Opposition Brief — Florida v. Torres

Supreme Court brief1986

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

NO. 65—F975

" 95-1978

THE STATE OF FLORIDA,

Petitioner,

vs.

URBANO TORRES,

Respondent.

Supreme Ceurt. U.S.

rILLE®

JUN 28 1986

JOSEPH F. SFAI.IOL, JR.

CLERA

RECEIVED |

JUN 23 1996; |

OFFICE CF THE CLERK,

SUPREME COURT. U.S

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL OF FLORIDA,

THIRD DISTRICT

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

Respectfully submitted,

BENNETT H.

BRUMMER

Public Defender

Eleventh Judicial Circuit

of Florida

1351 Northwest 12th Street

Miami, Florida 33125

(305) 545-3005

ELLIOT H. SCHERKER

Assistant Public Defender

Counsel for Respondent

ae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES... ..cccccccvcceece eocccevccce cocccce es

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.....-cce Coc ce cece cece cc ccccccccces 1

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT... cc cccccccccces cocccccecce 6

CONCLUSION. ..cccccecee COC eee Reese eed Dee EEE EOE SSO ES OSEOS |

TABLE OF CITATIONS

PAGE

ANDREWS V. STATE

160 So.2d 726 (Fla.App. 1964)........ vanes ch micediaa wide 10

ASHLEY V. STATE

158 So.2d 530 (Fla.App. 1963).......e- iv emvencateuekesnann Oe

BOYKIN V. ALABAMA

Se ny Da cacodsneéhean<thsaewns Gendveswtkane 6, 8

EX PARTE AMOS

ees ee, NE SUNT nc os deb ed ece sav enous cases 10

THE FLORIDA BAR RE RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE

SEE ce SOEE UUs STE ia Fcdbectceccicavenccceucese eee re 9

THE FLORIDA BAR RE AMENDMENT TO RULES OF

CRIMINAL PROCEDURE (RULE 3.850)

460 S0.2d 907 (Fla. 1984)....ceseecees ey ey a ies onee we 9

GIDEON V. WAINWRIGHT

292 Ue SES FIGER kc ceu css Se awa rae ON he Ser a aa 9

HILL V. LOCKHART

i a Oe, OO PEOORS is cles caeewabinnen 7. is

IN RE FLORIDA RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE

196 So.2d 124 (Fla. 1967)...... cue veeGeRcneiks EE Or er ae 9

IN RE FLORIDA RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE

TE EE Oe ee. eae peer ieeuas Cane eeke 9

LeDUC V. STATE

Sie ce ee Ws SOR ck ccckwceceadscaseesbiseoiessanwes ~

KNIGHT V. STATE

Se ee ee SG ic vavcas ue aeudbareneeeene ce ¥en 7, 8

MIKENAS V. STATE

460 So.2d 359 (Fla. 1984).......... EP re OE A ey Ee RE a

NOVA V. STATE

as ee ee Se WOUNE so sons osu bce nae dee coueauebns cen 10

ROBINSON V. STATE

ee SE Es STS coc cbenavkccandvaseukesacaueesa a aa

ROY V. WAINWRIGHT

SES Gi Oe Ee UUs SOG acc ae caceecscesse (aiuebesoawaveus .9

SAG HARBOUR MARINE, INC. V. FICKETT

S64 Go. BE 1256 (FIR. Lot OCA 1906). 0c ccc ccccccccccccccvecces vaull

SAMPSON V. STATE

SUN eit Fak Fede. BOG i is das eccdacccecaes. eee ee 10

SNEED V. MAYO

i re PONG ns oN aweR anes Shee meeee ee Mb et 10

STATE V. STACEY

482 So.2d 1350 (Fla. 1985).......... Pepe Te sa peeneneeeae 10

STATE V. WILSON

305 60.38 GOO 1FIR. 1981). 0c sce isciecccas jatewnedeeveaeuneeee z

STRICKLAND V. WASHINGTON

ee eae 2 eee packets ieececkeuauae

={i-

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

NO. 85-1975

THE STATE OF FLORIDA,

Petitioner,

vs.

URBANO TORRES,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL OF FLORIDA,

THIRD DISTRICT

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

The respondent, Urbano Torres, files this brief in opposi-

tion to the petition for writ of certiorari filed by petitioner

in this cause.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The petitioner's statement of the case sets forth an

accurate recital of the procedural history of the case.

Respondent's Statement of the Case will be limited to a

recitation of pertinent factual aspects of the proceedings.+

At the commencement of the plea proceedings on October 4,

1983, in Dade County Circuit Court, the prosecutor announced that

the parties had negotiated a guilty plea to first-degree murder,

as charged in the indictment filed in the case, and had agreed

upon a sentence of life imprisonment for that offense, with a

concurrent sentence on a jointly-charged robbery count to be left

to the court's discretion (P.A. 33). Respondent was then sworn,

as was an interpreter to translate the proceedings for him (P.A.

33), and the following then transpired:

1

The symbol "P.A." will designate petitioner's appendix and the

symbol "R.A." will designate respondent's appendix.

-l-

The Court: All right.

Mr. Torres, please state your name, for

the record.

The Defendant: . . . Urbano Torres.

The Court: How old are you, please?

The Defendant: Twenty years.

The Court: Mr. Torres, are you aware of

the charges against you?

The Defendant: Yes, I am.

The Court: Your attorney has indicated

at this time you are going to enter a plea to

the matter of guilty with the understanding

the Court will sentence you to life, 25 years

minimum mandatory. That this was negotiated

with that [sic] the State was seeking the

death penalty in your case as you are well

aware.

Additionally, this case involved

confessions and certain legal issues that have

already been litigated by the Court; already

[resolved] by the Court against you, and your

[sic] electing, at this point, to enter a plea

after having fought the case up to this point;

is that correct?

(P.A. 33-35). Respondent did not answer the court's question,

and the court then asked again, "You're entering this plea of

guilty; is that correct?" (P.A. 35). There was again no

response, and counsel for respondent requested an opportunity to

speak with him; this was granted by the court (P.A. 35).

Thereafter, the following transpired:

Mr.Novick [assistant state attorney]:

Judge, back on Urbano Torres' case.

The Court: Mr. Torres, there are certain

rights that you are giving up by entering this

plea. You are giving up the right to a triai

by jury. The right to be tried by the Court

and you are also giving up the right to have

your case appealed. That is to appeal the

judgment and sentence of the Court if we were

to, but which we are not having a trial.

You are stipulating to a prima facie

case of guilt here and need --

Mr. Novick: I would ask the Court to

{rely] on what we heard yesterday.

The Court: I think we did hear during

the suppression [hearing], no objection

utilates [sic] those factors; [for] the

purpose of finding a prima facie case of

guilt.

The Court should further point out that I

was made at least aware that there were at

least, even if the lawyers differ, as how they

would be weighed in terms of death. What the

State considered to be five good aggravating

-- one of which is involvement in the other

similar type of case in the past. ... But

there was a death involved; was there not?

Mr. Novick: Correct. Wasn't similar.

In fact there was in Los Angeles.

The Court: Mr. Torres, under the

circumstances, is this what you are going to

do?

The Defendant: Yes.

(P.A. 35-37). The court then inquired of respondent's counsel,

an Dian

who agreed that he was satisfied that respondent understood "the

nature of this and appreciate[d] the consequences of his guilty

plea" (P.A. 37), after which the court imposed sentence (P.A. 37-

38).

Respondent filed his pro se motion for post conviction

relief, pursuant to Rule 3.850 of the Florida Rules of Criminal

Procedure, on November 8, 1983, approximately one month after the

plea proceedings (P.A. 19-29). The motion alleged, in part, that

the conviction had been “obtained by [a] plea of guilty which was

not made voluntarily with the understanding of the consequences

of the plea." (P.A. 25). The supporting facts were alleged as

follows:

Defendant pleaded guilty on the basis of

threats by the police that he would certainly

receive the death penalty if he did not do

so. When he asked his attorney for advice, he

was told the same thing. Seeing no possible

way to win in this situation, since his Court-

appointed counsel did not appear to be willing

to use his full abilities to prevent a con-

viction, and given the threats of the police,

the Defendant unwillingly pleaded guilty.

(P.A. 25-26).? The trial court appointed counsel to represent

respondent, and afforded him an evidentiary hearing on the motion

on February 6, 1984 (R.A. 1-57).

Respondent testified at the hearing, through an interpreter,

that he is 20 years of age, that he had come to the United States

from Cuba four years earlier, that he had completed the seventh

grade in Cuba, and that he can neither speak nor write in English

(R.A. 3, 9-10). Respondent described his conversation with his

trial counsel, Mr. Fields, prior to the plea proceedings as

follows:

(T)hree or four days before I was sentenced,

the attorney .. . went to the cells there

down below and he told me that they were

asking for the electric chair for me.

I told him that I was innocent, that,

please, to do something for me. He said, no,

I can't do anything for you. And he said to

me, you are going to plead guilty? And I said

2

A second claim in the motion asserted that respondent's

conviction had been “obtained by use of [a] coerced confession",

asserting that his post-arrest statement had been secured by

threats that a death sentence would be imposed if he failed to

confess (P.A. 26).

yes. He said, why? That is because I have no

family here and I was scared that mother

should find out that they had -- that they had

put me in the electric chair.

(R.A. 8). Respondent stated that his counsel had told him that

the circumstances of the case and his prior record were such that

the trial judge would be likely to impose a death sentence (R.A.

17-18).

Respondent stated that he had had a conversation with Mr.

Fields in the jury room on the morning of October 4, 1983, with

the assistance of an interpreter (R.A. 24). He was questioned as

follows by the prosecutor regarding the plea colloquy:

Q. Now, after you spoke to Mr. Fields

with the interpreter on Tuesday, you came out

in front of the Court, this Judge right here,

right?

A. Yes.

* * *

Q. And the Judge asked you a lot of

questions, right?

A. To me? No. To the lawyer. I didn't

speak that day.

Q. You didn't speak that day at all?

A. I spoke when I did this with my hand

Q. When you took the oath, you talked

and you talked no more?

A. No. No.

Q. Do you remember the judge...

asking you whether or not you wanted to plead

guilty?

A. I remember that he asked me, but I

plead guilty because the lawyer had told me

that if I didn't they were going to give me

the electric chair.

Q. * * * You do remember him asking you

if you wanted to plead guilty?

A. Yes.

Q. And your answer, at least on that

Tuesday, was yes?

A. Yes.

* * x

Q. And the judge asked you for your age

and a little bit about your education back-

ground, right?

A. Yes.

Q. He asked you whether you were taking

any drugs or had anything wrong with your

head, right?

A. Yes. I think so. Yes.

* * *

Q. He asked you whether you understood,

if you did plead guilty, that this was an

agreement, a deal, which your attorney had

worked out with me to save you from the

electric chair and that you would have to

spend at least 25 years in jail; the Judge

-4-

asked you whether you understood what you were

going to have to do. Do you remember that?

A. Yes. I remember.

Q. . . . You remember the judge asking

you whether or not everything [counsel] did

was okay with you, you were satisfied with him

and you said, yes, it was okay with you?

A. No, I don't remember.

(R.A. 24-26).

Mr. Fields testified that he had prepared respondent's case

for trial, and had had several conversations with him during the

course of which he advised respondent that the state had suffi-

cient proof to proceed with a first-degree murder prosecution and

a sentencing phase (R.A. 30-31). Mr. Fields recalled his conver-

sation with respondent on the morning of the plea proceedings

(R.A. 34), and testified that "[i]t was my opinion that I

couldn't win the case, and .. . I certainly could have told him

that." (R.A. 38). He also testified that respondent had main-

tained his innocence, but had expressed his willingness to accept

the negotiated plea to a life sentence (R.A. 33-34, 37-38). Mr.

Fields did not specifically recall the plea colloquy (R.A. 34).

At the conclusion of the hearing, the prosecutor advised the

trial court that he had ordered transcription of the plea

proceedings (R.A. 43-44). The transcript was thereafter obtained

and presented to the trial court (R. 48). The court denied the

motion for post-conviction relief on March 16, 1984, without

stating any findings of fact or conclusions of law (R.A. 54).

The written order entered by the court states that "the allega-

tions contained [in the motion] do not constitute legal grounds

for granting a ([njew [t])rial . «+ ." {Pras 30532).

On appeal, respondent asserted that the colloquy at the time

of the plea proceedings had been insufficient to establish a

knowing and intelligent waiver of the rights which were abandoned

by the plea, under both federal and Florida law (R.A. 72-77).

Respondent's brief noted the supporting facts which had been

alleged in his pro se motion, and he asserted that Florida

procedural law entitled him to a liberal construction of those

allegations and to present this claim (R.A. 72-73). In response,

petitioner contended that the plea colloquy had satisfied

“minimum due process standards", and that Florida procedural

-S-

rules required respondent to demonstrate prejudice from any

deficiency in the plea proceedings (R.A. 87-89).

In reversing the trial court's order, the state appellate

court held that "the trial court indisputably failed to establish

that the defendant's entry of a guilty plea to the charges

against him was knowingly and voluntarily made with an under-

standing of the consequences." (P.A. 2; citations omitted) .3

Petitioner's motion for rehearing asserted that Hill v.

Lockhart, __U.S.__, 106 S.Ct. 366 (1985), establishing the

standard for review of guilty pleas challenged on the ground of

ineffective assistance of counsel, was controlling, and that

respondent's failure to prove prejudice disentitled him to

relief. (P.A. 13). The motion for rehearing was summarily

denied (P.A. 3).

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

THE STATE APPELLATE COURT, WHICH WAS EMPOWERED

BY FLORIDA LAW TO ADDRESS THE VOLUNTARINESS OF

RESPONDENT'S GUILTY PLEA ON HIS APPEAL FROM

THE STATE COURT'S DENIAL OF HIS MOTION FOR

POST-CONVICTION RELIEF, WAS NOT COMPELLED BY

THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION TO ALSO ADDRESS

ANY CLAIM OF INEFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL

WHICH MAY HAVE BEEN IMPLICITLY RAISED IN THE

MOTION.

Respondent's pro se motion for post conviction relief

asserted that his conviction had been “obtained by [a] plea of

guilty was not made voluntarily with the understanding of the

consequences of the plea." (P.A. 25). The state appellate court

ruled that the record of the case supported this claim, holding

that the state trial court had “indisputably failed to establish

that the defendant's entry of a guilty plea to the charges

against him was knowingly and voluntarily made with an under-

standing of the consequences." (P.A. 2; citations omitted).

Petitioner contends that the state court, in passing upon this

Claim, was obligated by the federal constitution to apply the

Standards enunciated in Hill v. Lockhart, U.S.» 106 S.Ct.

The decision cited to Boykin v. Alabama, 395 U.S. 238 (1969),

and Williams v. State, 316 So.2d 257 (Fla. 1975).

-6-

366 (1985), and that its failure to do so presents a consti-

tutional question reviewable in this Court on a writ of

certiorari.

Hill v. Lockhart applied the standards of Strickland v.

Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984), to a claim that a defendant's

counsel had rendered ineffective assistance of counsel in

connection with a guilty plea, and set forth the rule that a

defendant must allege and demonstrate “prejudice” arising from

the derelictions of counsel, i.e., “that there is a reasonable

probability that, but for counsel's errors, he would not have

pleaded guilty and would have insisted on going to trial." 106

S.Ct. at 369-70 (footnote omitted). This is the rule which

petitioner asserts the state appellate court was constitutionally

compelled to apply in passing upon the merits of respondent's

Claim. Petition for Writ of Certiorari at 10-14.

The most fundamental flaw in petitioner's argument is that

respondent never raised a claim of ineffective assistance of

counsel in his post-conviction motion, but challenged the guilty

plea only on the ground that it had been involuntarily entered

(P.A. 25). Under Florida law, a post-conviction motion which

challenges the effectiveness of counsel's assistance, to be

legally sufficient, must specifically allege the following: (1)

“the specific omission or overt act" upon the claim is based, (2)

that the omission or act "was a substantial and serious

deficiency measurably below that of competent counsel", and (3)

that the deficiency caused substantial prejudice to the

defendant. Knight v. State, 394 So.2d 997, 1001 (Fla. 1981).4

Respondent's motion was thus wholly insufficient to raise an

ineffectiveness-of-counsel claim under Florida law, inasmuch as

it did not even assert the claim in the first instance (P.A.

25). On the other hand, the motion certainly did raise the claim

that the guilty plea had been involuntarily entered, without a

While the depiction of the prejudice standard in Knight varies

to some degree from that enunciated by this Court in Strickland

v. Washington, the Supreme Court of Florida has held that the two

Standards are co-extensive. Jackson v. State, 452 So.2d 533, 535

(Fla. 1984).

full understanding of the consequences thereof (P.A. 25).°

The Supreme Court of Florida has expressly held that an

involuntary-plea claim is not to be reviewed under the standards

applicable to an ineffectiveness-of-counsel claim. LeDuc v.

State, 415 So.2d 721, 722-23 (Fla. 1982)(substantive challenge to

guilty plea requires demonstration of “manifest injustice";

ineffectiveness-of-counsel challenge to guilty plea reviewable

under Knight standard). Thus, the two claims are separate and

distinct under Florida law, and Hill v. Lockhart, addressing as

it did only the standard for review of an ineffective-assistance-

of-counsel claim, is irrelevant to the issue presented to the

state appellate court in this case.

It appears, then, that the heart of petitioner's argument is

simply that the facts alleged in respondent's pro se motion did

not address the issue decided by the state appellate court, and

that the court, instead of holding the guilty plea

unconstitutional under Boykin v. Alabama, 395 U.S. 238 (1969),

and Williams v. State, 316 So.2d 267 (Fla. 1975),° was somehow

constitutionally required by Hill v. Lockhart to evaluate the

claim as one challenging the effectiveness of trial counsel's

assistance. Petition for Writ of Certiorari at 13-14./ The

5

A motion for post-conviction relief is indisputably the proper

veliicle for presenting this claim to the Florida courts. 6&.g.,

Mikenas v. State, 460 So.2d 359 (Fla. 1984); State v. Wilson, 395

So.2d 520 (Fla. 1981); Robinson v. State, 373 So.2d 898 (Fla.

1979).

6

Williams established the rules governing guilty-plea

procedures in Florida, and held that an accused must be advised

“that entry of a guilty plea constitutes a waiver of certain

constitutional rights, specifically his right to remain silent,

have a jury trial, have process to obtain witnesses on his

behalf, and confront witnesses who are his accusers." 316 So.2d

at 271.

7

Ferhaps the reason that the court did not address Hill in its

decision is that petitioner did not raise this argument in its

brief on appeal; rather, petitioner argued, initially, only that

the plea colloquy and satisfied “minimum due process standards",

and that Florida procedural rules required respondent to

demonstrate prejudice from any deficiency in the proceedings

(R.A. 87-89). Petitioner first raised an argument based upon

Hill v. Lockhart in its motion for rehearing (P.A. 13), at a time

when the state court, under Florida law, was not required to

consider the argument. E.g., Sag Harbour Marine, Inc. Vv.

Fickett, 484 So.2d 1250, 1256 (Fla. lst DCA 1986)("“a party cannot

(Cont'd)

-8-

eS mn oe

premise of petitioner's argument in this regard is correct:

respondent's motion seems to have been directed, at least in his

statement of the facts underlying his claim, to a theory of overt

coercion by state officers and a lack of enthusiasm on the part

of his counsel (P.A. 25-26). However, the pertinent facts were

brought before the state triai court by the parties, that is, the

transcript of the plea proceedings was prepared and presented to

the court, and faccs pertinent to the colloquy were elicited from

respondent at the hearing, largely through the efforts of the

prosecutor on his cross-examination (R.A. 24-26, 48). And the

power of the state appellate court to address the claim, once it

was raised on respondent's appeal, is firmly established by state

law.

Rule 3.850 of the Florida Rules of Criminal Procedure, in

its original incarnation as Criminal Procedure Rule No. 1, was

promulgated, in the wake of Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335

(1963), to supplant habeas corpus as the primary vehicle for

post-conviction litigation in Plorida. Roy v. Wainwright, 151

So.2d4 825, 826-29 (Fla. 1963).% The Florida Supreme Court

declared, immediately after its promulgation of the rule, that

the "relief available” thereunder was to be “coextensive with

that which would be available in habeas corpus." Gideon v.

Wainwright, 153 So.2d 299, 300 (Fla. 1963). It was a hallmark of

Florida habeas corpus law that pro se petitions were to be

present arguments in a motion for rehearing that have not been

presented to the court in the appellate briefs or oral

argument").

Rule No. 1 was codified as Fla.R.Crim.P. 1.850 in the 1967

adoption of the Florida Rules of Criminal Procedure, without any

substantive amendments to the original rule. In re Florida Rules

of Criminal Procedure, 196 So.2d 124, 167-68 (Fla. 1967). The

rule was renumbered as Rule 3.850 in 1971, again without any

amendments. In re Florida Rules of Criminal Procedure, 253 So.2d

421 (Fla. 1971). In 1977, the Florida Supreme Court amended the

rule to add certain procedural requirements for post-conviction

motions. The Florida Bar Re Rules of Criminal Procedure, 343

So.2d 1247, 1264-65 (Fla. 1977). This version of the rule, which

was in effect at the time of the post-conviction proceedings in

this case, was more recently amended by the addition of a two-

year limitations period and other procedural changes. The

Florida Bar Re Amendment to Rules of Criminal Procedure (Rule

3.850), 460 So.2d 907 (Fla. 1984). However, the substance of the

rule and the relief available under its provisions have remained

the same from the time of its initial promulgation.

-9-

liberally construed, both in form and substance, e.g. Sneed v.

Mayo, 66 So.2d 765, 870 (Fla. 1953); Ex parte Amos, 93 Fla. 5,

112 So. 289, 291-92 (1927), and this rule was held fully

applicable under the newly-adopted post-conviction procedure in

Rule No. 1:

In processing a motion under Criminal

Procedure Rule No. 1, it must always be borne

in mind that such motions filed by a prisoner

pro se should not be scrutinized for technical

niceties, since a prisoner is almost always

unskilled in the law and cannot be held to a

high standard of pleading. .- - It must

further be borne in mind that in order to

effectuate the announced purposes of Criminal

Procedure Rule No. 1.. . the procedure and

remedy so prescribed must be such that a

prisoner may be afforded every procedural

benefit available under habeas corpus and

necessary to a meaningful investigation of his

claim. The courts have the task, therefore,

of adapting the procedure to the peculiarities

and irreguiarities of motions which obviously

state valid claims. Thus, as a matter of

pleading, such motions should be treated with

the same liberality as that historically

granted by courts in entertaining applications

for habeas corpus. ..- +

Ashley v. State, 158 So.2d 530, §31-32 (Fla‘/App. 1963); accord,

Andrews v. State, 160 So.2d 726 (Fla.App. 1964); Sampson v.

State, 158 So.2d 771, 774 (Fla.App. 1963).

The Supreme Court of Florida has more recently re-affirmed

this principle in State v. Stacey, 482 So.2d 1350 (Fla. 1985),

stating that it was “not inclined to hold [an applicant] to

professional standards of pleading", and that it was empowered to

recast a claim where the merit thereof was patent on the face of

the motion and supporting record. Id. at 1351-52; see Nova v.

State, 439 So.2d 255, 259 (Fla.App. 1983)(inappropriate relief

sought in pro se motion does not prevent court from granting

proper relief on valid claim). This principle of Florida law was

explicitly invoked by respondent in the state appellate court

(R.A. 72-73), and the state court's subsequent decision to reach

the merits of the claim raised on appeal was indisputably proper

under this line of authority.

Thus, no constitutional question is presented by this

ruling; neither Hill v. Lockhart nor any other decision of this

Court prevented the state court from applying its own procedural

rules and reaching the merits of respondent's claim. There is,

-10-

accordingly, no basis for the issuance of a writ of certiorari.

CONCLUSION

Based upon the foregoing, respondent requests this Court to

deny the petition for writ of certiorari in this cause.

Respectfully submitted,

BENNETT H. BRUMMER

Public Defender

Eleventh Judicial Circuit

of Florida

1351 Northwest 12th Street

Miami, Florida 33125

(305) 545-3005

BY: ~

LIOT H. SCHERK

Ass ant Public Defender

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

85-1975

THE STATE OF FLORIDA,

Petitioner,

URBANO TORRES,

Respondent.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that true and correct copies of the

foregoing Brief in Opposition to Petition for Writ of Certiorari,

Motion <cor Leave to Proceed in Forma Pauperis, and Notice of

Appearance have been served upon RICHARD E. DORAN, Assistant

Attorney General, 401 N.W. Second Avenue, Suite 820, Miami,

Florida 33128, counsel for petitioner, by depositing same in the

United States mail, first class mail, postage prepaid, this pzep

day of June, 1986, and that all parties required to be served

have been served this date.

Respectfully submitted,

BENNETT H. BRUMMER

Public Defender

Eleventh Judicial Circuit

of Florida

1351 Northwest 12th Street

Miami, Florida 33125

(205) 545-3005

BY: .

LIOT H. SCHERKER

tstant Public Defender

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

NO. 85-1975

THE STATE OF FLORIDA,

Petitioner,

vs.

' URBANO TORRES,

Respondent.

NOTICE OF APPEARANCE

The undersigned hereby enters his appearance as counsel for

the respondent, Urbano Torres, in the above-styled cause.

Respectfully submitted,

BENNETT H. BRUMMER

Public Defender

Eleventh Judicial Circuit

of Florida

1351 Northwest 12th Street

Miami, Florida 33125

(305) 545-3005

BY: " R

LIOT H. SCHERKER

Assistant Public Defender

IN THE SUPREME COURT CF TH® UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

NO. 6521345

$5-/978

THE STATE OF FLORIDA,

Petitioner,

vs.

URBANO ‘SORRES,

Respondent.

APPENDIX TO BRIEF OF RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

BENNETT 8H. BRUMMER

Public Defender

Eleventh Judicial Circuit

of Florida

1351 Northwest 12th Street

Miami, Florida 33125

(305) 545-3005

ELLIOT 3. SCHERKER

Assistant Public Defender

Counse: fcr Respondent

INDE X

PAGE

Transcripts of State Post-conviction

PFOCOOGINGS.. cccccsccccvsevcccevesesesccssescccccoscsoeseen @ OI

Brief of Appellant (direct appeal)... eeeeeeeessees coveesdO~19

Brief of Appellee (direct appeal)... ...ceeeeeeeeeceeeeeeee 80-90

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF TERE

ELEVENT": JUDICIAL CIRCUIT IK

AND FOR DADE COUNTY, FLORIDA

CRIMINAL DIVISION

4° STATE OF FLORIDA,

5s Plaintiff,

: vs, CASE NO. 83-4248

URBANO TORRES,

Defendant.

NF eet Need See Ned ee Sa ee eI I

Metropolitan Justice Building

1351 Northwest 12th Street

Miami, Floride 33125

e February 6, 1984

: Mcondéy, 9:00 a.m.

The above-entitled matter came on for hearing before

the Honorable Ralph RN. Person, Circuit Judge, pursuant to

Rotice.

APPEARANCES :

JANET RENO, State Attorney, by

ya | JAY NOVICK, Assistant State Attorney

| on behalf of the State.

, BENNETT AR, BRUMMER, Public Defender, by

9} JAMES EVANS, Assistant Public Defender

on behalf of the Defendant.

ALSO PRESENT:

MARY ROBERTS, Court Interpreter

JOE TROIAN

Oreic.e. Rewseres Ciecr.'? C6.8? -- 1

TELEPHONE 374-1712

111 S W 3rd Strect / Suite 401 / Miam: Florida 33130

2

Mr, EVANS: James been. Public Defender, on

behalf of the defendant, Urbano Torres, &/k/a Rafcel

Hernandez,

MR. WOVICK: Jay Novick, @ppeering on behalf

of the State of Florida.

THE COURT: All right,

MR, EVANS: We @&re here on the defendant's

rule 3 which states two allegations. The first

allegation is that, one, the conviction wés obtained

by a plea of guilty which was mot made voluntarily,

with the understanding of the consequences of the

plea and also, ground two, the conviction was obtained

by the use of coerced confession,

TRE COURT: All right.

MR. NOVICK: I am going to move to strike the

second ellegetior in thet we hed & full evidentiary

hearing on it which was supposed to have been

transcribed. We are reordering or checking it now,

It will obviously reflect you having heard the entire

testimony and having heard the freeness and voluntari-

mees, correct or incorrect. There was a full heéring

on it.

MR. EVANS: Your Honor, et thie point I don't

know if he testified at that hearing, but he told me

certain things that J be ora 8° at least would be a

Orricie. Rerece-es

TELEPHONE 374-1714

111 S W 3rd Street / Suite 401 / Miam: Flonde 33130

°

Couey *>

Ae

6

=~!

besis of @ primes facie case,

MR. NOVICK: Let's go through it all, do it

once,

i

MR. EVANS: Am I the moving party”

MR. MOVICK: You @re the moving perty.

MR. EVANS: At this time I call the defendant

to the witness stand.

THe COURT: Step forward, raise your right hand

and be sworn, pleése.

(Thereupon, the interpreter, MARY ROBERTS, was

duly sworn to faithfully translate all questions and

all answers after which the defendant herein, URBANO

TORRES, was @uly sworn and testified through the

interpreter as follows:

THE CLERF: State your name for the record.

THE INZERFRETER: I have 6lready.

DIRECT EXAMINATIOKX

BY MR, EVANS:

.

A.

.

Could you state your name’

(Through the interpreter) Urbano Torres.

Are you the Urbanc Torres thet plec guilty tec

the crime of first degree murder in c&se number &3-424€&°

A.

.

Yes.

what is your present status?

Are you serving @oranfence now’

Cee.cina,. REOztE-ee C-eeurr Cor

TELEPHONE 374-1714

111 S W 3rd Street / Suite 401 / Miam: Flonda 33130

CJ

4 A. Yes.

- q What was the crime you pled guilty to?

on A. First degree homicide,

4 C. Is it your understanding that your sentence

° | would be a mandatory 25 years without parole’

A. That is what I had understood.

‘ Q Now, when you pled guilty, according to your

affidavit, you stated in your affidavit that, firet of 211,

the confession you gave was coerced; is that true?

| A. That is the truth.

! Q Could you tell the Court what happened, that

mde you understand it was coerced”

What did the police tell you; whet did they

threaten you with’

A. The pot.ce threatened me. They tried to hit me

and told me--showed me @ photograph and said that thet men

knew me and going to accuse me for something else.

| Q Row, where was this at?

| A. In the station with a detective.

" Q. Do you happen to rememer the detective's name’

a A. Ne.

’ | Q Would you recognize this detective if you sev

| him’

: | A. Yes.

- “ Could it weve eee Serect ive Eloy Perez‘

Orriee. Mesoeren revi Cover

4

TELEPHONE 374-1714

111 S W. 3rd Street / Suite 401 / Miam: Flonds 33130

ESES__—

A. Yes, that one.

: C Now, did he threaten you with violence”

A. Yes.

y C. Could you be specific? What did he say and what

"| did he do?

ft A. That he told me that {f I did not declare that

: I was guilty, they were going to accuse me of being a

homosexual,

Q Besides that, did he say anything else that

forced you to give this confession’

A. He told me that if I came okay from them he was

going to get an epartment for me,

C Could you explein that answer a little bit more’

A. He wes offering--making an offer to me. kell,

he wee trying to buy me that wéy.

c Are you trying to s&s thet he offered te finde

you an apartment if you pled guilty or confessed*

A. No, not thet. First of all, they threatened

me and then after that they were--well, as if they were

trying to buy m.

C I am meinly interestec in the thrests.

How did they threéten you’ If they threetene?

you three different ways, tell mc all three different ways

and please be specific.

How were you th | ay q°

y JOE SEGRE,

Orr.ic¢ 2. Rreor-ce S-seeci Seve? >

TELEPHONE 374-1714

111 S W. 3rd Street / Suite 401 / Miam: Flonda 33130

_ OE

; A. They tried to hit me and they showed m ae |

photograph.

< First of all, stop. When he tried to hit you,

4id he actually swing at you and miss’

a A. No. He didn't hit me, but he threatened me.

. | g. Did he raise his hand?

’ A. Yes. He raised his hand at me .

: Q This is Detective Eloy Perez?

A. Eloy Perez, and the other one.

“i C. Did both of them raise their hands or just one

7 of therm’

: A. Nc. The other one was there with the tape

recorder.

C Now, when Detective Perez raised his hand,

what did he say to you’

A Tell m the truth.

Q Did he héve @nything in his hand when he raisec

° it?

a A. Yes. I think he had @ cassette in hia hend,

. Q Did you think he was going to hit you?

“i A. Yes.

; q Were you scéred*

ca Yer.

; ~ Whet other type of threats did they meke agsinst

gl JOE TROIANO

stint osigad one seca .

11S W 3rd Strect / Suite 401 / Miam: Florida 33130

6

—

you?

A.

~

confessed.

A.

Q

you certain

A.

compenton,

Q

A.

@

A.

-

Not any other one.

Kow, you s@y promises were made to you if you

Yes.

Was this Detective Perez again who promised

things?

The Detective Perez and the other one, his

Would that be Detective Alburnie (phonetic)”

Yes. A little guy.

Would you recognize hir if you sew hir’

Yes.

What were they promising you to confess‘ What

would they say they would give you if you confessed”

‘

That they were goinr to find me @n apartment

because I had nowhere to live.

Q

Was it your understanding that if you confessed

that you would not go to jail, is that what you are trying

to say?

Yes.

Is thet the only reason your confessed to the

Yes.

Let's telk about your lavyer that represented

JOE TROIANO

Orrisse. Rewoeres® Cec. So ee

TELEPHONE 374.1714 eg

111 S W. 3rd Street / Suite 40) / Miam: Flonda 33130

— CC CC CCC O_O NEN, IT EEE

}

'

|

you.

Now, in your affidavit you say that when you

asked your attorney whet you should do, you say he did not

@ppear to be willing to use his full abilities to prevent

@ conviction and that seeing no possible way, you confesset,

and that your attorney told you that you would possibly get

the death penalty if you didn’t confess and plead guilty.

Are those the @llegations thet you are making against your

former attorney’

A. Yes.

q Tell me whet happened between you and the

attorney, whet he seid, what you scid and why you pled

guilty.

A. About three or four--sometime--three er four

déys before I was sentencec, the attorney, the gentlemen

whe wee there, went te the celle there down below @nd he

told me that they were asking the electric chair for me.

I told mim that I wes innocent, that, please,

to do something for me. He said, nc, I can't do anything

for you. And he said to me, you are going to plead guilty’

And I eeid, yes. He seid, why’ That is beceuse I have nc

family here and I was scared that my mthcr should find

out thet they hed--that they hac put m ifr. the electric

chair.

C Die your attorney fell you that he hac talked to

Orricie, Mecvrcwe-ce Cree °* ¢ceve

TELEPHONE 3742-17164 3

191 S$ W 3rd Street / Suite 401 / Mam: Flonds 33130

ee aL re

9

the witnesses and prep4red the case and talked to you about

=

the testimony thet world be given at e trial if you had one’

A. Ke.

4 | C. You said your attorney said he could not do

anything for you’

A. Yes, Right here in that office (indicating).

Q Are you sure you told him that you were innocent?

Did you tell him thet’?

A. Yes,

C Now, why did you plead guilty to the Court

through the lewyer?

Did you plead guilty becéuse you were guilty

or because of some other reéson”

A. Because I'm scared,

C Was the reason thet you gave the confession

bec&tse you vere scared’

A. Yes,

° Q Was the reason you pled guilty because you were

‘ scared”

: A. Yes.

C Hey; ole @re you’

A. I'm almoet 20,

C Did you go to school’

A. Yes. I been to school here and in Cube,

C Whet fe the highest eredc you completed in school’

Crricrs. Mtwocartte® Cec. Co.s6

TELEPHONE 374.1714 9

111 S W 3rd Street / Suite 401 / Miam, Flonde 33130 -

>

> ©

, 2

C

Spanish?

A.

q

Spanish’

A.

q

A

Q

Seventh grade,

Can you read’

A little.

You don't speak English; correct”

No,

You don't write English’

(Shakes head.)

You have to s&y the words.

No,

And the little reading you can do is in

Yes.

Are you & good reader or @ poor reéder in

I reé¢d poorly.

De gycu write in Spanish’

A little.

Are you a good writer in Spanish or a poor

writer in Spénish?’

A.

C

h.

«

No, not too good, but I can write.

Rov lonr have gou been ir. Americe’

Four yectre.

Before that you lived in Cubes all of your life’

Yes.

Your ettorney & [kee fo you through an inter

Orricie, Mewoeree Crecuis Cove

TELEPHONE 374.1714 ; 15

11S W 3rd Street / Suite 401 / pMiam: Fiornda 33130

ran ae ee a a

11

preter; correct?

A Yes.

0 During this conversation did you understand

everything that was being said to you through the inter-

preter?

: Yes.

. 0 You have sworn to the allegations set forth

in this motion that you filed; correct?

A Yes.

Q In this affidavit that you swore to you state,

"Seeing no possible way to win in this situation, since

his Court-appointed counsel did not’"--

Ls Yes---

Qa --conviction and given the threat to the police,

the defendant unecuivocally pled guilty.”

Ie that your allecation today in Court?

a Yee.

MR. EVANS That’s it for me at this point.

THE COURT: Mr. Novick?

CROSS-EXAMINATION

BY MR. NOVICK:

0 Arc. Torres, when you were arrested here in

Miami for this csse*, at that time you were on probation,

weren't you, for an agcravateé assault which was actually

e murder in McArthur Park (phonetic) in Los Angeles, ané

JOE TROIANOD

Sel So e-ce ‘ - fe ¢e-

ad ae a ee

PEabr Wont 574-1756

191 S W 3-2 Strect Suc 62" Mem Blend 3213

12

iy you knew that, right? . id

- MP. EVANS: I object to that as being irrele-

vant.

4 THE COURT: Overruled.

A rey (By Mr. Novick) You knew you were on probation

6 | to the Court in Los Angeles because you pled guilty out

, there to some kiné of assault with a deadly weapon, which

- really led to the death of someone? You killed someone

" in McArthur Park in Los Angeles; right?

10 A Yes.

1 MR. EVANS: Objection. It is a compound

I. - question. I'm not sure he understands. He is

saying he was on probation then. I think it is

M4 kind of unclee-.

1 TRE COURT: If you want to clarify it, you

can.

I 0 (By Mr. Novick) Mr. Torres, you had several

Giscussions with your Court-appointed attorney, Mr. Fielde,

\' -pefore you even came to Court for that first hearing, that

Monday, where your attorney asked the judge to throw out

2 your confession? You talked to him, right?

Nie A NO.

- Q You talked to him during that hearing, didn't

<4 you?

- A If I talk to him?

JOE TROIANO

Orric «,. REPOK"EE Cec. Co. er

TELEPHONE 374-1714 . y

111 S W 3re¢ Street / Suite 401 / Mam: Flonide 33130

CB ——<< <_$ EEE cr

13

0 During this hearing, when your attorney was

asking the Judge that Monday to throw out your confession,

remember?

A Yes.

Q And you had sitting with you at the table

here your attorney and yourself a man or a lady to translate,

just like this nice lady today who is translating for you?

Ls A man.

Q S0 that you heard in Spanish everything that

went on and you were able to communicate with your lawyer

in your own language, in Spanish; right?

A Yee.

Q Now, your attorney told you through a trans-

lator, when he talked to you, that in America, in Florida,

if you are convicted of first degree murder and you have

another murder in your past, that that is one of the bad

things that goes against you when the new judge here in

Florida goes to sentence you; right?

A May I sav something?

Q Sure.

A In the first plaece--in the first place, the

case ir, Loe Ancelee, I ar irnocent. I plead guilty te

get out of that and because they made an offer to me of

five years.

0. Probation?

JOE TROIANO

Orricvse Reeserce Cimcurs CO cer

TELEPHONE 374-1716

191 S$ W 3rd Strect / Suite 401 / Miam. Blonde 33130 13

15

‘

A Yes, he tolé me that.

Q That was one of his concerns ast your lawyer,

right, in trying to get the best desi ttat he coulé get

for you?

MR. EVANS: Objection. He would have no know-

ledge of that.

THE COURT: Overruled.

A How could it be the best thing for me if I dié

not kill in Los Angeles and I did not kill here either?

Q (By Mr. Novick) But the paperwork says you

agreed to plea¢ guilty in Los Angeles in a case where a

man got killed, right?

AK Yes, but I only did it because of the probatic-.,

not because I did it.

Q No. I understand, but I was going to use all

of that evidence and you knew it when I asked this judge

to give you a sentence on this case. If a jury founé you

guilty, you knew I was going to use that, right?

a I knew because the lawyer told me they were

going to bring witnesses from there.

Q From California?

A Yes.

Q You knew. Your lawyer, Mr. Fields, told you

that in Florida, if you committed a murder ané¢ if you

commit it when you're--in committing it, in doing the

JOE TROIANO

Orric Reece-em® Cecl Coce

na

u

TELEPHONE 374.1714

111 S W 3rd Stree: Suite 401 Mem. Flonds 33130

16

murder or just right after the meréer, you take sone

property from the person you kill, that makes it more

serious for sentencing; although, like having a bad recoré,

it's another bad thing that the judge would look at; you

knew that, right?

a No.

Q Mr. Fields, he Gidn't tell you that?

A No.

Q Now, Mr. Fields, he talked to you about the

way the guy who got killed in this case, in Florida, was

all tied up. You knew about how he got killed, right?

A No. He showed me a photograph.

Q Yes. But before you came into Court you knew

how that person died, right?

A No.

Q You saw the photograph before you came into

Court?

A Yes.

Q S50 you saw how ugly it looked, right?

MR. EVANS: I'm going to object at this point.

I think we are losing the relevant importance of this

hearing. I Gon't know what it is leading to.

TRE COURT: Overruled.

Q (By Mr. Novick) You can answer.

You saw from the pictures how gruesome and vwoaly

JOE TROIANO

Orricia. Rewoe-ste Cmccit Co.e-

TELEPHONE 374-1714 16

WS W 3rd Street / Suite 401 / Mam. Flonds 33130

17

|

this murder was?

5

MR. EVANS: Your Honor, I object to the prosect-

tion's characterizations. I haven't seen the pictures.

THE WITNESS: Yes.

MR. EVANS: And I might not consider them grue-

some or ugly.

THE COURT: He is asking the witness.

Q (By Mr. Novick) Yes?

A Yes, I saw it.

Q And Mr. Fields, your lawyer, he told you when

you were talking about this case that murders in Florida,

if they are uglier than normal, that is another thing the

Judge has to look at and if he finds that they are worse

than normal and ugly, the way the crime happened, the way

the murder took place, that he would sentence you harder

for an ugly type murder?

Mr. FPielés told you that, right?

A No.

Q But you remember Mr. Fields telling you that

in his professional opinion, as a trained lawyer for a lot

of years and knowing this particular judge very well, that

there was a good chance that this judcse night juet sentence

you to Gie in the electric chair; right? You knew that,

right?

A Yes. That's what I was told.

JOE TROIANO

Orvicvs Reeoerrs Cees Cole:

TELEPHONE 374.1714 r iy

WIS W 3rd Street / Suite 401 / Miam. Flonda 33130

is

?

re) By Mr. Fields, right?

A Yes.

Q Re told you exactly why he thought so, right?

A No. He told me that it would be because of the

| case in Los Angeles and that he could give me more time

because of the dead man, because of the way it was, the

way he was.

Q Bow, all the times when you spoke to Mr. Fields,

either in court here or in back in that jury room or over

at the jail, you always had a translator who is trained to

translate, like this lady, for you, right?

A Yes.

Q Do you recognize the name Jose Solazano

(phonetic)?

Would you recognize his name? That is the name

of the translator.

A Yes. The day they sentence me.

Q That is the name of the translator, right?

A Yes.

Q Bo he was with you back in that jury room with

Mr. Fielés talking about what you were going to do in

Court, what the Jucce wat coine to do in Court, richt?

A Yes.

Q So he would be a real good witness to tell us

what you all talked about back there, right?

JOE TROIANO

*. Rewlre-ce Cee. Core

i)

W

TELEPHONE 374.1716

111 S W 3rd Street Suite 40) Miam. Blonde 33130

is

o Yes.

Q Let me ask you a few questiors about this

confession, okay?

When you first went down to the police station

to talk to the detectives, you told them that you had never

touched the telephone in the wan's apartment, right?

At first you told them that?

A Yes.

Q Then they showed you the fingerprints or told

you about the fingerprint taken from the telephone that

was positively identified as being yours; remember that?

A That was the way it was.

Q Then you finally gave this confession that you

are now protesting?

A I am not protesting it. I am just saying the

truth and saying what and how I feel.

Q Well, it was after they showed you this or tol:

you about this fingerprint from the telephone that you

“told them what is in your confession?

A No. Wo. Before.

Q Oh, before?

A Sefore, yes. Before ther showeé it to re.

Q But they had told you they had it, right?

A No. No. No. Afterwards.

After I had given a confession sayine that I

JOE TROIANO

- seins cpr ; 19

32S W Bid Street Suite 40) Miar Blonde 3313

20

had not touched the telephone.

Q That pu had not?

A Ané that the car had been loaned to me.

ey But before you gave the one which said that

you didn’t, before that, they told you before the finger-

prints that they had from the telephone, right?

uM Yes.

Q Now, let's go dack to the first time that you

were arrested.

Do you remember the car over at the bar, Pier

17; remember?

A Yes.

Q This is the car that you claim was loaned to

you, right?

A Yes.

Q Do you remember the police findine in the trunk

of that car the corc from the man's telephone, the wan whe

got killed?

A No.

Q If I tell you that it was found in the trunk

of that car, yor @Gon't doubt that, right?

MR. EVANS: Objection, your Honor.

TEE COURT: Overruled.

THE WITNESS: I don't know.

Q (By Mr. Novick) When you were firet booked into

JOE TROIANO

Riecerre Ce

“*

~

]

suincemigpentinnen « 21

the jail fror that arrest at Pier 17 ané then you got out

for time servec, right--

A Yes.

o --when you were bookeé into the property room

there, you had the Gead man's watch. Do you remember that?

MR. BVANS: Objection, your RFonor.

TEE WITNESS: No.

THE COURT: Be anawered.

Q (By Mr. Novick) So if the evidence and the

property sheets that they keep at the jail would indicate

that you had the watch, that would be wrong?

A That was my watch.

Q Now, you testified under oath, in front eof

this judge, in the hearing, where your attorney, Mr. Fields

on that Monéay, October 3rdé of last year was tryine to

convince this judge that he should throw out and not

accept your confession. You remember that, richt?

A I don't remember.

Q Now, maybe you better mark it for purposes of

this hearing.

THE CLERK: State's Exhibiti-* for purposes of

Identification.

(Thereupon, the iter referred to was marked

as Plaintiff's Exhibit No.}1-A for Identification.)

MR. NOVICK: I won't be much longer, Judc:

JOE TROIANO

22

CG (By Mr. Novick) If I were to show you State's

Exhibit 1-A for the purposes of Identificatior, which is

the motion to throw out your confession, where it lists

my name ané Mr. Fields’ ané the Court Reporter ané all of

the witneeses that I called on the back, that you were

called and sworn in ané you 41d testify es a witness, this

would also be wrong; right?

MR. EVANS: Your Honor, I woulé object to it.

THE COURT: Overruled.

A I don't know because I Gon't understand any-

thing of that. I don't know anything about that.

MR. NOVICK: I would move it into evidence ance

ask the Court to take judicial notice of its own

records.

TEE COURT: 11 right.

TEE CLERK: State's Exhibit 1-A for Identifice-

tion becomes State‘’s Exhibit No. l.

(Thereupon, the item referred to was marked as

Plaintiff's Exhibit No. 1 and received in Evidence.)

Q (By Mr. Novick) Mr. Torres, as far as the

throwing out of your confession coes, we have sirest¢y heeré

all tiie in Court, haven't we? Ané the Judce alreec,s

rejecteé it, 4id not accept it when he first heard it.

MR. EVANS: I woulé object to that as being

irrelevant.

JOE TROIANO

fie * ¢« Co.

TELEFPHOALT 374.1714 Pw te

199 S W Bre Street Sute 40! Maem Fiends 3313¢

TFL COURT: I will sustain it based on the

matters before the Court ané the record.

MR. NOVICK: At this time, your Bonor, I ar

going to ask that when it is typed up, that the

hearing and the motion to suppress be markec, moved

into evidence as recorded by her ané reflect for

you exactly what 414 take place in Court, what you

heard. You can review it and refresh your recollec-

tion. Do you have any objection to that?

That will be Exhibit No. 2, the transcript

on the motion to suppress to be received.

G (By Mr. Novick) Wow, do you remerber the Judce

ruling against throwing out the confession late one Monday

afternoon? It was actually, really, pretty early in the

evening. It was getting late that Monday, back on October

3rd, about €:00 at night, 7:00 et night?

A I don’t remernber.

Q You Gon't remember when the Judge told Mr.

Pields, your lawyer, that he was not going to throw out

the confession?

A No. I don’t renmerber.

2 well, do you remerber that Menéav of the trie.

week that we recessed, we left Court that Monday evenings

in order to give your lawyer, Mr. Fields, some time, either

thet night or the next morning to speak to you about your

JOE TPOIANO

fie

EL EPR ONE 374 é reg |

~~

119 S W Bre Stree Sute 40! ovde +9°

ol ae ae = ian 24

case again ané you came back on a Tuesday? = dl

M Yes.

Q Dié you speak with Mr. Pieldés that night, that

Monday night,

a

¢

of time,

room?

A

0

interpreter on Tuesday,

this Judce risht here,

A

0

Solazano?

A

0

right?

-

that Gay.

0

A

0

talkec no

LS

with Mr.

at the jail?

At night, no.

But you 614 speak with him for a long period

Solagano, the interpreter, in the jury

Yes, on Tuesday. Yes.

Now, after you spoke to Mr. Pielés with the

you came out in front of the Court,

right?

Yes.

With the Court interpreter,

right, Mr.

Ob hmr.

Ané the Juéce aske¢ you a lot of acuestiorg,

To me? No. To the lawyer. I didn't speak

You €ién‘’t speak that Gay at a11?

i spoke when I with ry hasé (ir éicet:-s

Wher. you took the oath, you talked and you

more?

JOE TROIANO

25

Q Do you remember the judge, this ran here,

asking you whether or not you wanted to plead guilty?

A I remerber that he asked me, but I plead

guilty because the lawyer had tolé me that if I dién't

they were going to give me the electric chair.

Q I want to go down the questions with you,

though, Mr. Torres.

You €@o remember him asking you if you wanted

to pleaé guilty?

A Yes.

¢ And your answer, at least on that Tuesday, was

yes?

A Yes.

Q And you were under oath to tell the truth,

right?

A Yes. I swore there. I put my hané¢ up and no

pore.

re And there was a clerk of the court who swore

you to tell the truth, but it was the other one thet

alternetes. She was a white clerk, a white lady ané she

swore you to tell the truth?

bh Yes. Yes.

0 Ané the judge askec you for your ase anc e&

little bit about your educational backgrouné, right?

A Yes.

JOE TROIANO

Ree

19S W 3rd Street Surte 40 Mam Flonde 3213¢

26

1 0 He asked you whether you were teking any érugs |

or had enything wrong with your head, right?

A Yes. I think so. Yes.

4 Q Any mentel problems?

5 | A (no audible response)

t | Q Be asked you whether you understood, if you

r 461d plead guilty, that this was an agreement, a deal, which

h your attorney had worked out with me to save you from the

electric chair and that you would have to spend at least

iT 25 years in jail; the Judge askeé you whether you unéer-

stood what you were going to have to do. Do you remember

that?

A Yes. I remenber.

14 Q Ané you remember the judge because Mr. Fields

1 was appointed by the Court to help you out. You remerber

the judge askine you whether or not everything he 61d was

okay with you, you were satisfied with hir and you said,

yes, it was okay with you?

A No. I don't remember.

2 Q Now, Go you remember that somewhere during this

Giscussion between you and the judge there was somethince

gions there thet you €fén't auite underetanéd and we trchke

we took a little bit of a break for a minute and you spoke

to Mr. Pields again with the translator; do you renember,

to clear some things up?

JOE TROIANO

Riece * ¢«u Cove rrr

EPHONES 374.1714 ~

Te

113 S W Bre Street Surte 401 Mam. Flonds 33136

ee

27

A I don't remember what confusion there was. i |,

Q Do you remember that?

A I don't remember what confusion there was.

| 0 But the judge gave you time to talk with your

jlawyer, right?

| A The lawyer spoke to me. The lawyer spoke to me

pad eeid that I haé promiseé him that I wat going to plead

quilty ané why @14 I plead guilty. And why 4i4 I plead

guilty?

they we

BY MF.

Because I was scared and because he told me that

re going to give me the electric chair.

MR. NOVICK: I Gon't have any further questions

at this time.

I would move into evidence, when it comes up,

because it should be in the Court file, the transcrift

of the plea colloguy and ask that this becomes State's

Exhibit No. 3, as soon as it is received by the Clerk.

You do not have any probler with that, Mr.

Evans?

MR. EVANS: No problen.

REDIRECT EXAMINATION

EVANS:

¢ Mr. Terres, wher you were before the Judae

with Mr. Fields ané they were asking the questions before

you pled guilty, did you understan¢ everything that was

seié to you?

JOE TROIANO

|

FPHONT 3761714 «>

Pm

A A little.

Q S0 you €id not understand all of it; correct?

A No.

o Now, was the interpreter--he wasn't your friend,

was he?

A Bo.

Q He was not someone that you were supposed to

confide in; correct, like your attorney?

- Yes.

Q Ané you confessed and you pleé guilty because

you were scared ané that is the only reason you pled

guilty; is that true?

A Yes. Yes.

Q Now, the case in California, you did not pleac¢

“guilty to murder, did you?

AK No.

MR. EVANS: That's all, Judge.

MR. NOVICK: No recross.

THE COURT: Thank you.

MR. EVANS: Your Honor, at this point the

Gefendant's allegations are still that he was

threatenec, possitly wit> force, ty the pelice.

He doeen't remember the plea colloquy, whet was

all said to him, but he renerbers that he pled

guilty because he was scarec, anc under hie

JOE TROIANO

Crrcue Meece-ace C-acrire Core-

TELEPHONE 374.1714 pha)

111 $ W 3rd Street / Suite 401 / Muem. Fionds 33136 =

ah?

belief, Mr. Fields didn't do all he thought he

should have done for hin or he Gidn't have any

confidence in him. Ke thought that if he didn't

Plead guilty that he would get the electric chair

and he said he plead guilty just to save his life.

I Gon't think anything has come up that would

rebut that, That's the point we stand on right now.

MR. NOVICK: Are you resting your case?

MR. EVANS: I'm resting my case.

MR. NOVICK: May I call my first witness?

THE COURT: Yes.

MR. NOVICK: Harold Fields.

THE CLERK: May I swear you in, Mr. Fields?

Thereupon:

EAROLD PIELDS

was called as a witness and, having been first duly sworn,

was examined and testifiec as follows:

DIRECT EXAMINATION

BY MR. NOVICK:

re Would you state your name and occupation?

A Harold Fields. I'r an attorney.

¢ Eow long heve you been ar. attorney?

Just for the record, tell the Court your

background.

A I've been an attorney since March 20, 1973,

JOE TROIANO

Crric Reeoe-ee® Ceci. Coe

TELEPHONE 372.1734 a

fu

11S W 3rd Street / Suite 401 / Mia. Florida 33130

30

—

when I was sworn into the New York Bar.

Q Ané a majority of your practice has been over

the course of those years criminal defense?

A Yes, sir.

Q You have done numerous first degree murder cases,

Mr. Pields?

A Yes.

Q Were you the attorney, in fact, of record, for

Mr. Urbano Torres?

B Yes.

Q In your preparation of this particular case,

you took depositions; correct?

A Yes.

Q You did some traveling for which some deposi-

tions took place and didn't take place, but to look into

the background of your client?

A Yes.

Q And to see whether the State could prove the

allegations in the indictment and sone of those aggravated

factors that the State woulé use against your client at

time of sentencing?

A Yes.

Q Did you have occasion during the time you

represented your client to meet with him on more than

one occasion?

JOE TROIANO

Cc c Rre- fc Cwey Co er ce

TELEPHONE 374-1716 - 09

WS W 3rd Street / Suite 401 / Mam. Flonde 33130

31

Ls Yes.

Q Did you indicate to hin the proof which you

felt the State would be able to go forwaré with in this

case, both as to the first degree murder and as to the

sentencing phase, if it were to get that far?

is Yes.

Q Dié you indicate to your client, as a trained

professional, what you thought the outcome in this case

could potentially be?

A Potentially yes.

Q Did you indicate to him the orders in this--

did you indicate to him that there were some serious

aggravating circumstances in this case which would miti-

gate against him, as far as sentencing goes, anc that this

wae really a potential death case?

A There were two.

MR. EVANS: At this time, I am goinc to object.

Mr. Novick is testifying.

MR. NOVICK: I will Go it in a non-leading

fashion. I was trying to push a little bit.

Q (By Mr. Novick) Did you file wotionse in this

case?

A Yes.

Q Did you file etandard death motions in a Geath

case asking for all kinde of rulings ty the Court on death

1OE TROIANO

Orricia Reece-ce Creccis Cover

if ]

TELEPHONE 374-1716 Jit

111 S W 3rd Street / Suite 401 / Mam Blonds 33130

32

pee issues and asking for aggravating and mitigating ce i

circumstances, and the Public Defender's office asked for

those types of things in order for you to protect your

4 | elient in the eventuality the State was looking for that

a type of punishment in a case?

6 | a I filed a number of motions that were appropriate

‘7 | @o a Geath case, yes.

& Q Did you also file a motion to suppress the

defendant's confession in this case?

I A I believe I dic.

VW Q Did that in fact get to hearing?

1. A Yes, ie é44.

Q Did you meet with a client at that tine and

14 about that motion?

I A Yes.

Q Let me ask yor this: You don't speak Spanish,

right?

. a No.

- 0 When you met him, you met him with or without

“ a certified Court interpreter?

A Well, every tire I met with him, it was with a

certified Court interpreter.

¢ There wae a heerince on the motion to suppress,

correct?

A Yes, there wae.

JOE TROIANO

Orricvas Reeceere Cis > Cove- “>">

Ww Ae

TELEFHONE 374-1714

111 S W 3rd Street Suite 401 / Mam. Florida 33130

SE

33

0 Ané the Judge rule¢?

A Against me. me

@ Then there was a plea offer.from the State at

4 | that point?

A There had been a plea offer all along. There

had been an original plea offer, I believe.

a rey What happened to that? |

. A Well, that plea offer went down the drain after

you had determined that he had committed a homicide in Los

Angeles and you were able to prove it.

Q Then the pending plea offer wae to what?

i A The plea offer?

‘icer?,

Q The new pending plea offer, after I withdrew

the second degree plea because of the aggravated circun-

stances of the murder in Logs Angeles.

Rh You seic you were going to ask for the death

penalty, notwithstanding--notwithstancinge your previous

plea offer.

Q Okay.

Now, do you remember us recessing that Monday

night?

h After the mction to Suppress?

Q After the motion to suppress.

- A Yes.

r Q Do you remember having conversation with your

JOE TROIANO

WS W 3rd Street Suite 401 Miar Flonds 3313C

la

not????

Ve

client in the jury room here in Judge Person's court,

Tue#day morning, before and during the Court calendar?

A Yes.

Q Do you remember the plea dialogue?

a Colloguy here in front of the Judge?

Q Yes.

Did Judge Person go through the standard set

of required questions as prescribed by the Florida Rules

of Criminal Procedure?

a As I recall. You hear it so much that---

Q You might have left something out and the

record would speak for itself?

A The record would speak for itself.

Q Did your client ever communicate to you on

that day that you were forcing him to do something that

he @Gid not want to do?

A No. You know, he was upset.

Q That he would have td plead quilty to this

type of crime?

A Yes.

Q Did you ever threaten him?

AK Tareate: him? kEow de you mean?

Q You just wouldn't try this case or couldn't

try this case?

A No. I never told---

JOE TROIANO

Ore ‘ Rereorwrce C ec > Cover

TELEPHONE 374.1714

WS W 3rd Street Suite 40) Miam Blonds 33130

td

han

35

6

rey That you woulé not give him a vicorous ¢efense

if he @ecided not to accept the plea offer?

A No. I never told him that.

Qo Did you ever tell him that the State Attorney's

office or myself, someone had a pipeline to the Judge and

the Judge was going to @o "xX" if he was convicted?

A No. I Gidn't tell him that either.

Q None of that would be true, right, to your

knowledge?

A That the State Attorney has a pipeline to the

Judge?

Q Or this State Attorney or the State Attorney's

office or anyone knew what the Juéce wae going to Go in

this case?

A No. I @on't think you have a pipeline to this

Judge.

Q Or any other Cucge.

In fact, Go you remember whether there was ever.

any conversation in front of this Judge about his thoughts

prior to sentencing, prior to us going into the hearing ance

this case pleading cut?

KR tT believe that=--the receré will have te sree!

for itself, but I believe the Cuccse hae indicated that this

was a horrendous type crime and the fact that he hac flec

guilty to ae crime in California certainly did: 't help the

JOE TROIANO

‘ Riecerrce Cec

TELEPHONE 374.1706 oie

W117 S W Sid Street / Suite 20) / pram. Blonds 3313¢ 2

——___—__

issue. I believe it wes whether or not he wes going to

be able to get behind the crime in bringing ge circurstances--

since the crime wes only sggravateé assault, ané I got en

indication it would be resolved egainst me.

G Your client pled guilty tc aggravated ssseult

where, in fact, someone 6ie4. This was @ plea taken in

California. The 6tate was going to be able to introduce

evidence thet there wes a Geeth there. You resolveé thet

or the Court resolveé that in your wind against you?

- Yes.

¢ If the recoré so reflects, your client wes able

to tare the etané in the rotion to suppress ané voice his

feelings on the matter?

A I 6c not recall exactly what my client--exactly

what he sai¢, but I believe I asked one auestion too many

ané my cliert kind of closeé the G@oor on the motion tc

suppress, as I recall.

Q He gave an answer to sorething---

A Totally inappropriste.

ie) Totally contrary to what was testified to to¢ay,

but the recoré will reflect---

,. I khrow 4t wee tctelly centrary to whet wee erié

tocey. It was certeinly contrery to wry theory of éefernce.

MP. NOVICI:: I Gon’t have any further cueetions.

SE a ee eS 37

CROSS-ZXAMINATION

BY MR. EVANS:

0 Mr. Fields, you Gon’t speak Spanish, €o you?

A I understand some Spanish. I've had a number

of years in college, but I don’t speak and understand it

fluently, no.

Q Dié you try to use a little Spanish, you know,

in trying to communicate with Mr. Torres?

A I don't think so. I pay have said sone things

to him between--exactly between me an¢é hin, without the

interpreter, but it was--it waes--it was not of substance.

0 Now, et the time of the plea colloquy he was

upset, correct?

bh Yes.

0 Did you know why he was upset?

A No. Be @idr't want to go to jail for 25 years.

6 4@ he tell yor that or ¢€i¢ you sssume that?

A Well, the night before--1I think you have to

set it up eae little bit.

The night before, after he haé testified, we

went into the jury roor with the interpreter and I askec

hir whst he wzar.tec to cc. o@ s2eic, °3 wert to pieac

guilty.* He haé heare the evidence froz the witnese

stand. He hed hearé Detective Perez, I believe, give @

Gescription of the horiciée an¢d I think that he--he hac

JOE TROIANO

felt at that time that the plea negotiations were in his

best interest.

0 how, Giéd you ever tell hin, I can’t do anything

for you?

7 Ho.

9 Are you eure?

.s Yes.

ey You could have seid it and forgotten about it?

A Well, what do you mean, I can't do anythina for

you? Can I win the case?

It was my opinion that I couldn't win the case,

ané, you know, I certainly could have tolé him that.

Q Dic he tell you he was innocent?

A Yes.

0 Now, he pled guilty to aggravated assault in

California, correct?

AK Yes.

0G Normally, aggravated assault, just pointing

the weapon at someone, is a third degree felony?

A Yes.

6 Basec on your investigation, did someone stay

dr. California baseca on that 6ane case?

A Yes.

0 Could you tell we the circumstances?

A Circumstances, as best I car recall, was that

JOE TROIANO

a as

another individual ané the victia had gotten in a fight

ané apparently the other individual turneé to Mr. Torres

ané Mr. Torres, at least accordine to the people in Cali-

forniea, stabbed the man to Geath, okay?

Apparently, for whatever reason, the police

out there weren't able to get their witnesses together

in time--in time. I believe one of the people who told

on hip was a police informant and that was sorething that

I hed figured out by myself, somethinc Mr. Novick knew and

hadn't told me. I figureé it ovt, looking through the

Court documents and through the police reports, ané he

head disappeared. But it hadn't been iné@icated to re at

the time thet we had gone to California that the police

had--head founé him again--

Q And base¢ on that--

, --ané that person is available.

Q --you went to California, correct?

a Yes.

Q Ané you talkeé to these witnesses that gave

you the basis for---

A No. I 6ién't talk to the police informant.

No. I telked to the police officer responsible for the

case.

0 Were they wiliing to come to Florida to testify

in this case if they hac to?

JOE TROIANO

Ve

TELEPHONE 374-1714 V~

40

A Yes.

¢ Diéd Mr. Torres, ir your opinion, seer to have

Girinishedé capacity in any mental sense, based on your

observations of hinz?

A I don't think he had a real good education and,

to tell you the truth, I don't believe that--Detective Pere:

G4idn't trick him or promise him anything to make a confes-

sion, or didn't.

Q Did you have any physical proof? Did the

State prove to your satisfaction that the watch in the

property was the Cdeceased's watch?

RK Well, they tried to. They tried to establish

it and the objection wes that there wae ne one to say this

was the man's watch, except a Gescription that somebody

else had given of the watch. I believe the objection was

sustained and the watch waen't useé ae a basis.

¢ Sc the watch Gidn'’t have ae serious---

A lio.

Q The State was not able to establish, to ny

satisfaction, or the Court's satisfaction that thie was

in fact the decease@'sc wetch?

}. Yes.

0 Mr. Fielée, do you feel that Mr. Torres pled

guilty because you forcec him to pleaé guilty by telling

hir that he would get the electric chair if he 4idn't plee?

JOE TROIANO

Ore Rrecer#e® Cme Co." 7

40

TELEPHONE 374-5714

111 S W Bre Street Suite 401 / them. Flonds 33130

41

guilty?

A I'm not going to speculate on that. I believe

Mr. Torres pled guilty because he beliewed it was in his

best interest, as x 414.

Q Do you believe the case--the State had a good

enough case to get a conviction for first degree murder?

A Yes, they 4id.

MR. EVANS: SBothing further.

MR. MOVICK: Nothing further from me.

Thank you very much.

THE CLERK: Raise your right hand, please.

Thereupon:

JOSE SOLAZANO

was called as a witness ard, having been first duly sworn,

was examined ané testified as follows:

DIRECT EXAMINATION

BY MR. NOVICK:

Q Could you tell us your name and occupation?

A Yes, sir. My full name is Jose Solagrano and

my occupation is Official Court Interpreter for Dade County

Courts.

0 Dig you have occasion to be brought in by the

Court to the case of State of Florida versus Urbano Torres,

this man who is--maybe you can't see him--this man's case

right here, in this courtroom on Tuesday morning, October 4,

JOE TROIANO

Ore . Rirocetrce Ce * Cove +1

TELEPHONE 374.1714

111 S W 3rd Street Sute 401 Miem, Blonde 3313¢

42

19837

A I have no unaidec recollection of that incident

and I might adé the reason. We have so many cases every

day.

Q Do you remember, though, talking and translating

+

with Harold Fields, the gentleman who just came out ané asked

you to come into the courtroom and aided him in discussing

a case in this courtroom ané in that jury room with a

particular defendant, though you may not remember the

Gefendant that the case revolved around, the case where

somebody's car was stolen and he was wrapped up and tied

up in some sheets and there was some bowel movement wher

he was killed, kand of---

A With a car?

Q No. Where the guy was tied up with sheets.

Fe had a bowel movement--does those set of facts---

A I recall somethino like that, but I believe

that when I heard those details, it would not have been

in the jury room. It might have been another---

Q Tell me who the translator was that day.

A I may have had more than one intervention in

the case.

Q If the record of the plea colloquy, when it

is provided to the Court, reflects that you were the

translator that morninc, that woulén't surprise you,

JOE TROIANO

Orricie, Rewomtem Cimcuit Covmy

TELEPHONE 374.1716 6 “Lie

WS W 3rd Street / Suite 401 / Miam. Flornds 33130

|

would it?

A No, it wouldn't.

Q Let me ask you this: Were you with Mr. Fields

on that particular case, the one that you remember with

the sheets ané the body secretions?

o Yes.

Qo Do you remember Giscussing with Mr. Fields or

translating for him an atterpt at plea discussions?

MR. EVANS: Your Honor, at this point, if he

can't establish that this defendant--it's a moot

question.

THE COURT: We are going to have to try to do

the best we can here. Let's see what he remembers,

if anything.

Q (By Mr. Novick) Do you remember having the

plee discussions?

A Not that case specifically. If the Court

recoré shows it--but I have---

MR. NOVICK: I have a suggestion, Judge, at

this time. The man does obviously have a lot of

cases, @ lot of pleas in Court. If I could wait

until we get the plea colloquy, let hir refres>

his recollection and see whether or not he was the

official translator, I will hold him off until that

cores in. It might be easier that way.

JOE TROIANO

TELEPHONE 374-1714

V1 S W 3rd Street / Suite 401 / Miam Flonda 3313C

as

THE COURT: I think it would be fairer to ell |

people involved if we just hold off on it. Also, we

order this again today. That will be the third ané

the fourth.

MR. WOVICK: I have personally ordered it, not

only in the courtroom, but from my office and I know

I just can't imagine the plea from October not in the

Court file yet. Maybe we ought to get a reset date

ané I woulé be resting after Mr. Solazano's testimony,

once we get a chance to review it.

THE COURT: Was it---

MR. NOVICK: He is going to find I have a

notation from the time---

THE COURT: Was the confession transcribed in

this case? I don't remember.

MR. NOVICK: Yes, it was. If the Court would

like this as well to aid you, I will move that into

evidence.

THE COURT: I have a recollection of two cases.

MR. NOVICK: I move that into evidence as

State's Exhibit No. 2, the confession itself, and

i will aiso white out Fr. Evans Sbeceuse he cic: *t

have the main file. So we will have two copies,

one for him to review and one for the Court to

review, to refreeh the recollection, because you dic

JOE TROIANO

Orr a, Reeoesem Cece Core

TELEPHONE 374.1714 . 44

111 S W 3rd Street Suite 40 Miam Flonda 33130

4s

|

look at it and review it. iz

I'd like to leave this hearing until that time.

Maybe we can---

THE COURT: He's not going anywhere. Put it

over--give it at least two weeks.

THE WITNESS: If there were any specific ques-

tions, I might be able to answer.

MR. NOVICK: It is not that long. Until you've

had a chance to recollect that you were the person on

the plea---

THE COURT: Okay.

MR. NOVICK: Pick a date out.

THE COURT: Yes. We can pick one--two weeks

from now. The 21st would be so busy. Let's do it

the Priday before. I really want it on so that those

documents appear. Get me a copy of everything so

that we can--I can read it. Then I'll have future

hearings. 2/17.

MR. EVANS: 2/17 report?

MR. NOVICK: May I be excused?

THE COURT: Yes, sir. Thank you.

MR. EVANS: Thenk you.

(Thereupon, the hearing was concluded.)

JOE TROIANO

Rreoer

“3

CT

46

CERTIFICATE

STATE OF FLORIDA )

COUNTY OF DADE )

I, the undersigned, do hereby certify that the fore-

going 46 a true and correct record of proceedings had in

the case of BState of Florida versus Urbano Torres, Case No.

84-4382 before the Honorable Ralph K. Person, Circuit Judge,

at the time and place herein set forth.

Dated in the City of Miami, County of Dade, State of

Florida, this SUA day of December, 1984.

Ot : —"

Shorthahd Reporter

JOE TROIANO

TELEPHONE 374.1714 15

STATE OF FLORIDA,

Plaintiff,

ve.

URBANO TORRES,

Defendant.

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF TRE

ELEVENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT IK

AND FOR DADE COUNTY, FLORIDA

CRIMINAL DIVISION

CASE WO. 83-4248

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Thereupon,

Metropolitan Justice Building

1351 Northwest 12th Street

Miami, Florida 33125

March 16, 1984

Friday, 10:00 a.m,

the above-entitled matter came on for

hearing before the Honorable Ralph N. Person, Circuit

Judge, pursuant to Notice.

APPEARANCES:

JANET RENO,

JAY NOVICK,

State Attorney, by

Assistant State Attorney

on behalf of the State.

BENNETT E.

BRUMMER, Public Defender, by

JAMES EVANS, Assistant Public Defender

on behalf of the Defendant.

JOE TROIANC

17

sinha . ‘

TELE PHO

THE COURT: All right, we are here ir the matter

of Urbano Torres.

MR. NOVICK: Judge, as we recessed the last time--

Jay Bovick. This case was on for hearing. We recessed

for two other pieces of State's evidence to be produced

for your review, and that is the entire transcript of

the motion to suppress heard by you on October 3, 1983,

which has not been transcribed and introduced into

evidence as State's Exhibit No. 2; but I don't believe

the Court has had an opportunity--

THE COURT: I have got a copy of that, I think,

in my office.

MR. NOVICK: You very well might, because I really

don't know what's in the office and also to wait for a

copy of the plea colloquy, which I did provide to the

Court, which is State's Exhibit No. 3, which is now

being received and with the receipt of those two pieces

ef additional evidence to negate the defendant's clairs

filed in his pro se motion for post-conviction relief.

The State would rest its rebuttal of the defense's

claim and unless Mr. Evans has some further evidence

to produce, we could proceed either to argument or tc

having the Court review that or have the Court reviev

it--whatever the Court wants and Mr. Evans wants.

MR. EVANS: I have already presented what I would

JOE TROIANO

tS

TELEPHONE 374.1714

n1$ Ww 3 Stee Suite $03 Man &F

i gee

’

like to present, and I would just have argument,

THE COURT: All right.

I‘m ready to hear argument then.

I think I heave got a copy of this in the office.

MR. NOVICK: I have tried, as these things have

come up, to provide not only the original to the Clerk,

but to give you & copy; and I think we have done 60 as

things have come in.

MR. EVANS: Your Honor, the defendant has testi-

fied, and I am sure the Court remembers his testimony.

Basically, his teatimony was that he has very

little education. He is from Cuba. Fe doesn't have

a high degree of understanding of Englieh, and the

understanding that he has in Spanish is of a very

limited nature.

He suy# that he pled guilty, because he was told

he would die in the electric chair. He felt that he

4ié not understand everything that was going on. He

felt that he confessed, because he had no chance or

no choice to go otherwise, because in his opinion, his

lawyer wasn't doing anything for him in his estimatio-

or to his underetanding; anc he felt that with hie

lawyer not working for him, rather than go for the--

and possibly be killed fur something which he consi-

ders he didn't do, he would rather plead guilty on thet

JOE TROIANO

basis.

Now, the State has provided the Court with a copy

of a statement that is--that was witnessed by a Cus

Cueva (phonetic), which is approximately--well, it's

not numbered, but it seems to be about 10 or 12 pages

long: and even from this, your Honor, it's not clear

that the defendant understood everything that was going

on.

You will note that the questions were basically

leading. Por instance, on--I guess this is page two,

it says, "I have not been threatened nor have they

promised me anything. Nobody has given me a hard

time nor have they promised me anything to make me

sign the paper. I also want to explain to you, you

know, that at this time, you are not under duress."

Basically, this is the officer speaking saying

all the things that he coulé have said or if he said

it, you could say that this was a clearly knowing and

intelligent waiver. His responses are, “Uh huh.”

Ané then the next one is, "You know that you

Gon't have to be here if you don't want to,” ané ther

he says, "Bmmr,” but you want to clarify the probler,

so there won't be any other probler.

I woulé say basically that this vehicle that

the State save is a trick that the police used to get

JOE TROIANO

Orricee, Mewowrce Cmcci Cover =

TELEPHONE 374.1716 00

WIS W Bre Strecs Suse $02 , Mam Fionds 33130

1! si

him to confess. They led him throughout all the--

understanding his answers, that he understood even on

\

that same page.

It says, “If you want to leave, you can leave.

If you want to stay, you can stay,” and that's in ny

questions.

intel?’ | Then it's unintelliahle or whatever that is. It's

not clear, your Honor. I would say Mr. Torres is maybe

of limited intelligence. He is in @ new country with a

new system. He felt alienated. He felt that he had to |

Go what he thought to save his life, and he only made

those statements and pled guilty, because he thought

that if he didn't, he would surely die by electrocuticr

4 for something that he surely didn't do. That's basically

my argument.

TRE COURT: All right.

MR. NOVICK: My argument in rebuttal is about

three sentences, Judge.

One, the argument that Mr. Zvans makes as to the

ak. motion to suppress is not well founded in a Rule 3,

Judge. That has been heard and ruled on, and that may

~ only be reviewed by a direct appeal from the Court's

z ruling.

ie There could have been a plea, for example, research-

- ing the right to appeal that particular ruling if that

JOE TROIANO

Orricie, Atocerce cc * ¢cower r-

TELEPHONE 374-5716 51

WS W Bre Strect Sute $02 / Miem Flonde 33130

was all the evidence the State had to introduce against

him, but that's not reviewable by a Rule 3, ané I think

the transcript of that hearing that you have in front

of you will indicate to the Court and the Appeilate

Courts that this defendant received a full, fair and

complete hearing at the appropriate time on bis motion

to suppress.

His only other allegation in his pro se motion

for post-conviction relief is that Mr. Fields coerced

him into a plea.

The Court heard the evidence from Mr. Fields.

Can't weigh that egainst the facts in front of you.

Your plea colloquy, you having observed that plea

colloquy, you remembering the questions and your

answers to the defendant, because during the course

of this hearing, you recall some of the things that

you said to him, the case came back to you, and some

of your impressions as the trial judge of what your

feelings were when this plea was entered as to the

potential sentence here, and it's a very classic

case of a plea of convience.

The Court indicated some of the thinge that the

Court would consider, and the jury would consider upo-

sentencing, should there be a guilty verdict.

Mr. Fields had alerted the defendant of that, ast

JOE TROIANO

ro

Orric.a. Mewpoeree Cmcurr Coven } re

TELEPHONE 376.1714

WIS W 3rd Stree’ Suite $02 / Miam Flonde 323136

—

7

to

he had the obligation to do; ané very classically, the

Gefendant felt, rather than risking the potential

Geath penalty in this case, which the Court had indi-

cated was a real possibility here for someone to have

killed someone out in L.A. and come back here a short

period of time being on probation and killing someone

here locally, that instead of risking that, he took

the classic way out and pled guilty to what the Court

approved of, a fair plea in this particular case in

return for not taking that risk.

And there is no indication by testimony, really

either by the defendant or by Mr. Pields or by the

recoré in front of you that there was any coercion here.

This wae really a person, a young man who was fricght-

ened. I think everyone who comes in front of the

Court in euch a situation, is going to be frightened.

The question is did he do what he did intellicently,

because he had a reason for it? I think the record is

clear that he did it to save his life et that point.

THE COURT: All right.

MR. EVANS: Can I say something briefly?

MR. NOVICK: I have no objections.

MR. EVANS: I would ask the Court to consider the

confession, because part of his Rule 3 motion was con-

viction obtained by use of a coerced confession, anc

JOE TROIANO

r7

Orecra. MewoRtEe Creevis Cova VJ

TELEPHONE 376.1714

WIS W Bre Stece Sieve $62 Miam Blewde 33130

I don't think that's padinnen to why he pled guilty.

The fact thet he has this alleged confession ané¢

it's part of the--I would ask you to consider that as

one of the circumstances under the totality of the

circumstances.

TEE COURT: All right.

The Court doesn't need to read this page for page.

I just wanted to make sure we had this hearing, ané the

length of the hearing thet we had, I do have some

recollection of that.

Since I was provided at the suppression hearing,

I don't think it's necessary for me to now reread all

of this and state for the record that I have read it.

It will become a part of the record in this matter

along with our other documents that have been marked

as evidence in this case, ané the Court at this time

is prepared to rule on the defendant's Rule 3, and

the Court's going to deny the relief that's requeste¢

at this tine.

MR. MOVICK: I think the defendant needs to be

advised, I think he has the right to appeal the denie)

of your Rule 3 within 30 days of the entry of thet

order and the public defender, because he is indigent,

will be appointed to do that.

MR. EVANS: Would you appoint us?

JOE TROIANO rc $

Orricia. Mewoeres Cec. + Cover

TELEPHONE 374-1714

11S W Bre Strec’ Sure 502 Mer FBiones 33130

THE COURT: I am going to appoint you and make

sure Mr. Torres understands that I have denied his

request, ané that you may have 30 Gays to appeal the

ruling of this Court on the Genial of your motion.

MR. EBVANS: Thank you, your Honor.

MR. MOVICK: Thank you, your Honor.

THE COURT: Do we have all of the appropriate

documents marked for evidence from this hearing?

MR. WOVICK: Yes, we do.

TEE COURT: The transcript, the plea colloquy?

MR. WOVICK: Whet we need to do, I think, though

it might be a little bit more complete, Judge, is if

we--since there were three statements, the Court has

some good memory of the case, the Court re-alerted

me to the fact there were three, and they should be---

THE COURT: Advice of rights form in Spanish and

in English translation with ther .

MR. NOVICK: They have not been made a part of the

hearing on the Rule 3, Judge. They are part of the

hearing on the motion to suppress, but if the Court

would have no objection, so that the record is abso-

lutely clear, including as evidence all three--

THE COURT: I feel they ought to be included,

all documents that I had and considering I did have a

copy of that. In fact, I have ther in front of me now,

JOE TROIANO

Cre cies Rrere-ee Cec. Cover sees

TELEPHONE 374.1714 : YU

11 $ W 3c Sree’ Suite $062 Mam Bienes 33130

10 -<

and the Statements, as a matter of fact--

MR. NOVICK: To make it easier on yur Clerk,

then; because she :as not here at this time, why don't

we just have marked et thin time, the rights form as

the next consequtive State or Court exhibit.

TEE COURT: Mark it for the Rule 3.

THE CLERK: State's Exhibit Ne. 5S.

MR. MOVICK: The original transcript where the

Gefendant denied his involvement.

THE CLERK: 6Etate's Exhibit No. 6.

MR. NOVICK: And the final confession where when

confronted with the fingerprint evidence off the phone,

he finally admitted his involvement.

THE CLERK: State's Exhibit No. 7.

MR. NOVICK: May we be excused?

THE COURT: Yes. We are in recess.

(Thereupon, the hearing was concluded.)

JOE TROIANO

Oreicre, MewPrerce Ceewi Cover

TELEPHONE 374.1714

WS W Bre Street Suvte SE2 / Mar Fiesd> 33330

qT

oO

11

.

CERTIFICATE

STATE OF FLORIDA )

COUNTY OF DADE )

I, the undersigned, do hereby certify that the fore-

going pages 1 through 10 are a true and correct recoré of

proceedings had in the case of State of Florida versus

Urbana Torres, Case No. 83-4248, before the Honorable Ralph

NW. Person, Circuit Judge, at the time and place herein set

forth.

Dated in the City of Miami, County of Dade, State of

Florida, this > day of April, 1984.

ff A

Cah Le Fazok t-

CARLA DeLAUGRTER

Shorthand Reporter

07

a

JOE TROIANO

Ore.c a. Rewoerca Cec. '* Cover

TELEPHONE 374-1714

WS W 3rd Ste Sute 502 Mar Fionde 33132

{ "§

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL OF FLORIDA

TRIRD DISTRICT

CASE NO. 84-793

URBANO TORRES,

Appellant,

vs.

THE STATE OF FLORIDA,

Appellee.

APPEAL FROM THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE

ELEVENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT OF FLORIDA

IN AND FOR DADE COUNTY

INITIAL BRIEF OF APPELLANT

BENNETT H. BRUMMER

Public Defender

Eleventh Judicial Circuit

of Florida

1351 Northwest 12th Street

Miami, Florida 33125

(305) 545-3005

ELLIOT HB. SCHERKER

Assistant Public Defender

Counsel for Appellant

Sy

G*

TABLE OF CONTRNTS

PAGE

TABLE OF ey tf ea. aes ee ee ee eee eee FC ee |

THT ROOUCT IOs ccc Se eseee cece eS ereseeceesessecsececceesecesesececd

STATEMENT OF THE ~ i : eee ee ee ee eee eee ee ee eT Te Te ee eee

POINT ON DPPEAL a ccc eecees eee ceeeeeseeeesseessscessececenseseccesad

STATEMENT OF THE -, Terre se ee ee ee ee ee ee ae ee ee ee a ee ee

SUMMARY OF i. 6: eer Tee er eT eT eee ee ee ee eT TT TTT eT eee

ARGUMENT

THE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN DENYING DEFENDANT'S

MOTION FOR POST-CONVICTION RELIEF, WHERE THE

EVIDENCE BEFORE THE COURT FAILED TO ESTABLISH

THAT DEPENDANT HAD KNOWINGLY AND VOLUNTARILY

WAIVED HIS PRIVILEGE AGAINST SELF-

INCRIMINATION AND HIS RIGHTS TO A TRIAL BY

JURY, CONPRONTATION OF ADVERSE WITNESSES, AND

COMPULSORY PROCESS, AS GUARANTEED BY THE

FIFTH, SIXTH, AND FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS TO THE

CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES AND ARTICLE

I, SECTIONS 9 AND 16 OF THE CONSTITUTION OF

THE STATE OF FLORIDA, IN THE ENTRY OF KIS

GUILTY PLEA TO THE CHARGES IN THIS CASE............-11

oe ee eee ee ee TA CCT ERTS CTC ETTT TET. &

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE.....ccces

COCERCHEERSRERGC EE KROSEGAOEHROCOED

nin

TABLE OF CITATIONS

BOYD V. DUTTON

> Use \ Fa) cceeeeeeeseceeeeeeesecesesesecseescececncesstS

BOYKIN V. ALABAMA

. . SPETTTTTTLELELTT TTT TTT Terr 13, 14, is, 17

BRADY V. UNITED STATES

>. . COSOSSKKSSESEOHSESSE SESE SESSEEOEELESESESEEaAs

BROOKRARD V. JANIS

. . COOHHESSSSSESSESSHHSHSEEESSESESEESESEOOEEESESEAS

CARNLEY V. COCHRAN

. - P60 465660005608600650666690666606000600660 R88

JOHNSON V. ZERBST

304 U.S. 458 TEBSO) 64406800008

McMANN V. RICHARDSON

397 U.S. 759 Ti tateesnes

MASON V. STATE

176 So.2d 76 (Fla. 1965).......

eee eee eee eeeeeeereee ee eee eeeeee 15

MIKENAS V. STATE

460 So.2a 359 (Fla. ROSS) ow cncccacese

COSC HOKE EOREOEeeeanecesecd’a

NOVA V. STATE

439 So.2d 255 (Fla. 34 DCA ROBO) KONO 4-06 0566 654060006000068Rs is

STATE V. BREST

421 So.2d 638 (Fla. 3d DCA 1982)....

see ee eee eee eee ee ee eee eee 16

STATE V. STACEY

No. 66,447 (Fla. Oct. 17, ROOD D AGA WS OK O044 40656 0004800000000088

WARD V. STATE

433 So.2d ages (Fla. 3d DCA SOON K446646406065440646000040600682

WILLIAMS V. STATE

316 So.2d 267 (Fla. LELIELOEPTPERETELOLTE TELE TELE Ce 14, is, 17

-ii-

60

OTRER AUTRORITIES

CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES

Fifth, Sixth, and Pourteenth Amendments..........eeeee-ll, 12

CONSTITUTION OF THE STATE OF FPLORIDA

Article I. Sections 9 and 080566650664 660009606666666006c008

PLORIDA RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE

Rule 3.172(c) (iii), CEU) cccccccccccescesccccececececechte 13

-iii-

—

(

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL OF ri ORIDA

THIRD DISTRICT

CASE NO. 8684-793

URBANO TORRES,

Appellant,

vs.

THE STATE OF FLORIDA,

Appellee.

APPEAL FROM THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE

ELEVENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT OF FLORIDA

IN AND FOR DADE COUNTY

INITIAL BRIEF OF APPELLANT

INTRODUCTION

The appellant, Urbano Torres, was the defendant in the trial

court and the appellee, the State of Florida, was the

prosecution. In this brief, the appellant will be referred to as

Gefendant and the appellee as the state.

The symbol "R" will be utilized to designate the record on

appeal, the symbol "Tr" the transcript of proceedings included in

the record, and the symbol "S.R." the supplemental record on

appeal. All emphasis is supplieé unless the contrary is

indicated.

G

td

STATEMENT OF TRE CASE

An indictment charging Gefendant with first-degree murder

ané robbery was filed on March 10, 1983 (R. 1+2A). On October 4,

1983, Gefendant entered a guilty plea to the charges, and the

trial court entered judgment and imposed concurrent terms of life

ané 15 years of imprisonment (R. 43-47).

Defendant filed a motion for post-conviction relief on

November 8, 1983 (R. 117-23). The trial court conducted an

evidentiary hearing on Pebruary 6, 1984 (R. 117-18; S.R. 1-45).

An order denying the motion was entered on March 16, 1984 (R.

249). Notice of appeal was filed on April 5, 1984 (R. 255).

POINT ON APPEAL

WHETHER THE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN DENYING

DEFENDANT'S MOTION FOR POST-CONVICTION RELIEF,

WHERE TRE EVIDENCE BEFORE THE COURT FAILED TO

ESTABLISH THAT DEFENDANT RAD KNOWINGLY AND

VOLUNTARILY WAIVED RIS PRIVILEGE AGAINST SELF-

INCRIMINATION AND HIS RIGHTS TO A TRIAL BY

JURY, CONFRONTATION OF ADVERSE WITNESSES, AND

COMPULSORY PROCESS, AS GUARANTEED BY THE FIFTH,

SIXTH, AND FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS TO THE

CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES AND ARTICLE

1, SECTIONS 9 AND 16 OF TRE CONSTITUTION OF THE

STATE OF FLORIDA, IN THE ENTRY OF HIS GUILTY

PLEA TO THE CHARGES IN THIS CASE.

STATEMENT OF TRE FACTS

Defendant was arrested on February 20, 1983, on charges of

first-degree murder and robbery (R. 3). The Public Defender was

appointed to represent defendant at a first-appearance hearing on

Pebruary 21, 1983 (R. 4). A grand jury indictment charging

@efendant with first-degree murder and robbery was filed on March

=2<

G3

10, 1983 (R. 1-2A).

The trial court appointed Harold T. Pields as a special

assistant public defender on June 7, 1983 (R. 116). Mr. Fields

thereafter filed several motions to suppress physical and

testimonial evidence (R. 9-13, 127), which were heard by the

court on October 3, 1983 (R. 127-27A, 128-96).1 Prior to taking

testimony on the motions, the court inquired regarding the status

of any plea negotiations, and was advised by the parties that the

state had offered to agree to a life sentence on the murder

charge if defendant were to enter a guilty plea, but that a death

sentence would be sought if the case proceeded to trial and

resulted in a first-degree murder conviction (R. 138-41). The

court thereafter heard testimony on the motions to suppress (R.

141-86), and denied the motions at the conclusion of the hearing

(R. 193-94). The court stated that jury selection would commence

on the following morning (R. 194).

At the commencement of the proceedings on the next morning,

October 4, 1983, the prosecutor announced that the parties had

negotiated a guilty plea to first-degree murder and had agreed

upon a sentence of life imprisonment for that offense, with a

concurrent sentence on the robbery count left to the court's

Giscretion (R. 199). Defendant was then sworn, as was an

interpreter to translate the proceedings for him (R. 199), and

1

Included in the record on appeal is Mr. Fielé's affidavit in

support of his motion for attorney fees, which motion details his

preparation of the case between the date of his appointment and

the hearing (R. 112-14).

-3-

C3

€ 4

the following then transpired:

(R. 200).

The Court: All right.

Mr. Torres, please state your name, for

the record.

The Defendant: . . . Urbano Torres.

The Court: How old are you, please?

The Defendant: Twenty years.

The Court: Mr. Torres, are you aware of

the charges against you?

The Defendant: Yes, I an.

The Court: Your attorney has indicated

at this tim® you are going to enter a plea to

the matter of guilty with the understanding

the Court will sentence you to life, 25 years

minimum mandatory. That this was negotiated

with that the State was seeking the death

penalty in your case as you are well aware.

Additionally, this case involved

confessions and certain legal issues that have

already been litigated by the Court; already

[resolved] by the Court against you, and your

[sic] electing, at this point, to enter a plea

after having fought the case up to this point;

is that correct?

You're entering this plea of guilty; is

that correct?

Defendant did not respond to this question, and counsel

requested and was afforded opportunity to speak with him (R.

200). Thereafter, the following transpired:

Mr. Novick [assistant state attorney):

Judge, back on Urbano Torres' case.

The Court: Mr. Torres, there are certain

rights that you are giving up by entering this

plea. You are giving up the right to a trial

by jury. The right to be tried by the Court

and you are also giving up the right to have

your case appealed. That is to appeal the

judgment and sentence of the Court if we were

to, but which we are not having a trial.

You are stipulating to a prima facie case

of guilt here and need --

Mr. Novick: I would ask the Court to

{rely) on what we heard yesterday.

The Court: I think we did hear during the

Suppression, no objection utilates [sic] those

factors; [for] the purpose of finding a prima

facie case of guilt.

The Court should further point out that I

was made at least aware that there were at

least, even if the lawyers differ, as to how

they would be weighed in terms of death. What

the State considered to be five good

coeteses ss “-- one of which is involvement in

the other similar type of case in the past.

. « « But there was s death involved; was

there not?

Mr. Novick: Correct. Wasn't similar.

In fact there was in Los Angeles.

The Court: Mr. Torres, under the

ene is this what you are going to

0?

The Defendant: Yes.

(R. 200-02).

The court then inquired of counsel, who agreed that he was

satisfied that defendant understood "the nature of this and

appreciate([d) the consequences of his guilty plea” (R. 202),

after which the court imposed sentence:

The Court: All right.

The Court at this time, based upon the

Stipulated facts during the suppression

hearing, the Court finds that you are doing

this freely and voluntarily.

Mr. Torres has been represented by a

competent attorney and the Court will find the

facts which the State would be prepared to

prove and which [are] admitted by your plea of

guiltly] would be sufficient to sustain the

finding of guilty by the trier of fact.

All right. Judgment [and] sentence --

the Court as to count one, the Court will

sentence you to a term of life imprisonment.

Count two, being a concurrent 15 and

pursuant to the statute, 25 year minimum

mandatory. ...

(R. 202).

Defendant filed a motion for post-conviction relief

approximately one month after this proceeding, on November 6,

1983 (R. 117-23). The motion alleged in pertinent part that the

conviction had been "obtained by [a] plea of guilty which was not

-5-

made voluntarily with the understanding of the consequences of

the plea.” (R. 121).2 The court afforded defendant an

evidentiary hearing on the motion on February 6, 1984 (R. 117).

Defendant testified that he is 20 years of age, that he haa

come to the United States from Cuba four years earlier, that he

had completed the seventh grade in Cuba, and that he can neither

speak nor write in English (S.R. 9-10).3 Defendant described his

conversation with Mr. Fields prior to the guilty plea proceedings

as follows:

[T)hree or four days before I was sentenced,

the attorney .. . went to the cells there

Gown below and he told me that they were

asking the electric chair for me.

I told him that I was innocent, that,

please, to do something for me. He said, no,

I can't do anything for you. And he said to

me, you are going to plead guilty? And I

2

The motion alleged, as facts in support of this claim, the

following:

Defendant pleaded guilty on the basis of

threats by the police that he would certainly

receive the death penalty if he did not do

so. When he asked his attorney for advice, he

was told the same thing. Seeing no possible

way to win in this situation, since his Court-

appointed counsel did not appear to be willing

to use his full abilities to prevent a

conviction, and given the threats of the

police, the Defendant unwillingly pleaded

guilty.

(R. 121). The motion also raised a claim that defendant's

conviction had been "obtained by use of [a] coerced confession’,

and asserted that his post-arrest statement had been secured by

threats that a death sentence would be imposed if he failed to

confess (R. 121). This claim is not being presented on this

appeal.

3

Defendant testified through an interpreter (S.R. 3).

-6-

€ (

said, yes. Be said, why? That is because I

have no family here and I was scared that my

mother should find out that they had -- that

they had put me in the electric chair.

(S.R. 8). Defendant stated that Mr. Fields had told him that the

circumstances of the case and his prior record were such that the

trial judge would likely impose a death sentence (5.R. 17-18).

Defendant stated that he had had a conversation with Mr.

Fields in the jury room on the morning of October 4, 1983, with

the assistance of an interpreter (S.R. 24). He was questioned as

follows by the prosecutor regarding the plea colloguy:

Q. Now, after you spoke to Mr. Fields

with the interpreter on Tuesday, you came out

in front of the Court, this Judge right here,

right?

A. Yes.

* * *

Q. And the Judge asked you a lot of

questions, right?

A. Tome? No. To the lawyer. I didn't

speak that day.

Q. You didn't speak that day at all?

A. I spoke when I did this with my hand

Q. When you took the oath, you talked

and you talked no more?

A. No. No.

Q. Do you remember the judge...

asking you whether or not you wanted to plead

guilty?

A. I remember that he asked me, but I

plead guilty because the lawyer had told me

that if I didn't they were going to give me

the electric chair.

Q. * * * You do remember him asking you

if you wanted to plead guilty?

A. Yes.

Q. And you answer, at least on that

Tuesday, was yes?

A- Yes.

* * *

Q. And the judge asked you for your age

“Jeo

C C

ané little bit about your education

background, right?

A. Yes.

Q. He asked you whether you were taking

any @rugs or had anything wrong with your

head, right?

A. Yes. I think so. Yes.

* * *

Q. He asked you whether you understood,

if you @id plead guilty, that this was an

agreement, a deal, which your attorney had

worked out with me to save you from the

electric chair and that you would have to

spend at least 25 years in jail; the Judge

asked you whether you understood what you were

going to have to do. Do you remember that?

A. Yes. I remember.

- « « « You remember the judge asking

you whether or not everything [counsel] did

was okay with you, you were satisfied with him

and you said, yes, it was okay with you?

A. No, I don't remember.

(S.R. 24-26).4

Mr. Fields testified that he had prepared defendant's case

for trial, and had had several conversations with him, during

which he advised defendant that the state had sufficient proof to

proceed with a first-degree murder prosecution and a sentencing

phase (S.R. 30-31). Mr. Fields recalled his conversation with

Gefendant on the morning of the plea proceedings (S.R. 34), and

testified that "[i]t was my opinion that I couldn't win the case,

and .. .I1 certainly could have told him that.” (S.R. 38). He

also testified that defendant had maintained his innocence, but

had expressed his willingness to accept the negotiated plea to a

Defendant also testified that he recalled the recess which had

been taken during the guilty-plea proceedings, and that Mr.

Fields had spoken to him during the recess and "said that I had

promised him that I was going to plead guilty ... ." (S.R. 27).

-8-

G9

C €

life sentence (S.R. 33-34, 37-38). Mr. Pields did not

specifically recall the plea colloquy (S.R. 34). He stated his

opinion that defendant “plead guilty because he believed it was

in his best interest, as I did." (S.R. 41).

At the conclusion of the hearing, the prosecutor advised the

court that he had ordered a transcript of the guilty-plea

proceeding (S.R. 43-44). The transcript of that proceeding was

thereafter obtained and filed, as was the transcript of the

suppression hearing (R. 128-96, 197-204; Tr. 2, 8-10).

The court

denied the motion on March 16, 1984 (Tr. 8).>

The court stated no findings of fact or law in denying the

motion (S.R. 8). Its written order states °the allegations

contained [in the motion] do not constitute legal grounds for

Granting a [nJew [t)rial ...." (R. 249).

-9-

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Both the United States Supreme Court and the Supreme Court

of Florida expressly have held that a defendant must be advised

of his privilege against self-incrimination and rights to a jury

trial, to compulsory process, and to confront adverse witnesses,

and must intelligently waive those rights prior to the entry of a

guilty plea. The trial judge in this case failed to advise

defendant adequately or to secure personal waivers of the rights

which defendant abandoned by entering the plea.

Waivers of constitutional rights may not be presumed from a

silent record, but rather must be demonstrated to be intentional

relinquishments of known rights or privileges. The record of the

plea proceedings in this case fails to establish valid waivers

under this standard, and the testimony educed at the evidentiary

hearing fails to remedy this deficiency. Defendant's guilty plea

accordingly is constitutionally invalid.

-10-

ARGUMENT ©

TRE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN DENYING DEFENDANT'S

MOTION FOR POST-CONVICTION RELIEF, WHERE THE

EVIDENCE BEFORE THRE COURT FAILED TO ESTABLISH

THAT DEFENDANT HAD KNOWINGLY AND VCLUNTARILY

WAIVED HIS PRIVILEGE AGAINST SELF-

INCRIMINATION AND HIS RIGHTS TO A TRIAL BY

JURY, CONFRONTATION OF ADVERSE WITNESSES, AND

COMPULSORY PROCESS, AS GUARANTEED BY THE

FIFTH, SIXTH, AND FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS TO THE

CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES AND ARTICLE

I, SECTIONS 9 AND 16 OF THE CONSTITUTION OF

TRE STATE OF FLORIDA, IN THE ENTRY OF HIS

GUILTY PLEA TO THE CHARGES IN THIS CASE.

A guilty plea “is more than an admission of past conduct; it

is the defendant's consent that judgment of conviction may be

entered without a trial -- a waiver of his right to trial before

a jury or judge.” Brady v. United States, 397 U.S. 742, 748

(1970). It is therefore fundamental that a guilty plea must be

entered knowingly and intelligently, with full awareness of the

consequences thereof. E.g., McMann v. Richardson, 397 U.S. 759,

766 (1970); Mikenas v. State, 460 So.2d 359, 361 (Fla. 1984);

Ward v. State, 433 So.2d 1221, 1223 (Fla. 3d DCA 1983). The

question presented in the present case is whether the record --

that is, the plea colloquy and the evidence presented to the

trial court at the evidentiary hearing -- establish a knowing and

intelligent guilty plea by defendant. ®

The specific claim in defendant's pro se motion to which this

argument is directed avers that his conviction had been obtained

“py [a] plea of guilty which was not made voluntarily with the

understanding of the consequences of the plea." (R. 121). While

the facts asserted in support of that claim are focused on

defendant's fear of a death sentence, (R. 121), a fact which,

standing alone, will not invalidate an otherwise-valid guilty

lea, e.g., Brady v. United States, 397 U.S. at 755, the required

iberal reading of the motion, e.g., State v. Stacey, No. 66,447

(Cont. )

-jl-

Boykin v. Alabama, 395 U.S. 238 (1969), established the

reguisites for the waiver of constitutionally-guaranteed rights

which is inherent in a guilty plea:

Several constitutional rights are

involved in a waiver that takes place when a

plea of guilty is entered in a state criminal

trial. First, is the privilege against

compulsory self-incrimination guaranteed by

the Fifth Amendment and applicable to the

States by reason of the Fourteenth. Second,

is the right to trial by jury. Third, is the

right to confront one's accusers. We cannot

presume a waiver of these three important

federal rights from a silent record.

What is at stake for an accused facing

death or imprisonment demands the utmost

solicitude of which courts are capable in

canvassing the matter with the accused to make

sure he has a full understanding of what the

plea connotes and of its consequence .

Id. at 243-44 (footnote and citations omitted). This requirement

is codified in Rule 3.172(c) of the Plorida Rules of Criminal

Procedure, which states in pertinent part:

(c) . . - [T]he trial judge should, when

determining voluntariness, place the defendant

under oath and shall address the defendant

personally and shall determine that he

understands the following:

* ® *

(iii) That he has the right to plead not

guilty or to persist in that plea if it has

already been made, and that he has the right

to be tried by a jury and at that trial has

the right to the assistance of counsel, the

right to compel attendance of witnesses on his

behalf, the right to confront and cross-

examine witnesses against him, and the right

not to be compelled to incriminate. himself.

(Fla. Oct. 17, 1985); Nova v. State, 439 So.24d 255, 259 (Fla. 34

DCA 1983), entitled defendant to litigate the constitutional

validity of the plea.

-l]2-

e ‘@ e

(v) That if he pleads guilty .. . there

will not be a further trial of any kind, 60

that by pleading guilty ... he waives the

right to a trial....

Fla.R.Crim.P. 3.172(c) (iii), (iv).

Discussing Boykin and the predecessor to Rule 3.172 in

Williams v. State, 316 So.2d 267 (Pla. 1975), the Supreme Court

of Florida held that the following are the “three essential

requirements” of a valid guilty plea: °(1) the plea must be

voluntary; (2) the defendant must understand the nature of the

charges and the consequences of his plea; and (3) there must be

factual basis for the plea." Id. at 271. In analyzing the

second component, the court stated:

[The accused] must also know that entry of a

guilty plea constitutes a waiver of certain

pirat fat fs rights, specifically his right

to remain silent, have a jury trial, have

process to obtain witnesses on his behalf, and

confront witmesses who are his accusers.

Ibid (citation omitted). Waivers of these fundamental rights

must be by the accused, and cannot be waived by counsel in his or

her stead. See, e.g., Brookhard v. Janis, 384 U.S. 1, 7-8

(1966).

The colloquy in this case is egregiously insufficient under

these standards, and is not saved by the evidence presented to

the trial court at the evidentiary hearing. The record of the

plea proceedings shows that defendant spoke on only three

occasions: first, to be sworn, second, to state his name, age,

and say “Yes" when asked if he was “aware of the charges” (R.

199-200), and on a third occasion, which was the only time during

-13- eit

och

-

( (

.

the entire course of the hearing when the court ever touched upon

the requirements of Boykin and Williams.

Prior to this inguiry, the court had advised defendant of

the terms of the negotiated plea, and had twice asked defendant

if he was electing to enter a guilty plea; defendant failed to

answer, and a brief recess was taken for counsel to consult with

Sefendant (R. 200). After this recess, the following transpired:

The Court: Mr. Torres, there are certain

rights that you are giving up by entering this

lea. You are givin up the te Ae ne #. @ trial

by jury. The r ri ht to e tr the _ puck

and you are also givin "up the T Ight to have

er East Bppeared. Th at is to appe sppesl the —

udgment and sentence of the Court if we were

to, but which we are not having a trial.

You are stipulating to a prima facie case

of guilt here and need --

Mr. Novick: I would ask the Court to

[reply) on what we heard yesterday.

The Court: I think we did hear during

the suppression, no objection utilates [sic]

those factors; [for) the purpose of finding a

prima facie case of guilt.

The Court should further point out that 1

was made at least aware that there were at

least, even if the lawyers differ, as to how

they would be weighed in terms of death. What

the State considered to be give good

aggravating -- one of which is involvement in

the other similar type of case in the past.

- « « But there was a death involved; was

there not.

Mr. Novick: Correct. Wasn't similar.

In fact there was in Los Angeles.

(R. 200-01). Immediately after this statement was made by the

prosecutor, defendant spoke for the third and last time in the

proceedings, as follows:

The Court: Mr. Torres, under the

circumstances, is that what you are going to

rai The Defendant: Yes.

(R. 201-02). The court then announced its judgment and sentence

-})4@-

(R. 202).

Thus, the court utterly failed to advise defendant, as

required by Boykin, Williams, and Rule 3.712, of his privilege

against self-incrimination, and his rights of confrontation and

to compulsory process. But more importantly, the court failed to

secure any waiver of any of the rights which the guilty plea

abandoned by defendant himself; indeed, defendant was never even

asked if he wished to plead guilty or was in fact doing so. The

only occasion on which these matters arose, as detailed above,

was when the court briefly touched on defendant's right to a jury

trial and to an appeal, but that was followed by a discussion of

the factual basis of the plea and the state's intention to seek

Geath, and the court's ultimate question of °is this what you are

going to do* addressed nothing in particular and was certainly

not the specific inguiry mandated by Boykin and Williams.

The record of the plea proceeding utterly fails to prove an

effective waiver of any rights under the controlling definition

of a valid waiver of constitutional rights:

*"{[Clourts indulge in every reasonable

presumption against waiver” of fundamental

constitutional rights and... *éo not

presume acquiescence in the loss of

fundamental rights." A waiver is ordinarily

an intentional relinguishment of a known right

or privilege. ...

Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 464 (1938) (footnotes omitted);

accord, Boyd v. Dutton, 405 U.S. 1, 2-3 (1972); Carniley v.

Cochran, 369 U.S. 506, 514-15 (1962); Mason v. State, 176 So.2¢

76, 78 (Fla. 1965); Nova v. State, 439 So.2d 255, 262 (Fla. 3d

DCA 1963). This standard was adopted in Boykin as the governing

-15-

me

‘

Vv

4

rule for a waiver of constitutiona!] rights in guilty-plea

proceedings, 395 U.S. at 242, and the incomplete advice by the

trial court, in combination with its failure to secure fror

@efendant any meaningful waiver, establish the insufficiency of

the colloguy and the invalidity of the plea.

Nor can the record of the evidentiary hearing be relied upon

to cure these deficiencies; to the contrary, the testimony at

that hearing simply re-affirms them. Counsel for defendant dia

not recall the colloguy (S.R. 34), and defendant's testimony with

regard to the colloquy is a fairly accurate depiction of the

court's inquiries and statements (S.R. 24-26).7? The record of

the hearing thus provides no support for a finding that defendant

intelligently waived his privilege against self-incrimination and

rights to a jury trial, compulsory process, and to confront

adverse witnesses, at the time of the plea. Cf. State v. Brest,

421 So.2d 638 (Fla. 3d DCA 1982) (defendant's disavowal of plea at

post-conviction hearing as product of confusion and fear legally

insufficient to undo plea entered after thorough and

constitutionally-sufficient inquiry by court).

7

Defendant initially stated that he had only spoken during the

plea proceedings when placed under oath, but thereafter

acknowledged that he had given his name and other identifying

information (S.R. 24-25). However, under questioning by the

prosecutor on cross-examination, defendant agreed that he had

answered questions which had never been asked, e.g., regarding

his mental state, and given answers which he had, in fact, never

given at the proceeding, €.9., agreeing that he desired to pleas

guilty (S.R. 25-26). Defendant was never asked if he had known

of the rights which his guilty plea had waived; the prosecutor

relied upon the transcript of the plea proceeding to argue to the

court that the colloguy had been constitutionally sufficient (Tr.

6).

-16-

wmerny

ee

A guilty plea “is an extremely important step in the

criminal process ané@ should not be hurried or treated

summarily.” Williams v. State, 316 So.2d at 271 (footnote

omitted). It was "error, plain on the face of the record, for

the trial judge to accept [defendant's) guilty plea without an

affirmative showing that it was intelligent and voluntary.”

Boykin v. Alabama, 395 U.S. at 242.

CONCLUSION®

Based upon the foregoing, defendant requests this Court to

reverse the final order of the court below, and to remand this

cause with directions to grant defendant's motion for post-

conviction relief, vacate the judgment and sentence in this

cause, and afford defendant an opportunity to plead anew to the

charges against him.

Respectfully submitted,

BENNETT H. BRUMMER

Public Defender

Eleventh Judicial Circuit

of Florida

1351 Northwest 12th Street

Miami, Florida 33125

(305) 545-3005

BY: 4

LLIOT KR. SCHERKER

Aberetant Public Defender

“i14-<-

s}

€ 2)

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I REREBY CERTIFY that @ true and correct copy of the

foregoing was forwarded by mail to the Office of the Attorney

General, JIM SMITH, 401 N.W. Second Avenue, Suite 820, Miami,

Florida 33128 this 59,, day of October, 1985.

LLIOT H. SCHERKER

A ant Public Defender

-le- be

ree)

IX THE DISTFICT COVRT OF APPLE:

OF FLORIDE

THIRD DIJSTKICI

CASE NO.

84-793

URBANO TORRES,

Appellant,

THE STATE OF FLORIDA,

Appellee.

a a 2

AN APPEAL FROM THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE ELEVENTH

JUDICIAL CIRCUIT IN AND FOR DADE COUNTY, FLORIDA

CRIMINAL

DIVISION

See@+re*zae*+ eet aeeeeneengeeeeneanrenrtnk eee Bee 2? t& 2

BRIEF OF

APPELLEE

JIM SMITTH

Attorney General

Tallahassee, Florida

RICHARD E. DORAN

Assistant Attorney General

Ruth Bryan Owen Rohde Building

Florida Regione] Service Center

401 N.W. 2nd Avenue, Suite E:¢

Miami, Florida 33128

(305) 377-5441

TAPLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Ee ee ee ee ee ee oe oe oe a a a oe a |

INTRODUCTION

Fe ee a ee ee ee eo a a

POINT ON APPEAL

Ee eo eS ee ee ee ee ee i er oe a

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

[Seer ere ere ee ae ea eeeseeeneveesene

ARGUMENT

Fe Te ee ae ee a we ee a oe a er 2 2

CONCLUSION

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

an)

TAPIY OF CITATIONS

Allen v. State,

463 So.2d 361 (Fla. lst DCA 1985)

Eisaman v. State,

440 So.2d 470 (Fle. 5th DCA 1983)

Kennedy v. Stste,

So.2d (Fla. 2nd DCA case no. 84-2739,

July 19, 1985)[10 F.L.W. 1769)

Martinez v. State,

417 So.2d 770 (Fle. 2nd DCA 1982)

Mikenas v. State,

460 So.2d 359 (Fla. 1984)

Williams v. State,

316 So.2d 267 (1975)

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Fith Amendment, United States Constitution

Sixth Amendment, United States Constitution

Fourteenth Amendment, United States Constitution ..

Section 9, Article 1, Florida Constitution

Section 16, Article 1, Florida Constitution

Rule 3.170(J), Fla.R.Crimn.P.

Rule 3.172, Fla.R.Cric.P.

Rule 3.172(i), Fla.R.Crim.P.

ii

ee ee eww wwe wees

Aaa een we ee a tk ee oe ee at fo ge

eo wy

LAAs ee eee ee a eS ay

oe oe ee ee ee el a et ie ae eg

RES 2 P2886 6 OOS 0 © See

PACE

ts 2

IKTRODUCTION

The Appellant, Urbano Torres, was the defendant in

the trial court and the Appellee, the State of Florids, was

the prosecution. In this brief, the Defendant will be

referred to as Appellant sand the State as the Appellee.

The symbo) "R'' will be utilized to designate the record

on eppeal and the symbol] "S.R." the supplemental record

of the February 6, 1984 hearing. All emphasis is supplied

unless the contrary is indicated.

POINT OX APPEA!

WHETHER THE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN DENYING

DEFENDANT'S MOTION FOR POST-CONVICTION

RELIEF, WHERE THE EVIDENCE BEFORE THE

COURT FAILED TO ESTABLISK THAT DEFENDANT

HAD KNOWINGLY AND VOLUNTARILY WAIVED H1S

PRIVILEGE AGAINST SELF-INCRIMINATION AND

HIS RIGHTS TO A TRIAL BY JURY, CONFRON-

TATION OF ADVERSE WITNESSES, AND COMPULSORY

PROCESS, AS GUARANTEED BY THE FIFTH, SIXTH,

AND FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS TO THE CON-

STITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES AND ARTICLE

1, SECTIONS 9 AND 16 OF THE CONSTITUTION

OF THE STATE OF FLORIDA, IN THE ENTRY OF

H1S GUILTY PLEA TO THE CHARGES IN THIS

CASE.

SUMMARY OF ARCIMENT

Appellant relies upon Rule 3.172, Fla.R.Crim.P. (1977)

and various United States Supreme Court decisions in con-

tending his plea of guilty to crimes of first degree murder

and robbery must be set aside due to an inadequate plea

colloquy. This contention does not justify reversal because

Rule 3.172(i), supra , requires a showing of prejudice

to render the plea void. Appellant fails to argue that he

was prejudiced and the record provides ample evidence that

Appellant was not prejudiced. Allen v. State, 463 So.2d

36] (Fla. lst DCA 1985); Martinez v. State, 417 So.2d 770

(Fla. 2nd DCA 1982).

GC

at

ATCIMENT

THE TRIAL COURT'S DENIAL OF A MOTION

TO VACATE THE APPELLANT'S PLEA OF

GUILTY SHOULD BE AFFIRMED WHERE

THE APPELLANT FAILED TO ARGUE OR

ESTABLISH PREJUDICE AS REQUIRED BY THE

RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE AND THE

UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT.

Rule 3.172, Fla.R.Crim.P. (1977) expanded former Rule

3.170(J), codified the Florida Supreme Court decision,

Williams v. State, 316 So.2d 267 (1975) and thereby incorpo-

rated the necessary factors to satisfy federal constitutional

standards on guilty pleas. Mikenas v. State, 460 So.2d

359, 361 (Fla. 1984). In applying this standard to the case

sub judice it can be said the Appellant has described the

exchange between the trial court, defendant and defense

counsel in a fairly accurate manner. However, Appellant's

suggestion that a certain inference be made in his favor

contradicts the wel] established rules of appellate procedure

on argument of such points. This contention regards Appel-

lant's observation that no plea of guilty was ever entered

by him and that his response of "yes" to the trial court's

inquiry "Mr. Torres, under the circumstances, is that what

are you going to do?", failed to relate to any particular

matter. This plainly ignores the qualifying phrase "...

under the circumstances ...'', andthe detailed recitation

\

«

\

of rclevart corsicerations for the Appellant's corsideratior

made by the trial] court moment's before. (R. 200-02).

Appellee contends that the trie] court's plea colloquy

supports a ruling that the plea was entered volunterily

and with en understanding of the significance of the terms

and conditions. Appellant's motions to vacate concedes

the facts that he knew the nature of the charge and the

penalty range at the time of the plea. (R. 121). The

record reflects Appellanthad alawyer (appointed) who had

handled every aspect of the case and attended each stage

of proceedings with Appellant. (R. 111-16 and the record

on appeal in general) (supplemental transcript of February

6, 1984 hearing, P. 29-36). Lastly, the record reflects

the trial court told Appellant his plea would waive the

right to a trial, by jury or judge, and the right to appeal.

(R. 200). The testimony of Defense counsel, Mr. Fields

at the February 6th hearing indicates the Appellant was

aware of the terms of the plea - life imprisonment as opposed

to death - prior to the entry of plea of guilty the following

day. (S.R. 37-38). Lastly, the testimony of the various

police witnesses regarding seized evidence and Appellant's

confession presented during hearings before the same judge

on three suppression motions (R. 9-12, 126-248) established

an overwhelming case of guilty. This testimony was what

“J

(, t

the prosecutor requested, withovt objection, to rely upon

to prove e primes facie case of guilt. (R. 200). Tran-

scripts of those hearings were introduced on this point

during the hearing on the motion to vacate (R. 126-248)

and the trial court noted hisrecollection of those hearings

on the record. (S.R. 44). This process satisfies the

minimum due process standards now at issue. Eisaman v.

State, 440 So.2d 470, 472 (Fla. Sth DCA 1983).

Against this array of information the Appellant makes

his constitutional] claims. However, nowhere in the record

or his appellate brief does Appellant address the issue

of prejudice as required by Rule 3.172(i):

Failure to follow any of the procedures

in this rule shal] not render a plea

void absent a showing of prejudice.

Accordingly his complaint is meritless. Martinez v. State,

417 So.2d 770, nt. 1 (Fla. 2nd DCA 1982); Kennedy v. State,

__ ‘ So.2d ___s (Filla. 2nd DCA case no. 84-2739, July 19,

1985)[10 F.L.W. 1769); Allen v. State, 463 So.2d 351, 362-63

(Fla. lst DCA 1985). Allen provides a footnote which lays

this issve to rest:

Rule 3.172, Florida Rules of Criminal

procedure, is analogous to Federal Rule

H

F0)

of Cricina) Procedure 1]. Williers

ea ee ae a re | Pos ee

There have been many federa) court

decisions dealing with challenges to

the validity of convictions where

the requirements of rule 1] have not

been met. These decisions almost

uniformally hold that a showing of

failure to comply with the role is

insufficient to void a conviction;

there must also be a showing of preju-

dice to the defendant. In United

States v. Timmreck, 441 U.S. 780, 99

S.ct. 2085, 60 L.Ed.2d 634 (1979),

the defendant collaterally attacked

his conviction on the ground that

the trial judge did mot properly conm-

ply with the formal requirements of

rule ll in that the court did no

advise him of the application of =)

special parole term. The court defied

relief to the defendant, noting that

he “does not argue that he was actu-

ally unaware of the special] parole

term or that, if he had been properly

advised by the trial judge, he would

not have pleaded guilty." Id. at 784,

99 S.Ct, st 2087. The Court held that

“collateral relief is not available

when el] that is shown is e failure

to comply with the formal] requirements

of the Rule." Id. at 765, 99 S.Ct.

at 2088. (case citations oritted).

Id. at 463.

The Timmreck decision has applicability in this case.

CANTLUSTON

Based upon the above-cited legs] authorities Appellee

requests this Honorable Court affirm the order denying

the motion to vacate guilty ples.

Respectfully submitted,

JIM SMITER

Attorney General

\ ‘ ' ;

) oe s- :

A Nat — og a hare

RICHARD E. DORAN

Assistant Attorney Geners]

Department of Legal Affairs

401 N.W. 2nd Avenue (Suite 820)

Miami, Florida 33128

(305) 377-544)

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

1 HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct copy of the

foregoing BRIEF OF APPELLEE was furnished by mail to ELLIOT

H. SCHERKER, Assistant Public Defender, 135] N.W. 12th

Street, Miami, Florida 33125, on this 19th day of December,

1985. . ‘ ae

ve \

Pee <a

~~ -

\ -_——

RICHARD E. DORAN

Assistant Attorney Genera)

pa/

S39

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.