Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Reddington v. Bowen

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

i \ ;

87-875") (ETE

NOV 2@p8T

= JOSEPH E. Sparen, JR.

No) aa

~~

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

JOHN P. REDDINGTON,

Petitioner,

v.

“OTIS R. BOWEN, Secretary of

Health and Human Services,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

JACK BENJAMIN CRAWLEY, JR.

200 Bracken Court

Post Office Box 97155

Raleigh, NC 27624-7155

Telephone: (919) 847-2354

Counsel of Record

for the Petitioner

WILSON - Epes PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

A onlin, | Be sien) ~ Spare

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I. SHOULD THE SECRETARY OF HEALTH AND

HUMAN SERVICES’ REGULATIONS BE INTER-

PRETED TO ALLOW THE SECRETARY TO “RE-

OPEN” PETITIONER’S FAVORABLE SOCIAL SE-

CURITY BENEFIT DETERMINATION AFTER THE

SIXTY-DAY PERIOD FOR “REVIEW” OF THAT

DETERMINATION HAD EXPIRED?

Il. IF THE SECRETARY’S REGULATIONS ARE

INTERPRETED TO ALLOW THE SECRETARY TO

“REOPEN” PETITIONER’S SOCIAL SECURITY

BENEFIT DETERMINATION AFTER THE SIXTY-

DAY PERIOD FOR “REVIEW” OF THAT DETER-

MINATION HAD EXPIRED, WOULD AN “ERROR

OF LAW” OR “ABUSE OF DISCRETION” BY THE

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE CONSTITUTE

“GOOD CAUSE” TO REOPEN THE DETERMINA-

TION FAVORABLE TO THE PETITIONER?

III. SHOULD PETITIONER’S EARNINGS RECORD

FOR SOCIAL SECURITY OLD-AGE INSURANCE

BENEFITS HAVE BEEN CREDITED WITH HIS

EARNINGS DERIVED FROM HIS WORK ACTIV-

ITIES AS MANAGER AND SUPERVISOR OF A

PARTNERSHIP THAT OWNED AND OPERATED

AN APARTMENT COMPLEX WHEN PETITIONER

WAS A PARTNER IN-THAT PARTNERSHIP?

IV. SHOULD PETITIONER’S EARNINGS RECORD

FOR SOCIAL SECURITY OLD-AGE INSURANCE

BENEFITS BE CREDITED WITH QUARTERS OF

COVERAGE HE EARNED PRIOR TO 1951?

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

‘QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW --------

sali aenieinices aches estab asad shimeeaege-aeenintioemaest

Racal arinmaemnam cmmncaaa cman a

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED-_----

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ._------------------

REASONS FOR ALLOWING THE WRIT.-_--------

I. THE SECRETARY OF HEALTH AND HU-

II.

ITI.

MAN SERVICES’ REGULATIONS SHOULD

NOT BE INTERPRETED TOG ALLOW THE

SECRETARY TO “REOPEN” PETITIONER’S

FAVORABLE SOCIAL SECURITY BENEFIT

DETERMINATION AFTER THE SIXTY-DAY

PERIOD FOR “REVIEW” OF THAT DETER-

MINATION HAD EXPIRED.-_-_-_--_-_-_-___-

EVEN IF THE SECRETARY’S REGULA-

TIONS ARE INTERPRETED TO ALLOW

THE SECRETARY TO “REOPEN” PETI-

TIONER’S SOCIAL SECURITY BENEFIT

DETERMINATION AFTER THE SIXTY-DAY

PERIOD FOR “REVIEW” OF THAT DETER-

MINATION HAD EXPIRED, AN “ERROR OF

LAW” OR “ABUSE OF DISCRETION” BY

THE ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE DOES

NOT CONSTITUTE “GOOD CAUSE” TO RE-

OPEN THE DETERMINATION FAVORABLE

Be SESE ees ..

PETITIONER’S EARNINGS RECORD FOR

SOCIAL SECURITY OLD-AGE INSURANCE

BENEFITS SHOULD HAVE BEEN CRED-

ITED WITH HIS EARNINGS DERIVED

FROM HIS WORK ACTIVITIES AS MAN-

AGER AND SUPERVISOR OF A PARTNER-

SHIP THAT OWNED AND OPERATED AN

APARTMENT COMPLEX WHEN PETI-

TIONER WAS A PARTNER IN THAT PART-

EE ede cakwanidudcdanemutinen=

1

10

13

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

IV. PETITIONER’S EARNINGS RECORD FOR

SOCIAL SECURITY OLD-AGE INSURANCE

BENEFITS SHOULD BE CREDITED WITH

QUARTERS OF COVERAGE HE EARNED

EE SEE BOT co nintcsrdscen crtpteeeneinnaeiaaa miele 16

sen em eee EMER Toe oe Ie 18

APPENDICES:

A. Unpublished Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Fourth Circuit dated July 23, 1987_ la

B. Published Opinion of the United States District

Court for the Eastern District of North Carolina

filed on August 4, 1986 (640 F.Supp. 1005) .-___-- 4a

C. Favorable decision of Administrative Law Judge,

Social Security Administration, Department of

Health & Human Services, mailed May 23, 1983,

holding that Petitioner was entitled to old-age in-

SE: TEE sai nce ncanasuuniowien 17a

D. Decision of Appeals Council, Social Security Ad-

ministration, Department of Health & Human

Services, dated January 24, 1984, reversing the

favorable decision of the Administrative Law

pNP AUIS Smite ote ESE ERO a EA iA a 30a

E. Order filed on August 26, 1987 in the United States

Court of Appeals denying Petition for Rehearing

and Suggestion for Rehearing in Bare ______-__~_ 39a

F. Judgment filed in the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of North Carolina on Au-

FR pet ccis heh Riles cine cndanineeemneiniaeadiapie 4la

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Letter dated December 9, 1983 to Petitioner from

the Appeals Council, Social Security Administra-

tion, Department of Health and Human Services,

advising Petitioner that the May 23, 1983 deci-

sion of the Administrative Law Judge was be-

ing re-opened under 20 C.F.R. 404.988(b) and

404.989 (a) (3)

Memorandum dated June 20, 1983 from the Office

of the Director of Operations, Northeastern Pro-

gram Service Center, Reconsideration Branch,

Social Security Administration to the Department

of Health and Human Services, Social Security

Administration, Office of Hearings and Appeals

referring the Administrative Law Judge’s May 23,

1983 decision for review

ee we ae ae a a a a a ee eee ee

Page

43a

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page

Butterworth v. Bowen, 796 F.2d 1379 (11th Cir.

SOBER). .cinniodadndiinddsuaebaeattiian 10, 11

Call v. Heckler, 647 F.Supp. 560 (D.Mont. 1986)__ 12, 14

Cieutat v. Bowen, 824 F.2d 348 (5th Cir. 1987)___ 11, 12

Delno v. Celebreeze, 347 F.2d 159 (9th Cir. 1965) — 14

Delong v. Heckler, 771 F.2d 266 (7th Cir. 1985) —- 12

Higginbotham v. Heckler, 767 F.2d 408 (8th Cir.

pI eee ee SEA 12

McCuin v. Secretary of Health and Human Serv-

ices, 817 F.2d 161 (1st Cir. 1987) ._..__-- 9,10, 11,12

Munsinger v. Schweiker, 709 F.2d 1212 (8th Cir.

SIE ceven:<s:tp-tacesynscnenaoeestappecditealanseaamaaaandad mannan 12

Reddington v. Bowen, 640 F.Supp. 1005 (E.D.N.C

TEE anon natthnenatnnaidinn kde 2

Silvis v. Heckler, 578 F.Supp. 1401 (W.D.P.A.

TREE) .nhnnndnnnmnenimenmennamnaammiiiae 12

Zimmerman v. Heckler, 774 F.2d 615 (4th Cir.

EE. ctettcence dares eadigunilid@oniindtionmud 9,12

STATUTES AND RULES:

Be EOD tincinicncncmndacadndenntnmtie 10

ee ID ioe cr enccitnre nani entinninsrinneaniinneciaiiahidation 2

GR Th: GEN srtcecncccnnnnnnmenmannttinmin 2

ee Gb eennncnctccunnnccesnanbinian 16

Ge ite nnitceccnccnnsennnnneindutiin 8

Social Security Act .............--..---.-.-- 2, 4, 12, 15

Supreme Court Rule 17.1(a)-___-__-_________--_- 10

Supreme Court Rule 20.2 __.__________ 10

Supreme Court Rule 20.4 _____.-___- 10

REGULATIONS:

ED kcenocncucncuncouncncamnnenite 2,11

Be Gl SD own accunnnecunssndenacmanned 3, 14

Be Ce GEE wieneensccanenunesuensecanae 3, 12, 13

BG Bt EE tittincnnncnnnadannnncaceanill 4,7,9,11

20 C.F.R. 404.989(a) -..----.--------------- 4, 7, 12,14

OTHER AUTHORITY:

8 N.C. Index 3d, Master & Servant ____________-_ 13

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

No.

JOHN P. REDDINGTON,

Petitioner,

V.

Otis R. BOWEN, Secretary of

Health and Human Services,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

The petitioner, John R. Reddington, respectfully prays

that a writ of certiorari issue from this Court to review

the judgments, opinions and orders of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, entered in this

proceeding on July 23, 1987 and August 26, 1987.

OPINIONS BELOW

The unpublished opinion of the Fourth Circuit Court of

Appeals is reproduced in Appendix A, infra, at pp. la-3a.

The unpublished Order of the Fourth Circuit Court of

Appeals, filed August 26, 1987, denying the petition for

rehearing and suggestion for rehearing in banc is re

produced as Appendix E, infra, p. 39a. The published

decision of the United States District Court for the

2

Eastern District of North Carolina is published, see

Reddington v. Bowen, 640 F.Supp. 1005 (E.D.N.C.

1986), and reproduced as Appendix B, infra, at pp. 4a-

16a.

JURISDICTION

The decision in the United States Court of Appeals

was decided and entered on July 23, 1987 (Appendix A,

infra, pp. la-3a). The Order of the Court of Appeals de-

nying the petition for rehearing and suggestion for re-

hearing in banc was filed on August 26, 1987 (Appendix

E, infra, p. 39a).

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

This case involves those portions of the Social Security

Act granting the Secretary

“full power and authority to make rules and regula-

tions and to establish procedures, not inconsistent

with the provisions of [the disability benefits pro-

gram of the Act], which are necessary or appropri-

ate to carry out such provisions” and directs him to.

adopt “rules and regulations to regulate and provide

for the nature and extent of the proofs and evidence

and the method of taking and furnishing the same”

in disability cases (42 U.S.C. 405(a).”

The Secretary’s regulations, as follows, also are

involved :

404.969 Appeals Council initiates review

“Anytime within 60 days after the date of a hear-

ing decision or dismissal, the Appeals Council itself

may decide to review the action that was taken. If

the Appeals Council does review the hearing decision

or dismissal, notice of the action will be mailed to

all parties at their last known address.” (20 C.F.R.

404.969)

3

404.970 Cases the Appeals Council will review.

“(a) The Appeals Council will review a case if—

(1) There appears to be an abuse of discretion

by the administrative law judge; .

(2) There is an error of law;

(8) The action, findings or conclusions of the

administrative law judge are not supported by

substantial evidence; or

(4) There is a broad policy or procedural issue

that may affect the general public interest.

(b) If new and material evidence is submitted with

the request for review, the Appeais Council shal!

evaluate the entire record. It will then review the

case if it finds that the administrative law judge’s

action, findings, or conclusion is contrary to the

weight of the evidence currently in the record.” (20

C.F.R. 404.970)

404.987 Reopening and reviewing determinations and

decisions.

“(a) General. Generally, if you are dissatisfied with

a determination or decision made in the administra-

tive review process, but do not request further re-

view within the stated time period, you lose your

right to further review. However, a determination

or decision made in your case may be reopened and

revised. After we reopen your case, we may revise

the earlier determination or decision.

(b) Procedure for reopening and revision. You

may ask that a determination or a decision to which

you were a party be revised. The cenditions under

which we wil] reopen a previous determination or

aecision are explained in 404.988.” (20 C.F.R.

404.987)

4

404.988 Conditions for reopening.

“A determination, revised determination, decision, or

revised decision may be reopened—

(a) Within 12 months of the date of the notice of

the initial determination for any reason;

(b) Within four years of the date of the notice

of the initial determination if we find good cause,

as defined in 404.989, to reopen the case; or “(20

C.F.R. 404.988)

404.989 Good Cause for reopening

Good cause for reopening exists when:

“(1) New and material evidence is furnished;

(2) A clerical error in the computation or

recomputation of benefits was made; or

(3) The evidence that was considered in

making the determination or decision clearly

shows on its face that an error was made.”

(20 C.F.R. 404.989(a).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On December 16, 1981 Petitioner applied for retire-

ment insurance in anticipation of retirement upon his

reaching the age of 62 on March 14, 1982. His claim for

benefits, however, was denied initially and on recon-

sideration because he supposedly lacked sufficient quarters

of coverage to be “fully insured” under the Social Se-

curity Act (hereafter the “Act’’?). His claim was denied

based upon a determination that his income for the years

1978, 1979 and 1980 was net earnings from the rentals

of real estate and could not be the basis for the award

of quarters of coverage for those years. Petitioner made

a timely request for a hearing, and the Administrative

Law Judge (“ALJ”) stated that the issue before him at

that hearing was:

5

“ . . Whether the claimant is entitled to old-age

insurance benefits which depends, in part, on whether

he had the prerequisite quarters of coverage to be

fully insured for such benefits. Specifically at issue

is whether the claimant’s earnings record may be

credited with wages or self employment income for

the years 1978, 1979 and 1980.” (Appendix C, in-

fra, p. 19a)

Following the hearing conducted by the ALJ on Feb-

ruary 25, 1983 the decision of the ALJ, favorable to the

claimant, was mailed on May 23, 1983. (Appendix C,

infra, pp. 17a-29a). In this decision the ALJ made and

reached the following findings and conclusions:

“The Administrative Law Judge concludes that Mr.

Reddington was, in effect, an employee of the part-

nership with respect to his duties as a manager. He

does not believe that a partner can never be an

employee of a partnership. In this situation, Mr.

Reddington performed duties which were not per-

formed by the other partners, for which he received

specific compensation as set out in the partnership

agreement. Mr. Reddington has been somewhat in-

consistent in his own characterization of the rela-

tionship but at times he has characterized his in-

come as wages and salary. GMA has been somewhat

inconsistent with respect to how it reports its pay-

ments to Mr. Reddington for tax purposes but, the

accountant, Ms. Dees, stated that the payments to

Mr. Reddington were made along with the other

expenses of GMA, separate from and prior to any

distribution to the partners. The factors indicating

that Mr. Reddington was not an independent con-

tractor tend to indicate that he was an employee.

The fact that GMA paid Mr. Reddington as it paid

its other employee, the fact that Mr. Reddington

was provided an apartment to use as an office, and

the fact that Mr. Reddington deducted only his per-

sonal expenses for tax purposes, all tend to support

this conclusion. In addition, Mr. Reddington ac-

6

knowledged that he prepares weekly and monthly

reports to the other partners (Exhibit 15). The

ultimate test of whether a business relationship is

one of employee and employer is that of control.

Mr. E. C. Powell testified at the hearing that he

had never given Mr. Reddington an Order. The

real issue is whether Mr. Powell could control Mr.

Reddington’s activities as a manager if he chose to

do so. The partnership agreement for GMA gives

the Powells authority to discharge Mr. Reddington

from his manager role on 60 days notice with no

other requirements despite the fact that Mr. Red-

dington is a partner. This fact of the ultimate con-

trol, in combination with the other factors identified

above, support the Administrative Law Judge’s con-

clusion that Mr. Reddington was an employee of

GMA. The complexity and vagueness of the role

that Mr. Reddington played with the partnership do

not result in an overwhelmingly clear picture of the

relationship but the factors above establish that the

relationship of an employee to an employer is more

likely and more logical than the other possibilities.

Thus, Mr. Reddington’s income for the years 1978,

1979, and 1980, was wages and was more than suffi-

cient to give him quarters of coverage to meet the

“fully insured” ee. (Appendix C, infra,

pp. 27a-28a).

As has been noted previously, the ALJ’s decision was

rendered and mailed to the Petitioner on May 23, 1983.

It appears that, under a memorandum dated June 20,

1983, the Office of the Director of Operations for the

Northeastern Program Service Center of the Reconsid-

eration Branch sent the Department of Health and

Human Services, Social Security Administration Office

of Hearings and Appeals a communication noting that

the ALJ’s “decision is clearly contrary to the act and

regulations”. (Appendix H, infra, pp. 46a-47a). It ap-

pears, however, that the Appeals Council failed to com-

municate with Petitioner until November 8, 1983 with

T

a status report advising Petitioner that the Appeals

Council was considering whether the ALJ’s decision

should be reopened, citing as its authority 20 C.F.R. Sec-

tion 988(b) and Section 404.989. By letter dated De-

cember 9, 1983 the Appeals Council advised Petitioner

that it was reopening the ALJ’s decision of May 23,

1983 under authority of section 404.988(b) and 404.989

(a) (3) of Social Security Administrations Regulations

No. 4 (20 C.F.R. 404.988(b) and 404.989(a) (3), be-

cause the ALJ’s decision “contains an error on the face

of the evidence on which it was based.” (Appendix G,

infra, pp. 43a-45a). The Appeals Council, on January

24, 1984, issued its decision reversing the ALJ’s decision

of May 23, 1983. (Appendix D, infra, pp. 32a-38a).

From that adverse decision of the Appeals Council the

Petitioner, after time had been extended by the Appeals

Council, instituted this action in the District Court on

October 3, 1984 petitioning for review of administrative

action and for relief ‘in the nature of mandamus to com-

pel the Secretary to commence payment of his Social

security retirement insurance benefits in accordance with

the ALJ’s decision that had been rendered on May 23,

1983. The complaint sought relief in the nature of

mandamus because the appeals Council had failed to act

within sixty (60) days after rendition of the decision

of the ALJ, and the petition further alieged that the

Appeals Council had improperly computed Claimant’s

quarters of coverage for the years 1978, 1979 and 1980

by applying erroneous legal standards. Finally, the

petition alleged that the final decision of the Secretary

was not supported by substantial evidence. Motions for

summary judgment, supported by memoranda and the

required transcript of administrative proceedings were

filed and the District Judge conducted a hearing on the

eross-motions for summary judgment on March 14, 1986.

On August 4, 1986 the District Judge’s Order granting

the Secretary’s Motion for Summary Judgment was filed,

8

and the decision of the Secretary, in the form of the

decision of the Appeals Council, was affirmed. (Appendix

B, infra, pp. 4a-16a). ars

In his Order the District Judge acknowledged the

difficult issues presented by this case and noted:

“Tt is a close question whether GMA’s income for

the years 1978 through 1980 constitute self-employ-

ment income or rental income. The tedious task of

discerning between services rendered to occupants

and services rendered solely to make space available

for occupancy is further compounded by case law

which is neither clear nor exhaustive in treating this

particular subject matter.” (Appendix B, infra, p.

13a).

The District Court then went on to uphold the Sec-

retary’s denial of benefits to Petitioner on a separate

legal ground that had not been discussed in the decisions

of either the Appeals Council or the ALJ. The District

Court discussed its reasoning as follows:

“However, the court need not resolve these com-

plex issues. There exists a separate legal ground

which mandates that the Secretary’s denial of bene-

fits be affirmed. Therefore, the court affirms the Ap-

peals Council decision on a separate and distinct

legal ground.

3. Computation of Claimant’s NESE for 1978-1980

Assuming, arguendo, that claimant’s income for the

years 1978 through 1980 is “self-employment in-

come,” as that term is defined in the Act, the court

must proceed to determine whether claimant’s NESE

was of a sufficient amount for these years to entitle

him to quarters of coverage for that time period. A

close view of the record in this case reveals that for

at least 1979 and 1980 claimant’s guaranteed pay-

ments were offset by his distributive share of losses

incurred from partnerships of which he was a mem-

ber. See 42 U.S.C. 411(a). Accordingly, claimant at

most is entitled to four quarters of coverage for the

9

years 1978 through 1980. This number would pro-

vide claimant with at most twenty-eight quarters of

coverage, still leaving him ineligible to receive social

security old-age insurance benefits. Accordingly, the

Secretary’s decision must be affirmed on this separate

legal ground.” (Appendix B, infra, p. 14a).

From that District Court decision Petitioner duly noted

his appeal to the United States Court of Appeals for the

Fourth Circuit on September 26, 1986. In an unpub-

lished opinion filed on July 23, 1987 the decision of the

District Court was affirmed. (Appendix A, infra, pp.

la-3a). One of the Judges on that panel, however, noted

in a concurring opinion:

“In Zimmermann v. Heckler, 774 F.2d 615 (4th

Cir. 1985), this Court permitted the Appeals Coun-

cil to reopen the decision of the Administrative Law

Judge, holding—

The Appeals Council, however, is empowered to

reopen, within four years of the date of the

notice of the initial determination, any determi-

nation if ‘good cause’ exists, 20 C.F.R. 404.988

(b) (1985).

In McCuin v. Secretary of Health and Human Services,

817 F.2d 161 (1st Cir. 1987), the Court clearly states

that the right to reopen for ‘good cause’ is restricted to

the claimant.

Thus, a conflict in circuits has arisen. No individual

panel of this Court may overrule a prior holding of the

Court. Since I am bound by the Zimmermann ruling, I

concur.” (Appendix A, infra, p. 3a).

Because of the conflict in the circuits concerning the

Secretary’s right to reopen administrative decisions after

expiration of the sixty (60) day review period, Peti-

tioner timely filed a petition for rehearing and sugges-

tion for rehearing ir. banc in the Court of Appeals; none-

theless, in an Order filed on August 26, 1987 the petition

for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing in banc were

10

denied. (Appendix E, infra, pp. 39a-40a). Petitioner’s

motion that the mandate be stayed pending application to

this Court for a writ of certiorari based upon the conflict

in the circuits also was denied. As provided in 28 U.S.C.

210(c) and Rules 20.2 and 20.4 of the Supreme Court

Rules this petition for certiorari is being filed within

ninety (90) days from August 26, 1987, the date on

which the petition for rehearing and suggestion for re-

hearing in banc were denied.

REASONS FOR ALLOWING THE WRIT

I. THE SECRETARY OF HEALTH AND HUMAN

SERVICES’ REGULATIONS SHOULD NOT BE IN-

TERPRETED TO ALLOW THE SECRETARY TO

“REOPEN” PETITIONER’S FAVORABLE SOCIAL

SECURITY BENEFIT DETERMINATION AFTER

THE SIXTY-DAY PERIOD FOR “REVIEW” OF

THAT DETERMINATION HAD EXPIRED.

The unpublished per curiam decision of the Fourth

Circuit Court of Appeals herein on July 23, 1987 is in

direct conflict with both the decision of the First Circuit

Court of Appeals in McCuin v. Secretary of Health and

Human Services, 817 F.2d 161 (1st Cir. 1987) and the

decision of the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals in

Butterworth v. Bowen, 796 F.2d 1379 (11th Cir. 1986).

In his concurring opinion Judge Hoffman noted this con-

flict.

Rule 17 of the Supreme Court Rules discusses consid-

erations governing review on certiorari as follows:

“1, A review on writ of certiorari is not a matter

of right, but of judicial discretion, and will be

granted only when there are special and important

reasons therefor. The following, while neither con-

trolling nor fully measuring the Court’s discretion,

indicate the character of reasons that will be con-

sidered.

(A) When a federal court of appeals has ren-

dered a decision in conflict with the decision of

11

another federal court of appeals on the same

matter;...”

Moreover, the First Circuit’s decision in McCuin v. Sec-

retary of Health and Human Services, supra, was based

on “special and important reasons’’, because it held, for

the first time in a United States Court of Appeals,

“in view of the serious substantive and procedural

due process problems that would result from the Sec-

retary’s reading of the regulations, we conclude that

they should be interpreted as allowing reopening only

on the basis of motions by claimants.” (Emphasis

supplied) (817 F.2d at 174).

Recently, the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals joined

the Fourth and Eighth Circuits in adopting the Secre-

tary’s interpretation of section 404.988 that the Appeals

Council may reopen determinations upon its own initia-

tive after expiration of the sixty-day time limit for “re-

view” pursuant to 20 C.F.R. Section 404.969. See Cieutat

v. Bowen, 824 F.2d 348 (5th Cir. 1987). In its analysis

of the issue the Fifth Circuit described the conflict in the

circuits as follows:

“Other circuits that have faced this issue have

reached irreconcilable conclusions about how the reg-

ulations should be interpreted.” (824 F.2d at 356).

It appears that between August 14, 1986 and August

3, 1987 this issue has been the subject of four cases in

four different circuits: see Butterworth v. Bowen, 796

F.2d 1379 (11th Cir. 1986); McCuin v. Secretary of

Health and Human Services, supra; the decision to which

this petition for writ of certiorari is directed; and

Cieutat v. Bowen, supra. Unquestionably, a question of

obvious national importance is presented, for the Social

Security System is sacrosanct and there is an overriding

need for uniform interpretation of the regulations prom-

ulgated by the Secretary to carry out the provisions of

the Act.

12

There are at least four different interpretations taken

on the question of who may initiate the reopening proce-

dure described in 20 C.F.R. section 404.987-989. First,

there is the position to which this application for writ of

certiorari is directed that the Appeals Council may “re-

open” of its own accord. In addition to the Fourth Cir-

cuit below and in Zimmermann v. Heckler, supra, this

position has been adopted by the Eighth Circuit in

Munsinger v. Schweiker, 709 F.2d 1212 (8th Cir. 1983)

and Higginbotham v. Heckler, 767 F.2d 408, 410 (8th

Cir. 1985) and the Fifth Circuit in Cieutat v. Bowen,

supra. Second, there is the interpretation that only the

claimants may initiate the reopening procedure adopted

by the courts in McCuin v. Secretary of Health and

Human Services, supra; and Silvis v. Heckler, 578 F.

Supp. 1401 (W.D.Pa. 1984). Cf., Delong v. Heckler, 771

F.2d 266 (7th Cir. 1985). Third, there is the “com-

ponents” analysis adopted by the Eleventh Circuit in

Butterworth v. Bowen, supra, that while the Social Se-

curity Administration could initiate reenening, only that

component of the Administration which had made the

decision or which had the decision properly before it for

review could initiate the reopening procedure. Fourth,

courts have attempted to distinguish between errors of

fact and error of law. See Call v. Heckler, 647 F. Supp.

560 (D. Mont. 1986). Under this interpretation the Ap-

peals Council could reopen on its own initiative on the

basis of errors of fact, but would be barred from sua

sponte reopening for errors of law.

In McCuin v. Secretary of Health and Human Serv-

ices, supra, the Court observed

“We note that the Social Security Act, under whose

authority the regulations were promulgated, is a

remedial statute, to be broadly construed and lib-

erally applied in favor of beneficiaries . . . We find

that it would frustrate congressional objective in

passing such a statute if the ambiguity in the regu-

lations were to be resolved in favor of putting claim-

13

ants in a state of limbo for at least four years, un-

certain of the final outcome of their cases. In effect,

the Secretary seeks to interpret 404.987’s statement

that “you,” the claimant, may seek reopening as

meaning that “we,” the Appeals Council, may do so

as well. This interpretation results in lack of final-

ity and in the issuance of inevitably misleading no-

tices constructed through selective quotation of am-

biguous regulations. This significantly negates the

beneficient purposes of the statute.” (Citations omit-

ted) (817 F.2d at 174)

Because of the pronounced conflict in the circuits, the

frequency with which this question is being presented,

the obvious need for a uniform national interpretation,

and the “beneficent purposes” of the Act, this Court

should allow the writ of certiorari.

II. EVEN IF THE SECRETARY’S REGULATIONS ARE

INTERPRETED TO ALLOW THE SECRETARY TO

“REOPEN” PETITIONER’S SOCIAL SECURITY

BENEFIT DETERMINATION AFTER THE SIXTY-

DAY PERIOD FOR “REVIEW” OF THAT DETER-

MINATION HAD EXPIRED, AN “ERROR OF LAW”

OR “ABUSE OF DISCRETION” BY THE ADMINIS-

TRATIVE LAW JUDGE DOES NOT CONSTITUTE

“GOOD CAUSE” TO REOPEN THE DETERMINA-

TION FAVORABLE TO THE PETITIONER.

The ALJ carefully and painstakingly reviewed all the

evidence and he properly focused on the factor of control

in the business relationship among petitioner and his

partners. That factor of the right to control is determina-

tive under North Carolina law of the relationship be-

tween the parties. See 8 N. C. Index 3d, Master &

Servant 3. The memorandum which prompted the Ap-

peals Council to reopen the ALJ’s decision is dated June

20, 1983, less than 30 days after the ALJ’s May 23,

1983 decision, but the Appeals Council waited until De-

cember 9, 1983 to advise Petitioner that it was reopening

the ALJ’s May 23, 1983 decision. (Appendices G & H,

14

infra, pp. 43a-47a). The basis of the Appeals Council’s

decision was its reversal of the ALJ’s conclusion that

Petitioner “was, in effect, an employee of the partner-

ship with respect to his duties as a manager. He [the

ALJ] does not believe that a partner can never be an

employee of a partnership.” (Appendix C, infra, p. 27a).

This conclusion by the ALJ involved a question of law,

not a factual finding; hence, it was reviewable by the

Secretary under 20 C.F.R. 404.970(a) (2), if at all. The

only other ground for review would have been an abuse

of discretion by the ALJ which would have been review-

able under 20 C.F.R. 404.970(a) (1).

With timely notice that the ALJ had determined that

the claimant had been paid wages as an employee of the

partnership of which he was a partner for the years in

question the Appeals Council failed to initiate a review

within 60 days of the hearing decision, and the Secretary

should not be permitted to avoid the 60-day time limit on

sua sponte reviews by attempting to stretch the re-

opening regulations to embrace the express grounds for

review set forth in 20 C.F.R. 404.970(a) (1) and (a) (2).

Under 20 C.F.R. 404.989, the reopening regulation, the

Appeals Council simply should not be empowered to re-

view an error of law or an abuse of discretion by the

ALJ. See Call v. Heckler, supra.

III. PETITIONER’S EARNINGS RECORD FOR SOCIAL

SECURITY OLD-AGE INSURANCE BENEFITS

SHOULD HAVE BEEN CREDITED WITH HIS

EARNINGS DERIVED FROM HIS WORK ACTIVI-

TIES AS MANAGER AND SUPERVISOR OF A

PARTNERSHIP THAT OWNED AND OPERATED

AN APARTMENT COMPLEX WHEN PETITIONER

WAS A PARTNER IN THAT PARTNERSHIP.

In Delno v. Celebreeze, 347 F.2d 159, 9th Cir. 1965),

the Ninth Circuit discussed the purposes of the old-age in-

surance provisions of the Act and the construction of the

“service to occupant” exception as follows:

ne |

15

“The general purpose of the old-age, survivor and

disability insurance provisions of Title II of the So

cial Security Act is to protect workers and their de-

pendents from the risk of loss of income due to the

insured’s old age, death, or disability. Aceordingly,

entitlement to benefits is based upon the receipt of

income from labor, which old age, death, or disability

would interrupt; and not upon the receipt of income

from the investment of capital, which these events

would presumably not affect. The ultimate problem

in this case is to determine whether the statutory

provisions and interpretative regulations which have

been drawn with this general distinction in mind re-

quire that the payment which appellant received be

treated as investment income rather than income

from labor. (347 F.2d at 161).

After acknowledging the complexity of the issues pre-

sented by claimant’s case, the District Judge affirmed the

Secretary’s denial of benefits for Petitioner on the sep-

arate legal ground that for at least 1979 and 1980, claim-

ant’s guaranteed payments from GMA were offset by his

distributive share of losses incurred from partnerships

of which he was a member. This ground was one that

had not been discussed in the decision of the Appeals

Council.

The ALJ made critical findings of fact after hearing

and observing the demeanor of the witnesses at the hear-

ing. His conclusion that Petitioner “was, in effect, an

employee of the partnership with respect to his duties as

a manager” correctly reflects Petitioner’s status and the

character of the income he received for his labor in man-

aging the day-to-day operations of the apartment com-

plex.

16

IV. PETITIONER’S EARNINGS RECORD FOR SOCIAL

SECURITY OLD-AGE INSURANCE BENEFITS

SHOULD BE CREDITED WITH QUARTERS OF

COVERAGE HE EARNED PRIOR TO 1951.

The Court of Appeals declined to rule on Petitioner’s

contention that he is entitled to 11 quarters of coverage

for years prior to 1951 observing that Petitioner “is not

precluded from seeking correction of his earnings records

for those years prior to 1951 pursuant to 42 U.S.C.A.

405(c)”. (Appendix A, infra, p. 3a). At oral argu-

ment in the Court of Appeals the Secretary’s counsel ar-

gued, however, that Petitioner would be barred from seek-

ing correction of his earnings records prior to 1951. To

prevent injustice to Petitioner this Court should deter-

mine, based upon the Secretary’s own records, that Peti-

tioner is entitled to 11 quarters of coverage for years

prior to 1951.

In his evaluation of the evidence, the ALJ determined

that:

“Prior to the elimination of the quarters of coverage

awarded for 1978, 1979 and 1980, Mr. Reddington’s

certified earnings record (Exhibit 9), showed that

he had at least 36 quarters of coverage, counting

quarters of coverage at issue in this case for the

years 1978, 1979 and 1980. (Appendix C, infra,

p. 21a).

The Appeals Council disagreed with the ALJ on the

total number of quarters of coverage with which Peti-

tioner should be credited, stating in its decision:

“The Appeals Court notes that the crediting of 12

quarters of coverage for 1978 through 1980 would

result in the claimant having only 27 of the 31 quar-

ters of coverage he needs to be fully insured.” (Ap-

pendix D, infra, p. 35a).

The Appeals Council made a finding that “the claim-

ant has acquired only 15 quarters of coverage through

17

1980, whereas he needs 31 quarters of coverage to be

fully insured.” ( Appendix D, infra, p. 37a).

The Appeals Council and the ALJ agree that Peti-

tioner is entitled to credit for 15 quarters of coverage for

1974, 1975, 1976 and 1977. Disregarding the 12 quarters

of coverage at issue for the years 1978, 1979 and 1980,

the difference in these calculations concerns the quarters

of coverage for which Petitioner should be credited prior

to 1974.

Petitioner’s military service prior to 1951 was deter-

mined not creditable for Social Security purposes inas-

much as Petitioner was receiving a benefit from another

federal agency on the basis of that service. What the

Appeals Council and the Social Security Administration

in its Reconsideration Decision ignored, however. was Pe-

titioner’s quarters of coverage earned for his employ-

ment prior to his military service. Based upon Petition-

er’s Transcript of Earnings Record, it appears that he

was entitled to credit for one (1) quarter of covered em-

ployment in 1938; four (4) quarters in 1939; and four

(4) quarters in 1940 for a total of nine (9) quarters of

coverage prior to 1974. These nine (9) quarters of cov-

erage are the difference between the findings of the ALJ

and those of the Appeals Council, for the Appeals Council

noted that if Petitioner were credited with the twelve

(12) quarters of coverage for 1978, 1979 and 1980, he

would have had twenty-seven (27) quarters of coverage

while the ALJ found that he had at least thirty-six (36)

quarters of coverage. It further appears that the ALJ

disregarded quarters of coverage in 1941 and 1943 for

which Petitioner might have been entitled to credit to

insure that no part of the military service that served as

a basis of a benefit Petitioner was receiving from another

federal agency would be included in the quarters of cov-

erage creditable for Petitioner’s Social Security purposes:

hence, the ALJ determined that Petitioner “had at least

thirty-six quarters of coverage, counting quarters of cov-

18

erage he earned before 1951”. (Appendix C, infra, p.

21a). The Act does provide that individuals can be cred-

ited with quarters of coverage for each year after 1936,

and Petitioner received benefits from federal agencies

other than the Social Security Administration for his

military service and his service as a foreign service offi-

cer for a 33-year period that ended on March 31, 1974.

It thus appears that the ALJ’s determination that Peti-

tioner “had at least 36 quarters of coverage, including

quarters of coverage he earned before 1951 and the twelve

,. quarters of coverage at issue in this case for the years

1978, 1979 and 1980” is correct based upon “the evidence

that was considered in making the determination or deci-

sion”. In view of this express determination by the ALJ

it is difficult to understand why the District Court and

the Court of Appeals declined “to rule on this issue since

it was not properly raised in the administrative proceed-

ings.” (Appendix A, infra, p. 3a; and see Appendix B,

infra, p. 9a (Note 3)).

CONCLUSION

Because of the conflict in the circuits concerning the

interpretation of the Secretary’s regulations governing

“review” and “reopening” of Social Security benefit de-

terminations and for the reasons above set forth, the Peti-

tioner respectfully prays that this Court issue its writ of

certiorari to review the judgment and opinion entered in

this case by the United States Court of Appeals for the

Fourth Circuit.

This the 21st day of November, 1987.

JACK BENJAMIN CRAWLEY, JR.

200 Bracken Court

Post Office Box 97155

Raleigh, NC 27624-7155

Telephone: (919) 847-2354

Counsel of Record

for the Petitioner

APPENDICES

‘

© . .

- ae

sy s ——. . m re ;

a ) ‘ . |

. 4 ,

+ . o ’ \:

‘ ‘

‘

* s :

® © ' ( :

: Ak. ba

a . ¥ |

v 1 ¥ |

i, , ; ‘

F : 4 ae |

; ¢ ‘

‘ "e ” :

= eo %

aes :

4 :

. : : ? | :

| }

> : F : |

” be ; .

2

; 3 |

s

3 ‘ “ '

; .

| Aw

‘

| a

* - : | .

b

s 7 |

‘ « :

;

. a

. af ;

.s ;

r) ‘ ‘ | ‘ |

y : 5 3 : |

« uel

; ‘

.

4 ¥ :

>

Pe

2 :

: .

~) :

t

t

. r

‘ os |

i

a

‘

\

a ‘

la.

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 86-3625 —

JOHN P. REDDINGTON,

Plaintiff-Appellant

v.

OTIS R. BOWEN,

Defendant-A ppellee

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of North Carolina, at New Bern

Terrence W. Boyle, District Judge—(CA-85-82-2)

Argued: May 5, 1987 Decided: July 23, 1987

Before HALL and WILKINS, Circuit Judges, and

HOFFMAN, United States District Judge for the East-

ern District of Virginia, sitting by designation.

Jack Benjamin Crawley, Jr. (Walter J. Early; Early

& Chandler on brief) for Appellant; Stanley Ericsson,

Office of the General Counsel, Department of Health &

2a

Human Services (Richard K. Willard, Assistant, Attor-

ney General; Donald A. Gonya, Assistant General Coun-

Counsel; Randolph W. Gaines, Deputy Assistant General

Counsel for Litigation; John M. Sacchetti, Chief, Retire-

ment and Survivors Insurance Litigation Branch on

brief) for Appellee.

PER CURIAM:

John P. Reddington appeals from the order of the dis-

trict court affirming‘the denial by the Secretary of old-

age insurance benefits on the basis that he is not fully

insured. We affirm.

To be fully insured and eligible for benefits, Redding-

ton must have 31 quarters of coverage. It is uncontested

that he has 15 quarters for the period from 1974 to 1976.

In dispute are 12 quarters for the years 1978 through ,

1980 and 11 quarters fo employment prior to 1951.

The administrative law judge found that Reddington

was entitled to the 12 quarters for 1978 through 1980

and 9 quarters prior to 1951 and concluded that he was

fully insured with at least 36 quarters of coverage. ‘The

Appeals Council reopened the case on its own motion and

denied benefits, finding that Reddington had only 15

quarters of coverage and was thus not fully insured. The

district court found that the Appeals Council properly

reopened the decision of the ALJ and affirmed the denial

of benefits. t

On appeal, Reddington asserts that the Secretary did

not have the authority to reopen the case and that he is

entitled to the 12 quarters ef coverage for 1978 through

1980. We affirm on the séund reasoning of the district

court. Reddington v. Bowen, 640 F.Supp. 1005 (E.D.N.C.

1986).

Reddington also contends on appeal that he is entitled

to 11 quarters of coverage for years prior to 1951. We

3a

decline to rule on this issue since it was not properly

raised in the administrative proceedings. See Redding-

ton, 640 F. Supp. at 1108 n.3. Reddington is not pre-

cluded from seeking correction of his earnings records for

those years prior to 1951 pursuant to 42 U.S.C.A. § 405

(c) CWest 1988 & Supp. 1987). Further, he is free to

reapply for benefits and seek entitlement for any quar-

ters of coverage acquired since 1980.

AFFIRMED.

HOFFMAN, District Judge, concurring:

In Zimmerman v. Heckler, 774 F.2d 615 (4th Cir.

1985), this Court permitted the Appeals Council to

reopen the decision of the Administrative Law Judge,

holding—

The Appeals Council, however, is empowered to re-

open, within four years of the date of the notice of

the initial determination, any determination if “good

cause” exists. 20 C.F.R. § 404.988(b) (1985).

In McCuin v. Secretary of Health and Human Services,

. 817 F.2d 161 (1st Cir. 1987), the Court clearly states

that the right to reopen for “good cause” is restricted to

the claimant.

Thus, a conflict in circuits has arisen. No individual

panel of this Court may overrule a prior holding of the

Court. Since I am bound by the Zimmerman ruling,

I concur.

4a

APPENDIX B

Note: Reported in 640 F. Supp. 1005.

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR

THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF NORTH CAROLINA

NEW BERN DIVISION

No. 84-104-CIV-4

JOHN P. REDDINGTON,

Petitioner,

v.

Otis R. BOWEN, Secretary, Health and Human Services,

Respondent.

[Filed Aug. 4, 1986]

ORDER

Petitioner John P. Reddington (claimant) filed this

action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) challenging the

final decision of the Secretary of Health and Human

Services denying him old-age insurance benefits under

Title II of the Social Security Act (the Act). The claim-

ant also seeks mandamus relief pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1361. The case is before the court on the parties’ cross-

motions for summary judgment. Because the court finds

that substantial evidence supports the Secretary’s final

decision, in the form of an Appeals Council’s ruling,

respondent’s motion for summary judgment is granted

and the Secretary’s decision is affirmed.

1 Dr. Otis R. Bowen is substituted as a party in this suit in place

of Margaret Heckler pursuant to Rule 25(d) of the Federal Rules .

of Civil Procedure.

5a

I.

Claimant applied for Social Security old-age insurance

benefits on December 16, 1981. A claimant must be “fully

insured” in order to receive these benefits. 42 U.S.C.

$402(a). A claimant becomes “fully insured” by ac-

cumulating a réguisite number of “quarters of coverage”

in employment covered under the Act. 42 U.S.C. § 414.

Only self-employment and wage income are considered

in determining how many quarters of coverage an in-

dividual has accumulated. 42 U.S.C. § 413. All parties

agree that claimant needs thirty-one quarters of coverage

in employment covered by the Act in order to be fully

insured within the meaning of § 402.

Claimant’s application for benefits was denied by the

Social Security Administration and he was granted a

hearing before an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) in

May, 1983. The ALJ concluded that claimant was fully

insured, finding that he possessed at least thirty-six quar-

ters of coverage. The ALJ noted that the issue before him

was whether claimant’s income during,the years 1978

through 1980 was “wages” or self-employment income so

as to entitle claimant to twelve additional quarters of

coverage. The judge found claimant entitled to fifteen

quarters of coverage for the years 1974 through 1976,

nine quarters for employment prior to 1951, and twelve

quarters for the years 1978 through 1980.

The ALJ’s decision was handed down on May 23, 1983.

The Social Security Administration (SSA) did not appeal

from this determination. Approximately six months later,

in December, 1983, the Office of Hearings and Appeals

notified claimant that the Appeals Council was reopening

his case sua sponte on the grounds that evidence con-

sidered by the ALJ clearly showed that an error was

made in adjudicating claimant’s claim. See 20 C.F.R.

§§ 404.988(b), 404.989 (a) (3). On January 24, 1984, the

Appeals Council reviewed the ALJ’s ruling and held that

the claimant was not entitled to old-age benefits because

6a

he did not possess the necessary quarters of coverage.

The Appeals Council found that claimant possessed only

fifteen quarters of coverage, i.e, from March, 1974

through December, 1977. Claimant then commenced the

present civil action in this court on October 3, 1984.

Il.

The court is called upon to determine whether the Ap-

peals Council properly computed claimant’s quarters of

coverage for the fiscal years 1978, 1979 and 1980. Claim-

ant maintains that the ALJ correctly included these

twelve quarters in computing his total number of quar-

ters of coverage. The Secretary contends that substantial

evidence exists in the record to support the Appeals

Council’s exclusion of these twelve quarters.

During the years 1978, 1979 and 1980, Reddington per-

formed services in connection with the operation of apart-

ment complexes owned by a partnership doing business as

Greenmount Associates (GMA). Claimant was a general

partner in this partnership, as well as in two other

partnerships, i.e., Rose Hill Associates (RHA) and Rose

Hill Associates Water Company (RHAWC) during the

years 1978, 1979 and 1980. Pursuant to a partnership

agreement dated October 15, 1975, claimant received

specific payments from GMA for-managing the apart-

ment complexes in addition to receiving a distributive

share of the profits or losses incurred by the partnership.

Claimant’s specific payments for his services were pay-

able without regard to partnership income and did not

affect his distributive share of partnership income or loss.

Claimant’s income tax records indicate he received pay-

ments for services from GMA in the amounts of $15,360,

$14,080 and $16,640 for the years 1978, 1979 and 1980,

respectively. GMA operated at a loss for the fiscal years

1978 through 1980. RHWAC operated at a loss for the

fiscal years 1979 and 1980.

aaa

Ta

The ALJ determined that the relationship between

claimant and GMA was that of employer and employee

notwithstanding claimant’s status as a general partner

in the employer-partnership. On these facts, the ALJ

found the income for claimant’s employment during the

years 1978, 1979 and 1980 to be “wages” qualifying the

claimant for an additional twelve quarters of coverage

towards the thirty-one needed for eligibility.

The Appeals Council reopened and reversed the ALJ

and found that the claimant’s income for the years 1978,

1979 and 1980 could not be characterized as “wages” be-

cause claimant, as a general partner of GMA, was the

employer and therefore could not be an employee of the

partnership. The Appeals Council also ruled that income

reported for these years was not self-employment income

under the Act. The Appeals Council found that GMA’s

income was “rental income” within the meaning of 42

U.S.C. §411(a)(1). The Council then concluded that

GMA’s payments to claimant for his managerial efforts

were merely “guaranteed payments” of the same nature

and quality as GMA’s partnership income, i.e., “rental

income.” Thus, the Appeals Council excluded those pay-

ments from self-employment earnings pursuant to 42

U.S.C. §411(a) (1) and 20 C.F.R. § 404.1082(d).

ITI.

This case presents several issues for resolution. The

first issue is whether the Appeals Council can reopen a

decision sua sponte when that decision was resolved in

a claimant’s favor. Second, the court must determine

whether claimant’s income for the years 1978, 1979 and

1980 was properly excluded in computing his quarters of

coverage for old-age insurance purposes. Third, the court

must determine whether mandamus relief is warranted

in this case.

8a

A. Reopening of Cases Sua Sponte

The first issue is quickly resolved. The Appeals Council

is empowered to reopen a case sua sponte within four

years of the date of initial determination if “good cause”

exists. 20 C.F.R. § 404.988(b) (1985). See also Zimmer-

man v. Heckler, 774 F.2d 615, 617 (4th Cir. 1985). Good

cause to reopen exists when “[t]he evidence that was con-

sidered in making the determination or decision clearly

shows on its face that an error was made.” 20 C.F.R.

§ 404.989(a)(3) (1985). The error may be legal or

factual in nature. Musinger v. Schweiker, 709 F.2d 1212,

1215-16 (8th Cir. 1983) .*

As will be explained below, the ALJ clearly erred in

characterizing the claimant as an “employee” of GMA.

The ALJ also erred in relying on Exhibit 9 in concluding

that claimant earned nine quarters of coverage for pre-

1951 employment. He described Exhibit 9 as a certified

earnings record that included pre-1974 covered earnings.

In fact, Exhibit 9 consists of partially completed “re

quests for scouting” forms which report earnings from

1974 through 1976. The Appeals Council properly re-

opened the ALJ’s decision given these errors.

Claimant also argues that the ALJ’s findings are sup-

ported by substantial evidence. However, judicial review

of a final decision of the Secretary which is at odds in its

factual findings with that of an ALJ focuses upon the

Secretary’s final decision rather than upon the ALJ’s.

Kellough v. Heckler, 785 F.2d 1147 (4th Cir. 1986).

Courts in judicial review must uphold an Appeals Coun-

cil decision if it is supported by substantial evidence.

Id. at 1151. The ALJ’s findings are not binding on the

Appeals Council. Lovejoy v. Heckler, 790 F.2d 1114, 1116

(4th Cir. 1986). Since the Appeals Council properly re-

2 Of course, any reopening for legal error must be based on an

incorrect interpretation of the law as construed at the time of the

administrative hearing. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.989(b) (1985).

EEE

9a

opened this case and did not exceed its authority, this

court’s review of the Council’s decision is confined to as-

certaining whether its factual findings are supported by

substantial evidence. See Lovejoy, 790 F.2d at 1116, cit-

ing 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). See also Kellough, 785 F.2d at

1149 n. 2.

Federal courts review the Secretary’s factual findings

to establish that those findings are supported by substan-

tial evidence. Yet the courts also must assure that the

Secretary’s ultimate conclusions are legally correct.

Myers v. Califano, 611 F.2d 980, 982 (4th Cir. 1980).

The entire record is examined to insure that the Secre-

tary has applied correct legal standards. Keeney v. Heck-

ler, 568 F. Supp. 1145, 1148 (D. Md. 1983). The Appeals

Council decision in this case contained factual findings

consistent to a great extent with the ALJ’s. The Council

incorporated most of the ALJ’s evidentiary findings into

its own decision. The Secretary’s final decision differed

from the ALJ’s most notably in the legal conclusions

drawn from these basically undisputed facts.’

* There is some factual discrepancy as to whether vel non claim-

ant’s employment prior to 1951 entitles him to nine additional!

Quarters of coverage for old-age insurance purposes. A review of

the administrative decisions in this case and the hearing transcript

reveals that this issue was not explicitly presented by claimant

before either the ALJ or the Appeals Council. The ALJ framed the

specific issue before him as whether the claimant’s earnings record

may be credited with wages or self-employment income for the

years 1978, 1979 and 1980. There is no evidence indicating that the

claimant contested the SSA’s initial determination that he was not

entitled to any quarters of coverage for employment prior to 1974.

In fact, claimant did not press his claim for nine additional quarters

of coverage relating to pre-1951 employment prior to filing a reply

brief in this case. The court therefore is hesitant to address this

particular issue, given claimant’s failure to raise this specific claim

in administrative proceedings. See United States v. Ome 1971

Mercedes Benz, 542 F.2d 912 (4th Cir. 1976).

Furthermore, the court need not address the merits of this issue

at this time. Since the court affirms the Secretary’s final decision

for the reasons given hereafter, claimant at most possesses twenty-

10a

All agree that the claimant served as exclusive manager

of Greenmount Associates’ apartment complexes pursuant

to a partnership agreement executed in 1975. They also

agree on the compensation claimant received for his man-

agerial services. The question is whether that compensa-

tion is to be treated as “wages” or self-employment in-

come. Because the Appeals Council interpreted federal

tax law as precluding claimant from characterizing this

compensation as “wages,” this characterization is a legal

conclusion. In contrast, the Secretary’s determination

that GMA’s income from the apartment complex was

“rental income” presents a mixed question of fact and

law. The parties agree on the specific services claimant

provided in his capacity as apartment manager. The

characterization of income derived from these services as

“rental income” is a legal conclusion. The court must

apply different standards of review in resolving the

“wages” and “rental income” issues.

B. The Quarters of Coverage Question

While the Appeals Council’s findings are supported by

substantial evidence in the record, it is less certain

whether the Secretary applied pertinent legal standards

in concluding that claimant’s income fell within § 411

(a) (1)’s “rental income” exclusionary provision. How-

ever, because another legal theory exists which prevents

claimant from receiving at least eight quarters of cover-

age, the Secretary’s final decision must be affirmed.

1. Wages v. Self-Employment Income

Entitlement to quarters of coverage flows from “wages”

earned in employment or from net earnings from self-

eight quarters of coverage, including the nine quarters of coverage

for pre-1951 employment. Since this total falls short of the thirty-

one quarters required to entitle claimant to old-age benefits, the

inclusion of these additional quarters would still not entitle claimant

to benefits at this time.

lla

employment under the Act. It is undisputed that the

claimant was a general partner in the GMA partnership

for the years 1978 through 1980. Federal tax law pro-

vides that claimant could not be simultaneously classified

as both an employee and a general partner of GMA.

Bona fide members of a partnership are not employees of

the partnership within the meaning of the Federal Insur-

ance Contributions Act. IRS Revenue Ruling 69-184.

A partner who devotes his time and energies to providing

services to the partnership is a self-employed individual

rather than an employee. Jd. Any fixed salary received

by a partner for his services rendered to the partnership

is not “wages” with respect to employment but rather is

a “guaranteed payment” which is includable in the re-

cipient partner’s gross income subject to self-employment

tax. Jd.; IRS Revenue Ruling 56-676. Therefore, the

ALJ erred as a matter of law in characterizing claim-

ant’s income for the years 1978 through 1980 as

“wages.” #

2. Claimant’s Income As “Rental Income”

Given that claimant’s income for the three years in

question is not “wages,” claimant can qualify for quar-

ters of coverage only if that income can be qualified as

net earnings from self-employment (NESE) under the

Act. The Act defines NESE as:

“The gross income, as computed under Subtitle A

of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, derived by an

individual from any trade or business carried on by

such individual, less the deductions allowed under

such subtitle which are attributable to such trade or

business, plus his distributive share (whether or not

distributed) of income or loss .. . from any trade

or business carried on by a partnership of which he

* The court notes that at least in one year, i.e., 1980, claimant

characterized his fixed salary as guaranteed payments and included

the same in a Schedule K-1 “Partner’s Share of Income” form.

12a

is a member; except that in computing such gross

income and deductions and such distributive share of

partnership ordinary income or loss—

(1) There shall be excluded rentals from real es-

tate and from personal property leased with the real

A as

42 U.S.C. § 411(a). The Appeals Council found that any

income which GMA derived from operation of its apart-

ment complex was “rental income” excluded in deter-

mining claimant’s NESE.

Only those services provided for the occupant’s con-

venience may be included in computing one’s net earnings

from self-employment. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1082(d). Services

provided solely in connection with the rental of rooms for

occupancy are not included in the Act’s definition of

NESE. Hotel services and the use of space in parking

lots, warehouse or storage garages are considered to be

services provided to occupants. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1082

(d) (2) (i) (1985). SSA regulations further provide that

“we do not consider the furnishing of heat and light, the

cleaning of public entrances, exists, stairways and lobbies

and the collection of trash, as services provided to the

occupant.” 20 C.F.R. § 404.1082 (d) (2) (ii) (1985).

There is no dispute as to the particular services claim-

ant performed in his capacity as apartment manager for

GMA’s several apartment complexes. The record reveals

that claimant’s responsibilities included providing leases,

repairs, replacement and cleaning of rugs, instruction to

tenants regarding proper cleaning of rugs, ground main-

tenance and maintenance of heating and air cooling sys-

tems. Claimant also received and answered service calls.

Among the miscellaneous services provided by GMA

through claimant was the servicing of plugged drains and

other plumbing problems.

The Appeals Council characterized claimant as “the

one who places all the orders for the materials, writes all

13a

checks for invoices, payroll, ete.” The Council concluded

that GMA did not furnish services or supplies to its

apartment tenants. Since GMA income was therefore

“rental income,” the Council continued, then a fortiori

claimant’s income also fell within that category excludable

from self-employment income computation.

The claimant’s income is not easily characterized. The

characterization of his income as either rental or self-

employment income depends upon the characterization of

GMA’s income for the years 1978 through 1980. Claim-

ant’s income characterization is inextricably intertwined

with that of GMA because the former was 2 general part-

ner in the latter. Claimant performed his services on be-

half of GMA, and the nature of his income, received from

the partnership, was no different from the nature of those

payments received by GMA from its tenants; the existence

of GMA as a partnership entity does not per se alter the

characterization of income received from it and distrib-

uted to its recipient partners. Cf. Ames v. Finch, 297 F.

Supp. 1147, 1149 (C.D. Ca. 1969) (Social Security regu-

lations discriminating between NESE and rental income

apply equally to partnership and individual owners of

multi-housing units). |

It is a close question whether._GMA’s income for the

years 1978 through 1980 constitutes self-employment in-

come or rental income. The tedious task of discerning

between services rendered to occupants and services ren-

dered solely to make space available for occupancy is fur-

ther compounded by case law which is neither clear nor

exhaustive in treating this particular subject matter.

Compare Hudson v. Celebrezze, 220 F. Supp. 738, 740-41° -

(E.D.N.C. 1963) (customary services rendered solely to

make space available for occupancy, as well as services

performed in proper maintenance of premises are not con-

sidered services provided to occupant), with Bunch v.

Schweiker, 681 F.2d 249, 251 (4th Cir. 1982) (implying

that cleaning of premises, providing of laundry facilities

14a

and maintaining of grass on premises may constitute

services provided to occupants). Furthermore, there is

“a question as to whether the court must treat the entire

sum of payments made to GMA as self-employment in-

come if only a small fraction of those payments con-

stituted compensation for services rendered to those

tenants. See Delno v. Celebrezze, 347 F.2d 159, 163 &

n. 10 (9th Cir. 1965). This court is not persuaded that

the Delno oo has treated this problem in a comprehen-

sive manner.

However, the court need not resolve these complex is-

sues. There exists a separate legal ground which man-

dates that the Secretary’s denial of benefits be affirmed.

Thereforé, the court affirms the Appeals Council decision

on a separate and distinct legal ground.

3. Computation of Claimant’s NESE for 1978-1980

Assuming, arguendo, that claimant’s income for the

years 1978 through 1980 is “self-employment income,”

as that term is defined in the Act, the court must pro-

ceed to determine whether claimant’s NESE was of a

sufficient amount for these years to entitle him to quar-

ters of coverage for that time period. A close view of

the record in this case reveals that for at least 1979 and

1980 claimant’s guaranteed payments were offset by his

distributive share of losses incurred from partnerships

of which he was a member. See 42 U.S.C. § 411(a).

Accordingly, claimant at most is entitled to four quar-

ters of coverage for the years 1978 through 1980. This

number would provide claimant with at most twenty-

eight quarters of coverage, still leaving him ineligible

to receive social security old-age insurance benefits. Ac-

cordingly, the Secretary’s decision must be affirmed on

this separate legal ground.

As mentioned earlier, a claimant’s NESE is defined

under the Act as gross income less the distributive share

of income or loss from any trade or business carried on

l5a

by a partnership of which the claimant is a member.

Federal tax law sheds further light on this definition.

Where a partner’s distributive share includes a loss re-

sulting from the operation of the partnership business,

including the deduction for a guaranteed payment

treated as a business expense, the partner’s self-

employment income is the net amount computed by ap-

plying to the guaranteed payment the distributive share

of loss. See 26 I.R.C. § 707(c). See also Revenue Ruling

56-675.

This method of determining NESE precludes plaintiff

from claiming quarters of coverage for the years 1979

through 1980. Plaintiff’s tax returns reveal that he

claimed his distributive share of losses from the RHAWC

partnership as totaling $18,167.41 for 1979 and $18,721.29

for 1980. Since claimant’s NESE consists of the aggre-

gate of net income and losses, a loss sustained in one

trade or business carried on by an individual will operate

~ to offset the income derived by him from another trade

or business. See 26 C.F.R. § 1.1402(a)-2(c). Accord-

ingly, claimant’s distributive losses from RHAWC for the

years 1979 and 1980 offset the guaranteed payments he

received from GMA for these years.’ Since claimant’s

_ distributive losses from RHAWC exceed his claimed total

income from GMA in 1979 and 1980, he could at best

have an arguable claim for four quarters of coverage for

1978. Since the addition of these four quarters of cover-

age provide claimant with at most twenty-eight quarters

of -coverage,® the Secretary’s decision denying him old-

age insurance benefits must be affirmed.

5 As mentioned earlier, claimant listed guaranteed payments in

the amounts of $14,080 and $16,640 for the years 1979 and 1980,

respectively.

*Of course, crediting claimant with twenty-eight quarters of

coverage assumes that he is entitled to the nine quarters deriving

from pre-1951 employment. See supra n. 3.

l6a

C. The Appropriateness of Mandamus Relief

The court’s rejection of claimant’s arguments on ap-

peal precludes the issuance of a writ of mandamus. The

writ is considered an extraordinary remedy which courts

will issue only if the plaintiff shows: (1) that a public

official has a plain duty to perform certain acts; (2) that

the plaintiff has a plain right to have those acts per-

formed; and (3) that there exists no other adequate

remedy by which the plaintiff’s rights can be vindicated.

Cook v. Arentzen, 582 F.2d 870, 876 (4th Cir. 1978).

The court’s ruling that claimant has failed to accumulate

a sufficient number of quarters to qualify for insurance

benefits precludes him from satisfying the three-prong

test enumerated above.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, claimant’s motions for sum-

mary judgment and mandamus relief are hereby DE-

NIED. The respondent’s motion for summary judgment

is GRANTED and the Secretary’s final decision is AF-

FIRMED.

SO ORDERED this 29th day of July, 1986. :

/s/ Terrence W. Boyle

TERRENCE W. BOYLE

United States District Judge

17a ©

APPENDIX C

CLAIM FILE

{Further Action

Necessary |

~ DEPARTMENT OF ;

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Social Security Administration

Office of Hearings and Appeals

Name and Address of Claimant:

John Reddington

103 Oxford Dr.

Greenville, NC 27834

- NOTICE OF FAVORABLE DECISION

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY

The enclosed decision is favorable to you, either wholly

or partly. If you are satisfied with the decision, there is

no need for you to contact the hearing office or the Social

Security office. You will be notified as soon as action on

the decision has been completed.

If you disagree with the decision, you have the right to

request the Appeals Council-to review it within 60 days

from the date of receipt of the notice of this decision.

It will be presumed-that this notice is received within 5

davs after the date shown below, unless a reasonable

show sig is made otherwise. -You (or your representa-

tive) may file a request for review at your local Social

Security office or at the hearing office, or you may write

to these offices indicating your intent to request review.

You may also mail the request for review directly to the

Appeals Council, Office of Hearings and Appeals, SSA,

P.O. Box 2518, Washington, D.C. 20013

The Appeals Council may, on its own motion, within 60

days from the date shown below, review the decision,

. 18a

which could possibly result in a change in the decision

(20 CFR 404.969 and 416.1469). After the 60-day pe-

riod, the Appeals Council generally may only reopen and

revise the decision on the basis of new and material evi-

dence, or if a clerical error has been made as to the

amount of the benefits or where there is an error as to

the decision on the face of the evidence on which it is

based (20 CFR 404.988 and 416.1488; 42 CFR 405.750

and 405.1570). If the Appeals Council decides to review

the enclosed decision on its own motion or to reopen and

revise it, you will be notified accordingly.

.Unless you timely request review by the Appeals Council

or the Council reviews the decision’ on its own initiative,

you may not obtain a court review of your‘case (section

205(g), 1631(c) (3), or 1869(b) or the Social Security

Act).

This notice and enclosed copy of

decision mailed

May 23, 1983

CC:

Name and Address of Representative:

Walter J. Early

Attorney at Law

119 S. Grace St. f

Rocky Mount, NC 27801

a

19a

CLAIM FILE

{Further Action

Necessary |

DEPARTMENT OF

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Social Security Administration

Office of Hearings and Appeals

DECISION

IN THE CASE OF JOHN _REDDINGTON

(CLAIMANT)

Claim for Old-Age Insurance Benefits

051-12-8976

(Social Security Number)

_ This case is before the Administrative Law Judge on

a request for hearing. The Administrative Law Judge

has carefully considered all the documents identified in

the record as exhibits, the testimony at the hearing and

arguments presented. —

ISSUES

The issue before the Administrative Law Judge is

whether the claimant is entitled to old-age insurance ben-

efits which depends, in part, on whether he has the pre-

requisite quarters of coverage to be fully insured for

such benefits. Specifically at issue is whether the claim-

ant’s earnings record may be credited with wages or self

employment income for the years 1978, 1979 and 1980.,

STATEMENT OF LAW AND REGULATIONS

Section 202(a) of the Social Security Act provides, as

pertinent here, for the payment of old-age insurance

benefits to an individual who is a fully insured individual

(as defined in section 214(a)), has attained age 62, and

has filed application for such benefits.

> 20a

Section 214(a) of the Act, as pertinent here, defines the

term “fully insured individual” as any person who has

not less than one quarter of coverage for each calendar

year elapsing after 1950 and before the year in which

he or she attained age 62.

Section 213(a) of the Act provides, as pertinent here,

that the term “quarter of coverage” means, for calendar

years before 1978, a calendar quarter in which an in-

dividual has been paid $50 or more in wages or has been

credited with $100 or more in self-employment income.

Section 213(a) of the Act further provides, as pertinent

here, that the term “quarter of coverage” means, for cal-

endar years after 1977, each portion of the total of the

wages paid and the self-employment income credited to

an individual in a calendar year which equals the amount

required for a quarter of coverage in that calendar year

(as determined under subsection (d)). Subsection (d)

provides that for the years 1978, 1979 and 1980, these

amounts are $250, $260 and $290, respectively.

Section 209 of the Act provides, as pertinent here, that

the term “wages” means remuneration for employment.

Section 211(b) of the Act, as pertinent here, provides

that the term “self-employment income” means the net

earnings from self-employment derived by an individual

during any taxable year beginning after 1950, except that

such term shall not include the net earnings from self-

employment if such net earnings for the taxable year are

less than $400.

Section 211(a) of the Social Security Act, as pertinent

here, defines the term “net earnings from self-employment”

as the gross income, as computed under subtitle A of the

Internal Revenue Code of 1954, derived by an individual

from any trade or business carried on by such individual,

less the deductions allowed under that subtitle which are

attributable to such trade or business.

2la

EVALUATION OF THE EVIDENCE

Mr. Reddington applied for retirement insurance bene-

fits on December 16, 1981, in anticipation of retirement

upon reaching age 62 in March 1982. His claim for

benefits was denied initially and on reconsideration be-

cause he lacked sufficient quarters of coverage to be

“fully insured” under the Social Security Act. This was

based on a determination that his income for the years

1978, 1979 and 1980 was net earnings from the rentals

of real estate and could not be the basis for the award

of quarters of coverage for those years. Prior to the

elimination of the quarters of coverage awarded for

1978, 1979 and 1980, Mr. Reddington’s certified earnings

record (Exhibit 9), showed that he had at least 36 quar-

ters of coverage, counting quarters of coverage he earned

before 1951 and the twelve quarters of coverage at issue

in this case for the years 1978, 1979 and 1980. Not in-

cluded were any quarters of coverage he possibly earned

after 1980. Mr. Reddington requires 31 quarters of cov-

erage to be fully insured. Thereafter, he made a timely

request for a hearing.

A hearing was held in Greenville, North Carolina, on

February 25, 1983. Mr. Reddington was represented by

Walter Early, an attorney at law. Mr. Reddington testi-

fied at the hearing as did Ms. Josephine Dees, Mr. Red-

dington’s accountant, Mr. E. C. Powell, Mr. Reddington’s

partner, and Mr. Don Rudd, a manager of an apartment

unit owned by Mr. Reddington and Mr. Powell.

The testimony at the hearing and the documentary evi-

dence of record show that Mr. Reddington entered into

a partnership with C. H .Powell, E. C. Powell, and

V. W. Thomas in September 1974, to purchase and op-

erate apartment buildings. Thomas Realty Company was

to be paid to manage the apartments. The partnership

agreement contained extensive provisions relating to the

duties and manner of payment for management provided

by Thomas Realty. This relationship terminated based

22a

on a notice given in September 1975, and was replaced

by a partnership agreement entered into on October 15,

1975 by the Powells and Mr. Reddington. Mr. Reddington

4 was to become the manager of the properties owned by

the partnership which were to be called Greenmount As-

sociates (hereinafter GMA). The partnership agreement

provided that Mr. Reddington would be paid $1,000 per

month in addition to his distributive share as a partner.

The section of the partnership agreement dealing with

Mr. Reddington’s management capacity indicated that

his position as a manager could be terminated on 60

days notice from either Mr. Reddington or the Powells

to the other party (Exhibit 30). This partnership rela-

tionship continues to the present time.

Mr. Reddington served as manager of GMA’s properties

after October 1975. He also manages two other partner-

ships, which he entered with C. H. Powell. These are

Rose Hill Associates (hereinafter RHA) and Rose Hill

Associates Water Company (hereinafter RHAWC), a

trailer park and water utility company, respectively.

The ownership shares in GMA are 3714 percent, 371,

percent, and 25 percent for C. H. Powell, E. C. Powell,

and Mr. Reddington, respectively. Only Mr. Reddington

was identified in the partnership agreement to performs

specific duties and to receive money other than distribu-

tion according to partnership shares. The Powells were

to share only in the profit and loss of the partnerships.

In RHA and RHAWC, C. H. Powell and Mr. Reddington

share equally (Exhibits 13 through 16, 18 and 30).

Mr. Reddington and the other witnesses testified at the

hearing and the.documentary evidence establishes Mr.

Reddington’s extensive work activity on behalf of the

GMA partnership. With respect to the trailer _park,

RHA, a different manager has been appointed. In addi-

tion, Mr. Reddington and the Powells are available to

make major decisions but the day to day decisions are

made by the manager (Exhibit 18). The oversight func-

—SESs_—_ee

|

;

.

|

:

23a

tions with respect to RHAWC are provided for by a sub-

contractor ( Exhibit 26).

In a letter dated January 15, 1983, Mr. Reddington de-

scribed his duties with GMA as similar to those that

would be performed by a chief of operations. These du-

ties include bookkeeping, collections, reviewing paper-

work, issuing checks, banking, preparing weekly and

monthly reports for the other partners, personnel mat-

ters, including all hiring and firing, and oversight of

the maintenance of the apartments (Exhibit 29). This

description of his activities is supported by a letter dated

June 10, 1982, from his accountant, Ms. Josephine Dees

(Exhibit 25). Documents of record indicate that in the

past Mr. Reddington has engaged in major financial af-

fairs on behalf of GMA (Exhibit 20).

For his work, Mr. Reddington originally received $1,000

per month according to the partnership contract (Ex-

hibit 30). This was increased over time to $1,280 per

month in 1982, and was increased to $2,560 per month

for January, February and March 1982 (Exhibit 23).

At that point he intended to stop receiving his salary

(Exhibit 13): In his personal United States tax returns

for 1978, 1979 and 1980, he reported gross receipts from

this work activity from GMA for $15,360, $14,080, and

$16,340, respectively. These were deducted by GMA as

a guaranteed payment to a partner for. 1980, and were

not specifically identified in its return for the other years

(Exhibit 19).

The critical factor in resolution of this claim is the char-

acterization of the money received by Mr. Reddington

from GMA. Unfortunately, this money has been cast as

a horse of at least four different colors, with Mr. Red-

dington advocating different hues at different times. At

the lower levels of appeal, the Social Security Admin-

istration denied Mr. Reddington’s claim based on their

conclusion that the money he derived from GMA, RHA,

and RHAWC, constituted rentals from real estate and

24a

self-employment income, with no resultant net income

(Exhibit 22). On his Schedule C of his United States

tax returns for these years, Mr. Reddington identified

himself as an “apartment manager” (Exhibits 18 and

19). In his letter of January 15, 1983, Mr. Reddington

referred to this income as wages and salary, distinct

from his distributive share of the partnership income.

He regarded this as reimbursement for his activities as

chief of operations (Exhibit 29). At the hearing, Mr.

Reddington identified himself as a private contractor.

Mr. Reddington’s attorney submitted a brief on April 15,

1988, contending that Mr. Reddington has been an in-

dependent contractor. In Exhibit 31, a statement sub-

mitted by Mr. Reddington at the hearing, he character-

ized his management fees as salary. The Powell broth-

ers, in a statement signed on February 24, 1983, also

indicated their opinion that Mr. Reddington has been an

independent contractor (Exhibit 30).

Before addressing each characterization individually, the

Administrative Law Judge must first note that Mr. Red-

dington’s relationships to these partnerships has not con-

sistently or clearly been only one legal entity. The Ad-

ministrative Law Judge can only conclude as to what

the relationship has not been and what it primarily has

been. With respect to his relationship to RHA and

RHAWC, the partnership agreement between C. H.

Powell and Mr. Reddington does not contain a manage-

ment arrangement as is contained in the partnership

agreement for GMA. In fact, the partnership agreement

for RHA and RHAWC assign the management of those

business to Hazel Hs Powell and Eunice H. Red-

dington (Exhibit 18). In addition, as testified to at the

hearing and reflected in statements of record, Mr. Red-

dington has had very few duties relating to the opera-

tion of these partnerships.

With respect to the amounts at issue, in kis 1980

United States tax return, Mr. Reddington reported

25a

$16,640 included as a guaranteed payment to a partner.

This amount is reflected in the Schedule K-1 of the 1980

return filed by GMA. In 1980, neither RHA nor

RHAWC made any guaranteed payments to partners.

RHA did distribute income to partners as reflected by its

report on Schedule K-1 and Mr. Reddington’s Schedule E

for 1980. RHAWC showed a net loss.

In 1979, RHA reported a net loss. GMA reported no

guaranteed payments to partners and reported an overall

loss. Mr. Reddington’s individual United States tax re-

turn for 1979 showed $14,080 of gross income as an

apartment manager reported in Schedule C. He also

shared in the net losses of all three partnerships which is

consistent with the reports of the Schedules K-1 for each

of the three partnerships.

For 1978, Mr. Reddington reported-gross income on his

Schedule C of $15,360 and Schedule E losses for all three

partnerships. The Administrative Law Judge notes that

GMA reported its payments to Mr. Reddington incorsist-

ently over the three years. Apart from this, several other

points are clear. RHAWC has shown no net income and

therefore need not be considered further. RHA has made

one distribution in three years. Based on the absence of

any significant duties more than would be expected of a

partner and the absence of any contractural arrangement

for Mr. Reddington to perform specific duties for RHA,

the Administrative Law Judge concludes that the one

distribution Mr. Reddington received from RHA was a

return on investment. Therefore, it is not “income” as

defined in the Social Security Act which would generate

a quarter of coverage. Thus, all that remains to be ex-

amined are the payments made to Mr. Reddington by

GMA.

GMA generates money by renting apartments. Mr.

Reddington is not a real estate broker, but he is in a

business which is something other than merely receiving

a return on investment. The description of his activities

aan

does conform to his characterization as a chief of opera-

tions or a general manager. He does perform extensive

activities and provides extensive services to the occupants

of the apartments owned by GMA. Thus, the money has

received from GMA is not just a return from real estate

investment within the meaning of Section 404.1083 of

Social Security Regulations No. 4.

Turning now to the contentions made by Mr. Redding-

ton that he has been an independent contractor, the Ad-

ministrative Law Judge notes that there are certain gen-

eral principles of law used to distinguish independent

contractors from employees. The general distinguishing

factor is that a principal has no right to control the man-

ner and method in which an independent contractor per-

forms a job other than what is established by their ‘von-

tract. In addition, there are certain characteristics gen-

erally possessed by independent contractors. An inde-

pendent contractor usually has a distinct business -and

frequently engages in contractual relationships with sev-

eral other contractors. An independent contractor gener- .

ally provides his or her own tools and facilities. An inde-

pendent contractor is usually employed for a specific

period of time. An independent contractor usually is paid

on a contractual or “per job” basis rather than on the

basis of a time period.

Mr. Reddington’s management predecessor, Thomas Realty

Company, quite possibly was an independent contrac-

tor with GMA. This factor is not determinative. The

Administrative Law Judge notes that the contract be-

tween GMA and the Thomas Realty Company was quite

extensive in detailing the relationship. The agreement

between Mr. Reddington and his pirtners regarding Mr.

Reddington’s management duties was quite brief and

nonspecific. The evidence shows that Mr. Reddington

was not engaged in apartment management for any com-

pany other than GMA. He did not pay other employees,

such as the unit manager, Mr. Don Rudd, who testified

27a

at the hearing. Their salaries are paid by GMA. Mr.

Reddington’s US tax returns do not reflect deductions

for other types of expenses ordinarily incurred by em-

ployers such as advertising, rent, repairs, telephone, or

insurance. Instead, his Schedule C’s for the three years

at issue here reflect unreimbursed employee types of

expenses, such as mileage, dues, and legal fees. Although

there was some discussion of a basis of payment for Mr.

Reddington based on the number of apartment units he

had rented, he has always referred to his income as paid

on a monthly basis. Mr. Reddington does not have his

own place of employment, but rather, works out of an

apartment provided by GMA. There is no extensive con-

tract between Mr. Reddington and GMA governing the

basis for his compensation, the time of his employment,

or the duties expected of him as would be expected with

an independent contractor and, as was entered into with

the Thomas Realty Company. Thus, the Administrative

Law Judge concludes that Mr. Reddington was not an

independent contractor to GMA. Finally, the Adminis-

trative Law Judge notes that there is no particular advan-

tage to Mr. Reddington to advocate such a conclusion since

the proceeds from an independent contractor relationship

would be subject to offsetting expenses and losses. Thus,

Mr. Reddington would have no net income and no quar-

ters of coverage.

The Administrative Law Judge concludes that Mr.

Reddington was, in effect, an employee of the partnership

with respect to his duties as a manager. He does not

believe that a partner can never be an employee of a

partnership. In this situation, Mr. Reddington performed

duties which were not performed by the other partners,

for which he received specific compensation as set out in

the partnership agreement. Mr. Reddington has been

somewhat inconsistent in his own characterization of the

relationship but at times he has characterized his income

as wages and salary. GMA has been somewhat incon-

28a

sistent with respect to how it reports its payments to

Mr. Reddington for tax purposes but, the accountant,

Ms. Dees, stated that the payments to Mr. Reddington

were made along with the other expenses of GMA, sepa-

rate from and prior to any distribution to the partners.

The factors indicating that Mr. Reddington was not an

independent contractor tend to indicate that he was an

employee. The fact that GMA paid Mr. Reddington as it

paid its other employees, the fact that Mr. Reddington

was provided an apartment to use as an office, and the

fact that Mr. Reddington deducted only his personal ex-

penses for tax purposes, all tend to support this conclu-

sion. In addition, Mr. Reddington acknowledged that he

prepares weekly and monthly reports to the other part-

ners (Exhibit 25).

The ultimate test of whether a business relationship is

one of employee and employer is that of control. Mr.

E. C. Powell testified at the hearing that he had never

given Mr. Reddington an order. The real issue is whether

Mr. Powell could control Mr. Reddington’s activities as

a manager if he chose to do so. The partnership agree-

ment for GMA gives the Powells authority to discharge

Mr. Reddington from his manager role on 60 days notice

with no other requirements despite the fact that Mr. Red-

dington is a partner. This fact of the ultimate control,

in combination with the other factors identified above,

support the Administrative Law Judge’s conclusion that

Mr. Reddington was an employee of GMA. The complex-

ity and vagueness of the role Mr. Reddington played with

the partnership do not result in an overwhelmingly clear

picture of the relationship but the factors above establish

that the relationship of an employee to an employer is

more likely and more logical than the other possibilities.

Thus, Mr. Reddington’s income for the years 1978, 1979,

and 1980, was wages and was more than sufficient to give

him quarters of coverage to meet the “fully insured”

requirement.

29a

In his brief, the claimant’s attorney argued that the

Social Security Administration was inconsistent in seek-

ing to change Mr. Reddington’s earnings record for 1978,

1979 and 1980, because the claimant had been engaged in

the same type of work activity for several years prior to

1978. The Administrative Law Judge notes that this fact

is not probative in view of the time limitation on correct-

ing earnings records set out in Subpart I of Social Secu-

rity Regulations No. 4.

FINDINGS

After careful consideration of the evidence of record, the

Administrative Law Judge makes the following findings:

1. The claimant filed an application for old-age

insurance benefits on December 16, 1981.

2. The claimant requires 31 quarters of coverage

for fully insured status.

3. The claimant’s earnings record may be credited

with $15,360, $14,080 and $16,640 in wages for

the years 1978, 1979 and 1980, respectively, and

for 12 additional quarters of coverage.

4. The claimant has a total of at least 36 quarters

of coverage and is, therefore, a fully insured

individual.

DECISION

It is the decision of the Administrative Law Judge that

the claimant is fully insured and therefore is entitled to

old-age insurance benefits on the basis of his application

filed on December 16, 1981.

/s/ H. Clayton Adams

H. CLAYTON ADAMS

Administrative Law Judge

May 23, 1983

RJ /ah Date

30a

APPENDIX D

[SEAL]

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Refer to:

SGC Social Security Administrator

051-12-8976 Office of Hearings and Appeal

PO Box 2518

Washington DC 20013

January 24, 1984

Mr. John P. Reddington

103 Oxford Drive

Greenville, North Carolina 27834

Dear Mr. Reddington:

Enclosed is a copy of the decision of the Appeals Council

on your claim under the Social Security Act.

If you disagree with the enclosed decision and desire a

review by a court, you may commence a civil action in

the district court of the United States in the judicial dis-

trict in which you reside within 60 days from the date of

receipt of this letter. It will be presumed that you re-

ceived this letter within five (5) days after the date

shown above unless a reasonable showing is made other-

wise. For your information as to the action in the dis-

trict court, your attention is directed to section 205(g)

of the Social Security Act, as amended (42 U.S.C. 405

(g)). Where claim is for supplemental security income

see also section 1631(c) (3) of the Social) Security Act, as

amended (42 U.S.C. 1383(¢c) (3)), and where claim is for

medicare see also section 1869(b) of the Social Security

Act, as amended (42 U.S.C. 1395 ff.(b)). Ifa civil action

is commenced, the Bill of Complaint should name the Sec-

retary of Health and Human Services as the defendant

vz

3la

and should include the social security number(s) shown

at the top of this letter.

If you have any questions, your Social Security office will

be glad to help you.

Sincerely yours,

/s/ Richard F. Brodsky

RICHARD F. BRODSKY

Member, Appeals Council

Enclosure

ec: Walter J. Early, Esq.

NEPSC, Attn: Reconsideration Branch, P.O. Box P,

Corona-Elmhurst Station, Elmhurst, N.Y. 11373

DO: Greenville, N.C.

HO: Raleigh, N.C. (ALJ Adams)

RCALJ: Atlanta, Ga.

RFB:rt

32a

DEPARTMENT OF

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Social Security Administration

Office of Hearings and Appeals

DECISION OF APPEALS COUNCIL

IN THE CASE OF JOHN P. REDDINGTON

(CLAIMANT)

Claim for Old-Age Insurance Benefits

051-12-8976

(Social Security Number)

This case is before the Appeals Council, under the author-

ity of sections 404.988(b) and 404.989(a) (3) of Social

Security, Administration Regulstions No. 4, to reopen

and revise the hearing decision issued on May 23, 1983,

on the basis that said hearing decision contains an error

on the face of the evidence on which it was based. The

Appeals Council notified the claimant of this action and

of his rights with respect thereto on December 9, 1983.

No response to that notice has been received.

In his decision, the administrative law judge concluded

that the claimant was fully insured and entitled to old-

age insurance benefits based on the application he filed

on December 16, 1981. In finding that the claimant was

fully insured for old-age insurance benefits, the adminis-

trative law judge held that he required 31 quarters of

coverage for fully insured status and that the Secretary’s

record of his earnings may be credited witke wages of

$15,360 for 1978, wages of $14,080 for 1979, ahd wages

of $16,640 for 1980. On the basis of 12 additional quar-

ters of coverage credited for those years, he found that

the claimant had a total of 36 quarters of coverage.

The administrative law judge’s statement with regard to

the pertinent provisions of the Social Security Act and

33a

the evidentiary facts are incorporated herein by refer-

ence and supplemented as applicable.

The Appeals Council has considered the record that was

before the administrative law judge and the following

additional material entered into the record of this case.

Exhibit AG-1

Memorandum of June 20, 1983 from the North-

eastern Program Service Center to the Office of

Hearings and Appeals

Exhibit AC-2

Copy of Appeals Councii’s reopening letter of

December 9, 1983 to the claimant

*

_.” <> geSUES

The general issue before the Appeals Council is whether

the elaimant is “fully insured” for purposes of entitlement

_ to olf-age insurance benefits. The specific issue is whether

the Secretary’s record of the claimant’s earnings may be

revised to include wages for 1978 through 1980.

APPLICABLE LAW

Section 211(a) of the Social Security Act provides, in

pertinent part, that the term “net earnings from self-

employment” means the gross income derived by an in-

dividual from any trade or business carried on by such

individual, less the deductions which are attributable to

such trade or business, except that there shall be excluded

the income from rentals from real estate unless such

rentals are received in the course of a trade or business

as a real estate dealer.

Section 212(a) of the Social Security Act provides that

self-employment income is divided and allocated equally

to each quarter of a calendar year for crediting purposes.

34a

Section 213 of the Act provides that a quarter of cover-

age is creditable for each increment of earnings of $250

for 1978, $260 for 1979 and $290 for 1980.

Section 214(a) of the Act provides that the term “fully

insured individual” means an individual who has not less

than one quarter of coverage (whenever acquired) for

each calendar year elapsing after 1950 and before the

year in which he attains age 62.

EVIDENCE CONSIDERED

The Appeals Council has carefully considered all the evi-

dence of record.

EVALUATION OF THE EVIDENCE

On December 16, 1981, the claimant filed an application

for old-age insurance benefits. Based on his birthdate of

March 14, 1920, he requires 31 quarters of coverage to

be fully insured. The Administration’s breakdown of the

earnings reported to his Social Security number indicated

that the claimant had 40 quarters of coverage, which in-

cluded military service wage credits from 1940 through

1950 and regular wage credits beginning with the March

1974 calendar quarter and ending with the December 1980

calendar quarter. The claim was denied initially and

thereafter on reconsideration by the Social Security Ad-

ministration on the grounds that the claimant lacked suf-

ficient quarters of coverage to be fully insured under the

Social Security Act. This was based on a “Special Deter-

mination” that the claimant’s income for the years 1978,

1979 and 1980 was actually rentals from real estate and

was excluded as self-employment income under section

211(a){1) of the Social Security Act. It was also rea-

soned that the claimant could not be an employee of the

firm that owned the apartments he managed because he

was a partner in that firm. In addition, the military

service prior to 1951 was determined not creditable for

Social Security purposes as the claimant was receiving

a benefit from another Federal agency on the basis of

35a

that service. This resulted in the claimant having only

15 of the required 31 quarters of coverage to be fully

insured.

As indicated above, the administrative law judge found

that the Secretary’s record of the claimant’s earnings

may be credited with wages of $15,360 for 1978, $14,080

for 1979 and $16,640 for 1980 because he was an em-

ployee of the partnership of Greenmount Associates and,

thus, his income for the years 1978, 1979 and 1980 con-

stituted wages. Accordingly, the administrative law judge

concluded that the claimant was fully insured with 36

quarters of coverage and is entitled to old-age insurance

benefits on the basis of his application filed therefor on

December 6, 1981.

The Appeals Council notes that the crediting of 12 quar-

ters of coverage for 1978 through 1980 would result in

the claimant having only 27 of the 31 quarters of cover-

age he needs to be fully insured.

The record establishes that the claimant was a co-partner

in 3 partnerships (1) a mobile home trailer park doing

business under the name of Rose Hill Associates, (2) a

partnership formed for purposes of supplying water to

residents of a trailer park and (3) another was formed

in 1974 for a complex of apartment buildings doing busi-

ness under the name of Greenmount Associates, in which

325 apartments were rented and where no services or

supplies were furnished to tenants. Tax returns showed

Rose Hill Associates reported a loss for each of the years

1978, 1979 and 1980; Rose Hill Associates Water Com-

pany operated at a loss for the two fiscal years 1979

and 1980 and Greenmount Associates operated at a loss

of $12,328.26 for fiscal year from September 1, 1978

through August 31, 1979, at a loss of $23,730.43 for the

fiscal year from September 1, 1979 through August 31,

1980 and at a loss of $94,614.23 for the fiscal year from

September 1, 1980 through August 31, 1981.

36a

The partnership of Greenmount Associates, formed in

1974, has as its gross income rentals from real estate.

Rentals were not received in the course of a trade or busi-

ness as a real estate dealer. No services or supplies were

furnished to the tenants. From the rentals from real

estate, the partnership reported (on Forms 1065 United

States partnership returns of income) payments to the

claimant as management fees of $15,360 during the fiscal

year beginning September 1, 1978 and ending August 31,

1979, payment of $14,080 during the fiscal year begin-

ning September 1, 1979 and ending August 31, 1980 and

payment as management fees of $16,640 during the fiscal

year beginning September 1, 1980 and ending August

31, 1981.

In this case, the claimant has been recognized, in effect,

as the manager or supervisor of Greenmount Associates,

the one who places all the orders for the materials, writes

all checks for invoices, payroll, ete. The claimant’s ac-

countant has indicated that he is on a guaranteed salary

basis with the organization, spending over 95% of his

time in the offices of Greenville and Washington, North

Carolina.

The Appeals Council notes that, although a partnership

may provide that one or more of the partners will receive

payments for a salary, payments for use of capital or

interest on capital contributions, irrespective of whether

the partnership has ordinary net income or loss and that

such payments are called guaranteed payments. Guaran-

teed payments are merely a method of distributing

partnership earnings and represents earnings from self-

employment when added to a recipient’s distributive

share of the partnership’s ordinary income or loss, only

if the partnership is engaged in a trade or business.

The guaranteed salary of a partner is allowed as a busi-

ness deduction in computing partnership income. How-

ever, the receiving partner is not considered an employee

of the partnership and his guaranteed salary payments

are not “wages.”

87a

On the basis of the foregoing, bona fide members of a

partnership are not employees of the partnership within

the meaning of the Federal Insurance Contributions Act.

A partner is considered self-employed under section 211

(a) of the Social Security Act if the partnership of which

he is a member was engaged in a trade or business. In

the claimant’s case, the only income derived by the

partnership was rentals from real estate, which are ex-

cluded from self-employment earnings under section 211

(a)(1), even though his distributive share of those

rentals may have been greater because of his services.

Accordingly, the Secretary’s record of the claimant’s earn-

ings may not be revised to include wages for 1978 through

1980 as he had no earnings covered under the Social Se-

curity Act during those years. Through 1980, the claim-

ant has acquired only 15 of the 31 quarters of coverage

he needs to be fully insured and is not entitled to old-age

insurance benefits as found by the administrative law

judge.

FINDINGS

The Appeals Council makes the following findings in this

case:

1. The claimant derived no creditable wages or self-

employment income under the Social Security Act

for 1978 through 1980.

2. The claimant has acquired only 15 quarters of

coverage through 1980, whereas he needs 31 quar-

ters of coverage to be fully insured.

3. The claimant does not meet the fully insured

status requirements of the Social Security Act for

purposes of entitlement to old-age insurance bene-

fits.

DECISION OF THE APPEALS COUNCIL

It is the decision of the Appeals Council that the claimant

is not entitled to old-age insurance benefits on the basis of

38a

his application filed therefor on December 16, 1981. The

decision of the administrative law judge is reversed.

APPEALS COUNCIL

/s/ Richard F. Brodsky

RICHARD F’. BRODSKY

Member

/s/ Adelaide Edelson

ADELAIDE EDELSON

Member

DATE: January 24, 1984

ee

39a

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 86-3625

JOHN P. REDDINGTON,

Appellant,

versus

OTIS R. BOWEN,

Appellee.

[Filed Aug. 26, 1987]

On Petition for Rehearing with Suggestion for

Rehearing In Bane

ORDER

The appellant’s petition for rehearing and suggestion

for rehearing in bane were submitted to this Court. As

no member of the Court requested a poll on the suggestion

for rehearing in banc, and

As the panel considered the petition for rehearing and

is of the opinion that it should be denied,

IT & ORDERED that the petition for rehearing and

suggestion for rehearing in banc are denied.

40a

Entered at the direction of Judge Wilkins for a panel

consisting of Judge Hall, Judge Wilkins and Judge Hoff-

man, District Judge, sitting by designation.

: For the Court

/s/ John M. Greacen

Clerk

4la

APPENDIX F

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF NORTH CAROLINA

Case Number: 84-104-CIV-4

NEW BERN DIVISION

JOHN P. REDDINGTON

V.

OTIS R. BOWEN, Secretary,

Heajth and Human Services,

[Filed Aug. 4, 1986]

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

0 Jury Verdict. This action came before the Court for

a trial by jury. The issues have been tried and the

jury has rendered its verdict.

&) Decision by Court. This action came to trial or hear-

ing before the Court. The issues have been tried or

heard and a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED claimant’s mo-

tions for summary judgment and mandamus relief are

hereby DENIED. The respondent’s motion for summary

judgment is GRANTED and the Secretary’s final deci-

sion is AFFIRMED.

THE ABOVE JUDGMENT WAS ENTERED ON

THIS DAY, AUGUST 1, 1986 AND COPIES MAILED

TO THE FOLLOWING:

42a

Mr. Jack B. Crawley, Jr.

SPRUILL, LANE, CARLTON, McCOTTER &

JOLLY

Post Office Drawer 353

Rocky Mount, North Carolina 27801 =

Mr. Walter J. Early

EARLY & CHANDLER

119 South Grace Street

Rocky Mount, North Carolina 27801

Mr. Samuel T. Currin

United States Attorney

Eastern District of North Carolina

P.O. Box 26897 F

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611

J. RICH LEONARD

Clerk

/s/ Gerald T. Atkins

(By) Deputy Clerk

Date August 4, 1986

48a

APPENDIX G <

EXHIBIT AC-2

[SEAL }

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Social Security Administration

Office of Hearings and Appeals

P.O. Box 2518

Washington, D.C. 20013

Dec. 9, 1983

Mr. John P. Reddington

103 Oxford Drive

Greenville, NC 27834

Dear Mr. Reddington:

The Appeals Council, under the authority of sections

404.988(b) and 404.989(a)(3) of Social Security Ad-

ministration Regulations No. 4 (70 CFR 404.988(b) and

404.989(a) (3)), reopens the hearing decision of May 23,

1983 because it contains an error on the face of the evi-

dence on which it was based. In taking this action, the

Appeals Council considered the enclosed memorandum of

June 20, 1983 from the Northeastern Program Service

Center.

In his decision, the administrative law judge concluded

that you are fully insured and entitled to old-age insur-

ance benefits based on the application you filed on Decem-

ber 16, 1981. In finding that you were fully insured for

old-age insurance benefits, the administrative law judge

held that you required 31 quarters of coverage for fully

insured status and that the Secretary’s record of your

earnings may be credited with $15,360, $14,080 and

$16,640 in wages for the years 1978, 1979 and 1980,

44a

respectively. With these 12 additional quarters of cover-

age, he found that you had a total of 36 quarters of cov-

_ erage.

The Appeals Council notes that the addition of 12 quar-

ters of coverage for 1978 through 1980 would result in

your having only 27 of the 31 quarters of coverage you

need to be fully insured. In any event, bona fide mem-

bers of a partnership are not employees of the partner-

ship within the meaning of the Federal Insurance Con-

tributions Act. A partner is considered self-employed

under section 211(a) of the Social Security Act if the

partnership of which he is a member was engaged in a

trade or business. In your case, the only income derived

by the partnership was rentals from real estate, which

are excluded from self-employment earnings under sec-

tion 211(a) (1), even though your distributive share of

these rentals may have been greater because of your

services. Therefore, the Appeals Council, in the absence

of evidence to the contrary or pertinent legal argument, is

prepared to issue a decision finding that the Secretary’s

record of your earnings may not be revised to include

wages for 1978 through 1980 as you had no earnings

covered under the Social Security Act during those years.

Accordingly, through 1980, you will have acquired only

15 of the 31 quarters of coverage you need to be fully

insured and you would not be entitled to old-age insur-

ance benefits.

You or your representative may submit additional evi-

dence or a further written statement as to the facts and

law in your case. Either or both should be submitted by

mail to the Appeals Council within 20 days from the date

of this letter, or the Council should be informed within

that time when the material may be expected.

You or your representative may request an appearance

before the Appeals Council to present oral argument. A

request will be granted where the Council determines that

a significant question of law or policy is presented or

ey ore ye

45a

where the Council is of the opinion that such oral argu-

ment would be beneficial in rendering a proper decision

in your case. Any request for an appearance should be

submitted in writing within 20 days from the date of

this letter and should include the reasons for the request.

If such a request is submitted, and the Council decides

to grant it, you will be notified of the time and place of

such appearance.

If you do not want to request an appearance before the

Appeals Council and do not want to submit anything ad-

ditional, you need not write to the Council. The decision

of the Council will be based upon the evidence of record

and the provisions of law which must be applied in your

case.

Sincerly yours,

/s/ Richard F. Brodsky

RICHARD F.. BRODSKY -

Member, Appeals Council

/s/ Adalaide Edelson

Member, Appeals Council

Enclosures:

Conv of memorandum dated June 20, 1983 from

the Northeastern Program Service Center

Self-addressed envelope

ce:

Walter J. Early, Esq.

119 S. Graca Street

Rocky Mount, NC 27801

HO, Raleigh, NC (ALJ Adams)

46a

APPENDIX H

EXHIBIT AC-1

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

[SEAL ] 424

Memorandum

Refer to: SPRF #23312

Date: June 20, 1983

From: Office of the Director of Operations

Northeastern Program Service Center

Reconsideration Branch

Subject: 051-12-8976 - W/E - John R. Reddington

A - John R. Reddington

To: Department of Health and Human Services,

Social Security Administration,

Office of Hearings and Appeals,

Ballston Center Tower 2,

800 North Randolph Street,

Arlington, Virginia 22203

This case is being referred to you per GN 03103.515 B

for review of the decision of the administrative law judge

of May 23, 1983, because the decision is clearly contrary

to the act and regulations.

In his decision, the administrative law judge determined

that John R. Reddington was paid wages as an employee

of the partnership of GMA of $15,360 in the calendar

year 1978, wages of $14,080 in the calendar year 1979

and wages of $16,640 during the calendar year 1980. In

making this determination the administrative law judge

determined that amounts paid during the fiscal years be-

ginning September 1 of each year and ending on August

31 of the following year constituted wages during each

+

47a

calendar year beginning on January 1 and ending on

December 31, contrary to the act and regulations.

Section 404.1042 of Regulations Number 4 provides that

wages are received by an employee at the time they are

paid by the employer to the employee. Therefore, wages

paid during a calendar year cannot be determined based

on the amounts reported as paid during a fiscal year.

Moreover we are unable to find any authority for the prop- |

osition that a partner may be an employee of the part-

nership of which he is a partner. To the contrary, Reve-

nue Ruling 69-184 holds that bona fide members of a

partnership are not employees of the partnership within

the meaning of the Federal Insurance Contributions Act.

A partner who devotes time and energy in the conduct of

the trade or business or in providing services to the part-

nership as an independent contractor is in either event a

self-eraployed individual rather than an employee. This

ruling further holds that such remuneration is not wages.

Therefore, pursuant to this ruling a partner in a busi-

ness in which he is a partner, and remuneration received

by the partner cannot constitute wages.

In view of the above, we are referring the case to you

for whatever action you deem necessary.

/s/ Myrna Reich

MYRNA REICH

Attachment:

Claims Folder 051-12-8976

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Reddington v. Bowen · 485 U.S. 905 | Frix