Opposition Brief — Interstate Natural Gas Ass'n of America v. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Nos. we, 87-977, Ap el and 87.1091

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

INTERSTATE NATURAL GAS ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA,

‘ Petitioner,

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION,

Respondent.

TEXAS EASTERN TRANSMISSION CORPORATION,

- Petitioner,

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION,

Respondent.

CITY OF WILLCOX, ARIZONA AND

ARIZONA ELECTRIC POWER COOPERATIVE, INC.,

° Petitioners,

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION,

Respondent.

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA GAS COMPANY,

‘ Petitioner,

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

THOMAS G. JOHNSON *

Attorney for

SHELL OFFSHORE INC.

SHELL WESTERN E&P INc.

One Shell Plaza

P.O. Box 2463

Houston, Texas 77252

(713) 241-4742

(Petitioners Listed on

February, 1988 the Inside Cover) \ y

* Counsel of Record

WILSON - Eres Printine Co., Inc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001 )

AMOCO PRODUCTION COMPANY MARATHON OIL COMPANY

WILLIAM T. BENHAM GEORGE H. ROTHSCHILD, JR.

P.O. Box 5910-A ROBERT C. MURRAY

Chicago, Illinois 60680 P.O. Box 3128

(312) 856-7941 Houston, Texas 77253

APACHE CORPORATION (713) 629-6600

CHARLES H. BROWNMAN Of Counsel

One United Bank Center JON L. BRUNENKANT *

Suite 1900 GROVE, JASKIEWICZ, GILLIAM

1700 Lincoln Street AND COBERT

Denver, Colorado 80203-4519 1730 M Street

(303) 837-5074 Washington, D.C. 20036

ARCO OIL AND GAS COMPANY (202) 296-2900

A Division of Atlantic MAXUS ENERGY CORPORATION

Richfield Company DIAMOND SHAMROCK OFFSHORE

HARRIS S. WooD * PARTNERS LIMITED

NORMA J. ROSNER PARTNERSHIP

P.O. Box 2819 R. BRENT HARSHMAN *

Dallas, Texas 75221 RONALD J. NELSON

(214) 880-4869 LTV Center—Suite 1400

CHEVRON U.S.A. INC. 2001 Ross Avenue

GERALD P. THURMOND Dallas, Texas 75201-2916

575 Market Street (214) 979-5027

San Francisco, California 91105 MosBIL OIL CORPORATION

(415) 894-1717 MosiL O11 EXPLORATION &

Of Counsel PRODUCING SOUTHEAST INC.

MOBIL PRODUCING TEXAS &

NEW MEXxIco INC.

MOBIL EXPLORATION AND

PRODUCING NORTH AMERICA

INC.

JAY G. MARTIN *

THOMAS GEORGE WAGNER

Nine Greenway Plaza—

——DAVID J. EVANS *

JAMES B. ATKIN

PILLSBURY, MADISON & SUTRO

Suite 1100

1667 K Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 463-2366

CITIES SERVICE OIL AND GAS Suite 2700

CORPORATION Houston, Texas 77046

MICHAEL L. PATE (718) 235-1443

P.O. Box 300

Tulsa, Oklahoma 74102 pele ey Ast

(918) 561-4541 .

KATHLEEN E. MAGRUDER

KERR-MCGEE CORPORATION P.O. Box 2967

JOHNNY J. AKINS Houston, Texas 77252

P.O. Box 25861 (713) 546-8859

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73125

(405) 270-2864

* Counsel of Record

Of Counsel

JOHN K. MCDONALD

CHARLES E. SUFFLING

BUTLER & BINION

1747 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 466-6900

PHILLIPS PETROLEUM COMPANY

PHILLIPS 66 NATURAL GAS

COMPANY

LARRY PAIN *

1258 Adams Building

Bartlesville, Oklahoma 74004

(918) 661-6355

ROSEWOOD RESOURCES, INC.

LESLIE J. BURTON *

JOHN J. WOLFE

200 Crescent Court

Suite 300

Dallas, Texas 75201

(214) 871-5527

SUN EXPLORATION AND

PRODUCTION COMPANY

CHARLES L. SPANN *

P.O. Box 2880

Dallas, Texas 75221-2880

(214) 890-5607

* Counsel of Record

TEXACO INC.

RALPH J. PEARSON, JR.*

JAMES D. HURLEY

P.O. Box 52332

Houston, Texas 77052

(713) 650-4297

UNION OIL COMPANY OF

CALIFORNIA

KENNETH L. RIEDMAN

Union Oil Center—Room 1120

P.O. Box 7600

Los Angeles, California 90051

(213) 977-6282

UNION PACIFIC RESOURCES

COMPANY

KERRY R. BRITTAIN *

ALAN W. TOMME

Mail Station No. 4010

P.O. Box 7

Fort Worth, Texas 76101-0007

(817) 877-7540

UNION TEXAS PETROLEUM

CORPORATION

F. NAN WAGONER

P.O. Box 2120

Houston, Texas 77252-2120

(713) 968-2856

STATEMENT REQUIRED BY RULE 28.1

All of the Respondents joining in this Brief, with the

exception of Pennzoil Company and Chevron U.S.A., Inc.,

joined in the Petition for Certiorari filed in Shell Offshore

Inc., et al. v. Associated Gas Distributors, et al., No. 87-

978, which sought a writ from Associated Gas Distribu-

tion v. FERC, 824 F.2d 981 (D.C. Cir. 1987), the same

decision which Petitioners in the captioned cases seek to

have reviewed by this Court. In Appendix E to that

Petition, these parties submitted a statement as required

by Rule 28.1. The following statement is submitted on

behalf of Chevron U.S.A., Inc. and Pennzoil Company:

CHEVRON U.S.A., INC.

Chevron U.S.A., Ine. is a wholly-owned subsidiary of

Chevron Corporation. The non-wholly-owned subsidiaries

and affiliates of Chevron Corporation are:

AMAX Ince.

Arabian American Oil Company

Atlas Supply Company

C-W Properties Inc.

Caltex Mediterranean Limited

Caltex Petroleum Corporation

Canyon Reef Carriers, Inc.

Chevron Capital N.V.

Chevron Capital U.S.A. Inc.

Chevron Investment Management Company

Chevron Oil Finance Company

Dixie Pipeline Company

Explorer Pipeline Company

Felix Oil Company

Glenwood Properties

Gulf Oil Finance Company

Kenai Pipe Line Company

Long Beach Oil Development Company

Mid-Valley Pipeline Company

(i) -

ii

Paloma Pipe Line Company

Pembroke Capital Company, Inc.

Plantation Pipe Line Company

Platte Pipe Line Company

Refineria Petrolera de Guatemala-California, Inc.

PENNZOIL COMPANY

The non-wholly-owned subsidiaries and affiliates of

Pennzoil Company are:

National Transit Company

10 Minute Service Centres Limited

The Eureka Pipe Line Company

American Sulphur Export Corporation

Pennzoil (U.K.) Limited

P. T. Sungai Kencana

P. T. Indo Muro Kencana

Proven Properties Inc.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

STATEMENT REQUIRED BY RULE 28.1 _............... i

a ee EID ccrvnetececercdnactenvsoninessocntenseseomse Vv

REASONS WHY THE WRITS SHOULD NOT BE

OS | an ie . 2

I. The Commission’s Orders Below Do Not Im-

pose “Common Carrier Status” Upon Inter-

state Pipeline Companies ........................ 2

A. The Commission Has The Power And Duty

Under The Natural Gas Act To Prevent

“Undue Discrimination.” 2

B. The Decision Below Creates No Conflicts

Between The Circuits Or With Decisions Of

This Court Requiring The Granting Of Cer-

BRET rT a SRE SNL Sr NN a a Ce 3

C. FCC v. Midwest Video Corp. And The Other

Television Cases Are Not In Point .................. 6

D. The Orders Below Do Not Force Interstate

Pipelines To Become Common Carriers ....... 9

1. Pipeline Participation In The Order No.

436 Program Is Voluntary ............00.0........ 9

2. Non-Discrimination Is Not Common Car-

I ec ll

E. Order No. 436 Does Not Violate Section

ot Ep Be ie Bt: ee 12

II. The Optional Expedited Certificate Procedure

Established By The Commission’s Orders Rep-

resents A Valid Exercise Of The Commission’s

Authority And Contains Provisions Which Are

I I I BI oii incdinsccictnnedencenancenienateensiens 14

(ili)

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

A. The Optional Expedited Certificate Proce-

cedure’s Substantive Provisions Are Within

The Commission’s Discretionary Authority

And Will Not Interfere With State Jurisdic-

tion .... 14

B. The Optional Expedited Certificate Proce-

dural Provisions Are Not Ripe For Review.. 16

aa ee as te Do Fede ORT aD ae 17

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page

Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136

gE TR SS AIA, Ca TRI yr ec leay le ae ee aN 17

Atlantic Refining Co. v. Public Service Comm’n,

SI I idl ea 9

Burlington Truck Lines, Inc. v. United States, 371

pS ENT SOE a Re ET 15

Central Iowa Power Coop. v. FERC, 606 F.2d

Ee es re I ahaa tae hi asttinlcce 6,8

Central Power & Light Co. v. FERC, 575 F.2d 937

(D.C. Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 981

SEE Ae en ROS Oe a = ee eae 8

Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc. v. Democratic

National Committee, 412 U.S. 94 (1973) ............ 7

FCC v. Midwest Video Corp., 440 U.S. 689

a call 6, 7, 12

FCC v. Pottsville Broadcasting Co., 309 U.S. 134

or RCEEE TES Ar be EU IRE 07 aS RIP ec vc 6

FPC v. Conway Corp., 426 U.S. 271 (1976)........ 5

FPC v. East Ohio Gas Co., 338 U.S. 464 (1950)... 16

FPC v. Texaco Inc., 377 U.S. 33 (1984) 20000000... 2

FPC v. Transcontinental Gas Pipe Corp., 365 U.S.

ete jE RE. a: POLED ee 2

Florida Power & Light Co. v. FERC, 660 F.2d 668

(5th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1156

I le eh a 3, 5,6

Gulf States Utilities Co. v. FPC, 411 U.S. 747

ESE Tee celine Doe ee, Sct” 5,8

Market Street Railway v. Railroad Comm’n, 324

re 10

Maryland People’s Counsel v. FERC, 761 F.2d

pe FREES 0 ROMER ke 8,9, 11

Maryland People’s Counsel v. FERC, 761 F.2d

- | A SR rrereer ar see nk ees 5, 8,9, 11

Maryland People’s Counsel v. FERC., 768 F.2d

450 (D.C. Cir. 1985)

Motor Vehicle Manufacturers Ass’n v. State Farm

Mutual Automobile Insurance Co., 463 U.S. 29

(1983)

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

National Ass’n of Regulatory Utilities Comm’n v.

FCC, 525 F.2d 630 (D.C. Cir. 1976), cert. de-

SOU, Ges May UE I icc cctcnee 12

National Ass’n of Regulatory Utilities Comm’n v.

FCC, 533 F.2d 601 (D.C. Cir. 1976) .................. 12

Natural Gas Pipeline Company of America v.

FERC, 765 F.2d 1155 (D.C. Cir. 1985) .............. 5-6

New York State Electric & Gas Corp. v. FERC,

638 F.2d 388 (2nd Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 454

RR. ESS RRR eee ee 3, 5, 6

Otter Tail Power Co. v. United States, 410 U.S.

I ah aeeatons 3,4

Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Co. v. FPC, 232

F.2d 467 (3rd Cir. 1956), cert. denied, 352 U.S.

ge Ee ae ee oan BK chad eRe Sasser 3

Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Co. v. Michigan

Public Service Commission, 341 U.S. 329

|S Ree a ESM: 2250 «ise SASSER Set Re oe SON 16

Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Co. v. Public Serv-

ice Commission of Indiana, 332 U.S. 507

| aS oe A DS SIS ES IE Aen RB 16

Public Service Commission of New York v. Mid-

Louisiana Gas Co., 463 U.S. 319 (1983) 0.00000... 8

Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 367

IIE a sn usiinnk eb cacDcnsciha toca li alta 7

Richmond Power & Light v. FERC, 574 F.2d 610

LN cil + | Sn - 2p a Se 3, 6

Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp. v. State Oil

and Gas Board of Mississippi, 474 U.S. 409

TIE cee ssoinsscniinsiinin tr itensshllabealli ts Sabiosinsahtnonchiinneniainns 8

United States v. Midwest Video Corp., 406 U.S.

RAED ccsssideich tanatanauatatbaietel Imenanosbadacigudnsectiansdtinn 7

United States v. Southwestern Cable Co., 392 U.S.

MUD access aiccpaetlsenscissiclindila dh ilisisnhik aire dtindbsinihastictiaplic' 6, 7

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS: Page

Federal Communications Act

OE I I costae rcacechtcvchoatssskaccecmnnanaune 7

Federal Power Act, 16 U.S.C. § 791a, et seq......... 4,5

ERE Ra lola A oe 5

I Sc a 5

7k. ROC ee ae ere 5

Natural Gas Act of 1938, 15 U.S.C. § 717, et seq... 2, 3, 6,

15

i in 2

Ia et 2

hE sy, Sa rn ere ee NTs. 2,10, 15

Natural Gas Policy Act of 1978, 15 U.S.C. § 3301,

RS GROG PER ai eal aca Fae ESOT 2, 7,8

15 U.S.C. § 3371(c) (1982) ......... I MN A Seay oe 2

15 U.S.C. § $482(b) (1982) ................................. 12-13

Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act of 1978,

P.L. 95-617, 92 Stat. 3117, § 203, codified as

ek se fg | een eee 5

LEGISLATIVE AUTHORITIES:

H.R. Rep. No. 709, 75th Cong., Ist Sess. 2 (1937)... 16

H. Conf. Rep. No. 95-1752, 95th Cong., 2d Sess.

gE NEA SP A MAR al PIC Sie Sine ee aye 2

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

No. 87-976

INTERSTATE NATURAL GAS ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA,

‘- Petitioner,

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION,

Respondent.

No. 87-977

TEXAS EASTERN TRANSMISSION CORPORATION,

= Petitioner,

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION,

Respondent.

No. 87-979

CITY OF WILLCOX, ARIZONA AND

ARIZONA ELECTRIC POWER COOPERATIVE, INC.,

St 7 Petitioners,

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION,

Respondent.

No. 87-1091

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA GAS COMPANY,

‘ Petitioner,

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

2

REASONS WHY THE WRITS

SHOULD NOT BE GRANTED

I. The Commission’s Orders Below Do Not Impose

“Common Carrier Status” Upon Interstate Pipeline

Companies.

A. The Commission Has The Power And Duty Under

The Natural Gas Act To Prevent “Undue Dis-

crimination.”

—

It is quite clear from Order Nos. 436 and 436-A that

the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (‘Commis-

sion”) did not set out to impose common carrier status

upon interstate pipeline companies, and affirmatively

found that it had not done so.' Instead, the Commission

established a format for transportation authorizations

using its conditioning power contained in Section 7(e)

of the Natural Gas Act (“NGA”)? and Section 311(c) of

the Natural Gas Policy Act of 1978 (“NGPA’)® for

issuing certificates of public convenience and necessity to

interstate pipelines, thus carrying out the duties imposed

upon it by Sections 4(b) and 5(a) of the NGA* to pre-

vent undue discrimination by such pipelines. The Com-

mission also required intrastate pipelines which trans-

port gas under Section 311 of the NGPA to do so with-

1J.A. 346-364, 1079-1086; Supplemental Appendix (“Supp. App.”’)

[attached to this Brief] at SA-5 to SA-20, SA-21 to SA-27.

215 U.S.C. § 717f(e).

315 U.S.C. § 3371(c) (1982). See also H. Conf. Rep. No. 95-1752,

95th Cong., 2d Sess. 7 (1978).

#15 U.S.C. § 717c(b); 15 U.S.C. § 717d(a). See INGAA App. 34a

(“INGAA App.” refers to the appendix submitted with the petitions

in Nos. 87-976, 87-977, and 87-979). This Court has broadly con-

strued the Commission’s conditioning power under Section 7(c),

FPC v. Texaco Inc., 377 U.S. 33 (1964), even where the Commis-

sion’s only jurisdiction is over transportation by interstate pipelines,

FPC v. Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp., 365 U.S. 1, 25-30

(1961); Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Co. v. FPC, 232 F.2d 467,

471 (3rd Cir. 1956), cert. denied, 352 U.S. 891 (1956).

3

out discrimination. The Commission found: (i) that

pipelines possess substantial market power;*(ii) that

they have exercised that power to deny their own sales

customers, and others without fuel-switching capability

access to competitively-priced gas;* and (iii) that this

practice had denied consumers access to gas at the lowest

reasonable rates.?. These actions, the court of appeals

found, constituted “extreme factual circumstances” show-

ing discrimination, and that the effect of this discrimina-

tion was to deny gas users, and the economy generally,

the benefits of a competitive wellhead market.®

B. The Decision Below Creates No Conflicts Between

The Circuits Or With Decisions Of This Court Re-

quiring The Granting Of Certiorari.

Petitioners ® assert that the decision below creates a

conflict between the circuits and is contrary to this

Court’s decision in Otter Tail Power Co. v. United

States,” because it mandates the equivalent of “wheeling”

for natural gas. In Otter Tail and several decisions of

the courts of appeals," it was held that the Commission

lacked the authority to order such “wheeling” of elec-

tricity. The Petitioners assert that the decision below is

inconsistent with these prior decisions, because the NGA

5 J.A. 306; Supp. App. at SA-1 to SA-2.

6 J.A. 318, 1087; Supp. App. at SA-2 to SA-3, SA-27 to SA-28.

7 J.A. 318-321, 1087; Supp. App. at SA-2 to SA-5, SA-27 to SA-28.

8 INGAA App. 30a.

® As used herein ‘Petitioners’ means the Petitioners in Nos.

87-976, 87-977, and 87-979.

10 410 U.S. 336 (1973).

11 Florida Power & Light Co. v. FERC, 660 F.2d 668 (5th Cir.

1981), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1156 (1983); New York State Electric

& Gas Corp. v. FERC, 638 F.2d 338 (2nd Cir. 1980), cert. denied,

454 U.S. 821 (1981); Richmond Power & Light v. FERC, 574 F.2d

610 (D.C. Cir. 1978).

a i

4

and Federal Power Act (“FPA’)* are to be read in

pari materia.” Petitioners contend that, given this limi-

tation on the Commission’s power to order wheeling, the

anti-discrimination provisions of neither act give the

Commission the power to require a pipeline to transport

gas belonging to another against its will.“

This argument ignores a key factor recognized by the

court of appeals below. In Otter Tail, this Court held

that a district court could require wheeling, where not to

require it would permit the electric company to violate

the antitrust laws. This Court affirmed that the enact-

ment of the Federal Power Act did not interpose a de-

fense against an antitrust suit in a district court.

While Otter Tail might prove a precedent against a

general assertion of jurisdiction by the Commission to

impose common carriage, that case does not address the

issue presented here, to-wit: whether the Commission

may order non-discriminatory transportation as a rem-

edy for anti-competitive conduct or undue discrimina-

tion. Here the Commission made a finding that the pipe-

lines were engaged in anti-competitive practices by re-

fusing to transport gas belonging to other shippers which

would displace sales formerly made by the pipelines them-

selves.° In any event, the Commission did not order pipe-

lines to transport gas on behalf of others; on the con-

trary, it made it very clear that the pipelines could choose

not to transport for others.** What the Commission said

12 16 U.S.C. § 791a, et seq.

18 Contrary to the holding of the court of appeals, see INGAA

App. 28a.

14 Texas Eastern Petition (No. 87-977) at 11.

15 J.A. 1086; Supp. App. at SA-26 to SA-27.

16 J.A. 352-357, 1085; Supp. App. at SA-10 to SA-15, SA-26.

5

was, “if you choose to transport gas for others, you must

do so on a non-discriminatory basis.” *”

Under this Court’s decisions in FPC v. Conway Corp.

and Gulf States Utilities Co. v. FPC, the Commission is

required to consider the anti-competitive effects of regu-

lated aspects of interstate utility operations, and should

it find that those aspects are present, it may take reme-

dial steps to foster competition.

The decisions of the courts of appeals cited by Peti-

tioners do not create a conflict among the circuits re-

quiring this Court’s intervention. Indeed, a close reading

of these cases suggests that the Commission’s power to

order wheeling of electricity in the face of a clear show-

ing of anti-competitive conduct has not yet been decided.

In Florida Power, the Fifth Circuit explicitly preter-

mitted a decision on such an argument.” In New York

State Electric & Gas,”' the Second Circuit stated that

were the Commission to require wheeling as a remedy

for an unreasonable contract provision under Section

206 of the FPA, it would be required to use the specific

wheeling authorization added by Congress in 1978.”

17 Such a finding was required by the D.C. Circuit’s opinion in

Maryland People’s Counsel v. FERC, 761 F.2d 780 (D.C. Cir. 1985) ;

J.A. 1086; Supp. App. at SA-26 to SA-27.

18 426 U.S. 271, 278-80 (1976).

19 411 U.S. 747, 758-59 (1973).

20 Florida Power & Light Co. v. FERC, supra, 660 F.2d at 679.

21 New York Electric & Gas Co. v. FERC, 638 F.2d at 403.

22 Section 203 of the Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act of

2216 U.S.C. § 824e. Section 203 of the Public Utility Regulatory

Policies Act of 1978 (“PURPA”), P.L. 95-617, 92 Stat. 3117, 3136-40,

codified as Sections 211 and 212 of the FPA, 16 U.S.C. §§ 824j &

824k. The wheeling provisions of Sections 211 and 212 were added

by PURPA to deal with the perceived need to assist cogenerators

and small power producers. This points out differences between

the electric and natural gas industries, which sometimes call for

different Commission responses to similar statutory language.

(Cf. Natural Gas Pipeline Company of America v. FERC, 765

6

There being no similar specific statutory mechanism in

the NGA, New York State Electric & Gas cannot be read

to preclude the ordering of transportation by interstate

pipelines to prevent discrimination.

In Richmond, as noted by the court of appeals, the

petitioner failed to make a showing of anti-competitive

or discriminatory impact resulting from the refusal of

other utilities to wheel power.“ The Commission and the

District of Columbia Circuit simply rejected a per se rule

equating refusals to wheel with discriminatory or anti-

competitive practices. In this case, the Commission made

express findings of anti-competitive practices. These find-

ings distinguish this case from Florida Power** and

Richmond,”®> where no such findings were made. This

distinction is clearly articulated in the opinion of the

court of appeals.*°

C. FCC v. Midwest Video Corp.*" And The Other Tele-

vision Cases Are Not In Point.

All three Petitioners, particularly City of Willcox, rely

on FCC v. Midwest Video Corp. as controlling authority

requiring reversal of the court of appeals and the Com-

mission. We agree with the court of appeals that these

cases are distinguishable from the case at bar.

FCC v. Midwest Video Corp. is the last in a series of

cases ** which explored the First Amendment right of

F.2d 1155, 1167-68 (D.C. Cir. 1985) (discussing “the complex

policy questions” which justified the Commission treating abandoned

gas projects differently from abandoned electric projects.) )

23 Richmond Power & Light v. FERC, supra, 574 F.2d at 623.

24 660 F.2d at 679.

25 574 F.2d at 623.

26INGAA App. 28a-30a. See also Central Iowa Power Coop. v.

FERC, 606 F.2d 1156 (D.C. Cir. 1979).

27 440 U.S. 689 (1979).

28 FCC v. Pottsville Broadcasting Co., 309 U.S. 134 (1940);

United States v. Southwestern Cable Co., 392 U.S. 157 (1968);

T

freedom of speech in relation to the Federal Communica-

tions Act, and that Act’s purpose to preserve a degree of

editorial control in the broadcaster or cable operator. In

Midwest Video, the Court held that in the face of a di-

rect prohibition in Section 3(h) of the Federal Commun-

ications Act ™ against “treating broadcasters as common

carriers,” the Federal Communications Commission could

not require a cable television operator to maintain spe-

cific channels for the use of the public. No questions of

anti-trust violations or anti-competitive activity by the

broadcasters were presented. Instead the Court gave ef-

fect to the legislative purpose of the Federal Communi-

cations Act which was designed to “safeguard the journ-

alistic freedom of broadcasters.” *° In United States v.

Southwestern Cable Co., supra, this Court had upheld

the power of the Federal Communications Commission to

prohibit certain anti-competitive actions by a television

station, which the Court held did not make the station a

common carrier.** This is similar to the action taken by

the Commission and upheld by the court of appeals below.

While conceding that the accomplishment of the pur-

pose intended by Congress is a key element in interpret-

ing the extent of the Commission’s jurisdiction,” the City

of Willcox makes the astonishing assertion that the

NGPA “was not intended to promote competition in

either the interstate or intrastate pipeline fields.” **

Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 367 (1969); United

States v. Midwest Video Corp., 406 U.S. 649 (1972); Columbia

Broadcasting System, Inc. v. Democratic National Committee, 412

U.S. 94 (1973).

29 47 U.S.C. § 153(h).

30 FCC v. Midwest Video Corp., supra, 440 U.S. at 700.

31 United States v. Southwestern Cable Co., supra, 392 U.S. at 169

note 29 (1968).

82 City of Willcox Petition (No. 87-979) at 12.

33 Jd. at 13.

8

Contrary to the assertion made by the City of Willcox,

the Commission’s responsibility to consider competitive

factors is clear. This Court’s decision in Transconti-

nental Gas Pipe Line Corp. v. State Oil and Gas Board of

Mississippi,* referred to “Congress’ determination that

the supply, the demand, and the price of high-cost gas

be determined by market forces” in the NGPA.** The

controlling effect of the “market forces” over prices can-

not occur, as the Commission below found, where it is

prevented by the anti-competitive actions of interstate

pipeline companies.**7 Competition at the wellhead is pro-

moted by the NGPA. Competition cannot be effective at

the burner tip unless pipelines are prevented from dis-

criminating in favor of their own gas supplies in deliver-

ing gas to the ultimate consumer.

In the Maryland People’s Counsel cases,** the District

of Columbia Circuit reversed the Commission’s earlier

efforts to insert competition into sales at the market end

of interstate pipelines, on the grounds that it did not go

far enough in ensuring that all pipeline customers could

take advantage of the newly available supplies.* Those

34 Central Iowa Power Coop. v. FERC, 606 F.2d 1156, 1162 (D.C.

Cir. 1979); Central Power & Light Co. v. FERC, 575 F.2d 937, 938

(D.C. Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 981 (1978); Gulf States

Utilities Co. v. F.P.C., 411 U.S. 747 (1973).

35474 U.S. 409 (1986). See also Gulf States Utilities Co. v.

FPC, 411 U.S. 747 (1973).

36 Transcontinental Gas Pipe Corp. v. State Oil and Gas Board

of Mississippi, supra, 474 U.S. at ——-; 106 S.Ct. at 717, 88 L.Ed.2d

at 744. See also Public Service Commission of New York v. Mid-

Louisiana Gas Co., 463 U.S. 319, 331-32 (1983).

37 J.A. 1087; Supp. App. at SA-27 to SA-28.

38 Maryland People’s Counsel v. FERC, 761 F.2d 768 (D.C. Cir.

1985); Maryland People’s Counsel v, FERC, 761 F.2d 780 (D.C.

Cir. 1985) ; Maryland People’s Counsel vy. FERC, 768 F.2d 450 (D.C.

Cir. 1985).

39 761 F.2d at 788-89.

9

cases specifically directed the Commission to consider

competitive factors, finding that this Court’s instruction

in Atlantic Refining Company v. Public Service Commis-

sion required the Commission to “afford consumers a

complete, permanent and effective bond of protection

from excessive rates and charges,” * and that competi-

tion was one way of achieving this result.‘ Order No.

436 was the Commission’s response to the mandate of

the District of Columbia Circuit in the Maryland Peo-

ple’s Counsel cases.** The court below found the Com-

mission’s response to be reasonable.**

D. The Orders Below Do Not Force Interstate Pipe-

lines To Become Common Carriers.

1. Pipeline Participation In The Order No. 436

Program Is Voluntary.

The Commission repeatedly stated that participation

in the Order No. 436 open-access transportation program

was voluntary on the part of the interstate pipeline, and

if the pipeline chose to continue operations as before, it

could do so. The Petitioners assert that in reality pipe-

lines are forced to participate in the program or lose out

on the competitive market to other pipelines who are

willing to accept the drawbacks of the program in return

for its advantages. Petitioners refer to the statement of

the court of appeals that “inability to provide blanket

certificate transportation for fuel-switchable users may

in current market circumstances cause critical load

loss,” ® forcing the pipelines into a choice between being

#9 360 U.S. 378, 388 (1959).

41 761 F.2d at 777.

#2 J.A. 356-357, 1086; Supp. App. at. SA-13 to SA-15, SA-26 to

SA-27.

48 INGAA App. 31la-34a.

#4 J.A. 355-356, 1082-1086; Supp. App. at SA-12 to SA-14, SA-23

to SA-27.

46 INGAA App. 81a.

10

shot and hanged.** Any adverse consequences to the pipe-

line of continuing to operate as it did before Order No.

436 are the result of market forces, not of Commission

action “forcing” that pipeline to become a common car-

rier. As the court of appeals observed, “nothing bars the

Commission from devising rules that remedy a lack of

competition by exposing pipelines to competition and its

normal consequences.” ** This Court held in Market

Street Railway v. Railroad Commission, that regulation

was not designed to protect regulated companies from

losses brought about by market conditions.“

As the Commission noted in the Orders below, Order

No. 436 “does not direct or ‘mandate’ a pipeline to do

anything.” ** It only requires that when a pipeline does

choose to transport on a self-implementing basis, it must

provide those transportation services in a non-discrim-

inatory manner.” A pipeline remains free to seek au-

thorization for other transportation not covered by the

condition and the Commission will review such requests

on a case-by-case basis.™

The Commission pointed out the “all important distine-

tion” between common carriage and the Order No. 436

open-access transportation program—the fact that the

pipeline continued to have the option to provide trans-

portation services under NGA Section 7 certificates, and

a pipeline could cease transporting under the Order No.

436 program and revert to its former status. Unlike

46 Jd.; See Texas Eastern Petition (No. 87-977) at 8.

47 INGAA App. 32a-33a.

48 324 U.S. 548, 566-67 (1945).

49 J.A. 1082-1083; Supp. App. at SA-23 to SA-24.

50 Jd.

51 Jd.

&2 J.A. 1085; Supp. App. at SA-26.

11

the mandatory common carriage proposals considered by

Congress but not enacted,** the Order No. 436 open-access

program effectively allows the pipeline the discretion to

determine whether or not to become a transporter of gas

belonging to others.™*

The Commission’s open-access program was feund to

be necessary to prevent an interstate pipeline from en-

gaging in the unduly discriminatory practice of refusing

to transport gas for others where to do so would displace

its own sales.® In order to avoid the unlawful discrim-

ination which the District of Columbia Circuit warned

against in the Maryland People’s Counsel cases, supra,

the pipeline was required to choose one of three alterna-

tives:

(i) It could refuse to transport gas belonging to

others at all.

(ii) It could transport gas for others under in-

dividual certificates issued pursuant to Section 7 of

the NGA.

(iii) It could transport gas under the blanket cer-

tificates authorized by Order No. 436 provided it

agreed to do so without discrimination.

Moreover, the pipeline can change its mind and shift

from one role to another. While the pipeline might ob-

tain some commercial advantage out of accepting the

Order No. 436 blanket certificate, it is certainly not re-

quired by the Commission’s Order to do so. By no stretch

of the imagination does this rise to the level of imposing

mandatory common carriage upon the interstate pipe-

lines.

2. Non-Discrimination Is Not Common Carriage.

All three Petitioners make the unwarranted assump-

tion that because the Order No. 436 transportation re-

583 INGAA Petition (No. 87-976) 9-10; City of Willcox Petition

(No. 87-979) at 12-15; Texas Eastern Petition (No. 87-977) at 6-8.

54 J.A. 1085; Supp. App. at SA-26.

55 Id.

12

quires pipelines which elect to transport under blanket

certificates to do so without discrimination on a first-

come, first-served basis, that the Commission has imposed

“common carrier status” upon them.” But the imposi-

tion of one of the attributes of common carriage as a

condition to the non-compulsory participation in a par-

ticular transportation program does not confer “common

carrier status” on interstate pipelines. This distinction

is clearly made in FCC v. Midwest Video Corp., supra.**

The NGA, as distinguished from the Federal Communi-

cations Act, contains no prohibition against imposing

“common carrier obligations” upon interstate pipelines

in limited circumstances where the failure to do so would

result in undue discrimination, which is directly pro-

hibited by the NGA.**

E. Order No. 436 Does Not Violate Section 602(b)(2)

Of The NGPA.”

Petitioners ™ assert that Order No. 436 violates the

provisions of Section 602(b) (2) of the NGPA which pro-

vide in pertinent part:

56 INGAA Petition (No. 87-976) at 7; City of Willcox Petition

(No. 87-979) at 5-6; Texas Eastern Petition (No. 87-977) at 5-6.

57 The NARUC cases (National Ass’n of Regulatory Utilities

Comm’n v. FCC, 525 F.2d 630 (D.C. Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 425

U.S. 992 (1976); National Ass’n of Regulatory Utilities Comm’n

v. FCC, 533 F.2d 601 (D.C. Cir. 1976) ) cited by City of Willcox at 9

are not in point. The District of Columbia Circuit noted in NARUC

II “a carrier will not be a common carrier where its practice is to

make individualized decisions in particular cases whether and on

what terms to serve” (533 F.2d at 608-09). Under Order No. 436,

an interstate pipeline has the option to commence or discontinue

open-access transportation.

58 440 U.S. at 701-02.

59 INGAA App. 26a-27a.

#15 U.S.C. § 3432(b). This Section is entitled “Effect on state

laws” which supports the court of appeals’ conclusion as to its pur-

pose, see INGAA App. 34a-37a.

61 City of Willcox Petition (No. 87-979) at 10; INGAA Petition

(No. 87-976) at 15; Texas Eastern Petition (No. 87-977) at 9.

13

No person shall be subject to regulation as a com-

mon carrier under any provision of Federal or State

law by reason of any transportation—

(2) authorized by the Commission under Section

311(a) of this Act.

The short answer to this argument is that neither

under Order No. 436 nor any other Order has the Com-

mission subjected interstate pipelines “to regulation as a

common carrier.” * Petitioners confuse the limited im-

position of one of the obligations of a common carrier,

only where the pipeline elects to transport under the Or-

der No. 436 program and only where necessary to pre-

vent discrimination and monoplistic practices, with “reg-

ulation as a common carrier.” The discussion of this ar-

gument by the court of appeals defends both its inter-

pretation and that of the Commission: “

The reasonableness [of FERC’s interpretation of

§ 602(b) (2)] is underscored by FERC’s broad du-

ties to assure consumers access to natural gas at

prices such as would prevail in the absence of pipe-

line market power and its conclusion that under the

present circumstances fulfillment of that duty re-

quired such conditioning. Cf. American Trucking

Ass’n, Inc. v. Atchison T. & S.F. Ry. Co., 387 US.

397 (1967)... .™

62 The Commission so found, (J.A. 1084; Supp. App. at SA-25)

and the court of appeals agreed (INGAA App. 35a-39a).

68 INGAA App. 35a-39a.

INGAA App. 37a.

14

II. The Optional Expedited Certificate Procedure Estab-

lished By The Commission’s Orders Represents A Valid

Exercise Of The Commission’s Authority And Contains

Provisions Which Are Not Ripe For Review.

A. The Optional Expedited Certificate Procedure’s

Substantive Provisions Are Within The Commis-

sion’s Discretionary Authority And Will Not Inter-

fere With State Jurisdiction.

Southern California Gas Company (“SoCal’’) seeks re-

view of the Optional Expedited Certificate Procedure

(“OECP”) on grounds that, in adopting the “rebuttable

presumption” comprising the heart of the rule, the Com-

mission abdicated its responsibilities under the NGA,

neglected to consider the risk of duplicative or wasteful

facilities, and failed to adequately consider the potentially

adverse impact which “LDC bypass” “ may inflict on

the local distribution companies’ customers. To the con-

trary, however, both the Commission, in Order Nos. 436

and 436-A, and the court of appeals fully considered all

relevant factors and determined that the provisions of

the OECP minimized any potentially adverse impact

while adequately discharging the Commission’s statutory

responsibilities. Recognizing Congress’ primary objective

in enacting the NGA’s certificate requirement is to avoid

ratepayer subsidization of duplicative or economically

wasteful projects and decisions, the Commission struc-

tured the OECP so as to guard against “risk-shifting”

to pipeline customers and the public. Additionally, the

Commission designed the OECP so that, once an applicant

has initially met prima facie criteria showing that it will

6 “LDC bypass” involves situations where an end-user secures

pipeline transportation of natural gas purchased directly from pro-

ducers and other gas merchants thereby bypassing the local dis-

tribution company servicing the area in which the end-user is

located. SoCal App. at C-108 (“SoCal App.” refers to the appendix

submitted with ‘he petition in No. 87-1091).

66 INGAA App. at 112a.

eo

15

assume the full economic risk of the venture, local dis-

tribution companies, customers and other affected parties

may, through a challenge to the applicant’s factual show-

ing raising relevant offsetting factors, prompt evaluation

of any potential impact on competition.” Finally, through

an economic and regulatory analysis of “LDC bypass”

and its pro-competitive effects, both the Commission and

the court of appeals concluded that any adverse impact

to local distribution companies or their customers is a

function of, and may be minimized by, the policies and

practices of state regulatory agencies.“ The Commis-

sion’s choice of procedures to discharge its responsibilities

under Section 7/c), resting on careful and reasoned

analysis, is within its discretion to make and cannot be

viewed as arbitrary and capricious.”

SoCal’s claims that the OECP creates a “regulatory

gap” and interferes with state jurisdiction likewise have

no merit. SoCal argues that, since the OECP fails to

allow a meaningful review of bypass applications, the

absence or uncertainty surrounding state regulation to

adequately handle bypass means that the OECP must

fail. These arguments, however, fail to discern the in-

terrelationship between federal and state authority and

ignore the fact that the OECP will continue to allow the

Commission and state regulatory agencies to continue to

act within their respective spheres of authority. Regard-

less of whether the Commission discharges NGA jurisdic-

tion through the traditional certificate process or the

OECP, the scope of the Commission’s authority remains

well defined and is intended to supplement state author-

87 SoCal App. at C-111, C-121 and D-77.

®8 SoCal App. at C-108, C-109, D-76, D-77; INGAA App. at

106a-107a.

*® Motor Vehicle Manufacturers Ass'n v. State Farm Mutual Auto-

mobile Insurance Co., 463 U.S. 29, 43 (1983), quoting Burlington

Truck Lines, Inc. v. United States; 371 U.S. 156, 168 (1962).

16

ity.” The court of appeals recognized this bright-line

delineation of authority in stating that the ‘(Commission

fulfills its mission under the [NGA] if it establishes con-

ditions by which gas arrives in the hands of consumers

or LDCs on terms that conform to the Act.” *' Viewed

in these terms, the OECP neither expands nor restricts

the scope of complementing state authority to regulate

the “LDC bypass.”

B. The Optional Expedited Certificate Procedural Pro-

visions Are Not Ripe For Review.

In contrast to issues concerning. the Commission’s

authority to adopt the OECP, the court of appeals cor-

rectly determined that SoCal’s complaints as to the proce-

dural aspects of the rule are not sufficiently ripe for

review.” In addition to directly challenging the Commis-

sion’s authority to streamline the traditional certificate

process, SoCal attempts to raise a number of attacks on

the procedural aspects of the OECP’s presumption provi-

sions which the court of appeals characterized as “highly

abstract and speculative.” Review by this Court at

this time is premature at best and should be deferred

pending a final formulation of the Commission’s optional

certificate regulations.

It is clear that SoCal’s complaints concerning the pro-

cedural provisions of the OECP are only theoretical and

70 FPC v. East Ohio Gas Co., 338 U.S. 464 (1950). See H.R. Rep.

No. 709, 75th Cong., Ist Sess. 2 (1937).

T1INGAA App. at 108a. Whether and the extent to which states

may regulate “LDC bypass” or interstate gas sales to end-users is a

separate question which has no direct bearing on the scope of the

Commission’s NGA-based authority over pipeline transportation.

See, e.g., Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Co. v. Michigan Public Serv-

ice Commission, 341 U.S. 329 (1951); Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line

Co. v. Public Service Commission of Indiana, 332 U.S. 507 (1947).

72 INGAA App. at 97a-102a.

73 INGAA App. 100a-101a.

17

speculative at this juncture. Thus, review by the Court

would result in a premature adjudication in the nature

of an advisory opinion.“ As the court of appeals ac-

knowledged below, the procedural issues raised by SoCal

has not yet been addressed by the Commission or the

courts in a specific factual context.** Since these issues,

including specifically the effect of the “rebuttable pre-

sumption,” can be contested and reviewed in specific pro-

ceedings before the Commission, the OECP in its present

form does not present issues which are fit for judicial

decision and no hardship to SoCal can result from with-

holding a generic and abstract consideration of the OECP

at this time.

CONCLUSION

The Petitions for Certiorari in Nos. 87-976, 87-977,

87-979 and 87-1091 should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

THOMAS G. JOHNSON *

Attorney for

SHELL OFFSHORE INC.

SHELL WESTERN E&P INc.

One Shell Plaza

P.O. Box 2463

Houston, Texas 77252

(713) 241-4742

* Counsel of Record

™ Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136 (1967).

™ INGAA App. at 100a-101a.

AND ON BEHALF OF:

AMOCO PRODUCTION COMPANY

WILLIAM T. BENHAM

P.O. Box 5910-A

Chicago, Illinois 60680

(312) 856-7941

APACHE CORPORATION

CHARLES H. BROWNMAN

One United Bank Center

Suite 1900

1700 Lincoln Street

Denver, Colorado 80203-4519

(303) 837-5074

ARCO OIL AND GAS COMPANY

A Division of Atlantic

Richfield Company

HARRIS S. Woop *

NORMA J. ROSNER

P.O. Box 2819

Dallas, Texas 75221

(214) 880-4869

CHEVRON U.S.A. INC.

GERALD P. THURMOND

575 Market Street

San Francisco, California 94105

(415) 894-1717

Of Counsel

DAVID J. EVANS *

JAMES B. ATKIN

PILLSBURY, MADISON & SUTRO

Suite 1100

1667 K Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 463-2366

CITIES SERVICE OIL AND GAS

CORPORATION

MICHAEL L. PATE

P.O. Box 300

Tulsa, Oklahoma 74102

(918) 561-4541

KERR-MCGEE CORPORATION

JOHNNY J. AKINS

P.O. Box 25861

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73125

(405) 270-2864

* Counsel of Record

18

MARATHON Or COMPANY

GEORGE H. ROTHSCHILD, JR.

ROBERT C. MURRAY

P.O. Box 3128

Houston, Texas 77253

(713) 629-6600

Of Counsel

JON L. BRUNENKANT *

GROVE, JASKIEWICZ, GILLIAM

AND COBERT

1730 M Street

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 296-2900

MAXUS ENERGY CORPORATION

DIAMOND SHAMROCK OFFSHORE

PARTNERS LIMITED

PARTNERSHIP

R. BRENT HARSHMAN *

RONALD J. NELSON

LTV Center—Suite 1400

2001 Ross Avenue

Dallas, Texas 75201-2916

(214) 979-5027

MOBIL OIL CORPORATION

MosiL Om EXPLORATION &

PRODUCING SOUTHEAST INC.

MOBIL PRODUCING TEXAS &

NEW MEXxico INc.

MOBIL EXPLORATION AND

PRODUCING NORTH AMERICA

INC.

JAY G. MARTIN *

THOMAS GEORGE WAGNER

Nine Greenway Plaza—

Suite 2700

Houston, Texas 77046

(713) 235-1443

PENNZOIL COMPANY

JOHN B. CHAPMAN *

KATHLEEN E. MAGRUDER

P.O. Box 2967

Houston, Texas 77252

(713) 546-8859

Of Counsel

JOHN K. MCDONALD

CHARLES E. SUFFLING

BUTLER & BINION

1747 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 466-6900

PHILLIPS PETROLEUM COMPANY

PHILLIPS 66 NATURAL GAS

COMPANY

LARRY PAIN *

1258 Adams Building

Bartlesville, Oklahoma 74004

(918) 661-6355

ROSEWOOD RESOURCES, INC.

LESLIE J. BURTON *

JOHN J. WOLFE

200 Crescent Court

Suite 300

Dallas, Texas 75201

(214) 871-5527

SuN EXPLORATION AND

PRODUCTION COMPANY

CHARLES L. SPANN *

P.O. Box 2880

Dallas, Texas 75221-2880

(214) 890-5607

* Counsel uf Record

February, 1988

TEXACO INC.

RALPH J. PEARSON, JR.*

JAMES D. HURLEY

P.O. Box 52332

Houston, Texas 77052

(713) 650-4297

UNION OIL COMPANY OF

CALIFORNIA

KENNETH L.. RIEDMAN

Union Oil Center—Room 1120

P.O. Box 7600

Los Angeles, California 90051

(213) 977-6282

UNION PACIFIC RESOURCES

COMPANY

KERRY R. BRITTAIN *

ALAN W. TOMME

Mail Station No. 4010

P.O. Box 7

Fort Worth, Texas 76101-0007

(817) 877-7540

UNION TEXAS PETROLEUM

CORPORATION

F. NAN WAGONER

P.O. Box 2120

Houston, Texas 77252-2120

(713) 968-2856

SUPPLEMENTAL

APPENDIX

SA-1

SUPPLEMENTAL APPENDIX

EXCERPTS FROM ORDER NO 436

[JA 305]

J * . *

An interstate pipeline, however, seeking to sell gas

from its system supply (a commingled stream of gas that

was at the wellhead both NGA-jurisdictional and NGA-

non-jurisdictional) is subject to the full panoply of statu-

tory regulation governing market entry, market exit and

price. As a result, even for already certificated sales to

existing customers, it may change its rates only upon

30 days advance notice. It must supply extensive docu-

mentation detailing each and every source of natural gas

supply, including an identification of the seller, the loca-

tion, and the price. If it seeks to provide a new service

to an existing customer, it must file for and obtain a

section 7(c) certificate authorizing the new service. Any

party opposing the new market entry has a right to ex-

plore genuine issues of material fact in a contested, trial-

type hearing.

The rationale for maintaining utility-type market

entry, exit, and price regulation over the sales for resale

of interstate pipelines while removing that regulation for

similar sales by other market entities is only implicit in

the NGPA but appears plain enough: While Congress

concluded that gas production was [JA 306] sufficiently

competitive to remove regulation, the control which in-

terstate pipelines exercised over transportation still con-

ferred on them the same kind of market power over

their customers as had existed at the time of enactment

of the NGA.”

If customers had access to transportation for gas which

they purchase directly in the competitive, commodity

market, the pipeline would find itself at a serious competi-

tive disadvantage in marketing gas in competition with

SA-2

producers and other entities because the regulatory rules

as to market entry, exit and price would deprive it of

the flexibility to meet the competition. We have already

seen a good deal of that with the development of the spot

market, the resulting decline in pipeline sales and in-

creased use of transportation. And with the advent of

repeated out-of-cycle PGA filings, we have seen what may

be the beginnings of a virtual “posted price” approach to

gas at the resale end where pipelines compete against

other pipelines.”

Yet a pipeline that accepts the open access condition

tendered in the final rule will have agreed to provide its

customers with that access, thereby accelerating the

process. This would thus require those pipelines that wish

to remain merchants to seek greatly increased pricing

flexibility.

* . * .

[JA 318]

5. The pipelines have generally expressed a reluctance

to provide these transportation services on a non-

discriminatory basis to their existing sales cus-

tomers ** or to customers without immedia‘e fuel-

switching capability, such as residential and com-

mercial consumers.”

a. With respect to incremental volumes (i.e., gas

that would not displace a sale by the pipeline

itself from its own contracted-for supply), pipe-

lines generally do not have adequate incentives

to provide this service as long as the pipeline’s

rate structure requires the crediting to the pipe-

line’s sales customers of essentially all revenues

received from the transportation. The regula-

tions allowed the pipeline to elect an option pur-

suant to which costs would be allocated to the

transportation service (allowing retention of the

revenues), but until fairly recently most major

pipelines had not elected that option.” Moreover,

SA-3

the pipelines have been under no legal obligation

to elect the revenue retention option. Once pipe-

lines began to design their rates to allocate costs

to the transportation service, thereby obtaining

the right to retain revenue, the ratemaking

rationale for declining to transport incrementa!

volumes has diminished.

[JA 319]

b. With regard to volumes of gas that would dis-

place a sale by the pipeline from its own con-

tracted-for supply, the situation has been some-

what more complex.

(i) Where the pipeline’s take-or-pay exposure

was so great that it believed that prepaid

gas would never be able to be “made up,”

the pipeline faced the possibility of forfeit-

ing the entire principal amount of the pre-

payment. Under these economic circum-

stances, even where the pipeline was able to

retain the revenues received from providing

transportation, the pipeline would still lose

money were it to transport gas that would

displace a unit of contracted-for gas. The

more gas it transported, the more money it

would lose. Under these circumstances the

pipeline’s reluctance to transport was at its

height. Accordingly, it is important to pro-

vide flexibility for pipelines and producers

to renegotiate these contracts, to review

“buy-outs,’”” “buy-downs” and to provide for

expedited treatment of limited term and

permanent producer abandonment and certi-

ficate requests.

[JA 320]

(ii) Where the pipeline’s take-or-pay exposure

was not so great as to confront it with the

hen

SA-4

prospect of forfeiting prepayments, the

question was more one of fixed cost alloca-

tion. If the pipeline had to finance the pre-

payments, who should bear the burden of

the carrying charges, the fixed costs asso-

ciated with the prepayment: the sales cus-

tomers, the transportation customers, the

producer (by not being paid in accordance

with the contract), or the pipeline’s share-

hoiders?

6. As a result of the pattern of contractual arrange-

ments developed by the industry during previous

eras of pipeline expansion® and supply curtail-

ment,” such as take-or-pay and minimum bill pro-

visions,** customers of pipelines have been allocated

a large part of the risk that gas supplies deregula-

lated by the NGPA might prove unmarketable over

the life of contracts signed by producers and pipe-

lines.

In turn, the Commission’s administration of its

ratemaking and certificate obligations under the

NGA ™ has impeded the ability of natural gas con-

sumers to secure the rewards of competition in nat-

ural gas markets commensurate with the risks

[JA 321] that have been allocated to them by

pipelines and producers.

In particular, the Commission’s policy of full

rolled-in pricing of price-controlled and deregulated

gas supplies has frustrated the transmission of clear

and accurate price signals between the city-gate

and the wellhead,” and has permitted pipelines to

bid up new gas prices above market-clearing levels.”

The Commission’s policy of discouraging the flex-

ible entry and exit of new pipeline services from

natural gas markets is thwarting the expansion of

the interstate pipeline system in order to provide

SA-5

for changing end-uses of gas*’ and changing loca-

tions of new gas fields.**

7. Asa result, average delivered prices of gas are not

adjusting downwards in line with the decline in

field prices,” and this failure is causing unneces-

sarily high energy costs to consumers and a very

large loss to the American economy in jobs, produc-

tion, and net economic efficiency.’

* . * *

[JA 346]

2. Commission authority to prescribe the non-discrimi-

natory access condition.

a. Authority to impose on interstate transportation

by interstate pipelines.

The proposed rule provided that self-implementing

transportation authorizations under section 311 of the

NGPA and blanket transportation certificates issued un-

der section 7 of the NGA would be subject to an express

non-discriminatory access condition. The express condi-

tion provided that any interstate or intrastate pipeline

that provides any transportation service pursuant to such

authority or certificate shall provide such service for all

shippers willing to pay the applicable tariff rate on file

with the Commission for the service requested, without

discrimination in the quality of service provided, the

categories, prices, or volumes of natural gas transported,

customer classification, or discrimination of any kind.

[JA 347]

Comments

Some commenters misunderstood the non-discriminatory

access condition to require that all self-implementing

transportation requests, including patently unreasonable

requests, be accepted by transporters.®

SA-6

Commission Response

This was not the Commission’s intent. Therefore, the

non-discriminatery access condition has been revised in

the final rule to insert the word “undue” to track the

NGA statutory standard.” The final rule thus is intended

to prohibit undue discrimination, or preference, including

but not limited to undue discrimination or preference in

the quality of service; duration of service; categories,

prices, or volumes of gas transported (including as be-

tween affiliated and non-affiliated producers or shippers) ;

and customer classification (including whether or not

transportation would displace sales to an existing sales

customer of the transporting pipeline).

Moreover, the final rule expressly provides that a pipe-

line may impose reasonable operational conditions on any

request for self-implementing service. See sections 284.8

(ec) and 284.9(c). Such conditions are required to be

made a part of the pipeline’s tariff, however, and thus

will be subject to public scrutiny and Commission review.

Id.

Comments

Most of the commenters who address the non-

discriminatory access conditions support the Commission’s

proposal. Those in [JA 348] favor of the proposal in-

clude a quarter of the major interstate pipelines, nearly

half the intrastate pipelines, a majority of local distribu-

tion companies (LDCs) and virtually all industrial end-

users, producers and public entities. The majority of

interstate and intrastate pipelines oppose the proposal.*

Those in favor of the non-discriminatory access condi-

tion generally state that it is necessary in order to effec-

tuate the consumer protection and competition goals of

the NGA and NGPA. They assert that it is reasonable

in light of the increased demands for transportation of

lower-priced gas in natural gas markets, and that it

should be clearly stated and broadly applied in order to

os

SA-7

avoid evasion by pipelines on a case-by-case basis. They

conclude that the Commission has legal authority to

impose the condition.

The majority of commenters support the application of

the non-discriminatory access condition to pipelines that

choose to participate in the Commission’s self-

implementing transportation programs. They generally

indicate the view that the Commission has sufficient

authority to implement the non-discriminatory access con-

dition under both NGA section 7(e), which grants the

Commission authority to attach reasonable conditions to

certificates, and NGA sections 4(b) and 5(a), which

prohibit undue discrimination or preference in rates,

charges, or practices.®

Amony the cases cited in support of the Commission’s

authority under the NGA to impose the non-discriminatory

access condition [JA 349] are: Gulf Oil Corporation v.

FPC, 563 F.2d 588, 596-97 (3rd Cir. 1977) and Amer-

ican Trucking Association, Inc. v. Atcheson, Topeka, &

Sante Fe Railway Company, 387 U.S. 397 (1967). Proc-

ess Gas Consumers Group (PGC) also cites several cases

in which the courts have read NGA section 7 very

broadly to uphold certificate conditions imposed by the

Commission; Atlantic Refining Company v. PSC, 360 U.S.

378 (1959) ; Transcontinential Gas Pipeline Co. v. FERC,

589 F.2d 186, 190 (5th Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 445, U.S.

915 (1980) (eonditioning of- eertificates-to-ensure appro-

priate allocation of risk); and Alabama-Tennessee Nat-

ural Gas Co. v. FPC, 203 F.2d 494 (8rd Cir. 1953)

(imposition of rate conditions).

The main argument of the commenters that oppose the

non-discriminatory access provision is that the condition

would, in effect, subject interstate and intrastate pipe-

lines to regulation as common carriers.’° According to

these commenters, while participation in the _ self-

implementing program may be. voluntary, participation

SA-8

for all practical purposes is mandatory because pipelines

will be forced by economic and competitive necessity to

participate in the program in order to remain financially

viable. Others argue that the non-discriminatory access

provision could have the effect of imposing increased costs

on customers, such as take-or-pay costs when transporta-

tion displaces sales.™

Furthermore, these commenters argue that the Com-

mission does not have legal authority to apply the condi-

tion to either certificates issued under section 7 of the

NGA or self-implementing transportation authorized

under section 311 of the NGPA.

[JA 350]

Several of the commenters point to the legislative his-

tory of the NGA in support of their view that the Com-

mission is abusing its section 7 conditioning authority in

attempting to do indirectly that which Congress has ex-

pressly declined to give the Commission authority to do

directly, i.e., make pipelines common carriers.’* These

commenters point to the express omission of common car-

rier authority in the legislative history of both the NGA

and NGPA, as well as several legislative proposals to

impose non-discriminatory access or express common car-

rier requirements on natural gas pipelines which have

been introduced in Congress but not enacted since enact-

ment of the NGA.”

For example, Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line notes that

there has been but one exception to what it perceives as

Congress’ long-standing reluctance to legislate common

carriage by natural gas pipelines. That exception is the

requirement in the Outer Continental Shelf Lands Act of

1978, 42 U.S. §§ 13834(e) and (f), that natural gas

pipelines to which the Secretary of the Interior has

granted authority to transport Outer Continental Shelf

(OCS) gas must provide transportation on a _ non-

discriminatory basis. Panhandle reasons that the absence

SA-9

of a similar provision in the NGA and NGPA demon-

strates that Congress concluded that the Commission

should not have the authority to require that pipelines

authorized to transport natural gas under those Acts do

so in a non-discriminatory manner.

“TIA 351]

Intrastate pipelines and their state regulatory bodies

assert that the access condition is an unsupportable at-

tempt to pre-empt state regulation of intrastate activi-

ies."

Commission Response

In considering those comments that suggest the

Commission lacks legal authority to apply the non-

discriminatory access condition to interstate transporta-

tion under the NGA the Commission has reviewed the

requirements of the NGA, including legislative history

and relevant case law.

Section 7(e) of the NGA states, in pertinent part,

that:

The Commission shall have the power to attach to

the issuance of the certificate and to the exercise of

the rights granted thereunder such reasonable terms

and conditions as the public convenience and neces-

sity may require.

According to the Supreme Court:

The Act was so framed as to afford consumers a

complete, permanent and effective bond of protection

from excessive rates and charges...

. . . In view of this framework in which the Com-

mission is authorized and directed to act, the initial

certification of a proposal under §7(e) of the Act as

being required by the public convenience and neces-

sity becomes crucial. This is true because the delay

SA-10

incident to determination in § 5 proceedings through

which initial certificated rates are reviewable ap-

pears nigh interminable.”

Thus, the Commission’s certificate and conditioning

authority is the means by which it effectuates the pur-

pose of the NGA to underwrite just and reasonable rates

to the consumers of natural gas.’® Any attack on a con-

dition in a certificate issued by the Commission must

confront the well-established principle that [JA 352]

generally the Commission has extremely broad au-

thority to condition certificates of public convenience and

necessity.

This broad conditioning authority must be examined

in the context of Congress’ consideration of the NGA it-

self. It is abundantly clear from the history of the Act

and from the events that prompted its adoption that Con-

gress considered the natural gas industry to be heavily

concentrated and that monopolistic forces were deter-

mining the amount of natural gas that could be marketed

by fixing the amount that could be transported."

Thus, section 7(e) of the NGA gives the Commission

the power to attach conditions to certificates where re-

quired by the public convenience and necessity.

Beyond section 7, however, sections 4 and 5 of the

NGA also prohibit unduly discriminatory or preferential

practices by natural gas companies. The Commission has

determined that the practice of restricting access to

transportation is unduly discriminatory and preferential;

and, importantly, has prevented consumers from obtain-

ing the lowest reasonable rates for both transmission

services and gas costs. Therefore, the Commission intends

the final rule to be an exercise of its conditioning au-

thority to effectuate the non-discrimination requirements

of the Act and to ensure that consumers will obtain gas

and transportation at just and reasonable rates.

SA-11

Given the breadth of our section 7 conditioning au-

thority and our obligation under sections 4 and 5, we

must\ask whether the proposed non-discriminatory access

condition is so broad as [JA 353] to impose, either di-

rectly or indirectly, common carrier obligations on pipe-

lines in violation of the NGA.

Notwithstanding the basis of the condition in sections

4, 5 and 7 of the NGA, several commenters have asserted

that Congress failed to enact amendments to the NGA

which would have imposed mandatory transportation re-

quirements on natural gas pipelines, and therefore the

NGA by implication does not authorize the Commission

to impose common carrier status on pipelines."*

Of key interest to the Commission in its review of the

legislative history are sections 303 and 304 of Title III

of H.R. 5423 introduced in 1935 by Representative Sam

Rayburn, Chairman of the House Committee on Inter-

state and Foreign Commerce.”

Sections 303 and 304 of H.R. 5423 provided in perti-

nent part (emphasis added) :

Section 303(a). It shall be the duty of every dis-

tributor to furnish natural gas, to exchange natural

gas with, and transmit natural gas for any person

upon reasonable request therefor; and to furnish and

maintain such services and facilities as shall pro-

mote the safety, comfort and conveniences of all its

customers, employees, and the public, and shall be

in all respects adequate, efficient and reasonable...

Section 304. Whenever the Commission after no-

tice and opportunity for hearing finds such action

necessary or desirable in the public interest, it may

by order direct a distributor to make additions, ex-

tensions, repairs, or improvements to or changes in

its facilities, to establish physical connection with

the facilities of one or more persons, to permit those

SA-12

of its facilities by one or more persons, or utilize the

facilities of, sell natural gas to, purchase natural

gas from, transmit natural gas for, or exchange

natural gas with one or more other persons...

[T]he [JA 354] Commission may prescribe the

terms and conditions of the arrangement to be made

between such persons, including the apportionment

of reimbursement reasonably due to any of them.”

If these sections would have imposed common carrier

obligations on natural gas ;ipelines, and therefore were

rejected by Congress, a principal attribute of common

carrier status must be its mandatory nature. Thus, sec-

tion 303 would have imposed an affirmative “duty” on

pipelines to “transmit” natural gas “for any person.”

Section 304 would have provided the Commission with

the concomitant authority to “by order direct” any pipe-

line to “transmit natural gas for . . . one or more other

persons....”

Sections 303 and 304 must be read in the context of

sections 4(b) and 5(a) of the NGA as enacted. In con-

trast to proposed section 303’s affirmative duty, section

4(b) flatly prohibits “any undue preference or advan-

tage” and “any reasonable difference” in service or as

between classes of service. In contrast to proposed section

304’s discretion to order transportation, section 5(a)

contains no express authority to order transportation.

Instead, section 5 permits the Commission to find that

“any rule, regulation, practice or contract” affecting

transportation rates, charges or classifications is “. .

unduly discriminatory, or preferential” and thereafter

fix prospectively by order the “just and reasonable .. .

rule, regulation, practice or contract” to be observed.

On the one hand, sections 303 and 304 would have im-

posed an affirmative duty on pipelines to transport for

others and backed [JA 355] up that duty with discre-

tionary authority on the part of the Commission to order

such transportation.

SA-13

On the other hand, sections 4, 5, and 7 of the NGA

attach non-discrimination obligations to the “practices”

of pipelines and back up those obligations with broad con-

ditioning authority on the part of the Commission. But

the Natural Gas Act does not expressly require pipelines

to transport for others as an affirmative duty.

We have considered whether the non-discriminatory

access condition in the final rule amounts to a “direction”

or a “mandate” to pipelines to transport for others as an

“affirmative duty.” First, the condition is just that: a

condition on the certification or authorization of certain

self-implementing transportation services which a pipe-

line may voluntarily choose to perform or not, strictly at

its own option. Thus, it does not “direct” or “mandate”

a pipeline to do anything. Second, the condition, even

when accepted by a pipeline as part of its self-

implementing transportation program, does not impose

any “affirmative duty” on a pipeline to transport. It

only requires that when a pipeline does choose to trans-

port on a self-implementing basis, it must provide those

transportation services in a non-discriminatory manner.

Nor does the condition cover all transportation services

and thus operate as mandatory in effect. A pipeline re-

mains free to seek authorization for other transportation

programs not covered by the condition and the Commis-

sion will review them on a case-by-case basis.

[JA 356]

In addition, the condition expressly applies, verbatim,

the statutory prohibitions on unduly discriminatory or

preferential practices, rates or charges imposed by Con-

gress when it enacted sections 4 and 5 of the NGA.”

The Commission need not decide in this rulemaking

whether it may ever order transportation on a manda-

tory basis. The Commission plainly has broad powers to

enforce the congressional directives and these powers are

at their height when the Commission is fashioning a

SA44

remedy for a violation of the statute or an existing

regulation. Niagara Mohawk Power Co. v. FPC, 379

F.2d 153, 159 (D.C. Cir. 1967). But while these powers

may be available in appropriate cases, there is no need

to test their scope here, where the regulatory obligations

are voluntarily assumed.” Further, the conditien only

applies with regard to each of the individual types of

transportation service offered and does not cover trans-

portation under existing individual section 7 certificates

or new individual section 7 certificates filed outside of

the optional expedited certificate procedure.

Judicial recognition of the Commission’s authority to

impose the non-discriminatory access condition has al-

ready been indicated in the companion cases Maryland

Peoples Counsel v. FERC, Nos. 84-1019 and 84-1090

(D.C. Cir. 1985). In those cases, the court vacated Co-

lumbia Transmission Company’s special marketing pro-

gram and the Commission’s rule allowing pipeline trans-

portation for certain industrial end-users. In both in-

stances, the court found the Commission had not justified

the programs to the extent they [JA 357] allowed pipe-

lines to transport gas to some customers without requir-

ing pipelines to furnish the same service to all customers

on non-discriminatory terms.

In its order on the blanket certificate program (No.

84-1090), the court noted, id, at n.19, that MPC’s plea

that blanket transportation certificates be conditioned on

non-discriminatory access accords with the recommenda-

tion of the Department of Energy: “To achieve the bene-

fits of a properly developed spot market for natural gas

. . . FERC should use its authority over natural gas

transportation to require pipeline companies to provide

carriage on a non-discriminatory basis whenever there is

idle pipeline capacity.” DOE Report, supra, p. 3, at 82.

The court further noted that the Commission does not

question that it has such authority, citing Tennessee Gas

Pipeline Co. v. FERC, 689 F.2d 212, 214-15 (D.C. Cir.

= SA-15

1982) ; Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp. v. FERC,

589 F.2d 186, 190 (5th Cir. 1979) (invoking “the well-

established principle that generally the Commission has

extremely broad authority to condition certificates of pub-

lie convenience and necessity”), cert. denied, 445 U.S.

915 (1980).

Finally, we view section 311(c) of the NGPA as con-

ferring sufficient authority to require a comparable con-

dition under transactions authorized under that statute.

The effect of NGPA section 602(b) is discussed below.

[JA 358]

b. Authority to impose on interstate transporta-

tion by intrastate pipelines.

Comments

Intrastate pipelines and state regulatory commissions

cite the NGPA section 602(b) prohibition on common

carrier status for section 311 transporters as an ab-

solute ban on application of the non-discriminatory ac-

cess condition to their operations.“ They also state that

the condition is illegal under NGPA section 601(a) (2)

(A), which exempts transportation by intrastate pipe-

lines under section 311(a) of the NGPA from Commis-

sion jurisdiction for purposes of section 1(b) of the

NGA.*

These intrastate pipelines perceive the access condi-

tions as a back door through which the Commissicn may

intrude on their non-section 311, purely intrastate activi-

ties. They fear that the non-discriminatory access re-

quirements ultimately will result, if they agree on any

section 311 transportation, in more and more of their

capacity being obligated to section 311 transportation.

Consequently, they assert, the capacity available for

intrastate activities would diminish, threatening their

viability in the intrastate market. Further, the rate

charged by a pipeline in each. new section 311 trans-

SA-16

portation arrangement would be subject to regulation by

the Commission under the proposed rule. Therefore,

intrastate pipelines, as well as many state regulatory

agencies, view the non-discriminatory access condition as

an indirect but substantial threat by the Commission to

preempt state [JA 359] authority over intrastate pipe-

line activities. These commenters argue that the non-

discriminatory access provision, therefore, violates NGPA

sections 601(a) (2) (A) and 602(b).

Commission Response

The Commission has absolutely no intention of regulat-

ing intrastate transportaton of natural gas. Rather, the

intent of the proposed rule was simply that the same

non-discriminatory access condition should apply to all

transportation in interstate commerce, whether by an

entity subject to FERC jurisdiction under the NGA or

to other entities allowed by the Commission under the

NGPA to engage in such interstate commerce without

becoming subject to the NGA.

Several changes have been made in the final rule to

clarify this intent. First, there is no requirement that

intrastate pipelines under section 311 provide such trans-

portation service on a firm basis. See section 284.8

(a) (ii). Firm transportation is not prohibited, however.

In the event an intrastate pipeline offers firm transporta-

tion then section 284.8(b) requires that it provide “such”

service on a non-discriminatory basis.

Similarly, if an intrastate pipeline offers interruptible

interstate transportation (under section 284.(a) (ii)),

the only obligation is to provide “such” interruptible

service on a non-discriminatory basis. See section 284.9

(b).

Thus, the final rule completely avoids the situation

whereby an intrastate pipeline is required to offer firm

service for out-of-state shippers, thus, progressively

being turned into [JA 360] an interstate pipeline against

Ne EN ee

SA-17

its will and against the will of the responsible state au-

thorities.

With regard to the rate conditions of section 284.7, the

proposed rule would have required intrastate pipelines to

comply with the same conditions. The final rule makes it

clear that the rate conditions of section 284.7 apply only

to transportation under Subparts B, G and H and nox to

transportation by intrastate pipelines under Subpart C.

The final rule retains the pre-existing rules regarding

rates for Subpart C transportation. See section 284.123.

In essence, there have been no real concerns with trans-

portation by intrastate pipelines and therefore there is no

need to modify the current rules.

With regard to the comment that the non-discriminatory

access condition violates section 602(b), we note that the

NGPA does not define “common carrier.” Section 602(b)

has seant legislative history. The only mention of the

purpose of section 602(b) in the Conference Agreement

merely states that the House bill had provided that “the

intrastate pipeline would not have been subjected to regu-

lation as a common carrier... .”’* The Commission

notes that Congress did not directly authorize section 311

transportation but gave the Commission the discretion to

authorize such transportation under such terms and con-

ditions as the Commission might prescribe under sections

311(c) and 501(a) of the NGPA.”

[JA 361]

All the Commission is doing here is ensuring that where

a new entity enters into the field of offering interstate

transportation services, that it do so on a non-

discriminatory basis. We cannot accept the premise that

section 602(b) is a Congressional license to “intrastate

pipelines” to enter into the field of interstate commerce

on an avowedly discriminatory basis. Whatever else the

prohibition regarding “common carriage” status may do,

it does not sweep so broadly as to license unduly dis-

SA-18

criminatory rates or practices.27 The same conclusion

applies to interstate pipelines operating under section 311.

Further, it appears from the legislative history of the

NGPA that the Commission’s conditioning authority un-

der NGPA sections 31l(c) and 501(a) is coextensive

with the broad discretion granted to the Commission

under section 7(c) of the NGA.* Section 311(c) must

be read in light of the fundamental intention of the

NGPA to facilitate the movement of gas between the

intrastate and interstate markets following a period of

severe curtailment of interstate supplies coincident with

ample intrastate supplies.”

Hence, the Commission has determined that the non-

discriminatory access condition does not violate section

602(b).

The Commission emphasizes that it fully respects the

bounds of its jurisdiction under section 1(b) of the NGA

as reaffirmed by section 601(a)(2)(A) of the NGPA.

The Commission does not intend that any aspect of the

final rule intrude in any way whatsoever on the sound

discretion of the states to regulate strictly [JA 362] in-

trastate transactions in the public interest. Nor does the

Commission intend the final rule in any way whatsoever

to impair the ability of intrastate pipelines to provide

reliable service to their intrastate customers.

3. The reasonableness of the non-discriminatory access

condition.

Comments

Some commenters complain that the non-discriminatory

access condition is unreasonable, and therefore not author-

ized under law or otherwise appropriate, because it would

interfere with pipelines’ ability to make necessary and

appropriate business decisions such as choosing a product/

market mix of transportation and sales services, or declin-

ing to provide transportation services that would impair

SA-19

their ability to meet their obligations to existing sales

customers.” Intrastate pipelines state that the non-

discriminatory access condition could potentially affect

their ability to provide services in the intrastate market.

Several commenters suggest that the harm to the reliabil-

ity of existing services to pipeline customers would out-

weigh the benefits of the non-discriminatory access con-

dition to new transportation customers.*

Some industrial end-users state that the imposition of

the non-discriminatory_access requirement on intrastate

pipelines is unreasonable because most state agencies al-

ready have authority with respect to intrastate pipelines

to accomplish the Commission’s goal in proposing the

condition. These commenters point to New [JA 363]

Mexico and other states that have enacted or are con-

sidering statutes that require non-discriminatory gas

transportation.

One industrial end-user, Air Products, argues that the

Commission’s proposal to apply the non-discriminatory

access provision to intrastate pipelines would diminish the

interstate-intrastate pipeline integration achieved since

enactment of the NGPA. Lack of system integration

would hinder the ability of interstate pipelines and their

customers to gain access to reserves connected to intra-

state pipelines. According to Air Products, the undesir-

able effects would result because intrastate pipelines would

rather forego NGPA section 311 transportation altogether

than expose all of their intrastate operations to possible

Commission jurisdiction.

Other commenters, such as Oklahoma Natural Gas Com-

pany, suggest that the Commission revise the proposals to

specifically limit application of the non-discrimination and

firm transportation requirements to an intrastate pipe-

line’s excess capacity in order to reassure intrastate pipe-

lines and state regulatory agencies that the Commission

will not intrude on local activities beyond its jurisdiction,

SA-20

On the other hand, commenters supporting the non-

discriminatory access condition assert that the condition

is reasonable and absolutely necessary in order to ensure

access, by pipeline customers and other shippers, to com-

petitively priced gas supplies at the wellhead. They point

to the proliferation of individual pipeline transportation

programs and the expanded flexibility of [JA 364] the

program proposed by the rule as direct benefits to pipe-

lines which agree to the non-discriminatory access con-

dition. Finally, they point to the history of pipeline gas

purchasing practices over the last 30 years as justifica-

tion for requiring pipelines who transport for others to

do so on a non-discriminatory basis for all consumers.*”

Commission Response

With regard to- intrastate pipelines, we repeat what

was stated above: intrastate pipelines are under no re-

quirement to offer firm service under Subpart C, and the

non-discriminatory access condition will apply only to the

intrastate pipeline which provides “such” interruptible

or firm service. Thus, where an intrastate pipeline offers

only interruptible services, the access condition can in no

way adversely affect its ability to provide firm service to

intrastate customers.

With regard to interstate pipelines, the condition is

also reasonable. First, the actual condition is voluntary.

There is no requirement under the statutes or the rules

that an interstate pipeline provide transportation under

the self-implementing regulations. Moreover, the condi-

tion imposes, verbatim, the statutory ban against undue

discrimination. The access condition, therefore, must be

included in certificates and self-implementing transporta-

tion agreements in order to assure that gas supplies and

transmission services are provided as broadly as possible

in response to new demands from consumers and new

competition in gas markets.

* * * *

SA-21

EXCERPTS FROM ORDER NO. 436-A

[JA 1079]

The Commission considered most of the arguments

raised by the applicants which suggest that the Commis-

sion lacks legal authority to apply the non-discriminatory

access condition to interstate transportation under the

NGA prior to issuing Order No. 436. Further, the Com-

mission reviewed the requirements of the NGA, the leg-

islative history of the NGA, and relevant case law.

Section 7(e) of the NGA, which was added as an

amendment to the act in 1942, states, in pertinent part,

that:

The Commission shall have the power to attach to

the issuance of the certificate and to the exercise

of the rights granted thereunder such reasonable

terms and conditions as the public convenience and

necessity may require.

According to the Supreme Court:

The Act was so framed as to afford consumers

a complete, permanent and effective bond of protec-

tion from excessive rates and charges...

. .. In view of this framework in which the Com-

mission is authorized and directed to act, the initial

certification of a proposal under § 7(e) of the Act

as being required by the public convenience and

necessity becomes crucial. This is true because the

delay incident to determination in § 5 proceedings

through which initial certificated rates are review-

able appears nigh interminable.”

Thus, as stated by the Commission in Order No. 436

(at Section IV.A.), the Commission’s certificate and con-

30 Atlantic Refining Co. v. Public Service Commission of New

York, 360 U.S. 378, 388-89 (1959) (CATCO).

SA-22

ditioning authority is the means by which it effectuates

the purpose of the [JA 1080] NGA to underwrite just

and reasonable rates to the consumers of natural gas.**

Any attack on a condition in a certificate issued by the

Commission must confront the well-established principle

that generally the Commission has extremely broad au-

thority to condition certificates of public convenience and

necessity.

While determined to use the full breadth of its section

7 conditioning authority to end discriminatory transpor-

tation practices and thereby fulfill its obligation under

sections 4 and 5, the Commission recognized that its ac-

tions could neither directly nor indirectly impose common

carrier obligations on pipelines in violation of the NGA.*

31 Jd. at 389.

32 An important factor in the Commission’s determination that

it does not have the authority to mandate common carriage was the

legislative history of sections 303 and 304 of Title III of H.R. 5423

which was introduced on February 6, 1935, (74th Congress Ist

Session) by Representative Sam Rayburn, Chairman of the House

Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce.

Sections 303 and 304 of H.R. 5423 provided in pertinent part

(emphasis added) :

Section 303(a). It shall be the duty of every distributor to

furnish natural gas, to exchange natural gas with, and transmit

natural gas for any person upon reasonable request therefor;

and to furnish and maintain such services and facilities as shall

promote the customers, employees, and the public, and shall be

in all respects adequate, efficient and reasonable . . .

Section 304. Whenever the Commission after notice and op-

portunity for hearing finds such action necessary or desirable

in the public interest, it may by order direct a distributor to

make additions, extensions, repairs, or improvements to or

changes in its facilities, to establish physical connection with

the facilities of one or more persons, to permit use of its facili-

ties by one or more persons, or utilize the facilities of, sell

natural gas to, purchase natural gas from, transmit natural gas

for, or exchange natural gas with one or more other persons ...

... [T]he Commission may prescribe the terms and conditions

SA-23 &

Further, the condition only applies with regard to each

of the individual types of Order No. 436 transportation

service offered. Therefore, for example, an interstate

pipeline may transport under the Part 284, Subpart G

blanket certificate program without becoming subject, by

reason of such blanket certificate transportation, to an

obligation to provide service under Subpart B of Part

284 and [JA 1081] vice versa. Further, the non-discrim-

inatory access provisions of §§ 284.8(b) and 284.9(b)

per se do not cover transportation under existing in-

dividual section 7 certificates or new individual section

7 certificates filed outside of the optional expedited cer-

tificate procedure.

The Commission agrees with those petitioners that state

that the court’s mandate in Maryland People’s Counsel v.

FERC, 761 F.2d 768 and 768 F.2d 780 (D.C. Cir. 1985),

was not intended to require that the Commission adopt

mandatory carriage regulations. In any event, the

Court’s mandate clearly did judicially recognize all that

is necessary for present purposes, that is the Commission

[JA 1082] has the authority to impose non-discrimina-

tory access conditions on pipeline transportation.*

of the arrangement to be made between such persons, includ-

ing the apportionment of reimbursement reasonably due to any

of them.

Section 303 and 304 must be read in the context of sections 4(b)

and 5(a) of the NGA as enacted. In contrast to the affirmative

duty of unenacted section 303 of H.R. 4523, section 4(b) of the

NGA flatly prohibits “any undue preference or advantage” and

“any reasonable difference” in service or as between classes of serv-

ice. In contrast to the discretionary proposed authority in unenacted

section 304 of H.R. 5423 to order transportation, section 5(a) of

the NGA contains no express authority to order transportation.

Instead, section 5 limits the Commission to fixing prospectively by

order the “just and reasonable . . . rule, regulation, practice or

contract” to be observed.

83 Tn its order on the blanket certificate program (No. 84-1090),

the court noted (761 F.2d at 789 n.19) that MPC’s plea that blanket

transportation certificates be conditioned on non-discriminatory

SA-24

The Commission determined that the non-discriminatory

access conditions in Order No. 436 did not amount to a

“direction” or a “mandate” to pipelines to transport for

others as an “affirmative [JA 1083] duty” because the

condition is only a condition. As it stated in the order:

“a condition on the certification or authorization of cer-

tain self-implementing transportation services which a

pipeline may voluntarily choose to perform or not, strictly

at its own option.” Thus, Order No. 436 does not “di-

rect” or ‘mandate” a pineline to do anything. Further,

the non-discriminatory access condition, even when ac-

cepted by a pipeline as part of its self-implementing

transportation program, does not impose any “affirmative

duty” on a pipeline to transport. It only requires that

when a pipeline does choose to transport on a self-imple-

menting basis, it must provide those transportation serv-

ices in a non-discriminatory manner. Nor does the con-

dition cover all transportation services and thus operate

as mandatory in effect. A pipeline remains free to seek

authorization for other transportation not covered by the

condition and the Commission will review them on a

case-by-case basis.**

access accords with the recommendation of the Department of

Energy: “To achieve the benefits of a properly developed spot

market for natural gas . . . FERC should use its authority over

natural gas transportation to require pipeline companies to provide

carriage on a non-discriminatory basis whenever there is idle pipe-

line capacity.” Second DOE Section 123 Report at p. 82. The court

further noted that the Commission does not question that it has such

authority, citing Tennessee Gas Pipeline Co. v. FERC, 680 F.2d

212, 214-15 (D.C. Cir. 1982); Transcontinental Gas Pipeline Corp.

v. FERC, 589 F.2d 186, 190 (5th Cir. 1979) (invoking “the well-

established principle that generally the Corimmission has extremely

broad authority to condition certificates of publie convenience and

necessity”), cert. denied, 445 U.S. 915 (1980).

34 Several petitioners argue that Order No. 436 is similar to

regulatory programs rejected by the courts in Moss v. CAB, 430

F.2d 891 (D.C. Cir. 1970) and Consolidated Edison Company of

New York v. FPC, 511 F.2d 372, 377 (D.C. Cir. 1974). The Com-

SA-25

[JA 1084]

Furthermore, the Commission is not dissuaded by the

comparisons made by several petitioners including, e.g.,

NGPL (at pp. 12, 28) and City of Willcox, Arizona (at

p. 35), between Order No. 436 and the legislative pro-

posals to mandate common-carriage transportation that

have been considered, but not enacted by Congress over

the years. Nor does the Commission believe that Order

No. 436 is inconsistent with section 602(b) (2) of the

NGPA, which provides that no person shall be subject to

regulation as a common carrier by reason of any trans-

portation authorized under section 311(a) of the NGPA.

In the first place, the Commission notes that neither the

NGA nor the NGPA defines “common carrier.” Never-

theless, the provisions of Order No. 436 do not regulate

pipelines as common carriers, as that term is commonly

understood.™

mission does not believe these cases are germane in this instance.

In Moss the Civil Aeronautics Board failed to comply with the

public notice and hearing requirements of the Federal Aviation Act

in prescribing a fare formula for domestic airlines. Moreover, the

court found that the formula actually amounted to a prescription

of rates, because the Board admitted that the pressures on carriers

to file conforming rates was “great if not irresistable.” In a similar

vein, the court held in Consolidated Edison that if end-use curtail-

ment plans were not filed voluntarily by pipelines but were the re-

sult of coercion by the Federal Power Commission the plans would

be invalid, because the Commission could not impose a change on an

existing tariff without complying with section 5 of the Natural Gas

Act.

Neither of these cases applies to the circumstances of Order No.

436. In the first place, Order No. 436 was issued in compliance

with applicable rulemaking procedures, which involved extensive

-ublic participation. Moreover, as the Commission has already

explained, the self-implementing transportation program is volun-

tary and indeed alternative authority is fully available under tra-

ditional Natural Gas Act procedures.

35 Since Order No. 436 does not have the effect of imposing

common carriage status on contract carriers, cases cited for the

SA-26

[JA 1085]

For instance, even though Order No. 436 requires, as

the cited legislative proposals would have required, non-

discriminatory access, the all-important distinction is

that Order No. 436 allows a pipeline the option of ap-

plying to provide transportation services under individ-

ual NGA section 7 certificates. Order No. 436 also gives

a pipeline that has opted for self-implementing transpor-

tation the opportunity to cease such-transportation and

resume its status as a merchant. None of the mandatory

common-carriage proposals considered heretofore by Con-

gress have included any equivalent option. While a

transportation application under the regular NGA sec-

tion 7 procedures is open to challenge on the grounds that

approval of the application would result in undue dis-

crimination, only the individual transportation arrange-

ment covered by the pipeline’s applications is at issue in

a regular NGA section 7 certificate proceeding and,

therefore, denial of a certificate in that proceeding does

not prejudice certificate applications by the same pipeline

in other proceedings. This option, unlike the legislative

proposals for common-carriage, effectively allows a pipe-

line the discretion to determine whether or not to become

a transporter of gas. Further, while allegations of un-

duly discriminatory effects will be considered in regular

NGA section 7 transportation certificate proceedings, a

regular NGA certificate is not conditioned on a pipeline’s

providing transportation to all shippers requesting serv-

ice. For example, if the Commission should determine

that approval of a regular NGA section 7 transportation

certificate application would cause undue [JA 1086]

discrimination to another party, the discrimination could

~be cured by an amendment to the application as it affects

a particular additional shipper.

proposition that only Congress can impose that status (FCC v.

Midwest Video Corp., 440 U.S. 689, 702-09 (1978) and Florida

Power and Light Co. v. FERC, 660 F.2d 668 (5th Cir. 1981) are

not applicable.

:

s

}

i

SA-27

The Commission cannot agree with those applicants

that insist that it is not unduly discriminatory for a

pipeline that transports gas to refuse to transport gas

that displaces the pipeline’s sales. This is precisely what

the court found objectionable in Maryland People’s

Counsel v. FERC, 761 F.2d 780 (D.C. Cir., 1985). Pipe-

lines that were willing to transport gas for their fuel-

switchable customers were not required to transport for

their captive sales customers that were incapable of

switching fuels.

2. Effects of Non-Discriminatory Access

a. On Order No. 319 Transactions

Certain of the applications for rehearing request that

the Commission amend the final rule to allow new trans-

actions to provide transportation for local distribution

companies and high-priority end users, previously au-

thorized under NGPA § 311 and Order Nos. 319 and 60,

to continue to be made without requiring interstate pipe-

line companies to provide non-discriminatory access.

Philadelphia (passim), CIG (at pp. 25-28) and BUG

(at pp. 3-8) assert that the access condition is inconsist-

ent with the NGPA and is not required by the Maryland

People’s Counsel decisions of the D.C. Court of Appeals.

Huffco (at pp. 17-18) contends that certificates for the

transportation of gas to high-priority end users are re-

quired to be issued by section 7(c) (2) of the NGA.

[JA 1087]

Existing transportation for high-priority end users

that had been authorized under § 157.209(a) of the regu-

lations has been permitted to continue for the term of

the transportation arrangement, subject to the terms and

conditions existing at the time it was authorized. See

§ 284.223(g). New high-priority end-user transportation,

section 311 transportation for intrastate pipelines and

local distribution companies, transportation for end users

SA-28

under § 157.209(e), and transportation for interstate

pipelines, are subject to the express requirement that the

transporting pipeline provide non-discriminatory access

for all shippers and the various other requirements of

§ 284.7 et seg. The Commission has determined that the

practice of restricting access to transportation is unduly

discriminatory and preferential and has prevented con-

sumers from obtaining the lowest reasonable rates for

both gas and transmission. With that determination, and

in view of the many other reasons expressed in the final

rule for requiring open access for future transportation,

it would be inconsistent with the whole rationale under-

lying the final rule (and, in the Commission’s view, with

the rationale underlying the Maryland People’s Counsel

cases as well) to permit new transactions to be initiated

for service without adherence to the requirements of the

final rule.

ae ; a im oo — 4 . . t p! F

ehh ted oe ‘aie. ’ - eS * Z i Se ‘ }

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.