Opposition Brief — Robinson Humphrey/American Express, Inc. v. Sanders

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

%

ve

2 os

Gee ee me

No. 87-836 \Z)

* ~ ~ bos ae. \.

Me a OE LE

*; rt a Sere ew,

ex ‘ ¥

; IN THE

Supreme Court of the Huited

OcTOBER TERM, 1987

PAINEWEBBER GROUP, INC.,

Petitioner,

if WIE ne ee Hi Ca

int 15 ike pinag vee tna

VS.

Tommy E. Parker, as Custodian for

KIMBERLY M. Parker, and James L. SMITH,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

KENNETH A. JACOBSEN*

RICHARD D. GREENFIBLD

NICHOLAS E. CHIMICLES

GREENFIELD & CHIMICLES

One Haverford Centre

361 West Lancaster Avenue

Haverford, PA 19041-0100

(215) 642-8500

Attorneys for Respondents

* Counsel of Record for Respondents

yee eer ke

D. LAKE Rumsey, Jr.

DrieBE & RUMSEY

152 Nassau Street

Atlanta, GA 30309

(404) 688-4800

Of Counsel o

Zz \ of

i

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE QUESTIONS

PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Is it appropriate for this Court to exercise its certiorari

jurisdiction to review a decision of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit which neither granted nor

denied a motion for class certification in an action arising under

the federal securities laws but, rather, remanded the matter to

the District Court for further proceedings consistent with its

decision?

2. Did not the Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

properly conclude that the District Court, in ruling on a motion

for class certification, was not permitted to disregard the

allegations of respondents’ Complaint and recharacterize the

case in a manner which respondents neither pleaded nor intend

to prove?

3. Did not the Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

properly conclude that respondents were entitled to a presump-

tion of reliance under the “fraud on the market” theory

adopted by an en banc panel of the predecessor to that Circuit

in Shores v. Sklar, 647 F.2d 462 (Sth Cir. 1981) (en banc),

cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1102 (1983)?

li

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The petitioner in this action is PaineWebber Group, Inc.

The respondents are Tommy E. Parker, as custodian for his

minor daughter Kimberly M. Parker, and James L. Smith.

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE QUESTIONS

PRESEN FEL FOR REVIEW. .........0.cecccscscesscerccseseseees i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS .....................scee000000 li

TP I a icciccccvcccccccccssaccscsscccscccccsssesesooes iii

TR ED votisncncccccsnesecccccrccsccsccsssscesscoees Vv

a, cscassanbansensecsnnsconecesssces 2

I a ccs nacsnsccccesesnccacoccesecessaseoecs 2-3

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED.......................... 3

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE...................... 3

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ................ccccccccesessesseeeeees 14

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION............... 15

I. THE ISSUES RAISED IN THE PETITION

ARE NOT RIPE FOR DETERMINATION

WITH RESPECT TO ALL OF THE QUES-

TIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW .................. 15

II. THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF AP-

PEALS IS FIRMLY ROOTED IN WELL-

SETTLED PRINCIPLES OF LAW AND

PROCEDURE AND IS FULLY CONSISTENT

WITH EXISTING PRECEDENT ......................... 19

A. The Court of Appeals Properly Concluded

That The District Court, In Ruling On A

Motion For Class Certification, Was Not Per-

mitted To Disregard The Allegations Of Re-

spondents’ Complaint and Recharacterize

The Case In A Manner Which Respondents

Neither Pleat Nor Intend To Prove............. 19

B. The Court of Appeals Did Not Ignore The

Evidence At The Class Hearing But, Rather,

Viewed The Entire Record In Its Proper

einai ctintatiihanieiciccinsctainasenninscrsascesceee 23

C. The Decision Of The Court of Appeals Falls

Squarely Within The Holding Of Shores v.

Sklar And The Unbroken Line Of Authority

Which Has Followed In its Wake..................... 26

D. The Court Of Appeals Did Not Establish An

Irrebutable Presumption Of Reliance In

Shores-Type “Fraud On the Market” Cases.... 29

iV

i

III. THE DISTRICT COURT AND THE COURT

OF APPEALS PROPERLY EXERCISED

THEIR DISCRETION UNDER 28 US.C.

§ 1292(b) IN CERTIFYING AND ACCEPT-

ING, RESPECTIVELY, THE CLASS ISSUE

FOR INTERLOCUTORY REVIEW AND, IN

ANY EVENT, THIS ISSUE HAS BEEN REN-

DERED MOOT BY THE ISSUANCE OF THE

CIRCUIT COURT'S DECISION ON THE

MERITS OF THE APPERAL...............c-coceccosseseseesees 29

CON CL UBIO ...ccccocccssccsssssssccscenssenascatoostenssosseccssccesscosenes 30

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

American Construction Co. v. Jacksonville, Tampa &

Key West Ry. Co., 148 U.S. 372 (1893) .........eeeeeeee

Arthur Young & Co. v. United States District Court,

549 F.2d 686 (9th Cir. ), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 829

CR ET J sitesi biaiiiclednscinapbingdalidanasphdtiallpaininsiiatiinseenseess

Basic Inc. v. Levinson, 107 S.Ct. 1284 (1987), grant-

ing cert. to, 786 F.2d 741 ( 6th Cir. 1986).................

Bateman Eichler, Hill Richards, Inc. v. Berner, 472

Se ee cradles athe tcehetnduiscccntesnsensntnemeccees

Blackie v. Barrack, 524 F.2d 891 (9th Cir. 1975),

cert. denied, 429 U.S. 816 (1976) ..............ccccccccceeeeee

Bonner v. City of Prichard, 661 F.2d 1206 (11th Cir.

og | SEE AEA Se NR RE A ta a

Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen & Enginemen v.

Bangor & Aroostook R.R. Co., 389 U.S. 327 (1967)

Dekro v. Stern Bros. & Co., 540 F. Supp. 406 ( W.D.

SU MPI alte co dietreeriatshepsceveensenenncstdnesindisentenannosscsees

Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 417 U.S. 156 (1974)...

Eisenberg v. Gagnon, 766 F.2d 770 (3d Cir.), cert.

I ee te 0 FD P. canccsctnsncccsescscsteccenepessecee

Esplin v. Hirschi, 402 F.2d 94 (10th Cir. 1968), cert.

pe VEY

Fox v.- Prudent Resources Trust, 69 F.R.D. 74 (E.D.

i iar hcinincitccewiepbteapninntitnnsiantinlinesesuncace

Frankel v. Wyllie & Thornhill, Inc., 537 F. Supp. 730

es UE lacs d dies cadiiccnantinchidabslbnénnensewecnsces

General Telephone Co. of Southwest v. Falcon, 457

ek Se ailliidiiinslcksdidtathinkiiinnepnstiesidnesounsicarhonseccess

Green v. Wolf Corp., 406 F.2d 291 (2d Cir. 1968),

cert. denied, 395 U.S. 977 ( 1969) ...........cccccseeseeeeeeees

Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. & Co., 240

al aca inched nile ahtsicisindnpance

Harris v. Union Electric Co., 787 F.2d 355 (8th Cir.

1986), cert. denied, No. 85-2036 (Oct. 6, 1986) ......

if

16-17

21,26

27

28

18,24,25,

27

26

15-16

26

13,25

18,21

21

22

26

24

18,25

17

27

In re Baldwin-United Corp. Litigation, MDL No.

581, M21-35 (CLB) (S.D.N.Y. June 27, 1986

Memorandum Opinion and Order Granting Class

Certification )

In re Home-Stake Production Co. Securities Litiga-

tion, 76 F.R.D. 351 (N.D. Okla. 1977)....................

In re Petro-Lewis Securities Litigation, [1984-85

Transfer Binder] Fed. Sec. L. Rep. (CCH)

1 91,899 (D. Colo. Dec. 24, 1984) 20. eeeeeeeee

Jenson v. Continental Financial Corp., 404 F. Supp.

RRR eee

Kennedy v. Tallant, 710 F.2d 711 (11th Cir. 1983) .....

Kirkpatrick v. J.C. Bradford & Co., 827 F.2d 718

Tg SRE Sat pie eee

Lipton v. Documation, Inc., 734 F.2d 740 (11th Cir.

1984), cert. denied, 469 US. ET

List v. Fashion Park, Inc., 340 F.2d 457 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 382 U.S. 811 (1965) ...........cccccecceereeeees

Miller v. Mackey Int’l Inc., 452 F.2d 424 (Sth Cir.

197'T ) .......cccersntonnnessosnsensessosenpncsasssstocnesesessssusncssssssoossees

ate terra eS METIS ss

Panzirer v. Wolf, 663 F.2d 365 (2d Cir. 1981),

vacated as moot after cert. granted, 459 U.S. 1027

C BGIEE } cccesesscssstesesestsenentstamininniiediilinismeniitaeetiamesnesscees

Peil v. Speiser, 860 F.2d 1154 (3d Cir. a

Rose v. Arkansas Valley Environmental & Utility

Authority, 562 F. Supp. 1180 (W.D. Mo. 1983)......

Ross v. A. H. Robins Co., 607 F.2d 545 (2d Cir.

1979), cert. denied, 446 U.S. 946 (1980) ...........000+--

Sanders v. John Nuveen & Co., 619 F.2d 1222 (7th

a Ra EE ERC eran an

Sanders v. Robinson Humphrey/ American Express,

Inc., 634 F. Supp. 1048 (N.D. Ga. 1986) ................

Sanders v. Robinson Humphrey/ American Express,

Inc., [1986-87 Transfer Binder] Fed. Sec. L. Rep.

(CCH) ¥ 92,880 (N.D. Ga. July 8, 1986) ...............

Seidman v. Stauffer Chemical Corp., {1986-87 Trans-

fer Binder] Fed. Sec. L. Rep. (CCH) 4 92,868 (D.

KADER, RIPUIP F scocecentnsereeccaciossshesitiionsnintnhateunnénscensnatenassene

—-

passim

26

Shankroff v. Advest, Inc., 112 F.R.D. 190 (S.D.N.Y.

REE SS ee Oe OO oO 19-20

Sharp v. Coopers & Lybrand, 70 F.R.D. 544 (E.D.

NEES SENATE ee ee ee 18,21-22

Shores v. Sklar, 647 F.2d 462 (Sth Cir. 1981) (en

banc), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1102 ( 1983) ............... passim

Simon v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc.,

GE te ee Ca BED DP cccccctcccccenectecsccsetecncccccece “an

T. J. Raney & Sons, Inc. v. Fort Cobb Oklahoma

Irrigation Fuel Authority, 717 F.2d 1330 ( 10th Cir.

1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1026 ( 1984) ............... 26,27

Vernon J. Rockler v. Graphic Enterprises, Inc., 52

Pe Se eS UPTO D cctcenetenetbissdlicctnsncectecccece 18

Westlake v. Abrams, 565 F. Supp. 1330 (N.D. Ga.

i ancciacinteiinlebashbalbiapencinilndsttidtemepsiatantnbennent pcscastipensoneens 25

Wigand v. Flo-Tek, Inc., 609 F.2d 1028 (2d Cir.

EET ELE SR A ce 17

STATUTES, RULES & REGULATIONS

pope ks ee 3

po, eT 2,3,13,29

Section 11 of the Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C.

§ 77k ( 1982)...... A 3,8,10,13

Section 12(2) of the Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C.

ke. Es © heh

Section 10( b) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934,

ee) ee passim

Rule 10b-5, 17 C.F.R. § 240.10b-5 ( 1987)... passim

Rule 23 of the Federal Ruies of Civil Procedure ......... passim

EEL ee ee rE 17,22

OTHER AUTHORITIES

H.R. Rep. No. 1383, 73d Cong. 2d Sess. 11 ( 1934)... 28

L. Loss, Securities Regulation, 1430-32 (2d ed. 1961) 26

Note, Fraud On The Market—An Emerging Theory of

Recovery Under SEC Rule 106-5, 50 Geo. Wash. L.

eo ir iccianntipniectisbepbsanateninsetaonsnees 26

Note, The Fraud On The Market Theory, 95 Harv. L.

SESE RR eC iene 28

‘

No. 87-836

IN THE

OcTOBER TERM, |987

PAINEWEBBER GroupP, INC.,

Petitioner,

vs.

Tommy E. Parker, as Custodian for

KimMBeRLY M. Parker, and James L. SmITH,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Respondents Tommy E. Parker and James L. Smith

(“respondents”) respectfully request that the Court deny the

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit ( the “Petition”) submitted by

Paine Webber Group, Inc. (“PaineWebber” or “petitioner”) to

review a judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Eleventh Circuit which reversed in part, affirmed in part

and remanded an order of the United States District Court for

the Northern District of Georgia denying respondents’ motion

for class certification.

2

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Eleventh Circuit (App. Exhibit A)! is reported as Kirkpatrick v.

J.C. Bradford & Co., 827 F.2d 718 (11th Cir. 1987). The order

of the Court of Appeals denying PaineWebber’s petition for

rehearing and suggestion of rehearing en banc is not reported

and is set forth in the Appendix as Exhibit B. The order staying

the mandate of the Court of Appeals is not reported and is set

forth in the Appendix as Exhibit C.

The opinion of the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Georgia denying respondents’ motion for

class certification (App. Exhibit D) is reported as Sanders v.

Robinsqn Humphrey/ American Express, Inc., 634 F. Supp. 1048

(N.D. Ga. 1986). The District Court’s opinion denying re-

spondents’ motion for reconsideration, granting respondents’

motion to certify the case for interlocutory appeal pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 1292(b) (1982), and staying the District Court’s

order denying class certification (App. Exhibit E) is reported as

Sanders v. Robinson Humphrey/ American Express, Inc., { 1986-

87 Transfer Binder] Fed. Sec. L. Rep. (CCH) 4 92,880 (N.D.

Ga. July 8, 1986).

The order of the Court of Appeals accepting the appeal

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b) (1982) is not reported and is

set forth in the Appendix as Exhibit F.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on

September 15, 1987. (App. Exhibit A). Rehearing and

rehearing en banc were denied by order dated October 21,

1987. (App. Exhibit B). The mandate of the Court of Appeals

was stayed on November 17, 1987. (Appendix Exhibit C).

' Citations herein to material printed in the Appendix appear as either

“Appendix” or “( App. ).” Such citations are to the Appendix to the

Petition filed by PaineWebber on or about November 23, 1987.

3

Petitioner purports to invoke this Court’s jurisdiction pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) (1982).

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED

The statutes and rules involved in the case are Sections | |

and 12(2) of the Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C. §§ 77k, 77/

(2) (1982); Section 10(b) of the Securities Exchange Act of

1934, 15 U.S.C. § 78j(b) (1982); Securities and Exchange

Commission Rule 10b-5, 17 C.F.R. § 240.10b-5 (1987); Rule

23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure; and 28 U.S.C.

§ 1292(b) (1982). (App. Exhibit G).

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE

Introduction and Overview

Between January |, 1981 and February 6, 1984 (the “class

period”), PaineWebber disseminated a series of documents to

the investing public which failed to disclose numerous adverse

facts concerning the then-existing, extremely precarious finan-

cial condition of Petro-Lewis Corporation (“‘Petro-Lewis” or

the “Company”) and the numerous limited partnerships or-

ganized by the Company, facts about which PaineWebber was

fully aware. In these public documents, PaineWebber— which

underwrote the sale of partnership interests to public investors

such as respondents—falsely portrayed the partnerships as

entities which had highly valuable and proven oil and gas

reserves which would generate income to limited partners for

twelve or more years when, as PaineWebber well knew, Petro-

Lewis had borrowed heavily to sustain distributions to limited

partners and to repurchase limited partnership interests ten-

dered by investors under their redemption options. Paine Web-

ber—who as Petro-Lewis’ investment banker also orchestrated

public offerings of preferred stock and debt in an attempt to

salvage the Company—knew that Petro-Lewis’ borrowing

practices seriously jeopardized the partnerships’ holdings, yet

fearing a loss of the Company’s lucrative investment banking

————

4

business, PaineWebber continued to tout the limited partner-

ships as being virtually risk free, relatively liquid, and suitable

for individual retirement accounts and other conservative in-

vestments. Petitioner, whose senior management privately

discussed the dangerous financial condition of Petro-Lewis and

its partnerships, repeatedly reassured its account executives and

other “front line” personnel that PaineWebber’s “due dili-

gence” department had conducted detailed, ongoing in-

vestigations of the partnerships and stood behind those in-

vestments. Little did those individual brokers—and their

customers—know that at least one senior Paine Webber official,

in 1981, had labeled the Petro-Lewis partnership programs a

“Ponzi scheme,” and several others had secretly expressed

concern that candid disclosure of adverse facts about Petro-

Lewis would create a “run on the bank” by limited partners.

Knowing that Petro-Lewis’ very survival depended on the

Company’s ability to raise money through sales of new partner-

ship interests, PaineWebber suppressed any and all negative

information which might jeopardize those sales, and sold more

than $200 million of limited partnership interests during the

class period.

Generali Background ~

From 1970 through 1983, Petro-Lewis was the nation’s

largest seller of oil and natural gas “income funds.” These

programs raised money from investors, who became limited

partners, and used the proceeds to purchase producing oil and

gas properties. Sanders v. Robinson Humphrey/ American Ex-

press, Inc., 634 F. Supp. 1048, 1050 (N.D. Ga. 1986) ( App. D-

2).2 Petro-Lewis and PaineWebber lured new investors to the

Petro-Lewis partnership programs with enticements of stable

annual returns of 12% or more earned by previous partnerships,

and by the apparent liquidity provided by Petro-Lewis’ pledge

to repurchase any partnership interest tendered by investors.

Petro-Lewis formed a new partnership each month. As soon as

2 The Petro-Lewis partnerships conducted no drilling operations on the

properties. PaineWebber highlighted the elimination of the risks associated

with development drilling as one of the unique safety features of Petro-Lewis’

programs in the written sales literature which it distributed to public investors.

5

one monthly partnership “closed,” another partnership

“opened” for sale to investors. When subscriptions in an entire

partnership program were sold out, a new program was imme-

diately offered for subscription. The particular monthly part-

nership an investor joined was primarily a function of when his

or her subscription was accepted and the money invested, not

any choice of the investor. The average initial investment by a

limited partner was $8,600. Sanders, 634 F. Supp. at 1050

(App. D-2).

The partnership programs were primarily income-oriented

investments with only modest tax shelter features. Limited

partners were paid quarterly distributions which they could

either receive in cash or reinvest in new partnerships. Those

who chose to reinvest their distributions received partnership

interests in later partnerships. Cash distributions to the limited

partners began almost immediately after each partnership was

formed and were to continue for 10 to 15 years or more until

the wells were depleted. Except during unusual periods of

temporary cash shortages, funds to pay partnership dis-

tributions were supposed to come from profits realized from the

sale of oil and‘gas produced by the partnership properties.

Sanders, 634 F. Supp. at 1050 (App. D-2).

PaineWebber sold the partnership interests pursuant to

Sales Agreements with Petro-Lewis. In the Sales Agreements,

Paine Webber (identified as the “Dealer” ) expressly warranted

and represented as follows:

By accepting this Sales Agreement, each Dealer agrees

that all applications will be based and all sales of

interests will be made, solely on information con-

tained in the current prospectus. Upon request,

Distributor will furnish without charge additional

copies of the current prospectus in reasonable

quantity.

Paine Webber also represented and warranted that it would use

“only the prospectus relating to [the partnership program |] as it

is then currently effective” in connection with the sale of any

Petro-Lewis partnership interest, “and to make no offer of

6

interests unless such offer is preceded or accompanied by such a

current prospectus.”

PaineWebber received sales commissions of up to 7% on

each partnership interest sold, plus special “sales incentive

payments” when its aggregate sales exceeded a particular

dollar figure. These commissions far exceeded the commissions

it received on transactions involving similar types of securities.

Sanders, 634 F. Supp. at 1052-53 (App. D-6).

As noted above, crucial to the success of this marketing

scheme was the apparent steady flow of cash to the limited

partners commencing almost immediately after the formation

of the partnerships. Petro-Lewis and PaineWebber touted this

“regular, reasonably predictable pattern of distributions” in

prospectuses for the partnerships and in other written material

distributed to prospective investors. Investors hoping to take

advantage of those returns invested over $2 billion in various

partnerships established between January 1981 and February

1984. Sanders, 634 F. Supp. at 1050-53 (App. D-2 to 8).

Unbeknownst to these investors, however, the impression

of financial strength and success created by Petro-Lewis and

PaineWebber was wholly unfounded. This impression was

designed specifically to attract new investors, and to deter

existing partners from exercising their redemption options. The

truth was that by at least the beginning of 1981, Petro-Lewis

and its partnerships were experiencing serious financial

problems.

Petro-Lewis had paid premium prices for the partnership

properties and had borrowed heavily from banks to help

finance the acquisitions.? The funds to repay those loans, like

the cash distributions to the partners, were supposed to come

from the profits generated by the sale of oil and gas produced

by the partnership properties. However, the advent of the

world oil glut and attendant collapse of oil and gas prices in the

early 1980’s, coupled with, among other things, increased

3 The partnership properties were used as collateral to secure the bank

debt.

OO eee

7

operating costs and competition from other petroleum in-

vestment programs, resulted in a severe reduction in cash flow

‘from the partnership properties. These conditions put Petro-

Lewis in a serious cash bind and jeopardized the partnership

holdings. Nevertheless, in an effort to perpetuate the false

impression of financial strength and to continue paying cash

distributions, Petro-Lewis continued to borrow heavily from

banks (thereby further encumbering the partnership proper-

ties) and shifted funds among the accounts of various affiliated

companies. Meanwhile, PaineWebber accelerated its sales

efforts with respect to the partnership interests. See Sanders,

634 F. Supp. at 1050-53 (App. D-2 to 6).

In 1984, the charade collapsed. Petro-Lewis suspended its

partnership syndication operations and sold almost one-third of

the oil and gas reserves held by the partnerships in order to

achieve a $1 billion reduction in bank debt. Petro-Lewis also

cut distributions to limited partners, imposed a cap on redemp-

tions of partnerships, and reduced the prices at which it would

repurchase those interests to a fraction of previous levels.

Investors who elected to retain their partnership interests now

hold, instead, units in a royalty trust, which was created as part

of a complicated settlement of a securities class action against

Petro-Lewis and its principal officers and directors arising out of

their role in the scheme described above. See In re Petro-Lewis

Securities Litigation, [1984-85 Transfer Binder] Fed. Sec. L.

Rep. (CCH) 491,899 (D. Colo. 1984). Even taking into

account the proceeds of the Perro-Lewis settlement, most

members of the class have lost more than half of their original

investment. Sanders, 634 F. Supp. at 1050, 1052 (App. D-2,

6).

Course Of Proceedings And Disposition In The Courts Below

On February 14, i985, respondents filed a Class Action

Complaint (the “Complaint” )4¢ against Paine Webber for viola-

4 The Complaint subsequently was amended in respects not material to

the issues raised in the Petition.

8

tions of the federal securities laws and common law arising out

of its participation in the scheme outlined above. The Com-

plaint asserts claims against PaineWebber under Sections |!

and 12(2) of the Securities Act of 1933 (the “Securities Act”),

15 U.S.C. §§ 77k and 77] (2), Section 10(b) of the Securities

Exchange Act of 1934 (the “Exchange Act”), 15 U.S.C.

§ 78j(b), Rule 10b-5 promulgated thereunder, 17 C.F.R.

§ 240.10b-5 (1987), and for common law fraud, fraudulent

concealment, negligence and breach of fiduciary duty. The

thrust of the Complaint is that PaineWebber violated these

statutory and common law provisions: |) by disseminating

virtually identical prospectuses for the partnership programs

during the class period which omitted materially adverse

information concerning Petro-Lewis and its partnerships; and

2) by perpetrating a scheme and common course of conduct at

the highest levels of PaineWebber’s corporate management

which had the purpose and effect of suppressing the truth about

the precarious financial condition of Petro-Lewis and its part-

nership programs. Kirkpatrick v. J.C. Bradford & Co., 827 F.2d

718, 721 (11th Cir. 1987) (App. A-5).

Among the material information which respondents con-

tend was omitted from the prospectuses was the following:

1. That the partnership properties were over-

leveraged;

2. That Petro-Lewis had engaged in a protracted

pattern of bolstering cash distributions to previous partner-

ships by paying those distributions not from cash from

operations but, rather, with borrowed funds;

3. That distributions were being inflated in order to

ensure that sales in new partnerships continued;

4. That declines in the price of oil would make it

impossible to adequately service the partnerships’ debt and

would result in forced liquidation of the partnership hold-

ings, rendering the investments little more than a rank

gamble on the price of oil;

5. That Petro-Lewis utilized improper or highly ques-

tionable accounting practices and policies; and

9

6. That the repurchase prices which Petro-Lewis

would pay to limited partners who tendered their interests

under the redemption options were extremely volatile, and

that Petro-Lewis lacked sufficient funds to handle redemp-

tions, which were coming at steadily increasing rates.5

The conspiracy and common course of conduct about

which respondents complain is alleged to have been per-

petrated at the highest levels of PaineWebber’s corporate

management. Respondents do not complain of, nor have they

ever asserted any claim based upon, any oral statements made

to them or any other class member by any individual

Paine Webber broker. Kirkpatrick, 827 F.2d at 721, 724 (App.

A-5, 10 to 11). See also Sanders, 634 F. Supp. at 1053-54

(App. D-6 to 9).

The hearing on respondents’ motion for class certification

took place on February 27, 1986 following briefing and dis-

covery. In its papers opposing the motion, PaineWebber

consistently mischaracterized respondents’ case to the District

Court, arguing that it was one based solely on “oral mis-

representations.” This self-serving characterization was reached

only by totally ignoring respondents’ Complaint in this case,

and through a gross distortion of the record which had been

developed on the class issue.

5 Significantly, seven months after respondents filed their original Com-

pilaint in this action, the Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”) filed a

complaint against Petro-Lewis and others for alleged violations of the federal

securities laws. In that action, the SEC charged that the prospectuses for the

Petro-Lewis partnership programs contained the same material omissions and

nondisciosures as those alleged in the Complaint in this action.

6 With the exception of filing transcripts of respondents’ depositions,

Paine Webber offered no evidence at the hearing in opposition to the class

motion. Rather, petitioner’s entire presentation consisted of the legal

arguments of its counsel. PaineWebber, which requested the opportunity to

present evidence at the hearing in the first place, has overstated both the

nature and importance of the “evidentiary hearing”.

Respondents made detailed written submissions to the District Court on

the class motion prior to the hearing. This included, in addition to extensive

briefs, numerous items of documentary evidence and other factual material.

The record also consists of documents filed with the District Court in

connection with PaineWebber’s earlier (and largely unsuccessful) dismissal

motions.

10

In an order dated March 27, 1986, the District Court

denied respondents’ motion for class certification. The District

Court refused to give separate consideration to class treatment

of respondents’ Securities Act claims. Indeed, the District Court

subsequently would rule that it could ignore those claims in

their entirety. Sanders v. Robinson Humphrey/ American Ex-

press, Inc., [1986-87 Transfer Binder] Fed. Sec. L. Rep.

(CCH) 4 92,880 at 94,269 (N.D. Ga. 1986) (App. E-3).

Turning to respondents’ Exchange Act claims, the District

Court specifically found that the case “clearly” satisfied the

“commonality” requirement of Rule 23(a)(2) of the Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure, because all members of the class

shared the following numerous common legal and factual

issues:

(1) whether the prospectuses and other sales liter-

ature distributed by the defendants to the plaintiffs

and the class contain material misrepresentations of

fact or omit material facts concerning the safety and

investment worth of the Petro-Lewis partnerships; (2 )

whether, during the class period, the defendants con-

cealed material information about the precarious

financial condition of Petro-Lewis and its partner-

ships; (3) whether the defendants concealed the truth

about the historical performance of the Petro-Lewis

partnerships; (4) whether the defendants mis-

represented the future business prospects of Petro-

Lewis and its partnerships programs; and (5) whether

the defendants violated the federal securities laws and

the common law in connection with their sales of

limited partnership interests in the Petro-Lewis pro-

grams during the class period.

Sanders, 634 F. Supp. at 1056 (App. D-13). Similarly, the

District Court found that the “typicality” requirement of Rule

23(a)(3) was easily satisfied in the case in light of the

allegations that Paine Webber had engaged in a common course

11

of conduct which affected each member of the class in the same

manner.

The complaints allege that the defendant committed

the same unlawful acts by the same method against an

entire class. All members of the class, therefore, may

have similar claims. Thus, the plaintiffs have met the

typicality requirement. Even though class members

purchased different Petro-Lewis limited partnership

interests, the plaintiffs allege that the defendants

engaged in a uniformly fraudulent course of conduct,

disseminated virtually identical faise prospectuses,

financial statements, and other financial information,

and failed to disclose material information regarding

the operations of Petro-Lewis to purchasers during the

class period. When plaintiffs have alleged sch a

common course of conduct, courts consistently have

found no bar to class certification... .

Sanders, 634 F. Supp. at 1057 (App. D-15) (emphasis added ).

When it reached the “predominance” element of Rule

23(b)(3), however, the District Court took an entirely different

view of the case. In a totally inexplicable reversal of position,

and disregarding its own findings on “commonality” and

“typicality,” the District Court inconsistently ruled that re-

spondents’ Section 10(b) and Rule 10b-5 claims were

grounded solely upon “oral misrepresentations” between mem-

bers of the class and their individual brokers—a formulation of

the case which respondents’ had neither pleaded nor intend to

prove. The District Court adopted that characterization despite

the absence from the Complaint of any allegation that respond-

ents’ claims were grounded on any such oral statements. In this

connection, the District Court declared that it was not even

obligated to “look at,” let alone accept as true, the allegations

of the Complaint for purposes of ruling on the “predominance”

issue. Sanders, {1986-87 Transfer Binder] { 92,880 at 94,271

(App. E-10).”7 Having thus recast the case, the District Court

7 Respondents simply are unable to reconcile this statement with the

District Court’s discussion of the “commonality” and “typicality” elements of

Rule 23, which involved a proper summary of respondents’ claims in this case.

*

. x

12

ruled that class certification of the Section 10(b) and Rule 10b-

5 claims would be appropriate only if respondents were able to

demonstrate that PaineWebber had engaged in a uniform

“presentation” or standardized “sales pitch” directed to each

and every member of the class. Finding the “evidence” on this

issue to be deficient,® the District Court refused to grant class

action status to respondents’ Exchange Act claims. Sanders,

634 F. Supp. at 1061-63 (App. D-23 to 27).

The District Court, in a position which has been soundly

rejected by virtually every court which has addressed the issue,?

also ruled that the mere possibility that each member of the

class might have to prove his or her individual reliance

constituted a per se bar to class certification. Sanders, 634 F.

Supp. at 1061, 1063 (App. D-23, 27). The District Court,

therefore, focused its inquiry on whether reliance may be

presumed under the “fraud on the market” theory adopted in

Shores v. Sklar, 647 F.2d 462 (Sth Cir. 1981) (en banc), cert.

denied, 459 U.S. 1102 (1983). Ignoring numerous paragraphs

of respondents’ Complaint which contain this precise allegation,

the District Court held that respondents “do not allege that the

securities would not have been sold had the misrepresentations

not been present”—a necessary predicate to the Shores pre-

sumption. Sanders, 634 F. Supp. at 1063 (App. D-28)

(emphasis added). Based on this and its other findings, the

District Court denied class certification.

Respondents filed a timely motion fer reconsideration

which, in an order dated July 8, 1986, the District Court also

denied. Sanders, { 1986-87 Transfer Binder] 4 92,880 at 94,267

(App. Exhibit E). As they had done previously, respondents

pointed out, in their motion for reconsideration, that they had,

indeed, clearly and unambiguously alleged in their Complaint

that “but for” the presence of the misrepresentations and

omissions the partnership interests could not have been sold.

Apparently mindful of its previous erroneous ruling on this

8 This is hardly surprising. Since respondents were not basing their

claims on any such oral misrepresentations, it was unnecessary to offer any

evidence of any standardized “sales pitch” at the class certification hearing.

% See note 12 infra and accompanying text.

13

issue, the District Court, in its July 8th order, shifted its analysis

to an evaluation of the “support” for that allegation. Paying

mere lip service to Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 417 U.S. 156

(1974), the District Court conducted a selective analysis of

what it considered to be the “evidence” for that allegation and

determined that it was insufficient to support the theory.

Sanders, {1986-87 Transfer Binder] { 92,880 at 94,271-72

(App. E-9 to 11). However, the District Court specifically

found that the issue of class certification involved several

controlling questions of law about which substantial grounds

existed for differences of opinion and that an immediate appeal

from its two orders would materially advance the ultimate

termination of the litigation. Sanders, [1986-87 Transfer

Binder] 4 92,880 at 92,274-75 ( App. E-17 to 19). Accordingly,

the District Court certified the class issue for interlocutory

appeal pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b) (1982). The Eleventh

Circuit Court of Appeals accepted the appeal in an order dated

August 21, 1986 (App. Exhibit F).

In a unanimous opinion, the Court of Appeals reversed the

denial of class certification with respect to respondents’ federal

securities law claims. The Court of Appeals ruled that the

District Court had erred in refusing to give any consideration

whatsoever to possible class treatment of respondents’ claims

under Sections 11 and 12(2) of the Securities Act. Kirkpatrick,

827 F.2d at 725-26 (App. A-12 to 13).

Turning to respondents’ Section 10(b) and Rule 10b-5

claims, the Court of Appeals observed that the District Court’s

entire analysis of the “predominance” issue was “based directly

on [its] interpretation of the substance of the plaintiffs’ claims.”

Kirkpatrick, 827 F.2d at 721 (App. A-4). Accordingly, the

Eleventh Circuit reviewed respondents’ Complaint to determine

whether the District Court had properly construed those claims.

The Court of Appeals concluded that the District Court had

not. The Eleventh Circuit unanimously held that the District

Court had “mischaracterized” the case as one involving

“primarily individualized oral representations rather than a

common scheme by the defendants toward the plainuff pur-

chasers.” Kirkpatrick, 827 F.2d at 722, 725 (App. A-6, 11).

Having placed the case in its proper context, the Court of

14

Appeals carefully reviewed the entire record in the case, and

determined that the “predominance” requirement of Rule

23(b)(3) was easily satisfied. Kirkpatrick, 827 F.2d at 724

(App. A-10). The Eleventh Circuit, following a long and

unbroken line of authority, held that, “[i]Jn view of the

overwhelming number of common factual and legal issues

presented by plaintiffs’ misrepresentation claims, ... the mere

presence of the factual issue of individual reliance could not

render the claims unsuitable for class treatment.” Kirkpatrick,

827 F.2d at 724-25 (App. A-11). The Eleventh Circuit also

held that the case fell squarely within the principles announced

in Shores v. Sklar, and that respondents were entitled to a

presumption of reliance afforded by the “fraud on the market”

theory recognized in that case. In so doing, the Court of

Appeals ruled that the District Court could not, as it had done,

base its findings on class certification “upon nothing other” than

the District Court’s assessment of the likelihood of success on

the merits of respondents’ claims. Kirkpatrick, 827 F.2d at 723

(App. A-7) (emphasis added).

Having corrected the numerous legal and factual errors

which plagued the District Court’s orders, the Court of Appeals

remanded the class issue to the District Court for application of

the correct standards. Kirkpatrick, 827 F.2d at 720, 728 ( App.

A-2, 17).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The issues raised in the Petition present no novel or unique

questions of constitutional or statutory interpretation worthy of

review by this Court. The decision of the Court of Appeals is

firmly rooted in the precedents of this Court, follows a long and

unbroken line of authority in the Eleventh Circuit, and is fully

consistent with the case law in other Circuits. The alleged

“conflict” which PaineWebber strives mightily to create is

nonexistent.

‘© The other broker-dealer defendants in the companion cases to this one

also have filed petitions for writs of certiorari to review the Eleventh Circuit's

decision. See Robinson Humphrey/ American Express, Inc., et al. v. Sanders,

No 87-835 ( petition filed November 23, 1987) and J. C. Bradford & Co. v.

Kirkpatrick, et al., No. 87-932 ( petition filed December 7, 1987).

15

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

L

THE ISSUES RAISED IN THE PETITION ARE NOT RIPE

FOR DETERMINATION WITH RESPECT TO ALL OF

THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

As noted above, the Court of Appeals neither granted nor

denied class certification. Rather, the Eleventh Circuit re-

manded the class issue to the District Court for further proceed-

ings consistent with its decision. Thus, the class motion remains

undecided. Under these circumstances, it is unnecessary for this

Court to exercise its certiorari jurisdiction at this time to render

what essentially would be an advisory opinion.

In Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen and Enginemen v.

Bangor & Aroostook R.R. Co., 389 U.S. 327 (1967), the Court

denied a petition for writ of certiorari where the court of

appeals had remanded the case to the district court for further

proceedings. In Brotherhood, the district court had issued a

temporary restraining order against a union prohibiting a strike.

The union nevertheless went on strike, and the district court

entered contempt orders, imposing substantial fines for alleged

violations of its restraining order. On appeal, the court of

appeals ruled on many of the legal issues presented to it, but

remanded the case to the district court to determine whether

there had been substantial compliance with the restraining

order and, if not, whether any such violation of the order was

deliberate and flagrant. Bangor & Aroostook R.R. Co. v.

Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen and Enginemen, 380 F.2d

570 (D.C. Cir. 1967). The union sought certiorari to review the

adverse rulings made by the court of appeals. This Court,

noting that the court of appeals had remanded the case, held

the issues were “not yet ripe for review by this Court,” and

denied the petition, 389 U.S. at 328.

Just as the court of appeals in Brotherhood did not make

findings on critical issues but, rather, remanded the case to the

District Court for further proceedings, so the Eleventh Circuit

here did not certify a plaintiff class but, rather, remanded the

case to the District Court for further findings. The issues

16

involved in this case, as in Brotherhood, simply are “not yet ripe

for review.”

There is no particular exigency which would attend the

denial of certiorari in this case. PaineWebber will be free to

challenge, as part of the normal appellate process after final

judgment, any class which the District Court ultimately might

certify in this case. In the interim, numerous developments

might occur which could significantly alter or entirely moot the

issues raised in the Petition. For example, the District Court

might certify a class different from the class pleaded in respond-

ents’ Complaint. The District Court also may subsequently

alter or amend any certification order which it might enter in

this case. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(c)(1) (district court retains

authority to alter or amend a class order until a “decision on the

merits”). The jury may return a verdict in favor of PaineWeb-

ber on the merits of respondents’ claims, thereby effectively

mooting all of the issues raised-in the Petition.'' The issues

simply are entirely too distant and speculative to warrant

review at this time.

As the Court held almost a century ago in American

Construction Co. v. Jacksonville, Tampa & Key West Ry. Co.,

148 U.S. 372 (1893):

Whether an interlocutory order may be separately

reviewed by the appellate court in the progress of the

suit, or only after and together with the final decree, is

matter of procedure rather than of substantive right;

and many orders made in the progress of a suit become

quite unimportant by reason of the final result or of

intervening matters. Clearly, therefore, this court

should not issue a writ of certiorari to review a decree

of the circuit court of appeals on appeal from an

interlocutory order, unless it is necessary to prevent

extraordinary inconvenience and embarrassment in the

conduct of the cause.

11 Indeed, in that event, Paine Webber undoubtedly would argue in favor

of maintaining a class so that it could receive the res judicata benefit of any

such favorable decision on liability.

17

Id. at 384 (emphasis added). The Court reaffirmed these

principles two decades later in Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v.

Wolf Bros. & Co., 240 U.S. 251 (1916), when it stated:

[ Certiorari] is a jurisdiction to be exercised sparingly,

and only in cases of peculiar gravity and general

importance, or in order to secure uniformity of deci-

sion .... And except in extraordinary cases, the writ is

not issued until final decree .... The decree that was

sought to be reviewed by certiorari at complainant’s

instance was not a final one, a fact that of itself alone

furnished sufficient ground for the denial of the appli-

cation. ...

Id. at 258 (emphasis added) (citations omitted). See also

Supreme Court Rule 17.1. Here, review of the class issue

should await not just a ruling on the class motion itself, but final

judgment in this case.

There is another, equally compelling, reason for denying

the Petition. The centerpiece of PaineWebber’s argument

unquestionably is its frontal assault on the “fraud on the

market” theory enunciated in Shores v. Sklar. While that

theory may have some bearing on some of respondents’ claims,

it is undisputed that the “fraud on the market” theory is not

implicated at all with respect to several of respondents’ other

claims. For example, as noted above, among the determina-

tions made by the Court of Appeals was its ruling that the

District Court abused its discretion by failing to give “separate

consideration” to class certification of respondents’ claims

under Sections 11 and 12(2) of the Securities Act. See

Kirkpatrick, 827 F.2d at 726 (App. A-12 to 13). The Eleventh

Circuit remanded this issue to the District Court for such a

determination. That determination, however, concededly does

not and will not involve any consideration of the “fraud on the

market” theory, since reliance simply is not an issue with

respect to those claims. See, e.g., Shores v. Sklar, 647 F.2d at

470 n.7; Sanders v. John Nuveen & Co., 619 F.2d 1222, 1225

(7th Cir. 1980); Wigand v. Flo-Tek, Inc., 609 F.2d 1028, 1034

(2d Cir. 1979). Similarly, the Court of Appeals ruled that the

District Court “improperly found that the plaintiffs’ Rule 10b-

18

5(2) misrepresentation claims were not suited for class treat-

ment.” Kirkpatrick, 827 F.2d at 724 (App. A-10). In so doing,

the Court of Appeals held that “the mere presence of the

factual issue of individual reliance could not render the claims

unsuitable for class treatment.” Kirkpatrick, 827 F.2d at 724-25

(App. A-11).12 Thus, respondents need not rely on the pre-

sumption of reliance afforded by the “fraud on the market”

theory for class certification of their Rule 10b-5(2) mis-

representation claims. That theory, under the circumstances of

this case, is simply inapplicable to those claims.

In summary, the District Court, on remand, must recon-

sider the issue of class certification irrespective of the outcome

of the issues raised in the Petition. Under these circumstances,

granting the writ will serve merely to the delay resolution of this

case without any concomitant contribution to the preservation

of judicial resources. To the contrary, the judicial process will

be ill-served by such piecemea!, fragmented litigation.

12 This principle has received such widespread and uniform acceptance

by the Circuits that it is no longer subject to serious dispute. See, ¢.z.,

Eisenberg v. Gagnon, 766 F.2d 770, 786 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 106 S.Ct. 342

(1985); Blackie v. Barrack, $24 F.2d 891, 902 (9th Cir. 1975), cert. denied,

429 U.S. 816 (1976); Green v. Wolf Corp., 406 F.2d 291, 301 (2d Cir. 1968),

cert. denied, 395 U.S. 977 (1969). As the Second Circuit observed in Green:

Wolf earnestly argues that each person injured must show that he

personally relied on the misrepresentations in order to recover and

thus any common issues of misrepresentations do not predominate

over the individual questions of reliance. Even if Wolf is correct in

its assertion of the need for proof of reliance, and we express no

views on that issue, we must still reject the argument. Carried to

its logical end, it would negate any attempted class action under

Rule 10b-5, since as the District Courts have recognized, reliance

is an issue lurking in every 10b-5 action.

406 F.2d at 301. Accord, In re Home-Stake Production Co. Securities

Litigation, 76 F.R.D. 351, 372 (N.D. Okla. 1977); Sharp v. Coopers &

Lybrand, 70 F.R.D. 544, 547-48 (E.D. Pa. 1976); Vernon J. Rockler v.

Graphic Enterprises, Inc., 52 F.R.D. 335, 345-46 (D. Minn. 1971).

19

IL.

THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS IS

FIRMLY ROOTED IN WELL-SETTLED PRINCIPLES OF

LAW AND PROCEDURE AND IS FULLY CONSISTENT

WITH EXISTING PRECEDENT

A. The Court Of Appeals Properly Concluded That The

District Court, In Ruling On A Motion For Class Certifi-

cation, Was Not Permitted To Disregard The Allegations

Of Respondents’ Complaint And Recharacterize The Case

In A Manner Which Respondents Neither Pleaded Nor

Intend To Prove

The Court of Appeals—far from according blind deference

to respondents’ Complaint, as petitioner suggests—merely held

that the District Court could not disregard respondents’ Com-

plaint in its entirety and unilaterally reformulate respondents’

case in a manner which they neither pleaded nor intend to

prove. The Eleventh Circuit adopted a view of the case which

the District Court itself had adopted in analyzing the “com-

monality” and “typicality” requirements of Rule 23—one

grounded on a common course of fraudulent conduct which

affected each member of the class in the same manner, and

involving widely distributed uniform written material. The

Court of Appeals held that the evidence presented both prior to

and during the class certification hearing, viewed in its proper

context, supported certification of the Section 10(b) and Rule

l( 5 claims. The Court of Appeal’s decision is legally correct,

factually sound, and does not merit review by this Court. One

need only read respondents’ Complaint (something which the

District Court stated it was not required to do) to reach the

same conclusion.

PaineWebber has only itself to blame for leading the

District Court astray through its persistent mischaracterizations

of respondents’ case. Such tactics frequently are employed by

those who would deny any relief to a class of defrauded

investors. Typical is Shankroff v. Advest, Inc., 112 F.R.D. 190

(S.D.N.Y. 1986). Shankroff is particularly instructive, for it

involves identical claims against another brokerage firm—

20

Advest, Inc.—which sold the Petro-Lewis partnerships. The

court in Shankroff granted plaintiff's motion for class certifica-

tion in that case and (unlike the District Court here), refused to

succumb to the arguments of defense counsel that it reformulate

plaintiffs case:

Advest contends that common questions of law or fact

neither exist nor predominate. Advest maintains, first,

that there is no common nexus between the different

Petro-Lewis partnerships, which are described in a

number of different prospectuses; and second, that

each potential class member’s claim is distinct because

the alleged frauds are based on oral, not written,

representations. Thus, Advest argues, the nonuni-

formity of the representations characterize the issues

as highly individual in nature.

Advest’s argument, however, mistakes plaintiff’s claim.

The premise of plaintiff's complaint is that Advest,

whose business consists of analyzing investment pros-

pects and providing financial advice to its clients,

engaged in a “course of conduct” designed to encour-

age investment in Petro-Lewis limited partnerships

while failing to disclose Petro-Lewis’ deplorable

financial condition. Where the facts as alleged show

that defendant’s course of conduct concealed material

information from an entire putative class, the com-

monality requirement is met.

Since plaintiffs allegations focus on overall manage-

rial decisions which affected all Advest clients, ques-

tions of oral representations or individual reliance do

not overwhelm the issues common to the class.

112 F.R.D. at 193 (citations omitted). To the same effect is Jn

re Baldwin-United Corp. Litigation, MDL No. 581, M21-35

(CLB) (S.D.N.Y., June 27, 1986 Memorandum Opinion and

Order Granting Class Certification ).13 There, the same defen-

13 A copy of the decision in Baldwin-United, which is unreported, is

included in the Appendix hereto (““Res. App.”) as Exhibit A.

21

dant involved in this case—Paine Webber—attempted to defeat

class certification by using the same, time-worn argument that

the claims in that case were grounded upon oral mis-

representations.'4 The court gave that argument short shrift,

and certified the class. (Resp. App. A-4 to 7).

As the Eleventh Circuit specifically found, the focus of this

case is on the prospectuses and other written material dis-

tributed to members of the class and on the fraudulent conduct

of PaineWebber’s senior management, nor on any ancillary oral

statements made by individual PaineWebber brokers to their

clients.15 Under such circumstances, courts have uniformly

held that mere presence of oral statements will not render

individual questions of reliance predominate over the common

issues of fraud and materiality. See, e.g., Kennedy v. Tailant,

710 F.2d 711, 717-18 (llth Cir. 1983) (presence of oral

statements does not defeat certification since “substance of the

oral communications... is not an issue in the suit.”); Esplin v.

Hirschi, 402 F.2d 94, 97 (10th Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 394 U'S.

928 (1969) (“[u]ndoubtedly the possibility exists that there

will be questions of individual oral misrepresentations to each

of the potential plaintiffs,” but “having alleged ... that there

was omissions and half truths common to all purchasers . . . it is

apparent that the issue of liability ... was to be the same as to

all purchasers”); Arthur Young & Co. v. United States District

Court, 549 F.2d 686, 695 (9th Cir.) cert. denied, 434 U.S. 829

(1977) (alleged reliance on oral statements was of “question-

able evidentiary significance for purposes of making a Rule 23

determination” in case involving primarily written mis-

representations ); Eisenberg v. Gagnon, 766 F.2d 770, 786 (3d

Cir.), cert. denied, 106 S.Ct. 342 (1985) (denial of class

certification under similar facts was an “abuse of discretion”);

Sharp v. Coopers & Lybrand, 70 F.R.D. 544, 548 (E.D. Pa.

14 The products involved in Baldwin-United were annuity-type securities

sold to the public through PaineWebber’s network of account executives.

'S The Eleventh Circuit also specifically found that the record in this case

was devoid of any evidence that class members were even exposed to

differing oral communications, let alone that any such communications

“varied materially from the misleading information alleged to have been

disseminated generally as a result of the defendants’ common schemes.”

Kirkpatrick, 827 F.2d at 724 (App. A-10). This is uncontroverted.

22

1976) ( presence of oral statements does not defeat certification

when claims based on uniform written documents); Fox v.

Prudent Resources Trust, 69 F.R.D. 74, 82 (E.D. Pa. 1975)

( possible variations in oral statements made to limited partners

in oil and gas investment programs did not defeat class

certification when a fraudulent prospectus was also the basis of

plaintff’s claim); In re Home-Stake Production Co. Securities

Litigation, 76 F.R.D. 351, 369-73 (N.D. Okla. 1977) (same);

Jenson v. Continental Financial Corp., 404 F. Supp. 806, 813

(D. Minn. 1975) (same); Mulcahey v. Petrofunds, 79 F.R.D.

272, 278-80 (S.D. Tex. 1978) (same).

The Simon case, relied upon so heavily by Paine Webber, is

so easily distinguishable that it has virtually no precedential

value beyond its limited facts. (See Petition at 15, discussing

Simon v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc.., 482 F.2d

880 (Sth Cir. 1973)). In Simon, the plaintiff purchased the

securities entirely on the basis of information provided to him

by a corporate insider, and, admittedly, did not rely upon any

representations by the defendant broker. Thus, the court quite

properly found that the case involved “unique” oral statements

which were not common to the class. Here, by contrast, any

oral statements were based on standardized written materials

and were merely ancillary to those documents, a distinction

which the Simon court specifically noted would make class

treatment appropriate. Jd. at 882-83.

These courts have adopted a common sense approach, and

recognize that it is the rare securities transaction which is not

accompanied by some type of oral communication between an

investor and his or her broker. Adoption of a per se bar to class

certification whenever a securities transaction involves oral

communications—the very position advocated by Paine Webber

and adopted by the District Court here—would totally evisce-

rate the class action device in the securities context. It is

undoubtedly for this reason that the courts have consistently

rejected such an approach.

Straining to bring this case within one of the categories of

Supreme Court Rule 17, PaineWebber, grasping for straws,

argues that there is a “direct conflict” between the Eleventh and

23

Fifth Circuits over the issue of class certification of claims

arising under Section 10(b) and Rule 10b-5. (Petition at 14-

16). PaineWebber contends that class treatment of such claims

is appropriate only if plaintiffs are able to demonstrate a

“uniform sales pitch” or other standardized presentation to the

class. This argument, of course, is a replay of the same false

premise which PaineWebber urged on the District Court and

which the Eleventh Circuit expressly rejected—i.e., that re-

spondents’ claims in this case are grounded on “oral mis-

representations”. In this connection, PaineWebber apparently

refuses to recognize the difference between “oral representa-

tions” and “oral misrepresentations.” The former may be

entirely consistent with the written—materials and their mere

presence in a case, as the Eleventh Circuit found here and as the

cases cited previously uniformly hold, will not defeat certifica-

tion. Oral misrepresentations, by contrast, may give rise to

liability under the federal securities laws, and present a

problematic situation for class certification, i/—but only if—the

class’ claims are grounded on those oral misstatements. In those

types of cases, the plaintiff must come forward with evidence of

a standardized sales pitch in order to satisfy the requisite

“commonality” and “predominance” elements of Rule 23.

That is not this case. There is no conflict.

B. The Court Of Appeals Did Not Ignore The Evidence At

The Class Hearing But, Rather, Viewed The Entire

Record In Its Proper Context

PaineWebber argues that the Court of Appeals dis-

regarded the evidence presented at the class hearing and based

its decision on the class issue solely on “the four corners of the

[C]omplaint.” (Petition at 12). An examination of the Elev-

enth Circuit’s decision belies this contention.

The Eleventh Circuit was mindful of the necessity, in

particular cases, of looking beyond the face of pleadings in

connection with the class action determination to see whether

the requirements of Rule 23 have been satisfied. The Eleventh

24

Circuit’s position on this issue—fully consistent with the prece-

dents of this Court—could not be more clear:

Certainly, as the [District Court] noted in its order, a

court may look beyond the allegations of the com-

plaint in determining whether a motion for class

certification should be granted.

Kirkpatrick, 827 F.2d at 722 (App. A-7), citing General

Telephone Co. of Southwest v. Falcon, 457 U.S. 147 (1982).

Indeed, the Eleventh Circuit specifically recognized that such

inquiries—such as depositions of the named plaintiffs—

routinely are employed in connection with the “adequacy” and

“typicality” determinations of Rule 23(a). Kirkpatrick, 827

F.2d at 723 (App. A-7).

Here, the decision of the Court of Appeals, on its face,

reveals careful consideration of the entire record in this case,

including the evidence offered at the class hearing. The

Eleventh Circuit simply viewed the record differently than did

the District Court, a view which gave proper recognition to the

claims as pleaded by respondents, not as unilaterally reformu-

lated by the court below at the behest of PaineWebber. In this

connection, the following observation in Blackie v. Barrack, 524

F.2d 891 (9th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 429 US. 816 (1976) is

instructive:

[T]he district judge is necessarily bound to some

degree of speculation by the uncertain state of the

record on which he must rule. An extensive eviden-

tiary showing of the sort requested by defendants is

not required. So long as he has sufficient material

before him to determine the nature of the allegations,

and rule on compliance with the rule’s requirements,

and he bases his ruling on that material, his approach

cannot be faulted because plaintiffs’ proof may fail at

trial. Of course, whether he applied correct legal

principles in making the ruling, and whether the ruling

was within the permissible boundaries of the discretion

vested in him, is another question....

Id. at 901 (emphasis added ).

25

Furthermore, as the Eleventh Circuit specifically found, the

District Court—far from conducting a simple inquiry into the

merits to assist it in understanding the class issues—instead

evaluated the evidence and based its class determination “upon

nothing other than the [District Court]’s assessment of the

plaintiffs’ likelihood of success on the claims.” Kirkpatrick, 827

F.2 at 723. (App. A-7) (emphasis added). In essence, the

District Court, at the class certification stage, demanded not

merely factual support for respondents’ claims but virtually

conclusive evidence of petitioner’s guilt. The Eleventh Circuit

properly held that such a weighing of the evidence constituted

an impermissible intrusion into the merits. 16

In any event, even if the Court of Appeals, as PaineWeb-

ber complains, took a “deferential view” of respondents’ Com-

plaint (Petition at 5), such an approach would have been

entirely consistent with the cases which hold that the substan-

tive allegations of the complaint must be accepted as true for

purposes of ruling on a class motion. See, e.g., Blackie v.

Barrack, 524 F.2d at 901 & n.17; Miller v. Mackey Int'l Inc.,

452 F.2d 424, 427-28 ( Sth Cir. 1971); Green v. Wolf Corp., 406

F.2d 291, 294 n.1 (2d Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 395 U.S. 977

(1969). The correct rule was summarized in Westlake v.

Abrams, 565 F. Supp. 1330, 1337 (N.D. Ga. 1983), where the

court stated:

[T]here is absolutely no support in the history of Rule

23 or legal precedent for turning a motion under Rule

23 into a Rule 12 motion to dismiss or a Rule 56

motion for summary judgment by allowing the district

judge to evaluate the possible merits of the plaintiff’s

claims at this stage of the proceedings.

Id. (emphasis added) (citations omitted). See also Eisen v.

Carlisle & Jacquelin, 417 U.S. 156, 177 (1974) (district court is

not “to conduct a preliminary inquiry into the merits of a suit to

determine whether it may be maintained ‘as a class action”);

‘6 Such an approach, if permitted, also would fly squarely in the face of

Rule 23 (c)( 1), which requires that the class determination be made “as soon

as practicable after the commencement of an action brought as a class

action. .. .” Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(c)(1).

26

Seidman v. Stauffer Chemical Corp., {1986-87 Transfer Bind-

er] Fed. Sec. L. Rep. (CCH) 9 92,868 at 94,228 (D. Conn.

1986) (allegation of common scheme or plan to defraud

sufficient for ruling on class motion: “It was not necessary to

establish its existence.”’).

C. The Decision Of The Court Of Appeals Falls Squarely

Within The Holding Of Shores v. Sklar And The Un-

broken Line Of Authority Which Has Followed In Its

Wake

The Court of Appeals correctly held, as has every other

court which addressed the issue,'” that a plaintiff alleging fraud

under Rule 10b-5 may, in circumstances where it is alleged that

securities could not have been marketed “but for” the fraud,

invoke a rebuttable presumption of reliance upon the integrity

of the marketplace. Kirkpatrick, 827 F.2d at 722-23 (App. A-6

to 7), citing Shores v. Sklar, supra.'*

~ Reliance is generally part of the logical chain needed to

establish that a defendant’s misrepresentation or omission in

fact caused the plaintiff’s injury. See List v. Fashion Park, Inc.,

340 F.2d 457, 462 (2d Cir. ), cert. denied, 382 U.S. 811 (1965).

Although the requirement is easily met by showing the plain-

tiffs actual subjective reliance on the defendant’s misstatement

(see 3 L. Loss, Securities Regulation, at 1430-32 (2d ed.

1961) ), courts have held that proof of such direct reliance is not

necessary in certain cases, including those alleging a Shores-

type “fraud on the market.”

17 See, e.g., TJ. Raney & Sons, Inc. v. Fort Cobb Oklahoma Irrigation

Fuel Authority, 717 F.2d 1330, 1333 ( 10th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S.

1026 (1984); Shores v. S/iwr, supra; Arthur Young & Co. v. United States

District Court, 549 F.2d 60, 695 (%h Cir.), cert. denied, 434 US. 829

(1977); Rose v. Arkansas Valley Environmental & Utility Authority, 562

F. Supp. 1180, 1201-03 (W.D. Mo. 1983); Frankel v. Wyllie & Thornhill, Inc.,

537 F. Supp. 730, 735-37 (W.D. Va. 1982); Dekro v. Stern Bros. & Co., 540

F. Supp. 406, 410-11 (W.D. Mo. 1982). See also Note, Fraud On the

Market—An Emerging Theory Of Recovery Under SEC Rule 10b-5, 50 Geo.

Wash. L. Rev. 627, 645-55 (1982).

18 The Eleventh Circuit, in the en banc decision Bonner v. City of

Prichard, 661 F.2d 1206 ( 1 ith Cir. 1981), adopted as precedent the decisions

of the former Fifth Circuit, including Shores, rendered prior to October |,

1981.

:

4

i

£

3

4

:

4

4

z

27

The “fraud on the market” theory recognized in Shores

(and reaffirmed by the Eleventh Circuit here) is grounded on

the premise that “(t]he securities laws allow an investor to rely

on the integrity of the market to the extent that the securities it

offers to him for purchase are entitled to be in the market-

place.” Shores, 647 F.2d at 471. Under Shores, the requisite

causation is provided by proof that “securities not traded on the

open market could not have been issued but for a fraudulent

scheme by the defendants.” Kirkpatrick, 827 F.2d at 722 ( App.

A-7), citing Shores, 647 F.2d at 469. Allegations to that effect

allow a rebuttable presumption that investors who purchased

the securities and relied on the integrity of the market were

harmed by the defendant’s fraud.

The logic underlying the theory is manifest. If securities

could not have been marketed but for a fraudulent scheme, it

follows that an investor satisfies the requisite causal link by

evidence that he or she purchased the securities in reliance, in

whole or in part, on the integrity of the market. Indeed, as the

Eleventh Circuit noted here, recognition of the “fraud on the

market” theory is as compelling in a Shores-type case as it is in

a so-called “open market” '® context. Kirkpatrick, 827 F.2d at

718 (App. A-9) (footnote omitted ).

There is no conflict on this issue in the lower courts. And

the Eleventh Circuit’s holding in this case is not, as petitioner

suggests, a departure from any of those cases. To the contrary,

it falls squarely within the holding of Shores. Even the so-

called “critics” of the theory (see Petition at 9) concede its

applicability, as the Eleventh Circuit applied it here, to claims

'® See Basic Inc. v. Levinson, 107 S.Ct. 1284 (1987), granting cert. to,

786 F.2d 741 (6th Cir. 1986). See also Peil v. Speiser, 806 F.2d 1154 ( 3d Cir.

1986); Harris v. Union Electric Co., 787 F.2d 355, 367 & n.9 ( 8th Cir. 1986),

cert. denied, No. 85-2036 ( Oct. 6, 1986); Lipton v. Documation, Inc., 734 F.2d

740 (Lith Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 132 (1985); TJ. Raney & Sons,

Inc. v. Fort Cobb Oklahoma Irrigation Fuel Authority, 717 F.2d 1330 ( 10th

Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1026 (1984); Panzirer v. Wolf, 663 F.2d

365 (2d Cir. 1981), vacated as moot after cert. granted, 459 U.S. 1027

(1982); Ross v. A.H. Robins Co., 607 F.2d 545, 553 (2d Cir. 1979), cert.

denied, 446 U.S. 946 (1980); Blackie v. Barrack, $24 F.2d 891 (9th Cir.

1975), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 816 (1976).

28

under subsections (1) and (3) of Rule 10b-5. See Note, The

Fraud On The Market Theory, 95 Harv. L. Rev. 1143, 1157-58

n.56 (1982). Respondents clearly alleged that the Petro-Lewis

securities could not have been marketed “but for” the fraudu-

lent scheme, and respondents came forward with uncon-

troverted evidence that they relied on the integrity of the

market when they made their purchases. No more is required

at the class certification stage.

Nor is certiorari warranted, as petitioner contends ( Peti-

tion at 10, 14), to limit the potential abuse of class actions.

Contrary to petitioner’s assertion, the presumption of reliance in

a “fraud on the market” case is grounded in characteristics of

securities markets and investor behavior that are present in

both class actions and individual actions. The presumption is

not applied to facilitate class status in cases that would not

otherwise be amenable to prosecution as class actions. Shores

did not open the floodgates to class action litigation in securities

cases, and the strict application of Shores by the Eleventh

Circuit here likewise will have no such effect. The speculative

horrors imagined by Paine Webber are contrived.

Furthermore, the presumptions underlying the “fraud on

the market” theory promote important policies under the

federal securities laws. The federal securities laws were

adopted in large measure to restore integrity to, and investor

confidence in, the securities markets.2° A fundamental premise

of the Exchange Act is that, since the markets are affected by

information, “[t]here cannot be honest markets without honest

{information ].” H.R. Rep. No. 1383, 73d Cong., 2d Sess. 11

(1934). An equally fundamental premise is that iivestors rely

on the integrity of the markets. A defendant if a case brought

under the federal securities laws who contends that these

fundamental premises are not true in a particular case should

bear the burden of proving it.

2° This Court has “repeatedly emphasized that implied private actions

{under Rule 10b-5] provide a most effective weapon in the enforcement ‘of

the securities laws and are a necessary supplement to Commission action.’ ™

Bateman Eichler, Hill Richards, Inc. v. Berner, 472 US. 299, 310 (1985),

quoting J.1. Case Co. v. Borak, 377 U.S. 426, 432 ( 1964).

29

D. The Court Of Appeals Did Not Establish An Irrebutable

Presumption Of Reliance In Shores-type “Fraud On the

Market” Cases

Contrary to PaineWebber’s argument, the Eleventh Circuit

did not create a broad rule of general applicability which

establishes an irrebuttable presumption of reliance in Shores-

type “fraud on the market” cases. Nor did the Court of

Appeals lay down any such rule in this particular case.

Paine Webber is free to rebut the presumption by establishing

that no fraud occurred; that even if the offerings were tainted

with fraud, full disclosure of the true facts nevertheless would

not have prevented the securities from being marketed at some

price ( albeit lower than they were); or that respondents did not

rely at all on the integrity of the market. Shores, 647 F.2d at

470.

IIL.

THE DISTRICT COURT AND THE COURT OF APPEALS

PROPERLY EXERCISED THEIR DISCRETION UNDER

28 U.S.C. § 1292(b) IN CERTIFYING AND ACCEPTING,

RESPECTIVELY, THE CLASS ISSUE FOR INTER-

LOCUTORY REVIEW AND, IN ANY EVENT, THIS ISSUE

HAS BEEN RENDERED MOOT BY THE ISSUANCE OF

THE CIRCUIT COURT'S DECISION ON THE MERITS

OF THE APPEAL

PaineWebber’s criticism of the propriety of the District

Court’s certifying, and the Eleventh Circuit’s accepting, inter-

locutory review of the class certification order hardly menits

serious discussion. In the wake of the denial of class certifica-

tion, several members of the putative class filed individual

protective actions against Paine Webber asserting claims similar

| to those asserted in the class case.?' The District Court specific-

ally found that “[rJesolving the class certification on inter-

locutory appeal wil! prevent any duplicative effort” on the part

of the parties to the various cases and would conserve judicial

; resources. Sanders, {1986-87 Transfer Binder] 9 92,880 at

;

‘

:

;

;

)

|

A) ie li ai Tt EO wed

21 Those actions have been stayed pending resolution of the class motion

im this case.

:

Silicones

30

94,274-75 (App. E-17 to 19). The District Court also was

mindful of the rights of members of the class, many of whom

are counting on the class action to vindicate their rights, but

most of whom lack sufficient funds or incurred sufficient losses

to justify pursuing their claims on an individual basis. (Jd.)

These were uniquely discretionary rulings by the District Court,

accepted by the Court of Appeals, which should not be

reviewed by this Court. Indeed, this entire issue was rendered

moot when the Eleventh Circuit rendered its decision on the

merits of the appeal.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition for a Wnit of

Certiorari to review the decision of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit should be denied.

Dated: Haverford, Pennsylvania Respectfully submitted,

December 23, 1987

KENNETH A. JACOBSEN*

RICHARD D. GREENFIELD

NICHOLAS E. CHIMICLES

GREENFIELD & CHIMICLES

One Haverford Centre

361 West Lancaster Avenue

Haverford, PA 19041-0100

(215) 642-8500

Attorneys for Respondents

*Counsel of Record for

Respondents

D. LAKE RUMSEY, JR.

DriEBE & RUMSEY

152 Nassau Street

Atlanta, GA 30309

(404) 688-4800

Of Counsel

‘ « - ©

“ - - ee

"ease . 4

. *

i

: .

3 Ps

‘*

2 ¥

+ =

> +

-

*

. > . ‘

- 3 +

i “i

- - r- _

~

*

‘ s “¥

} |

i

fe *

z a 4

:

x ’ : ~

3 < ~ A

— ™ 5 4 x

ae Lor *.

s “ 4 . -

. 4 a if

- ~ 5

ee: . . vb, f

¥ ie * sf “A ; <

= a r ,

> * .

‘ m r ae

a t

ear" ~ 4

F ~—— > . a

* : x x .

oe ie ote. ‘

eine Met, F t Ss

gis : Me. Be . , .

x * + - ” 4

~ ip bs | “ 2 x ~ g

’

we

user?

8

5

Me rrreesecnedren rt

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

MDL 581-IN RE BALDWIN-UNITED M 21-35 (CLB)

CORPORATION LITIGATION

MEMORANDUM DECISION

{Class Certification ]

This Document Relates To:

ALFRED LINTON and JEROME W.

EICHELSBACHER,

Plaintiffs,

-against- 83 Civ. 8476 (CLB)

SHEARSON LEHMAN/ AMERICAN

Express, INc., ef al,

Defendants.

VINCENT Ertl, ef ai,

Plaintiffs,

-against- 83 Civ. 9085 (CLB)

PAINEWEBBER JACKSON &

Curtis, INC., ef ai.,

Defendants.

(caption continues)

2a

(caption continued)

Oscar J. Woops,

Plaintiff,

-against- 84 Civ. 2235 (CLB)

W.H. NEWBOLD’s SONS &

Co., INC., et al.

Defendants.

STEVEN A. PEREL,

Plaintiff,

-against- 4 84 Civ. 8879 (CLB)

ROTAN MOSLE, INC., et al,

Defendants.

Brieant, J.

By motion fully argued and submitted on March 7, 1986,

plaintiffs in this multidistrict litigation seek class certification

pursuant to Rule 23, F.R Civ.P., in each of the above-captioned

four actions, which have been consolidated in this Court by

transfer orders on the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation.

Familiarity of the reader with all prior proceedings in this

litigation is assumed, although the Court directs special atten-

tion to its decision Jn Re Baldwin-United Corp., 105 F.R.D. 475

(S.D.N.Y. 1984), in which the Court certified tentative classes

in fourteen related cases against different defendants on similar

claims, for the purpose of settlement. Subsequently, a total of

twenty-four consolidated class actions against that many

broker-dealer defendants in the Baldwin-United securities liti-

gation were certified and each was settled.

Plaintiffs in these four remaining actions allege that the

defendant broker-dealers and Planco, Inc. engaged in a com-

mon course of fraudulent conduct in omitting material informa-

tion in connection with their sales of certain investment con-

tracts to the plaintuffs. These contracts, known as single

3a

premium deferred annuities (SPDAs), were issued from 1979

to 1983 by two insurance subsidiaries of Baldwin-United and

were marketed to the public nationwide by various means,

including sale through broker-dealers such as the defendants in

these four actions. In 1983, the two issuing insurance com-

panies and four other subsidiaries that reinsured the SPDAs

were placed in rehabilitation, and the parent corporation,

Baldwin-United, entered bankruptcy. Thereafter, SPDA pur-

chasers, including the class plaintiffs herein, commenced the

federal civil actions that eventually were consolidated into this

-multidistrict litigation.

Jurisdiction is conferred over the federal law claims by

Section 22 of the Securities Act of 1933 (“1933 Act’), 15

U.S.C. § 77(v), Section 27 of the Securities Exchange Act of

1934 (“1934 Act”), 15 U.S.C. § 78aa, and Section 4 of the

Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act

(“RICO”), 18 U.S.C. § 1964. The Court is likewise empow-

ered to hear the state statutory and common law claims pleaded

by virtue of diversity of citizenship and under principles of

pendent jurisdiction.

The amended consolidated complaints in the Linton, Erti

and Woods actions and the complaint in Perel each recite nine

separately denominated claims for relief alleging violations of

Sections 5, 12(1) of the Act, 15 U.S.C. § 78j(b) and Rule

1@b-5 promulgated thereunder, and Section 1962(c) of RICO,

as well as common law fraud and deceit and violations of state

securities, consumer and fiduciary responsibility laws. The

plaintiffs also assert claims premised on common law negli-

gence, breach of contract and breach of fiduciary duty against

all defendants except Pianco, Inc. (““Planco”). Except for

variations in the pleadings to account for facts peculiar to each

plaintiff, the complaints are identical in all respects pertinent to

these class certification motions. Therefore, the Court will not

distinguish among them when examining their suitability for

class certification, except as may be required to consider

specific, fact-oriented arguments raised by a particular broker-

dealer that call for individualized analysis.

4a

Numerosity

In order to qualify for class action treatment, plaintiff must

demonstrate that each of the four prerequisites set forth in Rule

23(a) has been satisfied and, in addition, that at least one of

the factors described in Rule 23(b) is present. The first

requirement, that the classes be so numerous that joinder of all

the aggrieved individuals would be impracticable, is not con-

tested here. Over several years, each broker-dealer sold SPDAs

having an aggregate face value well in excess of a million

dollars to purchasers throughout the country. The identity and

exact number of prospective class members are ascertainable

from defendants’ records and those of the state rehabilitators of

the issuers, and it is reasonable to conclude in view of the

magnitude of this marketing effort that the number of affected

persons would justify class certification.

Commonality

The second requirement, commonality, is more probiema-

tic. Under Rule 23(a)(2), plaintiffs must show that common

questions of law and fact susceptible to class treatment pre-

dominate among the putative class members’ claims. The

gravamen of plaintiffs’ complaints is that the defendants, in

connection with their business of analyzing investment opportu-

nities and providing financial services to clients, each engaged

in a similar unified course of conduct to promote and sell

Baldwin-United’s SPDAs to the public without disclosing that

the issuer was experiencing financial and regulatory difficulties.

Plaintiffs contend that the defendants, at the corporate, policy

making level, knew or recklessly disregarded evidence of

Baldwin-United’s precarious financial condition and that they

elected to implement or maintain standardized marketing prac-

tices that concealed the true investment risks of the SPDAs.

Those practices, plaintiffs allege, emphasized the safety, liquid-

ity and promising investment aspects of the SPDAs even

though information available to the defendants foretold

Baldwin-United’s collapse. Plaintiffs contend that the defen-

dants’ failure to investigate and ascertain the solidity of the

SPDAs’ financial backing, their practice of using uniformly

deceptive promotional materials to solicit purchases, and their

Sa

failure or refusal to disclose the material omissions and half-

truths embodied in their marketing strategy together caused

SPDA holders to sustain substantial injury when their in-

vestments deteriorated.

The broker-dealers, for their part, deny that common

issues Of law and fact predominate. They maintain that the

core issues submitted by plaintiffs in their complaints turn

largely on oral rather than written representations, or on non-

uniform documents that will require greater investigation and

analysis of individual facts than class treatment will allow. For

example, defendants assert, the threshold issue—whether the

SPDAs are in fact securities—invites inquiry into the manner in

which the SPDAs were sold and how they were described to

prospective investors. Similarly, allegations of statutory and

common law fraud would require the Court to make findings as

to the parties’ state of mind, the information disclosed, and also

the fluctuating fortunes of Baldwin as of the time a particular

investor made his or her purchase. The defendants therefore

conclude that the highly individualized character of these

transactions, affecting some 50,000 investors, makes class

certification inappropriate.

This Court disagrees. The nub of plaintiffs’ claims is that

material information was withheld from the entire putative

class in each action, either by written or oral communication.

Essentially, this is a course of conduct case, which as pled

satisfies the commonality requirement of Rule 23, F,R.Civ.P.

See, Green v. Wolf Corp., 406 F.2d 291, 300 (2d Cir. 1968),

cert. denied, 395 U.S. 977 (1969). Although their circum-

stances may vary slightly, the class members are united in

attempting to establish the defendants’ liability for fraudulently

creating an illusion of profitability and a false sense of security

when the undisclosed facts suggest otherwise. The fact that the

Planco marketing brochures may have varied slightly from

broker to broker and customer io customer is not controlling

here. Plaintiffs allege not that the promotional materials

themselves were uniform, but rather that the information they

contained—and hence that the _ broker-dealers. dis-

seminated—was uniformiy misleading. Thus, at the very

outset, the common issue of fact uniting all SPDA purchasers is

6a

whether the Planco sales literature to which they were exposed

was distorted by identical half-truths and omissions that mate-

rially affected their investment decisions. Following closely are _

common questions of the broker-dealers’ own culpability in

utilizing these materials and in failing to detect and disclose

information that would have revealed the SPDAs’ shaky foun-

dations. Liability in this case does not depend on proof of the

individual, face-to-face dealings between the class members

and the registered representatives of the broker-dealers, and

slight differences in the class members’ positions will not defeat

their common status as alleged victims of similar mis-

representations. See Blackie v. Barrack, 524 F.2d 801, 902

(9th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 816 (1976). The

wrongful conduct alleged by plaintiffs occurred at the manage-

ment level, if it did, and manifested itself in the defendants’

course of promoting and selling the SPDAs. As a result, the

relevant questions are readily susceptible to class-wide proof.

Indeed, inquiries into the actual sales process are of

secondary importance. Plaintiffs are not required to establish

how each and every SPDA was sold in order to prove that the

SPDAs were securities. Similarly, it is not fatal to class

certification that a particular investor did not receive or rely

upon the contents of a Planco brochure. In a case such as this

where liability would rest primarily on a failure to disclose

material facts, positive proof of reliance is not a prerequisite to

recovery. Affiliated Ute Citizens v. United States, 406 U.S. 128,

153-54 (1972). Similarly, the presence of oral representations

or embellishments proffered by an account representative will

not rend this class, even if they were the sole basis for an

individual’s decision to purchase an SPDA. Unlike Jn Re

Scientific Control Corp. Securities Lid, 71 F.R.D. 491

(S.D.N.Y. 1979), and other cases where claims based on oral

representations were denied class status, in this case the repre-

sentations related to objective factors—the issuer’s financial

stability or the safety, yield and liquidity of the SPDAs—that

originated from a common source: the Planco documents or the

broker-dealers’ alleged refusal to conduct their own in-

vestigations. See Korn v. Franchard Corporation, 456 F.2d

1206, 1212 (2d Cir. 1972). Even proof of a material variance

a

Raneeeereewen waver Oo reg

r

7a

among the representations will not defeat the class if certain

omissions, inferred from their absence in the Planco literature,

were common to all. See Esplin v. Hirschi, 402 F.2d 94, 99-100

(10th Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 394 U.S. 928 (1969).

The defendants also argue that individual questions relat-

ing to the timeliness of certain securities claims predominate

over any common issues that may exist. The Court disagrees.

Camouflaged as an attack on commonality, this argument in

fact invites the Court to examine and accept in the course of

these class certification motions an affirmative defense that is

potentially dispositive of several claims in this litigation. Such

inquiry is outside the scope of Rule 23 and indeed defies the

principle enunciated in Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 417 U.S.

156 (1974), that a court may not review the substantive issues

raised in a class complaint when determining the claims’

suitability for class treatment. See, e.g., Chevalier v. Baird

Savings Association, 72 F.R.D. 140, 150 (E.D. Pa. 1976); see

also Mersay v. First Republic Corporation of America, 43

F.R.D. 465, 471 (S.D.N.Y. 1968) (class certified notwithstand-

ing individual questions as to statute of limitations).

Accordingly, the Court concludes that common issues of

fact predominate in these actions and that the requirements of

Rule 23(a)(2) have been satisfied.

Typicality

The third prerequisite for maintaining a class action under

Rule 23 is that the individual claims advanced by the named

plaintiffs are sufficiently typical of those asserted by the class

members they purport to represent. Rule 23(a)(3), F.R.Civ.P.

As a general rule, a plainuff’s claim meets the typicality

requirement if it arises from the same events or course of

conduct that gives rise to the claims of other class members and

if it is based on evidence and legal theories consistent with the

other members’ claims. Dura-Bilt Corporation v. Chase

Manhattan Corp., 89 F.R.D. 87, 99 (S.D.N.Y. 1981). The test,

ultimately, is whether the class representative will promote the

interests of the class as he protects his own.

Because this inquiry focuses on the nature of the claims

asserted, factual differences involving the date, type and man-

ner of the purchase, the investor’s perception of the transaction,

or even the information furnished to him at the time will not

destroy typicality if each class member was the victim of the

same material omissions and the same consistent course of

conduct. See Dura-Bilt, supra; Oscar Gruss & Son v. Geon

Industries, Inc., 75 F.R.D. 531, 534-35 (S.D.N.Y. 1977). This

is so even though, as the defendants claim, the amount and type

of information available to the public changed constantly

throughout the class period, and the named plaintiffs suppos-

edly had purchased their SPDAs at a time when Baldwin-

United enjoyed good financial health. The lynchpin of plain-

tiffs’ claim is the alleged nondisclosure of material facts relating

to Baldwin-United’s solvency; whether the named plaintiffs can

prove an actionable omission to sustain their claims invites

comment on the merits, which is forbidden in the context of this

_ Ciass certification motion. See Eisen, 417 U.S. at 178. More-

over, this Court fimds that the putative class representatives will

have a strong incentive to develop evidence pertaining to the

entire class period because their claims rely on proof of a

consistent course of conduct that extended beyond the instances

of alleged fraud umique to them.

Similarly, the presence of common law issues in these

complaints does not destroy typicality, even though the named

plainuffs will be called upon to represent individuals of many

different states if a class is certified. Common law fraud

substantially includes the 10b-5 claims, and the Court can order

separate hearings to resolve the question of damages, if the

need arises.

Notwithstanding certain variations in proof among mem-

bers of the prospe:ctive class, the Court finds that the plaintiffs

have satisfied the typicality requirement by showing that the

same allegedly umlawful conduct affected all members of the

prospective class.

A a

9a

Adequacy of Representation

Finally, before certifying the named plaintiffs as class

representatives, the Court must be convinced that they will

fairly and adequately protect the interests of the absent class

members. Rule 23(a)(4), F.R.Civ.P. Although it is not

necessary that the putative representatives’ claims are identical

to those of the class, the constraints of due process preclude

class certification if the named plaintiffs possess other, poten-

tially conflicting interests that would impair the vigorous prose-

cution of the class claims. See Hansberry v. Lee, 311 U.S. 32

(1940). As set forth above, factual differences involving the

sales transaction, for example, the type of promotional material

used by the various account representatives and the extent to

which the purchaser relied on it, will not defeat class certifica-

tion. Similarly unpersuasive is the argument, also proffered

above, that the plaintiffs who purchased their SPDAs early in

the class period have no incentive to prove facts relevant to a

purported fraud committed on a subsequent purchaser. Nor

caa there by any question as to the qualifications, industry and

commitment of plaintiffs’ counsel. All class members stand or

fall on the issue whether material information was mis-

represented or withheld from SPDA purchasers, and the Court

believes that the named plaintiffs will pursue this issue

vigorously.

The Court therefore concludes that each of the pre-

requisites of Rule 23(a) is satisfied. In addition, the Court

finds pursuant to Rule 23(b)( 3) that questions of law and fact

common to the members of the class predominate over any

questions affecting only individual members, and that a class

action is the superior method of adjudicating this controversy

fairly and adequately.

Shearson Lehman argues that arbitration, which is avail-

able upon request to each putative class plaintiff in the Shearson

Lehman track of cases, is a less expensive, more efficient—and

hence superior—alternative to class litigation on certain arbi-

trable securities claims. Even assuming for the argument that

our Court of Appeals’ decision in McMahon v. Shearson/

American Express, Inc., 788 F.2d 94, 96 (2d Cir. 1986), was

10a

wrong, cf Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc. v. Byrd, _._. US.

——, 105 S.Ct. 1238, 1240 n. | (1985), and that Shearson

Lehman enjoys, as it claims, an absolute right to compel

arbitration pursuant to sales agreements it entered into with its

SPDA customers, this Court does not agree that class treatment

is perforce inappropriate as to those claims. The fairness and

completeness of class litigation, in contrast to the scattered and

fairly random solution suggested by individual arbitration,

persuades this Court that fraud claims such as these are often

best resolved by class action. Not only are interests of

consistency, efficiency and completeness served, but there is

also the assurance that most if not all potential claimants will be

apprised of their mghts and of the named plaintiffs’ com-

paratively inexpensive efforts to vindicate them. This Court

finds it hard to believe that any class action defendant so

situated would prefer separate arbitration of each of thousands

of potential claims that might otherwise be decided by class

action at far less transactional cost. At least under the

circumstances of this case, arbitration cannot be regarded as a

serious alternative to the class action, which is so ideally suited

to securities fraud claims.

The standards of Rule 23, at once fair and flexible,

reaffirm the known truth that for all its pretensions, law is

meant to be practical. The willingness of tweny-four sophis-

ucated broker-dealers, advised by experienced counsel, to settle

their companion actions for a record $183 million eloquently

bespeaks the appropriateness of class certification among those

actions that remain.

Accordingly, plaintiffs’ motions for class certification in

each of the four litigation tracts is granted. Each class shall be

composed of those persons and entities (a) who purchased

SPDAs (i) that were issued by National Investors Life Insur-

ance Company and University Life Insurance Company of

America and/or reinsured by National Investors Pension Insur-

ance Company, Mt. Hood Pension Insurance Company, Na-

uonal Equity Life Insurance Company, and S & H Life

Insurance Company, all of which are affiliated with Baldwin-

United Corporation, and (ii) that were purchased through the

respective broker-dealer defendants in each such action during

the period January |, 1979 through July 13, 1983, each in his,

her or its individual capacity and any and all collective

representatives, assigns, heirs, executors, administrators, custo-

dians, predecessors or successors in interest and any other

person having any legal or beneficial interest in any of such

SPDAs, and (b) who continued to hold such SPDAs on July

13, 1983.

The respective representatives of the Class as to each of the

above-captioned actions shall be and hereby are certified to be

as follows:

1. Linton v. Shearson Lehman/American Express,

Inc., et al., 83 Civ. 8476 (CLB), Alfred Linton and Jerome

W. Eichelsbacher,;

2. Ertiv. Paine Webber Jackson & Curtis, Inc., et al.,

83 Civ. 9085 (CLB), Vincent Erti, Joseph and Elizabeth

Chupke, George and Margaret Ledney, William Neil

Aicholtz and Janet Aicholtz, and Genevieve Novicky;

3. Woods v. W.H. Newbold’s Sons & Co., Inc., et al.,

84 Civ. 2235 (CLB), Oscar J. Woods; and

4. Perel v. Rotan Mosle, Inc., 84 Civ. 8879, Steven A.

Perel.

Settle a formal order on notice, which shall declare the

classes as hereinbefore set forth and provide for notice and an

opportunity to the members of the classes to exclude them-

selves.

Dated: White Plains, New York

- June 27, 1986

/s/ CHaRLEs L. BrRigaNT

Charles L. Brieant

ae Seek

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.