Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Hoffman v. Sylva

Supreme Court brief1986

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ibn

Supreme Court, U.S.

——} +17. 1 D

8 o “2 3 J AUG 10 1985

NO . JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

_ CLERK

Supreme Court

of the

United States

October Term, 1985

CARL H. HOFFMAN and

CARL H. HOFFMAN, P.A.,

Petitioners,

VS.

DAVID SYLVA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRUCE S. ROGOW

3100 S.W. 9th Avenue

Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33315

(305) 522-2300

Counsel for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I

MAY A COURT OF APPEALS, INVOKING

ITS “SUPERVISORY POWERS” MAKE

DETERMINATIONS OF FACTS NOT TRIED

IN THE DISTRICT COURT AND THEN

DEPRIVE COUNSEL AND HIS CLASS

ACTION CLIENTS OF TERE PROPERTY

DISTRIBUTED TO THEM BY ORDERS OF

THE DISTRICT COURT? DOES SUCH

ACTICN RESULT IN A DEPRIVATION OF

PROPERTY WITHOUT DUE PROCESS OF

LAW AND A USURPATION OF THE

DISTRICT COURT’S FACT FINDING

FUNCTION?

II

MAY A COURT OF APPEALS, INVOKING

ITS “SUPERVISORY POWERS” MAKE

DETERMINATIONS OF FACTS NOT TRIED

IN THE DISTRICT COURT AND THEN

SUMMARILY TERMINATE INSTANTER A

LONG STANDING LAWYER CLIENT

RELATIONSHIP, THUS PRECLUDING

COUNSEL FROM ANY FURTHER

REPRESENTAT'VE ROLE IN THE CASE,

AND PRECLUD.1NG HIS CLIENTS FROM

EXERCISING THEIR RIGHTS TO PETITION

FOR REHEARING OR CERTIORARI? DOES

SUCH ACTION RESULT IN A DEPRIVATION

OF PROPERTY OR LIBERTY WITHOUT DUE

PROCESS OF LAW AND A USURPATION

OF THE DISTRICT COURT'S FACT FINDING

FUNCTION?

iil

MAY THE EXTRAORDINARY REMEDY OF

MANDAMUS BE USED BY A COURT OF

APPEALS TO REVIEW A DISTRICT

COURT’S ALLEGED ABUSE OF DISCRE-

TION IN INTERPRETING ITS DUTIES WITH

REGARD TO SPECIFIC ISSUES PREVIOUS.

LY REMANDED TO IT BY THE COURT OF

APPEALS?

il

THE PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

IN THE COURT BELOW

The parties to the proceedings in the Court of

Appeals were Peter Piambino and Joseph F. Kucklick,

class representatives of all persons who purchased or

invested in direct distributorships of Bestline Corporation

during the period of March 7, 1970 through August 10,

1973.

The defendants below were Bestline Corporation,

a California corporation, which is the parent corporation

of a wholly owned subsidiary, Bestline Products, Inc.,

and William E. Bailey and David L. Eastis.

Another party below was David R. Sylva, the trustee

of a California Restitutionary Fund.

Carl H. Hoffman and Carl H. Hoffman P.A. were

not parties below. Carl Hoffman was one of the two

Lead Counsel for plaintiffs. The decision below removed

him and co-lead counse! irom that role, immediately

terminated Hoffman's lawyer-client relationship with

the plaintiff class, and required that he immediately

repay the fees and costs he had been awarded seven

years earlier. Thus he, and his professional association

which received those monies have now become parties

to this litigation.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED................... i, ii

THE PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS IN

THE COURT BELOW ........................ iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ................ vi, vii,

Lae 5 |

OPINION BELOW ........................... 1

PE ho 5k ech ce) eae st ae

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED... 2

STATEMENT OF THECASE................. 2

i ee a ee ee eee 4

SC nto snr a ee a vat ee nig Le 7

REASONS FORGRANTING CERTIORARI ..... 13

I

THE DECISION BELOW PRESENTS

IMPORTANT BUT UNANSWERED

QUESTIONS OF AN APPELLATE COURT'S

AUTHORITY TO MAKE DE NOVO FACTUAL

FINDINGS, AND CONFLICTS WITH THE

DECISIONS OF THIS COURT WHICH MAKE

FACTUAL DETERMINATIONS THE

PROVINCE OF THE UNITED STATES

fgg te les yy Se an er oe 13

A.

B.

‘

TABLE OF CONTENTS (Continued)

Page

II

THE DECISION BELOW, BY ENGAGING

IN APPELLATE FACT FINDING WHICH

PRETERMITTED THE OPPORTUNITY FOR

AN EVIDENTIARY INQUIRY CONFLICTS

WITH THE DUE PROCESS DECISIONS OF

THIS COURT REQUIRING A MEANINGFUL

OPPORTUNITY TO BE HEARD PRIOR TO

THE TAKING OF PROTECTED PROPERTY

AND LIBERTY INTERESTS..............

lil

THE DECISION BELOW PRESENTS

IMPORTANT BUT UNANSWERED

QUESTIONS REGARDING THE USE OF

MANDAMUS AND THE SUPERVISORY

POWERS DOCTRINE AND CONFLICTS

WITH THE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT

AUTHORIZING THE USE OF THOSE

EXTRAORDINARY REMEDIES AND

of ; Ra ett ren rar as

ae ee

Superviaary Pawers .. «5 vee ee

COINAGE se ov ns ke

15

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Anderson v. Bessemer,

taal, SE , 105 S.Ct. 1504 (1985) ......... 13

Bell v. Burson,

Gan Ui. See ee oe ee el 16

Board of Regents v. Roth,

Ge Ui Ee. SRO tees oe ee es eee eee ee 16

Cossette v. Country Style Donuts, Inc.,

647 F.2d 526 (Sth Cir. 1981) ................. 13

Craig v. Boren,

Se | re ee 3

Fuentes v. Shevin,

Ge Wdes GE GROTEE s sv sacha veeee ea ee

Goldberg v. Kelly,

teh Nach’ ip ELEERSEE CU Te 16

Goland v. Central Intelligence Agency,

607 F.2d 339 (D.C. Cir. 1979) .............. —

Klapprott v. United States,

See es GOL IED oc ik oc cs ca cseeaaneees 19

Lassiter u Departmeni of Social Services of Durham

County,

GOR U.S. IS RGSS oi. oi Sins kn tee 20

McNabb v. United States,

an6 U.S. SUR tIOGR oo sk kcal ee 19

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)

Page

Oregon v. Kennedy,

Se Ce TI ok 5s od ee cd eae Weekes 14

Photovest Corp. v. Fotomat Corp.,

606 F.2e¢ 704 (7th Cir. 1978)... .............. 19

Piambino v. Baile y,

610 F.2d 1306, (Sth Cir. 1980)... ..... -.. passim

Piambino v. Bailey,

757 F.2d 1112, (11th Cir. 1985) ........... passim

Sniadach v. Family Finance Corporation,

te en eee 16

United States v. Dante,

739 F.2d 547 (11th Cir. 1984) ................ 14

'nited States v. Wodtke,

711 F.2d 86 (8th Cir. 1983) ............. one

Vendo Company v. Lektro-Vend Corporation,

oe eer . 19

Weisberg v. Department of Justice,

705 F.2d 1344 (D.C. Cir. 1983) ............... 13

Will v. United States,

Oe Ws GP CNUED os vc heck cnceseaseneecs 18

Wisconsin v. Constantineau,

Ee Et | rarer 16

Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine Research, Inc.,

See ar PEE hc a even ee ne ae 13

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Page

26 U.S.C. 12642) ......... rr 3 | 2

28 U.S.C. 1291 (1982) .... 7 | rt

28 U.S.C. 1651 (1982)... 7

28 U.S.C. 2101{e) 2

The Supervisory Power of the Federal Courts,

'6 Harv.L.Rev. 16. «°{1963) | 20

vill

NO.

in the

Supreme Court

of the

United States

October Term, 1985

CARL H. HOFFMAN and

CARL H. HOFFMAN, P.A.,

Petitioners,

vs.

DAVID SYLVA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

fur the Eleventh Circuit is reported at 757 F.2d 1112

(llth Cir. 1985). A copy of the opinion and the Order

Denying Rehearing and Rehearing en banc appear in

the Appendix to this Petition. A copy of a former

opinion of the Eleventh Circuit in this case which was

reported at 610 F.2d 1306 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 449

U.S. 1011 (1980), is also reproduced in the Appendix.

JURISDICTION

The decision of the Court of Appeals was rendered

on March 18, 1985. A timely Petition for Rehearing and

Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc was denied on May

15, 1985. This Petition has been filed within 90 days of

that date pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §2101(c). The jurisdiction

of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

AMENDMENT V

No person shall. . . be deprived of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of law.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Carl H. Hoffman and Car! H. Hoffman, P.A. seek

certiorari to review a decision of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit which sua

sponte and summarily stripped Carl H. Hoffman of his

class action clients, denied those three thousand clients a

right to be heard on rehearing or certiorari, and ordered

that those clients, and Hoffman, repay instanter, with

accrued interest, the monies which had been disbursed

to them in 1977 pursuant to a United States District

Court order approving a several million dollar class

action settlement against various perpetrators of an

alleged securities fraud.’

That extraordinary decision, Piambino v. Bailey,

757 F.2d 1112 (11th Cir.1985) (A 65-142), (Piambino ID,

cast in the form of mandamus, found, as a matter of

fact, that

. . . the lawyers who have been representing

the plaintiff class have a conflict of interest

with the minority segment of the class. They

have used this conflict of interest to benefit

themselves and the majority of the class

members since the case began.

757 F.2d at 1115; A 65.

In arriving at its finding of conflict and decision to

“terminate” the existing lawyer client relationship, and

compel the return of approved fees and settlement

‘“'The te. mination of the lawyer-client relationship became

effective as of the date this opinion is published.” 757 F.2d 1147;

A 141. Thus the plaintiff class was denied any opportunity to

petition the court of appeals for rehearing. A motion to extend the

time for rehearing until 30 days after new counsel was appointed

for the class was denied (A 143). The harshness of that ruling is

underscored by the fact that the Court of Appeals, convinced of a

conflict, allowed Lead Counsel to argue plaintiffs’ case, and then

denied their losing clients any right to post-decision review.

As of the date of the filing of this Petition, no new counsel has

been appointed to represent the affected class plaintiffs. Petitioners

cannot represent them as a result of the decision below. However,

we believe that the doctrine of jus tertii standing permits this

Court to consider the class plaintiffs’ injuries. The petitioners

have plainly suffered an “injury in fact”, and are entitled to assert

“those concomitant rights of third parties that would be ‘diluted

or udversely affected’ =hould [their] constitutional challenge fail

and the [decision belowj remain in force.” Craig v. Boren, 429 U.S.

190,194-95 (1976).

proceeds, the Court below engaged in fact finding without

the benefit of a district court trial on the issue.

This Petition focuses upon the important questions

presented by the appell-te court usurpation of a power

traditionally left to the trial courts.

The long history of this case is not wholiy pertinent

to the specific questions presented here, but it must be

told. Therefore we begin with Piambino I, Piambino v.

Bailey, 610 F.2d 1306 (5th Cir.1980).

A. Piambino 1

In Piambino v. Bailey, 610 F.2d 1306 (5th Cir. 1980),

the Fifth Circuit reversed a District Court decision

granting summary judgment and other relief in favor

of a class of plaintiffs who had been the victim of a

nationwide pyramid scheme bilking them out of millions

of dollars.

Bestline Products, Inc., a Califcrnia corporation,

was the culprit, along with its principals, William E.

Bailey and Jerry G. Brassfield. The California Attorney

General successfully pursued state law remedies and

ultimately created a restitutionary trust fund ‘the

California fund) for the benefit of certain categories of

persons harmed by the Bestline scheme Piambino I,

610 F.2d at 1313; A 13, 14.

Shortly thereafter a federal class action alleging,

inter alia, violations of the Securities Exchange Acts of

1933 and 1934, was filed in the United States District

Court for the Southern District of Florida. That Court

issued an injunction enjoining Bestline from complying

with the California judgment. In addition, a $1,036,000

sum which had been deposited into the registry of a

federai court in California as a result of Bailey’s payment

of a judgment secured by the Federal Trade Commission

was transferred to the United States District Court for

the Southern District of Florida for distribution there

to the plaintiff class. 610 F.2d at 1315; A 17.

By enjoining Bestline from complying with the

California judgment, the beneficiaries of the California

fund were denied Bestline’s continuing contributions

to the California fund. David Sy!va, Compliance Officer

of the California restitutionary fund souzht to intervene

in the Florida case to protect the California fund. The

District Court denied his motion. 610 F.2d at 1320;

A 30.

Subsequently, with the District Court’s approval,

two separate setilements occurred: first, Bailey settled

and then Bestline and 27 individual defendants agreed

to pay, in various forms, approximately $2,300,000. 610

F.2d at 1327; A 46. The District Court aiso approved an

attorneys’ fee of $750,000, and expenses of $50,000.

Sylva’s appeal challenged all of the District Court’s

rulings and its approval of the Bestline settlement.

However, Sylva did not seek an appellate stay of the

District Court’s order permitting disbursement of the

Bestline funds. Sylva ultimately prevailed, and the Fifth

Circuit concluded its lengthy discussion this way:

We summarize our holdings in this case as

follows:

1. Summary judgment should not have been

entered.

2. Sylva was entitled to intervention as a

matter of right.

ul

3. The attorneys’ fees as proposed in the

Bestline settlement should not have been

approved as presented.

4. The entry of an injunction against

enforcement of the judgment of the

California Superior Court is reversed.

5. The order entering final judgment as to

Bestline and 27 individual defendants is

vacated.

610 F.2d at 1334; A 61, 62.

The Court was “convinced that the District Court

fell into serious error when it approved the attorneys’

fees proposed in the Bestline settlement”, 610 F.2d at

1328; A 49, and refused the request of the settling

parties to “independently evaluate the reasonableness

of those fees”, saying:

This is not our normal practice; however, since

the District Court is infinitely better situated

to conduct the factual inquiry necessary under

Johnson [v. Georgia Highway Express, 488

F.2d 715 (5th Cir.1974). . .

Id., 610 F.2d at 1329; A 49, 50.

Thus, Pzambino I did not compel the District Court

to secure return of the already paid fees and expenses.

Nor did Piambino I, by setting aside the Bestline

settlement, compel the injured plaintiffs to return the

monies they had received to the Court. Finally, Piambino

I did not compel the District Court to remove Lead

Counsel from the case.

Piambino II did compel the return of the attorneys’

fees; did compel the injured plaintiffs to return the

monies disbursed to them; and did compel the removal

of Lead Counsel from the case. It did so by utilizing

mandamus, claiming that the failure of the District

Court to order those results violated the “implicit”

holdings of Piambino J: “{Ift [the District Court] is bound

to follow the appellate court’s holdings, both express

and implied.” Pzambino II, 757 F.2d at 1119; A 77.

B. Piambino II

On remand from Piambino I the District Court

. . acting sua sponte, issued an order on our

mandate. The order followed the letter of the

mandate with one exception: it refused to grant

Sylva intervention as a party plaintiff.

757 F.2d 1118; A 74 (emphasis supplied)

Sylva also asked the District Court to “order plaintiffs

and Lead Counsel to transfer to the California Fund

the monies they had received as a result of the settlement,

contending that such action was mandated.” 757 F.2d

at 1118; A 74. Upon the District Court’s denial of Sylva’s

intervention and transfer motion, Sylva appealed.

The Eleventh Circuit “treat(ed) Sylva’s appeal as

a petition for writ of mandamus pursuant to 28 U.S.C

§1651 (1982) because there is some question whether

the District Court’s action in failing to follow our mandate

constitutes a final judgment reviewable under 28 U.S.C.

§1291 (1982).” 757 F.2d at 1115 n.2; A 66. Sylva did not

see mandamus as the proper remedy, characterizing

the case as an appeal “to review the District Court's

abuse of discretion in refusing to grant restitution of

funds seized pursuant to a subsequently reversed order.”

Brief of Appellant Intervenor David R. Sylva, Compliance

Officer of the California Restitutionary Fund, at 2

(emphasis supplied).

The Court below traced the history of the litigation

and then concluded “that the Piambino J panel properly

intended that the monies disbursed in connection with

the Bestline settlement be restored to the registry of

the district court”, 757 F.2d at 1137; A 119.

The panel no doubt would have expressed this

view had Lead Counsel informed it in oral

argument, or later in their petition for rehearing

that they intended to preserve their settlement

and notwithstanding the panel’s decision, would

resist any effort to make them, or their clients,

return the proceeds thereof to the district

court’s registry. Moreover, the panel would

have included among its explicit holdings the

instruction that the district court forthwith

order Lead Counsel and the plaintiffs who had

participated in the settlement to deposit the

funds they had received, with interest, in the

court’s registry. Finally, the panel would have

instructed the district court to determine

whether Lead Counsel's financial stake in the

case was such that Lead Counsel could no

longer represent the interests of the Majority

Group.

757 F.2d 1139 ; A 123 (emphasis supplied.)

The Piambino IJ panel, having opined the “intent”

of the Piambino I panel, exercised its “power to supervise

the district courts” and “terminated” Lead Counsel's

representation of the plaintiff class.* 757 F.2d 1146;

A 140. Thus, despite its view that the Piambino J,

panel “would have instructed the district court to

determine [if there was a conflict]”, the Piambino IJ

panel, without providing notice and an opportunity to

be heard, made that determination itself. As a result,

thousands of beneficiaries of Lead Counsels’ settlement

were stripped of their right to counsel, and they, and

Lead Counsel, were ordered to immediately repay the

monies disbursed to them years before by court order.

The Piambino IJ Court summarized the pertinent part

of its holding this way:

Firsi, David R. Syiva, as an intervenor in

behalf of the Minority Group, is a party plaintiff

in this ease. The district court shall recognize

him as such and shall certify the Minority

Group as a plaintiff-subclass upon receipt of

our mandate.

Second, Lead Counsel shall pay into the

registry of the district court the attorney's

fee and reimbursed litigation expenses they

received in connection with the Bestline

settlement, with interest at the legal rate from

the date of this court’s issuance of the mandate

in Piambino I. Immediately upon its receipt of

our mandate, the district court shall instanter,

"Lead Counsel had, in response to Piambino J, limited their

represent.tion to the majority group—the non beneficiaries of

the California Fund.

without a hearing, issue an order directing

Lead Counsel to deposit such amount in the

court’s registry within thirty days of the date

of its order. The order shall recite that Lead

Counsel's failure to comply therewith shall

subject them to the district court’s contempt

power.

Third, each of the class plaintiffs who

received any of the proceeds of the Bestline

settiement shall pay the total amount of such

proceeds into the registry of the district court,

with interest from the date the clerk of the

court disbursed such proceeds to them.

Immediately upon its receipt of our mandate,

the district court shall imstanter, without a

hearing, issue an order directing that each

such plaintiff deposit the amount of the proceeds

he received in the court’s registry within thirty

days of the date of its order. The order shall

recite that failure of such plainiff to comply

therewith shall subject him to the district court's

contempt power.

* * *

Seventh, Lead Counsei are barred from

appearing as counsel for any party in this

case, save themselves, effective as of the date

this opinion is published.

Eighth, on receipt of our mandate, the

district court shall appoint counsel to represent

the members of the plaintiff-class comprising

the Majority Group, in the event such class

members are unable to employ counsel.

10

These holdings with regard to Lead Counsel and

their conflict were made without distinguishing between

the petitioner and James H. Joseph, a Pittsburgh attorney

who handled the California litigation and who was

co-counsel in the Florida proceedings.

The underlying factual bases for these hoidings

were the Court of Appeals findings that:

‘a) The Bestline settlement was accormplished

at the expense of the California class primarily

to provide Lead Counsel an attorneys’ fee;

(b) Lead Counsel knew that Sylva’s appeal

was meritorious;

(c)} Lead Counsel crew that the June 30.

1976 injunction . . . was entirely baseless;

(d) Lead Counsel could not have been

surprised when the Piambino I panel rejected

[the injunctive relief];

(3) Lead Counsel knew that if the panel

concluded that Sylva had a right to intervene.

their settlement would fall.

Piambino IT, 757 F.2d 1140, 1141; A 127, 128.

‘emphasis supplied)

Those findings form the foundation of the conflict

and the punitive sanctions imposed upon the petitioners

and the class members who are now without counsel in

this court, and who must return funds paid to them via

a valid order of the United States District Court for

the Southern District of Florida.

Those appeliate court findings of fact also form

the foundation of this Petition for Writ of Certiorari

11

which raises questions regarding the power and authority

of an appellate court to dispense with the opportunity

to present testimony on issues of knowlec ze intent and

conflict of interest, and instead usurp the fact finding

function historically assigned to the United States District

Courts.

REASONS FOR GRANTING CERTIORARI

I

THE DECISION BELOW PRESENTS

IMPORTANT BUT UNANSWERED

QUESTIONS OF AN APPELLATE COURT'S

AUTHORITY TO MAKE DE NOVO FACTUAL

FINDINGS, AND CONFLICTS WITH THE

DECISIONS OF THIS COURT WHICH MAKE

FACTUAL DETERMINATIONS THE

PROVINCE OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURTS.

The opinion below, insofar as it found a conflict of

interest and terminated the lawyer client relationship

between Carl H. Hoffman and his class clients, is premised

upon the court’s belief that Lead Counsel knowingly

and intentionally manipulated this case “to benefit

themselves and the majority of the class members

since the case began.” 757 F.2d at 1115; A 65.

Whether or not a conflict exists is a question of

fact. Cossette v. Country Style Donuts, Inc., 647 F.2d

526, 530 (5th Cir. 1981). Questions of fact are for trial

courts, not appellate courts.

In Anderson v. Bessemer, ____ U.S. ___, 105 S.Ct.

1504, 1512 (1985), this Court, quoting Zenith Radio Corp.

v. Hazeltine Research, Inc., 395 U.S. 100, 123 (1969)

cautioned: “[A]ppellate courts must constantly have in

mind that their function is not to decide factual issues

de novo.” The Courts of Appeals have recognized that

“An appellate court has no fact finding function.” Goland

v. Central Intelligence Agency, 607 F.2d 338,371 (D.C.

Cir.1979); Weisberg vu. Department of Justice, 705 F.2d

1344 (D.C. Cir.1983).

13

Where, as here, the alleged intent of the lawyer

was the critical factor prompting the panel to find

conflict, a trial court was the proper forum for making

that determination.

This Court, addressing intent in the context of a

prosecutor's desire to cause a mistrial, has unequivocally

described the inquiry as a factual one.

[A] standard that examines the intent of the

prosecutor, though certainly not free from

practical difficulties, is a manageable standard

to apply. It merely calls for the court to make

a finding of fact. Inferring the existence or

non-existence of intent from objective facts

and circumstances is a familiar process in our

criminal justice system.

Oregon v. Kennedy., 456 U.S. 667,675 (1982).

The Courts of Appeals have recognized that the

trial courts, not the appellate courts. are the proper

forum for determining that intent. United States v.

Dante, 739 F.2d 547 (11th Cir.1984); United States v.

Wodtke, 711 F.2d 86 (8th Cir.1983).

Had the Piambino I] panel followed what it believed

the Prambino J panel intended to do— instruct the district

court to determine the intent of counsel and whether a

conflict existed —its decision would have been consistent

with tke decisions of this Court which leave fact finding

to the district Courts.

Instead, the panel usurped the district court's role

and in so doing, posed conflict with the dwe process

clause.

14

Il

THE DECISION BELOW, BY ENGAGING IN

APPELLATE FACT FINDING WHICH

PRETERMITTED THE OPPORTUNITY FOR

AN cVIDENTIARY INQUIRY CONFLICTS

WITH THE DUE PROCESS DECISIONS OF

THIS COURT REQUIRING A MEANINGFUL

OPPORTUNITY TO BE HEARD PRIOR TO

THE TAKING OF PROTECTED PROPERTY

AND LIBERTY INTERESTS.

The Petitioners, and the three thousand clients

Carl H. Hoffman represented, had received funds pursuant

to presumptively valid orders of the district court.

Based upon Piambino II's appellate de novo finding

that there was a conflict of interest “since the case

began” (the Florida case began in 1973), those property

rights have been destroyed. Moreover, they were

destroyed by a decision which, by terminating the lawyer-

client relationship, precluded the class action plaintiffs

from seeking rehearing in the Court of Appeals, or

certiorari review here.

The district court never tried the issue of whether

Lead Counsel achieved a settlement “primarily to provide

. au attorneys’ fee”; or whether Lead Counsel “knew

. . . Sylva’s appeal was meritorious”; or “knew that

the . . . injunction was baseless”; or “could not have

been surprised” with the Piambino J decision; or “knew

that . . . their settlement would fall.” 757 F.2d 1140,

1141; A 126-128.

Thus, without any opportunity for the kind of

process which always precedes findings of fact, the

Court of Appeals terminated constitutionally protected

property and liberty interests.

Several protected interests are implicated here.

First, the money. Second, the interest in utilizing the

appellate remedies of rehearing and <orticcari guaranteed

by the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure and United

States Statutes. Third, the petitioners’ name, integrity

and reputation.

Board of Reyents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972),

leaves no doubt that property interests “extend well

bevond . . . money”, and liberty interests include “good

name, reputation, honor or integrity.” /d., at 572,573.

Additionally, property interests are also “defined by

existing rules... .” /d., at 577.

Roth, and the body of due process law including

Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67 (1972); Bell v. Burson,

402 U.S. 535 (1971); Wisconsin v. Constantineau, 400

U.S. 433 (1971); Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970);

Sniadach v. Family Finance Corporation, 395 U.S. 337

(1969) guarantee “ne right to be aeard prior to the

taking of one’s property. The right +) presentation of

evidence is a critical component of due process. Goldberg

v. Kelly, 397 U.S. at 268.

The decision below, by usurping the traditional

role of a trial court to provide those guarantees before

affecting property interests, conflicts with established

due process principles.

It is one thing, after an issue has been tried, to

terminate a lawyer-client relationship and find seifish

motive and conflict. But it is quite another thing to

reach that result sans an evidentiary hearing, and, in

the process, deprive the lawyers’ clients of their otherwise

guaranteed rights to subsequent judicial review.

2

16

If an appellate court may, consistent with due

process of law, dispense with the usual evidentiary fact

finding procedure in determining conflict between counsel

and class action clients with the resultant effect of

depriving counsel and clients of protected property

and liberty interests, then that important question should

be answered by this Court.

iit

THE DECISION BELOW PRESENTS

IMPORTANT BUT UNANSWERED

QUESTIONS REGARDING THE USE OF

MANDAMUS AND THE SUPERVISORY

POWERS DOCTRINE AND CONFLICTS

WITH THE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT

AUTHORIZING THE USE OF THOSE

EXTRAORDINARY REMEDIES AND

POWERS.

A. Mandamus

Sylva did not seek mandamus relief. The Piambino

IT panel sua sponte turned the appeal into a 28 U.S.C.

§1651 mandamus. 757 F.2d 1115; A66. Sylva viewed the

case as one involving an “abuse of discretion”, Sylva

Brief at 2. Indeed sixteen months passed between issuance

of the mandate in Piambino I and Sylva’s attempt to

enforce that mandate in the district court. See, Docket

Entries, Nos. 1468 and 1506.

Throughout ?iambino IJ the panel referred to its

“implicit” holdings in Piambino I. 757 F.2d at 1120,1122;

A 79-83. Piambino IT was explicit in its acknowledgment

that Piambino I did not instruct the district court to

determine whether there was a conflict between Lead

Counsel and clients. 757 F.2d 1139; A 123. In fact, the

Piambino I panel sent a different message to the district

court by rejecting an invitation to independently evaluate

the fees:

This is not our normal practice; however, since

the District Court is infinitely better situated

to conduct the factual inquiry necessary under

Johnson [v. Georgia Highway Express, 488 F.2d

714 (5th Cir. 1974).

Mandamus is an extraordinary remedy.

(I}t is clear that only exceptional circumstances

amounting to a judicial “usurpation of power”

will justify the invocation of this extraordinary

remedy ... Thus the writ has been invoked

where unwarranted judicial action threatened

to embarrass the executive arm of the

government in conducting foreign

relations’, . . . where it was the only means

of forestalling intrusion by the federal judiciary

on a delicate area of federal-state

relations . . . where it was necessary to confine

a lower court to the terms of an appellate

tribunal's mandate. .. .

Will v. United States 389 U.S. 90,95 (1967)

(emphasis supplied) (citations omitted).

Piambino I contained no terms which warranted

the subsequent use of mandamus in Piambino II. Sylva’s

characterization of the appeal as one involving an “abuse

of discretion” belies «he propriety of mandamus. Sylva’s

sixteen month wait between issuance of the Piambino I

mandate and his motion to enforce it (Docket Entries

1468 and 1506) underscores the impropriety of mandamus.

The Piambino IT panel’s acknowledgment that had the

18

Piambino I panel known the resistance to be mounted

to returning the distributed funds it “would have

instructed the district court to determine [if there was

a conflict’ undermines the Piambino IT use of mandamus.

Thus there was either conflict with this Court’s

restrictive view of mandamus, or, if its use was proper,

the Court should answer that important question.°

B. Supervisory Powers

The court below invoked its “supervisory power”

to “bring an end to Lead Counsel's role as class attorneys

in this case.” 757 F.2d 1145; A 139. It sought to justify

its use with references to McNabb v. United States,

318 U.S. 332,340-41 (1943), Klapprott v. United States,

335 U.S. 601 (1949) and Photovest Corp. v. Fotomat

Corp., 606 F.2d 704,710-11 (7th Cir.1979).

Neither McNabb, Klapprott, Photovest nor the

numerous other appellate cases which have called upon

the supervisory power doctrine used it to summarily

terminate a lawyer-client relationship. Indeed, the panel's

citations implicitly acknowledge the dearth of specific

authority for its rationale, focusing instead on its objective

of “fashioning procedures and remedies that ensure

that the judicial process remains a fair one.” 757 F.2d

1146; A 139.

‘In Vendo Company v. Lektro-Vend Corporation, 434 U.S. 424

(1978) the Court said that mandamus was available if a lower court

“disobeys and mistakes” the meaning of an appeliate mandate.

But to mistake the meaning of a mandate means the manac-te

conveyed an unambiguous meaning. One cannoi disobey an unclear

instruction, or an instruction which is subsequently determined to

be what the mandate would have been had the appellate court

been apprised of facts it did no know when it ruled.

19

That goal is the touchstone of the supervisory

powers doctrine, see Note, The Supervisory Power of

the Federal Courts, 76 Harv.L.Rev. 1656,1659 (1963).

But laudable goals may oniy be reached wa constitutional

means.

[Due process] expresses the requirement of

“fundamental fairness,” a requirement whose

meaning can be as opaque as its importance is

lofty. Applying the Due Process clause is

therefore an uncertain enterprise which must

discover what “fundamental fairness” consists

of in a particular situation by first considering

any relevant precedents and then by assessing

the several interests that are at stake.

Lassiter v. Department of Social Services of

Durham County, 452 U.S. 18,24 (1981).

Here no precedents justified the use of the

supervisory powers doctrine to summarily terminate a

longstanding lawyer-client relationship and deprive the

lawyer and clients of property and liberty interests.

If such supervisory power action is to be tolerated,

then this Court should address its fairness.

same wham

20

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition for Writ of

Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

BRUCE 8S. ROGOW

3100 S.W. 9th Avenue

Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33315

(305) 522-2300

Counsel for Petitioner

21

Appendix

Peter PIAMBINO et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

v.

William E. BAILEY et al., Defendants,

Bestline Products, Inc., a California

Corporation et al.,

Defendants-Appellants.

In re BESTLINE PRODUCTS SECURITIES

AND ANTITRUST LITIGATION.

Peter PIAMBINO et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

v.

William E. BAILEY et al., Defendants,

David SYLVA, Compliance Officer of the

California Restitutionary Fund,

Int’ rvenor-Appellant.

Nos. 76-3495, 77-2045.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

Feb. 6, 1980.

x * *

Before COLEMAN, Chief Judge, GOLDBERG, and

RUBIN, Circuit Judges.

COLEMAN, Chief Judge.

This litigation arose from the sale by Bestline

Products, Inc.,' a California corporation, of direct

‘Bestline Products, Inc., is a “California corporation wholly

owned by Bestline Corporation, another California corporation. In

this opinion these corporations will be collectively referred to as

“Bestline”’.

App. 1

distributorship contracts (or agreements) for the sale

and distribution to the consuming public of its line of

personal and home care products. Bestline’s direct

distributorships were an integral part of its multi-level

distributorship system, a species of pyramid sales

schemes.*

The complexities of this case remind us of the

ancient Gordian Knot. Involved here are eleven lawsuits

transferred to the Southern District of Florida for

coordinated or consolidated pretrial proceedings with

a suit previously filed in that district.’ The two appeals

taken to this Court from those proceedings, and now

before us, have also been consolidated.'

For a detailed analysis of such schemes, see Note, Pyramid

Schemes: Dare to be Regulated, 61 Geo.L.J. 1257 (1973).

‘In 1974 the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation transferred

six cases to the Southern District of Florida for consolidation with

the case of Piambino v. Bailey, No. 73-1230—Civ. Jn re Bestline

Products Securities and Antitrust Litigation, 375 F.Supp. 926

(Jud.Pan.Mult.Lit. 1974). Later, it transferred four Texas cases to

the Florida court, 405 F.Supp. 313 (Jud.Pan.Mult.Lit. 1975), as well

as one North Carolina case. Most cf these cases were class actions

and alleged violations of the federal securities laws and various

state laws.

‘In No. 76-3495, on August 6, 1976, the defendants filed notice

of appeal from three different orders of the District Court: (1) the

Order Determining Motions for Summary Judgment, dated March

19, 1976; (2) the Preliminary Injunction, dated July 7, 1976; and (3)

the Order Allowing Reimbursement of Costs and Disbursements

of James H. Joseph, dated July 15, 1976. The appellants filed their

opening brief in December 1976, and the State of California filed

an amicus brief in January 1977. The parties then began settlement

negotiations and moved this Court for a stay of the appeal proceedings,

which motion was granted.

App. 2

Included is a class of nearly 40,000 plaintiffs. There

are several corporate defendants, a law firm defendant,

and over 60 individual defendants. Swept up in the

proceedings are scores of lawyers, the attorneys general

of seven states, the Federal Trade Commission, and

the Department of Justice. Various state and federal

courts have decided related cases.

In this appeal, the parties have raised many issues,

including: (1) the management of class actions and complex

litigation; (2) the interpretation of 28 U.S.C. § 2283 (the

“Anti-Injunction Act”); and (3) the definition of a “security”

for purnoses of the federal securities laws.

We hold that summary judgment declaring the

distributorships to be securities was improvidently

entered. After a consideration of all issues we reverse

and remand for further proceedings not inconsistent

herewith.

(Footnote 4 Continued)

Although the settlement which was finally approved by the

District Court included a requirement that the defendants dismiss

their appeal in No. 76-3495, they refused to do so when David

Sylva appealed from the denial of his motion to intervene and

from the order approving the settlement. The latter appeal was

docketed as No. 77-2045, and the two appeals were consolidated

for oral argument. In January 1979 the plaintiffs filed their opening

brief in No. 76-3495.

App. 3

1.

BESTLINE’S ORGANIZATION

AND HISTORY*®

Bestline Products, Inc. began its aciivities in August,

1966, when defendants William E. Bailey and Jerry G.

Brassfield organized a multilevel direct sales organization

to sell and distribute a line of biodegradable soap products.

Bailey and Brassfield had previously been associated

as distributors for Holiday Magic, Inc., a multilevel

direct sales company which sold cosmetic products.

Those men had additional experience with pyramid

sales schemes resulting from their work with several

other (ultimately unsuccessful) companies.

From its inception, Bestline was a successful venture,

at least until the rising flood of lawsuits and regulatory

actions began to overwhelm it. Bestline recruited other

individuals with experience in multi-level direct sales

and grew until it became an operation in all fifty states

and several foreign countries. By March, 1972, its initial

meager line of cleaning agents and home care products

had expanded to sixteen in number. Six of the products

were manufactured by Bestline in its own facilities in

San Jose, California and Elk Grove Village, Illinois;

various other companies manufactured the remaining

items.

In order to share the ownership of the company

with other loyal and devoted participants in its direct

sales program, in 1968 Bai:ey and Brassfield organized

the Bestline Corporation and sold their interest in Bestline

‘Most of the discussion under this heading is taken from the

District Court’s Opinion and Order Determining Motions from

Summary Judgment. See Jn re Bestline Products Securities, 412

F.Supp. 732 (S.D. Fla. 1976).

App. 4

Products, Inc. to the new corporation for $10 million.

They sold some stock in the new corporation to others,

but they retained the majority ownership for themselves.

Bailey was the chief executive officer and chairman of

the board until August 1973, when Brassfield returned

to the organization he had left in 1970. As the business

expanded, the officers and top executives of Bestline

received ever-expanding compensation packages, including

six-figure salaries and such perquisites as use of the

corporate aircraft and yacht.

The most important factor in Bestline’s success,

and an equally important factor in its legal problems,

was its “National Marketing Plan’, a plan that was

implemented through three levels of independent

distributors. At the lowest level were the “Local

Distributors”,® who paid $5 annual dues and sold Bestline’s

products directly to the consuming public. At the second,

or middle, level were the “Direct Distributors”. The

status of “Direct Distributor” could be achieved by a

Local Distributor who sold approximately $5,000 worth

of products in a month. The status could also be obtained

by a prepurchase plan. A person could become a Direct

Distributor by paying $3,400 in cash; for this sum, the

purchaser received classification as a Direct Distributor

and soap products having a retail price of $5,000 together

with sales aids. Such a purchaser was required to serve

as a Local Distributor for seven days and, while a Local

*Although Local Distributors could recruit other Local

Distributors to sell for them, the profits achieved by a Local

Distributor turned solely upon sales to the consuming public.

Bestline paid no commissions or bonuses to persons at the lowest

level. Consequently, no party to these suits has alleged that this

aspect of the scheme violated the federal securities laws. As

certified by the District Court, the class did not include any Local

Distributors.

Distributor, to buy $100 (later $500) worth of Bestline

products. Unlike Local Distributors, Direct Distributors

were not required to sell products to the consuming

public or even to Local Distributors whom they sponsored.

They could engage in recruiting Local Distributors to

sell the products, but they could also recruit other

persons to become prepurchase Direct Distributors. If

a Direct Distributor successfully recruited two new

Direct Distriputors, he became qualified to move up to

the third, and highest, level, that of “General Distributor”.

This level in the Bestiine hierarchy could be attained

only by persons who first qualified as Direct Distributors

and then satisfied certain other requirements.

The district court certified as the class plaintiffs

only repurchase Direct Distributors. Thus, the action

does not involve Local Distributors, Local Distributors

who earned the status of Direct Distributor by selling

soap products or General Distributors.

Profits at the various levels were ‘1 part dependent

on the volume of sales to lower levels and to the consuming

public. A Local Distributor purchased the products

from his sponsoring Direct Distributor at a discount

that varied from 30% to 52% off of the retail price,

depending upon his monthly sales. A Direct Distributor

purchased the products for resale to his Local Distributors

and to the public at a 52% discount. At the top of the

pyrainid, a General Distributor purchased the products

for resale to his Director Distributors, his Local

Distributors, and the public at a 60% discount.

A person at any of the three levels could profit by

selling Bestline’s products to the public (which all levels

were authorized to do) or by recruiting other distributors

(which all levels were also authorized to do). In fact

App. 6

substantial sales of Bestline products were made, about

$1,000,000 per month at one point. (The record is not

clear, however, what part of these sales were made to

consumers and what part remained in the hands of

various classes of distributors.)

As is the case with most such pyramid sales schemes,

however, the lure of big profits came not from the

opportunity to sell Bestline’s products to the consuming

public but from the opportunity to recruit others who

would in turn recruit or sell. The district court discussed

four different methods by which Bestline Direct and

Ceneral Distributors could profit from the recruitment

of new distributors: (1) the release fee; (2) the standard

commission; (3) the override commission; and (4) the

special incentive bonus (SIB).

The release fee practice, which Bestline abandoned

in 1970, was the simplest method by which a person in

the top level profited from the recruitment aspect of

the National Marketing Plan. Under this program, a

Direct Distributor who wished to move up was required

to pay Bestline a $2750 fee, of which Bestline paid

$2250 to the Direct Distributor’s sponsoring Generai

Distributor (generally, the one who had initially recruited

the Direct Distributor). Ostensibly, this fee was paid to

release oneself from his General! Distributor’s organization

and compensate the latter for the loss of commission

which would be experienced when the Direct Distributor

left that organization. This fee therefore provided General

Distributors with an incentive to encourage their Direct

Distributors to move up the pyramid. Equally as obvious,

however, is the fact that the release fee provided no

incentive for Direct Distributors.’

The second method by which individuals profited

from the recruitment of others was the standard

commission. This resulted from the 8% differential in

discounts between General and Direct Distributors,

and it was applied to all “product movement” between

those two levels. This standard commission therefore

provided an incentive for General Distributors to recruit

more Direct Distributors, to whom they could sell Bestline

products at 48% of retail after having purchased such

products from the company at 40% of retail. The General

Distributors could therefore achieve a rapid 20% return

on their outlays.

The override commission was a 3% commission

paid to the sponsor of a sponsoring distributor. The

sponsor of a sponsoring distributor was entitled to this

commission solely because he had initially recruited

the initial distributor, even though he may have played

no part in the subsequent recruitment. This commission

therefore provided an incentive for distributors to recruit

people who in turn would be good recruiters and not

merely good retailers of Bestline’s products.

The fourth method, the special incentive bonus,

was introduced by Bestline shortly after it eliminated

the release fee practice. SIB’s were paid on an annual

basis to qualifying General, but not Direct, Distributors

and were a progressive percentage of product movement.

"Unless, of course, it was the expectation that one would

eventually move up to the position of General Distributor and

then be in a position to recruit other Direct Distributors, who

might eventually pay the release fee in order to move themselves

up in the hierarchy.

App. 8

Product movement consisted not only of products that

were sold to ultimate consumers, but also of products

that remained in the hands of a distributor who either

was unable to unload them on another distributor or

was unwilling or unable to sell them to the public. A

General Distributor had to account for at least $36,000

in product movement to be eligible for any SIB. His

commission would be 3.3% at that level, but if he could

push $200,000 in products, his commission rate jumped

to 15%, or earnings of $30,000.

One device utilized by Bestline to advance and

implement corporate policy was the monthly meeting

of its “Corporate Team”, which included key home

office officials, assistant vice-presidents, and Regional

Directors. These meetings were used to announce changes

in policy and to motivate Bestline’s personnel. A key

feature of these meetings was the constant exhortation

to hold “Opportunity Meetings” and to adhere closely

to the script provided by the company for use at these

meetings.

The district court found that dozens, if not hundreds

of opportunity meetings were conducted almost daily

throughout the United States.* These meetings involved

the gathering of a group of Bestline distributors and

prospective recruits in a hotel or motel meeting room,

or any other suitable place. The prospects were

*‘Bestline’s Opportunity Meetings differed little from the meetings

which have been integral parts of other pyramid sales schemes.

Compare SEC v. Koscot Interplanetary, Inc., 497 F.2d 473, 476

(5th Cir. 1974); SEC uv. Glenn W. Turner Enterprises, Inc., 348

F.Supp. 766, 770-71 (D.Gre. 1972), aff'd, 474 F.2d 476 (9th Cir. 1973),

cert. denied, 414 U.S. 821, 94 S.Ct. 117, 38 L.Ed.2d 53 (1973); see

generally Note, Pryamid Schemes: Dare to be Regulated, 61 Geo.L.J.

1257, 1259 (1973).

App. 9

systematically exhorte4 to take advantage of the Bestline

“opportunity”. To insure uniformity at each of the

thousands of Opportunity Meetings, Bestline distributed

scripts for speakers to use at such meetings, as well as

records, film strips, and copies of the “Bestline Business

Opportunity Booklet.” Bestline corporate officials

frequently conducted the meetings at least to insure

adherence to company policy.

The Opportunity Meetings were the means by

which Bestline distributors were urged to build an

“organization” of distributors whom they sponsored.

The time and place of each Opportunity Meeting was

reported to the Bestline home office and assembled

into a regularly published “Corporate Calendar” which

listed all the meetings currently planned across the

country. By means of this calendar, Bestline distributors

could, as they were urged to do by Bestline, refer

friends or acquaintances in distant locations to a

convenience Opportunity Meeting in their city or locale.

If the distant prospect signed up for a distributorship,

the referring friend became his sponsor and therefore

received a share of the commis;ions paid on the products

purchased from Bestline by the distant prospect, even

if the referring friend took no part in the actua!

recruitment of the distant prospect other than inviting

him to the Opportunity Meeting.

The Bestline system for computing the amount of

regular commissions, override commissions and SIB

bonuses which it paid to its distributors was based on

Bestline’s concept of “product movement,” which gave

credit for both retail and “wholesale” sales. Because of

the Credit for wholesale business, one effect of the

“product movement” was to reward distributors for

the recruitment of new prepurchase Direct Distributors.

App. 10

And since prepurchase Direct Distributors were required

to make large initial purchases to qualify for their

position, a General Distributor who sponsored a

prepurchase Direct Distributor would receive a substantial

commission, and possibly an SIB bonus, on the new

distributor’s initial purchase, even if the new distributor

made no attempt to sell the products which he had

purchased to the consuming public. Nor did the new

prepurchase Direct Distributor need to sell any of his

inventory in order to make a profit. He could instead

concentrate his efforts on the “wholesale” part of the

business, and try to recruit new prepurchase Direct

Distributors whose initial purchases could be applied

tow.rd fulfilling his own requirements for becoming a

General Distributor. The incentive for becoming a General

Distributor is revealed by the fact that, while a General

Distributor generally earned a lesser net discount on

product sales (as little as 8%) than did a Direct Distributor

(as high as 20%), only a General Distributor was entitled

to receive commissions and credit toward his SIB bonus

for the initial purchases made by newly recruited

prepurchase Direct Distributors whom he sponsored.

Thus, although the class certified as plaintiffs includes

only prepurchase Direct Dist~‘hutors, the route to highest

profits was by becoming a General Distributor. Becoming a

Direct Distributor and then recruiting another Direct

Distributor was the only way to achieve the top of the

pyramid, General Distributor status.°

*According to the district court’s opinion, prior to 1970 a

Direct Distributor could qualify as a General Distributor by (1)

recruiting a new prepurchase Direct Distributor to replace him in

his sponsoring General Distributor’s organization; and (2) paying

a $2;750 release fee to Bestline, $2,250 of wkich was then paid by

Bestline to the ascending distributor's former sponsoring General

Distributor, and $500 of which was retained by Bestline. Beginning

App. 11

il.

BESTLINE’S LEGAL BATTLES

Prosperity to the contrary notwithstanding, Bestline

soon found itself defending lawsuits brought by the

federal government, by the attorneys general of seven

states, and by numerous private plaintiffs.

In 1971 Bestline entered into a consent decree

with the Federal Trade Commission wherein it agreed

to cease and desist from al]'vged unfair trade practices

in connection with the recruitment of new distributors.”

On May 21, 1971, the State of California filed a

civil suit against Bestline and certain of its officials

alleging violations of state law."' On July 25, 1973, after

a lengthy trial, the Los Angeles County Superior Court

(Footnote 9 Continued)

in 1970, however, a Direct Distributor could become a General

Distributor only by (1) recruiting a Direct Distributor to replace

himself in his sponsoring General Distributor’s organization; (2)

paying a $600 (later $700) fee to Bestline for attendance at “General

Distributor’s School”; and (3) generating, either through retail or

“wholesale” sales volume (the latter category including the initial

“pre-purchase” sales to newly recruited pre-purchase Direct

Distributors), $5000 of “product movement” in a single month.

The pertinent provisions of that consent decree can be

found in United States v. Bestline Products Corp., 412 F.Supp.

754, 760-61 n. 2 (N.D.Cal. 1976).

"Specifically, California alleged violations of California Business

and Professions Code §17500 (deceptive advertising) and Civil

Code §3369 (unfair competition). Earlier, on January 14, 1971,

Bestline had signed a consent decree with the State and had

agreed to cease and desist from employing certain marketing and

advertising practices.

App. 12

entered a written judgment in the case, ordering

injunctive relief, restitution to certain California Bestline

distributors, and a total of $1,902,500 ($1,000,000 against

Bestline) in civil penalties. In addition, the order provided

for the appointment of a receiver to effectuate the

restitutionary provisions. After the state court judge

had announced his decision from the bench, but two

days before the written opinion issued, Bestline filed a

Chapter XI bankruptcy petition in the Northern District

of California. That court issued a stay order which

prevented the California Attorney General from enforcing

the state court judgment.

While the Chapter XI proceedings inched forward,

extensive negotiations took place. New management

took over control of Bestline and the California Attorney

General’s office negotiated with the new m*uagement.

These discussions bore fruit on December 21, 1973,

when the parties and the Superior Court signea a

modified judgment that expanded the restitution program

so that certain non-California Bestline distributors could

participate in it. Pursuant to this modified judgment,

Bestline transferred $4,085,936.61 into an irrevocable

restitutionary trust to be administered by the Bank of

America. Bestline agreed to make periodic payments,

beginning January 1, 1976, to the fund until full restitution

had been achieved, and it withdrew its bankruptcy

petition. The modified judgment also empowered the

Attorney General to seek termination of the trust

agreement if Bestline failed to make regular payments.

In addition, the court postponed Bestline’s payment of

$1,000,000 in civil penalties uztil full restitution had

been achieved.

Three categories of distributors were eligible to

participate in the California restitution program. These

were:

App. 13

(1) Each individual who became a Direct Distributor

or a Candidate Direct Distributor in California

after January 14, 1971, to and including July 25,

1973, and who requests a refund;

(2) Any individual who is entitled to restitution

pursuant to agreement reached between any other

state or political subdivision thereof or any federal

department or agency and Bestline Products, Inc.,

and/or Bestline Corporation..

(3) Any other individual who became a Candidate

Direct Distributor or Direct Distributor in Bestline

in any state other than those specified [above] who

has satisfied any of the following conditions: (1) the

company approves the claim; (2) the distributor

has received an arbitration award pursuant to a

national plan of arbitration, or (5) pursuant to

judgment.

The avowed purpose of this program as modified

was to keep the company afloat so that restitution

could be maximized. If large judgments were obtained

against Bestline, and if subsequent plaintiffs sought to

enforce those judgments, the company would become

bankrupt. Therefore, any plaintiff obtaining a judgment

could elect to join the California restitution program,

or he could attempt to enforce his judgment, depending

upon his own perception of which course of action he

thought would enhance his recovery.

Bestline appealed the Superior Court judgment

but did not challenge its restitutionary features. The

lower court was affirmed on all issues appealed, People

u Bestline Products, Inc., 61 Cal.App.3d 879, 132 Cal.Rptr.

767 (1976).

App. 14

The record does not indicate how many individual

cases, if any, proceeded to judgment, but public bodies

brought a number of suits which either proceeded to

judgment or were settled. The New York City Bureau

of Consumer Protection and the Attorneys General of

Missouri, Ohio, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Texas, and

Wisconsin successfully brought suits against Bestline

on behalf of former Bestline distributors in their respective

jurisdictions. All of these seven classes elected to join

the California restitution program rather than execute

their judgments.

In the meantime, private lawsuits against Bestline

and various officers of the company were filed in several

federal courts across the country, and the scramble for

the assets of Bestline began in earnest. For example,

on July 20, 1973, counsel for the Piambino plaintiffs

filed their class action lawsuit in the Southern District

of Florida.

Lead counsel” for the consolidated actions made

several attempts in California courts to disrupt the

California restitution payments. The initial effort began

on September 20, 1974, when one of the two lead counsel

sent a letter to the Bank of America, the fund trustee,

claiming that the class had a prior equity in the trust

and warning the bank that it “will be held liable to

them [the class] for their proportional interest in any

funds disbursed after your receipt of this letter.” Another

letter, dated October 8, 1974, threatened “to commence

“The District Judge appointed as lead counsel! for the

consolidated proceedings the two attorneys, Carl H. Hoffman and

James H. Joseph, who had filed the class action lawsuit on behalf

of the Piambino plaintiffs in the Southern District of Florida.

These two attorneys have acted as lead counsel throughout the

litigation.

App. 15

legal proceedings against the Bank of America to enjoin

any distribution of funds from the Bestline trust...

[and which would seek] recovery of the proportional

interest in any funds disbursed by the Bank to which

the putative class is entitled.” Since the Bank was

scheduled to disburse payments to the participants in

the restitution program in the near future, it was

concerned about these threats and petitioned the

California Superior Court for instructions. After a hearing

attended by all interested parties, including lead counsel

for the Florida class, the state court ordered the bank

to make the disbursements. Bestline did not appeal

that decision, even though it may have been entitled to

do so under state law. See County of Alameda u Carleson,

5 Cal.3d 730, 97 Cal.Rptr. 385, 488 P.2d 953 (1971).

The very next day, lead counsel filed a class action

suit in the Northern District of California alleging that

the distribution of money through the restitution fund

constituted “common law fraud and deceit” and deprived

their clients of due process and equal protection. Plaintiffs

sought an injunction “restraining Bank of America,

(the compliance officer], Bestline, Bestline Corporation,

[the California Attorney General] and the Superior

Court from issuing any further instructions to [the

compliance officer] and/or Bank of America inconsistent

with the claims of [the plaintiff class), and restraining

Bank of America from any distribution of said funds

inconsistent with the rights of [the plaintiff class] to

share ratably therein.” Counsel then petitioned the

Judicia! Panel on Multi-district Litigation to treat the

action as a tag-along case with the Florida cases. A

conditional transfer order was summarily issued, but

the defendants promptly moved to vacate that order.

After a hearing, the defendants’ motion was granted

App. 16

on February 14, 1975, whereupon the parties returned

to the Northern District of California, where the court

notified all the parties that a hearing would be held on

March 28, 1975. Plaintiffs’ counsel iailed to appear at

that hearing, and the court granted the defendants’

motivn to dismiss under Rule 12(b) with prejudice.

Judgment was entered, the plaintiffs appealed, and the

Ninth Circuit dismissed the appeal without opinion.

At this point, if not before, the California state

court judgments became absolutely final and entitled

to full faith and credit.

On April 2, 1976, pursuant to a complaint filed by

the Federal Trade Commission, the United States District

Court for the Northern District of California found

that Bestline had violated the injunction issued as a

part of the 1971 consent decree. Among other things,

the Federal Trade Commission obtained a judgment of

$1,036,000 against the defendant, William Bailey, dated

July 19, 1976, United States v. Bestline Products

Corporation, 412 F.Supp. 754 (N.D.Cal. 1976). This money

was paid into the registry of that Court.

In the meantime, as will hereinafter be related,

the District Court in Florida had brought the enforcement

of the California state court judgment to a halt by

enjoining Bestline from complying with the California

state court judgment. The District Court in California

transferreu the $1,036,000 from its registry to that of

the Southern District of Florida for distribution to

members of the plaintiff class in that Court.

After the total lack of success in both the State

and Federal Courts in California, ending with the dismissal

of the appeal in the Ninth Circuit, plaintiffs’ counsel

resorted again to the Southern District of Florida,

where discovery proceeded apace.

App. 17

On March 19, 1976, the District Judge rendered an

opinion and order granting the plaintiffs’ motion for

summary judgment on the limited issue of whether the

prepurchase Direct Distributorship agreements were

“securities” for purposes of the Securities Act of 1933

and the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. Meanwhile,

on January 1, 1976, Bestline had made its first scheduled

payment of $250,000 to the restitution fund, and it had

notified the compliance officer that it would be able to

make its second periodic payment, in the arnount of

$500,000, as scheduled on June 30, 1976. This apparently

alarmed lead counsel and on June 18, 1976 less than

two weeks prior to the scheduled date of payment,

they moved the Florida District Court for a temporary

restraining order to prohibit Bestline from transferring

the money to the Bank of America. Lead counsel

recognized the problem presented by 28 U.S.C. §2283,

the Anti-Injunction Act, and submitted a brief to the

District Court arguing that the court could issue the

injunction on the ground that the plaintiff class had

been deprived of some right secured to it by the 1871

Civil Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. §1981 et seq., and on the

ground that such an injunction was permitted under

the “where necessary in aid of its jurisdiction” exception

contained in the statute. The court held a hearing on

June 30, 1976, the very day that Bestline was scheduled

to make the payment, and after the Bank of America

had gone to considerable expense in preparing checks

and envelopes for the mailing of individual checks to

the appreximately 7,043 persons then participating in

the restitution program.’ A representative of the

SOf this total, approximately 2300 resided at one time or

another in California. Except for four people whom Bestline had

authorized to participate in the fund, all of the other participating

members joined the fund pursuant to judgments or settlements

App. 18

California Attorney Geaeral appeared at the hearing

and argued, as did the defendants, that 28 U.S.C. §2283

barred the injunction. From the bench, the District

Judge enjoined Bestline from making the payment,

and, when the defendants demanded that the plaintiffs

post a security deposit for damages in accordance with

the requirements of Rule 65(c) of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure, the Judge decided that the $500,000

would be deposited into the registry of the court an”

would serve as the security deposit. Unfortunately, we

think, the written order completely avoided the question

of whether the Anti-Injunction Act barred the injunction.

The District Court simply opined that “it would be

inequitable to allow the California Plan participants to

continue to receive payments from Bestline where the

other members of the Plaintiff class were effectively

precluded from participating in the California Plan

because of matters outside of their control.” Thus, after

being clearly apprised of the barrier posed by the

Anti-Injunction Act, both in written briefs and in ora!

argument at the June 30 hearing, the District Judge

failed to address the problem and issued the injunction.

The defendants filed a timely notice of appeal.

(Footnote 13 Continued)

secured by six different state attorneys general or, in the case of

New York City, by a Consumer Protection Bureau.

“After the District Court enjoined Bestline, it missed six

payments to the restitution fund:

Date Amount

June 30.1976 the greater of $500,000 or 50% of pre-tax profits

Jan. 1, 1977 $500,000

June 30,1977 the greater of $750,000 or 50% of pre-tax profits

Jan. 1, 1978 $750,000

June 30,1978 the greater of $1,000,000 or 50% of pre-tax profits

Jan. 1, 1979 $1,000,000

App. 19

Bestline’s new Chief Executive, Bailey, then began

serious settlement negotiations with lead counsel. On

October 20, 1976, the District Court entered an order

preliminarily approving a settlement between Bailey

and the class. The settlement provided that the funds

obtained by the FTC and then on deposit in the registry

of the court in the Northern District of California would

be paid into the registry of the Southern District of

Florida in return for a complete release of all claims

against Bailey. It further provided that Bailey would

not have to pay any money above what he had already

paid in the FTC case, aad that the funds could be used

for the payment of attorneys’ fees to Lead Counsel.

The District Court, at Bestline’s expense, sent notice

to all members of the class concerning the proposed

settlement and then held hearings, at which the

Department of Justice appeared to protest the award

of $250,000 in attorneys’ fees tu Lead Counsel out of

funds generated by a successiul FTC prosecution. Despite

these objections, the Florida District Court concluded

that Lead Counsel had made a substantial contribution

to making those funds available for the plaintiff class,”

and awarded the attorneys’ fees in an order dated

February 25, 1977.

‘In the Northern District of California, Judge Renfrew’'s

extensive opinion does not mention any contribution by Lead

Counsel to the FTC case. See United States v. Bestline Products

Corp., 412 F.Supp. 754. In the Southern District of Florida no

written findings of fact were issued in support of the conclusion

that lead counsel had made a substantial contribution in the FTC

case.

If.

THE ALLEGED SECURITY

In the appeals now before us, the district court

held (1) that there was no genuine issue as to any

material fact bearing on the question of whether the

prepurchase Direct Distributorships sold to the plaintiffs

by Bestline were investment contracts within the meaning

of federal securities laws and (2) that those distributorships

were securities.

In SEC v. Koscot Interplanetary, Inc., 497 F.2d 473

(5 Cir., 1974), this Court held that for purposes of the

Securities Act of 1983'° and the Securities Exchange

Act of 1934" a pyramid distribution system is a security.

‘Section 2(1) of the Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C. §77b(1),

provides as follows:

(1) The term “security” means any note, stock, treasury

stock, bond, debenture, evidence of indebtedness, certificate

of interest or participation in any profit-sharing agreement,

collateral-trust certificate, preorganization certificate or

subscription, transferable share, investment contract, voting-

trust certificate, certificate of deposit for a security, fractional

undivided interest in oil, gas, or other mineral rights, or, in

general, any interest or instrument commonly known as a

“security”, or any certificate of interest or participation in,

temporary or interim certificate for, receipt for, guarantee of,

er warrant or right to subscribe to or purchase, any of the

foregoing.

"The definition of a “security” in §3(a\(10) of the Securities

Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. §78c(aX10), is substantially identical

to that contained in the Securities Act, and the coverage of the

Acts may be regarded as the same. /nternational Brotherhood of

Teamsters v. Daniel, 439 U.S. 551, 99 S.Ct. 790, 795 n. 7, 58 L.Ed.2d

808.

The question of whether the direct distributorships were

“investment contracts” concerned the District Court. See In re

Bestline Products Securities, 412 F.Supp. 732 (S.D.Fla. 1976). In

PIAMBINO v. BAILEY Cite as 610 F.2d 1306 (1980) It

was recognized that the test for an “investment contract”

had been spelled out by the Supreme Court in SEC wv.

W. J. Howey Company, 328 U.S. 293, 298-299, 66 S.Ct.

1100, 1103, 90 L.Ed. 1244, (1946):

‘“{[A]n investment contract for purposes of the

Securities Act, means a contract, transaction or

scheme whereby a person invests his money in a

common enterprise and is led to expect profits

solely from the efforts of the promoter ora third

party. (Emphasis supplied).

After analyzing subsequent Supreme Court cases

involving the investment contract issue along with lower

court interpretations of Howey, and scholarly commentary,

the Koscot Court concluded that a literal application of

the Howey test, “solely from the efforts of the promoter

or a third party”, would frustrate the remedial purposes

of the Acts. Therefore, the Ninth Circuit standard was

adopted: “{[W]hether the efforts made by those other

than the investor are the undeniably significant ones,

those essential managerial efforts which affect the failure

or success of the enterprise”, 497 F.2d at 483 [quoting

SEC v. Glenn W. Turner Enterprises, Inc., 474 F.2d

476, 482 (9 Cir., 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 821, 94

S.Ct. 117, 38 L.Ed. 53 (1937)]. As applied to the facts in

Koscot, it was held that efforts of the promoters in

setting up and conducting the Adventure Meetings,

which were designed to entice people to join the scheme,

(Footnote 17 Continued)

this Court, there is no contention that the phrases “certificate of

interest or participation in any profit-sharing agreement” or “any

interest or insty ument commonly known as a ‘security’ ” are broader

in scope, for purposes of this case, than the term “investment

contract”.

App. 22

were the “essential managerial efforts” without which

the enterprise would fail.

Since the Koscot decision the Supreme Court has

decided two cases involving the definition of investment

contracts, International Brotherhood of Teamsters v.

Daniel, 439 U.S. 551, 99 S.Ct. 790, 58 L.Ed.2d 808 (1979),

and United Housing Foundation, Inc. v. Forman, 421

U.S. 837, 95 S.Ct. 2051, 44 L.Ed.2d 621 (1975).

In both decisions, rejecting the arguments of the

Securities and Exchange Commission, the Supreme

"See, also SEC v. Sloan, 436 U.S. 103, 98 S.Ct. 1702, 56

L.Ed.2d 148 (1978); Santa Fe Industries, Inc. v. Green, 430 U.S.

462, 97 S.Ct. 1292, 51 L.Ed.2d 480 (1977); Piper v. Chris-Craft

Industries, Inc., 430 U.S. 1, 97 S.Ct. 926, 51 L.Ed.2d 124 (1977);

TSC Industries, Inc. v. Northway, Inc., 426 U.S. 438, 96 S.Ct. 2126,

48 L.Ed.2d 757 (1976); Ernst and Ernst v. Hochfelder, 425 U.S. 185,

96 S.Ct. 1375, 47 L.Ed.2d 668 (1976); Foremost-McKesson, Inc. v.

Provident Securities Co., 423 U.S. 232, 96 S.Ct. 508, 46 L.Ed.2d

464 (1976); Hondeau v. Mosinee Paper Corp., 422 U.S. 49, 95 S.Ct.

2069, 45 L.Ed.2d 12 (1975); Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug

Stores, 421 U.S. 723, 95 S.Ct. 1917, 44 L.Ed.2d 539 (1975); Securities

Investor Protection Corp. v. Barbour, 421 U.S. 412, 95 S.Ct. 1733,

44 L.Ed.2d 263 (1975); see generally Lowenfels, Recent Supreme

Court Decisions Under the Federal Securities Laws: The Pendulum

Swings, 65 Geo.L.J. 991 (1977).

The District Court in this case had the benefit of the Forman

decision before granting summary judgment on the security issue,

but it seems not to have grasped the significance of that case.

According to the District Court, the ianguage quoted in the text

meant that the Supreme Court had restated the Howey test. “By

focusing on the quality of the efforts of others, the Supreme Court

read the word ‘solely’ out of the Howey test, it having become so

much surplusage, thereby according to its prior Howey decision

the flexibility originally. intended.” 412 F.Supp. at 737-38. The

District Court failed to deal with the remainder of the Forman

decision, however.

App. 23

Court reversed lower court holdings that the transactions

at issue were investment contracts, and hence securities.

The significant thing is that the Court expressly

reaffirmed the test first enunciated in Howey, which

had been on the books for thirty years.

In Forman the Court stated, “[t]he touchstone is

the presence of an investment in a common venture

premised on a reasonable expectation of profits to be

derived from the entrepreneurial or managerial efforts

of others”** (emphasis added), 421 U.S. at 852, 95 S.Ct.

at 2060.

It should be noted that the test is to be applied in

light of the “substance—the economic realities of the

transaction—rather than the names that may have

been employed by the parties”, Daniel, supra, 439 U.S.

at 558, 99 S.Ct. at 796.

In Forman, the Court emphasized, that, “in searching

for the meaning and scope of the word ‘security’ in the

'*The essential vice of chain or pyramid distribution schemes

has been well documented. For example, if the founder recruited

five distributors in the first month and if those five each recruited

five more distributors in month two, and if each of these subsequent

recruits enticed five people to join in the month following his own

recruitment, over 244 million new distributors would be recruited

in the twelfth month. Obviously, this would be impossible in a

nation of only 220 million people. Equally as obvious is the fact

that those who have the greatest risk of loss are those who enter

the pyramid when the market is closest to saturation. This seems

largely an element of chance, and it is just such a realization that

has prompted courts all over the country to declare such schemes

to be prohibited lotteries. See generally Annot., 54 A.L.R.3d 217,

227-31. The disclosure which would be necessary to inform a new

investor of his prospects for success or failure would have to

change almost daily in order to reflect the acquisition of new

distributors. Needless to say, there would be substantial

administrative obstacles connected with any such regime of disclosure.

App. 24

Act[s], form should be disregarded for substance and

the emphasis should be on economic reality”, 421 U.S.

at 848, 95 S.Ct. at 2058.

As in Koscot and Turner, as well as in SEC vw.

Galaxy Foods, Inc., 556 F.2d 559 (2 Cir., 1977), and Bell

v. Health-Mor, 549 F.2d 342 (5 Cir., 1977), there were

two distinct aspects to the distribution system set up

by Bestline. These were the retail sales portion of the

business on one hand and the recruiting portion on the

other, but it would appear, without our so deciding,

that these aspects were both integral parts of one

common scneme. The degree of investor participation

and control differed significantly with respect to each

of these aspects.

Following the approach applied in Securities and

Exchange Commission v. United Benefit Life Insurance

Company, 387 U.S. 202, 207, 87 S.Ct. 1557, 18 L.Ed.2d

673 (1967), the district court here, like the courts in

Turner, Koscot, Galaxy, and Health-Mor, separated these

distinct aspects of the Bestline operation for purposes

of its analysis. It also discussed the Howey formation

of “profits” as meaning either “capital appreciation

resulting from the development of the initial investment”

or “a participation in earnings resulting from the use

of investors’ funds”, 421 U.S. at 852, 95 S.Ct. at 2060.”

It is apparent that the purchasers of Bestline Direct

Distributorships would not profit by “capital appreciation

resulting from the development of the initial investment”.

In a footnote, the Court also noted the Ninth Circuit decision

in SEC v. Glenn W. Turner Enterprises, Inc, supra. The Court

stated that the “solely from the efforts of others” part of the

Howey test was not presented in Forman and that it expressed no

opinion on the Ninth Circuit’s holding. 421 U.S. at 852 n. 16, 95

S.Ct. at 2060 n. 16.

App. 25

Neither is there any indication that prepurchasers oi

Direct Distributors expected a “participation in earnings

resulting from the use of investors’ funds”.

This relegates us to the standards long ago

articulated, and more recently reaffirmed, by the Supreme

Court.

An examination of the Bestline Business Opportunity

Booklet, coupled with the Applications, Qualification

Forms, and Agreements required to be executed by

Direct Distributors, clearly established that the efforts

of Bestline and its “Corporate Team” certainly constituted

the “common thread” on which all of the distributor's

“beads” were strung, see Securities and Exchange

Commission v. C. M. Joiner Leasing Corp., 320 US.

344, 348, 64 S.Ct. 120, 88 L.Ed. 88 (1943).

The person directing the Opportunity Meeting asks

his audience of prospective joiners, “How do you do it?

You get plenty of help. * * * We all work together on

this” (App. 32a-33a, emphasis supplied).

Actually, it was not the Direct Distributorship, as

such, but the General Distributorship that purportedly

would yield the anticipated great returns. It was at the

latter level that Bestline emphasized the building and

supervisory aspects of the business, with which Bestline

promised “plenty of help”. The assurances of “plenty

of help” infers that the person receiving that help

would also have to be exerting efforts of his own, else

there would be no need for help. “We ail work together

on this” could be construed as notice that it would be

necessary for the “investors” to “work”.

Becoming first a Direct Distributor was prerequisite

to becoming a General Distributor but the “over-ail

App. 26

facts” and Bestline’s presentation might be construed

as holding out a promise that a prepurchase Direct

Distributor would never have to retail the product at

all; he would simply have to locate other prospects and

bring them to the meetings, thus jumping immediately

to General Distributorship level without exerting

substantial effort.

There were parts of the Bestline presentation which

would support a finding by a judge or a jury that no

reasonable “investor” could have believed that he was

relying solely on Bestline. At the General Distributors

meetings the presentation constantly emphasized the

retail aspects of the business. “The retail part may

seem very elementary to you but I want you to understand

how important it is, particularly to a General

Distributor. . . . Although you're at 60%, 60% of nothing

is nothing, so it’s vitally important that sales occur,

and of course, it is your job to assure that they do”.

The presentation then discussed the non-retail aspects

of the business — building an organization and supervising

it. The General Distributor’s responsibility was to “train

and motivate these people to do a good job”. How?

Plenty of help. It is implicit in this reference that retail

sales will take place. The night meeting emphasized

. retail sales and the saleability of the product.

The meeting leader then discussed the prepurchase

plan. This discussion focused on recruitment since that

was integral to advancing from Direct Distributor to

General Distributor. Moreover, the promise of greatest

profits was linked to becoming a General Distributor.

The meeting also discussed the risk involved and there

was evidence that might lead the trier of fact to conclude

that Bestline intended to dispel (and dispelled) the

belief that it was promising profits with no expenditure

App. 27

eo

of effort. The presentation listed three ways to generate

product movement volume: (1) retail sales through one’s

own accounts. “It generally takes experience in commercial

selling to be successful in that area. But if you have

that experience or acquire it, thet can be one way... .” |

(2) Simpler for those without sales experience is to sell

that amount through local distributors. (3) “Strictly a

hypothetical illustration”, would be by recruiting people

as Direct Distributors and training them as General

Distributors. “You must train your people and continue

to work closely with them”. Finally, the printed material

accompanying the Bestline presentation did not mention

personal efforts by the Direct Distributor.

In a summary judgment context what it all comes

down to is:

1. Different inferences could be drawn from the

facts in the record as to whether the Bestline Direct

Distributorship Plan could be separated into two parts;

2. If the fact finder (judge or jury) were to hold

that the Direct Distributorship Plan could be separated

into two parts, one of which would be the recruitment

of Direct Distributors, different inferences could be

drawn from the facts in the record as to whether

anticipated profits were to come solely by Bestline’s

efforts, with no substantial personal effort on the part

of the “investor”.

This, of course, would be determined on the

expectations of a “reasonable investor” as prompted

by Bestline’s standardized presentation, rather than

the subjective beliefs of any particular individw .is, see

Internal Brotherhood of Teamster, supra, 99 «.Ct. at

797; United States Housing Foundation, Inc. v. Forman,

421 US. at 852, 95 S.Ct. 2051. The motivation of particular

~ App. 28

individuals might vary; the application of the statute

must be objectively based.

What a “reasonable investor” would under all the

circumstances expect is for determination by the trier

of fact in much the same manner as the determination

of what a reasonable person would or would not have

done concerning acts claimed to have been negligent.

Such issues can properly be resolved by summary

judgment only if (1) there is no genuine dispute concerning

any material fact and (2) no conflicting inferences could

be drawn from those established facts.

{1] After considering all the facts most favorably

to the party against whom summary judgment is sought

summary judgment may be entered, of course, if no

jury could reasonably reach any conclusion except that

reasonable investors did (or did not) believe they were

buying into an enterprise whose profits would be

determined by Bestline managerial and entrepreneurial

methods with no substantial effort by the investor. Up

to now, however, this is not such a case.

On what we have before us, the entry of summary

judgment must be reversed and the case remanded for

further proceedings conducted consistently with the

applicable jurisprudence.

It should not be necessary for us to say that we

intimate no opinion whatever as to how this case should

be resolved on remand.

IV.

SYLVA’S APPLICATION TO

INTERVENE

[2] It is well settled that one who has sought

intervention of right may appeal from an order denying

App. 29

a

his application and that an appellate court will reverse

if it concludes that he was entitled to intervene of

right. Cascade Natural Gas Corp. v. El Paso Natural

Gas Co., 386 U.S. 129, 87 S.Ct. 932, 17 L.Ed.2d 814

(1967); Stallworth v. Monsanto Co., 558 F.2d 257, 263

(5th Cir. 1977). In its order entering final judgment as

to certain of the defendants, dated March 22, 1977, the

District Court denied Sylva’s petition to intervene as

“both untimely and without merit”. Thus, the Court

concluded that Sylva did not satisfy Rule 24(a)’s

requirements that an application for intervention of

right be timely and that, on the merits, “{1] the applicant

claims an interest relating to the property or transaction

which is the subject of the action and [2] he is so

situated that the disposition of the action may as a

practical matter impair or impede his ability to protect

that interest, unless [3] the applicant’s interest is

adequately represented by exis..ng parties.” Fed.R.Civ.P.

24(a).

[3] In the recent case of Stallworth v. Monsanto

Co., supra, we exhaustively surveyed the jurisprudence

on Rule 24's “timeliness” requirement and recognized

that this question is largely committed to the diserstion

of the district court. Consequently, its determination

will not be overturned on appeal unless an abuse of

discretion is shown. /d. at 263. Although such discretionary

determiiiations must necessarily consider all the facts

and circumstances of the particular case, NAACP ».

New York, 413 U.S. 345, 366, 93 S.Ct. 2591, 2603, 37

L.Ed.2d 648 (i973), the Stallworth panel identified four

factors which must, as a minimum, be considered in

passing upon the timeliness of a petition to intervene.

These factors were listed as: (1) the length of time

during which the would-be intervenor actually knew or

reasonably should have known of his interest in the

App. 30

case before he petitioned for leave to intervene; (2) the

extent of the ,sej,udice that the existing parties to the

litigation may suffer as a result of the would-be

intervenor’s failure to apply for intervention as soon as

he actually knew or reasonably should have known of

his interest in the case; (3) the extent of the prejudice

that the would-be intervenor may suffer if his petition

for leave to intervene is denied; and (4) the existence of

unusual circumstances militating either for or against

a determination that the application is timely. Jd. at

264-66.

Proper consideration of these factors generally

cannot be divorced from a consideration of the merits

of a prospective intervenor's application, however. For

instance, factor 1 clearly requires an initial identification

of the prospective intervenor’s interest in the case,

and factor 3 requires a similar identification of that

interest in order to assess the potential of prejudice to

him. Furthermore, the question of timeliness is at least

partially linked to the question of adequate representative.

See United Airlines, Inc. v. McDonald, 432 U.S. 386,

394, 97 S.Ct. 2464, 2470, 53 L.Ed.2d 423 (1977) (“as soon

as it became clear to the [intervenor] that the interests

of the unnamed class members would no longer be

protected by the named class representatives, she

promptly moved to intervene to protect those interests.”);

Allegheny Corp. v. Kirby, 344 F.2d 571, 574 (2d Cir.

1965) (timeliness also turns on “when the interests of

the proposed intervenors were no longer properly

represented”) (construing pre-1966 rule). Due to these

problems, we should analyze the merits of Sylva’s

application to intervene before considering whether it

was timely.

App. 31

First, what interest does Sylva have “relating to

the property or transaction which is the subject of the

action”? Our cases have required that intervention of

right be supported by a “direct, substantial, legally

protectable interest in the proceedings.’ See United

States v. Perry County Bd. of Education, 567 F.2d 277,

279 (5th Cir. 1978); Diaz v. Southern Drilling Corp., 427

F.2d 1118, 1124 (5th Cir. 1970), cert. denied sub nom.

Trefina A. G. v. United States, 400 U.S. 878, 91 S.Ct.

118, 27 L.Ed. 115 (1970). Furthermore, Syiva “has standing

to prosecute a suit in the federal! courts only if he is the

‘real party in interest’ as that term is defined under

Fed.R.Civ.P. 17(a). The stricture applies to intervenors

as well as plaintiffs.” United States v. 936.71 Acres of

Land, More or Less, in Brevard County, State of Florida,

418 F.2d 551, 556 (5th Cir. 1969).

Sylva admits that he has never been a Bestline

distributor at any level, nor has he ever been an employee

or stockholder of the corporation. Although he sought

to intervene on behalf of the 7,043 parvicipants in the

California restitution fund and to be appointed as a

representative of a subclass consisting of those persons,

we need not consider whether such an interest would

satisfy Rule 24(a) because Sylva clearly has another

interest in this litigation which he may assert, namely,

his own duties as Compliance Officer in administering

the restitution fund and as receiver of the Bestline

properties in California.

[4] It is the general rule that courts musi look to

the substantive law creating the right being sued upon

to determine compliance with the real party in interest

requirement, anc for at least two reasons we look to

California law in order to measure Sylva’'s claims. First,

Sylva seeks to intervene in his capacity as the Compliance

App. 32

Officer of a restitution fund which was set up by a state

court judgment to remedy violations of state law. In

order to participate in that fund, every direct distributor

with a judgment was required to waive “any and all

rights and remedies available to him against corporate

defendants with the exception of those rights and

remedies available under the plan of restitution”. This

is obviously an interest created by the substantive law

of California. Second, although this case involves primarily

claims assertedly arising under federal law, it also

involves pendent state law claims which the settlement

purports to extinguish. At least to protect the interests

of the California fund participants in those claims, we

should look to California law.

[5, 6] We are satisfied that, as Compliance Officer,

Sylva is the trustee of an express trust who may sue in

the California state courts under Cal.Civ.Proc. Code

Section 369 ‘West 1973), and in the federal courts under

Fed.R.Civ.P. 17(a). Under California law, “[t]he nature,

extent, and object of a trust are expressed in the

declaration of trust”, Cal.Civ.Code Section 2253 (West

1973), and the primary rule in the censtruction of trusts

is that the court must, if possible, ascertain and effectuate

the intention of the trustor. Ephraim v. Metropolitan

Trust Company of California, 28 Cal.2d 824, 834, 172

P.2d 501 (1946). In this case, the Superior Court is the

trustor, see Cal.Civ.Code Section 2252 (West 1973), and

we must therefore discern the intention of that court

in creating the trust. “{[WJhen a declaration of trust is

made in writing, all previous declarations by the same

trustor are merged therein,” id. at §2254, but when

documents are executed contemporaneously with the

trust agreement and are cross-referenced to each other,

as were the Modified Judgment, Instructions to

App. 33

eae

Compliance Officer, and Trust Agreement in this case,

they must be regarded as one instrument. See Security-

First Nat. Bank of Los Angeles v. Ogilvie, 47 Cal.App.2d

787, 792, 119 P.2d 25 (1941). Finally, the terms of a trust

agreement may empower someone other than the named

trustee to sue and be sued on behalf of the beneficiaries

of the trust. Cf, Powers v. Ashton, 45 Cal.App.3d 783,

119 Cal.Rptr. 729 (1975).

The California restitution fund was formally

established by three separate documents—the Modified

Judgment, the Instructions to Compliance Officer, and

the Trust Agreement, all of which were signed in

December 1973. The Trust Agreement is somewhat

brief and contains only 12 short paragraphs. It named

the Bank of America as trustee of the “irrevocable,

express trust”, and spelled out the trustee’s duties.

These were: (1) to maximize the interest earned by the

corpus of the trust; (2) to distribute payments to the

participants in the fund as directed by the Compliance

Officer; (3) to account to Bestline, the California Attorney

General and the Compliance Officer for all payments

made from the fund; and (4) to pay the fees and expenses

of the Compliance Officer after Bestline and the California

Attorney General had approved them. The agreement

also expressly mentioned the Instructions to Compliance

Officer (a copy of which was attached to the Trust

Agreement) and stated that the Bank of America “shall

have no discretion or authority or responsibility under

the provisions of [the Instructions].” Finally, the agreement

stated thai it was to be governed by the laws of California,

and it did not affirmatively state that the Bank of

America was to have the duty to enforce the rights of

the beneficiaries whom it represented.

App. 34

In contrast to the Trust Agreement, the Instructions

to Compliance Officer is a detailed document and defines

the Compliance Officer’s duties quite explicitly and

definitively. He was to send proof of claim forms to

each former distributor who became eligible to participate

in the fund and to calculate the amount of refund due

each person returning such form. He was to make the

restitutionary payments on a pro rata basis according

to a schedule established in the Instructions. Most

importantly, the Instructions provided that ‘Said

Compliance Officer shall have full and complete authority

and power to supervise, control, carry out, oversee and

enforce the restitutionary provisions set forth herein.

Said Compliance Officer shall perform all necessary

and proper acts to effectuate said purpose.” To insure

his ability to carry out these responsibilities, the

Instructions granted him “all necessary power and

authority to employ persons and legal counsel to assist

him” and provided for the payment of his reasonable

fees and expenses from the trust fund.

[7] Thus, it seems apparent that the express trust

created by the California Superior Court contemplated

a division of authority and responsibility. The Bank of

America was to control and invest the funds and to

make the payments as directed by the Compliance

Officer. These duties are among those normally assumed

by a trustee and are mainly ministerial. The Compliance

Officer, although not formally designated as the “trustee”

assumed significantly more important responsibilities

and was, in fact, the real fiduciary in the arrangement.

The Court gave him broad oversight responsibilities,

charged him with enforcing the restitutionary provisions,

and gave him the means (financial resources and

manpower) to carry out his responsibilities. We have

not the faintest doubt that the California Superior

App. 35

Court contemplated that the Compliance Officer, and

not the Bank of America, would assume thai vital and

essential duty—the enforcement of the terms of the

express trust on behalf of the beneficiaries of the trust —

through legal action if necessary. We therefore conclude

that the Compliance Officer is a “trustee of an express

trust” within the meaning of that term in Rule 17(a),

and is a real party in interest for purposes of this

litigation.

Any doubts which might have been entertained

about the correctness of that conclusion have surely

been dispelled by subsequent events. The Compliance

officer has kept himself abreast of the litigation in

Florida from its inception and has been involved in

several proceedings in the California Superior Court.

In fact, Lead Counsel for the plaintiffs in this case even

though that the Compliance Officer was such a critical

actor that they named him as a defendant in their class

action suit filed in the Northern District of California

and sought to have him enjoined from issuing any

further instructions to the Bank of America inconsistent

with the claims of the plaintiff class. See p. 1314, supra.

When that fact is considered, it is, to say the least,

disingenuous for the plaintiffs now to deny that Sylva

has any interest in th instant proceedings and to

claim that the District Court properly denied his

intervention.

The preceding discussion leads inexorably to the

conclusion that Sylva, in his position of Compliance

Officer. was in fact a trustee and, as such, had a “direct,

substantial, legally protectable interest” in these

App. 36

proceedings.” He has at all times acted in the best

interests of the beneficiaries of the restitution fund,

and the Florida litigation directly affected his ability to

fulfill those responsibilities. Indeed, as will be

demonstrated shortly, the Florida litigation threatened

to snuff out his ability to comply with the directives of

the California Superior Court.

We also think it quite clear that Sylva, as Compliance

Officer, was so situated that the disposition of the

action would as a practical matter impair or impede his

ability to protect his interest as the representative of

the restitution fund. Not only did the District Court

intend to liquidate Bestline’s assets, but he intended to

distribute the proceeds only to class members “who

have not previously been admitted to participation in

the California restitutionary fund.” Furthermore, all

members of the California fund would be bound by the

Florida judgment, except for those who had opted out

early in the proceedings.

The manner in which the California fuad members

were treated in this litigation is illustrated well by the

series of notices which they received. On November 22,

“Because we have concluded that Sylva’s position as Compliance

Officer was an interest sufficient to warrant intervention of right,

we have no occasion to address the separate question of whether

his appointment as receiver of Bestline’s California properties by

the Superior Court en February 14, 1977, was sufficient to warrant

intervention of right. The record on appeal is insufficiently developed

on this point and reveals only that the California Court had

appointed him and issued instructions to take possession of the

assets, liquidate them, and transfer the proceeds to the restitution

fund for ultimate distribution to its participants. The briefs of the

parties have informed us that Sylva has carried out those duties,

and, if that is indeed tie case, his interest in these proceedings by

virtue of his appointment as receiver might well be moot. We, of

course, express no opinion on any of these points.

App. 37

1974, the District Court certified a class of plaintiffs

consisting of

all persons who purchased or invested in Direct

Distributorship contracts or agreements, or their

equivalents, offered by Bestline Products, Inc., who

never qualified as General Distributors of Bestline

Products, Inc., or their equivalents, and who have

not re-ordered products from Bestline Products,

Ine., within the six (6) months next preceding the

date of this order. . . .”

On January 15, 1975, the court notified potential

class members, including participants in the California

fund, that a class had been designated and that unless

they requested exclusion, their interests would be

represented by lead counsel. At that time, the California

fund had just made its second payment, and many of

the participants undoubtedly were confused by this

notice of yet another lawsuit. A substantial percentage

took no action and thereby became members of the

class. When the District Court’s injunction prevented

the mailing of the mid-1976 payments, many of the

California fund participants became anxious about the

delay and contacted the Compliance Officer, who informed

them that an appeal had been taken and that there was

no cause for alarm. In December 1976, the District

Court preliminarily approved the settlement with William

Bailey and sent notice to all members of the class,

As finally modified on October 21, 1976, the class included

all persons who purchased or invested in Direct Distributorship

contracts or agreements, or their equivalents, offered by

Bestline Products, Inc., who never qualified as General

Distributors of Bestline Products, Inc., or their equivalents,

and who are not active distributors as evidenced by current

renewal of their mailing list privileges.

App. 38

along with a proof of claim form. This notice, however,

clearly stated that no payments would be distributed

to persons who had previously participated in the

California fund. It also stated that the Court expected

to take no further action with respect to the money

obtained from Bestline until its appeal had been decided;

as events later unfolded, this promise proved to be an

empty one. Understandably, many of the California

group did not return proof of claim forms to the court.

In December 1977 the court preliminarily approved

the Bestline settlement and then sent notice of the

proposed settlement only to those persons who had

returned the proof of claim forms. Thus, it appears

that the California fund participants were lulled into

mistakenly thinking that their rights were being protected

and that they were members of the plaintiff class.

Suddenly, the court informed them that they would not

participate in the funds distributed pursuant to the

settlement. When they did not return proof of claim

forms because they knew that they would get no money,

the court declined to send them notice of the final,

more important settlement (to be discussed, post).

Thus, the members of the California group were

not given the treatment contemplated by the law, and

they would be bound by a final judgment which completely

shut them off from any hope of monetary recovery. It

necessarily follows that Sylva’s ability to protect his

interest as a trustee would not only be impeded or

impaired, but it would be utterly destroyed.

Much of the foregoing discussion makes it clear

that Sylva was not represented at all in this litigation

when the parties agreed to a settlement, one provision

of which was that Bestline would abandon its appeal to

App. 39

this Court. Sylva was then, and only then, left “without

a friend in this litigation.” See Atlantis Development

Corp. v. United States, 379 F.2d 818, 825 (5th Cir. 1967).

[8] To sum up, we conclude that, on the merits,

Sylva was entitled of right to intervene.

The only remaining inquiry is whether his application

was timely.

Each of the Stallworth factors on timeliness points

toward the conclusion that the application was timely.

First, although the Compliance Officer knew as early

as June 30, 1976, when the injunction issued, that he

had an interest in the litigation that might be impaired,

there was absolutely no reason for him to intervene at

that time. Bestline immediately appealed and filed a

sterling brief with this Court. In addition, Bestline’s

attorneys met on several occasions with the Compliance

Officer, the California Attorney General, and the Superior

Court Judge and assured these people that they were

prosecuting the appeal diligently and in good faith.” In

**Sylva outlined the position of the Superior Court as follows

in his deposition:

Q. Concerning your discussions with Bestline about the

appeal, you indicated that you had monthly hearings

before Judge Hupp and there was discussions at that

time. Can you give me a little bit more detail about the

discussions, what was indicated about Bestline pursuing

the appeal?

A. [Compliance Officer] Only that —okay, to give you some

background, upon the five thousand [sic] being paid over

te ‘he Florida Court, California Attorney General's Office

toes that as being a breach of the agreement between

Bestline and the Attorney General's Office, and immediately

sought to enforce its judgment, have a receiver appointed.

At the same time, as we understand it, there were motions

in Florida for the appointment of receivers. Judge Hupp did

Aop. 40

reliance upon those representations, and upon the

obviously adequate representation of Bestline’s attorneys,

the Superior Court Judge refused the Attorney General’s

request for a receivership and Sylva did not attempt to

intervene. On January 28, 1977, when the settlement

agreement was filed, Sylva then knew that his interests

(Footnote 23 Continued)

not want this thing to deteriorate into a race to the courthouse

to determine which group of people obtained the judgment,

and got the most money. He rather would have liked to have

seen some sort of a cooperative effort in resolving the whole

matter, making sure all of the people, including the Florida

people, received at least partial restitution of the funds that

they had been bilked out of.

In light of this appeal [of] Judge Hupp, he was advised

that the court ordered—the judgment of the Florida Court

was being appealed, and that the appeal was progressing

nicely and that the briefs were being filed or had been filed,

you know, each month and there would be a progress report

by Mr. Pitto and Mr. Humphreys [attorneys for Bestline].

Those were thoughts in mind— but in the meantime the

California Attorney General’s Office is champing at the bit to

close down Bestline. They are taking a very aggressive posture

on behalf of, I guess, the cuizens of Californja and all the

other attorney generals who agreed with their posture.

It was in light of these discussions that the trial court,

the California Superior Court, would not rule on the motions

of the Attorney General to shut everything down. It just —

preservation of the status quo, let’s not get excited here,

things are going to work out, was in light of these remarks of

the judge and reports by Bestline’s attorneys that the thing

continued to rock along from July up until February.

* ca * * * oa

Q. Sothat the Attorney General put off the proceeding on

his receivership motion, and the court put off ruling on

those motions, and you put off taking any action in

Florida on the basis that Bestline was appealing this

specific seizure of the half a miilion doliars?

A. Yes. that’s correct. . .(A. 758-760).

App. 41

were no longer adequately represented by Bestline,

and his motion to intervene was filed on February 14.

This delay of a mere seventeen days cannot rationally

be denominated as unreasonable.

Furthermore, the existing parties have suffered

no prejudice from the delay. This is not a case where

intervention was attempted after the entry of a final

judgment, see United Airlines, Inc. v. McDonald, 432

U.S. 385, 97 S.Ct. 2464, 53 L.Ed.2d 423 (1977); McDonald

v. E. J. Lavino Co., 430 F.2d 1065, 1072 (5th Cir. 1970);

nor is it a case where more hearings must be held in

the lower court. In this case, Sylva presented three

witnesses at the hearing on the settlement and fully

developed his position. The parties are in exactly the

same position they would be if some members of the

class had objected to the settlement and then taken an

appeal to this Court. As has already been demonstrated,

there was a distinct probability that the confusing, if

not deceptive, series of notices guaranteed that no

members of the California group would appear at the

hearing to protest the settlement.” In short, the parties

have not been prejudiced legally by the brief delay in

filing the application to intervene.

**Sylva’s three witnesses testified that they had difficulty

understanding the notice and that they did not need to file the

proof of claim form since they had previously filed in California.

“Q. (Ms. Greer) Did you take any steps to file a Proof of

Claim Form?

A. (Norman Feinberg) No.

Q. Why didn’t you file a Proof of Claim form after trying to

read that, the Notice?

A. Well, I thought I didn’t have to.

Why did you think you didn’t have to?

A. Because I already had. There was a contract entered

between New York City and Bestline. And then I

subsequently asked three lawyers, which [sic] said ‘I

App. 42

©

It is unnecessary for us to recount the substantial

prejudice which will be visited upon Sylva and the

members of the California group if his motion to intervene

(Footnote 24 Continued)

don’t know how an agreement entered by a court could

be nullified, so that agreement would have to stand’

Now, I thought I would suffer if I would subscribe to

this.” (A. 808).

* * * * * *

(Ms. Greer) So the fact that you had already filed a claim

in California, you had been notified you didn’t have to

participate, that convinced you not to file in Miami?

(Valentin Dominguez) I thought I didn’t have to.

Did you speak to any other Bestline distributors concerning

the Notice?

Yes, I did; a couple distributors. And in fact one of them

was from California, and he was in the same—I don’t

even know the name of the fellow. He happened to ask

me that I was a distributor because he saw some of the

products that I was using; and he was from California.

And as I understand it, he didn't participate in the Class

neither.

Do you have any personal knowledge of why he didn't

participate?

We discussed the situation. And he says, ‘Well, we don’t

have to. We covered from California.” (A. 816-817).

* * * x * *

(By Ms. Greer) Mr. Dominguez, is it correct that the

reason you did not file here in Florida is because you had

already filed a claim in California?

Right. And they have all the records that I have, plus

the fact that the form that I got from Florida requires

me to file an inventory and an amount of money that I

invested in Bestline. I didn’t have anything like that

because it was sent to California.

Then you sent all of your documents and supporting

information to California when you filed your claim there?

App. 43

is denied. In addition to the facts already recounted, it

should be noted that the District Court also intended

to appoint a receiver with instructions to liquidate all

(Footnote 24 Continued)

A.

“Q.

©

O>Oo>peop

To California, right.” (A. 818).

(By Ms. Greer) Please tell the Court what you did when

you received the Notice.

(By Susie Rosenrot) When I received the letter, you

know, I answer saying I don't see any I have to make

another claim because I already did it.” (A. 822).

* + * * ” .

(By Ms. Greer) Mrs. Rosenrot, what steps did you take

to try to get information about the Notice? What did you

do to try to get information?

I wrote the letter to Mr. Dan Sylva saying that I did not

see why I have to do it all over again because I already

filed it so I could not understand it.

Did you read the Notice?

I read it but I could not understand too much, you know.

I don’t know why I had to do that.” (A. 823).

~ +. * * * *

(By Ms. Greer) Did you file a Proof of Claim form here in

Florida?

No.

Other than writing that letter?

That’s right.

You wrote that letter for more information?

That's all.

Do you have the documents for your claim or did you

send them to California?

I sent everything to California when I made the claim.

So tha’ the California Fund has ail of your documents

and the claim form?

That's right.” (A. 825-826).

App. 44

of Bestline’s assets. Such an action might have affected

Sylva's ability to carry out the Superior Court's

instructions to him to liquidate Bestline’s California

assets. We also think that the manner in which this

group was treated in the Florida litigation. including

the fact that the District Court failed to employ the

subclassing power spelled out in Rule 23(c(4\(B) and to

designate a representative for the California group, is

an “unusual cireumstance” militating for a determination

that the application is timely. See Stallworth, supra at

266,

Therefore, we hold that it was error as a matter of

law to deny Sylva’s application to intervene and we

reverse on this point.

V.

THE BAILEY AND BESTLINE

SETTLEMENTS

By separate orders, the District Court approved

two settlements. In the first order, dated February 15,

1977 (the Bailey Settlement), the Court entered fina!

judgment as to defendant William Bailey and dismissed

all claims against Bailey with prejudice. Bailey gave no

consideration whatsoever for the release of these claims;

the Court’s order merely directs him to apply to the

Northern District of California pursuant to the final

judgment in the FTC case for an order directing the

clerk of that court to transfer the amount of $1,036,000

to the Southern District of Florida. No notice of appeal

was filed from the February 15 order, nor could there

have been due to the lack of a Rule 54(b) certificate. On

February 25 the District Court directed the payment

of $250,000 in attorneys’ fees to lead counsel from the

Bailey settlement funds.

App. 4°

In the second order, dated March 22, 1977 (the

Bestline Settlement), the District Court approved a

settlement to which Bestline and 27 individual defendants

had subscribed. Jn return for the dismissal of all claims

against them with prejudice, the defendants agreed: (1)

_ to pay $900,000 (collectively); (2) to tender a note for

$300,000 (executed by Bestline Products. Inc. and

guaranteed by Brassfield); (3) to pay whatever sums

might be realized by liquidating Bestline’s assets

(approximately $600,000); and (4) to waive any claim to

the $491,636.59 deposited with the court pursuant to

the preliminary injunction, plus interest. This settlement

also provided that attorneys’ fees of $750.00 21d expenses

of up to $50,000 would be paid out »/ *»« fund. The

March 22 order both denied interven: oi and entered

final judgment as to the settling defendants.

Our jurisdiction to review the merits of the

settlement can be supported on three grounds. First,

this may be a case for invoking the “hardship finality”

doctrine of Forgay v. Conrad, 47 U.S. ‘6 How.) 201, 12

L.Ed. 404 (1848), since the District Court immediately

ordered the payment of attorneys’ fees out of the

settlement proceeds. This was surely an execution on

the judgment. See generally 15 C. Wright, A. Miller &

E. Cooper, Federal Practice & Procedure §3910 (1976).

In the circumstances of this case, there seems to be no

reason not to review the merits of the settlement since

the intervenor has already presented his evidence and

arguments to the lower court. Second, the order entered

final judgment as to Bestline, which had been enjoined

by the court since June 30, 1976. The order was therefore

appealable under 28 U.S.C. §1292(a\(1) as an interlocutory

order dissolving an injunction. Finally, the order appointed

lead counsel as “trustees” of the real and personal

App. 46

property of Bestline with instructions to liquidate the

property within six months in a commercially reasonable

manner. We have no doubt that this was in effect an

appointment of a receiver and was an order appealable

under 28 U.S.C. §1292(a\2). “A receiver by any other

name, or by no name, is still a receiver.’ United States

v. Sylacauga Properties, Inc., 323 F.2d 487, 490 (5th Cir.

1963).

We shall examine only Sylva’s objections to the

Bestline settlement.

[9] Rule 23(2) requires the trial judge to review

any proposed settlement of a class action. The purpose

of this salutary requirement is to protect the nonparty

members of the class from unjust or unfair settlements

affecting their rights. 7A C. Wright & A. Miller, Federal

Practice & Procedure §1797, at 226 (1972). Conflicts

may arise between the attorney and the class, between

the named plaintiffs and the absentees, and between

various subclasses.

ji0, Li) To minimize tie first conflict —ihat between

the attorney and the class— district courts must address

the issue of attorneys’ fees under the standards of

Johnson v. Georgia Highway Express, 488 F.2d 714

(5th Cir., 1974). If the agreement leaves attorneys’ fees

to be fixed by the Court then, as stated in Jn re Air

Crash Disaster at Florida Everglades, 549 F.2d 1006,

1021 (5th Cir. 1971):

The district court must set and conduct a hearing

in the full sense of the word and must address the

fee issue under the Johnson standards. [C]lounsel

must offer relevant evidence and must be available

for cross-examination. The court should enter findings

of fact and conclusions of law setting eut the basis

App. 47

for the fee award and adequately presenting the

issue for further appellate review should this be

necessary.

[12, 13] See also Norwood v. Harrison, 581 F.2d

518 (5th. Cir., 1978); Premier Corp. v. Serrano, 578 F.2d

566 (5th Cir.), cert. denied sub nom. Premier Corp. v.

Shevin, Shapo & Shevin, P.A., 439 U.S. 1003, 99 S.Ct.

613, 58 L.Ed.2d 678 (1978). If he has not done so, then

he must require that notice be given to the class of the

proposed attorneys’ fees as well as the rest of the

settlement agreement and afford anyone who objects

an opportunity to be heard. Finally, he must himself

determine whether the attorneys’ fees proposed are

reasonable. A district court is not bound by the agreement

of the parties as to the amount of attorneys’ fees.

Foster v. Boise-Cascade, Inc., 577 F.2d 335 (5th Cir.

1978), affirming 420 F.Supp. 674 (S.D., Tex., 1976). In

fixing the amount of attorneys’ fees the court must, of

course, take all of the Johnson criteria into account,

including the difficulty of the case and the uncertainty

of recovery. He is not, however, merely to ratify a

pre-arranged compact.

The second and third conflicts are much more

difficult to prevent and police. Generally, courts depend

upon structuring the settlement process to promote

adequate representation and, hopefully, fair settlements.

As a backstop, the law requires that the trial court

eva!uate whether the settlement is fair, adequate and

reasonable and is not the product of fraud or collusion.

Pettway v. American Cast Iron Pipe Company, 576

P.2d 1157, 1169 (5th Cir. 1978); Cotton v. Hinton, 559

F.2d 1326, 1330 (5th Cir. 1977); Miller v. Republic National

Life Insurance Company, 559 F.2d 426, 428, 429 (5th

Cir. 1977); Young v. Katz, 447 F.2d 431, 433 (5th Cir.

App. 48

__) i

1971). Against these concerns must be weighed the

general policy of the law to favor settlements and to

uphold them whenever possible because they produce

an amicable resolution of disputes and minimize demands

on judicial time and resources. Pettway, supra, at 1214;

Miller, supra, at 428.

We are convinced that the District Court fell into

serious error when it approved the attorneys’ fees

proposed in the Bestline settlement. The order entering

final judgment states:

This court is not being asked to set reasonable

attorney's fees in conjunction with the instant

settlement; rather the court is being presented

with a proposed settlement, agreed to by all parties

and unopposed by the class, which incorporates an

award of attorney’s fees in the amount of $750,000

as a vital part of the settlement. Certainly, different

procedures and considerations might obtain were

the court being requested to initially fix an attorney's

fee. Since the award and amount of attorney’s fees

comes before the court in the posture of an unopposed

settlement, the court finds that the amount is

reasonable under the circumstances of this protracted

and complicated case. (Emphasis in original.)

[14] On this reasoning, the District Court abdicated

its responsibility to assess the reasonableness of attorneys’

fees proposed under a settlement of a class action, and

its approval of the settlement must be reversed on this

ground alone.

On this appeal, the parties to the settlement urge

that the record is adequately developed to enable this

Court to independently evaluate the reasonableness of

those fees. This is not our normal practice, however,

App. 49

since the District Court is infinitely better situated to

conduct the factual inquiry necessary under Johnson,

and since we are not asked to determine reasonable

attorneys’ fees incident to an appeal to this Court. See

Davis v. Roadway Express, Inc., 590 F.2d 140 (5th Cir.

1979).

[15] Regrettably, this does not end the matter.

For reasons about to be stated, we must vacate in its

entirety the order entering final judgment as to Bestline

and 27 individual defendants.

This is demanded by the failure to assess the

interests of the two categories of plaintiffs and whether

the settlement was fair, adequate and reasonable as to

each.” One group of plaintiffs was comprised of the

7,043 participants in the California restitution fund, all

of whom had either reduced their claims against the

defendants to a judgment or had settled. Approximately

$4.5 million had been distributed to these persons before

the District Judge issued his preliminary injunction

halting further payments from Bestline to the Bank of

America. Although that recovery may seem large when

compared to the proposed settlement in this case, it

must be remembered that those 7,043 people had an

average claim against Bestline of $3000 each, for a

“If this were simply a case of defining the zone of acceptable

settlements, we would look to the standards set forth by the

Supreme Court in a bankruptcy approval case, Protective Committee

v. Anderson, 390 U.S. 414, 424-25, 88 S.Ct. 1157, 20 L.Ed.2d 1

(1968). Those criteria wou!d be especially applicable in this case

because the assets of the corporation were so likely to be liquidated.

See also Cotton v. Hinton, 5 Cir. 1977, 559 F.2d 1326; Miller v.

Republic National Life Ins. Co., 5 Cir. 1977, 559 F.2d 426, 429;

Developments in the Law—Class Actions, 89 Harv.L.Rev. i318,

1573-75 (1976).

App. 50

total claim of perhaps $21 million. Rather than execute

their judgments and force Bestline into bankruptcy,

those 7,043 people chose to accept smaller installment

payments and to keep Bestline afloat for the greater

good of all concerned. Cf. Marshall v. Holiday Magic,

Inc., 550 F.2d 1173, 1178 (9th Cir. 1977) (approving a

similar settlement in a pyramid scheme nearly identical

to that involved in this case). Since the issuance of the

preliminary injunction, Bestline has failed to make at

least $4,500,000 in payments to the California restitution

fund. See note 14, supra. Therefore the members of the

fund have been deprived of over $600, on the average,

to which they were entitled as a result of their judgments

against Bestline. The interest of these 7.043 people in

protecting their judgments has not been adequately

recognized or protected. This is not a bankruptcy

proceeding in which the debtor's assets are being parcelled

out to creditors on an equitable basis.” The participants

in the California fund all had judgments that were

entitled to full faith and credit under Article IV of the

Constitution and 28 U.S.C. §1738. As the amicus brief

filed by the State of Wisconsin indicates, those 7,04°

people waived their rights to pursue any claims against

Bestline, either as part of their judgments or upon

*The February 10, 1977, Notice of Proposed Partial Settlement

of Litigation contains some interesting statistics concerning the

composition of the class which was certified. Notice was originally

mailed to approximately 34,000 potentiai plaintiffs. 3,744 of these

elected to exclude themselves from the litigation, and 8,779 of the

notices were returned as undeliverable. Of the remaining ciass

members, 4,332 completed and returned a proof of claim form.

Apparently, the District Judge intended to distribute the settlement

proceeds only to those 4,332 people. The record on appeal does not

indicate how many of the California group excluded themselves

from the litigation or how many filed proof of claim forms in

Florida.

App. 51

joining the California fund. Unless those waivers were

somehow not entitled to full faith and credit, it would

seem that those 7,043 people never should have been

included in the class. The record on appeal does not

permit us to rule definitively on this point, however,

and we shall assume that the California fund participants

constituted a subclass in this litigation. Unitess it was

proper for the District Judge to enjoin Bestline from

complying with those judgments, a question which is

answered in the negative in part VI of this opinion, the

District Court erred by not making the California group

whole out of the settlement proceeds, or at least according

them an absolute priority to all such funds. Furthermore,

since those 7,043 people were already entitled to such

funds (up to $4,500,000 plus interest), this litigation has

generated no common fund from which to pay attorneys’

fees and expenses.

Thus, the result which we reach, by assuming that

the 7,043 California fund participants were properly

included in the class as defined by the District Court, is

the same as that which would have been reached if

those persons had not been included in the class and if

the preliminary injunction had not issued. By concluding

that those persons are entitled to settlement proceeds

up to $4,500,000 plus interest, they are placed in the

same position they would have been in if Bestline had

made all the scheduled payments to the trustee. If,

however, Bestline would have defaulted on those

payments before now, the California class would still

have obtained Bestline’s assets through liquidation long

before this settlement.

Therefore, the order approving the Bestline

settlement and entering final judgment as to the

subscribing defendants is vacated in its entirety.

App. 52

i

THE PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION

[16] In the face of Rule 52(a)’s requirement that

courts set forth findings of fact and conclusions of law

which form the grounds for granting interiocutory

injunctions, and after having been clearly apprised of

the barrier presented by 28 U.S.C. §2283 (the “Anti-

Injunction Act’), both by briefs and oral argument, the

District Judge brushed past the statute in the belief

that it would be “inequitable” not to issue the injunction.

Since the appeal in No. 76-3495 has not been dismissed,

and since Bestline has represented to this Court that it

would not move to dismiss if Sylva were allowed to

intervene in No. 77-2045, we clearly have jurisdiction

under 28 U.S.C. §1292(a)(1) to review the issuance of

that injunction. We reverse.

The Anti-Injunction Act, the predecessor of which

was enacted in 1793, has long been an important and

integral part of our federal system. As amended in

1948, it now provides:

A court of the United States may not grant an

injunction to stay proceedings in a State court

except as expressly authorized by Act of Congress,

or where necessary in aid of its jurisdiction, or to

protect or effectuate its judgments.

28 U.S.C. §2283. The Supreme Court has on many

occasions explicitly declared that this statute must be

given a strict construction due to the sensitive nature

of federal interference with state court proceedings.

On its face the present Act is an absolute

prohibition against enjoining state court proceedings,

unless the injunction falls within one of three

App. 53

specifically defined exceptions. The respondents

here have intimated that the Act only establishes

a “principle of comity,” not a binding rule on the

power of the federal courts. The argument implies

that in certain circumstances a federal court may

enjoin state court proceedings even if that action

cannot be justified by any of the three exceptions.

We cannot accept any such contention. . . . [We]

hold that any injunction against state court

proceedings otherwise proper under general

equitable principles must be based on one of the

specific statutory exceptions to §2283 if it is to be

upheld... .

Mitchum v. Foster, 407 U.S. 225, 229, 92 S.Ct. 2151,

2155, 32 L.Ed.2d 705 (1972), quoting Atlantic Coast

Line R. Co. v. Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers,

398 U.S. 281, 286-87, 90 S.Ct. 1739, 26 L.Ed.2d 234

(1970). See also Amalgamated Clothing Workers v.

Richman Bros., 348 U.S. 511, 75 S.Ct. 452, 99 L.Ed. 600

(1955); Carter v. Ogden Corp., 524 F.?d 74, 76 (5th Cir.

1975); International Ass'n of Machmists & Aerospace

Workers v. Nix, 512 F.2d 125, 129 (5th Cir. 1975).

Furthermore, it has long been “settled that the

prohibition of §2283 cannot be evaded by addressing

the order to the parties or prohibiting utilization of the

results of a completed state proceeding.” Atlantic Coast

Line R. Co., supra, 398 U.S. at 287, 90 S.Ct. at 1743,

citing Oklahoma Packing Co. v. Gas Co., 309 US. 4, 9,

60 S.Ct. 215, 84 L.Ed. 537 (1940), and Hill v. Martin, 296

U.S. 393, 403, 56 S.Ct. 278, 80 L.Ed. 293 (1935). In Mill,

Justice Brandeis wrote as follows for a unanimous court:

The prohibition of [§2283] is against a stay of

“proceedings in any court of a State.” That term is

comprehensive. It includes all steps taken or which

App. 54

may be taken in the state court or by its officers

from the institution to the close of the final process.

It applies to appellate as well as to original

proceedings; and is independent of the doctrine of

res judicata. It applies alike to action by the court

and by its ministerial officers; applies not only to

an execution issued on a judgment, but to any

proceeding supplemental or ancillary taken with a

view to making the suit or judgment effective. The

prohibition is applicable whether such supplementary

or ancillary proceeding is taken in the court which

rendered the judgment or in some other. And it

governs a privy to the state court proceeding. . .

as well as the parties of record. Thus, the prohibition

applies whatever the nature of the proceedings

296 U.S. at 403, 56 S.Ct. at 282-283 (footnotes omitted).

Alt' ough the plaintiffs make a feeble attempt to argue

that che injunction did not stay “proceedings in a State

court”, Hill leaves absolutely no doubt that the scheduled

._ payment of $500,000 to the trustee of an express trust

set up by a judgment of the California Superior Court

was, at the least, a “proceeding supplemental or ancillary

taken with a view to making the suit or judgment

effective.” Therefore, we cannot accept this argument

and proceed to determine whether the injunction can

be justified by any of the three express exceptions.”

"We do not consider the “protect or effectuate its judgments”

exception for the simple reason that there was no judgment to

protect when the injunction issued. See Mitchum v. Foster, 407

U.S. 225, 236 & n. 21, 92 S.Ct. 2151, 32 L.Ed.2d 705 (1972); International

Ass'n of Machinists & Aerospace Workers v. Nix, 5 Cir. 1975, 512

F.2d 125, 129-33 (recognizing the federal court under this exception

may enjoin “the relitigation in state court of issues that federal

courts have fully and finally adjudicated’).

App. 55

A. The “expressly authorized” exception

{17, 18] The plaintiffs first argue that the injunction

was “expressly authorized” by Fed.R.Civ.P. 23(d), and

claim that the rule cannot insure the fair and efficient

conduct of class actions unless injunctions are permitted

against state court proceedings by absent class members.

The trouble is that this argument was never presented

to the District Ceurt and there is no rea! reason to

suppose that it formed the unexpressed rationale for

its decision. Moreover, this Court has never held that

Rule 23(d) is an express exception to 28 U.S.C. §2283,

and we cannot accept that theory today. As stated in

Mitchum v. Foster, 407 U.S. 225, 238, 92 S.Ct. 2151,

2160, 32 L.Ed.2d 705 (1972), “The test. . . is whether

an act of Congress, clearly creating a federal right or

remedy enforceable in a federal court of equity, could

be given its intended scope only by the stay of a state

court proceeding.” Rule 23(d) is a rule of procedure and

it creates neither a right nor a remedy enforceable in a

federal court of equity. Thus, even under the expansive

Mitchum test, which may not be quite as expansive as

it seems,” this argument must fail.

Next, the plaintiffs claim that the injunction was

authorized by 42 U.S.C. §1983, which the Supreme

Court held in Mitchum to be one of the “expressly

authorized” exceptions to §2283. Section 1983 speaks

in terms of the “the deprivation of any rights, privileges,

or immunities secured by the Constitution and laws,”

and if it were construed to mean all federal laws, then

the exception would quickly swallow the rule set forth

in §2283. Cf. Chapman v. Houston Welfare Rights

*See, e.g., Juidice v. Vail, 430 U.S. 327, 341-47, 97 S.Ct. 1211,

51 L.Ed.2d 376 (1977) (Brennan, J., dissenting); Huffman v. Pursue,

Ltd., 420 U.S. 592, 613-18, 95 S.Ct. 1200, 43 L.Ed.2d 482 (1975).

App. 56

Organization, 441 U.S. 600, 99 S.Ct. 1905, 60 L.Ed.2d

508 (1979) (Powell, J., concurring, asserting that the

word “laws” in §1983 should be interpreted to mean

laws providing for equal rights). This was not the result

intended by the Supreme Court in Mitchum, as is

evidenced by its direct progeny, e.g., Juidice v. Vail,

430 U.S. 327, 97 S.Ct. 1211, 51 L.Ed.2d 376 (1977);

Huffman v. Pursue, Ltd., 420 U.S. 592, 95 S.Ct. 1200, 43

L.Ed.2d 482 (1975); as well as the case of Vendo Co. v.

Lektro-Vend Corp., 433 U.S. 623, 97 S.Ct. 2881, 53 L.Ed.2d

1009 (1977).

[19] In this case the plaintiffs allege that they

have been deprived of two separate constitutional rights.

First, they argue that they were somehow deprived of

property without due process of law because they never

received notice of the California proceedings. Those

proceedings were instituted by the California attorney

general on behalf of California residents against a

California corporation alleging violations of California

law. As to themselves, non-Californians were not bound

by that judgment, and it cannot be thought that the

Constitution required t..e attorney general to notify

residents of other states of the institution of his lawsuit.

The fact that Californians ultimately won a judgment

against Bestline and began to recover has not deprived

the plaintiff class of property without notice.

Second, the plaintiffs argue that they have been

denied the equal protection of the laws because the

California restitution fund denied participation solely

on the basis of residence. This arguement is meritless,

if not frivolous. In the first place, the Modified Judgment

allows anyone with a judgment to participate in the

restitution fund, and it does not differentiate on the

basis of residence. Next, even if the judgment allowed

App. 57

no persons outside California to participate, which it

does not, there is no showing that this involved suspect

classes, or fundamental interests or that it would be an

arbitrary or irrational distinction; hence there could be

no equal protection violation.

Although the plaintiffs have not articulated their

arguments well, they could be advancing an assertion

that Section 27 of the Securities Exchange Act, 15

U.S.C., Section 78aa, when coupled with the authority

to issue injunctions and writs of mandamus contained

in Section 21 of the Act, 15 U.S.C., Section 78u, constitutes

an “expressly authorized” exception to Section 2283.

The Second Circuit rejected a similar contention in

International Controls Corporation v. Vesco, 490 F.2d

1334, 1349 (2d Cir., 1974); and we think that decision, at

least insofar as it affects private lawsuits, compare

SEC vu Wencke, 577 F.2d 619 (9th Cir., 1978), is eminently

correct.

[20] There can be no doubt of this conclusion

after the decision of the Supreme Court in Vendo Co. »v.

Lektro-Vend Corp., 433 U.S. 623, 97 S.Ct. 2881, 53 L.Ed.2d

1009 (1977). In that case, three Justices concluded that

§16 of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. §26, did not constitute

an express exception to the Anti-Injunction Act. Those

three Justices concluded that the Mitchum decision,

which held that 42 U.S.C. §1983 was an express exception

to the Anti-Injunction Act, was based upon a “recognition

that one of the clear congressional concerns underlying

the enactment of §1983 was the possiblity that state

courts, as well as other branches of state government,

might be used as instruments to deny citizens their

rights under the Federal Constitution.” 433 U.S. at 633,

97 S.Ct. at 2888. They were unable to find such concerns

in either the clear language or the legislative history of

App. 58

=e

the antitrust laws and therefore concluded that §16 of

the Clayton Act was not such an exception. Two

concurring Justices would have held “that no injunction

may issue against currently pending state-court

proceedings unless those proceedings are themselves

part of a ‘pattern of baseless, repetitive claims’ that

are being used as an anticompetitive device, all the

traditional prerequisites for equitable relief are satisfied,

and the only way to give the antitrust laws their intended

scope is by staying the state proceedings.” 433 U.S. at

644, 97 S.Ct. at 2894 (Blackmun, J., concurring). We

are unable to find any Congressional concern in the

language of the Securities Exchange Act that state

courts might be used to deny individuals their rights

under the Act, nor have we been pointed to any convincing

legislative history to that effect. Nor can we ascertain

any manner in which state court proceedings could be

used to defeat the goals of the Securities Exchange

Act. The California litigation was based upon violations

of the state’s deceptive advertising and unfair competition

laws, which arguably are congruent in purpose with

the Exchange Act and most assuredly do not defeat

the purposes of that Act. Finally, the fact that 15

U.S.C. §78u is concerned entirely with the authority of

the SEC to seek injunctions or other equitable reliei

strongly militates against any contention that it expressly

authorizes a federal court to enjoin state court proceedings

at the behest of private parties. Therefore, we conclude

that for private lawsuits the Securities Exchange Act

does not constitute an “expressly authorized” exception

to 28 U.S.C. §2283. See Vendo Co., supra, 433 U.S. at

635-39 & n. 7, 97 S.Ct. 2881.

App. 59

B. The “in aid of its jurisdiction” exception

The last argument advanced by the plaintiffs is

that the District Court acted to protect its exclusive

jurisdiction to adjudicate controversies arising under

the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. See 15 U.S.C.

§78aa. In Carter v. Ogden Corp., 524 F.2d 74 (5th Cir.

1975), we consia2red and rejected a similar claim. In

that case, Carte: filed a suit in a Louisiana federal

court alleging antitrust violations and a state law breach

of contract claim. Ogden then filed suit in Delaware

state court, and the Louisiana federal court enjoined

Ogden from prosecuting any other suit. We reversed,

noting that “[t]he phrase ‘where necessary in aid of its

jurisdiction, . . . should be interpreted narrowly, in

the direction of federal non-interference with orderly

state proceedings.” 524 F.2d at 76, quoting T. Smith &

Sons, Inc. v. Williams, 275 F.2d 397, 407 (5th Cir. 1960).

Finding no evidence that the Delaware proceedings

would interfere with the jurisdiction of the Louisiana

court to hear the case, we held that the grant of exclusive

jurisdiction to federal courts to entertain antitrust actions

had no impact on state law breach of contract claims.

In this case the plaintiffs have alleged violations

of state law, the Securities Act of 1933, and the Securities

Exchange Act of 1934. The federal courts have jurisdiction

to entertain the state law claims only if diversity of

citizenship is present or under the doctrine of pendent

jurisdiction. The state and federal courts have concurrent

jurisdiction to decide cases arising under the Securities

Act of 1933, and no case originally brought in a state

court of competent jurisdiction under that Act may be

removed to a federal court. 15 U.S.C. §77v. Under the

Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the federal district

cou:ts have exclusive jurisdiction to decide cases arising

App. 60

—

under that act. 15 U.S.C. §7Saa. Thus, in this case, the

plaintiffs’ argument seems to include the proposition

that if they are correct in their assertion that the “in

aid of its jurisdiction” exception applies because of the

Exchange Act, then the District Court may enjoin state

court prosecutions of either state law claims or of

Securities Act claims, simply because such claims have

been attached to a complaint alleging violations of the

Exchange Act.

[21] The California litigation was based solely

upon violations of state law, and it never purported to

adjudicate a claim under the Exchange Act. Those

proceedings in no way affected the “flexibility and

authority” of the federal court to decide the Exchange

Act claims. See Atlantic Coast Line R. Co., supra, 39&

U.S. at 295, 90 S.Ct. 1739. The fact that Bestline might

hav- fewer assets available to satisfy any judgment

entered as a result of the Florida federal litigation in

no way affects the jurisdiction of the federal court.

Just as we rejected in Williams, supra, the claim that a

federal district court may enjoin state court proceedings

simply because it has before it a case arising under the

antitrust laws, we reject the argument that a federal

court may enjoin state court proceedings in order to

decide a private lawsuit brought under the Securities

Exchange Act of 1934.

SUMMARY

We summarize our holdings in this case, as follows:

1. Summary judgment should not have been

entered.

2. Sylva was entitled to intervention as a matter

of . cht.

App. 61

3. The attorneys’ fees as proposed in the Bestline

settlement should not have been approved as presented.

4. The entry of an injunction against enforcement

of the judgment of the California Superior Court is

reversed.

5. The order entering final judgment as to Bestline

and 27 individual defendants is vacated.

CONCLUSION

The Judgment of the District Court is reversed.

The case is remanded for further proceedings not

inconsistent herewith.

REVERSED and REMANDED.

App. 62

APPENDIX

Chronology of Events in Bestline Litigation

July 22, 1970

May 12, 1971

Nov. 3, 1971

Oct. 25, 1972

June 13, 1973

July 20, 1973

July 23, 1973

July 25, 1973

Dec. 2i, 1973

Jan. 31, 1974

May 3, 1974

June 30, 1974

Sept. 20, 1974

Oct. 8, 1974

Nov. 14, 1974

Nov. 15, 1974

Nov. 22, 1974

Dec. 20, 1974

Jan. 1, 1975

F7TC issues complaint against Bestline.

California files suit Bestline.

Consent order with FTC becomes final.

Trial begins in Cal. Superior Court.

Trial ends.

Piambino plaintiffs file class action in So. Dist.

Florida.

Bestline files bankruptcy petition in N.D. California.

Cal. Superior Court issues written judgment and

order, later stayed by N.D. California.

Modified Judgment entered and Bestline withdraws

bankruptcy petition.

First payment made from restitution fund

($1,000,000).

Multidistrict panel first transfers cases to S.D.

Florida.

Second payment made from restitution fund

($1,000,000).

Lead counsel threaten Bank of America.

Lead counsel threaten Bank of America.

Cal. Superior Court orders payments to be made.

Lead counsel file class action in N.D. California

to enjoin payments.

S.D. Florida certities class.

Multidistrict panel conditionally transfers N.D.

California suit te S.D. Florida.

Third payment made from restitution fund

($1,000,000).

App. 63

APPENDIX—Continued

Chronology of Events in Bestline Litigation

Feb. 14, 1975

March 28, 1975

April 4, 1975

June 30, 1975

Jan. 1, 1976

Feb. 23, 1976

March 19, 1976

April 2, 1976

june 30, 1976

July 19, 1976

Oct. 20, 1976

Feb. 25, 1977

Multidistrict panel vacates previous order. Case

returns to N.D. California.

Hearing held in N.D. California; plaintiffs fail to

appear.

N.D. California dismisses complaint with prejudice.

Fourth payment made irom restitution fund

($1,000,000).

Fifth payment made from restitution fund

($250,000).

Ninth Circuit dismisses appeal.

S.D. Florida grants motion for summary judgment.

N.D. California holds that Bestline has violated

consent order.

S.D. Florida enjoins Bestline from bench; written

order follows on July 7.

N.D. California enters judgment against Bailey.

S.D. Florida ayproves Bailey settlement; money

then transferred from N.D. California to S.D.

Florida.

S.D. Florida approves Bestline settlement and

denies intervention.

App. 64

Peter PIAMBINO and JOSEPH F.

KUCKLICK, Plaintitfs-A ppellees.

v.

William E. BAILEY and David L.

Eastis, Defendants,

and

Bestline Products, Inc., a Californi:

corporation, Defendant-Appellee,

David Sylva, Intervenor-Appellant.

No. 82-5844.

United States Court of Appeals,

Eleventh Circuit.

March 18, 1985.

* * *

Appeal from the United States District Court for

the Southern District of Florida.

Before TJOFLAT and CLARK, Circuit Judges.

and GOLDBERG”, Senior Circuit Judge.

TJOFLAT, Circuit Judge:

I.

This is a class action in which the plaintiffs seek

money damages under the federal! securities laws. The

lawyers who have been representing the plaintiff-class

have a conflict of interest with the minority segment of

the class. They have used this conflict of interest to

benefit themselves and the majority of the class members

since the case began. On March 11, 1977, they concluded

a settlement and obtained an attorney’s fee award,

beth of which were highly unfair to the minority members.

App. 65

We set aside the settlement and the fee award in

Piambino v. Bailey (Piambino I), 610 F.2d 1306 (5th

Cir.),' cert. denied, 449 U.S. 1011, 101 S.Ct. 568, 66

L.Ed.2d 469 (1980), and instructed the district court to

grant David R. Sylva the status of an intervening party

plaintiff to protect the interests of these minority members

of the plaintiff-class (the “Minority Group”).

When the district court received our mandate, the

plaintiff's lawyers resisted its enforcement because

the proceeds of the vacated settlement had been disbursed

. and they had spent the attorney's fee the court had

awarded them. Faced with this problem, the district

court refused to enforce our mandate. Sylva now turns

to us for relief.”

A brief synopsis of the events that led to our

decision in Piambino J and thereafter took place in the

‘Piambino I was decidec oy our predecessor circuit, the former

Fifth Circuit. On October 1, 1981, that circuit divided into the new

Fifth Circuit and our Eleventh Circuit. Throughout this opinion

we treat Piambino J, which is binding on chis court, as if the

Eleventh Circuit had decided it. In Bonner v. City of Prichard, 661

F.2d 1206, 1209 (iith Cir. 1981) (en banc), we adopted as binding

precedent all decisions of the former Fifth Circuit handed down

prior to October 1, 198i.

“We treat Sylva's appeal as a petition for a writ of mandamus

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1651 (1982) because there is some question

whether the district court's action in failing to follow our mandate

constitutes a final judgment reviewable under 28 U.S.C. §1291

(1982). See United States v. Haley, 371 U.S. 18, 83 S.Ct. 11, 9

L.Ed.2d 1 (1962); United States v. United Siates District Court,

334 U.S. 258, 263, 68 S.Ct. 1035, 1037, 92 L.Ed. 1351 (1948); United

States v. Ritter, 273 F.2d 30 (10th Cir. 1959), cert. denied, 362 U.S.

950, 80 S.Ct. 863, 4 L.E'd.2d 869 (1960); cf Baltuomore & O.R. Co. »v.

United States, 279 U.S. 781, 785, 49 S.Ct. 492, 493, 73 L.Ed. 954

(1929); In re Sanford Fork & Tool Co., 160 U.S. 247, 255-56, 16 S.Ct.

291, 293, 40 L.Ed. 414 (1895).

App. 66

—

district court is necessary to give context to the holdings

of that decision, the serious legal and ethical questions

this appeal presents, and our disposition of those questions.

A.

The plaintiffs in this case are purchasers of

distributorships in a nationwide pyramid marketing

scheme devised and operated by Bestline Corporation’

to sell soap products. The plaintiffs became Bestline

distributors, they allege, in reliance upon Bestline’s

represent: tion that its distributors were making

substantial profits and that they would also. This

representation was false, and the plaintiffs lost their

investments. They brought this class action, on July

20, 1973, against Bestline and its principals, contending

that their distributorships were “securities” and seeking

money damages under federal securities laws.

The plaintiffs comprising the Minority Group are

the beneficiaries of a multimillion dollar state court

judgment (the “California Judgment”) the attorney geieral

of Caifornia obtained against Bestline Corporation in

1973, about the time this litigation began, under

California's consumer fraud laws. That judgment required

Bestline to make periodic restitution payments into a

fund (the “California Fund”), established by the judgment,

for distribution Bestline’s California distributors. David

R. Sylva is the trustee of that fund; he is charged with

the responsibility of approving the distributors’ claims

and forwarding Bestline’s restit'*tion payments to them.

‘Bestline Corporation, a California corporation, is the parent

corporation of a wholly-owned subsidiary, Bestline Products, Inc.,

also a California corporation and also a defendant in many of the

lawsuits discussed infra. These two entities will be referred to,

collectively, as Bestline.

App. 67

Soon after they filed the present class-action suit,

if not before, it became evident to the plaintiffs’ lawyers

(“Lead Counsel”) that Bestline would lack sufficient

financial resources to make a significant settlement

offer, or to satisfy any judgment the plaintiff-class

might obtain after a trial on the merits, and to pay

them an attorney's fee, if Bestline continued making

restitution payments to their clients in the plaintiff-

class who were beneficiaries of the California Judgment,

i.e., the Minority Group. Lead Counsel therefore took

steps to stop the flow of money from Bestline to these

clients.

First, Lead Counsel appeared before the Superior

Court of Los Angeles County, whose ‘udgment was

providing the vehicle for Bestiine’s restitution payments,

and requested that court to impose a constructive trust

on the California Fund for the benefit of their clients in

the plaintiff-class who were not beneuciaries of the

California Judgment (the “Majority Group”). The Superior

Court rejected Lead Counsel’s request. Lead Ccunsel

then brought suit in the U.S. District Court for the

Northern District of California. They named as plaintiffs

the entire plaintiff-class now before us (the Majority

and the Minority Groups) and as defendants, among

others, Sylva,‘ the Superior Court of Los Angeles County,

and the California attorney general. Lead Counsel asked

the district court to enjoin Sylva from distributing to

the Minority Group the restitution funds Bestline was

paying into the California Fund on the grounds, inter

alia, that the California Judgment, by not providing for

‘H. Lee Holden, Sylva’s predecessor as trustee of the California

Fund, was actually named as defendant. When Sylva replaced

Holden as trustee he was substituted as the proper party defendant.

A pp. 68

A

restitution to the Majority Group, denied the members

of that Group rights secured by the ninth and fourteenth’

amendments to the U.S. Constitution. The district court

refused to grant the injunction and dismissed the case,

with prejudice, iur faiiure to state a claim for relief.’

See Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b\(6).

Having failed in California, Lead Counsel turned

to the district court below for relief. The district court

had previously determined, on plaintiffs’ motion for

summary judgment, that the distributorships plaintiffs

had purchased from Restiine were securities within

the meaning of the federal securities laws, and the

parties were in the process of preparing for trial. On

June 18, 1976, Lead Counsel moved the court to enjoin

Bestline Corporation from making a $500,000 restitution

payment to the California Fund that was due on June

30. In urging the court to issue the injunction, they

pointed out that Bestline was rapidly disposing of its

‘The ninth amendment to the U.S. Constitution provides that

“[t]he enumeration in the Constitution, of certain rights, shall not

be construed to deny or disparage others retained by the people.

‘Section One of the fourteenth amendment to che U.S.

Constitution provides that:

All persons born or naturalized in the United States, and

subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United

States and of the State wherein they reside. No State shall

make or enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges or

immunities of citizens of the United States; nor shail any

State deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without

due process of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction

the equal protection of the laws.

‘The court made its ruling in an unpublished memoraudum

order.

App. 69 ©

assets and that, unless the court took action, Bestline

would soon have no assets to pay the plaintiffs’ claims.

On June 30, the district court preliminarily enjoined

Bestline from making the payment due that day and

ordered it to deposit the sum of $500,000 in the registry

of the court. The court further enjoined Bestline from

making any subsequent payment called for by the

Califernia Judgment.

Bestline objected to the issuance of this injunction

on the ground, inter alia, that the court had not required

the plaintiffs to post a bond as required by Fed.R.Civ.P.

65(c).* In response, the court said that Bestline’s $500,000

deposit would serve as the plaintiffs’ bond and would

remain in the court's registry as long as the injunction

remained in effect.

Bestline immediately appealed the district court's

injunctive order to this court. While Bestline’s appeal

was pending, Lead Counsel negotiated a settlement

with Bestline and twenty-seven of the individual

defendants. On January 28, 1.77, the distriet court

preliminarily approved the settlement. Two weeks later,

Sylva moved the court to intervene as a party plaintiff,

representing the Minority Group. He requested the

court to designate that Group a plaintiff-subelass, claiming

that Lead Counsel's representation of both the Majority

and the Minority Groups constituted a conflict of interest.

‘Fed.R.Civ.P. 65(c) provides:

(c) Security. No restraining order or preliminary injunction

shall issue except upon the giving of security by the applicant,

in such sum as the court deems proper, for the payment ol!

such costs and damages as may be incurred or suffered by

any party who is found to have been wrongfully enjoined or

restrained. No such security shall be required of the United

States or of an officer or agency thereof.

App. 70

————— LLL Ll ll

Sylva sought to intervene for two reasons: to seek

the vacation or modification of the injunction that was

preventing Bestline from fulfilling its obligations under

the California Judgment, and to contest the settlement

the court had preliminarily approved. Sylva objected

to the settlement because most of the members of the

Minority Group would not share in the proceeds thereof

and because, under its terms, Bestline would be precluded

from making further restitution to that Group under

the California Judgment.

The district court entertained Sylva’s motion to

intervene on March 11, 1977, at a hearing on Lead

Counsel's application for the final approval of the

iforementioned settlement and the award of an attorney's

fee and expenses. The court denied Sylva’s motion as

untimely and meritless, without further explication. It

then addressed the propriety of the settlement and the

issue of Lead Counsei's attorney's fee and litigation

expenses. The court approved the settlement as “fair,

reasonable and adequate’ and, stating that there were

no objections, approved Lead Counsel's request for a

$750,000 attorney's fee and $50,000 in expenses. Three

days later, the clerk of the court disbursed the fee to

Lead Counsel out of fuads on deposit in the court’s

registry.

On April 1, 1977, Sylva took an appeal from the

district court’s order denying his motion to intervene;

at the same time, he moved the district court te stay

the execution of the settlement and to set aside the

attorney's fee the clerk had disbursed to Lead Counsel.

The district court, on May 2, 1977, refused to set aside

the fee disbursement or to grant the stay, and, by the

time we heard Sylva’s appeal, the district court had

disbursed all of the settlement proceeds to the eligible

members of the plaintiff-class.

App. 71

crenata

B.

On December 5, 1980, we decided Piambino I. 610

F.2d 1306 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 1011, 101

S.Ct. 568, 66 L.Ed.2d 469 (1980), Svlva’s appeal and

Bestline’s earlier appeal from the district court's

preliminary injunction,’ which had been consolidated

for argument and decisional purposes.'® We reversed

the district court's order enjoining Bestline from making

the restitution payments called for by the California

Judgment, because that order had no basis in law. Jd.

at 1334. We also reversed the district court’s order

denying Sylva intervention, concluding that the court

should have allowed him to intervene in behalf of the

Minority Group because its interests were at odds

with those of the Majority Group and were not being

adequately represented by Lead Counsel. Accordingly,

we instructed the district court, on remand, to treat

Sylva as a party plaintiff.

Most of the factors that counseled our decision on

the intervention issue made clear the unfairness of the

settlement. We therefore vacated the settlement. Having

“Although the settlement between Besiline and the plaintiff-

class would have ordinarily mooted Best!ine’s appeal, see United

Airlines, Inc. v. McDonald, 432 U.S. 385, 400, 97 S.Ct. 2464, 2473,

93 L.Ed.2d 423 (1977), the possibility that Sylva might be permiited

to intervene, as the representative of the Minority Group, to

contest the validity of the injunction, the settlement, and Lead

Counsel's attorney's fee and expense award kept the controversy

alive and ripe for appellate review.

“In its notice of appeal, Bestline also sought review of the

district court's partial summary judgment which determined that

Bestline’s distributorships were securities. The partial summary

judgment was not appealabie. See infra note

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.