Opposition Brief — Delaware v. Wainwright

Supreme Court brief1986

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

EDITOR'S NOTE

THE FOLLOWING PAGES WERE POOR HARD COPY

AT THE TIME OF FILMING. IF AND WHEN A

BETTER COPY CAN BE OBTAINED, A NEW FICHE

WILL BE ISSUED.

| OUpIeTt ~0O.1 vy

wenn es FILED

ra 4 |

wb ateuee. SCE Ghis JUL 18 1986

JOSEPH F SPANIOL UR |

No. 85-1928 om

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE UNITED STATES

> y aa

October Term, 1985 (GR >

STATE OF DELAWARE,

o—,

Petitioner,

Vv.

PERCY E. WAINWRIGHT,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE SUPREME COURT OF DELAWARE

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO THE

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

NANCY JANE MULLEN, ESQUIRE

Assistant Public Defender

Office of the Public Defender

620 N. French Street

Wilmington, Delaware 19801

Telephone: (302) 571-3230

Attorney for Respondent

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF CITATIONS...-seseess Coeeceseres eecscccees

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW... .cesesesecescscees

OPINION BELOW...seeeees Co ecceresesescesesseeeeeees

JURISDICTION... ceeecceess eee ercerecesescesseseees

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED..... Coeeeseeees

STATEMENT OF THE CASE..cccccvcscsesssessessses eeee

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

1. The State of Delaware has neither

accurately and fully set forth the

facts and the Delaware law pertinent

to the question presented, nor the

relevant details of the decision of

the Delaware Supreme Court below.........

2. The question presented here is

predicated upon an issue of fact

which was resolved against the

State of Delaware by the Delaware

Supreme Court in its decision below......

3. There is no “dilemma” posed for police

as a consequence of the decision of

the Delaware Supreme Court below, and

there is no conflict among the lower

courts with respect to whether police

conduct of the type in issue here

constitutes "interrogation" under

4. The police conduct in issue in the

present case constituted the

*initiation” by police of further

Gialogue with the respondent in

violation of the per ge rule

adopted by this Court in

Edwards vy. Arizons

eee eee eee ere

5. The decision of the Delaware Suprene

Court below is predicated on an

independent ground which is not

implicated by the question

presented PPP rTrTrrrrrrrrrrryryn sen eve

i rrr rr rTrTrrrrrrrrrrrrrerrTrs:

APPENDIX .

Opinion Below. seen eeveeeeeeneeeneeeeeeeeeeeeenweeneene

Transcript of the Suppression Hearing

in the Present CASE. .nccccseccesssecsscsseees

Order of the Delaware Supreme Court

Denying the State's Motion to Remand

the Present CASE... scsccccscscesseessesseseses

Excerpt from the Testimony of Detective

Willard Griffith et the Trial of David

DOGGON. ccccccscesssesessseseseseese eee eee **e

12

13

14

21

A-52

(1986) cccccccccccccesceeeeseeseeseseeeeseeees A~-56é

Vv , Md.Sp.App., -- A.2d --

(1986) ccccccccccccesecececeeesesecceceeeeeess A-65

Page

CASES

, Md.Sp.App., 431 A.24 714

(1981), cert. denied, Md.App., 291 Md.

772 (1961), cert. denied, 456 U.S. 949

PEEP Pe ET PCP NTP eT Or er er Pererrryrrrre 24, 25

, 4th Cir., 656 F.2d 68

(1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 952 (1982).... 15

Combs vy. Wingo, 6th Cir., 465 F.24 96 (1972)...... 16

, Pa.Supr., 285 A.24

172 bg FPP rrr rr rr ry rT yer errr rT rTrrrrrrerTr 16

, Pa.Supr., 302 A.24 337

ee | PPP Peo rr errr rrr rr rr rer rrr rT rrr rTr 16

, MA.Sp.App., -- A.24 --

| EPP ETT PPT CLL ee rer rr reer rrrT 24

Dodson v. State, Del.Supr., -- A.2d <= (1986)..... 9, 20

Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477 (1981)....eeee00- i, 10-12,

17-18, 21-26

Miranda vy. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966).....eee0- i, 2-5,

9-11, 14-19,

21-22, 24-25

North Caroline v. Butler, 441 U.S. 369 (1979)..... 11, 25-26

Oregon v. Bradshaw, 462 U.S. 1039 (1983).....6006. 23, 26

, N.Y.App., 482 N.¥.S.24 237

PRETTY Tere errr rer rrr rere oP rr er rere 17

, Colo.Supr., 713 P.24 865

(1985) (en banc), cert. granted, 54 U.8.L.W.

3738 (May 5, 1986) (No. 85-1517) ..ccceceseees 15, 18

, Tll.App., 424 N.E.24 985

(1981), cert. denied, 456 U.S. 993 (1982).... 16

Bhode Island vy. Innis, 446 U.6. 291 (1980)........ 1, 11, 14-26

Boss vy. Moffitt, 417 U.5. 600 (1974) ..cececccccees 12

’ 470 U.s. —s 84 L. 24.24 38

DE Sausasekbedaeecinbetekéasdawidscbsnceci 23

, 469 U.S. --, 83 L.Ed.24 488

eh | Pr Py yr rater rer cr re rrrerrTyrrTrT ee 23

Golem v. Stumes, 465 U.S. 638 (1984).........2000- 23

, Ind.App., 442 N.E..24

1131 el) AEP eT ee ee re err er ere reer re 18

, R.I..6upr., 422 A.2d 913

CBOE 0000 FOO 5000.0 066560066 004 006R 08CbOOde006 15

, Md.6p.App., 498 A.2d 676

CISSD) cc ccececec seco eseeseeseeseeseseceseeccoe 24, 25

State vy. White, Me.Supr., 460 A.24 1071 (1983).... 15

iii

, N.C.Supr., 333 &.E.2d

708 (1985) ccccccccccccccccccccccsececesecece 24

’ 472 U.S. —a 86

L.E.24 356 (1985) wccccccccccccccccscccvesecs 12

, D.Del.,

521 F.Supp. 963 (1981), vacated on

undetermined grounds, 3d Cir., 696 F.2d

980 (1982) wccccccccccccccccccccccssesecccees 17

, D.C.App., 428 A.2d

42 (19B1) cccccccccccccccccccccccccseeseesees 17

, 9th Cir., 669 F.2d

1231 (1981) cccccccccccccccccccccccccceccces 20-21

, 9th Cir., 725 F.2d

1228 (19B4) ccccccccccccccesccccccccscesccees 18

, 24 Cir., 655 F.2d

478 (1982) -ccccccccccccccccecccccccescececes 15

, 9th Cir., 704 F.2d

675 recor eevéessae 18

, D.C. Cir., 672 F.2d

115 et voce onscoes pi 20-21

United States v. Johnson, 268 U.S. 220 (1925).... 13

, Sth Cir., 643 F.2d

323 (1981) ccccccccccvccccccccecessccccccess 15

, 9th Cir., 571 F.2d

455 cle er awees 15

, Del.Supr., 504 A.2d

1096 (1986) ccccccccccccccccsccccvcssccceeccs passim

Wyrick v. Fields, 459 U.S. 42 (1982) ....eeeeeeeee 23

STATUTES

28 U.8.C. Sec. 1257 (3) ccccccccccccccscccscsescecse > 12

Md.Ann.Code, Art. 41, Sec. 16 et seg. (1982).... 3

Delaware Superior Court Criminal Rule 4(c)(3)..... 6

Delaware Superior Court Criminal Rule 5(8).....0.. 7

Delaware Superior Court Criminal Rule 5(b)........ 6

Supreme Court Rule 17(1)..ccececcccvessecesesesees 12

iv

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Do Rhode Island v. Innis and Edwards v. Arizona prohibit

police from explaining to the suspect, during the booking process,

the nature of the offense with which he is charged and the factual

basis for his arrest?

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Delaware is officially

reported at 504 A.2d 1096 (1986). The slip opinion is appended to

the instant brief at A-1-20.

JURISDICTION

The respondent does not contest the jurisdiction of this Court

under 28 Y.S.C. Sec. 1257(3), to review the question presented.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The respondent concurs with the recitation of the

constitutional, statutory and rules provisions directly or

indirectly involved in the present case, set forth in the petition.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In its Statement of the Case in its petition for review, the

State of Delaware correctly notes that the decision of the Delaware

Supreme Court below involved an application of the principles and

rules articulated by this Court in Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436

(1966), Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477 (1981), and Rhode Island

v. Innis, 446 U.S. 291 (1980), and their progeny, in its conclusion

that certain statements made by the respondent to police were

obtained in violation of his Fifth Amendment right to counsel

during custodial interrogation. In its petition here, however, the

State -- as it did in the Court below -- has ignored or distorted

several portions of the suppression-hearing record which were

explicitly or implicitly relied upon by the Delaware Court in

support of that conclusion, and which are also important to the

question upon wh ich the State seeks review now. In addition, the

State has similarly ignored or distorted several aspects of the

Delaware Court's decision itself. The respondent here will not

recount in its entirety the record relevant to the suppression

issue decided below nor the full analysis of the Delaware Supreme

Court regarding that issue, but will endeavor to correct the

aforementioned omissions and distortions of the record and of the

lower Court's decision, made by the State in its petition.?

First, the State notes that, after a Delaware murder warrant

was obtained for the respondent in the Hastings homicide based on

the information provided to Delaware State Police by the

co-defendant, David Dodson, the Maryland State Police, “accompanied

by a Delaware officer," arrested the respondent in Baltimore on

November 11, 1982, and the respondent was thereafter held in

Maryland custody for several days before waiving extradition to

return to Delaware. See State's Petition for Certiorari at pp. 5-6.

Like it did below, however, the State has ignored the fact that

Detective Willard Griffith of the Delaware State Police -- the

officer to whom the respondent's challenged statements were made

six days later -- was the "Delaware officer" who accompanied

Maryland police in connection with the respondent's arrest in

Baltimore. (TS-13; A-31). The State -- as it did below -- has

also ignored the fact that, according to the testimony of Detective

Griffith himself, the respondent was advised of the Miranda

warnings by Maryland police following his arrest as a fugitive, and

“didn't want to talk to" the officer. (TS-13; A-31). Hence, the

record here established that Detective Griffith was aware

immediately after the respondent's arrest in Baltimore, that the

respondent wished to exercise his rights under Miranda and did not

line full transcript of the suppression hearing in the instant

case, which was an abbreviated one, is appended hereto at A-21-51.

2

want to give a statement to police regarding the homicide.

Second, the State concedes here -- but did not below -- that

the respondent would have been apprised of the "nature of the crime

with which he (was) charged" in the instant case, in connection

with his arraignment in Maryland as a fugitive, but suggests that

the Delaware Court in its decision below misunderstood the scope of

the information the respondent would have been given. See State's

Petition for Certiorari at p. 6, n. 5. To the contrary, however,

the Delaware Court accurately recited in its decision the

information the Maryland court was required to give to the

respondent under Md.Ann.Code, Art. 41, Sec. 16, et seq. (1982),

upon his arraignment as a fugitive and also in connection with his

subsequent waiver of extradition. See Wainwright v. State, supra,

504 A.2d at 1102. (A-16).

Third, the State has incompletely recounted -- like it did

below -- the events which occurred upon the respondent's return to

Delaware on November 16, 1982, in the company of Detective

Griffith. See State's Petition for Certiorari at pp. 6-8. More

specifically, according again to Detective Griffith's own

testimony, upon their arrival at Delaware State Police Troop #4 in

Georgetown, Delaware, around noon that day, the respondent "was

first taken to the Troop Commander's Office at Troop 4, where he

was advised why he was brought back to Delaware and what he was

being charged with." (TS-6; A-24). Detective Griffith then read

the respondent his Miranda rights by reciting them from his issue

card, to which the respondent replied that "he would like to have

an attorney present or like to have an attorney." (TS-6~-7;

A-24-25). Detective Griffith testified that, at that point, he

“never asked (the respondent) no more questions," and took him to a

nearby room for processing. (TS-7-8; A-25-26). Before processing,

however, there was a further verbal exchange between the officer

and the respondent, reflected in the following testimony:

By Mr. Sandy: Did you, in fact,

tell him at that point what he was being

charged with?

By Detective Griffith: Yes, sir.

Before he was taken to the processing

3

room, he was advised that he was being

charged with first-degree murder of

William Hastings, which occurred

November 3, 1980, and the reason he was

being charged for that murder was from

the statement of co-defendant David

Dodson.

By Mr. Sandy: When you told that

to the defendant, was that in an effort

to question him or was that an

informative speech?

By Detective Griffith: That was an

informative speech. It was part of the

processing.

(TS-8; A-26). In subsequent testimony, Detective Griffith

elaborated that he informed the respondent that Mr. Dodson "had

given a complete statement how him and Mr. Wainwright had gone to

Lord's Packace Store and Mr. Wainwright ended up shooting sr.

Hastings," and that Mr. Dodson “had admitted going to the package

store with Mr. Wainwright, but in his statement he stated that he

had been going to stay outside the package store while Mr.

Wainwright had gone in, and Mr. Wainwright had been the one that

went inside the package store and committed the murder." (TS-1€-17;

A~-34-35). Detective Griffith indicated that he conveyed the

above-outlined information to the respondent within "five or six

minutes" of when the respondent had been advised of the Miranda

warnings and had invoked his right to counsel. (TS-16-17; A-34-35).

There was no indication that the respondent said or did anything

prior to the aforementioned comments of Detective Griffith, which

prompted the officer to convey that information to hin.

Detective Griffith testified that, following the foregoing

exchange, the respondent did not say anything right away. (TS-17;

A-35). He was processed and held at the troop until the magistrate

returned from lunch at 1:00 PM, during which time he was fed.

(TS-8; A-26). At 1:00 PM, he was transported by police vehicle the

short distance to the magistrate court and, as the car pulled up to

the court, Detective Griffith testified, the respondent "turned to

me and stated to me, explained, 'I didn't kill that man.' He said,

‘He Gtabbed me twice.'" (TS-9, 18-19; A-27, 36-37). Detective

Griffith indicated that he thereupon "advised (the respondent) that

since he had elected to have counsel, I could not talk to him about

4

the case." (TS-9, 19; A-27, 37). He testified that the respondent

replied by asking him "if he could retract (that request)." (TS-9,

19; A-27, 37). Detective Griffith testified that he answered by

telling the respondent that "we would go in and call the District

Attorney, John Sandy .. . and also have a defense attorney

present, and then he could tell his story, and if it was true that

he had not pulled the trigger and killed the man, and if it was

determined by (the District Attorney), that he could possibly be

held as a material witness." (TS-9; A-27). Detective Griffith

indicated that they then went into the magistrate court and he

attempted to contact Mr. Sandy by telephone, without success. He

then returned to the respondent, and "(a)t that point I asked hin,

I said, ‘do you wish to tell me what happened?'" The respondent

thereupon orally related his account of what had occurred at the

time of the homicide, indicating, in substance, that Mr. Dodson had

coerced him into driving him to the package store to rob it and to

waiting outside for him while Mr. Dodscn went into the store and,

for undisclosed reasons, shot the clerk during the robbery attempt.

(TS-11-13; A-29-31). No formal written or recorded statement was

obtained. (TS-23; A-41). Detective Griffith testified that he did

not promise or threaten the respondent to make the aforementioned

statement, that the respondent was not under the influence of

alcohol or drugs, and that he appeared in "full control of all his

faculties" at the time of the statement. (TS-10; A-28). He also

testified that, after asking if he could retract his request for an

attorney, the respondent never again mentioned that he did not wish

to talk without counsel present, or to otherwise remain silent.

(TS-10; A-28). There is no indication in the record that the

respondent was readvised of the full Miranda warnings prior to his

statement inside the magistrate court, however. Moreover,

Detective Griffith conceded that he made no effort to contact an

attorney for the respondent before questioning him at the

magistrate court, despite his indication to the respondent that he

would do so. (TS+22; A-40).

In its Petition for Certiorari at p. 7, n. 7, the State admits

that the Delaware Supreme Court in its decision below "expressed

S

Re Ce ae

some skepticism" about Detective Griffith's testimony that he

always informs suspects of the evidence as well as the charges

against them as a "routine" part of the booking process. Indeed,

the Delaware Court expressly rejected that testimony -- and with

good reason. See Wainwright v. State, supra, 504 A.2d at 1102-1103

(A-16-18). Apart from Detective Griffith's aforementioned

testimony -- which was elicited in response to a patentiy leading

question by the trial prosecutor -- there is not one scintilla of

evidence in the record that informing suspects of the evidence

against them is a “routine” aspect of the processing procedures

utilized by the Delaware State Police. Moreover, the several

"facts" asserted by the State in the above-noted footnote to

bolster the testimony of Detective Griffith in that regard -- not

all of which were advanced by the State to the Court below -- are,

at a minimum, misleading.

In the first instance, Delaware Superior Court Criminal Rule

4(c)(3) does not require an arresting officer who does not have the

arrest warrant in his possession, to inform the defendant being

placed under arrest of the evidence upon which the warrant was

issued, but requires only that he “inform the defendant of the

offense charged and of the fact that a warrant has been issued."

In addition, there is no indication in the record here that

Detective Griffith did not have the arrest warrant for the

respondent in his possession when the respondent was processed. *

Hence, it is not clear that the above rule relied upon by the State

now was even applicable to the arrest and processing of the

respondent in the instant case. Furthermore, Delaware Superior

Court Criminal Rule 5/(b), does require that the committing

2Indeed, since Detective Griffith had personally obtained

custody of the respondent from Maryland authorities earlier that

day, it is likely that he did have the warrant in his pessession to

verify his authority to take custody of the respondent thereunder.

Under Rule 4(c) (3), where an arresting officer does have the arrest

warrant in his possession at the time of an arrest, he need only

show the warrant to the defendant ywpon request of the defendant.

The record in the instant case does not reflect any such request by

the respondent. Moreover, as detailed more fully, infra, the

information included in the affidavit for the arrest warrant here,

was far more abbreviated than the information conveyed orally to

the respondent by Detective Griffith during processing.

6

magistrate at the tize of a defendant's initial eppearance on «

warrant, inform the defendant of, dnter elis, “the complaint

egainst his and of any affidavit filed therewith ..." Under

Deleware Superior Court Criminal Rule 5(a), the initial appearance

of a defendant before a magistrate must take place “without

unreasonable deley.” Thus, ea defendant in Delaware is promptly

informed by e neutral and detached zgagistrete of the evidence upon

which his errest was based, and there is no need for police in

processing ea defendant in the inherently coercive atmosphere of e

police station, to likewise relate such information to his.

In addition, the State's assertion that neither the trial

court nor defense counse)] at the suppression hearing expressed

doubt that informing suspects of the evidence against ther is «

“routine” part of the booking process in Delaware, is not entirely

accurate, in that defense counsel izplicitly challenged Detective

Griffith's testizony in that regard in his argument that the

respondent's statement st the magistrate court was induced by the

officer's recitation to the respondent of Mr. Dodson'’s statezent.

(TS-26-26; A-44-46). Moreover, the response -- or lack thereof --

of the trial court and defense counsel to such testizony does not

esteblish -- es the State suggests --that either the court or

counsel credited that testizony from their own experience, and

certeinly does not constitute evidence with respect to the accuracy

of that testizony.

Finally, the State's indication that the Delaware Supreze

Court refused to rezand the present case upon the State's request

in order to supplement the evidentiary record regarding the

foregoing testizony, is likewise not completely sccurate, in that

the State's motion to remand did not expressly raise that issue.

In addition, that motion was denied by the Delaware Court prizerily

because it did not comply with the rules and practice of the Court.

(A-52).

It is also apparent from the totality of the record in the

instant case thet the purportedly benevolent intent of Detective

Griffith with respect to apprising the respondent of the details of

Mr. Dodson’s stetement is, as the Deleware Supreme Court clearly

+

concluded in its decision, unsupported by the evidence. As the

Court observed there snd as the respondent has pointed out here,

Detective Griffith knew following the respondent's arrest six days

eerlier as a fugitive that he did not want to talk to police about

the homicide -- a position which the respondent expressly

reaffirmed directly to the officer upon his return to Delaware.

Detective Griffith also presumably knew that the respondent would

be informed of the charges against him and of the contents of the

eaffidevit in support of the arrest warrant, upon his initiel

eppearance before the Delaware magistrate scheduled for less than

an hour efter the respondent's arrival at Troop #4. In addition,

Detective Griffith, who was an investigating officer in the

Hastings homicide, alzost certainly doubted the veracity of Mr.

Dodson's implication of the respondent as the triggerman in the

homicide, since -~- as the State itself notes in ite Petition for

Certiorari at pp. 4-5 -- Mr. Dodson was the defendant who gatche4

the description of the subject seen by witnesses outside the

package store before the killing and with the gun efter the

killing; Mr. Dodson was the defendant who had obtained the gun fror

Roger Carl Jeffers sometize earlier, albeit in the company of the

cespondent; and Mr. Dodson was an escapee from « Maryland prison at

the time of the homicide.’ Hence, Detective Griffith sust have at

least strongly suspected thet Mr. Dodson had lied to police with

respect to who fired the fatel shot.*

Despite all of the above,

Detective Griffith nevertheless recounted to the respondent the

full details of Mr. Dodson's statement, including the accusation

that the respondent was the actual killer, within "five or six

winutes” of the respondent's request for counsel. Moreover, the

information he conveyed to the respondent et that time was -- as he

3ur, Dodson was serving time in Marylend for gurder -- a fact

which Detective Griffith had to know prior to his c.ntact with the

respondent in issue here, since, as the Stete points out eat p. 5 of

its Petition for Certiorari, Mr. Dodson was transferred froz

Maryland custody before hie own statement to Delaware police was

made.

*at both the respondent's trial and the later trial of Mr.

Dodson, the State contended, in fact, that Mr. Dodson was the

triggerman in the surder.

é

conceded eat the suppression hearing -- fer more comprehensive than

the information included in the affidavit for the errest warrent in

the case, which simply stated, in pertinent part, that, “(o)n

11-11-82, David Dodson did confess to (the Hastings) murder anc

implicated Co-defendant Wainwright in said surder.” (TS-24-26;

A-42-44). In particuler, there vas no sllegation eat all in that

effidevit that the respondent was the triggerzan in the killing.

Yinally, following the respondent's indication to Detective

Griffith outside the magistrate court that he was willing to talk

to the officer, Detective Griffith did not readvise the respondent

of the complete Mirands warnings; did not fulfill his prorise to

secure counsel for the respondent before questioning hin; and led

the respondent to believe that he may be held only as e “sateria)

witness” in the case if his story was credited by the prosecutor.

The factual basis for the Delaware Supreme Court's rejection of

Detective Griffith's testimony that informing the respondent of the

details of Mr. Dodson's statement had a wholly innocent purpose, is

thus substantial.”

Fourth, the State notes that defense counsel at the

suppression hearing conceded that the respondent's brief comments

to Detective Griffith outside the magistrate court, were

“spontaneous.” (T5-26-28; A-44-46). The State also notes that the

triel court concluded, based primarily on that concession, thet

such comments demonstrated a desire on the part of the respondent

to resume Gislogue with police, and further concluded that the

respondent validly waived his previously-invoked rights under

= although not @ matter of record in the instant case, it is

noteworthy that, in his testimony et the later trial of Mr. Dodson,

Detective Griffith defined the ters “processing” upon inquiry of

the same trial prosecutor, es “advising the defendant what he is

being vith, Singerpeiating, Sees erent t taking his

personal history, and also obtein a statezent from the

defendant." (A-53-57). Detective Griffith thus made no mention at

thet time that informing the defendant of the evidence agsinst his

is a “routine” of the booking process. He did make clear,

however, that ining a statement from the defendant ds an

ordinary component of processing. It is also noteworthy that the

Delaware exe Court in a decision issued June 13, 1986, reversed

the convictions of Mr. Dodson for Mirands error as well. See

Dodson vy. State, Del.Supr., ned A.2¢4 om (1966). (A-58-64).

Mirands, prior to his more detailed oral statement to the officer

inside the magistrate court. (TS-28-30; A-46-48). The State

thereafter asserts that the Delaware Supreme Court in its decision

below, “rejected” the above-noted concession of defense counsel at

the suppression hearing and held that all of the respondent's

statements to Detective Griffith were barred under Edwards. See

State's Petition for Certiorari at pp. 9-10. The State has not

wentioned, however, that counsel for the respondent in the Delaware

Supreme Court abandoned the concession of defense counsel at trial

that the respondent's comments outside the magistrate court were

“spontaneous,” and argued that both defense counsel at trial and

the trial court itself failed to consider whether Detective

Griffith's recitation to the respondent of Mr. Dodson's statenzent,

elsost immediately after the respondent had invoked his Mirands

right to counsel, had induced those comments and constituted the

“initiation” by the officer of further conversation with the

respondent in violation of Edwards. Indeed, because of the clearly

@rroneous concession of defense counsel at trial with respect to

the “spontaneity” of those comments, the Delaware Supreme Court was

required to review the respondent's contentions in that Court under

the “"plain-error” standard. See Wainwright v. State, gupre, 504

A.24 at 1099-1101. (A-8-11). Moreover, the Delaware Court's

“rejection” of defense counsel's concession in that regard at

trial, is manifestly supported by the record, for the reasons

outlined gupre.

Fifth, the Stete notes that the respondent testified at trial

in the present case in accord with his statements to Detective

Griffith, and that testimony was rejected by the jury. See State's

Petition tor Certiorari at p. 9. The State fails to note, however,

that the respondent's statements to that officer were the only

evidence introduced in the State's case-in-chief at trial directly

implicating the respondent in the Hastings homicide, and that the

introduction of those statements clearly precipitated the

respondent's testimony at trial. In addition, the State makes no

mention of the fact thet it effectively conceded in the Delaware

Supreme Court that the admission of the respondent's statezents, if

10

error, could not be considered herniess on the record here. ©

Finally, the State asserts that the Delaware Supreme Court in

its decision below "ignored the legitimate non-investigatory

purpose behind informing suspects of the factual cause for their

errest,” and that, as # consequence of its holding there,

"Gisclosure of such information is always prohibited, at least

where the revealed informetion is highly incriminating.” See

State's Petition for Certiorari at p. 10. It is evident, however,

that no such broad rule was enunciated by the Delaware Court or is

implicit in its decision in the instant case. To the contrary,

that decision was carefully limited to the factual record presente4

here, and constitutes simply a straightforward application of the

principles and rules articulated by this Court in Miranda, Edwards

and Innis and their progeny, to that record. It is likewise

epparent that the Court's conclusion that "the defendant's initial

statement to Detective Griffith made outside the Magistrate's Court

was an elicited response to a statement made a policeman which was

reasonably likely to produce such a response,” is manifestly

supported by the overwhelming weight of the evidence, and that,

since Detective Griffith's comments in issue were undisputedly made

efter respondent's invocation of his Mirands right to counsel, the

Court's holding that the first prong of the Edwards test was not

met here, is clearly correct. See Wainwright v. State, supra, 504

A.2Gd at 1103. (A-16-18).

THe respondent also notes that the indication by the State in

its Petition for Certiorari at p. 10, n. 11, that the Delaware

Supreme Court's observation that the waiver prong of Edwards was

likewise not satisfied in the present case with regard to the

respondent's statement inside the magistrate court, was "apparent

dicta,” also misrepresents the decision of the Court below. In

fact, the Delaware Court explicitly held, based on the totality of

the record here, that the aforementioned statement, even if

®as the Delaware Supreme Court observed in its decision,

"“(e)xcept for (the above) statements, the State's evidence against

Wainwright was essentially circumstantial ..." Wainwright v. State,

Supra, 504 A.2d at 1100. (A-10). -

"separately evaluated” from the officer's earlier comments and the

respondent's reaction thereto, did "not gain admissibility under

the existing standards” of waiver enunciated by this Court in North

Carolina v. Butler, 441 U.S. 369 (1979).’ See Wainwright v. State,

gupre, 504 A.2d at 1103-1104. (A-18-19). That conclusion is also

fully supported by the evidence in the present case, and

constitutes an independent ground for the Court's decision below.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. The State of Delaware has neither

accurately and fully set forth the

facts and the Delaware law pertinent

to the question presented, nor the

relevant details of the decision of

the Delaware Supreme Court below.

Under 286 U.S.C. Sec. 1257(3), this Court's jurisdiction to

review a state-court judgment on certiorari, is discretionary.

Supreme Court Rule 17(1) provides that review on writ of certiorari

“will be granted only when there are important and special reasons

therefor." As the Court observed in Ross v. Moffitt, 417 U.S. 600,

616-617 (1974), its exercise of such discretionary review “depends

on numerous factors other than the perceived correctness of the

judgment (it is) asked to review.” Among those factors, the

respondent submits, should be the candor -- or lack thereof -- with

which the petitioner seeking review presents the facts and the law

relevant to the question presented. See, e.g., Superintendent v.

Hill, 472 U.S. -- , 86 L.Ed.2d 356, 366-369 (1985) (Stevens, J.,

Brennan, 3., and Marshall, J., concurring in part and dissenting in

part) (failure of the Attorney General 41s the State's highest legal

officer to accurately and fully disclose to the Court the state law

pertinent to a question presented, should have resulted in a denial

or dismissal of review).

As detailed in the Statement of the Case, gupra, the State of

Tithe Delaware Court first properly noted that, where the

“initiation” prong of the Edwards test has not been met, there is

no need to address the "waiver" prong of that test. 6ee

v. State, supra, 504 A.2d at 1103. (A-18-19).

12

Delaware in its petition now before this Court, has neither

accurately and fully set forth the facts and the Delaware law

pertinent to the question upon which it seeks review here, nor the

details of the decision of the Delaware Supreme Court below which

are relevant to that question. Under those circumstances, the

respondent submits that this Court should deny review of that

petition.

2. The question presented here is predicated

upon an issue of fact which was resolved

against the State of Delaware by the Delaware

Supreme Court in its decision below.

In connection with the exercise of its discretionary

jurisdiction to grant certiorari review, this Court has long held

that it "(does) not grant a certiorari (writ) to review evidence

and discuss specific facts.” United States v. Johnson, 268 U.S.

220, 227 (1925). In the instant case, though, that is precisely

what this Court would be required to do. More specifically, the

question presented in the State's petition for review is predicated

upon the "fact" that Detective Griffith's recitation of the details

of Mr. Dodson's statement to the respondent, was simply 4 "routine"

part of the booking process used by the Delaware State Police.

That alleged “fact,” however, is not established by the record

here. Indeed, as the respondent pointed out in the Statement of

the Case, supra, Detective Griffith's testimony -- which was whelly

uncorroborated by any other evidence -- that apprising a defendant

of the evidence against him is a “routine” component of the booking

process utilized by that police agency, was clearly rejected by the

Delaware Supreme Court in its decision below, and that conclusion

is manifestly supported by the record. See Wainwright v. state,

gupra, 504 A.2d at 1102-1103. (A-15-18). Compare, United States v.

Hinckley, D.C.Cir., 672 F.24 115, 122-123 (1982) (testimony of

agents that questioning of the defendant “was merely part of

‘standard processing procedures’ and was ‘essentially

administrative,'" was not entitled to credit). Hence, in order to

address the question raised by the State here, this Court would be

required to review -- and, indeed, reverse ~~ the factual

13

conclusion of the Delaware Court in that regard. The respondent

therefore submits that review of the State's petition in the

present case should likewise be denied for that reason.

3. There is no "dilemma" posed for police

as a consequence of the decision of the

Delaware Supreme Court below, and there

is no conflict among the lower courts with

respect to whether police conduct of the

type in issue here constitutes "interrogation"

under Rhode .

In its effort to secure review by this Court of the decision

of the Delaware Supreme Court below, the State in a considerably

confusing and clearly strained analysis, asserts that the Delaware

Court's decision creates a "dilemma" for police regarding whether

they should apprise a defendant in the course of the arrest process

of the charges and evidence against him and risk that such conduct

will be construed as “interrogation” under Rhode Island v. Innis,

Supra, 446 U.S. at 300-301, or should avoid providing such

information to a defendant and thereby call into question the

intelligence of any subsequent waiver by the defendant of his

rights under Miranda. The State further asserts that the lower

courts are in conflict with respect to whether informing a

defendant following an arrest of the charges and evidence against

him, is the type of police conduct that is "normally attendant to

arrest and custody” and therefore "exempt" from the definition of

“interrogation” articulated by this Court in Innis. In order to

resolve the foregoing alleged problems, the State contends that,

"... assuming the legitimacy of a police policy to furnish such

information to all suspects in the arrest process," a

"case-by-case" analysis of the type applied by the Delaware Supreme

Court here regarding whether such conduct constitutes

“interrogation” under Innis, should be rejected in favor of a per

ge rule that such police conduct never constitutes "interrogation"

under that decision when it occurs in the "arrest and booking

context." See State's Petition for Certiorari at pp. 10-18. The

respondent submits, however, that the above-noted assertions of the

State as well as the per ge rule it urges upon the Court here, are

not supported by policy, reason or the case authorities upon which

14

it relies, and review should be denied here on that basis.

In the first instance, it is important to clarify what js not

in issue in the present case as well as what js in issue here.

Specifically, what js not in issue is whether apprising a defendant

in the course of the arrest process of the charges against hir, is

permissible, in that the Delaware Court expressly noted that "it

was Clearly appropriate for Detective Griffith to complete the

formalities of the booking process including, again, advising the

defendant of the charges against him," before taking him to

magistrate court for his initial appearance. Wainwright v. State,

Supra, 504 A.2d at 1103. (A-17). Hence, the decision of the

Delaware Court in the instant case is fully consistent with the

decision of the Colorado Supreme Court in People v. Spring,

Colo.Supr., 713 P.2d 8€5, 872-874 (1985) (en banc), cert. granted,

54 U.S.L.W. 3738 (May 5, 1986) (No. 85-1517), that, "(w)hether, and

to what extent, a suspect has been informed or is aware of the

subject matter of the investigation prior to" a waiver of his

rights under Miranda, is a factor in evaluating the "totality of

the circumstances" with regard to the validity of that waiver. See

also United States v. McCrary, Sth Cir., 643 F.2d 323, 328-320

(1981), and Carter v. Garrison, 4th Cir., 656 F.2d 68, 69-70

(1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 952 (1982). In particular, the

decision below poses no "dilemma" for police regarding whether they

can inform a defendant of the charges against him, following his

arrest, to assist him in intelligently deciding if he should

cooperate with police. In addition, that decision is consistent

with the holdings of several other courts which have concluded that

apprising a defendant of the charges against him in connection with

an arrest, does not ordinarily constitute "interrogation" within

the meaning of that term under Innis. See, e.g., United States v.

Gorden, 24 Cir., 655 F.2d 478, 485-486 (1982); State v. Perez,

R.I.Supr., 422 A.2d 913, 915-916 (1960); State v. White, Me.Supr.,

460 A.2d 1017, 1020-1021 (1983). Compare also, United States v.

Wilson, 9th Cir., 571 F.2d 455, 456-457 (1978), a pre-Innis

decision.

What js in issue in the instant case is whether informing a

15

defendant of the evidence against him during the arrest process, is

permissible, in that the Delaware Court also explicitly observed

that, "(i)n going beyond the formalities of the booking process to

describe the State's evidence, particularly the highly

incriminatory accusations of Dodson, Detective Griffith engaged in

a gratuitous and totally unnecessary tactic which was reasonably

calculated to elicit a reaction from the defendant." Wainwright

v. State, supra, 504 A.2d at 1103. (A-17). With respect to that

issue, the respondent first notes that neither Innis nor any other

decision of this Court, or any of the lower court decisions relied

upon by the State in its petition, has expressly or even implicitly

held that apprising a defendant in the course of the arrest and

booking process of the evidence against him, serves any “legitimate

police policy" justifying an "exemption" of such police conduct

from the scope of "interrogation" in all cases, as the State urges

this Court to hold here. Indeed, police practices not amounting to

explicit interrogation which focus -- truthfully or otherwise -- on

impressing upon a defendant the evidence against him, are precisely

the types of "psychological ploys" not-infrequently utilized by

‘authorities to obtain statements, which led this Court in Innis to

conclude that “interrogation” under Miranda could not be limited to

simply “express questioning." See Rhode Island v. Innis, supra,

446 U.S. at 299-300. Indeed, even before this Court clarified the

scope of the term "interrogation" in Innis, the lower courts

generally concluded that confronting a defendant with the evidence

against him, amounted to “interrogation” under Miranda. See, @.g.,

Combs vy. Wingo, 6th Cir., 465 F.2d 96, 97-99 (1972), and its

progeny. See also, Commonwealth v. Hamilton, Pa.Supr., 285 A.2d

172, 174-175 (1972), and Commonwealth v. Mercier, Pa.Supr., 302

A.2d 337, 339-340 (1973). Subsequent to the Court's decision in

FAs pointed out in the Statement of the Case and under

Argument 2, supra, the Delaware Supreme Court in its decision below

rejected the testimony of Detective Griffith that apprising a

defendant of the evidence against him is a "routine" part of the

processing procedure used by the Delaware State Police. For

purposes of the present argument, however, it is assumed that such

police conduct is a “routine” aspect of the booking process

utilized by that agency.

16

Innis, the lower courts have similarly recognized that, in many

instances, such police conduct is "reasonably likely to elicit an

incriminating response from the suspect" of which police should be

aware, and that it is the "functional equivalent" of "express

questioning" in some cases and can thus constitute "interrogation"

under Innis. See, e.g., United States v. Alexander, D.C.App., 428

A.2d 42, 44-52 (1981), and the cases cited therein; United States

ex rel. Abubake v. Redman, D.Del., 521 F.Supp. 963, 972-977 (1981),

vacated on undetermined grounds, 3d Cir., 696 F.2d 980 (1982);

People v. Ferro, N.Y.App., 482 N.Y¥.S.2d 237, 240-241 (1984). In

fact, in United States v. Alexander, supra, 428 A.2d at 44-52 -- a

decision ignored by the State in the Court below and again in its

petition here -- the District of Columbia Court of Appeals

explicitly observed that informing a defendant of the evidence

against him can be a "technique" relied upon by police to evoke an

incriminating response, of the type expressly condemned in Innis.

See Rhode Island v. Innis, gupra, 446 U.S. at 301, n. 7. In

addition, as discussed more fully in Argument 4, infra, such police

conduct can improperly precipitate the "initiation" by a defendant

who has asserted his right to counsel under Miranda, of further

dialogue with police, contrary to the dictates of Edwards v.

Arizona, supra, 451 U.S. at 484-485. Indeed, the State itself

implicitly recognizes the "evocative" character of such

information, in conceding that the holding it seeks from the Court

here should be limited to the detailing of that information only in

the "arrest and booking context." See State's Petition for

Certiorari at p. 14, n. 15. Finally, as the respondent noted in

the Statement of the Case, supra, a defendant -- at least in

Delaware -- is informed of the contents of the affidavit in support

of an arrest warrant by ‘ magistrate within a relatively short time

of his arrest.” Hence, given the "evocative" quality of such

She State in its Petition for Certiorari at p. 17, n. 17,

indicates that "if the reasoning of the court below here stands ...

a disclosure (of the evidence against a defendant) by the

magistrate at the initial appearance would constitute

‘interrogation.'" That assertion is unsupportable, however, in

(Footnote Continued)

17

information and the fact that a defendant will be provided with

that information by a neutral source within a reasonable time of

his arrest, it is difficult to fathom what "legitimate police

policy" is served by the police conduct in issue here.

The respondent also points out that the indication by the

State in its petition for review, that the decision of the Delaware

Supreme Court in the present case deprives a defendant and

ultimately his counsel of information regarding the evidence in the

case which may be helpful to them in deciding whether to cooperate

with police, is wholly disingenuous. Clearly, if a defendant

wishes to have that information, he can simply ask for it. The

Delaware Court did not hold, nor would the respondent argue in this

Court, that providing such information to a defendant ypon his

request constitutes "interrogation" under Innis -- at least not in

20 See, e.g., People v. Thomas,

Ill.App., 424 N.E.2d 985, 988-989 (1981), cert. denied, 456 U.S.

993 (1982); United States v, Guido, 9th Cir., 704 F.2d 675, 677-678

(1983); United States v. Crisco, 9th Cir., 725 F.2d 1228, 1231-1232

(1984). In addition, that Court manifestly did not hold, nor would

the vast majority of cases.

the respondent contend here, that apprising a defendant's counsel

of the evidence -- upon his request or gua sponte -- is

impermissible under Innis. Finally, it cannot be disputed that

detailing the charges against a defendant is far less likely to

precipitate an incriminating response from him, than detailing the

evidence in the case. Hence, the rationale underlying the decision

of the Colorado Court in People v. Spring, gupra, is inapplicable

in the latter instance, contrary to the apparent contention of the

(Footnote Continued)

that, as the State itself agrees, any statements made by ea

magistrate to a defendant during the initial appearance do not

occur in the course of "custodial interrogation." Hence, the

prophylactic rules of Miranda and its progeny are simply not

applicable under such circumstances. See, e.g., State v. McClain,

Ind.App., 442 N.E.2d 1131, 1132-1134 (1982).

10nere a defendant previously invoked his right to counsel

under Miranda, a request by him for information regarding the

evidence in the case would also likely constitute the "initiation"

by him of further dislogue with police under the first prong of the

Edwards test applicable under such circumstances. Certainly, the

Delaware Court below did not hold otherwise. See Argument 4,

A4nfra

18

State.

The respondent further notes that the holding the State urges

upon this Court in the instant case could, in fact, threaten

legitimate law-enforcement interests, and would pose far greater

"dilemmas" for police than the decision of the Delaware Court

below. More specifically, if this Court should conclude that

informing a defendant of the evidence against him is important to

the intelligent exercise of his rights under Miranda, that holdinc

would be applicable in the not-uncommon cases where police do not

want to disclose the evidence in the case, as well as in those

cases where they feel free to do s0. Hence, the police could only

maintain the confidentiality of the evidence at the risk of

providing the defendant with a basis to challenge any subsequent

waiver of his rights under Miranda as "unintelligent." Moreover, a

"dilemma" would clearly arise in many cases regarding vidence

must be disclosed to assist the defendant in intelligently deciding

whether to cooperate with police. All of the evidence gathered by

police? Just the "principal" evidence? And what about exculpatory

evidence, such as existed but was not disclosed to the defendant in

the present case? Manifestly, those "dilemmas" are much more

troublesome than the alleged "dilemma" created under the Delaware

Court's decision, of whether any evidence should have been

disclosed at all under the circumstances in issue here.

In addition, the respondent notes that where, as frequently

occurs, the arresting and/or booking officer is not an

investigating officer in the case, he is generally unfamiliar

himself with the evidence underlying an arrest warrant, and is

therefore hardly able to provide that information to the defendant.

Thus, informing a defendant of the evidence against him simply

cannot be a "routine" part of processing in every case.

The respondent also observes that the State does not deny here

that, in many instances, police should and do know that informing a

defendant of the evidence against him is, in fact, "reasonably

likely to elicit an incriminating response" from him, within the

meaning of Innis. The State apparently contends, however, that the

"evocative" character of such information is irrelevant, so long as

19

it is provided to the defendant only in the course of the arrest

and booking process. It is clear, however, that in exempting

“words or actions on the part of the police" which are “normally

attendant to arrest and custody" from the scope of "interrogation"

under Innis, this Court contemplated that such words or actions

would ordinarily be non-"“evocative" in quality.?? Certainly, this

Court did not intend to permit police to insulate their conduct --

regardless of how “evocative” it might be -- from scrutiny under

that decision, by simply affixing the labe) “routine processing" tc

it. Indeed, as the Court held in United States v. Hinckley, supra,

672 F.2d at 122-126, -- a decision also ignored by the State below

and here -- even words or actions on the part of police which

generally are merely part of the arrest and booking process,

constitute “interrogation” under Innis, if police should know they

are likely to elicit an incriminating response. Finally, where, as

in Delaware, a purpose of the "booking process" is to obtain a

statement from a defendant, ?? it would be particularly

inappropriate to exempt the conduct of police in connection with

such process from the scope of "interrogation" under Innis.

Lastly, the respondent points out that this Court in Innis

made clear that the determination of whether the words or actions

of police amounted to “interrogation,” requires an examination of

all the relevant circumstances, including both the conduct of

police itself and the perception as well as susceptibilities of the

defendant. See Rhode Island v. Innis, gupra, 446 U.S. at 300-302.

Hence, euch determination must necessarily be made on a

"case-by-case basis," as even the Ninth Circuit -- upon which the

State has relied so heavily here -- has held. See United States v.

11,5 the District of Columbia Circuit observed in United

States v. Hinckley, gupra, 672 F.2d at 122-123, in most

jurisdictions, "(t)he standard booking process is ‘a predominately

clerical procedure, performed immediately or soon after the suspect

is delivered to the precinct or district station;' its primary

function is ‘recordkeeping.'" Clearly, the words or actions of

police in connection with that type of activity, as well as other

common »stodial activities, are what this Court considered in

Innis . ve “normally attendant to arrest and custody."

12 S60 A-54, and Dodson v. State, supra, -- A.2d at --, (slip

opinion at p. 3 n. 3). (A-60).

20

== eer ‘ aa

.

Booth, 9th Cir., 669 F.2d 1231, 1237-1238 (1982) .27 The

"case-by-case" approach employed by the Delaware Supreme Court in

its decision below, is thus fully consistent with -- and, indeed,

mandated by -- this Court's holding in Innis, and is also in accord

with the approach utilized by the other lower courts in making such

determinations. In fact, none of the cases relied upon by the

State hold that informing a defendant of the evidence against him

-- or, for that matter, any other words or actions of police -- is

police conduct which is exempt jn every instance from the scope of

“interrogation” under Innis. In addition, all of the cases cited

by the State in which apprising the defendant of such information

was determined to not constitute “interrogation,” are

Gistinguishable on their facts from the present case. Hence, the

alleged “conflict” the State has asserted exists among the lower

courts regarding the permissibility of such police conduct under

innis, is wholly illusory.

~

.

The police conduct in issue in the present

case constituted the "initiation" by police

of further dialogue with the respondent in

violation of the per ge rule adopted by this

Court in Edwards y. Arizona.

In the Delaware Supreme Court, the respondent principally

contended that Detective Griffith's conduct in reciting to the

respondent the details of Mr. Dodson's statement, after the

respondent's invocation of his right to counsel under Miranda,

é, constituted the improper “initiation” by the officer of further

1375, Booth -- yet another decision ignored by the State in the

instant case -- the Court also explicitly recognized in the context

of "express questioning” of a purportedly “routine” character, "the

potential for abuse by law enforcement officers who might, under

the guise of seeking ‘objective’ or ‘neutral’ information,

Geliberately elicit an incriminating statement from a suspect," and

therefore emphasized that "the ultimate test for whether

questioning constitutes interrogation is whether, in light of all

the circumstances, the police should have known that a question was

reasonably likely to elicit an incriminating response." Id. at

1238. That analysis is fully in accord with the similar

observations and conclusions of the District of Columbia Circuit in

United States v. Hinckley, supra, 672 F.2d at 122-126, pointed out

by the respondent before. The respondent submits that that

analysis is also applicable where police provide information to a

defendant they should know is likely to elicit an incriminating

response.

21

dialogue with the respondent regarding the case, in violation of

the per se rule adopted by this Court in Edwards v. Arizona, gupre,

451 U.S. at 484-485. Although the respondent additionally argued

that such conduct also amounted to "interrogation" under the

definition of that term articulated by the Court in Rhode island ~

innis, supra, 446 U.S. at 300-301, the respondent noted to the

Delaware Court that it did not need to reach that question, if it

agreed with his foregoing primary argument. The State, however,

contended to that Court that police do not violate the rule in

Edwards by continuing conversation about the case with a defendant

who has requested counsel, unless nets conduct does amount to

“interrogation” under Innis. In its decision below, the Delaware

Supreme Court did not undertake to resolve the question of whether

‘police conduct not amounting to "interrogation" can constitute the

improper "initiation" by police of further dialogue with a

defendant who has asserted his Miranda right to counsel, nor has

the State presented that question in its petition for review here.

Instead, the Delaware Court held that the conduct of Detective

Griffith gid amount to "interrogation" on the totality of the

record in the present case, and that the "initiation" prong of the

Edwards test had thus not been met here. See Wainwright v. State,

supra, 504 A.2d at 1101-1103. (A-17-18).

In its petition now before this Court, the State -- ina

somewhat less-than-explicit fashion -- has essentially reiterated

its position in the Court below, that no violation of Edwards

arises unless police "interrogate" a defendant who has invoked his

Miranda right to counsel. The State in its discussion of the

question presented here, has thus made no distinction betwee.: cases

in which the Edwards rule |is applicable and those in which it is

not. The respondent likewise reiterates his position advanced

below, however, that the question of whether police conduct amounts

to "interrogatién,” need not be reached, if such conduct

constitutes the improper "initiation" by police of further dialogue |

regarding the case with a defendant who has requested counsel,

contrary to the dictates of Edwards.

The respondent notes that this Court in Edwards and its

22

several subsequent decisions clarifying and applying the rule

articulated in that decision, has never held that police conduct

‘must amount to "interrogation" before an Edwards violation occurs.

f

In Edwards itself, the Court spoke in broad terms of

“communication, exchanges or conversations" as well as simply

"dialogue," in its discussion of the concept of “initiation” there.

See Edwards v. Arizona, gupra, 451 U.S. at 484-485 and 486, n. 9.

Moreover, in Oregon v. Bradshaw, 462 U.S. 1039, 1045 (1983), the

Court made clear that the terms "interrogation" under Innis and

“initiation” under Edwards are not synonymous, indicating with

respect to the latter term that “initiation” occurs where any

inquiries or statements by a defendant or a police officer tend to

"open up a more generalized discussion relating directly or

indirectly to the investigation." In Bradshaw, the Court added

that inquiries or statements by a defendant or an officer “relating

to routine incidents of the custodial relationship, will not

generally ‘initiate’ a conversation in the sense in which that word

is used in Edwards." Jbid. See also Edwards v. Arizona, supra, 451

U.S. at 490 (Powell, J., concurring) ("...police do not

impermissibly ‘initiate' renewed interrogation by engaging in

routine conversations with suspects about unrelated matters").

(Emphasis supplied). Cf., Rhode Jsland v. Innis, supra, 446 U.S.

at 300-301, and Argument 3, gupre, regarding the definition of

“interrogation” enunciated there. In addition, the Court has

emphasized that the Edwards ruie is a “prophylactic rule, designed

to protect an accused in police custody from being badgered by

police officers in the manner in which the defendant in Edwards

was." Oregon v. Bradshaw, supra, 462 U.S. at 1044. See also Soler

vy. Stumes, 465 U.S. 638, 646-647 (1984); Smith v. Illinois, 469

U.S. --, 83 L.Ed.2d 488, 493-494 (1984); ad Shea v. Louisiana, 470

U.S. --, 64 L.Ed.2d 38, 43-44 (1985). Hence, the rule in Edwards

affords a defendant the "right to be free of contact with

authorities in the absence of an attorney,” apart from simply

routine custodial matters, as well as the "right to be free of

Anterrogation” regarding the crime charged. Wyrick vy. Fields, 459

U.S. 42, 47 (1982) (emphasis supplied). The concept of

23

"initiation" under Edwards is thus significantly broader that the

concept of “interrogation” under Innig, contrary to the contention

of the State in the Court below and in its argument here.

The respondent notes that, where the Edwards rule has been

applicable, police-initiated statements or actions focusing on the

evidence against the defendant, has apparently occurred only rarely

-- an indication in itself that, in the view of most police

officers, such conduct would be violative of Edwards. In the very

few reported decisions in which it did occur, however, other than

the decision of the Delaware Supreme Court in the instant case, the

courts have uniformly held that such conduct constitutes a

violation of the rule in Edwards, without expressly finding that it

amounted to "interrogation" under Innis. See Bryant v. State,

Md.Sp.App., 431 A.2d 714, 717-720 (1981), cert. denied, Md.App.,

291 Md. 772 (1981), cert. denied, 456 U.S. 949 (1982); State v.

Quinn, Md.Sp.App., 498 A.2d 676, 677-679 (1985); Vv v ‘eo,

Md.Sp.App., -- A.2d -- (1986) (slip opinion at pp. 3-7).24

(A-65-72).

As the Maryland Court observed in Bryant v. State, supra, 431

A.2d at 718 -- a decision not even mentioned by the State in the

present case, even though this Court denied the State of Maryland's

petition for review there -- once a defendent has invoked his right

to counsel under Miranda, “any attempt by the authorities to

‘spark’ the accused's ‘own initiative'" in resuming dialogue with

police regarding the case, will "contaminate" any subsequent waiver

1475 the only decision which has been relied upon by the State

here or has come to the attention of the respondent's counsel that

is arguably to the contrary, the North Carolina Supreme Court in

, N.C.Supr., 333 &§.E.2d 708, 717 (1985), held that

providing the defendant who had requested counsel there with a copy

of the inventory form relating to the search which was conducted,

did not constitute the "initiation" by the officer of further

conversation with the defendant in violation of Edwards. There,

however, the Court emphasized that delivery of a search inventory

form to a defendant is "routine" and, indeed, mandated by North

Carolina law, and there were no surrounding circumstances which

suggested that the officer's conduct was calculated to or likely to

precipitate a response from the defendant. In addition, an

inventory form of the type in issue in Williams, is clearly far

less "evocative" in character than the incriminating statement of a

co-defendant. Williams is thus distinguishable on its facts from

the type of police conduct in issue in the above-noted cases and

here.

24

by him of that right and render such waiver "a nullity” under

Edwards. As the Court in Bryant additionally observed, in making

clear to the defendant who had asserted his right to counsel there

that his confederates were cooperating with police, the officer

“was endeavoring to cause Bryant to retreat from the Miranda

fortress and to surrender his will to the officer because the

battle was lost anyhow. It is precisely that type of ‘persuasion, '

duress, coercion, or intimidation that is forbidden by Miranda and

Edwards." Jd. at 720. Moreover, as that Court noted in State v.

Quinn, supra, 498 A.2d at 678-679, the fact that providing a

defendant with a copy of the statements of his accomplices may be

the "normal practice" of an officer, does not insulate such conduct

from the reach of Edwards, where the defendant has requested

counsel.

In its decision in the present case, the Delaware Supreme

Court expressly relied in part on the observations and conclusions

of the Maryland Court in Bryant and Quinn, and the Delaware Court's

decision is wholly consistent with those decisions in light of the

record here. See Wainwright v. State, supra, 504 A.2d at 1103.

(A-15-18). More importantly, the decisions of the Maryland Court

there and the Delaware Court below are manifestly in accord with

the rationale and rule of this Court's decisions in Edwards and its

progeny. For that reason, there is no need for this Court to even

address the question presented by the State in its Petition for

Certiorari, and review should be denied on that ground.

5. The decision of the Delaware Supreme Court

below is predicated on an independent

ground which is not implicated by the

question presented here.

As noted in the Statement of the Case, gupra, the Delaware

Supreme Court in its decision below held that, even if the conduct

of Detective Griffith which gave rise to the Innis/Edwards issue

involved in the question presented here, was not impermissible, the

respondent's alleged waiver of his Miranda rights prior to his most

damaging statement to that officer inside the magistrate court, did

not meet the standards for waiver enunciated by this Court in North

25

Carolina v. Butler, gupra, 441 U.S. at 373, on the totality of the

record in the instant case, and the "waiver" prong of the Edwards

test was therefore also not satisfied here. See Edwards v.

Arizona, supra, 451 U.S. at 486, n. 9, and Oregon v. Bradshaw,

supra, 462 U.S. at 1044-1045. Hence, that decision is predicated

on an independent ground which is not implicated by the question

before this Court now, and review should be denied for that reason.

CONCLUSION

For the preceding reasons, the respondent respectfully submits

that this Court should decline to grant review of the petition of

the State of Delaware in the present case.

Respectfully submitted,

tite aoe

NANCY JANE MULLEN, ESQUIRE =

Assistant Public Defender

Office of the Public Defender

Carvel State Office Building

820 N. French Street

Wilmington, Delaware 19801

26

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

PERCY EWELL WAINWRIGHT, §

&

Defendant Below, iS

Appellant, § No. 365, 1983

«

+, § Court Below: Superior Court

§ of the State of Delaware in

STATE OF DELAWARE, § and for Sussex County

‘§ Cr.A. Nos. S82-11-0061,

Plaintiff Below, § 1061 and 2061

Appellee, §

Scbeittec: Octobcr 29, 19€5

Decidea: February 21, 1986

Before CHRISTIE, Chief Justice, MCNEILLY, HORSEY, MOORE

and WALSH, Justices, constituting the Court en banc.

Upon appeal from Superior Court. REVERSED and REMANDED

for a New Trial.

Nancy Jane Mullen, Esquire, Assistant Public Defender,

Wilmington. Attorney for Appellant.

Gary A. Myers, Esquire, Deputy Attorney General,

Department of Justice, Georgetown. Attorney for Appellee.

WALSH, Justice:

The defendant, Percy Ewell Wainwright, was convicted

following a jury trial in Sussex County of first degree

felony murder, 11 Del. C. $636(a)(6), and possession of

a deadly weapon during the commission of a felony. The

State declined, during trial, to seek the death penalty,

and the defendant was sentenced to life imprisonment without

probation or parole on the murder charge with a consecutive

fifteen year sentence on the weapons charge. The charges

stemmed from his participation in the November 3, 1980,

attempted robbery of a Bridoeville liquor store and the

killing of a store clerk. A codefendant, David Wayne Dodson,

was convicted of the same offenses in a separate trial

and sentenced to life imprisonment after a jury declined

to impose the death penalty.

Although the defendant assigns a number of errors

alleged to have occurred at the trial level, we focus on

but one. He argues that certain oral statements were

obtained by the police in violation of his Fifth Amendment

right to counsel under Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436

(1955). Since we conclude that it was plain error to deny

suppression of such statements we must reverse and remand

for a new trial.

I

The factual record underlying the admissibility of

the disputed statemexts is drawn from the suppression hearing

at which the only witness was Detective Griffith of the

Delaware State Police. The defendant did not testify at

the suppression hearing.

There were no eyewitnesses to the shooting of the

liquor store clerk, and no identifiable fingerprints were

recovered from the scene of the crime. However, police

investigation led to the arrest of David Dodson on November

11, 1982, for the murder. Dodson told the police that

he and the defendant were present at the time the clerk

was shot, but that the defendant went into the liquor store

to rob it ene shot the clerk while Dodso:r remeinec cuts:ce.

Based on Dodson's statement, a fugitive warrant was issued

and the defendant was arrested at his residence in Maryland

on the same day. Detective Griffith accompanied a Maryland

State Police detective when the warrant was executed.

The Maryland officer read the defendant his Miranda rights

and advised Wainwright about the warrant on file in Delaware

for first degree murder but the defendant declined to give

a statement to Griffith.

The defendant waived extradition and was brought back

to Delaware on November 16, 1982. On the morning of November

16, when Detectives Griffith and Lee of the Delaware State

Police went to Anne Arundel County Prison to pick up the

Gefendant and transport him to Delaware, the Delaware detec-

tives did not read the Miranda rights to the defendant.

The detectives simply transported the defendant in silence

to the Delaware State Police Barracks in Georgetown.

Upon arrival at the Barracks in Georgetown, the

defendant was first taken to the Troop Commander's Office

where he was advised “why he was brought back to Delaware

and what he was being charged with.” Detective Griffith

read the Miranda rights to the defendant from a card issued

to the state police. In response, the defendant stated

that he would like to have an attorney present. At that

point, Detective Griffith stopped questioning the deferndent

ana took him to the processing roonr. Detective Grasfath

testified that before the defendant was taken to the

processing room, however, he advised the defendant that

he was being charged with “murder one of Mr. William Hastings

at Bridgeville, Delaware," and that the reason he was being

chargecé was that codefendant David Wayne Dodson had given

a complete statement describing how he and Wainwright had

gone to Lord's Package Store where Wainwright shot Hastings.

Detective Griffith described the exchange as follows:

Q- And you told him the substance of what

David Dodson had said?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. What was that?

A. That Mr. Dodson had admitted going to

the package store with Mr. Wainwright, but in

his statement he had stated that he had been

going to stay outside the package store while

Mr. Wainwright had gone in, and Mr. Wainwright

-3-

had been the one that went inside the package

store and committed the murder.

Q. So within five or ten minutes after

this man said he wanted an attorney, you were

telling him what David Dodson had said?

A. I was advising him why he was brought

back to Delaware and what he was being charged

with.

Q. And you were telling him the substance

of the statement that the police got from Dodson?

A. Yes, &gir.

@. What was his response to this?

*. There was no response.

After fangerpranting, the defendant was given lunch

and placed in a cell. No conversation took place during

lunch. At about 1:00 p.m., Detective Griffith took the

defendant to the Magistrate Court, located approximately

three hundred yards from the police station. Detective

Griffith testified that as he pulled up to the Magistrate

Court the defendant turned to him and said: "I didn't

kill that man, he stabbed me twice.” At that point, Griffith

advised the defendant that since he had elected to have

counsel, the detective could not talk to him about the

case. The defendant then asked Griffith if he could retract

his request for counsel, and Griffith told the defendant

that he would call the “District Attorney” and have a defense

attorney present, and then the defendant could tell his

story. Griffith next told the defendant that if he had

not pulled the trigger and killed the man, he might be

held as a material witness.

Detective Griffith unsuccessfully attempted to reach

a deputy attorney general but did not attempt to reach

a defense attcrney. Immediately after talking with the

deputy attorney general's secretary, Detective Griffith

asked the defendant whether he wanted to make a statement

or tell the detective what happened. The defendant then

made a statement in which he confessed to driving his pickup

truck thrceugh Bridgeville on the night of the murder, but

maintainec that Dodson stabbed him after he refused toe

stop the truck. The defendant finally stopped the truck,

and Dodson got out of the truck with a twelve-gauge shotgun.

Wainwright waited and a short time later Dodson returned

and told the defendant to "get out of here.”

At the suppression hearing, defense counsel did not

contest the admissibility of the first statement made by

the defendant. Defense counsel conceded that “[cJertainly

the officer cannot be expected to control spontaneous

statements." Instead, defense counsel challenged the ad-

missibility of the defendant's second statement as a viola-

tion of the defendant's right to counsel under Miranda.

At the suppression hearing the prosecutor, citing

Oregon v. Bradshaw, U.S. e 103 S.Ct. 2830 (1983) argued

that the defendant's statement as he arrived at the

Magistrate Court was, itself, initiation of further

communication with the police, and the defendant's subsequent

statement that "I don't want an attorney now" was a valid

waiver of his right to counsel under Miranda, after which

1

he willingly gave a statement. Defense counsel did not

effectively rebut this argument, and the trial judge, after

a recitation of the facts as he understood them, concluded

that:

The only thing that the State has

to show is that the defendant was warned

of his constitutional rights, that

he understood them, and that he waived

them. It is clear thet he understood

them from the fact that he exercised

them the first time, and it is further

clear that he wanted to waive them

by the fact that he asked to waive

them.

In this particular case, it is

clear that he understood them and that

he exercised them, and according to

the testimony of Officer Griffith,

he wanted to initiate a further

conversation and withdraw the exercise

of that right and wanted to make a

statement.... I cannot say that giving

him lunch, informing him of the evidence,

and bringing him to the Justice of

the Peace Court was such overbearing

tactics by the police that he was not

exercising in (sic) free will....

Because defendant's trial counsel conceded that the

Gefendant's first statement was spontaneous, the trial

judge focused only on the waiver aspect of the question

of admissibility and ruled, in effect, that defendant's

@esire to waive his previously invoked right to counsel

was established by his own words.

11

As a threshold consideration we must confront the

qvestion of whether the scope of our review may extend

to claimed error which was not raised at the trial level.

Indeed, the State contends that the concession of partial

admissibility by defense counsel not only misled the trial

court but now requires this Court to rule upon a question

riot fairly raised on the trial record.

This Court, in the exercise of its appellate authority,

will generally decline to review contentions not raised

below and not fairly presented to the trial court for

decision. Supreme Court Rule 8; Jenkins v. State, Del.

Supr., 305 A.2d 610 (1973). On evidentiary issues, ‘wens

general rule is that evidentiary questions may not be raised

for the first time on appeal. Stevenson v. Henning, Del.

Supr., 268 A.2d 872 (1970). Thus, failure to object to

the admissibility of evidence in the trial court may preclude

a party from raising the objection for the first time on

appeal. See Young v. State, Del. Supr., 431 A.2d 1252

(1980); Rochester v. Katalan, Del. Supr., 320 A.2d 704

(1974); Del. R. Evid. 103.

To expedite finality and promote economy in litigation,

Rule 103 of the Delaware Rules of Evidence requires the

parties to raise timely objections tc. evidence in the trial

court or risk losing the right to raise evidentiary issues

on appeal. Failure to make an objection at trial constitutes

@ waiver of the defendant's right to raise that issue on

appeal, unless the error is plain. Goddard v. State, Del.

Supr., 362 A.2d 238 (1977). Rule 103 allows the appellate

court to take notice of "plain errors affecting substantia)

rights” of the parties on appeal, even though the error

was not brought to the attention of the trial court. See

Del. R. Evié. 103(d).

Undc> the plais. error stéerderd of reviev, the errc:

complained of must be s0 clearly prejudicial to substantial

rights as to jeopardize the fairness and integrity of the

trial process. Dutton v. State, Del. Supr., 452 A.2d 127,

146 (1962). Furthermore, the doctrine of plain error is

limited to material defects which are apparent on the face

of the record, which are basic, serious, and fundamental

in their character, and which clearly deprive an accused

of a substantial right, or which clearly show manifest

injustice. Brownwell v. State, Del. Supr., 427 A.2d 884,

693 nn. 12. Recently, claims of error implicating basic

constitutional rights of a defendant have been accorded

review by this Court notwithstanding their nonassertion

at trial. Deputy v. State, Del. Supr., 500 A.2d 5861, 589

(1985); Flamer _v. State, Del. Supr., 490 A.2d 104, 112

(1983).

The significance of the trial judge's ruling on the

admissibility of the defendant's statements to Detective

Griffith is obvious. Except for these statements, the

State’s evidence against Wainwright was essentially circur-

stantial, since Dodson, called as a witness by the defense,

refused to testify on grounds of self-incrimination. It

is equally clear that the question of the admissibility

of Wainwright's statements was one of constitutioréel

Gimension. The U.S. Supreme Court's recent decisio‘s

in Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 471 (1961) and Oregon v.

Bradshaw, ___U.S.__» 103 S.Ct. 2830 (19863) make it clear

that once an accused has exercised his right to remain

silent under Miranda, the determination of whether subsequent

statements are admissible is based on a two-part test.

For such statements to be admissible, the prosecution must

establish that the accused initiated further contact with

the police, and validly waived his previously invoked right

to counsel. The first part of the Edwards test — the

initiation of further communication by the accused —

must be considered before proceeding to decide whether

there was a valid waiver. Edwards, 451 U.S. at 485;

Bradshaw, 103 S.Ct. at 2834.

A vo

In this case, defense counsel's concession that the

Gefendant’s first statement was “spontaneous” probably

caused the trial judge to focus only wpon the “waiver”

part of the Edwards test. Although the prosecutor, in

arguing for the admissibility of the statements, properly

noted that the Bradshaw decision discussed the importance

of determining which party initiated further conversation

after the accused had invoked his right to counsel, the

trial judge ruled that “[t]Jhe only thing that the State

has to show is that the defendant was warned of his constitu-

tional richts, that he understood ther, ané that he weivec

them.” Since this statement reflects an incomplete analysis

of the proper test to determine whether both of the

defendant's statements should have been admitted into evi-

Gence, this error is clearly prejudicial to substantial

constitutional rights of the defendant and jeopardized

the fairness of the trial process. Where there is plain

error, the fact that the error may have been “invited”

by the actions of defense counsel does not render it lees

significant or result in a forfeiture of appellate review.

See State v. Harper, N.J. Super. App. Div., 319 A.2d 771,

cert. denied, 65 N.J. 574, 325 A.2d 708 (1974); cert. denied,

68 N.J. 2864, 344 A.2d 318 (1975).

III

Our review of the record requires that we examine

the evidence presented by the State at the suppression

-10-

A-t

hearing in the light of the State's heavy burden of

demonstrating the voluntary relinguishment by a defendant

of his previously asserted request for counsel. We begin

with the language of Miranda:

Once warnings have been given,

the subsequent procedure is clear.

If the individual indicates in any

manner, at any time prior to or during

guestioning, that he wishes to remain

silent, the interrogation must cease.

If the individual states that he wants

én attorney, the interrogation must

cease until an attorney is present.

* . * *

If the interrogation continues

without the presence of an attorney

and a statement is taken, a heavy burden

rests on the government to demonstrate

that the defendant knowingly and

intelligently waived his privilege

against self-incrimination and his

right to retained or appointed counsel.

Miranda, 364 U.S. at 473-75.

In Edwards the Supreme Court established a bright-line

rule for determining compliance with Miranda. This rule

was further clarified in Smith v. Illinois, .8:.

105 §.ct. 490 (1984). In Edwards, the court established

@ “rigid prophylactic rule” that once an accused in custody

expresses a desire to deal with the police only through

counsel, he “is not subject to further interrogation by

the authorities until counsel has been made available to

him” unless there is a valid waiver of his request for

counsel. Edwards, 451 U.S. at 485-86; Smith, 105 S.Ct.

-ll-

at 492. In Edwards and Smith the Supreme Court clearly,

outlined the analysis which this bright-line rule

establishes.

First, courts must determine whether

the accused actually invoked his right

to counsel. Second, if the accused

invoked his right to counsel, courts

may admit his responses to further

guestioning only on finding that he

(a) initiated further discussions with

the police, and (b) knowingly and in-

telligently waived the right he had

invoked.

Smith, 105 S.Ct. at 493. The purpose of the Edwards rule

is to prevent police badoerino or overreéchine in ér effort

to wear down the accused despite his request for counsel.

Smith, 105 S.Ct. at 494.

The Edwards standard has not proved to be easy in

application and, as the divergence of opinions in Bradshaw

attest, is open to varying interpretations. The plurality

in Bradshaw confirmed Edwards as holding that once the

right to counsel has been asserted by an accused, no further

interrogation should take place “unless the accused himself

initiates further communications.” 103 S.Ct. at 2834.

Justice Powell, in a concurring opinion, opined that the

only new element in Edwards was the emphasis on the prosecu-

tion's burden of proof where “the critical question of

waiver focuses on whether the initial communication by

the police was proper.” 103 S.Ct. at 2838 n. 2.

-12-

2

Fon ad

In his dissenting opinion in Bradshaw, Justice Marshall

claimed that eight Justices cf the Court “manifestly agree"

that Edwards created a per se rule.

* ¢f

The rule is simply stated: unless

the accused himself initiates further

communication with the police, a valid

waiver of the right to counsel cannot

be established. If an accused has

himself initiated further communication

with the police, it is still necessary

to establish as a separate matter the

existence of a knowing and intelligent

waiver under Johnson v. Zerbst, 304

0.8. 6568, 464, S68 S.Ct. 2023; 1023,

62 L.Ed. 1461 (1938). The only Gcispute

betweer the plurality anc the cGissent

in this case concerns the meaning of

‘initiation’ for purposes of Edwards’

per se rule.

103 S.Ct. at 2840 n.2.

Whatever nuances may lurk in Edwards, as interpreted

by Bradshaw, for present purposes the controlling principle

is clear: If the police initiate further questioning after

an accused requests the presence of counsel, resulting

statements are excludable apart from the issue of waiver.

Here it is not disputed that Wainwright actually invoked

his right to counsel and thus activated the requirement

that the State prove that his later incriminatory statements

were the result of discussions initiated by him and were

the product of a knowing and intelligent waiver of his

rights under the Fifth Amendment. Wainwright's contention

that Detective Griffith initiated the discussion which

led to the statements, if supported by the record, would,

-13-

Pee de

‘of course, preclude application of ‘tthe initiation prong

of Edwards and foreclose the State from discharging its

burden of proof on the overall issue of waiver. We turn

then to the question of whether the conduct of the police

in this case amounted to “initiation” within the meaning

of Edwards.

IV

Defendant argues that Detective Griffith's comments

regarding the nature of the charge and his recitation of

the substance of Dodson's statement implicating Wainwright

constitute= initiation cf further conversation by the

officer, after Wainwright had asserted his right to counsel.

The State maintains that Detective Griffith's comments

were mere amplification of the charges made incident to

the routine booking procedure. The State points to the

fact that the defendant's initial incriminating statement

was not made in direct response to Detective Griffith's

comments but . occurred “spontaneously” approximately

forty-five minutes after the defendant had been given lunch,

awaiting the opening of the Magistrate's Court.

In Rhode Island v. Innis, 446 U.S. 291 (1980), the

Court held that “interrogation” under Miranda need not

amount to actual questioning and may instead be the “func-

tional equivalent" of such questioning. The Court defined

the latter to include “any words or actions on the part

-14-

of the police (other than those normally attendant to arrest

and custody) that the police should know are reasonably

likely to elicit an incriminating response from the suspect.*

446 U.S. at 302.

The State's argument that Detective Griffith's recital

of what Dodson had earlier told _ police concerning

Wainwright's participation in the liquor store robbery

was @ normal part cf the booking processing ignores what

hac already occurred up to that point. Wainwright had

been arrested in Maryland six days earlier on the strength

of a fugitive warrant. At the time of his arrest in

Maryland, Wainwright, in Detective Griffith's presence,

had been advised generally of the charges against him and

had been read his Miranda rights. Presumably at the time

of his court appearance to waive extradition, the defendant

was ayain advised of the charges awaiting him in Delaware.

lin Maryland, under the Uniform Criminal Extradition

Act, after arrest the accused must be taken before a judge

of a court of record who is required to inform the accused

of the demand made for his surrender and the crime with

which he is charged, and that the accused has the right

to demand and procure legal counsel; and if the accused

states that he desires to test the legality of his arrest,

the judge must fix a reasonable time within which the accused

can apply for a writ of habeas corpus. Md. Ann. Code art.

41 $1 et seq. (1982). The accused may waive the issuance

and service of the Governor's warrant for the arrest and

all other procedure incidental to extradition proceedings

by executing a writing in the presence of a judge which

states that the accused consents to return to the demanding

state. The judge must, however, inform the accused of

his rights to the issuance and service of a warrant of

extradition and of his right to obtain a writ of habeas

corpus. Id. at §39.

-15-

A-~7e

Upon his arrival in Delaware the defendant was hardly

in ignorance of why he was being processed. Notwithstanding

the defendant's generalized knowledge of the charges against

him, however, it was clearly appropriate for Detective

Griffith to complete the formalities of the booking process

including, again, advising the defendant of the charges

against him before taking him to the nearest available

Justice of the Peace for his initial appearance as required

by 11 Del. C. §1909 and Superior Court Rule 5(a). In going

beyond the formalities of the booking process to describe

the State's evidence, perticularly the highly incririnéccry

accusations of Dodson, Detective Griffith engaged in a

gratuitous and totally unnecessary tactic which was rea-

sonably calculated to elicit a reaction from the defendant.

The fact that Wainwright's elicited reaction came

not immediately but forty-five mintues later when taken

from his cell to the magistrate court does not sanitize

it. The response made: "I didn't kill him, he stabbed

me twice" was understood by Detective Griffith to be a

denial of the killing but also a claim by Wainwright that

Dodson had stabbed Wainwright. Clearly Wainwright's state-

ment was directly responsive to Dodson's claim, as recited

by Detective Griffith, that Wainwright had been the trigger-

man while Dodson had remained outside. Even though the

statement tended to be exculpatory, in fact it was highly

-16-

aAn~7)

inculpatory because it placed Wainwright at the scene and

thus corroborated Dodson's statement to that effect.

Nor does the fact that the defendant's statement was

made after he was placed alone in a cell render it a purely

spontaneous one. Indeed, the opportunity to mull over

the effect of Dodson‘s accusatory statements could reasonably

have had the opposite effect — to impress upon the defendant

the seriousness of his predicament and the need to rebut

his codefendant’s accusations. Any attempt to “spark”

the accusec's initiative to make a stetement in the absence

of counsel through presertation of evidence will contaminate

the waiver. Bryant _v. State, Md. Ct. Spec. App., 49 Md.

App. 272, 431 A.2d 714, 718 (1981), cert. denied, 291 md.

772 #+(1981); cert. denied, 456 U.S. 949 (1982); see also

State v. Quinn, Md. App., 498 A.2d 676 (1985).

In sum, we conclude that the defendant's initial

statement to Detective Griffith made outside the Magistrate's

Court was an elicited response to a statement made by a

policeman which was reasonably likely to produce such a

response. Since the defendant's elicited statement followed

his request for the assistance of counsel, its admission

into evidence is barred under the evolving standards of

Edwards and Bradshaw.

Having determined that defendant's initial incriminatory

statement was neither spontaneous nor volunteered it is

-l17-

A - 4/#

unnecessary to determine whether his further statements,

made after Detective Griffith reminded the defendant that

he had asked for an attorney and the defendant's subsequent

indication of a desire to retract his request are admissible.

If, as clearly appears, the defendant's discussion of the

incident was prompted by police initiation, subsequent

waiver by defendant in the same continuing dialogue is

also tainted. Moreover, even if defendant's second statement

be viewed separately it was made only after Detective

Griffith led the defendant to believe that he would contect

an attorney who could be present before the defendant resured

his statement. Detective Griffith conceded that his effort

to secure an attorney for the defendant was limited to

a phone call to the office of the Deputy Attorney General.

When he was unable to make contact with the prosecutor,

the officer made no further effort to contact defense counsel

and never made any effort at direct contact with the Office

of the Public Defender. Thus we need not decide whether

the subsequent statement by the defendant was the result

of a fresh waiver made after a good faith, but unsuccessful,

effort to provide the defendant with counsel. Even if

the second statement is separately evaluated, it does not

gain admissibility under the existing standards of “strong

proof of the validity of that waiver.” See North Carolina

-18-

arr9

Vv

Because we conclude that the defendant's statements

to tective Griffith are rendered inadmissible by reason

eof the violations of his right to counsel under the Fifth

Amendment, we decline to address his claim that his Sixth

Amendment right to counsel is egually implicated. We need

not, and do not, decide whether the proceedings against

the defendant had reached the critical stage in the adversary

process where the right to counsel was mandated in any

event. See Deputy, 500 A.2d at 590. We note, however,

tnat ever though the dGefendant's statements were mace

immediately preceding his initial appearance before a

magistrate in Delaware, he had, as part of the extradition

process apparently appeared before the District Court in

Maryland earlier that day. Moreover, if defendant's state-

ments fail to gain admissibility under the standards which

control his right to counsel under the Fifth Amendment,

a fortiori, it is difficult to see how the State could

meet the more exacting standards for admissibility which

govern waiver of the Sixth Amendment right to counsel.

See Massiah v. United States, 377 U.S. 201 (1964).

The conviction is REVERSED and the case is REMANDED

for a new trial.

-19-

PROCEEDINGS

MR. SANDY: The State is prepared to go forwaré in

the matter of State of Delaware versut Percy Ewell Wainwright,

also known as John Wainwright. A motion has been filed to

suppress a statement made by Mr. Wainwright to Detective Budcy

Griffith of the Delaware State Police. We are prepared to go

forward with that hearing at this time.

THE COURT: All right, you may proceed.

MR. SANDY: The State calle as its first witness,

Detective Griffith.

Whereupon,

WILLARD F. GRIFFITH

was called as a witness by and on behalf of the 6tate of

Delaware and, having been firet Guly eworn, was examined and

testified as follows:

DIRECT EXAMINATION

BY MR. SANDY:

Q Detective Griffith, is it true you are employed in

a criminal investigative capacity by the State of Deleware as

& Delaware State Police Detective?

aA Yes, sir.

Q In that capacity have you ever had occasion to come

Griffith - Direct

ae

in contect with one Percy Wainwright, also known as John Wain-

wright?

A Yes, I have.

Q Do you see the person in the courtroor today that you

knov ae Percy Wainwright?

é Seatec in the first table or the richt in the white

T-shirt.

MR. SANDY: May the record reflect he indicated the

defendant, Percy Ewell Wainwright.

BY MR. SANDY:

Q When did you come in contact with Mr. Wainwright for

the first time?

is The first encounter was on November 11, 1982.

Qo Where did that take place?

a The firet encounter was at his residence in Baltimore,

Q Did you subsequently have occasion to come in contact

with him again?

A Yes, sir.

Q Explain where that took place and how.

a On November 16th of 1982, myself and Detective Cliff

Lee picked him up at the prison just on this side of the

Bay Bridge. YJ will give you the name of the prison. Anne

Arundel Detective Center. I picked him up there, where he had

aAa-akw

Griffith - Direct

xs.

T

waived extradition and was brought back to Delaware Stete Police

Barracks in Georgetown, Delaware. |

Q Approximately what time 6id you arrive back in maa a

A It was just before noontime.

¢ Dic you subsequently heve occeticn, after returninc

to the State of Deleware, to heve & conversetion with Mr. Waeir-

wright?

. Yes. |

Q When dic that take place? |

A At that same time at the Delaware State Police Bar-

racks at Georgetown.

i Approximately what time?

» Right around noontime.

Q What condition was Mr. Wainwright in at the time?

A As far as I coulé tell, very goocé condition. He

walks with a limp, but I think that is something he has had

quite a long time.

Q Woulé you please describe his emotional condition

for the Court?

A Again, as far as I coulé tell, normal. |

Q Physically, were you able to observe whether or not |

he appeared to be under the influence of alcohol? |

a No, sir, he Gid not appear to be under the influence |

A-ad

Griffith - Direct

lia

of alcohol.

0 Drugs?

A No, sir.

¢ Before you spoke witl, hir, had he beer giver. e:.

Opportunity to eet or érin.7

A No. We arrived back to the barracks just before

noontime, ané I began to arraign ané process him at that time.

Eventually we bought lunch for hin.

| 0 Who all was processing him?

A Just myself.

Q Where were you Going that? In Troop 47?

a He was first taken to the Troop Commander's Office

at Troop 4, where he was adviseé why he was brought back to

| Deleware and what he was being charged with.

9 At that time did you have occasion to say anythinc

to him regaréing what is commonly known as Miranda rights?

7 Yes. His Miranda was recited from the issue card

that we are issued.

0 Do you have that card with you today?

A Yes, 2 do.

° Woulé you recite to the Court what of those rights

you reaé to hin, if any?

A This is the issued caré that the Delaware State

ga-aF

Griffith - Direct

| 2

Police are issuec. It reads at the top,

"Miranda Warning. You have the right to remain

silent; anything you sey can and will be used against

you in @ court of lew; you heve the right to talk to

@ levyer ené heve hit preeent with you while yor erc

being questioned; if you cannot afford to hire a

lawyer, one will be appointed to represent you before

any questioning, if you wish one. If you decide to

answer any questions with or without an attorney

present, you may stop at any time during the aaa a

Then it has after the warning,

"In order to secure a waiver, the following ques-

tions should be asked and an affirmative reply to each

question:

"Number One, do you understand each of these rights

that I explained to you?

"Number two, having these rights in mind, do you

wish to talk to me now?"

0 ‘, What was his response to those questions?

. Be stated he would like to have an attorney present

or like to have an attoeney. /

Q at that point, what did you do?

A I never asked him no more questions. I took him to

A-2f7

Griffith - Direct

the processing room which is across the hall, and he was finger-

printed and an arrest card was filled out.

Q Did you, in fact, tell him at that point what he

wat beinc chergec with?

1 Yer, £23. Before he wee teres. te the procersir-

roorm.,, he wat advisec that he was beinc charged with first- |

degree murder of William Hastings, which occurred November 3,

1980, and the reason he was being charged for that murder wae

from the statement of Co-defendant David Dodson. |

Q When you told that to the defendant, was that in an

effort to question him or was that an informative speech?

A That was an informative speech. It was part of the

processing. |

Q After you processed hin, what happened?

A Okay. After he was fingerprinted, the Magistrate

Court judge was not available until 1:00 p.m. in the afternoon.

S0 we bought lunch for him, and he was allowed to eat lunch.

At 1:00 o'clock he was taken to the Magistrate Court.

rs) Did you arrive at the Magistrate Court?

A Yes, sir.

Q How far is Magistrate Court from Troop 4?

A Approximately three hundred yards.

+

Prior to your entering Magistrate Court, dié you have

Griffith - Direct

Lo

occasion to have another conversation with Mr. Wainwright?

e Yes, sir.

) How did that arise?

h Whe1, 1 pulleco vu; to Megistrete Court, M:. Wainwzrio):

turnec tc me and stetec tc m, explaincc, "J didr't kil) thet

man." Be said, “He stabbed me twice,” and I advised him that

since he had elected to have counsel, I could not talk to him

about the case.

What was his response to that?

He asked me if he could retract it.

What did you do then?

ry D> FP ©

I told him we would go in and call the District

Attorney, John Sandy, yourself, and also have a defense attorne

present, and then he could tell his story, and if it was true

that he had not pulled the trigger and killed the man, and if

it was determined by you, that he could possibly be held as a

material witness.

Q Subsequent to his asking you if he could retract his

request for an attorney, did he make a statement to you re-

garding the incident?

A Wo, weir. Okay, I am sorry.

Q After he asked if he could retract his statement to

you asking for an attorney, did he make a statement to you

A-2?

Griffith - Direct

1,

regarding the Hastings’ homicide?

A Yes, sir, he did.

Q Did you promise or threaten hir anything to make hir

make thet statement?

2. No, sir.

Q At the timc he made thet statement, dic he appeer tc |

be in full control of all his faculties?

Yes, he did.

Did he appear to be under the influence of alcohol?

r 2 >

No, sir.

@ $$In your training have you had occasion to observe

people who were under the influence of controlled substances?

A Yes, sir.

Q Did he appear to be under the influence of any control-

led substance?

A No, sir, he didn't.

Q What was his mental condition?

A Wormal. He appeared to be normal.

Q At any time after he askeé if he could retract his

request for an attorney, dic he ever again indicate to you that

he did not wish to speak with you or that he wished to have an

attorney present?

A No, he didn't.

Griffith - Direct

MR. SANDY: I have no further questions of this

witness.

CROSS-EXAMINATION

BY Mi.. HALLER:

Q After he stertec givino hie statement where Mr. Sency

left off, what did he say?

B Okay. This is the statement in Magistrate Court when

we were sitting and waiting for the judge? Ie thie the state- |

ment you are talking about?

Q Give us that one first.

A When I went into Magistrate Court, we made the call

to Mr. Sandy, whose secretary stated that he would call back

immediately. At that point I asked him, I said, "Do you wish

to tell me what happened?," and this is when he went into the

statement where himself and David Dodson had been driving

through Bridgeville approximately November 3, 1980. They had

been drinking most of the day. David Wayne Dodson had been

talking about how he had wanted to perform a robbery to get some

money. He said that he, Mr. Wainwright, stated that he did not

want to participate in any robbery and he would not go along

with it. While they were riding by the package store in

Bridgeville, Lord's Package Store, where the victim was working

he, David Wayne Dodson, told Mr. Wainwright to stop the silat |

aA- 2?

Griffith - Cross

12

This is where he was going to perform the armed robbery.

Mr. Wainwright would not comply with stopping, and

he stated at that time David Wayne Dodson leaped acrose ané

etebbec hir. twice. He turned right or. 404 richt ef Boor. at you

go throucl Eridgeville. He stoppec at e place or. the right ft:

a factory or by some type of plant. There David Wayne Dodson

got out of the pick-up with a twelve-gauge shotgun.

Mr. Wainwright steted a short time later Mr. Dodson

came back and jumped in the pick-up with his shotgun and told

him, “Get out of here." On the return to Federalsburg, where

both of them were staying, Mr. Dodson told Mr. Wainwright that

he had had to kill the man in the package store.

Q That was the end of the statement at Magistrate's .

Court? :

a Thet was the end of the statement referring to the

murder. Then he went on to -- then he talked about what happe

after they returned back to Pederalsburg. I think they had had

an argument, and Mr. Wainwright had returned to Baltimore and

Mr. Dodson had gone his own separate way.

; Q When did they have the exrqunent?

A Well, apparently after -- the argument stemmed fron

the murder, and Mr. Wainwright did not want any --

Q They went back to Federalsburg that evening?

Griffith - Cross

13

A They were staying in a camper behind a garage on the

way back to Federalsburo.

Q Thet eveninc they had the aroument in Federalsburc:

, Ke. &¥fte: thet gneséent ecerrre?’ thet &:, Cedartese

statec, him and Mr. Dodson parted ways.

Q Is there any time sequence on that?

A I don't know about any time sequence.

Q When did you first see Mr. Wainwright? What time?

A The very first time?

Q Yes.

a The very first time was November 11, 1982, when my-

self and Maryland 6tate Police Detective Ward went to the

residence where Mr. Wainwright was staying.

Q —_ Wainwright given Miranda rights on November 11th?

a I feel certain Detective Ward gave him Miranda. I

didn't talk to him. I didn't give him Miranda, because I

didn't talk to him. He didn't want to talk to me. I didn't

question Mr. Wainwright.

Q You feel certain that the Maryland Police would have

given him them as a matter of practice?

A I believe I looked through the report from the

Maryland State Police, which I have with me, and I believe it

is in there that Detective Ward did read him Miranda. j

Griffith - Cross

ee

Q You did not give him Miranda on the llth?

No. No, sir.

Q No statement was taken from Wainwright on the 11th?

A Ko, sir.

Dic you see Wainwricht on the 12th?

No.

When did you see him again?

- > P

November i6th.

Q When did you see hir on the 16th?

A When I picked him up at the Anne Arundel Prison. |

Q At what time? |

A I don't know the exact time. I would say it is a

little over an hour back. We arrived back at 12:00. I probably

pickeé him up around 10:30, or shortly thereafter.

Q You picked him up at 10:30 and you rode back to |

Delaware? |

A Yes, sir. |

Q Were there any Miranda rights given at that time in

that time sequence?

x None that I can recall, no, sir. There were no ques-

tions asked pertaining to the murder.

Q Who did he ride back with?

A He rode back with myself and Detective Cliff Lee.

A- 3s

Griffith - Cross

15

Q From the police car he was taken right back to the

Troop in Georgetown?

A Yes, sir.

0 Whet timc woule thet be?

A Shortly before noon when we arrivec bac). te the Ftetc

Police Barracks.

Q When did he leave the State Police Barracks to go to

the Magistrate's Court?

A The Magistrate was available at 1:00. Right around

1:00. It was right around 1:00 p.m. when we left Troop 4 and

went to Magistrate's Court.

Q Were any Miranda rights given between noon and 1:00?

A Yes, sir. When we went to the Troop or when we went

to the Troop Commander's Office for him to be formally processe

Miranda was read from the issue card which I previously read.

Q Give us a time on that.

Q We entered the Troop Commander's Office right around

12:00 noon. That was done immediately upon going into the

room.

Q They were given one time, as far as you know?

e Yes, sir.

Q When they were given, the Defendant said he wanted

an attorney?

A- 323

Griffith - Cross

1é

a Yes, sir.

Q And your response was what?

A At that time I did not ask him any questions. I

advised hir why he was beine charged, why he was brought bac)

tc Delevarc, anc whit Co-dcfencent Davic Weyne Dodson hed in;i:-

cated,

rey You told him what about Dodson?

7 What he was advised that he was being charged with,

murder one of Mr. William Hastings et Bridgeville, Delaware,

and the reason he was being charged is Co-defendant David Wayne

Dodson had given a complete statement how him and Mr. Wainwright

had gone to Lord's Package Store ané Mr. Wainwright had ended |

up shooting Mr. Hastings.

Q Approximately what time would it have been that you

told Wainwright that David Dodson had ended up shooting

Mr. Hastings. Approximately what time would it have been that

you told Wainwright that Devid Dodson had given a com lete

statement?

_ If he did not request an attorney, he would have been

told that almost immediately. 60 we are talking within a time

span of five or six minutes.

a So we are talking about -- just guessing -- 12:057

- Approximately, yes, sir.

og

|

A+ Jt

Griffith - Cross

»

Q And you told him the substance of what David Dodson

had said?

LS Yes, sir.

0 Whet war thet?

4 Suet Ba. bodes. hac @carattec coine te the paciecc

store with Mr. Wainwright, but in his statement he had stated

that he had been going to stay outside the package store while

Mr. Wainwright had gone in, and Mr. Wainwright had been the one

that went inside the package store and committed the murder.

Q 60 within five or ten minutes after this man said he

wanted an attorney, you were telling him what David Dodson had

said? .

A I was advising him why he was brought back to Delawan

and what he was being charged with.

Q Ané you were telling him the substance of the stete-

ment that the police got from Dodson?

a Yes, sir.

Q What was his response to this?

7a There was no response.

Q After you finished informing him of the charges and

telling him the substance of the statement of Mr. Dodson, what

was Go>* next?

- Then he was placed in -~ I believe he was placed in 1

A: oe

Griffith - Cross

LE

Getention cell while lunch was brought to him.

Q Was anyone talking to him while he was in the cell?

A I am not exactly sure whether he was placed in the

ecl] or whether he remainec in the roo: anc wer jurt wetches.

| But there war no question: agkec. Ne conversation,

Q When aid mr. Wainwright next speak, and what did he

say? |

A When we were on our way to Magistrate's Court and

parked on the parking lot of Magistrate's Court, he turned to |

me and said that he did not kill that man. |

Q What time would this be? |

A It was right around 1:00 o'clock, 1:00 p.m. Approxi-

|

mately one hour later.

Q Were you the only person in the car who drove -- |

A Yes, sir. |

“0 --wainwright down? |

a Yes, sir. .

Q Did you have any conversations with him on the way to

the Magistrate's Court?

. No, sir. Like I said before, it's only about three

hundred yards.

Q 60 at 1100 o'clock he says he did not kill the man?

A Yes, sir.

A-J3¢

Griffith - Cross

— ae

° What elee did he say?

a Okay. This is when he stated that he 4ié not kill

thet man anc that he had been stabbed twice by Mr. Dodson.

inie dt wher 1 Adnfornec hit he hac requested counsel] anc thct

| J coulé not speak with hir..

Q What Gié he say to that?

A That is when he askeé me if he could retract his

0 S0 we are still around 1:00 o'clock?

a Yes, sir.

o Then you went into the Magistrate's Court building?

o Yes, sir.

Q Ané the Magistrate's Court building is one-tenth of a

mile from the Troop?

A Yes. Like I said, approximately three hundred yards

from Troop 4. .

Q You called Mr. Gandy's office?

A Yes, sir.

c What time would that be?

A As soon as I went in Magistrate's Court. 6Ghortly

thereafter. I don't know the exact times.

Q A little after 1:007 A few minutes after 1:007

A I would say so.

Griffith - Cross

ie Then when you hung the phone up, 4i¢ you talk to

Mr. Wainwright egein?

A After talking with Mr. Bandédy's secretary, Lucind,

whe stetec he woule cal) bec immaeciately, thet if wher 3 eched

Mr. Weinwright Gi¢ he wil to wake @ steterent at thet tire oc:

Gi¢ he wish to tell me what happenec at that time.

i?) Where were you in the Magistrate's Court?

A There is @ little room that used to be the officers’

room. As you go in the front door and turn left down the hall-

way, you turn to your right immediately, ané there is a littie

room in there that they keep documents ané forms, a table ané

two chairs.

o We are talking around 1:05 or 1:10, as far as time

goes?

A Yes. Uh-huh.

i?) Bo this is a little more than an hour after he said

he wantec « lawyer?

A Yes, sir.

Q In between that you had informed hir of the charges

against hin?

A Yes, sir.

Q Ané you haé tolé him the substance of the statement

that the other State Police had obtained from David Dodson?

Griffith - Cross |

= |

. I informec hir of the reason why he was charged ané

brought beck to Deleware, yes, sir.

iq Are you just seyine you were telling hir whet he wee

etrvree’ wit! er ere you ceyis.c otet be 39 eberecd wlt) e¢.7 the:

seying what Dodson saic, as far as you were concernec?

A I was informing his of the reason why he was chargeé

with firet-Gegree murder, ané the reason he was being chargeé

de by @ statement from the co-defendant, Davié Wayne Dodson.

0 Dié you tell him what that statement was?

A I tolé him about the statement Mr. Dodson haé given

which Mr. Wainwright haé been the one who pulled the trigger

that killed Mr. Hastings.

6 Previously you said you coulé not talk to hir without

an attorney being present; is that right? |

A You mean prior to exiting the wehicle that since he

requested counsel, I coulé not speak with hin? Yes. |

r You haé tolé him that before, an¢é then when you get

into Magistrate's Court, you ask him if he wished to make «

statement?

A Yes. I asked him if he wished to tell me what

happened then.

0 ‘They would seem to be different positions that you

were taking. Why, at one time, Go you tell him you cannot talk

A- 37

Griffith - Cross

aan

=

to him because he has asked for an attorney, and then an hour

later you say, “Do you wish to make a statement"?

A When he made that statement to me, "I didn't kill

| thet man. He stabbes me twice,* I advised hir et thet point,

"If you reguertec counsel], I cannot speak with yor on the sul -

ject.” At that point he turned to me and said, "Can I nen’

that statement?"

G Ané you said?

A This is when we went inside and attempted to call

You did not get through to Mr. Sandy?

6

A No, sir. I left word with hig secretary to call me.

G You did not get through to any other attorney?

A No, sir.

) Qo Then you went back to him and asked him whether he

wanted to make a statement?

. Yes, sir.

ry That was five or ten minutes after you informed him

that you would have to talk to Mr. Sandy before taking the

statement?

a Pardon me again?

rey That was five or ten minutes after you haé told hin

that you could not take his statement and that you would have

A- Fe

4:

Griffith - Cross

to call Mr. Sandy?

A I advised hir that I could not speak with hir on the

subject because he ha¢é requested counsel]. This is when he |

turnes to me ané withes to know whether he covlé retract thzt

stetement. This is wher we went in anc cellec Mz. Sandy tc

inform hin what was going on. At that point Mr. Wainwright al

the way I felt -- had elected to make a statement when he

turned to me and said, “Can I retract my statement? Can I |

retract wishing to have an attorney?"

Q You 4id not take any written statement?

A No, sir.

Q You Gid not take any taped statement?

. No, sir. I advised Mr. Wainwright that after speakinc

with Mr. Sandy -- or that Z didn't want to do anything formal

like that until speaking to Mr. Bandy and his attorney.

Q Then in this interval of when he first claimed his |

Miranda rights ané when you were asking hin about making «

statement, he was fed?

A Yes, sir.

Q When he was in the Magistrate's Court, was he cece id

A The only thing he would have would be hanécuffs on

his wrists.

Q Was there anybody else in this room where he was

A-F/

Griffith - Cross

24

taken?

A No, sir. There is other people in the court and

throughout the court, but not in thet particuler roor.

MR. BALLER: Thank you.

REDIRECT EXAMINZETIO:

BY MR. SANDY:

Q Officer Griffith, isn't it true that contained in

the affidavit of probable cause for the warrant issued against

Percy Ewell Wainwright on November 11, 1982, there is a refer-

ence to statements made by Dodson?

A Yes, sir, there is.

Q Is that, in fact, a true and accurate copy of the

affidavit for the warrant for Mr. Wainwright's arrest on the

charge of murder in the first degree?

A Yes, sir, it is.

MR. SANDY: | Inasmuch as this is my only copy, I would

ask the Court to take judicial notice that that is contained

in the affidavit of probable cause for the warrant for the

arrest of Mr. Percy Ewell Wainwright on the charge of murder

in the first degree. That warrant is part of the Court's file.

THE COURT: Are there any objections?

MR. HALLER: I have no objection. But I think that

the paragraph that he is talking about, which is probably less

A-Akh

Griffith - Redirect

25

than twenty-five words, should be reaé into the record.

MR. SANDY: It is Number Four on the list.

"On 11-11-62, David Dodson 4ié confese to saic

murder anc ims licetedc Co-defendent Wainvricht in ez2ic

murder.”

THE COURT: Is there anything further from this

witness?

MR. SANDY: I have sothing further.

RECROSS EXAMINATION

BY MR. HALLER:

Q An I to understand then that you read from the probab

Cause warrant to Wainwright?

M No, sir, I did not.

Q Did you give him more details than is in Allegation

Number Four? Did you give Wainwright more detail as regards

what David Dodson ents than what is stated in Allegation Number

Four on the probable cause warrant?

A Yes, sir, I Gid. 1 advised him -- you want me to go

into what I said again?

Q Could you give us some time factor as to how long it

took you to tell Wainwright the Dodson statement, as you under-

stood it?

A I can tell you what I said, ané you can judge how lon

le

fA- 43

Griffith - Recross

2£

it would take. It would be better than me guessing how lonc

it would take. I advised him he was being charged with first-

Gegree murder of the murder of Willian Hastings, Bridgeville,

Delevere, and Co-defendent Devic Weyne Dodeor hee conferescl tc

beince present Guranc the crine enc hec etatec thet Fercy

Wainwright, John Wainwright, had gone into the package store to

commit the robbery and had shot and killed Mr. Hastings.

Q Do you normally inform defendants as to what is on

the probable cause sheet?

A I inform them why they are being arrested, not what

is on the probable cause sheets, because I am sure what I tell

them is on the probable cause sheet, if you understand what I

am saying.

MR. HALLER: I have no other questions.

MR. SANDY: I have nothing further, Your Honor.

THE COURT: You may step down.

(Witness steps down.)

MR. SANDY: The State rests.

MR. BALLER: We will not present testimony on this”

point.

THE COURT: Do you wish to argue this point?

MR. BALIER: I would argue to the Court that the

Gefendant claimed his Miranda right at noontime. Then thereafter

A- 4

27

he was fed, and at 1:00 o'clock, according to Mr. Griffith,

he made the spontaneous statements about how he did not kill

Mr. Hastings and regarding the stabbinc. I am not directinc

rT: coreicnte te any epontenccus eteternentse madc. Certeiriy the

otiacer canncr hs oeeiiina tc contre) epontaneour staetercnt:.

However, as regards the statemente said thereafter, after we

have the officer saying, “I cannot talk to you,” or, “We will

call the Attorney General's Office and we will see about a

material witness. I cannot get through to the Attorney General.

Do you want to tell me about it?,” in the Magistrate's Court

when the man has handcuffs on a little more than an hour after

the man originally claimed his Miranda rights and sometime after

Mr. Griffith told Mr. Wainwright that he understood from the

Dodson statement that Dodson was saying that Wainwright was

the murderer, I would certainly say those statements, the state—

ments after the call to Mr. Sandy's office, should be suppressec.

THE COURT: Mr. Sandy?

@eeteeeneeeetee#eee#eenee#n#e_e#ee#ee# eae

THE COURT: Thank you.

MR. HALLER: I would like the State to give time

factors as regards that opinion, if it knows, as to whether we

are talking about s wnort time of one hour with a man eating

in between or whether we are talking about days going by.

A- If

MR. HALLER: That appears to talk about a two-day

period. Certainly thet is different fror the situation where

the per elaine the rights. Ine pen de tole there de evidescc

aceinet Lir fror the co-écferncent, anc the mar ie fed, anc the

man is brought to the Court all within an hour. If we have

another day going by, it gives the defendant time to reflect.

It gives him time to think about, "I don't want to make a state—

ment." That puts it in a new light, and those are new circun-

stances. That is not what we have in Mr. Wainwright's case.

THE COURT: Gentlemen, as I understand the facts,

the defendant was picked up on November 16, 1962, at pie i

10:30 from the Anne Arundel County Prison in Maryland, brought

back to Troop 4, arriving back around noontime. He was advised

of his constitutional rights. The defendant chose to exercise

those rights, which indicates to me he understood then.

He was then informed of the charges pending against

him, including the evidence that the State had. He was placed

in the cell or left in the room. He was given lunch around

1:00 o'clock. He was taken to the Justice of the Peace Court

for a preliminary hearing or, at least, bail being set and

arraingment.

On the way there, he decided that he wantec to speak

4-7 46

=: eon

to the police officer. The police officer again warned him

that he chose to have a lawyer present. When they got to the

Justice of the Peace Court, the defendant asked that he still

telk to the police officer anc retrect the excrciee of thet

2oGut.

The only thing that the State has to show is that the

defendant was warned of his constitutional rights, that he iiink

stood them, and that he waived therm. It is clear that he under

stood them fron the fact that he exercised them the first time,

and it is further clear that he wanted to waive them by the |

fact that he asked that he waive them. If it was the other |

way around, that he spoke and then wanted to exercise his

constitutio.:1 rights, we certainly would let the statement in,

if you waive it.

In this particular case, it is clear that he under-

stood them and that he exercised them, and according to the

testimony of Officer Griffith, he wanted to initiate a further

conversation and withdraw the exercise of that right and wanted

to make a statement, and the question is was there anything

brought to bear upon him that caused him to change that decision

to exercise his consitutional right to have a lawyer present.

I cannot say that giv‘ng him lunch, informing him of the evidence

and bringing him to the Justice of the Peace Court was such

Fe

—' |

|

Overbearing tactics by the police that he was not exercisinc

in free will. I am not in a position to say thet at all.

As a matter of fact, it if just the opposite. He hac

further time for reflection. Basec upor. the teretinony that her

beer, offeres o1. the statement presentec te the Court, the Court

will not suppress it on the grounds that the defendant did not

waive his constitutional Miranda right.

Are we ready to proceed?

@*ee7n+eoe@ee@e”e@ereerter#erktrhtenreeteee#eeee#ee#e

MR. SANDY: The State is ready.

MR. HALLER: I am.. Barlier this morning there was

the reference tc the fact that the alias John Fisher would not

be used by the State. |

MR. SANDY: I did not hear what you said. |

MR. HALLER: Earlicr this morning there was ieee

to the fact that the State was not going to use the name of

John Fisher.

MR. GANDY: That is correct. We will excise that from

the indictment, Your Honor, and just go on Percy Ewell Wainwright.

also known as John Wainwright,

THE COURT: As @ matter of fact, the clerk referred

to that only in jury selection this morning.

MR. HALLER: All right, we are ready to proceed in

A- 94

172

origina) twelve begin deliberations on the penalty phase or

finé a verdict of either not guilty or guilty of something less.

than murder in the first decrec.

We will take @ ten-minute recess ané besin in the ve

courtroor. in ter. minuter.

(Vhereupon, a brief recess was taken, at the conclu-

sion of which the Court reconvened in open court and pro-

ceeded to hear testimony and Mr. Haller's argument on the

Defendant's Motion to Suppress, which has previously been

transcribed and is not being made a part of this record,

after which the following proceedings were had:)

TRE COURT: Mr. Sandy?

MR. SANDY: The most recent case on this issue, Oregon

v. Bradshaw, decided on May 23rd of this year by the United

States Supreme Court, was a case wherein a person had asked for

an attorney and later reinitiated conversation with the police

officers. In that particular case the person asked the police

officer, "Well, what is going to happen to me now?," and in that

particular case, just by asking that, the Supreme Court ruled

that that was an initiation of further conversation. Hie state-

ment showed a willingness ané desire for generalized discussion

about the investigation. It was not merely a necessary inquiry

arising out of the incidence of the custodial relationship.

Your Konor, at this point, we have exactly thet,

Percy [wel] Weinwright wanted to talk to the police abeut his

charges. Tret is perfectly clear Fy his request te retract bic |

wegues: for coursed. het Epos. @ willingre.: te e#cce:. vit |

Che DEceveke Eusic Tedact ale.t the ehaggec aqgaiset Sis.

Asice from that, we have showr that havin then

waiveé that right to counsel] and saying, “I Gon't want an

attorney now,’ we have shevn that throughout the rest of it he

was, ir. fact, ewerce of his rights for en attcrne;, tc rereir.

silent, ané ali the rest of his Miranca rights, enc thet he

willincly gave a statement to the Delawere State Tolice.

THLE COURT: Thenk you.

(Wnereupon, Mr. Haller presentec rebuttal argument

to the Court, which has previously been transcribece and

is not being mace a part of this recorde, after which the

following proceecings werc hadé:)

MR. SANDY: he Oregon trial was where @& suspect cut

off the custodial interrogation by invoking his right to an at-

torney, but then asked the interrogating officer, "What is going

to happen to me now?" Ke engaged in several discussions with

police officcrs over a two-day period and was twice re-warnec

of his rights prior to execution of a written waiver of richts,

:

the taking of a polygraph examination, and the takinco of a

1A- se

(Whercupo:, Mr. eller presented further rebutte’

ercurment te the Court erné ¢,- Court rendcred it. CPpinic

o- the etion te Surpscse, wtich her Previouejy heer ¢:

Cralce tn. £2 not besns> race ¢ Fert of @hie gecers, 2%,

which the jury was cellec to the jury box and was éus,

Sworn ané the following proceecings were had ir open court;)

TUL COURT: mz. Sancy, @¢ you wieh to mabe @!, Cpenine

@tetement?

scien

WE. EIEDY: Yes, Your Bonor,

Mey it please the Court, Medar Forelacy, ladies an+

gentlemer of the jury: Thies ide the Jeet chapter of the life of

Wilidar gs. Hestings. mr. Hastings wee e liquor stcre cler} whe

Workec in Lord's Liquor Store in the fe11 Cf 1980. Lord's

Liguor Store ie the ligucr store thet is Operetec in the Tow:

of Bridgeville near Route $04 where you turn off anc heec toward,

Beltimore and the Bey Bridge.

Lacies anc gentlemen of the jury, on the night before

‘Election Day, Movember 3, 1960, while he was working at thar

‘ieee, someone entered that store and killed him. He wee shot

‘os Close rance with e shotcun. You will hear Dr. Tobin core in,

who did the Sutopey, and testify about where he was shot, the

| oumber of shots and the shotgun pellets that were removed frorc

——e

/

Mn i

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

PERCY E. WAINWRIGHT,

Defendant-below,

Appellant,

v. No. 365, 1963

STATE OF DELAWARE,

lie ie th oh

Appellee.

ORDER

Before CHRISTIE, Chief Justice, MCNEILLY, HORSEY, MOORE

end WALSH, Justices, constituting the Court en banc.

Thic 10 Sey of December, 1965, appellee having filed

on Wovember 6, 1965, without leave of Court previously

sought anc following argument before the Court en banc,

® document entitled ‘Motion to Remand for a Purther

Evidentiary uwlaring and Findings’ and

It being epperent that said document seeks to place

before the Court factual] materie! which was not part of

the record of the proceedings in the Superior Court, contrary

to Supreme Court Rule 9(e), and

it further appearing thet said motion presumes a4 result

an @ matter now under advisement to the Court 2m banc

WOW, THEREFORE, IT 18 ORDERED that the motion to remand

is denied.

BY THE COURT

Chief Justice

anew KH 4

: a

Kimmel

REPORTER

state OF OF

ect wh

ot

awaet

Ata me

rtecd him back to!

2]

etationed at.

wes calliedé the processinc

——

|

ar ©

a

f+ #4 -

423th - Cross

, . ,

Dee 6Séic

wa ‘

‘

< ‘

| uy

© «

wa

. ‘ av

b

‘

‘

>» >

wa - were R

: = -

‘

‘ ‘ - | ‘

t

;

" - : &.é ’

r a? “ ted |

lal 4 ’

4 ‘ ‘ 3 ¢t e

i a; t- . t

4 ene «

‘ pr ess

a | ‘ " ee ’ ’

; te 2 @M aQ@ware of

r

&® person

ease . : ‘ » y neo

p ne ; ‘ ‘ 5 +

a ‘ " , ent mie : rT .

Operatin

Griffith - Cross |

-C.i. to the police barracks?

»

A If there was it is nothing I a recall other thar

the weather, or whatever. Nothing that I can reca))] pertaining

to the case,

0 Would you pick up then what took place once you got

into the Georgetown barracks?

a FAll right. He was placed in the processing roam with

a

tae)

©

-

os)

|

oO

al

rn an’ ah ah ak ak ak ah ee

OF DELAWARE

*g-

The defendant, David ®. Dodson, was convicted following a

jury trial in Sussex County of first degree felony murder and

possession of e deadly weaper @uring the commission of &@ felony.

When the jury refused to impose the death penalty, the defendant

was sentenced to life imprisonment without probation or parole

on the murder charge anc to twenty years’ imprisonment on the

weapons charge. The charges stemmed fror Dodson'’s participation

in the 19&0 atterptec robbery of ae Bridceville liquor store anc

the murder of Williar Hastings, the ligvor store clerk. A co-

Gefendant, Percy Ewell Wainwright, was convicted of the same of-

fenses in a separate trial anc sentenced to life imprisonment,

the State having declined to seek the death penalty. We recently

reversed Wainwright's convictions, ruling that the police obtainesc

certain oral statements fror Wainwright in violation of his FitsT

Amendment right to counsel. See Wainwright v. State, Del. Supr.,

a

504 A.26 1096 (19686).

Dodson argues on appeal that the police obtained an oral state-

ment from him in violation of his Fifth Amendment raght to remair

7 )

silent under Mirande v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966). Because we

conclude the trial court erred in permitting the introduction of

defendant's statement, we reverse anc remand for 4 new trial.

1. Because ovr dispesition cf this case terns oF the defencar-'s

ragnt to remean s-lent, wé neec not accress nis owner arguments

We do note, however, that the question of whether the analysis

set forth in Edwards v. Arizone, 451 U.S. 477 (1981), applies

to the Sixth Amendment right to counsel as well as to the sare

right under the Fifth Amendment, argued against by the State in

supplemental briefing, has been laid to rest by the United States

Supreme Court's decision in Michigan v. Jackson, 106 6.Ct. 1404

(1966). In that case, the Supreme Court held that although the

bright-line rule established in Edwards rested on the Fifth Amenc-

ment, the reasoning of that case +t aimed even greater force

to Sixth Amendment cases. 1d. at 142).

1

On October 26, 1961, 8 Sussex County grand jury indicted

David Dodson for the murder of William Hastings during an eat-

tempted robbery of a Bridgeville liquor store the night of

November 30, ach, bacwane Dodson was incarcerated in Maryland,

the Delaware charges were lodged as detainers with the Maryland

correctional] authorities. On October 25, 19682, acting pursvant

to the provisions of the Irterstete Agreement oF Detainere, the

defendant notified the Delaware prosecutor that he wished to be

tried on the ovtstanding murder charge.

Dodson was transpoited to the Sussex Correctional Institu-

tion in Georgetown, Delaware on November 10, 1962. The next morn-

ing, Delaware State Police Detective Griffith took him to the

police barracks for processing prior to his arraignment. At the

barracks, the detective read the defendant his rights under Miranda.

He informed him that he was being charged with the murder of

William Hastings and that it would be better if he cooperates

with the investigation. The defendant said he would make a state-

ment, but not at that time.

The officer then began questioning Dodson about another

homicide. After questioning the defendant for approximately 45

minutes, the officer advised him that he hac given good irnformaticr,

2. At the time of the killing, the defendant was an escapee

from ae Maryland prison, where he was serving the remainder

of his term of imprisonment for 8 prior murder in Marylanca.

By the time he was indicted in Delaware, however, he had been

recaptured by the Maryland authorities.

r Processing includes notifying the individuel of the charges

against hair, fingerprinting and photographing him, taking his

personal history, and asking if he wis*-<« to make a statement.

———— ms

but that the police needed to know that he was telling the truth.

At that point, the officer asked him if he wanted to talk about

the Hast:ngs homicide at that time. The defendant then implicated

himself :n the Hastings murder, telling the officer that he had

acted as @ lookout for the Bridgeville robbery, but that Percy

Wainwright, Dodson's co-defendant, had entered the liquor store

enc killed the clerk. The Superior Court allowed the introductior

of the s:atement at trial.

1]

In Miranda, the United States Supreme Court set forth the

procedure to be followed when a defendant invokes his right tc

remain s:lent or his right to counsel under the Fifth Amendent:

Once warnings have been given, the subsequent

procedure is clear. If the individual indicates in

any manner, at any time prior to or during question-

:ng, that he wishes to remain silent, the interroga-

tion must cease. At this point he has shown that he

intends to exercise his Fifth Amendment privilege;

any Statement taken after the person invokes his

privilege cannot be other than the product of com-

pulsion, subtle or otherwise. ... If the individual

states that he wants an attorney, the interrogation

nust cease until an attorney is present. At that tire,

the individual must have an opportunity to confer with

the attorney sand to have him present during any sub-

sequent questioning. If the individual cannot obtair

an attorney and he indicates that he wants one before

speaking to police, they must respect hie decision

‘o remain silent.

366 U.S. at 4735-75 (Toctnote onsitec).

With regard to the Fifth Amendment right to counsei, the

Supreme Court established a bright-line rule for determining cor-

pliance with Miranda in Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477 (1981).

See Wainwright, 504 A.2d at 1101. The Court rujed that once an

-S-

accused has expressed 6 desire to deal with the police only through

counsel, he "is not subject to further interrogation by the auth-

orities until counsel] has beer made available to him, unless the

accused himself initiates further communication, exchanges, er con-

versations with the police.” Edwards, 45] U.S. at 484-85.

In Srith v. Illinois, 105 §.Ct. 490 (1984), the Court clearly

ovtlined the analysis reguired by the Edwards rule:

First, courts must determine whether

the accused actually invoked his right

to counsel. ... Second, if the accused

invoked his right to counsel, courts may

admit his responses to further questioning

only on finding that he (a) initiated fur-

ther discussions with the police, and (b)

knowingly and intelligently waived the

right he had invokec.

Ic. at 493 (citations omitted).

The Supreme Court reaffirmed the requirement that the accused

initiate further discussion in Oregon v- Bradshaw, 103 §.Ct. 2830

(19683): *({Blefore ae suspect in custody can be subjected to further

interrogation after he requests an attorney there must be a showing

that the ‘suspect himself initiates dialogue with the authorities.'®

Id. at 2634 (quoting Wyrick v. Fields, 459 U.S. 42, 46 (1982)). This

Court summarized the controlling principle with regard to initiation

in Wainwright: “If the police initiate further questioning after an

scocse2 resuests the presence c* ccunsel, resultina stetements are

excludgable apart from the issue of waiver.” 504 A.2d at 1102.

With regard to the Fifth Amendment right to remain silent,

the Supreme Court, in Michigan v. Mosley, 423 U.S. 96 (1975), st-

tempted to define the scope of the Mirands requirement that once

err.

Fifth Amendment right to remain silent. Under an Edwards-type

anslysis, the State was not free to reapproach the defendant for

@ statement as soon af it did in this case.

Moreover, enalyzing this case under Mosley, it is clear

that the officer did not scrupulously honor the defendant's

right to cut off questioning. 423 U.S. at 104. As in Tucker v.

tate, Del. Supr., 41] A.26 603 (1980), there was a “significant

and unacceptable nexus” between the officer's continued questioning

and Dodson's statement. Id. at 605. After the defendant declined

to make a statement concerning the Hastings murder, Detective

Griffith should not have directed the questioning back to that

same subject in the same conversation only 45 minutes later, giving

to 423 U.S. at 106.

or

7 maid ru

P : |

Le

| te

ay > mer a

J rev

; ar

, L be |

t Brow

etic

ver

’

forced 1

Oolwe

te meade thereafter rejudicie) and reversible

et eee ee ee ee “eres

ar atte r

' ‘

re :

at 250, 4 A Zot

a} C

‘ no a

t tb

y

‘ ‘

ets

5

t Le

’

the presence of counse

cused. errestec, Or BUF

the authorities to ‘epark’ the

faminn’ 4)

| ‘ t? {'y . ‘

- t t c

a } Cc at

‘ m9 t

4 ‘ Dar

, ‘ ‘ ;

A thet ¢)

‘ : ‘ . 4

' there was t

ara mn

‘ f*

trne the \

+) at ]

- pact a &

t Bt r

ore a. > / -*

a 4 * t= e+e on

nc instruction illustrates a mere

not a misunderstanding of the appli

too, wes accidenta) and unlikely t

not eddress it bere

De cg, the permutted ti

‘ of do ent to-wit Cor

( ections, ¢

nig eC MeCATBA in);

been excluded. We disagree. Ths

Gocket entries, and charging docu

urt were certified as true copies by

They were thus admissible under

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.