Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kirk v. Michael Reese Hospital & Medical Center

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ce ee

= ee ie Cee ee.

a 1870

Iu The

JAN 4 1968

F. SPANIOL,

LERK

Supreme Court of the United

@ctober Term, 1987

JAMES D. KIRK,

Petitioner,

v8.

MICHAEL REESE HOSPITAL AND MEDICAL

CENTER, IRVING H. TRACER, M.D., HENRY

K. FINE, M.D., E.R. SQUIBB AND SONS,

INC., AND SMITHKLINE CLINICAL

LABORATORIES, INC.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS

ANDREW J. Horwitz, EsqQ.,

Counsel of Record for Petitioner

Marc A. PERPER, Esq.

180 North LaSalle Street, Suite 1025

Chicago, Illinois 60601

(312) 372-8822 / (815) 723-8822

Attorneys for the Petitioner,

JAMES D. KIRK.

Of Counsel:

Horwitz, Horwitz & AssociaTEs, LTD.

January 4, 1988

=

Pandick Technologies, Inc., Chicago © (312) 236-0200

:

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. WHETHER A LITIGANT IS DEPRIVED

OF CONSTITUTIONALLY PROTECTED

LIBERTY AND PROPERTY INTERESTS

WITHOUT DUE PROCESS OF LAW,

AND HIS RIGHT TO EQUAL PRO-

TECTION OF THE LAW, WHEN THE

STATE COURT OF LAST RESORT, WITH-

OUT JURISDICTION, DIRECTLY VIO-

LATES iTS OWN LEGALLY PROMUL-

GATED AND PUBLISHED RULES AND

STANDING ORDERS WITHOUT GIVING

THE AFFECTED PARTY AN OPPORTU-

NITY TO RESPOND.

Il. WHETHER A PLAINTIFF IN A CIVIL

CASE IS DEPRIVED OF HIS DUE PRO-

CESS RIGHT TO A FAIR TRIAL AND

FAIR ACCESS TO THE COURTS WHEN

THE STATE COURT OF LAST RESORT

ACCEPTS AS TRUE THE ALLEGATIONS

OF AN AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE AND

DISMISSES PLAINTIFF’S COMPLAINT,

WITHOUT ALLOWING THE PLAINTIFF

AN OPPORTUNITY TO PRESENT EVI-

DENCE TO A TRIER OF FACT.

Il. WHETHER THE COURT VIOLATED THE

EQUAL PROTECTION-CLAUSE OF THE

FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT WHEN IT

IMMUNIZED PHYSICIANS FROM CIVIL

LIABILITY FOR FAILING TO PROVIDE A

SIMPLE WARNING TO PATIENTS NOT TO

DRINK ALCOHOL OR DRIVE AN AUTO-

MOBILE WHILE TAKING PRESCRIBED

MOOD-ALTERING DRUGS, WHERE THE

MINIMUM STANDARDS OF THE MED-

ICAL PROFESSION REQUIRE SUCH A

WARNING, AND NO OTHER CLASS OF

PROFESSIONALS OR LAY PERSONS HAS

EVER BEEN AFFORDED SUCH BLANKET

IMMUNITY.

ii

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties to this appeal and to the proceedings below

are the Petitioner, JAMES D. KIRK, and the Respondents,

MICHAEL REESE HOSPITAL AND MEDICAL CENTER;

IRVING H. TRACER, M.D.; HENRY K. FINE, M_.D.; E.R.

SQUIBB & SONS, INC.; AND SMITHKLINE CLINICAL

LABORATORIES, INC. Other parties who appeared below

but are not named as Respondents herein include DANIEL

McCARTHY, a Defendant at the trial court level but

not a party to the appeal; the Pharmaceutical Manufac-

turers Association, the Illinois Hospital Association, the

Metropolitan Chicago Health Care Council and the Illinois

Association of Defense Trial Counsel, all of whom filed

briefs amici curiae in the Supreme Court of Ilinois in sup-

port of the Respondents’ arguments; and the Illinois Trial

Lawyers Association, which filed a brief amicus curiae in

the Supreme Court of Ilinois in support of the Petitioner’s

argument.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

LIST OF PARTIES

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND

STATUTES

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

Petitioner was deprived of constitutionally pro-

tected liberty and property interests without

due process of law, and was denied equal pro-

tection of the law, when the Illinois Supreme

Court directly violated its own rules by recon-

sidering a case which had already been finally

adjudicated and for which the court had no juris-

diction for further proceedings, without giving

Petitioner an opportunity to respond to Respon-

dents’ Motion for Reconsideration, which was

itself in violation of state law .............

Petitioner was deprived of his due process right

to a fair trial and fair access to the courts

when the state supreme court accepted as true

the allegations of an affirmative defense and

dismissed Plaintiff’s Third Amended Complaint

without allowing Plaintiff an opportunity to pre-

sent evidence to a trier of fact in support of the

allegations of his complaint..........-..--- ‘

See ee Se Oe ee ES. CRO Oo OC

on ee oe a a Oe ee ee Se Re SOC BF eo 6.84

oa ee a eo ee ee ee. ee eee Fe ee Se Ss

Pe Cee Ae ee oe. eee Se we Se Oe 8 €- oe ©

i pi a ee ee Ce oe Ce 2 CC's 4 6 ee 8 8 SF

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

eo fon - 6 Oe 6 8&6 6€ 8 646 ©

a ie oe © £' és 6 >

iv

Page

Ill. No legitimate basis exists under the Equal

Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment for immunizing a physician from civil

liability to persons injured as a result of his

failure to warn patients not to drink alcohol

or operate motor vehicles while taking mood-

altering drugs prescribed by that physician, as

the minimum standards of the medical profes-

sion require such a warning, and no other class

of professionals or lay persons has ever been

entitled to such blanket immunity........... 17

COME SS oc es 20

ac con onc, Oe EN Me MS ORO ee la

Opinion of the Supreme Court of Ilinois....... 2a

Order of the Supreme Court of Ilinois dated

wo ee cca. ee 27a

Respondents’ Notices of Motion dated February

SG GN I RIO seks 2 SS, A i. 29a

Order of the Supreme Court of Illinois dated

IT a 33a

PEIN RE eeege, OF eRe ee 34a

Orders of the Circuit Court of Cook County,

County Department, Law Division (Gomberg, J.)

from which appeal was taken.............. 52a

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Baltimore & O. R.R. Co. v. United States, 298 U.S.

ce es Bee wy aw Bk wa 14

In re Estate of Buchman, 123 Cal.App.2d 546, 267

fp 5 2: en ee or re 15

Collins v. Superior Court, 150 Cal.App.2d 354, 310

PA Be CE i on SS AT ORR ER ieee ce casses 14

Duval v. Goldin, 362 N.W.2d 274 (Mich.App. 1984) .. 18

Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438 (1972) .......... 18

Freeze v. Lemmon, 210 N.W.2d 576 (lowa 1973). .... 18

Gooden v. Tips, 651 S.W.2d 364 (Tex.App. 1983)..... 18

Irwin v. Town of Ware, 457 N.E.2d 1292 (Mass.

SO on. BEES 5 ERR PERO GEASS C8 6 eo 18

Jenkins v. McKeithen, 395 U.S. 411 (1969)......... 14

Johnson v. Colley, 111 Ill.2d 468, 490 N.E.2d 685

(1986), cert. denied, _.U.S. __, 107 S.Ct. 113, 93

Bare an ae Paras eras ree 12

Kaiser v. Suburban Transp Sys., 398 P.2d 14 (Wash.

NE 5 ik oe PRED EERE D BEARER ROSS 8 8 18

Kirk v. Michael Reese Hosp. and Medical Center, 117

Ill.2d 507, 513 N.E.2d 387 (1987) ............ 5, 14

Kirk v. Michael Reese Hosp. and Medical Center, 136

Ill.App.3d 945, 483 N.E.2d 906 (1st Dist. 1985) .. 4, 16

LeStrange v. Berkeley, 210 Cal.App.2d 313, 26

Cal.Rptr. 550 (1962) .......-- 222s ee eeeeeees 15

vi

Cases: Page

Lipari v. United States, 497 F.Supp. 185 (D. Neb.

RO bain dé vc Kae 6M 0 a Peeks Ok 6a

Louisville & N. R.R. Co. v. Finn, 235 U.S. 601

CRO th nav gnc) cp cbecudas cen eamelecc ness

Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 U.S. 422

| PERT E ek eed eee ed Pe) pee ete

People v. Barker, 59 T11.2d 201, 319 N.E.2d 810

Pr ero rye ae 3) Ses Ce ces

Rubin v. Kohn, 344 Il. 166, 176 N.E. 259 (1931) .. 9,10

San Antonio Independent School Dist. v. Rodriguez,

GE We ha ik inn eh Bh ns ic nn

Washington ex rel. Oregon R.R. & Nav. Co. v.

Fairchild, 224 U.S. 510 (1912) ................

Watkins v. United States, 489 F.2d 214 (5th Cir.

ROGGE .% 2 ¥.0 6a b Seeawae es e e Se.

Welke v. Kuzilla, 375 N.W. 405 (Mich.App. 1985)... .

18

No.

—__=——XK—KOe__E eee

Iu The

Supreme Court of the United States

@ctober Term, 1987

JAMES D. KIRK,

Petitioner,

v8.

MICHAEL REESE HOSPITAL AND MEDICAL

CENTER, IRVING H. TRACER, M.D., HENRY

K. FINE, M.D., E.R. SQUIBB AND SONS,

INC., AND SMITHELINE CLINICAL

LABORATORIES, INC.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS

The Petitioner, JAMES D. KIRK, respectfully prays

that a Writ of Certiorari issue to review the judgment and

opinion of the Supreme Court of Illinois, entered in the

above-entitled proceeding on October 5, 1987.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Illinois is reported

at 117 Il.2d 507, 513 N.E.2d 387, and is reprinted in the

appendix hereto, p.2a, infra.

2

The opinion of the Appellate Court of Mllinois, First

Judicial District, is reported at 136 DlL.App.3d 945, 483

N.E.2d 906, and is reprinted in the appendix hereto, p.34a,

infra.

The pertinent orders of the Circuit Court of Cook

County, Illinois, County Department, Law Division

(Gomberg, J.) are unpublished, and are reprinted in the

appendix hereto, p.52a, infra.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Supreme Court of Illinois was

entered on July 13, 1987, reversing the decision of the

Appellate Court of Illinois entered on August 28, 1985,

which had in turn reversed the trial court’s dismissal of

Plaintiff’s Third Amended Complaint. On October 5, 1987,

on denial of rehearing, the Supreme Court of Illinois mod-

ified its opinion of July 13, 1987, with no substantive

changes. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under

28 U.S.C. Section 1257(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

AND STATUTES INVOLVED

The Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the

United States provides, in pertinent part, as follows:

No State wy Rogers or enforce any law oo

shall abridge privileges or immunities of cit-

izens of the United States; nor shall any State

deprive any person of life, liberty, or property

without due process of law; nor deny to any person

within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the

laws.

U.S. CONST. amend. XIV, Section 1.

3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

~ The Plaintiff-Petitioner, JAMES D. KIRK, filed a six-

count complaint for personal injuries, alleging that one

DANIEL McCARTHY (“McCarthy”), a Defendant below,

received psychiatric treatment at MICHAEL REESE

HOSPITAL AND MEDICAL CENTER (“Reese”) from

Defendants IRVING R. TRACER, MLD. (“Tracer”) and

HENRY K. FINE, M.D. (“Fine”) on August 1, 1978. The

doctors ordered that McCarthy be administered two pre-

scription drugs: Prolixin Decanoate, manufactured by

Defendant E.R. SQUIBB & SONS, INC. (“Squibb”), and

Thorazine, manufactured by Defendant SMITHKLINE

CLINICAL LABORATORIES, INC. (“Smithkline”). Hospi-

tal personnel injected McCarthy with Prolixin Decanoate

and gave him Thorazine for oral consumption.

On the same day, McCarthy was discharged from the

Defendant hospital. He then consumed an alcoholic bev-

erage and drove his automobile with Plaintiff as a passen-

ger. The drugs diminished McCarthy’s mental and physi-

cal abilities, causing him to lose control of his car. As a

result, the automobile struck a tree, causing severe and

permanent injuries to the Plaintiff.

Counts One through Three of Plaintiff’s Third

Amended Complaint allege medical negligence against

Reese, Tracer and Fine, in that they failed to warn

McCarthy prior to his discharge from the hospital that

the drugs would impair his physical and mental abilities,

although the Defendants knew or should have known of

the adverse effects of the drugs.

Counts Four and Five of the complaint, predicated on

strict products liability, allege that the prescription drugs

were unreasonably dangerous in that Defendants Squibb

and Smithkline, as manufacturers, and Defendant Reese,

as a dispenser of the medications, failed to provide ade-

quate warnings to the health care providers relative to the

adverse effects of the drugs. Count Six of the complaint is

not involved in the present appeal.

a

In a series of unpublished orders, the Circuit Court of

Cook County, Illinois, County Department, Law Division,

Hon. Myron T. Gomberg, J., dismissed Counts One through

Five of the complaint for failure to state a claim, hold-

ing as a matter of law that the Defendants owed no duty

to the Plaintiff (App. 52a-55a). The Appellate Court of

Illinois, Hon. Dom Rizzi, J., reversed and remanded. Kirk

v. Michael Reese Hosp. and Medical Center, 136 011.App.3d

945, 483 N.E.2d 906 (1st Dist. 1985). The appellate court

held that the Defendant drug manufacturers had a duty

to adequately warn health care providers of the adverse

effects of the drugs, and that the Defendant health care

providers in turn had a duty to adequately warn their

patient that the drugs would impair his mental and phys-

ical abilities. Those duties implicitly protect members of

the public who would foreseeably be injured by a failure to

warn (App. 34a).

Each of the five Defendants filed separate Petitions

for Leave to Appeal to the Supreme Court of Illinois. On

February 5, 1986, in five separate orders, the supreme

court denied leave to appeal on each of the Defendants’

several petitions (App. 33a).

On February 24, 1986, in contravention of a standing

supreme court order which had been in effect for over six

years, the Defendants served Plaintiff’s counsel with a doc-

ument styled, “Motion for Leave to File Motion for Recon-

sideration and Motion for Reconsideration.” Rather than

filing said document with the clerk of court in Springfield,

Illinois, the Defendants instead sent copies of their pur-

ported “motion” directly to each of the seven Justices of the

supreme court at their respective local addresses across the

state (App. 29a-32a).

On March 18, 1986, the supreme court entered an

order as follows: (1) allowing Defendants’ motion for leave

to file a motion for reconsideration; (2) allowing Defen-

dants’ motion for reconsideration; and (3) allowing Defen-

Ce ete thas ys ios

5

dants’ petitions for leave to appeal, which had previously

been denied (App.27a-28a). The court’s action violated the

express terms of the court’s own standing order entered

November 15, 1979. That standing order barred the filing

of motions for reconsideration of orders denying leave to

appeal. The standing order further directed the clerk of

the supreme court not to accept such motions and to return

them unfiled to the tendering parties.

On July 13, 1987, with one justice dissenting and

two not participating, the Supreme Court of [linois, Hon.

Daniel P. Ward, J., reversed the decision of the appellate

court and reinstated the trial court’s dismissal of Counts

One through Five of the complaint. On October 5, 1987,

on denial of Plaintiff’s petition for rehearing, the court’s

opinion was modified without substantive changes in the

majority cpinion. Kirk v. Michael Reese Hosp. and Medical

Center, 117 I1l.2d 507, 513 N.E.2d 387 (1987) (App. 2a).

The court’s majority opinion made no reference to the

unusual procedural history of the case in the supreme

court. Specifically, the opinion made no mention of the

fact that Defendants’ petitions for leave to appeal had ini-

tially been denied. The opinion also failed to mention that

the Defendants had filed a purported “motion for leave to

file motion for reconsideration and motion for reconsider-

ation.” The opinion also failed to mention that the pur-

ported “motion” was in violation of the express terms of

the November 15, 1979 standing order. The opinion also

failed to mention that the Defendants mailed copies of their

purported “motion” directly to each of the seven justices

at their local addresses across the state, rather than filing

same with the court clerk as required by law. See Illinois

Supreme Court Rule 361, Ill.Rev.Stat. Ch. 110A, Par. 361.

The majority opinion also failed to mention that the

court had simultaneously granted Defendants’ motion for

leave to file a motion for reconsideration, their motion for

reconsideration, and their petitions for leave to appeal,

6

without allowing Plaintiff an opportunity to respond to

Defendants’ motion for reconsideration. The opinion also

failed to mention that by hearing and ultimately granting

such motions, the court had violated the express terms of

its own standing order originally entered on November 15,

1979. The majority’s sole reference to the procedural pos-

ture of the case was an oblique recital that the Defendants

“filed petitions for leave to appeal in this court under our

Rule 315(a) [103 I1l.2d R. 315(a)); we allowed the petitions

and consolidated the five appeals.” 513 N.E.2d at 390.

In its decision affirming the trial court’s dismissal

of Plaintiff’s complaint, the supreme court accepted as

true the allegations of an affirmative defense claimed by

the Defendant pharmaceutical manufacturers based on

the “learned intermediary” doctrine. That doctrine holds

that a drug manufacturer who adequately warns a health

care provider of the adverse effects of its product will be

absolved of liability to persons injured by the health care

provider’s failure to warn his patient. In the present case,

the supreme court effectively held that the mere assertion

of the learned intermediary defense by a pharmaceutical

manufacturer is sufficient to mandate dismissal of a com-

plaint alleging that a pharmaceutical manufacturer failed

to adequately warn of the adverse effects of its drugs, with-

out regard to the existence of factual questions relative to

whether such warnings were actually given, or if so, the

adequacy thereof.

The supreme court further held that public policy

requires special protection for physicians and hospitals

whose legal misconduct causes injury to foreseeable vic-

tims. Such extraordinary protection applies to health care

providers even where their wrongful acts violate the very

standards applicable to members of the medical profession.

According to the supreme court, a procedural change in

medical negligence law enacted by the Illinois General

Assembly in 1986 was sufficient to retroactively change

4

Lf

5)

a

-

™

Se a ot Dera er ee ee Cc oa

" Re teh lini Ae Aare AE nes wth

7

the substantive law applicable to persons injured by wrong-

ful ‘acts of doctors and hospitals in 1978. Because the

state legislature has recently imposed certain procedural

requirements on persons bringing new medical malprac-

tice lawsuits in the future, the supreme court held that

for reasons of public policy, doctors should no longer be

legally required to warn patients not to consume alcohol or

drive a car while under the influence of mood-altering pre-

scription drugs. According to the supreme court, a physi-

cian who fails to convey such a simple warning should be

immune from liability to persons injured as a result of a

patient’s consumption of alcohol or operation of a motor

vehicle while using such prescribed medication.

8

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I, PETITIONER WAS DEPRIVED OF CON-

STITUTIONALLY PROTECTED LIB-

ERTY AND PROPERTY INTERESTS

WITHOUT DUE PROCESS OF LAW,

AND WAS DENIED EQUAL PRO-

TECTION OF THE LAW, WHEN

THE ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT

DIRECTLY VIOLATED ITS OWN

RULES BY RECONSIDERING A

CASE WHICH HAD ALREADY BEEN

FINALLY ADJUDICATED AND FOR

WHICH THE COURT HAD NO JURIS-

DICTION FOR FURTHER PROCEED.-

INGS, WITHOUT GIVING PETITIONER

AN OPPORTUNITY TO RESPOND TO

RESPONDENTS’ MOTION FOR RECON-

SIDERATION, WHICH WAS ITSELF IN

VIOLATION OF STATE LAW.

A standing order of the Illinois Supreme Court, in force

since November 15, 1979, provides in pertinent part as

follows:

The rules of this court make no provision for filing

of a motion for reconsideration of an order of this

court denying a petition for leave to appeal or

petition for rehearing. The Clerk of the Supreme

Court is directed not to accept or file such motions

and is further directed to return them to the ten-

dering party or attorney.

The obvious import of this rule is that no petition for recon-

sideration of an order denying a petition for leave to appeal

should be presented to the state supreme court.

It might be argued that a technical difference some-

how exists between a “motion for leave to file” a petition

for reconsideration and the petition itself. Nevertheless, in

all practical respects a motion for “leave to file” the peti-

tion is, in reality, the same as the petition itself, whether

the motion effectively constitutes the petition or consists

merely of a sentence attached to the petition. In either

event, the two are identical.

PR ees rane eed be es

9

That both the intent and the effect of the two pleadings

are identical is evidenced in the instant case, in which the

state supreme court simultaneously granted Defendants’

motion “for leave to file a petition for reconsideration,”

their “petition for reconsideration,” and their petition for

leave to appeal, without affording Plaintiff an opportunity

to respond to the petition for reconsideration after its filing

had been allowed. It is also curious that the supreme

court’s published opinion on the merits omits any reference

to the Byzantine procedural history of this case. If one

were to read the court’s published opinion without having

independent knowledge of the manner in which the court

agreed to hear the case in the first instance, one would be

unaware that the court initially denied leave to appeal and

later reversed itself in violation of its own rules. Plaintiff

submits that the court’s actions deprived James Kirk of

his constitutionally protected liberty and property interests

without due process of law, and denied him equal protec-

tion of the law, in violation of the Fourteenth Amendment

to the United States Constitution.

The Dlinois Supreme Court has promulgated and pub-

lished rules and orders governing appellate procedure.

These rules provide notice to litigants and members of the

bar regarding the manner in-which appeals are perfected.

For example, Illinois Supreme Court Rule 367 provides for

a rehearing of an appeal only after a reviewing court.issues

an opinion. I1]l.Rev.Stat., Ch. 110A, Par. 367. The Rule

“does not allow petitions for rehearing to be filed from deci-

sions denying petitions for leave to appeal.” Smith-Hurd

Ann. Stat., Ch. 110A, Par. 367, Historical and Practice

Notes at 309. Similarly, Rule-361, which governs motion

practice in the reviewing courts, was not intended to per-

mit motions not otherwise recognized by law. People v.

Barker, 59 111.2d 201, 205-206, 319 N.E.2d 810, 812 (1974).

Furthermore, denial of a petition for leave to appeal is a

final adjudication of the case, leaving no jurisdiction for

further proceedings. See Rubin v. Kohn, 344 Ill. 166, 172,

176 N.E. 259 (1931).

10

This case involves fundamental rights arising under

the Constitution of the United States. The legal principal

underlying the due process and equal protection violations

is whether a branch of government, in the case the state

supreme court, should follow its own rules or may arbi-

trarily create or destroy claims. This Court addressed the

issue in a somewhat different context in United States v.

Nixon, 418 U.S. 683 (1974). In Nixon, the President of the

United States disobeyed a federal regulation allowing the

Watergate special prosecutor to contest a claim of execu-

tive privilege. Pointing out that the regulation in question

had the force of law, this Court held that

[aJs long as this regulation remains in force the

Executive Branch is bound by it, and indeed the

United States as the sovereign composed of three

branches of government is bound to respect and to

enforce it.

Id., at 696. In other words, the branches of government

are “bound to respect and to enforce” their own rules.

Similarly, in Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455

U.S. 422 (1982), the Illinois Supreme Court had refused to

hear a case arising under the former Illinois Fair Employ-

ment Practices Act because it was not timely processed by a

state agency. This Court held that the claimant had a con-

stitutionally protected liberty and property interest in his -

state-created claim, and that he was unlawfully deprived

of that protected interest without due process of law by the

court’s refusal to hear the case.

The instant case is analogous to both Nixon and Logan.

Here, the state supreme court failed to follow and enforce

its own rules. Plaintiff had a protected interest in seeing

that the state court system follow its own rules when adju-

dicating his case. See Nixon at 696. Plaintiff likewise had

a state-created property interest in the final judgment of

the intermediate-level appellate court, for which leave to

appeal had been denied by the state supreme court. See

Logan, at 430; Cf. Rubin v. Kohn, 344 Ill. at 172. At a bare

gis \ neeit ON

11

minimum, Plaintiff should have been afforded the opportu-

nity to respond in writing to Defendants’ motion for recon-

sideration, once the supreme court granted “leave to file”

that motion. Instead, the court granted “leave to file” the

motion and simultaneously granted the motion itself. Once

a person establishes a constitutionally protected interest,

the Fourteenth Amendment defines the minimum proce-

dural requirements which protect that interest. Logan, at

430. The Illinois Supreme Court therefore deprived James

Kirk of his constitutionally protected liberty and property

interests, and that deprivation was without due process of

law.

Furthermore, the supreme court by its action created

two classes of lawyers and litigants. The first class con-

sists of lawyers who read, understand and follow the pub-

lished opinions, rules and orders of court, and their clients.

The second class consists of those lawyers who do not read,

understand or follow published opinions, rules and orders

of court, or who may circumvent the rules by utilizing

occult procedural maneuvers known only to a few select

“in” members of the bar, and their clients. Such a classifi-

cation is constitutionally impermissible, as it violates the

Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to

the Constitution of the United States.

Like other branches of government, courts should be

expected to follow their own rules. A failure by the high-

est appellate tribunal of a state to follow its own rules

can only erode public confidence in the judicial system and

encourage sloppy, incompetent practice by lawyers. The

Illinois judiciary and bar are now struggling to maintain

public credibility in the face of the well-publicized Opera-

tion Greylord investigation. It is therefore vital, now more

than ever before, that the judicial branch of state govern-

ment take care to respect and enforce its own rules.

12

The Illinois Supreme Court has now developed a pat-

tern of reconsidering final denials of leave to appeal, in

violation of its own rules. In Johnson v. Colley, 111 011.2d

468, 490 N.E.2d 685 (1986), cert denied, _._U.S.__., 107

S.Ct. 113, 93 L.Ed.2d 60 (1986), the supreme court violated

its own standing order by granting a motion for reconsid-

eration of its denial of a petition for leave to appeal. In

Johnson, the court examined its own action and found that

it did not act unconstitutionally in granting a motion for

reconsideration which violated the court’s own rules, and

reversing the appellate court after having first denied leave

to appeal. Thus, the case at bar is at least the second in a

series of cases in which the court has effectively abrogated

its own legally promulgated and published rules of proce-

dure without notice to members of the bar. If the state

supreme court in fact wishes to change the principal that

denials of leave to appeal in Dlinois constitute final judg-

ments, and instead establish a new procedure whereby the

court can reconsider a prior denial of a petition for leave to

appeal, the court should change its own rules and vacate its

standing order on the subject so as to provide notice to the

bench and bar. Otherwise, each time the court reconsiders

prior denials of petitions for leave to appeal, it unconstitu-

tionally deprives the litigants who prevailed below of state-

created liberty and property rights, and denies equal pro-

tection of the law to that class of attorneys and litigants

who choose to follow the legally established supreme court

rules.

13

Il. PETITIONER WAS DEPRIVED OF HIS

- DUE PROCESS RIGHT TO A FAIR

TRIAL AND FAIR ACCESS TO THE

COURTS WHEN THE STATE SUPREME

COURT ACCEPTED AS TRUE THE

ALLEGATIONS OF AN AFFIRMA-

TIVE DEFENSE AND DISMISSED

PLAINTIFF’S THIRD AMENDED COM-

PLAINT WITHOUT ALLOWING PLAIN-

TIFF AN OPPORTUNITY TO PRESENT

EVIDENCE TO A TRIER OF FACT IN

SUPPORT OF THE ALLEGATIONS OF

HIS COMPLAINT.

In spite of the fact that the instant case came before

the state supreme court on a motion to dismiss a com-

plaint for failure to state a claim, rather than on a motion

for summary judgment, the court effectively accepted as

true the allegations of Defendants Squibb and Smithkline

regarding the existence and adequacy of certain warnings

purportedly conveyed by them to the Defendant health

care providers. Those pharmaceutical Defendants had

raised the “learned intermediary” doctrine as an affirma-

tive defense of sorts. That doctrine absolves drug manu-

facturers of civil liability if they adequately warn health

care providers of the side effects of prescription drugs.

However, the state supreme court relied only on a bare

allegation of a “learned intermediary” defense contained in

a motion to dismiss to completely absolve the drug manu-

facturer Defendants, with no opportunity for the trier of

fact to determine whether warnings were in fact given,

and if so, the adequacy thereof. According to the court,

the pharmaceutical Defendants should not

have reasonably foreseen that their drugs

would be dispensed without warnings by the

physicians ...This sequence would be triggered

by an element that we a have determined that the

pharmaceutical companies did not have to fore-

see under the circumstances shown here: that the

drugs would be dispensed without the warnings that

the two companies provided to the physicians.

14

Kirk v. Michael Reese Hosp. and Medical Center, 117 111.2d

507, 513 N.E.2d 387, 394 (1987) (emphasis supplied). The

court’s analysis would be correct only if Smithkline and

Squibb had shown as a matter of law that they gave ade-

quate warnings to the “learned intermediaries,” i.e., the

doctors, in the first instance. Only then could the “learned

intermediary” doctrine absolve the drug companies of lia-

bility to persons injured by a physician’s failure to warn.

Yet nothing in the Record demonstrates that any such

warnings were even given in the case at bar, let alone

whether the warnings were adequate as a matter of law.

Nor was Plaintiff given an opportunity to dispute that fact.

Plaintiff submits that the liberty interest in access

to the courts, protected by the Due Process Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the United

States, includes the right to have a trier of fact, whether

judge or jury, determine disputed questions of fact in a civil

case. No court has the right to accept as true the bare alle-

gations of an affirmative defense and dismiss a Plaintiff’s

complaint without affording him the opportunity to present

evidence in support of his claim.

The right to present evidence is essential to the fair

hearing required by the due process clause. Jenkens v.

McKeithen, 395 U.S. 411 (1969). Due process is absent

if a party is deprived of liberty or property without evi-

dence having been presented in accordance with estab-

lished rules. Collins v. Superior Court, 150 Cal.App.2d

354, 310 P.2d 103 (1957). Mere fiat may not take the

place of factfinding in the determination of issues involv-

ing liberty or property. See Manley v. Georgia, 279 U.S.

1 (1929). The right under the due process clause to a full

hearing includes the right of the litigants to introduce evi-

dence and have findings based thereon. Baltimore & O.

R.R. Co. v. United States, 298 U.S. 349 (1936); Louisville

& N. R.R. Co. v. Finn, 235 U.S. 601 (1915); Washington

ex rel. Oregon R. & Nav. Co. v. Fairchild, 224 U.S. 510

15

(1912). Where disputed factual questions exist, due process

implies the hearing of evidence from both sides in open

court, a comparison of the merits of the evidence, a con-

clusion from the evidence as to where the truth lies, the

application of law to fact, and the rendition of judgment

accordingly. Cf., in re Estate of Buchman, 123 Cal.App.2d

546, 267 P.2d 73 (1954). The “fair trial” that is essential

to due process requires that the finder of fact must know,

consider, and appraise the evidence. LeStrange v. Berkeley,

210 Cal.App.2d 313, 26 Cal.Rptr. 550 (1962).

In the present case, the supreme court’s opinion does

acknowledge that in ruling on a motion to dismiss for fail-

ure to state a claim, all well-pleaded facts must be taken

as true according to Illinois law. 513 N.E.2d at 390. No

serious doubt ever existed that Plaintiff’s complaint suffi-

ciently alleged a failure by Squibb and Smithkline to ade-

quately warn the physicians relative to the tendency of

their products to impair a patient’s physical and mental

capacities. Plaintiff has a right to prove before a trier of

fact that the warnings given by Squibb and Smithkline, if

any, were inadequate. The unfairness of depriving Plain-

tiff of that right was recognized by Justice Simon’s sting-

ing dissent in the case sub judice, when he wrote that

“(t]he majority, in assuming the warnings were adequate,

deprives the plaintiff of his right to present evidence to

a trier of fact relative to the existence and sufficiency of

the warnings.” 513 N.E.2d at 402 (Simon, J., dissenting).

Similarly, the Dlinois Appellate Court correctly noted that

the sufficiency of the warnings is not resolved

judicially ..., but remains a question to be resolved

by the trier of the fact...Here, since the counts

against the drug manufacturers were dismissed

because of a failure to state a cause of action

(Ill.Rev.Stat.1983, Ch. 110, Par. 2-615), the fac-

tual question as to the adequacy of warnings that

allegedly were included as package inserts or that

may have been given by the medical profession is

not before us.

|

16

Kirk v. Michael Reese Hosp., 136 [ll.App.3d 945, 483

N.E.2d 906, 911, n.2 (1st Dist. 1985) (emphasis supplied).

By accepting the Defendants’ unsubstantiated allega-

tions as true, the state supreme court effectively decided

a disputed factual issue on the basis of unauthenticated

documents and baseless arguments of counsel, without giv-

ing Plaintiff the opportunity to respond under some recog-

nized rule of procedure. No affidavits were ever filed by the

Defendants. No opportunity was ever provided to Plaintiff

to file counteraffidavits. Even so, it has never been shown

that Squibb or Smithkline ever gave any warnings at all

to the doctors, let alone whether such warnings were ade-

quate to apprise the medical profession of the side effects of

the Defendants’ drugs. Indeed, Dr. Tracer, the physician

who treated Daniel McCarthy, himself admitted at page

23 of his Appellate Court brief that he was unaware that

the drugs would diminish his patient’s mental and physi-

cal capacities. Tracer’s admission constitutes evidence that

the warnings given by the pharmaceutical manufacturers,

if they were given at all, were inadequate to apprise Tracer,

the “learned intermediary,” of the dangerous propensities

of the drugs. Yet the court barred Plaintiff from present-

ing such evidence to a trier of fact. In short, the court’s

action in dismissing Plaintiff’s complaint against the drug

manufacturers without allowing a judge or jury to assess

whether adequate warnings were given deprives Plaintiff

of his liberty interest under the Due Process Clause in hav-

ing a fair trial and fair access to the courts of this state.

17

Ill. NO LEGITIMATE’ BASIS’ EXISTS

* UNDER THE EQUAL PROTECTION

CLAUSE OF THE FOURTEENTH

AMENDMENT FOR IMMUNIZING A

PHYSICIAN FROM CIVIL LIABILITY

TO PERSONS INJURED AS A RESULT

OF HIS FAILURE TO WARN PATIENTS

NOT TO DRINK ALCOHOL OR OPER-

ATE MOTOR VEHICLES WHILE TAK-

ING MOOD-ALTERING DRUGS PRE-

SCRIBED BY THAT PHYSICIAN, AS

THE MINIMUM STANDARDS OF THE

MEDICAL PROFESSION REQUIRE

SUCH A WARNING, AND NO OTHER

CLASS OF PROFESSIONALS OR LAY

PERSONS HAS EVER BEEN ENTITLED

TO SUCH BLANKET IMMUNITY.

The court’s ruling effectively insulates physicians from

civil liability for failing to comply with the bare minimum

standard for practicing medicine. A doctor who prescribes

psychotropic drugs now has no legal obligation to convey a

thirty-second warning to the patient not to operate a motor

vehicle or consume alcohol while under the influence of

mood-altering medication. The doctor has virtual license

to turn his patient into a human time bomb whose victims

have no legal recourse in the civil justice system. Certainly

a patient bears no liability to persons injured when he

drives a car while taking such prescribed drugs, as he has

not been made aware of any side-effects. Yet the supreme

court saw fit to create a privileged class consisting only of

members of the medical profession.

According to the logic of the court’s opinion, physicians

now have complete freedom to drug patients and turn them

loose upon an unsuspecting society, bearing no cost of the

damage which is almost certain to result. The creation

of such a privileged class bars innocent victims of medi-

cal negligence from obtaining redress in the civil courts of

this land, thereby depriving such persons of their funda-

mental right to fair access to the courts. Under the Equal

18

Protection Clause, classifications which impinge on funda-

mental freedoms must be not merely rationally related to a

valid public purpose, but must be necessary to the achieve-

ment of a compelling state interest. San Antonio Indepen-

dent School Dist. v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 1 (1973); Hisen-

stadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438 (1972). In the present case, no

such compelling state interest is present. Moreover, even if

this Court finds that no fundamental right is implicated by

the extension of immunity to doctors who injure innocent

persons by their failure to warn patients of the side effects

of prescribed drugs, Petitioner nevertheless submits that

the creation of such a privileged class in our legal system

cannot be justified even by an articulable rational basis.

The supreme court’s ruling was not based on any inter-

pretation of the common law of torts; indeed, the court

rejected the unanimous view held by every court in the

land which has considered the issue. Published opinions

from four states and two federal courts have all held that

a doctor who fails to warn his patient of the mood-altering

side effects of prescribed medication will be liable in tort

to persons injured as a result of his failure to warn. See

Freeze v. Lemmon, 210 N.W.2d 576 (Iowa 1973); Kaiser v.

Suburban Transp. Sys., 398 P.2d 14 (Wash. 1965); Welke

v. Kuzilla, 375 N.W.2d 405 (Mich.App. 1985); Duval v.

Goldin, 362 N.W.2d 274 (Mich.App. 1984); Gooden v. Tips,

651 S.W.2d 364 (Tex.App. 1983); Watkins v. United States,

489 F.2d 214 (5th Cir. 1979); Lipari v. United States, 497

F.Supp. 185 (D. Neb. 1980); compare Irwin v. Town of

Ware, 467 N.E.2d 1292 (Mass. 1984). By this discussion,

Plaintiff does not intend to propose a “constitutionaliza-

tion” of the common law of torts; rather, Plaintiff wishes

only to illustrate that the supreme court’s decision in the

instant case is beyond the bounds of reason. The sole basis

stated by the court for its decision to alleviate doctors of

the duty to warn patients about prescribed medication is

that the Illinois General Assembly established certain new

procedures for filing future medical malpractice lawsuits

OL a ee =

19

beginning in 1986. From these procedural changes, the

supreme court inferred a public policy to retroactively insu-

late doctors from civil liability. The court’s decision fails

to enunciate a compelling state interest sufficient to jus-

tify such an intrusion upon the fundamental right of the

citizenry to fair access to the civil justice system.

Moreover, even if the right of the people to fair access

to the courts is not of a “fundamenta!” nature, as that term

has been defined under the Equal Protection Clause, Plain-

tiff nevertheless submits that the alleged “public policy”

articulated by the court and retroactively applied to this

case is vastly insufficient even to overcome the threshold

of “mere rationality” necessary for any government clas-

sification to withstand constitutional scrutiny under the

Equal Protection Clause.

20

Conclusion

For all the foregoing reasons, Petitioner respectfully

prays that this Honorable Court issue a Writ of Certiorari

to the Supreme Court of Illinois.

Respectfully submitted,

ANDREW J. Horwitz, Esq.,

Counsel of Record for Petitioner

Marc A. PERPER, Esq.

Counsel for Petitioner

Horwitz, Horwitz & Associates, LTp.

180 North LaSalle Street, Suite 1025

Chicago, Illinois 60601

(312) 372-8822 / (815) 723-8822

January 4, 1988

la

ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT

JULEANN HORNYAK, CLERK

SUPREME COURT BUILDING

SPRINGFIELD, ILL. 62706

(217) 782-2035

October 5, 1987

Mr. Dario Garibaldi

Horwitz and Associates

180 N. LaSalle St.

Chicago, IL 60601

Nos. 62700 — James D. Kirk, appellee, v. Michael Reese

62701 Hospital and Medical Center, et al., etc.,

62702 appellants. Appeal, Appellate Court, First

62703 _ District.

62704 .

Cons.

The Supreme Court today DENIED the petition for rehear-

ing in the above entitled cause.

Opinion modified on denial of rehearing.

The mandate of this Court will issue to the appropriate

Appellate Court and/or Circuit Court or other agency on

October 15, 1987.

2a

OPINION MODIFIED ON DENIAL OF REHEARING

OCTOBER 5, 1987.

ORIGINAL OPINION FILED July 13, 1987.

Docket Nos. 62700, 62701, 62702, 62703 & 62704 cons.—

Agenda 6—January 1987.

JAMES D. KIRK, Appellee, v. MICHAEL REESE HOSPI-

TAL AND MEDICAL CENTER et al., Appellants.

JUSTICE WARD delivered the opinion of the court:

The five causes consolidated in this appeal arise from

one personal injury action. The plaintiff, James D. Kirk,

filed a six-count complaint in the circuit court of Cook

County against six defendants, five of whom are involved

in this appeal. The defendants moved to dismiss the

plaintiff’s third amended complaint for failure to state a

cause of action; the trial court dismissed the action against

five of the defendants. On the plaintiff’s appeal from the

dismissal, the appellate court reversed the dismissals of

the five counts and remanded for further proceedings. The

defendants filed petitions for leave to appeal in this court

under our Rule 315(a) (103 Il. 2d R. 315(a)); we allowed

the petitions and consolidated the five appeals for review.

Because this appeal is before the court on the defen-

dants’ motion to dismiss, all well-pleaded facts will be

regarded as true. (Katz v. Belmont National Bank (1986),

112 Ill. 2d 64, 67; Mein v. Masonite Corp. (1985), 109

Til. 2d 1, 7.) The plaintiff was injured August 1, 1978,

while a passenger in a car driven by Daniel McCarthy

when the car struck a tree. McCarthy had been a psychi-

atric patient at Michael Reese Hospital and Medical Cen-

ter (hereafter Michael Reese), where he was treated by

Dr. Irving H. Tracer and Dr. Henry K. Fine. The plain-

tiff alleges that Dr. Tracer was rendering medical treat-

ment to McCarthy in the capacity of an agent, servant, or

employee of Dr. Fine. The plaintiff alleges that Dr. Tracer,

Dr. Fine, or their agents ordered prescription drugs in

3a

treating McCarthy. The drug Thorazine, which is man-

ufactured by the defendant SmithKline Beckman Corp.

(hereafter SmithKline), had been prescribed and McCarthy

also had been given Prolixin Decanoate, which is manufac-

tured by the defendant E.R. Squibb & Sons, Inc. (hereafter

Squibb), on the day he was discharged from the hospital.

McCarthy, following his discharge from Michael Reese,

consumed an alcoholic drink. Later in the day, Kirk was a

passenger in the car driven by McCarthy and was injured

when the car left the roadway and struck a tree in Chicago

Heights.

In count I of the plaintiff’s third amended complaint,

he seeks recovery from Michael Reese on the theory

that the hospital negligently failed to adequately warn

McCarthy that the prescribed drugs administered would

diminish his physical and mental abilities. Counts I

and III seek recovery from Drs. Tracer and Fine, respec-

tively, on the theory that the physicians knew or should

have known that the drugs would diminish McCarthy’s

mental abilities and that they negligently failed to warn

McCarthy. Counts IV and V, both of which seek recovery

against Michael Reese, as well as Squibb and SmithKline,

respectively, are based on a strict liability theory and

allege that the drugs were in an unreasonably dangerous

condition because the manufacturers failed to adequately

warn of the drugs’ dangerous propensities, that is, that

the drugs would diminish the physical and mental abili-

ties of the user, McCarthy. Count VI seeks recovery from

McCarthy for his alleged negligence in operating the car.

The trial court, after memoranda were filed and numerous

arguments were heard, granted the motions of the hospital,

two doctors, and two drug companies to dismiss. The trial

court also denied the plaintiff’s oral motion to file a fourth

amended complaint. Count VI against McCarthy was not

dismissed and is not involved in this appeal.

4a

The appellate court, with one justice dissenting,

reversed and remanded the dismissed counts for trial. (136

ll. App. 3d 945.) The appellate court, considering whether

the defendants owed a duty to the plaintiff as but a sin-

gle issue, held that the doctors, hospital, and drug manu-

facturers each had a duty to adequately warn McCarthy

of the adverse effects of the drugs, which duty, the court

stated, was implicitly extended to cover members of the

public who may be injured as a proximate cause of the

failure to adequately warn (136 Ill. App. 3d 945, 952).

Too, the appellate court held the hospital was open to

liability on a strict liability theory for failure to warn

McCarthy of the effects of the prescribed drugs. As stat-

ed, the five defendants filed petitions for leave to appeal;

their petitions were initially denied, but upon reconsidera-

tion, they were allowed and consolidated for review. Briefs

amici curiae have been filed by five organizations. The

Illinois Trial Lawyers Associations, as amicus, supports

the plaintiff’s arguments that the appellate court decision

should be affirmed. Another amicus, the Pharmaceuti-

cal Manufacturers Association, supports the arguments of

defendants SmithKline and Squibb. The Illinois Hospital

Association and Metropolitan Chicago Healthcare Council,

in a joint amicus brief, support Michael Reese’s views and

particularly argue against liability being imposed toward

the hospital under strict liability principles. The Dlinois

Association of Defense Trial Counsel generally argues to

reverse the appellate court’s decision and specifically sup-

ports the drug manufacturers’ views.

Because we are reviewing the dismissal of a complaint

for failure to state a cause of action, we must determine

the legal sufficiency of the complaint. (Katz v. Belmont

National Bank (1986), 112 Ill. 2d 64, 67.) Pleadings are to

be liberally construed with a view to doing justice between

the parties (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1985, ch. 110, par. 2—603(c);

Pelham v. Griesheimer (1982), 92 Tll. 2d 13, 17), but that

does not lessen the obligation of the plaintiff to set out

5a

facts necessary for recovery under the theory asserted in

the complaint. (Teter v. Clemens (1986), 112 Ill. 2d 252,

256-57.) Section 402A of the Restatement (Second) of Torts

(1965), which this court has previously followed (Suvada v.

White Motor Co. (1965), 32 Ill. 2d 612), would subject a

seller or manufacturer of a product to liability if the prod-

uct is sold “in a defective condition unreasonably danger-

ous” to an ultimate user or consumer who is injured by

the product. It is recognized that a failure to warn of a

product’s dangerous propensities may serve as the basis for

holding a manufacturer strictly liable in tort. (Hammond

v. North American Asbestos Corp. (1983), 97 Ill. 2d 195,

206; Woodill v. Parke Davis & Co. (1980), 79 Ill. 2d 26,

29; Restatement (Second) of Torts sec. 402A, comment j

(1965).) A prescription drug may be deemed unreasonably

dangerous because of the absence of an adequate warning

accompanying the product as the product may be “unavoid-

ably unsafe” without such warning. Restatement (Second)

of Torts sec. 402A, comment k (1965); Lawson v. G.D.

Searle & Co. (1976), 64 Ill. 2d 543, 550-51.

The plaintiff asserts that, while the class of persons to

whom the warning is required to be given may be very lim-

ited, the class of persons to whom the duty is owed includes

the public generally. He contends also that the appellate

court holding does not abolish or diminish the “learned

intermediary” doctrine. The plaintiff, although he argued

at the trial proceedings that the pharmaceutical companies

owed a duty to warn the patients who use the drugs, now

accepts Squibb’s and SmithKline’s position that adequate

warnings are to be given to physicians only and not to

the public generally. Our appellate court has previously

adopted the learned intermediary doctrine (Mahr v. G.D.

Searle & Co. (1979), 72 Ill. App. 3d 540; (applying Texas

law); Hatfield v. Sandoz-Wander, Inc. (1984), 124 ll. App.

3d 780 (applying Indiana law); Eldridge v. Eli Lilly & Co.

(1985), 138 Ill. App. 3d 124), but this court had not directly

considered the issue. The rule, as adopted in numerous

. 6a

jurisdictions, provides that manufacturers of prescription

drugs have a duty to warn prescribing physicians of the

drugs’ known dangerous propensities, and the physicians,

in turn, using their medical judgment, have a duty to con-

vey the warnings to their patients (Hatfield v. Sandoz-

Wander, Inc. (1984), 124 Ill. App. 3d 780, 788; Mahr v.

G.D. Searle & Co. (1979), 72 Tl. App. 3d 540, 561; Hoffman

v. Sterling Drug, Inc. (8rd Cir. 1973), 485 F.2d 132, 142;

Crocker v. Winthrop Laboratories (Tex. 1974), 514, S.W.2d

429; Stone v. Smith, Kline & French Laboratories (11th Cir.

1984), 731 F.2d 1575, 1579; Stevens v. Parke, Davis & Co.

(1973), 9 Cal. 3d 51, 507 P.2d 653, 107 Cal. Rptr. 45; Ter-

hune v. A.H. Robins Co. (1978), 90 Wash. 2d 9, 577 P.2d

975; see also W. Prosser & W. Keeton, The Law of Torts

sec. 96, at 688 (5th ed. 1984.) The rationale for the doc-

trine was stated in a holding concerning Thorazine, one of

the drugs involved here, in Stone v. Smith, Kline & French

Laboratories (11th Cir. 1984), 731 F.2d 1575, 1579:

manufacturer’s duty to warn is limited to an obli-

gation to advise the prescribing physician of any

potential that may result from the drug’s

use. This special standard for prescription drugs is

Torts, Section 388 (1965). Prescription drugs are

likely to be complex medicines, esoteric in formula

and varied in effect. As a medical expert, the

prescribing physician can take into account the

fet se Eibeentbige Cay tpmeatlenthge deo es, tal

of his patient. His is the task of weighing

the benefits of any medication against its potential

The choice he makes is an informed one,

and individualized medical judgment bottomed on

a knowledge of both patient and palliative. Phar-

maceutical companies then, who must warn ulti-

mate purchasers of dangers inherent in patent

7a

drugs sold over the counter, in selling prescription

drugs are required to warn only the prescribing

physician, who acts as a “learned intermediary”

between manufacturer and consumer.’ ” (Empha-

sis in original.) 731 F.2d 1575, 1579-80, quoting

Reyes v. Wyeth Laboratories (5th Cir. 1974), 498

F.2d 1264, 1276, cert. denied (1974), 419 U.S. 1096,

42 L. Ed. 2d 688, 95 S. Ct. 687.

The drug manufacturer generally communicates warn-

ings relating to prescription drugs to the medical profes-

sion through package inserts, the Physician’s Desk Refer-

ence, “Dear Doctor” letters, detailmen, and through other

measures. (Sterling Drug, Inc. v. Yarrow (8th Cir. 1969),

408 F.2d 978; Mahr v. G.D. Searle & Co. (1979), 72 Tl.

App. 3d 540, 562; Parke-Davis & Co. v. Stromsodt (8th Cir.

1969), 411 F.2d 1390.) The doctor, functioning as a learned

intermediary between the prescription drug manufacturer

and the patient, decides which available drug best fits the

patient’s needs and chooses which facts from the various

waruings should be conveyed to the patient, and the extent

of disclosure is a matter of medical judgment. (Hatfield

v. Sandoz-Wander, Inc. (1984), 124 Ill. App. 3d 780, 788;

Eldridge v. Eli Lilly & Co. (1985), 138 Ill. App. 3d 124, 127;

Jones v. Irvin (8.D. Tll. 1985), 602 F. Supp. 399, 402.) As

such, we believe the learned intermediary doctrine is appli-

cable here and that there is no duty on the part of man-

ufacturers of prescription drugs to directly warn patients.

Certainly, if the manufacturer of a prescription drug has

no duty to directly warn the user of the drug of possible

adverse effects, it has no duty to warn a nonuser as Kirk.

The plaintiff also argues that the warnings given to

the two doctors here were inadequate, thus making the

prescription drugs “unreasonably dangerous.” This con-

tention, however, is premature and puts the cart before

the horse. As we determined in Winnett v. Winnett (1974),

57 Ill. 2d 7, 10, whether a product is unreasonably dan-

gerous for its intended uses “is simply not a relevant

consideration unless plaintiff is a person entitled to the

8a

protections afforded by the concepts of strict-tort-liability

actions against manufacturers.” It is recognized that a

legal duty is imposed under strict liability upon those in

the original production chain of a product to the benefit of

those individuals to whom injury from a defective product

may reasonably be foreseen. (Court v. Grzelinski (1978), 72

Ill. 2d 141, 146.) Those individuals may include not only

the ultimate users or consumers, but also may include per-

sons outside the purchasing chain of the product (Restate-

ment (Second) of Torts sec. 402A, comment | (1965); Court

v. Grzelinski (1978), 72 Tl. 2d 141, 146 (holding that, to

the extent a fireman is a person to whom injury from the

product may reasonably be foreseen, he may recover under

products liability, even though his injury occurred while

fighting a fire in the course of his employment); Lewis v.

Stran Steel Corp. (1974), 57 Ill. 2d 94, 96.) In Winnett, we

said:

“In our judgment the liability of a manufacturer

properly encompasses only those individuals to

whom injury from a defective product may reason-

ably be foreseen and only those situations where

the product is being used for the purpose for which

it was intended or for which it is reasonably fore-

seeable that it may be used. Any other approach to

the problem results in making the manufacturer

and those in the chain of product distribution vir-

tual insurers of the product, a position rejected by

this court in Suvada.” 57 Ill. 2d 7, 11.

Winnett determined that whether a plaintiff is enti-

tled to the protection afforded by the concepts of strict tort

liability depends on whether the alleged conduct was rea-

sonably foreseeable. “A foreseeability test, however, is not

intended to bring within the scope of the defendant’s liabil-

ity every injury that might possibly occur.” (57 Ill. 2d 7, 12;

see also Riordan v. International Armament Corp. (1985),

132 Ill. App. 3d 642 (no duty on part of the handgun manu-

facturer to warn consumers of illegal handgun uses for the

benefit of a shooting victim).) Questions of foreseeability

9a

are ordinarily for a jury to resolve, but where the facts

alleged in a complaint on their face demonstrate that the

plaintiff would never be entitled to recover, that complaint

is properly dismissed. (Winnett v. Winnett (1974), 57 Ill. 2d

7, 13.) We believe that facts alleged in counts IV and V

against Squibb and SmithKline demonstrate on their face

that plaintiff would never be entitled to recover. As such,

it cannot be said that Squibb and SmithKline demonstrate

on their face that plaintiff would never be entitled to recov-

er. As such, it cannot be said that Squibb and SmithKline

should have reasonably foreseen that their drugs would

be dispensed without warnings by the physicians, that the

patient would be discharged from the hospital, drink alco-

hol, drive a car, lose control of his car, hit a tree, and

injure the passenger, Kirk, on the same day. This sequence

would be triggered by an element that we have determined

that the pharmaceutical companies did not have to foresee

under the circumstances shown here: that the drugs would

be dispensed without the warnings that the two companies

provided to the physicians. As this court has noted, “[s]trict

liability is not the equivalent of absolute liability. There

are restrictions imposed upon it.” (Woodill v. Parke Davis

& Co. (1980), 79 Ill. 2d 26, 37; see also Coney v. J.L.G.

Industries, Inc. (1983), 97 Tl. 2d 104, 111.) The trial court

properly dismissed the two strict liability counts against

Squibb and SmithKline.

The pharmaceutical companies say that the trial court

properly denied the plaintiff’s oral request to file a fourth

amended complaint. The plaintiff asks that we grant

leave to amend under Rule 362 (87 Ill. 2d R. 362(f)). A

trial court has broad discretion in determining whether

_ to allow amendments to a complaint. (Deasey v. City

of Chicago (1952), 412 Ill. 151, 156-57; Saldana v. Wirtz

Cartage Co. (1978), 74 Ill. 2d 379, 390.) The plaintiff’s pro-

posed amended complaint does not appear in the record;

the plaintiff’s failure to make it a part of the record waives

his right to have this court review the trial court’s denial

10a

of his motion. Teter v. Clemens (1986), 112 Ill. 2d 252,

260-61; Austin Liquor Mart, Inc. v. Department of Revenue

(1972), 51 Til. 2d 1, 8.

Turning to the portions of the complaint charging

Michael Reese, the plaintiff posits liability in counts I, IV,

and V against the hospital on two theories: strict liabil-

ity and negligence. Under the strict liability counts, the

plaintiff alleges that the products—the prescription drugs—

were made unreasonably dangerous through the hospital’s

alleged failure to warn the patient, McCarthy, of their pos-

sible adverse effects. The plaintiff correctly states that

strict tort liability may be imposed upon sellers and those

in the chain of distribution, as well as manufacturers, for

their role in placing a defective product into the stream

of commerce. (Crowe v. Public Building Com. (1978), 74

Il. 2d 10, 13; Cunningham v. MacNeal Memorial Hospital

(1970), 47 Ill. 2d 443.) The plaintiff bases his strict lia-

bility count against the hospital on the hospital’s role in

the chain of distribution, “standing between the manufac-

turer and the doctor,” and also as the supplier of the pre-

scription drug to McCarthy. For the reasons discussed con-

cerning the pharmaceutical companies, we believe there is

no duty here to this nonpatient, nonuser of the product,

and, as such, Kirk is not a plaintiff entitled to protection

under strict liability principles. Too, in Dubin v. Michael

Reese Hospital & Medical Center (1980), 83 Ill. 2d 277,

and Greenberg v. Michael Reese Hospital & Medical Cen-

ter (1980), 83 Ill. 2d 282, this court held that a hospital

cannot be held strictly liable for its employees’ decision to

administer X-ray treatments for tonsillitis because such an

allegation is directed at the conduct of the health care pro-

fessional rather than the nature of the particular product.

An action directed at the appropriateness of X-radiation

treatment is already afforded a sufficient remedy in the

law of negligence. (83 Ill. 2d 282, 290.) As we discussed

earlier, the learned intermediary doctrine requires that the

pharmaceutical company warn the physician of the known

lla

adverse effects of a particular prescription drug. The doc-

tor, exercising his medical judgment, decides if drug ther-

apy is an appropriate t-eatment for a psychiatric patient

and decides which drugs will best suit his patient’s needs.

As was stated in Stone v. Smith, Kline & French Labora-

tories (11th Cir. 1984), 731 F.2d 1575, 1579, “This special

standard for prescription drugs is an understandable excep-

tion to the Restatement’s general rule that one who mar-

kets goods must warn foreseeable ultimate users of dangers

inherent in his products.” We must also recognize that

“(t]he marketing situation as regards prescription drugs

and vaccines is a unique one.

*** The producer’s basic responsibility in this area is to

provide adequate warnings to physicians. It is the physi-

cian who is in the best position to decide when to use and

how and when to inform his patient regarding risks and

benefits pertaining to drug therapy.” (W. Prosser & W.

Keeton, The Law of Torts sec. 96, at 688 (5th ed. 1984).)

As such, the manufacturer is only obligated to adequately

warn the physicians, who decide which drug to use and

which warnings to provide. The drug companies are not

required to warn hospital personnel because they do not

select the proper drugs for the patient and prescribe them.

Although the holding of Greenberg is not directly applica-

ble here, we believe its rationale is:

“In cases involving goods and other tangible phys-

ical materials which are in some way bad, imposi-

tion of liability unquestionably enhances the pub-

lic interest in human life and health. However,

in cases which deal with the conduct of individu-

als or institutions which themselves are pledged to

human life and health, precautions must

be taken to avoid an ultimate diminution of pro-

tection. *** For the reasons stated we conclude

that public policy dictates against the imposition

of strict liability in tort for injuries resulting from

the administration of X-radiation treatments by

a hospital.” v. Michael Reese Hospital

(1980), 83 Ill. 2d 282, 290-91.

12a

We believe the trial court properly dismissed this strict

liability count against the hospital.

As for the negligence count against the hospital, the

plaintiff’s complaint alleges that Michael Reese had a duty,

in prescribing the two drugs, to adequately warn McCarthy

of adverse effects the drugs may have on his ability to

safely operate an automobile. The hospital contends that

it had no duty to warn McCarthy of the adverse effects

of the drug because such a warning is a medical question

within the discretion of the treating physician, who, the

hospital says, bears this responsibility. The hospital also

argues that its duties should not be extended to unknown,

nonpatient, third parties.

Kirk makes no allegations that Drs. Fine or Tracer,

the defendant physicians, were agents or employees of

Michael Reese, which would postulate liability on a respon-

deat superior basis. Absent a principal-agent relationship,

the alleged misconduct of a physician may not be imputed

to the hospital, unless it had reason to know that malprac-

tice would occur. (Pickle v. Curns (1982), 106 Ill. App.

3d 734, 738-39.) Nor does the complaint allege that the

hospital, through cone of its agents or employees, was neg-

ligent in administering the drugs prescribed to McCarthy

by, for example, providing the wrong quantity or type of

drug. (Ohligschlager v. Proctor Community Hospital (1973),

55 Til. 2d 411, 420.) The extent of warnings to patients

concerning prescription drugs, as we have previously not-

ed, is within the discretion of the physician. As such, the

alleged negligent acts specified in the complaint are mat-

ters within the duty of care owed by the treating physician,

rather than the hospital.

Recognizing the physician’s duty, the plaintiff also

argues that the hospital has an independent duty to warn,

which is “based on ordinary principles of professional mal-

practice,” and that that duty is extended to third parties.

With this contention, then, the plaintiff is arguing that

13a

a third party with no patient/hospital or patient/physician

relatiénship be allowed to bring a cause of action based on

the alleged negligent treatment of another.

A complaint for negligence, to be legally sufficient,

must set out facts that establish the existence of a duty

owed by the defendant to the plaintiff, a breach of that

duty, and an injury proximately caused by that breach.

(Teter v. Clemens (1986), 112 Ill. 2d 252, 256; Curtis v.

County of Cook (1983), 98 Il. 2d 158, 162.) The determina-

tion of whether a duty exists—whether the defendant and

the plaintiff stood in such a relationship to one another

that the law imposed upon the defendant an obligation

of reasonable conduct for the benefit of the plaintiff—is

an issue of law to be determined by the court. Wimmer

v. Koenigseder (1985), 108 Tl. 2d 435, 440; Pelham v.

Griesheimer (1982), 92 Ill. 2d 13, 18-19; Cunis v. Brennan

(1974), 56 Ill. 2d 372.

This court has held that “the existence of a legal

duty is not to be bottomed on the factor of foreseeability

alone,” but on whether the harm reasonably was foresee-

able. (Cunis v. Brennan (1974), 56 Ill. 2d 372, 375 (the

defendant municipality owed no duty to the plaintiff, who

was injured when he was thrown 30 feet upon the collision

with a third person’s automobile and impaled his leg on

a drain pipe left in the defendant’s public parkway); see

also Feldscher v. E&B, Inc. (1983), 95 Ill. 2d 360, 368-69;

Palsgraf v. Long Island R.R. Co. (1928), 248 N.Y. 339, 342-

43, 162 N.E. 99, 100; 3 F. Harper, F. James & O. Gray, The

Law of Torts sec. 18.2, at 664 (2d ed. 1986).) This standard

of reasonable foreseeability governs the foreseeability of

injury from the defendant’s conduct to the plaintiff, who

would be the passenger here in the patient’s car.

Although the reasonable foreseeability of injury is a

key concern in determining whether a duty exists, it is

not the only consideration. The question of duty in a neg-

ligence action should take into account the likelihood of

l4a

injury, the magnitude of the burden of guarding against

it and the consequences of placing that burden upon the

defendant. (Lance v. Senior (1967), 36 Ill. 2d 516, 518;

Boyd v. Racine Currency Exchange, Inc. (1973), 56 Tl. 2d

95, 99; see also Scott & Fetzer Co. v. Montgomery Ward &

Co. (1986), 112 Ill. 2d 378, 388-89; Resag v. Washington

National Insurance Co. (1980), 90 Tl. App. 3d 971, 974;

Van Skike v. Zussman (1974), 22 Ill. App. 3d 1039, 1042.)

As we said in our discussion of the strict liability counts,

and based on the Plaintiff’s claimed defects in the warn-

ings, this injury may not be considered reasonably foresee-

able. This is particularly true where there is no allegation

that the hospital’s employees neither knew nor had reason

to know that the warnings were not given by the prescrib-

ing physician. The burden of guarding against the type

of injury that occurred to this plaintiff would be very cum-

bersome for the hospital employees, who do not receive the

prescription drug warnings from the pharmaceutical com-

panies, as do the physicians. In analogous circumstances,

negligence claims against pharmacists for failure to warn

concerning overconsumption of drugs have been dismissed

primarily because the manufacturers’ warnings about pre-

scription drugs are to be given to the physicians, who then

had the duty to warn the patients. S-v Eldridge v. Eli Lilly

& Co. (1985), 138 Ill. App. 3d 124; Jones v. Irvin (S.D. Ill.

1985), 602 F. Supp. 399.

Holding the hospital liable for all harmful acts com-

mitted by patients who have been released would be an

unreasonable burden on the institution. Too, a court’s

determination of duty reflects the policy and social require-

ments of the time and community. (Mieher v. Brown

(1973), 54 Ill. 2d 539, 544-45; Green, Foreseeability In Neg-

ligence Law, 61 Colum. L. Rev. 1401, 1423 (1961); Prosser,

Palsgraf Revisited, 52 Mich. L. Rev. 1, 15 (1953).) It has

been recognized that “ ‘duty’ is not sacrosanct in itself, but

is only an expression of the sum total of those considera-

tions of policy which lead the law to say that the plaintiff is

15a

entitled to protection.” (W. Prosser & W. Keeton, The Law

of Torts sec. 53, at 358 (5th ed. 1984).) Our State’s pub-

lic policy concerning malpractice actions and health care

professionals was recently discussed in Bernier v. Burris

(1986), 113 Il. 2d 219. This court observed that the leg-

islature’s goal in enacting a comprehensive medical mal-

practice law, in which one provision prohibited punitive

damages in actions for “healing art malpractice” or medi-

cal malpractice, was to reduce damages generally against

the medical profession. (113 Ill. 2d 219, 246.) In upholding

the provision that limited attorney fees in successful med-

ical malpractice actions, we observed that “[tJhe goals of

the legislation” * * were to reduce the burden existing in

the health professions as a result of the perceived [medical]

malpractice crisis.” (113 Ill. 2d 219, 252; see also Mega

v. Holy Cross Hospital (1986), 111 Ill. 2d 416, 428.) We

believe that public policy and social requirements do not

require that a duty be placed upon the hospital to warn

the patient of the dangers of using the drug, prescribed

by his physician, that would be extended to third-party

nonpatients who have no patient hospital relationship or a

special relationship with a patient.

In determining that a duty existed, the appellate court

relied partially on Renslow v. Mennonite Hospital (1977),

67 Ill. 2d 348, a decision that the hospital contends does not

support the expanded duty of care imposed by the appellate

court. Renslow, it would appear, is the only medical mal-

practice action in which this court recognized that a nonpa-

tient third party with no patient-hospital or patient-doctor

relationship was allowed to maintain a cause of action

against a hospital and doctor. In Renslow, a child not con-

ceived at the time negligent acts were committed against

its mother by a doctor and hospital employees was allowed

to sue for that negligence directed against its mother. A

wrong against one person may invade the protected rights

of one who has a special relationship with the first party, as _.

the law recognizes a limited area of transferred negligence.

lé6a

(Renslow v. Mennonite Hospital (1977), 67 Ill. 2d 348, 257;

see also Hofmann v. Blackmon (Fla. App. 1970), 241 So.

2d 752.) The transfer of duty is limited by a court’s policy

decision that the duty to act with reasonable care should

be transferred to the third-party plaintiff. This duty, how-

ever, arises from a special relationship between either the

defendant and the other party or the third-party plaintiff

and the other party. The duty in Renslow was based pri-

marily on the injury’s being a direct result of alleged neg-

ligence to the infant’s mother, which was found to have

invaded the protected rights of the child, who was inti-

mately related to the mother. Obviously, that type of rela-

tionship does not exist between McCarthy, the patient who

allegedly received negligent care, and Kirk, the passenger

in his car.

As we stated in Teter v. Clemens (1986), 112 Ill. 2d

252, 258, “[t]he basis for liability in a negligence action

is not the mere fact of injury but that an injury has been

caused by fault.” The negligence count against the hospital

failed to state a cause of action because it lacks the first

essential element in a negligence claim: a recognized duty

of care owed by the defendant to the particular plaintiff.

The trial court properly dismissed this count.

Much of our discussion of the negligence count against

the hospital is applicable to the counts against the two

doctors. The plaintiff says the treating physicians had a

duty to warn their patient, McCarthy, that the drugs could

diminish his physical and mental abilities and that duty

runs in favor of those in the reasonably foreseeable field of

danger, which included Kirk. The plaintiff also contends

that it was reasonably foreseeable that a patient who is

given a drug that diminishes his driving abilities will later

have a car accident. Thus, the plaintiff argues, the cir-

cumstances of this case give rise to a common law duty

to warn, running from the doctors to those in the general

public who may reasonably be expected to come in con-

17a

tact with the patient on the day he is released. Dr. Tracer

acknowledges that he had a duty to warn his patient about

adverse effects that may result from taking a prescription

drug. He argues, however, that physicians do not owe a

general duty to unknown nonpatients who are injured by

the physician’s alleged negligent treatment of a patient.

Dr. Tracer also asserts that the public policy of this State

prohibits such a broad duty being imposed against treating

physicians. Both doctors also say that the events alleged

in the plaintiff’s third amended complaint that resulted in

Kirk’s injury were not reasonably foreseeable. The third

amended complaint specifically alleges that Dr. Tracer ren-

dered medical treatment to McCarthy in the capacity of

agent/servant or employee of Dr. Fine and is thus based

on a respondeat superior theory. Dr. Fine argues that the

trial court properly dismissed the plaintiff’s claim based on

respondeat superior for failure to state a cause of action and

also because the complaint alleges a superseding, interven-

ing cause of plaintiff’s injuries, McCarthy’s alleged negli-

gent driving.

With the exception of Renslow, discussed previously

with reference to the hospital, the plaintiff has not cited

any holding in which this court has extended a physi-

cian’s duty of care beyond the patient. In Renslow, this

court recognized that the defendant doctor’s duty to the

mother could be transferred to her child based on the “in-

timate relationship” between the two. (67 Ill. 2d 348, 357.)

There is no patient-doctor relationship here between the

two defendant doctors and Kirk, nor is there a special rela-

tionship present as in Renslow between the patient and the

plaintiff.

Many of the decisions upon which the plaintiff relies

(Semler v. Psychiatric Institute (4th Cir. 1976), 538 F.2d

121; Lipari v. Sears, Roebuck & Co. (D. Neb. 1980), 497 F.

Supp. 185; Grimm v. Arizona Board of Pardons & Paroles

(1977), 115 Ariz. 260, 564 P.2d 1227; Missouri, Kaneas &

18a

Texas Ry. Co. v. Wood (1902), 95 Tex. 223, 66 S.W. 449;

Williams v. United States (D.S.D 1978), 450 F. Supp. 1040;

Leverett v. State (1978), 61 Ohio App. 2d 35, 399 N.E.2d

106; McIntosh v. Milano (1979), 168 N.J. Super. 466, 403

A.2d 500) have imposed a duty on doctors and medical or

penal institutions with physical custody of dangerous indi-

viduals to protect third parties by taking reasonable mea-

sures to control their charge’s conduct. These decisions

represent an exception to the general proposition that there

is no duty to control conduct of a third person to prevent

him from causing harm to another absent a special rela-

tionship between either the dangerous person or potential

victim. (Restatement (Second) of Torts sec. 315 (1965);

Welke v. Kuzilla (1985), 144 Mich. App. 245, 375 N.W.2d

403; Davis v. Mangelsdorf (Ariz. App. 1983), 138 Ariz. 207,

673 P.2d 951.) There are types of relationships that give

rise to a duty to control a third party’s conduct set out in

sections 316 to 319 of the Restatement (Second) of Torts

(1965), but none are applicable here. These decisions upon

which the plaintiff relies are primarily concerned with a

custodian’s duty and frequently rely on section 319 of the

Restatement (Second) of Torts (1965), concerning the “duty

of those in charge of person having dangerous propensi-

ties.” There is no allegation here that the plaintiff was

negligently released from the hospital, and there is no alle-

gation that McCarthy had dangerous propensities of which

the hospital and physicians were aware.

It is true, as the plaintiff points out, that several juris-

dictions (Welke v. Kuzilla (1985), 144 Mich. App. (245, 375

N.W.2d 403; Davis v. Mangelsdorf (Ariz. App.) 1983), 138

Ariz. 207, 673 P.2d 951; Gooden v. Tips (Tex. App. 1983),

651 S.W.2d 364; Wharton Transport Corp. v. Bridges.

(Tenn. 1980), 606 S.W.2d 521; Watkins v. United States (5th

Cir. 1979), 589 F.2d 214; Freese v. Lemmon (Iowa 1973),

210 N.W.2d 576; Kaiser v. Suburban Transportation System

(1965), 65 Wash. 2d 461, 398 P.2d 14, modified (1965), 401

P.2d 350) have held that a physician’s relationship with the

19a

patient was sufficient to impose a duty to protect uniden-

tifiable, unknown third parties who are endangered by a

patient. Other jurisdictions have limited the scope of the

physician’s duty to warn situations in which there is, apart

from the patient, a specifically identifiable potential victim,

rather than holding that a duty exists to the public gener-

ally. (See, e.g., Furr v. Spring Grove State Hospital (1983),

53 Md. App. 474, 454 A.2d 414; Cairl v. State (Minn.

1982), 323 N.W.2d 20; Anthony v. United States (S.D. Iowa

1985), 616 F. Supp. 156.) We consider that the preferable

view, and the one consistent with this court’s holdings and

with legislation based on social and public policy, is that

a plaintiff cannot maintain a medical malpractice action

absent a direct physician-patient relationship between the

doctor and plaintiff (or a special relationship, as present)

in Renslow, between the patient and the plaintiff. See also

Pelham v. Griesheimer (1982), 92 Til. 2d 13, 21 (a third-

party nonclient who brings a negligence action against an

attorney must prove that the primary purpose and intent

of the attorney-client relationship itself was to benefit or

influence the third party).

Dr. Tracer points out that the most effective way to

fulfill the duty required by the appellate court’s decision

is through continued confinement of the patient, which

he says would thwart drug therapy that enables psychi-

atric patients to return to the community to lead normal,

productive lives. The plaintiff contends, however, that

Dr. Tracer has falsely portrayed the burden of the physi-

cian’s duty under the appellate court’s decision. All that is

necessary for a physician to extinguish is potential liabil-

ity, in the plaintiff’s view, is for the physician to tell the

patient that the drug will diminish his physical and men-

tal abilities, that he should not drive for a designated time

period, and that he should not consume alcohol. The plain-

tiff overlooks that the appellate court decision explicity

extends the duties of the doctors—and, for that matter, all

the defendants—beyond the patient to the general public.

20a

Such a broad duty extended to the general public would

expand the physician’s duty of care to an indeterminate

class of potential plaintiffs. Our General Assembly, as we

discussed previously, has very recently enacted major med-

ical malpractice legislation to reduce the burden of litiga-

tion against health care professionals. We must conclude

that the plaintiff here does not fall into the class of persons

to whom the duty of care is owed by the defendant doctors.

(See Curtis v. County of Cook (1983), 98 Ill. 2d 158.) The

trial court properly dismissed the action against Dr. Tracer

because no special relationship existed between the doctor

and the plaintiff, or between the patient and the plain-

tiff, as in Renslow. The trial court had granted Dr. Fine’s

motion for judgment on the pleaditigs, based on the ground

that a wholly derivative action could not stand against

a principal where there is no cause of action against the

agent. When suit is brought against a master based on the

alleged negligent acts of his servant, and no independent

negligent acts are alleged against the master, the master’s

liability is entirely derivative (Towns v. Yellow Cab Co.

(1978), 73 Tl. 2d 113.) Where the agent is not guilty, it

necessarily follows that the party for whom he acted, the

master, cannot be guilty. Because the action against Dr.

Fine is a derivative action, based on Dr. Tracer’s treatment

of McCarthy as Dr. Fine’s agent, it was also properly dis-

Other contentions of the plaintiff need not be consid-

ered because the first essential of a negligence action— the

existence of a recognized duty— has not been met.

For the reasons stated, the judgment of the appellate

court is reversed as to all counts and the judgment of the

trial court is affirmed.

2la

Appellate court reversed;

circuit court affirmed.

CHIEF JUSTICE CLARK and _ %JUSTICE

GOLDENHERSH took no part in the consideration or

decision of this case.

JUSTICE SIMON, concurring in part and dissenting

in part:

While I concur with the majority’s decision to dismiss

the claim against the hospital, I dissent from the majority’s

conclusion that the plaintiff fails to state a cause of action

against the doctors for negligence and against the pharma-

ceutical companies for failure to give adequate warnings

of the drugs’ dangerous propensities. The cause of action

against the doctors presents neither the problems inher-

ent in upholding the negligence count against the hospital

nor the complex policy considerations involved in extend-

ing the boundaries of the tort of medical malpractice. (Slip

op. at 13.) Rather, the doctors’ liability here is grounded

in basic concepts of negligence, the same primary elements

ot negligence which law students study during their first

year: duty, breach of duty, and the foreseeable injury that

subsequently results. See, e.g., F. Harper, F. James & O.

Gray, The Law of Torts sec. 18.2 (2d ed. 1986).

The majority accurately states that: “The question of

duty in a negligence action should take into account the

likelihood of injury, the magnitude of the burden of guard-

ing against it and the consequences of placing that bur-

den upon the defendant.” (Slip op. at 10, citing Lance v.

Senior (1967), 36 Ill. 2d 516, 518; Boyd v. Racine Currency

Exchange, Inc. (1973), 56 Tl. 2d 95, 99.) The doctors here

have already acknowledged that they breached their duty

to warn their patient of the possible adverse side effects

of the prescribed drugs. Had they adequately warned their

patient of the risks which the pharmaceutical company dis-

cussed in their insert, the patient would have been aware

that:

22a

“The use of this drug may impair the mental and

physical abilities required for driving a car or

operating heavy machinery. Physicians should be

alert to the possibility that severe adverse reac-

tions may occur which require immediate medi-

cal attention. Potentiation of the effects of alcohol

may occur with the use of this drug.”

The doctors’ failure to issue this warning set into

motion a series of events which culminated in an injury

to a forseeable class of persons—a passenger in the car of a

patient who took the drug, drank, and drove.

It is immaterial that the passenger rather than the

patient was injured as a result of the doctors’ failure to

issue these warnings. A duty can exist to a third party

when a defendant who has knowledge of the risk fails to

take precautions, and a foreseeable injury of the same kind

or class of harm which made the conduct dangerous occurs.

Neering v. Illinois Central Railroad Co. (1943), 383 ll.

366, 379.

For instance, it is negligent for an adult to give a

loaded shotgun to a child because a child does not have

the maturity to understand the potential danger of pulling

the trigger. As far as the adult’s liability is concerned, it

makes little difference whether the child shoots himself or

someone else whom the adult has no reason to know. The

adult’s duty to refrain from this negligent act extends to

all “kinds of hazards that were so foreseeably great as to

make the act negligent.” F. Harper, F. James & O. Gray,

The Law of Torts sec. 18.2, at 662 (2d ed. 1986).

As in the above example, the doctors here are respon-

sibie for the natural consequences that flow from their fail-

ure to issue proper warnings to their patient. These con-

sequences would include the plaintiff’s injury since it fell

within the foreseeable risks specifically mentioned in the

warnings provided by the pharmaceutical company. The

majority’s view that the plaintiff here was too remote to

fall within the scope the doctors’ duty of care (slip op. at

23 a

14) is overly narrow under any modern theory of negli-

gence. The doctors were aware of the dangers of drinking

while taking the prescribed medication. They were also

aware that the drugs could impair the patient’s ability to

drive. Because it was foreseeable that if the patient were

unaware of the side effects of the drugs he might have a

drink and drive, it was also foreseeable (that such conduct

could harm a passenger in his car. Since the plaintiff’s

harm was a foreseeable) consequence of the doctors’ failure

to guard against this risk, the plaintiff’s injury fell within

the scope of the doctors’ duty of due care.

The majority’s fear that if we were to uphold this cause

of action we would extend a doctor’s duty of care to an inde-

terminable number of persons is misplaced. (Slip op. at

14.) As stated above, the doctors’ potential liability extends

only to the class of persons whose injury is so foreseeably

great as to make the doctors’ conduct negligent. The major-

ity’s comparision of the facts presented here to the situa-

tion in the famous case of Palsgraf v. Long Island, R.R. Co.

(1928), 248 N.Y. 339, 162 N.E. 99, is therefore, inappropri-

ate. The injury there was far more remote from the negli-

gent conduct than the injury here. In Palsgraf the plaintiff

sued a railroad company for injuries sustained when she

was hit by several scales which fell off the station wall.

The scales fell due to an explosion which occurred when

a railroad guard pushed a passenger, who was carrying a

box of fire crackers, aboard a crowded train. The force of

the explosion knocked the scales off the wall, hitting the

plaintiff. Justice Cardozo, writing for the New York Court

of Appeals, concluded that the railroad company was not

liable for the accident. He reasoned that:

“The conduct of the defendant’s guard, *** was not

a wrong in its relation to the plaintiff, standing

far away. Relatively to her it was not negligence

at all. Nothing in the situation gave notice that

the falling package had i in it the potency of peril

to persons thus removed ***. If no hazard was

24a

apparent to the eye of ordinary vigilance, an act

innocent and harmless, at least to outward seem-

ing, with reference to her, did not take to itself

the quality of a tort because it happened to be a

wrong *** with reference to some one else [the pas-

senger carrying the package of fire crackers] ***.”

F. Harper, F. James & O. Gray, The Law of Torts

sec. 18.2, at 655 (2d ed. 1986), quoting Palsgraf v.

Long Island R.R. Co. (1928), 248 N.Y. 399, 341-

44, 162 N.E. 99, 99-100.

In contrast, the risk to the plaintiff here was readily

apparent—it was foreseeable that (the patient could injure

himself) while driving should he fail to receive the appro-

priate warnings. It was as forseeable that while driving he

might have a passenger who also would be injured because

of the combination of the medicine and alcohol. Too, there

was nothing seemingly innocent or harmless in the doctors’

failure to issue the warning. The doctors’ wrongs here were

twofold; they not only failed to exercise due care to their

patient by neglecting to issue the warnings, but also they

disregarded the risk to the plaintiff or any other person

unfortunate enough to be traveling with the patient or in

his path. As one group of commentators have noted, the

rule of Palsgraf is that:

“[(TjJhe scope of duty is concerned with exactly the

same factors as is the inquiry into whether con-

duct is unreasonably dangerous (i.e., negligent).

Both seek to find what consequences of the chal-

lenged conduct should have been foreseen by the

actor who engaged in it. Neither inquiry stops

with what might be called the physical range of

foreseeable harm, or with mere proximity in time

or ce. In boti we look to see what natu-

ral forces and what human conduct should have

appeared likely to come on the scene, and we

weigh the dangerous consequences likely to flow

from the challenged conduct in the light of these

interventions.” F. Harper, F. James & O. Gray,

The Law of Torts sec. 18.2, at 656-57 (2d ed. 1986).

The plaintiff’s cause of action in this case fits squarely

25a

within this rule. The injury was a natural consequence

of the doctors’ failure to issue the warnings and, unlike

the situation in Palsgraf, no extra burden is imposed on

a doctor to take precautions or give adequate warnings

because the plaintiff’s passenger rather than the plaintiff

might be injured. In contrast to the situation in Palsgraf,

where to avoid liability a guard would have had to open

every single package before helping a person onto a train,

all a doctor would be required to do is what the law already

expects—to exercise due care with respect to his patient by

informing him of the side effects of the prescribed drugs.

The majority’s decision to dismiss the strict liabil-

ity claim for failure to provide adequate warnings is also

questionable. The court’s ruling effectively holds that the

learned intermediary doctrine, which absolves a pharma-

ceutical manufacturer of liability for harmful side effects

of the prescribed drug once health-care professional are

given adequate warnings, operates as an absolute defense

to strict liability. My colleagues reach this conclusion

without any consideration of the nature, adequacy or exis-

tence of the warnings the pharmaceutical company gave

with respect to the medicine prescribed here.

The broad reach of this holding results from the major-

ity’s error in viewing this question as though it came before

this court on a ruling on a motion for summary judgment,

rather than a motion to (dismiss. Instead of examining the

legal sufficiency of the complaint, the appropriate standard

for reviewing a) dismissal resulting from failure to state

a cause of action (Katz v. Belmont National Bank (1986),

112 Ill. 2d 64, 67), the majority, (in effect, accepts as true

the pharmaceutical companies’ allegation that the warn-

ings they provided were adequate. The majority states that

the pharmaceutical companies would not:

“have reasonably foreseen that their drugs

would be dispensed without warnings by the

physicians***. This sequence would be triggered

by an element that we have determined that the

26 a

pharmaceutical companies did not have to fore-

see under the circumstance shown here: that the

drugs would be dispensed without the warnings

that the two companies provided to the physicians.”

(Emphasis added.) Slip op. at 6-7.

The majority, in assuming the warnings were ade-

quate, deprives the plaintiff of his right to present evidence

to a finder of fact relative to the existence and sufficiency

of the warnings. Our appellate court, in reversing the trial

court’s dismissal of this claim, accurately emphasized that:

“[TJhe sufficiency of the warnings is not resolved

judicially *** but remains a question to be resolved

by the trier of facts ***. *** Here, since the

counts against the drug manufacturers were dis-

missed because of a failure to state a cause of

action [citation], the factual question as to the ade-

quacy of warnings that allegedly were included as

package inserts or that may have been given by the

drug manufacturers to the medical profession is not

before us. (Emphasis added.) 136 Ill. App. 3d 945,

952 n.2.

By denying the plaintiff his right to present this proof,

the majority has turned the learned intermediary doctrine

into an absolute bar against liability. This determination

effectively insulates drug manufacturers from their obliga-

tion to provide adequate warnings. Although the warnings

given may have been adequate, we have no way at this

point in the litigation of knowing whether this is so, and

my view is that their adequacy needs to be tried out.)

27 a

STATE OF ILLINOIS

SUPREME Court CLERK

SUPREME COURT BUILDING

SPRINGFIELD 62706

March 18, 1986

JULEANN HORNYAK

CLERK OF THE COURT

(217) 782-2035

Ms. Ann W. Regan

Wildman, Harrold, Allen,

and Dixon

Attorneys at Law

One IBM Plaza, S#3000

Chicago, IL 60611

THE COURT HAS TODAY ENTERED THE FOLLOW-

ING ORDER IN THE CASE OF:

No. 62700 - James D. Kirk, respondent, v. Michael Reese

Hospital and Medical Center, et al., etc.

(Henry K. Fine, M.D., petitioner).

No. 62701 - James D. Kirk, respondent, v. Michael Reese

Hospital and Medical Center, et al., etc.

(Irving H. Tracer, M.D., petitioner).

No. 62702 - James D. Kirk, respondent, v. Michael Reese

Hospital and Medical Center, petitioner.

No. 62703 - James D. Kirk, respondent, v. Michael Reese

Hospital an Medical Center, et al., etc. (E. R.

Squibb & Sons, petitioner).

No. 62704- James D. Kirk, respondent, v. Michael Reese |

Hospital and Medical Center, et al., etc.

28 a

(SmithKline Clinical Laboratories, Inc., peti-

tioner).

The motions by petitioners for leave to file

motions for reconsideration of the orders

denying the petitions for leave to appeal are

allowed.

The motions for reconsideration are allowed.

The petitions for leave to appeal are allowed,

and these cases are consolidated.

JH: sdl

ce: All Attorneys of Record

29a

FEB 26 1986 |

: Nos. 62700, 62701,

62702, 62703, 62704

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS

JAMES D. KIRK, fl On Petition for Leave

Plaintiff-Respondent, Girt

| oe. of Illinois, First

MICHAEL REESE HOSPITAL sicasdist

and MEDICAL CENTER; No. 81-2408

IRVING H. TRACER, M.D.;

E.R. SQUIBB & SONS, INC.;

and SMITHKLINE CLINICAL —_( T*re heard on Appeal

LABORATORIES, INC., Goss oF ack

Defendants-Petitioners, County, County

Dept., Law

and Division

DANIEL MCCARTHY, Hesecshle,

yron T. Gomberg,

Defendant. J Judge Presiding

NOTICE OF MOTION

TO: Mitchell W. Horwitz

Horwitz, Horwitz & Associates, Ltd.

180 North LaSalle Street, Suite 2201

Chicago, IL 60601

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that on February 24, 1986

the undersigned filed the attached Motion For leave to

File Motion For Reconsideration and Motion for Reconsid-

eration, copies of which are hereby served upon you, by

mailing copies thereof to the Clerk of the Illinois Supreme

Court, Springfield, Illinois and by mailing copies thereof to

each Justice of the Illinois Supreme Court at the addresses

listed below:

Honorable William G. Clark, Chief Justice of the Illinois

Supreme Court, 30th Floor, Richard J. Daley Center,

30a

Chicago, Illinois 60602

Honorable Daniel P. Ward, Justice of the Dlinois Supreme

Court, 30th Floor, Richard J. Daley Center, Chicago,

Illinois 60602

Honorable Joseph H. Goldenhersh, Justice of the Illinois

Supreme Court, 6464 W. Main Street, Suite 3A, Belleville,

Tllinois 62223

Honorable Howard C. Ryan, Justice of the Dlinois Supreme

Court, 111 E. Jefferson Street, Ottawa, Illinois 61350

Honorable Thomas J. Moran, Justice of the Illinois Supreme

Court,

Honorable Seymour Simon, Justice of the Illinois Supreme

Court, 30th Floor, Richard J. Daley Center, Chicago,

Illinois 60602

Honorable Ben C. Miller, Justice of the Dlinois Supreme

Court, 509 S. 6th Street, Suite 435, Springfield,

Illinois 62701

BURDITT, BOWLES & RADZIUS, LTD.

/s/ RoBert G. EPSTEEN

Robert G. Epsteen

Attorneys for E.R. Squibb &

Sons, Inc.

By:

Robert G. Epsteen

Burditt, Bowles & Radzius, Ltd.

33 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1900

Chicago, IL 60606-1218

(312) 781-6633

3la

PROOF OF SERVICE

a~

STATE OF ILLINOIS

COUNTY OF COOK

7

I, Marilou Sullivan, a non-attorney, on oath state that

I served the above and foregoing Notice of Motion, Motion

for Leave to File Motion for Reconsideration and Motion

for Reconsideration to the attorney and judges named on

the attached service list and by depositing same in the US.

mail chute located at 333 West Wacker Drive, Chicago,

Illinois 60606 before the hour of 5:00 p.m. on this 24th day

of February, 1986.

/g/__MAartLou SULLIVAN

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to

before me this 24th day

of February, 1986.

/s/__NANCY MULLANY

Notary Public

32a

BurpiTt, Bowes & Rapzius, Ltp. MAR 06 1986

333 WEST WACKER DRIVE

SUITE 1900

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60606-1218

(312) 781-6633

TELEX: 350188

G3 FAX: (312) 781-6630

March 3, 1986

VIA FEDERAL EXPRESS

The Honorable Thomas J. Moran

838 North Western Avenue

Lake Forest, IL 60045

Re: James D. Kirk v. Michael Reese Hospital et al.

Dear Justice Moran:

Enclosed is a copy of a motion for reconsideration and

a motion for leave to file it in the above-referred to mat-

ter. Your copy was inadventently mailed to your former

address in Waukegan and returned to us. My apologies for

any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Respectfully yours,

RoBErT G. EPSTEEN

Robert G. Epsteen

/s/.

RGE/mls

Encls.

cc: All Counsel of Record

Teeth, #

8 APA Lhe Pane | Wee eC wee

COP EA RONG I oa Rey Lite: tt oe:

33 a

SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS

WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 5, 1986

THE FOLLOWING CASES ON THE LEAVE TO APPEAL

DOCKET WERE DISPOSED OF AS INDICATED:

No. 62700 -

No. 62701 -

No. 62702 -

No. 62703 -

No. 62704 -

James D. Kirk, respondent, v. Michael Reese

Hospital and Medical Center, et al., etc.

(Henry K. Fine, M.D., petitioner). Leave to

appeal, Appellate Court, First District. (1-

81-2408)

Petition for leave to appeal denied.

James D. Kirk, respondent, v. Michael Reese

- Hospital and Medical Center, et al., etc.

(Irving H. Tracer, M.D., petitioner). Leave

to appeal, Appellate Court, First District.

(1-81-2408)

Petition for leave to appeal denied.

James D: Kirk, respondent, v. Michael Reese

Hospital and Medical Center, petitioner.

Leave to appeal, Appellate Court, First Dis-

trict. (1-81-2408)

Petition for leave to appeal denied.

James D. Kirk, respondent, v. Michael Reese

Hospital an Medical Center, et al., etc. (E. R.

Squibb & Sons, petitioner). Leave to appeal,

Appellate Court, First District. (1-81-2408)

Petition for leave to appeal denied.

James D. Kirk, respondent, v. Michael Reese

Hospital and Medical Center, et al., etc.

(SmithKline Clinical Laboratories, Inc., peti-

tioner). Leave to appeal, Appellate Court,

First District. (1-81-2408)

Petition for leave to appeal denied.

34a

THIRD DIVISION

August 28, 1985

NOTICE

The text of this opinion may be changed

or corrected prior to the time for filing

of a Petition for Rehearing or the dispo-

sition of the same.

81-2408

JAMES D. KIRK, -

Plaintiff-Appellant,

i Ae ee Te ee

v8.

MICHAEL REESE HOSPITAL Appeal From The Circuit

and MEDICAL CENTER; Court of Cook County.

IRVING H. TRACER, M.D.; —_—

E.R. SQUIBB & SONS, INC.; » Honorable

and SMITHKLINE CLINICAL Myron T. Gomberg,

LABORATORIES, INC., Judge Presiding.

Defendants-Appellees,

and

DANIEL McCARTHY,

Defendant. J

JUSTICE RIZZI delivered the opinion of the court:

This is a personal injury action. Plaintiff, James

D. Kirk, appeals from the dismissal of five counts of his

third amended complaint for failure to state a cause of

action. Count 1 involves a negligence action against defen-

dant Michael Reese Hospital and Medical Center; count

2 involves a medical negligence action against defendants

Irving H. Tracer, M.D., and Henry K. Fine, M.D., both

of whom are psychiatrists; count 3 involves a separate

medical negligence action against defendant Tracer; count

4 involves a product liability action against defendant

Michael Reese Hospital and Medical Center and defendant

E.R. Squibb & Sons, Inc.; and count 5 involves a prod-

35a

uct liability action against defendant Michael Reese Hospi-

tal and Medical Center and defendant SmithKline Clinical

Laboratories, Inc. In count 2, plaintiff alleges that Tracer

acted as the agent of Fine. Count 6, which involves a neg-

ligence action against defendant Daniel McCarthy, is not

involved in the appeal. We reverse the dismissals of the

five counts and remand for further proceedings.

We assume the following facts to be true based upon

a reading of the composite allegations in the five counts

of the third amended complaint. On August 1, 1978,

McCarthy was being treated as a patient at the hospital

by the two doctors. The doctors ordered that McCarthy be

given the prescription drug Prolixin Decanoate, manufac-

tured (by Squibb & Sons, and the prescription drug Tho-

razine, manufactured by) SmithKline. Hospital personnel

then injected McCarthy with Prolixin Decanoate and gave

him Thorazine for oral consumption. On the same day,

McCarthy was discharged from the hospital. He than con-

sumed an alcoholic beverage and drove his automobile with

plaintiff as a passenger. The drugs Prolixin Decanoate

and Thorazine diminished McCarthy’s mental and physi-

cal abilities, which caused McCarthy to lose control of the

automobile. As a result, the automobile hit a tree. Plaintiff

suffered severe and permanent injuries in the occurrence.

The gist of plaintiff’s actions is that the drug manufac-

turers failed to provide adequate warnings of the adverse

effects of their drugs, and that the doctors and the hospital

failed to warn their patient prior to his discharge from the

hospital that the drugs would impair the patient’s mental

and physical abilities, although defendants knew or should

have known of the adverse effects of the drugs.

Defendants argue separately that they were properly

dismissed because they owed no duty to plaintiff. As we

view the case, whether the separate defendants owed a

duty to plaintiff can be discussed as a single issue.

The existence or nonexistence of a legal duty is a ques-

OO

36a

tion of law to be determined by the court. This is so

because the existence of a legal duty is not a palpable

fact, but merely a legal conclusion that in certain gener-

alized circumstances redress should be available to those

who are injured as a proximate cause of either the acts or

inactions of another. The broad factors to be considered

in making this determination include (1) the foreseeability

that the defendant’s acts or inactions will result in injury

to the plaintiff, (2) the magnitude of the burden of guard-

ing against the injury and the consequences of placing

that burden upon the defendant, and (3) the desirability in

terms of public policy of imposing a duty on the defendant

to guard against the risk that is involved. See Renslow v.

Mennonite Hospital (1977), 67 Tll. 2d 348, 356, 367 N.E.2d

1250, 1254; Cunis v. Brennan (1974), 56 Ill. 2d 372, 374,

308 N.E.2d 617, 618; Barnes v. Washington (1973), 56 Ill.

2d 22, 26, 29, 305 N.E.2d 535, 538, 539; Meiher v. Brown

(1973), 54 Ill. 2d 539, 541, 544-45, 301 N.E.2d 307, 309-10;

Orrico v. Beverly Bank (1982), 109 Ill. App. 3d 102, 105-06,

440 N.E.2d 253, 256.

With regard to the question of whether it was fore-

seeable that defendants’ failure to warn’ would result in

injury to plaintiff, we apply a standard of objective rea-

sonableness. Under this standard, it is not essential that

defendants should have foreseen the precise hazard or

exact consequences which resulted from a failure to warn,

nor is it essential that defendants should have foreseen the

injuries to a specific person. A duty may exist to one who

is unknown and remote in time and place. See Renslow,

67 Ill. 2d at 357, 367 N.E.2d at 1254-55; Neering v. Illinois

Central R.R. Co. (1943), 383 Ill. 366, 380, 50 N.E.2d 497,

503; Wintersteen v. National Cooperage & Woodenware Co.

1 Since a duty to warn includes a duty to adequately warn Mahr

v. G.D. Searle & Co. (1979), 72 Ill. App. 3d 540, 562, 390 N.E.2d

1214, 1230), when we refer to a failure to warn in the text, we

implicitly include a failure to adequately warn.

37a

(1935), 361 Ill. 95, 103, 197 N.E. 578, 582; Orrico, 109 Ill.

App. 3d at 107, 440 N.E.2d at 257. With these consider-

ations in mind, we believe that the event that occurred

was sufficiently foreseeable for the doctors, hospital and

drug manufacturers to have known that their failure to

adequately warn of the adverse effects of the drugs would

result in injury to the plaintiff or other members of the

general public.

Defendants argue that what occurred in this case was

not reasonably foreseeable because McCarthy’s consump-

tion of an alcoholic beverage and his negligent driving con-

stitute superseding intervening causes of the occurrence.

A superseding intervening cause is a subsequent indepen-

dent action which breaks the causal relationship between

the original wrong and the injury, and it, rather than the

original wrong, causes the injury. However, the interven-

tion of an independent action will not break a causal con-

nection if the intervention of the independent action was

itself reasonably foreseeable. Neering, 383 Ill. at 380-81, 50

N.E.2d at 503-04; Wintersteen, 361 Il. at 104, 197 N.E. at

583; Orrico, 109 Ill. App. 3d at 107, 440 N.E.2d at 257. In

the present case, McCarthy’s consumption of an alcoholic

beverage, the manner of his driving and plaintiff’s pres-

ence in the automobile were all within the realm of rea-

sonable foreseeability absent a pertinent warning by the

respective defendants. Thus, defendants’ argument on this

point is without merit.

We next address the magnitude of the burden of guard-

ing against an injury to a member of the general public

because of a failure to adequately warn of the adverse

effects of prescription drugs and the consequences of plac-

ing that burden upon doctors, hospitals and prescription

drug manufacturers. The doctors and the hospital argue

that they should not owe a duty to an injured party who

is merely a member of the general public and not their

patient because the imposition of a duty to a non-patient

38 a

would unjustly render them liable to an indeterminate

class. In this same regard, the drug manufacturers argue

that a prescription drug manufacturer’s duty to warn the

medical profession does not cover third parties who do not

use the drugs.” We do not find defendants’ arguments per-

suasive.

Plainly, the fast pace at which new drugs are presently

being introduced and utilized demands that the public be

protected from their varying adverse effects. Thus, we

believe that doctors and hospitals have a duty to warn their

patients of the adverse effects of drugs and drug manu-

facturers have a duty to warn the medical profession of

the adverse effects of their drugs, and that these duties

? The adequacy of a prescription drug manufacturer’s warnings

is determined by taking into account all aspects of the warnings,

including the content of the warnings and how and to whom the

warnings are conveyed. As an example, a drug manufacturer

may communicate product information to the medical profession

in a number of ways: package inserts, the Physicians’ Desk Ref-

erence, “Dear Doctor” letters and detailmen. Ultimately, the

sufficiency of the warnings is not resolved judicially by pointing

to a single document or act, but remains a question to be resolved

by the trier of fact in light of all the information provided by

the manufacturer and all the information that it was reason-

ably possible to provide. See Mahr, 72 Ill. App. 3d at 562, 390

N.E.2d at 1230. The trier of fact may consider warnings given by

drug manufacturers to physicians to be adequate (e.g., Lawson

v. GD. Searle & Co. (1976), 64 Ill. 2d 543, 553, 356 N.E.2d

779, 784) or inadequate (eg. Mahr, 72 Ill. App. 3d at 563-65,

390 N.E.2d at 1231-32). Also, with regard to oral contraceptives,

the drug manufacturer may have a duty to warn the consumer.

Stephens v. G.D. Searle & Co. (E.D. Mich. 1985), 602 F. Supp.

379; MacDonald v. Ortho Pharmaceutical Corp. (Mass. 1985), 475

N.E.2d 65. Here, since the counts against the drug manufactur-

ers were dismissed because of a failure to state a cause of action

(ll. Rev. Stat. 1983, ch. 110, par. 2-615), the factual question

as to the adequacy of warnings that allegedly were included as

package inserts or that may have been given by the drug manu-

facturers to the medical profession is not before us.

a

i

t

é

-

2

39a

implicitly extend to cover members of the public who may

be injured as a proximate cause of a failure to adequately

warn. Moreover, we believe that the imposition of such a

duty in favor of the public is not a undue burden to place

upon doctors, hospitals and drug manufacturers in light

of the great risks that are involved to every member of

the public. In a balancing test, the rights and burdens of

the members of the public whose injuries are proximately

caused by the failure of doctors, hospitals and drug manu-

facturers to adequately warn of the adverse effects of drugs

substantially outweigh the added burden to doctors, hos-

pitals and drug manufacturers to be fully responsible for

their wrongdoing. Additionally, the imposition of a per-

tinent duty to warn that implicitly extends to cover the

general public would not make doctors, hospitals or drug

manufacturers any more liable to an indeterminate class

than are those in other fields and professions when a mem-

ber of the general public is injured as a proximate cause

of their wrongful acts or inactions. Finally, nothing in the

record demonstrates that there would be a quid pro quo for

society in return for the absolution of doctors, hospitals or

manufacturers from their responsibility to the public for

their failure to warn of the adverse effects of drugs. We

therefore see no reason to discriminate in favor of doctors,

hospitals or drug manufacturers at the expense of innocent

victims. :

We next examine the public policy considerations

which pertain in extending the duty to warn that is

involved here to cover members of the general public.

Defendants contend that such an extension of their duty to

warn would discourage them from treating patients with

medicines that would “help them the most” and that it

would “thwart the recent advances in drug therapy.” They

also contend that it would open the door to limitless medi-

cal negligence suits by an infinite class of plaintiffs and

that it would make them absolutely liable. These con-

tentions miss the point.

40a

The duty which is involved here simply requires a

warning, not control or prevention. In this regard, we point

out that the duty to warn would arise only if the doctors,

hospitals or drug manufacturers know or should know of

the adverse effects of a drug. The duty is plainly nonjudg-

mental. Moreover, we are speaking in this case only of a

duty and not causation. Obviously, no defendant can be

liable unless causation as well as breach of duty is proved.

See Borowski v. Von Solbric (1975), 60 Il. 2d 418, 423-24,

328 N.E.2d 301, 305; Mahr v. G.D. Searle & Co. (1979),

72 Tl. App. 3d 540, 563, 390 N.E.2d 1214, 1230-31. Also,

we are mindful that in personal injury and wrongful death

cases involving medical negligence, expert witnesses in the

same profession or field as the defendant are necessary

to hold the defendant liable. Thus, the liability of defen-

dants in medical negligence cases must be substantiated

by their own peers. See, e.g., Ill. Rev. Stat. 1985, ch. 110,

pars. 2-622, 2-1013 - 1018 (eff. Aug. 15, 1985). These are

telling points which militate against defendants’ specific

contentions.

Generally, the desirability in terms of public policy of

imposing or extending any duty relating to doctors, hospi-

tals and drug manufacturers must be determined by bal-

ancing dichotomous public concerns. The problem is to

balance the just claims of people who are injured as a

proximate cause of medical negligence and related causes

“against the public’s claim not to be victimized by need-

lessly swollen medical costs.” Editorial, Compromise on

malpractice, Chicago Tribune, June 8, 1985, § 1, at 10.

For the reasons that we have already discussed, we do not

believe that extending the duty that is involved here to

cover members of the general public will needlessly swell

medical costs. Rather, we believe that the public interest

requires that members of the general public be entitled to

full redress if they are injured as a proximate cause of the

failure of doctors, hospitals or drug manufacturers to ade-

quately warn of the adverse effects of drugs. Plainly, under

4la

a public policy analysis, concern for righteousness must be

focused on the members of the public who are injured and

suffer because of the medical negligence and related caus-

es, rather than on the doctors, hospitals and drug manu-

facturers who commit the medical negligence and related

wrongful acts that cause the injuries and suffering. The

victims, not the wrongdoers, need protection. The wrong-

ful acts must be curtailed, not the rights of the victims of

the wrongful acts.

The hospital makes the additional argument that it

cannot be liable for negligence here because the adminis-

tration of drugs involves the decision to treat a patient in

a particular manner, which is a medical question entirely

within the discretion of the treating doctor, and the doc-

tors were “neither employed nor controlled by the hospi-

tal.” This argument is misapplied because the negligence

count against the hospital involves the hospital’s own neg-

ligence for failure to warn, rather than a claim that the

medical treatment itself was improper.

Moreover, the old conception that a hospital does not

undertake to treat the patient no longer reflects reality.

Plainly, hospitals do far more than merely furnish an

edifice for treatment. Rather, they regularly employ on

a salaried basis a staff of physicians, nurses, pharmacists,

technicians, and medical administrative professionals, and,

not insignificantly, the costs for these personnel are fac-

tored into the amount that patients are charged by the

hospital. See Darling v. Charleston Community Memorial

Hospital (1965), 33 Tl. 2d 326, 332, 211 N.E.2d 253, 257.

Also, hospitals now advertise and promote the treatment

and care that patients receive at their particular hospital

(see, e.g., Chicago Sun-Times, June 30, 1985, Medical Cen-

ters - Special Puilout Section), and it is not uncommon for

members of the general public to choose a particular hos-

pital for treatment and care simply on the basis of the rep-

utation of the hospital itself. It follows that hospitals must

42a

assume certain responsibilities for the care and treatment

of their patients. See Darling, 33 Tl. 2d at 332, 211 N.E.2d

at 257. Within this context, we conclude that before a

patient is discharged from a hospital, the hospital has a

duty to warn the patient of the adverse effects of drugs that

were administered by the hospital if the hospital knows or

should know that the drugs will impair the patient’s men-

tal or physical abilities, or will be potentially dangerous

in combination with particular foods, beverages or other

drugs.® A patient should not be discharged from a hospital

under circumstances which make the patient unknowingly

a potential danger to himself or herself, and the public at

large, because of drugs administered by hospital personnel.

Here, we should bear in mind that the patient is charged

by the hospital for both the services of the hospital person-

nel who administered the drugs as well as for the drugs

themselves‘ and that the duty arises only when the hos-

pital knows or should know of the adverse effects of the

drugs.

We therefore conclude that each of the defendants

owed a legal duty to the plaintiff as stated in this opinion.®

Whether defendants breached their respective duties is to

be determined by the trier of fact.

3’The hospital is not absolved from responsibility merely

because the attending physician has the same responsibility. To

illustrate, in Darling, the court stated: “At that point it became

the nurses’ duty to inform the attending physician, and if he

failed to act, to advise the hospital authorities so that appropri-

ate action might be taken.” 33 Ill. 2d at 333, 211 N.E.2d at 258.

“We presume that these costs are either factored into the

patient’s hospital bill or that they appear expressly on the bill

itself.

5The duty of each defendant to warn is nondelegable. To illus-

trate, the negligent failure of the doctors to learn of the risks of

the drugs from sources other than the drug manufacturers would

(Footnote con::nued on the following page)

4

rs

q

e-

s

Pa

ke

ad

bd

xe

.

=

o—

e

j

43 a

Next, the hospital makes the argument that it cannot

be liable under the doctrine of strict liability for failure

to warn of the adverse effects of drugs that it administers

because it simply provides a service in that regard. The

hospital’s argument would have merit if this case involved

injurious results of treatment (see Greenberg v. Michael

Reese Hospital (1980), 83 Ill. 2d 282, 289, 415 N.E.2¢ 390,

393) or danger created by the medical decision to admin-

ister the drugs (see Dubin v. Michael Reese Hospital &

Medical Center (1980), 83 Ill. 2d 277, 281, 415 N_E.2d

350, 352), rather than the unriasonably dangerous condi-

tion of the drugs themselves if ‘no warning of the adverse

effects is given to the patient. Compare Cunningham v.

MacNeal Memorial Hospital (1970), 47 Tl. 2d 443, 447-53,

266 N.E.2d 897, 899-902. Here, all of the elements for

a product liability action have been sufficiently alleged:

the case involves a product, i.e., drugs; the hospital was

within the distribution chain of the product;® the product

was unreasonably dangerous without adequate warning of

its adverse effects; the hospital knew or should have known

of the unreasonably dangerous condition; the unreasonably

dangerous condition existed at the time the product left the

hospital’s control; and the unreasonably dangerous condi-

tion of the product, i.e., the failure to warn, was a proxi-

mate cause of plaintiff’s injuries. Thus, this is a classic

product liability case if the alleged facts are proved. See

Woodill v. Parke Davis & Co. (1980), 79 Ill. 2d 26, 402

N.E.2d 194; Cunningham, 47 Il. 2d 443, 266 N.E.2d 897;

Mahr v. G.D. Searle & Co. (1979), 72 Tll. App. 3d 540,

5 (Continued)

not relieve the drug manufacturers of liability for harm resulting

from their own failure to adequately warn. See Mahr, 72 Ill.

App. 3d at 566, 390 N.E.2d at 1233. See also n.3, supra.

®On this point, we note that hospitals charge patients for the

drug. that they dispense. Thus, a sale is involved, and the

hospital is clearly within the distribution chain of the product.

Cunningham, 47 Ill. 2d 443, 447-53, 266 N.E.2d 897, 899-902.

44a

559-60, 390 N.E.2d 1214, 1228-29. We see no good reason

for engrafting an exception in favor of hospitals onto the

strict tort liability theory, which in effect, is what the hos-

pital would have us do. Cunningham, 47 Ill. 2d at 452, 266

N.E.2d at 902. The hospital’s argument has no merit.

Finally, we address the hospital’s argument that the

product liability count against it must be dismissed pur-

suant to Ill. Rev. Stat. 1983, ch. 110, par. 2-621. The

statute provides for the dismissal of defendants other than

manufacturers in product liability actions under certain

circumstances. However, the statute applies only to causes

of action accruing on or after September 24, 1979. (In

the present case, plaintiff was injured on August 1, 1978.)

Thus, the hospital’s argument is baseless.

Accordingly, we hold that each defendant owed a duty

to warn as stated in this opinion and that the duty implic-

itly extended to cover plaintiff and other members of the

general public. Therefore, the counts against the respec-

tive defendants in the third amended complaint sufficiently

state a cause of action. The dismissals are reversed, and

the case is remanded for further proceedings.

REVERSED and REMANDED.

WHITE, P.J., concurs.

McNAMARA, J., dissents.

4

=

a

z

&

*

5

45a

McNAMARA, J., dissents.

I respectfully dissent with the majority’s conclusion

that defendants owe a duty to a plaintiff who was not a

patient, did not use the prescribed drug, and whose injury

was not reasonably foreseeable. The majority’s extension

of tort duty to such a remote party will unduly burden the

health care industry and its professionals and is, therefore,

contrary to public policy. Thus, I would affirm the trial

court’s dismissal of the counts against the physicians, hos-

pital and drug manufacturers.

Illinois courts have not allowed a non-patient, non-

user of a drug to assert a negligence or strict product lia-

bility action for failure to warn the patient or consumer

of the drug about adverse effects. The tort rationale for

imposing liability on a particular defendant is based on a

duty analysis. (Martin v. Kiendl Const. Co. (1982), 108 Tll.

App.3d 468, 438 N.E.2d 1187.) The concept of duty is:

ee ce

a question of whether the defendant is under

any obligation for the benefit of the particular

plaintiff ***.’ This question, ie., whether the

defendant and the plaintiff stood in such a rela-

tionship to one another that the law imposed upon

the defendant an obligation of reasonable conduct

for the plaintiff’s benefit, is one of law for deter-

mination by the court.”

(Cunis v. Brennan (1974), 56 Ill.2d 372, 308 N.E.2d 617,

quoting Prosser, Torts §53, at 324 (4th ed. 1971).) Gener-

ally, the creation of a legal duty requires that the occur-

rence involved must have been reasonably foreseeable; it

requires more than a mere possibility of occurrence. (Cunis

v. Brennan.) Courts have denied liability for negligence

to an unforeseeable plaintiff (Palsgraf v. Long Island R.R.

Co. (1928), 248 N.Y. 339, 162 N.E. 99), or an unforesee-

able occurrence (Mieher v. Brown (1973), 54 Tll.2d 539, 301

N.E.2d 307), and have not allowed a strict product liability

by an unforeseeable plaintiff for an unforeseeable occur-

46a

rence (Winnett v. Winnett (1974), 57 I11.2d 7, 310 N.E.2d

1.) Although questions of foreseeability are ordinarily for

the jury to decide, where the facts alleged in a complaint

on their face demonstrate that the plaintiff would never

be entitled to recover, the complaint is properly dismissed.

Winnett v. Winnett.

The negligence counts in the present complaint allege

that Daniel McCarthy’s physicians, Drs. Tracer and Fine,

and Michael Reese Hospital and Medical Center prescribed

certain drugs to McCarthy without adequate warning

which directly resulted in plaintiff’s injury. In order for

a duty to be imposed, the doctors and hospital should

- have reasonably foreseen that McCarthy would: a) be dis-

charged from the hospital that day; b) consume an alco-

holic beverage; c) operate a motor vehicle; d) pick up

plaintiff as a passenger; e) drive in a careless manner or

with his mental capabilities and physical reactions dimin-

ished; and f) collide with a tree. It seems clear that the

events leading to plaintiff’s injury are indirect and uncon-

nected to the alleged negligence of the doctors and hospital.

See Van Skike v. Zussman (1974), 22 Ill. App.3d 1039, 318

N.E.2d 244.

Although our supreme court has recognized a tort duty

to one who is unknown and remote in time and place, this

duty is limited by considerations of the nature of the rela-

tionship between the parties as well as the foreseeability

of the injury (Renslow v. Mennonite Hosp. (1977), 67 T1l.2d

348, 367 N.E.2d 1250.) In Renslow, the court defined duty

as “an expression of the sum total of those considerations of

policy which lead the law to say that the particular plain-

tiff is entitled to protection” (67 I1].2d 348, 356), and noted

at p. 357 that the law recognizes only “a limited area of

transferred negligence.” In other words, absent a special

relationship or foreseeable injury, negligence or breach of

duty as to one person which ultimately and in fact injures

another to whom no duty is owed is not negligence as to

®

7

47a

the latter person. Palsgraf v. Long Island R.R. Co. See

Martin v. Kiendl Const. Co.

It is my belief that this court should not make the

policy decision to transfer the duty owed to the patient and

consumer of the drug to the general public. To do so would

extend liability of defendants to an indeterminate class for

an indeterminate time in an indeterminate amount. (See

Ultramares Corp. v. Touche (1931), 255 N.Y. 170, 174 N_E.

441). Our supreme court has carefully circumscribed the

limits of transferred negligence to one intimately related

individual in Renslow v. Mennonite Hosp. (infant unborn

at the time of alleged negligence to mother), and a well-

defined class in Rozny v. Marnul (1969), 43 Ill.2d 54, 250

N.E.2d 656, (purchasers or lenders who might foreseeably

use a plat that was negligently surveyed for a third party.)

The majority recognizes that it is extending the duty

to warn of adverse drug effects to the general public, but

asserts that this burden on defendants is outweighed by

the risks to the general public. The majority fails to

acknowledge, however, that the potential liability is over-

whelming. The imposition of tort liability upon doctors

and hospitals to any person who may be injured by their

patients will produce a “chilling effect” on drug therapy

for psychiatric patients. The existence of such a legal obli-

gation would require intimate and constant surveillance

and would discourage doctors and hospitals from treating

patients with medications which can be beneficial. (See

Lance v. Senior (1967), 36 [ll.2d 516, 224 N.E.2d 231.) The

heavy burden sought to be imposed on defendants is not

outweighed by the risks to the general public, and sound

policy considerations militate against that imposition of

tort duty here.

Furthermore, the negligence count against Michael

Reese is deficient because it does not allege that a hospi-

tal breached a recognized duty to the patient McCarthy,

resulting in plaintiff’s injury. There can be no transferred

48a

duty to a non-patient where there is no duty to warn the

patient. A hospital may be liable for injuries suffered by a

patient under its care on two distinct theories. (/ngram v.

Little Company of Mary Hosp. (1982), 108 Ill. App.3d 456,

438 N.E.2d 1194.) The hospital may be liable both for its

physician-agent’s misconduct on a respondeat superior the-

ory or for a violation of an independent duty owed by the

hospital to review and supervise medical care administered

to a patient. Darling v. Charleston Community Memorial

Hosp. (1965), 33 [1l.2d 326, 211 N.E.2d 253, cert. denied

(1966), 383 U.S. 946; Johnson v. St. Bernard Hosp. (1979),

79 Ill. App. 3d 709, 399 N.E.2d 198.

There is no allegation that the physicians who pre-

scribed the drugs to McCarthy were agents or employees

of Michael Reese. Nor does the complaint allege that the

agents or employees of Michael Reese negligently adminis-

tered the drugs to McCarthy. Rather, plaintiff alleges that

Michael Reese prescribed certain drugs to McCarthy with-

out. adequate warning to him. The decision to prescribe

certain drugs is within the discretion of the treating physi-

cian. (Mahr v. G.D. Searle & Co. (1979), 72 Ill. App.3d

540, 390 N.E.2d 1214.) Consequently the duty to warn the

patient of adverse drug effects is owed by the physician,

not the hospital. Where a negligence complaint against

a hospital merely alleges matters within the duty of care

owed by the treating physicians, it is properly dismissed.

Pickle v. Curns (1982), 106 Ill. App.3d 734, 435 N.E.2d

877.

With respect to the strict product liability claims

against the drug manufacturers, E. R. Squibb & Sons, Inc.

and Smithkline Corp., and Michael Reese, the complaint

is likewise deficient. In a “failure to warn” strict product

liability action, [t]he product is in a ‘defective condition

unreasonably dangerous’ (Restatement (Second) of Torts,

sec. 402A (1965)), not because of some defect inherent in

the product itself, but because of the absence of an ade-

49a

quate warning accompanying the product.” (Woodhill v.

Parke Davis & Co. (1980), 79 Ill.2d 26, 30, 402 N.E.2d

194.) It is the general rule that the manufacturer of pre-

scription drugs has the duty to communicate a warning of

potential hazards to the physicians, not to the patient, con-

sumer or the general public. (See Stevens v. Parke, Davis

& Co. (1973), 9 Cal.3d, 51, 507 P.2d 653.) The rationale

for the foregoing rule is that the physician is the “learned

intermediary” who decides to treat the patient with a parti-

cular drug and it would be virtually impossible for a man-

ufacturer to warn the patient or general public directly.

Carmichael v. Reitz (1971), 17 Cal. App.3d 958, 95 Cal.

Rptr. 381.

The present complaint alleges that defendants drug

companies and hospital manufactured or supplied a prod-

uct which “failed to contain adequate warnings of danger-

ous propensities.” Plaintiff does not charge that defendants

failed to adequately warn the treating physicians. Thus

plaintiff’s complaint fails to allege the breach of one duty

that Dlinois courts have recognized as a valid failure to

warn product liability claim against a manufacturer. Nor

does plaintiff allege facts to justify the legal conclusion that

the warnings were inadequate, such as failure to warn the

physician that a drug consumer should not use alcoholic

beverages and then drive. (See Friederich v. Board of Edu-

cation (1978), 59 Ill. App.3d 79, 375 N.E.2d 141.) Where

a complaint fails to allege facts sufficient to set forth the

essential elements of a cause of action, it is properly dis-

missed. Jones v. Eagle II (1981), 99 Ill. App.3d 64, 424

N.E.2d 1253.

Additionally, the hospital does not have an indepen-

dent duty to warn the physician or patient. The treating

physician receives the information from the drug compa-

nies or from his own sources and exercises the professional

judgment to prescribe a certain drug. (Mahr v. G.D. Searle

& Co.) Although the hospital is in the chain of distribution

50a

of the product, the physician directs the hospital to supply

the drug to the patient. Therefore, the physician’s role in

the course of supplying the drug from the manufacturer to

the patient insulates the hospital from strict tort liability.

See Jones v. Irvin (S.D. Til. 1985), 602 F. Supp. 399; Ullman

v. Grant (1982), 114 Misc.2d 220, 450 N.Y.S.2d 955.

Moreover, in Winnett v. Winnett (1974), 57 111.2d 7, 310

N.E. 2d 1, our supreme court has limited the scope of a

manufacturer’s liability to a non-user under a strict prod-

uct liability theory. There, at p. 11, the court stated that

“the liability of a manufacturer properly encompasses only

those individuals to whom injury from a defective product

may reasonably be foreseen.” As with negligence actions,

foreseeability is measured by what is objectively reason-

able to expect, not merely what might conceivably occur.

It was not objectively reasonable for the manufacturers to

anticipate that a psychiatric patient treated by individual

physicians in a hospital would be discharged from the hos-

pital, consume alcoholic beverages, drive a vehicle in which

plaintiff was a passenger, and collide with a tree, injuring

plaintiff. Since plaintiff’s injury was not reasonably fore-

seeable and the manufacturers and hospital have no duty

to warn a non-patient, non-user of a prescription drug, the

trial court properly dismissed the strict product liability

counts. See Bobka v. Cook County Hosp. (1981), 97 Il.

App.3d 351, 422 N.E.2d 999.

As with the negligence counts, strong public policy

considerations preclude the imposition of strict liability on

the drug manufacturers and hospital in this instance. One

of the principal reasons for the rule of strict liability in tort

is the “public interest in human life and health.” (Suvada

v. White Motor Co. (1965), 32 111.2d 612, 619, 210 N.E.2d

182.) It has been recognized that in certain cases the pro-

tection of human life and health would not be enhanced,

but would be diminished by the imposition of strict liabili-

ty. (Greenberg v. Michael Reese Hosp. (1980), 83 T11.2d 282,

5la

415 N.E.2d 390. See Restatement (Second) of Torts, Sec.

402A, comment k (1966).) If strict tort liability is extended

to non-users of prescription drugs, the potential costs to

the drug manufacturers will outweigh the efficacy of pro-

ducing and selling them. The public may be deprived of

effective drugs and medications beneficial to the treatment

of disease. Therefore, the public interest in human life and

health demands that the drug manufacturers not be held

liable to non-users of prescription drugs.

Similarly, strict liability should not be imposed on the

hospital which supplies the drugs to the patient. “[I]n cases

which deal with the conduct of individuals or institutions

which themselves are pledged to protect human life and

health, precautions must be taken to avoid an ultimate

diminution of protection.” (Greenberg v. Michael Reese

Hospital.) In Greenberg, the court held that a hospital,

as a provider of medical services, cannot be sued in strict

liability in tort for an alleged failure to warn of the dan-

gerous effects of x-ray radiation treatments administered

by the hospital. Public policy dictates that the hospital

not be held strictly liable in tort for supplying prescription

drugs to a patient who later injures a nonpatient who did

not consume the drug.

Since I believe that the trial court properly denied

plaintiff’s motion for leave to file a fourth amended com-

plaint, which incidentally was not furnished to the trial

court, I would affirm the judgment of the trial court.

52a

(1) Orders Appealed From

(a) Order of May 20, 1981 (R. 545)

“This cause coming on to be heard upon the motion

of Defendant, Dr. Tracer, to dismiss Plaintiff’s Complaint

and upon Motion of Defendant, Dr. Fine for Judgment on

the Pleadings, the court having heard the arguments of

counsel, being fully advised in the premises, due notice

having been given:

“It Is Hereby Ordered that:

“Defendant Dr. Tracer’s Motion to Dismiss is hereby

sustained and granted with prejudice.

“Defendant Dr. Fine’s Motion for Judgment on the

pleadings is hereby sustained and granted with prejudice.

“It Is Further Ordered that the pending motion for an

in camera inspection of certain documents presented on

behalf of Dr. Fine is continued generally.” (R. 545)

(b) Order of September 3, 1981, (R. 661)

“This matter coming on to be heard upon the motion to

dismiss of E. R. Squibb & Sons, Inc. and Smithkline Clin-

ical Laboratories, Inc. and the parties having filed mem-

orandum, presented oral arguments and the Court being

fully advised in the premises,

“It Is Hereby Ordered:

“1. The motion to dismiss of E. R. Squibb & Sons,

Inc. and Smithkline Clinical Laboratories, Inc. are granted

with prejudice;

“2. There is no just reason for delaying enforcement

or appeal.

“3. Plaintiff’s oral requests made this date to make

this order of dismissal without prejudice and for leave to

file a fourth amended complaint is denied.

“4. Plaintiff's motions to strike Squibb’s and

Smithkline’s motions to dismiss are denied.” (R. 661)

53a

(c) First Order Of September 4, 1981, (R. 662)

“This cause coming on to be heard, all parties being

present and the court being fully advised in the premises,

“It Is Hereby Ordered That:

“1. Plaintiff’s motion to vacate the order of May 20,

1981, which dismissed Count II of plaintiff's Third

Amended Complaint as to Dr. Hlenry K. Fine is denied.

“2. It is further ordered that:

(a) As to Defendant Fiine, the order of May 20,

1981, was final.

(b) Today’s order denyimg vacation of the May 20,

1981 order is final and appealable as to Defendant

Fine.

(c) Plaintiff’s oral motiion of Sept. 3, 1981 to the

order of May 20, 1981, to be without prejudice and to

modify allow plaintiff to file an amended pleading is

denied in exercise of the court’s discretion.

(d) Plaintiff’s oral mottion of Sept. 3, 1981, for

leave to file an amended complaint is denied.

(e) The basis for this Court’s orders herein is that

none of the four complaints already filed by plaintiff

has differed as to the languiage of the warnings given.

No duty [sic. ____., illegible] [has been shown?] as to

the plaintiff on the part of Dr. Fine under the facts

alleged in any of plaintiff’s complaints.” (R. 662)

(d) Second Order Of September 4, 1981 (R. 663

On the same day (September 4, 1981) the following

order was also entered:

“This cause coming on to be heard on the Motion of

Michael Reese Hospital and Medical Center to dismiss

Counts I, [V and V of the plaintiff’s Third Amended Com-

plaint against Michael Reese Hospital and Medical Center,

due notice having been given and the Court being fully

54a

advised in the premises;

“It is hereby ordered that said motion of Michael

Reese Hospital and Medical Center to dismiss counts

I, IV and V of plaintiff’s Third Amended Complaint is

hereby granted and counts I, IV and V of plaintiff’s

Third Amended Complaint are hereby dismissed as against

Michael Reese Hospital and Medical Center with preju-

dice and [sic. illegible] (sic. and plaintiff’s motion to

make (?)] said dismissal without prejudice and for leave to

file a Fourth Amended Complaint as to Counts I, IV and

V against Michael Reese Hospital and Medical Center is

hereby denied in the exercise of the court’s discretion as

all complaints thus far filed against Michael Reese Hospi-

tal and Medical Center have failed to allege any facts giv-

ing rise to a duty on the part of Michael Reese Hospital

and Medical Center to the plaintiff and plaintiff has not

tendered a fourth amended complaint to the court.

“It is further ordered that this court finds no just rea-

son to delay enforcement of or appeal from this order.”

(R. 663)

(e) Third Order Of September 4, 1981 (R. 664)

“This cause coming on to be heard on motion of plain-

tiff for rehearing to vacate the court’s order of 5/20/81

dismissing plaintiff’s complaint in reference to defendant

Tracer and granting defendant’s motion to dismiss the

Third Amended Complaint, the court having considered

the memoranda of law filed by the parties, the court having

heard oral arguments by both parties:

“The Court hereby finds and orders that

(1) Plaintiff’s motion to vacate order of 5/20/81 is

Denied because all factual allegations made by plaintiff did

not give rise to duty to Kirk from Tracer.

(2) Plaintiff’s oral motion on 9/3/81 to amend order of

5/20/81 to be without prejudice and to amend complaint

is denied in the exercise of court’s discretion because al]

55a

factual allegations made by Plaintiff did not give rise to a

duty from Tracer to Kirk and no 4th Amended Complaint

was tendered.

3. Plaintiff’s oral Motion of 9/3/81 to amend the com-

plaint is denied because order of 5/20/81 is final.

4. The court finds there is no just reason to delay

enforcement or appeal of this order.” (R. 664)

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.