Amicus Curiae Brief — BarclaysAmerican/Credit, Inc. v. Quiller
Supreme Court brief1985
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
we ~
& No. eet
In T>~
Supreme Court of | >> United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1$85
BARCLAYSAMERICAN /CREDIT, INC.,
. Petitioner
ARTHUR QUILLER, LILLIE MAE QUILLER, et al.,
Respondents
On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit
MOTION OF THE
AMERICAN FINANCIAL SERVICES ASSOCIATION,
THE CONSUMER BANKERS ASSOCIATION,
AND
THE NATIONAL COUNCIL OF SAVINGS INSTITUTIONS
FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF AS AMICI CURIAE,
AND BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONER’S POSITION
Of Counsel: FRANK MAX SALINGER *
REBECCA H. LAIRD AMERICAN FINANCIAL
NATIONAL COUNCIL OF SERVICES ASSOCIATION
SAVINGS INSTITUTIONS 1101 14th Street, N.W.
1101 15th Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20005
Washington, D.C. 20036 (202) 289-0400
(202) 857-3100 CRAIG ULRICH *
CONSUMER BANKERS
ASSOCIATION
1300 North 17th Street
Suite 1200
Arlington, Virginia 22209
(703) 276-1750
* Counsels of Record Attorneys for Amici Curiae
WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-O096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001
\ 4s
2
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1985
No. 85-541
BARCLAYSAMERICAN /CREDIT, INC.,
Petitioner
v.
ARTHUR QUILLER, LILLIE MAE QUILLER, et al.,
Respondents
On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit
MOTION OF THE
AMERICAN FINANCIAL SERVICES ASSOCIATION,
THE CONSUMER BANKERS ASSOCIATION,
AND
THE NATIONAL COUNCIL OF SAVINGS INSTITUTIONS
FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF AS AMICI CURIAE
To the Honorable, the Chief Justice of the United
States and the Associate Justices of the Supreme Court
of the United States:
The American Financial Services Association (AFSA),
the Consumer Bankers Association (CBA), and the Na-
tional Council of Savings Institutions (the Council) re-
spectfully move, pursuant to Rule 36 of the Rules of this
Court, for leave to file the attached brief as amici curiae
in support of Petitioner’s position. The Petitioner has
consented to the filing of such brief. The Respondents
denied consent to file amicus curiae briefs to both AFSA
and CBA before the Eleventh Circuit. AFSA and CBA
were granted permission to file before the Eleventh
Circuit.
The AFSA is the nation’s trade association serving
consumer finance companies. Organized in 1916, AFSA
represents over 550 companies engaged in the extension
of consumer credit throughout the United States.
AFSA member companies are vitally interested in this
ease as they hold over $9.4 billion in manufactured hous-
ing loans as of July 1985,’ much of which ‘s financed
under the regulatory framework, the validity of which
is at issue in this case.
CBA is a nonprofit organization that was organized in
1919 to provide a voice for the retai! banking industry.
Today, membership in CBA is open to any federally in-
sured depository institution, including commercial banks,
thrifts and credit unions. Combined, CBA members now
hold over 70% of all consumer credit outstanding held
by commercial banks and over 80% of the consumer
credit accounts held by commercial banks.
Federally insured depository institutions are vitally in-
terested in the outcome of this case as they hold more
than $15 billion in manufactured housing loans as of
April 1985.?
The Council, formed by a consolidation of the National
Savings and Loan League and the National Association
1G.19 Statistical Report, Federal Reserve Board, September 17,
1985.
2 August 1985 Federal Reserve Bulletin, p. A40.
of Mutual Savings Banks, represents over 600 savings
institutions with aggregate assets of over $400 billion.
Council members finance manufactured housing and op-
erate under a general regulatory framework adminis-
tered by the Federal Home Loan Bank Board, the agency
whose regulation and ultimate authority are at issue in
this case.
Until this litigation, the preemption provisions of the
Depository Institutions Deregulation and Monetary Con-
trol Act of 1980, Pub. L. No. 96-221, 94 Stat. 161 (1980)
codified at 12 U.S.C. § 1735f-7 (the Preemption Act) and
the implementing regulations were understood by the in-
dustry and interpreted by the legal community and the
Federal Home Loan Bank Board (the Bank Board) to
entail a few, straight-forward contractual disclosure re-
quirements. The court of appeals’ decision is premised on
a hypertechnical interpretation of the substance of the
Preemption Act. Worse yet, this interpretation is itself
based on an erroneous view of the congressional purpose
underlying the Preemption Act. Based on this decision,
thousands of transactions are at risk through their fail-
ure to withstand such scrutiny. Litigation reminiscent of
that experienced under the original Truth-in-Lending
Act may be anticipated, particularly in view of the ex-
traordinary recoveries sought herein.
This decision has created substantial uncertainty in the
marketplace as to the requirements of the Preemption
Act, thereby discouraging prospective investment nation-
wide in contracts entered into pursuant to that law.
The court of appeals decision jeopardizes the heretofore
justified reliance of creditors on the interpretations of
the Bank Board, which, in an era of form contracts
made by interstate credit grantors, is essential. This de-
cision thereby directly thwarts the congressional intent
to facilitate national housing policies underlying the Pre-
emption Act.
WHEREFORE, it is respectfully requested that the
Court grant movants leave to file the attached brief as
amici curiae in this case.
Respectfully submitted,
Of Counsel: FRANK MAX SALINGER
REBECCA H. LAIRD AMERICAN FINANCIAL
NATIONAL COUNCIL OF SERVICES ASSOCIATION
SAVINGS INSTITUTIONS 1101 14th Street, N.W.
1101 15th Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20005
Washington, D.C. 20036 (202) 289-0400
(202) 857-3100 CRAIG ULRICH
CONSUMER BANKERS
ASSOCIATION
1300 North 17th Street
Suite 1200
Arlington, Virginia 22209
October 25, 1985 (703) 276-1750
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
pc Se ice sy | aR ii
INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE ...............0000000000.... 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ....WWW00000.0 eee 3
PE: OR CRSA SA ANE en SD ee Re ee 4
I. THE PURPOSE OF THE PREEMPTION ACT
WAS TO OVERRIDE STATE INTEREST
RATE LIMITATIONS ON RESIDENTIAL
MORTGAGE TRANSACTIONS, NOT TO RE-
QUIRE NEW CONSUMER PROTECTIONS.... 4
Il. THE FEDERAL HOME LOAN BANK BOARD
HAS STATED IN REGULATIONS, AN OPIN-
ION LETTER AND IN BRIEFS SUPPORT-
ING THE PETITIONER HEREIN THAT NO
CONTRACTUAL NOTICE OF DEFAULT IS
| RRR OR Ee EES PML S/S ca OD Ie 14
et __ ear ae ARES eek RR PL 18
| (i)
ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES:
Anderson Brothers Ford, et al. Vv. Valencia, 452
EE ED UTIL xc cctsahschccngelmsicashenpageatibisenamagaiiiiniamniies
Bowles v. Seminole Rock & Sand Co., 325 U.S. 410
a sieceicescmennicceheeddaceiaeesidetaliedadesdialiaasiinaraaon
Diamond y. Chakrabarty, 447 U.S. 303 (1980)......
Ford Motor Credit Co. v. Milhollin, 444 U.S. 555
UII nse lactacin teeecidenanediiiesalaididaiiaenaatie
Ford Motor Credit Co. v. Cenance, 452 U.S. 155
STINET sxlcsk-os tna sintsncicbenedibbeassandisiiinalindsialsGimidgiateddsisiaadiaedemibaibaas
Griags V. Duke Power Ce., 401 U.S. 424 (1971)......
McDonald v. Thompson, 305 U.S. 263 (1938)........
Mourning Vv. Family Publications Service, Inc., 411
7 9s RN i SE Lee eee
Potomac Electric Power Co. v. Director, 449 U.S.
ee LAUD ‘cacbicicsnsucdinassthdachaidpedietadeddnaaadeaieasdadinteel
Quiller, et al. Vv. BarclaysAmerican/Credit, Ine.,
Te We ROGT CRUG CRP. BBE) cccccccccccecccceccccsscnsee
Quiller, et al. v. BarclaysAmerican/Credit, Inc.,
764 F.2d 1404 (11th Cir. 1985) (en bane)...........
Train Vv. Natural Resources Defense Council, 421
itt Gee: Ce epee ichachcieescenibinniccenacbiniatenhnciinenieesiiamesgibdunses
Udall v. Tallman, 380 U.S. 1 (1965) .......................
United States v. American Trucking Association,
BA Ee 8 RR ee
United States v. Oregon, 366 U.S. 643 (1961)........
United States Railroad Retirement Board vy. Fritz,
GED EE. TE CRO sinicricccsvissesenciusacseepmmeniconvopenases
Zenith Radio Corp. v. United States, 487 U.S. 448
ren eo cee Mn ar I Lee EE rt
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:
Depository Institutions Deregulation and Mone-
tary Control Act of 1980, Pub. L. No. 96-221,
Title V, §501, 94 Stat. 161 (March 31, 1980),
16-17
15
codified at 12 U.S.C. § 1735f-7 note [DIDMCA]..passim
FHA and VA mobile home regulations: 38 CFR
§ 36.4231 - 36.4232 and - § 36.4235; 24 CFR
Te SULIT ecsinetecesdotavsinecieptaieemacnasiaiammaiaseaan
ily Meee EP Secesntnncindamdinieinn etjunmvtinailitinaieds
iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
National Housing Act, Pub. L. No. 96-399 ............. 11
Ss tee te a BI hatte ciitssdacnsiinntdechamseinnanahatiiiiinient 7
Truth-In-Lending Simplification and Reform Act,
15 U.S.C. $§ 1601 e¢ seg. ........................... a aad passim
ee al ais cenenininstncesanbiinnninhiiniion 7
8 ES NS a 15
12 CFR § 590.4(a) through (h) -...-000..00... 8,9, 11,138
LEGISLATIVE HISTORY:
Conference Comm. Report on H.R. 4986, No. 96-
842, 96th Cong., 2nd Sess. (1980) ...... 2.0000. 12
S. Rep. No. 96-368, 96th Cong., 2nd Sess. 18-19
(1979), reprinted in 1980 U.S. Code Cong. and
Be Ne IEE sisati: cinsctetctaspelnsaiccecialentdtpeleanmiidesimtiaaac 5-6
Usury Lending Limits: Hearing on S. 1988 before
the Comm. on Banking, Housing, and Urban
Affairs, 96th Cong., Ist Sess. (1979) (Opening
Statement of Chairman William Proxmire)........ 5
MISCELLANEOUS:
Background and Summary of Regulation Z, Board
of Governors of the Federal Reserve System,
Paragraph 6-1125.1 of the Federal Reserve Reg-
I PU WII OE siccceccseesnctcnaceresentesscndnaiasennnn 7
Burke, Federal Preemption of State Usury Laws,
, The Business Lawyer, Vol. 37 (1981 ABA An-
nual Meeting Program) ........................................ 11
5 Fed. Banking L. Rep. (CCH) % 58,910 00.00... 10
Interpretive Letter of the General Counsel of the
Federal Home Loan Bank Board reprinted at 5
Fed. Banking L. Rep. (CCH) © 83,027 .............. 4 15
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1985
No. 85-541
BARCLAYSAM SRICAN /CREDIT, INC.,
. Petitioner
ARTHUR QUILLER, LILLIE MA# QUILLEK, et ai.,
Respondents
On Petition for a of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals e Eleventh Circuit
BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF THE
AMERICAN FINANCIAL SERVICES ASSOCIATION,
THE CONSUMER BANKERS ASSOCIATION, AND
THE NATIONAL COUNCIL OF SAVINGS INSTITUTIONS
IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONER’S POSITION
STATEMENT OF INTERESTS
The AFSA is the nation’s trade association serving
consumer finance companies. Organized in 1916, AFSA
represents over 550 companies engaged in the extension
of consumer credit throughout the United States.
AFS.. member companies are vitally interested in this
case as they hold over $9.4 billion in manufactured hous-
ing loans as of July 1985, much of which is financed un-
der the regulatory framework, the validity of which is
at issue in this case.
CBA is a nonprofit organization that was organized in
1919 to provide a voice for the retail banking industry.
Today, membership in CBA is open to any federally in-
a
2
sured depository institution, including commercial banks,
thrifts and credit unions. Combined, CBA members now
hold over 70% of all consumer credit outstanding held by
commercial banks and over 80% of the consumer deposit
accounts held by commercial banks.
Federally insured depository institutions are vitally
interested in the outcome of this case as they hold more
than $15 billion in manufactured housing loans as of
April 1985.
The Council, formed by a consolidation of the National
Savings and Loan League and the National Association
of Mutua! Savings Banks, represents over 600 savings
institutions with aggregate assets of over $400 billion.
Council members finance manufactured housing and op-
erate under a general regulatory framework adminis-
tered by the Federal Home Loan Bank Board, the agency
whose regulation and ultimate authority are at issue in
this case.
Until this litigation, the preemption provisions of the
Depository Institutions Deregulation and Monetary Con-
trol Act of 1980, Pub. L. No. 96-221, 94 Stat. 161 (1980)
codified at 12 U.S.C. § 1735f-7 (the Preemption Act) and
the implementing regulations were understood by the in-
dustry and interpreted by the legal community and the
Federal Home Loan Bank Board (the Bank Board) to
entail a few, straight-forward contractual disclosure re-
quirements. The court of appeals’ decision is premised
on a hypertechnical interpretation of the substance of
the Preemption Act. Worse yet, this interpretation is
itself based on an erroneous view of the congressional
purpose underlying the Preemption Act. Based on this
decision, thousands of transactions are at risk through
their failure to withstand such scrutiny. Litigation remi-
niscent of that experienced under the original Truth-in-
Lending Act may be anticipated, particularly in view of
the extraordinary recoveries sought herein.
3
This decision has created substantial uncertainty in the
marketplace as to the requirements of the Preemption
Act, thereby discouraging prospective investment nation-
wide in contracts entered into pursuant to that law. The
court of appeals decision jeopardizes the heretofore jus-
tified reliance of creditors on the interpretations of the
Bank Board, which, in an era of form contracts made by
interstate credit grantors, is essential. This decision
thereby directly thwarts the congressional intent to fa-
cilitate national housing policies underlying the Preemp-
tion Act.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
Congress enacted the Preemption Act to assure the
availability of mortgage credit for both site-built and
manufactured housing in states whose usury limits were
fixed in preinflationary. times. Without such pre-
emption, available mortgage funds would have continued
to migrate to states with less stringent usury limits.
This situation brought great hardship to the housing in-
dustry and to the consumer in search of affordable hous-
ing. Therefore, the court of appeals determination that
consumer protection is a principal object of the Preemp-
tion Act and the “price” of interest rate relief, is an un-
tenable construction of the congressional purpose and
action.
Appellees have in no way been harmed. Substantial
damage will entail, however, for the nation’s housing
policies, manufactured housing lenders and consumers
seeking affordable housing as a result of the court of
appeals decision.
In light of the above, amici curiae respectfully submit
that the court of appeals decision directly contradicts the
congressional intent behind the Preemption Act, thwarts
national housing policies, jeopardizes heretofore justifi-
able reliance on interpretations of the Bank Beard and
esuses unjustifiable harm to manufactured housing le. 4-
ers and to consumers in search of affordable housing.
4
ARGUMENT
I. THE PURPOSE OF THE PREEMPTION ACT WAS
TO OVERRIDE STATE INTEREST RATE LIMITA-
TIONS ON RESIDENTIAL MORTGAGE TRANS-
ACTIONS, NOT TO REQUIRE NEW CONSUMER
PROTECTIONS
The court of appeals decided that an ambiguous refer-
ence to consumer protections—not required to be dis-
closed in a mortgage contract—misled the borrower and
deprived the contract of federal rate relief. Essential to
this determination, was the court’s view that the Preemp-
tion Act is a consumer protection law designed to be
strictly and technically construed. However, an analysis
of the history and content of the fecleral law in question
does not support this view. Instead, the Preemption Act
was designed to afford interest rate relief to financia’
institutions and mortgage lenders to ease a credit crunch.
A. The Legislative History Reflects That Congress
Simply Intended To Stimulate Housing Finance,
Not To Create A New Consumer Protection Statute
The Preemption Act contains three parts, each dealing
with a different segment of a lending market that, at the
time of the law’s passage, could only be described chari-
tably as “‘troubled.” At the time of passage, prevailing
market interest rates for consumer and commercial loans
approached or exceeded 20% per annum. The cost of
funds in this period, as reflected by the prime lending
rate and the federal discount rate, followed close behind.
Part A of the Act—described below—is the subject of
this case. Part B created an alternative federal interest
rate for business and agricultural loans and Part C freed
federally-insured institutions from restrictive state usury
laws.
Part A of the Act totally preempts state law limita-
tions on residential mortgage loans secured by a first
5
lien. Congress determined that the housing industry was
particularly susceptible to the destabilizing effects of a
market with rates at a historical high and with state
law rate limitations established during the depression.’
As the legislative history explains:
(W)here state usury laws require mortgage rates
below market levels of interest, mortgage funds in
those states will not be readily available and those
funds will flow to other states where market yields
are available. This artificial disruption of funds
availability not only is harmful to potential home-
buyers in states with such usury laws, it also frus-
trates national housing policies and programs.
(T)his limited modification in state usury laws
will enhance the stability and viability of our Na-
tion’s financial system and is needed to facilitate a
national housing policy and the functioning of a na-
tional secondary market in mortgage lending. S. Rep.
No. 96-368, 96th Cong., 2nd Sess. 18-19 (1979), re-
printed in 1980 U.S. Code Cong. and Ad. News 254-
55. (emphasis added)
1 Sec. 501, Pub. L. No. 96-221.
2 Senator Proxmire’s opening statement accompanying the Senate
bill which included the eventual Preemption Act noted:
“Usury limits have become economically counter-productive, if
they ever had any purpose.
Most usury limits were established during the depression and
bear no reasonable relationship to today’s circumstances. Bor-
rowers are hurt, not helped, by unrealistic lending limits and
also homebuilding, small business, or agricultural purposes, if
they are restricted to rates below the market rate. The home-
building industry is particularly disadvantaged by usury limits
. . . the impact will be most severely felt by younger, lower-
income prospective homeowners.”
Usury Lending Limits: Hearing on S. i988 before the Comm. on
Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs, 96th Cong., Ist Sess. (1979).
6
The legislative history noted that preemption of state
law limitations ultimately would have the salutory effect
of permitting loan originators to offer more attractive
rates of return, thereby attracting increased capital to
fuel a housing recovery.-
In addition to the adverse effects of usury ceilings
on credit availability, mortgage rate ceilings must
be removed if savings and loan institutions are to
begin to pay market rates of interest on savings de-
posits. Without enhancing the ability of institutions
to achieve market rates on both sides of their bal-
ance sheets, the stability and continued viability of
our nation’s financial system would not be assured.
Thus, Federal preemption of State usury ceilings
would not only promote national home financing ob-
jectives but would provide the resources with which
savers could be paid more interest on their savings
accounts. (emphasis added) Id.
Significantly, the legislative history reflects a specific
intention not to address the question of consumer pro-
tection on the federal level.
In exempting mortgage loans from state usury
limitations, the Committee intends to exempt only
those limitations that are included in the annual per-
centage rate. The Committee does not intend to ex-
empt limitations on prepayment charges, attorney
fees, late charges or sim’lar limitations designed to
protect borrowers. Id.
Both the statute and the legislative history of the Pre-
emption Act clearly show that Congress was preoccupied
with the need to stimulate housing credit by freeing it
from the shackles of an archaic system of state rate
ceilings. The court of appeals mistakenly read a con-
sumer protection scheme into the congressional purpose
and action behind passage of the Act.
Had Congress intended to make consumer protections
the centerpiece of the Preemption Act it could have done
7
so. In fact, the Preemption Act is but one title of com-
prehensive legislation. The Truth-in-Lending Simplifica-
tion and Reform Act (The “Simplification Act”) was
enacted along with the Preemption Act as Title VI of
Pub. L. No. 96-221. It was specifically designed to sim-
plify and clarify the technical disclosure requirements of
the original Truth-in-Lending Act and thereby limit the
volume of frivolous litigation that had erupted under the
original law.* The passage of the Simplification Act as a
separate but companion piece to the Preemption Act
clearly distinguishes the congressional intent behind the
respective laws and evinces a congressional goal to dis-
courage the very type of hypertechnical litigation that
is before this Court on appeal.
Unlike the Preemption Act, the Simplification Act is
categorical in its avowed consumer protection purposes
au detailed requirements:
It is the purpose of this title to assure a meaning-
ful disclosure of credit terms so that the consumer
will be able to compare more readily the various
credit terms available to him and avoid the unin-
formed use of credit, and to protect the consumer
against inaccurate and unfair credit billing and
credit card practices.‘
The Simplification Act comprises a total of 31 statu-
tory sections specifying in detail the disclosures that
must be made at every step of a consumer credit trans-
action. This statutory scheme is, of course, fleshed out
by Regulation Z which is comprised of 4 subparts, 29
separate sections, and a 10-part appendix.® In ac#ition,
the staff of the Federal Reserve Board has published its
3 See the Background and Summary of Regulation Z . ablished by
the Board of Governors of the Federa] Reserve System, Paragraph
6-1125.1 of the Federal Reserve Regulatory Service, Vol. 2.
#Sec. 102. Pub. L. No. 90-321 (as amended).
512 CFR §§ 226.1 et seq.
8
Official Staff Commentary to Regulation Z, a 100-plus
page supplement, which is updated annuauy.
In striking contrast to the volume and detail of this
federal consumer protection law and regulation, section
501(c) of the Preemption Act—in its entirety—provides
that the terms and conditions relating to a manufactured
housing loan or credit sale shall comply with Bank Board
regulations which are to:
(1) Include consumer protection provisions with
respect to balloon payments, prepayment penalties,
late charges, and deferral fees;
(2) require a 30-day notice prior to instituting
any action leading to repossession or foreclosure (ex-
cept in the case of abandonment or other extreme
circumstances) ;
(3) require that upon prepayment in full, the
debtor shall be entitled to a refund of the unearned
portion of the precomputed finance charge in an
amount not less than the amount which would be
calculated by the actuarial method, except that the
debtor shall not be entitled to a refund which is less
than $1; and
(4) include such other provisions as the Federal
Home Loan Bank Board may prescribe after a find-
ing that additional protections are required. Sec.
501(c) (1) through-(4), Pub. L. No. 96-221.
Clearly, the statute requires neither express disclo-
sure requirements ner specific contractual consumer pro-
tection provisions.
This Court has plainly stated there is “no more per-
suasive evidence of the purpose of a statute than the
words by which the legislature undertook to give expres-
sion to its wishes.” United States v. American Trucking
Association, 310 U.S. 534, 543 (1940). Where the words
of a statute are unambiguous, this Court repeatedly has
required that the “plain meaning” of the statutory lan-
9
guage be followed. See Fotomac Electric Power Co. V.
Director, 449 U.S. 268, 283-84 (1980); United States
Railroad Retirement Board v. Fritz, 449 U.S. 166, 176
(1980); Diamond v. Chakrabarty, 447 U.S. 303, 315-18
(1980): United States v. Oregon, 366 U.S. 643, 648
(1961); McDonald v. Thompson, 305 U.S. 268, 266
(1938).
The court of appeals has gone beyond the plain mean-
ing of the statutory language to find a requirement that
additional consumer protections are required. With the
exception of the prepayment and notice requirements
stated above, the substance of the consumer protections
that are to be included in the Bank Board regulation are
not described. In fact, subsections 501(¢c)(1) and 501
(c) (4) generally defer to the judgment of the Bank
Board and evidence little legislative regard for the par-
ticular form of the consumer safeguards. This lack of
specificity with regard to form sharply contrasts with
the Simplification Act and undercuts the notion that spe-
cificity was a statutory object or compliance requirement.
likely evidence a congressional intent to provide parity
for persons engaged in all types of residential mortgage
finance transactions.
Where Congress was specific was in its limitations} as
to the nature of the federal preemption embodied in the
Preemption Act. First, it stated that “(the) provisions
of the constitution or the laws of any state expressly
limiting the rate or amount of interest, discount points,
finance charges, or other charges which may be charged,
19
taken, received or reserved shall not apply to any loan,
mortgage, credit sale or advance” which falls within a
prescribed statutory definition.* Second, it premised pre-
emption on the express condition that the states could
opt out of the preemptive framework, thereby striking a
balance between state and federal government.’
Again, the federal intention is clear. A federal pre-
emption impacting state law only with respect to the
rate of return on certain loans ov credit sales, and which
can be overridden at the state’s discretion, evidences no
particular consumer protection concern.
In sum, Congress neither intended nor enacted a fed-
eral scheme of consumer protections or intended to
remedy particular industry practices when it passed the
Preemption Act.
B. The Court Of Appeals Determination That Con-
sumer Protection Was The “Price” Of Rate Relief
Was In Error
Neither the legislative history nor the content of the
Preemption Act evidences a dominant consumer protec-
tion purpose. No comprehensive scheme of consumer
rights is expressed. No technical precision in consumer
disclosure is required. No pattern of industry practice
or abuse is described. The states were provided the op-
tion of overriding the Preemption Act at their sole dis-
cretion.
Yet, the court of appeals decision hinges on a con-
struction that the Preemption Act bartered rate relief
in exchange for the provision of consumer protections.
6 Sec. 501 (a) (1). Pub. L. No. 96-221.
7 Only 14 states and the territory of Puerto Rico opted out of the
usury preemption provisions as of April 1, 1983, the sunset date for
doing so. See 5 Fed. Banking L. Rep. (CCH) Paragraph 58,910 and
citations contained therein. Georgia opted out of the statute effec-
tive March 31, 1983 via H.B. 128.
11
In fact, the true “price” of rate relief under the Act is
the satisfaction of the statutory definitions of a “credi-
tor” who makes “federally related mortgage loans.”
The general preemption language of the Act is clear.
Section 501(a)(1) provides in essence that preemption
will apply to transactions occurring after March 31, 1980,
which are secured by a first lien on residential property
if the transaction constitutes a “federally related mort-
gage loan” made by a “creditor” as those terms are de-
fined in section 527(b) of the Naticnal Housing Act,
as amended by Pub. L. No. 96-399 (October, 1980) .*
The court of appeals appears to have lost sight of the
statutory framework by concluding, in effect, that the
“price” of preemption is the provision of consumer pro-
tections. Clearly, the “price” is considerably more than
that, as a transaction is not either “in” or “out” of the
Preemption Act solely on the basis of consumer protec-
tion issues.
The “consumer protection” clauses in the Preemption
Act surfaced in an eleventh-hour conference committee
compromise. This very brief consideration, when viewed
in the context cf the Preemption Act generally, and when
compared to actual federal consumer credit protection
law, more clearly reflects a congressional intent to pro-
vide buyers of manufactured housing, typically low-to-
moderate income families, legal parity with persons en-
tering into conventional residential mortgage arrange-
ments. In short, the manufactured housing provisions
were added to the Preemption Act in an effort to stimu-
late the provision of adequate and affordable housing at
all income levels. Further, in recognition that this object
could be frustrated if such financing was conducted in
8 Sec. 501 (a) (1) (A), (B) and (C); Section 527(b) of the NHA
is found at 12 U.S.C. Section 1735f-5(b) ; Cf. Burke, Federal Pre-
emption of State Usury Laws, The Business Lawyer, Vol. 37, p. 750
(1981 ABA Annual Meeting Program).
12
accordance with something other than standard residen-
tial mortgage practices, the so-called “consumer protec-
tion” provisions were included.
The House Conference Report underscores the congres-
siona! intent to standardize residential mortgage lending
practices:
Manufactured home financing is covered by the
mortgage usury preemption as long as such financ-
ing complies with consumer protection provisions
specified in regulations of the FHLBB. The confer-
ees intend that in developing these regulations the
Bank Board should look for guidance to regulations,
handbooks and circulars of the FHA and VA re-
garding mobile home lending, the provisions of the
standard conventional mortgage forms of FHLMC
and FNMA, and the provisions of the Uniform Con-
sumer Credit Code. P. 79, Conf. Comm. Rpt. on
H.R. 4986, Report No. 96-842, filed March 21, 1980.
(emphagis added)
Congress sought to standardize mortgage lending prac-
tices in the manufactured housing market by providing
for requirements typical to all residential mortgage ar-
rangements, realizing that such financing at that time
was generally subject to a scheme of motor vehicle sales
finance and Uniform Commercial Code provisions in the
various states which contain strict remedial provisions
more appropriate to the financing of personal property.
Instead, Congress sought to insure that manufactured
housing would be treated like any other residential mort-
gage lending.
The above cited portion of the Conference Committee
Report on the Preemption Act refers to the terms con-
tained in the FHA and VA mobile home regulations,
standard secondary mortgage market documentation and
the U.C.C.C. The FHA and VA regulations to which the
Bank Board was referred indicate no particular scheme
of consumer protections or disclosures. Typical require-
13
ments include those covering manufacturers’ warranties,
site preparation, FHA and VA points and title and lien
requirements. Loan limitations, credit eligibility require-
ments, and maturity provisions are other examples of
the concerns addressed in these regulations. They clearly
do not constitute a program ef particular consumer bene-
fits except to the extent that they inject a modicum of
commercial reason and uniformity necessary to the effi-
cient operation of these federal insurance programs.*°
The emphasis is clear—standard industry practices, as
embodied in federally-assisted home financing regulations,
conventional financing documentation, and uniform law
systems, are to be followed. No particular abuses are
highlighted. No particular disclosures are mandated. The
Bank Board was provided with little specific guidance
and a broad degree of discretion.
To view consumer protection as a principal object of
either the manufactured home provisions specifically or
the Preemption Act generally, is to misconstrue Cengress’
real objective. The language of section 501(c) of the
Preemption Act, viewed in the context of the legislative
history and the other provisions of the statute, merely
denotes the congressional desire to promote affordable
housing for all by encouraging a standardization of all
types of residential mortgage financing.
®See eg, 38 CFR Sertion 36.4231, and - Section 36.4235,
respectively.
1©Tn certain instances, these regulations countenance terms that
would seem to be the antithesis of consumer protection. For
example, 24 CFR Section 201.565 sanctions a fairly strict accelera-
tion provision as follows:
Section 201.565 Default Provision.
The obligation shall contain a provision for acceleration of
maturity, at the option of the holder, upon default in the pay-
ment of any installment upon the due date thereof, or failure
to make the payments of rent, taxes, or other charges incurred
in connection with the lot or site where the mobile home is
emplaced.
14
In sum, rate relief, even within the context of manv-
factured housing transactions, was not premised on con-
sumer protection provisions. Accordingly, the court of
appeals decision directly conflicts with the congressional
act and intent.
Il. THE FEDERAL HOME LOAN BANK BOARD HAS
STATED IN REGULATIONS, AN OPINION LET-
TER AND IN BRIEFS SUPPORTING THE PETI-
TIONER HEREIN THAT NO CONTRACTUAL
NOTICE OF DEFAULT IS REQUIRED
In discharging its responsibilities under the Act, the
Bank Board promulgated a regulation consonant with
congressional intent. Like the Act, the regulation did not
require that contracts provide notice of a borrower's
right to a 20-day notice of default. (12 C.F.R. § 590.4(h)
(1))
Having promulgated the regulation, the Bank Board
has interpreted it consistently. Its General Counsel, in
an opinion letter dated October 28, 1982, stated:
This requirement refers only to the act of giving
notice; neither paragraph (h) nor the Congressional
legislation that it implements (Depository Institu-
tions Deregulation and Monetary Control Act of
1980. Pub. L. No. 96-221, § 501, 94 Stat. 161-63
(1980)) expressly requires that a covered credit
agreement recite the purchaser-borrower’s right to
notice. Furthermore, there are no legislative or reg-
ulatory history materials suggesting that either
Congress or the Board intended an implic:t require-
ment of a contractual notice provision. If a con-
tractual notice provision requirement had been in-
tended, it is reasonable to assume that the Board
would have expressly so provided, as it did in para-
graphs, {d) (Prepayment with Penalty), (e) (terms
of balloon payments), (f) (late charges), and (g)
(agreements for deferral of fees) of section 590.4.
In light of these considerations, it is the view of this
15
Office that section 590.4(h) does not require that the
terms of a manufactured home credit sale agreement
recite the purchaser’s right to 30 days notice of ac-
celeration or repossession. (emphasis added.) (5
Banking L. Rep. (CCH) { 83-027).
As “chief legal officer” of the Bank Board, the general
counsel’s duties include “advising the Board with re-
spect to interpretations involving questions of law.” (12
C.F.R. 500.17 (1983) ).
Proper regard for the role of the Bank Board as Con-
gress’ chosen instrument under the Act, and proper re-
gard for the general rule of deference to an agency’s
construction of its own regulations, as described by this
Court in Udall v. Tallman, 380 U.S. 1, 16 (1965), re-
quire that controlling weight be given to the Bank
Board’s views. Where Congress has delegated broad rule-
making power to an agency, deference is especially apt.
See e.g., Bowles v. Seminole Rock & Sand Co., 325 USS.
410, 413-14 (1945).
This Court has long held that agency interpretativas
should be followed by a reviewing court. Zenith Radio
Corp. v. United States, 437 U.S. 448, 450-51 (1978);
Mourning Vv. Family Publications Service, Inc., 411 U.S.
356, 371 (1973); and Griggs v. Duke Power Ce., 401
U.S. 424, 433-34 (1971).
Further, this Court has recognized that special def-
erence is appropriate with respect to agency interpre-
tations where reliance interests are likely to have in-
tervened. See Train v. Natural Resources Defense Coun-
cil, 421 U.S. 60, 87 (1975); Udali v. Tallman (Id.).
Substantial policy considerations support such special def-
erence, particularly in the area of credit transactions.
Creditors must rely upon agency interpretations to com-
ply with various statutes and regulations. Form contracts
are drafted in reliance on such interpretations. In this
case, literally thousands of manufactured housing credit
transactions have been entered into in reliance upon the
Bank Board’s regulation and interpretation.
a
16
More than once this Court has addressed the issue of
reliance on opinions of administrative agencies dealing
directly with such credit-related issues. In Ford Motor
Credit Co. v. Milhollin, 444 U.S. 555 (1980), this Court
found that a Federal Reserve Board staff interpretation
was entitled to the same respect as an official interpre-
tation, absent the finding that the interpretation was
demonstrably irrational.
Far from finding the Bank Board’s interpretation de-
monstrably irrational, the panel below (hereinafter re-
ferred to as Quiller I) cited Milhollin and admitted that
“to qualify for federal preemption under the Act the
financing agreement need not contain an express term
guaranteeing the debtor 30-day notice before repos-
session or foreclosure.” Quiller, et al. v. BarclaysAmer-
ican/Credit, Inc. 727 F.2d i667, 1071 (11th Cir. 1984)
Had the court of appeals stopped at that point, amici
would not now be before this Court.
Instead, the court of appeals held that contractual
provisions concerning immediate declarations of default
and acceleration are contrary to the rights provided to
consumers under the Act. The Bank Board has made a
contrary finding. In its brief amicus curiae filed before
the rehearing en banc (hereinafter referred to as Quiller
II), the Bank Board has stated:
“Contract language providing for immediate dec-
larations of default and accelleration is not neces-
sarily contrary to the Act and the implementing
regulation. Both the Act and the regulation specifi-
cally provide for circumstances in which a creditor
may in fact act without notice. Overlooked by the
Borrowers are the qualifications in the full text of
the Act and the regulation. The Act merely requires
that the Board issue a regulation that requires a ‘30-
day notice prior to instituting any action leading to
repossession or foreclosure (except in the case of
abandonment or other extreme circumstances)’” 12
17
U.S.C. § 1735f-7 note (c) (2) (emphasis added in
original) (Reprinted in Appendix to Petition for
Writ of Certiorari at Page L-13)
The Bank Board brief rightly points out that the Bar-
clays’ contract does not claim an unqualified right to
foreclosure without notice and was expressly qualified by
the borrower’s rights to notice and cure. As the Bank
Board brief summed up the language, “the contracts do
not controvert the protections of the Act.” (At Peti-
tioner’s Appendix at Page L-14)
The Quiller II case is reported at 764 F.2d 1040 (11th
Cir. 1985) (en bane).
The panel in Quiller I then looked to congressional in-
tent to justify its conclusion that the “terms and con-
ditions” relating to the loan agreement did not comply
with § 590.4(h). The court found that Congress condi-
tioned federal preemption on the creditor’s compliance
with consumer protections. Significantly, neither the
panel in Quiller I nor the court of appeals in Quiller II
found the Bank Board’s interpretation to be demon-
strably irrational.
Since Milhollin was decided, this Court has restated
the view that regulations promulgated by a governmental
body responsible for interpreting or administering a
statute are entitled to considerable respect, Ford Motor
Credit Co. v. Cenance, 452 U.S. 155 (1981). Again, in
Anderson Brothers Ford, et al. v. Valencia, 452 U.S. 205
(1981), this Court found that, absent some obvious re-
pugnance to the statute, an -agency’s interpretation of
its own regulation should be accepted by the court.
The court of appeals did not find that the Bank Board’s
interpretation was obviously repugnant to the statute.
Nor could it, as the interpretation and regulation fol-
lowed the statute.
The Bank Board filed amicus curiae below stoutly de-
fending its regulation and statutory interpretation.
18
This decision creates a double standard for regulatory
agencies regulating financial institutions. Left undis-
turbed, the practical effect of the court of appeals deci-
sion is to create a safe harbor for creditors who follow
the regulatory regime of the Board of Governors of the
Federal Reserve System while leaving those who follow
the precepts of the Bank Board “tossed by the waves of
chance.”
CONCLUSION
The manufactured housing finance community and its
congressionally-designated regulatory agency face a di-
lemma. The court of appeals decision directly contradicts
congressional intent, thwarts national housing policies,
and jeopardizes the hithertofore justified reliance by
credit grantors on the interpretations of regulatory agen-
cies. In an era of form contracts made by interstate
credit grantors, such reliance is not merely desirable, it
is essential.
The Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be granted.
Respectfully submitted,
Of Counsel: FRANK MAX SALINGER *
REBECCA H. LAIRD AMERICAN FINANCIAL
NATIONAL COUNCIL OF SERVICES ASSOCIATION
SAVINGS INSTITUTIONS 1101 14th Street, N.W.
1101 15th Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20005
Washington, D.C. 20036 (202) 289-0400
(202) 857-3100 CRAIG ULRICH #
CONSUMER BANKERS
ASSOCIATION
1300 North 17th Street
Suite 1200
Arlington, Virginia 22209
(703) 276-1750
Attorneys for Amici Curiae
* Counsels of Record
October 25, 1985
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.