Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Northern Oil Co. v. Standard Oil Co.

Supreme Court brief1985

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

' “¢ Sunreme Court, US.

@): [MAST LED

Olen 's

4 Ke

as-195@ ! MAY 24 1965

ete)

' CLERK

ALEXANDER LC STEVAS.

ee

Ps

Iu the Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

No.

NorTHERN Or Company, INc.,

Bray Om Company, INc.,

NORTHERN TERMINALS, INC., AND Dana S. Bray

Petitioners

Vv.

STANDARD Or, COMPANY OF CALIFORNIA

AND CHEVRON U.S.A. INc.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

TEMPORARY EMERGENCY COURT OF APPEALS

OF THE UNITED STATES

JouNn P. Monte, Esq.

Counsel of Record

RicHarp E, Davis, Esa.

Attorney for Petitioners

30 Washington St., Box 666

Barre, Vermont 05641

(802) 476-3123

May 23, 1985

——

wee EERE + OE EERE ern

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the TECA's ruling that a

cause of action for overcharges accrues

at thetimeof the original misclassifi-

cacion and not at the time of contract is

contrary to public policy embodied in the

Economic Stabilization Act.

2. Whether a release is void as against

public policy where such release was ob-

tained by deceptive practices and econo-

mic coercion in circumvention of the Emerg-

ency Petroleum Allocation Act and supporting

regulations.

3. Whether the purported federal common

law principle that "a misrepresentation

made during business aegotiations does not

constitute an actionable fraud claim if

the deceived party had access to the under-

lying truth" is consistent with the control-

ling case of Shappirio v. Goldberg, 192 U.S.

232 (1904),

4. Whether Congressional intent, public

policy and the decisions of this Court,

permit the rejection of Vermont law as the

federal common law of fraud applicable to a

release of federal statutory claims.

5. Whether the Erie doctrine allows the

TECA to apply federal common law to a release

of federal statutory claims.

TABLE OF CONTENTS PAGE(S)

TABU OF AUTMORITIES 6. + hee eee. iii

I cos, sits kb cee ws we es 1

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION .......... l

FEDERAL STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

Se ee ee ae ee 2

SS dee ae ee ee eee 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION .. 20

I. The TECA's Ruling That A Claim

Of Overcharge Accrues At The

Time Of The Original Misclassi-

fication And Not At The Time

Of Contract, Is Contrary To

Public Policy se ee ge ee i a ee 20

II. A Release Is Void As Against

Public Policy If It Is Obtained

By Deceptive Practices And

Economic Coercion In Circumven-

tion Of The EPAA oS ie eo ee oe ae Oe ee ee i 22

III. The TECA Has Decided An Important

Federal Common Law Fraud Question

In A Way Which Conflicts With

Shappirio v. Goldberg, 192 U.S.

232 (1904), With Other Federal

Courts of Appeals, And With The

Trend Of Modern Law. -----:-:-:-:-- 29

PAGE(S)

IV. Congressional Intent, Public

Policy, And The Decisions Of

This Court Required The TECA

To Determine The Validity And

Scope Of The 1975 Release

According To Vermont Law :::::: 32

V. The Erie Doctrine Required The

TECA To Apply Vermont Law To

A Release Of A Pendent State

Fraud Claim «+++ -eeeee eee eeeees 60

es ce ee AEE OLE SD 62

1-212

APPENDIX «ccc cccrsrssercrersreserens

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES PAGE(S)

Aaron Ferer & Sons, Ltd. v. Chase

ils tae a ee rrr eee 30

734. F.2@ Lid (Za Cir. , 1984)

: sie : 4 4s

Air Transport Association of America: 44,45,46

2 FEA 30502 (1975)

Board of Commissioners v. United

States, eee D hE ORUR ON a eke ee Rane me DO ate » hub owas 54

308 U.S. 64 (1939)

City of Milwaukee v. Illinois, -::::-: 58

101 S.Ct. 1784 (1981)

Crompton v. Beedle & Thomas, :::::::: 35,56

83 Vt. 287 (1910)

Dice v. Akron, C.&Y.R. Co.,---::++:+:- 32, 30; 2a:

342 U.S. 359 (1952) 61

53,61

Erie Railroad Company v. Tompkins,:::

304 U.S. 64 (1938)

Frigitemp Corp. v. Financial Dynamics

Fund, inc. , ee oe a ee ee ee ee ee ee 30,32,36

924 F.2d 275 (2d Cir., 1975)

Grumman Allied Industries, Inc. v.

Rohr Industries, Inc.,--------++--+ee--. 30,37, 38,

748 F.2d 275 (2d Cir., 1984) 30

Holdsworth v. Strong,:-------+-+-++++-- 36

545 F.2d 687 (10th Cir., 1976)

Ingram Corp. v. J. Ray McDermott, ... 27,29

698 F.2d 1295 (5th Cir., 1983)

SG

PAGE(S)

Korn v. Franchard Corp.,----++++++--: 22

388 F. Supp. 1326 (S.D.N.Y. 1975)

Larkin, et | aa a ae a ee ee i 44,45

4 FEA 89514 (1976)

Lunnie v. Gadapee, < ee ee 8 Oe ob 64 eS 53

Ilé Ve. 261 (1950)

weo2.ee WV. Bameere truer Co.,********* 38

615 F.2d 68, cert. den.

449 U.S. 1123 (1981)

Maternally Yours, Inc. v. Your

Maternity Shop, rr 61

234 F.2d 538 (2d Cir., 1956)

Mattivi v. Southern African

Marine Corp.,---+++ee reece reer eee ees 49

518 F.2d 163 (2d Cir., 1980)

Mead Vv. Bunn, ae ae ee ee ee ee ee ee ee 33 ,34,35

32 NY 275 (1865)

Negyessey W. BGETOMB, «+2 se see sees enns 53

136 Vt. 1930 (1980)

Neuman v. Pike, “a eo a ee ee ee ee ee ee 24,25

456 F. Supp. 1192 (S.D.N.Y. 1978)

New Jersey v. New York,"******"*"*°** 57

283 U.S. 336 (1931)

Newman Oil Co. v. Atlantic Richfield 24

a ; + & ace bw) be RSS wee Bee Se SE SS kOe ek BS

597 F.2d 275 (Temp. Emer. Ct. App.),

cert. den. 444 U.S. 842 (1979)

Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Transport

Workers Union of America,............ 58

AFL-CIO, 101 S.Ct. 1571 (1981)

iv

PAGE(S)

Oberweis Dairy, Inc. v. Associated

Milk Producers, Inc., -'':cttcte:::

568 F. Supp. 1096 (N.D. Ill. 1983)

Pearlstein v. Scudder & German, -::: 21,22

429 F.2d 1136 (2d Cir., 1970),

cert. den., 401 U.S. 1013 (1971)

Properties v. Smith, -----:-+--+-++:::: 24,25

333 F.2d 568 (9th Cir., 1964)

Royal Indemnity Co. v. United 54

States, 6-8 ek bo SAE we © OS Oe a ee 8 eS oe Oe Oe

Shappirio v. Goldberg, ------:-:-::: 29. 38s33

192 U.S. 232 (1904) 35,38,39

41,50, 51,

52,53

Texas Industries, Inc. v. Radcliffe

Materials, Inc. ,-<-:: essere eee eees 58

101 S.Ct. 2061 (1981)

Textile Workers Union v. Lincoln

B 9 +o RPE sone aware EE orere aren aren 54

353 U.S. 448 (1957)

United Mine Workers v. Gibbs, .--.--- 61

383 U.S. 715 (1966)

United States v. Best, ------------ 54

573 F.2d 1095 (9th Cir. 1978)

United States v. Crain, ----------- 54

589 F.2d 996 (9th Cir. 1979)

United States v. Hadden Haciendas

EB 5 MAACERS OER UCRSITR AS GSMO RGA 8 8 54,57

541 F.2d 777 (9th Cir. 1976)

Vv

A

U.S. Vv. Stemeere O11 Co. ,6<++ sss ess

332 U.S. 301 (1947)

Wali Street Journal --:-:**::cs+:s%3:

2 FEA 80558 (1975)

Weinraub v. International Ba*’note

Cl Es a5 ete hwee eave wns hes bE Sess

422 F. Supp. 856 (S.D.N.Y. 1975)

Western Mountain Oil, Inc. v. Gulf

8B . PSST Ser eerrereerrres

726 F.2d 765 (Temp. Emer. Ct. App.

1983)

FEDERAL STATUTES

Economic Stabilization Act, §§208,

12 U.S.C.S. §1904 note (1980 Supp. )

Economic Stabilization Act, §210,-::-:-:

12 U.S.C.S. §1904 note (1980 Supp.)

Economic Stabilization Act, §21l(a),-

12 U.S.C.S. §1904 note (1980 Supp.)

Emergency Petroleum Allocation Act, -

15 U.S.C.S. §751, et. seq.

Freedom of Information Act,:-::'::*:*::°

§ ¥J.$.€.8. 8§35352(6) (7)

vi

PAGE(S) |

Ye eS BP

26, 58

16

o Sehd, of.

38,99

ney Spe Vn NY Se ene eee

FEDERAL REGULATIONS PAGE(S)

10 G.F.R. $212.82 «+ -sssseseeeeesss 26

10 C.F.R. §212.83(a) (1) (2) (3) -+°:> 2

10 C.F.R. $205. 202 -----+-s-.e5eee. 2,26

10 C.F.R. €210.62(c) -----++-.-+5.. 2,26

10 GPM. SPORTS «occ ves ee cwcenss 2,42

10 C.F.R. §205.201(e) -----+seeeeee- 2,43

OTHER AUTHORITIES PAGE(S)

33 A.L.R. 853 (Annotation: Fraud -

Matters of Public Record) -:::-::: 33

Prosser, Law of Torts, 4th ed.

SLOZ crc ttt teeter e cece we eees 34

Restatement 2d, Torts, §540 :::::: 36

Restatement 2d, Torts, §541 -::::: 36

Restatement 2d, Torts, §541,

Comment (a) i oe ae ee Oe a es a ee a 34

Wright, Miller & Cooper,

Federal Practice and Procedure:

Jurisdiction §4514 --++++ee ese eee 53, 54,59

vii

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

NORTHERN OIL COMPANY, INC.,

BRAY OIL COMPANY, INC.,

NORTHERN TERMINALS, INC., and

DANA S. BRAY

PETITIONERS

V

STANDARD OIL COMPANY OF CALIFORNIA,

and CHEVRON U.S.A., INC.

OP NIONS BELOW

The Opinion of the Emergency Court of

Appeals (App. 1-22) is unreported to date.

The opinions of the district court (App. 23-

187) are unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Temporary Emergency

Court of Appeals (App. 1) was entered on

March 26, 1985 and a petition for rehearing

1

and suggestion for rehearing En Banc was

denied on April 24, 1985 (App. 22). The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under

28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

FEDERAL STATUTES AND

REGULATIONS INVOLVED

Economic Stabilization Act, §210(a), (b), (c)

12 U.S.C. §1904 note (1980 Supp.)

Emergency Petroleum Allocation Act

15 U.S.C. $753(b), Ci) , €2)

Freedom of Information Act

5 U.8.¢.8. $3320) 4/)

Price Rule (Refiners)

10 C.7.R.. $242.08 G08), C43, €2), GC)

Violations

10 C.F.R. §205.202

Normal Business Practices

10 C.F.R. §210.62(c)

Production or Disclosure Prohibited

10 €.¥.8. $262.22

Confidential Information

10 C.F.R. §205.291(e)

STATEMEN7’

l. Background

For 25 years before the enactment of the

Economic Stabilization Act (ESA) in 1970,

Bray companies (petitioners) were branded

wholesale distributors of Chevron's products.

These products were marketed by Bray

companies in up-state New York and through-

out Vermont. The heating oil (middle

distillates) supply contracts historically

required Chevron to bear all transportation

costs. Bray companies were also granted

discounts off the prices posted at Albany,

New York and Burlington, Vermont. Middle

distillates were transported from Chevron's

New Jersey plant to Bray's terminals by

barge. Because the waterways freeze in

winter months, all deliveries were required

to be made by November 15.

3

When ESA was enacted in 1970, the parties

were operating under contracts entered into

in 1968, which were due to expire on

May 2h, Sere

In 1972, the Bray companies were Chevron's

largest wholesale distributors of middle

distillates in the northeast and one of its

largest gasoline distributors. The price of

heating oils was frozen in 1972, but Chevron

decided it wanted more profits from the

Bray contracts. Consequently, Chevron gave

written notice to Dana Siay that unless Bray

companies agreed to buy product at the New

York harbor price, supply of all products

would terminate. Chevron was well aware Bray

companies had no other source of supply due

to the critical nationwide shortage of

petroleum products.

Bray companies resisted Chevron's "proposal"

because it substantially increased the price

of fuel oil by shifting transportation costs

and eliminating customary discounts. May 3l

came and went without any new contracts.

Finally, on July 11, 1973, Mr. Pfefferkorn

of Chevron unexpectedly flew to Burlington

and insisted that predrafted contracts be

signed or all shipments of product would

immediately cease. Chevron knew that the

Cost of Living Council was preparing to fix

a freeze date of either May 15 or June 13,

1973: Bray companies were totally unaware

of this.

The July, 1973 contracts contained a retro-

active starting date "as of May 1, 1973".

Dana Bray pointed out that the prior contract

had not expired until May 31, 1973, and

asked for an explanation. Mr. Pfefferkorn

said this date was selected so that all

customer contracts would commence on May l.

5

This statement was false and Bray companies

relied upon it in signing the new contracts.

(App. 134-136 ) Bray companies did not

discover the truth until 1978.

The price regulations in effect at all

relevant times required Chevron to classify

its customers on the basis of volume, location,

method of delivery and terms of sale. Chevron

knew these criteria established Bray companies

were in a class by themselves. To circumvent

these regulations, Chevron placed Bray in

its so-called New York Harbor Barge buyer

class.

The mandatory provisions of the Emergency

Petroleum Allocation Act (EPAA) were in

effect when the 1974 supply contracts were

signed. The only major difference between

the 1973 and 1974 contracts was a change in

credit terms. This change removed Bray

companies from consignment and required

payment for product on a fixed time schedule.

6

In October, 1974, the Federal Energy

Administration (FEA) learned of this credit

change and issued to Chevron a Notice of

Probable Violation (NOPV). (App. 208-210 ).

The FEA did not furnish a copy of its NOPV

to Bray Oil. Bray companies were not parties

to this proceeding, but became aware of it

when the FEA requested price and credit

information concerning the 1973 and 1974

supply contracts. The FEA also advised

Bray companies to resume payment on a

consignment basis. Chevron did nothing

about Bray companies’ return to consignment

until June of 1975 when Chevron learned

the NOPV was to be rescinded by the FEA on

“technical grounds".

Chevron then notified Dana Bray it would

not supply product except on a cash before

delivery (C.B.D.) basis and that it would

not restore Bray companies to consignment

unless it was given a general release.

7

Chevron's attorney, Matthew Fitzgibbon,

then informed Attorney O'Brien, who

represented Bray companies, that the FEA

"might take until July 15 to come up with

the decision".

On June 30, 1975, Attorney Fitzgibbon,

along with Chevron employees Kaiser,

Pfefferkorn and Martin, held a telephone

conference with William Costello of the FEA.

Costello informed Chevron that he had re-

commended rescission of the NOPV because

the NOPV contained the "incorrect base period"

as it was presently worded. Mr. Costello

refused to give Chevron a "clean bill of

health" despite Chevron's request, Chevron

warning the FEA that the agency would have

a bigger problem this fall and winter because

of the "effects on third parties".

Chevron, on July 10, 1975, demanded a

general release as a condition to entering

a new supply contract. Five days later,

8

Chevron sent a letter which once more

demanded a release and went on to state:

Although we continue to be advised

by FEA that the matter is being

brought to a conclusion, we still

have received no formal advice as

previously mentioned to Mr. O'Brien

and to you.

pies of this letter were sent to State

New York and Vermont Energy offices, and to

the FEA offices in Boston and New York.

On July 28, 1975, Chevron received the

FEA's formal written notice of rescission of

the NOPV. (App. 211) This letter stated

the rescission was ''not dispositive of the

credit terms in effect on May 15, 1973".

The next day, Mr. Pfefferkorn called Mr.

Costello of the FEA to discuss the meaning

of the rescission letter. Mr. Pfefferkorn

learned the words "not dispositive" meant

"not the final word as to what credit terms

actuaily were" and that (1) it was the FEA's

opinion no contract existed as of May 1, 1973;

9

and that (2) "FEA feels May 15, 1973

price still before them" and (3) the

FEA would continue the investigation as

soon as that agency had manpower available.

Chevron waited until August 28, 1975

to inform Bray companies by letter that

the NOPV had been "formally rescinded".

This letter contained nothing which had not

already been said in the July 15th letter

except the following passage:

We believe you are familiar with

the FEA's NOPV of October 25, 1974

directed to Chevron but you may not

be aware that FEA has formally

rescinded their NOPV of that date.

With the past-due account in the amount

of $3,500,000.00 and also lack of

current financial information, we

regret to advise you that we cannot

supply you with middle distillate

products on extended credit terms

unless your account is brought to a

current status and unless we can

satisfy ourselves on the future credit

reliability of your company.

Chevron did not send copies of this letter

to the FEA as it had done with previous

letters; nor was a copy of the FEA's

10

rescission letter sent to Bray companies.

A copy of this letter was, however, sent

to the state energy offices in Vermont and |

New York.

Mr. Pfefferkorn called Dana Bray shortly

after August 28th to tell him the "FEA had

found us innocent of any wrongdoing in the

handling of your account" and that the ''FEA

had found Chevron innocent of any wrong-

doing in the '73-'74-'75 contracts".

State energy officials of Vermont and New

York, faced with a critical shortage of

heating oils because of Chevron's threat

to terminate supply to its sole distributor,

directed that a meeting be held between

Chevron and Bray companies in Albany, New

York on September 17, 1975. The states

invited FEA officials to attend the meeting.

FEA officials present were Mr. Levine and

Mr. Webster, both of whom made it clear from

the outset they were there only as observers.

ll

Neither Mr. Bray nor Attorney O'Brien

had ever met Webster prior to this meeting.

William Costello was not in attendance.

The clear purpose of the meeting was to

provide a continued supply of product to

up-state New York and Vermont. There was

no discussion about the NOPV or the

"rescission".

At that meeting, Chevron <«_ ain stated it

would only furnish product on a C.B.D. basis

until the alleged past dues were paid and

general release signed by Bray companies.

Believing the FEA had exonerated Chevron,

and realizing his business could not survive,

Dana Bray offered to turn his terminals

over to Chevron and let it supply his

customers because he didn't have the financial

ability to do so under the circumstances.

Dana Bray made this offer "because my concern

was for my people in the area getting the oil".

Chevron refused to even consider it. Chevron's

12

only concern was getting the money allegedly

owing because of the change in credit terms.

The parties met in Burlington on October lst

and 2nd to discuss possible supply contracts.

Because Mr. Bray was unwilling to sign a

release, an impasse developed. At this point,

Attorney O'Brien held a private meeting with

Dana Bray, lasting about two hours. The

topic of the meeting was the release.

Attorney O'Brien advised Mr. Bray that he

could not give him "a sufficient basis for

an opinion" that litigation or administra-

tive action would be successful or timely.

Dana Bray concluded ''we already lost before

the FEA ... look how long that took before \

and we ended up the way we did".

Dana Bray decided "he had no choice and

there was no alternative available to him

except to sign the release in order to

get the product vp and available for the

oncoming season". Mr. Bray signed the

13

release.

The release was later given to the FEA

by SOCAL officials when an investigator

for the FEA presented a request for

information on the pricing matters to

SOCAL's San Francisco office. The investi-

gation had, of course, continued although

it was transferred shortly after the notice

of rescission from Region I, Boston to

Region II, New York and then to Region Ix,

California. The FEA accepted this release

as a final res<lution of the issues, and

terminated its investigation.

After Mr. Bray “agreed” to sign the release,

Chevron and Bray companies entered into

another one-year heating oil and gasoline

contract containing the same illegal prices

as the prior contracts. Heating oil was

supplied until March 31, 1976 and gasoline

until August 1, 1976. By that time, Bray

companies were virtually bankrupt. They

14

«

ceased all operations. Chevron sued in

state court to recover amounts allegedly

due on a 1975 promissory note executed in

conjunction with the release, and for

deliveries of gasoline and heating oil made

pursuant to the post-release 1975 supply

contracts. During discovery proceedings

in state court, Bray discovered Chevron's

1973 and 1975 fraud and immediately insti-

tuted an action in federal court.

2. Court proceedings

The state court action was stayed when

Bray companies filed a complaint in the

United States District Court for the District

of Vermont on October 6, 1978.

The complaint charged Chevron and its

parent company, Standard Oil Company of

California with violations of federal regu-

lations issued under the Emergency Petroleum

Allocation Act (EPAA), 15 U.S.C. §751 et.

seg. and common law fraud and duress. The

15

federal district court took exclusive

jurisdiction on the basis of §21l(a) of

the Economic Stabilization Act (ESA) of

1970, and pendent jurisdiction over the

state claims of fraud and duress. Bray

companies sought damages recoverable under

§210(a) and (b) of the ESA including re-

imbursement for fraudulent overcharges for

the contract years, 1973-1974, 1974-1975,

1975-1976, treble damages for intentional

overcharges and attorneys’ fees. On the

common law fraud and duress claims, consequen-

tial damages for the loss. of business entit-

ies were sought in the alleged sum of Forty

Million dollars. Chevron counterclaimed

for collection of a debt alleged to be due

on a 1975 promissory note and for deliveries

of gasoline and heating oil made pursuant

to the post-release 1975 contract.

The first half of the bifurcated trial by

jury - on the liability issues only - began

16

on July 21, 1982. The trial lasted almost

seven months. After two weeks of deliber-

ations, the jury returned eleven special

verdicts consisting of 57 responses to

corresponding interrogatories. (App.13l -

143 )

In his July 27, 1983 Decision, the district

judge resolved the legal effect of the

special verdicts. He ruled that Special

Verdict 5 established Chevron's fraud in the

inducement of the 1973 supply contract.

(App. 134 )

In his October, 1983 Decision, the district

judge responded to Chevron's motion to set

aside the jury determination of fraud in the

inducement of the 1975 release by a grant of

Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict. The

district judge granted J.N.O.V. on the basis

of federal common law, rejecting the Vermont

fraud law he charged to the jury. (App. 70-

88)

17

The district judge also ruled that the

1975 release did not absolve Chevron from

perpetuating the 1973 fraud and intention-

ally overcharging Bray companies in the

post-release, 1975 supply contract. (App.

23-28)

The jury's Special Verdict 6 also revealed

Chevron placed economic pressures upon Mr.

Bray which forced him to sign the 1973

supply contract because he had no reasonable

alternative. Special Verdict 11 established

Chevron had misclassified and overcharged

Bray from all relevant heating oil supply

contracts. Verdict 3 established Chevron's

infliction of duress in obtaining the 1975

release.! (App. 131-143)

l The jury in Special Verdict 4(b) apparently found

the 1975 duress had been ratified by Bray companies

failing to promptly repudiate the release. This

Court will please note that the instructions

following 4(b) were given in error, as a party can-

not ratify an unknown fraud. The jury either ig-

nured these instructions or what is more likely,

misunderstood the question and checked the wrong

18

«

The court's final judgment on April 10, i984

awarded Bray companies $210,000.00 plus interest

for overcharges arising after the 1975 release.

This sum was doubled pursuant to the damage

provision of §210(b) of the Economic Stabili-

zation Act (which provides up to treble

damages for intentional and wilful overcharges).

Chevron was awarded over Three Million dollars,

principal and interest, on its counterclaim.

Appeals were taken by both parties to the

Federal Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit and to the Temporary Emergency Court

of Appeals.

The Second Circuit stayed the appeals "pending

a determination of appeals from the same

judgment in the Temporary Emer’;ency Court of

Appeals". A judgment and mandate was entered

by the TECA on March 26, 1985. The TECA

decision upheld the district court's grant of

J.N.O.V. on the 1975 release, and reversed the

response. Bray companies requested the district

judge to poll the jury, but he declined to do so.

(App. 134 )

19

district court's award of post-release

damages.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. The TECA's Ruling That A Claim Of

Overcharge Accrues At The Time Of

The Original Misclassification And

Not At The Time Of Contract, Is

Contrary to Public Policy.

The TECA held "... a cause of action for

an overcharge based on imvroper classification

accrues at the time of the original improper

classification". (App. 14-17) Consequently,

the majority of the TECA viewed a claim for

overcharges separate and apart from the terms

of the three consecutive heating oil supply

contracts. The court reasoned that since the

overcharge cause of action had accrued at the

time of the "as of 1973" supply contract, it

was barred by the release. This finding

overruled the following relevant portion of

the district court's decision:

It seems clear enough to the court

that overcharges resulting from a

misclassification grounded in fraud

which was carried forward to the

20

supply agreement ‘executed on or after'

October 14, 1975, were not extinguished.

While the release purported to compro-

mise any claims of fraud that attended

the prior arrangements, ‘as of May l,

1973 and as of May 1, 1974', it specific-

ally excluded the contract relating to

sale and purchase of petroleum products

executed on or after the date of the

settlement. (App. 16)

Judge Hoffman dissented from TECA's majority

decision dated March 18, 1985. He points

out that classification occurs “... at the

time of contracting" and that Chevron had a

continuing obligation under the terms of each

contract not to charge a price which

exceeded the maximum lawful price under the

regulations". Explicit in his dissent is

that under the majority rule of "accrual",

a supplier would absolve itself of "... all

future violations by having the purchaser

sign a release of a similar past violation”.

Judge Hoffman concluded: "A release of future

violations is, without question, void against

public policy . Pearlstein v. Scudder &

21

German, 429 F.2d 1136 (2d Cir. 1970),

cert. denied, 401 U.S. 1013 (1971);

Oberweis Dairy, Inc. v. Associated Milk

Producers, Inc., 568 F.Supp. 1096 (N.D. Ill.

1983); Weinraub v. International Banknote

Company, Inc., 422 F.Supp. 856 (S.D.N.Y. 1976);

Korn v. Franchard Corp., 388 F.Supp. 1326

(S.D.N.Y. 1975):’(App. 19-21).

The TECA has thus decided an important

question of federal law and public policy

that should be settled by this Court.

II. A Release Is Void As Against Public

Policy If It Is Obtained By Deceptive

Practices And Economic Coercion In

Circumvention Of The EPAA.

The TECA's decision is doubly harsh in this

case because Chevron's original misclassifi-

cation was based on its 1973 fraudulent

misrepresentation which was neither known

to nor discoverable by Bray companies prior

to the signing of the release. (App. 138 _ )

The TECA's decision consequently runs afoul

y a

of federal legal principle as well as public

policy. Specifically, at the time of the

release, even if Bray companies had knowledge

of the "operative facts" of a straight "over-

- without an examination of

charge" claim,

Chevron records, Bray companies could not

possibly discover the fact that Chevron had

not placed its customers on a uniform May l

contract date. 3 Equally unlikely, was the

prospect of Bray companies discovering that

Chevron had advance knowledge of the May L5,

1975 freeze hice

2 10 C.F.R. §210.62(c) provides that a retroactive

price increase violates federal price regulations

if such increase "constitutes a means to obtain a

price higher than is permitted by the regulations...’

(App. 205)

This is one truth underlying the 1973 misrepresent-

ation, which was that Chevron was backdating the

supply contract in order to put all its customers on

a uniform starting date.

This was the other underlying truth of the misrepre-

sentation appearing in footnote 3. These "operative

facts" lay buried in Chevron's files until brought

to light during the course of discovery in the state

proceedings. These facts, along with the true reason

behind FEA's rescission of the NOPV, which was also

found in Chevron's files, prompted Bray companies to

file a complaint in federal district court.

23

To be valid, a release of federal claims

must be an intentional relinquishment of a

known right. Neuman v. Pike, 456 F.Supp. 1192,

1207 (S.D.N.Y. 1978); Properties v. Smith,

333 F.2d 568, 571 (9th Cir., 1964)?. It is

true the measure of damages for an overcharge

claim and for a claim of fraud in inducing one

to forego EPAA rights (See Newman Oil Co. v.

Atlantic Richfield Co., 597 F.2d 275 (Temp.

Emer. Ct. App.), cert. den., 444 U.S. 842 (1979))

may be similar if the latter is a fraudulent

misrepresentation resulting in an intentional

misclassification. © However, the elements

> This issue was briefed on appeal to TECA, and

appears in Bray companies' Second Circuit appellate

brief which was requested and reviewed by the TECA.

6 The TECA found it necessary to decide whether

§210(a) of the ESA permits consequential damages

resulting from a fraudulent misrepresentation.

Therefore, the measure of damages of a federal

fraud claim under the Act has yet to be determined.

24

of the 1973 fraud required proof of an entirely

different kind than is required to show an

overcharge under the ESA and supporting regula-

tions. - (Ape. 134° -). Tm fact, the i973

fraud was undoubtedly a state law claim that

resulted in damages measured independently by

state and federal law, respectively.’

Further,

both the district court and the TECA found the

1973 and 1974 contracts invalid.

The TECA apparently does not consider the

federal judicial principle (which does not per-

mit the release of an unknown cause of action

(Neuman, Properties, supra), consistent

with the public policy embodied in the EPAA and

federal regulatory scheme. Whether known or

unknown, however, the following regulations

Chevron has somehow escaped the consequences of

"overcharges" for deliveries of product made May 1-15,

1973. The proper measure of damages for these over-

charges are the terms of the 1968 contract set to

expire May 31, 1973. The federal concept of "over-

charges" is irrelevant to this claim. Likewise, it

was improper to apply federal law to these pendent

state claims, but this issue will be addressed

subsequently.

25

prohibit any deceptive device, including

a release, which is designed to circumvent

federal regulations, whether or not such

conduct amounts to actionable fraud: 10 C.F.R.

§205.202 prohibits "... any practice that

circumvents ... or results in circumvention ...

of the requirements of any provision of this

chapter ... as a violation of the DOE regula-

tions stated in this chapter; 10 C.F.R.

§210.62(c) prohibits "...(a)ny practice

which constitutes a means to obtain a price

higher than is permitted by the regulations

in this chapter..."; 10 C.F.R. §212.82

provides ''...(a) refiner may not charge to

any class of purchaser a price in excess of

the base price...". Section 210(a) of the

ESA gives an unequivocal cause of action to

"...(a)ny person suffering legal wrong because

of any act or practice arising out of this

title or any regulation issued pursuant

thereto...''. The TECA failed to recognize

26

these regulations as an expression of public

policy. This policy clearly requires a

release to be voided where a material misrep-

resentation has been made for the purpose of

inducing a party to forego its EPAA rights.

(App. 190-207)

Thus, if a distributor relies on these

misrepresentations without investigating the

underlying truth, an unknown fraud claim is

not actionable and the regulations just cited

above will provide no relief. Further, under

the TECA's decision, a release will be valid

even if the supplier inflicts actionable

duress for the very purpose of obtaining a

release. (App. 133)

The TECA also refused to recognize the

federal principle developed in Ingram Corp. v.

J. Ray McDermott, Inc., 698 F.2d 1295 (5th

Cir., 1983) (A release is valid if it is an

integral part of a scheme to violate federal

law and to perpetuate that violation).

27

Accordingly, the TECA held:

Even if we were to assume that

this language provided another

means in addition to a fraudulent

inducement claim to attack the

validity of a release,which we

do not, plaintiffs have not shown

on the facts of this case that the

release is part of any such scheme.

(App. 13-14)

The court added that the 1975 release

was an "outgrowth", rather than a "cause"

of the violation, and therefore not a

part of any such scheme. (App. 14)

The court's distinction between an "out-

growth" and a “cause” is remarkable in

light of the fact Chevron used the release

as a means of terminating FEA's investiga-

tion in January of 1975. That Chevron used

the release to perpetuate the misclassifi-

cation in the 1975 supply contract has

been determined by the district court and

the TECA. Likewise, the fact that Chevron

knowingly violated federal law from 1973 on

is revealed by the district court's specific

28

determination of Chevron's intentional

overcharge (App. 52-58 ) and deliberate

falsehoods uttered to induce Mr. Bray to

sign the 19/5 release. (App. 77) If Ingram

doesn't apply to this case, it's hard to

imagine a case to which it would apply.

TECA's decision therefore condones the use

of deceptive practices as a means to circum-

vent declared public policy which expressly

prohibits the use of “any device” for such

purpose.

Whether or not the EPAA policy favoring

private settlement overrides the expressed

public policies in matters of nationwide

concern is an important federal question that

should be resolved by this Court.

III. The TECA Has Decided An Important

Federal Common Law Fraud Question

In A Way Which Conflicts With

Shappirio v. Goldberg, 192 U.S. 232

71 obey With Other Federal Courts Of

Appeals, And With The Trend Of

Modern Law.

The district court's grant of judgment

29

Frigitemp, supra, the TECA was actually

tracing the development of the purported

federal "access" principle. Frigitemp

was a Rule 10b-5 - Securities case which

stated in dicta, that ..."’(e)ven at

common law, if the plaintiff has been

furnished with the means of knowledge and

he is not prevented from using them, he

cannot say that he has been deceived by the

misrepresentations of the other party”.

Frigitem,, supra at p. 282, citing Shappirio

v. Goldberg, 192 U.S. 232, 241-242 (1904).

Shappirio, supra, was in fact cited by

the district court as the controlling federal

law relating to “blind reliance” and

"readily available access".

Shappirio may represent the last controlling

statement by this Court of the federal “access”

common law principle of fraud. ®

8 The "access" principle was expressly rejected in

Dice v. Akron, C.&Y.R. Co., 342 U.S. 359, 362 (1952).

Dice established the federal common law of fraud

32

See 33 A.L.R. 853, 917-918, Anno. - Fraud -

Matters of Public Record §§22-24. However, it

is quite clear the TECA's requirement of "due

diligence” and determination of "access" is

entirely inconsistent with the rule of that

case.

This Supreme Court held in Shappirio, supra

at pp. 241-242:

There are cases where misrepresentations

are made which deceive the purchaser, in

which it is no defense to say that hadthe

plaintiff declined to believe the repre-

sentations and investigated for himself,

he would not have been deceived. Mead v.

Bunn, 32 NY 275 (party deceived not

bound to test the truth of a representa-

tion by examinins the public records).

But such cases are to be distinguished

from the one under consideration. When

the means of knowledge are open and at

hand or furnished to the purchaser or

his agent, and especially where the

purchaser undertakes examination for

as it relates to a release under the Federal

Employer's Liability Act for injuries sustained as

a result of the negligence of an employer. This

Court, in rejecting the "defense" of "supine

negligence” (Plaintiff did not read the release he

signed) held: "... a release of rights under the

Act is void when the employee is induced to sign it

by the deliberately false and material statements

of the railroad's authorized representatives made to

deceive the employee as to the contents of the

release”. 33

himself, he will not be heard to say

that he has been deceived to his

injury by the misrepresentaticns of

the vendor". (citations omitted )

The plaintiff's agent in Shappirio, unlike

the plaintiff in Mead, actually undertook

an investigation of the public record. He

examined the recorded deed and plat and

issued a "report upon the title” to Shappirio.

The evidence in Shappirio, supra at p. 241,

was undisputed that "...(a) casual reading

of the description on the deed or examination

of the recorded plat ... (would have revealed

the truth)”.

Shappirio was decided in 1904, before many

states had rejected the doctrine of caveat

emptor. Modern law has by and large opted

for the principle that the "means of knowledge

is open and at hand” only "when the recipient

of the misrepresentation is capable of

appreciating its falsity by the use of his

senses’. Restatement, Torts 2d §541, Comment

a; cf. Prosser, Law of Torts, 4th ed. §107.

34

siecle

This is precisely the principle that a

thoughtful reading of Shappirio reveals.

33 A.L.R. 853,918 ("The fact that the court

referred, without any expression of dis-

approval, to Mead v. Bunn ( 1865) 32 NY 275...

may be regarded as indicating somewhat strongly

that it is prepared, whenever the point is

| directly presented, to adopt the broad doctrine

applied in this case”. (This ALR annotation

was written in 1924)). Under this rule,

"access" to a federal agency does not bar a

fraud claim.

In federal courts, common law fraud claims

usually arise in diversity cases, where the

appropriate state law is applied under the

Erie doctrine. Federal common law becomes an

issue in cases where federal statutes create

private claims. Two examples of this situa-

tion are the Federal Employer's Liability Act

and Securities - Rule 10(b)5 violations. The

former situation has been resolved by this

35

Court's articulation of federal common

law as it relates to the Act. (Dice,

supra, footnote 8). The latter has not

been resolved and a conflict has arisen

among the federal jurisdictions.

The Second Circuit, for instance, apparent-

ly adheres to the "access" principle.

Frigitemp, supra. The Tenth Circuit relies

on the Restatement of Torts, §§540,541:

plaintiff is not duty bound to

investigate the truth or falsity of

an intentional misrepresentation

unless the misrepresentation is

patently false.

Holdsworth v. Strong; 545 F.2d 687

(10th Cir., 1976)

In fact, the difference between the Second

and Tenth Circuits is more of terminology

than anything else. Even under the “un~

restricted access" doctrine of the Second

Circuit, the defendant must first establish

by uncontradicted evidence, (1) the existence

and physical whereabouts of the “true facts",

36

and (2) plaintiffs' unrestricted access to

9

those facts. If the defendant fails to

establish this defense as a matter of law, the

fraud claim goes to the jury for determination

on the merits. Grumman, supra at p. 7/40.

To illustrate, the court in Grumman concluded

that summary judgment was proper where the

defendants produced affidavits which showed

plaintiff had a right of unrestricted access

to defendants’ plant, files and the performance

test results of a particular model bus.

Grumman, supra at pp. 738, 740. (The fraud

claim concerned representations of good

performance and quality of the bus - Grumman

had contractually disclaimed reliance on

those specific representations). Rohr's

affidavits also established that Grumman

possessed the "legal, technical and business

expertise necessary to make effective use of

that access". The defendants’ affidavits

were not opposed by any contrary facts pre-

37

sented by plaintiff. Grumman, supra at

p. 740. The court held: "Grumman's right

to unrestricted access and its failure to

inquire preclude, as a matter of law, its

claim of reliance on Rohr's alleged misrep-

resentations". But the Second Circuit also

made it abundantly clear that if plaintiff

had introduced specific facts tending to

show its "access" was restricted, the fraud

claim would have gone to the jury. Grumman,

supra at p. 740,10

9 The "access" or "means of knowledge" principle

is a defense, not an element of common law fraud.

Mallis v. Bankers Trust Co., 615 F.2d 68,80, cert.

den. 449 U.S. 1123 (1981) (New York does not

recognize "due diligence” as an element of fraud,

but rather requires proof of the five traditional

elements: (1) misrepresentation of a material fact;

(2) falsity of that representation; (3) scienter;

(4) reliance; (5) damages. See also Shappirio

and Dice, supra.

LO Grumman cites Shappirio at p. 737.

38

Petitioners submit the TECA's mandate has

clearly shifted to plaintiffs the burden of

showing the "true facts" were not available

to them. This is not the test, according to

Shappirio. The only information plaintiffs

ever received about the status cf the FEA

investigation was from Chevron. In addition,

the following undisputed evidence was intro-

duced: (1) the plaintiffs were not a party to

the NOPV; (2) they were not copied by the FEA

on any matters relating to the investigation

of Chevron, including the NOPV and rescission

notice; (3) prior to the date of the rescissior.

notice, plaintiffs did make a request, by

telephone and letter, for a decision. These

requests were not responded to by the FEA;

(4) three different FEA officials were involved

with the NOPV. The point is that even if

Chevron met its burden supporting the defense

of "access", Bray companies introduced evidence

which raised a genuine issue under any standard

39

Chevron certainly could have asked Mr.

Costello, the FEA official in charge of the

NOPV at the time of the notice of rescission,

whether he would have disclosed the true

nature of the rescission to Bray companies

even though not a party to the NOPV. Chevron

did not do so. Chevron could have asked

Mr. Costello, during his deposition, (which

perpetuated his testimony) whether the

rescission notice became part of the public

record or offered other evidence showing this

to be the case. Chevron did not do this,

either, in spite of the fact it has continu-

ously asserted that Bray companies’ lack of

"due diligence" bars the claim of fraud. On

the other hand, Bray Oil did not ask these

questions because (1) it wasn't part of the

prima facie case, and (2) it was irrelevant

under Vermont law which was actually charged

il

to the jury.

Il The district judge applied "federal law" only

on consideration of Chevron's Motion for J.N.O.V.

4n

ee ee ee a ae

What Chevron actually did speaks for itself,

and it doesn't come close to showing a "means

of knowledge" defense under Shappirio. First,

Chevron solicited as an "expert witness", one

Melvyn Goldstein, a former director of the

Office of Exceptions and Appeals of the FEA.

Mr. Goldstein testified that he was "generally"

familiar with NOPV procedures, and based on

that "general familiarity" of these procedures,

he was not aware of any obstacles that might

confront a hypothetical Bray Oil in learning

from the FEA the basis for a rescission of an

NOPV. Mr. Goldstein also testified that he

was unaware of any reason that the FEA would

not provide the basis of the rescission to

Bray Oil, if an inquiry had been directed at

the FEA's regional counsel (Mr. Webster).

Mr. Goldstein's lack of awareness of any

obstacles in FEA regulations to the discovery

of the truth, based on his "general familiarity’

with the NOPV procedure, does not establish

41

much of anything. It does not establish that

Mr. Gebeter would have revealed the true

facts to Attorney O'Brien on September 1/7,

1975, or that the "true facts" were a matter

of public record,. or for that matter that

the FEA's disclosure of the basis of the

rescission would have been timely. Outside

of the general familizrity with NOPV procedures,

Mr. Goldstein remained mute on the issue

of "access".

In their appellate brief to the TECA, Bray

companies pointed out that FEA regulations

prohibited the production. or disclosure of

any and all materials "contained in the files

of the FEO" without "prior approval of the

General Counsel of FEO". 10C.F.R. §202.22

(App. 206 ) It was also brought to the court's

attention that information received during

the course of an investigation remains

12 Neither Dana Bray nor his attorney, Donald O'Brien

had ever heard of or met Mr. Webster prior to

September 17, 1975 and did not believe Mr. Webster

Was involved with the Chevron NOPV in any event.

42

confidential “unless otherwise determined

by FEA". 10C.F.R. §205.201(e) (App. 207)

The TECA's conclusion that such regulations

would not prohibit FEA disclosure of the mean-

ing and effect of the rescission misses the

issue entirely. Under these regulations,

neither Costello nor Webster was free to

disclose any information to Bray companies

without prior approval of General Counsel.

On the other hand, if the NOPV and notice of

"rescission was a matter of public record,

Bray companies would have been required to

follow the procedures of the Freedom of

Information Act. 5 U.S.C.S. §552. The main

difficulty in contacting General Counsel

or proceeding with the FOIA is that it was

FEA's consistent practice through the summer

and fall of 1975 to withhold any document,

(including NOPV's) relating to ongoing investi-

gations initiated by an NOPV.

Three related FEA decisions clarify this

43

point: Air Transport Association of America,

2 FEA 80502 (January 10, 1975); Larkin, et al.,

4 FEA 80514 (July 22, 1976); and Wall Street

Journal, 2 FEA 80558 (March 21, 1975).

In Larkin, supra, a request was made under

the FOIA for a number of documents to an

FEA investigation of Union Oil Company of

California concerning the “lawful selling

price of gasoline which Union sells to its

retail customers". Larkin, supra at p. 80,

553. Larkin's request included "...(r)ecords

of any formal or informal rulings, advice

or counsel given by the FEA...". Because

the investigation of Union was still in

progress, the Information Access Officer

withheld a Notice of Probable Violatitdn

(NOPV) (and other documents relating to the

investigation) which the FEA issued to Union

on August 9, 1974.

Larkin appealed, alleging the Information

Access Officer erroneously withheld “access

4G

to the requested documents". Larkin, supra

at p. 80, 554.

The FEA held that "... NOPV's ... issued

prior to the date of Wall Street Journal

and which were used as discovery devices

designed to further an investigation would

be exempt from public disclosure while

the investigation remained open’. Larkin,

supra at p. 80,554. The FEA also determined

that the NOPV and other documents requested

were exempt under our investigatory records

provision of 5 U.S.C. §552(b)(7) because it

revealed investigatory techniques and

procedures of the FEA. Larkin, at p. 80,554.

Wall Street Journal, supra, citing Air

Transport Association of America, supra,

stated: "The FEA has consistently refused

to disclose NOPV's on the grounds they are not

subject to mandatory disclosure under Section

(b)(7) of the Freedom of Information Act".

(emphasis added) Wall Street Journal, at

45

p. 80,668.

Read individually or together, the three

FEA decisions uphold the FEA practice of

non-disclosure of any documents which relate

to material compiled for investigatory

purposes. Air Transport, supra at p. 80, 502.

Air Transport also establishes the investi-

gation is not completed until a Remedial Order

is issued or the investigation is otherwise

terminated.

In the case at hand, the “rescission” was

not a termination of the investigation.

(App. 77 ) It was notification to Chevron

that the investigation was to be expanded to

areas "technically" outside the scope of the

NOPV. Further, the “rescission” did not

serve as a formal statement of the alleged

violations to be investigated and "rescinded"

an NOPV which itself was not a "formal

statement of charges issued after a signifi-

cant stage of investigation (had been) com-

pleted’. 46

Wall Street Journal, supra at p. 80,689.

Thus, it is quite apparent why Chevron did

not produce evidence demonstrating plaintiffs’

"unrestricted access" to the meaning and

effect of the notice of rescission. It is

also manifestly unfair for the TECA to reject

federal statutes, regulations and FEA

decisions which demonstrate, beyond a doubt,

that “access” was restricted, if not totally

unavailable. The TECA'’s "due diligence”

rule is especially harsh where Vermont law

is applied to the release by the district

judge in his charge to the jury.

Another misleading conclusion of the

district court, perpetuated by the TECA, was

that there were "frequent contacts" between

Bray companies and FEA officials. The

district judge opined:

Bray and Chevron representatives

alike were in frequent contact

with Mr. Costello and Mr. Webster

concerning energy matters.

(App. 94

47

The undisputed evidence established

absolutely no contacts between Webster and

Bray and only one contact between O'Brien

and Webster. Mr. O’Brien testified he

did not know Uebetar onioe to the Albany

meeting on September 17, 1975, and did not

believe he was involved in the handling of

the NOPV.

Dana Bray met Mr. Costello only once in

Burlington on May 1, 1975. Costello was

present in furtherance of the Chevron

investigation. Mr. O'Brien was also in

attendance. The only remaining “contact”

which O’Brien had with Costello was by

telephone on May 27, 1974. The evidence

showed that any discussions between FEA

personnel and Bray companies were initiated

by the FEA.

There were no "contacts" at all between

representatives of Bray companies and FEA

personnel after the telephone call of May 27,

48

1975, except at the Albany meeting. In short,

there was one contact with FEA officials in

the relevant time frame. The notice of

rescission was dated July 28, 1975 and

Chevron's written misrepresentation was dated

August 28, 1975.

"Frequent contacts” is an egregious distort-

ion of the evidence, especially in the context

of a J.N.O.V. The TECA, in reviewing a grant

of J.N.0O.V. was duty bound to give Bray

companies the henerit of all reasonable

inferences without weighing conflicting

evidence, and then uphold the jury's verdict

unless the jury's findings could only have

been the result of sheer surmise and conject-

ure or no reasonable or fair-minded man

could have arrived at a verdict against

Chevron. Mattivi v. Southern African Marine

Corp., 618 F.2d 163 (2d Cir., 1980)., If the

TECA has, in fact, searched the record for

‘substantial evidence’ supporting the jury

49

verdict, it is not reflected in the mandate.

(App. 1-21) The TECA relies solely on

"frequent contacts" to show access and

ignores all conflicting evidence.

The TECA paraphrases Shappirio ("if the

plaintiff has been furnished with the means

of knowledge and he is not prevented from using

them, (emphasis added) he cannot say that he

has been deceived by the misrepresentations

of the other party), but it has in every

essential misstated or misapplied the

Supreme Court principle. The “opportunity

to make inquiry" does not establish that

such inquiry would have been fruitful and

without difficulty. Even a broad reading

of Shappirio or Grumman, supra, reveals

the burden was on Chevron to establish just

that.

This Court may also note that TECA has

apparently adopted a federal tolling

(statute of limitations) provision as the

59

federal common law of the case. Citing

Western Mountain Oil, Inc. v. Gulf Oil Corp.

726 F.2d 765 (Temp. Emer. Ct. App. 1983) (The

statute of limitations is not tolled by a

fraudulent concealment of a cause of action

if the true facts would have been discovered

by the exercise of due diligence), TECA

asserts the Western Mountain "due diligence”

tolling provision should apply with greater

force to a claim of fraud in the inducement

of a release of federal claims. (App. 12)

The TECA's mandate has interpreted the

Shappirio principle as being synonymous with

a federal tolling provision. Further, a

plaintiff asserting a federal common law

fraud claim now has the burden of showing

he acted with due diligence in order to

verify a material representation. This ruling

is a dangerous precedent which, by its

language, purports to apply to any federal

fraud claim. It also condones deceitful

51

and unlawful price gouging which is

contrary to the public policy embodied

in the emergency federal statutory scheme

enacted at a time of national crisis.

IV. Congressional Intent, Public Policy,

And The Decisions Of This Court

Required The TECA To Determine The

Validity And Scope Of The 1975 Release

According To Vermont Law.

Insofar as the 1975 release related to

federal claims, it is clear that the district

judge was required to apply federal law.

Dice, supra. The District Judge Holden

adopted Vermont law as the federal law, and

he so charged the jury. However, upon review

of Chevron's motion for J.N.0.V., the district

judge changed his mind and applied a somewhat

confusing blend of authorities, the most

notable being Shappirio, supra.

On appellate review, the TECA ostensibly

adopted Shappirio by reference to Second

Circuit case law. (App. 12) In reality,

however, the TECAhas misstated Shappirio

a2

by equating that case with a federal to_ling

provision (App. 12).

Bray companies have thus been laboring

under a quite elusive concept of federal

common law fraud ranging from a near absolute

right of reliance (Negyessey v. Strong, 136

Vt. 193, 195 (1980); Lunnie v. Gadapee, 116

Vt. 261, 265 (1950)) to a "means of knowledge”

defense (Shappirio), and finally toa require-

ment of due diligence as part of the prima

facie case. (Western Mountain, supra).

This problem has perhaps arisen because,

since the time Erie Railroad Company v.

Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938) was decided,

there has been no "general" federal common

law, but only specialized federal common law

that relates to particular areas of federal

interest. ‘U.S. Vv. Standara: O21. Go. .-332 U. 3.

301, 308 (1947); Wright, Miller and Cooper,

Federal Practice and Procedure: Jursidiction

§4514. However, both the district court and

53

the TECA were subject to the choice of

law principles laid down in the applicable

decisions of this Court.

In 1979, the Ninth Circuit provided the

following summary of these principles in

United States v. Crain, 589 F.2d 996,999

(9th Cir., 1979):

The federal courts are generally

free to draw upon any and all

traditional sources in developing

federal common law. United States v.

Best, 573 F.2d 1095, 1109 (9th Cir.,

1978). Often state law is an

appropriate source. Textile Workers

Union v. Lincoln Mills, 353 U.S. 448, 457,

‘i S. Ct. -9i2; 2. Be. 24 S72 CE9S7)

Royal Indemnity Co. v. United States,

313 U.S. 289, 296-97 61; S. Ct. 995, 85

L. Ed. 1361 (1941); Board of Commiss-

ioners v. United States, yp 3,

350-52, 50 S.Ct. 285, 84 L.Ed. 313 (1939);

United States v. Best,573 F.2d at 1102.

Even when an ‘action arises under and

is clearly determined by federal law,

state law limiting the enforcement of a

federal right is sometimes adopted as the

federal rule'. United States v. Hadden

Haciendas Co., 541 F.2d 777, 783 (9th

Cir., 19/6)

As stated in Hadden, whether or not

state law will be adopted as the

federal common law rule depends on

‘whether the state law can be given

54

effect without conflicting with federal

policy.’ id. at 784... (other citations

omitted ). Conversely, rejection of the

state rule should be avoided where the

adoption of a different federal rule

would unduly interfere with the state's

interests."

Vermont law is consistent with congressional

intent and public policy embodied in the EPAA

as well as traditional and modern common law

fraud. One eloquent expression of the law

appears in Crompton v. Beedle & Thomas, 83 Vt.

287, 301-302 (1910).

The court, in Crompton traces the origin of

Vermont's rejection of the defense of negli-

gence to an intentional misrepresentation:

The doctrine (due diligence) inconsistent

with that which has been declared by this

Court is said by the writer last quoted

(Bigelow) to be dead in England if it

ever existed there and moribund in this

country ...

In a House of Lords case, this principle

was thus declared by Lord Chancellor

Chelmsford:

"When once it is established that there

has been any fraudulent misrepresentation

or wilful concealment by which a person

has been induced to enter a contract, it

is no answer to his claim to be relieved

55

from it to tell him that he might have

known the truth by proper inquiry

Any different doctrine carried to

its logical conclusion would facilitate

transactions in gold bricks, salted

mines, bogus diamonds as real, facsimilies

as originals, and would permit a variety |

of things destructive to commercial

integrity. The maxim which requires

a party to a trade to look out for

himself has a wide and broad application.

We would not traduce it or deny to it

the legitimate application to which it

is entitled. But it cannot be permitted

that that maxim should be so construed

as to portraying the law in caricature

and to render it an instrument of craft,

a tool of fraud, a talisman of injustice,

a key by the use of which one man may

plunder another. For the commerce of

the world is promoted not by cunning

but by such wisdom as is consistent

with that good faith which underlies |

everything in the social order that

has stability".

Vermont had a very real interest in keeping

its citizens warm during a national fuel

oil shortage, as well as a long standing

commitment to integrity in the marketplace.

See Crompton, supra. Yet the district court

and now the TECA rejected Vermont law and

the basis for that rejection cannot accurate-

56

ly be determined. The critical inquiry

should have been "whether Vermont law could

be given effect without violating federal

policy’. (Hadden, supra). Federal policy

in turn, was subject to the "paramount

authority of congress". New Jersey v. New

York, 283 U.S. 336 (1931).

An expression of congressional intent is

found in the EPAA, 15 U.S.C. §753(b) (1)

(App. 193-199), and the following excerpts

are particularly relevant:

(b) (1) The regulation under subsection

(a) of this Section. to the maximum extent

practicable, shall provide for --

(a) Protection of public health ...

safety and welfare (including maintenance of

residential heating, such individual homes,

apartments, and similar occupied dwelling

units), and the national defense.

(d) Preservation of an economically

sound and competitive petroleum industry ...

57

and to preserve the competitive viability

of independent refiners, small refiners,

nonbranded independent dealers, and

branded independent marketers ... (emphasis

added).

This intent is buttressed by §§208,2909

and 210 of the ESA (as incorporated in the

EPAA) which provide for criminal and civil

penalties as well as private suits for

damages or other relief for any “legal wrong

because of any act or practice arising out

of this title, or any order or regulation

issued pursuant thereto”. (App. 190 ).

Perhaps of even greater importance is that

since 1979, several significant decisions

involving federal common law have issued

from this Court, including Northwest Airlines,

Inc. v. Transport Workers Union of America,

AFL-CIO, 101 S.Ct. 1571 (1981); Texas

Industries, Inc. v. Radcliffe Materials, Inc.,

101 S.Ct. 2061 (1981) and City of Milwaukee v.

58

Illinois, 101 S.Ct. 1784 (1981).

An often cited and prominent authority has

made an analysis of these decisions:

These cases, read together, reveal

at least one central theme: a renewed

emphasis upon the fact that federal

common law is ‘subject to the paramount

authority’ of Congress. Indeed, the

1980-1981 Term cases may be read to

say that courts cmpcaly should be

reluctant to develop federal common

law, absent some signal from Congress.

If this reading is correct, then it

is likely that future years will see

a vastly more restricted use of federal

common law’.

Wright, Miller & Cooper

Federal Practice & Procedure

Jurisdiction §4514 at p. 274

The EPAA was an emergency act designed to

protect the citizens and the marketplace from

price exploitation that would have inevitably

attended the short supply of an essential

product. The clear signal from Congress was

that no deceptive practice would be tolerated

during such conditions. To rule, as the TECA

has done, that Vermont law is contrary to

congressional intent and public policy, cannot

59

be justified.

V. The Erie Doctrine Required The TECA

To Apply Vermont Law To A Release Of

A Pendent State Fraud Claim.

The federal court acquired pendent

jurisdiction over the 1973 fraud claim. It

charged Vermont law to the jury, and the

court upheld the jury determination of fraud

on the basis of Vermont law. (App. 144)

The material misrepresentation itself, related

to the retroactive date of the "as of May 1,

1973" contract.

In his July decision, the district judge

confirmed that under Vermont law, the terms

of the prior contract will be substituted

for a subsequent cor -sact procured through

fraud. (App. 175) The federal price

regulations were therefore not the sole

measure of damages. The measure of damages

was the price terms of the prior contract,

at least through May 31, 1973 when the

prior contract was set to expire. Thus,

69

the source of this claim is state law, and

under Erie Railroad Company v. Tompkins,

304 U.S. 64 (1938) state law must be applied

to a release of a state claim. Maternally

Yours, Inc. v. Your Maternity Shop, Inc., 234

F.2d 538 (2d Cir., 1956) (""... the Erie

doctrine applies, whatever the ground for

federal jurisdiction to any issue or claim

which has its source in state law".); cf.

United Mine Workers v. Gibbs, 383 U.S. 715

(1966) and Dice, supra: (Federal law applies

to a release of feceral claims).

The TECA as well es the district court,

plainly erred in applying federal law to a

release of a state claim. (App. 17-18)

This error underscores the confusion of the

TECA in construing the scope and the validity

of the release. The decision of the TECA

should not be permitted to stand.

61

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari

should be granted.

Respectfully Submitted,

JOHN P. MONTE, ESQ.

Attorney of Record

RICHARD E. DAVIS, ESO.

Attorney for Petitioners

May 23, 1985

62

APPEND IX'

Nos. 2-41, 2-42, 2-45, 2-46

NORTHERN OIL COMPANY, INC., BRAY OIL COMPANY, INC.,

NORTHERN TERMINALS, INC., and DANA S. Bray,

PLAINTIFFS-APPELLANTS AND CROSS-APPELLEES,

Vv.

STANDARD O1L COMPANY OF CALIFORNIA and

CHEVRON U.S.A. INC.,

DEFENDANTS-APPELLEES AND CROSS-APPELLANTS.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Vermont

(Civil Action 78-231)

Argued January 18, 1985 Decided March 18, 1985

Judgment Entered: March 26, 1985

RICHARD E. DAvis, Richard E. Davis Associates, Inc.,

Barre, Vermont, with whom David L. Cleary, Miller,

Norton & Cleary, Rutland, Vermont, were on the brief,

for Plaintiffs-Appellants and Cross-A ppellees.

JEFFREY S. FACTER, Cravath, Swaine & Moore, New York,

N.Y., with whom Allen F. Maulsby, Steven H. Rouhandeh

and Robin C. Landis, of the same firm, were on the

brief; Douglas C. Pierson and Richard W. Affolter, Pier-

son, Affolter & Wadhams, Burlington, Vermont, of Coun-

sel, for Defendants-Appellees and Cross-Appellants.

Before HOFFMAN, GIGNOUX and METZNER, Judges.

METZwWER, Senior District Judge:

This is an action for overcharges, and for consequen-

tial and punitive damages, under Section 210(a) and (b)

of the Economic Stabilization Act of 1970 (“ESA”), 12

1

2

U.S.C. § 1904 note (1980 Supp.), as incorporated in the

Emergency Petroleum Allocation Act (“EPAA”), 15

U.S.C. § 751 et seq., for violations of various regulations

implementing the EPAA, and for common law fraud,

brought in 1978 by plaintiffs-appellants ana cross-

appellees Northern Oil Company, Inc., Bray Oil Company

Inc., Northern Terminals, Inc., and Dana S. Bray, as

owner of the three companies (hereinafter collectively re-

ferred to as “Bray Oil”), against defendants-appellees

and cross-appellants Standard Oil Company of California

(“SoCal”) and its wholly-owned subsidiary Chevron

U.S.A. Ine. (“Chevron”). Both sides appeal from a final

judgment entered on April 10, 1984, by Judge Holden in

the District of Vermont which awarded plaintiffs

$210,000 in damages for overcharges by Chevron on the

price of home heating oil, prejudgment interest, statu-

tory penalties of $210,000 and attorneys’ fees and other

expenses."

BACKGROUND

The complex factual background of this case is more

than adequately set out in three comprehensive opinions

by Judge Holden. For present purposes we outline the

facts upon which our decision is predicated.

During the time period relevant to this action, Bray

Oil was a major distributor of home heating oil in New

York and Vermont. Since 1968 it had purchased its prod-

uct from Chevron pursuant to a contract effective by its

terms until May 31, 1973. Under the terms of that con-

tract, Bray Oil purchased product at prices posted by

Chevron at Albany, New York, and Burlington, Vermont,

1 Chevron filed a counterclaim to collect the unpaid balance

on a promissory note from plaintiffs. An earlier state court

suit on ‘jis issue was stayed pending the outcome of the

federal litigation. Judge Holden granted judgment on that

counterclaim for an aggregate amount in excess of $3.2 mil-

lion. Plaintiffs have not challenged that judgment on this

appeal.

3

minus certain discounts. Well before that contract was

due to expire the parties began negotiations for a new

contract. Chevron demanded, among sther things, pricing

terms more favorable to it because its profits under the

old contract had steeply declined.

In early May of 1973 Chevron made several deliveries

which Bray Oil accepted and later paid for at a higher

price than provided for in the written contract in effect

at the time of the deliveries. In July of 1973, after hard

bargaining between the parties, Chevron convinced plain-

tiffs to enter into a new contract with pricing terms

F.0.B. New York Harbor. This new contract also pro-

vided that it would be effective “as of May 1, 1973.”

Chevron informed Bray Oil that it desired the backdat-

ing in order to have all its customers signatory to con-

tracts with that uniform date. The jury found at trial

that this representation was false or misleading, and that

Bray Oil relied on the representation in agreeing to the

backdating of the contract.

On July 19, 1973, after many but not all of the docu-

ments comprising the new contract had been signed, the

Cost of Living Council (“COLC’’) proposed for notice and

comment a regulation fixing May 15, 1973, as the freeze

date for Phase IV of the federal energy regulatory pro-

gram. The last of the documents comprising the “as of

May 1, 1973” contract were signed on August 13, 1973.

On August 19, 1973, the freeze date of May 15, 1973, was

adopted. 38 Fed. Reg. 22536, 22541 (August 22, 1973).

Once the price regulations were promulgated, Chevron

placed Bray Oil in a “class of purchaser” (10 C.F.R.

§ 212.31) reflecting the new backdated contract terms

rather than those of the old contract which had been in

effect on May 15, 1973. Because of this, Chevron was

able to and did charge Bray Oil a higher price under the

regulations than would have been lawful if Bray Oil had

been classified pursuant to the price terms of the old

contract.

4

In the summer of 1973 Bray Oil transferred nearly

seven million gallons of heating oil to one of its customers,

Green Mountain Petroleum Company, and received more

than one million dollars in payment without reporting the

transaction to Chevron (the “Green Mountain transac-

tion”). This violated the consignment terms of Bray Oil’s

contract with Chevron. Chevron learned of the Green

Mountain transaction by chance six months later. As a

result of this transaction, Chevron insisted on new credit

terms when the parties negotiated a new agreement for

1974-75. The 1974-75 contract established a fixed schedule

of payments based on the 1972 pattern of withdrawals.

Subsequently, one of Bray Oil’s customers filed a com-

plaint with the Federal Energy Administration (“FEA’’)

concerning the change in credit terms. On October 24,

1974, the FEA issued a Notice of Probable Violation

(“NOPV”) to Chevron and commenced an investigation.

As a result, in November of 1974, Bray Oil unilaterally

ceased paying Chevron in accordance with the fixed pay-

ment schedule of the 1974-75 contract and instead re-

turned to the previous consignment arrangement. Chevron

did not challenge Bray Oil’s action because of the FEA’s

ongoing investigation regarding the NOPV. Because the

winter of 1974-75 was mild, the payments for withdrawals

were less than what would have been called for by the

fixed payment schedule.

The parties failed to resolve their differences before

the expiration of the 1974-75 supply contract on May 1,

1975. On July 24, 1975, the FEA notified Chevron that

it was rescinding the NOPV in order to broaden the in-

vestigation to include the retroactive effect of the “as of

May 1, 1973” contract, but that it would be unable to

proceed with the investigation until it had greater man-

power. In a letter dated August 28, 1975, Chevron in-

formed Bray Oil of the rescission, but not the reason

for it.

pla aN it Nice

5

At that time both parties were under pressure to reach

an agreement. -With the rescission of the NOPV, Chevron

had put Bray Oil on a “cash first” delivery basis, which

precluded Bray Oil from being able to purchase its full

needs for the winter. In addition, the transportation of

product would become increasingly difficult as the weather

worsened. For its part, Chevron feared adverse publicity

if a shortage of home heating oil developed. After media-

tion by FEA and state officials, the parties on October 14,

1975, reached agreement on the 1975-76 supply contract.

In conjunction with that agreement, Chevron agreed to

an interest-free promissory note on the substantial debt

owed it by Bray Oil. Bray Oil in turn signed a gen-

eral release which purported to release Chevron from any

claims, including those under the EPAA, Bray Oil may

have had stemming from the relationship between the

parties under the “as of May 1, 1973” contract.?

2 The release provides as follows:

“IT IS AGREED by and between Chevron and Bray

that Chevron hereby releases Bray and Bray hereby re-

leases Chevron and each of them hereby releases each

of their respective parent corporations, if any, affiliates,

successors and assigns, servants, agents and employees,

from and against any and all loss, cost, claims, damages,

liabilities, actions, and causes of action which each may

have or which each may allege to have had against the

other arising out of actions, agreements, contracts, com-

mitments, relationships or action taken or omitted to be

taken up to the date hereof based on tort, contract, negli-

gence, anti-trust or violation of State or Federal Regula-

tions excluding, however, the following:

A) Payments under Agreements existing immedi-

ately prior to the execution hereof with respect

to the sale of products referred to therein, pay-

ment for which is not to be made prior to the

effective date hereof and which have not other-

wise been resolved as between Chevron and

Bray,

B) Obligations undertaken by Bray and its affiliates,

or any one or more of them, with respect to

6

Following the expiration of the 1975-76 contract, Mr.

Bray sold or leased his various properties and retired to

Florida, leaving behind a substantial balance on the

promissory note as well as other obligations to Chevron.

The instant suit was commenced in 1978 and resulted

in a bifurcated trial. In the liability phase, which lasted

seven months, the jury returned eleven special verdicts

with a total of 52 subparts. The jury found, among

other things, that at the time Chevron was negotiating a

new contract with plaintiffs in 1973, it represented to Mr.

Bray that the reason for selecting the “as of May 1, 1973”

starting date was to place all distributors of middle distil-

lates on a uniform contract year. The jury found that

this representation was false or misleading, that Mr. Bray

relied on the representation, and that plaintiffs suffered

financial harm as a result of signing the 1973-74 contract.

The jury found as well that Bray Oil had no knowledge

financing loans, through banks, the re-payment

of which loans Chevron has guaranteed at the

request of Bray and its affiliates, or any one of

them, and

C) Obligations undertaken by Chevron and/or Bray

arising out of Agreements executed on or after

this date in the resolution of past differences.

Bray,-by its execution hereof, acknowledges the validity

of certain arrangements entered into between it and

Chevron dated as of May 1, 1973 and as of May 1, 1974

relating to the purchase and sale of petroleum products.

Bray further acknowledges that it shall file no claim,

complaint or charge for its own intended benefit, or that

of others, nor be entitled to retain the benefit of the

disposition of a claim, complaint or charge filed by any

other party with the Federal Energy Administration

involving Chevron’s allocation and pricing practices to-

wards Bray under Acts or Regulations relative to Fed-

eral Price Control and Allocation Regulations presently

within the jurisdiction of the Federal Energy Adminis-

tration.”

7

at the time regarding the COLC consideration of the

proposed freeze date.

Relying on the jury’s findings, the district court held

that Chevron’s misrepresentation of its reason for seeking

the backdating term amounted to fraud which invalidated

the entire contract. The court therefore classified plain-

tiffs according to the terms of the old contract, and de-

termined that Chevron had overcharged plaintiffs under

10 C.F.R. § 212.82 and Section 210(b) of the ESA. The

court concluded, however, that the release executed by

Bray Oil in 1975 barred recovery for overcharges made

prior to its execution.

DISCUSSION

Numerous issues have been raised on this appeal by

both sides. The most important one involves the validity

and effect of the mutual general release executed on

October 14, 1975. Bray Oil asserts on appeal that the

district court erred in setting aside special verdicts in

which the jury found that Chevron had fraudulently in-

duced Bray Oil to execute the release. Chevron contends

in its cross-appeal that the district court erred in holding

that the release does not bar the claim for overcharge

damages based upon deliveries made after October 14,

1975.

I. The Release

A. Jurisdiction

We turn first to the question of this court’s jurisdiction

to determine the issue of the validity and effect of the

release. It is clear that this court has jurisdiction over

an issue when “resolution of the litigation in its entirety

requires the application or interpretation of the EPAA

and regulations, and [when] an EPAA issue has been

adjudicated in the district court.” Mobil Oil Corp. v. De-

partment of Energy, 728 F.2d 1477, 1497 (Temp. Emer.

8

Ct. App. 1983) (citations omitted). See also Mountain

Fuel Supply Co. v. Johnson, 586 F.2d 1375, 1381 (10th

Cir. 1978) (case arises under the EPAA if it “clearly and

substantially involves a dispute or controversy respecting

the validity, construction or effect of such laws which is

determinative of the resulting judgment’), cert.’ denied,

441 U.S. 952 (1979). Accord Scallop Corp. v. Tully, 705

F.2d 645, 647 (2d Cir. 1983). Our jurisdiction has been

construed as “issue jurisdiction.” Coastal States Market-

ing, Inc. v. New. England Petroleum Corp., 604 F.2d 179

(2d Cir. 1979); Texaco, Inc. v. Department of Energy,

616 F.2d 11938 (Temp. Emer. Ct. App. 1979). As the

court noted in Texaco, “jurisdiction is not an either-or

proposition with regard to the case as a whole. Rather

the Court takes jurisdiction over those issues which it

has authority to decide, refusing to hear any others, al-

though they are part of the same case or controversy.”

Id. at 1197.

As a general rule, this court has declined jrisdiction and

permitted a bifurcated appeal only where the issues over

which it declines jurisdiction provide an independent

substantive ground for relief, or will not facilitate the

decision of an EPAA claim. See Atlantic Richfield Co. v.

Department of Energy, 655 F.2d 227, 233 (Temp. Emer.

Ct. App. 1981) (purely private contract claims) ; Long-

view Refining Co. v. Shore, 554 F.2d 1006, 1009 n.5

(Temp. Emer. Ct. App.) (antitrust and contract claims),

cert, denied, 434 U.S. 886 (1977); Spinetti v. Atlantic

Richfield Co., 522 F.2d 1401, 1403 (Temp. Emer. Ct. App.

1975) (antitrust, fair trade and fraud claims).

In Newman Oil Co. v. Atlantic Richfield Co., 597 F.2d

275 (Temp. Emer. Ct. App.), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 842

(1979), we held that this couit had jurisdiction over a

cause of action arising from a fraudulent representation

intended to induce a party to forgo EPAA rights. 597

F.2d at 279. The release issue in this case is under appeal

precisely because Bray Oil contends that Chevron made a

9

false representation to it which induced it to sign a

release forgoing any EPAA rights it might have: had.

Newman Oil therefore controls this case. See also Rainey

v. Union Oil Co. of California, 732 F.2d 1563, 1564, n.1

(Temp. Emer. Ct. App. 1984) (breach of contract and

tortious interference with contract claims adjudicated be-

cause of interdependency with EPAA claims) ; Mobil Oil

Corp. v. Department of Energy, 728 F.2d at 1497 (exer-

cising jurisdiction to decide issue of contract interpreta-

tion because “incident to and interwoven with,” over-

charge claim) ; Francis Oil and Gas Inc. v. Exxon Corp.,

687 F.2d 484, 487 (Temp. Emer. Ct. App.) (breach of

contract claim that alleges entitlement to a specific price

based upon the federal price regulations clearly falls

within TECA jurisdiction), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1010

(1982).

B. Validity of the Release

In a long and carefully reasoned discussion of the evi-

dence and the applicable law, the district court set aside

those special verdicts of the jury which indicated that the

release of EPAA rights given by plaintiffs in conjunction

with the signing of the 1975-76 contract had been in-

duced t, fraud on the part of Chevron. The district court

concluded that the release was obtained as the result of

hard bargaining between two sophisticated commercial

entities, and that plaintiffs had not in fact relied on any

misrepresentation Chevron muy have made regarding

FEA action concerning the relationship between the par-

ties. The court also held that under federal law appli-

cable to the release plaintiffs had no right to rely blindly

on any misrepresentation Chevron may have made because

plaintiffs had adequate access to information regarding

the rescission of the NOPV. Plaintiffs raise four objec-

tions to the district court’s holding. After careful con-

sideration, we hold that none has merit and affirm the dis-

trict court’s ruling that as a matter of law the release was

valid.

10

Plaintiffs first argue that the district court erred be-

cause in setting aside the special verdicts it necessarily

passed upon the credibility of witnesses and so usurped

the jury’s function. The evidence must be viewed in the

light most favorable to the plaintiffs here. Simblest v.

Maynard, 427 F.2d 1, 4 (2d Cir. 1970). The standard

for reviewing the district court’s action is whether “the

evidence is such that without weighing the credibility of

the witnesses there can be but one reasonable conclusion

as to the verdict...” Brady v. Southern Railway Co.,

320 U.S. 476, 479-80 (1943).

Our review of the evidence discloses that on July 24,

1975, the FEA informed Chevron by letter that it was

rescinding the NOPV it had issued the year before, but

would, when it had available manpower, broaden the scope

of the investigation to include possible violations stem-

ming from the backdating of the “as of May 1, 1973”

contract. Chevron later informed Bray Oil of the rescis-

sion in a letter dated August 28, 1975, but did not state

the reason for or the effect of the rescission.

The claim of fraudulent inducement is in essence based

upon the allegation by Mr. Bray that a few days after

receipt of that letter he received a telephone call from a

Chevron employee stating that the FEA had found Chev-

ron innocent of any wrongdoing in the handling of the

Bray Oil account. Bray Oil asserts that this false state-

ment caused it to believe that it no longer had EPAA

rights against Chevron, and induced it to sign the release.

As noted above, Bray is a sophisticated businessman

represented by counsel. A telephone call or letter to the

FEA would have revealed the true facts. Neither was

availed of by Bray. Moreover, Bray and his attorney

were often in contact with FEA officials, including a

lengthy meeting on September 17, 1975, but never asked

about the rescission of the NOPV. Finally, Bray ad-

mits that after these representations were made, he was

10

11

advised by his attorney, in a letter dated September 9,

1975, to proceed with a complaint before the FEA. ,

Although Judge Holden charged the jury under Ver-

mont law on this issue, he later correctly determined

that federal law governed the validity and effect of the

release. See Locafrance U.S. Corp. v. Intermodal Sys-

tems Leasing, Inc., 558 F.2d 1113, 1115 (2d Cir. 1977)

(federal law governs aJl questions relating to purported

releases of federal statutory causes of action). See also

Dice v. Akron, Canton & Youngstown Railroad Corp.,

342 U.S. 359, 361 (1952). We find that the district court

was clearly correct in ruling that as a matter of federal

law plaintiffs were under a duty to investigate the true

status of the FEA action and were not entitled to rely

on the representations of their adversary in the midst of

negotiations when they had several opportunities to make

such inquiry of the FEA itself.

This court has specifically held that in forgoing the

assertion of rights under the EPAA, a buyer cannot

blindly rely on a false statement by a seller as to action

taken by an enforcement agency when the buyer has ac-

cess to that agency. Western Mountain Oil, Inc. v. Gulf

Oil Corp., 726 F.2d 765 (Temp. Emer. Ct. App. 1983).

In Western Mountain, the court rejected a fraud claim

similar to the one here asserted by Bray Oil. Plaintiff

in that case asserted that the statute of limitations had

been tolled by defendant’s false representation that the

FEA had approved its pricing structure.

This court held, however, that though the statement

may have been false, it did not constitute fraudulent con-

cealment because plaintiff had a duty to investigate:

“While Gulf may have wrongfully asserted the

propriety of its pricing method, we do not find that

appellant was entitled to blindly rely on that asser-

tion without making any further investigation. Nor

do we find the existence of any fiduciary relationship

11

12

between the parties which might excuse the duty of

further investigation.”

726 F.2d at 768.

Western Mountain makes clear that Bray Oil had no

right to reply blindly on any false statement by Chevron

made during negotiations when Bray Oil clearly had ac-

cess to the true facts regarding the rescission of the

NOPV.’ See also Grumman Allied Industries, Inc. v.

Rohr Industries, Inc., 748 F.2d 729, 737-38 (2d Cir.

1984) (recognizing principle of federal and New York

common law that misrepresentation made during busi-

ness negotiations not actionable if adversary had access

to information) ; Aaron Ferer & Sons Ltd. v. Chase Man-

hattan Bank, N.A., 731 F.2d 112, 123-24 (2d Cir. 1984)

(concealment of material fact during negotiations sur-

rounding a business transaction not actionable fraud if

adversary had access to, but did not pursue investigation

of, true fact); Frigitemp Corp. v. Financial Dynamics

Fund, Inc., 524 F.2d 275, 282 (2d Cir. 1975) (“if the

plaintiff has been furnished with the means of knowledge

* The fact that in Western Mountain the fraud claim was

asserted to avoid the operation of the statute of limitations

does not diminish its application here. Indeed, its rule applies

with even greater force to an effort to avoid a release. While

for policy reasons courts have tended to disfavor strict en-

forcement of statutes of limitations, they have generally

favored strict enforcement of releases granted in a commer-

cial context for valuable consideration and with advice of

counsel. Compare Chase Securities Corp. v. Donaldson, 325

U.S. 304, 314-16 (reflecting willingness to permit impact of

statutes of limitation to be restricted), reh’g denied, 325 U.S.

896 (1945) with Locafrance U.S. Corp. v. Intermodal Systems

Leasing, Inc., 558 F.2d at 1115 (encouraging enforcement of

releases made in commercial context where language of re-

lease is clear), and Ruskay v. Waddell, 552 F.2d 392, 398 (2d

Cir.) (“strong policy considerations require that what all

parties thought to be a closed matter [by virtue of a general

release] should remain so.”), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 911

(1977).

13

and he is not prevented from using them he cannot say

that he has been deceived by the misrepresentations of

the other party.”).

The regulations cited by plaintiffs, 10 C.F.R. § 202.9

and § 205.201(e), clearly do not prohibit the release by

the FEA of the fact and effect of the rescission of a

NOPV. Such regulations were designed solely to protect

the confidentiality of business information supplied by

parties to the NOPV and the integrity of the internal

processes of the agency itself.

Plaintiffs next argue that as a matter of law the re-

lease is contrary to public policy. We have made it quite

clear, however, that the EPAA embodies a policy favor-

ing private settlement of disputes under the statute. See

Longview Refining Co. v. Shore, 554 F.2d at 1012. There

is no public policy which prohibits an otherwise valid

release from operating to bar federal statutory causes of

action. See Mittendorf v. J. R. Williston & Beane, Inc.,

372 F. Supp. 821, 835 (S.D.N.Y. 1974).

Plaintiffs also argue that the release is void as a

matter of public policy because it is an involuntary re-

linquishment of federal rights. It is abundantly clear,

however, that “involuntary relinquishment” is not an in-

dependent ground for setting aside a release, but merely

a shorthand reference to the traditional grounds for re-

scission—which the district court held inapplicable both

because plaintiffs knew they were releasing claims that

they might have under the EPAA against Chevron and

because they were not entitled as a matter of law to rely

on statements made by adversaries under such circum-

stances. This contention therefore adds nothing to the

plaintiffs’ case.

Finally, plaintiffs contend that the release is void be-

cause it is part of an integral scheme to violate federal

law and to perpetuate that violation. The rely on Ingram

Corp. v. J. Ray McDermott, Inc., 698 F.2d 1295 (5th Cir.

14

1983), an antitrust conspiracy case which discussed the

possible application of such a standard to a future case

whose facts merited it. Even were we to assume that

this language provided another means in addition to a

fraudulent inducement claim to attack the validity of a

release, which we do not, plaintiffs have not shown on

the facts of this case that the release is part of any such

scheme. As the court noted in Ingram, if the release is

merely an outgrowth, rather than a cause, of the violation,

it cannot be part of any such scheme. 698 F.2d at 1315.

C. Scope of the Release—Statutory Claims

In construing the scope of the release, we must give

effect to the intent of the parties, as demonstrated by the

language of the release itself and the circumstances sur-

rounding its execution. Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine

Research, Inc., 401 U.S. 321, 342-48 (1971). We agree

with the district court that by the plain language of the

release, the- parties settled all claims under previously ex-

isting contracts in the context of the applicable federal

law and regulatory scheme.

The district court went on to hold, however, that the

release did not bar claims for damages in the contract

year following its execution because the cause of action

for these damages accrued after the release had been

executed. The court stated that the “release executed by

Bray barred matured claims then accrued; it did not bar

claims that might arise from future violations of federal

law.” In a later decision confirming its prior ruling, the

district court held that prospective application of the

release would offend public policy and undermine the

policy of the price freeze regulations to maintain the

supplier-purchaser relationship as it was_in 1972-73.

This court has consistently held, however, that a cause

of action for an overcharge based on an improper classi-

fication accrues at the time of the original improper clas-

sification. Western Mountain Oil, Inc. v. Gulf Oil Corp.,

14

15

726 F.2d at 767; Fleetwing Corp. v. Mobil Oil Corp.,

‘126 F.2d 768, 770 (Temp. Emer. Ct. App. 1983) ; Lerner

v. Atlantic Richfield Co., 731 F.2d 898, 900-01 (Temp.

Emer. Ct. App. 1984). In these cases this court has

clearly rejected the “continuing violation” theory in the

context of actions for overcharges based on an improper

classification. See also Siegal Oil Co. v. Gulf Oil Corp.,

701 F.2d 149, 153 (Temp. Emer. Ct. App. 1983) (con-

tinuing violation concept rejected as to claim under sub-

stitute supplier rule). The fact that the instant case

involves a release, while the cases referred to involve the

application of the statute of limitations, is a distinction

without a difference in this case. We find no legitimate

policy reason for allowing a party to escape the effects

of an otherwise valid release more easily than he could

a statute of limitations. The cause of action for all

damages arising from the improper classification, there-

fore, accrued prior to the execution of the release.

The general proposition that public policy precludes

the application of a release to bar claims that arise from

future violations of federal law is therefore not an issue

here. See Fox Midwest Theatres, Inc. v. Means, 221 F.2d

173, 180 (8th Cir. 1955); Pearlstein v. Scudder & Ger-

man, 429 F.2d 1136, 1143 (2d Cir. 1970), cert. denied,

401 U.S. 1013 (1971); Weinraub v. International Bank-

note Co., Inc., 422 F. Supp. 856, 858 (S.D.N.Y. 1976).

This case does not invoke the policy concerns inherent in

the situation where a release purports to allow a know-

ingly guilty party to violate federal law in the future.

Since the cause of action for any overcharges during the

contract year 1975-76 arose at the time of misclassifica-

tion in 1973; there is no future violation present here.

There are only future damages arising from a past

violation.

It is clear that parties may agree to release claims

of future damages arising from past violations of fed-

eral law where the cause of action for the past violation

15

16

had accrued at the time the release was executed. See

United States v. Allegheny-Ludlum Industries, Inc., 517

F.2d 826, 853-54 (5th Cir. 1975) (release bars all Title

VII claims for damages incurred because of continuing

effects of past violations, cert. denied, 425 U.S. 944

(1976); Marketing Assistance Plan, Inc. v. Associated

Milk Producers, Inc., 338 F. Supp. 1019, 1022 (S.D. Tex.

1972) (release bars damages from pre-release activity

not consummated until after release executed). See also

Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine Research, Inc., 401 U.S.

at 348 (parties may validly release future damages).

Judge Holden held that the Western Mountain rule as

to the accrual date of overcharge claims was inapplicable

to this case because of certain exclusionary language in

the release:

“While the argument has some surface appeal, it

ignores the particular language of the 1975 release

agreement which carves out three exceptions from its

operation and effect. One of these exclusions is

[C] Obligations undertaken by Chevron and/or

Bray arising out of Agreements executed

on or after this date in the resolution of

past differences.

It seems clear enough to the court that overcharges

resulting from a misclassification grounded in fraud

which was carried forward to the supply agreement

‘executed on or after’ October 14, 1975, were not ex-

tinguished.

While the release purported to compromise any

claims of fraud that attended the prior arrangements

‘as of May 1, 1973 and as of May 1, 1974,’ it specifi-

cally excluded the contract relating to sale and pur-

chase of petroleum products executed on or after the

date of the settlement.”

From the face of the release and the evidence in the

record, however, it is quite clear that this exclusionary

language applied only to a promissory note executed that

16

17

day to resolve past differences between the parties con-

cerning certain debts. Other exclusionary language re-

garding payments under already existing agreements

is equally inapplicable. Both parties understood that the

release was drafted to preclude any challenges to the

pricing and credit terms of the “as of May 1, 1973” and

May 1, 1974 contracts.*

The district court therefore erred in holding that the

release does not bar claims for overcharge damages in

the contract year following its execution.°

D. Scope of the Release—Common Law Claims

The district court held that plaintiffs’ exclusive remedy

in this action was damages for overcharges under Sec-

tion 210(b) of the ESA. Plaintiffs claim that they have

suffered other legal wrongs separate from the over-

charges which should be compensable under Section

210(.) of the ESA. These wrongs, plaintiffs claim, stem

from common law fraud and the consequential loss caused

because the overcharges placed them in a noncompetitive

market position ultimately causing the sale of the busi-

nesses below fair market value.

Our holding as to the validity of the release makes it

unnecessary for us to consider the correctness of the dis-

trict court’s ruling that plaintiffs’ damages were limited

to those provided under Section 210(b). The release effec-

* Indeed, as Bray Oil’s attorney testified, he and his client

were aware prior to the signing of the release that “once

[the validity of the 1973-74 contract] was resolved, well, then

that resolution would extend throughout the time that this

particular commodity, petroleum, was regulated.” (Tr. 7672;

Def. App. No. 2-42 at 168).

5 We need not address plaintiffs’ claim that the negotiation

and execution of the “as of May 1, 1973” contract violated

various other EPAA regulations. The release bars recovery

for any damages stemming from the alleged violation of all

EPAA regulations.

17

18

tively bars recovery for any damages stemming from

common law fraud based on the negotiation of the “as of

May 1, 1973” contract.

II. The Change in Credit Terms in the 1974-75 Contract

Bray Oil also claims that the district court erred in

finding that a change in credit terms in the 1974-75 con-

tract from a consignment arrangement to a fixed payment

schedule did not violate 10 C.F.R. § 210.62(a). Our hold-

ing as to the validity of the release, however, makes it

clear that Bray Oil would be barred from recovering any

damages realized prior to the date of the release arising

from the change in credit terms. For the same reasons

noted above regarding overcharge claims based upon an

improper classification, we hold that the release has pro-

spective effect to bar recovery for any damages stemming

from the change in credit terms in the 1974-75 contract.

See Shell Oil Co. v. Nelson Oil Co., 627 F.2d 228, 236

(Temp. Emer. Ct. App.) (cause of action for change in

credit terms accrues when acts constituting challenged

change occurred), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 1022 (1980).

In view of our holding that plaintiffs released their

claim for overcharge damages realized in each of the three

contract years in question, we vacate the district court’s

award of prejudgment interest, penalty damages, attor-

neys’ fees and other expenses.

The judgment below is affirmed in part and reversed

in part and che matter remanded to the district court for

entry of final judgment in favor of the defendants.

18

1

HOFFMAN, Judge, concurring in part and dissenting in

part:

While I agree with the majority as to the principal

points discussed in the opinion, I do not agree with the

discussion in part I-C relating to the Scope of the Release.

The Release is quoted verbatim in footnote 2 of the opinion

and will not be repeated in detail.

The Release, executed on October 14, 1975, mutually

releases any “causes of action which each may have or

which each may allege to have had against the other aris-

ing out of actions, agreements, contracts, commitments,

relationships or action taken or omitted to be taken up to

the date hereof based on tort, contract, negligence, anti-

trust or violation of State or Federal Regulations exclud-

ing, however, the following:

[C] Obligations undertaken by Chevron and/or |

Bray arising out of Agreements executed

on or after this date in the resolution of

past differences.

The Release continues:

Bray, by its execution hereof, acknowledges the va-

lidity of certain arrangements entered into between

it and Chevron dated as of May 1, 1973 and as of

May 1, 1974 relating to the purchase and sale of

petroleum products.

This Release does not refer to future violations by

Chevron, concerning which the majority opinion has held

are barred by the release. While it is true that the Re-

lease acknowledges that the 1973 and 1974 arrangements

were valid, both the district court and the majority opin-

ion have held to the contrary.

In my opinion, the district court correctly construed the

Release, and its judgment should be affirmed in every

respect. To hold, as does the majority, that a continued

violation by Chevron after October 14, 1975, is permissi-

19

2

ble and bars the victim from a right of action, would, in

my view, be contrary to public policy.

The majority relies upon Western Mountain Oil, Inc. »v.

Gulf Oil Corp., 726 F.2d 765 (Temp. Emer. Ct. App.

1983), for the proposition that the cause of action ac-

crues at the time of the original improper classification.

Western Mountain, however, is clearly distinguishable

from the case at bar. In Western Mountain, the plaintiff

brought suit on a claim of having been overcharged. The

court ruled that the claim was barred by the statute of

limitations. There was only one three-year contract in-

volved: and the plaintiff brought suit after the contract

expired. The plaintiff in that case had argued that each

delivery of petroleum constituted a violation. The Western

Mountain court held that the cause of action accrued when

the overcharging commenced at the beginning of the

contract.

The policy underlying the statute of limitations sup-

ports the conclusion in Western Mountain. If it is deemed

to be a separate violation each time any petroleum is

delivered, then a company would be forced to re-examine

its classification of each purchasers each time there is a

delivery. This would be an onerous burden to impose

upon the companies. It is at the time of contracting that

the supplier classifies the purchaser.

In the case’ sub judice there were three separate con-

tracts. The contract term which placed Bray in the wrong

class of purchasers first appeared in the 1973-74 contract.

This term was repeated in the two subsequent contracts.

We are only concerned with the last contract covering the

1 The other cases cited by the majority, Fleetwing Corp. v.

Mobil Oil Corp., 726 F.2d 768 (Temp. Emer. Ct. App. 1983),

and Lerner v. Atlantic Richfield Co., 731 F.2d 898 (Temp.

Emer. Ct. App. 1984), do not state whether there was more

than one contract involved. Furthermore, they merely rely

upon Western Mountain on this issue.

20

EE EO EEO EEE EE EEE EOE EEO OEE EOE OEE OE EE EE EE

3

year 1975-76. The release was signed on October 14,

1975 at the same time the 1975-76 contract was signed.

The cause of action for overcharges in the 1975-76 con-

tract year accrued at the beginning of the contract. In

that contract Chevron improperly classified Bray which

resulted in Bray being overcharged during the term of

the contract. It was at the time of contracting that the

price terms were established which would be in effect for

1975-76. Chevron was obligated not to charge a price

which exceeded the maximum lawful price under the

regulations. The previous contracts had no legal force

beyond their expiration. The fact that Chevron had com-

mitted the same type of violation in those previous con-

tracts is irrelevant. At the time the 1975-76 contract

was agreed upon, Chevron’s negotiators specifically con-

sidered the price terms of the 1975-76 contract. This is

unlike the purely ministerial task of shipping quantities

of petroleum according to the terms of the contract found

in Western Mountain.

{

A release of future violations is, without question, void

against public policy. Pearlstein v. Scudder & German,

429 F.2d 1136 (2d Cir. 1970), cert. demed, 401 U.S. 1013

(1971); Oberweis Dairy, Inc. v. Associated Milk Pro-

ducers, Inc., 568 F. Supp. 1096 (N.D. Ill. 1988); Wein-

raub v. International Banknote Company, Inc., 422 F.

Supp. 856 (S.D. N.Y. 1976); Korn v. Franchard Corp.,

388 F. Supp. 13826 (S.D. N.Y. 1975). If the release is

held to bar Bray’s claims for the 1975-76 contract years,

it would allow companies to absolve themselves of all

future violations by having the purchaser sign a release

of a similar past violation. For this reason, I would affirm

Judge Holden’s decision.

21

TEMPORARY EMERGENCY COURT Oi" APPEALS

OF THE UNITED STATES

No. 2-45

NORTHERN OIL COMPANY, INC. ,

BRAY OIL COMPANY, INC.,

NORTHERN TERMINALS, INC., and

DANA S. BRAY,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

Vv.

STANDARD OIL COMPANY OF CALIFORNIA

and CHEVRON, U.S.A., INC.,

Defendants-Appellees.

Before HOFFMAN, GIGNOUX, and METZNER, Judges.

ORDER

Upon consideration of the Petition for Rehearing

and/or Suggestion for Rehearing En Eanc filed by

Appellants Northern Oil Company, Inc. et al.,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the Petition for

Rehearing is DENIED.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Suaqestion for

Rehearing En Banc is DENIED. The mandate is to

issue May 1, 1985.

FOR THE COURT:

Donna M. Bold, Clerk

by:

April 24, 1985 Karen S. Berky

Deputy Clerk

22

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR TH=

DISTRICT OF VERMONT

Northern 011 Company, Inc.

Bray Oil Company, Inc., )

Northern Terminals, Inc.,)

and Dana S. Bray ) Civil Action

Vv. _

Standard Oil Company of Tile No. 78-231

California and Chevron

U.S.A., Inc.

— ee eee ee

MEMORANDUM OF DECISION

I. Motion to Reconsider Effect of Release

Following the close of all the evidence in this

cause, on the issues of liability and damaces, the

defendants Standard Oil Company of California ("SeCal]/

and Chevron U.S.A., Inc. ("Chevron"), by repetitive

requests, ask reconsideration of the court's earlier

ruling on the prospective amplication of the release

between the parties dated October 14, 1975. The re-

lease was executed contemporaneously with the con-

tract for the supply of middle distillates for the

ensuing contract year, May 1, 1975 through June 30,

1976. The target of the defendants’ present motion

is the court's ruling to the effect that

The release executed by Bray barred

matured claims then accrued; it did

not bar claims that might arise from

future violations of federal law.

Northern Oil Co. v. Standard Oil Co., No. 78-231,

23

Memorandum of Decision (D.Vt. filed October 5,

1983) ,at 22.

One of the reasons advanced in the first motion

to reconsider was that the defendants had no on-

portunity to brief this asnect of the court's deci-

sion. The defendants have now had the opportunity

to brief the question anew to include two recent

decisions of the Temporary Emergency Court of

Appeals entered on December 22, 1983.

The court is not persuaded that the mutual re-

leases exchanged on October 14, 1975 foreclosed

recovery of damages under Section 210 of the Eco-

nomic Stabilization Act, 12 U.S.C. sec.1904 note,

incorporated by reference in the Emergency Petro-

leum Allocation Act, 15 U.S.C. sec.754(a) (1). to

assion this consequence in futuro,to paraphrase

from Judge Waterman's opinion in Pearlstein v.

Skudéer & German, 429 F.2d 1136 (2d Cir.1970),

cert. denied, 401 U.S.1013 (1971), would serve

only to legalize the very conduct which the

regulations seek to prevent and which suits such

as this one serve to discipline.

The court reads nothing in the authorities

advanced by the defendants to justify giving the

release curative and prospective effect capable

of discharging liability for overcharges under a

new supply contract that was awaiting performance.

The defendants’ most recent request for reconsid-

eration was apparently renewed on the basis of two

recent, and as yet unreported, decisions by the

Temporary Emergency Court of Appeals: Western

Mountain Oil Inc. v. Gulf Oil Corp., No. 9-76,

slinp.op. (Temp.Emer.Ct.App.December 22, 1983) and

Fleetwing Corp. v. Mobil Oil Corp., No. 11-5,

Slip.op. (Temp.Emer.Ct.App. December 22, 1983).

These appeals, as their precedents, Siegel Oil Co.

v. Gulf Oil Corp., 701 F.2d 149 (Temp.Emer.Ct.App.

1983), and Shell Oil Co. v. Nelson Oil Co., Inc.,

627 F.2d 228 (Temp.Emer.Ct.App.), cert. denied, 449

U.S. 1022 (1980), were concerned with limitation of

actions under applicable state statutes of limitation

Each of these authorities rejected the "continuing

violation" theory and turned aside the concept that

each new supply of product gave rise to a separate

cause of action.

Western Mountain was an action to recover for

overcharges for product sold under an agreement by

Gulf to supoly Western Mountain with unbranded

gasoline from January 1, 1974 through December 31,

1976. There, as in the present action, the claim

against the supplier is for overcharges which re-

sulted "from Gulf placing Western Mountain in an

improper class of purchaser and calculating its May

15, 1973 transaction prices based on that improper

25

classification." The apnellate court affirmed

the district court's application of the Nevada

statute of limitation from the date the cause of

action accrued.

As the district court correctly

found, all of the requirements

for accrual of appellant's cause

of action under the facts of this

case had been met on January 1, 1974,

the date the overcharging commenced

as a result of this misclassification.

Id., slip.op. at 6. Accord, Fleetwing, supra,

slip op. at 4.

The defendants translate the text just quoted

from Western Mountain to mean that all of Bray's

claims based on misclassification accrued when

the misclassification occurred in 1973. Application

of the release in the fashion that the statute of

limitations was applied in the cases cited would

release the overcharges derived from the final

supply agreement of 1975-76. Since this court's

opinion of October 5, 1983 held that the October

14, 1975 release barred matured claims then ac-

crued, the defendants urge that the court's prior

holding necessarily barred all plaintiffs’ claims

for overcharges imposed thereafter.

While the argument has some surface appeal,

it ignores the particular language of the 1975 re-

lease agreement which carves out three exceptions

from its operation and effect. One of these

exclusions is

26

Obligations undertaken by Chevron

and/or Bray arising out of Agreements

executed on or after this date in the

resolution of past differences.

It seems clear enough to the court that over-

charges resulting from a misclassification grounded

in fraud which was carried forward to the sunply

agreement "executed on or after" October 14, 1975

were not extinguished.

While the release pvurported to compromise any

claims of fraud that attended the prior arrange-

ments "as of May 1, 1973 and as of May 1, 1974," it

specifically excluded the contract relating to sale

and purchase of petroleum products executed on or

after the date of the settlement.

For the reasons outlined above, the court confirms

its prior ruling that the release exchanged by the

parties on October 14, 1975 extinguished past claims

but cannot be applied to foreclose overcharges im-

posed under the suvvly agreement for the ensuing

contract year. To apoly the release prospectively

to bar this private action under Section 210 of the

Economic Stabilization Act would offend public policy

in equivalent degree to that which attends prospec-

tive release of a statutory action under the securi-

ties and antitrust laws. See Redels, Inc. v. General

Electric Co., 498 F.2d 95, 99 (5th Cir.1974) (Releases

may not absolve party from liability for future

27

violations of antitrust laws); Pearlstein v.

Skudder & German, supra, 429 F.2d at 1136; Hunt

v. Mobil Oil Corp., 410 F. Supp. 10, 27 n. 59

(S.D.N.Y.1975) (Weinfeld, J.), aff'd, 550 F.2d

68 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 984 (1977)

("An agreement to waive future antitrust violations

would be contrary to public policy."”); Westmoreland

Asbestos Co. v. Johns-Manville Corp., 39 F. Supp.

117, 119 (S.D.N.Y.), aff'd, 136 F.2d 844 (2d Cir.

1943) (Release designed to absolve future violations

of federal law would be void as against public

policy). In this instance the language of the re-

lease against prospective application is in step

with sound consideration of public policy.

To give the effect urged by the defendants to

the release would undermine a principal objective

of the regulatory scheme, which

..-wasS to maintain the supplier-

purchaser relationships as they

existed in 1972-73, prior to the

statutory regulation of the

petroleum industry.

Mobil Oil Corp., et al. v. Dept. of Energy, et al.,

Nos. 2-40 and 6-31, slip op. at 5 (Temp. Emer. Ct.

App. December 20, 1983).

The court's prior ruling precluding prospective

application of the release of October 14, 1975

will stand.

28

II. The Cost Bank Defense

Since the closing days of the liability phase

of this controversy the defendants have stoutly

contended that the Bray Companies' entitlement to

danuges, by way of overcharges under the final con-

tract, are insulated and washed away by unrecouped

banked costs, the so-called "cost bank" defense.

The defendants advance the argument:

An overcharge by definition is a

price that exceeds the 'maximm

allowable price’. 10 C.F.R.sec.

212.83(a) (1). A orice to a cus*omer

exceeds the maximum allowable p_ice

only if that price is greater than

the May 15, 1973 base price to that

customer's class of purchaser plus

the increased costs incurred by the

seller since May 15, 1973. 10 C.F.R.

sec.212.82.

Defendants’ Memorandum in Support of Chevron's Motion

to Dismiss, dated December 12, 1983, at 1-2

(empr.asis in text).

The regulation last cited provides:

"Maximum allowable price’ means the

weighted average price at which the

covered product was lawfully priced

‘in transactions with the class 2f pvur-

chaser concerned on May 15, 1973, com-

puted in accordance with the provisions

of Section 212.83(a), plus increased

product costs and increased non-pvroduct

costs incurred between the month of

measurement and the month of May 1973.

29

10 C.F.R. sec.212.82.

On the strength of these regulatory provisions,

the gist of the argument is that Chevron's unrecouped

inc’eased costs, as shown in the cost bank balance for

each month between October 1975 and the date middle

distillates were decontrolled, satisfied the amounts

claimed by the plaintiffs for overcharges. Thus,

it is claimed that the price increases charged are

offset by the costs which Chevron was entitled to pass

through to Bray during the relevant time period.

The defendants press the point that since they, as

refiners, withheld passing through the increased

costs to the plaintiffs, the cost bank balances

eliminate the overcharges that are claimed under the

1975-76 supply contract. The overcharge problem

that consumed weeks of trial time does not lend

itself to such simplistic analysis and easy resolution.

Regulatory Framework

The statutory and regulatory background is well

described in Standard Oil Gg. v. Department of

Energy, 596 F.2d 1029 (Temp.Emer,.Ct.App. 1978):

On August 19, 1973 the CIC [Cost

of “Living Council] added Subpart

L-Petroleum and Petroleum Products-

to the Phase IV regulations, which

established special rules governing

the pricing of petroleum products.

The key to this pricing structure

was the 'base price’, which was

défined as the May 15, 1973 selling

price plus adjustments for the in-

creased costs of imports and domestic

30

crude petroleum above the May 15 price.

This definition, which differed sub-

stantially from that in the proposed

regulations, allowed refiners to pass

through their product cost increases

on a dollar for dollar basis without

being subject to ore-notification re-

quirements or a profit margin rule.

As to non-product costs, refiners could

make price increases above base price

to reflect these costs, but they re-

mained subject to pre-notification and

profit margin limitations.

As initially promulgated, the pet-

roleum price regulations did not pro-

vide that either product cost increases

or non-product increases unrecoupned in

one month could be carried forward, or

‘banked', for use in the oricing equation

for establishing prices in a later month.

Id. at 1035 (footnote omitted).

More recently this regulatory background has been

reviewed and confirmed in Mobil Oil Corp., et al., v.

Dept. of Energy, et al., supra, slip op. at 4-5 and

Med, The de

The so-called "cost bank" rule was added to this

regulatory structure on September 18, 1973, allowing

refiners to carry over, or "bank," unrecovered in-

creased product costs for inclusion in the calculatinm

of base prices in a later month. 38 Fed.Reg. 25686,

25688 (Sept. 14, 1973). Banked costs would be reducd

correspondingly whenever a refiner added previously

unrecouped costs to its current price. "(T]he

banking provisions had given refiners a mechanism

with which to smooth out price adjustments over a

31

period of time." Standard Oil Co. v. Dept. of Energy,

supra, 596 F. 2d at 1036.

Because the initial cost bank rule created some con-

fusion, it was amended in November, 1973, to clarify

that if the prices charged for a particular product

failed to yield sufficient revenues to recoup all

the product's cost increases, the refiner could bank

the unrecouped costs for use in computing base prices

in a subsequent month. 38 Fed.Reg. 30271 (Nov.2, 1973).

The banking provisions were continually amended

between 1973 and 1976. For the most part, these

amendments are not material to resolution of the

issue before the court. Of significance, however,

is a September, 1974 amendment that has been referred

to as the "equal application" or "deemed recovery"

rule. 39 Fed.Reg.32306 (Sept.5, 1974). The rule

required refiners to pass through increased product

costs uniformly among all classes of purchaser or

suffer a cost recovery penalty. Specifically, the

largest cost increase passed through to one class

was deemed to have been passed through to each of that

refiner's other classes 6f purchaser for purposes

oz cost bank depletion.

Because the rule was initially promulgated with-

out prior notice and comment in reliance on the

"good cause" exception to this procedural require-

ment, its validity was questioned. On December 21,

1983, the Temporary Emergency Court of Appeals

32

a

ruled that the September 5, 1974 promulgation and

the December 5, 1974 repromulgation of the deemed re-

covery rule were procedurally valid. Mobil Oil Corp.

et al. v. Dept. of Energy, et al., suvora, slip op.

at 34, 39.

Other amendments in November, 1974, restricted the

amount of banked product costs which could be used to

increase the base price in a particular month to ten

percent of the total amount of unrecouned increased

product costs available for pass through. 39 Fed.Reo.

39259-39261 (Nov.6, 1974). In proposing these amend-

ments, the Federal Energy Administration ("FEA") exp-

ressed its concern that the enormous accumulated banks

of unrecouped costs of some refiners would not ultim:

ately serve to further the provisions' goals:

The FEA has also concluded that the

banking provisions should be substantially

restricted in the future. The intent of

the price regulations was never to

guarantee into the indefinite future that

refiners would be able ultimately to pass

throuch the total amount of their in-

creasec product costs, without regard to

market conditions. Rather, it was intended

only to afford refiners the opportunity to

pass through increased product costs on

a reasonably current basis.

39 Fed. Reg. 32718, 32724 (Sept. 10, 1974).

Further developments in the cost bank amendments

are set forth in the margin.+

33

Discussion

The court returns to defendants' contention that

the balance of unrecouped banked costs constitutes

a full defense to this private action under Section

210(b) to bar liability for any overcharge violations.

They maintain that even applying the deemed recovery

penalty, Chevron still has a positive cost bank

balance during the period between October, 1975,

and the end of price controls on middle distillates.

After careful consideration, the court denies

Chevron's motion to dismiss based on the sufficiency

of umrecouped costs in the Chevron cost bank to

support the price increases to the Bray Companies.

The court holds as a matter of law that cost bank

credits cannot be used to offset overcharge violations,

which were found to exist in the liability phase of

this case and which are discussed in subsequent parts

of this opinion.

In urging the cost bank defense, the defendants

place some reliance on the district court decision

in Eastern Airlines, Inc. v. Mobil Oil Corp., 512

F.Supp.1231 (S.D.Fla.1981), rev'd, 577 F.2d 879

(Temp.Emer.Ct.App.1982). It appears that the

appellate court did not reach Eastern's challenge

to the district court's ruling on the cost bank.

Eastern Airlines, Inc. v. Mobil Oil Corp., 677 F.2d

879, 881-82 (Temp.Emer.Ct.App. 1982). And in Pacific

Service Stations Co. v. Mobil Oil Corp., 689 F.2d

34

1055 (Temp.Emer.Ct.App.1982), cited by defendants,

the court of appeals reversed the district court's

summary judgment holding for Mobil, noting that

"appellants appear to concede” that the cost bank

would provide a defense to overcharges. Id. at 1065.

Neither case squarely held that the district court

had been correct in treating the sufficiency of a cost

bank as an absolute defense.

The histo.y of the price rules teaches that the

"cost bank" implementation was principally designed to

assist in restoring competition to make »~<™ for tra-

ditional market forces "to supplant the rigid price

control regulations as the price setting mechanism."

The Cost of Living Council was aware from the inceptin

of the price freeze of the need to balance price

constraints imposed by the regulations against the

compelling need for increased energy sources of supply

that would otherwise be curtailed by restricted profit

incentives. Standard Oil Co. v. Dept. of Energy, sunvra

596 F. 2d at 1036.

The court's search has uncovered no support for the

contention of the defendants that the "cost bank" is

available as a defense to be retroactively invoked,

to excuse or palliate a wrongful classification under

the Phase IV regulations. To engage the "cost bank

rule" to override the wrongful classification imposed

on the Bray Companies would subvert the regulatory

Purpose "...to maintain the supplier-purchaser

35

relationship as they existed in 1972-73, prior

to the statutory regulation of the petroleum in-

dustry." See Mobil Oil Corp., et al. v. Dept. of

Energy, et al., supra, Slip op. at 5. It would

also frustrate the effort to preserve historic

differentials between classes. See Eastern Air

Lines, Inc. v. Atlantic Richfield Co., No. 74-1207,

Slip op. at 18 (S.D.Fla. Oct.29, 1982), aff'd,

712 F. 2d 1402 (Temp.Emer.Ct.App. 1983), citing

Phillips Petroleum Co., 2 F.E.A.sec.80,599, at

80, 831 (1975).

Recently, the Temporary Emergency Court of

Appeals quoted approvingly from an earlier ad-

ministrative decision in this area in upholding

the district judge's finding that ARCO had over-

charged Eastern Air Lines when it improperly

reallocated banked costs from one products bank to

another. Eastern Air Lines, Inc., v. Atlantic

Richfield Co., supra, 712 F.2d at 1408. The

decision relied on involved Tenneco's challenge

to an FEA Remedial Order requiring the refund

of over $12 million in gasoline overcharges.

Tenneco had asserted that during the relevant period,

it had available increased costs in its general

refinery products bank which could have been realicc-

ated to justify the price it charged for gasoline.

Tenneco Oil Co., 1 D.O.E. (CCH) sec.82,512 at 85,041-

85,042 (1977). The FEA stated simply:

36

This type of retroactive reallocation of

increased costs to offset overrecoveries

on a particular covered product has never

' been permitted under the price regulations.

Id. at 85, 043, as quoted in Eastern Air Lines, Inc ,

v. Atlantic Richfield Co., supra, 712 F.2d at 1408

(emphasis in original).

The defense asserted by the defendants that the

overcharges resulting from the misclassification of

the Bray Companies are satisfied by the "favorable"

cost bank balances is unavailing.

III. Gasoline Claims

The plaintiffs have asserted three overcharge

damage claims related to the gasoline contract that

was negotiated during the first part of 1973 and made

effective as of May 1, 1973. Those claims concerned

credit card imprinter rentals, service station ident-

ification sign rentals, and service station painting.

Throughout the many trial days consumed by this

controversy and in the vroceedings which followed,

the subject of gasoline supply arrangements and

undertakings was brought into the evidence only veri-

pherally as part of the commercial background of the

conflict that has been waged before the court and

jury. Gasoline supply and incidental expenses relate:i

to that product were not involved in the issues

presented in the liability phase; that subject is not

37

before the court in determining the extent of the

plaintiffs’ entitlement in the damage aspect of the

trial.

As noted in our earlier Memorandum of Decision

dated July 27, 1983, "it is only middle distillate

pricing that is at issue here.” Northern Oil Co.

v. Standard Oil Co., No. 78-231, Memorandum of

Decision (D.Vt.filed July 27, 1983), at 4. The

plaintiffs' gasoline claims are dismissed.

IV. Overcharge Violations

The court's earlier decision of October 5, 1983,

following the jury verdicts returned in the trial

of the liability phase of this action, confined

the question of damages recoverable by the plaintiffs

to the overcharges imposed by the defendants for

sales of middle distillates under the 1975-76 supply

agreement executed on October 14, 1975. The remedy

is that provided in Section 21'(b) of Economic

Stabilization Act, 12 U.S.C. sec.1904 note. This

holding is confirmed by what is written and filed

today in response to the defendants’ motion to

reconsider the court's prior decision concerning

the prospective effect of the release given by the

plaintiffs when the final supply agreement was

signed.

By oral argument of counsel stated in the

record at a conference on December 7, 1983, after

the jury had been summoned to return for the

38

damage trial, the parties announced that on the

basis of various factual stipulations and concessions

reached by counsel, there were no remaining issues for

consideration by the jury. Accordingly, the case pro-

ceeded to trial by the court sitting without a jury

on the factual and legal issues that remained.

Facts

Upon consideration of the agreed facts, the

stipulations of counsel and the evidence presented,

the court finds the facts which follow.

The plaintiffs’ entitlement to damages is restrict-

ed to overcharges resulting from purchases of middle

distillates from Chevron and SoCal during the period

between October 14, 1975 and June 30, 1976.

During this time period, the plaintiffs purchased

a total of 16 million gallons of middle distillates

from the defendants. This total is derived from

total gallons delivered by truck from the Albany-

Rensselaer storage facilities to the delivery points

indicated below:

a) From Rensselaer, New York to Burlington,

- Vermont=4.3 million gallons;

b) From Rensselaer to Fort Ann, New York=

3 million gallons; and

c) From Rensselaer direct to customers=8.7

million gallons.

The total of 16 million gallons was shipped by

barge from Chevron's plant in Perth Amboy, New Jersey

39

to Bray Terminals, Inc. at Ren .®iaer, New York;

stored at Rensselaer ("throughput"); and then hauled

by truck to plaintiffs’ storage terminals at Fort

Ann, New York or Burlington, Vermont, or hauled by

truck from Rensselaer directly to plaintiffs’ cust-

omers. The plaintiffs bore the costs of barging,

throughput, and trucking to these various destina-

tion points.

Transportation costs presented on a cents per

gallon basis are as follows:

Direct to

Burlington Fort Ann Customers

Barging to

ts - 004760 -904760 004760

Throughput at

Rensselaer -002500 -002500 -002500

Trucking -023738 -015000 - 005380

TOTAL -030998 -022260 -013090

Under previous supply agreements prior to the

"as Of May 1, 1973" contract, plaintiffs were

charged the following prices:

a) Albany tank car price of .12950, discounted

by .00400 to .12550, for deliveries made at

Fort Ann and Rensselaer, New York terminals;

and

b) Burlington tank car price of .14350, discount-

ed by .01100 to .13250, for deliveries from

the Burlington, Vermont terminal.

The plaintiffs were receiving product on a deliv-

ered basis; the defendants paid the cost of trans-

portation to Burlington, Fort Ann, and Rensselaer,

as well as throughput at Rensselaer.

Under the terms of the "as of May 1, 1973" con-

40

tract, the plaintiffs were charged the F.O.B. New

York Harbor Cargo price2 of .1195. The plaintiffs

then paid the cost of transporting the product to the

various destinations in the amounts per gallon speci-

fied above.

The single most divisive issue during the damage

phase of this controversy was the extent of overcharges

assessed during the damage period caused by the

initial, improper classification of the Bray Companies

in 1973. After extensive briefing and oral argument

on the differino theories of overcharge calculation,

the parties stipulated by an agreement announced in

oven court on December 13, 1983, that for purposes

of the damage phase of this trial,3 the total excess

charges to the Bray Companies resulting from the im-

proper classification, subject to defenses raised by

the defendants that have now been disposed of in pre-

ceding sections of this memorandum, were in the total

amount of $210,000.4 The necessity for calculating

the total overcharges recoverable by the vlaintiffs

for product delivered subsequent to the release of

October 14, 1975 was eliminated.

The parties further stipulated the amounts com-

prising Chevron's entitlement under the counterclaim

against the Bray Companies in the total amount of

$1,905,278.20:

41

a)

b)

c)

d)

$786 ,820.77--the balance unpaid on the

promissory note given by Bray to Chev on in

October 1975;

$555,902.21--the amount unpaid on No. 2 oil

purchases made by Bray between March 21, 1976

and April 28, 1976;

$472,000.70--the amount unpaid on gasoline

purchases made by Bray between March 21, 1976,

and April 28, 1976;

$86,106.99--the amount unpaid on product

purchased by Bray during July and early August

of 1976;

$2 ,695.48--credit card charge backs;

$492.68--unpaid rentals on credit card

imprinters; and

$1,259.78--unpaid rentals on service station

identification signs.°

The defendants have agreed that the plaintiffs

are entitled to an allowance for credit card payments

in the amount of $99,527.07, to be applied against

the unpaid balance on product purchased during the

soring and early summer of 1976.

The court finds that after deducting $99,527.07,

pursuant to the defendants’ concession, the defendants

are entitled to recover the sum of $1,805,751.13

from the plaintiffs by way of their counterclaim.

In assessing the amount of the plaintiffs' re-

covery for overcharges for product sold under the

1975-76 supply agreement, the court confirms the

jury's finding in response to Interrogatory No.1,

except for application of statutory sanctions dis-

cussed in Part V which follows. The jury determined

42

that the defendant ScCal, through its authorized

officers and agents, directed and controlled the acts

and participation of the defendant Chevron's repres-

entatives in the consummation of the 1975-76 contract

and mutual release signed October 14, 1975.

Conciusions

During the relevant period from October 14, 1975

to June 30, 1976, the lawful vorices that Chevron and

SoCal could charge their customers were regulated by

the Phase IV price regulations issued by the Cost of

Living Council under the Economic Stabilization Act

and, subsequently, by the Mandatory Price and

Allocation regulations, 10 C.F.R. Part 212, issued

by the Federal Energy Office.

The court concludes that Chevron and SoCal over-

charged the Bray Companies, as that term is defined

under Section 210(c) of the Economic Stabilization

Act:

the amount by which the consideration for

...the sale of goods...exceeds the

applicable ceiling [price] under the

[mandatory petroleum price] regulations.

12 U.S.C. sec.1904 note.

The Bray Companies, therefore, are entitled to

recovery of overcharge damages from Chevron and SoCal

for their purchases of middle distillates during the

relevant period at prices exceeding those lawfully

permitted.

Chevron and SoCal are refiners as that term is

43

defined in 10 C.F.R. sec.212.31. As such, they

were required to determine the prices for their prc-

ducts in accordance with the refiner price rule set

forth in 10 C.F.R. sec.212.83. This rule prohibits

the defendants from charging prices higher than the

maximum allowable price (also referred to as the

"base price"). The maximm allowable price for a

refiner's sales of a product was defined as the

weighted average price at which the item was lawfully

priced in transactions with the class cf purchaser

concerned on May 15, 1973, plus increased product

costs and certain non-product costs that were also

allowed to be passed on. 10 C.F.R. sec.212.82.

The May 15, 1973 base veriod date was selected

due to the general stability of prices on that date

in the petroleum industry when normal, free market

conditions prevailed. Eastern Air Lines, Inc. v.

Atlantic Richfield Co., supra, slip op. at 8-9

(S.D.Fla. Oct.29, 1982), quoting F.E.A. Ruling

1977-5. This was stressed by Judge Mishler,

because classes of purchasers are

determined and fixed with reference

to base period transactions, a period of

relatively normal market conditions

would permit such classes to reflect

normal or ‘customary’ price differentials

between a firm's purchasers.

Id., slip op. at 9.

Since a maximum allowable price could only be

determined after a customer was assigned to a class

of purchaser, the first step in deciding whether

44

a customer was overcharged is to determine whether

the refiner classified that customer in a proper

"class of purchaser." "Class of purchaser" is defined

as a group of purchasers to whom the seller has

charged a comparable price for comparable property

or services pursuant to so-called "customary price

differentials" between that customer and other

customers.

The class of purchaser designation is critical

in the process of determining the allowable charges

by a refiner to a given customer. Memorandum of

Decision, supra, (D.Vt.filed October 5, 1983), at

p. 25. The purvose of the class of purchaser con-

cept was to establish a mechanism for preserving the

price distinctions between purchasers that customarily

existed before implementation of the price control

program. Mobil Oil Corp., et al. v. Devt. of Energy,

et al., supra, slip op. at 5; Champlin Petroleum

Co., 4 D.0.E. (CCH) sec.80,101 at 80, 520 (1979);

Atlantic Richfield Co., 4 D.O.E. (CCH)sec. 80,108

at 80, 582 (1979). ;

Additional terms must be defined to complete the

inquiry into the appropriateness of the defendants'

classification of the plaintiffs into the New York

harbor barge buyer class of purchaser. The term

"customary price differential" was defined as a

"price distinction based on a discount, allowance,

add-on, premium, and an extra based on a difference

in volume, grade, quality or location or type of

45

VO ST

purchaser, or a term or condition of sale or delivery."

10 C.F.R. sec.212.31. }

A price differential is considered customary,

rather than random, if it is shown to be cost-

related. "Cost-related" means that the differential

reflected some significant cost savings by the seller.

Pacific Supply Corp. v. Shell Oil Co., 697 F.2d 1084

(Temp. Emer.Ct.App. 1982); Naph-Sol Refining Co. v.

Cities Service Oil Co., supra, 495 F. Supp. at 890;

Champlin Petroleum Co., supra, at 80, 522.

Under the regulations, four factors have been

identified as important considerations in a seller's

price det .uinations: 1) location of delivery;

2) type of customer; 3) volume of product; and 4)

terms and conditions of sale or delivery. 10 C.F.R.

sec.212.31. A seller that regularly based its

pricing decisions prior to May 15, 1973, on any of

those factors was required to give them continuing

recognition by establishing separate classes of

purchaser on the basis of the appropriate factors.

Champlin Petroleum Co., supra, at 80, 523.

The jury's responses to Interrogatory No. ll

in its special verdict established that the differences

between the prices charged the Bray Companies and

other customers in the New York harbor barge buyer

class were the result of an established pricing

policy or practice to grant a discount or allowance

to the Bray Companies based on location and type of

46

facilities, volume of product purchased, and terms

and conditions of purchase. Additionally, the jury

responded that these same factors or characteristics

of the Bray Companies resulted in a cost-related

differential, because substantial cost savings

accrued to Chevron and SoCal in doing business with

the Bray Companies rather than some other customer.

The regulations required the defendants to preserve

price differentials among ourchasers that were cust-

omarily utilized by sellers prior to the incosition

of price controls. _Naph-Sol Refining Co. v.Cities

Service Oil Co,, sunra, 495 F. Sunn. at 890. Pre-

servation of such differentials was accommlished bv

creation Of sevarate classes of vurchasex to reflect

customary orice differentials among purchasers that

were in effect on May 15, 1973. Id. at 898.In

Navh-Sol, Judge Fox held that voroof of an immroper

classification is sufficienti to establish a triable

issue of fact as to damages under Section 210 of the

Economic Stabilization Act. Id at 892. It was on this

basis that the oresent case at bar proceeded fron the

liabilitv phase into the final damace phase.

Based upon the jury's responses to Interrogatory

No. 11 cited above, the court finds that the voricing

formula that defendants applied to the Brav Companies

contained customary orice differentia's such as to

warrant creation of a separate class of »urchaser.

The evidence adduced at trial volainly established

47

the unique arrangements of the 1968 supnly contract

that would have been in effect on May 15, 1973, but

for the fraudulent misrepresentation that induced

the "as of May 1, 1973" contract.

Once the relevant class of purchaser has been

identified, the inquiry into overcharges proceeds

to consider "transactions," as that term is defined

under the regulations. "Transaction" means an arm's-

length sale or lease between unrelated parties and is

considered to occur at the time and place when a

bindina contract is entered into between the parties.

The orice that is the starting ooint for computing

"maximum allowable prices" for each class of

purchaser is the price charged in deliveries to a

member of that class that took place on or before

May 15, 1973 pursuant to a binding contract. If

there were no deliveries, but a binding contract

was in effect, the transaction is deemed to occur

at the time the contract is entered into. F.E.A.

Ruling 1979-1.

Because the court concludes that the relevant

class of purchaser is a separate class with the

Bray Companies as its only member, the May 15, 1973

weighted average price is to be derived from the

1968 supnly agreement then in effect.

Lastly, the defendants urge that the Bray

purchasers suffered no increased price changes

by the refiners reallocation of transportation

48

costs from the seller to the buyer by way of the

assignment of the Bray Companies from the Albany-

Burlington tank car oricing scheme to the New York

Narbor formula. The argument is premised on the

notion that the orices charged on the Albany and

Burlington nosted tank car formula included trans-

portation and other marketing costs. Thus, the

argument qoes, there was no impermissible orice

increase, but rather a reduction in the vrice of

product since the price at New York Harbor, apart

from transport costs, was less than the price at

Albany and Burlinaton after deduction of bardina

and other marketing costs.

The argument is illusory at best. It is notewortly

that in the letter agreement proposed bh Chevron,

dated December 26, 1973, wherein the supplier pvre-

served the option of selecting the hicher of the

prices prevailing under the contract due to expire

May 31, 1973 or Chevron's New York Harbor Cargo

price "plus all of Chevron's related supply costs

to each such location (Albany-Burlington) provided

such prices shall in no event exceed the maximum

prices for such products permitted under any

economic control vorogram then in effect."Pltf.

Exhibit 58. Of course, the narticular control poro-

gram that might be in effect after tia 31, 1973

was incanable of accurate prediction when the pro-

nosal was first made. What was unknown in December

49

a

1972, in terms of price controls, became more readily

ascertainable after the initial freeze became effective

by Executive Order cn June 13, 1973. By July 10, 1973,

as shown by the SoCal telex to the operating companies

of that date, the defendants’ forecast of effective

nrice freeze Gates was narrowed to May 15 and June 13,

1973. In any event, in terms of these predictions,

a contract, retroactive to day 1, 1973, could eliminate

the constraint of prices in effect on the May 31, 1973

exoiration date and preserve the prices imoosed under

the New York Harbor Cargo pricing formula. A rollback

to June 13, 1973 would oresent no adverse effect to

the supplier.

From the outset, the vlaintiffs' case has proceedec

on the theory that the maxinum allowable price is

governed by the price in effect on May 15, 1973

under the prior 1968 supply agreement. The price

formula established in that supply agreement was

based on discounted Albany and Burlington posted

tank car prices. The plaintiffs have maintained

consistently and have successfully sustained their

burden of proving that a comparison of these

earlier orices to those charged under the "as of

May 1, 1973" contract established overcharges, as

that term is defined under the federal vricing

regulations. Accordingly, the court holds that

the plaintiffs are entitled to recovery for overcharges,

50

imposed by the defendants in violation of the

applicable regulations. This recovery will be

in the amount of $210,000 and is based on

deliveries and prices during the relevant time

period as commuted and agreed by the narties.

V. Statutory Sanctions

At last we turn to the nature and extent of

the recovery to be allowed the plaintiffs as a

conseauence of the overcharges imposed by the

Gefendants. The court has, by orior interlocutory

decisions, limited the plaintiffs’ entitlement to

that available under Section 210 of the Economic

Stabilization Act. Memoranda of Decision, supra,

(D.Vt. filed October 5, 1983), at o. 34-36, n.17;

(D.Vt. filed July 27, 1983), at py. 31. The control-

ling statutory provision bears revetition:

(b) In any action broucht under subsection

(a) against any person renting pronerty

or selling goods or services who is found

to have overcharced the plaintiff, the

court mav, in its discretion, award the

plaintiff reasonable attorney” s fees and

costs, plus :hichever o% the following

sums is oreater:

(1) an amount not more than three

times the amount of the overcharce

upon which the action is based, or

(2) not less than $100 or more than

$1,000;

excent that in any case where the “defendant

establishes that the overcharce was not

51

intentional and resulted from a bona fide

error notwithstanding the maintenance of

procedures reasonable adapted to the

avoidance of such error the liability of

the defendant shall be limited to the

amount of the overcharge...

12 U.S.C. sec. 1904 note.

The key to the overcharges in this action is the

assignment of the Bray Companies by Chevron to the

New York Harbor Cargo class of purchasers. In 1964

the Bray Companies were two of Chevron's largest

distributors. Dana S. Bray, Sr., was a determined

and skilled necotiator during this period when the

defendants strived to expand their petroleum market

in the northeast. At the time the 1966 supply agree-

ment was consummated, the New York Harbor Cargo

formula was Chevron's most advantageous pricing

arrangement in terms of realization of profit.

Bray demanded and received a better pricing agreement

by way of the Albany and Burlington posted tank

car prices at the location where Chevron's supplies

of middle distillates were delivered. Under the

Burlington and Albany tank car price arrangement,

Chevron paid the transportation costs to these

distribution voints. The prices specified in the

1966 supply agreement were further reduced by

certain discounts and allowances.

52

_ The factual history of the negotiations that

followed and concluded in the "as of May 1, 1973"

contract is fully reported in earlier decisions

of the court. The increasing danger of price control

threatened Chevron's resolute determination to

remove the pricing advantage which the Bray Companies

enjoyed under the prior suoply agreements. The

plaintiffs' claim that the responsible officers at

Chevron anticipated the selection of a base orice

date during the month of May, 1973, and motivated the

false representation by Eric Pfefferkorm, is fully

supported by the evidence on this asnect of the

case. See Memorandum of Decision, suora, (D. Vt.

filed July 27, 1983), at 5-6, n.1. There is no

evidence to indicate that the fraudulent statement

concerning the justification for the contract change

was unintentional or a bona’fide error.

In the letter agreement dated December 26, 1972,

oroposed by Chevron through Eric S$. Pfefferkorn,

it is at once apparent that the author of the

Gocument was entirely mindful that the prior

contracts listed as then in effect

will by their terms expire on May 31, 1973:

Heating Oil Agreements between Chevron

and Bray and Northern, respectively,

dated as of June 1, 1966, as now operative

between us.

53

We have also previously informed you that

we do not intend to extend or renew the

Contracts after their expiration as afore-

said.

The communication from Chevron recognizes the dif-

ficulty that might be encountered should Bray decide

to sell his companies or experience the need to procure

product from other sources. After reminding Bray

that Chevron had no obligation to supply the plain-

tiffs after May 31, 1973, the letter stated that

Chevron would continue "to supply you for such reason-

able period beyond May 31, 1973, as you elect, but

in no event beyond November 30, 1973... ."

Whether supply of product would continue after

June 1, 1973 was conditioned on Bray's compliance

with various demands. Chevron preserved the

option of selecting either the pricing formula -

based on the Albany -Burlington posted tank car

prices then in effect or the New York Harbor Cargo

price, whichever was hicher. An additional condition

dealt with credit terms. The pertinent text

of this letter is set forth in the margin.’ Apparently,

the notion of placing all suoply contracts on a

uniform May first starting date was of no concern

to the defendants at the time the December 26, 1972

letter agreement was proposed -- at least no mention

was made of a May 1, 1973 effective date.

As the termination date of the 1968 supnovly agreemert

drew near, the dangers posed by way of a price freeze

and rollback became more threatenina. The imoortance

of transactions based on a contractual relationshiv

was the key to the classification process. It appears

from cross examination of the defendants’ witness,

Mr. Melvin Goldstein of the FEA, that the assignment

of customers to a particular class could conceivably

unlock the price restraints 8

It is manifest from the record that the marketing

officers at Chevron East were intent on imoroving the

profit margins to be derived from the Bray Companies

after the expiration date of the contract in effect

during the negotiations for the 1973-74 supply

acreement. It is equally clear that while the

defendants sought to retain the economic benefits

-derived from middle distillate markets developed

in the northeastern New York and Vermont areas by

the Bray enterprises, the officers at Perth Amboy

and San Francisco were equally determined to avoid

Going so on Bray's terms. As referred to above,

when impendina regulatory controls threatened

to interdict these financial objectives by way of

orice controls, Chevron's negotiator, Eric Pfefferkorn

resorted to drastic bargaining measures.

55

On the total evidence vresented, the jury by its

special verdict in answers to Interrogatory 5,

determined that Chevron's representatives, namely

through its chief negotiator, knowingly made false

statements concerning the reasons for backdating of

answers to Interrogatory 6 that the "as of May 1”

contract was involuntarily signed by Dana S. Dray, Sr.,

because his will was overborne by economic pressure

exerted by Chevron's representatives.

To be sure, the findings of the jury fell short

Cc. constituting economic duress in the legal sense,

but that shortage does not cure or condone Chevron's

conduct which underlies the overcharges made

during the relevant period of time. The court con-

curs in this aspect of the jury's verdict. Absent

any mitigating evidence or explanation from

Chefrron's principal actor in these events, Eric S.

Pfefferkorn, the record affords no room for a

conclusion that the mischief practiced in the negoti-

ations was innocent, accidental or the result of a

bona fide mistake.

Chevron's awareness of plaintiffs' status as

a unique class of purchaser is reflected “n the

testimony of two Chevron defense witnesses, Richard M.

Kaiser and Eric C. Martin. Mr. Kaiser, who was

initially responsible for Bray's classification,

testified at his deposition that he did not know of

other Chevron customers who were barge buyers and

resellers that were priced o the basis of the Albany

and Burlington tank car pricing arrangement. Trial

transcript, August 3, 1982, at 5; trial transcript,

August 5, 1982, at 199. Additionally, Mr. Martin's

deposition, read into evidence, references a

versonal note:

Bray class of purchaser, relationship

between Bray and Chevron. He is in a

class by himself.

As the refiner charged with responsibility for

classifying its many thousands of purchasers, Chevron

was acutely aware of Bray's singular situation.

Chevron was bound to know that the polestar to guide

the classification orocess was the contract legally

in effect on May 15, 1973. ‘The evidence revealed

that the FEA notified Mr. Pfefferkorn that the fact

that the 1973-74 supply contract had not been signed

until after the base price date was a orincipal factor

in broadening the scove of the Notice of Probable

Violation. Memorandum of Decision, sunra, (D. Vt.

filed July 27, 1983), at 9.

In a letter dated June 22, 1973 from Eric S.

Pfe*ferkorn to R. Case Prime, Bray's attorney,

Pferferkorn stated:

57

We have been operating without anv acree-

ments since May 1, 1973. This arrangement

is causing serious confusion internally

in processing barge shipments, payment of

invoices, and all other arrangements. It

is of primary importance that new contracts

be executed at the earliest possible date.

Plaintiffs' Exhibit 994, Letter from William J.

Costello, FEA area Manager, to Eric S. Pfefferkorn,

quoting letter of June 22, 1973 from Lric S. Pfefferkorm

to R. Case Prime, Esc.

The emphasis to this point has been on the acts

of defendant Chevron. The court turns at last to the

defendant, Standard Oil Company of California,

which stands in a different posture. At the outset

of the responses in the special verdict returned

in the liability phase of this controversy, the

jury determined that SoCal, through its officers,

directed and controlled Chevron's representatives

in the consummation of the 1973-74 contract. It

is on this basis that overcharges, which have been

discussed in the previous section, are assessed

against SoCal.

The relationship of parent company to wholly-

owned subsidiary, standing alone, however, cannot

form the predicate for the assessment of additional

sanctions against SoCal beyond the overcharges

already discussed. Absent proof of direct partic-

ipation by SoCai in the fraudulent misrepresentation

by Chevron's marketing representative, the separate

identities of Chevron and SoCal warrant particularized

treatment. Nor does the involvement of SoCal officiakb

in the contract negotiations with the Bray Companies

establish the requisite willfulness.

The jury's special verdicts determined that the

wronadoing in this case was grounded in the fraudulent

misrepresentation concerning the reason for the

backdating of the “as of May 1, 1973" contract. There

is no evidentiary link to connect the wrongdoing

of Chevron's chief negotiator to the parent company,

SoCal. The evidence is to the contrary.

The court is satisfied that the defendants have met

their burden of establishing that SoCal was removed

and insulated from the wrongdoing that was found to

exist in this case. On December 19, 1983, Mr. George

J. Wyllie, of Chevron U.S.A. in San Francisco,

testified that in the first instance, classification

and base price determinations were made by the pricing

coordinator in the overating company 9 Additional

corroboration is provided by the testimony of

Mr. Richard M. Kaiser, Chevron U.S.A. regional

representative, to the effect that he was the only

one involved in making the initial decision that Bray

should be put into a narticular class 19

59

In sum, the reviewing officers in San Francisco

rather blindly followed the classification done by the

operating companies, and woodenly applied the latter

of the contract documents without looking for

misfe>sance at Perth Amboy. Nonetheless, SoCal

did maintain elaborate administrative procedures

to avoid overcharges. The network of screening

mechanisms was insufficient, however, to screen

out deceptive or coercive conduct in the bargaining

process. And, of course, the complex regulatory

framework, coupled with the thicket of facts that

composes the background of this controversy,

made the detection of the wrongdoing more difficult.

Conclusions

The parties agree as to the applicable law.

Section 210(b) of the Economic Stabilization Act

permits the imposition of attorneys' fees and penalty

damages of up to three times the amount of the

overcharges for willful conduct, except where the

defendant establishes that the overcharge was not

intentional but rather resulted from a bona fide

error notwithstanding the maintenance of procedures

reasonable adapted to the avoidance of such error.

Both parties cite Eastern Air Lines, Inc. v.

Atlantic Richfield Co., 712 F.2d 1402 (Temp. Emer.

60

Ct. App. 1983), in pressing their positions with

respect to the imposition of additional sanctions.

This recent opinion by the Termporary Emergency

Court of Appeals orovides guidance for district court

determinations on the award of penalty damages under

Section 210. |

After examining the Economic Stabilization Act's

legislative history, the court assigned the burden

of proof to the seller who imoosed the overcharges:

[T]o deprive the court of its discretionary

“power to award treble damages and attorney's

fees, the defendant making the overcharge

must prove that (1) the overcharge was not

intentional, and (2) the overcharge

resulted from a bona fide error notwith-

standing (3) the maintenance by the

defendant of procedures reasonably adapted

to the avoidance of such error.

In the absence of such proof by the defendart

the court in its discretion may award treble

damages and attorney's fees if it finds

the overcharge was intentional or resulted

from reprehensible or criminal conduct,

or lack of procedures reasonably adapted

to the avoidance of erroneous overcharges,

or bad faith, or where required by equity

and the ends of justice.

Id. at 1412. The court then affirmed the cenial of

penalty damages based uvon the district court's find-

ing that the defendant ARCO had vroved that the over-

61

charges were unintentional and that ARCO had acted

in good faith and maintained procedures reasonably

adapted to the avoidance of overcharges. Id.

In measuring the standard of proof required for

the imposition of statutory sanctions, the appellate

court has held that recovery of treble damages

for violation of petroleum pricing regulations

requires more demanding proof of additional elements

than that for an award of’ conpensatory relief. See,

e.g., Ashland Oil Co. v. Union Oil Co., 567 F.2d

984, 990(Temp. Emer, Ct. App.), cert. denied,

435 U.S. 927 (1977).

It was held in Longview Refining Co. v. Shore,

554 F.2d 1006 (Temp. Emer. Ct. Appv.), cert. denied,

434 U.S. 836 (1977).

[T]o establish a willful overcharge

there must be an intentional violation

of a known legal duty, that is to

say, to be willful an overcharge must

have been made with the specific

intention of charging a price which

the defendant knew was in excess of

the ceiling price allowable under

the applicable pricing law and regu-

lations.

kkk

[T]here must be clear and convincing

proof that an overcharge was willful

when a claim for the amount of the

overcharge was not presented to the

defendant prior to bringing an action

for the overcharge.

62

Id. at 1014. Additionally, the court held that

negligence is insufficient to establish a violation.

Id.

The plaintiffs' reliance on Napnh-Sol Refining

Co. v. Cities Service Oil Co., supra, is well

placed. In that case, an indenendent petroleum

marketer sued Cities Service Oil Company for

treble damages and attomeys' fees arising from

alleged gasoline sale overcharges that exceeded the

Department of Energy's mandatory vetroleum vrice

regulations. In denying the defendant's summary

judanent motion, the court concluded that there was

sufficient evidence to enable the trier of fact

to conclude that Cities' conduct was intentional and

did not result from "a bona fide error notwithstanding

the maintenance of procedures reasonably adaoted to

the avoidance of such error." Id. at 902.11

Here the justification for the award of additional

statutory sanctions resides primarily in the over-

charges imoosed after the exchange of mutual releases

in October, 1975. Yet, the underpinning of these

overcharges is entrenched in the deceptive and wrong-

ful conduct on the vart of Chevron's Pfefferkorn who,

according to the jury's verdict, induced the retro-

active effective date of the "as of May 1, 1973"

contract.

63

The evidence is clear and convincing that by this

device Chevron was striving for financial gains that

otherwise could be stifled if the 196€ contract became

the basis for calculation of the maximum allowable

price under the federal pricing regulations.

The proof leads to the conclusion that Chevron's

marketing representative acted with the specific

intention of inducing a change in contract terms

to a pricing formula that exceeded the ceiling

price defined in the applicable regulations

prevailing during the relevant time period.

SoCal, on the other hand, although eagerly engaged

in the pursuit of increased profit realization,

did not participate in the wrongful misrepresentation

on the part of Chevron's marketing representative.

ScCal's fault lies in its failure to probe into the

deceptive foundation upon which Chevron's classi-

cation was based.

Reliance on the teaching of Eastern Air Lines,

Inc. v. Atlantic Richfield Co., supra, 712 F.2d

at 1410-1412, and Longview Refining Co. v. Shore,

supra, 554 F.2d at 1012-1014, leads the court

to hold that, on the evidence presented, the

plaintiffs are entitled to recover the amount

cf $210,000 from the defendants for ove

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Northern Oil Co. v. Standard Oil Co. · 474 U.S. 821 | Frix