Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Young v. New Hampshire

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

a Supreme Court, U.S

FILED

1“

ONE. g7) AA . FEB 2/7 4988

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JRL

In the asta

Supreme Court of the United States.

OCTOBER TERM, 1987.

STEPHEN YOUNG, ANTIMO DIMATTEO,

BENJAMIN VALENZUELA,

PETITIONERS,

V.

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE,

RESPONDENT.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to

the Supreme Court of the State of New Hampshire.

ALBERT F. CULLEN, JR.,*

JOHN WALL,

141 Tremont Street,

Boston, Massachusetts 02111.

(617) 482-8650

STEPHEN GORDON,

5 Green Street,

Concord, New Hampshire 03301.

(603) 228-1109

Harry C. MEZER, P.C.,

89 Broad Street,

Boston, Massachusetts 02110.

(617) 482-7777

Attorneys for Petitioners

*Counsel of Record

BATEMAN & SLADE, INC. BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS

Questions Presented.

I. Whether the Fourth Amendment requires a showing of

probable cause and a search warrant for the installation on

telephone lines of monitoring equipment which had capabilities

of surreptitiously intercepting private conversations.

II. Whether a search warrant issued by a judge who only

hours earlier had been consulted by and given advice to law

enforcement officers regarding the underlying investigation

was issued by a neutral and detached magistrate in compliance

with the Fourth Amendment.

Table of Contents.

Opinions Below

Jurisdiction

Constitutional Provisions Involved

Statement of the Case

A. Telephone Monitoring

1. Material Facts

2. Preservation of the Issue

B. Neutral Magistrate

1. Material Facts

2. Preservation of the Issue

Reasons for Granting the Writ

SNynNnunnn hk & WW WN NN

A. Telephone Monitoring

B. Neutral Magistrate

Conclusion 16

—

We

Appendix follows p. 16

Table of Authorities.

CASES.

Baggett v. State, 132 Ga. App. 266, 208 S.E.2d23(1974) 14

California v. Ciraolo, 476 U.S. 207, 106 S.Ct. 1809 (1986)

11, 12, 13

City of Akron v. Akron Center for Reproductive Health,

462 U.S. 416 (1983) 10

Commonwealth v. Beauford, 327 Pa. Super. 253, 475

A.2d 783 (1984), appeal dismissed, 496 A.2d 1143

(Pa. 1985) 9

Connally v. Georgia, 429 U.S. 245 (1977) 13, 14, 15

Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443(1971) 13,14, 15

il TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED.

Dow Chemical Co. v. United States, 476 U.S. 227, 106

S.Ct. 1819 (1986) 12, 13

Ellis v. State, 256 Ga. 751, 353 S.E.2d 19 (1987) 9

Johnson v. United States, 333 U.S. 10 (1948) 13

Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967) 1]

Lo-Ji Sales, Inc. v. New York, 442 U.S. 319 (1979) 13

People v. Blair, 25 Cal.3d 640, 159 Cal.Rptr. 818,

602 P.2d 738 (1979) 9

People v. Payne, 424 Mich. 475, 381 N.W.2d 391 (1985) 14

People v. Sporleder, 666 P.2d 135 (Colo. 1983) 9

Rochin v. California, 342 U.S. 165 (1952) 13

Shadwick v. City of Tampa, 407 U.S. 345 (1972) 13

Smith v. Maryland, 442 U.S. 735 (1979) 5,7,8,9, 10 etseq.

State v. Guhl, 140 Ga.App. 23, 230 S.E.2d 22 (1976) 14

State v. Gunwall, 106 Wash.2d 54, 720 P.2d 808 (1986) 9

Thomason v. State, 148 Ga. App. 513, 251 S.E.2d 598

(1978) 14

United States v. Jeffers, 342 U.S. 48 (1951) 13

United States v. New York Telephone Company, 434

U.S. 159 (1977) 7n

United States v. United States District Court, 407 U.S.

297 (1972) 13

Vaughn v. State, 160 Ga. App. 283, 287 S.E.2d277(1981) 14

Ward v. Village of Monroeville, 409 U.S. 57 (1972) 14

Young v. United States, U.S. , 107 S.Ct. 2124

(1987) 15n

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS.

28 U.S.C. § 1257

United States Constitution

Amendment IV

Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure Rule 41

Supreme Court Rule 20

MISCELLANEOUS.

Comment, “Pen Registers After Smith v. Maryland,”

15 Harv.C.R.-C.L. L. Rev. 753 (1980)

Fishman, “Pen Registers and Privacy: Risks, Expecta-

tions, and the Nullification of Congressional Intent,”

29 Cath.U. L. Rev. 557 (1980)

Guzik, “The Assumption of the Risk Doctrine: Erosion

of Fourth Amendment Protection Through Fictitious

Consent to Search and Seizure,” 22 Santa Clara L.

Rev. 1051 (1982)

1 LaFave, Search and Seizure, § 2.7(b) (1987)

ili

passim

4

2

10

No. 87-

In the

Supreme Court of the United States.

OcTOBER TERM, 1987.

STEPHEN YOUNG, ANTIMO DIMATTEO,

BENJAMIN VALENZUELA,

PETITIONERS,

Vv.

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE,

RESPONDENT.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to

the Supreme Court of the State of New Hampshire.

Stephen Young, Antimo DiMatteo and Benjamin Valenzuela

petition for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the

Supreme Court of the State of New Hampshire entered in this

case on December 31, 1987.

2

Opinions Below.

The plurality and dissenting opinions of the Supreme Court

of the State of New Hampshire affirming the convictions of

the petitioners in the Rockingham County New Hampshire

Superior Court were issued on December 31, 1987. These

opinions are not yet generally reported and are set out in the

Appendix, infra at la-34a.

Prior to trial, the petitioners moved in the Rockingham

County Superior Court to suppress evidence which the petition-

ers contended was obtained in violation of the Fourth Amend-

ment as a result of the warrantless installation of monitoring

equipment on telephone lines, and as a result of search warrants

which had not been issued by a neutral and detached magistrate.

The motions were denied by opinions issued by the Rocking-

ham County Superior Court on August 14, 1985 and September

4, 1985. Portions of those unreported opinions are set out in

the Appendix, infra at 35a-37a, 38a-42a.

Jurisdiction.

The judgment of the Supreme Court of the State of New

Hampshire was entered on December 31, 1987. This petition

is being filed within sixty days of that date. This petition is

timely filed pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 20. Jurisdiction

to review the judgment of the Supreme Court of the State of

New Hampshire is conferred by 28 U.S.C. § 1257.

3

Constitutional Provision Involved.

The Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitution

provides:

The right of the people to be secure in their per-

sons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreason-

able searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and

no warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause,

supported by oath or affirmation, and particularly

describing the place to be searched and the persons

or things to be seized.

Statement of the Case.

The homes of the petitioners Stephen Young, Antimo Di-

Matteo and Benjamin Valenzuela in Nottingham and adjacent

Epping, New Hampshire were searched for more than sixty

hours by New Hampshire State Police from the morning of

January 15, 1984 throughout January 16, 1984 and into the

evening of January 17, 1984. As a result of evidence unearthed

in the searches, the petitioners were charged with drug-related

offenses in the Rockingham County Superior Court. Upon the

denial of their pre-trial motions to suppress this evidence on

grounds including violations of their Fourth Amendment rights,

the petitioners were tried without a jury and convicted on

December 13, 1985. These convictions were affirmed by a

plurality opinion of the New Hampshire Supreme Court issued

on December 31, 1987.

4

A. Telephone Monitoring.

1. Material Facts.

As part of an investigation of petitioner Stephen Young and

his alleged associates, on October 13, 1983, officers of the

New Hampshire State Police requested that federal agents ob-

tain permission pursuant to Fed. R. Crim. P. 41 from a federal

judge to install pen registers on both the published and unpub-

lished telephone lines listed to petitioner Young at Young’s

home. There was no police showing or judicial finding of

probable cause.

The machines which were installed on Young’s telephone

lines were actually more than pen registers because they could

not only record the fact that calls had been made to particular

numbers, but could also intercept the conversations them-

selves. The police had only to insert headphones or a tape

recorder into a jack in the front panel of the machines to listen

to or record any conversations taking place over those lines

without notice to the participants and without leaving a trace

of any interception.

At the hearing on pre-trial motions to suppress, the police

testified that the machines were not used to intercept conver-

sations until, on January 5, 1984, the police sought and re-

ceived authorization from a Hillsborough County New Hamp-

shire Superior Court judge to conduct wiretaps on these same

telephone lines. Under New Hampshire state law, the wiretaps

required a police showing and a judicial finding of probable

cause. The material submitted by the police in applying for

the wiretaps had relied upon the results of the federally au-

thorized monitoring of the telephone lines as well as other

information obtained by the police in the course of their con-

tinuing investigation.

5

2. Preservation of the Issue.

The issue of the propriety of the pen registers was raised

and preserved in the courts below. Prior to trial, the petitioners

moved to suppress the results of the pen registers as violative

of their rights to privacy. In an opinion issued on September

4, 1985, Justice Gray of the Rockingham Superior Court denied

the motions, relying upon this Court’s decision in Smith v.

Maryland, 442 U.S. 735 (1979), that the use of a pen register

does not entail a search, and declining to find greater protection

under the New Hampshire Constitution. On appeal, a plurality

of the New Hampshire Supreme Court upheld this decision.

Justice Batchelder dissented from this decision.

B. Neutral Magistrate.

1. Material Facts.

On January 13, 1984, as a result of what the police overheard

on petitioner Young’s telephones and their continuing investi-

gation, the police arrested Alvin Kanigher and Robert Hol-

lingworth without warrants.' The officers involved in the inves-

tigation devised a plan\to attempt to obtain information from

Kanigher and Hollingworth by holding them and interrogating

them without allowing them to use the telephone.

The officers were unsure of the effect this might have on

their ongoing investigation. Therefore, the police sought out

the advice and counsel of Justice Edward Gage of the Exeter

New Hampshire District Court. Justice Gage advised the police

that, at worst, they might not be able to use statements made

or information gathered from the arrestees after the police

refused to let them use the telephone.

'Kanigher and Hollingworth were charged in the Rockingham County

Superior Court. Their cases were disposed of by plea bargains. They were not

parties to the trial, or to the appeal to the New Hampshire Supreme Court.

They are not parties to this petition.

6

A few hours later on January 14, 1984, the police again

sought out Justice Gage, this time for the purpose of issuing

search warrants to search the petitioners’ homes. The warrants

were issued by Justice Gage on the basis of material submitted

by the police which relied upon the results of the monitoring

and interceptions of conversations on Young’s telephone lines,

the statements made by Kanigher and Hollingworth, as well

as other information which had been obtained in the continuing

investigation.

2. Preservation of the Issue.

The issue of Justice Gage’s neutrality was raised and pre-

served in the courts below. Prior to trial, the petitioners moved

to suppress the evidence derived from the searches conducted

under Justice Gage’s warrants as violative of their rights under

the Fourth Amendment because the warrants were not issued

by a neutral and detached magistrate. In an opinion issued on

August 14, 1985, Justice Gray of the Rockingham Superior

Court denied the motions, finding as a fact that Justice Gage

had not lost the requisite neutrality because there was no proof

that he was aware of the connection between the police inquiry

and the warrant applications. On appeal, the New Hampshire

Supreme Court upheld this decision. Both the Rockingham

Superior Court and the New Hampshire Supreme Court

cautioned that police and judges should take care to assure

that this issue did not arise again.

7

Reasons for Granting the Writ.

A. Telephone Monitoring.

In Smith v. Maryland, 442 U.S. 735 (1979), a plurality of

the Court decided that the use of a pen register’ was not a

search within the meaning of the Fourth Amendment. The

plurality reasoned that there was no invasion of any recognized

expectation of privacy because such a device only acquired

for the government the information concerning the numbers

dialed which the subscriber knew he had already voluntarily

given to the telephone company.

A fundamental premise of the Smith plurality was that a pen

register’s “limited capabilities” to record only dialing informa-

tion was not a search because the person using the telephone

could not have a legitimate expectation of privacy in dialing

information. Jd. at 742. This case presents the Court with an

opportunity to determine whether Smith should control the

result where the machine’s capabilities are not limited to re-

cording the dialing information.

The result in Smith has not escaped criticism. Justices

Stewart, Brennan and Marshall dissented from the Smith plur-

ality opinion. They rejected the notions that a caller could

have no reasonable expectation of privacy or that he assumed

the risk that the telephone company would disclose information

to the police.

It seems clear to me that information obtained by

pen register surveillance of a private telephone is

? The devices dealt with in this Court’s prior opinions have been described

as “. . . a mechanical device that records the numbers dialed on a telephone

by monitoring the electrical impulses caused when the dial of the telephone is

released. It does not overhear oral communications and does not indicate

whether calls are actually completed.” Smith v. Maryland, 442 U.S. at 736

n.1, quoting United States v. New York Telephone Company, 434 U.S. 159,

161 n.1 (1977).

8

information in which the telephone subscriber has a

legitimate expectation of privacy. The information

captured by such surveillance emanates from private

conduct within a person’s home or office — locations

that without question are entitled to Fourth and Four-

teenth Amendment protection. Further, that informa-

tion is an integral part of the telephonic communica-

tion that under Katz [v. United States, 389 U.S. 347

(1967)] is entitled to constitutional protection,

whether or not captured by a trespass into such an

area.

The numbers dialed from a private telephone —

although certainly more prosaic than the conversation

itself — are not without “content.” Most private

telephone subscribers may have their own numbers

listed in a publicly distributed directory, but I doubt

there are any who would be happy to have broadcast

to the world a list of the local or long distance num-

bers they have called. This is not because such a list

might in some sense be incriminating, but because

it easily could reveal the identities of the persons

and places called, and thus reveal the most intimate

details of a person’s life.

OE SL nee eee are ty

Id., 442 U.S. at 747-748 (Stewart, J., dissenting) (footnote

omitted).

Justice Marshall’s concerns were similar, emphasizing “the

vital role telephonic communication plays in our personal and

professional relationships.” /d., 442 U.S. at 751 (Marshall,

J., dissenting).

In my view, whether privacy expectations are le-

gitimate with the meaning of Katz [v. United States,

389 U.S. 347 (1967)] depends not on the risks an

9

individual can be presumed to accept when imparting

information to third parties, but on the risks he should

be forced to assume in a free and open society.

Id., 442 U.S. at 750 (Marshall, J., dissenting).

Just as one who enters a public telephone booth

is “entitled to assume that the words he utters into

the mouthpiece will not be broadcast to the world,”

Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. at 352, [88 S.Ct.

at 512,] so too, he should be entitled to assume that

the numbers he dials in the privacy of his home will

be recorded, if at all, solely for the phone company’s

business purposes. Accordingly, I would require law

enforcement officials to obtain a warrant before they

enlist telephone companies to secure information

otherwise beyond the government’s reach.

Id., 442 U.S. at 752 (Marshall, J., dissenting).

A number of state courts construing the protections of their

own constitutions or statues have rejected Smith and have held

that a person does have a reasonable expectation of privacy

in the numbers dialed from a telephone. See, e.g., People v.

Blair, 25 Cal.3d 640, 159 Cal.Rptr. 818, 602 P.2d 738 (1979);

People v. Sporleder, 666 P.2d 135 (Colo. 1983); Common-

wealth v. Beauford, 327 Pa. Super. 253, 475 A.2d 783 (1984),

appeal dismissed, 496 A.2d 1143 (Pa. 1985)); State v. Gun-

wall, 106 Wash.2d 54, 720 P.2d 808 (1986); Ellis v. State,

256 Ga. 751, 353 S.E.2d 19 (1987). A number of commen-

tators have similarly criticized Smith. See, e.g., Comment,

“Pen Registers After Smith v. Maryland,” 15 Harv.C.R.-C.L.

L. Rev. 753 (1980); Fishman, “Pen Registers and Privacy:

is

10

Risks, Expectations, and the Nullification of Congressional

Intent,” 29 Cath.U. L. Rev. 557 (1980); Guzik, “The Assump-

tion of the Risk Doctrine: Erosion of Fourth Amendment Pro-

tection Through Fictitious Consent to Search and Seizure,” 22

Santa Clara L. Rev. 1051 (1982); 1 LaFave, Search and Sei-

zure, § 2.7(b) (1987).

Common to the criticisms of the Smith plurality in the dis-

sents, state opinions and commentators is the apprehension

that measuring Fourth Amendment rights either by the degree

to which modern technology has compromised privacy or by |

the degree to which modern life has deprived the individual

of the choice to be left alone will inevitably erode the Fourth

Amendment. :

The line between reasonable and unreasonable expectations

of privacy cannot be drawn as it was by the Smith plurality

merely in reference to either the extent to which the individual

is forced to compromise privacy as a cost of modern life or

the extent to which intrusive technology may be commercially

available. Under the rationale of the Smith plurality the indi-

vidual may no longer choose to have his privacy protected by

the Fourth Amendment simply because the technology avail-

able for intruding on privacy exists and has outstripped the

sophistication of the technology available for maintaining pri-

vacy. One danger of such an approach is that lines may never

be drawn with confidence because any line is blurred by ad-

vancing technology almost as soon as it is drawn. This was

noted in another context by Justices O’Connor, White and

Rehnquist in dissent in City of Akron v. Akron Center for

Reproductive Health, 462 U.S. 416, 453-459 (1983). The

dissenters there argued for a flexible balancing approach to

abortion regulation rather than the established trimester ap-

proach because medical advances are continually prolonging

the point in a pregnancy at which safe abortions may be per-

formed and continually shortening the point in a pregnancy at

which a viable child may be born.

11

Petitioners submit that a line must be drawn at some point

beyond which the individual may be confidently secure and

beyond which the police know they may not intrude without

the requirement of demonstrating probable cause to a magis-

trate.

The Fourth Amendment should be defined by a flexible

balancing approach considering the nature of the individual’s

interest in privacy and the quality of the police intrusion. The

essence of reasonableness of an expectation of privacy under

the Fourth Amendment must be found in a recognition of

societal values based upon the extent to which an individual

may be able to choose to preserve his privacy and the steps

actually taken as balanced against the nature and intensity of

the measures employed to breach that privacy.

The wavering line drawn by the New Hampshire Supreme

Court and the Smith plurality engages in no such balancing

and divides the non-private from the private in an irrational

and unacceptable manner. If, as demonstrated by Katz v.

United States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967), a person has a constitu-

tionally recognized and protected reasonable and legitimate

expectation of privacy in the words he utters over a public

telephone, does that person not have a similar right to an

equally reasonable expectation of privacy in the means by

which one makes the connection or in the identity or location

of the person with whom one is conversing? Does an expecta-

tion of privacy protected by the Fourth Amendment which the

Smith plurality found lacking in the act of dialing a telephone

to place a call in the privacy of one’s home suddenly spring

into existence only when someone answers the call?

In later opinions supposedly faithful to both Smith and Kazz,

the Court has indicated that a line should be drawn without

respect to the advances in technology. In opinions dealing with

aerial surveillance, the Court has held that even where a person

took normal precautions to maintain privacy, California v.

12

Ciraolo, 476 U.S. 207, , 106 S.Ct. 1809, 1812 (1986),

or even where a manufacturer has maintained elaborate security

around the perimeter of an industrial complex, Dow Chemical

Co. v. United States, 476 U.S. 227, , 106 S.Ct. 1819,

1822 (1986), any actual subjective expectations of privacy

were unreasonable and not protected by the Fourth Amend-

ment.

Answering criticism that such a holding might leave nothing

to privacy, the Court held that there were limits and a line to

be drawn somewhere. Even the Government conceded in Dow

Chemical,

that surveillance of private property by using highly

sophisticated surveillance equipment not generally

available to the public, such as satellite technology,

might be constitutionally proscribed without a war-

rant.

476 U.S. at , 106 S.Ct. at 1826.

Justices Powell, Brennan, Marshall and Blackmun dissented

from both these decisions. In Ciraolo, the dissenters criticized

the majority because

the Court fails to acknowledge the qualitative differ-

ence between police surveillance and other uses made

of the air space. Members of the public use the air

space for travel, business or pleasure, not for the

purpose of observing activities taking place within

residential yards. Here, police conducted an over-

flight at low altitude solely for the purpose of discov-

ering evidence of crime within a private enclave into

which they were constitutionally forbidden to intrude

at ground level without a warrant. It is not easy to

believe that our society is prepared to force individu-

;

:

j

13

als to bear the risk of this type of warrantless police

intrusion into their residential areas.

California v. Ciraolo, 476 U.S. 207, , 106 S.Ct. 1809,

1818-1819 (1986) (Powell, J., dissenting) (footnote omitted).

In Dow Chemical, the dissenters cautioned that the relative

ease with which a particular technology could be acquired by

the public should not delimit the reasonableness of an expec-

tation of privacy. /d., 476 U.S. at , 106 S.Ct. at 1833

(1986) (Powell, J., dissenting).

While there may be dispute as to the propriety of its precise

placement, a line was drawn in Dow Chemical based upon a

qualitative distinction not unlike that drawn in Rochin v.

California, 342 U.S. 165 (1952). Regardless of whether the

technology for the intrusion has become available or accepted,

society is not prepared to let the police engage in such intrusions

without compelling justification and without procedural

safeguards. The same rationale ought to apply to pen registers

and should lead to a re-examination of the result reached in

Smith and by the New Hampshire Supreme Court in the opinion

below.

B. Neutral Magistrate.

In cases such as Johnson v. United States, 333 U.S. 10

(1948), United States v. Jeffers, 342 U.S. 48 (1951), Coolidge

v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443 (1971), United States v.

United States District Court, 407 U.S. 297 (1972), Shadwick

v. City of Tampa, 407 U.S. 345 (1972), Connally v. Georgia,

429 U.S. 245 (1977) and Lo-Ji Sales, Inc. v. New York, 442

U.S. 319 (1979) the Court has stressed the importance of

separating executive and judicial functions and of interposing

the unbiased judgment of a neutral and detached magistrate

14

between the rights of the individual and the zeal of police

officers engaged in the often competitive enterprise of ferreting

out crime.

In several instances, the Court has found a per se lack of

neutrality and detachment. In Coolidge, the Court held that a

warrant could not properly be issued by the state attorney

general who was chief investigator and prosecutor in the matter.

In Connally, the Court disqualified a magistrate who was paid

for issuing warrants but not for refusing to do so. Even though

the magistrate’s fee or interest in deciding to issue a warrant

was a paltry five dollars, a unanimous Court held that this

personal financial interest in issuing awarrant was a “*possible

temptation to the average man as a judge . . . or which might

lead him not to hold the balance nice, clean and true between

the State and the accused.’” Connally, supra, 429 U.S. at 250,

quoting Ward v. Village of Monroeville, 409 U.S. 57, 60

(1972).

State courts have similarly disqualified judges who by reason

of position or actions lacked the necessary impartiality or even

gave an appearance of interest. See, e.g., Baggett v. State,

132 Ga.App. 266, 208 S.E.2d 23 (1974) (magistrate who was

a part time police dispatcher disqualified); State v~ Guhl, 140

Ga.App. 23, 230 S.E.2d 22 (1976) (judge involved in inves-

tigatory grand jury was so affiliated with prosecution as to be

disqualified); Thomason v. State, 148 Ga.App. 513, 251

S.E.2d 598 (1978) (judge’s practice of accompanying officers

executing warrants created the impression that the judge had

sided with the police and given up his role as a neutral magis-

trate); Vaughn v. State, 160 Ga.App. 283, 287 S.E.2d 277

(1981) (honorary deputy sheriff disqualified); People v. Payne,

424 Mich. 475, 381 N.W.2d 391 (1985) (magistrate who was

a deputy sheriff disqualified because the loyalty of the issuing

magistrate to the judiciary must be unfettered).

15

Indeed, Coolidge itself rejected any effort to assess actual

impartiality on a case-by-case basis. Coolidge, supra, 403

U.S. at 450. It is submitted that the Court’s opinions must

disqualify a magistrate where there is an appearance or possi-

bility that a magistrate will view a warrant application with a

clouded eye. In the opinions below, both the Rockingham

Superior Court and the New Hampshire Supreme Court did

precisely what Coolidge sought to avoid. Whether this magis-

trate in this setting in fact was impartial is simply not the issue.

Rather, the proper inquiry under Coolidge and Connally should

have been whether there was an appearance of partiality or a

possible temptation not to be neutral and detached.’ This,

again, depends not upon nice calculations or a magistrate’s

post hoc disavowals of interest or bias but upon the perception

of whether neutrality could have been compromised.

Here, what is most significant is not that the magistrate was

in fact prejudiced but that the police felt so comfortably allied

with the magistrate as to seek him out for advice and assistance;

and that the magistrate felt so comfortably allied with the

police as to assist them without question, even to the point of

advising them as to the relative risks and rewards of their

contemplated illegal conduct. Both the Rockingham Superior

Court and the New Hampshire Supreme Court recognized as

much by cautioning magistrates to avoid putting themselves

in similarly potentially compromising positions in the future.

However, such a prospective approach is faithless to

Coolidge and Connally. Granting the writ in this case will give

the Court the opportunity to assert the continued vitality of its

precedents.

* Similarly, in Young v. United States, US. ,107S.Ct. 2124(1987),

the Court struck down the appointment of counsel for a beneficiary of an

injunction as private prosecutor in a related contempt action merely because

of the potential for misconduct or conflict of interest.

16

Conclusion.

For the foregoing reasons it is respectfully submitted that

this petition should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

ALBERT F. CULLEN, JR.,*

JOHN WALL,

141 Tremont Street,

Boston, Massachusetts 02111.

(617) 482-8650

STEPHEN GORDON,

5 Green Street,

Concord, New Hampshire 03301.

(603) 228-1109

HARRY C. MEZER, P.C.,

89 Broad Street,

Boston, Massachusetts 02110.

(617) 482-7777

Attorneys for Petitioners

*Counsel of Record .

Table of Contents.

Appendix.

Opinions of the Supreme Court of the State of New

Hampshire dated December 31, 1987 la

Opinion of the Rockingham County Superior Court

dated August 15, 1985 35a

Opinion of the Rockingham County Superior Court

dated September 4, 1985 38a

pieeenenencanni eet iinetaaenaniciniin an eae ie

la

THE SUPREME COURT OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

Rockingham

No. 86-073

THE STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

Vv.

BENJAMIN VALENZUELA & A

December 31, 1987

| SOUTER. J. These consolidated appeals follow convictions

: of the three defendants on a total of seventeen charges under

| the controlled drug act, RSA chapter 318-B, including posses-

sion of large quantities of cocaine with intent to sell. The

defendants claim that the Superior Court (Wyman, J.) erred in

authorizing the interception of the contents of communications

transmitted over defendant Stephen Young’s telephone lines

on the basis, inpart, of information obtained by the use of pen

registers, previously installed on the same lines under a federal

court’s order unsupported by probable cause; that Gray. J.,

committed error in refusing to conduct a hearing under State

v. Spero, 117 N.H. 199, 371 A.2d 1155 (1977) in response

to the defendants’ claim that the superior court’s interception

order rested on false statements knowingly or recklessly made,

and in failing to suppress the evidentiary fruits of the intercep-

tion as illegally obtained; and that Gray. J., erred further in

denying motions to suppress evidence seized under warrants

to search the defendants’ houses, after rejecting the defendants’

claim that the issuing magistrate was not neutral and detached,

and after likewise rejecting the claim that the police exceeded

the scope of their authority to enter Young’s house, by execut-

2a

ing the warrant in the nighttime, and by seizing so much

material as to convert the enterprise into an unlawful general

search. We affirm.

In 1983, during the course of an investigation into the illegal

sale and distribution of controlled drugs, the New Hampshire

State Police obtained an unlisted telephone number assigned

to the defendant Young, toll call records for his two telephones,

and an authorization to install a pen register on each of his

two telephone lines. A pen register is a mechanical device to

detect outgoing signals produced on a telephone line when a

number is dialed. It decodes the signals, prints the number,

records the date and time, and indicates whether the call is

answered. See RSA 570-A:1, XII (Supp. 1986). The pen regis-

ter model used by the State Police can also be used to record

the presence of an incoming call signal and to indicate whether

the receiving telephone was removed from the hook in re-

sponse, and by the addition of supplementary mechanisms the

police could intercept and record the content of an oral com-

munication over the line. There is, however, no indication in

this case that the police used the device to detect incoming

Signals. or to intercept the content of any communication over

Young’s lines to or from any other telephone.

Prior to January | , 1987, the effective date of RSA 570-A:9-a

(Supp. 1986) the New Hampshire wiretapping statute contained

no express reference to pen registers as such. Although the

State Police assumed that the superior court’s authority to order

the interception of communications over a telephone line under

RSA chapter 570-A was broad enough to authorize the instal-

lation of a pen register, the statute did not appear to include

the operation of a pen register within the scope of “intercept,”

for which the statute required judicial authorization. See RSA

570-A:1. HI and :7. Given this uncertainty, the police did not

wish to follow the State statutory process, because RSA 570-

A:9, V would have limited any authorization to a period of ten

ne

3a

days, subject to renewals for like periods. Since the police

wished to monitor calls on Young’s two lines for a longer

period, they asked federal agents to act on their behalf in

obtaining pen register authorizations from the United States

District Court for the District of New Hampshire under Federal

Rule of Criminal Procedure 57(b) and the All Writs Act, 28

U.S.C. § 1651(a). The federal court authorized the installation

of the pen registers for thirty days, and later renewed the order,

upon finding that the application was made in good faith for

the purpose of furthering a pending investigation, and with

reason to believe that the telephone lines in question were and

would be used to further criminal activity. The court directed

the telephone company to permit and facilitate the installation,

with the right to be compensated for any expense it might

incur in doing so.

On January 5, 1984, Sergeant Henry Carpenito of the State

Police prepared an affidavit that combined data provided by

the pen registers about calls made from Young’s telephones,

records of toll calls made from those same telephones and

from telephones assigned to the defendants Benjamin Valen-

zuela and Antimo DiMatteo, and information about the three

defendants obtained from police records, investigators, and

informers. On this basis he obtained a superior court wiretap

order under RSA 570-A:9 for an interception of the contents

of communications during completed calls over the same tele-

phone lines assigned to Young that the pen registers had pre-

viously monitored for numbers dialed in outgoing calls. These

interceptions provided information on the basis of which the

police, in turn, obtained warrants on January 15, 1984, to

search the houses of all three defendants. The ensuing searches

yielded, inter alia, 65 pounds of cocaine, nearly a ton of

marijuana, LSD tablets, jewels, over $200,000 in cash, ledgers

— and other documentary evidence of drug traffic, and an assort-

ment of pistols, revolvers, and ammunition.

4a

After unsuccessfully litigating motions to suppress the

State’s evidence, the defendants waived jury trial and submitted

their cases to the superior court on the basis of the existing

records and certain stipulations. The Trial Court (Gray, J.)

returned guilty verdicts on the seventeen charges and proceeded

to sentence Valenzuela and DiMatteo to prison terms of 15 to

40 years, and Young to a term of 25 to 70 years. These appeals

followed.

As our statement of facts indicates, the accumulation of

evidence upon which the search warrants ultimately rested

began with the acquisition of Young’s one unlisted number,

followed by the disclosures of toll records for his telephones

(as well as for the telephones assigned to DiMatteo and Valen-

zuela) and the production by the pen registers of lists of num-

bers called on each of Young’s lines. The defendants maintain

that the State acquired all of this information in violation of

Part I, article 19 of the Constitution of New Hampshire. In

this appeal, however, the defendants address their specific

arguments solely to the acquisition of telephone numbers by

use of the pen registers, apparently on the assumption that all

of their claims will stand or fall together. We will limit our

decision accordingly, to the constitutional significance of using

a pen register to record and disclose numbers dialed to make

outgoing calls from a defendant’s telephone. (In view of our

conclusion about the requirements of article 19 on the theory

of the case as it has been presented to us, there is no need to

reach the State’s objection that Valenzuela and DiMatteo lack

standing even to object to the use of the pen register evidence,

and on like reasoning there is no call to consider any issue

about the propriety of the State Police’s reliance on federal

- process for authorization to install the devices.)

Article 19 prohibits unreasonable searches and seizures of

an individual’s “person, his houses, his papers, and all his

possessions.” The defendants argue the State was thereby

a

Sa

barred from access to evidentiary information about numbers

dialed on Young’s telephones without first obtaining a warrant

or comparable process, supported by a showing of probable

cause to believe that the information sought would include

evidence of a crime. Because the State made no such demon-

stration, the defendants submit that the information and all

subsequent evidence obtained through its use should be sup-

pressed.

The State concedes that the orders authorizing installation

of the pen registers did not rest on any findings by the federal

judge that probable cause existed to believe that the telephone

lines would be used to make outgoing calls for criminal pur-

poses or that such purposes would be revealed by examination

of numbers called on the lines. The State takes the position

that it had no obligation to demonstrate such probable cause

because the use of a pen register to record the number dialed

to make an outgoing call on the line to which the register is

attached is not a search of the person or property of the sub-

scriber to whom the line is assigned, so as to be subject to the

restrictions imposed by article 19. (That, we infer, is also the

assumption underlying the recently enacted statute regulating

the use of pen registers, RSA 570-A:9-a (Supp. 1986) which

imposes no probable cause requirement. See id., subparagraph

III.)

Ironically, the parties-purport to rest their differing conclu-

sions on a Common assumption, that the scope of article 19

protection should be judged by reference to the concept of

privacy adopted by the Supreme Court of the United States in

Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967) as a criterion for

determining the extent of fourth amendment protection. De-

spite the parties’ agreement, however, this common ground

has no support in our prior case law. See State v. Kilgus, 128

N.H. 577, 591, 519 A.2d 231, 240 (1986) (decided on the

assumption “‘arguendo” that article 19 applies to electronic

6a

eavesdropping, on analogy with the fourth amendment

rationale developed in Katz). Indeed, so far as we are aware,

this court has never been asked to construe article 19 by choos-

ing from among the possibilities ranging from the holding of

the Katz majority, see Katz v. United States, supra at 353

through other generalized principles of privacy, to the position

taken by Justice Black, who dissented in Katz, see id. at 364.

Nor do the parties address these interpretive alternatives here,

where neither side has briefed the background of article 19

and the history of its application as bearing on the extent to

which Katz may be a sound guide to our own Constitution.

Although we might, therefore, set the case down for reargu-

ment addressed to the fundamental issue, we have decided

against doing so because we are satisfied that even under Katz

the defendants are entitled to no relief. We are thus able to

rule on the defendants’ claim in the posture in which the parties

have presented it, and we leave it for another day to decide

whether the view of the Katz majority should be taken to reflect

a theory inherent in article 19. (In so confining our decision,

we do not, of course, cast any doubt upon the vitality of prior

cases recognizing civil rights of action for violations of privacy

interests. See Sawyer v. Boufford, 113 N.H. 627, 630, 312

A.2d 693, 695 (1973); Hamberger v. Eastmarr, 106 N.H. 107,

206 A.2d 239 (1964).)

On the Katz analysis, protection against unreasonable

searches and seizures is not limited by references to private

physical premises, or to persons or to tangible evidence. While

the fourth amendment, like article 19, speaks in terms of sec-

urity against unreasonable searches and seizures of a person,

his houses, papers, and effects (or possessions), Katz held that

the intangible contents of a defendant’s statement may be sub-

ject to fourth amendment protection from discovery, without

reference to physical invasions of constitutionally protected

areas. Katz, 389 U.S. at 353 (citing Silverman v. United States,

7a

365 U.S. 505, 511 (1961)). “{T]he Fourth Amendment protects

people, not places,” id. at 351, and even without a traditional

physical intrusion upon a defendant or his property, the gov-

ernment’s effort to obtain information communicated by him

may be a “search” subject to constitutional regulation. Two

generally applicable criteria must be satisfied, however: the

defendant objecting to the use of such evidence must have

entertained a subjective expectation that the evidence would

remain private, and his expectation must have been one that

society is prepared to honor as reasonable or legitimate. /d.

at 361 (Harlan, J., concurring).

Katz did not, of course, hold that its theory of privacy

circumscribed the extent of protection against unreasonable

searches and seizures. /d. at 350. But when the government’s

effort to obtain evidence does not take the form of a physical

search of or for a defendant’s person, house, papers, or prop-

erty, an understanding of the Katz privacy concept is necessary

to determine whether the effort is a search subject to constitu-

tional review.

Such an understanding is not easily gained, however. Katz

held that a person making a telephone call may reasonably

expect privacy as against the government’s warrantless use of

an electronic eavesdropping device to overhear the statements

he utters within a public telephone booth. Katz, supra at 353.

Although this holding might have invited broad conceptualiza-

tion, the Katz majority were plain to say that they had no

intention of engrafting a general theory of privacy protection

onto the trunk of the fourth amendment. See Katz, supra at 350.

Katz does not leave its readers without further guidance,

however, since the majority opinion did describe one means

of the government’s access to evidentiary information that

would not violate any legitimate expectation of privacy, and

would not, therefore, involve a regulated “search.” The major-

ity opinion approvingly cited Lewis v. United States, 385 U.S.

8a

206, 210 (1966), reh’g denied, 386 U.S. 389 (1967), for the

proposition that the fourth amendment recognizes no claims

of privacy in what a person “knowingly exposes to the public,

even in his own home or office.” Katz, 389 U.S. at 351.

The citation to Lewis thus defines constitutionally protected

privacy, at least in the negative sense of limiting its scope,

and it must therefore be seen as integral to the Katz decision

and to an understanding of what Katz does and does not rec-

ognize under the rubric of protected privacy. In Lewis, the

court rejected a claim thatthe fourth amendment bars admission

of tangible evidence and information revealed by a defendant

in his own house to a witness who had deceptively concealed

his role as a government agent. Lewis, supra at 210-11. Lewis

was decided on the same day as Hoffa v. United States, 385

U.S. 293 (1966), reh’g denied, 386 U.S. 940 and 951 (1967),

which held that the fourth amendment is no barrier to the

testimony of an informer in whom the defendant had misplaced

his trust. id. at 302, and both Lewis and Hoffa may be grouped

with Lopez v. United States, 373 U.S. 427, 437-38 (1963),

which held that a secretly recorded tape of a defendant’s state-

ments to an Internal Revenue agent was admissible under the

fourth amendment. ‘

The significance of these cases for an understanding of con-

Stitutionally protected privacy has not waned in the years since

Katz was decided. They were affirmed as undisturbed by Katz

in United States v. White, 401 U.S. 745, 752 (1971), which

held that the contents of a conversation between the defendant

and a government agent were admissible through the testimony

of a witness who had heard the conversation broadcast by a

transmitter concealed on the agent’s person. The Supreme

Court subsequently described White’s rationale as “well-set-

tled,” United States v. Jacobsen, 466 U.S. 109, 117 (1984),

and we ourselves have called White’s logic “inescapable,”

when considering the scope of protection within the conceptual

9a

framework of Katz. State v. Kilgus, 128 N.H. at 591, 519

A.2d at 241.

‘This understanding of the agent-informer cases illuminates

the State’s position that the use of the pen registers in the

instant case did not infringe any protected privacy under Katz

and were therefore not constitutionally regulated searches. The

pen registers, installed on the telephone company’s lines, re-

ceived coded signals sent from Young’s telephones to the

company for the purpose of enabling it to connect Young’s

telephones with those he sought to call. In making a record

of the decoded signals, the registers did no more than record

voluntary communications from the defendant to the telephone

company. (Such communications to the company are to be

distinguished from the contents of communications transmitted

over the company’s lines and addressed not to the company

but to the recipients of completed calls. The latter, of course,

would be subject to protection under Katz and under RSA

chapter 570-A.) It is obvious, and is indeed undisputed, that

no constitutionally protected privacy would have been in-

fringed, and no search conducted, if the telephone company

had informed the government of numbers orally communicated

by Young to an operator. The company and its operator would

have been doing nothing different from what the agent or

informer might do, and Katz would erect no constitutional

hurdle to the government’s evidentiary use of what the com-

pany or the operator disclosed. The same conclusion should

follow by analogy when a pen register installed on the com-

pany’s line informs the government of the decoded messages

communicated to the company through the use of the com-

pany’s dialing and switching equipment. The only distinction

between the two cases is the use of mechanical rather than

human receptors of the message intended to inform the com-

pany of the caller’s desired connection, and such a distinction

should make no difference for constitutional purposes.

10a

It is of course ordinarily true today, as it is in this case, that

the company becomes an informer only in response to a court

order requiring installation of the pen register on one of its

lines. But this fact does not affect the soundness of the analogy,

since the holdings of the agent-informer cases do not require

the agent-informer either to initiate his relationship with the

government or to act with selfless disinterest. An informer,

for example, may reveal information to the police out of a

sense of civic obligation, or he may do so to obtain money”or

prosecutorial favor. See United States v. Hoffa, supra at 299.

A paid agent may testify to something he learns quite by chance

or to information he was directed to obtain as a condition of

earning his government salary. What is crucial in these cases

is the defendant’s voluntary disclosure of evidence to the agent-

informer, not the agent-informer’s interest or motivation when

he informs the government. On like reasoning it should not

matter whether the telephone company accedes to a pen register

order because it does not care one way or the other whether

such registers are used, or because it believes that cooperation

with law enforcement is in the long-term interest of a regulated

utility. Suffice it to say that neither the authorities cited nor

the facts of this case involve an agent or informer who claims

to have been unaware that he was providing information to a

third party, or who maintains any objection to disclosing it,

or who claims that his will was impermissibly overborn in

coercing him to make the disclosure.

The Supreme Court accepted this logic in Smith v. Maryland,

442 U.S. 735 (1979) where it recognized the analogy between

the oral instruction given to the operator who repeats it and

the electronic instruction given to the switching equipment

over aline to which a pen register is attached. /d. at 744. The

Supreme Court followed Katz in citing agent-informer cases

to support its holding, that when the telephone company ac-

cedes to the government’s request to provide a pen register’s

—.

lla

record of numbers dialed on a defendant’s telephone, the de-

fendant has no sustainable claim to a reasonable expectation

of privacy in the coded information that he has voluntarily

supplied to the company for the purpose of activating its switch-

ing mechanisms. /d. at 743-45. The Court thus rested the

decision on the principle, “consistently . . . held that a person

has no legitimate expectation of privacy in information he

voluntarily turns over to third parties.” /d. at 743-44.

The defendants have been quick to point out, however, that

Smith has not escaped controversy. While some state constitu-

tional analyses have reached the same result, see, e.g., People

v. Guerra, 65 N.Y.2d 60, 63-64, 489 N.Y.S.2d 718, 720,

478 N.E.2d 1319, 1321 (1985); Yarbrough v. State, 473 So.

2d 766, 767 (Fla. App. Dist. 1985); State, ex rel. Ohio Bell

v. Williams, 63 Ohio St. 2d 51, 53, 407 N.E.2d 2, 3-4 (1980),

the defendants call our attention to jurisdictions that have gone

the other way, see, e.g., State v.Gunwall, 106 Wash. 2d 54,

720 P.2d 808, 813 (1986); Commonwealth v.Beauford, 327

Pa. Super. 253, 475 A.2d 783, 789 (1984), appeal dismissed,

496 A.2d 1143 (Pa. 1985); People v. Sporleder, 666 P.2d

135, 139-40 (Colo. 1983); People v. Blair, 25 Cal. 3d 640,

654, 159 Cal. Rptr. 818, 827, 602 P.2d 738, 746-47 (1979)

and to commentary critical of the Smith opinion. See, e.g., |

LaFave, Search and Seizure, § 2.7 (Supp. 1986); Comment,

“Pen Registers After Smith v. Maryland,” 15 Harv. C.R.-C.L.

L. Rev. 753 (1980).

The defendants have proceeded to marshal some of the prin-

cipal criticisms of Smith expressed in the authorities cited, to

which we will respond by indicating why we believe that the

State’s position, and Smith’s result, are sound in the light of

Katz. At the outset, however, it is well to mention two respects

in which we decline to rest our own application of Katz on

the discussion contained in Smith. First, the Smith opinion

spent some time considering the defendant’s subjective ex-

12a

pectation of privacy in the dialed numbers, concluding that he

probably entertained no such expectation because he presum-

ably knew that the company sometimes recorded numbers

dialed in order to bill for toll calls and commercial service,

and to trace obscene communications. Smith, supra at 742.

Whatever may be the merits of this ostensibly factual conclu-

sion, it is in the last analysis unnecessary if the Court was also

correct, as we believe it was, in holding that any such expec-

tation of privacy would have been unreasonable in the light

of Katz. We will not, therefore, address the defendants’ argu-

ments that Young did in fact expect to preserve the privacy

of his activity in dialing numbers. We will, indeed, assume

with Justice Batchelder, who dissents from this opinion, that

Young entertained just such an expectation. See United States

v. Jacobsen. 466 U.S. at 122-23.

Second, the Smith Court referred t_ che defendant’s assump-

tion of the risk that the information dialed would be passed

on to the government. Smith, 442 U.S. at 744-45. Although

that reference reflected nothing more than the antecedent law

on the admissibility of information given to agents or infor-

mers, see id. at 743-44, it was a reference that risked an

appearance of circular reasoning and occasioned Justice Mar-

shall’s criticism, in dissent, that a telephone subscriber does

not voluntarily assume a risk from using the telephone when

he has no practical alternative to using it. Jd. at 750 (Marshall,

J., dissenting). We will, therefore, avoid the assumption-of-

risk terminology, and its tendency to obscure the reasons for

the result we reach.

With these disclaimers made, we turn to the defendants’

principal criticisms of Smith and objections to the State’s po-

sition. The first focuses on the notion of the governmental

activity to be regulated, when the defendants argue that any

governmental effort to obtain evidence should be treated as a

search within the meaning of the Constitution and should there-

13a

fore be subject to limitation under a standard of reasonableness

requiring justification in demonstrated probable cause. The

second focuses on the acts of a defendant that may limit oppor-

tunities to claim constitutional protection, when the defendants

argue that a waiver of privacy by disclosure to a third party

should not be equated with a waiver as against the government.

The first of these points is easily restated: there should be

no category distinction between a governmental effort to obtain

evidence and a search for purposes of constitutional protection.

The government is seeking evidence whether it examines the

contents of a desk, listens to an intercepted wire communica-

tion, or installs a pen register on telephone company equipment

to obtain the numbers that a defendant dials on his telephone.

So efficient, indeed, is this last mechanism, and so general

and comprehensive is its searching capability, that the defend-

ants discern an especially insistent call for constitutional

scrutiny.

The response to this argument may be stated just as readily,

however. To maintain the position that any effort to gather

evidence should be treated as a search regulated in law is,

ultimately, to reject the reasoning of the agent-informer cases.

This is apparent in Justice Marshall’s dissent in Smith which

begins with citations to his earlier dissents in cases like United

States v.. White, 401 U.S. 745. The defendants evidently rec-

ognize this, too, when they try to characterize the precedential

force of those cases as “tenuous” and suggest that accepting

the defendants’ own position would be an easy step to take.

Accepting their position would, on the contrary, be a con-

stitutional volte-face. The implication of a rule requiring war-

rants for pen registers installed on company equipment to re-

cord the numbers that a defendant dials would also require a

warrant before the government could utilize evidence that

might be communicated to an agent or even to an informer, —

except to the extent that the latter might volunteer information

ee

l4a

spontaneously. Such a requirement would curtail, if not effec-

tively eliminate, the use of agents, which had been described

as an “essential” law enforcement practice. Sorrells v. United

States, 287 U.S. 435, 441-42 (1932), and which less than a

year ago we held to be outside the scope of activity subject

to the warrant require menton the assumption that article 19

were to incorporate Katz. State v. Kilgus, 128 N.H. at 591-92,

519 A.2d at 240-41. Not only is there no justification for

re-examining our position so soon after Kilgus; it is simply

too late in the day to raise doubts under article 19 or the fourth

amendment about the constitutionality of using evidence ob-

tained without a warrant through a government agent or in-

former to whom a defendant has voluntarily disclosed or trans-

ferred it. See Power Comm'n v. Pipeline Co., 315 U.S. 575,

582 (1942) (regulations recognized too long as proper under

the fourteenth amendment to doubt propriety of like regulations

under the fifth amendment).

The revolutionary implication of the defendants’ position is

not limited, however, to its call to deny the persuasive authority

of federal cases from Lopez to White, or to overrule our own

decision in Kilgus. For if we followed the defendants’ lead,

we would have to redefine the very concept of privacy estab-

lished by Katz, upon which the defendants claim to rely. The

defendants fail to face the fact that the privacy held reasonably

expectable under Katz is not an immunity to the use of evidence

that a defendant has disclosed to an agent or informer who is

willing to reveal it. If the defendants will have us apply Katz,

they will have to take Lopez, Lewis, Hoffa, White, and Kilgus

along with it. They cannot have it both ways. Katz is no

support for the defendants, and Kilgus already bars their argu-

ment.

The defendants’ second objection to the State’s position

starts from the undoubted fact that a telephone subscriber who

willingly provides the telephone company with information,

a re

15a

consisting of a number dialed, does not thereby intend to

provide that information to the government. Other critics of

Smith have stressed this same fact. See, e.g., Smith v. Mary-

land, 442 U.S. at 749 (Marshall, J., dissenting); “Pen Registers

After Smith v. Maryland,” 15 Harv. C.R.-C.L. L. Rev. at

755, and it is one of Justice Batchelder’s principal concerns

in this dissent today. The fact is said to support the view that

there are “degrees of privacy,” id., so that waiver to some

degree is not waiver of all privacy protection, even against

the government.

Once again, however, the defendants’ view is at odds with-

Katz. The claims that there are degrees of privacy and that the

result in Smith v. Maryland fails to account for them rests on

a conception of privacy that is different from the conception

of constitutional privacy that Katz recognized. At one level,

the degrees-of-privacy critique describes a subjective intent or

expectation: the subscriber who dials does not mean to provide

information to the government. This subjective posture, how-

ever, has no dispositive significance under Katz; a subjective

expectation of privacy is necessary, but it does not alone suffice

to create a pale of privacy within which any intrusion by the

government is a constitutionally regulated search. Standing

alone, the recognition that there are subjectively recognized

degrees of privacy is inadequate either to ground a conclusion

under Katz or to prove that Smith was wrongly decided when

it adopted the position for which the State argues today. See

United States v. Jacobsen, 466 U.S. at 122-23.

Even if we attempt to elevate expectations of degrees of

privacy above the purely subjective level, however, Kazz still

stands in the defendants’ way. We cannot simultaneously rec-

ognize the defendants’ asserted limitations on waiver of privacy

as against the government and continue to adhere to the

rationale of the agent-informer cases, for if a defendant should

be entitled to limit his waiver of privacy as against the use of the

16a

pen register’s report of what he dialed to the company, he

should be able to limit any waiver as against the government’s

testimony of what he said to the agent. Since Katz accepted

the agent-informer cases, the defendants can not assert a con-

Stitutional theory of limited waiver without partially repudiat-

ing Katz, upon which they claim to rely. The defendants’

position would redefine Katz’s privacy by converting it from

a defendant’s right to be secure against certain means of non-

consensual access to his communications and possessions, into

a defendant’s right to control the use of evidence without

regard to how the defendant may have disclosed that evidence

to another. It would empower a defendant to enforce a kind

of evidentiary copyright, by precluding the government’s use

of information for a purpose that the defendant did not intend

when he communicated with another. Suffice it to say that we

could not accept the defendants’ position without a wholesale

overruling of the agent-informer cases including Kilgus, which

stand together as an integral limit to Katz’s concept of privacy.

In summary, we reject the defendants’ arguments, both be-

cause they would entail our repudiation of the agent-informer

cases, and because they are inconsistent with the holding of

Katz to which the agent-informer cases are an express and

essential limitation. Under Katz and the agent-informer cases,

there is no violation of constitutional privacy when the tele-

phone operator acts as a government informer by communicat-

ing what a defendant has addressed to the operator, and we

therefore find no violation when the “hearer” is not an operator

but a machine receiving functionally equivalent information

communicated by a defendant and directed to the company.

- In each case the government obtains from the company’s cho-

sen means of operating its system the information that the

defendant-customer has communicated to the system in order

to make it work for him. Since there is no violation of a

protected privacy interest when the operator repeats what the

a

17a

customer has told him, neither is there one when the record

of the pen register is disclosed.

Because we therefore conclude that the Katz conception of

protected privacy, if applied through article 19, would not

limit the use of a pen register to obtain the numbers that a

defendant dials on his telephone, it is not significant that the

federal order authorizing the installation of the devices in issue

here was unsupported by probable cause. Accordingly, the

defendants have supplied no reason to argue that the superior

court should have rejected the information provided by the

registers when it determined whether the State had established

the probable cause required by RSA 570-A:9, III for the sub-

sequent order authorizing the interception of communications

over Young’s two telephone lines.

The defendants argue that the fruits of the interceptions were

subject to suppression nevertheless, because of various inten-

tional or reckless misrepresentations allegedly made by

Sergeant Carpenito in the affidavit he submitted to the superior

court with the application for the interception order. When the

defendants raised this issue prior to trial, the superior court

first determined that the alleged misrepresentations, taken to-

gether, were not material, in the sense of being necessary for

a finding of probable cause. Having so determined, the court

refused to hold a hearing to receive evidence of the intentional

or reckless falsity claimed, and denied any relief predicated

on misrepresentation. :

The defendants concede that the superior court’s action is

consistent with the federal standard for dealing with alleged

misrepresentations in warrant applications, as established by

Franks v. Delaware, 438 U.S. 154 (1978). Under Franks a

defendant is not entitled to a hearing on a claim that a facially

sufficient warrant application rests on intentional or reckless

misrepresentations by the police unless excision of the disputed

statements would eliminate the probable cause for the issuance

18a

of the warrant. /d. at 171-72. The defendants do not claim

that excision of the misrepresentations alleged in this case

would have eliminated probable cause for issuance of the in-

terception order.

They argue, however, that State v. Spero, 117 N.H. 199,

371 A.2d 1155 (1977), and a line of cases following it, establish

more lenient standards of entitlement under State law both to

an evidentiary hearing and to relief, upon such a misrepresen-

tation claim. In the defendants’ brief, they put their understand-

ing of Spero and the succeeding cases this way:

“When a defendant makes a preliminary showing that an

affidavit in support of a warrant contains misstatements which

contribute to the finding of probable cause, the defendant is

entitled to a hearing to determine whether the affiant made

such misrepresentations intentionally or recklessly; if so the

warrant must be quashed and any evidence derived from its

execution must be suppressed.”

This statement is wrong in two significant respects.

First, it erroneously assumes that under State law a defendant

is entitled to be heard in challenging a facially valid warrant

if he makes a preliminary showing that misstatements by the

police merely “contributed” to the demonstration of probable

cause. On the contrary, the defendant is not entitled to a hearing

unless the statements subject to the preliminary showing of

falsity were material, to the degree that there would have been

no demonstration of probable cause without them. See State

v. Grimshaw, 128 N.H. 431, 436, 515 A.2d 1201, 1204 (1986)

(“In light of the fact that the information provided by the

confidential informant was unnecessary to the finding of prob-

able cause, we need not reach the defendant’s contention that

the [police] affiant fabricated the existence of that informant

.. .”); State v. Spero, supra at 204, 205, 371 A.2d at 1158,

1159 (“the misrepresentations in the affidavit . . . were clearly

material. . . . If the affidavit had been in accordance with

i

19a

the facts . . . it would not have sustained a finding of probable

cause”); see also Franks, 438 U.S. at 171-72 (no hearing

unless excision of allegations subject to preliminary showing

of falsity would eliminate probable cause); Kipperman, /nac-

curate Search Warrant Affidavits as a Ground for Suppressing

Evidence, 84 Harv. L. Rev. 825, 829 n. 35 (1971) (to be

material, disputed allegation must be necessary to establish

probable cause).

The first substantial error in the defendant’s quoted statement

leads to the second, the assumption that a defendant would be

entitled to relief by suppression of evidence upon demonstrat-

ing that any false statement contributing to probable cause was

made knowingly or with reckless disregard for its truth or

falsity. This, of course, would be entirely inconsistent with

the requirement of materiality discussed above. We would not

deny a hearing on the ground that the disputed statements were

immaterial as being unnecessary to demonstrate probable cause

if the police’s knowing and reckless falsity in-making any

statement of any significance would entitle a defendant to

relief. See State v. Chaisson, 125 N.H. 810, 814, 486 A.2d

297, 300 (1984) (because disputed statements are not material,

the court need not address claim that they were made with

reckless falsity). On the contrary, however, a defendant is

entitled to relief following an evidentiary hearing only if he

actually demonstrates both that the police knowingly or reck-

lessly misstated facts, and that the misstatements, taken to-

gether, were material in the sense described above, as necessary

for probable cause. State v. Spero, 117 N.H. at 205, 371 A.2d

at 1158.

In summary, the rule under article 19 is that a defendant is

entitled to be heard in attacking a facially valid warrant only

after a preliminary showing that in demonstrating probable

cause for issuing the warrant, the police made knowing or

reckless misstatements that were material in the sense of being

20a

necessary for the finding of probable cause. Thereafter, such

a defendant is entitled to relief only upon demonstrating that

the police in fact knowingly or recklessly made misstatements

rising to that material level. In substance, then, the New Hamp-

shire rule established by Spero is identical to the later federal

rule announced in Franks, notwithstanding any suggestion to

the contrary in State v. Renfrew, 122 N.H. 308, 444 A.2d

527 (1982); State v. Doyle, 126 N.H. 153, 489 A.2d 639

(1985) or State v. Stiles, 128 N.H. 81,512 A.2d 1084 (1986).

At this point, the only occasion for arguing that there may be

a difference between the State and federal rules is the silence

of our prior opinions on what is necessary for the requisite

“preliminary showing” of material misstatement, beyond mere

allegations. See Franks v. Delaware, 438 U.S. at 171-72.

Since, however, this issue is not before us, we confine our-

selves to holding that the trial court committed no error in

refusing to hold a Spero hearing, absent allegations of misrep-

resentation rising to the requisite degree of materiality. (Al-

though the collective materiality of the statements and omis-

sions in question is likewise not in issue, we have examined

them and agree with the trial court that they are not material.)

The defendants next attack the interception-order on the

ground that the information supplied by affidavit in support

of the State’s application was stale, and for that reason was

insufficient to demonstrate probable cause to believe that

Young’s use of his telephones would provide evidence about

the commission of an offense specified in RSA chapter 570-A.

See RSA 570-A:9, III. Although the defendants’ brief invokes

both federal and State constitutional grounds for this argument,

only the State issue is raised, the motion to suppress having

been grounded solely on part I, article 19 of the State Constitu-

tion. On this point, however, even the reference to the State

Constitution is academic, since RSA 570-A:9, III requires

probable cause for issuance of an interception order.

2la

The defendants reveal the central weakness of their staleness

claim when they state in their brief that the superior court

“relied upon stale information” in reaching the probable cause

determination. The quotation reflects a confusion between stale

probable cause and stale information. See State v. Andrews,

125 N.H. 158, 165, 480 A.2d 889, 893 (1984). Stale probable

cause, so called, is probable cause that would have justified

a warrant at some earlier moment that has already passed by

the time the warrant is sought. Speaking of the probable cause

as “stale” in such a case merely reflects the requirement that

“the police must show that at the time of the application for

the warrant there is a substantial likelihood of finding the

[evidentiary material specified].” State v. Marcotte, 123 N.H.

245, 248, 459 A.2d 278, 280 (1983).

There is not, however, any dispositive significance in the

mere fact that some information offered to demonstrate prob-

able cause may be called stale, in the sense that it concerns

events that occurred well before the date of the application for

the warrant. If such past fact contributes to an inference that

probable cause exists at the time of the application, its age is

no taint. :

The various vintages of the facts stated in the affidavit under

consideration here illustrate this point, by demonstrating how

the old and the new can combine to demonstrate current prob-

able cause. The affidavit begins with a recitation of the items

in Young’s criminal record: 1965, New York, a charge of first

degree grand larceny, but without record of court disposition;

1967, Illinois, petty theft trespass to auto, guilty; 1969, Illinois,

sale of LSD, nol prossed; 1970, Wisconsin, sale of dangerous

drugs, guilty; 1973, Arizona, possession of marijuana for sale,

and transportation of marijuana, dismissed; 1974, Massachu-

setts, possession of marijuana with intent to sell, and conspir-

acy to violate the Massachusetts Controlled Drug Act, guilty.

22a

This recitation is followed by circumstantial evidence that

Young’s contact with the illegal drug market did not end with

his 1974 conviction, for the police described an incident in

1980, when Young’s wife was arrested in his presence for

possession of a package containing cocaine and methaqualone.

The affiant further states that in 1982 Young had been about

to leave for Florida when he was found in possession of

$159,880 in cash at Logan Airport. This incident followed

others in 1980, when a person identified by one of the infor-

mants as a courier for Young was stopped at the airport with

$50,000 in cash, and in 1982, when the wife of a Rhode Island

man believed to be one of Young’s customers was stopped at

Logan with $104,000 in cash.

The affidavit proceeds from circumstantial to direct evi-

dence, as it relates information supplied by two informers

about Young and his activities. One of the informers described

his association with Young and DiMatteo in the sale and dis-

tribution of drugs between 1979 and 1981, and the other gave

information about a like association in 1981 and 1982. Each

confirmed the other’s story that DiMatteo acted as Young’s

distributor or sales agent, while the first informer identified

Valenzuela as the one who procured the drugs to ‘be sold. One

informer described the presence of cocaine and marijuana at

DiMatteo’s house as late as 1982, and admitted that he himself

purchased cocaine from DiMatteo during that year. The other

informer described cocaine and scales at DiMatteo’s house in

1979 through 1981, and a cocaine sale there in 1983.

This evidence of drug sales extending into 1983 was con-

firmed, and its implications were brought forward, by informa-

tion obtained from toll records for Young’s telephones covering

the months of January through September, 1983, and by the

notations supplied by the pen registers used from October 16,

through December 10, 1983. Among the calls recorded, 180

were to six individuals with records of drug convictions over

23a

the period from 1973 to 1981. According to the affidavit, there

- were Calls to business premises frequented by George T. Kattar,

whom an informer identified as a financier of drug transactions,

and 66 calls to an individual whose car had been driven to a

meeting observed by the police in November 1983, where

Young’s wife and another woman traded briefcases under cir-

cumstances typical of an exchange of drugs and money.

The affiant supplemented these facts with his own opinion,

based on his experience in drug investigation, that the tele-

phones were being used in a manner typical of illicit drug

transactions. The superior court could reasonably consider this

conclusion as support for the inference that illicit drug activities

for which various named individuals had been convicted over

a ten-year period were continuing into December of 1983. See

United States-v. Webster, 639 F.2d 174, 178 (4th Cir.), cert.

denied, 454 U.S. 857 (1981), modified on other grounds, 669

F.2d 185 (4th Cir), cert. denied, 456 U.S. 935 (1982) (where

facts of affidavit indicate activity over protracted period, lapse

of time from date of earlier facts is not necessarily an indication

of stale probable cause). Thus, the issuing justice could prop-

erly infer that the activity “had not mysteriously stopped within

the past month” after the pen registers had been removed. See

United States v. Hyde, 574 F.2d 856, 865 (Sth Cir. 1978).

“Indeed, the very scope of the operations described in the

affidavit made it highly likely that numerous narcotics-related

communications would take place in the future.” United States

v. Steinberg, 525 F.2d 1126, 1131 (2d Cir. 1975), cert. denied,

425 U.S. 971 (1976). In summary, the totality of the informa-

tion was not stale, and the issuing justice had probable cause

to infer that an interception would disclose the use of Young’s

telephone for communications about drug offenses. See RSA

570-A:9. II.

Before leaving the point we note that the foregoing summary

omits any alleged misrepresentations, but does refer to three

24a

items of information that the defendants claimed to be inaccur-

ate, not because they were misstated, but because the follow-

ing, related information was omitted: Young was pardoned by

the Commonwealth of Massachusetts following his 1974 drug

conviction; the charges against his wife were dismissed for

failure to prove her knowledge that the package she received

contained drugs; and in the apparent drug deal, the individuals

exchanged suitcases, not briefcases. These omissions do not,

however, affect our result, for their inclusion would not have

eliminated probable cause.

The remaining issues arise from the denial of motions to

suppress evidence seized under the warrants to search the de-

fendants’ houses. To the extent that those motions rested de-

rivatively on challenges to the legality of the telephone inter-

ceptions, the foregoing discussion supports the trial court’s

rulings. The suppression motions raise further questions, how-

ever, going to the character of the issuing magistrate and to

the manner in which the police conducted the search of Young’s

house.

First, the defendants argue that Gage J., who issued the

warrants as Justice of the Exeter District Court, was disqual-

ified to act because he lacked the neutrality and detachment

required of issuing magistrates by the fourth amendment of

the Constitution of the United States. See Coolidge v. New

Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443, 449-53 (1971); Johnson v. United

States, 333 U.S. 10, 13-14 (1948). The argument rests on the

fact that about eight hours before the judge was asked to issue

the warrants in question he gave advice to members of the

State police drug unit working on these cases. It seems that

after the State Police had arrested two individuals named Hol-

lingworth and Kanigher on drug charges, one of the officers

involved, Lieutenant Brown, called the judge to ask “what the

recourse might be, if any, in not allowing [an arrestee] to make

a phone call.” The judge advised that the police might not be

. 25a

able to make evidentiary use of information obtained from the

arrestees after the failure or refusal to allow a call. The defend-

ants claim that the judge’s response had the effect of placing

him in the position of an assistant attorney general advising

the police.

As against this claim, the superior court justice who heard

the suppression motion found that Justice Gage’s

“comments to the police played no part in the prep-

aration of the affidavits and indeed the defendants

did not show whether the Judge even knew that the

matter he discussed with Lt. Brown and the matters

dealt with .n the affidavits were in any way related.

There is nothing to even suggest that the magistrate

was improperly influenced or prejudiced by his prior

contact and conversation with the police. The magis-

trate in this case bore no relationship whatsoever to

the prosecution and was in no way improperly influ-

enced.”

These findings are dispositive on the outcome of the issue,

although we should add a further word about it with an eye

to the future. Legal advice to police officers ought to come

from city or county attorneys, or from the attorney general’s

office, not from judges. “Whatever else neutrality and detach-

ment might entail, it is clear that they require severance and

disengagement from activities of law enforcement.” Shadwick

v. City of Tampa, 407 U.S. 345, 350 (1972). Giving advice

in the manner disclosed in this case places judicial neutrality

at risk, with potentially appalling consequences, and such ju-

dicial responses to police questions generate issues on appeal

that should never be allowed to arise. All of us in the judiciary

should take care to avoid occasions for any more litigation

26a

about judicial detachment, here in the jurisdiction that produced

Coolidge.

The second ground urged for suppressing the fruits of the

search is statutory ._The police arrived at each of the defendants’

houses and began the searches on the morning of January 15,

1984; the police completed two of the searches that day, but

searched Young’s house continuously, day and night, until the

evening of January 17. Because the warrant authorized only

a “daytime” search, Young argues that the police violated the

terms of the statute, which authorizes nighttime searches only

“if the warrant so directs.” RSA 595-A:2.

The argument may be answered shortly. The traditional

reason for requiring explicit authorization for searches in the

night is a sensitivity to what Judge Friendly described as “the

peculiar abrasiveness of official intrusions” at that time. United

States v. Ravich, 421 F.2d 1196, 1201 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,

400 U.S. 834 (1970). It is thus the entry of the police in the

nighttime, not their mere presence, that is thought to call for

particular judicial authorization, and the statute should be con-

strued accordingly. The statute is therefore satisfied, as it was

here, when execution of a warrant limited to a daytime search

is begun during the daylight hours, even though the police

presence may thereafter continue into or through the night for

the purpose of completing the search lawfully begun. See State

v. Chaisson, 125 N.H. 810, 819, 486 A.2d 297, 303 (1984)

(“The police, in executing a search warrant for a dwelling,

may remain on the premises only so long as it is reasonably

necessary to conduct the search.”). This result accords with

federal cases decided under Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure

41; see United States v. Buroard, 551 F.2d 190, 193 (8th Cir.

1977); see also United States v. Joseph, 278 F.2d 504, 505

(3rd Cir.), cert. denied, 364 U.S. 823 (1960).

Young raises his final evidentiary challenge in claiming that

the police flagrantly disregarded the warrant’s limitations on

27a

the objects of search and seizure, and thus proceeded from an

initially lawful entry to a general search so unreasonable as to

call for suppression of all items seized. See United States v.

Heldt, 668 F.2d 1238, 1259 (D.C. Cir. 1981), cert. denied,

456 U.S. 926 (1982) (when search flagrantly disregards war-

rant’s terms, all items seized may be subject to suppression).

Although Young invokes both the National and State constitu-

tions, he does not independently address the latter. Since pass-

ing reference is insufficient to raise a State claim, see State

v. Dellorfano, 128 N.H. 628, 632, 517 A.2d 1163, 1166

(1986), we treat this issue as arising solely under the fourth

and fourteenth amendments.

Factually, the claim rests on the police’s removal of quan-

tities of papers, including personal letters, for examination

after the search was over, and the seizure of a number of items

never mentioned in the warrant, such as firearms and ammu-

nition, without justification under the plain view doctrine. See

Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. at 466, Gray, J., con-

ducted an exhaustive suppression hearing and issued a detailed

and meticulous order suppressing evidence he found to have

resulted from abuse of the plain view doctrine and from the

unjustified removal of papers without apparent evidentiary

character. Young claims, however, that this was not enough,

and that the entire search was so tainted by unwarranted

breadth, that every item taken should be suppressed.

We address this claim, as the trial judge did, under the

standard suggested in Heldt, which candidly confronted the

difficulty of regulating the execution of warrants to search for

documentary evidence of crimes. The court recognized that

when the search under such a warrant is so poorly disciplined

as to amount to “flagrant disregard” of the warrant’s terms,

the only appropriate remedy may be plenary suppression of

all evidence seized. Heldt, supra at 1259. The specific issue

here is whether the trial court could reasonably find that police

28a

error in executing the warrant did not rise to the level of

flagrant disregard. On the persuasive authority of United States

v. Whitten, 706 F.2d 1000 (9th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465

U.S. 1100 (1984), we affirm the trial court’s conclusion that

it did not.

The instant case, like Whitten, involved a search for papers.

In each, the police officers responsible for executing the war-

rant instructed their people on what to search for; in this case,

they also told the searching officers to get advice from more

experienced superiors when in doubt about the legality of taking

any given item. In each case, however, the officers in charge

stopped short of giving copies of the warrant to the officers

who would make the actual search, and in each case, the latter

improperly seized and removed voluminous papers for later

examination into possible evidentiary value.

The facts did not result in a finding of flagrant disregard in

Whitten, supra at 1010, and they do not compel one here. The

instructions given to the officers were inadequate, but the trial

court was entitled to make its finding that the dominant concern

of the officers was to find the evidence they were authorized

to seize. Nor was his finding that there was too much zeal and

too little study inconsistent with his conclusion that execution

of the warrant was no mere subterfuge for a general search.

As the Heldt court observed, “a good faith attempt to stay

within the boundaries of an inherently broad search warrant

will support a finding that the search — taken as a whole —

was reasonable, even though a majority of documents seized

might turn out not to qualify for inclusion on more leisurely

reflection.” 668 F.2d at 1269. Thus, the trial court could find

in this case that particularized, rather than plenary, suppression

was sufficient to vindicate the fourth amendment’s mandate.

Affirmed.

29a

THAYER, J, did not siti BATCHELDER, J., dissented; the

others concurred.

BATCHELDER, J., dissenting: I agree with the plurality

that the defendant has asked us to determine the scope of the

protections under part I, article 19 of the New Hampshire

Constitution by employing the reasonable expectation of pri-

vacy analysis in Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967).

I further agree that this court has not yet decided that the Katz

analysis reflects the content of article 19. See State v. Kilgus,

128 N.H. 577, 591, 519 A.2d 231, 240 (1986). Indeed, I have

previously criticized the legitimate expectation of privacy

analysis, at least as it relates to standing under article 19, as

“no boon to the general administration of the criminal justice

system . . . or clearly defined constitutional rights.” State v.

Settle, 122 N.H. 214, 219, 447 A.2d 1284, 1287 (1982).

However, assuming, as does the plurality, that an article 19

search is defined by Katz, I would conclude that the use of a

pen register to monitor dialed telephone numbers is a search,

and therefore must be based upon a finding of probable cause.

Part I, article 19 of the New Hampshire Constitution reads,

in relevant part, that every person has “a right to be secure

from all unreasonable searches and seizures of his person, his

houses, his papers, and all his possessions.” This court has

recognized that article 19 protects a citizen’s right of privacy

in his home. State v. Chaisson, 125 N.H. 810, 816, 486 A.2d

297, 301 (1984); State v. Bradberry, 129 N.H. 68, 76, 522

A.2d 1380, 1385 (1986) (Batchelder, J., concurring specially).

Further, applying Katz, article 19 would extend to protect

“people, not places,” 389 U.S. at 351, and, more specifically,

would protect information communicated by a person under

certain circumstances against governmental intrusion. /d. at

353. Noteworthy as well is that in other contexts this court

has articulated the extent to which the people of this State cher-

30a

ish their fundamental right to privacy. In Hamberger v.

Eastman, 106 N.H. 107, 206 A.2d 239 (1964), a civil case

establishing the tort of invasion of privacy, Chief Justice Keni-

son observed, in quoting Ezer, that “no right deserves greater

protection, for as Emerson has well said, solitude, the

safeguard of mediocrity, is to genius the stern friend. ” /d. at

112-13, 206 A.2d at 242; Ezer, Intrusion on Solitude: Herein

of Civil Rights and Civil Wrongs, 21 Law in Transition 63,

75 (1961). Just as tort law protects the privacy interests of

citizens against the intrusions of one another, so must the

constitution protect the privacy interests of citizens against the

intrusions of government.

The United States Supreme Court has already decided, in

a much criticized opinion, that under the Katz analysis the use

of a pen register does not constitute a search so as to give rise

to the protections of the fourth amendment. Smith v. Maryland,

442 U.S. 735 (1979). The Smith court held that the defendant

had no subjective expectation of privacy in the telephone num-

bers he dialed, nor an expectation of privacy that society is

willing to recognize. /d. at 745. The court rested this conclusion

on the premise that a defendant voluntarily discloses such

information to the telephone company, and therefore assumes

the risk that the data will be relayed to a third party, including

the government. /d. at 744.

The plurality here recognizes the weaknesses in the subjec-

tive expectation of privacy inquiry in Smith, as well as the

problematic assumption-of-the-risk analysis. The plurality,

however, does not abandon the notion, critical to Smith, that

the defendant voluntarily disclosed the data to the telephone

company. Relying on the so-called agent-informer cases, the

plurality concludes that disclosing telephone number data to

the telephone company is equivalent to divulging criminal

secrets to an untrustworthy, albeit law-abiding, confidant. I

disagree that when one dials a telephone there is a voluntary

3la

disclosure of a magnitude similar to that in the agent-informer

situation. It can be argued that the plurality cannot avoid the

assumption-of-the-risk analysis, but rely on the agent-informer

cases — the very cases that establish the assumption-of-the-risk

approach. See United States v. White, 401 U.S. 745, 752

(1971); Hoffa v. United States, 385 U.S. 293, 302-03 (1966),

reh’g denied, 386 U.S. 940, 951 (1967); Lewis v. United

States, 385 U.S. 706 (1966), reh’g denied, 386 U.S. 389

(1967); Lopez v. United States, 373 U.S. 427, 439 (1963).

The concepts of voluntary disclosure and assumption of the

risk are inextricablyintertwined, and I am of the opinion that

neither exists in this situation.

The telephone is a necessary, but not always welcome com-

ponent of modern life. It is an indispensable tool for effective

communication in today’s complex society. People v. Spor-

leder, 666 P.2d 135, 141 (Colo. 1983). When a telephone call

is made, the speakers have a reasonable expectation of privacy

in the content of their conversation, whether the call is from

a home, office, or public telephone booth. Katz, 389 U.S. at

359. This expectation is protected in our wiretapping and eaves-

dropping statute, RSA chapter 570-A. In the words of the

Sporleder court: “[t]he concomitant disclosure to the telephone

company, for internal business purposes, of the numbers dialed

. . . does not alter the caller’s expectation of privacy and

transpose it into an assumed risk of disclosure to the govern-

ment.” 666 P.2d at 141. Disclosure to the telephone company

of the number dialed is “simply the unavoidable consequence

of the . . . use of the telephone as a means of communication

and the telephone company’s method of determining the cost

of the service utilized.” Jd. The necessary, nonvolitional dis-

closure of certain facts to the telephone company for the pur-

poses of using an instrument of private communication does

not require the assumption that the company will voluntarily

share that information with others, especially the government.

Id. at 142.

32a

It is clear that a person has little choice about whether the

telephone company will have access to the numbers he dials

and the frequency with which he dials them. Commonwealth

v. Beauford, 475 A.2d 783, 789 (Pa. Super. 1984), appeal

dismissed, 496 A.2d 1143 (Pa. 1985). As Justice Marshall

stated in his dissent in Smith, “whether privacy expectations

are legitimate within the meaning of Katz depends not on the

risks an individual can be presumed to accept when imparting

information to third parties, but on the risks he should be

forced to assume in a free and open society.” 442 U.S. at 750

(Marshall, J., dissenting). “It is simply not enough to say,

after Katz, that there is no legitimate expectation of privacy

in the numbers dialed because the caller assumes the risk that

the telephone company will disclose them to the police.” Jd.

at 747 (Stewart. J., dissenting). I am convinced that a person

using the telephone fully expects that the numbers he dials

will remain as private as the content of the communication.

The numbers provide a strong, sometimes conclusive, infer-

ence as to who is being called and with what frequency, unques-

tionably a private matter. A collection of such information can

provide a virtual mosaic of a person’s private life. Sporleder,

666 P.2d at 142. A person certainly evidences no intention

“to shed his veil of privacy” merely because he uses the tele-

phone to make private contacts. Beauford, 475 A.2d at 789.

Although the foregoing provides support under the Katz

analysis for requiring the use of a pen register to be based on

probable cause, I believe the clear import of the language of

article 19 mandates the same result. Article 19 protects a per-

son’s “papers” from all unreasonable searches and seizures.

“Papers” as tangible objects, however, have little or no intrinsic

value. The value of “papers” rests in the content of the infor-

mation contained in them. The mere advance in technology

from paper as the medium for the flow of information to, for

example, telephonic communications should not alter the pro-

;

j

33a

tective force of article 19. Similarly, article 19 should not be

limited to protections against the intrusive capabilities of the

government at the time of the adoption of article 19. Rather,

the areas of protected privacy must be examined and deter-

mined on a case by case basis in light of the technology avail-

able to the government at any given time. The protected rights,

of necessity, become more sharply defined as science and

technology broaden the scope of governmental power. In the

end, I see no functional difference between government offi-

cials searching for and seizing a person’s papers, in the course

of an investigation without the benefit of a warrant based on

probable cause, and their monitoring the communicative ac-

tivities of a citizen without the burden of similar requirements.

I would note finally that since the development of this case,

the New Hampshire Legislature has amended RSA chapter

570-A specifically to authorize the installation and use of a

pen register upon the satisfaction of certain procedural and

evidentiary requirements. RSA 570-A:9-a (Supp. 1986). Al-

though the statute permits a superior court judge to authorize

such a use upon a showing of something seemingly less than

probable cause, see RSA 570-A:9-a, 11 (judge must find that

installation and use of pen register device is “reasonably cal-

culated to further the investigation . . . .”), it is clear that the

legislature has sought to provide further protection for the

citizens of this State in the maintenance of the “proper balance

between the State’s duty to protect the public and the indi-

vidual’s right to privacy and free expression.” State v. Lee,

113 N.H. 313, 315, 307 A.2d 827, 828 (1973) (articulating

the purposes behind the wiretapping and eavesdropping stat-

ute). Because I think the use of a pen register requires a prior

showing of probable cause, I do not think the legislature has

gone far enough in safeguarding the privacy interests of New

Hampshire citizens. Nevertheless, it has undertaken to preserve

what it perceives as an expectation of privacy in an area where

the plurality concludes that there is no such expectation.

34a

I would hold, therefore, that a person does possess a reason-

able expectation of privacy in the telephone numbers he dials,

and that the use of a pen register to record such information

is a search within the meaning of article 19. Accordingly,

judicial authorization of the use of a pen register must be based

upon a finding of probable cause. In this case, the defendants

were entitled to have the information obtained through the use

of the pen register and the fruits thereof excised from the

supporting affidavits, and to have the probable cause determi-

nation based only on the remaining information.

a iis Senet bMS A LIAL ONO RONEN LEN ATS ce abd aeRO —

35a

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

ROCKINGHAM SUPERIOR COURT

The State of New Hampshire

v.

Benjamin Valenzuela, & a

RULING ON MOTION TO SUPPRESS ALL EVIDENCE

AND FRUITS THEREOF SEIZED AS A RESULT OF

SEARCH AND ARREST WARRANTS, ISSUED ON

JANUARY 14, 1984 OR, INTHE ALTERNATIVE, TRANSFER

TO THE NEW HAMPSHIRE SUPREME COURT OF

THE ISSUES RAISED HEREIN

August 15, 1985

Gray, J.

Prior to the issuance of the search warrants in the above

matter, the State police had stopped a truck on Route 95 and

had arrested defendants Alvin Kanigher and Robert Hol-

lingworth and were concerned about the effect of holding them

in communicado during the preparation of the warrant af-

fidavits and the warrants. Lt. Brown called Judge Edward A.

Gage of the Exeter District Court concerning the right of the

State to hold the defendants in such a manner.

The conversation occurred on January 13, 1984. Early on

January 14, 1984, the State Police, through Sgt. Carpenito,

presented the applications for search warrants to the same

Judge Edward A. Gage and warrants were issued by him for

the search of the Young, DiMatteo and Valenzuela residences

ete Uns ie Be Pecado

36a

and for the arrest of the three named individuals. The defend-

ants move to suppress the warrants based, not so much on the

advice given to the State Police by Judge Gage, but rather on

the proposition that in giving any advice prior to the review

of the affidavits and application for the warrants, the judge

lost the status of a “neutral and detached magistrate”: required

under the New Hampshire and United States Constitutions.

See generally Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443

(1969).

A significant part of the protection that flows from the war-

rant requirement is the fact that the most essential requirement

of probable cause is being decided by some person other than

those involved in the investigation and the sought after search.

The requirement of a “neutral and detached magistrate” is

intended to insure that invasions of a citizen’s privacy are

allowed in specific instances only, and only when supported

by probable cause. It is further required that those determina-

tions not be made by the very persons or branch of government

seeking the invasions. The neutral and detached magistrate

requirement is a fundamental part of both the United States

and New Hampshire Constitutions. /d.; State v. Mandravelis,

114 N.H. 634 (1974). :

In the instant case, it cannot be said that the magistrate lost

the requisite neutrality by reason of his giving of some legal

advice or opinion to the State Police prior to the issuance of

the warrants. His comments to the police played no part in

the preparation of the affidavits and indeed the defendants did

not show whether the Judge even knew that the matter he

discussed with Lt. Brown, and the matters dealt with in the

affidavits were in any way related.

The rule set forth in Coolidge, Id., is a per se rule of

disqualification where the magistrate is also the chief prosecu-

tor. In relying on Coolidge, the defendants have presented no

evidence or argument that this case fits within its constraints.

37a

There is nothing to even suggest that the magistrate was

improperly influenced or prejudiced by his prior contact and

conversation with the police. The magistrate in this case bore

no relationship whatsoever to the prosecution and was in no

way, improperly influenced. State v. Salsman, 112 N.H. 138

(1972). While prior contact by the police and the response by

the magistrate ought perhaps to be avoided in such cir-

cumstances it is not such, in this case, as to warrant corrective

suppression.

The motion to suppress is therefore DENIED.

38a

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

ROCKINGHAM SUPERIOR COURT

The State of New Hampshire

v.

Benjamin Valenzuela, & a

RULING ON MOTION TO SUPPRESS EVIDENCE

AND THE FRUITS THEREOF OBTAINED AS A

CONSEQUENCE OF THE INSTALLATION AND USE OF

PEN REGISTER DEVICES TO TELEPHONE NUMBERS

603-679-5686 AND 603-679-2104 (NON-PUBLISHED)

September 4, 1985

Gray, J.

On October 13, 1983 application was made by the U.S.

Attorney, on behalf of the U.S.D.E.A., to the-Federal District

Court for authorization to install pen register devices on two

telephone number lines listed to defendant Stephen D. Young.

The application was granted on the same day for a period of

30 days. On November 10, 1983 the Federal Court extended

its prior order until December 11, 1983. The orders gave

authority to “special agents of the United States Drug Enforce-

ment Administration and other law enforcement officials acting

under their direction” to use and install the pen register devices.

No application was made to any state court and no state or

federal search warrant was obtained.

The defendants seek to suppress the evidence obtained from

the use of those pen registers on the grounds that, because it

Se

tek inset pitaale iia ie eatery alist. 3 cotta

39a

was in part N.H. State Police who used the devices, they

should have obtained permission pursuant to RSA 570-A and

furthermore, if the use of pen registers is not controlled by

RSA 570-A, the state officials should have obtained a search

warrant under Part I Article 19 of the New Hampshire Constitu-

tion.

During the hearing on this motion, the State Police officers

involved testified that they were uncertain whether the use of

pen registers was governed by RSA 570-A or the federal statute

(Title [11 of the Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act

of 1968), but that to be on the safe side they felt it appropriate

to obtain a court order. They testified further that they requested

the DEA to obtain the order because the federal statute allows

for 30-day periods, whereas the state statute (RSA 570-A)

allows only 10-day periods unless extension is granted under

570-A:9V . Other than the time limitations, the state and federal

wiretap statutes are identical in every section of the statute

necessarily considered in the motion and this order thereon.

The Court finds nothing imprudent in the conduct of the

law enforcement officials in seeking the order from the federal

court rather than a state court. The application fully informed

the court that both federal and state law enforcement officials

were investigating Stephen D. Young and others regarding

drug violations. Indeed, federal agents were, and apparently

still are, investigating the defendant and others whom the police

believe are involved in a drug operation.

In any case, the Court has grave doubts whether RSA 570-A

is even applicable to pen register devices. While our Supreme

Court has not addressed this specific issue, the United States

Supreme Court specifically held language identical to RSA

570-A:1, Ill and RSA 570-A:7 as not including pen register

use. United States v. New York Tel. Co. , 98 S.Ct. 364 (1977).

RSA 570-A is concerned with orders “authorizing or approv-

ing the interception of wire or oral communication” . . . RSA

40a

570-A:7. “Intercept means the aural acquisition of the contents

of any wire or oral communication through the use of any

electronic, mechanical, or other device.” RSA 570-A:1, Ill

emphasis supplied. Pen registers do not intercept because they

do not acquire the contents of any communication, nor do they

accomplish the “aural” acquisition of anything. They simply

print out the fact that a number was dialed from or to the

telephone facility to which they are attached. Moreover, the

word “aural” relates to the sense of hearing and pen registers

merely record information in a form to be interpreted by sight

not sound.

What the pen register does is print out numbers on a ther-

motape like that on a cash register, recording each time a

number is dialed either to or from the telephone facility at-

tached, regardless of whether the party called answers the

phone. For in-coming calls, the register also prints out the

number of rings. The term “voice” is printed on the tape where

the receiver has been off the hook for more than 15 seconds

and where the machine picks up sound-related energy over the

wire. Although it is possible that the machine would print the

term “voice” when no conversation was taking place, it is

generally agreed that the term “voice” indicates that the two

parties were conversing. What is being said, and who the

parties to the conversation are, however, is beyond the

capabilities of the pen register recording device.

Although the pen register machine used in this case had a

place where earphones could be attached, thereby permitting

conversations to be overheard, there is no supportable sugges-

tion that earphones were ever utilized in this case. Had ear-

phones been used, there would have been an interception of

oral communication within the purview of the statute; but, as

it was, the pen registers themselves provided no information

whatsoever to enable the State to determine the contents of

any telephone discussions. Whatever the pen register devices

4la

do, it is clear that they do not deal with the interception of

communications, and, therefore, do not fall within the scope

of RSA 570-A. See State v. Sheedy, 125 N.H. 108, 111 (1984).

Defendants also claim that the State was required to obtain

a search warrant prior to the installation of the pen register.

This issue is raised in defendants’ motion solely as a N.H.

State Constitutional issue. While the U.S. Constitution is not

at issue, it is noteworthy that the United States Supreme Court

held, in Smith v. Maryland, 99 S.Ct. 2577 (1979), that no

search warrant was needed under the Fourth Amendment.

Part I Article 19 of the New Hampshire Constitution pro-

hibits all unreasonable searches and seizures of all a citizen’s

possessions. State v. Sidebotham, 124 N.H. 682. A search

ordinarily implies a quest by an officer of the law, a prying

into hidden places for that which is concealed. A seizure con-

templates forcible dispossession of the owner. State v.

Coolidge, 106 N.H. 186 (1965). In this case, the officers

entered no property of the defendants and seized nothing of

the defendants’ which they could claim ought, by reason of

their exclusive possession of it, to be free from that seizure.

Here the officers intercepted noncommunicative information

which was readily available to and indeed used by the phone

company for its legitimate business purposes. Nothing which

any defendant had a right to safeguard has been taken from him.

While the legitimate expectation of privacy doctrine has

ceased being used by our courts regarding the issue of standing,

see e.g. State v. Sidebotham, supra, it still functions to deter-

mine whether there has been a search and seizure in the first

instance. As the Smith v. Maryland opinion noted, the infor-

mation obtained by the pen register is conveyed to the phone

company by the user and is routinely used for business purposes

by the company. It would be difficult at best to find some

legitimate expectation of privacy in the kind of information

conveyed by the fact of dialing a number.

42a

For the above reasons, the Court concludes that the instal-

lation and use of a pen register was not a search and no warrant

was required. /d. at 2583.

The motion to suppress is therefore DENIED.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.