Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Awrey v. Progressive Casualty Insurance
Supreme Court brief1985
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
Supreme Court, U.S,
FILED
85-402-
AUG 30 198S
No. | JOSEPH A SPANIOL, me.
jn The
Supreme Court of the United States
ee
@ctober Term, 1985
a
NORMAN EUGENE AWREY,
Petitioner,
oys-
PROGRESSIVE CASUALTY
INSURANCE COMPANY,
Respondent.
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT
—- AND APPENDIX -
LOPATIN, MILLER, FREEDMAN, BLUESTONE,
ERLICH, ROSEN & BARTNICK
By: RICHARD E. SHAW (P33521)
Counsel of Record
511 E. Larned
Detroit, Michigan 48226
(313) 961-1800
Attorneys for Petitioner
Interstate Brief & Record Co., Suite 731, David Whitney Building, Detroit, MI 48226
(313) 962-8745
i
QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
DID THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SIXTH CIRCUIT COMMIT SUCH MANIFEST ERROR THAT
ITS DECISION SHOULD BE REVERSED, WHERE IT EXPLI-
CITLY RELIED ON A CASE FROM THE MICHIGAN COURT
OF APPEALS WHICH HAD NO PRECEDENTIAL VALUE,
BECAUSE:
(A) THE MICHIGAN SUPREME COURT HAD
(B)
(C)
GRANTED LEAVE TO APPEAL THAT CASE;
UNDER MICHIGAN LAW, ONCE LEAVE IS
GRANTED, THE MICHIGAN COURT OF
APPEALS’ OPINION IS WITHOUT PRECEDEN-
TIAL AUTHORITY UNTIL THE MICHIGAN
SUPREME COURT AFFIRMS OR OTHERWISE
APPROVES THE LOWER COURT DECISION;
AND
THE STIPULATED DISMISSAL OF THE
APPEAL PRECLUDED THE AFFIRMANCE
OR ANY ALTERNATIVE APPROVAL OF THE
LOWER COURT OPINION ?
li
LIST OF PARTIES
All parties to this cause of action are named in the
caption. The parties are represented as follows:
1. NORMAN EUGENE AWREY.
Lawfirm: Lopatin, Miller, Freedman, Bluestone,
Erlich, Rosen & Bartnick.
By: Richard E. Shaw (P33521).
2. PROGRESSIVE CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY.
Lawfirm: Plunkett, Cooney, Rutt, Watters,
Stanczyk & Pedersen, P.C.
By: D.J. Watters (P22042)
& John P. Jacobs (P 15400).
ili
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Question Presented for Review ..............
dg EL ee AA a meat ne I Pie PRS
a ne hoi W 5 6 4 ca 8 ee oa
eS
Constitutional Provisions, Treaties, Statutes,
Ordinances, and Regulations .............
re
ee
EE A tee er et a eee Foe
Appendix:
JUDGMENT
— US Court of Appeals, Sixth Circuit .......
ORDER Denying Petition for Rehearing
— US Court of Appeals, Sixth Circuit .......
OPINION — US Court of Appeals, Sixth Circuit;
ee a ee re eer
ORDER Denying Defendant’s Motion for Judgment
Notwithstanding the Verdict or for New Trial
— US District Court, ED MichSD .........
OPINION (re: Defendant’s Motion for Judgment
Notwithstanding the Verdict or for New Trial)
— US District Court, ED Mich SD .........
ORDER OF JUDGMENT
— US District Court, ED MichSD .........
A-14
A-15
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
Cases:
Commercial Union Insurance Co. v. Liberty Mutual
Insurance Co., 137 Mich. App. 381, 357 N.W.2d
DT AS eeis Careers ane ek es 4,6,7
Eric R. Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938) ..... 5,6
Gusler v. Fairview Tubular Products, 412 Mich. 270,
cB Re Ff: | ere 9
Medley v. Canady, 126 Mich. App. 739, 337
N.W.2d 909 (1983), lv granted 419 Mich. 870
Oo Brae ee er rr ee ee 3, 4, 5, 7-10
People v. George, 399 Mich. 638, 250 N.W.2d 491
RPA ere ear er ae ara eee a er eer 7, 8
People v. Phillips, 416 Mich. 63, 330 N.W.2d 366
2 ar ee ee ee ee ee er 8,9
Riley v. Northland Geriatric Center, 140 Mich. App.
7é, Soa N.W.2d G94 (4965) ............. 9, 10
Statutes:
ee I 5 dk os Wied 2 bao eS we be 2
M.C.L. 500.2006(4), M.S.A. 24.12006(4) ..... 3,4,7
No.
In The
Supreme Court of the Gnited States
pe
@ctober Term, 1985
pee
NORMAN EUGENE AWREY,
Petitioner,
- vs -
PROGRESSIVE CASUALTY
INSURANCE COMPANY,
Respondent.
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
REPORTS BELOW
1. Awrey v. Progressive Casualty Co, 728 F.2d 352 (CA 6,
1984) (Appendix, A-2).
2. Opinion (of the trial court re: Defendant’s Motion for
Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict or for New
Trial) (Appendix, A-15).
GROUNDS FOR JURISDICTION
The United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Cir-
cuit decided and filed its Opinion on February 28, 1984.
A Motion for Rehearing and/or Certification to the
Michigan Supreme Court was filed on March 20, 1984. A
Motion to File Instanter was also filed on March 20, 1984.
2
The U.S. Court of Appeals granted the Motion to File
Instanter on February 7, 1985.
On June 3, 1985, the Motion for Rehearing and/or Cer-
tification to the Michigan Supreme Court was denied.
The mandate was issued on June 11, 1985. An order
denying motion to recall mandate was entered on June
26, 1985.
Petitioner invokes this Court's jurisdiction pursuant to
28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, TREATIES,
STATUTES, ORDINANCES, AND REGULATIONS
No constitutional provisions, treaties, statutes, ordi-
nances or regulations are applicable to this petition.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Petitioner, Mr. Norman Eugene Awrey, was involved
in an automobile accident. Thereafter, he was named as
a defendant in an automobile negligence action. Mr.
Awrey was insured by respondent, Progressive Casualty
Insurance Company, with policy limits of $20,000.
There was no settlement of the aforementioned auto-
mobile negligence action. The jury returned a verdict
against Mr. Awrey for $175,000.
This appeal concerns Mr. Awrey’s action against Prog-
ressive Casualty, based upon Mr. Awrey’s contention
that Progressive Casualty acted in “bad faith” in failing
to settle the underlying case in a timely manner for
policy limits.
Mr. Awrey filed a complaint in the Circuit Court for
Wayne County, State of Michigan. Progressive Casualty
een, Spm eer or
3
filed a petition for removal in the United States District
Court, Eastern District of Michigan, Southern Division,
on the basis of diversity jurisdiction, pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 1332.
Upon trial, a jury returned a verdict in favor of Mr.
Awrey, and a judgment to that effect was entered on
March 23, 1982. Progressive Casualty filed and the trial
court denied a Motion for Judgment Notwithstanding
the Verdict or for New Trial. An order to that effect was
entered on April 21, 1982.
A Notice of Appeal was filed on May 17, 1982.
Progressive Casualty filed its Brief on Appeal on
approximately February 21, 1983. It contended, iter alia,
that the trial court’s judgment should be reversed on the
basis that Progressive Casualty’s conduct did not consti-
tute “bad faith”.
On July 6, 1983, the Michigan Court of Appeals re-
leased Medley v. Canady, 126 Mich App 739, 337 N.W.2d
909 (1983), lv granted 419 Mich 870 (1984).
On July 22, 1983, an Application for Leave to Appeal
was filed in Medley v. Canady, supra, with the Michigan
Supreme Court.
On approximately October 25, 1983, Progressive Casu-
alty called Medley v. Canady, supra, to the U.S. Court of
Appeals’ attention.
On February 28, 1984, the U.S. Court of Appeals
decided and filed its Opinion in this case, relying on
Medley v. Canady, supra. The Court held that Michigan
law requires that “bad faith” be defined as “a dishonest
purpose or moral obliquity.” Opinion at A-8. The Court
noted that Medley involved the definition of bad faith in
the context of Michigan’s Uniform Trade Practices Act,
M.C.L. 500.2006(4); M.S.A. 24.12006(4). The Court con-
4
cluded that “bad faith” bearg_the same definition,
whether in the statutory context or in a common law
“failure to settle” context. Footnote 2, Opinion at A-8.
On March 20, 1984, Mr. Awrey filed a Motion for
Rehearing and/or Certification to the Michigan Supreme
Court, together with a Motion to File Instanter. The
Motion to File Instanter was granted. On May 17, 1984,
the Michigan Supreme Court granted leave to appeal
Medley, supra. The U.S. Court of Appeals was so
informed.
On September 10, 1984, the Michigan Court of Appeais
released Commercial Union Insurance Co. v. Liberty Mutual
Insurance Co., 137 Mich App 381, 357 N.W.2d 861 (1984).
The Michigan Court of Appeals explicitly restricted Med-
ley, supra, to its facts, holding that Medley’s definition of
bad faith applies only in the context of M.C.L. 500.
2006(4); M.S.A. 24.12006(4). This case was made known
to the U.S. Court of Appeals.
The appeal in Medley, supra, was dismissed, by stipu-
lation of the parties, on December 18, 1984, that case
having been settled. The U.S. Court of Appeals was so
informed.
The U.S. Court of Appeals denied the motion for
reconsideration on June 3, 1985.
Mr. Awrey’s case has been resolved on the basis of
Medley, supra. However, at the time the U.S. Court of
Appeals wrote its opinion, Medley was of no preceden-
tial weight in Michigan. At the time the U.S. Court of
Appeals issued its order denying a rehearing, Medley
continued to have no precedential authority and had
been so limited as to have no applicability to this case.
Petitioner submits that the U.S. Court of Appeals’ error
is manifest, and that its opinion should be reversed.
en
5
REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT
The U.S. Court of Appeals is, of course, mandated to
follow state law in a diversity action. Erie R. Co. v.
Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938). In this action, the Court of
Appeals entirely neglected fundamental Michigan law,
regarding the nature of precedential authority. Thus, the
Court of Appeals’ opinion, which purportedly reflects
Michigan law, demonstrates an unconscionable failure
to follow that most fundamenial rule of law regarding
diversity cases, that the state law must govern. Erie,
supra. Petitioner submits that this petition presents an
issue of the utmost significance. The lower federal courts
must be alerted to the necessity of strictly iollowing state
law regarding the precedential value of published cases.
Without such an exhortation, there is the very real
danger of lower federal courts paying lip service to the
principles of Erie, while failing to follow state law, based
on a failure to carefully inquire into the sources of prece-
dential authority in the relevant local jurisdiction. This
petition presents a dramatic example of a lower court's
failure to scrutinize Michigan’s law regarding preceden-
tial authority. The lower court decision distorts Michigan
law. Reversing that decision will accomplish the goal of
alerting the federal bar of the requirement that it care-
fully adhere to local law regarding precedential author-
ity.
In reversing the trial court, the Court of Appeals
explicitly determined that the trial court committed no
error. The Court of Appeals relied on the newly-released
Michigan Court of Appeals’ decision, Medley v. Canady,
126 Mich. App. 739, 337 N.W.2d 909 (1983), lv granted
419 Mich. 870 (1984). The Court of Appeals stated,
Opinion at A-7, A-8:
“In reversing the District Court, we do not
hold that the trial judge committed error in
6
denying Progressive a judgment notwithstanding
the verdict. After the District Court’s decision
was entered, the Michigan Court of Appeals
decided the case of Medley v. Canady, 126 Mich.
App. 739, 337 N.W.2d 909 (1983), clarifying what
is required to prove an insurer’s bad faith. We
must apply Michigan law in this diversity action,
Erie R. Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938); more-
over, we must apply the law of Michigan as it
now stands, rather than as it stood at the time
this case was decided in the District Court. Van-
denbark v. Owens-Illinois Glass Co., 311 U.S. 538
(1941). We believe that under Medley Progressive
cannot on the evidence presented be held liable
for bad faith in its failure to settle.
+ + +
Medley goes beyond previous cases in _ its
requirements to establish an insurer’s bad faith.
+ £ *
The Michigan Court of Appeals reversed the
trial court’s judgment of bad faith. The court heid
that ‘bad faith’ under M.C.L.A. § 500.2006(4) is
‘not simply negligence or bad judgment but
rather the conscious doing of a wrong because of
4, on
dishonest purpose or moral obliquity’.
Accordingly, the Court of Appeals reversed the trial
court’s judgment on the basis that Mr. Awrey was re-
quired to and did not demonstrate dishonest purpose or
moral obliquity in his case against Progressive Casualty.
Intriguingly, the Court of Appeals anticipated an
objection to its opinion, which was manifested in Com-
mercial Union Insurance Co. v. Liberty Mutual Insurance
Co., 137 Mich. App. 381, 357 N.W.2d 861 (1984). The
7
Court of Appeals noted, Opinion at A-8, fn2, that
Medley was decided in the context of M.C.L. 500.2006(4);
M.S.A. 24.12006(4), but the Court was persuaded that
the specific context was immaterial. However, in Com-
mercial Union, supra, 137 Mich. App. at 391, the
Michigan Court of Appeals explicitly limited the holding
in Medley to cases arising under M.C.L. 500.2006(4);
M.S.A. 24.12006(4). Thus, the Court of Appeals clearly
erred in applying Medley to this case. However, there is
a far more fundamental flaw in the Court of Appeals’
decision.
The most fundamental flaw in the Court of Appeals’
decision is that the Court relied on a case without pre-
cedential weight. At the time the Court released its
opinion relying on Medley, an application for leave to
appeal had been filed with the Michigan Supreme Court.
Thus, Medley had no precedential weight. In People v.
George, 399 Mich. 638, 250 N.W.2d 491 (1977), the
Michigan Supreme Court explained that a Michigan
Court of Appeals decision is not a final adjudication, if
a party files a timely application with the Michigan
Supreme Court. The Court noted, 399 Mich at 639-640:
“The application to this Court was timely, having
been filed within 20 days of the issuance of the
Court of Appeals opinion. See GCR 1963, 853.2(1).
That application to this Court has been neither
denied nor granted and therefore remains pending
before this Court.
+ + +
The clerk of the Court of Appeals was also
obliged to send notice to counsel for each party of
entry of that order of the Court of Appeals. GCR
1963, 853.2(1). That judgment order has not been
issued because a timely application for leave to
8
appeal from the judgment order of the Court of
Appeals was filed with this Court by the plaintiff-
appellant and has not yet been resolved by this
Court.
+ + *
If this Court denies the pending application for
leave to appeal, the Court of Appeals judgment
then becomes the final adjudication of this case
and may be enforced in accordance with its
terms, under GCR 1963, 853.2(2). To restate, if
this Court denies leave to appeal, jurisdiction will
then be revested in the circuit court by issuance of
the Court of Appeals judgment order under GCR
1963, 812.11. If, on the other hand, this Court
grants the pending application for leave to appeal,
‘all jurisdiction over the cause shall thereafter be
vested in the Supreme Court’, GCR 1963, 853.
2(2). If this Court grants leave to appeal, jurisdic-
tion of this case will be revested in the Court of
Appeals or the circuit court on the issuance of
and in accordance with the terms of any final
order or judgment issued by this Court pursuant
to its decision on the appeal granted.”
Five years later, the Michigan Supreme Court con-
firmed the vitality of its earlier decision. People v. Phil-
lips, 416 Mich. 63, 330 N.W.2d 366 (1982). The Court
noted, 416 Mich. at 74-75:
“It is only after application for leave to appeal
to this Court is denied, or dispositive action is
taken effectively approving the Court of Appeals
decision, that it becomes a ‘final adjudication’ of
that Court.”
Based upon the preceding, it is clear that the Michigan
Court of Appeals’ decision in Medley had no precedential
9
weight, inasmuch as an application for leave to appeal
had been timely filed. Moreover, the Medley decision
never became a valid precedent. After the Michigan
Supreme Court granted leave, the Court of Appeals’
decision was not a final adjudication unless the Michigan
Supreme Court took some “dispositive action * * * effec-
tively approving the Court of Appeals decision * * *.”
People v. Phillips, supra, 416 Mich. at 74-75. The Michigan
Supreme Court never affirmed the Michigan Court of
Appeals; it did not take any other dispositive action to
effectively approve the Court of Appeals’ decision.
Accordingly, the Michigan Court of Appeals’ decision
was and is entirely without precedential authority.
In a slightly different context, Riley v. Northland
Geriatric Center, 140 Mich. App. 72, 362 N.W.2d 894
(1985), establishes that a stipulated dismissal — as in
this case — does not reinstate a previous opinion. In
Riley, the Michigan Court of Appeals was required to
determine whether the Michigan Supreme Court deci-
sion, Gusler v. Fairview Tubular Products, 412 Mich. 270,
315 N.W.2d 388 (1981), was a precedential ruling. After
the Michigan Supreme Court had released Gusler, the
Michigan Supreme Court granted a motion for rehear-
ing. Prior to the rehearing, however, the parties stipu-
lated to a dismissal of the appeal. The Michigan Court
of Appeals, in Riley, held that Gusler had no precedential
value. The Court explained, Riley, supra, 140 Mich. App.
at 76-77:
“In other words, if a motion for rehearing is
timely filed, the order or judgment previously
entered by the clerk does not ‘issue’ or become
effective until after the motion is decided one
way or the other. Here, as a motion for rehearing
was filed within 20 days of the filing or ‘entry’ of
the Supreme Court’s Gusler opinion, GCR 1963,
10
864.4(a), and as the motion was subsequently
granted, the Gusler opinion was never ‘issued’ in
conformity with the court rules.
The subsequent dismissal of the appeal by the
Court upon stipulation of the parties does not
somehow work to ‘issue’ the Court’s order or
judgment.”
Riley further establishes that the Court of Appeals
erroneously relied on Medley. Leave having been
granted, the lower appellate court’s opinion had no pre-
cedential authority without the imprimatur of the
Michigan Supreme Court. This rule is not obviated by a
stipulated dismissal of the appeal. Rather, the dismissal
of the appeal negates the possibility that the lower
court’s opinion will be authoritative. After the dismissal,
the Michigan Supreme Court will not issue an order affir-
ming or reversing the lower court. The lower court's
opinion cannot issue, because the Michigan Supreme
Court will not have issued an order revesting the
Michigan Court of Appeals with jurisdiction, the case
having been dismissed. This procedure is unequivocal.
Thus, Medley, upon which the Court of Appeals
relied, was no precedent. Since the Court of Appeals
unambiguously stated that the trial court committed no
error, given the state of the law prior to Medley, the
reversal of the trial court is manifest error. That error
transcends the facts of this case. That error reflects a
total failure to carefully scrutinize Michigan’s law on
what constitutes precedential authority. That error can
and should be corrected, thereby giving direction to the
federal bench, that the lower courts must be sensitive to
this issue.
11
RELIEF
Petitioner respectfully requests that this Honorable
Court grant this Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.
Respectfully submitted,
LOPATIN, MILLER, FREEDMAN, BLUESTONE,
ERLICH, ROSEN & BARTNICK
By: /s/ RICHARD E. SHAW (P33521)
Counsel of Record
511 E. Larned
Detroit, Michigan 48226
(313) 961-1800
Attorneys for Petitioner
Dated: August 28, 1985
A-1
APPENDIX
JUDGMENT
(United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit)
(Filed February 28, 1984)
(NORMAN EUGENE AWREY, Plaintiff-Appellee, v. PRO-
GRESSIVE CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY, Defendant-
Appellant — No. 82-1363)
Before: KEITH and KENNEDY, Circuit Judges;
and GIBSON, Senior Circuit Judge.
ON APPEAL from the United States District Court for
the Eastern District of Michigan.
THIS CAUSE came on to be heard on the record from
the said District Court and was argued by counsel.
ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here
ordered and adjudged by this court that the judgment
of the said District Court in this case be and the same is
hereby reversed as to the denial of Progressive’s motion
for judgment notwithstanding the verdict and it is
further held that the evidence was insufficient as a
matter of law for the jury to conclude that Progressive
acted in bad faith.
It is further ordered that Defendant-Appellant recover
from Plaintiff-Appellee the costs on appeal, as itemized
below, and that execution therefor issue out of said Dis-
trict Court, if necessary.
ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT
/s/ John P. Hehman, Clerk
Issued as Mandate: June 11, 1985 Costs: None
(Certification Omitted)
A-2
ORDER
(United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit)
(Filed June 3, 1985)
(NORMAN EUGENE AWREY, Plaintiff-Appellee, v. PRO-
GRESSIVE CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY, Defendant-
Appellant — No. 82-1363)
Before: KEITH and KENNEDY, Circuit Judges;
and GIBSON, Senior Circuit Judge.
Upon consideration of the petition for rehearing filed
herein by appellee, the Court concludes that all of the
questions addressed in the petition for rehearing were
fully considered upon the original submission and deci-
sion of this case.
It is therefore ORDERED, that the petition for
rehearing be and it hereby is DENIED.
ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT
/s/ John P. Hehman, Clerk
* Honorable Floyd R. Gibson, United States Court of Appeals for
the Eighth Circuit, sitting by designation.
A-3
OPINION
RECOMMENDED FOR FULL TEXT PUBLICATION
See, Sixth Circuit Rule 24
(United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit)
(Decided and Filed February 28, 1984)
(NORMAN EUGENE AWREY, Plaintiff-Appellee, v. PRO-
GRESSIVE CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY, Defendant-
Appellant — No. 82-1363; ON APPEAL from the United
States District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan,
Southern Division.)
Before: KEITH and KENNEDY, Circuit Judges;
GIBSON, Senior Circuit Judge.*'
KENNEDY, Circuit Judge.
Defendant-Appellant Progressive Casualty Insurance
Company (Progressive) appeals from a verdict in favor
of plaintiff-appellee Norman Awrey (Awrey). Awrey had
alleged that Progressive had acted in bad faith in failing
to offer policy limits to settle a tort action against Awrey
at a time when it could have been settled for that
amount, and consequently had exposed him to liability
in excess of his insurance policy limits. Progressive
denied acting in bad faith. It is argued that its failure to
settle was based on an honest belief that the tort action
was not worth policy limits and that the claim could
have been settled for less than policy limits.
Progressive did offer policy limits plus interest and
costs during trial of that earlier tort action. This offer
was refused by the injured party and a verdict of
$175,000.00 was returned against Awrey. Progressive paid
* Honorable Floyd R. Gibson, Senior Judge, United States Court
of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, sitting by designation.
\
A-4
the policy limits of $20,000.00, plus interest on that
amount and costs. Awrey has a judgment outstanding
against him for the excess. Awrey has no assets, no
house, no car, no bank account, and no job.
Awrey instituted this suit against Progressive for the
amount of the excess liability in the prior litigation,
alleging bad faith in Progressive’s failure to settle. The
jury returned a verdict for Awrey. On March 23, 1982,
the District Court entered a judgment for Awrey in the
amount of $213,358.24, the amount of the excess liability
with interest. Progressive moved for a directed verdict
and a judgment notwithstanding the verdict, which
were denied.
Progressive makes three arguments on appeal. First,
Progressive argues that the record does not support the
jury’s verdict of bad faith and that judgment notwith-
standing the verdict should have been granted. We
agree, and consequently do not reach Progressive’s other
arguments, which address the measure of damages recov-
erable under Michigan law by an indigent plaintiff in a
“bad faith failure to settle” case, and challenge the Dis-
trict Court judge’s charge to the jury.’ Briefly, the evi-
dence presented to the jury on the question of bad faith
was as follows.
Awrey was insured for automobile liability through
Progressive with policy limits of $20,000.00. On Novem-
ber 2, 1975, he was involved in an automobile accident
with one Roger Huston. Huston sustained injuries to his
hip, knee and ankle. He sued Awrey for damages in the
Ogemaw County, Michigan, Circuit Court in October of
' Awrey argues that Progressive had not preserved these issues
for appeal. Because we hold that there was insufficient evidence of
Progressive’s bad faith we do not decide whether they were pre-
served for review.
A-5
1977. Progressive retained Robert Hetzler, an attorney in
Bay City, Michigan, to represent Awrey. Progressive at
that time advised Awrey, by letter, of his right to hire
his own attorney, and Awrey declined to do so. On
November 4, 1977, Hetzler received a file on the
Huston-Awrey litigation. From this file he learned that
Awrey had consumed a number of Valium pills, that he
had been drinking, and that before the accident he had
said that he was going to “pile his car up.” Hetzler also
received a police report which indicated that Awrey had
crossed the center line before the accident occurred.
Hetzler took Houston’s deposition in August, 1978, and
learned that Huston would attempt to relate a heart con-
dition to the accident. In October, 1978, Hetzler received
Huston’s hospital records and reviewed depositions of
several doctors who had examined Huston. Based on
these documents Hetzler concluded that Huston did not
have sufficient evidence to link the heart condition to
the accident.
Hetzler requested a settlement demand from Huston’s
attorney, Sheldon Miller, on November 1, 1978. Miller
replied on November 10, that he would accept the limits
of Awrey’s policy with Progressive, i.e., $20,000.00, but
that this offer would remain open for only thirty days.
Miller withdrew his offer in a letter to Hetzler dated
December 27, 1978.
In early January, 1979, Hetzler recommended to Prog-
ressive that it offer Huston the policy limits of $20,000.00.
Progressive wrote to the Awreys in January 1979, noti-
fying them that Huston had demanded policy limits, but
that Progressive planned to offer less than policy limits.
Progressive did not disclose to the Awreys that Hetzler
had recommended offering policy limits. The Awreys
testified that they did not receive this letter. Progressive
claims that it did not offer Huston the policy limits
A-6
because a senior partner in Hetzler’s firm and four attor-
neys at Progressive believed the suit was not worth
$20,000.00 because Huston’s heart condition could not
be related to the accident.
Progressive extended settlement authority to Hetzler
for up to $15,000.00. On January 30, 1979, Hetzler made
a settlement offer of $12,000.00 to an attorney at Miller’s
firm. On February 13, 1979, the attorney from Miller's
firm called Hetzler to tell him that the case could still be
settled for the policy limits.
The case was tried in March, 1979. After opening
statements at trial Hetzler offered $20,000.00, the policy
limits, plus interest and costs. Huston’s attorney
responded with a demand for $25,000.00, which
Progressive refused without communicating it to Awrey.
Progressive says that it refused this counteroffer because
it knew that Awrey himself had no assets with which
to pay the difference between the $20,000.00 policy
limits plus interest (approximately $23,000.00) and the
$25,000.00. Awrey on Hetzler’s advice then admitted lia-
bility, as a trial tactic to avoid having the jury hear evi-
dence of Awrey’s consumption of alcohol and Valium
prior to the accident. The only issue for trial was the
amount of Huston’s damages. The jury returned an
award of $175,000.00. A motion for a new trial alleging
that the verdict was excessive was denied. No appeal
was taken.
Awrey then brought this action against Progressive,
alleging Progressive’s bad faith in failing to settle the
Huston litigation. We conclude that the evidence was
insufficient to sustain the jury’s verdict of bad faith and
a judgment notwithstanding the verdict should have
been granted.
A-7
In reversing the District Court, we do not hold that
the trial judge committed error in denying Progressive a
judgment notwithstanding the verdict. After the District
Court’s decision was entered, the Michigan Court of
Appeals decided the case of Medley v. Canady, 126 Mich.
App. 739, 337 N.W.2d 909 (1983), clarifying what is
required to prove an insurer’s bad faith. We must apply
Michigan law in this diversity action, Erie R. Co. v.
Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938); moreover we must apply
the law of Michigan as it now stands, rather than as it
stood at the time this case was decided in the District
Court. Vandenbark v. Owens-Illinois Glass Co., 311 U.S.
538 (1941). We believe that under Medley Progressive
cannot on the evidence presented be held liable for bad
faith in its failure to settle.
The seminal case in Michigan law on an insurer's lia-
bility for failure to settle is City of Wakefield v. Globe Inde-
mnity Co., 246 Mich. 645, 225 N.W. 643 (1929). The court
in Wakefield held that an insurer is liable to its insured
for a judgment in excess of liability if the insurer acted
in bad faith in failing to settle the case against the
insured. Since Wakefield, courts have had the task of
determining what constitutes “bad faith” on the part of
an insurer. See Valentine v. Liberty Mutual Insurance Co.,
620 F.2d 583 (6th Cir. 1980); Transport Insurance Co. v.
Michigan Mutual Liability Insurance Co., 496 F.2d 265 (6th
Cir. 1974); Jackson v. St. Paul-Mercury Indemnity Co., 339
F.2d 40 (6th Cir. 1964); McCoy v. Zurich Insurance Co.,
509 F. Supp. 1106 (E.D. Mich. 1981), affd, 703 F.2d 564
(6th Cir. 1982); Jones v. National Emblem Insurance Co., 436
F. Supp. 1119 (E.D. Mich. 1977); Perlmutter v. Whitney,
60 Mich. App. 268 (1975).
Medley goes beyond previous cases in its requirements
to establish an insurer's bad faith. Medley involved a suit
by an insured against his insurer for bad faith failure to
A-8
pay an undisputed claim under M.C.L.A. § 500.2006(4).?
The trial judge in Medley had held that the actions of the
insurer “were a classic example of what bad faith refusal
to pay amounts to in its most rudimentary definition.”
337 N.W.2d at 912. The court had cited the following
acts which it believed supported a finding of bad faith:
(1) failure to properly evaluate the seriousness of the
police report; (2) failure to determine the extent of plain-
tiffs injuries; (3) conducting no further investigation
after receiving the complaint; (4) failing to send for hos-
pital records after notice of the claimed injury; (5) not
offering to pay policy limits after receiving plaintiff's
interrogatories; (6) failing to respond to plaintiff's
demand letter; (7) misplacing the files; and (8) failing to
consult with its in-home committee for approval of pay-
ment of plaintiff's demand. Id.
The Michigan Court of Appeals reversed the trial
court’s judgment of bad faith. The court held that “bad
faith” under M.C.L.A. § 500.2006(4) is “not simply negli-
gence or bad judgment but rather the conscious doing
of a wrong because of dishonest purpose or moral
obliquity.” 337 N.W.2d at 913. The court stated:
We fail to find a bad faith refusal to pay on the
part of [the insurer] on these stipulated facts.
They demonstrate that [the insurer] may have
been negligent in failing to promptly respond [to
the demand letter]. However, there is no evi-
dence of conscious doing of wrong to plaintiff as
a result of dishonest purpose or moral obliquity.
Id.
2 We recognize that Medley is not a case of bad faith in failure to
settle, as the instant case is. However, we see no basis for a distinc-
tion between the standard of proof for an insurer's bad faith in the
context of failure to settle, and failure to pay an uncontested claim
under M.C.L.A. § 500.2006(4). The Michigan Court of Appeals
appears to have considered them the same.
A-9
The evidence of the insurer’s bad faith in Medley and
in the instant case is quite similar. In its opinion
denying Progressive’s motion for a directed verdict the
District Court gave the following examples of evidence
which it said could substantiate a verdict of Progres-
sive’s bad faith.
(1) Hetzler had evidence that Awrey had been
drinking and had taken Valium before the accident with
Huston and was on the wrong side of the road when
the accident occurred. Hetzler did not meet with Awrey
before trial to discuss his position that he was not
responsible for the accident. Hetzler knew that Awrey
based this claim solely on his failure to remember the
accident. These facts, said the judge, could lead the jury
to the conclusion that Progressive “ignored completely”
Awrey’s interests in failing to persuade Awrey to admit
liability prior to trial.
(2) Progressive rejected a settlement offer of $25,000.00
at trial, $5,000.00 over limits, because, according to
Progressive, it knew that Awrey had no assets to pay
the approximately $2,000.00 excess over the $20,000.00
policy limits plus interest. Progressive did not inform
Awrey of this offer. Other evidence in the record indi-
cated that Awrey had paid off a prior judgment by
making monthly installments. The judge found that
these facts supported an inference that Progressive “did
not consider plaintiff's position when an offer in excess
of policy limits was made.”
(3) Progressive wrote Awrey two letters describing the
progress of the tort suit and telling him that he had the
right to hire his own attorney. Progressive never
informed Awrey of the specifics of any settlement
A-10
offers, and Hetzler had Progressive communicate
directly with Awrey because Hetzler disagreed with the
course of action that Progressive was taking. Progressive
did not tell Awrey that Hetzler had recommended
settling with Huston for policy limits. The court found
that this evidence supported an inference that Progres-
sive purposely withheld information that Awrey needed
to protect his rights.
The evidence the trial judge described in his example
(1) closely parallels the failure of the insurer in Medley
to evaluate properly the seriousness of the police report,
to determine the extent of the plaintiff's injuries, and to
conduct further investigation after receiving the com-
plaint. Under Medley, these actions alone do not support
a finding of bad faith. Further, Mr. Hetzler explained
that he hoped to make something of Mrs. Awrey’s pre-
vious statement that Huston had his lights on bright.
That he exercised poor judgment in delaying the admis-
sion of liability until after opening statements in view of
the very prejudicial evidence of Awrey’s drinking, etc.
does not rise to bad faith.
In the second example, the trial court concludes that
the evidence supported an inference that Progressive did
not consider Awrey’s position when it did not inform
Awrey of the $25,000.00 offer to which he would have
been required to contribute. Mr. Hetzler testified that he
3 This was a contested issue at trial. A letter of January 29, 1979
appears in the record in which Progressive informed the Awreys of
Huston’s initial settlement demand of policy limits and of plaintiff's
intention to offer less than policy limits. Awrey testified that he
never received this letter. Transcript Vol. II at 497. Huston’s attorney
continued to insist on policy limits for settlement until trial, when he
asked for $5,000.00 above policy limits. Thus, Huston’s attorney
apparently made two settlement offers, one for policy limits, of
which Progressive insists that it informed Awrey, and one for over
policy limits made at trial, covered in the trial judge’s example (2).
A-11
did not convey the offer to Awrey because he knew he
was unempleyed and had no assets. Awrey’s circum-
stances had changed since he had paid off the earlier
judgment. Awrey had previously been employed and
had owned a car. It was uncontested that Awrey had no
job and no assets with which to pay off a judgment at
the time of trial. Moreover, there was no evidence that
Hetzler knew of the earlier claim which was paid in
installments. It may well be that Hetzler ought to have
thought of periodic payments as an alternative method
of making up the shortfall but he did not. His failure to
do so is not bad faith as defined in Medley. We cannot
find anything in the record indicating that Progressive’s
failure to inform Awrey of the $25,000.00 offer was due
to any conscious doing of wrong. Progressive did not
benefit from the failure to make up the difference in
periodic payments. Rather, it incurred additional legal
fees by completing the trial.
In its third example the trial court apparently found
that the failure to communicate the difference of opinion
as to the value of the claim was evidence that Progres-
sive acted in bad faith. We do not understand the trial
court to have found that the failure to follow Hetzler’s
advice could be found by the jury to be bad faith. In
view of Progressive’s explanation that it relied upon its
in-house counsel, as well as Hetzler’s senior partner's
evaluations, there is no basis for such a finding. That
those evaluations were erroneous has been established
by the jury’s verdict against Awrey. That they were
done in a negligent manner may also have been shown,
but negligence is not bad faith.
The District Court’s focus appears to be on the failure
to advise Awrey that there was a difference of opinion
between the attorney handling his case and other agents
of the insurance company. We do not believe an
A-12
insurance company has the obligation to advise an
insured of differences of opinion among its agents or
representatives. As a corporation, it acts through
numerous persons and reaches a collective decision.
Would a law firm be required to advise its client that
one or more of its associates disagree with the advice
the firm has given? We have been cited to no authority
for such an obligation by either insurance company or
law firm and decline to create one.* We do not pass
4 In Wakefield, trial counsel for the City of Wakefield had recom-
mended acceptance of a settlement offer. He had come to the conclu-
sion during the trial that the case was hopeless and tentatively
agreed on a figure. One, Campbell, in the home office of the insur-
ance company, instructed trial counsel to decline the settlement. A
verdict was returned over policy limits. The minority would have
permitted the insurance company’s bad faith to go to the jury when
Campbell gave no reason for refusing the settlement.
Conceding that the record indicates that he could have had
just cause for not approving the compromise, it is mere
speculation, not evidence, to guess his probable reasons
when having had full opportunity to disclose them on the
trial, he failed to do so. Whatever of good faith may be attri-
buted to him by such speculation is more than offset by the
fact that the jury was entitled to draw the inference that, if
his action had been due to unjustifiable reasons, he would
have said so on the stand, and that, failing to state the
reasons, he had no legitimate excuse for his action.
The only evidence of the state of mind of any of
defendants’ agents was that of Mr. Burritt [trial attorney],
whose opinion it was that Mr. Borski would surely recover,
would obtain a large verdict, and that settlement was advisi-
able and the amount reasonable.
246 Mich. 654-55 (1929).
The majority of the court, however, held that a directed verdict for
defendant insurance company was proper. It held that until the
insured submitted proof of bad faith no obligation rested on
Campbell to deny that he acted in bad faith. Campbell had been
required to make a quick decision on whether to accept the settle-
ment. The majority held that in view of possible reasonable bases for
his decision the jury were not entitled to draw the inference that he
did not exercise an honest judgment or act in good faith in refusing
to accept the offer made. Disagreement with trial counsel was not
sufficient to permit the jury to find bad faith.
A-13
upon whether there is a personal obligation on the part
of insured’s counsel which arises out of his dual! role as
attorney for the insured as well as for the insurance
company, to advise his client of his opinion. That was
not a basis of the instant action for bad faith on the part
of Progressive.
With respect to the trial judge’s example (3), we fail
to see how Progressive’s action of advising Awrey of his
right to hire his own attorney supports an inference that
Progressive purposely withheld information that Awrey
needed to protect his rights. Progressive rather exhorted
Awrey to protect his rights. Progressive failed to tell —
Awrey that Hetzler had recommended paying policy
limits. This may have been negligent, it may have been
poor judgment, but we cannot say that under Medley
this supports a finding of bad faith.
Under Medley, it is not enough to show that the
insurer “ignored completely” and “did not consider” the
insured’s position in order to prove bad faith on the part
of the insurer. Medley requires a showing that the
insured engaged in the “conscious doing of wrong
because of dishonest purpose or moral obliquity” for a
finding of bad faith. 337 N.W.2d at 912. We find, com-
paring the evidence in Medley and in this case, that the
evidence presented here — while it may support a claim
of negligence against Progressive — is not sufficient to
show a dishonest purpose or moral obliquity.
Accordingly, we reverse the judgment of the District
Court denying Progressive’s motion for a judgment not-
withstanding the verdict and hold that the evidence was
insufficient as a matter of law for the jury to conclude
that Progressive acted in bad faith.
A-14
ORDER DENYING DEFENDANT'S MOTION FOR
JUDGMENT NOTWITHSTANDING THE
VERDICT OR FOR NEW TRIAL
(United States District Court —
Eastern District of Michigan —
Southern Division)
(Dated April 21, 1982)
(NORMAN EUGENE AWREY, Plaintiff, vs. PROGRESSIVE
CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY, a foreign corporation,
Defendant — CIVIL NO. 80-72252)
This matter is before the court on defendant’s motion
for judgment notwithstanding the verdict or for a new
trial. The court has reviewed the motion and brief filed
in support thereof and, in accordance with the Opinion
issued this date,
IT IS ORDERED that Defendant’s Motion for Judgment
Notwithstanding the Verdict or For New Trial be, and
hereby is, DENIED.
/s/ Ralph B. Guy, Jr.
United States District Judge
Dated: April 21, 1982
(Certification Omitted)
A-15
OPINION
(United States District Court —
Eastern District of Michigan —
Southern Division)
(Dated April 21, 1982)
(NORMAN EUGENE AWREY, Plaintiff, vs. PROGRESSIVE
CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY, a foreign corporation,
Defendant — CIVIL NO. 80-72252)
Defendant’s motion for a judgment notwithstanding
the verdict or, in the alternative, for a new trial arises
out of a jury verdict in favor of the plaintiff. In his com-
plaint, plaintiff alleged that defendant insurance com-
pany had exposed plaintiff to liability in a prior tort
action, in which case plaintiff was the defendant,
because of defendant's bad faith refusal to settle the tort
action at policy limits. Defendant responded that its
refusal to settle was not made in bad faith but on the
basis of its honest belief that the underlying suit was not
worth policy limits. Following the court’s denial of cross
motions for summary judgment, the parties proceeded
to trial and the case was ultimately submitted to a jury
for resolution. Because the parties agreed that the
amount of damages was equal to the difference between
the verdict in the underlying action and the amount of
the policy limits, only the question of liability was sub-
mitted. After seven days of deliberation, the jury
returned a verdict in favor of plaintiff.
The issue raised by a motion of a judgment n.o.v. is
whether there is sufficient evidence to raise a question
of fact for the jury. O'Neill v. Kiledjian, 511 F.2d 511, 513
(6th Cir. 1975). Because the grant of the motion would
deprive a litigant of the opportunity to have factual
A-16
disputes resolved by a jury, the motion must be cauti-
ously and sparingly granted. Lee v. Joseph E. Seagram &
Sons, Inc., 413 F. Supp. 693 (S.D. N.Y. 1976), affd, 552
F.2d 447 (2nd Cir. 1977). Accordingly, the standard to be
applied in determining the propriety of granting or
denying a judgment n.o.v. is whether the evidence is
such, without weighing the credibility of the witnesses
or considering the weight of the evidence, that reason-
able men could come to but one conclusion. Coffy v.
Multi-County Narcotics Bureau, 600 F.2d 570 (6th Cir.
1979); Morelock v. NCR Corp., 586 F.2d 1096 (6th Cir.
1978). Moreover, the evidence must be viewed in the
light most favorable to the party against whom the
motion is made, drawing from that evidence all reason-
able inferences in his favor. Id.
Applying that standard to the present action, the court
concludes that the question of bad faith was properly
submitted to the jury. To illustrate the basis of its con-
clusion, the court need only review the evidence relied
on by defendant in the present motion. In its motion for
judgment n.o.v., the defendant lists approximately six-
teen acts or documents which it contends conclusively
establish that the defendant did not act in bad faith. For
example, defendant contends that the reason for the trial
attorney’s refusal to admit liability in the underlying
action was Mr. Awrey’s refusal to admit same prior to
trial. Also in the record, however, was evidence indi-
cating that the trial attorney had police reports which
noted that plaintiff had been drinking and taking pills
prior to the accident as well as being on the wrong side
of the road when the collision occurred, that the trial
attorney failed to meet with the plaintiff prior to trial to
discuss plaintiff's claim of no liability, and that the trial
attorney knew that plaintiff based his denial of liability
solely on an inability to remember the accident or the
events leading to same. Such facts could lead a reasonable
A-17
man to conclude either that the defendant relied com-
pletely on plaintiff's statements in refusing to admit lia-
bility for the accident or ignored completely the plain-
tiff’s interests in failing to persuade plaintiff to admit
same prior to trial.
As another example, defendant contends that it
_ Tefused to accept a settlement offer that exceeded the
policy limits by $5,000.00 because it knew that plaintiff
had no funds to contribute towards a settlement. Other
evidence in the record, however, indicates that plaintiff
had in fact paid off a prior judgment by making monthly
installments, that defendant knew that plaintiff's poten-
tial exposure for liability above its policy limits was sig-
nificant, and that defendant did not inform plaintiff of
this offer. Such evidence again could lead a reasonable
man to conclude either that the defendant refused the
offer only after considering the plaintiff's economic con-
dition or because it did not consider plaintiff's position
when an offer in excess of policy limits was made.
As a final example, defendant produces two letters
which were directed to plaintiff indicating the progress
of the tort action and informing plaintiff that he had the
right to hire his own attorney. Such documents, how-
ever, also corroborate the trial attorney’s testimony that
he requested that defendant communicate directly with
plaintiff as he refused to do so because he did not agree
with the cause of action being followed by the insurance
company. Further, plaintiff was never informed of the
specifics of any settlement offer, and that the plaintiff
was never informed that the trial attorney prior to trial
had recommended that defendant settle the case at
policy limits. Such evidence again supports two infer-
ences. Those being that the letters were intended to
avoid informing plaintiff of the specific information that
he needed to adequately protect his rights.
A-18
Without reviewing the remainder of the record, the
court believes that the above examples adequately ilius-
trate the nature of the proofs offered at trial. In short,
the evidence presented two theories which could explain
the defendant's actions in the underlying suit. Defen-
dant’s theory was that it acted in the honest belief that
the tort claim was worth less than the policy limits, that
plaintiff was adamant about not admitting liability, and
that plaintiff was unable to contribute to any settlement
of the action. Plaintiff's theory was that the defendant
acted in bad faith as was illustrated by the defendant's
rejection of the trial attorney's recommendation that it
offer policy limits prior to trial, the trial attorney's failure
to meet with plaintiff, and the defendant's failure to
communicate the substance of any settlement offers to
plaintiff. Because the court concludes that a reasonable
man could accept either of these theories, it must deny
defendant’s motion for a judgment notwithstanding the
verdict.
The issue raised by a motion for a new trial is essen-
tially one of judicial discretion. Mooney v. Henderson Por-
tion Pack Co., 339 F.2d 64 (6th Cir. 1964). The judge’s
duty is primarily to see that there is no miscarriage of
justice. Bevevino v. Saydjari, 574 F.2d 676 (2nd Cir. 1978).
Defendant’s motion for a new trial is based on three
grounds. First, defendant contends that there was judi-
cial error in the admission of evidence of activity which
was not and could not be construed as evidence of bad
faith. Second, defendant contends that there was judicial
error in the instructions to the jury defining bad faith.
Third, defendant contends that the verdict was against
the weight of evidence.
Cfendant’s first argument is that it was prejudiced by
the introduction of evidence that could not be construed
as evidence of bad faith. Although not explicit in
A-19
defendant’s motion, defendant apparently contends that
it was prejudiced by the introduction of evidence con-
cerning the tactics of the trial attorney in the underlying
tort action. In considering this argument, the court
would initially note that defendant did not object to the
introduction of this evidence at trial. Even where the
admission of evidence is erroneous, courts have gener-
ally refused to allow a new trial where counsel did not
seasonably object to the allegedly improper ruling. See,
e.g., Peterson v. Calmar Steamship Corp., 296 F. Supp. 8
(E.D. Pa. 1969).
Assuming that an appropriate objection had been
made, the court’s conclusion that a new trial is unneces-
sary would be unchanged. In essence, defendant con-
tends that the evidence concerning the tactics employed
by the trial attorney was irrelevant to a determination of
bad faith. Because defendant is a corporation, however,
the defendant's good or bad {faith could only be deter-
mined by examining both the actions and the states of
mind of its various agents. Wakefield v. Globe Indemnity
Co., 246 Mich. 645 (1929). One such agent was the trial
attorney hired by the defendant to defend the insured
in the underlying tort action. Because the actions and
motives behind the actions of the trial attorney would
have a substantial tendency to make the existence of bad
faith on the part of the defendant more or less probable,
Fed.R.Evid. 401, the court finds that such evidence was
relevant to the jury’s ultimate determination in this
action. In addition, even if the admission of such evi-
dence was improper, the court further concludes that
such error would not be grounds for a new trial as
defendant was not prejudiced by the introduction of
such evidence because there was no testimony that the
trial attorney’s conduct was in violation of the standard
practice for a trial attorney. Fed.R.Civ.P. 61.
A-20
Defendant's next argument is that there was judicial
error in the instructions to the jury defining bad faith.
In this regard, defendant contends that the court
implied to the jury that it believed that the defendant
acted in bad faith when it instructed the jury that an
insurance company “should not abuse the power vested
in it and recklessly and contumaciously refuse to settle
if it is apparent that in all reasonable probability its con-
duct would not only result in damage to its insured but
also in loss to itself.”
To explain the genesis of this instruction, it is neces-
sary to begin with the parties’ requested instructions
relative to bad faith. In his request, plaintiff requested
an instruciion enumerating the duties adopted by the
court in Jones v. National Emblem Insurance Co., 436 F.
Supp. 1119 (E.D. Mich. 1977). Based on a Second Circuit
decision, the court in Jones listed four factors which
could support a finding of bad faith on the part of an
insurer. Defendant objected to the use of a list of factors
indicating bad faith and suggested that the court give
the definition of bad faith provided by the Michigan
Supreme Court in Wakefield v. Globe Indemnity Co., supra.
In the alternative, defendant suggested that any list of
factors for the jury’s consideration of bad faith should be
rephrased to state factors indicating that the defendant
acted in good faith.
Although the court initially indicated that it intended
to use a list approach similar to that used by the court
in Jones, the court subsequently reversed its position and
gave the instruction to which defendant now objects. It
reached this decision for several reasons. First, it was
concerned with the potential prejudice which arises any
time a jury is given a list of factors to consider in
making a determination. Even where a jury is cautioned
to consider the enumerated factors along with all other
A-21
evidence presented at trial, there is always the danger
that a jury will consider only those factors listed by the
judge. Second, the manner of phrasing such a list is
fraught with danger. If the court follows the Jones case
and phrases the list in terms of bad faith, then the
defendant may be prejudiced by the court’s failure to
indicate factors showing good faith. If the court phrases
the list in terms of good faith, then the defendant may
also be prejudiced as the jury might interpret such
instructions as placing the burden on the defendant to
establish good faith which is contrary to the law. Third,
the rationale of Jones was drawn into question by the
subsequent decision of the Sixth Circuit in Valentine v.
Liberty Mutual Insurance Co., 620 F.2d 583 (6th Cir. 1980).
Although the court in Valentine cited the Jones decision,
it did not consider the Jones list when it ruled that the
insurance company had not acted in bad faith when it
failed to inform the excess insurer of increases in its
insured’s ad damnum clauses.
Because of the court’s decision not to use a list
approach, the court was left with only one means of
instructing the jury on the concept of bad faith. That
means was the manner initially requested by the
defendant which defined bad faith with the exact lan-
guage used by the Michigan Supreme Court in Wakefield
v. Globe Indemnity Co., supra, — the very case recognized
as the leading Michigan case by the Sixth Circuit in
Valentine v. Liberty Mutual Insurance Co., supra. In addi-
tion, to avoid any possible prejudice resulting from the
listing of factors to consider in determining bad faith in
the Wakefield quotation or the attorneys’ use of duties or
non-duties of an insurance company in their closing
arguments, the court twice cautioned the jury to con-
sider the entire record in determining whether the
defendant acted in bad faith. First, it noted: “[iJ]n your
A-22
consideration of this question of bad faith, you are not
to single out any one act or alleged duty or non-duty
standing alone, but you are to consider the conduct of
the parties as a whole in reaching your determination on
this question of bad faith.” Second, the court cautioned:
The foregoing examples are not intended to be
all inclusive and are meant to be suggestive only.
There is no intent by these illustrations to limit
your consideration of all relevant evidence. None
of the above examples or considerations, either in-
dividually or collectively, is necessarily determina-
tive of the issue of bad faith but may be considered
by you in making your own determination.
Because the court finds that the above instructions to the
jury did not imply that the court had previously deter-
mined that defendant had acted in bad faith and that no
miscarriage of justice occurred as a result of the giving
of those instructions, the court concludes that the giving
of such instructions, when read as a whole, does not
provide a ground for the granting of defendant’s motion
for a new trial.*
* Defendant also objects to the fact that the instructions do not
inform the jury that bad faith is like fraud. The initial answer to this
objection is that all the cases cited by defendant speak of bad faith
and fraud in the disjunctive. Thus, the court interprets the language
of these cases to indicate two separate motives which could make an
insurance company liable for failing to settle a case. Moreover, the
definition of bad faith was taken directly from Wakefield v. Globe Inde-
mnity Co., 246 Mich. 645 (1929). Therefore, the court concludes that
the jury was given a proper definition of bad faith when it was
instructed that mere bad judgment or negligence does not amount
to bad faith. In this regard, it is interesting to note that at least one
author suggests that negligence is sufficient to find liability in Michi-
gan. See, Torpey, Liability Beyond Policy Limits, Michigan Bar Journal
(Feb. 1982).
A-23
Defendant's final argument is that the jury’s finding of
bad faith was contrary to the weight of the evidence.
Unlike a motion for judgment n.o.v., a motion for a new
trial because a verdict is against the weight of the evi-
dence requires a court to consider not only whether a
factual question was presented for the jury but whether
the jury’s verdict was erroneous. Bevevino v. Saydjari,
supra. Because the decision of whether to grant a new
trial is essentially left to the discretion of the trial court,
it is not surprising that different courts have adopted
varying standards to be applied by a trial court in
passing on such a motion. Wright & Miller, Federal Prac-
tice and Procedure § 2806 at 45. In this regard, the court
believes that the standard set forth in 6A Moore’s Federal
Practice § 59.08[5] at 59-160 to 59-161, and adopted by
the Secorid Circuit in Bevevino v. Saydjari, supra, properly
indicates those factors which a trial court should con-
sider in ruling on a motion for new trial because the ver-
dict is contrary to the weight of the evidence. That stan-
dard provides:
The trial judge, exercising a mature judicial dis-
cretion, should view the verdict in the overall set-
ting of the trial; consider the character of the evi-
dence and the complexity or simplicity of the
legal principles which the jury was bound to
apply to the facts; and abstain from interfering
with the verdict unless it is quite clear that the
jury has reached a seriously erroneous result.
The judge’s duty is essentially to see that there
is no miscarriage of justice. If convinced that
there has been, then it is his duty to set the ver-
dict aside; otherwise not.
Applying that standard to the present case, the court
initially notes that the question of bad faith generally is
one for the jury to decide. Wakefield v. Globe Indemnity
A-24
Co., supra. Moreover, the evidence presented at trial was
not complex and for the most part was uncontradicted.
In essence, the jury was asked to determine whether the
defendant's refusal to settle the case prior to trial was
based upon an honest belief that the suit was not worth
policy limits or upon an indifference to the effect of the
refusal on the insured. Given that the jury deliberated
on this question for seven days, the court does not
believe that the jury reached a clearly erroneous result.
Therefore, the court must abstain from interfering
with the verdict and deny the defendant's motion for
new trial because the verdict was against the weight of
the evidence.
/s/ Ralph B. Guy, Jr.
United States District Judge
Dated: April 21, 1982
(Certification Omitted)
A-25
ORDER OF JUDGMENT
(United States District Court —
Eastern District of Michigan —
Southern Division)
(Dated March 23, 1982)
(NORMAN EUGENE AWREY, Plaintiff, vs. PROGRESSIVE
CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY, a foreign corporation,
Defendant — C. A. No. 80-72252; Hon. Ralph B. Guy, Jr.)
At a session of said Court held in the Courtrooms of the
United States District Court, in the City of Detroit,
County of Wayne, and State of Michigan, on Mar. 23,
1982.
Present: Ralph B. Guy, Jr., U.S. District Judge
This matter having come on for trial on the Courts’
regular scheduled trial docket, and the matter having
been heard before a Court and Jury and the Jury having
deliberated and rendered its verdict in favor of Plaintiff,
NORMAN EUGENE AWREY, and against the Defendant,
PROGRESSIVE CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY, on
February 5, 1982;
IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that judgment be and the
same is hereby entered in favor of the Plaintiff,
NORMAN EUGENE AWREY, and against Defendant,
PROGRESSIVE CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY, in the
amount of TWO HUNDRED THIRTEEN THOUSAND FIVE
[three] HUNDRED FIFTY-EIGHT and 2400 DOLLARS
($213,358.24), which sum includes unpaid Judgment and
costs and statutory interest computed through March 1,
1982, as agreed to between the parties herein;
A-26
IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the within Judgment
shall accrue no additional interest pursuant to MCLA
600.6013 from the date of filing of the within Complaint
until March 1, 1982 because the Judgment amount of
$213,358.24 includes all applicable interest to the date of
March 1, 1982;
IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Plaintiff will be sub-
mitting a Taxed Bill of Costs and will argue before this
Court, said costs when approved, will be incorporated
in this Judgment at the time they are approved by this
Court, without the necessity of an Amendment to this
Judgment by stipulation of the parties.
/s/ Ralph B. Guy, Jr.
United States District Court Judge
Approved as to form only:
By: /s/ Samuel A. Meklir
Attorney for Plaintiff
And:
By: D.J. Watters
Attorney for Defendant
(Certification Omitted)
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.