Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Mallinckrodt, Inc. v. Bennett

Supreme Court brief1986

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

85 be 17 J 6 iT Supreme Court, U.S.

vas. ce D

APR 18 1986

No. 85- | JOSEPH F. SPanioL. Je.

wo & = “sae

IN THE

Suprenve Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

MALLINCKRODT, INC.,

Petitioner,

Wa

SAMUEL F. BENNETT, ef ai.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE MISSOURI COURT OF

APPEALS, EASTERN DISTRICT

Of Counsel: PETER J. NICKLES*

RICHARD A. MESERVE

WILLIAM A. RICHTER WILLIAM F. GREANEY

Lewis R. MILLS

COVINGTON & BURLING

PEPER, MARTIN, JENSEN, 1201 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.

MAICHEL & HETLAGE

720 Olive Street

St. Louis, Missouri 63101

(314) 421-3850

RAYMOND M. ASHER

RoGee2 A. KELLER

MALLINCKRODT, INC.

675 McDonnell Boulevard

St. Louis, Missouri 63134

(314) 895-2906

P.O. Box 7566

Washington, D.C. 20044

(202 ) 662-6000

Attorneys for Petitioner

MALLINCKRODT, INC.

*Counsel of Record

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a federally licensed iadiopharmaceutical facility

that is operated in full compliance with comprehensive radio-

logical emission standards established by the Nuclear Regu-

latory Commission can, consistent with the federal preemption

of the field of nuclear safety, be subjected to suits for monetary

damages on the basis of the planned, periodic emissions of low-

level radiation that occur in the normal course of operations.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The petitioner herein is Mallinckrodt, Inc.* The parties to

the proceedings below not listed in the caption of the case are

Frank Fogerty, Vera J. Howell, Charles Wilkerson, Leonard

Bodus, Lynn Carroll, Douglas Wesley and Owen Arney, appel-

lants below.

* Petitioner is a wholly owned subsidiary of IMC Holdings, Inc., which

itself is a subsidiary of International Minerals and Chemical Corp. Petitioner

has the following non-wholly owned subsidiaries: Daiichi Radioisotope

Laboratones, Ltd.; Mallinckrodt Iberna, S.A.; Bunnell, Inc.; and Orange

Medical Instruments.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

AE UE MMAR EY © ED oo... cccnnercscsevserencnssessnccccssnsnseess

em RUeee BOP BONS WRG EING .........cccccscscsccccccccevene ul

i gt 6) 8 8 | 5. Sr adeaat iV

sce cuca das cbstnsndacassnansasastacenins l

Neen ccs i cunaueaibsbansasensiases 2

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED ......... 2

ae Oe |. | Se 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ............ 6

Cece cui ndskichhanasansckensansesnsnanns 16

iad skskeckasanschana sinusuninsintessavssnceses la

ac cch va sniaiasixdnnesasnahedssssvenececocnveens 29a

Neen ee ove audunddacadhaabinesdensersa\ssens 30a

5k cis saci cacdnssicnanancibddansesannkes 3la

ae aes Ca casvidaastesuansancahrusaneinsijasonnennnee 33a

lV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES:

Chicago & North Western Transportation Co. v. Kalo

mick & Tite Ce., 450 U.S. SUE C EGG } eccccncccnssesccciccuns: 12

Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., No. 85-5073 (3d Cir.

Fs Fi Per nihneancedacitbeian gai castbelatdcipele daeutalcaa: 13

Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 593 F. Supp. 1146

(D.N.J. 1984), rev'd, No. 85-5073 (3d Cir. Apr. 7,

PME I s::si:a7sanecivicnnbomidciciendenuausrcamecaesemenie ena aamacoameuads 13

.

Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975) ...

Fidelity Federal Savings & Loan Association v. de la

on Gk a | k . * 5 Seen Neen NOt: 12

Johnston v. United States, 597 F. Supp. 374 (D. Kan.

ROME sc cis Leistchstake eked eraaienelanseceakcmie a renatac oc emanate 5

McKay v. United States, 703 F.2d 464 ( 10th Cir. 1983). 8

Miami Herald Publishing Co. v. Tornillo, 418 U.S. 241

Oe | Pee NR RG aE RSID NT APN IaRS EAH os Seer 7 FANE Ce URI 2

Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. State Energy Resources

Conservation and Development Commission, 461 U.S.

FO WF sas tecenicatacasasnscdciansacesinnn ember eikaaatinnaaanae. 7.14

San Diego Building Trades Council v. Garmon, 359 U.S.

rh Te, | pron aise iiauesaciaaadien sRasmusneaeeacakonmacgnne 7.12

Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S. 238 ( 1984) ...... 4.

passim

Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 667 F.2d 908 (10th Cir.

1981), rev d on other grounds, 464 U.S. 238 (1984) .... 8

Train v. Colorado Public Interest Research Group, 426

Ses ASME D cnc sdees cues tones cedure ya suddauaeedcemuaninidas 7

STATUTES:

Atomic Energy Act of 1954,

Oe Ria ee Oe hisses noni ae ‘.

passim

ri Set cried ave ee 5

RS ee Fed tS Speman ind deee clr melt Om inal eM RIL are 5

Ge a Ee BT csc ceases 6

Price-Anderson Act.

Oe a ee I oocsccteccrvecngnssties meee 8.

LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS:

S. Rep. No. 454, 94th Cong., Ist Sess., reprinted in 1975

Th. Cee Cee, GE Pid, TOS BIS Gov ccescscscknvessccvetancccces

H.R. Rep. No. i115, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. (1974) ooo.

S. Rep. No. 296, 85th Cong., Ist Sess.. reprinted in 1957

US. Code Cong. & Ad. News 1803.....................0:........

TERS Te, BR. FF Oe 0B 8 Binsin sn niiovnnscnvnccoceceiesssanssninnaenc!

POS SE Ue, WE 7 0 RIES PD vssisssnccccsecrscrcacesecrrcccrrresens

PR A TI Ser ed 00 FB ivvvancvecnasscaeazncnsonsescencinbsesacies

RS SO i, BS BS FB ivnccsiccccstsosciticacrsenicesnsancnenisis

FO SE FE: ee 0 ETP srisictntensireccieiceeencies

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATIONS:

Ot cic MN OR eye a

a ae

OO CR. & A Ba, TE AW, Bian avincsecnss chavsccns

vif Oe TE Be PARR IM NS ROMANO An OT

ee ge FD gf RRR one mee nee eT a

FE ae. Pe IO sinc icsixcmrectonnenauipiacncdadaieameens

MISCELLANEOUS:

International Comm’n on Radiation Protection, Recom-

mendations of the International Comm'n on Radio-

logical Protection ( Report No. 26} (1977) wo..ccccceeeeeee

American Medical Ass’n. Risks of Nuclear Energy and

Low-Level Ionizing Radiation ( 1981) ....c.cccccccceeeeeee basi

Nat'l Council on Radiation Protection and Measure-

ments, Basic Radiation Protection Criteria ( Report

Pa: ae Be ie eee ee PEE ERE ONE EL

Natl Research Council, Comm. on the Biological Ef-

fects of Ionizing Radiauon. The Effects on Popu-

lations of Exposure to Low Levels of Ionizing Radi-

GR: FP CTO D i peesshesticsncceshag oe uae

Page

OO GN GK WN

‘nn

‘mn

(nm

— a

: a

ee

_

IN THE

Suprene Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM. 1985

No. 85-

MALLINCKRODT, INC.,

Petitioner,

vw.

SAMUEL F. BENNETT, ef ai.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE MISSOURI COURT OF

APPEALS, EASTERN DISTRICT

Mallinckrodt, Inc. (**Mallinckrodt”) petitions this Court

for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the Missouri

Court of Appeals, Eastern District, in this proceeding.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Missouri Court of Appeals and its order

denying petitioner’s motion for rehearing or. in the alternative,

for transfer to the Supreme Court of Missouri are reported at

698 S.W.2d 854. App. A, infra. The order of the Supreme

Court of Missouri denying petitioner’s motion for transfer

(App. B, infra) is not reported. The decision of the trial court

(App. C, infra) also is not reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Missouri Court of Appeals was

entered on July 16, 1985. A motion for rehearing or, in the

alternative, for transfer to the Supreme Court of Missouri was

denied by the court of appeais on September 26, 1985. App. A,

infra, at 27a. A motion for transfer was denied by the Supreme

Court of Missouri on November 21, 1985. App. B, infra. On

February 12, 1986, justice Blackmun entered an order extend-

ing the ume for filing a petition for a writ of certiorari to April

19, 1986. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 1257(3).'

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

Relevant portions of the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, Pub.

L. No. 83-703, 68 Stat. 919, as amended, 42 U.S.C. § 2011

et seq. (1982 & Supp. II 1984) are reprinted in App. D.

infra. Relevant portions of the Act’s implementing regula-

tions promulgated by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission

(“NRC”) and its predecessor, the Atomic Energy Commission

(“AEC”), are reprinted in App. E, infra, and are codified at 10

C.F.R. Part 20 (1985).

‘ Although this case has been remanded for further proceedings in the

trial court, the holding of the court of appeals that respondents* suit is not

preempted by federal law constitutes a conclusive determination of a dis-

positive federal issue by the Missourn courts. No other federal! issues remain

to be decided. It is well established that where a federal issue has been finally

decided by the appellate courts of a State. and where reversal of the state

court on the federal issue would both obviate the need for further liugation

and prevent the erosion of an important federal policy, the judgment or

decree of the state court is considered “final” for purposes of 28 U.S.C.

§ 1257. See, e.g., Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469, 476-487

(1975); Miami Herald Publishing Co. v. Tornillo, 418 U.S. 241 (1974)

Because the Missoun court’s decision on the ‘ederal preemption issue will, if

allowed to stand, have a senous adverse impact on important federal policies

established in the Atomic Energy Act, it is mpe for review in this Court.

les

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case originated as a class action lawsuit filed in the

Circuit Court of St. Louis County, Missoun. The named

plaintiffs (respondents herein) purport to represent a class ot

persons who have worked or will work in the vicinity of a

radiopharmaceutical processing plant operated by Mailinckrodt

in Maryland Heights. Missoun. In their petinon, respondents

seek compensatory and punitive damages of $1 billion and

broad injunctive relief? on the ground that low-level radiation

emitted by Mailinckrodt’s pliant in the normal course of oper-

ations allegedly presents a health hazard. Respondents assert

common-law tort theories of negligence, assault and battery.

and “ultrahazardous activities.”

A. The Proceedings Below

Mallinckrodt moved the trial court to dismiss respondents’

petition,” contending, inter alia, that the suit was preempted by

the comprehensive and exclusive scheme of federal regulation

of Malinckrodt’s radiopharmaceutical operations under the

Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended, 42 U.S.C. § 2011 ef

seg. On August 18, 1985. the tral court dismissed the suit on

the grounds that the court lacked subject matter jurisdiction

and that the petition failed to state a claim upon which relief

could be granted. App. C. infra. Respondents thereafter

appealed the dismissal to the Missoum Court of Appeais,

Eastern District.

On appeal, Mallinckrodt argued that tort recovery was

preempted because of the comprehensive federal regulatory

control of nuclear safety. Respondents’ petition contained no

allegation that they had sustained any injury as a result of a

“nuclear incident” — a significant accidental release of radi-

ation that exceeded the federal exposure and emission limits

applicable to Mallinckrodt’s plant. Moreover, Mallinckrodt

argued that permitting the case to proceed when no viclaton

had been alleged of federal exposure and emission standards

2 In partcular, respondents seek an injunction sequinng Mallinckrodt to

cease its radiopharmaceutical operations and to provide tree medical care to

the members of the alleged class.

3 The document that would constitute a complaint in a federal court ts

termed a “petition” in the Missouri courts.

would create an irreconcilable conflict between federal and

state regulatory standards and would frustrate the devel-

opmental objectives of the Atomic Energy Act.

On July 16, 1985, the Missouri Court of Appeals issued an

opinion reversing the trial court’s dismissal of the petition.

App. A, infra, at la-26a. The court agreed with Maliinckrodt’s

contention that injunctive relief against a federally licensed

nuclear facility was barred by the doctrine of federal preemp-

tion. Jd. at 26a. However, the court concluded that respond-

ents’ claims for damages were not barred even if Mallinckrodt’s

plant was operated in full compliance with federal safety

requiremenis. /d. at 2a-|4a. The Missouri court purported to

derive its conclusions from this Court’s decision in Silkwood v.

Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S. 238 (1984), which held that a

common-law award of punitive damages against the operator

of a nuclear facility for property damage caused by the

accidental escape of radioactive material was not preempted by

federal law.

Mallinckrodt sought rehearing on the federal presmption

issues before the court of appeals. The motion for rehearing cr.

alternatively, for transfer to the Supreme Court of Missoun was

denied in a brief order. App. A. infra, at 27a. A subsequent

motion for transfer was summarily denied by the Supreme

Court of Missour. App. B. infra.

B. The Comprehensive Framework of Federa: Safety

Regulations Governing Mallinckrodt’s Operations

Mallinckrodt’s plant is engaged in the production of

various radiopharmaceuticals for use in the practice of nuclear

medicine. Radiopharmaceuticals are diagnostic and therapeu-

tic agents containing radioisotopes that are injected into the

body under the supervision of licensed physicians trained in

nuclear medicine. Over 10.000 physicians are licensed to

administer radiopharmaceuucals to patients in the United

States, and at least 10-12 million doses are administered each

year.4

4 See Nat'l Research Council. Comm. on the Biological Effects of

lonizing Radiation, The Effects on Populations of Exposure to Low Levels of

Ionizing Radiation: 1980 47-49 ( 1980).

The radioisotopes processed at Mallinckrodt’s piant con-

stitute “byproduct material,” a nuclear material specifically

regulated under the Atomic Energy Act. See 42 US.C.

§§ 2014(e), 2111. Mallinckrodt is therefore required to main-

tain an operating license from the NRC, and its plant is subject

to an array of federal regulations governing matters of nuclear

safety.

The NRC and its predecessor, the AEC, have promulgated

extensive regulations establishing detailed standards to protect

the public from any radiation hazards that could result from the

operation of nuclear facilities. See, e.g. 10 C.F.R. Part 20

(1985).5 Of particular relevance here, these comprehensive

safety regulations include strict limitations on permissible ex-

posures to radiation for both workers and the general public.

and specify maximum permissible concentrations of same 400

different radionuclides (including those commonly uulized in

nuclear medicine) tn air or water in “restricted” (1.e., On-site )

areas and in releases to “unrestricted” (i.e., public or off-site )

areas. See 10 C.F.R. § 20.101-.106 and App. B (1985) ( App.

E, infra). These basic federal emission and exposure standards

have been set far below the level at which adverse health effects

have ever been observed.®

5 The provisions of Part 20 fit within a broader regulatory framework

governing the possession, use, processing, storage. transfer, packaging and

disposal of nuclear matenais. See 10 C.F.R. Parts 9-170 ( 1985).

§ See. e.g., Johnston v. United States. 597 F.Supp. 374. 390-392, 423 ( D.

Kan. 1984) (expert medical and scientific testimony establishes that the only

evidence of a carcinogenic effect from exposure to radiation occurs at levels of

exposure roughly 100-200 umes greater than the annual NRC exposure limit

for members of the general public); see also id. at 377.

The NRC standards are fully consistent with the radiation protection

recommendations of major medical and health physics organizations, in-

cluding the International Commission on Radiation Protection (“ICRP’’), the

Nauonal Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements (“NCRP”)

and the American Medical Association (“AMA”). See ICRP, Recommenda-

tions of the International Comm'n on Radiological Protection ( Report No. 26)

(1977); NCRP, Basic Radiation Protection Criteria ( Report No. 39) (1971);

AMA. Risks of Nuclear Energy and Low-Level Ionizing Radiation 27 (1981).

Mallinckrodt must conform to these NRC standards in

order to continue to Operate. Moreover, it must conduct its

operations under the terms of an NRC license that imposes

additional conditions on the possession, use, storage and dis-

posal of its radiopharmaceutical products. See 10 C.F.R.

§ 30.33-.34. The NRC conducts regular inspections of Mallinck-

rodt’s plant to assure compliance with safety regulations and

licensing requirements.

Violations of the Atomic Energy Act, the implementing

regulations, or the license conditions can lead to the imposition

of severe civil and criminal fines and other penalties. See 42

U.S.C. §§ 2271-2284. In addition, the NRC has been author-

ized to initiate proceedings to modify, suspend or even revoke

any license issued under the Act. 10 C.F.R. § 2.201-.206. In an

appropriate emergency, any such proposed action becomes

effective immediately. /d. § 2.202(f).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

This case presents a legal issue of profound importance in

defining the appropriate role of federal and state authority in

the nuclear energy field: whether a licensed nuclear facility

operated in full compliance with comprehensive federal safety

standards can be liable under state tort law for the planned.

federaily authorized releases of radiation that occur in the

normal course of operations. The issue is also of critical

importance to the commercial nuclear industry because the

decision of the state court, if allowed to stand, could signifi-

cantly inhibit the development and use of nuclear technology

for peaceful purposes in the United States.

As demonstrated below, the Missouri court’s decision is

inconsistent with the structure and purpose of the Atomic

Energy Act and with recent decisions of this Court construing

the broad scope of federal preemption of nuclear safety.

Although the Missoun! court stated that its decision was com-

pelled by this Court’s holding in Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp..

464 US. 238 (1984).” neither the facts nor the reasoning of

Silkwood provide support for the Missouri court’s decision.

’ App. A, infra, at |4a.

Accordingly, Mallinckrodt respectfully requests that this Court

review the decision both to clarify its prior preempuon decisions

and to protect the integrity of the federa! regulatory scheme

governing matters Of nuclear safety.

A. State Tort Remedies Against Licensed Nuclear Facil-

ities Are Available Only in the Event of a “Nuclear

Incident.”

This Court repeatedly has emphasized that the com-

prehensive federal regulation of radiation hazards established

under the Atomic Energy Act has broadly preempted ai// state

regulation of nuclear safety. In Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v.

State Energy Resources Conservation and Development Com-

mission, 461 U.S. 190, 212 (1983), the Court characterized the

sweeping federal preemption of the field of nuclear safety in the

following terms:

State safety reguiation is not preempted only when it

conflicts with federal law. Rather, the federal gov-

ernment has occupied the entire field of nuclear safety

concerns, except the limited powers expressly ceded

to the states.

(Emphasis added ).

This Court has also held that an award of monetary

damages can serve as a potent means of exercising regulatory

control. See San Diego Building Trades Council v. Garmon,

359 U.S. 236, 247 (1959). Accordingly, one of the necessary

corollaries of the sweeping federal preemption of nuclear safety

is that common-law actions for damages against nuclear facil-

ities are generally prohibited by federal law.

8 See, e.g., Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S. at 25uU ( Congress

“prohibit(ed] the States from regulating the safety aspects of nuclear

development” because the NRC “was more qualified to determine what type

of safety standards should be enacted in this complex area”); Train v.

Colorado Pub. Intezest Research Group. 426 U.S. |, 17 (1976) (despite

congressional amendments establishing jimited exceptions to preempton of

state regulation by the Atomic Energy Act. “the exclusive regulatory scheme

created by the [Act] for source. byproduct. and special nuclear matenals was

to remain unaltered”).

In the Price-Anderson Act.? however. Congress recognized

a narrow exception to this general principle of broad federal

preemption of state regulation of nuclear safety. The Price-

Anderson Act established a government indemnification

scheme and limited the liability of certain nuclear facilities for

damages arising from a “nuclear incident.” '° The overall

design of the Act established that private nghts of action under

state tort law could exist in the event of such an incident.

In light of the Price-Anderson Act, courts have held that

compensatory damages can be recovered under state tort law

for injumes and property damage caused by a “nuclear in-

cident.” '' However, this exception to the genera! rule of

preemption is a narrow one. Indeed, the recent decision of this

Court in Si/kwood demonstrates that a “nuclear incident”

triggering common-law damages liability is synonymous with a

nuclear accident.

In Silkwood, the decedent’s estate sought compensatory

and punitive damages for injuries and property damage resul-

ting from the escape of plutonium (a dangerous radioactive

substance) from a Kerr-McGee nuclear plant. Silkwood had

been contaminated by plutonium: on three successive days. 464

U.S. at 241-242. The contamination level in her apartment was

sufficiently extensive to require the destruction of many of her

personal belongings. /d. at 242. Although the precise circum-

stances surrounding the contamination were never conclusively

determined. the jury returned a verdict in favor of Silkwood’s

estate and awarded the estate both compensatory and punitive

damages. Jd. at 243, 245.

Kerr-McGee appealed the punitive damages award, con-

tending that such awards served to regulate nuclear safety and

should be preempted. Although the Tenth Circuit agreed with

Kerr-McGee’s analysis, this Court ultimately held that the

942 U.S.C. § 2210 er seq.

‘0 Although the Act applies only to a limited class of nuclear facilities, its

legislative history contains a revealing congressional discussion of the

relationship between the Atomic Energy Act and state tor remedies.

") See. e.g, McKay v. United States. 703 F.2d 464, 468-469 ( 10th Cir.

1983): Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp.. 667 F.2d 908 ( 10th Cir. 1981). rev'd

on other grounds, 464 U.S. 238 ( 1984).

punitive damages award was not preempted. The Court

emphasized that despite the broad federal preemption of

nuclear safety, Congress never intended to prohibit the states

from providing common-law tort remedies “for those injured

by illegal conduct” of nuclear licensees. 464 U.S. at 251. After

examining the legislative history of the Prce-Anderson Act, the

Court concluded that Congress intended to preserve some state

tort remedies against operators of nuclear facilities, but ond for

injtries caused by a “nuclear incident” — an unplanned

or accidental release of radioactive materials. The Court

observed:

{T]he discussion osreceding [the] enactment and

subsequent amendment [of the Price-Anderson Act]

indicates that Congress assumed that persons injured

by nuclear accidents were free to uulize existing state

tort law remedies.

Id. at 251-252 (emphasis added) (footnote omitted). Sim-

ilarly, when summarizing congressional deliberations con-

cerning the Price-Anderson Act, the Court noted:

In sum, it is clear that in enacting and amending the

Price-Anderson Act, Congress assumed that state-law

remedies, in whatever form they migh: take, were

available to those injured by nuclear incidents.

Id. at 256 (emphasis added ). In short, the Court was careful to

distinguish between claims arising from “nuclear incidents.”

wnich are not preempted. and all other common-law tort

claims, which are subject to the preemptive strictures of the

Atomic Energy Act.

The legislative history of the Price-Anderson Act confirms

this Court’s holding in Si/kwood that Congress intended to

preserve only those tort suits that result from a significant

accidental release of radiation into the surrounding environ-

ment. The Joint Committee Report on the proposed bill states

that its purpose was to address the largely hypothetical problem

of uninsurable liability “in the remote event of a reactor

meltdown with the resulting release of fission products and

radioactive materials into the air.” S. Rep. No. 296, 85th

Cong.. Ist Sess. 2, reprinted in 1957 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad.

LO

News 1803. 1804. During the legislative hearings and debates.

reference was continually made to che need to protect the public

from the potentially disastrous consequences of nuclear acci-

dents involving unplanned releases of massive amounts of

radiation.'2 The principal House sponsor of the bill stated that

its primary purpose was “to see that the public is protected in

the unlikely event of a runaway reactor.” 103 Cong. Rec.

10711 (1957) (remarks of Rep. Price).

When Congress extended the Prmce-Anderson Act in i975,

the Joint Commitiee once again confirmed that the term

“nuclear incident” is synonymous with accidental releases of

large amounts of radiation.'3 In fact, the terms “nuclear

incident” and “nuclear accident” are sed interchangeably

throughout the committee reports.

Thus, contrary to the Missouri court’s assumption here.

Congress has never intimated that the planned, routine release

of low levels of radiation by a nuclear facility in the normal

course of operations and in conformity with federal emission

and exposure standards could trigger common-law tort liability.

Throughout its deliberation’ on the Price-Anderson Act. Con-

gress consistently assumed that state tort remedies would be

available ony in the unlikely event of a nuclear accident

involving a significant unintentional release of radiation into the

'2 See, e.g., 103 Cong. Rec. 10712 (1957) (statement of Rep. Cole)

(principal focus of Joint Committee was on “this question of protecting the

public against any unforeseen accident”) (emphasis added): id. at 10714

(remarks of Rep. Holifield) (discussing “unplanned and unexpected acci-

dents” such as a reactor meltdown “releas{ing] radioactive clouds of gas and

contaminated matenal in solid or liquid form into the countryside”’); id. at

10715 (remarks of Rep. Holifield) (“they call [a runaway reactor] a nuclear

‘mmcident’, | call it an accident”’); id. at 5046 ( remarks of Rep. Vanik ) ( noting

AEC’s concern over “possibility of a catastrophic accident in the newly

proposed private enterprise atomic energy establishments”).

'3 See, e.g., S. Rep. No. 454. 94th Cong., Ist Sess. 2, reprinted in 1975

U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 2251 ( Act designed to afford compensation “in

the unlikely event of a catastrophic nuclear accident”); H.R. Rep. No. 1115,

93d Cong.. 2d Sess. 7 (1974) (Act intended to protect against “highly

improbable severe nuclear incident”): sd. at 28 ( statement of Rep. Roncalio )

(“cornerstone” of Act’s coverage is to provide prompt compensation to

“victuums of a nuclear accident’’).

surrounding environment. Outside of that narrow range of

circumstances, ail common-law tort actions against licensed

nuclear facilities remain barred by the sweeping federal pre-

emption of nuclear safety.

This Court’s decision in Silkwood 1s perfectly consistent

with these controlling expressions of congressional intent. See

pp. 8-9 supra. Indeed, the Court emphasized in Silkwood that

its decision upholding a damages award against the operator of

a nuclear facility was limited to the unusual facts pre-

sented — the unauthorized escape of highly toxic plutonium

resulting in the contamination of Karen Silkwood’s home and

possessions. 464 U.S. at 241-242, 256.

In sharp contrast te the facts underlying Si/kwood, re-

spondents’ petition contains no allegation of any nuclear in-

cident involving a significant accidental release of radiation

from Mallinckrodt’s plant. Instead, respondents’ suit seeks

recovery solely on the basis of planned, periodic emissions that

are a normal and necessary component of Mallinckrodt’s

authorized operations. As such, this case falls squarely within

the preempted field of exclusive federal authority over matters

of nuclear safety.

B. Tort Recevery Would Create An irreconcilable Con-

flict Between Federal and State Safety Standards and

Would Frustrate the Objectives of the Atomic Energy

Act.

This Court also concluded in Si/kwood that even if a suit

results from a nuclear incident, federal law might nonetheless

preempt recovery of damages based on state law. 464 U.S. at

256. The Court held that the test for determining whether

preemption applies in such cases consists of two factors:

... Whether there is an irreconcilable conflict be-

tween the federal and state standards or whether the

imposition of a state standard in a damages action

would frustrate the objectives of the federal law.

Id. These tests compel the conclusion that respondents’ suit is

preempted.

The Missouri court concluded that respondents’ suit did

not create an irreconcilable conflict with federal safety stan-

12

dards on the basis that “payment of damages and compliance

with federal safety standards are clearly possible.” App. A.

infra, at 8a.'4 But the theoretical possibility of compliance with

federal and state regulatory standards has never been viewed as

the determinative factor in assessing the applicability of federal

preemption. See, e.g., Fidelity Federal Savings & Loan Associ-

ation v. de la Cuesta, 458 U.S. 141, 155 (1982). Moreover, the

Missouri court’s constricted focus on the physical possibility of

compliance with dual regulatory standards ultimately proves

too much. If the court’s approach were correct, state damage

awards could never be found to create an irreconcilable conflict

with a federal regulatory scheme. because it is at least theo-

retically possible for any regulated entity to comply with federal

safety standards and to pay damages as well. Under the

Missouri court’s analysis, state damage awards would never be

subject to federal preemption. The existing !aw is clearly to the

contrary. See, e.g., Chicago & North Western Transportation

Co. v. Kalo Brick & Tile Co., 450 U.S. 311 (1981); San Diego

Building Trades Council v. Garmon, 359 U.S. at 247.

Because the Missouri court focused solely on the theo-

retical possibility that Mallinckrodt could comply with both

federal and state safety requirements, it failed to recognize the

irreconcilable conflict between federal and state safety stan-

dards that is presented by respondents’ suit. The NRC has

established strict ( but non-zero) emission and exposure limits

for the radionuclides used in Mallinckrodt’s operations. See pp.

5-6 supra. If a radiopharmaceutical facility operating in full

compliance with these federal limits could be subjected to

billion-dollar damage claims for its routine emissions, the states

would effectively establish a zero-release standard for al! nu-

clear licensees. This is so because. if the permissiblity of a

release were to be determined after the fact by a jury, a licensee

could protect itself from liability only by preventing all emis-

sions. But the imposition of such a zero-release standard would

irreconcilably conflict with the NRC’s countervailing judgment

'4 The court also noted that “Mallinckrodt can continue to meet federal

standards. and. if found wanting by state standards. simply pay the piper.” /a.

(embodied in 10 C.F.R. Part 20) that a zero-release standard ts

not necessary to protect the public. 'S

Because an accidental release of radiation almost in-

vaniably involves a violation of the strict federal emission

standards, it was not unreasonable for Congress to conclude

that state-iaw damage actions should be permitted in the event

of a nuclear incident- Indeed, as this Court implicitly recog-

nized in Silkwood, the recovery of damages under the highly

unusual facts presented in that case served to reinforce federal

emission and exposure standards by penalizing a licensee for

'S The Missoun court may have been led astray by its heavy reliance on

the district court decision in Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 593 F.Supp.

1146 (D.N.J. 1984). It praised the Cipollone court’s discussion of the

preemption doctrine for its “scholarly detail.” App. A, infra, at 2a n.1.

Moreover, it cited Cipollone in support of the incredible proposition that

“common law liability dces not impose requirements on Mallinckrodt” — a

proposition that the Missoun court candidly acknowledged “may appear to be

disingenuous and smack of sophistry.” /d. at 8a. The theoretical under-

pinnings for the Missoun court’s decision recently collapsed when the Third

Circuit unantmously reversed the district court decision. Cipollone v. Liggett

Group, Inc., No. 85-5073 (3d Cir. Apr. 7, 1986).

Cipollone inv»ived state tort claims that were premised on the assertion

that certain manufacturers and sellers of cigarettes had failed to provide an

adequate warning of the full spectrum of health msks caused by smoking.

Although cigarette packages have included a warning label with wording that

is required by federal law, the distnct court struck the defendants’ preemption

defense on the same theory applied by the Missoun court here, i.e., that there

was no irreconcilable conflict between federal and state safety standards

because a defendant can comply with federal law and still pay state-

authonzed damages. 597 F.Supp. at 1167. The Third Circuit reversed,

finding that “where the success of a state law damage claim necessarily

depends on the assertion that a party bore the duty to provide a warning to

consumers in addition to the warning Congress has required on cigarette

packages, such claims are preempted as conflicting with the [Federal

Cigarette Labeling and Advertising} Act.” Slip op. at 13.

Precisely the same reasoning should have been applied here. Respon-

dents’ claims are premised on the theory that Mallinckrodt bears a duty to

meet siate emission requirements in addition to those imposed by federal law.

Accordingly, their claims are preempted.

id

property damage caused by the unauthorized escape of nuclear

material.'® 464 U.S. at 251-258. Here, by contrast, even a

licensee that has fully complied with federai safety standards

could be subjected to burdensome claims for damages. Allow-

ing respondents’ suit to proceed under these circumstances

thoroughly undermines the existing federal regulatory scheme

and directly conflicts with Congress’ express intent to prohibit

dual regulation of the field of nuclear safety. '7

The recovery of damages in this case also would frustrate

the developmental objectives of the Atomic Energy Act. In

Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. State Energy Resources Con-

servation & Development Commission, this Court stated:

There is little doubt that a primary purpose of the

Atomic Energy Act was. and continues to be, the

promotion of nuclear power. The Act itself states

that it is a program “to encourage widespread partici-

pation in the development and utilization of atomic

energy for peaceful purposes to the maximum extent

consistent with the common defense and security and

with the health and safety of the public”.... The

House and Senate Reports confirmed that it was “a

major policy goal of the United States” that the

involvement of private industry would “speed the

further development of the peaceful uses of atomic

energy”....

'6 Although some of the evidence presented at the Si/kwood tna!

suggested that Kerr-McGee complied with most federal safety regulations,

464 U.S. at 244, Kerr-McGee stipulated that the plutonium which caused the

contamination ct Silkwood’s residence came from its plant. /d. at 243.

Moreover, the jury was presented with evidence indicating that plutonium

levels found in Silkwood’s apartment inay have “exceeded that permitted in

an unrestricted area such as a residence.” /d.

'7 See Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S. at 265 ( Blackmun, J..

dissenting) (“It 1s incredible to suggest that Congress intended the Federal

Government to have the sole authonty to set safety regulations, but left intact

the authonty of States to require adherence to a different state standard

through the imposition of jury fines’’).

‘a

461 U.S. at 221. See also Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464

U.S. at 281 ( Powell, J., dissenting ).

This developmental policy will be entirely frustrated if

licensees could be subjected to damage claims for alleged

injuries arising from emissions in total compliance with appli-

cable federal standards. Indeed, the decision opens the door to

a proliferation of common-law damage claims against a wide

array of nuclear facilities ranging from commercial reactors to

hospitals utilizing x-ray machines.'® Although the Missouri

court assumes that licensees wiil simply absorb the cost of

expanded tort liability (App. A, infra, at 7a-8a), a more

plausible conclusion is that the unlimited exposure to tort

liability foreshadowed by the opinion below will induce many

licensees to curtail or abandon their operations, further dis-

courage investment in nuclear technology, and generally inhibit

the development and use of nuclear energy on a national scale.

In sum, respondents’ suit creates a stark and irreconcilable

conflict with an exclusive federal regulatory scheme, and serves

impermissibly to frustrate the primary developmental objec-

tives of the Atomic Energy Act. The decision of the Missouri

court is based on a misreading of this Court’s preemption

analysis in Si/kwood and other cases, and ignores clear ex-

pressions of congressiona! intent to preclude such intrusive state

regulation of nuclear safety. As a result, the decision threatens

to have a profoundly adverse impact on the integrity of the

federal regulatory system and on the viability of the nuclear

energy industry.

'8 The Missoun court's broad analysis suggests that analogous claims to

those raised here could be brought against hospitals, radiologists, specialists in

nuclear medicine or the operators of any nuclear facility.

16

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Of Counsel: PETER J. NICKLES*

RICHARD A. MESERVE

WILLIAM A. RICHTER WILLIAM F. GREANEY

Lewis R. MILLS

COVINGION & BURLING

Peper, MARTIN, JENSEN, 1201 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.

MaAICHEL & HETLAGE P.O. Box 7566

720 Olive Street Washington, D.C. 20044

St. Louis. Missoun 63101 { 202 ) 662-6000

(314) 421-3850

{trorneys for Petitioner

RAYMOND M. ASHER MALLINCKRODT, INC.

ROGER A. KELLER

*Counsel of Record

MALLINCKRODT, INC.

675 McDonnell Boulevard

St. Louis, Missoun 63134

(314) 895-2906

Apnil 1986

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

IN THE

Sissmut Count of Appedis

Eastern Bistrict

DIVISION ONE

No. 47771

SAMUEL F. BENNETT, ef al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

VS.

MALLINCKRODT, INC..,

Defendant- Respondent.

Appeal from the Circuit Court of St. Louis County

Opinion Filed:

July 16, 1985

Plaintiffs appeal from the trial court’s dismissal of their

petition. We reverse and remand.

In their petition, plaintiffs allege they are representatives of

a class who have worked or will work on property adjacent to a

radiopharmaceutical processing plant operated by defendant.

Mallinckrodt, Inc. (Mallinckrodt). Alleging injunes to their

physical and mental health from exposure to radioactive emis-

sions released by the plant, plaintiffs seek damages from

Mallinckrodt based on three theories of common law tort:

negligence, assault and battery and strict liability for “ultrahaz-

ardous activities.” In the trial court, Mallinckrodt filed a

motuon to dismiss, arguing that plaintuffs’ action was barred (1 )

by the federal preemption doctrine. (2) by the politica! ques-

tion doctrine and (3) by the action being based upon mere

speculative possibilities of future harm. The tmal court dis-

2a

missed plaintuffs’ petition on two grounds: the court lacked

subject matter jurisdiction and the petition failed to state a

claim upon which relief could be granted.

We disagree with the tral court. The court does have

subject matter jurisdiction, and plaintiffs’ petition, although not

artfully drawn, does state a claim upon which relief can be

granted.

The issues before us are the same three issues which were

before the tnal court. We address them in order.

FEDERAL PREEMPTION

The doctrine of federal preemption springs from the

Supremacy Clause of the United States Constitution, U-S.

Const., Art. VI, cl. 2. E.g., Fidelity Fed. Savings & Loan Ass'n v.

de la Cuesta, 458 U.S. 141, 152, 102 S. Ct. 3014, 3022, 73 L.

Ed.2d 664 (1982). The question of whether federal law

preempts state action is “ ‘largely one of statutory construc-

tion’ ” and, therefore, cannot be resolved by general formulas.

Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 593 F. Supp. 1146, 1150

(D.N.J. 1984).1 Certain principles, however, have been clearly

established. First. federal law may expressly preempt state law,

Northern States Power Co. v. Minnesota, 447 F.2d 1143, 1145-

46 (8th Cir. 1971). aff'd, 405 U.S. 1035, 92 S. Ct. 1307, 31 L.

Ed.2d 576 (1972). or. state law in a given area may be

preempted by Congress’ implied intent to occupy that area.

E.g., Fidelity Fed., 458 U.S. at 153. 102 S. Ct. at 3022; Rice v.

Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218, 230, 67 S. Ct. 1146,

1152, 91 L. Ed. 1447 (1947). Even if Congress has not entirely

displaced state regulation in a given area, state law may still be

preempted to the “extent it actually conflicts with federal law.

that is, when it is impossible to comply with both state and

federal law... ., or where the state law stands as an obstacle to

the accomplishment of the full purposes and objectives of

Congress ....” Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S. 238,

104 S. Ct. 615, 621. 78 L. Ed.2d 443 ( 1984).

‘In Cipollone, the court describes the development and application of

the preemptuon doctrine in schoiariy detail.

3a

Congressional intent pertaining to nuclear energy surfaces

in the Atomic Energy Act and its amendments. Until 1954, the

development of nuclear energy was a federal monopoly. See

Atomic Energy Act of 1946, Pub. L. No. 79-585, 60 Stat. 755.

With the enactment of the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, ch.

1073, 68 Stat. 919. codified as amended, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2011-

2284 (1982), private industry was encouraged to take part in

the development and utilization of nuclear energy for peaceful

purposes. The federal government, however, retained extensive

control over this development by means of a licensing scheme

administered by the Atomic Energy Commission, AEC, the

predecessor of the present Nuclear Regulatory Commission,

NRC.

In 1959, Congress amended the Atomic Energy Act and

authorized the NRC to turn over some regulatory authority to

those states that adopted a suitable regulatory program, see 42

U.S.C. § 2021, but states were still precluded from regulating

the safety aspects of nuclear development, see 42 U.S.C.

§ 2021(k). See also Pacific Gas & Electrics Co. v. State Energy

Resources Conservation & Development Comm., 461 U.S. 190,

205, 103 S. Ct. 1713, 1722, 75 L. Ed.2d 752 (1983); Northern

States Power Co., 447 F.2d at 1153-54; State ex rel. Utility

Consumers Council v. Public Service Comm., 562 S.W.2d 688.

698 (Mo. App. ), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 866, 99S. Ct. 192, 58 L.

Ed.2d 177 (1978).

Congress also amended the Atomic Energy Act in 1957 by

passing the Price-Anderson Act, Pub. L. No. 85-256, 71 Stat.

576 (1957), to encourage private enterprise to participate in the

nuclear industry. Companies contemplating entry into the field

had expressed considerable concern over the possibility of a

nuclear accident with concomitant bankrupting liability. See

Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 104 S. Ct. at 623; S. Rep. No.

296, reprinted in 1957 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News !803,

1816. Through financial protection and indemnification provi-

sions, the Price-Anderson Act attempted to alleviate this con-

cern by shielding the nuclear industry while safe guarding the

public financially. As a result, the Act requires certain licensees

to purchase private insurance to cover liability claims, 42 U.S.C.

§ 2210(a). (b), provides government indemnity for those

4a

licensees, 42 U.S.C. § 2210(c), (d), and establishes maximum

limits on liability for nuclear incidents,? 42 U.S.C. § 2210(e).

See also Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 667 F.2d 908, 921

(tOth Cir. 1981). Then, in response to a concern that many

states would not apply strict liability to radiation injuries,

Congress again amended the Act in 1966 and required all

indemnified nuclear facilities to waive certain legal defenses

such as contributory negligence and governmentai immunity in

the event of an extraordinary nuclear occurrence.? See 42

U.S.C. § 2210(n).4

The enactment of the Price-Anderson Act and _ its

subsequent amendments triggered an extensive legislative his-

lory concerning the relationship between federal statutes per-

taining to the nuclear industry and state tort law. No less an

authority than the United States Supreme Court has interpreted

this history and defined this relationship for us. See, e.g.,

Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S. 238, 104S. Ct. 615, 78

L. Ed.2d 443 (1984); Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. State Energy

Re: >urces Conservation & Development Comm’n, 461 U.S. 190,

103 S. Ct. 1713, 75 L. Ed.2d 752 (1983).

The Supreme Court has declared, in essence, that states are

precluded from regulating the safety aspects of nuclear devel-

opment and of hazardous nuclear materials. Pacific Gas &

2 The term “‘nuclear incident” means:

“any occurrence, including an extraordinary nuclear occurrence

... casing... bodily injury, sickness, disease, or death, or loss of

or damage to property, or loss of use of property, arising out of or

resulting from the radioactive, toxic, explosive, or other hazard-

Ous properties of source, special nuclear, or byproduct mate-

nal....” 42 U.S.C. § 2014(q).

3 The term “extraordinary nuclear occurrence” means:

“any event causing a discharge or dispersal of source, special

nuclear, or byproduct material from its intended place of con-

finement in amounts offsite, or causing radiation levels offsite,

which the Commission determines to be substantial, and which

the Commission determines has resulted or wiil probably result in

substantial damages to persons offsite or property offsite.” 42

U.S.C. 2614()).

4 Nothing of record shows Mallinckrodt ts licensed by the NRC under

the Pnce-Anderson Act.

Electric Co., 461 U.S. at 265, 103 S. Ct. at 1722; Silkwood, 104

S. Ct. at 622. This prohibition is premised on Congress’ belief

that the NRC is more qualified than the individual states to

determine what type of safety standards should be enacted in

this complex area. Silkwood, 1048S. Ct. at 622. Acknowledging

Congress’ concern over the state’s inability to formulate effec-

tive safety standards, the Court in Si/kwood, nonetheless, found

“ample evidence” in the legislative history that Congress had

no intention of forbidding states from providing tort remedies

for injuries caused by nuclear radiation. Jd. at 623. For

example, the Court quoted from Senate Report No. 296 which

explains the Price-Anderson Act does not interfere with state

tort law until there is a likelihood that damages would exceed

the amount of financial responsibility required together with the

amount of federal indemnity. Up to this threshold point, the

rights of injured parties are established and defined by state

law. Id. at 623. See also S. Rep. No. 296, 1957 U.S. Code

Cong. & Ad. News !803, 1810.5

As a result, “[s]tate law remedies, in whatever form they

might take, [are] available to those injured by nuclear in-

cidents.”” Silkwood, 104 S. Ct. at 625. Consequently, the mere

fact the federal government has occupied the field of safety

5 The Court also cited Senate Report No. 1605 which reiterates this

principle:

Since its enactment by Congress in 1957 one of the cardinal

attnbutes of the Price-Anderson Act has been its minimal

interference with State law. Under the Prce-Anderson system,

the claimant’s mnght to recover trom the fund established by the

act is left to the tort law of the vamous States; the only

interference with State law is a potential one, in that the

limitation of liability feature of the act would come into play tn

the exceedingly remote contingency of a nuclear incident giving

rise to damages in excess of the amount of financial responsibility

required together with the amount of the governmental in-

demnity. S. Rep. No. 1605, 1966 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News

3201, 3206.

6a

does not foreclose state remedies for radiation injuries. Rather.

the test for determining preemption !n the nuclear energy field

IS:

“{1] whether there is an irreconcilable conflict be-

tween the federal and state standards or [2] whether

the imposition of a state standard in a damages

action would frustrate the objectives of the federal

law.” Silkwood, 104 S. Ct. at 626.

THE RECORD

Mallinckrodt contends plaintiffs’ action irreconcilably con-

flicts with federal standards and also frustrates federal objec-

tives. A fact essential to this contention is Mallinckrodt’s

compliance with federal statutes and regulations. This fact,

however, has neither been pleaded nor proved. |

Plaintiffs have not alleged Mallinckrodt’s compliance with

federal statutes or regulations, nor is this fact implicit in any of

plainuffs’ claims. Moreover, Mallinckrodt has not filed an

answer to plainuffs’ petition, nor has it filed a motion for

summary judgment based upon facts established by affidavit or

discovery. Mallinckrodt has simply filed a motion to dismiss

plaintiffs’ petition.

Mallinckrodt, in effect. is seeking an advisory opinion

before pleading or proving compliance. Plaintiffs, nevertheless.

address Mallinckrodt’s arguments as if Mallinckrodt’s com-

pliance existed. We address the arguments as presented, rather

than avoiding the preemption issues on a procedural defect.®

§ Mallinckrodt appears to tacitly admit plaintuffs may state a claim for

relief if Mallinckrodt’s noncompliance were pleaded. Plaintiffs do allege

Mallinckrodt’s noncompliance with certain federal regulations but these

regulations do not set or affect emission standards.

7a

IRRECONCILABLE CONFLICT

Permitting plaintiffs’ petition to state a claim for relief

under Missouri law, Mallinckrodt argues, would create an

irreconcilable conflict between Missouri and federal standards.

Malliickrodt contends that subjecting it to state tort liability

effectively establishes a “‘zero-release standard.” More specifi-

cally, Mallinckrodt argues, that if a permissible release is to be

determined by a jury “after the fact on an ad hoc basis,” a

federal licensee, like Mallinckrodt, “could assure avoidance of

liability only by a zero release of emissions.” This state

imposed standard, Mallinckrodt reasons, irreconcilably conflicts

with federal standards.

Mallinckrodt’s logic is questionable. More important, its

conclusion is not persuasive. As other manufacturers, producers

and operators functioning in a regulated field, Mallinckrodt is

not guaranteed absolute insulation from the consequences of its

acts through compliance with federal regulation. See McKay v.

United States, 703 F.2d 464, 470 (10th Cir. 1983) and

Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 485 F. Supp. 566, 578-79 ( W.D.

Okla. 1979) and cases cited therein. Thus, the issue here is not

whether Mallinckrodt will be assured of freedom from liability.

Rather, the issue is whether there is an irreconcilable conflict

between our state standards and federal standards: an issue

which, in turn, is answered by whether it is impossible for

Mallinckrodt to comply with both federal standards and those

standards implicitly reflected in plainuffs’ petition. Si/kwood.,

104 S. Ct. at 626.

As noted, we are at the pleading stage with only plaintiffs’

petition before us. Mallinckrodt has not shown our state

standards to be more stringent than federal standards, nor has

it shown our state standards to be theoretically or practically

impossible to meet, if our state standards are in fact more

stringent. Moreover. even if Mallinckrodt cannot reduce its

radiation emissions below the federa! standards, Missouri can

decide that, as between Mallinckrodt and plainuffs, Mallin-

ckrodt ought to bear the costs of compensating those injuries

that could have been prevented with a theoretical emission rate

lower than the rate approved by the NRC. See Ferebee v.

Sa

Chevron Chemical Co., 736 F.2d 1529, 1540-41 (D.C. Cir. ),

cert. denied, US. 105 S. Ct. 548, 83 L. Ed.2d 432

(1984). On the present record. payment of damages and

compliance with federal standards are clearly possible.

Mallinckrodt can continue to meet federal standards, and, if

found wanting by state standards, simply pay the piper.

Arguably, imposing damages for state torts committed by

parties Operating under federal standards has a possible state

regulatory effect on the federal standards. A possibile regu-

latory effect on federal standards by state tort actions, however,

has long been accepted. See, e.g., Cipollone, 593 F. Supp. at

1155-56. Congress’ acceptance of this possibility in the nuclear

energy field was specifically noted by the Supreme Court in

Siikwood v. Kerr-McGee, 104 S. Ct. at 625:

No doubt there is tension between the conclusion that

safety regulation is the exclusive concern of the

federal law and the conclusion that a state may

nevertheless award damages based on its own law of

liability. But as we understand what was done over

the years in the legislation concerning nuclear energy,

Congress intended to stand by both concepts and to

tolerate whatever tension there was between them.

We can do no less. It may be that the award of

damages based on the state law of negligence or strict

liability is regulatory in the sense that a nuclear plant

will be threatened with damages liability if it does

not conform to state standards, but that regulatory

consequence was something that Congress was quite

willing to accept.

In short, common law liability does not impose require-

ments on Mallinckrodt; rather, it allows Mallinckrodt to choose

between risking liability by not changing its behavior or

attempting to negate the risk by lowering its emission rates.

Cipollone, 593 F. Supp. at 1167. This reasoning may appear to

be disingenuous and smack of sophistry; if so, the charge must

be made against the entire judiciary for the reasoning has been

continually used to jusufy the imposition of state tort liability as

Ya

a “complement to” federal standards. See Si/kwood, 104 S. Ct.

at 629-30 (Biackmun, J., dissenting); Ferebee, 736 F.2d at

1541; Cipollone, 593 F. Supp. at 1167, and cases collected

therein.

FRUSTRATION OF FEDERAL OBJECTIVES

Mallinckrodt also argues that to permit recovery here

would frustrate the objectives of federal law. The purpose of

the Atomic Energy Act, Mallinckrodt points out, is to promote

private nuclear development. If federal licensees like Mallin-

ckrodt are subjected to claims even if in compliance with

federal standards, then, Mallinckrodt reasons, the purpose of

the Act would be frustrated by permitting state law to regulate

federal licensees and discourage private industry.

As just noted, the Supreme Court addressed this specific

issue in Silkwood v. Keer-McGee. Tort recovery to injured

plainuffs may create a tension between state law and federal

law, but Congress was willing to accept this consequence.

Silkwood, 104 S. Ct. at 625. The fact that some plaintiffs may

be successful in recovering compensation from Mallinckrodt for

injuries suffered does not mean that the state is setting its own

emission levels. Si/kwood, 104 S. Ct. at 626.

Moreover, if plaintiffs’ recovery in tort merely inconven-

iences Mallinckrodt or makes its operation more costly, there 1s

no frustration of federal policy or purpose. See, e.g., Marshall

v. Consumers Power Co., 65 Mich. App. 237, 237 N.W.2d 266.

281-82 (1975). State tort actions may frustrate federal objec-

tives if the federal regulatory statutes have as an objective the

affirmative subsidization of the regulated industry and if the

statutes, explicitly or implicitly, command states to accept the

use of the regulated product. Ferebee, 736 F.2d at 1542-43.

The Atomic Energy Act, however, does not subsidize the

nuclear industry. One of the purposes of the Atomic Energy

Act may be to promote the peaceful development of nuclear

energy, but the Act does not subsidize the nuclear industry to

such an extent that states are commanded to use or accept the

Ua

use of nuclear energy. See, e.g., Pacific Gas, 461 U.S. at 205,

103 S. Ct. at 1722. States do have some control over the extent

of use of nuclear materials within their boundaries as well as

determining where and whether such use wiil occur. See, e.g.,

State ex rel. Utility Consumers Council, 562 S.W.2d at 698.

They are not always required to tolerate actions permissible

under federal law. see, e.g., Pacific Gas, 461 U.S. at 216, 222-

23, 103 S. Ct. at 1728, 1731-32; Ferebee, 736 F.2d at 1543, and

this is One such area.

Furthermore, radiation emission standards lower than

federal emission standards are consistent with the federal aim

of achieving radiation emissions as low as reasonably possible.

See 10 C.F.R. § 20.1(c¢). The NRC has established emission

standards designed to protect the public and, at the same time,

allow for further development of nuclear energy using current

technology. 10 C.F.R. § 20.1¢c), 10 C.F.R. § 20.105-.106; 42

U.S.C. § 2201(b). These standards reflect an administrative

decision—an administrative balancing of overall societal msks

against societal benefits. Si/kwood, 485 F. Supp. at 581-82:

Crowther v. Seaborg, 312 F. Supp. 1205, 1231 (D. Colo. 1970);

Keyes & Howarth, Approaches to Liability for Remote Causes:

The Low-Level Radiation Example, 56 lowa L. Rev. 531, 541.

568 (1971). Emission standards adequate for administrative

purposes in meeting governmental goals. however, are not

necessanly adequate for purposes of state tort law encompass-

ing broader compensatory goals. These administrative emis-

sion standards are not absolute safety levels below which no

injury can occur. Silkwood, 485 F. Supp. at 579-81; Keyes &

Howarth, supra, at 545. As a result, insofar as state law 1s

concerned, they are merely guidelines.

This conclusion is reflected in the prefatory language of 10

C.F.R. § 20. In various subsections, § 20 sets out the emission

standards for NRC licensees. Preceding these subsections, the

Purpose Clause of § 20 states:

“In accordance with recommendations of the Federal

Radiation Council, ... [licensees] should, in addi-

tion to complying with the requirements set forth in

this part, make every reasonable effort to maintain

lla

radiation exposures, ... as low as is reasonably

achievable.” 10 C.F.R § 20.1(c).

This language clearly implies the federal standards are, i.

best, g’ idelines to state tort law. “In addition to complying

with” the federa! standards, licensees are requested to make

every reasonable effort to achieve emissions as low as Is

reasonably achievable. Compliance with federal standards is

mandatory; the request to achieve emission rates lower than

these standards, however, implicitly acknowledges these lower

rates may, in fact, be achieved. Moreover, the determination of

the reasonableness of the effort to achieve these lower rates is

not exclusively arrogated by the NRC. Sensibly, this implies

state tort law can determine whether reasonable efforts have

been made, and, thus, complement the NRC standards. This

implication is reinforced by the industrial and commercial use

of nuclear energy still being at the cutting edge of science.

Scientific data affecting reasonable emission standards change

often and rapidly. See Silkwood, 485 F. Supp. at 581; Keyes &

Howarth, supra, at 540. Thus, even though NRC emission

standards may be based upon the best scientific data available

at the time they are promulgated, these standards necessarily

lag behind the change in scienufic data. Keyes & Howarth,

supra, at 540. To accept Mallinckrodt’s reasoning would leave

parties injured by radioactive emissions without recourse when

science or technology has improved to permit levels of emis-

sions lower than those currently established by the NRC.

This was not Congress’ intent. States may be preempted

from setting their own emission standards, but they are not

preempted from compensating injured citizens. See Silkwood,

104 S. Ct. at 625-26. “Congress... disclaimed any interest in

promoting the development and uulization of atomic energy by

means that fail to provide adequate remedies for those who are

injured by exposure to hazardous nuclear materials.” Si/kwood,

104. S. Ct. at 626.

l2a

INCIDENT/ACCIDENT

Mallinckrodt also argues that if any state tort claim

survive preemption, the only permissible ones are those arisins

out of a “nuclear incident.”’ Relying on the facts of Silkwood

selected language from that case as well as selected passage:

from the legislative history of the Price-Anderson Act

Mallinckrodt defines ‘“‘nuclear incident” as ‘tan accidental re

lease of radiation in excess of federal limits.” Mallinckrod

then argues releases in compliance with federal regulation:

cannot constitute accidents or “nuclear incidents” and, there

fore. claims, like plaintiffs, seeking recovery for alleged injurie:

resulting from “pianned, federally permissible releases’? mus

be preempted. We read Si/kwood as well as the legislative

history differently.

Mallinckrodt views Si/kwood as dealing with three separate

incidents of contamination of Karen Silkwood away from Kerr

McGee’s plant. These three events are in turn viewed a:

constituting something out of the ordinary—a “nuclear in.

cident.”” Mallinckrodt also seizes on “nuclear incident” being

used interchangeably with “nuclear accident” by variou:

courts, including the Supreme Court in Si/kwood, to show the

latter term necessarily defines the former. See, e.g., Silkwood

104 S. Ct. at 623, 625.

Mallinckrodt’s logic is flawed. If “nuclear incident” is <

term of art, its definition is found in 42 U.S.C. § 2014(q)

which, as noted, defines “nuclear incident” to mean “an\

occurrence... causing... bodily injury, sickness, disease, o:

death,.... ” The courts’ use of “incident” interchangeably witt

“accident” to describe or refer to the particular facts before

them does not circumscribe the broad generic definition

Courts also use the term “hazard” and “occurrence”’ inter

changeably with the term “incident.” See, e.g., Silkwood, 10¢

S. Ct. at 624, 626. Obviously, the generic term ‘occurrence’

includes the more limited defined term “accident.”’ Applying

Mallinckrodt’s reasoning to these interchanged reference:

means the term “incident” could also be equated with “hazard’

or “occurrence.”’ No sensible argument can be made that any

emission or exposure is not an occurrence or does not entai

some hazard.

—_— le. UL

l3a

This same argument was summarily dealt with in Van

Dissel v. Jersey Central Power & Light Co., 194 N.J. Super. 108,

476 A.2d 310, cert. denied, 99 N.J. 186, 491 A.2d 690 (1984).

Upon remand by the United States Supreme Court for further

consideration in light of Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464

U.S. 238, 104 S. Ct. 615, 78 L. Ed.2d 443 (1984), the New

Jersey Superior Court found no preemption of claims for

property damage resulting from the normal operation of a

nearby nuclear power reactor plant. In reaching its decision,

the New Jersey Court concluded, as we conclude here, that

compensable injuries do not have to be caused by “nuclear

accidents.” 476 A.2d at 316. See also McKay v. United States,

703 F.2d at 46S.

We have also carefully read the selections of congressional

debates and reports cited by Mallinckrodt in support of its

position. We remain unpersuaded. The examples of “typical”

nuciear incidents Mallinckrodt selects from the legislative his-

tory are examples of incidents but are not necessarily typical.

One of Congress’ concerns in enacting the Price-Anderson Act

and its subsequent amendments was to prctect the public by

assuring the availability of funds for claims arising out of major

nuclear incidents. See, e.g., S. Rep. 454, 94th Cong., ist Sess.

(1975), U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 1975, p. 2251. H.R.

Rep. No. 2043, 89th Cong., 2d Sess. (1966). Most, if not all, of

Mallinckrodt’s cited examples address this concern and, thus,

are examples of major or catastrophic incidents.” This does not

mean that emissions or exposures less than federal limits are

preempted or are not included under the Price-Anderson

indemnification system. Standard insurance was assumed to

cover minor incidents, and, for these, the nuclear industry

would not need federal assistance. See, e.g., H.R. Rep. No.

2043, 89th Cong., 2d Sess. 11 (1966). Consequently, in the

hearings, reports and debates cited by Mallinckrodt, the precise

? See, e.g., Proposed Amendments to Price-Anderson Act Relating to

Waiver of Defenses: Hearings before the Joint Committee on Atomic Energy,

89th Cong., 2d Sess. 47 (1966) (statement of Joseph Hennessey, AEC

General Counsel ): S. Rep. No. 454, reprinted in 1975 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad.

News 2251: H.R. Rep. No. 1115, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. 7 (1974). See also

H.R. Rep. No. 2043, 89th Cong., 2d Sess. 9-11 ( 1966).

l4da

definition of a nuclear incident. especially in relation to minor

incidents. was not a concern.

If plaintiffs’ claims must be confined to “nuclear incidents”

as defined in federal statutes, plaintiffs’ claims are properly

pleaded. The term nuclear incident means:

“any occurrence,...causing,... bodily injury, sick-

ness, disease, or death, or loss of or damage to

property, or loss of use of property, arising out of or

resulting from the radioactive,... properties of

source, special nuclear, or byproduct material... .”

42 U.S.C. § 2014(q).

This definition is “designed to protect the public against any

form of damage arising from the special dangerous properties

of the materials used in the atomic energy program.” S. Rep.

No. 296, 1957 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 1817. Moreover.

an incident does not necessarily have to occur within a short

period of time, and steady exposure to radiation, perhaps, from

an undetected leak of radioactive materials, can constitute an

incident. Jd. We also note 42 U.S.C. § 2014(q) itself does not

require an accidental or unplanned release. See also McKay v.

United States, 703 F.2d 464 ( 10th Cir. 1983).

In summary, the legislative history of the Price-Anderson

Act and its amendments, as well! as case law, consistently reflect

the underlying principle of interfering with state law to the

minimum extent necessary. £.g., S. Rep. No. 1605, 1966 US.

Code Cong. & Ad. News 3206. Consequently, the rights of a

party injured by radiation are for the most part left to state law.

S. Rep. No. 296, 1957 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 1810.

While we rnay be attracted by the logic of some of Mallin-

ckrodt’s arguments supporting preempton, our understanding

of Silkwood is that its reach is greater and much more inclusive

than the limits Mallinckrodt would place on it. We are

constrained to follow not only the holding of Si/kwood but also

to follow our understanding of its teaching.

POLITICAL QUESTION DOCTRINE

The political question doctrine establishes a limitation on

the authority of the judiciary to resolve issues, decidedly

politica! in nature, that are properly left to the legislature. Ifa

case actually involves the resolution of a political question, the

matter is immune from judicial review. There should, however.

be no dismissal for nonjusticability on the basis of a political

question’s presence unless

“({p]rominent on the surface of any case held to

involve a political question [there] is found a text-

ually demonstrable constitutional commitment of the

issue to a coordinate political department; or a lack of

judicially discoverable and manageable standards for

resolving it; or the impossibility of deciding without

an initial policy determination of a kind clearly for

nonjudicial discretion; or the impossibility of a court’s

undertaking independent resolution without ex-

pressing lack of the respect due coordinate branches

of government; or an unusual need for unquestioning

adherence to a political decision already made; or the

potentiality of embarrassment from multifarious

pronouncements by various departments on one

question.” Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186,217, 82S. Ct.

691, 710, 7 L.Ed.2d 663 (1962).

The propriety of nuclear related activiues is a political

question properly committed to the legislative and executive

branches of our government. Nonetheless, individual tort

recoveries stemming from those activities normally are not

precluded by the politicai question doctrine. McKay, 703 F.2d

at 470. “If Congress had intended that some department or

departments should have full and complete and exclusive

authority in the area of obtaining redress for injuries. it

certainly would have said so either in the legislative history or

in the Act itself.”” Jd. at 472.

Defendant relies on Crowther v. Seaborg, 312 F. Supp.

1205 (D. Colo. 1970) to assert plaintiffs’ claim was barred by

the political question doctrine. Crowther is distinguishabie.

however. The plainuffs in Crowther were seening an injunction

loa

to stop testing involving nuclear detonations and a determina-

tion that the applicable radiation safety standards were in-

adequate. The court in Crowther rightly held that the extent

and nature of government participation in the development of

energy sources was a political question as was the establishment

of radiation protection standards. 312 F. Supp. at 1231-32.

Plaintiffs in this case, however, are not trying to establish

standards that conflict with legislative determinations; they are

seeking compensation for injuries. Nor does the allowing of

recovery for those injumes which do occur mean the state is

creating new standards; rather, the state is protecting its citizens

by making defendant responsible for injuries arising from its

activities as a cost of doing business.

FAILURE TO STATE A CLAIM

Plaintiffs plead their three theories of liability in three

separate Counts: Count I—negligence, Count [I]—assault and

battery, Count Ili—strict liability. Although stated somewhat

differently in two of the three Counts, plaintiffs ailege their

injuries result from Mallinckrodt’s radioactive emissions which

have or will cause (1) “various health and physical illnesses”

and “injury, damages to health, property and safety of plain-

tiffs,” (2) “a drastic increase in the class of many physical

illnesses.” such as “leukemia, cancer and nervous disorders.”

and (3) “apprehension ... [because of] severe psychotic

trauma” from the exposure and increased risk of illness.®

Focusing on these allegations of damages, Mallinckrodt

argues that plaintiffs have failed to state a claim because they

do not “specifically allege any particuiar individual has sus-

tained an identifiable and detectable physical injury.” We

disagree.

8 These injuries are alleged by plaintuffs in Count I. In Count II. plainuffs

allege the “radiation stnking”™ them has caused and will cause (1) “vanous

health problems ... as well as apprehension and fear” and (2) “permanent

and irreparable physical and mental injunes as well as mental anguish and

damages.” In Count 'II. they ailege their damages are the same “as

hereinabove stated.”

17a

Injury is an essenual element of a tort based on negligence.

E.g., Chubb Group of Ins. Cos. v. C.F. Murphy & Assocs., Inc.,

656 S.W.2d 766, 774 (Mo. App. 1983); See also W. Prosser.

Law of Torts § 30, at 143 (4th ed. 1971). It also is an essential

element of a tort based on strict liability. £.g., Restatement

(Second) of Torts §519 (1977). Thus, unless plaintiffs

properly plead their injuries in their negligence and strict

liability claims, they have failed to state a claim upon which

relief can be granted.? See, e.g., Dix v. Motor Market, Inc., 540

S.W.2d 927, 932 (Mo. App. 1976).

PLAINTIFFS’ PLEADED INJURIES

(1) “Various health and physical illness” and “Injury, dam-

ages to health, property and safety to plaintiffs”

Technical forms of pleading are no longer required. Rule

55.04. To plead a claim for relief. the pleader must simply

allege a “plain statement of the facts showing [he] is entitled to

relief....°’ Rule 55.05. Although the pleader need not allege

evidentiary or operative facts. e.g., Scheibel v. Hillis, 531

S.W.2d 285, 290 (Mo. banc 1976), he must allege uitimate

facts, id. at 290, and cannot rely on mere conclusions, e.g.,

Commercial Bank of St. Louis County v. James, 658 S.W.2d 17.

22 (Mo. banc 1983). These rules and their interpretations are

much easier stated than applied. Many allegations simply do

not fall within a precise definition of a fact. They are mixed

statements of fact and conclusions. In Missoun, however, we

sull remain stuck in a semantic morass, attemptng to differ-

entiate fine and evanescent distinctions between evidentiary

facts. ultimate facts and conclusions. See, e.g., Einhaus v. Ames

Co., 547 $.W.2d 821, 825 (Mo. App. 1976). To us, the

distinction 1s really one between generality and particularity.

Admittedly, forceful argument can be made that plaintiffs’

allegations of injury are vague and ambiguous. Mere vague-

ness, however, is not grounds for a motion to dismiss, e.g.,

9 For an assault and battery, plainuffs’ Count II, “{tlhe establishment of

the technical cause of action. even without proof of any harm, enutles the

plainuff to vindication of his legal mght by an award of nominal damages.”

W. Prosser. Jorts § 10, at 38 ( 4th ed. 1971).

l8a

Pillow v. Gen. American Life Ins. Co., 564 S.W.2d 276, 279

(Mo. App. 1978), and we prefer to dispose of a case on its

merits instead of on the pleadings, see, e.g., Laclede Gas Co. v.

Hampton Speedway Co., 520 S.W.2d 625, 631 (Mo. App.

1975). More important, a petition should be dismissed only if

it appears the pleader can prove no set of facts in support of his

claim for relief. E.g., Gaines v. Monsanto Co., 655 S.W.2d 568.

570 (Mo. App. 1983); Pillow, 564 S.W.2d at 279-80.

The narrow issue here is whether plaintiffs’ allegations of

“various health and physical” iilnesses or “injury” generally

are ultimate facts or conclusions. Rational application of our

basic pleading principles can be used to classify plaintiffs’

allegation of injuries either as ultimate facts or conclusions.

Rather than torture logic to reach a preconceived result. we

focus on whether Mallinckrodt knows what this action involves.

We think it does. If plainuffs were pleading in the federal

courts, their allegations of injuries would withstand a motion to

dismiss. Pearl v. Allied Corp., 566 F. Supp. 400, 403-04 ( E.D.

Penn. 1983). Mallinckrodt is no less informed simply by being

sued in our state courts. Admittedly, there are differences

between the so-called “notice pleading” in the federal court and

our code pleading. The only relevant difference here, however.

would be that plaintffs*’ allegations of injumes in the federal

courts not only would withstand a motion to dismiss but also

would withstand a mouon to make more definite and certain.

see, e.g., 2A Moore’s Fed. Practice, §§ 12.08, 12.18 (2d ed.

1985), but, in our courts. these allegations wouid be and are

subject to a motion to make more definite and certain.

Plaintiffs’ pleadings are subject to a motion to make more

definite and certain because they lack sufficient detai! for

Mallinckrodt to prepare a responsive pleading. Rule 55.27(d).

Arguably, Mallinckrodt could answer by filing a general denial

and use discovery to gain information for tnal. But an

important element of plaintiffs’ claims is a medically diagnos-

able injury or illness. A clear diagnosis is essencial for

identufying the precise cause of the injury and identifying

Mallinckrodt as the culprit. Thus. although the injuries as pled

withstand the motion to dismiss, they are subject to make more

definite and certain. Rule 55.27(d).

1Y¥a

(2) “A drastic increase in the class of many physical ill-

nesses” such as “leukemia, cancer and nervous dis-

orders.”

In the pleaded injuries just discussed, plaintiffs’ claim

present physical injuries. The question there was whether the

language used was precise enough to state a claim. In this

claim of injury, plaintiffs allege future injuries. Sensibly read,

plaintiffs allege the exposure to radiation has increased their

risk as candidates for cancer. The question here is whether

plaintiffs may recover on the theory that their increased risk of

contracting cancer is a present injury.

In Missouri, no different than most other jurisdictions,

future damages in a personal injury action are not compensable

unless reasonably certain to occur. See, e.g., Hahn v. McDowell,

349 S.W.2d 479, 482 (Mo. App. 1961). No Missouri Court,

however, has been confronted with the precise issue here.

Courts in other jurisdictions have. In resolving the issue, they

quite logically determine whether the enhanced msk from

exposure to a toxic substance, as pleaded or proved, is a

reasonable certainty or can be considered a reasonable cer-

taintv. They find itis not. See, e.g., Morrissy v. Eli Lilly & Co.,

76 Ill. App.3d 753, 32 Ill. Dec. 30, 37, 394 N.E.2d 1369, 1376

(1979); Ayers v. Township of Jackson, 189 N.J. Super. 561. 461

A.2d 184, 187 (Law Div. 1983): Askey v. Occidental Chemical

Corp., 102 A.D.2d 130, 477 N.Y.S.2d 242, 247 (1984). See

also Laswell v. Brown, 683 F.2d 261, 269 (8th Cir. 1982), cert.

denied, 459 U.S. 1210, 103 S. Ct. 1205, 75 L.Ed.2d 446 (1983);

Mink v. University of Chicago, 460 F. Supp. 713, 719 (N.D. Ill.

1978).

This resolution makes sense. Plaintiffs here, like the

plaintiffs in the cited cases, base their claim on mathematical

probabilities. Damages based on mere mathematical proba-

bilities significantly undercompensate those who actually de-

velop cancer and are a windfall to those who do not. No

acceptable definition of justice would contemplate such a result.

Consequently, this claim of injury is fatally defective.

20a

(3) “Apprehension... {because of] severe psychic trauma

from the exposure and increased risk of illness.”

We have paraphrased this pleading of injury.'9 As we

understand it, plaintiffs seek to recover for emotional distress

allegedly suifered by them as a result of being exposed to

radiation, and plaintiffs seek compensation for this emotional

distress without a showing of physical injury. In short, plaintiffs

seek compensation for fear of cancer—cancerphobia.

Plainuffs allege their emotional distress is a direct result of

Mallinckrodt’s tortious conduct. Plaintiffs no longer need to

allege a contemporaneous physical injury to plead a tort action

for emotional distress. See Bass v. Nooney Co., 646 S.W.2d 765.

772 (Mo. banc 1983): Young v. Stensrude, 664 S.W.2d 263.

265 (Mo. App. 1984). Plaintiffs need only to plead Mallinck-

rodt should have realized its conduct involved an unreasonable

risk of causing plaintiffs’ emouonal distress and the distress is

medically diagnosable and medically significant. Bass v.

Nooney, 646 S.W.2d at 772-73.

We have read plaintiffs’ petition carefully, giving it the

most liberal interpretation. Our pleading principles may abol-

ish the technicalities of pleading. They do not abolish the need

for clear thinking and clanty. Plaintiffs do plead a “psychic

‘0 More specificaily, plainuffs plead:

“{they] have suffered apprehension and will continue in the

future under severe psychic trauma as a result of their exposure to

and the increased mnsk to the [noted] ilinesses.”

Obviously, plainuffs have failed to include several grammatical articles

necessary to give this pleading a precise meaning. No useful purpose is

served, however, in making these additions 2 prerequisite to our consid-

eration. We have paraphrased the pleading to reach the issue that wouid be

raised by an appropnate amendment.

2la

trauma,”’ which is medically diagnosable and can be medically

significant.’’ Plaintiffs, however, do not plead Mallinckrodt

should have realized its alleged conduct involved an unreason-

able risk of causing this psychic trauma. Thus, plaintiffs have

not met the minimal requirements of Bass v. Nooney, supra,

and, as now pleaded, this claim is fatally defective.

We do not address nor intend to comment on the extent of

plaintiffs’ possible problems in properly pleading forseeability

here, to say nothing of the complex and formidable problems of

proof this pleading entails. See generally G. Nothstein, Toxic

Torts § 16.05-.11 (1984).

STRICT LIABILITY

Plaintiffs last Count sounds in strict liability for “ultra-

hazardous” activities. Restatement of Torts §519 (1938)

creates a claim in strict liability for damages caused by an

“ultrahazardous activity.”” Restatement (Second) of Torts

§ 519 (1977), however, replaces the term ‘“ultrahazardous”

with the term “abnormally dangerous.” Our research has not

uncovered any Missouri case which expressly accepts or adopts

either version of § 519. Nonetheless. we believe strict liability,

as defined by the Restatement (Second) of Torts, should be

adopted and applied to claims based on radiation damage, and.

under this definition, we find plaintiffs have pleaded a claim for

relief in strict liability. '2

‘1 Psychic trauma is defined as:

“an upsetting experience precipitating or aggravating an emo-

tional or mental disorder,”” Stedman's Medical Dictionary 1476

(24th ed. 1982); or “An emouonal injury or shock that leaves a

lasting impression on the conscious or subconscious mind. It may

cause a permanent change in the personality of the patient.”” 3

Schmidt’s Attorneys’ Dictionary of Medicine P-302 ( 1984).

'2 As used in the Restatement. the terms “ultrahazardous” and “‘abnor-

mally dangerous” are terms of art. Each has a separate and distinct

definition. but these definitions overlap and are not mutually exclusive.

Compare Restatement of Torts § 520 (1938) with Restatement (Second) of

Torts § 520 (1977).

No useful purpose is served in affirming the dismissal because plainuffs

used “ultrahazardous” rather than “abnormally dangerous,” simply to have

plainuffs replead this claim using the latter and proper term.

22a

The doctrine of strict liability stems from the English case.

Rylands v. Fletcher, | L.R.-Ex. 265 (1866), aff'd, 3 L.R.-E. & I.

App. 330 (1868). The lower court, the Exchequer Chamber,

stated the “true rule” of law to be: “the person who for his own

purposes brings on his land and collects and keeps there

anything likely to-do mischief if it escapes, must keep it at his

peril, and if he does not do so is prima facie answereable for all

the damage which is the natural consequence of its escape.”

Fletcher v. Rylands, | L.R.-Ex. 265, 279-80 (1866). The House

of Lords limited the “rule” by making it applicable only to non-

natural uses of land. Rylands v. Fletcher, 3 L.R.-E. & | App.

330. 338 ( 1868). See also Prosser. Law of Torts § 78, at 505-06

(4th ed. 1971).

As Prosser explains, the “true rule” of Rylands v. Fletcher is

the limited rule. It makes the defendant liable “when he

damages another by a thing or activity unduly dangerous and

inappropmiate to the place where it is maintained, in the light of

the character of that place and its surroundings.” Jd. at 508.

Sections 519 and 520, Restatement (Second) of Torts (1977),

reflect this principle, with § 520 listing six factors pertinent in

determining whether an activity is abnormally dangerous. '3

In Missouri, we have expressly rejected the rule of the

Exchequer Chamber, i.e., a defendant is strictly liable when

anything under his control escapes and does damage. See, e.g.,

Kelley v. National Lead Co., 240 Mo. App. 47, 210 S.W.2d 728.

733 (1948): Greene v. Spinning, 48 S.W.2d 51, 61 (Mo. App.

1931). Thus, in Missouri, as in many other jurisdictions. the

'3 These six factors are:

(a) existence of a high degree of msk of some harm to the

person, land or chattels of others;

(b) likelihood that the harm that results from it will be great;

(c) inability to eliminate the msk by the exercise of reasonable

care: ;

(d) extent :o which the activity is not a matter of common usage;

(e) inappropnateness of the activity to the place where it is

carned on; and

(f) extent tc which its value to the community is outweighed by

its dangerous attmbutes.

23a

“true rule” of Rylands v. Fletcher has been misstated and, as

misstated, has been almost totally rejected, “most often on facts

which had no proper application in the first place.” Prosser.

supra, at 508-09.

Be that as it may, the “rule of Rylands v. Fletcher” is very

narrowly applied in Missouri. In blasting cases, for example, a

claim for strict liability is as valid a claim as a claim based upon

nuisance or trespass. Summers v. Tavern Rock Sand Co., 315

S.W.2d 201 (Mo. 1958); Carson v. Blodgett Const. Co., 189

Mo. App. 120, 174 S.W. 447 (1915) (strict liability ); Blackford

v. Heman Const. Co., 132 Mo. App. 157, 112 S.W. 287 (1908)

(nuisance ); Johnson v. Kansas City Terminal! Ry. Co., 182 Mo.

App. 349, 170 S.W. 456 (1914): Faust v. Pope, 132 Mo. App.

287, LLL S.W. 878 (1908) (trespass). But our courts go no

further. In other cases, in which piainuff alleged his damage

was caused by an “ultrahazardous” or “abnormally dangerous”

thing or activity, our courts have rejected claims based upon

strict liability and required the claim to be brought in negli-

gence, nuisance or trespass. See generally II Mo. Tort Law.

Chap. 32, Strict Tort Liabilin (Mo. Bar CLE 1980); Comment,

The Rylands v. Fletcher Doctrine and Its Standing In Missouri,

18 Mo. L. Rev. 53 (1953).

Arguably, this history demonstrates a refusal to extend the

use of strict liability as a legal tool to hold liable for damages

those engaged in abnormally dangerous activities. If this ts

true, the question here is not would, but rather should, a nuclear

plant operator be held strictly liable for his actions? This

question is not answered by the usuaily salutary aphorism —if it

ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Theories of liability other than strict

liability may serve society better in resolving issues between

parties when normal danger is involved. These theories are not

equally effective in the nuclear industry.

Understandably, a record was not made for the purpose of

determining whether, strict liability, as defined by the Restate-

ment, should be applied here. Certain facts, however, are

common knowledge or part of the present record.

The nuclear industry is unique in its inherent and, at

present, unrectifiable danger. It is regulated by the federal

24a

government. Numerous safety standards have been set to

ensure the public welfare, but even with these precautions

taken, the potential danger is still enormous. Moreover, as

previously noted, the safety standards are not guarantees of

absolute safety. Federal emission standards are only guidelines

which are based upon an inherently inexact balancing of

human and environmental risks against social benefits. See

Silkwood, 485 F. Supp. at 581-82: Keyes & Howarth, supra, at

541, 568. See also 10 C.F.R. §20.1(c). Each licensee is

therefore requested to make every reasonable effort to maintain

radiation exposures and releases as low as reasonably achiev-

able. 10 C.F.R. § 20.1(c). The value of the nuclear industry to

society may be great, but the use of nuclear material is not yet

so common that strict liability should not be applied at this

tume.'* This is the basis for the Restatement and Prosser

recognizing the nuclear industry is particularly suited for the

application of strict liability. See Restatement (Second) of

Torts § 520, comments g, h ( 1977); Prosser, supra, § 78, at 5!6.

In short, the nuclear industry creates dangers as great as

blasi:ing operations, if not more so, and, thus, if it fits the cnteria

established for strict liability, it should be governed by those

legal liabilities imposed upon blasting operations because of its

danger.

Our Courts have not been deterred in the past from

adopting Restatement principles of tort deemed sensible and

necessary.'S We should not be deterred here. Plainuffs have

alleged that Mallinckrodt’s activities have created a high degree

‘4 Nuclear reactors may never be considered a natural use of the land.

On the other hand, nuclear reactors may follow the same path as the

“aeroplane,” and technological advances and widespread use may make stnct

liability inapplicable to the nuclear industry as it now is to the use of

aeroplanes. See Prosser, supra, § 78, at 514-15.

1S See Blevins v. Cushman Motors, 55\ S.W.2d 602 (Mo. banc 1977)

(products liabdility—Restatement (Second) of Torts § 402A); Pretsk v.

Southwestern Bell Telephone Co., 396 S.W.2d 566, 568-69 (Mo. 1965)

(intentional infliction of emouonal harm—Restatement (Second) of Torts

§ 48): Porter v. Crawford & Co., 611 S.W.2d 265 (Mo. App. 1980) ( pmma

facie tort—Restatement (Second) of Torts § 870); Anmnbar Associates v.

American Express Co., 565 S.W.2d 701 (Mo. App. 1978) (injunous faise-

hood— Restatement ( Second) of Torts § 623A ef seq.).

25a

of msk of harm, the harm has been and will be significant, the

risk cannot be eliminated, the harm outweighs the value of the

operation of the plant and they have suffered injuries. These

are the factors to be considered in a claim for strict liability.

Restatment (Second) of Torts §§ 519 and 520 (1977).

The Restatement (Second) of Torts § 519 (1977) speaks

of “abnormally dangerous activities,” and § 520 lists pertinent

faciors to determine the appropriateness of the activity in

question. The Restatement suggests the court should balance

the risks against the benefits and determine, as a matter of law,

whether the benefits outweigh the risks. This determination is

no different than the determination made by the court when it

determines the reasonableness of the use of the land in nuisance

cases. See, e.g., Clinic & Hospital, Inc. v. McConnell, 236

S.W.2d 384, 391 (Mo. App. 1951).'6 On remand, the tral

court should develop the appropriate record for its determina-

tion whether strict liability. as defined by Restatement ( Sec-

ond) of Torts § 520 (1977), should be applied here.*7

‘6 “What is a reasonable use of one’s property and whether a particular

use IS an unreasonable invasion of another's use and enjoyment of his

property cannot be determined by exact rules, but must necessanly depend

upon the circumstances of each case, such as locality and the character of the

surroundings, the nature, utlity and social value of the use, the extent and

nature of the harm involved, the nature, utlity and social value of the use or

enjoyment invaded, and the like.” 236 S.W.2d at 391.

'7 The factors listed by the Restatement are, as their designation implies.

simply factors to be considered by the court. They are not elements of a claim

for relief. Restatement, supra, § 520. Forceful argument can be made that

factor (f) of § 520—sociai msk weighed against social benefit—has been

predetermined by the federal government licensing Mallinckrodt’s operations.

if the operations are in fact licensed.

26a

INJUNCTIVE RELIEF

In addition to monetary damages, plaintiffs also seek to

enjoin Mallinckrodt’s operations. The propriety of this request

was not raised as an issue before us. It is clear, however,

plaintiffs are not entitled to this injunctive relief. Enjoining

Mallinckrodt’s operations would effectively establish a state

standard, anc. as a result, would frustrate federal law. See, e.g.,

Pennsylvania v. General Public Utilities Corp., 710 F.2d 117,

120 (3d Cir. 1983); Crowther v. Seaborg, 312 F. Supp. at 1235.

Judgment reversed. Cause remanded.

HAROLD L. SaTz

Harold L. Satz, Judge

ROBERT O. SNYDER Concurs

Robert O. Snyder, Presiding Judge

JAMES A. PUDLOWSKI Concurs

James A. Pudlowski, Judge

27a

IN THE

Missmumt Cont of Appenis

Eastern Bistrict

DIVISION ONE

SAMUEL F. BENNETT, ef-al.

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

VS.

MALLINCKRODT, INC.

Defendant- Respondent.

No. 47771

Appeal from the Circuit Court

of St. Louis County

Opinion Filed:

September 26, 1985

ON MOTIONS FOR REHEARING OR, IN THE

ALTERNATIVE, FOR TRANSFER TO

THE SUPREME COURT

PER CURIAM

In its motion for rehearing, Mallinckrodt points out that we

did not address one of its contentions raised on appeal. This

contention centers on statements made by plaintiffs’ counsel

during oral argument on Mallinckrodt’s motion to dismiss.

Mallinckrodt asserts these statements clarify and control the

meaning of plaintiffs’ petition. We were aware of this con-

tention. We read those cases cited by Mallinckrodt in support

cf its contention and found them to be inapposite. In addition.

we note counsel’s “clarifying” statements are not part of the

designated record but are merely part of an apparent excerpt

from the motion hearing appended to Mallinckrodt’s brief. On

28a

the present facts, we know of no principle of law or logic which

requires us to define the explicit meaning of plaintiffs’ allega-

tions by the fractional extemporaneous remarks of plaintiffs’

counsel. As we noted in our opinion, Mallinckrodt’s concern

can be alleviated by a motion to make plaintiffs’ allegations

more definite and certain.

Also, Mallinckrodt once again attempts to support some of

its arguments by information which is not part of the record.

Once again we note this case is before us only on the trial

court’s grant of Mallinckrodt’s motion to dismiss plaintiffs’

petition. If Mallinckrodt wishes to support its arguments by a

“Brandeis Brief,” it has the proper procedural devices to do so.

Finally, to allay Mallinckrodt’s new concern generated by

its reading of our opinion. we note that we were and are aware

of the difference in potential danger between a reactor melt-

down and a radioactive isotope. The present record, however.

does not intimate, much less disclose, the potential danger of

Mallinckrodt’s operation. Our opinion remains unchanged.

Strict liability is an appropriate principle for activities gener-

ating radioactive emissions. It is for Mallinckrodt to demon-

strate to the trial court that its particular activities do not fall

within the purview of strict liability as defined by Restatement

(Second) of Torts § 520 (1977).

Motions for rehearing and for Transfer to the Supreme

Court denied.

29a

APPENDIX B

No. 67532

ED 47771

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF MISSOURI

September Session 1985

SAMUEL F. BENNETT ef ai.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

VS.

TRANSFER

MALLINCKRODT, INC..,

Defendant-Respondent.

Now at this day, on consideration of Defendant-

Respondent’s Application to transfer the above entitled cause

from the Eastern District Court of Appeals, it is ordered that said

application be, and the same is hereby denied.

STATE OF MISSOURI—SCT.

I, THOMAS F. SIMON, Clerk of the Supreme Court of the

State of Missouri, certify that the foregoing is a full, true and

complete transcript of the judgment of said Supreme Court.

entered of record at the September Session thereof, 1985, and on

the 21st day of November 1985, in the above entitled cause.

Given under my hand and seal of said Court, at the City of

Jefferson City, this 21st day of Novers er, 1985.

THOMAS F. SIMON

Clerk.

D.C.

30a

APPENDIX C

IN THE

CIRCUIT COURT

COUNTY OF ST. Louts. MISSOURI

August 18, 1983

SAMUEL F. BENNETT, ef ail.

VS.

Number 484711

Division 4

MALLINCKRODT, INC.

This matter is before the Court on Defendant’s Motion to

Dismiss Plaintiffs’ Petition, the same having been presented,

heard, ably argued and capably briefed.

The Court, being now sufficiently advised of and having

considered the premises. adjudges that the Court does not have

subject matter jurisdiction and Plaintiffs’ Petition fails to state a

claim upon which relief can te granted. Defendant’s Motion to

Dismiss Plaintiffs’ Petition is SUSTAINED.

The August 19, 1983 setting for hearings on various

motions is vacated. such motions now being moot. Costs cre

assessed against Plaintiffs.

re sa Brown, James & Rabbitt. P.C.

Whaley & McAuliffe

Peper, Martin, Jensen, Maichel & Hetlage

Covington & Burling

SO ORDERED

B. C. Drumm. Jr. |

31a

APPENDIX D

The Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended, 42 U.S.C

§ 2011 er seg., provides in relevant part:

42 U.S.C. § 2013:

It is the purpose of this Act to effectuate the policies

set forth above by providing for—

x x *

(d) a program to encourage widespread partici-

pation in the development and utilization of atomic

energy for peaceful purposes to the maximum extent

consistent with the common defense and security and

with the health and safety of the public:

- * - x

42 U.S.C. § 2014(e):

The term “byproduct material” means any radio-

activ? material (except special nuclear material)

yielded in or made radioactive by exposure to the

radiation incident to the process of producing or

utilizing special nuclear material.

42 U.S.C. § 2111:

No person may transfer or receive in interstate

commerce, manufacture. produce, transfer, acquire.

OWN, possess, import. or export any byproduct mate-

rial, except to the extent authorized by this section or

by section 82 [42 U.S.C. § 2112]. The Commission

is authorized to issue general or specific licenses to

applicants seeking to use byproduct material for

research or development purpvses. for medical ther-

apy, industrial uses, agricultural uses, or such other

useful applications as may be developed. The Com-

mission may distribute. sell. loan. or lease such

byproduct material as it owns to qualified applicants

with or without charge: Provided, however, That. for

byproduct material to be distributed by the Commis-

sion for a charge. the Commission shall establish

prices on such equitable basis as. in the opinion of the

Commission. (a) will provide reasonable com-

32a

pensation to the Government for such material, (b)

will not discourage the use of such material or the

development of sources of supply of such material

independent of the Commission, and (c) will encour-

age research and development. In distributing such

material, the Commission shall give preference to

applicants proposing to use such material either in

the conduct of research and development or in

medical therapy. The Commission shall not permit

the distribution of any byproduct material to any

licensee, and shall- recall or order the recall of any

distributed material from any licensee, who is not

equipped to observe or who fails to observe such

safety standards to protect health as may be estab-

lished by the Commission or who uses such matenal

in violation of law or regulation of the Commission or

in a manner other than as disclosed in the applica-

tion therefor or approved by the Commission. The

Commission is authorized to establish classes of

byproduct material and to exempt certain classes or

quantities of material or kinds of uses or users from

the requirements for a license set forth in this section

when it makes a finding that the exemption of such

classes or quantities of such material or such kinds of

uses or users will not constitute an unreasonable risk

to the common defense and security and to the health

and safety of the public.

42 U.S.C. § 2282(a):

(a) Any person who (1) violates any licensing

provision of section 53, 57, 62, 63, 81, 82, 101, 103,

104, 107, or 109 [42 U.S.C. §§ 2073, 2077, 2092,

2093, 2111, 2112. 2131, 2133, 2134, 2137, 2139] or

any rule. regulation. or order issued thereunder, or

any term, condition, or limitation of any license

issued thereunder, or (2) commits any violation for

which a license ray be revoked under section 186

(42 U.S.C. § 2236], shall be subject to a civil penalty,

to be imposed by the Commission, of not to exceed

$100,000 for each such violation.

33a

APPENDIX E

The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission has promul-

gated regulations that establish limitations on permissible ex-

posures to radiation for the general public. These regulations

provide in relevant part:

10 C.F.R. § 20.105:

(a) There may be included in any application

for a license or for amendment of a license proposed

limits upon levels of radiation in unrestricted areas

resulting from the applicant’s possession or use of

radioactive material and other sources of radiation.

Such applications should include information as to

anticipated average radiation levels and anticipated

occupancy times for each unrestricted area involved.

The Commission will approve the proposed limits if

the applicant demonstrates that the proposed limits

are not likely to cause any individual to receive a

dose to the whole body in any period of one calendar

year in excess of 0.5 rem.

(b) Except as authorized by the Commission

pursuant to paragraph (a) of this section, no licensee

shall possess, use or transfer licensed materia! in such

a manner as to create in any unrestricted area from

radioactive material and other sources of radiation in

his possession:

(1) Radiation levels which, if an individual

were continuously present in the area. could

result in his receiving a dose in excess of two

millirems in any one hour, or

(2) Radiation levels which. if an individual

were continuously present in the area. could

result in his receiving a dose in excess of 100

millirems in any seven consecutive days.

34a

(c) In addition to other requirements of this

part, licensees engaged in uranium fuel cycie oper-

ations subject to the provisions of 40 CFR Part 190,

“Environmental Radiation Protection Standards for

Nuclear Power Operations,” shall comply with that

part.

10 C.F.R. § 20.106:

(a) A licensee shall not possess, use, or transfer

licensed material so as to release to an unrestricted

area radioactive material in concentrations which

exceed the limits specified in Appendix B, Table II of

this part, except as authorized pursuant to § 20.302 or

paragraph (b) of this section. For purposes of this

section concentrations may be averaged over a period

not greater than one year.

(b) An application for a license or amendment

may include proposed limits higher than those speci-

fied in paragraph (a) of this section. The Commis-

sion will approve the proposed limits if the applicant

demonstrates:

(1) That the applicant has made a reason-

able effort to minimize the radioactivity con-

tained in effluents to unrestricted areas; and

(2) That it is not likely that radioactive

material discharged in the effluent would result

in the exposure of an individual to concentra-

tions of radioactive material in air or water

exceeding the limits specified in Appendix B,

Table II of this part.

(c) An application for higher limits pursuant to

paragraph (b) of this section shall include informa-

tion demonstrating that the applicant has made a

reasonable effort to minimize the radioactivity dis-

charged in effluents to unrestricted areas, and shall

include, as pertinent:

(1) Information as to flow rates, total

volume of effluent. peak concentration of each

35a

radionuclide in the effluent. and concentration of

each radionuclide in the effluent averaged over a

period of one year at the point where the

effluent leaves a stack, tube, pipe. or similar

conduit;

(2) A description of the properties of the

effluents, including:

(1) Chemical composition:

(ii) Physical characteristics, including

suspended solids content in liquid effluents,

and nature of gas or aerosol for air

effluents:

(iii) The hydrogen ion concentration

(pH) of liquid effluents: and

(iv) The size range of particulates in

effluents released into air.

(3) A description of the anticipated human

occupancy in the unrestricted area where the

highest concentration of radioactive material

from the effluent is expected, and, in the case of

a river or stream, a description of water uses

downstream from the point of release of the

effluent.

(4) Information as to the highest concen-

tration of each radionuclide in an unrestricted

area, including anticipated concentrations aver-

aged over a period of one year:

(1) Im air at ary point of human

occupancy; or

(1) In water at points of use down-

Stream from the point of release of the

effluent.

(5) The background concentration of ra-

dionuclides in the receiving river or stream prior

to the release of liquid effluent.

(6) A description of the environmental

monitoring equipment. including sensitivity of

36a

the system, and procedures and calculations to

determine concentrations of radionuclides in the

unrestricted area and possible reconcentrations

of radionuclides.

(7) A description of the waste treatment

facilities and procedures used to reduce the

concentration of radionuclides in effluents pnor

to their release.

(d) For the purposes of this section the concen-

tration limits in Appendix B, Table II of this part

shall apply at the boundary of the restricted area.

The concentration of radioactive material discharged

through a stack, pipe or similar conduit may be

determined with respect to the point where the

material leaves the conduit. If the conduit discharges

within the restricted area. the concentration at the

boundary may be determined by applying appropn-

ate factors for dilution, dispersion, or decay between

the point of discharge and the boundary.

(e) In addition to limiting concentrations in

effluent streams, the Commission may limit quantities

of radioactive materials released in air or water

during a specified perod of time if it appears that the

daily intake of radioactive materia! from air, water,

or food by a suitable sample of an exposed popu-

lation group, averaged over a period not exceeding

one year, would otherwise exceed the daily intake

resulting from continuous exposure to air or water

containing one-third the concentration of radioactive

materials specified in Appendix B, Table II of this

part.

(f) The provisions of paragraphs (a) through

(e) of this section do not apply to disposal of

radioactive material into sanitary sewerage systems,

which is governed by § 20.303.

(g) In addition to other requirements of this

part, licensees engaged in uranium fuel cycle oper-

ations subject to the provisions of 40 CFR Part 190,

“Environmental Radiation Protection Standard for

Nuclear Power Operations.” shall comply with that

part.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.