Opposition Brief — Piccinin v. A. H. Robins Co.

Supreme Court brief1986

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED *

SEP 8 1966

No. 86-216

IN THE JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES —

October Term, 1986

COMMITTEE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF

DALKON SHIELD CLAIMANTS,

Petitioner,

ls

A.H. ROBINS COMPANY, INCORPORATED, ET AL.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT AETNA CASUALTY & SURETY

COMPANY'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

John G. Harkins, Jr.*

Jan Z. Krasnowiecki

Edmund B. Spaeth, Jr.

James M. Beck

PEPPER, HAMILTON & SCHEETZ

2001 The Fidelity Building

123 South Broad Street

Philadelphia, PA 19109-1083

(215) 893-3000

Attorneys for Respondent

Aetna Casualty & Surety Company

*Counsel of record for Respondent Aetna Casualty & Surety

Company upon whom service is to be made

PACKARD PRESS / LEGAL DIVISION, 10th & SPRING GARDEN STREETS, PHILA., PA. 19123 (215) 236-2000

a ets iediiiaa, , bee

QUESTION PRESENTED

This is a bankruptcy case in which there are now pending

some 300,000 claims by persons who allege they were injured by

the debtor's product, the Dalkon Shield intrauterine contracep-

tive device. When the bankruptcy petition was filed, approxi-

mately 5,000 of these claims were also pending in various federal!

and state court actions. About half of these actions named other

defendants besides the debtor, including some that named re-

spondent Aetna Casualty & Surety Company (“Aetna’), an in-

surer of the debtor. The question presented is:

Did the District Court, acting as a bankruptcy court, prop-

erly determine that claims pending against Aetna were “related

to’ the bankruptcy and should be transferred to its jurisdiction

from the various courts in which they had originally been filed?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

OURSTION PRESENTED... .2:.2.25 3 eee i

TABLE OF CASES AND AUTHORITIES............. iil

STATEMENT OF THE CASE: oso 5 eee ]

REASONS FOR REFUSING THE PETITION......... 3

1. The Petition Seeks Review Of A Question Which Is

Devoid Of Any Practical Effect ................ 3

bo

. The District Court Has Not Abused Its Discretion

In Temporarily And Conditionally Transferring All

Dalkon Shield Claims To The Eastern District Of

WIR a ix 5 5 A eae ce 4

RAPICLIISROON 6 gees it) OY ee 7

FEE RNG 6556 SN i has RRR Oe eee A-]

Appendix A: Statutes Involved ..................... A-]

Agena Bo cas oe ee A-2

In re A.H. Robins Co., No. 85-01307-R, Order For

Preliminary Injunction (E.D. Va. Oct. 11, 1985)... A-2

In re A.H. Robins Co., Nos. 85-01307-R, 85-1006-R.

Order Pursuant To 28 U.S.C. Sections 157(b)(5) And

1334(b) And 11 U.S.C. Section 105(a) (E.D. Va.

NOV, © 2000). 33 ha6e ee eee A-9

A.H. Robins Co. v. Piccinin, 788 F.2d 994 (4th Cir.

A ko ke 54d oO eee A-]]

Breland v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co., No. 86-0315-

R, Initial Pretrial Order (E.D. Va. Jul. 9, 1985)... A-52

Appendix C: Listing Of Corporate Affiliations Pre-

scribed by Rule 28.1 Of The Rules Of The

Supreme Court Of The United States... . . 4-53

TABLE OF CASES AND AUTHORITIES

Cases:

AH. Robins Co. t. Piccinin, 788 F.2d 994 4th Cir.

ee ha gdssg ide kein ss Sey Dy

Boeing Co. v. Van Gemert, 444 U.S. 472 (1980) ......-.

In re White Motor Credit, 76) F.2d 270 (6th Cir. 1985). .

Northern Pipeline Construction Co. t. Marathon Pipe Line

| ee

Piccinin t. A-H. Robins Co., October Term, 1956, No.

gE ar

Rice v. Sioux City Cemetery, Inc., 349 U.S. 70 (1955) .

Statutes, Rules and Regulations

gates teen ee se ees

i 3,

a a a

3,

Ul

bo

ul

bo

No. 86-216

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1986

COMMITTEE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF

DALKON SHIELD CLAIMANTS,

Petitioner,

v.

A.H. ROBINS COMPANY, INCORPORATED, ET AL...

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT AETNA CASUALTY & SURETY

COMPANY’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

FO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case arises from a Chapter 11 bankruptcy petition filed

in August 1985 by A.H. Robins Company, Incorporated

(“Robins”). The petition was Robins’ response to what the Court

of Appeals accurately described as “an avalanche of actions filed

in various state and federal courts throughout the United States

by citizens of this country as well as of foreign countries seeking

damages for injuries allegedly sustained by the use of an

intrauterine contraceptive device known as a Dalkon Shield,”

which was manufactured by Robins. A.H. Robins Co. vt.

|

2

Piccinin, 788 F.2d 994, 996 (4th Cir. 1986) (A. 12-51). By the time

Robins filed for protection, over $500 million had been spent in

defending and settling thousands of such actions. Id. at 996 n.4

(A. 14). Petitioner, the Committee of Representatives of Dalkon

Shield Claimants (“Committee”), is an official committee ap-

pointed by the bankruptcy trustee to represent the interests of

those who have personal injury tort claims against Robins arising

from the sale or use of the Dalkon Shield.

Robins is not the only defendant named in many of the ac-

tions; plaintiffs have named other defendants, including Robins’

liability insurer, respondent Aetna Casualty & Surety Company

(Aetna). After Robins filed its petition, plaintiffs in a number of

the multi-defendant actions sought to sever Robins and proceed

solely against the remaining defendant(s). In response, Robins

began an adversary proceeding in the United States District

Court for the Eastern District of Virginia, the district where the

Robins bankruptcy case is pending. Robins sought (1) declaratory

relief adjudging Aetna’s liability policy to be an asset of Robins’

estate in which al] Dalkon Shield claimants had an interest, and

(2) injunctive relief staying the prosecution of actions against

non-debtor co-defendants, such as Aetna. Aetna intervened in

the proceeding as a party plaintiff, and the Committee inter-

vened as a party defendant.

After a hearing, the District Court, Judge Robert R.

Merhige, Jr. presiding,! granted both the requested declaratory

relief and the stay by Order dated October 11, 1985 (A.2-5). Nei-

ther of these actions was challenged by the Committee on ap-

peal. On November 9, 1985, the District Court entered the

order that is the subject of this petition. The District Court, by

Order Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Sections 157(b)(5) And 1334(b) And

11] U.S.C. Section 105(a) (A.9-10), found that Dalkon Shield

claims were “related to” the Robins Chapter 11 proceeding and

directed that such claims be transferred to the Eastern District

1. Judge Merhige, an Article III judge, conducted the hearing exercising

his bankruptcy powers in order to avoid the jurisdictional obstacles that would

have confronted a bamkruptey judge in ruling on state law tort claims. See

Northern Pipeline Construction Co. v. Marathon Pipe Line Co., 458 U.S. 50,

87 (1982) (plurality opinion).

of Virginia and there assigned for pretrial proceedings and pos-

sible trials. Order, para. 1-3 (A.9-10). The District Court's Order

was expressly temporary and conditional. The court carefull

provided that nothing in its Order affected its power “to abstain

from hearing... or remanding any particular proceedings.” Id...

para. 4 (A. 10).

It is only the District Court's Order of November 9, 1955

that the Committee appealed to the Court of Appeals for the

Fourth Circuit. The facts of the case, the decision by the Court

of Appeals and the further proceedings that have taken place

before the District Court are fully described in Aetna’s briet in

opposition to the petition for certiorari in Piccinin v. A.A. Robins

Co.. October Term, 1986, No. 86-211 (U.S.), which Aetna in-

corporates herein by reference, except that only those facts rel-

evant to the District Court's November 9, 1955 Order are

pertinent to this petition.

REASONS FOR REFUSING THE PETITION

This case presents no occasion for the issuance of a writ of

certiorati for the reasons fully set forth by the District Court, by

the Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, and in Aetna’s brief

in opposition to the Piccinin certiorari petition. October Term,

1986, No. 86-211. Rather than repeat arguments made in oppo-

sition to the Piccinin petition, Aetna incorporates its brief in

Piccinin by reference, and will limit its arguments here to tea-

tures peculiar to the Committee s petition.

|. The Petition Seeks Review Of A Question Which Is Devoid

Of Any Practical Effect.

By its petition, the Committee is seeking to have this Court

answer an abstract legal question, which would have no impact

on the course of this proceeding As noted, the District Court

entered two separate orders. The first Order, entered October

11, 1985, staved all proceedings in all Dalkon Shield cases

throughout the country, including those against Aetna (A.7), The

Committee did not appeal this stay. A.H. Robins, supra, 755

F.2d at 997 (A.16). Rather, the Committee appealed only from

the District Court's second Order, entered November 9, 1955,

transferring Dalkon Shield claims to the Eastern District of Vir-

ginia. Id. at 998 (A.17).

The Committee's petition is therefore untenable. By failing

to appeal the District Court's Order of October 11, 1955, the

Committee has assented to all proceedings being stayed.? Given

that all proceedings are stayed, this petition presents a purely

theoretical issue, for whether a stayed proceeding is docketed in

California, Virginia or anywhere else is of no practical effect.

Wherever the proceeding is, it will not go forward until the stay

is lifted. This Court “does not sit to satisfy a scholarly interest”

in abstract questions simply because they “may present an in-

tellectually interesting . . . problem.” Rice v. Sioux City Cem-

etery, Inc., 349 U.S. 70, 74 (1955) (dismissing certiorari as

improvidently granted).

2. The District Court Has Not Abused Its Discretion In Tem-

porarily And Conditionally Transferring All Dalkon Shield

Claims To The Eastern District Of Virginia.

The Committee does not now contend, and did not contend

before the Court of Appeals,* that the District Court lacked the

statutory authority to issue its Order of November 9, 1985, trans-

ferring all Dalkon Shield claims, including those against Aetna

to the Eastern District of Virginia. In any event, the contention

would be incorrect, for such authority is expressly conferred

upon the District Court:

The district court shall order that personal injury tort

and wrongful death claims shall be tried in the district court

in which the bankruptcy case is pending, or in the district

court in the district in which the claim arose, as determined

2. As the Committee did not appeal the stay, its contention that the stay

denies claimants their right to a jury trial has been waived, and is not properly

before this Court. Boeing Ce. v. Van Gemert, 444 U.S. 472, 479 n.5 (1980)

3. See 788 F.2d at 1010 (“We do not understand the appellants to contend

that under [28 U.S.C. §157(b\(5)) the district court did pot have authority un-

der this statute to issue an order fixing the venue.) (A.39

———————E—E

by the district court in which the bankruptcy case is pend-

ing.

28 U.S.C. §$157(b\(5).4 Tho Committee's only contention is that

the District Court should not have transferred such cases to it-

self, but instead should have exercised its admitted discretion in

favor of transferring them to the district courts throughout thi

nation in which the claims arose. This contention has no merit

According to the Committee, 28 U.S.C. §157(b)(5) “mani-

festly is designed to decentralize the adjudication of personal

injury claims.” Petition at 7. Nothing in 28 U.S.C. 8157(b)5

itself manifests such a design. To the contrary, the section ex-

pressly gives a district court the power to select venue without

stating any preference for centralization or decentralization.

There being no basis for the Committee's argument in the

language of the statute, the Committee purports to find support

for decentralization of claims from the legislative history of

$157(b)\(5) and from In re White Motor Credit, 761 F.2d 270 (6th

Cir. 1985). The Court of Appeals has analyzed and rejected the

Committee's arguments so fully that no further comment. is

needed:

'Appellants| argue, however, that the sense of the sec

tion, if not its precise language, was to decentralize the trial

of these tort claims and to permit their continuance for trial

in the court in which the complaints were filed and that the

ruling of the district judge in this case fixing venue in the

district court in which the bankruptcy petition was filed flies

in the face of this congressional purpose. They refer to the

language of Senator Dole in commenting on the Senate

Conference Report on the 1954 amendments and construe

it as suggesting that tort claims were to be tried in the court

in which those claims were originally filed. Senator Dole, in

the language to which appellants refer and out of which the

appellants arrive at their finding of the sense of the Con

gress, actually restated simply the language of the statute

t. Aetna has addressed the authority of the District Court in an action

related te t bankrupt v action at |e nuthin Opposition to the Piccinin certiorari

petiiion. Oct Perm, L9YS6. No. S6-211

6

itself. He said that “where abstention does not occur, those

cases |i.@., “personal injury cases’ will be handled by the

district court where the bankruptcy has been filed or, if that

court finds it appropriate, where the claim arose.” State-

ment by Hon. Robert Dole 130 Cong. Rec. S. 8889 (daikv

ed. June 29, 1954), reprinted in, 1984 U.S. Code Cong. &

Ad. News 586, 587. We discern nothing in that language to

warrant the conclusion that, in enacting the statute the Con-

gress favored decentralizing the administration of the bank-

ruptey by leaving all “personal injury cases” to the court in

the place where the claim “arose.” In fact, to accept the

view of the appellants on the construction of the statute

would be completely at variance with the House version of

the bill, which was in effect accepted by the Conference

Committee, and would be to adopt the Senate version,

which, according to Congressman Kastenmeier’s statement

as a House Conference member, was “largely reject|ed]” by

the Conference Committee and “would have dissipated the

assets of the estate by creating a multiplicity of forums for

the adjudication of parts of a bankruptcy case.”

Nor do we find anything in In re White Motor Credit,

761 F.2d 270, 273-74 (6th Cir. 1985), also relied on by the

appellants, that lends support to appellant's construction of

$157(b)(5). The extent of the holding in White Motor was

that the district court had the power under the statute to

allow products liability cases to be tried where the claim

arose; there was nothing in the opinion, however, that de-

clared that such action was mandated or even preferred.

Specifically, there was no statement in the opinion that the

district court in which the bankruptcy was pending could

not try the claim. Unquestionably the district court in this

case had the power under the statute to fix the trial venue

in its district for all the Dalkon Shield cases.

788 F.2d at 1010 (footnotes omitted) (A.39-40). It is therefore

clear, not only that the District Court did not abuse its discre-

tion, but that it exercised its discretion in a proper and judicious

manner, as was found by the Court of Appeals.

ud

i

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of certiorari

should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN G. HARKINS, JR.*

JAN Z. KRASNOWIECKI

EDMUND B. SPAETH, JR.

JAMES M. BECK

Pepper, Hamilton & Scheetz

2001 The Fidelity Building

123 South Broad Street

Philadelphia, PA 19109-1083

(215) 893-3000

Attorneys for Respondent

AETNA CASUALTY & SURETY COMPANY

*Counsel of record for Respondent Aetna Casualty & Surety

Company upon whom service is to be made

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

A-]

APPENDIX A

STATUTES INVOLVED

il U.S.C. §105. Power of court

(a) The court may issue any order, process, or judgment

that is necessary or appropriate to carry out the provisions of this

title.

11 U.S.C. $541. Property of the estate

(a) The commencement of a case under section 301, 302, or

303 of this title creates an estate. Such estate is comprised of all

the following property, wherever located and by whomever

held:

(1) Except as provided in subsections (b) and ‘c)(2) of

this section, all legal or equitable interests of the debtor in

property as of the commencement of the case.

28 U.S.C. §157. Procedures

(b)\(5) The district court shall order that personal injury tort

and wrongful death claims shall be tried in the district court in

which the bankruptcy case is pending, or in the district court in

the district in which the claim arose, as determined by the dis-

trict court in which the bankruptcy case is pending.

28 U.S.C. §1334. Bankruptcy cases and proceedings

(b) Notwithstanding any Act of Congress that confers ex-

clusive jurisdiction on a court or courts other than the district

courts, the district courts shall have original but not exclusive

jurisdiction of all civil proceedings arising under title 11, or aris-

ing in or related to cases under title 11.

A-2

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

Richmond Division

In re Chapter 1]

A. H. ROBINS COMPANY Case No. 85-O1307-R

INCORPORATED

Debtor

Emplovers Tax Identification

No. 54-0456345

A. HE. ROBINS COMPANY Adversary Proceeding

INCORPORATED. No. $5-1006-R

Plaintiff.

U.

NANCY CAMPBELL, KATHRYN Retained Proceeding

CONRAD, JEANETTE DICHARRY

and VERNON DICHARRY, ANNA

PICCININ, LUISA MOSA and )

JACK Mosa, STELLA J. CAMP

and JOHN H. Camp, HELEN

BARNETT and MICHAEL

BARNETT, and EDNA LINDSEY — )

RUMINSKI,

Defendants. — )

ORDER FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION

This cause came on to be heard on plaintiff's motion for

preliminary injunction. The Court having considered plaintiff's

complaint, the memorandum of law and the declarations in sup-

port of the motion and the papers filed in opposition thereto and,

having heard testimony and argument and considered the evi- (

dence presented, the Court adopts its remarks and rulings as |

EE TA Ce at nT 2

A-3

stated from the bench and makes the following findings of fact

conclusions of law, and order for a preliminary injunction pur-

suant to Bankruptey Rule 7065 and Federal Rule of Civil Pro

cedure 65(d), ail objections by opposing counsel being duly

presery ed

Findings of Fact

As of August 21, 1985, the plaintiff in this action, A. H

Robins Company, Incorporated (“Robins”) was named as the de-

fendant in approximately 5,000 civil actions in state and tederal

courts throughout the country alleging injuries and seeking daimn-

ages stemming from Robins’ manufacture and marketing of the

Dalkon Shield intrauterine contraceptive device. Pursuant to 1]

U.S.C. Section 362(a). all litigation against Robins in those ap-

proximately 5,000 civil actions was stayed automatically on Au-

gust 21, 1985 upon filing of Robins petition tor protection from

its creditors under Chapter 11

Approximately 2,400 of those civil actions name persons or

entities other than Robins as co-defendants. Those approxi-

mately 2.400 civil actions seek damages from Robins

co-defendants based upon theories of liability which are deriv-

ative of or interrelated with the causes of action or claims for

relief asserted against Robins. Any judgment rendered against a

Robins co-defendant in any one of those approximately 2,400

civil actions could result in a claim against Robins for either con-

tractual indemnity or commontaw contribution. Although Rob-

ii may be entitled to relitigate the issue of its liability to each

indemnity or contribution claim, the burden on Robins estate of

such litigation would significantly impede Robins reorganization

and render any plan of reorganization futile.

Moreover, many of those 2,400 civil actions against the co-

defendants would require the participation of Robins’ officers,

executives and employees as witnesses and in pre-trial and post-

trial proceedings. The diversion of Robins’ key personnel trom

the reorganization effort which would result from continuation of

litigation in those 2,400 civil actions would impair Robins’ reor-

ganization effort and would be contrary to the public interest.

\-4

The continuation of litigation in those 2.400 civil actions

which name Robins’ co-defendants poses a significant threat to

Robins reorganization effort and could cause a direct and sub-

stantial drain upon the assets of Robins’ Chapter 11 estate. If this

reliet sought is not granted, a rush to judgment will likely ensue.

Such a race to obtain judgments against Robins’ co-defendants

would be detrimental to the debtor and would adversely affect

Robins’ reorganization effort.

Any rejection by the debtor of its contractual duty to in-

demnify its officers, directors, and employees would adversely

attect the debtor and would not be consistent with the debtor's

reorganization under Chapter 11.

Defendant Nancy Campbell has a civil action pending in the

United States District Court for The Western District of Wis-

consin. In her complaint Ms. Campbell asserts claims against

Robins, The Aetna Casualty and Surety Company, E. Claiborne

Robins, Sr., E. Claiborne Robins, Jr. and Dr. Hugh J. Davis.

Ms. Campbell seeks recovery from those defendants under the-

ories of negligence, strict liability, implied and express warran-

ties, misrepresentation, fraud and under the Racketeer

Influcenced and Corrupt Organization Act (“RICO”). The con-

tinuation of litigation in the Campbell Action against any of

Robins’ co-defendants threatens property of the debtor's estate

and threatens to impair and impede the debtor's reorganization

effort.

Defendant Kathryn Conrad has a civil action pending in the

Circuit Court for Baltimore City. In her complaint, Ms. Conrad

asserts claims against Robins, Dr. Hugh J. Davis and Dr.

Frederick A. Clark, Jr. Ms. Conrad seeks recovery from those

defendants under theories of negligence, strict liability, fraud-

ulent misrepresentation and conspiracy. The continuation of lit-

igation in the Conrad action against any of Robins’ co-defendants

threatens property of the debtor's estate and threatens to impair

and impede the debtor's reorganization effort.

Defendants Jeanette Dicharry and Vernon Dicharry have a

civil action pending in The United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Louisiana. In their complaint, the Dicharrys

assert claims against Robins and Aetna Casualty and Surety

A-5

Company (served herein as Aetna Life and Casualty). The

Dicharrys seek recovery from those defendants under theories of

strict liability, negligence, misrepresentation and breach of war-

ranty. The continuation of litigation in the Dicharry Action

against Aetna Casualty and Surety Company threatens property

of the debtor’s estate and threatens to impair and impede the

debtor’s reorganization effort.

Defendant Anna Piccinin has a civil action pending in The

United States District Court for The Middle District of Alabama.

In her complaint, Ms. Piccinin asserts claims against Robins and

The Aetna Casualty and Surety Company. Ms. Piccinin seeks

recovery from those defendants under theories of conspiracy,

fraud, negligence, misrepresentation and breach of warranty.

The continuation of litigation in the Piccinin Action against The

Aetna Casualty and Surety Company will impair and impede the

debtor's reorganization effort.

Defendants Luisa Mosa and Jack Mosa have a civil action

pending in The United States District Court for the District of

Maryland. In their complaint, the Mosas assert claims against

Robins and Dr. Hugh J. Davis. The Mosas seek recovery from

those defendants under theories of fraud and deceit, involuntary

testing and battery, negligence, strict liability, breach of war-

ranty, violation of the Federal Food and Drug Act and conspir-

acy. The continuation of litigation in The Mosa Action against

Dr. Hugh J. Davis threatens property of the debtor's estate and

threatens to impair and impede the debtor's reorganization ef-

fort.

Defendants Stella J. Camp and John H. Camp have a civil

action pending in The Circuit Court for Madison County, Ala-

bama. In their complaint, the Camps assert claims against Rob-

ins, D.L.K., Incorporated and John or Jane Does numbers three

through nine. The Camps seek recovery from those defendants

under theories of negligence, strict liability, misrepresentation,

breach of warranty, conspiracy and fraud. The continuation of

litigation in The Camp Action against any of Robins’

co-defendants threatens to impair and impede the debtor's re-

organization effort.

A-6

Defendants Helen Barnett and Michael Barnett have a civil

action pending in the Circuit Court of the Ninth Judicial Circuit,

Orange County, Florida. In their complaint, the Barnetts assert

claims against Robins, Aetna Casualty and Surety Company,

Florida Physicians Supply, Incorporated and Medical Supply

Company of Jacksonville. The Barnetts seek recovery from those

defendants under theories of willful negligence, fraud and mis-

representation, violation of State and Federal Food and Drug

Acts, strict liability, breach of warranty and battery. The con-

tinuation of litigation in the Barnett Action against any of Robins’

co-defendants threatens property of the debtor's estate and

threatens to impair and impede the debtor's reorganization ef-

fort.

Defendant Edna Lindsey Ruminski has a civil action pend-

ing in the Superior Court for the Judicial District of New Haven,

Connecticut. In her complaint, Ms. Ruminski asserts claims

against Robins and Dr. Marshall R. Holley. Ms. Ruminski seeks

recovery from those defendants under theories of negligence.

The continuation of litigation in the Ruminski Action against Dr.

Marshall R. Holley threatens to impair and impede the debtor's

reorganization effort.

The eight civil actions described above are representative

examples of similar civil actions among the approximately 2,400

civil actions currently pending against Robins which name per-

sons or entities other than Robins as co-defendants. The contin-

uation of litigation in those approximately 2,400 civil actions

against the various categories cf co-defendants represented by’

the eight civil actions described above would pose a serious

threat to the success of the debtor's reorganization and is con-

trary to the public interest.

Conclusions of Law

The District Court exercising its jurisdiction under 28

U.S.C. Sections 1334(b) and (d), has the authority pursuant to 11

U.S.C. Section 105 and 28 U.S.C. Section 1651, to stay all ac-

tions which adversely affect the estate of the debtor and the

debtor's reorganization effort and to stay all actions which wil!

impair and impede the debtor's reorganization effort.

Robins has established that the likelihood of irreparabl:

harm to Robins if this injunction is not granted outweighs th:

likelihood of irreparable harm to the defendants if the injunction

is granted.

Robins has established the likelihood of its success on the

merits and the likelihood of a successful reorganization if it is not

burdened by continued litigation against it and its co-defendants

Robins has established that the granting of this preliminary

injunction is in the public interest.

The conclusions of law contained in this order constitute the

law of this case and shall be applied with equal force to all de

fendants similarly situated who are brought to the attention of

this court.

To the extent any of the foregoing conclusions of law con-

stitute findings of fact, they are to be deemed as such, and vice-

versa.

Order

Based upon the foregoing, and good cause appearing there-

for, it is hereby

DECLARED all available proceeds of liability insurance is-

sued to Robins are property of the debtor's estate pursuant to 11

U.S.C. Section 541 and any civil action seeking a judgment that

might be satisfied from the proceeds of that insurance is auto-

matically stayed pursuant to 1] U.S.C. Section 362(a);

ORDERED defendant Nancy Campbell is enjoined and re-

strained from continuing with litigation against any of the de-

fendants named in Civil Action No. 85-C-230-S currently

pending in the United States District Court for the Western Dis-

trict of Wisconsin; and further

ORDERED defendant Kathryn Conrad is enjoined and re-

strained from continuing with litigation against any of the de-

fendants named in Civil Action No. 85231036 currently pending

in the Circuit Court for the City of Baltimore, State of Maryland;

and further

A-8

ORDERED defendants Jeanette Dicharry and Vernon

Dicharry are enjoined and restrained from continuing with liti-

gation against any of the defendants named in Civil Action No.

85-1243 currently pending in the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Louisiana; and further

ORDERED defendant Anna Piccinin is enjoined and re-

strained from continuing with litigation against any of the de-

fendants named in Civil Action No. CV-85-H-9120-N currently

pending in the United States District Court for the Middle Dis-

trict of Alabama; and further

ORDERED defendants Luisa Mosa and Jack Mosa are en-

joined and restrained from continuing with litigation against any

of the defendants named in Civil Action No. H82-49 currently

pending in the United States District Court for the District of

Maryland; and further

ORDERED defendants Stelia J. Camp and John H. Camp

are enjoined and restrained from continuing with litigation

against any of the defendants named in Civil Action No. CV-85-

671-W currently pending in the Circuit Court for Madison

County, State of Alabama; and further

ORDERED defendants Helen Barnett and Michael Barnett

are enjoined and restrained from continuing with litigation

against any of the defendants named in Civil Action No. 83-5426

currently pending in the Circuit Court for the Ninth Judicial

District, Orange County, State of Florida; and further

ORDERED defendant Edna Lindsey Ruminski is enjoined

and restrained from continuing with litigation against any of the

defendants named in Civil Action No. CV-81-0209979-S cur-

rently pending in the Superior Court for the Judicial District of

New Haven, State of Connecticut.

This injunction shall remain in force until further order of

this Court.

DATED: October 11, 1985

Nunc pro tune 10-9-85

/s/ ROBERT R. MERHIGE, JR.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

A-9

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

Richmond Division

Case No. 85-01307-R

Retained Proceeding

(Judge Merhige)

In Re A. H. ROBINS COMPANY, INCORPORATED

Debtor

EMPLOYER'S TAX IDENTIFICATION NO. 54-0486348

ORDER PURSUANT TO

28 U.S.C. SECTIONS 157(b)(5) AND 1334(b)

AND 11 U.S.C. SECTION 105(a)

Upon the motion of A. H. Robins Company, Incorporated

(“Robins”), for orders pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Sections 157(b)(5)

and 1334(b), and 11 U.S.C. Section 105(a) for determination of

trial venue, identification of cases “related to” this Chapter 11

case and transfer of cases; the Court having considered the mo-

tion, the memorandum of law, the Statement of Financial Affairs

For Debtor Engaged in Business Question 12 (Exhibit 1), and

having heard the arguments of counsel and good cause appearing

therefor, it is hereby

ORDERED, pursuant to Sections 157(b)(5) and 1334(b) of

Title 28 of the United States Code, that to the extent personal

injury tort or wrongful death actions against Robins or any other

defendant that are related to the Robins Chapter 11 case are to

be tried in a district court, such action shall be tried in the Rich-

mond Division of the United States District Court for the East-

ern District of Virginia; and it is further

ORDERED, pursuant to Section 1334(b) of Title 28 of the

United States Code, that all actions based upon personal injury

tort or wrongful death claims arising from the use of the Dalkon

Shield intrauterine contraceptive device are proceedings related

to this Chapter 11 case over which this Court has jurisdiction;

and it is further

A-10

ORDERED that all actions related to the Robins Chapter

11 case, as determined by this Order, now pending in any federal

district court or subsequently removed to any federal district

court during the pendency of this Chapter 11 case, be trans-

ferred by the Clerks of those Courts to this Court; and it is fur-

ther

ORDERED that nothing contained herein shall affect or

limit the power of this Court to abstain from hearing any par-

ticular proceeding under Section 1334(c)(1) of the United States

Code or remanding any particular proceeding under Section

1452(b) of the United States Code.

/s/ ROBERT R. MERHIGE, JR.

U.S. District Judge

DATED: November 9, 1985

We ask for this:

/s/ CLIFFORD W. PERRIN, JR.

William R. Cogar

Clifford W. Perrin, Jr.

Mays, Valentine, Davenport

& Moore

Post Office Box 1122

Richmond, Virginia 23208

Patrick A. Murphy

Penn Ayers Butler

Murphy, Weir & Butler

101 California Street, 39th Floor

San Francisco, California 94111

o Ser eR

A-11

A. H. ROBINS COMPANY,

INCORPORATED,

Appellee,

v.

Anna PICCININ

Appellant,

and

Nancy Campbell, Kathryn Conrad, Jeanette Dicharry, Vernon

Dicharry, Luisa Mosa, Stella J. Camp, John H. Camp,

Helen Barnett, Michael Barnett, and Edna _ Lindsey

Ruminski, Defendants.

Aetna Casualty and Surety Company,

Intervenor/Appellee.

In re A. H. ROBINS COMPANY, INCORPORATED

Debtor.

A. H. ROBINS COMPANY, INCORPORATED,

Appellee,

v.

COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVES OF

DALKON SHIELD CLAIMANTS,

Appellants.

AETNA CASUALTY AND SURETY COMPANY,

Intervenor/Appellee.

In re A. H. ROBINS COMPANY, INCORPORATED,

Debtor.

A. H. ROBINS COMPANY, INCORPORATED,

Appellee,

v.

KATHRYN CONRAD, LUISA AND JACK MOsSA,

Appellants.

In re A. H. ROBINS COMPANY, INC.,

Debtor.

A. H. ROBINS COMPANY, INC.,

Appellee,

v.

ANNA PICCININ,

Appellant.

A-12

Nos. 85-2183 to 85-2188.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fourth Circuit.

Argued Dec. 3, 1985.

Decided April 10, 1986.

Rehearing Denied May 14, 1986.

Debtor sought preliminary injunction restraining prosecu-

tion of products liability actions against codefendants. The

United States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia,

Robert R. Merhige, Jr., J., granted preliminary injunction, and

products liability plaintiffs appealed. The Court of Appeals,

Donald Russell, Circuit Judge, held that: (1) debtor was entitled

to preliminary injunction, and (2) district court had jurisdiction

to fix venue for trial of all products liability cases and provide for

transfer of cases to district in which bankruptcy court was sitting.

Affirmed in part and remanded with directions.

C. Neal Pope (Max R. McGlamry, Pope, Kellogg,

McGlamry, Kilpatrick & Morrison, Atlanta, Ga., Robert. L.

Dolbeare, Richmond, Va., on brief), for appellant Anna Piccinin.

H. Robert Erwin, Jr. (Pret] & Schultheis, P.A., Baltimore,

Md., on brief) for appellants Kathryn Conrad, Luisa Mosa and

Jack Mosa.

Mark C. Ellenberg (Murray Drabkin; Cadwalader,

Wickersham & Taft, Washington, D.C., George B. Little, L.B.

Cann, III, Little, Parsley & Cluverius, P.C., Richmond, Va., on

brief), for appellant Committee of Representatives of Dalkon

Shield Claimants.

Patrick A. Murphy (Penn Ayers Butler, Michael Kip Maly,

Murphy, Weir & Butler, San Francisco, Cal., William K. Cogar,

Bradfute W. Davenport, Jr., Clifford W. Perrin, Jr., James S.

Crockett, Jr., Mays, Valentine, Davenport & Moore, Richmond,

Va., on brief), for appellee.

Jan Z. Krasnowiecki, Pepper, Hamilton & Scheetz, Phila-

delphia, Pa., for intervenor.

A-13

Before RUSSELL and CHAPMAN, Circuit Judges, and

SWYGERT, Senior Circuit Judge of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, sitting by designation.

DONALD RUSSELL, Circuit Judge:

Confronted, if not overwhelmed, with an avalanche of ac-

tions filed in various state and federal courts throughout the

United States by citizens of this country as well as of foreign

countries seeking damages for injuries allegedly sustained by the

use of an intrauterine contraceptive device known as a Dalkon

Shield,! the manufacturer of the device, A.H. Robins Company,

Incorporated (Robins) filed its petition under Chapter 11 of the

Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C. §§101 et seq., August, 1985.

Background

The device, which is the subject of these suits, had been

developed in the 1960's by Dr. Hugh Davis at the Johns Hopkins

Hospital! in Baltimore, Maryland.2 In mid-1970 Robins acquired

all patent and marketing rights to the Dalkon Shield and engaged

in the manufacture and marketing of the device from early 1971

until 1974, when it discontinued manufacture and sale of the

device because of complaints and suits charging injuries arising

allegedly out of the use of the device. The institution of Dalkon

Shield suits did not, however, moderate with the discontinuance

of manufacture of the device, since Robins did not actually recall

the device until 1984.3 By the middle of 1985, when the Chapter

11 petition was filed the number of such suits arising out of the

continued sale and use of the Dalkon Shield device earlier put

into the stream of commerce by Robins had grown to 5,000.

More than half of these pending cases named Robins as the sole

defendant; a co-defendant or co-defendants were named in the

1. For the current FDA regulation on intrauterine devices, see 21 C.F.R.

§310.502 (1984).

2. Book Note, 99 Harv.L.Rev. 875 (1986) (reviewing Engelmayer and

Wagman, Lord’s Justice: One Judge's Battle to Expose the Deadly Dalkon

Shield 1.U.D. (1985)).

3. In response to that recall, Engelmayer & Wagman, supra, note 2, at

878, n. 8, state that 4,500 women had removed the shield as of August, 1985,

at a cost of $1,600,000.

A-14

others. Prior to the filing, a number of suits had been tried and.

while Robins had prevailed in some of the actions, judgments in

large and burdensome amounts had been recovered in others.

Many more had been settled.4 Moreover, the costs of defending

these suits both to Robins and to its insurance carrier had risen

into the millions. A large amount of the time and energies of

Robins’ officers and executives was also being absorbed in pre-

paring material for trial and in attending and testifying at dep-

ositions and trials. The problems arising out of this mounting tide

of claims and suits precipitated this Chapter 11 proceeding.

The filing of the Chapter 11 petition automatically stayed all

suits against Robins itself under section 362(a) of the Bankruptcy

Code, even though no formal order of stay was immediately en-

tered. See In re Larmar Estates, 5° B.R. 328, 330

(Bankr. E.D.N.Y. 1980). But a number of plaintiffs in suits where

there were defendants other than Robins, sought to sever their

actions against Robins and to proceed with their claims against

the co-defendant or co-defendants. Robins responded to the

move by filing an adversary proceeding in which it named as

defendants the plaintiffs in eight such suits pending in various

state and federal courts. In that proceeding, the debtor sought (1)

declaratory relief adjudging that the debtor's products liability

policy with Aetna Casualty and Insurance Company (Aetna) was

an asset of the estate in which all the Dalkon Shield plaintiffs and

claimants had an interest and (2) injunctive relief restraining the

prosecution of the actions against its co-defendants. Service of

the summons and complaint in that adversary proceeding, a

memorandum of law in support of the motion for a preliminary

injunction therein, a notice of the debtor’s intention to apply for

a temporary restraining order, a copy of the proposed temporary

restraining order and affidavits in support were duly mailed by

4. Engelmayer & Wagman, supra, note 2, at 876, n. 6, state that of the

approximately 7,500 Dalkon Shield cases settled from 1972 to February 1955,

fewer than 40 went to a jury.

A recent article in the Nat. L.J., p. 10 (March 17, 1986), states that by mid

1985, Robins, along with its insurer, Aetna Casualty & Surety Company, “had

paid roughly $517 million for 25 trial judgments and 9,300 settlements since the

first verdict in 1975.”

A-15

first-class mail and by Federal Express to all the defendants and

their attorneys at their addresses. See Bankruptcy Rule 7004 and

Rule 4, Fed. R.Civ.P.

The debtor's application for a temporary restraining order

and for the setting of a date for a hearing on the request for

preliminary injunction in the adversary proceeding was heard ex

parte by the district judge who had jurisdiction over the pro-

ceedings.® The district judge granted at the time a temporary

restraining order in the proceedings and set a hearing on the

debtor's application for a preliminary injunction. On that same

day, Robins mailed by first-class mail and by Federal Express to

all the defendants and their attorneys at their addresses “Notice

of Hearing on Plaintiff's Motion for Preliminary Injunction.”

At the hearing on the motion for a preliminary injunction,

a number of defendants as well as the Committee constituted by

the court to represent Dalkon Shield Claimants appeared by

counsel.® At the commencement of the hearing the defendant

Piccinin, a plaintiff in one of the Dalkon Shield actions which

Robins sought to stay, filed through her attorney a written mo-

tion to dismiss as against her. No other defendant filed a motion

in response to the motion for a preliminary injunction. After re-

ceiving certain testimony, adinitting va-ious records, and hear-

ing arguments of parties, the district court granted Robins

request for a preliminary injunction.

In his order granting the preliminary injunction, the district

judge found (1) that continuation of litigation in the civil actions

threatened property of Robins’ estate, burdened and impeded

Robins’ reorganization effort, contravened the public interest,

5. Section 104 of the 1984 Amendments to the Bankruptcy Code provides

that “[iJn each judicial district, the bankruptcy judges in regular active service

shall constitute a unit of the district court to be known as the bankruptcy court

for the district. Each bankruptcy judge . . . may exercise the authority con-

ferred under this chapter . . . except as otherwise provided by law or by rule

or order of the district court.”

6. For a discussion of the authorization for and responsibilities of such

Committees, see Note, The Chapter 11 Creditors Committee; Statutory

Watchdog? 2 Bankr. Dev.J., 247 (1955)).

A-16

and rendered any plan of reorganization futile: (2) that this bur-

den on Robins’ estate outweighed any burden on the Dalkon

claimants caused by enjoining their civil actions; and (3) that all

remaining insurance coverage in favor of the debtor under its

liability policy issued by Aetna was property of the Robins’ Chap-

ter 11 estate. The district judge then held that all actions for

damages that might be satisfied from proceeds of the Aetna in-

surance policy were subject to the stay pursuant to 11 U.S.C.

§362(a)(3) and enjoined further litigation in the eight civil ac-

tions, pursuant to 11] U.S.C. §362(a)(1), (3) as supplemented by

1] U.S.C. §105.

Only the defendants Piccinin, the Mosas, and Conrad filed

timely notices of appeal from the grant of the preliminary in-

junction. Their appeals, questioning the propriety of that pre-

liminary injunction as against suits by Robins co-defendants is

the first of the issues now before this Court.

Some three weeks after entry of the preliminary injunction,

Robins filed a motion for (1) a determination of trial venue of all

Dalkon Shield suits, (2) identification of such Daikon Shield

cases as were “related to” the Chapter 11] case, and (3) transfer

of such cases to the Eastern District of Virginia for trial. It also

requested an expedited hearing on these motions. This request

for an expedited hearing was granted and the expedited hearing

was set ten days later. Notice of the hearing was given the Rep-

resentatives of the Dalkon Shield Claimants Committee and the

Unsecured Creditors Committee. The Committees and the de-

fendants Piccinin, the Mosas and Conrad appeared by counsel at

the hearing and joined in entering objections to the motion.

After a hearing on the motions, the district judge entered an

order holding that (1) pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1334(b), all actions

based upon personal injury tort or wrongful death claims arising

from the use of the Dalkon Shield were proceedings related to

this Chapter 11 case over which this court had jurisdiction; (2)

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§157(b\(5)* and 1334(b), all such actions,

7. In Chatz & Schumm, 1954 Bankruptcy Code Amendments—Fresh

from the Anvil, 89 Com. L.J., 317, 319-20 (1984), the authors refer to these two

sections as the “critical sections” of the Amendments, establishing as they do

what “a bankruptcy court Can and cannot do.”

Se ee Ne Leen ee ee

A-17

wherever pending, were to be tried in the Richmond Division of

the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Vir-

ginia; (3) all actions related to the Robins’ Chapter 11 case now

pending in any federal district court or subsequently removed to

any federal district court, during the pendency of this Chapter 11

case, were to be transferred to this court {the Richmond Division

of the United States District Court]; and (4) nothing in the order

limited the power of this court [the Richmond Division of the

United States District Court] later to abstain from hearing any

proceeding under section 1334(c)(1) or remanding under section

1452(b), 28 U.S.C.

From this order, the Committee of Representatives of

Dalkon Shield Claimants and the defendant Piccinin have ap-

pealed.* This appeal poses the second issue on appeal.

I.

The initial question in the appeal of the first issue relates to

the court's jurisdiction to grant a stay or injunction of suits in

other courts against co-defendants of the debtor or of third par-

ties; none of the parties herein contest the jurisdiction of the

bankruptcy court to stay actions against the debtor itself in any

court. Jurisdiction over suits involving co-defendants or third-

parties may be bottomed on two statutory provisions of the Bank-

ruptcy Act itselfas well as on the general equitable powers of the

court. The first of these statutory grants of jurisdiction is found

in section 362, 11 U.S.C. The purpose of this section by its var-

ious subsections is to protect the debtor from an uncontrollable

scramble for its assets in a number of uncoordinated proceedings

in different courts, to preclude one creditor from pursuing a rem-

edy to the disadvantage of other creditors, and to provide the

debtor and its executives with a reasonable respite from pro-

tracted litigation, during which they may have an epportunity to

formulate a plan of reorganization for the debtor. Matter of

Holtkamp, 669 F.2d 505, 508 (7th Cir. 1982). As the Court in

Fidelity Mortg. Investors v. Camelia Builders, Inc., 550 F.2d 47,

8. An order of the Honorable H. Emory Widener, Jr., after a motion for

a stay pending appeal, permitted Aetna to intervene. Aetna appears in the

appeal.

A-18

55 (2d Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 1093, 97 S.Ct. 1107, 51

L.Ed.2d 540, put it, “[t]he stay insures that the debtor’s affairs

will be centralized, initially, in a single forum in order to prevent

conflicting judgments from different courts and in order to har-

monize all of the creditors’ interests with one another.”

Section 362 is broken down into several subsections, only

two of which are relevant on this appeal. The first of such sub-

sections is (a)(1), which imposes an automatic stay of any pro-

ceeding “commenced or [that] could have been commenced

against the debtor’ at the time of the filing of the Chapter 11]

proceeding; the second is (a)(3), which provides similar relief

against suits involving the possession or custody of property of

the debtor, irrespective of whether the suits are against the

debtor alone or others. We shall discuss the extent of jurisdiction

given the bankruptcy court under these two subsections, begin-

ning with (a)(1).

(a)

Subsection (a)(1) is generally said to be available only to the

debtor, not third party defendants or co-defendants. The ratio-

nale for this narrow construction of the statute has been stated in

Lynch v. Johns-Manville Sales Corp., 710 F.2d 1194, 1196-97

(6th Cir. 1983), and in our own case of Williford v. Armstrong

World Industries, Inc., 715 F.2d 124, 126-27 (4th Cir. 1983), and

it need not be repeated here. However, as the Court in Johns-

Manrille Sales Corp., 26 B.R. 405, 410 (S.D.N.Y. 1983) re-

mar ed, in discussing the oft-cited case, Royal Trucks & Trailer

v. Armadors Meritina Salvadoreana, 10 B.R. 488, 491,

(N.D.III.1981),° “there are cases [under 362(a)(1)] where a bank-

ruptcy court may properly stay the proceedings against

non-bankrupt co-defendants” but, it adds, that in order for relief

for such non-bankrupt defendants to be available under (a)(1),

there must be “unusual circumstances” and certainly “ ‘[s]ome-

thing more than the mere fact that one of the parties to the law-

suit has filed a Chapter 11 bankruptcy must be shown in order

that proceedings be stayed against non-bankrupt parties.’ ” This

“unusual situation,” it would seem, arises when there is such

Y. This case is generally cited on the strict construction of this subsection.

A-19

identity between the debtor and the third-party defendant that

the debtor may be said to be the real party defendant and that

a judgment against the third-party defendant will in effect be a

judgment or finding against the debtor. An illustration of such a

situation would be a suit against a third-party who is entitled to

absolute indemnity by the debtor on account of any judgment

that might result against them in the case. To refuse application

of the statutory stay in that case would defeat the very purpose

and intent of the statute. This fact was recognized by the court

in In Re Metal Center, 31 B.R. 458 (D.Conn. 1983).

In Metal Center the third-party plaintiff had been sued,

along with the debtor, on his guaranty of the debtor's obligation.

The third-party was entitled to be indemnified by the debtor on

account of any judgment rendered against him because of his

guaranty. While the action against both the debtor and the guar-

antor was pending, the debtor filed its Chapter 11 petition. The

action was stayed against the debtor but the plaintiff sought to

continue his suit against the guarantor. The guarantor at this

point moved to stay the action as against him. The bankruptcy

court reviewed the motion because of the possible “effect upon

the debtor of a state court judgment against Gardner [the

guarantor].” In discussing the issue, the court first dismissed as

inapplicable to the facts of this case the situation where the third-

party defendant was “independently liable as, for example,

where the debtor and another are joint tort feasors or where the

nondebtor’s liability rests upon his own breach of duty.” It noted

that in such a case “the automatic stay would clearly not extend

to such non debtor.” But, in contrast to those situations, it de-

clared that “where, however, a debtor and nondebtor are so

bound by statute or contract that the liability of the nondebtor is

imputed to the debtor by operation of law, then the Congres-

sional intent to provide relief to debtors would be frustrated by

permitting indirectly what is expressly prohibited in the Code.”

It concluded with the statement: “Clearly the debtor's protection

must be extended to enjoin litigation against others if the result

would be binding upon the debtor's estate,” and this is so,

whether the debtor is a party or not. 31 B.R. at 462.

A-20

It is true that, although the third-party defendant in Metal

Center was found to be entitled to indemnity from the debtor,

the court held that the situation was not such as to qualify for a

stay under section 362(a)(1). The court reached this conclusion

because in its opinion the judgment in the suit against the third-

party would not be binding on the bankruptcy court. Of course,

if the indemnitee, who has suffered a judgment for which le is

entitled to be absolutely indemnified by the debtor, cannot file

and have allowed as an adjudicated claim the actual amount of

the judgment he has secured but must submit his claim for al-

lowance in the bankruptcy proceeding with the prospect that his

claim may not be allowed in the full amount of the judgment

awarded in favor of him, the indemnitee will be unfairly mulcted

by inconsistent judgments and his contract of indemnit® in effect

nullified. We do not accept such reasoning with its shocking re-

sult and would find a stay under (a)(1) acceptable. Apparently the

court in Metal Center recognized the inconsistency and the in-

justice resulting from its refusal to sustain a stay under (a)(1) for

it did grant a stay of the action against the third-party but on

equitable grounds, finding in justification that “severing and re-

manding |the plaintiff's action against the indemnitee to the

state court for trial and judgment would] . . . potentially ex-

pose|s] Gardner [the indemnitee] to inconsistent judgments.” 31

B.R. at 463. While, as we have said, it seems that a ruling sus-

taining the stay in that case under section 362(a)(1) would have

been more logical and appropriate, it is unimportant whether the

stay is granted under section 362(a)(1) or on equitable grounds:

the result is the same; a stay is proper in such a situation.

In Seybolt v. Bio-Energy of Lincoln, Inc., 38 B.R. 123

(D. Mass. 1984), the issue was similar to that in Metal Center, i.e.,

whether a guarantor entitled to indemnity by the debtor would

be entitled to seek a stay under section 362(a)(1). In granting the

stay in that case, the Court, after quoting the language of Metal

Center with respect to the case in which “the liability of the

non-debtor is imputed to the debtor by operation of law,” said:

The concept that notice and an opportunity to detend binds

the principal on a judgment against a guarantor (in a case in

A-2]

which the principal did not participate) springs from notions

of res judicata. If George Seybolt recovers a judgment

against the guarantors in the state court, Bio-Energy

Associates’ assertion that the $100,000 was not a loan but a

contribution to capital may well be rendered moot wier te

guarantor subsequently asserts a claim against it for indem-

nity. At the very least, the dual litigation of these issues in

the state court and the bankruptcy court is not judicially

economic and potentially exposes Bio-Energy, Inc. and Bio-

Energy Associates to inconsistent judgments. See In Re

Metal Center, Inc., supra, at 463.

Accordingly, I find that George Seybolt's claims against

the individual guarantors are within this Court's jurisdiction

and should be stayed until an appropriate motion for relief

from stay is filed and granted by the bankruptcy court. 38

B.R. at 127-28.

In Re Brentano's, 27 B.R. 90(S.D.N.Y. 1983), also involved

the situation of a guarantor of a debtor in a Chapter 11 proceed-

ing who was entitled under contract to indemnity by the debtor

against any judgement against him. While the case did not di-

rectly concern section 362 but the question of bankruptcy juris-

diction, the language of the court appears relevant on the issue

under review here. It said that the action against the guarantor-

indemnitee “could and would affect the estate in bankruptcy, ”

since, under the indemnity agreement, “a judgment in favor of

the [plaintiff] in the guaranty action would automatically result in

indemnification liability against Brentano's’ [i.e., the indemni-

tor]. Accepting this language one would have difficulty in not

concluding that the action was in effect one against the debtor

and as such would qualify for relief under (a)(1). Brentano's is

cited and discussed in Pacor, Inc. v. Higgins, 743 F.2d 984, 995

(3d Cir. 1984), which was an asbestos case. The issue in Pacor,

as in Brentano's, was one of bankruptcy jurisdiction. The court

described the facts in Brentano's and stated the resulting legal

situation as follows:

A-22

In Brentano's, however, it is clear that the action be-

tween the landlord and MacMillan could and would affect

the estate in bankruptcy. By virtue of the indemnification

agreement between Brentano's and MacMillan, a judgment

in favor of the landlord on the guarantee action would au-

tomatically result in indemnification liability against

Brentano's. See also In re Johnie T. Patton, Inc., 12 B.R.

470 (Bankr. D. Nev. 1981); In re Lucasa International, Ltd.,

6 B.R. 717 (Bankr.S.D.N.Y. 1980); In re Brothers Coal Co..,

6 B.R. 567 (Bankr. W.D. Va. i980) (all involving guarantors

of debtor's obligations). Moreover, even in the absence of an

explicit indemnification agreement, an action by a creditor

against a guarantor of a debtor's obligations will necessarily

affect that that [sic| the creditor's status vis a vis other cred-

itors, and administration of the estate therefore depends

upon the outcome of that litigation. 743 F.2d at 995.

Pacor, however, found Brentano's inapplicable in its case be-

cause:

In this case, however, there would be no automatic cre-

ation of liability against Manville on account of a judgment

against Pacor. Pacor is not a contractual guarantor of

Maiville, nor has Manville agreed to indemnify Pacor, and

thus a judgment in the Higgins-Pacor action could not give

rise to any automatic liability on the part of the estate. 743

F.2d at 995.

The clear implication of the decision is that, if there had been a

contract to indemnify, a contrary result would have been in or-

der. :

A-23

(b)

But (a)(1), which stays actions against the debtor and argu-

ably against those whose interests are so intimately intertwined

with those of the debtor that the latter may be said to be the real

party in interest, is not the only part of section 362 providing for

an automatic stay of proceedings. Subsection (a)(3) directs stays

of any action, whether against the debtor or third-parties, to

obtain possession or to exercise control over property of the

debtor. A key phrase in the construction and application of this

section is, of course, “property” as that term is used in the Act.

Section 541(a)(1) of the Bankruptcy Act defines “property” in the

bankruptcy context. It provides that the “estate is comprised of

all the following property, wherever located . . . all legal or eq-

uitable interests of the debtor in property as of the commence-

ment of the case.” The Supreme Court in construing this

language in United States v. Whiting Pools, Inc., 462 U.S. 198,

205, n. 9, 103 §.Ct. 2309, 2313, n. 9, 76 L.Ed.2d 515, quoted

this language in the legislative history of the Section:

The scope of this paragraph [541{a)(1)] is broad. It in-

cluded all kinds of property including tangible or intangible

property, causes of action (see Bankruptcy Act §70a(6)), and

all other forms of property currently specified in section 70a

of the Bankruptcy Act.

Under the weight of authority, insurance contracts have

been said to be embraced in this statutory definition of

“property.” In re Davis, 730 F.2d 176, 184 (5th Cir. 1984). For

example, even the right to cancel an insurance policy issued to

the debtor has uniformly been held to be stayed under section

362(a)(3). Lam, Cancellation of Insurance: Bankruptcy Auto-

matic Stay Implications, 59 Am.Bank, L.J., 267 (1985), (exten-

sively reviewing the cases to this effect). A products liability

policy of the debtor is similarly within the principle: it is a valu-

able property of a debtor, particularly, if the debtor is confronted

with substantial liability claims within the coverage of the policy

in which case the policy may well be, as one court has remarked

in a case like the one under review, “the most important asset of

[i.e., the debtor's] estate,” In re Johns Manville Corp., 40 B.R.

A-24

219, 229 (§.D.N.Y.1984). Any action in which the judgment may

diminish this “important asset” is unquestionably subject to a

stay under this subsection. In re Johns Manville Corp., 33 B.R.

254, 261 (S.D.N.Y.1983). Accordingly actions “related to” the

bankruptcy proceedings against the insurer or against officers or

employees of the debtor who may be entitled to indemnification

under such policy or who qualify as additional insureds under the

policy are to be stayed under section 362(a)(3). [bid .!°

(c)

The statutory power of the bankruptcy court to stay actions

involving the debtor or its property is not, however, limited to

section 362(a)(1) and (a)(3). It has been repeatedly held that 11

U.S.C. §105 which provides that the bankruptcy court “may is-

sue any order, process, or judgment that is necessary or appro-

priate to carry out the provisions of this title,” “empowers the

bankruptcy court to enjoin parties other than the bankrupt” from

commencing or continuing litigation. In re Otero Mills, Inc., 25

B.R. 1018, 1020 (D.N.M.1982).!! In that case, the Court said:

10. There is nothing in In Re White Motor Credit, 761 F.2d 270, 274 (6th

Cir. 1985) in any way contrary to this conclusion; in fact, it sustains the con-

struction of the statute adopted by us. In White, the parties were in agreement

that the products liability insurance was adequate to cover all claims filed but

the court cautioned that had this not been so, the result in that case would have

been different:

Were it not for the fact that all parties are in agreement that the

insurance coverage is adequate to cover all filed claims, it would be nec-

essary to liquidate all claims before any insurance was paid out; otherwise

some claimants would receive an unequal portion of the insurance assets

of the debtor.

It is obvious from that statement of the court that White actually sustains

the result reached by us that, if the liability insurance is inadequate to satisfy

in full all claims under the insurance, the actions by claimants should be stayed

and the claims should be “liquidated” in the bankruptcy court.

11. There can be no dispute that the Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978 and

like language later in section 1334(b) of the Bankruptcy Amendments of 1984

greatly enlarged the jurisdiction of the bankruptcy courts and were, as stated

in the legislative history, intended to “leave no doubt as to the scope of the

bankruptcy court’s jurisdiction over disputes.” H.Rep. No. 95-595, 95th

Cong. 2d Sess. 445, reprinted in 1978 U.S., Code Cong. & Adm. News, 5963,

A-25

Appellant cites only one case decided under the 1978

Bankruptcy Code which found that the bankruptcy court

lacked [under §105] the power to enjoin parties from pur-

suing actions against non-bankrupts in state court. In re

Aboussie Brothers Construction Co., 8 B.R. 302

(E.D.Mo.1981). In Aboussie, the court did not address

§105(a), but relied on cases decided under the old Bank-

ruptcy Act to hold that there was no jurisdiction to enjoin

parties from pursuing actions which did not involve the

bankrupt directly. The pre-1978 Act confined jurisdiction to

“the debtor and his property, wherever located.” Act of

June 22, 1938, ch. 575, $1, 52 Stat. 906 (1938). Under the

new Bankruptcy Code, the jurisdictional statute provides

that the bankruptcy court shall have jurisdiction “of all civil

proceedings arising under title 11 or arising in or related to

cases under title 11.” 28 U.S.C.A. $1471 (Supp. 1982). This

broader jurisdictional statute, combined with §105(a),

6401. Those sections provide jurisdiction in the bankruptcy case over any pro-

ceedings arising in or related to a title 11 case. The accepted definition of the

“related to” in these statutes is that declared in Pacor, Inc. v. Higgins, 743 F.2d

984, 994 (3d Cir. 1984):

An action is related to bankruptcy if the outcome could alter the

debtor's rights, liabilities, options or freedom of action (either positively or

negatively) and which in any way impacts upon the handling and admin-

istration of the bankrupt estate.

See also Note, Selective Exercise of Jurisdiction in Bankruptcy-Related Civil

Proceedings, 59 Tex. L.Rev. 325, 330-31 (1981):

One can imagine controversies over which the new bankruptcy courts

{under 1471(b)] would have jurisdiction even if neither the debtor nor a

representative of the estate were a party, and it is difficult to imagine any

instance in which a bankruptcy court would not have jurisdiction if the

debtor were a party.

It is true that both Pacor and the Texas Note were referring to section 1471(b)

of the 1978 Act. That section, however, was re-enacted in the exact words of

the repealed 1471(b) in section 1334(a) and (b) of the 1984 Act. Therefore, “[t]he

jurisdiction conferred on the district court [under the 1984 Act’s section 1334(a)

and (b)] is exactly the same jurisdiction that was conferred on the district courts

under the Bankruptcy Reform Act [of 1978].” Taggart, The New Bankruptcy

Court Systems, 59 Am.Bank.L.J. 231, 239 (1985). To the same effect, King,

Jurisdiction and Procedure Under the Bankruptcy Amendments of 1984, 38

Vand. L. Rev. 675, 677 (1985).

A-26

grants the bankruptcy court power to enjoin parties from

proceeding in state court against non-bankrupts where the

state proceeding is related to a case arising under Title 11,

25 B.R. at 1020.

In stating the same scope for section 105, the Court in

Johns-Manville Corp., 26 B.R. 420, 425 (S.D.N.Y.1983), quot-

ing from 2 Collier on Bankruptcy §§362.02 and 362.05 (15th ed.

1982), put the matter thus:

[Section 362 of the Code} does not attempt to state the

jurisdiction of the bankruptcy court with respect to stays

and injunctive relief or to determine the boundaries of the

exercise of the court's injunctive power.

Section 105 which is the successor to Section 2A(15),

gives the court the power to issue any order, process or

judgment that is necessary or appropriate to carry out the

provisions of this title.

[T]he exceptions to the automatic stay of §362(a) which

are set forth in §362(b) are simply exceptions to the stay

which protect the estate automatically at the commence-

ment of the case and are not limitations upon the jurisdic-

tion of the bankruptcy court or upon its power to enjoin.

That power is generally based upon §105 of the Code. The

court will have ample power to enjoin actions excepted from

the automatic stay which might interfere in the rehabilita-

tive process whether in a liquidation or in a reorganization

case.

See to the same effect, In Re Landmark, 19 B.R. 556, 559

(N.D.Ohio 1982); In Re Larmar Estates, Inc., 5 B.R. 328, 330-31

(S.D.N.Y.1980).

Accepting that section 105 confers on the bankruptcy court

power under its expanded jurisdiction as expressed in section

1471(b) [28 U.S.C.] of the Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978 and

now section 1334(b), 28 U.S.C. of the 1984 Bankruptcy Amend-

ments to enjoin suits against parties in other courts, whether

state or federal, it is necessary to mark out the circumstances

A-27

under which the power or jurisdiction may -* exercised. In

Otero Mills, supra, the Court approved a ruling that “{t]o so

enjoin a creditor's action against a third party, the court must

find that failure to enjoin would effect [sic] the bankruptcy estate

and would adversely or detrimentally influence and pressure the

debtor through the third party.” 25 B.R. at 1020. In Johns-

Manville, the Court phrased somewhat fuller the circumstances

when section 105 may support a stay:

In the exercise of its authority under §105, the Bank-

ruptcy Court may use its injunctive authority to “protect the

integrity of a bankrupt’s estate and the Bankruptcy Court’s

custody thereof and to preserve to that Court the ability to

exercise the authority delegated to it by Congress” [citing

authority]. Pursuant to the exercise of that authority the

Court may issue or extend stays to enjoin a variety of pro-

ceedings [including discovery against the debtor or its of-

ficers and employees] which will have an adverse impact on

the Debtor's ability to formulate a Chapter 11 plan 40

B.R. at 226.

(d)

Beyond these statutory powers under section 362 and sec-

tion 105 to enjoin other actions whether against the debtor or

third-parties and in whatsoever court, the bankruptcy court un-

der its comprehensive jurisdiction as conferred by section 1334,

28 U.S.C., has the “inherent power of courts under their general

equity powers and in the efficient management of the dockets to

grant relief” to grant a stay. Williford v. Armstrong World In-

dustries, Inc., supra, 715 F.2d at 127, Austin v. Unarco Indus-

tries, Inc., 705 F.2d 1, 5 (1st Cir. 1983). In exercising such power

the court, however, must “weigh competing interests and main-

tain an even balance” and must justify the stay “by clear and

convincing circumstances outweighing potential harm to the

party against whom it is operative.” Williford, supra, Metal Cen-

ter and Seybolt, discussed supra, are illustrative of situations in

which courts have found sufficient grounds to grant a stay under

this power.

(e)

There are thus four grounds on which the bankruptcy court

may enjoin suits against the bankrupt or its assets and property.

In some instances only one of these grounds may be relevant; in

an involved and complex case, several or even all of the grounds

may require consideration. The present case is such an involved

and complex case. It has a striking similarity to a Chapter 11

proceedings, initially begun in the bankruptcy court of the

Southern District of New York, concerning the reorganization of

the Johns-Manville Corporation. In that proceeding, which was

litigated both in the New York and Louisiana courts, many of the

issues posed on this aspect of the case were raised and analyzed

by the courts of the two circuits and the decisions resolving such

issues present in a practical form the application of the power of

a bankruptcy court to stay actions relating to the bankruptcy pro-

ceeding against the debtor, its property and their operations.

For this reason, it seems pertinent to review the decisions in

those proceedings, for their guidance on the resolution of the

issue herein. We begin with the initial proceedings in the bank-

ruptcy court of the Southern District of New York.

(f)

Johns-Manville, an asbestos producer, was beset by a mass

of suits seeking large awards for damages sustained by reason of

asbestos exposure much as has Robins in this case and, after suf-

fering large and burdensome recoveries by plaintiffs and making

substantial settlements in many of the cases, filed its Chapter 11

petition in the Southern District of New York in August, 1982.

Such filing operated as an automatic stay of all proceedings

against Johns-Manville. However, many of the thousands of

cases named as defendants not only Johns-Manville but a num-

ber of other asbestos producers and dealers as co-defendants.

Shortly after Johns-Manville filed its Chapter 11 petition, these

co-defendants, charged in the complaints of the plaintiffs in the

actions as joint tort feasors, sought judicial relief in the bank-

ruptcy court, “inviting,” that court by way of a declaratory judg-

ment in the exercise of “its equitable powers” to enlarge the

automatic stay provided by section 362 of the Act to include

\ A-29

nondebtor defendants “under the penumbra of section 362’s pro-

tection” as well as under section 105, and to extend this stay

throughout the nation to all asbestos litigation. Matter of Johns-

Manville Corp., 26 B.R. 405 (S.D.N.Y. 1983). The primary issue

at this stage was stated to be “whether this Court should take the

unprecedented step of exercising its discretion pursuant to sec-

tion 105 of the Code to extend the section 362 automatic stay so

as to encompass the co-defendants herein.” 26 B.R. at 408-409.

The bankruptcy court ruled, first, “that section 362 is limited in

scope to the debtor and does not operate to stay actions against

the co-defendants of this debtor.” 26 B.R. at 409-414. Sec-

ondly, it held that relief under section 105 is only available if

found to be “necessary or appropriate in order to achieve the

goals of a Chapter 11 reorganization,” and, even then, only after

a finding that “a failure to enjoin would affect the bankruptcy

estate and would adversely or detrimentally influence and pres-

sure the debtor through that third-party,” thereby justifving a

finding of irreparable injury and likelihood of prevailing on the

merits. None of these facts the court found present on the instant

showing, but it added:

In an appropriate case, where the proposed extension

of the stay is designed to cover actions against entities that

truly are inextricably interwoven with the debtor or which

affect property of the debtor's estate, section 105 may be

used. In the instant case, such is not the situation as any

liability of these co-defendants is not directly attributable to

the debtor as it would be if these co-defendants were, for

example, key employees of the debtor. 26 B.R. at 418 (ital-

ics in text).

It concluded by declaring that there was “no basis [as shown by

the record] to extend the section 362 stay to cover them [the

appeals} by means of section 105.”

A second action was begun shortly afterwards, this time by

the debtor, to enjoin (1) the prosecution of “proceedings against

Manville’s employees, agents and others” and of discovery pro-

ceedings involving them in actions covering “the same issues and

subject-matter as are involved in the stayed litigations against

A-30

Manville,” (2) * ‘direct action’ lawsuits against insurers and sure-

ties of the debtor !? since the coverage of such policies of insur-

ance or suretyship “represent{ed| property of [the debtor's]

estate which must be preserved for the benefit of all creditors,

and (3) a suit brought by certain security holders against “various

of the ‘employees, agents and others’ in the district court of

Colorado. In re Johns-Manville Corp., 26 B.R. 420, 423

(S.D.N.Y.1983). It will be observed that this proceeding in-

volved matters not litigated in the earlier proceeding; in fact, it

involved actions against the debtor's employees for actions at-

tributable to Manville, precisely the point which the court in the

earlier case had said was not before it at that time. The bank-

ruptcy court granted a temporary injunction against the contin-

uance of either the suits or of discovery against present or future

officers, employees and agents but refused a stay for past officers

and employees. In reaching that conclusion it found that “in

great measure the suits being pursued against Manville’s officers

and employees are in reality derivative of identical claims

brought against Manville,” which, if sustained against the offic-

ers and employees, would expose the estate “to claims for con-

tribution and indemnification” and might result in collateral

estoppel against the debtor “in subsequent actions.” 26 B.R.

at 426. It accordingly held it proper to stay these actions and

discovery “against [such] non-debtors which would frustrate the

statutory scheme or impact adversely on a debtor's ability to for-

mulate a plan or on the debtor's property.” 26 B_R. at 427. It

further granted the injunction against the security action, finding

“that [such] suit is nothing more than an effort to circumvent

section 362 by suing Manville’s officers and directors when the

real party in interest is Manville. In all but formal detail, the

[security] litigation is against the debtor within the meaning of

section 362.” 26 B.R. at 428. It, also, said that:

12. “Direct actions” against insurers are described in Wedgeworth v.

Fibreboard Corp., 706 F.2d 541, 546-47 (5th Cir. 1983), and were recognized

in Lumbermen’s Mutual Casualty Co. v. Elbert, 348 U.S. 48, 50, 75 S.Ct. 151,

153. 99 L.Ed. 59 (1964).

A-3]

An adverse judgment in the {security| case would have

serious consequences for the debtor's estate. Manville’s By-

Laws require it to indemnify its officers and directors for

their litigation expenses, including any amounts paid to sat-

isfy a judgment of liability, so long as the conduct at issue

was intended to benefit the company... Although

Manville believes that the insurance policies which it had in

force cover these expenses, the insurance company has re-

served its right to contest coverage and to terminate on 30

days notice the payment of defense costs. If the insurance

company fails to live up to its obligations, the officers and

directors would look to the Company for reimbursement

pursuant to the By-Laws. In any event, the policies have

specific dollar limits beyond which Manville itself must pay.

To the extent expenditures related to the (security) suit ex-

haust those limits, an asset of the estate is diminished and

Manville’s exposure in other litigations increases. 26 B.R.

at 429.

But it denied a stay of the suits against the insurers and sureties,

Saving:

Unlike suits against the debtor's employees and agents,

Manville maintains no obligation to indemnify or pay for the

defense costs of its insurers or sureties. Thus, the liability of

these insurers and sureties in no way inures to the detri-

ment of the Manville estate. 26 B.R. at 431.

On motion for rehearing, however, the bankruptcy court

withdrew its decision denying an injunction against suits di-

rected against the debtor's insurers and granted such injunction.

It did so on the basis of these findings:

The debtor “could be adversely affected by the contin-

uation of such suits” since the “insurance policies and pro-

ceeds thereof and the causes of action previously asserted by

Manville against its insurance carriers in suits pending in

California (“California Insurance Litigation”) and elsewhere

constitute a substantial property of the Manville estate

which will be diminished if and to the extent that third party

A-32

direct actions against the insurance carriers result in plain-

tiffs’ judgments” and since “important issues respecting pol-

icy coverage and liability may be pressed as collaterally

estopping Manville.” 26 B.R. at 435. Further, “[t]o per-

mit the third party actions to continue against Manville’s

insurance carriers will result in a multiplicity of positions

and defenses on the part of the insurance carriers and will

most likely result in inconsistent decisions and rulings con-

cerning the coverage and liability of the insurance carriers

to the third party claimants and to Manville. Such a disor-

ganized and fragmented procedure for resolving such major

issues will undermine Manville’s attempt at reorganiza-

tion. 26 B.R. at 436.

It ended with these legal conclusions:

1. “Manville’s rights under its insurance policies and

all the causes of action arising thereunder constitute prop-

erty of the Manville estates within the purview of section

541/a) of the Code.” 26 B.R. at 436.

2. “Pursuant to § 105(a), the Bankruptcy Court may ex-

tend the automatic stay under § 362 of the Code to stay and

enjoin proceedings or acts against non-debtors where such

actions would interfere with, deplete or adversely affect

property of Manville’s estates or which would frustrate the

statutory scheme of Chapter 11 or diminish Manville’s abil-

ity to formulate a plan of reorganization.” 26 B. R. at 436

3. Pursuant to § 362(a) of the Code, all actions “to

obtain possession of or, interfere with property from

Manville estates” are stayed and enjoined. 26. B.R. 436.

As a result of action in the Fifth Circuit to which we later

advert and in order to enlarge the stay theretofore granted to

include past officers and employees, (the court having reached

the decision that suits against past as well as present employees

of the debtor should be stayed) the bankruptcy court in New

York entered a third reported decision in 33 B.R. 254 (S.D.N-Y.

1983). It found that:

A-33

In the event of a recovery against the past or present

officers, directors or employees of Manville in any of the

pending 1,000 cases, Manville’s insurers may be called upon

to indemnify such officers, directors and employees under

the provisions of the policies issued by them to Manville. If

such insurers are called upon to make such indemnification

payments, those payments may cause an asset of the

Manville estates to be diminished. 33 B.R. at 261.

It reiterated in this same decision its ruling that the insurance

policies constituted assets of the debtor, and stated the test for

granting a stay or injunction in the circumstances: “(a) possible

irreparable harm and (b) either (1) likelihood of success on the

merits or (2) sufficiently serious questions going to the merits to

make them a fair ground for litigation and a balance of hardships

tipping decidedly toward the party requesting the preliminary

relief. It concluded by granting the stay in favor of the insurers

and the past as well as present directors, officers and employees,

finding that the required findings for a preliminary injunction

had been satisfied. 33 B.R. at 262-63.

On appeal of certain of these decisions, the district court

affirmed the decisions of the Bankruptcy Court staying discovery

of any officers, directors or employees of the debtor and ruled

that the provisions of section 362 stayed proceedings against the

debtor's insurers. Specifically, it declared that “the fact that it

_Manville] ultimately may not receive all of the proceeds under

its products liability insurance does not affect its status as prop-

erty under the Code subject to the provisions of the automatic

stay. 40 B.R. at 230.

At the same time that these Johns-Manville cases were pro-

ceeding in New York, similar issues were arising in asbestos

cases filed against Johns-Manville, other joint tortfeasors, and

their insurers in the three districts of Louisiana. The three dis-

trict courts had ruled differently on the right to a stay of all co-

defendants of Manville, there being no dispute that the stay was

proper of Manville itself. On appeal, the Court of Appeals held

in Wedgeworth v. Fibreboard, 706 F.2d 541 (5th Cir. 1983), that

the automatic stay applied only to Manville, not to the other

A-34

defendants and that the showing as made was insufficient to sus-

tain a stay in favor of the co-defendants under equitable princi-

ples; however, it sustained the right of the plaintiffs to amend

their complaints to state a “direct action” under the Louisiana

statute against Manville’s insurer and held that such an action

was not stayed by any provision of the Bankruptcy Act. After a

petition for rehearing, however, the Court modified its decision

on the plaintiffs’ motion to amend and held “that the district

court did not abuse its discretion in declining to permit the plain-

tiffs to amend their complaints to add, as party defendants, the

liability insurance carriers of Johns-Manviile and Unarco.” 706

F.2d at 548. Two days after this decision was filed, the bank-

ruptcy court modified its previous orders by staying “any and all

suits against any past, present or future Manville officer, director

or employee or against [his or her] insurers.” It added in this

order, also, that its prior order would be amended to preclude

discovery of the parties against whom suits were proscribed. In

an appeal based on a petition for certiorari and for a writ of pro-

hibition against a contempt order against plaintiffs’ counsel for

violating such stay, the orders of the bankruptcy court were in

effect sustained in In Re Davis, 730 F.2d 176 (5th Cir. 1984).

(g)

As we have earlier indicated, we have discussed at some

length these proceedings in the Johns-Manville proceedings in

New York and Louisiana, because, with their striking similarity

both factually and on the legal issues to this case, the decisions

of those courts provide persuasive guidance for our action

herein. Though the district judge below did not cite the various

rulings of the Manville courts in support of his decision, there

was a close identity of issues between those in the Manville cases

and in the present case. In the three situations in which the

defendants have challenged the injunction granted by the dis-

trict judge [i.e., the Mosa, Conrad and Piccinin cases], the only

defendants other than the debtor, are the two Robins, Dr.

Frederick A. Clark, Jr., Dr. Hugh J. Davis, and the debtor's

insurer Aetna. So far as the suits against the two Robins and Dr.

Clark, those defendants were entitled to indemnification by the

A-35

debtor under the corporate by-laws and the statutes of Virginia.

the State of debtor’s incorporation,'!> and were, in addition, ad-

ditional insureds under the debtor's insurance policy. Dr. Davis

was the beneficiary of an express contract of indemnification on

the part of Robins and was. under a compromise agreement with

Robins and Aetna, an additional insured under Robins’ insurance

policy. The Manville court had granted a preliminary injunction

in favor of defendants in the same position as these defendants,

as we have seen, on facts similar to those here, finding that the

requirements of possible irreparable harm “had been satisfied by

the showing ... {that the suits against the defendants would rep-

resent] an immediate and irreparable impact on the pool of in-

surance assets, of the existence of sufficiently serious questions

going to the merits,” and of the tipping in the defendants’ favor

in the hardships in a balancing of the debtor's and the plain-

tiffs. 33 B.R. at 262-63. That court had previously disposed

of the public interest being weighted in the debtor's favor. “In-

deed, this Court finds the goal of removing all obstacles to plan

formulation eminently praiseworthy and supports every lawful

effort to foster this goal while protecting the due process rights

of all constituencies.” 26 B.R. at 428.

U.

The district court in this case applied the test for a grant of

preliminary injunctive relief as stated by us in Blackwelder Fur-

niture, 550 F.2d 189, 195 (4th Cir.1977), and Televest cv.

Bradshaw, 618 F.2d 1029, 1032 (4th Cir. 1980). It found, as had

13. It is the accepted practice for corporations such as the debtor to in-

demnify their directors, officers and employees for the costs of their defense for

any judgment rendered against them in such cases. See A.D.M. Corp. 1

Thorison, 707 F.2d 25, 28 (1st Cir. 1983), 13 Fletcher, Cyclopedia of the Lau

of Corporations, § 6045.1 and 6045.3 (1980 ed.). Virginia, the State of the

debtor's incorporation, has by statute empowered corporations of that State, by

their charter, to provide for such indemnity. Section 13.1-3, 1 Virginia Code,

Fletcher, supra, section 6045. -2-235. The charter of the debtor, included in the

record, provides such right of indemnification for the directors, officers and

employees of the debtor in the broadest sense. As we have seen, a stay in favor

of such officers, directors and employees, protected as they are by the right to

indemnity from the debtor, and the record in this case shows undisputably that

these directors and employees are so protected, was in order.

A -36

the Johns-Manville courts, that irreparable harm would be suf-

tered by the debtor and by the defendants since any of these suits

against these co-defendants, if successful, would reduce and di-

minish the insurance fund or pool represented in Aetiias policy

in favor of Robins, and thereby affect the property of the debtor

to the detriment of the debtor's creditors as a whole. The like-

lihood of success by the debtor under these circumstances ap-

peared indisputable. The hardships which would be suffered

irreparably by the debtor and by its creditors generally in per-

mitting these plaintiffs to secure as it were a preference in the

distribution of the insurance pool, herein to which all creditors

were entitled, together with the unquestioned public interest in

promoting a viable reorganization of the debtor can be said to

outweigh any contrary hardship to the plaintiffs. Such was the

finding in the Manville cases and that finding does not appear

unreasonable here.

The appellants, however, suggest that the record is insuf-

ficient to support such findings by the district judge. We dis-

agree. The record is not extensive but it includes every fact

considered by the courts in the Manville cases to be necessary for

their decision. The rights of Dr. Davis, Dr. Clark and the two

Robins to indemnity and their status as additional insureds under

Robins’ insurance policy are undisputed on the record. That

there are thousands of Dalkon Shield actions and claims pending

is a fact established in the record and the limited fund available

under Robins’ insurance policy is recognized in the record. It

seems incontestable that. if the suits are permitted to continue

and discovery allowed, any effort at reorganization of the debtor

will be frustrated, if not permanently thwarted. It is obvious

from the record that if suits are permitted to preceed against

indemnitees on claims on which the indemnitees are entitled to

indemnity by Robins, either a binding judgment against the

debtor will result or, as the court in Metal Center said, incon-

sistent judgments will result, calling for the exercise of the

court's equitable powers. In our opinion, the record was thus

more than adequate to support the district court's grant of in-

junctive relief. Certainly, the district court did not commit an

abuse of discretion in granting the injunction herein.

A«37

The appellants add a final complaining note that the district

judge state in his decision that the “Conclusions of Law” made

by him should apply “with equal force to all defendants similarly

situated who are brought to the attention of the court.” This is

little different, however, from the language of the court in the

Manville cases in which there was a broad, general injunction

against all present or future suits.

In summary, we have no difficulty in sustaining the grant of

a preliminary injunction herein. We are sustained in this con-

clusion by the fact, recognized by the district judge on the

record, that any Dalkon Shieid plaintiff may at any time petition

for the vacation of the stay as it affects his or her suit and he or

she is entitled to a hearing on such petition. Actually, there is

one such petition pending and the district judge has agreed to set

a hearing on that petition.

II]

The second appeal questions the validity of the district

court's order of November 9, 1985, fixing the venue for the trial

of all Dalkon Shield cases and providing for the transfer of such

cases to the District Court of the Eastern District of Virginia at

Richmond. Robins has challenged the appealability of such or-

der. We find the challenge without merit.

It is unquestionably true that, as the Court in In Re Amatex

Corp., 755 F.2d 1034, 1038-39 (3rd Cir. 1985), declared, juris-

diction in a Court of Appeals to review a decision or order of a

district court sitting in bankruptcy is controlled by § 1291, 28

U.S.C. See also Matter of UNR Industries, Inc., 725 F.2d 1111,

1114-16 (7th Cir. 1984). While section 1291 limits jurisdiction to

appeals from “all final decisions of the district courts,” the con-

cept of finality under such statute has traditionally been applied

“in a more pragmatic and less technical way in bankruptcy cases

than in other situations.” Amatex, supra, at 1039. Judge Breyer

in In Re Saco Local Development Corp., 711 F.2d 441, 443-45

(Ist Cir. 1983) has traced this traditional rule of more liberal con-

struction of finality as applied to appeals in bankruptcy cases over

A-35

the years. In tracing appealability under the statute in bank-

ruptcy cases, Judge Breyer noted the definition of a “proceed-

ing” in bankruptcy as stated in Taylor v. Voss, 271 U.S. 176, 151,

46 S.Ct. 461, 463-64, 70 L.Ed. 889 (1926), as “not the overall

liquidation or reorganization, but rather an individual ‘matter| |

of an administrative character . . . presented in the ordinary

course of the administration of the bankrupt’s estate.” (Emphasis

added by Judge Breyer). He then declared on the basis of this

determination that “any dispute between a bankrupt and his

creditors over a claim or priority was a separate ‘proceeding and

an order settling such dispute was appealable.” 711 F.2d at 445.

Such is but another practical expression of the principle that “fi-

nality” under 1291 is to be given not an absolute and inflexible

construction in bankruptcy cases in which a “functional” and

“practical” application is to be the rule.

The special or unique reason for this relaxed rule of appeal-

ability in bankruptcy is that

([bjankruptcy cases frequently involve protracted proceed-

ings with many parties participating. To avoid the waste of

time and resources that might result from reviewing dis-

crete portions of the action only after a plan of reorganiza-

tion is approved, courts have permitted appellate review of

orders that in other contexts might be considered interloc-

utory. In Re Amatex, supra, at 1039.

This particular appeal illustrates well the justification for the

relaxed rule of appealability in bankruptcy cases. Should appeal

be denied-and trials proceed in the district court of the myriad

of claims involved with the possibility of reversal on appeal from

a final decision in such proceedings, months and months of lit-

igation, carried on at great expense to all concerned might be

voided and the reorganization derailed, with consequent exten-

sive delays both in reorganization and in resolution of the claims

of the tort plaintiffs themselves. Weighty considerations of fair-

ness and efficient judicial administration, therefore, mandate ap-

pealability in this case. We accordingly dismiss Robins’ challenge

to the appealability of the order in question.

A-39

Were it necessary, appealability could be sustained under

Cohen v. Beneficial Industrial Loan Corp., 337 U.S. 541,

346-47, 69 S.Ct. 1221, 1225-26, 93 L. Ed. 1528 (1949), as well as

in mandamus. See In re Ralson Purina Co., 726 F.2d 1002, 1005

(4th Cir.1984). We, however, prefer to ground our decision on

the more relaxed standard of finality for appeal purposes under

1291 traditionally assigned bankruptcy appeals.

Turning to the merits of the appeal on this part of the case,

we address first the power of the district court, sitting in bank-

ruptcy, to enter an order fixing the venue for the trial of tort

personal injury claims against the debtor and for transferring all

such cases to the bankruptcy court for trial and disposition. Sec-

tion 157(b)(5) 28 U.S.C. states:

The district court shall order that personal injury tort

and wrongful death claims shall be tried in the district court

in which the bankruptcy case is pending, or in the district

court in the district in which the claim arose, as determined

by the district court in which the bankrupcy case is pending.

We do not understand the appellants to contend that under this

language the district court did not have authority under this stat-

ute to issue an order fixing the venue for trial of tort cases against

a Chapter 11 debtor. They do argue, however, that the sense of

the section, if not its precise language, was to decentralize the

trial of these tort claims and to permit their continuance for trial

in the court in which the complaints were filed and that the rul-

ing of the district judge in this case fixing venue in the district

court in which the bankruptcy petition was filed flies in the face

of this congressional purpose. They refer to the language of Sen-

ator Dole in commenting on the Senate Conference Report on

the 1984 amendments and construe it as suggesting that tort

claims were to be tried in the court in which those claims were

originally filed. Senator Dole, in the language to which appel-

lants refer and out of which the appellants arrive at their finding

of the sense of the Congress, actually restated simply the lan-

guage of the statute itself. He said that “where abstention does

A-40

not occur,!+ those cases [i.e., “personal injury cases’ | will be

handled by the district court where the bankruptcy has been

filed or, if that court finds it appropriate, where the claim arose.

Statement by Hon. Robert Dole 130 Cong. Rec. $ 8889 (daily ed.

June 29, 1984), reprinted in, 1984 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News

586, 587. We discern nothing in that language to warrant the

conclusion that, in enacting the statute the Congress favored de-

centralizing the administration of the bankruptcy by leaving all

“personal injury cases” to the court in the place where the claim

“arose.” In fact, to accept the view of the appellants on the con-

struction of the statute would be completely at variance with the

House version of the bili, which was in effect accepted by the

Conference Committee, and would be to adopt the Senate ver-

sion, Which, according to Congressman Kastenmeier s statement

as a House Conference member, was “largely reject{ed!” by the

Conference Committee and “would have dissipated the assets of

the estate by creating a multiplicity of forums for the adjudication

of parts of a bankruptcy case.”!°

Nor do we find anything in In re White Motor Credit, 761

F.2d 270, 273-74 (6th Cir. 1985), also relied on by the appellants,

that lends support to appellant's construction of § 157(b)(5). The

extent of the holding in White Motor was that the district court

had the power under the statute to allow products liability cases

to be tried where the claim arose; there was nothing in the opin-

ion, however, that declared that such action was mandated or

even preferred. Specifically, there was no statement in the opin-

ion that the district court in which the bankruptcy was pending

could not try the claim. Unquestionably the district court in this

case had the power under the statute to fix the trial venue in its

district for all the Dalkon Shield cases.

The primary point of difference between the parties, how-

ever, relates not so much to the power of the district court in this

i4. “Mandatory abstention under section 1334(c\(2) is not applicable to

personal injury claims, but the district court may abstain as a matter of dis-

cretion and lift the stay of the state court action.” Taggart, The New Bankruptcy

Court System, 59 America Bank, L.J. 231, 253 (1955).

15. Statement by the Hon. Robert Kastenmeier, 130 Cong. Rec. H.7492,

reprinted in 1984 U.S. Code Cong. & Adm. News at 579.

A-4]

case to fix venue for all the pending Dalkon Shield tort cases—

that power is stated in unmistakable terms in section 157(b)(3)—

but to the manner in which that power may be exercised. Con-

cededly, section157(b)(5) does not prescribe any procedure. The

appellants suggest that the procedure to be followed is laid out

in 28 U.S.C. § 1412, which provides that “[a] district court may

transfer a case or proceeding under title 11 to a district court for

another district, in the interest of justice or for the convenience

of the parties.” As the appellants correctly construe section 1412.

the authority to transfer a suit under the statute rests solely with

the court in which the suit is pending and it provides no author-

ity whatsoever to a district court sitting in bankruptcy in one

district and having jurisdiction of the bankruptcy to transfer the

venue of a case against the bankrupt to another district. Section

157(b)(5), however, expressly confers on the district court sitting

in bankruptcy and having jurisdiction of the bankruptcy proceed-

ings the power to fix the venue of any tort case against the debtor

pending in other districts. The purpose of this latter statute was.

as Congressman Kastenmeier declared, to centralize the admin-

istration of the estate and to eliminate the ‘multiplicity of forums

for the adjudication of parts of a bankruptcy case.” 130

Cong. Rec. H 7492, June 29, 1984, reprinted in 1984 U.S.Code

Cong. & Adm. News at 579. That purpose would be thwarted and

the plain language of section 157(b)(5) nullified if the power of the

district court sitting in bankruptcy to fix the venue for tort claims

against a debtor was to be preempted by the provisions of section

1412. We do not believe this to have been the intention.of Con-

gress in enacting the two statutes. Section 157(b)(5) was drafted

to cover the procedure in connection with a special group of

cases, to wit, personal injury tort claims against a debtor in Chap-

ter 11 proceedings wherever pending and in that connection the

section is supreme. In all other cases related to the bankruptcy

proceedings, however, the general statute (i.e., section 1412)

would govern. This, we think, is the proper construction to be

given the two statutes. It is a construction which harmonizes the

two sections. It conforms to that established canon of statutory

construction that “[w]e must read the statutes [in those instances

where there is any possible conflict] to give effect to each if we

A-42

can do so while preserving their sense and purpose.” Watt v.

Alaska, 451 U.S. 259, 267, 101 S.Ct. 1673, 1678, 68 L.Ed.2nd

80 (1981): Columbia Gas v. Federal Energy Regulatory Comm..,

651 F.2d 1146, 1158 (5th Cir.1981); Pennsylvania v. Dept. of

Health & Human Resources, 723 F.2d 1114, 1119 (3rd Cir. 1983).

To accept the appellants’ interpretation and to negate the plain

language of § 157(b)(5) “would violate the basic principle of con-

struction that statutes should be read, if possible, as harmonious

texts.” Leaf Tobacco Exporters Assn. v. Block, 749 F.2d 1106,

1115 (4th Cir. 1984). We, therefore, have no difficulty in finding

that the district judge’s authority to fix venue of personal injury

tort actions against the debtor exists under § 157(b)(5), irrespec-

tive of the district in which such controversy is pending.

And there are very real considerations that support a cen-

tralization of all the Dalkon Shield claims, at least at first, in the

district court having jurisdiction of the bankruptcy. The “single

focal point” of this proceeding is the development of a reasonable

plan of reorganization for the debtor, one which will work a re-

habilitation of the debtor and at the same time assure fair and

non-preferential resolution of the Dalkon Shield claims. See In

re Towner v. Petroleum Co., 48 B.R. 182, 190 (W.D. Okla. 1985).

These Dalkon Shield claims, asserted by thousands of individuals

in courts throughout the United States on behalf of both citizens

of this country and citizens or residents of other countries, rep-

resent what are characterized in the Act as “contingent or

unliquidated claims.” 11 U.S.C. § 502. Ordinarily such claims

would be “estimated” by the bankruptcy court as a “core pro-

ceeding,” 28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(2), for purpose of allowance if fail-

ure to do so “would unduly delay the administration of the case.”

11 U.S.C. § 502(c); 3 Collier on Bankruptcy, § 502-03 (15 ed.

1982). That duty of estimation in a proper case under section

502(c) is not a permissive one; it is a mandatory obligation of the

bankruptcy court. In re Nova Real Estate Inv. Trust, 23 B.R. 62

(E.D.Va. 1982). This customary process of estimation of contin-

gent claims is, however, different where the unliquidated con-

tingent claims are persona! injury tort claims.

A-43

Section 157(b)(2)(B) excepts from the definition of “core pro-

ceedings personal tort claims against the debtor. The bank-

ruptcy court thus is without authority under the Act over “the

liquidation or estimation of contingent or unliquidated persona!

injury or wrongful death claims against the estate for purposes of

distribution under Title 11” 28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(2)(B). (Italics

added) It will be observed, however, that the statute denies au-

thority to the bankruptcy court to “estimate” contingent claims

only if the purpose is to make a “distribution” of the assets of the

debtor; the statute does not in express terms deny to the bank-

ruptcy court the authority, or relieve it of the duty, to “estimate”

the contingent “personal injury” claims for purposes of deter-

mining the feasibility of a reorganization. And such has been the

construction of the statute which has been adopted by the courts

which have had to face the issue, the two leading cases being

proceedings arising out of the asbestos litigation. Roberts cv.

Johns-Manville Corp., 45 B.R. 823, 825-26 ($.D.N.Y.1984): In

re UNR Industries, Inc., 45 B.R. 322, 326-27 (N.D.III]. 1984).

Both of these cases hold that estimations of the debtors’ potential

personal injury tort liabilities as an incident of the development

of a plan of reorganization are core proceedings within the bank-

ruptcy court's jurisdiction, and that such estimations are not

foreclosed by Section 157(b)(3) of the Act.!®

16. Roberts at 826 said:

Even assuming that section 157(b)(5) requires that all personal injury

and wrongful death claims be tried in the district courts, the Court does

not find that immediate withdrawal and liquidation of Roberts’ claim is

appropriate. Section 157(b)(2)(B) does not exclude from the definition of

core proceedings estimations of personal injury and wrongful death claims

for all purposes. The section is limited to estimation “for purposes of dis-

tribution.” This leaves estimation for other purposes within the jurisdic-

tion of the bankruptcy court. See In re UNR Industries, 45 B.R. 322

(N.D.II]. 1954). A trial is not needed, therefore, to satisfy the requirement

of section 502(c) that “all claims against the debtor be converted into dollar

amounts. (citing Congressional sources). Thus, even if the Code and the

1984 Act require that each and every asbestos claim filed in this eventually

be tried, they do not require immediate withdrawal of those claims before

a reorganization plan has been confirmed.

A-44

This is not to say the personal injury claimants in this pro-

ceeding will not be ultimately entitled, if they elect to do so, to

have a jury trial of their claim in the district court. Section

157(b)(5) gives them that right. But, even though the tort claim-

ants may be entitled to their jury trials, the bankruptcy court is

not relieved of its duty in a Chapter 11 proceeding to estimate

those contingent claims. The real question thus arises as to which

proceedings takes precedence, whether the estimation by the

bankruptcy court of the claims or the jury trials in the district

court of the claims. The authorities which have considered this

question in connection with a complicated products liability sit-

uation such as this are all unanimous. The estimations of the

potential and pending claims by the bankruptcy courts should

precede any trials of the claims. This was specifically held in the

asbestos cases. Roberts v. Johns-Manville Corp., 45 B.R. at

§25-26. After all, the first and primary purpose of the proceed-

ings, however, is to ascertain whether a fair reorganization of the

debtor can be achieved. This purpose may well be completely

thwarted if the energies of the debtor's executives and officers

are initiaily diverted by, and the resources of the debtor are dis-

sipated in the expenses of litigating, the trial of thousands of per-

sonal injury suits in courts throughout the land spread over an

interminable period of time. As the Court in Newton v. Johns-

Manville Corp., 45 B.R. 827, 830 (S.D.N.Y.1984), put it, in ex-

plaining its decision to proceed in the estimation of the claims

before setting any claim for trial: there is no “sense in ordering

a trial of a [tort claimant's} claim against Manville until a plan has

been developed for Manville and until there is reason to believe

that the time and expense of potentially 25,000 personal injury

trials of the claims against Manville will not deplete the estate

and leave other creditors with empty judgments.”

There are 5,000 suits pending against the debtor in this pro-

ceeding. There are perhaps an equal number not filed. If all

these claims were to be tried, the expense of discovery proceed-

ings and trial would likely consume all the assets of the debtor

and exhaust all the resources of its executives and employees. As

one court has commented, we “must be mindful of the realities

of modern litigation. Pre-trial discovery under modern federal

A-45

practice has become a monster on the loose . . . Pre-trial pro-

ceedings have become more costly and important than trials

themselves.” In re Johns-Manville, supra, 40 B.R. at 224. Since

the Dalkon Shield litigation began, forty claims have actually

been tried but over $517,000,000 have been expended in de-

fending or settling Dalkon Shield suits or claims. It is impossible

to anticipate the stupendous costs that would be involved if all

the claims here had to be tried. If the claimants as a whole are

to realize reasonable compensation for their claims, it is obvi-

ously in the interest of the class of claimants as a whole to obviate

the tremendous expense of trying these cases separately. If the

bankruptcy court could arrive at a fair estimation of the value of

all the claims and submit a fair plan of reorganization based on

such estimation, with some mechanism for dispute resolution

and acceptable to all interested parties, great benefit to all the

claimants could be achieved and the excessive expense of innu-

merable trials, stretching over an interminable time, could be

avoided.'7 In addition, the real purpose of the proceeding (i.e.,

a reorganization of the debtor and its continuance as a going busi-

ness) could be attained.

It is manifest, of course, that the process of estimation will

involve some examination of the claims. But this examination

will be conducted by the court, will likely not involve duplicative

discovery, and can be accomplished expeditiously. It was argued

in In re UNR Industries, Inc., 45 B.R. 322 (N.D.III. 1984),

though, that this would require a hearing by the bankruptcy

court in making its estimation of the tort claims and accordingly

would “not be any more efficient than ordering district court

trials.” The court dismissed the argument with this apt

comment:

17. Section 157(b)(5) “does not mandate that all tort actions must be tried

in district court, but only those which are not settled otherwise . . . .” Bank-

ruptcy Service, L.Ed. § 2:14:5, at 22 (Supp. 1985) (summarizing Roberts v.

Johns-Manville, supra, 45 B.R. at 825-26), and “the parties are certainly free

to agree to a dispute-resolution procedure that does not involve trial,” UNR,

supra. 45 B.R. at 326. To the same effect is Newton v. Johns-Manville Corp..,

45 B.R. 827, 830 (S.D.N.Y. 1954).

A-46

This contention both understates the time and expense

of trials and overstates the time and expense of the estima-

tion process. Even should Judge Toles decide the Towers

study is insufficient to accurately estimate asbestos claims

and that some sort of hearing is necessary, there is no reason

to believe 17,000 hearings must be held to get an accurate

enough picture of the debtor's liability to asbestos vic-

tims. 45 B.R. at 326.

That language is applicable in this case. It is unlikely that all

8,000 to 10,000 claims which have been filed would have to be

tried before an intelligent estimation of the claims could be made

by the bankruptcy court. The interests of all the claimants and

the public interest in a reasonable and fair reorganization com-

bine in favor of an effort at an estimation of the Dalkon Shield

claims as a basis for formulating such a plan of reorganization and

as a possible step in working out a mechanism acceptable to all

the claimants for a dispute-resolution of their claims without bur-

dening the estate with the tremendous expense of endless liti-

gation and reducing if not exhausting, the assets available for

paying those claims.

No progress along estimating these contingent claims, how-

ever, can be made until all Dalkon Shield claims and suits are

centralized before a single forum where all interests can be heard

and in which the interests of all claimants with one another may

be harmonized. Cf. Fidelity Mortgage Investors v. Camelia

Builders, Inc., 550 F.2d 47, 55 (2d Cir.1976), cert, denied, 429

U.S. 1093, 97 S.Ct. 1670, 52 L.Ed.2d 372. That undoubtedly

was the purpose of the motion to fix venue and to transfer the

pending suits to the district court sitting in bankruptcy before

which the proceedings were pending. This unquestionably was

the idea which prompted the district court to opt tentatively in

his order fixing venue in the district court sitting in bankruptcy

for all these claims. We approve of the idea and find it conducive

of the interests of all concerned.

However persuasive may be the reasons for fixing tempo-

rarily at least venue of all the pending suits against the debtor in

the district court sitting in bankruptcy where all the other

= iil dal

A-47

Dalkon Shield claims not in suit mav be handled together, the

question remains as to what procedure must be followed in ef-

fecting such change of venue in order to satisfy the requirements

of due process. It is the position of the appellants that a right of

action in tort is “property which may not under due process be

adversely affected by an involuntary change of venue in the ab-

sence of a full hearing after reasonable notice. It may be accepted

that, as the appellants argue, a tort claim or action is a “species

of property in the constitutional sense. Logan v. Timmerman

Brush Co., 455 U.S. 422, 428, 102 S.Ct. 1148, 1153-54, 71

L.Ed.2d 265 (1982); cf. Martinez v. California, 444 U.S. 277,

281-82, 100 S.Ct. 553, 557, 62 L.Ed.2d 481 (1980). Similarly, it

may be agreed that where the plaintiff has such a claim against

a debtor in a Chapter 11 proceeding, he has a statutory right to

a jury trial in a district court and that the place of such trial is an

important right which may be entitled to some form of due pro-

cess protection under the broad principles of Mullane v. Central

Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306, 70 S.Ct. 652, 94

L.Ed. 865 (1950). The question is, though, what form such pro-

tection must take.

“Due process’ does not establish an inflexible standard to

be rigorously applied in all cases. Recently, in McClelland v.

Massinga, 786 F.2d 1205 (4th Cir. 1986), we said that “due pro-

cess is not ‘a technical conception’ of ‘inflexible procedures’ (cit-

ing Cafeteria Workers v. McElroy, 367 U.S 886, 895, 81 S.Ct.

1743, 1748-49, 6 L.Ed.2d 1230 (1961) nor is it ‘a mechanical in-

strument or ‘yardstick’; it is rather ‘a delicate process of adjust-

ment and of a balancing of interests in which it is recognized

‘that what is unfair in one situation may be fair in an-

other... .'” In particular, it is important to recognize that the

notice and hearing is not “always require{d] .. . prior to the

initial deprivation of property and that “[w]here only property

rights are involved, mere postponement of the judicial enquiry

is not a denial of due process, if the opportuntiy given for ulti-

mate judicial determination of liability is adequate.” Parratt v.

Taylor, 451 U.S. 527, 540, 101 S.Ct. 1908, 1915, 68 L.Ed. 2d 426

(1981). We conclude therefore, that due process requires some

form of notice and opportunity for a hearing before there can be

A-45

a change of venue and before trial of a personal injury tort cause

of action against a debtor may be transferred finally trom the

court in which the cause was initially filed to the district where

the bankruptcy proceedings are pending.

We reach this conclusion not only under due process anal-

ysis, but also under the language and Rules issued under the

Bankruptcy Act. In our opinion, the debtor's motion herein qual-

ified as a “contested matter” under the Act. As such it had to be

begun by the filing of a motion with “reasonable notice and op-

portunity for hearing. . . . afforded the party against whom [the |

the relief [was] sought.” Bankruptcy Rule 9014. The debtor filed

with the district court sitting in bankruptcy an appropriate mo-

tion for a fixing of venue and for transfer of tort claims against the

debtor, and notice in the manner provided by the Rules in this

case was given but only to the Committee of Representatives of

Dalkon Shield claimants. There was no notice given the indi-

vidual Dalkon Shield claimants who had causes of action against

the debtor pending in court. Counsel for the debtor asserted in

argument in district court in justification of failure to serve the

individual plaintiffs in the tort actions that “in these cases the

tradtional rule is that you serve the counsel for the Committee,

and the Committee, the counsel then has the obligation to bring

such matters as are appropriate to the attention of the members

of the Committee,” Counsel cited no authority for this “tradi-

tional rule.” The Committee, however contends that notice to it

was not notice to the indiviual claimants and that such notice did

not satisfy the notice requirements of Bankruptcy Rule 9014 or

of due process.

The role of Committees appointed under the Act as revised

has received considerable discussion but remains somewhat un-

certain. As we have already noted, the status and position of

Chapter 11 Committees are thoroughly canvassed in Andrews,

The Chapter 11 Creditors’ Committee: Statutory Watchdog”, 2

Bankruptcy Developments Journal, 247 (1985). As that article

indicates, the Committee's right to intervene and be heard in

any proceeding is, we think, fairly established. Matter of Marin

Motor Oil, Inc., 689 F.2d 445, 454-6 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 459

U.S. 1206, 103 S.Ct. 1196, 75 L.Ed.2d 440 (1983). In fact, the

|

A-49

Rules require that certain notices in the course of the proceed-

ings must be given the Committee. But it seems clear under the

Rules that the Comunittee is not authorized to represent the ine

dividual interests of any claimant, as distinguished from the gen-

eral interests of all claimants, In re Johns-Manville, 26 B.R. 919.

926 (S.D.N.Y. 1983), and only in certain specific situations, no

one of which is relevant here, may proper service be made on the

Committee rather than on the individual claimants themselves

under Bankruptcy Rule 2002(i). It follows that, in our opinion,

service of notice of the hearing on the motion to fix venue and to

transfer, as given only to the Committee did not represent com-

pliance with Bankruptcy Rule 9014 or with due process.

Conceding that notice to the Committee did not qualify as

service on the individual claimants, it does not follow that the

absence of such notice may be fatal to due process in this pro-

ceeding. The notice to the Committee may have been sufficient

under Cleveland Bd. of Education v. Loudermill, U.S.

—_, __, 105 §.Ct. 1487, 1495, 84 L.Ed. 2d 494, 506 (1984) to

permit the issuance of a provisional or conditional order provid-

ing for a fixing of venue in the district court sitting in bankruptey

for all the pending Dalkon Shield cases against the debtor but

giving the claimants individual notice and an opportunity to ob-

ject and to be heard before the order became final in any case

where the plaintiff has filed an objection. That procedure would

satisfy due process under Parratt and the other cases. And, as we

read the record as well as the formal order of the district court,

this is precisely what the district court intended, though the lan-

guage of its order may be obscure on the point.

The district court entered a ruling bringing for the time be-

ing all the pending suits against the debtor before the district

court sitting in bankruptcy in order to proceed expeditiously in

the reorganization but with the definite condition that any party

might object and might petition for abstention in his or her case.

It was in our opinion intended as a conditional order, though not

clearly stated as such. We are of the opinion, because of this

possible want of clarity in the order assailed, that such order

must be modified to make it crystal clear that the determination

A-50

of venue therein is, as we have said, conditional, dependent fi-

nally and ultimately on a ruling to be made only after notice to

all claimants advising them of their right to enter any objections

they may have to such a tentative ruling and to submit a motion

for abstention in their particular case.'> The notice to be given ali

claimants could be in the form of a letter both to the claimant and

to his or her attorney stating the conditional ruling made subject

to a final hearing, to become final only after reasonable oppor-

tunity given all claimants to object and/or to seek abstention. We

would think the notice should fix a time limit for the filing of

objections by claimants and should fix a day for a hearing on the

objections. The tentative order might be made final as to any

claimant who failed to enter an objection within the prescribed

time. The mailing of the notice as required will not involve any

great expense. Such a modification of the order, followed by a

notice in the form suggested, it would seem, should satisfy the

requirements of due process and of the Bankruptcy Rules in the

unusual circumstances of this case. In order to achieve this mod-

ification in the order of the district judge, this phase of the appeal

is remanded to the district court for further proceedings in ac-

cordance with the opinion herein.

We do not presume to suggest rigid guidelines for the dis-

trict judge to follow when considering objections to the transfer.

We believe it important, however, to observe that although

there may be distinct advantages of the tort claims being trans-

ferred to Richmond, those advantages should be balanced

against disadvantages that may be advanced at the hearing. In

that regard, some cases may be fully prepared and ready for state

trial. Some cases may require substantial numbers of local wit-

nesses. Claimants may be receiving critical medical, physical or

psychological care in a local area which would have to be halted

1S. Until the conditional order is made final with regard to a particular

case, a case should not be physically transferred. Thus, no filing fee shall be

paid under Rule 9027 or expenditures accompanying photocopying, freight,

etc. be made. Only after an order is final shall the expense of transfer be

necessary

A-51

or transferred to Richmond. All of these factors are relevant.

Moreover, there are issues of state law that may substantially

affect the results in individual cases.

In summary, we affirm the district court’s order staying the

suits of the plaintiffs against the debtor and all co-defendants, but

remand with directions the order fixing venue for all pending

suits against the debtor and tra:isferring the suits to the district

court before which the bankruptcy proceedings were pending.

AFFIRMED IN) PART and REMANDED WITH

DIRECTIONS.

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

RICHMOND DIVISION

CIVIL ACTION NO. 56-0315-R

GLENDA BRELAND, et al

vs.

AETNA CASUALTY & SURETY Co.

INITIAL PRE-TRIAL ORDER

De .aing it proper so to do, it is ADJUDGED and OR-

DERED that:

1. Unless already filed, answers to the complaint will be

filed within ten (10) days of this date. Any such filing will not be

deemed a waiver of any prior motions.

2. Counsel will meet with the Court in chambers at 1:00

P.M., on Wednesday, July 23, 1986, for purposes of setting this

case for trial, and, if necessary, the setting of a date for a forma!

pre-trial conference.

3. All counsel should anticipate a trial date within ninety

(90) days of this date except in cases of protracted litigation.

4. All counsel are admonished to expedite discovery.

5. Counsel attending are to be sufficiently knowledgeable

of the case to respond to such queries as the Court may deem

appropriate, and be prepared to discuss settlement prospects.

Let the Clerk send copies of this order to counsel of record

and to pro se litigants.

/s/) ROBERT R. MERHIGE, JR.

United States District Judge

Date: July 7, 1986

A-53

APPENDIX C

Listing of Corporate Affiliations Prescribed by Rule 28.1 of the

Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States

Pursuant to Rule 28.1 of the Rules of the Supreme Court of

the United States, respondent Aetna Casualty & Surety Com-

pany, a corporation, identifies the following parent companies,

subsidiaries (except wholly owned subsidiaries), and affiliates:

1670 Broadway Joint Venture

1800 West Loop Tower Associates

ABP Associates Limited

ADB I

Abcor Insurance Administration

Administradora De Fondos De Pensiones Santa Maria S.A.

Aegen International, Inc.

Aetna Income Shares

Aetna Life and Casualty Limited

Aetna Life and Casualty of Canada Ltd.

Aetna Management Services Pty., Ltd.

Aetna Midland Doherty Finsco Ltd.

Aetna, Peterson, Jacobs and Ramo Technology Ventures

Aetna Variable Fund

Atalfa, Inc.

Beaver Creek Farms Joint Venture

BCI Satellite, Inc.

Biltmore Fashion Associates

Broadway Joint Venture

Callen Institutional Royaity Investors I

Carlsbad Research Center

Carlsbad Research Center Number One

Carlsbad Research Center Number Two

Chris-Town Village Associates

Church Insurance Partnership Agency

Churchill Office Park Ltd.

Compania De Seguros Generales Aetna Banchile S.A.

Cordova Del-Mar Associates

Coronation Drive Joint Venture

A-54

Corporate Center Pasadena Associates

Crescent Corporate Center

CS Development Corporation

Dayton Arcade Community Urban Redevelopment Corporation

Dayton Arcade Partnership

East Asia Aetna Insurance Company (Bermuda) Ltd.

Edina Office Center Joint Venture

Elliot S. Associates Limited

Empire Park Associates

Empire Park IV Associates

Ensenada De Las Colinas Asssociates

Friday Associates

Gearhart Industries, Inc.

Generali Do Brazil Companhia Nacional De Seguros

Golden State Associates

Hanover Properties

Hartford Center Hotel Partnership

Hayward Industrial Park Associates

Hillcrest Associates

Huffco U.S. Exploration 1952 Program

Huftco U.S. Exploration 1983 Program

Huffco U.S. Exploration 1954 Program

lan Morton Underwriting Agency Limited

Japan and Far Eastern Securities Management Limited

KBC-Eastside Limited Partnership

KBC-Paradise Valley Limited

KBC-Red Hill Limited Partnership

Kemble Associates

Koll Center Newport A

Koll Center Newport 5

Koll Center Newport 9

Koll Center Newport 10

Koll Center Newport 11

Koll Center Newport 14

Koll Center Newport 15

La Estrella, S.A. De Seguros

Landex Properties Limited

Lincoln Benicia V, VI & VU

Lincoln Oakland Coliseum 1 & 11 Associates

Lincoln Rancho Cucamonga Associates

Lincoln San Jose VI Associates

Marex Properties Limited

Mariner Brookhollow Joint Venture

Meridian Associates

Montbello Commercia! Venture 1|

Montbello Commercial Venture 11

Northwest Associates

Oaks at Valley Ranch J

O'Hare Center Venture

Otau Mountain Estates

Parity Computer Limited

Partners National Health Plans

Pelican Beach Motel

Pelican Shores Mote!

Ponderosa Homes

Portside Properties, Ltd.

Raintree-Carlton Court Associates

RAJ Boston Associates

RBA 11 Associates

Sabcap Pty., Ltd.

Sandefer Oil & Gas, Inc. 1982 Joint Venture

Sandefer Oil & Gas, Inc. 1983 Joint Venture

San Jose V Associates

Satellite Business Systems

Second & Main Associates

Silverada Mall

Southbank Unit Trust

South Bend Joint Venture

Southcap Pty., Ltd.

Southwest Financial Plaza

Southwest Financial Plaza Annex

St. Vincents Mall

Streamwood Industrial Properties

Taas Associates

Terra Nova Insurance Company Ltd.

Thace Associates

A-56

Transponder Leasing Associates

Tri-City Mall Associates

Tri Freeways Associates

Victoria Avenue Unit Trust

Village Park Limited Partnership

Washington Plaza

Westwood Mall Associates

°C ANB Oa

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.