Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Robinson v. Department of Transportation, Federal Aviation Administration

Supreme Court brief1986

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FIL Fy

DEC 3 1985

a5 -951//

’

fine.

’

In The

vp | YOSERH & seaNieL Je.

Supreme Court of the Huth Sits

~* eee .

<>. —_

October Term, 1985

THOMAS D. ROBINSON, RICHARD \V. KITTS, RICHARD

C. NEWMAN, JOHN E. NEAL and ROBERT L. KAPP,

Petitioners,

vs.

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, FEDERAL

AVIATION ADMINISTRATION,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FEDERAL

CIRCUIT

HARRY D. SHARGEL

Attorney for Petitioners

Seventh Floor

1201 Chestnut Street

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19107

(215) 561-2360

3168

tz late *NJ (201) 257-6850eNY (212) 840-9494ePA (215) 563-5587

nters.ine. MA (617) 542-1114eDC (202) 783-7288eUSA (800) 5 APPEAL

LY

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. May petitioners’ counsel be assessed an amount under Rule

38 of the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure without notice,

without a hearing and without a finding that the attorney acted

in bad faith?

2. May petitioners’ counsel be asessed an amount under Rule

38 of the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure without a finding

that all issues raised by counsel were frivolous?

3. May petitioners’ counsel be assessed an amount under Rule

38 of the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure when the court’s

finding is arbitrary, capricious and in disregard of the facts?

4. Under 5 U.S.C. § 7513 may employees be dismissed by

a person who is not authorized to dismiss them?

5. Under 5 U.S.C. § 7513 and the Fifth Amendment to the

Constitution may employees be dismissed without the notice

provided for in the statute?

6. May employees be dismissed for striking when the agency

failed to submit evidence that there was a strike at the time in

question and the evidence reflected that there was no strike at

the time?

7. May the Merit Systems Protection Board establish a rule

of evidence wherein only the evidence submitted by an employee

must be ‘‘objective’’ wherein the agency may resort to hearsay

evidence?

8. Where the Office of Personnel Management, the agency

authorized to implement 5 U.S.C. § 7513 provides by regulation

that in arriving at its decision the agency shall consider only the

reasons specified in the notice of proposed action, may the agency

dismiss the employees for a reason not specified in the notice of

proposed action?

9. Where the Office of Personnel Management, the agency

authorized to implement 5 U.S.C. § 7513, provides by regulation

that the notice of decision be delivered to the employee at or before

the time the action will be effective, is the decision of dismissal

effective if the notice is not delivered at or prior to the effective

date?

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties named in the caption and Harry D. Shargel, Esq.,

counsel for the petitioners.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ce Cie anew an en eee eneneseseeess

a trie Oo hee

ee Set 2 ta oh heh 00 56 4 8 eed

De Te en ee eee khaweueue bene

er es Leh ah at eee es Oe awa nk Nesweaseee

ULE eek ek Cece eeek un uuuasebuube

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions, Rules and

Es <. besa kwadseeeeunciiseace

ie eee Cu ke eee ee bate ences was

Cok 5 Aa Sa aWeaw as abaCe

eS cee eect knee eecek ans

ie eee ak ens seeeeéeeen me

NK PT eee Tee ee

Robert L. Kapp....... : Ue Lae awe et sas ass

Reasons for Granting the Writ:

The Court of Appeals has so far departed trom the

accepted and usual course of judicial proceedings as to call

for an exercise of the Court’s power of supervision.

tv

tv

‘”

10

iv

Contents

Page

I. In assessing a sum against petitioners’ counsel under

Rule 38 FRAP the Court of Appeals acted in conflict

with a decision of this Court and the decisions of other

courts of appeal and with arbitrary and capricious

disregard of the law and the facts............... 10

Il. The deciding official lacked authority to dismiss the

EG ikke ccanccwiadevecéseueiseebaeees 19

eg es ee ee 20

IV. Petitioners were not on strike. ...............5. 23

V. Petitioners Kapp and Robinson were improperly

dismissed for a reason other than alleged in the notice

OG, wk cub 4a Oi 06k 005563 ck ds ce weeneweneeas 25

VI. The decisions removing petitioners Kitts and Neal

WR IE GIO, << 6 5d 0 wn cc waeedeebewe ckeues 26

VII. An improper rule of evidence was applied. ...... 27

ce Caco k ok CLANS AES M RENE CARR CRUSE ESS 28

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases Cited:

Adams v. Department of Transportation, 735 F. 2d 488

FE ey a Pee TT TET Sey 12, 19, 23, 24, 28

Caminetti v. United States, 242 U.S. 470 (1970) ........ 22

Contents

Page

Cleveland Board of Education v. Loudermill, 53 LW 4306

DiMasso v. Department of Transportation, FAA, 735 F. 2d

§26 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 105 S. Ct. 432 (1984)

secdddd cus cask eters etdake sista ee 12

Duvall v. United States, 647 F. 2d 131 (Ct. Cl. 1981).... 28

Federal Crop Insurance Corp. v. Merrill, 332 U.S. 380 (1947)

vhs inca cca had «ene dud aN RGNte eda 19

Freeman v. Local Union No. 135, 746 F. 2d 1316 (7th Cir.

SEE ca bcaduecesadeceras dua wedeoeesse eee 10

Hockman v. American Bible Monuments Commissions, 11

eR ED oo 6.0 65.02.0440004020K0500SuE CREE 27

Horne v. Merit Systems Protection Board and Interstate

Commerce Commission, 684 F. 2d 155 ............ 25

Immigration and Naturalization Service v. Chadha, 462

'k 7. Re Peer eee: Mer Re 22

Motor Vehicle Manufacturers Association v. Farm Mutual

Automobile Insurance Co., 463 U.S. 29 (1983) ....25, 26

Mesarosh v. United States, 352 U.S. 1 (1956)........... 18

Miranda v. Southern Pacific Transportation Co., 710 F. 2d

Sa Ge ats. SE so 00.0 600.0 5:60000400045%34430008 10

Noto v. United States, 367 U.S. 290 (1961) ........... 19, 24

vi

Contents

Page

Roadway Express Inc. v. Piper, 447 U.S. 752 (1980) ...10, 17

United States v. Abrams, 427 F. 2d 86 (2nd Cir. 1970), cert.

PT 2 Fis ee Re re rr ree 17

United States v. Alabama R.R., 142 U.S. 615 (1892) .... 22

United States v. Batten, 266 F. Supp. 492 (D.C. Cir. 1964),

cert. denied, 380 U.S. 912, rehearing denied, 381 U.S.

Ds onan ccvcdcuccss Cue ck ct ne ceeeEeeadatewets 17

United States v. Bramblett, 348 U.S. 503 (1955) ........ 17

United States v. Jackson, 280 U.S. 183 (1930) .......... 22

United States v. Massey, 550 F. 2d 300 (Sth Cir. 1977)... 17

United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683 (1974). .......... 22, 23

Van Horn v. Schweiker, 717 F. 2d 871 (3rd Cir. 1983)

Wyle v. R. J. Reynolds, 709 F. 2d S85 (9th Cir. 1983)

18

Statutes Cited:

D ERB. B FSCS sana cc ciuccicedsckkeeeceueeeeee 4

D Un OB PSOE a vik nad seb auuteseeeeee i, li, 2, 3, 20

vial

Contents

Page

Pte We CI 6.6.6 Se N anne séveneuenees tu tnwesasts 20

Lk TRS Pr errrrrerT errr rer Tr er rye reer 2,3

PS Ue PON o Gh'c dacuinccccancccusetsnswesuws 21

Pts OF WUE Kine ckcks recuscacsncaveksaeeeueeueks 2,3

Pe Ws vvccdceeexasdevsceeve 12, 13, 19, 21, 24

ey es Oe EE Wh hdc cc dedateasdcvekussuecaactaunt 17

WS Wile BE GED oe ehb Nea ccchabevebsncaisaeveuverees 17

> eS | | PPR ONreverTreTerti ert rec ry. 4

ee ees GR kxcchocrccessnnccsscccduaeneeeet 2

Rules and Regulations Cited:

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Rule 38 ....... i, 3, 10

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure:

Rule 11. | , 3, 17

| Per ere ry er soe fecasthasten er

S CNPC OID ha deccccinastscesnatseriserse mre 3, 27

fe! 8 errr rr errr errs Perron 3

FG aes TONES 8 his VeancccntctcnackbeGanawaabeaweas 2, 20

dl

Contents

Page

5 C.F.R. 752.404(f) . | | 25, 26

$ C.F.R. 1201.33 3

$ C.F.R. 1201.56 3

$ C.F.R. 1201.56(c\3) 21, 22

$ C.F.R. 1201.72... , 3

S$ C.F.R. 1201.72(a) 17

United States Constitution Cited:

First Amendment 21

Fifth Amendment | , i, 2

Sixth Amendment 2

APPENDIX

Appendix A — Order Denying Petition for Rehearing

la

Appendix B — Decision of the United States Court of Appeais

tor the Federal Circuit 2a

Appendix C — Opinion and Order of the Merit Systems

Protection Board 6a

Appendix D — Opinion and Decision of the Merit Systems

Protection Board 10a

ix

Contents

Appendix E -— Text of Provisions Involved ............ sia

Appendix F — Excerpt from Petitioner's Brief to United

ee Se Ge I 0.05 050 cadens a dccucncacees SSa

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1825

THOMAS D. ROBINSON, RICHARD V. KITTS, RICHARD

C. NEWMAN, JOHN E. NEAL and ROBERT L. KAPP,

Petitioners,

VS.

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, FEDERAL

AVIATION ADMINISTRATION,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FEDERAL

CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Federal Circuit is reported at 769 F. 2d 1556 and is set out in

the Appendix hereto at 2a.

The opinion of the Merit Systems Protection Board is set

out in the Appendix hereto at 6a.

The cpinion of the Presiding Official of the Merit Systems

Protection Board is set out in the Appendix hereto at 10a.

JURISDICTION

The initial judgment of the Court of Appeals was made and

entered on July 31, 1985 (2a). A petition for rehearing was denied

and entered September 9, 1985 (1a). The jurisdiction of this Court

is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS,

RULES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

The pertinent text is set forth in the Appendix at pages

4la-S4a.

United States Constitution:

Fifth and Sixth Amendments (41a).

Statutes:

5 U.S.C. §§ 7513; 7701; 7703 (41a-45a).

Regulations:

Office of Personnel Management (OPM) Regulations

issued pursuant to 5 U.S.C. § 7513(a):

5 C.F.R. 752.404 (45a).

Other regulations issued by OPM:

5 C.F.R. 630.401; C.F.R. 630.403 (47a-48a).

Merit Systems Protection Board (MSPB) Regulations:

5 C.F.R. 1201.33; 1201.56; 1201.72 (48a-Sla).

Court Rules:

Federal Rules cf Appellate Procedure:

Rule 38 (Sla).

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure:

Rule 11; Rule 37(b) (Sla-54a).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Jurisdiction of the Merit Systems Protection Board arose

under 5 U.S.C. § 7513 and 5 U.S.C. § 7701.

Jurisdiction of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Federal Circuit arose under 5 U.S.C. § 7703.

Harry D. Shargel is and was counsel for the employees-

petitioners herein and joins herein because the Court of Appeals,

in affirming the opinion of the Merit Systems Protection Board,

decided:

‘*Under the provisions of Rule 38, Fed.R.App.P.,

counsel Harry D. Shargel is assessed in favor of

the government the sume of $590.”’

Employees-petitioners are Air Traffic Control Specialists who were

employed by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) at the

Philadelphia Tower in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, under the

jurisdiction of the Eastern Region of the FAA. In August 1981

and prior thereto, said tower was headed by Robert J. Beckelman,

Jr., Facility Chief.

As both proposing and deciding official, said Beckelman

dismissed the petitioners who then appealed to the Merit Systems

Protection Board (MSPB) at its Philadelphia office.

Beckelman initiated proceedings to remove each of the

petitioners by the use of a form letter addressed separately to

each which stated, ‘‘This is notice that I intend to remove you

from your position’’. Two reasons were given: Reason | was

violation of 5 U.S.C. § 7311 and 18 U.S.C. § 1918 (striking);

Reason 2 was ‘‘Unauthorized Absence’’. Under reason | there

was a ‘‘Specification’’ that beginning approximately 7:00 a.m.

EDT, on August 3, 1981, a nationwide strike of air traffic

controllers had occurred; and that beginning at specified date and

time the petitioners had participated in a strike against the

government. Under reason 2 there was a ‘‘Specification’’ that

beginning first at a designated shift on a specified date ‘‘you failed

to report for your scheduled tour of duty’’ and remained absent

without authorization.

Each letter advised that the material relied upon was available

at the Philadelphia Tower and stated: ‘‘If you wish to review this

material, please contact Thomas P. Hamill, Deputy Chief’’. Each

letter also recited a reasonable cause to believe that the addressee

had committed a crime and advised ‘‘you may reply to this notice

personally, in writing or both and furnish evidence to me, within

7 calendar days after you receive this letter.”’

Thomas D. Robinson

The notice dated August 6, 1981, addressed to Robinson

specified striking beginning at 1500 EDT on August 6, 1981 and

unauthorized leave beginning at the 1500 EDT to 2300 EDT shift

on August 6, 1981. The appeal file contained a postal receipt

reflecting mailing of the notice on August 6, 1981. There was

no return receipt of reflecting delivery. By letter dated August

17, 1981, Beckeiman advised Robinson that he was removed

effective August 21, 1981. The appeal file contained postal receipts

which reflected mailing August 17, 1981 and received August 19,

1981.

Richard V. Kitts

The notice dated August 6, 1981, to Kitts specified striking

beginning at 0700 EDT on August 6, 1981 and unauthorized leave

beginning at the 0700 EDT to 1500 EDT shift on August 6, 1981.

The appeai file contained registered mail postal receipts reflecting

mailing of the notice on August 6, 1981 and received by Sally

Kitts on August 10, 1981. By letter dated August 17, 1981

Beckelman advised Kitts he was removed effective August 21,

1981. The appeal file contained postal receipts which reflected

mailing August 17, 1981 and receipt by Susan Kitts on August

25, 1981.

Richard C. Newman

The notice dated August 6, 1981 to Newman specified striking

beginning at 1512 EDT on August 3, 1981 and unauthorized leave

beginning at the 1512 EDT to 2312 EDT shift on August 3, 1981.

The appeal file revealed mailing of the notice by registered mail

on August 6, 1981. There was no return receipt reflecting delivery.

By letter dated August 17, 1981 Beckelman advised Newman that

he was removed effective August 21, 1981. The appeal file

contained postal receipts which reflected mailing on August 17,

1981 and receipt by Sharon A. Newman on August 18, 1981.

John E. Neal

The notice dated August 6, 1981 addressed to Neal specified

striking beginning at 1512 EDT on August 6, 1981 and

unauthorized leave beginning at the 1512 EDT to 2312 EDT shift

on August 6, 1981. The appeal file contained registered mail postal

receipts reflecting mailing August 6, 1981 and received by

Geraldine M. Neal on August 7, 1981. By letter dated August

17, 1981, Beckelman advised Neal he was removed effective August

21, 1981. The appeal file contained a postal receipt which reflected

mailing August 17, 1981. It did not contain a postal receipt

reflecting deliver.

Robert L. Kapp

The notice dated August 6, 1981 addressed to Kapp specified

striking beginning at 1512 EDT on August 6, 1981 and

unauthorized leave beginning at the 1512 EDT to 2312 EDT shift

on August 6, 1981. The appeal file revealed mailing of the notice

by registered mail August 6, 1981. The return receipt reflected

that it was returned ‘‘unclaimed’’ — it was not delivered. By letter

dated August 17, 1981, Beckelman advised Kapp he was removed

effective August 21, 1981. The postal receipt reflects mailing

August 17, 1981 and receipt by Mrs. Connie Taylor on August

19, 1981.

_ By order dated April 7, 1982, the Chief Administrative Law

Judge, MSPB, authorized discovery national and regional in scope

and directed that it be completed May 31, 1982. By notice dated

April 12, 1982, the MSPB Philadelphia Regional Director stated:

**No extensions of time for submission of discovery requests will

be granted past May 31, 1982.”’

In response to interrogatories the Agency stated that

information relative to mailing of the notice of ir’ nt and notice

of decision and the date each employee received the notice of

intent was contained in the appeal file.

The MSPB Administrative Law Judge by Discovery No.

ALJ-1, under 16(a), ordered the FAA to make available for

inspection and copying all documents pertaining to the procedures,

policies and guidelines to be followed in discharging controllers

in 1981.

By order dated April 12, 1982, the Presiding Official ordered

the deposition of Robert J. Beckelman, Jr., and further directed:

‘**These deposition proceedings must be completed by May 31,

1981.””

By order dated April 29, 1982, the Presiding Official

appointed the petitioners’ attorney and two other law firms as

a committee to take the deposition of Beckelman on behalf of

the clients of various law firms. The only two law firms dropped

out, leaving petitioners’ attorney as the only member of the

committee to take the deposition of Beckelman. One of the two

dropped out after a motion to reconsider the order of April 29,

1982 was made by the agency to drop both of said law firms

because they failed to file timely requests to depose Beckelman.

There was no motion to reconsider the order directing the

deposition of Beckelman. As a matter of fact, the proposed order

attached to the moving papers was in consonance with the order

to depose Beckelman.

The Agency failed to produce Beckelman. Petitioners’

attorney on June 4, 1982, moved for sanctions granting the appeal

on behalf of all appellants involved in the deposition of Beckelman

for failure to produce Beckelman and the documents which

allegedly reflected authority of Beckelman to dismiss petitioners.

The Agency did not oppose the motion. It submitted no response

to the motion. On September 20, 1982, the date before the hearing,

the Presiding Official orally advised counsel that the motion was

denied.

In response to petitioners’ motion for discovery, the Agency,

under date of April 1, 1982, submitted to the Presiding Official

‘**Respondent’s Objection to Appellant’s Motion for Discovery’’.

Therein the Agency advised the Presiding Official and petitioners’

attorney as follows:

‘**Respondent objects to the proposed deposition

of the deputy chief of Philadelphia International

Tower. The facility chief made the decision to

remove Appellant from his position as an air traffic

control specialist. The deputy tower chief has no

information relevant to the matter before this

Board.”’

At the MSPB hearing the Agency offered the deputy chief

of Philadelphia Tower (Thomas P. Hamill) as its sole witness

allegedly having full knowledge relevant to the matter before the

Board. The agency offered the explanation that it had willfully

lied as a matter of policy. Thus it stated:

‘‘In developing responses to requests for

depositions, it was the policy of the Eastern Region

of the FAA to avoid depositions of other than the

Facility Chiefs in order to minimize operational

impact. Therefore, a general response was

developed which opposed such depositions on the

grounds that the facility chief was, in many cases,

the person most knowledgeable of the policies,

procedures and practices used in implementing the

removal under appeal.”’

At the hearing petitioners objected to the testimony of Hamill;

moved for sanctions granting petitioners’ appeal, and urged the

MSPB to refer the matter to the Department of Justice for criminal

prosecution. The Presiding Official refused to impose sanctions,

permitted Hamill to testify and refused to refer the matter to the

Department of Justice.

Petitioners introduced into evidence a regulation which

delegated authority to act as a deciding official in adverse actions

involving removal to:

(a) Deputy Regional Director

(b) Executive Officer

(c) Division Chiefs and Assistant Division Chiefs

(d) Heads of Staff Office

and further stated:

‘*This authority may not be delegated.’”’

Accordingly, on this record, the Tower Chief, Beckelman,

who dismissed the employees-petitioners acted without authority.

In the pertinent FAA Region there was no authority to dismiss

anybody for unauthorized absence. There was no authority for

making specifications of striking or unauthorized absence August

3 or 4or up to 11:00 a.m. of the Sth, 1981 as a basis for dismissal.

Any notice of proposed removal which specified activities on

August 3 or 4 were incorrect and contrary to regional policy.

The FAA Region governing the Philadelphia Tower did not

call or announce an operational necessity, a facility emergency

10

an operational emergency within the region.

The MSPB Presiding Official sustained the dismissal. The

MSPB denied the employees’ petition for review. The Court of

Appeals affirmed and assessed counsel $500 in favor of the

government ‘‘under the provisions of Rule 38, Fed.R.App.P.”’

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Court of Appeals has so far departed from the accepted

and usual course of judicial proceedings as to call for an exercise

of the Court's power of supervision.

In assessing a sum against petitioners’ counsel under Rule

38 FRAP the Court of Appeals acted in conflict with a decision

of this Court and the decisions of other courts of appeal and

with arbitrary and capricious disregard of the law and the facts.

FRAP Rule 38 provides that if a Court of Appeals shall

determine that an appeal is frivolous, it may award ‘‘just damages’’

and single or double costs to the appellee. Here the Court of

Appeals ‘‘assessed’’ a sum but did not state how it arrived at

it sO as to reflect that the amount is ‘‘just’’. Furthermore, the

court ‘‘assessed’’ the sum against the attorney despite the fact

that Rule 38 does not refer to the attorney.

This assessment was made without notice and without an

opportunity for a hearing and without a finding that the attorney

had acted in bad faith as mandated in Roadway Express Inc. v.

Piper, 447 U.S. 752, 767 (1980). See also, Miranda v. Southern

Pacific Transportation Co., 710 F. 2d 516, $22 (9th Cir. 1983);

Freeman v. Local Union No. 135, 746 F. 2d 1316 (7th Cir. 1984).

1]

In its per curiam opinion the Court of Appeals stated:

“Counsel bases this entire appeal on an unfounded

attack on the government, saying that the board’s

refusal to reinstate petitioner or to impose sanctions

on the government (for failure to produce

Philadelphia Tower Chief Beckelman for

deposition and failure to strike Deputy Tower

Chief Hamill’s testimony) deprived petitioners of

due process and Sixth Amendment rights. That

assertion is part of an indiscriminate ‘‘blast of

procedural objections’’ subtantially identical to

that condemned in DiMasso v. Department of

Transportation, FAA, 735 F. 2d 526, §27, n.3, 528

(Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 105 S. Ct. 432 (1984),

' an authority blithely disregarded by counsel.”’

This statement is not in accord with the facts. Counsel did not

base the entire appeal on an attack on the government. Petitioners’

brief set forth the following ‘‘Statement of the Issues Presented

for Review’’:

‘**1. Were petitioners denied due process.

2. Did the deciding official have authority to

dismiss.

3. Are petitioners Kapp, Newman and

Robinson entitled to relief because they never

received a notice of intent to remove.

4. Were petitioners on strike.

5. Were petitioners Kapp and Robinson

dismissed for a reason other than alleged in the

notice of intent.

12

6. Wa —__ . utice of decision given petitioners

Kitts, Neal and Newman effective."’

Counsel presented arguments with respect to each of said issues.

[See copy of “‘Summary of Argument’’ (5Sa) which had been

included in Petitioners’ Brief to the United States Court of

Appeals. ]

Although the court, in its opinion, partially addressed the

first issue, it completely ignored all the other issues, ail of which

were based on facts adduced at the hearing and on citations of

statutes, regulations and cases. None of these issues had been

previously addressed by the court. As a matter of fact, one of

the issues encompassed a matter specifically reserved by the court

in Adams v. Department of Transportation, 735 F . 2d 488, 494,

Note 5—whether the Presiding Official could take official notice

of a strike.

Furthermore, counsel did not disregard DiMasso v.

Department of Transportation. The full quotation from said case

appears at p. 528 and is a follows:

‘“*DiMasso chose not to present evidence rebutting

the charges of illegal strike participation and

absence without leave; he instead chose to respond

with ‘a blast of procedural objections’.’’

In our case, all petitioners testified and presented evidence to rebut

the charges. The DiMasso case has no relationship to the conduct

of .petitioners’ counsel in this case. Furthermore, procedural

objections can properly be raised because the law provides that

they are grounds for relief. 5 U.S.C. § 7703(c) specifically directs

the court to:

13

“* . . . review the record and hold unlawful and

set aside amy agency action, findings, or

conclusions found to be-—. . . (2) obtained without

procedures required by law, rule or regulation

having been followed.”’

The court then goes on to cite the Presiding Official’s rationale

for denying sanctions for failure to produce Tower Chief

Beckelman and then stated:

*“Counsel makes no attempt to show that view

erroneous.”’

Here, again, the court's statement is not in accord with the facts.

Counsel's brief at pp. 12-16 addressed this issue.

The court goes on to state that the government conceded

that it’s initial ‘‘refusal’’' to produce Hamill for deposition was

improper and that the ‘‘refusal’’ was based on policy denying

access to Deputy Tower Chiefs, thus minimizing disruption

involving only the Tower Chief in appeals; and that nothing of

record indicates any attempt to hide Hamill’s testimony. Here

again, the court’s statement is not in accord with the facts. The

record reflects that the Agency did not ‘‘refuse’’ to produce

Hamill—something it had no right to do in any event. The record

reflects that the Agency willfully made a false statement so as

to induce the Presiding Official not to direct Hamill’s testimony

and to induce petitioners’ counsel not to seek his deposition supra

at p. 8). It wilfully deceived the Board's Presiding Official.

The Court of Appeals went on to say:

**. . . following the initial refusal, the government

1. A word used by the Presiding Official.

14

specifically and repeatedly informed all petitioners

of its intent to use Hamill’s testimony, submitting

&@ proposed witness list which included Hamill’s

name seven months before the hearing. In May

1982, and six months before the hearing, the

Agency offered Hamill for deposition, having

recognized that Beckelman could not be

produced.”’

Here, again, the court’s statement is not in accord with the

facts. The listing of witnesses was related to all Philadelphia cases

and not specifically to petitioners in this case. Hamill’s name was

listed with Beckelman’s and others who were not called. Beckelman

could have been produced. There is no evidence that Beckelman

refused to testify. At the very least the government could have

subpoened him to sustain its burden of proof. On the other hand,

the Agency disobeyed an order of August, 1982 by the presiding

official which required a listing of witnesses for the particular

cases. The Agency listed no witnesses in response to this order

and the presiding official refused to impose sanctions. This was

called to the attention of the court with citations to the record.

Aside from these inaccuracies, the fact remains that the court

does not find that the Agency changed its representation with

respect to Hamill’s lack of knowledge. What it comes down to

is that the court finds that the Agency offered Hamill for

deposition concerning matters about which it represented that he

had no knowledge and that counsel should have deposed Hamill

despite the fact he was supposed to have no knowledge. Why

would an attorney depose a person who has no knowledge?

The court states that counsel fully cross examined Hamill.

The fact is, as argued in petitioners’ brief, Hamill, in fact, lacked

knowledge about crucial elements and was permitted to testify

about matters of which he had no personal knowledge.

i iciaieieeaininedininaaiiias

’ 15

Counsel stated in his brief:

‘“‘This is a proceeding based on an alleged

crime. The penalty is economic death. Under the

Sixth Amendment, the person accused of a crime

is entitled to be confronted with the witnesses

against him. This is simple justice and due process.

Here, appellants were not confronted with the

witnesses. Instead of calling Beckelman and the

supervisors who had knowledge, Hamill, the

person who had been represented as knowing

nothing, was permitted, over objection, to testify

as to anything and everything regardless of his lack

of knowledge. True cross-examination was

impossible. How can you cross examine a witness

about what another person said or saw? Hamill

was thus free to say anything. The less personal

knowledge he had, the freer he was to testify. Since

the presiding official disregarded rules of evidence

on the grounds that he would give it the weight

it deserved, Petitioners had no way of knowing

what evidence had to be contradicted and what

would be ignored.’’

The court further overlooked the fact that in April, 1982,

the Presiding Official had directed the deposition of Beckelman

by May 31, 1982 and the Presiding Official’s superiors mandated

completion of discovery by that date. When the Agency failed

to produce Beckelman, petitioners’ moved for sanctions June 4,

1982, granting the appeal. Despite the fact that the Agency did

not oppose the motion, the Presiding Official took no action on

the motion until the day before the hearing, at which time he

advised petitioners’ counsel orally that the motion was denied

(supra, pp. 7, 8). Petitioners’ brief indicated the following at p. 16:

iis naaaeiacateteeeeaiil

16

‘*The Presiding Official further goes out of

his way to protect the agency by stating that he

had previously indicated, in connection with other

employees, that if requested he would issue a

subpoena for Beckelman and order Hamill

deposed. This is a gratuitious unsubstantiated

statement. The time for discovery had ended May

31, 1982. An oral decision denying the motion was

conveyed to Petitioner’s attorney no earlier than

the day before the hearing (APP 43). Why would

he have offered to issue a subpoena when he had

not acted on the motion?

The Presiding Official’s opinion completely

ignored Petitioners’ allegation that the false

statement re Hamill constituted a crime. He also

refused Petitioners’ request at the hearing that he

should refer the matter to the Department of

Justice for prosecution. He failed to notify all other

litigants that they had been imposed upon so that

they might take appropriate action to protect their

interests—this despite the fact that Petitioners’

attorney urged him to do so. (APP 54-57)’’

The court found counsel’s allegations against the Presiding

Official unjustified, meritless and offensive. The fact is that the

allegations were made in good faith and based on citations to

the record. The court’s errors of fact set forth above indicate

that the court did not ‘‘review the record”’ carefuily.

- Amazingly, the court condoned the misconduct of the

government and punished petitioners’ counsel for bringing said

misconduct to the attention of the court. It emulated the ancient

custom of punishing the messenger who brought bad tidings.

17

The court accepted and condoned a standard of conduct at

variance with established standards reflected in the federal rules

and the criminal statutes as well as the standards enunciated by

the Supreme Court.

The court overlooked the fact that MSPB Regulation 5 C.F.R.

1201.72(a) provides that the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure may

be used as a general guide for discovery practices. The court also

overlooked the fact that the FRCP evidences a standard of honesty

and obedience which was violated. FRCP Rule 11 provides

sanctions for false statements. Rule 37(b) provides sanctions for

failure to produce a witness for discovery.

The court stated in Roadway Express, Inc. v. Piper, 447 U.S.

752, 763-764 (1980):

‘*Rule 37 sanctions must be applied diligently both

‘to penalize those whose conduct may be deemed

to warrant such a sanction, [and] to deter those

who might be tempted to such conduct in the

absence of such a deterrent.’ ”’

The court also overlooked the fact as argued by petitioners’

counsel in his brief, that the false statements constituted violations

of 18 U.S.C. § 1001 and 18 U.S.C. § 1505—criminai statutes.

United States v. Bramblett, 348 U.S. 503 (1955); United States

v. Massey, 550 F. 2d 300 (Sth Cir. 1977); United States v. Abrams,

427 F. 2d 86 (2nd Cir. 1970), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 832; United

States vy. Batten, 266 F. Supp. 492 (D.C. Cir. 1964), cert. denied,

380 U.S. 912, rehearing denied, 381 U.S. 930.

Since the Agency wilfully deceived the Board and engaged

in conduct utterly inconsistent with the orderly administration

of justice, the court shculd have decided in favor of petitioners.

18

In Mesarosh v. United States, 352 U.S. 1, 14 (1956) the court

stated:

‘**This is a federal criminal case, and this Court

has supervisory jurisdiction over the proceedings

of the federal courts.’ If it has any duty to perform

in this regard, it is to see that the waters of justice

are not polluted. Pollution having taken place here,

the condition should be remedied at the earliest

opportunity.’’ [Footnote omitted.]

It then went on to quote from a case involving an administrative

proceeding:

‘** ‘The untainted administration of justice is

certainly one of the most cherished aspects of our

institutions. Its observance is one of our proudest

boasts. This Court is charged with supervisory

functions in relation to proceedings in the federal

courts. See McNabb v. United States, 318 U.S.

332, 63 S.Ct. 608, 87 L.Ed. ‘819. Therefore,

fastidious regard for the honor of the

administration of justice requires the Court to

make certain that the doing of justice be made so

manifest that only irrational or perverse claims of

its disregard can be asserted.’ Communist Party

v. Subversive Activities Control Board, 351 U.S.

115, 124, 76 S.Ct. 663, 668.”’

See also, Wyle v. R. J. Reynolds, 709 F. 2d 585, 589 (9th Cir.

1983).

19

II.

The deciding official lacked authority to dismiss the

petitioners.

This argument was made to the Court of Appeals but was

not addressed by the court.

It is elementary that the law and regulations contemplate

actions by authorized persons. A person not authorized to act

may not dismiss anybody. Cf., Federal Crop Insurance Corp.

v. Merrill, 332 U.S. 380, 384 (1947). This is jurisdictional and

has no relation to the question as to whether any petitioner was on

strike. As set forth above under the pertinent regulation, the person

who dismissed the employees-petitioners had no authority to act.

The Supreme Court has held that a defendant must be judged

upon the evidence in his own trial and not upon the evidence

in another trial. Thus, it stated in Noto v. United States, 367

U.S. 290, 299 (1961):

‘it is upon the particular evidence in a particular

record that a particular defendant must be judged,

and not upon the evidence in some other record.’’

The Court of Appeals has also held that its decision must be based

on a review of the record. Adams v. Department of

Transportation, 735 F. 2d 488, 494 (1984). The statute, 5 U.S.C.

§ 7703(c) mandates review of the record.

Furthermore, the notice of intent to dismiss petitioner

Newman involved a specification date of August 3, 1981.

As set forth above there was no authority to make

specifications of striking or unauthorized absence on August 3

20

and 4 or up to 11:00 a.m. on the Sth of August 1981 as a basis

for proposed removal and there was no authority to dismiss anyone

for unauthorized absence.

Accordingly, on the basis of the record of this case, the

removal of Newman was unauthorized for that reason too.

Il.

Failure of Notice.

The argument relative to failure to give notice was made to

the Court of Appeals but not addressed by the court.

The statute in relevant part provides for a written notice

‘*stating the specific reasons for the proposed ”’ dismissal and

‘*a reasonable time but not less than 7 days’’ for the employee

to answer. 5 U.S.C. § 7513.

The Office of Personnel Management (OPM) was authorized

to issue regulations. 5 U.S.C. § 7513(a). In 5 C.F.R. 752.404 OPM

implemented 5 U.S.C. § 7513(b), stating:

‘*(a) Statutory Entitlements. An employee against

whom action is proposed under this subpart is

entitled to the procedures provided in § U.S.C.

7513(b).”’

It then proceeded to set forth the entitlements which include the

notice requirements.

It is emphasized that these are entitlements recognized by

the office authorized by the statute to implement the statute. These

statutory entitlements involve actions the Agency must take. These

entitlements are not dependent on any request by the employee.

These actions must be taken and entitlements afforded by the

Agency without any request by the employee. Failure to afford

the employee these entitlements constitutes a violation of law and

the MSPB is required to grant relief in such event under its

mandate not to sustain agency action where the decision is not

in accordance with law. 5 U.S.C. § 7701(c)(2). The Court of

Appeals must grant relief under its mandate to set aside an action

obtained without procedures required by law, rule or regulation

having been followed. 5 U.S.C. § 7703(c).

Failure to give any notice is not only a violation of the statute

but is a violation of the due process mandated by the First

Amendment and warrants relief regardless of any other elements

of the case. Cf., Cleveland Board of Education v. Loudermill,

53 LW 4306.

Since neither Robinson, Newman nor Kapp received any

notice they are entitled to relief on this ground alone.

Furthermore the Presiding Official found that except for Neal,

the petitioners received less than seven days’ notice but held that

there was no harmful error and that the failure to give at least

seven days’ notice did not warrant relief. The Court of Appeals,

in other cases, has adopted this position. It is submitted that this

position is erroneous.

Under the plain terms of the statute, harmful error need be

shown only in the case of the Agency’s procedures — in this case

the procedures of FAA. This is exactly how the Agency charged

with with administering the law (MSPB) interpreted the law long

before it was called upon to consider the validity of the FAA

action in firing the air controllers. Thus, the MSPB in its

regulations at 5 C.F.R. 1201.56(c)(3) set forth the following

definition:

tw

th

‘‘Harmful error. Error by the agency in the

application of its procedures which, in the absence

or cure of the error, might have caused the agency

to reach a conclusion different from the one

reached.”’

This interpretation should be given great weight. United States

v. Jackson, 280 U.S. 183 (1930); United States v. Alabama R.R..,

142 U.S. 615, 621 (1892). The OPM and MSPB regulations have

the force of law. United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683 (1974).

The language of the statute is unambiguous and must be

enforced as written. Even if Congress had intended otherwise,

the law cannot be altered. Caminetti v. United States, 242 U.S.

470, 485, 490 (1970). According to the plain language of the

statute, the concept of harmful error applies only to the agency

procedures, i.e., the procedures of the Federal Aviation

Administration. It does not apply to violations of the law or

regulations issued by OPM in implementing the law.

It is recognized that adherence to the plain language of the

law might have resulted in the reversal of many dismissals of those

who appealed. However, it is not the function of the administrative

or judicial process to protect government action which violates

the law. Jmmigration and Naturalization Service v. Chadha, 462

U.S. 919, 944 (1983).

Under the MSPB concept of harmful error, the Agency having

made up its mind to dismiss petitioners, did not have to give

petitioners seven days or any amount of notice or comply with

any other of the requirements of the statute. Since the Agency

would have dismissed petitioners regardless of anything they may

have said or done, there could be no harmful error in denying

them any of the statutory entitlements. Under the Board concept.

the Agency might very well have dispensed with a notice of

23

proposed action or any right of the employee to answer charges.

It could merely have dismissed the employee by fiat without any

concept of due process. This may be the jurisprudence of a

dictatorship, but it is not American jurisprudence. In the United

States, the government too must obey the law and take action

in accordance with due process provided by law. Even the President

of the United States must obey the law. United States v. Nixon,

418 U.S. 683 (1974).

IV.

Petitioners were not on strike.

This is another argument made to the Court of Appeals but

not addressed by that court.

The notice of intent to remove specified striking beginning

as follows:

Robinson — 1500 August 6, 1981

Kitts — 0700 August 6, 1981

Newman — 1512 August 3, 1981

Neal — 1512 August 6, 1981

Kapp — 1512 August 6, 1981

As set forth above the dismissal of Newman with a

specification of August 3, 1981 was not authorized.

The Court of Appeals has held that the Agency must prove:

(1) that a strike was in progress on the date striking is charged;

and (2) that the employee could have returned to work on that

date. Adams v. Department of Transportation, 735 F. 2d 488,

493 (1984).

24

Here the Presiding Official over petitioners’ objection, relied

solely on ‘‘official notice’’ that the strike lasted through August

6, 1981.

It is submitted that there was no basis for taking official

notice. The Court of Appeals has recognized that the strike ended

at different times at different centers and noted that the issue

of official notice was neither raised nor decided in the lead cases.

Adams v. Department of Transportation, 735 F. 2d 488 (1984)

at p. 494 note 5.

The Agency did not submit evidence of the continuance of

the strike as in Adams v. Department of Transportation, supra.

Nor was there any claim by the petitioners that there was any

confusion as to when the strike ended as was alleged in the latter

case. As a matter of fact petitioners claimed there was no confusion

and submitted evidence to prove that the Agency regarded the

strike as over 11 a.m. August 5, 1981 as did petitioners.

All of the petitioners testified they believed the public

announcements by the President, the Secretary of Transportation

and the FAA Administrator that the strike was over 11 a.m.

August 5, 1981. There was no confusion here. The highest

authorities declared the strike over. The petitioners believed them

and relied on their statements and the Agency is estopped and

bound thereby. The Agency had the burden of proof that the

strike was in existence. The highest officials stated and proved

otherwise. On the record in this case there was no strike after

11:00 a.m. on August 5, 1981.

The petitioners must be judged upon the evidence in their

record and not upon the evidence in another record. 5 U.S.C.

§ 7703(c); Noto v, United States, 367 U.S. 290, 299 (1961); Adams

v. Department of Transportation, 735 F. 2d 488, 494 (Fed. Cir.

1984).

25

It is emphasized that in the pertinent FAA Region there was

no authority to dismiss anybody for unauthorized absence.

Vv.

Petitioners Kapp and Robinson were improperly dismissed

for a reason other than alleged in the notice of intent.

This argument was made to the Court of Appeals but not

addressed by the court.

Kapp was charged with unauthorized leave on the 1512 shift,

August 6, 1981. Although there is such a shift, he was not in

fact scheduled for that shift. He was scheduled for another shift.

Robinson was charged with unauthorized leave on the 1500

shift, August 6, 1981. Although there is such a shift, he was not

in fact scheduled for that shift. He was scheduled for another shift.

In neither case was it a matter of incorrectly describing the

right shift. In both cases, the charges were for the wrong shift.

Thus, neither Kapp nor Robinson were AWOL or on strike as

charged.

In arriving at its decision, the Agency could consider only

the reasons specified in the notice of proposed action. 5 C.F.R.

752.404(f) (47a). The propriety of the actions must be judged solely

by the grounds invoked by the Agency. This is elementary due

process. Cf., Cleveland Board of Education v. Loudermill, 53

L.W. 4306. Appellants must be fired for valid reasons or not at

all. Horne v. Merit Systems Protection Board and Interstate

Commerce Commission, 684 F. 2d 155, 157, 159.

The Supreme Court stated in Motor Vehicle Manufacturers

Association v. Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co., 463 U.S.

29, 50 (1983):

“It is well established that an agency’s action must

be uphe'd if at all, on the basis articulated by the

agency itself."’

Vi.

The decisions removing petitioners Kitts and Neal were not

effective.

This argument was made to the Court of Appeals but not

addressed by the court.

As set forth above, Kitts was removed effective August 21,

1981 by a letter received August 25, 1981; Neal was removed

effective August 21, 1981 but did not receive the letter of removal.

As set forth above OPM is the Agency designated to

implement the statute and its regulations have the force of law.

OPM mandated that the Agency deliver the notice of decision

to the employee at or before the effective date of the action and

that said notice tell the employee of his appeal rights. 5 C.F.R.

752.404(f) (47a). If it arrives after the effective date the removal

is not effective. A new notice must be sent. The FAA itself directed

that where the removal letter arrived after the effective date of

removal, a revised letter of removal should be sent with a new

effective date of removal. It is submitted that the removal of Kitts

and Neal was not effective.

tv

~3

Vil.

An improper rule of evidence was applied.

This argument was made to the Court of Appeals but not

addressed by that court.

The MSPB Presiding Official established a special rule of

evidence applicable solely to the petitioners. Their evidence had

to be ‘‘objective’’. On the other hand the Presiding Official

rationalized the misconduct of the Agency; permitted Hamill to

testify as to any matter regardless of whether he had personal

knowledge; and did not require the Agency to call witnesses

identified by petitioners as having personal knowledge favorable

to petitioners.

Petitioners were in a catch-all situation. If they had not

testified they would have been deemed to have admitted guilt.

Having testified they were not believed.

Robinson, Kitts and Kapp were sick at the times in question

and therefore entitled to sick leave. § C.F.R. 630.401 (47a);

Hockman v. American Bible Monuments Commissions, 11 MSPB

246 (1982). Each so testified. Kitts and Kapp submitted doctors

statements. Agency records showed Kapp had been on approved

sick leave from July 21 to July 26, 1981.

The Presiding Official went so far as to find Kapp’s doctor

unqualified. He set his expertise against that of the doctor. In

this connection compare Van Horn v. Schweiker, 717 F. 2d 871,

874 (3rd Cir. 1983).

In refusing to accept the uncontradicted evidence of the

petitioners that they were sick, the MSPB ignored its own decision

in Hockman v. American Bible Monuments Commission, supra.

28

The uncontradicted evidence of the petitioners should have been

accepted. Duvall v. United States, 647 F. 2d 131, 134 (Ct. Cl.

1981). The court should also have fcliowed its own concept set

forth in Adams v. Department of Transportation, 735 F. 2d 488,

492 (C.A. Fed. Cir. 1984) where it stated:

‘*The law and experience teach that a striker can

be expected to refrain from falsely testifying under

oath that his absence was due to non-strike

reasons’’.

CONCLUSION

The assessment against the attorney was improper and the

employees-petitioners were improperly dismissed.

It is submitted that the petition for a writ of certiorari should

be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

HARRY SHARGEL

Attorney for Petitioners

la

APPENDIX A—ORDER DENYING

PETITION FOR REHEARING

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

FEDERAL CIRCUIT

No. 85-988

THOMAS D. ROBINSON, ET AL.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, FEDERAL

AVIATION ADMINISTRATION,

Respondent.

ORDER

A petition for rehearing having been filed in this case,

UPON CONSIDERATION THEREOF, it is Ordered by the

court that the petition for rehearing be, and the same is hereby,

Denied.

FOR THE COURT:

s/ Francis X. Gindhart

Francis X. Gindhart, Clerk

September 9, 1985

cc: Harry D. Shargel

Stephen J. McHale

2a

APPENDIX B—DECISION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

No. 85-988

THOMAS D. ROBINSON, et al.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, FEDERAL

AVIATION ADMINISTRATION,

Respondent

DECIDED: July 31, 1985

Before MARKEY, Chief Judge, RICH and SMITH, Circuit

Judges.

PER CURIAM.

The decisions of the Merit Systems Protection Board (board),

Nos. PH075281F0991, PH075281F1001, PHO075281F1002,

PH075281F1008, and PHO75281F1107, sustaining the removal of

Richard V. Kitts, John E. Neal, Richard C. Newman, Thomas

D. Robinson, and Robert L. Kapp, on charges of participating

in an illegal strike against the United States Government and

unauthorized absence, are affirmed and a sanction is imposed

on counsel.

3a

Appendix B

Analysis

After thorough review of the record, briefs, and submissions,

we conclude that the Department of Transportation, Federal

Aviation Administration, established a prima facie case of strike

participation and unauthorized absence, and that petitioners failed

to rebut that showing or to demonstrate harmful procedural error.

Counsel! bases this entire appeal on an unfounded attack on

the government, saying that the board’s refusal to reinstate

petitioner or to impose sanctions on the government (for failure

to produce Philadelphia Tower Chief Beckelman for deposition

and failure to strike Deputy Tower Chief Hamill’s testimony)

deprived petitioners of due process and Sixth Amendment rights.

That assertion is part of an indiscriminate ‘‘blast of procedural

objections’’ substantially identical to that condemned in DiMasso

v. Department of Transportation, FAA, 735 F.2d 526, 527 n.3,

528 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 105 S. Ct. 432 (1984), an authority

blithely disregarded by counsel.

The Presiding Official denied sanctions for failure to produce

Tower Chief Beckelman, saying ‘‘the crucial fact... is that

Beckelman was not, at the time he was requested for deposition,

a federal employee. He was, therefore, no longer associated with

the agency that was a party, nor was he a party himself, and the

agency was not obligated to produce him.’’ Counsel makes no

attempt to show that view erroneous.

The government conceded that its initial refusal to produce

Hamill for deposition was improper. That refusal was based on

a uniform policy denying access to Deputy Tower Chiefs, thus

minimizing disruption by involving only the Tower Chief in Air

Traffic Controller appeals. Nothing of record indicates any attempt

4a

Appendix B

to hide Hamill’s testimony, a strategy as much contrary to the

government’s interests as to petitioners’. Indeed, following the

initial refusal, the government specifically and repeatedly informed

all petitioners of its intent to use Hamill’s testimony, submitting

a proposed witness list which included Hamill’s name seven months

before the hearing. In May 1982, six months before the hearing,

the agency offered Hamill for deposition, having recognized that

Beckelman could not be produced.

Counsel’s assertions of unfair surprise are thus disingenuous.

Counsel could have obtained Beckelman’s testimony. The

Presiding Official offered to grant a motion for an order under

5 CFR 1201.81. See also 5 CFR 1201.74. Moreover, counsel fully

cross-examined Hamill at the hearing. The Presiding Official’s

refusal to impose sanctions or strike Hamill’s testimony was neither

error, nor an abuse of discretion.

Without the slightest justification, counsel asserts that the

Presiding Official: was biased against all petitioners; permitted

the government to employ criminal conduct, the remotest hearsay,

phony and withheld documents; failed to call witnesses with actual

knowledge; protected and defended the government; and

disregarded the rules of evidence. Counsel further says the

Presiding Official relied on ‘‘the remotest hearsay introduced by

a liar, perjurer, and forger [Hamill]’’, whereas he ‘‘should have

accepted the uncontradicted testimony and documents of

Petitioners.”’

Counsel’s utterly meritless raillery against the Presiding

Official is offensive. It wastes the resources of this court, which

has carefully reviewed petitioners’ arguments and the record ‘‘on

the possibility that a non-frivoious contention might have been

found lurking.’’ See Bowen v. Department of Transportation,

Sa

Appendix B

FAA, No. 83-799 (Fed. Cir. July __ _ 1985). It wastes the

resources of government counsel, who must diligently respond

to each baseless allegation. Most destructive to the equitable and

efficient administration of justice, however, is that counsel’s

conduct has delayed deserving litigants in obtaining their statutory

and constitutional right to judicia! review. This appeal is clearly

frivolous. See Griessenauer v. Department of Energy, 754 F.2d

361 (Fed. Cir. 1985); Moir v. Department of the Treasury, 754

F.2d 341 (Fed. Cir. 1985).

We affirm on the basis of the board’s opinion because we

do not find that the board’s decision was arbitrary, capricious,

an abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in accordance with law,

or that it was obtained without procedures required by law, rule,

or regulation having been followed, or that it was unsupported

by substantial evidence. 5 U.S.C. § 7703(c) (1982). See Kochanny

v. Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco & Firearms, 694 F.2d 698, 700

n.3 (Fed. Cir. 1982).

Under the provisions of Rule 38, Fed.R.App.P., counsel

Harry D. Shargel is assessed in favor of the government the sum

of $500. See Cecil v. Department of Transportation, FAA, No.

83-1168 (Fed. Cir. July 12, 1985) and Kump v. Department of

Transportation, FAA, No. 85-931 (Fed. Cir. July 12, 1985).

AFFIRMED

6a

APPENDIX C—OPINION AND ORDER OF THE MERIT

SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

DOCKET NUMBER PH075281F1008

THOMAS D. ROBINSON, ET AL.

Vv.

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, FEDERAL

AVIATION ADMINISTRATION

OPINION AND ORDER

Appellants' have timely petitioned for review of the initial

decision issued January 31, 1983, in which the presiding official

of the Board’s Philadelphia Regional Office upheld the decision

of the Department of Transportation’s Federal Aviation

Administration (agency) to remove appellants. The removal was

based on participation in a strike against the Federal Government

and unauthorized absence (absence without leave or AWOL).

Appellants first contend in their petition for review that the

presiding official erred by not imposing sanctions on the agency

for failing to produce one former agency official, the tower chief

for deposition or for the hearing, and for misstating the knowledge

of another agency official who was the agency’s primary witness.

1. This appellant’s appeal was consolidated with those of five others for

hearing, and an initial decision was issued covering ail appellants. The petition

for review includes all six appellants, who are listed by name and MSPB Docket

Number in Appendix A to this Opinion.

7a

Appendix C

The appellants further assert that the agency’s failure to produce

the tower chief as a witness violated their sixth amendment right

to confront the witnesses against them. We find these contentions

to be without merit. As the presiding official noted in his initial

decision, the appellants failed to follow the appropriate procedures

for the deposition of the tower chief or for his subpoena as a

witness. /nitial Decision at 3; 5 C.F.R. § 1201.81. In view of the

appellants’ failure in this regard, we agree with the presiding

official’s conclusion that sanctions against the agency were

inappropriate. See § C.F.R. § 1201.43(a) and Adams vy.

Department of Transportation, MSPB Docket Number

NY075281F0424 at 3-5 (April 25, 1983).

Appellants’ contention that the tower chief lacked authority

to remove them is based on a superseded agency order and is,

therefore, without merit. The unrebutted testimony of an agency

official also establishes that the tower chief was delegated the

authority to remove appellants. Hearing Transcript at 47.

Appellants also contend that the agency committed numerous

harmful errors in that the agency’s proposed removal notice was

labeled as a Letter of Intent and provided that the appellants couid

reply personally or in writing or both, rather than orally or in

writing or both; the agency charged two of the appellants with

striking and AWOL for the wrong shifts; the appellants were

allegedly denied official time to review the agency records; and

some appellants allegedly did not receive their proposed removal

notices and decision notices until after the effective dates of the

actions. We find these contentions to be without merit. The record

establishes that the agency’s action in misstating the appellants’

scheduled shifts was a matter of 12 minutes, and that all of the

appellants made replies to the charges and timely filed appeals

with the Board. Thus, the presiding official correctly found that

8a

Appendix C

appellants failed to establish that these alleged procedurai errors

were harmful, as required under the Board’s holding in Parker

v. Defense Logistics Agency, 1 MSPB 489, 492-93 (1980).

Appellants also challenge the propriety of the removai penalty

and assert that the presiding official erred in finding that no penalty

other than removal was appropriate for a sustained charge of

striking. /nitial Decision at 16. In Schapansky v. Department of

Transportation, MSPB Docket Number DA075281F1130 at 9

(October 28, 1982), we did not decide whether, as a matter of

law, mitigation of the penalty is foreclosed-:under 5 U.S.C.

§ 7311(3). The presiding official in the present case correctly

found, however, that removal was an appropriate penalty in light

of the seriousness of appellants’ offenses and that the penalty

promotes the efficiency of the service. See Schapansky, id., at 11.

The Board, having fully considered the petition for review

of the initial decision and finding that it does not meet the criteria

for review set forth at 5 C.F.R. § 1201.115, hereby DENIES the

petition.’

2. The Board has resolved the other issues raised in the petition for review

by the appellants in the following cases: Noa v. Department of Transportation,

MSPB Docket Number NY075281F0697 at 7 (April 25, 1983) (consolidation

of appeals of former air traffic controllers); Bandy v. Department of Navy,

4 MSPB 295 (1980) (allegations of bias against presiding officials); Siebert v.

Devartment of Heaith, Education, and Welfare, 4 MSPB 132 (1980) (whether

there is a denial of due process if the proposing and deciding officials are the

same person); .VMartel v. Department of Transportation, MSPB Docket Number

BNO75281F0558 at 3-13 (April 25, 1983) (constructive suspension); Anderson

v. Department of Transportation, MSPB Docket Number SL075281F0347 at

6 n.9 and 7-8 (April 25, 1983) (absence during grace period and confusion

regarding deadline shift); Kercher v. Department of Transportation, MSPB

Docket Number DA075281F0713 at 9 (May 28, 1982) motion for clarification

(Cont'd)

9a

Appendix C

This is the final order of the Merit Systems Protection Board

in this appeal. The initial decision shall become final five (5) days

from the date of this order. 5 C.F.R. § 1201.113(b).

The appellants are hereby notified of the right to seek judicial

review of the Board’s action by filing a petition for review in

the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, 717

Madison Place, N. W., Washington, D. C. 20439. The petition

for judicial review must be filed no later than thirty (30) days

after the appellants’ receipt of this order.

FOR THE BOARD:

AUG 19, 1983 s/ Kathy W. Semone for

Robert E. Taylor

Secretary

Washington, D.C.

(Cont'd)

denied (November 23, 1982) (official notice of the existence of an unlawful

strike); Schapansky, supra, at 6 n.2 and 7-8 (prima facie case of strike

participation and invocation of 5 U.S.C. § 7513(b)\(1) to shorten the notice

period); Desiderio v. Department of the Navy, 4 MSPB 171 (1980) (AWOL

alone as cause for removal); Baracco v. Department of Transportation, MSPB

Docket Number DC075281F0895 at 16 (April 25, 1983) (appellant afforded less

than 7 days to respond to removal proposal); Campbdeil v. Department of

Transportation, MSPB Docket Number DE075281F0674 at 12-16 (April 25, 1983)

(readmission to agency facility); Anderson, supra, at 8-13 (effect of the

*‘command influence’’ on the discretion of the deciding official); Noa, supra,

at 13 (whether group activity is required for a finding of strike participation);

and Weaver v. Department of the Navy, 2 MSPB 297, 299 (1980) (due deference

to credibility findings of presiding officials); Baracco, supra, (need for showing

of harm in alleged procedural irregularities).

10a

APPENDIX D—OPINION AND DECISION OF THE

MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

PHILADELPHIA REGIONAL OFFICE

THOMAS D. ROBINSON, ET AL.

Vv.

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, FEDERAL

AVIATION ADMINISTRATION

Initial Decision Numbers:

PHO075281F0991 (Kitts)

PHO075281F0978 (Clarke)

PH075281F2008 (Robinson)

PHO75281F1002 (Newman)

PHO75281F1001 (Neal)

PHO075281F1107 (Kapp)

Date: January 31, 1983

INTRODUCTION

All six of the appellants involved in this appeal were employed

as air traffic control specialists at the Philadelphia International

Tower, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, prior to August 3, 1981. All

six were subsequently removed from their positions by the

Department of Transportation, Federal Aviation Administration

(F.A.A.), for their alleged participation in the August, 1981

nationwide strike by the members of the Professional Air Traffic

Controllers Organization (hereinafter PATCO). Each appellant

was also charged with being absent without leave (AWOL) for

lla

Appendix D

several days during the early weeks of August, 1981. Each

appellant filed a timely appeal of his dismissal, and the appeals

were consolidated pursuant to § C.F.R. Section 1201.36(b). The

consolidated hearing in this matter took place in Philadelphia,

Pennsylvania on September 21-22, 1982.

JURISDICTION

An employee may appeal to the Merit Systems Protection

Board from any action, which is made appealable to the Board

under any law, rule, or regulation, § U.S.C. Section 7701(a). The

law provides that an employee in the competitive service who is

not serving a probationary period may appeal an action removing

' him from the Federal service, 5 U.S.C. sections 7511(a)(1)(A),

7512(1}) and 7513(d). The record shows that the appellants were

employees in the competitive service, that they were not serving

in probationary periods, and that they were removed from their

positions with the Department of Transportation. Accordingly,

I find that these appeals are acceptable for adjudication.

ANALYSIS AND FINDINGS

In order to have its removal decision sustained, the agency

has the burden of establishing the reason for the action by a

preponderance of the evidence, 5 U.S.C. Section 7701(c)(1)(B).

This is defined as:

That degree of relevant evidence which a

reasonable mind, considering the record as a whole,

might accept as sufficient to support a conclusion

that the matter asserted is more likely to be true

than not true.

————

l2a

Appendix D

5 C.F.R. Section 1201.56(c)(2).

The agency stated that the reasons for the instant action were

in letters which were nearly identical except for the particular

specifics of time and dates applicable to each appellant. The

specific times and dates will be dicussed in connection with each

individual appellant, but the general form read as follows:

Reason 1: Violation of 5 U.S.C. 7311, which states

in pertinent part, ‘“‘An individual may not accept

or hold a position in the Government of the United

States . . . if he . . . participates in a strike against

the Government of the United States . . .""; and

18 U.S.C. 1918, which makes participation in a

strike against the government of the United States

a crime for which a sentence of imprisonment can

be imposed.

Specification: Beginning at approximately 7 A.M.

EDT, on August 3, 1981, a nationwide strike by

air traffic controllers occurred. Beginning at ___

EDT, on August ___, 1981 when you failed to

report for duty, until the present, you participated

in a strike against the United States Government.

Reason 2: Unauthorized Absence

Specification: Beginning first at the to

shift on August ___., 1981, you failed to report

for your scheduled tour of duty. On August ____,

1981 you were sent a telegram that an illegal strike

was in progress, and that you must return to duty

for your regularly scheduled shift. You failed to

l3a

Appendix D

return to duty, and instead remained absent

without authorization.

The agency, in seeking to prove its case against appellants,

relied heavily on the testimony of Thomas P. Hamill, who was,

at the time of appellants removal, Deputy Chief at the Philadelphia

International Tower.

The appellants sought alternate sanctions against the agency.

Specifically, the appellants made a motion that they be granted

judgment because of the agency’s failure to produce for deposition,

or as a witness, Chief of the Philadelphia International Tower,

Robert J. Beckelman, Jr. In addition, the appellants have moved

that they be granted judgment, or in the alternative, that the

testimony of Mr. Thomas Hamill be stricken, because of the

agency’s shifting representations as to the knowledge of Mr. Hamill

had about the events under examination.

The appellants have cited Fuidler v. Department of the

Treasury, MSPB Order No. SF07528090107 (January 28, 1982),

as authority for the appropriateness of sanctions in the instant

appeal. Moreover, the appellants hav- questioned the veracity of

the agency’s representations on Mr. Beckelman’s alleged iliness.

However, the crucial fact in this motion is that Beckelman was

not, at the time he was requested for deposition, a federal

employee. He was, therefore, no longer associated with the agency

which was a party, nor was he a party himself, and the agency

was not obligated to produce him. See 5 C.F.R. Section 1201.33;

S$ C.F.R. Section 1201.72. I note that appellants could have

requested Mr. Beckelman for deposition or as a witness by the

subpoena process provided for in § C.F.R. Section 1201.81.

The appellants originally requested that the agency provide

l4da

Appendix D

Thomas P. Hamill, the Deputy Chief at the Philadelphia

International Tower, for purposes of deposition. The agency

refused to produce the deputy chief of the Philadelphia

International Tower stating that the deputy tower chief had no

information relevant to the matter before the Board. Subsequently,

the agency produced Hamill as its only witness at appellants’

hearing.

Appellants argue that the agency made a false statement, and

that an appropriate sanction for such conduct should be ;udgment

for the appellants, or the striking of Hamill’s hearing testimony.

The agency stated that its representation that Hamill had no

information on the matter under appeal was contained in a

standardized response to a large number of requests from various

appellants throughout the agency’s Eastern Region for the

deposition of a large number of agency officials including the

Secretary of Transportation. The agency contends that due to

the impact the strike had upon its operations, it attempted to avoid

depositions of any of its personnel other than Facility Chiefs.

The method used was a generalized response that the Facility

Chiefs were the individuals with the most knowledge concerning

the adverse actions. The agency concedes that its statement that

Hamill knew nothing about the actions was not applicable and

should not have been offered.

However, the agency points out that when, in May 1982,

Mr. Beckelman could not be produced for purposes of deposition,

the agency offered Hamill for that purpose. I note that as long

ago as April 1, 1982, the agency submitted a proposed witness

list which included the name of Thomas P. Hamill. Moreover,

Hamill’s name appears on the letter of proposed removal as the

individual the appellants should contact in order to review the

aati

15a

Appendix D

material used to support the proposed actions. In view of the

foregoing, I find, since that aside from the one denial by the

agency, it otherwise indicated that Hamill did have knowledge

of the action under appeal; and, it did offer him for the purposes

of deposition, no sanctions of any kind are appropriate with respect

to Hamill and his testimony will be permitted to stand.

I note that the representative of the instant group of appellants

had made the same motions during the course of the two hearings

conducted in August 1981. At that time, I indicated that, if

requested, I would issue a subpoena for Beckelman and order

Mr. Hamill deposed, and the agency indicated it would not oppose

this procedure. Appellants’ representative declined to avail himself

of this opportunity, and I must regard him as having been on

notice that this procedure was available in the instant cases.

Appellants have alleged that the agency committed a number

of harmful! errors in the processing of their removals.

5 U.S.C. Section 7701(c)(2) provides that an agency’s decision

may not be sustained by the Board if ‘‘the employee . . . (A) shows

harmful error in the application of the agency’s procedures in

arriving at such decision . . ’’ The statute places upon the appellant

the burden of establishing as an affirmative defense that the agency

committed procedural error and that the error was harmful. See

William E. Parker v. Defense Logistics Agency, 1 MSPB 489

(1980).

The Board indicated in Parker, supra, that harmful error

concept could be stated as follows:

The question is whether it was within the range

of appreciable probability that the error had a

l6a

Appendix D

harmful effect upon the outcome before this

agency.

5 C.F.R. Section 1201.56(c)(3) provides a definition for

harmful error which is as follows:

Error by the agency in the application of its

procedures which, in the absence of a cure of that

error might have caused the agency to reach a

conclusion different than the one reached.

This section places the burden upon the appellant to show that

the error was harmful.

Appellants argued that there was harmful procedural error

in that the agency issued appellants a Letter of Intent rather than

a Letter of Proposal. Appellants contended that there is a

difference between a Letter of Intent and a Letter of Proposal

in that the former implies a fixed purpose whereas the latter is

only tentative and can be altered. The question of whether there

was prejudgement in the instant case will be addressed below,

and that issue aside, the appellants’ representations with respect

to whether a Letter of Intent or a Letter of Proposed Action was

issued is a matter of semantics. In form, the letters to appellants

from Mr. Beckelman were Notices of Proposed Removal, in that

they informed appellants of the reasons why the actions were being

proposed, designated a place where they could review the material

that the agency had relied on, and, otherwise outlined appellants’

rights if they wished to dispute the merits of the action. The terms

‘*proposed action’’ or ‘‘proposed removal’’ appear several times

in the course of the letters. On August 11, 1981, appellants

responded to what they characterized as the ‘‘proposed removal!

action’’ and the ‘‘proposed action,’’ in such a way as to

17a

Appendix D

demonstrate that they regarded the letters as proposals, each raising

various issues and questions with respect to them, showing an

awareness they could dispute the proposed actions.

Since the letters were on their faces, Letters of Proposed

Removal, and, since appellants have not shown how this

mislabeling caused the agency to reach decisions different from

that which it did, I find no harmful error in these cases.

Appellants also alleged that there was harmful error in these

cases in that the proposing official and the deciding official was

the same person, Robert J. Beckelman, Jr. Appellants assert that

unless there are separate individuals to perform the functions of

proposing official and deciding official, there is a denial of due

process. There was, prior to the passage of the Civil Service Reform

Act of 1978, Pub. L. No. 95-454, 92 Stat. 1111 (1978), a

requirement that a final decision on an adverse action be made

by a higher ranking official than the proposing official. See 5

C.F.R. Section 752.202(f)(1978). However, neither that law, nor

the regulations issued to implement it, mandate such a two stage

system at the agency level. See 5. C.F.R. Part 752 (1981). See

also Sibert v. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare,

4 MSPB 132 (1980); Miller v. Department of the Air Force, MSPB

Order No. BN0O75209070 (November 30, 1981); McGee v.

Department of Health ana Human Services, MSPB Order No.

AT07528110274 (April 14, 1982); O’Neil v. Department of

Transportation, MSPB Order No. BN07528110063 (June 21,

1982); Pinto v. Department of Labor, MSPB Order No.

DE0752800140 (May 11, 1982). Since neither the law nor the

applicable regulations require that the proposing official and

deciding official be different persons, and since appellants have

shown no specific harm from Beckelman having acted in both

capacities, I find no harmful error in this regard.

i8a

Appendix D

Appellant advanced a series of arguments with respect to the

seven days accorded them for the purpose of replying to charges

in the advance notice. Appellants argued that: the statute, /.e.,

5 U.S.C. Section 7513(b) calls for at least thirty days between

the advance notice and the effective date of the removal; seven

days is the minimum time permissible for an agency to grant;

the burden of proof is upon the agency to demonstrate that the

time accorded to appellant is reasonable; and, in the instant cases

seven days was unreasonable.

The appellants challenged the agency’s decision to allow them

only seven (7) days in which to respond to their proposed removals,

rather than the normal thirty (30) days provided for in 5 U.S.C.

Section 7513. The agency explained that it used the shortened

notice period exception provided for in the statute for criminal

charges, 5 U.S.C. Section 7513(b). The Board will sustain a

decision taken after a shortened notice period of at least seven

days if the agency shows that when it acted, there was reasonable

cause to believe that the employee had committed a crime for

which a sentence of imprisonment could be imposed, see David

v. Tennessee Valley Authority, MSPB Order No. AT075281 10206

(May 10, 1982), and Land v. Federal Aviation Administration,

MSPB Order No. CH07528110154. (July 21, 1982).

The Board has determined that the agency’s ‘‘reasonable

belief’’ that a crime was committed need not be based on an arrest

or police investigation, but can be based on the discovery of

‘*egregious act detrimental to the accomplishment of the agency’s

mission,’’ Byrd v. United States Postal Service, MSPB Order No.

NY07528110314 (August 23, 1982) and Martin v. Department of

the Treasury, MSPB Order No. AT075209044 (June 1, 1982).

Further, reasonable cause is commonly defined as ‘‘a suspicion

founded upon circumstances sufficiently strong to warrant a

19a

Appendix D

reasonable man’s belief that the charge is true.’’ Black’s Law

Dictionary, 1431 (rev. 4th ed. 1968). I find that in light of the

appellants’ absence without explanation, and the events of August

3-6, 1981, of which the Board has taken official notice, see

Ketchem v. Department of Transportation, MSPB Order No.

DA075281F0713 (May 28, 1982) the agency’s belief that appellants

had committed a crime was reasonable, see 18 U.S.C. Section

1918, and its use of the ‘‘crime exception’”’ shortened notice period

was proper.

Appeilants also raised another issue with respect to the seven

days notice. They allege that seven full days are required, the

day on which the notice is received being excluded from the

computation. The seven full days extend to the last minute of

the seventh day, and where the action is effective, the required

seven days notice has not been given and the appellant is entitled

to relief.

Appellant Neal received his Advance Notice on August 7,

1981 and his letter of decision was issued on August 17, 1981,

therefore he was accorded the full seven days to make a reply,

and this issue does not pertain to him.

While none of the other appellants appear to have been

accorded the full seven days prescribed by statute, I note that

all of them did have an opportunity to reply and took advantage

of it. None has come forward with any evidence that they would

have submitted an additional reply by the date of the decision,

and none has demonstrated how the agency’s error harmed them

or caused the agency to come to a decision different from the

one that it did. It is clearly the appellants’ burden to show that

such an error occurred and that it was indeed harmful, and they

must do so by a preponderance of the evidence, see Pinto v.

Department of Labor, MSPB Order No. DE0752801040 (May

11, 1982). In this case, appellants have not shown how the loss

20a

Appendix D

of one day of their period prejudiced them as they have not argued

that they intended to reply to the charges or produce evidence

concerning the charges on the 7th day. Further, the Board has

concluded that the issuance of a decision letter before the

expiration of the 7th day, when the employee has been afforded

an opportunity to respond to the charges, is not of itself harmful

error warranting reversal of the agency’s action, Johnson v.

Department of the Treasury, MSPB Order No. DC075209213

(August 27, 1982). Accordingly, this argument must be dismissed.

This finding also disposes of appellants’ allegation of harmful

error with respect to the denial of official time. In the context

of an adverse action, official time is time during working hours

in which an employee against whom an adverse action is proposed,

is, while still being paid by the agency excused from his regular

duties, so that he can prepare a reply to the charges against him.

The purpose of official time is to give an employee a fair chance

to prepare a defense, unhindered by his regular duties, and not

having to worry about possible disciplinary action for not having

performed his normal assigned work. Since appellants did not

present themselves for work, they were engaged in no duties from

which they could be excused. In any event, appellants have not

shown that they asked for official time and had the request refused,

nor have they demonstrated, how the granting of official time

would have altered the outcome before the agency.

It was also asserted that the agency violated the law by

providing that the appellants’ reply could be personally or in

writing or both: appellants pointed out that the statute provides

for a reply to be made either orally or in writing, or both. They

argue that since a personal reply would not necessarily be made

orally, e.g., a written reply could be handed over in person, and

that an oral reply could be made other than in person, e.g., over

2la

Appendix D

the telephone, they were misled with respect to their procedural

rights. The appellants assert that this language effectively ruled

out an oral presentation by a representative without the presence

of the appellants, or of a telephonic presentation. I note that the

advance notices in all of these appeals do permit the appellants

to have a representative or an attorney in making a reply, and

they do not require the appellants to be present during any reply.

Moreover, none of the appellants testified that they had wanted

to make a reply telephonically, or through a representative without

them being present.

I find that aside from the fact that the appellants’ contentions

with respect to the matter are purely semantical, they have failed

to demonstrate how this use of language in the notice harmed

them or caused the agency to reach decisions different from the

ones that it would have. Appellants were granted the right to make

replies, they did make these replies, and they have not

demonstrated how the use of the term ‘‘personally’’ prevented

them from making a reply that could possibly have caused the

agency to make decisions different from the ones that it did.

Accordingly, I find no harmful error in this regard.

The appellants also raised the issue of their duty status during

the notice period. Appellants specifically pointed out that the

statute and the regulations provide that a separate notice of

proposal and decision be made when an individual is to be excluded

from the work place during the notice period of an adverse action.

In the instant case, the agency made no provision for appellants’

status, and given the particular facts of these cases, I find it was

unnecessary that it do so. The central issues in these appeals revolve

around appellants’ absence from the work place, absences which

continued throughout the notice period. Appellants argue that

the agency, pursuant to President Reagan’s orders, would not

22a

Appendix D

have permitted them to return to work. However, there is nothing

in the record to show that appellants ever attempted to return

to work during this period. The Board has issued a number of

decisions on various issues with respect to suspensions, and has

consistently reversed decisions wherein employees were

unjustifiably suspended during the notice period. Cuellar v. United

States Postal Service, MSPB Order No. SF075299045 (November

13, 1981); Poole v. Department of the Army, MSPB Order No.

PH07528010007 (July 30, 1982). Moreover, the Board has reversed

agency actions which amounted to a constructive suspension.

Kenny v. Internal Revenue Service, MSPB Order No.

PH07528090154 (January 3, 1982); Mosely v. Department of the

Navy, 4 MSPB 220 (1980). However, in all of these cases the

employee’s absence from work was involuntary. In the instant

cases, there is reason to believe that appellants failed to be at

work on their own volition. Therefore, I find it appropriate to

analyze these appeals in terms of the enforced leave cases. In an

appeal where there is an allegation that the placement of an

employee in an enforced leave status is actually an appealable

adverse action, three specific questions must be answered in order

to find the appeal within the Board’s appellate jurisdiction. As

set forth in Mosely, op. cit., these are:

1. Was the appellant placed on leave without his

consent?

2. Was the appellant in fact ready, willing, and

‘ able to work during the period of leave?

3. Was the enforced leave used in a personal

disciplinary type situation?

Analogizing appellants’ absence during the notice period to an

23a

Appendix D

enforced leave situation, I find that appellants have failed to

adduce any evidence that their absence from work during this

time frame was involuntary, or that they were ready, willing and

abie to work, or that they attempted to return to work at any

time. Accordingly, I find that appellants cannot be considered

to have been suspended during the notice period, and I find no

harmful error in this regard.

The agency utilized the appellants’ Time and Attendance

Cards and Personnel Logs to demonstrate the absence of the

appellants on the days charged. These documents were kept in

the ordinary course of business and even though they are hearsay

I find them to be reliable, both because they are regular business

documents and because they were supplemented by the direct,

sworn testimoy of Thomas Hamill. These documents are found

in Tab 11 of the Agency’s Submission in each of the appellants’

files.

Richard V. Kitts

Richard Kitts was charged with being AWOL and with

participating in a strike as of 7:00 p.m. on August 6, 1981. Mr.

Hamill, testifying from memory, and utilizing the Time and

Attendance Cards and Personnel Logs, stated that appellant was

scheduled for the 7:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. shift on every day from

August 3, 1981 through August 6, 1981, that he did not arrive

for work on any of those days, that he was not on approved leave,

and that he did not contact the agency to explain his absence.

Moreover, appellant was observed picketing on August 5, 1981.

Appellant states that in June 1981 he had indicated that he

would not participate in a strike, and that thereafter he was

ostracized and harassed to such a degree that by August 3, 1981

24a

Appendix D

he was suffering from acute anxiety. He claims that he was taking

prescribed tranquilizers during this period and the combination

of drugs and anxiety induced sickness rendered him incapable

of handling air traffic. Appellent alleges that he did not call the

agency to inform them of his illness because it would have been

futile, and that his request for sick leave would have been rejected.

Moreover, appellant believed he was fired as of 11:00 a.m. August

5, 1981, and, therefore made no attempt to return to work.

In view of the facts that appellant had never requested sick

leave for the days in question, and that no medical evidence was

submitted by him, I find that the agency was correct in considering

him AWOL based on the information in its possession. Lucero

v. Department of the Air Force, MSPB Order No. DE07528110117

(October 25, 1982). While appellant may certainly submit medical

documentation to excuse or explain his charged absences from

work to the Board without first submitting it to the agency, see

Zeiss v. Veterans Administration, MSPB Order No. NY075209017

(September 1, 1981), and I may determine that this evidence

warrants excusal of his absences, see i.e., Hockman v. American

Battle Monuments Commission, MSPB Order No. SF07528110757

(July 30, 1982), appellant submitted no objective medical evidence

at the hearing. Therefore, I find that this assertion does not excuse

his absence without leave.

With respect to his allegation that he kept away from work

because of harassment and concern about the consequences, |

note that even assuming, arguendo, that such anxiety would excuse

his absence from work, it does not explain his active participation

in the strike as evidenced by his having picketed.

Of course, if appellant’s actions were involuntary, the charge

cannot be sustained, because ‘‘one who refused to cross a picket

2Sa

Appendix D

line by reason of physical fear does not act on principle,’’ and

is therefore not considered a striker, NLRB v. Union Carbide

Corp., 440 F.2d 54, 56 (4th Cir.), cert. denied 404 U.S. 826 (1971).

See also Plain Dealer Publishing Co. v. Cleveland Typographical

Union, $20 F.2d 1220, 1228 (6th Cir. 1975), cert. denied 428 U.S.

909 (1978). The Board acknowledged that the question of duress,

harassment or intimidation might be an issue in several of these

appeals, see Trick v. Federal Aviation Administration, MSPB

Order No. DC075281F1144 (December 17, 1981), and recently

promulgated the standard by which such claims must be analyzed.

In Johnson v. Department of Transportation, MSPB Order No.

DC075281F0998 (November 10, 1982) (hereinafter Johnson), the

Board concluded that

{ijn order for a Federal employee charged with

participation in a strike against the government

to establish defense of coercion or duress, he must

demonstrate, by a preponderance of the evidence,

that his failure to report for work was the result

of a threat or other intimidating conduct, directed

toward him, sufficient to instill in him a reasonable

fear of physical danger to himself or others which

a person of ordinary firmness would not be

expected to resist.

Appellant admits there were no physical threats, but testified to

a good deal of social ostracism and harassment. However, the

Board in Johnosn, specifically ruled that such factors are not

sufficient cause to render involuntary an employee’s participation

in an illegal strike.

Some general dicussion of what the agency must prove to

meet their evidentiary burden on this charge is appropriate.

26a

Appendix D

Participation in a strike against the government is defined as ‘‘an

actual refusal in concert with others to provide services to one’s

employer,’’ United Federation of Postal Clerks v. Blount, 325

F. Supp. 879, 884 (D.D.C.), aff'd. 404 U.S. 802 (1971). In

Schapansky v. Department of Transportation, MSPB Order No.

DA075281F 1130 (October 28, 1982) (hereinafter Schapansky), the

Board determined that the existence of a strike was common

knowledge, and that the agency can establish a prima facie case

of an employee’s voluntary participation therein by presenting

evidence of his or her unauthorized absence from duty during

the strike. See also Jones v. Tennessee Valley Authority, MSPB

Order No. AT07528010300 (February 19, 1982) and Duckett and

Yardley v. Tennessee Valley Authority, MSPB Order No.

AT07528010325 (February 19, 1982). In a recent case, the Courts

further defined striking against the government as ‘‘picketing with

co-workers during scheduled work hours,’’ American Postal

Workers Union v. United States Postal Service, 682 F.2d 1280,

1284 (9th Cir. 1982). In the instant case, the evidence introduced

with respect to picketing indicates that the incidents involving

appellant were on his duty hours. However, in a long line of cases

dealing with whether an individual’s action can be deemed to be

part of a ‘concerted activity’’ under the National Labor Relations

Act, the courts have held that an individual employee’s actions

can be deemed to be part of a concerted activity if they “‘have

some relation to group action in the interest of employees,”’

Anchortank, Inc. v. NLRB, 618 F.2d 1153, 1161 (Sth Cir. 1980).

And, “‘it is also necessary ...that the employee’s actions

themselves at least contemplate some group activity,’’ Pelton

Casteel, Inc. v. NLRB, 627 F.2d 23, 28 (7th Cir. 1980). The

individual’s actions must amount to action on behalf of other

employees, Aro, Inc. v. NLRB, 596 F.2d 713, 717 (6th Cir. 1979)

and embody some element of ‘‘collected activity,’’ Krispy Kreme

Doughnut Corp. v. NLRB, 635 F.2d 304, 307 (4th Cir. 1980).

27a

Appendix D

Further, as the Board noted in Schapansky, supra, there need

not be any overt physical actions by the employee to find that

he or she acted in concert with other simiarly situated employees.

See also Hugh H. Wilson Corp., 171 NLRB 1040, 1046 (1968).

In the instant case I find that the agency has demonstrated

by a preponderance of the evidence that appellant was Absent

Without Authorization and that he participated in a strike.

John E. Neal

Appellant Neal was charged with being AWOL and with

participating in a strike as of 3:12 p.m. on August 6, 1981. The

appellant was on annual leave for August | and 2, 1981; on regular

days off on August 3 and 4, 1981; was scheduled for the 7:00

a.m. to 3:00 p.m. shift on August 5, 1981; and, was scheduled

for the 3:12 p.m. shift on August 6, 1981, his deadline shift.

Appellant did not report for duty on either August 5 or 6, 1981,

was not on approved leave, and did not contact the agency to

explain his absence. Moreover, appellant was observed picketing

on either August 3 or 4, 1981.

In the proceedings before the agency appellant alleged that

he had been on his regular day off. However, he did not raise

the issue before the Board, and | find that he was not on his

regular day off on August 6, 1981. In his hearing testimony

appellant indicated that he did not return to work because he

thought he had already been fired and because of his fears as

to what might happen. As analyzed above, it was appellant's

obligation to report for work as scheduled in the absence of leave

from the agency to be off duty. Appellant’s objective impressions

of President Reagan’s speech did not constitute such leave.

Appellant’s anxieties with respect to his safety was admittedly

28a

Appendix D

not based on any specific threats, but his own feelings, and I

find that these vague fears do not constitute involuntary absence

under the Johnson standard.

Accordingly, I find that the agency has demonstrated by a

preponderance of the evidence that appellant was Absent Without

Leave and that he participated in a strike.

The agency moved that I take official notice that there was

a nationwide strike by air traffic controllers from August 3, 1981,

running through August 6, 1981. The Board has already

determined that there exists in the totality of circumstances

surrounding the events of August 1981 sufficient information to

find that the criteria contained in 5 C.F.R. Section 1201.67 are

met, and that official notice may be taken that there was a strike

by the Professional Air Traffic Controllers Organization (PATCO)

starting on August 3, 1981, and continuing at least through August

6, 1981. However, appellants may present evidence to refute the

existence of a strike during this period. Ketchem v. Department

of Transportation, MSPB Order No. DA075281F0713 (May 28,

1982). Since the appellants did oppose the agency’s motion with

respect to the issue of official notice, I must examine the respective

contentions of the parties bearing on this issue. Appellants focus

in on President Reagan’s speech of 11:00 a.m. on August 3, 1981:

This morning at 7:00 a.m. the union representing

those who man America’s air traffic control

facilities called a strike. . . I must tell those who

failed to report for duty this morning they are in

violation of the law and if they do not report for

work within 48 hours they have forfeited their jobs —

and will be terminated. 17 Weekly Comp. Pres.

Doc. 847 (August 3, 1981).

29a

Appendix D

This statement was followed by one on August 5, 1981 by

Secretary of Transportation, Drew Lewis, in which he remarked

that as of 11:00 a.m. on that date, the strike was over. Appellants

conclude from these statements that not only were they fired as

of 11:00 a.m. on August 5, 1981, and the strike was over, but

because they were fired and there was no strike, they had no

obligation to come to work thereafter, and they cannot be properly

charged with either AWOL or striking after that date.

However, I find that there has been no demonstration that

the strike ended on August 5, 1981. The crucial question focused

upon by the Board and the courts is when had the deadline shift

passed for the greater part of the controllers. It was found that

as of August 6, 1981 a substantial number of controllers could

still have returned to work. I note that in the instant case 5 of

the 6 appellants could have returned to work on August 6, 1981

or later.

Whatever the subjective impressions of the instant appellants

with respect to the public statements of the Secretary and the

President, the fact still remains that they were obligated, both

by the nature of the employer-employee relationship and by statute,

to report to work.

Richard C. Newman

Appellant Newman was charged with being AWOL and with

participating in a strike as of 3:12 p.m. on August 3, 1981. Hamill

gave evidence that appellant was scheduled for the 3:12 p.m. to

11:12 shift on August 3, 1981, and for the 2:48 p.m. to 10:48

p.m. shifts on both August 4 and 5, 1981; and, that appellant

did not arrive for work on any of these days, that he was not

on approved leave, and that he did not contact the agency to

30a

Appendix D

explain his absence. Moreover, appellant was observed picketing

on August 5, 1981. With respect to this latter point, appellant’s

representative complained that the agency was attempting to foist

a forgery on the Board. Hamill had based his testimony that

appellant was picketing on a list that he had made up after he,

and the Chief at the Tower, Robert Beckelman, had observed

mass picketing on August 5, 1981. There were two sets of initials

on this document, Hamill’s and Beckelman’s, and they appeared

to have been written by two different hands. At the instant hearing

Hamill testified that he had subscribed both sets of initials in order

to indicate that both he and Becke!man agreed that the names

checked on the list had been observed picketing. Appellant’s

representative claimed that Hamill had testified at earlier hearings

involving George Walker and Francis Turek that Beckelman had

prepared the documents. A review of the transcripts of those

hearings does not indicate any such representation by Hamill,

but, at most, a contention that they went over the list together.

In all the hearings Hamill consistently indicated that he carried

on the clerical function. Moreover, while the initials appear to

have been made with a different hand, I find it unlikely that Hamill

was trying to emuiate Beckelman’s signature, since Mr.

Beckelman’s handwriting is ornate while Hamill’s is unadorned.

I find that there is no indication that Hamill forged these

documents or that his testimony on the August 5, 1981 picketing

was unreliable.

Appellant admitted his absences and awareness of the strike.

He testified that he did not go to work principally because he

feared reprisals such as obscene phone calls; however, he admitted

that he had no anxieties over a physical attack. Appellant stated

that another reason he stayed out was because he did not want

to endanger some of the social relationships which his wife felt

3la

Appendix D

to be important. Appellant denies he was acting in concert with

the other controllers.

However, as noted above in Kitts, the essence of concerted

activity is that an individual’s actions must amount to action on

behalf of other employees.

Appellant’s actions meet all of these criteria. The object of

any strike by employees is to put pressure on their employer to

meet their terms by denying to the employer their services. On

August 3, 1981, PATCO attempted to pressure the Department

of Transportation into acceding to the terms proposed for a

negotiated agreement by PATCO. The strategy of PATCO was

to have its members absent themselves from work and thereby

render the Federal Aviation Administration incapable of

accomplishing its chartered mission: to insure the safe and efficient

flow of air traffic. Appellant chose not only to absent himself

from work at a time contemporaneous with the other air traffic

controllers, but also to picket the agency in the company of fellow

union members. He thereby materially aided PATCO’s objectives

of denying the services of controllers to the agency and of

demonstrating the union’s solidarity.

In the instant case I find that the agency has demonstrated

by a preponderance of the evidence that appellant was Absent

Without Authorization and that he participated in a strike.

Robert L. Kapp

Robert L. Kapp was charged with being AWOL and with

participating in a strike as of 3:12 p.m. on August 6, 1981. The

appellant had regularly scheduled days off on August 3 and 4,

1981; was scheduled for a 6:50 a.m. to 2:50 p.m. shift on August

32a

Appendix D

5, 1981, and a 2:48 p.m. to 10:48 p.m. shift on August 6, 1981,

this last being his deadline shift. As with a number of other

appellants, Kapp alleged harmful! error because of non-receipt

of the Advance Notice in the Letter of Decision, or both. As with

Robinson, he alleged harmfui error in that the advance notice

misstated the time of the shift that he was due in. These contentions

will be analyzed below in the general section.

Appellant alleged that he was sick and nervous at the time

of the strike and was not in any condition to work. He points

out that he was sick earlier in July, had called in, and had been

granted sick leave. Aside from his testimony, the only evidence

that appellant offered was a letter dated September 7, 1982 from

Paul C. Vitt, D.O., who stated that appellant complainted of

vague, somatic symptoms characteristic of anxiety neurosis and

depression, and that the doctor recommended he take a leave of

absence. Aside from the fact that the letter was composed a year

after the event, the most salient characteristics of this document

is that appellant’s complaints are wholly subjective; that Dr. Vitt

is an Osteopath with no apparent background in psychiatry or

psychology; and, that the letter does not state that appellant was

disabled for work.

Moreover, appellant did not allege illness as an excuse during

the agency process to remove him, and while he claims to have

attempted to call in, he made no effort to try to reach another

number of which he was aware, when the primary number proved

busy. This lack of effort was in the face of the knowledge that

there was a strike on and that he might be considered a striker

if he did not properly request leave. That appellant was aware

of the correct method of obtaining leave is obvious from his

successful efforts in this regard during July.

33a

Appendix D

When questioned about why he had not brought this defense

up in his appeal to the Board, appellant stated that at that time

he had been advised that coercion was a better defense. I must

view appeliant’s admission in this regard as reflecting on the bona

fides of his claim of illness.

Accordingly, I find that appellant’s claim of illness, in view

of both the quality of the evidence used to support it, and the

belated manner in which the issue was raised, does not excuse

his absence. Accordingly, I find the agency to have demonstrated

by a preponderance of the evidence that appellant participated

in a strike and was absent without authorization.

John W. Clarke

John W. Clarke was charged with being AWOL and with

participating in a strike as of 7:00 a.m. on August 8, 1981.

Appellant was on the midnight shift on August 3, 1981, i.e., 11:00

p.m., August 2, 1981 to 7:00 a.m., August 3, 1981. He also was

scheduled for midnight shifts on August 4 and 5, 1981, with

regularly scheduled days off on August 6 and 7, 1981. His 7:00

a.m. shift on August 8, 1981 was his deadline shift.

Appellant alleges he was sick throughout this period and

presented some evidence to that effect.

His first exhibit concerned rectal bleeding from which he

suffered in 1979. Appellant claims he suffered from the same

symptoms at the time of the strike. However, he offered no

objective evidence to support that contention. He presented

evidence that he was diagnosed as having suffered from anxiety

depression on August 4, 1981, and had been prescribed a

34a

Appendix D

tranquilizer. Subsequently, at the end of the month he had been

prescribed even stronger tranquilizers.

Appellant alleges that when he left on August 3, 1981 he

had told his supervisor, that he was sick. While the evidence of

record supports that he made that contact with his supervisor,

I note that the leave was disapproved. Appellant and three other

members of the midnight shift, when ordered to remain on duty

because of understaffing, refused, all claiming to be ill. Since

this event occurred concurrent with the onset of the strike, the

agency had reasonable grounds to doubt appellant’s claim.

Moreover, appellant did not call in to report sick for any shifts

that week until August 8, 1981, and, in the meantime, had been

observed picketing. Even then, it was his wife who called in. While

documentary evidence has been submitted to indicate that a call

was made to Philadelphia International Tower, there was no

evidence that leave had been approved. While appellant did raise

the defense of sickness during the agency proceeding against him,

he did not then adduce any of the evidence presented at the

hearing. Accordingly, I find that appellant was in an Unauthorized

Absence status as of August 8, 1981.

However, while some of appellant’s actions are indicative

of strike support, I only took official notice of the existence of

a strike through August 6, 1981, and the agency presented no

evidence that it continued beyond that point. Accordingly, I find

that the agency has not proven that appeilant engaged in a strike.

Thomas D. Robinson

Thomas D. Robinson was charged with being AWOL and

with participating in a strike as of 3:00 p.m. on August 6, 1981.

The appellant was on regularly scheduled days off on August 3

35a

Appendix D

and 4, 1981; was scheduled for the 7:00 a.m. to 3 p.m. shift on

August 5, 1981, and was scheduled for the 2:48 p.m. to 10:48

p.m. shift on August 6, 1981. Appellant alleges that because the

advance notice misstates the time of the shift tha he was due in,

harmful error was committed. This contention will be analyzed

in the general section below.

Appellant admits his absences but alleges that he was sick

with the flu on August 4 and 5, 1981; that he tried to contact

the agency, but failed because the line was busy; that he heard

that he had been fired and thereafter believed it was futile to

attempt to go in.

I find appellant’s explanation of his absences to be

disingenuous. Appellant did not raise the issue of his alleged illness

either in the agency proceedings or in his initial appeal before

the Board. Moreover, at the hearing he presented no objective

medical evidence to substantiate his claim of illness. Furthermore,

I find it incredible, assuming arguendo, that he was really sick,

that he would not make more vigorous attempts to inform the

agency, at least to the extent of finding another telephone number

that he could call. It is equally unfathomable that any individual,

haveing a purportedly good excuse for his absence, would assume

that the agency would not accept his reason without at least trying

to bring his explanation before the agency.

Accordingly, I find that the agency has demonstrated by a

preponderance of the evidence that appellant was Absent without

Leave and that he participated in a strike.

The appellants who raised a sickness defense contend that

they had no obligation to come to work when they were incapable

of controlling traffic, that the agency had no need of their services.

36a

Appendix D

However, there was testimony that the agency could have utilized

them in non-controller positions, and I find that it is well within

the managerial prerogative of an agency to determine to what

tasks an employee shall be assigned, and the appellants who

absented themselves, deprived the agency of that prerogative.

Some appellants alleged they did not receive their advance

notice, and some assert that they did not receive their notice of

decision. However, I note that all appellants did make replies

to the charges in the advance notices, and all did file timely appeals

to the Board. Therefore, I find no harmful error in regard to

these allegations.

Some of the appellants were charged with being AWOL and

on strike at times other than they actually were. It is argued that

this is harmful error because the appellants were not informed

of the charges against them. However, I note that the errors

involved only a few minutes. Kapp was charged with being AWOL

from the 3:12 p.m. shift on August 6, 1981 whereas he was actually

scheduled for the 2:48 p.m. shift on that day. Robinson was

charged with being absent from the 3:00 p.m. shift whereas he

actually was scheduled for the 2:48 p.m. schedule on that day.

This error did the appellants no factual harm since neither alleged

they attempted to show up at any time on August 6, 1981. I find

that it did no procedural harm since the shifts they were charged

with missing and the shifts they actually missed are permutations

of the basic 3:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. shift which they actually

missed.

The essential function of a notice of adverse action is to

adequately inform the employee of the basis of the proposed action

with sufficient particularity to apprise him of allegations he must

refute or acts he must justify. Burkett v. United States, 402 F.2d

37a

Appendix D

1002 (Ct. Cl. 1968); Englehardt v. United States, 125 Ct. Cl. 603,

606 (Ct. Cl. 1953); Hendricks v. Department of the Interior, MSPB

Order No. SF07528090167 (February 23, 1982); JoAnson v.

Department of the Air Force, MSPB Order NO. DA07528110347

(April 23, 1982). The two specifications against appellants were

essentially that they had been on strike and in an Unauthorized

Absence status beginning 3:00 p.m. August 6, 1981 to the present.

Since the evidence is clear that appellants had not been at work

for any of their shifts scheduled after August 2, 1981, I find that

they had sufficient notice of the charges against them to be able

to dispute them.

With respect tot he penalty meted out, it is well established

that Unauthorized Absence from duty constitutes proper grounds

for removal since, by its very nature, it disrupts the efficiency

of the service. Bolling v. Department of the Air Force, MSPB

Order No. NY07528090034 (December 28, 1982); Desiderio v.

Department of the Navy, 4 MSPB 171 (1980). However, the agency

based its removal action principally upon the fact that appellant

participated in a strike. I find that removal for such an offense

is particularly justified since it is Unauthorized Absence in concert

with others, the effect of which was to disrupt the agency in its

mission of controlling air traffic throughout the United States.

In United States v. Restor, et al., Crim. No. 81-187, Slip. Op.

at 8-9, (W.D. Pa. January 13, 1981) Judge Diamond took official

notice that the strike by the air traffic controllers resulted in

hardship and inconvenience to the public, increased unemployment

of innocent people and a loss of millions of dollars in the airline

industry, further stating that the controllers’ conduct was

‘*uniquely anti-social’’. I note that the Board in Schapansky found

that the penalty of removal was appropriate for an air traffic

controller who had struck because the offense impacted directly

on airline safety. In sum, I find that a strike against the police

38a

Appendix D

powers of the government, i.e., the law enforcement and public

health and safety functions, particularly in defiance of a

prohibiting statute, is so serious a trangression of the employer-

employee relationship, that no penalty other than removal would

be appropriate.

In Schapansky, supra, at 11-12, the Board noted that 5 U.S.C.

Section 7311(3) seems to mandate removal as a penalty for federal

employees who have participated in a strike against the federal

government, a conclusion buttressed by the decision of the Ninth

Circuit in American Postal Workers Union v. United States Postal

Service, 682 F.2d 1280 (9th Cir. 1982). The ruling in Schapansky

is consistent with the Board’s decisions in other appeals involving

statutorily mandated minimum penalties for specified offenses,

i.e., misuse of government vehicles and Hatch Act violations. In

Woody v. General Services Administration, MSPB Order No.

SF07528110028 (June 2, 1981), the Board held that since 31 U.S.C.

Section 638a(c)(2) requires that a government employee who is

found to have misused a government vehicle be suspended for

not less than a month, an agency cannot choose a lesser penalty.

In Special Counsel v. Dukes, MSPB Order No. HQ12060020

(October 29, 1981), the Board would not approve a settlement

agreement that would have imposed a lesser penalty than the

statutory minimum prescribed by 5 U.S.C. Section 7324.

Therefore, having found that appellants Robinson, Kapp,

Kitts and Newman participated in a strike, I find that removal

is an appropriate penalty.

With respect to appellant Clarke, although | have found that

the agency has not sustained the charge of striking against him,

nonetheless, I note that the agency demonstrated that his absences

in the latter part of the week of August 3, 1981 continued a pattern

of AWOL begun during the period of the strike. Hamill testified

39a

Appendix D

without rebuttal as to the deleterious effect the absences of the

appellants had on agency operations, particularly with respect to

airline operations effecting the general public. Under these

circumstances, I find that the agency was justified in imposing

the removal penalty with : «spect to Clarke as well as the appellants

found to have participated in the strike and been AWOL.

DECISION

The agency’s decision to remove Robert Kapp is sustained.

The agency’s decision to remove Thomas Robinson is

sustained.

The agency’s decision to remove John Neal is sustained.

The agency’s decision to remove Richard Newman is

sustained.

The agency’s decision to remove Richard Kitts is sustained.

The agency’s decision to remove John Clarke is sustained.

NOTICE

This decision is an initial decision and will become a final

decision of the Merit Systems Protection Board on March 7, 1983,

unless a petition for review is filed with the Board or the Board

reopens the case on its own motion.

Any party to this appeal, the Director of the Office of

Personnel Management, or the Special Counsel may file a petition

for review of this decision with the Merit Systems Protection

40a

Appendix D

Board. The petition for review must set forth specific objections

to the initial decision, supported by references to applicable laws

or regulation, and with specific reference to the record. The

petition for review must be filed with the Secretary to the Merit

Systems Protection Board, Washington, D.C. 20419 no later than

the date set forth above.

After providing an opportunity for response by other parties,

the Board may grant a petition for review when it is established

that:

(1) New and material evidence is available that,

despite due diligence, was not available when the

record was closed; or

(2) The decision of the Presiding Official is based

On an erroneous interpretation of statute cr

regulation.

4ia

APPENDIX E — TEXT OF PROVISIONS INVOLVED

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

Fifth Amendment

**No person . . . shall be deprived of life, liberty

or property, without due process of law . .

Sixth Amendment

‘In all criminal prosecutions the accused shall

enjoy the rights . . . to be confronted with the

witnesses against him... .”

STATUTES

5 U.S.C. § 7513. Cause and procedure

(a) Under regulations prescribed by the Office

of Personnel Management, an agency may take

an action covered by this subchapter against an

employee only for such cause as will promote the

efficiency of the service.

(b) An employee against whom an action is

proposed in entitled to—

(1) at least 30 days’ advance written

notice, unless there is reasonable cause to

believe the employee has committed a crime

for which a sentence of imprisonment may

be imposed, stating the specific reasons for

the proposed action;

42a

Appendix E

(2) a reasonable time, but not less than

7 days, to answer orally and in writing and

to furnish affidavits and other documentary

evidence in support of the answer;

(3) be represented by an attorney or other

representative; and

(4) a written decision and the specific

reasons therefor at the earliest practicable

date.

(d) An employee against whom an action is

taken under this section is entitled to appeal to

the Merit Systems Protection Board under section

7701 of this title ....

(e) Copies of the notice of proposed action,

the answer of the employee when written, a

summary therefor when made orally, the notice

of decision and reasons thereof, and any order

effecting an action covered by this subchapter

together with any supporting material, shall be

maintained by the agency and shall be furnished

to the Board upon its request and to the employee

affected upon the employee’s request.

5 U.S.C. § 7701. Appellate procedures.

(a) An employee, or applicant for

employment, may submit an appeal to the Merit

43a

Appendix E

Systems Protection Board from any action which

is appealable to the Board under any law, rule,

or regulation. An appellant shall have the right—

(1) to a hearing for which a transcript will be kept;

and

(2) to be represented by an attonrey or other

representative.

Appeals shall be processed in accordance with

regulations prescribed by the Board.

(b). . . in any case involving a removal from

the service, the case shall be heard by the Board,

an employee experienced in hearing appeals, or an

administrative law judge... .

(c)(1) Subject to paragraph (2) of this

subsection, the decision of the agency shall be

sustained under subsection (b) only if the agency’s

decision—

(B) ... 1S supported by a

preponderance of the evidence.

(2) Notwithstanding paragraph (i), the

agency’s decision may not be sustained under

subsection (b) of this section if the employee or

applicant for employment—

44a

Appendix E

(A) shows harmful error in the

application of the agency’s procedures in

arriving at such decision;

(B) shows that the decision was based

on any prohibited personnel practice

described in section 2302 (b) of this title; or

(C) shows that the decision was not in

accordance with law.

5 U.S.C. §7703. Judicial review of decisions of the Merit Systems

Protection Board

(a)(1) Any employee or applicant for

employment adversely affected or aggrieved by a

final order or decision of the Merit Systems

Protection Board may obtain judicial review of

the order or decision.

x * *

(b)(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) of

this subsection, a petition to review a final order

or final decision of the Board shall be filed in the

United States Court of Appeals for the Federai

Circuit. Notwithstanding any other provision of

5 law, any petition for review must be filed within

30 days after the date the petitioner received notice

of the final order or decision of the Board.

* * *

(c) In any case filed in the Court of Appeals

45a

Appendix E

for the Federal Circuit, the Court shall review the

record and hold unlawful and set aside any agency

action, findings, or conclusions found to be—

(1) arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of

discretion, or otherwise not in accordance

with law;

(2) obtained without procedures required

by law, rule, or regulation having been

followed; or

(3) unsupported by substantial

evidence... .

REGULATIONS

OFFICE OF PERSONNEL MANAGEMENT REGULATIONS

ISSUED PURSUANT TO 5 U.S.C. § 7513(a)

5 C.F.R. § 752.404. Procedures

(a) Statutory entitlements. An empioyee

against whom action is proposed under this subpart

is entitled to the procedures provided in 5 U.S.C.

7513(b).

(b) Notice of proposed action. (1) The notice

of proposal shall inform the employee of his or

her right to review the material which is relied on

to support the reasons for action given in the

46a

Appendix E

notice. The agency may not use material which

cannot be disclosed to the employee or his or her

representative or designated physician under

§ 297.108(c)(1) of Part 297 of this title to support

the reasons in the notice.

(c) Employee’s answer. (1) The agency shall

give the employee a reasonable amount of official

time to review the material relied on to support

its proposal and to prepare an answer and to secure

affidavits, if he or she is otherwise in an active

duty status.

(2) The agency shall designate an official to

hear the employee’s oral answer who has authority

either to make or recommend a final decision on

the proposed adverse action... .

(d) Exceptions. (1) 5 U.S.C. 7513(b) authorizes

an exception to the 30 days’ advance written notice

when the crime provision is invoked. The agency

may require the employee to furnish any answer

to the proposed action, and affidavits and other

documentary evidence in support of the answer

within such time as under the circumstances would

be reasonable, but not less than seven days. When

the circumstances require immediate action, the

agency may place the employee in a nonduty status

with pay for such time, not to exceed ten days,

as is necessary to effect the action.

_ 47a

Appendix E

(2) The advance written notice and

opportunity to answer are not necessary for

furlough without pay due to unforeseeable

circumstances, such as sudden breakdowns in

equipment, acts of God, or sudden emergencies

requiring immediate curtailment of activities.

* * *

(e) Representation. 5 U.S.C. 7513(b)(3)

provides that an employee covered by this part is

entitled to be represented by an attorney or other

representative ....

(f) Agency decision. In arriving at its written

decision, the agency shall consider only the reasons

specified in the notice of proposed action and shall

consider any answer of the employee and/or his

or her representative made to a designated official.

The agency shall deliver the notice of decision to

the employee at or before the time the action will

be effective. The notice shall tell the employee of

his or her appeal rights.

« * *

OTHER REGULATIONS ISSUED BY OFFICE OF

PERSONNEL MANAGEMENT

5 C.F.R. § 630.401 Grant of sick leave.

An agency shall grant sick leave to an

employee when the employee:

* * *

48a

Appendix E

(b) Is incapacitated for the performance of

duties by sickness, injury, or pregnancy and

confinement;. .. .

5 C.F.R. §630.403 Supporting evidence.

An agency may grant sick leave only when

suported by evidence administratively acceptable.

Regardless of the duration of the absence, an

agency may consider an employee’s certification

as to the reason for his absence as evidence

administratively acceptable. However, for an

absence in excess of 3 workdays, or for a lesser

period when determined necessary by an agency,

the agency may also require a medical certificate,

or other administratively acceptable evidence as

to the reason for the absence.

MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD REGULATIONS

5 C.F.R. §1201.33

Every Federal agency shall make its employees

available to furnish sworn statements Or to appear

as witnesses at the hearing when requested by the

presiding official. When providing such statements

or testimony, witnesses shall be in official duty

status.

5 C.F.R. $1201.56 Burden and degree of proof, affirmative

defenses.

(a) Burden and degree of proof. (1) Agency:

49a

Appendix E

Under 5 U.S.C. 7701(c)(1) the agency action must

be sustained by the Board if:

* * *

(ii) . . . is supported by a preponderance

of the evidence.

* * .

(b) Affirmative defenses of the appellant.

Under 5 U.S.C. 7701(c)(2), the Board is required

to overturn the action of the agency even where

the agency has met the evidentiary standard set

forth is subsection (a), above, in any case where

the appellant:

(1) Shows harmful error in the

application of the agency’s procedures in

arriving at such decision;

(2) Demonstrates that the decision was

based on any prohibited personnel practice

described in 5 U.S.C. 2302(b); or

(3) Shows that the decision was not in

accordance with law.

(c) Definitions. For purposes of this section,

the following definitions shall apply:

* ~ «

50a

Appendix E

(2) Preponderance of the evidence: That

degree of relevant evidence which a

reasonable mind, considering the record as

a whole, might accept as sufficient to support

a conclusion that the matter asserted is more

likely to be true than not true.

(3) Harmful error: Error by the agency

in the application of its procedures which,

in the absence or cure of the error, might have

caused the agency to reach. The burden is

upon the record as a whole the error was

harmful, i.e., cased substantial harm or

prejudice to his/her rights.

(d) Moving forward. In cases where action has

been taken against an employee by the agency, the

agency shail present its case first. The appellant

may then present evidence.

5 C.F.R. §1201.72. Explanation and scope.

(a) Explanation: Discovery is the process apart

from the hearing whereby a party may obtain

relevant information from another person.

Including a party, which has not otherwise been

provided. Relevant information means evidence

having any tendency to make the existence of any

fact that is of consequence to the determination

of the action more probable or less probable than

it would be without the evidence. This information

is obtained for the purpose of assisting the parties

in developing, preparing, and presenting their

Sla

Appendix E

cases. The Federal Rules of Civil Procedure may

be used as a general guide for discovery practices

in proceedings before the Board where appropriate

except as to matters specifically covered by these

regulations. The federal rules shall be interpreted

as instructive rather than controlling in any event.

* * *

RULES OF APPELLATE PROCEDURE

Rule 38. Damages for Delay

If a court of appeals shall determine that an

appeal is frivolous, it may award just damages and

single or double costs to the appellee.

RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE

Rule 11. Signing of Pleadings, Motions, and Other Papers;

Sanctions

Every pleading, motion, and other paper of

a party represented by an attorney shall be signed

by at least one attorney of record in his individual

name, whose address shall be stated . . . . The

Signature of an attorney or party constitutes a

certificate by him that he has read the pleading,

motion or other paper; that to the best of his

knowledge, information, and belief formed after

reasonable inquiry it is well grounded in fact and

is warranted by existing law or a good faith

argument for the extension, modification, or

S2a

Appendix E

reversal of existing law, and that it is not interposed

for any improper purpose, such as to harass or

to cause unnecessary delay or needless increase in

the cost of litigation . . . If a pleading, motion,

or other paper is signed in violation of this rule,

the court, upon motion or upon its Own initative,

shall impose upon the person who signed it, a

represented party, or both, an approriate sanction,

which may include an order to pay to the other

party or parties the amount of the reasonable

expenses incurred because of the filing of the

pleading, motion, or other paper, including a

reasonable attorney’s fee.

Rule 37. Failure to Make or Cooperate in Discovery: Sanctions

(b) Failure to comply with order.

(2) Sanctions by court in which action is

pending. If a party or an officer, director, or

managing agent of a party or a person designated

under Rule 30(b)(6) or 31(a) to testify on behalf

of a party fails to obey an order to provide or

permit discovery, including an order made under

subdivision (a) of this rule or Rule 35, or if a party

fails to obey an order entered under Rule 26(f)

the court in which the action is pending may make

such orders in regard to the failure as are just,

and among others the following:

S3a

Appendix E

(A) An order that the matters regarding

which the order was made or any other

designated facts shall be taken to be

established for the purpose of the action in

accordance with the claim of the party

obtaining the order;

(B) An order refusing to ailow the

disobedient party to support or oppose

designated claims or defense, or prohibiting

him from introducing designated matters in

evidence;

(C) An order striking out pleadings or

parts thereof, or staying further proceedings

until the order is obeyed, or dismissing the

action or proceeding or any part thereof, or

rendering a judgment by default against the

disobedient party;

(D) In lieu of any of the foregoing orders

or in addition thereto, an order treating as

a contempt of court the failure to obey any

orders except an order to submit to a physical

Or mental examination;

(E) Where a party has failed to comply

with an order under Rule 35(a) requiring his

to produce another for examination, such

orders as are listed in paragraphs (A), (B),

and (C) of this subdivision, unless the party

failing to comply shows that he is unable to

produce such person for examination.

Sda

Appendix E

In lieu of any of the foregoing orders or in

addition thereto, the court shall require the party

failing to obey the order or the attorney advising

him or both to pay the reasonable expenses,

including attorney’s fees, caused by the failure,

unless the court finds that the failure was

substantially justified or that other circumstances

make an award of expenses unjust.

+ * .

55a

APPENDIX F—EXCERPT FROM PETITIONER'S BRIEF TO

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

1. Petitioners were denied due process. In order to prevent

the deposition of the Deputy Tower Chief, Hamill, the agency

had wilfully lied to the Presiding Official that Hamill had no

information relevant to the matter before the Board. At the hearing

the agency offered Hamill as its sole witness who knew everything.

This false statement constituted a violation of 18 U.S.C. 1001

relative to false statements and 18 U.S.C. 1505 relative to

obstruction of justice.

Despite this the Presiding Official denied Petitioners motion

to prevent his testimony and to impose sanctions granting the

appeals, Hamill was permitted, over Petitioners objection to testify

as to anything and everything including the remotest hearsay. The

agency did not and was not required by the Fresiding Official

to call any employee who had personal knowledge.

In April 1982 the Presiding Official had directed the

deposition of the Tower Chief Beckelman by May 31, 1982. When

the agency failed to produce Beckeiman Petitioners moved for

sanctions on June 4, 1982 granting the appeal. Despite the fact

that the agency did not oppose the motion the Presiding Official

did not advise Petitioners’ attorney until September 20, 1982, the

day before the hearing, that he would not grant the motion for

sanctions.

Th. ~~ ssiding Official was biased against Petitioners and so

conducted jimself as to favor and defend the agency and deny

Petitioners a fair hearing. Misconduct on the part of the agency

is rationalized or ignored. The fact of the Agency’s burden of

proof is overlooked. Petitioners are burdened by a special standard

On

56a

Appendix F

of proof--evidence must be ‘‘objective’’. No testimony by

Petitioners is to be believed. Documents submitted by Petitioners

also do not meet the Presiding Official’s standard of proof. On

the other hand, with respect to the Agency the Presiding Official

condones false statements, forgery, concocted documents and the

failure to call knowledgeable witnesses and accepts the remotest

hearsay.

2. The deciding official lacked authority to dismiss the

Petitioners.

The Petitioners submitted documentary evidence that the

Tower Chief lacked authority to act and the Agency failed to

rebut this document. Accordingly the actions were unauthorized

and invalid. This applies to all Petitioners. In addition the

Petitioner submitted deposition testimony of a Regional

representative to prove that there was no authority to dismiss

anybody on a specification of August 3, 4 or before 11:00 a.m.

of August 5, 1981. Since Newman was dismissed with a

specification of August 3, 1981 the action was improper and

Newman should be reinstated for that reason too.

3. Petitioners Robinson, Newman and Kapp received no

notice of intent to remove. Failing such notice they are entitled

to relief.

4. Petitioners were not on strike. At the tower in question,

the Philadelphia Tower, the strike ended 11:00 a.m. August 5,

1981. All except Newman were charged with striking August 6,

1981. Since there was no strike in progress at that time they are

entitled to relief.

5. Petitioners Kapp and Robinson were dismissed for a reason

Appendix F

other than alleged in the notice of intent. They were discharged

for failing to appear at a shift at which they were not scheduled

to appear and are therefore entitled to relief.

6. The dismissals of Kitts and Neal were not effective

inasmuch as the notice of dismissal was not received before the

effective date of removal as required by regulations.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Robinson v. Department of Transportation, Federal Aviation Administration · 475 U.S. 1065 | Frix