. Pennsylvania Public Utility

Copmenmiaie, SEE UB. DICT iiccaciecaiccncnscsnccsssssssccccseeee 21

Louisiana Public Service Commission v. F.C.C.,

A Se Sr iiicacihnitnilinigiddicnnntnineidiianbtetebintntaeenennn 16, 23

Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Thompson,

EPID iinciterintenitctnenicecintateetninitnninnasiininennmmenes 18

Missouri Pacific Railroad Company v. Railroad

Commission of Texas, 617 F. Supp. 653

(W.D. Tex.), modified on appeal, 833 F.2d 570

oe ME _. SRRIR aOR NT ORE ot Ee 16

New Orleans Public Service, Inc. v. City of New

Orleans, 798 F.2d 858 (Sth Cir. 1986), cert.

one; Us. .... 17 SA. 19, FS

SE SPE OIE csctemncnctineuncsadbidinstnmeincininieniaianctananeaatecesn 23

Pennsylvania Bureau of Corrections v. United States

Marshalls Service, 474 U.S. 43 (1985)................4 10, 11

Pennzoil v. Texaco, ___ U.S. ____, 107 S. Ct.

Re Se ea 6 0 OEE Pidedisiesdicticancliiestacnbsttedeonnianaenseneceses 23

Port of Boston Marine Terminal Association v.

Rederiaktiebolajet Transatlantic, 400 U.S. 62

ore oseninecacsitiarsiletiidlceiacnilpaiinlbclciahietaitensiniditadatitbinasocnenion 25

Public Service Commission of Utah v. Wycoff Co.,

Oe Re MER UIIMED stickinicinsitesnsdimnieelaaiiceianiniaitaaiaeenimnnemminen 17

Railroad Commission of Texas v. Pullman Co., 312

ee ts seceicehnisin Mlls-cunssenstinienshiniatilacichtaibisiiipmianecedsmeniaennase 23

Rooker v. Fidelity Trust Co., 263 U.S. 4136

EI ashdasisdicnididieseninaneletachahdsiacleabiiasedincibaslehdednieseh Ahdisbsimosnieennecnenn 19

Schenck Transportation, Inc. Inter-County

Motor Coach, Inc., 350 F.Supp. 306 (1972)............... 22

' Service Storage & Transfer Co. v. Virginia,

es ee ee eiiiihccctaniiinadicidatbndienstnihalsnidneitéaiaianinicn passim

INDEX OF AUTHORITIES, continued

PAGE

Skelly Oil Co. v. Phillips Petroleum, 339 U.S. 667

Sei sbecieiltshcnsienidhecaicsnahsiclacenslieetiiaciieiadabiaaiccihaasaienealleihbadasdatieiditiris 18

Texas v. United States, 837 F.2d 184

ee I echinacea sthcanithiiticesiinnininitiiniciinidets 6, 8, 12, 22

United States v. Idaho, 298 U.S. 105 (1936)... 17

United States v. Los Angeles and S.L.R., 273 U.S.

aD ksi cicihcll Rebacadiaatabces ac lisiinkceetesanaiabannateindesteltianice a3

United States v. Providence Journal Co., ___s—«zUS..

___, 108 S. Ct. 1502, 99 L.Ed.2d 785 (1988)....,..... 8

United States v. Rice, 327 U.S. 742 (1946)........00000.. 10

Wheeler Lumbers Bridge and Supply Co. v.

COMO SUNN, BN TE. DES Cha ekccnccnnsisaninscsseccsccccess 10

Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971).....................sccc00 22

Statutes

Ty TET ETE <snscunpndninienicinnaaanaciinsiainsiemsianmmiamianieialain ae

Fe TIT... csn-snnanessiibssinnnssiieesiinenehenbdenmannnamaniaiaile aa

sc siscescnaeniasseinopeiibiniinentiendananiinteaiabanbilaniiels 9

ST sina. iscichatssgieedeinicshehiieiibidbbenenunasendoaaadiiine 12

Fe i inisicnitisccssntinsnsinssnssncnnibassbiinasatentanaaaiinaes 11

5 2 lh See RA CC ROE aN me eR MPa cN nro 6, 10, 11

TT is niin isccslaissasedeialdipbicoeetmebiaieiasiinbaedsianaiousianaa 11

iiss athivicnisaitanetcsinvniashasieansiadsbennenieiboaaniiieinaaisahals 8

ai cca eth le wanna 8

A a ais viiasivsiccesscnninnstiiusleineslidncdaaasinnbadinniasio 21

ae ee ID i casncinnshccicinniantdindasionnenadsienabenen l

a es te I Niiinis cision ssiiniincenvaxansnasaebaonsenandianiios 1

A as Oe I isis icdnanisninsipadestiacininsonenten 2, 16, 21, Z2

TEX. RIV, CAV. BEAT. FAIUE, GR. DD icccccnsccccscessscccsscccsssens y

vi

INDEX OF AUTHORITIES, continued

PAGE

Regulations

SITTIN 1 TDL cncesssencsecenseesacsnesscsstasssopsunssonsessseiasenphocassantieles 7

Miscellaneous

Stern and Gressman, Supreme Court Practice

CGH 0d. TFB)... ccccccccccccscccscessccccscscscssocsevconsssesesososssneseassseses 9

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is purportedly an interlocutory appeal, taken

by a federal agency without the authorization of the

Solicitor General, from the denial of a preliminary

injunction. The Fifth Circuit has already set oral

argument on the very issues raised by this appeal for

the week of September 5, 1988. In all likelihood,

that court will have begun to write a decision on the

merits before this Court rules on the instant petition.

Under these circumstances alone, this petition should

be denied.

However, assuming the Court wishes to further

consider this matter, the State of Texas (hereinafter

"Texas") submits the following statement of the case.

This is done because this case presents an involved

procedural history, and because Texas is extremely

dissatisfied with the Interstate Commerce

Commission's (hereinafter "ICC") statement of the

case.

A. Statutory Framework for Federal and State

Jurisdiction

Although for jurisdictional and prudential reasons

this Court should not reach the merits, it is important

to note at the outset the statutory framework

establishing federal and state jurisdiction over motor

carrier transportation. Once this framework is

understood it is readily apparent that the ICC's

reliance on Service Storage & Transfer Co. v. Virginia,

359 U.S. 171 (1959), is misplaced.

Congress has very clearly delineated the scope of

the ICC's jurisdiction over transportation by a motor

carrier. Under 49 U.S.C. § 10521(a)(1)(A) and (B), the

2

ICC has jurisdiction over motor carrier transportation

that is:

(1) between a place in -

(A) A state and a place in another state;

(B) A state and another place in the

same state through another state;[']

In contrast, when the commerce is on its face

intrastate, Congress has, pursuant to 49 U.S.C. §

10521(b)(1), explicitly and emphatically left such

regulation to the states:

(b) This subtitle does not

(1) .. . affect the power of a state to

regulate intrastate transportation

provided by a motor carrier.

The disputed commerce in this case takes place

solely within the State of Texas and is therefore

governed by 49 U.S.C. § 10521(b)(1).

B. Interplay of Proceedings Before The _ Interstate

Commerce Commission and Judicial Trial Forums

In early 1985 the Texas Department of Public

Safety initiated a motor carrier investigation of

Reeves Transportation Company of Georgia

(hereinafter "Reeves") pursuant to TEX. REV. CIV.

1 Service Storage involved moves out of and then back into

Virginia, which implicated the ICC's primary jurisdiction

pursuant to this provision. See Infra at 20-22.

STAT. ANN. art. 911b (Vernon 1964 and Supp. 1988).

This investigation concerned certain facially

intrastate movements from the Dallas-Fort Worth

area to other points in Texas. On March 25, 1985,

prompted by the ongoing state investigation and in

anticipation of a state court enforcement action, the

shipper, Armstrong World’ Industries, Inc.

(hereinafter "“Armstrong"), filed a "Petition for

Declaratory Order Seeking Determination of the

Interstate Nature of Transportation Activities Within

the State of Texas" before the ICC. The Petition

sought a declaratory order, pursuant to 5 U.S.C. §

554(e), that certain commerce within the State of

Texas was interstate in nature. The State of Texas

intervened in the proceeding. No oral hearing was

granted? and a procedure was established to allow

written comments to be filed with the ICC within

thirty days of the notice of the proceeding.

Thereafter, on October 3, 1985, Texas filed an

enforcement action in state court pursuant to TEX.

REV. CIV. STAT. ANN. art. 911b (Vernon 1964 and

Supp. 1988). This action was styled State of Texas v.

E & B Carpet Mills, A Division of Armstrong World

Industries, Inc. and Reeves Transportation Company

of Georgia, Cause No. 386,524 in the 353rd Judicial

District Court of Travis County, Texas. Then, in light

of the proceeding in state court, Texas, on or about

October 4, 1985, requested in its comments filed in

the ICC proceeding that the ICC defer jurisdiction to

the state court action in the interest of comity.

2 One of the issues still pending before the Fifth Circuit in

Texas v. United States, No. 87-4725 (hereinafter "Armstrong

Petition for Review"), is whether (assuming the ICC had

jurisdiction to issue the Declaratory Orders under review) an

oral hearing should have been granted.

Instead, Armstrong and the ICC engaged in secret,

ex parte correspondence concerning ways to get the

case out of the state court and into a federal court.3

In that correspondence, the ICC's General Counsel

suggested to Armstrong that the ICC would

intervene against Texas in a proceeding in federal

court achieved by removal or by an independent

action. Armstrong subsequently sought to obtain

removal to federal court but was unsuccessful.

Thereafter, the ICC decision in No. MC-C-10963,

Armstrong World Industries, Inc. - Transportation

Within Texas - Petition for Declaratory Order was

served on April 23, 1986 (hereinafter "Armstrong

I"). Armstrong then attempted to use Armstrong I

to obtain dismissal in the state court action before

discovery could proceed and otherwise to thwart

fact finding in that forum. However, the state

district court judge allowed discovery to proceed.

3 Texas has obtained copies of two letters between counsel

for Armstrong and the General Counsel for the ICC.

Appendix A. Further evidence of these as well as other ex

parte contacts has been obtained through a document index,

(Appendix B), received pursuant to a Freedom of

Information Act (hereinafter "FOIA") request, as well as in

an affidavit submitted in a FOIA lawsuit in the Western

District of Texas styled Texas v. ICC, Cause No. A-87-CA-016

(W.D. Tex. Austin Div.). Appendix C. In the FOIA action the

lower court ordered the ICC to disclose six of the cleven

documents Texas requested. That case is also pending in the

Fifth Circuit on cross appeals by Texas and the ICC. Texas v.

Interstate Commerce Commission, U.S.C.A. Sth Cir., No. 88-

1223. A motion to consolidate that case with the appeal

pending on the Armstrong Petition for Review has _ been

denied. Oral argument in the Armstong Petition for Review

has been scheduled for the week of September 5, 1988.

That discovery formed the basis of a

Supplemental Petition to Reopen before the ICC.

The Supplemental Petition to Reopen alleged

Substantial inconsistencies between Armstrong's

affidavits before the ICC and an Armstrong witness

who was deposed pursuant to discovery in state

court. In the meantime, while Texas was preparing

this Supplemental Petition to Reopen, Armstrong

and the ICC were secretly exchanging drafts of a

lawsuit which Armstrong later filed in federal court

in the Western District of Texas. This 42 U.S.C. §

1983 and antitrust lawsuit, styled E & B v. Mattox,

No. A-86-CA-466 (W.D. Tex. Aus. Div.), sought

money damages and an injunction against state

officials for pursuing the state court action. The ICC

sought to intervene in that lawsuit one day after it

was filed.

After filing the Supplemental Petition to Reopen

and learning of the federal court action, Texas

moved to dismiss before the ICC on _ both

jurisdictional grounds and grounds of bias.4 The ICC

decided the Petition to Reopen Armstrong I against

Texas in Armstrong Il (served August 25, 1987)

even though it was aligned with Armstrong as a

party in Armstrong's suit for money damages and

had sued Texas pursuant to Armstrong I in federal

district court. Not surprisingly, the ICC found in

favor of Armstrong.

4 Both of these issues are currently pending before the

Fifth Circuit in the Armstrong Petition for Review.

ll

C “Proceedings Before The Fifth Circuit

Texas filed its Petition for Review on or about

October 15, 1987. Simultaneously, Texas filed a

Motion to Summarily Reverse and Vacate or, in the

Alternative, to Summarily Dismiss. In that motion

Texas contended that Service Storage and Transfer

Co., Inc. v. Virginia, 359 U.S. 171 (1959), did not

apply and that the ICC lacked primary jurisdiction to

even issue the declaratory orders under review, let

alone obtain the injunction the ICC seeks from this

Court. See infra at 16-25. This motion was denied

by order dated November 19, 1987. Appendix D.

However, the Fifth Circuit made no ruling on the

questions presented by the motion, but rather

ordered full briefing and oral argument on _ the

jurisdictional issues raised in the motion. Oral

argument is scheduled on these issues the week of

September 5, 1988.

On or about November 17, 1987, the ICC moved

for an injunction before the Fifth Circuit pursuant to

the All Writs Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1651. In denying the

injunction, the Fifth Circuit noted that the Texas

appeal was basically jurisdictional with the

controversy swirling around the “proper

interpretation of Service Storage & Transfer Co., Inc.

v. Virginia ... ." Texas v. United States, 837 F.2d 184,

185 (Sth Cir. 1988). Still the court deferred ruling

on the merits.

Obviously, we intimate no opinion as to the

merits of the administrative appeal or the

state's likelihood of success.

Id. at 185 n.1.

By this Petition for Certiorari based on Service

Storage, both the ICC and Armstrong seek to have

this Court summarily resolve (ICC Petition at 10-11)

the very issues for which both the ICC and

Armstrong have requested and_ received oral

argument from the Fifth Circuit. See ICC Brief,

Armstrong Petition for Review at i, Armstrong Brief

at vii. In response, this court should summarily deny

the ICC's Petition for Certiorari.

REASONS FOR DENYING WRIT

I. This Court Lacks Jurisdiction To Review The Fifth

Circuit's Decision

A. This Court Lacks Jurisdiction Absent Proper

Representative of the Government

The ICC has confessed in a footnote in its Petition

for Certiorari that the Solicitor General has not

authorized the filing of the Petition. ICC Petition for

Certiorari at 1-2 n.l. Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 518(a),

"the Attorney General and the Solicitor General shall

conduct and argue suits in the Supreme Court .. . in

which the United States is interested." See also 28

C.F.R. § 0.20 (1982) (delegating to Solicitor General

authority as to "“[cjJonducting, or assigning and

supervising, all Supreme Court cases, including

appeals, petitions for and in opposition to certiorari,

brief and arguments, and .. . settlement thereof.")

"Absent a proper representative of the Government

as a petitioner . . . jurisdiction is lacking and the writ

of certiorari" must be denied. United States v.

Providence Journal Co., USS. : , 108 S.

Ct. 1502, 1511, 99 L.Ed.2d 785, 801 (1988).5

B. This Court Lacks Jurisdiction To Decide Merits

Before Judgment In the Fifth Circuit

The ICC has contended that -interlocutory review is

appropriate here because denial of the preliminary

injunction is collateral to the proceeding still pending

in the Fifth Circuit. ICC Petition at 9. For an order to

be collateral "the order must ‘resolve an important

issue completely separate from the merits of the

action.’” Gulfstream Aerospace Corporation vy.

Mayacamas Corporation, ___ US. : , 108 S.

Ct. 1133, 1137, 99 L.Ed.2d 296, 305 (1988), citing

Coopers & Lybrand v. Livesay, 437 U.S. 463, 468

(1978). This proceeding, however, does not seek to

"resolve an important issue completely separate from

the merits of the action." Rather this proceeding

seeks by interlocutory review to resolve the proper

interpretation of Service Storage. The Fifth Circuit

explicitly expressed "no opinion as to the merits" of

the administrative appeal and expressly left open the

proper interpretation of Service Storage. Texas v.

United States, 837 F.2d at 185.

5 Although the ICC may have some independent authority

to litigate under 28 U.S.C. §§ 2323 and 2348, such authority

does not extend to suit in this Court. See 28 U.S.C. § 518(a).

Moreover the denial of the preliminary injunction by the

Fifth Circuit had no effect on the "validity" of the ICC order

within the meaning of 28 U.S.C. § 2323. Only after judgment

on the merits of the validity of the order is the Armstrong

Petition for Review subject to review by this Court.

Moreover, neither the Attorney General nor the Solicitor

General has, "dispose[d] of or discontinue[d]" the Petition for

Review within the meaning of 28 U.S.C. § 2348.

SA Ss Gee CLE

Moreover, this Petition concerns an application for

a preliminary injunction. In such an application, this

Court must consider the probability of success on the

merits in determining whether to issue an injunction.

Accordingly, this court must consider not only the

jurisdictional issues surrounding the _ proper

interpretation of Service Storage, but also all other

issues currently pending before the Fifth Circuit.

Before the Fifth Circuit, Texas has briefed and argued

(1) that the ICC was biased; (2) that assuming the ICC

has jurisdiction, it erred in not allowing an oral

hearing or allowing discovery, particularly in light of

factual inconsistencies and the allegations of bias;

and, (3) that the ICC decision holding disputed

commerce is interstate is contrary to law and

precedent.© In effect this Court must review the

entire case pending before the Fifth Circuit before a

final judgment by that Court.

Although Congress expressly provided in 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1) that the Supreme Court may utilize its

certiorari jurisdiction either "before or after

rendition of judgment" by a court of appeals,

certiorari before judgment is “an extremely rare

occurrence." Coleman v. PACCAR, Inc., 424 U.S. 1301,

1304 n.* (1976). Moreover, in cases involving

appeals to circuit courts from an administrative

agency, exercise of this Court's jurisdiction before a

judgment by the court of appeals may be tantamount

to an exercise of this Court's original jurisdiction.

Stern and Gressman, Supreme Court Practice 43-44

(6th ed. 1986). Review by this Court that "embraces

6 Tangentially Texas has also argued there was not

substantial evidence to support the ICC's administrative

decision and that it failed to place the burden on Armstrong

to show that the commerce was interstate.

10

the whole case" as opposed to "definite and distinct

questions of law" in advance of any judicial action on

the merits “would be an exercise of original

jurisdiction by this Court contrary to the

constitutional provision which prescribes that its

jurisdiction shall be appellate in all cases other than

those affecting ambassadors, other public ministers

and consuls, and those in which a State shall be a

party." Wheeler Lumbers Bridge and Supply Co. v.

United States, 281 U.S. 572, 576 (1930); see also Civil

Aeronautics Board v. American Air Transport, 344

U.S. 4, 5 (1952) ("This Court does not normally

review orders of administrative agencies in the first

instance ... ."); United States v. Rice, 327 U.S. 742, 747

(1946).

Here, by granting the ICC Petition for Certiorari,

this Court would not only be stripping the circuit

court of its proper jurisdiction to decide the merits of

this controversy, but arguably exercising original

jurisdiction without its proper’ invocation.

Accordingly, the Petition should be denied.

C This Court And Fifth Circuit Lack Jurisdiction To

Order Injunctive Relief Under All Writs Act

The ICC brought an original action for an

injunction to enforce the Armstrong declaratory

order pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1651, the Ail Writs Act.

"The All Writs Act is a residual source of authority to

issue writs which are not otherwise covered by

statute." Pennsylvania Bureau of Corrections Vv.

United States Marshalls Service, 474 U.S. 34, 43

(1985). However, when a _ statute specifically

addresses a particular situation, it controls rather

than the All Writs Act. See id.

11

In this situtation, 28 U.S.C. § 1336(a) expressly

provides that "the district courts shall have

jurisdiction of any civil action to enforce in whole or

in part, any order of the Interstate Commerce

Commission ... ." (Emphasis added). See also 28 U.S.C.

§ 2321(b) ("The procedure in the district courts in

actions to enforce in whole or in part any order of

the Interstate Commerce Commission other than for

payment of money or the collection of fines, penalties

and forfeitures, shall be as provided in this chapter.")

(emphasis added).

Here, these more specific sections control over the

residual All Writs Act provision invoked by the ICC.

See Pennsylvania Bureau of Corrections, 474 U.S. at

43. Accordingly, because Congress has expressly

indicated that enforcement of an ICC order must first

proceed in federal district court, this Court, like the

Fifth Circuit, lacks jurisdiction to consider the

injunctive relief sought. This is particularly true in

the present case where the ICC has previously moved

in a federal district court for the very relief

requested here. In an order dated October 7, 1986,

Judge Smith, in E&B Carpet Mills v. Jim Mattox, Civil

Action No. A-86-CA-446, after considering the four

requirements for a preliminary injunction, denied

the identical relief sought here, holding that:

The Court, after examining the entire

record, finds that the Plaintiff has failed

to establish irreparable harm at this time

and that the _ preliminary injunction

Should be denied. While the harm to

Plaintiff may be difficult to prove, the

Court finds that damages could be

determined.

12

ICC Petition, Appendix G at 48-50a (emphasis added).

This court lacks jurisdiction to entertain an action

seeking to attack Judge Smith's order collaterally,

particularly when "[{nJeither Armstrong nor the ICC

appealed the decision though entitled to by 28 U.S.C.

§ 1292(a).". Texas v. United States, 837 F.2d at 186.7

D. ICC Lacked Jurisdiction To Issue The Orders

Sought To Be Enforced, Consequently This Court

Has No Authority To Enforce Them

Aside from the above jurisdictional arguments,

which are specific to this proceeding, Texas has

contended in the Fifth Circuit that the ICC lacked

jurisdiction to even issue the orders in Armstrong I

and JJ, let alone obtain an injunction. Alternatively

Texas has argued that the ICC and federal courts

must abstain in deference to the ongoing action in

state court and that the declaratory orders issued in

Armstrong are advisory and not subject to review.

However, before presenting those arguments (see

infra at 16-25), which constitute the merits of the

-controversy in the Fifth Circuit, this Court should

consider several prudential reasons for denying the

writ.

7 The ICC has acknowledged that it has filed another

motion for an injunction before Judge Smith but that he has

not ruled on it. ICC Petition at 4 n.6. Rather than an original

action for an injunction in the Fifth Circuit, the ICC should

have sought to mandamus the district court to rule on the

motion.

FERNS EMER RIE ARS

13

II. For Prudential Reasons This Court Should Deny

The Writ

A. To Grant Certiorari Here Would Be An

Uneconomical Use Of Judicial Resources Because

It Is Unlikely This Court Could Decide Whether

An Injunction Should Issue Before The Fifth

Circuit Rules On the Merits

The Fifth Circuit has scheduled oral argument in

the Armstrong Petition for Review the week of

September 5, 1988. Given the time it will take to

decide this Petition, set up a briefing schedule,

calendar oral argument, and render an opinion, it is

very unlikely this Court can render a ruling before

the Fifth Circuit decides the merits of the Armstrong

Petition for Review. Accordingly, this Court could

better employ its resources than by granting

certiorari.

B. Circuit Courts Should Have the Opportunity To

Interpret Service Storage

Aside from the Armstrong proceeding, there are

at least six (6) other cases that have either been

decided by the ICC or are currently pending that

involve the same fact pattern as is present here.8

8 Matilack, Inc. -- Transportation Within Missouri --

Petition for Declaratory Order, ICC Docket No. MC-C-10999

(hereinafter "Matlack"); Quaker Oats Company --

Transportation Within Texas and California -- Petition for a

Declaratory Order, Docket No. MC-C-30006 (hereinafter

"Quaker Oats"); Victoria Terminal Enterprise, Inc. -

Transportation of Fertilizer Within Texas - Petition for

Declaratory Order, Docket No. MC-C-30002 (hereinafter

"Victoria Terminal"); James River Corporation of Virginia-

Transportation Through Woodland, California - Petition for

14

Three of these cases, like the Petition for Review

filed in Armstrong, have made their way to courts of

appeal in the various circuits.?

None of the cases filed in the circuit courts has

been decided, although all cases present the identical

jurisdictional argument that is present in this case.

See infra at 16-25. Rather than seizing jurisdiction

from the Fifth Circuit to decide these issues as the

ICC suggests, this Court should allow the issues to

percolate in the various circuits, then see if a conflict

arises.

Declaratory Order, Docket No. MC-C-30044; RAC Transport

Company Inc. - Transportation of Appliances Within

Colorado - Petition for Declaratory Order, Docket No. MC-C-

30052; Bigbee Transportation, Inc. - Transportation Within

Alabama, Mississippi and Georgia - Petition for Declaratory

Order, Docket No. MC-C-30065.

9 Matlack is filed in the Eighth Circuit under two docket

numbers: Middlewest Motor Freight Bureau v. Interstate

Commerce Commission, No. 87-2043 and Steere Tank Lines,

Inc. v. Interstate Commerce Commission, No. 87-2429. Quaker

Oats is pending in the Ninth Circuit also under two dockets:

California Trucking Association, Inc. v. United States of

America, No. 87-7439 and Steere Tank Lines, Inc. v.

Interstate Commerce Commission, No. 88-7041. Victoria

Terminal is pending in the Fifth Circuit: Steere Tank Lines,

Inc. v. United States of America, No. 88-4001. Copies of both

the initial decisions ("Matlack 1," “Quaker Oats 1,” and

"Victoria I") and the decisions on discretionary appeal

("Matlack Il,” “Quaker Oats Il,” “and “Victoria Il") have been

lodged with the Clerk of this court.

15

C The Issue of Whether An Injunction Should

Issue Is Case Specific And Not Worthy Of This

Court's Review

In determining the ICC's probability of success on

the merits, this Court would have to review the

factual allegations of bias surrounding the ICC's ex

parte communications with Armstrong. The Court

must also consider the ICC's alignment with

Armstrong in the federal lawsuit against Texas

officials seeking to enforce Armstrong I while

Armstrong Il was still pending. Under these

circumstances the ICC and Armstrong lack the clean

hands necessary for the equitable relief they seek.

Moreover, the ICC is silent in its Petition for

Certiorari as to likelihood of success on the merits

regarding whether a hearing before the ICC should

have been granted or whether precedent was

properly applied to the facts in the ICC's

determination that the disputed commerce was

interstate.!0

10 Similarly, the ICC's allegation of irreparable injury is

contradicted by Judge Smith's order, never appealed, which

found to the contrary. The ICC's attempts to psychoanalyze

that opinion (ICC Petition at 4 n.6) cannot stand in light of

the fact that the ICC was present at the hearing to advance

its interests and the Court ruled “after examining the entire

record.” Moreover, the ICC is not a party to the state court

proceeding and lacks standing to seck an injunction against

a proceeding in which it has no stake in the outcome.

Ironically, although Armstrong does have an economic

interest in the state court action, Armstrong set the action

for trial (Appendix E) and consequently should now be

estopped from seeking to enjoin the very proceeding it

sought to try.

VV

16

These facts, all of which this Court must consider,

belie the ICC's suggestion of a “clear cut" legal issue

concerning the proper application of Service Storage.

To the contrary, this particular case is adrift in

factual claims of bias, collusion, and governmental

misconduct. Should the Court desire to review

Service Storage or its application, the Court should

await a case in less troubled seas.

Ill. ICC Cannot Prevail On The Merits Of The

Armstrong Petition For Review

A. ICC Lacked Jurisdiction To Issue The Armstrong

Declaratory Orders

Congress has explicitly provided that the

Interstate Commerce Act does not "affect the power

of a state to regulate intrastate transportation

provided by a motor carrier." 49 U.S.C. §

10521(b)(1). Congress alone creates the jurisdiction

of federal agencies, not the agencies themselves: “An

agency may not confer upon itself power.” Louisiana

Public Service Commission v. F.C.C., 476 U.S. 355,

___, 106 S. Ct. 1890, 1901, 90 L.Ed.2d 369, 385

(1986). See also Funbus Systems, Inc. v. State of

California Public Utilities Commission, 801 F.2d 1120,

1129 (9th Cir. 1986) (ICC does not "have the power

to draw the boundaries of its own authority to

regulate"). A statute such as 49 U.S.C. § 10521(b)(1)

is a “bar to federal preemption of state regulation ...

"11 Louisiana Public Service Commission, 476 U.S. at

___, 106 S. Ct. at 1904, 90 L.Ed.2d at 388.

11 In support of its preemption argument the ICC has relied

on Missouri Pacific Railroad Company v. Railroad

Commission of Texas, 617 F. Supp. 653 (W.D. Tex. 1987). ICC

Petition at 5 n.11 That decision was substantially reversed at

833 F.2d 570 (Sth Cir. 1987).

i

17

The ICC cannot use an anticipatory proceeding

such as an action for declaratory relief pursuant to 5

U.S.C. § 554(e) of the Administrative Procedure Act

(hereinafter "APA") as a means to expand its

jurisdiction. See Califano v. Sanders, 430 U.S. 99, 107

(1977) (APA provides no implied grant of subject

matter jurisdiction); see also Illinois Terminal

Railroad Co. v. ICC, 671 F.2d 1214, 1216 (8th Cir.

1982) (APA provides no implied grant of subject

matter jurisdiction, so some other’ underlying

authority for issuance of declaratory order must

exist).

Historically, state courts, not the ICC, have had

primary jurisdiction to determine the issues at stake

here:

It is the state courts which have the first

and the last word as to the meaning of

State statutes and whether a particular

order is within the legislative terms of

reference so as to make it the action of

the State. We have’ disapproved

anticipatory declarations as to state

regulatory statutes, even where the case

Originated in and was entertained by

courts of the State affected.

Public Service Commission of Utah v. Wycoff Co., 344

U.S. 237, 247 (1952) (emphasis added); see also

United States v. Idaho, 298 U.S. 105, 109 (1936)

(question as to interstate nature of railroad track

should be decided by courts, not governmental

agencies).

‘ 18

Moreover, it has long been well established that

"[flederal courts will not seize litigation from state —

courts merely because one, normally a defendant,

goes to federal court to begin his federal law defense

before the state court begins the case under State

law." Public Service Commission v. Wycoff, 344 U.S.

at 248 (emphasis added); see also Merrell Dow

Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Thompson, 478 U.S. 804,

___, 106 S. Ct. 3229, 3232, 92 L.Ed.2d 650, 658

(1986) ("A defense that raises a federal question is

inadequate to confer federal jurisdiction.")

(emphasis added); Franchise Tax Board vy.

Construction Laborers Vacation Trust, 463 U.S. 1, 14

(1983) ("since 1887 it has been settled law that a

case may not be removed to federal court on the

basis of a federal defense, including the defense of

preemption, even if the defense is anticipated in the

plaintiff's complaint, and even if both parties admit

that the defense is the only question truly at issue in

the case.");!2 Skelly Oil Co. v. Phillips Petroleum, 339

U.S. 667, 672 (1950); Beers v. North American Van

Lines Inc., 836 F.2d 910, 913 (Sth Cir. 1988) (Fifth

Circuit, sua sponte, dismissed appeal of an action

12 Here, Armstrong, contending that the commerce at

question was interstate, carried its defense directly to the ICC

rather than raising such defense in the context of a state

court enforcement action. In effect Armstrong sought

removal in two steps. First, file a Petition for Declaratory

Order before the ICC. Second, after an ICC decision, force

Texas to file for review. The fact that Armstrong secks

removal via a Petition for Declaratory Order pursuant to 5

U.S.C. § 554(e) and review of that order by a federal court

cannot establish federal question jurisdiction if it is

otherwise lacking. See Califano vy. Sanders, 430 U.S. at 107

(APA provides no implied grant of subject matter

jurisdiction).

a ee ee

19

which had been removed to federal court based on

preemption defense under Interstate Commerce Act);

Greenfield & Montague Transportation Area v

Donovan, 758 F.2d 22, 26 (ist Cir. 1985) (plaintiffs

may not use federal law to engage in preemptive

strike against state court jurisdiction).!3

These arguments are particularly compelling in

the instant case because, here, a state court has

already determined that the subject commerce is

intrastate and issued an order enjoining the disputed

movements. See ICC Petition, Appendix H, 51-53a.

It is a well settled principle that federal appellate

review of state court judgments can only occur in the

Supreme Court on appeal or by Writ of Certiorari.

District of Columbia Court of Appeal v. Feldman, 460

U.S. 462, 482 (1983); Rooker v. Fidelity Trust Co., 263

U.S. 413, 416 (1923). The Fifth Circuit already

recognized these principles in Texas v. United States,

837 F.2d 184, 186 (Sth Cir. 1988): "[T]he state court's

application of the ICC's order could be reviewed in

due course by the United States Supreme Court."

13 In another context the ICC has openly acknowledged

these important jurisdictional and federalism issues in

refusing to entertain a proceeding to establish rules as to

what constitutes interstate or intrastate commerce: "Insofar

as Petitioner urges us to take jurisdiction as a convenient

and expeditious means of defeating State efforts to assume

jurisdiction, we cannot do so." United States Department of

‘Transportation -- Petition for Rulemaking -- Single State

Transportation in Interstate or Foreign Commerce, Ex Parte

No. MC-182, slip op. at 6 (hereinafter "DOT") served on

January 28, 1987. That reasoning under the authority cited

above, applies as well to individual adjudications. A copy of

the DOT slip opinion has been lodged with the Clerk of this

Court.

Ls

i.

20

B. Service Storage Does Not Apply Where

Commerce Is Facially Intrastate

Nothing in Service Storage & Transfer Co. v.

Virginia, 359 U.S. 171 (1959) changes this analysis.

In Service Storage, the Virginia State Corporation

Commission brought an enforcement action against a

company which routed goods from Virginia through a

"gateway" terminal in West Virginia and back into

Virginia.: Virginia contended that those interstate

shipments were "a mere subterfuge to escape

intrastate regulation and evade its jurisdiction." /d.

at 175.

Prior to any decision by the Virginia State

Corporation Commission, Service Storage petitioned

the ICC for a declaratory order interpreting its

certificate. Thereafter, Virginia's Commission |

decided that Service Storage was operating intrastate .

and fined them for operating without intrastate

authority. Subsequently, the ICC issued its opinion

construing Service Storage's certificate as authorizing

the interstate routing.

A i

In a narrow opinion decided only “under the facts

here," this Court ruled that the "interpretation of

petitioner's interstate commerce certificate should

first be litigated before the Interstate Commerce

Commission ... .". /d. at 173. This Court further

circumscribed its ruling with a telling rationale

directed at the possibility of multiplicitous litigation:

Thus the possibility of a multitude of

interpretations of the same _ federal

certificate by several States will be

avoided and a uniform administration of

the Act achieved.

21

Id. at 179 (emphasis added).

Here the facts are very different from _ the

Situation in Service Storage. First and most

significant, the shipments in Armstrong are on their

face intrastate. This is unlike Service Storage where

Virginia never contested the fact that the shipments

moved interstate. Rather, Virginia maintained such

interstate movements were a subterfuge to evade its

jurisdiction.'4 Further, there is no concern here, as

was the case in Service Storage, of a possible

"multitude of interpretations of the same _ federal

certificate by several States"!5 since the subject

14 Necessarily, under § 10521(a)(1), when movements are

involved which are on their face interstate, the ICC has

jurisdiction to decide whether the routing between the states

is a subterfuge. Conversely, under §10521(b)(1), when the

subject commerce is facially intrastate, the state, not the ICC,

has jurisdiction to decide the nature of that commerce. Any

other interpretation of the concurrent jurisdictional

scheme over motor carriers set out in § 10521 would fail to

give effect to ali of its provisions.

15 The ICC has also relied on Jones Motor Co. v.

Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission, 361 U.S. 11 (1959)

and Castle v. Hayes Freight Lines, 348 U.S. 61 (1954). Jones

involved a situation, like Service Storage, where the

questioned traffic was across state lines and the state

commission, not the ICC, had erroneously declared this

traffic a subterfuge. See Jones Motor Company v.

Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission, 149 A.2d 491 (Pa.

Super. Ct. 1959). Similarly, Castle applied only to ICC

jurisdiction over interstate commerce across state lines

because the Court had earlier dismissed an appeal of Hayes'

suspension from intrastate operations for want of a

substantial federal question. See Castle, 348 U.S. at 63 n.5.

Here, unlike Jones, Castle, and Service Storage, the

subject commerce moves solely within Texas. Compare Jones

(subject commence interstate: Pennsylvania - New Jersey -

Pennsylvania) and Castle (subject commerce interstate:

—

sammie a aa ease

22

commerce is solely within Texas. Moreover, Texas

does not seek any interpretation of Reeves’ interstate

certificate. In fact, whether Reeves possesses an ICC

certificate is irrelevant to the state enforcement

action, which seeks only to enjoin intrastate

violations of a Texas statute.!©

C Even Assuming The ICC Had Jurisdiction, Under

Younger-Burford Analysis The ICC Or This

Court Should Decline To Exercise It

In refusing to enjoin the state court enforcement

action, the Fifth Circuit, citing Younger v. Harris, 401

U.S. 37, 44-45 (1971), reasoned "we are guided by

the overarching principle that fed. ral courts are to

be cautious about infringing on the legitimate

exercise of state judicial power." Texas v. United

States, 837 F.2d at 186. Given 49 U.S.C. §

10521(b)(1), the court noted that "the ICC points to

no authority indicating that Congress has tipped the

(Illinois - Seven other states - Illinois) and Service Storage

(subject commerce interstate: Virginia - West Virginia - :

Virginia) with Armstrong (subject commerce intrastate: :

Texas - Texas).

16 "The mere possession of an ICC certificate cannot convert

intrastate activities into violations of federal law."

Schenck Transportation, Inc. v. Inter-County Motor Coach,

Inc., 350 F.Supp. 306, 309 (E.D.N.Y. 1972). Nor can an ICC

certificate "provide a bootstrap for finding federal ... court

jurisdiction ... .". /d. The sole issue here is whether certain

motor carrier traffic within a single state is interstate or

intrastate and who has jurisdiction to decide. The ICC

specifically acknowledged this in Armstrong I: "All parties

agree that the issue presented here is whether the

movements of non-sidemarked carpet from Arlington to

other Texas points are interstate or intrastate in nature."

Armstrong I, slip op. at 2; ICC Petition at Appendix E at 14a.

a3

balance in favor of federal interests." Jd. at 187.

Accord Louisiana Public Service Commission, 476 U.S.

at , 106 S. Ct. at 1901, 90 L.Ed.2d at 385

(provisions such as 49 U.S.C. § 10521(b)(1) constitute

an express congressional denial of power to agency);

see also New Orleans Public Service, Inc. v. City of

New Orleans, 798 F.2d 858, 860 (Sth Cir. 1986), cert.

denied, _... U.S. » 107 S. Ct. 1910, 95 L.Ed.2d

515 (1987) (where Congress creates a “bright line”

between federal and state jurisdiction, "federal court

intervention ... may constitute a disruption of a state

regulatory scheme" in an area of regulation which "is

clearly a field left to the state."); Burford v. Sun Oil

Co., 319 U.S. 315, 327 (1943).17

Moreover, abstention is especially appropriate

where the federal adjudication is advisory:

In some cases, the probability that any

federal adjudication would be effectively

advisory is so great that this concern

alone is sufficient to justify abstention,

even if there are no _ pending state

proceedings in which the question could

be raised.

Pennzoil v. Texaco, USS. , wey Be 2S,

1526 n.9, 95 L.Ed.2d 1, 16 n.9 (1987); see also

Railroad Commission of Texas v. Pullman Co., 312 U.S.

17 The injunction is also barred by the Anti-Injunction Act,

28 U.S.C. § 2283. See Chick Kam Choo v. Exxon Corp., __ U.S.

ccd alg SO oe ke eee, EO Ls... Coe foe

simply hold that respondents must present their pre-

emption argument to Texas state courts, which are presumed

competent to resolve’ federal issues.")

24

496 (1941). Here, even the ICC has emphatically

recognized the orders are advisory.

Most recently in a declaratory order proceeding

identical in type to the instant case the ICC noted, in

what has become almost boilerplate in these type

cases, that:

This is a declaratory order proceeding,

not an adversary proceeding. There is no

need of oral hearing in this case because

the purpose of a declaratory order is

cimply to remove uncertainty as to the

legal effect of the fact pattern presented

by the party requesting the declaration.

It is not a verification of those "facts," nor

does it apply to any different

circumstances (which may or may not

differ materially for purposes of the legal

analysis involved). This proceeding

involves neither an application nor a

complaint, and it makes no _ final

determination as to any specific rights of

any party. Our decision is simply our

interpretation of the applicable law as it

applies to a given set of facts.

Victoria II, slip op. at 1-2 (emphasis added); see also

Quaker Oats II, slip op. at 1;18 Matlack I, slip op. at 1

and Matlack Il, slip op. at 3-4. Moreover, although

not using identical language, the ICC in Armstrong I]

noted it was not deciding specific factual and legal

controversies as to “whether every’ individual

shipment has moved lawfully in _ Interstate

Commerce ... .". Armstrong II, slip op at 8; ICC

18 See also Ouaker Oats I, slip op. at 2, fn. 4.

25

Petition, Appendix F at 45-46a. Rather, the ICC

admitted its interpretation was purely abstract,

dealing with "the nature and concept of disputed

commerce as a whole... ." /d.

Given this persistent and consistent message from

the agency itself, it cannot be seriously disputed that

declaratory orders, such as those issued herein, are

nonfinal and not subject to review. Port of Boston

Marine Terminal Association v. Rederiaktiebolajet

Transatlantic, 400 U.S. 62, 71 (1970); United States v.

Los Angeles and S.L.R.,.273 U.S. 299, 310 (1927) (ICC

Order "does not determine any right or obligation"

and "is merely the formal record of conclusions

reached after a study of data... ."). See also Texas v.

United States, 837 F.2d at 186 (refusing to enforce

ICC orders at issue here and holding them subject to

state court "“interpretation"); City of Miami v. ICC, 669

F.2d 219, 221-222 (Sth Cir. 1982).

CONCLUSION

Wherefore, for the aforesaid reasons, Texas

requests the Petition for Certiorari be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

JIM MATTOX .

Attorney General of Texas

MARY F. KELLER

First Assistant Attorney

General

26

ANNE E. SWENSON

Assistant Attorney General

ROBERT OZER*

Chief, Class Action Section

Enforcement Division

P. O. Box 12548

Austin, Texas 78711-2548

(512) 463-2080

WILLIAM PAUL RODGERS, JR.

General Counsel

CHARLES D. GRAY

Assistant General Counsel

National Association of Regulatory

Utility Commissioners

1102 ICC Building

P. O. Box 684

Washington, D.C. 20044-0684

(202) 898-2200

P. MICHAEL COLE

BYRD R. LATHAM

Special Assistant Attorneys General

Alabama Public Service Commission

P. O. Box 470-

Athens, Alabama 35611-0470

(205) 232-2010

* Counsel of Record

July, 1988

la

APPENDIX A

October 25, 1985

Robert S. Burk, Esquire

General Counsel

Interstate Commerce Commission

12th & Constitution Ave., N.W.

Room 5211

Washington, DC 20423

Re: The State of Texas v. E&B Carpet Mills,

A Division of Armstrong World Industries,

Inc., and Reeves Transportation Company

of Georgia

Travis County, Texas, District Court

Case No. 386524

Dear Mr. Burk:

E&B Carpet Mills, a division of Armstrong World

Industries, Inc. (E&B), as_ here _ pertinent

manufactures carpet at or near Dalton, Ga., and ships

carpet from its mill and warehouse facilities at

Dalton, Ga., to its Arlington, Tex., service center.

From Arlington, shipments are made to customers in

Texas as well as to customers in other southwestern

States. It is E&B's fixed and persisting intent that the

shipments remain in interstate commerce until

delivery to the ultimate customers. The shipments

from the Arlington warehouse to points in Texas that

move by Reeves Transportation Company of Georgia

(Reeves) have freight charges prepaid by E&B. Other

carriers, secured by the consigne s, also pick up and

deliver shipments from Arlington to points in Texas.

Mr. Robert S. Burk

October 25, 1985

Page 2

A controversy has arisen concerning whether the

shipments form Arlington to points in Texas which

are transported by Reeves under the Armstrong

prepaid freight program are shipments in interstate

or intrastate commerce. In an attempt to resolve the

problem, and to obtain guidance for future

shipments, a petition for declaratory order was filed

by E&B in Docket No. MC-C-10963. A proceeding was

in fact instituted, and the deadline for filing of initial

comments was October 7, 1985. Numerous parties,

included the Texas Railroad Commission and the

Attorney General of Texas, as well as certain Texas

intrastate carriers, participated in the filing of

comments in those proceeding. However, on October

3, 1985, the Attorney General filed the referenced

court case in the District Court of Travis County,

Texas, seeking a preliminary and permanent

injunction, as well as money damages, in an attempt

to halt transportation by Reeves from the Arlington

service center to points in Texas. Reeves holds no

Texas intrastate authority. Reeves doe hold proper

authority from the Interstate Commerce Commission

in Docket No. MC-129537, Sub No. 68. A more

complete statement of the facts is contained in the

E&B comments filed on October 7, 1985, copy

_ attached.

An informal understanding had been reached with

an Assistant Attorney General of Texas that no action

Mr. Robert S. Burk

October 25, 1985

Page 3

would be taken in state court until the Interstate

Commerce Commission declaratory order proceeding

was concluded, if at all. However, it appears that the

Texas Railroad Commission has agitated for action by

the Attorney General, and that is what has given rise

to the suit.

On behalf of E&B, we are attempting to remove

the referenced case to federal district court in Austin,

Tex. However, because the complaint is worded so as

not directly to mention any federal issue, and

because the State of Texas is not a citizen for

purposes of diversity, it is not certain that our

removal effort will succeed, even though we have

found one similar case in which removal was

permitted and upheld on appeal. Blease, et al. v.

Safety Transit Co., 50 F.2d 852 (4th Circuit, 1931).

Should removal be successful, then we of course

expect to request the federal district court in Austin

to refer the matter to the Interstate Commerce

Commission on the issue of whether or not interstate

commerce is involved, and that the court will honor

the request.

Our apprehension, of course, is that under the

present procedural posture, the federal district court

may remand the case to the Texas District Court.

Should this occur, then we feel it would be highly

desirable for the Interstate Commerce Commission to

intervene in the Texas District Court, as a third party

siete en easier

4a

Mr. Robert S. Burk

October 25, 1985

Page 4

plaintiff in order to assert its right to regulate

interstate commerce involving movements’ within

Texas. Then, with a federal issue apparent on the

face of the commission's pleading, we could again

move for removal with some reasonable likelihood of

success.

The situation involved here is a very thorny one,

and one which I have encountered numerous times

during the last 20 years of practice in the area of

transportation law. Drawing a line between what

constitutes interstate commerce and _ intrastate

commerce is troublesome at best. It was in view of

this situation that E&B has, in its comments,

requested the Commission to establish a "safe

harbor" rule that would greatly assist in establishing

the dividing line. Unfortunately, action taken by the

State of Texas now may serve merely to obfuscate

matters, at least in the near term. Appropriate

action on your part, after instruction § and

authorization by the’ Interstate Commerce

Commission, would help to assure that this matter

will be concluded in an orderly fashion and with a

minimum amount of litigation.

Service of the plaintiff's original petition, a copy of

which is attached, occurred on October 17, 1985. It

is my understanding, although I am not a member of

the Texas Bar, that E&B has 20 days within which to

answer. Therefore, time is of the essence in

Sa

Mr. Robert S. Burk

October 25, 1985

Page 5

obtaining Interstate Commerce Commission action.

Your early response would be appreciated.

With kindest personal regards, I remain,

Very truly yours,

/s/ W. P. Jackson, Jr.

William P. Jackson, Jr.

WPJ/smw

Enclosures

cc: Jerome C. Finefrock, Esquire

6a

October 31, 1985

Mr. William P. Jackson, Jr.

Jackson & Jessup

P.O. Box 1240

Arlington, VA 22210

Re: State of Texas v. E&B Carpet Mills, et al.,

Trans [sic] County (Tex.) Judicial District

Court,

No. 386524

Docket No. MC-C-10963, Armstrong World

Industries, Inc. - Transportation Within

Texas - Petition for Declaratory Order

Dear Mr. Jackson:

In your letter of October 25, 1985, you

requested our views on the possibility of ICC

intervention in the above-referenced state court

proceeding. The state court action arises out of a

complaint by the Texas Attorney General seeking to

enjoin a motor carrier from providing what is alleged

to be intrastate transportation without holding state-

issued operating authority. The carrier contends,

however, that the movements are interstate in

nature and are therefore authorized by its ICC-issued

certificate. (Whether the ICC certificate actually

authorizes the operations is now before’ the

Commission in the above-referenced declaratory

order proceeding.)

In general, the Commission has taken a firm

position in support of its exclusive jurisdiction to

-

ahs i mit ge BN LE ONS vet x mv Slipaeg AE tN

i ae

a

7a

make the initial interpretation of a federal motor-

carrier certificate, as established in Service Storage &

Transfer Co. v. Virginia, 359 U.S. 171 (1959) and

Jones Motor Co. v. Penn. PUC, 361 U.S. 11 (1959). For

example, my staff has already provided you with

copies of our briefs in the recent Funbus litigation,

where the California PUC has attempted to enjoin a

federally certificated carrier's operation in a state

administrative proceeding. The ICC intervened there

once the ICC-certificated carrier had succeeded (at

least temporarily) in having the case presented in a

federal rather than state forum.

In the present case, although the ICC's

interpretive jurisdiction seems equally clear and has

been invoked via the declaratory order proceeding,

we are reluctant to recommend that the Commission

should become involved in a controversy that is still

in a state forum. If the case were already presented

in a federal court either via removal or a_ separate

federal complaint for injunctive relief, as in Funbus,

the situation would be quite different. As it is, we

believe it to be in the Commission's interest to fight

this battle, if at all, in a federal forum. Accordingly,

we do not plan to make any recommendation

regarding ICC intervention in the state court

proceeding. We hope, however, that you will keep us

apprised of any further developments. If the case

8a

reaches a federal court, we will be glad to discuss the

Commission's interest in possible direct participation

at that point.

Sincerely,

/s/ Robert S. Burk

Robert S. Burk

General Counsel

9a

APPENDIX B

DOCUMENT INDEX

Documents Withheld:

General Counsel Memorandum 11/25/85, To

Chairman Taylor, No. 85-287, Re: Docket No.

MC-C-10963.

Letter from General Counsel to William P.

Jackson 11/25/85, Re: Commission vote for ICC

appearance in non-enforcement judicial

proceedings.

Letter from William P. Jackson to General

Counsel 11/12/85, Re: Request for ICC

appearance in Texas v. E&B Carpet Mills.

Memorandum to Director Mackall from General

Counsel 3/14/86, No. 86-52, Re: Modification to

prior G.C. Memorandum No. 85-287.

Draft Decision for No. MC-C-10963, 2/ /86.

Draft Decision for No. MC-C-10963, 3/20/86.

Draft Memorandum of Law 9/5/86, re: E&B

Carpet Mills and ICC v. Jim Mattox, et al.

General Counsel Memorandum 8/1/86, Re: 5th

Circuit granting motion to dismiss petition as

premature.

Letter from R. James George to Glenn Scammel

8/8/86, and attached draft of complaint.

10a

10. Letter from R. James George to Glenn Scammel

8/13/86, and attached draft of complaint.

11. Draft of Complaint from W.P. Jackson.

lla

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

AUSTIN DIVISION

STATE OF TEXAS,

Plaintiff,

INTERSTATE COMMERCE

COMMISSION

Defendant.

)

v. ) Civil Action No. A-87-CA-016

)

)

)

)

AFFIDAVIT OF INTERSTATE COMMERCE

COMMISSION

FREEDOM OF INFORMATION/PRIVACY

OFFICER S. ARNOLD SMITH

I, S. Arnold Smith, being duly sworn, depose

and state:

I am an attorney employed by the Interstate

Commerce Commission as_ its Freedom of

Information/Privacy Officer. I have served in this

position since February 1, 1979. Pursuant to

Commission regulation (49 C.F.R. 1001.4), I am

responsible for initially deciding whether documents

requested under the Freedom of Information Act will

be made available. The statements made in _ this

affidavit are based on my person knowledge and

upon information available to me in my official

a

12a

capacity, and are true and accurate to the best of my

knowledge and belief.

By letter dated October 13, 1986 (Plaintiffs Ex.

A), Mr. Robert Ozer, a Texas Assistant Attorney

General, Energy Division, requested, inter alia, certain

documents relating to an ongoing Commission

proceeding, Docket No. MC-C-10963, Armstrong

World Industries, Inc. - Transportation Within Texas

- Petition for Declaratory Order (Armstrong), and

federal court litigation in E&B Carpet Mills v. Mattox,

No. A-86-CA-446 (W.D. Tex.) (E&B Carpet Mills).

After a search of the agency's records, I responded to

Mr. Ozer's request by releasing some documents, but

withholding 11 others pursuant to 5 U.S.C. 552(b)(5)

(the executive and attorney work-product privileges

incorporated under that section).

In order to understand the basis for may [sic]

determinations a short discussion of the Armstrong

and E&B Carpet Mills proceedings is in order. The

Armstrong proceeding was initiated before the

Interstate Commerce Commission by Armstrong

World Industries, Inc. (which has a division, E&B

Carpet Mills, that manufactures carpet) and Reeves

Transportation Company of Georgia, a_ federally

licensed interstate common carrier, to determine

whether Reeves' movements of “non-sidemarked"

carpet from Arlington to other Texas points were

interstate or intrastate in nature. The State of Texas

filed comments in the _ proceeding. By decision

served April 23, 1986, the Commission found that

13a

the incidents surrounding the involved

transportation established that the movements of

non-sidemarked carpet within Texas by Reeves were

interstate in nature, lawfully performed under a

storage-in-transit provision contained in = an

appropriate tariff. The State of Texas filed a petition

to reopen that decision that is presently pending

before the agency.

E&B Carpet Mills is a proceeding presently

pending in the United States District Court for the

Western District of Texas, Austin Division. There, the

plaintiffs, Reeves and E&B, seek injunctive relief

from the federal court to prevent the state

defendants from pursuing litigation in state court

against Reeves and E&B for activities conducted

under color of Reeves’ federal motor carrier

certificate. ! The Interstate Commerce Commission

has moved to intervene in support of E&B and

Reeves' motion. The Commission seeks to participate

to assert its interest in, and preserve its exclusive

original jurisdiction over, the interpretation of the

scope of Reeves' federal interstate operating

authority and the related tariffs reflecting Reeves’

1 The state defendants are the Attomey General of the State

of Texas and certain members of his staff. In October 1985,

while the Armstrong proceeding was pending before the

Commission, these defendants filed on behalf of the State of

Texas a suit against Reeves (and its principal shipper, E&B)

for injunctive relief and penalties under state law for

allegedly “unauthorized” Reeves operations in Texas. State

of Texas v. E&B Carpet Mills, et al, 353d Judicial District Court,

Travis County, Texas, No. 386,524.

14a

interstate service. By order signed October 7, 1986,

United States District Judge Walter S. Smith, Jr.

denied E&B's motion for a preliminary injunction

because there was no showing of irreparable harm.

E&B subsequently filed a renewed motion for

preliminary injunction that is presently pending

before the Court.

The documents withheld and the reasons why

they were withheld are connected with the

proceedings described above. I will now describe

with particularity the documents and exemptions

claimed.

,. Description: This is a six-page memorandum

dated November 25, 1985, from ICC General

Counsel Burk to ICC Chairman Taylor. It

provided the Chairman with legal analysis of

the Commission's primary jurisdiction to

interpret the bounds of certificates that it

issues. It further discussed the impact of state

court action by Texas on that jurisdiction and

possible intervention in a federal action to

protect the agency's primary jurisdiction to

interpret Reeves' federal motor. carrier

certificates in the pending’ declaratory

proceedings (Armstrong).

Exemption: This memorandum was withheld

under the executive process and attorney

work-product privileges. The memorandum is

a deliberative and confidential intra-agency

Leite iste s3 dae inps cma 6

15a

memorandum containing legal analysis and

recommendations from the agency's General

Counsel to the Chairman. The document is also

attorney work-product because it was

prepared by agency attorneys in anticipation of

the litigation in E&B Carpet Mills.

Description: This is a letter, dated November

25, 1985, from ICC General Counsel Burk to

William F. Jackson, Jr., counsel for E&B and

Reeves, regarding a Commission vote for ICC

appearance in non-enforcement judicial

proceedings.

Exemption: This letter was withheld pursuant

to the attorney work-product privilege. It was

prepared by Commission’ counsel in

contemplation of the litigation in E&B Carpet

Mills and discusses strategy related to the

litigation.

Description: This is a letter, dated November

12, 1985, from William P. Jackson, Jr., counsel

for E&B and Reeves, to ICC General Counsel

Burk, requesting Commission participation in

litigation to assert the agency's primary

jurisdiction.

Exemption: This letter was withheld pursuant

to the attorney work-product privilege.

l6a

Although it was prepared by counsel not

employed by the agency, the Commission

intervened in the subsequent federal court

action supporting E&B and Reeves’ claim that

the Commission has primary jurisdiction to

determine the matter. This and other shared

communications regarding trial strategy

between co-counsel on the same side of the

primary jurisdiction’ litigation remain

privileged. .

Description: This is a two-page memorandum,

dated March 14, 1986, from ICC General

Counsel Burk to Director Mackall containing

commentary on the legal defensibility of the

draft decision in Armstrong.

Exemption: This memorandum was withheld

under the executive and attorney work-

product privileges. The document is an intra-

agency memorandum between agency staff

with respect to a draft decision in Armstrong.

The memorandum is _ further protected as

attorney work-product because it was

prepared in anticipation of litigation when the

Commission's decision is reviewed on appeal.

Indeed, an attempt has already been made to

obtain judicial review of the agency's April 23,

1986 Armstrong decision. Texas v. United

States, No. 86-4430 (Sth Cir. July 25, 1986)

17a

(dismissing as premature the Texas petition for

review of Armstrong without prejudice to

refiling after the Commission has acted on

pending motions for reconsideration).

Description: This is a 13-page draft decision in

Armstrong circulated between Commission

staff in February, 1986.

Exemption: This document was withheld

pursuant to the executive privilege. It is a

predecisional working draft decision in the

Armstrong case.

Description: This is a 13-page draft decision in

Armstrong and one-page memorandum to the

Commission, dated March 20, 1986.

Exemption: As with document 5 above, this

document was withheld pursuant to. the

executive privilege. The document is a

predecisional working draft decision in the

Armstrong case circulated between agency

staff.

Description: This is a 17-page draft

memorandum of law dated 9/5/86 prepared

by counsel for E&B for the E&B Carpet Mills

litigation.

18a

Exemption: This document was withheld

pursuant to the attorney work-product

privilege. It was prepared by counsel for E&B

and contains their strategy and theories in the

E&B case. It was shared with Commission

counsel because they intervened to support

E&B's request for an injunction (on the basis ot

[sic] the Commission's primary and exclusive

jurisdiction to interpret the scope of interstate

motor carrier certificates it issues).

Description: This is a one page memorandum

dated August 1, 1986, from Acting ICC General

Counsel Rush to the Commission discussing the

decision in State of Texas v. United States, No.

86-4430 (5th Cir. July 25, 2986 [sic}).

Exemption: This document was withheld under

the executive and the attorney work-product

privileges. It is protected under the former

privilege because it is on _ intra-agency

memorandum, discussing the impact of this

decision on the pending agency proceedings

(Armstrong). It is attorney work product

because it contains counsel's analysis and was

prepared in connection with litigation in the

Fifth Circuit that the agency anticipates may

continue.

10.

19a

Description: This is a letter dated August 6,

1986, from R. James George, Jr., counsel for

E&B, to Glenn Scammel, at the time an attorney

in the ICC General Counsel's Office, regarding a

proposed complaint in E&B Carpet Mills.

Attached to it is a nine-page draft complaint

for the E&B litigation.

Exemption: This document was withheld

pursuant to the attorney work-product

privilege. The document contains counsel's

litigation strategy and_ theories. It was

prepared by E&B's attorneys in anticipation of

the E&B litigation and was shared with

Commission counsel who have filed in support

of E&B's complaint in United States District

Court (in order to protect the agency's

jurisdiction to decide the merits of the

Armstrong declaratory order proceeding before

the Commission).

Description: This is a letter dated August 13,

1986, from R. James George, Jr., counsel for

E&B, to Glenn Scammel, at the time an attorney

in the ICC General Counsel's Office, regarding a

proposed complaint in E&B Carpet Mills.

Attached to it is an 11--page draft complaint

for the E&B litigation.

Exemption: Same as Number 9, above.

20a

11. Description: This is a 12-page draft complaint

from William P. Jackson, Jr., counsel for E&B,

for the E&B case.

Exemption: Same as Number 9, above.

The above-described documents were withheld

pursuant to the (b)(5) exemption, which incorporates

the executive and/or attorney work-product

privileges. Release of documents 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10,

and 11 would result in the disclosure of attorneys’

mental impressions, conclusions, legal theories, or

strategies regarding specific litigation. Documents 2,

3, 7, 9, 10 and 11 are communications with counsel

who are on the same side in the E&B litigation where

the Commission has intervened on E&B's side. These

documents relate exclusively to the efforts of the

parties to protect (through litigation) the agency's

primary jurisdiction to decide the merits of. the

Armstrong case, and are not addressed to the

substantive issue in Armstrong of whether the

underlying transportation should have been found to

be interstate (as opposed to intrastate) in nature.

Documents 1, 4, 5, 6 and 8 are _ intra-agency

memoranda, release of which would interfere with

future open intra-agency discussion and could cause

potential confusion.

In sum, I believe that release of the documents

in question would have been inappropriate at the

21a

time, and continues to be so now in light of pending

administrative and judicial proceedings.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ S. Arnold Smith

S. ARNOLD SMITH

FOI/Privacy Officer

Interstate Commerce

Commission

NOTARY

Subscribed and sworn before me this 20th day of

February, 1987.

Ls/

22a

APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

87-4725

STATE OF TEXAS,

Petitioner,

versus

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

and INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION,

Respondents.

Petition for Review of an Order of the

Interstate Commerce Commission

Before POLITZ, JOHNSON and HIGGINBOTHAM, Circuit

Judges.

BY THE COURT:

IT IS ORDERED that the motion of the Quaker

Oats Company, et al., intervenors in cause number

87-4702 for leave to late file their reply to the

motion of the State of Texas to consolidate

proceedings in cause number 87-4702 for leave to

late file their reply to the motion of the State of

23a

Texas to consolidate proceedings in cause number

87-4725 is GRANTED.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that petitioner's

motion to consolidate the reference cause with cause

number 87-4702 Steere Tank Lines, Inc. v. ICC &

U.S.A., is DENIED. ,

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the motion of

Central Freight Lines Inc., for leave to intervene in

support of petitioner is GRANTED.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the motions of

petitioner and intervenor Central Freight Lines Inc.,

to summarily reverse and vacate the Agency's

decision are DENIED. However, the court makes no

ruling on the questions presented by the motion.

Rather, the court is persuaded that it will benefit

from full briefing and oral argument of the case.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the alternative

motion of petitioner and intervenor for summary

dismissal is DENIED.

24a

APPENDIX E

GRAVES, DOUGHERTY, HEARON & MOODY

2300 INTERFIRST TOWER

POST OFFICE BOX 98

AUSTIN, TEXAS 78767

TELEPHONE: (512) 480-5600

(PORTIONS OF LETTERHEAD OMITTED)

May 21, 1987 ~

Mr. John Dickson

District Clerk

Travis County Courthouse

Austin, Texas 78701

Re: No. 386,524 - The State of Texas v.

E & B Carpet Mills, a Division of

Armstrong World Industries, Inc.,

et al

Dear John:

Enclosed you will find our check for $5.00 for

the jury fee provided by Rule 216, Texas Rules of

Civil Procedure. By this letter, we are requesting

that the above-styled and numbered cause be set for

jury trial on Monday, December 7, 1987, at 9:00 a.m.

Yours sincerely,

GRAVES, DOUGHERTY, HEARON &

MOODY

BY/s/ R. James George, Jr.

R. James George, Jr.

RJGjr/th

Enclosure

Cc:

25a

Mr. Robert Patterson

Court Coordinator

Mr. Norberto Flores

Mr. James M. Doherty

Mr. Timothy J. Herman

Mr. Mert Starnes

Mr. Jerry Prestridge

Mr. William P. Jackson, Jr.

Mr. Jerome C. Finefrock

(w/o encl.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.