Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Yamanis v. United States

Supreme Court brief1985

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

- = ~~ *

2 a

8¢ " 1 2 6 0 + TPOifice- Supreme Court, U.S.

wre FILED

FEB __§_ 1985

IN THE vc gas “el STEVAS.

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1984

et tt

— oor

MICHAEL YAMANIS,

Petition. r;

—against—

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CiRCUIT

WALTER P. LOUGHLIN,

Attorney for Petitioner

15 Washington Street

Newark, New Jersey 07102

(201) 648-5457

~

DAVID S. ZAPP,

Of Counsel.

Satis

i

Questions Presented

I. Whether a term of imprisonment of 60 years,

without possibility of parole, and which is therefore ef-

fectively a term of life imprisonment for appellant, is

grossly disproportionate to the offense of which petitioner

has been convicted?

II. Whether, consistent with due process of law,

United States law enforcement agents can forcibly abduct

from a foreign country a foreign citizen lawfully residing

in that country, and involuntarily transport that individual

te the jurisdiction of the United States for purposes of

proceeding against him in a criminal prosecution?

Parties to the Proceeding

The parties to the proceeding in the United States

Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit were Michael

Yamanis, petitioner herein, Constantine Yamanis, Vin-

cent Calise and George Tom Darby.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Cm INE oe 5 i ino 3 60 5 A

, arties-to- the Proceeding ts

i kg, SUSE cee s Oey. CER ERRTER TE Ce

I ig uate ie oa Se, 2 eee

Constitutional Provisions Involved ................

Dees Oe Cee ae ne eu ee ees on

Reasons for Granting the Writ ..................

I.

II.

The Imposition Of A Sixty-Year Term Of

Imprisonment, Without Possibility Of Pa-

role, Which Is Therefore Effectively A Term

Of Life Imprisonment, Is Grossly Dispro-

portionate To The Offense Of Which Peti-

tioner Has Been Convicted .............

The Forcible Abduction Of Petitioner, A

Foreign Citizen Residing Lawfully In A

Foreign Country, And His Involuntary

Transportation To The United States For

Purposes Of Criminal Prosecution, Violated

Se TOO ok ere ie ee

COMGEAMIONE 66 isc Achat ee eee eee

Cases:

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Frisbie v. Collins, 342 U.S. 519 (1972) ...........

Government of Virgin Islands v. Ortiz, 427 F.2d 1043

(Oe Cie, 1090) ceca eee

ili

Ker v. Illinois, 119 U.S, 486 (1886) .............. 8

Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1961) ............. 9

Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 486 (1966) ........ 9

Rochin v. California, 342 U.S. 165 (1952) ......... )

Solem v. Helm, 103 S.Ct. 3001 (1988) ............ 4,6

United States v. Darby, 744 F.2d 1508 (11th Cir.

ed ea 5 45 0k d's bw EAN we 8 0 passim

United States v. Edmons, 482 F.2d 577 (2d Cir.

Sy i, i OE ees kien baka cw dx web's 8

United States v. Garrett, 727 F.2d 1003 (11th Cir.

SR ee ad. Wa ab Sec ss 8k ak Os 7

United States v. Herrera, 504 F.2d 859 (Sth Cir.

re LN bb Wk ka mk bu W800 808 8

United States v. Jeffers, 5382 F.2d 1101 (7th Cir.

ee eg ans | Wk hw A ake 8 7

United States v. Kirk, 723 F.2d 1379 (8th Cir. 1983)

United States v. Lopez, 542 F.2d 283 (5th Cir. 1976)

United States v. Phillips, 664 F.2d 971 (5th Cir.

Rents Bee Cr Bree CERGR) co acc sce cceess 7

United States v. Postal, 589 F.2d 862 (5th Cir.),

cert. denied, 444 U.S. 882 (1979) ............ 8

United States v. Toscanino, 500 F.2d 267 (2d Cir.

ee Re eek Sean aetna eo 8,9

United States v. Valenzuela, 646 F.2d 352 (9th Cir.

Ne cba aneaaaes’s 4,7

United States v. Winter, 509 F.2d 975 (5th Cir.

ee a eA KW We MK OOS 8

Wong Sun v. United States, 371 U.S. 471 (1963) ... 9

iv

PAGE

United States Constitution: ;

eS a co ci Ga vce uwabu ea ewre oha ah 2

Fee eerereerrenerste: 2

Statutes and Rules:

ETE A elena eae macnn ond ARE 2

WE nk says Coe SC4NWetandeeee 4

Se, I Shown s bo caec ae cve Cemadben 2

Oe oc int ha whens eka bee was passim

ee WI EE kk, ds bd Se 0d bbud oe coe nca ue 2

Other Authorities:

Allen, Due Process and State Criminal Procedures,

Another Look, 48 Nw. 16 (1958) ............

Pitler, The Fruit of the Poisonous Tree Revisited and

Shepardized, 56 Cal. L. Rev. 579 (1968) ......

Scott, Criminal Jurisdiction of a State over a Defen-

dant Based Upon Presence Secured by Force or

Fraud, 37 Minn. L. Rev. 91 (1953) ..........

Supreme Court 1951 Term, 66 Harv. L. Rev. 89

CRS Khe SRP EREIS EE ia ec PET RS eC

United States District Courts Sentences Imposed

Chart, Twelve Month Period Ending June 30,

1982 (Admin. Office U.S. Courts) (June 1983)

7

No. ——

: IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1984

—oorw

MICHAEL YAMANIS,

Petitioner,

—against—

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

—oow

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner Michael Yamanis respectfully prays that a

writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

in this case.

Opinion Below

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (Kravitch and

and Hatchett, Circuit Judges, and Morgan, Senior Circuit

Judge) is reported at 744 F.2d 1508 (11th Cir. 1984),

sub nom. United States v. Darby.

Jurisdiction

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered

on October 29, 1984. A timely filed petition for rehear-

2

ing with suggestion for en banc consideration was denied

on December 7, 1984. The jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) and Rule 20.1 of the

Rules of this Court.

Constitutional Provisions Involved

The Eighth Amendment to the United States Con-

stitution:

Excessive bail shall not be required, nor exces-

sive fines imposed, nor cruel and unusual punish-

ments inflicted.

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Consti-

tution:

No person shall be held to answer for a capital,

or otherwise infamous crime, unless on a present-

ment or indictment of a Grand Jury, except in

cases arising in the land or naval forces, or in

the Militia, when in actual service in time of War

or public danger; nor shall any person be subject

for the same offense to be twice put in jeopardy

of life or limb; nor shall be compelled in any crim-

inal case to be a witness against himself, nor be

deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due

process of law; nor shall private property be taken

for public use, without just compensation.

Statement of the Case

Petitioner was convicted after trial by jury before the

United States District Court for the Northern District of

Florida of engaging in a continuing criminal enterprise

(21 U.S.C. § 848), importation of marijuana (21 U.S.C.

§ 952 and 18 U.S.C. § 2), and possession of marijuana

with intent to distribute same (21 U.S.C. § 841 and 18

U.S.C. § 2). Petitioner was sentenced to a term of sixty

3

years imprisonment, without possibility of parole, and

fined $100,000 on the continuing criminal enterprise con-

viction. On the other two counts, consecutive five-year

terms of imprisonment were imposed, to run concurrent

with the sixty-year term, as well as two fines of

$15,000, and a two-year term of special parole. The

convictions were affirmed by the United States Court of

Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit. 744 F.2d 1508.

The District Court did not have personal jurisdiction

over appellant when the indictment was filed in January

1982. Six months later, at approximately 5:00 p.m. on

July 15, 1982, appeilant was arrested in San Pedro-Sula,

Honduras, by DEA agent Thomas Zepeda and a Hon-

duran police officer. Mr. Yamanis was held incommuni-

cado for approximately 22 hours in San Pedro-Sula and

Teguciga'pa, Honduras, and at 2:00 p.m. on July 16,

1982, was placed against his will on Air Florida Flight

476 and transported to Miami, Florida in the custory of

DEA agent Zepeda. (R. 16; R.E. 11-17).*

On July 19, 1982, appellant was brought before the

Honorable Charlene H. Sorrentino, United State. Magis-

trate for the Southern District of Florida, where he chal-

lenged the jurisdiction of the court to proceed against him

on the ground that he had been unlawfully arrested.

(R.E. 19). Magistrate Sorrentino imposed bail in the

amount of 10 million dollars cash or surety, and scheduled

a removal hearing for July 29, 1982. (R.E. 20-21). On

that date, appellant waived his right to an identity hear-

ing, and was subsequently transported to the Northern

District of Florida. (R.E. 22-24). Trial commenced

on October 12, 1982, and concluded on October 19, 1982,

*“R.” refers to the record on direct appeal in the Eleventh

Circuit. “R.E.” refers to the record excerpts volume filed with

petitioner’s brief on that appeal. “Tr.” followed by date and page

number refers to the trial transcript.

4

when the jury returned its verdict against appellant on

all three counts.

Effectively, Michael Yamanis has been sentenced to

prison for the rest of his life, since the 60-year term of

imprisonment is non-parolable.* He is currently in-

carcerated, as he has been continuously since July 15,

1982.

Reasons For Granting The Writ

1. The imposition Of A Sixty-Year Term Df Impri-

sonment, Without Possibility Of Parole, Which

Is Therefore Effectively A Term Of Life Imprison-

ment, Is Grossly Disproportionate To The Offense

Of Which Petitioner Has Been Convicted.

This Court has interpreted the constitutional prohibi-

tion on cruel and unusual punishment to contain the

“principle that a criminal sentence must be proportionate

to the crime for which the defendant has been convicted.”

Solem v. Helm, 103 S. Ct. 3001, 3009 (1983). In Solem,

three factors were identified as governing review of the

proportionality of criminal sentences: (1) the gravity of

the offense and the harshness of the penalty, (2) the

sentences imposed on other criminals in the same juris-

diction, and (3) the sentences imposed for commission of

the same crime in other jurisdictions. Jd. at 3010-11.

Application of these factors to petitioner’s sixty-year non-

parolable sentence leads to the conclusion that petitioner’s

sentence is grossly disproportionate to the offense of

which he was convicted.

* See 21 U.S.C. § 848, which provides that 18 U.S.C. § 4202,

the federal parole statute, does not apply to individuals sentenced

under section 848. See also United States v. Valenzuela, 646 F.2d

352, 354 (9th Cir. 1980) (“Congress clearly intended to make

parole unavailable to those who violated section 848.”).

5

Petitioner has always taken the position that a viola-

tion of 21 U.S.C. § 848 is a serious crime. However, the

fact that Congress set a range of available statutory

penalties—from a mandatory minimum of ten years’ im-

prisonment to a maximum of life imprisonment—reflects

a legislative recognition that section 848 could be violatec

in many different ways, some less serious than others.

Petitioner’s claim has been, and remains, that if the

proportionality principle has any meaning, it must be

that the most severe criminal punishments are reserved

for the most serious cases of criminal behavior, and that

less severe sentences are imposed when the offense com-

mitted is less grave. And it is undeniable that petitioner’s

particular violation of section 848 was not so serious that

he deserves the most severe punishment of spending the

remainder of his life imprisoned.*

Although the Court of Appeals was sensitive to the

need, in assessing the question of gravity, to “focus not

only on the offense as generally defined in the statute,

but also on the offense as actually committed by appel-

lants,” United States v. Darby, 744 F.2d at 1526 (foot-

note omitted), it concluded that petitioner’s sentence,

while “certainly . . . severe punishment,” was not dis-

proportionate to appellant’s crime, which the panel deci-

sion regarded as “particularly grave.” United States v.

Darby, 744 F.2d at 1526.

However, when one genuinely focuses on the “offense

as actually committed” by petitioner, one must conclude

* Although the Court of Appeals declined to refer to appel-

lant’s 60-year non-parolable sentence as effectively a sentence of

life imprisonment, United States v. Darby, 744 F.2d at 1526 n.10,

the decision acknowledges “the distinct possibility that appellants

will not survive the duration of their prison terms.” Jd. The

“possibility” is more than “distinct.” Even if appellant earns

the maximum statutory good time credits allowable during the

first 30 years of his sentence, by the year 2012, when appelant

is 78 years of age, he will still be facing 20 more years in prison.

6

that the offense does not deserve the equivalent of life

imprisonment. For instance, the Court of Appeals failed

to acknowledge that petitioner’s illegal activity involved

exclusively marijuana, the least dangerous of the *on-

trolled substances. Applying the “ge. erally accepted

_ eriteria,”’ Solem v. Helm, 103 S. Ct. at 3011, for determin-

ing the gravity of an offense, such as “the harm caused

or threatened to the victim or society,” id., it simply cannot

be disputed that a section 848 violation involving solely

marijuana is less serious, because it threatens less harm,

than would a section 848 violation involving more dan-

gerous controlled substances. The Court of Appeals did

not address this issue.

If a sentence which has the effect of imprisoning peti-

tioner for the remainder of his life is proportionate to a

crime consisting of arranging for 10 shipments of mari-

juana to be brought to the United States, over a 7-year

period, what sentence would be proportionate had his

crime been more grave?

Turning to the second factor relevant to a propor-

tionality analysis of petitioner’s sentence, i.e., “the sen-

tences imposed on other criminals in the same jurisdic-

tion,” the Court of Appeals concluded that there was “no

significant disparity” between petitioner’s sentence and

sentences imposed on other defendants under section 848.

United States v. Darby. 744 F.2d 1528, This conclusion,

however, is simply not supported by the facts.

When petitioner was sentenced, the statistics then

available showed that the national average of all sentences

imposed for section 848 violations was 312 months. Peti-

tioner was sentenced to serve 720 months, or nearly 21

times the national average. (R.E. 30). Since that time,

the national average has declined. According to the

statistics compiled by the Administrative Office of the

United States Courts, the national average bf all sen-

tences imposed for section 848 offenses during the 12-

7

month period ending June 30, 1982, was 243 months.*

Thus, petitioner’s sentence of 720 montns is almost

exactly three times the national average of sentences

imposed during the year he was sentenced.

The Court of Appeals dismissed these statistics on the

ground that “the use of such statistics could entail no

consideration of relative gravity . . .”, L/nited States Vv.

Darby, 744 F.2d at 1529 n.17, and instead relies on its

determination that “in several recent cases involving con-

tinuing criminal enterprises comparable to the one before

us the defendants received prison terms in the same range

as those given appellants.” Jd. at 1528. The “recent

cases” cited by the Court consist of seven prosecutions

under section 848, each of which involved either crimes

of greater gravity than petitioner’s,** or sentences con-

siderably less severe. For instance, in two of the pur-

portedly “comparable” cases cited, the sentences are

one-third less than petitioner’s. United States v. Garrett,

727 F.2d 1003 (11th Cir. 1984) ; United States v. Kirk,

723 F.2d 1379 (8th Cir. 1983). For purposes of pro-

portionality analysis, however, surely a 40-year sentence

cannot be regarded as equi alent to a 60-year sentence.

* United States District Courts Sentences Imposed Chart

Twelve Month Period Ending June 30, 1982, 194 (Admin. Office

U.S. Courts) (June 1983). The Administrative Office has not

yet released the statistics for the year ending June 1983.

** F.g., the Court of Appeals referred to the following cases:

Uniied States v. Phiilips, 664 F.2d 971 (5th Cir. 1981) (defen-

dants responsible for importation of one million pounds of mari-

juana; case marked by conspiracy to assassinate trial judge,

attempted bribe of a juror); United States v. Valenzuela, 646

F.2d 352 (9th Cir. 1980) (enterprise was “one of the major

sources of Mexican heroin in the United States”; responsible for

the importation of “vast quantities of heroin”); United States

v. Jeffers, 582 F.2d 1101 (7th Cir. 1976) (enterprise distributed

“between one and two thousand capsules of heroin a day” over

two-year period). None of these cases can-be fairly equated to

petitioner’s case.

= ~~

8

The Court of Appeals improperly assessed the gravity

of petitioner’s offense, by neglecting to take adequately

into account the reduced severity of a section 848 offense

involving solely marijuana, and by failing to recognize

the clear disparity between the sentence imposed on peti-

tioner and sentences imposed on other defendants con-

victed of violating section 848.

ll. The Forcible Abduction Of Petitioner, A Foreign

Citizen Residing Lawfully in A Foreign Country,

And His Involuntary Transportation To The

United States For Purposes Of Criminal Prosecu-

tion Violated Due Process.

Petitioner challenged his conviction in the Court of

Appeals on the ground that the District Court did not

have lawful jurisdiction over him because of his illegal

abduction while living as a lawful resident alien in Hon-

duras. Petitioner acknowledged that “a straightforward

application of the ‘Ker-Frisbe’ rule would lead to a denial

of this claim,” (M. Yamanis Br. 36),* and petitioner

recognized that the Eleventh Circuit’s precedents had

accepted the rule. See, e.g., United States Vv. Postal, 589

F.2d 862 (5th Cir. 1979); United States v. Lopez, 542

F.2d 283 (5th Cir. 1976); United States v. Winter, 509

F.2d 975 (5th Cir. 1975); United States v. Herrera, 504

F.2d 859 (5th Cir. 1974).

However, petitioner continues to contend that the rule

should be re-examined in light of developments in the

law since Frisbie v. Collins, 342 U.S. 519 (1972); and

Ker v. Illinois, 119 U.S. 486 (1886), were decided.**

*“M. Yamanis Br.” refers to petitioner’s brief on direct

appeal to the Eleventh Circuit.

** See, e.g., United States v. Toscanino, 500 F.2d 267 (2d Cir.

1974); United States v. Edmons, 432 F.2d 577, 583 (2d Cir.

[Footnote continued on following page]

9

Petitioner asks this Court to re-examine the continued

validity of the “Ker-Frisbie” rule, to condemn the extra-

legal DEA abduction of petitioner in this case, and to hold

that due process requires “a court to divest itself of

jurisdiction over the person of a defendant where it has

been acquired as the result of the government’s deliberate,

unnecessary and unreasonable invasion of the accused’s

constitutional rights.” United States v. Toscanino, 500

F.2d 267 (2d Cir. 1974).

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be

granted.

Dated: New York, New York

February 1, 1985

Respectfully submitted,

WALTER P. LOUGHLIN,

Attorney for Petitioner

15 Washington Street

Newark, New Jersey 07102

(201) 648-5457

DAvID S. ZAPP,

Of Counsel.

1970) (Friendly, J.); Government of Virgin Islands v. Ortiz, 427

F.2d 1043, 1045 n.2 (3d Cir. 1970); Pitler, The Fruit of the

Poisonous Tree Revisited and Shepardized, 56 Cal. L. Rev. 579,

600 (1968); Scott, Criminal Jurisdiction of a State Over a

Defendant Based Upon Presence Secured by Force or Fraud,

87 Minn. L. Rev. 91, 102, 107 (1953); Allen, Due Process and

State Criminal Procedures, Another Look, 48 Nw. U. L. Rev. 16,

27-28 (1953); Supreme Court 1951 Term, 66 Harv. L. Rev. 89,

126-27 (1953). See also Miranda V. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966) ;

Wong Sun v. United States, 371 U.S. 471 (1963); Mapp v. Ohio,

367 U.S. 643 (1961); Rochin v. California, 342 U.S. 165 (1952).

APPENDIX

la

Order

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 82-5840

Oct. 29, 1984

wo

Sows

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-A ppellee,

—_—vV.—-

GEORGE ToM DARBY, CONSTANTINE YAMANIS, VINCENT

CALISE, and MICHAEL YAMANIS,

Defendants-A ppellants.

eww

—_ oor

Defendants were convicted in the United States Dis-

trict Court for the Northern District of Florida, Lynn C.

Higby, J., of various offenses arising from their involve-

ment in a large drug-smuggling operation, and they ap-

pealed. The Court of Appeals, Kravitch, Circuit Judge,

held that: (1) first defendant was not denied statutory

right to speedy trial; (2) trial court did not err in denying

first defendant’s motions for continuances; (3) there was

no plain error in trial court’s jury instructions, eviden-

tiary rulings and discovery rulings, and, taken together,

these did not deprive first defendant of fair and impartial

trial; (4) 60-year sentences for engaging in continuing

criminal enterprise did not violate Eighth Amendment;

(5) imposition of cumulative fines for engaging in con-

tinuing criminal enterprise and for predicate offenses

was permissible; (6) Government’s alleged kidnapping of

second defendant from Honduras to procure his presence,

even if true, would not have divested District Court of

2a

personal jurisdiction; (7) third defendant received ade-

quate notice of status as, and was properly sentenced as,

dangerous special drug offender; and (8) evidence sus-

tained conviction of fourth defendant for conspiring to

import marijuana.

Affirmed.

Clyde M. Taylor, Jr., Tallahassee, Fla., for

Darby.

Robert J. Vossler, Tallahassee, Fla., for Calise.

Joel Hirschhorn, Harry M. Solomon, Miami,

Fla., for Constantine Yamanis.

Walter P. Loughlin, Newark, N.J., for Michael

Yamanis.

David L. McGee, Asst. U.S. Atty., Tallahassee,

Fla., for Plaintiff-Appellee.

<i.

ae

Appeals from the United States District Court for

the Northern District of Florida.

Before:

KRAVITCH and HATCHETT, Circuit Judges, and MORGAN,

Senior Circuit Judge.

KRAVITCH, Circuit Judge:

Appellants Constantine Yamanis, Michael Yamanis,

Vincent Calise and George Thomas Darby were convicted

and sentenced for their involvement in a large drug smug-

gling operation. The issues presented on appeal are:

(1) whether Constantine Yamanis’ right to a

speedy trial under 18 U.S.C. § 3161(c) (1) was

violated ; |

(2) whether the trial court’s denying Constantine

Yamanis’ motions for continuance constituted error

under 18 U.S.C. § 3161(c) (2) or an abuse of dis-

cretion ;

3a

(3) whether Constantine Yamanis was denied a

fair and impartial trial as a result of the trial

court’s jury instructions, evidentiary rulings and

discovery rulings;

(4) whether the sentences imposed on Constantine

Yamanis and Michael Yamanis are so dispropor-

tionate to the crime as to constitute cruel and un-

usual punishment, whether Constantine Yamanis’

indigency rendered the imposition of “stand com-

mitted” fines violative of the fifth amendment and

whether the trial court erred in imposing cumula-

tive fines;

(5) whether the trial court lacked personal juris-

diction over Michael Yamanis due to the circum-

stances of his arrest;

(6) whether the presence of information of dis-

puted accuracy in the presentence report violated

Michael Yamanis’ due process rights;

(7) whether Calise was improperly sentenced as

a dangerous special drug offender under 21 U.S.C.

§ 849 because of an untimely notice, an inadequate

notice, an insufficiently onerous standard of proof

or prosecutorial vindictiveness ;

(8) whether the trial court erred in prohibiting

Calise from interviewing the jurors after trial;

(9) whether there is sufficient evidence of Darby’s

guilt to support the conviction; and

(10) whether the evidence adduced by the govern-

ment established multiple conspiracies rather than

a single conspiracy such that there was a variance

between the allegations in the indictment and the

proof at trial prejudicial to Darby or such that the

trial court abused its discretion in denying Darby’s

motions for severance.

We affirm in all respects.

4a

Facts and Proceedings Below

Between 1975 and 1982, Constantine Yamanis and

Michael Yamanis, brothers, headed an extensive mari-

juana and hashish importation organization. The bill of

particulars filed by the government listed, and the evi-

dence adduced by the government tended to show, ten

major smuggling episodes for which this organization was

responsible, to wit:

(1) the importation of a multi-ton shipment of

marijuana at Moss Landing, California in late

June and early July 1981 (the Kloto episode) ;

(2) the importation of a multi-ton shipment of

marijuana on the coast of Oregon in May 1981, and

the transportation thereof from Oregon to Califor-

nia (the Oregon episode) ;

(3) the attempted transportation of two and one

half tons of marijuana from Florida to Texas in

December 1980 (the attempted transportation

episode) ;

(4) the importation of a seven-ton load of mari-

juana aboard a DC-2 aircraft at Bascomb, Florida

in July 1980, and the transportation thereof from

Florida to Texas (the DC-6 episode) ;

(5) the importation of a multi-ton shipment of

marijuana on the west coast of Florida in Decem-

ber 1978 (the Draco episode) ;

(6) the attempted importation of a multi-ton ship-

ment of hashish in late 1977 and early 1978 (the

BP-25 episode) ;

(7) the importation of a 14-ton shipment of mari-

juana at Gloucester, Massachusetts in November

1977 (the Willig episode) ;

(8) the importation of a multi-ton shipment of

marijuana at Gloucester, Massachusetts in late

May and early June 1977 (the Gretchen episode) ;

5a

(9) the attempted importation of a 15-ton shipment

of marijuana in October and November 1976 (the

Fylke episode) ; and

(10) the importation of a seven-ton shipment of

marijuana at Ambrose Light, New York in early

1976 (the Patria episode).

The Yamanis organization was also involved in several

smaller drug incidents.

The evidence at trial indicated that the Yamanises

were engaged not only in the importation and off-loading

of marijuana, but also in its transportation, distribution

and sale. In the course of their dealings, they procured

the assistance of public officials, both in this country and

abroad, exchanged hostages to ensure adherence to bar-

gains and otherwise resorted to threats of violence. Their

operation literally spanned the globe, from Florida, Cali-

fornia and New York to Colombia and Pakistan. And

from their drug smuggling activities, they reaped millions

of dollars.

Vincent Calise was one of the Yamanises’ chief lieu-

tenants. Having joined the organization in late 1975 or

early 1976, Calise actively participated in several of the

large drug transactions recounted above. In addition to

performing relatively minor tasks, he often assumed a

supervisory role, for example, in directing personnel en-

gaged in off-loading. The Yamanises were also assisted

by Tom Darby. Specifically, Darby participated in the

DC-6 episode.

On January 7, 1982, the Grand Jury for the Northern

District of Florida returned a five-count indictment charg-

ing appellants and seven others’ with violations of the

1 Appellants’ coindictees were Gian Carlo Beretta, Giovanni

Pecunia, Don Kirshner, George Ellibee, Bill Chiari, Charlie Harris

and “Will” Lnu. Chiari and Harris were tried with Constantine

Yamanis, Calise and Darby. Chiari was acquitted, and Harris was

convicted on two counts.

6a

Comprehensive Drug Abuse Prevention and Control Act

of 1970, 21 U.S.C. § 841-852, and the Controlled Sub-

stances Import and Export Act, 21 U.S.C. §§ 951-966.

Count I charged Constantine Yamanis and Michael Yam-

anis with engaging in a continuing criminal enterprise in

violation of 21 U.S.C. § 848. Count II charged Calise and

Darby with conspiracy to possess marijuana with intent

to distribute in violation of 21 U.S.C. §§ 841, 846. Count

III charged Calise and Darby with conspiracy to import

marijuana in violation of 21 U.S.C. §§ 952, 963. Count

IV charged all four appellants with importation of mari-

juana in violation of 21 U.S.C. §952. And Count V

charged all four appellants with possession of marijuana

with intent to distribute in violation of 21 U.S.C. § 841.

In June 1982, Constantine Yamanis, Calise and Darby

were tried by a jury before Judge Lynn Higby of the

Northern District of Florida. Jury selection occurred

on June 1, and the trial commenced on June 7. On June

15, the jury returned verdicts finding Constantine Ya-

manis guilty on Counts I, IV and V, Calise guilty on

Counts II, III and V, and Darby guilty on Count III.

Following his transportation from Honduras to Florida

in July 1982, Michael Yamanis was tried by a jury,

again before Judge Higby, in October 1982. He was

found guilty on Counts I, IV and V.

Constantine Yamanis and Michael Yamanis each re-

ceived a 60-year prison term and a $100,000 fine on

Count I, a five-year prison term, a $15,000 fine and two-

year special parole term on Count IV, and a five-year

prison term, a $15,000 fine and a two-year special parole

term on Count V. The two five-year terms are to run

consecutively to each other and concurrently with the

60-year term. The total fine is $130,000. Calise was

sentenced to a five-year prison term on Count II, a five-

year prison term on Count III, and a four-year prison

term on Count V, all to run consecutively; he was also

fined $15,000 on each of the three counts. Having been

found to be a dangerous special drug offender under 2)

7a

U.S.C. § 849, Calise received an additional prison term

of 25 years, to run concurrently with the other prison

terms. As a result of his conviction on Count III, Darby

was sentenced to five-years’ imprisonment and was fined

$15,000. This appeal ensued.

Claims

I. CONSTANTINE YAMANIS: STATUTORY

SPEEDY TRIAL

Constantine Yamanis contends that because he was

denied the right to a speedy trial in violation of the

Speedy Trial Act, 18 U.S.C. §§ 3161-3174, the district

court should have dismissed his indictment pursuant to

section 3162(a)(2) of the Act. Section 38161(c) (1)

essentially provides a 70-day period within which a de-

fendant must be brought to trial:

In any case in which a plea of not guilty is en-

tered, the trial of a defendant charged in an

information or indictment with the commission of

an offense shall commence within seventy days

from the filing date (and making public) of the

information or indictment, or from the date the

defendant has appeared before a judicial officer

of the court in which such charge is pending,

whichever date last occurs.

18 U.S.C.A. § 8161(c) (1) (Supp. 1984). Under section

3161(h), however, certain periods of delay may be ex-

cluded when calculating the 70-day period:

(h) The following periods of delay shall be ex-

cluded in computing the time within which an

information or an indictment must be filed, or in

computing the time within which the trial of any

such offense must commence:

(1) Any period of delay resulting from other

proceedings concerning the defendant, including

but not limited to—

* ” * * a

8a

(F) delay resulting from any pretrial motion,

from the filing of the motion through the conclu-

sion of the hearing on, or other prompt disposition

of, such motion;

+ * + * *

(J) delay reasonably attributable to any period,

not to exceed thirty days, during which any pro-

ceeding concerning the defendant is actually under

advisement by the court.

* * * * +

(7) A reasonable period of delay when the de-

fendant is joined for trial with a codefendant as

to whom the time for trial has not run and no

motion for severance has been granted.

18 U.S.C.A. § 3161(h) (Supp. 1984).

[1, 2] Our opinion in United States v. Stafford, 697

F.2d 1368 (11th Cir. 1983), deals exhaustively with

these excludable time provisions. Reading subsections

(1)(F) and (J) together, the court defined three cate-

gories of excludable periods. ‘The first is when a pretrial

motion requires a hearing. If a hearing is held, (F)

by its terms excludes without qualification the entire

period between the filing of the motion and the conclu-

sion of the hearing.” Jd. at 1373 (footnote omitted).

“The second situation in (F) applies to motions which

result in ‘prompt disposition.’ For these motions, the

period of exclusion begins at the iiling of the motion and

ends at the point of its ‘prompt disposition.’” Td.

“Prompt disposition” is defined as disposition within 30

days. Id. at 1373-74. “(F) apparently does not exclude

time in a third situation—namely, where the motion

requires no hearing and its disposition is not prompt.

In this situation, however, (J) permits an exclusion of

up to 30 days from the time the motion is ‘actually under

advisement’ by the court. This period is measured from

the time that the court receives all the papers it expects

from the parties.” Jd. (footnote omitted).

9a

The Stafford court also commented on subsection (7) :

Congress enacted this provision recognizing that

multidefendant trials ere desirable because they

promote efficiency in the disposition of trials. If

the Act imposed rigid time limits without apply-

ing exclusions to codefendants, courts would be

forced to “grant severances which would other-

wise not be required.” United States v. Varella,

692 F.2d 1352, 1359 (11th Cir. 1982) (quot-

ing legislative history of Speedy Tria! Act). For

this reason, the rule in this Circuit is that the

delay caused by one defendant is exciudable as

to his codefendants. IJd.; United States v. Davis,

679 F.2d 845, 849-50 (11th Cir. 1982). This

rule extends to delay caused by the filing of pre-

trial motions. Varella, 692 F.2d at 13858. See

also United States v. Edwards, 627 F.2d 460, 461

(D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 872, 101 S.Ct.

211, 66 L.Ed.2d 92 (1980); United States v.

McGrath, 613 F.2d 361, 366 (2d Cir. 1979), cert.

denied, 446 U.S. 967, 100 S.Ct. 2946, 64 L.Ed.

2d 827 (1980).

697 F.2d at 1372; see United States v. Zielie, 734 F.2d

1447, 1453 (11th Cir. 1984). As noted in United States

v. Davis, 679 F.2d 845 (11th Cir. 1982), cert. denied,

459 U.S. 1207, 103 S.Ct. 1198, 75 L.Ed.2d 441 (1983),

however, subsection (7) contains two requirements: first,

the period of delay caused by the codefendant must be

reasonable, and second, as to the codefendant the time

for trial must not have run and a motion for severance

must not have been granted. Jd. at 849-50.’

* Yamanis argues that the court in Stafford was incorrect in

stating that ‘‘delay caused by one defendant is excludable as to his

co-defendants,” 697 F.2d at 1372, and urges us to dis.egard “the

rule in this Circuit,” id. Yamanis further asserts that even if

the Stafford rule is correct, we should fashion an exception in this

[Footnote continued on following page]

10a

To summarize, we must determine (1) whether the

period between the filing of the indictment or the first

appearance of the defendant, whichever came later, and

the beginning of the trial exceeds the 70-day period under

section 3161(c) (1); (2) if so, whether the period of

delay excludable under section 3161 (h) equals or exceeds

the difference between the pretrial period and the 70-day

period; and (3) if so, whether the period of delay ex-

cluded under section 3161(h) (7) is reasonable and other-

wise qualifies for exclusion. Here 118 days elapsed

between Yamanis’ arraignment on February 3, 1982,

which followed the filing of the indictment on January 7,

1982, and jury selection on June 1, 1982; thus the statu-

tory limit of 70 days is exceeded by 48 days.

[3,4] At least five days are excludable under section

3161(h) (1) (F). On May 26, Yamanis filed a motion for

continuance, which was denied on June 1. As this denial

constituted a prompt disposition of the motion, the six-

day period from May 27 to June 1, inclusive, falls within

the second category defined in Stafford. Under section

3161(h) (7), 60 additional days, perhaps more, may be

excluded. Codefendant Darby filed a motion for sever-

ance on February 24; on May 6, the motion was denied

without a hearing. Applying the 30-day limitation under

section 3161(h) (1) (J), governing pretrial motions not

promptly disposed of, see Stafford, 697 F.2d at 1374, we

may exclude the 30 days from February 25 to March 26,

inclusive. Codefendant Chiari’s discovery motions, filed

on March 11, were disposed of without a hearing on May

case. We note initially that a panel of this court lacks the au-

thority to overrule a binding precedent such as Stafford; that

authority is reserved to the court sitting en bane and the Supreme

Court. Second, a review of the decisions cited in Stafford and

Zielie, and the legislative history quoted therein, confirms that

Stafford accurately states the law not only as developed in this

circuit, but also as originally enacted by Congress. Finally, we

find nothing in the particular circumstances of this case warrant-

ing an exception,

lla

6. Having already excluded the period from March 12

through March 26, and again applying section 3161 (h)

(1) (J), we may exclude 30 of the remaining 41 days

between March 27 and May 6. Since the number of

excludable days—no less than 66—easily exceeds 48, we

must affirm if the period of delay attributed to Yamanis

under section 3161(h)(7) is reasonable and otherwise

qualifies for exclusion.

[5-8] It is undisputed that with respect to codefend-

ants Darby and Chiari the statutory speedy trial periods

had not been exhausted prior to trial. And, of course,

the trial of neither codefendant had been severed from

thet of Yamanis. The sole question, then, is whether the

period of delay excluded under section 3161 (h) (7) —

more precisely, the 42-day period representing the differ-

ence between the 48-day period of excess delay and the

six-day period consumed by Yamanis’ motion for continu-

ance *—is reasonable. We conclude that it is. In address-

ing this question, we employ alternative views of reason-

ableness, for the precise nature of the reasonableness in-

quiry is not entirely clear from the statute and case law.

Under one approach, reasonableness is determined with

reference to the totality of the circumstances prior to trial.

Thus a period of delay is reasonable under section 3161

(h) (7) if it appears necessary in order for the trial court

3 Insofar as the reasonableness requirement constitutes a re-

striction on the exclusion of time under section 3161 (h) (7)—not

a restriction on the exclusion of time under other provisions and

not an independent restriction on the expenditure of time on

pretrial motions—we focus on the 42 days of delay which resulted

from the codefendants’ pretrial motions and which must be at-

tributed to Yamanis in order to satisfy the statute. Only the

period of delay necessarily excluded under section 3161(h) (7)

is relevant, so we are not concerned with the total time actually

excluded, 48 days, the total excludable time, at least 66 days, the

entire period between the first appearance and trial, 118 days, or

the time lapsing between the filing and disposition of the codefen-

dants’ motions.

12a

to dispose of the underlying motions, cf. United States

v. Varella, 692 F.2d 1352, 1358 (11th Cir. 1982) (equat-

ing reasonableness with “the propriety of delay as to those

defendants whose motions were pending”), cert. denied,

— U.S. —, 103 S.Ct. 3542, 77 L.Ed.2d 1392, — U.S. —,

104 S.Ct. 127, 78 L.Ed.2d 124 (1983), “for the court

to conduct previously scheduled trials,” Davis, 679 F.2d

at 850, or “for [codefendants| to obtain new counsel,” id.

We cannot say that the 42-day period at issue was not

necessary in order for the district court thoroughly to

consider and rule on the codefendants’ motions. In addi-

tion, there were significant problems of representation,

particularly with regard to Yamanis and Calise, which

justified further delay.

Reasonableness may also be judged in terms of pre-

judice to the defendant. The Davis court, for instance,

emphasized that the defendant’s “ability to defend him-

self was not prejudiced by this delay.” 679 F.2d at 850.

Similarly, there is no contention, nor is there any indi-

cation in the record, that the 42-day delay in this case

impaired Yamanis’ defense at trial. Yamanis does argue

that he was prejudiced in that he suffered prolonged

pretrial incarceration. We conclude, however, that any

prejudice in this sense was insufficient to render the

period of delay unreasonable.

Finally, examination of the periods of delay held

excludable under section 3161(h)(7) in other cases con-

firms our conclusion that the 42-day period in question

was not unreasonable. The court determined that a

59-day delay was reasonable in Davis, 679 F.2d at 850,

while in Varella, the court made a similar determination

in connection wtih a 4-month delay, 692 F.2d at 1359.

Finding the period of delay excluded in this case rea-

sonable in every respect,‘ we hold that Yamanis’ stat-

* We also reject Yamanis’ assertion that the excluded period is

unreasonable in that the delay “was the result of a combination

[Footnote continued on following page]

13a

utory right to a speedy trial was not violated and that

the district court properly refused to dismiss the in-

dictment.

II. CONSTANTINE YAMANIS: CONTINUANCE

Constantine Yamanis challenges the district court’s

denials of his motions for continuance on two grounds:

first, that the denials were erroneous under 18 U.S.C.

§ 83161(c) (2), and second, that the denials constituted

an abuse of discretion as a result of which he was denied

due process.

Yamanis was arraigned on February 3, 1982, at which

time he was represented by Stephen Heiser, a retained

attorney. On May 10, Heiser withdrew due to a conflict

of interest, and the district court appointed the Public

Defender to represent Yamanis. Because of a conflict

of interest on the Public Defender’s part, the court

appointed E.C. Deeno Kitchen, a private attorney, as

counsel for Yamanis on May 11. Jury selection took

place on June 1, and the trial was recessed until June 7.

Yamanis moved for continuances on May 26 and June 7;

both motions were denied.

A. Error Under 18 U.S.C. § 2161(¢) (2)

[9] Section 3161(c)(2) of the Speedy Trial Act

provides:

of the District Court’s and Government’s failure to abide by the

mandate of 18 U.S.C. § 3161(c) (1) to provide Appellant with his

statutorily protected right to a speedy tria!, compounded by the

filing of totally unrelated motions by co-defendants who are not

even charged in Count 1, the most serious of all those counts

alleged in the Indictment.” Asserting that the court and the gov-

ernment failed to adhere to the provisions of section 3161 (h) (7)

merely begs the question. Moreover, requiring that the motions

at issue relate to the defendant or that the codefendants be charged

with equally grave offenses would thwart the intent of Congress,

i.e., not to upset existing severance rules, see Safer, 697 F.2d at

1372; Zielie, 734 F.2d at 1458.

14a

Unless the defendant consents in writing to the

contrary, the trial should not commence less than

thirty days from the date on which the defendant

first appears through counsel or expressly waives

counsel and elects to proceed pro se.

18 US.C.A. §3161(c)(2) (Supp. 1984) (emphasis

added). Yamanis asserts that the statute “contemplates

the date when a defendant first appears through an

attorney who undertakes the responsibility for preparing

the case for trial.” Terming Heiser’s representation at

the arraignment a “technical” appearance, he urges us

to treat Kitchen’s appointment on May 11 as the first

appearance.

In support of his claim, Yamanis cites the Ninth

Circuit’s decision in United States v. Daly, 716 F.2d 1499

(9th Cir. 1983), cert. dismissed, — U.S. —, 104 S.Ct.

1456, 79 L.Ed2d 773 (1984). There the court exam-

ined the legislative history underlying section 3161 (c)

(2) and determined that “the provision was meant to

guarantee a minimum period of thirty days for the

preparation of the defense.” Jd. at 1504. Underscoring

“Congressional concern . . . that a defendant be given

a reasonanle time to obtain counsel and that counsel be

provided a reasonable time to prepare the case,” id. at

1505 (emphasis in original), the court stated:

To fulfill this policy, the 30-day period should

commence only after the indictment or information

has been filed and made public and the defendant

has first appeared with counsel engaged or ap-

pointed to represent him at trial. We therefore

hold that the 30-day period begins to run when

an attorney appears on a defendant’s behalf after

the indictment or information has been filed, unless

there is an indication that the attorney is appear-

ing only for a limited purpose and will not further

represent that defendant at trial. If the attorney

15a

has been appointed to represent the defendant only

for a specific pre-arraignment purpose or at the

time of his initial appearance or prior to the filing

of the indictment or information disavows his in-

tent to represent the defendant further, the period

will not commence because the statutory purpose

of the 30-day delay would not be fulfilled.

Id. At the bail hearing in Daly, one of the appellants was

represented by an attorney “appointed only for that pur-

pose,” id; two other appellants were represented by attor-

neys who “undertook preparation of the defense from the

date of that hearing,” id. Because the former appellant’s

attorney was “explicitly appointed,” id. at 1504, for the

limited purpose of representing him at the bail hearing,

the court held that the 30-day period did not commence

until the later appearance of appointed trial counsel. Jd.

at 1505.

We are reluctant to adopt the Ninth Circuit’s reading

of section 3161(c) (2), for it ignores the plain meaning

of the phrase “first appears through counsel.” When

employing the term “first,” Congress presumably did not

have subsequent appearances in mind. More important,

the absence of any qualification on the term “counsel”

indicates that Congress did not have a particular type of

counsel in mind. We find no basis in the language of the

statute for concluding that by “counsel” Congress meant

“trial counsel,” “last retained or appointed counsel,” or

“counsel engaged or appointed to represent [the defend-

ant] at trial.” Nor does the legislative history of the

provision require such a conclusion. It is clear, as the

Daly court pointed out, that Congress intended section

3161 (c) (2) to provide a minimum period for preparation.

It is equally clear, however, that this measure alone, even

as interpreted in Daly, cannot ensure adequate prepara-

tion time in every case, and that it was not intended to do

so. Recognizing that the statute only partially addresses

“Congressional concern” about the adequacy of prepara-

l6a

tion and that Congress inevitably relied on the trial

judge’s discretion to grant a continuance where necessi-

tated by the circumstances of counsel’s retention or ap-

pointment, we conclude that a literal construction of sec-

tion 3161 (c) (2) is consistent with its legislative purpose.°

5 Furthermore to the extent that the interpretation urged by

Yamanis would enable defendants to postpone their prosecutions

by simply changing lawyers or by retaining lawyers only for

limited purposes prior to trial, it would contravene the major

purpose of the Speedy Trial Act, i.e., avoiding unnecessary delay.

Finally, our construction of the provision is censistent with that

of the Fourth Cireuit. In United States v. Wooten, 688 F.2d 941

4th Cir. 1982), the court stated, “What section 3161(c)(2) does

is simply to guarantee to the criminal defendant the right to a

delav of at least thirty days between arraignment and trial in

any circumstances.” Jd. at 951 (emphasis added) ; see also United

States v. Mers, 701 F.2d 1321, 1333-34 (11th Cir.) (quoting

Weoten with approval), cert. denied, — U.S. —, 104 S.Ct. 481,

78 L.Ed.2d 679, —- U.S. —, 104 S.Ct. 482, 78 L.Ed. 679 (1983).

Even if we were to adopt the Ninth Circuit’s approach, we

sould nevertheless reject Yamanis’ claim, for we cannot accept

his characterization of Heiser’s representation. In his brief on

appeal, Yamanis dismisses Heiser’s arraignment appearance as

merely “technical,” and he calls Heiser’s appearance at a later

hond hearing “a limited ‘special appearance.’” The implication

throughout is that Heiser was not engaged to represent him at

trial. The record, however, does not support Yamanis’ version of

the facts. Heiser entered a genera’ appearance by notice of ap-

pearance filed February 3, 1982. At the arraignment that day,

Heiser neither explicitly nor implicitly disavowed his intent to

represent Yamanis at later stages, including trial. And at the

hearing during which he sought to withdraw, Heiser in no way

uggested that he had been hired for limited purposes; he merely

stated that in fact he had rendered no services except in con-

nection with bail. Indeed, if he had been hired for the sole pur-

pose of representing Yamanis at the arraignment and the bond

hearing, it is unclear how Heiser was later put in the position

of having to withdraw as trial counsel on conflict grounds. Under

Daly, counsel is presumed to have been engaged or appointed to

represent the defendant at trial “unless there is an indication that

the attorney is appearing only for a limited purpose and will not

further represent that defendant at trial.” 716 F.2d at 1505.

There is no such indication in this case.

| BEST AVAILABLE COPY

17a

For purposes of section 3161(c)(2), Yamanis first

appeared through counsel at his arraignment on February

3. Inasmuch as the trial commenced some four months

later, we conclude that the statutory requirement was

satisfied. Accordingly, we hold that the district court

did not err under section 3161(c) (2) in denying Yam-

anis’ motions for continuance.

B. Abuse of Discretion Resulting In Denial of Due

Process

[10, 11] In Avery v. Alabama, 308 U.S. 444, 60 S.Ct.

321, 84 L.Ed. 377 (1940), the Supreme Court observed:

In the course of trial, after due appointment of

competent counsel, many procedural questions

necessarily arise which must be decided by the trial

judge in light of facts then presented and condi-

tions then existing. Disposition of a request for a

continuance is of this nature and is made in the

discretion of the trial judge, the exercise of which

will ordinarily not be reviewed.

Id. at 446, 60 S.Ct. at 322; see Ungar v. Sarafite, 376

U.S. 575, 589, 84 S.Ct. 841, 849, 11 L.Ed.2d 921 (1964).

As the predecessor of this court pointed out in United

States v. Uptain, 531 F.2d 1281 (5th Cir. 1976):

A motion for a continuance is addressed to the

sound discretion of the trial court, and its ruling

will not be disturbed on appeal unless there is a

showing that there has been an abuse of that dis-

cretion. This issue must be decided on a case by

case basis in light of the circumstances presented,

particularly the reasons for continuance presented

to the trial court at the time the request is denied.

Id. at 1285-86 (citations omitted); see United States v.

Marquardt, 695 F.2d 1300, 1302 (11th Cir.), cert. denied,

460 U.S. 1093, 103 S.Ct. 1793, 76 L.Ed.2d 360 (1983) ;

United States v. Jimenez-Diaz, 659 F.2d 562, 567 (5th

Cir. Unit B 1981), cert. denied, 456 U.S. 907, 102 S.Ct.

1754, 72 L.Ed.2d 164 (1982).

18a

[12-14] The reasons for a continuance asserted below

generally relate to the adequacy of the time available for

preparation. In support of the May 26th motion, de-

fense counsel noted that he had been appointed 15 days

earlier and that the trial was scheduled to commence in

seven days and to recommence in 14 days. Emphasizing

that the case was “enormously complex” and “most seri-

ous in nature,” that discovery had not been completed and

that his client’s incarceration limited opportunities to

confer, counsel declared, “considerable work in the way

of investigation and preparation must yet be done prior

to being adequately prepared for trial.”

In the Uptain opinion, the court listed a host of con-

siderations bearing on a claim of this sort:

We have deemed the following factors highly rele-

vant in assessing claims of inadequate preparation

time: the quantum of time available for prepara-

tion, the likelihood of prejudice from denial, the

accused’s role in shortening the effective prepara-

tion time, the degree of complexity of the case, and

the availability of discovery from the prosecution.

We have also explicitly considered the adequacy of

the defense actually provided at trial, the skill

and experience of the attorney, any pre-appoint-

6In his brief on appeal, Yamanis contends that by virtue of

time and geographic limitations, neither he nor potential wit-

nesses were accessible to counsel. When claiming that a con-

tinuance is necessary in order to interview and procure the pre-

sence of potential witnesses,

fa] movant must show that due diligence has been exercised

to obtain the attendance of the witness, that substantial

favorable testimony would be tendered by the witness, that

the witness is available and willing to testify, and that

the denial of a continuance would materially prejudice the

defendant.

United States v. Uptain, 581 F.2d 1281, 1287 (5th Cir. 1976)

(quoting United States v. Miller, 513 F.2d 791, 793 (5th Cir.

1975)). As Yamanis utterly failed to meet this rather stringent

standard, we concentrate on his general lack of preparation claim.

19a

ment or pre-retention experience of the attorney

with the accused or the alleged crime, and any

representation of the defendant by other attorneys

that accrues to his benefit.

581 F.2d at 1286-87 (footnotes omitted). Applying the

pertinent factors’ to the facts presented, we conclude

that the district court did not abuse its discretion in deny-

ing Yamanis’ motions for continuance.

Though relatively straightforward from a legal stand-

point, the case was factually complicated, to be sure.

And inasmuch as the withdrawals of his previous coun-

sel were occasioned by conflicts of interest, Yamanis was

not entirely responsible for shortening his last appointed

counsel’s preparation time. On the other hand, as the

district court stated “for the record” at the hearing re-

garding the appointment of counsel on May 10, 1982, “‘it

would appear that all this confusion concerning lawyers

has been generated at least in part by the defendants,

notwithstanding the warning of the court back in Febru-

ary of 1982 that you should get you a lawyer and get on

with the defense of your case.” In addition, Yamanis’

trial counsel was afforded considerable time for prepara-

tion: over three weeks elapsed between Kitchen’s appoint-

ment on May 11 and jury selection on June 1, and

Kitchen had almost a full month before the first witness

testified on June 7. With respect to discovery from the

7 Citing United States v. Avites, 623 F.2d 1192 (7th Cir.

1980), Yamanis contends that a trial court’s exercise of its dis-

cretion must entail consideration of the factors enumerated in 18

U.S.C. § 3161(h) (8). A trial court may run afoul of the Speedy

Trial Act by granting a continuance without heeding subsection

3161(h) (8), but that provision does not control our review of a

trial court’s denying a motion for continuance. Subsection (h) (8)

governs only the extent to which delay caused by a continuance

may be excluded from the speedy trial computation. In addressing

the distinct issue whether the denial of a motion for continuance

violated the defendant’s due process rights, we draw on the list

of factors in Uptain.

20a

prosecution, the district court ordered the government

to furnish Kitchen with all previously disclosed material.

Even if, as Kitchen asserted on May 26, some discovery

material had not yet been made avaliable, there is no

indication that the government did not subsequently com-

ply or that the government’s noncompliance was preju-

dicial.

Turning to the adequacy of the defense actually pro-

vided at trial, we note that Yamanis identifies no seriously

prejudicial flaws in Kitchen’s performance which may be

attributed to the absence of a continuance. And although

he had no previous familiarity with his client or the

crimes, Kitchen was an experienced criminal trial attor-

ney, even by Yamanis’ account. In addition, Kitchen

evidently had the benefit of the earlier representation of

Yamanis and his codefendants by other lawyers, for the

district court ordered the clerk to furnish him with all

pleadings, including discovery motions and responses, and

according to the May 26th motion, he consulted with

several attorneys of record.

Departing from the considerations cataloged in Up-

tain, we recognize that the district court was considerate

of Yamanis’ interests in its scheduling of the trial and

in its handling of the case in general. When allowing

Heiser to withdraw as counsel, the court immediately

granted a three-week continuance. Even though his eligi-

bility for appointed counsel was questionable, the court,

“in an abundance of caution, declared Mr. Yamanis en-

titled to appointed counsel and temporarily appointed the

Public Defender to represent him.” As pointed out above,

when Kitchen was substituted as counsel, the court ar-

ronged for him to receive all discovery material and

pleadings.

Having reviewed the particular circumstances of this

case, we conclude that Yamanis has failed to make the

requisite showing that the absence of a continuance seri-

ously prejudiced him. See Jimenez-Diaz, 659 F.2d at

2la

567. Hence we hold that the district court’s denials of

his motions for continuance did not constitute an abuse

of discretion and were not so arbitrary as to violate the

due process clause.

III. CONSTANTINE YAMANIS: FAIR AND

IMPARTIAL TRIAL

Combining several discrete claims under a single head-

ing, Constantine Yamanis maintains that he was denied

a fair and impartial trial as guaranteed by the fifth and

sixth amendments. Addressing these claims separately

and together, we find no reversible error.

A. Jury Instructions

As part of its preliminary instructions to the jury,

the district court stated:

You will have ample time to deliberate your verdict

once everything is finished. That is, as you well

know, there is always two sides to every story.

For that reason, you should keep an open mind

and not form or express any opinions about the

case.

Yamanis argues that this instruction “had the effect of

shifting the burden to Appellant to prove his innocence

... and ‘challenged’ the accused to offer evidence (or at

least ‘explain’ his ‘side of the story’ to the jury).”

[15, 16] Since Yamanis failed to object to the in-

struction at trial, we review this claim under the plain

error standard. Fed. R.Crim.P. 52(b) ; see United States

v. Wolfe, 611 F.2d 1152, 1153 (5th Cir. 1980). Although

language other than “there is always two sides to every

story” might have been preferable, read in context, the

passage quoted merely exhorts the jury not to decide the

case prematurely. Given that the jury was repeatedly

charged on the government’s burden of proof, we con-

clude that the instruction in question was not plainly

erroneous. |

B. Evidentiary Rulings

[17] Yamanis contends that the testimony of three

government witnesses was inadmissible under Rules 403

and 404(b) of the Federal Rules of Evidence. Dominick

Grillo, a New York City narcotics detective, testified to

a meeting at which Michael Yamanis agreed to sell him

35 tons of marijuana. Constantine Yamanis asserts that

the evidence was irrelevant and prejudicial, and therefore

should have been excluded under Rule 403.

Again, as Yamanis made no objection at trial, we

apply the plain error standard. Fed.R.Crim.P. 52(b) ;

see Wolfe, 611 F.2d at 1153. To the extent that the event

described by Grillo may be viewed as an overt act in

furtherance of the charged conspiracies or as one in a

continuing series of violations for continuing criminal

enterprise purposes, the testimony appears to have been

relevant. Moreover, insofar as Constantine Yamanis was

not directly implicated in the transaction, the testimony

was not particularly prejudicial. We therefore conclude

that the admission of Grillo’s testimony did not constitute

plain error under Rule 403.°

[18] Yamanis next challenges the testimony of Bill

Gant regarding codefendant Harris’ involvement in co-

caine trafficking. Yamanis argues that the evidence was

used to prove his character in order to show his propensity

to commit the crimes charged and thus was inadmissible

under Rule 404(b).° Gant testified that he had known

8 Nor was it plain error under Rule 404(b) or Rule 802, as

Yamanis suggests. In his brief, he correctly states that “the

testimony obviously had no application to Appellant, since it

focused entirely on his brother.” Because the testimony recounted

only an extrinsic offense committed by Michael Yamanis and thus

related only to Michael Yamanis’ character, Constantine Yamanis

has no Rule 404(b) claim. And since the testimony arguably was

not hearsay, as defined in Rule 801(c) and (d)(2)(E), its ad-

mission was not plainly erroneous under Rule 802.

®Rule 404(b) reads in part, “Evidence of other crimes,

wrongs, or acts is not admissible to prove the character of a per-

son in order to show that he acted in conformity therewith.”

Fed. R. Evid. 404(b).

23a

Harris for twelve years and that he had transported co-

caine and money to and from Miami for Harris on

numerous occasions starting in the spring of 1980. In

his brief on appeal, Yamanis asserts, “The implication

of all this testimony . . . was that Appellant and his

brother .. . were behind each and every drug transaction

which the witness described.” However, at no point in

his testimony did Gant identify Yamanis as having been

involved in the cocaine operation. Indeed, Yamanis was

implicated only in that Harris and others involved in

the cocaine operation were also associated with the

Yamanis marijuana importation organization. Because

Gant’s testimony regarding the cocaine operation was not

probative of Yamanis’ character, we conclude that the

disputed evidence is not covered by the prohibition in

Rule 404(b) and hence was not inadmissible with respect

to Yamanis.

[19] The third government witness whose testimony

Yamanis challenges is Spiro Anthanasiades. He testified

that while in jail in Miami, he was visited by a lawyer

associated with the Yamanises. The prosecutor and the

witness then had the following exchange:

Q. What did he tell you? What was the message?

A. He told me to be quiet, take it easy, because

he say they know where my brother is at.

Q. Who knows where your brother is at?

A. He didn’t say, sir, but he didn’t mention any

names.

Q. What was your response to that?

A. I got mad at him.

At this point, counsel for appellant Darby moved for a

mistrial.

Although there was no such objection at trial, Yamanis

now maintains that Anthanasiades’ testimony was in-

24a

admissible hearsay. In particular, he asserts that the

lawyer’s statement was not an admission by a party-

opponent under Rule 801(d)(2)(D) and (E) since it

neither concerned a matter within the scope of the law-

yer’s agency, if any, nor furthered the conspiracy. We

need not address the applicability of the non-hearsay pro-

visions of Rule 801(d)(2), for we conclude that the

statement in question does not fall within the basic defini-

tion of hearsay in Rule 801(c). In order to constitute

hearsay, a statement must be “offered in evidence to

prove the truth of the matter asserted.” Fed.R.Evid.

801(c). Here the matter asserted by the out-of-court

declarant was that “they” knew where the witness’

brother was. It is evident that the statement was offered

by the government not to establish that the Yamanises

actually knew the whereabouts of Anthanasiades’ brother,

but to show the impact of the making of the statement,

whether true or false, on Anthanasiades’ inclination to

tell the truth. For this reason, Anthanasiades’ testimony

was not inadmissible under the hearsay rule.

Yamanis also contends that the testimony should have

been excluded under Rule 403. As suggested above, the

government evidently introduced the conversation between

Anthanasiades and the lawyer in an effort to bolster the

witness’ credibility, which had been called into question

on cross-examination. The government presumably sought

to demonstrate the witness’ resolve to testify truthfully

as reflected by his angry response to the lawyer’s state-

ment. Although the conversation might have been re-

garded by the jury as having instead motivated the

witness to lie, either in the government’s favor or in

the defendant’s favor, and thus was not conclusive on

the issue of credibility, we cannot say that the testimony

was irrelevant. Insofar as its probative value was not

substantially outweighed by any prejudicial effect, the

testimony was not inadmissible under Rule 403.

25a

C. Discovery Rulings

[20] Finally, Yamanis maintains that the district

court erred in refusing defense counsel access to material

purportedly discoverable under the Jencks Act, 18 U.S.C.

§ 3500. The material at issue consisted of 19 pages of a

statement given by Charles Etheridge, a government wit-

ness. After inspecting the statement in camera, the court

found that “the matters in there are irrelevant and im-

material and does not contain any impeachment material,

either Brady or Giglio, and so that I find that as a matter

of fact the government’s refusal to disclose the matter as

Jencks Act material is well taken.” “It is the primary

duty of the trial judge to determine the producibility of

a statement under the Jencks Act. Although his ruling

is subject to appellate review, it is sustainable unless

clearly erroneous.” Matthews v. United States, 407 F.2d

1371, 13876 (5th Cir. 1969) (citation omitted), cert. de-

nied, 398 U.S. 968, 90 S.Ct. 2177, 26 L.Ed.2d 554 (1970) ;

see United States v. Cathey, 591 F.2d 268, 274 (5th Cir.

1979) ; Lloyd v. United States, 412 F.2d 1084, 1088 (5th

Cir. 1969). Having examined Etheridge’s statement, we

cannot say that the district court’s findings are clearly

erroneous. Indeed, we are in complete agreement with the

court’s ruling.

[21] Viewing the district court’s instructions and

various rulings in combination, we hold that Constantine

Yamanis was not denied a fair and impartial trial.

IV. CONSTANTINE YAMANIS AND MICHAEL

YAMANIS: SENTENCES

Constantine Yamanis and Michael Yamanis raise

three claims in connection with their sentences. Each

contends that his sentence is barred by the eighth amend-

ment in that it is disproportionate to his crime. In addi-

tion, Constantine Yamanis argues that by virtue of his

indigency, the imposition of “stand committed” fines vio-

lated the due process clause. And according to both, the

district court erred in imposing fines exceeding the maxi-

mum under 21 U.S.C. $ 848. We reject all of the claims.

26a

A. Proportionality

The range of penalties for engaging in a continuing

criminal enterprise are set out in 21 U.S.C. § 848(a).

Section 848(a)(1), under which appellants were sen-

tenced, provides:

Any person who engages in a continuing criminal

enterprise shall be sentenced to a term of imprison-

ment which may not be less than 10 years and

which may be up to life imprisonment, to a fine of

not more than $100,000, and to the forfeiture pre-

scribed in paragraph (2).

21 US.C.A. § 848(a) (1) (1981). In addition to their

sentences for importation (Count IV) and possession

(Count V), appellants were each sentenced to 60 years’

imprisonment and fined $100,000 for engaging in a con-

tinuing criminal enterprise (Count I). Underscoring

their advanced years (late forties and late fifties) and

the unlikelihood of parole, they contend that their punish-

ment does not fit their crime and urge us to remand for

resentencing.

[22] We note initially that the scope of our review

is greatly restricted. As the Supreme Court made clear

in Solem v. Helm, — U.S. —, 103 S.Ct. 3001, 77 L.Ed.2d

687 (1983), it is not normally the role of an appellate

court to second-guess the trial judge’s determination of

an appropriate sentence. Rather, an appellate court

must determine only whether the sentence imposed is so

grossly disproportionate to the crime as to constitute cruel

and unusual punishment. Jd. at 3009 n. 16. As the Court

pointed out in Rummel v. Estelle, 445 U.S. 268, 100 S.Ct.

1133, 63 L.Ed.2d 382 (1980), “Outside the context of

capital punishment, successful challenges to the propor-

tionality of particular sentences have been exceedingly

rare.” Id. at 272, 100 S.Ct. at 1138; see also United

States v. Phillips, 664 F.2d 971, 1048 (5th Cir. Unit B

1981) (affirming sentences of 64, 53 and 33 years under

section 848 and other provisions with observation that

27a

“proportionality principle might be applicable in an ‘ex-

treme example’”), cert. denied, 457 U.S. 1136, 102 S.Ct.

2965, 73 L.Ed.2d 1354, 459 U.S. 906, 103 S.Ct. 208, 74

L.Ed.2d 166 (1982); United States v. Valenzuela, 646

F.2d 352, 354 (9th Cir. 1980) (affirming life sentence

under section 848 with similar observation).

Furthermore, we are mindful of the Supreme Court’s

admonition in Solem:

Reviewing courts, of course, should grant substan-

tial deference to the broad authority that legisla-

tures necessarily possess in determining the types

and limits of punishments for crimes, as well as

to the discretion that trial courts possess in sen-

tencing convicted criminals.

103 S.Ct. at 3009. In a footnote, the Court added:

In view of the substantial deference that must be

accorded legislatures and sentencing courts, a re-

viewing court will rarely be required to engage in

extended analysis to determine that a sentence is

not constitutionally disproportionate.

Id. at 3009 n. 16 (emphasis added).

Nevertheless, in our opinion this is one of those rare

cases in which “extended analysis” of a proportionality

claim may be useful, if not required. We reach this

conclusion partly because section 848, like the recidivist

statutes involved in Rummel and Solem, prescribes en-

hanced penalties in addition to those imposed for the

underlying substantive crimes. We also note that this

court has not heretofore conducted a Solem proportional-

ity analysis in the context of section 848. In light of both

the unusual nature of section 848 and the lack of prece-

dent in this circuit on the proportionality issue, we pro-

ceed to apply the Solem proportionality analysis to this

case.

[23] In Solem, the Court specified three factors gov-

erning proportionality review:

IER ii ee mee

28a

[A] court’s proportionality analysis under the

Eighth Amendment should be guided by objective

criteria, including (i) the gravity of the offense

and the harshness of the penalty; (ii) the sen-

tences imposed on other criminals in the same

jurisdiction; and (iii) the sentences imposed for

commission of the same crime in other jurisdic-

tions.

103 S.Ct. at 3010-11. Applying these factors in the in-

stant case, we conclude that appellants’ sentences comport

with the eighth amendment.

The 60-year prison terms which appellants received

under section 848 certainly constitute severe punish-

ment.” The crime for which they were sentenced, how-

ever, was particularly grave. In reaching this conclusion,

we focus not only on the offense as generally defined in

the statute, but also on the offense as actually committed

by appellants." With respect to both, we apply several

10In his brief, Michael Yamanis characterizes his sentence

under section 848 as “a sentence of life imprisonment without

possibility of parole.” Constantine Yamanis goes one step further,

referring to his sentence as “a life (or death) sentence” and as

“a death sentence.” Without question, the probability that a defen-

dant will spend the rest of his life in prison is a relevant con-

sideration. In Solem, the Court emphasized this probability in

distinguishing Rummel. See 103 S.Ct. at 3013. This probability,

moreover, would indicate that a 99-year prison term is not sig-

nificantly worse than a 60-year prison term. On the other hand,

the characterization of a sentence as life imprisonment or death

on account of this probability could be misleading, as in the case

of an aged or ill misdemeanant given 90 days in jail. In con-

cluding that their sentences are severe, we recognize the distinct

possibility that appellants will not survive the duration of their

prison terms. We decline, however, to employ their potentially

misleading terminology.

11The Solem Court’s discussion of the courts’ competency to

judge the gravity of an offense implies that the reviewing court

should concentrate on the abstract offense charged instead of the

specific facts of the case. Making judgments similar to those

[Footnote continued on following page]

29a

of the generally accepted criteria for determining the

gravity of an offense articulated in Solem, including “the

harm caused or threatened to the victim or society,” 103

S.Ct. at 3011, “(tlhe absolute magnitude of the crime,”

id., the use of “violence or the threat of violence,” id., “the

culpability of the offender,” id., whether the defendant

was the principal, and whether the crime was completed,

id.

The general offense, engaging in a continuing criminal

enterprise, is the most serious of all the drug-related of-

fenses proscribed in Title 21. First, to the extent that it

entails a series of violations—not an isolated transaction

—the concerted effort of at least six persons—not the

independent action of a single individual or the concerted

effort of as few as three persons—and, especially, the

element of organization, the offense is more serious than

the others in that it poses a greater danger to society.

The offense is also more serious in terms of the defen-

dant’s culpability, for the statute requires that the defen-

made by the legislature in the first instance, 103 S.Ct. at 3011,

the court is to compare “the severity of different crimes on a

broad scale,” id., thereby avoiding “the difficulties courts face in

attempting to draw distinctions between similar crimes,” id. Em-

ploying “generally accepted criteria,” id., the court may dis-

tinguish, for example, petty theft from grand theft, simple assault

from assault with intent to murder, robbery from armed robbery,

and assault with intent to commit rape from rape. The implica-

tion is that the court should avoid comparisons between different

instances of the same offenses, lest its determination of relative

severity become overly subjective.

That notwithstanding, Solem should not be read as prohibiting

the reviewing court from examining the particular circumstances

of the crime. Although it focused primarily on the offense

charged—uttering a “no account” check—the Court in Solem did

consider at least one fact peculiar to the case—‘[t}he $100 face

value of Helm’s ‘no account’ check.” 103 S.Ct. at 3012-13. Solem

is better read as merely counseling against subjectivity in apprais-

ing the gravity of an offense. So long as gravity is judged in

terms of accepted principles, the court may consider the crime

actually committed as well as the crime generally proscribed.

30a

dt occupy an organizational, supervisory or managerial

position. Indeed, the gravity of the offense is reflected by

its role in the sentencing scheme established by the Com-

prehensive Drug Abuse Prevention and Control Act of

1970. The legislative history of the Act reveals that

[t]his section 408 [21 U.S.C. § 848] is the only

provision of the bill providing minimum mandatory

sentences, and is intended to serve as a strong

deterrent to those who otherwise might wish to

engage in the illicit traffic, while also providing a

means for keeping those found guilty of violations

out of circulation.

H.Rep. No. 1444, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. (1970). reprinted in

1970 U.S. Cong. & Ad.News 4566, 4576.

Although section 848 could perhaps be applied to “mild”

criminal activity, id. at 4652, a review of the record con-

firms that the actual continuing criminal enterprise in

which appellants were engaged was severe. With respect

to the harm to society, we are struck by the immensity of

the Yamanis organization. The operation was world-wide

in scope, resulting in the importation, by sea and by air,

of marijuana on both coasts and the subsequent transpor-

tation and distribution of marijuana in several states.

The major smuggling incidents number ten or more, and

the persons with whom appellants acted in concert number

in the dozens, if not hundreds.** Moreover, in the course

of seven years appellants dealt not with relatively minor

amounts of marijuana and hashish, but with literally tons

of it, Thus in terms of magnitude, the crime was most

serious. The offense at issue was also marked by the

use of violent threats. A number of witnesses testified to

appellants’ practice of exchanging hostages to guarantee

the cooperation of other parties. Specifically, they testi-

12 Indeed, at Michael Yamanis’ sentencing, the district court

referred to “several hundred others probably involved in the

organization.”

3la

fied that appellants threatened to kill or maim their

hostages in the event of complications. Witnesses also

related incidents in which appellants’ subordinates were

threatened with violence. In addition to such threats, the

enterprise evidently entailed the corruption of public of-

ficials here and in other countries. As for culpability,

the evidence consistently points to appellants as the peer-

less leaders of the organization. Nor were their roles

passive ones, for they were involved in the direction of all

but the most ministerial aspects of the operation.“ It

follows, of course, that neither appellant was a mere ac-

cessory after the fact, and although not every importation

episode was entirely successful, appellants’ overall crime

was by no means a mere attempt.

From our examination of the statute and the facts of

this case, we conclude that the offense in question was of

the utmost gravity. At this point, we do not view the

punishment imposed incommensurate.

Turning to the second step of the analysis in Solem,

we consider “the sentences imposed on other criminals in

the same jurisdiction.” 103 S.Ct. at 3011. For this pur-

pose, we are concerned with the sentences imposed not

just in the Northern District of Florida, but in the juris-

diction of the United States as a whole.* Considering

13 Comparing himself to an ordinary drug courier or “mule,”

Michael Yamanis asserts that inasmuch as he merely transported

the marijuana, he was less culpable than the unprosecuted buyers

and sellers who actually owned it. The problem with this argu-

ment is two-fold. First, where the gravamen of a crime is the

importation of a controlled substance, as here, that party respon-

sible for the importation, i.e., the party who “merely transported”

the controlled substance into the country, is fully culpable. Sec-

ond, the record does not support appellant’s contention that he

only provided transport services. While the evidence does not

show the passage of title from one party to the next, incidents

such as appellants’ negotiations with Detective Grillo for the

purchase and sale of several tons of marijuana belie his contention.

44 Focusing on individual sentencing decisions, both the gov-

ernment and appellants regard the Northern District of Florida as

[Footnote continued on following page]

32a

first the sentences imposed for other federal offenses, we

find no indication that the punishment at issue is exces-

sive. Specifically, we can identify no crime which is

necessarily more serious, but which is subject to the same

or a less severe penalty.’ As for the sentences imposed

on other defendants under section 848, again we find no

significant disparity. Indeed, in several recent cases in-

the “same jurisdiction” under step three. This approach, how-

ever, ignores the Solem Court’s consideration of legislative judg-

ments of legislatures other than the one responsible for the statute

under which Helm had been sentenced. After comparing a par-

ticular legislative judgment with other legislative judgments in

South Dakota, the Court assessed the consistency of the particular

legislative judgment with legislative judgments in other states.

The approach advocated by the parties, by contrast, would restrict

the analysis to the judgments of a single legislature, Congress,

thereby eliminating the distinction between the second and third

steps. In our opinion, viewing the United States as the “same

jurisdiction” and various states as the “other jursdictions” better

corresponds with the analysis in Solem. We see no reason to

attach special significance to the sentences imposed by a particular

district court, nor is there any bar to considering the sentences

imposed in the several states.

In defining the pertinent jurisdictions, we have emphasized

the role of legislative judgments in the Solem Court’s review.

Having done so, we hasten to add that our attention to legislative

judgments, state or federal, is limited in this case because of the

peculiar nature of section 848. See infra, note 15 and pp. 501-

502. Accordingly, the discussion that follows concentrates on

individual sentencing decisions in the federal courts.

18 Our inquiry in this regard is complicated by the fact that

those offenses for which 60 years to life imprisonment may be

imposed are not readily comparable to engaging in a continuing

criminal enterprise. See, e.g., 18 U.S.C. § 351(b) (1) (kidnapping

government official punishable by life or term of years); 18 U.S.C.

$794 (delivering defense information to injury of United States

or advantage of foreign nation punishable by death, life or term

of years); 18 U.S.C. § 1201 (a) (kidnapping punishable by life or

term of years); 18 U.S.C. § 1651 (piracy punishable by life) ;

42 U.S.C. § 2272 (atomic energy offenses intended to injure United

States or secure advantage for foreign nation punishable by life

or term of years); 49 U.S.C. § 1472(i) (1)(B) (aircraft piracy

resulting in death punishable by death or life).

33a

volving continuing criminal! enterprises comparable to the

one before us the defendants received prison terms in

the same range as those given appellants. Sec, e.g.,

United States v. Garrett, 727 F.2d 1003 (11th Cir. 1984)

(defendant sentenced to 40 years’ imprisonment under

section 848); United States v. Kirk, 723 F.2d 1379 (8th

Cir. 1983) (defendant sentenced to 40 years’ imprison-

ment under section 848), cert. denied, — U.S. —, 104

S.Ct. 1717, 80 L.Ed.2d 189 (1984) ; Phillips, supra ‘defen-

dants sentenced to 64, 53 and 33 years’ imprisonment

under section 848 and otier provisions); United States

v. Webster, 639 F.2d 174 (4th Cir.) (defendant sentenced

to 50 years’ imprisonment under section 848), cert. denied,

454 U.S. 857, 102 S.Ct. 307, 70 L.Ed.2d 152 (1981),

modified, 669 F.2d 185 (4th Cir. 1982); Valenzuela, supra

(defendant sentenced to life imprisonment under section

848) ; United States v. Sperling, 560 F.2d 1050 (2d Cir.

1977) (defendant sentenced to life imprisonment under

section 848); United States v. Jeffers, 5382 F.2d 1101

(7th Cir. 1976) (defendant sentenced to life imprisonment

under section 848), rev’d on other grounds, 432 U.S. 137,

$7 S.Ct. 2207, 538 L.Ed.2d 168 (1977). To be sure,

these cases are not factually identical to the instant case.

And there may have been some more serious violations

of section 848 which have been less severely punished.

Our review of the cases, however, indicates that the sen-

tences imposed on appellants are not so out of line with

those imposed on other offenders as to constitute cruel

and unusual punishment.”

'6 There is also a host of cases involving shorter, though sub-

stantial, prison terms which, given the age of the defendants and

other circumstances, may be effectively as severe as the prison

terms in this case. See supra, note 10.

17 Michael Yamanis stresses that the length of his sentence is

over twice the nativnal average and over six vears greater than

the average for the Northern District of Florida. Since the use of

such statistics could entail no consideration of relative gravity, our

reliance on them would be misplaced. At any rate. to the extent

that they are relevant, these averages—particularly the figure for

the Northern District of Florida—hardly support appellant’s claim.

34a

The last factor mentioned in Solem relates to “the

sentences imposed for commission of the same crime in

other jurisdictions.” 103 S.Ct. at 3011.% Due to the

unique nature of section 848, consideration of this factor

is difficult, if not impossible. In short, given the key role

played by the continuing criminal enterprise provision in

the federal drug enforcement scheme and the unparalleled

comprehensiveness of that scheme, it is doubtful that “the

same crime” exists in “other jurisdictions.” In any event,

our examination of comparable state-law offenses reveals

no serious disparity indicating that appellants’ sentences

are excessive. See, e.g., Fla.Stat.Ann. § 775.084(4) (a)

(1976) (habitual felony offender punishable by 10 years’

to life imprisonment); Fla.Stat.Ann. § 893.13(1) (b)

(Supy. 1984) (pessession or sale of over 10 grams of

narcotics punishable by up to 30 years’ imprisonment) ;

Fla.Stat.Ann. § 893.13(1)(c) (1) (Supp. 1984) (delivery

of narcotics to minor punishable by up to 30 years’ im-

prisonment) ; Fla.Stat.Ann. § 895.04 (Supp. 1984) (RICO

violation punishable by up to 30 years’ imprisonment).

On the basis of the foregoing analysis, we hold that

appellants’ sentences under section 848 are not so grossly

disproportionate to their crime as to violate the eighth

amendment.

B. “Stand Committed” Fines

[24] At the time of sentencing, Constantine Yamanis

was fined a total of $130,000 and was ordered “to stand

committed until the fine is paid or until the defendant is

otherwise discharged by due course of law.” Noting that

even if paroled, he would remain incarcerated pending

payment of his fines, Yamanis now contends that because

of his indigency, the imposition of “stand committed” fines

will result in the denial of due process and equal protec-

tion. He relies entirely on the district court’s appointing

trial counsel as evidence of his indigency.

18 See supra, note 14.

35a

We dismiss this claim out of hand. Yamanis’ repre-

sentations at the hearing regarding the appointment of

counsel on May 10, 1982, and in his financial affidavit of

the same date reveal that he owned assets in excess of

$450,000. He sought the appointment of counsel not be-

cause he was poor, but because his money was not readily

available. At the May 10th hearing and in its order the

next day, the district court made it clear that it doubted

Yamanis’ indigency even for appointment of counsel pur-

poses * and that it acted strictly out of “an abundance of

caution.” As there has been no suggestion that Yamanis’

assets had dwindled or that these assets would be un-

available if he were paroled, we find no merit in his claim.

C. Cumulative Fines

[25] Appellants were fined $100,000 on Count I and

$15,000 on each of Counts IV and V. These fines were

cumulative such that they totalled $130,000. Citing Jeffers

v. United Siates, 482 U.S. 187, 97 S.Ct. 2207, 53 L.Ed.2d

168 (1977) and United States v. Chagra, 669 F.2d 241

(5th Cir.), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 846, 103 S.Ct. 102, 7

L.Ed.2d 92 (1982), appellants maintain that a fine for

engaging in a continuing criminal enterprise cannot be

made cumulative with fines for predicate offenses.

This issue is directly controlled by the recent decision

in United States v. Brantley, 733 F.2d 1429 (11th Cir.

1984). There the defendant argued that he could not be

cumulatively punished for a section 848 violation and an

underlying section 841 violation. Referring to United

States v. Garrett, 727 F.2d 1008 (11th Cir. 1984), and

United States v. Phillips, 664 F.2d 971 (5th Cir. Unit B

1981), cert. denied, 457 U.S. 1186, 102 S.Ct. 2965, 78

L.Ed.2d 1354, 459 U.S. 906, 103 S.Ct. 208, 74 L.Ed.2d

166 (1982), the Brantley court declared:

1° At the hearing, the court stated, “The affidavit of the defen-

dant Constantine Yamanis is marginal, at best. concerning his

ability to hire counsel.”

36a

Those cases hold essentially that the § 841 offense

and the $ 848 offense are distinct for double jeop-

ardy purposes. See Garrett, 727 F.2d at 1009;

Phillips, 664 F.2d at 1009. In light of the “basic

design |of double jeopardy] as a bar against re-

peated attempts to convict,” United States v.

DiFrancesco, 449 U.S. 117, 101 S.Ct. 426, 66

L.Ed.2d 328 (1980), if successive prosecutions (in-

volving of course cumulative punishment) are not

barred, it follows logically that double jeopardy

does not bar cumulative punishment in a single

prosecution of § 841 predicate offenses and the

§ 848 offense.

733 F.2d at 1437 (footnote omitted). On the authority of

Brantley, we hold that the district court did not err in

imposing cumulative fines.

Vv. MICHAEL YAMANIS: PERSONAL JURISDIC-

TION

Michael Yamanis contends that under existing standards

| of due process, the district court was divested of jurisdic-

tion over his person due to the illegality of the manner in

which he was brought before the court. In support of his

claim, he alleges that an American agent, with the assist-

ance of Honduran officials, arrested him in San Pedro-

Sula, Honduras, drove him at gun-point to Tegucigalpa,

and put him against his will on a plane bound for Miami

via Belize, all under the guise of a Honduran deportation.

He further alleges that when he attempted to deplane in

Belize, asserting his righ’s as a British subject, he was

wrestled back into his seat and forced to remain there

until his arrival in Miami. Yamanis argues that the

alleged kidnapping was unlawful, particularly in that

it circumvented the judicially supervised extradition pro-

cedures specified by treaty and by statute. According to

Yamanis, we should vacate his conviction and have his in-

° dictment dismissed with prejudice.

\26] This case falls squarely within the Ker-Frisbie

doctrine, which holds that a defendant cannot defeat ~

37a

personal jurisdiction by asserting the illegality of the

procurement of his presence. This doctrine takes its name

from two cases in which the Supreme Court rejected the

due process claims of defendants who had been brought

by force into the jurisdictions in which they were tried.

See Ker v. Illinois, 119 U.S. 486, 7 S.Ct. 225, 30 L.Ed.

421 (1886) ; Frisbie v. Collins, 342 U.S. 519, 72 S.Ct. 509,

96 L.Ed. 541 (1952). This circuit’s adherence to the

Ker-Frisbie doctrine was unequivocally established in

United States v. Winter, 509 F.2d 975 (5th Cir.), cert.

denied, 423 U.S. 825, 96 S.Ct. 39, 46 L.Ed.2d 41 (1975),

in which the former Fifth Circuit declared:

[W]e are convinced that under well established

case law of the Supreme Court and this Circuit,

a defendant in a federal criminal trial whether

citizen or alien, whether arrested within or beyond

the territory of the United States may not suc-

cessfully challenge the District Court’s jurisdiction

over his person on the grounds that his presence

before the Court was unlawfully secured.

Id, at 985-86; see also United States vy. Postal, 589 F.2d

862, 873 (5th Cir.) (“A defendant may not ordinarily

assert the illegality of his obtention to defeat the court’s

jurisdiction over him’), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 832, 100

S.Ct. 61, 62 L.Ed.2d 40 (1979).

[27] Yamanis’ claim is remarkably similar to the

one rejected in United States vy. Herrera, 504 F.2d 859

(5th Cir. 1974). There the defendant, a non-resident

alien, alleged that two American agents, together with

two Peruvian agents, had unlawfully arrested him in Peru

and forcibly transported him to Florida. Not unlike the

present case,

[t}he argument is that he was kidnapped and

forcibly abducted in contravention of federal

statutes, and a manner which violated the terri-

torial integrity of Peru .... He also urges a loss

of jurisdiction by reason of the failure of the

United States to follow the orderly processes of

38a “

extradition under the treaty between the United

States and Peru.

Id. at 860. Applying the Ker-Frisbie doctrine, the court

concluded, “It is settled by both Supreme Court decisions

and decisions of this court that these contentions are

without merit.” Jd, Likewise, we hold that Yamanis’

claim that the district court lacked personal jurisdiction

is meritless.

Yamanis urges us to reverse on the authority of the

Second Circuit’s decision in United States v. Toscanino,

500 F.2d 267 (2d Cir. 1974). We decline to do so for three

reasons. First, the Second Circuit itself has limited

Toscanino to situations of extreme misconduct. See Lujan

v. Gengler, 510 F.2d 62 (2d Cir.), cert. demed, 421 US.

1001, 95 S.Ct. 2400, 44 L.Ed.2d 668 (1975). Since

Yamanis has not alleged the sort of “cruel, inhuman and

outrageous treatment allegedly suffered by Toscanino,”

id. at 65,” relief would not be warranted if we were to

follow the Second Circuit. Second, although this court has

not ruled out the possibility of a narrow exception to the

Ker-Frisbie doctrine for extreme cases, it has plainly re-

jected the broad reading of Toscanino which Yamanis

urges us to adopt. See Postal, 589 F.2d 874 n. 17; Winter,

509 F.2d at 986-88; Herrera, 504 F.2d at 860. Third,

the continuing validity of the Toscanino approach is

questionable after the intervening decision in Gerstein V.

Pugh, 420 U.S. 103, 95 S.Ct. 854, 43 L.Ed.2d 54 (1975),

in which the Supreme Court refused to “retreat from the

established rule that illegal arrest or detention does not

void a subsequent conviction.” Jd. at 119, 95 S.Ct. at 865.”

20In Toscanino, the defendant had been subjected to brutal

torture and incessant interrogation for some 17 days.

While we do not condone any form of mistreatment of a

defendant, we find that Yamanis’ allegations, even if true, do not

constitute “shocking governmental conduct sufficient to convert an

abduction which is simply illegal into one that sinks to a violation

of due process.” Lujan, 510 F.2d at 66.

211In the alternative, Yamanis asks that we remand for an

evidentiary hearing on the circumstances of his arrest. To the

[Footnote continued on following page]

39a

VI. MICHAEL YAMANIS: INACCURATE PRESEN-

TENCE REPORT

Before sentencing Michael Yamanis, the district court

afforded him an opportunity to point out “anything in the

presentence investigation that is inaccurate, incomplete or

not true.” Counsel informed the court that Yamanis dis-

puted the accuracy of two factual assertions in the pre-

sentence report, one referring to the amount of marijuana

handled by the Yamanis organization and the other re-

ferring to Yamanis’ ownership of that marijuana. The

court remarked :

Well, as I recall the testimony there was ample

evidence that Mr. Yamanis and his brother, Con-

stantine, were quite capable of smuggling and had

brought in many, many, many tons before the

house of cards began to fall in Marianna. And so

to the extent that your recollection and my re-

collection differ, I guess the record will show

exactly the number of tons or pounds that Mr.

Yamanis and his brother and several hundred

others probably involved in the organization

brought in from time to time.

On appeal, Yamanis again contests the accuracy of the

report and argues that the case must be remanded for

resentencing. His claim may be broken down into two

parts: first, that the district court erred in failing to

resolve the factual dispute on the record, and second, that

the district court’s reliance on false information in sen-

tencing resulted in the denial of due process.

[28] In United States v. Stephens, 699 F.2d 534

(11th Cir. 1983), the defendant similarly disputed the

accuracy of the presentence report and argued that the

district court should have made factual findings related

extent that we have taken his allegations as true in ruling against

him, we see no point in remanding for factual development. See

also Herrera, 504 F.2d at 860 n. 1 (dismissing unsupported factual

allegations “which read on the claims made by Toscanino”).

40a

to the disputed facts and corrected the report accordingly.

Noting that the defendant had been “given the oppor-

tunity to refute the perceived discrepancies in the pre-

sentence report,” id. at 537, the court held that a sen-

tencing judge is not “required to go further and making

findings to resolve the possible conflicting versions pre-

sented . . ., id. The court explained, “Having been

presented with some contradictory facts, the district court

may, within its discretion determine that it has adequate

undisputed information to properly sentence the defen-

dant.” Jd. Stephens confirms that the first part of the

Yamanis’ claim is without merit.

(29, 30] There are several problems with the second

part of the claim, regarding the district court’s reliance

on false information. It is well settled that sentences

based on erroneous and material information or assump-

tions violate due process and that a new sentencing

hearing is required where the trial court has relied on

such information or assumptions. See United States v.

Tobias, 662 F.2d 381, 388 (5th Cir. Unit B 1981), cert.

denied, 457 U.S. 1108, 102 S.Ct. 2908, 73 L.Ed.2d 1317

(1982), and cases cited. In this case, however, it is by

no means clear that the information in the presentence

report was materially erroneous. At the sentencing hear-

ing, Yamanis offered no additional evidence to refute the

factual assertions in question; instead, he suggested that

these assertions were inconsistent with the evidence ad-

duced at trial. Our review of the record finds support

for the proposition that at least with respect to some of

the marijuana, Yamanis’ role was that of owner as well

as transporter. As for the total amount of marijuana

involved, the record does not confirm the inaccuracy of

the government’s estimate. Yamanis has therefore failed

to demonstrate a major premise of his argument, the

misstatement of material facts.

In addition, the record in this case simply does not

establish that the district court actually relied on the

contested assertions in the report. Although, as Yam-

4la

anis points out, the court inevitably took into account the

quantity of drugs involved and Yamanis’ role in the

continuing criminal enterprise, it does not follow that

the court based its decision on the version of these facts

in the presentence report. In view of his having heard

the evidence when presiding over the trial and his having

had the purported inaccuracies in the report brought to

his attention, we decline to presume that the sentencing

judge nevertheless relied on the disputed statements.

Yamanis responds that the district court’s failure to

state that the contested assertions would not influence

its sentencing determination constitutes grounds for re-

manding.** According to Yamanis, the mere possibility

of the courts having taken into account the contested

assertions renders the sentence unconstitutional. We need

not decide whether a substantial possibility of reliance

on inaccurate information would render a sentence uncon-

stitutional,** for we conclude that any possibility of reli-

22 Rule 32(c) of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure now

provides in part:

If the comments of the defendant and his counsel or

testimony or other information introduced by them allege

any factual inaccuracy in the presentence investigation

report or the summary of the report or part thereof, the

court shall, as to each matter controverted, make (i) a

finding as to the allegation, or (ii) a determination that

no such finding is necessary because the matter controverted

will not be taken into account in sentencing.

Fed. R. Crim P. 32(c)(3)(D). This provision, however, was not

effective until August 1, 1983. At the time of Yamanis’ sentencing,

Rule 32 required only that the court “afford the defendant or his

counsel an opportunity to comment thereon and, at the discretion

of the court, to introduce testimony or other information relating

to any alleged factual inaccuracy contained in the presentence

report.” Fed. R. Crim. P. 32(c)(3)(A). While recognizing Rule

82(c)(3)(D) as a salutory measure, we note that it does not

purport to state the requirements of due process. We also note

that in this case the district court fully complied with the rule then

in force.

23 Compare United States v. Espinoza, 481 F.2d 553, 556 (5th

Cir. 1973) (due process requires that defendant be afforded op-

[Footnote continued on following page]

42a

ance in this case is too remote to rise to the level of a due

process violation. In our opinion, the comments of the

district judge at sentencing tend to rule out the possibility

of reliance. Referring to the amount of marijuana in

particular, the court indicated that it would rely on its

own recollection of the facts, and ultimately on the

record, rather than on the corresponding statements in

the presentence report. The court’s remarks also sug-

gest that it was concerned with Yamanis’ having “brought

in” marijuana, rather than his having owned it. We

emphasize again that the judge had had the benefit of

hearing all the evidence at trial and thus was not de-

pendent on the presentence report as a source of informa-

tion,* and that his attention had been drawn to the

purported inaccuracies such that he was unlikely to rely

on the report without first resolving, albeit tacitly, the

factual dispute.* Although the district court did not

unequivocally repudiate the contested portions of the pre-

sentence report, we think it highly improbable that it

relied on them.” Thus we uphold Yamanis’ sentence.

portunity to rebut representations in presentence report only

“where a sentencing judge explicitly relies on [that] information

in assessing a sentence”), with United States v. Robin, 545 F.2d

775, 779 (2d Cir. 1976) (“Where there is a possibility that

sentence was imposed on the basis of false information or false

assumptions concerning the defendant, an appeal will lie to this

Court and the sentence will be vacated’’).

24In this regard, the present case is distinguishable from

United States v. Robin, 545 F.2d 775 (2d Cir. 1976), in which the

defendant had entered a guilty plea. The Robin court observed,

“Without the benefit of a trial, the sentencing judge necessarily

leaned heavily on the presentence report . . . as [a source] of

information concerning the appellant’s behavior and alleged crim-

inal acts.” Jd. at 781.

25 Hence this case differs from McGee v. United States, 462

F.2d 243 (2d Cir. 1972), for there the invalid premise on which

the sentence was possibly based was a conviction subsequently

vacated on appeal.

26 Our disposition of this claim is not inconsistent with United

States v. Battaglia, 478 F.2d 854 (5th Cir. 1972), and United

[Footnote continued on following page]

43a

VII. CALISE: DANGEROUS SPECIAL DRUG

OFFENDER

Calise challenges the sentence he received as a danger-

ous special drug offender under 21 U.S.C. § 849 on four

grounds: (a) that the government failed to give timely

notice, as required by the statute; (b) that the govern-

ment failed to give adequate notice, as required by the

statute; (c) that application of the preponderance stan-

dard of proof, together with admission of similar act

evidence and hearsay evidence, violated the due process

clause; and (d) that the government sought sentence

enhancement out of vindictiveness, in violation of the

due process clause. We address and reject each ground

in turn.

A. Timeliness of Notice

Under § 849(a), in order for a defendant to be sen-

tenced as a dangerous special drug offender, the govern-

ment “a reasonable time before trial” must “file with the

court” a notice regarding the defendant’s status as a

dangerous special drug offender. 21 U.S.C.A. § 849(a)

(1981). In this case, the government filed its notice on

May 28, 1982. Jury selection took place on June 1, and

the trial was recessed until June 8.

[31] Emphasizing that the notice was filed on the

last working day before jury selection and was unlikely

to reach him until after jury selection, Calise argues that

the government failed to comply with the statutory re-

quirement of notice “a reasonable time before trial.”

States v. Vasquez, 638 F.2d 507 (2d Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 454

U.S. 847, 102 S.Ct. 165, 70 L.Ed.2d 135 (1981), in which the

courts of appeal remanded for resentencing in the face of possibly

erroneous information or assumptions. In Battaglia, the sen-

tencing judge explicitly “stated that he was taking into considera-

tion certain facts which he believed to be true.” 478 F.2d at 854,

but which the defendant later claimed were false. And in Vas-

quez, the sentencing judge plainly indicated his reliance on the

assumptions in question.

44a

Addressing the identical contention in its order of Decem-

ber 30, 1982, the district court concluded, “While the

Government’s conduct in this case cannot be commended,

it satisfied the express requirement of the statute.” The

court explained that it would have been more inclined to

find the government’s delay unreasonable had Calise de-

monstrated some prejudicial effect. In this regard, the

court noted that Calise had been advised of the govern-

ment’s intent to prosecute under section 849 during plea

negotiations and thus had received actual notice well in

advance of trial. The court also noted that because he

had been charged with the two counts of conspiracy, as

well as the substantive counts arising from the DC-6 epi-

sode, Calise already had an interest in disproving his

alleged participation in the other drug episodes. We are

persuaded by the district court’s reasoning and similarly

hold that the government’s notice in this case was filed in

a timely fashion.

[32] We agree with Calise that “strict compliance by

the Government with the statutory filing requirement is

a prerequisite for an enhanced sentence,” United States

v. Noland, 495 F.2d 529, 5380 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 419

U.S. 966, 95 S.Ct. 228, 42 L.Ed.2d 181 (1974), and that a

showing of prejudice is not independently required in

order to set aside a sentence on the ground of noncom-

pliance. Where the government has filed a notice prior

to trial, however, we consider the presence or absence of

prejudice in determining whether the interval between

filing and trial was “reasonable.” For instance, even

though actual knowledge is no substitute for the requisite

filing, to the extent that it reduces prejudice, it suggests

that the interval between filing and trial was not un-

reasonable.

As the court below observed, the prejudice attributable

to the government’s failure to file earlier was minimal in

this case. Calise asserts that despite his actua) notice

of the government’s intent to seek sentence enhancement

45a

and the incentives provided by the conspiracy charges, the

government’s delay hindered his ability to plea-bargain

intelligently and to put on a defense at trial inasmuch as

he remained ignorant of the precises circumstances on

which the government was to rely in demonstrating his

dangerous special drug offender status. While raising a

theoretical possibility of prejudice, Calise does not indi-

cate how he would have acted differently if the notice had

been filed earlier. Under the circumstances, we conclude

that the three days between filing and jury selection and

the ten days between filing and testimony constituted “a

reasonable time before trial.” *

B. Adequacy of Notice

Section 849(a) requires that the notice set out “with

particularity the reasons why [the U.S.] attorney believes

the defendant to be a dangerous special drug offender.”

21 U.S.C.A. § 849 (a) (2) (1981). In its notice, the gov-

ernment specified that Calise was a “special drug of-

fender,” as defined in subsections 849(e) (2) and (3), and

“dangerous” as defined in section 849(f). In support, the

government incorporated by reference the indictment and

the bill of particulars, noting that they contained “de-

tailed allegations regarding the defendant’s misconduct,”

and listed five points as a summary of the allegations.

Calise now asserts that the reasons given by the govern-

ment for believing him to be a dangerous special drug

offender were insufficiently particularized to satisfy the

statute.

27 The main source of difficulty identified by Calise is counsel’s

not having actually received the government’s notice until long

after trial. According to the certificate of service, a copy of the

notice was mailed to counsel on the date it was filed. Evidently,

the copy was lost in transit, and as a result of confusion in the

district court’s clerk office, counsel did not become aware of the

contents of the notice until July 12. While this was certainly a

serious turn of events, any prejudice therefrom is hardly at-

tributable to the government’s timing and hence has no bearing

on the timeliness of the notice.

46a

[33] At the outset, Calise contends that the notice

was inadequate in that it is impossible to ascertain whether

the various allegations relate to his special drug offender

status or his dangerousness, or both. Insofar as danger-

ousness may be inferred from the circumstaincs estab!'sh-

ing special drug offender status, cf. United States v.

Ilacqua, 562 F.2d 399, 403 (6th Cir. 1977) (applying 18

U.S.C. § 5775), cert. denied, 435 U.S. 906, 98 (S.Ct.

1458, 55 L.Ed.2d 497 (1978), it is certainly reasonable

for the government to use the same allegations to estab-

lish that a defendant is both a special drug offender and

dangerous. Assuming in the absence of any contrary

indication that the government assessed independently

whether Calise met the two criteria, we conclude that its

failure to designate which allegations were made in sup-

port of each did not render the notice inadequate.

[34] Next Calise argues that the government’s al-

legations were insufficient to establish his status as a

special drug offender under subsections 849(e) (2) and

(3). Because the government withdrew its assertion that

Calise was a special drug offender under subsection (2)

at sentencing and the district court found him to be a

special drug offender under subsection (3), we need only

address the sufficiency of the allegations with respect to

the latter. Subsection (3) contains two elements: first,

that the defendant was involved in “a conspiracy with

three or more other persons to engage in a pattern of

dealing in controlled substances . . .,” 21 U.S.C. § 849(e)

(3), and second, that the defendant “did, or agreed that

he would, initiate, organize, plan, finance, direct, manage,

or supervise all or part of such conspiracy or dealing,

or give or receive a bribe or use force in connection with

such dealing,” id. There were ample allegations relating

to both elements.

The indictment itself charged Calise with conspiring

with eight others to possess with intent to distribute

(Count II) and to import (Count III) marijuana. In

addition, the government’s notice alleged that he had

47a

conspired with several others to import and distribute

multi-ton quantities of marijuana and hashish. These

genera] allegations were supplemented by the bill of par-

ticulars, in which the government specifically listed the

major drug incidents constituting the core of the con-

spiracies charged.* Calise’s involvement in a conspiracy

to engage in a pattern of dealing in controlled substances

was therefore established with the requisite particularity.

With reference to the scond element, the government’s

notice stated generally that “Defendant was an organizer,

manager, and superviser in this criminal organization,

directing the illegal activities of others.” Again the bill

of particulars provided the specifics, listing numerous epi-

sodes in which Calise played a supervisory role. Thus the

nature of Calise’s participation was also established with

the requisite particularity.

[35] Finally, Calise maintains that the government

failed to allege his dangerousness under section 849 (f)

with sufficient particularity. We disagree. Section 849 (f)

defines “dangerous” in terms of whether “a period of

confinement longer than that provided for such felonious

violation is required for the protection of the public from

further criminal] conduct by the defendant.” 21 U.S.C.A.

28 Calise has argued throughout that except for the first para-

graph (which relates to the Kyoto episode and in which Calise is

named) and the third paragraph (which relates to the DC-6 epi-

sode), the bill of particulars relates only to the continuing crim-

ina] enterprise charged in Count I. We find no basis for this

assumption. Calise’s assertion to the contrary notwithstanding

the comments of the court and the prosecutor at trial indicating

that the bill of particulars relates to the continuing criminal enter-

prise do not lead to the conclusion that it relates only to the con-

tinuing criminal] enterprise. Indeed, the bill itself states only that

“Tt}he government’s case will focus on but not be limited to the

following incidents,” in no way implying that it relates to Count I.

At any rate, we think it clear beyond peradventure that in includ-

ing the bill of particulars in its notice under section 849, the

government intended it to serve as an enumeration of the incidents

relating specifically to Calise’s status as a dangerous special drug

offender.

48a

§ 849(f) (1981). The government’s notice alleges,

Numerous shiploads and planeloads of marijuana and

hashish were successfully imported into the United States

and distributed by defendant and his co-conspirators.”

As mentioned above, the bill of particulars goes on to list a

series of large-scale drug transactions in which Calise

was involved. Moreover, the notice points out his special

skills, including: “(a) the ability to organize and plan

criminal activities; (b) management and supervisory ex-

pertise; (c) knowledge of the illegal marijuana market;

(d) the knowledge of how and where to obtain the services

of other criminals to assist in this criminal conspiracy.”

In our opinion, the notice constitutes a sufficiently specific

statement of reasons for believing, as the district court

ultimately concluded, that Calise had long been “a pro-

fessional drug trafficker” and was therefore dangerous

within the meaning of the statute.

C. Standard of Proof

[36] Section 849(b) provides, “If it appears by a

preponderance of the information . . . that the defendant

is a dangerous special drug offender, the court shall sen-

tence the defendant to imprisonment for an appropriate

term... .” 21 U.S.C.A. § 849(b) (1981). Calise con-

tends that this provision is constitutionally infirm because

it authorizes findings of fact based on proof by a pre-

ponderance of the evidence rather than proof beyond a

reasonable doubt. His contention is premised on the

assertion that sentence enhancement under section 849,

particularly when the government relies on the definitions

of “special drug offender” in subsections 849(a) (2) and

(3), is in effect prosecution on new criminal charges. As

such, he argues, it is subject to the Supreme Court’s hold-

ing in In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358, 90 S.Ct. 1068, 25

L.Ed.2d 368 (1970), that “the Due Process Clause pro-

tects the accused against conviction except upon proof

beyond a reasonable doubt to every fact necessary to con-

stitute the crime with which he is charged.” Jd. at 364,

90 S.Ct. at 1073.

49a

While there is a dearth of decisions on the consti-

tutionality of section 849, several cases address the stan-

dard of proof question in connection with 18 U.S.C.

§ 3575, the sentence enhancement statute governing non-

drug cases. As section 849 was modeled on and is virtually

identical to section 3575—the two statutes employ the

“preponderance of the information” standard and similar

definitions of “special offender” and “dangerous’”—we

find these cases most persuasive, if not controlling. We

know of only one decision sustaining a claim similar to

Calise’s, United States v. Duardi, 384 F.Supp. 874, 882-85

(W.D.Mo. 1974), aff'd on other grounds, 529 F.2d 123

(8th Cir. 1975). Indeed, the courts of appeal have uni-

formly held that use of the preponderance standard in

sentence enhancement proceedings comports with the due

process clause. See United States v. Davis, 710 F.2d 104

(3d Cir.), cert. denied, U.S. ——, 104 S.Ct. 505,

7% L.Ed.2d 695 (1983) ; United States v. Schell, 692 F.2d

672, 676-79 (10th Cir. 1982); United States v. Inendino,

604 F.2d 458, 463 (7th Cir. 1979) (affirming 463 F.Supp.

252 (N.D. Ill. 1978)), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 932, 100

S.Ct. 276, 62 L.Ed.2d 190 (1979); United States v. Wil-

liamson, 567 F.2d 610, 615 (4th Cir. 1977) ; United States

v. Bowdach, 561 F.2d 1160, 1172-75 (5th Cir. 1977) ;

United States v. Ilacqua, 562 F.2d 399, 405 (6th Cir.

1977), cert. denied, 435 U.S. 906, 98 S.Ct. 1453, 55

L.Ed.2d 497 (1978); United States v. Neary, 552 F.2d

1184, 1193-94 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 864, 98

S.Ct. 197, 54 L.Ed.2d 139 (1977); United States v. Stew-

art, 531 F.2d 326, 332-34 (6th Cir.}, cert. denied, 426

U.S. 922, 96 S.Ct. 2629, 49 L.Ed.2d 376 (1976). Com-

pelled not only by the overwhelming weight of these au-

thorities, but also by the force of their reasoning, we con-

clude that the use of the preponderance standard in im-

posing sentence under section 849 is likewise constitu-

tional.

While ordinary sentencing proceedings are by no

means immune from all due process attacks, the Supreme

50a

Court has required only minimal due process protections

in such proceedings. See United States v. Grayson, 438

U.S. 41, 98 S.Ct. 2610, 57 L.Ed.2d 582 (1978); Wil-

liams v. New York, 337 U.S. 241, 69 S.Ct. 1079, 93 L.Ed.

1337 (1949). In Specht v. Patterson, 386 U.S. 605, 87

S.Ct. 1209, 18 L.Ed.2d 326 (1967), however, the Court

required additional procedural safeguards where the de-

fendant had received a longer prison term pursuant to a

statute requiring additional fact-finding by the sentencing

judge. Having been convicted of a sex-related offense

under one Colorado statute, the defendant in Specht was

sentenced to an additional term of imprisonment under

the Colorado Sex Offenders Act. Under that statute, the

judge could enhance sentence without notice or a hearing

based entirely on a psychiatric report, after making find-

ings of fact regarding dangerousness, habitual offender

status and mental illness. Holding the statute unconsti-

tutional, the Court declared:

Due process . . . requires that [the defendant] be

present with counsel, have an opportunity to be

heard, be confronted with witnesses against him,

have the right to cross-examine, and to offer evi-

dence of his own. And there must be findings ade-

quate to make meaningful any appeal that is

allowed.

Id. at 610, 87 S.Ct. at 1212.

Although the courts differ on the similarity between

sentencing proceedings under the dangerous special

offender statute and the sentencing proceeding in Specht,

compare Davis, 710 F.2d at 106; Schell, 692 F.2d at 676-

78; Bowdach, 561 F.2d at 1172-75, with Stewart, 531

F.2d at 332 & n.2, they universally agree the federal

statute fulfills the due process requirements articulated

in Specht, see Davis, 710 F.2d at 106-07; Schell, 692

F.2d at 677; Bowdach, 561 F.2d at 1174; Stewart, 531

F.2d at 332. Insofar as it guarantees to a defendant the

right to notice and a hearing, to assistance of counsel, to

5la

compulsory process, to cross-examination, to findings of

fact and to appeal, see 21 U.S.C.A. § 849(b) (1981), the

dangerous special drug offender statute also affords every

procedural protection expressly required by Specht.

[37] Specht does not hold, as Calise suggests, that

due process requires all findings made by a sentencing

judge to be based on proof beyond a reasonable doubt.

See Davis, 710 F.2d at 107 & n.1; Schell, 692 F.2d at 677-

78; Bowdach, 561 F.2d at 1172-74; Hollis v. Smith, 571

F.2d 685, 689-90 (2d Cir. 1978). To determine whether

due process mandates that standard of proof, we must

balance the defendant’s liberty interests, the risk of

erroneous deprivation and the government’s interest in

protecting society. See Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418,

99 S.Ct. 1804, 60 L.Ed.2d 323 (1979) ; Mathews v. Eld-

ridge, 424 U.S. 319, 96 S.Ct. 898, 47 L.Ed.2d 18 (1976).

Having balanced these interests, we agree with our sister

circuits that the preponderance standard passes consti-

tutional muster. See Davis, 710 F.2d at 107; Schell, 692

F.2d at 678.

Calise maintains that the cases upholding section 3575

are distinguishable in that they deal exclusively with sub-

section 3575(e) (1), which corresponds with subsection

849 (e) (1), whereas the instant case involves subsections

849(e)(2) and (3), which correspond with subsections

3575 (e) (2) and (3). Unlike subsection (1), under which

sentence enhancement is based on prior convictions, he

argues, subsections (2) and (3) essentially entail distinct

criminal charges against the defendant. Since we can ac-

cept neither his characterization of the cases upholding

section 3575 nor his characterization of subsections (2)

and (3), we find the distinction urged by Calise insig-

nificant.

We note initially that several of the cases cited above

deal with section 3575(f), which defines “dangerous,”

as well as subsection 3575 (e) (1). Thus to the extent that

their treatment of the preponderance standard in con-

52a

nection with the determination of dangerousness would

also apply to the determination of special drug offender

status under subsections 849(e) (2) and (3), these cases

would not be inapposite even if subsections (2) and (3)

were significantly different from subsection (1).

[38] More important, we reject Calise’s assertion

that subsections (2) and (3) encompass new criminal

charges. To the contrary, subsections, like subsection (1),

merely introduce circumstances in aggravation of the

offense for which the conviction was obtained. Under -

subsection (2), a “pattern of dealing in controlled sub-

stances” is relevant only if it relates to the underlying

felonious violation. Similarly, a “conspiracy .. . to en-

gage in a pattern of dealing in controlled substances”

under subsection (3) must relate to the underlying felony.

In either case, the facts to be established bear on the

seriousness of the crime of which the defendant has been

convicted. In this regard, the words of the Sixth Circuit

in Stewart, referring to section 3575, are apt:

It is to be emphasized that . . . that statute here

involved does not create a new and distinct criminal

charge. Rather, the dangerous special offender

criteria provide for an increase in the penalty for

the offense itself. Under [the statute], the con-

duct embraced within the criteria must be factually

related to the felony for which sentence is im-

posed... . [The stavate] involves, in Specht’s

language, [a] “distinct issue,” but it does not con-

stitute a separate charge.

531 F.2d at 332 (citation and footnote omitted) ; see also

Inendino, 604 F.2d at 463 (“This section [8575], how-

ever, does not create a separate criminal charge but in-

stead provides for the enhancement of the penalty for

the defendants’ criminal conviction.”) ; Williamson, 567

F.2d at 614, 615 (quoting Stewart, 531 F.2d at 332);

Ilacqua, 562 F.2d at 405 (“we reemphasize that the en-

58a

hancement statute [section 3575] is not a separate crim-

inal charge”). We conclude that subsections 849 (e) (2)

and (3), if properly applied, do not introduce new and

distinct criminal charges thereby necessitating proof be-

yond a reasonable doubt. Because subsection 849 (e) (3)

and section 849(f) were properly applied in this case,

we hold that the imposition of an additional sentence on

the basis of proof “by a preponderance of the informa-

tion” did not violate Calise’s due process rights.

[39,40] Finally, we are unpersuaded by Calise’s ob-

jections to the admission of similar act evidence and hear-

say evidence at the sentencing hearing. The similar acts

in question were the drug episodes listed in the bill of

particulars. As these episodes related to the alleged “con-

spiracy . . . to engage in a pattern of dealing in con-

trolled substances” under subsection 849 (e) (3), they were

by no means extrinsic to the sentencing proceeding. With

reference to the purported hearsay testimony, we note

that under section 850, “no limitation shall be placed on

the information concerning the background, character, and

conduct of the person convicted of an offense which a

court of the United States may receive and consider for

the purpose of imposing an appropriate sentence... .”

21 U.S.C.A. § 850 (1980). As the Jnendino court con-

cluded:

The argument that the district court erred in ad-

mitting hearsay testimony in the sentencing hear-

ing is without merit. In considering a sentence the

trial judge may conduct a broad inquiry which is

“largely unlimited either as to the kind of infor-

mation he may consider, or the source from which

it may come.” The sentencing court under the

dangerous special offender statute retains the same

broad discretion as in the usual sentencing pro-

cedure.

604 F.2d at 463-64 (citations omitted (quoting United

States v. Tucker, 404 U.S. 443, 446, 92 S.Ct. 589, 591,

54a

30 L.Ed.2d 592 (1972) ); see also Williamson, 567 F.2d at

615 (“the sentencing court may, in its broad discretion,

consider all information which has a bearing upon proof

of the defendant’s dangerouness. Ths formal rules of

evidence used in criminal trials do not limit the sources

of information which a court may consider in determining

what is a proper sentence for a dangerous special of-

fender’’).

D. Prosecutorial Vindictiveness

[41] During plea negotiations, the government ex-

pressed its intent to seek sentence enhancement under

section 849 and offered to forego prosecution as a danger-

ous special drug offender if Calise would plead guilty as

charged. Calise rejected this offer and was ultimately

sentenced under section 849. He now asserts that the

government filed for sentence enhancement in a vindictive

effort to penalize his exercising his right to trial by jury.

As a result, he argues, he was denied due process.

The Supreme Court dealt with this precise issue in

Bordenkircher v. Hayes, 484 U.S. 357, 98 S.Ct. 663, 54

L.Ed.2d 604 (1978). There the defendant was initially

charged with uttering a forged instrument. During plea

negotiations, the prosecutor informed the defendant that

if he did not plead guilty, the state would seek an indict-

ment under the applicable habitual offender statute, there-

by exposing him to a possible life sentence. The defendant

chose not to plead guilty, the prosecutor carried out his

threat, and the defendant was convicted and sentenced as

a habitual offender.

In rejecting the defendant’s due process claim, the

Court stated:

While the prosecutor did not actually obtain the

recidivist indictment until after the plea confer-

ences had ended, his intention to do so was clearly

expressed at the cutset of the plea negotiations.

55a

Hayes was fully informed of the true terms of the

offer when he made his decision to plead not guilty.

This is not a situation, therefore, where the prose-

cutor without notice brought an additional and

more serious charge after plea negotiations relating

only to the original indictment had ended with the

defendant’s insistence on pleading not guilty.

Id. “i 360-61, 98 S.Ct. at 666 (footnote omitted). The

Court reasoned:

While confronting a defendant with the risk

of more severe punishment clearly may have a

“discouraging effect on the defendant’s assertion

of his trial rights, the imposition of these difficult

choices [is] an inevitable’—and permissible—“at-

tribute of any legitimate system which tolerates

and encourages the negotiation of pleas.” Chaffin

v. Stynchcombe, supra, 412 U.S. [17] at 31, 93

S.Ct. [1953] at 1985 [86 L.Ed.2d 714 (1973)]. It

follows that, by tolerating and encouraging the

negotiation of pleas, this Court has necessarily ac-

cepted as constitutionally legitimate the simple

reality that the prosecutor’s interest at the bargain-

ing table is to persuade the defendant to forego his

right to plead not guilty.

Id. at 364, 98 S.Ct. at 668. The Court concluded, “the

course of conduct engaged in by the prosecutor in this

case, which no more than openly presented the defendant

with the unpleasant alternatives of foregoing trial or

facing charges on which he was plainly subject to prose-

cution, did not violate the Due Process Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment.” Id. at 365, 98 S.Ct. at 669;

see also United States v. Pleasant, 730 F.2d 657, 665

(11th Cir. 1984) (applying Bordenkircher in section 3575

case).

In our opinion, the present case is indistinguishable

from Bordenkircher. Calise was fully informed of the

56a

terms of the plea offer and simply declined to accept.

Accordingly, w2 find ne support for his claim of prosecu-

torial vindictiveness.

VIII. CALISE: JUROR INTERVIEWS

According to the affivavit of codefendant Harris,

shortly after the verdicts were returned on June 15, 1982,

Harris approached one of the jurors, who informed him

that she opposed the convictions, but had been told that

majority rule controlled. Counsel for Harris filed, and

Calise subsequently adopted, a notice of intention to inter-

view jurors along with Harris’ affidavit. The government

moved ,to prevent the interviewing and to strike the affi-

davit. In its order of June 28, 1982, the district court

barred the defendants and their counsel from conducting

interviews with the jurors who decided the case. On ap-

peal, Calise asserts that Harris’ affidavit raises the possi-

bility that extraneous prejudicial information was brought

to the jury’s attention, that an outside influence was

brought to bear on the jury, or that one of the jurors

was biased against the defendants. Thus, he contends,

the district court erred in disallowing juror interviews.

We disagree.

[42] Where there are allegations of extraneous in-

formation, outside influence or other jury misconduct, the

decision whether to investigate rests in the sound discre-

tion of the district court. See United States v. Barshov,

733 F.2d 842, 850 (11th Cir. 1984); United States v.

Lopez, 728 F.2d 1859, 1363 (11th Cir. 1984) ; United

29 Calise argues that he was not fully informed in that he was

unaware of the precise circumstances on which the government

would rely in seeking sentence enhancement. The precise circum-

stances, however, were not terms of the offer; rather, the gov-

ernment’s pro® *2 not to seek sentence enhancement was the

crucial term. Under Bordenkircher, regardless of the precise cir-

cumstances relied on, the government’s communicating its intent

to seek sentence enhancement in the event of trial confirms that

it was not motivated by vindictiveness in subsequently doing se.

57a

States v. Williams, 716 F.2d 864, 865 (11th Cir. 1983);

United States v. Edwards, 696 F.2d 1277, 1282 (11th

Cir.), cert. denied, — U.S.—, 103 S.Ct. 1884, 76 L.Ed.2d

813 (1983). In Edwards, the court observed:

[T]his court has not imposed a stringent duty of

investigation upon a district judge under com-

parable circumstances. Grooms v. Wainwright,

610 F.2d 344 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 445 U.S.

953, 100 S.Ct. 1605, 63 L.Ed.2d 789 (1980). In-

stead “(t]he judge’s decision whether to interro-

gate the jury about juror misconduct is within his

sound discretion, especially when the alleged preju-

dice results from statements made by the jurors

themselves, and not media publicity or other out-

side influences.” Id. at 347.

696 F.2d at 1282. Even when the alleged misconduct

involved outside influences, investigation is not automa-

tically required. As the Barshov court noted:

Where a colorable showing of extrinsic influ-

ence is made, a trial court, in the exercise of its

discretion, must make sufficient inquiries or con-

duct a hearing to determine whether the influence

was prejudicial. However, there is no per se rule

requiring an inquiry in every instance. The duty

to investigate arises only when the party alleging

misconduct makes an adequate showing of extrin-

sic influence to overcome the presumption of jury

impartiality. In other words, there must be some-

thing more than mere speculation.

733 F.2d at 851 (citations omitted).

[48] Calise failed to make even a “colorable show-

ing” of extraneous information, outside influence or other

jury misconuuct. Indeed, Harris’ affidavit contains not

the slightest hint that the jury was exposed to media

publicity, contact with others, or a similar source of in-

formation or pressure. And although it is conceivable

that one of the jurors was biased, to infer such bias from

58a

the conversation recounted in the affidavit would be

nothing “more than mere speculation.” Insofar as the

affidavit on which Calise relies suggests confusion, rather

than impropriety, on the part of one or more jurors, we

hold that the district court acted well within the scope

of its discretion in prohibiting juror interviews.

In so holding, we concur with the sentiments expressed

by the Fourth Circuit in a similar case:

The law is settled that, following dispersal of a

jury, once it has been dismissed, if we allow such

attacks by individual members on the composite

verdict of all twelve we can expect an unsettling

of the system out of all proportion to any expect-

able improvement in the administration of justice.

The opportunities for other abuses which would

greatly exceed the possibly unfortunate conse-

quences of not pursuing belated, post-verdict claims

of intimidation by fellow jurors are obvious. In

short, on the facts presented in the present case,

the cure proposed is manifestly worse than the

hypothetical, but unproven, disease.

United States v. Barber, 668 F.2d 778, 786-87 (4th Cir.)

(citations and footnote omitted), ceri. denied, 459 U.S.

829, 103 S.Ct. 66, 74 L.Ed.2d 67 (1982).

IX. DARBY: SUFFICIENCY OF EVIDENCE

[44] Darby contends that the evidence against him

was insufficient to prove him guilty of conspiring to im-

port marijuana. In reviewing the sufficiency of the evi-

dence, we must sustain the conviction if the evidence,

viewed in the light most favorable to the government, is

such that a reasonable trier of fact could find guilt beyond

a reasonable doubt. United States v. Lippner, 676 F.2d

456, 466 (11th Cir. 1982); United States v. Bell, 678

F.2d 547, 549 (5th Cir. Unit B 1982) (en banc), aff'd

on other grounds, 462 U.S. 356, 103 S.Ct. 2398, 76 L.Ed.2d

638 (1983). To prove a charge of conspiracy under

Title 21,

59a

the government must establish, beyond a reason-

able doubt, that a conspiracy existed, that the de-

fendant knew of it, and that he voluntarily parti-

cipated in it. United States v. Middlebrooks, 618

F.2d [273] at 278 [5th Cir. 1980]; United States

v. Littrell, 574 F.2d [828] at 832 [5th Cir. 1978].

The agreement between the coconspirators and the

defendant need not be proved by direct evidence

and may be inferred from concert of action. United

States v. Malatesta, 590 F.2d [1379] at 1381 [5th

Cir. 1979]; United States v. King, 532 F.2d 505,

508 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 960, 97 S.Ct.

384, 50 L.Ed.2d 327 (1976). Further, it is not

necessary for all coconspirators to know each other

or to work together on every phase of the criminal

venture. United States v. James, 590 F.2d 575

(5th Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied, 442 U.S. 917,

99 S.Ct. 2836, 61 L.Ed.2d 283 (1979).

Lippner, 676 F.2d at 466 (quoting United States v. Gar-

cia, 672 F.2d 1849, 1869 (11th Cir. 1982) (quoting United

States v. Wilson, 657 F.2d 755, 758-59 (5th Cir. 1981) )).

[45] Emphasizing the number of government wit-

nesses who did not testify against him and the question-

able credibility of those who did, Darby asserts that the

evidence failed to prove that he agreed to join the con-

spiracy. Taking the view most favorable to the govern-

ment, we find ample evidence of Darby’s guilt. A

number of government witnesses, whose testimony was

not inherently incredible, identified Darby as an active

participant in the DC-6 episode. According to those wit-

nesses prior to the night on which the plane was originally

expected, he was present at a discussion regarding plans

for the offloading and agreed to serve as a lookout; on

the night on which the plane was expected, he was at the

landing strip in a lookout position; after the plane did

not arrive as expected, he was present at a discussion

regarding whether to go out to meet the plane a second

60a

night and agreed to do so; and on the night on which the

plane finally arrived and the marijuana was offloaded,

he drove a coconspirator to the landing strip and again

assumed a lookout position. Moreover, the record indi-

cates that he was paid handsomely for his efforts. We

conclude that the jury reasonably could have found that

Darby knowingly and voluntarily joined the conspiracy.

It is true that the importation conspiracy charged in

the indictment covered the period from 1975 to 1982 and

thus was not limited to the DC-6 episode. Darby’s par-

ticipation in the overall conspiracy, however, may be

inferred from his involvement in the DC-6 episode. As

this court pointed out in United States v. Badolato, 701

F.2d 915 (11th Cir. 1983), “To be found guilty, a defen-

dant need not have knowledge of all the details of the

conspiracy, and may play only a minor role in the total

operation.” Jd, at 920. Another court has observed:

A single act may be “sufficient for an inference”

that an individual is involved in a conspiracy; the

“qualitative nature” of the act “viewed in the con-

text of the entire conspiracy” determines whether

that inference can be drawn in a particular case.

United States v. Murray, 618 F.2d 892, 908 (2d Cir.

1980) (citations omitted). The evidence in this case

suggests Darby’s awareness of the size of the shipment

and the use of a private plane, his acquaintance with

several other participants and his personal contact with

leaders of the conspiracy, one of whom assured the par-

ticipants that the organization would take care of them

in the event of arrest. Confronted with similar evidence,

the predecessor of this court held that the jury could have

rationally inferred that the defendant knew of the broader

conspiracy. See United States v. Hawkins, 661 F.2d 436,

453-54 (5th Cir. Unit B 1981). Concluding that the

evidence here permits the same inference, we sustain

Darby’s conviction.

6la

X. DARBY: MULTIPLE CONSPIRACIES

Finally, Darby asserts that the evidence at trial

proved not one overall conspiracy, but several smaller

conspiracies, including a conspiracy culminating in the

DC-6 episode. He urges reversal on the ground that

there was a prejudicial variance between the indictment

and the proof, and on the ground that the district court’s

refusal to sever his trial constituted an abuse of discre-

tion. Instead we affirm, for we reject Darby’s premise

that the government failed to establish a single con-

spiracy.

[46] At the outset, we note that the factual issue

underlying Darby’s claim was adversely determined by

the jury in this case. In United States v. Michel, 588

F.2d 986 (5th Cir. 1979), the former Fifth Circuit made

it clear that “[w]hether a scheme is one conspiracy or

several is primarily a question for the jury.” Id. at 995.

Here the jury was instructed:

[P]roof of several separate conspiracies is not

proof of the single overall conspiracy charged in

the indictments, unless one of the several con-

spiracies which is proved is the single conspiracy

which the indictment charges.

What you must do is determine whether the

single conspiracy charged in the count of the in-

dictment under deliberation existed between two

or more conspirators. If you find that no such

conspiracy existed, then you must acquit the de-

fendants as to that charge.

However, if you are satisfied that such con-

spiracy existed, you must determine who were the

members of that conspiracy.

If you find that a particular defendant is a

member of another conspiracy, not the one charged

in the indictment, then you must acquit that de-

62a

fendant. In other words, to find a defendant guilty,

you must find that he was a member of the

conspiracy charged in the indictment and not some

other separate conspiracy.

In light of this instruction, we regard the jury’s verdict

of guilty as an implicit finding that the overall conspiracy

charged in the indictment existed and that Darby par-

ticipated in it.

[47] Our review of the record confirms that there

was but one conspiracy in this case. It is true that not

every member of the conspiracy was involved in each of

the major drug incidents. Yet “‘[i]t is not crucial to

the existence of a conspiracy that each conspirator par-

ticipate in every phase of the criminal venture.” United

States v. Grassi, 616 F.2d 1295, 1808 (5th Cir. 1980).

It is also true that some conspirators assumed greater

responsibility and performed more tasks, but “[t]he plan

does not become several plans simply because some mem-

bers were cast in more vital roles than others or because

certain members performed only a single function.”

Michei, 588 F.2d at 995. And while not all of tite con-

spirators were mutually acquainted, it is not “necessary

for each conspirator to have knowledge of the identity

and role of each of his coconspirators.” Grassi, 616 F.2d

at 1303. The evidence in this case reveals the very

hallmarks of a single conspiracy: a regularized pattern

of activity involving a significant continuity of member-

ship and directed toward a common goal. See Grassi,

616 F.2d at 1308; Michel, 588 F.2d at 995. Accordingly,

we hold that there was neither a prejudicial variance nor

an abuse of discretion.

On the basis of the foregoing analysis, we uphold the

convictions and sentences of the four appellants. The

judgments of the district court are AFFIRMED.

63a

DENIALS OF REHEARING EN BANC

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

Eleventh Circuit

DENIALS OF REHEARING EN BANC

(Rule 35 Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure; Local Eleventh Circuit

Rule 26)

Group 1—Denials where no member of the panel nor Judge in regular

active service on the Court requested that the Court be

polled on rehearing en

banc.

Group 2—Denials after a poll requested by a member of the panel or

a Circuit Judge in regular active service.

Group 3—Denials on the Court’s own motion after a poll requested

by a member of the panel or a Circuit Judge in regular

active service.

Title

GROUP 1

Abdi v. State of Ga. ......++55.

Federal Deposit Ins. Corp. v.

Gulf Life Ins. Co. ........+++-

Grand Jury Subpoena of

Santarelli, In re

eeeeeereneeneeee

Hall v. Wainwright

Pacific and Southern Co., Inc.

vy. Duncan

Simon v. Kroger Co. ......+5++-

U.S. v. Arrow

eeeeeeeeeeeeeevee

U.S. v. Bascaro

eeeeeeneew. ee eeeee

USS. v.

U.S. v.

eeseeeereeeeeeees ee”

U.S. v. Pantoja-Soto

Docket

Number

83-8865

82-7173

84-5494

83-3563

83-8782

84-8168

83-5425

82-5547

82-8522

82-5840

82-5454

Date of

Denial

11/29/84

11/26/84

11/26/84

11/30/84

12/7/84

12/6/84

11/26/84

12/6/84

12/3/84

12/7/84

11/26/84

Citation of

Panel Decision

N.D.Ga., 744

F.2d 1500

M.D.Ala., 737

F.2d 1513

S.D.Fla., 740

F.2d 816

M.D.Fla., 733

F.2d 766

N.D.Ga., 744

F.2d 1490

N.D.Ga., 743

F.2d 1544

S.D.Fla., 739

F.2d 549

N.D.Fla., 742

F.2d 1335

N.D.Ga., 743

F.2d 1505

N.D.Fla., 744

F.2d 1508

S.D.Fla., 739

F.2d 1520

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Yamanis v. United States · 471 U.S. 1100 | Frix