Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Casaceli v. Cheramie Bo Truc 11, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1986

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

| upreme Court, U.S.

85 - -1351 "7 LE D

NO. re8 10 1908

= 7 SEPH ESPANOL, JR.

CLERK

|

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

DOLORES BODD CASACELIT, Individually and As Duly

Authorized Representative of the Estate of Joseph Stanley

Bodd,

and EVELYN BODD,

Petitioners

VERSUS

CHERAMIE BO TRUC 411, INC., and TRANSOCEAN

CONTRACTORS, INC.,

Respondents

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

FIFTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

JAMES P. RYAN

Morrow & Morrow

324 W. Landry Street

P. O. Drawer 7090

Opelousas, LA 70571

318/948-4483

A B Letter Service, Inc., 327 Chartres St., New Orleans, La. (504) 581-5555

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Did the Court of Appeals violate petitioners’

Seventh Amendment right to a trial by jury by failing to

use the proper standard of appellate review in reversing the

jury verdict on the basis that the evidence was insufficient

to support the verdict?

Did the Court of Appeals err in finding the evidence

insufficient to support the jury’s conclusion that respon-

dent, Cheramie Bo Truc #11, Inc., was negligent?

Did the Court of Appeals err in finding the evidence

insufficient to support the jury’s conclusion that respon-

dent, Transocean Contractors, Inc., was negligent?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Drnnwthetee Premio cecssccesesscsssscsscesesnnniddasssinnsatiansssitieisaes i

Tee? OE CRIES. nnn ii

Be Oe Re iiss cstacinicisersinicctimbiieiaciametal iii

IND Te a rciscesnessssiecrnnseresessccotenenind’ sntblaidinasichapiitiaa 1

IIo ceicarcascecisavinsimsiantinnensiaareniaiaaaananianaaaal 3

Constitutional Provisions and Federal Statutes............... 3

DRO, CE WD Gi axcinressinsemdctdeenanes 4

PDI OIIIR o6000scicinsianucsseverssanisanibeasinsnnesgestataanianasianenanakansannansas 9

I. Did the Court of Appeals Violate Petitioners’

Seventh Amendment Right to a Trial by

Jury By Failing to use the Proper Standard

of Appellate Review in Reversing the Jury

Verdict on the Basis that the Evidence was

Insufficient to Support the Verdict?...................... 9

II. Did the Court of Appeals Err in Finding the

Evidence Insufficient to Support the Jury’s

Conclusion That Respondent, Cheramie Bo

Truc #11, Inc., Was Negligent?.........................008 13

III. Did the Court of Appeals Err in Finding the

Evidence Insufficient to Support the Jury’s

Conclusion that Respondent, Transocean

Contractors Inc., Was Negligent?...................00000 22

CII oc stinissececssnissnsinnsnesensesenesiensiibanebecussansdaaaeainaanaaaailal 28

CATORTICOED OE Bei WI isi ccctsencssssisscnrsisinessmmatenens 29

PEER PRisisastisrniscsirieimouenanee A-l

FETE, Wve vcasssssnccsccescinstnturiitniacnidienieeenaennaaen A-7

PAE, Goss csniecniscccsinserseracersseennteunhsanunennnmeeeeneinnead A-14

PAR TEUIE AG Bi cescssincsssiccennscessscniaepsasdeesemmiaiieeenessalaaaa A-34

eo

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cheek V. Williams-Mc Williams, 697 F.2d 649 (1983)......... 9

Daigle V. Point Landing, Inc., 616 F.2d 825 (1980)....... 25

Gross V. Black & Decker (U.S.), Inc., 695 F.2d

aed acca hainehhatlansensieatios seiedianbainhihiuiabitisaniniiein 10

Moragne V. State Marine Lines, Inc., 398 U.S.

Morein V. Reading & Bates Drilling Co., Et Al,

Fifth Circuit No. 83-4768 (1984)...........cccccccceessceeeeseees 21

Scindia Steam Navigation Co. V. De Los Santos,

on sais ne vcauencbasccbenssease 5,19,20,21

U.S. V. Mowbray’s Floating Equipment,

ee ca achuliuasudaveinensekennaa’ 26

Seventh Amendment to the U.S. Constitution................. 3

I INN gc ciccccickscicvscosecsessensvesesavecnensanseacreansancccctly(

1

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1985

NO.

DOLORES BODD CASACELI, Individually And As

Duly Authorized Representative of the Estate of Joseph

Stanley Bodd and EVELYN BODD,

Petitioners

VERSUS

CHERAMIE BO TRUC #11, INC. and

TRANSOCEAN CONTRACTORS, INC.,

Respondents

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

FIFTH CIRCUIT

KKK KKK EK KE KK

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

KKK KKK KK KKK

OPINIONS BELOW

2

The judgment of the jury in the United States

District Court for the Western District of Louisiana in the

case entitled ‘‘Dolores Bodd Casaceli, et al v. Martech In-

ternational, Inc., et al’’ bearing Civil Action No. 80-0097,

consolidated with ‘‘Dolores Bodd Casaceli, et al v.

Cheramie Bo Truc #11, Inc."’ bearing Civil Action No.

80-0098, dated April 12, 1984, is not reported, but is

reprinted in the Appendix hereto, Pages A-1—A-6, infra.

The ruling by the United States District Court for

the Western District of Louisiana on the post-trial motions

filed by respondents in the case entitled ‘Dolores Bodd

Casaceli, et al v. Martech International, Inc.’’ bearing Civil

Action No. 80-0097, consolidated with “Dolores Bodd

Casaceli, et al v. Cheramie Bo Truc #11, Inc.”’ bearing Civil

Action No. 80-0098, dated June 22, 1984, is not reported,

but is reprinted in the Appendix hereto, Pages A-7—A-13,

infra.

The Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit in the case entitled ‘‘Dolores Bodd

Casaceli, , Individually and as Representative of Succes-

sion of Joseph Stanley Bodd, etc, v.Martech International,

Inc., Transocean Contractors, Inc. and Cheramie Bo Truc

#11, Inc.”’ Opinion No. 84-4452 dated October 29, 1985, is

not reported, but is reprinted in the Appendix hereto,

PagesA-14—A-33, infra.

The denial of petitioners’ Petition for Rehearing by

the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in

the case entitled ‘‘Dolores Bodd Casaceli, Individually and

as Representative of Succession of Joseph Stanley Bodd,

etc. v. Martech International Inc., Transocean Contrac-

tors, Inc. and Cheramie Bo Truc #11, Inc.’’ No. 84-4452,

dated December 11, 1985, is not reported, but is reprinted

in the Appendix hereto, Pages A-34—A-35, infra.

3

JURISDICTION

The Opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Cir-

cuit was filed on October 29, 1985, and a copy of the opi-

nion is attached to this petition in the Appendix. The denial

of petitioners’ Petition for Rehearing was entered by the

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit on December 13,

1985, and a copy of the denial is attached to this petition

in the Appendix. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND

FEDERAL STATUTES

Seventh Amendment, United States Constitution:

‘In Suits at common law, where the value in

controversy shall exceed twenty dollars, the right of

trial by jury shall be preserved, and no fact tried by a

jury, shall be otherwise reexamined in any Court of the

United States, than according to the rules of the com-

mon law.”’

Title 33 U.S.C. §905(b):

“In the event of injury to a person covered

under this chapter caused by the negligence of a

vessel, then such person, or anyone otherwise entitled

to recover damages by reason thereof, may bring an

action against such vessel as a third party in accor-

dance with the provisions of section 933 of this title,

and the employer shall not be liable to the vessel for

such damages directly or indirectly and any

agreements or warranties to the contrary shall be

void. If such person was employed by the vessel to

provide stevedoring services, no such action shall be

permitted if the injury was caused by the negligence of

persons engaged in providing stevedoring services to

4

the vessel. If such person was employed to provide

shipbuilding, repairing, or breaking services and such

person's employer was the owner, owner pro hac vice,

agent, operator or charterer of the vessel, no such ac-

tion shall be permitted, in whole or in part or directly

or indirectly, against the injured person’s employer (in

any capacity, including as the vessel's owner, owner

pro hac vice, agent, operator, or charterer) or against

the employees of the employer. The liability of the

vessel under this subsection shall not be based upon

the warranty of seaworthiness or a breach thereof at

the time the injury occurred. The remedy provided in

this subsection shall be exclusive of all other remedies

against the vessel except remedies available under

this chapter.”’

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On August 12, 1978, Joseph Bodd, an employee of

Martech International, Inc., drowned while attempting

underwater repairs to the propellors of a vessel owned by

respondent, Cheramie Bo Truc #11, Inc. (Cheramie). At the

time of his accident, Joseph Bodd was working in a slip

owned and operated by respondent, Transocean Contrac-

tors, Inc. (Transocean).

Dolores Bodd Casaceli, the representative of Bodd's

estate, and Evelyn Bodd, Joseph Bodd’s mother, sued

Cheramie and Transocean alleging both Cheramie and

Transocean were liable for the death of Joseph Boda. The

suit alleged that Cheramie and Transocean were guilty of

ordinary negligence and gross negligence. Compensatory

and punitive damages were sought against both Cheramie

and Transocean.

The jurisdiction against the owner of the vessel, Cheramie,

was based on 33 U.S.C. §905(b). Petitioners argued to the

jury that the vessel owner, Cheramie, violated all three of

the duties owed Joseph Bodd, as enunciated by this court

5

in Scindia Steam Navigation Co. v. De Los Santos, 451

U.S. 156 (1981).

The jurisdiction against the owner of the slip, Tran-

socean, was based upon the general maritime law. See

Moragne v. State Marine Lines, Inc., 398 U.S. 375 (1970).

Petitioners argued to the jury that the slip owner, Transo-

cean, violated several duties owed Joseph Bodd under the

general maritime law.

After a trial on the merits before a jury, the jury returned

a verdict and answered special interrogatories propounded

to it. The jury found that both Cheramie and Transocean

acted in gross and wanton disregard of the safety of Joseph

Rodd and awarded petitioners both compensatory and

punitive damages. A judgment was entered by the trial

court which recited the findings of the jury. See Appendix,

Pages A-1—A-6, infra.

After the judgment, both Cheramie and Transocean filed

lengthy post-trial motions with the trial judge. Both par-

ties moved for judgments notwithstanding the verdict, in

the alternative, a new trial, and in the further alternative,

remittitur. With the exception of the motion for remittitur

of the award for loss of society, the trial judge denied all

post-trial motions in an eight page decision signed on June

22, 1984. See Appendix, Pages A-7—A-13, infra. A reading

of the trial judge's ruling shows that all post-trial motions

were carefully considered and that the trial judge was not

reluctant to grant relief when he felt the evidence was in-

sufficient to support the jury’s verdict. After considera-

tion, the trial judge concluded that the evidence was suffi-

cient to support the jury’s conclusion that Cheramie and

Transocean were both guilty of ordinary negligence and

gross negligence.

In an October 29, 1985 opinion, the Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit reversed the verdict of the jury and the

judgment of the trial judge and held that the evidence was

insufficient to support even a finding of ordinary

6

negligence against either Cheramie or Transocean. The

issues of gross negligence and punitive damages were not

even addressed by the Court of Appeals.

A careful reading and analysis of the Court of Ap-

peals’ Opinion is critical to an understanding of the ques-

tions presented in this Petition. The Court of Appeals’ Opi-

nion is divided into six sections and each section contains

a different analysis by the Court of Appeals. It is easy to

identify each section of the Opinion because the Court of

Appeals has labeled the sections by Roman Numerals I

through VI. An identification and summary of the contents

of each section of the Opinion is helpful to an understan-

ding of the questions presented in this Petition, and will

therefore be set forth below. Petitioners respectfully invite

the Court to read the following summary of the analysis oc-

curring in each section of the Court of Appeal’s Opinion

and then turn to and read the actual language contained in

the corresponding language of the opinion, to determine

that the following summary accurately reflects the

analysis contained in each section:

A) Section I -- In this section of the Opinion, the

Court of Appeals sets forth a summary of its understan-

ding of the facts in the case. See Court of Appeals Opinion,

Pages 358-360, reproduced in the Appendix at Pages

A-16—A-19, infra.

B) Section II -- In this section of the Opinion, the

Court of Appeals reviews the proceedings occurring in the

District Court. See Court of Appeals Opinion, Page 360,

reproduced in the Appendix at Page A-19, infra.

C) Section III -- In this section of the Opinion, the

Court of Appeals discusses the statutes and jurisprudence

which define and govern the various duties owed by a

vessel owner to a person engaged in longshoring or ship-

repair work on the vessel. See Court of Appeals Opinion,

Pages 360-364,reproduced in the Appendix at Pages

A-19—A-25, infra.

7

D) Section IV -- In this section of the Opinion, the

Court of Appeals addresses the law applicable to the duty

of the slipowner, Transocean, under the general maritime

law. See Court of Appeals Opinion, Pages 364-365,

reproduced in the Appendix at Pages A-25—A-27,infra.

E) Section V -- This section of the Opinion is most im-

portant to the questions presented in this Petition. After

setting forth the proper standard by which the “‘sufficiency

of the evidence”’ is to be judged, the Court of Appeals sub-

divides Section V into ‘‘A”’ and ‘‘B’’. Section V(A) appears

to be an analysis of the ‘‘sufficiency of the evidence”’ in the

record to support the jury’s verdict against the vessel

owner, Cheramie. See Court of Appeals Opinion, Pages

365-369, reproduced in the Appendix at Pages A-27—A-32,

infra. Section V(B) appears to be an analysis of the ‘“‘suffi-

ciency of the evidence”’ in the record to support the jury’s

verdict against the slip owner, Transocean. See Court of

Appeals Opinion, Page 369, reproduced in the Appendix at

Pages A-32—A-33, infra.

F) Section VI -- In this section of the Opinion, the

Court of Appeals restates its conclusion that: ‘The

evidence is not sufficient to support the verdicts against

either appellant.’’ See Court of Appeals Opinion, Pages

369-370, reproduced in the Appendix at Page A-33, infra.

As stated above, the language of the Court of Appeals’

decision that addresses itself to the sufficiency of the

evidence to support the jury’s conclusion of negligence is

found in Section V of the Opinion. This writer has pain-

stakingly analyzed and counted each sentence appearing in

Section V of the Opinion. Section V contains 73 sentences.

With the exception of one sentence, none of the 73

sentences in Section V of the Opinion addresses any facts

or inferences which might support the jury’s finding that

both Cheramie and Transocean were negligent. Instead, 72

out of the 73 sentences appearing in Section V either:

8

1) state conclusions of law; or

2) discuss facts which would support a conclusion

that Cheramie and Transocean were not

negligent; or

3) discuss facts which would support a finding of

negligence as to Joseph Bodd; or

4) discuss inferences drawn from facts to support

conclusions made about the knowledge or lack of

knowledge on behalf of Cheramie or Transocean;

or

5) discuss inferences drawn from facts to support

conclusions made about the knowledge or lack of

“knowledge of Joseph Bodd.

If the questions presented in this Petition are to be fairly

reviewed, then this Court must examine each sentence in

Section V of the Opinion in order to determine whether that

sentence fits into one of the five categories set forth above

or whether that sentence addresses itself to the sufficiency

of the facts or inferences which might support the jury’s

finding of negligence. If this analysis is performed and this

Petition denied, then justice will have been served. If this

analysis is not performed and this Petition denied, then a

grave injustice will have been done to petitioners.

In Section I of tre Court of Appeals’ Opinion, the

Court states its appreciation of the facts. Petitioners sub-

mit that the record contains many facts which would sup-

port the jury’s finding of negligence that do not appear in

Section I of the Opinion. However, it is not necessary that

this Court have these additional facts before it to fairly

decide the questions presented in this Petition. If the facts

recited by the Court of Appeals in Section I of its Opinion

are fairly analyzed using the proper standard of appellate

review, it is clear that these facts alone are sufficient to sus-

tain the jury’s verdict.

9

ARGUMENT

Review by this Court is necessary because the Court

of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit blatantly substituted its

opinion for that of the jury’s and effectively denied peti-

tioners their Seventh Amendment right to a trial by jury.

The opinion of the Court of Appeals does not contain any

language to demonstrate that it was attempting to follow

the traditional standard of appellate review in reversing

the verdict of the jury below. This total disregard for the

proper standard of appellate review is a gross departure

from the usval course of appellate judicial review and war-

rants an exercise of this Court’s power of supervision. Even

though petitioners strongly disagree with the result reach-

ed by the Court of Appeals, it is not for this reason that

this Court should review the Opinion of the Court of Ap-

peals. Even if the result would be the same, this Court

should review the Opinion of the Court of Appeals because

of the manner in which the Court of Appeals reached its

decision. If allowed to stand in its present form, the Opi-

nion of the Court of Appeals will create a dangerous prece-

dent and stand as an open invitation to all unsuccessfu]

litigants to attempt to re-litigate adverse factual findings

by the trial court in the Court of Appeals.

I. DID THE COURT OF APPEALS VIOLATE

PETITIONERS’ SEVENTH AMENDMENT

RIGHT TO A TRIAL BY JURY BY FAILING

TO USE THE PROPER STANDARD OF AP-.-

PELLATE REVIEW IN REVERSING THE

JURY VERDICT ON THE BASIS THAT THE

EVIDENCE WAS INSUFFICIENT TO SUP-

PORT THE VERDICT?

In admiralty cases, conclusions of negligence and

proximate cause are treated as fact questions. This princi-

ple was addressed in Cheek v. Williams-McWilliams, 697

F.2d 649 (1983), where the court stated:

|

10

“Questions of negligence and proximate cause in ad-

miralty cases are treated as fact questions. Marcona

Corp. v. Oil Screw Shifty III, 615 F. 2d 206, 208 (5th

Cir. 1980); S.C. Loveland, 608 F.2d at 166.”’ 697 F.2d

at 649.

The proper standard of appellate review of facts has been

addressed many times by this Court. It has been repeated-

ly held that findings of fact by the trial court will not be

disturbed if supported by sufficient evidence in the record.

The decision of the court in Gross v. Black & Decker (U.S.),

Inc., 695 F.2d 585 (5th Cir.1983)., contains an excellent

description of the proper role of an appellate court in

reviewing findings of fact. In Gross, the court stated:

‘This Court affords great deference to jury findings.

The Seventh Amendment to the Constsitution pro-

vides that no fact tried by a jury shall be re-examined

by any court of the United States except according to

the rules of common law. For that reason, an appellate

court may not reweigh the evidence or set aside the

jury’s verdict merely because the appellate judges

could have drawn different inferences or conclusions

from the evidence, or feel that other results might be

more reasonable. Boeing, 411 F.2d at 376 N. 16;

Gallick v. Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Co., 372 U. S.

108, 83 S. Ct. 659, 9 L.Ed.2d 618 (1963); Sentilles v.

Inter-Carribean Shipping Corp., 361 U.S. 107, 80 S.Ct.

173, 4 L.Ed. 2d 142 (1959). Thus, the most an appellate

court can do is to determine whether there was any

competent and substantial evidence in the record

which fairly tends to support the verdict. Mortenson v.

United States, 322 U.S. 369, 64 S.Ct. 1037, 88 L.Ed.

1331 (1944). An appellate court will not overturn a

jury’s verdict then, even though contradictory

evidence has been presented, if there is any eviden-

tiary basis for the verdict.’’ 695 F.2d at 865 (emphasis

added).

It is clear that in reviewing findings of fact of a jury, an ap-

pellate court should concern itself with determining

‘whether there was any competent and substantial

11

evidence in the record which fairly tends to support the

verdict.”’

The essence of this petition lies in the fact that the

Court of Appeals failed to identify and examine the facts

which tend to support the verdict. Rather, the Court of Ap-

peals sought out facts which support respondents’ version.

If an opinion of an appellate court reverses a finding

of fact without attempting to identify and evaluate the suf-

ficiency of the evidence presented that might support the

finding, then the only conclusion is that the appellate court

is not following the proper standard of appellate review.

If the October 29, 1985 opinion is read with the

above principles in mind, the conclusion is inescapable that

the Court of Appeals did not follow the proper standard of

appellate review in arriving at its decision. After stating on

Page 366 of the opinion that ‘‘the record contains no

evidence of negligence sufficient to sustain the jury’s ver-

dict’’ against Cheramie, the Court spends the next three

pages of the opinion explaining how it reached tha conclu-

sion. See Appendix, Pages A-27—A-32, infra. Petitioners

request that this Court examine that language and find any

language that addresses itself to the issue as to whether

there was sufficient evidence to support the jury’s finding.

With the exception of one sentence,! this discussion con-

tains absolutely no language discussing the lack of

evidence to support the jury’s finding. Instead of address-

ing the sufficiency of the evidence which might support a

conclusion that Cheramie was negligent, the Court of

Appeals:

10n Page 367 of the opinion is found the following statement:

‘The record contains no evidence that any vessel passed by the Transo-

cean slip during or around the time of Bodd’s final dive.’’ See Appendix,

Page A-28, infra.

(1)

(2)

(3)

(4)

(5)

12

Discusses facts which would support a conclusion

that Cheramie was not negligent;

draws inferences from facts to support conclu-

sions made about the knowledge or lack of

knowledge of Cheramie;

states conclusions of law;

discusses facts which would support a finding of

negligence on the part of Joseph Bodd; and

draws inferences from facts to support conclu-

sions made about the knowledge or lack of

knowledge of Joseph Bodd.

In one single paragraph on Page 369 of the opinion,

the Court of Appeals discusses the evidence it considered

in arriving at the conclusion that there was insufficient

evidence to support the jury’s finding of negligence on

behalf of Transocean. See Appendix, Page A-32, infra.

Again, petitioners request that this Court examine that

language and point out any language that addresses itself

to the issue as to whether sufficient evidence exists in the

record from which a jury could infer that Transocean was

negligent. This issue was not addressed. Instead, the Court

of Appeals:

(1)

(2)

(3)

(4)

makes conclusions of law;

draws inferences from the facts to support conclu-

sions made about the knowledge or lack of

knowledge of Transocean;

discusses facts which might support a conclusion

that Transocean was not negligent; and

discusses facts which would support a finding of

negligence as to Joseph Bodd, and makes in-

ferences from facts to support conclusions about

the negligence of Joseph Bodd.

13

Simply put, the language of the opinion

demonstrates the Court of Appeals reweighed the evidence

and substituted its conclusions for those of the jury. This

fundamental error has resulted in petitioners being effec-

tively denied their Seventh Amendment right to a trial by

jury. If the language in Section V of the Opinion is careful-

ly examined, there can be no other conclusion but that the

Court of Appeals merely decided the case differently than

the jury and then attempted to justify its decision with

facts and inferences that would support a different conclu-

sion than that reached by the jury. This total disregard for

the proper standard of appellate review is a gross departure

from the usual course of conduct by an appellate court and

warrants an exercise of this Court’s power of supervision.

The remainder of this brief will attempt to identify

the facts and evidence supporting the verdict which were

identified in Section I of the Opinion, but not addressed by

the Court of Appeals in Section V of its Opinion. See Ap-

pendix, Pages A-16—A-19, infra. The Court is asked to

keep an open mind in reviewing these facts, as the Court of

Appeals’ reversal of the jury’s mandate affects Joseph

Bodd’s survivors greatly.

Il. DID THE COURT OF APPEALS ERR IN FIN-

DING THE EVIDENCE INSUFFICIENT TO

SUPPORT THE JURY’S CONCLUSION THAT

CHERAMIE WAS NEGLIGENT?

It is not the intention of petitioners to convince this

Court that Cheramie was negligent. The evidence suppor-

ting the conclusion that Cheramie was not negligent has

already been thoroughly discussed and set forth in the

Court of Appeals’ Opinion. See Appendix, Pages

A-27—A-32, infra. However, as was discussed in the forego-

ing section, the Opinion does not contain any language to

suggest that the Court of Appeals has evaluated the

evidence to see if it is clearly sufficient to support the

as

14

jury’s conclusion that Cheramie was negligent. If the

record is evaluated only to determine whether it reasonably

supports the jury’s finding of negligence, then the judg-

ment against Cheramie would be reinstated.

While the facts are conflicting, there are certainly enough

facts both in the record and in the Court of Appeals’ Opi-

nion to conclude that Cheramie may have been negligent.

Before addressing the matter as to how the facts recited by

the Court of Appeals support a finding of negligence, it

would be helpful to lists the facts upon which the jury could

reasonably have relied in reaching its conclusion that

Cheramie was negligent. To keep matters simple, only facts

listed in this Court’s October 29, 1985 opinion will be

evaluated. It is also important to discuss the reasonable in-

ferences or conclusions the jury could have drawn from

knowledge of these facts. After each fact is set forth below,

a discussion of the reasonable inferences which the jury

might have drawn from knowledge of that particular fact

will immediately follow. The pertinent facts and reasonable

inferences are:

FACT NO. 1:

‘‘Joseph Bodd, an employee of Martech International, Inc.

(Martech), worked as a diver’s tender on board the

Cheramie Bo-Truc #11 for the two weeks prior to August

12, 1979.” (Opinion Page 358, reproduced in Appendix,

Page A-16, infra.)

The jury could very well have concluded from this

fact that Cheramie had knowledge of the fact that Bodd

was inexperienced, because of Cheramie’s past dealings

with Bodd. Perhaps the jury concluded that Cheramie

knew Bodd was merely a diver’s helper who was inex-

perienced and making his debut as a diver. This inference

is certainly reasonable and would be relevant in evaluating

the negligence of Cheramie.

15

FACT NO. 2:

‘While backing into the Transocean slip, the right pro-

pellor of the Bo-Truc became fouled and the starboard

engine shut down. The captain docked the vessel by

using the port engine.”’ (Opinion Page 358, reproduced

in Appendix, Page A-17, infra.)

Despite this fact, Captain Gaspard was still able to

dock the vessel with the use of the port engine only. The

jury could easily have concluded from this fact that Cap-

tain Gaspard knew the vessel was capable of being moved

after one of its propellors became fouled and one engine

shut down.

FACT NO. 3:

“The slip contained a great deal of junk and debris.”’

(Page 358) ‘“The owners of the Cheramie knew the slip

water was muddy and that debris was floating in the

slip.” (Opinion Page 358, reproduced in Appendix,

Page A-17, infra.)

The crew of the Cheramie had been working with

divers in the two-week period before Bodd’s accident. The

Captain and crew were not strangers to divers and their

equipment. One need not be an expert diver to realize that

it is dangerous for a diver to allow his air hose to get tangl-

ed in debris. The jury could have concluded that the Cap-

tain of the vessel either knew or should have known that

the Transocean slip was not a safe place to attempt under-

water repairs.

FACT NO. 4:

“Although Captain Gaspard recommended dry-

docking the Bo-Truc for repairs, his supervisors decid-

ed to contract with Martech for a diver to free the pro-

pellor. Martech sent Joseph Bodd and a diver’s tender,

Thomas Runnels, to perform the contract.’’ (Opinion

Page 358, reproduced in Appendix, Page A-17, infra.)

Why did Captain Gaspard recommend to his superiv-

sors that they move the boat out of the Transocean slip and

dry-dock it for repairs when the Martech office and divers

16

were 100 feet away? This question was never addressed in

_ the Court’s opinion. While several conclusions are possible,

it is submitted the jury may reasonably have concluded

that Gaspard recommended dry-docking the boat because

he recognized that the deplorable condition of the Transo-

cean slip would not allow for safe and efficient underwater

repair. Furthermore, the fact that he was recommending

the vessel be moved and dry-docked for repairs certainly

supports the conclusion that the Captain knew the vessel

could be moved with only the use of the port engine. What

inference could the jury have drawn from knowledge of the

fact that Gaspard’s recommendation to dry-dock the vessel

was ignored by someone in an office 100 mile away, who

decided to go ahead and attempt repairs with divers. After

all, Captain Gaspard was at the slip and could see the

debris in and along the slip firsthand. He was in the best

position to decide how to safely repair the vessel. No ex-

planation was provided for why his recommendation was

ignored.

FACT NO. 5:

‘‘Bodd and Runnels set up their diving station at the

rear of the slip, sixty feet from the stern of the vessel.

Debris in the dock area of the Transocean slip made it

impossible for them to set up the station at the

customary location, the stern of the vessel.’’ (Page

358) ‘‘This was a sixty foot walk, during which Bodd's

air hose had to be dragged over debris on the bottom

of the slip.’’ (Opinion Pages 358-359, reproduced in

Appendix, Page A-17,infra.)

This fact was observed by both Cheramie super-

visors. The jury certainly could have concluded that the

Cheramie supervisors were aware that the forced location

of Bodd’s dive station created a hazardous situation. The

jury could have concluded that the Cheramie supervisors

knew that the debris on the bottom of the slip would be

hazardous to Bodd in light of the fact that he had to drag

his air hose 60 feet behind him to reach the work place. The

jury also could have concluded that the forced location of

17

the dive station seriously lessened the chances of effecting

a safe rescue in the event Bodd did get into trouble.

FACTS NO. 6 & 7:

‘‘Bodd first performed an inspection drive which

lasted fifteen or twenty minutes. Bodd inspected

both propellors and reported to Gaspard and

Gaspard’s supervisor, Buddy Curoles, that the star-

board wheel was fouled with rope and the port wheel

with cable. The Cheramie supervisors did not know

the port wheel was also fouled until this time.” (Opi-

nion Page 359, reproduced in Appendix, Page A-18,

infra.)

“Gaspard testified without contradiction that he

relies on the diver’s recommendations in these situa-

tions and that he would have moved the vessel if

Bodd had so requested. However, he did not so advise

Bodd. Runnels testified that he and Bodd did not re-

quest that the boat be moved because both propellors

were fouled and they did not know it could be mov-

ed."’ (Opinion Page 359, reproduced in Appendix,

Page A-18. infra.)

The jury could easily have concluded that Cheramie

acted unreasonably in failing to tell Bodd that the vessel

was capable of being moved to a slip where Bodd could set

up his equipment next to the vessel and not have to drag

his air hose over debris. The jury could reasaonably have

concluded that only Gaspard knew the vessel was capable

of moving to a safer work place after being informed both

propellors were fouled. Since the jury may have concluded

that only Cheramie had knowledge of the fact that the

vessel could be moved to a safer work place and that only

Cheramie had authority to move the vessel to a safer place,

it violated its duty to Bodd to provide a safe place in which

to work by not moving the vessel to a safer slip.

FACT NO. 8:

“Gaspard and Curoles then contacted the

18

the charterer, CNG Producing Company. Curoles recom:

mended dry-docking the boat. Because the vessel was need-

ed for another job and it was thought dry-docking might

take too long, the decision was made to request the diver

to proceed with the wheel job in the Transocean slip.’’ (Opi-

nion Page 359, reproduced in Appendix, Page A-18, infra.)

While the exact reason behind Curoles’ recommenda-

tion to dry-dock the vessel was never identified, the jury

could reasonably have concluded that Curoles made this

recommendation because of the hazardous conditions he

had observed firsthand in the Transocean slip. He was

aware of the debris on the bottom of the slip. He was aware

that Bodd was forced to drag his air hose 60 feet over

debris on the bottom of the slip. He was aware of the fact

that Bodd was an inexperienced diver. He was aware that

the location of the dive station severely hampered any

possibility of a rescue operation in the event the diver did

get into trouble. The jury could easily have concluded that

Cheramie acted unreasonably in ignoring the second recom-

mendation of an on-site supervisor to dry-dock the vessel

for repairs and allowing the decision to proceed with the

divers to be made by someone 100 miles away and for

economic reasons.

FACTS NO. 9 & 10:

‘“‘Bodd performed three more dives. On each dive

he complained over the radio to his tender about

his air hose becoming tangled with the debris on

the bottom of the slip. Gaspard and Curoles

observed Bodd's dives. Gaspard heard the radio

communications between Bodd and his tender.”

(Opinion Page 359, reproduced in Appendix, Page

A-18, infra.)

‘‘During Bodd’s fourth dive, Runnels noticed that

the radio was dead and that air bubbles were no

longer apparent.’(Page 359) ‘Gaspard and

Curoles had great difficulty in pulling up the air

hose which seemed to snap several times on

19

something under the surface.’’ ***‘‘Bodd's body was later

found floating under the vessel near its bow."’ (Opinion

Pages 359-360, reproduced in Appendix, Pages

A-18—A-19, infra.)

Consider the following inferences which the jury

might have drawn and which were not addressed in the

Court of Appeals’ Opinion:

(1) that Cheramie had actual knowledge that

Bodd was in danger because they observed his air

hose become tangled in debris and heard Bodd

complain about the problem on his radio;

(2) that Cheramie acted unreasonably in failing

to move the vessel to a safer work place or to in-

tervene and stop Bodd;

(3) that Bodd was young and inexperienced and

that the Cheramie supervisors knew this;

(4) that the two on-site supervisors allowed

Bodd to continue to subject himself to danger

because they had already twice recommended

that the vessel be dry docked for repairs and

these recommendations were ignored;

(5) that Gaspard and Curoles failed to intervene

and to stop Bodd because they were under orders

to continue repair operations with a diver, when

both of them had previously recommended a dif-

ferent and safer method of repair;

(6) that Bodd’s air hose became tangled on

debris in the slip and, faced with a desperate

situation, Bodd released his air hose and swam to

what he thought was the rear of the boat.

The list could go on. Suffice it to say, that there were many

inferences of Cheramie’s negligence unaddressed by the

Court of Appeals in its opinion.

Let us now discuss the above facts and reasonable in-

ferences in light of the three duties owed by the owner of

a vessel to a ship repairer, set forth in Scindia Steam

20

Navigation Co. v. De Los Santos, 451 U.S. 156 (1981). The

first duty owed by a vessel owner toa ship repairer is to fur-

nish the repairer a safe place to work. Consider the follow-

ing inferences the jury may have drawn from the evidence

which established that Bodd was not furnished a safe place

in which to work:

1) Cheramie did not provide Bodd with a work

space where he could properly set up his dive sta-

tion next to the stern of the vessel and where

Bodd could perform underwater repairs without

encountering debris that would snag his air hose;

and

2) Cheramie did not provide Bodd a safe place to

work in failing to move the vessel to a safe slip.

Cheramie controlled the decision as to where the work was

to be performed. While Cheramie could not make safe the

‘“‘underwater conditions’’ in the Transocean slip, it could

have made the underwater conditions safe by moving the

vessel to a safe slip.

The second duty owed by a vessel owner to a ship

repairer under Scindia is to warn the ship repairer of any

hidden dangers which the owner knows or should know

about in the ecercise of due care. A logicial extension of this

duty would require that the vessel owner warn or inform

the ship repairer that it is possible to avoid a danger when

only the vessel owner has knowledge that it is possible to

avoid a danger. The facts and inferences discussed above

certainly support a finding by the jury that Chermie was

negligent for failing to warn Bodd that it was possible to

avoid the dangers existing in the Transocean slip by mov-

ing the vessel to a safer slip. The jury could have concluded

also that only Cheramie knew the vessel was capable of be-

ing moved to another location and was negligent for failing

to inform Bodd when he was under the impression the

vessel was incapable of movement. This effectively depriv-

ed Bodd of an infcrmed and voluntary choice concerning

his decision to work in hazardous conditions existing in the slip.

21

Under Scindia, the third duty owed by a vessel owner

to a ship repairer is to intervene and stop the ship repairer

if the vessel owner acquires knowledge that a condition is

presenting a danger to the ship repairer and that the

employer of the ship repairer is unreasonably failing to pro-

tect the ship repairer from that damage. Actual knowledge

can be inferred from the evidence and can be proven by cir-

cumstantial evidence. This was made clear in the case of

Morein v. Reading & Bates Drilling Co., et al, Fifth Circuit

No. 83-4768 (1984), where the court stated:

“The jury couid have inferred such actual

knowledge on the basis of evidence from which it

could have found that the condition of the seas

was obvious to both the N.J. Guilbeau and the

M/V State Pride personnel and that it was

likewise obvious to the latter that the former were

aware of the dangerous conditions of the sea but

nevertheless commenced and _ continued

unloading operations. There is no requirement

that actual knowledge be proved by direct

testimony, such a witness testifying he knew

something, or testimony that a particular

employee was expressly told of a given situation.

Actual knowledge, like any other matter at issue

can be proved by circumstantial evidence.”

The evidence discussed earlier is clearly sufficient to

support a finding that Cheramie had actual knowledge of

the snagging of Bodd’s air hose on debris and that this was

a dangerous situation. On two occasions, Cheramie super-

visors requested the vessel be moved out to the Transocean

slip for repairs, and twice these recommendations were ig-

nored. The debris in and along the slip was obvious to

everyone before the diving operation began. The Cheramie

supervisors observed that Bodd was forced to set up his

dive station 60 feet away from the stern of the vessel and

drag his air hose over obvious debris sticking out of the

water. The Cheramie supervisors actually observed Bodd

encounter problems with his air hose becoming tangled in

22

the debris and heard him complain about this problem over

the radio. Furthermore, the Cheramie employees knew

Bodd was inexperienced. They saw Bodd continue to at-

tempt repair work in spite of the fact that his air hose was

getting snagged in debris. The Cheramie employees knew

that no Martech supervisor was around to protect Bodd

from unreasonably exposing himself to these dangers in his

eagerness to successfully complete his first job as a diver.

Despite this actual knowledge, Cheramie failed to in-

tervene and to stop Bodd.

A fair consideration of all the facts in light of Scin-

dia, supra, reveals that there is abundant evidence in the

record to support the jury’s finding that Cheramie violated

all three of its duties to Bodd.

III. DID THE COURT OF APPEALS ERR IN

FINDING THE EVIDENCE INSUFFI-

CIENT TO SUPPORT THE JURY’S CON-

CLUSION THAT RESPONDENT, TRANS-

OCEAN CONTRACTORS, INC. WAS

NEGLIGENT?

In one paragraph on Page 369 of its opinion, the

Court of Appeals concludes that the evidence was insuffi-

cient to support a finding of negligence against the slip

owner, Transocean. See Appendix, Page A-32. infra. A fair

review of the facts demonstrates that there was a great

deal of evidence to support a finding of negligence as to

Transocean. Since the Court of Appeals failed to discuss

facts which might have supported a finding of negligence

against Transocean in its opinion, an examination of these

facts is in order. Once again, to simplify matters, only facts

that appear in the Court of Appeals’ Opinion will be set

forth After each fact is set forth below, a discussion of the

reasonable inferences which the jury may have drawn from

these facts follows.

FACT NO. 1:

“While backing into the Transocean slip, the

23

right propellor of the Bo-Truc became fouled and

the starboard engine shut down.”’ (Opinion Page

358, reproduced in Appendix, Page A-17, infra.)

The jury could very well have concluded from the

above fact: that the Transocean slip was not properly main-

tained by Transocean; that Transocean was not keeping its

slip free of debris, since a vessel entering the slip was

unable to do so without getting debris entangled in its pro-

pellors; that a reasonable slip owner will anticipate that

vesels will enter its slip and that it has the duty to keep the

slip free of debris and obstructions. The fact that Bo-Truc

could not even enter the Transocean slip without getting

its propellors fouled, certainly supports the conslusion that

Transocean was violating its duty to keep the slip free of

obstructions. The jury could also have reasonably conclud-

ed that it was the violation of this duty that started the

chain of events that led to Bodd’s death. If Transocean had

keep its slip clean, the Bo-Truc could have entered the slip

without difficulty and it would never have been necessary

to request divers to perform repair work.

FACT NO. 2:

“The slip contained a great deal of junk and

debris.’’ (Page 358) “‘Visible debris floated at the

edge of the slip.” (Opinion Page 358, reproduced

in Appendix, Page A-17, infra.)

The jury could have very well concluded from these

facts: that Transocean was unreasonably failing to main-

tain its slip and that this unreasonable conduct had been

occurring for some time; that the Transocean employees

had knowledge that the bottom of the slip was covered with

debris; that Transocean either knew or should have known

that the debris in the slip would create problems for vessels

entering the slip and dangers to divers attempting to work

in the slip; that Transocean acted unreasonably in failing to

keep its slip free of debris and this unreasonable conduct

contributed to Bodd’s death; that, if the slip was properly

maintained, then the propellors of the vessel would not

24

have become fouled and the air hose would not have

become tangled.

FACT NO. 3:

‘“‘Bodd and Runnels set up their diving station at

the rear of the slip, sixty feet from the stern of the

vessel. Debris in the dock area of the Transocean

slip made it impossible for them to set up the sta-

tion at the customary location, the stern of the

vessel.’’ (Opinion Page 358, reproduced in Appen-

dix, Page A-17, infra.)

From the above facts, the jury could reasonably have

concluded: that Transocean’s failure to maintain the dock

area of the slip forced Bodd to set up his diving station 60

feet from the vessel; that this unreasonable failure to main-

tain the dock area played a casual relationship in bringing

about Bodd’s death. If Bodd had not been prevented from

setting up his dive station next to the vessel because of

junk lying along the side of the slip, he would not have been

forced to drag his air hose 60 feet over the debris in the slip

itself. Furthermore, if Bodd could have set up his dive sta-

tion next to the vessel, it would have greatly increased the

potential to rescue Bodd. The jury could have concluded

that Transocean acted unreasonably in allowing debris to

accumulate along the side of the slip, when it either knew

or should have known this accumulation of debris would

hamper the activities of people working in the slip.

FACT NO. 4:

‘‘Bodd performed three more dives. On each dive

he complained over the radio to his tender about

his air hose becoming tangled with the debris on

the bottom of the slip.’’ (Page 359) ‘‘Transocean

employees were also present during these diving

operations.’’ (Opinion Page 359, reproduced in

Appendix, Page A-18, infra.)

From knowledge of the fact that Transocean

employees were present during the dives, the jury could

have concluded many things. It could have concluded: that

25

Transocean had knowledge that Bodd was forced to set up

his diving station 60 feet from the stern of the vessel and

forced to drag his air hose over obvious debris in the slip;

that since Transocean employees were present during the

dives and that Bodd experienced difficulty with his air hose

becoming tangied in debris each dive, that Transocean had

knowledge of the problems which Bodd was experiencing.

Perhaps the jury concluded that Transocean should not

have allowed Bodd to attempt the repairs even if it did not

have actual knowledge of the problems experienced by

Bodd. Under the general maritime law, it is not necessary

to prove “actual knowledge’ to prove negligence. Perhaps

the jury felt Transocean ‘‘should have known”’ it was

hazardous to allow Bodd to attempt the repairs.

Now that the facts and inferences upon which the

jury may have relied in finding Transocean negligent have

been identified, it now becomes possible to evaluate

whether the evidence is sufficient to sustain the verdict.

While contradictory and sometimes confusing, the facts

and inferences discussed above are clearly sufficient to sup-

port the jury’s conclusion that Transocean was negligent.

Before addressing the findings of negligence, a few words

are in order concerning the standard which should be used

in evaluating Transocean’s conduct.

In the only paragraph of the opinion directed to the

sufficiency of the evidence against Transocean, the Court

of Appeal discussed only one possible duty which Transo-

cean may have violated. See Cpinion Page 369, reproduced

in Appendix, Page 432, infra. Curiously, the duty discuss-

ed is the duty of Transocean ‘‘to warn Bodd only of dangers

that were reasonably forseeable.’’ The reason this is

curious is that petitioners never argued to the jury that

Transocean violated any duty it may or may not have had

to warn Bodd of dangers. If it was never urged that Transo-

cean was negligent for failing to warn Bodd of dangers,

then it is clear that the Court of Appeals did not properly

———

26

evaluate the evidence that the Court of Appeals cites the

decision of Daigle v. Point Landing, Inc., 616 F.2d 825

(1980), in support of the conclusion that: ‘Transocean had

a duty to warn Bodd only of dangers that were reasonably

forseeable.’’ See Opinion Page 369, reproduced in Appen-

dix, Page A-32, infra. Petitioners do not quarrel with this

statement, but submit that focus of the Court on the ‘‘duty

to warn’”’ and the Daigle decision, shows that the Court

never evaluated the sufficiency of the evidence under the

theories of negligence advanced by petitioners at trial. The

Daigle decision is a case where the oniy theory of

negligence advanced by the plaintiff was that the owner of

a vessel failed to warn him before applying power to the

engine. In the immediate case, it was urged that Transo-

cean was negligent for several reasons, but failure to warn

was not one of them. For this reason alone, this petition for

certiorari should be granted and the sufficiency to the

evidence against Transocean evaluated under the theories

of negligence argued to the jury.

The Daigle case is one arising under the general

maritime law and does discuss the proper standard by

which the conduct of a defendant should be evaluated. In

addressing that standard of care, the Court states:

‘Ta analyzing a maritime tort case we rely on

general principles of negligence law. S.C.

Loveland, Inc. v. East West Towing, Inc. 608

F.2d 160, 165 (5th Cir, 1979). The plaintiff is owed

a duty of ordinary care.’’ 616 F.2d at 827 (em-

phasis added)

Thus, in a maritime tort case, the standard of care

owed by a defendant is one of reasonableness or ordinary

care. With this understanding of the standard of care re-

quired of a defendant in a maritime tort case, it now

becomes possible to evaluate whether the facts and in-

ferences discussed above are sufficient to support a conclu-

sion that Transocean failed to exercise ‘‘ordinary care.”

27

From the facts and inferences above, the jury could have

concluded that it was unreasonable for Transocean not to

maintain the bottom or side of its slip and that these inac-

tions contributed to Bodd’s death. It has been held that a

dock owner has a duty to exercise reasonable diligence in

ascertaining the condition of its slip and to remove any

dangerous obstructions. This duty was addressed in U. S.

v. Mowbray’s Floating Equip., 601 F.2d 645 (1979), where

the court stated:

‘“‘A wharfinger’s obligation is not to ‘guarantee

the safety of his vessels coming to his wharves’

but to ‘exercise reasonable diligence in ascertain-

ing the condition of the berths thereat, and if

there is any dangerous obstruction, to remove it,

or to give due notice of its existence to vessels

about to use the berths.’’ 601 F.2d 646 (emphasis

added)

It was also urged that Transocean was negligent in

allowing diving operations in the slip and the evidence

clearly supports such a finding. Perhaps the jury felt that

if Transocean did not have the good sense to maintain its

slip, then it was unreasonable for it to allow underwater

repairs to be attempted. Perhaps the jury felt it was

negligent for Transocean not to have ordered the diver out

of its slip or to have ordered the captain to move the vessel

to a safer slip. It was also urged that if Transocean did not

know underwater repairs were taking place in its slip, then

it was negligent for failing to properly supervise its slip.

Such a finding would be supported by the evidence. The

jury may also have concluded that Transocean employees

were aware of the problems Bodd was experiencing and

acted unreasonably in allowing him to continue. All of the

actions and omissions are sufficient to support a finding

that Transocean was negligent.

Ve

28

It is submitted that if this Court evaluates the facts

and inferences in the record upon which the jury might

have relied in finding Transocean negligent, it will conclude

that this result is supported by the record. For this reason,

petitioners pray that this petition for certiorari be granted

and judgment against Transocean be reinstated.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, it is respectfully sub-

mitted that this petition for a writ of certiorari should be

granted.

MORROW & MORROW

Attorneys for Petitioners

JAMES P. RYAN

324 W. Landry

P. O. Drawer 7090

Opelousas, LA 70571

318/948-4483

29

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that a copy of this Petition

for Certiorari has this day been forwarded to the following

counsel of record, by depositing same in the United States

Mail, postage prepaid and properly addressed, to-wit:

RANDALL K. THEUNISSEN, At-

torney for Transocean

Contractors, Inc., P. O. Drawer 3768,

Lafayette,

Louisiana 70502

JAMES R. CARTER and GLENN B.

ADAMS, Attorneys

for Cheramie Bo Truc #11, Inc., 704

Carondelet St.,

New Orleans, Louisiana 70130

This 108 day of February, 1986.

JAMES P. RYAN

A-l

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

LAFAYETTE-OPELOUSAS DIVISION

DOLORES BODD CASACELI, ET AL

CIVIL ACTION NO.

VS. 800097 SECTION O

MARTECH INTERNATIONAL, INC.

CONSOLIDATED WITH

DOLORES BODD CASACELI, ET AL

CIVIL ACTION NO.

VS. 800098 SECTION O

CHERAMIE BO TRUC 411, INC.

FILED APRIL 12, 1984

JUDGMENT

These actions came on for trial before the Court and

a jury, Honorable John M. Shaw, District Judge, presiding,

and the issues having been duly tried, and the Court having

instructed the jury to make answer to certain special inter-

rogatories, and the jury having duly rendered a verdict and

having made answer to said special interrogatories as

follows:

SPECIAL INTERROGATORY TO THE JURY:

SEAMAN STATUS

Do you find that at the time of death Joseph Stanley

Bodd was a seaman and member of the crew of a vessel, or

a fleet of vessels?

Answer Yes or No (NO)

1)

2)

3)

4)

A-2

SPECIAL INTERROGATORIES

Do you find from a preponderance of the

evidence that Cheramie Bo Truc #11, Inc. was

negligent in the manner claimed by the plain-

tiffs and that such negligence was a legal cause

of Joseph Bodd’s death?

Answer Yes or No (YES)

Do you find from a preponderance of the

evidence that Transocean Contractors, Inc.

was negligent in the manner claimed by the

plaintiffs and that such negligence was a legal

cause of Joseph Bodd’s death?

Answer Yes or No (YES)

If you answered ‘‘Yes’’ to eny of the questions

above, do you find from a preponderance of the

evidence that the decedent himself was

negligent in the manner claimed by the defen-

dants and that such negligence was a legal

cause of decedent’s own death?

Answer Yes or No (YES)

If you answered ‘‘Yes’’ to Question One, what

proportion or percentage of Josephs Bodd’s

death do you find from a preponderance of the

evidence to have been legally caused by

Cheramie Bo Truc #11, Inc.?

Answer in Terms of Percentage: (45%)

A-3

5) If you answered ‘‘Yes’’ to Question Two, what

proportion or percentage of Joseph Bodd’s

death do you find from a preponderance of the

evidence to have been legally caused by Transo-

cean Contractors, Inc.?

Answer in Terms of Percentage: (45%)

6)If you answered ‘‘Yes’”’

to Question Three, what

proportion or percentage of

plaintiffs’ damages do you

find from a preponderance

of the evidence to have

been legally caused by the

negligence of Joseph

Bodd?

Answer in Terms of

Percentage: (10%)

7) If you answered ‘‘Yes” to Question One or

Two, what sum of money do you find from a

preponderance of the evidence to be the total

amount of damages, if any, resulting from

Joseph Bodd’s conscious pain and suffering

prior to his death?

Answer in Dollars: ($75,000)

8) If you answered ‘‘Yes’’ to Question One or

Two, what sum of money do you find from a

preponderance of the evidence to be the total

amount of damages, if any, resulting from the

loss of society suffered by Evelyn Bodd as a

result of her son’s death?

Answer in Dollars: ($150,000)

9)

10)

11)

12)

13)

14)

A-4

If you ansewered ‘‘Yes’” to Question One,

should punitive damages be assessed against

Cheramie Bo Truc #11, Inc.?

Answer Yes or No (YES)

If you answered ‘‘Yes’’ to Question Nine, what

amount of punitive damages should be asessed

against Cheramie Bo Truc 411, Inc.?

Answer in Dollars: ($250,000)

If you answered ‘‘Yes’” to Question Two,

should punitive damages be assessed against

Transocean Contractors, Inc.?

Answer Yes or No (YES)

If you answered ‘‘Yes’’ to Question Eleven,

what amount of punitive damages should be

assessed against Transocean Contractors,

Inc.?

Answer in Dollars: ($250,000)

If you answered ‘‘Yes’”’ to Question One or

Two, do you find froma preponderance of the

evidence that plaintiffs are entitled to an award

of prejudgment interest?

Answer Yes or No (YES)

If you answered “Yes’’ to Question Thirteen,

what rate of prejudgment interest do you find

from a preponderance of the evidence to be due

plaintiffs?

Answer: (10%)

A-5

15) If you answered ‘‘yes’’ to Question Thirteen,

from what date does prejudgment interest

begin to run?

Answer: (First trial date set in this case)

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that there be

judgment herein in favor of plaintiff, DOLORES BODD

CASACELI, individually and as duly authorized represen-

tative of the Estate of Joseph Stanley Bodd, and against

defendants, CHERAMIE BO TRUC 411, INC. and TRAN-

SOCEAN CONTRACTORS, INC., jointly, severally, and

in solido, in the full sum and amount of SIXTY-SEVEN

THOUSAND FIVE HUNDRED AND _ NO/100

($67,500.00) DOLLARS, together with interest at the rate

of 10% from October 13, 1981, the first trial date set in this

case, to date of judgment and interest at the rate of 10.60%

from date of judgment, until paid.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED AND ADJUDGED

that there be judgment herein in favor of plaintiff,

EVELYN BODD, and against defendants, CHERAMIE

BO TRUC #11, INC. and TRANSOCEAN CONTRAC-

TORS, INC., jointly, severally, and in solido, in the full

sum and amount of ONE HUNDRED THIRTY-FIVE

THOUSAND AND NO/100 ($135,000.00) DOLLARS,

together with interest at the rate of 10% from October 13,

1981, the first trial date set in this case, to date of judg-

ment and interest at the rate of 10.60% from date of judg-

ment, until paid.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED AND ADJUDGED

that there be judgment herein in favor of plaintiffs,

DOLORES BODD CASACELI, Individually and as duly

authorized representative of the Estate of Joseph Stanley

Bodd, and EVELYN BODD, and against defendant,

A-6

CHERAMIE BO TRUC 411, INC. in the full sum and

amount of TWO HUNDRED FIFTY THOUSAND AND

NO/100 ($250,000.00) DOLLARS, together with interest at

the rate of 10.% from October 13, 1981, the first trial date

set in this case, to date of judgment and interest at the rate

of 10.60% from date of judgment, until paid.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED AND ADJUDGED

that there be judgment herein in favor of plaintiffs,

DOLORES BODD CASACELI, Individually and as duly

authorized representative of the Estate of Joseph Stanley

Bodd, and EVELYN BODD, and against defendant,

TRANSOCEAN CONTRACTORS, INC., in the full

amount of TWO HUNDRED FIFTY THOUSAND AND

NO/100 ($250,000.00) DOLLARS, together with interest at

the rate of 10% from October 13, 1981, the first trial date

set in this case, to date of judgment and interest at the rate

of 10.60% from date of judgment, until paid.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED AND ADJUDGED

that the defendants, CHERAMIE BO TRUC 411, INC.

and TRANSOCEAN CONTRACTORS, INC., pay all costs

of this action.

OPELOUSAS, LOUISIANA, this 12th day of April,

1984.

ROBERT H. SHEMWELL, CLERK

BY: /s/ Mildred Baker

MILDRED BAKER, DEPUTY CLERK

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

/s/ John M. Shaw

JOHN M. SHAW, JUDGE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

A-7

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

LAFAYETTE-OPELOUSAS DIVISION

DOLORES BODD CASACELI, ET AL

CIVIL ACTION NUMBER

VS. 800097

MARTECH INTERNATIONAL, INC.

SECTION O

CONSOLIDATED WITH

DOLORES BODD CASACELI, ET AL

CIVIL ACTION NUMBER

VS. 800098

CHERAMIE, BO TRUC 411, INC.

SECTION O

RULING

The defendants, Cheramie Bo Truc No. 11, Inc.

(hereafter Cheramie) and Transocean Contractors, Inc.

(hereafter Transocean) have both moved for judgments not-

withstanding the verdict, in the alternative, a new trial,

and in the further alternative, remittiur.

I. JNOV - NEGLIGENCE

Cheramie argues that in light of recent

jurisprudence, specifically Hili v. Texaco, Inc. 674 F.2d 447

(5th Cir. 1982) and Stass v. American Commercial Lines,

Inc., 720 F.2d 879 (5th Cir. 1983), Cheramie cannot

hea i

A-8

be found liable as a matter of law under 33 U.S.C. § 905(b).

We disagree.

We preface our discussion with a statement of the

test for determining whether to grant a motion for judg-

ment notwithstanding the verdict. The standard is the

same as that applied to a motion for directed verdict. This

Court must examine the evidence in the light and with all

reasonable inferences most favorable to the party opposing

the motion. ‘‘[I]f there is substantial evidence opposed to

the motions, that is, evidence of such quality and weight

that reasonable and fair minded men in the exercise of im-

partial judgment might reach different conclusions, the

motions should be denied.,...’’ Boeing Co. v. Shipman, 411

F.2d 365, 374 (5th Cir. 1969)(en banc).

In the trial court’s recollection the evidence

presented to the jury inferred two possible theories of

Cheramie negligence: (1) that Cheramie was negligent in re-

questing that the wheel job be performed in the Transocean

slip rather than in dry dock or, at least, in another slip not

so filled with debris; (2) that Cheramie failed to moor the

vessel in a secure manner so as to avoid a substantial back

and forth movement of the vessel with each fluctuation of

the water level in the slip.

Cheramie relies upon a principle of law recognized in

West v. United States, 361 U.S. 118 (1959), and reasserted

in Hill and Stass, supra, that the shipowner who has hired

an independent contractor to perform repairs to the vessel

is under no duty to protect the longshoreman performing

the repairs from risks that are inherent in carrying out the

contract. Cheramie argues that this principle precludes im-

position of liability in this case. However, we do not believe

that the facts of this case invoke application of the

preclusive West principle. In West, the court denying relief

stated:

A-9

“It appears manifestly unfair to apply the

requirements of a safe place to work to the

shipowner when he has no control over the ship or

the repairs, and the work of repair in effect

creates the danger which makes the place un-

safe.’’ Jd. at 123.

In the instant case we note that the owner and/or

master of the vessel had control over the decision regarding

where repairs should be conducted and also over the proper

mooring of the vessel. Although the dangerous condition of

the Transocean slip and the back and forth movement of

the vessel were dangers that the decedent was forced to

face as a result of the work of repair which he had under-

taken, they were not dangers created by the repair work

itself. The cluttered condition of the Transocean slip and

the improperly moored vessel were dangerous conditions

independent of the work of repair. Thus, the West principle

does not dictate that Cheramie must be absolved of liabili-

ty as a matter of law in this case.

Scindia Steam Navigation Co. v. De Los Santos, 451

U.S. 156 (1981), established the requirement that the

shipowner has a responsibility to eliminate dangerous con-

ditions which exist at the outset of repair operations, that

is, to turn over to the longshoreman a reasonably safe place

to work. The jury may reasonably have concluded that

Cheramie breached this obligation. We would also note

that the fact that a dangerous condition may have been

open and obvious to the longshoreman does not negate the

duty of care otherwise owed by the shipowner. Stass, 720

F.2d 879, at 882.

Considering the evidence in a light most favorable to

the plaintiff, we must deny Cheramie’s motion for a

A-10

judgment notwithstanding the verdict. The Transocean

motion for a judgment notwithstanding the verdict is also

denied because there was sufficient evidence to withstand

a directed verdict on the causation issue raised by

Transocean.

II. JNOV - Conscious Pain and Suffering, or Alternatively

a Remittitur

Both defendants also moved for a judgment not-

withstanding the verdict on the award for conscious pain

and suffering on the basis that there was no evidence to

support such an award, Pertinent evidence adduced on this

issue included: (1) a photograph of a cut on the decedent’s

face; (2) the fact that the decedent’s right arm was frozen

into an uplifted position and his fist was tightly clinched

when his body was recovered, and (3) that certain pieces of

his diving head gear which should never be removed under-

water had been so removed. Although there was no

eyewitness, the evidence presented was sufficient for the

jury to infer that the decedent was conscious for some time

period before death, and that he must have suffered severe

conscious mental and physical pain and fright of his impen-

ding death, See, Consolidated Machines, Inc. v. Protein

Product Corporation, 428 F. Supp. 209, 229 (M.D. Fla.

1976); Complaint of Metcalf, 530 F. Supp. 446, 459 (S.D.Tx.

1981). Thus, the motions for judgment notwithstanding

the verdict on this issue are denied.

In the alternative, the defendants have requested a

remittitur because the $75,000 award for conscious pain

and suffering is excessive and against the weight of the

evidence. The test for deciding when a remittitur is ap-

propriate has been set forth as follows:

A-11

The Court is not free to set aside the verdict merely

because the judge might have awarded a different amount

of damages, but it may do so if the proceedings have been

tainted by appeals to prejudice or if the verdict, in the light

of the evidence, is so unreasonable that it would be uncons-

cionable to permit to stand. Wright & Miller, Federal Prac-

tice and Procedure: Civil § 2807.

Several federal cases very much in point were cited,

but we do not find that they mandate remittitur. In the

cases cited involving deaths by drowning there was either

direct evidence or inference that the decedent had suffered

more than a few minutes. See Cook v. Ross Island Sand and

Gravel, 621 F.2d 746 (9th Cir. 1980); Hlodan v. Ohio Barge

Line, Inc., 611 F.2d 71 (5th Cir. 1980). A lack of evidence

in this case made it impossible to determine exactly how

long Joseph Bodd suffered prior to his death. However, it

was inferred and the jury may have reasonably concluded

that Mr. Bodd somehow became entangled or trapped

below the surface of water and that he struggled to free

himself for an extended period of time knowing as he

struggled that death was imminent when his oxygen was

exhausted. Thus, we must defer to the jury’s award

because we do not find the award shocking to the cons-

cience in light of the evidence. The motion for remittitur of

the award for conscious pain and suffering is denied.

III. Loss of Society - Remittitur

The jury awarded Evelyn Bodd, the decedent’s

mother, $150,000 for loss of society. Loss of society is, in-

deed, a compensable element of damages in this case. It is

defined as the loss of positive benefits, i.e., ‘‘the broad

range of mutuai benefits each family member receives from

another’s continued existence, including love, affection,

A-12

care, attention, companionship, comfort and protection.”’

It does not include the mental anguish or grief suffered as

an emotional response to the death. Cruz v. Hendy Intern,

Co., 638 F.2d 719, 726 (5th Cir. 1981) citing Sea Land Ser-

vices v. Gaudet, 414 U.S. 573, 585 (1974).

The evidence adduced regarding Mrs. Bodd’s rela-

tionship with her son during the years from 1975 up until

the time of his death in 1981 indicated that they did not

maintain a close relationship. He left home in New York in

1975 and went home only infrequently for Christmas visits.

In light of the evidence and the awards given in similar

cases, we believe that the award for loss of society was

unreasonably high. See LaBoeff v. Goodyear Tire and Rub-

ber Co., 451 F. Supp. 253 (W.D.La. 1978); Crabtree v. Mar-

tin Exploration Co., 467 F. Supp. 1269 (E.D.La. 1979). Ac-

cordingly, the Court orders a remittitur of the award from

$150,000 to SEVENTY-FIVE THOUSAND AND NO/100

($75,000.00) DOLLARS. Alternatively, the Court will

grant a new trial on the loss of society element of damages

in the event that plaintiff does not consent to the

remittitur.

IV. JNOV - Punitive Damages, or Alternatively,

Remittitur

Defendants argue that punitive damages may not be

awarded as a matter of law in a case under 905(b). Counsel

specifically argue that the statement in Complaint of Merry

Shipping, 650 F.2d 622 (5th Cir. 1981) that punitive

damages may be recovered under general maritime law is

inapplicable to a 905(b) action. We disagree. Statements by

the Supreme Court in Edmonds v. Compagnie Generale

Transatl., 443 U.S. 256, 259 (1979) and by the Fifth Circuit

A-13

in Russell v. Atlantic & Gulf Stevedores, 625 F.2d 71, 72

(5th Cir. 1980) make it clear that section 905(b) did not

create a new cause of action but merely recognized an ex-

isting general maritime law claim. Thus, 905(b) is a general

maritime cause of action and punitive damages may, accor-

dingly, be awarded in a 905(b) case. The motion to remit the

punitive damages award is also denied.

V. Motions for New Trial

The motions for a new trial filed by Cheramie and

Transocean are denied, except in the event that the plain-

tiff refuses to accept a remittitur of the award for loss of

society damages as discussed, supra.

In summary, the motion for remittitur of the award

of damages for los of society is GRANTED with the condi-

tion that if plaintiff refused to accept a remittitur, a new

trial solely on that issue of damages will be granted. All

other post-trial motions are DENIED.

Opelousas, Louisiana, June 22, 1984.

/s/ John M. Shaw

JOHN M. SHAW

UNITED STATES DISTRICT

JUDGE

Judgment Entered 6-28-84

A-14

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

DOLORES BODD CASACELI, Idividually

& as representative of succession of

Joseph Stanley Bodd, etc.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

No. 84-4452

V.

OPINION

MARTECH INTERNATIONAL, INC., ET AL.,

Defendants,

TRANS OCEAN CONTRACTORS, INC. and

CHERAMIE BO-TRUC #11, INC.,

Defendants-Appellants.

Filed October 29, 1985

Before: Clark, Chief Judge, Randall and Joily, Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge Clark

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Western District of Louisiana

John M. Shaw, District Judge, Presiding

SUMMARY

Admiralty/Torts

Appeal from judgment for plaintiff in an action for

damages arising from the death of a diver. Reversed and remand-

ed with directions.

Bodd drowned while atempting to repair the CHERAMIE

A-15

BO-TRUC while it was docked in a slip owned by Transo-

cean. The water in the slip was muddy and contained visi-

ble debris. Bodd made four dives attempting to repair the

ship, Bodd did not complain about the diving conditions to

anyone other than his tender telling him that the air hose

was becoming tangled in debris. During Bodd’s fourth

dive, he drowned.

[1] Under Scindia Steam Navigation Co. v. De Los

Santos, 451 U.S. 156 (1981) which defines a vessel’s duty to

longshoremen under the Longshoremen’s and Harbor

Worker’s Compensation Act (LHWCA), the shipowner

may generally rely on the stevedore’s exercise of

reasonable care and need only intervene if the shipowner

becomes aware of a dangerous condition in the ship’s gear

during the stevedoring operation and is also aware that the

stevedore is unreasonably failing to protect a

longshoreman against the danger. [2] Hill v. Texaco, Inc.,

674 F.2d 447 (5th Cir. 1982) expanded Scindia to apply to

any independent contractor and its employees covered by

the LHWCA. [3] Futo v. Lykes Bros. S.S. Co., 742 F.2d 209

(5th Cir. 1984) held that a shipowner has no duty to in-

tervene for dangerous conditions created by the stevedore

even when the owner had actual knowledge of the unsafe

condition. [4] General maritime law allows survivors of a

decedent to recover damages the decedent could have

recovered but for his death. [5] In a maritime tort case, the

defendant owes the plaintiff a duty of ordinary care, which

includes a duty to warn only of harm that is reasonably

forseeable. [6] Under Scindia the shipowners did not breach

any duty owed to Bodd under the LHWCA. [7] They pro-

vided Bodd with a reasonably safe work place and told him

as much as they knew about the propeller. Only an expert

diver like Bodd, could determine the risks an underwater

repair at the slip would entail. [8] The shipowners need not

A-16

have protected Bodd from risks that were inherent in the

carrying out of the contract. [9] The shipowners had a duty

to intervene and stop Bodd from attempting the repair on-

ly if they knew underwater conditions presented a danger

and that Bodd was acting unreasonably in attempting to

complete the repair, information they did not possess. [10]

The defect which caused Bodd’s death was the underwater

situation in which he worked, a defect that was not a part

of the ship’s normal gear which the owner created or con-

trolled. Therefore, the owner breached no duty to Bodd

under the LHWCA. [11] Likewise, the owner’s general duty

to warn did not extend to this danger which was not

reasonably foreseeable.

OPINION

CLARK, Chief Judge:

Transocean Contractors, Inc., and the CHERAMIE

BO-TRUC #11, appeal the judgments against them in an

action for damages resulting from the death of a diver,

Joseph Bodd. Bodd drowned during an attempt to repair

the CHERAMIE BO-TRUC while it was docked in a slip

owned by Transocean. Because the evidence is not suffi-

cient to support the verdicts against the appellants, we

reverse.

Joseph Bodd, an employee of Martech International,

Inc. (Martech), worked as a diver’s tender on board the

CHERAMIE BO-TRUC #11 for the two weeks prior to

August 12, 1978, The vessel was conducting a salvage

operation for CNG Producing Company in the Gulf of Mex-

ico. Although Bodd had attended diving school for six

A-17

months in 1975 and was a certified professional diver, he

had never performed a professional dive. He did perform

one unpaid 120 foot dive during this salvage operation.

The CHERAMIE BO-TRUC #11 returned to the in-

tercoastal waterway on August 12, 1978, and unloaded

Martech personal and equipment at a slip owned by

Martech. It then docked at the adjacient slip owned by

Transocean Contractors, Inc. (Transocean), approximately

100 feet away. While backing into the Transocean slip, the

right propeller of the BO-TRUC became fouled and the

starboard engine shut down, The captain docked the vesel

by using the port engine. The BO-TRUC had docked at this

slip four or five other times without encountering any pro-

blems. The slip contained a great deal of junk and debris.

Martech is a professional diving company. Although

Captain Gaspard recommended dry-docking the BO-TRUC

for repairs, supervisors decided to contract with Martech

for a diver to free the propeller. Martech sent Joseph Bodd

and a diver’s tender, Tom Runnels, to perform the contract.

Bodd and Runnels set up their diving station at the

rear of the slip, sixty feet from the stern of the vessel.

Debris in the dock area of the Transocean slip made it im-

possible for them to set up the station at the customary

location, the stern of the vessel. The water in the slip was

muddy and permitted only limited visibility. Visible debris

floated at the edge of the slip.

Bodd made a total of four dives, all of which involved

Bodd’s walking from the shallow water at the shore out to

the stern of the vessel, where the water was eight to ten

feet deep. This was a sixty foot walk, during which Bodd’s

air hose had to be dragged over debris on the bottom of the

slip.

Bodd first performed an inspection dive which lasted

fifteen or twenty minutes. Bodd inspected both propellers

and reported to Gaspard and Gaspard’s supervisor, Buddy

A-18

Curoles, that the starboard wheel was fouled with rope and

the port wheel with cable. The CHERAMIE supervisors

did not know the port wheel was also fouled until this time.

Bodd also told the captain that the water depth at the stern

of the vessel was good because he could stand on the bot-

tom and reach the propellers. Bodd did not complain about

the location of the vessel nor did he ask the captain to move

it out of the TRansocean slip. Gaspard testified without

contradiction that he relies on the diver’s recommendations

in these situations and that he would have moved the

vessel if Bodd had so requested. However, he did not so ad-

vise Bodd. Runnels testified that he and Bodd did not re-

quest that the boat be moved because both propellers were

fouled and they did not know it could be moved.

Gaspard and Curoles then contacted the charter,

CNG Producing Company. Curoles recommended dry-

docking the boat. Because the vessel was needed for

_ another job and it was thought dry-docking might take too

long, the decision was made to request the diver to proceed

with the wheel job in the Transocean slip.

Bodd performed three more dives. On each dive he

complained over the radio to his tender about his air hose

becoming tangles with the debris on the bottom of the slip.

Gaspard and Curoles observed Bodd’s dives. Gaspard

heard the radio communications between Bodd and his

tender. Transocean employees were also present during

these diving operations.

On his second dive, which lasted approximately

twenty minutes, Bodd unsuccessfully attempted to unravel

the cable from the port wheel with a crowbar. Bodd ter-

minated his third dive after thirty minutes because his cut-

ting torch was not operating properly. During Bodd’s

fourth dive, Runnels noticed that the radio was dead and

that air bubbles were no longer apparent. Runnels asked

Gaspard and Curoles to pull on the air hose, and dived into

the water to rescue Bodd. He was not successful. Gaspard

A-19

and Curoles had great difficulty in pulling up the air hose

which seemed to snag several times on something under

the surface. When the air hose emerged, only the face gear

was attached and the regulator was missing. Runnels

testified that a missing regulator would allow water to

enter the diver’s mask and cut off his oxygen. Runnels also

testified that the diver would have to intentionally release

the life line. He indicated that a diver should not release

this line since it aliows him to find his way back to the sur-

face. Bodd’s body was later found floating under the vessel

near its bow.

A diver from another company, after performing an

inspection dive the next day, told Gaspard that the job

should be done in a dry dock. The vessel was then dry dock-

ed for the repairs.

II

Dolores Bodd Casaceli, the representative of Bodd’s

estate, and Evelyn Bodd, his mother, sued Martech, Tran-

socean and the CHERAMIE BO-TRUC #11 for damages

resulting from the death of Joseph Bodd. The plaintiffs

settled with Martech. A jury found that Bodd was a

longshoreman and not a seaman. The jury also found that

Bodd was ten percent negligent and that Transocean and

CHERAMIE were each forty-five percent at fault. The

jury awarded the plaintiffs $75,000 for Bodd’s conscious

pain and suffering, and $150,000 for loss of love and affec-

tion to Evelyn Bodd. The plaintiffs also received an award

of punitive damages in the amount of $250,000 from each

defendant. The district court denied the motions of both

defendants for judgment notwithstanding the verdict and

a new trial. The court did remit the award for loss of love

and affection from $150,000 to $75,000. CHERAMIE and

Transocean appeal these judgments.

III

We consider first the legal principles applicable to

A-20

the vessel’s appeal. The 1972 amendments to the

Longshoremen’s and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act

(LHWCA) provided persons covered by the Act with an ac-

tion against a vessel for injuries caused by the negligence

of the vessel:

In the event of injury to a person covered

under this chapter caused by the negligence of a

vessel, then such person, or anyone otherwise en-

titled to recover damages by reason thereof, may

bring an action against such vessel as a third par-

ty in accordance with the provisions of section

933 of this title, and the employer shall not be

liable to the vessel for such damages directly or

indirectly and any agreements or warranties to

the contrary shall be void. If such person was

employed by the vessel to provide stevedoring

services, no such action shall be permitted if the

injury was caused by the negligence of persons

engaged in providing stevedoring services to the

vessel. If such person was employed to provide

shipbuilding, repairing or breaking services and

such person’s employer was the owner, owner pro

hac vice, agent, operator, or charterer of the

vessel, no such action shall be permitted, in whole

or in part or directly or indirectly, against the in-

jured person’s employer (in any capacity, in-

cluding as the vessel’s owner, owner pro hac vice,

agent, operator, or charterer) or against the

employees of the employer. The liability of the

vessel under this subsection shall not be based

upon the warranty of seaworthiness or a breach

thereof at the time the injury occurred. The

remedy provided in this subsection shall be ex-

clusive of all other remedies against the vessel ex-

cept remedies available under this chapter.

A-21

33 U.S.C. § 905(b).! Longshoremen and harbor workers

covered by the Act include persons engaged in ship repair.

33 U.S.C. §§ 902(3), 903(a). The Act defines ‘‘vessel’’ as

‘‘any vessel upon which or in connection with which any

person entitled to benefits under this chapter suffers injury

or death arising out of or in the course of his employment,

and said vessel’s owner ....’’ 33 U.S.C. § 902(21). Recovery

for disability or death is contingent on the occurrence of

the injury while the vessel is ‘‘upon the navigable waters of

the United States.” 33 U.S.C. § 903(a).?

[1] The United States Supreme Court defined the

vessel's duty to longshoremen under these amendments in

Scindia Steam Navigation Co. v. De Los Santos, 451 U.S.

156 (1981) (longshoreman injured because of defective

winch that stevedore used even though winch had been

malfunctioning for two days). The vessel owner must pro-

vide work space, ship’s gear, equipment, and tools in a con-

dition that allows a stevedore, acting with reasonable care,

to carry on his operations with reasonable safety. The

owner must warn the stevedore of any hidden dangers

which the owner knows or should know about in the exer-

cise of reasonable care. 451 U.S. at 166-67. The owner need

not supervise, inspect, or monitor the stevedoring opera-

tions for dangerous conditions that develop during that

process unless required to do so by contract, positive law,

or custom. Jd. at 167-72. He may generally rely on the

1 The amendments also ‘‘abolish the longshoreman’s right to recover for

unseaworthiness and the stevedore’s obligation to indemnify the

shipowner.”’ Futo v. Lykes Bros. S.S. Co., 742 F.2d 209 (5th Cir. 1984)

(opinion on rehearing) (footnote and citation omitted).

2«N avigable waters” includes “‘any adjoining pier wharf, dry dock, ter-

minal, building way, marine railway, or other adjoining area customarily

used by an employer in loading, unloading, repairing, dismantling, or

building a vessel.’’ 33 U.S.C. § 903(a).

|

A-22

stevedore’s exercise of reasonable care. Jd. at 169-72. An

exception to this lack of supervisory duty exists if the

shipowner becomes aware of a dangerous condition in the

ship’s gear during the stevedoring operation, and is also

aware that the stevedore is unreasonably failing to protect

a longshoreman against this danger. The shipowner then

has a duty to intervene and repair the gear constituting the

danger. Jd. at 172-76; see also Hill v. Texaco, Inc. 674 F.2d

447, 450-51 (5th Cir. 1982)(articulating the Scindia

principles).

[2] The Fifth Circuit has extended both the situations

to which Scindia applies and Scindia’s analysis of the

vessel owner’s duty to intervene. Hill v. Texaco, Inc. held

that ‘‘[t]he rationale of Scindia is not limited to stevedoring

operations. It clearly applies to any independant contrac-

tor and its harborworker employees covered by the

LHWCA and working aboard ship.”’ 674 F.2d at 451. The

Hill court, however, found no basis for the imposition of

liability on a shipowner who hired an independent contrac-

tor to determine the effect of rust on the thickness of tank

walls. A contractor’s employee who was not wearing a safe-

ty line was injured when he lost his footing because of loose

rust and fell thirty feet. Jd. at 448-53.

Futo v. Lykes Bros. S.S. Co. articulated an analysis

of the shipowner’s duty to intervene and the considerations

that are pertinent to an imposition of this duty. 742 F.2d

209 (5th Cir. 1984). Futo also involved the application of

the Scindia principles in a context other than that of

stevedoring. The employer in Futo was an independant

contractor hired by a shipowner to perform repairs

necessitated by Coast Guard regulations. 742 F.2d at 210.

The longshoreman suffered a fatal injury when he fell to

the deck of the ship from a scaffolding erected by his

A-23

employer pursuant to its contract with the shipowner. Jd.

at 211. His widow sued the owner under § 905(b), claiming

the owner negligently failed to warn the longshoreman of

a hazardous condition—the scaffolding had no guardrail.

Id. The Fifth Circuit held that the vessel owner had no duty

to intervene, even if he had full actual knowledge of the

danger, Jd. at 221.

[3] The Futo court noted that pre-Scindia cases in the

Fifth Circuit concerning a vessel owner’s duty to intervene

held that ‘‘a shipowner would not be held liable under sec-

tion 905(b) for dangerous conditions created by the

stevedore and causing injury to its employees ... even

where the owner had actual knowledge of the unsafe condi-

tion.”” Jd. at 213 (citing Brown v. Mitsubishi Shintaku

Ginko, 550 F.2d 331 (5th Cir. 1977); Gay v. Ocean

Transport & Trading, Ltd., 546 F.2d 1233 (5th Cir. 1977)).

The basis for these holdings was an analogy to the duties

and exceptions to those duties of landowners toward

employees of independant contractors under the Restate-

ment (Second) of Torts, §§ 343, 343A. Id. at 212-13. The

court found that Scindia reduced the scope of liability that

those cases allowed, but did not negate the basic rationale

underlying those decisions. Jd. at 216. The Futo court

found that the Scindia exception ‘‘does not . . . extend to

an open obvious transitary condition’’ created and controll-

ed by the independent contractor, and wholly related to the

contractor’s gear and operations. The missing guardrail

was such a condition. Id.

Two post-Scindia cases supported this conslusion.

The employee of an independant contractor sued a vessel

owner for injuries resulting from the use of defective tongs

in Lewis v. Timco, Inc., 697 F.2d 1252 (5th Cir.), modified

in other respects, 716 F.2d 1425 (1983). Although the

A-24

plaintiff argued that the vessel’s employees knew he had

difficulty in using the tongs, the Lewis court held that the

tongs were not part of the vessel’s normal gear and that the

vessel owner did not control or create the circumstances

that caused his injury. Jd. at 1256. The plaintiff in Helaire

v. Mobile Oil Co. was employed by an independant contrac-

tor as a roustabout on a fixed platform in the Gulf of Mex-

ico, 709. F.2d 1031, 1033 (5th Cir. 1983). The contractor ar-

ranged for the transportation of materials to the platform

with a vessel owner. Jd. The plaintiff claimed his injuries

were due to his fall on deck when he was required to unload

the vessel in rough weather. Jd. at 1037. The court held

that Scindia imposed liability on the vessel owner for an

employee’s injuries occurring after unloading operations

began if they ‘‘result{ed] from open and obvious dangers

only in the event of actual knowledge of the danger and ac-

tual knowledge that he cannot rely on the stevedore to

remedy the situation. He is not held to a duty to discover

the condition or to anticipate its danger.’’ Jd. at 1038-39

(empahsis in original)(footnote omitted).

The Futo court thus concluded that ‘‘[t]o impose a

duty to intervene on the shipowner, respecting dangers not

created by it which are obvious to the stevedore’s

employees and arising during and in the area of the

stevedore’s operations, something more is required than

the mere shipboard location of the dangerous situation and

the shipowner’s knowledge of it.’’ 742 F.2d at 215 (em-

phasis in original). Although the court refused to make a

blanket rule, it stated that the extra requirement may

sometimes ‘‘be satisfied if the accident is caused by a

defedtive condition of the ship itself, its gear, or equip-

ment.’’ Jd. (noting the language of Scindia and Lewis). A

distinction between defects in the ship itself and its gear,

and defects not directly related to the ship, is logical since

A-25

the owner is primarly responsible for the ship, gains the

most from its proper maintenance, and can usually best

comprehend the danger from a defect in the ship, its gear

or equipment. Jd.

Scindia, therefore, requires the existence of two basic

conditions for the imposition of the shipowner’s duty to

intervene—the shipowner’s actual knowledge of a danger

to a longshoreman, and the shipowner’s knowledge that the

longshoreman’s employer is not acting reasonably to pro-

tect its employees from that danger. 451 U.S. at 175-76.

The Futo court outlined considerations that pertain to the

existence of these basic conditions: whether the danger was

open and obvious; whether the danger was located within

the ship or ship’s gear; which party created the danger or

used the defective item and was therefore in a better posi-

tion to correct it; which party owned and controlled the

defective item; whether an affirmative act of negligence or

acquiesence in the use of the dangerous item occurred; and

whether the shipowner assumed any duty with regard to

the dangerous item. 742 F.2d at 218, 221.

IV

[4] We now turn to the principles of law relevant to

the slip owner’s appeal. General maritime law allows the

survivors of a decedent to recover damages the decedent

could have recovered but for his death. See Moragne uv.

Sates Marine Lines, Inc. 398 U.S. 375 (1970)(recognizing a

wrongful death action under general maritime law); Az-

zopardi v. Ocean Drilling & Exploration Co., 742 F.2d 890,

893 (5th Cir. 1984)(acknowledging extension of Moragne

principles by circuit courts to encompass a survival action

under general maritime law); Law v. Sea Drilling Corp. 523

F.2d 793, 798 (5th Cir. 1975))(“‘there is a federal maritime

i A SS SS SS SP

A-26

cause of action for death on ... any navigable waters—and

it can be enforced in any court.’’). Two requirements are

necessary to establish admiralty jurisdiction for a

maritime tort case—negligent conduct on navigable waters

that causes harm and a significant relationship between

that wrong and maritime activity. Executive Jet Aviation,

Inc. v. Cleveland, 409 U.S. 249 (1972); Sohyde Drilling &

Marine Co. v. Coastal States Gas Producing Co., 644 F.2d

1132 (5th Cir.), cert. denied sub nom Valero Energy Corp.

v. Sohyde Drilling & Workover, Inc. 454 U.S. 1081 (1981);

Kelly v. Smith, 485 F.2d 520 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied

sub nom. Chicot Land Co. v. Kelly, 416 U.S. 969 (1974); see

also Richardson v. Foremost Ins. Co., 641 F.2d 314 (5th

Cir.)(the maritime activity need not be exclusively commer-

cial), aff'd 454 U.S. 813 (1981). A wrong that begins on land

but results in harm on navigable waters may constitute a

maritime tort if these requirements are met. See, e.g.,

Kamani v. Port of Houston Auth., 702 F.2d 612, 613 (5th

Cir. 1983)(longshoreman aboard vessel on navigable waters

who was injured while trying to escape a descending land-

based crane established a maritime case); Kelly, 485 F.2d at

521-26 (land occupiers on shore who shot at and injured

deer poachers fleeing in boat on Mississippi River were

liable for a maritime tort).

[5] General principles of negligence guide the

analysis of a maritime tort case. Daigle v. Point Landing,

Inc., 616 F.2d 825, 827 (5th Cir. 1980))(citation omitted). A

defendant owes a plaintiff a duty of ordinary care, which in-

cludes a duty to warn only of harm that is reasonably

forseeable. Daigle, 616 F.2d at 827. The circumstances of

the danger and the defendant’s knowledge of the risk deter-

mine the required degree of care. Jd. (quoting 57 Am.Jur.2d

Negligence § 72 (1971)).

A-27

On review of the denial of both motions for directed

verdict and for judgment notwithstanding the verdict, we

must view all of the evidence ‘“‘in the light ... most favorable

to the party opposed to the motion.” Boeing Co. v. Ship-

man, 411 F.2d 365, 374 (5th Cir. 1969)). Judgment not-

withstanding verdict is proper ‘“‘[i]f the facts and inferences

point so strongly and overwhelmingly in favor of one party

that the Court believes that reasonable men could not ar-

rive at a contrary verdict.”’ Id.

A

[6] Scindia, as we have construed it, supplies the ap-

propriate guidelines for our review of the evidence

dispositive of the vessel owners’ liability here since this

case concerns the death of a longshoreman while directly

engaged in ship repairs due to the alleged negligence of the

vessel. An analysis of these facts under Scindia indicates

that the vessel owners did not breach any duty they owed

to Bodd under § 905(b). The record contains no evidence of

negligence sufficient to sustain the jury’s verdict.

[7] First, as Scindia requires, the vessel owners pro-

vided Bodd with a reasonably safe work place and told

Bodd as much as they knew about the condition of the pro-

peller. The owners of the CHERAMIE BO-TRUC #11

employed Martech as an expert independant contractor,

whose employees were required to have skills which neither

CHERAMIE nor Transocean employees possessed, to per-

form a hazardous activity. Although the muddiness of the

water and presence of debris in the slip was apparent to all

observers, the owners and their employees could not know

the underwater condition of the slip, the extent of damage

alee ican

A-28

to the propeller, and the risks that an underwater repair of

the propeller (a wheel job) would necessitate. Only the ex-

pert diver, even a certified diver who was at the outset of

his professional career, could make those determinations.

The owners had to rely on his reasonable care in doing so.

The uncontroverted evidence showed that the vessel

owners had used this slip four or five times in the past

without encountering any difficulties, and that divers had

performed wheel jobs in this slip without problems. This

slip was adjacent to the slip belonging to Bodd’s employer,

Martech. Martech employees often performed wheel jobs.

Before he made the first dive, Bodd knew the right pro-

peller was so fouled that the starboard engine had shut

down. He agreed to make the inspection dive even though

conditions in the slip required that he set up his diving sta-

_ tion sixty feet from the place where it would normally be

positioned. After the inspection dive, Bodd did not report

that he had encountered hazardous conditions below the

surface. Rather, he told the captain of the vessel that the

water at the stern of the boat was at a good depth for him

to make the repairs. He did not request a relocation of the

vessel into another slip or dry dock. He continued to make

dives even through his air hose became entangled with

debris on the bottom of the slip. The owners knew that

Bodd was encountering difficulties with his equipment but

they had no way of knowing that Bodd could not perform

this wheel job with appropriate safety.

Appellees suggest that the CHERAMIE owners

negligently failed to provide Bodd with a safe workplace

because they moored the vessel so loosely that the nearby

passage of other vessels caused it to move, and that this

movement contributed to Bodd’s perilous circumstances

and death. The record contains no evidence that any vessel

passed by the Transocean slip during or around the time of

Bodd's final dive. This suggestion adds only speculation.

ee

A-29

[8] The owners of the CHERAMIE did not breach

any duty imposed on them by Scindia under § 905(b) to

warn Bodd of unsafe conditions or to make them safe. A

shipowner need not protect a longshoreman engaged in

ship repairs “‘from risks that were inherent in the carrying

out of the contract.’’ West v. United States, 361 U.S. 118,

123 (1959)(employee of contractor to whom ship had been

totally turned over for an extensive overhaul was injured

while performing repairs). ‘[A] ship may not be found

negligent merely because a condition of the ship that re-

quires repair or inspection injures the person hired to in-

spect or repair that condition.” Stass v. American Commer-

cial Line, Inc., 720 F.2d 879, 883 (5th Cir. 1983)(barge was

not liable for injuries of employee of company hired to

repair hull and grain doors due to slippery sprouted grain

on deck and defective grain door because company was

hired to inspect and repair that door and because cleaning

the areas to be repaired was part of company’s routine pro-

cedure)(quoting Hill, 674 F.2d at 452 n.5).

Appellees argue that the underwater condition of the

slip was the defect that caused Bodd’s death and for which

appellants are responsible. Although that condition is not

the defect Martech was hired to correct, the above prin-

ciples are analogous. Every underwater condition entails

some hazard to a diver. When the water is opaque, the diver

is the only person who can know whether the hazards pre-

sent make safe diving impossible. Bodd was sent to this job

because he was an expert in underwater repair. He had

special skills and equipment that allowed him to work

underwater while other repairmen could not. Appellants

could not make safe the underwater conditions in which

Bodd was specially hired to work and for which he was

specially trained, nor could they have a duty to warn him

of conditions which they could not know about unless

scieeineneeeieieiatieaeeentill

A-30

someone in Bodd’s profession made an inspection dive and

told them about those conditions. Bodd’s inspection dive

supplied him with unique information about conditions

under the water that were unknown and unknowable to the

vessel owners. An inspection dive is a common procedure

and its purpose is to determine whether an underwater

repair job is possible. Runnels and Gaspard -relied on the

diver to make that determination.

Similarly, the vessel owners had no duty to intervene

under Scindia. Since no contract, custom, or positive law

required the owners to intervene and stop Bodd from at-

tempting to repair the fouled propellers underwater, they

had a duty to do so only if they knew the underwater condi-

tions presented a danger to Bodd and that he was acting

unreasonably in his continued attempts to accomplish the

repairs under those conditions. The vessel owners did not

possess this requisite knowledge.

We have held that the‘‘[mlere persence of the vessel's

crew on the ship ... does not prove knowledge of the hazar-

dous condition.” Hill, 674 F.2d at 450 (quoting Stockstill v.

Gypsum Transp., 607 F. 2d 1112, 1117 (5th Cir. 1979), cert.

denied, 451 U.S. 969 (1981)). Similarly, knowledge that the

condition or even a defect exists, does not imply knowledge

that the condition is dangerous. Cf. Futo, 742 F.2d at 220

(“Knowledge that the condition of an object renders it

dangerous if used in a particular way or under particlar cir-

cumstances does not of itself necessarily evidence the re-

quisite knowledge of actual danger.”’)(emphasis in

original)(citing Wild v. Lykes Bros, S.S. Corp., 734 F.2d

1124 (5th Cir. 1984)).

The owners of the CHERAMIE knew the slip water

was muddy and that debris was floating in the slip.

However, they did not know both propellers were entangled

until Bodd made his inspection dive. The owners knew

Bodd was having difficulty with the repair work because he

made repeated unsuccessful dives accompanied by radio

complaints to his tender that his air hose was tangled with

debris. They also knew Bodd, the expert diver, continued to

make subsequent dives. They knew he made no complaint

or observation to them that these difficulties were life-

threatening or extra-hazardous. Neither observation of

Bodd’s difficulties nor knowledge of his complaints to his

tender constituted actual knowledge on the part of

CHERAMIE of danger to Bodd, or that he was acting

unreasonably in his repeated attempts to repair the ship.

A-31

[10] An analysis of the facts under the factors em-

phasized by the Fifth Circuit in Futo further supports the

conslusion that the vessel owners were not negligent in this

case. The evidence does not clearly demonstrate what con-

dition or event actually or predominantly caused Bodd’s

death. The debris in the slip, the missing regulator, Bodd's

own actions in shucking his mask and life line are all possi-

ble factors. Although the fouled propellers may have

presented a danger to Bodd, that defect was the one he was

hired to correct and the vessel is not liable for injuries due

to it. See West, 361 U.S. at 123; Stass, 720 F.2d at 883;

Hill, 674 F.2d at 452. The defect which allegedly caused

Bodd’s death in this case, and for which appellees claim

CHERAMIE is liable, was the underwater situation ‘n

which Bodd had to do his work. As in Scindia, Lewis, and

Helaire, this defect was not a part of the ship’s normal gear

which the owner created or controlled. The district court

noted that the vessel owners controlled the decision regar-

ding where repairs should be conducted. They decided to re-

quest that Bodd attempt the wheel job in the slip rather

than dry-docking the vessel. The chosen underwater work

place, however, was the domain of the expert diver. Bodd,

A-32

the independent contractor, decided whether he would

make the initial inspection dive. He was not ordered,

directed or even requested to continue over protest or after

notice that to do so would be dangerous. By choosing to

proceed, Bodd determined to attempt the repairs and to

make every subsequent dive including the fatal one. The

expert diver controlled this decision, not the vessel owner.

The defect was not a part of the ship or ship’s gear, but was

a condition directly related to the diver’s expertise, under-

water work. The facts of this case indicate that the vessel

owners breached no duty which they owed to Bodd under

§ 905(b).

B

[11] The facts also demonstrate that the slip owner

did not violate the duty of ordinary care it owed to Bodd

under general maritime law. Transocean had a duty to

warn Bodd only of dangers that were reasonably

foreseeable. Daigle v. Point Landing, Inc., 616 F.2d at 827.

The record indicates that Transocean neither knew nor had

reason to foresee that performance of a wheel job in its slip

might endanger a diver. Uncontroverted evidence showed

that divers had performed wheel jobs in this slip without

problems. The muddiness of the water and the floating

debris in the slip were obvious conditions. [Bodd, the

underwater expert, was the only party who knew that con-

ditions beneath the surface presented danger to a diver per-

forming an underwater wheel job.] The presence of Transo-

cean employees near the slip at the time of Bodd’s dives did

not constitute knowledge of his danger. See Daigle, 616

F.2d at 828 (towboat master’s ability to see actions of

plaintiff did not establish a duty to warn plaintiff). Transo-

cean had no duty to warn Bodd of conditions [which it had

no reason to know were dangerous.]|

fecneeBams

A-33

VI

The evidence is not sufficient to support the verdicts

against either appellant. Since we reverse on the negligence

issue, we need not address the other issues CHERAMIE

and Transocean raise—whether Starns was appropriately

qualified as an expert; whether the awards for conscious

pain and suffering, for loss of society, and for punitive

damages were erroneous or excessive; and whether, as a

matter of law, punitive damages are awardable in an action

brought under § 905(b).

The judgments appealed from are reversed and the

cause is remanded with directions to enter judgment for

defendants.

REVERSED and REMANDED WITH

DIRECTIONS.

A-34

APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 84-4452

DOLORES BODD CASACELI, Individually and as

representative of succession of Joseph Stanley Bodd,

ETC.,

Plaintiff-Appellees,

versus

MARTECH INTERNATIONAL, INC., ET AL.,

Defendants,

TRANS OCEAN CONTRACTORS, INC.

and CHERAMIE BO TRUC 411, INC.,

Defendants-Appellants.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Western District of Louisiana

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING

( December 11, 1985 )

FILED DECEMBER 11, 1985

Before CLARK, Chief Judge, RANDALL and JOLLY, Cir-

cuit Judges.

A-35

PER CURIAM:

IT IS ORDERED that the petition for rehearing fil-

ed in the above entitled and numbered cause be and the

same is hereby (DENIED).

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

ls! Clark

United States Circuit Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.