Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Villages, Inc. v. Metropolitan Development Commission

Supreme Court brief1985

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

eesive Supreme Court, US.

FILLED

84°1294 FEB 12 1985

ALEXANDER L. STEVAS,

CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

THE VILLAGES, INC.,

Petitioner,

Va

THE METROPOLITAN DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

OF MARION COUNTY,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE COURT OF APPEALS OF iNDIANA,

THIRD DISTRICT

WILSON S. STOBER

(Counsel of Record)

HARRY F. MCNAUGHT, JR.

BAKER & DANIELS

810 Fletcher Trust Building

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

(317) 636-4535

Counsel for Petitioner

PRATER, a ee ee

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON. D.C. 20001

QUESTION PRESENTED

This petition squarely presents the following question:

Whether construction of a zoning ordinance to prohibit a

married couple and several foster children from residing

together as a single housekeeping unit in a home situated

in an area zoned for one family dwelling constitutes

(a) a deprivation of property without due process

of law,

(b) a violation of the equal protection of the laws,

or

(ec) an infringment of the rights of association,

privacy, and family integrity.

PARTIES BELOW

The caption of the case contains the names of all par-

ties to the proceeding. Petitioner, The Villages, Inc., is a

Kansas not-for-profit corporation doing business in the

State of Indiana. Respondent, The Metropolitan Develop-

ment Commission of Marion County (‘‘Commission’’), is

a governmental entity established by state statute, Ind.

Code 36-7-4-202(c), for a consolidated city. Indianapolis

is the only consolidated city in Indiana.

(i)

i

Pa

- &

= A a

2

a

, 414

, [

; ~

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED o000......--c-scssscccsssvsessecssseeeeeeen

PARTIES BELOW ................. i as,

TABLE OF CONTENTS ....-..--ccscs-scccccssseeescecsssseeeeeseeee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...00..-----cccsss0s---cccessssssseeseeee

REPORTS OF OPINIONS BELOW |...

Nessa cncensonsurencnneces

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED .........

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...0....-.---00------- eee

A.

B.

I iecasatataninsatinesands eisai ccmtbaaiatbblibhbnihanansie

RAISING THE FEDERAL QUESTIONS........

REASONS THE WRIT SHOULD BE GRANTED......

A. THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH

B.

C.

OTHER DECISIONS ON THE SAME ISSUE..

A ZONING ORDINANCE PROHIBITING A

FOSTER FAMILY FROM RESIDING TO-

GETHER AS A SINGLE HOUSEKEEPING

UNIT IN AN AREA ZONED FOR ONE-

FAMILY DWELLINGS CONSTITUTES A

DEPRIVATION OF PROPERTY WITHOUT

DUE PROCESS OF LAW. ............ scelnadenicnnctattane

EXCLUSION OF A FOSTER FAMILY FROM

A ONE-FAMILY DWELLING DISTRICT

VIOLATES THE EQUAL PROTECTION OF

aaa cia dieiphanainddetnnnanshanciiesieeicatnaacase

. EXCLUSION OF A FOSTER FAMILY FROM

A ONE-FAMILY DWELLING DISTRICT IN-

FRINGES UPON FUNDAMENTAL RIGHTS

OF ASSOCIATION, PRIVACY, AND FAM-

cana anernncngnenahennanabanndaanassannenee

ai iasdininditanatshanensthndcnshansnaninsnasncesnncnanioes

APPENDICES

20

23

29

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page

Agins v. City of Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255 (1980) ...... 15

Ashwander v. Tennessee Valley Authority, 297

WER I CD een cknincciwriceeneertcirecics 17 n.10

Berger v. State, 71 N.J. 206, 364 A.2d 993 (1976)... 10

Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union of United States, '

Fae., 104 S. Ct. 1968 (2966) ................................. 15

Charter Township of Delta v. Dinolfo, 419 Mich.

258, 351 N.W.2d 831 (1964) ..............................-.- ll

Children’s Aid Society v. Zoning Board of Ad-

justment, 44 Pa. Commw. 123, 402 A.2d 1162

CID accents eceenenndactrenesnianinineanereninaiioinnie 10

Children’s Home of Easton v. City of Easton, 53

Pa. Commw. 216, 417 A.2d 830 (1980) ................ 10

City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center, 726

F.2d 191 (5th Cir.), cert. granted, 105 S. Ct.

Sy ID scncocanuissercesieniersesboourenesnneations 8 n.3, 21, 22, 29

City of Des Plaines v. Trottner, 34 Ill.2d 432, 216

2} i Blk RRR ee eeiecsererernn 18

City of Eastlake v. Forest City Enterprises, Inc.,

Oe eh I ks cacndendstconeianinienens 16 n.9

City of Santa Barbara v. Adamson, 164 Cal. Rptr.

RAF Be neon 11, 12

City of White Plains v. Ferraioli, 34 N.Y.2d 300,

SE IED CUI, TIO ste cssctnssasaneniesincninncniesaneienness 10,18

Clark v. Community for Creative Non-Violence, 104

i I saa cemedacliniininnodlobal 28, 28 n.19

Cleveland Board of Education v. LaFleur, 414 U.S.

I a a alate aes cent lainmacctanisnsnal 24

Drummond v. Fulton County Department of Fam-

ily and Children Services, 547 F.2d 835 (5th

Cir.), rev’d, 563 F.2d 1200 (5th Cir. 1977) (en

banc), cert. denied, 487 U.S. 910 (1978) ............. 26 n.17

Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965) _..... 24

Group House of Port Washington, Inc. v. Board of

Zoning and Appeals of the Town of North

Hempstead, 45 N.Y.2d 266, 380 N.E.2d 207

IIE a orios <5 cic laden neces ickee cibineneaesneiermataoeneeoen Seal 10, 19

Hamuer v. Best, 656 S.W.2d 253 (Ky. App. 1983)... 10

Hessling v. City of Broomfield, 193 Colo. 124, 563

I te OED pccsnasiasestnncntctnssttnecianinbadininmciienniinnane 10

V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Holy Name Hospital v. Montroy, 153 N.J. Super.

Big Cee ae I CTO ce eervecccnctsineventncceremecenmentane 11

Hopkins v. Zoning Hearing Board of Abington

Township, 55 Pa. Commw. 365, 423 A.2d 1082

SEITE chipApinieacdeleiendigegsiniiienh cata ee a 10

Kirsch Holding Co. v. Borough of Manasquan, 59

N.J. 241, 281 A.2d 518 (1971)... 18

Kyees v. County Department of Public Welfare of

Tippecanoe County, 600 F.2d 693 (7th Cir.

i ROTOR IND ee ee Ale ey ocala Mae ee pho 26 n.17

Lakeside Youth Service v. Zoning Hearing Board

of Upper Moreland Township, 51 Pa. Commw.

485, 414 A.2d 11165 (1980) ..................................... 20 n.15

Lehr v. Robertson, 463 U.S. 248 (1983) 24, 25

Louisville Gas & Electric Co. v. Coleman, State

Auditor, 277 1.3. 33 (1988). .................................. 20

Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1 (1967) 24

McMinn v. Town of Oyster Bay, N.E.2d ——,

N.Y.L.J., December 26, 1984, p. 1, col. 4 (Sup.

Ct., App. Div., 2nd Dept., 1984)... 11

Massachusetts v. Upton, 104 S. Ct. 2085 (1984) ...... 12 n.4

May v. Anderson, 345 U.S. 528 (1953) 24

Members of the City Council of the City of Los

Angeles v. Taxpayers for Vincent, 104 S. Ct.

|) BERR ea ler Come EDN TOES 1s eee 28

Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923) ...... hia 6, 24

Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032 (1983) _......... 11,11n.4

Moore v. City of East Cleveland, 481 U.S. 494

CR setae inrckid 5, 6, 8, 9, 12, 17, 20, 24, 25, 26, 27 n.18

Nectow v. City of Cambridge, 277 U.S. 183 (1927)... 16, 20

Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 (1925)... 22, 24

Plyler v. Doe, 457 U.S. 202 (1982) _........0000. 9, 23

Prince v. Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158 (1944)... 24

Rivera v. Marcus, 696 F.2d 1016 (2nd Cir. 1982) ..26 n.17

Roberts v. United States Jaycees, 104 S. Ct. 3244

CUTE nchaetstastinscetieanantoccia ts ieee a 23, 25, 27

Santosky v. Kramer, 455 U.S. 745 (1982) 23

Saunders v. Clark County Zoning Department, 66

Ohio St.2d 259, 421 N.E.2d 152 (1981)... 5, 6, 10

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Schad v. Borough of Mt. Ephraim, 452 U.S. 61

IIIT ncn eriactnditehiniphenetnaananiaginiatennnsleassaheaeanane 18, 15, 18

Secretary of State of Maryland v. Joseph H. Mun-

son Co., Inc., 104 S. Ct. 28389 (1984) ..................... 22

Sherrard v. Owens, 644 F.2d 542 (6th Cir.) (per

curiam), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 828 (1981) ....... 26 n.17

Skinner v. Oklahoma ex rel. Williamson, 316 U.S.

SII citi ts nisi cipndidehetaleuhauadhdnegliohabenaenalaniltins 24

Smith v. Organization of Foster Families for

Equality and Reform, 4381 U.S. 816 (1977)......5, 22, 24,

25, 26

Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645 (1972) .................. 24, 25

State ex rel. Ellis v. Liddle, 520 S.W.2d 644 (Mo.

SII TEI.‘ cannnssennnanesilinsindicnssiesecnaiiinastalialoiaisiseihiveapeciiant 10

State v. Baker, 81 N.J. 99, 405 A.2d 368 (1979)...... 11, 12

Thomas v. Collins, 323 U.S. 516 (1945) .................. 18

United States Department of Agriculture v.

Moreno, 418 U.S. 528 (1978) ..... SSE 9, 21

United States v. O’Brien, 391 U.S. 367 (1968) ........ 27, 28,

28 n.19

Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas, 416 U.S. 1 (1974)... 5, 6, 8,

12, 15, 16, 16 n.9, 17, 21, 25

Village of Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co., 272 US.

2g RE 6, 8, 14, 15, 17, 18, 18 n.12, 19,

19 n.13, 20, 21

Village of University Heights v. Cleveland Jewish

Orphans’ Home, 20 F.2d 743 (6th Cir.), cert.

denied, 275 U.S. 569 (1927) ................ 10, 17, 18, 20 n.15

Washington ex rel. Seattle Title Trust Co. v.

Roberge, 278 U.S. 116 (1928) .......................... 15, 16 n.9

Wengert v. Zoning Hearing Board of Upper

Merion Tewnship, 51 Pa. Commw. 79, 414 A.2d

| RETIRE SUR LCR pe a 20 n.15

Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 589 (1974) -............... 26 n.17

Women’s Kansas City St. Andrew Society v. Kan-

sas City, Mo., 58 F.2d 593 (8th Cir. 19382) ......... 16 n.9,

20 n.15

Zablocki v. Redhail, 484 U.S. 374 (1978) —........ 24, 25, 27

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS: Page

U.S. Const., Amendment IX _....... 2

U.S. Const., Amendment XIV, Section 1... 2

STATUTES AND ORDINANCE:

5 CENT Rr a ee a ee 2

ER TE 2

Ind. Code § 36-7-4-202(C) _..........ooccccccccccccccecececceceeceee i

Dwelling Districts Zoning Ordinance, Code of In-

dianapolis and Marion County, Indiana 2

MISCELLANEOUS:

Annot., 12 A.L.R. 4th 238 (1983)... none 12

Annot., 71 A.L.R. 3d 693 (1976) 8

Brennan, State Constitutions in the Protection of

Individual Rights, 90 Harv. L. Rev. 498 (1977).. 12 n.4

Carlin, Moore v. City of East Cleveland: Freedom

of Personal Choice for The Extended Family, 10

ma, TF. Ke, TU. GE CRITI nna nn cance vtecsecseeennnnne 13

Comment, 91 Harv. L. Rev. 1427 (1978) _............. 13

Hartman, Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas: Belle

Terre is a Nice Place to Visit—But Only ‘Fam-

ilies’ May Live There, 8 Urb. L. Ann. 198

RN giviadisddiiientctaiiiieetaninecebaietc ieee rae X. 12 n.5

Note, Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas: A Sanctu-

ary for People, 9 U.S.F.L. Rev. 391 (1974)........ 12 n.5

Perry, Modern Equal Protection: a conceptualiza-

tion and appraisal, 79 Celum. L. Rev. 1028

UISTIIIET Ssss tuicienbauashiicicoscsadkaansecpalibseuadiiie taceiaicaenpenscacaae tiem 13

Statistical Abstract of the United States (104th

Bs ITE <ciniceniniseniiicaninn iosehasacsliiehaiiidsanintaseaiacbaiaaanciadae 27 n.18

Supreme Court Rule 17.1(b) 20.0000 12n.4

L. Tribe, American Constitutional Law (1978)... 12

Williams and Doughty, Studies in Legal Realism:

Mount Laurel, Belle Terre, and Berman, 29

Rutgers L. Rev. 78 (1975) ...............0.0.0.00000000. .. 12n.5

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

No.

THE VILLAGES, INC.,

Petitioner,

Vv.

THE METROPOLITAN DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

OF MARION COUNTY,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE COURT OF APPEALS OF INDIANA,

THIRD DISTRICT

Petitioner, The Villages, Inc. (“The Villages’), respect-

fully prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the

judgment and opinion entered by the Court of Appeals of

Indiana, Third District, in this cause on June 138, 1984,

the Supreme Court of Indiana having denied The Vil-

lages’ petition to transfer on November 15, 1984.

REPORTS OF OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Municipal Court of Marion County,

Room No. 12, is not reported, but is reproduced in the

Appendix. App. 17a. The majority and dissenting opin-

ions of the Court of Appeals of Indiana, Third District,

are reported at 464 N.E.2d 367. App. la-16a. The split

decision of the Supreme Court of Indiana, denying trans-

fer, is also included in the Appendix. App. 34a.

aati eee aaa

2

JURISDICTION

Jurisdiction to review the judgment below is invoked

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(3). The judgment of the

Court of Appeals of Indiana was entered on June 13,

1984. App. la. A timely petition for rehearing in the

Court of Appeals was denied on July 17, 1984. App. 33a.

A timely petition to transfer to the Supreme Court of

Indiana was denied by an order dated November 15,

1984. App. 34a. This petition is timely under 28 U.S.C.

§ 2101(c), having been filed within 90 days of the date

upon which the Supreme Court of Indiana denied discre-

tionary review.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

AND ORDINANCE INVOLVED

Amendment 1X, United States Constitution

“The Enumeration in the Constitution, of Certain

Rights, Shall Not be Construed to Deny or Disparage

Others Retained by the People.”

Amendment XIV, Section 1, United States Constitution

“No State Shall... Deprive Any Person of Life, Lib-

erty, or Property Without Due Process of Law; Nor Deny

to Any Person Within its Jurisdiction the Equal Protec-

tion of the Laws.”

Relevant portions of the zoning ordinance involved,

Dwelling Districts Ordinance of Marion County, Indiana,

are set forth in the Appendix at pages 36a-50a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Facts

This case focuses upon the right of a married couple

and a reasonable number of foster children to make their

home, as a single-housekeeping unit, in a house situated

in an area zoned for one-family dwellings. The Villages

has been providing homes for orphans and abused, aban-

3

doned, or neglected children throughout the Midwest since

the 1960s. With the aid and encouragement of private

philanthropic funding grants, The Villages began estab-

lishing several homes for foster children in Indiana in

1980.

The Villages unites children with foster parents who

will care for their emotional, nutritional, and other needs

on a permanent basis, just as natural parents would do,

in a home setting which in every respect mirrors a tra-

ditional family residence. The foster parents reside in a

home provided by The Villages on an around-the-clock

basis. The home serves as their exclusive residence. The

home also serves as the permanent home for the children

as long as it is in their best interests, usually until gradu-

ation from high school. Trial Court Decision, App. 19a-

20a.

Great care is taken to determine each child’s “willing-

ness, ability and commitment to live in and contribute to

a family environment and to remain in tl > home through

high school graduation.” Jd. The children attend the

same local schools as other neighborhood children.

In the fall of 1982, The Villages found a large house

in a residential area of Indianapolis ideally suited for a

family. The home had been previously occupied by a

married couple and their eleven children. Id. at 19a. The

Villages closed the purchase of the property after receiv-

ing advice from legal counsel that the foster family use

it contemplated for the dwelling was permissible under

the local zoning ordinance.

1 Only after The Villages had entered an unconditional agree-

ment to purchase the property in October, 1982, did zoning authori-

ties first assert that residential zoning was somehow inappropriate

for foster family use of the home. Counsel for The Villages then

wrote the zoning authorities explaining how the Villages’ proposed

use fitted within the applicable ordinance. The letter went un-

answered for over a month and The Villages closed the real estate

purchase as required by its contract. After the closing, zoning

authorities reasserted their position that The Villages’ proposed

use was illegal. Trial Court Decision, App. 20a-21a.

4

The Commission instituted this action in the Municipal

Court of Marion County, Room No. 12, on March 1, 1983,

seeking a preliminary and permanent injunction barring

the proposed use of The Villages’ property by the foster

family, contending that the use was not permitted under

the local zoning ordinance which limits the property in

question to a “one-family dwelling” use. App. 39a. The

ordinance does not contain a definition of “family” or

“one-family.”

On March 9, 1983, a full hearing was conducted by the

trial court and on April 18, 1983, the trial court issued

its opinion, including detailed findings of fact and con-

clusions of law, and entered final judgment in favor of

The Villages, ruling that the proposed use of the home by

a foster family fit comfortably within the meaning of

“one-family.” The trial court’s findings of fact have

never been challenged below.

The trial court found that the “house-parents and the

foster children will keep and maintain the house as a

single-housekeeping unit, having one kitchen, eating to-

gether at mealtime, celebrating holidays together, and

enjoying vacations together.” “[T]jhe house will be uti-

lized by persons living there as a family, as a single-

housekeeping unit and as their sole personal residence.”

App. 19a, 22a. The trial court further found that The

Villages’ proposed use of the home “will have every ap-

pearance of a one-family dwelling” and that the purpose

in establishing the residence was “to emulate a stable

family environment for children who would otherwise not

have one.” Id. at 19a-20a.

The trial court, observing that the applicable zoning

ordinance lacked any specific definition of “family,” can-

vassed case law from other jurisdictions interpreting sim-

ilar ordinances. The trial court expressly recognized the

basic premise that the term family should be interpreted

broadly in order to avoid the constitutional infirmity pre-

5

sented by a narrow construction, relying upon the follow-

ing statement in Saunders v. Clark County Zoning De-

partment, 66 Ohio St.2d 259, 421 N.E.2d 152, 155 (1981):

In our view, any resolution seeking to define this

term narrowly would unconstitutionally intrude upon

an individual’s right to choose the family living ar-

rangement best suited to him and his loved ones.

Moore v. East Cleveland (1977), 481 U.S. 494,

a

App. 24a (parallel citations omitted).

The trial judge further recognized that the “pursuit of

the goal of a ‘. . . quiet place where yards are wide,

people few, and motor vehicles restricted .. .’ isa legitimate

interest of land use regulation. Village of Belle Terre v.

Boraas, 416 U.S. 1... [a]nd the term ‘family’ must be

defined within that context.” App. 24a-25a. The court

below found that the interests of the foster children were

identical to these legitimate state interests underlying

single-family zoning districts, observing that the tranquil

characteristics of single-family districts attracted the

foster family to the area and that the “needs and desires

[of the existing residents and the foster family] ... are

the same—a quiet peaceful neighborhood.” App. 25a.

The trial judge concluded that a compelling governmen-

tal interest would be required to justify a definition of

family which would exclude a foster family from residing

in a home owned by The Villages in the one-family dwell-

ing zoning district, quoting from Saunders v. Clark

County Zoning Department, supra, 421 N.E.2d at 155-56:

A family unit, which performs a social function of

child-rearing, regardless of its relationship or com-

position or whether it includes foster children as well

as natural children, is constitutionally protected

against governmental intrusion not supported by a

compelling governmental interest. Smith v. Organi-

zation of Foster Families (1977), 431 U.S. 816, 844-

845 ...; Wisconsin v. Yoder [406 U.S. 205 (1972)]:

6

Meyer v. Nebraska (1923), 262 U.S. 390, 399-401

...; 91 Harv. L. Rev. 1427, 1571-1574.

App. 30a (parallel citations omitted). Not surprisingly,

the court below found such a compelling governmental in-

terest lacking in this case. Id.

The Commission appealed, and a divided panel of the

Court of Appeals of Indiana reversed the judgment of the

trial court. 464 N.E.2d 367 (1984). The majority did

not disturb any of the trial court’s findings of fact. In-

stead, based on its analysis of the language of the zoning

ordinance, the majority concluded that the foster family

did not constitute a “family” within the meaning of the

ordinance as a matter of law, primarily relying upon the

legal maxim expressio unius est exclusio alterius. The

majority opinion brushes by the significant constitutional

issues raised by The Villages in holding:

Local governments may reasonably restrict the use of

land into districts for the promotion of public health,

safety, morals, and welfare. Euclid v. Ambler Realty

Co. (1926), 272 U.S. 365. ... The police power of

local legislative bodies may be properly used to limit

the number of non-related persons inhabiting homes

and residential districts without violating constitu-

tional rights. Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas,

(1974) 416 U.S. 1...; see also Moore v. Cleveland,

(1977) 431 U.S. 494. ... Thus, the issue at bar is

not constitutional in nature, but instead involves a

question of statutory interpretation.

464 N.E.2d at 368-69 (parallel citations omitted) ; App.

3a.

Relying upon decisions from numerous other jurisdic-

tions, and accusing the majority of attempting “to evade”

Saunders and other cited cases, the dissent concluded that

the contemplated use of the residence as a home for foster

children “in a simulated family environment constitutes

a single-family dwelling within the restrictions of the

zoning ordinance.” Jd. at 371 (Ratliff, J., dissenting) ;

App. 9a.

7

By a vote of 3-2, the Supreme Court of Indiana denied

The Villages’ petition to transfer (discretionary review),

with the two dissenting judges voting to grant transfer,

reverse the decision of the Court of Appeals and affirm

the trial court. This Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

follows.”

B. Raising the Federal Questions

The Villages raised the federal questions sought to be

reviewed at every stage of the state court proceedings.

The Villages argued in the trial court that application of

the ordinance to exclude a foster family from residing

in a one-family dwelling district would constitute a viola-

tion of the due process and equal protection clauses, and

infringe fundamental liberties of association, privacy, and

family integrity. App. 5la-52a. The trial court agreed

with The Villages’ contention that a narrow construction

of the statute excluding this foster family from the one-

family dwelling district would violate fundamental con-

stitutional rights, and found no compelling state interest

to justify such an infringement. See supra at 5-6; App.

30a. The Villages repeated its constitutional arguments

in defense of the trial court judgment in its brief on ap-

peal before the Court of Appeals of Indiana, App. 53a-

54a, in its Petition for Rehearing before the Court of Ap-

peals, App. 55a-56a, and in its Petition for Transfer to

the Supreme Court of Indiana, App. 57a-58a. The ma-

jority of the Court of Appeals rejected The Villages’ con-

stitutional arguments in a cursory fashion, see supra at

6, App. 3a, and by the narrowest of margins the Supreme

Court of Indiana declined to exercise its discretion to

grant transfer of the case.

? As a result of proceedings in this case in the trial court and

the Court of Appeals subsequent to the denial of transfer by the

Supreme Court of Indiana, The Villages is being required to remove

the foster family from the home by June 30, 1985.

8

REASONS THE WRIT SHOULD BE GRANTED

This case challenges the power of the state to exclude

a foster family which is functionally identical to a family

of related persons from an area restricted by a zoning

ordinance to orie-family dwelling uses. The issue arises

with increasing frequency in recent times and has na-

tionwide practical significance. In light of the Village of

Belle Terre v. Boraas, 416 U.S. 1 (1974), and Moore v.

City of East Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494 (1977), decisions,

this issue possesses a doctrinal importance transcending

the immediate factual situation, and currently is the sub-

ject of conflicting decisions by both state and lower federal

courts.

Virtually all municipalities in this Nation commonly

reserve large areas within their jurisdiction for use by

single-family residences through exercise of their zoning

authority. Annot., 71 A.L.R.3d 693 (1976). The question

of what constitutes a family under these ordinances has

been a fertile source of litigation. Jd. Many ordinances

explicitly impose a requirement that the individuals resid-

ing together in a single-family district be biologically re-

lated to one another.

A zoning ordinance which establishes a single-family

district is unconstitutional if applied to exclude a foster

family from residing in the single-family zoning district.

Application of such an ordinance to exclude residential

use by the foster family is “clearly arbitrary and un-

reascnable, having no substantial relation to the public

health, safety, morals, or general welfare” under the test

of Village of Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co., 272 U.S. 365,

395 (1926). It is equally invalid under the Equal Protec-

tion Clause, irrespective of what level of scrutiny is ap-

plied.* The distinction between foster families and related

3 Currently pending before the Court is City of Cleburne v.

Cleburne Living Center, 726 F.2d 191 (5th Cir. 1984), cert. granted,

105 S. Ct. 427 (1984), which also involves the application of a

zoning ordinance excluding a group of unrelated persons from a

residential zoning district. Although the facts of Cleburne may

_

9

families fails to survive even minimal scrutiny in the con-

text of a single-family zoning ordinance, since it is not

“rationally related to a legitimate governmental interest,”

United States Department of Agriculture v. Moreno, 413

U.S. 528, 534 (1973), and further fails to survive the de-

manding standard of scrutiny more appropriate in this

case, see Plyler v. Doe, 457 U.S. 202 (1982).

Finally, exclusion of foster families from single-family

districts violates in a most basic fashion the rights of

association, privacy, and family integrity of the foster

parents and foster children and does not serve a counter-

vailing compelling governmental interest. See, e.g., Moore

v. City of East Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494 (1977).

Before analyzing the questions presented, it should be

emphasized what this case does not involve. The Villages

does not challenge the legitimacy of single-family zoning

districts. To the contrary, The Villages seeks the same

desirable protection afforded to families residing in such

districts. Moreover, The Villages does not contend that

the state has an affirmative constitutional obligation to

place displaced children in a traditional home setting or

in the least restrictive environment possible. Rather, The

Villages contends that the private efforts of citizens to

provide a family and a home for displaced children are

protected against irrational and arbitrary interference

by the state, and that a married couple attempting to es-

tablish a family with foster children is protected against

state interference not supported by a compelling govern-

mental interest.

A. THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH

OTHER DECISIONS ON THE SAME ISSUE

The decision below is in direct conflict with decisions

in other jurisdictions which hold that exclusion of foster

families from single-family residency districts is uncon-

lead to a different result, it becomes apparent that a hold of the

instant petition may be in order for the reasons more fully dis-

cussed in the text below at pages 21-22.

10

stitutional, either on the due process ground that no legit-

imate state interest in zoning is rationally served by such

an exclusion, Children’s Home of Easton v. City of Easton,

53 Pa. Commw. 216, 417 A.2d 830, 833 (1980) ; Hopkins

v. Zoning Hearing Board of Abington Township, 55 Pa.

Commw. 365, 423 A.2d 1082, 1084-85 (1980); Berger v.

State, 71 N.J. 206, 364 A.2d 993, 1002 (1976); see Vil-

lage of University Heights v. Cleveland Jewish Orphans’

Home, 20 F.2d 743, 745 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 275 U.S.

569 (1927), or on the ground that such an exclusion

would unconstitutionally intrude upon an_ individual’s

right to choose the family living arrangement best suited

to him and his loved ones, Saunders v. Clark County

Zoning Department, 66 Ohio St.2d 259, 421 N.E.2d 152,

155-56 (1981).

The decision below is also in conflict with decisions in

other jurisdictions holding that a foster family consisting

of a married couple and foster children who reside to-

gether as a single housekeeping unit meets the definition

of a single-family residence even under an ordinance

which explicitly contains a requirement that the individ-

uals be related. Children’s Aid Society v. Zoning Board

of Adjustment, 44 Pa. Commw. 123, 402 A.2d 1162

(1979) ; Group House of Port Washington v. Board of

Zoning, 45 N.Y.2d 266, 380 N.E.2d 207 (1978) ; Hessling

v. City of Broomfield, 193 Colo. 124, 563 P.2d 12 (1977);

State ex rel, Ellis v. Liddle, 520 S.W.2d 644 (Mo. App.

1975) ; City of White Plains v. Ferraioli, 34 N.Y.2d 300,

313 N.E.2d 756 (1974); cf. Hamner v. Best, 656 S.W.2d

253 (Ky. App. 1983) (where ordinance lacked definition

of single family). While these cases may not expressly

rest their judgments on constitutional grounds, they never-

theless bear on the constitutional questions presented by

the case at bar. These cases hold, even in the face of a

single-family zoning ordinance expressly requiring that

the individuals comprising the household be related, that

a foster home of unrelated individuals functionally iden-

tical to the families permitted to reside in the district by

the statute, are likewise families within the meaning of

11

the statute. The basic thrust of these cases is that it is

irrational and arbitrary to exclude from an area zoned

exclusively for families a family unit which in every ma-

terial respect constitutes a family and advances the pur-

poses which the zoning ordinance serves.

Finally, the decision below is in conflict with decisions

in other jurisdictions declaring invalid on state constitu-

tional grounds requirements that individuals residing in

a single-family zoning district be related. McMinn v.

Town of Oyster Bay, N.E.2d , N.Y.LJ., De-

cember 26, 1984, p. 1, col. 4 (Sup.Ct., App. Div., 2nd

Dept. 1984); Charter Township of Delta v. Dinolfo, 419

Mich. 258, 351 N.W.2d 831 (1984); City of Santa Bar-

bara v. Adamson, 164 Cal.Rptr. 539, 610 P.2d 436

(1980) ; State v. Baker, 81 N.J. 99, 405 A.2d 368 (1979) ;

Holy Name Hospital v. Montroy, 153 N.J. Super. 181, 379

A.2d 299 (1977). While these cases seem to meet the

“plain statement” requirement of Michigan v. Long, 463

U.S. 1032 (1983), and hence in an abstract, jurispruden-

tial sense decide no federal constitutional question, the

conclusions and analysis of these cases are irreconcilable

with the decision below, and it seems plain that, were

these state courts to reach the federal constitutional

question presented in this case, they would resolve it in

a way which conflicts with the decision below. Indeed, in

Charter Township of Delta v. Dinolfo, supra, the Su-

preme Court of Michigan expressly recognized that the

rational relationship test it was applying under the state

constitution was the same test required by the Constitu-

tion of the United States, and that the state test had its

roots in federal constitutional law. 351 N.W.2d at 843

n.7. Similarly, in State v. Baker, supra, and Holy Name

Hospital v. Montroy, supra, the court struck down zoning

ordinances applying the same substantive test which is

applicable to a federal constitutional! challenge.‘

4 This Court has recently encouraged state courts to rest their

judgments on state grounds. E.g., Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032

12

The conflict in decisions on the questions presented by

this case is just one manifestation of the lower courts’

difficulty in reconciling this Court’s decisions in Village of

Belle Terre v. Boraas, 416 U.S. 1 (1974), and Moore v.

City of East Cleveland, 481 U.S. 494 (1977). See gen-

erally Annot., 12 A.L.R.4th 238 (1983). Indeed, Belle

Terre has been widely criticized by the commentators,”

and courts and commentators alike question whether

Belle Terre still does declare federal law after this

Court’s decision in Moore. Uncertainty on this issue

abounds. See, e.g., City of Santa Barbara v. Adamson,

supra, 610 P.2d at 440 n.3; State v. Baker, supra, 405

A.2d at 374; L. Tribe, American Constitutional Law, Sec-

(1983) ; Massachusetts v. Upton, 104 S. Ct. 2085 (1984) (Stevens,

J., concurring in the judgment); see generally Brennan, State

Constitutions in the Protection of Individual Rights, 90 Harv. L.

Rev. 498 (1977). The cases cited in the text demonstrate that

the state courts are responding to this encouragement. This devel-

opment, however, necessarily means that there will be fewer state

court judgments on the merits of federal constitutional issues, and

hence it will be increasingly difficult to demonstrate a conflict in

the decisions of the state courts on federal constitutional issues of

the same scope which may have been required in the past. See

Supreme Court Rule 17.1(b). Accordingly, this Court should ex-

amine state court decisions resting on parallel state constitutional

provisions in ascertaining the scope of a conflict on an important

question of corresponding federal constitutional law, particularly

where, as in this case, the state courts are applying the same sub-

stantive test which would be required on the federal constitutional

question. The fact that this Court lacks jurisdiction to review

those state court judgments does not preclude this sort of con-

sideration. Failure to consider such state court decisions in ascer-

taining the scope of conflict would insulate many questions from

review where the absence of a conflict, or the apparent limited

nature of a conflict, is wholly illusory.

5 See, e.g., Williams and Doughty, Studies in Legal Realism:

Mount Laurel, Belle Terre, and Berman, 29 Rutgers L. Rev. 73,

76-82 (1975); Hartman, Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas: Belle

Terre is a Nice Place to Visit—But Only ‘Families’ May Live There,

8 Urb. L. Ann. 193 (1974); Note, Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas:

A Sanctuary for People, 9 U.S.F.L. Rev. 391 (1974).

13

tion 15-18, at 974, Section 15-21, at 989 (1978); Carlin,

Moore v. City of East Cleveland: Freedom of Personal

Choice for the Extended Family, 10 Sw. U. L. Rev. 651

(1978); Perry, Modern Equal Protection: a conceptual-

ization and appraisal, 79 Colum. L. Rev. 1023, 1073

(1979); Comment, 91 Harv. L. Rev. 1427, 1576-78

(1978).°

As will be demonstrated below, the decision of the di-

vided panel of the Court of Appeals of Indiana in this

case is inconsistent with the constitutional teachings of

the applicable decisions of this Court. This case presents

important questions which have not been, but which

should be, resolved by this Court.

B. A ZONING ORDINANCE PROHIBITING A

FOSTER FAMILY FROM RESIDING TOGETHER

AS A SINGLE HOUSEKEEPING UNIT IN AN

AREA ZONED FOR ONE-FAMILY DWELLINGS

CONSTITUTES A DEPRIVATION OF PROPERTY

WITHOUT DUE PROCESS OF LAW

While the power of local governments to control land

use is broad, “the zoning power is not infinite and un-

challengeable; it ‘must be exercised within constitutional

limits.’ ”’ Schad v. Borough of Mt. Ephraim, 452 U.S. 61,

67 (1981) (citation omitted) .’

* The widespread uncertainty with respect to the federal consti-

tutional doctrine applicable to exertions of the zoning power in a

fashion which limits the compositions of households appears to

be another reason why state courts are resting their judgments on

state constitutional grounds.

7 The Court of Appeals’ decision in this case fails to recognize

this unassailable proposition, essentially concluding that because an

exercise of the zoning power is involved, no constitutional question

is presented. See App. 3a. This basic error in reasoning by the

Court of Appeals of Indiana may not warrant this Court’s review,

but the substantive arguments which petitioner raised below, which

were never addressed by the Court of Appeals, plainly do merit

review by this Court.

14

In this Court’s seminal decision analyzing the limita-

tions placed upon the exercise of zoning powers by the

Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment, the

Court recognized that the “line which in this field sep-

arates the legitimate from the illegitimate assumption of

power is not capable of precise delimitation. It varies

with circumstances and conditions.” Village of Euclid v.

Ambler Realty Co., 272 U.S. 365, 387 (1926). Borrow-

ing from the law of nuisance, the Court reasoned that the

question of whether zoning power could be legitimately

used to forbid a particular use of property is to be deter-

mined not by abstract consideration of the use, “but by

considering it in connection with the circumstances and

locality,” noting that a “nuisance may be merely a right

thing in the wrong place, like a pig in the parlor instead

of the barnyard.” Id,

Euclid established that a zoning restriction constitutes

a deprivation of property without due process of law

where the distinction drawn by the ordinance between

the prohibited use and the permitted use is “clearly arbi-

trary and unreasonable, having no substantial relation to

the public health, safety, morals or general welfare.” Jd.

at 395. Euclid also recognized that such a determination

must be made in light of contemporary society. In noting

that regulations which would have been rejected as arbi-

trary and oppressive in a previous time were then being

universally sustained, the Court observed that:

While the meaning of constitutional guarantees never

varies, the scope of their application must expand or

contract to meet the new and different conditions

which are constantly coming within the field of their

operation. In a changing world, it is impossible that

it should be otherwise.

Id. at 387.

The basic test established by Euclid to determine the

validity of zoning ordinances affecting property interests

é

;

:

BID AO Ted

15

remains the controlling standard today. E.g., Schad v,

Borough of Mt. Ephraim, supra, 452 U.S. at 67; Agins v.

City of Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255, 260 (1980). The content

of any such genera] test, however, “is not revealed sim-

ply by its literal text, but rather is given meaning

through the evolutionary process of common law adjudi-

cation. . . .”. Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union of United

States, Inc., 104 S. Ct. 1949, 1960 (1984).*

This Court provided just such additional content to the

Euclid ruie in Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas, 416 U.S.

1 (1974), a case dealing with the collective housing of

college students. In upholding against a facial attack the

constitutionality of a single-family zoning ordinance

which required the occupants of the dwellings in the dis-

trict to be related, the Court observed that the ordinance

established ‘“‘zones where family values, use values, and

the blessings of quiet seclusion and clean air make the

area a sanctuary for people.” Jd. at 9.

By way of contrast, the Court noted that Washington

ex rel. Seattle Title Trust Co. v. Roberge, 278 U.S. 116

(1928), struck down a zoning ordinance prohibiting a

philanthropic “home for children or old people” in a resi-

dential district unless the surrounding property owners

consented to the use. The Court in Belle Terre observed

that the Roberge Court “concluded that the . . . ordinance

was invalid since the proposed home for the aged was

not shown by its maintenance and construction ‘to work

8 While cases which merely involve the application of settled

principles of constitutional law to the fects of a particular case

often do not warrant this Court’s review, in a case such as this—

where the content of the rule gains true meaning only through

case-by-case adjudication—review is warranted where either (a)

the factual setting is a common one spawning significant litigation

and conflicting decisions, or (b) application of the rule in the

particular factual setting significantly clarifies the fundamental

questions posed by the rule or sheds new light on additional factors

implicated by the rule. As demonstrated in the text, this case meets

both of these requirements.

16

any injury, inconvenience or annoyance to the commu-

nity, the district or any person’ 278 U.S., at 122.” 416

U.S. at 7.°

The case at bar, unlike Belle Terre, involves an as-

applied challenge to a zoning ordinance such as that in-

volved in Nectow v. City of Cambridge, 277 U.S. 183

® Roberge is generally cited as ho!ding the ordinance unconstitu-

tional on the ground that the surrounding owners could withhold

consent for arbitrary reasons. See, e.g., City of Zastlake v. Forest

City Enterprises, Inc., 426 U.S. 668, 677-78 (1976). That certainiy is

the express holding of the case, see Washington ex rel. Seattle Title

Trust Co. v. Roberge, supra, 278 U.S. at 118, and the Court in Belle

Terre recognized that holding, see 416 U.S. at 6-7. As indicated in

the quotation in the text, the Roberge Court indeed did conclude

that it had not been shown that the home for the aged poor would

work any inconvenience or annoyance to the community, but

Roberge made this statement in noting that the proposed home

would not be a nuisance. Washington ex rel. Seattle Title Trust

Co. v. Roberge, supra, 278 U.S. at 122. The Roberge Court, how-

ever, further expressly stated that it ‘need not decide whether,

consistently with the Fourteenth Amendment, it is within the

power of the state or municipality by a general zoning law to ex-

clude the proposed new home from a district defined” as was the

district in the ordinance under consideration. Jd. at 123.

It would thus appear that the Belle Terre Court’s statement that

the Roberge Court concluded that the ordinance in Roberge was

“invalid” because it was not shown to constitute a nuisance is some-

what of an overstatement. For this reason, petitioner does not

directly rely upon Roberge as controlling authority on the due

process question presented by this case. Petitioner does maintain,

however, that if the Roberge Court had reached the due process

question, it would have reached the conclusion attributed to it by

the Belle Terre Court, and held the ordinance invalid as applied

even if the surrounding owners consent provision had not been

present in the ordinance. Indeed, in Women’s Kansas City St.

Andrew Society v. Kansas City, Mo., 58 F.2d 593 (8th Cir. 1932),

the court decided the question expressly reserved in Roberge, and

held that the exclusion of a philanthropic “old lady’s home” from

a residential district constituted a deprivation of property without

due process of law because of the absence of a showing of any

relationship between the proposed home and the public health,

safety, morals and general welfare of the public.

= ey

17

(1927).2° Moreover, in this case, unlike Belle Terre, the

legitimacy of the basic governmental interest served by a

single-family residency requirement is not challenged.

Rather, the question in this case is whether the proposed

foster family use of the property “is so different in char-

acter from concededly legitimate uses as to bring it within

the scope of the police power of the municipality.” Vil-

lage of University Heights v. Cleveland Jewish Orphans’

Home, 20 F.2d 743, 745 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 275 U.S.

569 (1927). This Court has rendered few decisions elu-

cidating this aspect of the Euclid test, but yet the con-

tinuing vitality of the test depends upon consistent and

principled application of this component. The case at bar

presents a classic opportunity for this Court to give

needed constitutional guidance to relieve the uncertainty,

confusion and conflict which currently permeates land use

legislation and related court decisions excluding some per-

sons from living in residential areas.

In Moore v. City of East Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494

(1977), the Court had the opportunity to expound fur-

ther upon the basic Euclid test, but the plurality, recog-

nizing that fundamental liberty interests were at stake in

that case, and further recognizing that the standard of

review is determined by the nature of the right assert-

edly threatened or violated, rather than the power being

1° The fact that this case involves an as-applied challenge does

not render the petition fact-bound. This Court routinely reviews

as-applied challenges to statutes. Indeed, such challenges are the

preferred constitutional adjudication under the Ashwander rules.

See generally Ashwander v. Tennessee Valley Authority, 297 U.S.

288, 346 (1936) (Brandeis, J., concurring). Moreover, review in

this case is warranted given the failure of lowet courts to distin-

guish between general challenges to the overall validity of a zoning

ordinance and as-applied challenges. The decision of the court

below is one manifestation of this problem. Finally, a decision on

an as-applied challenge is naturally binding precedent in any sub-

sequent case that is analytically undistinguishable from it and

hence is an enduring contribution to the law.

€

18

exercised or the specific limitation imposed, e.g., Schad v.

Borough of Mt. Ephraim, supra, 452 U.S. at 67; Thomas

v. Collins, 323 U.S. 516, 529-30 (1944), applied a more

demanding standard of review to the zoning ordinance at

issue. In Moore, a single-family zoning ordinance defined

family in a manner that prevented more distant rela-

tives from living together. The plurality concluded that

the ordinance impermissibly infringed upon fundamental

liberty interests. 431 U.S. at 499.1 Justice Stevens, how-

ever, concurring in the judgment, concluded that the or-

dinance was unconstitutional as applied, because the pro-

hibition against certain relatives occupying a single-

family dwelling had no substantial relation to the public

health, safety, morals, or general welfare and hence con-

stituted a deprivation of property without due process of

law under Euclid. 431 U.S. at 515-18."

Justice Stevens explicitly endorsed the reasoning and

conclusions of a number of lower court opinions, City of

Des Plaines v. Trottner, 34 Ill.2d 432, 216 N.E.2d 116

(1966); City of White Plaines v. Ferraioli, 34 N.Y.2d

300, 3138 N.E.2d 756 (1974); Kirsch Holding Co. v.

Borough of Manasquan, 59 N.J. 241, 281 A.2d 513

(1971); Village of University Heights v. Cleveland Jew-

ish Orphans’ Home, 20 F.2d 743 (6th Cir. 1927), cert.

denied, 275 U.S. 569 (1927), permitting unrelated per-

sons to occupy single-family residences notwithstanding

an ordinance prohibiting, either expressly or implicitly,

such occupancy. 431 U.S. at 516-18."

11 These same fundamental liberty interests are also at stake in

the instant case. See infra at 23-29.

12 Significantly, it was observed that litigation involving single-

family zoning ordinances is common, 431 U.S. at 515, and that the

case-by-case development of the constitutional limits on the zoning

power had largely taken place in the lower courts, id. at 514.

13 Justice Stewart argued that the state cases relied upon by

Justice Stevens for the most part dealt with state law issues con-

rcs Mi a ba

oat od tae bes aS iO OR Ne be tartan

eT

19

In the instant case, the application of a single-family

zoning ordinance to exclude a foster family from the sin-

gle-family district is “clearly arbitrary and unreasonable,

having no substantial relation to the public health, safety,

morals, or public welfare.” .Village of Euclid v. Ambler

Realty Co., supra, 272 U.S. at 395. Considering peti-

tioner’s proposed use “in connection with the circum-

stances and the locality” id. at 388, a foster family con-

sisting of a married couple and a reasonable number of

foster children which resides in a single-family residen-

tial district cannot be deemed a “right thing in the wrong

place,” id., but instead is a right thing in the right place

—the very place where it must be if this family and the

persons of which it consists are to thrive as the basic

element of our society. The trial court’s unchallenged

findings in this case permit no other conclusion."* Indeed,

the trial court recognized, as have other courts, that a

foster family “might actually support and further those

values even more effectively than certain natural fami-

lies.” App. 27a; Group House of Port Washington v.

cerning the proper statutory construction of the term family, but

did not establish that narrow definitions of the term family were

unconstitutional. 431 U.S. at 540, n.10. As explained, supra, at

10-11, even those state cases which expressly analyzed the question

in terms of statutory construction support the substantive constitu-

tional argument that a more restrictive definition of the term fam-

ily would be arbitrary. The basic point is that in construing the

statutory term, the courts ascertained the legitimate state interests

and then concluded that the occupancy by the particular unrelated

individuals in the cases before them could not rationally be viewed

to violate those interests. Hence, the courts concluded that the

legislature rationally would not have intended to exclude such in-

dividuals from the area. Such an analysis, while framed in the

language of statutory construction, is of course precisely the sub-

stantive due process test mandated by Euclid.

14Tt must once again be emphasized that this petition is not

fact-bound. The facts as found by the trial court in this case would

necessarily be true of any foster family consisting of a married

couple and children permanently residing in a home as a single-

housekeeping unit.

20

Board of Zoning and Appeals of the Town of North

Hempstead, 45 N.Y.2d 266, 380 N.E.2d 207 (1978).*°

The Villages purchased a home in a neighborhood zoned

as a sanctuary for families with children and has devoted

sole use of that residence to serve as a sanctuary for a

family with children. The fact that the health, safety,

convenience, and general welfare of the inhabitants of

that neighborhood would not be promoted by the exclusion

of the foster home “is determinative of the case.” Nectow

v. City of Cambridge, supra, 277 U.S. at 448. The Vil-

lages’ foster home is simply not “a pig in the parlor.’

Village of Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co., supra, 272 USS.

at 338.

C. EXCLUSION OF A FOSTER FAMILY FROM A

ONE-FAMILY DWELLING DISTRICT VIOLATES

THE EQUAL PROTECTION OF THE LAWS

The fundamental command of the Equal Protection

Clause is that “the rights of all persons must rest upon

the same rule under similar circumstances .. .” Louis-

ville Gas & Electric Co. v. Coleman, State Auditor, 277

U.S. 32, 37 (1927) (citations omitted). The foregoing

analysis, demonstrating a violation of due process under

the Euclid test, also demonstrates a violation of the Equal

Protection Clause under a rational basis test. E.g., Moore

15 The case at bar does not involve an institutional facility, or a

group home established for housing adjudicated delinquents, see

generally Lakeside Youth Service v. Zoning Hearing Board of

Upper Moreland Township, 51 Pa. Commw. 485, 414 A.2d 1115

(1980) ; Wengert v. Zoning Hearing Board of Upper Merion Town-

ship, 51 Pa. Commw. 79, 414 A.2d 148 (1980), though it has been

held that even an institutionally structured group home for children

may not be excluded from a residential neighborhood consistent

with due process. See Village of University Heights v. Cleveland

Jewish Orphans’ Home, supra; cf. Women’s Kansas City St. Andrew

Society v. Kansas City, Mo., supra. In the instant case the home is

a classic single housekeeping unit, i.e., it has all of the characteris-

tics and manifestations of the traditional family home, as expressly

found by the trial court.

21

v. City of East Cleveland, supra, 431 U.S. at 540 n.10

(Stewart, J., dissenting). The distinction between foster

families and families of related individuals made by the

ordinance, as construed by the Court of Appeals of In-

diana, is not rationally related to a legitimate govern-

mental interest.

In United States Departmeni of Agriculture v. Moreno,

413 U.S. 528, 534 (1973), this Court struck down just

such an irrational classification. In Mereno, a provision

of the Food Stamp Act excluded from participation any

household containing an individual unrelated to another

member of the household. Examining the purposes of the

Food Stamp Act—to safeguard the health and well-being

of low-income households—the Court recognized that the

classification was clearly irrelevant to the purposes of the

Act. Id. at 533-34.

The purpose of the zoning ordinance at bar is to create

single-family neighborhoods, and the distinction imposed

by the ordinance between foster families and families of

related individuals is clearly irrelevant to the purpose of

the ordinance. Similarly, any possible desire to further

disadvantage hapless foster children, displaced from their

natural families and pure victims of circumstance, would

constitute an illegitimate governmental interest, even

though such children may not constitute a suspect class.

Any equal protection analysis of the foster family home

in the case at bar must recognize the pending case of City

of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center, 726 F.2d 191 (5th

Cir. 1984), cert. granted, 105 S. Ct. 427 (1984) (No. 84-

468). Cleburne is factually far more difficult than the

instant case, because it deals with a home for retarded

persons in an essentially institutionalized setting. The

parties in Cleburne have argued by briefs filed with the

Court whether a quasi-suspect classification is correct and

whether the rational basis test permits exclusion of re-

tarded persons under Village of Euclid v. Ambler Realty

Co., and Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas, supra. Brief

22

for Petitioners, at 23-36, City of Cleburne v. Cleburne

Living Center, supra; Brief for Respondents, at 9-25, 2d.

The present status of Cleburne forces the conclusion that,

if the Court does not grant certiorari in the instant case,

then it should hold the instant petition pending decision

in Cleburne, because the latter case may well give needed

guidance on the limits of state power to exclude non-

related persons from single-family zoning districts. This

potential for guidance and the relatedness of the cases are

nicely emphasized by the following quote from the amicus

curiae brief filed in Cleburne by the United States:

we readily concede that, if this case is remanded to

the court of appeals for further consideration under

what we urge is the appropriate constitutional stand-

ard [rational basis], that court may well supportably

conclude that the denial of a special-use permit in

this case was so wanting in rationality as to fail to

pass muster under the Equal Protection Clause of

the Fourteenth Amendment.

Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae Supporting

Reversal, at 6, id. If the Solicitor General suggests in

Cleburne that no rational basis can support the exclusion

from a residential area of a group of retarded persons in

an institutional setting, surely the teachings of that case

may well bear on the instant case which deals with the

exclusion of foster children living in a home as a single

housekeeping unit.

Finally, even if fundamental liberty interests were not

implicated in this case, see infra at 23-29, at the very

least an intermediate level of scrutiny is demanded. The

interests of the foster children in this case, which peti-

tioner clearly has standing to assert, e.g., Smith v. Or-

ganization of Foster Families for Equality and Reform,

431 U.S. 816, 841 n.44 (1977); Pierce v. Society of Sis-

ters, 268 U.S. 510, 535-536 (1925) ; see also Secretary of

State of Maryland v. Joseph H. Munson, Co., Inc., 104

S. Ct. 2889, 2846-48 (1984), are serious ones, and the

state’s justification for excluding them from an environ-

x idle... ;

ise deta al dR Ba catty nl Pe)

aa, tunity é

ec inte

sich wl Bi tb nial Ci ME A Att ie na

23

ment which will contribute immeasurably to their cul-

tural, spiritual, and educational well-being, certainly must

be greater than the burden the state must shoulder to

justify a building height limitation or setback regulation.

By distinguishing between foster children and those

children fortunate enough to reside with their natural

parents, the classification in this case “imposes a lifetime

hardship on a discrete class of children not accountable

for their disabling status.” Plyler v. Doe, 457 U.S. 202,

102 S. Ct. 23882 (1982). “If the state is to deny a dis-

crete group of innocent children” the sanctuary of an

area dedicated to family values and youth values which

“it offers to other children residing within its border,

that denial must be justified by showing that it furthers

some substantial state interest.” Jd., 102 S. Ct. at 2402.

No such showing was made in this case.'®

D. EXCLUSION OF A FOSTER FAMILY FROM A

ONE-FAMILY DWELLING DISTRICT INFRINGES

UPON FUNDAMENTAL RIGHTS OF ASSOCIA-

TION, PRIVACY, AND FAMILY INTEGRITY

This Court has “long recognized that, because the Bill

of Rights is designed to secure individual liberty, it must

afford the formation and preservation of certain kinds

of highly personal relationships a substantial measure of

sanctuary from unjustified interference by the State.”

Roberts v. United States Jaycees, 104 S. Ct. 3244, 3250

(1984). Freedom of personal choice in matters of family

life has long been held a fundamental liberty protected by

the Fourteenth Amendment. E.g., Roberts v. United

States Jaycees, supra, 104 S. Ct. at 3250; Santosky v.

16 The Villages’ standing to assert the interests of tne children,

is clear. See text, p. 22, swpra. Morever, since the trial court

adjudicated the merits of this constitutional argument, holding

that a restrictive interpretation of the ordinance would violate the

foster family’s fundamental rights, there is no prudential reason

for this Court not to review this question.

24

Kramer, 455 U.S. 745, 753 (1982); Zablocki v. Redhail,

434 U.S. 374, 383-86 (1978) ; Moore v. City of East Cleve-

land, 431 U.S. 494, 499 (1977) (plurality opinion) ;

Cleveland Board of Education v. LaFleur, 414 U.S. 682,

639-40 (1974); Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645, 651

(1972); Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1, 12 (1967);

Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479, 433-86 (1965) ;

May v. Anderson, 345 U.S. 528, 533 (1953), Prince v.

Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158, 166 (1944); Skinner v.

Oklahoma ex rel. Williamson, 316 U.S. 535, 541-42

(1942); Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510, 534-

35 (1925); Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390, 939

(1923).

The right to “establish a home,” Meyer v. Nebraska,

262 U.S. 390, 399 (1923), is at stake in this case. To be

sure, the husband and wife, as foster parents, are not

biologically related to the foster children, but the personal

bonds they seek to establish are no less deserving of sub-

stantive protection. It is the “unique role in our society

of the family, the institution by which ‘we inculcate and

pass down many of our most cherished values, moral and

cultural,’ Moore v. City of East Cleveland, 481 U.S. 494,

503-504”, which accounts in large part for the special

protection the institution of the family is accorded. In-

deed, “the mere existence of a biological link” does not

merit protection as a full-fledged liberty interest. Lehr

v. Robertson, 463 U.S. 248, 103 S. Ct. 2985, 2993 (1983).

“(T]he importance of the familial relationship, to the

individuals involved and to the society, stems from the

emotional attachments that derive from the intimacy of

daily association, and from the role it plays in ‘promot-

fing] a way of life’ through the instruction of children as

well as from the fact of blood relationship.” Smith v.

Organization of Foster Families for Equality and Re-

form, 431 U.S. 816, 844 (1977) (quoting Wisconsin v.

Yoder, 406 U.S. 205, 231-33 (1972)), quoted with ap-

proval in Lehr v. Robertson, supra, 103 S. Ct. at 2993.

Pe ee es

25

The “freedom of association” is an “intrinsic element

of personal liberty” and applies to a “broad range of

human relationships that may make greater or lesser

claims to constitutional protection from particular incur-

sions by the State.” Roberts v. United States Jaycees,

supra, 104 S. Ct. at 3251. In cases establishing funda-

mental constitutional protection for certain formal family

relationships, “the court has emphasized the paramount

interest in the welfare of children. ...” Lehr v. Robert-

son, supra, 103 S. Ct. at 2991. In this case, those inter-

ests of parents caring for children are just as implicated

as they were in Moore v. City of East Cleveland, supra.

Those interests are of a fundamental nature, and hence

the attempted assertion of state power in this case must

be justified by a compelling governmental interest.

Zablocki v. Redhail, supra, 434 U.S. at 388.

In Smith v. Organization of Foster Families for

Equality and Reform, 431 U.S. 816 (1977), this Court

expressly recognized that the foster family relationship

may merit fundamental constitutional protection. Zd. at

842-847. The Court observed that biological relationships

are not exclusively determinative of the existence of a

family, id. at 843, and stated “we cannot dismiss the

foster family as a mere collection of unrelated individuals.

Cf. Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas, 416 U.S. 1 (1974).”

431 U.S. at 844-45. Moreover, the Court noted that the

“legal status of families has never been regarded as con-

trolling: ‘Nor has the [Constitution] refused to recog-

nize those family relationships unlegitimized by a mar-

riage ceremony.’ Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S., at 651.”

431 U.S. at 845 n.53.

In Smith, however, the Court was confronted with a

procedural due process challenge. Foster parents were

asserting a liberty interest in a continued relationship

with the foster children, even though they undertook the

care for the children for only a limited period of time.

In this context, the Court suggested that the foster par-

ents could at most have a very limited constitutional lib-

\

26

erty interest, since any legitimate claim of entitlement to

continued guardianship was severely circumscribed by

their knowingly assumed contractual relationship with the

state. 431 U.S. at 847."

This case is distinguishable from the narrower pro-

nouncements of Smith, because a functioning family unit

claims protection against governmental interference “con-

cerning family living arrangements.” Moore v. City of

East Cleveland, supra, 431 U.S. at 499. Prior cases an-

nouncing the fundamental liberty accorded to families

“did not expressly consider the family relationship pre-

sented here ... [,] [b]ut unless we close our eyes to

basic reasons why certain rights associated with the fam-

ily have been accorded shelter under the Fourteenth

Amendment’s due process clause, we cannot avoid apply-

ing the force and rationale of these precedents to the fam-

17 See Rivera v. Marcus, 696 F.2d 1016 (2d Cir. 1982); Drum-

mond v. Fulton County Department of Family and Children Serv-

ices, 547 F.2d 885 (5th Cir.), rev'd, 568 F.2d 1200 (5th Cir. 1977)

(en banc), cert. denied, 487 U.S. 910 (1978) (Brennan, J., & White,

J., noting that they would grant certiorari) ; Kyees v. County De-

partment of Public Welfare of Tippecanoe County, 600 F.2d 693

(7th Cir. 1979); Sherrard v. Owens, 644 F.2d 542 (6th Cir. 1981)

(per curiam). The decisions of the courts of appeals in these

procedural due process cases generally rejected a foster parent’s

claim to continued custody of the foster child, carefully limiting

their holding to the precise procedural due process issue and facts

presented.

However, recognition of a fundamental liberty interest in the

foster family would pose no doctrinal problem in applying tradi-

tional procedural due process analysis. Assertion of state power on

behalf of the natural parents—when in the best interests of the

child—would serve a compelling state interest and hence justify

the deprivation of the foster parent’s liberty interest. Similarly,

during the period in which a foster parent has a legitimate claim

of entitlement to continued care of the foster children, a liberty

interest may be recognized. The fact that it may have a temporal

limit, does not render it any less fundamental and it is clear that

liberty interests can be created through state law. E£.g., Wolff v.

McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539, 557 (1974).

27

ily choice involved in this case.” Jd. at 500-01."° The as-

sociation involved in this case—private citizens coming

forward to provide a home and a family for homeless

children—is itself an institution of the family “deeply

rooted in this Nation’s history and tradition.” Jd. at 503

(footnote omitted).

It is dogma that infringement of a fundamental liberty

interest may be justified only by a “compelling” govern-

mental interest. See, e.g., Zablocki v. Redhail, supra. This

case, however, may demonstrate that permitting cases to

turn on the existence vel non of a fundamental liberty

interest, together with the corresponding application of a

compelling state interest test, is ill-advised. Indeed, in

Roberts v. United States Jaycees, supra, this Court rec-

ognized that there is no bright line dividing associations

which may merit heightened protection under the due

process clause, but rather various relationships may be

placed on a continuum.

The Villages suggests that the appropriate framework

for reviewing a zoning regulation affecting the internal

composition of households is set forth in United States

v. O’Brien, 391 U.S. 367, 377 (1968) :

[A] government regulation is sufficiently justified if

it is within the constitutional power of the Govern-

ment; if it furthers an important or substantial gov-

ernmental interest; if the governmental interest is

18 Significantly, Justice White, dissenting in Moore, agreed with

the plurality that a protected liberty interest was effected in the

case. 4381 U.S. at 550. In Justice White’s view, however, a key

factor in sustaining the challenged ordinance was that it had an

extremely limited geographical scope and that the parties were

free to reside with one another in other parts of the metropolitan

area. In contrast, the zoning ordinance in the instant case ex-

cludes the foster family from living together in a residential dis-

trict anywhere in the metropolitan area. The City of Indianapolis

is coterminous with Marion County, Indiana, as one of the geo-

graphically largest and most populated cities in the nation. Statis-

tical Abstract of the United States, 29 (104th ed. 1984).

28

unrelated to the suppression of free [association] ;

and if the incidental restriction on alleged [associa-

tion] freedoms is no greater than is essential to the

furtherance of that interest.

O’Brien, of course, set forth the framework for deter-

mining the validity of a content neutral time, place, or

manner restriction on free speech. See generally Clark

v. Community for Creative Non-Violence, 104 S. Ct.

3065, 3071-72 n.8 (1984); Members of the City Council

of the City of Los Angeles v. Taxpayers for Vincent, 104

S. Ct. 2118 (1984). These cases recognize that simply

because an indisputably fundamental liberty interest is

at stake—the First Amendment protection of free expres-

sion—the compelling state interest test is not necessarily

required. Rather, certain kinds of regulations may be

justified under the less demanding O’Brien test. This

Court should recognize that, at a minimum, the same

intermediate test is applicable in cases affecting funda-

mental rights to association, privacy, and family inte-

grity. These rights stem, in part, from the First Amend-

ment and are often, as in this case, subject to regulation

which in essence is a time, place, and manner restriction

on the exercise of those rights.”

The exclusion of foster families from single-family zon-

ing districts clearly fails the O’Brien test. The zoning

ordinance as applied by the Commission does not further

19 Indeed, in Clark v. Community for Creative Non-Violence,

supra, the Court upheld a National Park Service regulation pro-

hibiting camping in certain parks against First Amendment chal-

lenge when applied to prohibit demonstrators from sleeping in a

park in connection with a demonstration intended to call attention

to the plight of the homeless. This regulation had all the attributes

of a zoning regulation, and the Court’s analysis, conducted under

the O’Brien framework, essentially involved an inquiry into the

substantiality of the relationship of the restrictions on the use of

the property in question and the legitimate governmental objectives

—precisely the key inquiry in reviewing the legitimacy of the

zoning restriction in this case.

<9

an “important” or “substantial” governmental interest.

Moreover, the restriction on free association is much

greater than essential to further the legitimate state in-

terest at stake. Analysis of the case at bar cannot over-

look that the right to exist and flourish as a family unit

including children is basic to the structure of our Nation

and is to be encouraged rather than stifled.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition for a Writ of

Certiorari should be granted to review the judgment of

the Court of Appeals of Indiana. In the alternative, the

petition should be held pending disposition of City of

Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center (No. 84-468).

Respectfully submiited,

WILSON S. STOBER

(Counsel of Record)

Harry F. MCNAUGHT, JR.

BAKER & DANIELS

810 Fletcher Trust Building

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

(317) 636-4535

Counsel for Petitioner

APPENDICES

TABLE OF CONTENTS

. Opinion of the Court of Appeals of Indiana in The

Metropolitan Development Commission of Marion

County v. The Villages, Inc., rendered June 13, 1984,

and reported at 464 N.E.2d 367 ...............-------.-----------

. Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, Opinion and

Judgment of the Municipal Court of Marion County,

Room No. 12, in The Metropolitan Development

Commission of Marion County v. The Villages, Inc.,

rendered April 16, 10GB ...0..:.:c<:sisssenuseeeeee

. Order of the Court of Appeals of Indiana dated July

17, 1984, denying The Villages’ Petition for Re-

yea

. Order of the Supreme Court of Indiana dated No-

vember 15, 1984, denying The Villages’ Petition to

ED cece snnaoencdsosinisnedsiseiscangliniisllaaaaaae

. Relevant provisions of the Dwelling Districts Ordi-

nance of Marion County, Indiana, Code of Indian-

apolis and Marion County, Vol. III, Appendix D,

PATE 4... cccesccscwncnsessressessenssonnmaa

. Relevant portions of the following documents show-

ing that The Villages raised the federal questions

sought to be reviewed:

(1) The Villages’ Trial Brief submitted to the Mu-

nicipal Court of Marion County, Room 12, on

Maret: ©, TGC. wncncaniccnncsmassseeeeee

(2) Brief of Appellee (The Villages) filed with the

Court of Appeals of Indiana on March 5, 1984..

(3) Petition for Rehearing filed with the Court of

Appeals of Indiana on July 3, 1984.0...

(4) Appellee’s (The Villages) Petition to Transfer

filed with the Supreme Court of Indiana on

Arrgeaat 6, OGG onc ccnnsicesckicicnnusune eee

(5) Brief of Appellee, The Villages, Inc., in Support

of Petition for Transfer, filed with the Supreme

Court of Indiana on August 6, 1984 _......00.

Page

la

17a

34a

36a

5la

53a

55a

57a

la

APPENDIX A

IN THE COURT OF APPEAIS OF INDIANA

THIRD DISTRICT

No. 2-783 A 256

THE METROPOLITAN DEVELOPMENT

COMMISSION OF MARION COUNTY,

Appellant

(Plaintiff Below)

V.

THE VILLAGES, INC.,

Appellee

(Defendant Below)

[Filed June 13, 1984]

APPEAL FROM THE MUNICIPAL COURT OF MARION COUNTY

Room No. TWELVE

HONORABLE DAVID A. JESTER, JUDGE

CAUSE No. E1233-022

HOFFMAN, J.

The Metropolitan Development Commission of Marion

County filed suit against The Villages, Inc., to enforce

its zoning ordinance and enjoin use of a single-family

residence as a “foster care facility.” The trial court de-

nied the Commission’s application for preliminary in-

junction and granted The Villages’ request for judgment

on the merits. The Commission appeals that decision.

ae

2a

On January 10, 1983, The Villages purchased a single-

family residence at 61385 N. Meridian Street in Indian-

apolis for use as a group home. The group home con-

cept is relatively new, and serves the purpose of placing

abused, abandoned, and neglected children in a simulated

family environment. The Villages proposes to hire a

married couple to act as foster parents for up to ten |

foster children. Children will be placed in the group

home under separate contracts by the courts or govern-

ment agencies. For each child cared for, The Villages

will be reimbursed at the rate of $36 per day.

The property in question is zoned D-3 under the Dwell-

ing Districts Zoning Ordinance (DDZO) of Marion

County, which permits the following uses:

“1, ONE-FAMILY DWELLING, including Manu-

factured Homes as regulated in section 2.175.

2. TWO-FAMILY DWELLING, (permitted on

corner lots only).

3. GROUP HOMES, as regulated in section 2.18."

4. TEMPORARY USES, as regulated in section

2.14.

5. ACCESSORY USES, as regulated in section

2.15.

6. HOME OCCUPATIONS, as regulated in section

2.16.”

1 No one contends that The Villages proposes a “group home” as

that term is defined in the Ordinance. The Orcinance carefully

defines “group home” as caring for “developmentally disabled chil-

dren.” This group home provision of the Ordinance was added in

1981 by the City-County Council and is a narrow one applying only

to children who have developmental disabilities, as defined by IND.

CODE §§ 16-10-2.1-1 and 16-13-1-3. Thus, the Council chose a

definition of group home which all parties agree did not include

the use in the case at bar.

3a

The DDZO specifically permits foster family care of

children unrelated to residents by blood or adoption as

an Accessory Use, under the following conditions:

“Accessory Uses:

a. Shall be customarily incidental accessory and sub-

ordinate to, and commonly associated with, the

operation of the primary use of the lot.

b. Shall be operated and maintained under the same

ownership and on the same lot as the primary

use.

c. Shall be subordinate in area, extent, and purpose

to the primary use of building served... .”

In its findings of fact and conclusions of law, the trial

court specifically recognized the group home as one-

family dwelling, entitled to operate in the D-3 district

as a matter of law. The Commission now maintains that

the proposed group home does not constitute a one-family

dwelling under the provisions of the DDZO.

Local governments may reasonably restrict the use of

land into districts for the promotion of public health,

safety, morals, and welfare. Euclid v. Ambler Realty

Co., (1926) 272 U.S. 365, 47 S.Ct. 114, 71 L.Ed. 303.

The police power of local legislative bodies may be prop-

erly used to limit the number of non-related persons in-

habiting homes in residential districts without violating

constitutional rights.

Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas, (1974) 416 USS.

1, 94 S.Ct. 1536, 39 L.Ed.2d 797;

see also, Moore v. Cleveland, (1977) 431 U.S. 494,

97 8.Ct. 1932, 52 L.Ed.2d 531.

Thus, the issue at bar is not constitutional in nature, but

instead involves a question of statutory interpretation.

The construction of a zoning ordinance, like other

statutes, is a question of law. 101A C.J.S. Zoning and

4a

Land Planning $101. Courts may not interpret a stat-

ute or ordinance which is plain and unambiguous on its

face. Boone County State Bank v. Andrews, (1983)

Ind. App. , 446 N.E.2d 618. Where an ambiguity

does arise, the zoning ordinance involved must be con-

strued to ascertain and effectuate the intent of the local

legislative body. Bd. of Zoning v. New Testament Bible

Church, (1980) ——— Ind.App. , 411 N.E.2d 681.

The term “family” is not defined in the DDZO. Nor-

mally, terms undefined within a statute must be given

their plain, ordinary and usual meaning. Sutto v. Board

of Medical Regis. and Examination, (1962) 242 Ind. 556,

180 N.E.2d 533. However, the word family has no less

than twelve dictionary definitions and is not commonly

associated with one plain or ordinary meaning. See,

Webster’s New Universal Unabridged Dictionary, Sec-

ond Edition (1983).

In this instance, the legislative intent may be ascer-

tained through intrinsic construction of the DDZO.

Words and phrases in a single section of a statute or

ordinance must be construed consistently and logically

with other sections of the same act and with the act as

a whole. Ind. State Highway Comm. v. White, (1973)

259 Ind. 690, 291 N.E.2d 550.

In this case, the legal maxim expressio unius est ex-

clusio alterius* is particularly useful in ascertaining the

2 Black’s Law Dictionary (5th ed. 1979) defines expressio unius

est exclusio alterius as follows:

“A maxim of statutory interpretation meaning that the ex-

pression of one thing is the exclusion of another. Burgin v.

Forbes, 293 Ky. 456, 169 S.W.2d 321, 325; Newblock v. Bowles,

170 Okl. 487, 40 P.2d 1097, 1100. Mention of one thing implies

exclusion of another. When certain persons or things are speci-

fied in a law, contract, or will, an intention to exclude all others

from its operation may be inferred. Under this maxim, if

statute specifies one exception to a general rule or assumes to

specify the effects of a certain provision, other exceptions or

effects are excluded.”

5a

legislative intent. In construing a statute, it is equally

important to recognize what is not said as it is to recog-

nize what is said. Van Orman v. State, (1981) ——

Ind. App. , 416 N.E.2d 1301. In drafting the DDZO,

the local legislative body promulgated separate and spe-

cific provisions for single-family dwellings and for fos-

ter care within the D-3 district. The specific provision

for foster care as an accessory use necessarily excludes

foster care from the general section authorizing single-

family dwellings. Any other construction renders this

specific regulation of foster care superfluous. Local legis-

lators would not logically provide for foster care as an

accessory use if it were also contemplated as a single-

family dwelling use. The trial court erred as a matter

of law in finding The Villages’ group home to be a single-

family dwelling.

Nor does the group home qualify as an accessory use.

Any accessory use must be subordinate in area, extent,

and purpose to the primary use of the lot. The Villages

is a corporation which intends to hire two houseparents

to provide care for ten foster children. These children

are placed in the group home under separate contracts,

and The Villages is compensated at a rate of $36 per

day per child. Obviously, foster care is not subordinate

to, but actually is the primary use of the proposed group

home. As such, the proposed group home is not per-

mitted as an accessory use, nor is it allowed under any

category within the D-3 district.*

The Villages contends that its position is supported

by the weight of authority in other jurisdictions which

have considered this question. Instead of addressing the

specific terms of the challenged ordinance, this position

relies upon the results reached in cases construing dis-

tinetly different ordinances. It is the duty of this Court

to interpret the challenged ordinance, giving force and

3 The parties have stipulated that none of the other four use

categories is applicable.

6a

effect to the language of the local legislature, without

regard to results reached in cases which they may be

clearly contrasted.

A majority of the cases cited may be distinguished

on the basis that the ordinances concerned broadly de-

fine family to encompass unrelated individuals operating

as a single-housekeeping unit.

E.g., Saunders v. Clark Cty. Zoning Dept., (1981)

66 Ohio St.2d 259, 421 N.E.2d 152.

See also, Annot., 71 A.L.R.3d 697 (1976).

Other cases have recognized that group homes are en-

titled to locate in residential areas where state statute

pre-empts local government from excluding this use.

Costley v. Caromin House, Inc., (1981) Minn., 313

N.W.2d 21;

Hessling v. Broomfield, (1977) 193 Col. 124, 563

P.2d 12.

At least one jurisdiction has recognized group homes for

foster children as a single-family use per se, regardless

of zoning prohibitions.

Group House of Port Washington v. Board of Zon-

ing, (1978) 45 N.Y.2d 266, 380 N.E.2d 207;

White Plains v. Ferraioli, (1974) 34 N.Y.2d 300,

313 N.E.2d 756.

The New York cases clearly establish a right which ex-

ceeds the constitutional requirements set forth in Belle

Terre, supra, and Moore, supra. It is not the duty of

this Court to grant extra-constitutional rights and privi-

leges. Instead, the power to enact social legislation rests

exclusively in the hands of the General Assembly or with

local legislative bodies.

While the above-cited cases are distinguishable from

this case, the Supreme Court of Ohio has handed down

Ta

a well-reasoned opinion. Carroll v. Washington Twp.

Zoning Com’n, (1980) 63 Ohio St.2d 249, 17 Ohio Op.3d

161, 408 N.E.2d 191. The Carroll court held that a

group home operated principally for the care of foster

children did not qualify as a single-family dwelling even

where the ordinance failed to define or restrict the term

family. In reaching this conclusion, the court stated

that:

[t]he term ‘family,’ when used without definition

in a residential use restriction, must be interpreted

in light of permissible zoning objectives. A political

subdivision may legitimately segregate land uses in

order to, inter alia, provide adequate fire and police

protection, decrease noise and noxious odors, control

traffic flow, limit land use intensity, and create rea-

sonably secure and stable residential neighborhoods.

The attainment of ‘[a] quiet place where yards are

wide, people few, and motor vehicles restricted .. .’

is a reasonable goal of land use legislation. Village

of Belle Terre v. Boraas (1974), 416 U.S. 1, 9, 94

S.Ct. 1536, 1541, 39 L.Ed.2d 797.

* * = a

“Local governments may, through the passage of

zoning-type legislation, reasonably restrict the use

of land into districts with the aim of promoting the

public health, safety, morals and welfare. There is

no constitutional prohibition in denying certain uses

of one’s property in a comprehensive plan for the

development of communities for the common welfare

of the community. Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co.,

supra. A comprehensive township zoning plan which

excludes a use of this type is not per se unconstitu-

tional.

“The exercise of local discretion in areas of social

and economic legislation will be approved where it

is in accordance with law and, not in conflict with

8a

general law as enacted by the General Assembly;

and where such local enactments are reasonable, not

arbitrary, and bear a reasonabie relationship to a

permissible governmenta! objective.”

408 N.E.2d at 193-194.

While the rationale set forth in Carroll is consistent with

the decision reached in the case at bar, we reach our

decision solely upon firmly established rules of statutory

interpretation. The Villages’ proposed group home does

not constitute a single-family dwelling under the DDZO.

Nor does such a group home, which operates for the

principal purpose of caring for foster children qualify as

an accessory use within the D-3 district.

The decision of the trial court is reversed.

Reversed.

NEAL, P.J., SITTING BY DESIGNATION, CONCURS;

RATLIFF, J. SITTING BY DESIGNATION, DIS-

SENTS WTH OPINION.

ee Tn a

9a

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF INDIANA

THIRD DISTRICT

No. 2-783 A 256

THE METROPOLITAN DEVELOPMENT

COMMISSION OF MARION COUNTY,

Plaintiff-A ppellant,

vs.

THE VILLAGES, INC.,

Defendant-A ppellee.

[Filed June 138, 1984]

APPEAL FROM THE MUNICIPAL COURT OF MARION COUNTY

Room No. TWELVE

THE HONORABLE DaAvipD A. JESTER, JUDGE

(CAUSE No. E1233-022)

RATLIFF, J., sitting by designation.

DISSENTING OPINION

I dissent. The contemplated use of the residence in

question by The Villages as a group home for abused,

abandoned, and neglected children in a simulated family

environment constitutes a single-family dwelling within

the restrictions of the zoning ordinance. Although the

courts of Indiana have not had occasion to deal with this

problem, that the proposed use meets the definition of

single-family residence is clearly established by decisions

from our sister states. Hessling v. City of Broomfield,

10a

(1977) Colo., 563 P.2d 12; Hamner v. Best, (1983) Ky.

App., 656 S.W.2d 253; Group House of Port Washington

v. Board of Zoning, (1978) 45 N.Y.2d 266, 380 N.E.2d

207; City of White Plains v. Ferraioli, (1974) 34 N.Y.2d

300, 313 N.E.2d 756; Saunders v. Clark County Zoning

Department, (1981) 66 Ohio St. 2d 259, 421 N.E.2d 152.

In fact, it has been heid that use of a residence for treat-

ment of six or fewer mentally retarded children living

with a resident foster parent was not violative of a re-

structive covenant restricting use to single-family resi-

dences. Bellarmine Hills Association v. Residential Sys-

tems Co., (1978) 84 Mich. App. 554, 269 N.W.2d 673.

In my view, an examination of these cases compels a de-

cision opposite to that reached by the majority.

Hamner is nearly identical factually to this case.

There, a non-profit entity desired to use a large older

home as a child care facility to house one married couple

and from six to eight children. The applicable zoning

ordinance restricted use of property within the area to

single-family dwellings. Like the ordinance in question,

the ordinance in Hamner did not define either “family”

or “single family”. The children would not be either ju-

venile offenders or mentally retarded requiring institu-

tional type regulation. They would attend community

schools and no professional counselors would live in the

home. The Kentucky Court of Appeals held the proposed

use was for a family residence rather than as an institu-

tion, saying:

“(T]he record contains substantial evidence that the

residents of the home would function as, and resem-

ble that of, any other single-family household. In

fact, the evidence clearly indicates that the entire

purpose of the group home is to provide a traditional

home environment for the children; ...

Clearly, the term ‘family’, as determined by our

highest court in the context of land use cases or

Pe ee eee

lla

zoning, may include unrelated individuals and has

not been construed to refer only to those related by

blood, marriage, or adoption.”

656 S.W.2d at 255-56.

In Hessling, the Colorado court upheld the use of a

residence as a live-in home for a married couple who

would act as surrogate parents and not to exceed six

mentally retarded children ranging in age from five to

nine, as constituting a family thus meeting the zoning

restriction limiting use to one family dwellings, so long as

family characteristics were maintained.

Group House of Port Washington involved a non-profit

corporation which had purchased a home for use as a

group home which would consist of two surrogate par-

ents and seven children. The home was intended as a

replacement family for victims of unhappy homes and not

as a detention center. The zoning ordinance restricted use

to one-family residences and defined a family as one or

more persons related by blood, marriage or legal adoption

residing in a single housekeeping unit and allowed not

more than two boarders all living in a common household.

The New York Court of Appeals found no zoning viola-

lation and stated:

“The surrogate family which petitioner hopes to

create is in fact a permanent family structure, and

not a temporary residence for transients... .

Finally, we would emphasize that our decision to-

day is limited to homes such as that described in this

opinion, which serve as the functional equivalent of

a family, for the exclusion of such groups would in

no way further any valid public purpose. Whether

a particular ‘group home’ comes within this descrip-

tion is essentially a factual question. Different fac-

tors would exist were petitioner to convert its group

house, for example, from the type of operation de-

scribed above into a home for delinquents or the men-

12a

tally disturbed, and we express no opinion as to the

proper result in such a case. Thus, we conclude only

that the ‘group home’ described in this opinion is a

permitted use as a one-family dwelling under the

town zoning ordinances. Should the nature of the

house change with the passage of time, however,

should it become less of a surrogate family and more

of an institution, it might then become an unpermit-

ted use. On this record, however, we must conclude

that petitioner’s ‘group home’ is indeed a family.”

45 N.Y.2d at 273-74, 380 N.E.2d at 211.

The New York Court of Appeals in Ferraioli, stated

the issue thus: |

“The issue is a narrow one: whether the ‘group

home’, consisting of a married couple and their two

children, together with 10 foster children, qualifies

as a single ‘family’ unit, under the ordinance. It is

concluded that the group home, set up in theory, size,

appearance and structure to resemble a family unit,

fits within the definitions of family for purposes of

a zoning ordinance.”

34 N.Y.2d at 300, 313 N.E.2d at 757.

In Ferraioli, a non-profit corporation licensed by the

state to care for neglected and abandoned children had a

group home consisting of the persons described in the

court’s statement of the issue. The couple was paid a

salary and all expenses were paid by the corporation.

“The children, natural and foster, live[d] together as if

they were brothers and sisters and [the couple] were

their common parents. The household [was] maintained

as a family would be in a single housekeeping unit with

kitchen facilities.” 34 N.Y.2d at 304, 313 N.E.2d at 757.

The zoning ordinance permitted single family dwellings

for one housekeeping unit only. “Family” was defined as

“one or more persons limited to the spouse, parents,

grandparents, grandchildren, sons, daughters, brothers or

oa eg tie

13a

sisters of the owner or the tenant or of the owner’s spouse

or tenant’s spouse living together as a single housekeep-

ing unit with kitchen facilities.” 34 N.Y.2d at 304, 313

N.E.2d at 758. The court held the use was within the

zoning restriction. The court stated:

“Whether a family be organized along ties of

blood or formal adoptions, or be a similarly struc-

tured group sponsored by the State, as is the group

home, should not be consequential in meeting the

test of the zoning ordinance. So long as the group

home bears the generic character of a family unit as

a relatively nermanent household, and is not a frame-

work for transients or transient living, it conforms

to the purpose of the ordinance... .

In short, an ordinance may restrict a residential

zone to occupancy by stable families occupying single-

family homes, but neither by express provision nor

construction may it limit the definition of family to

exclude a household which in every but a biological

sense is a single family. The minimal arrangement

to meet the test of a zoning ordinance, as this one,

is a group headed by a householder caring for a rea-

sonable number of children as one would be likely to

find in a biologically unitary family.”

34 N.Y.2d at 305-06, 313 N.E.2d at 758-59.

A like result was reached in Saunders. There, a min-

ister and his wife and five children lived at a large resi-

dence with as many as nine foster children. The home

was later incorporated as a non-profit corporation. A few

persons were employed to assist in caring for the chil-

dren. The zoning was for single-family detached resi-

dences and the ordinance contained the following relevant

definitions:

“4.08: Boarding or Lodging House. A building or

part thereof, other than a hotel or restaurant, where

meals and/or lodging are provided, for compensa-

tion, for five (5) or more persons not transients.

l4a

4.171: Dwelling, Single-Family. A building de-

signed for or used exclusively by one family or

housekeeping units.

4.174: Dwelling Unit. One room, or a suite of

two or more rooms, designed for or used by one fam-

ily for living and sleeping purposes and having only

one (1) kitchen or kitchenette.

4.18: Family. A person living alone, or two or

more persons living together as a single housekeep-

ing unit, in a dwelling unit, as distinguished from a

group occupying a boarding house, lodging house,

motel or hotel, fraternity or sorority house.”

66 Ohio St. 2d at 262, 421 N.E.2d at 155. The zoning

administrator issued a cease and desist order claiming

the house was a boarding house. The Ohio Supreme Court

found no violation of the ordinance. The court said:

“The definition of ‘family’ in this resolution is a

broad one. In our view, any resolution seeking to

define this term narrowly would unconstitutionally

intrude upon an individual’s right to choose the fam-

ily living arrangement best suited to him and his

loved ones. Those loved ones can just as easily be

foster children as natural children for parents with

compassion. A state or local government cannot con-

stitutionally invade the private realm of family life.

A family unit, which performs the social function of

child-rearing, regardless of its relationship or com-

position or whether it includes foster children as well

as natural children, is constitutionally protected

against governmental intrusion not supported by a

compelling governmental interest.

Therefore, .. . we hold a family based group foster

home for delinquent boys, who are unrelated by af-

finity or consanguinity to the foster parents, is a

permitted use in an ‘R-1 suburban residence dis-

l5a

trict’ where the zoning resolution defines the term

‘family’ as ‘two or more persons living together as a

single family housekeeping unit, in a dwelling unit,’

where it defines ‘dwelling unit’ as ‘one room or a

suite of two or more rooms, designed for or used by

one family for living and sleeping purposes and hay-

ing only one (1) kitchen or kitchenette,’ and where

it defines ‘single-family dwelling’ as ‘[a] building

designed for or used exclusively by one family or

housekeeping unit.’

We now interpret the term ‘family’ broadly in or-

der to permit appellees to operate a foster home in

an ‘R-1 suburban residence district.’ Such a board

definition of ‘family’ is mandated by the Clark

County Zoning Resolution, fundamental principles of

zoning law, and immutable constitutional principles

guaranteeing the right of every American to live

with his family free from official harassment. [Cita-

tions omitted; footnote omitted. ]”’

66 Ohio St. 2d at 263-65, 421 N.E.2d at 155-57.

The majority relies on an earlier Ohio case, Carroll v.

Washington Township Zoning Commission, (1980) 638

Ohio St. 2d 249, 408 N.E.2d 191, a case which is not even

mentioned in Saunders. In my view, Carroll is not a

sound decision, and I agree with the dissenting opinion of

Justice Brown that “[t]he majority’s resolution of this

ease [Carroll] is supported neither by logic nor by case

law from [that] jurisdiction or any other.” 63 Ohio St.

2d at 253, 408 N.E.2d at 194.

The majority attempts to evade the holdings in

Saunders and other cases cited herein by attempting to

distinguish them “on the basis that the ordinances con-

cerned broadly defined family to encompass unrelated in-

dividuals operating as a single-housekeeping unit.” Slip

opinion at 5. In fact, the ordinances in Saunders, Fer-

16a

raioli, and Group House of Port Washington contained

narrow definitions of family, but the courts, nevertheless,

found the homes in question were not violative of the

ordinance restricting use to single-family dwellings.

In my opinion, the group home proposed by The Vil-

lages meets the test of a single-family residence under

the authorities herein cited. I would affirm the judgment.

17a

APPENDIX B

STATE OF INDIANA )

Ss:

COUNTY OF MARION )

THE MARION COUNTY MUNICIPAL COURT

CAUSE NO. E1233-022 ROOM NO. 12

THE METROPOLITAN DEVELOPMENT

COMMISSION OF MARION COUNTY,

Plaintiff,

V.

THE VILLAGES, INC.,

Defendant.

[Filed Apr. 18, 1983]

FINDINGS OF FACT,

CONCLUSION OF LAW,

OPINION AND JUDGMENT.

This cause of action having been heard on March 9,

1983, and the Court, having received and considered evi-

dence from and on behalf of all parties, now enters its

Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, Opinion and

Judgment.

I. Findings of Fact

1. The Court has jurisdiction of the parties and sub-

ject matter of this cause of action.

18a

2. The Metropolitan Development Commission of

Marion County (hereinafter referred to as the “Com-

mission”) is the proper party to maintain this cause of

action pursuant to Indiana Code 36-7-4-202(c) and 36-

7-4-1014.

3. The Defendant, The Villages, Inc. (hereinafter re-

ferred to as the “Villages”’), is the owner, and the in-

tended occupier, user, and possessor of the real estate

commonly referred to as 6135 North Meridian Street,

a/d/a 6131 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, Marion

County, Indiana, and more particularly described as fol-

lows:

Lots 5388 and 539 in Warfleigh Addition, an addi-

tion to the City of Indiananpolis, as per plat thereof,

recorded in Plat Book 15, pages 140-142 in the Office

of the Recorder of Marion County, Indiana,

(hereinafter referred to as the “Real Estate”). There-

fore, the Villages is a proper party in this action.

4. The Real Estate is zoned D-3.

5. The Dwelling Districts Zoning Ordinance of Marion

County, Indiana, as amended (hereinafter referred to as

the “DDZO”’) contains regulations and requirements per-

taining to the primary uses, accessory uses, and develop-

ment standards authorized in Dwelling Districts within

Marion County, Indiana, including real estate which is

zoned D-3.

6. The Complaint by the City against the Defendant,

The Villages, Inc., arises as a result of The Villages pur-

chase and intended use of a home located at 6135 North

Meridian Street, Indianapolis.

7. The Villages is a not-for-profit corporation organized

in the State of Kansas to help abused, abandoned and

neglected children, including orphans, throughout the

Midwest.

19a

8. The Villages proposes to operate a foster care facil-

ity staffed by two houseparents, and a set of back-up

houseparents, who will provide the care and shelter for

up to ten (10) abused, abandoned, or neglected children,

such children being wards of a court or a government

agency that pays The Villages about thirty-six ($36.00)

per day per child to provide such care and shelter.

9. This home is a one-family dwelling which was pre-

viously occupied and used by a married couple and their

eleven (11) children. It has seven bedrooms and four

and a half baths and is located on two residential lots.

10. The married couple to be employed by The Villages

will reside in the house with their natural children, if

any, as their sole residence and care for the foster chil-

dren on an around-the-clock basis.

11. No sign will be displayed by the Villages on the

real estate.

12. The Villages’ purpose in establishing such a resi-

dence is to emulate a stable family environment for chil-

dren who would otherwise not have one.

13. The house-parents and the foster children will keep

and maintain the house as a single housekeeping unit,

having one kitchen, eating together at family mealtimes,

celebrating holidays together, and enjoying vacations to-

gether.

14. Foster children will attend local schools the same as

other children in the neighborhood.

15. The foster children are referred to The Villages

principally by the county welfare department, because

their natural parents are not able to provide care for

them.

16. The children referred to The Villages are in turn

screened as to the child’s willingness, ability and com-

mitment to live in and contribute to a family environ-

20a

ment and to remain in the home through high school

graduation.

17. Use of the home will have every appearance of a

one-family dwelling.

18. The Villages operates four other similar homes in

the State of Indiana, and each is licensed as a group

home as that term is defined under regulations adminis-

tered by the Indiana Department of Public Welfare.

19. On November 19, 1982, a representative of The

Villages met with City officials to discuss its planned

operation.

20. The Indiana Director of The Villages, Robert Gil-

logly, was informed on November 19, 1982, by J. Nicholas

Shelley, then Administrator of the Division of Planning

and Zoning, Department of Metropolitan Development,

that the Proposed Use could not be established on the

Real Estate without a zoning variance or rezoning to a

Special Use VII (SU-7) District.

21. The Special Use Districts Zoning Ordinance of

Marion County, Indiana, lists a charitable and philan-

tropic institution as a use permitted in a Special Use VII

(SU-7) District.

22. Following such meeting, The Villages sought legal

counsel respecting the question of whether it needed some

special land use approval before occupying and using the

residence.

23. On December 15, 1982, counsel for The Villages

wrote the City setting forth authority and reasoning for

the proposition that The Villages required no special land

use approval.

24. On January 10, 1983, The Villages closed on its

purchase of the residence at 6135 North Meridian and

thereafter held fee simple title to the real estate.

2la

25. On January 19, 1983, the City responded to the

prior letter of December 15, 1982, stating that The Vil-

lages must rezone the property to a Special Use 7 zoning

classification or obtain a variance.

26. Upon the advice of counsel and in good faith, The

Villages determined not to seek rezoning or variance, but

informed the City of its intention to occupy and use the

home with a husband and wife caring for no more than

ten foster children.

27. The Real Estate has been and is being prepared for

the implementation of the Proposed Use on or shortly

after April 1, 1983.

II. Conclusions of Law

1. The Court has jurisdiction over the parties and the

subject matter of this controversy, pursuant to IC 33-6-1-

3-2(3) and IC 36-7-4-1014(c).

2. The Law is with The Villages and against the Com-

mission.

3. The subject real estate, 6135 North Meridian, In-

dianapolis, Indiana, is located in an area zoned D-5 un-

der the Marion County Dwelling District Ordinance.

4. The D-3 Ordinance permits one-family dwelling

units, and accessory uses, along with group homes and

other uses not pertinent to this cause.

5. The use of the subject real estate by an organiza-

tion which employs a married couple to work in said

facility on an around the clock basis to provide care and

shelter for abused, abandoned, or neglected children is a

one-family dwelling use and therefore is a permitted

primary use in a dwelling district zoned D-3 because

such use fits within the plain and ordinary meaning of

the term “family”.

Furthermore, the providing of care to foster children

is contemplated by the ordinance by virtue of the fact

22a

that foster family care is expressly permitted under Sec-

tion 2.15(10) of the Dwelling District Ordinance.

6. The home proposed by The Villages is not a group

home under Sections 2.18 and 2.19(29) of the Dwelling

District Ordinance, because the children are not develop-

mentally disabled, as defined therein.

7. The proposed home also does not constitute use by

a charitable or philantropic institution under the Special

Use Ordinance, since the house will be utilized by persons

living there as a family, as a single housekeeping unit

and as their sole personal residence.

8. To the extent that any finding of act [sic] is a con-

clusion of law or any conclusion of law is a finding of

fact, it shall be so deemed irrespective of the headings

given above.

9. The trial of this action of the merits should be ad-

vanced and consolidated with the preliminary injunction

hearing.

III. Opinion

The issues presented by this case are fairly simple: is

the proposed use a permitted use under the terms of the

existing Dwelling District Zoning Ordinance. The reso-

lution of this question involves an interpretation of the

term “family” as used in the ordinance. “Family” is not

defined within the ordinance.

This is a question of first impression in the State of

Indiana. Other states which have interpreted the term

“family” as used by zoning ordinances, have gone both

ways, by either permitting or denying a use such as pro-

posed under what is basically the same fact situation, as

will be discussed later.

Further confusion is added to the problem by the fact

that the United States Supreme Court has upheld a very

restrictive ordinance that defined the word “family” to

23a

mean one or more persons related by blood, adoption, or

marriage, or not more than two unrelated persons, living

and cooking together as a single housekeeping unit. The

court held the ordinance constitutional in that such a defi-

nition was not unreasonable or arbitrary and involved no

deprivation of “fundamental” rights. Village of Belle

Terre v. Boraas, 416 U.S. 1, 39 L.E.2d 797 (1974). This

very restrictive definition would seem to be at odds with

the more liberal definition most jurisdictions have taken,

even when denying the proposed use.

Unfortunately, our ordinance gives no definition of the

term “family”. Therefore the court is placed in the posi-

tion of defining that term by its usual and ordinary

meaning. St. Germain v. State, 267 Ind. 252, 369 N.E.2d

931 (1977); Sutto v. Board of Medical Registration and

Examination, 242 Ind. 556, 180 N.E.2d 533 (1962) [.]

Therein lies the rub. As the Michigan Court in Bel-

larmine Hills Association v. Residential Systems Co., 84

Mich. App. 554, 269 N.W.2d 673, 675 (1978), pointed

out:

“ ‘Now this word ‘family,’ contained in the statute,

is an expression of great flexibility. It is applied in

many ways. It may mean the husband and wife

having no children and living alone together, or it

may mean children, or wife and children, or blood

relatives, or any group constituting a distinct domes-

tics or social body. It is often used to denote a small

select corps attached to an army chief, and has even

been extended to whole sects, as in the case of the

Shakers.’

Our examination of subsequent cases and authority

from other jurisdictions discloses no more specific

definition of the term. Rather, the word family de-

notes a concept, the application of which is depend-

ent upon the basis of affiliation of the group being

analyzed juxtaposed with the public policies invoked

24a

by the particular circumstances of the case being re-

viewed.”

In looking to the decisions of other states, as previously

stated, the court finds very little direction. Under what

are, for all practical purposes, identical facts, the courts

have reached opposite conclusions. For example, in Sawn-

ders v. Clark City Zoning Dept., 66 Ohio St. 22d 259,

421 N.E.2d 152 (1981), under facts very similar to the

case before the court, (with the exception that in that

case the children were delinquent boys) the court per-

mitted the use.

On the other hand, in Carroll v. Washington Township

Zoning Commission, 63 Ohio St. 2d 249, 408 N.E.2d 191

(1980), the court reached an opposite conclusion, in a

case involving foster children, under an ordinance which

defined “family” less restrictively than in the Saunders

case. Interestingly enough, the Carroll case was not even

mentioned in the Saunders case.

It is, therefore, necessary to analyze the reasoning of

these cases and attempt to adopt the better rule. In that

regard the cases are very instructive, because both sides

of the issue have been thoroughly rationalized.

We start with the basic premise that the term “fam-

ily” should be interpreted in a broad way. As stated by

the court in Saunders:

“In our view, any resolution seeking to define this

term narrowly would unconstitutionally intrude upon

an individual’s right to choose the family living ar-

rangement best suited to him and his loved ones.

Moore v. East Cleveland (1977[)], 4381 U.S. 494,

499, 97 S.Ct. 1932, 1935, 52 L.Ed.2d 531.”

Clearly, however, the pursuit of the goal of a“...

quiet place where yards are wide, people few, and motor

vehicles restricted .. .” is a legitimate interest of land

use regulation. Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas, 416 U.S.

25a

1, 94 S.Ct. 1536, 39 L.Ed.2d 797 (1974). And the term

“family” must be defined within that context.

It is the conflict between these competing interests

which makes the definition difficult. To severely restrict

the definition of a family would tend to insure the tran-

quility of the neighborhood. But to do so would extend

the function of zoning regulation beyond its legitimate

parameters. We prefer the more permissive view as taken

in the Saunders case.

The basis of affiliation of the neighborhood is the pur-

suit of the interests of “. . . a quiet place where yards

are wide, people few, and motor vehicles restricted .. .”,

as delineated in the Belle Terre case. The basis of affilia-

tion of the foster children proposed to be housed by the

use requested by the respondents in [sic] the same. It is

those characteristics that attract them there. The needs

and desires of both groups are the same—a quiet peace-

ful neighborhood.

A proper definition of family we believe permits suffi-

cient limitation to protect the single family residential

neighborhood, while restricting zoning regulations to their

legitimate interests.

The cases most directly on point, and the ones with

which the courts reasoning most closely coincides are City

of White Plains v. Ferraioli, 34 N.Y.2d 300, 313 N.E.2d

756 (1974) and Group House of Port Washington v.

Board of Zoning, 45 N.Y.2d 266, 380 N.E.2d 207 (1978).

The facts are very similar: the houses were owned by a

not-for-profit corporation, occupied by an adult couple

which was paid by the corporation to rear either seven

(7) or ten (10) foster children. The household was main-

tained as a family would be in a single housekeeping unit

with kitchen facilities. Funding was supplied primarily

by governmental sources.

As pointed out by the court in the White Plains case:

26a

“It is significant that the group home is structured

as a single housekeeping unit and is, to all outward

appearances, a relatively normal, stable, and perma-

nent family unit ... If that be true, the group

home is no less qualified to occupy the Ferraioli

house than are any of the neighboring families in

their respective homes.”

“é ”

. . *

“The group homes does not conflict with the charac-

ter and, indeed, is deliberately designed to conform

with it.”

“é 99 -

. * .

“Indeed, the purpose of the group homes is to be

quite the contrary of an institution and to be a home

like other homes.”

All of these characteristics are present in the instant

case. It is, in fact, the purpose of the proposed use to

place foster children in as near a normal family environ-

ment as possible so that they may become integrated into

the community and their “family” more so than if institu-

tionalized.

It seems axiomatic that this goal is favored by public

policy. The opportunity to live in a stable neighborhood,

with the attendant benefits of going to school there, de-

veloping friendships among one’s neighbors and school-

mates, and developing the community ties permitted by

such a manner of living, is highly desirable and must be

favored by the law.

Where certain children are deprived of this opportu-

nity, for whatever reason they have been taken from their

natural family, it seems incumbent upon society to at-

tempt to ameliorate the detrimental effects by placing

them in as natural a situation as possible. Public policy

would seem to demand that where this can be accom-

plished, in a reasonable manner, that it be done.

or ocee as ae Nach Soa

27a

Our laws in every instance that comes to mind, places

the best interest of the child above most all other consid-

erations. It is not unreasonable to conclude, therefore,

that this interest dictates that public policy favors plac-

ing them in stable neighborhoods where reasonably done.

The court can find no conflict between public policy, the

needs and desires of the neighbors to the requested use,

the children to be resident there, and the laws interest in

protecting neighborhoods as pointed out in the Villages of

Belle Terre case. Indeed, a definition of “family” which

permits the proposed use is compatible with the concept

of a residential neighborhood. As stated by the court in

the Group House of Port Washington case; “. . . peti-

tioners group home’ might actually support and further

those values even more effectively than certain natural

families.” There is nothing in the record to indicate

otherwise.

It is important in this respect to note that these are

neither disturbed, mentally retarded, nor delinquent chil-

dren. This is merely a home for children, who, because

of an unhappy home life, simply cannot thrive and grow

if they live with their natural parents. There is no rea-

son to believe that these children will be any better or

worse that [sic] the children of the family that previously

lived in the house (which actually had a larger number

of children. )

Were the children delinquent, or physically or mentally

disadvantaged, this case might be more difficult to decide.

In that instance the intrusion upon the neighborhood

would be more intense, and depending upon the facts of

the case, might lead to a different result. In this instance,

however, a reasonable definition of “family” easily in-

cludes children of the type proposed to be housed in this

residential neighborhood.

That is not to say that the concerns of the surround-

ing neighbors are not real. Obviously, ten (10) children

28a

added to the neighborhood will have an effect. But no

more than the effect of ten (10) children living with their

natural parents, which is clearly permitted.

We believe the law of this state is that the purpose of

zoning regulation is “to control types of housing and liv-

ing and not the genetic or intimate internal family rela-

tions of human beings.” City of White Plains, supra, at

758.

Likewise, we believe that the law of this state is as

summarized by Justice Brown in his dissent in the Car-

roll case, supra, as follows:

“In the instant cause I would use a definition sim-

ilar to that set out by Justice Tobriner in Brady v.

Superior Court (1962) 200 Cal.App.2d 69, 77, 19

Cal.Rptr. 242, 247, where he stated:

‘Single family dwelling’ designates the joint occu-

pancy and use of the dwelling by all of those who live

there. The word ‘single’ precludes the segregation of

certain portions or rooms for rental. It forecloses

multiple occupancy of certain portions of the unit for

rental as a segregated part, or parts, of the unit.

‘Dwelling’ means the whole of the premises used for

living purposes. It must include the use of the com-

mon rooms, such as the kitchen, dining room, living

room, if any, by all occupants. It refers to, and

reinforces, the concept of singular use, as opposed to

multiple. The “dwelling’ cannot be fragmentized

into broken bits of housing for rental return. ‘Fam-

ily’ signifies living as a family; it inhibits the break-

ing up of the premises into segregated units.’ ”’

“cc ”

“In a recent New Jersey Supreme Court case an ex-

tensive survey of the courts was made and it was

stated that:

29a

“‘The courts of this and other states have often

noted that the core concept underlying single family

living is not biological or legal relationship, but,

rather, its character as a single house-keeping unit.

Berger v. State, supra, 71 N.J. at 227, 364 A.2d 993.

see Kirsch Holding Co. v. Borough of Manasquan,

supra, 49 N.J. at 250, 281, A.2d 513; City of Des

Plaines v. Trottner, supra; Boston-Edison Protective

Ass’n v. Paulist Fathers, 306 Mich. 253, 10 N.W.2d

847 (Sup.Ct.1943) ; City of White Plains v. Ferrai-

oli, 34 N.Y.2d, 300, 305-307, 357 N.Y.S. 2d 449, 452-

454, 313 N.E.2d 756, 758-759 (Ct.App.1974). As

long as a group bears the ‘generic character of a

family unit as a relatively permanent household,’ it

should be equally as entitled to occupy a single fam-

ily dwelling as its biologically related neighbors.

City of White Plains, supra, 34 N.Y.2d at 306, 357,

N.Y.S.2d at 453, 313, N.E.2d at 758; see, e.g. Brady

v. Superior Ct. 200 Cal.App. 2d 69, 19 Cal.Rptr. 242

(Dist.Ct.App.1962); Oliver v. Zoning Comm’n of

Chester 31 Conn. Sup. 197, 326 A.2d 841 (C.P. Mid-

dlesex Cty. 1974); Carroll v. City of Miami Beach,

198 So. 2d 643 (Fla.Dist.Ct. App. 1967); Group

House of Port Washington, Inc. v. Board of Zoning,

45 N.Y.2d 266, 408 N.Y.S.2d 377, 380 N.E.2d 207

(At.App.1978) ; Little Neck Comm. Ass’n. v. Work-

ing Org. for Retarded Children, 52 A.D. 2d 90, 383

N.Y.S.2d 364 (App.Div. 1976); Missionaries of Our

Lady of LaSalette v. Village of Whitefish Bay 267

Wis. 609, 66 N.W.2d 627 (Sup. Ct. 1954).” State v.

Baker (1979), 81 N.J.99, 405 A.2d 368, at page 372.

See, also, Hessling v. Broomfield (1977), 193 Colo.

124, 563 P.2d 12.’ ”

We would add the following thoughts of Justice Clif-

ford Brown in the majority opinion in the Saunders case,

supra:

30a

“Those loved ones can just as easily be foster chil-

dren as natural children for parents with compas-

sion. A state or local government cannot constitu-

tionally invade the private realm of family life.

Wisconsin v. Yoder (1972) 406 U.S. 205, 231-233,

92 S.Ct. 1526, 1541-1542, 32 L.Ed.2d 15; Prince v.

Massachusetts (1944), 321 U.S. 158, 166 64 S.Ct.

438, 442, 88 L.Ed. 645; Village of Belle Terre v.

Boraas (1974) 416 U.S. 1, 94S. Ct. 1536, 39 L.Ed.

2d 797, dissenting opinion of Marshall, J., at page 16,

94 S.Ct. at 1544. A family unit, which performs the

social function of child-rearing, regardless of its re-

lationship or composition or whether it includes fos-

ter children as well as natural children, is constitu-

tionally protected against governmental intrusion not

supported by a compelling governmental! interest.

Smith v. Organization of Foster Families (1977),

431 U.S. 816, 844-845, 97 S. Ct. 2094, 2109, 53 L.Ed.

2d 14; Wisconsin v. Yoder, supra; Meyer v. Nebraska

(1923), 262 U.S. 390, 399-401, 43 S. Ct. 625, 626-

627, 67 L.Ed. 1042; 91 Harvard L. Rev. 1427, 1571-

1574.

We can find no compelling governmental reason in de-

fining ‘“‘fainily” so as to not permit the use of the struc-

ture in question in the manner proposed.

The concept of “family” in zoning regulations must be

broad enough to permit the integration of children de-

prived of their parents into our neighborhoods. Granted,

there must logically be some limitation; but where, as

here, the primary use of the structure retains its charac-

ter as a single housekeeping unit, it should be permitted

to come within the definition of a single-family dwelling.

The annoyances, or detriments, which are inflicted

upon the neighborhood by including within the definition

of “family” a use such as proposed here, are minor com-

pared to the benefits the neighborhood will bestow upon

sla

these children. The very neighbors who are here con-

cerned (“opposed” is too strong a word) will contribute

immeasurably to the welfare of these children. The ex-

periences one collects within a neighborhood contribute in

an intangible but very real way to ones growing up. It

is these very things that cause us to protect our neighbor-

hoods. Any zoning regulation must be sufficiently tolerant

to permit those things to persons other than just those

who are blessed by living with their natural parents.

In conclusion, however, it should be established that

were the character of the use to change or expand beyond

that which is proposed, then it might become an unper-

mitted use. Should it become less of a surrogate family

and more of an institution, then an entirely different re-

sult could be expected. In that regard, therefore, the

court expressly limits its decision to the particular facts

found, as delineated in the courts findings, items 7

through 17.

Subject to this restriction, the court finds that pro-

posed use is within the terms of the D-3 Dwelling Dis-

trict Ordinance, and Petitioner’s request for an injunc-

tion should be denied.

IV. Judgment

It is therefore ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DE-

CREED as follows:

1. The Plaintiff, having failed to prove its right to any

relief requested in this cause, the request for Preliminary

and Permanent Injunctive relief is hereby denied.

2. The trial of this action cu the merits is hereby ad-

vanced and consolidated with the Preliminary Injunction

hearing, and this Judgment constitutes the Final Judg-

ment of the Court pursuant to Trial Rule 65(A) (2).

32a

8. Costs of this action are assessed against the Plain-

tiff.

/s/ David A. Jester

DaAvip A. JESTER

Judge

Municipal Court of

Marion County

Room No. 12

Dated: April 18, 1983

Copies to:

Larry Whitham, Esq.

City-County Building

Room 1822

Indianapolis, In. 46204

Wilson S. Stober, Esq.

Harry F. McNaught, Jr., Esq.

Baker & Daniels

810 Fletcher Trust Building

Indianapolis, In. 46204

33a

APPENDIX C

[SEAL }

STATE OF INDIANA

INDIANAPOLIS, 46204

CLERK OF THE SUPREME COURT

AND COURT OF APPEALS

Marjorie H. O’Laughlin, Clerk

217 State House

Telephone 232-1930

No. 2-783 A 256

THE METROPOLITAN DEVELOPMENT

COMMISSION OF MARION COUNTY

vs.

THE VILLAGES, INC.

You are hereby notified that the Court of Appeals has on

this day DENIED PETITION FOR REHEARING.

BUCHANAN, C.J.

Please acknowledge receipt of this notice in order that

our records may show that you have been notified of this

action. |

WITNESS my name and the seal of said Court, this 17

day of July, 1984

/s/ Marjorie H. O’Laughlin

Clerk Supreme Court and

Court of Appeals

[SEAL]

34a

APPENDIX D

| SEAL]

STATE OF INDIANA

INDIANAPOLIS, 46204

CLERK OF THE SUPREME COURT

AND COURT OF APPEALS

Marjorie H. O’Laughlin, Clerk

217 State House

Telephone 232-1930

No. 2-783 A 256

THE METROPOLITAN DEVELOPMENT

COMMISSION OF MARION COUNTY

VS.

THE VILLAGES, INC.

You are hereby notified that the Supreme Court has on

this day DENIED appellees petition for transfer.

GIVAN, C.J.

GIVAN, C.J., DEBRULER AND PIVARNIK, JJ., VOTE

TO DENY TRANSFER. FRENTICE AND HUNTER,

J.J.. VOTE TO GRANT TRANSFER AND AFFIRM

THE TRIAL COURT.

Please acknowledge receipt of this notice in order that

our records may show that you have been notified of this

action.

35a

WITNESS my name and the seal of said Court, this 15

day of November, 1984

[SEAL]

/8/ Marjorie H. O’Laughlin

Clerk Supreme Court and

Court of Appeals

36a

APPENDIX E

[3507 |

APPENDIX D

Part 4

PART 4. DWELLING DISTRICTS ZONING

ORDINANCE*

Chapter I. Establishment of Dwelling Zoning Districts,

§ 1.00, [1.01]

Chapter II. Dwelling Districts Regulations, §§ 2.00-2.19

Whereas, Chapter 283 of the Acts of the Indiana Gen-

eral Assembly for 1955, as amended, establishes a single

planning and zoning authority in counties having first-

class cities, and grants certain powers relative to the zon-

ing and districting of land to the metropolitan plan com-

mission and the county council of such counties having

first-class cities, in order to unify the planning and zon-

ing functions thereof; and

Whereas, no uniform regulations for the zoning and

districting of land within the various political units

within and a part of Marion County, Indiana, had hereto-

fore existed, although the conditions relating to the use

and development of said land are in many cases identical;

and

* Editor’s note—This part is derived from Metropolitan Plan

Commission Docket No. 66-AQ-2, as adopted July 18, 1966, as con-

tained in a booklet promulgated by the department of metropolitan

development, division of planning and zoning in December, 1971.

The ordinance is set out as promulgated in the booklet with amend-

ments through 69-AO-5. Amendments sub*equent to 69-AO-5 have

been worked in by the editor, and a parenthetical reference to the

amendatory ordinance appears at the end of the amended section.

Where the editor has added clarifying words and phrases, such

words and phrases appear in brackets.

37a

Whereas, the Metropolitan Plan Commission of Marion

County, Indiana, has adopted and certified, pursuant to

Chapter 283 of the Acts of the Indiana General Assem-

bly for 1955, as amended, various segments of its Original

Comprehensive or Master Plan of Marion County, Indi-

ana, including a Land Use Map of Marion County, In-

diana, adopted by Resolution 62-CPS-R-2 on August 8,

1962, and a Comprehensive General Land Use Plan for

Marion County, Indiana, adopted by Resolution 65-CPS-

R-1 on May 12, 1965; and

[3508]

Whereas, said Chapter 283 of the Acts of the Indiana

General Assembly for 1955, as amended, empowers the

Metropolitan Plan Commission of Marion County, Indi-

ana, after such comprehensive plan certification, to recom-

mend to the county council an ordinance or ordinances

for the zoning or districting of all lands within the county

to the end that adequate light, air, convenience of access,

and safety from fire, flood and other danger may be se-

cured; that congestion in the public streets may be less-

ened or avoided; that property values may be preserved;

that the public health, safety, comfort, morals, conveni-

ence and general welfare may be promoted;

Now therefore be it ordained by the Marion County

Council of Marion County, Indiana, that Marion County

Council Ordinance No. 8-1957, adopted by the Marion

County Council on March 28, 1957, and subsequently

amended pursuant to Section 85 of Chapter 283 of the

Acts of the Indiana General Assembly for 1955, as

amended, and all zoning ordinances adopted as parts

thereof, be amended pursuant to said Chapter 283, by the

addition of the following provisions and the repeal of all

portions thereof in conflict herewith:

38a

CHAPTER I. ESTABLISHMENT OF DWELLING

ZONING DISTRICTS

Sec. 1.00. [Districts established. ]

The following primary Dwelling Zoning Districts for

Marion County, Indiana, are hereby established, and

land within said county, including the incorporated and

unincorporated portions thereof, is hereby classified, di-

vided and zoned into said districts as designated on the

Dwelling Zoning Maps, which maps are attached hereto,

incorporated herein by reference and made a part of this

ordinance :*

[3509 ]

Symbols Dwelling Zoning Districts

D-S Dwelling Suburban District

D-1 Dwelling District One

D-2 Dwelling District Two

D-3 Dwelling District Three

D-4 Dwelling District Four

D-5 Dwelling District Five

D-6 Dwelling District Six

D-6 II Dwelling District Six II

D-7 Dwelling District Seven

D-2 Dwelling District Eight

D-9 Dwelling District Nine

D-10 Dwelling District Ten

D-11 Dwelling District Eleven

D-12 Dwelling District Twelve

D-P Planned Unit Development District

* * * *

* Editor’s note—The maps referred to in this section are not set

out in this appendix, but are on file in the office of the department

of metropolitan development.

39a

[3518]

Sec. 2.04. D-3 Dwelling District Three regulations.

A. Permitted D-3 uses. The following uses shall be

permitted in the D-3 District. All uses in the D-3 Dis-

trict shall conform to the D-3 development standards (sec-

tion 2.04, B) and the Dwelling District rezulations of sec-

tion 2.00:

1. One-family dwelling, including manufactured

homes as regulated in section 2.175;

[3519]

2. Two-family dwelling (permitted on corner lots

only) ;

5. Group homes, as regulated in section 2.18;

4. Temporary uses, as regulated in section 2.14;

5. Accessory uses, as regulated in section 2.15;

6. Home occupations, as regulated in section 2.16

B. D-3 development standards.

1. Minimum lot area:

a. Minimum lot area:

One-family dwelling: Ten thousand (10,000)

square feet;

Two-family dwelling: Fifteen thousand

(15,000) square feet;

provided, however, any plat of a subdivision

consisting of five (5) lots or more submitted

for plat approval in accordance with the Sub-

division Control Ordinance of Marion County,

Indiana, subsequent to the effective date of

this ordinance [adopted July 18, 1966, to be-

come effective as provided by law], may re-

duce said minimum lot area of twenty (20)

percent of the total number of lots within

40a

said plat, to the extent of twenty (20) per-

cent below such ten thousand (10,000) square

foot requirement, provided the average size of

all lots within said approved plat shall then be

at least ten thousand (10,000) square feet.

b. An additional five thousand (5,000) square

feet of lot area shall be required for any lot

utilizing a septic tank or other individual sew-

age disposal system.

2. Minimum lot width and street frontage: Mini-

mum lot width at the setback line:

One-family dwelling: Seventy (70) feet;

Two-family dwelling: One hundred and five

(105) feet (on each street) ;

[3520]

provided, however, any plat of a subdivision con-

sisting of five (5) lots or more submitted for plat

approval in accordance with the Subdivision Con-

trol Ordinance of Marion County, Indiana, subse-

quent to the effective date of this ordinance

[adopted July 18, 1966, to become effective as

provided by law], may reduce said minimum

width of twenty (20) percent of the total num-

ber of lots within said plat, to the extent of ten

(10) percent below such seventy (70) and one

hundred and five (105) foot requirements.

Each lot shall have at least thirty-five (35)

feet of frontage on a public street, and shall gain

~aecess from said street.

3. Setback lines and minimum yards:

a. Setback line and minimum front yard: Yards,

having a minimum depth in accordance with

the setback requirements of section 2.17, A,

4la

shall be provided along all public street right-

of-way lines.

b. Minimum rear yard: Twenty (20) feet.

ce. Minimum side yards: Aggregate—Sixteen

(16) feet. Provided, however, no side yard

shall be less than six (6) feet.

4. Minimum open space: Open space (as defined in

section 2.19) shall comprise at least seventy (70)

percent of the lot area.

5. Maximum height:

a. Primary building: Thirty-five (35) feet.

b. Accessory building: Twenty (20) feet.

6. Minimum floor area: Minimum main floor area

of the primary building, exclusive of garages, car-

ports and open porches:

One-story building: Nine hundred (900) square

feet for each dwelling unit;

Building higher than one story: Six hundred

sixty (660) square feet for each dwelling unit

in the building.

[3521]

7. Off-street parking and public streets: Off-street

parking areas and public streets shall be pro-

vided in accordance with section 2.17, E and C

[respectively ].

(G.O. 41, 1981, § 1; G.O. 54, 1982, § 1)

[3560]

See. 215. Accessory uses.

A. Permitted Accessory Uses. The following accessory

uses shall be permitted in all Dwelling Districts, except

the D-11 Dwelling District, subject to the accessory use

42a

requirements of section 2.15, B, and the Dwelling District

regulations of section 2.00:

|

Accessory garages, carports, canopies, patios, out-

door fireplaces, porte cocheres, bathhouses, caba-

nas, children’s playhouses, swings and other play

_ structures or equipment, greenhouses and other

accessory buildings or structures;

Off-street motor vehicle parking areas, as regu-

lated in section 2.17, E;

3. Signs, as regulated in section 2.18;

4. Private swimming pools, as regulated in section

[3561]

9.

2.15, B, 3;

Amateur radio sending and receiving antennas,

provided the height thereof (including masts)

shall not exceed seventy-five (75) feet measured

from finished lot grade;

Management office in multiple-family districts

and other facilities normally associated with ten-

ants’ convenience, such as vending machines and

washing machines, provided, however, there is no

exterior display;

Fallout shelters (either contained in other per-

mitted structures or constructed separately), as

regulated in section 2.15, B, 4;

Residential occupancy of no more than two (2)

nontransient guests; provided that at least one

(1) off-street parking space shall be provided for

each guest bedroom, that no sign shall be dis-

played and no separate culinary facilities are

maintained in connection with such accessory

use;

Residential occupancy by domestic employees em-

ployed on the premises;

43a

10. Foster family care where children unrelated to

the residents by blood or adoption are cared for,

provided that no sign shall be displayed;

11. Day care of preschool children unrelated to the

residents by blood or adoption when no more than

five (5) such children are cared for; provided,

that at least one additional off-street parking

space shall be provided, and that no sign shall be

displayed.

B. Accessory Use Requirements. Accessory uses in all

Dwelling Districts shall comply with the following re-

quirements:

1. General accessory use requirements: Aceessory

uses :

a. Shall be customarily incidental accessory and

subordinate to, and commonly associated with,

the operation of the primary use of the lot;

b. Shall be operated and maintained under the

same ownership and on the same lot as the

primary use;

c. Shall be subordinate in area, extent and pur?

pose to the primary use of building served;

d. Unless otherwise specified in this ordinance,

accessory buildings:

(1) Shall not be located closer to any front or

side lot line than the required minimum

front and side yard distances of the

Dwelling District; and

(2) In D-S, D-1, D-2, D-8, D-4, D-5 and D-8

Dwelling Districts shall not be located

closer to any rear lot line than five (5)

feet, but in no case shall it encroach upon

any easement;

44a

e. Shall not be permitted prior to the erection of

[3562]

the primary building.

2. Appurtenances:

a. Such appurtenant features as walks, drive-

c.

ways, curbs, drainage installations, mail-

boxes, lampposts, birdbaths and structures of

like nature shall be permitted on any lot.

The growth of vegetables, grasses, fruits,

flowers, shrubs, vines and trees, provided such

operations are not for profit, shall be permit-

ted on any lot.

Fences and walls shall be permitted provided

they do not impede the view of street and/or

railroad intersections.

3. Additional requirements for accessory private

swimming pools: The following additional re-

quirements shall apply to accessory private swim-

ming pools:

a. A swimming pool shall not be located closer to

c.

any front, side or rear lot line than the re-

quired minimum front, side and rear yard

distances of the Dwelling District.

The pool area shall be enclosed by a substan-

tial protective barrier, which shall be adequate

to prevent persons, children or animals from

danger or harm, and shall be equipped with

a self-closing, self-latching back gate. Such

protective barrier shall be chain link or orna-

mental fence, solid fence or wall, and shall be

not less than five (5) feet in height.

A buffer screen shall be provided and main-

tained between the pool and the lot lines.

45a

d. No pool shall be erected or constructed until

an improvement location permit has been ob-

tained therefor.

4. Additional requirements for accessory fallout

shelters: The following additional requirements

shall apply to accessory fallout shelters:

a. A fallout shelter shall not be located closer to

any front, side or rear lot line than the re-

quired

[3563]

minimum front, side and rear yard distances

of the Dwelling District. Except, however,

subject to the following requirements, any un-

derground shelter, or portion thereof, may be

located within said minimum required yards,

but not closer than three (3) feet to any lot

line:

(1) Such shelter or portion thereof shall be

totally below ground level, with no ap-

purtenances, air circulation equipment,

vent pipes or other accessory equipment,

or part thereof, projecting above ground

level within said minimum required yards.

(2) No shelter entrance shall be located with-

in said minimum required yards.

b. No fallout shelter shall be erected or con-

structed until an improvement location permit

has been obtained therefor. (G.O. 157, 1975,

§ 1)

* * * *

[3575]

See. 219. Definitions.

1. Advertising sign: A sign which directs attention to

any business, product, activity or service; provided, how-

ever, that such sign shall not be related or make reference

to the primary use, business, activity or service conducted

on the premises.

<n

46a

2. Attached multifamily: A structure for multifamily

use, having common or party wall or walls.

3. Building area: The total ground area, within the

lot or project, covered by enclosed residential building

space plus garages, carports and other accessory build-

ings.

4. Business sign: A sign which identifies a builder or

directs attention to a business, product, activity or service

manufactured, sold or offered upon the premises as the

primary use(s) where such sign is located.

5. Car area: Open space area (uncovered and cov-

ered) use for car traffic, maneuvering and parking. In-

cluded are all parking areas, driveways, interior access

roads and right-of-way of all streets within the project,

plus the area of half of any abutting alley or street

right-of-way.

6. Covered open space: All exterior space within the

project, which is open on its sides, but not open above to

the sky. It includes roofed porches, roofed carports, cov-

ered exterior balconies and exterior spaces covered by

portions of buildings.

7. Detached single-family cluster dwelling: A struc-

ture for single-family use, having no common or party

walls; and utilizing common open space with other de-

tached

[3576]

single-family cluster dwellings arranged in close prox-

imity to one ancther.

8. Facing: The surface of the sign upon, against or

through which the message of the sign is exhibited.

9. Floor area: The sum of the horizontal areas of the

one or several floors and basements of all buildings or

portions thereof, within the project, and devoted to per-

mitted uses. Not including, however:

a. Floor or basement floor area devoted to off-street

parking or loading facilities, including aisles, ramps

and maneuvering space;

47a

b. Floor or basement floor area provided for recrea-

tional uses, available to occupants of two (2) or

more living units within the project; or

ce. Basement floor area provided for storage facilities,

allocated to serve individual living units within the

project.

10. Floor area ratio (FAR): The total floor area of

all stories of all buildings within the project divided by’

the land area.

[The next page is 3581]

[3581]

11. Incidental sign: A nameplate or sign relating to

the lot or use thereof and designating accessory uses, di-

rection, identification, information or real estate for sale,

rent or lease.

12. Land area: The total area within the project

boundaries, plus the area of half of any abutting alley or

street right-of-way plus half the area of any abutting

open space, such as a river, lake, public park, playground

or golf course, with reasonable expectance of perpetuity;

provided, however, that no portion of such open space

located more than eighty (80) feet from the project

boundaries shall be included in computing such open

space area.

13. Livability space: The open space minus the car

area within the open space.

14. Livability space ratio (LSR): The livability space

divided by the floor area.

15. Major livability space: The total area provided for

outdoor recreation, relaxation, amusement, pleasure and

for similar use within the project, which area may or

may not be improved; however, all livability space count-

able for purposes of the major livability space ratio shall

be at least twenty (20) feet away from any residential

wall containing one or more windows on the ground floor

48a

and shall have a minimum dimension averaging eighty

(80) feet, except that an area of lesser dimension is

countable if:

a. The total required major livability space is less than

six thousand four hundred (6,400) square feet; or

b. The shape or topography of the site prevents com-

pliance with the minimum dimension.

16. Major livability space ratio (MLSR): The total

major livability space of countable size, divided by the

total floor area.

17. Open space: The total horizontal area of all un-

covered open space pius one-half of the total horizontal

area of all covered open space.

18. Open space ratio (OSR): The open space divided

by the floor area.

[3582]

19. Parking space: A portion of the car area at least

nine (9) feet in width and twenty (20) feet in length,

which shall be used only for the off-street parking of a

vehicle.

20. Project: A lot or parcel of contiguous land to be

developed for a use or uses permitted in the D-6, D-6 II,

D-7, D-8, D-9, D-10 and D-11 Dwelling Districts, which

at the time of development is under one (1) ownership or

control, and subsequently may be subdivided, developed

and/or conveyed into smaller lots or parcels. For per-

mitted multifamily dwelling, detached single-family clus-

ter dwelling uses, or mobile home dwellings, such smaller

lots or parcels within the project may front upon private

interior access roads provided said project meets the min-

imum street frontage requirements of sections 2.07, B,

2; 2.075, B, 2; 2.08, B, 2; 2.09, B, 2; 2.10, B, 2; 2.11, B,

2; 2.12, B, 2; and 2.18, B, 2 of this ordinance.

49a

21. Projecting sign: A sign suspended from or sup-

ported by a building, structure or column and projecting

out therefrom more than eighteen (18) inches.

22. Sign: Any outdoor announcement, declaration, de-

vice, demonstration or insignia used for direction, infor-

mation, identification or to advertise or promote any busi-

ness, produce, activity, services or interests.

23. Sign structure: The supports, uprights, bracing

and framework for the sign. In the case of a sign struc-

ture consisting of two (2) or more sides, where the angle

formed between any of the sides (or the projection there-

of) exceeds fifteen (15) degrees, each side shall be con-

sidered a separate sign structure.

24. Sign surface: The entire area within a single,

continuous perimeter enclosing all elements of the sign

which form an integral part of the display.

25. Total car ratio (TCR): The total number of park-

ing spaces divided by the number of living units.

26. Uncovered open space:

In D-6, D-6 II, D-7, D-8, D-9, D-10 and D-11 Dis-

tricts, and D-12 District detached single-family clus-

ter dwel-

[3583] °

lings: “he land area, minus the building azza, plus

the usable roof area.

In D-S, D-1, D-2, D-3, D-4 and D-5 Districts; and

D-8 and D-12 District two-family dwellings; and D-8

single-family dwellings: The lot area, minus the

building area.

27. Usable roof area: The total roof area, within the

project, or residential buildings, garages and accessory

buildings which has been improved for outdoor uses of

occupants. Roof areas used for car storage are included.

28. Building lot: The lot or lots of contiguous owner-

ship upon which the dwelling(s) is (are) located.

50a

29. Group home: A residential facility licensed by the

development disabilities residential facilities council, or its

successor in authority in accordance with law, and de-

fined per Indiana Code Section 16-10-12.1.

30. One-family dwelling: A unit designed for occu-

pancy by one family, constructed or erected on a perma-

nent foundation as specified by the Indiana One- and Two-

Family Dwelling Code or by Chapter 8, Article III, Divi-

sion 4 of the Code of Indianapolis and Marion County,

which is either:

1. Constructed in compliance with the standards of the

Indiana One- and Two-Family Dwelling Code; or

2. A manufactured home.

31. Mobile dwelling: A unit built in a factory designed

for occupancy by one family erected or located as specified

by Chapter 8, Article III, Division 4 of the Code of In-

dianapolis and Marion County, which was either:

1. Constructed prior to June 15, 1976, and bears a

seal attached under Indiana Public Law 135, 1971,

certifying that it was built in compliance with the

standards established by the Indiana Administra-

tive Building Council; or,

2. Constructed subsequent to June 15, 1976, and bears

a seal certifying that it was built in compliance

with the federal Mobile Home Construction and

Safety Standards Law.

[3584]

32. Manufactured home: A unit built in a factory

after January 1, 1981, bearing a seal certifying that it

was built in compliance with the federal Manufactured

Housing Construction and Safety Standards Law, which

has at least nine hundred fifty (950) square feet of main

floor area (exclusive of garages, carports and open

porches), and exceeds twenty-three (23) feet in width.

(G.Q. 41, 1981, § 1; G.O. 54, 1982, § 1)

* * * *

5la

APPENDIX F (1)

[TRIAL BRIEF]

* - é *

The Supreme Court of Ohio more recently found any

zoning restriction based upon the content of a “family”

to be constitutionally flawed. The Court, in a case involv-

ing a couple, their five children and as many as nine

foster children, reasoned as follows:

“The definition of ‘family’ in this resolution [zon-

ing ordinance] is a broad one. In our view, any

resolution seeking to define this term narrowly would

unconstitutionally intrude upon an individual’s right

to choose the family living arrangement best suited

to him and his loved ones. Moore v. East Cleveland

(1977), 481 U.S. 494, 499, 97 S.Ct. 1932, 1935, 52

L.Ed.2d 531. Those loved ones can just as easily be

foster children as natural children for parents with

compassion. A state or local government cannot con-

stitutionally invade the private realm of family life.

Wisconsin v. Yoder (1972), 406 U.S. 205, 231-233,

92 S.Ct. 1526, 1541-1542, 32 L.Ed.2d 15; Prince v.

Massachusetts (1944), 321 U.S. 158, 166, 64 S.Ct.

438, 442, 88 L.Ed. 645, Village of Belle Terre v.

Boraas (1974), 416 U.S. 1, 94 S.Ct. 1536, 39 L.Ed.2d

797, dissenting opinion of Marshall, J., at page 16,

94 S.Ct. at 1544. [Footnote omitted.] A family unit,

which performs the social function of child-rearing,

regardless of its relationship or composition or

whether it includes foster children as well as natural

children, is constitutionally protected against govern-

mental intrusion not supported by a compelling gov-

ernmental interest. Smith . Jrganization of Foster

Familities (1977), 431 U.S. 816, 844-845, 97 S.Ct.

2094, 2109, 53 L.Ed.2d 14; Wisconsin v. Yoder, su-

pra; Meyer v. Nebraska (1923), 262 U.S. 390, 399-

401, 43 S.Ct. 625, 626-627, 67 L.Ed. 1042; 91

52a

Harvard L.Rev. 1427, 1571-1574.” Saunders v.

Clark County Zoning Dept., 421 N.E.2d 152, 155-

156 (Ohio 1981).

The Court emphasizes, quite properly, that choices made

by married couples as to the composition of their family

are cloaked with constitutional protection from enforce-

ment of any zoning restriction requiring consanquinity

among occupants of a residence.

* * * *

58a

APPENDIX F (2)

[BRIEF OF APPELLEE]

* * ee *

Ohio also has examined the same type of use as pro-

posed here by The Villages and found it to be constitu-

tionally protected. Saunders v. Clark Cty. Zoning Dept.,

(1981) 66 Ohio St. 2d 259, 421 N.E.2d 152. The constitu-

tional guarantees of “natural rights” and “due course of

law” under the Indiana Constitution, Article 1, §§ 1 and

12, respectively, and of “due process of law” and “equal

protection of the laws” under the Fourteenth Amend-

ment, and of “freedom of association” under the First

Amendment to the United States Constitution, protect the

privacy and associational interests of a foster family

against the kind of governmental instrusion [sic] sought

to be imposed here by the Commission through admin-

istrative decision. The reasoning and authorities com-

pelling application of these constitutional safeguards to

the case at bar were summarized by the Ohio Suprome

Court as follows:

The definition of “family” in this resolution [zon-

ing ordinance] is a broad one. In our view, any

resolution seeking to define this term narrowly would

unconstitutionally intrude upon an individual’s right

to choose the family living arrangement best suited

to him and his loved ones. Moore v. East Cleveland

(1977), 481 U.S. 494, 499, 97 S.Ct. 1932, 1935, 52

L.Ed.2d 531. Those loved ones can just as easily be

foster children as natural children for parents with

compassion. A state or local government cannot con-

stitutionally invade the private realm of family life.

Wisconsin v. Yoder (1972), 406 U.S. 205, 231-233,

92 S.Ct. 1526, 1541-1542, 32 L.Ed.2d 15; Prince v.

Massachusetts (1944), 321 U.S. 158, 166, 64 S.Ct.

438, 442, 88 L.Ed. 645; Village of Belle Terre v.

Boraas (1974), 416 U.S. 1, 94 S.Ct. 1536, 39 L.Ed.2d

54a

797, dissenting opinion of Marshall, J., at page 16,

94 S.Ct. at 1544. [Footnote omitted.] A family unit,

which performs the social function of child-rearing,

regardless of its relationship or composition or

whether it includes foster children as well as nat-

ural children, is constitutionally protected against

governmental intrusion not supported by a compelling

governmental interest. Smith v. Organization of

Foster Families (1977), 481 U.S. 816, 844-845, 97

S.Ct. 2094, 2109, 53 L.Ed.2d 14; Wisconsin v. Yoder,

supra; Meyer v. Nebraska (1923), 262 U.S. 390,

399-401, 43 S.Ct. 625, 626-627, 67 L.Ed. 1042; 91

Harvard L.Rev. 1427, 1571-1574.

Saunders v. Clark Cty. Zoning Dept., (1981) 66 Ohio St.

2d 259, 421 N.E.2d 152, 155-156. Choices made by mar-

ried couples as to the composition of their family, whether

living in Ohio or Indiana, are cloaked with constitutional

protection against the enforcement of zoning restrictions

requiring consanquinity among residents of a home.

od * * *

55a

APPENDIX F (3)

PETITION FOR REHEARING

* Be * *

The question presented to this Court does have consti-

tutional dimensions, because choices made by persons as

to the composition of their family are constitutionally

protected from government intrusion or regulation. The

principal U.S. Supreme Court case relied upon by the

majority, Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas, (1974) 416

U.S. 1, 96 S.Ct. 1536, dealt only with the power of a

local government to enact a zoning ordinance regulating

the number of unrelated adults composing a household.

It was a college student housing case. It did not reach

the question of the constitutional power of local govern-

ment to regulate the internal relationship of adults and

dependent children living as a family.

The second and later case cited by the majority, Moore

v. City of East Cleveland, (1977) 481 U.S. 494, 97 S.Ct.

1932, 1944-45, is factually more akin to The Villages’

type permanent home for children living as a single

housekeeping unit. Moore illustrates and_ supports,

rather than undercuts, The Villages’ constitutional rights.

It held unconstitutional a zoning ordinance which sought

to regulate the composition of a family, and struck down

a zoning ordinance which narrowly defined the biological

relationship which must exist for children to live in a

home. The instrusion [sic] into family life was easily

recognizable in Moore. The same type of intrusion exists

here where persons choose to offer a permanent home for

foster children in a typical home setting. Moore recog-

nizes that local government does have a legitimate inter-

est in regulating the number of unrelated adults, because

of problems of parking, traffic and density. But neither

Village of Belle Terre nor Moore in any manner approves

zoning ordinances which purport to ban certain types of

families merely because blood ties do not exist.

56a

Any doubt of this conclusion is put to rest by Children’s

Home of Easton v. City of Easton, (1980) 53 Pa. Cmwith.

216, 417 A.2d 830. Faced with facts virtually identical

to the case at bar, the court in Haston concluded:

Contrary to the factual situation presented to the

United States Supreme Court in Belle Terre, where

six unrelated college students chose to live together

for a temporary period of time as a matter of con-

venience, here we are concerned with a functional

family unit which would promote the very values the

United States Supreme Court held in Belle Terre to

be worthy of preservation... .

417 A.2d at 832. Accordingly, Easton held an ordinance’s

restrictive definition of “family” to be arbitrary, unrea-

sonable, and violative of the equal protection and due

process clauses of the United States and state constitu-

tions.

e - 7 e

57a

APPENDIX F (4)

APPELLEE’S PETITION TO TRANSFER

* * * *

4. Local zoning restrictions prohibiting the occupancy

of a dwelling by a married couple and a reasonable num-

ber of foster children violate state and federal constitu-

tional guarantees. The majority opinion dismissed the

constitutional dimensions of this case by citing the US.

Supreme Court’s opinion in Village of Belle Terre v.

Boraas, (1974) 416 U.S. 1, 94 S. Ct. 1586. 464 N.E.2d

at 368. At the same point, the majority also referred to

the later case of Moore v. City of East Cleveland, (1977)

431 U.S. 494, 97 S. Ct. 1932. Belle Terre dealt only with

the power of local government to regulate the number of

unrelated adults. In contrast, Moore dealt specifically

with the question of the constitutionality of a local zoning

ordinance that purported to place limits upon arrange-

ments between adults and dependent children who reside

together as a single housekeeping unit. Belle Terre and

Moore recognized the legitimate interest of local govern-

ment in regulating the number of unrelated adults, be-

cause of problems of parking, traffic and density. But

Moore struck down the zoning ordinance in question, be-

cause it narrowly defined the biological relationship that

must exist among the adult residents and dependent chil-

dren. The intrusion into family life was easily recogniz-

able in Moore. The same type of intrusion exists here,

where persons choose to offer a permanent residence for

foster children in a traditional home setting. Belle Terre

was analyzed recently in a case factually similar to the

one at bar, Children’s Home of Easton v. City of Easton,

(1980) 53 Pa. Cmwlth. 216, 417 A.2d 830:

Contrary to the factual situation presented to the

United States Supreme Court in Belle Terre, where

six unrelated college students chose to live together

for a temporary period of time as a matter of con-

58a

venience, here we are concerned with a functional

family unit which would promote the very values the

United States Supreme Court held in Belle Terre to

ve worthy of preservation. .. .

417 A.2d at 832. Accordingly, Easton held an ordinance’s

restrictive definition of “family” to be arbitrary, unrea-

sonable, and violative of the equal protection and due

process clauses of the United States and state constitu-

tions.

* = * *

59a

APPENDIX F (5)

[BRIEF OF APPELLEE, THE VILLAGES, INC.,

IN SUPPORT OF PETITION FOR TRANSFER]

* . * *

(4) Local zoning restrictions prohibiting the occu-

pancy of a dwelling by a married couple and a reason-

able number of foster children violate state and federal

constitutional guarantees. The Villages urges that there

is no biological requirement in the Ordinance. But even

if there were, it could not pass constitutional muster.

The constitutional guarantees of “natural rights” and

“due course of law’ under the Indiana Constitution, Arti-

cle 1, $$ 1 and 12, respectively, and of ‘due process of

law” and “equal protection of the laws” under the Four-

teenth Amendment, and of “freedom of association” under

the First Amendment to the United States Constitution,

protect the privacy and associational interests of a foster

family against the kind of governmental instrusion [sic]

sought to be applied here. The Commission would restrict

and regulate The Villages by interpreting family to mean

persons related by blood and, thus, classify The Villages

as an institutional rather than residential use of real

estate. The majority opinion impiicitly rejects the Com-

mission’s interpretation, but replaces it with the equally

restrictive view that the accessory use section permitting

foster family care prohibits the permanent-family use

proposed by The Villages. Either view is equally viola-

tive of constitutional safeguards, because the effect is the

same, viz. to make consanguinity a litmus test for areas

zoned for one-family dwellings. The reasoning and au-

thorities compelling application of the above-cited consti-

tutional safeguards to The Villages’ use were cogently

summarized by the Ohio Supreme Court as follows:

The definition of “family” in this resolution

[zoning ordinance] is a broad one. In our view, any

resolution seeking to define this term narrowly would

60a

unconstitutionally intrude upon an individual’s right

to choose the family living arrangement best suited

to him and his loved ones. Moore v. East Cleveland

(1977), 481 U.S. 494, 499, 97 S.Ct. 1932, 1935, 52

L.Ed.2d 531. Those loved ones can just as easily be

foster children as natural children for parents with

compassion. A state or local government cannot con-

stitutionally invade the private realm of family life.

Wisconsin v. Yoder (1972), 406 U.S. 205, 231-233,

92 S.Ct. 1526, 1541-1542, 32 L.Ed.2d 15; Prince v.

Massachusetts (1944), 321 U.S. 158, 166, 64 S.Ct.

438, 442, 88 L.Ed. 645; Village of Belle Terre v.

Boraas (1974), 416 U.S. 1, 94 S.Ct. 1536, 39 L.Ed.2d

797, dissenting opinion of Marshall, J., at page 16,

94 S.Ct. at 1544. [Footnote omiited.] A family

unit, which performs the social function of child-

rearing, regardless of its relationship or composition

or whether it includes foster children as well as

natural children, is constitutionally protected against

governmental intrusion not supported by a compel-

ling governmental interest. Smith v. Organization of

Foster Families (1977), 481 U.S. 816, 844-845, 97

S.Ct. 2094, 2109, 53 L.Ed.2d 14; Wisconsin v. Yoder,

supra; Meyer v. Nebraska (1923), 262 U

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.