Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Anderson v. United States Department of Transportation

Supreme Court brief1986

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

In the

Supreme Court of the Anited States

Octoser TERM, 1986

DAVID C. ANDERSON, ET AL,

Petitioners,

v.

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPOR-

TATION, FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Pum S. Woop

Pasky Anp Woop

220 BE. Galena Blvd.

P.O. Box 2729

Aurora, IL 60507

312/844-2560

Gary Ersan Kern

1725 K. Street N.W.

Suite 302

Washington, D.C.

202/296-1120

Attorneys for Petitioners

The Scheffer Press, Inc—(312) 263-6850

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether the Federal Circait’s adoption and imple-

mentation of issue preclusion in these cases so far depart-

ed from the standards for judicial review required by

statute and by the fairness criteria defined in the prior

decisions of this Court as to require the use of this Court’s

supervisory power?

PARTIES TO PROCEEDING

The petitioners included in this consolidated petition

are:

Patrick Lydon, David C. Anderson, Daniel C.

Staffin, Richard S. Andrews, Timothy P.

Clouser, John W. Gorman, Michael C. Lacy,

Jack B. Shaul, Dennis P. Obermski, Donal

O’Grady, Anna Lissak, Richard J. Brandis,

John W. Holic, James F. Burgard, Brenda

Conroy, Richard DeLutri, Jeffrey R. Ellis,

Kenneth Popowitech, Donald Schuemann,

Betty J. Murphy, Peter J. Piorkowski, Darryl

Romashko, and Thomas A. Toepfer.

The respondents are:

United States Department of Transportation,

Federal Aviation Administration.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Cie BONOW vncereesinsnieinnsansaidinasesernensninapianmamaainniiiins 1

ENE © i icsuideseieoneiimmecncomennmaiains 2

DNS: CTI viststrcasesenssicccreei nia ii

MINING cpecccscinspceséniasasensaieanassnviasrceuhatanlanounseebiaieiiaaessian 2

Beemsems For Graeme Ce WI oi cccecescenssveccsksssiswlsiasesnsners 10

I.

The decisions below so far depart from the

requisites for fair adjudication, as defined by

statute, rule and the prior decisions of the Court

as to cal! for an exercise of this Court’s super-

VISOTY POWETS ANd QUICANCE ..........cccssccccsecscsssccsceees 10

A.

The process below was fundamentally defective .... 10

B.

The improper denial of oral argument was preju-

GR aildecietisissansstsiv ini ene 15

C.

The Federal Cireuit’s decisions in the petition-

ers’ cases are impermissibly devoid of adjudicative

PIII .nsivcccessuouesnonpnsiieineitnoncoomaahianionebaniiueinicenaiion 16

Aa RT TN eT a ee es EET RM 17

ili

AUTHORITIES CITED

CasEs: PAGE:

Adams v. Department of Transportation, 735 F. 2d

I i. cls dualssiposancnabanoutitnoensders 5

Blonder-Tongue Laboratories, Inc. v. University of

Illinois Foundation, 402 U.S. 313 (1971) occ. 11

Dennison Mfg. Co. v. Panduit Corp., No. 85-1150 (S.

CE., 1986) ———- TU — nn cecncncccccccscscsossccnccssosconcssosence 17

Erickson v. Department of Transportation, No. 83-688

SS RE MIE oi ccpscessnsenscacoccessnssnncosoosovses 4

Ferrando v. Department of Transportation, No. 83-687

SO EE COON a cccsccecnonncccsodnnesnscsvevesees +

In re Air Traffic Controller Litigation, (Fed. Cir.

February 24, 1983) (CAFC Notice) 0.0... 4

Montana v. United States, 440 U.S. 147 (1979) wo... 11

Parklane Hosiery Co. v. Shore, 439 U.S. 322 (1979) .... 11

Trick v. Department of Transportation, MSPB No.

8g a EE 6 ee 11

Triola vy. Department of Transportation, 769 F. 2d

I oi cicsccaddscesivadesedeccnsapsssssecasesboneseih 13,14

Zullo v. Department of Transportation, No. 83-689

Se I RUIIED “A EMOROME) .occccsccsccesccoscaccsccossececscecsesaes 4

STATUTES:

oc... ssinscusensasenénsensocnsbnsessiennseess 3,10

I Eo vescecnsecccussinteneesecssonssotecsocves 3

I io aa. sssccnssvceseeivasvvenravessecéessinentes 2,7

iiss cnminnetidisinsdilbavnassnasscoeyeerectoonns 5

mca csansapenusccoeanensbedeeness 7

s,s ahis oninvessinaconsoshentsoeceeesocaosons 2

RM UE OME oo. sas veccacivavsccseansscacccsivetsnecons 2,4

Pub. L. 97-164, Title 1, Section 144 (April 2, 1982)

ais cecnaciocendsbesabaniusnsvenennsssloninics 3

Circuit Russ:

a os ssuisneslenimnvvciohesniononogus’ 2,8,15,16

C.A.F.C. Rule 3 (b) (1984) ............... ie a 7

LecaL WRITINGS:

Currie, Civil Procedure, The Tempest Brews, 53 Calif.

Se EE SE MEIN - pcovscyvinsctevinaneseanonschntejnenroninacteosensnees 12

In THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OctoserR Term, 1986

No.

DAVID C. ANDERSON, ET AL,

Petitioners,

v.

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPOR-

TATION, FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

A Writ of Certiorari is respectfully sought to review

the final judgments of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Cireuit in the eleven cases consolidated in

this petition.’

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinions of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Federal Circuit in all eleven cases are unpublished,

but are reproduced in Appendix A imfra.

* By order of the Chief Justice, the petitioners’ motion

for extension of time to file a consolidated petition to Sep- |

tember 2, 1986, was granted on July 25, 1986. 7

— po

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to

28 U.S.C. 1254 (1). The jurisdiction of the Federal Circuit

Court of Appeals was initially invoked pursuant to 28

U.S.C. 1295 (a) (9).

STATUTES AND CIRCUIT RULE INVOLVED

IN THE CASE

5 U.S.C. 7703 (c) provides in pertinent part:

In any case filed in the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Federal Circuit, the Court shall review

the record and hold unlawful and set aside any agency

action, findings or conclusions found to be—

(1) Arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of discretion

or otherwise not in accordance with law;

(2) obtained without procedures required by law,

rule or regulation having been followed; or

(3) unsupported by substantial evidence.

F.R.A.P. 34 (a) provides in relevant part:

Gral argument shall be allowed in all cases unless

pursuant to local rule a panel of three judges, after

examination of the briefs and record, shall be unani-

mously of the opinion that oral argument is not

needed. Any such local rule shall provide any party

with an opportunity to file a statement setting forth

the reasons why, in his opinion, oral argument should

be heard.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

INTRODUCTION

Petitioners are all former air traffic controllers who

were terminated in 1981 based upon charges that they

participated in the PATCO strike.

Although each of the petitioners have asserted unique

substantive and procedural defenses through the Merit

eed

Systems Protection Board procedures and in their appeals

to the Federal Circuit, the petitioners are cognizant of

the limited resources of this Court and the logical neces-

sity to limit the Court’s discretionary review to cases in-

volving questions of significant importance.

In deference to this criteria the petitioners do not ask

the Court to review the merits of their individual cases.

Instead, the petitioners limit the issues herein to the

deprivation of basic rights to litigate their cases before

the Federal Circuit, resulting from that Circuit’s adoption

and application of a special but fundamentally flawed

process for deciding the controller litigation. In this vein,

the unique substantive defenses of some of the petitioners

will be stated for the sole purpose of illustrating the

significance of the errors which attached to the proceed-

ings before the Federal Circuit.

1. THE ADOPTION OF ISSUE PRECLUSION—THE

FEDERAL CIRCUIT’S “LEAD CASE” PROCEDURE.

Shortly after the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fed-

eral Circuit was formed in October, 1982,? it faced a po-

tential influx of appeals in crisis proportions. This situa-

tion resulted from the convergence of two factors: (1) the

record number of pending Merit Systems Protection

Board appeals, due to the air traffic controller litigation,

for which judicial review as of right was guaranteed by

law ;* (2) the amendments to 5 U.S.C. 7703 (b) (1), which

transferred to the Federal Circuit exclusive jurisdiction

* Pub. L. 97-164, Title 1. Section 144 (April 2, 1982) 96

Stat. 45.

°5 U.S.C. 7703 (1982).

—

of MSPB appeals which had previously handled by the

Court of Claims and the Courts of Appeals for all the

circuits.*

The decision to resort to issue preclusion as a means

of resolving the anticipated crisis was apparently made by

a single judge of the Federal Circuit, under unusual cir-

cumstances.

In February, 1982, a judge of the Federal Circuit grant-

ed a motion filed by the Department of Transportation

to suspend all processing of appeals filed by air traffic

controllers, in order to pursue a “lead case” approach by

which that judge expected the Federai Circuit to be able

“to determine most, or perhaps all of the legal issues in

the air traffic controller litigation.’””

Although this order was to have a profound impact on

all of the controller-litigants, the motion was filed and

the decision made in the complete absence of notice of

those who would be affected. The judge’s notice, which 1

announced a “lead case” approach on behalf of the entire

Federal Circuit, was issued in connection with a motion

raised in three cases.° No other controller-appellants, none

of these petitioners were afforded any opportunity to re-

spond to the government’s motion.

At the time the lead case procedure was adopted, most

of the MSPB cases which would make up the eleven lead

*See also, 28 U.S.C. 1295 (a) (9).

5In re Air Traffic Controller Litigation (Fed. Cir., Feb-

ruary 24, 1983) at 2.

* Ferrando v. Department of Transportation, No. 83-687

(Fed. Cir. 1983); Erickson v. Department of Tramnsporta-

tion, No. 83-688 (Fed. Cir. 1983); Zullo v. Department of

Transportation, No. 83-689 (Fed. Cir. 1983).

on Fee

cases had not yet even been selected or decided by the

MSPB itself. Moreover, under applicable law, generally

employees but not Federal agencies have the right to

appeal to the Federal Circuit.’ Hence the judge respon-

sible for adopting the lead case approach must have as-

sumed, two to three months before the MSPB decided

several of these cases, that the agency would win, that

judicial review wonid be sought, that the cases would

present issues common to the other litigants, that the se-

lected cases would be typical and the representation

adequate.

If these assumptions were wrong, these petitioners

were helpless to challenge them. From February, 1983,

to January, 1985, all controller cases, other than those

selected® as the lead cases, were frozen.

After the MSPB decided all! of the lead cases, the Fed-

eral Circuit implemented the prior issue preclusion order

by designating five judges to serve on a panel to decide

the lead cases. Although non-lead case controllers were

permitted to file briefs as amici curiae, they were limited

to the issues formed by those having lead case status and

by the records of these cases.’

"The single exception to the non-appealability of

MSPB cases in which the agency action is reversed is in

regulation-impact cases brought by the Office of Person-

nel Management, 5 U.S.C. 7703 (d).

® No explanation was ever given as to what method the

Court employed in designating a case as a lead case.

*Several of the Federal Circuit’s lead case decisions,

notably Adams v. Department of Transportation, 735 F

2d 488 (Fed. Cir., 1984), summarily rejected arguments

from amici which were based upon record evidence ad-

duced in hearings other than the selected lead cases.

==

In May, 1984, when the five judge panel issued its deci-

sions in the eleven lead cases, all in favor of the agency,

it served notice on the other controller-appellants that

their cases would continue in a suspension status pending

the final disposition by the Supreme Court, or the time

for doing so had lapsed.*® The notice also warned

attorneys representing controllers against maintaining

frivolous appeals.

Some of the lead case appellants subsequently filed

petitions for certiorari, which were denied by this Court.

Final disposition of what were characterized as the con-

troller lead cases was determined in December, 1984.

2. APPLICATION OF ISSUE PRECLUSION —

SPECIAL RULES FOR CONTROLLER-APPELLANTS.

The Federal Circuit, apparently convinced it had

effectively decided most, if not all of the issues in the con-

troller litigation, albeit in the total absence of any input

on that question from the non-lead case controller-appel-

lants, proceeded in the aftermath of the lead case dispo-

sitions with an issue preclusion format.

In December, 1984, the Federal Circuit announced that

the suspension affecting over 99% of the controller ap-

peals would be lifted on January 10, 1985. However, those

wishing to proceed were required to file a second petition

for review. If a second petition were not filed, the notice

provided, the appeal would be dismissed. The attorneys

for the controllers were again warned not to pursue

frivolous appeals.”

10Notice to Counsel and Petitioners in ATC litigation,

(Fed. Cir. May 18, 1984).

41 Notice to counsel in ATC litigation (Fed. Cir. Decem-

ber 10, 1984).

ee. ee

In other post-lead case orders, the Federal Circuit

simply abandoned the statutory requirements for deciding

appeals brought pursuant to 5 U.S.C. Section 7703.

For example, Section 7703 (c) requires the Federal

Circuit to “review the record” in employee-appeals from

the MSPB. In the case of every Section 7703 appellant —

other than those among the controller class of 1981 — the

Clerk of the Federal Circuit receives from the Secretary

of the MSPB, a certified copy of the record before the

Board.

In these cases, the MSPB was advised not to certify

or submit these records to the Court.

Next, the Court decided to abandon its own rules re-

garding the random assignment of rotating panels of

judges,’ and the requirements of statute,"* by consciously

assigning the two identical panels which had participated

in the lead cases to decide the controller cases, to the ex-

clusion of all other judges of the Circuit.

The first ninety-nine controller cases decided after the

lead case disposition were all assigned to one of two iden-

tical three judge panels. With a few cxceptions, all of

these cases were decided on an issue preclusion format,

with short, identically worded form decisions, completely

devoid of adjudicative reasoning, with the sole justifica-

tion for the result being some unexplained reference to

one or more of the lead cases.

Apparently in August, 1985, in vet another policy deci-

sion not announced to the litigants affected thereby, the

Federal Circuit decided to prohibit oral argument in the

2 C.A.F.C. Rule 3(b) (1984).

8 28 U.S.C. 46(b).

eee

remaining controller cases. Although no oral arguments

were scheduled on any controller cases between August,

1985 and March, 1986, the policy to abandon the require-

ments of F.R.A.P. 34 (a) did not come to light until Janu-

ary, 1986, when the Clerk of the Federal Circuit disclosed

the policy to one of the controller’s attorneys.”

A motion filed with the Court by the same attorney,

asking the Court to comply with the applicable statutes

and appellate rules governing assignment of panels and

the procedures for declining oral argument, was denied

by the Federal Circuit, in banc, on the ground the harm

to the movant had not yet occurred.*

In spite of the denial of the motion to gain compliance,

the Federal Circuit did make adjustments to both the

assignment and oral reply procedures applied to these

controllers.

As to the oral reply procedures, the Clerk of the Fed-

eral Circuit issued a notice to the remaining controller-

appellants, including these petitioners, to present reasons

why oral argument would be necessary. Pursuant to

F.R.A.P. 34, such a notice is given only after an existing

panel of three judges, after reviewing the record and

briefs, has unanimously voted that oral argument is un-

necessary. At the time the Clerk issued the notices in the

cases of these petitioners, none of the cases had even been

assigned to a panel, and some of the cases were not even

fully briefed.

In light of this, the petitioners’ attorney wrote a letter

to the Clerk of the Federal Circuit, which requested a copy

%* Complaint of Attorney Richard Leighton to the Judi-

cial Conference of the United States, February 25, 1986.

**Order of February 7, 1986, denying Attorney Leigh-

ton’s Motion to gain Court compliance with its own rules.

ae ae

of the Court’s order which led to his notice on the oral

argument issue. The Clerk responded, in the pertinent

part, that he was “unable to comply with (the) request

to provide a copy of a court order regarding the request

for oral argument because there is no such court order.’

After this disclosure was added to the matters vrought

to the attention of the Judicial Conference, the Clerk sent

an unsolicited letter amending that statement. In the sec-

ond letter, the Clerk explained that the Rule 34 Notice

was actually sent on the verbal order of the entire court.

On March 24, 1986, the Federal Circuit also modified

its practice regarding the assignment of panels to the re-

maining controller cases. The number of panels was in-

creased to more closely simulate ordinary rotation. How-

ever, the cases were not assigned on a blind rotation basis.

In the context of the issue preclusion format, the

changes involved more form than substance. Within about

a month after assignment of the controller appeals to the

new panels, the Court issued a volume of almost identi-

cally worded, form decisions which were, with few excep-

tions, completely devoid of any discussion of the legal

and factual issues raised. As evident from the decisions

in Appendix 1 infra, all of petitioners cases herein were

treated under the issue preclusion forinat. In some cases,

the wording in the form decisions issued by different

panels was identical. In most others, it was nearly

identical.

In sum, the appeals of these petitioners were rejected

based upon the record of other litigants and arguments

considered in the light of the other records.

1® Attachment to Complaint of Phillip S. Wood to Judi-

cial Conference of the United States, March 17, 1986.

ecg ace

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

THE DECISIONS BELOW SO FAR DEPART FROM

THE REQUISITES FOR FAIR ADJUDICATION, AS

DEFINED BY STATUTE, RULE AND THE PRIOR

DECISIONS OF THIS COURT AS TO CALL FOR AN

EXERCISE OF THIS COURT’S SUPERVISORY

POWERS AND GUIDANCE.

INTRODUCTION

In setting forth a chronology of facts which give rise

to the petitioners complaint that they were subjected to

fundamentally defective procedures below, the petitioners

do not wish to imply a belief that they were the object of

sinister conspiracy. However, errors in an adjudicative

process can be just as real and prejudicial even if moti-

vated out of legitimate attempts to maintain efficiency or

judicial economy in the face of a burdensome case load.

A. The process below was fundamentally defective.

Each of the petitioners had an appeal as of right to

the Federal Circuit, 5 U.S.C. 7703. Like any other appel-

lant seeking review of an MSPB decision, each of them

had a right to have their own individual record reviewed

on a substantial evidence standard, to have the Court

apply the applicable statutes, regulations and case law

to the facts in the record and to have the Court rule on

the legal sufficiency of the procedures eniployed to ter-

minate their careers.

It is obvious from the facts set forth supra, and the

form of the decisions reproduced in the Appendix, that

these basic statutory rights to a fair process of judicial

review were effectively denied, or sacrificed in favor of an

issue preclusive, lead case method of adjudication.

a eT

oe

This Court has, of course, recognized that in some liti-

gation situations a proper application of issue preclusion

may serve the interests of conserving judicial resources

without denying the affected litigants a full and fair op-

portunity to litigate their cases. E.g. Blonder-Tongue

Laboratories, Inc. v. University of Illinois Found, 402

U.S. 313 (1971); Parklane Hosiery Co. v. Shore, 439 U.S.

322 (1979); Montana v. United States, 440 U.S. 147

(1979).

The anomaly of the controller litigation is that a form

of issue preclusion was initially sought by an attorney

for some of the controllers in a motion for national con-

solidation filed in 1981. Trick v. Department of Transpor-

tation, MSPB No. HQ 075281F1113 (1981). As tempting

as that suggestion must have been to the MSPB, which

faced an unprecedented case load due to the controller

appeals, the Board, unlike the Court below, recognized

the necessity of issuing notice to all of the appellants who

could have been affected and of providing these litigants

an opportunity to respond (id.). After reviewing these

responses the MSPB denied the motion, noting there was

a dissimilarity in factual defenses, issues and even pro-

cedures applied among the various FAA facilities. Ade-

quacy of representation was also a factor, as was the

inability to select a case or cases typical of cthers.

Certainly, where it is deemed inappropriate to try cases

under an issue preclusion format, the reasons which

prompted rejection of the doctrine in the first instance

take on even greater force in the appellate review of cases

separately litigated, with different evidentiary records.

Even ignoring, however, the basic inappropriateness

of the issue preclusion device to the Federal Circuit’s

review, the process by which a single judge, on behalf

—12— f

of the Court, adopted the lead case format must, at a mini-

mum, be characterized as repugnant to fair adjudication.

First, it is unquestionable that the government’s motion

for the Court to adopt the lead case procedure should have

been served on all of the controller-appeliants whose

rights were potentially affected. Clearly, prior to granting

such a motion, the Circuit Judge should have afforded

those appellants whose cases were to be frozen, and rights

truncated, some opportunity to respond. Fundamental due

process required at least that much.

Second, some caution should have been exercised in the

selection of the lead eases to avoid use of atypical or

poorly litigated cases as a preclusion to others where

the facts and issues were, perhaps, better developed. In

the instant case the Court apparently allowed the govern-

ment the right to select the cases which would receive

the lead case treatment to the exclusion of the others.

This is no frivolous concern, particularly in cases

where, as here, there is a complete lack of mutuality

among the affected parties. One of the primary misgiv-

ings expressed by Professor Currie concerning the trend

toward abandonment of mutuality in issue preclusion

eases is the possibility that a litigant’s opponent may

obtain unfair advantage by assuming the initiative on a

threshold issue such as the designation of a lead case.

See Currie, Civil Procedure, The Tempest Brews, 53 Calif.

L. Rev. 25, 27 (1965) :

. .. to jettison the mutuality rule without some sav-

ing provision might lead to * * * injustice in those

cases in which, by reason of his opponent’s astute

employment of the initiative, the party against whom

the former judgment is invoked did not, in the former

action have, in a realistic sense, a full and fair oppor-

tunity to defend.

|

To illustrate the decisive nature of the process of selec-

tion of a “lead case” to the cases of these petitioners, we

briefly summarize the relevant facts in some of the peti-

tioners’ records, and compare with the facts of the “iead”

case which issue precluded petitioners’ cases, according

to the Federal Circuit’s decisions.

For example, petitioner Richard DeLutri asserted a

legal excuse for his absence from duty, in that he was

incapacitated due to a spinal problem later diagnosed as

an intrameduliary spinal cord tumor. At his hearing, his

incapacity was corroborated by his treating physician,

his wife, four other witnesses and his supervisor. All of

the agency witnesses confirmed that the prescription medi-

cation he was ingesting would, of itself, have incapaci-

tated him from duty. He introduced corroborating medical

documents and even the full report of a polygraph exami-

nation which he took, and passed, and which confirmed

his absence was not due to strike participation. His re-

port of his condition to his employer was according to

the facility practice and policy, as the ageney chief con-

firmed. His supervisor even corroborated Mr. DeLutri’s

additional effort to reach the supervisor at his home.

This evidence was not only uncontraverted by the agency,

the agency witnesses substantially corroborated it. The

only agency evidence introduced against Mr. DeLutri was

anonymous hearsay, i.e. agency attendance records which

showed that some unidentified agency official marked Mr.

DeLutri absent without leave. In the course of the hear-

ing even the hearsay was discredited, as the agency ad-

mitted it had been altered long after the dates in question.

Mr. DeLutri’s case was issue precluded by the lead case

Triola v. Department of Transportation, 769 F 2d 760

ee ee

(1985).27 Aside from the category of the substantive de-

fenses, incapacity, the two cases were not analogous in

‘any way.

The Triola appellant appeared pro se. He claimed he

was ill or suffering allergy on the relevant dates, but

admitted making no attempt to report his incapacity to

the agency. He neither sought nor received medical treat-

ment. He presented no corroborative evidence of any

- kind.

Even ignoring the lack of substantial identity of the

facts and the other infirmities in the post hoc adoption of

the lead case format, it appears absurd to select the case

of an unrepresented appellant who had presented, at best,

an undeveloped record and, at worst, a frivolous case, for

purpose of issue preclusion.

The Triola case was also cited by the Federal Circuit

to issue preclude the cases of petitioners Patrick Lydon

and Thomas Toepfer.

Mr. Lydon’s wife had prematurely given birth to a baby

boy on July 31, 1981, three days before the PATCO strike.

The petitioner’s son was born with a total weight of one

and a half pounds and was given only a 20% chance of

‘survival. Mr. Lydon immediately reported the family

emergency to his supervisor, who granted and recorded

emergency annual leave for the duration of the crisis.

Over the next several weeks, while the strike was going

* The Triola case was not even one of the eleven cases

selected for lead case treatment before the 5 judge panel.

It was heard by an ordinary 3-judge panel. The petitioner

appeared pro se and the decision rendered in July, 1985.

‘ Six months later the case was elevated to the lead case

status by notice of the Clerk on February 7, 1986. This

was purely an afterthought, probably due to the fact that

none of the 11 lead cases involved incapacity.

ie.

on, Mr. Lydon was keeping a constant vigil at his baby

son’s room at a hospital, a period of time in which the

Lydon boy had, on four occasions, stopped breathing. A

few days after the PATCO strike began, and in the midst

of this crisis, an agency official whose identity has never

been revealed, marked Mr. Lydon absent without leave

and he was fired.

Mr. Toepfer underwent major surgery for a prostrate

problem in late July, 1981. He was on approved sick

leave during his post-operative recovery for the entire

month of August, 1981. In an effort to return to work

to assist an agency which needed his services, he asked

his doctor to allow him to return on September 7, 1981,

and he so notified the agency. When he drove to work on

the return date he became weak and discovered he was

bleeding from his penis. When he discussed the situation,

by phone, with his facility area manager, the manager

angrily told him tiat his failure to report would be con-

strued as striking. That threat was carried out and Mr.

Toepfer, a man who had three times crossed the picket

line to personally advise the agency of his situation, was

fired.

B. The improper denial of oral argument was prej-

udicial.

The curtailment of important litigation rights, without

adherence to the Court’s own rules, is significant in any

case. The abandonment of the F.R.A.P. 34 (a) procedures

in the context of these cases was particularly prejudicial.

Given the fact that these petitioners had already been

denied any notice or opportunity to be heard on the gov-

ernment’s motion and the Court’s adoption of the issue

preciusion format, the oral argument procedure could

have served an even greater role in the adjudicative pro-

—_—

cess than its usual function in sharpening the issues and

encouraging dialogue on decisive facts or points of law.

While denial of oral argument may be committed to

the sound discretion of a panel, which, under Rule 34 (a),

may by unanimous vote abrogate the right, the discretion

of a Cireuit panel is not the issue before this Court. In-

stead, as the facts and record show, supra, the denial of

the oral argument involved herein was accomplished in

the abstract, prior to the assignment of the case to a

3 judge panel.

This flagrant abandonment of Rule 34 (a) procedures,

and the consequent loss of important rights should, of

itself, justify invocation of this Court’s supervisory

powers.

O. The Federal Circuit’s decisions in the petitioners’

cases are impermissibly devoid of adjudicative reasoning.

As apparent from the decisions reproduced in the ap-

pendix, the lower court, consistent with its issue prec!u-

sion format, found it unnecessary to address specific facts

and issues or to otherwise state the reasons for its judg-

ment other than by way of a vague and unexplained refer-

ence to one or more of the lead cases.

It is impossible to determine whether the Federal Cir-

cuit fulfilled the statutory mandate of reviewing the rec-

ord and determining the presence or absence of substan-

tial evidence.

The form decisions involved here also cannot be dis-

tinguished from the decisions of the same ilk which were

issued by other panels in the controller cases. In some

instances the decisions contain identical wording, even

though two supposedly different 3 judge panels decided

them.

x oe

Although this Court has, in some contexts, expressed

reluctance to carve out an inflexible rule on the precise

degree of judicial reasoning it will consider sufficient, it

has not hesitated to remand cases in which the analysis

is so lacking as to require the Court to speculate as to

the specific basis underlying the opinion, See, e.g. Denni-

son Manufacturing Co. v. Panduit Corp., No. 85-1150 (S.

Ct. April 21, 1986) —— U.S. —— (1986).

CONCLUSION

II.

For the foregoing reasons, it is respectfully requested

that this petition for certiorari be granted.

_ Respectfully submitted,

Puiture S. Woop

Pasxky Anp Woop

220 E. Galena Blvd.

P.O. Box 2729

Aurora, IL 60507

312/844-2560

Gary Erxan Kier

1725 K. Street N.W.

Suite 302

Washington, D.C.

202/296-1120

Attorneys for Petitioners

INDEX TO APPENDIX

DESCRIPTION Page

I. OPINIONS OF THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT:

(a) David Anderson et al. (consolidation includes

Dai el C. Staffin, Richard S. Andrew, Tim-

othy P. Clouser, John W. Gorman, Michael

C. Lacy, Jack B. Skaul, Dennis P. O’Bremski,

Donald O’Grady and Anna Lissak) No. 85-

Es Te i ED hc ticcscienenniea initia la

(b) Richard J. Brandis and John W. Holic, No.

SS-25LG (ADEE 26, TRG) ...ccscnssesscesecdeacsssvessserenee 3a

Order on petition for réhearing (May 16,

1986) sindipsidanabedaNadiakdiakialecnnsteadiliitelidamadbatedescnen 4a

(c) James F. Burgard, No. 85-2815 (April 17,

Pe addeassiciateilpaihasictsccdaspisiate ashe sabinsdtcaddighilpieitiidiane oa

(d) Brenda Conroy No. 85-1061 (Aprii 14, 1986) .. 6a

(e) Richard DeLutri, No. 85-1063 (April 11,

SUN Seassiduuantadacessuiicsloseantathavatadcaichcchanideslinelidatiyeiniess 8a

Order on petition for rehearing (May 16,

STUe ;- (= sanssblbdacocedieraiusachsapnacialadicts saiasdaasabiaadaleieiel 9a

(f) Jeffery R. Ellis (Consolidation includes Ken-

neth Popowitch and Donald Schuemann) No.

Se CRE BG, TE cxcvctinicevscesiacimrionnssain 10a

Order on petition for rehearing (May 27,

SED atin scaiaeAinisacesGudanatiemanamlaimiain lla

(g) Patrick Lydon, No. 85-2817 (April 14, 1986) .. 12a

Order on petition for rehearing (May 16,

ET <_ snscthciinndicessbiciaiaarmiaiaialinamadacten 13a

(h) Betty J. Murphy, No. 85-1066 (April 23,

NITE: :sussainolasonasepsabiittaiinscb ianmvidammnabsemaetabiaaaiaintadmn 14a

Order on petition for rehearing (June 23,

ZEEE | :aniisscasaneneesnsenmeiaianteenanmeaialaas 15a

(2)

(3)

(k)

ii

Peter J. Piorkowski, No. 85-2819 (April 14,

DUP -<pemetiin cet ceva hvoics-c cinnekissnioe tusssecaunabeibivenatelcaeecsbih 16a

Darryl Romashko, No. 85-1065 (April 23,

DIENT fis ck hese coslinncladacnicnbealbacts taeda cnulaakepanusedioks 17a

Order on petition for rehearing (May 21,

IE nssxssnieenidigneetiaepiauepiceteetaaauiacaeallonaibtenieiaies 19a

Thomas A. Toepfer, No. 85-2822 (April 11,

UNITE |- ccbsisiacaicilissh dee seiedi dea-auinscoduinibnancaiaealaibelanabbcaiteessiitcas 20a

Order on petition for rehearing (May 16,

SR: Seeepsianiais esdlalsirnaceetaNl dacsiipinaigureiletaindaninkeia yin vans 2la

Il. FINAL DECISIONS OF THE MSPB:

(a)

(b)

(c)

Richard S. Andrew et al. (Consolidation)

MSPB CH075281F0890 (November 28, 1983) 22a

Richard J. Brandis, Behensky et al. (con-

solidation) MSPB CH075281F0979 and MS

PB CH075281F 1066 (July 5, 1985) ou. 30a

Richard J. DeLutri, MSPB CH075281F1377

CS lg: MED. ciindanderveivhiexinedcesacecdugldassigennandiess 4la

— ja —

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

DAVID ANDERSON, et al.,*

Petitioners,

v.

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, FAA,

Respondent.

Appeal No. 85-1067

MSPB Docket No. CH075281F0873

DECIDED: April 25, 1986

Before BALDWIN, NIES, and ARCHER, Circut Judges.

PER CURIAM.

DECISION

The decisions of the Merit Systems Protection Board,

affirming the petitioners’ removal by the Federal Aviation

Administration, Department of Transportation, are af-

firmed.

* The following petitioners are included in this appeal:

Daniel C. Staffin, MSPB Docket No. CH075281F3008;

Richard S. Andrews, MSPB Docket No. CH075281F0890;

Timothy P. Clouser, MSPB Docket No. CH075281F 1243;

John W. Gorman, MSPB Docket No. CH075281F1670;

Michael C. Lacy, MSPB Docket No. CH075281F2140; Jack

B. Shaul, MSPB Docket No. CH075281F2928; Dennis P.

Obremski, MSPB Docket No. CH075281F2545; Donal

O’Grady, MSPB Docket No. CH075281F2538; Anna Lis-

sak, MSPB Docket No. CH075281F2223.

wcll

OPINION

Notwithstanding the request of counsel for oral argu-

ment, we have determined on the basis of the request

and the briefs that oral argument will not be necessary

because the dispositive issue or set of issues has been

authoritatively decided, the facts and legal argument are

adequately presented in the briefs and record, and the

decisional process would not be aided by oral argument.

Fed. R. App. P. 34(a).

This appeal raises no issue not resolved in, and pre-

sents no fact pattern which differs significantly from that

in Johnson v. Department of Transportation, FAA, 735

F.2d 510 (Fed. Cir. 1984); see also Adams v. Department

of Transportation, FAA, 735 F.2d 488 (Fed. Cir.), cert.

denied, 105 S. Ct. 432 (1984), and Anderson v. Department -

of Transportation, FAA, 735 F.2d 537 (Fed. Cir.), cert.

denied, 105 S. Ct. 482 (1984). Petitioners have not re-

butted the prima facie showing of strike participation

made by the agency, Schapansky v. Department of Trans-

portation, FAA, 735 F.2d 477 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 105

S. Ct. 482 (1984), and have not shown any harmful pro-

cedural errors, Handy v. U.S. Postal Service, 754 F.2d

335 (Fed. Cir. 1985).

The decisions appealed from were not arbitrary, capri-

cious, an abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in accor-

dance with law, were not obtained without procedures -

required by law, rule, or regulation having been followed,

and were supported by substantial evidence. 5 U.S.C.

§7703(¢c) (1982); see Hayes v. Department of the Navy,

727 F.2d 1535, 1537 (Fed. Cir. 1984).

This appeal is frivolous. Counsel has failed to dis-

tinguish the precedents of this Court in any meaningful

way. Damages and costs of $100.00 are assessed in favor

of the government against counsel, to be paid within 30

days of the date of this opinion. Fed. R. App. P. 38.

— on

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

RICHARD J. BRANDIS, ET AL.,

Petitioners,

v.

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, FAA,

Respondent.

Appeal No. 85-2813.

MSPB Decision Nos. CH075281F1066

and CH075281F 1866.

DECIDED: April 14, 1986

Before BALDWIN, NIES, and ARCHER, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM.

DECISION

The decisions of the Merit Systems Protection Board,

affirming petitioners’ removal by the Federal Aviation

Administration, Department of Transportation, are af-

firmed.

OPINION

Notwithstanding the request of counsel for oral ar,~

ment, we have determined on the basis of the request and

the briefs that oral argument will not be necessary be-

cause the dispositive issue or set of issues has been au-

thoritatively decided, the facts and legal argument are

adequately presented in the briefs and record, and the

decisional process would not be aided by oral argument.

Fed. R. App. P. 34(a).

This appeal raises no issue not resolved in, and pre-

sents no fact pattern which differs significantly from that

in Anderson v. Department of Transportation, FAA, 735

aiandielicaams

F.2d 537 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 105 S. Ct. 432 (1984) ;

and Adams v. Department of Transportation, FAA, 735

F.2d 488 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 105 S. Ct. 432 (1984).

The decision appealed from was not arbitrary, capri-

cious, an abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in accor-

dance with law, was not obtained without procedures re-

quired by law, rule, or regulation having been followed,

and was supported by substantial evidence. 5 U.S.C.

§ 7703(c) (1982); see Hayes v. Department of the Navy,

727 F.2d 1535, 1537 (Fed. Cir. 1984).

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

RICHARD J. BRANDIS, ET AL.,

Petitioners,

v.

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, FAA,

Respondent.

Appeal No. 85-2813

MSPB Decision Nos. CH075281F1066

and CH075281 F 1866.

Before BALDWIN, NIES, and ARCHER, Circwit Judges.

ORDER

A petition for rehearing having been filed in this case,

UPON CONSIDERATION THEREOF, it is

ORDERED that the petition for rehearing be, and the

same hereby is, denied.

FOR THE COURT

/s/ Francis X. Gindhart

Francis X. Gindhart, Clerk

5/16/86

Date

ec: Mr. Phillip S. Wood

Ms. Hillary A. Stern, DOJ

—

Unrrep States Court or APPEALS

FOR THE F'epeERAL Crrcurt

James F’. Burcarp,

Petitioner,

¥;

DeparRTMENT Or Transportation, FAA,

Respondent.

Appeal No. 85-2815

MSPB Decision

No. CH075281F1131

Decipep: Aprit 14, 1986

Before Batpwin, Nigs, and Arcuer, Circuit Judges.

Per Curiam.

DECISION

The decision of the Merit Systems Protection Board,

affirming petitioner’s removal by the Federal Aviation

Administration, Department of Transportation, is

affirmed.

OPINION

Notwithstanding the request of counsel for oral argu-

ment, we have determined on the basis of the request and

the briefs that oral argument will not be necessary be-

cause the dispositive issue or set of issues has been

authoritatively decided, the facts and legal argument are

adequately presented in the briefs and record, and the

decisional process would not be aided by oral argument.

Fed. R. App. P. 34(a).

This appeal raises no issue not resolved in, and pre-

sents no fact pattern which differs significantly from that

in Anderson v. Department of Transportation, FAA, 735

F.2d 537 (Fed. Cir.), cert. dened, 105 S. Ct. 482 (1984);

pee ee

and Schapansky v. Department of Transportation, FAA,

735 F.2d 477 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 105 S. Ct. 432

(1984).

The decision appealed from was not arbitrary, caprici-

ous, an abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in accordance

with law, was not obtained without procedures required

by law, rule or regulation having been followed, and was

supported by substantial evidence. 5 U.S.C. § 7703(c)

(1982); see Hayes v. Department of the Navy, 727 F.2d

1535, 1537 (Fed. Cir. 1984).

Unitep States Court or APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL Crrcuit

Brenpa L. Conroy,

Petitioner,

Vv.

DEPARTMENT Or TRANSPoRTATION, FAA,

Respondent.

Appeal No. 85-1061

MSPB Docket No. CH075281F1273

Decipep: Aprit 14, 1986

Before BaLtpwin, Nies, and Arcuer, Circuit Judges.

Per Curiam.

DECISION

The decision of the Merit Systems Protection Board,

affirming the petitioner’s removal by the Federal Aviation

Administration, Department of Transportation, is

affirmed.

—

OPINION

Notwithstanding the request of counsel for oral argu-

ment, we have determined on the basis of the request and

the briefs that oral argument will not be necessary be-

cause the dispositive issues have been authoritatively de-

cided, the facts and legal argument are adequately pre-

sented in the briefs and record, and the decisional process

would not be aided by oral argument. Fed. R. App. P.

34(a).

The agency established its prima facie case by present-

ing evidence that Conroy did not report to work on August

3 and 4 and for her deadline shift starting at 11:00 PM

on August 5, 1981. See Schapansky v. Department of

Transportation, FAA, 735 F.2d 477 (Fed. Cir.), cert.

denied, 105 S. Ct. 432 (1984). For two reasons, we re‘ect

Conroy’s argument that she overcame the agency’s ; ma

facie case by showing that the deciding official issued Uon-

roy’s letter prior to her deadline shift. First, under

Anderson v. Department of Transportation, FAA, 735

F.2d 537 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 105 S. Ct. 482 (1984),

Conroy’s admitted strike participation even on one day

is enough to sustain her removal. Second, because Conroy

offered no evidence that she knew, before her deadline

shift, that her notice of removal had been issued or that

the agency prevented her from reporting to work, she has

not carried her burden to show that the asserted pro-

cedural error was harmful. See Handy v. U.S. Postal Ser-

vice, 754 F.2d 335 (Fed. Cir. 1985).

The decision appealed from was not arbitrary, caprici-

ous, an abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in accordance

with law, was not obtained without procedures required

by law, rule, or regulation having been followed, and was

supported by substantial evidence. 5 U.S.C. § 7703(c)

(1982); see Hayes v. Department of the Navy, 727 F.2d

1535, 1537 (Fed. Cir. 1984).*

* Conroy’s motion to remand for consideration of newly

discovered evidence of fraud in the agency records is in-

adequately supported and is denied.

— yo

Unitep States Court or APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

Ricnarp Devutri,

Petitioner,

¥

DeparTMENT Or Transportation, FAA,

Respondent.

Appeal No. 85-1063

MSPB Docket No. CH075281F1377

Decipep: Aprit 11, 1986

Before BaLtpwin, Nies, and ArcHer, Circuit Judges.

Per Curiam.

DECISION

The decision of the Merit Systems Protection Board,

affirming the petitioner’s removal by the Federal Aviation

Administration, Department of Transportation, is

affirmed.

OPINTON

Notwithstanding the request of counsel for oral argu-

ment, we have determined on the basis of the request and

the briefs that oral argument will not be necessary be-

cause the dispositive issue or set of issues has been

authoritatively decided, the facts and legal argument are

adequately presented in ihe briefs and record, and the

decisional process would not be aided by oral argument.

Fed. R. App. P. 34(a).

This appeal raises no issue not resolved in, and pre-

sents no fact pattern which differs significantly from that

in Triola v. Department of Transportation, FAA, 769 ¥.2d

760 (Fed. Cir. 1985).

ee

The decision appealed from was not arbitrary, caprici-

ous, an abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in accordance

with law, was not obtained without procedures required

by law, rule, or regulation having been followed, and was

supported by substantial evidence. 5 U.S.C. § 7703(c)

(1982); see Hayes v. Department of the Navy, 727 F.2d

1535, 1537 (Fed. Cir. 1984).

This appeal is frivolous. Counsel has failed to distin-

guish the precedents of this Court in any meaningful way.

Damages and costs of $500.00 are assessed in favor of the

government against counsel, to be paid within 30 days of

the date of this opinion. Fed. R. App. P. 28.

Unitep States Court or APPEALS

FOR THE Frperar, Crrevit

Ricnarp Detutrt,

Petitioner,

Vv.

DepaRTMENT Or Transportation, FAA,

Respondent.

Appeal No. 85-1063

MSPB Docket No. CH075281F1377

Before Batowryn, Nres, and Arcner, Circuit Judges.

ORDER

A petition for rehearing having been filed in this case,

UPON CONSIDERATION THEREOF, it is

ORDERED that the petition for rehearing be, and the

same hereby is, denied. !

The suggestion for rehearing in banc is under consid-

eration.

FOR THE COURT

/s/ Franeis X. Gindhart

Francis X. Gindhart, Clerk

5/16/86

ec: Mr. Phillip S. Wood

Ms. Sandra P. Spooner, DOJ

— 10a —

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

JEFFREY R. ELLIS, ET AL,

Petitioners,

v.

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, FAA,

Respondent.

Appeal No. 85-2816.

MSPB Decision No. CH075281F 1465.

DECIDED: April 14, 1986

Before BALDWIN, NIES, and ARCHER, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM.

DECISION

The decisions of the Merit Systems Protection Board,

affirming petitioners’ removal by the Federal Aviation

Administration, Department of Transportation, are af-

firmed.

OPINION

Notwithstanding the request of counsel for oral argu-

ment, we have determined on the basis of the request and

the briefs that oral argument will not be necessary be-

cause the dispositive issue or set of issues has been au-

thoritatively decided, the facts and legal argument are |

adequately presented in the briefs and record, and the

decisional process would not he aided by oral argument.

Fed. R. App. P. 34(a).

Petitioners’ arguments are adequately treated in the

presiding official’s opinion dated January 18, 1983. We

affirm on the basis of that opinion.

—Iila—

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

JEFFREY R. ELLIS, ET AL.,

Petitioners,

v.

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, FAA,

Respondent.

Appeal No. 85-2816.

MSPB Docket No. CH075281F 1465.

Before RICH and DAVIS, Circuit Judges, and COWEN,

Senior Circut Judge.

ORDER

A petition for rehearing having been filed in this case,

UPON CONSIDERATION THEREOF, it is

ORDERED that the petition for rehearing be, and the

same hereby is, denied.

FOR THE COURT

/s/ Francis X. Gindhart

Francis X. Gindhart, Clerk

5/27/86

Date

ec: Mr. Phillip S. Wood

Ms. Hillary A. Stern, DOJ

ow 196 u.~

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

PATRICK LYDON,

Petitioner,

Vv.

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, FAA,

Respondent.

Appeal No. 85-2817.

MSPB Decision No. CH075281F2258.

DECIDED: April 14, 1986

Before BALDWIN, NIES, and ARCHER, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM.

DECISION

The decision of the Merit Systems Protection Board,

affirming petitioner’s removal by the Federal Aviation

Administration, Department of Transportation is affirmed.

OPINION

Notwithstanding the request of counsel for oral argu-

ment, we have determined on the basis of the request and

the briefs that oral argument will not be necessary be-

cause the dispositive issue or set of issues has been au-

thoritatively decided, the facts and legal argument are

adequately presented in the briefs and record, and the

decisional process would not be aided by oral argument.

Fed. R. App. P. 34(a).

This appeal raises no issue not resolved in, and pre-

sents no fact pattern which differs significantly from that

in Triola v. Department of Transportation, FAA, 769 F.2d

760 (Fed. Cir. 1985); Anderson v. Department of Trans-

portation, FAA, 735 F.2d 537 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 105

— 13a —

S. Ct. 432 (1984); and Schapansky v. Department of

Transportation, FAA, 735 F.2d 477 (Fed. Cir.), cert. Je-

nied, 105 S. Ct. 482 (1984).

The decision appealed from was not arbitrary, capri-

cious, an abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in accor-

dance with law, was not obtained without procedures re-

quired by law, rule, or regulation having been followed,

and was supported by substantial evidence. 5 U.S.C.

§ 7703(c) (1982); see Hayes v. Department of the Navy,

727 F.2d 1535, 1537 (Fed. Cir. 1984).

Unitep States Court or APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

Patrick Lypon,

Petitioner,

v.

DEPARTMENT Or Transportation, FAA,

Respondent.

Appeal No. 85-2817

MSPB Decision No. CH075281F2258

Before Batpwriy, Nigs, and Arcuer, Circuit Judges.

ORDER

A petition for rehearing having been filed in this case,

UPON CONSIDERATION THEREOF, it is

ORDERED that the petition for rehearing be, and the

same hereby is, denied.

FOR THE COURT

/s/ Francis X. Gindhart

Francis X. Gindhart, Clerk

5/16/86

Date

ec: Mr. Phillip S. Wood

Ms. Eva M. Plaza, DOJ

— 14a —

Unitep States Court or APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

Berry J. Murpuy,

Petitioner,

v.

DepartTMeNT Or Transportation, FAA,

Respondent.

Appeal No. 85-1066

MSPB Docket No. CH075281F2465

Decipep: Apri. 23, 1986

Before Baupwin, Nirs, and Arcuer, Circuit Judges.

Per CuriAM.

DECISION

The decision of the Merit Systems Protection Board,

affirming the petitioner’s removal by the Federal Avia-

tion Administration, Department of Transportation, is

affirmed. . ,

OPINION

Notwithstanding the request of counsel for oral argu-

ment, we have determined on the basis of the request and

the briefs that oral argument will not be necessary be-

cause the dispositive issue or set of issues has been

authoritatively decided, the facts and legal argument are

adequately presented in the briefs and record, and the

decisional process would not be aided by oral argument.

Fed. R. App. P. 34(a).

We are not persuaded that the Board erred in deter-

mining that petitioner’s testimony regarding a personal

emergency and thereafter confusion about her status and

deadline shift was insufficient to rebut the prima facie case

against her, particularly in view of her failure to contact

= 15a —

the agency for emergency leave and clarification. See

Schapansky v. Department of Transportation, FAA, 735

F.2d 477 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 105 S. Ct. 482 (1984),

and Anderson v. Department of Transportation, FAA, 735

F.2d 537 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 105 S. Ct. 432 (1984).

The decision appealed from was not arbitrary, caprici-

ous, an abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in accordance

with law, was not obtained without procedures required

by law, rule, or regulation having been followed, and was

supported by substantial evidence. 5 U.S.C. $7703(c)

(1982); see Hayes v. Department of the Navy, 727 F.2d

1535, 1537 (Fed. Cir. 1984).

Unrvrep States Court or APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CrRcuItT

Betty J. Murpny,

Petitioner,

Vv.

DEPARTMENT Or Transportation, FAA,

Respondent.

Appeal No. 85-1066

MSPB Docket No. CH075281F2465

Before Batpwiy, Nies, and Arcuer, Circuit Judges.

ORDER

A petition for rehearing having been filed in this case,

UPON CONSIDERATION THEREOF, it is

ORDERED that the petition for rehearing be, and the

same hereby is, denied.

The suggestion for rehearing in banc is under consid-

eration.

FOR THE COURT

/s/ Francis X. Gindhart

Francis X. Gindhart, Clerk

6/23/86

Date

ec: Mr. Phillip S. Wood

Ms. Sandra P. Spooner, DOJ

a

Unitep States Cour? or APPEALS

FOR THE F'eperat, Circuit

Pster J. ProrkowskI,

Petitioner,

v.

DepaRtMENT Or Transportation, FAA,

Respondent.

Appeal No. 85-2819

MSPB Docket No. CH075281F2643

Decrpep: Aprit 14, 1986

Before Batpwin, Niges, and Arcuer, Circuit Judges.

Per Curiam.

DECISION

The decision of the Merit Systems Protection Board,

affirming the petitioner’s removal by the Federal Avia-

tion Administration, Department of Transportation, is

affirmed.

OPINION

Notwithstanding the request of counsel for oral argu-

ment, we have determined on the basis of the request and

the briefs that oral argument will not be necessary be-

cause the dispositive issues have been authoritatively de-

cided, the facts and legal argument are adequately pre-

sented in the briefs and record, and the decisional process

would not be aided by oral argument. Fed. R. App. P.

34(a).

Before the board, Mr. Piorkowski offered several rea-

sons why his absence without approval during the strike

should be excused. Each was rejected by the board. Mr.

Piorkowski has failed to persuade us of any error in the

board’s analysis, see Schapansky v. Department of Trans-

portation, FAA, 735 F.2d 477 (Fed. Cir.), cert. demed, 105

S. Ct. 432 (1984), or that the board’s failure to accept the

explanations for his absences was improper. See Gries-

—= =

— 17a —

senauer v. Department of Energy, 754 F.2d 361, 364 (Fed.

Cir. 1985).

We affirm on the basis of the Board’s opinion because

the board’s decision was not arbitrary, capricious, an

abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in accordance with

law, was not obtained without procedures required by law,

rule, or regulation having been followed, and was sup-

ported by substantial evidence. 5 U.S.C. §7703(c) (1982) ;

see Hayes v. Department of the Navy, 727 F.2d 1535, 1537

(Fed. Cir. 1984).

This appeal is frivolous. Counsel has failed to distin-

guish the precedents of this Court in any meaningful way,

or has presented arguments which clearly have no merit.

Damages and costs of $100.00 are assessed in favor of the

government against counsel, to be paid within 30 days of

the date of this opinion. Fed. R. App. P. 38.

Unitep States Court or APPEALS

FOR THE F'epveRar, Crrcuit

Darryt. RoMasHKo,

Petitioner,

v.

DEPARTMENT Or TRANSpoRTATION, FAA,

Respondent.

Appeal No. 85-1065

MSPB Docket No. CH075281F2786

Decipep: Aprit 23, 1986

Before Batnowrn, Nres, and ArcHer, Circuit Judges.

Per CurraM.

DECISION

The decision of the Merit Systems Protection Board,

affirming the petitioner’s removal by the Federal Avia-

tion Administration, Department of Transportation, is

affirmed.

— 18a —

OPINION

Notwithstanding the request of counsel for oral argu-

ment, we have determined on the basis of the request and

the briefs that oral argument will not be necessary be-

cause the dispositive issue or set of issues has been

authoritatively decided, the facts and legal argument are

adequately presented in the briefs and record, and the

decisional process would not be aided by oral argument.

Fed. R. App. P. 34(a).

This appeal raises no issue not resolved in, and pre-

sents no fact pattern which differs significantly from that

in Schapansky v. Department of Transportation, FAA,

735 F.2d 477 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 105 S. Ct. 482

(1984); see also Anderson v. Department of Transporta-

tion, FAA, 735 F.2d 537 (Fed. Cir.), cert. dented, 105 S.

Ct. 432 (1984), and Adams vy. Department of Transporta-

tion, FAA, 735 F.2d 488 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 105 S.

Ct. 432 (1984).

The decision appealed from was not arbitrary, caprici-

ous, an abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in accordance

with law, was not obtained without procedures required

by law, rule, or regulation having been followed, and was

supported by substantial evidence. 5 U.S.C. § 7703(c)

(1982); see Hayes v. Department of the Navy, 727 F.2d

1535, 1537 (Fed. Cir. 1984).

so ae Di SUA se ins Mahia nlis 2oe mse A Venn

ee

— 19a —

Unitep States Court or APPEALS

FOR THE F'eperRar, Circuit

DanieL RoMAsHKO,

Petitioner,

V.

DEPARTMENT Or TRansportaTIoNn, FAA,

Respondent.

Appeal No. 85-1065

MSPB Docket No. CH075281F2786

Before BaLpwiy, Nites, and Arcuer, Circuit Judges.

ORDER

A petition for rehearing having been filed in this case,

UPON CONSIDERATION THEREOF, it is

ORDERED that the petition for rehearing be, and the

same hereby is, denied.

The suggestion for rehearing im banc is under consid-

eration.

FOR THE COURT

/s/ By: Diane Frye, Chief Deputy Clerk

Francis X. Gindhart, Clerk

5/21/86

Date

ec: Mr. Phillip S. Wood

Ms. Sandra P. Spooner, DOJ

—

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

THOMAS A. TOEPFER,

Petitioner,

v.

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, FAA,

Respondent.

Appeal No. 85-2822

MSPB Docket No. CH075281F0979

DECIDED: April 11, 1986

Before BALDWIN, NIKES, and ARCHER, Circwt Judges.

PER CURIAM.

DECISION

The decision of the Merit Systems Protection Board,

affirming the petitioner’s removal by the Federal Aviation

Administration, Department of Transportation, is af-

firmed.

OPINION

Notwithstanding the request of counsel for oral argu-

ment, we have determined on the basis of the request and

the briefs that oral argument will not be necessary be-

cause the dispositive issue or set of issues has been au-

thoritatively decided, the facts and legal argument are

adequately presented in the briefs and record, and the

decisional process would not be aided by oral argument.

Fed. R. App. P. 34(a).

The agency established its prima facie case by showing

that Toepfer did not report to work for his scheduled

deadline shift on September 7, 1981. See generally Scha-

pansky v. Department of Transportation, FAA, 735 F.2d

477 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 105 S. Ct. 482 (1984). Toep-

fer’s testimony that he was physically incapacitated dur-

ing his deadline shift does not rebut the agency’s prima

facie case. See Anderson v. Department of Transporta-

tion, FAA, 735 F.2d 537 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied sub nom..,

ee ee eee

mii.

105 S. Ct. 482 (1984). We affirm on the basis of the pre-

siding official’s consideration and discussion of the evi-

dence on which Toepfer bases his defense.

The decision appealed from was not arbitrary, capri-

cious, an abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in accor-

dance with law, was not obtained without procedures re-

quired by law, rule, or regulation having been followed,

and was supported by substantial evidence. 5 U.S.C.

§ 7703(c) (1982); see Hayes v. Department of the Navy,

727 F.2d 1535, 1537 (Fed. Cir. 1984).

This appeal is frivolous. Counsel has failed to dis-

tinguish the precedents of this Court in any meaningful

way. Damages and costs of $100.00 are assessed in favor

of the government against counsel, to be paid within 30

days of the date of this opinion. Fed. R. App. P. 38.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

THOMAS A. TOEPFER,

Petitioner,

v.

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, FAA,

Respondent.

Appeal No. 85-2822

MSPB Docket No. CH075281F0979

Before BALDWIN, NIES, and ARCHER, Circwit Judges.

ORDER

A petition for rehearing having been filed in this case,

UPON CONSIDERATION THEREOF, it is

ORDERED that the petition for rehearing be, and the

same hereby is, denied.

FOR THE COURT

/s/ Francis X. Gindhart

Francis X. Gindhart, Clerk

5/16/86

Date

ec: Mr. Phillip S. Wood

Ms. Eva M. Plaza, DOJ

nic,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA _.

MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

RICHARD S. ANDREWS, et al.’

Vv

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

DOCKET NUMBER

CH075281F 0890

OPINION AND ORDER

Appellants were removed from their positions of Air

Traffic Control Specialists at the Chicago Air Route Traf-

fic Control] Center in Aurora, Lllinois, based on charges

of: (1) striking against the United States Government in

violation of 5 U.S.C. § 7311 and 18 U.S.C. § 1918; and (2)

unauthorized absence or absence without leave (AWOL).

Appellants’ removals were sustained by the Chicago Re-

gional Office of the Board.

* All 23 appellants and their individual docket numbers

are listed on the attached appendix. Appellants’ appeals

to the Regional Office were consolidated for purposes of

hearing and issuance of initial decisions under three lead

cases as follows: appellants Andrews, Clouser, Conroy,

DeMar, Gorman, Hamer, Lacy, Murphy, Nicholas, Ob-

remski, Romashko, Shaul, Simms, Staffin, and Taylor

under Andrews v. Department of Transportation, MSPB

Docket No. CH075281F0890 (Initial Decision dated Febru-

ary 1, 1983); appellants Dwight Anderson, Cichon, Finne-

gan, Lissak, Marchiel and Olson under Lissak v. Depart-

ment of Transportation, MSPB Docket No. CH075281F-

2223 (Initial Decision dated January 20, 1983); and ap-

pellants David C. Anderson and Tomasi under Anderson

v. Department of Transportation, MSPB Docket No. CH-

075281F0873 (Initial Decision dated January 29, 1983).

Appellants have filed a total of eight (8) petitions for

review which raise several identical issues of facts and

law which involve the same air traffic control facility.

Therefore, these petitions are hereby further consolidated

pursuant to 5 U.S.C. § 7701(f).

— 23a —

In their petitions for review, appellants allege various

errors by the presiding officials in sustaining their re-

movals.

Appellants contend that they were physically locked out

of the agency’s facility because the main access gate to

the facility was locked and chained. However, the evidence

shows that the gate was closed for a brief period, from

approximately 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. on August 5, 1981,

and that the gate was opened to allow vehicles to enter.

Andrews Hearing Transcript (Tr.) at 96, 294. Further,

the walk-through gate to the facility was never closed. /d.

at $6, 494. Thus, appellants have failed to show that they

were denied access to the agency’s facility.

Also, appellants contend that the agency denied them

the right to an election of appeal remedies through the

Board’s appeals process or through grievance and arbi-

tration as provided by 5 U.S.C. §§ 7701 and 7121, respec-

tively. Appellants base their contention solely on the fact

that the agency notified them in their removal notices

that it had filed an unfair labor practice charge against

their union, the Professional Air Traffic Controllers Or-

ganization (PATCO), and that, if PATCO was decertified,

the grievance and arbitration process might not be avail-

able to them. We find nothing in this information to con-

stitute a denial of appellant’s right to an election of ap-

peals remedies and that appellants’ contention in this

regard to be without merit. See Martel v. Department of

Transportation, MSPB Docket No. BN075281F0558 at 17-

18 (April 25, 1983).?

*'The Board has resolved the remaining issues common

to several of these air traffic controller appeals in the fol-

lowing cases: Schapa nsky v. Department of Transporta-

tion, MSPB Docket a7 DAOT5281F 1130 at 6 n.2, and 10-

12 (October 28, 1982) (prima facie case of strike partici-

pation, reasonableness of the penalty of removal upon

consideration of mitigation factors, including disparate

treatment, and nexus between striking and efficiency of the

service) ; Baracco v. Department of Transportation, MS

— 24a —

The following appellants have raised factual issues pe-

culiar to their individual cases:

Ralph Olson

Appellant Olson alleges that he suffered from alcohol-

ism and contends that the agency erred in failing to refer

him to an alcohol rehabilitation program prior to remov-

ing him as is required by 42 U.S.C. § 4561. Appellant

relies, inter alia, on the Board’s holding in Ruzek v. Gen-

eral Services Admmistration, 7 MSPB 307 (1981), in sup-

? (Continued)

PB Docket No. DC075281F0895 at 9, 14 n.6, and 17 (April

25, 1983) (effect of requirement of response to charges

“within 7 calendar days” after receipt of proposal notice,

failure of agency to designate reply official with authority

to recommend final decision, and other procedural errors

in general on agency action); Campbell v. Department of

Transportation, MSPB Docket No. DE075281F0674 at 7,

8 n.9, and 12-16 (April 25, 1983) (striking for any dura-

tion as ground for removal and appellants’ burden of

proof in ascertaining their individual deadlines, in seeking

clarification of existing ambiguities, and in establishing

agency’s denial of readmission to its facility during the

notice period); Anderson v. Department of Transporta-

tion, MSPB Docket No. SL075281F'0347 at 8-13 (April 25,

1983) (“command influence” of public statements made by

President Reagan and high level agency officials during

the strike and invocation of 5 U.S.C. § 7513(b)(1) to

shorten the notice period); Johnson v. Department of

Transportation, MSPB Docket No. DC075281F0998 at 11-

13 (November 10, 1982) (standard for establishing a de-

fense of coercion or duress). See also Malone v. Depart-

ment of Justice, MSPB Docket No. DA03516210042 at 3

(January 19, 1983) (Board’s lack of authority to deter-

mine constitutionality of statutes); Desiderio v. Depart-

ment of the Navy, 4 MSPB 171-72 (1980) (AWOL) alone

as cause for removal); and Weaver v. Department of the

Navy, 2 MSPB 297, 299 (1980) (deference due presiding

official’s findings of fact and credibility determinations).

+ eee

ae LT a rt

— 25a —

port of his contention. In Ruzek, however, we held that

the agency is obligated to offer rehabilitative assistance

only where the employee’s alcoholism affects his work

performance. Ruzek, swpra, at 311, 312. Here, appellant

has failed to show that his absence during the strike was

caused by alcohol-related problems. Rather, as the pre-

siding official correctly found, appellant’s stated reason

for failing to report for duty was alleged coercion. Thus

appellant has failed to show that he was entitled to an

opportunity for rehabilitation.

Oscar Taylor, James E. Simms, Glennetta Nicholas, and

Louis Hamer

These appellants, in support of their assertion of coer-

cion, contend that they were “particularly vulnerable” to

psychological pressure because of their race (black) and

their developmental (trainee) status in a white dominated

occupation. Appellants presented a psychologist, Dr.

Ralph Van Atta, who testified in support of that allega-

tion. Appellants, however, have not alleged that their

removals were based on racial discrimination. The Board

has specifically rejected allegations of “jeopardy to career

advancement” in Johnson v. Department of Transporta-

tion, MSPB Docket No. DC075281F0998 at 8-9 and n.13.

These appellants have failed to establish a defense of

coercion as contemplated in Johnson, supra, at 11-13. Ap-

pellants failed to show that they were victims of per-

sonal threats or other intimidating conduct “sufficient to

instill in [them] a reasonable fear of physical danger to

[themselves] or others, which a person of ordinary firm-

ness would not be expected to resist.” 7d. at 11-12. On

the contrary, appellants merely recounted rumors of

threatening and intimidating conduct directed at others,

see Andrews Tr. at 2362, 2437-2438, overheard threats

made in reference to others. see id. at 2505-06, and indi-

rect threats relating to career development, see id. at 2309,

2505-06, 2491. Thus, appellants failed to successfully rebut

the ageney’s prima facie case of strike participation.

—_

Anthony Tomasi

The record shows that this appellant’s deadline for re-

turning to work was August 8, 1981. On August 7, 1981,

appellant was informed by his supervisor that he would

be permitted to return to work if he appeared for his

deadline shift on August 8. However, on August 7, sub-

sequent to the discussion with his supervisor, appellant

received the agency’s notice of his proposed removal

dated August 6, 1981. The presiding official did not con-

sider the possible harmful effect of the agency’s proce-

dural error in prematurely issuing the proposal notice.

See Bangerter v. Departmen: of Transportation, MSPB

Docket No. SLO75281F0279 at 38 (September 27, 1983).

The presiding official found appellant’s receipt of the pro-

posal notice prior to his deadline “not controlling” since

appellant failed to show that, even if he had notified the

agency of the error, he would not have been permitted to

return. See Anderson, Initial Decision at 26.*

Appellant testified that, upon his receipt of the pro-

posal notice, he believed that he would not have been per-

mitted to return to work since he was aware that other

controllers who received similar notices were not allowed

to return. Tr. at 528. Appellant also testified that he

would have returned to work for his August 8, deadline

had he not received the notice of proposed removal. Tr.

at 504. Under these circumstances, we find that appellant

established that the agency’s premature issuance of the

proposal notice constituted harmful procedural error. See

Bangerter, supra, at 39. Therefore, the agency action re-

moving appellant Tomasi is not sustained.

Further, appellants contend that they were erroneously

suspended by the agency during the notice period. In the

Andrews and Anderson consolidated initial decisions, the

*The presiding official also rejected appellant’s claim

that his failure to report for duty at his deadline shift

was based on coercion. In view of our disposition of this

appellant’s case, it is not necessary to address this issue.

— (on

presiding official found that the agency had constructively

suspended those appellants and, in effecting their suspen-

sions, had committed procedural error. However, she de-

termined that the appellants had not shown harmful error.

Because we find that the presiding official erred in finding

improper suspension, we hereby REOPEN the petitions

for review filed by the appellants covered by those deci-

sions to address this issue. 5 C.F.R. § 1201.117.*

In Andrews, the presiding official based her finding of

erroneous suspension on testimony by the chief of the

agency’s facility and on the agency’s General Notice

(GENOT) 1/128. The chief of the facility testified that

striking controllers would not have been afforded an un-

conditional right to return to work during the notice pe-

riod and that whether or not they would have been al-

lowed to return depended on their stated reason for re-

turning and on the merits of their individual cases.

Andrews, Tr. at 215-16. Since the testimony indicated

that some controllers might have been permitted to re-

turn, we find that the presiding official inaccurately inter-

preted this testimony.

As to GENOT 1/128, upon which the presiding official

also relied in her initial decision rendered in the Anderson

consolidated initial decision, that notice simply stated that

* Additionally, the appellants in the Andrews consolli-

dated petition for review allege that Presiding Official

Krueger lacked “that degree of experience required by”

5 U.S.C. § 7701(b) to hear their removal cases. Appellants

have submitted no evidence in support of their assertion.

Thus, we find no merit to appellants’ allegation.

Also, appellant DeMar has requested an oral presenta-

tion before the Board. The record shows that this appel-

lant was afforded a full evidentiary hearing before the

presiding official, was represented by counsel, and testified

in his own behalf. Further, appellant has failed to state

a basis warranting the granting of his request. There-

fore, appellant’s request for an oral presentation before

the Board is denied.

— 28a — :

appellants who failed to return to work by their deadline

shifts would be placed in a non-duty status and subse-

quently removed. There was nothing in that notice to

prevent the agency from placing in a non-duty with pay

status an employee who indicated his desire to return to

work after his deadline shift. Here, the burden was on

appellants to show by preponderant evidence that they

were ready, willing, and able to return to work during

the notice period, that they contacted an agency official

with decision-making authority and unequivocally com-

municated their availability and desire to return to work,

and that they were nevertheless refused readmission by

the agency. See Martel, supra, at 11. None of the appel-

lants covered in those consolidated initial decisions has

thus shown. Therefore, we find that they were not sus-

pended.*®

Accordingly, the initial decision in Anderson is RE-

VERSED with respect to appellant Anthony P. Tomasi

and, as MODIFIED in this Opinion and Order, is AF-

FIRMED with respect to appellant David C. Anderson.

The initial decision in Andrews, as MODIFIED in this

Opinion and Order, is hereby AFFIRMED. The initial

decision in Lissak is hereby AFFIRMED.

The agency is hereby ORDERED to cancel its removal

action against appellant Tomasi and reinstate him to his

position of Air Traffic Controller Specialist. Proof of

compliance with this Order shall be submitted by the

agency to the Office of the Secretary of the Board within

20 days of the date of issuance of this Opinion. Any peti-

tion for enforcement of this Order shall be made to the

*In the Lissak consolidated initial decision, the presid-

ing official, relying on 5 C.F.R. §§ 1201.22 and 24, found

the suspension issue untimely on the basis that those ap-

pellants failed to file, within 20 days of the alleged sus-

pension, an appeal stating the nature of that action. Our

review of the record shows that those appellants also

failed to meet the Martel standard for constructive sus-

pension

= aan Shem teat

—_— Po

Chicago Regional Office in accordance with 5 C.F.R.

§ 1201.181(a).

This is the final order of the Merit Systems Protection

Board in these appeals. 5 C.F.R. § 1201.113(c).

Each appellant is hereby notified of the right under 5

U.S.C. § 7703 to seek judicial review of the Board’s action

by filing a petition for review in the United States Court

of Appeals for the Federal Cireuit, 717 Madison Place,

N.W., Washington, D.C. 20489. The petition for judicial

review must be received by the court no later than thirty

(30) days after the appellant’s receipt of this order.

FOR THE BOARD:

/s/ Robert E. Taylor

Robert E. Taylor

Secretary

NOV 28 1983

(Date)

Washington, D.C.

Attachment: Statement of the Board’s policy on service

of its opinions and orders.

— 30a —

Unitep States Or AMERICA

Merit Systems Protection Boarp

CuHarues F. BEHENSKY, JR., et al.,

Ricuarp J. Branopis, et al.’

Vv.

DEPARTMENT Or TRANSPORTATION

FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION

DOCKET NUMBERS (CH075281F0979REM

CH075281 F1066

Date: JUL 5 1985

BEFORE

Hersert EK. Eviincwoop, Chairman

Maria Iu. Jonnson, Vice Chair

Dennis M. Deanry, Member

OPINION AND ORDER

INTRODUCTION

This case is before the Board on the appellants’ peti-

tions for review of the presiding official’s remand deci-

sion dated December 17, 1984, made pursuant to the

Board’s instructions for further findings on the creation,

reliability and trustworthiness of certain records relied

upon by the agency in taking adverse actions against the

appellants herein.

* Although a separate petition for review of the remand

initial decision, dated December 17, 1984, was filed by each

group of “appellants, this case is being consolidated due

to the similarity of issues and situations.

The appellants’ Motion for Sanctions and to Strike

Respondent’s Opposition Brief to petition for review is

hereby DENIED; and the agency’s Motion for Recon-

sideration is hereby DENIED.

a

— 3la —

BACKGROUND

The appellants previously appealed the agency action

removing them from their positions of Air Traffic Con-

trol Specialists at the Chicago Air Traffic Control Center

in Aurora, Illinois (ZAU) based upon charges of partici-

pating in a strike against the United States Government

in violation of 5 U.S.C. § 7311 and 18 U.S.C. 4 1918, and

unauthorized absence (AWOL).

In their original appeals, the appellants argued that

the sign-in logs contained in their appeal files contain

discrepancies? when compared against the “original” logs

(identified as Appellants’ Group Exhibit #16); that the

agency had “doctored” the sign-in logs in the appeal file

in order to support the removal actions taken against the

appellants (Initial Hearing Transcript (IHT) Vol. I. p.

114); and that no other evidence was presented as to

when, if ever, the sign-in logs were changed, who changed

them, or for what purpose they were changed.’ Despite

the fact that the logs, in some instances, contained altera-

tions and succeeding entries,‘ the presiding official found

? An example given of such discrepancy was the chang-

ing of an original notation of annual leave (AL) to

AWOL.

* During the initial hearing in these cases, the agency

sought to have Mr. Robert Miller, Personnel Management

Specialist, testify concerning the apparent changes in the

logs. The presiding official sustained an objection by

appellants’ counsel to Mr. Miller’s testimony based upon

his previous order that all witnesses, other than the appel-

lants, be sequestered during the hearing. Mr. Miller had

been present during the hearing as a technical advisor to

the agency. IHT Vol. VI, pp. 79, 80, 83. The presiding offi-

cial also sustained appellants’ objections to permitting the

record to remain open for additional agency witnesses,

other than Mr. Miller, to testify concerning this issue.

*The agency admitted through counsel that the agency

had updated the logs to reflect actual absenteeism. IHT

VI, at 81

— 32a —

in his original initial decision that the agency established,

through testimony of George Gunter, Facility Chief, that

the logs were created in conjunction with the operations

of ZAU and were properly relied upon in managing ‘its

work force. See United States v. Foster, 711 F.2d 871, 882

(9th Cir. 1983); United States v. McPartland, 595 F.2d

1321, 1348-1349 (10th Cir. 1979); Peter Kewit Sons Co. v.

Summit Construction Co., 422 F.2d 242, 268 (8th Cir.

1969). He went on to sustain the removal actions taken

against the appellants. The appellants petitioned for

review.

In its decision on appellants’ petition for review of the

original initial decision, the Board determined that three

documents in each appeal file were of central importance

to proving strike participation and AWOL: 1) the watch

schedules; 2) the personnel sign-in logs, and 3) the time

and attendance records ((T&A records). The Board con-

cluded that since the agency did not in every instance

prepare these records in the usual course of business, but

rather under unusual circumstances and with some in-

accuracies, further evidence and analysis were necessary

to determine whether the records were sufficiently reliable

to establish strike participation by the appellants. The

case was, therefore, remanded to the presiding official for

further adjudication with a suggestion that he consider

the need for eyewitness testimony explaining the process

by which the records were created.

INITIAL DECISION AFTER REMAND

At the remand hearing, the agency presented lengthy

testimony of Robert Miller, who was the Facility Evalua-

tions Officer for ZAU at the time of the strike. Over

a period of several days, Mr. Miiler testified as to the

practices and procedures followed in the preparation

and use of the documents in issue. He also described the

operation of the data collection center, commonly referred

to as the “war room”, a control work area set up during

oN nui <snanoel cS

ts raentniti

epost orate Vo tein ite tee

— 33a —

the second week of the strike to deal with administrative

paperwork associated with the removal actions, oral re-

plies, and the initial hearing. Remand Hearing Transcript

(RHT) at 110-111.

Mr. Miller also testified concerning the differences

between the documents contained in the appeal files and

those submitted by appellants. He stated that any differ-

ences between the two sets of schedules were due to the

fact that the copies in the adverse action files were made

while the schedules were still operational, and that sub-

sequent changes on the original schedules were made

while “working” controllers were handling the increased

workload occasioned by the strike. None of the appellants

testified at the hearing, nor did they specifically state,

either orally or in writing, that they were in fact either

on duty or on approved leave or not scheduled to work

at the time(s) the documents indicated they were absent.

The presiding official found that a close examination of

the documents reveals that no changes had been made

to any appellant’s scheduled shifts during the applicable

period.” Based upon the further testimony of Mr. Miller

and the other facility supervisors® regarding the. pro-

cedures for posting and amending the watch schedules

(RHT, 119), and the consistency of the documents, the

presiding official concluded that the watch schedules were

reliable, and, in the absence of any specific challenge by

any of the appellants, accurately reflected the shift assign-

ments for the appellants during the period in question.

‘This is the period beginning with August 3, 1981 and

continuing through the date of each appellant’s “dead-

line” shift (the first scheduled shift after 11:00 a.m. on

August 5, 1985).

°The agency also presented the testimony of several

area supervisors who testified regarding the preparation

and use of the documents in general, and specifically iden-

tified the sign-in logs prepared by them.

—

With regard to the sign-in logs, appellants pointed to

differences between the origina! logs (Appellants’ Joint

Ex. 9) and the copies contained in the adverse action files.

The presiding official found that during the applicable

period, however, such differences appeared with respect

to only three of the appellants, Nelson, Lockhart and

Schultz. RHT at 78. In each of these instances, the appel-

lant’s name had been added to a sign-in log by an em-

ployee working in the data collection center. This was done

because the employee’s name had been inadvertently

omitted from the sign-in log for a shift to which he was

assigned under the watch schedule. Remand Initial Deci-

sion (RID) at 5. The presiding official concluded that the

presence or absence of an employee’s name on a sign-in

log, whether subsequently added or not, was not as sig-

nificant as the presence or absence of the employee’s

signature on the document. He therefore found that in-

asmuch as none of the appellants’ signatures appeared on

the sign-in logs, the agency’s addition of their names to

the logs (obviously to show that the appellants were, at

best, scheduled to work)’ did not prejudice these appel-

lants. The presiding official also found based upon testi-

mony by the supervisors and his own examination, that

an “inherent probability of trustworthiness” existed in

these logs. RID at 5.

With regard to the T&A’s, the record revealed that the

vast majority of the amendments to those reports were

in reference to the pay periods subsequent to an appel-

lant’s deadline shift. As the presiding official found, such

7 Mr. Miller stated that the most common “mistakes” on

sign-in logs were created by shift swaps when an entire

crew on a watch schedule is listed on one shift and a con-

troller changes off that shift. Therefore, when putting

down names from the watch schedule to the sign-in logs

one might miss the shift swap of an individual and inad-

vertently list him on the wrong shift “. .. that was a com-

mon mistake.” RHT.

BL OAL Ania OREO A, cnet RT ae at aio) er a

— 35a —

changes are essentially irrelevant. RID at 5. As to the

reports which covered the applicable period (August 3-5,

1981), the presiding official concluded that such changes,

and T&A amendments in general, are not uncommon in

the Federal sector and that the amended T&A reports

accurately reflected each appellant’s status during the

applicable period. RID at 5. He also found no ‘evidence

of fraud, forgery or misrepresentations on the part of

the agency, nor any persuasive evidence that any agency

official perjured himself, attempted to “make” or “rig”

a case against an appellant, o1 otherwise committed any

act which might be considered fraudulent. RID at 6. Given

the totality of circumstances, the presiding official con-

cluded that the agency’s documentary evidence was, in

fact, reliable; that each of the appellants was absent with-

out authorization (AWOL) on one or more days during

the strike; that each appellant failed to report for his/her

deadline shift; that the agency established a prima facie

ease of strike participation with respect to each appel-

lant; and that none of the appellants presented persuasive

evidence to rebut the agency’s prima facie case. The pre-

siding official, therefore, held that the charges against the

appellants were supported by the preponderance of the

evidence, and sustained each appellant’s removal. RID at

8.

PETITION FOR REVIEW OF REMAND INITIAL

DECISION

The appellants have now filed timely petitions for re-

view of the presiding official’s remand initial decision.

They contend, inter alia, that the presiding official erred

in permitting Mr. Miller to testify at the remand hearing

as to the circumstances surrounding the creation of the

agency documents since he had previously, at the initial

hearing, denied the agency request to call him as a wit-

ness because he had not been sequestered as were other

witnesses, and that the presiding official’s decision per-

mitting him to testify was, therefore, a violation of Rule

— 36a —

615 of the Federal Rules of Evidence. Appellants also

contend that the agency destroyed the original watch

schedules and swap books; that the presiding official erred

in his credibility assessment of agency witnesses; and that

the presiding official was biased and prejudiced. These

contentions are without merit.

In reference to appellants’ contention that the pre-

siding official erred in permitting Mr. Miller to testify

at the remand hearing, the record reveals that the pre-

siding official allowed Miller to testify because: (1) the

agency’s failure to sequester him did not constitute a will-

ful or intentional violation of the sequestration order;

(2) under the third exception of Rule 615 of the Federal

Rules of Evidence, Miller was “a person whose presence

is shown by a party te be essential to the presentation of

his case”; and (3) there was not a likelihood that Miller’s

testimony would be shaped in a manner prejudicial to the

appellants by virtue of his having heard the testimony

of the other witnesses. (Notice of Hearing and Order,

Remand File, Tab 19.) The Board finds the presiding

official’s stated reasons to be reasonable and can discern

no error or abuse of discretion on the part of the pre-

siding official in this regard. Appellants allege, in essence,

that since the presiding official ordered the witnesses at

the first hearing sequestered and Mr. Miller remained in

the hearing room during the proceedings, he should not

have been permitted to testify at the remand hearing.®

Since strict adherence to the Federal Rules of Evidence

is not mandatory in administrative proceedings, this con-

tention must also be rejected. See, e.g., Davies v. Depart-

ment of Agriculture, 5 MSPB 291 (1981). A perusal of

the specific language of Rule 615 makes it clear, however,

that even under a strict application of the rules of evi-

* At the initial hearing the presiding official excluded

Mr. Miller’s testimony, but on remand, permitted Mr.

Miller to testify.

< aeoar ch se Te

— 37a —

dence, the exclusionary rule does not authorize the exclu-

sion of a person whose presence is shown by a party to be

essential to the presentation of his case. In re United

States, 584 F.2d 666 (5th Cir. 1978). A review of the rec-

ord in this case discloses that Mr. Miller’s presence in the

hearing would have been appropriate under this ex-

ception.

Additionally, in a case somewhat similar to the instant

case, the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth

Circuit concluded that the district court did not err when

it permitted the government to use a postal inspector as

its final witness after he had been permitted to remain

in the courtroom to assist the prosecutor during the testi-

mony of other witnesses. The court opined that the dis-

trict court did not abuse its discretion in permitting the

inspector’s testimony which principally related to matters

peculiarly within his personal knowledge. United States

v. Nixw, 601 F.2d 214 (5th Cir. 1979).

It was, therefore, appropriate for the presiding official,

in order to assess the reliability of agency records, to de-

termine that eyewitness testimony was required to further

explain the process by which those records were created.

Notwithstanding the fact that Mr. Miller, who was the

agency’s technical representative, remained in the hearing

subsequent to a sequestration order at the initial hearing,

the presiding official determined, over appellants’ objec-

tions, that since Mr. Miller was in charge of the data col-

lection center where the administrative paperwork was

processed, he had firsthand knowledge of the entire

recordkeeping process and that his testimony at the re-

mand hearing was essential. The presiding official’s deci-

sion to permit Mr. Miller to testify under these cireum-

stances, despite his prior sequestration order, was not

an abuse of discretion. United States v. Bobo, 586 F.2d

355 (5th Cir. 1978); United States v. Johnston, 578 F.2d

1352 (10th Cir. 1978).

As to appellants’ contention that the agency destroyed

the original watch schedules and swap books, the pre-

— 38a —

siding official evaluated documents, weighed their proba-

tive value, and determined that any subsequent changes

on the watch schedules contained in the adverse action

files were made while working controllers were handling

the increased workload occasioned by the strike. The pre-

siding official found the documents reliable and an ac-

curate reflection of appellants’ shift assignments during

the period in issue. Borninkhof v. Department of Justice,

5 MSPB 150 (1981). In any event, a close examination

of these documents reveals that no changes were made

to any appellant’s scheduled shifts during the applicable

period of August 3, 1981 through August 5, 1981. The

Board finds no error in the presiding official’s evaluation

of the reliability of these documents.®

The appellants have also raised specific arguments re-

garding the removals of appellants Peacock and Reedy.

These arguments were considered and adequately ad-

dressed by the presiding official in his original initial de-

cision. These arguments represent mere disagreement

with the presiding official’s finding of fact. Since we find

no error in the presiding official’s reasoning with regard

to these issues, we decline to disturb his findings. See

Weaver v. Department of the Navy, 2 MSPB 297 (1980) ;

see also Anderson v. Department of Transportation,

MSPB Docket No. SL075281F0347 (April 25, 1983), aff’d.

735 F.2d 537 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (employee’s obligation to

contact the agency for clarification when confused about

returning to work); Martel v. Department of Transpor-

tation, MSPB Docket No. BN0O75281F0558 (April 25,

*As the Board has previously noted, while the “best

evidence” rule has some applicability in Board proceed-

ings, the real issue is whether the record contains ade-

quate, competent and reliable evidence to support the

agency’s charges. See e.g. Jones v. Department of Agricul-

ture, MSPB Docket No. CH07528110391 (January 23,

1984); Natividad v. Department of Agriculture, 5 MSPB

426 (1981).

LSS ACN A GIA MA A SCAMS UN ti ra tad Oe Nie Rall one eagles” Was suis sariuiens a

md deeb age AMO

— 39a —

1983) aff'd. 735 F.2d 504 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (employee must

prove that he was “ready, willing and able” to report for

duty and had so advised the agency).

As to the remaining matters raised by appellants in

their petitions for review, the Board has previously re-

solved those issues in: Stone v. Office of Personnel Man-

agement, 5 MSPB 142-43 (1981) (ruling on motions and

the imposition of sanctions is a matter for the presiding

official’s sound discretion); Karapinka v. Department of

Energy, 6 MSPB 114, 115-16 (1981) (procedural error by

a presiding official); Prime v. U.S. Postal Service, 5

MSPB 110 (1981) (the mere fact that a presiding official

does not rule on motions or accept the assertions of an

appellant in the fashion an appellant would desire does

not constitute bias, prejudice or impropriety); Weaver

v. Department of the Navy, supra. (due deference is ac-

corded to the presiding official’s factual and credibility

assessment of witnesses); Book v. U.S. Postal Service, 6

MSPB 322 (1981), aff'd. 675 F.2d 158 (8th Cir. 1982) (a

presiding official is not precluded from drawing adverse

inferences when an appellant refuses to testify in re-

sponse to probative evidence against him); Desiderto v.

Department of the Navy, 4 MSPB 171 (1980) (AWOL

alone is cause for removal); Schapansky v. Department

of Transportation, 12 MSPB 141 (1982) aff'd. 735 F.2d

477 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (prima facie case of strike participa-

tion and reasonableness of removal penalty).

Accordingly, having fully considered the appellants

petitions for review of the presiding official’s remand ini-

tial decision issued on December 17, 1984, and finding that

they fail to meet the criteria under 5 C.F.R. § 1201.115,

the Board hereby DENIES the petitions.

This is the final order of the Merit Systems Protection

Board in these appeals.’® 5 C.F.R. § 1201.113. The remand

b

1° Appellants affected by this decision are listed in the

attached Appendix A.

—_—

initial decision shall become final five (5) days from the

date of this order.

Each appellant is hereby notified of the right under 5

U.S.C. § 7703 to seek judicial review, if the court has jur-

isdiction, of the Board’s action by filing a petition for

review in the United States Court of Appeals for the Fed-

eral Circuit, 717 Madison Place, N.W., Washington, D.C.

20439. The petition for judicial review must be received

by the court no later than thirty (30) days after receipt

of this order.

FOR THE BOARD:

/s/ Mllegible

Robert E. Taylor

Clerk of the Board

Washington, D.C.

ates Naa hh lle Rented hea te) hb eta CE artnet

an le ail A mb date

ae be

— 41a —

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

CHICAGO REGIONAL OFFICE

IN THE MATTER OF:

Richard S. Delutri Decision Number: CH075281F1377

Robert A. Edwards Decision Number: CH075281F1454

Alan W. Gerbitz Decision Number: CH075281F1637

Ronald W. Gillette Decision Number: CH075281F1649

Michael S. Kline Deeision Number: CH075281F2076

Thomas J. MeNeal Decision Number: CH075281F2362

Raymon FE. Owens Decision Number: CH075281F2572

Dana J. Thomas Decision Number: CH075281F3108

v. Date: January 21, 1983

Department of Transportation

Federal Aviation Administration

INTRODUCTION

By petitions filed between September 5 and October 12,

1981, the above-named appellants appealed actions where-

by the Department of Transportation, Federal Aviation

Administration, Chicago Air Route Traffic Control Cen-

ter (ARTCC), Aurora, Illinois, removed them from their

positions as Air Traffic Control Specialists. Mr. Delutri

was removed effective September 9, 1981, Mr. Edwards

effective September 5, 1981, Mr. Gerbitz effective Septem-

ber 8, 1981, Mr. Gillette effective September 29, 1981, Mr.

Kline effective October 26, 1981, Mr. MeNeal effective

August 27, 1981, Mr. Owens effective September 14, 1981,

and Mr. Thomas effective September 19, 1981, Their ap-

peals, which were timely filed to the Board, were consoli-

dated by an Order entered on August 25, 1982. Each ap-

peliant seeks to have the removal action set aside.

JURISDICTION

The appellants, employees in the competitive service

who have completed more than one year of current con-

tinuous service in the same position, are entitled to appeal

a removal action to the Merit Systems Protection Board

—42a —

(Board). See 5 U.S.C. 7511(a)(1)(A), 7512, and 7513(d)

(1980); and 5 C.F.R. 752.401(a), .401(b) (1), and .405(a)

(1981).

ANALYSIS AND FINDINGS

In all of these cases, the appellants were advised of a

proposal to remove thein on the basis of two charges: (1)

violating 5 U.S.C. 7311 (1980), which bars government

employment for an individual who participates in a strike,

and 18 U.S.C. 1918 (1970) which makes participation in

a strike against the government a crime for which a sen-

tence of imprisonment can be imposed; and (2) unautho-

rized absence on specified dates during an ilegal strike.

The agency found in its decision notices that its charges

warranted removing the appellants from their positions.

When an employee appeals an adverse action to the

Board, the Board must review the action to determine

whether the underlying cause for the action actually oc-

curred, and if it did occur, the Board must next determine

whether the disciplinary action taken will promote the

efficiency of the service. See 5 U.S.C. 7701(c)(1)(B),

7513(a) (1980); 5 C.F.R. 1201.56(a) (1981). In addition,

the Board is required to review and consider any affirma-

tive defenses raised by an appellant which are based on

harmful procedural error, prohibited personnel practices

or violations of law. See 5 U.S.C. 7701(¢)(2) (1980); and

5 C.F.R. 1201.56(b) (1981).

Strike Participation Charge

With respect to the first charge, the agency must prove

by a preponderance of the evidence that a strike called by

the Professional Air Traffic Controllers Organization

(PATCQ) was in progress from August 3 through August

20, 1981, covering the dates these appellants were alleged-

ly on strike. The Board has taken official notice of the

fact that a strike by PATCO members against the Fed-

eral Government began on August 3, 1981, and continued

through August 6, 1981, and found that such strike was

illegal. Ketchem v. Department of Transportation, MSPB

— 43a —

Docket No.. DA0Q75281F0713 at 9 (May 28, 1982). Since

none of the appellants have, on appeal, refuted the exis-

tence of a strike during the period from August 3 thhrough

6, 1981, I find that a strike against the government by air

traffic controllers at appellants’ air traffic facility occurred

from August 3 through August 6, 1981.

Since I have not taken official notice of the existence of

a strike beyond August 6, 1981, the agency is responsible

for establishing, by a preponderance of the evidence, that

the strike continued following those dates. The appellant

in this consolidated group with the latest scheduled re-

porting date after August 3, 1981 is Michael Kline, and I

will determine if the strike continued through the date

that he was scheduled for duty. If it can be determined

that the strike lasted at least that long, then it necessarily

follows that each of the appellants was scheduled for duty

during the strike.

Appellant Kline was on annual leave at the time of the

strike, and his first regularly scheduled workday following

August 3, 1981 was on August 20, 1981. The appellants

argue that the strike was not continuing as of that date

since a great majority of controllers at the facility had

already been “locked out” of the facility when they failed

to appear for their first regularly scheduled shift on or

after 10:00 a.m. August 5, 1981,’ and that since they could

no longer report to work, they were no longer withholding

their services from the agency in a strike.

The classic definition of a strike is stated in the case

of United Federation of Postal Clerks v. Blount, 325 F.

Supp. 879, 884 (D.D.C.), aff'd, 404 U.S. 802 (1971), where

the court stated that the “essence” of striking “is (the)

actual refusal in concert with others to provide services

to one’s employer.” It is apparent that only a relatively

small number of air traffic controllers at the Aurora

ARTCC facility were due to report to work on or after

August 20, 1981 and failed to report as scheduled. It

* This is designated the “deadline shift”.

——

must be remembered, however, that the PATCO strike

was a nationwide strike, so the actual number of em-

ployees who could have returned to work at various air

traffic facilities on or after August 20, 1981 was undoubt-

edly much larger than the employees who could have re-

ported at the Aurora ARTCC. Appellant Kline’s alleged

refusal to return to work as scheduled, even though such

refusal may have been in concert with fewer employees

than those who were earlier scheduled for work, still may

be properly characterized as an action which was in con-

cert with others. . ..” Moreover, although the appellants

argue that agency officials declared the strike to be over,

the union itself had not declared the strike to be over on

or before August 20, 1981, and union members engaged

in strike-related activities, including picketing, well be-

yond August 20, 1981. (Tr: Vol. 1 p. 227). Accordingly,

I find that in view of the continuing failure of employees

to report for work and the other evidence of the continu-

ing strike, that a preponderance of the evidence estab-

lishes that the strike continued through at least August

20, 1981.

With respect to these appellants’ alleged participation

in the strike, the agency must first establish a prima facie

showing of participation. See Schapansky v. Depariment

of Transportation, Federal Aviation Administration, MS

PB Order No. DA075281F1130 (October 28, 1982); Jones

v. Tennessee Valley Authority, MSPB Order No. A'T0752-

8010300 (February 19, 1982); and Duckett, et al. v. Ten-

nessee Valley Authority, MSPB Order No. AT07528010325

(February 19, 1982).2 A prima facie showing is made

when the agency demonstrates: (1) a labor organization

called a strike at the facility where the employee worked;

and (2) the employee failed to appear for scheduled duty

while the strike was in progress.

* Jones and Duckett concern participation in an unau-

thorized work stoppage in violation of a labor agreement

and 5 U.S.C. 7311. I find the reasoning in these cases is

relevant to determining what constitutes a prima facie

showing of participation in a strike.

— 45a -—

The record evidence shows that the appellants were

members of the bargaining unit represented by PATCO,

the labor organization that called the strike in question,

by virtue of their positions as air traffic control specialists.

The evidence also shows that each of the appellants was

absent from duty on his deadline date. (Tr: Vol. 1, pp.

59-60; Vol. 1, pp. 153-4; Vol. 1 pp. 156-7; Vol. 1 pp. 63-4;

Vol. 1 pp. 220-3; Vol. 2 pp. 5, 7; Vol. 1 pp. 124-5; Vol. 2

67). Accordingly, I find that the agency has established

a prima facie showing that the appellants were partici-

pating in the PATCO strike on specified dates between

August 3 and August 20, 1981.

An appellant has the opportunity to refute the agency’s

prima facie showing that he participated in the strike by

demonstrating that he had no knowledge of the existence

of the strike or by establishing that his absence was due

to some factor other than intentional participation in the

strike. An absence of rebuttal evidence or the overriding

of rebuttal evidence by the agency would result in the

agency meeting its burden of proof with respect to par-

ticipation in the strike See Schapansky, at 6. I will now

discuss each appellant’s defense to the strike participa-

tion charge.

x * »

Richard Delutri

Appellant Delutri testified that he was unable to work

during the strike because he was ill. This appellant had a

chronic problem with his left shoulder, diagnosed as ten-

donitis,® and had received treatment for this condition for

over a vear prior to the strike. He testified that on Au-

gust 2, 1981, while playing golf, he hurt his shoulder. He

further testified that he was in such pain that he took

medication that contained codeine. This medication had

been prescribed for appellant Delutri in July 1981. (Tr:

Vol. 4 pp. 165-6).

5 After the close of the record, appellant Delutri sub-

mitted information that discloses that this problem has

recently been diagnosed as a high cervical intramedullary

spinal cord tumor.

—_—

The next day, August 3, appellant Delutri attempted

to contact his supervisor, William Plasch. The appellant

testified that he eventually spoke with someone at the

facility’s watch desk. This person told the appellant that

supervisor Plasch was unavailable and that sick leave was

not being approved. Delutri explained that he was taking

codeine and would not be able to work until Saturday,

August 8. Appellant Delutri testified further that he ex-

pected supervisor Plasch to be given this message and

that he would be put on sick leave. (Tr: Vol. 4, pp. 170-

1). The agency, which stipulated that it did not have a

log of all calls made on August 3 but that it did keep a

record of all significant calls made to it on that day, does

not have a record of this call. (Tr: Vol. 4, p. 188). The

appellant later on August 3 tried to reach Plasch at home,

and Plasch confirmed that he received a message on Au-

gust 5 or 6 that the appeliant had called but when he tried

to return the call, he was not able to reach the appellant.

(Tr: Vol. 4, p. 116). Since the agency had no record of

appellant’s Delutri’s request for leave, it issued his pro-

posed removal letter on August 5.°

This appellant testified that he called his doctor on

August 3 but that he was not able to get an appointment

until August 10. (Tr: Vol. 4, p. 173). This appointment

was later postponed by the doctor until August 17. His

doctor testified that he did not recall the appellant men-

tioning any information on August 17 regarding an epi-

sode of severe pain; but he did testify, from his records,

that the appellant was “... apparently getting along all

right... .” (Tr: Vol. 4, p. 147). The doctor’s notes also

indicate that the appellant told him on August 17 that

*The proposed removal letter charges appellant Delutri

with missing the 1:00 p.m. shift beginning on August 3,

1981. Since the proposal is dated August 5 and clearly

states he is charged with missing his shifts beginning

August 3 at 1:00 p.m. and continuing until the present, I

find that this proposal included his deadline shift on

August 5 at 1:00 p.m.

PO een a

a I ee ee ee

— 47a —

his shoulder was improved after the July 1981 treatment.

(Tr: Vol. 4, p. 140).

Chief Gunter testified concerning his policy for denying

all requests for sick leave during the strike. This appel-

lant contends that this policy violated the collective bar-

gaining agreement. Even assuming, for the sake of argu-

ment, that this policy did violate the collective bargain-

ing agreement, appellant Delutri has not demonstrated

that he ever requested leave from his supervisor, William

Plasch, or anyone else who had authority to authorize his

sick leave under normal circumstances.

I find that appellant Delutri has not rebutted the prima

facie case of strike participation. He has not demon-

strated that he ever effectively communicated his request

for sick leave to the agency. Because of the emergency

situation in existence and the fact that he was requesting

a number of days off, I find that this appellant should

have made further attempts to notify the agency of his

problem. Additionally, the evidence demonstrates that the

appellant did not see his doctor until August 17. I note

that I considered the results of a polygraph test given to

appellant Delutri. However, I gave this evidence little

weight in reaching my decision because the polygraph

eXaminer was not called as a witness and subjected tv

cross-examination, and there were certain ambiguities in

his report. See Meier v. Department of the Interior, 3

MSPB 341 (1980). Accordingly, I find that the agency

has supported its charge of strike participation by appel-

lant Delutri by a preponderance of the evidence.

ve * *

Unauthorized Absence Charge

As noted above, the second charge against each appel-

lant in the consolidated group is “absence without authori-

_ zation (leave)” (AWOL). Some appellants in this con-

solidated group were charged with AWOL only for the

day of their deadline shifts, while others were charged

with AWOL for the day of their deadline shifts as well

as days missed earlier in the strike.

— 48a —

The fact of the appellants’ absence and their AWOL

status during those days for which they were charged is

established by the documentary evidence submitted by the

agency and by chief Gunter’s testimony. However, a fur-

ther element of this charge, which the agency must also

establish by a preponderance of the evidence, is the pro-

priety of the agency’s action in denying the appellants

approved leave during the period of their absence. See

McDonough v. U. S. Postal Service, 4 MSPB 441 (1980).

As stated by the Board in the case of Giesler v. Depart-

ment of Transportation, 3 MSPB 367 (1980), an agency

clearly has the right to expect its employees to attend

their regularly scheduled tours of duty, “absent a valid

excuse”

Appellant McNeal has established, as analyzed in the

above discussion, a valid excuse for his absence, that is,

his sick leave was wrongfully denied. Appellants Kline

and Gillette have also established valid excuses for their

absence: they were on uncancelled annual leave and would

not have been permitted to return to work for their dead-

line shifts. I find, therefore, that with respect to these

three appellants. the agency has failed to establish, by a

preponderance of the evidence, the propriety of its action

in placing these appellants on AWOL status for the peri-

od charged. Hence, the AWOL charge for appellants

MeNeal, Kline and Gillette is dismissed and will be given

no further consideration in this decision.

Pay ee See ee ee ee

The remaining appellants in this consolidated group,

appellants Delutri, Edwards, Gerbitz, Owens, and Thomas

did not establish, as analyzed in the above discussion of

the strike charges, a “valid excuse” for their absences

from their regularly scheduled shifts. It should be noted,

with respect to appellant Thomas, that emergency annual

leave, unlike sick leave, is granted at the agency’s discre-

tion, and can be validly denied in the context of a strike.

(Appellant Delutri Exhibit 1, FAA/PATCO Collective

OE

— 49a —

Bargaining Agreement, Article 31, Section 2.) According-

ly, I find that the agency has established, by a preponder-

ance of the evidence, the propriety of its action in placing

each of these appellants in an AWOL status for the period

charged. Since the agency has supported each element of

its AWOL charge against each of these appellants by a

preponderance of the evidence, I find that the agency’s

second charge is sustained against appellants Delutri,

Edwards, Gerbitz, Owens, and Thomas.

Efficiency of the Service and Penalties

In addition to proving both charges against appellants

Delutri, Edwards, Gerbitz and Owens and its AWOL

charge against appellant Thomas, the agency must also

show that removing the appellants was for such cause

as will promote the efficiency of the service. The Board

has found that strike participation has a negative effect

on efficiency because such conduct impairs an employee’s

ability to accomplish his duties satisfactorily and the

agency’s ability to fulfill its mission. Schapansky, at 11-12.

The Board has also found that unauthorized absences

from duty constitute proper grounds for taking discipli-

nary action because such absences by their very nature

disrupt the efficiency of the service. Desiderio v. Depart-

ment of the Navy, 4 MSPB 171 (1980). Moreover, the evi-

dence here shows aggravated employee misconduct be-

cause large numbers of controllers were absent at the

Aurora ARTCC during the PATCO strike. Unauthorized

absences as part of a strike action constitute one of the

most disruptive types of absence employees can direct

toward their employer and clearly warrant disciplinary

action. I conclude that the sustained charges constituted

such cause for removal as will promote the efficiency of

the service with respect to appellants Delutri, Edwards,

Gerbitz and Owens and as I will discuss below not with

respect to appellant Thomas.

The scope of the Board’s review of the agency’s selec-

tion of a penalty was discussed in Douglas v. Veterans

— ee

Administration, MSPB Docket No. AT075299006 (April

10, 1981). After noting that a penalty should be selected

only after the relevant factors have been weighed, the

Board held that the purpose of its review is to ensure

that the agency conscientiously considered the relevant

factors, and in choosing the penalty, struck a responsible

balance within the limits of reasonableness.

With respect to appellant Thomas, against whom only

the AWOL charge was sustained, a very important factor

to consider under a Douglas analysis is the gravity of his

conduct. His absence during a period of crisis in the

agency was a serious breach of his relationship with the

agency and this misconduct warrants a severe penalty.

Notwithstanding this, appellant Thomas’ misconduct must

be excused to some extent by his concern for his seriously

ill father. Other positive factors that should be considered

are: the absence of any evidence of past disciplinary rec-

ord and the fact that the AWOL charge does not reflect

on the appellant’s ability to return to his job and perform

adequately. Suggested penalties for a first offense of

AWOL under normal circumstances range from a letter

of reprimand to a three-day suspension. However, appel-

lant Thomas’ absence during this emergency situation

justifies a more severe penalty than that suggested for

an unauthorized absence under normal conditions. Accord-

ingly, I find that the maximum reasonable penalty for

appellant Thomas is a 60-day suspension.

I have also reviewed whether appellants Delutri, Ed-

wards, Gerbitz and Owens are entitled to have their re-

movals mitigated to a lesser penalty in accordance with

Douglas. In these cases the most important factor is the

gravity of the appellants’ misconduct. Their absence in

the context of a strike destroyed their relationship of

trust with ihe agency. Factors such as length of service

and quality of past performance are not important here

because of the overriding factor of the gravity of this

conduct. Schapansky, at 11. Clearly, the penalty of re-

Hat A Hah ech RAIDS crete 8 Fd aD.

jeg eels

— 5la —

moval is within the tolerable limits of reasonableness

here. Accordingly, I will not disturb the removal penalty

with respect to appellants Delutri, Edwards, Gerbitz, and

Owens.

Affirmative Defenses

Notwithstanding my finding that the AWOL charge

against appellant Thomas and both charges against ap-

pellants Delutri, Edwards, Gerbitz, and Owens have been

sustained, it is necessary to evaluate various affirmative

defenses to the agency actions which have been raised

on appeal by these appellants since, by statute and regu-

lation, an agency action may not be sustained, even if

supported by the requisite burden of proof, if it was used

on harmful procedural error, a violation of law, or a pro-

hibited personel practice. 5 U:S.C. 7701(c)(2); 5 C.F.R.

1201.56(b). Appellants have the burden of establishing,

by a preponderance of the evidence, affirmative defenses

that they propound. James v. Department of the Navy,

MSPB Docket No. PH07528010141 (July 30, 1981).

The appellants raised several issues that I interpret

to be claims that the agency committed harmful pro-

cedural error” in processing their removal actions. Speci-

fically, the appellants claim that: (1) the agency im-

properly invoked the “crime provision” to shorten the

advance notice period for considering proposed adverse

actions; (2) the agency improperly placed the appellants

in a non-duty status pending the outcome of these actions;

(3) the agency’s offer of reply was an empty formality;

The Board’s regulations found at 5 C.F.R. 1201 define

harmful error as: “Error by the agency in the application

of its procedures which, in the absence or cure of the

error, might have caused the agency to reach a conclusion

different than the one reached. The burden is upon the

appellant to show that based upon the record as a whole

the error was harmful, i.€.5 caused substantial harm or

prejudice to his/her rights.”

— 52a —

(4) their cases were prejudged by virtue of government

officials’ prior orders to remove them; and (5) the agen-

cy’s language in the letter of proposed removal regarding

possible decertification of PATCO wrongfully foreclosed

the appellants’ use of the grievance procedure.

The Board has considered the agency’s reliance on the

crime provision of 5 U.S.C. 7513(b) (1980)** to shorten

the 30-day period of advance written notice or adverse

action in these cases. Schapansky, at 7-8. The Board

found that the agency reasonably invoked the crime pro-

vision to shorten the notice period in a case comparable

to the cases in question because 18 U.S.C. 1918 (1970)

provides that participation in a strike against the United

States is a felony, punishable by up to one year of im-

prisonment, and because the agency had reasonable

cause to believe an employee who did not report for

scheduled duty during a strike was participating in the

strike. Accordingly, based upon this reasoning, I find that

the agency reasonably invoked the crime provision in

these cases. The appellants have failed to prove any error

in this regard and, therefore, this allegation has no merit.

The appellants also alleged that they were improperly

placed in a non-duty status as of the date of their letters

of proposed removal. They also contend the agency’s de-

nial of their requests for 16 hours of official time to pre-

pare their defenses was harmful. However, I find that

even if the agency had carried these appellants in a duty

status and granted them official time to prepare defenses,

* That statutory provision reads, in pertinent part, as

follows:

An employee against whom an action is proposed is

entitled to... at least 30 days’ advance written notice,

unless there is reasonable cause to believe the em-

ployee has committed a crime for which a sentence

of imprisonment may be imposed, stating the specific

reasons for the proposed action. . .

5 U.S.C. 7513(b).

ene

— 53a —

there is no reason to believe that the agency would have

reached a different conclusion in these cases. Therefore,

I find this claim of harmful error to be without merit.

The appellants next allege that the agency’s offer of

an oral reply was an empty formality because they were

denied extensions of time to reply, they were not provided

with meaningful responses to their requests for clarifica-

tion of the agency’s charges and copies of the documents

the agency relied on in reaching its decision, and they

were allowed to review this documentation for the first

time at the oral reply. My review of the record finds no

basis for determining the agency erred in its handling

of the reply process. The appellants have not shown that

had they been granted more time for response, additional

materials to review or additional time to review docu-

mentation, they would have presented replies that could

have changed the outcome of the agency’s actions. Nor

have the appellants shown that they have since been able

to obtain facts not in their possession at their oral replies

that can help them explain their failure to report for

scheduled duty during the strike.

Additionally the appellants assert that the oral reply

itself was a sham because the oral reply, officials had re-

ceived no training for this role, had no authority to grant

continuances, and had no authority to make final decisions

or to recommend final decisions. I find no harmful error

in the way the oral replies were conducted. A trial-type

hearing is not contemplated by 5 U.S.C. 7513(e) (1980)

which provides for an oral reply. See Arnett v. Kennedy,

416 U. S. 134 (1974). The purpose of the oral reply is to

give the employee an opportunity to respond to the charge,

and I find that these appellants were given this oppor-

tunity. It is undisputed that the oral reply officials did

not have final decision-making authority; however, they

did make recommendations for “further agency discus-

sion” of individual cases if they felt the facts obtained

at the reply warranted this and these recommendations

——

were considered in the final decisions. Clearly the oral

replies were handled in an expedited fashion because of

the large numbers involved, but I find no harmful error

concerning the oral reply process.

The appellants also claimed that their cases were pre-

judged by virtue of government officials’ prior orders to

remove them. My review of the record finds no persua-

sive evidence that the removal actions in these cases were

prejudged. The appellants presented no evidence that

President Reagan or other Washington officials directed

their individual removals. On the other hand, chief Gunter

repeatedly testified that he made the decision in each of

the cases in question. The chief used standardized letters

due to the large number of removals. The memoranda

issued by the agency’s national and regional offices*® were

guidelines and not directives. These guidelines set forth

factors the chief was to weigh and gave him the authority

to judge credibility. He was to exercise sound manage-

ment discretion. Accordingly, I find that the decisions in

these cases were not prejudged and this allegation cannot

be sustained.

Finally, appellants argue that the agency’s notice of

decision to remove impermissibly chilled or misled them

concerning their exercise of union rights by qualifying

their access to the negotiated grievance procedure. The

letter stated in relevant part:

If ... you believe this action violates Article 69 and

you choose to file a grievance, you must submit a

written grievance to me... no later than 15 calendar

days after the effective date of the removal.

In this connection, you should know that the FAA

has filed an Unfair Labor Practice (ULP) charge

against PATCO for its role in the strike and is seek-

ing to have the union decertified. The case is now

being processed by the Authority and determination

* B.g., GENOT 141.

TT eae

— 55a —

that PATCO committed a ULP could impact on the

processing of grievances under the PATCO/FAA

agreement if the Union is decertified and the agree-

ment terminated this avenue of appeal may not be

available to you.

While the language of the notice goes beyond merely

informing appellants of the existence of the contract

machinery for attempted resolution of their appeals, I

do not find the language to be either misleading or chill-

ing. To the contrary it accurately describes the state of

affairs existent during August 1981. Indeed the implica-

tions of decertification of the union suggested in the

notice ultimately bore fruit. Professional Air Traffic Con-

trollers Organization and Federal Aviation Administra-

tion, 7 FLRA No. 10 (1981). PATCO v. Federal Labor

Relations Authority, 685 F.2d 547 (D.C.C. 1982). The ap-

pellants claim that in the event of decertification, their

grievances would have survived because equity can pro-

vide a trustee, receiver, or successor union to assume its

duties and protect the vested rights of its members.

Furthermore, many of the appellants testified that but for

the language quoted above, they would have filed griev-

ances because they believed that would have been a

speedier process. I find both of these contentions to be

speculative and since I have found the language of the

letter to be accurate, I find no error here.

Conclusion

In conclusion, I have found that the agency supported

its removal action against appellants Delutri, Edwards,

Gerbitz, and Owens by a preponderance of the evidence,

and that their removals are for such cause as will promote

the efficiency of the service. Since I have found that the

appellants’ affirmative defenses are without merit, I find

that their removals must be sustained.

I have further found that with respect to appellant

Thomas, only the unauthorized absence charge is sup-

ported and sustained by a preponderance of the evidence.

— 56a —

His removal for this charge will not promote the efficiency

of the service, and I found that the maximum reasonable

penalty here is a 60-day suspension. Appellant Thomas

also did not meet his burden of proof with respect to his

allegations of harmful error.

Finally, I have found that the agency has not supported

and sustained its charges against appellants Gillette,

Kline, and McNeal.

DECISION

The removal actions concerning appellants Detuisi, Kd-

wards, Gerbitz and Owens are affirmed. The removal of

appellants Gillette, Kline, and McNeal is reversed. The

removal of appellant Thomas is reversed and the agency

is ordered to cancel the removal action and substitute in

its place a sixty (60) day suspension. The agency is or-

dered to furnish to the Chicago Regional Office not less

than ten (10) days after this decision becomes final, ap-

propriate documentation that the corrective actions con-

cerning appellants Gillette, Kline, MeNeal and Thomas

have been taken.

This decision is an initial decision and will become a

final decision of the Merit Systems Protection Board on

February 25, 1983 unless a petition for review is filed

with the Board or the Board reopens the case on its own

motion.

Any party to this appeal or the Director of the Office

of Personnel Management may file a petition for review

of this decision with the Merit Systems Protection Board.

The petition must identify specifically the exception taken

to this decision, cite the basis for the exception, and refer

to applicable laws, rules, or regulations.

The petition for review must be filed with the Secretary

to the Merit Systems Protection Board, 1120 Vermont

Avenue, N. W., Washington, D.C. 20419, no later than

thirty-five (35) calendar days after the issuance of the

initial decision, cite the basis for the exception, and refer

to applicable laws, rules, or regulations.

— 57a —

The Board may grant a petition for review when a

party submits written argument and supporting docu-

mentation which tend to show that:

(1) New and material evidence is available that, de-

spite due diligence, was not available when the

record was closed; or

(2) The decision of the presiding official is based on an

erroneous interpretation of statute or regulation.

Pursuant to 5 U.S.C. Section 7703(b)(1), (as modified

by Section 127 of the Federal Court Improvement Act of

1982, to be codified at 28 U.S.C. Section 1295(a)(9)) the

appellant has the right to seek judicial review of the

Board’s final decision on this appeal. A petition request-

ing such review must be filed with the U.S. Court of Ap-

peals for the Federal Circuit, 717 Madison Place, N.W.,

Washington, D.C. 20005, no later than 30 days after ap-

pellant’s receipt of the Board’s final order or decision.

Any party seeking enforcement of a final decision of

the Board may file a petition for enforcement with the

regional office that rendered the initial decision. Such

petition should be directed to the Regional Director and

must comply with the requirements of 5 C.F.R. 1201.181

(d).

For the Board:

/s/ Judith Krueger

Judith Krueger

Presiding Official

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.