Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Henein v. Saudi Arabian Parsons Ltd.

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

, z ()) NOV

8'7 795 5 1987

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

Fall fed K

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Wnited States

October Term, 1987

GAMAL S, HENEIN,

Petitioner,

VS.

SAUDI ARABIAN PARSONS LIMITED,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

DAVID O. CARSON

345 North Maple Drive, Suite 200

Beverly Hills, California 90210

(213) 278-1111

Counsel for Petitioner

Of Counsel:

ALEJANDRO N. MAYORKAS

COOPER, EPSTEIN & HUREWITZ

345 North Maple Drive, Suite 200

Beverly Hills, California 0210

(213) 278-1111

November 5, 1987

EDITOR'S NOTE

THE FOLLOWING PAGES WERE POOR HARD COPY

AT THE TIME OF FILMING, IF AND WHEN A

BETTER COPY CAN BE OBTAINED, A NEW FICHE

WILL BE ISSUED,

REA

-ji-

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The Royal Commission for Jubail & Yanbu, a

commercial agency of the government of the

Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, was formed to work

with respondent Saudi Arabian Parsons Limited, an

unincorporated association organized under the laws

of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and comprised of

corporations organized in the United States, to

construct an industrial city bordering on the Red

Sea. Petitioner Gamal S. Henein was employed by

respondent to work as a civil engineer on the

industrial city project. An officer of the Royal

Commission for Jubail & Yanbu demanded that

respondent terminate petitioner and turn over his

passport. Respondent thereafter terminated

petitioner for cause, disallowing the payment of all

employment benefits which would have _ been

payable had the termination not been "for cause.”

The questions presented are:

[1] Whether there exists, consonant with the

plurality opinion in Alfred Dunhill of London, Inc.

v. Republic of Cuba, 425 U.S. 682 (1976), a

commercial exception to the "act of state" doctrine.

(a) Whether the act of state doctrine or

any other doctrine precludes a court from

determining whether a private employer has

breached its contractual obligations to an employee,

when the employer excuses its breach by claiming

to be acting under orders from a foreign state.

(b) Whether the demands of an officer of

a commercial agency of a foreign government must

as a matter of law command the deference

accorded an act of a foreign state.

ehh

(c) Whether the act of state doctrine

precludes inquiry into the motivations for an act of

state, as well as its validity.

(d) Whether an interlocutory act of a

foreign state which may in fact have been

ultimately repudiated is to be accorded deference

pursuant to the act of state doctrine.

[2] Whether the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit improperly determined that

an intent to.deceive is a necessary element of the

doctrine of equitable estoppel.

[3] Whether the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit, in its summary adjudication

of petitioner’s negligence claim, committed

reversible error by excluding as inadmissible

hearsay the admissions of an agent of the project

operated by respondents, which admissions raised a

triable issue of fact regarding the negligent driver’s

status as an employee of respondent.

-ili-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

THE PARTIES

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. INTRODUCTION

II. The Ninth Circuit’s Flawed

Application Of The Act Of State

Doctrine Only Intensifies The

Confusion And Unresolved Problems

Surrounding The Doctrine’s Applic-

ability To Commercial Dealings

A. The Act Of State Doctrine Must

Not Preclude Adjudication Of

The Private Commercial Conse-

quences Of A Foreign Act Of

State

vi

10

1]

16

-jiv-

B. The Demands Of An Officer Of

A Commercial Agency Of A

Foreign State Cannot As A

Matter Of Law Command The

Deference Accorded An Act Of

A Foreign State 18

C. The Act Of State Doctrine Does

Not Preclude Inquiry Into The

Motivations For An _ Alleged

Decision Of A Foreign State In

Order to Determine Whether The

Decision Was Commercial Or A

Genuine Act Of State 21

D. An _ Interlocutory Act Of A

Foreign State Should Not Be

Accorded Deference Pursuant To

The Act Of State Doctrine 22

Ill. An Intent To Deceive Is Not A

Necessary Element Of The Doctrine

Of Equitable Estoppel 25

IV. The Ninth Circuit Committed

Reversible Error By Excluding As

Inadmissible Hearsay The Admissions

Of An Agent Of The Project

Operated By Respondent, Which

Admissions Raised A Triable Issue Of

Fact In Petitioner’s Negligence Claim 27

CONCLUSION 29

APPENDIX A

Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, on appeal

from the United States District Court

for the Central District of California, in

Gamal S. Henein v. Saudi Arabian

Parsons Limited, No. 85-6128, argued

August 6, 1986 and filed June 5, 1987

APPENDIX B

Order of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit denying

rehearing of Petitioner’s claims, filed

July 8, 1987

APPENDIX C

Summary Judgment of Dismissal by the

United States District Court for the

Central District of California in favor of

Defendant Saudi Arabian Parsons

Limited, No. 82-2330-WPG, dated

June 25, 1985

APPENDIX D

Order of the United States Supreme

Court extending the time to file a

petition for writ of certiorari, dated

October 6, 1987

APPENDIX E

Excerpts from Employment Agreement

D-1

E-]

-Vi-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Airline Pilots Association, Interna-

tional, AFL-CIO v. TACA

International Airlines, S.A., 748 F.2d

965 (Sth Cir. 1984), cert. denied,

471 U.S. 1100 (1985)

Alfred Dunhill of London, Inc. v.

Republic of Cuba, 425 US. 682

(1976)

Allied Bank International v. Banco

Credito Agricola De Cartago, 757

F.2d 516 (2nd Cir. 1985)

Arango v. Guzman Travel Advisors

Corp., 621 F.2d 1371 (Sth Cir.

1980), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 995

(1985)

Banco Nacional de Cuba v. Sabbatino,

376 U.S. 398 (1964)

Callejo v. Bancomer, S.A., 764 F.2d

1101 (Sth Cir. 1985)

Compania De Gas De Nuevo Laredo,

S.A. v. Entex, Inc., 686 F.2d 322

(Sth Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 460

U.S. 1041 (1983)

16

13,14,18

16

16

10,12,13

15,21,25

1]

-Vii-

DeRoburt v. Gannett Co., 733 F.2d

701 (9th Cir. 1984), cert. denied,

469 U.S. 1159 (1985)

Dominicus Americana Bohio v. Gulf &

Western Industries, Inc., 473 F.Supp.

680 (S.D.N.Y. 1979)

First National City Bank v. Banco

Nacional de Cuba, 406 U.S. 759

(1972)

First National City Bank v. Banco

Para El Comercio Exterior De Cuba,

462 US. 611 (1983)

Lix v. Edwards, 82 Cal.App.3d 573

147 Cal.Rptr. 294 (1978)

Ramirez de Arellano v. Weinberger,

745 F.2d 1500 (D.C. Cir. 1984),

vacated on other grounds, 471 USS.

1113 (1985)

Texas Trading & Milling Corp. v.

Federal Republic of Nigeria, 647

F.2d 300 (2d Cir. 1981), cert.

denied, 454 U.S. 1148 (1982)

The "Gul Djemal,” 264 U.S. 90 (1924)

The Schooner Exchange v. M’Faddon,

7 Cranch 116, 3 L.Ed. 287 (1812)

Underhill v. Hernandez. 168 U.S. 250

(1897)

21

25

12

18

26

24

15

18,19

12

12

-Viii-

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

Rule 56(d), Fed. R. Civ. P. 3

Rule 801(d)(2)(D), Fed. R. Evid. 28

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Mann, The _ Sacrosanctity of the

Foreign Act of State, 59 L.Q. Rev.

42 (1943) 13

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1987

GAMAL 5S. HENEIN,

Petitioner,

vs.

SAUDI ARABIAN PARSONS LIMITED,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

NINTH CIRCUIT

The petitioner Gamal S. Henein respectfully

prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the

judgment and opinion of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in the case of

Henein v. Saudi Arabian Parsons Limited, No.

85-6128 on said Court’s docket.

THE PARTIES

The parties to the proceedings below were the

petitioner Gamal S. Henein and the respondent

Saudi Arabian Parsons Limited.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit is not yet reported

ie

and was rendered on June 5, 1987. The opinion |

is reprinted as Appendix A _ hereto, page A-l,

infra. The order of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit denying rehearing is

reprinted as Appendix B hereto, page B-1, infra.

The summary judgment of dismissal issued by

the United States District Court for the Central

District of California has not been reported. It is

reprinted as Appendix C hereto, page C-1, infra.

JURISDICTION

The opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit was dated June 5,

1987. The Court of Appeals denied petitioner’s

petition for rehearing on July 8, 1987.

On October 6, 1987, Justice O’Connor ordered

that the time for filing this petition for writ of

certiorari be extended to and including

November 5, 1987. A copy of said order is

reprinted as Appendix D hereto, page D-1, infra.

The jurisdiction of this Court to review the

judgment of the Ninth Circuit is invoked under 28

U.S.C. §1254(1).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Royal Commission for Jubail & Yanbu

(the "Royal Commission"), a commercial agency of

the government of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia,

was formed to work with respondent Saudi

Arabian Parsons Limited ("respondent"), an

unincorporated association organized under the laws

of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and comprised of

1 Hereinafter referred to as "Opinion."

tn

corporations organized in the United States, to

construct an industrial city bordering on the Red

Sea. "CR" at pages 66-67.2

Petitioner Gamal S. Henein ("petitioner") is a

citizen of the United States of America who,

pursuant to a written employment agreement, was

to perform services for respondent as a principal

civil engineer in Saudi Arabia from May 20, 1980

to November 20, 1981.3

Prior to.petitioner’s departure for Saudi Arabia,

respondent gave petitioner two _ informational

pamphlets which, among other things, apprised

petitioner of what to expect in Saudi Arabia and

what he might wish to bring with him. Of

particular significance is the fact that respondent’s

informational pamphlets advised petitioner that he

could bring prescription medicine with him into

the country as long as he brought the prescription

itself as well. Opinion at page A-6; CR at page

398. Petitioner did so.

On May 14, 1981, during the course of his

employ with respondent, petitioner was involved in

an accident when the automobile he was driving

é References .to the record, denominated herein as

"CR," are to the Appellant's Excerpts of Clerk's

Record filed with the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Court.

3 In its opinion the Ninth Circuit misstated the

prospective time period of petitioner's contractual

performance. Compare Article I of the employment

agreement, reprinted at page D-1, infra, to the

court's statement of the contractual term, reprinted

at page A-6, infra.

willis

-_was hit by a truck.4 Petitioner was hospitalized

in Saudi Arabia for serious injuries. Due to the

gravity of his injuries he was soon thereafter

transported to Los Angeles, where his

hospitalization continued. Opinion at page A-7.

During the Saudis’ investigation of petitioner’s

automobile accident, police found a prescription

drug in petitioner’s briefcase. According to the

declarations of three former employees. of

respondent, a Captain Yusuf Hijr, the Security

Coordinator for the Royal Commission which

served as liaison between respondent and_ the

government of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia,

demanded that, in light of petitioner’s possession

of a prescription drug, respondent terminate

petitioner and turn over his passport. Opinion at

page A-9; CR at pages 97-106. Respondent did so.

In fact, while petitioner was recuperating in

Los Angeles, petitioner received a communication

from respondent stating that his employment was

terminated for cause, thereby depriving petitioner

of certain benefits to which he would otherwise

have been entitled. Opinion at page A-7; CR at

pages 147-150.

In order to effectively deprive petitioner of

any and ail employment benefits, respondent must

necessarily have deemed the termination of

petitioner to be "for cause” pursuant to section

12.1.A of the employment agreement; if petitioner

was considered to be terminated for “any other

lawful reason," he would have been, pursuant

4 Conflicting evidence was presented to the courts

below relative to the truck driver's status as an

employee of respondent. See discussion, infra.

=

to section 12.2 of the employment agreement,

considered to have satisfactorily completed his

work and therefore entitled to employment

benefits. Petitioner’s work performance itself was

not called into question upon his termination.

Section 12.1.A of the employment agreement

set forth the grounds upon which an employee of

respondent could be terminated for cause. Section

12.1.A stated in relevant part:

SAPL, at its discretion, may at any

time terminate Employee’s

employment hereunder for’ cause,

such as ... illegal use of drugs

failure to comply with the local

customs or laws of Saudi Arabia ...

or conduct of any dependent or guest

of Employee in the country of the

Employment which is detrimental to

SAPL....>

Respondent terminated petitioner "for cause”

based on its position that Captain Hijr spoke for

the government of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia,

and that in said capacity he had demanded

petitioner’s termination and banishment _ for

petitioner’s "failure to comply with the _ local

5 Section 12. of the employment agreement’. is

reprinted in its entirety commencing at page €E-2,

infra. Significantly, the Ninth Circuit misstated

said section in its Opinion, asserting that

petitioner could be terminated for cause for his own

conduct that would be detrimental to respondent,

rather than for such conduct of “any dependent or

guest" of his. Compare Section 12.1.A, reprinted in

full at page E-2, infra, to the Ninth Circuit's

recitation of said contractual term, reprinted at

page A-6, infra.

in

customs or laws of Saudi Arabia"; namely,

petitioner’s possession of a prescription drug. CR

at page 68. In _ response, petitioner offered

respondent proof that the Saudi government itself

had issued to petitioner a visa so that he might

re-enter the country, thus rebutting petitioner’s

claim that there was an _ officially-sanctioned

"banishment." See Opinion at page A-9 at n.3; CR

at pages 211, 245. Petitioner also vigorously

contested to respondent the alleged impropriety of

his possession of a prescription drug. Petitioner’s

appeal of his termination was to no avail.

By amended complaint dated January 3, 1983,

petitioner complained against respondent in the

United States District Court for the Central District

of California, seeking declaratory relief and

damages for breach of contract, negligence,

misrepresentation, defamation and intentional

infliction of emotional distress.°

Petitioner’s breach of contract claim was

premised on respondent’s decision to terminate

petitioner for cause and deny him any award of

employment benefits. On July 9, 1984 respondent

moved for summary adjudication of said claim

pursuant to Rule 56(d), Fed. R. Civ. P., on the

grounds that petitioner’s termination for cause was

premised upon Captain Hijr’s demand that

respondent turn over petitioner’s passport and

6 The viability solely of petitioner's claim for

damages for breach of contract and negligence are

presently at issue; the discussion will be limited

accordingly.

om

terminate his employ. Respondent’s motion for

summary judgment was granted and a partial

judgment of dismissal was entered by the District

Court on July 31, 1984.

Petitioner’s negligence claim arose out of his

collision with the truck and was based on his

allegation that the truck was driven at the time of

the collision by an employee of respondent. In

support of his allegations petitioner presented to

the District Court his own declaration, in which he

attested that officers of the project operated by .

respondent had stated to him that petitioner’s

co-worker was operating the vehicle and was

responsible for the collision. CR at pages 445-46.

The District Court deemed petitioner’s factual

showing to be inadmissible hearsay and, after

granting respondent’s June 24, 1985 motion for

summary adjudication of said claim, entered a

final judgment of dismissal on July 17, 1985.

The Ninth Circuit affirmed the District Court’s

judgment of dismissal. In addressing petitioner’s

breach of contract claim, the court concluded that

because of Captain Hijr’s order to terminate

petitioner, respondent was entitled to discharge

petitioner for cause. The court’s ruling was

premised on the declarations of three former

employees of respondent who attested to the

import of Captain Hijr’s order. CR at pages

97-106. Though the Court found that the stated

reasons for Captain Hijr’s order, as set forth in the

declarations, were inadmissible as hearsay (Opinion

at page A-10), the Court ruled that the very fact

that the order was communicated was certainly not

hearsay and, rather, conclusive evidence of the

justifiability of petitioner’s termination for cause.

oii.

In this respect the Court, in its affirmance of

the summary dismissal below, did not deem as a

triable issue of fact the question whether Captain

Hijr did speak for the Saudi government.

Moreover, the Court did not question, or deem

questionable, the role of the Saudi government

(assuming, arguendo, the words of Captain Hijr

were the words of the government) in_ its

commercial dealings with respondent, and _ its

attendant commercial obligation to petitioner. Nor

did the Court question the finality of Captain

Hijr’s order of banishment, despite petitioner’s

presentation of evidence (acknowledged by the

Court; see Opinion at page A-9, n.3) that the

Saudi government itself had re-issued petitioner a

visa for his re-entry into the country.

The Ninth Circuit ultimately refused to

premise respondent’s decision to terminate

petitioner upon the "act of state" doctrine so fully

briefed by both parties in the District Court and

on appeal. The Court, however, deemed

respondent’s justification for terminating petitioner

for cause to be a function of Captain Hijr’s order.

This apparent self-contradiction first appears at

footnote 5 of the Court’s Opinion:

The parties devote considerable

attention to the question whether the

banishment order constitutes an “act

of state" and whether the district

court should have considered disputed

evidence about the accuracy of the

Saudi government’s determination.

These matters are completely

irrelevant to this dispute. Even if

Henein had conclusively established

that the Saudi government’s orders

-9-

were incorrect and that he was not in

possession of illegal drugs, SAPL

would still have been bound by the

Saudi decree and entitied to discharge

Henein under the express terms of

the employment contract.

The apparent contradiction is sharpened by the

-Court’s subsequent statement, despite its earlier

ruling that the reasons for Captain Hijr’s

banishment and termination order were

inadmissible, that

SAPL presented uncontroverted

evidence that Henein’ had _ been

banished for violation of the local

laws and customs of Saudi Arabia

and that he was discharged for this

reason. The act of the Saudi

government thus constitutes a proper

reason for termination under the

contract.

Opinion at A-14. The Court thus found

respondent to be justified in terminating petitioner

for cause.

The Ninth Circuit thereupon addressed the

issue whether, by virtue of respondent’s

misrepresentations in its informational pamphlets,

respondent should be estopped from relying on the

orders of Captain Hijr. The court rejected the

estoppel claim, concluding that petitioner presented

no evidence that respondent "knew or should have

known that _~__séiits representations concerning

prescription drugs were untrue." Opinion at A-14.

The Ninth Circuit thereafter affirmed the

District Court’s dismissal of petitioner’s negligence

-10-

claim, agreeing with the District Court’s ruling that

petitioner’s declaration was inadmissible as hearsay,

notwithstanding petitioner’s claim that the

statements of officers of the project were

admissible as admissions of respondent.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

Introduction

This case provides the Court with the

opportunity to delimit the “act of state" doctrine

and thereby define the courts’ constitutional power

to legally question foreign acts of state. This

Court’s decision in Banco Nacional de Cuba y.

Sabbatino, 376 U.S. 398, 423 (1964), sets forth the

constitutional import of the questions presented

herein as follows:

The act of state doctrine does

ay have "constitutional"

underpinnings. It arises out of the

basic relationships between branches

of government in a_ system of

separation of powers. It concerns the

competency of dissimilar institutions

to make and implement particular

kinds of decisions in the area of

international relations.

atte

II

The Ninth Circuit’s Flawed Application Of The

Act Of State Doctrine Only Intensifies The

Confusion And Unresolved Problems

Surrounding The Doctrine’s Applicability To

Commercial Dealings.

Amidst the ever-increasing involvement of

foreign states in the field of commerce, the

paucity of decisions of this Court concerning the

judicial deference to be accorded the commercial

dealings of those foreign states has caused

confusion and conflict among the circuits.

Application of the “act of state" doctrine, ue

principal vehicle by which courts grant deference

to foreign acts of state, is the paradigm of this

confusion.

{I]f the Foreign Sovereign Immunities

Act is a tangled web of statutory

ambiguities, the act of state doctrine

is an airy castle.

Callejo v. Bancomer, S.A., 764 F.2d 1101, 1113

(Sth Cir. 1985).

In the case at bar, the Ninth Circuit applied

the act of state doctrine expansively, while

disclaiming any intent to apply the doctrine at all:

it refused to permit inquiry into whether a private

employer breached its contractual obligations to its

employee, because the employer claimed to be

acting under orders from a commercial agency of a

foreign state.

In its traditional formulation the act of state

doctrine precludes the courts of this country “from

inquiring into the validity of the public acts of a

recognized foreign sovereign power committed

12.

within its own territory." Banco Nacional de Cuba

vy. Sabbatino, 376 U.S. 398, 401 (1964). The classic

statement of the doctrine is found in Underhill y.

Hernandez, 168 U.S. 250, 252 (1897):

Every sovereign state is bound

to respect the independence of every

Other sovereign state, and the courts

of one country will not sit in

judgment on the acts of the

government of another done within

its own territory. Redress of

grievances by reason of such acts

must be obtained through the means

open to be availed of by sovereign

powers as between themselves.

The courts grant deference to the Executive Branch

in their adherence to the belief that notions of

comity among nations require that the Executive

have exclusive power over the conduct of relations

with other sovereign powers.

[T]he sovereign power of the nation

is alone competent to avenge wrongs

committed by a sovereign ... the

questions to which such wrongs give

birth are rather questions of policy

than of law ... they are for

diplomatic, rather than legal

discussion, are of great weight, and

merit serious attention.

The Schooner Exchange v. M'Faddon, 7 Cranch

- 116, 146, 3 L.Ed. 287 (1812), quoted in First

National City Bank v. Banco Nacional de Cuba, 406

U.S. 759, 762 (1972).

The act of state doctrine is not, however,

inflexible. Because the doctrine’s "continuing

atte

vitality depends on its capacity to reflect the

proper distribution of functions between the

judicial and political branches of the Government

on matters bearing upon foreign affairs,”

Sabbatino, 376 US. at 428, its application and

effect must remain a function of the degree to

which our foreign relations are implicated by any

act of a foreign state. Jd. The act of state

doctrine has therefore been restricted to those

governmental acts in which the sovereign’s interest

qua sovereign is involved. See Mann, The

Sacrosanctity of the Foreign Act of State, 59 L.Q.

Rev. 42 (1943).

The need for a restrictive application of the

act of state doctrine was recognized by this Court

in Alfred Dunhill of London, Inc. v. Republic of

Cuba, 425 U.S. 682 (1976), where a_ plurality

refused to extend the doctrine to include the

repudiation of a purely commercial obligation owed

by a foreign state or by one of its commercial

instrumentalities.

[W]e are in no sense compelled to

recognize as an act of state the

purely commercial conduct of foreign

governments in order to avoid

embarrassing conflicts with the

Executive Branch. On the contrary

. we fear that embarrassment and

conflict would more likely ensue if

we were to require that’ the

repudiation of a foreign government's

debts arising from its operation of a

purely commercial business be

recognized as an act of state and

immunized from question in our

courts.

ee

-14-

Alfred Dunhill, 425 U.S. at 697-98.

Because this “commercial exception" to the act

of state doctrine only commanded a plurality of

this Court, however, circuit courts have operated

in a cloud of confusion in their application of the

doctrine. Conflict among the circuits has been the

unfortunate result.’ It was the potential for this

very conflict which, for fear of the resulting

disunity in the field of foreign affairs, led this

Court to establish the act of state doctrine.

Because the degree of foreign government

involvement which must be present prior to

invocation of the act of state doctrine varies with

the particular facts and circumstances of each case,

7 The Second Circuit, in Hunt v. Mobil Oil Corp.,

550 F.2d 68 (2nd Cir. 1977), cert denied, 424 U.S.

984 (1974), refused to apply the act of state

doctrine where the sovereign was sued upon its

commercial activity. See i

F i i ia, 647 F.2d 300

(2nd Cir. 1981), cert denied, 454 U.S. 1148

(1982)(commercial activity exception applied where

Nigerian government breached cement -purchase

contracts). From the Ninth Circuit there heave issued

conflicting decisions: compere,_e.g., Northrop Corp.

vy. _McDonnett Dougias Corp., 705 F.2d 1030, 1048 n.25

(9th Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 849 (1983)

(existence of commercial exception), to International

f c r

QPEC, 649 F.2d 1354, 1360 (9th Cir. 1981), cert.

denied, 454 U.S. 1163 (1982) (a presence of sa

commercial component does not create a commercial

activity exception). The Fifth Circuit is also in a

state of complete confusion, having issued

conflicting decisions within its own jurisdiction.

See Callejo v, Bancomer, S.A., 764 F.2d 1101, 1115

n.17 (Sth Cir. 1985) ("The articulation in Dunhill of

@ commercial activity exception to the act of state

doctrine has engendered considerable debate"), and

cases cited therein.

-$4.

Sabbatino, 376 US. at 428, application of the

doctrine requires a case-by-case analysis of the

extent to which the separation of powers concerns

(which are at the heart of the doctrine) are

implicated by the particular governmental action at

issue. Texas Trading & Milling Corp. v. Federal

Republic of Nigeria, 647 F.2d 300, 316 n.38 (2d

Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1148 (1982).

In this case the Ninth Circuit’s application of

the act of state doctrine in a commercial setting

was realized by way of summary judgment. The

court’s failure to weigh the considerations which

bear on the applicability of the doctrine will only

intensify the confusion of the courts and add to

the disunity in their application of the doctrine.

Moreover, summary adjudication of the many

factual considerations implicit in a decision to

apply the doctrine in a commercial setting is not

8 Despite the Ninth Circuit's disclaimer of its

application of the act of state doctrine (see

footnote 5 of its Opinion, reprinted in Appendix A at

page A-13; see also Statement Of The Case, supra, at

pegeS ), there can be no doubt that the ccurt did

indeed apply the doctrine; it granted judicial

deference to the Saudi official's termination order

without questioning the order's lawfulness or the

reasons for the order. See footnote 5 of the court's

Opinion, as well as its Opinion at page A-14 (“The

act of the Saudi government .. . constitutes a

proper reason for termination under the contract.")

This is by definition the very import of the act of

state doctrine. In fact, it is an example of the

doctrine's misguided application in a commercial

setting. See discussion, infra.

=

only in and of itself erroneous, ” but will add to

the circuit courts’ conflict over the proper effect

of those considerations as well.

A. The Act Of State Doctrine Must Not

Preclude Adjudication Of The Private

Commercial Consequences Of A Foreign

Act Of State.

Several circuits have held that the act of state

doctrine does not preclude judicial inquiry into the

propriety of a private concern’s commercial

reaction to a foreign act of state.

The act of state doctrine only precludes

judicial inquiry into the legality, validity,

and propriety of the acts and motivations

of foreign sovereigns acting in_ their

governmental roles within their own

boundaries; [footnote omitted] it does not

preclude judicial resolution of ail

commercial consequences stemming from

the occurrences of such public acts.

Arango v. Guzman Travel Advisors Corp., 621 F.2d

1371, 1380-81 (Sth Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 474

U.S. 995 (1985); Allied Bank International v. Banco

Credito Agricola De Cartago, 757 F.2d 516, 521

(2nd Cir. 1985); see Airline Pilots Association,

International, AFL-CIO vy. TACA _ International

Airlines, S.A., 748 F.2d 965, 971 (Sth Cir. 1984),

cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1100 (1985) ("We do not

9 Summary judgment is only proper when there is no

genuine issue as to any material fact. Planet

Insurance v. Mead Reinsurance Corp., 789 F.2d 668,

670 (9th Cir. 1986).

«tts

adjudicate the validity of Article 110, §4 of the

Salvadoran Constitution, nor do we comment on

El Salvador’s regulatory practices and _ policies

involving public service companies. That is not

our prerogative. We do adjudicate, however, the

legality of TACA’s response to the governmental

directive it received.")

In the case at bar the Ninth Circuit, by way of

summary judgment, insulated respondent from

honoring its contractual obligations to petitioner.

Accepting at face value the order of Captain Hijr

that respondent banish and terminate petitioner, yet

without addressing the cause for said order, the

Ninth Circuit deemed that as a matter of law

respondent was justified in terminating petitioner

for cause, thus disallowing the payment of

employment benefits to which petitioner would

otherwise have been entitled.

The Ninth Circuit, by its decision below, drew

the bounds of deference to be accorded an act of

state (assuming, arguendo, an act of state did

occur) much too broadly, insulating a private

concern from any and all commercial obligations in

any way related to the foreign act itself. The

purported act of state was an order of termination;

the commercial consequence was a termination for

cause and a summary denial of employment

benefits under private contract. If the Ninth

Circuit’s decision is allowed to stand, the potential

effects of the act of state doctrine may far exceed

the bounds already drawn to serve the doctrine’s

intent.

=

B. The Demands Of An Officer Of A

Commercial Agency Of A Foreign State

Cannot As A Matter Of Law Command

The Deference Accorded An Act Of A

Foreign State.

This Court has long recognized that, prior to

according any deference to an act of state, there

must necessarily be an analysis of whether in fact

an act of state did occur. First National City Bank

vy. Banco Para El Comercio Exterior De Cuba, 462

US. 611, 623-627 (1983). The goal of such

analysis is to discern whether in fact the voice that

would be accorded deference is indeed that of the

sovereign, and not merely that of an individual

who speaks only for himself. Furthermore, and in

light of the question whether a foreign state’s

commercial acts are to be accorded any deference

at all, there must be some analysis of whether the

foreign authority is governmental as opposed to

purely commercial. Alfred Dunhill, 425 U.S. at

693-94.

If there is to be a commercial exception to the

act of state doctrine, then the act of a foreign

commercial authority as such is to be accorded no

deference at all. In The "Gul Djemal,” 264 U.S. 90

(1924), quoted in Alfred Dunhill, 425 U.S. at 693

n.9, this Court questioned whether the master of a

steamship owned and operated for commercial

purposes by the Turkish Government would be

accorded the sovereign immunity commanded by

the foreign government itself. In holding that the

officer of the Turkish Navy would not be granted

such status because his representation of his

government as master of a commercial ship did not

in and of itself suggest that he was entitled to

-19-

represent the sovereign in other capacities, this

Court wrote as follows:

"The Anne, 3 Wheat. 435, 4 L.Ed.

428, reaffirmed by The Sao Vicente, 260

ia tae, oe oe. 15, 67 L.Ed. 179, is

enough to show that the immunity couid

not have been successfully set up by a

duly recognized consul, representative of

his sovereign in commercial matters, in

the ordinary course of his official duties,

and there seems no adequate reason to

presume that the master of the Gul

Djemal had any greater authority in

respect thereto. Although an officer of

the Turkish Navy, he was performing no

naval or military duty, and was serving

upon a vessel not functioning in naval o-

military capacity but engaged in commerce

. re He was not shown to have any

authority to represent his sovereign other

than can be inferred from his position as

eee Ska

The "Gul Djemal,” 264 U.S. at 95.

In the case at bar the Ninth Circuit summarily

held that the order of Captain Hijr, the Security

Coordinator for the Royal Commission, the

commercial agency of the Saudi government which

worked jointly with respondent in the construction

of an industrial city, was automatically to be

2.

accorded the deference of an act of state. !0 By

way of its summary adjudication the Ninth Circuit

deferred to the order of an officer of a

commercial agency and __ thereby insulated

respondent, a private and related commercial

association, from honoring its contractual

obligations to petitioner. Based solely on the order

of Captain Hijr, respondent was permitted to

terminate petitioner for cause, thereby disallowing

the payment to petitioner of employment benefits

to which he would otherwise have been entitled.

The Ninth Circuit failed to question the

sovereign authority of Captain Hijr, though it was

obligated to do so. Assuming the Court had met

this obligation, however, and had the Court

concluded, after consideration of the relevant facts,

that Captain Hijr did speak for the Saudi

government, then it was incumbent upon the Court

to weigh the circumstances of the Saudi

involvement and determine whether said

involvement was of a political or commercial

nature. The answer to these questions would have

determined the applicability of the act of state

doctrine. However, the Ninth Circuit, by its

summary judgment, asked none of these questions.

Its failure to do so will only intensify the

confusion and conflict among the circuits.

10 It was only Captain Hijr's oral order itself,

introduced by way of the declarations of three of

respondent's former employees, which evidenced the

purported act of state. All other allegations were

excluded as inadmissible hearsay. See Opinion at

page A-10.

tie

~C. The Act Of State Doctrine Does Not

Preclude Inquiry Into The Motivations For

An Alleged Decision Of A Foreign State

In Order to Determine Whether The

Decision Was Commercial Or A Genuine

Act Of State.

Though it is well established that the act of

state doctrine precludes inquiry into the validity of

the public acts which a _ recognized foreign

sovereign power committed within its own

territory, Sabbatino, 376 U.S. at 401, the circuit

courts are in great disagreement whether the

doctrine precludes inquiry into the motivations for

a purported public act.

While, for example, the Ninth Circuit has ruled

that the act of state doctrine prohibits inquiry into

the motivations for, as well as the validity of, acts

of foreign states, DeRoburt v. Gannett Co., 733

F.2d 701, 703 (9th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469

U.S. 1159 (1985) (due to an unwillingness to

question the nobility of a foreign nation’s

motivations and thereby cause the political offense

which the act of state doctrine particularly seeks to

avoid), the Fifth Circuit has held that inquiry into

the motivations of a foreign government is not as

prohibited by the doctrine as is an inquiry into the

11 Compare, e.g., Hunt v. Mobil Oil Corp., 550 F.2d

68 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 984 (1977)

Cinquiry into a sovereign's motivations is

precluded), with Compania de Gas de Nuevo Laredo,

S.A. vy. Entex, Inc., 686 F.2d 322, 325 (Sth Cir.

1982), cert. denied, 460 U.S. 1041 (1983), and

Williams v. Curtiss-Wright Corp., 694 F.2d 300, 304

n> €3re Cif. 1982) (analysis of sovereign's

motivations not precluded).

* ~23-

validity of the foreign act itself. Compania De

Gas De Nuevo Laredo, S.A. v. Entex, Inc., 686 F.2d

322, 325 (Sth Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 460 US.

1041 (1983). The Compania court reasoned that an

analysis of the motivations of a foreign

government is necessary to determine the public

nature of the foreign act: whether in fact the

sovereign acted as a sovereign or whether its

actions were of a commercial nature and therefore

not privy to the insulation otherwise accorded an

act of state. Compania, 686 F.2d at 326.

It stands to reason that in order to serve the

interests of the act of state doctrine, rather than to

permit the doctrine to become a shield by which

foreign states or officials of foreign states may

insulate themselves from liability for any misdeeds

they commit in their private commercial dealings,

the motivations behind a particular act in question

must be subject to judicial scrutiny. Only in this

manner can the commercial or public nature of the

foreign act be determined, and the deference (or

lack thereof) to be accorded it be effectuated.!2

12 Even the Ninth Circuit has, in another case,

addressed the importance which an analysis of a

sovereign's motivation may have relative to the

degree of judicial scrutiny which would necessarily

follow:

While we do not wish to impugn or

question the nobility of a foreign nation's

motivation, we are necessarily interested in

the depth and nature of its interest. The

Restatement (Second) of Foreign Relations

Law of the United States §41 (1965) makes an

important distinction on this basis’ in

limiting the deference of American courts:

[A] court in the United States ...

will refrain from examining the

(Foetnote continued on next page.)

x

In the case at bar the Ninth Circuit made no

inquiry whatsoever into the motives behind Captain

Hijr’s order that petitioner be terminated. !

Whether or not Captain Hijr spoke for the Saudi

government is in this context of no consequence;

even the government itself, by and through the

Royal Commission, may have acted in a

commercial capacity when it ordered that petitioner

be terminated from his employment pursuant to

private contract. By virtue of its summary

judgment, however, the Ninth Circuit permitted no

inquiry into the motives of Captain Hijr, or the

private, commercial interests he served thereby.

(Footnote continued from previous page.)

validity of an act of a foreign state

by which that state has exercised its

jurisdiction to give effect to its

public interests. [Emphasis added.)

Timberlane Lumber Co. v. Bank of America, N.T. &

S.A., 549 F.2d 597, 607 (9th Cir. 1976), cert.

denied, 472 U.S. 1032 (1985). The private,

commercial interests of a foreign state are not

immune from the adjudicative power of the courts.

13 In fact, no evidence was even admitted as to the

reasons for Captain Hijr's order. Though in the

declarations of three former employees of respondent

the reasons given were the violation of Saudi law and

custom, this evidence was excluded as inadmissible

hearsay. Astonishingly, however, the court deemed

respondent justified in terminating petitioner for

cause by virtue of Captain Hijr's order that

petitioner had violated Saudi law and custom. This

self-contradiction was unfortunately determinative.

+s

D. An Interlocutory Act Of A Foreign State

Should Not Be Accorded Deference

Pursuant To The Act Of State Doctrine.

It seems quite clear that application of the act

of state doctrine to an unconsummated act of a

foreign state would amount to a premature exercise

of judicial deference.

It is generally recognized that a conclusive

foreign act must be completed before the

doctrine is invoked. The doctrine has

never been applied when it was uncertain

whether a foreign expropriation has been

effected. See, e.g., Restatement (Second)

of the Foreign Relations Law of the

United States §43 comment a (1965)

("(A]jct of state doctrine .. .becomes

applicable only when and if the act has

been ‘fully executed." (emphasis added)).

Until it is shown that an officially

sanctioned physical seizure has in fact

occurred, or that the legal processes of

expropriation have been terminated by the

foreign government, partial governmental

action does not necessarily result in an act

of state.”

Ramirez de Arellano v. Weinberger, 745 F.2d 1500,

1535 n.154 (D.C. Cir. 1984), vacated on other

grounds, 471 U.S. 1113 (1985).

Prior to the finality of the foreign act, its very

nature and import cannot be determined, thereby

precluding any analysis of the applicability of the

doctrine itself.

The prematurity, or actual improvidence of

granting effect to the act of state doctrine prior to

-25-

the final realization of the foreign act, could be

disastrous should the foreign government ultimately

repudiate the previously unquestioned act. See

Dominicus Americana Bohio v. Gulf & Western

Industries, Inc., 473 F.Supp. 680, 690 (S.D.N.Y.

1979), citing Sabbatino, 376 U.S. at 432 ("an act

that would otherwise be immune from _ judicial

inquiry may lose its privileged status if the

government repudiates it.")

In the case at bar the Ninth Circuit summarily

accorded finality to Captain Hijr’s order and _ its

attendant commercial consequence, despite the

Saudi government’s own apparent unwillingness to

grant said order the same degree of finality.

Petitioner presented evidence that Captain Hijr’s

order that petitioner be banished had not been

endorsed by the government -- the Saudi

government had in fact issued petitioner a visa for

his re-entry into the kingdom. Despite the Ninth

Circuit’s awareness of this fact, it mevertheless

applied the act of state doctrine -- by way of

summary judgment -- to Captain Hijr’s order.

ITI

An Intent To Deceive Is Not A Necessary Element

Of The Doctrine Of Equitable Estoppel.

It is undisputed that respondent represented in

its informational pamphlets that petitioner could

14 The court's characterization of the evidence of

Henein's right of re-entry as "collateral" is

unsupported and incomprehensible. See the Ninth

a Opinion, reprinted as Appendix A, at page

A-F, is Ba

«MM.

Carry a prescription drug into Saudi Arabia as long

as he brought the prescription itself. Allegedly,

however, petitioner was ultimately terminated for

possession of a prescription drug while in Saudi

Arabia, notwithstanding his possession of a written

prescription.

Respondent was able to terminate petitioner for

cause based on petitioner’s reliance on respondent’s

written representation, which representation (of

what to do and not do in Saudi Arabia) was

supposed to prevent the very result it caused.

The Ninth Circuit addressed the issue of

estoppel -- whether respondent should be "estopped

from relying on the act of banishment to justify

the termination because [respondent] advised

[petitioner] that the conduct resulting in the

banishment order ... was permissible" (Opinion

at page A-14, infra) -- and then summarily

dismissed it, based on petitioner’s failure to present

evidence that respondent knew or should have

known that its representations were untrue.

The Ninth Circuit applied an incorrect standard

in its summary adjudication of the estoppel issue.

An actual intent to deceive is unnecessary to prove

estoppel; rather, negligence or silence in the face

of a duty to speak may suffice. Lix v. Edwards,

82 Cal.App.3d 573, 580, 147 Cal.Rptr. 294 (1978).

An objective view of respondent’s inaccurate

representation, in light of the context in which it

was made, clearly justifies application of the

principle that respondent should have been

estopped from relying on the purported act of

banishment. Surely an employer, which made to

its employee an untrue written representation that

.the employee is permitted to bring a prescription

drug into a foreign country, cannot later terminate

x. =

that employee for cause due to the employee’s

justifiable reliance on the written representation.

There is certainly a triable issue of fact, contrary

to the Ninth Circuit’s summary adjudication,

relative to the negligence of respondent in

proffering its false representation.

IV

The Ninth Circuit Committed Reversible Error

By Excluding As Inadmissible Hearsay The

Admissions Of An Agent Of The Project

Operated By Respondent, Which Admissions

Raised A Triable Issue Of Fact In Petitioner’s

Negligence Claim.

The Ninth Circuit held that the evidence

presented by petitioner which linked respondent to

the driver and the truck involved in the accident

-- evidence which formed the basis of petitioner's

negligence claim -- was properly excluded by the

district court as inadmissible hearsay.!5 The

court misapplied the Federal Rules of Evidence.

Petitioner submitted to the court his declaration

in which he attested that, while in the hospital, he

was visited by officers of the project operated by

15 As to respondent's possessory interest in the

truck, it is important to note that in this regard

summary judgment was issued by virtue of the

“uncontroverted" evidence submitted by respondent

which disclaimed the possibility of respondent's

ownership interest in the truck. No evidence,

however, disproved the possibility that respondent

had, for example, leased, rented or merely used the

truck. See Opinion at page A-15. Summary judgment

was therefore inappropriate.

ieee

-28-

respondent (Captain Hijr included) who informed

him that the driver of the truck was a co-worker

of petitioner.

The statement of the officer of respondent is

not inadmissible hearsay, as supported by Rule

801(d2D), Fed. R. Evid., which provides in

relevant part as follows:

A statement is not hearsay if --

ee

The statement is offered against a

party and is ... a statement by his agent

Or servant concerning a matter within the

scope of his agency or employment, made

during the existence of the relationship

Interestingly, the very same _ evidentiary

grounds upon which the Court excluded the

statement of Captain Hijr informing petitioner of

his co-worker’s role in the accident are _ those

evidentiary grounds upon which the Court admitted

Captain Hijr’s “order” vis-a-vis the act of state.

Compare the ourt’s opinion, feprinted as

Appendix A, at page A-10 and A-16.

Respondent’s officer’s statements regarding the

accident were properly before the Court, thereby

raising a triable issue of fact as to respondent’s

liability for the accident and precluding summary

adjudication of said issue.

The Ninth Circuit’s inconsistent application of

the Federal Rules of Evidence must not be

allowed. A published opinion cannot be permitted

to stand as authority for conflicting propositions.

-29-

CONCLUSION

If the Court of Appeals’ decision is allowed to

stand, private concerns which engage in commerce

with foreign states will be insulated from

adjudication of their failure to honor their

commercial obligations to third parties. The effect

will be to expand the act of state doctrine beyond

the bounds drawn to serve its concern for an

appropriate separation of powers, and instead to

transform the doctrine into a sword with which

commercial entities, both private and governmental,

will defeat both their own commitments and the

expectations of those with whom they do business.

That the decision below was reached by

summary adjudication only intensifies the troubling

consequences soon to follow. Apart from adding

to the confusion and conflict already existing

among the circuits, the decision will shatter the

well established guidance drawn by the Court that

the act of state doctrine is only to be imposed

upon a very careful and precise analysis of the

facts, in order to assure its proper application.

The erroneous application by the Court of

Appeals of the Federal Rules of Evidence, as well

as the doctrine of equitable estoppel, will, if

-30-

allowed to stand, establish precedent for inconsis-

tent and misguided future rulings.

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID O. CARSON

345 North Maple Drive, Suite 200

Beverly Hills, California 90210

(213) 278-1111

Counsel for Petitioner

Of Counsel:

ALEJANDRO N. MAYORKAS

COOPER, EPSTEIN & HUREWITZ

A Professional Corporation

345 North Maple Drive, Suite 200

Beverly Hills, California 90210

(213) 278-1111

November 5, 1987

APPENDIX A

A-1l

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

GAMAL S. HENEIN, No. 85-6128

D.C. No.

CV 82-2330-WPG

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

SAUDI ARABIAN PARSONS

LIMITED, an unincorporated

association,

OPINION

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Defendant-Appellee. )

)

Argued and Submitted

August 6, 1986 Pasadena, California

Filed June 5, 1987

Before: Thomas Tang and Melvin Brunetti, Circuit

Judges, and Bruce R. Thompson,* District Judge

Opinion by Judge Tang

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Central District of California

William P. Gray, District Judge, Presiding

SUMMARY

Evidence/Contracts

Appeal from a grant of summary judgment to

the defendants in a case arising out of the

termination of an employment contract.

*Honorable Bruce R. Thompson, Senior United

States District Judge for the District of Nevada,

sitting by designation.

A-2

Appellant Gamal Henein (Henein) entered into

an employment contract with Saudi Arabian

Parsons Limited (SAPL) under which Henein was

to perform services as an engineer in Saudi

Arabia. The agreement provided that SAPL could

terminate the agreement for cause, including illegal

use of drugs, failure to comply with the local

customs or laws of Saudi Arabia and conduct

detrimental to SAPL. Informational pamphlets

advised that he should carry the prescription if he

brought any prescription medicine with him into

the country. After working for a time in Saudi

Arabia, Henein was involved in an accident when

the automobile he was driving collided with a

truck. He was hospitalized in Saudi Arabia, and

then transported to Los Angeles to continue

hospitalization. During the investigation of the

automobile accident, Saudi police discovered

restricted drugs in Henein’s briefcase, ordered he

be removed from Saudi Arabia and placed his

name on a list of those prohibited from entering

the country. The date on which the employment

agreement was due to expire, Henein received a

telegram from SAPL terminating his employment

for cause. This deprived him of certain benefits

to which he would otherwise have been entitled.

Henein filed a complaint against SAPL seeking

declaratory relief and damages for breach of

contract, negligence, defamation, intentional

infliction of emotional distress and

misrepresentation. The district court granted

SAPL’s motion for summary judgment.

[1] The district court held that SAPL was

entitled to discharge Henein because the Saudi

government ordered his termination and banished

him from the country. [2] Henein challenges as

A-3

hearsay the admissibility of three declarations of

SAPL officials to establish that the Saudi

government ordered him out of the country, [3]

but a declaration by a supervisor that he was told

by a government official to discharge Henein was

not hearsay. The reason given for Henein’s

discharge (possession of illegal drugs) may be

inadmissible hearsay if offered to prove possession

of drugs, but the fact that SAPL was ordered to

discharge Henein was not hearsay, but direct

testimony. [4] The same principle applies to a

declaration introducing internal Saudi government

memoranda [5] and declarations stating that the

Saudi police had ordered Henein to leave the

country. [6] Since the memoranda were not

offered as official records, Henein’s argument that

they are inadmissible because they were not

properly authenticated as official foreign records is

inapplicable. [7] Although the translations of the

memoranda from Arabic to English were not

properly authenticated, counsel for SAPL presented

certifications in court. There was no error in

consideration of the translations. [8] Henein could

not create a genuine issue of material fact based

on his evidentiary challenges to the fact of his

banishment even if the challenges were well

founded. Summary judgment was appropriate. [9]

The contract expressly provides that Henein may

be discharged for violation of local laws and

uncontroverted evidence that Henein had been

banished for violation of local laws and customs of

Saudi Arabia. The act of the Saudi government

thus constitutes a proper reason for termination

under the contract. [10] If Henein’s argument is

construed as an argument of estoppel it still fails

because ~-he failed to produce any evidence that

SAPL knew or should have known that any

A-4

of its representations were untrue. [11] Summary

judgment was appropriate on the claims for breach

of contract and declaratory relief.

[12] Summary judgment was appropriate for

Henein’s claim for negligence based on his collision

with a truck he alleges was owned by SAPL

because the only evidence linking SAPL to the

driver of the truck was Henein’s account of a

conversation with Saudi officials and this account

represented inadmissible hearsay. [13] Similarly,

Henein failed to establish any genuine issue of

material fact concerning his charges’. of

misrepresentation, sO summary judgment was

appropriate on this issue.

[14] Henein’s claim for intentional infliction of

emotional distress is time barred because the

statute was not tolled during the time in which

Henein was incapacitated by his accident. The

statute allows a tolling if the plaintiff is insane

when the cause of action accrues, but Henein’s

cause of action accrued before the accident, and

mere physical disability does not constitute insanity

under the statute. Affirmed.

COUNSEL

Michael W. Atkin, Los Angeles, California, for the

plaintiff-appellant.

William Foutz, Los Angeles, California, for the

defendant-appellee.

fale Sty. hoe a

A-5

OPINION

TANG, Circuit Judge:

Gamal S. Henein appeals a grant of summary

judgment to Saudi Arabia Parsons’ Limited

("“SAPL") on various claims arising out of the

termination of Henein’s employment with SAPL

and out of an automobile accident that occurred

during the course of that employment. The

district court dismissed Henein’s declaratory

judgment, breach of contract and defamation!

claims, finding his termination justified because

the Saudi government ordered the termination and

banished Henein from the country for violating its

drug laws. The district court dismissed Henein’s

claims for negligence and misrepresentation because

of the lack of admissible evidence, and dismissed

his claim for intentional infliction of emotional

distress as barred by the applicable statute of

limitations. The district court found in the

alternative that Henein’s claims were barred by his

failure to comply with certain grievance procedures

provided in the employment contract. We affirm.

0 I. BACKGROUND

Henein is a citizen of the United States of

America, residing in the Central District of

California. SAPL is an unincorporated association

1 The dismissal of the defamation claim is not

appealed.

q

A-6

organized under the laws of the Kingdom of Saudi

Afabia. Since 1977, SAPL_ has_ performed

construction management services for the Royal

Commission for Jubail and Yanbu, an agency of

the Saudi Arabian Government.

On April 28, 1980, Henein and SAPL entered

into a written employment agreement under which

Henein was to perform services as a “principal civil

engineer" in Saudi Arabia from May 22, 1980 until

June 30, 1981. Section 12.1.A of this agreement

provided that SAPL could terminate the agreement

for cause, including "illegal use of drugs,

failure to comply with the local customs or laws of

Saudi Arabia, ... and conduct ... detrimental to

SAPL ..." Section 27 of the agreement provided

that it constituted "... Employee’s_ entire

agreement with SAPL and that no promises or

understandings have been made other than those

stated ... [and that] this Agreement shall be

subject to modification only by written instrument

signed by both SAPL and the Employee."

Prior to executing the contract, Henein was

given two informational pamphlets by SAPL.

These materials apprised Henein of what to expect

in Saudi Arabia, contained information about what

he might wish to bring, and advised him that he

should carry the prescription if he brought any

prescription medicine with him into the country.

On May 14, 1981, Henein was involved in an

accident when the automobile he was driving

collided with a truck. Henein was hospitalized in

Saudi Arabia for extensive injuries. Approximately

Pt eon Ady om

A-7

two weeks after the accident, Henein was

transported to Los Angeles where he continued his

hospitalization.

During the investigation of the automobile

accident, Saudi police discovered restricted drugs

in Henein’s briefcase in his automobile. The Saudi

officials ordered that Henein be removed from

Saudi Arabia, his employment terminated, his

passport turned over to Saudi authorities, and his

name placed on the list of those prohibited from

entering Saudi Arabia.

On June 30, 1981, the date on which the

employment agreement was due to expire, Henein

received a telegram from SAPIL _ that his

employment was terminated for cause. The

termination for cause deprived Henein of certain

benefits to which he would otherwise have been

entitled.

On May 13, 1982, Henein filed a complaint

against SAPL in district court seeking declaratory

relief and damages for breach of contract,

negligence, defamation, intentional infliction of

emotional distress, and misrepresentation. The

complaint was amended on January 3, 1983. SAPL

appeared to contest service and moved to dismiss

for lack of in personam jurisdiction. The district

court denied the motion.2 On July 9, 1984, the

district court granted summary judgment in favor

2 SAPL does not contest the district court's

finding of in personam jurisdiction in this appeal.

'A-8

of SAPL on Henein’s declaratory judgment, breach

of contract, and defamation claims. On June 24,

1985, the district court granted summary judgment

in favor of SAPL on _ Henein’s negligence,

intentional infliction of emotional distress, and

misrepresentation claims. The district court also

denied Henein’s motion for reconsideration of its

earlier summary judgment ruling. Final judgment

was entered on July 16, 1985. Henein timely

appealed on July 19, 1985.

II. QUESTIONS PRESENTED

A. Did the district court err in finding Henein’s

termination to be justified under the terms of

his employment contract?

B. Did the district court err in finding that there

was no admissible evidence to support Henein’s

negligence and misrepresentation claims?

C. Did the district court err in dismissing

Henein’s claim for intentional infliction of

emotional distress?

Il. ANALYSIS

This court reviews the grant of summary

judgment de novo. Planet Insurance v. Mead

Reinsurance Corp., 789 F.2d 668, 670 (9th Cir.

1986). “Summary judgment is proper when there

is RO genuine issue as to any material fact and the

moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter

of law." Jd. California law controls the

substantive issues in this diversity case.

eee

A-9

alo Cone ag

A. Did the district court err in finding Henein’s

termination to be justified under the terms of

his employment contract?

[1] The district court held that SAPL was

entitled to discharge Henein, pursuant to the

unambiguous terms of his employment contract,

because the Saudi Arabian government ordered his

termination and banished him from the country

following the discovery of restricted drugs in his

automobile. Henein argues: (1) that SAPL failed

to introduce admissible evidence of the Saudi

government’s banishment order; and (2) that SAPL

should not be permitted to rely on the banishment

order to justify the termination.

1. Evidence of the Act of Banishment

SAPL relied on the declarations of three of its

supervisory employees, Ronald L’Hommedieu,

David Holleman, and John Mewha, to establish

that Saudi Arabia ordered SAPL to terminate

Henein’s employment and banished Henein from

the country. ‘SAPL also relied on Henein’s tacit

admission that he had been banished in the form

of Henein’s request that SAPL intercede on his

behalf with the Saudi government. Henein

produced no evidence disputing these facts;3

instead, Henein challenges the admissibility of

3 Henein did submit evidence tending to show that

he has not been barred from reentering Saudi Arabia,

a collateral matter raised in the declarations. —

A-10

SAPL’s evidence. We find sufficient admissible

evidence of the Saudi government’s acts to support

summary judgment in this case.

[2] Henein first challenges the admissiblity of

the declarations as hearsay. Under Fed. R. Evid.

801, hearsay "is a statement, other than one made

by the declarant while testifying at trial or

hearing, offered in evidence to prove the truth of

the matter asserted." Hearsay is inadmissible in a

court of law unless it comes under one of the

exceptions set forth in Fed. R. Evid. 803. Haddad

v. Lockheed California Corp., 720 F.2d 1454, 1456

(9th Cir. 1983). "The hearsay rule does not

operate to render inadmissible every statement

repeated by a witness as made to another person.

It does not exclude evidence offered to prove the

fact that a statement was made, rather than the

truth [of the statement]." United States v. Anfield,

539 F.2d 674, 678 (9th Cir. 1976).

[3] The L’Hommedieu declaration states that a

Saudi official with the _ title of Security

Coordinator, Captain Yousif Hijr, told

L’Hommedieu to discharge Henein and demanded

that SAPL surrender Henein’s passport. This is not

hearsay. The reason given by Hijr, Henein’s

possession of illegal drugs, may be inadmissible

hearsay if offered to prove that Henein did in fact

possess such drugs, but the fact that SAPL was

ordered by a Saudi official to discharge Henein

and to insure that Henein leaves the country is

certainly not hearsay -- it is direct testimony

about an act performed by the Saudi government.

eels (es i eh ile ea

A-11

{4] The Holleman_ declaration introduces

internal Saudi government memoranda given to

Holleman by Hijr. The same principle applies.

The contents of the memoranda may or may not be

truthful and are inadmissible if offered for the

truth of the matters stated therein, but the fact of

their receipt is admissible to establish that SAPL

believed that the Saudi government had ordered

Henein’s termination and expulsion from the

country. See Jones v. Los Angeles Community

College District, 702 F.2d 203, 205 (9th Cir. 1983).

[5] The Mewha declarations state that Mewha

was informed that the Saudi police had ordered

Henein to leave the country because Henein

possessed restricted drugs, that after the

termination SAPL made inquiries of the Saudi

government on Henein’s behalf, and that the reason

for Henein’s discharge was the order of the Saudi

government. A_ letter Mewha received from a

Saudi official verifying that Henein would not be

permitted to return is attached to one of the

declarations. Unlike L’Hommedieu, Mewha does

not testify based on personal knowledge to any

conduct by the Saudi government prior to the

termination. Mewha’s declarations are admissible,

however, to show the reason for the termination,

that Henein had requested SAPL’s assistance in

convincing the Saudi government to reconsider its

determination, and that Henein would not be

permitted to return to Saudi Arabia.

[6] Henein next argues that the memoranda are

inadmissible because they were not. properly

authenticated as official foreign records under

Fed. R. Civ. P. 44(a) and Fed. R. Evid. 901 and

A-12

902(3). The memoranda were not offered as

official records, and the rules cited by Henein are

simply inapplicable.

[7] Henein further argues that the translations

of the memoranda from Arabic to English were

not properly authenticated. There is no signature

of the translator on either document, nor does

either document contain a statement that the

translation is accurate and complete. Henein is

correct that the translations as presented in SAPL’s

moving papers were thus technically improper, but

the transcript of oral argument on the motion

reveals that counsel for SAPI presented

certifications of the translations to the court at that

time.* At oral argument on the motion, Henein’s

counsel further conceded that the substance of the

translations was correct, although he did dispute

the meanings of selected words. While we do not

approve of the slipshod presentation by SAPL’s

counsel, we can find no error in the district court’s

consolidation of the translations.

{8] Finally, we note that Henein could not

create a genuine issue of material fact based on his

evidentiary challenges to the fact of his banishment

even if such challenges were well founded. The

Mewha supplemental declaration explains that, after

the termination, Henein sought SAPL’s help in

overturning the Saudi government’s detcrmination

that he had possessed illegal drugs. Henein’s own

4 The certifications themselves are not in the

record.

A-13

undisputed conduct thus establishes that there is no

real dispute whether the Saudi government had

decided that Henein had violated its laws and

customs. Summary judgment was appropriate.

2. Whether SAPL should have been permitted

to rely on the banishment order to justify Henein’s

termination

[9] Henein argues that SAPL should not have

been permitted to rely on the Saudi government’s

banishment order to justify his termination because

SAPL had advised him that it was legal to possess

drugs in Saudi Arabia under a valid prescription.

Henein argues, without citation to authority, the

SAPL’s advice is binding “and that the act of state

doctrine may not be imposed as an excuse for

non-payment of defendant’s monetary obligations

under the employment contract."

Henein is incorrect. Section 12.1.A of the

contract expressly provides that Henein may be

5 The parties devote considerable attention to the

question whether the banishment order constitutes an

“act of state” and whether the district court should

have considered disputed evidence about the accuracy

of the Saudi government's determination. These

| matters are completely irrelevant to this dispute.

Even if Henein had conclusively established that the

Saudi government's orders were incorrect and that he

was not in possession of illegal drugs, SAPL would

still have been bound by the Saudi decree and

entitled to discharge Henein under the express terms

of the employment contract.

ee

A-14

discharged for violation of the local laws and

customs of Saudi Arabia. SAPL presented

uncontroverted evidence that Henein had _ been

banished for violation of the local laws and

customs of Saudi Arabia and that he was

discharged for this reason. The act of the Saudi

government thus constitutes a proper reason for

termination under the contract.

[10] At best, although not framed in this

manner or properly pleaded, Henein’s argument

might be construed as a contention that SAPL

should be estopped from relying on the act of

banishment to justify the termination because

SAPL advised him that the conduct resulting in the

banishment order possession of restricted drugs was

permissible. SAPL’s only representations

concerning drugs appear to be two lines in the

informational pamphlets given to Henein advising

him that he could bring prescription medicine into

Saudi Arabia and that he should also carry the

prescription itself. This is plainly insufficient to

establish an estoppel as Henein presented no

evidence that SAPL knew or should héeve known

that its representations concerning prescription

drugs were untrue. See In re Lisa R., 13 Cal.3d

636, 645, 119 Cal.Rptr. 475, 480-81, cert. denied,

421 U.S. 1014 (1975); Cal. Evid. Code § 623.

“nt bso indi inal deans

PNG SiS aid ETL eR rT

Pages

A-15

[11] Summary judgment was appropriate on the

claims for breach of contract and declaratory

relief 6

B. Did the district court err in finding no

admissible evidence to support Henein’s

negligence and mispresentation claims?

1. Negligence

Henein’s claim for negligence arises from his

collision. with a truck he alleges was owned by

SAPL and driven by a SAPL employee. The

district court found no evidence to support the

claim because Henein could not connect either the

driver or the truck to SAPL. On appeal, Henein

argues that summary judgment was impermissible

because the district court improperly weighed

conflicting evidence.

SAPL offered uncontroverted evidence that it

was not the owner of the truck. SAPL presented

the declarations of Fred Taeger, who had arrived

at the scene shortly after the accident, that the

truck was a large Mercedes tandem-rear-axles

6 Henein also contends that the district court

erred in failing to reconsider its written order

dismissing the entire breach of contract claim,

rather than simply adjudicating whether SAPL had the

right to terminate Henein as the court had indicated

in its oral ruling on the motion. All of Henein's

contract claims depend on a determination that he was

terminated without cause. The motion for

reconsideration was properly denied.

A-16

truck designed for hauling aggregates such as sand

or gravel. Taeger further stated that the truck did

not bear SAPL’s logo on its side. SAPL also

offered the declaration of Karl Talpai, acting

manager of transportation at SAPL, that SAPL

owned no truck larger than a pick-up truck in its

entire fleet. When deposed, Henein had also stated

that he collided with a "very big” truck of the type

used for hauling aggregates.

{12] Henein’s only evidence linking SAPL to

the driver and the truck was his own account of a

conversation he had with Saudi government

officials while he was in the hospital in Saudi

Arabia. Henein states that he was visited by Saudi

officials who asked him to forgive the driver of

the other vehicle and ‘ho told him that the other

driver was one of his “co-workers.” The district

court found that Henein’s declaration was

“complete” hearsay because the declarants were not

in court and it was offered to prove as true a

connection between SAPL and the driver. This

ruling was correct. Fed. R. Evid. 801, 803. There

was no improper weighing of the _ evidence;

Henein’s only evidence was properly excluded.

Summary judgment was appropriate.

2. Misrepresentation

In his complaint, Henein alleged that SAPL

had made fraudulent’ representations to him

regarding (1) his housing in Saudi Arabia; (2) the

nature of his duties; and (3) working conditions in

Saudi Arabia. Under California law, the elements

of a cause of action for intentional

misrepresentation are:

A-17

(1) A promise made regarding a material

fact without any intention of performing

it; (2) the existence of the intent at the

time of making the promise; (3) the

promise was made with intent to deceive

Or with intent to induce the party to

whom it was made to enter into the

transaction; (4) the promise was relied on

by the party to whom it was made; (5) the

party making the promise did _ not

perform; (6) the party to whom the

promise was made was injured.

Muraoka v. Budget Rent-A-Car, Inc., 160

Cal.App.3d 107, 119, 206 Cal.Rptr. 476, 482

(1984). The district court dismissed Henein’s

misrepresentation claims because he failed to

introduce any admissible evidence of a prima facie

case of misrepresentation.

Henein argues that the district court

improperly excluded evidence of promises made

outside of the employment contract, some of which

were oral and most of which were contained in the

pamphlets given to Henein by SAPL. Section 27

of the employment agreement between SAPL and

Henein states that the contract constitutes "...

Employee’s entire agreement with SAPL and that

no promises or understandings have been made

other than those stated ... [and that] this

agreement shall be subject to modification only by

written instrument signed by both SAPL and the

Employee." The employment agreement is clear on

its face and the district court properly excluded

Henein’s testimony concerning promises extrinsic to

the fully integrated contract under the parol

bse

A-18

evidence rule.. See Telco Leasing, Inc. vy.

Transwestern Title Co., 630 F.2d 691, 693 (9th Cir.

1980); Sullivan v. Massachusetts Mutual Life

Insurance Co., 611 F.2d 261, 263-65 (9th Cir. 1979).

[13] In any event, Henein failed to establish

any genuine issue of material fact -oncerning other

elements of a claim for misrepresentation. No

evidence was submitted on SAPL’s intent to

deceive, nor did Henein establish that he relied on

the representations. Summary judgment was

appropriate.

F. Did the _ district court err in dismissing

Henein’s claim for intentional infliction of

emotional distress?

Henein claims SAPL intentionally inflicted

emotional distress upon him by: (1) wrongfully

threatening him with termination of his

employment contract; (2) materially and unilaterally

changing the nature of his employment agreement;

(3) forcing him to live with a person known to be

violating the laws of Saudi Arabia; and (4)

restricting his freedom of travel by wrongfully

detaining his passport. All of these alleged acts

occurred before the automobile accident and more

than one year prior to the filing of the complaint.

The district court held the claim time barred under

section 340(3) of the California Code of Civil

Procedure.

[14] On appeal, Henein argues that the statute

was tolled under section 352(a) of the California

Code of Civil Procedure because he was

incapacitated by the accident. Section 352(a)

provides: "If a person entitled to bring an action,

A-19

mentioned in Chapter 3 of this title, be, at the

time the cause of action accrued ... insane ...

the time of such disability is not a part of the

time limit for commencement of the action."

Henein does not allege that he was incapacitated at

the time the cause of action accrued; i.e., at the

time SAPL is alleged to have done the acts

constituting intentional infliction of emotional

distress. See Larsson v. Cedars of Lebanon

Hospital, 97 Cal.App.2d 704, 218 P.2d 604, 606

(1950). Moreover, “mere physical disability or

nervous shock following an accident" do not

constitute insanity under the statute. Baker vy.

Beech Aircraft Corp., 39 Cal.App.3d 315, 322, 114

Cal.Rptr. 171, 176 (1974). The statute therefore

was not tolled. Henein’s claim for intentional

infliction of emotional distress is time barred.’

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the district court is AFFIRMED.

7 In view of the foregoing, we do not reach the

question whether Henein's claims are independently

barred by his failure to comply with the grievance

procedures provided in the employment contract.

APPENDIX B

B-1

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

GAMAL S. HENEIN, ) No. 85-6128

)

Plaintiff f-Appellant, > DA. @ CV

) 82-2330-WPG

v. )

)

SAUDI ARABIAN ) ORDER |

PARSONS LIMITED, an ) DENYING |

unincorporated association, ) PETITION FOR

Defendant-Appellee. )

Before: TANG and BRUNETTI, Circuit Judges

and B. THOMPSON,,* District Judge.

The panel has considered the appellant’s

Petition for Rehearing. The Petition for Rehearing

is denied.

. Honorable Bruce R. Thompson, Senior United

States District Judge for the District of Nevada,

sitting by designation

APPENDIX C

a

~~ OH

i ‘

5 ona x

'¢é

df

‘ea

5°

§

bi

Bs

FRED G. BENNETT

SCOTT E. WOOD

WILLIAM C. FOUTZ

GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER

333 South Grand Avenue

Los Angeles, California 90071

(213) 229-7000

Attorneys for Defendant

Saudi Arabian Parsons Limited

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

GAMAL S. HENEIN, CIVIL NO. 82-2330-WPG

)

)

Plaintiff, )

) SUMMARY JUDGMENT

v. ) OF DISMISSAL IN

) FAVOR OF DEFENDANT

SAUDI ARABIAN )

PARSONS LIMITED, )

)

)

)

an unincorporated association,

SAUDI ARABIAN

PARSONS LIMITED

{PROPOZED] WP

) Date: June 24, 1985

) Time: 10:00 a.m.

Place: Courtroom of Hon.

William P. Gray

Defendant.

WHEREA{ dDefendant Saudi Arabian Parsons

Limited has moved the Court for summary judgment; WF

and

C-2 ~

WHEREAS/ fIhe Court has considered all of

the evidence, briefs, oral argument and other matters of

which judicial notice was requested submitted on behalf

of all parties; and

WHEREAS, pPlaintiff’s action is based on an

employment agreement of August 28, 1980 and upon

alleged negligence and other alleged tortious conduct of

defendant in connection with plaintiff's employment; dfd

WHEREAS fIhere is no evidence to support

plaintiff's negligence claim dg A madfrér Of Jdy; the only

evidence before this Court indicates that that claim is

wholly without merit and subject to summary dismissal

at this time; dfid

WHEREAS, pPlaintiff’s claims for intentional

infliction of emotional distress jg are barred by the

applicable statute of limitations, California Code of

Civil Procedure §340(3); dfid

WHEREAS, pPlaintiff’s claims for intentional

infliction of emotional distress jg are additionally barred

by plaintiff's failure to allege the type of outrageous

behavior which the courts of California have required

in order to permit recovery for emotional distress; and

WHEREA3/ pPlaintiffs claim for misrepre-

sentation is without merit because plaintiff's

employment contract constitutes an integrated written

document, and this claim, based on alleged oral -

representations antedating the signing of that document,

is barred by the Parole Evidence Rule; and

WHEREAS pPlaintiff has been unable to offer

any evidence establishing the elements of a prima facie

claim for misrepresentation under California law, and

this claim is subject to summary dismissal upon that

ground; and

WHEREA3{ ¢Each of plaintiff's claims is

additionally and independently barred by the failure of

plaintiff to comply with the grievance notice procedures

explicitly required by his employment contract, such

WPG

WPG

WPGE

WPG

C-3 °

compliance being a condition precedent to pursuit of

any legal remedy by plaintiff based on claims arising

out of his employment with SAPL or the termination

thereof; and

WHEREA fThis Court, having found each of WPC

plaintiff’s claims to be without legal or factual merit;

NOW, THEREFORE, this action is dismissed

with prejudice as against defendant Saudi Arabian

Parsons Limited.

DATED: June 25,1985

Willi P. Gr

Hon. William P. Gray

United States District Judge

APPENDIX D

D-1

No. A-273

GAMAL S. HENEIN,

Applicant,

v.

SAUDI ARABIAN PARSONS LIMITED

ORDER EXTENDING TIME TO FILE PETITION

FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

UPON CONSIDERATION of the

application of counsel for the applicant,

IT IS ORDERED that the time for filing

a petition for a writ of certiorari in the

above-entitled cause be, and the same is hereby,

extended to and including _ November 5_, 1987.

?

r nnor

Associate Justice of the Supreme

Court of the United States

Dated this 6th

day of October, 1987.

APPENDIX E

E-1

EXCERPTS FROM EMPLOYMENT AGREEMENT

ARTICLE 1,_ BASIC DATA

A. POINT OF ORIGIN/COUNTRY OF ORIGIN:

__Los Angeles, CA./U.S.A.__

B. CLASSIFICATION:

Principal Civil Engi

C. EMPLOYMENT PERIOD*:

18 months

D. EFFECTIVE DATE OF THIS AGREEMENT:

May 20, 1980

E. COMPLETION DATE?:

Nov, 20, 1981

* See particularly Sections 1, 12, and 25.6 of

Attachnent A.

Initialed by:

Employee /s/ GH

SAPL /s/ CWR

E-2

SECTION 12. TERMINATION

12.1 r ignati

A. SAPL, at its discretion, may at any time

terminate Employee’s employment

hereunder for cause, such as breach of

this Employment Agreement;

incompetence; intoxication; illegal use of

drugs; insubordiation; any violation of any

rule or regulation that may be established

from time to time by SAPL or by the

Client for the Employee’s conduct of work

or the conduct of business; failure to

comply with the local customs or laws of

Saudi Arabia; or for any failure of

Employee to perform any agreement, duty

or obligation of Employee under this

Agreement; or conduct of any dependent

or guest of Employee in the country of

the Employment Location which is

detrimental to SAPL, the Client, the work,

or the project; or for any other cause of

similar nature authorized by applicable

law. If such termination is subsequently

determined by SAPL or _ appropriate

judicial authority not to be termination

for cause, then termination shall be

deemed to be a termination for other

lawful cause under Section 12.2.

Initialed by:

Employee /s/ GH

SAPL /s/ CWR

E-3

If Employee’s Employment hereunder is

terminated for cause by APL _ as

authorized in Section 12.1.A, or if

Employee resigns, Employee shall be paid

Monthly Salary and Cost of Living

Differential to date of termination and for

such unused accrued vacation to which

Employee may then be otherwise entitled

hereunder, and shall be given return air

tickets for Employee and Authorized

Dependents to Point of Origin (or to

Employee’s choice of destination outside

of Saudi Arabia at no greater cost), but

shall not be deemed to have achieved

Satisfactory Completion of Employment

nor be entitled to any severance allowance

or bonus or to any return relocation or

shipping allowances, per diem, travel

expenses or other allowances payable upon

termination of this employment, or

otherwise payable hereunder. If such

resignation or termination occurs before

Employee has completed a minimum of 6

months of Employment, Employee shall be

responsible for providing at Employee’s

sole expense, return transportation for

Empleyee and Employee’s Authorized

Dependents, including their personal and

household effects, to Point of Origin. If,

under the above circumstances, SAPL, for

any reason, including but not limited to

Initialed by:

Employee /s/ GH

SAPL /s/ CWR

12.2

E-4

applicable law, must pay for Employee’s

or Employee’s Authorized Dependents’

return transportation, such payment shall

be considered a _ salary advance to

Employee, and Employee agrees to be

liable to SAPL for such costs. Any such

amount shall be withheld from final

settlement and any remaining excess shall

be repaid as provided in Section 26.

wf - isf:

Completion of Employment

SAPL, in its discretion (i.e., for any other

lawful reason not described in Section

12.1.A above), at any time, may terminate

Employee’s employment hereunder by not

less than 30 days written notice. For

purposes of this Section, Employee agrees

that “other lawful reason" shall include:

total or partial completion of SAPL’s work

under the Prime Contract or total or

partial completion of the work thereunder

which Employee was hired to perform;

total or partial suspension by the Client or

SAPL of SAPL’s work under the Prime

Contract or of the work which Employee

was hired hereunder to perform; reduction

in force directed by the Client; or, at any

time during the Probationary Period by 15

Initialed by:

Employee /s/ GH

SAPL /s/ CWR

E-5

days Notice, if in the judgment of SAPL

or the Client, for reasons other than

described in Section 12.1.A above,

Employee is found not _ sufficiently

qualified or experienced for the work for

which Employee was hired or is deemed

Otherwise not suitable for employment on

the Yanbu Project.

If during the Period of Employment, the

Client should direct that there be a

revision of salary, benefits or allowances

herein provided, except as provided in

Section 5, to be payable to Employee

which is detrimental to Employee, the

Employee may notify SAPL that unless

Employee and SAPL shall mutually agree

in respect of any such revision within 14

days after notification to Employee of any

such intended change, Employee will elect

to terminate employment hereunder. In

the event Employee elects to terminate,

this agreement shall be deemed terminated

by mutual agreement.

In the event of termination under Section

12.2, Employee shall be deemed to have

achieved Satisfactory Completion of

Employment.

Initialed by:

Employee /s/ GH

SAPL /s/ CWR

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.