Amicus Curiae Brief — Lubrizol Enterprises, Inc. v. Canfield
Supreme Court brief1986
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
o~ Supreme Court, U.S.
3) FILED
No. 85-863 cc 19 1985
1
i
JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, UR.
IN THE CLERK 2
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1985
LUBRIZOL ENTERPRISES, INC.,
Petitioner,
v.
ROBERT A. CANFIELD, BANKRUPTCY TRUSTEE
FOR RICHMOND METAL FINISHERS, INC.,
Respondent.
On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit
BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE FOR
COMPUTER AND BUSINESS EQUIPMENT
MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION (CBEMA)
IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONER
BEST AVAILABLE COPY |
JOHN S. VOORHEES
ANN I. KILLILEA
(Counsel of Record)
HOowREY & SIMON
1730 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 783-0800
Attorneys for Computer
and Business Equipment
Manufacturers Association
(CBEMA), Amicus Curiae
AIRE OT AY ANT SS et AT ENR eR
WILSON - Epes PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-OC96 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE ....................... 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE .......20.22....2...----s--seeeeeee 4
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .......0W0-.-2...-.-.ee eee 4
ERLE E I A OTTO CE SOT 5
I. This Court Should Grant The Writ To Prevent
The Fourth Circuit’s Decision From Adversely
Affecting The Entire Structure Of The Informa-
tion Processing Industry, Its Manner Of Doing
Business, Its Users And The Public At Large...... 5
II. This Court Should Grant The Writ To Prevent
The Arbitrary And Inequitable Deprivation Of
A TIED TE cicvewseescchasdcqeacoraeQodiqemtineeinntcnne 7
A. This Court Should Grant The Writ To Pro-
tect A Licensee’s Reasonable Expectation
That Completed Performance Under A Con-
tract Cannet Be Undone ................................... 7
B. This Court Should Grant The Writ To Pro-
tect Against The Arbitrary Characterization
Of All Licensing Agreements As Executory
I i il 8
C. This Court Should Grant The Writ To Ensure
That Equitable Considerations Are Not
Eliminated From A Vital] Part of the Bank-
I IIE pesicictetnsoncesicnnecsiemisheomasningnteae es 10
6 ae a LINC Oy are eT 12
ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: . Page
In re Gladding Corp., 22 Bankr. 632 (Bankr. D.
Blom. BOGS .ncccicivcncisnitcdatasitichaenean 9
In re Petur U.S.A. Instrument Co., 35 Bankr. 561
(Bamker. WDD. Wait. RERBBD snccnicecccincesssesesccntesit 9,11, 12
N.L.R.B. v. Bildisco & Bildisco, 104 S.Ct. 1188
CIGD a caneissecesinssntnsinicctesnatietiaipneeiniadiaaasamaenan 9
Codes:
12 U.3.6. 6 OG CRBD socccccctsicccoereneeaenl passim
Law Reviews:
Countryman, Executory Contracts in Bankruptcy:
Part I, 57 Minn. L. Rev. 489 (1978) ..................... 10
Countryman, Executory Contracts in Bankruptcy:
Part II, 58 Minn. L. Rev. 479 (1974) ..................... 9
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1985
No. 85-863
LUBRIZOL ENTERPRISES, INC.,
Petitioner,
Vv.
ROBERT A. CANFIELD, BANKRUPTCY TRUSTEE
FOR RICHMOND METAL FINISHERS, INC.,
Respondent.
On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit
BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE FOR
COMPUTER AND BUSINESS EQUIPMENT
MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION (CBEMA)
IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONER
Computer and Business Equipment Manufacturers As-
sociation (“CBEMA”) submits this brief as amicus
curiae in support of Lubrizol Enterprises, Inc.’s (“Lu-
brizol”) Petition for A Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals For the Fourth Circuit filed on
November 19, 1985. Pursuant to Rule 36.1 of the Rules
of the Supreme Court of the United States, this brief is
2
submitted with the written consent ad the parties filed
simultaneously with the Clerk.
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE
CBEMA, formerly known as the Business Equipment
Manufacturers Association, is the trade association
which has represented the computer and business equip-
ment industry since 1916. The companies comprising the
current CBEMA membership include the nation’s lead-
ing manufacturers of computers, telecommunications and
business equipment and related supplies and services.
CBEMA is the leading spokesman for the computer and
business equipment industry, representing some 34 com-
panies,’ both large and small, having an estimated com-
bined sales of over $135 billion. Member companies of
the association include both hardware and software man-
ufacturers and provide over 1.2 million job opportunities
throughout the United States. While product lines of
member companies vary widely, the following list is il-
lustrative: electronic computers, computer software in-
cluding programs, computer input and output devices,
computer storage devices, support services, telecommunica-
tions equipment, optical character readers, addressing ma-
chines, accounting machines, bookkeeping machines, office
1 The following companies are members of CBEMA; 3M; Amdahl
Corporation; AMP Incorporated; Apple Computer, Inc.; AT&T;
Bell & Howell; Burroughs Corporation; Control Data Corporation;
Dictaphone Corporation; Digital Equipment Corporation; Eastman
Kodak Company; GF Furniture Systems, Inc.; Harris/Lanier;
Hewlett-Packard Company; Honeywell Information Systems, Inc.;
IBM Corporation; ICL, Incorporated; Information Handling Serv-
ices; Micro Switch, a Honeywell Division; AM International, Inc.;
NCR Corporation; Panasonic Industrial Company; Philips Business
Systems, Inc.; Prime Computer, Inc.; Royal Business Machines,
Inc.; Sanders Associates, Inc.; SMA Corporation; Sony Corpora-
tion of America; Tektronix, Inc.; Terminal Data Corporation;
Texas Instruments Incorporated; UARCO Incorporated; Visual
Technology Corporation; and Xerox Corporation.
3
copying machines, and supplies and services for these
products.
CBEMA companies have consistently been forerunners
in developing information processing technology. In addi-
tion, they have contributed greatly to the present signifi-
cant status and role of information processing in modern
society and the international competitiveness of the United
States in this industry. The extent to which such products
and services can be utilized effectively depends in great
measure on the ability of CBEMA companies to engage
in licensing transactions, either as licensor or licensee, for
the use of new technology and know-how.
These member companies are continuously involved in
licensing transactions, either as licensor or licensee, for
the transfer of intellectual property related to the hard-
ware and software products which they manufacture, use
or market. Licensing is particularly crucial in the soft-
ware segment of the industry since in today’s market-
place, software is usually copyrighted so that transactions
are accomplished most frequently by licenses rather than
by sales. Whether the user is an individual or an organi-
zation, the transfer of computer software is accomplished
not by direct sale but pursuant to a license to use.
Licensing transactions may take many forms. They
may be transactions which provide needed financing to
small innovative enterprises. They may involve multi-
tiered licenses of technology with a number of entities.
Whatever the form, licensing is one of the principal
methods of technology transfer throughout the world. Li-
censing, therefore, must remain a predictable and safe
business transaction.
The subject matter of the present case is one of great
significance for the CBEMA membership. These compa-
nies are vitally concerned with the protection of licensing
agreements, since licensing is a central business practice
of the industry. The Fourth Circuit’s decision adversely
4
impacts upon both the immediate and the future planning
of CBEMA companies with respect to the ways and means
of transferring intellectual property. The transfer of in-
tellectual property is necessary for promoting the use of
information processing products, for research and devel-
opment and for many other aspects of the information
processing industry. The Fourth Circuit’s decision in-
evitably affects the future growth and development of
the information processing industry in the United States,
and has even a greater impact on the vast segments of
our society which use and receive the benefits of this
technology.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
The facts and proceedings below are fully set forth in
the Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The United
States Court of Appeals For The Fourth Circuit filed by
Petitioner Lubrizol Enterprises, Inc., on November 19,
1985.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
The question of whether § 365 of tse Bankruptcy Code,
11 U.S.C. § 365,? authorizes the bankruptcy court, on re-
quest of the debtor, to rescind all contractual obligations
divesting the nondebtor of property it had already ac-
quired under the contract prior to the bankruptcy filing
is one which the Supreme Court should resolve now.
The language of § 365 and equitable principles nor-
mally relied upon in bankruptcy point powerfully in one
direction. The holding below points in the other. Every-
day contractual relationships are now in jeopardy be-
cause, under the Fourth Circuit’s erroneous interpreta-
tion of § 365, each party fears that the other party will
file for bankruptcy and seek complete recission of the
performance rendered prior to the bankruptcy.
2 The statute at issue here, Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978, § 365,
11 U.S.C. § 365 (1982), is reprinted in the Appendix to the Petition
for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for
the Fourth Circuit filed November 19, 1985 at 48a-49a (“Petition
for Certiorari”). The statute will be referred to as § 365.
5
The Fourth Circuit has erred (1) by deciding that con-
tracts are “executory” based solely on continuing, but in-
significant and unburdensome, obligations between the
parties and (2) by subjecting the nondebtor, who in this
case is the licensee, to arbitrary and unfair results with-
out taking into account equitable considerations.
This Court should eliminate the error caused by the
Fourth Circuit’s decision and restore the predictability
so needed to maintain viable contractual relationships in
today’s business climate.
ARGUMENT
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
I. This Court Should Grant The Writ To Prevent The
Fourth Circuit’s Decision From Adversely Affecting
The Entire Structure Of The 'nformation Processing
Industry, Its Manner Of Doing Business, Its Users
And The Public At Large
This case is not merely an isolated dispute between
two parties. It has broad-scale implications for the entire
information processing industry. If the Fourth Circuit’s
decision is permitted to stand unreviewed, licensing con-
tracts are now a risky, unpredictable and undesireable
means of transferring new technology and know-how in
the computer industry. Licensing has been an indispen-
sable part of everyday business for CBEMA’s member-
ship, for the information processing industry and for in-
formation processing users as a whole. The latter com-
prise virtually the entire business base of the industrial
world.
As it stands now, the Fourth Circuit has held that, if
a court finds a contract to be “executory,” the licensor *
8 This brief deals with a dispute involving a technology licensor’s
bankruptcy proceeding. All references, therefore, to licensor refer
to the debtor, and all references to licensee refer to the non-debtor.
6
having filed for bankruptcy has unfettered and unques-
tioned ability to cancel all obligations under the contract,
and even to recoup transfers of property made prior to
the filing of the petition for bankruptcy. This decision
leaves the licensee helpless to protect its rights to prop-
erty transferred prior to the licensor’s bankruptcy peti-
tion.*
Without review by this Court, many adverse ramifica-
tions affecting this industry will flow from the Fourth
Circuit’s decision. Among the most apparent are:
* Investment in and plans for the development of
innovative technology will be stunted and may
never come to fruition. Without a licensee’s mar-
keting and development, new ideas may never sur-
face in the marketplace or be exploited for the
benefit of the industry or the public.
* The benefits of much technological innovation will be
lost and an industry, whose existence depends on
fast-developing technology, will be injured.
* Companies may seek to circumvent the “executory”
nature of a licensing contract and enter only those
contracts that cannot be found by the courts te be
“executory.” For example, a licensee may be
forced to make all royalty payments at the com-
mencement of the contract. For many companies,
such payments would be too costly and will in-
hibit their desire to license the technology.
* The cost of doing business will increase in order
for licensees to cover the enormous risks of licensing
technology in good faith and later losing all rights
to such technology pursuant to § 365.
The Fourth Circuit’s decision, as it stands, will influ-
ence far more than a dispute between Lubrizol and the
*The Fourth Circuit decision, reported at 756 F.2d 1043 (4th
Cir. 1985), is reprinted in the Appendix to the Petition for Certio-
rari at la-10a.
7
bankrupt; it will exert an adverse impact on the every-
day business transactions of the entire information proc-
essing industry.
Il. This Court Should Grant The Writ To Prevent The
Arbitrary And Inequitable Deprivation Of The
Licensee’s Rights
A. This Court Should Grant The Writ Teo Protect A
Licensee’s Reasonable Expectation That Completed
Performance Under A Contract Cannot Be Undone
The Fourth Circuit’s decision, as it stands, will cause
drastic consequences for the licensee relying on its agree-
ment with the licensor to make use of certain software
technology. For example, a licensee may have obtained
the use of a licensor’s software for the purpose of de-
veloping and maintaining a much needed bookkeeping
system for its business. The licensing agreement may
provide that the licensor must update the bookkeeping
software on a periodic basis while the licensee must make
ongoing payments. The licensor may file for bankruptcy
many years later. Based on the Fourth Circuit’s erroneous
interpretation of § 365, the licensor will succeed in its
bid to convince the bankruptcy court that the ' -ensing
agreement constitutes an executory contract. Under the
Fourth Circuit’s decision, the licensor is relieved of all
past and future obligations under the licensing agree-
ment. The iicensee, therefore, will lose its right to use
the bookkeeping software on which its business now de-
pends. This result, by itself, could force a licensee into
dire straits.
Another situation exemplifies the gross inequities re-
sulting from the Fourth Circuit’s decision. A_ licensor
may own a patent on a unique manufacturing process
which it agrees that the licensee may use. The licensing
agreement may provide that the licensor is obligated to
sue any companies infringing on the patent and that the
licensee is obligated to make ongoing payments. In order
to accommodate the unique process, the licensee may be
forced to make massive capital expenditures. The licensor
8
subsequently may file for bankruptcy and, pursuant to
§ 365, convince the bankruptcy court to reject all its obli-
gations under the licensing agreement because the licen-
sor’s promise to sue the infringers made the agreement
“executory” in nature. Under the Fourth Circuit’s deci-
sion, the licensee would lose not only its right to make use
ofthe manufacturing process but also the capital expendi-
tures that the licensee made in reliance on the agreement.
The ripple effects of such a loss on the licensee’s business
could force the licensee into bankruptcy or, at best, into
severe economic hardship.
This Court should grant the writ in order to review
two premises underlying the Fourth Circuit’s decision
which lead to such inequitable results: first, whether any
or all licenses are properly viewed as per se executory;
and second, whether courts may continue to “ely on equi-
table considerations to prevent an arbitrary and inequi-
table deprivation of the licensee’s rights when consider-
ing whether to assume or reject contractual obligations
under § 365.
B. This Court Should Grant The Writ To Protect
Against The Arbitrary Characterization Of All
Licensing Agreements As Executory Contracts
Most future obligations in technology licensing agree-
ments are insignificant compared to the accomplished
transfer of intellectual property, and in fact are de min-
imis in nature. They place no real affirmative burdens
on the parties and should not trigger the drastic results
that, based on the Fourth Circuit’s decision, flow from
the designation of “executory” contract.
The Fourth Cireuit’s decision depriving the licensee of
the property it acquired from the debtor prior to the
latter’s filing for bankruptcy turned entirely upon a
characterization of the contract as “executory” under
§ 365. Even where any future obligations under the
agreement are merely insignificant and contingent, the
debtor under the Fourth Circuit’s decision is given an
automatic right to rescind all contractual obligations per-
formed before it filed for bankruptcy.
9:
Congress did not expressly define the term “executory
contract” as used in the Bankruptcy Code. No statutory
definition, therefore, can be mechanically applied for the
purpose of rejecting the contract. See In re Petur U.S.A.
Instrument Co., 35 Bankr. 561, 563 (Bankr. W.D. Wash.
1983) (“The Code does not define the term ‘executory
contract’”). Rather, the analysis of whether a contract
is executory is judicially-fashioned and should not re-
sult in arbitrary and inequitable decisions.’ As the court
recognized in In re Gladding Corp., 22 Bankr. 632, 635
Bankr. D. Mass. 1982) :
It seems clear, at least to this court, that bankruptcy
courts should not be bound by static definitions of
what is an executory contract, but should strive to
satisfy the purposes of the Act in conjunction with
the goals of the debtor (or trustee), in order that
equity may be served.
Because the term “executory contract” is not defined
in the statute, courts, including the Fourth Circuit in this
case, have looked to Professor Countryman’s article on the
matter. A careful reading of the entire Countryman arti-
cle, however, reveals that Professor Countryman did not
view licenses as per se executory contracts. Countryman,
Executory Contracts in Bankruptcy: Part II, 58 Minn.
L. Rev. 479, 502 (1974) (“Where there is no express
undertaking by the licensor [to supply goods or services],
the agreement with the licensee may not be executory
because the licensor may have full performed merely by
executing the license agreement’’).
The Fourth Circuit’s decision, in contrast, assumes that
all licenses are fundamentally executory. If the Fourth
Circuit’s decision is not reviewed by this Court, debtors
will acquire a new right to rescind all past contractual
5 This Court in an entirely different context recognized that
whether or not a contract is executory depends on the facts of each
individual case. N.L.R.B. v. Bildisco & Bildisco, 104 S.Ct. 1188
(1984).
et
10
obligations merely because the contract is deemed to be
executory.
The conclusion that a contract is executory is based
upon the premise that a negative covenant—a promise
not to take an action—is just as executory as an affirma-
tive covenant. This conclusion, however, is at odds with
the history of the treatment of contracts in bankruptcy.
The concept underlying § 365 grows out of the well-placed
desire to relieve a bankruptcy trustee or debtor-in-posses-
sion of ongoing burdensome obligations. See Countryman,
Executory Contracts in Bankruptcy: Part I, 57 Minn. L.
Rev. 439, 440-47 (1973). To equate negative covenants
—which generate no burden for the obligor—with affirm-
ative covenants in applying § 365 rejection rights, how-
ever, results in an unjust enrichment of the bankruptcy
estate for which there is no evidence of congressional
intent.
Once the Fourth Circuit mechanically decided that the
licensing agreement was “executory,” Lubrizol as the
licensee was guaranted to lose. This Court should grant
review of this matter to examine the Fourth Circuit’s
assumption that all licensing agreements are necessarily
executory contracts and to prevent the destabilizing con-
sequences for business transactions that flow from that
characterization.
C. This Court Should Grant The Writ To Ensure That
Equitable Considerations Are Not Eliminated From
A Vital Part Of The Bankruptcy Process
Relying on a static definition of executory contract, the
Fourth Circuit applied an arbitrary and mechanized ap-
proach to licensing contracts under § 365.° Having de-
6 The requirement of § 365(a) that the trustee’s assumption or
rejection of an executory contract be “subject to the court’s ap-
proval” dictates a non-mechanical approach to issues involved in
executory contracts. The court must be active in determining what
is, and is not, an executory contract and in disposing fairly of those
arrangements found to be executory in nature.
11
cided that the contract was executory, the Fourth Circuit
deferred totally to the licensor’s decision that it would be
advantageous to terminate al! rights granted under the
agreement. Based on the »vusiness judgment rule, the
court created an insurmountable burden for the licensee
by defining the issue as “whether the decision of the
debtor [licensor] that rejection will be advantageous is —
so manifestly unreasonable that it could not be based
on scund business judgment, but only on bad faith, or
whim or caprice.” ’ The court underscored the difficulty
faced by the licensee seeking to protect its interests by
stating that this determination is “reviewable up the line
under the clearly erroneous standard.” *®
The Fourth Circuit’s decision has made it virtually im-
possible for a licensee to protect its rights in property,
in this case technological know-how, transferred by the
licensor prior to its bankruptcy. As if to underscore the
licensor’s complete discretion to eradicate all pre-petition
obligations under the licensing agreement, the court held
that “equitable considerations” had no place in the court’s
decision.*® Rather, the Fourth Circuit stated that licensees
“share the general hazards created by § 365 for all busi-
ness entities dealing with potential bankrupts. .. .”
In direct contrast with this approach is Jn re Petur
U.S.A. Instrument Co., 35 Bankr. 561 (Bankr. W.D.
Wash. 1983), where the court balanced the equities of
both parties in denying the debtor’s motion to reject an
executory contract. Despite its agreement with the debtor
that the contract was executory and that rejection of the
contract would be in its best interests, the court engaged
in an independent evaluation of the effect of rejection on
7 Petition for Certiorari, Appendix at 7a.
8 Id.
® Td. at 9a.
10 Td. at 10a.
12
both parties. In doing so, the court refused merely to
rubber-stamp the business judgment of the debtor. The
court’s major concern was that if it upheld the rejection
of the contract, the non-debtor would be forced out of
business. 35 Bankr. at 563. The court stated:
Counsel for the debtor has cited a number of cases
involving rejection in which harm has resulted to the
non-debtor parties. ... But here we are not only
dealing with harm resulting from a mere disap-
pointment of legitimate expectations. Rather we are
dealing with the actual ruination of an otherwise
profitable, successful and ongoing business. Equity
will not permit such a result.
35 Bankr. at 564 (citations omitted). Looking to equity
for assistance, the court properly weighed the business
judgment of the debtor against the adverse effects of
rejecting the contract on the non-debtor. As the court
stated in In re Petur U.S.A. Instrument Co., “[i]t is
well-established that bankruptcy proceedings are equita-
ble in their nature.” 35 Bankr. at 563.
The Fourth Circuit refused to consider the inequitable
effects of its decision on the licensee. This Court should
grant review in this case to ensure that equitable con-
siderations remain a viable part of the decision as to
whether to assume or reject contractual obligations under
§ 365.
CONCLUSION
CBEMA respectfully requests that the petition of
Lubrizol Enterprises, Inc. be granted (1) to prevent the
arbitrary and inequitable deprivation of a licensee’s rights
to property transferred prior to the debtor’s filing for
bankruptcy, and (2) to correct an erroneous interpreta-
tation of § 365 that will disrupt substantially the predict-
ability of commercial transactions, especially in the infor-
mation processing industry. The Fourth Circuit’s decision
should be reviewed and reversed to prevent major un-
eae ce
13
certainty and serious inequity from arising out of good
faith business transactions.
Respectfully submitted,
JOHN S. VOORHEES
ANN I. KILLILEA
(Counsel of Record)
HOwREY & SIMON
1730 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 783-0800
Attorneys for Computer
and Business Equipment
Manufacturers Association
(CBEMA), Amicus Curiae
December 19, 1985
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.