Petition for Writ of Certiorari — T. B. & Z. Realty & Management Corp. v. Coterie Seven Enterprises Corp.

Supreme Court brief1984

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

- Beh ee oD Be os PLSie i) ee OMe i a Bs ia Be & ms sf a

-:

7 Supreme Court, U.S.

/ FILED

$4 -5 0% . SEP 19 1964

ALEXANDER L. STEVAS

CLERK

7 In the

Supreme Court of the United States

OcroBeR TERM

T.B. & Z. REALTY AND MANAGEMENT

CORPORATION, and LESTER S. BARRITT,

Petitioners,

vs.

COTERIE SEVEN ENTERPRISES CORPORATION,

an Illinois corporation,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI OF

T.B. & Z. REALTY AND MANAGEMENT

CORPORATION, AND LESTER S. BARRITT

Martin S. Korey

Counsel of Record

221 North LaSalle Street

Suite 2800

Chicago, IL 60601

(312) 782-3636

Davip M. MEIsTER

250 S. Wacker Drive

Suite 1500

Chicago, IL 60606

(312) 876-2276

Attorneys for Petitioner

The Scheffer Press, Inc—(312) 263-6850

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether Certiorari should be granted to correct

the failure of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Seventh Circuit, in this and other cases, to apply

the rules, the reasoning and the formula enunciated by

the United States Supreme Court in McDonnell Douglas

Corporation v. Green and its progeny with respect to the

correct allocation of burdens of proof and order of

presentation of proof in a civil rights case.

2. Whether, in accordance with McDonnell Douglas

Corporation v. Green and its progeny, liability can exist

in a civil rights case when, according to the specific

findings of fact made by the District Court, the defendant

has in fact articulated a legit.mate non-discriminatory

reason for its actions, and the plaintiff has not offered

any rebuttal evidence.

3. Whether liability under 42 U.S.C. Sections 1981

and 1982 may lie against defendants whose statements,

while found to be derogatory, had no nexus with the

gravamen of the cause of action; that is, whether such

liability may exist when the termination of plaintiff’s

discotheque activities was accomplished by another defen-

dant in the case for reasons which the District Court

found were solely legitimate and non-discriminatory.

ik

PARTIES IN PROCEEDINGS BELOW

Plaintiff-Appellee- Coterie Seven

Cross Appellant Iinterprises Corporation

(Respondent herein)

Defendants-Appellants- T.B. & Z. Realty

Cross- Appellants and Management

(Petitioners herein) Corporation and

Lester S. Barritt

Defendant and Cross- The Equitable Life

Appellee Assurance Society of

The United States

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

as ncaAieh alent bnhindel insablbeoshuapndtiens ili

Reports of Opinions Below. ..............c ee snsniniadsihinin iv

IE SU ORMOND aces ccnsncsacrennercsarccsarremenssasenonmens iv

a ntednelanosiane iv

STII SIS CONNIE, cs saanrcsanncnnasaeacnasebsdnbnensenmbnaneantanaion 1

IN ci cicsssesh sachin aesssonnsnensntnvehxnsnnnnnancnunspesannnsnsceuenscsnennsocnse 5

Appendices... 21 boleh ee BACs RON NOC la

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792

SIE) Winshgibeininsscnnsshsasinsasenensarosimisesnsersssnaserscowmescenssnnce passim

Mowre v. Townsend, 525 F.2d 482 (7th Cir. 1975) ....... 7

Smith v. Sol D. Adler Realty Co., 4386 F.2d 344 (7th

I aca colds aaanisnenannananeinsitnamatnamnonshansadensnouosens 7

Texas Department of Community Affairs v. Burdine,

SE RL MIU. CROMER D> sccvscscsnssnssnnscncccsncccnsesnessnsconsnsstscccassnee 5

iv

REPORTS OF OPINIONS BELOW

The relevant decisions of the Seventh Circuit and the

District Court in this case were all unpublished.

GROUNDS FOR JURISDICTION

The final decision of the Seventh Circuit sought to be

reviewed herein was entered on June 21, 1984. The first

order of the Seventh Cireuit in this case, remanding

the case to the District Court, was October 25, 1982, and

an order was entered on rehearing of that decision on

February 11, 1983.

This Court is granted jurisdiction to review, by writ

of certiorari, the decision of the Seventh Circuit, by 28

U.S.C. Section 1254.

STATUTES INVOLVED

42 USC Section 1981 provides in pertinent part:

All persons . . . shall have the same right . . . to make

and enforce contracts . ..as is enjoyed by white citizens.

42 USC Section 1982 provides in pertinent part:

All citizens . .. shall have the same right . . . as is enjoyed

by white citizens to . . . lease, sell, hold and convey real

and personal property.

In THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OcToBER TERM

No.

T.B. & Z. REALTY AND MANAGEMENT

CORPORATION, and LESTER 8S. BARRITT,

Petitioners,

vs.

COTERIE SEVEN ENTERPRISES CORPORATION,

an Illinois corporation,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI OF

T.B. & Z. REALTY AND MANAGEMENT

CORPORATION, AND LESTER S. BARRITT

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In May of 1974, The Equitable Life Assurance Society

of the United States, (hereinafter “Equitable”), a New

York corporation, purchased an office building in

Chicago’s Loop. T.B. & Z. Realty and Management

Corporation, (hereinafter “T.B. & Z.”), one of the

=

Petitioners herein, an Illinois corporation, began man-

aging the building for Equitable in November, 1974.

Prior to that time, the building had been managed by

T.B. & Z.’s predecessor, Turner, Bailey and Zoll, Inc.

Lester S. Barritt, (hereinafter “Barritt”) the other

Petitioner herein, was the President of T.B. & Z.

One of Equitable’s tenants in the building operated

a restaurant and cocktail bar on the building’s main floor,

known as Cockney Pride. It was owned and operated

by a corporation named Cockney Pride, Ltd. That

restaurant had been a tenant of the building prior to

Kquitable’s purchase of the building.

Moreover, as specifically found by the District Court

in these proceedings, Cockney Pride was an undesirable

tenant, in that rent was frequently in arrears, and its

lease was violated by a failure to maintain insurance,

a failure to report gross receipts, a failure to furnish

a security deposit, and by alterations made to the

premises without the owner’s consent. Additionally,

Cockney Pride sporadically operated without a valid

liquor license, and for a period in 1974 its doors were

padlocked by the Internal Revenue Service.

In an effort to shore up the decaying foundation of

its business, Cockney Pride, as early as April, 1974,

began permitting the conduct of discotheque entertain-

ment on its premises by an Illinois corporation known

as Coterie Seven enterprises, Corporation, (hereinafter

“Coterie Seven”), the Respondent herein. It did so with-

out ever receiving the permission of Equitable. Although

‘Pursuant to United States Supreme Court Rule 28,

it is hereby represented that T.B. & Z. has no parent

companies, subsidiaries or affiliates.

7

this entertainment began as a once-a-week concession

to Terpsichore, it expanded ultimately into a nightly

occurrence. In short, each evening, seven nights a week,

the Cockney Pride Restaurant was transformed into a

disco, pursuant to written and oral agreements between

Cockney Pride and Coterie Seven. The majority of

Coterie Seven’s patrons were black, a fact not incidental

to these proceedings, obviously.

In the fullness of time, other tenants of the build-

ing — an office building — began making complaints

to T.B. & Z. and Equitable about the disco activities

at Cockney Pride. The nature of the complaints involved

disco enthusiasts congregating in the lobby of the build-

ing, parking their cars on the sidewalk in front of the

building, and using marijuana in and around the building.

In response to these complaints. Barritt, who by that

time knew that Coterie’s patrons were predominantly black,

wrote a letter to Equitable’s Regional Manager informing

him of the problem and asking for advice. Additionally,

as the District Court found, Barritt made occasional de-

rogatory racial remarks with respect to the black patrons

of the disco.

Cockney Pride was requested to comply with all terms

of its lease, but Cockney Pride failed to do so. Equitable

filed eviction proceedings against Cockney Pride. Cockney

Pride then filed for injunctive relief, alleging that that

eviction was racially motivated, despite the various

breaches of the lease with Equitable. Equitable’s suit and

Cockney Pride’s countersuit were settled by an Agreed

Order in December, 1975, which recited that there was

no racial discrimination on the part of the defendants.

This Agreed Order provided for a new lease for Cockney

—_—

Pride which, among other things, reduced the monthly

rent, prohibited all evening entertainment, and provided

for the cure of all previous violations of the lease.

Accordingly, on or about February 15, 1976, Cockney

Pride ceased to permit disco activities at its restaurant.

Coterie Seven subsequently brought the present civil

rights action against Equitable, T.B. & Z. and Barritt,

alleging a violation of 42 U.S.C. sections 1981, 1982 and

1985. The 1985 cause of action was dismissed, as the

trial court found a lack of any conspiracy. As explained

in more detail below, the various holdings of the Courts

below on the Sections 1981 and 1982 claims were as

follows:

1) The initial decision of the United States District

Court for the Northern District of Illinois, Judge

Thomas R. MeMillen presiding, dismissed all

claims as to Equitable and entered judgment

against T.B. & Z. and Barritt.

2) The United States Court of Appeals for the

Seventh Circuit reversed the dismissal of

Equitable and the judgment as to T.B. & Z. and

Barritt, and remanded for a new trial.

3) On rehearing, the Seventh Circuit altered its

previous judgment to require merely additional

findings of fact by the District Court, rather

than a new trial.

4) On remand, the District Court reinstated the

judgments against T.B. & Z. and Barritt, and

again found no liability as to Equitable.

5) The Seventh Circuit affirmed the District Court

on June 21, 1984.

ARGUMENT

This Court should grant Certiorari in the present case

to correct the Seventh Circuit’s application of the burden

and presentation of proof in cases under 42 U.S.C. sec-

tions 1981 and 1982 generally, and to resolve a direct

and irreconcilable conflict between the decision of the

Seventh Circuit in this and other cases and applicable

decisions of this Court.

As this Court is aware, the decision in McDonnell

Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792 (1973) set forth,

with clarity and precision, the allocation of burdens and

order of presentation of proof in civil rights cases. As

the Court later summarized in one of McDonnell Douglas’

direct descendants, Texas Department of Community

Affairs v. Burdine, 450 U.S. 248, 252-255 (1981) :

“First the plaintiff has the burden of proving by

the preponderance of the evidence a prima facie case

of discrimination. Second, if the plaintiff succeeds

in proving the prima facie case, the burden shifts

to the defendant “to articulate some legitimate, non-

discriminatory reason for the employee’s rejection.”

(Citation) Third, should the defendant carry this

burden, the plaintiff must then have an opportunity

to prove by a preponderance of the evidence that

the legitimate reasons offered by the aefendant were

not its true reasons, but were a pretext for dis-

crimination. (Citation)

The nature of the burden that shifts to the defendant

should be understood in light of the plaintiff’s ulti-

mate and intermediate burdens. The ultimate burden

of persuading the trier of fact that the defendant

_

intentionally discriminated against the plaintiff

remains at all times with the plaintiff.

* * * ¢#

The burden that shifts to the defendant, therefore,

is to rebut the presumption of discrimination by

producing evidence that the plaintiff was rejected,

or someone else was preferred, for a _ legitimate,

nondiscriminatory reason. The cefendant need not

persuade the court that it was actually motivated

by the proffered reasons. (Citation) It is sufficient

if the defendant’s evidence raises a genuine issue

of fact as to whether it discriminated against the

plaintiff. To accomplish this, the defendant must

clearly set forth, through the introduction of ad-

missible evidence, the reasons for the plaintiff’s

rejection.” (Emphasis added.)

At the close of trial in this case, however, in a parody

of the McDonnell Douglas formula, Judge McMillen en-

tered judgment against T.B. & Z. and Barritt for viola-

tions of 1981 and 1982 despite a specific finding that the

principal motivation of both of them was business rea-

sons, and in the absence of any rebuttal evidence by the

plaintiff. In relevant part, the District Court found:

“Throughout its tenancy, Cockney Pride proved to

be an undesirable tenant. In addition to rent arrear-

ages, Cockney Pride failed to maintain insurance,

failed to report its gross receipts, failed to furnish

the owner with a security deposit, made alterations

to the demised premises without first obtaining the

owner’s consent and on one occasion operated without

a liquor license, all in violation of its lease.

* * # @#

(Defendant’s) principal motivation in taking the

actions which they did against the plaintiff was

for business reasons, In that respect they acted

—_

‘properly and not in violation of the law.” District

-Court’s decision of September 21, 1979, Appendix B

hereto, pages 3-4 and 7-8.

Additionally, however, the District Court found:

“(T]t is also clear that a related but secondary moti-

vation was to rid the building of the activities of

non-tenants who were predominantly black. The ac-

tivities of these blacks constituted a nuisance to the

tenants and therefore to the management and were

undesirable from a business standpoint. The fact that

they were blacks was somewhat incidental but never-

theless was a factor in the defendants’ motivation.

We cannot find that the defendants acted without

any racial motivation or that they would have taken

the same action had the plaintiff’s clientele consisted

merely of whites. Thus we find and conclude that

race was a subsidiary motivation of the defendants’

actions although not the principal one.” District

Court’s decision of September 21, 1979, Appendix B

hereto, page 8.

Both in its decision of September 21, 1979 (Appendix

B hereto) and its decision on a motion for a new trial

(Appendix C hereto), the District Court relied on the

decisions of the Seventh Circuit in the cases of Smith

v. Sol D. A ‘ler Realty Company, 436 F.2d 344 (7th Cir.

1970) and Moore v. Townsend, 525 F.2d 482 (7th Cir.

1975). The tension between these decisions, as applied

by the District Court and the Seventh Circuit even after

applicable contrary decisions of this Court, provides the

impetus for this Petition, as we will see. Moreover, those

cases continue to present a potential problem in that, if

Judge McMillen is correct, they can continue to be

applied, contrary to this Court’s opinions,

—

On the basis of Sol D. Adler and Moore, the District

Court held that the prima facie case made out by Coterie

Seven could only be rebutted by a showing by defendants

that race was not a factor at all. The articulation of a

legitimate, non-discriminatory reason for defendant’s

actions, as explicitly found by the District Court, did

not, in other words, rebut that prima facie case and

place on the plaintiff the burden to show that such

reasons were mere pretext, as required by McDonnell

Douglas and its progeny. Incredibly, though recognizing

the existence of a contrary formulation in McDonnell

Douglas, the District Court stated that it had “no alterna-

tive but to follow the foregoing Seventh Circuit Decisions

of 1975 and 1970.” (Appendix B hereto, pages 9-10)

On October 25, 1982, the Seventh Cireuit rendered its

first decision in this case, reversing the order of dis-

missal as to Equitable and further reversing the orders

and judgments as to T.B. & Z. and Barritt and remanding

the entire case for a new trial. In discussing the formu-

lation of the respective burdens, the Seventh Circuit

determined that once a prima facie case of racial dis-

crimination has been made out, then the burden is passed

to the defendants to prove by a preponderance of the

evidence that the same actions would have been taken

and the same directions given even if an unlawful pur-

pose had not been a motivating factor. (Appendix D

hereto, page 5.) Nothing was said of the delicate balance

of burdens wrought by this Court in the McDonnell

Douglas formula.

On a petition for rehearing, the Seventh Circuit re-

fused to alter its decision vacating all orders below and

remanding the case, but rather than direct a new trial,

a

the Seventh Circuit merely directed the District Court

to make additional findings to facilitate the Seventh

Cireuit’s review of the issues. In demarcating what the

District Court’s task should be, the Seventh Circuit

endorsed a curious formulation which provided that if

Equitable’s eviction action was prompted solely by

legitimate reasons, then no judgments against any of

the defendants could stand. If Equitable’s actions were

partially motivated by a purpose to discriminate, how-

ever, then judgment should be awarded.

This “partial motivation” formulation does not, of

course, take account of whether defendants could articu-

late a legitimate, non-discriminatory motivation, and

thus shift the burden back to the plaintiff to show that

this explanation is mere pretext, in accordance with

McDonnell Douglas. The Seventh Circuit, in other words,

joined the District Court in failing to apply the

McDonnell Douglas formula, in the face of findings of

fact which recognized the existence of legitimate non-

discriminatory reason which, of course, would shift the

burden of proving pretext to the plaintiff.

The Seventh Circuit did not stop there, however. As

if to highlight the excesses of its unique formulation,

in dealing with T.B. & Z. and Barritt, the Seventh

Circuit stated that if communications between Barritt

and Cockney Pride, and Barritt’s conduct as manager

of the building, were a substantial factor in causing the

elimination of Coterie Seven from the premises by virtue

of the new lease, then liability of T.B. & Z. and Barritt

alone would be established. We submit that such liability

in the absence of a finding against Equitable —- or, worse,

in light of a finding that Equitable’s actions were not

—

motivated by racial considerations — creates the poten-

tial for a rather Kafkaesque scenario. If, for instance,

the District Court were to find that Equitable, the party

with sole authority to terminate Cockney Pride’s lease,

was motivated solely by nonracial considerations, then

there would be simply no nexus between Barritt’s com-

munications and actions and the actual resulting termi-

nation which gives rise to the civil rights suit herein.

In short, the Seventh Circuit’s formula permits a situa-

tion where Barritt and T.B. & Z. may be found liable

for inducing discrimination which never occurred.

Naturally, upon remand, as if to illustrate the Law’s

taste for irony, the findings of the District Court were

such that the above scenario is precisely what transpired.

The District Court found, in its supplementary findings

of fact, that Equitable was in fact motivated solely by

legitimate, non-discriminatory business motives. Nonethe-

less, the District Court found, as apparently permitted

by the Seventh Circuit, that T.B. & Z. and Barritt were

liable because of their own acts and statements.

Even granting that those acts and statements bore

a racial animus, they apparently were without result,

since Equitable did not take the eviction action, the

action on which these proceedings revolve, for any racial

purpose. In short, there is simply no relationship between

the actions of Barritt and T.B. & Z. and the damage

allegedly caused to Coterie Seven by its elimination

from the premises. Barritt and T.B. & Z. are, in effect,

being punished for derogatory language which never

came to any fruition.

Moreover, taking the supplementary findings of fact

of the District Court together with the initial findings

a

of fact, it is clear that the defendants did show legitimate

non-discriminatory reasons for their actions. Nonetheless,

as throughout these proce: dings, the District Court on

remand did not require that, on this basis, the burden

be shifted hack to the plaintiff to establish pretext. In

fart, no rebuttal evidence was ever offered by plaintiff.

On June 21, 1984, the Seventh Circuit affirmed the

second decision of the District Court on the basis of

sufficient evidence that racial considerations partially

motivated T.B. & Z. and Barritt.

Nowhere in the proceedings below did the Seventh

Circuit address the decisions of this Court that clearly

provide, in formulaic manner, for a precise shifting of

burdens. The formula applied by the Seventh Circuit

ean best be characterized as the “partial motivation”

test: If the proof offered by the plaintiff and the defen-

dant together indicates that the actions of defendant

were partially motivated by racial considerations, then

liability exists. Parsing this formula with the burdens

of the parties, once a prima facie case is made out, the

sole manner to defeat that case is for the defendant

to show affirmatively that race was not a factor at all.

This, of course, is in direct contravention to the decisions

of this Court.

In addition to the direct and irreconcilable conflict

between the Seventh Circuit’s treatment of the civil

rights statutes in this regard and that mandated by

this Court, an additional factor to be considered in

assessing this Petition is that the result of the Seventh

Circuit’s formulation, as we have stated above, is that

the partial motivation test has resulted in liability of

defendants who had no impact on the treatment ulti-

= ve

mately afforded plaintiff according to the finding of the

District Court. In short, by confusing the formulation

to be used for burden shifting, the Seventh Circuit has

managed to equate derogatory language with discrimina-

tion. It has created a cause of action which can ensnare

even innocent bystanders who express derogatory com-

ments which never actually result in discrimination.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, this Court should grant

the Petition for Writ of Certiorari of T.B. & Z. Realty

and Management Corporation and Lester S. Barritt.

Respectfully submitted,

Martin S. Korey

Counsel of Record

221 North LaSalle Street

Suite 2800

Chicago, IL 60601

(312) 782-3636

and

Davip M. MEISTER

250 S. Wacker Drive

Suite 1500

Chicago, IL 60606

(312) 876-2276

Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDICES

Statement of United States District Court for the

Northern District of Illinois after close of all the

evidence; May 11, 1979.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law of United

States District Court for the Northern District of

Illinois; September 21, 1979.

Decision of United States District Court for the

Northern District of Illinois denying motion to vacate

September 21, 1979 ruling; November 9, 1979.

Order of United States Court of Appeals for the

Seventh Cireuit; October 25, 1982.

Order on Rehearing in the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit; February 11, 1983.

Additional Findings of District Court; July 8, 1983.

Order of United States Court of Appeals for the

Seventh Cireuit: June 21, 1984.

== 1@ —

APPENDIX A

In Tue Unitrep States Districr Court

NortTHerNnN Districr Or ILuINoIs

Eastern DIviston

CoTerir SEVEN ENTERPRISES CORPORATION,

an Illinois corporation,

Plaintiff,

Vs.

Tue EquitTasLe Lire Assurance Society Or THe UNITED

Srates, and T B & Z Reatty anp MANAGEMENT

Corporation, and Lester S. Barritt,

Defendants.

78 C 238

EXCERPT OF PROCEEDINGS

had in the above-entitled cause before the HONORABLE

THOMAS R. McMILLEN, one of the Judges of said

Court, in his courtroom in the United States Courthouse,

Chicago, Illinois, on Friday, May 11, 1979, at the hour

of 10:00 o’clock a.m.

APPEARANCES:

MR. HARRY P. STINESPRING

MR. BURTON A. GROSS

MR. DAVID M. MEISTER

MR. MARTIN S. KOREY

THE COURT: As I have been listening to the testi-

mony it has been my belief or my conclusion that there

really hasn’t been any prima facie case against Equitable

Life Assurance Society. All of the evidence with respect

to Equitable seems to me to be through its agents, which

would be T B & Z Realty and also Lester Barritt; that

Equitable did not authorize any of the specific alleged

=e

acts of discrimination that were committed by the other

defendants, if they were committed, and really had very

little knowledge about what was transpiring on the

premises,

They knew there were some difficulties. But when I

finished hearing the evidence on Friday I was prepared

at that time to enter a finding at the close of the plain-

tiff’s ease against them for the claim against Equitable

and I feel the same way. I really haven’t been able to

go over my notes in any great detail since that time,

but I will enter a finding for the defendant Equitable

at this time.

Now, as far as the other defendants are concerned

T was of the impression — my belief was when TI listened

to the evidence on Friday that the plaintiff had appar-

ently made out a prima facie case. Although, I had some

doubt ahout it.

Having looked at the three statutes that the plaintiff

relies on T am still not at all sure that the plaintiff

has made out a prima facie case against the remaining

defendants, which would be T B & Z Realty and Lester

S. Barritt. I find evidence that hoth defendants who

are remaining were cognizant of the fact that the dis-

eotheque was largely operated and frequented by black

customers and also T find that Mr. Barritt did make

some remarks which could be construed as derogatory

toward blacks. He has denied those, but IT think I am

persuaded by the weight of the evidence that statements

with regard to it having a reputation as a black building

were made, and also referring to the discotheque or the

operators of it as “niggers” was also made.

Tt doesn’t follow from that necessarily that the reason

that Mr. Barritt and T B & Z wanted to have the dis-

eotheque out of the building was because it was black.

As a matter of fact, some of the more recent cases hold

that after the plaintiff establishes a prima facie case,

=—

if the defendant can show a bona fide and reasonable

justification for its act, the weight of the evidence comes

into play and the prima facie case is thereby rebutted.

Now, there are some 1983 cases which say that if any

of the reasons for the alleged discrimination was based

on race, even though there are other bona fide legitimate

reasons, the act has been violated.

I am not sure what the law is with respect to Section

1981 or 1982. Probably the law is somewhat the same.

But I am thinking — I believe it is the bricklayer case

that came out of this cireuit — I am trying to recall

the name of it because neither party, I believe, has

picked it up — and I am sorry that I do not have it

right here. It went up to the Supreme Court. Perhaps

I will think of the name of it in a minute. — did seem

to hold that a bona fide business reason for not hiring

blacks as bricklayers was a defense. I think the parties

ought to analyze that case and see if it applies to See-

tions 1981 and 1982. Although, it was a 1983 case.

So, it is a little indefinite in my mind, and [| think

the law is somewhat unsettled, as to whether or not the

defendant must show after the plaintiff has established

a prima facie case of discrimination that that was not

any part of its basis for decision to terminate the lease,

or whatever, or whether it must merely show that it

had a bona fide business reason and that that business

reason was the principal reason for whatever its action

might have been.

It is very difficult in this case where there undoubtedly

were a heavy proportion of blacks involved and the nrob-

lems that bad occurred with respect to the discotheque

involved blacks, to determine whether or not their

presence and their activities somehow or other was one

of the causes for terminating or causing the discotheque

to be terminated. I have some doubt that it was.

=

The references that Mr. Barritt is supposed to have

made to the building’s nature and to the patrons of the

discotheque was a description of the people who were

there and he did say at one time that this black business

must be discontinued but that, in my opinion, was merely

a way of describing the activity. He could have said

“discotheque” without referring to blacks or if it had

been a white discotheque he could have called it a white

discotheque. But I think certainly the overwhelming con-

sideration that caused him to wish to eliminate the

activity was because of the nature of the activity and

not the nature of the people that were participating in it.

And, as I say, it is difficult to eliminate those two

things when the people who are participating were 95

per cent black.

The evidence is very clear that the discotheque was

an undesirable type of activity to have in a Class A or

high-class professional business building in the Chicago

Loop. There may have been one somewhat in the same

vicinity. I would assume that there was. But that doesn’t

necessarily mean that it is an acceptable type of activity

for that kind of a building. Obviously it does attract

a large number of people at night — and in this particu-

lar instance it did so — when ordinarily the premises

would not be occupied by any large number of people.

That exposes the tenants to some risk that there is

going to be invasion of the offices by unauthorized per-

sons. We all know the difficulties of security in buildings

in the Loop which do not have bars, restaurants or

discotheque activities in them, whether they are black

or not. And to have a large number of persons who

are not tenants in the building at night is an invitation

for illegal entrances into the office portion of the building.

Secondly, the evidence is very clear in my mind that

a large number of these patrons were congregating in

the lobby and congregating on the sidewalk outside the

building and parking automobiles on the sidewalk, appar-

iin

ently, partly because the garage was not available. In

any event, the building manager has perfectly valid

grounds for wanting to discontinue the cause of that

assembly of persons whether they are black or white.

Added to that is the fact that the restaurant which

had contracted with the plaintiff for this activity had

not proved to be a desirable tenant for various reasons

and that had caused problems. In fact, the first problem

I recall hearing about antedated the discotheque activity

and was some kind of a fashion show which was being

conducted during the noon hour and which was not de-

sirable from the management’s standpoint. So that even

though, apparently, the building was not able to get

that particular activity stopped, as I recall — although,

I am not sure -— the adding of the discotheque to that

was merely one more cause for dissatisfaction on the

part of the management of the building, even though

it came at a different hour. One, in a sense, ied to the

other as far as dissatisfaction by the building manage-

ment is concerned.

I don’t think that the odor of the food can be said

to have any connection with the discotheque. I don’t

think that the fact that there was a combo playing down

there really had any real disadvantage to the building

because it is pretty well insulated and pretty well iso-

lated. As I understand it, the second to the sixth floor

is parking areas in any event. So that the likelihood

of any tenants being disturbed by the music in an air

conditioned building where the windows are all closed

is very slight. I don’t know what the elevator situation

is. It is possible that noise could come up the elevator

but I don’t think that the noise was a particular factor

for the tenants’ complaints.

I do find that there were numerous tenants’ complaints

and that some of the tenants had bona fide complaints.

Some apparently were the type that would complain

about almost anything if they were paying their rent.

—

In any event, it seems to me that the principal problem

of the discotheque was, No. 1, the image that it tended

to create for a business building and, No. 2, the large

number of non-tenant persons that were in the building,

particularly in the lobby and on the outside of the build-

ing, after business hours, which creates a hazard and a

— not a “nuisance” — but at least an undesirable type

of situation.

So, I would like the remaining two defendants to

draft up a proposed finding of fact and conclusions of

law on the amended complaint based on the evidence

and not upon matters which are not in evidence or which

are not relevant to the issues and then I will give the

attorneys for the plaintiff an opportunity to object to

that and to file any proposed counter-findings or conclu-

sions without preparing an entire integrated document.

IT will ask the defendant to prepare the integrated

document within a week and submit it to the Court and

serve it on the plaintiff and then the plaintiff to file

its objections or its counter-proposals te certain specific

findings which they feel are not supported by the weight

of the evidence.

In the conclusions of law I would like to have the

defendant cite the cases on which they rely for the

conclusions. And, of course, the plaintiff would have

the opportunity to attempt to distinguisa those cases or

show that they are not the Jaw by citing other cases that

are to the contrary.

One other thing. It seems to me that there isn’t

sufficient evidence to find for the plaintiff under Section

1985. In the first place I don’t believe that a corporation

can conspire with its own officers or managing agents.

It seems to me that was already decided in one of the

other Seventh Cireuit cases involving another building

in the Loop. But, in any event, it seems to me that

the activities that were engaged in here were individual

aa 1 om

activities, one by Mr. Barritt and two by his corporation,

which he was one of the principals in, and that he was

either acting on behalf of the corporation which would

bind it or he was not. Those are the only two defendants

left in the case. So, I can’t find any ground for a con-

spiracy under Section 1985. I will grant the defendants’

motion on that portion of the amended complaint as

well as the motion with respect to Equitable Life Assur-

ance Company.

I don’t know, frankly, whether both Section 1981 and

1982 apply to this case. I will have to rely upon the

memoranda and the citations that I find in the proposed

findings and conclusions.

IT don’t have much difficulty with the words “all per-

sons” in Section 1981 since a corporation is a person

and “all citizens” in 1982 since the corporation is a

citizen. After the Monell case in the Supreme Court —

and also there is a Seventh Circuit case which clearly

holds that a corporation is a proper party under Section

1983, and I think the same would follow under Section

1981 and Section 1982.

In other words, a corporation can be discriminated

against under 1983 and presumably under the other two

sections.

Whether the language of 1982 which limits the cause

of action to citizens having the same right as enjoyed

by white citizens to inherit, purchase, lease, sell, hold

and convey real and personal property would apply to

this case or not, I have some doubt. I think it is a

specific statute that was enacted with respect to owning

real and personal property. And I do not believe there

is any complaint by Coterie Seven with respect to those

specific acts.

However, I am not zoing to make a finding contrary

to the plaintiff on Section 1982. I think Section 1981

certainly applies to the factual situation that we have

— 8a —

here, if it has been proved, which, as I say, I have

considerable doubt that it has. But if Section 1981 ap-

plies it doesn’t really make any difference whether Section

1982 applies.

I will reserve judgment on 1982 until I do see the

conclusions on the law.

I feel the same way about 42 USC Section 2000(a).

That, it seems to me, is directed toward the use of

public accommodations by blacks or by other persons

without discrimination. Here we have a corporation

which certainly can’t complain that it hasn’t been served

in a restaurant or given accommodations in a hotel. And

that seems to me to be the purpose of Section 2000(a)

is. The first subparagraph is that all persons shall be

entitled to the full and equal enjoyment of various things,

including accommodations of any place of public accom-

modation, without discrimination. I really have difficulty

in seeing how that particular section of the Civil Rights

Act is intended to apply to a corporation which was

excluded from a contractual arrangement with a tenant.

However, I am not going to make a final ruling on

that until I see what some of the citations might be. I

just have some doubt that that section comes into play

at all in this case.

But if the plaintiff were able to prove its case I

wouldn’t have any doubt that the defendants’ activities

were intended to deprive the plaintiff from the use of

the premises in this building and that the plaintiff was

deprived of the use of the premises by the action of

the defendant, the question really resolving down to

whether or not any part of the decision was based on

race as a basis for making the decision rather than

the fact that race was involved as the nature of the

persons that were causing the problem.

Again, I believe that if the same problem had existed

in the building with a discotheque that was frequented

a

primarily by whites after hours — in fact, late into the

morning hours — late in the evening hours and early

morning hours — the building management would have

taken the same position and done everything it could to

eliminate that particular kind of activity in this kind of

a building.

I remain still undecided as to whether any portion

of the consideration that the defendant based its decision

on was related in some way or other to race, whether

that under the circumstances of the recent Supreme Court

decisions would give the plaintiff a recovery. I am in-

clined to think that it would under 1983 and I am also

inclined to think that race was not a motive. Race was

involved but was not one of the reasons why the defen-

dant rea! estate agent and Mr. Barritt sought to term-

inate the activities of the discotheque in this particular

building.

Those are my tentative findings. They are subject to

re-consideration after the parties have filed these docu-

ments I have mentioned and also after I have had a chance

to examine the exhibits and refresh my recollection about

the testimony and I will enter a decision after I have

had a chance to do that.

If there are any exhibits that I don’t have here I

would like to have copies of them to the extent that you

feel you rely on them on one side or the other. I will

make a decision as soon as I can after I receive these two

filings. One week for each side.

MR. MEISTER: Thank you, vour Honor.

MR. GROSS: Thank you, your Honor.

— 10a —

In Tue Unirep States District Court

NortTHERN District Or ILLINOIS

FASTERN DIVISION

Cotrerire SreveEN ENTERPRISES CORPORATION,

an Illinois corporation,

Plaintiff,

VS.

Tue EqurrasLe Lire AssurANce Society Or THE UNITED

States, and T B & Z Reattry Anp MANAGEMENT

Corporation, and Lester S. Barritt,

Defendants.

78 C 238

CERTIFICATE

I, James W. Cheek, hereby certify the foregoing is a

true, accurate and partial transcript of the proceedings

had in the above-entitled cause before the HONORABLE

THOMAS R. MeMILLEN, one of the Judges of said

Court, in his courtroom in the United States Courthouse,

Chicago, Illinois, on May 11, 1979.

/s/ Ilegible

Official Court Reporter

United States District Court

Northern District of Illinois

—lla—

APPENDIX B

Unitrep States Districr Court

NorTHERN District Or ILLINOIS

EASTERN Division

CoTEeRIE SEVEN ENTERPRISES CorP.,

Plaintiff,

v.

EQuiTaBLe Lire AsSsurANCE Society Or THE Unitep States,

T. B. & Z. Reatry Anp MaAnaGemMent Corp., and LESTER

S. Barritt,

Defendants.

NO. 78 C 238

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS

OF FACT AND OF LAW

Plaintiff’s amended complaint seeks a money judgment

for an alleged violation of its civil rights. Plaintiff

alleged defendants violated Chapter 42 U.S.C. §§1981,

1982, and 2000(a) and conspired to and did violate Chap-

ter 42 U.S.C. $1985(3).

At trial, after plaintiff rested its case, defendants

moved the Conrt to enter an order of involuntary dis-

missal pursuant to Rule 41(2)(b) of F.R.C.P. The Court

granted said motion at the close of all the evidence as

to defendant The Equitabie Life Assurance Society of

The United States. The Court also dismissed plaintiff’s

§$1985(3) claim against the remaining defendants, T.B.

& Z. Realty and Managemen: Corp. and Lester S. Barritt.

Plaintiff has filed its motion for rehearing as to this

order.

On the basis of all the evidence heard by the court

without a jury, we find and conclude:

— ee

Findings and Conclusions of Facts

1. Plaintiff is an Illinois corporation. Its seven share-

holders and directors are black. Throughout its corporate

existence plaintiff has primarily been engaged in the

business of promoting and producing nightly discotheque

entertainment at various places in Chicago.

2. Defendant, The Equitable Life Assurance Society

of the United States (“Equitable”), is a New York cor-

poration. On or about May 1, 1974, Equitable purchased

the building commonly known as 150 North Wacker

Drive, Chicago, Illinois (“the Building”), and remained

the owner thereof until approximately June 30, 1976.

3. Defendant, T.B.&Z. Realty & Management Corp.

(“TB&Z”), was incorporated under Illinois law on or

about November 1, 1974. It managed the Building for

Equitable pursuant to a written management agreement.

The agreement provided, in part, that the compensation

was based upon the occupancy of the building. Said

agreement, dated May 1, 1974, was assigned to TB&Z

by the management firm of Turner, Bailey & Zoll, Inc.,

at or about the time TB&Z was incorporated. Turner,

Bailey & Zoll, Inc., had managed the Building previously

to that time.

4. From and after its incorporation, Barritt was the

president of TB&Z. At all times material to plaintiff’s

amended complaint, Barritt acted, not only as an officer

and agent of TB&Z, but also as an agent for Equitable

under the management agreement.

5. At all times material to plaintiff’s amended com-

pleint, Cockney Pride, Ltd., (“Cockney Pride”), formerly

known as Suffolk, Ltd., an Illinois corporation, was the

lessee of a portion of the basement and first floor of the

Building. Cockney Pride operated a restaurant and cock-

tail bar in the premises and was owned and controlled

by whites.

— 13a —

6. Throughout its tenancy, Cockney Pride proved to

be an undesirable tenant. In addition to rent arrearages,

Cockney Pride failed to maintain insurance, failed to

report its gross receipts, failed to furnish the owner

with a security deposit, made alterations to the demised

premises without first obtaining the owner’s consent and

on one occasion operated without a liquor license, all in

violation of its lease.

7. From almost the inception of its business opera-

tions, the Cockney Pride evening dinner business was

unsuccessful. It had financial difficulties throughout its

tenancy. On one occasion in the Spring of 1974, Cockney

Pride’s doors were locked by the Internal Revenue Ser-

vice (IRS) and restaurant facilities in the Building be-

came unavailable for a short while.

8. On or about April 20, 1974, plaintiff commenced

conducting discotheque entertainment activities (also

called “sets”) at Cockney Pride’s restaurant. Plaintiff

continued doing so through approximately February 15,

1976, without defendants’ consent. Plaintiff conducted

these activities at the leased premises pursuant to several

written and oral agreements between it and Cockney

Pride. The sets which were originally on one evening

per week were later increased to seven evenings per

week. They began at 8:00 p.m. on the week days and

5:00 p.m. on the weekend days. TB&Z and Barritt became

aware that the patrons of the discotheque were pre-

dominantly black, as were its owners and managers.

9. During the sets, Cockney Pride maintained per-

sonnel to operate the bar pursuant to its liquor license,

and plaintiff charged admission at the door. It also

maintained armed guards.

10. Tenants made complaints to defendants about the

operation of the restaurant, such as food odors, poor

food, fashion shows at the restaurant and display adver-

tisements. Tenants also registered complaints about the

improper parking of cars and about people congregating

=—

in the building lobby and on the sidewalk outside of the

Cockney Pride restaurant, during the “sets.”

Barritt and TB&Z did not possess knowledge of plain-

tiff’s corporate existence or the race of its owners and

officers until after plaintiff’s activities had been brought

to a halt. Such knowledge of course is irrelevant if race

was a motivation of defendants’ acts.

11. On June 20, 1974, Barritt wrote a letter to

Richard A. Reagan, Regional Manager of Equitable,

stating that the plaintiff’s activities were distressing to

the tenants “by the nature of the trade that is attracted.”

Barritt was ware that the plaintiff's patrons were

predominantly black. Barritt further stated in the same

letter that “racial or ethnic references will be tough to

avoid . . . since it is the clientele it has attracted as much

as the combo itself that is the nuisance. Can you please

have someone on your legal staff give us some guidance

in this regard. We feel this issue is vital to the existing

and future tenants of Randolph-Wacker.” Regan, on

June 25, 1974, mailed Barritt’s letter to William F.

Mueller, Vice President of Equitable in New York with

a memo stating, “Please have the Legal Department

review this request and advise if any steps can be taken

to eliminate this nuisance.”

12. The foregoing communications do not evidence

racial motivation but a desire to avoid legal involve-

ment on this issue. They do evidence defendants’ knowl-

edge that plaintiff was attracting a predominantly black

clientele, however, and that this was creating a problem

for the building. The weight of the evidence also proves

that Barritt made occasional derogatory remarks about

these black patrons or bystanders.

John Plowman, a building manager of 150 N. Wacker

Drive, was told by Barritt that tenants had complained

about the black business at night and that the niggers

have to go. Barritt also made a similar statement to

— 15a —

Francis Gutrich, a later building manager. Barritt told

Conrad Verges, the attorney for Cockney Pride, that

tenants would not move into the building because it

had become known as a nigger building. Frank Raffaelli,

the manager of Cockney Pride, was told by Barritt that

Cockney Pride would get a new lease at a reduced rent

only if they would terminate the discotheque activities.

All of these statements were apparently stating what

Barritt believed to be facts and are not conclusive evi-

dence of his motivation, but on the other hand they do

constitute slurs and a derogatory attitude toward blacks

by Barritt.

13. Barritt, Gutrich and perhaps someone from Equi-

table requested Richard Theil, the manager of the build-

ing’s garage, to keep the garage closed for evening access.

This was to harass plaintiff’s clientele.

14. In 1975 Equitable filed suit to evict Cockney Pride,

and Cockney Pride filed a counteraction to enjoin the

eviction, stating that it was racially motivated. Both

claims were settled by an agreed order in December

1975 which resulted in the termination of plaintiff’s

activities, the continuation of Cockney Pride as a bar

and restaurant, and a new lease containing one-half

reduction of the monthly rent to be paid by Cockney

Pride. The agreed order also recited that Equitable

did not discriminate against Cockney Pride on the basis

of race, but plaintiff was not a party to said litigation

and is not bound by it.

Conclusions of Law

The foregoing facts and inferences from the facts

can be summarized as follows. Defendants TB&Z Realty

and Management Corp. and Lester S. Barritt were pri-

marily concerned with renting Equitable’s building at

150 North Wacker Drive in Chicago, and their principal

motivation in taking the actions which they did against

— l6a—

the plaintiff was for business reasons. In that respect

they acted properly and not in violation of the law.

However, it is also clear that a related but secondary

motivation was to rid the building of the activities of

non-tenants who were predominantly black. The activities

of these blacks constituted a nuisance to the tenants

and therefore to the management and were undesirable

from a business standpoint. The fact that they were

blacks was somewhat incidental but nevertheless was a

factor in the defendants’ motivation. We cannot find

that the defendants acted without any racial motivation

or that they would have taken the same action had the

plaintiff’s clientele consisted merely of whites. Thus we

find and conclude that race was a subsidiary motivation

of the defendants’ actions although not the principai one.

Under the law as it has developed, any degree of

racial discrimination is impermissible under 42 U.S.C.

§1982. In Smith v. Sol D. Adler Realty Co., 436 F.2d 344

(7th Cir. 1970), the court concluded at 349-50:

[Rjace is an impermissible factor in an apartment

rental decision and ... it cannot be brushed aside

because it was neither the sole reason for discrimi-

nation nor the total factor of discrimination. We

find no acceptable place in the law for partial racial

discrimination. [emphasis in original]

Later, in Moore v. Townsend, 525 F.2d 482 (7th Cir.

1975), the court said that race is an impermissible con-

sideration in a real estate transaction if it played “some

part” in the refusal to deal (at p. 485). Certainly under

the foregoing cases plaintiff proved a prima facie case

of violation of $1982.

As we understand these two decisions, a prima facie

case can be rebutted only by extinguishing it, in other

words, by showing affirmatively that race was not a factor

at all. In Drain v. Friedman, 422 F.Supp. 366 (N.D. Ohio

1976), the court stated at p. 371:

ee a

— 17a —

Once the plaintiff in a §1982 action has made out

a prima facie case of discrimination in the rental

of property, the owner must come forward and show

that factors other than race were responsible for

his decision not to extend a lease to such plaintiff.

Defendants have not cited any case to the contrary

with respect to their burden of proof, although we note

a dictum in McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S.

792 (1973) which states that after a prima facie case is

made out by plaintiff, the burden shifts to the defendants

“to articulate some legitimate, nondiscriminatory reason”

for their conduct (at p. 802). The court went on to say

at p. 804 that the plaintiff could rebut this defense by

showing that the stated reason was “in fact pretext.”

This case related to employment practices under Title

VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and, although douht-

less pertinent to 41982, we consider the quoted language

less stringent than the tests applied in the lower courts’

cases cited above.

The Seventh Circuit has followed this dictum of course,

but even after that it rendered the decision in Moore

v. Townsend, supra, p. 8, with respect to discrimination

under §1982. We believe that we have no alternative

but to follow the foregoing Seventh Circuit decisions

of 1975 and 1970 in the case at bar.

Another legal problem which has not been faced by

the parties is whether §1982 applies to licensees of a

tenant, such as the plaintiff was. The statute gives all

citizens the same right as is enjoyed by whites to “in-

herit, purchase, lease, sell, hold, and convey real and

personal property.” At the most, the plaintiff corporation

“held” defendants’ property. Section 1982 is to be liber-

ally applied. Jones v. Alfred H. Mayer Co., 392 U.S.

409, 487 (1968). This section has been applied to the

right of blacks to drive down a street in Greene v. City

of Memphis, 535 F.2d 976 (6th Cir. 1976) and in

Jennings v. Patterson, 488 F.2d 486, 442 (5th Cir. 1974)

_

and to be invited as guests to a swimming club. Oleman

v. Lake Hills Swim Club, Inc., 495 F.2d 1333 (2d Cir.

1974).

In view of the remedial nature of $1982, we find and

conclude that it should be broadly construed to apply

to a corporation which has a license from a tenant to do

business in the building, if one of the reasons why defen-

dants caused the license to be terminated was because

of the race of the patrons of the licensee.

An alternative cause of action is stated under 42

U.S.C. §1981 which is historically in pari materia to

§1982. In fact, the Olzman and Jennings cases recognize

a cause of action under both sections of the statute.

We therefore enter a judgment for plaintiff on the

issue of liability against TB&Z Realty and Management

Corp. and Lester S. Barritt. Judgment is entered in

favor of defendants with respect to violation of 42

U.S.C. §1985(3), since we find insufficient evidence of

any conspiracy between the defendants. Plaintiff’s motion

to reconsider our finding in favor of The Equitable

Life Assurance Society of the United States at the close

of plaintiff’s evidence is denied.

This case will be referred to a magistrate for taking

evidence on the measure of the plaintiff’s damages. Since

its relationship with Cockney Pride was apparently ter-

minable at will, and since plaintiff was terminated by

Cockney Pride without any evidence of racial animus

on the part of that tenant, plaintiff will be required to

prove not only its loss of profits but also the period

of time during which it could reasonably have been

expected to receive such profits had it not been for the

actions of the defendants.

ENTER:

/s/ Thomas R. MeMillen

Judge, U. S. District Court

DATED: Sept. 21, 1979

ne ee tees

—

APPENDIX C

Unttrep States Districr Court

NortTHern District Or ILLINo!Is

Eastern Drvision

Corertre Seven Enterprises Corp.,

Plaintiff,

vs.

THe EQuirasLte Lire Assurance Soctety Or Tae Unirep

Srates, T.B. & Z. Reatty Anp MANAGEMENT Corp. and

Lester S. Barritt,

Defendants.

NO. 78 C 238

DECISION

Defendants have filed a motion to set aside the judg-

ment entered on September 21, 1979 or for a new trial.

The motions have been briefed by both sides and the

court has reviewed the evidence and also the applicable

law. We find and conclude that defendants’ motions

should be denied.

Defendants point out that §1982 on its face apparently

requires plaintiff to show disparate treatment hetween

blacks and whites with respect to the ownership, us¢ or

other incidents of real property, citing Clark v. Universal

Builders, Inc., 501 F.2d 324 (7th Cir. 1974). That case

does involve a price differential in the sale of real estate

constituting discrimination against blacks. On the other

hand, no such differential was shown in the latest case

on which we relied, Moore v. Townsend, 525 F.2d 482

(7th Cir. 1975). Furthermore, in the earlier case of

Smith v. Sol D. Adler Realty Co., 486 F.2d 344 (7th Cir.

1970), the trial court had found that the owner would

have rejected a white tenant for the same reason that

— Ne

he rejected a black tenant; the Court of Appeals never-

theless reversed because race was a factor in rejecting

the black applicant.

Therefore, as the law has been developed under $1982

by the Seventh Circuit, if consideration of race con-

stitutes any of the owner’s reason for rejecting a black,

this fact itself constitutes discrimination and disparate

treatment of blacks. It is not necessary for the plaintiff

to show that the same treatment would have been dealt

to whites; the presence of a racial consideration without

more makes the treatment between members of the races

different and illegal.

The elimination of a requirement to show actual dis-

parate treatment is also a practical approach to the

problem. It would be speculative to find as a fact that

the defendants would have treated a “white” discotheque

any differently than it treated the plaintiff’s discotheque.

No such situation was presented, and none could be

hypothetically presented with any degree of reliability.

The likelihood is that if patrons of a white discotheque

committed exactly the same nuisances as patrons of the

plaintiff’s discotheque did, defendants would presumably

have attempted to eliminate the nuisances committed

by the whites. Nevertheless, if in ridding the premises

of the nuisance, defendants are motivated to any degree

by racial considerations, the law at least in this circuit

makes the defendants’ actions a violation of §1982.

Defendants further base their motion on the ground

that the findings in our decision of September 21, 1979

are somewhat inconsistent with the comments which we

made at the close of the evidence in open court. This may

be true, but our comments in open court were expressly

characterized as tentative and also were subject to further

examination in the light of the Seventh Circuit cases

which we have discussed. When the law as construed

by the Seventh Circuit is applied to the facts in the case

at bar, the result is a violation of $1982.

Pr a ed aaa REN | Gin a

cs stianttn ceestiaeinieastieieatntias et eee

— 2la—

On page 11 of their memorandum filed October 9, 1979,

defendants argue that the statements attributed to de-

fendant Lester S. Barritt are not supported by the evi-

dence. Defendants, however, overlook the testimony sup-

porting this finding, such as that of Frank Raffaelli, John

Matthews, John Ploughman and attorney Conrad Verges.

Almost all of the non-party witnesses testified that Bar-

ritt or his subordinates referred to the defendants as

“niggers” in the context of discussing the discotheque

and its undesirability. The motivation of Barritt and his

company, T.B. & Z. Realty and Management Corp., de-

pends upon his state of mind which must be inferred

from all the evidence, primarily the language which he and

his subordinates used and the actions which they took.

The inference is clear from the evidence that race was a

factor, although not necessarily the principal factor, mo-

tivating the actions which were taken against the plain-

tiffs.

In their reply brief filed October 22, 1979, defendants

eall attention to finding 14 that the new lease granted

Cockney Pride reduced the monthly rent to one-half. This

is not completely accurate, as a detailed comparison be-

tween the 1971 and the 1976 lease reveals. Therefore, the

word “one-half” should be changed to the word “a.” Other

than that, defendants’ motion to set aside our judgment

of September 21, 1979 is denied.

Defendants have shown no grounds justifying a new

trial. That motion is also denied.

Enter:

/s/ Thomas R. McMillen

Judge, U. S. District Court

Dated: November 9, 1979

a

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

Submitted: May 5, 1982

October 25, 1982

Before

Hon. Richard D. Cudahy, Cireuit Judge

Hon. Jesse E. Eschbach, Cireuit Judge

Hon. George Templar, Senior District Judge*

Cotertrr Seven Enterprises Corporation, an Illinois cor-

poration,

Plaintiff-Appellee-Cross-Appellants

Nos. 81-2305 & 81-2363

vs.

T.B. & Z. Reattry anp MANAGEMENT CorporATIon, and

Lester S. Barritt,

Defendants-Appellants-Cross-A ppellees,

and

Tue EqguitasLe Lire ASSURANCE SocieTy OF THE UNITED

STatTEs,

Defendant-Cross-Appellee.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division

No. 78-C-238

Hon. Thomas R. McMillen, Judge

* The Honorable George Templar, Senior District Judge

of the United States District Court for the District of

Kansas sitting by designation.

AO ee eR,

— 23a —

ORDER

Plaintiff-appellee and cross-appellant, Coterie Seven En-

terprises (Coterie Seven), a corporation, was engaged in

the business of conducting evening discotheque activities

at various places in Chicago. One such place was at a

restaurant operated by Cockney Pride, Ltd., the lessee of

the lower floor level and the first floor of an office build-

ing located at 150 North Wacker Drive, owned by defen-

dant and cross-appellee Equitable Life Assurance Society

of the United States (Equitable).

Defendant-appellant and cross-appellee T.B.&Z. Realty

and Management Corporation (TB&Z) managed the build-

ing for Equitabie. Defendant-appellant and cross-appellee

Lester Barritt (Barritt) was president of TB&Z. Plain-

tiff Coterie Seven brought an action against TB&Z, Bar-

ritt and Equitable claiming damages for alleged race dis-

crimination under 42 U.S.C. $§ 1981, 1982 and 1985. In a

court trial damages and other fees were awarded plain-

tiff against TB&Z and Barritt but the case against Equi-

table was dismissed. The appeal was taken by defendants

TB&Z and Barritt from the judgment rendered against

them. Plaintiff cross-appeals contending that the trial

court should not have dismissed its claim against Equi-

table. Both the plaintiff and defendants challenge the

methods used by the court in computing the amount of

damages and attorney fees.

BACKGROUND

On or about May 1, 1974, Equitable purchased the office

building at 150 North Wacker Drive in Chicago. One of

its tenants, Cockney Pride, operated a restaurant and

cocktail bar on the first floor of the building. Throughout

its tenancy, Cockney Pride had been an unsuccessful busi-

ness and, as the court found, an undesirable tenant. The

rent was frequently in arrears, and the lease was violated

by failing to maintain insurance, failing to report gross

receipts, failing to furnish a security deposit, making al-

—

terations to the premises without the owner’s consent, and

operating, at times, without a valid liquor license. For

a short while in the spring of 1974, its doors had been

padlocked by the Internal Revenue Service.

On or about April 20, 1974, which would have been prior

to Equitable’s purchase of the building, Coerie Seven be-

gan conducting discotheque entertaininent called “sets”

at the Cockney Pride restaurant. Initially, these sets were

held weekly, but they eventually became an almost nightly

occurrence. The sets were successful, bringing large num-

bers of customers, most of them black, to the Cockney

Pride. Coterie Seven paid rent to Cockney Pride, which

actually covered the wages of the employees who operated

the bar. Cockney Pride sold sandwiches and drinks as

well. Coterie Seven provided security at the door, sound

equipment, and a portable dance floor. Later, a perma-

nent dance floor was installed on one level of Cockney

Pride.

Other tenants in the building complained about the go-

ings-on at the Cockney Pride. These complaints involved

the large crowds of persons congregated in the lobby of

the building after hours, cars parked on the sidewalk,

and marijuana usage near the building. In addition, some

tenants complained of food odors from the restaurant

and of lingerie shows in the restaurant and the restaurant

and discotheque were wholly inappropriate in a first-

class office building. There was evidence that Lester

Barritt, the president of TB&Z which managed the build-

ing for Equitable, decided that they had to “get the

blacks out” because the building was getting the reputa-

tion as a “nigger building” and tenants were reluctant

to rent offices there. |

TB&Z requested Cockney Pride to discontinue the dis-

cotheque sets, but Cockney Pride refused. Barritt and

various managers of the building asked Richard Theil,

the manager of the parking garage, to keep the garage

closed at night to discourage the “night business”. Barritt

—

also wrote a letter to Equitable seeking advice. The letter

was forwarded by Richard Reagan, the regional manager

of Equitable, to Equitable’s legal counsel, and Equitable

later filed suit to evict Cockney Pride. Cockney Pride

filed an injunction in federal court and alleged that the

eviction was racially motivated. These suits were settled

late in 1975. Throughout this time period, Coterie Seven

continued to conduct discotheque entertainment at Cock-

ney Pride.

In obtaining a settlement of the suits, Frank Rafaelli,

the manager of Cockney Pride, was told by Barritt

that Cockney Pride would get a new lease, at a reduced

rent, only if the discotheque activities were terminated.

Equitable and Cockney Pride entered into this new lease

in early 1976. The lease prohibited evening entertainment

and reduced the monthly rent by one-half.’ On about

February 15, 1976, Coterie Seven ceased its discotheque

entertainment at the Cockney Pride. On or around

August 1, 1976, Cockney Pride ceased all discotheque

operations at its other locations and went out of business.

Coterie Seven brought this civil rights action against

Equitable, TB&Z, and Barritt alleging a violation of

42 U.S.C. §§ 1981, 1982 and 1985 by tortious, racially

motivated inference with an advantageous business rela-

tionship. The trial court found there was no conspiracy

and dismissed the 1985 cause of action as to all defen-

dants. It also dismissed Equitable from the entire law-

suit because Equitable did not authorize any of the

actions taken against the plaintiff.

The trial court found that TB&Z and Barritt were

liable for violations of Sections 1981 and 1982. The

issue of damages was then referred to a magistrate who

recommended that plaintiff be awarded $6,008.00 in

This provision in the new lease effectively ended the

discotheque operations of Coterie Seven on Equitable’s

premises.

— %6a —

compensatory damages and no punitive damages. The

district judge, who heard the evidence as to liability,

approved the magistrate’s findings and, in addition,

awarded the plaintiffs $18,517.11 in attorney’s fees. These

appeals followed.

On appeal, defendants argue that there must be some

showing that there was dissimilar treatment between the

races else there can be no finding of discrimination. But

the trial court determined from all the facts established

and inferences that could be drawn from them that he

could not find that defendants acted without any racial

motivation or that they would have taken the same action

had the plaintiff’s clientele consisted merely of whites.

Though stated in the negative, the trial court simply

responded to the defendants’ contention that there was

no showing of discrimination by stating that he could

not so find. The facts and circumstances considered by

the court support the reasonable inference of discrimina-

tion drawn by the court. We agree that discriminatory

intent is a necessary allegation in a 1981 cause of action,

Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S. 299 (1976), but there was

evidence of this intent and the trial court so found.

Specifically, the trial court found that the fact “that

[Coterie Seven’s customers] were black was somewhat

incidental but nevertheless a factor in Defendants’ moti-

vation... . Thus we find and conclude that race was a

subsidiary motivation of the Defendants’ actions although

not the principal one.” The defendants argue that the

purposeful discrimination requirement is not satisfied by

a finding of race as an incidental motivation. An action,

however, can be discriminatory without having race as

its sole motivation. For example, in Clark v. Universal

Builders, Inc., 501 F.2d 324 (7th Cir. 1974), although it

could be said that the reason for the two-tiered housing

market with different prices for similar houses depending

on the racial makeup of the neighborhood and the race

of the anticipated purchaser was economic, the court

=.

found a discriminatory intent, despite the argument that

the primary motivation for the price structure was to

maximize income.

We do not require that race must be the sole motiva-

tion in order for liability to arise under Section 1982.

Moore v. Townsend, 525 F.2d 482, 485 (7th Cir. 1975);

Smith v. Sol D. Adler Realty Co., 436 F.2d 344, 349-350

(7th Cir. 1970). Although these were both Section 1982

eases, we see nothing in the language or the legislative

history of Section 1981, which would require race to be

the sole motivation for the defendants’ actions before

plaintiff could recover under Section 1981. An action

rarely has a single motivation. To interpret Section 1981

as reaching only conduct motivated solely by racial dis-

crimination would undermine the broad remedial purpose

of the civil rights statutes.

The plaintiff, in its cross-appeal, argues that the trial

court erred in dismissing Equitable Life Assurance

Society, the owner of the building, at the close of plain-

tiff’s case. Plaintiff claims that it was error because

Equitable committed independent, racially discriminatory

acts against Coterie Seven. |

In reviewing the record we helieve that the plaintiff

established a prima facie case of discrimination against

Equitable. Equitable instituted eviction proceedings

against its tenant, Cockney Pride, for which plaintiff

furnished discotheque entertainment on the leased prem-

ises. Tt was only after Barritt had informed Equitable

that the racial composition of the discotheque’s clientele

constituted a “nunisanee” that Equitable took action

againt Cockney Pride to evict it and thus terminate the

entertainment it provided. The claims of rent arrearages,

and other legitimate grounds for eviction claimed by

Equitable could have been a mere pretext for Equitable’s

action considering the timing of events. Furthermore,

the substance of the settlement between Cockney Pride

and Equitable in the eviction proceedings, which weve

_

extremely generous to the tenant, lends further support

to plaintiff’s case in light of tie issues raised in the

uitieation.

o

While it was acting on the advice of Barritt concern-

ing the complaints of other tenants of the building,

Equitable’s own motivation for inducing the termination

of the discotheque activities is the threshold issue.

Equitable had legitimate grounds for terminating those

activities: not only did they violate an express term

of the lease, but they also generated non-discriminatory

complaints from some of the other tenants of the build-

ing. If Equitable induced the termination of the disco-

theque activities for one of these legitimate reasons,

neither it nor the other defendants are liable. On the

other hand, if Equitable acted at least in part for dis-

criminatory reasons, it is liable, as would be the other

defendants given the evidence of Barritt’s discriminatory

purpose.

If Equitable acted out of a legitimate concern for its

other tenants totally divorced from the racial concerns,

the fact that one of its agents had a personal bias

against plaintiff’s clientele is simply irrelevant, in legal

contemplation, in analyzing Equitable’s own liability.

Equitable was not forever barred from enforcing the

terms of its lease against discotheque activities once

it learned that the discotheque’s clientele was _pre-

dominately black or when it discovered that one of its

agents was racially prejudiced. It retained the legal

right to evict a tenant violating the terms of a lease so

long as it did not share in its agent’s racist motivation.

Of course, as the district court observed, persons mav

have more than one motivation as a predicate to their

actions, and it is a difficult task to determine whether

Equitable would have taken a different approach to the

situation if it had been ignorant of the racial composition

of the discotheque’s clientele.

—

If it is established that racial discrimination was a

motivating factor behind the challenged activities of

Equitable, then the burden is passed to it to prove by a

preponderance of the evidence that the same actions would

have been taken and the same directions given its agents

even had an unlawful purpose not been a motivating

factor. If Equitable can prove this, Coterie Seven cannot

attribute its injury to racial discrimination. See Mt.

Healthy City Board of Education v. Doyle, 429 U.S. 274

(1976); Lewts v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 440 F.Supp. 949,

966 (D.Md. 1977).

The civil rights statutes do not impose liability for

inchoate discrimination. If Equitable caused the termina-

tion of the discotheque activities for entirely permissible

reasons, the fact that Barritt secretly or even openly

delighted in that result because of a discriminatory

animus towards blacks does not provide a basis upon

which to award plaintiff compensatory relief. Similarly,

the fact that Barritt advised his principal that in his

opinion the discotheque had to be closed because of the

racial composition of the clientele is not a basis for im-

posing liability on him if Equitable ignored that advice

and proceeded to act in precisely the same way it would

have acted if Barritt had kept his bigoted views to

himself. On the other hand. if Barritt was actually

successful in inducing Equitable to aiscriminate on racial

grounds, he and TB&Z would be jointly and severally

liable for his actions.

While defendants Barritt and TB&Z have not, in these

appeals from the judgment rendered against them,

claimed that the judgments against them should be re-

versed because they did not cause the threatened eviction

which ended plaintiff’s use of the premises leased bv

Coterie, we believe that the ends of justice would be

better served by reversing the case and remanding it for

a new trial,

lesiatndeiieniianidcemeiieeetimiaaeimiaiiieiiaeiusiiiaiiiiiusillll

~~

We believe the proper rule to apply here is found in

2 Fed.Proc.L.Ed., § 3:700, where it is said:

The question whether a joint and several judgment

should be reversed in its entirety is a matter resting

solely within the discretion of the appellate court,

which must decide how the ends of justice may be

served. Generally, a judgment will be reversed as to

all parties, if the contrary would work an injustice.

Const. Pub. Co. v. Dale, 164 F.2d 210 (5th Cir. 1947);

Washington Gas Light v. Lansden, 172 U.S. 534, 43 L.Ed.

543, 19 S.Ct. 296 (1899).

And in Gasoline Preducts v. Champlin Co., 283 US.

494, 500 (1931), the court held:

Where the practice permits a partial new trial, it

may not properly be resorted to unless it clearly

appears that the issue to be retried is so distinct

and separable from the others that a trial of it alone

may be had without injustice.

(Citations omitted.)

The liability of the defendants in this case might be

found to be joint and several. In determining whether

to apply principles of joint and several liability in a

civil rights action, the courts look to the substantive

law of the forum state. See, 42 U.S.C. §1988. In Illinois,

when the injury caused by two or more tort-feasors is

indivisible, joint and several liability must be imposed.

Koltz v. Jahaaske, 312 Tll.App. 623, 38 N.E.2d 973, 975

(1942).

We hold that a claim should not be dismissed where,

considering the evidence in the light most favorable to

claimant and giving it the benefit of all reasonable infer-

enees which can be drawn from the evidence, the trier

of fact could reasonably sustain the claim.

The dismissal of plaintiff’s claim against Equitable

was error and requires a reversal of the order of dis-

— 3la —

missal. Because our determination of the issue of liability

requires a new trial of all issues, we do not pass upon

the questions submitted relating to damages and at-

torneys’ fees.

The issues to be retried are so inseparable from the

others already decided that a trial of plaintiff’s actions

against Equitable alone would not best serve the inter-

ests of justice.

We, therefore, reverse all the orders and judgments

appealed from and direct that a new trial be granted

to all the parties.

CupaHny, Circuit Judge, concurring. I concur in this

order remanding the case for retrial as to both parties.

I would add, however, that Equitable may also be liable,

on one possible state of facts, for the acts of its agent.

An owner of property may be sued under 42 U.S.C.

§ 1982 for the acts of his agent under the doctrine of

respondeat superior. Moore v. Townsend, 525 F.2d 482

(7th Cir. 1975). Discriminatory acts will be imputed to

a property owner, even though his agent may have acted

without the knowledge of the owner. See Jzard v. Arndt,

483 F. Supp. 262 (E.D. Wis. 1980); Martin v. John C.

Bowers & Co., 334 F. Supp. 5 (N.D. Ill. 1971). In the

ease at hand, it is unclear to me whether the decision

to institute eviction proceedings was made by the realty

company or by Equitable. The contract between the two

provides that negotiating leases and instituting eviction

proceedings are both within the agent’s duties, although

the action would be taken in the name of Equitable.

If the realty company was responsible for, and caused,

the action to evict, therefore, and did so from a discrimi-

natory motive, Equitable would presumably be liable

as well.

=

APPENDIX E

Unitrep States Court Or APpprALs

For Tse Seventu Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

Submitted May 5, 1982

February 11, 1983

Before

Hon. Ricwarp D. Cupany, Circuit Judge

Hon. Jessr E. Escupacn, Circuit Judge

Hon. Grorce Trempuar, Senior District Judge*

Coterte Seven ENTerRpRISES CoRPORATION,

an Illinvis corporation,

Plaintiff-Appellee-Cross Appellant,

No. 81-2305 & 81-2363

vs.

T.B.& Z. Reatty Anp MAnaGeMeNT CorPoRATION, and

Lester S. Barritt,

Defendants-Appellants-Cross Appellees,

and

THe Equrraste Lire Assurance Soctrety Or THe UNITED

States,

Defendant-Cross Appellee.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division

No. 78-C-238

Hon. Tuomas R. McMruen, Judge

* The Honorable George Templar, Senior District Judge

of the United States District Court for the District of

Kansas sitting by designation.

—_ e—

ORDER ON REHEARING

Defendants have presented a Petition for Rehearing in

which they contend that this court premised its decision

on the belief that plaintiff’s claim against Equitable

was dismissed for failure to establish a prima facie case,

and they make the positive assertion that the trial court

made no such ruling.

In response to the Petition for Rehearing, the plain-

tiff points out that the trial court dismissed its case

against defendant Equitable under Rule 41(b), Fed.R.

Civ.P., because as that court erroneously held, plaintiff

had not presented a prima facie case as to Equitable.

Plaintiff further suggests that, since Equitable proceeded

to introduce evidence in support of its defense to plain-

tiff’s claim, a new trial would presumably produce no

new evidence on behalf of defendants on the issue of

liability but that a further inquiry as to additional dam-

ages to plaintiff caused by Equitable should be afforded.

We have reviewed the trial record of this case. Per-

tinent portions of the record reveal that, at the close of

the plaintiff’s case, attorneys for the defendants pre-

sented a motion under Rule 41(b), Fed.R.Civ.P., for the

trial court to enter a directed verdict in their fevor and

against plaintiff and to dismiss the cause with prejudice.

(R.Vol.i Doe.45).

The relevant portion of the rule relied on by the defen-

dants provides that:

After the plaintiff, in an action tried by the court

without a jury, has completed the presentation of

his evidence, the defendant, without waiving his

right to offer evidence in the event the motion is not

granted, may move for a dismissal on ‘the ground

that upon the facts and the law the plaintiff has

shown no right to relief. The court as trier of the

facts may then determine them and render judgment

against the plaintiff or may decline to render any

— en

judgment until the close of all the evidence. If the

court renders judgment on the merits against the

plaintiff, the court shall make findings as provided

in Rule 52(a). Unless the court in its order for

dismissal otherwise specifies, a dismissal under this

subdivision and any dismissal not provided for in

this rule, . . . operates as an adjudication upon the

merits.

When the plaintiff rested its case (T.384), the trial

court inquired of defendants’ counsel whether he would

have any evidence, whereupon counsel replied that he

wanted to submit a written motion for a directed finding

in favor of defendants and against plaintiff. The court

then inquired of defendants’ counsel whether he would

have any evidence if such a motion was not granted.

Defendants’ counsel announced that there would be three

witnesses. The trial court did not then rule on the motion

but indicated that he would do so when the case came

on for trial the following Thursday. (T.385).

When trial was resumed the following Thursday, the

trial court observed that “there is at least a colorable

prima facie case by the plaintiff here” and then an-

nounced, “I will deny the motion.” (T.389). Thereafter,

defendants proceeded to introduce evidence and rested.

(T.437). The trial court then declared that it was his

conclusion “that there really hasn’t been any prima facie

case against Equitable Life Assurance Society” and “I

will enter a finding for the defendant Equitable at this

time.” ('T.439).

The trial court filed “Findings and Conclusions of

Fact and of law.” (R.50) In a preliminary statement,

no findings as to Equitable were made, the trial court

stating that:

At trial, after plaintiff rested its case, defendants

moved the court to enter an order of involuntary

dismissal pursuant to Rule [41(b)] of the Federal

A Soci wt Mee Te ARE RR IE Nh RG NNR NRE AS WER REED Me

—- 35a, —

Rules of Civil Proocedure. The court granted said

motion at the close of all evidence as to Equitable

Life Assurance Society of the United States.

No other finding or conclusion related to defendant

Equitable other than the Finding No. 14, which found

in substance that Equitable had filed suit to evict Cock-

ney Pride, that the prior action and a counter action

by Cockney Pride had been settled by an agreed order

which recited among other things that Equitable did not

discriminate against Cockney Pride on the basis of race,

but that plaintiff was not a party to said litigation and

was not bound by it, and that plaintiff’s motion to re-

consider the court’s finding in favor of Equitable at the

close of the plaintiff’s evidence be denied.

These findings were filed September 21, 1979. On

November 19, 1979, defendants presented a motiun to

the trial court for a Section 1292(b) certification of the

court’s order of November 9, 1979 denying defendants’

motion to set aside judgment and a motion for a new

trial. These motions were denied, but during the presenta-

tion of the motions, the court made this statement:

Well, actually, the issue with respect to Equitable

was a failure of proof rather than the legal issue

that the defendants want to take up.

(R.20, p.5).

The record is clear that the trial court dismissed

the claim of plaintiff against Equitable for the reason

that, in the court’s opinion, the plaintiff had failed to

prove a case by its evidence. This was the trial court’s

announcement. His statement was unambiguous. There

was no other finding on any issue of fact or law, and

the trial court made a determination of no other issue

as the court was bound to do under Rule 41(b) and Rule

52(a) if he had intended to make any different ruling.

We hold that the involuntary dismissal of plaintiff’s

claim on the grounds that there was a failure of proof

—_ oe

by plaintiff on its claim was reversible error absent

findings of fact and conclusions of law required by Rule

52 F.R.Civ.P. for the reasons set forth in our original

order.

On reconsideration, we conclude that the trial court

should in the first instance determine whether the evic-

tion action brought by Equitable against Cockney Pride

was prompted in whole or in part by a purpose to dis-

criminate against Coterie Seven when, in the settlement

of that action in connection with a counter action brought

against it by Cockney Pride alleging that the eviction

suit was raciaily motivated, the parties, Equitable and

Cockney Pride, entered into a new lease which provided

1a part that there should be no evening entertainment

on the premises and that the rent was reduced fifty per

cent.

This settlement resulted in the exclusion of Coterie

Seven from the premises and they were not permitted

to conduct any further discotheque sets there.

We further conclude that the judgments obtained by

the plaintiff against defendants T.B.&Z. Realty and

Management Corporation and its president Lester S.

Barritt should be vacated and the cases remanded to the

trial court. In the event the trial court should find and

determine, subject to our review, that the eviction action

by Equitable was prompted by legitimate reasons for

terminating the tenancy of Cockney Pride, such as non-

payment of rent, failure to maintain insurance, failure

to report gross receipts, making alterations without own-

ers’ consent, failure to furnish security deposits, op-

erating without valid liquor license, and that the action

was not motivated in whole or in part by a racially

discriminatory purpose, then the dismissal of the action

against Equitable would be upheld. But, if it is found

that the eviction action and the new lease excluding

plaintiff from entertaining on the premises was motivated

— 37a —

in whole or in part by a racially discriminative animus,

then judgment against Equitable should be awarded.

In the event that it should be found that the eviction

action was brought solely for legitimate reasons and

not because of any racial discrimination motive and

that the new lease made with Cockney Pride excluding

evening entertainment was for valid business reasons

and that the termination of the prior lease and the

creation of the later one was the proximate cause of

plaintiff’s alleged damages, then the judgments against

T.B.&Z. and Barritt would have no foundation to support

them.

On the other hand, if it be found that Barritt’s direct

communications with the lessee, Cockney Pride, and his

threats to the lessee and his conduct as manager of the

leased property were a substantial factor in causing

the elimination of plaintiff by the lessee from conducting

sets on the premises when the new lease was made with

Equitable, then the liability of T.B.&Z. and Barritt would

be established and the judgments against them would

be reinstated.

We, therefore, direct that the judgments against

T.B.&Z. and Barritt and the order of dismissal in favor

of Equitable be vacated and the causes remanded for

findings by the trial court which will facilitate our review

of the issues pertaining to the basis of liability of the

respective defendants.

ee

APPENDIX F

Unitep States Districr Court

NortHERN District Or ILLro1s

EASTERN Division

CotTerte Seven ENTERPRISES CorP.,

Plaintiff,

Vs.

THe Equiraste Lire Assurance Society Or THe UNITED

Srates, et al.,

Defendants.

NO. 78 C 238

DECISION

This case comes back to us pursuant to two decisions

by the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals, the first dated

October 25, 1982 and the second, on rehearing, dated

February 11, 1983. The decisions, of course, are binding

upon this court and the parties, and we now intend to

comply with them to the extent that they are self-

explanatory. We have also conferred with the parties

concerning their respective understanding of the two

decisions, and both sides have submitted additional pro-

posed findings and conclusions of law. They agree that

no further evidence need be taken in this case, on the

issue of liability at least, and both parties have tendered

most of the findings which we made on September 21,

1979 after trial. Those findings did not specifically address

the issue of liability of defendant Equitable Life Assur-

ance Society of the United States and were not so in-

tended because Equitable had received a favorable ruling

from the bench at the close of all the evidence.

— “an

The “threshold” problem causing reversal by the Court

of Appeals is stated on p. 5 of the Order of October

25, 1982 to be “Equitable’s own motivation for inducing

the termination of the discotheque activities. . . .” The

Court of Appeals further stated, as we found, that

Equitable had legitimate grounds for terminating those

activities, citing various business or “legitimate” reasons

as contained in our findings 6, 7, and 10, inter alia.

The deficiency found by the Court of Appeals in our

finding in favor of the defendant Equitable at the close

of all the evidence pursuant to F.A.C.P. 52(a) was the

failure to support this finding by specific facts and con-

clusions on the record at that time. We subsequently

confirmed the decision in favor of Equitable by our

written decision of September 21, 1979, with no findings

or conclusions as to that defendant’s liability.

We now adopt our written findings to apply to defen-

dant Equitable Life Assurance Society as though made

specifically at the close of all the evidence. We further

4nd and conclude that business reasons, and not any

racial motivation, was the basis of Equitable’s eviction

action against Cockey Pride, Ltd., its tenant, filed in the

State court and settled December 17, 1975. (See Finding

14.) The filing of the lawsuit by Equitable was not a

pretext for eliminating a discotheque owned and operated

by blacks but was for the reason of protecting the in-

tegrity and value of its real estate. Defendant did not

show that Equitable’s reasons for filing the State court

lawsuit were pretextual, and there is no reason to be-

lieve that this defendant would have acted any differently

if the nuisance had been caused exclusively by white

patrons.

A new lease was entered into between Equitable and

Cockney Pride, Ltd., on March 1, 1976, generally in-

corporating the terms of the settlement of the State

court lawsuit, except that the settlement had also pro-

~~

vided that Equitable did not discriminate against Cock-

ney Pride on the basis of race. The lease forbade

evening “entertainment” and Coterie Seven moved else-

where. What happened thereafter between the landlord

and its tenant is irrelevant to this case, and it is our

finding that plaintiff adduced no evidence of racial

animus or discrimination by Equitable. In fact, we were

somewhat bemused at the time of trial that plaintiff chose

to proceed against Equitable at all.

We further find and conclude that the racial animus

evidenced on the part of T.B. & Z. Realty and Manage-

ment Corporation and its agent, the defendant Lester

Barritt, were not the acts of defendant Equitable. These

other two defendants were agents of Equitable for the

purpose of leasing and managing the premises, but their

discriminatory statements and conduct were not author-

ized by Equitable, were not condoned by Equitable, and

were not shown to be known by Equitable, except through

one business letter written by Barritt to Equitable on

June 20, 1974 (Finding 11). This letter was sent to

Equitable’s attorneys in New York for legal guidance,

but the racial innuendoes in the letter were not shown

to have been adopted by Equitable. The legal action

which followed was the eviction suit in the State court,

filed in late 1975. As found above, there is no evidence

that this action was racially motivated, and the tenant

stipulated that it was not.

The fact that the lawsuit was motivated in part to

eliminate a discotheque which was responsible for vari-

ous violations of the law and of the previous lease is not,

in our opinion, evidence of racial animus. Otherwise

it would be virtually impossible for a landlord to evict

an undesirable discotheque or other activity if it also

happened to be frequented by blacks.

The United States Supreme Court has entered yet

another decision explaining its views on the burden of

proof in a race discrimination case. United States Postal

— 4la —

Service v. Atkens, ........ Bae scans , 51 U.S.L.W. 4854 (Apr.

14, 1983). We read that decision as meaning that the

bottom line in deciding such cases, whether under § 1982

or Title VII, is on the weight of the evidence as a whole.

On the basis of our findings above, having reviewed our

previous findings, the findings which were adopted by

the two opinions of the Court of Appeals, and the pro-

posed findings and conclusions of the parties, it is our

conclusion that plaintiff has failed to prove by a pre-

ponderance of the evidence that the defendant The

Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States

committed, authorized or condoned any acts of racial

discrimination or animus against the plaintiff. In short,

the necessary nexus between the discriminatory acts

and statements and the defendant Equitable has not been

proved by the weight of the evidence.

The Court of Appeals has ruled that, if Equitable is

not liable, then the judgments against T.B. & Z. Realty

and Management Corporation and Lester S. Barritt

“would have no foundation to support them.” (Order

dated February 11, 1983, p. 4). The court then added:

On the other hand, if it be found that Barritt’s

direct communications with the lessee, Cockney

Pride, and his threats to the lessee and his conduct

as manager of the leased property were a substantial

factor in causing the elimination of plaintiff by the

lessee from conducting sets on the premises when

the new lease was made with Equitable, then the

liability of T.B.&Z. and Barritt would be established

and the judgments against them would be reinstated.

We understand this last statement to indicate that

T.B.&Z. and Barritt could be found lable because of

their own acts and statements in causing the tenant

Cockney Pride, Ltd. to terminate plaintiff’s activities.

Our decision of September 21, 1979 was based on the

theory that these other two defendants were acting in-

—

dependently of defendant Equitable and were liable for

their own discrimihatory motives, carried out by Cockney

Pride (see Findings 8 and 12 and page 10 of our

Decision). For that reason we reinstate the judgment

against T.B.&Z. Realty and Management Corporation and

Lester S. Barritt for damages and attorneys’ fees. A

Rule 58 judgment will be entered against them and in

behalf of plaintiff as of January 6, 1981 in the amount

of $6,008 and as of July 9, 1981 in the amount of

$18,517.11.

ENTER:

/s/ Thomas R. McMillen

Judge, United States District Court

DATED: JUL 8 1983

—

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

Unitep States District Court

District: Northern District Of Illinois

Docket Number 78 C 238

Name of Judge Thomas R. McMillen

Case Title

CoTeRIE SEVEN ENTERPRISES CorP.

Plaintiff

Vv.

EquitasBLe Lire Assurance Socrety Or U.S., et al

Defendants

[] Jury Verdict. This action came before the Court

and a jury with the judicial officer named above

presiding. The issues have been tried and the jury

has rendered its verdict.

[x] Decision by Court. This action came to trial or

hearing before the Court with the judge (magistrate)

named above presiding. The issues have been tried

or heard and a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED

that the judgment against T.B. & Z and Lester Barritt

for damages and attorneys’ fees is reinstated. Judgment

is entered against them and in behalf of the plaintiff,

Coterie Seven Enterprises Corp. as of January 6, 1981

in the amount of $6,008.00 and as of July 9, 1981 in the

amount of $18,517.11.

Clerk H. Stuart Cunningham

(By) Deputy Clerk /s/ Kathleen Branch

Date July 8, 1983

— 44a —

APPENDIX G

Unirep States Court Or APPEALS

For THe Seventa Criecult

Chicago, Illinois 60604

(Submitted May 5, 1982)

Reinstated August 19, 1983

June 21, 1984

Before

Hon. Ricuarp D. Cupany, Circuit Judge

Hon. Jessr E. Escupacn, Circuit Judge

Hon. Grorce Trmpuar, Senior District Judge*

No. 81-2305 & 81-2363

Cotertr Seven ENTERPRISES CORPORATION,

Plaintiff-Appellee-Cross Appellant,

vs.

T.B.& Z. Reattry Anp ManaGEMENT Corporation, and

Lester S. Barritt,

Defendants-Appellants-Cross Appellees,

and

THe Equiraste Lire Assurance Soctety Or Tue UNITep

STATEs,

Defendant-Cross Appellee.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division

No. 78-C-238

Hon. THomas R. McMruen, Judge

*The Honorable George Templar, Senior District

Judge of the United States District Court for the District

of Kansas, sitting by designation.

—

ORDER

This case comes back to us after the district court,

pursuant to our Order on Rehearing dated February

11, 1983, made supplemental findings of fact. We will

not reiterate the history of this case (See Order of October

25, 1982), but will address the parties’ legal challenges

in light of these supplemental findings.

We readily affirm the district court’s apportionment

of liability. Based on sufficient evidence, the district

court found that racial considerations partially motivated

T.B.&Z. Realty and Management Corporation (“TB&Z”)

and Lester Barritt to cause the termination of plaintiff’s

business activities at Cockney Pride restaurant. Accord-

ingly, judgment was properly entered against TB&Z and

Lester Barritt for violating 42 U.S.C. §§ 1981, 1982.

The district court found that The Equitable Life Assur-

ance Society of the United States (“Equitable”), on the

other hand, acted without racial motivation. Because

Equitable may not be held vicariously responsible for

the other defendants’ racial motives, see General Building

Contractors Ass’n v. Pennsylvania, 458 U.S. 375 (1982),

the case against Equitable was properly dismissed.

Moreover, we find no error in the amount of damages

awarded. In awarding the plaintiff $6,008.00 in lost

profits, the district court correctly did not deduct fixed

costs that the plaintiff bore whether or not it operated

at Cockney Pride. These costs were not reduced by

the illegal termination and thus did not provide a

“savings” to offset the lost income. See Buono Sales, Inc.

v. Chrysler Motors Corp., 449 F.2d 715, 719-20 (3d Cir.

1971); Rivenbark v. Finis P. Ernest, Inc., 37 Tl. App.

3d 536, 346 N.E.2d 494 (1976). We do not agree with

the plaintiff, however, that the $6,008.00 award must

be increased. Greater compensatory damages would be

unduly speculative, see generally Hannigan v. Sears, Roe-

buck and Co., 410 F.2d 285, 293 (7th Cir. 1969), and this

—_—

is not the type of case that demands a punitive award,

see Smith v. Wade, 103 S. Ct. 1625, 1638-40 (1983).

Finally, we hold that the district court did not abuse

its discretion in awarding the plaintiff $18,517.11 in

attorneys’ fees. The plaintiff succeeded in its only claim

—i.e., damages for the racially motivated termination.

The starting point for calculating fees, therefore, was

the product of the number of hours worked and a rea-

sonable rate of compensation. See Blum v. Stenson, 104

S. Ct. 1541, 1548 (1984). No automatic deduction was

required because the damages awarded were less than

the prayer, see Henseley v. Eckerhart, 103 S. Ct. 1933,

1940-41 n.11 (1983), nor because judgment was not

entered against Equitable, see Mary Beth G. v. Chicago,

723 F.2d 1263, 1281 (7th Cir. 1983). The district court

did exercise its discretion to exclude from the fee calcu-

lus time spent on redundant, excessive, and otherwise

unnecessary matters. See Hensley v. Eckerhart, 103 S.

Ct. 1933, 1940 (1983). The resultant figure was reasonable

and not, as TB&Z and Lester Barritt maintain, dis-

proportionately large in light of the judgment obtained.

See Coop v. South Bend, 635 F.2d 652 (7th Cir. 1980)

($6,000 fee award appropriate notwithstanding recovery

of only $510 in damages).

The judgments of the district court are therefore

affirmed. The plaintiff’s costs on appeal are taxed against

TB&Z and Lester Barritt. Equitable will bear its own

costs.

——— +: ees

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.