Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cranberg v. Consumers Union of United States, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1985

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

~~

/ Supreme Court, U.S.

. 4

eee Le FILED

85-247 AUG 13 1985

No. _ JOSEPH F. SPANIOL. JR. |

Clerk |

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1985

Lawrence Cranberg

Petitioner

Vv.

Consumers Union of United States, Inc.,

Respondent

and

Lawrence Cranberg

Petitioner

Vv.

Associated Press

and

Austin American-Statesman

Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

LAWRENCE CRANBERG, pro se

1205 Constant Springs Dr.,

Austin, Texas 78746

Telephone: (512) 327-1794

oU4

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

In Cranberg v. Consumers Union of U. S. Inc.:

1. Whether the district court, in a trial segment

lasting a day and a half, did so violate due process as

to preclude orderly and proper adjudication of the

numerous issues of libel, slander and product dispar-

agement in the pleadings, which included for the first

time in judicial history the complex, confused, but pub-

licly vital issues of the efficacy and safety of wood

burning for domestic heating (The Anti-Fireplace

Hoax) ; and whether the Court of Appeals erroneously

condoned said violations of due process and erroneous-

ly endorsed said hoax and a fraudulent “test” of peti-

tioner’s fireplace inventions, and violations of the

Lanham Act.

In Cranberg v. Associated Press and

Austin American-Statesman:

2. Whether the district court, in a trial segment

lasting a few hours, did so violate due process during

the trial, and did make such errors in its decisions on

discovery before trial, as to preclude proper adjudica-

tion of the libels of an AP story which multiply de-

famed the petitioner on the pretext of reporting his

paper to the American Physical Society, “Encounter

with Consumers Union”; and whether the Court of

Appeals erroneously condoned said defamations, in-

cluding the validation of a spurious media event—an

alleged “physical struggle” between petitioner and a

- Consumers Union representative, which the district

court called “childish and irresponsible’.

In both cases:

3. Whether any U. S. court can designate an in-

dividual a “public figure” for purposes of an action

for libel and slander, and thereupon apply a distinctive

ej-

rule of law to fix liability or damages, absent evidence

that the parties have comparable media access on the

issues, without violating due process of law and im-

pairing free speech.

4, Whether reference in legal argument to the pro

se status of a party by any court or by an officer of

any court is inherently as improper and prejudicial as

reference to the race, religion, etc., of any party, when

made solely for the purpose of justifying abridgment

of statutory or constitutional rights, such as trial by

the Federal Rules of Evidence, and violates due process

and equal protection of the laws.

5. Whether equal justice prevail. in our federal

court system when the petitioner in this case argued

a concurrent case for 18 days in the U. S. Claims

Court, and received careful, courteous, patient due

process in meticulous accord with the Federal Rules

of Evidence, while in the instant cases the Rules of

Evidence were deliberately discarded and the Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure were repeatedly ignored or

abridged.

6. Whether the Judge who was the trier of fact in

these cases was an Article III judge, considering his

announcement of impending resignation before issue

of Final Judgment in these cases, and his public dis-

closure that he had secretly negotiated his departure

from the bench prior to trial of these cases.

THE PARTIES

It is essential to this Petition that careful account

be given of the parties, and in particular of the re-

spondents. They are very well known to the general

public. But their relationships with one another, which

are important to this litigation, are not well known,

although the information herein is from public sources.

1. Dr. Lawrence Cranberg, who is acting pro se in

this case for pe el reasons, is a Fellow of the

wie

American Physical Society with a prolific record of

publication, invention and public-interest activity. He

was Senior Physicist at the Signal Corps Engineering

Labs during World War II, Staff Member at the Los

Alamos Scientific Laboratory during the Korean War

and thereafter, until taking the positions of Professor

of Physics at the University of Virginia, and Director

of its Physics Accelerator Laboratory in 1963. Since

1971, he has been in the private sector and is presently

owner of Texas Fireframe Co., which manufactures

and distributes his patented fire-making apparatus,

the Texas Fireframe grate, that is the means of

maintaining “The Physicist’s Fire’”—a patented means

of fire-making, based on the first-time application of

basic physics principles to the ancient log fire. His

public interest activities include co-founding of the

Virginia Affiliate of the American Civil Liberties

Union (ACLUVA). He is currently a spokesman for

what have come to be called “Traditionalist” views in

the ACLU, and is often critical of "Activism".

2. Consumers Union is a complex, diversified non-

profit operation (i. e., it pays no taxes and is not

answerable to stockholders), which heavily advertises

its Consumer Reports magazine in the mass media. The

magazine anonymously reports “tests” on products in

the marketplace and often recommends its own varia-

tions of those products to its readers. It permits no

access to its pages by advertisers who might wish

to correct its errors. Its legal representative is Kar-

patkin, Pollet, Perlmutter and Beil, a firm established

by Mrs. Rhoda Karpatkin, who has been Executive

Director of CU since 1974. Headquartered on the

premises of the law firm is the Libel Defense Resource

Center (LDRC), a non-profit (i. e., pays no taxes

and is not answerable to stockholders) which enrolls a

Who’s Who of American media and their libel insurers,

including that of AP (Employers Reinsurance Corp-

- lil -

oration) and of Cox Enterprises (Mutual Insurance

Company Limited of Hamilton, Bermuda), the two

other respondents in these cases. An open LDRC

brochure states that its meetings may be closed to

plaintiff lawyers and that it maintains “secret” in-

formation files.

3. AP is the “world’s largest news organization.”

It has a de facto dominance of wire service in the U. S.

which is comparable to CU’s dominance in the field of

consumer-product testing. Like CU it is non-profit,

and like CU, AP operates on a collective bargaining

agreement with New York locals of the Newspaper

Guild, AFL-CIO. It controls a worldwide network of

214 bureaus from a headquarters in New York City,

where its libel law firm exerts great influence on the

media bar through the Practicing Law Institute. AP’s

control of news is greatly augmented by its exclusive

right to local news which originates with its sub-

scriber media. It was represented by Rogers and Wells

of New York City and i.y Brown, Maroney, Rose,

Barber and Dye of Austin, Texas.

4. The AA-S is the sole daily newspaper serving

the metropolitan area of Austin, the state capitol of

Texas, and is the major AP subscriber in the Austin

area. It is owned by Cox Enterprises of Atlanta,

Georgia. The libel insurer for Cox, Mutual Insurance

Co. of Hamilton Bermuda, operates under the highly

secret conditions permitted by Bermuda law, and is in

addition a supporting member of the Libel Defense

Resource Center (LDRC). AA-S and CU were repre-

sented in this action by the same Texas law firm,

Graves, Dougherty, Hearon & Moody of Austin.

en

iV -

Citations to Opinions Below

The opinion of the United States District Court for

the Western District of Texas, on the issue of liability

in the two cases which were consolidated for trial and

are herein appealed, is given in Appendix Al. The

Final Judgments of the District Court taxing plaintiff

for costs are given in Appendix A2. The Order of the

District Court denying plaintiff’s Motion to File Sup-

plemental Complaint relating to violations of the

Lanham Trademark Act by Consumers Union (CU)

is given in Appendix A3.

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported in

756 F.2nd 382 (1985), and is appended as A4. The

order denying request for rehearing en banc is A5d.

Jurisdiction

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered

on April 1, 1985. A timely petition for rehearing sug-

gesting rehearing en banc was denied on May 14, 1985,

and this petition for certiorari is being filed within

90 days of that date. The jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked under 28 U. S. C. §1254(1).

Constitutional Provisions Involved

Congress shall make no law. . . abridging the free-

dom of speech, or of the press...

U.S. Const. Amend. I

No person shall . . . be deprived of . . . property

without due process of law...

U. S. Const. Amend. V.

“« .. nor shall any State deprive any person of life,

liberty or property without due process of law, nor

deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal

protection of the laws”.

U. S. Const. Amend. XIV.

“The judges, both of the Supreme and inferior

courts, shall hold their offices during good be-

havior...”

U. S. Const. Article ITI.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions Presented ........... cc cece ee eee eee ee eee i

RE be iwd os ip 0666068080 4600004060080 0068088 ii

Citations to Opinions Below ..... 2.2... 0... cc cece eee Vv

EE oo. 104 no od 06 04668 6050065 046666.046666695-040K04 Vv

Constitutional Provisions Involved .................... Vv

Table of Authorities ............. 0... cece cee eee vi

Federal Statutes Involved ............. ccc cece eens viii

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure Involved ............ viii

Federal Rules of Evidence Involved .................. viii

Code of Judicial Conduct Involved .................... viii

EE? «od nas gba hbO46GR4OES 5 6646456406050 56RR0K5 ix

EY on cv kn 66 00k 044460000 60066405 0000 080005650088 1

Reasons for Granting Writ ............... 0. cece ee ees 14

Summary and Conclusion ............... 0. eee eens 30

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Bose v. Consumers Union of U. S. Inc., 508 F. Supp.

2 eS %. .) epee 10, 11, 18, 15, 18, 26

Cranberg v. United States, U. S. Claims Court,

Cees BR, Ss COD in n.k vn ccneecccsccnccassss 28

Dun & Bradstreet, Inc. v. Greenmoss Builders, Inc.,

The United States Law Week, 53LW4872, 6-25-85 ... ix, 25

Gertz v. Welch, 418 U. S. 8328 (1974) ............2200. 24

Herbert v. Lando, 441 U. S. 153 (1979) .......... 20, 21, 23

McNabb v. United States, 318 U. S. 332 (1942) .......... ix

Nader v. General Motors Corp., 208 N. Y. S. 2d 187 ...... 30

New York Times v. Sullivan,

ee ee Sy PE a ha 04 Kuck ke es owes CAs KORE ix, 24, 25, 26, 30

Northern Pipeline Construction Co. v. Marathon

Pipeline Construction Co. and U. S., U. S. Sup. Ct.

Rep. 78, L. Ed. p. 598, and especially Note 10 ......... 29

Ruiz v. Estelle, 679 F.2d 1115, 1129, modified 688

C.2nd 266 (5th Ci.. 1982), cert. denied, 460 U. S.

1042, 108 S. Ct. 1488, 75 L.Ed. 795 (1983) ............ 21

Williams v. Lee, 868 U. S. 217, 218 ........ cece eee ees 19

Appendices and Cross References:

Appendix Al, District Court Decision .................. 31

Appendix A2, District Court Final Judgments .......... 41

-Vi-

enti AED hl Hi ect batts tata ee PO iret OBR 0 ~

Appendix A3, Order Denying Lanham Act

Supplemental Complaint ............... 0.0 e cee eens 43

Appendix A4, Circuit Court Decision .................. 44

Appendix A5, Circuit Court Denial of

Request for en banc consideration ................... 69

Cross References (Petition-to-Appendix, Page Numbers)

15 to 65; 17 to 47; 18 to 33, 34, 36; 20 to 41, 43; 21 to

65; 22to 33; 23 to 33, 33, 34,59; 26 to 65,66; 28 to 65;

29 to 64.

Constitutional Provisions

Page

Rati Tie, BOGOTA A. og kc cnc ccccceccccnccesecss i, vi, 28, 29

IE cc VébGO 606% 6006600650 SesReeeReROES i, vi, 30

SE En cnc owes 6s Gesndes i, vi, 15, 19, 21, 25, 26, 27

REE MED 2g 0.n.0.06 0056660 6bceenneceeseeesee i, vi, 22

BE FEE. oo 0 0.00tbbbneeeecece cess 66ecnen ties 30

Statutes

Se We ND onc cicnccncecccocnecadesesccesccsccnc 27

Be He Be GB Bee 8 dec eccce eh cescedcciecsesecccess vii

Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. Ann. Art. 5480 (Vernon 1958) ...... 1

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

SD NEED 6 6.0.66 00660606 60006600000 6nd sc cone neeenes 20

BE PGE nc ccd bch t ew ecctbubhbe 6o00 N66 05600066000 20

Federal Rules of Evidence

ED. << sdk 6bkS 606 KEARER EREBRS CBRE E66 EASES REE 26

DE 40 + ct Ge ctu ts Ges oetbe ths ihaweunbesetsheakas 1

Pr CE ss veces knee bheeeebebbbeeesanasdee6eesess 16, 18

Code of Judicial Conduct

a ia. eee eee eee ee can Cu dals babu eae viii, 29, 30

NEE 44d 446 one debs 0b6565000400R0450020% ii, viii, 17, 23

Federal Statutes Involved

“In all courts of the United States the parties may

plead and conduct their own cases personally...”

28 USCS §1654.

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure Involved

“If . party or his attorney fails to participate in

good faith in the framing of a discovery plan by agree-

ment as is required by Rule 25(f), the court may,

after opportunity for hearing, requir> such party or

his attorney to pay to any other party tie reasonable

expenses . . . caused by the failure”.

Rule 37(g).

Federal Rules of Evidence Involved

“These rules govern proceedings in the courts of

the United States and before United States magist-

rates, to the extent and with the exceptions stated in

rule 1101.”

Rule 101.

“The judge presiding at the trial may not testify

in that trial as a witness. No objection need be made in

order to preserve the point.”

Rule 605.

Code of Judicial Conduct

“A judge must avoid all impropriety and appear-

ance of impropriety.”

Canon 2.

“A judge should be patient, dignified, and court-

si.”

Canon 3.

- viii -

“The history of liberty has largely been the history of ob-

servance of procedural safeguards.” Justice Frankfurter, Me-

Nabb v. U. S., 318 U. S, 347 (1942).

“IT have also become convinced that the Court struck an

improvident balance in the New York Times case between the

public’s interest in being fully informed about public officials

and public affairs and the competing interest of those who

have been defamed in vindicating their reputation.” Justice

White in Dun & Bradstreet, Inc. v. Greenmoss Builders, Inc.,

U. S. Law Weck, 53LW4871, June 25, 1985.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1985

No.

Lawrence Cranberg

Petitioner

v.

Consumers Union of United States, Inc.,

Respondent

and

Lawrence Cranberg

Petitioner

v.

Associated Press

and

Austin American-Statesman

Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner, Lawrence Cranberg, respectfully prays

that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment

and opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit entered in this proceeding on

April 1, 1985.

Oe eet ye .

sts

Statement of the Cases

The civil action against Consumers Union (CU)

was filed in the U. S. District Court for the Western

District of Texas, Austin Division, on November 30,

1981, under Texas Statute 5430 against libel, slan-

der, and product disparagement, in consequence of the

publication of a defamatory report on Dr. Cranberg’s

fireplace inventions in the January, 1981, number of

Consumer Reports, a magazine wholly owned by CU,

and of the slanders later directed at Dr. Cranberg by

CU employees. The report was captioned “And Some-

times You Lose” (R1).*

The civil action against the Associated Press (AP)

and the Austin American-Statesman (AA-S) was

filed on April 16, 1982, in the same court, in consequ-

ence of the publication of a defamatory article in the

AA-S on April 24, 1981 (R2), based on a defamatory

AP wire story, (R38), with defamatory AA-S addi-

tions. Both actions were filed only after all efforts to

obtain corrections came to naught.

The AA-S story purported to be about a scientific

paper presented to the American Physical Society by

Dr. Cranberg at its regular Spring Meeting in Balti-

more on April 23, 1981. The paper, titled “Encounter

with Consumers Union” (R4) dealt in detail with the

scientific and legal history and modus operandi of Con-

sumers Union, and was fully documented. The AA-S

story was captioned “Fire-grate Inventor fights with

Consumer Group Official”. It included none of the

scientific and legal content of the paper. The headline

referred to a “physical struggle” which allegedly took

place between Dr. Cranberg and CU’s spokesman,

* All references to the record below, including docket record,

exhibits, transcripts, and any other material to which judicial

notice is appropriate under Rule 201, Federal Rules of Evid-

ence, are designated R1, R2... etc. in this Petition.

a.

journalist D. C. Berliner, who showed up unexpectediy

at the Meeting, with assistant Sylvia Helm. Each had

a tape recorder concealed on their persons

Federal jurisdiction was based on diversity of citi-

zenship in both cases. They were consolidated for trial

under Judge Garcia and in March, 1983, were re-

assigned to Judge Shannon in San Antonio, who pre-

sided over a two-day trial on September 13-14, 1983.

Supplementation of the record was permitted until

September 26, 1983. On the following day Judge Shan-

non told the Chief Judge that he was resigning from

the bench effective January 1, 1984.

The Facts in the Cases

In December, 1974, prompted by the energy crisis

precipitated by the oil embargo, Dr. Cranberg ad-

dressed the problem of applying basic physics prin-

ciples to understanding and improving the domestic

log fire. He discovered (R11) a new combustion phen-

omenon he called “Slot-flame Stability”, which is ob-

served in a fire produced in a log cavity. The cavity

is created by having a large back log, with two smaller

logs in front and an upper log independently supported

above the front logs, all logs parallel, of similar length,

and adjacent logs in contact with each other.

Viewed in profile the cavity is “C-shaped. In three

dimensions the cavity is slot-shaped. Dr. Cranberg

discovered that when kindling is ignited in that slot-

shaped cavity or furnace, a number of novel pheno-

mena are observed. These include remarkable ease of

ignition of the logs. Unsplit oak logs can be ignited by

putting a match to a few sheets of newspaper stuffed

in the cavity. Steady burning ensues with the follow-

ing features: flames are rooted in the lower front logs,

but are confined from above by the upper log; the side

of the back log facing the cavity becomes a wall of

uniformly red-hot coals readily visible through the

deen! nk ral fe

es

flames on the front logs; and the flames and coals

exhibit remarkable left-right uniformity shortly after

starting. That uniformity is self-maintained until the

front logs are consumed—hence the term slot-flame

stability. Most dramatic of all is the intense beam of

radiant energy which streams from the open end of the

cavity into the room in which the fireplace is located.

Its directionality can be readily sensed by passing one’s

hand across the beam.

All the foregoing phenomena are readily observed

and duplicated, but not one of them is alluded to in

CU’s report of Dr. Cranberg’s work in the January,

1981, number of Consumer Reports, (R1).

In Dr. Cranberg’s first experiments, the upper log

was supported by wooden chocks or bricks. Recognizing

that slot-flame stability could be maintained inde-

finitely, given some means of supporting and replacing

logs without materially interrupting the fire, a proper

means was devised for doing so called the “Texas Fire-

frame grate’. This is a grate-like device mace of weld-

ed steel bars. It has a lower level for supporting the

back and front logs, and an upper level whose height

above the lower level is adjusted by means of friction-

locking arms. The arms attach to two vertical mem-

bers welded to the front of the grate.

The arms support the upper log at a prescribed

height, and make it possible to replace the back log by

allowing it to drop in place from above. Thus what was

dubbed the “Slot Fire” can be maintained indefinitely,

and becomes a practical, inexpensive means of fire-

making which requires no tending other than replacing

logs sequentially as they burn out. Further, it is ob-

vious that because the fire is capped from above, the

risk of chimney fires—the nightmare of all fire-using

homeowners—is greatly diminished (R12). One of the

key documents in this case which was completely

ignored by both lower courts was a letter (R13) from

ei.

the petitioner’s liability insurer stating that he had

never had a claim against him!

The grate and fire-making method were introduced

into the marketplace in September, 1975, and a patent

was applied for. It duly issued: “Apparatus and

Method of Combustion,” U. S. Patent No. 4069808

(R14)—the only U. S. patent ever issued on a method

as well as an apparatus for fire-making. It now has

only ten more years to run, and its life is ebbing while

this court battle is being waged to defend it from the

slurs of totally incompetent critics who have gravely

injured it in the marketplace.

The first media account of the slot fire appeared

in a very favorable eye-witness description in AA-S

for September, 1975 (R15). The first scientific ac-

count was given to the American Physical Society at

its regular Fall Meeting in October, 1975 (R16). So

enthusiastic was the response, that a month later Dr.

Cranberg introduced himself to the science staff of

Time magazine at its New York headquarters, to

whom he repeated the account of the slot fire he had

given to his colleagues. “The Physicist’s Fire” ap-

peared (R17) in the science section of the interna-

tional edition of Time for Dec. 22, 1975.

That launched the product in the marketplace, and

there was extensive media coverage thereafter, all of it

favorable (R18). In 1978, Dr. Cranberg fought off

(R19) an attempt by Sears, Wards and Penneys to

pirate his invention. The only detractor to appear on

the scene was a Dr. Jay Shelton, who has since become

famous as “The Guru of the Woodstove Industry”,

and the most persistent promoter of what Dr. Cran-

berg calls “The Anti-Fireplace Hoax”—or “The Hot

Air Hoax’”—the contention that a fireplace is energy

counter-productive because of the large amount of

warm air it allegedly consumes from the house (R20).

To counter that propaganda (no numbers were being

BBDPOOED BARBS OF Chews & anne 64

oie

given), in 1979 Dr. Cranberg designed and intro-

duced the Ventabox (R21)—an accessory which per-

mits use of outside air with the Texas Fireframe grate.

At the same time, the Ventabox permits easy ash-re-

moval, so that with a fifty-dollar grate and a forty-

dollar Ventabox one has the best of all worlds, in a

combination not even approached by any other product

on the market.

The Ventabox brochure was made a part of the in-

struction package (R22) accompanying every model

of the Texas Fireframe grate, model U-25, sold there-

after, and it was part of the package purchased on the

market by CU when it obtained two units for test in

mid-1980. That such purchase was made and that a

report was impending was learned in October, 1980,

(R23), when a CU representative called Dr. Cran-

berg to ask for confirmation of pricing data.

Dr. Cranberg then sent CU a number of documents,

including a special trade release (R24) emphasizing

the benefits of the slot fire with a glass screen, and a

preprint of a paper, “Domestic Fire and its Improve-

ment: Some qualitative insights” (R25), which had

been accepted for publication in the American Journal

of Physics. When this article appeared in June, 1981,

it was the first publication on the log fire in a refereed

scientific journal in modern times. The article also

gave all the quantitative data then available, including

that of Dr. Shelton, which showed that a slot fire 25

inches long had about a 30% efficiency for converting

energy of wood combustion to useful radiant energy

for home heating, or about 2.6 times greater than a

conventional fire, with an estimated efficiency of 42%

for a much longer fire, or one with reflecting ends.

The business of Texas Fireframe Co., which was

operated by Dr. Cranberg and his wife, with all manu-

facturing done on contract, prospered until January,

1981. With the publication by Consumer Reports of

eA

a feature on fireplace add-ons in which the Texas Fire-

frame grate was singled out for special criticism in a

separate, specially captioned article ‘““And Sometimes

you Lose” (R1), the business of Texas Fireframe Co.

plummeted (R25a) and has not recovered to this day.

The article claims that the Texas Fireframe grate,

albeit an improvement on the conventional grate, is

still a “loser”, since it delivers only 5000 BTU per

hour but causes a loss of 7500 BTU per hour in

warmed air, for a net loss of 2500 BTU per hour. It

was also compared unfavorably with CU’s own log

configuration (R26), nowhere clearly described,

which it called its “Standard Fire”, which it claimed

was a break-even proposition in terms of heat loss-

gain, and required no grate of any kind.

CU’s report included a sketch which accurately pre-

sented the Texas Fireframe grate and log arrange-

ment described above. But testimony at trial by CU’s

“engineer”, R. Stube, (R26a), and the evidence of

CU’s notebook (R26b) showed that there was a single

run cn heat output by a student, Steven Hertzberg,

who evaded subpoena. The notebook’s two-page entry

of Aug. 1, 1980, shows that Hertzberg used smoothly

sawn, 4-inch-square wood blocks of irregular lengths

that were about half the length of the grate, in a con-

figuration that crudely approximated the slot geo-

metry of petitioner’s invention. Testimony by CU

“engineer” Greenhaus (R26c), who was responsible

for heat loss measurements, showed that no heat loss

measurements were ever made on petitioner’s inven-

tions, or on any fire made with a conventional grate.

A single heat loss measurement was made on CU’s

Standard Fire. That heat loss was proven (R27) to be

huge—about half a ton an hour. And Greenhaus at-

tributed that same heat loss to all fireplace fires made

with usual grates and the Texas Fireplace grate!

The facts, proven beyond dispute at trial by mea-

- ee eee eee a

. -

surements by Terralab (R27), an industrial test

laboratory with ten years of pertinent experience, are

that the slot fire delivers 12,000 BTU per hour on a

steady basis, that it consumes warm air at a rate of

500 BTU per hour, for a net gain of 11,500 BTU per

hour, compared to CU’s net loss of 2500 BTU per hour.

CU’s “error” in attributing the heat loss of the Stan-

dard Fire to the slot fire was a whopping 2200%!

When the secrecy and confusion which surrounded

the actual configuration tested by CU as its grateless

Standard Fire were finally penetrated by discovery,

tests by Terralab showed (R28) that it was a “two-

hour bonfire” with dangerously high flue-tempera-

tures, that consumed fuel at 5 times the rate of the

slot fire and air at a 23 times higher rate. Expert

testimony (R29) compared the fuel arrangement of

the standard fire to one used by our forces during the

Vietnam war to destroy enemy stores. Its peacetime

use is best described by calling it “The Arsonist’s

Fire” (R30).

Thus, an efficiently warming fire representing an

important advance in fire-making technology was

represented by CU as a chilling device, and was com-

pared unfavorably to what is essentially an instru-

ment of destruction.

What is genuinely chilling, however, is the accept-

ance of CU’s results as “accurate” by the lower courts,

(Al, A4), and in particular by the Court of Appeals,

which accepted them without reservation.

The data on air loss provided by Terralab (R27)

on the slot fire demolishes once and for all the conten-

tion of the media and CU that the fireplace is a voraci-

ous consumer of warm air. In fact, it has now been

shown (R27a) that the slot fire consumes air at a

substantially lesser rate than the so-called “air-tight”

wood stove.

CU’s article made no mention at all of the Venta-

wits

box, and the benefits of use of the slot fire with glass

screens were converted into a negative, with an in-

scrutable comment that the Texas Fireframe grate

could not be used at all with glass screens! The abund-

antly proven ease of operation (R31) was converted

into a claim that the fire needed much tending. Not a

word was said about safety, ease of starting, distinc-

tive aesthetics, etc. In fact there was not a single posi-

tive word in the entire article. Dr. Cranberg identified

28 different defects in the article and the list was

quickly compiled. They are part of the pleadings in

this action, (R32).

Dr. Cranberg immediately made contact with CU

in early January, 1981, to determine how the tests

were run and what the configuration of the Standard

Fire actually was (R33). An appointment to visit

CU’s lab was made and then was quickly broken by

CU, with all matters referred to its attorney, Michael

Pollet of Karpatkin, Pollet, Perlmutter and Beil. A

letter of Jan 6, 1981, to Pollet, (R34), urged prompt

action to limit damage, and requested compensation

of $1,000 per day for damage already done “to cause

minimum damage to CU as well as myself”, and re-

fers to Dr. Cranberg’s “long involvement in liberal

causes”.

Dr. Cranberg then tried to reach the media (R35),

which had previously published information widely at

variance with CU’s report. But by the end of January,

it was obvious that all access to media and to CU were

closed off, and that the only open channel of communi-

cation was a contributed paper to the American Physi-

cal Society. Its Spring Meeting was scheduled for April

in Baltimore, and the deadline for submission of Ab-

stracts was imminent. On Jan. 19, Dr. Cranberg wrote

a letter (R36) to Pollet telling of his intentions un-

less he had a reply to his previous letters and several

phone calls. Not having a reply by the deadline date,

pi,

Dr. Cranberg sent to the American Physical Society

his two-hundred word Abstract, R37, as prescribed

by the Society, entitled “Encounter with Consumers

Union’. It emphasized the vagueness of CU’s anony-

mous report with respect to the Standard Fire, and

CU’s refusal to clarify it or to permit access to its

laboratory. The Abstract said nothing about CU’s at-

tack on the Texas Fireframe grate. It began “Anony-

mous CU inventor(s) claim a ‘standard fire’ with fuel

arranged on the floor makes all existing grates ob-

solete’’.

Copies of the Abstract were quickly sent off to em-

ployees and officers of CU, with a letter of invitation,

(R38), to attend the Meeting and to participate in

public discussion. The Abstract was duly published in

the April, 1981, number of the Bulletin of the Amer-

can Physical Society, (R39), where the place and time

of presentation were fixed for the Baltimore Conven-

tion Center on Apr. 23, 1981.

Arriving in New York City in early February for

a variety of purposes, Dr. Cranberg sought and ob-

tained an interview with CU’s lawyer, Michael Pollet,

in the latter’s office on Feb. 12, 1981. Pollet obligingly

supplied a sketch of the CU’s “Standard Fire’, (R40).

Dr. Cranberg promptly labeled it inoperative, and

alerted Pollet to the fact that the CU employee who

supplied the sketch, Richard Greenhaus, was not a

member of either of the professional societies in which

he had claimed membership during a phone conversa-

tion with Dr. Cranberg on Jan. 5, 1981, of which a

contemporary record was supplied to Pollet (R41).

With the sketch as clear evidence that CU’s tests

were meaningless, Dr. Cranberg brought it to the at-

tention of several media reporters, but none ever used

it or referred to it in any way, including the Wall

Stree? Journal, which on April 9, 1981, published a

short article (R42) on the controversy, on the impend-

«20.

ing presentation of a paper to the American Physical

Society about it, and stating that CU would not send

a representative to the Meeting.

Starting in February, 1981, Dr. Cranberg under-

took a far-ranging investigation into the history and

modus operandi of CU from its antecedent, Consumers

Research, Inc., in the late twenties to the present, for

a comprehensive presentation to the American Physical

Society. Of crucial importance was the accidental dis-

covery in late March, 1981, that CU had lost its first

libel suit to Bose Corp. of Framingham, MA. The de-

cision of Judge Julian in that case, Bose v. CU 508 F.

Supp. 1249 (D. Mass. 1981), pending since 1971, was

a revelation in at least two senses: it revealed ex-

tremely important facts about CU editorial and test-

ing policies about which very little was generally

known, and it revealed how the media had effectively

ignored the suit and its unique outcome.

The text of “Encounter with Consumers Union”

(R43)—one thousand words of CU history, the Bose

ease, CU’s work on fire-making, etc., with fifteen ex-

tended footnotes, three figures and an Appendix sum-

marizing all information to date on fireplace efficien-

cy, showed clearly how inconsistent CU’s results were

with all previous data, and it revealed a great deal

else about CU never before gathered together in one

place, and was largely unflattering. This document

was completed in early April, 1981, and a dozen copies

were made, each boldly marked at the top of the first

page: “Release Date: Apr. 23, 1981”.

After the appearance of the Wall Street Journal

article of Apr. 9, 1981, AA-S sent reporter Abrams

and a photographer to Dr. Cranberg’s home for an

interview. Abram’s response to the news about the

Bose case, and to several other features of “Encounter

with Consumers Union” was so hostile, that Dr. Cran-

berg called the AA-S city editor, Ed Crowell, and pre-

vis

vailed on him not to publish any article on the inter-

view (R44).

The Wall Street Journal article also triggered calls

from reporter Robert Kasper of the Baltimore Sun

(R45) and from Robert Klein of the Time-Life ma-

gazine Money. Both requested copies of the paper and

an interview. Copies of the paper were sent out im-

mediately. The later interviews revealed keen hostility

to the decision in Bose, and discovery in this case later

revealed that Klein sent a copy of “Encounter with

Consumers Union” promptly to CU on receiving it on

April 13, 1981 (R46).

Discovery and testimony at trial (R47) showed that

the New York City headquarters of AP also responded

to the WJ story, and directed its Baltimore Bureau to

cover Dr. Cranberg’s paper.

Discovery and testimony at trial also showed that

CU’s Assistant Director for Information D. C. Ber-

liner, and counsel Michael Pollet, on receipt of a copy

of Dr. Cranberg’s paper from Klein, proceeded to pre-

pare a seven-page rebuttal, (R48), and permission

was sought and obtained from the Executive Secretary

of the Society (R49), to make a special presentation to

the Meeting of the American Physical Society im-

mediately after Dr. Cranberg’s scheduled presentation.

Present before, during, and after the presentation

of Dr. Cranberg’s paper in Baltimore on Apr. 23,

1981, with official responsibility to maintain the

authority and decorum of the American Physical

Society, was its Deputy Executive Secretary, Dr.

David W. Kraft (R50).

Prior to the presentation of Dr. Cranberg’s paper

and Berliner’s rebuttal, Dr. Cranberg was interviewed

(R51) by C. Sullivan, an AP reporter, and J. Bready,

a senior editorial writer for the Baltimore Sun, who

was present as representative of Discover, the science

magazine of the Time-Life-Money family. Sullivan

-12-

was accompanied by AP photographer Joe Giza, and a

photographer from Discover magazine was also pre-

sent.

During the Cranberg-Sullivan-Bready interview,

Dr. Kraft (R50) called to Dr. Cranberg’s attention

a tape recorder that had been planted to record the

interview. It quickly developed that the recorder had

been placed by Ms. Helm, who quickly retrieved it. Dr.

Cranberg requested (R51) that Ms. Helm actuate the

recorder and permit him to record a message for de-

livery to Director Karpatkin of CU. As she held the

recorder, Dr. Cranberg dictated a message emphasiz-

ing the impropriety of “surreptitious recording” at

meetings of the Physical Society. A crowd gathered

as this was happening. Suddenly, on the outer fringe

of the crowd, a panic-stricken Berliner appeared, hold-

ing a second recorder aloft and shouting “Look, I’ve

got one too. So what!” (R52).

Thus, Berliner was nowhere near Helm’s tape-

recorder or Dr. Cranberg, and the later contention by

Berliner-Sullivan that there was a “physical struggle”

over a tape-recorder between Berliner and Cranberg,

as reported in the AP story that went out on the na-

tional wire that evening from Baltimore, (R3), is pure

fabrication. It was a media event devised by two media

representatives who came to the dignified premises of

a scientific meeting for purposes which had nothing to

do with science, and was for the very obvious and ef-

fective purpose of creating a distraction from “En-

counter with Consumers Union,” (R53). Fiqually false

was Su!!.van’s statement that Dr. Cranberg had re-

fused to provide a list of his objections to CU’s treat-

ment of his inventions, and that he had in effect tried

to blackmail CU by threatening exposure at the Meet-

ing. This latter blow was aimed at Dr. Cranberg by

Berliner, (R54), who shamelessly coupled statements

from letters to Pollet of Jan. 6 (R34) and Jan. 19,

i.

1981, (R55), on two different subjects, giving no in-

dication that they were wrenched not only from the

context of those two letters, but from an entire cor-

respondence (R56) whose obvious intent was to

harmonize differences by colleguial dialogue’. Sul-

livan’s story, (R38), repeated Berliner’s poisonous in-

sinuation of blackmail with no word from Dr. Cran-

berg in rebuttal. Robert Kasper’s story in the Sun

(R57) said not a word that implied blackmail or a

physical struggle or withholding of data.

One of the most remarkable features of the news

coverage of “Encounter with Consumers Union” was

that not a word appeared either in the AP story (R3)

or in Kasper’s story, published a few days later in the

Baltimore Sun, about the Bose case, which Berliner

and Cranberg had discussed at length in the meeting.

A single sentence in the seventh paragraph of the AP

story covered Dr. Cranberg’s expose of the inoperabil-

ity of the CU standard fire as disclosed by Pollet. It

was omitted from the AA-S printed version (R2) so

that essentially nothing but libels about Dr. Cranberg

appeared in his home-town newspaper as the result

of “Encounter with Consumers Union’, and not a

single word adverse to CU appeared in that paper,

—not even the fact that CU had barred Dr. Cranberg

from visiting CU’s laboratory (58).

In deposition (R59) Berliner asserted that after

leaving the Meeting in Baltimore, he went home. But

this left a gap in his story which forced him to admit

that in fact he went to the AP bureau headquarters in

‘Such dialogue did in fact take place when CU’s counsel Pol-

let gave Dr. Cranberg a sketch of the grateless fire in his

office on Feb. 12, 1981. Nothing was said or implied about

blackmail or pressure of any kind at that time. CU devised

its shabby attack two months later in order to distract atten-

tion fron: “Encounter with Consumers Union” and its dis-

closure of CU’s loss in Bose.

th.

Baltimore—there to give Sullivan a docunient which

neither of them ever identified. It is the obvious nexus

that accounts for the fact that Berliner-Sullivan are

the only people ever to surface and claim that there

was a “physical struggle” over a tape recorder on the

premises of the American Physical Society.

Nevertheless, at the end of the two day trial in dis-

trict court on Sept. 13-14, 1983, every negative state-

ment made about Dr. Cranberg and his invention by

CU, AP and AA-S was endorsed by the court as true

(Al). The only caveat entered by Judge Shannon-was

that even if CU’s numbers on the Texas Fireframe

grate were entirely wrong, there was no malice, Dr.

Cranhberg was a “public figure’’, there was no liability

and all charges were dismissed “‘with prejudice”.

The decision of the Court of Appeals was even more

sweeping (A4). There was no caveat about a possibil-

ity of errors in CU’s report, and every adverse finding

by the lower court was affirmed. All due process ob-

jections were held invalid, and Judge Shannon’s re-

signation from the bench the day after the closing of

the record in this case was not deemed relevant to his

standing as an Article III judge.

The findings of both lower courts completely ignore

the expert testimony presented, (R60), all of which

came from the plaintiff’s side, and they ignored the

crucial findings of Terralab (R28) that CU’s Stan-

dard Fire was a “two-hour bonfire” with dangerously

high flue temperatures, and that CU made an error in

its estimate of the heat loss of the slot fire of 2200% !

REASONS FOR GRANTING CERTIORARI

In Cranberg v. Consumers of U.S. Ine.

1. The basic reason certiorrari should be granted

in this case is that on the record, and indeed on the

very face of the record, it is obvious that the proceed-

- 1§-

ings of the lower court were extraordinarily hurried,

and they bore no meaningful resemblance to a trial in

the ordinary sense of the term. The case most nearly

precedential to this one, Bose v. CU, also a bench trial,

lasted 19 days. Given the greater complexity of the

technical issues in this case, and the presence of public

safety and health issues not present in Bose, 19 days

would have been a lower limit for the duration of a

trial in accordance with normal procedures.

The Court of Appeals has itself characterized the

trial procedures as “unusual,” (A4) but its enumera-

tion of those unusual features is seriously inadequate.

It will suffice to consider the following:

a. The safety hazards of fire are as old as man’s

use of fire itself. The “Physicist’s Fire” represents,

among other things, a major breakthrough in solving

(R13, R22) the major safety hazard associated with

domestic use of fire—namely, chimney fires. The fact

that the Physicist’s Fire is capped from above and its

flames cannot ignite creosote accumulated in the flue

from previous fires, is a life- and property-saving

achievement of major proportions which was complete-

ly ignored in the CU report. It was fully spelled out

in the pleadings. But such was the disorderly proceed-

ings at trial that not a word appears in the trial record

about safety!

Hence, when the court permitted supplementation

of the record, safety was a leading item in that sup-

plementation. The fact that safety is nevertheless com-

pletely absent from the decisions of both lower courts

testifies to the inadequate standard of care of the low-

er courts in dealing with this case.

b. CU did not pretend that its “engineers” were

experts, and although it said at one point that it would

call Dr. Shelton, it never did, so that it presented no

expert testimony at all. Thus, there was no valid basis

in the record to counter the criticisms of CU’s test re-

ee

sults as “meaningless” and “unreasonable” by two

experts of unquestioned standing in the fields of heat

transfer and combusion—Prof. John Howell (R62)

and Dr. Gerald Hurst (R63), respectively, not to

mention the substantial credentials (R64) of the peti-

tioner himself. How, then, can a due process decision

in favor of CU have been arrived at? The answer to

be found in the record of the trial is that Judge Shan-

non himself served as CU’s expert (R65, Tr. 2-101-

130). He testified repeatedly in the record on technical

matters relating to heat transfer and combustion in the

course of repeated attempts to control and to rebut the

plaintiff’s testimony, and in clear violation of Rule

605 of Federal Rules of Evidence. The other source of

rebuttal testimony was CU’s defense counsel, whose

brief (R66) in rebuttal of the trial experts is repeated

verbatim in the decision of the Court of Appeals—for

example, “that neither had performed any actual

tests”. This is a rebuttal opinion pregnant with com-

pletely unfounded assumptions about what constitute

proper tests and is a mere slur on the theoretical and

experimental testimony (R67, R68) of bona fide ex-

perts. Its acceptance by the Court of Appeals is tanta-

mount to testimony by the Court of Appeals and again

there is violation of Rule 605 cited above. Even more

objectionable than the mistreatment of expert testi-

mony is the astonishing neglect of the tests of Terralab

(R28) which exposed CU errors of 400% and 2200%

in measurements for which CU’s “engineers” claimed

(R69) accuracy of 3%!

When the Court of Appeals repeats defense coun-

sel’s arguments (A4) that plaintiff’s in situ tests were

invalid, they are both acting as self-appointed experts

and are giving improper testimony which is not to be

dignified by rebuttal.

c. The lower court controlled testimony (R65) in

the CU case so that it was almost entirely devoted to

4

-17-

one aspect of the domestic fire—what the Court of

Appeals calls “efficiency”. Thus the court affirmed

that “consumers’ magazine’s tests of a number of fire-

place devices to determine their efficiency as domestic

heat sources were an accurate approximation. . .”

Ad.

The closest pertinent dictionary definition of “ef-

ficiency” is “The ratio of the energy delivered by a

machine to the energy supplied for its operation.”

But when the petitioner tried to explain the sign-

ficance of “efficiency” for the problem of domestic

heating, he had uttered only the first words of a de-

finition he has given countless times in elementary

lectures when Judge Shannon interrupted (R70) with

the words “Doctor, really, I think you guys are way

ahead of me. You are only going to make things worse’”’,

and no definition of “efficiency” was ever given in the

record. Only Judge Clark and his clerk know what

they mean by the word. The decision of the Court of

Appeals (A4), is void for vagueness, as is the entire

opi.:ion of the district court in its discussion of the

Physicist’s Fire, CU’s Standard Fire, or the fire made

with an ordinary grate. Simply put, CU’s Standard

Fire is a two-hour bonfire (R28, R29), and comparison

of its heat output with that of any other fire which

burns fuel at a much different rate is meaningless so

far as “efficiency” is concerned.

No comparison between the heat loss of the Standard

Fire and of the slot fire, as defined by copyrighted,

patent-protected instructions, was possible since the

latter was never tested. And since there was not a

single run on the Texas Fireframe grate in accordance

with instructions, no meaningful report was possible,

and the data published by CU on petitioner’s invention

were fraudulent. For the lower courts to characterize

CU’s report as “accurate” is not to give ordinary words

their due meaning and is thereby a violation of due

yo

process of law.

d. The record of Dr. Cranberg’s testimony (R65)

shows that he was never cross-examined. Judge Shan-

non took on the role of examining counsel for both

sides, after Dr. Cranberg agreed to accept him as

friendly counsel for the giving of his testimony. But

instead of allowing Dr. Cranberg to testify on the

many issues defined in the pleadings which he was

prepared to address, Judge Shannon confined the

testimony to the issues selected by CU for presenta-

tion, and aggressively argued with Dr. Cranberg

(R65) on the various technical points at issue, acting

in effect as defense counsel and expert witness for the

defense, filling the void created by the absence of ex-

pert witnesses for the defense, and idling the seven de-

fense lawyers in the courtroom. In page after page of

the record, (R65), Judge Shannon acted in violation

of Rule 605, Federal Rules of Evidence, which bars

testimony by the judge. This is a rule to which excep-

tion is “automatic” and need not be taken at trial.

e. The district court exonerated CU of all malicious

intent (Al). Dr. Cranberg had characterized the re-

port on his invention as “not a report but an assault

with intent to kill” (R65a). He cited Bose, and other

sources (R43) to show that CU caters to “voyeurism”,

indulges in “muckraking” and depends, on “sarcasm

and spice” to sell its magazines. And in this particular

case, CU’s consultant Dr. Jay Shelton had a long his-

tory of ties to the wood-stove industry and of promo-

tion of the Anti-Fireplace Hoax. The lower court’s

comments about CU’s purity of motive are therefore

gratuitous and merely reflect personal bias. Also re-

flective of personal bias are adverse personal remarks

directed at Dr. Cranberg (Al) relating to his concern

for public causes. Those remarks are more understand-

able in the light of the later news that Judge Shannon

had already decided to leave public service.

-19-

f. Tne lower courts’ denial of petitioner’s motion

to try a complaint against CU for violation of the

Lanham Act was a denial of due process. The issue

was broached well in advance of trial. Although the

motion was presented just before trial, a similarly

timed motion at a preliminary pretrial conference by

the defense to remove a sanction against it was granted

on the spot with no chance for study of the motion or

rebuttal by the plaintiff. In these circumstances the

district court’s delay in responding to plaintiff’s mo-

tion is not a valid justification for its denial, particu-

larly when the issue involved an established practise

of CU of recommending its own alternatives to market-

place products.

g. Finally, we note that in Williams v. Lee, 358

U. S. 217, 218, the Court granted certiorari because

there was an “important question” and because of a

“doubtful determination” of the court below. There

can be few clearer instances of plain error than in the

embrace by the lower courts of the preposterous con-

tention that a fireplace acts in cold weat>er as the

refrigerator of the “heated” space. This is a classic

instance in which unacceptable procedures produced

an unacceptable result, and where certiorari is the

last life-line between the courts and the rational, re-

sponsible treatment of an important question. The

importance of wood-energy is to be gauged by its very

wide use in American homes, by the fact that it ac-

counts for more than 70% of all the renewable energy

sources in use in the United States, and by the fact

that its contribution (R71) to the national energy

budget is comparable to that of nuclear power.

2. In Cranberg v. Associated Press and Austin

American Statesman.

Before either of these cases came to trial it was ob-

vious that Judge Shannon was not going to permit

-20-

proper discovery of AP personnel. The Court signed a

Protective Order in AP’s favor (R72) while Dr. Cran-

berg was in New York City to take depositions at AP

headquarters which had been properly noticed. He

then suggested that Dr. Cranberg file a Rule 37 Mo-

tion (R73) to punish AP for failing to cooperate in

the formulation of a proper plan of discovery, but the

Court never acted on the motion and never permitted

any AP discovery other than that of reporter Sullivan.

The only sanctions invoked have been against Dr.

Cranberg, for costs (A2).

The refusal of discovery is in clear violation of the

precedent in Herbert v. Lando, 441 U.S. 153 (1979),

and by itself is ample grounds for remand and re-trial.

Not only is there direct evidence of the involvement of

AP headquarters in the decision to do a story on “En-

counter with Consumers Union”, but indisputable

evidence was reluctantly extracted from witnesses

Berliner ana Sullivan that they had consorted together

at AP’s Baltimore bureau. Their activities there re-

main to be discovered.

Another unresolved mystery awaiting discovery is

the content of AP’s libel insurance policy, which should

have been produced in November, 1982, under Rule

26(b) (2) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. Its

discovery was ordered by the Court, (R14), but AP

simply stonewalled and the court refused to act against

it. AP has verily been a law unto itself in this case thus

far, and the only hope that it will be called to account

in this case is favorable action on this petition.

On May 7, 1985, Chief Justice Burger, in an address

to the American Society of Newspaper Publishers in

Miami,’ warned of “anarchy in the law” if the Su-

preme Court continues to be deluged with cases. He

*“Court’s caseload risks anarchy in the law, publishers are

told”, Tom Fiedler, Miami Herald, May 8, 1985, p. 17.

~

warned that the lower courts might ignore upper court

rulings in expectation they would not be overruled,

and he stated ‘some careful observers, some respons-

ible observers think this is already happening”’.

Not only has this already happened in this case with

the defiance by the district court of the discovery pre-

cedent established by Herbert v. Lando, (R75), and

the complete neglect of the issue by the Court of Ap-

peals, but “anarchy in the law” is the most eloquent

description of the trial of both of these cases.

A “trial” is by definition a trial of issues raised by a

plaintiff in pleadings. Due process requires the order-

ly process by which those issues are presented through

the stages of a) pre-trial hearing and pre-trial order,

b) opening statements, c) presentation of the case in

main by the party having the burden of proof.

All three elements were absent from the proceed-

ings in Judge Shannon’s courtroom and there was

therefore no orderiy trial of the issues, but a helter-

skelter process aptly characterized as “anarchy in the

law”, and epitomized by Judge Shannon’s ruling

“Everyone has a running objection to hearsay and

they are all overruled” (R76).

Chief Judge Clark of the Court of Appeals, in giv-

ing its decision, cited his own prior opinion in Ruiz v.

Estelle, 679 F.2d 1115, 1129, modified 688 F.2d 266

(5th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 460 U. S. 1042, 103 S.Ct.

1438, 75 L.Ed. 795 (1988), to justify the “unusual

procedures” (A4) in this case. But none of the three

elements of fair trial identified above was absent in

the Ruiz cases, nor was there any such blanket aban-

donment of the Federal Rules of Evidence as has just

been cited from the record of these cases. In any case,

to compare the trial of Ruiz, which lasted a full year,

with these astonishingly abbreviated cases is to com-

pare a whale with a minnow. It is as disingenuous as

the finding that AP had no motive to concoct a media

- 29.

event which cloaked its fellow non-profit journalists

from embarrassment so painful as to bring them runn-

ing to a Meeting they had promised not to attend,

climaxed by their public exposure in the scardalous

“bugging” of Dr. Cranberg at the scientific meeting.

The key trial testimony devoted to the issues involving

the Austin American Statesman is (R77) as follows:

Dr. Cranberg: Mr. Crowell hasn’t testified yet.

The Court: Who?

Dr. Cranberg: Mr. Crowell, the city editor of the

Austin American Statesman.

The Court: Don’t call him on my account.

Dr. Cranberg: Well, I know the hour is late...

Thus the court was prepared to give a decision on a

case in which it had denied Summary Judgment with-

out hearing from a single witness concerning the

issues in the Austin American-Statesman case.

The few hours devoted to testimony in the AP case

showed there was no denial by the defense that Dr.

Cranberg correctly summarized Sullivan’s testimony

as follows (R80):

“You have twice refused to take a polygraph test,

you produced thiee different versions of what al-

legedly transpired, you refused to re-enact the scene

(of the physical struggle) ...”

In an era in which discriminatory reference to age

is widely deplored and is the subject of the Age Dis-

crimination in Employment Act (R81), the following

words from the decision of Judge Shannon in this case

deserve to be widely cited as an example of how judges

should not render decision:

“The young inan, I don’t know how young he is, but

the young man here from the AP, I believe the young

man, I think he is telling the truth” (A1).

It should be observed that these are the words of a

judge who had not yet reached his 41st birthday.

The “physical struggle”, according to Berliner,

Pee ae er ee ee ee

- 23.

(R86) occurred in the course of a series of pictures

taken of a mock conversation between Cranberg and

Berliner to accomodate the photographer from Dis-

cover magazine. Neither the pictures nor the identity

of the photographer was disclosed at trial. The photo-

grapher is now known and her pictures are now avail-

able. They would be an extremely important contribu-

tion to the record of a re-trial of these cases. Their

absence from the trial below is one direct result of the

refusal of the district court to permit essential AP

discovery as required by Herbert v. Lando.

Judge Shannon, in his insensitive concluding re-

marks, observed of the “physical struggle” that it made

the participants seem equally “childish and irrespons-

ible’ (Al), completely ignoring CU’s diversionary

motive and Dr. Cranberg’s senior status.

3. The scientist as public figure

The district court found the petitioner to be a public

figure and concluded as follows (Al): “Consumers

Union—if I am wrong about the truth of the article...

even to a gross extent, completely wrong, figures are

entirely reversed—lI just don’t see any malice’.

The Court of Appeals, on the other hand, found all

the contested statements true, declared (A4) that it

was “unnecessary to reach the issues of whether Cran-

berg was a public figure or actual malice existed”’.

But the reasoning of the lower court in making its

public figure determination finds its way into judicial

precedent, and that reasoning is as follows (Al):

“Dr. Cranberg, rather than depending on the Court to re-

solve this matter in a libel or slander action or disparagement

of product action, you elected to go public yourself and ad-

dress a convocation of physicists . .. and even called attention

of the press in advance. . . that made you a public figure and

their subsequent writings are to be tested by the standard of

malice, and the young man, Sullivan, was not malicious, was

not a malicious person, not toward you in this case.”

sh.

Clearly these lower court findings are a far cry from

reasonable standards of judicial competence and the

preference of the courts for non-litigative remedies.

Justice Powell, in Gertz v. Welch, 418 U. S. 344 put

the matter thus:

“The first remedy of any victim of defamation is self-help”.

But following Judge Shannon, we can expect in-

stead of polite discourse at professional meetings a

mud-slinging match unrestrained by any threat of

legal action. The courts are thus making new rules for

the entire professional community which in New York

Times v. Sullivan the Supreme Court had adopted for

journalists—namely, that in the discussion of public

questions it was desirable to be “uninhibited, robust

and wide-open.”

At the same time that the Court reviews the public

figure finding in this case, it should surely review the

argument presented by the petitioner to the lower

court (R90) that no determination of public figure

status can be even minimally faithful to the intent of

New York Times v. Sullivan without a determination

of the relative degrees of media access of parties to a

public controversy. These cases, in which a lone scient-

ist is pitted against three giants of the media, exhibit

in the starkest possible terms the absurdity of a public

figure finding whose origin was in the idea of a fair

fight between equals. The descriptions given of the

respondent parties in this Petition reveal not only how

formidably powerful each one is in its own domain, but

how interlinked they are. And there is a further, sinis-

ter aspect to the secret operations of the Libel Defense

Resource Center located on the premises of the law

firm which has long represented Consumers Union

and shares legal staff with it.

A re-consideration of New York Times v. Sullivan

should also take account of the ways in which that de-

x 2

cision may have affected the fact-finding processes of

the lower courts in media cases. Those effects are ob-

vious in that decision itself, where the Court, with un-

accustomed speed, not only overturned two hundred

years of libel law, but then proceeded to apply the new

rule of law to the facts in the case, and, finding no

actual malice, exonerated the New York Times.

It is particularly pertinent in the context of these

very expeditiously handled cases to ask what effect

New York Times v. Sullivan has had on the quality of

fact-finding in cases such as these, in which the judge

was the fact-finder. Does Times send a signal to the

lower courts that not only is a free press a precious

right, but that it is more precious than almost any

other, including the right to due process, and that “the

end justifies the means’’?

Thus, the granting of certiorari in this case would

not only open up the overt issues created by New York

Times v. Sullivan, which were recently discussed at

length in Dun & Bradstreet v. Greenmoss Builders,

Inc., but it would focus on a contagion which has

spread into due process that has given the public a

cynical view of courts intent on vindicating the press

by fair means or foul. It is a contagion with an obvious

remedy: reversal of the decision in New York Times

v. Sullivan. Not only would such action put an end to

two decades of inordinate confusion in our courts over

the law of libel, but it would have a sobering effect on

our media, which, under modern technological condi-

tions, have become a fourth arm of government which

threatens to be the most powerful of all. That power

is plainly shown to extend to our lower courts in these

actions, where the evidence is entirely against the

media, but the courts were entirely for the media.

An important fact about libel clearly brought out in

these cases and overlooked in New York Times v. Sul-

livan is that libelous falsehoods do not merely affect

- 26 -

the individual who is its target, but also the collective

interests which are obscured or damaged as a consequ-

ence. Redress of such dangerous error should be prompt

and effective. Dr. Cranberg’s demand for $1,000 per

day until a retraction appeared was a prudent and

responsible action considering the stakes involved both

for him and for the public, which was being grossly

misinformed and being led toward products (wood-

stoves in this case) which were clearly dangerous.

New York Times represented a risky compromise

with truth in exchange for benefits which have never

been shown to be substantial. The “chill” of First

Amendment rights that was feared from libel suits

against the media had the same kind of factual founda-

tion as the myth that the fireplace itself is a chilling

device.

4. Pro Se Rights in the Fifth Circuit

At no time did the district court fault the compe-

tence of the pro se party before him for any defect of

scientific or legal knowledge. On the contrary, Judge

Shannon asked the plaintiff to explain the precedential

ease, Bose v. CU (R91) and the judge asked several

questions which revealed complete ignorance of the

case, although it had been cited numerous times in

pre-trial briefs. There is no evidence in the record

that the presiding judge had any greater command of

the law or of courtroom procedure than the plaintiff.

Nevertheless, the Court of Appeals justified “un-

usual procedures” by stating (A4): “the judge’s par-

ticipation and evidentiary rulings tended to assist

Cranberg, a pro se litigant who represented himself

well, though he lacked familiarity with procedural

rules”. And again in discussing the irregularity of the

trial, the Court of Appeals asserted, (A4):

“When a pro se litigant, even one as skillful as Cran-

berg, goes to trial against a party represented by a

member of the bar, the responsibility of the trial judge

-27-

may warrant participation which differs markedly

from what would be appropriate to a trial between

adversaries represented by counsel.”

The foregoing justifications for unusual procedures

are not an exculpation of them but an aggravation of

them, unsupported as they are by a word of justifica-

tion from statutes or cases, or the record of the cases.

They are a bitter pill to swallow in the light of the

fact that all has been given to the respondents and the

petitioner has been taxed for costs, while his livelihood

has been damaged and his reputation has been be-

smirched by both lower courts. If this decision stands,

a precedent will have been established that renders

worthless the right of self-representation in any court.

In singling out the pro se status of the petitioner as

a pretext for “unusual procedures’, the court followed

an argument in the brief of AA-S’ counsel to the

Court of Appeals (he was also counsel to CU)—name-

ly, that what happened at trial “was appropriate with

a pro-se party and in a non-jury context” (R93). That

statement, in all its self-serving arrogance, unsup-

ported by a single relevant precedent, is a further clear

warning that this case is a fundamental threat to the

hallowed right of self-representation in our courts.

Self-representation is a statutory right (28 USCS

§ 1654) deeply rooted in our own history and in the

common law. It is vital to. “Equal Justice under Law”

in an era when only the very wealthy and the very

poor can afford professional legal representation. In

an age of expanding literacy and ever-increasing stan-

dards of education, it is ever more likely to be com-

petently exercised.

The pro se party, who is most familiarly sharacter-

ized as a “fool” within the very bosom of the legal pro-

fession, as a group is at least as deserving of proper

preservation of its legitimate rights as any other. And

to speak with obvious condescension of rights “ap-

-28.-

propriate with a pro se party” in legal arguments to a

court of law (R93) is an affront which should not bear

repetition in any proceeding before a U. S. Court.

5. Equal Justice in the U. S. Claims Court.

It was the remarkably good fortune of the petitioner

in these cases to plead a cause (Cranberg v. The United

States, Case No. 417-81C) before Judge Robert M. M.

Seto concurrently with these cases. The trial lasted

eighteen days. A decision is being awaited. But on one

vital point—due process—the verdict has already been

entered as far as this pro se party is concerned. That

verdict is an unambiguous finding that pro se rights

are recognized by some judges and by some courts in

the federal system, and that the difference between

what happened in Judge Seto’s court in Washington,

D. C. and in the court of Judge Fred Shannon on Sept.

13-14, 1984, in San Antonio, Texas, is the difference

between due process and a “docket-clearing exercise.”

The contrast extends from pre-trial and discovery,

to a trial in meticulous accord with rules of evidence,

to post-trial briefs. The disparity in post-trial proceed-

ings is particularly noteworthy in view of the comment

of the Court of Appeals (A4) that "On the other hand,

the court also permitted the parties to make a liberal

supplementation of the record of the trial; Cranberg

admits his supplementation was ‘massive’ "'.

The facts are that petitioner made massive supple-

mentations in timely manner on Sept. 26, 1983, (R97,

R98), but so far as the records of both cases are con-

cerned (R99) both sank without a trace. What has

been neglected is veritably scandalous, including test

data, safety data, and proof of the fraudulence of De-

fense Exhibit N, attributed to Lawrence Berkeley

Laboratory.

6. Article III Judge.

On Sept. 29, 1983, local newspapers carried the story

that District Judge Shannon had unexpectedly an-

- 29 -

nounced his intention to resign from the federal bench

effective Jan. 1, 1984. Petitioner promptly prepared a

Motion for New Trial and New Judge with an extend-

ed brief (R100) arguing that Judge Shannon had

ceased effectively to be an Article III judge—i. e., a

judge serving for good behavior. This motion was filed

prior to issue of Final Judgment (A2) in these cases,

which was entered on Oct. 19, 1983. The Motion was

denied shortly thereafter by Judge Shannon.

The brief on this question gave numerous argu-

ments and cited Northern Pipeline Construction Co. v.

Marathon Pipeline Construction Co. and U. S., U. S.

Sup. Ct. Rep, 73. L. Ed.2d, p. 598, and especially Note

10. This citation was ignored by the Court of Appeals.

The number of judges leaving the federal bench has

increased dramatically in recent years (R101). It

would be eminently timely for the Supreme Court to

grant certiorari in these cases and to indicate that it

will have no tolerance for “docket-clearing” actions.

Parties with pending cases—especially those in which

the judge is fact-finder—should know that their judge

is not a lifetime judge, and should have the option of

transfer to someone who is a lifetime judge.

The Court of Appeals (A4) denied the Article ITI

argument on the ground that no substantive impropri-

ety was proved. But it ignored the issue of appearance

of impropriety which is explicit in the Code of Judicial

Conduct, Canon 2, and was surely in the minds of the

authors of Article III of our Constitution in providing

lifetime tenure for federal judges.

It disturbs appearances when a judge takes control

of a non-jury case from one judge, who has been

handling the case to the satisfaction of one side, and

then throws his weight conspicuously on the other side.

The disturbance is greater when the latter judge sur-

prises everyone by announcing intention to resign from

the bench six months later. It disturbs appearances

-30-

still more if said judge then rules against the favored

side on summary judgment, and then holds a trial in

which he is fact-finder which is the most summary

imaginable, but in full support of those denied sum-

mary judgment.

Summary and Conclusion

A suggestive analogy to these cases is that of Nader

v. General Motors, with fire-safety in place of auto-

safety, “Encounter with Consumers Union,” in place of

“Unsafe at any Speed”, and with powerful corporate

entities resorting to scandalous means to discredit

critics. The greatest difference is in the legal outcomes

thus far. Certiorari could remedy that difference.

New York Times v. Sullivan can be viewed in re-

trospect as a Noble Experiment in enlarging the dis-

cretion of the press. But like another Noble Experi-

ment—that with the Eighteenth Amendent—it has

proven flawed by a lack of realism about competing

interests, human frailty, and problems of enforcement.

It is time that both Noble Experiments met the same

fate, and certiorari is an available means.

There is a striking resemblance between the alleged

“chilling” effect of libel suits on First Amendment

rights and the alleged chilling effect of the fireplace.

Neither has any evidence to support it worth men-

tioning; both are actively promoted by the media; and

both are reckless abandonments of common-sense and

age-old principles and practices.

It would be sweet and economical justice if recogni-

tion of the truth about the fireplace were also to be -

the occasion for reversing New York Times v. Sullivan,

for preserving and vindicating the usefulness of pro

se action, and for safeguarding the integrity and con-

sistency of standards of the federal bench. Certiorari

in these cases could yield all those benefits.

Respectfully submitted,

Lawrence Cranberg

-$1-

Appendix Al

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

SAN ANTONIO DIVISION

LAWRENCE CRANBERG

vs. A81CA496 and A82CA208 consolidated

CONSUMERS UNION

ASSOCIATED PRESS and AUSTIN AMERICAN

STATESMAN

Proeceedings Held Sept. 14, 1983:

Court’s Pronouncements and Rulings

JUDGE FRED SHANNON: Ladies and gentlemen,

do you want to know what I think about it now or in

the morning? Doctor, today or tomorrow?

DR. CRANBERG: Today.

MR. DONALDSON: On behalf of the Austin

American Statesman, we simply need to get into the

record some exhibits and some testimony from Dr.

Cranberg concerning his public figure status and also

it is important to ask a couple of questions on cross- .

examination.

THE COURT: Okay. I am ready to call it.

MR. DONALDSON: In that case, if I could merely

have the exhibits marked and introduced into evi-

dence—

THE COURT: Each side can perfect the record

however they desire to do so. I may not be able to come

to the correction decision in every case but each side of

the case can be certain that I will help you get into the

record anything you want to appeal the case.

Dr. Cranberg, you are a good man with a good in-

vention, but in my judgment you do not have a good

lawsuit, and the reasons are several:

EEE eS

> a

Start with the analysis done L, Consumer’s Union.

Could have been better, they could have done more

tests, but I did not have a test that refutes their find-

ings; so, in my limited scientific ability, I have to

assess what they have done on my own. What they have

done—although I can’t verify the figures up here, but

looking at the results of the test, it squares, it is con-

sistent with logic. Closed windows over a fireplace,

I think it is clearly demonstrated that you are going

to keep more heat in the house; everybody agrees to

that. If you burn a fireplace while you have got your

central heat running, you are wasting energy. Every-

body knows that. That is your practice as I recall from

your testimony. Either reduce your central heat or

turn it off while you are consuming the wood.

The second column, although the numbers may not

be corect exactly, demonstrate that. You don’t burn a

fireplace without windows over it while your central

heat is running. If you do, you are going to lose energy

and waste money and it will go right up the chimney.

So, the specifics of the matter. It doesr:.*t seem to be

too unreasonable—nobody has pointed out to me why

the other studies that Mr. Greenhaus said supported

his findings of 7500 BTU cast-off or whatever it is

called was unreasonable. Nobody told me why. I don’t

see why it is unreasonable.

I think if I had the authority as a judge to do it, I

might require that there be clarifications put in the

magazine with regard to certain things that were not

handled as precisely as they could have been, but I

can’t do that in the absence of a finding of liability.

That is why I suggested you ladies and gentlemen try

to settle the case.

The accuracy of the Consumers Union report, then.

The burden is on the Plaintiff to prove that it is inac-

curate and the proof fails. Therefore, the findings

must be for the defendant, Consumers Union.

>]

- 33 -

_ Just as an aside, I think it is kind of—both sides

may have missed the—well, enough said about that

subject.

The scuffle, the struggle or scuffle, fight, whatever

it is called. The young man—I don’t know how young

he is, but the young man here from the AP—I believe

the young man. I think he is telling the truth. I think

he called it like he saw it; got no motive. As a matter of

fact, my reading of the article, if it is critical to any-

one, it is just as critical to Mr. Berliner as it is to Dr.

Cranberg. It takes two to fight, if that’s what it was.

It takes two to struggle. If it implies hat Dr. Cranberg

was childish or irresponsible, it says the same thing

about Dr. Berliner or Mr. Berliner. I think what hap-

pened in the heat of the moment, that, Dr. Cranberg,

you felt wronged and I think Mr. Berliner felt wronged

over the thing. I think the dispute had grown dispro-

portionate to the possible resolution of it and became

beyond repair pretty quickly there at this convention

and that in the heat of the moment not only was there

a struggle over a tape recorder but there was provably

language used that hasn’t been revealed in court. That

is they way I see it. I don’t say that anybody has delib-

erately lied in court or been untruthful w:th me. I just

don’t think that when things happen in the heat of the

moment the participants, especially the one who seems

most aggrieved is the best able to recollect what hap-

pened.

In any event, in the final analysis, there is no ma-

lice in the case. If I am wrong about the truth of the

article, if 1 am incorect about that, even to a gross ex-

tent, completely wrong, the figures are entirely re-

versed, I just don’t see any malice. I just don’t see any

malice.

Consumers Union is not going to sell more by dis-

paraging a product than they are going to by standing

up for a product, as I understand it. They sell maga-

s

- 34 -

zines because people want information about a good

product to buy. They have a stake in being impartial.

If a newspaper would print something that is sensa-

tional and stretched the truth to the point of breaking,

they might sell more newspapers with lurid headlines

and the like, but I don’t see that is the function of Con-

sumer Reports (sic). I don’t see any evidence that any-

body with Consumers Union had it in for this product

or any product, for that matter.

One of the gentlemen testified that these things were

all done by number, that the testers didn’t know who

the products were. I believe that. They didn’t know who

these products belonged to until they got ready to write

the article, and with regard to the AP and the Austin

American Statesman, there is no malice, and that

would be the standard in my opinion, as to the AP and

the Austin American Statesman because Dr. Cranberg,

rather than depending upon the Court to resolve the

matter in a liable for slander action or disparagement

of product action, you elected to go public yourself and

address a convocation of physicists I assume from all

over the United States and even called tire attention of

the press to it in advance. So, they responded in kind.

But in any event, by you going public to the press,

asking a national organization to investigate, that

made you a public figure, and their subsequent writ-

ings, then, are to be tested by the standard of malice,

and the young man, Sullivan, was not malicious, not a

malicious person, not toward you in this case.

What else can I comment on or what else do you

want to hear from me on? Doctor? Lawyers? What

else?

MR. DYE: A deadline upon supplementing the rec-

ord so that it can be concluded. You mentioned that you

would cooperate with the parties if there was to be any

supplementation. For the record, we would just like

for there to be a deadline for it.

- 35 -

THE COURT: Deadline is 5:00 p.m. on the 26th

of September.

I don’t want to have to file any more findings of fact

or conclusions of law in this case. What else do I need

to do?

MR. GEORGE: You need to find in the slander and

the Berliner report to the Society he read there about

the $1,000 a day.

THE COURT: The $1,000 a day, he gave an accu-

rate description of what had been posted.

What else do I need comment on, Doctor?

You have got the best Fireframe. You have got the

best grate ever made, Doctor. The problem with it is—

there are no problems with your grate or your frame.

This comparison pitted it against a fire built on a

hearth; that’s all. What they should have acknowledged

—and I think they did acknowledge—they should have

been more glowing, because your fireframe is the best

that I know about, and comparing it to grates, without

a doubt, comparing it to grates that have no blowers

and whatever it is the best. It is better than the tubular

things, right? In any event, what else do you want me

to comment on?

DR. CRANBERG: I introduced a motion just be-

fore the start of this trial with respect to the violation

of the Lanham Act by Consumers Union. Have you had

an opportunity to examine that?

THE COURT: Yes, I did. I don’t see a violation of

the Lanham Act by a passing off or a disparagement,

intentional harm.

DR. CRANBERG: May I make a comment, your

Honor?

THE COURT: Yes, sir.

DR. CRANBERG: This admirable invention which

you praised is hopefully deserving of that praise by

the way in which the market responds to it, and I

think that the response of the market place—I am

- 36-

pleased that you appreciate the merits of the device,

your Honor.

THE COURT: Well, Doctor, comparing grates, you

win. My wife wanted fireplaces and in my house we

have a lot of fireplaces, and I don’t build fires on the

hearth, every one, but for people that are willing to

build a fire on the hearth, then worry with ashes and

the like, that is probably the way to get the most heat,

at least based on these tests, and I can’t say that they

are wrong, but for people who are going to use grates

in their fireplaces, I think Consumers Union said yours

is the best.

DR. CRANBERG: Your Honor, would you consider

the following possibility?

THE COURT: I will consider anything.

DR. CRANBERG: I am going to address the Na-

tional Academy of Sciences. They have taken a very

keen interest in the preliminaries of this case, and I

believe significant national interests are involved.

Wood burning—

THE COURT: Doctor, let me give you a piece of

advice.

DR. CRANBERG: Please.

THE COURT: If you will forget about national in-

terests, if you will forget about great overriding mat-

ters of policy, and go do the very simple thing—forget

about the interrelationship between Mr. or Mrs. Car-

patkin or son and daughter and the sinister overtones

of these kinds of things and go out and have your prod-

uct tested —

DR. CRANBERG: It has been your Honor.

THE COURT: Well, Doctor, I don’t know; there

has not been sufficient test in this record in my judg-

ment—to test it against a fire built right on a hearth.

Do that very simple thing, by the National Academy

of Sciences or these professional services. Who are

they? Some of them I hear about in products liability

- $7 -

cases, whatever. There are 3 or 4 basic testing com-

panies, enginering testing companies.

DR. CRANBERG: The suggestion I was going to

make, the reason I brought in the National Academy of

Sciences is not because I was trying to be highfaloot-

ing—

THE COURT: I am not saying you are being high-

falooting or anything. What I am telling you is what

has been overlooked in this case, Doctor, is the very

simplest of things. This whole case got started in per-

haps anger, misunderstanding, I don’t know, but it

comes down to trial right here and now, and your op-

ponents are the only people that have tested it and

given me the results and explained the test with engi-

neers in this court room.

DR. CRANBERG: I incurred expenses of about

$2,000 in response to your interest in tests and I re-

tained this firm in Utah—

THE COURT: Apparently, you were very disap-

pointed in them.

DR. CRANBERG: No, sir. I was extremely pleased

by the results. Perhaps I was a little too stiffnecked

with respect to the fact that the gentleman mislead me

with respect to his credentials. I’d like to introduce

those results into the record. I have no motive what-

soever to withhold them. There is nothing in the re-

sults which is unfavorable to my product in any way.

THE COURT: You may supplement the record,

each side. When you supplement the record, you need

to call my attention to what you are putting in. If it

will change my opinion, I will tell you.

DR. CRANBERG: In connection with what I men-

tioned with the National Academy of Sciences Service,

one of the great problems involved in the evaluation of

these devices is a protocol, a set of criteria for testing

which will be both verifiable and meaningful in rela-

tion to the consumer market place. Until such a proto-

- 38-

col is established, it will be possible to weaver around

the vital issues, and if I may say so, in no disrespect

to the defendants or to muddy the waters, I feel that

the important thing to do is to establish a protocol and

identify a neutral party who is thoroughly competent.

This report on cancer, a 19” color TV is generally com-

petent, and I feel that one of the ways that this could

be done would be by the appointment of a master by

the Court, perhaps with a nomination from the Acade-

my, for the purpose of generating a protocol, meaning-

ful test procedure—

THE COURT: Doctor—

DR. CRANBERG: —and report back to the Court.

THE COURT: Doctor, this case is over with; this

case is finished. You are talking about where to go

from here. It seems like you have got two options:

number one, justifiably claim that you are the best

grate around and fight Consumer’s Union with sup-

port of that fact.

DR. CRANBERG: Surely, you are jesting, your

Honor.

THE COURT: I am not jesting with you, Doctor.

That is the problem with the case. I don’t think we

really understand. Consumers Union supports your

claim that that is the best firegrate in the world. They

just say that building the fire not on the grate but on

the hearth is better. So, if you want to make the chal-

lenge, you can take this article and go forth to the

world and claim that Consumers Union supports your

firegrate. Am I right about that? Isn’t that what this

article says?

MR. GEORGE: Twice as good as the standard

grate; that is what it says.

THE COURT: And a lot better than the things that

are tubular, too, unless they have a blower in them.

MR. GEORGE: Better than that, too; that’s what

the numbers say.

-39-

THE COURT:So, here is the choice, Doctor. Here

is the way I see it. You have a basic choice. You can

march forward with Consumers Union as your weapon

in the sale of a firegrate to people what want to build

their fires above the hearth and you’ve got to win. It’s

a compliment.

Now, if you want to prove that your grate is better

than no grate, that is a different matter. You are still

going to knock heads with Consumers Union and this

article and other scientists. You follow me?

DR. CRANBERG: I follow you, sir.

THE COURT: The choice is yours, but as to this

case, as to this case, in a contest between a grate above

the ground and one built on the hearth, the burden has

not been carried and it is time to draw the matter to a

close. Case dismissed with prejudice. Get everything

filed by September 26th, 5:00 p.m. Point out to me

what you are filing. If it changes my mind, I will noti-

fy you.

DR. CRANBERG: Your Honor, would you be kind

enough to explain “with prejudice”?

THE COURT: That means that this issue as be-

tween these parties shall never be litigated again. If

you want to try it again, file notice of appeal and carry

the case to the Fifth Circuit, Doctor.

MR. DYE: In connection with the findings, your

Honor, can we request a finding that the story, the AP

story, in its totality is a fair and accurate rendition of

what transpired at the meeting as a finding of fact?

THE COURT: Yes, it is a fair and accurate rendi-

tion.

MR. DONALDSON: May we have that finding as

to the Austin American Statesman?

THE COURT: Yes, sir. Good luck. God bless. I wish

everybody could win. I am sorry you can’t. Court is in

recess. Make sure we have all the exhibits for this rec-

ord. If you take any out, leave a receipt.

- 40 -

Court Reporter’s Certificate

I, Blake W. Stevens, Jr., Official Court Reporter,

United States District Court, Western District of Tex-

as, do hereby certify that the foregoing pages 1

through 12 constitute a true and correct transcript

from my stenotype notes the Court’s rulings in the case

of Lawrence Cranberg vs Consumers Union/Associa-

ted Press and Austin American Statesman in A81CA-

496 and A82CA208 held Sept. 14, 1983.

Witness my signature in the city of San Antonio,

Texas this 16th day of September, 1983.

Blake W. Stevens, Jr.

Official Court Reporter

United States District Court

Western District of Texas

San Antonio Division

BGT

Appendix A2

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

AUSTIN DIVISION

LAWRENCE CRANBERG

vs. A-81-CA-496

CONSUMERS UNION

FINAL JUDGMENT

On the 13th day of September, 1983, came on to be

heard the above entitled and numbered cause and

Lawrence Cranberg, the plaintiff, appeared in person

and acting pro se and announced ready for trial and

Consumers Union, the defendant, appeared by and

through its respective representatives and attorneys

of record and announced ready for trial and no jury

having been demanded, all matters of fact and things

in controversy were submitted to the Court.

The Court, after hearing the evidence and argu-

ments of counsel, is of the opinion that the plaintiff

should take nothing by this suit.

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED, ADJUDGED,

AND DECREED that the plaintiff take nothing by

this suit, that defendant be in all things discharged,

and that the above entitled and numbered cause be,

and hereby is, dismissed with prejudice to the refiling

of same. All costs of court are taxed against the plain-

tiff for which let execution issue.

All relief not expressly granted herein is denied.

SIGNED this 19 day of Oct., 1983.

Fred Shannon

United States District Judge

Da

YS

Approved as to Form:

Lawrence Cranberg, pro se

Graves, Dougherty, Hearon

& Moody

2300 InterFirst Bank Tower

Austin, Texas 78701

By: R. James George, Jr.

Attorneys for Defendant

Consumers Union

By: Todd N. Wade

for telephone authorization

2115J

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

AUSTIN DIVISION

LAWRENCE CRANBERG

vs. A-82-CA-208

ASSOCIATED PRESS and

AUSTIN AMERICAN STATESMAN

FINAL JUDGMENT

On the 13th day of September, 1983, came on to be

heard the above entitled and numbered cause and Law-

rence Cranberg, the plaintiff, appeared in person and

acting pro se and announced ready for trial and Asso-

ciated Press and Austin American-Statesman, the de-

fendants, appeared by and through their respective

representatives and attorneys of record and announced

ready for trial and no jury having been demanded, all

matters of fact and things in controversy were sub-

mitted to the Court.

- 43 -

The Court, after hearing the evidence and argu-

ments of counsel, is of the opinion that the plaintiff

should take nothing by this suit.

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED, ADJUDGED,

AND DECREED that the plaintiff take nothing by

this suit, that defendants be in all things discharged,

and that the above entitled and numbered cause be,

and hereby is, dismissed with prejudice to the refiling

of same. All costs of court are taxed against the plain-

tiff for which let execution issue.

All relief not expressly granted herein is denied.

SIGNED this 19 day of October, 1983.

Fred Shannon

United States District Judge

Approved as to Form:

Lawrence Cranberg, pro se

Brown, Maroney, Rose, Baker

& Barber

1300 American Bank Tower

Austin, Texas 78701

By: Charlie D. Dye

Attorneys for Defendant,

Associated Press

Graves, Dougherty, Hearon,

& Moody

2300 InterFirst Bank Tower

Austin, Texas 78701

By: R. James George, Jr.

Attorneys for Defendant,

Austin American-Statesman

By: Todd H. Wade

per telephone authorization

21143

-44-

Appendix A3

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

AUSTIN DIVISION

LAWRENCE CRANBERG

vs. CIVIL ACTION NO.

CONSUMERS UNION OF USS., Inc. A-81-CA-496

ORDER

Came on for decision plaintiff Lawrence Cranberg’s

Motion to File Supplemental Complaint. Having con-

sidered such motion and the fact that a trial on the

merits of said cause has been held and a decision by

_this Court rendered, and being of the opinion that the

plaintiff’s Motion should denied, it is accordingly

ORDERED, ADJUDGED and DECREED that

plaintiff plaintiff’s Motion to File Supplemental Com-

plaint is hereby DENIED. |

Signed this 21 day of Sept., 1983.

Fred Sheanon

United States District Judge

- 45 -

Appendix A4

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 83-1912

D. C. Docket Nos. CA-A-81-496 and CA-A-82-208

Lawrence CRANBERG,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

CONSUMERS UNION OF USS., INC.,

Defendant-Appellee.

Lawrence CRANBERG,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

ASSOCIATED PRESS and

Austin American Statesman,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Western District of Texas

Before CLARK, Chief Judge, WISDOM, and

HIGGINBOTHAM, Circuit Judges.

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the record on ap-

peal and was argued by counsel and Dr. Cranberg;

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREDOF, It is now here

ordered and adjudged by this Court that the judgment

of the said District Court in this cause be, and the

same is hereby, affirmed;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that plaintiff-ap-

~ 46-

pellant pay to defendants-appellees the costs on ap-

peal, to be taxed by the Clerk of this Court.

April 1, 1985

ISSUED AS MANDATE: May 24, 1985

OP-JDT-9

Rev. 2/85

A true copy '

Test: GILBERT F. GANUCHEAU

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit

By Della M. Jones

Deputy

New Orleans, Louisiana

MAY 24, 1985

Lawrence CRANBERG,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv

CONSUMERS UNION OF US., INC.,

Defendant-Appellee.

Lawrence CRANBERG,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

ASSOCIATED PRESS and

Austin American Statesman

Defendants-Appellees.

No. 83-1912.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

April 1, 1985.

Owner of manufacturer of fireplace grate brought

diversity actions for product disparagement and libel

- 47 -

against publisher of consumers’ magazine, which pub-

lished article critical of grate, and for libel against

newspaper wire service and newspaper. Cases were

consolidated for trial on issue of liability alone. The

United States District Court for the Western District

of Texas, Fred Shannon, Jr., J., entered judgment in

favor of all defendants, and owner appealed. The

Court of Appeals, Clark, Chief Judge, held that: (1)

record supported finding that both wire service ac-

count of altercation between inventor and representa-

tive of consumers’ magazine during scientific meeting

and newspaper’s published account of altercation

based on wire service account were fair and accurate;

(2) record supported finding that remarks by repre-

sentative of consumers’ magazine at scientific meeting

accurately described inventor’s communications to pub-

lisher of magazine, and thus could not be libelous; and

(3) record supported trial court’s conclusion that con-

sumers’ magazine’s tests of a number of fireplace de-

vices to determine their efficiency as domestic heat

sources were an accurate approximation of perform-

ance of fireplace add-ons for consumers, including

fireplace grate.

Affirmed.

1. Federal Courts—844

A reviewing court should respect credibility choices

made by fact-finder.

2. Libel and Slander—112 (3)

In libel suit, record supported finding that both wire

service account of altercation between inventor and

representative of consumers’ magazine during scientif-

ic meeting and newspaper’s published account of alter-

cation based on wire service account were fair and ac-

curate.

3. Libel and Slander—54

Under Texas law, truth is an absolute defense in

- 48 -

defamation actions. Vernon’s Ann.Texas Civ.St. art.

5481.

4. Libel and Slander—112(3)

In libel action, record supported finding that re-

marks by representative of consumers’ magazine at a

scientific meeting accurately described inventor’s com-

munications to publisher of magazine, and thus could

not be libelous. Vernon’s Ann.Texas Civ.St. art. 5431.

5. Libel and Slander—21

Owner of business manufacturing fireplace grate,

although not mentioned by name in consumers’ maga-

zine article critical of fireplace grate, was neverthe-

less entitled under Texas law to bring libel suit in his

own right, since those who knew or were acquainted

with owner understood from reading publication that

it referred to him. Vernon’s Ann.Texas Civ.St. art.

5430.

6. Libel and Slander—112(1)

In libel action brought against publisher of con-

sumers’ magazine by owner of business manufacturing

and selling fireplate grate, record supported trial

court’s conclusion that consumers’ magazine’s tests of

a number of fireplace devices to determine their ef-

ficiency as domestic heat sources were an accurate ap-

proximation of performance of fireplace add-ons for

consumers, including fireplace grate, and thus article

reporting results was not libelous.

7. Federal Courts—937

Mere fact that district court judge was contemplat-

ing a return to private practice at time he heard and

decided libel case was an insufficient assertion of pre-

judice, based on claim that “lame-duck” judges are

subject to outside pressures that life-time tenure un-

der Article III was designed to alleviate, to warrant

new trial. U.S.C.A. Const. Art. 3, § 1 et seq.

ig.

8. Federal Courts—941

Fact that district court judge, who announced two

weeks after disposition of instant case his intention to

leave bench and return to private practice, did not file

written findings of fact or conclusions of law did not

warrant new trial, based on concern that case was un-

fairly expedited to reduce workload of exiting judge,

where announced findings were supported by evidence,

were complete in that they addressed all questions at

issue, and were correct as to legal standards applied.

9. Federal Civil Procedure—1952

Conduct of a fair trial is vested in sound discretion

of trial judge.

10. Federal Civil Procedure—1969

Trial judge’s duty in conduct of a trial extends far

beyond ruling on objections and preserving decorum in

courtroom to affirmative obligation under Federal

Rules of Evidence to exercise reasonable control over

mode and order of interrogating witnesses and present-

ing evidenre so as to make interrogation and presenta-

tion effective for ascertainment of truth, avoid need-

less consumption of time, and protect witnesses from

harassment or undue embarrassment. Fed. Rules Evid.

Rule 611(a), 28 U.S.C.A.

11. Federal Civil Procedure—1969

As a common-law judge, district court judge has an

overall responsibility to see that trial is just and not

subject to delay; judge may question witnesses, elicit

facts, clarify evidence and pace trial.

12. Federal Civil Procedure—1969

On review, challenged conduct of trial judge will be

measured against a standard of fairness and impart-

iality.

13. Federal Civil Procedure—1969

Greater latitude should be allowed in conduct of a

- 50 -

bench trial than would be permitted in a trial con-

ducted with a jury since, in the former, there is no

possibility that judge’s actions might improperly in-

fluence jurors.

14. Federal Civil Procedure—1969

Record supported finding that judge who conducted

trial of libel action brought pro se acted skillfully and

conscientiously to develop and control the proof.

15. Federal Civil Procedure—840

In libel action, trial court did not abuse its discre-

tion in refusing to allow filing of supplemental com-

plaint requested by motion filed five days after trial

on merits was concluded.

16. Federal Civil Procedure—824, 834, 851

In exercising its discretion to grast or deny mo-

tions to amend pleadings, trial court may consider

such factors as undue delay, prejudice to opposing

parties, and futility of proposed amendment.

17. Federal Civil Procedure—834

Undue prejudice resulting from delay in seeking

leave to amend pleadings is sufficient grounds to deny

motion.

Appeal from the United States District Court for

the Western District of Texas.

Before CLARK, Chief Judge, WISDOM, and HIG-

GINBOTHAM, Circuit Judges.

CLARK, Chief Judge:

Dr. Lawrence Cranberg filed these diversity actions

for product disparagment and libel against Consum-

ers Union of United States, Inc., (Consumers Union),

the publisher of Consumer Reports magazine, and for

libel against the Associated Press (AP), and Cox En-

terprises, Inc., d/b/a Austin American-Statesman

(American-Statesman). These cases were consolidated

for trial on the issue of liability alone. In a nonjury

a.

trial, the district court found all defendants not liable.

We affirm the finding of the district court.

I

This law suit was sparked by an article that ap-

peared in the January 1981 issue of Consumer Re-

ports magazine. Dr. Cranberg claims this article libel-

ed him and disparaged his product, the Texas Fire-

frame. Cranberg is the sole proprietor of the Texas

Fireframe Company, which manufactures and sells

the Texas Fireframe, a grate he invented for use in

building the “slot fire.” Cranberg, a physicist, discov-

ered and patented the slot fire, also known as the

“physicist’s fire.” This fire is built by stacking logs

in a double-decked arrangement with a larger log in

the back. This “C” formation creater a cavity that

faces the room and acts as a natural radiator, generat-

ing intense heat which is directed out into the room

rather than up the chimney. The Texas Fireframe is

a doubledecked grate developed and patented by Cran-

berg to hold the logs in the proper stacked formation.

Along with promoting his Fireframe, Cranberg has

fervently waged a continuous battle against what he

calls the “anti-fireplace hoax’”—the belief that fire-

places are inefficient home heating sources because

they draw centrally heated air out of the room and al-

low more heated air to escape through the flue than

is sent back into the room. The record contains volumn-

nous examples of Cranberg’s activities and writings

directed toward dispelling this hoax. Throughout these

efforts, Cranberg has challenged the scientific basis

underlying the notion that fireplaces waste energy

and has asserted that his product, the Texas Fire-

frame, greatly improves fireplace efficiency.

In its January 1981 issue of Consumer Reports, Con-

sumer Union reviewed a number cf fireplace devices

to determine their efficiency as domestic heat sources.

As stated in the article, Consumers Union set out “to

a8.

see if a fireplace could be modified in order to pull its

weight as an auxiliary heat-provider.” One of the de-

vices tested and reported on was the Texas Fireframe.

To conduct its tests in a controlled environment,

Consumers Union built a calorimeter room, a room

specially designed to measure gain or loss of heat

energy. Each device was tested in this room under two

scenarios. One test estimated the net heat output in a

“log cabin” situation, where the air supplied to the

fire is not preheated. The “log cabin” output supposed-

ly shows how much heat is provided when the fireplace

is the only source of warmth. The second test dealt

with the more common situation, in which the fireplace

is operating in a centrally heated home. Unlike the

log cabin test, this scenario supposedly accounted for

the energy loss occurring from the fire’s being fueled

by air heated by another source.

As its benchmark for data comparison, Consumers

Union built what it called a simple or “standard” fire.

This arrangement had the logs placed directly on the

hearth, abutting the back wall, and the front of the

fireplace covered with a wiremesh screen. The measu-

rements collected from this base case provided a point

for relative comparison of the heat production data

collected from the ten devices Consumers Union tested

and reviewed. Upon completing its testing, Consum-

ers Union found this standard fire, without a grate or

add-on device of any kind, out-performed three of the

devices it tested, including the Texas Fireframe.

The discussion of the Texas Fireframe appeared

under a subheading “And sometimes you lose.’ The

The portion of the report discussing the Texas Fireframe

read as follows:

A few years back, science reporters gave a lot of atten-

tion to the “physicist’s fire.” A double-decked grate holds

logs stacked to form a cavity that faces the room and sup-

posedly radiates extra heat. And so it does, but not well

-53-

enough. The Fireframe’s cavity, in theory a perfect radia-

tor, proved less-than-perfect in practice. It also requires

careful tending, since logs change shape while burning.

Compared with a fire laid on an ordinary one-level grate,

the “physicist’s fire” did show a gain in the heat output—

but not enough to overcome losses introduced by the Fire-

frame itself. The Fireframe would produce an estimated

net loss of 2500 Btu an hour in a centrally heated room, we

judged. It did provide a gain of 5000 Btu per hour under

“unheated house” conditions, but that’s still less than you’d

get from a plain open fire built directly on the hearth.

discussion noted that the Texas Fireframe, while bet-

ter than ordinary grates, was not as good as Consum-

ers Union’s standard fire built directly on the hearth.

The article stated the Texas Firefraine would increase

the efficiency of a fireplace as compared to a regular

one-level grate, but would decrease the efficiency of a

fireplace in a centrally heated home as compared to a

fireplace with no grate and no device.

Cranberg believed the Consumer Reports article to

be completely in error, the testing procedures wholly

inaccurate and Consumers Union a perpetrator of the

anti-fireplace hoax. F alleged the article disparaged

his product and libeled his business and himself.

Cranberg attempted to rectify the perceived injus-

tice perpetrated by Consumers Union against him and

his grate. Cranberg prepared a paper disputing Con-

sumers Union’s findings and testing methods and em-

phasizing that the grateless fire, touted by Consumers

Union as more energy efficient, would not even ignite

and burn efectively. Cranberg wrote to Consumers

Union on January 19, 1981 to inform them he planned

to present his paper, tentatively titled “Plagarism,

Suppression of Evidence, and Misrepresentations in

Consumer Reports, January 1981,” at the April meet-

ing of the American Physical Society in Baltimore.

Cranberg further stated in his letter to Consumers

Union that if he did not receive an appropriate re-

-54-

sponse he would mail the paper to the Society with

copies to representatives of the media. When Cran-

berg had not received what he deemed an appropriate

response by January 27, he sent an abstract of his

paper to news organizations and media personalities

to publicize his side of the dispute with Consumers

Union. In a letter accompanying the abstract, Cran-

berg indicated he was challenging the publication and

intended to ask the Society to initiate a a thorough stu-

dy of Consumers Union. Dr. Cranberg’s express pur-

pose in sending these abstracts, and later the full text

of his paper, to these news organizations was to en-

courage the broadcast of his paper “at least as widely

as the story that had been written about [his] product

by Consumers Union, [and], preferably much more.”

Prior to the convening of the American Physical So-

ciety, Cranberg continued his media campaign with

mixed success.’? On the day of the Society meeting, be-

fore his presentation, Cranberg was interviewed by

various news representatives. As one of these inter-

view sessions was being conducted in the hallway out-

side the main meeting room, David Berliner, Director

of the Office of Public Information for Consumers

Union, approached Cranberg. Consumers Union had

sent Berliner to the meeting to respond to Cranberg’s

paper. A verbal confrontation began between Cran-

?In February 1981, Dr. Cranberg was in New York and con-

tacted various media representatives seeking to discuss his

dispute with Consumers Union. He met with editors from

The Wall Street Journal and Time magazine. The Wall Street

Journal ran a story entitled “A Burning Issue Among Physi-

cists: How to Place Logs in a Fireplace” and noted Cranberg

would appear at the American Physical Society meeting on

April 23.

After The Wall Street Journal story, Cranberg contacted

‘the American-Statesman. The American-Statesman sent a re-

porter to interview Cranberg. Cranberg was unhappy with the

interview and asked that the story not be run; it was not.

- 55 -

berg and Berliner. During the commotion, a fellow

Society member indicated that he was being tape re-

corded by Consumers Union. Although it is uncertain

whether the tape recorder was turned on, Cranberg,

believing it was, took the recorder and began recording

a message to Conumers Union denouncing surrepti-

tious recording. Berliner tried to take the recorder

away from Cranberg. Both men tugged at the ma-

chine; eventually one let go. Immediately following

this confrontation, Cranberg presented his paper to

the Society. Berliner followed with Consumer Union’s

statement. Both men were given opportunities for re-

buttal.

Associated Press reporter, Chris Sullivan, was cov-

ering the Society meeting at the request of the New

York AP ofice. Sullivan testified that he spoke to both

Cranberg and Berliner before the meeting; he wit-

nessed the struggle over the tape recorder, attended

the meeting and heard the presentations by both Cran-

berg and Berliner. He interviewed both Cranberg and

Berliner again after the meeting and was given writ-

ten copies of the presentations made by each. Sullivan’s

story went over the AP wire and was published by the

American-Statesman.

Following these events, Cranberg filed suit against

Consumers Union, the AP and the American-States-

man. These suits were consolidated for trial and heard

without a jury on the question of liability only. Dr.

Cranberg appeared-pro se at the trial and throughout

this appeal. In oral findings of facts and conclusions of

law issued at the concluion of the trial, the court credi-

ted Sullivan’s account of what occurred between Cran-

berg and Berliner. The court found that the AP story,

as written by Sullivan and reprinted by the American-

Statesman, was a fair and accurate rendition of what

occurred, that Dr. Cranberg was a public figure for

the purposes surrounding these events and that Cran-

-56-

berg failed to prove actual malice by either the AP or

the American-Statesman.

The district court also found the statements made

by Berliner before the American Physical Society were

substantially true. In addition, the district court found

Cranberg had voluntarily inserted himself into a pub-

lic controversy and had attempted to influence its reso-

lution, thus making him a public figure within the

limited context of the controversy with Consumers

Union. Because Cranberg was a public figure, the

court held he must prove actual malice which he failed

to do.

As to the claims against Consumers Union, the court

found Cranberg failed to disprove the accuracy of the

tests reporter in Consumers Report. The district court

also found there was no malice.

In addition to appealing the libel findings, Cranberg

asserts here that the trial judge was not an Article III

judge, that the court abused its discretion in denying

hi smotion to amend his complaint, and that he was

denied a fair trial. We address the libel isues first.

II

These events have spawned four ¢~parate libel claims:

1) a claim of libel and product disparagement against

Consumers Union for a review of the Texas Fireframe

in the January 1981 isue of Consumers Report; 2) a

claim of libel and slander against Consumers Union

for statements made by its representative, David Ber-

liner, before the American Physical Society; 3) a claim

of libel against the AP for its wire story about the

events at the Society meeting; and 4) a claim against

the American-Statesman for libel in reprinting the AP

story.

L.

We deal first with the claims against the AP and the

American-Statesman for the alleged libel against

Cranberg in the AP wire story. Cranberg’s complaints

. 57 -

against the articles were numerous. However, he ob-

jected most strenuously to the account of the struggle

with Berliner over the tape recorder, which Cranberg

denies ever occurred. He also objected to the headline,

“Firegrate inventor fights with consumer group offi-

cial,” added by the American-Statesman. The court

found both stories “fair and accurate rendition[s]’’ of

what transpired.

The court’s findings were based in part on credi-

bility decisions made after hearing conflicting testi-

mony as to whether a struggle over the tape recorder

actually occurred. Sullivan testified that he witnessed

a physical struggle between Cranberg and Berliner

over the tape recorder. Berliner testified that he and

Cranberg exchanged heated comments and struggled

over the tape recorder. Cranberg disputed these ac-

counts. He insisted no struggle occurred. He intro-

duced deposition testimony of a reporter from Discover

magazine and of the deputy executive secretary of the

Society to corroborate his version of the events. Al-

though both witnesses mentioned a lively verbal ex-

change, only the Society member positively stated he

never saw Cranberg’s hands on the recorder. The re-

porter from Discover said he could not recall seeing a

struggle, but it could have happened while he was

turned away. The court chose to believe Sullivan, an

impartial eyewitness, who “called it like he saw it.”

The court found Sullivan had no motive to be untruth-

ful or to distort his observations. Sullivan testified that

he received no directives as to what he would encounter

at the meeting or what to write; he had no precon-

ceived ideas, and he lacked any ties or bias for or

against Cranberg or Consumers Union. In making this

credibility choice, the court stated that “when things

happen in the heat of the moment, the participants,

especially the one who seems the most aggrieved’ is

seldom the one best able to recollect what happened.

- 58 -

Testimony from the AmericanStatesman indicated

the AP story was reprinted with only minor changes.

The city editor of the American-Statesman testified

that upon receiving the AP wire story he made some

minor editorial changes. He made no effort to contact

Cranberg to verify the story because he had an eye-

witness account from the AP, a reliable news service,

which he believed was accurate. He passed the story to

the copy desk where it was given the headline “Fire-

grate inventor fights with consumer group official.”

Cranberg objected to the word “fights” as an irksome

misrepresentation of the events. The court looked up

the word in the dictionary and found it meant, among

other things, “to oppose physically, to strive for the

mastery of . . . struggle, quarrel. . . .” The court’s ac-

ceptance of the AP article as accurate validates the al-

most identical reprinting by the American-Statesman

and the added headline.

(1,2) A reviewing court should respect credibility

choices made by the fact finder. Levine v. CMP Publi-

cations, Inc., 738 F2d 660, 672 n. 19, (1984), reh’g en

banc denied, 753 F.2d 1341 (5th Cir. 1985). “[D]ue

regard shall be given to the trial judge’s opportunity

to observe the demeanor of the witnesses.” Bose Corp.

v. Consumers Union, — U.S. —, 104 S.Ct. 1949, 1959,

80 L.Ed.2d 502 (1983). The record discloses no basis

for disturbing the credibility choice made below. Fur-

theremore, a comparison of the article with the docu-

ments on which Sullivan relied reveals no inaccuracies.

Thus, the trial court could have found the articles’ ren-

dition of the events were fair and accurate, and, there

is ample support for that conclusion. See Time, Inc. v.

Firestone, 424 U.S. 448, 457-59, 96 S.Ct. 958, 967-68,

47 L.Ed.2d 154 (1976).

(3) Under Texas law, truth is an absolute defense in

defamation actions. Tex.Rev.Civ.State.Ann. art. 5431

(Vernon 1958); Mitcham v. Board of Regents, Uni-

-59-

versity of Texas, 670 S.W.2d. 371, 373 (‘Tex.App.—

Texarkana 1984, no writ); Traweek v. Radio Brady,

Inc., 441 S.W.2d 240, (Tex.Civ.App.—Austin 1969,

writ ref’d n.r.e.) ; Gulf Construction Co. v. Mott, 442

S.W.2d 778, 784 (Tex.Civ.App.—Houston [14th Dist. ]

1969, no writ) (substantial, not literal, truth is suffi-

cient). Because the articles were found to be true, and

because truth is an absolute defense, it is unnecessary

to reach the issues of whether Cranberg was a public

figure or whether actual malice existed. We affirm the

district court’s findings as to libel by the AP and the

American-Statesman.

B

Next, we deal with the alleged defamation resulting

from Berliner’s remarks before the American Physical

Society. The complaint centers on Berliner’s statement

that “Dr. Cranberg demanded payment of $1000 a day

in damages and a complete retraction. Even before we

could respond to his claims, Dr. Cranberg warned us

that if we failed to meet his demands, he would give a

speech attacking us at this prestigious meeting.” Cran-

berg asserts this was a misrepresentation of his actions

which unfairly labeled him a blackmailer.

(4) The court found Berliner’s comments accurately

described Cranberg’s communications to Consumers

Union as shown in letters written by Cranberg and ad-

mitted into evidence. This finding is amply supported

by the evidence. A review of the record establishes that

Berliner’s comments were substantially accurate rep-

resentations of Cranberg’s written communications

with Consumers Union. Again, because the statements

were found to be true, and because truth is a defense,

Tex.Rev.Civ.State.Ann. art. 5431 (Vernon 1958), we

need not determine whether Cranberg was a public

figure or whether actual malice was proven.

C

(5) The claim against Consumers Union, for libel

- 60 -

and product disparagement in its review of the Texas

Fireframe, is a more complicated issue. It is uncer-

tain whether Texas recognizes a cause of action for

product disparagement or trade libel. Jetco Electronic

Industries v. Gardiner, 325 F.Supp. 80, 84 (S.D.Tex.

1971), rev'd on other grunds, 473 F.2d 1228 (5th Cir.

1973). All actions for libel in Texas are governed by

statute, which defines defamation only in terms of in-

jury to a person.* No other definition may be consid-

ered in determining whether a particular publication

is libelous. Id.; Deen v. Snyder, 57 S.W.2d 338, 340

(Tex.Civ.App.—Fort Worth 1932, no writ). Although

Cranberg was never mentioned by name in the Con-

sumer Reports article, he may still bring a defamation

action under Texas libel law. Texas courts have allowed

such suits on the grounds that a false publication con-

cerning a business or product could tend to injure the

reputation of the company’s owner by subjecting him

to financial injury. Jetco, 325 F.Supp. at 84; see also

Bell Pub. Co. v. Garrett Engineering Co., 141 Tex. 51,

170 S.W.2d 197, 202 (1943). In Newspapers, Inc. v.

Matthews, 161 Tex 284, 339 S.W.2d 890 (1960), the

Texas Supreme Court held that under Texas libel law

the owner of a business can be defamed, even though

the publication does not mention him by name, when

the asserted libel refers to some ascertained or ascer-

tainable person. Jd., 389 S.W.2d at 893. Therefore, it

is not necessary that Cranberg be named in the article -

* Texas law defines defamation as follows:

A libel is a defam. ion expressed in printing or writing, or

by signs and pictures, or drawings tending to blacken the

memory of the dead, or tending to injure the reputation of

one who is alive, and thereby expose him to public hatred,

contempt or ridicule, or financial injury, or to impeach the

honesty, integritey, or virtue, or reputation of any one, or

to publish the natural defects of any one and thereby expose

such person to public hatred, ridicule, or financial injury.

Tex.Rev.Civ.Stat.Ann. art. 5430 (Vernon 1958).

-§1-

because those who knew and were acquainted with him

understood from reading the publication that it re-

fered to him. See id., 339 S.W.2d at 894. Cranberg was

entitled to bring this libel suit in his own right. This

case is governed by Texas libel law applied pursuant

to the dictates of New York Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S.

254, 84 S.Ct. 710, 11 L.Ed.2d 686 (1964), and it pro-

geny. We find no eror in the legal standard applied

below.

The district court ultimately found Consumers

Union’s tests and supporting data were reasonable;

nothing pointed to their being unreasonable. The court

acknowledged that the analysis done by Consumers

Union could have been better, and that they could have

performed more than one test for each device. How-

ever, no tests or evidence were admitted to refute Con-

sumers Union’s findings. Cranberg presented the tes-

timony of two experts, a professor at the University

of Texas and a consultant in explosives. Both said it

is extremely difficult to obtain consistent results in

measuring the heat output of fireplaces. They derided

the fact Consumers Union tested each device only one

time for each scenario. Although their testimony la-

beled Consumers Union’s test results as unreasonable

and totally meaningless, neither had performed any

actual tests with the Texas Fireframe or “standard”’

fire. Cranberg introduced. tests by an organization

called Terralab whose heat output numbers on the

Texas Fireframe were actually greater than Con-

sumers Union’s. but consistent when accounting for

alternative testing factors. The court found the results

of Consumers Union’s tests were consistent with logic

and observed that Consumers Union “are the only peo-

ple that have tested [the Texas Fireframe] and given

me the results and explained the test with engineers in

this court room.”

Although suggesting that Consumers Union could

- ¢3.

have clarified certain aspects of the article, the court

held the burden was on Cranberg to prove that the

article was inaccurate and that he failed to carry that:

burden. Examples of statements pointed out by Cran-

berg which may have warranted further clarification

include the fact Consumers Union’s results refer to

heat outputs in a log cabin type environment and in a

centrally heated home. The article does disclose that

the tests were not actually conducted in these environ-

ments, but rather under conditions which Consumers

Union claimed simulated these scenarios. Although

these conditions could have been more fully described

if presented as a precise scientific experiment, the

disclosure made in this layman’s advisory publication

obviously was considered sufficient by the trier of fact.

That conclusion of fact is supported by the record.

Cranberg criticizes the measurements obtained by Con-

sumers Union as partly the result of circumstances

it imposed. Consumers Union admitted at trial that

individual consumers may observe different results

under different circumstances, such as, using more or

bigger logs (Consumers Union only used half of the

fuel stipulated in the Texas Fireframe’s instructions),

outside temperature variations and height of the chim-

new stack. Furthermore, the “standard” fire, against

which Consumers Union compared all its data, was

never adequately described in the article so that it

could be reproduced. The court held that neither these

defects in the article, nor others mentioned in Cran-

berg’s brief, impinged on the truth of the Consumers

Report article. This ultimate finding is supported by

the evidence.

(6) The trial court had sufficient evidence before it

to conclude that Consumers Union’s tests were an ac-

curate approximation of the performance of fireplace

add-ons for consumers. Cranberg presented no scien-

tific tests to compare the Consumers Union findings

- 63 -

and refute their contention that the Texas Fireframe

produces less heat than a fire built on the hearth.

Furthermore, the trial court correctely noted that the

article does not say the Texas Fireframe is a bad grate.

To the contrary, the article praises its performance in

comparison to other grates. “[F]or people who are go-

ing to use grates in their fireplaces, I think Consumers

Union said yours is the best. ... Consumers Union sup-

ports your claim that that is the best firegrate in the

world. They just say that building the fire not on the

grate but on the hearth is better.” Dr. Cranberg testi-

fied as to the energy efficiency of his device by relying

on his own reduced gas bills. This did not show that the

Fireframe performs beter than a grateless fire built

on the hearth. In this regard, the district court aptly

noted that it was Cranberg’s practice to turn down the

thermostat when using his Fireframe. The court

found: ‘There has not been sufficient test in this rec-

ord in my judgment—to test it against a fire built

right on a hearth.” No proof met this single, crucial

point.

The record supports the district court’s conclusion

that Cranberg failed to prove falsity. Whether Cran-

berg was a public figure for purposes of the Consumers

Report article is irrelevant to our review of this case,

as Texas law holds substantial truth is a defense to a

libel claim. Gulf Construction Co. v. Mott, 442 S.W.2d

778, 784 (Tex.Civ.App.—Houston [14th Dist.] 1969.

no writ); Walker v. Globe-News Publishing Co., 395

395 S.W.2d 686, (Tex.Civ.App.—Amarillo 1965, writ

ref’d n.r.e.).

III

This case was tried on September 13 and 14, 1983.

Two weeks later the trial judge announced his inten-

tion to leave the bench and return to private practice

on January 1, 1984. Final judgment was entered in

this case on October 19, 1983. Cranberg filed Motions

- 64 -

for New Trial, New Judge and for Hearing of Motions

by New Judge, arguing that the judge was no longer

an Article III judge. The court denied these motions.

Cranberg’s challenge to this ruling is frivolous,

Because Cranberg is a pro se litigant, we have also

looked for the substance of his claim, rather than to

its label as an Article III concern. Cranberg argues

that “lame-duck” judges are subject to the outside

presures that life-time tenure under Article III is de-

signed to alleviate. Cranberg’s theoretical assertion is

unsupported by any proof that when the trial judge

tried this case, or when he entered final judgment, any

real conflict of interest existed.

(7) Cranberg’s claim seems to assert prejudice in

the hearing and deciding of his case due to the fact that

the judge was contemplating a return to private prac-

tice. Cranberg suggests the judge may have been prone .

to side with defendants’ lawyers in order to curry

favor with soon-to-be-colleagues of the bar. Even when

viewed as a claim of prejudice, the record is wholly de-

void of proof that the judge was false to his oath of

office for any period of his service. No specific inci-

dent of prejudice or favoritism is advanced, or can be

found, te support this assertion. Our review of the en-

tire record establishes that Cranberg lost a fairly tried

case on an honest resolution of contested fact.

(8) Cranberg’s brief also evinces an unwarranted

concern that his case was unfairly expedited to reduce

the workload of an exiting judge. The anouncement

from the bench of findings and conclusions did include

a statement that the court did not want to file written

findings of fact or conclusions of law. This is not im-

proper. The announced findings are supported by the

evidence; they are complete in that they address all the

questions at issue, and they are correct as to the legal

standards applied. Cranberg received a proper decision

promptly rendered. He is entitled to no more.

- 65 -

IV

Cranberg claims the court conducted the proceedings

so as to favor the defendants and deny him a fair trial.

A number of trial procedures were unusual. For exam-

ple, the judge requested that the two Consumers Union

engineers who conducted the tests at issue be the first

witnesses. He then directed the defendants to proceed

first in examining these witnesses. The court asked all

the witnesses a significant number of questions, at

times dominating parts of the examination. According

to Cranberg, the judge’s participation in the trial com-

prises 23% of the transcript. At one point, the court

announced, “Everyone has a running objection to hear-

say and they are all overruled.” On the other hand,

the court also permitted the parties to make a liberal

supplementation of the record upon conclusion of trial;

Cranberg admits his supplementation was “massive.”

Rather than demonstrating prejudice, however, the

record reflects that the judge’s participation and evi-

dentiary rulings tended to assist Cranberg, a pro se

litigant who represented himself well, though he lacked

familiarity with procedural rules.

(9-12) The conduct of a fair trial is vested in the

sound discretion of the trial judge. Excel Handbag Co.

v. Edison Bros. Stores, 630 F.2d 379, 388 (5th Cir.

1980). His duty extends far beyond ruling on objec-

tions and preserving decorum in the courtroom.

Though the trial judge must be neutral, he need not

be a passive spectator. Ruiz v. Estelle, 679 F.2d 1115,

1129, modified, 688 F.2d 266 (5th Cir. 1982), cert.

denied, 460 U.S. 1042, 103 S.Ct. 14388, 75 L.Ed.2d 795

(1983). He has an affirmative obligation under Fed-

eral Rule of Evidence 611(a) to “exercise reasonable

control over the mode and order of interrogating wit-

nesses and presenting evidence so as to (1) make the

interrogation and presentation effective for une ascer-

tainment of the truth, (2) avoid needless consumption

- 66 -

of time, and (3) protect witnesses from harassment or

undue embarrassment.” Furthermore, as a comon law

judge, he has an overall responsibility to see that the

trial is just and not subject to delay. Ruiz, 679 F.2d at

1129. He may question witnesses, elicit facts, clarify

evidence and pace the trial. Jd. On review, this conduct

will be measured against a standard of fairness and

impartiality. Nordmann v. National Hotel Co., 425

F.2d 1103, 1109 (5th Cir. 1970).

(13, 14) Greater latitude should be allowed in the

conduct of a bench trial than would be permitted in a

trial conducted with a jury. In the former ths is no

possibility that the judge’s actions might im,*“yerly

influence jurors. Ruiz, 679 F.2d at 1130. In certain

other cases, the trial judge may need to assume a great-

er responsibility for the direction of the trial. See Ruiz,

679 F.2d at 1130 (complex and protracted trial).

When a pro s¢ litigant, even one as skillful as Cran-

berg, goes to trial against a party represented by a

member of the bar, the responsibility of the trial judge

may warrant participation which differs markedly

from what woul’ be appropriate to a trial between ad-

versaries represented by counsel. The record of this

trial reveals a judge conscious of his duty and con-

scientious in its discharge. Rather than prejudicing

Cranberg’s position, we see the judge’s efforts as at-

tempts to enlighten it. We are satisfied that the meas-

ures taken below to develop and control the proof were

reasonable and directed towards reaching a just deci-

sion.

V

(15,16) The trial court did not abuse its discreticn

in refusing to allow Cranberg to file a supplemental

complaint against Consumers Union raising issues

under the Lanham Act. 15 U.S.C. § 1125(a). The trial

court has discretion to grant or deny motions to amend

the pleadings. Fed.R.Civ.P. 15(a). Cranberg’s motion

- 67 -

to supplement was filed five days after the trial on the

merits was concluded. In exercising its discretion, the

trial court may consider such factors as undue delay,

prejudice to the opposing parties and futility of the

proposed amendment. Foman v. Davis, 371 U.S. 178,

182, 83 S.Ct. 227, 230, 9 L.Ed.2d 222 (1962) ; Gregory

v. Mitchell, 634 F.2d 199, 203 (5th Cir.1981).

(17) Undue prejudice resulting from deelay in seek-

ing leave to amend is sufficient grounds to deny the

motion. Cranberg’s post trial motion came more than

18 months after his original complaint, after discovery

was closed and after all evidence was presented. See

Addington v. Farmer’s Elevator Mutual Insurance

Co., 650 F.2d 668, 667 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 454

U.S. 1098, 102 S.Ct. 672, 70 L.Ed.2d 640 (1981).

Cranberg’s Lanham Act claims do not involve issues

completely tried in the course of the trial. His motion

did not seek to conform the pleadings to the proof. In

substance, his proposed amendment would raise a new

cause of action. Moreover, the proposed amendment

apears futile as the Lanham Act requires false state-

ments of fact about one’s own product. See Bernard

Food Industries, Inc. v. Dietene Co., 415 F.2d 1279,

1282-84 (7th Cir. 1969); Markel v. Scovill Mfg. Co.,

471 F.Supp. 1244, 1253 (W.D.N.Y.), aff'd mem., 610

F.2d 807 (2d Cir. 1979). The court did not abuse its

discretion in refusing to aJlow the commencement of

another action at the conclusion of this one.

The findings of fact which support resolution of the

libel issues are supported by the record. The remain-

ing issues presented are without merit. The judgment

appealed from is

AFFIRMED.

A true copy

Test: GILBERT F. GANUCHEAU

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit

LS

- 68 -

By: Della M. Jones

Deputy

New Orleans, Louisiana

Adm. Office, U.S. Courts—West Publishing Company,

Saint Paul, Minn.

- 69 -

APPENDIX A5

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 83-1912

LAWRENCE CRANBERG,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

vs.

CONSUMERS UNION OF US., INC.,

Defendant-Appellee

LAWRENCE CRANBERG,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

vs.

ASSOCIATED PRESS and

AUSTIN AMERICAN-STATESMAN,

Defendants-A ppellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Western District of Texas

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING AND SUGGES-

TION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

(Opinion April 1, 5 Cir., 1985, — F.2d —)

(May 14, 1985

Before CLARK, Chief Judge, WISDOM and HIG-

GINBOTHAM, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

(\/) The Petition for Rehearing is DENIED and

no member of this panel nor Judge in regular active

service on the Court having requested that the Court

be polled on rehearing en banc, (Federal Rules of Ap-

pellate Procedure and Local Rule 35) the Suggestion

for Rehearing En Banc is DENIED.

Charles Clark

Chief Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.