Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Hubble v. Pennsylvania

Supreme Court brief1986

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

)

4

NS

_

d

Vaz

|

|

ee) :

'

> |

SS

Ww

—— ae

IN SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED a |

OCTOBER TEKM, 1985 NUMBER

DAVID E. HUBBLE,

Petitioner

vs.

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA,

Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

~~ SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

By¥:/ <4 Ly

Robert B.

lion

Attorney for Petitione:

1.0.# 21030

4 West Fourth Street

Williamsport, PA 17/01

(717) 326-2443

OT

¢ ¢

J 5

£

y rday

+ /

j ,U (ey

ipreme Cour

a |

r y 2 }

W! tn

+ t r) ba

j 4

\ L

2

> Wil

>

r a

y ¥ d A

‘ r

¥

>

‘

}

‘ hor

. ve t e

; - 2

/ be 5 it

+ | ¥ r

iF | J }

j 1 F

0

Q

oY

,ee

mw

+

ner ti

WT

r

«<

“ty

t

~

~

~

5

wall

ione

nae WO |

~

-itioner

1)

>

respect-

y XL

Certiorari

t of the

—

oO

ED

ifth and

to be free

ination was

was the suD-

tion oy the

egarding a

re Petitioner

to counse}

ating state-

ce trooper

ne did not

1d be willing

and where

WY

~~

0

ct

(

m

QO

n

,eF)

7

4g =

ct

ne

+ c r

nore a | a"

> + + rm

T A eo Q

cLner »>tLAal -

Yr >

+c

Le

Cu

5 |

Ww

n

me

7

ie

_~

oF)

rogatior

£

r }

>

-

TABLE OF CITATIONS

a BOG 6

r SS N J N J B E L 0 n oe eve @ . “eee *eeseeeee. l

RISDICTION , : ,oe ee we . 1

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

[ N ae L V E D . *ee *e . . . ee 2

\TEMENT OF THE CASE .... jveve S

ASONS RELIED ON FOR

in ero - 1 T 4

eeeeeece Grothe WRIT wecenssvdenshth

N 4 S [ 8, N *ee senses ae a oe ee oe oe 3 2

Jf The Supreme Court -~

Sylvania, Together With

concurring And Disssenting

| Ss, Dated January 16, 1986

™

U0

PENDI X

Opinion Of The Superior Court

f Pennsylvania, Dated July i5, 1983

APPENDIX C

Opinion Of The Court Of Common Pleas

Of Lebanon County, en banc, Dated

October a. 1980

APPENDIX D

The Order Of Judgment Of The

Supreme Court Of Pennsylvania

ny

Dated January 16, 1986

Fifth Amendment to the United

tated Ceaeet tection -is ose wees 2

t Amendment to the United

Patee COasertetetten ic swu ss ae 2

rteenth Amendment to the

ted States Constitution ..2

ee ® ; ection 125/7(3) l

3rown v. I inios, 422 U.S

59 POd Gs + cate 6 6 aee ea eee 2/7

iwards vs. Arizona,

AS 1 S$. 477 (1981) a, Poy Ye

5 ae

LF. 20%

e v. Michael, 442 U.S.

Ps £18 AUS e? wetiencess 15

ichigan v. Mosley, 423 U.S.

9G UTSIS) eens eaeees ene 14

Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S.

S36 CI9OG) - pewesewees | oe 5

‘Oo, 9

regon v. Bradshaw, 462 U.S

1039, (ISOS) sxtavcke een za

regon v. Elstad, = ven

105 S.Ct. T2659 (leer essen 28, 29

iS,

Rhode Island v.

“U.S. 491, 498

Commonwealth V.

Pa.

25 Eastern

Appeal Doc

16, 1986 ,

Commonweaith v.

Hudbie,

We

District

ket, January

Hubble,

318 Pa. Su

A. 2d 1236

per. 76, 464,

[39Ga? «awe en

OPINIONS BELOW

The Opinion of the Supreme Court of

Pennsylvania is not reported. The

Opinion of the Superior Court of

Pennsylvania is reported at 318 Pa.

Super. 76, 464 A.2d 1236 (1983). The

Opinion cf the Honorable Judge Walter

for the Court of Common Pleas of Lebanon

County en banc, is reported at 19 Leb.

Lew. 102 (1960).

JURISDICTION

The Judgment of the Supreme Court

of Pennsylvania reversing the Order of

the Superior Court of Pennsylvania was

entered on January 16, 1986.

The jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked under 28 U.S.C. Section 1257(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fifth Amendment to the United

States Constitution provides in per-

tinent part that "no person... shal]

be compelled in any criminal’case to be

a witness against himself, nor be

deprived of life, liberty, or property,

without due process cf law

The Sixth Amendment to the United

States Constitution provides that "in

all criminal prosecutions, the accused

Shall enjoy the right .. . to have the

Assistance of Counsel for his defense."

The Fourteenth Amendment to the

United States Constitution provides in

pertinent part that "no state shal]

make or enforce any law which shall

a 5

“ivileges and immunities of

the United States; nor shall

>prive any person of life,

property, without due pro-

Ca

The present Petition is from the

Order of the Supreme Court of

Pennsylvania of January 16, 1986,

reversing the Order of the Superior

Court of Pennsylvania of July 15, 1983,

in which the Superior Court granted the

res

“

Petitioner a new trial. A complete

accurate summary of the facts pertinent

to the issue at bar is contained in th

Opinion of the Superior Court of

Pennsylvania, attached hereto as

Appendix “B". In compliance with Ru

21.1(G), a brief summary of those fact

is set forth herein.

On August 5, 1976, Claire Kepner

and her two children were robbed and

r

murdered in her Muncy, Lycoming County

+

home. An extensive investigation by

Pennsylvania State Police, which

a

11)

n

» 7

f

co

c?

m&

n

ues

cn

10

ct?

the use of hypnosis and sodium

analysis of potential witnesses,

c

n

n

e

re

1

State Police to suspect

r of involvyment in the crime.

/, 1977, Petitioner was

d and subjected to a poloygraph

on by the State Police.

r was again questioned by the

lice on several dates in early

J. On July 12, 1977, Troopers

hester J. Zaremba,

ing. Petitioner was subjected

volved in the killings.

n"

ond polygraph examination.

polygraph, Trooper Shimko

Petitioner's wife, who was in a

room, that Petitioner was pro-

Shimko

Petitioner's wife to assist

getting information from

x

Petitioner.

Shimko returned to the room in

which Petitioner was located, accom-

panied by Petitioner's wife. Shimko

continued questioning Petitioner unti]

approximately 2:00 p.m., at which point

Shimko became angry, stated that he knew

Petitioner was involved in the crime and

was lying, and stormed out of the room.

Shimko returned approximately fifteen

minutes later, apologized, and resumed

questioning. Shimko requested that

Petitioner give a taped statement

regarding inculpatory statements made Dy

Petitioner's brother, Robert Hubble.

Petitioner's wife spoke before

Petitioner answered, suggesting to

Petitioner that he obtain a lawyer

hefore giving any more statements.

Petitioner then requested a lawyer.

Shimko advised Petitioner that Shimko

ee

did not believe that a public defender

would talk to Petitioner, because

Petitioner was not yet charged with a

crime. After an unsuccessful attempt to

contact a public defender, a brief

telephone conversation with his proba-

tion office, and a brief conversation

with his wife, Petitioner agreed to make

a taped statement regarding inculpatory

Statements made by his brother, Robert

Hubble. After Petitioner's first taped

Statement, Shimko told Petitioner's wife

privately, and later Petitioner, that

Shimko believed Petitioner participated

in the murders. Petitioner requested

and received permission to speak priva-

tely to his wife. Over the next hour,

Petitioner and his wife conferred;

periodically interrupted by Shimko and

Sergeant Peterson entering the room to

Speak to them. Finally, Peterson

entered the room and stated "Now Dave,

were you or weren't you in the house?".,

Petitioner broke down, admitted that

he was present, and gave a taped,

inculpatory statement. On the following

day, Petitioner telephoned Shimko to

advise him that his statements on the

12th were a lie. Petitioner went to the

barracks to retract his initial

Statement but, when confronted by the

State Police, confirmed his statements

on the 12th.

Thereafter, Petitioner was

arrested and charged with three counts

of homicide. He filed a timely motion

to suppress the statements of July 12th

and July 13th, 1977, alleging that the

Statements were unconstitutional ly

obtained. A hearing on Petitioner's

4s

motion was had on November 11, 1977,

before the Honorable John A. Walter of

Ww

the Court of Common Pleas of Lebanon

County (a motion for a change of yore

was granted due to pervasive pre-trial

publicity in Lycoming County).

Petitioner's motion to supress the sta-

-ements was denied, Petitioner was

tried, and convicted. Petitioner filed

timely post-verdict motions challenging

the admissibility of the statements of

July 12th and July 13, 19773; which

motions were denied by the Court en banc

in an Opinion attached hereto as

Appendix "C",

Petitioner appealed to the Superior

Court of Pennsylvania. In an Opinion

filed July 15, 1983, the Superior Court

held that the case was controlled by the

decision of this Court in Edwards vs.

Arizona, 451 U.S. 477 (1981), and that

ae

Petitioner's first taped statement on

July 12, 1977 was cbtained by the State

Police in violation of Petitioner's

constitutional right to the assistance

of counsel during questioning.

The Commonwealth's Petition for

allowance of appeal to the Supreme Court

of Pennsylvania was subsequently

granted. By Opinion and Order of

January 16, 1986, attached hereto as

Appendixes "A" and "D", the Supreme

Court of Pennsylvania reversed and

remanded. The Opinion announcing the

judgment of the Court was authored by

Justice Rolf Larsen, with two justices

joining. Justice Flaherty filed 4 con-

curring Opinion, Justice Nix a con-

curring and dissenting Opinion, and

Justices Hutchinson and Zappala separate

dissenting Opinions.

-10-

REASONS RELIED ON FOR THE ALLOWANCE OF

THE WRIT

The Opinion of the Supreme Court of

Pennsylvania filed January 16, 1986, is

in direct conflict with this Court's

holding in Edwards V. Arizona, 451 U.S.

477 (1981). If this decision of the

Supreme Court of Pennsylvania is per-

mitted to stand, Edwards will be a

nullity in the Commonwealth of

Pennsylvania, and Pennsyivania law

enforcement officers will be encouraged

to continue custodial interrogation

after the accused has asserted the right

to speak to counsel.

A brief review of the facts in

Edwards is appropriate, since the police

misconduct in that matter is less egre-

gious than in the matter at bar. Ih

Edwards, the defendant made a taped

et ee

statement presenting an alibi defense,

and then sought to “make a deal". After

an aborted attempt to contact a county

attorney, the defendant stated, "I want

an attorney before making a deal".

Police properly ceased questioning, and

took Edwards to the county jail. On the

following morning, Edwards was

approached by two detectives who iden-

tified themselves, stated that they

wanted to speak to the defendant, and

informed him of his Miranda rights. The

defendant listened to the taped state-

ment of an alleged accomplice, and then

made a statement implicating himself in

the crime.

Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966) for the

proposition that an accused has a Fifth

and Fourteenth Amendment right to have

aif.

counsel present during custodial

interrogation. Edwards v. Arizona, 451

J.S. 477, 482 (1981). This Court care-

fully examined the reasoning of the

Arizona Supreme Court below, and noted

that the Arizona Court applied an erro-

neous standard for determining an effec-

tive waiver where the accused has

invoked his right to counsel. The

Arizona Court found the defendant's

Statement voluntary, but failed to care-

fully consider whether the defendant

understood his right to counsel and

intelligently and knowingly relinquished

it. In order to ensure that a workable

Standard be employed to test the volun-

tariness of the defendant's assertion of

his right to counsel, this Court

announced that:

when an accused has invoked his

right to have counsel present

during custodial interrogation,

wae

a valid waiver of that right

cannot be established by show-

ing only that he responded to

further police-initiated custo-

dial interrogation even if he

has been advised of his rights.

We further hold that an accused,

such as Edwards, having expres-

sed his desire to deal with the

police only through counsel, is

not subject to further interro-

gation by the authorities until

counsel has been available to

him, unless the accused himself

initiates further communication,

exchanges, or conversatioi.3s with

the police.

451 U.S. at 484-485.

This Court went on to explain that

the right of an accused to be free of

custodial interrogation after asserting

the right to counsel is a matter of

constitutional dimension. The Court

cited Michigan V. Mosley, 423 U.S. 96

(1975) for the proposition that the

procedural safeguards triggered by a

request to remain silent and a request

=. =

for an attorney. This Court referred

to Miranda's "rigid rule that an accu-

sed's request for an attorney is per se

an invocation of his Fifth Amendment

rights," and to the accused's

“undisputed right under Miranda to

remain silent and to be free of interro-

gation until he had consulted with a

lawyer." Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S.

477, 485, citing Fare v. Michael, 442

U.S. 707, 718 (1979) and Rhode Island

v. Innis, 446 U.S. 491, 498 (1980).

At the conclusion of the

discussion, the

jira

dwards Court stated:

we reaffirm these views and, to

lend them substance, emphasize

that it is inconsistent with

Miranda and its progeny for the

authorities, at their insistence,

to reinterrogate an accused in

custody if he has clearly assert-

ed his right to counsel.

451 U.S. at 485.

58s

In a strained attempt to

distinguish Edwards, the Supreme Court

of Pennsylvania cites at length the

recent decision of this Court in Smith

V. Illinois, U.S. , 105 $.Ct. 490

(1984). Petitioner is constrained to

agree with Justice Hutchinson writing in

dissent, that the majority turns Smith

on its head. In Smith, the defendant

requested the assistance of counsel, but

also made some indication of his

willingness to speak to the police.

After some conversation, the defendant

made an inculpatory statement. He then

reasserted his right to counsel, and

questioning ceased. He unsuccessfully

attempted to suppress his statement fre-

vidence at trial, was convicted, and

appealed. The Illinois Supreme Court

affirmed his conviction, noted his ambi-

guous statements after his assertion of

-16-

his right to counsel, and concluded that a

his request for counsel was "ambiguous".

This Court reversed stating that:

we hold only that, under the

clear logical force of set-

tled precedent, an accused's |

post request responses to r

further interrogation may

not be used to cast retro-

Spective doubt on the

clarity of the initial re-

quest itself. Such sub-

Sequent statements are

relevant only to the dis-

tinct question of waiver.

505 $.Ct. at 893.

The Smith Court noted that the

rigid prophylactic rule of Edwards v.

Arizona embodies a two-prong test.

First, it must be determined whether the

accused asserted his right to counsel.

if so, his responses to further

questioning are inadmissible unless he

(a) initiated further discussions with

the police, and (b) knowingly and

elfe

intelligently waived the right he had

invoked. Smith v. Illinois,

U.3. , 105 $.Ct. 490, 493 (1984).

This Court's rational for keeping

the first and second inquiries separate

is particularly compelling.

In the absence of such a bright

line prohibition, the authori-

ties, through ‘badgering'’ or

‘overreaching’ - explicit or

subtle, deliberate or uninten-

tional - might otherwise wear

down the accused and persuade

him to incriminate himself not-

withstanding his earlier request

for counsel's assistance.

(Citations deleted)

105 S.Ct. at 494-495.

In the Opinion attached hereto as

Appendix B, the Superior Court of

Pennsylvania sets forth at Pages 13-16,

the testimony of Trooper Shimko of the

Pennsylvania State Police regarding

+

petitioner's assertion of his right to

~18-

n

r(

~V

nr

r

f

unsel. In the interest of brevity,

e testimony will be merely summarized.

etitioner's wife turned to petitioner

d said, “Dave, I think you better get

lawyer.” The petitioner responded, "|

ut

nt a lawyer. Later, the petitioner

id, “I want a public defender." The

oper advised petitioner, “you can

—

whoever you want to call. I do not

lieve a public defender will come out

talk to you because you were not

rested." Petitioner responded, "I

ant to call Mr. Felix." Petitioner

tempted to contact Attorney Felix, but

unsuccessful. Petitioner telephoned

y)

Probation Officer, spoke to him,

~

¥

—

oke again to his wife, and then made

he first taped statement to the State

Despite the c r invocation of

petitioner's right to counsel, the

Pennsylvania Supreme Court concluded

that:

- « « the record does not es-

tablish that appellee ‘clear-

ly and unequivocally invoked

his right to counsel’ so as

to trigger Edwards’ prophy-

lactic prohibition.”

Commonwealth v. Hubble, _

Pa. _, Opinion announcing

the Judgment of the Court,

January 16, 1986, Appendix A

attached hereto, at Page 8.

This conclusion by the Pennsylvania

Supreme Court not only defies logic, but

is in shocking contrast to the conclu-

sion of the Superior Court of

Pennsylvania that:

The record in this case estab-

lishes beyond peradventure of a

doubt that appellant had clear-

ly and unequivocally invoked

his right to counsel and after

he had attempted, unsuccessful-

ly, to reach counsel by tele-

phone, he was questioned further

by Trooper Shimko. That he had

o%0-

responded to such police-

initiated questioning does not

establish a waiver of the right

to counsel previously invoked.

Commonweaith v. Hubble, 318

Pa. Super 76, 89, 464 A.2d

1236, 1242-1243 (1983).

Petitioner can fashion no better

language to illustrate the flawed

reasoning of the majority of the

Pennsylvania Supreme Court below than

the language chosen by Justice

Hutchinson in dissent.

I agree that this case is

controlled by Smith. However,

its analysis of that case

seems to me to stand Smith on

its head. Here appellee

clearly indicated that he

wanted the assistance of coun-

sel before he gave his state-

ment. Even if the subsequent

circumstances set out in the

opinion announcing the

judgment of the Court show an

ambiguity in his request

instead of his reliance on the

police's statement that the

public defender could not help

him because he was not in

custody, they are post-request

ee ee

irrelevancies on the issue of

ambiguity, according to the

teaching of the United States

Supreme Court in Smith. Using

them to cast doubt upon

appellee's initial request for

counsel is against both the

Spirit and letter of Smith.

Commonwealth v. Hubble

Pa. __, Dissenting Opinion

of Justice Hutchinson, January

16, 1986, Appendix “A”

attached hereto, at page 5.

Petitioner respectfully requests

this Court issue a Writ of Certiorari to

the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania to

correct that Court's misapplication of

this Court's holdings in Edwards v.

Arizona, 451 U.S. 477 (1981), and Smith

v. Illinois, U.S. » 190. 3:68;

490 (1984), thereby restoring the vita-

lity of those decisions in the

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

After an eight-page strained ex-

planation of its position that this

ots

matter is not controlled by Edwards, the

Pennsylvania Supreme Court states at

Page 16 of its Slip Opinion that:

even if Edwards applies, ‘Sup-

pression of Appellee's confes-

Sions would still be unwarrant- 4

ed because, under the circum-

Stances, Appellee (1) initiated

(further communication, ex-

changes, or conversations with

the police] and (2) knowingly

and intelligently waived the

right to counsel.'

Commonwea!th v. Hubble,

Pa. , Opinion announcing

the Judgment of the Court,

January 16, 1986, Appendix A

attached hereto, at Page 20.

The Supreme Court cites as

authority for this alternate position

the recent decision of this Court in

Oregon v. Bradshaw, 462 U.S. 1039

(1983). What the Supreme Court of

Pennsylvania altogether ignores is that

in Oregon v. Bradshaw, when the defen-

dant asserted his right to counsel

before further questioning, questioning

-/ 3-«

ceased. Later the defendant reini-

tiated the conversation, was advised by

the police officer “you do not have to

talk to me", said he understood and con-

tinued in a discussion in the course of

which the defendant agreed to take a

polygraph examination. That factual

setting, wherein the defendant himself

approached the officer to reinitiate the

discussion, is altogether unlike the

facts in the matter at bar. Here,

Trooper Shimko never ceased his interro-

gation of the petitioner, through peti-

toner's assertion of his right to

counsel, and various private discussions

with his wife. As the Superior Court

recognized, State Police troopers

entered the room several times while

petitioner was attempting to have 4 pri-

vate discussion with his wife. Finally,

Sergeant Peterson stated, “Now Dave,

«Phe

were you or weren't you in a house?" I[t

was at that point that the petitioner

broke, admitted he was present, and gave

his second taped statement. It is clear

beyond question that Petitioner did not

"“reinitiate"” contact with the State

Police, since the State Police interro-

gation simply never ceased. Exactly

that conclusion was reached by Justice

Hutchinson in dissent:

Appellee's request to speak

with his wife was not an

initiation of further

communication with police.

A request to speak to one's

Spouse, albeit in a police

Station, is not an initiation

of a commumication with the

police which they have an

opinion to‘convert into a

knowing, voluntary and

intelligent waiver of

Anppellee's Fifth Amendment

Right to counsel

Appellee did not speak to the

police, he asked to speak to

his wife. The police

interrupted them and

directly interrogated him

in the absence of counsel,

after counsel was requested.

ee

Appellee's confession followed

direct questioning subsequent

to his clear invocation of

his right to counsel. Under

Miranda, if appellee was in

fact in custody, under the

Beckwith standards, all

interrogation must cease after

that invocation.

Commonwealth_v. Hubble

Pa. , Dissenting Opinion

of Justice Hutchinson, January

16, 1986, Appendix "A"

attached hereto, at pages /-8.

Thus, since Petitioner asserted his

right to counsel, and never reinitiated

conversation with the State Police,

(since interrogation by the State Police

never ceased), Petitioner's first taped

Statement was obtained by the

Pennsylvania State Police in violation

of Petitioner's constitutional right to

have counsel present during questioning.

In a last ditch effort to affirm

Petitioner's conviction, the

Pennsy!vania Supreme Court stated that,

even if Petitioner's first taped state-

-26-

ment was unconstitutionally obtained,

its introduction into evidence at trial

was harmless error given the existence

of the second taped statement on July

i2, 1977, and Petitioner's statement on

July 13, 1977. In the course of this

analysis, however, the Pennsylvania

Supreme Court either overlooks or

ignores the plain fact that Petitioner's

second statement on July 12th and state-

ment on July 13th were direct fruits of

the first illegally obtained statement

on July 12th. Since the second and

third statements were obtained by the

State Police through exploitation of the

initially illegally obtained statement,

they too are subject to Suppression pur-

suant to the doctrine fashioned by this

Court in Wong Sun v. United States, 3/71

U.S. 471 (1963), and further defined in

Brown v. Illinios, 422 U.S. 590 (1985).

«27s

The Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

bases its "harmless error" conclusion in

the decision of this Court in Oregon v.

Elstad, - , 105 S.Ct. 1285

(1985). Unfortunately, the Pennsylvania

Supreme Court completely misses the

rationale of Elstad. In that decision,

this Court held that an initial state-

ment of the accused in custodial

interrogation without the benefit of

Miranda will be inadmissible, but will

not taint a subsequent statement made by

the accused with the benefit of Miranda.

This Court explained in Elstad that the

rationale is grounded upon the fact that

the Miranda warnings are not a matter of

constitutional protection. In the case

at bar, Petitioner was denied his

constitutional right to counsel during

questioning. Two subsequent statenents

were received by the State Police by the

= 28.

exploitation of the initial constitu-

tional illegality. Justice O'Connor's

rationale in Elstad clearly makes a

distinction between the non-

constitutional Miranda violation, and a

constitutional deprivation such as that

Suffered by petitioner.

If errors are made by law en-

forcement officers in admin-

instering the prophylactic

Miranda prodecures, they

should not breed the same

irremedial consequences as

police infringement of the

Fifth Amendment itself.

105 S.Ct. at ics.

The plain fact of the matter is

that Petitioner was subject to custodial

interrogation by the Pennsylvania State

Police which was continued in spite of

Petitioner's request for the assistance

of counsel. Petitioner was eventually

talked into making a taped statement.

After his first statement, it was

7.

Suggested to Petitioner that he was

being untruthful. After several private

conferences with his wife, interrupted

by intermittent State Police

questioning, Petitioner was confronted

by Sergeant Peterson. Petitioner

admitted that he was in the house, and

brake down. Thereafter he gave a second

taped statement, clearly a fruit of the

first. On the following day, he con-

tacted the State Police to retract his

first and second statements. He arrived

at the State Police barracks, was

confronted by the State Police, and

reaffirmed rather than retracted the

first two statements. One must bend

logic to the breaking point to arrive at

any conclusion other than the first sta-

tement was illegal and the second and

third statements were fruits of the

a. 2

first. Under these facts, none of

Petitioner's three statements pass

onstitutional muster,

eo

CONCLUSION

Since petitioner's initial July

1977 statement was obtained by the

Pennsylvania State Police by cont

custodial interrogation after he

asserted his right to counsel, and

petitioner's two subsequent staten

were procured by the State Police

through the exploitation of the inita

illegally obtained statement, petit

is entitled to the new trial granted

him by the Superior Court of

Pennsylvania in its Order of July 15,

1983.

Respectfully submitted,

FISHER, RICE BARVETT,

ELION & WAYNE,ZP. C.x

p 4

By: <i -x¥ 7/7

4 West 4th Robert B.- Elion

Street ff,

Williamsport y

PA 17701 A PO ba

(717) 326-2443 By: 7,7 wie “i

William P. Carluc:

~ 32.

I, ROBERT B. ELION, ESQUIRE, attor-

ney for Petitioner, David E. Hubble,

hereby certify that two (2) copies of

the within Petition For A Writ Of

Certiorari and Appendices were served

upon Brett 0. Feese, Esquire, Lycoming

County District Attorney on Monday,

March 24, 1986 by personal service.

fh

fr

L )

Robert 87 F ~<a re

Attorney for Petitioner

Appenoix “A"

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

EASTERN DIVISION

COMMONWEALTH OF ; ms. eo

PENNSYLVANIA, > EASTERN DISTRICT

Appellant : APPEAL DOCKET,1984

APPEAL FROM

JUDGMENT OF

SUPERIOR COURT

OF PENNSYLVANIA

> AT NO. 144,

Ve : PHILADELPHIA,1981,

: DATED

JULY 15, 1983

318 PA. SUPER. CT.

76, 464 A.2d 1236

(1983)

DAVID £. HUBBLE, : ARGUED:

Appellee : DECEMBER 7, 1984

OPINION ANNOUNCING THE JUDGMENT

OF THE COURT

JUSTICE ROLF LARSEN*

FILED: January 16, 1986

We granted the Commonwealth's peti-

ce ee ee ae

*This case was reassigned to this author

on September 15, 1985.

_1-4A

>

,

i

rr

“

/

TA

La

A ux

Ay

e

£

: .

;

j

My

1 ¢

“Nn

neg

yeno

yne

ey)

a

+

4

a

_

4

e (

iw

J

2

4

“

,

nn

vie

dis

'_

nN

vv

with a knife.l These three homicides

engerdered an intensive investigation by

the Pennsylvania State Police which

culminated with the arrests of David

lee, as well as his brother,

Hubble, appe

Robert K. Hubble, and Milton

Rppellee was first interviewed by

tate troopers regarding the homicides

April of 1977 and then on several

casions in July. The events

+, The macabre happenings of this

nultiple homicide are set forth more

fully in Commonwealth v. Robert Kelsey —

pee —— Pa. Super.

-2d 784 (1983) and Commonwealth v._

Scarborough, Pa. Super. » 460

A.2d 310 ( 1983) and need not be repeated

herein, in these cases, the convictions

of appellee's co-defendants, who were

separately tried, were affirmed by the

Superior Court. This Court denied co-

defendants’ petitions for allowance of

appeal on October 12, 1983.

3A

LA

ee

rr

e

()

Ww

oF

-

+

pa

lA

4a

+ r

4

2

AM

aA

3 ¢

+

ri

r

VU

pp

e

o

»/

n

\)

e

»/

oe"

UD

,/

A

,

ra

7 U

4

J

na

¥

y

J

<

=)

a

Ce

> 2

+

4

e

ie"

that they wished to speak with each

»9ther and were given an opportunity to

SO. At approximately 5:45 p.m.,

ee gave a second taped statement

to the police, this time inculpating

nself in the homicides. Appellee and

_ +

wife were then returned to their

7

The following day, appellee

telephoned Trooper Shimko and informed

m that everything he had told Shimko

the previous day was a lie. However,

ipon voluntarily returning to the

yJarracks with his wife on July 13th,

appellee admitted that nis July 12th

onfession had been truthful and he

>sentially reitereated that confession.

Prior to each statement, and on several

>. SA

mot?

city

co-d

H ¢

-

r

.

e%

a

nN

oF

G

r

nN

n

n

Nn

n"

U JU

vised

} a

> r

> U

2

& "Aids

ot es

a 7 1

f a ag

o wa

r, +

> j

den } [@)

>

LA

degree. Appellee filed post-verdict

motions which were denied by the court

en bDanc. In his opinion for the court

en banc, Judge Walter stated:

Defendant first contends

that the Court erred in

failing to grant his motion to

Suppress incriminating state-

ments taken from him by the

police. Specifically, defen-

dant alleges that on July 12,

1977, he was subject to custo-

dial interrogation calculated

to evoke admissions without

being adequately informed of

his right to counsel and in

the absence of an intelligent,

informed waiver of such right.

a.

We must first determine

whether or not defendant was

Subject to custodial interro-

gation on July 12, 1977. The

test for determining whether a

person is in custody for

Miranda purposes is whether he

"..- 18 physically deprived of

his freedom in any significant

way or is placed in a

Situation in which he reaso-

nably believes that his

freedom of action or movement

is restricted by such

interrogation .”

so 7A

comme oe alth v. Romberger, 454

19, 263, “312 A.2d 353,

355 a 973). (footnote omitted)

Slip opinion of court en banc at l-

Because appellee had been subjected

to a polygraph examination and to inter-

mittent questioning over an eight hour

period by Pennsylvania State Police

officers at the police barracks on July

12, 1977, the court en banc concluded

that appellee had been in custody. That

v. Brown, 4/73 Pa. 562, 375 A.2d 1260

(1977) to support its view that a reaso-

nable person in appellee's situation

would have “perceived the restraint of

his freedom." Id.

Having determined that appellee had

been in custody, the court then examined

the nature of the questions and state-

ments posed to him by various state

9A

,

troopers, determined that appellee had

been "subject to police conduct calcu-

lated to or likely to evoke admissions,"

and held that appellee had been subject

to interrogation. Id. at 3-5, citing

Commonwealth v. Simala, 434 Pa. 291, 252

Yount, 455 Pa. 303, 314 A.2d 242 (1974).

Thus the court held that appellee had

Deen subjected to "custodial interroga-

tion" for Miranda purposes.

The court further found that

appellee had been adequately advised of

voluntarily and intelligently waived his

right to remain silent and to have coun-

Sel present during questioning, and

that, considering the "totality of the

circumstances," his confession was the

“product of a ‘free and unconstrained

choice.'" Id. at 5-9. Accordingly, the

-3- OA

court en banc affirmed the denial of

appellee's motions as well. Appellee

appealed that denial to the Superior

Court, which reversed and remanded for a

new trial.

Initially, the Superior Court

identified that appropriate standards of

appellate review of a Suppression

court's rulings:

On review, our respon-

sibility is ‘to determine

whether the record supports

the factual findings of the

court below and the legitimacy

of the inferences and legal

conclusions drawn from those

findings.' Commonwealth vs.

Goodwin, 460 Pa. 516, 521, 333

A.2d 892, 895 (1975).

"If the suppression court

has determined that the evi-

dence is admissiodle, ‘this

Court will consider only the

evidence of the prosecution's

witnesses and so much of the

evidence for the defense as,

fairly read in the context of

the record as a whole, remains

uncontradicted.' Commonwealth

v. Kichline, 468 Pa. 264, 280,

-10- sear

361 A.2d 282, 250 (1976); see

Culombe v. Connecticut, 36/7

U.S. 568, 604, 81 S.Ct. 1860,

1878, 6 L.Ed.2d 1037 (1961)

(Opinion of Frankfurter, J.)"

Commonwealth v. Brown, 473 Pa.

562, 566, 375 A.2d 1260, 1262

(1977).

464 A.2d at 1237. After examining the

record pertaining to the events of July

12. 1977, the Superior Court affirmed

the lower court's finding of custodial

interrogation, stating:

The suppression court held

that Cappellee] had been sub-

jected to custodial interro-

gation on July 12, 1977 for

Miranda purposes and that the

investigation officers had

engaged in interrogation and

conduct calculated to or

likely to evoke admissions. We

agree with these legal conclu-

sions. They are based upon

the court's findings of fact

and are amply supported by the

record. See: Commonwealth yv.

Chacko, 500 Pa. 5/71, x

459 A.2d 311, 314-316 (1983

(numerous further citations

omitted). The suppression

court determined further that

[appellee] had been adequately

Ve

ay

advised of his right to

appointive counsel and that he

had voluntarily and knowingly

waived his right to such coun-

sel. We are bound by the

court's findings of fact

where, as here, they are sup-

ported by the record.”

Id. at 1240. (citations omitted) .4

4. The Commonwealth vigorously

argues that we should reverse the dete

mination of the Superior Court,

affirming that of the suppression court

that appellee had been in custody wher

rendered the challenged statements of

July 12, 1977. The Commonwealth states:

"No formal arrest occurred nor was there

any restraint on [appellee's] freedom

associated with a formal arrest, No

coercive atmosphere was present and a

reasonable person could not have

concluded that his freedom of action wa

being restricted.” Brief for appellant

at 35. The argument is predicated pri

marily on the fact that appellee and hi

wife voluntarily went with police to

barracks, knew that they were free to

leave at any time (according to the

troopers’ testimony), and in fact were

in the process of being taken home at

one point when they decided to stay an:

eventually, confess.

While this argument is not without

merit it emphasizes the factors on the

“12-428

Nevertheless, the Superior Court

reversed and awarded appellee a new

trial based upon its understanding that

appellee's waiver of his right to coun-

cel was ineffective as a matter of law

under Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477

(1981), reh'g denied 452 U.S. 973

(1981), and that, therefore, his con-

fession should have been suppressed.

This holding is wrong.

In Edwards, the United States

Supreme Court held that:

when an accused has invoked

his right to have counsel present

Footnote 4 continued

"non-custodial" side of the ledger to

the exclusion of the factors on the

“custodial” side. While this Court

perhaps might have reached a different

conclusion based on these factors, the

suppression court's conclusion tht

appellee had been in custody is sup-

ported by record evidence, and the

Superior Court, therefore, properly

affirmed.

-13- $34

during custodial interroga-

tion, a valid waiver of that

right cannot be established by

Showing only that he responded

to further police-initiated

custodial interrogation even

if he has been advised of his

rights. We further hold that

an accused, such as Edwards,

having expressed his desire to

deal with the police only

through counsel, is not sub-

ject to further interrogation

by the authorities until coun-

sel has been made available to

him, unless the accused him-

self initiates further com-

munication, exchanges, or

conversations with the police.

~++-We...emphasize that it is

inconsistent with Miranda and

its progeny for the authori-

ties, at their instance, to

reinterrrogate and accused in

custody if he has clearly

asserted his right to counsel.

451 U.S. at 484-85 (footnote omitted)

In reliance upon Edwards, the

Superior Court held, in the instant cas:

The record in this case

establishes beyond peradven-

ture of a doubt that after

appellant had ciear]y and une-

a Y

quivocally invoked his right

to counsel and after he had

attempted, unsuccessfully, to

reach counsel by telephone, he

was questioned further by

Trooper Shimko. That he

responded to such police-

initiated questioning does not

establish a waiver of the

right to counsel previously

invoked. "For a waiver

to be effective, the reversal

of the defendant's position

must have been inititated by

him." (citation omitted)

Here, it was not appellant

who, after asserting his

rights, indicated a desire to

waive them without further

activity on the part of the

police. Instead, it was the

police who initiated the chain

of events which culminated in

appellant's inculpatory state-

ment. This was improper.

Appellant had requested and

was entitled to have counsel

present. His statement given

in response to police

questioning and without coun-

sel should have been

Suppressed.

464 A.2d at 1242-43.

The Superior Court's reliance on

Edwards to suppress appellee's statement

is misplaced because, despite,that

-15- 3A

court's strong language to the contrary,

the record does not establish that

appellee “clearly and unequivocally

invoked his right to counsel" so as to

trigger Edwards’ prophylactic prohibi-

tion against all furhter police-

initiated conversation.” As the United

States Supreme Court recently stated:

This “rigid” prophylactic

rule [enunciated in Edwards v.

Arizona] embodies two distinct

Inquiries. First, courts must

determine whether the _accused

actua'ly invoked his right to

counsel. See, e.g., Edwards

v. Arizona, supra., 451 U.S.,

5. The United States Supreme Court

has recently determined that its deci-

sion in Edwards v. Arizona is to be

retroactively applied to cases that were

on direct appeal in the state courts at

the time of that decision on May 18,

1981. Shea v. Louisiana, J >

105 S.Ct. 1065 (1985). But cf. Solem

v. Stumes, U.S. i 104 $.¢t. 1338

(1984) (Edwards is not to be applied

retroactively to cases pending colla-

teral review after conviction is made

final following affirmance on direct

appeal.)

-16- IGA

,

184-1185 .

at 484-485, 101 S.Ct. at

’

» « 2econd, if

the -2ccused invoked his right

to UNS , courts may admit

ith responses to further

questioning only on finding

that he (a) initiated further

J1Scussions with the police,

and (Db) Knowingly and intelli-

gently waived the right he had

invoked. Edwards vs. Arizona,

supra, 451 U.S., at 485, 486,

Rs Be.-t01 S3Ot:. oe 1885, n.

Tnis case concerns the

threshold inquiry: whether

smith invo oked his right to

counsel in the first instan-

r-

es. On occas ion an accused's

asserted request for counsel

may be ambiguous or equivocal

As the majority and dissenting

Ipinions below noted, courts

nave developed conflicting

standards for determining the

consequences of such

ambiguities. (citations and

Footnote omitted). we need

not resolve this conflict in

the instant case, however,

Decause the judgment of the

Lilinois Supreme Court must be

reversedq irrespective of which

Standard is applied.

a

The conflict among courts

1S addressed to the relevance

of alleging ambiguities or

eduivocations that either (1)

precede an accused's purported

17-99

nature of appellee's "request for coun-

sel" and the circumstances preceding

such “request” were indeed equivocal and

demonstrate that, in fact, appellee did

not invoke his right to counsel. We do

not, therefore, cross the Edwards

threshold.

Prior to July 12, 1977, the date

on which appellee's challenged con-

fession was rendered, appellee had been

interviewed by state troopers on several

occasion, and on each occasion expressly

waived his Miranda rights, including his

right to counsel. Appellee had also

been previously acquainted with his

arrests and convictions following guilty

plea proceedings which included full

colloquies at which appellee indicate

that he knew and understood his rights.

On July 12th, appellee was again given

9 -

Miranda warnings several times and again

Signed written waiver forms and

demonstrated a willingness to talk

freely. For most of the day and at all

important times that day, appellee was

accompanied and advised by his wife,

Virginia Hubble.

At approiximately 2:00 p.m.,

according to the testimony of Trooper

ohimko, the following occurred. Trooper

Shimko asked appellee if he would be

willing to give a tape-recorded state-

ment, at which point Virginia Hubble

Suggested to appellee, "I think you

better get a lawyer." Appellee then

Stated, "I want a lawyer," followed by,

[I want a public defender." At that

point, Trooper Shimko responded:

ve, you can call whoever

Uav

you want to call. —T de not

De |

leve that a public defender

1 come out to talk to you

-20- Qo

because you were not arrested.

We are not accusing you of any

crime. We're talking about )

what Bob had toid you. This

is all we're concerned with at

this particular time, but you

are willing or you're able

to call whoever you wish to

call.

Notes of Testimony, Suppression Hearing,

November 11, 1977 at 114a; see also N.T.

at 1l/7a (on cross-examination).

Although the trooper's statement

regarding the availability of the public

defender was erroneous and potentially

misleading, the clear import of his

response was that appellee could contact

the public defender if he wished.

Appellee's wife testified that she was

aware, despite the trooper's comments,

that her husband had a right to have

counsel present. N.T. at 2/3a-/4a. It

is also apparent that appellee was not

misled, because he next told Trooper

-21- Qe

Shimko tha

Felix,

represented

ficulties

t he

with

looked up Mr.

him

cr

~

Wa

j

th

ei

and appellee ca! |

office but

available.

Mr. McCoo]

testified

not know i

encouraged

defender's

Trooper Sh

having eve

appellee di

Was

that

oO

rev

p

ae)

P

2)

n

a former pu

e

D

,

i)

NO

@m

oO

) D revi

i aw The t

's telepho

this G3

nN ¢ 4 tn > 7 b

S t ITE }

QO 4 cr. My

J App

2 6} en .

d appelle

c defender

arraces. ov

to cal th

N. at 2

ed to d

Mr ’ 7, ;

] | /

nta t tne

cr

(

Om

je)

&

Cu

—

a)

ad

pe

‘

umber

Ee

defender's office nor did he make or

request to make any further telephone

Celis.

Trooper Shimko again asked

appellee if he would give a taped state-

ment, which appellee agreed to do. This

taped statement did not inculpate

appellee. After that statement was

given, Trooper Shimko advised appellee

and Mrs. Hubble that he would take them

home. According to Trooper Shimko and

Mrs. Hubble, they and appellee walked

down the hallway with their coats on and

were about to leave the barracks when

appellee stated that he wanted to first

speak with his wife. N.T. at 122a-123a.

Appellee and Mrs. Hubble were then left

alone to talk. Several times, Trooper

Shimko stopped in and asked, “What are

you going to do here? Do you want to go

home? Do you want to talk?" N.T. at

-23- Q3A

123a.

After about forty-five minutes,

Trooper Shimko and another officer told

appellee and his wife that they had

information placing appellee at the

Scene of the crime. Appellee's wife

then gave the officers an account of

events that corresponded to that infor-

mation. Appellee again conferred priva-

tely with his wife for approximately

one-ha!f hour until Tooper Shimko asked

appellee whether he had participated in

the crime. At that point, appellee gave

the taped confession which the Superior

Court held must be suppressed under

Edwards.

Under all of these circumstances

which appear of record, the appellee did

not invoke his right to counsel. What

appellee did request was to call a par-

ticular attorney, which he did with

-24- A

Trooper Shimko's assistance, and to call

his probation officer, which he did.

While he had full opportunity to do so,

appellee did not heed the advise given

him to contact the public defender's

office. Moreover, appellee initiated

the events which lead to his inculpatory

statement, since the prior interview had

ended and appellee and Mrs. Hubble were

in the process of leaving the barracks

when appellee requested to stay and talk

with his wife privately. These cir-

cumstances leading up to and surrounding

appellee's requests to cali "a lawyer",

then Mr. Felix and Mr. McCool do not

present the situation or the type of

police conduct condemned in Edwards v.

Arizona.

The United States Supreme Cuurt

-25- QA

stated

105 S.

did no

at lea

of the

ambigu

in Smith v. [llinois, supra:

Our decision 1S a narrow

one. We do not decide the

circumstances in which an

accused's request for counse’

may be characterized as ambdi-

guous or equivocal as 4a

result of events precedi!

the request or of nuances

inherent in the request

itself, nor do we decide Ut!

consequences of such ambdi-

qguity or equivocation. we

hoid only that, under the

clear logical force of

settled precedent, an accu-

sed's post-request respons

to further interrogation may

not be used to cast

retrospective doubt on

clarity of the initial

request itself. Such sub-

sequent statements are rele-

vant only to the distinct

question of waiver.

+

ne

Ct. at 495. Although ti

t decide the issue, it rt

st three approaches to

consequences of

ity/equivocation in a!

“request for counse! taken /

26 BOA

jurisdictions:

Some courts have held that

all questioning must cease

upon any request for or

reference to counsel, however

equivocal or ambiguous. See

e.g. People v. Superior

Court, 15 Cal.3d ;

735-736, 125 Cal.Rptr. 798,

802,803, 542 P.2d 1390,

1394-1395 (1975), cert.

denied, 429 U.S. 816, 97

S.Ct. 58, 50 L.Ed.2d 76

(1976); Ochoa v. State, 573

S.W.2d 796, -80T

(Tex.Crim.App. 1978) Others

have attempted to define a

threshold standard of clarity

for such requets, and have

held that requests falling

Below this “threshold do not

trigger the aright to counsel.

> a. DP —— ———— a

neces e ev. Krueger,

HT 33 roe 311, 45

a Dec. 186, 189, 412 N.E.2d

537, 540 (1980) ("CA]n asser-

tion of the right to counsel

need not be explicit, une-

quivocal, or made with

er eee e clarity,” Dut

—

--—-e- er ——

indecisive or ambiguous

should constitute an invoca-

tion of the right to

counsel"), cert. denied 451

U.S. 1019, 101 S.Ct. 3009, 69

L.Ed.2d 390 (1981). still

others nave adopted a third

approach, holding that when

27-7

ee ee aaa

—_— ee eae ee

Se -—-=>

771-772 (E€A5 1979); State v.

Moulds, 105 Idaho 880, 388,

673 P.2d 1074, 1082 (App. 19

105 S$.Ct. at 493, n.3 (emphasis ade

7

The first approach (all

questioning must cease upon any

of counsel no matter how ambigquo

equivocal) is unduly restrictive. A

the United States Supreme Court recently

stated in the context of analyzing the

consequences of procedural Miranca

violation, “{fJar from estab!ishing

rigid rule, we direct courts to ay

one ...." Oregon v. Elstad,

238 (1985). This directive is sage

advice in deciding the circumstances in

which an accused's requests "for coun-

sel" may be characterized as ambiguous

or equivocal, and in determining the

consequences of such characterization.

To hold that every utterance of the word

“lawyer” automatically erects the

Edwards’ “cone of silence” around the

—_————

accused, thus insulating him from all

further police-iniated questioning and

communication, would be far too rigid

and would not serve the interests or

needs of justice.

Under either of the other two

approaches recognized by the United

States Supreme Court, appellee's con-

fession need not be suppressed.

Appellee initially requested “a lawyer"

or “a public defender,” but then, after

being advised that he could contact the

-29- agA

e

y

s

r

'

,

r

ae

,

ry

_

> +

n+

7

~ +

r

/

‘

;

VU

r

sve

J

iss

&

aan

> cu

ne >

iu

te {

;

c + +

A

> ,

r ’

no

J

in?

5

J

|

2

J ,

+

. ‘

~ + ‘

/

>

=)

>

¥

“Vv

/

‘

’ r

’

. 7

. 4 |

v"

es

ret

,

{ a) r

“A + |

aqavvVe

y r

J

airy ’

| ’ -

“yr

i~Vve

r

iwd r

cta P

4

+

J fs nieé

¥

wT "

yY r >

4 .

nr

7uU/V

A

4 .

AW,

4 >

) .

> J

+

ef

~s

a

a es ee ee ee eS ee

i

err ia , j IU Iv “a ;

ney st-hi rs t qoes yery ny } furtt

ihe nterr ja t f ther eased.

i >gquent Vo WE le be ng traf

: eo ; QQ =)

4a ,

; }¢ ; 4

“ >

> , ; v “ar r

4 _ -

“ 4 4 avy J

+ + . cr » 4 ‘ ++ ‘ i

‘ or a D¢ o ;

s > j J 4 ,

+ ! + r

ant rite } T 4 x f r 4

2 J J 2 -V

4 r + + y

1a ’ 4 ; re = Ted ‘a a / a

J , 4uU . J , 2 ,

r + ‘ A + / ; +

' <¢ a > neo oO or ; ak

su“ J , 4 4a ,

y " 4 ¥Y ATT naw r rié 4 _

Wf 4 . - - - / ,

+ ‘ ‘ ~ + - 4 4 Ps

y , " .

‘ c ia Wa> cau y >eU

‘ 4 +

? ¥ + . y r WA =) ri

, , 4 ‘ 4 , , , ;

; - ++, - ¥ ‘

ri é r 4 r [= rT +?

yu ae ° J 4

/ » ‘ ¥ > r > y ,

20 ,* ] ‘

& t j ‘ , ian + ~s - } 4 ‘ .

J J « ‘

y ‘ ‘ “

y vw 4 ’ "

4V 4 ‘

j ‘ y ian + ¥

’ 4 ,

° ¥ » r wv. ‘

4 . 7

‘ ‘ + b ‘ r L

did not ‘initiate’ a conversation with

the officer, and that therefore state-

ments by the [defendant] growing out of

that conversation should have been

excluded from evidence under Edwards V.

Arizona.” Id. at 103 $.Ct.. 2832. A

majority of the United States Supreme

yurt reversed the Oregon court and held

that Edwards did not require suppression

f the confession. Justice Rehnquist

wrote the plurality opinion (joined by

Chief Justice, Justice White and

Justice O'Connor; Justice Powell agreed

taat Edward Jid not require suppression

f the confession and filed a concurring

ar

pinion) in which he held that Edwards

4 5 6 } bo + a i

nad Deen misappiled Decause tne aeren-

lant had indeed initiated further

ommunication, exchanges, or conver-

tion with the police,” stating

There can be no doubt ir

th.s case that in asking,

-33- 393A

ed

"Well. what is going to hap-

pen to me now?", respondent

“initiated” further conver-

sation in the ordinary dic-

tionary sense of that word

Although ambiguous, the

respondent's question in this

case as to what was going to

happen to him evinced a

willingness and a desire for

a generalized discussion

about the investigation; it

was not merely a necessary

inquiry arising out of the

incidents of the custodial

relationship. . .. On these

facts we believe that there

was not a violation of the

Edwards rule.

Since there was no viola-

tion of the Edwards rule in

this case, the next inquiry

was "whether a valid waiver

of the right to counsel and

the right to silence had

occurred, that is, whether

the purported waiver was

knowing and intelligent and

found to be so under the

totality of the circumstan-

ces, including the necessary

fact that the accused, not

the police, reopened the

dialogue with the

authorities." Edwards v._

o., 20. 5,.6¢. Ot. 1065, 8.9.

As we have said many times

before, this determination

-34- 349A

~

ba

upon

cif

ng t

Pp A

>, a

i

ed,

9 Q

a” )

' f (=)

>

To

Jv

as r

J

r

cA

r >

J

J

- 1

4 Tf)

, ,

nny

AWW

c y

Ah me

‘

r

piy

Wa

J A

nN

Ww

©)

ni

en!

>

e

ak

4

ef

-V

e

“

te

Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458 (1938) )

to determine whether a defendant's

waiver of his right to counsel was

knowing and intelligent, and would con-

sider the fact of initiation of sub-

sequent conversation as one of the

factors to be considered. 103 S.Ct. at

2836-38. Justice Powell found that the

defendant had made a valid waiver of his

right to counsel. Id.

Applying Oregon v. Bradshaw to the

instant case, it iS apparent that

Edwards does not require suppression of

appellees' confessions. As set forth

more fully above, appellee initiated the

events which culminated in his con-

fessions. Slip opinion at 12-13.

Rather than return home, appellee asked

to speak in private with his wife at the

police barracks which he did at length,

despite being asked several times

whether he wanted to to home or talk.

Under the circumstances, appellee was

hardly “badgered by police officers in

the manner in which the defendant in

Edwards was"; instead, appellee

"“initiate(d] further communication,

exchanges, or conversations with the

p07 Ce.” Oreaon v. Bradshaw, supra at

Yre supra

Since appellee initiated further

communication, we must examine the tota-

lity of the circumstances to determine

whether there was a knowing, intelligent

and voluntary waiver of his right to

remain silent and his right to counsel.

Id at 2835, 2838; Johnson v. Zerbst,

supra. In examining the totality of the

circumstances surrounding a confession,

this Court has looked to a myraid of

factors including the duration and

methods of interrogation, the conditions

-37- 397A

i e >

his

V e U

>USD

cont

cour

yY)

an

ed

Ww

2s

4

cl

Wd

’

>

‘en,

y y

|

A

er

I>

)

+

)

]

j

cCyuue

Lecter

+

pSCUU

4

Youn

JU

‘ ’

Rigel; gs

i

wne

right te counsel was knowingly, intelli-

gently and voluntarily waived. Id.

Based upon the totality of the cir-

cunstances, we affirm, as did the

Superior Court, the lower court's fin-

dings and conclusion that appellee

knowingly, voluntarily and intelligently

waived his right to counsel.

Finally, we note that, even if we

considered appellee's first statement on

July 12, 1977 to be inadmissible under

Edwards, the introduction of that non-

inculpatory statement against him at

trial was harmless error and his other

challenged statements of July 12th and

13th would nevertheless remain

admissible. The first statement was not

inculpatory and merely reitereated

information that appellee had previously )

given the state troopers. Following |

that statement, the troopers ended the |

interview and began to take appellee and

-39- $9

niacin

his wife home. Appellee thereafter in.

tiated the subsequent events which lead

to his second statement of July !2th a

his third statement of July 13th - his

inculpatory confessions.

The taint of any “illegality”

associated with the first statement

thoroughly dissipated by this break in

the causa! connection between the firs’

and the second and third statements.

demonstrating that appellee's con-

fessions were not the product of

exploitation of the earlier “illegality

and were uncoerced acts of free will.

Commonwealth v. Chacko, 500 Pa. 5/1,

580-82, 459 A.2d 311 (1983) (and see

cases cisted therein) (“We concluded

that appellant's statement was an act

free will sufficient to break the casu

connection between the initial, ille-

-40- Yor

gally obtained statement and his sub-

sequent statements. Any taint thus

having been purged, the latter state-

ments were properly admitted.”).

In Oregon v. Elstad, supra, the

defendant had rendered a statement that

was ruled inadmissible because of the

failure to admisister Miranda warnings,

although the statement was otherwise

voluntary and not coerced. In holding

that subsequent statements rendered

after full Miranda warnings were admi-

nistered were admissible despite the

technical illegality of the first

unwarned statement, the United States

Supreme Court stated:

Far from establishing a

rigid rule, we direct courts

to avoid one; there is no

warrant for presuming coercive

effect where the suspect's

initial inculpatory statement,

though technically in viola-

tion of Miranda, was volun-

tary. The relevant inquiry is

-41- Yf

whether, in fact, the second

statement was also voluntarily

made. As in any such inquiry,

the finder of fact must exa-

mine the surrounding cir-

cumstances and the entire

course of police conduct with

respect to the suspect in eva-

luating the voluntariness of

his statements. The fact that

a suspect chooses to spear

after being informed of nis

rights is, of course, highly

probative. We find that the

dictates of Miranda and the

goals of the Fifth Amendment

proscription against use of

compelled testimony are fully

satisfied in the circumstances

of this case by barring use of

the unwarned statement in the

case in chief. No further

purpose is served by inputing

“taint” to subsequent ‘“ate-

ments obtained pursuant to a

voluntary and knowing waiver.

We hold today that a suspect

who has once responded to

unwarned yet uncoercive

questioning is not thereby

disabled from waiving his

rights and confessing after he

has been given the requisite

Miranda warnings.

ey yaa: , SG h6 1as

—_—— ——— -_—— — =

84 L.Ed2d at 238. Thus, even assuming

arguendo that appellee's first state-

-42-

ment was in technical violation of

Edwards, his subsequent statements were

not “tainted” by that earlier

“illegality,” were “obtained pursuant to

a knowing and intelligent waiver" and

were admissible.

For the foregoing reasons, we hold

that the Superior Court erred in its

determination that appellee was entitled

to a new trial because of the introduc-

tion of his statements of July 12-13,

1977 against him at trial. Accordingly,

we reverse the order of the Superior

Court which vacated the judgment of sen-

tence and remanded for a new trial, we

we remand this case to the Superior

Court for disposition of appellee's

remaining allegations of error.

Mr. Justice Papadakos joins in this

Opinion.

-43- Y34

es

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

EASTERN DIVISION

COMMONWEALTH OF : NO. 25

PENNSYLVANIA, - EASTERN DISTRICT

Appellant - APPEAL DKT. 1984

APPEAL FROM

JUDGMENT OF

SUPERIOR COURT

OF PENNSYLVANIA

: AT NO. 144,

v. * PHILADELPHIA,1981,

: DATED

JULY 15, 1983

318 PA. SUPER. CT

76, 464 A.2d 1236

(1983)

AY . HUBBLE, ARGUED:

Appellee DECEMBER 7, 1984

CONCURRING OPINION

MR. JUSTICE McDERMOTT

FILED: JANUARY 16, 1986

The suppression court found two

salient facts: one, that appellant was

n custody" when questioned A the

-1- YS

%y

aay

P "

nr

=)

nn

;

i me

4

;

J ,

o +

+

2

r

- ¥

; ¥

y

QA

,

+

a

P|

r

Ma

‘al te

rer

4 i i

>

4

~

e

>

Tr)

4

rt

J

=

J

20

>

‘

:

‘

4

T 7

r

J

P

>>

cc

ye

rg

» +

al

7

>

+

YA

-

ro

7

Q

i

co

yn

J

>

"

4

ro

ey

iy

ay

4

-? J

r r T

r

; tal

+ .

4

Py =

- >

> 7

afi

2

‘

J

(=) ¥ a Ff

ns

VV

ob 4

-U

P > <

atts

y’ T "

u

ee

nae

ey

ed

r)

(D

Pp

ee

cr?

n

ty

ie*

cr

ror

n

+e

Tv

4)

ey

0

home,

~ McC

July

July

rm ne

Ps

and M

t the

lant

rtner

Mira

nad re

unsel

ell t

n, no

Ss ste

e »>UD

lutar

that

t

ne

dreadfu

to go

-

—

ae

8)

>

it

m

P=)

n

@m

@m

ot

appel

nome.

Wd

ae

es

n

u

e

e

1,

|

n

his

nad

inno:

+

>

=)

~

Oo

'

oO

oO

=

i

ty

>

—

m

Pe

errr TS ee

counsel is requested, all questioning

initiated by the police should cease.

The ought not however, be required to

Shun prospective confessees who wish, on

their own, to set the record straight.

I join in the Opinion of Mr.

Justice Larsen.

4. Y9A

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

EASTERN DIVISION

COMMONWEALTH OF : NO. 25

PENNSYLVANIA, >: EASTERN DISTRICT

Appellant : APPEAL DOCKET,1984

APPEAL FROM

JUDGMENT OF

SUPERIOR COURT

OF PENNSYLVANIA

: AT NO. 144,

v. : PHILADELPHIA,1981,

: DATED

JULY 15, 1983

318 PA. SUPER. CT.

76, 464 A.2d 1236

(1983)

ID €. HUBBLE, - ARGUED:

Appellee - DECEMBER 7, 1984

CONCURRING OPINION

ILED: JANUARY 16, 1986

T

agree with Mr. Justice Larsen

that Superior Court must be reversed,

but I write separately because my analy-

+

S$1S 0 the case 15 somewhat different

from that of the Opinion Announcing the

1- QA

Judgment of the Court.

It is easy to lose sight of the

fact that the purpose of the rule arti-

culated in Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.

436 (1966), and its progency was to pro-

tect a citizen's Fifth Amendment rights

to silence and counsel against the

overreaching of police. The United

States Supreme Court has described the

purpose of the Miranda rule as pro-

tecting against "'the overbearing com

pulsion .. . caused by inso

Suspect in police custody, '" Minnesota

v. Murphy, __ U.S. , 104 §.Ct.

1136, 1144, (1984), and this Court has

stated: “The protection of Miranda was

designed to shield an accused from the

coercive atomsphere of ‘custod

interrogation' where the accused mighi'

reasonably believe that he would

incommunicado and not be released

-2- $e

before confessing to a crime."

Commonwealth v. Ziegler, Pa. :

470 A.2d 56 (1983). In general terms,

of course, that is also the message of

Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477 (1981),

requiring that police questioning must

end when a suspect, held in police

custody, requests legal counsel. It

will be recalled from Miranda, however,

that in order for the warnings of

Miranda to be required, the person must

be subjected to custodial interrogation.

Custodial interrogation is also a predi-

cate of the Edwards case.

In the present case, the findings

of the lower courts notwithstanding,

Hubble was not in custody. Police

testimony was that just before Hubble

gave his inculpatory statement, police

told him, “If you want to go home, we'll]

s1 Af

take you home." N.T. 125. (Hubble did

not own a car.) Hubble himself

testified that the police told him that

if he made a statement, police would

allow him to go home. N.T. 326-327.

Moreover, it was only because Hubble and

his wife insisted on staying in the

that the confession of July i2, 1977

occurred at all. And when Hubble called

an advisor (his probation officer) from

the police station, the probaticn

officer, testified: "I told him that I

wasn't sure whether [the public defen-

der's office} would represent him unti]

he was arrested or not, but | told him

to call them to find out." N.T. 251.

(Emphasis added). On these facts, it

cannot be said that Hubble was in

custody. He was being ea4°°"° when

fe

a

he insisted on staying in the police

facility, where he subsequently gave a

confession; just before he gave the con-

fession, police offered to take him

home; neither the police nor Hubble's

Own advisor thought that he had been

arrested; and Hubble himself testified

that after making statement he expected

to be taken home.

There is a certain humor, in fact,

in the lower courts! findings that

Hubble was in custody. One envisions a

cartoon in which police are carrying an

unwilling citizen to the porch of his

home, where they deposit him in a chair,

and the citizen is protesting, "Please,

don't force me to incriminate myself by

Keeping me in this awful place,

Separated from my familiar surroundings

and the support and counsel of my

family." I would hold, as a matter of

-5- $34

law, that Hubble was not in custody.

If Hubble was not in custody

time of his interrogation, then neither

Miranda nor Edwards are applicable an

the incuplatory statements were prope:

admitted into evidence.

Even if there were some quest!

to custody, however, I concur with the

view of Mr. Justice Larsen that Edwa

does not require a reversal of the

viction. Assuming that Hubble askea

: for a lawyer on July 12, 1977 and that

his statement to police on July 12,

Should be suppressed because police

questioning continued in spite of the

request for legal assistance, Hubble's

phone call to police on July 13th, und

Edwards, re-opened legitimate police

; questioning. As Edwards states, once

counsel has been requested, the sus;

is not subject to further cugtodial

6- SM

oO

Pas

—

VY

Q

Ce

J

0

*

h¢

eq

on

me

-

r)

?

further

yniver 3

sda 8

lo " +

r / , f

UU =

nce aGgada

‘ ‘nHeon

i 44

WaS Qiv

randa

PSS »T)

ble (a

nfo< S

1$ ee Q

“ " le c

e| JY ng

t », an 7

es not

( ynfe Ss

+ £ ro /

la

d

1n

en

ern

wad

\f

|

1O

thn

w

Oo

Cc

;

,

te

nog

ry

|

>

+

y r

aR

4

r)

a y

te

rr

J

ec

-ommun

< A +

69

> Tur

t Ww

jest

‘ f os

repo Y

ngs,

sly ]

“ in

7

en ft

cat oO

t wWaS

per op

jae

where

)e

.

aa

nm

n

2)

Ss (=)

e

g

574

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

EASTERN DIviSION

COMMONWEALTH OF ; NO. 25

PENNSYLVANIA, - EASTERN DISTRICT

Appellant - APPEAL DOCKET,1984

APPEAL FROM

JUDGMENT OF

SUPERIOR COURT q

OF PENNSYLVANIA 4

: AT NO. 144, 4

V. : PHILADELPHIA,1981

: DATED

JULY 15, 1983

318 PA. SUPER. CT.

76, 464 A.2d 1236

(1983)

DAVID £. HUBBLE, / ARGUED: %

Appellee - DECEMBER 7, 1984

CONCURRING AND DISSENTING OPINION

NIX, C. ds FILED: JANUARY 16, 1986

| agree with the majority that

there is a legitimate question regarding

the "in custody" requirement of Miranda.

would hold, however, that appellee's

trial counsel was ineffective and direct 7

that on remand new counsel_be appointed.

-1- §8A

It is clear from this record that

the issue of the voluntariness of

appellee's statements should have been

raised at the suppression hearing.

Experts for the Commonwealth as well as

for the defense testified that appellee

was mildly retarded. Appellee was

questioned by a state trooper with whom

he had been acquainted for several

years. Appellee was subjected to

repeated questioning and at one point

the state trooper yelled at appellee

during interview. In additicn, the

police used appellee's wife to help eli-

cit his confession. From the foregoing

I am convinced that the claim that

appellee's right to counsel during

questioning is another issue not raised

below which may have been meritorious.

This would be an additional ground for

finding of ineffective GA. of

a

“ies i oe T 4 .

ertar counsel. [ would therefore remand

for the nintme + L

the appointment of new counsel to

permit consideration of these signif

tT co c . : : * °

cant constitutional issues

3- Goh

’ A vT f ; Qn

TN HF SI/PREME

J ' = ’t.

. P

c f Me

Appeiltant

IRR

y AUT C

JBDBL >

ppeilee

rece

Ee eh

T Aj ¢ j 7

MINSON,J F

Mine a . “—

-OURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

ren er ree

CRN DIVISION

EASTERN DI od Slee

APPEA| FROM

JUDGMENT OF

SUPERIOR COURT

OF PENNSYLVANIA

AT NO. 144,

JUL 983

740. FA, SUPER, CF.

76, 464 A.2d 1236

(1983)

ARGUED:

DECEMBER 7 1984

-NTING OPINION

ILED: JANUARY 16, 1986

“vee

Issent froemt he Outright rever-

1 of Superior

rity 4 r - P

yurt ordered a

Court's order. Tnat

grant of post-trial con-

-1- 616

viction relief, based on appellant's

Fifth Amendment right to the advice of

counsel, under federal case authority

resulting from the United States Supreme

Court's decision in Edwards v. Arizona,

451 U.S. 477 (1981). Superior Court's

reversal of Common Pleas is based on its

acceptance of the suppression court's

finding that appellee was in custody

when he asked for counsel. I would

remand this case to Common Pleas for

reconsideration, based on the standards

set out by the United States Supreme

Court in Beckwith v. United States, 425

U.S. 341 (1976), and this Court in

Commonwealth vs. McLaughlin, 475 Pa. 97,

379 A.2d 1056 (1977), of its finding

that appellee was in fact in custody

when he requested counsel. To my mind,

the “ .mon Pleas findings on custody are

inconsistent and seem to refiect a pre-

2- @A A

presently invalid independent

ct

WW

T

Vv

[llinois,

lication of the Escobedo v.

-S. 478 (1964), focus of suspicion

St. Such independent use of that test

inconsistent with the more objective

ndards of Beckwith and McLaughlin.

also Commonwealth v. Chacko, 500 Pa.

; ae AVCE SEL CiGes). If Common

as reaffirms its factual finding of

under these currently

+

(>)

so 1

ropriate standards, I believe

erior Court's holding that the police

2ndment right not to incriminate him-

f is compellec by the binding

thority of the United States Supreme

ourt in Edwards, supra, and Miranda v.

zona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966). The

erpretation of those cases in the

inion announcing the judgment of the

yurt contrarily mi

]

applies .the United

S

iy G

States Supreme Court's decision in Smith

v. Illinois, U.S. ____,_—*‘105 S.Ct.

490 (1984) (Per curiam). Therefore, if

Common Pleas, on remand, finds appellee

gave his statement while in custody, I

am reluctantly forced to conclude, as

did Superior Court, that Edwards

requires a new trial.

The opinion announcing the judgment

of the Court states in its discussion of

appellee's right to counsel during his

interrogation that:

the record does not establish

that appellee "clearly and

unequivocally invoked his

right to counsel" so as to

trigger Edwards' prophylactic

prohibition against ail further

police-initiated conversation.

Slip op. at 8-9 (emphasis in original).

I believe that the record contains as

clear an invocation of the right to

counsel as could be envisioned. fhe

record shows that Od A. "T want

< -

ne

|

je)

ctr

ao

ct

at

VV

om

t2

cr

tempts

at th

invo

. +

e at

of this case; appellee's

agree that not every vague

ice to a lawyer requires the

ct

>)

‘e)

aaa)

mM

.

=

rev

sa

eo.

S. However, that

le nas no application to the

tatement

a)

r and unambiguous. Indeed, | dg

how appellee could have done any

nvoke the Fifth Amendment

which the United States Supreme

as seen fit to afford him, to

counsel's advice before giving an

Ody statement. The opinion

-ing the judgment of the Court

to justify its determination

1S request is not clear enough

Ke Edwards by reference to the

at appellee first called a pri-

torney, instead os the publ

-5-

iw

Pe

r)

[= )

17

AM

r

A *

2

,

i=)

: a |

tT

VU

r

Q

Q

)

“

>

an?

J

on

appe

-

|

J

7 .

y

‘

>)

Q

‘

A

4

2

+

,

Fe

va

,

‘

‘

su

‘

4

As

>

4

nf

‘

s

neo

r

nen

}

‘

_

>

r)

7, A

iG

su

-

,

t

>C

en

n

Oo

r

VU

P

yt S

‘

Ta ‘

]

~£ +

t- ¥

, 4

;

a.

4 P|

~~

> c

eo

be 4 ’

y

‘

4 4

3

An y

pT |

mm n

j

.

A

, ’

4

- I '

sr aq

et

ry «

|

a

r (2

r)

r _

}

. i

rh

b ’

ene

r 7 QoQ

Z >

. d

r >

r ‘

- ,

ry =)

wne

Qa r

.

r) V

a

. }

cr

eso

>

et

>

r

, ,

y +

’ or

4

reo

4 ‘

;

y

‘

vs ne

} ‘

; /

: Ju

f so |

J

4

! aA

P 4 y

Ju J

><

,UF

e e f

< } .

r >

ey 4 i

nor Tn

ah + hoe

> | a

na .

, ,<

d Cus

- +

na ¥

, ~ +

»/

, Tne

‘ Iu

r

T

\

+

ard

r

;

lo

a

+

J

ne

rv

4

4

=)

4

7,

J

rr)

u

nn?

i

y

ac

_~

_

aU

de

+

3

.

A

}

A

4

1 +

=)

WA

“

y

+

‘

‘

neg

iM

Ta

2

+

>

++

4

Ff

+

+

e

’

~/

? ¥

‘i

}

4

;

,

iy

4

4 f

;

to

ra

e a

ere &

statements are relevant only to

the distinct question of waiver.

105 S. Ct. at 494-95 (emphasis in

original).

I agree that this case 1S

controlled by Smith. However, itS ana-

lysis of that case seems to me to stand

Smith on its head. Here appellee

clearly indicated that ne wanted the

assistance of counsel before he gave his

statement. Even if the subsequent cir-

cumstances set out in the opinion

announcing the judgment of the Court

show an ambiguity in his request instead

of his reliance on the police's state-

ment that the public defender could not

help him because he was not in custody,

they are post-request irrelevancies on

the issue of ambiguity, according to the

teaching of the United States Supreme

Court in Smith. Using them, to cast

doubt upon appellee's initia! request

for counsel 1S against both the spirit

and letter of Smith.

It seems to me equally incorrect to

state that even if appelle's request was

sufficient to snyoke his right to coun-

sel he waived it by initiating the

events that led up to his confession.

The evidence on this record 1s insuf -

ficient to establish 2 waiver of the

right to counsel which the United States

Supreme Court gave this appellee in

Edwards, Supra. Edwards stated that

once the right to counsel has been

invoked it cannot be waived by later

uncounseled interrogation unless the

defendant initiates the communication.

See also Oregon v. Bradshaw, 462 U.S.

1039 (1983); wyrick v. Fields, 459 U.S.

42 (1982) (per curiam), Rhode Island v.

-9- 694

CCFO!

Innis, 446 U.S. 291 (1980). Edwards

Stated:

When an accused has invoked his

right to have counsel present

during custodial interrogation,

a valid waiver of that right

cannot be established by Show-

ing only that he responded to

further police-initiated

custodial interrogation even if

he has been advised of his

rights. We further hold that

an accused, . . . having

expressed his desire to deal

with the police only through

counsel, is not subject to

further interrogation by the

authorities until counsel has

been made available to him,

unless the accused himself

initiates further communica-

tion, exchanges, or conversa-

tions with the police.

451 U.S. at 484-85. This record reveals

that subsequent uncounseled interroga-

tion was initiated, not by appellee, but

by the police. The opinion announcing

the judgment of the Court attempts to

construct a subse juent initiation of

communication by appellee by the bald

Statement that:

-10- 7ceA

appellee initiated the events

which lead to his inculpatory

statement, since the prior

interview had ended and

appellee and Mrs. Hubble were

in the process of leaving the

barracks when appellee requested

to stay and talk with his wife |

privately. These circumstances

leading up to and surrounding

appellee's requests to call “a

lawyer", then Mr. Felix and Mr.

McCool do not present the

Situation on type of police

conduct condemned in Edwards v.

Slip op. at 13 (emphasis in original).

This conclusion iS a non-sequitur on

this record. Appellee's request to

speak with his wife was not an ini-

tiation of further communication with

the police. A request to speak to one's

Spouse, albeit in a police station, is

not an initiation of a communication

with the police which they have an

option to convert into a knowing, volun-

tary and intelligent waiver of appelle's

Fifth Amendment right to counsel. It

i1- 291A

may be true that if appellee ned

asked to speak to his wife befor

leaving he would not have conf

later on. However, such a “but

analysis does not lead to th:

that he initiated the conversai

the police which led to his con?

On the contrary, the record stow

the police came into the room whe

Hubbles were speaking and direct

appellee if he had committed the

TROOPER SHIMKO: Sergeant

Peterson and I went into the

office. Again we could see

that CLappellee] was visibly

upset. Sergeant Peterson

talked to [appellee] approx.

imately five minutes and he

asked a simple question,

"Now Dave, were you or were:

you in the house?“ And a?

time Daye broke down ana

that he was.

R.R. at 128a. Apellee did not

speak to the police. He asked

speak to his wife. The police

-12- 2A

not

y

|

interrupted them and directly

interrogated him in the absence of coun-

sel, after counsel was requested.

Appellee's confession followed direct

questioning subsequent to his clear

invocation of his right to counsel.

Under Miranda, if appellee was in fact

in custody, under the Beckwith stan-

dards, all interrogation must cease

after that invocation.

Whether he was in custody is, as

stated, a factual issue which I cannot

resolve on this record because of the

ambiguities in Common Pleas' opinion.

In order to clear up those ambiguities,

it seems to me Common Pleas must

demonstrate its understanding of the

current legal standards for determining

the fact of custody. In fairness to

Common Pleas, however, I note that those

Standards had not been clearly set forth

13- 93A

in this Commonwealth when Common Pleas

considered this case.l

To aid Common Pleas in its task, I

believe it is necessary to set forth the

ambiguities I see in the Common Pleas'

custody finding and the development of

the law with respect to custody interro-

gation. To my mind, the suppression

court's findings appear so heavily

influenced by the well-documented offi-

cial concentration on appellee as a

prime suspect that they imply indepen-

dent application of the "focus on the

investigation" test. This test was

lThe delay in processing appelie's

appeals after the denial of his post-

trial motions is shocking to me.

Appellee was convicted on November 25,

1977. He filed post-trial motions on

December 12, 1977. The Court held its

hearing on thse motions on August 14,

1980, and denied them on October 15,

1980. Appellee filed his notice of

appeal on January 14, 1981, and Superior

Court issued its order on July 15, 1983.

a A

originally used by the United States

Supreme Court in Escobedo, Miranda's

harbinger, and we adopted it in

Commonwealth v. Feldman, 432 Pa. 428,

248 A.2d 1 (1968). The United States

Supreme Court subsequently held in

Beckwith that the focus test is not

alone sufficient to invoke Miranda. One

year later, we suggested that we would

follow Beckwith in Commonwealth v.__

McLaughlin, 475 Pa. 97, 379 A.2d 1056

(1977). However, our subsequent cases

were not as clear on the subject. See,

e.qg., Commonwealth v. Horner, 497 Pa.

565, 442 A.2d 682 (1982); Commonwealth

v. Meyer, 448 Pa. 297, 412 A.2d 517

(1980); Commonwealth v. Patterson, 488

Pa. 227, 412 A.2d 481 (1980). We should

repudiate the implications in these

later cases and expressly follow the

Beckwith holding that the fogus test,

-15- SA

while still relevant factor in

determining custody, is not indepen-

dently sufficient to trigger Miranda.

See Commonwealth v. Holcomb, _ Pa.

—___, 498 A.2d 833 (1985) (opinion

announcing the judgment of the Court).

The suppression court in the

instant case found that appellee was the

subject of custodial interrogation.

Superior. Court stated that this finding

was "amply supported by the record."

318 Pa. Superior Ct. lt 83, 464 A.2d at

1240. This is true if the appropriate

tests were applied by Common Pleas.

However, I cannot tell on this record

whether they were.

Many of the cases Superior Court

cited are themselves based on Escobedo's

independent focus test. See, e.g.,

Commonwealth v. O'Shea, 456 Pa. 288, 318

A.2d 713, cert. denied, 419 Y.S. 1092

T6364

Pa. S46, 292 Ai.2@ 333 (3Sreis

Commonwealth v. Simala, 434 pa. 219, 252

A.2d 575 (1969). We Should repudiate

their implication that Escobedo has con- 4

tinuing independent vitality in this

Commonwealth. 9

Perhaps most important, the

Suppression court s findings on the

issue of custody are internally incon-

Sistent if not based on an independent

focus test. We stated in Chacko, supra,

that a person is in custody when

he is physically deprived of his

: freedom in any significant way

or iS placed in a situation in

which he reasonably believes

that his freedom of action or

movement is restricted by such

interrogation.

Id. at 473, 459 A.2d at 314 (citations

omitted).

The inconsistency of the

Suppression court's findin under the

17. QAP

Chacko standard can be seen by comparing

its finidng no. 2 with nos. 13, 14 and

15. In its finding of fact no. 2 the

Suppression court says:

2. [Appellee] was the subject

of a custodial interrogation

throughout the day of July 12,

1977.

However, findings of fact nos. 13, 14

and 15 state:

13. At approximately 3:00 p.m.

in the act of leaving the State

Police Barracks [Appellee] said

that he wanted to speak with his

wife alone; they were uShered

back to the same room as before

and left by themselves.

14. [Appelttee] and his wife were

told one hour later they would

be taken home if they wished.

15. [Appellee] gave his

inculpatory statement to the

State Police starting at or

about 5:45 p.m., only after two

separate conferences with his

wife alone totaling a minimum of

one and one half hours.

These later findings seem to imply that

appellee was not in custody when

-18- 78 A

interviewed on July 12. See Oregon v. 4

Mathiason, 429 U.S. 492 (1977). 3

Because the suppression court had '

before it detailed evidence concerning a

the police investigation's focus on |

appellee before the July 12, 1977,

interrogation, see R.R. 54a-68a

(testimony o* Officer Shimko),2 the

Escobedo test, then recently echoed in

this jurisdiction by O'Shea, supra,

D'Nicuola, supra, and Simala, supra, is

a likely basis for its finding that

appellee was the subject of custodial!

interrogation. Under that test, the B

focus on appellee would have been suf -

ficient by itself to imply custody. The

2Trooper Shimko interviewed appellee

about this case on April 7, 1977, July ’

6, 1977, July 7, 1977, July 8, 1977, and )

July 12, 1977, Appellee provided infor-

mation about his brother's involvement

in the crime. The police questioned him

in the station was well as during a

drive around the crime scene,

19- 79 A

‘

y ‘ . * + * 4

; J > ; ’ 2 2

jeer r t >

" j ’

;

‘

f ,

; < 4 | t | :

« - . : a“ ,

r ‘ ‘

a

| ’ -

y | ‘

+

4 r 7 ’ ¥ / .

‘ "

anne 4

A ./ . “ 2

7 ;

; ,

r + ? Fb 4 .

. ; ' " j

~Y " ’

Anne ‘ ’

Ai

Tnr . ° : a,

«

q a r Mi arr ¥ "

F } ‘ 2

4s iV ’ 4 Ai

J y 4 : iy , AA

A C r . ; 4 ‘

’ >uUU ~ & 4 t+

¥ ’ ’

-3 ee ;

‘na 4 ;

+ y g ’ "

¥ , > .

4 .

neo :

v ve

+

, 7 . r 7 ’ 7 :

= eQvp ; an

V ‘

a »

-* . >

7

aa > 9 :

4

F j r

,

—_— *

7

-

t

Vv.

Chacko, supra. On the contrary, the

record shows arpellee was told several

times that he could go home. R.R.

12la, 125a. Further, appellee's

requests for coffee and permission to

talk to his wife were always granted.

R.R. 97a, 99a 122a, 123a, 127a. Officer ,

Shimko testified “Lappellee and his

wife] had freedom of the barracks

We weren't retaining them in any way.”

Rk. Ot 1818. Indeed, the trial court

itself noted these facts. See Findings

of Fact nos. 13-16, R.R. at 382a-383a.

Therefore, the trial court's blanket

finding of “custody” is, on the surface,

inconsistent with these other findings

unless based on the independent focus

test in Escobedo, which the United

which we should put to rest _in

-21- PIM

Pennsylvania once and for all. Indeed,

it is inconsistent with the express

feelings of the police themselves, who

told defendant they did not think he

could get a public defender bcause he

was not under arrest.

Although the record thus indicates

that the suppression court incorrectly

applied an independent focus test to the

custody issue, there is also record evi-

dence which would support a finding fo

custody under Beckwith and Chacko.

Appellee was given a lie detector test

and was questioned several times over an

eight-hour period. During the

suppression fearing, appellee said he

was scared to ask about leaving and

Stated, "I though I'd go to jail if I

got up and walked away." R.R. at 322.

Appellee's wife, who was also at the

Station, stated she ey they could

-22- #2

not leave because her husband was read

his Miranda rights. R.R. at 284. In

addition, the fact that appellee was a

suspect remains a relevant fact in

determining the custody issue.

Beckwith, supra. The suppression court

therefore had a right to consider the

Suspicion the police had about appellee

in evaluating all the conflicting evi-

dence concerning his freedom to leave.

Whether it incorrectly felt the focus on

appellee is an independent basis in this

Commonwealth for a finding of custody or

merely one relevant piece of evidence

which it considered in evaluating the

whole suppression record for the purpose

of resolving the custody issue is not

apparent. Since questions involving

conflicting evidence, or inferences from

it, are for the finder of fact, not an

appellate court, see, e.g., Commonwealth

23-93

v. Penn, 497 Pa. 232, 439 A.2d 1154,

cert. denied, 456 U.S. 980 (1982);

Commonwealth v. Whack, 482 Pa. 137, 393

A.2d 417 (1978); Commonwealth v.

Richman, 458 Pa. 167, 320 A.2d 351

(1974), I believe we should remand for

clarification on this point. Cf.

dgasper v. Workmen's Compensation Appeal

Board, 498 Pa. 263, 445 A.2d 1212 (1982)

(court should remand cases where fin-

dings of fact are internally

inconsistent). In any event, Superior

Court's outright reversal of the

Suppression court's ruling that the evi-

dence was admissible seems to me

incorrect under the standard governing

the scope of appellate review of rulings

by a suppression court:

When ruling on suppression

motions, the suppression court

is required to make findings

of fact and conclusions of law

as to whether evidence was

24- B40

obtained in violation of the

defendant's constitutional

rights. Pa.R.Crim.P. 323(i).

Tne suppression court must

determine whether the

Commonwealth has established

by a preponderance of the evi-

dence that the challenged evi-

dence is admissible. See

Pa.R.Crim.P. 323(h). On

review, our responsibility is

"to determine whether the

record supports the factual

findings of the court below

and the legitimacy of the

inferences and legal conclu-

sions drawn from those

findings." Commonwealth v.

Goodwin, 460 Pa. 516, 521, 333

A.2d 892, 895 (1975).

If the suppression court has

determined that the evidence

is admissible, “this Court

will consider only the evi-

dence of the prosecution's

witnesses and so much of the

evidence for the defense as,

fairly read in the context of

the record as a whole, remains

uncontradicted." Commonwealth

v. Kichline, 468 Pa. 264, 280,

361 A.2d 282, 290 (1976); see

Culombe v. Connecticut, 367

U.S. 568, 6004, 81 S.Ct. 1860,

1878, 6 L.Ed.2d 1037 (1961)

(Opinion of Frankfurter, J.)

-25- 8SA

Commonwealth v. Brown, 473 Pa. 562, 566,

375 A.2d 1260, 1262 (1977). See also

Commonwealth vs. Lark, 505 Pa. 126, 477

A.2d 857 (1984).

Thus, I would remand this case to

Common Pleas for consideration of this

custody question. However, if compelled

to reach the question of appellee's

right to counsel, my reading of the

United States Supreme Court's opinions

in Smith and Edwards, which are binding

on us, seems to me to force us to affirm

the grant of a new trial, contrary to

the reasoning on this issue in the opi-

nion announcing the judgment of the

Court.

-26- 9G

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

EASTERN DIVISION

COMMONWEALTH OF : NO. 25

PENNSYLVANIA, > EASTERN DISTRICT

Appellant : APPEAL DOCKET,1984

APPEAL FROM

JUDGMENT OF

SUPERIOR COURT

OF PENNSYLVANIA

: AT NO. 144,

V. : PHILADELPHIA,1981,

: DATED

JULY 15, 1983

318 PA. SUPER. CT.

76, 464 A.2d 1236

(1983)

DAVID £. HUBBLE, : ARGUED:

Aopellee : DECEMBER 7, 1984

DISSENTING OPINION

JUSTICE ZAPPALA FILED: JANUARY 19, 1986

I join in the dissent of Mr.

Justice Hutchinson only insofar as his

opinion would hold that Appellee effec-

tively invoked his right to counsel and

did not, thereafter, effectively revoke

-1- B90

same. I disassociate myself, however,

from the part of the dissenting opinion

which addresses the "focus of the

investigation" aspect which Mr. Justice

Hutchinson perceives to be present in

this case but which I cannot find under

these facts and which renders this

discussion unnecessary. Rather, I find

that Appellee was clearly in custody

when his request was made, and would, as

I did in Commonwealth v. Holcomb,

(J-122-1984), (Slip opinion at p. =

Zappala, J. dissenting), suggest that we

Save for another day any further

discussion of “focus of the investiga-

tion's" place in Pennsylvania jurispur-

dence until such time as the facts place

the issue squarely before this Court.

In so doing, we shall not add to the

-2- 3A

confusion of the law in this area by

further cluttering it with unnecessary

dicta.

3-89 A

Apasncuy “BR”

COMMONWEALTH OF ) IN THE SUPERIOR

PENNSYLVANIA, : COURT OF

Appellee ) PENNSYLVANIA

VS. )

DAVID —. HUBBLE, ) No. 144

Appellant : Ph‘ ladelphia, 1981

Appeal from Judgment of Sentence of the

Court of Common Pleas, Criminal Divi-

sion, of Lebanon County, No. 502 of

1977.

BEFORE: WIEAND, BECK and

MONTEMURO, Jd.

OPINION BY WIEAND, J.:

David E. Hubble was tried by jury

and convicted of robbery, burglary,

theft, criminal conspiracy and three

counts of murder in the second degree.|l

lFor a more detailed recitation of the

facts surrounding the homicides see this

Court's opinions affirming on appeal the

conviction of appellant's co-

conspirators: Commonwealth v. Hubble,

___Pa.Super. , A.2d = (J. 1790/82;

filed April 29, 1983); Commonwealth v.

Scarborough, Pa. Super, _ Cd.

1789/82; filed April 1983),

90 A

On direct appeal from judgments of sen-

tence, Hubble contends that his inculpa-

tory statement was unlawfully obtained

and should nave been suppressed. We are

constrained to agree. Therefore, we

reverse and remand for a new trial.@

"When ruling on suppression

motions, the suppression court 1s

required to make findings of fact and

to whether evi-

if?

conclusions of law a

dence was obtained in violation of the

defendant's constitutionai rights.

g

ein view of our disposition, we need

not address appellant's arguments that

the trial court erred in 1) denying

appellant's request for a continuance;

2) refusing a proposed voir dire

question; 3) restmicting examination of

a witness; 4) denying certain requested

points for charge; 9) refusing

appellant's motion for new trial based

on after-discovered evidence; 6) denying

appellant's motion for modification of

sentence. We have reviewed the record

and find appellant's challenge to the

sufficiency of the evidence to sustain

1

the convictions totally devoig of merit.

-2- G7 A

“

vv

“

wv

vv

“

5A 3 ;

4

s ‘

> y +

‘

’ y

_ ; ’

A

"

; 7

+

:

“i anf

/

‘ Z )

im ‘

‘

—y

A

vi

He was returned to the barracks and at

approximately 8:00 o'clock, p.m. signed

written consent to allow the State

Police to take his palm prints. After

tnis he was taken home.

On July 7, 1977, Shimko interviewed

appellant's wife, Virginia Hubble, who

told Shimko she thought that appellant

and she had been fishing with another

couple on the evening of August 5, 1976.

Near the end of the interview Mrs.

Hubble said that her husband had told

her of having been threatened by his

brother, Robert Hubble, on the evening

of August 7, 1976 at the Step Inn and

warned not to discuss the Kepner murders

with anyone. Shimko told Mrs. Hubble

that he would meet her and her husband

at the Lycoming County Courthouse the

next morning to discuss the August /,

1976 incident with appellant

-7] - 96 A

Appellant had been subpoenaed as a pro-

secution witness in a burglary case

against his brother and was scheduled to

testify on the morning of July 8, 1977.

During questioning in the District

Attorney's office that morning,

appellant informed Shimko that Robert

had admitted involvement in the murders

to him and had threatened him with death

if he told anyone. Three days later

Trooper Shimko again telephoned

appellant and arranged to transport him

to the State Police barracks for further

questioning on the following morning.

When Troopers Shimko and Zaremba arrived

at appellant's home shortly after 9:30

o'clock, a.m., on July 12, 1977,

appellant requested that his wife be

permitted to accompany him, and the

police agreed. At the barracks,

appellant once again signed a. waiver of

-8- 97A

his Miranda rights and agreed to submit

to another polygraph examination. The

polygraph examination was completed at

approximately 11:00 o'clock, a.m.

Trooper Jones, who had conducted the

.test, informed appellant that the test

indicated he had been lying about not

participating in tne murders. Trooper

Jones then left appellant in his office

and informed Trooper Shimko that, based

on the test results, he believed

appellant had been involved in the mur-

ders and that Jones "had him in the

house." Shimko then informed Virginia

Hubble, who was in another office being

questioned by Trooper Zaremba, that

appellant was probably involved in the

killings and requested her assistance in

7

eliciting information from appellant.

Jones and Shimko had Known

appellant for several year

oY

ss

.

j

20

- 4

FI

-

/

PI

>

S 4

Ne

>

a

+ Ss

?

>

r

j

‘

nr

~~

yy

ad

c«

4

2

nr

»/ }

= ]

al

e

> >

4

or

J

>

A

r4

;

y* ¥

an?

£

na

, »

YA

eee!

77

Qe

2

2

Or

J

+

e

>

ee

o

QyY

_ J

r) 2

‘ +

=) r pp

‘

}

} J

4

r _

2

ry

‘ ,

—+ Oo :

nn

J

4

NA

24

» +

4 4

> } y

y

i

c

. >

> 6

A

r)

ld

al a

~ i 4d

a

=

+ a

3

4

J

iw

‘

;

? 4

y|

r Oo

al

'

» +

“a

|

n

+

Jc

ee

rs

cr?

-~

4

2

, ©

4

,

f

,

.

>

r) £2

J

+ 7

Wa

;

‘

3

J

- +

> v

s

oni

J

Tr

ii

e

J

~—,

m

r

se

“~ +4

}

J

>

tn

r

r

Ti x

no

nN

nN t

Hs

c <¢

yo

e «

c C¢

i

J

—_

+

an

P|

4

Cf)

-V

cr

__™

‘

A

U

,

oO

is)

who

was

at which point he became visibly angry

as a result of appellant's continued

denials that he had been involved. He

yelled at appellant and told him that he

knew he was involved in the crime and

was lying, and then stormed out of the

room. Shimko returned approximately 15

minutes later and apologized for losing

his temper. He then resumed his

questioning of appellant, not about his

participation in the slayings, but with

respect to his brother's statements con-

cerning the murders; and he asked

appellant if he would agree to give a

statement on tape regarding Robert's

statements. Virginia Hubble spoke

before appellant responded and suggested

to her husband that he obtain a lawyer

before giving any further statements.

Appellant thereupon requested a lawyer.

Appellant testified that the tygouoper

-ll- §@o

responded, "I can't give you a lawyer,

You're not charged with nothing."

Shimko testified that appellant first

requested a lawyer and then requested a

public defender. The trooper told

appellant that a public defender would

probably not come out to talk with him

because he had not been arrested, but

that he could call whomever he wished.

Appellant then asked for permission to

call Attorney Jack Felix.4 Shimko

looked up Attorney Felix's telephune

number for appellant and permitted

appellant to dial the number. Felix,

however, was not available, and

4attorney Felix had served as the

Lycoming County Public Defender from

June of 1970 until March or April of

1976 and had once represented appellant

while serving in that office. It is not

clear from the record whether appellant

WaS aware that Attorney Felix had

resigned from that position.

-12- 04 A-

appellant then requested permission to

call his probation officer, David

McCool. When appellant reached Mr.

McCool, he explained that he was being

questioned at the State Police barracks,

wanted an attorney and that he had been

unable to reach Attorney Felix who was

out of town. Appellant asked McCool if

the Public Defender's office would

represent him while he was being

questioned. McCool told appellant that

he wasn't sure whether the Public

Defender's office would represent him

Since he had not been arrested but

suggested that appe!lant call the Public

Defender's office and ask. Appellant

then hung up the phone and spoke for a

Short period of time with his wife.

Shimko again asked appellant if he would

give a taped statement, and this time

appellant agreed. He gave a taped

-13- JOA

Statement concerning the statements

allegedly made to him by his brother

Robert. The taped statement concluded

at approximately 2:45 o'clock, p.m.

Shimko left appellant in Trooper Jones'

office and went into the hallway to

Speak to Virginia Hubble. He told her

he believed that her husband had par-

ticipated in the murders and that if

appellant had anything further to say he

Should contact Shimko. Shimko and

appellant's wife then returned to Jones'

office where Shimko repeated to

appellant his conversation with Virginia

and informed appellant that he would

take him home if he so desired.

Appellant requested permission to speak

to nis wife privately, and Shimko left

the two of them alone in Trooper Jones'

office. During the next forty-five

minutes Shimko looked in on them several

-14- sos34

times and asked them what they wanted to

do. Each time they requested that they

be able to continue their conversation

privately. At approximately 3:45

o'clock, p.m., Sergeant Peterson and

Trooper Shimko entered Trooper Jones'

office and began speaking with appellant

and his wife. Peterson testified that

when he entered Trooper Jones! office he

"told Dave that there was an individual

that we had talked with who toid us that

at the time of the crime David was in

the car, David went into the house with

Bob and Milt... . And exactly basic-

ally what this individual tiad told us

as far as David's participation in the

crime." Appellant's wife then

interrupted and gave an account of the

events of the evening of August 5, 1977,

which incriminated appellant, his

brother Robert and abel Du, rough.

-15- JOYA

Shimko said that her statement was an

accurate account of the crime. Mrs.

Hubble explained that she had pieced the

Story together after "sitting there

listening to conversations that Trooper

Zaremba and Trooper Shimko had been

having with her and Dave that day

-" Appellant again denied that he

nad participated in any way in the mur-

ders and again asked to speak with his

wife privately. Approximately one-half

hour later, Peterson and Shimko re-

entered the room, without being

requested to do so by either appellant

or his wife. Sergeant Peterson again

began questioning appellant, and

approximately five minutes later asked

appellant, “Now, Dave, were you or

weren't you in the house?" Appellant

then "broke down and stated that he

was." Following his oral aa

-16- JOS

appellant gave a taped confession from

S:485 O° Cloce, P.M. until 6:30 o'clock,

p.m. The District Attorney was con-

tacted and, upon Shimko's request,

agreed to defer appellant's arrest until

after Robert Hubble's preliminary

hearing. Shimko then took appellant and

his wife to her parents' home where he

explained to her parents the events of

the day and requested that they permit

appellant to stay with his wife at her

home until he was formally arrested.

Appellant was arrested a month later on

August 3, 1977.

The suppression court neld that

appellant had been subjected to custo-

dial interrogation on July 12, 19/77 for

Miranda purposes and that the investi-

gating officers had engaged in interro-

gation and conduct calculated to or

likely to evoke admissions. We agree

-i17- JOGA

‘

r

4 ;

} y

Al

ra 4

, . 4

r :

;

4 >

|

4 , .

P 4

;

. |

“?F

- ,

. > 4 .

2 ’ 7

>

‘ 4 » 4

y + ;

a" / ne "

,

: _

4+ +

. ,

; ‘ 4

7 ’ 4 ’

“ . ; i , 3

‘ rT Fr

“Vv y Y «

4 ) y +

. , - . — .

+ A

ARG st

’

+} y

QA ,

"v ; ¥ « 4

“ “

. ’ 7 ,. C49

+ 4 ) r ,

7s ’ — sc

“

‘ d« A4~#

7 -

4¢ 4 4 ’

‘ / . .

;

a aaron

‘ , J

a9 ,

4 <a / | A £

, . / 7

, ’ |

y /

¥ ’ sv

: ‘ «4 * |

4 P

; Be +54 =.

\ b

a

|

Ss

\ 4

As "

/

eg

4

. “? ,

. ,

4 t

’ , 4

NPa

*%

nen ed

’

;

454

, 7 Jj)

awe

19/73);

Ty

>

+

—"

;

AA ©

, >

;

4 5

4d 8

169

‘Vw ,

Commonwealth v. Banks, 429 Pa. 53,

58-59, 239 A.2d 416, 419 (1968). The

Suppression court determined further

that appellant had been adequately

advised of his right to appointive coun-

sel and that he had voluntarily and

knowingly waived his right to such coun-

sel. We are bound by the court's fin-

dings of fact where, as here, they are

Supported by the record. However, “we

are of course not bound by the lower

court's conclusions of law... . See

e.g., Commonwealth v. Davis, 491 Pa.

363, 421 A.2d 1/9 (1980); Commonwealth

v. Webb, 4391 Pa. 329, 421 A.2d 161

(1980); Commonwealth v. Cruz, 489 Pa.

559, 414 A.2d 1032 (1980);

Commonwealth v. Williams, 287 Pa.

Super. Ct. 19, 429 A.2d 698 (1981)."

Commonwealth v. Lapia, Pa. Super.

, » 457 A.2d 877, 885-886 (1983).

19. fo9A

a 1)

-

P

*

54

7

A

}

he 7

o

_

4 ,4A

, , I

' w ry

Aan «

; ’

™ Nwe

A

‘

- _

-

yA

St ami ¥

; ‘

4

‘ s

r +o

,

/ ’

‘ ‘

‘

r

. }

‘

“

5

r _

wf

5

Oy ?

> |

? 4

~ WV

"

In

? > j

¥

‘

i.

.

’ r

“

,

‘

’ }

‘

y a

"

iy

AA

4

"

r

’

‘

4

, Fr

¥

‘

rT?

¥

aA

%

xy er

Torr

Na

‘ ta

4

4

Aa’ad

’

4

r,

4nmPF

4

4

. ,

’

. ‘da

4 ,

ry ¥

4

>

OA

4G

4

/

r

4

;

‘

5

op

,

4 :

ne

an y

Vi

that

randa

~~ 3

J

a ‘

461 f

4 ?

wed

" “

ha

y e

&

) 5

nwe

2 2

onc

Wa

tnos

a

&

cea

re

+h

ad

>

t n

Z -

(=)

,

DD

A

4/]

4

[?)

m

c

>

-ca

7 &

Shimko's testimony explained the cir-

cumstances

Surrounding appellant's

request for counsel as follows:

CA.

Ginny, Virginia turned to

Dave and says, ‘Dave, I

think you better get a

lawyer.'

What did he say?

He said, ‘I want a lawyer.'

A lawyer?

‘I want a lawyer.'

Any in particular? Did he

mention the public defender?

He mentioned the public de-

fender a short period of

time later, yes.

What did he say about a

public defender?

He said, ‘I want a public

defender.’

What did you say to him

when he said he wanted a

lawyer or a public defender?

At this particular time I!

said to Dave -

Excuse me, I'm sorry, When

he said ‘I want a lawyer,’

-21- [1oA

did you make any response

to that?

It's after he stated 'I

want a public defender’ is

when I made the response to

him.

What was your response?

My response to Dave at this

particular time was, ‘Dave,

you can call whoever you

want to call. I do not be-

lieve that a public defend-

er will come out to talk to

you because you were not ar-

rested. We are not accusing

you of any crime. We're

talking about what Bob had

told you. This is all we're

concerned with at this par-

ticular time, but you are

willing or you're able to

call whoever you wish to

cail.*

Wnat was Mr. Hubble's re-

sponse to what you said?

Mr. Hubble said, ‘I want to

call Mr. Felix.’

Did you give a phone book

to Mr. Hubble so that he

could look up the number?

-22- pri

THE

I believe I looked the

phone number up for Mr.

Hubble.

Of Mr. Felix?

Of Mr. Felix.

Did Mr. Hubble dial the

phone for Mr. Felix?

Yes, he did.

Did he reach somebody at

the other end?

He talked to his secretary.

Were you listening in?

I was listening from my

side.

You heard Mr. Hubble's side

of the conversation?

Yes.

Go ahead. What did you

hear?

COURT: You weren't listen-

ing in on the phone?

WITNESS: No, no. I was

listening to the conver-

sation that Mr. Hubble

was having. Mr. Felix

was not in at that particu-

lar time.

-23- 112 A

BY MR. BANKS: (Continuing)

Q.

Pp

> ©

Was that the impression

you got?

That is the impression I!

received.

Did Mr. Hubble say any-

thing at that point?

He just hung the phone up.

Did he make any more calls?

Yes.

Why?

Mr. Hubble then said he

wanted to talk to his pro-

bation officer, Dave McCool.

He then reached into his

wallet and pulled out Mr.

McCool's telephone number

from the inside of his

wallet and called that par-

ticular telephone number.

This was the home phone of

Mr. McCool.

What time was this?

Shortly before the tape was

given. I would say approx-

imately 10, 15 minutes be-

forehand.

Did he reach Mr. McCool?

-24- ISA

A. He reached Mr. McCool at

home.

Q. Did you get the impression

he was talking with Dave

McCool?

A. Yes.

Q. How long did he talk to

Mr. McCool?

A. A matter of two, three

minutes.

Q. When he hung up did Mr.

Hubble say anything to

you or to Trooper Zaremba?

A. Mr. Hubble then conferred

with Ginny for a period of

between three to five min-

utes, that range. I again

asked Mr. Hubble at that

time whether or not he wiSsh-

ed to give me a taped state-

ment. At that time he

stated he would."

The United States Supreme Court

held in Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S.

477, 484-485, 101 S.Ct. 1880, 68 L.Ed.2d

378 (1981), reh. denied, 452 U.S. 973,

101 S.Ct. 3128, 69 L.Ed.2d 984 (1981),

"that when an accused has invoked his

_25- (4A

right to have counsel present during

custodial interrogation, a valid waiver

of that right cannot be established by

Showing only that he responded to fur-

ther police-initiated custodial interro-

gation even if he has been advised of

his rights." It held further “that an

accused, . . . having expressed his

desire to deal with the police only

through counsel, is not subject to

further interrogation by the authorities

until counsel has been made available to

him, unless the accused himself ini-

iates further communication exchanges

or conversations with the police."

(footnote omitted) (emphasis supplied).

See also: Wyrick v. Fields, Fe Pe

, ___, 103 S.Ct. 394, __, 74 L.Ed.2d

214, 217 (1982). The defendant in

Edwards had been arrested at his home on

charges of murder, robbery and burglary

-26- HSA

and had been taken to the police station

where he was informed of his rights as

required by Miranda. He agreed to sub-

mit to questioning and was told that

another individual already in custody

had implicated him in the crime.

Edwards denied any involvement and gave

a taped statement consisting of an

alibi. He then indicated that he wished

to “make a deal" but stated that he

wanted an attorney before making the

deal. All questioning immediately

ceased. The next morning two officers

came to the jail to speak with Edwards.

Edwards told the guard he didn't wish to

see anyone, but was told by the guard

that he had to meet with the officers.

The officers identified themselves and

informed Edwards of his Miranda rights.

Edwards indicated that he was willing to

talk with the officers but asked first

-27- §1&

to hear the taped statement of the indi-

vidual who had implicated him. After

listening to the tape, Edwards said he

would tell the officers anything they

wanted to know as long as it was not

taped. He then confessed. The Arizona

Supreme Court held tnat Edwards' waiver

and confession had been voluntarily and

knowingly made. The United States

Supreme Court, reversing the Arizona

Supreme Court, observed that "the volun-

tariness of a consent or an admission on

the one hand, and a knowing and intelli-

gent waiver on the other, are discrete

inquiries. Here, however sound the

conclusion of the state courts as to the

voluntariness of Edwards' admission may

be, neither the trial court nor the

Arizona Supreme Court undertook to focus

on wnether Edwards understood his right

to counsel and intelligently A

28-44

knowingly relinquished it. It is thus

apparent that the decision below misun-

derstood the requirement for finding a

valid waiver of the right to counsel,

once invoked." Edwards v. Arizona,

supra at 484, 101 S.Ct. 1880, 68 L.Ed.2d

378.

In the instant case, appellant, who

had a borderline retarded mentality,

requested counsel to assist him during

questioning. He was told that the

public defender would not respond to a

request for assistance because appellant

had not been arrested and was not being

accused of a crime. This, despite the

fact that on several prior occasions he

had been told that he was entitled to

counsel before answering any questions

and that if he was unable to afford

counsel, one would be appointed to

represent him free of charge. It was

-29- I

also said despite the fact that police

believed appellant to have been a part

of the killing. It was, at best,

misleading to tell him that he was not

a suspect. In fact, Colin Brown had

already identified appellant as a par-

ticipant in the murder of Mrs. Kepner's

children and had told police that he

heard appellant admit involvement. The

police, moreover, had repeatedly told

appellant that his denials of involve-

ment were lies and that they had a wit-

ness who could testify regarding his

participation.

The United States Supreme Court has

expressly held that “a valid waiver of

[the right to counsel] cannot be

established by showing only that [the

defendant] responded to further police-

initiated custodial interrogation even

if he has been advised of his right."

-30- JIGA

Edwards v. Arizona, supra at 484, 101

S.Ct. 1880, 68 L.Ed.2d 378 (emphasis

supplied). See also: United States v.

Youngblood, supra at 232-234, 307 A.2d

2

6-927; Commonwealth v. Mercier,

supra at 215-216, 302 A.2d at 340;

Commonwealth v. Nathan, supra at

Commonwealth v. Frambro, 230 Pa. Super.

Fuentes, 443 A.2d 184, 191 (R.

—_, 281 S.E.2d 594, 597 (1981). The

record in this case establishes beyond

peradventure of a doubt that after

appellant had clearly and unequivocally

invoked his right to counsel and after

he nad attempted, unsuccessfully, to

reach counsel by telephone, he was

questioned further by Trooper Shimko.

-31- pao hk

That he responded to such police-

initiated questioning does not establish

a waiver of the right to counsel pre-

viously invoked. “For a waiver. . . to

be effective, the reversal of the defen-

dant's positon must have been initiated

by him." Commonwealth v. Frambro, supra

at 223, 326 A.2d at 437, quoting

Commonwealth v. Mercier, supra at 216,

302 A.2d at 340 (emphasis supplied).

Here, it was not appellant who, after

asserting his rights, indicated a desire

to waive them without further activity

on the part of the police. Instead, it

was the police who initiated the chain

of events which culminated in

appellant's inculpatory statement. This

was improper. Appellant had requested

and was entitled to have counsel pres-

ent. His statement given in response

to police questioning a without coun-

-32- jz

se] should have been suppressec.

The judgment of sentence is

vacated, and the case is remanded for a

new trial. Jurisdiction is not retained.

»33- 122A

Alppendac “'C"

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF

LEBANON COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA

CRIMINAL

COMMONWEALTH OF - ACTION NO. 502

PENNSYLVANIA

VS. - 1977

DAVID HUBBLE

APPEARANCES

ROBERT F. BANKS,

ESQUIRE

First Assistant FOR THE COMMON-

District Attorney WEALTH

ROBERT B. ELION, FOR THE DEFEND-

ESQUIRE ANT

OPINION, WALTER, J., FOR THE COURT

_EN BANC, OCTOBER 15, A.D., 1980.

After twelve days of trial a jury

on November 25, 1977 found defendant

guilty of robbery, burglary, theft,

conspiracy and six counts of murder in

the second degree. David E. Hubble, the

defendant, timely filed post-trial

motions for a new trial and, in the al-

-1- JZ3A

ternative, in arrest of judgment. We

have been favored with briefs from both

Sides; oral argument was waived. The

issues raised by defendant in his

motions and subsequent listing of addi-

tional reasons will be treated seratim.

Bs

Defendant first contends that the

Court erred in failing to grant his

motion to suppress incriminating state-

ments taken from him by the police.

Specifically, defendant alleges that on

July 12, 1977, he was subject to custo-

dial interrogation calculated to evoke

admissions without being adequately

informed of his right to counsel and in

the absence of an intelligent, informed

waiver of such right.

x 124 &

We must first determine whether or

not defendant was subject to custodial

interrogation on July 12, 1977. The

test for determining whether a person is

in custody for Mirandal purposes is

whether he “. . . iS physically deprived

of his freedom in any significant way

or is placed in a situation in which he

reasonably believes that his freedom of

action or movement is restricted by such

interrogation. . . ." Commonwealth v.

—_ - —- — — — =

Romberger, 454 Pa. 279, 283, 312 A.2d

353, 355 (1973).

Defendant relies on Commonwealth v.

Brown, 473 Pa. 562, 375 A.2d 1260

(1977), in support of his contention

that a reasonable man in defendant's

cm ee ee ee

1See Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436,

86 S. Ct. 1602, 16 L. Ed.2d 694 (1966).

-3- JasAa

situation would have perceived the

restraint of his freedom. In Brown,

supra, police took defendant to a public

building and questioned him intermit-

tantly over a period of ten hours.

The next day police informed defendant

of discrepancies between his statements

and those of another security guard on

duty the night of the killing. Both he

and the other guard were taken back to

the public building, but defendant was

not told he was not under arrest nor

that he was free to leave.

The Court held questioning on the

second day constituted custodial

interrogation for which prior warning

were required. Moreover, where oral

admission and a subsequent taped state-

ment were obtained through exploitation

of a statement obtained from defendant

during earlier, prewarning interroga-

-4- (ACA

tion, such admission and statement

should have been suppressed.

In light of the above, we find

that, for Miranda purposes, defendant

was the subject of a custodial interro-

gation throughout the day of July 12,

1977. Prior to July 12, 1977 defendant

had been questioned three times and had

undergone a polygraph examination. On

July 12, 1977 defendant was subjected to

another polygraph examination and

further questioning. He remained at the

station for approximately eight hours.

b.

Given that finding we must deter-

mine whether defendant was subject to

poi.ce conduct calculated to or likely

to evoke admissions.

In Commonwealth v. Yount, 455 Pa.

303, 309, 314 A.2d 242, 245-6 (1974),

€. 1278

the Court, quoting Commonwealth vy.

Simala, 434 Pa. 291, 226, 252 A.2d 575,

578 (1969) stated:

"'TCI Jt is not simply custody

plus “questioning,” as such,

which calls for the Miranda

safeguards but custody plus

police conduct. . .calculated

to, expected to, or likely to,

evoke admissions.'

"The rational behind this holding is

found in Miranda where the Court stated:

"Confessions remain a proper el-

ement in law enforcement.

The fundamental import of the

privilege. . . is not whether

Can individual] is allowed to

talk to police without the ben-

efit of warnings and counsel,

but whether he can be interro-

gated. There is no require-

ment that the police stop a

person who enters a police

station and states that he

wishes to confess to a crime

; Volunteered state-

ments of any kind are not

barred by the Fifth Amend-

ment. °

"Miranda v. Arizona, supra, at 478, 86

S. Ct. at 1630 (emphasis added).

"'Clearly, “any question likely

to or exnected to elicit a con-

fession constitutes ‘interroga-

-6- IQR A

tion' under Miranda,

“Commonwealth v. Simala, supra

at 227, Zee Ax.ce a Sr;

Accord, Commonwealth v.

Mercier, 451 Pa. 211, 214, 302

A.2d 337, 339 (1973). But

"Cajny statement given freely

and voluntarily without any com-

pelling influences is, of course,

admissible in evidence."

Miranda v. Arizona, supra at 478,

66 S$. Ct. at 1630, te ts tevee

6946 .°*

It is clear, in the instant case,

that defendant was subject to interroga-

tion on July 12, 1977. First, Trooper

W. Jones testified at the suppression

hearing that after administering the

polygraph test on July 12, he told

defendant: “David, I still don't think

you're telling us the whole truth about

this." (Supp. T. 33) Furthermore, he

informed Trooper Shimko that defendant

was “reacting” to the questions asked

that day and that the test results indi-

cated that defendant had been in the

house. (Supp. T. 50-51)

7. Maga

Defendant was then told by Trooper

Shimko that he was being deceitful in

his interview with Trooper Jones and

that "he had some knowledge about this

particular offense and that he could

have participated or had knowledge of

this offense in some way, shape or

form." (Supp. T. 100) At one point

Trooper Shimko became angry and left the

room. Before leaving he told defendant

that ". . . I felt that he was involved

in his offense, that he could have been

in the house and that he could have par-

ticipated in some way, shape or form,

and that I felt that he was not being

truthful with me and I walked out of the

room." (Supp. T. 102) The record goes

on to recount various instances when

defendant was interrogated regarding his

involvement in the murders.

As defendant was subject to inter-

-8- so

rogation, the procedural safeguards of

Miranda apply.

Cs

Having found that defendant was

entitled to Miranda warnings, we must

next decide whether he was adequately

advised of his rights.

Defendant contends that he was not

adequately advised of his right to coun-

sel since he was led to believe that

appointive counsel was unavailable. We

find no merit in defendant's argument.

Trooper Shimko testified at the

Suppression Hearing that defendant was

told he could call whoever he wished.

", . . I do not believe that a public

defender will come out to talk to you

because you were not arrested. . ., but

you are willing or you're able to call

whoever you wish to call."

9. 130A

(Supp. T. 114) Defendant then attempted

to contact Mr. Felix, a lawyer located

in Williamsport, Pennsylvania, who had

previously been a public defender in

Lycoming County. Mr. Felix was

unavailable.

Defendant then contacted his proba-

tion officer, David McCool. Mr. McCool

testified that he told defendant he

wasn't sure whether the public defen-

der's office would represent him at that

time. However, he told defendant ".

to call them and find out. I had no

knowlege whether they would or not."

(Supp. T. 251) After the conversation

with Mr. McCool, defendant conversed

with his wife for three to vive minutes.

Trooper Shimko then asked whether defen-

dant wished to give a statement.

Defendant stated he would. (Supp. T.

117) He was advised of his Miranda

-10- saZA

rights and again asked whether he wished

to give a statement. He replied "Yes."

(See Exhibit 19)

Based upon these facts we find that

defendant was adequately advised of his

right to counsel.

d.

Once we find that defendant was

fully advised of his right to counsel,

we must next ascertain whether he waived

his right.

It is axiomatic that a defendant

may waive his right to counsel and priv-

ilege against self-incrimination. A

heavy burden, however, rests upon the

prosecution to show such a waiver. We

are persuaded the burden was met in this

case.

In Commonwealth v. Bullock, 459 Pa.

243, 328 A.2d 494 (1974), the defendant

-1- /33e

(1973>.

In the instant case, defendant was

given the opportunity to contact the

public defender's office. He failed to

do so. He thereafter talked with his

wife, who had acted as his advisor on

many occasions before and was undispu-

tedly operating in that capacity this

day, and then agreed to give a state-

ment. He was informed of his Miranda

rights for the third time@ that day and

for the third time he waived those

rights. It is clear that any subsequent

Statements were made after a knowing and

intelligent waiver of his constitutional!

rights. There is no evidence that the

defendant was tricked into giving a sta-

tement or that his will was overborn.

2First, by Trooper Jones; second, at the

beginning of the interview with Cp!

Shimko, by the latter.

“13. OSA

The police were not dealing alone

with a defendant possessed of borderline

retarded mentality. Defendant may have

a compelling argument if it were so.

But here defendant was told twice - by

Officers Shimko and by his Probation

Officer - to call the Public Defender

office to determine if he could get a

lawyer under the circumstances

obtaining. Furthermore, he had ample

opportunity to talk with his wife on

whom he placed great reliance,

throughout the day generally and at the

critical moment in particular. Jt was

only after talking with her that defen-

dant decided he wanted to make a state-

ment without benefit of counsel.

te

Specifically, defendant states that

the “totality of the circumstances"

-14- 136A

under which the confession was given

requires the conclusion that the con-

fession was coerced. We disagree.

Throughout the day starting at

approximately 10:00 a.m. defendant had

ample opportunity to use the toilet

facilities, refused several offers of

food but drank an abundance of coffee;

the physical conditions of his detention

were pleasant, airy and bright; and his

wife was with him constantly during the

period of interrogation. He had a con-

siderable opportunity to discuss his

situation fully with his wife before he

confessed.

Moreover, about 3:00 p.m. or about

one and a half hours before defendant

made his inculpatory statement, the

police adorned with coats and hats, were

ready to take the Hubbles home. Staying

longer - the next three and vi hours -

-15- 439

was the defendant's decision. And

again, during a private conference with

Virginia that consumed the first forty-

five minutes of that span, defendant was

informed the police were ready to take

them home.

We are satisfied - and so was the

jury, apparently - David Hubble's con-

fession was the product of a "free and

unconstrained choice."

III.

Defendant's next argument entails

the applicability of the Futch Rule.3

Defendant asserts he was arrested on

July 12, 1977 but not arraigned until

August 3, 1977. Our review of the case

law supports the finding that defendant

was not arrested on July 12, 1977.

3Commonwealth a Futch, 447 Pa. 389,

20 A.2d 417 972).

“16- 139A

In determining whether or not an

arrest for Fourth Amendment purposes has

been made, the intent of the parties is

of great importance. "“'An arrest may be

accomplished by “any act that indicates

an intention to take [a person] into

custody and subjects him to the actua!

control and will of the person making

the arrest."'" Commonwealth v. Farley,

468 Pa. 487, 494, 364 A.2d 302 (1976).

In this case there was no intent on

the part of the police to arrest defen-

dant and no belief on the part of the

defendant that total submission to

police control was required. The record

is replete with indicators defendant

voluntarily came to the station for

questioning and voluntarily remained

after the initial questioning had been

completed. He was not taken into

custody nor deprived of 139A.” to

-17-

leave even after his confession was

recorded. Nor did his wife, with him in

the building the entire time, feel they

could not go anytime they chose. The

Futch Rule is, therefore, inapplicable.

vi

The defendant next claims the Court

erred in not granting defendant's

request for continuance. Defendant's

counsel contends three months was an

insufficient period of time to prepare

the case for trial.4 We find little

merit in this argument. Neither the

surrounding facts nor the nature of the

case was so intricate as to warrant a

finding that defendant was denied his

4The facts disclose that Robert B.

Elion, Esquire, was appointed as

Special Public Defender on August 19,

1977. The trial commenced on November

14, 1977.

is. JA

due process rights. Indeed, defendant's

counse! did an admirable job in pre-

senting defendant's case. As his own

Petition for Continuance indicated, he

expended a considerable period of time

working on the case.

In Commonwealth v. Plath. __ Pa.

Super. __, 405 A2d 1273 (1979) the

Court held no abuse of discretion in

denying defendant's request for a con-

tinuance where the request was based on

the absence of a witness and defendant

gave no assurance concerning the content

of his testimony or even, whether the

witness could be located.

Defendant's request of a con-

tinuance in this case in order to track

down ali “leads” and investigate al]

potential witnesses was properly denied.

4@s Itt A

v.

Defendant argues here that the

Court erred in not permitting a proposed

voir dire question, to wit: “David

Hubble has given the statement to the

police which puts him at the scene of

the crime while the murders took place.

Will this fact alone prevent you from

listening to the evidence and rendering

a fair verdict based solely upon that

evidence?"

Preliminarily, we note that the

goal of questioning prospective jurors

is to provide the accused with a com-

petent, fair, impartial and unprejudiced

jury. Commonwealth v. Fulton, Pa,

Super. __, 413 A.2d 742 (1980). “While

considerable latitude should be per-

mitted in a voir dire, the inquiry

should be strictly confined to

disclosing qualifications of a jury and

“20- 4Y~2RA

whether a juror has formed a fixed opin-

ion or may be otherwise subject to

disqualification for cause." Id. at

__, 413 A.2d at 743.

Defendant's proposed jury question

went beyond merely inquiring into juror

prejudice. Instead, defendant attempted

to ask a question "'., . . designed to

disclose what a juror's present

impression or opinion may be or what his

attitude or decision will likely be

under certain facts which may be devel-

oped in the trial of the case.'”

Commonwealth v. Werts, 483 Pa. 222, 224,

395 A.2d 1316, 1317 (1979) quoting from

Commonwealth v. Johnson, 452 Pa. 130,

134, 305 A.2d 5, 7 (1973).

We find no reason to disturb the

refusal by the Trial Court to permit

that question on voir dire.

_21- 4¥34

VI.

Similarly we find no merit in

defendant's contention the Court erred

in not permitting an examination of

Colin sgrown regarding an incident which

took place at Dennis Carpenter's house

in early July, 1976. Defendant argues

such was relevant as bearing upon

Brown's possible confusion of the nights

of August 5, 1976 and that one in July,

1976.

Whatever prejudice may have

resulted to defendant and we see none,

is erasd by the wide latitude given

defendant on the cross-examination of

Brown. Defendant has myriad oppor-

tunities to demonstrate Brown's recall]

or lack thereof.

VII.

We turn now to defendant's asser-

.22- IVYA

tion there was insufficient evidence to

sustain his conviction of the crimes

charged.

In Commonwealth v. Harper, 485 Pa.

572, 576 403 A.2d 536, 538 (1979), the

Supreme Court stated:

"In evaluating the sufficiency

of the evidence, the test is

whether, viewing the evidence

in the light most favorable to

the Commonwealth, and drawing

all reasonable inferences

favorable to the Commonwealth,

there is sufficient evidence

to find every element of the

crime beyond a reasonable

doubt. . . The Commonwealth

may sustain its burden of

proving every element of the

crime beyond a reasonable

double by means of wholly

circumstantial evidence."

There is nothing to he gained by

outlining here the details of the

heinous crimes p2rpetrated on the vic-

tims by the defendant and his co-

conspirators. That is done for us in

the record; through the testimony of an

213. I(¥SA

accomplice; in the pellucid account of

their investigations rendered by the

police officers, who demonstrated excep-

tional skill in their work; and not the

least, in the recorded confession given

by the defendant to the police, unencum-

bered by duress, coercion and overborn

will, relating his part in the crimes

and describing in detail what happened.

The jury was given proper instruc-

tion on the place in evidence chat con-

fession occupied, how to evaluate

whether it was voluntary, and that evi-

dence extraneous to its content must

corroborate it. We are persuaded the

jury believed Colin Brown's account of

defendant's conduct, demeanor and state-

ments on defendant's return for "a quest

for beer", as well as John Shafer's

discourse regarding his presence with

Scarborough and the Hubble brothers on

-24- #4GA

the ill-fated foray. The testimony with

other similzr evidence of like kind

coupled to the gruesome physical facts

reviewed by law enforcement represen-

tative was sufficient, if believed by

the jury, to validate the subject matter

of the confession

No legal citation is necessary to

posit the maxim the jury is at liberty

to believe whom it will. It is pain-

fully obvious the jury declined to

accept as credible the evidence prof-

fered by defendant tending to show he

was elsewhere on the night in question.

Those twelve men and women heard it all,

sifted through the considerable supply

of exhibits, documents, data, confir-

mations and authentications.

From it they decided the defendant

did accompany his brother Robert and

Milton Scarborough into the Kepner

-25- J¥7

house, that one of the three demanded

money from Mrs. Kepner who refused, that

she was shot and killed for her trouble

by the culprit attempting the exaction;

that the defendant then participated in

Slaying the two youngsters and in taking

the approximate eighty dollars from Mrs.

Kepner's purse.

It was bestiality, an exhibition

of sheer baseless morality, a seeming

barbaric ritual, bespeaking of the prac-

t.tioners nothing of socially redeeming

virute.

There was ample evidence not only

to establish the homicides, but the

crimes of burglary - entry of Mrs.

Kepner's home without permission and

with the intent on the part of the

defendant to commit a crime: theft, of

robbery - taking property of another by

force and, in this case, inflicting

-26- 4¥

serious (mortal) bodily injury; of theft

itself - unlawful taking of property

belonging to another with no intent of

returning it; and of conspiracy - the

mere fact the defendant was acting with

two others in the types of crimes com-

mitted would belie coincidental presence

of the three.

In our perspective the jury made no

error in evaluating the testimony.

There is more than sufficient credible

evidence to sustain the verdicts.

VIII.

Finally, defendant complains that

this Court erred in denying points for

charges Nos. 7, 9 and ll.

Defendant's request for jury

instruction No. 7 read as follows: "The

additional element of flight, which is

as consistent with fear as it is with

be I%9 A

guilt, does not convert one's presence

at the scene of the crimes to guilt.”

This charge was refused because of

the lack of evidence of "flight" as the

word iS commonly used. Defendant's

reliance on Commonwealth v. Goodman,

__. Pa. Super. __, 350 A.2d 810 (1976)

for support of his proposition is

misplaced.

In that case the Court held that

the evidence was as consistent with the

inference that defendant innocently,

happened upon the scene and fled out of

fear as it was with the inference that

defendant was a participant in the

burglary. Therefore, presence of defen-

dant at scene of crime was not suf-

ficient to establish guilt beyond

ae ee eee

5The Random House Dictionary defines

flight as the “act of fleeing; hasty

departure." aoe 150 f-

reasonable doubt. In this case we would

be hard-pressed to find that the two

above inferences were equally weighted.

But beyond that there was no flight

on which we are aware other than leaving

the scene of the crime after everything

the defendant set out to do was

accomplished. Were we to accept defen-

dant's interpretation of that activity

we would be lead to the absurd result of

requiring courts to use that charge in

every case not involving red-handed

apprehension of the defendant. As we

stated before the record contains suf-

ficient credible evidence to find that

defendant participated in the crimes.

Accordingly we hold that point No. 7 was

properly refused.

The defendant also challenges the

court's refusal of point No. 9. Its

requested charge states: Of defen-

-29 f34

dant in this case, had knowledge of the

perpetration of these crimes, after

their commission he is not rendered

responsible for the commission of those

crimes either as a principal or an

accessory (sic)". We would respectfully

call to defendant's attention that point

was read to the jury. See page 2324 of

the trial transcript.

Finally, defendant claims the Court

erred in refusing point No. 11, which

read: “Even if you find that the defen-

dant, David Hubble, was present at the

home of Claire Kepner, in her kitchen,

and if you find in addition that he went

to the house believing that Milton

Scarborough or Boh Hubble were intending

to borrow money from the occupant of the

home, that he himself did not commit any

of the crimes alleged, that he was

merely present in the kitchen without

-30- JS2A

any criminal intent, ,du must find hin

~ 4

>

not guilty of all of the charges against

nie.

That theory was adequately covered

in other instructions to the jury by tne

Trial Court. A review of the Tria!

Transcript, pages 2324 2265 and 2340

will demonstrate that. Once a point or

tenet is covered it need not De re-

emphasized ad nauseum. On balance,

defendant was given the benefit of a

fair charge.

Defendant's further arguments that

this Court should grant him a new trial

based upon after-discovered evidence and

upon failure of the Commonwealth to pro-

vide defense counse! with certain post-

4. ISGA

trial exculpatory evidence® were

addressed in an Adjudication dated June

11, 1980, incorporated herien by

reference, of which defendant was given

notice.

Try aS we might we can find no

meritorious reason to arrest judgment or

on which to base an award to the defen-

dant of a new trial. Accordingly his

post-trial motions will be refused.

6Later withdrawn as an issue by defen-

dant at the February 13, 1980 hearing

on the alleged after-discovered evi-

dence.

30. ISYA

Apoenday “D”

SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

EASTERN DISTRICT

COMMONWEALTH OF

PENNSYLVANIA, Qs £2 Ges

Appellant :

APPEAL DOCKET,

vs.

1984

DAVID £€. HUBBLE,

Appellee

JUDGMENT

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now

here ordered and adjudged by this Court

that the ORDER of the SUPERIOR COURT

which vacated the judgment of sentence

and remanded for a new trial, is

REVERSED and we REMAND this case to the

Superior Court for disposition of

appellee's remaning allegations of

error.

BY THE COURT:

Marlene F. Lachman, Esq.

Prothonotary

DATED: January 16, 1986 ISGA

\

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.