Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Explosives Corp. of America v. Garlam Enterprises Corp.

Supreme Court brief1987

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

87-204.

No. ° r . Supreme Court. U.S,

ik

a. zx = 4 = 5

2 7 y > ~ I

t a mene Same 8 :

IN THE AUG 3 A987

Supreme Court of the UnitedoStatessic. sn |

CLERK

October Term, 1987

EXPLOSIVES CORPORATION OF AMERICA.

GENERAL INSURANCE COMPANY OF AMERICA.

RocKCOR. INC..

Petitioners,

V.

GARLAM ENTERPRISES CORPORATION

AND FEDERAL INSURANCE COMPANY. INC..

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

STUART G. OLES

Counsel of Record, and

ARTHUR D. McGARRY

DOUGLAS S. OLES

OLES. MORRISON. RINKER.

STANISLAW & ASHBAUGH

3300 Columbiz. Seafirst Center

701 Fifth Avenue

Seattle, WA 98104

(206) 623-3427

SALVADOR ANTONETTI

FIDDLER. GONZALEZ & RODRIGUEZ

G.P.O. Box 3507

San Juan, Puerto Rico 00936

(819) 753-3113

July 31, 1987 Attorneys for Petitioners

aBCD Legal Printers. Seattie. Washington

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does Rule 25(c), Fed. R. Civ. P., require that a nonparty

who finances or controls litigation (involving a contract to

which he is also not party) be substituted and held liable to

pay any adverse judgment?

2. If a subcontractor is terminated for default, does it

become liable not only for the reasonable cost of performing

the task contemplated by its subcontract, but also the cost

of performing a much larger and longer task?

LIST OF PARTIES

Petitioners are Explosives Corporation of America, Gen-

e~al Insurance Company of America, and Rockcor, Inc., all

Washington corporations.

Safeco Corporation wholly owns General Insurance Com-

pany of America. Olin Corporation wholly owns Rockcor. Inc.

As developed infra, Explosives Corporation of America has

been dissolved.

Respondents are Garlam Enterprises Corporation and

Federal Insurance Company, Inc., its surety.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions eampnbeth. o> cvcvin: eee ee i

ie ae alls... ee i

inidaeis Babee. 0 ee 1

Stadion... oot ae A 1

Statutory Provisions and Court Rules Involved.....---2

Statement of the Came... x eee eR ys 3

1. Rockcor Was Substituted Under Civil Rule 25(c)

Because It Financed and Controlled Explo’s

ee We er

9. The Terminated Subcontractor Was Charged With

the Prime Contractor's Costs of Completing 4

Much Larger and Longer Task Than the Original

Pn NT A I a Sciatcan- ge 2 ¥

Reasons for Granting ee WE. 53 ee eee

1. By Requiring Substitution of a Nonparty Under

Civil Rule 25(c) Because It Financed and Controlled

Explo's Litigation, the First Circuit's Decision

Conflicts With Decisions of This Court and of

Cakes Chee Oe 7

A. The First Circuit Confused Collateral Estoppel

With Successor Liability Under Rule 25(c),

el. BO ee Goat

B. The First Circuit's Opinion Conflicts With

Decisions of the Supreme Court. of Other

Circuit Courts, and With Long-Established

Rules of Successor Liability ... . o

4

11

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS, cont.

Page

C. The First Circuit Misapplies a Procedural

Substitution Rule (Civil Rule 25(c)) by Using

It to Impose Substantive Liability on Any

Parent Corporation That Finances or Controls

Litigation of its Subsidiary.................. 12

D. The First Circuit's Opinion Improperly Penal-

izes Recourse to the Courts and Prosecution of

Claims for the Benefit of Creditors of Insolvent

ara cg a LG og taal 13

2. Charging Explo With Costs of Work Beyond the

Scope of Its Subcontract Conflicts With Decisions

of This Court, and of Other Circuit Courts, and

Represents a Departure from the Accepted and

Usual Course of Judicial Proceedings............ 14

RI fost IA er a | iain

APPENDIX

Opinion of the First Circuit (April 30, 1987)... . .. 1-62

Judgment of the First Circuit (April 30. 1987) 63-65

First Circuit Order Denying Rehearing

as gn ew ws 66-68

General Condition 4.3(c)-(e) in Garlam's

Prime Contract............ Ree . 69-70

Subcontract Between Garlam and Explo

Contractors (excerpts) . . .

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS, cont.

Page

Garlam’s Complaint Against Puerto Rico Highway

Authority (excerpts from certified translation) .. 77-79

Findings & Conclusions (March 30, 1977).....-- 80-123

Order of October 20, 1977 (excerpts)......-.-- 124-127

Order of October 29, 1979 ....-------------7> 128-135

Testimony of Garlam Engineer Cordero (excerpts). . 136-137

Report of Special Master (April 24, 1980)...... 138-199

Exhibit SM 2 to Report of Special Master... .. 200-201

Opinion and Order (November 16, ee). .:...-; 202-250

Judgment (November 16, 1982).....------- 251-252

Memorandum Opinion and Order

(November 16, 1982)....------------- 000? 253-279

Opinion and Order (August i. Pepeowenes 280-308

Opinion and Order (March 6, 1986)........---- 309-348

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Alman v. Danin, 801 F.2d 1 (1st Cir. 1986).......... 10

American Surety Co. v. United States, 317 F.2d 652

See Se eae a eee 14

Dayton v. Peck, Stow & Wilcox Co., 739 F.2d 690

Ra Es ss a ees Se ee} 8

Drier v. Tarpon Oil Co., 522 F.2d 199 (5th Cir.

|. RSI a! Se” Sage aerial ot, Sani MNP neem ites ll

Explosives Corp. of America v. Garlam Ent. Corp., 817

Fae ee Ge ee ee ees l

Gee v. Tenneco, Inc., 615 F.2d 857 (9th Cir. 1980)... ... 8

General Battery Corp. v. Globe-Union, Inc., 100 F.R.D.

Re I oo i i ee 12

General Foods Corp. v. Massachusetts Dept. of Public

Health, 648 F.2d 784 (1st Cir. 1981).............. 10

Golden State Bottling Co. v. NLRB, 414 U.S. 168

CUS ees eee a he ee ee oe 8,11

In the Matter of Covington Grain Co . 638 F.2d 1357

(ous Car. BOGS). rr So ee eee 12

Kreager v. General Electric Co., 497 F.2d 468 (2nd

Se MO 2 oe ka See S a pa ee eee ee ee 10

Leannais v. Cincinnati, Inc., 565 F.2d 437 (7th Cir.

__ BSRAIRES eg ttre rh ce tora hare Aiarers, Cate can ee oh 8

Minnesota Min. & Mfg. Co. v. Eco Chem, Inc., 757

ef oe FR eres 10-11

Montana v. United States, 440 U.S. 147 (1979)....._..10

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES, cont.

Cases Page

| Pan American Match, Inc. v. Sears, Roebuck & Co.,

454 F.2d 871 (lst Cir. 1972). cert. denied 409 U.S.

602 (i37Te).. 2... %. Me ke ry | FP 10

Panther Pumps & Equipment v. Hydrocraft, Inc., 566

F.2d 8 (7th Cir. 1977) cert. denied sub nom. Beck v.

Morrison Pump Co., 435 U.S. 1013 (1978). . 10

Peterick v. State, 22 Wn.App. 163, 589 P.2d 250 (1977). 8

R. J. Engstrom Corp. v. Interceptor Corp., 555 F.2d

377 (10th Cir. 1977). 25s es 4,8,12

Steffen v. United States, 213 F.2d 266 (6th Cir.

1954)... | es Oe Fs 14

United States v. Axman, 234 U.S. 36 (1913)...... 14

United States v. California Bridge & Construction Co.,

245 U.S. 337 (1917) | | ) 14

Statutes and Court Rules

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) (1948). 3 eae ate l

Wash. Rev. Code § 23A.28.250 (1974) 2.12

Rule 25(c), Fed. R. Civ. P..... .......-h,2.4,5.7 passim

Rule 17(b), Fed. R. Civ. P. | a 3.12

Other Authorities

6A FLETCHER CYCLOPEDIA OF THE LAW OF PRIVATE

CORPORATIONS § 2821 (Perm. Ed. 1981) 9

vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES, cont.

Other Authorities (cont.) Page

McBRIDE & TOUHEY, GOVERNMENT CONTRACTS.

33.80 (1984 Ed.) 15

1B MOORE'S FEDERAL PRACTICE & PROCEDURE

* 0.411[10] (1984 & Supp. 1986-87) 10

RESTATEMENT OF AGENCY. SECOND. § 14M (1958) 9

RESTATEMENT OF CONTRACTS. § 346 (1932) 15

C. WRIGHT & A. MILLER & M. KANE. 7C FEDERAL

PRACTICE & PROCEDURE. § 1958 (2d ed. 1986) ll

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1987

EXPLOSIVES CORPORATION OF AMERICA.

GENERAL INSURANCE COMPANY OF AMERICA.

ROcKCOR, INC..

Petitioners,

Vv.

GARLAM ENTERPRISES CORPORATION

AND FEDERAL INSURANCE COMPANY. INC..

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT :

OPINION BELOW

The First Circuit’s Opinion, reported at 817 F.2d 894 (1st

Cir. 1987), appears in the Appendix (*‘A.’’) to this petition at

pp. 1-62.

JURISDICTION

The First Circuit's Opinion and Judgment were entered

April 30, 1987. A Petition for Rehearing and Request for

Hearing En Banc was denied by order dated June 3, 1987.

This petition was filed within ninety days thereafter. The

Court's jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. $1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS AND

COURT RULES INVOLVED

Revised Code of Washington § 23A.28.250:

Survival of remedy after dissolution. The dissolution

of a corporation either: (1) By the issuance of a certificate

of dissolution by the secretary of state, or (2) by a decree

of court, or (3) by expiration of its period of duration shall

not take away or impair any remedy available to or

against such corporation, its directors, officers, or share-

holders, for any right or claim existing, or any liability

incurred, prior to such dissolution if action or other

proceeding thereon is commenced within two years after

the date of such dissolution. The directors of any such

corporation shall hold title to the property of the corpora-

tion as trustees for the benefit of its creditors and share-

holders. Any such action or proceeding by or against the

corporation may be prosecuted or defended by the cor-

poration in its corporate name. The shareholders, direc-

tors, and officers shall have power to take such corporate

or other action as shall be appropriate to protect such

remedy, right, or claim.

Rule 25ic), Fed. R. Civ. P.:

(c) Transfer of Interest. In case of any transfer of

interest, the action may be continued by or against the

original party, unless the court upon motion directs the

person to whom the interest is transferred to be sub-

stituted in the action or joined with the original party.

Service of the motion shall be made as provided in sub-

division (a) of this rule.

(b) Capacity to Sue or be Sued. The capacity of an

Rule 17(b), Fed. R. Civ. P:

(6) Capacity to Sue or be Sued. The capacity of an

individual, other than one acting in a representative

capacity, to sue or be sued shall be determined by the law

of his domicile. The capacity of a corporation to sue or

be sued shall be determined by the law under which it was

organized. In all other cases capacity to sue or be sued

shall be determined by the law of the state in which the

district court is held, except (1) that a partnership or other

unincorporated association, which has no such capacity

by the law of such state, may sue or be sued in its com-

mon name for the purpose of enforcing for or against it

a substantive right existing under the Constitution or

1aws of the United States, and (2) that the capacity of a

receiver appointed by a court of the United States to sue

or be sued in a court of the United States is governed by

Title 28, U.S.C. §§ 754 and 959(a).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The following facts are undisputed or established by the

district court and affirmed by the circuit court of appeals.

The case arises from a 1971 subcontract for rock blasting

involved in constructing a freeway for the Puerto Rico High-

way Authority (‘‘Highway Authority”). Explo' was the sub-

contractor, and Garlam Enterprises Corporation (‘‘Garlam’’)

was the prime contractor. General Insurance Company of

America (“‘General Insurance’’) bonded Explo’s performance

to Garlam for $1,230,000.

' The original subcontract was executed by Garlam and “Explo

Contractors, a Division of Explosives Corporation of America’’

(A. 71). In 1973, Explosives Corporation of America merged into

Excoa, Inc., which in turn became insolvent and dissolved in 1976.

For convenience, we refer to these Rockcor, Inc. subsidiaries col-

lectively as ‘‘Explo."’” The circuit court has referred to them

collectively as Explo-Excoa.

1. Rockcor Was Substituted Under Civil Rule 25(c)

Because It Financed and Controlled Explo’s Litigation.

Garlam terminated Explo's subcontract for default. Explo

sued in federal court (diversity of citizenship jurisdiction) for

breach of contract, and Garlam counterclaimed for costs to

complete Explo’s subcontract work.

Meanwhile, Explo became insolvent. Its main creditor was

its Washington parent corporation, Rockcor, Inc. (““Rockcor’’).

In 1976 Rockcor foreclosed its security interests, and thereby

took an assignment of Explo’s assets, including the affirma-

tive claim against Garlam. (Rockcor was also indirectly in-

terested in the litigation because it was indemnitor to General

Insurance of Explo’s bond.) Subsequently, after a bifurcated

trial, the district court ruled that Explo was liable for the

reasonable excess costs of completing its subcontract.

Garlam perceived that the amount of its damages might

exceed the limits of Explo’s bond. Thus, in 1977, it moved to

join Rockcor as an alter ego codefendant with Explo. In 1979,

joinder was denied because Rockcor and Explo ‘‘were separate

and distinct corporate entities” (A. 128-29). In 1985, the trial

court reiterated that ‘‘evidence of corporate disregard has not

been presented in this case”’ (A. 302).

Garlam also moved to substitute Rockcor for Explo under

Rule 25(c), Fed. R. Civ. P., because Rockcor had acquired assets

from Explo (including its claim against Garlam) when Explo

dissolved in 1976. The district court denied substitution be-

cause no facts established any of the four traditional grounds

(see, e.g., R. J. Engstrom Corp. v. Interceptor Corp., 555 F.2d

277, 281-282 (10th Cir. 1977)) for successor liability under Civil

Rule 25(c).’

2 First, Rockcor never expressly or impliedly assumed liability for

Garlam’s counterclaim against Explo (A. 291). Second, there was

no allegation of any merger or consolidation between Explo and

Rockcor (A. 293). Third, when Explo dissolved in 1976, its name

(see next page)

On appeal, the circuit court acknowledged ‘‘the fact that

Rockcor was a separate entity from Explo-Excoa and that

Rockcor did not assume Explo-Excoa's liabilities’. A. 49.

Further, it concluded ‘‘that the district court did not make

any clearly erroneous findings of fact’’. A. 4. Thus, Garlam

did not establish Rockcor’s alter ego liability or any of the

four fact situations in which successors have traditionally been

substituted under Rule 25(c), Fed. R. Civ. P.

Nonetheless, the circuit court reversed the trial court.

holding that Rockcor must be substituted for Explo under

Rule 25(c), Fed. R. Civ. P., because Rockcor after 1976 financed

and controlled Explo’s litigation. The circuit court cited and

relied upon collateral estoppel cases: “It has long been the rule

that a nonparty who controls the litigation is bound by the

judgment.” A. 53.

2. The Terminated Subcontractor Was Charged With the

Prime Contractor’s Costs of Completing a Much Larger

and Longer Task Than the Original Subcontract.

After terminating Explo’s subcontract, Garlam completed

rock blasting. Due to the project owner's design errors and

other causes not attributed to Explo,‘ Garlam had to complete

(continued from previous page)

and operations were discontinued, and Rockcor was not a ‘‘mere

continuation” of Explo (A. 296-98). Fourth. Explo’s residual

assets were not transferred to Rockcor for any fraudulent purpose

(A. 307-8).

’ Pertinently, one of those findings was that when Rockcor

acquired Explo’s “interest in and to the lawsuit,’’ Rockcor took

only the asset, to wit, the net recovery against Garlam, and did

not assume any liability to Garlam(A. 290-91). This was

supported by Rockcor’s chairman's uncontroverted testimony

which the circuit court acknowledged was the only testimony on

the issue (A. 44).

‘ The record below confirms that Explo was not responsible for any

project delay or overrun in the quantities of rock blasting (A.

177-87).

a much larger and longer task than the one originally

subcontracted to Explo. The rock blasting quantity overran

both the Highway Authority's estimate (1,507,000) and

Garlam’s (2,000,000) to 2,996,368 cubic meters (A. 165).

Contract time increased from 600 to 2,152 days (A. 149).

Exple pointed out that it should receive credit (as an offset

against Garlam’s damage award) for an increased unit price

(above its original $0.51 per cubic meter) as to blasting

materially beyond the quantities and time period of its

subcontract. Citing unchallenged federal case authority,

Explo argued that it could not be charged with costs of

completing a materially larger contract.

Explo also pointed to subcontract provisions that

guaranteed a renegotiated unit price for excess quantities of

rock blasting.° Despite these guarantees incorporated by

> Article I of Explo’s sub-contract provided that the ‘‘general and

special conditions” of Garlam’s prime contract are “hereby made

a part of this Agreement” (A. 74). General Condition 4.3 guaran-

teed renegotiated unit prices for any work that overran by more

than 25 percent ‘‘in dollars or in extent” (A. 69-70). It is un-

disputed that the quantities, costs, and duration of rock blasting

on the Puerto Rico project all overran by considerably more than

25 percent. Nonetheless, no unit price adjustment was used in

calculating Garlam’'s recovery against Explo. In addition, Article

XVII(d) in Explo’s subcontract provided that “. . .the Contractor

shall be bound to the subcontractor. . . by all the obligations that

the Owner assumes toward the Contractor... and by all [prime

contract] provisions affording remedies and redress."’ A. 76.

Article VII in Explo’s subcontract further recites "'[t]hat the

Subcontractor shall be bound by any changes or alterations

ordered by the Owner in the work under this Agreement in the

General Contract, specifications, general and special provisions,

and/or plans, or in the amount or character of said work or any

part thereof, to the same extent that the Contractor is bound

thereby, the payments to the Subcontractor to be adjusted

accordingly.” A. 75.

4

reference into the subcontract from provisions in the prime

contract, the court of appeals simply stated that ‘‘[t]here was

.. .no such provision in Explo’s contract.’’ A. 16.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. By Requiring Substitution of a Nonparty Under Civil Rule

25(c) Because Ii Financed and Controlled Explo’s Litiga-

tion, the First Circuit’s Decision Conflicts With Decisions

of This Court and of Other Circuits.

A. The First Circuit Confused Collateral Estoppel With

Successor Liability Under Rule 25(c), Fed. R. Civ. P.

Rule 25(c), Fed. R. Civ. P., pertinently provides:

In case of any transfer of interest, the action may be

continued by or against the original party, unless the court

upon motion directs the person to whom the interest is

transferred to be substituted in the action or joined with

the original party.

Parent corporations have sometimes been substituted

under Rule 25(c) for their subsidiaries where evidence demon-

strated a disregard for the corporate separation between them

(i.e., alter ego liability). In four limited factual situations,

courts have also allowed substitution to facilitate collection

against assets that have been transferred from a judgment

debtor to a third party.®

® The First Circuit has itself recently reiterated the rule that a

purchaser of corporate assets is only liable for obligations of the

transferor in four limited fact situations:

(1) when the purchasing corporation expressly or im-

pliedly agreed to assume the selling corporation's liability;

(2) when the transaction amounts to a consolidation or merg-

er of the purchaser and seller corporations; (3) when the

(see next page)

As emphasized previousiy, the trial court found no factual

basis for substitution of parties under Rule 25(c), Fed. R.

Civ. P. There was no evidence of disregard for the corporate

separation between Rockcor and Explo (hence, no alter ego

liability),’ and there were none of the four fact situations in

which federal courts have traditionally found a “‘transfer of

interest.'’ See note 2, supra at p.4.

Now, while expressly accepting the trial court’s factual

findings (A. 4, 44), the First Circuit has conceived a new and

unprecedented standard for substituting parties under Rule

25(c), Fed. R. Civ. P. It has ordered substitution based* upon

(continued from previous page)

purchaser corporation is merely a continuation of the seller

corporation; or (4) when the transaction is entered into

fraudulently to escape liability for such obligations.

Dayton v. Peck, Stow & Wilcox Co., 739 F.2d 690, 692 (1st Cir.

1984). The U. S. Supreme Court and various circuit courts have

confirmed that these are the only factual circumstances in which

a transfer of assets amounts to a transfer of interest (the stan-

dard for substitution of nonparties under Civil Rule 25(c)). See

Golden State Bottling Co. v. NLRB, 414 U.S. 168, 182 n.5 (1973);

Gee v. Tenneco, Inc., 615 F.2d 857, 863 (9th Cir. 1980); Leannais

uv. Cincinnati, Inc., 565 F.2d 437, 439 (7th Cir. 1977); R. J.

Enstrom Corp. v. Interceptor Corp., 555 F.2d 277, 281-82 (10th

Cir. 1977).

In Peterick v. State, 22 Wn. App. 163, 184-85, 589 P.2d 250.

264-65 (1977), another court also found that Rockcor was not

an alter ego of Explo.

* After requiring that Rockcor be substituted for Explo based on

‘‘Rockor’s [sic] ownership of Explo-Excoa and its financing and

control of the litigation,”’ the First Circuit offers ‘‘another rea-

son why Rockor [sic] is liable for the amount of the judgment

against Explo”’:

The contract between Explo and Garlam contained the fol-

lowing clause: “It is mutually agreed that this Agreement

shall bind the heirs, executors, administrators, successors.

holding companies and assigns of the parties hereto.” It

(see next page)

Seve tly, WR

a finding “that Rockcor controlled the litigation at least since

it took over Excoa’s [Explo’s] assets on October 29, 1976.”’

A. 47. Applying what it calls the ‘‘underlying legal principle

that a participating nonparty is bound by the judgment”’

(A. 51), the circuit court concludes that Rockcor could not

finance or control Explo’s defense without assuming liability

for any adverse judgment that might be entered against

Explo. Under this reasoning, Rockcor could only have avoided

(continued from previous page)

cannot be doubted that Rockor [sic] was a successor to

Explo. It also is evident that Rockor [sic], which owned all

of the outstanding stock of Explo at the commencement of

the action, was a holding company of Explo at the time the

contract was executed.

A. 58-59. This is plain and egregious error under established law

and undisputed facts.

The First Circuit assumes that Rockcor was bound by a

subcontract to which it was not a party. The rock blasting

subcontract was executed only by Garlam and Explo (A. 6-7),

and there was no evidence that Rockcor agreed to be bound by

the signature of its subsidiary. The district court expressly

found that ‘‘Rockcor is not an ‘assignee’ of the subcontract and

is not liable in such capacity for Explo’s breach.”’ (A. 293.)

Subsidiaries do not automatically have authority to act as

agents for other corporations that control their stock.

RESTATEMENT OF AGENCY. SECOND. § 14M at 79 (1958). In

our case, no court has ever found (nor any party testified) that

Explo had either actual or apparent authority to bind Rockcor

for any purpose.

It is also circular reasoning for the First Circuit to recite that

Rockcor is a “‘successor to Explo,”’ because that conclusion rests

on the theory that mere participation in a lawsuit creates suc-

cessor liability.

Meanwhile, noting that a holding company” is ‘‘a corpora-

tion organized to hold the stock of another or other corpora-

tions,” (6A FLETCHER CYCLOPEDIA OF THE LAW OF PRIVATE

CORPORATIONS 2821 (Perm. Ed. 1981)), the trial court expressly

found that Rockcor was not a ‘holding company”’. A. 293.

10

liability by allowing Garlam to take a default judgment

against the insolvent Explo (and against Explo’s surety, to

which Rockcor was obligated as indemnitor).

This inequitable and unique application of Rule 25{c) is

based on a fundamental misunderstanding of the authorities

on which the First Circuit relies. Although it is true that

nonparties who participate in litigation may be ‘“‘bound”’ by

the resulting judgment, they are bound only in the sense of

being precluded from relitigation of issues under principles

of collateral estoppel.

Of the eight cases and two texts cited by the First Cir-

cuit, most deal only with collateral estoppel and contain no

reference to Rule 25 or successor liability. The remaining

authorities actually confirm that successor liability is only

imposed on participating nonparties in special circumstances

that are absent in our case, e.g., alter ego control, bad faith,

or fraudulent diversion of assets.'° We are aware of no case

® Montana v. United States, 440 U.S. 147 (1979) (fed. govt. col-

laterally estopped from relitigating issues decided in lawsuit

financed by govt.); General Foods Corp. v. Massachusetts Dept.

of Public Health, 648 F.2d 784, 789 (1st Cir. 1981) (corporation

estopped from relitigating issues previously decided in lawsuit

by its trade association); Kreager v. General Electric Co. 497 F.2d

468, 471 (2d Cir. 1974) (shareholder estopped from pursuing

claims previously litigated by his corporation); Pan American

Match, Inc. v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 454 F.2d 871, 874 (1st Cir.

1972), cert. denied 409 U.S. 892 (1972) (plaintiff who lost case

against Puerto Rico subsidiary was estopped from relitigating

same issues against defendant’s parent corporation); J. MOORE.

J. LUCAS, T. CURRIER, 1B MOORE'S FEDERAL PRACTICE &

PROCEDURE. ¢ 0.411{10] at 477-78 (1984 & Supp. 1986-87)

(controlling stockholders are sometimes bound by judgments

against their corporations under rules of res judicata and

collateral estoppel).

‘© Alman v. Danin, 801 F.2d 1, 4 (1st Cir. 1986) (shareholders liable

for corporate debt on alter ego theory because they disregarded

the corporate entity); Minnesota Min. & Mfg. Co. v. Eco Chem.

(see next page)

Pee Bittle Pin elt ST Ne >

11

anywhere that holds that a nonparty’s control of litigation

imposes on the nonparty a duty to pay an adverse judgment.

The First Circuit's decision conflicts with all its own cited

authorities by requiring Rule 25(c) substitution of a nonparty

based on participation in the lawsuit of a subsidiary

corporation.

B. The First Circuit's Opinion Conflicts With Decisions

of the Supreme Court, of Other Circuit Courts, and

With Long-Established Rules of Successor Liability.

The holding that ownership and control by a parent of

litigation of a subsidiary allows, or even requires,'' imposition

of successor liability, is flatly at odds with decisions of this

Court in Golden State Bottling Co., supra, and of other circuits

(continued from previous page)

Inc., 757 F.2d 1256, 1262 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (successor liability was

appropriate where judgment debtor gratuitously transferred its

assets to an alter ego corporation to avoid creditor); Panther

Pumps & Equipment v. Hydrocraft. Inc., 566 F.2d 8 (7th Cir.

1977), cert. denied sub nom. Beck v. Morrison Pump Co., Inc., 435

U.S. 1013 (1978) (Rule 25(c) substitution was appropriate where

judgment debtor gratuitously transferred its assets to an alter

ego corporation in fraudulent effort to escape liability); Drier v.

Tarpon Oil Co., 522 F.2d 199 (5th Cir. 1975) (corporate president

personally liable for company securities violation based on federal

statute); C. WRIGHT & A. MILLER & M. KANE. 7C FEDERAL

PRACTICE & PROCEDURE, 1958 at 559-60 (2d ed. 1986).

In all cited cases, substitution of parties or successor liability

was based on special facts such as disregard of corporate entities

or gratuitous asset transfers to evade creditors (which facts are

absent in our case). In no case did the courts hold that nonparties

could be substituted for parties based on financing or control of

the litigation.

The circuit court’s statement at A. 44 (‘We recognize that a

substitution decision is within the discretion of the district court

but find that its legal analysis was erroneous."’) suggests a

mandatory substitution when control by a nonparty is present.

12

in R. J. Engstrom Corp., supra, Gee, supra, Leannais, supra,

and with the long-established rule that mere acquisition of a

corporation's assets does not make the acquirer liable for its

debts.

C. The First Circuit Misapplies a Procedural Substitution

Rule (Civil Rule 25(c)) by Using It to Impose Substantive

Liability on Any Parent Corporation That Finances or

Controls Litigation of its Subsidiary.

Rule 25(c), Fed. R. Civ. P., is procedural only and does not

affect the substantive rights of the parties which are deter-

mined by state law. E.g., In the Matter of Covington Grain

Co., 638 F.2d 1357, 1361 (5th Cir. 1981); General Battery Corp.

v. Globe-Union, Inc., 100 F.R.D. 252, 261 (D.C. Del. 1982).

Because Explosives Corporation, Excoa, and Rockcor were

all incorporated in Washington, its laws govern their capacity

to sue or be sued. Rule 17(b), Fed. R. Civ. P.

The applicable Washington statute, RCW 23A.28.250,

pertinently provides:

Any such action or proceeding by or against the

(dissolved] corporation may be prosecuted or defended by

the corporation in its corporate name. The shareholders,

directors, and officers shall have power to take such

corporate or other action as shall be appropriate to protect

such remedy, right, or claim.

The trial court thus found that Rockcor was entitled to

finance the lawsuit in Explo’s name without assuming any

direct liability to Garlam:

Having acquired all of Excoa’s interest in this action

Rockcor, as sole stockholder of a dissolved corporation,

could, however, assume the costs and control of the

litigation in order to protect Excoa’s interest. See RCWA

23A.28.250.

ee ee ee

Ah Ne ti a eh Nl A i

13

(Emphasis added; A. 293-94). In other words, Rockcor had

express statutory authority to carry on litigation in the name

of its dissolved subsidiaries, and no cited case has previously

held that the exercise of this right requires substitution for

the judgment debtor under Rule 25(c), Fed. R. Civ. P.

Notwithstanding, the First Circuit substituted Rockcor

as judgment debtor precisely on the ground that it had fi-

nanced and controlled the litigation! The result is to trans-

form Rule 25(c) from one of procedure into one substantively

imposing successor liability upon any parent corporation

financing and/or controlling litigation of an insolvent

subsidiary. As now developed, the inequitable consequences

of such a new interpretation are substantial.

D. The First Circuit's Opinion Improperly Penalizes

Recourse to the Courts and Prosecution of Claims for

the Benefit of Creditors of Insolvent Parties.

The circuit court's error is illustrated by considering its

logical implications for the shareholders and creditors of

corporate litigants. If participation in the lawsuit rendered

Rockcor liable for Explo's debts to Garlam, then any corporate

officer or shareholder risks personal liability by participating

in its company’s litigation. Banks who take security in their

borrowers’ legal claims would risk assuming liability for

potential counterclaims against the borrowers. Insurers who

participate in the defense of their insureds would be subject

to liability in excess of policy limits (even as the circuit court

has imposed liability exceeding the bond amount that Rockcor

guaranteed). Defending its reasoning as a “two-way street”

(A. 60), the Court in fact deviates from a well-worn path of

established jurisprudence.

None of the cited cases hold that a nonparty who finances

litigation is thereby liable for damages assessed against the

assisted party. No case allows substitution of a nonparty

under Rule 25(c), Fed. R. Civ. P., based on financing or control

14

of litigation. Participating nonparties may be “bound” by

collateral estoppel, but they do not thereby become liable for

damages awarded among the parties. If the circuit court's

decision stands, it will effectively bar corporate creditors,

officers, shareholders, and maybe even lawyers, from assisting

their companies in litigation, for fear of incurring personal

liability if there is an adverse money judgment.

2. Charging Explo with Costs of Work Beyond the Scope

of Its Subcontract Conflicts With Decisions of this

Court, and of Other Circuit Courts, and Represents a

Departure from the Accepted and Usual Course of

Judicial Proceedings.

As already developed, Explo subcontracted to blast

between 1,509,000 and 2,000,000 cubic meters of rock, over

a period of 600 days, for $0.51 per cubic meter. Following its

default, it was charged with the cost of blasting almost twice

as much rock, over a period three times longer, but with no

credit for a unit price increase.

On two grounds, review is appropriate. First, the damage

award is inconsistent with decisions of the Supreme Court and

of other circuits holding that a terminated contractor may

not be charged with costs of completing work that differs

materially (in terms, conditions, or quantity) from the ter- .

minated contract. E.g., United States v. Axman, 234 US. 36,

42-43 (1913); United States v. California Bridge & Construction

.Co., 245 U.S. 337, 344-345 (1917); American Surety Co. v.

United States, 317 F.2d 652, 656-657 (8th Cir. 1963); Steffen

uv. United States, 213 F.2d 12 266, 271-272 (6th Cir. 1954);'"

‘2 These cases arise in the context of federal procurement law, which

is largely the fount of construction law in the United States.

They are strictly analogous because they well illustrate the com-

mon law damage measure in cases where contractors do not

complete performance, which is limited by “the reasonable

(see next page)

“time i eal

15

see also McBRIDE & TOUHEY, GOVERNMENT CONTRACTS,

§ 33.80 at 33-107 (1984 ed.) (‘Should there be a material

variation between the original contract and the relet contract,

the liability of the defaulted contractor for excess costs is

discharged or extinguished. Anything in the relet contract

which causes a substantial increase in price is a material

variation. ’’).

Second, the circuit court deyarts from the accepted and

usual course of judicial proceedings by refusing to enforce or

even recognize a subcontract term that was expressly incor-

porated by reference from Garlam's prime contract (A. 16).

This clause guaranteed a renegotiated unit price for any work

that overran by more than 25 percent ‘‘in dollars or in extent."

See note 5, supra at p.6.

With respect, we submit that the circuit court's objec-

tively inaccurate denial represents an unacceptable departure

from the accepted and usual course of judicial proceedings.

CONCLUSION

The writ should be granted because this petition raises

an important question concerning the proper application of

the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, for which this Court has

ultimate responsibility.

The circuit court’s unique interpretation of Rule 25(c),

Fed. R. Civ. P., presents this Court with an issue of first

impression. To our knowledge, never before has any circuit

(or district) court held that control and management of an

insolvent subsidiary’s litigation constitutes a sufficient

(continued from previous page)

cost of construction and completion in accordance with the

contract” (emphasis added) (RESTATEMENT OF CONTRACTS. 346

(1932)).

16

‘‘transfer of interest’’ under Rule 25(c) so as to substitute the

parent as liable party for an adverse award. The circuit court's

new standard for Rule 25(c) substitution conflicts with both

decisions of this and other circuit courts, and with the long

established rule that a transferee of corporate assets does not

assume liability for the transferor’s debts.

Perhaps most significantly, the circuit court's new substi-

tution standard would punish creditors, shareholders, officers,

and maybe even lawyers, who control or defend an insolvent

subsidiary in litigation, with personal liability for an adverse

judgment. Such an unprecedented and inequitable restriction

upon access to the federal courts and prosecution of claims

therein deserves review by this Court.

This Court is also asked to review the decision that Explo

should receive credit for no more than its subcontract unit

price, even for quantities and duration of work far beyond its

original agreement. As developed above, and to be blunt, the

circuit court was just plain wrong. Review is justified because

that error conflicts with unchallenged decisions of this Court

and of other circuits, and represents a departure from the

accepted and usual course of judicial proceedings.

DATED this 3lst day of July, 1987.

Respectfully submitted,

STUART G. OLES

Counsel of Record, and

ARTHUR D. McGARRY

DOUGLAS S. OLES

OLES. MORRISON, RINKER,.

STANISLAW & ASHBAUGH

SALVADOR ANTONETTI

FIDDLER, GONZALEZ & RODRIGUEZ

Counsel for Petitioners

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

No. 86-1303

EXPLOSIVES CORPORATION OF AMERICA,

et al.,

Plaintiffs, Appellants,

¥.

GARLAM ENTERPRISES CORPORATION,

et al.,

Defendants, Appellees.

No. 86-1362

EXPLOSIVES CORPORATION OF AMERICA,

Plaintiffs, Appellees,

Vv.

GARLAM ENTERPRISES CORPROATION,

Defendant, Appellant.

No. 86-1650

EXPLOSIVES CORPORATION OF AMERICA,

et al.,

Plaintiffs, Appellants,

¥.

GARLAM ENTERPRISES CORPORATICN,

et al.,

Defendants, Appellees.

ate

APPEALS FROM THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF PUERTO RICO

[Hon. W.A. Bootle,* Senior U.S. District

Judge ]

{[Hon. Carmen C. Cerezo, U.S. District

Judge ]

* Of the Middle District of Georgia,

sitting by designation.

BOWNES, Circuit Judge. This appeal

stems from a contract between Garlam

Enterprises Corporation (Garlam) and

Explosives Corporation of America

(Explo). On January 3, 1972, Explo sued

Garlam for breach of contract. Garlam

filed an answer and brought a counter-

Claim alleging breach of contract by

Explo. After two jury-waived trials, one

on liability and one on damages, Explo

was found liable to Garlam in the amount

«$e

of $2,423,177.)/ Explo has appealed the

liability finding, the damages award, and

the award of post-judgment interest. It

also claims that the adjudications made

by the Superior Court of Puerto Rico in a

suit brought by Garlam against the Puerto

Rico Highway Authority were binding on

Garlam and the district court and require

a reversal of the judgment. Garlam has

appealed from a denial of its motion to

substitute Rockor, Inc., for Explo as the

defendant-appellant in the contract

action. Garlam also appeals the district

court's refusal to award it attorney's

fees, costs and prejudgment interest.

i/ Judge Bootle heard and decided the

liability phase of the case. Judge

Cerezo has decided all of the other

issues.

oy

I. CONTRACT LIABILITY

A. The Findings and Evidence

The district court made extensive and

detailed findings of fact which we have

reviewed pursuant to the command of

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 52:

"Findings of fact, whether based on oral

or documentary evidence, shall not be

set aside unless clearly erroneous, and

due regard shall be given to the opportu-

nity of the trial court to judge of the

credibility of the witnesses." Based on

our examination of the trial transcript,

depositions and exhibits, we conclude

that the district court did not make any

clearly erroneous findings of fact. Our

summary of the evidence and findings fol-

lows.

Garlam was the successful low bidder

for the construction of one section of a

highway in Puerto Rico running from San

ree iii |

atin

Juan to Ponce. It entered into a con-

tract with the Puerto Rico Highway

Authority to do the work for an estimated

total price of $13,489,412.39. The con-

tract was advertised and bid as a series

of forty-one different work items. Garlam

submitted a separate bid price for each.

Garlam's total bid was calculated by mul-

tiplying each work unit price by the

estimated quantities of work to be done

and then adding up the amounts for each

of the forty-one work items. The esti-

mated quantities of work were supplied by

the Highway Authority.

Two work items are of special signif-

icance. Item 4, entitled Unclassified

Excavations, required, inter alia, the

mass blasting of rock wherever found.

Garlam's bid was $2.03 per cubic meter on

an estimated quantity of 4,680,000 cubic

meters of material to be excavated.

aie

Garlam had to excavate the material from

the job site and deposit it in designated

embankment areas as fill. Item 35 cov-

ered presplitting, which is a procedure

for limiting the effects of rock blasting

to a restricted area. Garlam's bid price

for this work was $1.40 per lineal foot

on an estimated quantity of 300,000 lin-

eal feet; the total bid price was

$420,000.

After a period of negotiations

between Raymond Garffer, president of

Garlam, John W. Goode, division general

manager for Explo, and Hugh E. Oswald,

general counsel for Explo, a contract was

executed on April 28, 1971. An amendment

to the contract executed May 5, 1971,

stated that Explo would begin work "on

May 12, 1971, for a total of four hundred

eighty-nine (489) calendar days and shall

terminate said work September 22, 1972."

ee

<P

The contract stated that "time was of the

essence."

The contract provided that Explo

would perform all the mass blasting nec-

essary under Item 4 of the prime contract

between Garlam and the Highway Authority

at a unit price of .51 cents per cubic

meter of material. Explo also agreed to

do the presplitting required under

Item 35 of the prime contract at the rate

of .70 cents per lineal foot. The unit

price clause of the contract contained

the following provision: "Blasted rock

fragments shall average up to a maximum

of 15 inches in size." This language was

the result of negotiations between

Garffer, Goode and Oswald. The words "up

to a maximum" were inserted at the insis-

tence of Garffer; the word "average" came

from Goode. Oswald drafted the composite

clause. Garffer testified that he

=@-

expected that ninety to ninety-five per-

cent of the blasted material would be

less than fifteen inches in size. He

acknowledged that inevitably some large

boulders would be produced, but antici-

pated that they would be reduced in size

bv secondary blasting. Garffer also tes-

tified that when he first met with Albert

Teller and John Goode, who were in charge

of Explo's field operations in Puerto

Rico, he asked them if they could give

him an average product four to six inches

in size and they assured him that they

could.

Immediately after the contract was

executed on April 28, 1971, Garlam

instructed Explo to begin blasting.

Explo, however, did not start until early

in June. After the first few blasting

shots, Garlam informed Explo that the

rock fragments were too large and con-

ERE EEE OOOO ee

aQe

trary to the contract specifications.

Explo did not challenge Garlam's inter-

pretation of the contract until

September 22, 1971, when it stated in a

letter to Garlam that the _ rock-size

clause meant "an average maximum" of fif-

teen inches.

Explo had blasted very little rock of

any size by September of 1971 and had

received no payments from Garlam for what

blasting it had done. Explo retained the

law firm of DeGarmo, Liedy [sic], Oles

and Morrison of Seattle. They contracted

for the services of Arner [sic] W.

Erickson, a civil engineer, who had con-

siderable experience in highway

construction and blasting operations.

Erickson came to Puerto Rico on

September 5, 1971, to investigate the

aide

situation. He met with Garffer of Garlam

the next day and inspected the job site.

Erickson's testimony included state-

ments to the following effect: He did

not attempt to resolve the controversy

over the rock size. He saw blasted rocks

ranging in size from six and seven feet

down to one foot. Garlam had good rea-

sons for wanting rocks less than fifteen

inches in size; the blasted material

would be easier to handle and move and it

was more suitable for use as fill in the

embankment. Large boulders could not be

used for fill.

Erickson returned to Seattle before

September 11. He advised Explo to

replace some of its personnel in Puerto

Rico and to increase the amount of equip-

ment it was using. Explo replaced the

two men in Puerto Rico in charge of its

operations, Teller and Goode, with

eij-

Messrs. Cronin and Herrera. Cronin and

Herrera arrived sometime in late

September. Beginning in October, the

quantity and quality of the blasting

material produced by Explo improved.

Garlam had continuously insisted that the

rock blasted should not exceed fifteen

inches in size, but Explo regularly and

consistently exceeded that size.

In the morning of November 3, 1971,

Garffer met with Attorney Oles and W.E.

Johnson of Explo. Johnson had been hired

by Explo to manage all its Puerto Rico

jobs2/ from October of 1971 to March,

1972. Oles informed Garffer that, unless

its price for mass blasting was raised to

.82 cents per cubic yard and its

presplitting increased by some negotiated

amount, Explo would be forced to leave

2/ Explo had two other jobs in Puerto

Rico in addition to the one for Garlam.

o13@

the project. Garffer told them that he

would think it over and give them his

decision that afternoon. Garffer told

Oles and Johnson in the afternoon of

November 3 that he would not renegotiate

the contract prices. Oles then informed

Garffer orally that Explo terminated the

contract. This oral termination was con-

firmed in a letter dated November 9.

The reason advanced by Explo for its

slow progress on the job was that Garlam

had no available written work schedule

and that Explo, therefore, was unable to

properly program its blasting activities.

Garlam followed the critical path method

in scheduling its work. It provided the

Highway Authority with its work sched-

ules, which under the prime contract had

to be programmed on a weekly and daily

schedule. Copies of the critical path

schedules were available to Explo in

«13

Garlam's construction-site office. One

of Garlam's supervisors met daily with

Explo and advised it of the work sched-

ule. Explo was also advised of the

weekly work schedule that Garlam was fol-

lowing.

Under the contract, there were to be

partial payments to Explo for its produc-

tion at the agreed unit price within ten

days after Garlam had been paid by the

Highway Authority for that particular

work. Garlam made no payments to Explo,

although it had received payments from

the Highway Authority for work done by

Explo. Garlam made no payments to Explo

for two reasons. First, it felt that

payment was not warranted because of the

great number of rocks in excess of fif-

teen inches. In connection with this,

there was some discussion of reducing the

payments by fifty percent because of the

oté-

oversized blasted fragments, but no

agreement was reached. The second reason

for Garlam's failure to make any payments

was that Explo owed it money for the use

of Garlam's equipment, personnel, and

other services. The amount due Garlam

from Explo was greater than any payments

due Explo for blasting.

The critical findings of the district

court can be stated as follows. Explo

"passively" accepted Garlam's interpreta-

tion of the rock-size clause in the

contract until September 22, 1971. The

Ciause was a composite drafting by both

Explo and Garlam with the final language

drafted by Attorney Oswald of Explo.

"During the six months period that Explo

was working on the project, it did not

comply with the interpretation of Garlam

as to the maximum rock size although

Garlam continuously insisted that Explo

otBa

produce material not exceeding 15 inches

in size."

Despite the contract provisions and

Garlam's instructions, Explo unnecessar-

ily delayed starting its work = and

continued to show slow progress in car-

rying out the blasting. Explo's slowness

was not attributable to Gariam which had

the right under the contract "to direct

the work of Explo from day to day and

coordinate Explo's work with its own and

that of other subcontractors."

Explo abandoned the contract on

November 3, 1971.

B. Conclusions of Law of the

District Court

We turn next to the pertinent conclu-

sions of law of the district court. The

conclusions are indented and followed by

our comments.

-16-

A. The contract is te -.e

interpreted under Puerto Rico law. There

is no dispute as to this.

B. Explo was not a third-party

beneficiary of the prime contract and

"any alleged violations of the prime con-

tract by Garlam would not justify Explo's

failure to perform the subcontract or its

abandonment of the project."

Explo seems to argue that it had a

right of renegotiation because the prime

contract provided for equitable

renegotiation of unit prices if the

actual work quantities differed substan-

tially from the Highway Authority's

estimate. There was, however, no such

provision in Explo's contract and the

district court's ruling was correct.

Moreover, there was no evidence before

the district court that Explo's produc-

tion was affected in any way by the work

eet

AF

quantity estimates of the Highway

Authority. The difficulties between

Explo and Garlam stemmed from three fac-

tors: oversize rock fragments, low

quantity of material blasted, and slow

work progress.

C. The subcontract between the

parties does not have a termi-

mation or rescission clause

that will permit Explo to

rescind or cancel the subcon-

SEeeece Wate Geriam .... . If

Explo is entitled to terminate

the agreement .. . the author-

ization to do so is to be found

not in the subcontract but in

some other source.

This is a correct reading of the con-

tract.

D. It is not necessary to decide

whether under Puerto Rico law sub-

stantial nonpayment excuses

performance because "the evidence

fails to establish any substantial

non-payment."

«46-

This finding of fact is not clearly erro-

,

neous.

F. The language contained in

the unit price clause is ambig-

uous and therefore it is

necessary to apply the rules of

interpretation contained in the

Civil Code of Puerto Rico.

Title 31 § 3478 of that code

reads as follows:

The interpretation of

obscure stipulations of a -

contract must not favor

the party occasioning the

obscurity.

The language of the unit price ;

clause was finally drafted by

Mr. Hugo E. Oswald, Jr., then

general counsel for Explo, in

the negotiations of the subcon-

tract. While both Garlam and

Explo contributed some of the

complicating words, the final

drafting was actually done by

Mr. Oswald. We conclude as a

matter of law that the obscu-

rity of the language must be

charged to Explo and that the

correct interpretation of the

unit price clause is that the

material to be produced must be

generally within the range of

15 inches or less. We conclude

that otherwise Garlam cculd not 3

comply with other requirements

of the prime contract which

required it to dispose of the

LD ine Sani CARs eras Re eet ABBAS S Theta ERB a wan be a pGib ait

Tania Sate ARE a

0 OL

at9~

rock fragments to _ construct

compaction layers of approxi-

mately 6 inches in the

embankments and 24 inches in

the rock fills. The interpre-

tation of the clause suggested

by Explo creates an absurd sit-

uation which this court

rejects. Its suggested inter-

pretation is inconsistent with

its explicit contractual obli-

gation to blast "secondary

boulders that may appear after

a blasting operation, 9

required by the contractor."

Therefore, in the determination

of the amount of work done by

Explo, consideration should be

given to the contractual

requirement that Explo produce

material which finally could

not exceed 15 inches as a maxi-

mum size and that such other

larger boulders had to be bro-

ken down by secondary blasting

if they exceeded this maximum

of 15 inches.

Explo objects strenuously to this

mixed finding of law and fact. Whether

the “obscurity” of the language should be

charged to Explo is a close question, but

we think that Oswald, as a lawyer, should

have been aware that the rock-size clause

was ambiguous and thus we agree with the

=20-

district court that the responsibility

for its language lay with him. Even, how-

ever, if we accept the clause as a joint

production, the evidence establishes that

Explo knew and understood that rocks in

excess of fifteen inches were to be the

exception rather than the rule from the

time the contract was being negotiated to

its dissolution by Explo on November 3,

1971. Explo's field managers, Teller and

Goode, told Garffer during contract nego-

tiations that Explo could produce rocks

averaging four to six inches in size.

Explo did not urge its version of the

meaning of the clause until September 22,

1971. #£And, after the new personnel

arrived on the job in October, the size

of the rock fragments diminished appre-

ciably. We interpret the contract

provision as did the district court.

.

A es aie ei PO IR TY eRe aT eS

re

3

G. As a consequence of this

breach by Explo, Explo is obli-

gated to pay to Garlam the

actual and necessary additional

costs reasonably incurred by

Garlam in order to complete the

work required by Explo by the

subcontract. As above indi-

cated, the question whether or

not any delay penalty is

Chargeable against Explo and if

so, how much, is to be deter-

mined by evidence adduced in

the second trial. The question

cf interest on any amounts

credited to or chargeable

against Explo is likewise to be

determined by evidence adduced

‘at the second trial. All costs

of this first trial are taxed

against Explo.

This ruling follows logically from

the previous ones.

II. DAMAGES

By stipulation of the parties, the

damages issue was referred to a master.

The master held a two-day hearing at

which a great number of exhibits of con-

siderable size and complexity were

introduced. His detailed and extensive

=BQ—

report was issued about six months after

the hearing.3/ The master awarded damages

to Garlam in the amount of $2,423,177.

The findings and rulings of the master

were subsequently adopted by the district

court.

We agree with the district court that

the master applied the correct legal

principles in making his findings, which

were supported by the evidence and not

clearly erroneous. We rule specifically

that Garlam carried its burden of proof

on damages. There is no basis in the

contract or the evidence for finding that

Explo was entitled to an equitable price

increase. Nor are we impressed with

Explo's argument that Garlam failed to

3/ The master actually rendered two

reports: a preliminary draft dated

March 19, 1980, submitted to the parties

for their comments and recommendations;

and a final report dated April 24 and

filed on April 29, 1980.

ee

~29

mitigate its damages and, hence, is pre-

cluded from recovering. This overlooks

the fact that, after Explo breached its

contract, Garlam was under time _ con-

straints in its prime contract with the

Highway Authority to complete the

blasting within a comparatively short

time.4/ The measure of damages was, as

the district court found, "the actual and

necessary additional costs reasonably

incurred by Garlam in order to complete

the work required by Explo by the subcon-

tract." The amount arrived at by the

master reflected accurately the applica-

tion of this damages formula.

4/ Explo had agreed to do the work by

September 22, 1972.

-24-

IIl. THE SUIT IN PUERTO RICO

SUPERIOR COURT BY GARLAM

AGAINST THE HIGHWAY

AUTHORITY

We now turn to Explo's claim that the

adjudications in Garlam's Puerto Rico

Superior Court suit against the Highway

Authority were binding on Garlam and the

district court and require a reversal of

the judgment against Explo.

Initially we note that we can find

nothing in the record to indicate whether

the Superior Court judgment, which is

dated June 15, 1982, has been appealed.

Nor have we found any definitive record

of when the Superior Court action was

commenced. We will, however, for pur-

poses of our analysis accept Explo's

representation that the suit was filed

prior to the start of the hearing on dam-

ages before the master.

beep eS ort ia sat arch

“ thy <se

=2S=

We agree with Explo that a judgment

of the Commonwealth court is entitled to

full faith and credit by a federal court.

We also agree that the collateral

estoppel doctrine of issue preclusion

would prevent a party from denying or

relitigating in federal court issues

already decided by the Superior Court of

Puerto Rico. The question is whether,

under the circumstances here, the rulings

and findings of the Superior Court in the

case of Garlam v. The Highway Authority

require a reversal of the judgment in

this case. We find that they do not for

several reasons.

The first is a matter of chronology.

The Superior Court judgment did not issue

until June 6, 1982. It, therefore, post-

dated the liability verdict of March 30,

1977, in this case by more than five

years. It also postdated the master's

-26-

report of April 29, 1980, by more than

two years. And, although the Superior

Court judgment did precede the opinion

and judgment of the district court of

November 16, 1982, adopting the master's

findings and rulings, the Superior Court

judgment was not called to the district

court's attention until November 24,

1982.

Under this chronology, we rule that

the Superior Court judgment could have no

effect on the liability rulings and find-

ings made in this case. We agree with

the district court that Explo's tardy

invocation of the Superior Court judgment

precludes it from using the judgment for

an attack on the damages awarded Garlam.

Explo knew about the Superior Court

action from at least the date of the

hearing before the master on damages,

October 29-31, 1979. It questioned and

Os eS Le ee mere ee Snr ee

Se ey eee ee

an,

ye

cross-examined Highway Authority wit-

nesses about the Commonwealth court

action, referred to the pleadings, and

introduced in evidence part of the pro-

ceedings in the Superior Court. It is

fair to assume that Explo followed the

progress of the Superior Court action

closely. We think it was inexcusable for

Explo to wait until after the district

court's opinion and judgment on damages

before raising the issue of the effect of

the Superior Court case on this litiga-

tion. The doctrine of laches applies to

such conduct.

We are also troubled by Explo's fail-

ure to at least attempt to intervene in

the Superior Court action. The comments

of the district court are pertinent:

Explo has_ not explained

either why it never’ sought

intervention in the

Commonwealth case or why it did

not request joinder of the

ers

Superior Court case to avoid the judgment

~26-

claim against Garlam for the

equitable unit price reduction

it could have allegedly derived

from Garlam's contract with the

PRHA. The record shows that

the Superior Court case was

known and monitored by Explo

throughout the years. Explo

continuously referred to the

pleadings filed in that case

and even submitted part of the

Superior Court's record as evi-

dence for the Special Master to

consider in his determination

of damages. Explo's argument

that it was not necessary for

it to intervene in the Superior

Court action because that case

dealt with other matters is

self-defeating. The Puerto

Rico Rules of Civil Procedure

allowed Explo to appear in that

action to plead precisely the

third-party beneficiary status

theory that it has now

attempted to introduce in this

case. Likewise, it could have

joined as a party in the two

actions. Instead, it adopted a

wait and see attitude and never

formally raised this new theory

of equitable price reduction in

this litigation or in the one

before the Superior Court.

In addition to the procedural barri-

to Explo's attempt to use

-29-

against it, there are also substantive

grounds precluding the application of the

doctrine of issue preclusion. We note

first that the findings and rulings of

the Superior Court do not’ discuss

blasting or Explo's role in the highway

construction. The Superior Court found

that the Highway Authority owed Garlam

$2,466,316.73 based upon the following

specific findings:

a) Deposit of 385,803.71

cubic meters of borrowed

material agreed upon at

$2.95 per cubic meter

(Finding of Fact No. 3) $1,138,120.94

b) Difference owed on over-

cuts and miscellaneous

cuts -328,008.20 cubic

meters at $.92- (Finding

of Fact No. 4) 294,407.54

c) Asphalt provided -

553.645 tons at $25.88

(Fact No. 5) 46,305.57

dad) Compacted material -

2,196,093.62 cubic meters

at $.30, less $7,274.43

granted by summary judg-

e)

f)

-30-

ment of March 12/78

(Fact No. 6) 651,553.66

Excavation of material

for benchings 137,794.92

cubic meters at $2.03 -

(Fact No. 7) 279,722.67

Commercial profit and

administrative expenses

on work performed through

force account

(Fact No. 8) 56,206.35

Total to be paid $2,466, 316.73

Explo's argument can best be stated in

its own words:

In Superior Court, Garlam

blamed the owner for cost over-

runs and collected millions of

dollars based (in part) on

faulty design. Meanwhile, in

federal court, Garlam charged

Explo for the entire cost over-

run on rock blasting and denied

that design errors existed.

Garlam refused to credit Explo

with the same kind of equitable

price adjustment which Garlam

obtained for part of its own

work from the owner. In short,

Garlam wants Explo to reimburse

costs which the Superior Court

has attributed to the Highway

Authority.

—_ ne:

a%%

Explo's Brief for Nos. 1303 and 1650 at

46. This is a misreading of both the

Superior Court decision and the master's

findings and rulings on damages. The

Superior Court based its decision on the

prime contract between the Highway

Authority and Garlam in light of subse-

quent events that related to those two

parties alone: the Highway Authority's

issuing of thirty extra work orders and

mine change orders; its failure to pay

Garlam the agreed price for excavating,

moving, and depositing of borrowed mate-

rial; and its failure to pay Garlam

anything for certain work items per-

formed. The basis of the master's

decision on damages was the extra cost

incurred by Garlam due to Explo's breach

of its blasting contract. These were two

separate lawsuits and the issues in both

were different. In short, there can be

a%%-

no issue preclusion because there is no

identity of issues in the two cases.

In this connection, we point out that

if Garlam were recovering twice for the

same items of work, it would have been to

the Highway Authority's advantage to

invoke the doctrine of collateral

estoppel as to those items for which

Garlam was seeking recovery against both

Explo in federal court and the Highway

Authority in the Superior Court. The

Highway Authority was fully aware of the

suit by Explo and Garlam's counterclaim.

The Authority's resident engineer testi-

fied at the federal trial on liability

and the general counsel for the

Department of Public Works testified at

the federal trial on damages and intro-

duced excerpts from the Superior Court

trial. Although the Highway Authority

FR re ee Ra Fy TN gee eee a nt Pe

Le eee

athe

might possibly have overlooked some dou-

ble pay items, it does not seem likely.

For all the foregoing reasons, we

rule that the doctrine of collateral

estoppel cannot be invoked in this case

and that the rulings and findings of the

Superior Court case have no effect on the

judgment rendered in the case before us.

IV. INTEREST COMPUTATION

On May 19, 1986, the district court

ordered that interest on damages be com-

puted einen to 28 U.S.C. § 1961 from

November 16, 1982, the date of the

court's judgment awarding damages’ to

Garlam. Explo appeals the date of inter-

est accrual, arguing that interest should

only be awarded from March 6, 1986, the

date of the district court's judgment

after which these appeals were filed.

= 7 =

A. Procedural History

The case was brought in the United

States District Court on January 3, 1972.

On November 28, 1979, Garlam appealed

from the dismissal of its third-party

complaint against Rockor. On

December 10, 1979, this court stated:

"Since it does not appear on the papers

before us that the district court certi-

fied this dismissal as final pursuant to

Rule 54(b) of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure, we lack jurisdiction over this

appeal." On November 16, 1982, the dis-

trict court entered a judgment against

Explo on its complaint and for Garlam on

its counterclaim. On March 15, 1983,

Explo filed a notice of appeal. On

May 9, 1983, this court dismissed the

appeal holding: "It appearing that the

notice of appeal was filed while a motion

to substitute parties was pending, we

nih<

view the judgment below as not a final

judgment." On August 16, 1985, Garlam

filed a notice of appeal from the judg-

ment of November 16, 1982,2/ and the

district court's order of August 8, 1975,

denying Garlam's motion ‘to substitute

Rockor for Explo. On August 26, 1985,

the district court granted Explo's motion

to have the proceedings continue in that

court because Explo had a pending motion

for postjudgment relief. On October 10,

1985, this court dismissed Garlam's

appeal. The memorandum and order reads:

In 1983, Garlam Enterprises

Corporation ("Garlam") argued

to this court that an order

entered by the district court

in November, 1982, was not a

final order because it did not

adjudicate all of the claims

against all of the parties.

This court agreed, noted that

S/ Garlam appealed from the denial of

prejudgment interest, costs and

attorney's fees, and the order to pay

one-half of the master's fees.

1

against all of the parties.

This court agreed, noted that

proceedings were still pending

in the district courts [sic],

and dismissed without prejudice

an appeal filed by Explosives

Corporation of America

("Explo").

Now, Garlam argues to this

court that the November 1982

order was a final judgment, and

that a Motion for

Reconsideration filed recently

by Explo is therefore untimely.

This court's prior order, how-

ever, reflects the law of the

case and is binding precedent

upon Garlam at this stage of

the litigation. United States

v. DeJesus, 752 F.2d 640, 642

{lst Cir. 1985) (per curiam).

Alternatively, Garlam

requests that this court take

jurisdiction over this appeal

even though a motion for post-

judgment relief is pending in

the district court. We decline

to do so for two reasons.

First, it appears that no

final judgment has been entered

in this matter. Adjudication

of Garlam's motion for substi-

tution of parties in and of

itself does not constitute

entry of a final judgment. See

Fed.R.Civ.P. 58.1/ Second, the

instant notice of appeal is, in

any event, premature because of

Explo's pending motion for

Py >

post-judgment relief. That

motion tolls the running of the

appeal period. FRA.

4(a)(4). The district court

explained this to Garlam, and

informed Garlam that it should

file a new notice of appeal

after that court ruled on

Explo's motion.

The appeal is dismissed for

lack of jurisdiction, without

prejudice to timely filing of

new notices of appeal.

[Emphasis added. ]

1. We draw this to the atten-

tion of the parties and the

district court so that this

matter can be clarified or cor-

rected without causing the

parties further unnecessary

delay.

On March 6, 1986, the district court

entered an order that was "[fJor purposes

of an appeal .. . a Final Judgment." On

March 24, 1986, Explo filed a notice of

appeal, and on March 31, 1986, Garlam

followed suit. It is from these notices

that the current appeals stem.

=36-

On May 19, 1986, the district court

decided that interest should run from the

date of its judgment issued November 16,

1982. It based its ruling on the fact

that using the date of its March 6, 1986,

judgment would "deprive Garlam of its

statutory right to obtain interest on the

November 16, 1982, judgment [and] would

defeat the purposes of [28 U.S.C.] sec-

tion 1961." The ccurt stated that it had

followed the requirements of Rules 58 and

79(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure for making its November 16,

1982, judgment final with respect to

interest accruing, even if the same judg-

ment was not "final" for the purposes of

appeal.

B. The Date for Accruing Interest

"Interest shall be allowed on any

money judgment in a civil case recovered

in a district court. Pet? Se Such inter-

| Mle eectesinite ats» Mabieardalpiith woe ee

-39-

est shall be calculated from the date of

the entry of the judgment." 28 U.S.C.

§ 1961 (Supp. 1987) emphasis added).

A judgment "includes a decree and any

order from which an appeal lies." Fed.

R. Civ. P. 54(a). It is clear from this

court's prior dismissals that the

November 1982 judgment was not final

because other issues remained to be

resolved.

The district court never made a Rule

54(b)&/ determination as to the November

6/ Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

54(b) provides:

(b) Judgment Upon Multiple Claims or

Involving Multiple Parties. When more

than one claim for relief is presented

in an action, whether as a claim, coun-

terclaim, cross-claim, or third-party

claim, or when multiple parties are

involved, the court “ay direct the entry

of a final judgment as to one or more

but fewer than all of the claims or par-

ties only upon an express determination

that there is no just reason for delay

(See next page.)

-40-

1982, judgment nor did Garlam ask for

one. Moreover, the district court's order

of August 8, 1985--allowing the proceed-

ings to continue in that court despite a

pending notice of appeal--suggests that

the judgment of November 16, 1982, was

not intended to be final.

There is merit to the district

court's opinion on interest and there is

precedent for awarding interest from the

date of judgment on liability and dam-

ages. See Turner v. Japan Lines, Ltd.,

(Continued from previous page. )

and upon an express direction for the

entry of judgment. In the absence of

such determination and direction, any

order or other form of decision, however

designated, which adjudicates fewer than

all the claims or the rights and liabil-

ities of fewer than all the parties

shall not terminate the action as to any

of the claims or parties, and the order

or other form of decision is subject to

revision at any time before the entry of

judgment adjudicating all the claims and

the rights and liabilities of all the

parties.

|

-41-

702 F.2d 752 (9th Cir. 1983), which held

that interest should be computed from the

initial assessment of damages where there

was a delay between that date and the

date of entry of final judgment. Turner

expressly rejected the holding in Hooxs

v. Washington Sheraton Corp., 642 F.2d

614, 616 (D.C. Cir. 1980), which confined

the application of 28 U.S.C. § 1961 to a

final judgment as defined in Rule 54(b).

For several reasons, we believe it would

be inappropriate to allow postjudgment

interest to begin running before entry of

final judgment in this case.

First, Garlam never sought a Rule

54(b) determination even though it had

been aierted to the problem by our order

of December 10, 1979. Second, Garlam

argued that the November 16, 1982, judg-

ment was not final when Explo attempted

to appeal the liability part of the judg-

-42=-

ment. If the judgment was not final for

liability purposes, it could not be final

on damages. Third, we dismissed appeals

on December 10, 1979, May 9, 1983, and

October 10, 1985, on the same grounds:

that there was no final judgment from

which an appeal could be taken. We do

not deem it advisable at this stage of

the proceedings to decide that final

judgment meant one thing for appeal and

another for the computation of interest.

It is, of course, not without signifi-

cance that the district court failed to

make a Rule 54(b) determination as to its

judgment of November 16, 1982.

For the foregoing reasons, interest

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1961 must be

recomputed starting March 6, 1986.

cere AN Se To TS EE

a43-

V. THE SUBSTITUTION ISSUE

Garlam appeals the denial of its

motion to amend the pleadings so as to

add Rockor, Inc. (Rockor), as a defendant

to its counterclaim and the denial of its

motion to substitute Rockor for Explo.

Since we conclude that substitution

should have been allowed, we focus on

that.

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 25(c)

provides in pertinent part:

({c) Transfer of Interest.

In case of any transfer of

interest, the action may be con-

tinued by or against the

original party, unless the court

upon motion directs the person

to whom the interest is trans-

ferred to be substituted in the

action or joined with the origi-

nal party.

The basic question is whether Rockor

should be held liable for the damages

awarded Garlam against Explo. Despite

the fact that Explo's interest in the

ry?" merase hog TEP TSF ES Wee

«@4-

lawsuit was transferred to Rockor, the

district court decided against substitu-

tion on the ground that liability should

not be imposed on Rockor for the debts of

its predecessor. We recognize that a

substitution decision is within the dis-

cretion of the district court but find

that its legal analysis was erroneous.

The resolution of this issue turns on

the relationship between Rockor, Explo,

and Excoa, a corporation with which Explo

merged, and Rockor's role in the litiga-

tion. The record on this issue consists

of stipulated exhibits and the deposition

of George S. Sutherland, chairman of the

board of Rockor. There is no dispute

over the facts, only the conclusions to

be drawn from them. In 1959, Rocket

we TN,

ee ee ae ER

-45-

Research Corporation (Rockor)// _ was

incorporated in the State of Washington

for the research, development, and manu-

facture of rocket engines and

propellants. Sutherland started working

for Rockor in 1960 and became its chief

executive officer. In May 1966,

Explosives Corporation of America (Explo)

was incorporated to research, develop,

and manufacture explosives. Rockor was

Explo's sole stockholder; it owed [sic]

92% of the stock. Sutherland became

chairman of the board of Explo. One of

Explo's requirements under its contract

with Garlam was that it obtain a surety

and performance bond in the amount of 1.2

million dollars. The bond was obtained

from the General Insurance Company of

V/ On March 15, 1977, Rocket Research

Corporation changed its name to Rockor,

Inc.

-46-

America after Rockor agreed to indemnify

the bonding company if Explo failed to

perform. Rockor had full knowledge of

the lawsuit since it started; it filed

yearly status reports on the litigation

with the S.E.C.

In early 1973, Excoa, Inc., was

incorporated for manufacturing explosives

and chemicals. Rockor was the _ sole

stockholder and owner of Excoa and

Sutherland was chairman of Excoa's board

of directors from its formaticn until its

dissolution. Explo was merged into Excoa

on April 27, 1973, with Excoa assuming

all of Explo's debts and liabilities. One

of the purposes of the merger was to

increase Rockor's ownership of Explo's

stock from 92% to 100%. On October 29, q

19°76, Rockor, as the principal creditor

of Excoa, took over most of Excoa's

assets; Excoa owed Rockor approximately

a

ROR ney aes

meee ~ meee ve

a oe eee.

CT Ve ae ae ime Sh PR Ee cE EE SCE RT Sr Se IR Pe Ne a ee

-47-

$5,600,000. The bill of sale from Excoa

to Rockor included all of Excoa's inter-

est in the lawsuit between Explo and

Garlam. There was no limitation on the

extent of Rockor's participation in the

lawsuit. Excoa was subsequently dis-

solved for tax purposes and not for any

reason connected with the litigation.

Attorney Oles has represented Explo,

Excoa, Rockor, and the General Insurance

Company (bonding company) since the start

of the lawsuit. Since at least 1976,

Rockor has financed the litigation

directly.

It can be fairly inferred from the

foregoing facts that Rockor has con-

trolled the litigation at least since it

took over Excoa's assets on October 29,

1976.

The pertinent procedural history of

the substitution issue must also be

-48-

recounted. On September 9, 1977, after

the liability judgment but before the

hearing and award in damages, Garlam

moved to substitute Rockor for Explo.

This motion was never ruled on directly.

Apparently at the suggestion of the

court, Garlam filed a motion on

November 10, 1977, asking that Rockor be

added as a defendant to the counterclaim.

On November 6, 1982, former Chief Judge

Pesquera reversed a prior ruling he had

made and denied the motion for lack of in

personam jurisdiction over Rockor. Judge

Cerezo reaffirmed the jurisdictional dis-

missal of Rockor as an additional party

but stated that she would consider a

motion for substitution under Federal

Rule of Civil Procedure 25(c). Such a

motion was filed by Garlam on

December 15, 1982. On August 7, 1985,

-49-

the district court denied the motion to

substitute Rockor for Explo.

The district court's opinion focuses

on the fact that Rockor was a separate

entity from Explo-Excoa and that Rockor

did not assume Explo-Excoa's liabilities.

The cases on which it relied involved the

question of whether a successor corpora~

tion could be sued in the first instance

and held liable for the acts or failure

to act of its predecessor. With due

respect, we think that the court's focus

was misdirected; it should have been on

the relationship between Rockor = and

Explo-Excoa and the role Rockor played in

the litigation.

In Montana v. United States, 440 U.S.

147 (1979), the Court discussed the

effect of the related doctrines of col-

lateral estoppel and res judicata on a

nonparty who controls the litigation. It

«f=

held that the interests advanced by these

doctrines "are similarly implicated when

nonparties assume control over litigation

in which they have a direct financial or

proprietary interest and then seek to

redetermine issues previously resolved."

aa. mt. O54. The Court then quoted

Souffront v. Compaqnie des Sucries, 217

U.S. 475, 486-87 (1910):

"[One who prosecutes or defends

a suit in the name of another to

establish and protect his own

right, or who assists in the

prosecution or defense of an

action in aid of some interest

of his own ... is as much

bound . . . as he would be if he

had been a party to the record."

We recently applied this principle to

hold the two shareholders of a corpora-

tion, who were officers and members of

the board of directors, liable for unpaid

contributions of the corporation to an

employee benefits plan. Alman v. Danin,

801 F.2d 1 (lst Cir. 1986). We stressed

_ Os ay

aS t=

that the individuals "held ultimate and

complete control over the litigation

strategy the now defunct corporation pur-

sued" and that "both men had an economic

stake in the outcome of the trial and

were, of course, in a position to know

everything that occurred." Id. at 5.

Rockor was in essentially the same posi-

tion vis-a-vis Explo-Excoa as were the

two shareholders in Alman and, like them,

had complete control over the litigation.

We realize that in Alman the action was

brought directly against the individuals

and the question of substitution under

Rule 25(c) was not involved.

The underlying legal principle that a

participating nonparty is bound by the

judgment does not, however, depend upon

the procedural stance of the case. In

Panther Pumps & Equipment Co., Inc. v.

Hydrocraft, Inc., 566 F.2d 8 (7th Cir.

~52-

1977), cert. denied sub nom. Beck v.

Morrison Pump Co., Inc., 435 U.S. 1013

(1978), the Court held that Rule 25(c)

could be invoked to substitute a succes-

sor in interest who had obtained the

assets of the corporation against whom

judgment had been rendered. It defined

successor as "one who succeeds or takes

the place of another." Id. at 24. It

quoted Moore's Federal Practice:

Rule 25 has application

only to actions pending in the

district courts. But this

should not preclude substitution

after judgment has been rendered

in the district court * * * for

the purpose of subsequent pro-

ceedings to enforce * * * a

judgment. [3B Moore's Federal

Practice 7 25.03[1], at 25-101

(2d ed. 1977), footnote omitted]

Id. at 23. The facts in Minnesota Mining

and Manufacturing Company _v. Eco Chem,

Inc., 757 F.2d 1256 (Fed. Cir. 1985),

have some similarity to the facts in the

instant case. Suit was brought by 3M

«$3

against Eco Chem, Inc., 4a corporation

owned and controlled by Stephanie and

George Rynne. A default judgment was

obtained against Eco Chem. After suit

had been commenced, the Rynnes formed a

Georgia corporation, ECL, and the share-

holders of Eco Chem exchanged their stock

for ECL shares and all of Eco Chem's

assets were transferred to ECL, making

Eco Chem completely judgment proof. The

court found that ECL was properly joined

as a party "because it succeeded to the

assets from which 3M may satisfy its

judgment." Id. at 1264.

It has long been the rule that a

nonparty who controls the litigation is

bound by the judgment. "The reason would

be that the non-party would have the

power to determine what evidence and

arguments should be offered in the liti-

gation and, if appropriate, the appeal."

-54-

General Foods Corporation Vv.

Massachusetts Department of Public

Health, 648 F.2d 784, 789 (lst Cir.

1981). See also Drier v. Tarpon Oil

Company, 522 F.2d 199 (Sth Cir. 1975)

(president of corporation held liable

because of privity and as a controlling

person under 15 U.S.C. § 770 [sic]);

Kreager v. General Electric Company, 497

F.2d 468, 471 (2d Cir. [sic]) (sole

Shareholder of corporation bound by dis-

missal of first action brought in the

name of his corporation), cert. denied,

419 U.S. 861 (1974); Pan American Match,

Inc. v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 454 F.2d

871, 874 (lst Cir. [sic]}) (subsidiary

corporation sufficiently identified with

its parent company to represent the legal

rights of the parent), cert. denied, 409

U.S. 892 (1972); 1B J. Moore, J. Lucas, &

T. Currier, Moore's Federal Practice and

ae Te

-55-

Procedure § 0.411[10] at 477-78 (1984 &

Supp. 1986-87).

We agree with the district court that

there is no problem of in personam juris-

diction. There are two reasons. First,

once in personam jurisdiction has been

found over the original party, it exists

over the substituted party despite its

lack of contacts with the forum if the

substituted party had an opportunity to

challenge its joinder or substitution.

Minnesota Min. & Mfg. Co. v. Eco Chem,

Inc., 757 F.2d at 1262-63. See 7C C.

Wrigh , A. Miller & M. Kane, Federal

Practice and Procedure § 1958 at 559-60

(2d ed. 1986). Here, Rocko. controlled

Explo's successful challenge to the sub-

stitution motion.

The second reason is that the minimum

contacts necessary for in persoriam juris-

diction were intertwined with Rockor's

a!

role in the litigation. "In judging min-

imum contacts, a court properly focuses

on 'the relationship among the defendant,

the forum, and the litigation.' Shaffer

v. Heitner, 433 U.S. 186, 204 (1977)."

Keeton v. Hustler Magazine, Inc., 465

U.S. 770, 775 (1984). When substitution

was first sought, Rockor had succeeded to

Explo-Excoa's interest in the suit, was

financing the litigation and had agreed

to indemnify the bonding company in the

event of a judgment against Explo.

Because it availed itself of Puerto Rico

as the forum in the hope of obtaining a

judgment that would inure to its benefit

and was obviously aware of the nature and

progress of the case, Rockor had suffi-

cient contacts with Puerto Rico to meet

the fourteenth amendment due _. process

Te eT ee ee ee =

-57-

requirements. Keeton v. Hustler Magazine,

Inc., 465 U.S. at 775-76.

There can be little doubt that, at

least from the time it acquired

Explo-Excoa's interest in the lawsuit,

Rockor was the real party in interest.

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 17(a)

requires that "[e]very action shall be

prosecuted in the name of the real party

in interest." Rule 25(c) is, in effect,

the continuation of Rule 17.

Subdivision (c) of Rule 25

deals with transfers of interest

during the course of the action.

The situation with which it is

concerned may be compared and

contrasted to that obtaining

where a transfer of interest

such as by an assignment takes

place prior to the commencement

of the action. In the latter

situation Rule 17 controls and

requires that the action shall

be prosecuted in the name of the

real party. But where the

transfer of interest takes place

during the course of the action,

Rule 25(c) controls and provides

that the action may be continued

by or against the original party

-58-

whose interest has been trans-

ferred, unless the court, upon

motion, directs that the person

to whom the interest has been

transferred be substituted in

the action, or joined with the

original party.

3B J. Moore, & J. Kennedy, Moore's

Federal Practice § 25.08 at 25-77,. 78

(1987) (footnotes omitted). Substitution

may be ordered after judgment has been

rendered in the district court for the

purpose of subsequent proceedings to

enforce judgment. Id. § 25.03 at 25-27.

In addition to Rockor's ownership of

Explo-Excoa and its financing and control

of the litigation, there is another rea-

son why Rockor is liable for the amount

of the judgment against Explo. The con-

tract between Explo and Garlam contained

the following clause: "It is mutually

agreed that this Agreement shall bind the

heirs, executors, administrators, succes-

sors, holding companies and assigns of

-59-

the parties hereto." It cannot be

doubted that Rockor was a successor to

Explo. It also is evident that Rockor,

which owned all of the outstanding stock

of Explo at the commencement of the

action, was a holding company of Explo at

the time the contract was executed.

For the following reasons, we hold

that Rockor is liable for the full amount

of the judgment against Explo and must be

substituted for Explo as the defendant to

Garlam's counterclaim: Rockor from the

beginning was the controlling stockholder

of Explo-Excoa; it succeeded to

Explo-Excoa's interest in the lawsuit;

after the merger of Explo into Excoa and

Excoa's dissolution, Rockor became the

real party in interest, indeed the only

party in interest; Rockor financed and

controlled the litigation; and Rockor is

bound under the contract between Explo

and Garlam as Explo's successor and a

holding company of Explo.

Under these facts and the applicable

legal principles, Rockor could not limit

its litigation liability to the amount

for which it agreed to indemnify the

bonding company. Litigation is a two-way

street. Once it is entered it must be

travelled the full length; except for

settlement or bankruptcy, there is no

escape route. If Garlam had been found

liable, the full amount of the judgment

would have gone directly to Rockor. 1G,

therefore, must pay the full amount of

the judgment against Explo.

VI. GARLAM'S APPEAL ON ATTORNEY'S FEES,

COSTS, AND PREJUDGMENT INTEREST

In its opinion adopting the master's

report on damages, the district court

found "that Explo has not conducted the

«$i=

litigation in an obstinate manner and

that imposition of pre-judgment interest,

costs and attorney's fees is not Susti-

fied." This decision was within the

discretion of the district court and we

find no reason for disturbing it.

SUMMARY

We affirm the judgment of the dis-

trict court on liability and damages. We

reverse the order of the district court

as to the date from which interest shall

be computed. We reverse the order of the

district court on the motion for substi-

tution and order that Rockor be

substituted for Explo as defendant to the

counterclaim. We affirm the order of the

district court denying Garlam attorney's

fees, costs, and prejudgment interest.

a

Affirmed in part, reversed in part,

remanded.

Costs awarded to Garlam on these

appeals.

72397

Ee ee ee ee

-63-

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

No. 86-1303

EXPLOSIVES CORPORATION OF AMERICA,

ot al.;

Plaintiffs, Appellants,

Vv.

GARLAM ENTERPRISES CORPORATION,

et al.,

Defendants, Appellees.

No. 86-1362

EXPLOSIVES CORPORATION OF AMERICA,

Plaintiffs, Appellees,

7s

GARLAM ENTERPRISES CORPROATION,

Defendant, Appellant.

No. 86-1650

EXPLOSIVES CORPORATION OF AMERICA,

et al.,

Plaintiffs, Appellants,

Vv.

GARLAM ENTERPRISES CORPORATION,

et al.,

Defendants, Appellees.

-64-

JUDGMENT

Entered: April 30, 1987

These causes came on to be heard on

appeals from the United States District

Court for the District of Puerto Rico,

and were argued by counsel.

Upon consideration whereof, It is now

here ordered, adjudged and decreed as

follows: The judgment of the district

court on liability and damages is

affirmed. The order of the district

court as to the date from which interest

shall be computed is reversed and the

cause is remanded to the district court

for redetermination of the interest in

accordance with this opinion filed this

day. The order of the district court on

the motion for substitution is reversed

and the cause is remanded to the district

court with instruction that Rockor be

3

3

‘

;

:

-65-

substituted for Explo as defendant to the

counterclaim. The order of the district

court denying Garlam attorney's fees,

costs and prejudgment interest is

affirmed.

Costs awarded to Garlam on these

appeals.

By the Court:

Francis P. Scigliano

Clerk

[cc: Messrs. Cles and Cordero ]

72395

Sl

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

No. 86-1303

EXPLOSIVES CORPORATION OF AMERICA,

et al.,

Plaintiffs, Appellants,

Vv.

GARLAM ENTERPRISES CORPORATION,

et al.,

Defendants, Appellees.

No. 86-1362

EXPLOSIVES CORPORATION OF AMERICA,

Plaintiffs, Appellees,

Vv.

GARLAM ENTERPRISES CORPROATION,

Defendant, Appellant.

No. 86-1650

EXPLOSIVES CORPORATION OF AMERICA,

et al.,

Plaintiffs, Appellants,

Vv.

GARLAM ENTERPRISES CORPORATION,

oe Ai.,

Defendants, Appellees.

~~ So

Before

CAMPBELL, Chief Judge,

Coffin, Bownes, Breyer,

Torruella, and Selya,

Circuit Judges

ORDER OF COURT

Entered: June 3, 1987

The panel of judges that rendered the

decision in these cases having voted to

deny the petition for rehearing and the

suggestion for the holding of a rehearing

en banc having been carefully considered

by the judges of the Court in regular

active service and a majority of said

judges not having voted to order that the

appeal be heard or reheard by the Court

en banc,

-68-

It is ordered that the petition for

rehearing and the suggestion for

rehearing en banc be denied.

By the Court,

Francis P. Scigliano

Clerk

[cc: Messrs. Oles and Cordero]

72396

-69-

GENERAL CONDITION 4.3

IN GARLAM'S PRIME CONTRACT

4.3 INCREASED OR DECREASED QUAN-

TITIES OF WORK .

c) It is mutually agreed that, if

demand is made by either party, overruns

or underruns of more than 25% of the

total cost, individually, of one or more

major items, calculated from the original

proposal quantities and the original con-

tract unit prices, shall require a

negotiated change of unit price which

shall be covered by a supplemental agree-

ment by the Director and the Contractor,

setting forth the necessity for the

change and the adjustment of unit prices

agreed upon a [sic] satisfactory to both

parties.

da) It is mutually agreed, that, if

demand is made by either party, overruns

«FH~

or underruns in any or all items result-

ing in a sum total change of more than

25% of the total cost of the contract,

calculated from the original proposal

quantities and the original contract unit

price, shall required [sic] a supplemen-

tal agreement signed by the Director and

the Contractor setting forth the neces-

sity for the change and the adjustment of

unit prices agreed upon as satisfactory

to both parties.

e) The contract does not obligate

the Contractor to perform at original

contract unit prices, overruns or under-

runs generating a total in dollars or in

extent of more than 25% of the original

contract.

72746

aTi@-

GARLAM ENTERPRISES CORPORATION

GENERAL CONTRACTORS

SUBCONTRACT AGREEMENT

WITH

EXPLO CONTRACTORS

EXCOA Building

Issaquah, Washington 98027

DATED: April 28, 1971

72747

oFi<

SUBCONTRACT AGREEMENT

This AGREEMENT made this 28th day of

April, 1971 by and between GARLAM

ENTERPRISES CORPORATION, hereinafter

referred to as the "Contractor", and

EXPLO CONTRACTORS, a division of

Explosives Corporation of America which

in turn is a subsidiary of Rocket

Research Corporation, hereinafter

referred to as the "Subcontractor", who

is to operate in Puerto Rico under

licensed authority of the Commonwealth

Government and duly authorized to do work

in the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

WITNESSETH

WHEREAS, the Contractor has hereto-

fore entered into a contract, hereinafter

referred to as the "General Contract,

dated January 22, 1971 with the Puerto

-73-

Rico Highways Authority, hereinafter

referred to as the "Owner", for the con-

struction of Project AC 52 (R)12(70) of

the San Juan-Ponce Highway known as "La

Palma-Cerro de los Cielos" Section in the

Municipality of Salinas, Puerto Rico,

which general contract includes the fol-

lowing work to be done under this

Agreement: All labor, materials, fuels,

lubricants, equipment and services

required to complete the work described

in Article XVI (c) of this Agreement, in

accordance with all applicable plans and

specifications prepared by the Architects

of the Owner.

NOW THEREFORE, in consideration of

the covenants and agreements hereinafter

contained and the payments to be made as

hereinafter provided, the Contractor and

oFaa

the Subcontractor do hereby mutually

agree as follows:

ARTICLE I - PERFORMANCE AND

SCOPE OF THE WORK

That the Subcontractor shall furnish

all materials, supplies, equipment and

required services and furnish all labor

required, except as otherwise herein pro-

vided, for the completion of the said

work in accordance with all applicable

provisions of the General Contract, the

specifications, addenda, general and spe-

Cial conditions and the accompanying

drawings, all of which documents are

hereinafter called the "Contract Docu-

ments" and are hereby made a part of this

Agreement; and under the direction and to

the satisfaction of the Owner's engineer

or other authorized representative in

Charge of said work. The Subcontractor

ai i rin

~FS-

acknowledges that he has examined and

understands and accepts the requirements

of the contract documents applicable to.

this Agreement.

ARTICLE VII - CHANGE ORDERS

IN GENERAL CONTRACT

That the Subcontractor shall be bound

by any changes or alterations ordered by

the Owner in the work under this Agree-

ment in the General Contract,

SPECia\

specifications, general and -epecitie’pro-

visions, and/or plans, or in the amount

or character of said work or any part

thereof, to the same extent that the

Contractor is bound thereby, the payments

to the Subcontractor to be adjusted

accordingly.

=Fo

ARTICLE XVII - SPECIAL PROVISIONS

IT IS MUTUALLY AGREED:

d. That the Contractor shall be

bound to the Subcontractor in all appli-

cable respects, by all the obligations

that the Owner assumes toward the

Contractor under Contract Documents and

by all provisions affording remedies and

redress to the Contractor from the Owner,

but only to the extent to which Sub-

contractor, by this agreement, may be a

participant therein.

72747

oFJo

CERTIFIED TRANSLATION

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF PUERTO RICO

SAN JUAN SECTION

GARLAM ENTERPRISES

CORPORATION,

CIVIL NO.

76-1431

Plaintiff,

vs.

RE:

PUERTO RICO HIGHWAY

AUTHORITY, CIVIL ACTION

Defendant.

ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee See ee”

COMPLAINT

TO THE HONORABLE COURT:

Comes now plaintiff through

undersigned counsel and respectfully

alleges and prays:

"FIRST CAUSE OF ACTION"

8. Paragraph 4.3 of the general

conditions of the contract provides that

if the project results in a change

greater than 25 per cent of the total

=F§-

cost of the contract calculated on the

basis of the original conditions con-

tained in the bid and of the unit prices

of the original contract which the

Authority claimed from the contractor,

the Authority would be obliged to

renegotiate the total price of the con-

tract. Pursuant to this clause, Garlam

requested the Authority on different

occasions to renegotiate the price of the

contract and the Authority has refused.

9. The original contract between

the parties provided for a total cost of

$13,489,412.39. Within this price bid by

Garlam, there was included a profit of

15% for a total of $1,759,488.58, thus

the total cost for the work without

including the contractor's profit was

$11,729,923.81. Due to the extra work

orders and the change orders and to the

increase in the number of items, the

5 ate ll ce os i gs se atau, wy oan eda

i Se es

@79-

total cost of the work was $23,002,285.60

and the Authority, to this date, has paid

the contractor the sum of $19,499,579.76.

10. Since the increment in the oper-

ation was greater than 25% Garlam

required from the Authority that the con-

tract be renegotiated and the Authority

has unlawfully and arbitrarily refused.

San Juan, Puerto Rico, this 12th day

of March, 1975.

CELESTINO MORALES, JR.

72444

:

:

-80-

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF PUERTO RICO

EXPLOSIVES CORPORATION

OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff and third

party defendant CIVIL 1-72

vs.

GARLAM ENTERPRISES

CORPORATION and FEDERAL

INSURANCE COMPANY

party plaintiffs

vs.

GENERAL INSURANCE

COMPANY OF NORTH

AMERICA

Third party

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

.

Defendants and third )

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Gefendants )

)

BOOTLE, Senior District Judge://

This case involves the interpretation

of a subcontract under which the plain-

1/Senior District Judge of the Middle

District of Georgia sitting by designa-

tion.

-8i1-

tiff Explosives Corporation of America

(Explo) agreed with the defendant Garlam

Enterprises Corporation (Garlam) to exe-

cute certain rock work required by a

prime contract between Garlam and the

Puerto Rico Highway Authority (Highway

Authority). Trial on the merits was with

the consent of the parties divided into

two separate trials, this first trial

having for its purpose the determination

of the issue of liability, a further

trial, if appropriate, to be held on the

issue of damages (see order of Judge

Pesquera of May 30, 1974.) The first

trial was held in San Juan January 26-30,

1976, by the court without a jury. After

a protracted delay in securing a tran-

script of the evidence and the allowance

of ample time for briefing the case as to

the issue of liability is now ripe for

decision. The court is indebted to coun-

Pe re ae oe a

o82<

sel for both| sides for thorough and

exhaustive written arguments and briefs

and for compliance with the court's

request for proposed findings of fact and

conclusions of law and the court now

enters its findings and conclusions.

FINDINGS OF FACT

: Some time during the month of

December 1970, the Highway Authority

requested bids for the construction of

one portion of a Siennens leading from the

city of San Juan, Puerto Rico, to the

city of Ponce in the southern part of the

island, which portion was designated as

Project Number AC-52(R)12(70) Las Palmas

Cerro de los Cielos (Project). Garlam

was the lowest bidder with an estimated

total cost of $13,489,412.39. The con-

tract required work on a unit price basis

on 38 items based on estimates made by

-83-

the Highway Authority and the designers

Tippetts-Abbett-McCarthy-Stratton (TAMS).

The other three items were small items on

a lump sum basse.

y Among the items of work required

by the contract, Item 4, under the title

of Unclassified Excavations, was the most

important item and Garlam made a bid of

$2.03 per cubic meter for an estimated

quantity of 4.680.000 cubic meters for a

total bid price on that single item of

$9,070,040.00. This item required among

other things, the blasting of rock wher-

ever found.

3. In addition, Item 35 of the Bid

Proposal required of Garlam the pre-

splitting of the rock face for which

Garlam agreed to a bid price of $1.40 per

lineal foot on an approximate quantity of

ai

-84-

300,000 lineal feet for a total bid price

in that single item of $420,000.00.

4. Some time during the month of

April 1971, Explo and Garlam conducted

negotiations which matured into a con-

tract executed on April 28, 1971, which

was executed again on May 5, 1971, by

virtue of which Explo agreed to perform

all the mass-blasting necessary under

Item 4 of the Bid Schedule at a unit

price of 51 cents per cubic meter and

agreed further to perform the

pre-splitting required under Item 35 of

the Bid Schedule at the rate of 70 cents

per lineal foot.

5. Immediately after the execution

of the contract, Garlam instructed Explo

to commence work and to continue with the

pre-splitting and blasting in certain

stations which Garlam had already worked

on since March 1971. Explo for one rea-

-85-

son or another was not able to start

until the beginning of June 1971.

6. Immediately after the first few

shots, Garlam took the position that the

material produced by the blasting was not

in accordance with the requirements of

the subcontract and objected to the size

of the material that was produced by

Explo.

ve At the beginning of September

1971, Explo had produced very little

material and the parent company con-

tracted the services of the law firm of

DeGarmo, Leedy, Oles and Morrison, and

they in turn retained Mr. Aner W.

Erickson, who came to Puerto Rico on the

Sth of September for the purposes of

examining the slow production of Explo,

the controversy with respect to the size

of the rock that had to be produced by

Explo and an alleged lack of payment on

-86-

the part of Garlam to Explo for certain

work performed. Mr. Erickson made a

report which was not presented in evi-

dence but in his testimony summarized

some of his findings and recommendations,

and he advised Explo to change some of

the administrative and operational per-

sonnel and to increase the amount of

equipment in use.

8. These recommendations of

Mr. Erickson were substantially carried

out and the amount of production

increased although the material produced

was not within what Garlam felt the sub-

contract required.

9. On November 3, 1971, Explo

advised Garlam that it was going to aban-

don the project and in fact did so and on

November 9, 1971, Explo confirmed in

writing its abandonment of the project.

=@7-

10. The filing of this action by

Explo followed in which Explo named as

defendants Garlam and its bonding conm-

pany, Federal Insurance Company. Then

Garlam counterclaimed, claiming the

breach of the agreement and named as a

third party defendant Explo's bonding

company General Insurance Company of

America. In its counterclaim, Garlam

alleges that as a result of Explo's

breach of the agreement, Garlam was obli-

gated to spend substantial amounts of

money to complete the work required by

the subcontract, claiming also liquidated

damages for delay allegedly caused by

Explo, plus amounts necessarily expended

in correcting work done by Explo, and in

making secondary blastings in order to

achieve proper contour as required by

plans and specifications, and expenses

incurred because of Explo's failure to

-88-

split and break rocks and boulders into

units of 15" or less.

11. The controversy between the par-

ties started in connection with the

interpretation of a unit price clause

included in the agreement which reads as

follows:

"Blasted rock fragments shall

average up to a maximum of fif-

teen inches in size."

Garlam's position was that the rock

fragments could not exceed 15" generally

although it conceded that an occasional

large boulder would result from any

explosion but argued that under the pro-

visions of the contract Explo had to make

a secondary blast of such large boulders

in order to reduce them to the maximum

size permitted by the agreement. Explo

on the other hand suggested in letter

dated September 22, 1971, that what the

clause meant was "an average maximum." It

-89-

was not until September 22, 1971, that

for the first time Explo suggested this

interpretation of this agreement. Prior

to this time it had passively admitted

the interpretation of Garlam. For

instance, in a letter dated July 27,

1971, from Explo's Mr. Albert E. Teller,

director of land operations to Garlam

Enterprises, Attention: Ing Marco

Delgado, the statement is made "during

the same time period as above you agreed

to advance the progress of the job by not

holding us to the 15 inch section of the

contract. This agreement was made so

that you could load the muck piles with

scrapers." The quoted language recog-

nizes the existence and validity of the

15 inch requirement and states at least

one of the reasons for its existence.

The quoted language's suggestion that

that requirement had been waived, even

te Mie nb ahi ha

-90-

temporarily, is not supported by the evi-

dence.

12. During the six month period that

Explo was working the project, it did not

comply with the interpretation of Garlam

as to the maximum rock size although

Garlam continuously insisted that Explo

produce material not exceeding 15 inches

in size.

13. The language quoted above was a

composite drafting made by Mr. John W.

Goode, a division general manager of

Explo, and Mr. Hugh E. Oswald, general

counsel for Explo, together with

Mr. Raymond W. Garffer, president of

Garlam. We find that the words "up to a

maximum" were inserted at the insistence

of Mr. Garffer and the word "average"

originated with and was suggested by

Mr. Goode, and Mr. Oswald took together

=9i-

the set of words and drafted the language

which appears in the subcontract.

14. Explo has alleged in the conm-

plaint a number of minor violations of

the prime contract allegedly committed by

Garlam but we find that no evidence has

been presented to substantially prove

these violations. We further conclude

that if these alleged violations had

occurred they would not have justified

Explo in abandoning the project.

15. The subcontract was negotiated

by the parties and it was not a form con-

tract. Time was made of the essence of

the agreement because the prime contract

did require from the contractor perform-

ance of all the work within a specified

number of days. An amendment to the sub-

contract executed May 5, 1971, stipulated

that Explo would begin work "on May 12,

1971 for a total of four hundred eighty-

=92-

nine (489) calendar days, and shall

terminate said work September 22, 1972."

16. The subcontract between the par-

ties provided for partial payments to

Explo in accordance with their production

at the agreed unit price within ten days

after Garlam had been paid by the Highway

Authority for that particular work. This

payment provision related both to

blasting and pre-splitting.

17. The Highway Authority made pay-

ments to Garlam in the manner shown in

Exhibit G and such exhibit shows that

Garlam at no time prior to November 3,

1971 when Explo abandoned the project was

actually indebted to Explo except during

the month of August 1971, at which time

Explo was already indebted to Garlam in a

larger amount for certain rental payments

and other services which Garlam had ren-

dered to Explo for which Explo had not

o93-

paid. It must be noted that this compu-

tation, Defendant's Exhibit G, is made on

the basis of a deduction of 50% from

amounts otherwise due for.blasting on

account of the oversize of the blasted

fragments. While the evidence shows that

there was some discussion between the

parties with respect to such 50% dis-

count, the evidence fails to show that

there was any firmed up agreement or

novation with respect thereto. We find

as a fact, however, that under the cir-

cumstances due to the oversize of the

rock fragments, the suggestion of an

allowance of only 50% by Garlam was not

an unreasonable one, and constituted a

good faith gesture on its part. This

finding shall in no sense be controlling

or binding during the second trial of

this case in which the issue of damages

will be primarily and directly involved.

See

We find further that if at any time prior

to Explo's abandonment of the project

Garlam was indebted to Explo in any

amount, it was in such smaller amount in

comparison to the totality of the agree-

ment contemplating payments to Explo of

at least $1,230,000 that such non- pay-

ment was inconsequential. This is

particularly true in view of total credit

advances (Garlam to Explo of $10,998.91),

in view of outstanding bills due by Explo

to other suppliers, and in view of

Explo's failure to comply with the size

requirements of the subcontract.

18. We find that the initial person-

nel of Explo on this project were not

very proficient in blasting techniques

and that many erratic decisions were made

by them until at least the beginning of

October 1971 when proficient personnel

-95-

were brought to Puerto Rico to perform

the work required by the subcontract.

19. Explo contended that Garlam had

no available progress schedule or written

schedule of work, and that therefore it

was unable to program its activities and

that this accounted for its slowness. We

find as a matter of fact that Garlam had

provided the Highway Authority with the

necessary C.P.M. (critical path method)

schedules and under the specification and

the prime contract, the work had to be

programmed from week to week and from day

to day. We find and conclude further

that under the subcontract, Garlam was

entitled to direct the work of Explo from

day to day and coordinate Explo's work

with its own and with that of other sub-

contractors. See Article II a and b of

subcontract.

-96-

20. Some questions have been raised

by Explo as to the sufficiency and pro-

priety of the equipment of Garlam but the

evidence fails to show the truth of the

allegations or the relevancy of the alle-

gations concerning the issues before the

court in this first trial.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

A. The subcontract between the par-

ties was negotiated, executed, performed

partly and intended to be performed

totally in Puerto Rico. It was executed

by a Puerto Rico company and a company

organized under the laws of the State of

Washington authorized to do business in

Puerto Rico and payment under the agree-

ment was to be made in Puerto Rico. We

conclude therefore that as a matter of

law, the interpretation of this agreement

~9Fs

must be made under the provisions of the

laws of Puerto Rico.

B. We conclude as a matter of law,

that Explo was not a third party benefi-

ciary to the prime contract between the

Highway Authority and Garlam, and if any

violation of the prime contract occurred,

it was a matter to be argued and decided

by and between the prime contractor and

the Highway Authority. The court there-

fore holds that any of the alleged

violations of the prime contract by

Garlam would not justify Explo's failure

to perform the subcontract or its aban-

donment of the project.

Cc. The subcontract between the

parties does not have a termination or

rescission clause that will permit Explo

to rescind or cancel the subcontract with

Garlam. There is no language in the

agreement permitting termination, cancel-

ea ne tn ae

OG Teo tae Ee

SOE ee ee nT ee Eee TT en eee Ne Oe

-98-

lation or recision other than the

language permitting Garlam to terminate

in the event of certain violations on the

part of Explo. If Explo is entitled to

terminate the agreement for any reason

whatsoever the authorization to do is to

be found not in the subcontract but in

some other source.

D. Garlam contends that under the

laws of Puerto Rico Explo would have no

right to rescind the subcontract or to

abandon the project, even assuming

Garlam's non-payment or withholding of

substantial sums earned by and due to

Explo and that under such circumstances,

Explo's sole redress would be to perform

according to Garlam's interpretation of

the contract and then demand extra com-

pensation plus interest, citing Article

1051 of the Civil Code of Puerto Rico (31

LPR. AS SESS) Explo, on the other

-99-

hand, stoutly disputes that the law of

Puerto Rico is so different from the law

applicable generally in the United States

and insists that Puerto Rican law recog-

nizes that substantial non payment

excuses performance, citing Article 1077

of the Civil Code of Puerto Rico (31

L.P.R.A. 3052) and the cases Federal Land

Bank Vv. Echeandia, 48 FF 311;

Municipality of Ponce v. Vidal Vilaret,

6S: F.RR. 356 (1945); Fabregas v.

Mayaguez L.P. & Ice Co., 43 P.R.R. 197

(1932); Diaz Torres v. Rivera, 96 P.R.R.

548, 555-556 (1968); Perez v. Sampedro,

86 P.R.R. 498 (1962); Portela v. Porto

Rican American Tobacco Co., 4 P.R.R. 55

(1903); and Felix A. Rodriguez, Inc. v.

Bristol Myers Co., 281 F. Supp. 643 (D.

Puerto Rico, 1968).

We need not choose between these

sharply conflicting views under Puerto

-100-

Rican law because in the case at bar the

evidence fails to establish any substan-

tial non-payment.

E. Explo no doubt has rendered some

work under the subcontract and Garlam so

acknowledges. This first trial does not

require from the court any determination

as to what amount of payment must be made

to Explo, if any. Under the consent

order for these bifurcated trials, the

determination as to the amount if any,

payable to Explo or to be deducted from

whatever judgment may be finally rendered

in connection with the total amount of

damages payable to Garlam, should be made

by the trial court during the second

trial which will relate to the issue of

damages. It is recognized that Explo

will be entitled in the second trial to

-101-

prove, if it can, substantial performance

on its part in which event

"The true measure of recovery is

the sum stipulated in the con-

tract less the damages sustained

by its failure strictly to per-

form."

13 Am. Jur. 2d Building and

Construction Contracts § 80,

p. 82 (1964), and 66 Am. Jur. 2d

Restitution and Implied

Contracts § 72, p. 1016 (1973).

Doubtless this same principle of law

should be applied in determining the

amount of credit, if any, to which Explo

is entitled against any larger damage

award which may be made in favor of

Garlam. No findings are made as to the

amount of damages, if any, that may be

chargeable to Explo due to the lateness

in the completion of the work. Such mat-

ter should be decided by the trial court

in the second portion of this case. We

conclude as a matter of law, however,

that the measure of the amount of monies

-102-

for which Explo is entitled to be cred-

ited in exchange for the work done by it

should be on the basis of the agreement

of the parties as evidenced by the sub-

contract, that is to say at the rate of

51 cents per cubic meter of blasted rock

and 70 cents per line foot of pre- split-

ting. We conclude as a matter of law

that tne measure of payment should not be

on the basis of value or quantum meruit.

See 66 Am.Jur.2d Restitution and Implied

Contracts § 73, =. IGA, and United

States v. Western Casualty and Surety

Co., 498 F.2d 335 (9th Cir. 1974).

Ts The language contained in the

unit price clause is ambiguous and there-

fore it is necessary to apply the rules

of interpretation contained in the Civil

Code of Puerto Rico. Title 31 § 3478 of

that code reads as follows:

-103~

"The interpretation of obscure

stipulations of a contract must

not favor the party occasioning

the obscurity."

The language of the unit price clause was

finally drafted by Mr. Hugo E. Oswald.

Jr., then general counsel for Explo, in

the negotiations of the subcontract.

While both Garlam and Explo contributed

some of the complicating words, the final

drafting was actually done by Mr. Oswald.

We conclude as a matter of law that the

obscurity of the language must be charged

to Explo and that the correct interpreta-

tion of the unit price clause is that the

material to be produced must be generally

within the range of 15 inches or less. We

conclude that otherwise Garlam could not

comply with other requirements of the

prime contract which required it to dis-

pose of the rock fragments to construct

compaction layers of approximately 6

-104-

inches in the embankments and 24 inches

in the rock fills. The interpretation of

the clause suggested by Explo creates an

absurd situation which this court

rejects. Its suggested interpretation is

inconsistent with its explicit contrac-

tual obligation to blast "secondary

boulders that may appear after a blasting

operation, if required by the contrac-

tor." Therefore, in the determination of

the amount of work done by Explo, consid-

eration should be given to the

contractual requirement that Explo pro-

duce material which finally could not

exceed 15 inches as a maximum size and

that such other larger boulders had to be

broken down by secondary blasting if they

exceeded this maximum of 15 inches.

G. As a consequence of this breach

by Explo, Explo is obligated to pay to

Garlam the actual and necessary addi-

-105-

tional costs reasonably incurred by

Garlam in order to complete the work

required of Explo by the subcontract. As

above indicated, the question whether or

not any delay penalty is chargeable

against Explo and if so, how much, is to

be determined by evidence adduced in the

second trial. The question of interest

on any amounts credited to or chargeable

against Explo is likewise to be deter-

mined by evidence adduced at the second

trial. All costs of this first trial are

taxed against Explo.

H. Garlam's counterclaim prays for

judgment against Explo and General

Insurance Company of America in the

amount of $4,120,000. As an affirmative

defense, General Insurance Company of

America asserts that any liability it may

have in relation to the project which is

the subject of this litigation arises out

-106-

of a payment and performance bond in the

amount of $1,230,000 and that said sum is

the maximum amount of any liability it

may have. Garlam contends, on the other

hand, that General Insurance Company of

America's liability is not limited to the

penal sum named in the bond on that Explo

is entitled to judgment against said

bonding company for any amount it may be

entitled to recover against Explo, even

though said amount may be in excess of

$1,230,000. Judicial restraint dictates

that this particular question be deferred

for the second trial. It need not be

decided then unless Garlam enjoys a

recovery against Explo in a net amount

exceeding $1,230,000.

-107-

DISCUSSION

ADDITIONAL FINDINGS OF FACT AND

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW LESS

FORMALLY STATED

When Explo Entitled to

Receive Payments

Under Article XIV "Basis and Scope of

Payment," the subcontract provides:

the

Payment shall be made to the

subcontractor for work hereunder

actually performed and completed

as measured and certified by the

owner's engineer, in strict

accordance with payments made to

the contractor for this work and

materials and within ten (10)

days after receipt by contractor

of payment from the owner for

such work and materials, at the

unit prices hereinafter speci-

fied.

Under Article XV "Partial Payments,"

subcontract continues:

Partial payments for the work

performed under this agreement

shall be made by the contractor

as and when payments therefore

[sic] are made to the contractor

by the owner, and will equal the

value of the work done by the

subcontractor according to the

engineer's estimate at the unit

prices hereinafter specified, or

a Eee Ae ss ee ED

: -108-

at a proportionate part of the

lump sum price for the

subcontractor's work, less the

sum of previous payments and

less a percentage equal to the

percentage retained by the owner

provided that if the subcontrac-

tor is indebted to the

contractor or anyone else for

cash advances, supplies, mate-

rial, equipment rental, or other

proper charges against the work,

the amount of such indebtedness

may be deducted from any payment

or payments made under this pro-

vision; Wg y Rta For

clarification, basis of payment

of the owner is monthly certifi-

cations approved by the

inspectors and engineers repre-

senting the owner on the

project, less ten (10) percent

withheld until final liquidation

of project. In turn, the con-

tractor will pay the

subcontractor for the amount of

work certified and in turn will

retain ten (10) percent of the

amount certified, paying the

balance to the subcontractor

within ten (10) days after

receipt of payment by the owner

of certification to the contrac-

tor.

Thus, according to the terms of the

subcontract, Explo was entitled to

receive partial payments only "according

-109-

to the [owner's] engineer's estimate at

the unit prices hereinafter specified, or

at a proportionate part of the lump sum

price for the subcontractor's work" and

was entitled to receive such partial pay-

ments only "as and when payments

therefore [sic] are made to the contrac-

tor by the owner" and "if... the

subcontractor is indebted to the contrac-

tor or anyone else for cash advances,

supplies, material, equipment rental, or

other proper charges against the work,

the amount of such indebtedness may be

deducted from any payment or payments

made under this provision." Insisting

upon the terms of this contract, Garlam

contends that prior to Explo's abandon-

ment of the project, Garlam was indebted

to Explo only during August 1971 and that

when that payment was due, Explo was

already indebted to Garlam in a larger

es

A

ay

e

/

-110-

amount for rental payments and other

services and was also indebted to other

suppliers for proper charges against the

work. These specific contentions of

Garlam are shown in figures from an

account's point of view in Defendant's

Exhibit G, page 1 of which is captioned

"Explo Contractors--Breakdown of Work

Performed Before Default on 11-3-71."

Explo's contrary contentions are summa-

rized in Plaintiff's Exhibit 15 which was

prepared by Explo's witness, Mr. Aner

Erickson in which he shows considerable

discrepancies between Explo's invoice

claims and his adjusted claims, his fig-

ures being generally much smaller than

the figures reflected on the invoices.

For instance, whereas Explo's invoice for

services through June 30, 1971 claimed

22,630 cubic meters blasted,

Mr. Erickson's adjusted claim is 16,500;

-11i-

the invoice for services through

August 17, 1971 claimed 107,034 cubic

meters whereas Mr. Erickson's adjusted

figure was 64,200; the invoiced claim for

services through September 30, 1971, was

159,880 cubic meters whereas

Mr. Erickson's adjusted figure is

117,110; and the invoice figure for serv-

ices through October 30, 1971 was 169,000

cubic meters whereas Mr. Erickson's

adjusted figure is 136,800 cubic meters.

All figures on Plaintiff's Exhibit 15 are

cumulative and whereas for the entire

period Explo had prepared invoices for

169,000 cubic meters blasted and for

20,000 lineal feet of pre-splitting,

Mr. Erickson says the cumulative figure

should have been 136,800 cubic feet of

blasting and 11,733 lineal feet of

pre-splitting. The net result of

Plaintiff's Exhibit 15 is an assertion by

-112-

Explo that prior to its withdrawal from

the job, it had earned a total of

$59,184.08 after giving credit for

amounts paid or advanced to Explo by

Garlam by way of rental equipment, etc.,

totalling $10,998.91, about which latter

figure there is no dispute. Plaintiff's

Exhibit 15, however, does not take into

consideration or answer Garlam's conten-

tion that no amounts were due Explo until

"after receipt by contractor of payment

from the owner" nor does it take into

account debts owed by Explo to other sup-

pliers. And of course Plaintiff's

Exhibit 15 assumes that its blasted rock

fragments satisfied the size requirements

of the subcontract so as to entitle it to

payment, and full payment, for all its

blasting operations.

We find as a fact that even if at any

time prior to Explo's abandonment of the

-113-

project it was entitled to receive any

payment from Garlam beyond the $10,998.91

in advanced credits the amount of any

such additional entitlement was insub-

stantial and the non-payment of the same

would not constitute cause for Explo's

abandonment of the project or cause for

Explo's attempt to rescind the subcon-

tract. See U.S. v. Southern Constr. Co.,

293 F.2d 493, 498 (6th Cir. 1961) and

Guerini Stone Co. Vv. SP * Carlin

Construction Co., 248 U.S. 334, 63 L.Ed.

275 (1919) [sic].

Interpretation of

"Blasted Rock Fragments Shall Average

up to a Maximum-of 15 Inches in Size"

While the unit bid prices for the

subcontract were negotiated between Explo

and Garlam prior to the execution of the

formal subcontract agreement, it was

-114-

mutually understood that such price nego-

tiations were tentative only and that

there would be no binding agreement until

a formal contract was agreed upon and

signed. For instance, Explo's letter to

Garlam dated April 2, 1971, signed for

Explo by John W. Goode, general manager,

and quoting the unit prices, concluded

with this paragraph:

"This letter is not intended to

become a binding agreement

between us. Any such agreement

will be evidenced by a formal

contract mutually agreeable to

both parties."

Although the prime contract permitted

Garlam to use, under certain conditions,

rock larger than 15 inches in its great-

est dimension (even up to approximately 4

feet in a limited and prescribed manner)

it did not require the use of such sizes

and nothing prevented Garlam from

-115-

requiring of its subcontractor smaller

sizes.

Explo solicited of Garlam the subcon-

tract, representing itself as possessing

expertise in the field of blasting and

knowledge as to improved techniques.

During the negotiations leading up to the

subcontract Explo's representative,

Mr. Teller, represented to Mr. Garffer,

Garlam's president, that Explo could give

"a 4 to 6 #=inch ~»product."

Garlam

Transcript p. 343. Garlam relied upon

these representations and was willing to

settle for a product with a maximum

dimension at its greatest length of 15

inches. (He realized, of course, there

would not be 109% minus 15-inch product

but was sticking to a requirement of

"minus 15, because 90 to 95% of the mate-

rial had to be minus 15 inches, which

would be an average of 8 inches.")

-116-

Transcript p. 324. Thus, Garlam would

not have objected to something like 5%

erratics but throughout the negotiations,

its president Mr. Garffer was adamant in

his insistence upon a maximum of 15

inches. He never wavered in that insis-

tence.

Significant is the fact that Explo's

negotiator, general counsel Mr. Goode,

well knew of Mr. Garffer's insistence.

Mr. Goode claims that during the negotia-

tions he had some discussion with

Mr. Delgado, an employee of Garlem, out

of the presence of Mr. Garffer and the

other negotiators, concerning "how we

might be able to work around that clause

(the 15 inch maximum) in the field, and

how to accomplish the job," and while he

does not claim any modification of the

subcontract, he claims that he "thought"

he reached some understanding on the side

-117-

with Mr. Delgado. Goode deposition,

Se. 22,23, 24. Mr. Goode's testimony in

this regard is in sharp conflict with the

testimony of Mr. Delgado from whom

Explo's counsel was never able to obtain

any admission with respect to any side

conference or agreements between

Mr. Delgado and Mr. Goode. Transcript p.

458,459. Significant also is Mr. Goode's

testimony with respect to his claimed

side conferences with Mr. Delgado that

"We didn't want to carry the argument to

Mr. Garffer any more than necessary. We

wanted to get through with the negotia-

tions and eventually with the word

average, that was what I decided to

accept finally in the final contract."

Mr. Good obviously knew that Mr. Delgado

was without authority to act in the prem-

ises contrary to the wishes and

determination of Mr. Garffer who was com-

-118-

pletely in charge for Garlam in the

negotiation of the subcontract. Mr. Goode

knew further of Mr. Garffer's insistence

upon the limitation of 15 inches as a

maximum. This brings into play a princi-

ple of law codified in Georgia at Title

20 § 703 under the subject of Contracts

as follows:

"Intention of one party known to

the other.--The intention of the

parties may differ among them-

selves. In such case, the

meaning placed on the contract

by one party, and known to be

thus understood by the other

party, at the time, shall be

held as the true meaning."

See also the case of Peninsular Naval

Stores Co. v. Parrish, 13 Ga. App. 779

(1913) [sic] applying this principle.

In interpreting the contract language

in dispute, there are certain fundamental

rules to guide us.

" 'T) ascertain the intent of

the parties is the fundamental

rule in the construction of

-119-

agreements (Chesapeake & 0.

Canal Co. v. Hill, 15 Wall. 94,

21 L.Ed. 64); and in such con-

struction courts lock to the

language employed, the subject-

matter, and the surrounding cir-

cumstances. They are never shut

out from the same light which

the parties enjoyed when the

contract was executed, and in

that view they are entitled to

place themselves in the same

situation which the parties who

made the contract occupied, so

as to view the circumstances as

they viewed them, and so to

judge of the meaning of words

and of the correct application

of the language to the things

described.’ "

Town of Ashland v. Newman, 163

Va. 500, 175 S.E. 724, 726, 176

S.E. 470.

[3,4] It is a universal canon

of construction that every word

and phrase in a contract should

be given a meaning and signifi-

cation according to its

importance in the context of the

contract. Courts are not war-

ranted in reading out of a

contract words or phrases placed

there by the contracting parties

unless they cannot be rationally

fitted into the scheme of the

agreement between the parties.

Vitagraph Inc., v. American

Theatre Co., 77 Utah 71, 291 P.

303; La Lumia Vv. Northern

-120-

California Packing Co., Cal.

App., 172 P.2ad 94; Maryland

Casualty Co. v. Morrison, 10

Cit., iba Fae la.

Basler v. Warren, 159 F.2d 41,

43 (10th Cir. 1947).

Thus, first of all we are to seek to

ascertain the intent of the parties. We

are to consider the subject matter of the

agreement, the circumstances which sur-

rounded the parties and the language

which they used, insofar as possible

giving adequate consideration to each and

every word. Applying these principles,

the language itself leans heavily toward

the intepretation advocated by Garlam.

The words "up to a maximum of 15 inches"

are hard to explain away. They cry out

for recognition. Explo would have us

erase both "up to" and "maximum of" and

read the subcontract as if it said only

"Shall average . . . 15 inches." While

obviously there is some uncertainty and

-121-

vagueness to be attributed to the word

"average", there is no room for doubt as

to the exact meaning of "up to a maximum

of 15 inches." The word "average" was

selected by Explo and Explo is chargeable

with its vagueness. Under the language

used, the size might "average" or range

from any minimum size Explo desires, but

only "up to a maximum of 15 inches."

We find that the evidence does not

establish any of the alleged breaches of

the contract by Garlam as contended for

by Explo and we find that the real reason

for the abandonment of the project by

Explo was not any breach or failure of

performance on the part of Garlam, but

was Explo's decision to abandon what for

it was proving to be an unprofitable con-

tract.

-122-

CONCLUSION

Liability is accordingly hereby fixed

upon Explosives Corporation of America

and upon General Insurance Company of

America in accordance with the findings

of fact and conclusions of law above

expressed.

This 30th day of March, 1977.

W. A. Bootle

Senior U.S. District

Judge

VERDICT

On the issue of liability the court

hereby finds in favor of Garlam

Enterprises Corporation and Federal

Insurance Company against Explosives

Corporation of America and General

lnsurance Company of America in accor-

-123-

dance with findings of fact and

conclusions of law of even date.

This 30th day of March, 1977.

W. A. Bootle

Senior U.S. District

Judge

72517

-124-

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF PUERTO RICO

EXPLOSIVES CORPORATION

OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff and Third

Party Defendant CIVIL NO.

1-72

vs.

GARLAM ENTERPRISES

CORPORATION and FEDERAL

INSURANCE COMPANY

Party Plaintiffs

vs.

GENERAL INSURANCE

COMPANY OF NORTH

AMERICA

Third Party

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Defendants and Third )

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Defendants )

)

ORDER

This matter came before the Court for

a hearing on several pending motions.

After considering briefs and other docu-

ments filed by the parties and hearing

-125-

oral arguments by counsel, it is hereby

ORDERED :

1. Motions for Partial Summary Judgment

on the Issue of the Extent of the

Surety's Liability.

The motion of Garlam Enterprises

Corporation for partial summary judgment

is denied. The motion of General

Insurance Company of North America is

granted.

The Payment and Performance Bond

issued by General Insurance Company of

North America indicates a penal sum of

$1,230,000. The general rule is that the

maximum liability of a surety is the

penal sum named on the bond. As an

exception to the rule, a surety may be

liable for a sum in excess of the penal

sum when it undertakes to complete the

project upon the default of the princi-

pal. Barrientos v. Govt. of the Capital,

-126-

97 PRR 539, 556-7 (1969): 17 Am. Jur. 2d,

Contractor's Bond, § 131.

It does not matter whether the con-

tract under which the surety's principal

is bound is a lump sum or a unit price

contract; the principle is the same. A

surety binds itself (except in particular

circumstances not present here) only to

pay up to the penal sum in case its prin-

cipal defaults. The premium paid by the

principal is calculated on the basis of

the penal sum and the decision of the

surety on whether to issue the bond up to

that amount usually depends on the finan-

cial capability of the principal.

In this case, Garlam Enterprises

Corporation and Explosive Corporation of

America estimated, on the bande of infor-

mation given by the owner, the amount of

work involved. General Insurance Company

of North America took the figure supplied

-127-

by it and issued the bond for a specific

amount. Its liability is limited to that

amount.

It is so ordered.

San Juan, Puerto Rico, October 20,

1977.

U.S. DISTRICT JUDGE

72739

ae a ee

-128-

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF PUERTO RICO

EXPLOSIVES CORPORATION

OF AMERICA

Plaintiff and Third

Party Defendant

vs.

GARLAM ENTERPRISES

CORPORATION and FEDERAL

INSURANCE COMPANY

CIVIL NO. 1-72

Defendants and

Third Party

Plaintiffs

vs.

GENERAL INSURANCE

COMPANY OF NORTH

AMERICA and ROCKOR,

INC.

Third Party

Defendants

ORDER

On July 22, 1979, this Court issued a

Memorandum and Order denying ROCKOR's

motion to dismiss the third amended com-

plaint. ROCKOR had contended that

-129-

dismissal was mandated insofar as said

amended complaint brought ROCKOR as a

party hereto, and we lacked jurisdiction

against said party insofar as it was not

"doing business" in Puerto Rico under

International Shoe v. Washington, 326 US

[sic] 310 (1945). After recognizing that

ROCKOR and Explosives Corporation of

America (EXPLO, plaintiff herein), were

separate and distinct corporate

entities,// we held that by acquiring

EXPLO's claim as alleged creditor in this

case and electing to exercise said claim,

ROCKOR had "conducted activities within

the forum state" and thus’ submitted

itself to the jurisdiction of this court.

i/ The basic facts as to the perti-

nent chronology of events and the

corporate relationship between the par-

ties contained in our Memorandum and

Order of July 22, are adopted herein.

PRD So enn CANCE ROS SNA is OS Fe eee ee

-130-

ROCKOR has now filed a motion for

reconsideration and/or certification

wherein they contend, inter alia, that

our ruling should be reconsidered inas-

much as subjecting ROCKOR to the

jurisdiction of this Court would go

against the basic postu--lates [sic] of

International Shoe, supra, and constitute

a denial of due process. Defendant and

Third Party Plaintiff Garlam Enterprises

(Garlam) has opposed said motion on vari-

ous grounds. For the reasons to follow,

we agree with ROCKOR and accordingly dis-

miss this action as to said Third Party

Defendant.

Generally, a determination of whether

a federal court may assert jurisdiction

over a corporation under state law as

expressed in International Shoe, supra,

progeny is approached in terms of whether

said defendant's local activities consti-

-131-

tute "doing business". See 4 Wright &

Miller S-1069. Puerto Rico's long-arm

statute, Rule 4.7 of the local Rules of

Civil Procedure, was intended to expand

the thrust of jurisdiction to its fuil

constitutional limit. Ramon Vela, Inc. v.

Sagner, 382 F. Supp 478 (D.C.P.R. 1974).

It is nevertheless an undisputed fact in

the instant case that third party defen-

dant ROCKOR is not "doing business" in

the conventional sense within the geo-

graphical boundaries of Puerto Rico

inasmuch as it has had no office, con-

ducted no sales or lucrative ventures,

Signed no contracts or otherwise employed

its business resources directly or indi-

rectly as a corporate entity in this

island. Assertion of local jurisdiction

could only befall if the agreement by

which Explosives Corporation of America's

assets were conveyed to ROCKOR's prede-

-132-

cessor Rocket Research Corporation

(including EXPLO's cl« ». against Garlam)

constituted "doing business" as expressed

above. (There is no question that the

transfer of assets from EXCOA to ROCKOR

occurred outside of Puerto Rico.)

As in Schenin v. Micro Copper Corp.,

272 F. Supp. 523 (SDNY 1967), the instant

case does not concern a statutory merger

between EXCOA and ROCKOR, but an acquisi-

tion of the former's assets by the

latter. Accordingly, ROCKOR's liability

vel non to Garlam would depend on the

applicable law and facts but has no

bearing on whether jurisdiction may be

asserted over ROCKOR in this forum.

Garlam must present whatever claim it

alleges in the appropriate forum. As

stated in Schenin, supra, at 526:

"Whether or not plaintiff could

sue [defendant] directly - for

example, on a third party bene-

-133-

ficiary theory - would depend on

the applicable law, but he could

sue [defendant] only where it

could be found".

As in said case, Garland has presented us

with no set of facts that would establish

a basis to impute to ROCKOR, for juris-

dictional purposes, activities of EXPLO

or EXCOA in Puerto Rico.

Garlam alleges that initial negotia-

tions subject of this litigation were

undertaken by ROCKOR and that ROCKOR

approved the contract object of this suit

before it was executed inasmuch as ROCKOR

was financing this operation and is

financing this litigation. These

unsuported [sic] allegations fall flat on

the face of the facts established by

ROCKOR in support of its motion. Garlam

has been unable to produce sufficient

evidence of ROCKOR's direct involvement

in the local controversy so as to "do

-134-

business" in Puerto Rico. As noted

above, mere acquisition of assets is not

enough to submit a foreign corporation to

local jurisdictional statutes. Likewise,

mere supervisory endeavors of a subsidi-

ary or wholly owned company by a parert

is insufficient to assert jurisdiction

over the parent company. Cf. W. Clay

Jackson Enterprises v. Greyhound Leasing

431 F Supp 1229 (D.C.P.R. 1979) (total

control over subsidiary by parent company

coupled with identity of members of

boards and abundance of "instances

evincive of close control of subsidiary

by parent" was enough to subject parent

to jurisdiction under the local long-arm

statute). Furthermore, any subsequent

inherence in this litigation by ROCKOR

has no bearing on the jurisdictional

issue before us. Dragor Shipping Corp. v.

-135-

Union Tank Car Co., 361 F2d 43 (9 Cir.

1966)

Wherefore, in view of the fact that

we now find that third party defendant

ROCKOR was not "doing business" in Puerto

Rico as understood under International

Shoe, supra, and that said party is oth-

erwise not subject to jurisdiction under

Puerto Rico Rules of Civil Procedure 4.7,

it is now hereby

ORDERED that ROCKOR's motion for

reconsideration be and the same is hereby

GRANTED and the instant case is hereby

dismissed as to said third party defen-

dant.

Judgment shall be entered

accordingly.

SO ORDERED.

San Juan, Puerto Rico, October 29,

i973.

HERNAN PESQUERA

U.S. DISTRICT JUDGE

Tata

-136-

EXCERPTS OF TESTIMONY

FROM GARLAM ENGINEER, MR. CORDERO

Mr. Cordero, I call your attention to

Exhibit 10, please.

Yes.

What does that exhibit represent?

This exhibit shows an estimate of

rock excavation.

Who prepared that document,

Mr. Cordero?

This document was prepared in engi-

neer DaSilva's office in order to

make an estimate of the amount of

additional burrow [sic] material that

had to be obtained, this information

was supplied by the designers of the

project.

Do you recall, Mr. Cordero, when was

this document prepared, more or less?

Garlam notified the Highway Authority

that it was going to need some burrow

[sic] material on November of 1972,

and then the first extra work order

for burrow [sic] was made in April,

no, in June of 1973, which means that

this was prepared, I am almost sure

that this was prepared at a meeting

held in engineer DaSilva's office

around March of 1973 between the

-137-

designers, the resident engineer and

Garlam.

And what does this figure of

1,507,000 supposed to mean or refer

to?

This was what the designer and the

other persons present therein under-

stood was sound rock.

Mr. Cordero, is 1,507,000 units, or

1,507,000 yards, or what is it sup-

posed to be?

These are cubic meters.

72445

-138-

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF PUERTO RICO

EXPLOSIVES CORPORATION "

OF AMERICA

PLLA OES, AE TAD DIRE

Plaintiff and

Third Party .

Defendant,

vs.

GARLAM ENTERPRISES

CORPORATION AND FEDERAL " CIVIL NO. 1-72

INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant and

Third Party

Plaintiffs, ”

vs.

GENERAL INSURANCE .

COMPANY OF NORTH

AMERICA AND ROCKOR, n

INC.

Third Party

Defendants

REPORT OF SPECIAL MASTER

TO THE HONORABLE COURT:

The undersigned Special Master by

designation, respectfully submits’ the

-139-

following report under Rule 53 of the

Rules of Civil Procedure.

By Order of October 20, 1977, the

Court determined the appointment of a

Special Master. By Stipulation dated

October 31, 1978, the parties agreed that

the undersigned be appointed Special

Master. On September 10, 1979, the Court

issued an Order of Reference, hereby

marked as Document "A", The Order

(Paragraph II) required the Special

Master to hold a session within 20 days

to docket further hearings to receive

testimony and evidence. Said session was

held on September 27 by Order submitted

on September 18, 1979 (Document "B"). The

Special Master designated Mr. Fernando

Altamirano as Reporter. A transcript of

the proceedings of said session is

included as Document i On

September 27, 1979 the Special Master

-140-

designated October 29, 1979 for the pur-

pose of commencing the hearings,

Document "D".

Parties as per Order of the Master,

filed Memorandum of their respective

positions in connection with the matters

set forth in the Order of Reference.

Hearings were held on October 28, 30

and 31. The transcript of said proceed-

ings are included as Document "E". By

Order of the Master, both parties filed

Post-Trial Memorandum, Reply eters,

Motions and Memorandums, designated as

"Documents F from Garlam" and "Documents

E from Explo."

At the hearings various Exhibits were

received in evidence and are included as

part of this Report, that is, Garlam

Enterprises Corporation exhibits marked

-141-

with numbers and Explosives Corporation

of America exhibits marked with letters.

Final Analysis and Informal Notes by

Special Master are also included, marked

as SM.

In compliance with the September 10,

1979 Order of Reference by Honorable

Hernan Pesquera, Judge of the U.S.

District Court, on March 19, 1980 the

Special Master submitted to the parties

the required Draft Preliminary Report,

requiring their comments and recommenda-

tions.

Replies for both parties were

received on time, submitting their recom-

mendations and further commenting on the

other party submittal.

Special Master analized [sic] the

documentations submitted by both parties

as “Eatin ——— eee ee ee ee eee ee me a ae

ss ee ae as «

-142-

and discussed same in Special Master

Final Analysis, presented as exhibits.

Without taking into consideration the

Garlam opinion of prejudice and partial-

ity, Special Master deems important to

emphasize’ that ail conclusions reported

are based on specific facts, discussed

thoroughly and openly, considering only

the documents-information presented | in

the proceedings, obviously complementing

the study, as any responsible profes-

sional will do, with technical

publications on the subject matter. The

Special Master did not receive any testi-

mony outside the hearings, being

personally responsible for all analyses,

calculation and drafting of details and

report.

As to the indication by Garlam of

mathematical errors in the Draft Report,

as shown in Special Master Final

-143-

Analysis, some are due to errors in

typing which did not affect the results,

and others are due to errors in Garlam

previous Motions.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

This case came before the Special

Master by designation, to determine the

amounts, if any, which may be due by

Explosives Corporation of America to

Garlam Enterprises Corporation, under the

findings previously made by the Honorable

Judge William Bootle on March 30, 1977.

In addition to this requirement, the

Honorable Court outlined 18 particular

‘tems of facts to be specifically exanm-

ined.

This case came before the Court upon

the filing of a complaint by Explosives

Corporation of America (Explo) on

January 3, 1972 claiming payment for the

-144-

value of certain pre-splitting and

blasting work done on a portion of the

San Juan-Ponce (Las Americas Expressway),

Project La Palma Cerro de los Cielos, as

a Subcontractor of Garlam Enterprises

Corporation (Garlam), Prime Contractor

Project No. AC-52-R-(12)-70.

Garlam subcontracted with Explo for

the pre-splitting and blasting of rock,

at the rate of 70 cents per lineal feet

and 51 cents per cubic meter, respec~

tively, under subcontract dated April 28,

1971.

The Prime Contract showed

pre-splitting as an item of rock

(Item 35), but blasting was included as

part of Item 4 entitled "Unclassified

Excavations."

Explo performed under the Subcontract

from about June 11 to November 3, 1971,

when it abandoned the project. Garlam

-145-

completed the work required by the

Subcontractor.

Upon the filing of the complaint,

Garlam answered denying the allegations

and claiming instead that Explo breached

the contract and counterclaimed against

Explo and its Surety.

By Order of the Court, the case was

divided into two trials; one to determine

liability and a second trial to determine

the amount of damages.

Judge W.A. Bootle, Senior Judge,

District Court of March, Georgia by des-

ignation, heard the first trial and ruled

on March 30, 1977, that Explo was liable

for damages to Garlam (Exhibit A).

In accordance with the instructions

of the Honorable Court, the undersigned

deems it necessary, as a preamble, to

discuss and analize [sic] the case and

wih neat ll

-146-

then proceed with the determination as

outlined in the Order of Reference.

GENERAL DESCRIPTION OF THE DEVELOPMENT OF

CONSTRUCTION PROJECT

On January 22, 1971 Garlam contracted

with the Highway Authority the construc~

tion of Project AC-52-R(12)-70 for the

amount of $13,489,412.39, to be con-

structed in 600 consecutive calendar

days.

According to contract documents the

original project covers 41 construction

items of which the following are consid-

ered the main or principal items related

to the case.

-147-

UNIT

ITEM PRICE AMOUNT PAID

4 4,468,000 cu mt Unclassified

Excavations $2.03 $9,070.040

5 46,880 cu at Unclassified

Excavations

for Structures $5.73 $ 268,622

35 300,000 In ft Presplitting $1.40 $ 420,000

As presented by Explo during the pro-

ceedings, Civil Case 76-1431- Garlam vs.

Highway Authority, the development of the

project reflected that the scope of the

project, specially the construction cost,

was markely [sic] increased including

excavation, earth work and specially,

construction time.

The 41 original construction items

were increased to 98 items, 30 work

orders and 9 change orders were approved,

construction time was increased 1552 cal-

endar days to June 8, 1975 and the

project was liquidated by the Highway

Authority for $19,499,579.16, that is 31%

over original contract cost. Neverthe-

-148-

less, Garlam per Motion dated August 10,

1979, is demanding from the Highway

Authority over $15.8 millions, in addi-

tion to interest and lawyer's fees, in

which $4.5 millions are included to cover

for compensation for completion of the

project ahead of time, that is a bonus of

$2,300 per each calendar day, 1959 days

over contract time and extensions

approved by the Highway Authority.

Material worked by Garlam amounted to

6.04 millions cubic meters and after con-

sidering a swell factor of 20% it

amounted to a compaction figure of 7.25

millions cubic meters, as compared to the

original 4.468 millions cubic meters of

Unclassified Excavations figured in the

original contract, as a balanced project.

On this token, the following compara-

ble figures should be emphasized:

-149-

CONTRACT TIME, calendar days

Original Contract 600

Definite Project

Authorized by

Highway Authority 2152

CONSTRUCTION COST, dollars

Original Contract $13,489,412.00

Definite Project

Authorized by

Highway Authority $19,499,579.00

Demanded by Garlam,

in addition to $15,828,831.00

Total demanded

final cost $35,328,410.00

MATERIAL WORKED, EXCAVATORS - COMPACTION,

Original Contract as

a balanced project 4,468,000 cu mts

Definite Project

Liquidation by

Highway Authority 5,054,338 cu mts

Demanded by Garlam 6,042,027 cu mts

Add 20% for

swell factor 7,250,432 cu mts

-150-

RELATION OF EXPLO SUBCONTRACTORS TO PRIME

CONTRACT - SUBCONTRACT

Explo was subcontracted to do all

presplitting-drilling and blasting,

"including the protection of his work

that may be require [sic] to make the

various operations subcontracted for to

fit it to be received by the Contractor

in accordance with other operations of

work performed on the Project."

Presplitting was contracted at $0.70

per ln ft compared to $1.40 per ln ft in

Prime Contract, and mass blasting for

rock excavation at $0.51 per cubic meter,

which is part of the $2.03 per cubic

meter agreed to in Prime Contract for

Unclassified Excavations.

Article XVI of the Subcontract

required that the locations indicated to

the Subcontractor for mass blasting be

surveyed before and after blasting. "All

-151-

blasting locations will be indicated to

Subcontractor by the Contractor who in

turn will take a survey of cross sections

in the bank before blasting as well as

after cleaning the blasted material and

after any excavations of dirt witdi solid

rock is found, where bulldozing and rip-

ping are not effective."

"Payment shall be made to the

Subcontractor for work hereunder actually

performed and completed as measured and

certified by the Owner's Engineer he

(Article XIV)." [sic] "Partial Payments

for the work performed under this agree-

ment shall be made by the Contractor as

and when payments therefore [sic] are

made to the Contractor according to the

Engineer's estimate, at the unit prices

hereinafter specified . ." (Article XV).

Blasting is included in Item 4 of the

Prime Contract as Unclassified

ee ee ee ee ee eR

-152-

Excavations which is the term used to

cover ripping and removal of the overbur-

den, after cleaning and grubbing with

heavy equipment to the hard rock-blasting

the rock, dozing and cleaning the blasted

material with heavy equipment and finally

transporting same to the fill sites.

Complementing the process,stake out sur-~

veying is done by the Contractor and

Engineer on the hard rock so as direct

presplitting and the blasting process.

Explo Subcontractor, blasting and

presplitting phase, was completely subor-

dinated to the construction process

established by the Prime Contractor of

cleaning-grubbing-ripping and removal of

overburden-cleaning and grubbing to hard

rock-staked out surveying. After

presplitting and blasting the Prime

Contractor must do the dozing = and

cleaning of the blasted material and

-153-

final surveying of cross sections for

partial payments.

RESPONSIBILITY OF SPECIAL MASTER TO REACH

A CONCLUSION AS TO THE ORDER OR REFERENCE

During the proceedings of the case,

Explo continuously stressed that the bur-

den of proof is upon the party asserting

the damages to prove with a reasonable

degree of certainty, upon failure to do

so, the action be dismissed.

As to Garlam, his position was summa-

rized on Reply Memorandum, November 16,

1979.

"AS a consequence, they (Explo)

did what Judge Bootle concluded

to be, the breach of the con-

tract, because “it was an

unprofitable contract."

"But Explo made another mistake.

After they breached the con-

-154-

tract, they forget about Puerto

Rico and permitted the comple-

tion of the contract without any

kind of supervision on their

part. That is the reason that

they can present no evidence.

And that is the reason why, they

cannot inform the Special Master

whether the calculation of

Garlam are right or wrong."

It was clearly proved that Explo

breached the contract as Subcontractor to

Garlam and as permitted by Article XII

Contractor's Right to Take Over

Subcontractor Work, Garlam continued with

the Work and complete it with its own

forces.

This same Article XII states that

neither by the taking over of the work

nor by its completion in accordance with

the terms of this provision shall the

-155-

Contractor forfeit its right to recover

damages from the Subcontractor or from

Subcontractor's Surety for failure to

complete or for the delay in such comple-

tion.

On the consideration of proof of

damages, the Courts have sus-

tained that when a contract is

breached, the wrongdoer is not

exonerated for his misconduct

merely because the determination

of the amount of damages sus-

tained may be somewhat

speculative, nevertheless the

damages to be recoverable degree

of certainty, the Courts mean

that it must be shown with a

reasonable degree of certainty

that the complaining party has

actually suffered damages. It

has no reference to the amount

-156-

of damages suffered and the fact

that the amount of damages must

be estimated, does not prevent

their recovery.

Determination of damages for

breach of a contract is an inex-

act science and the amount

reached by whatever method used

will never be more than approxi-

mation. This impossibility of

precise determination is gener-

ally recognized and the Courts

do not require mathematical cer-

tainty. Recognizing the

evidential difficulties inherent

in fixing damages toc inflexible

monetary terms, Courts adjust

themselves to the exigencies of

the business world.

-157-

If a reasonable probability of

damage can be Clearly estab-

lished, uncertainty as to the

amount, will not preclude recov-

ery. The amount may be

approximate if a reasonable

basis of computation is

afforded.

Difficulty of ascertainment is

not to be confused with the

right to recovery, nor does it

exonerate the defendant from his

misconduct. The defendant who

has wrongfully broken a contract

should not be permitted to reap

advantages from his own wrong-

doing insisting on proof which

by reason of his breach is unob-

tainable.

-158-

The most elementary conceptions

of justice and public policy

requires that the wrongdoer

shall bear the risk of uncer-

tainty which his wrong act has

created.

The undersigned, in order to reach

the following determinations and taking

into consideration that the necessary

technical information that would permit

exact engineering conclusions was not

made available to him by either party,

went into an intensive evaluation of all

documents - information and analysis sub-

mitted by the parties in the proceedings

and conducted an in depth of all material

included in both court cases presented in

the proceedings Explo vs. Garlam and

Garlam vs. Highway Authority, finally

performing an extensive research on tech-

nical books and publications related to

-159-

subject matter.

A. THE QUANTITIES OR ROCK DRILLED AND

SHOT (MASS-BLASTING AND

PRE-SPLITTING) WITHIN THE ORIGINAL

CONTRACT LIMITS ON THE PROJECT WHICH

IS THE SUBJECT OF THIS ACTION

As stated in the following documents

in Explo.vs. Garlam Case and Garlam vs.

Highway Authority, Garlam, for the last

three (3) years, has continuously assert-

ed that the amount of rock drilled and

blasted by Explo and afterwards by Garlam

on behalf of Explo amounts to 2,936,972

cubic meters or more.

After submittal of the production

figures in the Capo Report, at the

Special Master proceedings, Garlam has

Changed his position as to the amount of

rock blasted by Explo and by Garlam on

behalf of Explo to be credited to Explo,

in which undoubtedly the amount of rock

removed b

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.