Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Air Florida System, Inc. v. Federal Deposit Insurance

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

FILED

DEC 19 wer

In the Supreme Cour gp siosrr seatuoy, |

OF THE

United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

87 1049) (meee

AIR FLORIDA SYSTEM, INC.,

INTERFIRST BANK, DALLAS, N.A.,

Petitioners

VS.

FEDERAL DEPOSIT INSURANCE CORPORATION,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

HOWARD J. PRIVETT

Counsel of Record

RALPH ZAREFSKY

Mary E. TARDUNO

McCUTCHEN, BLACK, VERLEGER &

SHEA

600 Wilshire Boulevard

Los Angeles, CA 90017

(213) 624-2400

PaTRICK C. SHEA,

Professiona] Corporation

LILLICK, MCHosE & CHARLES

101 West Broadway, Suite 1800

San Diego, CA 92101

(619) 544-3177

Attorneys for Petitioners

——

Bowne of Los Angeles, Inc.. Law Printers (213) 742-6600

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. When the District Court, in supervising a bank-

ruptey estate and liquidation of a national bank, plays a

role in the negotiation, approval and interpretation of a

contract, may the Court of Appeals disregard the District

Court’s findings and interpretation by using a de novo

standard of review?

2. When a party to a civil action has induced the

District Court to accept an evidentiary record, may the

Court of Appeals conclude that the acceptance of evi-

dence constituted error, and review the matter de novo?

li

PARTIES

The parties to this action are those listed in the caption.

Petitioner InterFirst Bank Dallas, N.A. is the assignee of

certain rights received from petitioner Air Florida Sys-

tem, Ine. arising in connection with this case. Corporate

subsidiaries and affiliated corporations are numerous and

therefore are set forth in Appendix C.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED. ................... i

I Sa a 6 oa nes sé es 6cu cues ii

Sr iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED............ iv

ee. ead bees secsesecs 1

JURISDICTION ........... De udhewncs Cb ens 2

SE EDESW EEED ccs ccccccccccccccccecs 2

pe uy | i ge i 00) \ | Sa 2

Cit aes ec csescececs 2

II. THE FACTUAL BACKGROUND ............. 5

III. THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW .............. 10

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT....... 12

I. THE DECISION BELOW PREVENTS PARTIES

FROM” RELYING ON CONTRACTS APPROVED

BY DistTrRicT CouRTS, THEREBY THREATEN-

ING THE CORE OF THE DISTRICT COURT'S

SUPBRVIGORY FUNCTION .........0ccc000- 12

A. The Decision Jeopardizes Court-Approved

Ee cca b idee eceaceasece 12

1. Liquidation of National Banks ....... 13

Re MEY MOGIOD occ ccc ccc cc ccccce 16

B. The Decision Threatens The Authority Of

the District Court to Operate in Any

Supervisory Capacity ................. 19

II. THE DECISION BELOW ENCOURAGES PAR-

TIES TO ABANDON EVIDENTIARY RECORDS

THEY THEMSELVES HAVE CREATED, By URG-

ING REVERSAL BASED ON ERROR THEY

re oe ci des ekeetueseceeee 25

eee 28

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases

Page

Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, 470 U.S. 564

CREE 6:0.0000k0 be cca pee eae adeneeteseae 3, 22

Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v. Chicago, Mil-

waukee, St. Paul & Pacific Railroad Co., 380 F.2d

605 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 389 U.S. 928 (1967) 26

CADA Investments, Inc., In Re, 664 F.2d 1158 (9th

CE BED ausccséivesnsasenecbeh dase essen 17

Chung King, Inc., In Re, 753 F.2d 547 (7th Cir.

SD ance cud adc iesnen eens. 16

Commissioner v. Duberstein, 363 U.S. 278 (1960) 21

Computer Systems Engineering Inc. v. Qantel Corp.,

oS F Fi es S| rere rere 25, 26

Conservatorship of Wellsville National Bank, 407

F.2d 223 (3d Cir.), cert. denied sub nom Miller v.

Camas, SEG OE. GEE COBO) ccccccssccscscwcce 14

Crockett v. Uniroyal, Inc., 772 F.2d 1524 (11th Cir.

PEE hab 0 kd Ne she chexd bees teens 26

Dayton Board of Education v. Brinkman, 443 US.

I Gi a ake 5 cca wae eae ace 21

Deland v. Old Republic Life Insurance Co., 758 F.2d

Se Ge EE nc So knedcebsaguaushsiees 26

Director General of the India Supply Mission v. 8.8.

Maru, 459 F.2d 1370 (2d Cir. 1972), cert. denied,

Gy Ss ee OED vo ds cuttedsegeutade<cs. 26

Edson Realty Co. v. Commercial National Bank, 29

Tee Co. El, SOE cb vdne beaccad covess 14

First National Bank v. Small Business Administra-

tion, 429 F.2d 280 (5th Cir. 1970) ............ 26

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

CASES

Page

Fox v. Young, 145 Pa. Super. 111, 20 A.2d 835

CRONE 5 ttc cp cec dd kd sGad acs kkbe sare haed 13

Garza v. Indiana & Michigan Electric Co., 338 F.2d

| ee 26

Griggs v. Baumer, 130 F.2d 899 (3d Cir. 1942)...

civedkn neds tena ased ska debt iae 13, 14, 15

Gundy v. Umted States, 728 F.2d 484 (10th Cir.

| a rr rr eee ee ee 26

Havee v. Belk, 775 F.2d 1209 (4th Cir. 1985)..... 26

Herman v. Hess Oil Virgin Islands Corp., 524 F.2d

8 SR | Ree Por ree 26

Hudson v. Grand Deposit Mining Co., 458 F.2d 1202

re ae eee 21

Jones v. H.F. Ahmanson & Co., 1 Cal.3d 93, 460 P.2d

464, 81 Cal.Rptr. 592 (1969) ................. 7

Law v. United States, 266 U.S. 494 (1925) ....... 26

lindsey v. Ipock, 732 F.2d 619 (8th Cir.) cert.

denied sub nom Cryts v. French, 469 U.S. 881

OE EI CER hy Oe a een re eee 17

Mach v. Abbott Co., 136 F.2d 7 (8th Cir.), Zert.

pk ee | a re 26

Matter of Garfinkle, In Re, 672 F.2d 1340 (11th Cir.

Eas ahs Gua Gwaseaee aedbassadease 17

Mazwell Land-Grant Co. v. Dawson, 151 U.S. 586

CE 45661 nap bad bee aeA Rees aba coekanne 26

Michelsen v. Penney, 135 F.2d 409 (2d Cir. 1943) 14

NLBB v. Bildisco & Bildisco, 465 U.S. 513 (1984) 18

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

CASES

Page

Perlman v. Feldmann, 219 F.2d 173 (2d Cir.), cert.

dented, 349 U.S. 962 (1966) .......cccccccece 7

Pullman-Standard v. Swint, 456 U.S. 273 (1982)

CT TTT LTVITITITT TTT tS Perr te 3, 22, 24

Roth v. Hood, 106 F.2d 616 (6th Cir. 1939) ...... 13, 14

SEC v. Lincoln Thrift Assn., 577 F.2d 600 (9th Cir.

BOUER 0 Sahees sews Uhdowedta sets beles tosvees 21

Schools v. Risley, 77 U.S. 91 (1870) ............. 26

Sector Refining Inc. v. Enterprise Refining Co., 771

Fi See CR, BOGE) cbc ccivcosevcecece: 26

Securities and Exchange Commission v. Arkansas

Loan & Thrift Corp., 427 F.2d 1171 (8th Cir.

SRD ede devas ccauye hens iaawteees seasons 20

Securities and Exchange Commission v. Hardy, 803

Fee eee Cree Gh BOE Seieecsndacdvcediene 21

Slocum v. Edwards, 168 F.2d 627 (2d Cir. 1948). 17

Suchy, In Re, 786 F.2d 900 (9th Cir. 1985) ...... 17

Transcontinental Energy Corp., In Re, 683 F.2d 326

(9th Cir. 1982)........ heuneebekukedeamewees 17

United States v. Yellow Cab Co., 338 U.S. 338 (1949) 22

Vetter Corp., In Re, 724 F.2d 52 (9th Cir. 1983) .. 17

Wayne United Gas Co. v. Owens-Illinois Gas Co., 300

PP eee eee 18

Webcor Inc., In Re, 392 F.2d 893 (7th Cir.), cert.

denied sub nom Silver, Inc. v. Webcor, 393 U.S.

GE CED bic cccccccccncccénsbuadeexane 17

——— ae

A Es ect — ee oe

ee

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

CASES

Weise v. United States, 724 F.2d 587 (7th Cir. 1984) 26

Whitney-Forbes Inc., In Re, 770 F.2d 692 (7th Cir.

DE. 606 c% oe eh peed esbbccncdes« 17, 18

Miscellaneous

Annual Report of The Director of the Administra-

tive Office of the Courts (1986) .............. 3, 23

Rules

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 52(a).... 2,12

United States Code, Title 11

See. 158(¢c) (West. Supp. 1987) .............. 17

See. 363(m) (West. Supp. 1987) ............. 17

United States Code, Title 12

th aa tbe eecndenekeesct-00e6.6u 2, 12,13

hs ives ponnins en ésenee be eeasanen ch 13

it not he ded pngaeeess eerie cdeeense 13

United States Code, Title 28

es Wn oe sl ieae ens bckbae'de boa 2

Ce, oSines bhsscaktees <cetuenbenee 2

Ge ck aed kn akbebeiekeese debe uke 2

csc aver eukuae céekeces baneaseai 2

a Ba CI a ana ad as ea ei erb ed 2

Viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

a a

RULES

Page

Bankruptcy Rules

I ss sons ca bad abu wean eka 17

ID 6... 5 oo cuba cde diobaesacas 17

A ER 17

Piste sal cibedaudsiiniedieteee steak 17

Textbooks

1 Collier, BANKRUPTCY MANUAL, € 3.03[8] (3d ed.

SOE na nnd bawenicin cedatns tebe ice 17

4B CoLLIER ON Bankruptcy, € 70.98[16] (14th

Se Sei heeiivereieks ei ee i So 18

12 C. Wright & A. Miller, FepeRAL PRACTICE AND

PROCEDURE See. 2981 (1973) ................ 20

No.

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1987

AIR FLORIDA Systems, INc.

INTERFIRST BANK, DALLAS, N.A.,

Petitioners

vs.

FEDERAL Deposit INSURANCE CORPORATION,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners Air Florida System, Inc. and InterFirst

Bank, Dallas, N.A. respectfully pray that a writ of certio-

rari issue to the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Cireuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Amended Opinion of the Ninth Cireuit reversing

the judgment of the District Court is reported in 822 F.2d

833 (9th Cir. 1987); the Order and Amended Opinion

appears as Appendix A. The District Court’s Findings of

Fact and Conclusions of Law, and Amended Judgment,

appear as Appendix B.

2

JURISDICTION

Respondent invoked jurisdiction in the District Court

under 28 U.S.C. § 1345 (federal agency as a plaintiff), 28

U.S.C. § 1348 (action to wind up affairs of a national

bank), and 12 U.S.C. $1819 (FDIC a party to a eivil

action). The jurisdiction of this Court rests on 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1), this being an action in which a Court of Ap-

peals has rendered a final judgment. On July 17, 1987 the

United States Court of Appeals issued its Opinion. On

July 31, 1987 a timely petition for rehearing was made.

On September 22, 1987 the Court of Appeals amended its

opinion and denied the petition for rehearing. This peti-

tion is filed within the ninety days allowed by 28

U.S.C.§ 2101.

STATUTES INVOLVED

This case involves 12 U.S.C. § 192 and Fed. R. Civ. P.

52(a), both of which are set forth in Appendix D.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I. INTRODUCTION

The decision of the Ninth Cireuit Court of Appeals in

this case invalidates court-approved sales, thereby threat-

ening the integrity of the District Court. Whenever the

District Court operates in a supervisory capacity — when

it sits as a bankruptcy court, when it approves the sale of

assets of a failed national bank, or whenever it partici-

pates in the negotiation and construction of contracts

which can be consummated only with court approval —

the District Court must have full authority to make and

enforce decisions. Rather than upholding such authority,

the decision below makes District Court supervisory deci-

VOR SM ge SE

bovine ANS»

Ce aan aN he ae Pe ie te eens Se le See ne nT et

BNNs iseite piies

3

sions reversible by de novo appellate review. Conse-

quently, if the decision below stands, the involvement of

the District Court in ail such supervisory circumstances

will be permanently compromised, and the ability of

trustees, receivers or others to fulfill their obligations will

be crippled.

The problem raised by the decision below needs review

by this Court now. Over the last several years, this Court

has clarified that there are certain areas in which the

District Court is uniquely able to function, and which

therefore are committed to that court’s sound discretion.

See e.g., Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, 470 U.S. 564

(1985); Pullman-Standard v. Swint, 456 U.S. 273 (1982).

This case raises another area of District Court expertise,

in which its decisions must be accorded deference. In

1986, 477,000 petitioners filed bankruptcy, an increase of

31%.’ In addition, in the last several years the number of

bank failures has risen rapidly. The applicable statutory

scheme requires court approval for disposition of the

assets of a failed national bank, and the sound adminis-

tration of bankruptcy estates constantly places District

Courts in the role of approving sales of the assets of the

estate. Where, as here, the District Court’s role of approv-

ing sales of a failed bank’s assets dovetails with the

District Court’s role of administering a bankruptcy es-

tate, the District Court must have the power to make

decisions which will be final.

Because the success of bank liquidations and bank-

ruptey administrations depends upon court approval of

sales, the long-standing rule has been that such sales will

not be upset on appeal absent fraud, mistake or excusable

‘See Annual Report of The Director of the Administrative Office of

the Courts at 33 (1986).

neglect. The decision below jettisons that principle. De-

spite the absence of fraud, mistake or excusable neglect,

seven years after a court-approved sale the Ninth Circuit

reversed the judgment of the District Court interpreting

a contract that same District Court had approved in the

U.S. National Bank liquidation — the largest bank failure

in U.S. history. Intertwined with the bank liquidation

were five bankruptcy cases concerning Westgate-Califor-

nia Corporation, consolidated for administration before

the same District Judge. Despite the supervisory and

administrative character of the District Court’s action,

the Ninth Cireuit made a de novo review of the contract

language alone. The Ninth Circuit ruled that the District

Court misinterpreted the contract for the sale of assets,

even though the District Court’s interpretation formed

the very basis for its approval of the contract in the first

place.

The Ninth Cireuit result was even more surprising

because the District Court interpreted the contract with

the benefit of parol evidence urged upon it by respondent

FDIC, which asserted that consideration of such evidence

was necessary because the contract was ambiguous. The

Ninth Cireuit, however, rejected the characterization of

the contract as ambiguous, and, using a de novo standard

of review, interpreted the parties’ intent as a question of

law. Without showing any deference to the findings of the

District Court, the Ninth Circuit also disagreed with the

impact of the extrinsic evidence. The Ninth Circuit used

its appoach in response to respondent FDIC’s new argu-

ment contrived for appeal: having lost in the District

Court with the benefit of the parol evidence which it

insisted that the District Court consider, the FDIC ar-

gued that the Ninth Circuit should disregard this parol

evidence, and thus ignore the record supporting the Dis-

trict Court’s findings of facet. The Ninth Circuit did so.

>

5

If allowed to stand, the Ninth Circuit’s decision will

establish dangerous precedents: it will eliminate the re-

quired integrity of sales which are negotiated, reviewed,

modified and approved by federal judges; and it will

encourage parties to build an evidentiary record, then on

appeal abandon the record and urge that the acceptance

of the evidence constituted error. Inevitably, District

Courts will lose their traditional authority, while bank

liquidators and bankruptcy trustees will lose their ability

to wind up the affairs of failed banks and bankruptcy

estates.

Il. THE FACTUAL BACKGROUND

This case grows out of the collapse of San Diego

financier C. Arnholt Smith’s financial empire. In 1973

U.S. National Bank, controlled by Smith, failed. The

Comptroller of the Currency appointed the Federal De-

posit Insurance Corporation as receiver, whereupon the

FDIC commenced liquidation proceedings before District

Judge Leland C. Nielsen. Subsequently various entities

under the name Westgate-California Corporation, also

controlled by Smith, filed five actions for reorganization

under Chapter X of the Bankruptcy Act. For various

reasons, including the size and complexity of the case, the

bankruptey proceeding was administered by the United

States District Court. The five actions were consolidated

and Judge Nielsen presided over them as well. Smith’s

Westgate-California Corporation had been a shareholder

and creditor of Smith’s U.S. National Bank. Because U.S.

National Bank in turn had loaned millions of dollars to

Westgate, the FDIC as successor to U.S. National Bank

became the largest claimholder against the Westgate

estate.

6

By 1980, most of the Westgate estate’s assets had been

liquidated by the Court-appointed trustee and the only

viable remaining operating asset was Air California, a

successful regional airline. Following airline deregula-

tion, Air Florida approached the FDIC about purchasing

the FDIC’s position in the Westgate estate. The FDIC’s

interest would become a dominant stockholder position in

the anticipated “reorganization” of Westgate, and

thereby give Air Florida, as purchaser, a West Coast

presence.

In October 1980, the FDIC and Air Florida entered

into an agreement for the sale of the FDIC’s position,

subject to Judge Nielsen’s approval. The Court, however,

rejected the initial agreement because it felt the price was

too low, and ordered competitive bidding instead. On

November 14, 1980 bidding took place in open court.

Ultimately, Air Florida was the snecessful bidder, as

the Court found that Air Florida’s bid was the highest

and best offer. As approved by the Court, the agreement

for sale required Air Florida to pay the FDIC $15,432,000

in cash, or approximately $18 per common share and

$17.22 per preferred share.” At the time of the Agreement

the only limited trading of Westgate common stock had

taken place in the $9 per share range. The Agreement also

provided for a general publie offer for the remaining

shares at the minimum price paid the FDIC. The Court

required the parties to alter their initial agreement to

read that this contemplated public offer was for the

benefit of these minority tender offerees.

*The total price was subject to later adjustment depending upon

revenue received by Westgate from the anticipated sale of certain

seafood processing assets.

.

7

The provisions for an offer to other shareholders were

included in the Agreement not to provide additional

compensation to the FDIC, but rather to protect the

FDIC, and the bankruptcy trustee and estate, from law-

suits by the minority shareholders arising from sale of the

FDIC’s majority position. Under Perlman v. Feldmann,

219 F.2d 173, 178 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 349 U.S. 952

(1955), and Jones v. H.F. Ahmanson & Co., 1 Cal.3d 93,

117, 460 P.2d 464, 478, 81 Cal.Rptr. 592, 606 (1969), sale

of a majority interest includes a premium for control of

the company; the premium must be shared equally with all

shareholders. Therefore, a general public offer for other

shares at the minimum price paid the FDIC, as the

Agreement provided, would protect the FDIC and the

estate against lawsuits from the minority. Trial testimony

disclosed that the word “minimum” in the Agreement

denoted Air Florida’s obligation to make the offer to

minority interest holders at least at the same price paid to

the FDIC, but reserved to Air Florida the right to make

an offer at a higher price.

The Agreement did provide for contingencies under

which the FDIC could receive additional compensation.

Under applicable tax and accounting rules, a corporation

which owned 80% of the stock of another corporation

enjoyed certain economic benefits, including the ability to

file consolidated tax returns. Under the Agreement, there-

fore, the FDIC could receive additional compensation if,

but only if: (1) a general public offer was made at a price

exceeding the price paid to the FDIC; and (2) Air

Florida actually acquired 80% of the total interest in

Westgate. At trial, the FDIC stipulated that it had no

right to receive additional compensation unless both of

these contingencies occurred.

8

After Air Florida had purchased the FDIC’s shares

with District Court approval, but before consummation of

the Reorganization Plan, the Westgate trustee unexpect-

edly decided to sell Air California at auction to the

highest bidder. The trustee did so, he stated in a 10-K

report filed with the SEC, because he anticipated that

such a sale would produce a greater return to the minor-

ity interest holders than an Air Florida tender offer at the

same price paid to the FDIC. Neither the FDIC nor any

other party objected to the sale on the basis that the

trustee’s understanding of the price at which Air Florida

had committed to make the tender offer was erroneous.

Again, Judge Nielsen supervised bidding on the asset.

Ultimately he approved the sale of Air California to an

independent entity for the surprisingly large sum of

$61.5 million. Air Florida participated in the auction, but

this time was outbid.

With the sale of its only operating asset, Westgate

became essentially a bundle of cash. Therefore, common

stock interests in Westgate became easy to value and

began to trade, opening at $21 per share but never going

below that point or anywhere near the $18 per share price

paid to the FDIC. Since Westgate had no operating entity

left, the trustee decided to liquidate rather than reorgan-

ize and issue stock, and paid a liquidating dividend of

$28.25 per share. Thus, minority shareholders received

not only as much as the FDIC had from Air Florida, but

more.

Since at all times after the unexpected sale of Air

California minority shareholders could have received, and

did receive, more for their shares than the FDIC, Air

Florida did not make a general public offer at the mini-

mum price referred to in the Agreement. It would have

been idle, and perhaps misleading, for Air Florida to have

9

done so. As a result of the unusually successful sale price

of Air California, the FDIC and the trustee were pro-

tected against lawsuits from the minority because the

minority received more than it would have from an Air

Florida tender offer at the price paid to the FDIC.

The FDIC, too, profited from the deal. Originally bur-

dened with a majority stake in a bankrupt company, and

faced with an obligation to liquidate its position because

it was a receiver of a national bank, the FDIC received

double the value of its interest at the time it began

negotiations with Air Florida, received its money in cash,

and received its cash a full year and a half before the sale

of Air California (and without any risk of decline in Air

California’s value) — before the minority shareholders

received anything. Without the transaction as approved

by the District Court, in which the FDIC received $18 per

share, the FDIC would have continued to hold an interest

it had been willing to sell for $10 per share.

Without the transaction as approved by the District

Court, the minority shareholders too would have re-

mained just that: minority shareholders, in a reorganized

company with an uncertain future. Instead, the District

Court’s supervision and approval of the FDIC/Air Flor-

ida transaction set in motion the events which led to the

sale of Air California and the liquidation of Westgate.

The result was dramatic, if not unprecedented: the minor-

ity shareholders recovered all their money. None of this

would have happened had not the District Court, in its

supervisory capacity, approved the contract on specific

terms.

As liquidation of Westgate commenced, therefore, it

appeared that everyone had benefitted from the Air Flor-

ida transaction. Soon, however, the FDIC would take

10

action in an effort to unwind the transaction and to

demand even more for itself.

III. THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

In 1982, nearly two years after Judge Nielsen had

approved the Air Florida/FDIC Sale, the FDIC sued Air

Florida for recission of the Agreement. Later it amended

its complaint also to assert fraud. The FDIC’s complaint

charged that Air Florida had materiatly breached the

Agreement by not making a tender offer. Although not

entitled to additional compensation because the contin-

gencies for such compensation had not arisen, the FDIC

experienced “seller’s remorse” that it sold its interest,

then, through unforeseen circumstances, the minority

shareholders ultimately received a higher price for their

interests than had the FDIC. Judge Nielsen tried the

FDIC’s lawsuit. In presiding over the bank liquidation

and sitting as the Bankruptcy Court in the Westgate

proceeding, it was he who had substantively addressed

the issue of the public offer requirement, and then had

reviewed and approved the terms of the contract.

At trial, fifteen witnesses testified, orally or through

deposition, and 69 exhibits were received. In large part

this occurred because the FDIC urged that the contract

was ambiguous, stating: “It is apparent that the tender

offer provision is ambiguous, and that the contract is

reasonably susceptible to the interpretation advanced by

the FDIC. Accordingly, parol evidence should be admit-

ted to assist the Court in ascertaining the intent of the

parties.” (FDIC Trial Brief, i6:17-21). In response,

Judge Nielsen received and considered parol evidence but

ruled against the FDIC and in Air Florida’s favor. Judge

Nielsen found that Air Florida made a commitment to

make a general public offer at the minimum price paid to

11

the FDIC, but was relieved from doing so given that

minority interest holders always could have received and

did receive more than the minimum price. He also specifi-

eally found that the FDIC sustained no damage by Air

Florida’s failure to make the general public offer; that Air

Florida did not promise to cause either of the two contin-

gencies to occur, both of which were necessary for the

FDIC to receive additional compensation under the

Agreement; that there was no material failure of consider-

ation; and that the extrinsic evidence confirmed the

Court’s interpretation of the Agreement. Judge Nielsen

also ruled that Air Florida did not commit fraud, a ruling

which the FDIC did not appeal.

Thirteen months after oral argument on appeal — and

nearly seven years after the sale had been confirmed —

the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit reversed.

Despite the fact that at trial extrinsic evidence had been

received at the insistence not of Air Florida but of the

FDIC, the Court of Appeals adopted the FDIC’s new and

different argument, contrived for appeal, that the Court

need look only at the written instrument itself. In an

opinion dated July 17, 1987, the Ninth Cireuit disagreed

with the findings of Judge Nielsen, who had both ap-

proved and interpreted the contract, ruling instead that

the intent of the parties was for Air Florida to make a

tender offer for the remaining shares of Westgate, no

matter what price was necessary to acquire them. The

Court of Appeals did not rule that Judge Nielsen had

been clearly erroneous, but instead ruled that he had

misread the contract he himself had supervised and ap-

proved. The Ninth Circuit directed that the District Court

either order the transaction rescinded, or direct Air

Florida to pay damages.

12

Following Air Florida’s Petition for Rehearing, in

which Air Florida argued that the District Court’s find-

ings deserved deference under Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a), the

Court of Appeals amended its opinion. Notwithstanding

that the FDIC had asserted at trial that the contract was

ambiguous, the appellate court inserted a footnote stating

that the contract was unambiguous, and that therefore the

Court reviewed the matter de novo. See Appendix A-5. It

changed the opinion from “(the extrinsic evidence] does

not support Air Florida’s interpretation” to “[the extrin-

sic evidence] does nothing to contradict the plain mean-

ing of the agreement or render it ambiguous.” Jd. After so

amending its opinion, the Court of Appeals declined to

grant a rehearing, and rejected a suggestion for rehearing

en banc.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE DECISION BELOW PREVENTS PARTIES FROM ReE-

LYING ON CONTRACTS APPROVED BY DISTRICT

Courts, THEREBY THREATENING THE CORE OF THE

District CouRT’S SUPERVISORY FUNCTION

A. The Decision Jeopardizes Court-Approved

Sales.

If the decision is allowed to stand, important contracts

for sale reviewed, modified and approved by the District

Court will have no degree of certainty or finality —a

result which will eliminate such sales in the future,

wreaking havoc on bank liquidations and court-supervised

bankruptcy proceedings. Moreover, the decision will have

nullified a statutory requirement that Court approval be

obtained before assets of a failed national bank can be

sold.

13

1. Liquidation of National Banks

The National Bank Acts provide in pertinent part as

follows:

[A] receiver [of a national banking association]

under the direction of the comptroller shall take

possession of the books, records and assets of every

description of such association, collect all debts,

dues, and claims belonging to it, and upon the order

of a vourt of record of competent jurisdiction, may sell

or compound all bad or doubtful debts and, on a like

order, may sell all the real and personal property of

such association, on such terms as the court shall

direct.

12 U.S.C. §192 (West Supp. 1987) (emphasis

added).

This statute originated in the National Bank Act, which

established the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency,

and authorized the Comptroller to appoint receivers to

take charge of insolvent banks. The requirement of court

approval before a receiver may liquidate assets is de-

signed to provide a check on the receiver by insuring that

he obtains the highest amount for sale of the assets.

Griggs v. Baumer, 130 F.2d 899, 901 (3d Cir. 1942),

quoting For v. Young, 145 Pa. Super. 111, 113, 20 A.2d

835, 836 (1941); Roth v. Hood, 106 F.2d 616, 618 (6th Cir.

1939).

The Congressional requirement of Court approval, how-

ever, becomes meaningless if the receiver’s interpretation

of the contract of sale overrides the Court’s interpreta-

tion. If the receiver’s interpretation of “such terms as the

"Since passage of the National Bank Act, Congress has enacted the

Federal Deposit Insurance Act, codified in 12 U.S.C. § 1811 ef seq.

Under that statute, the Comptroller is required to name the FDIC as

the receiver of banks he declares insolvent. 12 U.S.C. § 1821(c).

14

court shall direct” stands paramount, then the receiver,

not the Court, effectively has given approval. Yet Con-

gress clearly placed that obligation on the Court: the

lower courts make clear that a sale cannot oceur without

court approval (Baumer, supra, 130 F.2d at 902; Hood,

supra, 106 F.2d at 617; Edson Realty Co. v. Commercial

National Bank, 29 F.Supp. 22, 27 (D. La. 1939) ), and once

approved, a sale cannot be set aside unless fraudulent (Jn

Re Conservatorship of Wellsville National Bank, 407 F.2d

223, 228 (3d Cir.), cert. denied sub nom Miller v. Camp,

396 U.S. 832 (1969); Michelsen v. Penney, 135 F.2d 409,

431 n. 9 (2d Cir. 1943); Bawmer, supra; Edson, supra).

Court approval of a receiver's decision to sell assets

does not constitute judicial action in the usual sense of

the word. Rather, it constitutes administrative action,

whereby the approving court becomes a “superior and

advisory agent in the administrative field.” Roth v. Hood,

106 F.2d 616, 618 (6th Cir. 1939). Accordingly, the

approving court must have broad discretion “in fixing the

terms and conditions of sales,” and the Court’s decision

will not be upset absent abuse of discretion. Jd. Overrid-

ing the interpretation of the approving Court as to the

_ terms of the sale — especially on de novo review — simply

takes away the protection Congress enacted.

This case illustrates the reason Congress required

Court approval. The receiver struck a deal for sale of the

bank’s assets at a price of $10 per share. Because Court

approval was required, however, the receiver was not

allowed to consummate that deal. The requirement of

court approval produced an increase in the price to $18

per share, thereby protecting the shareholders and credi-

tors of the failed bank.

Here, as always, the terms of the transaction were

integral to the Court’s decision to approve it. The District

15

Court could not have approved it without an understand-

ing of those terms. If an appellate court can second-guess

the District Court’s understanding of the terms, then it

ean second-guess the decision to approve, and prevent the

sale from being a final sale upon which parties can rely.

Yet lower courts which have addressed the issue have

ruled emphatically that parties can rely on Court ap-

proval. As stated in Griggs v. Baumer, supra:

Once...an order [confirming a sale] is signed, the

purchaser named therein is entitled to rely upon it,

and the court cannot, in the absence of fraud or

mistake, rescind that order, even for the laudable

purpose of securing for the creditors and stockhold-

ers of the bank a substantial increase in the price of

the assets sold.

130 F.2d at 902 (emphasis added).

If the appellate courts are free to re-examine the contract

of sale and on de novo review reach their own conclusion

as to its meaning, parties will be left with uncertainty,

and will not participate in sales.

This case illustrates the dangers. Respondent FDIC

deliberately availed itself of Court approval for the sale of

its interests in Westgate. The contractual agreement was

modified in several respects in response to the Court's

concerns. Then all parties relied on the Court’s approval

of the Agreement: Air Florida, by borrowing $17 million;

Air Florida’s bank, by financing the sale; the FDIC, by

selling its interest free from the likelihood of lawsuits;

and the Westgate trustee by determining that, since Air

Florida was obligated to make a tender offer only at the

minimum price, he should sell Air California and thereby

obtain a greater benefit for the estate. Had the parties

known that the Ninth Circuit, 6% years after the fact,

16

based solely on its own reading of the contract without

knowing the circumstances behind the District Court’s

approval of the sale in the first place, would conduct an

out-of-context review, none would have relied on approval

in the first place.

Accordingly, the District Court’s interpretation of the

contract he approved must receive deference, unless the

District Judge has abused his discretion or has been

clearly erroneous in his interpretation. That becomes even

more apparent when, as here, the District Court is

charged with supervising a related bankruptcy estate as

well.

s. Bankruptcy Sales

It has long been recognized that court-approved bank-

ruptey sales must be final — otherwise, parties have no

reason to participate in them. As explained in In Re

Chung King, Inc., 753 F.2d 547, 550, 554 (7th Cir. 1985):

“TI]f parties are to be encouraged to bid at judi-

cial sales there must be stability in such sales and a

time must come when a fair bid is accepted and the

proceedings are ended.” In re Webcor, 392 F.2d at

899. |

¥ * *

... [I]£ every error in the judicial sale process

causing some inequity allowed the setting aside of

confirmed sales, the principle of finality of judicial

sales would be seriously undermined.... Parties

must be encouraged to make their highest bids at

judicial sales. [Citation omitted.] In the long run

this policy benefits creditors as well as the bank-

ruptey estate by ensuring that the highest bids al-

ways are made in a timely fashion and are properly

considered by the bankruptcy court.

17

See also, In Re Transcontinental Energy Corp., 683 F.2d

326, 328 (9th Cir. 1982); In Re CADA Investments, Inc.,

664 F.2d 1158, 1161-62 (9th Cir. 1981); In Re Webcor,

Inc., 392 F.2d 893, 899 (7th Cir.), cert. denied sub nom

Silver, Inc. v. Webcor, 393 U.S. 837 (1968); 1 Collier

BANKRUPTCY MANUAL, § 3.03[8] (3d ed. 1987).

To ensure that a time will come “when a fair bid is

accepted and the proceedings are ended”, the Bankruptcy

Code prescribes a limited period of time within which

appeal may be taken from an order confirming a sale (see

11 U.S.C. §158(¢e) (West Supp. 1987); Bankr. Rule

8002); and specifies that unless a bankruptcy court-con-

firmed sale is stayed, a bona fide purchaser shall not be

affected by the reversal or modification of the order on

appeal, whether or not the purchaser knows of the pen-

dency of the appeal (11 U.S.C. § 363 (m) (West Supp.

1987); see also Bankr. Rule 805). Moreover, under Bank-

ruptecy Rule 9024, final sales cannot be vacated absent

compelling circumstances such as fraud or mistake and

this rule cannot be circumvented by collateral attack (see

Inndsey v. Ipock, 732 F.2d 619, 622 (8th Cir.), cert. denied

sub nom Cryts v. French, 469 U.S. 881 (1984); In Re Matter

of Garfinkle, 672 F.2d 1340, 1348 (11th Cir. 1982); Slocum

v. Edwards, 168 F.2d 627, 631 (2d Cir. 1948)).

The standards in the present code and rules are similar

to provisions of the prior Bankruptcy Act and Rules. See

In Re Whitney-Forbes Inc., 770 F.2d 692, 696-97 (7th Cir.

1985) (discussing former Bankr. R. 924 and case law

thereunder); In Re Suchy, 786 F.2d 900, 901-02 (9th Cir.

1985) (discussing former Bankr. R. 805); In Re Vetter

Corp., 724 F.2d 52, 54-55 (9th Cir. 1983) (discussing

former Bankr. R. 805 and 11 U.S.C. § 363(m)). All share

a commitment to the efficient operation of the bankruptcy

system. This Court too has noted Congress’ support for

18

the authority of the bankruptcy system to function

promptly and effectively. E.g., NLRB v. Bildisco &

Bildisco, 465 U.S. 513 (1984).

Indeed, if the finality of court-approved bankruptcy

sales is not protected, those who did choose to participate

in such sales would run the risk of suffering serious

prejudice — by having transactions in which they had

invested substantial sums vacated years after the fact,

quite possibly solely because,as here, the sellers had

become dissatisfied with the deals. Not surprisingly, this

Court and others have stated that sales on which persons

have relied should not be set aside. See, e.g., Wayne United

Gas Co. v. Owens-Illinois Gas Co., 300 U.S. 131, 137

(1937); In Re Whitney-Forbes, supra, 770 F.2d at 697-98.

In the scheme of protecting confirmed sales, Bank-

ruptey Court judges play a critical role. They not only

supervise transactions; they virtually become a party to

the deal. The Bankruptcy Judge knows what the transac-

tions encompass, whose rights will be affected, and how

they will be affected. The Bankruptcy Judge evaluates

and approves the transactions in order to protect the

estate, the creditors, and the debtors. As one commenta-

tor has noted:

Since a bankruptcy sale is a judicial sale, one of

the parties thereto is the bankruptcy court itself.

Although title vests in the trustee, not in the court,

and although the trustee acts as a formal party and

as an instrumentality of the court, the true vendor is

the court. [Footnote omitted.|- This characteristic

feature of a judicial sale accounts for certain pecu-

liarities and deviations from an ordinary sale, gov-

erned by the familiar rules of offer and acceptance.

4B COLLIER ON BANKRUPTCY § 70.98[16] (14th

ed. 1978).

~—- ee ee en ee

19

A Bankruptcy Court judge cannot perform his function

of protecting the finality of orders if his decisions can be

second-guessed on de novo review by the Court of Ap-

peals. Such second-guessing leads to all the harms which

the bankruptcy statutes and decisions are designed to

avoid: the discouragement of participation in bankruptcy

sales, the creation of prejudice by the unwinding of

transactions years after the fact, and the frustration of

the Congressional intent to allow for quick and efficient

bankruptcy reorganizations and liquidations.

If it is to have any force, the principle that court-

approved sales will not be disturbed must prohibit collat-

eral attacks which have the effect of rewriting the sales

eontract. Damages based on a different reading of the

sales contract than that which the Court adopted have the

same effect as an order of recission. They create the same

prejudice and discourage participation in sales. They are

as much an unwinding of the transaction as is an order of

rescission.

The Ninth Cireuit’s opinion below sanctions appellate

second-guessing. Certiorari thus should be granted in this

ease — for only in this manner can the integrity of the

bankruptcy system be upheld.

B. The Decision Threatens The Authority Of the

District Court to Operate in Any Supervisory

Capacity.

The precedent established by the decision below ex-

tends beyond the immediate context of this case, under-

mining all situations in which the District Court functions

in a supervisory capacity. This includes, for example,

federal equity receiverships, often used in securities

20

cases, where the Court appoints a receiver to operate a

company in trouble. See 12 C. Wright & A. Miller, Frp-

ERAL PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE § 2981 (1973). As in the

bankruptcy context, the receiver operates as an arm of the

court, and the District Court must evaluate and approve

contracts. As in the bankruptcy context, the appellate

court must review the District Court’s decisions on such

contracts. Yet the cases demonstrate that, in order to

protect the ability of the District Court to exercise its

supervisory powers, appellate courts will not upset the

District Court’s determinations except for an abuse of

discretion.

The per curiam opinion in Securities and Exchange

Commission v. Arkansas Loan & Thrift Corp., 427 F.2d

1171 (8th Cir. 1980) makes this point directly. There the

District Court, supervising a receiver, interpreted the

terms of a fidelity bond. When the appellant challenged

the interpretation, the Court of Appeals upheld the Dis-

trict Court because the court had not abused its

discretion:

Any action by a trial court in supervising an equity

receiver is committed to his sound discretion and will

not be disturbed unless there is a clear showing of

abuse. [Citations omitted.] Under this rule, we need

not pass on the merits of the trial court’s interpreta-

tion of the bond beyond a finding that there has been

no abuse of discretion. We have reviewed the record

in this case and find no abuse of discretion in the

approval of the receiver’s settlement.

Id, at 1172.

A panel of the Ninth Circuit also recently has held that

in reviewing decisions of the District Court involving

supervision of a receivership, the standard is abuse of

——S— (C(CS;CSSY DC on

discretion. Securities and Exchange Commission v. Hardy,

803 F.2d 1034, 1037 (9th Cir. 1986). In language applica-

ble here, the court ruled:

“[T]his court should not place itself in the position

of second guessing a district court judge who had an

opportunity to acquire substantial knowledge of the

facts and to evaluate the various legal positions after

hearing their merits put forth by the various parties,

particularly when there appears to be no clear abuse

of discretion.”

Id. at 1037, quoting SEC v. Lincoln Thrift Assn.,

577 F.2d 600, 609 (9th Cir. 1978).

Cf. Hudson v. Grand Deposit Mining Co., 458 F.2d 1202,

1205 (9th Cir. 1972). The decisions of these lower courts

uphold the District Court’s authority because otherwise

District Courts cannot supervise. If their decisions are to

be second-guessed, the receivership, like the bankruptcy

trusteeship, would not be able to perform its functions.

The decisions of these lower courts mandate deference

to a District Court’s interpretation of a contract approved

in a supervisory capacity. One reason reinforcing the need

for such deference is that the intent of the parties may be

at issue and, as this Court has ruled in several contexts,

intent is a factual matter:

Treating issues of intent as factual matters for the

trier of fact is commonplace. In- Dayton Board of

Education v. Brinkman, 443 U. S. 526, 534 (1979),

the principal question was whether the defendants

had intentionally maintained a racially segregated

school system at a specified time in the past. We

recognized that issue as essentially factual, subject

to the clearly-erroneous rule. In Commissioner v.

Duberstein, 363 U. S. 278 (1960), the Court held that

22

the principal criterion for identifying a gift under the

applicable provision of the Internal Revenue Code

was the intent or motive of the donor — “one that

inquires what the basic reason for his conduct was in

fact.” Id., at 286. Resolution of that issue determined

the ultimate issue of whether a gift had been made.

Both issues were held to be questions of fact subject

to the clearly-erroneous rule. In United States v.

Yellow Cab Co., 338 U. S. 338, 341 (1949), an anti-

trust case, the Court referred to “[f]indings as to the

design, motive, and intent with which men act” as

peculiarly factual issues for the trier of fact and

therefore subject to appellate review under Rule 52.

Pullman-Standard v. Swint, 456 U.S. 273, 288

(1982) (holding that intent to discriminate is

issue of fact).

Contractual intent, especially for contracts approved

by a supervising court, is no different. Like all factual

matters, it is for the District Court to decide, subject to

reversal only if clearly erroneous under Fed. R. Civ. P.

52(a). In Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, 470 U.S. 564

(1985), this Court explicated the clearly erroneous stan-

dard. The rationale for the standard was stated as

follows:

The rationale for deference to the original finder of

fact is not limited to the superiority of the trial

judge’s position to make determinations of eredibil-

ity. The trial judge’s major role is the determination

of fact, and with- experience in fulfilling that role

comes expertise. Duplication of the trial judge’s

efforts in the court of appeals would very likely

contribute only negligibly to the accuracy of fact

determination at a huge cost in diversion of judicial

resources. In addition, the parties to a case on appeal

23

have already been forced to concentrate their ener-

gies and resources on persuading the trial judge that

their account of the facts is the correct one; requiring

them to persuade three more judges at the appellate

level is requiring too much. As the Court has stated

in a different context, the trial on the merits should

be “the ‘main event’... rather than a tryout on the

road.”

Id. at 574-75.

This applies with special force to contracts approved by a

supervising court.*

Again, this case illustrates the danger. Based on the

parties’ stipulation at trial, on other evidence, and on the

District Court’s intimate familiarity with the context in

which the contract had been approved, the District Court

found as a fact that the parties had not intended that the

public offer commitment provide additional compensation

to the FDIC:

The FDIC bargained for and received under the

Agreement an option to obtain an equivalent amount

of consideration which Air Florida paid to other

shareholders pursuant to its general public offering

only if both of two contingencies occured.... The

FDIC neither bargained for nor received any under-

taking on the part of Air Florida to cause either of

such contingencies to occur, and the Agreement im-

posed no duty on Air Florida to either offer a price

‘Adoption of the appellate decision in this case makes every

contract decision reviewable de novo, thereby making trial meaning-

less. The importance of the issue cannot be overstated. Contract cases

represent nearly 35% of all civil actions. Annual Report of the

Director of the Administrative Office of the United States Courts at

175 (1986).

24

higher than that payable to the FDIC or to attempt

to acquire 80% or more of the common stock of

reorganized Westgate.

Finding of Fact No. 11.

The Court of Appeals, however, ruled just the opposite:

Air Florida’s promise to make a tender offer served

as partial consideration. The FDIC took the risk that

it would get nothing more if the price of Westgate

shares declined or remained the same, but it con-

tracted for additional compensation if the price went

up.

Order and Amended Opinion at 12.°

If the Court of Appeals was not satisfied with the

District Court’s findings on intent, it at least could have

remanded for further findings on that issue. This court

has stated that to be the preferred course. Pullman-

*The first portion of the paragraph from which the quotation comes

graphically shows the dangers of appellate fact-finding:

Furthermore, the bargain price that Air Florida paid the

FDIC for the Westgate stock supports the conclusion that the

parties contemplated that the tender offer price might be higher

than the price paid to the FDIC. Air Florida agreed to pay $15.4

million for stock with an estimated value in excess of $17 million.

Id.

To petitioners’ knowledge, this is a fact not to be found in the record.

On the Petition for Rehearing, petitioners brought to the attention of

the Court of Appeals the fact that the price had been set by

competitive bidding, which assured that the price paid was the

highest price anyone would pay — surely the best indication of the

estimated value. Petitioners do not know the evidence upon which the

Court of Appeals found that the stock Air Florida was purchasing

had an estimated value of $17 million, or that Air Florida paid a

bargain price.

25

Standard v. Swint, supra, 456 U.S. at 291-92. Instead, the

Court of Appeals showed no deference to the trial court,

and left the trial court with no fact-finding function, and

no power to effectively operate in a supervisory capacity.

II. THE DECISION BELOW ENCOURAGES PARTIES TO

ABANDON EVIDENTIARY RECORDS THEY THEM-

SELVES HAVE CREATED, By URGING REVERSAL

BASED ON ERROR THEY INVITED.

Certiorari also should be granted to insure that an

appellant not be allowed to build an evidentiary record,

lose the case, then urge admission of the evidence as

reversible error. To allow a party strategically to abandon

a record which it specifically created offends traditional

notions of fairness and makes a mockery of trial court

proceedings. Yet, this is precisely what the Ninth Circuit

did. It allowed the FDIC to urge at trial that the contract

was ambiguous, then abandon the record which supported

the trial court’s findings against the FDIC —on the

grounds that the contract was not ambiguous.

The Ninth Cireuit’s ruling in this case conflicts with

decisions of this Court, every ‘circuit of the Court of

Appeals, and at least one panel of its own circuit, all of

which hold that an appellant may not take advantage of

its own invited error. It directly conflicts with Computer

Systems Engineering Inc. v. Qantel Corp., 740 F.2d 59 (1st

Cir. 1984). There the appellant had urged that the trial

court accept parol evidence and that the trier of fact

interpret the contract based on that evidence. On appeal,

the appellant then reversed its position, arguing that it

was error for the jury to have interpreted the contract.

The First Circuit rejected this argument:

Qantel requested the court to instruct the jury that it

was for them to interpret disputed contract language

26

and that in interpreting such language, “the intent of

the parties may be determined by their acts and

express understandings, particularly where they

have acted under the contract for a period of time.”

... Qantel was required, at the very least, not to

“invite error” by requesting jury instructions based

on a statement of law it would subsequently seek to

make a basis for reversal on appeal.

Id. at 64.

See also, Law v. United States, 266 U.S. 494, 496 (1925);

Mazwell Land-Grant Co. v. Dawson, 151 U.S. 586, 606

(1894); Schools v. Risley, 77 U.S. 91, 114 (1870); Director

General of the India Supply Mission v. 8.8.Maru, 459 F.2d

1370, 1377 (2d Cir. 1972), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 1115

(1973); Herman v. Hess Oil Virgin Islands Corp., 524 F.2d

767, 772 (3d Cir. 1975); Havee v. Belk, 775 F.2d 1209,

1216-17 (4th Cir. 1985); First National Bank v. Small

Business Administration, 429 F.2d 280, 284 (5th Cir.

1970); Garza v. Indiana & Michigan Electric Co., 338 F.2d

623, 624-25 (6th Cir. 1964); Weise v. United States, 724

F.2d 587, 590-91 (7th Cir. 1984); Mach v. Abbott Co., 136

F.2d 7, 10 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 320 U.S. 773 (1943);

Deland v. Old Republic Life Insurance Co., 758 F.2d 1331,

1336-37 (9th Cir. 1985); Gundy v. United States, 728 F.2d

484, 488 (10th Cir. 1984); Crockett v. Uniroyal, Inc., 772

F.2d 1524, 1530 n. 4 (llth Cir. 1985); Sector Refining, Inc.

v. Enterprise Refining Co., 771 F.2d 496, 504-05 (Em.App.

1985); Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v. Chicago, Mil-

waukee, St. Paul & Pacific Railroad Co., 380 F.2d 605, 609

(D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 389 U.S. 928 (1967).

This Court’s review of the Ninth Cireuit’s decision in

this case is needed to establish that, except in extraordi-

nary circumstances, Courts of Appeals may not re-weigh

evidence or challenge conclusions of law where the appel-

27

lant has invited the error. Otherwise, the Ninth Circuit,

and the judicial system as a whole, will be left with

precedent for allowing a party to create a record, see if he

likes it, and then, if he does not, abandon it on appeal.

Surely, such a result does not forward the principles of

fairness and economy which are essential to proper func-

tioning of the federal judicial system.

28

CONCLUSION

Viewed from many perspectives, the decision below

emasculates District Court authority. It vitiates the re-

quirement that assets of a failed bank cannot be sold

without the approval of the Court on such terms as the

Court shall direct. It invades traditional District Court

areas — supervision of trusteeships and District Court

finding of facts. It authorizes reversal of District Court

decisions even when those decisions are made in reliance

on error invited by the appellant. Unless corrected by this

Court, it sends a dangerous instruction to the District

Courts that their authority has been taken away. These

reasons amply justify a grant of certiorari.

Dated: December 19, 1987.

Respectfully submitted,

HOWARD J. PRIVETT

Counsel of Record

RALPH ZAREFSKY

Mary E. TARDUNO

McCuTCHEN, BLACK, VERLEGER &

SHEA

600 Wilshire Boulevard

Los Angeles, CA 90017

(213) 624-2400

PaTRICK C. SHEA,

Professional Corporation

LILLICK, MCHosE & CHARLES

101 West Broadway, Suite 1800

San Diego, CA 92101

(619) 544-3177

Attorneys For Petitioners

at

1”.

ee

Sew

Be

Shes

oxy

A-1

APPENDIX A

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

FEDERAL DEPOSIT INSURANCE CORPORATION,

as a receiver of United States National Bank,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vs.

AIR FLORIDA SYSTEM, INC.,

a Delaware Corporation,

Defendant-Appellee.

No. 84-6280

D.C. No. CV-82-0525-LCN

AIR FLORIDA SYSTEM, INC.,

Counter-Claimant,

vs.

FEDERAL DEPOSIT INSURANCE CORP.,

Counter-Defendant.

FEDERAL DEPOSIT INSURANCE CORPORATION,

as a receiver of United States National Bank,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

/ VS.

AIR FLORIDA SYSTEM, INC.,

a Delaware Corporation, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.

No. 85-6327

D.C. No. CV-82-0525-LCN

ORDER AND AMENDED OPINION

Argued and Submitted

June 5, 1986 — Pasadena, California

A-2

Filed July 17, 1987

Amended September 22, 1987

Before: Alfred T. Goodwin, Thomas Tang and

Betty B. Fletcher, Circuit Judges.

Per Curiam

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of California

Leland C. Nielsen, District Judge, Presiding

SUMMARY

CONTRACTS

Appeal from a judgment refusing to rescind a contract

and enforcing an arbitration award. Reversed in part,

vacated in part, and remanded.

Appellant Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation

(FDIC) became a major creditor of the Westgate-Califor-

nia Corporation (Westgate), and was entitled to West-

gate stock once a bankruptcy reorganization was

complete. The FDIC sold its Westgate interests to Air

Florida System, Ine. (Air Florida) for $15.4 million, and

an agreement to make a general public offer for outstand-

ing Westgate common shares at no less than the price

paid the FDIC. Air Florida purchased the stock in West-

gate to acquire its subsidiary, Air California, but this

property had already been sold to a third party at a price

which increased the value of Westgate common stock. Air

Florida informed the FDIC it had decided not to make a

tender offer, and Westgate was liquidated by its direc-

tors. The FDIC brought suit against Air Florida seeking

rescission and restitution because Air Florida had failed

to make the tender offer. Air Florida denied it had a duty

to make the offer at a price exceeding the price paid to the

FDIC and argued that the rise in Westgate’s market price

A-3

excused its tender offer obligation. Air Florida counter-

claimed for $2 million it alleged was owing under a

provision in the contract requiring adjustment of the

purchase price of the stock on sale of a cannery owned by

Westgate. After a bench trial, the court held that Air

Florida had not breached its agreement with the FDIC,

and that the agreement (including the cannery adjust-

ment provision) remained in effect. The court left the

amount of the adjustment open for arbitration, where a

$1.5 million adjustment in favor of Air Florida was

ordered. The court entered the arbitration award.

[1] A straightforward reading of the agreement be-

tween the parties requires a finding that Air Florida had a

duty to make a tender offer. [2] When it concluded that

Air Florida’s duty was limited to a tender offer at the

minimum price, the court misread the agreement. A

tender offer is made in aid of a bona fide attempt to

acquire control of a company. An offer of only the mini-

mum price, in the face of a higher market price, would not

be a bona fide tender offer. [3] The bargain price Air

Florida paid the FDIC for the stock supports the conclu-

sion that the parties contemplated that the tender offer

price might be higher than the price paid the FDIC. [4]

The plain language of the agreement imposed a duty on

Air Florida to make a tender offer at a price reasonably

calculated to obtain outstanding shares of Westgate. [5]

Even assuming that certain extrinsic Air Florida evidence

is admissible because it is relevant to prove a meaning to

which the language of the agreement is reasonably sus-

ceptible, the evidence does not support Air Florida’s

interpretation, [6] as nothing in the proffered extrinsic

evidence contradicts the plain meaning of the agreement.

[7] Air Florida’s refusal to perform its tender-offer obli-

gation constitutes a failure of consideration, but a partial

failure of consideration justifies rescission only if the

failure is material or goes to the essence of the contract.

A-4

[8] Because a breach was found, the case is remanded to

the district court to determine whether the breach was

material. [9] If the breach was material, the FDIC is

entitled to rescind. [10] If the court determines that the

agreement cannot be rescinded, it may grant any party

any other relief to which he may be entitled under the

circumstances.

[11] If the court determines that the FDIC can re-

scind the agreement, the FDIC is relieved of its obliga-

tion to make further payments pursuant to the cannery

adjustment and the legality of the arbitration procedures

will be moot. If Air Florida’s breach is not material the

FDIC’s obligation to provide additional consideration

pursuant to the cannery adjustment would be excused

only if that obligation was dependent upon Air Florida’s

obligation to make a tender offer. California courts in-

dulge a strong presumption against construing contrac-

tual obligations as dependent. [12] If the agreement is

not rescinded, FDIC’s obligation to compensate Air Flor-

ida for the cannery adjustment has not been discharged.

[13] The arbitration award will not be vacated due to the

arbitrator’s refusal to hold an oral hearing on the issue of

contractual intent. [14] The arbitration award vested on

the date of the arbitrator’s decision, and was not delayed

by an agreement to keep the district court proceeding

open until the court was able to enter a single final

judgment.

COUNSEL

David L. Sandborg and Elliot L. Bien, San Francisco,

California, for the plaintiff-appellant.

Ralph Zarefsky, Los Angeles, California, and Patrick C.

Shea, San Diego, California, for the defendants-appellees.

ORDER

The opinion filed July 17, 1987 is amended as follows:

On page 7 (slip op.) add new footnote 2 to the heading

“1. The Tender Offer.” (“1. The Tender Offer.””) Text of

the footnote shall read: “The meaning of a contractual

term and the determination whether such a term is ambig-

uous are both questions of law subject to de novo review.

United States v City of Twin Falls, 806 F.2d 862, 869 (9th

Cir. 1986). If ambiguity exists and the district court

makes factual findings as to the parties’ intent, the

court’s findings will not be disturbed unless clearly erro-

neous. Jd. Here, because we find no ambiguity, see infra at

—, our review is de novo.” Renumber subsequent foot-

notes accordingly.

At page 12, delete “not support Air Florida’s interpre-

tation.” from the end of the first full paragraph and insert

“nothing to contradict the plain meaning of the agree-

ment or render it ambiguous.”

On page 20 (slip op.) delete footnote 8. Insert a new

footnote that shall read: “The FDIC argues also that it

had a due process right to an oral hearing. The arbitration

involved here was private, not state, action; it was con-

ducted pursuant to contract by a private arbitrator. Al-

though Congress, in the exercise of its commerce power,

has provided for some governmental regulation of private

arbitration agreements, we do not find in private arbitra-

tion proceedings the state action requisite for a constitu-

tional due process claim.”

With these changes, the panel as constituted in the

above case has voted to deny the petition for rehearing.

The full court has been advised of the suggestion for

rehearing en banc, and no judge of the court has re-

quested a vote on the suggestion for rehearing en banc.

Fed. R. App. P. 35(b).

A-6

The petition for rehearing is denied and the suggestion

for rehearing en banc is rejected.

OPINION

PER CURIAM:

The FDIC appeals a judgment refusing to rescind its

contract with Air Florida and enforcing an arbitration

award in Air Florida’s favor. We reverse in part, vacate in

part, and remand.

BACKGROUND

In its capacity as receiver of the United States National

Bank, the FDIC became a major creditor of the Westgate-

California Corporation (“Westgate”). As such, the FDIC

was entitled to a large block of Westgate stock once

Westgate’s reorganization in bankruptcy was completed.

In 1980, the FDIC sold its Westgate interests to Air

Florida for $15.4 million. As part of the agreement, Air

Florida promised to make a general public offer for

outstanding Westgate common shares at no less than the

price it paid the FDIC. If Air Florida acquired more than

80% of Westgate’s common stock, and if it paid more per

share to tender-offerees than the FDIC received, the

FDIC was entitled to additional compensation to afford it

the same price per share paid the tender-offerees.

Air Florida purchased the Westgate stock in order to

acquire Air California, a Westgate controlled corporation.

After Air Florida purchased the FDIC’s interest in West-

gate, however, Westgate’s bankruptcy trustees arranged,

and the district court approved, the sale of Air California

to a third party for $61.5 million. The sale caused a

substantial increase in the trading price of outstanding

shares of Westgate common stock. Air Florida had paid

A-7

approximately $18 per share for the stock, but after Air

California’s sale, Westgate shares traded between $21

and $26.50 per share.

In February 1982, Air Florida informed the FDIC that

it had decided not to make a tender offer. On April 1,

1982, Westgate’s directors announced that Westgate

would be liquidated with shareholders receiving $28.25

per share of common stock.’ On April 30, the FDIC

brought suit against Air Florida seeking rescission and

restitution because Air Florida had failed to make the

tender offer. In defense, Air Florida denied that it had a

contractual duty to make an offer at a price exceeding the

price paid to the FDIC and argued that the rise in

Westgate’s market price excused its tender offer obliga-

tion. The FDIC asserted that Air Florida was required to

make an offer reasonably calculated to acquire the shares,

no matter what the market price.

Air Florida counterclaimed for $2 million it alleged was

owing under a separate provision in the contract that

required adjustment of the purchase price of the stock

upon sale of a cannery owned by Westgate. After a bench

trial, the district court adopted Air Florida’s interpreta-

tion of the contract, holding that Air Florida had not

breached its agreement with FDIC. FDIC v. Air Florida

Sys., Inc. No. 85-0525-N(H) (S.D.Cal. Jan. 6,

1983) (Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law). Having

rejected the FDIC’s rescission claim, the district court

held that the contract, including the cannery adjustment

provision, remained in effect. The amount of the adjust-

ment was left open until “determined by the parties, the

parties’ designated accountants or an independent ac-

‘The liquidating dividend was paid on May 3, 1982. Air Florida

realized a gain of more than $10 per share over the price paid to the

FDIC, a $3.86 million profit on its Westgate common shares.

ci

a

ee ae

A-8

countant pursuant to the arbitration procedures set forth

in... the [purchase] Agreement.” Id. at 9.

When neither the parties nor their accountants could

reach an agreement on the cannery adjustment, the con-

tractual arbitration process was invoked. Following the

arbitration, which resulted in a $1,486,000 adjustment in

favor of Air Florida, the FDIC moved to vacate the award

because of the arbitrator’s failure to hold an oral hearing.

The district court held that “the arbitrator’s election to

resolve the question... based on written submissions

alone, did not deny the FDIC a fundamentally fair hear-

ing.” FDIC v. Air Florida, No. 82-0525-N(I) (C.D.Cal.

July 10, 1984) (unpublished order). The court granted Air

Florida’s cross-motion to enter the arbitration award as

part of the judgment and allowed prejudgment interest

on the award.

DISCUSSION

1. The Tender Offer’

The Written Agreement

Air Florida’s obligation to make a tender offer is

governed by the Purchase and Sale Agreement (the

Agreement) comprised of a November 14, 1980 agreement

(November Agreement), and an earlier agreement en-

tered into on October 27, 1980 (October Agreement)

*The meaning of a contractual term and the determination whether

such a term is ambiguous are both questions of law subject to de novo

review. United States v. City of Twin Falls, 806 F.2d 862, 869 (9th Cir.

1986). If ambiguity exists and the district court makes factual

findings as to the parties’ intent, the court’s findings will not be

disturbed unless clearly erroneous. Jd. Here, because we find no

ambiguity, see infra at __, our review is de novo.

A-9

incorporated by reference into the Agreement.’ Para-

graph 6.01 of the October Agreement provides:

Air Florida, at its own expense, agrees to make a

general public offer to the holders of the Com-

mon Stock of [Westgate] to acquire the shares

of Common Stock owned by such holders

(‘Shareholders’) no later than 425 days after the

date of Consummation (‘Offer’).

Conditions precedent to Air Florida’s duty to make the

tender offer are set out in paragraph 6.04 of the October

Agreement:

The obligation of Air Florida to make the Offer

shall be subject to (i) compliance with all appli-

cable laws and regulations regulating tender or

exchange offers and any other applicable laws

and regulations; (ii) Consummation [of the

Westgate reorganization]; and (iii) completion

of the transfer [of title to the FDIC securities to

Air Florida].

Under paragraph 6.03 of the October Agreement, “([t]he

minimum price for a share of Common Stock pursuant to

the Offer” was to be the price actually paid by Air Florida

to the FDIC.

Paragraph 12 of the November Agreement, “Right to

Benefits of Tender Offer,” in part provides:

[Air Florida] has agreed to make an offer to all

the holders of the Common Stock of [Westgate]

(“Offer”). If [Air Florida] is successful in ac-

quiring 80% of the Common Stock... of [West-

gate] pursuant to the Offer, this Agreement and

*We refer to the “October Agreement” and the “November Agree-

ment” only to facilitate citation to particular clauses. Together, the

two documents constitute the Agreement.

A-10

as a result of any previously acquired Common

Stock, then FDIC shall have the option to obtain

an equivalent amount of consideration which

[Air Florida] offers for each share of Common

Stock of [Westgate] pursuant to the Offer.

The FDIC argues that Air Florida had an obligation to

make a bona fide tender offer at a price adequate to

attract offerees subject only to the conditions of para-

graph 6.04 of the October Agreement, all of which were

satisfied. Air Florida asserts that its only duty was to

make the tender offer at the price that it paid the FDIC.

Air Florida argues that the sole purpose of the tender

offer provision was to protect the FDIC from shareholder

lawsuits that might allege that the FDIC had improperly

exacted a premium for its block of stock. According to Air

Florida, the provision was simply to ensure that other

shareholders got at least as much as the FDIC.

Paragraph 15.4 of the October Agreement states that

the “Agreement shall be construed, governed and en-

forced in accordance with the laws of the State of Califor-

nia.” Under California law, the paramount principle

informing contract interpretation is to give effect to the

intention of the parties. Healy Tibbitts Constr. Co. v.

Employers’ Surplus Lines Ins. Co., 140 Cal. Rptr. 375, 379

(Cal. App. 1977). The court should ascertain the intention

of the parties from the writing alone, if possible. Cal. Civ.

Code § 1638; Healy Tibbitts Constr. Co., 140 Cal. Rptr. at

379. The words are to be understood in their ordinary

sense unless a special meaning is given by usage. Cal. Civ.

Code § 1644.

[1] A straightforward reading of the Agreement re-

quires that we find that Air Florida had a duty to make a

A-1l

“tender offer” within 425 days of consummation.’ The

district court’s findings are in accord, but it found that

the duty was limited to an offer at the “minimum price”

defined in the contract as the price per share paid to the

FDIC. Because Westgate stock always traded above the

minimum price during the 425 day period, an offer at the

minimum price would have been a futile act. Accordingly,

the district court held that Air Florida’s obligation was

excused.

[2] The district court misread the Agreement when it

concluded that Air Florida’s duty was limited to a tender

offer at the minimum price.” A tender offer has certain

characteristics that set it apart from other market trans-

actions. We have previously articulated some of those

characteristics:

(1) aetive and widespread solicitation of

public shareholders for the shares of an

‘The Agreement uses the term “general public offer” and “tender

offer” interchangeably. See October Agreement § 6.01 (“Air Florida -

agrees to make a general public offer”); November Agreement { 12

(entitled “Rights to Benefits of Tender Offer”).

Air Florida also agreed to make an offer for Westgate preferred

stock. That agreement was limited to the price that Air Florida paid

the FDIC for its preferred stock. Paragraph 14 of the November

Agreement provides:

Subject to the provisions of Section 6.04, [see supra at

___.,] Air Florida agrees to make a general public offer to

the holders of the Class A Preferred Stock of [Westgate] to

acquire the shares of Preferred Stock owned by such hold-

ers (“Holders”) no later than 425 days after the date of

Consummation (“Offer’’) on the same terms and conditions,

and for the same price, as paid to FDIC for its Preferred

Stock.

Of course, this commitment ran to shareholders other than FDIC.

Unlike paragraph 14, the provisions dealing with the offer for com-

A-12

issuer; (2) solicitation made for a substantial

percentage of the issuer’s stock; (3) offer to

purchase made at a premium over the pre-

vailing market price; (4) terms of the offer

are firm rather than negotiable; (5) offer

contingent on the tender of a fixed number

of shares, often subject to a fixed maximum

number to be purchased; (6) offer open only

a limited period of time; (7) offeree sub-

jected to pressure to sell his stock.

Polinsky v. MCA, Inc., 680 F.2d 1286, 1291 (9th Cir. 1982)

(quoting Wellman v. Dickinson, 475 F.Supp. 783, 823-24

(S.D.N.Y. 1979)) (emphasis added). In other words, a

“tender offer” is made in aid of a bona fide attempt to

acquire control of a company. At the very least, it is an

offer reasonably calculated to persuade shareholders to

sell their stock. Air Florida’s interpretation differs from

the ordinary meaning of the term “tender offer.” An offer

of only the minimum price, in the face of a higher market

price, in our view would not be a bona fide tender offer.

[3] Furthermore, the bargain price that Air Florida

paid the FDIC for the Westgate stock supports the

conclusion that the parties contemplated that the tender

offer price might be higher than the price paid to the

FDIC. Air Florida agreed to pay $15.4 million for stock

with an estimated value in excess of $17 million. Air

Fiorida’s promise to make a tender offer served as partial

consideration. The FDIC took the risk that it would get

nothing more if the price of Westgate shares declined or

remained the same, but it contracted for additional com-

mon stock do not state that the offer shall be at a particular price, but

rather that it shall not be below a particular price. See supra at __

(€€ 6.01 & 6.03). The difference between Air Florida’s obligations

with respect to the common stock and the preferred stock supports

FDIC's interpretation of the contract.

A-13

pensation if the price went up. Air Florida’s interpreta-

tion would render its promise illusory and give it a

windfall at the FDIC’s expense.

Air Florida contends that certain provisions of the

Agreement belie a finding that it was required to make a

bona fide tender offer for the FDIC’s benefit. First, it

cites paragraph 6.02, which states that “(t]he Offer, at

the option of Air Florida, may . . . contain such terms and

conditions as are generally customary in tender or ex-

change offers, as the case may be.” This paragraph, as we

read it, simply leaves the peripheral terms of the offer to

the discretion of Air Florida but does not speak to price

and does nothing to diminish Air Florida’s obligation to

make the offer required by other sections of the

Agreement.

Second, Air Florida attaches significance to the fact

that it had the option of adjusting the tender offer price

downward, under paragraph 6.03, if Westgate’s cannery

had not been sold at the time of the offer, in order to

“adjust for an estimated Cannery Adjustment.” However,

this provision simply recognizes that the minimum offer

price was not fixed when the agreement was signed

because the price Air Florida was to pay to the FDIC, was

subject to the cannery adjustment. See supra at The

uncertainty as to the minimum price does not support an

argument that the minimum price was the only price at

which Air Florida was required to make its offer.

Finally, Air Florida claims that paragraph 13 of the

November Agreement entitled “Third Party Beneficiary,”

which states that the tender offer provisions “are for the

benefit of the proposed tender offerees,” is an explicit

statement that the offer was not intended to benefit the

FDIC. We disagree. Creating legal rights under the

contract for persons who would otherwise not have such

rights does not diminish the rights of the parties to the

A-14

contract. Paragraph 13 replaced paragraph 6.05 of the

October agreement, under which there were no rights for

third-parties; it does not derogate from Air Florida’s

obligations to the FDIC.

[4] We conclude that the plain language of the Agree-

ment imposed a duty on Air Florida to make a tender

offer at a price reasonably calculated to obtain outstand-

ing shares of Westgate. Nothing in the contract supports

Air Florida’s contention that the minimum price that it

was required to offer was also the maximum price.

Extrinsic Evidence

[5] Air Florida would have us look to the cireum-

stances surrounding the sale of the FDIC’s interest in

Westgate to support its interpretation of the contract.

Even were we to assume that Air Florida’s extrinsic

evidence is admissible because it “is relevant to prove a

meaning to which the language of the [Agreement] is

reasonably susceptible,” Pacific Gas & Elec. Co. v. G.W.

Thomas Drayage & Rigging Co., 442 P.2d 641, 644 (Cal.

1968), the proffered evidence does nothing to contradict

the plain meaning of the agreement or render it

ambiguous.

First, Air Florida points to the resolution of the

FDIC’s Board of Directors approving the sale to Air

Florida. It states that the FDIC “is hereby authorized to

sell its interest in [Westgate] ... for the total considera-

tion of approximately $15,432,000,” without mentioning

the possibility of additional compensation flowing from

the tender offer. The resolution, however, contained at

most only a cursory summary of the proposed Agreement,

without any reference to the contingencies contained in

the Agreement. The resolution does not mention the

anticipated cannery adjustment or the fact that addi-

tional compensation would be due if a successful tender

A-15

offer at over $18 per share were made. Simply put, all

contract provisions that could affect the price were not

incorporated in the FDIC board resolution approving the

sale of Westgate. Thus, the omission of reference to the

tender offer in the resolution is not helpful one way or the

other in determining the parties’ intent.

Second, Air Florida asserts that a letter from the

FDIC’s counsel to the attorney representing Westgate

shareholders demonstrates that the FDIC understood Air

Florida’s obligation to require a tender offer only at the

minimum price. The relevant part of the letter states: “In

our telephone conversation, we also discussed the fact

that the final price of the tender offer may be subject to

adjustment. We specifically discussed a potential cannery

adjustment....I can give you no additional enlighten-

ment on what price... will be realized for the cannery.”

The letter makes no mention of an adjustment necessi-

tated by increases in the price of Westgate stock. It

appears, however, that the FDIC’s counsel was respond-

ing to an expressed concern that the final price might be

decreased based on the cannery adjustment; he was not

otherwise addressing the terms of the Agreement.

Third, Air Florida claims that various filings it made

with the Securities and Exchange Commission demon-

strate that its commitment was at the minimum price. Air

Florida cites the schedule 13D filed the day after the

October Agreement was executed. This document, how-

ever, supports FDIC’s position. In relevant part, the

Schedule 13D states: “The minimum price pursuant to the

tender or exchange offer must be at least equivalent to the

final price per share of Common Stock paid to the FDIC.”

It does not say “the price,” it says “the minimum price”

and clearly contemplates the possibility of a higher price.

Air Florida also points to its Schedule 14D-1 (tender

offer statement). This document estimates that the

A-16

purchase price per share of Westgate common stock will

be $18. However, the 14D-1’s estimate was accurate when

filed because current market price was well below $18 per

share. The 14D-1 also states that “[s]ignificant contin-

gencies exist with respect to the final purchase price... .”

Moreover, the section of the 14D-1 that describes Air

Florida’s contractual obligations tracks the language

used in the Agreement. It states: “Air Florida has agreed

that the minimum price offered pursuant to such tender

and exchange offer must be at least equivalent to the final

price per share... paid by Air Florida to the FDIC... .”

Thus, we find no support for Air Florida’s interpretation

of the agreement in its SEC filings.

Finally, Air Florida-claims that the decision of West-

gate’s trustee to sell Air California and the FDIC’s

objections to the sale support its interpretation of the

agreement. The trustee, in determining whether to make

the sale, compared the value to Westgate’s creditors of

Air Florida’s tender offer with that of the purchase offer

made by the successful buyer, Air California Investments.

The trustee considered the value per share of the tender

offer to be the price paid to the FDIC — that is, the

minimum price provided for in the Agreement. This is

understandable since the calculation was made at a time

when stock in the reorganized Westgate had not yet been

issued and the only reasonably firm figure available to the

trustee was the minimum price. For the same reason, the

FDIC’s objections filed to the sale of Air California do

not contain an argument that the value of Air Florida’s

tender offer had been understated. We doubt that a court

comparing a firm cash offer to the potential rise in price of

unissued stock would rely on that potential to reject the

sale. Thus, the FDIC’s failure to make such an argument

cannot be taken as proof that it understood the minimum

price to Be the only price Air Florida was obligated to

offer.

SW PRE — ne i en he en ale mee ae ai ih Mi co cas ees SLE te

A-17

[6] In sum, we find nothing in Air Florida’s proffered

extrinsic evidence® that contradicts the plain meaning of

the Agreement. Air Florida had a duty to make a tender

offer at a price reasonably calculated to induce sharehold-

ers to tender their shares. Air Florida’s failure to make

such an offer breached its Agreement with the FDIC.

The Remedy

The FDIC claims that Air Florida’s failure to make the

agreed-upon tender offer constituted a failure of consider-

ation entitling the FDIC to rescind the Agreement.’ The

remedy the FDIC requests is at least a partial restitution

of Air Florida’s profits and a discharge from its obliga-

tion to pay Air Florida the money owing for the cannery

adjustment. In support of its right to rescind, the FDIC

relies on California Civil Code Section 1689, which, in

relevant part, provides:

(b) A party to a contract may rescind the con-

tract in the following cases:

s* 2 *

(2) If the consideration for the obligation of the

rescinding party fails, in whole or in part,

Air Florida presents its extrinsic evidence by way of a selective

chronological statement of facts and events surrounding the making

of the Agreement with the FDIC. That we may not have specifically

addressed every element in that chronology does not mean that we

have not considered every element.

"In its First Amended Complaint, the FDIC also claimed that it

was entitled to rescind based on California Corporations Code

§ 25401 (untrue statements and omissions) as well as on section 10b

of the Securities and Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. § 78}, and Rule

10b-5 of the Securities and Exchange Commission, 17 C.F.R.

§ 240.10b-5, (false statements). The FDIC does not appeal from the

district court’s denial of these claims.

A-18

through the fault of the party as to whom he

recinds.

2 zs *

(4) If the consideration for the obligation of the

rescinding party, before it is rendered to him,

fails in a material respect from any cause.

[7] Air Florida’s refusal to perform its tender-offer

—obligation constitutes a failure of consideration. See Tal-

iaferro v. Davis, 31 Cal. Rptr. 164, 172 (Cal. App. 1963).

Although Air Florida paid the FDIC over fifteen million

dollars in consideration, “[t]he right to rescind for a

partial failure of consideration may be exercised although

there has been a partial performance by the party against

whom the right is exercised.” Coleman v. Mora, 69 Cal.

Rptr. 166, 173 (Cal. App. 1968). However, a partial

failure of consideration justifies rescission only if the

failure is “ ‘material,’ or go[es] to the ‘essence’ of the

contract.” Wyler v. Feuer, 149 Cal.Rptr. 626, 633 (Cal.

App. 1978); see also Pennel v. Pond Union School Dist., 105

Cal. Rptr. 817, 821 (Cal. App. 1973) (breach must be

material); Taliaferro, 31 Cal. Rptr. at 172 (failure to

perform must constitute a breach in an “essential particu-

lar’). But see Crowfoot Lumber v. Thompson, 329 P.2d 302,

308 (Cal. App. 1958) (indicating that breach must go to

the “essence” of the contract only if there has been no

repudiation). Thus, the right to rescind a particular

contract “depends upon the gravity of the breach” relied

on to justify the rescission. Crowfoot Lumber, 329 P.2d at

308, quoted in Taliaferro, 31 Cal. Rptr. at 172.

[8] Whether a breach constitutes a failure of consider-

ation sufficient to be deemed material and thus to warrant

rescission of a contract is a question of fact properly

determined by the trial court. Calabrese v. Rexall Drug &

Chem. Co., 32 Cal. Rptr. 665, 670 (Cal. App. 1963). Cf.

Bonadelle Constr. Co. v. Hernandez, 337 P.2d 85, 87 (Cal.

A-19

App. 1959) (substantial performance is a question to be

determined case-by-case, based on the particular facts

and circumstances). In the instant case, because the

district court concluded that there had been no breach of

the Agreement, it found that there had been no material

failure of consideration and accordingly that the FDIC

was not entitled to rescind the agreement. Because we

find a breach, we remand to the district court to deter-

mine whether the breach was material.

[9] If the district court finds that Air Florida’s failure

to make the tender offer constituted a material breach,

the FDIC is entitled to rescind, thus extinguishing the

Agreement.’ Cal. Civ. Code § 1688. If rescission of the

Agreement is warranted, the FDIC’s further obligations

under the contract — in particular, those relating to the

cannery adjustment — are discharged, and it may be

entitled to a restitutionary remedy. Crowfoot Lumber, 329

P.2d at 308 (quoting Corbin on Contracts § 1104). Cali-

fornia Civil Code section 1692, entitled “Relief Based on

Rescission,” states that “[t]he aggrieved party shall be

awarded complete relief, including restitution of benefits,

if any, conferred by him as a result of the transaction and

any consequential damages to which he is entitled... .”

Under section 1692, the court may also require the re-

scinding party “to make any compensation to the other

which justice may require and may otherwise in its judg-

ment adjust the equities between the parties.”

[10] If, on the other hand, the district court deter-

mines that the Agreement cannot be rescinded, it never-

theless “may grant any party to the action any other relief

to which he may be entitled under the circumstances.”

Cal. Civ. Code § 1692. In other words, a breach insuffi-

*Air Florida is entitled to raise the several affirmative defenses

that the district court declined to pass on earlier.

A-20

ciently material to form the basis for rescission may

entitle the aggrieved party to a restitutionary remedy or

damages. Clearly Air Florida’s breach entitles FDIC to

either an équitable restitutionary remedy or a legal dam-

ages remedy. The appropriate remedy and its scope are

matters properly to be determined by the district court on

remand.

2. The Cannery Adjustment

The FDIC challenges the cannery adjustment arbitra-

tion award entered in favor of Air Florida, first, on the

ground that its performance has been excused, and, sec-

ond, on the ground that it was entitled to, and did not

receive, an oral hearing before the arbitrator. The FDIC

also claims that the district court erred in granting

prejudgment interest on the award.

Excuse of Performance

[11] If the district court determines that the FDIC

can rescind the Agreement, the FDIC is relieved of its

obligation to make further payments pursuant to the

cannery adjustment, and the legality of the arbitration

procedures will be moot. If, on the other hand; Air

Florida’s breach was not material, FDIC’s obligation to

provide additional consideration pursuant to the cannery

adjustment would be excused only if that obligation was

dependent upon Air Florida’s obligation to make a tender

offer. Verdier v. Verdier, 284 P.2d 94, 100 (Cal. App.

1955) (holding that if “covenants are independent, breach

of one does not excuse the performance of the other’).

The California courts indulge a strong presumption, how-

A-21

ever, against construing contractual obligations as

dependent:

To construe covenants as dependent is to

work a forfeiture as to one party, and no obliga-

tion of a contract is to be regarded as a condi-

tion precedent unless made so by express terms

or necessary implication. Where a breach is

partial and is “capable of being fully compen-

sated,” the strong tendency is to regard it as

insufficient to constitute a defense.

Id. (quoting Redpath v. Evening Express Co., 88 P. 287,

289 (Cal. App. 1906) ); see Rubin v. Fuchs, 459 P.2d 925,

928 (Cal. 1969).

[12] The Agreement does not say that the tender offer

was a condition precedent to the cannery adjustment. Nor

do we find a “necessary implication” that the obligations

were dependent. Because it was entirely possible that the

FDIC’s obligation to provide further compensation under

the cannery adjustment provision could have matured

before the period in which Air Florida was required to

make its tender offer, the tender offer could not be a

condition precedent to the cannery adjustment. Thus, if

the Agreement is not rescinded, FDIC’s obligation to

compensate Air Florida for the cannery adjustment has

not been discharged.

Right to an Oral Hearing

FDIC asserts that the arbitrator’s refusal to hold an

oral hearing on the issue of contractual intent violated its

rights and rendered the arbitration unenforceable. The

arbitrator, who was an accountant, did meet with the

FDIC and Air Florida accountants, but he then refused

the FDIC’s request to hold a further evidentiary hearing.

Rather, he requested the parties to submit in written form

the materials they wished to have considered. In support

A-22

of its interpretation of the cannery adjustment provision,

FDIC submitted the affidavit of the attorney who negoti-

ated the Agreement for the FDIC. The FDIC concedes

that it could have submitted additional written documen-

tation had it chosen to do so.

There is no disagreement that the federal Arbitration

Act, 9 U.S.C. §$§ 1-14 governs this dispute. Where the Act

applies, it “provides the exclusive grounds for challenging

an arbitration award within its purview.” Lafarge Conseils

et Etudes, S.A. v. Kaiser Cement & Gypsum Corp., 791 F.2d

1334, 1888 (9th Cir. 1986). Section 10 of the Act sets

forth the cireumstances under which a district court may

vacate an arbitration award. 9 U.S.C. §10. The FDIC

relies on section 10(c) to support its claim of procedural

deficiency. Section 10(c) permits vacation of an award

{[w]here the arbitrators were guilty of miscon-

duct in refusing to postpone the hearing, upon

sufficient cause shown, or in refusing to hear

evidence pertinent and material to the contro-

versy; or of any other misbehavior by which the

rights of any party have been prejudiced.

9 U.S.C. $ 10(¢).

[13] While section 10(c) assumes that the parties to an

arbitration will be afforded a hearing, neither in this

section nor anywhere else in the Act are hearing proce-

dures, much less oral hearing procedures, explicitly pro-

vided for. Certainly the parties may agree upon

appropriate procedures by contract, but, where they do

not, procedural matters “become part of the bundle of

issues committed to decisions by the arbitrator.” Sheet

Metal Workers Int'l Ass’n, Local 420 v. Kinney Air Condi-

tioning Co., 756 F.2d 742, 744 (9th Cir. 1985). An arbitra-

tion award should not be vacated on procedural grounds

unless the procedure employed was a “sham, substantially

5 PS. hale MaMa, Fe Ea, Ad clin Sc edad ea athe as aR in, ie ain kein nib adhe en ay oll aabig MAST Sgt ng aR sc il

A-23

inadequate or substantially unavailable.” Harris v. Chemi-

cal Leaman Tank Lines, 437 F.2d 167, 171 (5th Cir. 1971),

quoted in Dogherra v. Safeway Stores, Inc., 679 F.2d 1293,

1296 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 990 (1982). So long

as the hearing provided is “full and fair,” a procedural

attack must fail. Coast Trading Co. v. Pacific Molasses Co.,

681 F.2d 1195, 1198 (9th Cir. 1982). Applying section

10(¢)}, a hearing is full and fair unless the arbitrator (1)

despite a showing of cause, refuses a postponement; (2)

refuses to hear pertinent and material evidence; or (3)

engages in misbehavior that prejudices the rights of a

party. 9 U.S.C. §10(¢c). The FDIC did not request a

postponement and there is no allegation that the arbitra-

tor refused to consider evidence the FDIC submitted.

Finally, the failure to hold an oral hearing cannot be

deemed misbehavior that prejudiced the FDIC’s rights

because the FDIC has not shown that its evidence was not

amenable to preséntation in written form. Admittedly, a

“paper hearing” often will be an inadequate means to

determine the facts upon which an arbitration decision

must rely. In this case, however, the nature of the decision

to be made leads us to conclude that the “paper hearing”’

was adequate.” As the district court noted:

[W]hat the parties bargained for was not a

quasi-judicial proceeding conducted by lawyers,

but [rather] the professional opinion of an inde-

pendent accountant on an accounting issue —

the value of a business. Accountants derive their

*The FDIC argues also that it had a due process right to an oral

hearing. The arbitration involved here was private, not state, action;

it was conducted pursuant to contract by a private arbitrator. Al-

though Congress, in the exercise of its commerce power, has provided

for some governmental regulation of private arbitration agreements,

we do not find in private arbitration proceedings the state action

requisite for a constitutional due process claim.

A-24

calculations not from evidentiary hearings, but

from working papers and discussions with other

accountants. Thus, it was predictable that the

instant arbitrator would base his decision on

this information. Nothing in the parties’ contrac-

tual sequential valuation process manifests an

intent to require an oral evidentiary hearing.

Had the parties intended the arbitration to re-

solve primarily legal issues through evidentiary

hearings, they surely would have agreed to use a

lawyer, not an accountant, as the arbitrator, or

declared arbitration rules as governing. Instead

the parties instructed an accountant to resolve

the dispute..., leaving the procedure to the

arbitrator’s sound discretion.

FDIC v. Air Florida, No. 82-0525-N(I) at 8-9 (July 10,

1984) (unpublished order).

Prejyudgment Interest

The district court granted Air Florida interest on the

arbitration award from the date of the arbitrator’s deci-

sion. California law provides that

[e]very person who is entitled to recover dam-

ages certain, or capable of being made certain by

calculation, and the right to recover which is

vested in him upon a particular day, is entitled

also to recover interest thereon from that day

Cal. Civ. Code §3287(a). The Agreement between the

FDIC and Air Florida states that the arbitrator’s deter-

mination would be final and binding on the parties. As the

FDIC concedes, under the terms of the Agreement, Air

Florida was entitled to interest from the date of the

award. The FDIC contends, however, that a stipulation in

TST ee eee ee ee ———— Se ee ee ee ee ae eee ee a ee

A-25

the pretrial order changed this result. The stipulation

reads:

The parties have agreed that all issues with

respect to the Cannery Adjustment will be deter-

mined by the Court, with the exception of the

calculation of Net Cannery Cash Recovery and

the resulting Cannery Adjustment under the

Agreement. These calculations will be deter-

mined by... an independent accountant pursu-

ant to the procedures...of the Agreement...

The parties further have agreed that the judg-

ment in this proceeding will remain open until

said calculations have been performed and the

Court is able to enter a single final judgment.

[14] The district court determined all issues relating to

the cannery adjustment, with the exception of the adjust-

ment calculation, before the date of the arbitration deci-

sion.” Thus, the question is whether the agreement to

keep the district court proceeding open until the court

was “able to enter a single final judgment” meant that Air

Florida’s right to recover under the cannery adjustment

did not vest until the entry of the final judgment. See Cal.

Civ. Code § 3287(a). We think that the answer is not.

Although Air Florida may have agreed to await receipt of

the proceeds from the cannery adjustment until the entry

of a final judgment, it did not stipulate away its contract

right to recovery on the date of the arbitration decision.

Cf. French v. Merill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc.,

784 F.2d 902, 907 (9th Cir. 1986) (holding that, under

section 3287 (a), right to recover arbitration award vested

The pretrial order stated that two issues of law relating to the

cannery adjustment remained to be determined. The district court

resolved both issues in its Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

of January 6, 1983, over a year before the arbitrator rendered his

decision.

A-26

when plaintiff filed suit which resulted in the court com-

pelling the disputed arbitration, and that damages are not

made uncertain by the fact that liability is contested).

The stipulation served to facilitate any set-offs that may

have been required once the various claims and cross-

claims in the litigation had been resolved, not to amend

the original arbitration clause of the Agreement.

CONCLUSION

We hold that Air Florida’s failure to make a tender

offer breached its Agreement with FDIC. We remand to

the district court to determine whether the breach consti-

tuted a material failure of consideration. If the failure of

consideration was material, the FDIC was entitled to

rescind the Agreement. If the Agreement is rescinded, the

FDIC’s obligation under the cannery adjustment provi-

sion of the Agreement is discharged and the FDIC is

entitled to a restitutionary remedy to adjust the equities

between the parties.

If the Agreement was not rescinded, the cannery ad-

justment provision remains in effect, and Air Florida is

entitled to the arbitration award, with interest from the

date of the arbitrator’s decision. This amount, however,

must be set off against an award of damages to the FDIC

as compensation for Air Florida’s breach of its obligation

to make a tender offer.

The judgment dismissing the claim of the FDIC is

REVERSED. The judgment enforcing the arbitration

award with prejudgment interest is VACATED. The judg-

ment granting attorneys’ fees is VACATED. The cause is

REMANDED to the district for proceedings consistent

with this opinion.

REVERSED in part, VACATED in part, and

REMANDED.

Seen

C

ie

tat

ah PES.

B-1

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

FEDERAL DEPOSIT INSURANCE CORPORATION,

as receiver of United States National Bank,

Plaintiff,

, A

AIR FLORIDA SYSTEM, INC.,

a Delaware corporation,

Defendant.

AIR FLORIDA SysTEM, INC.,

a Delaware corporation,

Counter-claimant,

V.

FEDERA!. DEPOSIT INSURANCE CORPORATION,

as receiver of United States National Bank,

Counter-defendant.

NO. 82-0525-N (H)

FINDINGS OF FACT

AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The above-entitled case came on regularly for trial on

September 8, 1982, before the Honorable Leland C. Niel-

sen, United States District Judge, sitting without a jury.

Gary L. Hultquist of Bronson, Bronson & McKinnon and

E. Whitney Drake appeared as counsel for plaintiff, Fed-

eral Deposit Insurance Corporation. Howard J. Privett,

Ralph Zarefsky and Lisa C. Woods of McCutchen, Black,

Verleger & Shea appeared as counsel for defendant Air

Florida System, Ine. The Court having heard and ex-

amined the evidence offered by the respective parties and

having read and considered the briefs filed on their

B-2

behalf; the cause having been submitted for decision after

oral agrument by counsel; and the Court having hereto-

fore made and announced its decision, and being fully

advised in the premises, makes its findings of fact and

conclusions of law as follows:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Plaintiff Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation

(“FDIC”) is a corporation organized and existing under

and by virtue of the laws of the United States, and

appears here as receiver of the failed United States

National Bank, a national banking association which was

located in San Diego, California.

2. Defendant Air Florida System, Ine. (“Air Flor-

ida”) is a corporation incorporated under the laws of the

State of Delaware, with its principal place of business in

the State of Florida.

38. The amount in controversy exceeds $10,000.00, ex-

elusive of interest and costs.

4. In February of 1974, Westgate-California Corpora-

tion, a Nevada corporation (‘““Westgate”) filed for reor-

ganization under Chapter X of the Federal Bankruptcy

Act, Case Nos. 74-413, 74-414, 74-1079, 74-1246 and 74-

2271 (S.D. Cal.) (“Westgate Reorganization Proceed-

ings”). As receiver of the failed United States National

Bank, the FDIC filed certain proofs of claims against

various Westgate entities, which claims subsequently

were approved and allowed. The FDIC was the largest

single creditor in the Westgate Reorganization Proceed-

ings and was, entitled to receive a substantial percentage

of the common stock and substantially larger percentages

of Class A and B preferred stock to be issued by the

Reorganized Westgate.

5. On March 25, 1980, the Court in the Westgate

Reorganization Proceedings entered an order confirming

the Plan of Reorganization.

6. Commencing in August of 1980 and continuing

until November 14, 1980, representatives of Air Florida

and the FDIC negotiated the purchase by Air Florida of

the FDIC’s interest in Westgate. Both parties were repre-

sented by experienced counsel in the course of these

negotiations.

7. At the conclusion of their negotiations, the agree-

ment of the parties was fully and accurately reduced to

writing. Under date of October 20, 1980, the FDIC and

Air Florida executed a “Purchase Agreement” prepared

by their counsel as the complete and exclusive statement

of the terms agreed upon between the parties. After

subsequent competitive bidding as to the price of the

FDIC’s interest in Westgate between Air Florida and

another party in open court on November 14, 1980, the

parties executed a further writing, an “Agreement for

Purchase and Sale” (hereinafter “Agreement’’) which

modified and otherwise incorporated the October 20, 1980

Purehase Agreement. The Agreement was approved by

the Court in the United States National Bank Liquidation

Proceedings (Case No. 73-445-N, S.D. Cal.).

8. On April 21, 1981, Air Florida and FDIC executed

an Amendment to the Agreement, which was approved by

the Court in the United States National Bank Liquidation

Proceedings. On May 7, 1981, Air Florida waived its right

of rescission, and on May 11, 1981, the FDIC executed an

Assignment of Claims by which the FDIC assigned its

claims in Westgate as Receiver to Air Florida ‘free and

clear of any and all liens, encumbrances, charges, offsets,

defenses or counterclaims of any kind or nature

whatsoever.”

B-4

9. The parol evidence regarding the Agreement of-

fered by the parties at trial was received in evidence and

fully considered. The parol evidence strongly supports

the ordinary meaning to be given to the words used by the

parties to express their intent in the Agreement and Air

Florida’s contentions as to the intent of the parties at the

time they entered into the Agreement. The Court’s find-

ings regarding the Agreement are the same whether

based solely on the writings executed by the parties as

their Agreement or based also upon the extensive parol

evidence offered by the parties.

10. The Agreement imposed a duty upon Air Florida

to make a general public offer for the common and

common equivalent stock of reorganized Westgate at a

price (referred to as the “minimum price’’) at least equal

to the price payable to the FDIC for its common and

common equivalent stock of reorganized Westgate within

425 days following consummation of the Plan of Reorgan-

ization. Air Florida had no duty under the Agreement to

make such offer at any price higher than the minimum

price although it had the right to offer any price higher

than the minimum price it deemed appropriate.

11. The FDIC bargained for and received under the

Agreement an option to obtain an equivalent amount of

consideration which Air Florida paid to other sharehold-

ers pursuant to its general public offering only if both of

two contingencies occured: first, that the general public

offer was made at a price greater than the price payable to

the FDIC, and second, that Air Florida acquired 80% or

more of the common stock of reorganized Westgate. The

FDIC neither bargained for nor received any undertaking |

on the part of Air Florida to cause either of such contin-

gencies to occur, and the Agreement imposed no duty on

Air Florida to either offer a price higher than that payable

ET Oe NE RAR RPM E TETRA TERE ION CT NEN ir PS IE TN TNT OR I TE LRT LO SE Te ee ee PTTL ST

B-5

to the FDIC or to attempt to acquire 80% or more of the

common stock of reorganized Westgate.

12. On or about May 13, 1981, the Court in the West-

gate Reorganization Proceedings entered an order ap-

proving the Plan of Liquidation for Westgate, which

provided that the corporation could be liquidated within

one year. On May 26, 1981, the Court in the Westgate

Reorganization Proceedings entered orders (1) authoriz-

ing distribution of Westgate-California Corporation stock

and (2) declaring the Westgate Plan of Reorganization to

be “substantially consummated.”

13. Following such declaration of the consummation of

the Plan of Reorganization, the reorganized Westgate

issued its stock pursuant to the Plan. At all times after

issuance, which occurred after June 1, 1981, the common

stock traded at a price in excess of the $18.00 per share

price paid to the FDIC by Air Florida.

14. Following consummation of the Plan of Reorgani-

zation, Air Florida proceeded in good faith with prepara-

tions for a tender offer for all Westgate common and

common equivalent stock and continued to evaluate the

prospects for such offer. By early 1982 the high cash

liquidation value of Westgate common stock and the low

market price of Air Florida stock made it clear that an

offer at the price paid to the FDIC would not be success-

ful, and Air Florida concluded in good faith that a tender

offer at a price that was reasonable for it to offer would

not be successful.

15. A tender offer by Air Florida during the 425 day

period following consummation of the Plan of Reorgani-

zation at the price paid to the FDIC would have been an

idle and futile act, and could have been confusing or

misleading to the holders of reorganized Westgate com-

mon and common equivalent stock. Accordingly, Air Flor-

B-6

ida properly did not make the general offer it had a duty

to make under the Agreement.

16. The FDIC sustained no damage or loss by reason

of the fact Air Florida did not make the general public

offer it was committed to make pursuant to the

Agreement.

17. The liquidation of Westgate-California Corpora-

tion occurred on May 3, 1982 when the common stock of

Westgate was cancelled in liquidation of the corporation,

and a partial distribution of $28.25 per share in cash was

made to all shareholders of record.

18. The FDIC failed to sustain its burden of establish-

ing a material failure of consideration or breach of the

Agreement by Air Florida.

19. Air Florida did nct make any material misstate-

ments of fact and did not omit to state any material facts

in the course of negotiating, drafting or executing the

tender offer provisions of the Agreement.

20. FDIC failed to sustain its burden of establishing

grounds for rescission of the Agreement or that the FDIC

is entitled to a set-off or to any other relief from the

cannery adjustment provisions of the Agreement.

21. The foregoing findings make it unnecessary for the

Court to decide the issues raised by Air Florida’s affirma-

tive defenses of laches, equitable estoppel or waiver.

22. Any conclusion of law hereafter determined to be a

finding of fact is hereby found as a fact.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Any finding of fact hereafter determined to be a

conclusion of law is hereby made a conclusion of law.

2. The contract which is the subject of this action was

executed in the State of California and provides that it

“shall be construed, governed and enforced in accordance

with the laws of the State of California.” The contract was

approved by the Court in the United States National

Bank Liquidation Proceedings (No. 73-445-N, S.D. Cal.).

3. The Court has jurisdiction over the parties and of

the subject matter of this action.

4. The parol evidence offered by the parties at trial is

admitted into evidence. However, the Court’s determina-

tion of this matter is the same whether the Court consid-

ers the admitted parol evidence or interprets the

Agreement as a matter of law without the aid of parol

evidence.

5. The Agreement imposed a duty on Air Florida to

make an offer for the outstanding common and common

equivalent stock of Westgate only at a price at least equal

to the price payable to the FDIC (referred to as the

“minimum price”’).

6. The Agreement did not impose a duty on Air Flor-

ida to make an offer at a price greater than the minimum

price, nor did it impose a duty to attempt to acquire 80%

of the Westgate common and common equivalent stock.

7. The Agreement provided Air Florida the right to

make an offer at any price greater than the minimum

price.

8. A tender offer at the minimum price would have

been an idle and futile act. The law does not require idle

acts, and accordingly, Air Florida was relieved of its duty

to make an offer for the outstanding common and common

equivalent stock at the minimum price.

B-8

9. The FDIC failed to establish that it sustained any

damage or loss by reason of Air Florida’s failure to make

a tender offer.

10. Air Florida’s failure to make a tender offer did not

constitute a breach of the Agreement.

11. There was no material failure of consideration, and

the FDIC is not entitled to rescind the Agreement.

12. The Agreement remains in full force and effect,

and the parties remain subject to the terms thereof,.

except that Air Florida is relieved of its duty to make a

general public offer to the shareholders of reorganized

Westgate.

13. Air Florida did not violate California Corporations

Code § 25401.

14. Air Florida did not violate Section 10b of the

Securities and Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. § 78), or

Rule 10b-5 of the SEC, 17 CFR § 240.10b-5.

15. Air Florida is entitled to judgment in its favor on

Plaintiff's First Amended Complaint.

16. Air Florida is entitled to judgment on its First

Counterclaim, and is entitled to a declaration that Air

Florida is relieved of its duty to make an offer for the

common and common equivalent stock, that otherwise the

Agreement remains in full force and effect, and that the

parties remain subject to all of the duties and entitled to

all of the rights provided by the terms of the Agreement.

17. The affirmative defenses raised by the FDIC with

respect to Air Florida’s Second Counterclaim for recov-

ery of any cannery adjustment owing under the Agree-

ment are without merit and do not afford any basis for a

change in the cannery adjustment or a set-off in favor of

the FDIC. In accordance wiii the stipulation of the

parties approved by this Court in the Pretrial Order, the

SRT PLT SPL ERA TAS TS PS PI SO I PD IEEE IT TIE TC OEE

B-9

amount of the net cannery cash recovery and the resulting

cannery adjustment shall be determined by the parties,

the parties’ designated accountants or an independent

accountant pursuant to the arbitration procedures set

forth in Paragraph 7(b) of the Agreement, and the

amount thereof shall be inserted in the final judgment

entered in this case.

18. Pursuant to the Agreement and California Code of

Civil Procedure § 490.020, Air Florida is entitled to re-

cover from the FDIC reasonable attorney fees and dis-

bursements incurred by Air Florida in this action. Failing

agreement of the parties as to the proper amount thereof,

the court will fix the same on motion of either party. Said

amount shall be inserted in the final judgment entered in

this case.

19. Air Florida is entitled to recover its costs of suit

herein.

Let judgment be entered accordingly.

DATED: January 6, 1983

LELAND C. NIELSEN

United States District Judge

B-10

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

FEDERAL DEPOSIT INSURANCE CORPORATION,

as Receiver of United States National Bank,

Plaintiff,

Vv.

AIR FLORIDA SysTEMs, INC.,

a Delaware corporation,

Defendant.

AIR FLORIDA SYSTEMS, INC.,

a Delaware Corporation; and

INTERFIRST BANK DALLAS, N.A.,

Real Party in Interest

as Assignee of Benefits of

Air Florida Systems’ Interests in

Westgate Liquidating Trust,

Counter-claimants,

, #

FEDERAL DEPOSIT INSURANCE CORPORATION,

as Receiver of

United States National Bank,

Counter-defendant.

Case No. 82-0525-N (I)

AMENDED JUDGMENT

The above-entitled case came on regularly for trial on

September 8, 1982, before the Honorable Leland C. Niel-

sen, United States District Judge, sitting without a jury.

Gary L. Hultquist of Bronson, Bronson & McKinnon and

E. Whitney Drake appeared as counsel for plaintiff, Fed-

eral Deposit Insurance Corporation as receiver of the

failed U.S. National Bank (hereafter “FDIC’’). Howard

EO ST TEE ee a IN Ee ee Ee EOL LET PI TL eo ae Ry

B-11

J. Privett, Ralph Zarefsky and Lisa C. Woods of Me-

Cutchen, Black, Verleger & Shea appeared as counsel for

defendant Air Florida Systems, Inc. (hereafter “Air Flor-

ida”). The Court having heard and examined the evidence

offered by the respective parties and having read and

considered the briefs filed on their behalf; the cause

having been submitted for decision after oral argument by

counsel; the Court having heretofore made and filed its

findings of fact and conclusions of law; and the Court

having entered its order re intervention, finding In-

terFirst Bank Dallas, N.A. (“InterFirst Bank Dallas’’)

as a real party in interest and assignee of Air Florida,

It is therefore ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DE-

CLARED THAT:

1. Plaintiff FDIC have and take nothing by its First

Amended Complaint against Air Florida and that the

same be and hereby is dismissed on the merits;

2. Air Florida was relieved of its duty to make a

general public offer for the common and common

equivalent stock of the Westgate-California corporation.

In all other respects, the Agreement for Purchase and

Sale dated November 14, 1980, between the parties (the

“Agreement”) remains in full force and effect, and the

parties remain subject to all of the duties and entitled to

all of the rights provided by the terms of the Agreement.

3. InterFirst Bank Dallas, as assignee of Air Florida

under that certain “Bill of Sale and Assignment” dated

August 18, 1983, between and among Air Florida, Inc.,

Air Florida Systems, Inc. and InterFirst Bank Dallas,

N.A., shall have and recover on the Second Counterclaim

from the FDIC the sum of $1,486,000.00 in respect of the

Cannery Adjustment as defined in the Agreement, to-

gether with prejudgment interest thereon at 7% per an-

B-12

num from and after February 27, 1984 in the total amount

of $167,574.12.

4. Air Florida shall have and recover attorneys’ fees in

the amount of $322,000.00, plus its costs of suit in the

amount of $6,503.41 from the FDIC.

5. The Right to Attach Order, dated April 30, 1982,

shall be and is hereby set aside, and the Writ of Attach-

ment, dated April 30, 1982, shall be and is hereby

quashed.

Dated: 10-7-85

LELAND C. NIELSEN

Leland C. Nielsen

United States District Judge

C-1

APPENDIX C

The following represents the parents, affiliates, and

subsidiaries of the Petitioners.

Air Florida System, Inc.

Jet Florida System, Inc.

Air Florida, Ine.

Airport Systems, Inc.

Jet Florida, Ince.

Petitioner Air Florida System, Inc. no longer exists

under that name. On July 3, 1984 it filed for reorganiza-

tion under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptey Act. Through

the reorganization all affiliates, parents and subsidiaries

have been merged into a new entity, Jet Florida, Inc. On

June 28, 1985 the Bankruptcy Court lifted the automatic

stay in order to permit this litigation to proceed through

appeal.

InterFirst Bank Dallas, N.A. a

Petitioner InterFirst Bank Dallas, N.A. recently has

changed its name to First RepublicBank Dallas, N.A. Its

parent, subsidiaries and affiliate corporations are:

First RepublicBank Corporation

First RepublicBank Dallas, N.A.

Republic International Company

Republic International Dallas Do Brazil Limitada

Republic Overseas Corporation

Republic International Finance (ASIA) Ltd.

Republic Dallas Ltd.

Inverfin

Republic National Corporation

Medipark, Inc.

Livingston, Inc.

Republic Computer Corporation

Republic Loan Company of Oklahoma, Inc.

Republic Venture Group, Inc.

C-2

Pine Island Oil Corporation

United Petroleum Company

Prairie Land Co.

Republic National Leasing Corporation

Republic Commercial Finance Corporation

R.P.L., Ine.

D.P.C., Ine.

Republic Energy Group Denver, Inc.

First RepublicBank Mortgage Corporation

InterFirst Venture Corporation

Buslease, Inc.

Central Airlines Ltd.

Communications Partners

Contemporary Enterprises —

Empire Central Commerce Ltd.

Europa Bakers

Gardiner Communications

Hoker Broadcasting

Houston Wire and Cable International, Inc.

Luna-Royal, Ltd.

Monarch Paint

Stemmons-Carrollton, Ltd.

Universal Cable Holdings

Young Distribution Companies, Inc.

The Corners, Ltd.

CSM, Ine.

InterFirst Leasing, Ine. - — —

First National in Dallas ia y Limitada

MESBIC Financial Corporation of Dallas, Inc.

Plaza Premises Corporation

InterFirst Capital Corporation

InterFirst L.P.O. Corporation

InterFirst Condominium, Inc.

Intercon Management Co., Inc.

First RepublicBank International Corporation (formerly

InterFirst International Corporation)

a ee ee ee ee 2d nee Cee ee ee Se te ee ee ee ee ee ee i ee ee pr a

=“ . Si Baie F

C-3

InterFirst (Leasing) Limited

InterFirst Condominium Association

LF. Land, Ine.

First RepublicBank Houston, N.A.

Republic Energy Group Louisiana, Inc.

APL, Ine.

Nineteen Hundred Main Corporation

1100 Louisiana Ine.

1100 Smith Ine.

First RepublicBank Braes Bayou, N.A.

First RepublicBank Henderson, N.A.

First RepublicBank Lufkin

First RepublicBank Brownwood, N.A.

First RepublicBank Dallas East, N.A.

First RepublicBank Garland, N.A.

First RepublicBank Grand Prairie, N.A.

First RepublicBank Carrollton

First RepublicBank Ridglea

Ridglea Building Company

First RepublicBank Greenville Avenue

First RepublicBank San Antonio, N.A.

First RepublicBank Mineral Wells, N.A.

Brazos Valley Computer Center, Inc.

First RepublicBank Fort Worth East, N.A.

First RepublicBank Austin

Austin National Realty Corporation

First RepublicBank Plano, N.A.

First RepublicBank A & M

First RepublicBank NW San Antonio, N.A.

First RepublicBank Las Colinas

First RepublicBank Oak Cliff

First RepublicBank South Austin

National Bank of Fort Sam Houston

First RepublicBank Northern Hills

First RepublicBank Richmond, N.A.

First RepublicBank Spring Branch

oo

,

C-4

First RepublicBank Post Oak

First RepublicBank Kingwood, N.A.

First RepublicBank Northwest Austin, N.A.

First RepublicBank Westlake, N.A.

First RepublicBank North Dallas, N.A.

First RepublicBank Lubbock, N.A.

Askew & Brown, Inc.

First RepublicBank Waco, N.A.

Central Texas Small Business Investment Company

First RepublicBank Tyler, N.A.

First RepublicBank Midland, N.A.

First RepublicBank Eldridge, N.A.

First RepublicBank Countryside, N.A.

First RepublicBank Richardson

First RepublicBank Preston North, N.A.

RepublicBank Delaware

Republic National Company

Republic of Texas Company — Subsidiary of Republic

of Texas Corporation

First RepublicBank Trust Company

RepublicBank Insurance Agency, Inc.

First State Corporation of Lufkin

Republic Investment Advisory Services, Inc.

Republic Investment Company, Inc.

Fort Sam Life Insurance Company

Republic Money Orders, Inc.

Republic National Bank Building Company

Republic of Texas Properties, Inc.

Republic National Bancorporation, Inc.

RepublicBank Leasing Company

Republic of Texas Corporation

Republic Venture Capital Corporation

RepublicBank Trading Company

IFRB Corporation

First RepublicBank Dallas, N.A.

First RepublicBank Houston, N.A.

C-5

First RepublicBank San Antonio, N.A.

First RepublicBank Austin, N.A.

First RepublicBank Carrollton

First RepublicBank Corsicana, N.A.

Diamond Properties, Inc.

First RepublicBank Denison, N.A.

First RepublicBank DFW Freeport, N.A.

First RepublicBank Ennis, N.A.

First RepublicBank Forney

First RepublicBank North Dallas, N.A.

First RepublicBank Greenville, N.A.

First RepublicBank Hutchins

First RepublicBank Irving

First RepublicBank Las Colinas

First RepublicBank Malakoff

First RepublicBank Mt. Pleasant, N.A.

First RepublicBank Oak Cliff

First RepublicBank Paris

First RepublicBank Park Cities

First RepublicBank Pleasant Grove

First RepublicBank Tyler, N.A.

First RepublicBank Baytown

First RepublicBank Jefferson County

First RepublicBank Conroe, N.A.

First RepublicBank Fannin

First RepublicBank Galveston, N.A.

First RepublicBank Greenspoint

First RepublicBank Harlingen, N.A.

First RepublicBank East Houston

First RepublicBank SW Houston, N.A.

First RepublicBank Nassau Bay, N.A.

First RepublicBank Pasadena

First RepublicBank Post Oak

First RepublicBank San Felipe, N.A.

First RepublicBank Tomball

First RepublicBank Victoria

C-6

First RepublicBank Alamo Heights, N.A.

First RepublicBank Clifton

First RepublicBank Hillsboro

First RepublicBank North Austin, N.A.

First RepublicBank Williamson County, N.A.

First RepubliecBank NW San Antonio, N.A.

First RepublicBank Oak Hill, N.A.

First RepublicBank Temple, N.A.

First RepublicBank Westlake, N.A.

First RepublicBank Abilene, N.A.

SORA, Ine.

First RepublicBank Arlington, N.A.

First RepublicBank Cleburne, N.A.

First RepublicBank El] Paso, N.A.

First RepublicBank Gateway, N.A.

First RepublicBank Odessa, N.A.

First RepublicBank Richland, N.A.

First RepublicBank River Oaks

First RepublicBank South Fort Worth

First RepublicBank Stephenville, N.A.

First RepublicBank SW Arlington, N.A.

First RepublicBank University Drive

Manhattan Development Corporation

First RepublicBank Waco, N.A.

First RepublicBank Wichita Falls, N.A.

InterFirst Garage, Inc.

InterFirst Bank Delaware

First United Bancorporation, Inc.

First RepublicBank Fort Worth, N.A.

InterFirst Finance Company

InterFirst Financial Corporation

InterFirst Funding Corporation

InterFirst Insurance Company

First RepublicBank Asset Management Company (for-

merly InterFirst Investment Management, Inc.)

InterFirst Lending Corporation

Be ee i

Ne ee Ope ee gi ee ee eee ee ee ees ee SL a ere —= S.. be es. oe. J aT ee

C-7

InterFirst Life Insurance Company

InterFirst Park Cities Realty, Inc.

InterFirst Properties, Inc.

First RepublicBank Securities Company

InterFirst Securities Company in Dallas

InterFirst Services Corporation

InterFirst Services Corporation in Houston

InterFirst Services Corp. in Fort Worth

InterFirst Texas Finance N. V.

First RepublicBank Trade, Ine.

First International Bancshares Corporation (a Dela-

ware corporation)

First International Nevada Corporation

MBY, Ine.

The Peoples Company

InterFirst Corporation (an Arkansas corporation)

InterFirst Corporation (a Colorado corporation)

InterFirst Corporation (a Louisiana corporation)

InterFirst Corporation (a New Mexico corporation)

InterFirst Corporation (a New York corporation)

InterFirst Corporation (an Oklahoma corporation)

InterFirst Services Corporation (an Arkansas

corporation)

InterFirst Services Corporation (a Colorado

corporation)

InterFirst Services Corporation (a Louisiana

corporation)

InterFirst Services Corporation (a New Mexico

corporation)

InterFirst Services Corporation (an Oklahoma

corporation)

First Dallas Financial Corporation

FNB Financial Company

First International Realty Services, Inc.

First International Mortgage Company

First International Leasing Corporation

ee

aged

C-8

First International Management Services, Inc.

First International Bancshares Corporation (a Texas

corporation)

First National Finance Company

\

.

i

i?

‘

4 = *

4, t

; re ms ‘

i yr i

ah '

© i 4 1

‘ ww y

att 5 £ . ~S

if 3 4 : ‘

* iy eer ‘| ]

‘ og

te Py “

D i i

* %

vs \

ir #) 2X ae

5 ‘ ‘

es i soe

H, ‘

3 3 .

L ¥ fant + ¥ _

ones

D-1

APPENDIX D

12 U.S.C. § 192:

§ 192. Default in payment of circulating notes

On becoming satisfied, as specified in sections 131 and

132 of this title, that any association has refused to pay

its circulating notes as therein mentioned, and is in

default, the Comptroller of the Currency may forthwith

appoint a receiver, and require of him such bond and

security as he deems proper. Such receiver, under the

direction of the comptroller, shall take possession of the

books, records, and assets of every description of such

association, collect all debts, dues, and claims belonging

to it, and, upon the order of a court of record of compe-

tent jurisdiction, may sell or compound all bad or doubt-

ful debts, and, on a like order, may sell all the real and

personal property of such association, on such terms as

the court shall direct. Such receiver shall pay over all

moneys so made to the Treasurer of the United States,

subject to the order of the comptroller, and also make

report to the comptroller of all his acts and proceedings.

FED R. CIV. P. 52(a):

Rule 52. Findings by the Court

(a) Effect. In all actions tried upon the facts without

a jury or with an advisory jury, the court shall find the

facts specially and state separately its conclusions of law

thereon, and judgment shall be entered pursuant to Rule

58; and in granting or refusing interlocutory injunctions

the court shall similarly set forth the findings of fact and

conclusions of law which constitute the grounds of its

action. Requests for findings are not necessary for pur-

poses of review. Findings of fact, whether based on oral

or documentary evidence, shall not be set aside unless

a a ae

D-2

clearly erroneous, and due regard shall be given to the

opportunity of the trial court to judge of the credibility of

the witnesses. The findings of a master, to the extent that

the court adopts them, shall be considered as the findings

of the court. It will be sufficient if the findings of fact and

conclusions of law are stated orally and recorded in open

court following the close of the evidence or appear in an

opinion or memorandum of decision filed by the court.

Findings of fact and conclusions of law are unnecessary

on decisions of motions under Rules 12 or 56 or any other

motion except as provided in Rule 41(b).

PROOF OF SERVICE BY MAIL

I am a citizen of the United States and a resident of the

City and County of Los Angeles; I am over the age of

eighteen years and not a party to the within action; my

business address is: 1706 Maple Avenue, Los Angeles,

California.

On December 18, 1987, I served the within Petition for a

Writ of Certiorari in re: “Air Florida System, Inc.; In-

terFirst Bank, Dallas, N.A. vs. Federal Deposit Insur-

ance Corporation” in the Supreme Court of the United

States, October Term 1987, No. ........ :

On the Parties in said action, by placing Three copies

thereof enclosed in a sealed envelope with postage fully

prepaid, in the United States post office mail box at Los

Angeles, California, addressed as follows:

David L. Sanborg, Esquire

Elliot L. Bien, Esquire

Bronson, Bronson & McKinnon

555 California Street

San Francisco, California 94104

John Murphy, General Counsel

E. Whitney Drake, Special Counsel

Office of the General Counsel

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation

Washington, D.C. 20429

All Parties to be served have been served.

I certify (or declare), under penalty of perjury, that the

foregoing is true and correct.

Executed on December 18, 1987, at Los Angeles,

California.

J. GORDON HOOPER

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.