Petition for Writ of Certiorari — City of Philadelphia v. District Council 33, American Federation of State, County & Municipal Employees

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

87-1340

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1988

CITY OF PHILADELPHIA,

Petitioner

.

DISTRICT COUNCIL 33, AMERICAN FEDERATION OF STATE,

COUNTY AND MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES, AFL-CIO, by

EARL STOUT, as Trustee ad Litem; and EARL STOUT:

ALBERT JOHNSON; FRANCES ROONEY, ROBERT LUCAS;

JAMES RAWLS; DONALD GALLIMORE; EDWARD SIMPKINS;

LEONARD TILGHMAN; ANN COHEN: GEORGE WROTEN:

and EARL WILLIAMS, Trustees of DISTRICT GOUNCIL 33

MUNICIPAL WORKERS HEALTH AND WELFARE FUND

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

CHARLES W. BOWSER, Esquire

LUTHER E. WEAVER, III], Esquire

JACKIE B. SPARKMAN, Esquire

JAMES P. COUSOUNIS, Esquire

Three Benjamin Franklin Parkway

17th Floor

Philadelphia, PA 19102

(215) 561-7100

SEYMOUR KURLAND, Esquire

City Solicitor

Law Department

Municipal Services Building

15th Floor

Philadelphia, PA 19102-1692

Attorneys for Petitioner

aoe PE tae

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Where a state legislature has enacted a definitive public

policy requiring the protection of the rights of the public when

public employers and public employee unions negotiate labor

agreements, does Section 1 of the Fourteenth Amendment

require state courts to consider that policy sua sponte.

2. Whether the state court rules of law preventing public

employer-signatories to collective bargaining agreements from

contesting the illegality of their agreements, while granting that

right to private parties, violates Section 1 of the Fourteenth

Amendment of the United States Constitution.

3. Whether the refusal of the lower court to hear the appeal

of the City, while agreeing to hear the Union's appeal on the

same issue, violates Section 1 of the Fourteenth Amendment.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions presented .. . ..../.0.414 54500 eee i

Table of authorities ...........55:5 eee iii

Opinions below .. 0.050425 l

Jurisdiction .......i...050<. see 2

Constitutional and statutory provisions involved......... 2

Statement... . 2... 5664s clea a oe ee 4

Reasons for granting the petition...................... 6

Conchusion .... 2. .....4.4.0su se 14

Appendix A... . 2... 0.5.5 isda ee A-l

Appendix B..... 2.6.20: .500 5 A-2

Appendix C...........00055 505 ae A-3

Appendix D .........60<sss00 ane A-5

Appendix E... ... =. 25... +« ssa Re ee A-12

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

American Railway Express v. Kentucky, 273 U.S. 269

ee aL urea ba kt ace ho See 10

Association of Pennsylvania State College and University

Faculties v. Commonwealth, 496 Pa. 315, 436 A.2d

I ere ogi cl ww ap eps Cae 56 Own 7, 8

Bell v. Burson, 4023 U.S. 535 (1971) ..................: 13

Economico v. Village of Pelham, 50 N.Y. 2d 120, 480 N.Y.S

2d 213, 405 N.E. 2d 694 (1980)................... 10

Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 938 (1972)............... 13

Fraternal Order of Police v. Hickey, 499 Pa. 194, 452 A.2d

CE ee eS

Grottenthaler v. Pennsylvania State Police, 488 Pa. 19, 410

ree dd he eng ody oben ue. A >, 10, 11

Gryger v. Berke, 334 U.S. 728 (1947) ................. 8,9

Hovey v. Elliot, 167 U.S. 409 (1897) .................. 13

Kaiser Steel Corporation v. Mullins, 455 U.S. 72

eae a ise pieie ov ah hae wie 12, 13

Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 U.S. 422 (1982) ... 7, 8

Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S.

te a: 10, 13

Muse-Art Corp. v. City of Philadelphia, 373 Pa. 329, 95

a ee Ss von ls kad 6 bikie 4.00 #:0.0 6

O’Brien v. O'Brien Steel Contruction Company, 440 Pa.

re 1]

Pennsylvania Labor Relations Board v. State College Area

Sch. Dist., 461 Pa. 494, 337 A.2d 262 (1975) ....... 12

Pittsburgh Joint Collective Bargaining Committee v. Pitts-

burgh, 481 Pa. 66, 391 A.2d 1318 (1978) ...... 5, 10, 11

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES— Continued)

Cases: Page

Ridgefield Park Education Association v. Ridgefield Park

Board of Ed., 78 N.J. 144, 393 A.2d 278 (1978)..... 10

Rothberg v. Rosenbloom, 628 F.2d 746 (E.D. Pa. 1986).. 11

School Committee of Holyoke v. Larry Duprey, 8 Mass.

App. Ct. 58, 391 N.E. 2d 925 (1979) .............. 10

Schuck v. School District of Baldwin Tp., 296 Pa. 408, 146

Re ed vs 5 <6 ewe va Rk eRe ke Ss od owes 12

Societe Internationale v. Rogers, 357 U.S. 197 (1958).... = 8

Thompson tv. Louisville, 362 U.S. 199 (1960) ...........

United Paperworkers International Union v. Misco, Inc.,

NG WEE ect eo rca. ee ae ee Sa 7

W.R. Grace & Co. v. Rubber Workers Local 759, 461 U.S.

NEE haw ak Ne a ce eee ee Ee ales 7,8

Waychoff v. Waychoff, 163 A. 670 (1932) .............. 11

Young v. Ragen, 337 U.S. 235 (1949).................. 12

Constitutions and Statutes:

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Consti-

NATE S Sus ok and cesiae dhs wae ap aan a ere KG

Pennsylvania Constitution, Article 3, Section 26 ........ 3

Public Employee Relations Act, §§101, 703, 43 Pa. C.S.A.

ee ek ES PP ERE Pere Ri rameter! 3, 4

Miscellaneous:

Rotunda, Novak and Young, Treatise on Constitutional

Law: Substance and Procedure, Vol. 2 (1986), 1987

oe | RTE pecchivmiet hep Pile Oe mien led dad thar )

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octeber Term, 1988

CITY OF PHILADELPHIA,

Petitioner

G.

DISTRICT COUNCIL 33, AMERICAN FEDERATION OF STATE,

COUNTY AND MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES, AFL-CIO, by

EARL STOUT, as Trustee ad Litem; and EARL STOUT;

ALBERT JOHNSON; FRANCES ROONEY, ROBERT LUCAS;

JAMES RAWLS; DONALD GALLIMORE; EDWARD SIMPKINS;

LEONARD TILGHMAN; ANN COHEN; GEORGE WROTEN;

and EARL WILLIAMS, Trustees of DISTRICT COUNCIL 33

MUNICIPAL WORKERS HEALTH AND WELFARE FUND

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

Petitioner, the City of Philadelphia, prays that a writ of

certiorari issue to review a final order of the Supreme Court of

Pennsylvania denying its appeal on a matter involving the duty

of the courts, sua sponte, to enforce established public policy,

thereby protecting the constitutional rights of the public, and

involving the constitutional right to be heard.

OPINIONS BELOW

The basic decisions involved in this petition are the opin-

ions and orders of the chancellor in equity, Court of Common

]

2

Pleas, Philadelphia County, which are reported in 10 Phila. 578

and 12 Phila. 311, and are annexed to this petition in Appendix

E, beginning at page 14a. These opinions and orders interpret-

ing a collective bargaining contract term against petitioner were

affirmed by the state superior court, in an opinion reported at

511 A.2d 818, and annexed hereto as Appendix D, beginning on

page 4a. The order of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

denying petitioner's petition for allowance of appeal (App. B,

infra, 2a) is not reported. The order of the Supreme Court of

Pennsylvania granting the Union's appeal (App. C, infra 3a) is

not reported. The order of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

denying petitioner's petition for reconsideration raising federal

constitutional challenges to the chancellor's orders (App. A,

infra, la) is not reported.

JURISDICTION

1. The order of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania was

entered on March 9, 1987 (App. B, infra, 2a). A petition for

reconsideration was denied on November 5, 1987 (App. A,

infra, la). The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. 1257(3) because a right, privilege or immunity was

claimed under the Constitution of the United States of America

and denied by the state court.

2. The federal question was raised as indicated at page 5,

infra.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

1. The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Con-

stitution provides in relevant part:

No state shall make or enforce any law which shall

abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the

United States; nor shall any state deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law, nor deny

to any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of

the laws.

a ee

3

2. The Pennsylvania Constitution provides in Article 3,

section 26, in relevant part:

No bill shall be passed giving any extra compensation

to any public employee, agent, or contractor, after services

shall have been rendered or contract made.

3. The Public Employee Relations Act (“PERA”), Section

1101 et. seq. of Title 43, Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes

Annotated, provides in relevant part:

Public Policy

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Penn-

sylvania declares that it is the public policy of this Com-

monwealth and the purpose of this act to promote orderly

and constructive relationships between all public employ-

ers and their employes subject, however, to the paramount

right of the citizens of this Commonwealth to keep inviolate

the guarantees for their health, safety and welfare. Unre-

solved disputes between the public employer and its em-

ployes are injurious to the public and the General Assembly

is therefore aware that adequate means must be established

for minimizing them and providing for their resolution.

Within the limitations imposed upon the governmental

processes by these rights of the public at large and recog-

nizing that harmonious relationships are required between

the public employer and its employes, the General Assem-

bly has determined that the overall policy may best be

accomplished by (1) granting to public employes the right to

organize and choose freely their representatives; (2) requir-

ing public employers to negotiate and bargain with employe

organizations representing public employes and to enter

into written agreements evidencing the result of such

bargaining; and (3) establishing procedures to provide for

the protection of the rights of the public employe, the

public employer and the public at large.

4. Section 703 of the PERA, Title 43, Pa.C.S.A. 1101.703,

provides:

4

The parties to the collective bargaining process shall

not effect or implement a provision in a collective bargain-

ing agreement if the implementation of that provision

would be in violation of, or inconsistent with, or in conflict

with any statute or statutes enacted by the General Assem-

bly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania or the provisions

of municipal home rule charters.

STATEMENT

1. In 1982, the City entered into a collective bargaining

contract with District Council 33, AFSCME, (“Union”) for the

period July 1, 1982 to June 30, 1984. The contract included a

clause, paragraph 23B, which read:

Each full-time employee in a class or position repre-

sented by District Council #33 shall have health and

welfare benefits as such benefits are presently defined

(including major medical family coverage, under the Blue

Cross/Blue Shield group health medical plan, with the City

paying the full contribution of such benefits, to District

Council 33 Health and Welfare Fund. (1975-76) (as of 1/1/81

receive $92.00 per month).

The City made payments to the Fund under this clause in the

amount of $92.00 per union member per month during the

contract period. In 1983, the Union filed suit in equity and a

motion for preliminary injunctive relief claiming that the City

had breached its obligation to pay the full amount required by

paragraph 23B into the Fund.

Following trial, the chancellor ordered the City to pay the

Fund $178.00 per member per month, interpreting paragraph

23B to require the City to contribute to the Fund an amount

equivalent to what Blue Cross would charge to provide each

union member and his or her dependents 100% coverage for all

hospital, medical, and doctor bills, with no co-pay provisions,

obligations, deductibles, or caps on the total amount of coverage

for health and medical care (App. E, infra, 16a, 19a). The

chancellor further interpreted paragraph 23B to vest in the -

union president sole discretion in matters of the scope and level

ee

5

of health and welfare benefits to be provided to Union members

and paid for out of public funds, without any right in the City to

prior notice of decisions enlarging the scope of benefits or to

audit fund expenditures (App. E, infra, 17-18a, 26a). Although

concluding that paragraph 23B was an “extraordinarily gener-

ous” health and welfare plan and “certainly exceeds the coverage

offered by other commercial or non-profit health insurance

providers” and was perhaps “actuarially unsound,” the chancel-

lor refused to “substitute [his] judgment for the collective

bargaining process” (App. E, infra, 20a). Rather, the chancellor

ordered the City to make contributions to the Fund in accor-

dance with his interpretation of paragraph 23B without regard to

the amount of money actually expended or expense incurred by

the Fund for health and welfare benefits (App. E, infra, 23-24a).

2. The City appealed to the Superior Court of Pennsylvania

seeking to have the order set aside or, alternatively, modified to

the extent that the order obligated the City to pay over an

amount greater than actual costs paid and incurred during the

relevant time period. The Superior Court affirmed the order of

the lower court, rejecting the City’s view of actual costs as

relevant to the inquiry (App. D, infra, 11-12a).

3. The Supreme Court of Pennsylvania denied the City’s

petition for allowance of appeal without opinion (App. B, infra,

2a) yet granted the Union's appeal (App. C, infra, 3a). The City

then filed a petition for reeonsideration from this denial of its

appeal, challenging the chancellor's order as violating public

policy and the rights of the public and the City to due process

and equal protection of the law (App. A, infra, 1a).

On November 5, 1987, the Supreme Court denied the

City’s petition for reconsideration. The court had previously

held, in Fraternal Order of Police v. Hickey, 452 A.2d 1005

(1982): Grottenthaler v. Pennsylvania State Police, 410 A.2d 806

(1980); and Pittsburgh Joint Collective Bargaining Committee v.

City of Pittsburgh, 391 A.2d 1318 (1978), that public employers

are estopped from challenging the implementation of collective

bargaining contract terms on grounds of illegality after bargain-

ing is completed.

aii ies

6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

This case examines the duty of state courts to act sua sponte

to consider a legislatively mandated public policy to protect the

rights of the public in labor agreements between public employ-

ers and public employee unions. The Supreme Court of Penn-

sylvania and the lower courts of the state failed to act to consider

the public policy, and the state supreme court denied Petitioner

the opportunity to raise the public policy issue, even though the

rule in Pennsylvania permits the assertion of public policy claims

for the first time in the state supreme court. Muse-Art Corp. v.

City of Philadelphia, 95 A.2d 543 (1953).

Since the political considerations inherent in the negotia-

tions between public employers and their employee unions may

result in collusive or soft negotiations to the detriment of the

public, the courts must act, even independently if necessary, at

least to consider if the public policy vesting rights in the public

have been violated by the labor negotiations. This is particularly

true when there is a definitive public policy enunciated by the

legislature.

Notwithstanding the law of Pennsylvania which provides

that public policy questions can be raised on appeal for the first

time, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court denied Petitioner an_

opportunity to be heard. In addition, the state supreme court

enforces a rule of law which allows parties to private agreements

to contest the public policy violations and other illegalities of

their agreements, but the rule denies that opportunity to public

employers.

1. This petition presents a compelling reason for the Court

to review the decision of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court. The

constitutional issue concerns the extent of a state court’s duty,

sua sponte, to examine, at a minimum, public employer-

employee collective bargaining agreements for their adherence

to a pronounced public policy of protecting the rights of the

public at large. This issue transcends the particular facts and

circumstances of this case and implicates state court decisions in

every jurisdiction where state law authorizes public sector

collective bargaining, yet demands that such agreements com-

port with the public weal.

’

In derogation of a legislatively-mandated public policy to

protect the “paramount rights” of the public in connection with

labor contracts agreed to by public employers and employees,

the order of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court denied the City,

and more importantly, the citizens of the Commonwealth, a

forum to review the order of inferior state courts which required

the City, as public employer, to disburse public funds to a public

employee union. The decisions of the state supreme court

effectively denies to the public, the third party to the collective

bargaining contract between the City and the union (see Ass. of

Pennsylvania St. Coll. and Univ. Faculties v. Commonwealth,

436 A.2d 1386 (1981), a vehicle by which to have its legislatively

mandated rights and interests protected. Thus, the order denies

the due process guaranteed by the Fourteenth Amendment to

the United States Constitution (see Logan v. Zimmerman

Brush, 455 U.S. 422, 433-34 (1982)).

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsyl-

vania has declared in the PERA as the public policy of the

Commonwealth that the state intends “to promote orderly and

constructive relationships between all public employers and

their employees, subject, however, to the paramount rights of

the citizens of this Commonwealth to keep inviolate the guar-

antees for their health, safety and welfare” (see PERA, 43 Pa.

C.S.A. 1101.101 (emphasis added)).

This declared legislative purpose creates an entitlement in

the citizens of the Commonwealth to have their property

interests protected by the courts of the Commonwealth acting,

sua sponte, to consider and determine whether a labor contract

affords such protection. W. R. Grace & Co. v. Rubber Workers

Local 759, 461 U.S. 757 (1983); United Paperworkers Interna-

tional Union v. Misco, Inc., 484 U.S. __ , 108 S. Ct. 364

(1987); Logan v. Zimmerman Brush, supra, 455 U.S. at 430-32.

W.R. Grace & Co. v. Rubber Workers Local 759, supra,

buttresses this view: “the question of public policy is ultimately

one for resolution by the courts”, and if a labor contract as

interpreted “violates some expicit public policy, we are obliged

to refrain from enforcing it.” In sum, the state courts must

exercise their judicial decision-making authority to achieve the

. 8

public policy explicitly declared in PERA that the authority to

bargain collectively in the public sector is subject to “the

paramount right” of the citizens “to keep inviolate the guaran-

tees for their health, safety and welfare”. 461 U.S. at 766.

The Court may take judicial notice that public officials, as

political beings, do not always decide policy issues with the

public interest in mind. Indeed, the Pennsylvania Supreme

Court has recognized this political fact:

The public employer, whose continued existence does

not depend on cost-efficient management decisions, may

yield to compensation demands in excess of those to which

a private employer would accede. Indeed, the former's

awareness that public sector budget increases can be re-

quested to cover negotiated salary raises may, in itself,

diminish the adversarial nature of the bargaining process.

Association of Pennsylvania State Coll. and Univ. Faculties v.

Commonwealth, supra, 436 A.2d at 1380.

The Court has construed the due process guarantee, con-

sistently and on many occasions, to require that state judicial

decison-making not be arbitrary or capricious, i.e. that the

record provide some set of facts that could conceivably support

the decision. Thompson v. Louisville, 362 U.S. 199 (1960). More

importantly, due process requires that a court exercise and not

abandon a judicial decision-making responsibility when the

judiciary is required to exercise judicial power to protect and

enforce rights. Logan v. Zimmerman Brush, supra; Societe

Internationale v. Rogers, 357 U.S. 197 (1958). In Logan and in

Societe Internationale, this Court read the “property” compo-

nent of the Due Process Clauses of the Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendment's to impose constitutional limitations upon the

powers of courts, even in aid of their own valid processes, to

dismiss an action without affording a party the opportunity for a

hearing on the merits of his cause. Logan, supra, 455 U.S. at

429.

Justice Rutledge, in a dissenting opinion in Gryger v.

Berke, 334 U.S. 728 (1947), articulates this view of the due

9

process guaranteed by the Fourteenth Amendment best. There,

Justice Rutledge declared as follows:

The denial of the very essence of the judicial process,

which is the exercise of discretion where discretion is

required, is in itself a denial of due process, not merely an

error of state law of no concern to this court... .

Gryger, supra, 334 U.S. at 734. ~

Professors Rotunda, Nowak and Young, in their leading

treatise on constitutional law, similarly suggest that the substan-

tive due process guarantee, when applied to the decision of a

govermental agent or agency to whom the legislature has

delegated the power to make individualized determinations

regarding the rights and obligations of a person, requires that

the court find some facts that could conceivably show the

exercise of decision-making authority, i.e., that the decision is

not totally arbitrary or capricious. Rotunda, Nowak and Young,

Treatise on Constitutional Law: Substance and Procedure, Vol.

2 (1986), 1987 Pocket Part., p.3-4. The authors emphasize that

“due process” in this context mandates that the forum respon-

sible for the protection of rights exercise, and not evade, the

responsibility to act to consider and make a determination as to

whether the decision it reaches affords the necessary protection

to such rights. Rotunda, Nowak and Young, supra at 4.

Initially, a review of the record below demonstrates no

action on the part of the Pennsylvania courts to consider and

safeguard the rights of the public, and, on the contrary, indicates

that the state courts abdicated their responsibility to do so.

Neither the trial court’s findings and conclusions nor the deci-

sion of the Pennsylvania Superior Court evince that those courts

acted to address, hear and determine whether the trial court's

orders protect the rights of the public.

In that the record neither contains any facts nor discloses

any conceivable set of facts that demonstrate that the courts of

this state considered or exercised their judicial responsibility to

determine whether the order depriving the City, and in actual-

ity the public, of public funds comported with the public policy

10

declared by the statute prior to requiring such disbursement

(see Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S.

306 (1950)). Absent any such facts showing judicial consideration

of the rights of the public in connection with its order, the action

of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court must be deemed arbitrary

and capricious so as to violate the due process guaranteed by the

Fourteenth Amendment. American Ry. Express v. Kentucky,

273 U.S. 269 (1931).

The Court can find that the Pennsylvania Supreme Court's

denial of the City’s application for reconsideration, without

opinion, signals the state court's adherence to a state rule of law

of abstaining from entertaining and considering — let alone

making a judicial determination of the merits of — a claim of

nonconfirmity with public policy raised by signatories to public

sector collective bargaining agreements. See Fraternal Order of

Police v. Hickey, supra; Grottenthaler v. Pennsylvania State

Police, supra; and Pittsburgh Joint Collective Bargaining Com-

mittee v. City of Pittsburgh, supra. In those cases, the Penn-

sylvania Supreme Court consistently held that public employers

may not challenge the implementation of collective bargaining

contract terms on public policy grounds after the parties have

completed their collective bargaining. !

In sum, no indication of record, nor any conceivable set of

facts deducible from the record, demonstrates that the Pennsyl-

vania state courts considered or determined whether the collec-

tive bargaining agreement protected the rights of the public, in

addition to those of the public employees and public employer.

This Court should grant a writ of certiorari to review whether

the Pennsylvania Supreme Court order, in these circumstances,

violates the due process required by the Fourteenth Amend-

ment of the United States Constitution, in the sense of an

1. The rule of law adopted by the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania's

conflicts with that followed by the highest courts of New York, New Jersey,

and Massachusetts. See, e.g., Economico v. Village of Pelham, 50 N.Y. 2d 120,

480 N.Y. S.2d 213, 405 N.E. 2d 694 (1980); School Committee of Holyoke v.

Larry Duprey, 8 Mass. App. Ct. 58, 391 N.E. 2d 925 (1979); and Ridgefield

Park Education Association v. Ridgefield Park Bd. of Ed., 78 N.J. 144, 393

A.2d 278 (1978).

11

arbitrary and capricious abdication of the duty which the state

legislature demanded that the courts undertake for the protec-

tion of the rights of the public at large.

2. The state supreme court has held that public employers

are estopped from challenging in the courts the illegality of

collective bargaining contract terms mutually agreed upon dur-

ing the bargaining process, but that these issues may only be

raised by non-signatory intervenors. See Fraternal Order of

Police v. Hickey, supra; Grottenthaler v. Pennsylvania State

Police, supra; and Pittsburgh Joint Collective Bargaining Com-

mittee v. City of Pittsburgh, supra. Private parties, however,

have the right at any time, including in the state supreme court,

to raise the defense of illegality in suits seeking enforcement of

contracts. Waychoff v. Waychoff, 163 A. 670 (1932); O’Brien v.

O’Brien Steel Construction Company, 271 A.2d 254 (1970);

Rothberg v. Rosenbloom; 628 F. Supp. 746 (E.D. Pa. 1986).

In that PERA makes protection of the interest of the public

_at large in public sector contracts the central theme of the grant

of authority to bargain collectively in the public sector, no

rational basis justifies allocating the right to defend against the

implementation of contract interpretations on the basis of the

public/private status of signatories to the contract. The state

court bases that distinction on the asserted need to preserve the

integrity of the bargaining process and the harmonious relation-

ship it was designed to foster (see Fraternal Order of Police v.

Hickey, supra). However, this interest is not compromised in

the circumstance where the public employer does not attempt to

avoid duties imposed on it by the contract, but only tries to

define them. The integrity of the collective bargaining process is

not undermined by permitting a public party to seek a deter-

mination as to whether a contract provision or its interpretation

violates public policy or law. The City secures no advantage by

an interpretation of paragraph 23B which adopts actual cost to

the Fund of the benefits provided as the proper measure of the

City’s contribution, nor does the Union suffer any detriment.

Under Article 3, section 6 of the state constitution, which

prohibits paying “extra compensation” to public employees, the

Union’s claim can only properly be for a contribution sufficient

Ng i

12

in amount to pay for the health services and benefits it provided

to its members during the 1982-1984 contract period. The

legislature's explicit policy pronouncement favoring protection

of the public interest is eviscerated by the court's linking of the

power of judicial review to the happenstance that some citizen

will discover infringements of public rights occurring during the

bargaining process and have the gumption, fortitude and re-

sources to file suit.

Policy considerations dictate that the court afford public

employers the right to assert illegality defenses. Pennsylvania

recognizes that a public employer's relationship to the public

funds which it collects and disburses is a fiduciary one. See

Pennsylvania Labor Relations Bd. v. State College Area Sch.

Dist., 337 A.2d 262, 264 (1975); Schuck v. School District of

Baldwin Tp., 146 A. 24 (1929). Therefore, the City’s position as

custodian of the public trust confers standing upon the City to

protect the taxpayer's interest in disbursements of public funds

apart from its status as the public employer party to the

collective bargaining contract. By denying the City’s appeal, the

court has made no state remedy available, in the circumstances

of this case, for vindication of the entitlement that PERA confers

on the public at large, since under its prior rulings it will not

itself review the contract interpretation involved for violation of

law or policy, and there are no non-signatory intervenors. The

procedure which the state court has chosen for promoting its

view of the need to encourage good faith bargaining is imper-

missably severe. See Young v. Ragen, 337 U.S. 235 (1949);

Kaiser Steel Corporation v. Mullins, 455 U.S. 72 (1982). The

legislative mandate that the interests of the public at large in

public sector contracts be considered is not effectuated by

excluding parties wishing to assert public policy objections to

contract interpretations from the courtroom. Equal protection

demands that the City, at least in its fiduciary capacity, have the

same right to assert public policy and statutory defenses to

enforcement of interpretations of contract terms as private

parties. No national basis exist for the distinction being made

between public and private contracts.

13

3. In issuing an order which deprives the City of the

opportunity to assert illegality and public policy defenses to the

enforcement of a collective bargaining agreement, the Supreme

Court of Pennsylvania has adopted a position which seriously

conflicts with decisions of this Court that litigants be afforded

due process and equal protection of the law. Hovey v. Elliott,

167 U.S. 409 (1897); Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank ¢& Trust

Co., supra; Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535 (1971).

Considerations of fundamental fairness compel the conclu-

sion that contesting litigants, as persons similarly situated, must

have parity in terms of access to the courts to be heard on their

differing positions on the same issue. In this case the issues of

liability and damages under paragraph 23B merged. The City

never disputed liability, i.e., that monies were required to be

paid by the City to the Union. The sole issue has always been,

based upon the proper interpretation of the contract, how much

was the City required to pay. Yet, the court granted the Union’s

petition for allowance of appeal and denied the City’s. In so

doing, the court granted the Union access to the court to argue

its interpretation of the contract, while denying the City that

same access. Such disparity of treatment is not justified by

considerations of judicial economy or efficiency or on any other

rational basis. Nothing is more repugnant to our laws than to

permit one litigant to be heard, while forcing silence upon

another. See Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438, 447 (1972):

Kaiser Steel Corporation v. Mullins, supra.

aaa

14

CONCLUSION

It is the duty of the state courts to consider, sua sponte,

legislatively enacted public policy to protect the rights of

the public in labor agreements between the public employer

and the public employee. The failure of the state courts to do

so, and their failure to permit the City and the public at large to

be heard, violates the due process and equal protection guar-

antees of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution.

Respectfully submitted:

ers od). (aa

CHARLES W. BOWSER, ESQUIRE

LUTHER E. WEAVER, III, ESQUIRE

JACKIE B. SPARKMAN, ESQUIRE

JAMES P. COUSOUNIS, ESQUIRE

SEYMOUR KURLAND, ESQUIRE

Attorneys for Petitioner,

City of Philadelphia

APPENDIX

——

Appendix A

SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

EASTERN DISTRICT

November 19, 1987

John M. Myers, Esquire

Chief Deputy City Solicitor

15th Floor

Municipal Services Building

Philadelphia, Pa. 19102

RE: City of Philadelphia v. District Council 33, et al. No.

730 E.D. ALLOCATUR DOCKET 1986

Dear Mr. Myers:

This is to advise you that the following Order has been

endorsed on your Petition for Reconsideration, filed in the

above captioned matter:

“November 5, 1987.

Petition Denied.

Per Curiam’.

Very truly yours,

PATRICK TASSOS

Deputy Prothonotary

/ma

ce: Robert C. Daniels, Esquire

A-2

Appendix B

SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

EASTERN DISTRICT

March 9, 1987

John M. Myers, Esquire

Chief Deputy City Solicitor

M S B Building, 15th Floor

Philadelphia, Pa. 19102

RE: City of Philadelphia PETITIONER v. District Council

33, American Federation of State, County, and Mu-

nicipal Employees, etc., Respondents No. 730 E. D.

ALLOCATUR DOCKET 1986

Dear Mr. Myers:

This is to advise you that on March 3, 1987 the Supreme

Court entered its Order denying the Petition for Allowance of

Appeal in the above-captioned matter.

Very truly yours,

Marlene F. Lachman, Esq.

Prothonotary

PATRICK TASSOS,

Deputy Prothonotary

PT: jpa

ce: Robert C. Daniels, Esquire

A-3

Appendix C

SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

EASTERN DISTRICT

March 9, 1987

Robert C. Daniels, Esquire

DANIELS, SALTZ & ASSOCIATES, Ltd.

211 South Broad Street

Philadelphia, Pa. 19102

RE: District Council 33, et al., Appellants v. City of

Philadelphia No. 32 E.D. Appeal Docket 1987 (For-

merly No. 647 E.D. Allocatur Docket 1986)

Dear Mr. Daniels:

This is to advise you that the following Order has been

endorsed on your Petition for Allowance of Appeal, filed in the

above captioned matter.

“March 3, 1987

Petition Granted.

Per Curiam.”

Accordingly, your appeal has been docketed as of March 9,

1987 at No. 32 E.D. APPEAL DOCKET 1987. You are further

advised that Appellants’ briefs and record are due for filing on

April 20, 1987 and Appellee’s briefs must be filed within thirty

(30) days after service of the briefs for Appellant.

THE COURT WILL NOT ENTERTAIN PETITIONS

FOR EXTENSIONS OF TIME EXCEPT FOR THE MOST

COMPELLING REASONS. Such petitions will not be accepted

for filing unless received by the Prothonotary at least two 2

weeks prior to the date on which briefs are due.

A-4

Your attention is directed to Pa. R.A.P. 2111(b) which

provides that copies of the lower court opinions must be

appended to the Appellant's briefs. This rule will be strictly

enforced and no briefs will be accepted for filing which do not

comply with this requirement.

Very truly yours,

PATRICK TASSOS

Deputy Prothonotary

/pj

cc: John M. Myers, Esquire

A-5

APPENDIX D

J. 04009/1986

DISTRICT COUNCIL 33, AMER-

ICAN FEDERATION OF STATE,

COUNTY AND MUNICIPAL EM-

PLOYEES, AFL—CIO, By

EARL STOUT, AS TRUSTEE AD

LITEM, AND EARL STOUT; AL-

BERT JOHNSON; HARRY DAR-

GAN; GEORGE WINNS; JOHN

EVERETT; LEONARD TILGH-

MAN; GEORGE WROTEN;

EARL WILLIAMS; EDWARD

SIMPKINS; EDWARD WIL-

LIAMS; AND FRANCIS ROONEY,

TRUSTEES OF DISTRICT COUN-

CIL 33 MUNICIPAL WORKERS

HEALTH AND WELFARE

FUND,

Appellants at No. 1463 & 2016

PHL $5

v.

CITY OF PHILADELPHIA

Appellant at No. 1511 &

1943 PHL 85

IN THE

SUPERIOR COURT

OF PENNSYLVANIA

No. 1463

Philadelphia 1985

No. 1511

Philadelphia 1985

No. 1943

Philadelphia 1985

No. 2016

Philadelphia 1985

Appeal from the Orders of the Court of Common

Pleas, Civil Division, of Philadelphia County at No.

3504 January Term 1983.

Before: WICKERSHAM, McEWEN and JOHNSON, JJ.

OPINION BY WICKERSHAM: J.:

FILED APRIL 25, 1986

A-6

These four consolidated appeals are taken from the orders

of April 26, 1985 and July 10, 1985 of the Court of Common

Pleas of Philadelphia County. They arise out of a dispute

between the City of Philadelphia (“the City”) and District

Council 33, American Federation of State, County and Munic-

ipal Employees (“District Council 33”) concerning the meaning

of the 1982-84 Collective Bargaining Agreement between the

parties.

Trustees for the District Council 33 Municipal Workers

Health and Welfare Fund (“the Fund”) filed a complaint in

equity and a motion for preliminary injunctive relief on January

18, 1983 against defendant-below, the City, based on allegations

that the City had breached its obligation to pay certain sums of

money to the Fund. A period of litigation followed which

resulted in the disqualification of original counsel for District

Council 33. City of Philadelphia v. District Council 33, 503 Pa.

498, 469 A.2d 1051 (1983). Subsequently, the chancellor issued

a preliminary injunction in April, 1984 and made certain find-

ings of fact after the initial hearing on this matter. After further

trial proceedings in 1984 and 1985, the chancellor issued

additional findings of fact after the final hearing in April, 1985.

The City filed a timely motion for post-trial relief. On April 26,

1985. The City filed a timely motion for post-trial relief. On

April 26, 1985, the court issued an order requiring the City to

pay an additional $15,879,215.36 to the Fund. Both the City and

District Council 33 filed timely exceptions and motions for

post-trial relief. On May 24, 1985, District Council 33 filed an

appeal from the order of April 26, 1985 at No. 1463 Philadelphia,

1985. The City filed a cross-appeal at No. 1511 Philadelphia,

1985. On July 10, 1985, the chancellor denied both parties

motions in an opinionless order. The City subsequently filed an

appeal from that order to our court at No. 1943 Philadelphia,

1985 and District Council 33 filed a cross-appeal at No. 2016

Philadelphia, 1985.

At the outset, we must determine which of the above

appeals are properly before us. We conclude that the appeal and

cross-appeal at Nos. 1463 and 1511 Philadelphia, 1985 were

taken prematurely in that they were taken after the filing but

OAR Be /

A-7

before the disposition of motions for post-trial relief. We there-

fore quash those appeals. The appeal and cross-appeal at Nos.

1943 and 2016 however, we find properly before this court. See

Pa.R.A.P. 301. Accordingly, we now turn to the issues raised

therein. ! —

Initially, we examine the claims of appellant, the City. After

a thorough examination of the briefs of the parties, the relevant

caselaw and the extensive record in this case, we affirm the

order of the chancellor in the court below.

We begin by noting that our scope of review in such matters

is closely confined. Appellate review of equity matters is limited

to the determination of whether chancellor committed an error

of law or abuse of discretion; a final decree in equity will not be

disturbed unless it is unsupported by evidence or demonstrably

capricious. Sack v. Feinman, 489 Pa. 152, 413 A.2d 1059 (1980),

decided after remand, 495 Pa. 100, 432 A.2d 971 (1981); Rosen

v. Rittenhouse Towers, 334 Pa. Super. 124, 482 A.2d 1113

(1984).

Applying this standard, we now address appellant's first

issue regarding the chancellor's interpretation of the City’s

obligations to the Fund under the collective bargaining agree-

ment in effect between the parties from July 1, 1982 to June 30,

1984. Appellant argues that the chancellor erred in referring to

extrinsic evidence to determine the intent of the parties regard-

ing that obligation. We disagree.

In construing a contract, the intention of the parties is

paramount and the court will adopt an interpretation which

under all circumstances ascribes the most reasonable, prob-

able, and natural conduct of the parties, bearing in mind

the objects manifestly to be accomplished. Unit Vending

Corp. v. Lacas, 410 Pa. 614, 190 A.2d 298 (1963). Where

the words of the contract are clear and unambiguous, the

intent of the parties must be determined exclusively from

the agreement itself. Kennedy v. Erkman, 389 Pa. 651, 133

A.2d 550 (1957). Where the language of the written contract

is ambiguous, extrinsic or parol evidence may be consid-

ered to determine the intent of the parties. In re Herr's

Estate, 400 Pa. 90, 161 A.2d 32 (1960). While courts are

A-8

responsible for deciding whether, as a matter of law,

written contract terms are either clear or ambiguous; it is

for the fact finder to resolve ambiguities and find the

parties intent. Easton v. Washington County Insurance

Co., 391 Pa. 28, 137 A.2d 332 (1957); Castelucci v. Colum-

bia Gas of Pennsylvania, Inc., 226 Pa. Super. 288, 310 A.2d

331 (1973).

A contract will be found to be ambiguous:

[I]f, and only if, it is reasonably or fairly succeptible of

different constructions and is capable of being under-

stood in more senses than one and is obscure in

meaning through indefiniteness of expression or has a

double meaning. . . .

Ambiguities may be either patent or latent. A patent

ambiguity appears on the face of the instrument and arises

from the defective, obscure, or insensible language used.

Steuart v. McChesney, 498 Pa. 45, 444 A.2d 659 (1982).

Latent ambiguities rise from extraneous or collateral facts

which render the meaning of a written contract uncertain

although the language, on its face, appears clear and

unambiguous. Id.

Metzger v. Clifford Realty Corp., 327 Pa. Super. 377, 385-86,

476 A.2d 1, 5 (1984) (footnote omitted). In light of the facts of

this case, such a latent ambiguity existed in the clause address-

ing health and welfare benefits under the agreement which

provided:

23. HEALTH AND WELFARE PROGRAM

* * * * * *

B. Each full-time employee in a class or position repre-

sented by District Council #33 shall have health and

welfare benefits as such benefits are presently defined

including major medical family coverage, under the

Blue Cross/Blue Shield group health medical plan, with

the City paying the full contribution of such benefits, to

A-9

District Council 33 Health and Welfare Fund. (1975-76)

(as of 1/1/81 receive $92.00 per month).

Agreement between the City of Philadelphia and District Coun-

cil 33, AFSCME, AFL-CIO, July 1, 1982-June 30, 1984 at 23.B.

[emphasis added].

The chancellor properly resolved any ambiguity as to the

term “as such benefits are presently defined” by considering

evidence regarding its meaning as understood by the principals

to the agreement, former Mayor Frank Rizzo and Earl Stout,

President of District Council 33. The chancellor concluded that

based on this testimony, the ambiguous phrase should be read to

have the same meaning which was attached to it by both parties.

See Demharter v. First Federal Savings and Loan Association of

Pittsburgh, 412 Pa. 142, 194 A.2d 214 (1963). See also Restate-

ment of Contracts 2d, § 201(1). (“Where the parties have

attached the same meaning to a promise or agreement or a term

thereof, it is interpreted in accordance with that meaning’).

Accordingly, the chancellor found that:

10. The City agreed to “provide 100 percent medical

coverage to city employees’ consistent with the 100 percent

medical coverage provided by District Council 33 to its

union members prior to and at the time of the contract

negotiations.

* * * * *

18. The Agreement requires that defendant pay over to the

Health and Welfare Fund such amount of money per union

member per month as it would cost to purchase a plan that

would provide the same full level of health care benefits as

provided by District Council 33 to its members immedi-

ately preceding the effective date of the current Agree-

ment.

Findings of Fact, May 4, 1984 at 5 and 7.

Where a chancellor's findings are fully supported by com-

petent evidence of record, they are binding upon a reviewing

court, Abraham v. Mihaiich, 330 Pa. Super. 378, 479 A.2d 601

A-10

(1984). We can find neither an abuse of discretion nor error of

law, which would otherwise warrant our disturbing the chancel-

lors findings on ths issue.”

The City next challenges the chancellor's award of damages

as not calculated on a “cost” basis. Once again applying our

narrow scope of review, see Sack v. Feinman, supra, Rosen v.

Rittenhouse Towers, supra, we must conclude that the chancel-

lor acted within his discretion in this finding and committed no

error of law. At trial, expert witnesses for the City and District

Council 33 presented opposing views of the proper measure of

damages. After consideration of the testimony and the reports of

the respective experts, the chancellor was persuaded by the

opinion of the Price, Waterhouse, expert for District Council 33.

The chancellor was the trier of the facts and it was his duty to

resolve the conflict in the testimony. Pirilla v. Bonucci, 320 Pa.

Super. 496, 467 A.2d 821 (1983). Because his findings are fully

supported by competent evidence they are binding upon this

court. Abraham v. Mihalich, supra.

Finally, the City contends that the chancellor erred in

certain discovery rulings and in improperly shifting the burden

of proof at the preliminary hearing. Regarding these matters, we

once more find the chancellor committed no error of law and

acted properly within his discretion. Since a trial court must

oversee the ongoing discovery between the parties during the

course of the litigation, it is within the court’s discretion to

determine the appropriate measures necessary to insure ade-

quate and prompt discovery of mattes permitted under the

Rules of Civil Procedure. Stern v. Vic Snyder, Inc., 325 Pa.

Super. 423, 473 A.2d 139 (1984).

In this case, the deposition testimony regarding the 1975

negotiations sought by the City was not relevant to the pending

action and thus was undiscoverable under the rules. See

Pa.R.C.P. No. 4003.1.° Besides, one of the proposed deponents

had previously testified and been cross-examined by the City

while the other testified that he had no specific recollection

concerning the 1975 negotiations. Similarly, the requested

records concerning operating costs of the Fund were irrelevant

since the City’s obligation was not governed by those costs. In

A-11

any event, sufficient evidence was provided to the City in this

regard, including trustees minutes, financial audits and other

records. We do not believe that the City was entitled to further

discovery of these matters. We note also that the City has failed

to identify any information produced at trial which was denied to

it during pre-trial discovery.

Lastly, the City argues that the court improperly shifted the

burden of proof from District Council 33 to the City at the

commencement of the final hearing, when the court stated that

its preliminary findings of fact would be taken into account. We

find the City’s burden of proof claim previously rebutted by our

supreme court in Lackey v. Sacoolas, 411 Pa. 235, 191 A.2d 395

(1963), where at the final hearing of an injunction, the court

properly incorporated into the record as part of the evidence to

be considered, the testimony which had been presented at the

preliminary hearing. Accordingly, we hold that the chancellor

acted within his discretion in all respects discussed above and

affirm the order of the Honorable Lawrence Prattis, dated July

10, 1985.

We now turn to District Council 33’s cross-appeal which

disputes the amount of the chancellor's award, despite his

decision in its favor. Applying our narrow scope of review, we

are obliged to conclude that the chancellor committed no abuse

of discretion nor error of law by “misapplying” the testimony of

Distrit Council 33’s expert, a representative of Price, Water-

house. In being persuaded by that expert’s evidence, the

chancellor was not required to adopt the expert's opinion

verbatim in his finding of damages. The chancellor's finding

regarding the amount of damages was based on all the evidence,

including that adduced from the expert's testimony and is not so

inconsistent with his other findings so that it should be dis-

turbed. See In re Estate of Billinger, 451 Pa. 77, 301 A.2d 795

(1973). :

We therefore affirm the order of the Honorable Lawrence

Prattis, dated July 10, 1985 with respect to the cross-appeal as

well.

Appeals at Nos. 1463 and 1511 Philadelphia, 1985 are

quashed. We affirm the order of the court below with respect to

appeals Nos. 1943 and 2016 Philadelphia, 1985.

A-12

Appendix E

District Council 33, AFSCME v. City of Philadelphia

Labor Law — Gollective Bargaining Agreement — Munic-

ipal Employer — Health and Welfare Fund.

Equity — Constructive Trust — Preliminary Injunction —

Final Adjudication.

(1) Where language in a collective bargaining agreement

between a municipal employer and its employees’ union created

mutual obligations respecting an employee's health and welfare

fund and the municipal employer failed to provide complete

funding as promised, a constructive trust was imposed in favor of

the union.

(2) A preliminary injunction was granted to a union entitled

to a constructive trust imposed against municipal funds,

whereby the amount of the municipal employers payments to

the union employees’ health and welfare fund was increased as

required by a collective bargaining agreement: the union having

demonstrated substantial probability of success on the merits,

irreparable injury if relief were not granted and that relief would

preserve the status quo.

(3) A court will not substitute its judgment for the collec-

tive bargaining process.

(4) Neither court nor municipal employer may control

funds disbursed to union member employees unless provided in

the collective bargaining agreement.

(5) The court's power to impose a constructive trust as a

preliminary injunction feature expired upon final adjudication.

(6) The court made the preliminary injunction final with a

modification increasing the rate of payment per member per

month from the municipal employer to the union member

employees health and welfare fund based upon revised cost

projections.

C.P., Phila. Co., January Term. 1983. No. 3504.

Robert C. Daniels, Esquire, for Plaintiff.

John M. Myers, Assistant City Solicitor, for Defendant.

PRATTIS, J., April 4, 1985

A-13

FINDINGS OF FACT AFTER FINAL HEARING

The Court confirms the Findings of Fact adopted April 27,

1984, and incorporates them herein as Final Findings of Fact.

The Court further finds:

i. The purpose of including paragraph 23(B) in the Collec-

tive Bargaining Agreement entered into between the City of

Philadelphia and District Council 33 for the period extending

from July 1, 1982 through June 30, 1984 was to continue to

provide not less than the same level of health and medical

benefits as were provided by District Council 33 to its members

prior to and contemporaneous with the execution of the Collec-

tive Bargaining Agreement effective July 1982:

Each full-time employee in a class of position repre-

sented by District Council #33 shall have health and

welfare benefits as such benefits are presently defined

including major medical family coverage, under the Blue

Cross/Blue Shield group health medical plan, with the City

paying the full contribution of such benefits, to District

Council 33 Health and Welfare Fund (1975-76) (as of 1/1/81

receive $92.00 per month). (Emphasis added.)

2. District Council 33’s claims experience with Blue Cross/

Blue Shield for the fourteen and a half (14%) month period

(September 1, 1981 through November 17, 1982) is the most

reliable available data base upon which to base a quotation from

Blue Cross for costing out the monthly monetary amount

necessary to “provide 100 percent medical coverage to City

employees” under a Blue Cross family rate, consistent with the

100 percent medical coverage provided by District Council 33 to

its union members prior to and at the time of the inception of the

1982-84 Collective Bargaining Agreement.

3. During the period January 1, 1983 through July 30,

1984, District Council 33 undertook to provide this full coverage

by payments to third party health care providers for services

rendered for District Council 33 members; by the provision of

health care services at the John F. Kennedy Hospital owned and

operated by trustees of District Council 33, Health and Welfare

A-14

Fund. The John F. Kennedy Hospital further provided health

care services to members of District Council 33 by the operation

of a clinic which rendered out-patient services to District

Council 33 members, beyond the coverage provided by com-

mercial and non-profit health insurers.

4. District Council 33 undertook to pay the full balance for

the cost of those medical services provided to its members and

not covered by or included under the Blue Cross/Blue Shield

contract between District Council 33 and Blue Cross/Blue

Shield while said contract was in effect with Blue Cross/Blue

Shield from September 1, 1981 through November 17, 1982,

inclusive.

5. The City of Philadelphia has never requested Blue Cross

to price out or prepare a cost rating for a level of health care

benefits for members of District Council 33, at full 100 percent

coverage for all of medical expenses including, but not limited

to, 365 day in-patient hospitalization, with no co-pay provisions

or obligations, no deductibles, no cap on the total amount of

coverage for health and medical care for each union member and

his or her dependent family members, including full and

complete payment of all hospital, medical and doctor bills, as the

City was obligated to provide and pay under paragraph 23(B) of

the Collective Bargaining Agreement in force between the City

of Philadelphia and District Council 33 for the period extending

from July 1, 1982 through and including June 30, 1984.

6. District Council 33 members who were covered by the

terms of the Collective Bargaining Agreement with the City of

Philadelphia have incurred known claims of more than Twenty-

Four Million, Three Hundred and Forty-Seven Thousand, Five

Hundred and Thirty-Five ($24,347,535) Dollars for medical

services for the period extending from January 1, 1983 through

June 30, 1984. However, this figure does not represent all of the

costs or claims for medical services provided to District Council

33 members from January 1, 1983, through June 30, 1984

because the District Council 33 computer system did not go into

effect until August, 1983 and not all of the known bills for

medical services incurred prior to that time have been entered

into the computer.

—

A-15

7. Due to the Fund's inability to pay the health care

providers who were and had been providing District Council 33

members with health services, hospitals in the greater Philadel-

phia area have refused to admit and are continuing to refuse to

admit and provide hospital care and medical treatment to

numerous members of District Council 33.

8. Earl Stout, as President of District Council 33, intermit-

tently exercised his authority to make modifications enlarging

the scope of benefits provided to District Council 33 union

members.

9. The union's benefit booklets were not republished each

time a modification was made increasing those health benefits

provided to District Council 33 members.

10. The union's benefits booklet provided only the mini-

mum of benefits actually provided to its union members and

their dependents during the contract period extending from July

1, 1982 through June 30, 1984.

11. District Council 33 provided its members with “full

coverage,” notwithstanding certain limitations set forth in the

Benefits Booklet (i.e., alcohol, drvg treatment, cosmetic sur-

gery), which were apparently not considered illnesses.

12. The administrative expenses of the Fund from January

1, 1983 through June 30, 1984 were less than four (4%) percent

of the total benefits paid for by the Fund. According to the cities’

expert, that figure (less than four (4%) percent) “is on a very

good side of the range . . . [and the Fund]. . . is being well

run at that percentage point. . . [and constitutes] good perfor-

mance” by the Fund.

13. The City of Philadelphia has never obtained the right,

through the collective bargaining process or otherwise, and,

consequently, does not have the authority to administer, or

audit the financial expenditures or affairs of District Council 33

or its Health and Welfare Fund.

14. In September, 1983, the City’s contribution to the

Police and Firefighters Health and Welfare Fund was $186.00

A-16

per member per month for a package of health benefits cover-

age, which provided a lesser level of health care benefits

coverage, than that level of benefits provided by District

Council 33 to its members.

15. The record before this court does not establish the

extent to which the operations of the clinic and John F. Kennedy

Hospital were allocated to those District Council 33 members

for whom the City of Philadelphia was obligated. Accordingly,

the court cannot compute the clinic cost or the hospital costs

except to the extent that they are reflected in the Blue Cross-

Blue Shield data base developed during the period September

1, 1981, through November 17, 1982.

16. After a review of the testimony and opinion of wit-

nesses, and a study of the reports of the respective experts, the

court is persuaded by the opinion of the plaintiffs’ expert, Price,

Waterhouse. The Court's preliminary order was based on a

projection of cost of the Blue Cross plan which most closely

approximated the coverage extended by plaintiffs. This projec-

tion resulted in the temporary order of April 27, 1984, directing

the defendants to pay $122.00 per member per month during

the period in question. A more detailed projection of the data

relating to the same plan based upon the Price, Waterhouse

report persuades the court that a more accurate estimation of the

requirements of the defendant's obligation under the Collective

Bargaining Agreement would be $157.00 per member per

month during the period January, 1983 to June, 1983 and

$188.00 per member per month during the period July, 1983 to

June, 1984 or an average monthly payment during the period in

controversy of $178.00 per month.

CONCLUSION

The employees of the City of Philadelphia, who are repre-

sented by the plaintiffs have designated the plaintiffs as their

collective bargaining agent to work out the wages, hours, and

working conditions of their contract of employment. As Mayor

Goode testified, the City, as employer, made available to the

employees, an aggregate sum to be divided as the employees,

> ee ee ee

A-17

through their agent, perceived their needs and priorities. Thus,

the employees might emphasize job security over take-home pay

and might, for obvious tax reasons, divide compensation into

taxable earnings as reflected in the paycheck and non-taxable

earnings designated for health and welfare purposes and di-

verted to a special trust set up and operated by the agents of the

employers. In either event, the payments by the city are

beneficially the money of the employees as soon as paid.

Appropriately, therefore, the employees and their agents

have resisted attempts by the defendant to both pay the money

and control it. Mayor Rizzo testified that it was never contem-

plated that the City would have any such control. While a

legitimate subject for negotiation between the employees’ col-

lective bargaining agent and the City of Philadelphia; in no

contract entered into from 1975 to date have the parties

negotiated any provision giving the defendant City of Philadel-

phia audit authority, representation on the trustee board,

administrative responsibilities or any control of the expenditures

of the employees’ money. Consequently, the court will not

substitute its judgment for the collective bargaining process.

The employees who are members of District Council 33

have, through their agents, provided an extraordinarily gener-

ous health and welfare plan. It certainly exceeds the coverage

customarily offered by other commercial or non-profit health

insurance providers. It may be actuarially unsound. Certainly, it

— includes the potential that a few members with catastrophic

illness may preempt the resources available in a given period of

time for the general membership.

However, just as the defendant may not, unless provided in

the collective bargaining agreement tell the members and their

agent how to spend their money; neither may the court.

The constructive trust imposed by the court in the Order of

April 27, 1984, was of necessity, a temporary device designed to

assure the court that the status quo would be maintained until

final adjudication. The court’s power to impose such a trust

expires with the final adjudication.

The court concludes, as_a matter of law, that the prelimi-

nary injunction entered April 27, 1984, shall be made final: but

A-18

shall be modified to provide that the defendant City of Phila-

delphia pay to the plaintiff District Council 33 Health and

Welfare Trust the sum of $178.00 per member per month for the

period January 1, 1983 to June 30, 1984.

APPENDIX E

District Council 33, American Federation of State, County and

Municipal Employees, AFL-CIO, by Earl Stout, as Trustee ad

Litem, et al. v. City of Philadelphia

Labor Law — Municipal Collective Bargaining Agreement

— Health and Welfare Benefits.

Civil Procedure — Preliminary Injunction — Constructive

Trust.

(1) The City of Philadelphia’s breach of its contractual

obligation under the collective bargaining agreement with Dis-

trict Council 33, AFSCME, has caused union members and

their families to suffer irreparable harm by being denied neces-

sary health care services due to the union’s inability to pay for

required medical services for its members and their depen-

dents.

(2) Plaintiff Union’s request for a preliminary injunction

increasing the city’s contribution to union’s health and welfare

fund is granted where the union has demonstrated a substantial

probability that it will succeed on the final merits of their

litigation; irreparable injury will occur if preliminary injunctive

relief is not granted; union is seeking preservation of the status

quo; and the collective bargaining agreement creates mutual

obligations under which this court should impose a constructive

trust.

C.P., Phila. Co., January Term, 1983, No. 3504.

Robert C. Daniels, Esquire, for Plaintiff.

John M. Myers, Deputy City Solicitor, for Defendant.

PRATTIS J., April 27, 1984

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Since July 1, 1975, the City of Philadelphia (“City”) and

District Council 33, AFSCME (“Union”), have been bound by

an agreement, embodied in a “Memorandum of Agreement”

eee

A-19

(P-1), and subsequently in a Collective Bargaining Agreement

(P-2), which provides in relevant part:

Each full-time employee in a class of position repre-

sented by District Council #33 shall have health and

welfare benefits as such benefits are presently defined

including major medical family coverage, under the Blue

Cross/Blue Shield group health medical plan, with the City

paying the full contribution of such benefits, to District

Council 33 Health and Welfare Fund. (1975-76) (as of 1/1/81

receive $92.00 per month). (Emphasis added.)

The phrase “benefits as presently defined”, as negotiated with

and.agreed to by representatives of the City and Union during

negotiations preceding the signing of the 1975 Agreement, was

intended to provide for health and welfare benefits as then

defined and provided by the Union at the time of the negotia-

tions in February, March and April of 1975 and at the time of the

inception of the Agreement on July 1, 1975 (i.e. 365 unlimited

in-patient hospital days per year, no co-payments by union

members, no deductible for the payment of any expenses and no

cap on the amount of payments for any one particular illness for

a union member or his dependents).

2. From July 1, 1975, through December 31, 1981, the

City paid to the Fund for each employee and retiree covered by

the Collective Bargaining Agreement, pursuant to Paragraphs 5

and 23(B), an amount equal to that charged by Blue Cross/Blue

Shield to the City under an “A700” contract for health and

welfare benefits of City employees (D-13). The A700 contract

defined the health and welfare benefits for a group of City

employees which, in 1975, included among others, a significant

number of members of the Union. However, the City never

indicated or suggested to Earl Stout or any members of Union

that the 1975 Agreement provision regarding health and welfare

benefits would be tied to any particular Blue Cross or Blue

Shield Group or Plan. Rather, the City agreed and contractually

undertook to use Blue Cross/Blue Shield as a guide with respect

to pricing the cost of purchasing a health care plan which would

provide the “health and welfare benefits as such benefits are

A-20

presently defined” and were being provided by District Council

33 to its union members at the time of the negotiation of that

Agreement in March, April and May 1975 and at the time of its

inception on July 1, 1975.

3. The Union was not required under the Collective Bar-

gaining Agreement to purchase a Blue Cross/Blue Shield con-

tract. The 1975 Agreement between the City of Philadelphia and

Union intended that the level of benefits provided for the union

members would be determined by District Council 33. The

level of benefits as “such benefits are presently defined” in the

1975 Agreement referred to that level of benefits that were

being provided to the union members during the negotiations

between District Council 33 and the City.

4. The City’s payments under Paragraphs 5 and 23(B) were

consistent with its interpretation of the Agreement, as set forth

in published Civil Service Regulations, amended in 1975, 1979,

1980, 1981 and 1982 (D-11), but the Civil Service Regulations

unilaterally varied the obligations undertaken by the City in the

Collective Bargaining Agreement.

5. Section 27.0111 of the Civil Service Regulations have

described the City’s obligation for health and welfare payments

to be:

For each full-time employee in a class of position

represented by District Council #33, one hundred percent

(100%) of the cost of family coverage including Major

Medical, under the City’s Blue Cross/Blue Shield group

health medical plan as presently defined (7/1/75) . . .

6. By 1983, the figures provided by Blue Cross/Blue Shield

were a grossly inappropriate guide under Paragraphs 5 and 23(B)

because the number of city employees covered under the A700

plan was either extremely small or nonexistent. As of this date,

the City’s Blue Cross/Blue Shield A700 contract has been

cancelled.

7. Paragraph 5 of said Memorandum of Agreement pro-

vides as follows:

A-21

Each full-time employee in a class or position repre-

sented by District Council 33 shall have health and welfare

benefits as such benefits are presently defined including

major medical family coverage, under the Blue Cross/Blue

Shield group health medical plan, with the City paying the

full contribution of such benefits, to District Council 33

Health and Welfare Fund. (P-1, emphasis added).

5. Prior to and since July of 1975 and up until and including

the present time, Union provided its members with full 100

percent coverage for all of their medical expenses, including,

but not limited to, 365 day in-patient hospitalization, with no

co-pay provisions or obligations, no deductibles, no cap on the

total amount of coverage for health and medical care for each

union member and his or her dependent family members,

including full and complete payment of all hospital, medical and

doctor bills.

9. However, the City never indicated or suggested to Earl

Stout or any members of Union that the 1975 Agreement

provision regarding health and welfare benefits would be tied to

any particular Blue Cross or Blue Shield Group or Plan.

10. The City agreed to “provide 100 percent medical

coverage to city employees’ consistent with the 100 percent

medical coverage provided by District Council 33 to its union

members prior to and at the time of the contract negotiations.

11. Both the City and Union agreed that the Union had the

exclusive right to determine the full and proper level of benefits

which were to be provided to its members and the City would

pay to the District Council 33 Health and Welfare Fund (Fund)

a monthly sum of money based upon a rate quotation provided

by Blue Cross to the City, in costing out the monthly monetary

amount necessary to provide said levels of benefits.

12. It was never contemplated by the City or Union that

Blue Cross would actually provide the benefits to the members

of Union.

13. The City agreed that the money paid to Union pursuant

to the terms of the Agreement, became the property and

A-22

responsibility of Union and that the City had no right to

administer or control the Fund’s money.

14. The City agreed that the Collective bargaining Agree-

ment gave the City of Philadelphia no right to control the

expenditures of the Union Health and Welfare Fund and that

said right was exclusively vested with the trustees of the Fund.

15. From July 1, 1975 up to and including the present

time, defendant, City of Philadelphia, and Union have entered

into a series of collective bargaining agreements and/or signed

and executed memorandums of agreement in ratification

thereof.

16. Paragraph 5 of that original 1975-76 Agreement has

remained unchanged and has been carried forward in its exact

language since 1975 up through the present Agreement of

1982-1984, as paragraph 23(B) of the Collective Bargaining

Agreement between Union and the City of Philadelphia.

17. From July 1, 1975 to the present, and including the

period covered by the 1982-1984 Collective Bargaining Agree-

ment involved herein, defendant's contractual obligation to pay

monies over to the Health and Welfare Fund has been defined

in two paragraphs of both the current agreement, and in all

preceding agreements, which paragraphs read, in relevant part,

as follows:

[T]here shall be made available to each employee and

to [categories of] former employee[s] . . . and paid over to

the established organization or agency designated by such

employee or former employee against the cost to him of an

established health-medical plan: . . . Payment shall be

made to the Secretary-Treasurer of District Council 33 of

the American Federation of State, County and Municipal

Employees, AFL-CIO (1968). (23(A))

Each full-time employee in a class or position repre-

sented by District Council 33 shall have health and welfare

benefits as such benefits are presently defined including

major medical family coverage, under the Blue Cross/Blue

Shield Group health medical plan, with the City paying the

5 adtin alate Ah. atl ail és

A-23

full contribution of such benefits, to District Council 33

Health and Welfare Fund. (23(B))

18. The Agreement requires that defendant pay over to the

Health and Welfare Fund such amount of money per union

member per month as it would cost to purchase a plan that

would provide the same full level of health care benefits as

provided by District Council 33 to its members immediately

preceding the effective date of the current Agreement.

19. As of September 1, 1981, Union applied to Blue

Cross/Blue Shield for medical benefits providing union mem-

bers with 365 days of in-patient hospital care, with no co-

payment obligations by union members, full coverage of ancil-

lary, semi-private room benefits, a private room, if medically

necessary, certain out-patient benefits and full coverage for

diagnostic and emergency treatment for medical and accidents.

20. By letter dated October 18, 1982 (P-5) Blue Cross,

acting on its behalf and for Blue Shield, informed Union that for

a package of health-medical benefits providing a lesser level of

medical benefits from Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Greater Phila-

delphia (Plan 100) than the Union had contracted for on behalf of

its members with defendant, City of Philadelphia, the monthly

cost to the Health and Welfare Fund for each union member

would be $122.13.

21. In said letter of October 18, 1982 (P-5), Blue Cross

quoted the Union a major medical plan which was a standard

One Million ($1,000,000.00) Dollar medical program which has

an annual $100.00 deductible per member each year, with Blue

Cross reimbursing 80 percent of the charges and the individual

union member being responsible for the remaining 20 percent of

the medical expense incurred; this plan also contained a

$10,000.00 maximum benefit for mental health benefits.

22. The Blue Shield Plan 100 is the top program offered

through Blue Shield.

23. The City never requested a rate quotation from Blue

Cross/Blue Shield with respect to the amount of money it would

cost to purchase a health care plan which would provide benefits

A-24

“as such benefits are presently defined” and as were being

provided by District Council 33 to its union members.

24. The City has been paying $92.00 per union member

per month for Health and Welfare benefits since July 1, 1981

and up until the present time, despite acknowledgements by

members of the City administration and its counsel that more

money is owed to the Fund under the terms of the 1982-1984

Collective Bargaining Agreement.

25. Even during the period that District Council 33 con-

tracted with Blue Cross and Blue Shield, the union continued to

provide its members with 100 percent medical coverage by

underwriting those medical and hospital costs and expenses not

covered by the Blue Cross/Blue Shield medical insurance plan

in effect between DC 33 and Blue Cross/Blue Shield.

26. District Council 33 relied on the assumption that the

City would fairly and honestly procure an accurate rate quota-

tion from Blue Cross with respect to determining the amount of

contribution it was obliged to make per union member per

month to the Fund, pursuant to its contractual obligation so to

do under the Agreement (P-1).

27. Members of Union have been denied health care and

medical services and beneits because of the Union’s inability to

pay the bills of medical health care providers due to the City's

breach of its Collective Bargaining Agreement (P-2) with Union.

28. There have been numerous lawsuits and other out-

standing claims against individual members of DC 33 due to

unpaid medical and hospital bills for DC 33 members (P-10).

29. Defendant’s breach of its contractual obligation under

the Agreement (P-2) has caused union members and their

families to suffer irreparable harm by being denied necessary

health care services due to the Union’s inability to pay for

required medical services for its members and their depen-

dents.

30. The Court cannot determine, on the basis of the

present limited record, what the proper payment under Para-

graphs 5 and 23(B) should have been either in 1983 or 1954, but

it is clearly not less than the $122.13 quoted to the Union in

oe ve ate

A-25

October, 1982 as the cost for less than 100% of the then existing

benefit package.

31. The Union and Fund have an obligation under Para-

graphs 5 and 23(B) to use the funds received thereunder

exclusively for the health and welfare benefits of persons

covered by the Collective Bargaining Agreement and their

dependents (221).

32. At the preliminary stage, the Court cannot determine

the amount of money the Fund has expended for health and

welfare benefits and other expenses on behalf of City employees

for health and welfare benefits under Paragraphs 5 and 23(B) of

the Collective Bargaining Agreement.

33. Although the Union produced evidence that the total

claims against it, exclusive of JFK Hospital and Blue Cross/Blue

Shield is approximately $11 million, it has not yet produced

evidence as to the amount of valid claims asserted by health and

welfare benefit providers who have rendered covered health and

welfare services to persons as to whom the City of Philadelphia

has an obligation under the Collective Bargaining Agreement.

34. There is, however, substantial evidence that District

Council 33 will be able to establish a clear right to the relief it

seeks.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

35. The Union has demonstrated a substantial probability

that it will succeed on the final merits of this litigation.

36. The Union hs demonstrated that irreparable injury to

it, the Fund, and City employees has occurred and will occur if

preliminary injunctive relief is not granted.

37. The Union has established that it is seeking preserva-

tion of the status quo; to wit, provision of 100% of the cost of

health and welfare benefits.

38. Paragraphs 5 and 23(B) create an obligation of the City

to pay money to the Fund, subject to a condition that the fund

use the money so paid exclusively for health and welfare benefis

for persons on whose behalf the payment has been made.

A-26

39. The Union and Fund have yet to establish that they

have fulfilled his condition.

40. The language of Paragraphs 5 and 23(B) creates mutual

obligations under which this Court should impose a constructive

trust. Buchanan v. Brentwood Federal S & L Assn., 457 Pa. 13,

320 A.2d 117 (1974).

41. On the basis of the record before the Court, the

Union’s request for a preliminary injunction increasing the

amount of the City’s payment to the Fund should be granted.

ORDER

And Now, this 3rd day of May, 1984, upon due and proper

notice to the defendant, and in consideration of plaintiffs’

verified complaint, the motion for preliminary injunction, sup-

porting memorandum of law, the evidence presented at the

preliminary hearings in support thereof — April 6, 13 and 16,

1984, and the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law entered

by the Court on April 27, 1984, it is hereby

ORDERED and DECREED the Defendant City of Phila-

delphia pay to the Plaintiff District Council 33, AFSCME

Health and Welfare Fund, the sum of $122.13 per member per

month as such payments are provided for in the existing

Collective Bargaining Agreement; said payment to become

effective the month of May, 1984 and to continue until said

existing Collective Bargaining Agreement expires.

For the period of January, 1983, until and including April,

1984, the Defendant City of Philadelpia shall pay to the Plaintiff

District Council 33 the difference between the sum of $92.00

per member per month, and $122.13 per member per month, as

such payments are provided for in the existing Collective

Bargaining Agreement, provided that such payment shall be

made:

Subject to a constructive trust for the benefit of

members of District Council 33, which trust shall be

discharged by payments of the claims of the third party

health providers who have rendered service to said District

fey age

A-27

Council 33 members but whose agreed upon charges

therefore are due and unpaid.

Defendant City of Philadelphia shall make such pay-

ments to District Council Health and Welfare Fund for

payment of said providers, upon presentation to defendant

of statements by the plaintiff certified to by an accountant

agreed upon by the parties.

The accumulated arrearages from January, 1983 to April,

1984 shall be paid by the defendant by June 30, 1984.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — City of Philadelphia v. District Council 33, American Federation of State, County & Municipal Employees · 485 U.S. 982 | Frix