Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Rogers v. Liquid Air Corp.

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

7

Dupreme Govt Ua

87-12 62 : FILED

! JAN 28 1988

IN THE ‘ er. IR.

Supreme Court of the United cS

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

JACK R. RoGERS, GEORGE MICHLIK and

D & R WELDING SupPLY COMPANY, an

Illinois Corporation, and RAYMOND E.

BRIDGES and BRIDGES WELDING SUPPLY &

THERAPY, INC.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

LIQUID AIR CORPORATION,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

FRANK H. BYERS II*

JOHN L. GREENLEAF, JR.

BYERS, BYERS & GREENLEAF, LTD.

SUITE 100, 333 E. PERSHING ROAD

DECATUR, ILLINOIS 62526

TELEPHONE: (217) 877-5353

Attorneys for Petitioners,

Jack R. Rogers, George Michlik and

D & R Welding Supply Company

WILLIAM A. McNuTT*

LOWE, MOORE, SUSLER, MCNuTT & WRIGLEY

250 N. WATER ST., P. O. BOX 1527

DECATUR, ILLINOIS 62525

TELEPHONE: (217) 429-5323

Attorney for Petitioners,

Raymond E. Bridges and Bridges

Welding Supply & Therapy, Inc.

“COUNSEL OF RECORD

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

bo

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the “‘pattern of racketeering activity’’ re-

quirement of the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt

Organization Act, 18 U.S.C. §§1961, et seq., (here-

inafter called ‘‘RICO’’), is met where the alleged

predicate acts consisted of 16 allegedly false ship-

ping orders over a few months in a single-pur-

posed, close-ended scheme to defraud one victim?

. Whether defendants in a civil RICO action should

be afforded rights of criminal defendants, including

the criminal standard of proof for the alleged pred-

icate acts?

. Whether vicarious liability may be imposed under

Civil RICO to a corporation who did not exist until

after completion of all the allegedly false shipping

orders, except the final one?

Whether the verdict, as trebled, violates the Eighth

Amendment to the Constitution of the United

States of America?

. Whether the trial court used the appropriate meas-

ure of damages?

PARTIES

Jack R. Rogers, George Michlik and Raymond E.

Bridges are individual citizens of the United States

of America. D & R Welding Supply Company and

Bridges Welding Supply & Therapy, Inc. are Illinois

corporations, are not publicly owned, are not the sub-

sidiary of any other corporation, partnership or en-

terprise, and are not the parent corporations to any

subsidiaries. Jack R. Rogers is hereinafter referred

to as ‘Rogers’. George Michlik is hereinafter re-

ferred to as ‘‘Michlik”. Raymond E. Bridges is here-

inafter referred to as “Bridges”: D & R Welding

Supply Company is hereinafter referred to as “D &

R’’. Bridges Welding Supply & Therapy, Inc. is here-

inafter referred to as ‘Bridges Welding”’.

Liquid Air Corporation, is a Delaware corporation,

of which a corporation named L’Aire Liquide owns

10% or more of its stock. Petitioners are uninformed

of any other related interests of the respondent, if

any, that may be required to be disclosed pursuant

to Supreme Court Rule 28.1. Respondent is herein-

after referred to as “Liquid Air’.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTE

DP, rT

Meee sebechacsadecscoctecse

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

vr Tr T Tarr > Ira Phe, }

STATEMENT UNDER RULE 28.4(b) ...........................

es cvavnanccusnccacceaneeccesseecec.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION .................

DI oi cioce ccs ssisescseusessascacaccsnaccoccesoceceeess.

ccna cacccadeicaecesencereeeesesceccsc.

eC) rrr

an. sassacaveconsceserceseic....

aos. «cis casacaavcscceserseenecseeece..c...

CONCLUSION

APPENDIX

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals,

dated November 18, 1987 ........ccccccceccccecssceceee.

Judgment of the United States Court of Appeals,

dated November 13, 1987 .o....c.cccccccccccecccceeeee.

Order of the United States Court of Appeals, dated

December 10, 1987 ............cccccccsccesccsesecscscseeee,

Order of the United States Court of Appeals, dated

December 10, 1987 ................cccccccccccccccscesceeees,

Page

A)

119

11-29

»») 24

) o7

ks ai

»”7 »Q

‘ «

OQ

7

lia

DA.

24a

Second Amended Judgment of the United States

District Court, dated November 17, 1986 ......

Second Amended Judgment Order of the United

States District Court, dated November 14,

PO cckicsnshoulsdnsin teiseinnniatocaonuaasendeniacereneenties

Order of the United States District Court, dated

Cratotnnie 1A TOD siccsniisscsintscdisertocnttinsanasivcincsesen

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law of the

United States District Court, contained in ex-

cerpts from trial transcripts dated October 14,

1986, and November 14, 1986 ...........::cceseeeenes

Judgment of United States District Court, dated

December 16, 1GBG nnccceiesccscnreccsscssccosccsnasesceosess

Order of United States District Court, dated De-

mene 16, IGG cccccsccccccsessacsecconscnssasssccesconcssere

Fifth Amendment to the Constitution of the United

en os saemnndensinatennenin

Sixth Amendment to the Constitution of the United

ii OE no casesenadanmecnnnianns

Eighth Amendment to the Constitution of the

United States of America ....................ceseesesees

Section 1 of RICO, 18 U.S.C. §1961 ............eeeeeee

Section 2 of RICO, 18 U.S.C. $1962 ....022.200:001-..--.

Section 8 of RICO, 1S U.S.C. GIDC neccccnncsnscsovicsss

Gection 4 of RICO, 18 U.S.C. GISGE .....<csccccecsecs...

Index to the Trial Transcript ..............ccccsssseeeseeeeees

30a

32a

34a

35a

39a

4la

43a

43a

43a

dda

46a

48a

49a

dla

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

A. CASE AUTHORITIES Page

Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418 (1979) ............ 19,22

Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813,

ee a ee Ne ID Sic seca cocaeneesca tke cas 25

Banker’s Life & Casualty Co. v. Crenshaw, 483

So.2d 254 (Miss. 1986), petition for cert.

OE, is SE UE Leccclsiedisintsanadoandinideens 27

Bank of America v. Touche Ross & Co., 782 F.2d

re ES Oee Mes BI sitcoaicencaciciactateneckacoasedsanes 12

Boyd v. Umited States, 116 U.S. 616, 29 L.Ed. 746,

Be Birk Ne CI sestsat bao codencndpaunciocndnasonercase 16,17

Electrical Workers v. Faust, 442 U.S. 42

ROVE scresnteccconatsakastousdcmtiosserteusineniand sale cocanea: 25

Haroco v. American National Bank & Trust Co. of

Chicago, 747 F.2d 384 (7th Cir. 1984) aff'd. 473

ps OE CIID” Spointceretccsentniscscscraamiacs oo 23

Herman and McClean v. Huddleston, 459 U.S. 375

IEEE ascacdecusansdedscniessaseaitatat gees te ca tie ee roe 7

Ingraham v. Wright, 480 U.S. 651 (1977) ............. 26

In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970) ................0000-. 18,22

Lees v. United States, 150 U.S. 476 (1883) ........... 21

Lipin Enterprises, Inc. v. Lee, 803 F.2d 322 (7th

URE BONED adakconiurcacnsdsnlocsccuuusciie seca meene 15

Marks v. Pannell Kerr Forster, 811 F.2d 1108 (7th

CA, BIE vctincéchinakicn ciccdlanictetae ee ee 15

Morgan v. Bank of Waukegan, 804 F.2d 970 (7th

CAE. SEINE cuaccchtendackacudtadsansCuniaed sane leans 12,13,15

One 1958 Plymouth Sedan v. Pennsylvania, 380 U.S.

Ge CR cirikcica sia aaa 16,17

Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co., Inc., 473 U.S. 479

D> Re ROR NT ot: 8,9,12,13,14,15,18,21,28 29

Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30 (19838) ..............cce eee, 25

Stontosky v. Kramer, 455 U.S. 745 (1982) ............ 21

Superior Oil Company v. Fulmer, 785 F.2d 252 (8th

Coat. DINED sscooncitess sdsnsataiccenpnaranaitauanebesGeciciaea 12,14

vi

Table of Authorities Continued

Page

Tellis v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty Com-

pany, 805 F.2d 741 (7th Cir. 1986) vacated,

Gt Basa Gee CIOS) kcctotinanadaaen 20

B. STATUTES

SD Cats WROD incteicideastdccntcbactadeieanalnnel 6,17

BD Cs. Ee civeendtcctbsccndnseencinaansnnadien 6,17

SD Ue: ROO cnewrtiniibieadinsbeaase 3,11,20

56 Cas. Ge cntssiccencicediueiens 3,6,8,23,24

BD Ci. Ue ctcunecctemaacsdivnceubindechaaainnee 3

5B E.Akan Gee cecueeminbedaatemaaitoes 3,27

Be De UD ccccccencinccalsscebcaesuninabanenbbies 2

BS CG. BS De sacccctnsicscncasdoslsacncsaxtonacine 3

C. UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

Uae” CR NES “© cercccecastcceschsanecienpinseciions 2,25

Us MRR CIE WU ccccsucecsacebuntstdicesntancade 3,25

ae: CORTE: ORIN” VEE - cascscentaatsvenconsinuhainanens 3,25

D. OTHER AUTHORITIES

Insurance Litigation Reporter, October, 1985

> FRING, | TOE snccscecsmntiecisatigndaan 26

Towers, Burden of Proof in RICO Actions;

Does Sedima Provide Guidance? The Nationa!

Law Journal, December 2, 1985, at page

26

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

’ . . * sar , ae

( ) ; ; rep y i

‘2? STFS:

ri . : =

linois Corporation. and RAYMOND E

i i L ravion, anda LA YMOND .

BRIDGE aad BDarmrs WeELpING Supply &

SRIDGES and BRIDGES ELDING SUPPLY &

T Ty

Tyr" Dp ‘

l \ LN

) . ~

Pet 4 OTLETS.

A Th T \

Liq AIR CORPORA

Pp

ni SpoTndce?

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

The petitioners, Jack R. Rogers, George Michiik

and D & R Welding Supply Company, Inc., an Illinois

Corporation, and Raymond E. Bridges and Bridges

Welding Supply & Therapy, Inc., respectfully pray

that a Writ of Certiorari issue to review the judgment

and opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit entered in the above-captioned

proceeding on November 13, 1987, as amended by

—

the Orders of December 10. 1987.

bo

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit is reported at 834 F.2d 1297

(7th Cir. 1987) and is reprinted in the Appendix hereto

commencing at page la.

The Orders of the United States District Court for

the Central District of Illinois, Peoria Division, are

unreported. They are reprinted in the Appendix hereto

commencing at page 30a.

Reference to the Opinions and Orders below shall

be to the appropriate page of the Appendix and des-

ignated as “app. __’’. Reference to the record shall

be to the appropriate page of the volumes identified

in the chart in the Appendix hereto commencing at

page 5la.

JURISDICTION

The Judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, which the petitioners

request this Court to review, was entered on Novem-

ber 13, 1987, and amended by Order dated December

10, 1987. A Petition for Rehearing with suggestion

for rehearing en banc was denied on December 10,

1987. This Petition for Writ of Certiorari is filed

within 90 days of the entry of that Order. The ju-

risdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to 28

U.S.C. §1254(1).

CONSTITUTION

The Fifth Amendment to the Constitution of the

United States of America, U.S. Const., amend. V, is

set forth in the Appendix hereto at page 43a.

The Sixth Amendment to the Constitution of the

United States of America, U.S. Const., amend. VI, is

set forth in the Appendix hereto at page 43a.

The Eighth Amendment to the Constitution of the

United States of America, U.S. Const., amend. VIII,

is set forth in the Appendix hereto at page 43a.

STATUTES

Section 1 of RICO, 18 U.S.C. §1961, is set forth

in the Appendix hereto at page 44a.

Section 2 of RICO, 18 U.S.C. §1962, is set forth

in the Appendix hereto at page 46a.

Section 3 of RICO, 18 U.S.C. §1963, is set forth

in the Appendix hereto at page 48a.

Section 4 of RICO, 18 U.S.C. §1964, is set forth

in the Appendix hereto at page 49a.

STATEMENT UNDER RULE 28.4(b)

Since this proceeding draws into question the con-

stitutionality of the treble damage provision of

$1964(c) of the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Or-

ganization Act, 18 U.S.C. §1964(c), an act of Congress

affecting the public interest, and neither the United

States nor any agency, officer or employee thereof is

a party, it is noted that 28 U.S.C. §2403(a) may be

applicable. The courts below have not certified to the

Attorney General the fact that the constitutionality

of such act of Congress was drawn into question.

STATEMENT

1. At trial the following facts were introduced into

evidence:

D & R is an illinois corporation of which two of

its shareholders are Jack R. Rogers and George Mich-

lik. D & R distributes welding supplies and com-

pressed gases in Central Illinois and is involved in

interstate commerce. (app. 2a). Some compressed

gases distributed by D & R are bottled in steel cyl-

inders. D & R both purchased and leased these cy]l-

inders. (app. 2a, Transcript V.5 pp.4, 5,18,14,19-29).

Initially, D & R was a distributor for Liquid Air.

As part of the distributor arrangement, D & R leased

steel cylinders from Liquid Air. After notification of

price increases. D & R terminated its distributorship

with Liquid Air effective September, 1981. Under the

cylinder lease agreement with Liquid Air, D & R was

obligated to return leased gas cylinders to Liquid Air,

pay rent on the outstanding cylinders, or pay the then

current cost of replacement, allowing for ordinary

wear and tear, for any cylinders not returned or ac-

ounted for. (app. 2a, Plaintiff’s Exhibit No. 25-1).

In March, 1982, Liquid Air requested D & R to

start turning in its compressed gas cylinders. D & R

had approximately 5,196 cylinders on lease from Liq-

uid Air at that time. By November 1, 1982, D& R

had returned 2,199 cylinders. From November 1,

1982, until May 25, 1983, 19 Liquid Air shipping or-

ders were prepared which reflected all but 12 of the

remaining cylinders being returned by D & R. Of the

said 19 shipping orders, 15 were executed on behalf

of D & R by Rogers, Michlik or Mr. Oliver Penny-

packer. Additionally, one shipping order was not

signed by a representative of D & R. Liquid Air al-

leged that these 16 shipping orders which reflect a

total return of 2,681 cylinders were false. Two of the

three remaining shipping orders were executed for D

& R by its regular drivers, Mr. Gene Wilder and Mr.

Robert Bauer. Liquid Air did not contest the validity

of those shipping orders. The final shipping order was

a paper transfer on the records of Liquid Air of 40

cylinders from the account of D & R to the account

of A.W. Moore Welding Supply Co., the validity of

which was not contested. (Transcript V.5, p.83; V.14,

p.116; Plaintiff’s Exhibit No. 1; V.19, p.8; V.18, p.40;

V.14, pp. 128-129)

Liquid Air claimed that Ray Bridges, an employee

of Liquid Air responsible for handling all of the pa-

perwork at Liquid Air’s Peoria distribution center,

falsified the said 16 shipping orders so that it would

appear that D & R had returned all outstanding cy]-

inders when, in fact, the returns were not made. Each

shipping order involved a transaction using the mails

twice and one wire transfer. Liquid Air further

claimed that in return for Bridges’ efforts, Rogers

and Michlik arranged to set Bridges up in his own

welding business in Peoria, Illinois. Liquid Air claimed

that Rogers and Michlik supplied Bridges Welding

with personnel, capital and welding products. (app.

2a, 3a).

In August, 1983, a Liquid Air employee compared

Liquid Air’s inventory of cylinders on paper to the

physical inventory taken in Peoria for July, 1983. The

comparison revealed a discrepancy of 3,307 cylinders

between those that Liquid Air counted and those that

its internal documents registered. (app. 3a).

2. Procedural History in the Trial Court.

On April 4, 1984, Liquid Air filed a Complaint

against Rogers, Michlik, D & R, Bridges and Bridges

Welding. The ensuing jury trial lasted approximately

two and one-half weeks on the nine-count Amended

Complaint. The jury found against all defendants on

the RICO counts, Counts I, II, III and IV (18 U.S.C.

§1962(a),(b),(c) and (d) respectively), and assessed com-

pensatory damages in the amount of $750,000.00. The

predicate acts alleged in the RICO counts were mail

fraud, 18 U.S.C. §1341, and wire fraud, 18 U.S.C.

§1348. In Count V, a common law conversion count,

the jury found against all defendants and assessed

$350,000.00 in actual damages and punitive damages

in the following amounts: $25,000.00 against D & R;

$15,000.00 against Bridges Welding; $10,000.00

against Rogers; $10,000.00 against Michlik; and

$5,000.00 against Bridges. On Count VI, a claim for

breach of fiduciary duty by Bridges, the jury found

against Bridges and assessed $4,000.00 in actual dam-

ages and $1,000.00 punitive damages against him. In

Count VII for inducement to breach a fiduciary re-

lationship, the jury found against Rogers, Michlik and

D & R, and assessed actual damages in the amount

of $750,000.00 and punitive damages in the amount

of $10,000.00 against D & R, Rogers and Michlik.

The jury found in favor of Bridges on Counts VIII

and IX. (app. 3a, 4a).

Pursuant to the Order of the U.S. Magistrate, the

defendants had held certain Liquid Air cylinders in

its possession until after the trial at which time the

defendants returned 530 cylinders to Liquid Air pur-

suant to the order of district court. The district court

ordered that the replacement value of the 530 cyl-

inders be subtracted from the total trebled damage

award. (Trial Court Docket No. 82; Transcript V.20,

p.34; V.21, p.13).

The Petitioners have timely raised the issues pre-

sented to this Court and each of the courts below.

3. Proceedings in the Court of Appeals:

The court of appeals affirmed the judgment focus-

ing much of its opinion on the issues raised in this

petition.

First considered by the court was whether civil

RICO proceedings are quasi-criminal in nature. The

court of appeals determined that civil RICO proceed-

ings are not quasi-criminal reasoning that a civil RICO

defendant does not face imprisonment nor does the

defendant face the collateral consequences associated

with conviction of a criminal offense. (app. 7a). Al-

though the court of appeals acknowledged that a civil

RICO defendant does face the opprobrium of being

labeled a racketeer, it determined that such a label

was not sufficiently stigmatizing to warrant criminal

protections. Therefore, the court rejected the criminal

standard of proof and other rights asserted by the

defendants. (app. 7a).

Alternatively, proof by a preponderance of the evi-

dence was considered by the court to be sufficient

for a finding of liability under civil RICO. (app. 8a).

In so holding, the court stated that this Court’s opin-

ion in Herman and McClean v. Huddleston, 459 U.S.

375 (1983) foreclosed the use of the standard of proof

of clear and convincing evidence. The court could dis-

cern no reasonable basis for distinguishing a federal

securities claim based on fraud from a civil RICO

claim based on fraud. Therefore, the court did not

apply the clear and convincing standard. (app. 7a, 8a).

Next addressed by the court of appeals was the

question of proof sufficient to satisfy the requirement

of a pattern of racketeering activity. The court of

appeals noted the conflict among the various circuits

concerning whether the predicate acts must be a part

of two separate schemes before a pattern could be

shown or whether they can be part of a single scheme.

(app. 10a). The court of appeals found that there was

a single scheme which lasted seven months and de-

frauded a single victim by the preparation of 19 ship-

ping orders, each resulting in the use of the mails

and the use of the wire service. The court held that

a repeated infliction of economic injury upon a single

victim in a single scheme is sufficient to establish a

pattern of racketeering activity for the purposes of

civil RICO. (app.10a, 11a).

Furthermore, the court held that the jury instruc-

tion concerning the phrase ‘‘pattern of racketeering

activity” did not need to advise the jury of the con-

tinuity prong of this Court’s test of “‘pattern of rack-

eteering activity’ as announced in Sedima, S.P.R.L.

v. Imrex Co., Inc., 473 U.S. 479 (1985). The jury in-

struction that the court approved on “pattern of rack-

eteering activity’”’ omits categorically any reference to

continuous, continuing, or threat of continuing activity.

The court of appeals determined that continuity refers

solely to the duration of the predicate acts. (app. 19a).

The application of the doctrine of respondeat su-

perior was also considered by the court. Under

§1962(a) and (b) of RICO, Bridges Welding was found

liable applying what the court called “vicarious lia-

bility’’. The court stated that the shipping orders were

completed by Bridges, acting as president of Bridges

Welding, despite the fact that the falsification of ship-

ping orders allegedly done by Bridges were all ac-

complished prior to Bridges Welding doing any

business and, except for one shipping order, before

Bridges Welding was ever incorporated. (app.14a,

16a).

Finally, the court determined that under civil RICO

the measure of damages is the harm occasioned as a

result of the predicate acts and held that the contract

between D & R and Liquid Air determined the dam-

ages for all the defendants. (app.2la). The court re-

jected the measure of damages as the fair-market-

value of the cylinders not returned. (app. 22a). The

court of appeals further rejected the challenge to the

trebled damage provision of RICO as violative of the

Eighth Amendment proscription against excessive

fines. The court stated that although there is some

sense in which RICO trebled damages are punitive,

they are largely compensatory. (app. 23a).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This case brings to issue the conflict among the

circuit courts of appeal concerning the requirement

of a “pattern of racketeering activity’ following this

Court’s decision in Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co.,

Inc., 473 U.S. 479 (1985). A single, close-ended scheme

of short duration with a single purpose to defraud

one victim is not a “‘pattern of racketeering activity’’

which should invoke the heavy civil penalties of RICO.

Contrary to the Eighth Circuit, in the instant deci-

sion, the Seventh Circuit has joined the Eleventh Cir-

cult and abandoned the ‘“‘continuity’’ requirement

necessary to establish a “‘pattern of racketeering ac-

tivity’’ as articulated in Sedima, supra.

The potential operation and effect of RICO upon

defendants in a civil action to enforce RICO warrant

the protections provided by federal criminal law. In-

10

deed, the financial loss to the defendants in civil RICO

is greater than the financial punishment which could

be inflicted upon conviction of the underlying predi-

cate acts. This, together with the social stigma of

being labeled a ‘“‘racketeer’’, and the penal nature of

the civil RICO as envisioned by Congress, mandates

the enhanced protections not usually accorded civil

defendants.

Bridges Welding, a corporation peripheral to the

alleged scheme, should not be held vicariously liable

for the actions of a minority shareholder and officer,

which were committed prior to its incorporation.

Moreover, under RICO, there could not be a “‘pattern

of racketeering activity’ during the time period when

the agency-principal relationship existed. Contrary to

the holding of the Seventh Circuit, a corporation, to

be found liable under the statute, must more than

just ‘‘benefit’’ from the RICO violation.

The verdict, as trebled, violates the prohibition

against the imposition of excessive fines under the

Eighth Amendment to the Constitution of the United

States of America.

Finally, the wrong measure of damages was used

by the courts below. An error in the underlying judg-

ment is magnified by the trebling of damages in RICO.

It is not sufficient to look solely to the perceived loss

to the plaintiff, but the court must also look at the

nature of the defendants actions and the context in

which the claimed losses have arisen. Here the gra-

vamen of the action is the common law tort of con-

version, and, thus, the appropriate measure of

damages is the fair-market value of the property con-

verted. :

1]

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

This case raises several important issues with re-

spect to the civil enforcement .of RICO, 18 U.S.C.

§1961, et seq. Specifically, it concerns the rights a

defendant should have under RICO, the required

proofs the plaintiff must present, and the kind of

damages recoverable. These issues effect plaintiffs and

defendents in civil RICO actions throughout the coun-

try and are arising with increasing frequency. In deal-

ing with these issues the circuit courts of appeal have

rendered several recent inconsistent decisions. None

of the issues raised in this Petition have yet been

decided by this Court.

In this case, Liquid Air has been able to parlay a

claimed conversion, by otherwise legitimate business-

man, of property ‘with a fair-market value of $293,000

into a judgment in excess of $2.8 million. Under the

provisions of RICO, the plaintiff transformed this

case, which ordinarily would have been presented as

a breach of contract or, at most, a common law fraud

action under State law, into a federal court action

with catastrophic results. Affirmance of the judgment

in this case will rob the defendants of the labor of

their lifetime and leave them virtually pennyless. Left

unchecked, plaintiffs, who may have absolutely no in-

terest in pursuing the organized criminals which RICO

was designed to combat, are flocking to the federal

courts for the windfall profits available under RICO

for what would otherwise be ordinary contract dis-

putes and common law fraud claims.

12

I. A CLOSE-ENDED SINGLE SCHEME TO DEFRAUD

ONE VICTIM THROUGH 16 ALLEGEDLY FALSE

INVOICES OVER THE COURSE OF A FEW

MONTHS DOES NOT SATISFY RICO’S REQUIRE-

MENT OF A “PATTERN OF RACKETEERING AC-

TIVITY”

Sharply, this case focuses the conflicting positions

taken by different circuit courts of appeal as to the

“pattern of racketeering activity’’ requirements of

RICO. In Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co., Inc., 473

U.S. 479 (1985), this Court noted that a “pattern of

racketeering activity’’ required more than just two

acts committed within a ten year period. Those acts

must have ‘“‘continuity plus relationship which com-

bines to produce a pattern.” (Sedima at 473 U.S. page

496 N.14; app. 10a). Application of that definition,

however, has produced different results.

The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals requires that

the predicate acts compromise more than one scheme

before a pattern of racketeering activity may be

found. See Superior O1l Company v. Fulmer, 785 F.2d

252 (8th Cir. 1986). (app. 10a). On the other hand,

the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals requires only

two or more predicate acts to be committed in a

single scheme in order to establish a pattern of rack-

eteering activity. See Bank of America v. Touche Ross

& Co., 782 F.2d 966 (11th Cir. 1986). (app. 10a).

Different still was Morgan v. Bank of Waukegan, 804

F.2d 970 (7th Cir. 1986), where the Seventh Circuit

opted for a middle course between what it termed as

the two extremes. In order to be sufficiently contin-

uous to constitute a pattern of racketeering activity,

it said, ‘‘the predicate acts must be ongoing over an

identified period of time so that they can be fairly

13

viewed as constituting separate transactions, Le.,

“transactions ‘somewhat separated in time and

place.’’”’’’ (Morgan, 804 F.2d at page 975). Morgan

identifies relevant factors, with no one factor nec-

essarily determinative, to be considered in determin-

ing whether a pattern exists.

In this case, the Seventh Circuit has held that if

the alleged fraud can be perceived as a repeated infl-

iction of economic injury, even if done to just one

victim and in the course of one scheme, that is suf-

ficient to establish a ‘“‘pattern of racketeering activ-

ity’ for civil RICO purposes. Under the Seventh

Circuit’s analysis here, the finding of distinct injuries

determines the pattern requirement. If there are dis-

tinct injuries, this opinion mandates the finding of a

pattern of racketeering activity. This opinion effec-

tively forecloses inquiry into the other factors listed

in the Seventh Circuit’s own decision in Morgan. In

this case, the Seventh Circuit has now adopted the

position of the Eleventh Circuit that a plaintiff needs

only to show that two or more predicate acts are

committed in the performance of a single scheme.

This expansive view of RICO conflicts with this

Court’s admonishment in Sedima that two of anything

does not make a pattern.

The abandonment of the rational of Morgan by the

Seventh Circuit is underscored by their approval of

the erroneous jury instruction used in this case to

define ‘‘pattern of racketeering activity.’’ The Sev-

enth Circuit approved a jury instruction on “pattern

of racketeering activity’ that omits categorically any

reference to continuous, continuing or threat of con-

tinuing activity. In so doing, this Seventh Circuit’s

opinion highlights the abandonment of the first part

14

of the two-part test established by this Court in Se-

dimé. Emphasis by the Seventh Circuit is now on the

relationship between the predicate acts and no longer

is there a separate continuity requirement as estab-

lished in Sedima. No more clearly could the issue of

what constitutes a pattern of racketeering activity

and the conflicting positions of the various circuit

courts of appeal be presented to this Court than is

presented in this case.

Whether there is one injury or more than one injury

in a single scheme to defraud a single victim is really

a matter of perception. In this case the alleged scheme

was to show, by false paperwork, all leased cylinders

returned by D & R when, in fact, they had not been

returned. By its terms, the scheme required several

false papers to be prepared. At the same time, how-

ever, it was a close-ended scheme. It had a single

purpose, and it was necessarily terminated when all

leased cylinders were shown to be returned. Thus,

whether there was one injury or more than one injury

depends upon one’s view of the transaction. Since D

& R had all the cylinders at the beginning of the

alleged scheme and then had al] the same cylinders

at the end of the alleged scheme, one could just as

certainly state that there was but one injury to Liquid

Air by the failure to return the leased cylinders. On

the other hand, one could break the scheme down

into separate actions and declare each paper trans-

action to be a separate and distinct injury. Such was

done by the Seventh Circuit in its opinion.

This dissection of a single close-ended scheme to

defraud one victim in order to find a pattern of rack-

eteering activity dramatically conflicts with the Eighth

Circuit’s decision in Superior Oil Co. v. Fulmer, su-

15

pra, and even with the Seventh Circuit’s prior deci-

sion in Morgan. The Seventh Circuit, like the Eleventh

Circuit, is no longer concentrating civil RICO on the

offenders who pose a threat of continuing activity or

those who regularly commit such crimes as it once

had. See, Lipin Enterprises, Inc. v. Lee, 803 F.2d

322 (7th Cir. 1986) at page 324 and Marks v. Pannell

Kerr Forster, 811 F.2d 1108 (7th Cir. 1987) at page

1111.

Earlier, the Seventh Circuit had established the def-

inition of “‘continuity”’ in Morgan based upon Sedima.

The Seventh Circuit stated that continuity ‘would

embrace predicate acts occuring at different points in

time or involving different victims’. Morgan, 804 F.2d

at page 975.

Now, the Seventh Circuit has abandoned that def-

inition. The Seventh Circuit stated in the instant opin-

ion that “continuity refers instead to the duration of

the predicate acts.’’ (app.19a). Thus, continuity now

refers to the period of time, or duration, over which

the predicate acts occurred in the same scheme rather

than to the existence of other schemes, other victims

or predicate acts which occurred at different points

in time. The search for continuity is now an internal

quest rather than an external one. The Seventh Cir-

cuit abandoned the ‘“‘continuity’’ requirement estab-

lished by this Court in Sedima.

Il. DEFENDANTS IN A CIVIL RICO ACTION

SHOULD BE AFFORDED RIGHTS OF CRIMINAL

DEFENDANTS INCLUDING THE CRIMINAL

STANDARD OF PROOF FOR THE ALLEGED

PREDICATE ACTS.

This case uniquely raises the issue of whether, and

to what extent, constitutional criminags#aw protections

16

should apply to the civil enforcement of RICO,

wherein the gravamen of the Complaint alleges crim-

inal conduct, provides for punishment damages and

irreparably stigmatizes the defendants who are found

liable. The rights afforded criminal defendants, i.e.

for a twelve-member jury, the privilege against self-

incrimination, the standard of proof for conviction of

beyond a reasonable doubt, and the presumption of

innocence all apply to the predicate acts alleged in

this case when criminally prosecuted. They should also

apply in the private enforcement of RICO.-

Whether an action is quasi-criminal or civil must

be decided by the court based upon the statute and

its potential operation and effect upon the defendants

charged under it. Boyd v. United States, 116 US.

616, 29 L.Ed. 746, 6 S.Ct. 524 (1885).

This Court stated in Boyd, supra, at 29 L.Ed. page

752:

As, therefore, suits for penalties and forfeitures.

incurred by the commission of offenses against

the law, are of this quasi criminal nature, we

think that they are within the reason of criminal

proceedings for all the purposes of the Fourth

Amendment of the Constitution. ...

To determine whether an action is quasi-criminal,

this Court in One 1958 Plymouth Sedan v. Pennsyl-

vania, 380 U.S. 693 (1965), compared the defendant’s

potential punishment for a criminal conviction of the

predicate act with the potential financial loss which

the defendant could incur under a statute which based

liability upon the predicate act. After noting that the

civil punishment was potentially greater than the

criminal punishment, this court in One 1958 Plymouth

Sedan, supra, held that the ‘‘civil’’ action was quasi-

criminal.

In this case the plaintiff alleged that the defendants

committed mail fraud (18 U.S.C. §1341) and wire fraud

(18 U.S.C. §1343). Each individual defendant may be

punished upon conviction of wire fraud or mail fraud

to pay a fine of up to $1,000.00 and/or sentenced for

up to 5 years of incarceration. The corporate

defendants may incur a fine of up to $1,000.00 upon

conviction of mail fraud or wire fraud.

The fair-market value of the cylinders converted is

$292,643.40 (the judgment in Count V, less the pre-

judgment interest added by the triai court). Never-

theless, each judgment entered on the RICO Counts

is $2,168,062 plus attorney’s fees, for a total of

$2,546,232.58. Certainly, imposing a liability of

$2,253,589.18 upon the defendants in excess of the

value of the property taken (or in other words, almost

9 tines the fair-market value of the property taken)

can only be considered an additional penalty for com-

mission of the underlying predicate acts. Compara-

tively, the corporate defendants could only be fined

$1,000.00 for mail and wire fraud, yet, under RICO

they have an additional punishment of $2,253,589.18.

The individual defendants could be imprisoned un-

der the wire fraud and mail fraud statutes up to five

years in addition to the fines imposed. Individual lib-

erty has an incalculable value. However, a penalty of

$2,253,589.18 defies the grasp of most ordinary cit-

izens. Under Boyd and One 1958 Plymouth Sedan,

RICO is a quasi-criminal act in its potential operation

and effect upon the defendants.

18

In Sedima, this Court discussed the quasi-criminal

nature of RICO, but was not directly faced with the

issue, at 473 U.S. pages 492 and 493:

Finally, to the extent an action under §1964(c)

might be considered quasi-criminal, requiring pro-

tections normally applicable only to criminal pro-

ceedings, cf. One 1958 Plymouth Sedan v.

Pennsylvania, 380 U.S. 698, 14 L.Ed.2d 170, 85

S.Ct. 1246 (1965), the solution is to provide those

protections, not to ensure that they were previ-

ously afforded by requiring prior convictions.

(Footnote omitted).

Civil enforcement of RICO internally requires a

quasi-criminal nature. This Court in Sedima stated at

473 U.S. at page 488:

[T]he predicate acts involve conduct that is

‘chargeable’ or ‘indictable’, and ‘offense[{s]’ that

are ‘punishable,’ under various criminal statutes.

§1961(1). As defined in the statute, racketeering

activity consists not of acts for which the

defendant has been convicted, but of acts for

which he could be.

If liability is predicated upon acts for which the

defendants could be criminally convicted, how can it

be determined whether these acts could result in a

conviction unless the trier of fact makes those find-

ings based upon the same criteria as in a criminal

proceeding?

There is a recognizable social stigma which attaches

in criminal proceedings which plays a prime impor-

tance to the defendants. In In re Winship, 397 U.S.

358 (1970), this Court stated at 397 U.S. pages 363

and 364:

The accused during a criminal prosecution has at

stake interests of immense importance, both be-

cause of the possibility that he may lose his lib-

erty upon conviction and because of the certainty

that he would be stigmatized by the conviction.

Accordingly, a society that values the good name

and freedom of every individual should not con-

demn a man for commission of a crime when

there is reasonable doubt about his guilt.

The stigma society places on a defendant in certain

‘civil’ actions is an important consideration in ana-

lyzing the nature of the proceeding as this Court

stated in Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418 (1979), at

441 U.S. pages 425 and 426:

Moreover, it is indisputable that involuntary com-

mitment to a mental hospital after a finding of

probable dangerousness to self or others can en-

gender adverse social consequences to the indi-

vidual. Whether we label this phenomena ‘stigma’

or choose to call it something else is less impor-

tant than that we recognize that it can occur and

that it can have a very significant impact on the

individual.

A defendant in a RICO case risks the social stigma

of being labeled a ‘‘racketeer’’, a pejorative term

which connotes organized crime. Our society has more

than a minimal interest in the outcome of private civil

RICO suits. The size of the potential penalty is stag-

gering and far exceeds the criminal fines which could

be imposed. The social stigma of being labeled a

‘‘racketeer’’ effects every-day life. Potential penalties

have -a devastating economic effect on business

defendants. In this case the plaintiff and two of the

20

defendants are competitors. Unbridled RICO claims

may reduce competition by driving competitors from

the market place. Indeed, RICO was designed to pre-

vent the infiltration of legitimate businesses by or-

ganized crime. Instead, RICO is turning ordinary

contract disputes (as is this case) into quasi-criminal

proceedings. Society’s interests should be considered

in applying RICO. The plaintiff already has the ability

to obtain compensation for damages it suffers under

traditional tort and contract claims. RICO does not

provide recovery for a victim that otherwise would

go uncompensated. RICO only adds a penalty against

the defendant to the compensation the victim re-

ceilves.

In order to impose civil liability under RICO a vic-

tim must show that the defendant committed two

predicate acts within a ten-year period. If RICO was

designed to compensate victims, why did Congress

not provide for compensation of the first victim? Why

must the first victim wait up to ten years to see if

the defendant commits another predicate act? The an-

swer is obvious. Congress did not intend RICO to be

a compensation act for victims. Congress intended to

punish the repeat offender, the habitual criminal. The

civil RICO action is truly an enhanced penalty for the

commission of certain offenses enumerated in 18

U.S.C. §1961. Congress sought to punish the repeat

offenders of those offenses and deter further com-

mission of those offenses. In Tellis v. United States

Fidelity & Guaranty Company, 805 F.2d 741 (7th Cir

1986) vacated, 107 S.Ct. 3255 (1987), the Seventh

Circuit stated at page 746:

This Court has previously held that a treble dam-

age antitrust suit is most appropriately charac-

21

terized as an action for a penalty. ... (citations

omitted.) Because a civil RICO claim is best char-

acterized as an action for treble damages, and

such an action is penal in nature, Electronic Re-

lays, 610 F.Supp. at 652, ...

Professor Towers of the Marquette University Law

School wrote in Burden of Proof in RICO Actions:

Does ‘Sedima’ Provide Guidance? The National Law

Journal, December 2, 1985, at page 26:

Closer scrutiny yields the conclusion that many

civil RICO actions are quasi-criminal in nature

because they contain those punitive sanctions and

stigma characteristic of criminal actions that nor-

mally require criminal protections, and therefore,

make the criminal burden of proof most appro-

priate.

99

It is well established that in certain “‘civil’’ cases,

where the gravamen is unquestionably criminal (or

penal) in nature, that the defendant has certain pro-

tections which would also be afforded to him as if

the case were tried as a criminal trial. See Lees v

United States, 150 U.S. 476 (1898).

Plaintiffs in civil actions to enforce RICO should be

required to prove the commission of the predicate acts

beyond a reasonable doubt. RICO does not expressly

set forth the standard of proof to be utilized in the

private enforcement action as authorized. Tradition-

ally, therefore, what standard of proof should be ap-

plied is a question left to the courts. Stontosky v.

Kramer, 455 U.S. 745 (1982). In Sedima, this Court

did not decide the issue of the proper standard of

proof to be used in the civil enforcement of RICO.

Applying a “‘civil’’ label to an action does not deter-

22

mine the proper standard of proof to be applied. Ad-

dington v. Texas, supra, and In re Winship, supra.

In this case, the quasi-criminal and penal nature of

the civil enforcement of RICO constitutionally man-

dates the beyond a reasonable doubt standard of

proof. At the very least, the ‘“‘clear and convincing”

standard of proof for fraud actions should have been

applied. Further, the defendants should have been

granted a twelve-member jury and other rights af-

forded criminal defendants.

III. BRIDGES WELDING SHOULD NOT BE VICAR-

IOUSLY LIABLE UNDER RICO

This case raises an important issue concerning the

use of “‘vicarious liability’’ to hold corporations, pe-

ripheral to the alleged scheme, liable for the acts of

the principals. Bridges Welding was not incorporated

until approximately the time the alleged scheme

ended, and it never did any business during the ex-

istence of the alleged scheme.

At trial, it was undisputed that Bridges Welding

did not have a corporate existence until its incorpo-

ration on April 20, 1983. (Transcript V. 5, p.80). The

first meeting of shareholders was held on May 7,

1988. (Transcript V. 5, p.80). Bridges Welding had

no bank accounts and did not commence business until

the latter part of July or early August, 1983. (Tran-

script V. 12, p.33). Moreover, Ray Bridges received

only a minority interest in Bridges Welding. (Tran-

script V. 12, pp.25-26, 36-38; V. 5, p.80). The majority

shockholders were not defendants in this case, nor

where they charged with the commission of any pred-

icate acts or with conspiracy to commit any of the

predicate acts. (Plaintiff’s Exhibits 61-69). Except for

Ray Bridges, no other officer or director was a

23

defendant in these proceedings. Likewise, except for

Ray Bridges, no such person was alleged to have been

a part of the alleged scheme, and, as to Ray Bridges,

he was a defendant only for acts allegedly done prior

to Bridges Welding’s commencement of business in

July-August, 1983.

In addition, it was clear from the testimony at trial

that the last alleged fraudulent act occurred on or

within a few days of May 25, 1988. (Plaintiff's Ex-

hibits 1 and 2-1 through 2-61). Bridges Welding did

not use Liquid Air cylinders and, under the scheme

charged, could not have had possession of any Liquid

Air cylinders.

For Bridges Welding, the Seventh Circuit did not

reach the question of whether subsections (c) and (d)

of §1962 of RICO should have been affirmed. Instead,

the Seventh Circuit applied ‘‘vicarious liability”’ to af-

firm the judgment against Bridges Welding under

subsections (a) and (b) of §1962 which involved the

anti-dated acts of Ray Bridges. (app. 16a). Application

of vicarious liability was proper, the court held, be-

cause Bridges Welding had “‘benefit from the viola-

tions’.

Assuming that Bridges Welding was vicariously li-

able for the acts of Ray Bridges, only one alleged

predicate act occurred after the date of incorporation.

Accordingly, for RICO purposes, there could be no

“pattern of racketeering activity’ during the time

period that Bridges Welding stood respondeat supe-

rior to Ray Bridges.

There are inherit dangers in applying RICO vicar-

iously to corporations. Haroco v. American National

Bank & Trust Co. of Chicago, 747 F.2d 384 (7th Cir.

24

1984), affd. 473 U.S. 606 (1985). Here, a completely

legitimate business has been held liable under RICO.

It now owes treble damages for the alleged acts of

its minority shareholder and officer. Such a result was

never intended by Congress.

The Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals has also

broadened the language of subsections (a) and (b) of

§1962 of RICO. Subsection (a) requires proof that

income from the racketeering activity be used or in-

vested in the enterprise. Whereas, subsection (b) re-

quires that the defendant, through a pattern of

racketeering activity, acquire or maintain an interest

in the enterprise. The holding in this case, namely

that the corporation need only “‘benefit’’ from the

violations, greatly expands that statutory language of

the RICO Act. It broadens the RICO Act to include

many non-intended defendants under the statute. This

unwarranted and broad expansion of the RICO Act

warrants this Court’s review of the Seventh Circuit’s

decision.

IV. THE VERDICT, AS TREBLED, VIOLATES THE

CONSTITUTIONAL PROTECTION OF THE

EIGHTH AMENDMENT

This case raises an important constitutional issue

concerning statutory ‘“‘punitive’’ damages. The pur-

poses served by RICO punitive damages are: First,

to punish the defendants for their acts, and second,

to warn and to deter others from the same type of

conduct. These are the classic objectives of criminal

law. As set forth above, ironically, the defendants in

this case are punished economically more severely

than if this action would have been prosecuted crim-

inally. The defendants face a punitive damages award

almost nine times that of the fair-market value of the

cylinders allegedly converted without the protection

of the Fifth and Sixth Amendments, and in contrav-

ention of the Eighth Amendment to the Constitution

of the United States. The Eighth Amendment pro-

hibits the imposition of “‘excessive fines’. This Court

has looked with disfavor on punitive damage awards

in numerous civil cases.

In 1979, this Court stated in Electrical Workers v.

Faust, 442 U.S. 42 (1979) at page 50, that ‘“‘because

juries are accorded broad discretion both as to the

imposition and amount of punitive damages, ... the

impact of these windfall recoveries is unpredictable

and potentially substantial’.

Justice Rehnquist, writing for himself, Chief Justice

Warren Burger and Justice Powell, stated in Smith

v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30 (1983), at page 59:

Moreover, although punitive damages are ‘‘quasi-

criminal,” ... their imposition is unaccompanied

by the types of safeguards present in criminal

proceedings. .. . [T]he alleged deterrence achieved

by punitive damage awards is likely outweighed

by the costs—such as the encouragement of un-

necessary litigation and the chilling of desirable

conduct—flowing from the rule, at least when the

standards on which the awards are based are ill-

defined.

This Court stated in dicta in Aetna Life Insurance

Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813, 89 L.Ed.2d 823 (1986)

at 89 L.Ed.2d page 837:

(T]hat a $3.5 million punitive damage award is

impermissable under the Excessive Fines Clause

of the Eighth Amendment; ... these arguments

raise important issues which, in an appropriate

setting must be resolved.

26

The treble damage provision of RICO imposed a

catastrophic effect upon the defendants herein in vi-

olation of their Eighth Amendment protection against

excessive fines. (See dissent in Ingraham v. Wright,

430 U.S. 651 (1977)). The Insurance Litigation Re-

porter, October, 1985, through February, 1986, issue

at page & presents a background on the Eighth

t is noteworthy that the brief debate on the

Excessive Fines Clause at the First Congress im-

mediately followed the debts in the House over

the proposed Fifth Amendment. Because the Fifth

Amendment contained language that could have

been construed to apply cutside the context of

criminal proceedings, Representative Lawrence

proposed, and the House adopted, language to

confine the clause ‘to criminal cases.’ If the fra-

mers of the Eighth Amendment had intended that

its clauses not apply in civil proceedings, a similar

amendment presumably would have been pro-

posed.

Moreover, an examination of the historical an-

tecedents to the Excessive Fines Clause supports

the contention that it should be applied to pu-

nitive damage awards. The lineage of the Ex-

cessive Fines Clause can be traced to the

‘excessive amercement’ provision of the Magna

Carta. ‘Amercements’ were additional punish-

ment for defendants in civil cases in Thirteenth

Century Engiand. In 1689, the English Bill of

Rights incorporated the ‘excessive amercement’

principle of the Magna Carta. That provision was,

in turn, incorporated into Article I, §9 of the

Virginia Declaration of Rights, and then into the

27

Eighth Amendment. Thus, punitive damages are

of the same character as the remedies that the

linear antecedents of the Eighth Amendment in-

tended to limit.

Currently this Court is considering Banker’s Life

& Casualty Co. v. Crenshaw, 483 So.2d 254 (Miss.

1986), petition for cert. granted, No. 85-1765. That

case presents the question of the constitutionality of

common law punitive damages. For the same reasons

raised in Banker’s Life and as set forth above, this

Court should grant a Petition for Writ of Certiorari

to review the constitutionality of the treble damages

awarded to plaintiff.

V. THE WRONG MEASURE OF DAMAGES WERE

USED BY THE COURTS BELOW

Nowhere in RICO does the statute define the cor-

rect measure of damages. Congress directed only that

‘‘fa]lny person injured in his business or property by

reason of a [RICO] violation ... may sue therefor . .

and shall recover threefold the damages he sustains

and the cost of the suit, including a reasonable

attorney's fee.’ 18 U.S.C. §1964(c) (Emphasis added)

(app. 49a). This case, with its full record, presents

this Court with the unique opportunity to determine

the correct measure of damages for civil RICO.

In RICO, an error in the underlying judgment is

magnified by the trebling of damages. Here, for ex-

ample, the difference in the measure of damages (be-

tween conversion and contract amount the court used)

is approximately $430,000. After trebling, it com-

pounds to approximately $1.29 million. Such an error

in the verdict has, and will continue to have, dev-

astating effects upon the RICO defendants, making

28

them the ‘“‘victim’”’ of this federal action rather than

the alleged perpetrators.

The prevailing philosophy of determining RICO

damages should be that the ‘“‘compensable injury nec-

essarily is the harm caused by predicate acts suffi-

ciently related tc constitute a pattern. .. .”’ (Sedima,

473 U.S. at page 497). Accordingly, the plaintiff would

recover only to the extent that he has been injuried

by the conduct constituting the violation. (Sedima, 473

U.S. at page 496).

By what measure the plaintiffs were damaged is a

question of law that should not be decided by the

perceived need for uniformity. The varying nature of

the enumerated predicate acts defy a uniform char-

acterization for a singular measure of damages. In-

stead, the court should be directed to the gravamen

of the action.

In this case, the Seventh Circuit looked to what it

perceived as the loss of the plaintiff to determine the

appropriate measure of damages. (app. 22a). This

measure of damages, however, ignores the second part

of this Court’s admonition in Sedima, 473 U.S. at

page 497, that the measure of damages under civil

RICO is the harm occasioned as a result of the pred-

icate acts. One must not look solely to the perceived

loss of the plaintiff as the Seventh Circuit did, but

only to those losses which proximately flow from the

predicate acts. In other words, one cannot look solely

to the perceived loss of the plaintiff, but one must

also look to the nature of the defendants’ actions and

the context in which the claimed losses have arisen,

i.e. the gravamen of the complaint.

In this case, under respondent’s theory, cylinders

were allegedly not returned by D & R. Hence, the

gravamen of the action is the common law tort of

conversion. It follows that the appropriate measure

of damages is the fair-market value of the property

converted. The trial court and Seventh Circuit re-

jected this measure of damages.

The overly-broad interpretation of the damages un-

der RICO applied by the court of appeals in this case,

which permit a plaintiff to recover threefold losses

which are not viewed in the context of the alleged

actions of the defendants, conflicts in principle with

this Court’s decision in Sedima, as well as the nu-

merous federal and state court decisions establishing

the measure of damages in other similar conversion

cases. This reason alone warrants that this Court re-

view the Seventh Circuit’s decision.

CONCLUSION

This case presents this Court the opportunity to

rule on many important issues concerning the civil

enforcement of RICO with the benefits of a full and

complete record. For the foregoing reasons, it is re-

spectfully requested that a Writ of Certiorari issue

to review the decision of the Court of Appeals for

the Seventh Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

FRANK H. BYERS II”

JOHN L. GREENLEAF, JR.

BYERS, BYERS & GREENLEAF, LTD

333 East Pershing Road

Suite 100

T om 149 lilsn . RY

Decatur. Illinois 62525

WILLIAM A. McCNvuTT**

LOWE, MOORE, SUSLER. MCNUTT &

WRIGLEY

250 North Water Street, P.O. Box 1527

| - _ lisea me ‘fs »s

Decatur, Illinois 62523

“Counsel of Record for Jack R.

Rogers, George Michlik and D & R

Welding Suppiy Company

ounsel of Record for Raymond E

| Bp ageess Wold;

Amr 4 | ayy " 7. 9

Bridges and Bridges elding Suppliv &

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

3n the

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

Nos. 86-3001 and 86-3046

LIQUID AIR CORPORATION,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

v.

JACK R. RoGers, GEORGE MICHLIK and

D & R WELDING SuPPLY COMPANY,

an Illinois Corporation, and

RAYMOND E. BRIDGES and

BRIDGES WELDING SuppLy & THERAPY, INC.,

Defendants-A ppellants.

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the Centra! District of Illinois, Peoria Division.

No. 84-C-1110—Michael M. Mihm, Judge.

ARGUED JUNE 2, 1987—DecIDED NOVEMBER 18, 1987

Before BAUER, Chief Judge, CoFFEy, Circuit Judge,

and ESCHBACH, Senior Circuit Judge.

BAUER, Chief Judge. This case raises several issues

with respect to civil enforcement of the Racketeer Influ-

enced and Corrupt Organizations Act, 18 U.S.C. § 1962

(“RICO”), including (1) what standard of proof should gov-

ern civil RICO actions; (2) whether a series of fraudulent

acts in a single scheme, with a single victim, satisfies

RICO’s requirement of a “pattern of racketeering activ-

ity;” (3) to what degree may vicarious liability be imposed

2a

under civil RICO; (4) the appropriate measure of damages

under RICO; and (5) whether any set-off should be sub-

tracted before or after trebling the damage award under

RICO. D & R Welding Supply Company (“D & R”) leased

compressed gas cylinders from Liquid Air Corporation

(“Liquid Air’’). Through a series of fraudulent shipping

orders, D & R made it appear that it had returned over

3,000 cylinders to Liquid Air. A jury found all defendants

guilty of civil RICO and pendent state torts. In addition

to the RICO issues, defendants challenge the sufficiency

of the evidence, various evidentiary rulings and various

jury instructions. For the reasons that follow, we affirm

“the judgment entered in all respects.

‘

D & R is a partnership operated by Jack R. Rogers

and George Michlik to distribute welding supplies. D & R

operates out of Decatur, Streator and Urbana, Illinois and

is involved in interstate commerce. Among other supplies,

it distributed compressed gas. In order to distribute the

gas, D & R leased both compressed gas and compressed

gas cylinders from Liquid Air. As a result of price in-

creases, D & R gave notice that it would terminate its

distributorship with Liquid Air, effective September, 1981.

Under its Distributor Agreement with Liquid Air, D & R

was required to return leased gas cylinders to Liquid Air,

pay rent on outstanding cylinders and pay the replace-

ment value for any cylinders not returned or accounted

for. The monthly rental fee then in effect was $2.25 per

cylinder; the average replacement cost per cylinder was

$150.

D & R was slow in returning the cylinders after it ter-

minated its distributorship. By August, 1982, D & R had

returned only 1,570 of 5,000 outstanding cylinders. At this

point, Liquid Air began to charge D & R its higher, non-

distributor rental rate. Just after Liquid Air raised its

rate, Michlik and Rogers became more creative in their

business dealings. They enlisted the aid of Ray Bridges,

an employee of Liquid Air responsible for handling all

paperwork at Liquid Air’s Peoria Distribution Center.

Under the scheme, Bridges would falsify documents so

that it would appear that D & R had returned all outstand-

ing cylinders. D & R would thus save the renta! and re-

placement fees while retaining the cylinders for its own

use. The scheme was accomplished through nineteen sepa-

rate falsified shipping orders documenting returns that

had never been made. Each shipping order involved using

the mails twice and one wire transfer.

In return for Bridges’s “‘work’’, Michlik and Rogers ar-

ranged to set Bridges up in his own welding business in

Peoria. They supplied Bridges with personnel, capital and

welding products. Michlik and Rogers derived an addi-

tional benefit from this pay-off to the scheme. Michlik and

Rogers were prevented from openly expanding their busi-

ness into Peoria because of a non-competition agreement

with A. W. Moore Welding in Peoria (‘‘Moore Welding’’).

By setting Bridges up in the welding business in Peoria,

Michlik and Rogers could not only bilk Liquid Air of its

cylinders, but could also circumvent the non-competition

agreement through their participation in Bridges Welding.

In August, 1983, Liquid Air employee Lauren “Bud’’

Sage became suspicious after hearing that Ray Bridges

was seen removing Liquid Air cylinders from the Liquid

Air Peoria Distribution Center, supposedly with Sage’s

okay. Sage initiated an investigation to determine whether

D & R had actually returned the cylinders it had leased

from Liquid Air. Sage compared Liquid Air’s inventory

of cylinders on paper to the physical inventory taken in

Peoria for July, 1983. The comparison revealed a discrep-

ancy of 3,307 cylinders between those that Liquid Air ac-

tually possessed and those that its internal documents

registered.

On April 4, 1984, Liquid Air filed a five-count complaint

against Michlik, Rogers, D & R, Ray Bridges and Bridges

Welding Supply (“Bridges Welding’’), which was amended

in September, 1984 to include two additional counts. The

complaint charged separate RICO violations of 18 U.S.C.

§ 1962(a), (b), (c) and (d) (Counts I & II, III and IV); con-

4a

version (Count V); breach of fiduciary duty by Ray Bridges

(Counts VI and IX); inducement to breach a fiduciary rela-

tionship by Michlik, Rogers and D & R (Count VII); and

conversion of miscellaneous business supplies by Ray

Bridges and Bridges Welding (Count VIII). The predicate

acts for the RICO counts were mail fraud, 18 U.S.C.

§ 1341, and wire fraud, 18 U.S.C. § 1343.

The ensuing jury trial lasted approximately two and one-

half weeks. The jury found against all the defendants on

the RICO counts and on one count of conversion. In ad-

dition, the jury found that Ray Bridges had breached his

fiduciary duty to Liquid Air in participating in the scheme

and that Michlik, Rogers and D & R had induced the

breach. The jury returned a verdict for defendant Ray

Bridges on the breach of fiduciary duty and conversion

associated with the miscellaneous missing business sup-

plies. The jury assessed $750,000 in compensatory dam-

ages on all four RICO counts.! On the conversion count,

the jury assessed $350,000 in actual damages and punitive

damages in the following amounts: $25,000 against D & R;

$15,000 against Bridges Welding; $10,000 against Rogers;

$10,000 against Michlik; and $5,000 against Bridges. On

the claim that Ray Bridges had breached his fiduciary

duty, the jury assessed $4,000 in actual damages and

$1,000 in punitive damages against Ray Bridges. For in-

ducing Ray Bridges to breach his fiduciary duty, the jury

assessed $750,000 in actual damages and $10,000 each in

punitive damages against D & R, Michlik and Rogers. Some-

time after the trial, the defendants returned 530 Liquid

Air cylinders and the court ordered that the rental and

replacement value of the 530 cylinders be subtracted from

the total trebled damage award.

Defendants charge numerous bases for overturning the

jury verdicts, which may be grouped as follows: (1) wheth-

1 Liquid Air’s actual recovery was limited to the greatest single

recovery under any one count, i.e., treble damages under any of

the RICO counts.

er the district court used the proper standard of proof;

(2) whether the evidence supports a finding that defen-

dants engaged in a “pattern of racketeering activity;”

(3) whether i, is a proper basis for civil liabil-

ity; (4) whether Bridges Welding was properly found vi-

cariously liable for conversion or RICO; (5) whether the

evidence was sufficient to support the adverse jury ver-

dicts; (6) objections to various evidentiary rulings; (7) ob-

jections to various jury instructions; (8) damages. We ad-

dress each of defendants arguments in turn.

Il.

RICO

The Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organization Act,

18 U.S.C. §§ 1961-1968 (“RICO”), was designed to pre-

vent organized crime from gaining a stronghold in legiti-

mate businesses. Statement of Findings and Purpose,

Organized Crime Control Act of 1970, Pub. L. 91-452, 84

Stat. 922, 922-23 (1970). The Act prohibits various forms

of infiltration of legitimate business “enterprises” involved

in interstate commerce through a “‘pattern of racketeer-

ing activity.” 18 U.S.C. § 1962. Section 1964 of the Act

provides for civil suits arising out of § 1962 RICO

violations. ;

Standard of Proof

Defendants argue that civil RICO proceedings are quasi-

criminal in nature, and that the court therefore should

have imposed a higher standard of proof than a mere pre-

ponderance of the evidence. In Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex

Co., Inc., 473 U.S. 479 (1985), the Supreme Court left

undecided the question of the proper standard of proof

to be used in civil RICO cases. Jd. at 491. Still, there

is a strong suggestion in Sedima that the appropriate

standard of proof in civil RICO is proof by a preponder-

ance of the evidence. The court noted:

We are not at all convinced that the predicate acts

must be established beyond a reasonable doubt in a

proceeding under § 1964(c). In a number of settings,

conduct that can be punished as criminal only upon

proof beyond a reasonable doubt will support civil

sanctions under a preponderance standard.

Id. Since Sedima, many lower courts have addressed the

issue and have reached the conclusion that proof by a

preponderance of the evidence is sufficient to establish

a civil violation of section 1962. See Wilcox v. First In-

terstate Bank of Oregon, 815 F.2d 522, 531 (9th Cir. 1987);

Cullen v. Margiotta, 811 F.2d 698, 731 (2d Cir.), cert.

denied, 107 S. Ct 3266 (1987); Armco Industrial Credit

Corp. v. SLT Warehouse Co., 782 F.2d 475, 480-81 (5th

Cir. 1986); United States v. Local 560, Int'l Bhd. of Team-

sters, 780 F.2d 267, 279-80 n.12 (3d Cir. 1985), cert. denied,

106 S. Ct. 2247 (1986); Ford Motor Co. v. B & H Sup-

ply, Inc., 646 F. Supp. 975, 1001 (D. Minn. 1986); Bosteve,

Ltd. v. Marauszwski, 642 F. Supp. 197, 202 n.7 (E.D.N.Y.

1986); Owl Constr. Co., Inc. v. Ronald Adams Contrac-

tor, Inc., 642 F. Supp. 475, 477 (E.D. La. 1986); Platsis

v. E.F. Hutton & Co., 642 F. Supp. 1277, 1309 (W.D.

Mich. 1986); Stainton v. Tarantino, 637 F. Supp. 1051,

1070 (E.D. Pa. 1986).

The standard of proof in a given case “serves to allocate

the risk of error between the litigants and to indicate the

relative importance attached to the ultimate decision.”’ Ad-

dington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418, 423 (1979). Because society

has a deep interest in not imprisoning the innocent and

because we recognize the stigma that attaches from a

criminal conviction, we require the government to prove

guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. Jd. The requirement of

proof beyond a reasonable doubt in a non-crirninal case

is extremely rare. See In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970)

(juvenile delinquency adjudication requires proof beyond

a reasonable doubt). Winship was based on the recogni-

tion that an accused in a juvenile delinquency proceeding

faces the possibility of losing his or her liberty and the

subsequent stigma of a criminal conviction. Jd. at 367.

| er

Defendants argue that, like delinquency adjudications, civil

RICO is quasi-criminal. This contention is without merit.

A civil RICO defendant does not face imprisonment, nor

does the defendant suffer the collateral consequences as-

sociated with conviction of a criminal offense. While a civil

RICO deferdant does face the opprobrium of being labeled

a “racketeer,”’ it is not sufficiently stigmatizing to war-

rant criminal protections.? See Sedima, 473 U.S. at 492

(‘As for stigma, a civil RICO proceeding leaves no greater

stain than do a number of other civil proceedings.’’)

The clear and convincing evidence standard is an inter-

mediate standard of proof, requiring more than proof by

a preponderance of the evidence but less than proof be-

yond a reasonable doubt. It is used in civil cases in which

more is at stake than mere loss of money. See, e.g., San-

tosky v. Kramer, 455 U.S. 745 (1982) (termination of

parental rights); Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418 (civil

commitment); Woodby v. INS, 385 U.S. 276 (1966) (depor-

tation); Chaunt v. United States, 364 U.S. 350 (1960) (de-

naturalization). Under common law, allegations of fraud

required proof of clear, cogent and convincing evidence,

due to the fear that such claims could be fabricated easily.

See Herman & MacLean v. Huddleston, 459 U.S. 375, 388

n.27 (1983). Many states, including Illinois, require allega-

tions of fraud to be proven by clear and convincing evi-

dence. See, e.g., Nat'l Republic Bank of Chicago v. Nat'l

Homes Construction Corp., 63 Ill. App. 3d 920, 3x1

N.E.2d 15 (1978). Defendants argue that since mail and

wire fraud furnish the predicate acts for the RICO viola-

tions, plaintiff should have to prove its allegations by clear

and convincing evidence. We believe the argument is fore-

closed by the Supreme Court’s reasoning in Herman &

MacLean v. Huddleston, 459 U.S. 375 (1983). In Hud-

dleston, the Supreme Court declined to require proof by

2 For the same reasons, we find no error in the district court’s

denial of defendants’ motion for all mghts afforded crimina! defen-

dants.

8a

clear and convincing evidence in a civil securities actren

based on fraud. The Court noted:

The interests of defendants in a securities case do

not differ qualitatively from the interests of defen-

dants sued for violations of other federal statutes

such as the antitrust or civil rights laws, for which

proof by a preponderance of the evidence suffices. On

the other hand, the interests of plaintiffs in such suits

are significant. Defrauded investors are among the

very individuals Congress sought to protect in the

securities laws. If they prove that it is more likely

than not that they were defrauded, they should re-

cover.

Id. at 390. Although addressed to a different area of law,

the reasoning of Huddleston is wholly applicable to the

standard of proof issue in civil RICO cases. We can dis-

cern no reasoned basis for distinguishing a federal secu-

rities claim based on fraud from a civil RICO claim based

on fraud as to warrant applying different standards of

proof. Federal causes of action based on fraud which

violates federal statutes are not to be governed by the

State’s standard of proof for common law fraud. The mere

presence of a treble damages provision does not mandate

otherwise. See Ramsey v. United Mine Workers, 401 U.S.

302 (1971) (preponderance standard governs civil antitrust

actions). Accordingly, we find that proof by a preponder-

ance of the evidence is sufficient for a finding of liability

under civil RICO.

Pattern of Racketeering Activity

Defendants contend that the proven acts do not amount

io a pattern of racketeering activity under RICO. Defen-

dants were found liable under subsections 1962(a), (b), (c),

and (d).* All subsections require the government to show

3 § 1962. Prohibited activities

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person who has received any

income derived, directly or indirectly, from a pattern of rack-

(Footnote continued on following page)

Ga

that defendants engaged in a pattern of racketeering ac-

tivity. A pattern of racketeering activity requires at least

two acts of racketeering activity within ten years. 18

U.S.C. § 1961/5). Racketeering activity includes mail and

wire fraud, 18 U.S.C. §§ 1341, 1343. 18 U.S.C. § 1961(1).

Plaintiff alleged that defendants engaged in a pattern of

racketeering activity through fifty-seven separate acts of

3 continued

eteering activity or through collection of an unlawful debt in

which such person has participated as a principal within the

meaning of section 2, title 18, United States Code, or use or

invest, directly or indirectly, any part of such income, or the

proceeds of such income, in acquisition of any interest in, or

the establishment or operation of, any enterprise which is en-

gaged in, or the activities of which affect, interstate or foreign

commerce. A purchase of securities on the open market for

purposes of investment, and without the intention of control-

ling or participating in the control of the issuer, or of assisting

another to do so, shall not be unlawful under this subsection

if the securities of the issuer held by the purchaser, the mem-

bers of his immediate family, and his or their accomplices in

any pattern of racketeering activity or the collection of an un-

lawful debt after such purchase do not amount in the aggre-

gate to one percent of the outstanding securities of any one

class, and do not confer, either in law or in fact, the power

to elect one or more directors of the issuer.

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person through a pattern of

racketeering activity or through collection of an unlawful debt

to acquire or maintain, directly or indirectly, any interest in

or control of any enterprise which is engaged in, or the ac-

tivities of which affect, interstate or foreign commerce.

(c) It shall be unlawful for any person employed by or

associated with any enterprise engaged in, or the activities of

which affect, interstate or foreign commerce, to conduct or par-

ticipate, directly or indirectly, in the conduct of such enter-

rise’s affairs through a pattern of racketeering activity or col-

ection of unlawful debt.

(d) It shall be unlawful for any person to conspire to violate

any of the provisions of subsections (1a), (b), or (c) of this

section.

10a

mail and wire fraud over a seven month period,‘ injur-

ing both Liquid Air and Bridges Weldings’s unwitting

competitor, Moore Welding.

In Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co., Inc., 473 U.S. 479

(1985), the Supreme Court noted that a pattern of rack-

eteering activity required more than just two acts com-

mitted within a ten year period; the acts must have “con-

tinuity plus relationship which combines to produce a

pattern.” Jd. at 496 n.14. Borrowing from another statute,

the Court defined “pattern” as ‘criminal acts that have

the same or similar purposes, results, participants, vic-

tims or other methods of commission, or otherwise are

interrelated by distinguishing characteristics and are not

isolated events.”’ Jd. Since Sedima, courts have wrestled

with defining the concept of a pattern under RICO.

Some courts required the predicate acts be part of two

separate schemes before a pattern could be shown, see

Superior Oil Co. v. Fulmer, 785 F.2d 252 (8th Cir. 1986);

others had determined that a single scheme or episode

was sufficient, Bank of America v. Touche Ross & Co.,

782 F.2d 966 (11th Cir. 1986). In Morgan v. Bank of Wau-

kegan, 804 F.2d 970 (7th Cir. 1986), we opted for a “mid-

die course between thle] two extremes,” requiring the

predicate acts to be “ongoing over an identifiable period

of time so that they can fairly be viewed as constituting

separate transactions.” Jd. at 975. In determining whether

the predicate acts are sufficiently continuous and related,

we urged courts to examine the following factors: the

number and variety of predicate acts and the length of

time over which they were committed, the number of vic-

tims, the presence of separate schemes and the occurrence

of distinct injuries. Jd. at 975. We noted however that

“the mere fact that the predicate acts relate to the same

overall scheme or involve the same victim does not mean

‘ Plaintiffs proved that the defendants prepared nineteen fraudu-

lent returns. Each return resulted in two acts of mai] fraud and

one act of wire fraud.

lla

that the acts automatically fail to satisfy the pattern re-

quirement.” Jd. at 975-76. Thus, Morgan envisioned a fact-

specific inquiry, in which no singie factor would be deter-

minative. Marshall & Ilsey Trust Co. v. Pate, 819 F.2d

806, 809-10 (7th Cir. 1987). In Lipin Enter. v. Lee, 803

F.2d 322 (7th Cir. 1986), however, we noted that a single

fraudulent scheme with one injury to one victim was rot

transmuted into a federal case simply because it required

several acts of mail and wire fraud to inflict the single

injury. Accord, Marks v. Pannell Kerr Forster, 811 F.2d

1108 (7th Cir. 1987).

Plaintiffs allege that defendants defrauded two victims:

Liquid Air and Moore Welding. Although setting Bridges

up in business was undoubtedly part of the scheme (the

payoff), Moore was not injured as a direct resu!t of any

of the predicate acts. Moore Welding was injured when

D & R chose to pay Bridges by circumventing their non-

competition agreement. Circumventing the agreement was

not an alleged predicate act under RICO. Thus, for the

purpose of establishing a pattern of racketeering activity,

Moore Welding is not a victim. Therefore, we have a single

scheme which lasted seven months and defrauded a single

victim. The defendants committed nineteen separate acts,

each resulting in use of the mails and use of the wire ser-

vice. Each time an invoice was falsely prepared, it de-

prived Liquid Air of its entitlement to rent or replace-

ment value. Therefore, each act resulted in a distinct in-

jury to Liquid Air and a concommitant benefit to D & R.

We find that the repeated infliction of economic injury

upon a single victim of a single scheme is sufficient to

establish a pattern of racketeering activity for purposes

of civil RICO. Accord, Sun Savings & Loan Ass’n v. Dier-

dorff, 825 F.2d 187 (9th Cir. 1987),

Sufficiency of the Evidence

The defendants argue that the evidence was insufficient

to prove that D & R did not actually return the 3,307

cylinders missing from Liquid Air’s Peoma facility. A jury

verdict will be upheld “if a reasonable basis exists in the

record to support the verdict.”” Hamilton v. Svatik, 779

F.2d 383, 388 (7th Cir. 1985). Defendants argue that Liq-

uid Air used a flawed equation to determine that its paper

inventory exceeded its actual inventory by more than

3,000. Testimony at trial showed that Liquid Air may not

have counted “‘scrap”’ cylinders in assessing the actual in-

ventory. Defendants postulate that the ignored ‘‘scrap’”’

cylinders may have been cylinders returned from D & R

that were later transferred to a different Liquid Air facil-

ity and “exchanged” for scrap cylinders. Defendants also

argue that, according to their calculations, only 2,681

cylinders were not returned. Defendants merely present

a plausible theory that the jury rejected. This is not a

legitimate basis for overturning a jury verdict if the evi-

dence was sufficient to support an opposing theory.

The jury had sufficient evidence to support its finding

that D & R never returned 3,307 cylinders. Liquid Air

employee Bud Sage testified extensively regarding his

method of determining the number of stolen cylinders.

Sage’s calculations supported a determination that 3,307

cylinders were missing. Challenges to the calculations used

go only to the weight to be accorded the testimony, a

matter solely for jury determination.

In addition, the evidence was more than sufficient to

show that D & R actually falsified the shipping orders.

The evidence showed various irregularities associated with

the orders documenting D & R returns supposedly made

between November, 1982 and June, 1983. While prior to

November, 1982, returns were signed only by D & R’s

regular drivers—and never by management—after Novem-

ber 1982, all but two return orders were signed by D & R

management. In addition, the number of cylinders re-

turned per order tripled during the period in question.

No employee of either Liquid Air or D & R could be

found who had seen any of these returns. Perhaps more

importantly, defendants offered implausible explanations

for these irregularities. The defendants testified that the

returns were made when no other employees were around

13a

(except Bridges). This was directly contradicted by ..iquid

Air’s employee time records. Bridges then explained that,

in fact, the deliveries were made on days other than the

date on the order because the orders were prepared

either later or earlier and either post-dated or predated

accordingly. This explanation was itself contradicted by

further evidence of employee time records and Liquid

Air’s (and Bridges’s) policy of using the actual date on

the order form. Defendants contradicted themselves and

each other. From all this, the jury was entitled to infer

that D & R had falsified return orders and had wrongfully

retained the missing 3,307 Liquid Air cylinders.

Conspiracy

Defendants also challenge the jury’s adverse finding

with respect to the conspiracy count, section 1962(d).

Defendants argue that there can be no civil liability based

on conspiracy since there is no damage to plaintiff caused

by the conspiracy alone. We need not reach either issue.

The jury awarded $750,000 on each RICO count to be

trebled. Were we to decide the conspiracy issues in defen-

dants’ favor, it would not lessen the amount of compen-

sation they must pay. Accordingly, we decline to address

either issue. Cf. Spanish Action Comm. of Chicago v. City

of Chicago, 766 F.2d 315, 321 (7th Cir. 1985) (declining

to consider plaintiffs’ additional challenge where it would

not increase amount of recovery).

Liability of Bridges Welding

Bridges Welding argues that it could not be liable for

any RICO violation or for conversion since it did not have

a corporate existence during the scheme. Bridges Welding

was incorporated in April, 1983. Defendants’ scheme was

not completed until thd end of May, 1983. Ray Bridges

was a principal employee and president of Bridges Weld:

ing while still employed at Liquid Air. A corporation may

l4a

be a “person” under RICO.5 18 U.S.C. §§ 1961(3); Haroco

v. Am. Nat'l Bank & Trust Co. of Chicago, 747 F.2d 384,

400 (7th Cir. 1984), aff'd, 473 U.S. 606 (1985). A corpora-

tion acts only through its agents. Under general agency

rules, a corporation (principal) will be vicariously respon-

sible for the wrongful acts of its employees (agents) when

the acts are: (1) related to and committed within the

course of employment; (2) committed in furtherance of the

corporation; and (3) authorized or subsequently acquiesced

in by the corporation. 10 W. FLETCHER, Cyclopedia of

the Law of Private Corporations, § 4942 at 620-21. In

falsifying returns, Ray Bridges acted as president of

Bridges Welding and his acts redounded to the benefit

of Bridges Welding shareholders. Bridges Welding ac-

cepted the benefits of Ray Bridges’s wrongdoing. The jury

was entitled to infer acquiescence.

Vicarious liability, however, has only limited application

to civil RICO to avoid holding vicariously liable a corpora-

tion that was the victim of a RICO violation. See Parnes

v. Heinold Commodities, Inc., 548 F. Supp. 20, 23-24

(N.D. Ill. 1982). To the extent that agency rules would

require holding a legitimate, infiltrated business vicarious.

ly liable, the rules are at odds with the clear congres-

sional intent to protect such legitimate businesses. See

Haroco, 747 F.2d at 400. To accommodate these concerns,

we have noted that the doctrine may apply only when

1) the corporation has derived some benefit from the

RICO violation and 2) imposing vicarious liability is not

inconsistent with the intent of Congress. To assess the

intent of Congress we look to the express language of

the particular subsections. Jd. A RICO violation requires

proof that a “person” (the defendant) acted with respect

to an “enterprise” (the corporation) through a pattern of

racketeering activity. If the language of the subsections

5 § 1961. Definitions

(3) “person” includes any individual or entity capable of

holding a legal or beneficial interest in property;

—————

—

"yy

require that the “person’’ and the “enterprise” be distinct

entities, then we can postulate that Congress intended

that “enterprises” not be held vicariously liable as defen-

dants. In this regard, we have noted a distinction between

subsections (a) and (c). Subsection (a) prohibits a person

from investing money received from a pattern of racke-

teering in an enterprise engaged in interstate commerce.

In Haroco, we noted that there was nothing in the lan-

guage of subsection (a) that seemed to require that the

liable “person” be a distinct entity from the “enterprise.”

In other words, subsection (a), by its express language,

encompassed circumstances under which the enterprise

itself was guilty of wrongdoing. Thus, vicarious liability

under subsection (a) is consistent with congressional in-

tent, provided the corporation derived some benefit from

the RICO violation.

In contrast, the express language of subsection (c) has

been read to proscribe vicarious liability. Haroco, 747 F.2d

at 400; Parnes v. Heinold Commodities, Inc., 548 F. Supp.

20, 23-24 (N.D. Ill. 1982). Subsection (c) prohibits an em-

ployee of an enterprise from operating the enterprise

through a pattern of racketeering activity. We noted in

Haroco that the language of subsection (c) clearly envi-

sioned that the “person” (employee) and “enterprise” (em-

ployer) be different entities. Accord Petro-Tech, Inc. v.

Western Co. of N. Am., No. 86-3361, slip op. (8d Cir. July

13, 1987) (finding that subsection (c) was intended to

govern only those situations in which the enterprise was

the passive, innocent victim of RICO). Thus, vicarious

liability should not be imposed under subsection (c) when

a finding of liability would require the “person” and

“enterprise” to be the same entity.

Subsection (b) prohibits a person from acquiring an in-

terest in an enterprise through a pattern of racketeering

activity. Whether a single entity may be both a liable

“person” and an “enterprise” under subsection (b) de-

pends on whether the language of subsection (b) is more

like (a) or (c). In Bruss Co. v. Allnet Communication Ser-

vices, Inc., 606 F. Supp. 401 (N.D. Ill. 1985), the court

—

l6a

found that subsection (b), like subsection (c), required that

the ‘‘person’”’ and “enterprise” be distinct, reasoning that

(b) requires the person to ‘‘acquire or maintain”’ an inter-

est in an enterprise—similar to the requirement of subsec-

tion (c) that the person be “employed by” an enterprise.

We disagree. Subsection (a), which requires a person to

invest income in an enterprise, does not require a separate

entity for the “person” and the “enterprise.” See Masi

v. Ford City Bank & Trust Co., 779 F.2d 397, (7th Cir.

1985). We can see no distinction between “investing in

an enterprise” and ‘‘acquiring an interest in an enter-

prise”’ sufficient to require separate entities for a subsec-

tion (b) violation. Unlike subsection (c), which requires a

relationship between the ‘“‘person” and the ‘“‘enterprise”’

(employer-employee), subsections (a) and (b) require only

the use of an “enterprise” by a “‘person.” Accordingly, we

‘hold that, like subsection (a), subsection (b) does not re-

quire the existence of an enterprise separate and distinct

from the person sought to be held liable. Accord, Wilcox,

815 F.2d at 529.

Respondeat superior is therefore entirely appropriate

under both subsections (a) and (b), so long as Bridges

Welding derived a benefit from the violations. There is

substantial evidence that Bridges Welding benefitted from

the RICO violation. In exchange for the ‘“‘work”’ of Bridges

Welding’s president, D & R supplied Bridges Welding

with the labor of defendant Rogers’s son and defendant

Michlik’s nephew. A supplier of Bridges Welding, Gano

Welding, billed D & R for supplies furnished to Bridges

Welding. In addition, there was evidence of various

“loans” from D & R to Bridges Welding on which D & R

was, at best, not actively pursuing collection. Therefore,

under both (a) and (b), Bridges Welding was properly

found liable.

Again, since addressing the propriety of the finding of

vicarious liability under subsections (c) (under which re-

spondeat superior may not apply) or (d) (conspiracy to

violate (a), (b), or (c)), would not affect the amount of Liq-

uid Air’s award, we decline to consider defendants’ chal-

17a

lenges to these findings. Cf. Spanish Action Comm., 766

F.2d at 321.

ITI.

EVIDENTIARY RULINGS

Defendants maintain that the trial court prevented them

from presenting their theory of defense. Defendants sought

to convince the jury that no fraud had in fact occurred

and that Liquid Air brought suit only to remove a new

competitor (D & R) from the market. Defendants com-

plain that the court excluded evidence that showed that

Liquid Air had offered to finance an attempted ‘‘buy out”

of a D & R competitor and that Liquid Air had divulged

business secrets of D & R, mouled during discovery, in

contravention of a stipulation not to reveal such informa-

tion. Defendants argue that these pieces of evidence would

show Liquid Air’s general malevolence toward D & R and

Liquid Air’s desire to drive D & R out of business.

The trial court has broad discretion in determining

whether proffered evidence should be admitted or ex-

cluded. See, e.g., United States v. Garver, 809 F.2d 1291,

1297 (7th Cir. 1987). Had the court admitted the excluded

evidence, it would not be especially probative of the al-

legation that Liquid Air’s true motives in bringing the

suit were solely malevolent and that no fraud had oc-

curred. The court excluded evidence of the alleged dis-

covery abuse because the documents were not listed in

the pretrial order, nor had the court been informed of

them at any time prior to the proffer. In addition, the

proffered evidence would delay the proceedings, requir-

ing trial counsel’s testimony and possibly substitution of

counsel. We find no abuse of discretion in the court’s

determination that the relevance of the evidence was out-

weighed by the danger of confusion and undue delay.

Fep. R. Evip. 403.

Defendants next object to the testimony of Gregory

Alexander. Alexander was Liquid Air’s comptroller and

testified to the fair market value of the cylinders as a

a ii |

18a

basis for the jury’s award on the conversion count.® Defen-

dants argue that Alexander was not sufficiently qualified

to give expert testimony on the matter. In admitting ex-

pert testimony under FEp. R. Evip. 702, the trial judge

has broad discretion and the determination will be af-

firmed unless it is “manifestly erroneous.” United States

v. Lundy, 809 F.2d 392, 394 (7th Cir. 1987); see also

United States v. Davis, 772 F.2d 1339, 1343-44 (7th Cir.),

cert. denied, 106 S. Ct. 603 (1985).

As comptroller, one of Gregory Alexander’s duties was

to determine the value of cylinders to be acquired, both

new and used. The defendants objected to Alexander’s

qualifications because he did not explain the procedures

he used to determine market value nor the geographic

locality of his expertise. The district court ruled that plain-

tiff had established an adequate foundation, and that any

questions regarding Alexander’s methodology or particular

area of expertise were more appropriately addressed dur-

ing cross-examination. This was hardly error. Experience

and knowledge establish the foundation for an expert’s

testimony; the accuracy of such testimony is a matter of

weight and not admissibility. See Robinson v. Watts Detec-

tive Agency, Inc., 685 F.2d 729, 739 (1st Cir. 1982), cert.

denied, 459 U.S. 1105 and 459 U.S. 1204 (1983).7

rv.

JURY INSTRUCTIONS

Next, defendants object to various jury instructions

given by the district court. Defendants contend that the

6 As opposed to the RICO counts, damages for conversion are

properly limited to the fair market value of the converted items.

People v. Rose, 19 Ill. 2d 292, 166 N.E.2d 566 (1969).

7 Defendants also object to the trial court’s refusal to allow defen-

dants to explain the treble damage provision of RICO to the jury.

Such information is irrelevant to a jury’s deliberations and may

confuse or prejudice the jury. It is properly excluded. Cf.

Heatransfer Corp. v. Volkswagenwerk A.G., 553 F.2d 964 (C.A.

Tex. 1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1087.

KK

19a

trial court’s instructions defining ‘‘pattern of racketeer-

ing activity” and ‘‘association-in-fact” were erroneous. In

addition, defendants object to the court’s failure to admin-

ister special interrogatories offered by the defendants.

In judging a challenge to a particular jury instruction,

we must determine only whether the instructions overall,

conveyed the “correct message’”’ to the jury. Wilk v. Am.

Medical Ass’n, 719 F.2d 207, 218-19 (7th Cir. 1983), cert.

denied, 467 U.S. 1210 (1984). The trial judge informed the

jury that in order to find a “pattern of racketeering ac-

tivity,” it must find,

[t}wo or more acts of racketeering activity which

were related by a common scheme, plan or motive.

It may not simply be a series of disconnected acts.

Therefore, proof of two acts of racketeering activi-

ty, without more does not establish a pattern.

The instruction comports with the general requirements

of the statute as interpreted since Sedima. Defendants

object because the charge failed to advise the jury that

there be “some continuing threat of racketeering activity.”

Defendants argue that the continuity requirement of

Sedima mandates that there be a threat that defendants

would engage in future acts of racketeering after com-

pletion of their scheme. This is an untenable interpreta-

tion of the requirement of continuity. The requirement

of continuity was not intended to force a court to guess

the likelihood of future criminal conduct nor was it in-

tended to proscribe liability for completed schemes. Con-

tinuity refers instead to the duration of the predicate acts.

The trial court was correct in refusing the proffered in-

struction.

Defendants next contend that the jury was not in-

structed that it must find the existence of an enterprise

before imposing liability. We find defendants’ objections

obtuse. As to each RICO count, the court instructed the

jury regarding each element of the subsection, including

the enterprise requirement. The jury was instructed that

it had to find that defendants had used income derived from

20a

a pattern of racketeering to invest in an enterprise (sub-

section a); acquired an interest in an enterprise through

a pattern of racketeering (subsection b); and conducted

the affairs of an enterprise through a pattern of racketeer-

ing (subsection c). Apparently, defendants object to the

court’s failure to specifically instruct the jury that it must

find the existence of an enterprise. It is not necessary

to give a proposed instruction “where the essential points

are covered in another instruction.” United States v.

Hansen, 701 F.2d 1215, 1218 (7th Cir. 1983). The instruc-

tions, as given, adequately informed the jury that the exis-

tence of an enterprise was essential to civil RICO liability.

Defendants also claim as error the court’s failure to ad-

minister special interrogatories proffered by defendants.

Although initially expressing an interest in administering

special interrogatories, the trial court determined that

they were not necessary in light of cautionary instructions

already given. When the court made this determination,

defendants made no argument to enlighten the trial court

regarding the necessity of special interrogatories, even in

light of the cautionary instructions given; nor do they

make such argument here. Simply voicing a general ob-

jection is not sufficient. To preserve for review the issue

of whether special interrogatories were required, defen-

dants would have to have argued the issue below with

specificity. See Sanchez v. Miller, 792 F.2d 694, 703 (7th

Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 107 S. Ct. 933 (1987). Their failure

to specify on appeal how the failure to administer special

interrogatories prejudiced them compounds their error.

We have considered the remainder of defendants’ chal-

lenges to the jury instructions and find them to be similar-

ly frivolous.

V.

DAMAGES

Defendants challenge the jury’s damage awards on sev-

eral bases, many of which are frivolous and will not be

addressed here. The remaining challenges are: (1) that the

2la

appropriate measure of damages for the RICO counts was

only the fair market value of the cylinders and not con-

tractual damages; (2) that the measure of damages for in-

ducement to breach a fiduciary duty should be limited to

the disloyal employees’s wages and benefits during the

fraud: (3) that the award of prejudgment interest was im-

prop: .. and (4) that the court should have subtracted any

set-offs prior to trebling the awards.

Appropriate Measure of Damages Under RICO

Plaintiff was awarded $750,000 on each RICO count to

compensate it for both the replacement value and the lost

rental value of the cylinders. The court allowed the jury

to determine the appropriate measure of compensation by

looking to the contract between Chemtron Corporation

(the predecessor in interest to Liquid Air) and Decatur

Oxygen Products, Inc. (a wholly owned subsidiary of

D & R), which provided that D & R would pay Liquid

Air rent on all cylinders until they were returned or ac-

counted for, and that D & R would pay Liquid Air the

replacement value for any cylinders not returned. Defen-

dants argue that contract damages were inappropriate and

that under civil RICO, a court must look to the underly-

ing nature of the predicate acts to determine the proper

measure of damage. Since the underlying claim here is

conversion, defendants argue, under Illinois law the ap-

propriate measure of damages is only the fair market

value of the cylinders. We have noted how futile it can

be to employ a case-by-case approach in determining the

“underlying” cause of action in civil RICO. See Tellis v.

United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co., 805 F.2d 741 (7th

Cir. 1986), vacated, 55 U.S.L.W. 3871 (1987). Although

defendants now insist that the “‘underlying’”’ cause of ac-

tion is conversion, they insisted as strongly that the ‘“un-

derlying” cause of action was fraud in arguing for a “clear

and convincing” standard of proof.

The measure of damages under civi! RICO is the harm

occasioned as a result of the predicate acts. Sedima, 473

U.S. at 497. A plaintiff injured by civil RICO violations

»

22a

deserves a “complete recovery.” Carter v. Berger, 777

F.2d 1173, 1176 (7th Cir. 1985). Although the contract only

bound D & R and Liquid Air, the damages provided

therein supply an appropriate measure of the degree to

which Liquid Air was injured by the RICO violations. To

restrict damages to the fair market value of the cylinders

would deprive Liquid Air of its rights under the contract

and would not compensate it for its losses. The damages

that Liquid Air was entitled to under its contract with

D & R provide the appropriate mezsure of full compen-

sation.

Lost Rent

Defendants then challenge the jury’s award of lost rent,

also provided for in the contract. Defendants equate lost

rent with lost profits and note that Illinois does not allow

recovery for lost profits in contract actions. The argument

ignores the obvious distinction between lost rent and lost

profits. Lost profits are not recoverable simply because

they are speculative. The rent awarded was that due and

owing at the time of conversion, and easily calculable. It

was entirely appropriate to award lost rent.

Set-off

Plaintiffs first learned during discovery that D & R re-

tained some Liquid Air cylinders. At that time, Liquid

Air sought a protective order over the cylinders (then

thought to number around 200) to ensure their preserva-

tion. After post-trial motions were denied, defendants

revealed that they had 530 Liquid Air cylinders, and

sought to return them and accordingly set-off the judg-

ment. The rental and replacement value of the belatedly

returned cylinders was subtracted from the already trebled

damages. Defendants argue that the cost of the returned

cylinders should have been subtracted before trebling.

While the return of the cylinders may compensate Liq-

uid Air for the replacement value of the cylinders, it does

not compensate it for rents lost prior to litigation. More

23a

importantly, it does not negate the frauds perpetrated by

defendants. We conclude that setting-off damages after

trebling is more likely to effectuate the p ses behind

RICO.® See, In re Nat’l Mortgage Equity ., 636 F.

Supp. 1138, 1151 (C.D. Cal. 1986); ef lintkote Co v. Lys-

fjord, 246 F.2d 368 (9th Cir.) cert. denied, 355 U.S. 835

(1957) (subtracting set-off after trebling in antitrust case).

The judgment entered on the jury verdict and award

of damages is affirmed in all respects.

A true Copy:

Teste:

eee eee eee eeeees --

Clerk of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

® Defendants challenge the treble damages provision of RICO as

violative of the Eighth Amendment’s proscription against excessive

fines. The ment has been flatly rejected with respect to anti-

trust treble damages. See Berkey Photo, Inc. v. Eastman Kodak

Co., 457 F. Supp. 404, 440 (S.D.N.Y. 1979), rev'd on other grounds,

603 F.2d 263 (2d Cir. 1979). The same reasoning applies here. Al-

though there is some sense in which RICO treble damages are

punitive, they are largely ee in the special sense that

they ensure that wrongs will redressed in light of the recog-

nized difficulties of itemizing damages. See Carter v. Berger, 777

F.2d 1173 (7th Cir. 1983).

24a

APPENDIX B

JUDGMENT—ORAL ARGUMENT

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

November 13, 1987.

Before

Hon. WILLIAM J. BAUER, Chief Judge

Hon. JOHN L. COFFEY, Circuit Judge

Hon. JESSE E. ESCHBACH, Senior Circuit Judge

Nos. 86-3001 and

86-3046

Liguip AiR CORPORATION, a Delaware corporation,

Plaintiff-A ppellee,

vs.

JACK R. ROGERS, GOERGE MICHLIk, and

D & R WELDING SuppLy ComPANY, an Illinois Corporation,

and RAYMOND E. BRIDGES and BRIDGES WELDING SUPPLY

& THERAPY, INC.,

Defendants-A ppellants.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Central District of Illinois, Peoria Division.

No. 84 C 1110

MICHAEL M. MIHM, Judge

This cause was heard on the record from the United

States District Court for the Central District of Illinois.

Peoria Division, and was argued by counsel.

ennaneenneenenanmeeell

25a

On consideration whereof, IT IS ORDERED AND AD-

JUDGED by this Court that the judgment of the said

District Court in this cause appealed from be, and the

same is hereby, AFFIRMED, with costs, in accordance

with the opinion of this Court filed this date.

APPENDIX C

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

December 10. 1987

‘

Before

Hon. WILLIAM J. BAUER, Chief Judg

Hon. JOHN L. COFFEY, Circuit Judges

Hon. JESSE E. ESCHBACH, Senior Circuit Judg:

Nos. 86-3001 &

86-3046

JACK R. ROGERS, GEORGE MICHLIK and

D & R WELDING SUPPLY COMPA an Illinois Corp

and

RAYMOND E. BRIDGES and

BRIDGES WELDING SUPPLY & THERAPY, IN

Defendants A ppe ant

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Central District of Illinois, Peoria Division.

]

MICHAEL M. MIHM, Judge

‘ ) «

27a

ORDER

On consideration of the petition for rehearing with sug-

gestion for rehearing en banc filed in the above-entitled

cause by Defendants-Appellants Jack R. Rogers, George

Michlik and D & R Welding Supply Company, no judge

in active service has requested a vote thereon, and all of

the judges on the original panel have voted to deny the

petition for rehearing. Accordingly,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the aforesaid petition

for rehearing be, and the same is, DENIED.

In addition, this court’s opinion of November 13, 1987,

is hereby amended as follows:

Page 2, line 14 should read: “D & R is an Illinois cor-

poration in which two of the shareholders are Jack R.

Rogers and George Michlik.”’

On page 8, in the last sentence of the text, replace

“sovernment” with “plaintiff”

IT IS SO ORDERED

28a

APPENDIX D

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

December 10, 1987

Before

Hon. WILLIAM J. BAUER, Chief Judge

Hon. JOHN L. COFFEY, Circuit Judge

Hon. JESSE E. ESCHBACH, Senior Circuit Judge

No. 86-3001 and

86-3046

Liguip AIR CORPORATION,

Pla int iff-A ppellee 7

VS.

JACK R. ROGERS, GEORGE MICHLIK and D & R WELDING

SuppLy Company, an Illinois Corporation, and RAYMOND

E. BRIDGES and BRIDGES WELDING SuppLy & THERAPY,

INC.,

Defendants-A ppellants.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Central District of Illinois, Peoria Division.

No. 84-1110

MICHAEL M. MIHM, Judge.

ORDER

This matter comes before the court for its consideration

of the “‘Motion to Correct Clerical Mistake in Second

29a

Amended Final Judgment” filed herein on June 1, 1987,

by counsel for the plaintiff-appellee. On consideration

thereof,

IT IS ORDERED that said motion is GRANTED

whereas those corrections have been considered and re-

flected in this court’s opinion decided on November 18,

1987.

30a

APPENDIX E

United States District Court

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

84-1110

Ligtip AIR CORPORATION

V.

RAYMOND E. BripGEs, JACK R. RoGersS, GEORGE MICHLIK.

BRIDGES WELDING SuppPLy & THERAPY. INC. and

D & R WELDING SupPLy Co.

SECOND

AMENDED

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

— Jury Verdict. This action came before the Court for a

trial by jury. The issues have been tried and the jury has

rendered its verdict.

X Decision by Court. This action came to trial or hearing

before the Court. The issues have been tried or heard

and a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that the Judgment

entered August 1, 1986 is amended to the following

amounts:

Count I $2,168,062.00

Count II $2,168,062.00

Count III $2,158,062.00

Count IV $2,168 ,062.00

Count V $ 347,444.40

Count VI $ 0.00

Count VII $ 668,062.00

This amended judgment under Counts IJ through IV re-

flects the damages award after trebling, as amended by

this Order, pursuant to a Second Amended Judgment Or-

der entered on November 14, 1986.

FILED JOHN M. WATERS, Clerk

NOV 17 1986 U.S. DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

November 17, 1986

JOHN M. WATERS

Clerk

/s/ LEONARD D. Brown

(By) Deputy Clerk Leonard D. Brown

32a

APPENDIX F

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

No. 84-1110

Ligtuip AIk CORPORATION, a Delaware corporation,

Plaintiff.

wa

RAYMOND BRIDGES, et al.,

Defendants.

SECOND AMENDED JUDGMENT ORDER

FILED JOHN M. WATERS, Clerk

NOV 14 1986 U.S. DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

This matter coming on to be heard upon the Order of

this Court of October 14, 1986, directing the parties to

determine the number of Liquid Air-owned cylinders held

by Defendant D & R Welding. Inc. during the pendency

of this cause and further directing said Defendant to re-

turn those cylinders to Plaintiff; and it being represented

to the Court that those cylinders, numbering 530, have

been returned,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that:

The judgment entered August 1, 1986, is amended to

reflect a set off for the return of 530 cylinders by the D

& R Defendants to Liquid Air corporation and is hereby

made final. The judgment is also amended to reflect the

amount of prejudgment interest which the Court granted

on Count V in its Order of November 13, 1986. The judg-

33a

ment under each Count is amended to the following

amounts:

Count I $2,168,062.00

Count II $2,168,062.00

Count III $2,168,062.00

Count IV $2,168,062.00

Count V $ 347,444.40

Count VI g 0.00

Count VII $ 668,062.00

The set-off is based on a cylinder value of $154.60 per

cylinder under Counts I through IV and VII and $108.22

per cylinder under Count V.

The amended judgment under Counts I through IV re-

flects the damages award after trebling, as amended by

this Order.

The Clerk is directed to enter an amended judgment,

fine] as of the date of its entry, which reflects the amounts

as amended above.

It is so ordered this 14th day of November, 1986.

/s/ MICHAEL M. Min

Michael M. Mihm

United States District Judge

34a

APPENDIX G

a IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE CENTRAL DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

PEORIA DIVISION

No. 84-C-1110

Liquip AIR CORPORATION, a Delaware corporation,

Plaintiff,

-VS-

RAYMOND E. BripGES, JACK R. ROGERS, GEORGE MICHLIk,

BRIDGES WELDING SUPPLY & THERAPY, INC., an Illinois

corporation, D & R WELDING SUPPLY Company, an Illinois

corporation,

Defendants.

COURT DOCKET CONTINUATION PAGE 18,

ENTRY DATED OCTOBER 14, 1986

Parties pres.by/c. via phone for Hearing on Post Trial

Mots. Argument by/c. (#218 & #201)-Mots. DENIED in

part & GRANTED in part. Magistrate’s Order of 5/6/85

is VACATED. Parties are directed to determine the # of

cylinders & return them by 10/17/86 & counsel to submit

by 10/22/86, a joint proposed 2nd amended judgment. 2nd

Am. Judgment will be final upon its entry by Clerk. Atty.

McNutt to reply to P.MO for Attys. fees & costs by 10/

28/86. Counsel to confer re: how long hearing on P.MO

for Attys. fees & costs will take and to notify Holly by

10/28/86 for scheduling of hearing on same. Oral mo. by

all defts. to extend time to file certain documents—MO

GRANTED until 10/17/86. (copy of docket sheet sent to

atty. Howard by Clerk) (Mihm,J)

35a

Excerpts from Trial Transcript dated October 14, 1986,

Volume 20, Trial Court Docket No. 247 =

Page 4:

THE COURT: Okay, that’s fine. Let’s get into the post-

trial motions then, defendants’ motions. Who is going to

go first?

Page 26-28:

THE COURT: This is Judge Mihm speaking. Can you

all hear me? First of all, Mr. McNutt I believe started out

his argument by indicating that the Court had not actually

had the opportunity to rule—or ruled on the question raised

in terms of the failure of the plaintiff to prove the cylinder

ioss. I think that the record does reflect at other points

in the proceeding that by the denial of defendants’ motions

to various points that that was a question for the jury to

decide and they did decide it. In a few moments here

will be getting into specifically the question of the redut-

tion of the amount of cylinders that is claimed by the

defendants.

In terms of the counting of the cylinders, as to the

junked cylinders, scrapped cylinders, my memory from the

record is that it was the position of the plaintiffs that

junked cylinders were not included on any inventory that

was kept. And, of course, I think it is fair to say that the

defendants argued that there may well have been some

crossover between junked cylinders and non-junked cylin-

ders. And it seems to me that was a question of fact for

the jury to decide. Concerning this question of the state-

ments made by Mr. Schopf in closing statement, I don’t

think that statement or those statements that are claimed

to have been made really change anything. The Court has

added up the number of cylinders that appear on Plaintiff's

36a

Exhibit No. 1. I did it very quickly, and so it may not be

one-hundred percent accurate. But the figure that I came

up with was 5,176, which is certainly in the ballpark of

what was under discussion and the statements made by

Mr. Schopf in terms of reductions from that don’t seem

in any way to be inconsistent with the plaintiff's position

in the case or in the award that was made by the jury.

As to the $4,000 award against Mr. Bridges on the

breach of fiduciary duty, I think in order to consider the

implications of that one has to look at all of the verdicts

that were returned. Mr. Bridges was a co-defendant with

the other defendants in the earlier counts that dealt with

the same subject matter—that is, the cylinders. And in

every one of those other counts the award of the jury was

the same; that is, $750,000.00, which is made up of the

lost cylinders and the lost rental, if you want to call it

that. I certainly can’t say specifically what was in the mind

of those jurors when they set that award in the amount

of $4,000.00. But I don’t think there is anything in that

award in that particular count that as a matter of law

creates verdicts that are inconsistent to the point where

either some type of remittor [sic] or new trial would be

required. It may well be, as the plaintiffs argued, that

they felt sorry for him and since he was the only person

named in that count that they chose that opportunity to

reflect that, but that is speculation also.

The argument that the lost rents were not a valid ba-

rometer or component of damages, it seems to me that

we went through this during the trial and I believe I recall

in finding at that time that certainly it wasn’t necessarily

the one that the jury would accept or it didn’t necessarily

limit the plaintiffs to argue for other types of damages

but that since the contract itself between the parties es-

tablished that as a measure of damages that it was an

appropriate measure of damages for the jury to consider,

and I stil! feel that way.

37a

As to the 259 cylinders that are presently in the pos-

session of the defendant, it seems to me that the simple

thing to do as to those cylinders would be to take that

number and multiply it times 108. Is that the plaintiff's

figure, 108?

Page 32:

THE COURT: The bottom line on all of this is that with

the exception of the reduction reflecting the 259 cylinders,

that all of the post-trial motions are denied.

ad * 7: -

Page 32-33:

THE COURT: I would suggest this: I had indicated that

this order of the Court would be final as of today and

that the time for appeal would start running today. But

it seems to me that this question has got to be resolved

before it can be put to rest. So I would suggest that as

quickly as possible to determine the number of cylinders

and return them and so that the number returned is con-

firmed, and then at that point I would ask counsel to

tender to the Court hopefully a joint proposed amendment

to the judgment. That’s without defendants having waived

any of your objections previously made. But tender sug-

gested wording to the Court on a modified judgment. Then

when I get that I will enter it and then the judgment

would become final as of that date.

7 * a *

Excerpts from Trial Transcript dated November 14, 1986,

Volume 21, Trial Court Docket No. 265.

Page 3:

THE COURT: Yes, we will set a date before you leave

today. I would like to discuss this setoff question first and

resolve that. I think I have read all the pleadings in the

cases cited. I would be happy to consider very brief oral

argument on that.

Page 13:

THE COURT: Well, I appreciate the arguments. As |

said, I think it is not a very clear question, not easy to

resolve. But as I said, my heart is with the defendant,

but my head is with the plaintiffs. 1 believe that the

defendant—or the plaintiff's arguments on this most ac-

curately state the law. So the setoff will occur after the

trebling. It will also apply to Count VI, which I guess will

have the effect of reducing that to zero, right?

39a

APPENDIX H

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

No. 84-1110

Ligtip AIR CORPORATION, « Delaware Corporation,

Plaintiff

“VG-

RAYMOND E. BripGes, JACK R. RoGERS, GEORGE MICHLIk,

GEORGE [SIC] BRIDGES WELDING SuppLy & THERAPY, INC..,

an Ill. Corp. and D & R WE LpING Supp.Ly Co., an Il.

Corp.

Defendants.

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

Jury Verdict. This action came before the Court for a

trial by jury. The issues have been tried and the jury has

rendered its verdict.

X Decision by Court. This action came to trial or hearing

before the Court. The issues have been tried or heard

and a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that Plaintiff is

entitled to Attorney’s Fees and Costs, and Judgment is

hereby entered in favor of Plaintiff and against all

Defendants for the sums of $378,170.58 for attorney’s fees

and $51,412.17 for costs, through December 16, 1986: this

Judgment entered pursuant to Stipulation filed herein De-

cember 16, 1986.

FILED JOHN M. WATERS, Clerk

DEC 18 1986 U.S. DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

40a

December 18, 1985

JOHN M. WATERS

Clerk

s’ LEonaRD D Brown _

(By) Deputy Clerk LEONARD D. BROWN

4la

APPENDIX I

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE CENTRAL DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

PEORIA DIVISION

No. 84-1110

Judge Mihm

Liquip AIR CORPORATION, a Delaware corporation,

Plaintiff,

-VS-

RAYMOND E. BRIDGES, JACK R. ROGERS, GEORGE MICHLIK,

BRIDGES WELDING SuppLY & THERAPY, INC., an Illinois

corporation, D & R WELDING Supp_y Company, an Illinois

corporation,

Defendants.

FILED JOHN M. WATERS, Clerk

DEC 16 1986 U.S. DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

12-16-86 Stipulation allowed Clerk to enter Judgment in

the amounts stipulated. /s)/ MMM

STIPULATION CONCERNING ATTORNEY'S FEES

AND COSTS

Plaintiff Liquid Air Corporation and defendants Ray-

mond E. Bridges, Jack R. Rogers, George Michlik, Bridges

Welding Supply & Therapy, Inc. and D & R Welding Sup-

ply Company, by their respective undersigned attorneys,

hereby stipulate as follows concerning Plaintiff's Petition

for Attorney's Fees and Costs:

1. Plaintiff Liquid Air Corporation, is the prevailing

party at trial on its claims for violations of RICO and for

conversion, breach of fiduciary duty and inducement to

42a

breach of fiduciary duty. As the prevailing party Liquid

Air Corporation is entitled to its reasonable attorney's fees

pursuant to 18 U.S.C. §1964(c) and to its costs pursuant

to 18 U.S.C. §1964(c) and Rule 54(d) of the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure.

2. Plaintiff's reasonable attorney's fees through Decem-

ber 16, 1986, are $378,170.58.

3. Plaintiff's reasonable costs through December 16,

1986, are $51,412.17.

4. Nothing in this stipulation shall be deemed a waiver

or restriction of plaintiff's right to seek or receive rea-

sonable attorney's fees and costs on appeal.

5. In the event that the judgment under any of the

RICO claims is affirmed, in whole or in part, on appeal,

defendants shall be liable to pay to plaintiff $378,170.58

in attorney's fees, exclusive of any attorney’s fees on

appeal which the Court may award pursuant to 18 U.S.C.

§1964(c).

6. In the event that the judgment under any of the

claims is affirmed, in whole or in part, on appeal,

defendants shal] be liable to pay to plaintiff (in addition

to any attorney's fees as provided for in paragraph 5)

$51,412.17 in costs, exclusive of any appeal costs which

the Court may award.

/s/ PauLa E. Litt

One of the Attorneys for Plaintiff

Liquid Air Corporation

/s/ FRANK _H. Byers II]

One of the Attorneys for Defendants

Jack R. Rogers, George M. Michlik,

and D&R Welding Supply Co.

/s/ WittiaM A. McNutt

Attorney for Defendants

Raymond E. Bridges and Bridges

Welding Supply & Therapy, Inc.

43a

THE CONSTITUTION OF THE

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

AMENDMENT V

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or oth-

erwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or in-

dictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the

land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual

service in time of War or public danger; nor shall any

person be subject for the same offense to be twice put in

jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be compelled in any

criminal case to be a witness against himself, nor be de-

' prived of life, liberty, or property, without due process of

law; nor shall private property be taken for public use,

without just compensation.

AMENDMENT VI

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the

right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury of

the State and district wherein the crime shall have been

committed, which district shall have been previously as-

certained by law, and to be informed of the nature and

cause of the accusation; to be confronted with the wit-

nesses against him; to have compulsory process for ob-

taining witnesses in his favor, and to have the Assistance

of Counsel for his defense.

AMENDMENT VIII

Excessive bail shal] not be required, nor excessive fines

imposed, nor cruel and unusual punishments inflicted.

44a

18 U.S.C. §§1961, 1962, 1963 AND 1964

RACKETEER INFLUENCED AND

CORRUPT ORGANIZATION ACT

$1961. Definitions

As used in this chapter [18 USCS §§ 1961 et seq.]—

(1) “racketeering activity’’ means (A) any act or threat

involving murder, kidnaping, gambling, arson, robbery,

bribery, extortion, or dealing in narcotic or other dan-

gerous drugs, which is chargeable under State law and

punishable by imprisonment for more than one year; (B)

any act which is indictable under any of the following

provisions of title 18, United States Code: Section 201

(relating to bribery), section 224 (relating to sports brib-

ery), sections 471, 472, and 473 (relating to counter-

feiting), section 659 (relating to theft from interstate

shipment) if the act indictable under section 659 is fe-

lonious, section 664 (relating to embezzlement from pen-

sion and welfare funds), sections 891-894 (relating to

extortionate credit transactions), section 1084 (relating

to the transmission of gambling information), section

1341 (relating to mail fraud), section 1343 (relating to

wire fraud), section 1503 (relating to obstruction of jus-

tice), section 1510 (relating to obstruction of criminal

investigations), section 1511 (relating to the obstruction

of State or local law enforcement), section 1951 (relating

to interference with commerce, robbery, or extortion),

section 1952 (relating to racketeering), section 1953 (re-

lating to interstate transportation of wagering para-

phernalia), section 1954 (relating to unlawful welfare

fund payments), section 1955 (relating to the prohibition

of illegal gambling businesses), sections 2314 and 2315

(relating to interstate transportation of stolen property),

sections 2341-2346 (relating to trafficking in contraband

cigarettes), sections 2421-24 (relating to white slave

45a

traffic), (C) any act which is indictable under title 29,

United States Code, section 186 [29 USCS § 186] (deal-

ing with restrictions on payments and loans to labor

organizations) or section 501(c) [29 USCS § 501(c)] (re-

lating to embezzlement from union funds), or (D) any

offense involving bankruptcy fraud, fraud in the sale of

securities, or the felonious manufacture, importation, re-

ceiving, concealment, buying, selling, or otherwise deal-

ing in narcotic or other dangerous drugs, punishable

under any law of the United States;

(2) ‘State’? means any State of the United States, the

District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico,

‘any territory or possession of the United States, any

political subdivision, or any department, agency, or in-

strumentality thereof;

(3) “person” includes any individual or entity capable of

holding a legal or beneficial interest in property;

(4) “enterprise’’ includes any individual, partnership,

corporation, association, or other legal entity, and any

union or group of individuals associated in fact although

not a legal entity;

(5) “‘pattern of racketeering activity”’ requires at least

two acts of racketeering activity, one of which occurred

after the effective date of this chapter [enacted Oct. 15,

1970] and the last of which occurred within ten years

(excluding any period of imprisonment) after the com-

mission of a prior act of racketeering activity;

(6) “unlawful debt’? means a debt (A) incurred or con-

tracted in gambling activity which was in violation of

the law of the United States, a State or political sub-

division thereof, or which is unenforceable under State

or Federal law in whole or in part as to principal or

interest because of the laws relating to usury, and (B)

which was incurred in connection with the business of

gambling in violation of the law of the United States,

46a

a State or political subdivision thereof, or the business

of lending money or a thing of value at a rate usurious

under State or Federal law, where the usurious rate is

at least twice the enforceable rate;

(7) ‘racketeering investigator’’ means any attorney or

investigator so designated by the Attorney Generali and

charged with the duty of enforcing or carrying into ef-

fect this chapter [18 USCS §§ 1961 et seq.];

(8) ‘racketeering investigation” means any inquiry con-

ducted by any racketeering investigator for the purpose

of ascertaining whether any person has been involved

in any violation of this chapter [18 USCS §§ 1961 et

seq.] or of any final order, judgment, or decree of any

court of the United States, duly entered in any case or

proceeding arising under this chapter [18 USCS §§ 1961

et seq.];

(9) “documentary material’ includes any book, paper,

document, record, recording, or other material: and

(10) “‘Attorney General” includes the Attorney General

of the United States, the Deputy Attorney General of

the United States, any Assistant Attorney General of

the United States, or any employee of the Department

of Justice or any employee of any department or agency

of the United States so designated by the Attorney Gen-

eral to carry out the powers conferred on the Attorney

General by this chapter [18 USCS §§ 1961 et seq.]. Any

department or agency so designated may use in inves-

tigations authorized by this chapter [18 USCS §§ 1961

et seq.] either the investigative provisions of this chapter

[18 USCS §§ 1961 et seq.] or the investigative power

of such department or agency otherwise conferred by

law.

§ 1962. Prohibited activities

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person who has received

any income derived, directly or indirectly, from a pattern

of racketeering activity or through collection of an unlaw-

47a

ful debt in which such person has participated as a prin-

cipal within the meaning of section 2, title 18, United

States Code [18 USCS § 2], to use or invest, directly or

indirectly, any part of such income, or the proceeds of

such income, in acquisition of any interest in, or the es-

tablishment or operation of, any enterprise which is en-

gages in, or the activities of which affect, interstate or

foreign commerce. A purchase of securities on the open

market for purposes of investment, and without the in-

tention of controlling or participating in the control of the

issuer, or of assisting another to do so, shall not be un-

lawful under this subsection if the securities of the issuer

held by the purchaser, the members of his immediate fam-

ily, and his or their accomplices in any pattern or rack-

eteering activity or the collection of an unlawful debt after

such purchase do not amount in the aggregate to one

percent of the outstanding securities of any one class, and

do not confer, either in law or in fact, the power to elect

one or more directors of the issuer.

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person through a pattern

of racketeering activity or through collection of an unlaw-

ful debt to acquire or maintain, directly or indirectly, any

interest in or control of any enterprise which is engaged

in, or the activities of which affect, interstate or foreign

commerce.

(c) It shall be unlawful for any person employed by or

associated with any enterprise engaged in, or the activities

of which affect, interstate or foreign commerce, to conduct

or participate, directly or indirectly, in the conduct of such

enterprise’s affairs through a pattern of racketeering ac-

tivity or collection of unlawful debt.

(d) It shall be unlawful for any person to conspire to vi-

olate any of the provisions of subsections (a), (b), or (c) of

this section.

48a

§ 1963. Criminal penalties

(a) Whoever violates any provision of section 1962 of this

chapter [J8 USCS § 1962] shall be fined not more than

$25,000 or imprisoned not more than twenty years, or

both, and shall forfeit to the United States (1) any interest

he has acquired or maintained in violation of section 1962

[18 USCS § 1962], and (2) any interest in, security of,

claim against, or property or contractual right of any kind

affording a source of influence over, any enterprise which

he has established, operated, controlled, conducted, or par-

ticipated in the conduct of, in violation of section 1962 [18

USCS § 1962].

(b) In any action-brought by the United States under this

section, the district courts of the United States shall have

jurisdiction to enter such restraining orders or prohibi-

tions, or to take such other actions, including, but not

limited to, the acceptance of satisfactory- performance

bonds, in connection with any property or other interest

subject to forfeiture under this section, as it shall deem

proper.

(c) Upon conviction of a person under this section, the

court shall authorize the Attorney General to seize all prop- ~

erty or other interest declared forfeited under this section

upon such terms and conditions as the court shall deem

proper. If a property right or other interest is not exer-

cisable or transferable for value by the United States, it

shail expire, and shall not revert to the convicted person.

All provision of law relating to the disposition of property,

or the proceeds from the sale thereof, or the remission or

mitigation of forfeitures for violation of the customs laws,

and the compromise of claims and the award of compen-

sation to informers in respect of such forfeitures shall

apply to forfeitures incurred, or alleged to have been in-

curred. under the provisions of this section, insofar as

applicable and not inconsistent with the provisions hereof.

Such duties as are imposed upon the collector of customs

49a

or any other person with respect to the disposition of

property under the customs laws shall be performed under

this chapter [18 USCS §§ 1961 et seq.] by the Attorney

General. The United States shall dispose of all such prop-

erty as soon as commercially feasible, making due provi-

sion for the rights of innocent persons.

§ 1964. Civil remedies

(a) The district courts of the United States shall have ju-

risdiction to prevent and restrain violations of section 1962

of this chapter [18 USCS § 1962] by issuing appropriate

orders, including, but not limited to: ordering any person

to divest himself of any interest, direct or indirect, in any

enterprise; imposing reasonable restrictions on the future

activities or investments of any person, including, but not

limited to, prohibiting any person from engaging in the

same type of endeavor as the enterprise engaged in, the

activities of which affect interstate or foreign commerce;

or ordering dissolution or reorganization of any enterprise,

making due provision for the rights of innocent persons.

(b) The Attorney General may institute proceedings under

this section. In any action brought by the United States

under this section, the court shall proceed as soon as prac- |

ticable to the hearing and determination thereof. Pending

final determination thereof, the court may at any time

enter such restraining orders or prohibitions, or take such

other actions, including the acceptance of satisfactory per-

formance bonds, as it shall deem proper.

(c) Any person injured in his business or property by rea-

son of a violation of section 1962 of this chapter [18 USCS

§ 1962] may sue therefor in any appropriate United States

district court and shall recover threefold the damages he

sustains and the cost of the suit, including a reasonable

attorney’s fee.

(d) A final judgment or decree rendered in favor of the

United States in any criminal proceeding brought by the

50a

United States under this chapter [18 USCS §§ 1961 et

seq.] shall estop the defendant from denying the essential

allegations of the criminal offense in any subsequent civil

proceeding brought by the United States.

bo

fi 8

13:

5la

INDEX TO THE TRIAL TRANSCRIPT

Friday, April 25, 1986, Trial Court Docket No.

154,p.p.1-46 (argument Renewed Motion for Sum-

mary Judgment).

Monday, June 30, 1986, Trial Court Docket No.

291,p.p.1-50 (preliminary trial matters; Motions in

Limine, etc.).

Tuesday, July 1, 1986, Trial Court Docket No.

198,p.p.1-56 (preliminary instructions; legai argu-

ments).

Tuesday, July 1, 1986, Trial Court Docket No.

292,p.p.1-50 (opening statements)

Tuesday, July 1, 1986, Trial Court Docket No.

199,p.p.1-143 (Sage).

Wednesday, July 2, 1986, Trial Court Docket N

199A, p.p.1-34 (legal arguments)

Wednesday, July 2, 1986, Trial Court Qocket N

293,p.p.1-107 (Sage; McCaw)

Monday, July 7, 1986, Trial Court Docket Nv

294,p.p.1-20 (Motion for Continuancs

Wednesday, July 9, 1986, Tria) Court Docket No.

219,p.p.1-277 (McCaw; Bridges).

: Thursday, July 10, 1986, Trial Court Docket No.

220,p.p.1-281 (Bridges; Stanfield; Michlik; Penny-

packer).

Friday, July 11, 1986, Trial Court Docket No.

221,p.p.1-240 (Kimberlin; Smith; McGlaughlin; Alex-

ander; Miller; Elliott; Helle).

2: Saturday, July 12, 1986, Trial Court Docket No.

222.p.p.1-240 (J.D. Rogers; Gilmore; Gano; Miller,

C.Bridges; B.Koontz; Dunn).

Monday, July 14, 1986, Trial Court Docket No.

223 p.p.1-236 (Northcutt; Bauer, Wilder; Haynes;

Zeilman; Lacox; Wiggins).

14:

52a

Tuesday, July 15, 1986, Trial Court Docket No.

224,p.p.1-189 (Strate; J.R. Rogers).

: Wednesday, July 16, 1986, Trial Court Docket No.

226,p.p.1-27 (McCaw).

- Wednesday (mislabeled ‘‘Tuecday’’), July 16, 1986,

Trial Court Docket No. 225,p.p.1-52 (jury instruc-

tions conference).

7: Wednesday (mislabeled “‘July 10, 1986”), July 16,

1986, Trial Court Docket No. 295,p.p.1-134 Qury in-

structions conference).

: Thursday, July 17, 1986, Trial Court Docket No.

296,p.p.1-175 (jury instructions conference).

Friday, July 18, 1986, Trial Court Docket No.

242\p.p.1-178 (closing argument; verdict).

Tuesday, October 14, 1986, Trial Court Docket No.

247,p.p.1-37 (argument on post-trial motions).

November 14, 1986, Trial Court Docket No.

(hearing on motions).

11. 1986. Trial Court Docket No

‘ 4

+ (A1exander).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.