Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Schepp v. United States

Supreme Court brief1985

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

} a

} Pic. ae

A ca mie Court, U.S.

f -

i VEU X¢ 't

No. we SF

er

—e- STEVYAS,

Pikctntieteeee 7 :

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1984

MILTON RUSSELL SCHEPP,

Petitioner,

VS.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

GEORGE J. MILLER

1015 Locust Street

St. Louis, Missouri 63101

(314) 421-6310

J. MARTIN HADICAN

Joyce Y. MACDONALD

Law Office OF J. MARTIN HADICAN, INC.

225 South Meramec, Suite 832

St. Louis, Missouri 63105

(314) 863-0050

Counsel for Petitioner

St Louis Law Printing Co., Inc., 411 No. Tenth Street 63101 314-231-4477

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I.

Did the trial court err in overruling Petitioner’s Motion for a

| Judgment of Acquittal at the conclusion of the Government’s

case and at the conclusion of all the evidence as to Counts I and

III of the Indictment wherein Petitioner was charged with con-

spiracy to destroy, by»means of an explosive, an automobile be-

ing used in an activity affecting interstate commerce, in viola-

tion of 18 U.S.C. §§371 and 844(i), and damaging an

automobile being used in an activity affecting interstate com-

merce, in violation of 18 U.S.C. §§2 and 844(i), respectiveiy, for

the reason that the evidence introduced by the Government was

insufficient to establish that the vehicle alleged to have been

damaged was being used in an activity affecting interstate com-

merce?

Il.

Did the trial court err in overruling the objections of Peti-

tioner and in denying the requests of Petitioner that the jury be

instructed to disregard the testimony, that the testimony be

stricken and that a mistrial be declared when, during the cross-

examination of Petitioner the court permitted the Government

to inquire of Petitioner whether it was true that the brother-in-

law of Petitioner left town in 1964 as a result of the murder of

Richard Leisure and whether, at that time, the brother-in-law of

Petitioner worked for Jimmy Michaels, Sr., for the reasons that

the same inquiry was not relevant or material to any of the

issues in the case and that the same inquiry was highly pre-

judicial as it was designed to establish the guilt of Petitioner,

who was charged with conspiring with Jimmy Michaels, III, to

bomb Richard Leisure’s cousin, by showing that he associated

with a person alleged to have committed a crime similar to the

one for which Petitioner was on trial?

Ill.

Did the trial court err in overruling the objections of Peti-

tioner to evidence of certain out-of-court statements of alleged

coconspirators of Petitioner for the reason that said statements

were hearsay and were not admissible under Rule 801(d)(2)(E)

of the Federal Rules of Evidence since the same statements were

made after the object of the conspiracy had been accomplished

and, thus, were not made during the course of and in fur-

therance of the conspiracy?

IV

Did the trial court commit plain error when it permitted the

Government, during its closing argument:

A.

To characterize Petitioner as a ‘‘hoodlum’’ and a “‘criminal’”’

for the reasons that the Petitioner had not placed his character

in issue, that the characterizations were not supported by the

evidence, and that the characterizations were highly inflam-

matory and prejudicial and deprived Petitioner of his right to a

fair trial; and

B.

To make certain statements set out in full in the Statement Of

The Case for the reasons that the statements were not supported

by the evidence, the statements implied the existence of evidence

in favor of the Government which had not been introduced and

the making of the statements constituted prosecutorial miscon-

duct which deprived Petitioner of his right to a fair trial?

— ill —

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

SE TE OR ee ae ae l

EE ree eee ee l

Constitutional Provisions and Statutes Involved....... 2

Ee eee Tree eee eee eee 3

Evidence Material To Question! .................... 4

Evidence Material To Question II ................... 5

Evidence Material To Question II] .................. 7

Evidence Material To Question IV-A ................ 8

Evidence Material To Question IV-B ................ 9

EE ROT Sa ee 1]

Appendix A - Opinion of the U. S. Court of Appeals ... A-l

Appendix B - Order denying Petition for Rehearing .... A-10

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Berger v. United States, 295 U.S. 78, 55 S.Ct. 629, 78

ks Gs ee ehh eek ee eK 22, 24, 26

Hall v. United States, 419 F.2d 582 (Sth Cir. 1969)... .22, 24, 26

Harrington v. United States, 267 F. 97 (8th Cir. 1920) .. 20

Krulewitch v. United States, 336 U.S. 440, 93 L.Ed. 790

ae us alba we aw eb nb as 19,

a Tons

United States v. Andrini, 685 F.2d 1094 (9th Cir. 1982) .

United States v. Barker, 553 F.2d 1013 (6th Cir. 1977) 22, 23,

United States v. Barton, 647 F.2d 224 (2nd Cir. 1981) ..

United States v. Bell, 573 F.2d 1040 (8th Cir. 1978).....

United States v. Bigeleisen, 625 F.2d 203 (8th Cir. 1980) 22,

United States v. Bledsoe, 531 F.2d 888 (8th Cir. 1976) .. 22,

United States v. Corbo, 555 F.2d 1279 (Sth Cir. 1977) ..

United States v. Crawford, 438 F.2d 441 (8th Cir. 1971) 17,

United States v. Giordano, 693 F.2d 245 (2nd Cir. 1982)

United States v. Grossman, 608 F.2d 534 (4th Cir. 1979)

United States v. Keen, 508 F.2d 986 (9th Cir. 1974).....

United States v. Labarbera, 581 F.2d 107 (Sth Cir. 1978) 16,

United States v. Mennuti, 487 F.Supp. 539 (E.D.N.Y.

1980), aff’d 639 F.2d 107 (2nd Cir. 1981) ....... 11, 13,

United States v. Michaels, 726 F.2d 1307 (8th Cir. 1984),

cert. denied United States Supreme Court Cause

Fs EE IE ick dc swe vueswscnddace kuek es

United States v. Monholland, 607 F.2d 1311 (10th Cir.

ah MEER EEE REE PETE Pee RCE 11, 12, 13, 14,

United States v. Morris, 568 F.2d 396 (Sth Cir. 1978) ... 22,

United States v. Nashawaty, 571 F.2d 71 (1st Cir. 1978).

United States v. Ochoa, 609 F.2d 198 (Sth Cir. 1980) ...

United States v. Romo, 669 F.2d 285 (5th Cir. 1982).... 17,

United States v. Schwanke, 598 F.2d 575 (10th Cir.

PP c<h oh ca eel see eee class

15

24

15

20

25

25

15

19

15

15

15

18

ee

16

16

26

15

16

18

15

United States v. Singleterry, 646 F.2d 1014 (Sth Cir.

oo re er rene errr Fe tere eee 16-17, 18

United States v. Sweet, 548 F.2d 198 (7th Cir. 1977),

cert. denied 430 U.S. 969, 97 S.Ct. 1653, 52

Re gf se: rr rere ere rere re 15

Statutes:

Section 844(i), Title 28, United States Code ...... 11, 12, 13, 16

Federal Rules of Evidence, Rule 404 ................. 18

Federal Rules of Evidence, Rule 611(b)............... 17

Federal Rules of Evidence, Rule 801(d)(2)(E).......... 19, 21

Constitutional Provisions:

es Lk a sew oo ee we ee ew eee 2

Miscellaneous Authorities:

H.R. Rep. No. 1549, 91st Congress, 2d Sess. (1970),

reprinted in [1970] U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

MILTON RUSSELL SCHEPP,

Petitioner,

VS.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH CiRCUIT

OPINIONS DELIVERED IN COURTS BELOW

The only opinion delivered by a court below in the instant

matter is the opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Eighth Circuit filed October 11, 1984, in the cause of action

styled United States of America v. Milton Russell Schepp,

Cause No. 83-2244. The same opinion has not been published.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

On October 11, 1984, the United States Court of Appeals for

the Eighth Circuit filed its opinion affirming the judgment of

the United States District Court for the Eastern District of

Missouri in the instant matter.

ho

On November 8, 1984, the United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit denied Petitioner’s Motions for Rehear-

ing and for Rehearing En Banc.

No order has been obtained granting an extension of time

within which to petition for certiorari.

The statu’ >ry provision which confers on this Court review by

writ of certiorari the judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Eighth Circuit in the instant matter is 28 U.S.C.

§1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

AND STATUTES INVOLVED

The following constitutional provisions, statutes and rules are

involved in the instant matter:

The first clause of the Sixth Amendment to the United States

Constitution, which reads:

“In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the

right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury of

the State and district wherein the crime shall have been

committed, which district shall have been previously ascer-

tained by law...”’

18 U.S.C. §844(i), which reads:

(i) Whoever maliciously damages or destroys, or at-

tempts to damage or destroy, by means of fire or an ex-

plosive, any building, vehicle, or other real or personal

property used in interstate or foreign commerce or in any

activity affecting interstate or foreign commerce shail be

imprisoned for not more than ten years or fined not more

than $10,000.00, or both; and if personal injury results

shall be imprisoned for not more than twenty years or fin-

ed not more than $20,000.00, or both; and if death results

Shall also be subject to imprisonment for any term of

— 2

years, or to the death penalty or to life imprisonment as

provided in section 34 of this ttle.

Rule 611(b) of the Federal Rules of Evidence, which reads:

Cross-examination should be limited to the subject mat-

ter of the direct examination and matters aftecting the

credibility of the witness. The court may, in the exercise of

discretion, permit inquiry into additional matters as if on

direct examination.

Rule 801(d)(2)(E) of the Federal Rules of Evidence, which

reads:

‘‘A statement is not hearsay if...[t]he statement is of-

fered against a party and is...a statement by a

coconspirator of a party during the course and in fur-

therance of the conspiracy.”’

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The instant cause of action was tried before a jury on an In-

dictment containing three Counts filed in the United States

District Court for the Eastern District of Missouri, Eastern

Division. The first Count of the Indictment charged that, bet-

ween September of 1980 and August 12, 1981, Petitioner and

James Anthony Michaels, III, together with others known and

unknown, conspired to destroy, by means of an explosive, an

automobile being used by John Paul Leisure in the business of

Local 42 of the Laborers International Union of North

America, an activity affecting interstate commerce, in violation

of Section 371 and 844(i) of Title 18 of the United States Code.

The second Count of the Indictment charged that Petitioner and

James Anthony Michaels, III, made a destructive device

without filing the proper form with the Secretary of the

Treasury, in violation of Section 5822 of Title 26 of the United

States Code. The third Count charged that, on August 11,

1981, Petitioner and James Anthony Michaels, III, damaged an

automobile being used by John Paul Leisure in the business of

ici

——

Local 42 of the Laborers International Union of North

America, an activity affecting interstate commerce, in violation

of Sections 2 and 844(i), Title 18, United States Code. The Jury

“ound Petitioner guilty on each Count. Petitioner was sentenc-

ed to terms of imprisonment of five (5) years on Count I, of ten

(10) years on Count II and of ten (10) years on Count III, said

sentences to run concurrently.

Jurisdiction of the District Court was invoked by the Govern-

ment under Sections 2, 371 and 844 of Title 18 of the United

States Code and Sections 582, 5861(f) and 5871 of Title 26 of the

United States Code.

The evidence at trial material to the questions presented was

as follows.

EVIDENCE MATERIAL TO QUESTION I

On August 11, 1981, Paul Leisure was injured (T.1-40) when

a bomb exploded (T.3-120) in his automobile (T.2-36,37), which

was parked (T.1-34) on the street in front of his home (T.2-37)

in St. Louis, Missouri. The only evidence adduced by the

Government to establish that Leisure’s automobile was being

used in an activity affecting interstate commerce was the

testimony of Irene Jones. According to the same testimony,

Leisure is a field organizer in St. Louis, Missouri, for Local 42

of the Laborers International Union. Among the duties of a

Field Organizer are the solicitation of new members and the col-

lection of initiation fees and dues from members at job sites.

Leisure receives an expense allowance of Two Hundred Dollars

($200.00) per month for the use of his automobile. No

documentary evidence was produced showing Leisure to be

employed by Local 42. Irene Jones, an employee of Local 42,

mails various records, reports and checks of Local 42 to the In-

ternational Union in Washington, D.C. (T.2-45).

After the bombing, a briefcase was found on the ground near

Leisure’s car. (T.2-22). The briefcase contained membership

=

application forms for Local 42, dues check-off forms and a

booklet outlining the contracts between Laborers Union Locals

and various industries. (T.2-22-24,2-45-46).

EVIDENCE MATERIAL TO QUESTION I

In April of 1981, William Albright, a friend of Jimmy

Michaels, III, upon the request of Michaels, III, rented an

apartment for Michaels, III. (1.2-99,113-118).

The Government sought to establish that the apartment

rented by Albright for Michaels, III, was used to manufacture

the bomb which damaged the Leisure automobile.

(T.3-7,8,12,14,17-23,29,54-58,66,118,145-148). A fingerprint of

Michaels, Il, was found inside of the apartment (T.3-140), and

fingerprints of Michaels, II, and Petitioner were found on

magazines recovered from a trash bag containing mail address-

ed to the Michacls apartment (T.3-146-148). Automobiles

registered to Petitioner (T.2-73,104), Robert D. Peters

(T.2-95,3-113), John Michaels, the brother of Michaels, III,

(T.1-20,2-77) and a relative of Jack Issa who allowed Jack Issa

to use his automobile (T.3-3) were seen at various times in the

parking lot of the apartment complex in which was located the

apartment rented by Michaels, ‘II.

The bomb which damaged the Leisure automobile was

remotely activated (T.3-120). On the morning of August 11,

1981, one street over from the site of the Leisure incident, a resi-

dent noticed two men sitting in a car in front of his house.

(T.2-52,57). The men were identified as Jack Issa and George

Faheen, a cousin of Jimmy Michaels, III. (17.2-43). Norm

Stiebel was called as a witness by the Government and testified

that he purchased two cars for Petitioner (T.3-72-85) - the car in

which the two men identified as Issa and Faheen were seen sit-

ting (T.2-52,57) and a car which was later found by the FBI in a

storage garage which had been rented for John Michaels by

William Albright (T.3-114). Additionally, both cars were seen

in the parking lot of the apartment rented by Michaels, III.

(T.2-72,75,77,87,89).

miu

Peiitioner testified at his trial. During direct examination, he

testified as to his relationship, if any, with each of the in-

dividuals the Government had sought to establish were involved

in the bombing of Leisure’s automobile. Petitioner testified

that his first wife was Mary Peters. He was married to her in

1959 and they were divorced in 1968. (T.4-38). The couple had

two children with whom Petitioner has remained very close.

(T.4-16,38). Norm Peters, George Peters, Ollie Peters and Bob

Peters are brothers of Mary Peters. Petitioner last saw Norm

Peters in 1964 and last saw George and Ollie Peters approx-

imately fifteen years ago at his daughter’s First Communion.

(T.4-31,32). Petitioner maintained some contact with Bob

Peters after his divorce from Mary and had gone with him to the

apartment at 2706 Arnold Tenbrook on three or four occasions

during the summer of 1981 to watch a ballgame on television.

(T.4-33,25).

The Peters family is friends with the Michaels family

(T.4-50), but Petitioner had never seen Jimmy Michaels, Sr.,

Jimmy Michaels, Jr. nor Michaels, III, socially. He did know

of them through his police work. He had never talked to

Michaels, III, until he met him while confined with him after

they both had surrendered in the instant matter. (T.4-27,28,29).

Petitioner knows of John Michaels through the publicity sur-

rounding the Leisure incident. (T.4-31).

Petitioner saw George Faheen, a cousin of Jimmy Michaels,

III, one time in the early sixties at the home of Mary Peters’

parents. (T.4-30). Petitioner knew of Jack Issa through his

former brother-in-law and last saw him in 1964. (T.4-30,31).

Petitioner met Norm Stiebel approximately fifteen years ago

when he operated a service station on the beat covered by Peti-

tioner while Petitioner was a patrolman. (T.4-34). When Peti-

tioner became Chief of Police of the City of St. George, he re-

tained Stiebel to maintain the police cars. (T.4-35). In the sum-

mer of 1981, Petitioner told Stiebel that he was not happy with

his performance and warned him that he would take the work

—

elsewhere if Stiebel did not maintain the cars properly.

(T.4-36,37). Petitioner denied that he had anything to do with

Stiebel purchasing two cars in the summer of 1981 or that he

_had any conversations with Stiebel about any cars or the Leisure

bombing. (T.4-35,36).

On cross-examination, the Government asked Petitioner why

he could specifically remember that he had last seen Norman

Peters and Jack Issa in 1964. Petitioner stated that he

remembered because that was when Norman Peters left town.

Then, over the objection of Petitioner, the Government was

permitted to ask:

*‘Isn’t it true that your brother-in-law, Norman Peters,

back in 1964, left town as the result of the murder of

Richard Leisure?’’

and

**Isn’t it true, that at that time, or shortly before that, your

brother-in-law, Norman Peters, had worked on and off for

Jimmy Michaels, Sr.?’’ (1.4-44-50, specifically T.4-49,50).

EVIDENCE MATERIAL TO QUESTION III

Petitioner objected to the admission of three statements, two

by Jimmy Michaels, III, and one by John Michaels, on the

ground that the same were hearsay and were not admissible

under Rule 801(d)(2)(E) of the Federal Rules of Evidence since

the statements were made after the object of the conspiracy had

been accomplished and, thus, were not made during the course

of and in furtherance of the conspiracy.

William Albright testified that on two separate occasions dur-

ing the days immediately following the incident of August 11,

1981, William Albright told Michaels, III, that the FBI had ask-

ed him about the apartment Albright had rented for Michaels,

Ill. (The dates of these conversations are not clear from the

transcript, but the evidence indicates that law enforcement of-

—

ficials were not aware of the apartment until August 15, 1981,

(T.2-81-2-84) and, thus, could not have talked to Albright about

the apartment prior to that date.) According to Albright,

Michaels, III, on the first occasion, responded that there was

nothing to worry about, that no one was in the apartment, that

it had been wiped clean, that he should keep his mouth shut and

that they had been very, very fast. (T.2-123,124). On the second

occasion, Albright testified that Michaels, III, told him that it

was good that he had told the FBI that he did not know

anything, that he should be quiet, that his sources in the City

said they didn’t have anything, that they were fishing, and that

he should stay cool and not say anything if he had to appear

before a grand jury. (T.2-125,126).

Albright also testified that, after August 11, 1981, and ‘‘more

than likely’’ before August 27, 1981, he asked John Michaels

what was happening with the storage garage that he had rented

for John Michaels and that John Michaels replied that he didn’t

know, but would check into it. (T.2-126,127). The storage

garage referred to was the storage garage in which the FBI

found one of the cars which Norm Stiebel testified he bought

for Petitioner and which had been seen at the apartment rented

by Jimmy Michaels, III.

EVIDENCE MATERIAL TO QUESTION IV-A

During its closing argument, the Government made the

following statements:

“*He acted like a criminal and that is exactly what he is.”’

(T.5-22).

‘*([E]very piece of testimony in this case, every piece of

evidence, sooner or later, comes right back to him as a

criminal...’’ (T.5-56).

‘‘All he had to do, ladies and gentlemen, was break the

case, act like a policeman instead of a hoodlum...’’

(T.5-59).

— om

Petitioner was employed as a police office: by St. Louis

County, Missouri, from 1966 to 1974 (T.4-14) and was, and

since 1976 had been, employed as such by the City of St.

George, Missouri, on the day when Leisure’s automobile was

bombed (T.4-16,17,23).

EVIDENCE MATERIAL TO QUESTION IV-B

Three portions of the Government’s closing argument were:

I

‘*‘Somebody on that corner, who was clean, got stopped,

didn’t have anything on them, could give the signal, and

they could hit the remote control device, and they could

blow him up.’’

‘*There were other people out there. Now, who were the

other people?’’

‘*Was it Jimmy Michaels? I am not sure.

‘*Was it Russell Schepp? I can’t tell you that for sure.”’

‘‘Was it Bobby Peters? I can’t tell you that.”’

‘‘Or was it another individual, who we are not aware of,

who was in on the conspiracy, that we don’t know about?

But there was somebody else over there.’’ (T.5-17,18) (Em-

phasis supplied.)

II

‘‘There’s nothing in the instructions say I have to give

you a motive. Was he paid for this? I don’t know. He was

gone twenty months, and his family lived and he lived.

And as to money, /ie was getting money from somewhere.

He walked away from a job, and how many people can do

that for twenty months? ... he may have been paid for it.”’

(T.5-58) (Emphasis supplied.)

II]

‘*And he (referring to John McCrady, a witness called

by the Government) testified that Paul Leisure was a

member of organized crime. He also testified that Jimmy

Michaels, Sr. was involved in and a leader of organized

crime. That’s what vou are dealing with here.’’ (T.5-49)

(Emphasis supplied.)

—' en

ARGUMENT

I

The Writ of Certiorari should be granted to decide an impor-

tant question of federal law which has not been, but should be,

settled by this Court, namely, the breadth of federal jurisdiction

under 18 U.S.C. §844(i).

Count I of the Indictment charged Petitioner with conspiring

to destroy, by means of an explosive, an automobile being used

by John Paul Leisure in the business of Local 42 of the Laborers

International Union of North America, an activity affecting in-

terstate commerce, in violation of Section 844(i), Title 18,

United States Code. Count III of the Indictment is the same as

Count I except that it charges the substantive offense.

Section 844(i) reads, in part, as follows:

‘*Whoever maliciously damages or destroys, or attempts

to damage or destroy, by means of fire or an explosive, any

building, vehicle or other real or personal property used in

interstate or foreign commerce or in any activity affecting

interstate or foreign commerce shall be imprisoned...”’

The history of Section 844(i) indicates that it was intended to

extend jurisdiction to cases involving ‘‘substantially all business

property.’’ H.R. Rep. No. 1549, 91st Congress, 2d Sess.(1970),

reprinted in [1970] U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 4007, 4046

(Emphasis supplied). The Courts have recognized this history

and have stated that jurisdiction will extend to cases involving

property having a ‘‘de minimis’’ connection with interstate

commerce. United States v. Mennuti, 487 F.Supp. 539, 544

(E.D.N.Y. 1980), aff'd 639 F.2d 107 (2nd Cir.1981). The

Courts, however, have refused to rule that all property has suf-

ficient contact with interstate commerce to invoke federal

jurisdiction, United States v. Mennuti, supra, and require that

the property damaged ‘‘bear some real relationship to com-

merce’’. United States v. Monholland, 607 F.2d 1311, 1315

(10th Cir. 1979).

Federal Courts are Courts of limited jurisdiction. In a case

brought under Section 844(i), if the Government fails to prove

that the property damaged was used in interstate commerce or

in an activity affecting interstate commerce, the Court is

without jurisdiction and must dismiss the case. United States v.

Monholland, supra at 1316.

In the instant matter, the Government sought to establish that

the Leisure automobile was used in an activity affecting in-

terstate commerce by attempting to prove that Local 42 was

engaged in interstate commerce and that Leisure used the

automobile in his job as a field organizer for Local 42. To that

end, the Government proved that Local 42 mails reports and

checks to the International Union in Washington, D.C. Addi-

tionally, the Government established that Irene Jones, an

employee of Local 42, knew Paul Leisure to be a field organizer

for Local 42, that the duties of a field organizer include the

solicitation of new members and the collection of initiation fees

and dues from members at job sites, that Leisure was on the

payroll of Local 42, that Leisure received an expense allowance

of Two Hundred Dollars ($200.00) per month from Local 42 for

the use of his automobile and that a briefcase containing Local

42 materials was found near his car after the incident of August

11, 1981.

The above proof fails to establish that the Leisure automobile

allegedly damaged by Petitioner was used in an activity affec-

ting interstate commerce. First, the Government did not prove

that Local 42 was engaged in interstate commerce. It merely

showed that Local 42 mailed reports and monies to the Interna-

tional Union.

Second, the Government did not prove that the particular

automobile allegedly damaged by Petitioner was the one used by

Leisure in his work for Local 42. The evidence showed that the

automobile was owned by Leisure personally, not Local 42.

There was no evidence that the automobile allowance received

by Leisure from Local 42 was for the use of that particular

—

automobile. There was no evidence that this was the only auto

owned by Leisure. There was no evidence that Leisure had ever

driven this auto. There was no evidence that any business of

Local 42 had ever been conducted in the auto. There was no

evidence that the auto had ever been at any job site. There was

no evidence that Leisure himself had ever been at any job site or

had ever performed any of the duties of his job. The evidence

was only that among the duties of a field organizer is the

solicitation of members at job sites. There was no evidence of

the amount of travel required of a field organizer. There was no

evidence that Leisure was working at the time of this incident.

In fact, the evidence showed the auto was parked in front of his

home. (T.2-37). There was no evidence that the damaging of

the automobile was in any way motivated by or connected with

Leisure’s position with Local 42. Finally, there was no evidence

that this automobile had ever been driven interstate or carried

anything which had traveled or would travel interstate.

Petitioner’s conclusion that the Government failed to

establish that the Leisure automobile was used in an activity af-

fecting interstate commerce is supported by the decisions of the

courts which have addressed the issue of the breadth of federal

court jurisdiction under Section 844(i). Those decisions stand

for the proposition that Section 844(i) jurisdiction extends to

prosecutions involving commercial property even if that proper-

ty has only a de minimis effect on interstate commerce, but that

Section 844(i) jurisdiction does not extend to prosecutions in-

volving private property.

The two reported decisions concerning private property are

United States v. Monholland, supra and United States v. Men-

nuti, supra. United States v. Monholland presents the fact pat-

tern most similar to the one in the instant case. There, the

defendants were charged, under Section 844(i), with conspiracy

to destroy by means of explosives a pick-up truck owned by a

judge of the State of Oklahoma, the object of the conspiracy be-

ing to kill the judge. The Government sought to establish

—_ oe

jurisdiction of the case by proving, through the testimony of the

judge, that the judge drove the truck to and from his home and

the courthouses of his circuit upon the United States highway

system and that the cases over which he presided involved par-

ties and interests from other States. The Court held that the

above facts did not establish that the truck was used in an activi-

ty affecting interstate commerce. The Court noted that the

truck was used simply to transport the judge to and from his

work. If the truck failed, the judge would use another means of

transportation. The Court continued that, even assuming the

judge’s official duties affected commerce, the truck was im-

material to the performance of those duties, and thus, no rela-

tionship existed between the truck and interstate commerce.

A similar situation exists in the instant matter if the evidence

is construed in the light most favorable to the Government.

Even if we assume that Leisure actually performed the duties of

a field organizer, that he, in fact, used the automobile

allegedly damaged by Petitioner when driving to a job site, and

that his job as a field organizer affects interstate commerce, still

the Government failed to establish the relationship of the

automobile to Leisure’s job, for as, in Monholland, the

automobile was simply used to transport Leisure to his place of

work. His alleged travel to job sites is analagous to the judge’s

travel from one courthouse to another. As in Monholland, no

official business was conducted in the automobile and the

automobile was not necessary to the performance of his duties.

Indeed, the evidence in Monholland is stronger than in the

case at bar for the reason that the judge testified and established

that he, in fact, drove the truck which was to be destroyed to the

courthouses and, in fact, performed the duties of his office. In

the instant matter, the Government did not prove that Leisure

had ever driven the damaged automobile or that he had per-

formed any of the duties of a field organizer.

In United States v. Mennuti, the defendants were charged,

under Section 844(i), with destroying two private residences by

—'

means of explosives for the purpose of collecting the insurance

proceeds. In order to establish that the residences affected in-

terstate commerce, the Government proved that the residences

had been built, financed, maintained and insured with materials

which had traveled in interstate commerce and by companies

which conducted business in interstate commerce. Additional-

ly, the Government argued that the defendant who lived in one

of the residences conducted an arson ring from the residence

which affected interstate commerce. The Court, focusing on

the private nature of the residences, held that the Government

failed to establish that the residences affected interstate com-

merce and, thus, failed to establish jurisdiction under Section

844(i).

The decisions concerning prosecutions involving business or

commercial property destroyed or damaged by explosives are:

United States v. Nashawaty, 571 F.2d 71 (ist Cir. 1978) (paint

company which painted materials shipped worldwide by its

customer); United States v. Barton, 647 F.2d 224 (2nd Cir.

1981) (two buildings each housing illegal gambling clubs which

sold food which had traveled in interstate commerce); United

States v. Giordano, 693 F.2d 245 (2nd Cir. 1982) (a fictitious

piano store which would have sold pianos, the parts of which

had traveled interstate); United States v. Grossman, 608 F.2d

534 (4th Cir. 1979) (a backhoe held for sale in interstate com-

merce); United States v. Corbo, 555 F.2d 1279 (Sth Cir. 1977)

(bookstore selling books which had traveled in interstate com-

merce); United States v. Sweet, 548 F.2d 198 (7th Cir. 1977),

cert. denied 430 U.S. 969, 97 S.Ct. 1653, 52 L.Ed.2d 361 (1977)

(tavern containing stocks of liquor which had traveled in-

terstate); United States v. Keen, 508 F.2d 986 (9th Cir. 1974)

(commercial fishing boat the catch from which was shipped in-

terstate); United States v. Andrini, 685 F.2d 1094 (9th Cir. 1982)

(commercial office building being constructed with materials

| which had traveled interstate); and United States v. Schwanke,

598 F.2d 575 (10th Cir. 1979) (building housing cafe which sold

food which had traveled interstate).

PE

=

In each of the above cases, the Courts found jurisdiction

under Section 844(i). The commercial or business nature of the

properties involved cannot be doubted for in each case the

Government proved not only that the real or personal property

damaged was used in a business (a building housing a

restaurant, for example) but also that the business had interstate

contacts (the restaurant sold food which had been shipped in-

terstate). Thus, the above decisions reflect the purpose of Con-

gress in enacting Section 844(i), namely, to protect interstate

commerce from interference and interruption, H.R. Rep. No.

1549, supra at 4013, and respect the intent of Congress that

jurisdiction under Section 844(i) extend only to property having

a relationship with interstate commerce, for, while Section

844(i) is broadiy drawn, it does not reach ‘‘everybody and

everything’’. United States v. Monholland, supra at 1316.

Petitioner notes for this Court’s information, that the Peti-

tion For Certiorari of James A. Michaels, fII, which raised thi:

issue, among others, was denied. United States v. Michaels, 726

F.2d 1307 (8th Cir. 1984), cert. denied United States Supreme

Court Cause No. 83178 (1984). Petitioner submits, however,

that substantially different proof relating to the use of the

Leisure automobile in an activity affecting interstate commerce

was elicited in the Michaels case.

II.

The Writ of Certiorari should be granted for the reason that

the decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Eighth Circuit on the issue of whether the trial court erred in

permitting the Government to inquire of Petitioner whether it

was true that Petitioner’s brother-in-law left town as a result of

the murder of Richard Leisure and whether that same brother-

in-law worked for Jimmy Michaels, Sr., is in conflict with deci-

sions of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

in United States v. Ochoa, 609 F.2d 198 (Sth Cir. 1980); United

States v. Labarbera, 581 F.2d 107 (Sth Cir. 1978); United States

_

v. Singleterry, 646 F.2d 1014 (Sth Cir. 1981); and United Srates

v. Romo, 669 F.2d 285 (Sth Cir. 1982).

Rule 611(b) of the Federal Rules of Evidence limits cross-

examination to ‘‘the subject matter of the direct examination

and matters affecting the credibility of the witness.’’ With

regard to a defendant in a criminal case, it has been stated that:

‘‘cross-examination in response to statements of the defen-

dant made on direct examination must either clarify the

point raised or tend to directly impeach the defendant on

that point.’’ United States v. Crawford, 438 F.2d 441 (8th

Cir. 1971).

It is a:

‘‘long-established rule that a defendant’s guilt may not be

proven by showing that he associates with unsavory

characters. ..*That one is married to, associates with, or in

the company of a criminal does not support the inference

that that person is a criminal or shares the criminal’s guilty

knowledge. ..* [A]dmission of evidence of bad conduct of

relatives or friends is error.’’ United States v. Singleterry,

646 F.2d 1014, 1018 (Sth Cir. 1981) (Citations omitted).

In United States v. Ochoa, 609 F.2d 198 (Sth Cir. 1980),

several persons were charged with distribution and conspiracy

to distribute heroin. One of the defendants, Juanita Cavazos,

took the stand and testified that she had lived with her brother,

Manuel, that she had met a codefendant through her friend,

Molly, and that she had nothing to do with the drug transac-

tions which were the subject of the charges against her. Addi-

tionally, she presented the testimony of two witnesses who

testified, in substance, that she was a good worker, a good

mother, a nice lady, dependable and truthful.

On cross-examination, the Government was permitted to

elicit from Cavazos the facts that her brother, Armando, her

brother-in-law and Molly had been in trouble with the law for

drugs.

Fn

The Court held that the cross-examination of Cavazos was

improper and reversed her conviction. The Court stated that

Cavazos had not opened herself to cross-examination regarding

the offenses of any of those people, and that the questioning

was not necessary to clarify any matter left unclear on her direct

examination, but was a highly prejudicial attempt to taint the

defendant’s character by guilt by association. See also United

States v. Labarbera, 581 F.2d 107 (Sth Cir. 1978); United States

v. Singleterry, 646 F.2d 1014 (Sth Cir. 1981); United States v.

Romo, 669 F.2d 285 (Sth Cir. 1982).

When applied to the facts in the case at bar, the law stated

above requires one to conclude that the Court below erred in

permitting the cross-examination of which Petitioner com-

plains. Petitioner did not open the door to such cross-

examination about Norman Peters. Petitioner did not place his

general character in issue. The only character evidence was the

testimony of three witnesses called by Petitioner that Petitioner

is truthful. The cross-examination concerning Peters in no way

concerned Petitioner’s truthfulness and was, thus, improper

under Rule 404 of the Federal Rules of Evidence.

Petitioner did not place the conduct or character of Norman

Peters in issue. He simply stated, by way of background infor-

mation, that he was his brother-in-law and had last seen him in

1964. Neither the Indictment nor the Government’s evidence

indicated that Normal Peters had anything to do with the events

which gave rise to the prosecution of Petitioner. Norman Peters

and his activities are totally irrelevant to this case.

The cross-examination did not serve either of the recognized

purposes of cross-examination. It did not clarify a point left

unclear on direct examination as Petitioner stated unequivocally

on direct examination that he had last seen Norman Peters in

1964. It did not tend to directly impeach Petitioner on the point

that he had last seen Norman Peters in 1964. In fact, the ques-

tion implies that the Government knew that Petitioner had not

seen Norman Peters since 1964.

—

The cross-examination served only one purpose — to pre-

judice the jury by insinuating that Petitioner, like his brother-

in-law before him, worked with a Michaels to murder a Leisure.

The insinuation was strengthened by the Government’s allega-

tions that another Peters, Robert, was involved with Petitioner.

There can be no argument from the Government that this

cross-examination did not prejudice Petitioner.

**When, in the prosecution of a defendant, counsel for the

government indulges in unfair and improper cross-

examination, the only purpose of which is to degrade the

defendant and to prejudice the jury against him, the

government, upon appeal, will not ordinarily be heard to

say that the methods which were used did not have the ef-

fect which they were obviously intended to have.”’

Crawford, supra at 445.

Ill.

The Writ of Certiorari should be granted for the reason that

the decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Eighth Circuit on the issue of whether certain out-of-court

statements of alleged co-conspirators of Petitioner were ad-

missible under Rule 801(d)(2)(E) of the Federal Rules of

Evidence is in conflict with the decision of this Court in

Krulewitch v. United States, 336 U.S. 440, 69 S.Ct. 716, 93

L.Ed. 790 (1949).

The trial court permitted two out-of-court statements by

James A. Michaels, II], and one out-of-court statement by John

Michaels to be introduced in evidence against Petitioner under

Rule 801(d)(2)(E) of the Federal Rules of Evidence which pro-

vides that a statement by a co-conspirator of a party during the

course and in furtherance of the conspiracy is not hearsay. All

iliree of the statements were made after August 11, 1981, tne

date on which Leisure’s automobile was bombed.

=

A statement is made during the course of a conspiracy if made

after the conspiracy comes into existence and before the objec-

tive of the conspiracy is accomplished. Arulewitch v. United

States, 336 U.S. 440, 69 S.Ct. 716, 93 L.Ed. 790 (1949). A state-

ment is in furtherance of the conspiracy if it advances the in-

terests or the object of the conspiracy. Harrington v. United

States, 267 F. 97 (8th Cir. 1920). Weinstein’s Evidence (1975),

p. 801-143. The ‘‘in furtherance’’ requirement should be con-

strued in a manner to be protective of the defendant.

‘*Narrative declarations should not be admitted as a matter

of course and statements of confession should be carefully

scrutinized. Since prejudice is likely, the harmless error

rule should seldom be relied upon by the trial judge.

Whether a particular statement tends to advance the objec-

tive of the conspiracy can only be determined by examina-

tion of the context in which it was made.”’

Weinstein’s Evidence (1975), p.801-147.

The Government must prove by a preponderance of the

evidence independent of the statements sought to be introduced

that a conspiracy existed, that the defendant was a member of it

and that the statement was made during the course and in fur-

therance of the conspiracy. United States v. Bell, 573 F.2d

1040, 1044 (8th Cir. 1978).

In Krulewitch v. United States, supra, the defendant and a

co-conspirator were charged with transporting a woman on Oc-

tober 20, 1941, from New York to Florida for the purpose of

prostitution. At the defendant’s trial, the Government in-

troduced evidence of a statement made six weeks after October

20, 1941, by the co-conspirator to the complaining witness out-

side the presence of the defendant. In the statement, the co-

conspirator told the complaining witness not to talk, to be

careful what she said and that it would be better for the com-

plaining witness and the co-conspirator to take the blame. 93

L.Ed. at 793.

The Government recognized that the chief objective of the

conspiracy - transportation of the woman from New York to

Florida for prostitution purposes - had been accomplished

before the statement was made. Notwithstanding the same, the

Government argued that the statement should be admissible

under the co-conspirator exception to the hearsay rule as a

declaration made in furtherance of an alleged implied con-

spiracy aimed at preventing detection and punishment. 93 L.Ed.

at 794. This Court rejected the Government’s argument and

held that the statement was not admissible.

Applying the proposition of law set forth in Krulewitch,

supra, to the instant matter, requires one to conclude that the

statements of Jimmy Michaels, III, and John Michaels made

after August 11, 1981, were not admissible against Petitioner

under Rule 801(d)(2)(E). The objective of the conspiracy alleg-

ed in the Indictment was the injury or death of John Paul

Leisure. That was accomplished on August 11, 1981, and,

thereupon, the conspiracy ended. Thus, statements made after

that date could not have been made in furtherance of or during

the course of the conspiracy. Moreover, since the declarations

concerned prevention of the detection of the crime, they are ex-

actly the type of statements this Court ruled do not fall within

the co-conspirator’s statement exception to the hearsay rule.

The admission of the statements of Michaels, III, made after

August 11, 1981, prejudiced Petitioner because they inculpated

Michaels, III, with and through whom Petitioner allegedly

acted, because they implied the apartment had been used in con-

nection with the incident of August 11, 1981, and because the

Statements that no one was in the apartment and that it had

been wiped clean substantiated the Government’s speculation

that on August 17, 1981, the apartment was vacant and no

evidence could be found in it because it had been cleaned.

(T.3-123,3-128-3-131).

Petitioner was prejudiced by the admission of John

Michaels’s statement about checking on the garage since it

js see

created the impression that John Michaels might be a con-

spirator and since that impression, together with the evidence

that John Michaels’ automobile was seen at the Arnold Ten-

brook apartment complex, strengthened the Government’s

argument that only conspirators had been allowed at the apart-

ment. (T.5-16).

1V

The Writ of Certiorari should be granted for the reason that

decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth

Circuit in the case at bar on the issue of alleged improprieties

committed by the United States Attorney during closing argu-

ment is contrary to the decision of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in United States v. Barker, 553

F.2d 1013 (6th Cir. 1977), the decisions of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in Hall v. United States,

419 F.2d 582 (Sth Cir. 1969) and in United States v. Morris, 568

F.2d 396, 401 (Sth Cir. 1978), and the spirit of the decision of

this Court in Berger v. United States, 295 U.S. 78, 55 S.Ct.

629, 78 L.Ed. 1314 (1935).

The purpose of closing argument is to permit each party to

State to the jury the conclusions which that party feels are re-

quired by the evidence. Thus, the closing argument must be

limited to comments supported by the evidence or reasonable

inferences flowing therefrom. United States v. Bigeleisen, 625

F.2d 203, 209-210 (8th Cir. 1980). United States v. Bledsoe, 531

F.2d 888, 892 (8th Cir. 1976) The Government ‘‘may not say

anything to the jury implying that evidence supporting his posi-

tion exists, but was not introduced at trial.’’ United States v.

Morris, 568 F.2d 396, 401 (Sth Cir. 1978).

The leading case on prosecutorial misconduct is Berger v.

United States, 295 U.S. 7%, 88, 55 S.Ct. 629, 633, 78 L.Ed. 1314

(1935). In that case, the improprieties of the United States At-

torney, in conducting cross-examinations and in closing argu-

ment, caused the defendant’s conviction to be reversed. This

Court stated:

—_—

saint ail iia ath

—.

‘*The United States Attorney is the representative not of

an ordinary party to a controversy, but of a sovereignty

whose obligation to govern impartially is as compelling as

its obligation to govern at all; and whose interest,

therefore, in a criminal prosecution is not that it shall win a

case, but that justice shall be done. As such, he is in a

peculiar and very definite sense the servant of the law, the

twofold aim of which is that guilt shall not escape or in-

nocence suffer. He may prosecute with earnestness and

vigor - indeed, he should do so. But, while he may strike

hard blows, he is not at liberty to strike foul ones. It is as

much his duty to refrain from improper methods

ca.culated to produce a wrongful conviction as it is to use

every legitimate means to bring about a just one.

It is fair to say that the average jury, in a greater or less

degree, has confidence that these obligations, which so

plainly rest upon the prosecuting attorney, will be faithful-

ly observed. Consequently, improper suggestions, insinua-

tions, and, especially, assertions of personal knowledge are

apt to carry much weight against the accused when they

should properly carry none.”’

A.

Characterizations Of Petitioner As A ‘‘Hoodlum’”’

And ‘‘Criminal’’

Petitioner submits that the statements characterizing Peti-

tioner as a “‘criminal’’ and ‘‘hoodlum”’ were improper for three

reasons. First, the statements refer to the character of Peti-

tioner and Petitioner had not placed his character in issue. In

United States v. Barker, 553 F.2d 1013 (6th Cir. 1977), the

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit stated that:

“the prosecution may not rely upon the defendant’s bad

character to prove guilt unless the defense has sought to ex-

culpate him by proof of good character.’’ 553 F.2d at

1025.

=

In Barker, supra, the defendants were charged with armed

bank robbery. They had not produced character evidence. The

defense attorney argued:

‘*that police had charged the defendants because they were

‘undesirables to law enforcement agencies’ and not

because they were guilty of the offenses charged.’’ 553

F.2d at 1025.

The United States Attorney remarked during rebuttal,

‘* ‘Now I submit to you that desirable people don’t rob

banks; undesirable people do rob banks, and they admit

they’re undesirable. Because they’re undesirable doesn’t

mean they robbed this bank, but you should consider that

also along with all this other evidence.’ ’’ 553 F.2d at 1025.

The Court of Appeals held that the Government’s attorney had

violated his responsibilities under Berger by relying upon

references to the defendant’s character to prove guilt when the

defendants had not sought to prove their good character. 553

F.2d at 1025.

Second, there was no evidence to support the characteriza-

tions of Petitioner. Both ‘‘criminal’’ and *“‘hoodlum’’ imply a

prior course of illicit conduct. No evidence was introduced that

Petitioner had ever engaged in any type of illegal conduct.

Third, the references to Petitioner as a ‘‘hoodlum’’ and

‘*criminal’’ were improper because they were in violation of the

duty of the United States Attorney ‘‘to refrain from improper

methods calculated to produce a wrongful conviction.’’ Berger

v. United States, supra 295 U.S. at 88. Hall v. United States,

419 F.2d 582 (Sth Cir. 1969) is on point. In that case, the United

States Attorney described the defendant as a ‘‘hoodlum’’. Hail,

supra at 585. There was no objection to the use of the term. The

Court held that that characterization of the defendant, together

with other remarks of the prosecutor, required reversal. The

Court stated:

et a a ee ee ee

SSCA ORES eS Cae.

tis

‘*This type of shorthand characterization of an accused,

not based on evidence, is especially likely to stick in the

minds of the jury and influence its deliberations. Out of

the usual welter of grey facts it starkly rises - succinct,

pithy, colorful, and expressed in a sharp break with the

decorum which the citizen expects from the representative

of his government.”’

Hall, supra at 587.

That the use of such terms deprived Petitioner of a fair trial

cannot be questioned since the outcome of the trial depended

upon whether the jury believed Petitioner’s testimony. When

the Government characterized Petitioner as a hoodlum and a

criminal, the Government told the jury that Petitioner was not

worthy of belief.

B.

Statements Not Supported by Evidence

The portions of the Government’s argument implying that

Petitioner gave the signal when to detonate the bomb which

damaged Leisure’s car, that Petitioner was paid for his alleged

involvement in the conspiracy charged and that organized crime

was involved in the incident out of which the instant prosecu-

tion arose were improper for three reasons.

First, the arguments were not supported by the evidence.

United States v. Bigeleisen, supra and United States v. Bledsoe,

supra, each concern arguments of the Government not sup-

ported by the evidence. In Bigeleisen, the United States At-

torney, in order to explain why the testimony of two Govern-

ment witnesses differed as to the quantity of drugs which had

been sold, stated that the Internal Revenue Service was looking

at the witness who testified that a lesser quantity of drugs had

been sold. There was no evidence that the Internal Revenue Ser-

vice was investigating the witness. For that reason, the Court

held the argument to be improper. In Bledsoe, the defendant

=

was charged with making a false statement when purchasing a

firearm. The defense was that the defendant did not understand

the question asked when she made the false statement. The

Government argued that the defendant knew about guns

because she had a parole officer and parole officers tell their

clients to stay away from guns. Because there was no evidence

that the defendant had a parole officer or had been told to stay

away from guns, the Court held the argument improper.

In the instant matter, there was no evidence to support the

Government’s assertion that someone, especially Petitioner,

stood on a corner near the site of the Leisure incident and gave a

signal to anyone to activate a remote control device. Nor was

there any evidence that Petitioner was receiving money from

somewhere or that he was getting paid for his alleged involve-

ment in the conspiracy charged. There was absolutely no

evidence about Petitioner’s financial status either in general or

during the period while he was absent from St. Louis. Finally,

there was no evidence that Jimmy Michaels, Sr., was a leader of

organized crime or that the incident of August 11, 1981, was in

any way connected with organized crime. The only mention of

organized crime in the entire trial occurred when John McCrady

testified that James Michaels, Sr., and Paul Leisure were both

organized crime figures in St. Louis. There was no evidence

that anyone allegedly involved in the incident of August 11,

1981, had anything to do with organized crime.

The second reason that che arguments were improper is that,

by engaging in argument not supported by the evidence, the

United States Attorney again violated his duty, to see ‘‘that

justice shall be done.’’ Berger v. United States, supra 295 U.S.

at 88.

The argument first set forth above is improper for still

another reason - it violated the rule that an attorney ‘‘may not

say anything to the jury implying that evidence supporting his

position exists, but was not introduced at trial.’’ United States

v. Morris, supra. By stating, ‘*Was it Russell Schepp? I can’t tell

isis Pach

you that for sure,’’ when there was no evidence that Petitioner

or anyone was on the corner, the Government insinuated that it

had some, but not conclusive, evidence that Petitioner was the

person on the corner who gave the signal to detonate the bomb

on Leisure’s automobile.

These arguments deprived Petitioner of a fair trial. When the

Government could not establish how the two men sitting in the

Chevrolet allegediy purchased by Petitioner could have seen

Leisure to know when to detonate the bomb, the Government

asserted that a person was out there who could see both Leisure

and the two men in the Chevrolet and that that person gave the

signal to detonate the bomb - al!, of course, without a shred of

evidence to support the assertion. When the Petitioner argued

that he had no reason to be involved in the conspiracy charged,

the Government suggests he was paid for his involvement

although not one iota of evidence was introduced to support

that assertion. When the Petitioner argued that his involvement

in the conspiracy was a figment of the Government’s imagina-

tion, that the proof was not there, the Government tells the jury

to put the proof in perspective, that its dealing with organized

crime.

Such argument by a United States Attorney should not be

tolerated for, certainly, these blows were not only hard, but

foul.

Respectfully submitted,

George J. Miller

1015 Locust Street

St. Louis, Missouri 63101

(314) 421-6310

J. Martin Hadican

Joyce Y. MacDonald

225 South Meramec, Suite 832

St. Louis, Missouri 63105

(314) 863-0050

Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDIX

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 83-2244

United States of America,

Appellee,

ws

Milton Russell Schepp,

Appellant.

Appeal from the United

States District Court

for the Eastern District

of Missouri

Submitted: May 16, 1984

Filed: October 11, 1984

Before ROSS, BENNETT* and McMILLIAN, Circuit Judges.

* The Honorable Marion T. Bennett, Circuit Judge for the United

States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, sitting by designation.

McMILLIAN, Circuit Judge.

—_ =.

Milton Russell Schepp appeals from a final judgment entered

in the District Court' for the Eastern District of Missouri upon a

jury verdict finding him guilty of conspiracy to damage by

means of an explosive a vehicle used in an activity affecting in-

terstate commerce in violation of 18 U.S.C. §§ 2 and 844(i)

(1976), making an unregistered explosive device in violation of

26 U.S.C. § 5822 (1976), and damaging by means of an ex-

plosive a vehicle used in an activity affecting interstate com-

merce in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 844(i) (1976). Appellant was

sentenced to terms of five, ten and ten years of imprisonment,

respective'y, to run concurrently. For reversal appellant argues

that the district court erred in (1) admitting evidence of flight,

(2) permitting the government to ask leading questions of one of

its witnesses, (3) failing to restrict the government’s cross-

examination of appellant, (4) admitting out-of-court statements

of a coconspirator, and (5) failing to declare a mistrial sua

sponte because of improper closing remarks by the

government.’ For the reasons discussed below, we affirm the

judgment of the district court.

At trial the government established the following facts. On

September 17, 1980, Jimmy Michaels, Sr., was killed when a

bomb exploded in his car. His grandson, Jimmy Michaels, III,

indicated to a friend, William Albright, and to a police officer

that he intended to avenge his grandfather’s death.

' The Honorable John F. Nangle, Chief Judge, United States

District Court for the Eastern District of Missouri.

> Appellant raised two additional points on appeal: (1) that the

government failed to establish that the damaged vehicle was used in an

activity affecting interstate commerce and (2) that the district court er-

red in admitting evidence seized from a trash dumpster, an apartment

and a storage garage. We hold that United States v. Michaels, 726

F.2d 1307 (8th Cir. 1984), is controlling on these points and rule them

against appellant.

—

In March 1981, appellant, then chief of police of the City of

St. George, Missouri, asked Norman Steibel, owner of an auto

repair shop, to purchase two inexpensive automobiles for him

using fictitious names. Steibel purchased a Ford and a Chevrolet

foi which appellant paid him in cash. In April 1981, Albright

rented an apartment for Michaels for six months in a sixteen-

unit apartment complex in Arnold, Missouri, and in June 1981,

Albright rented a storage garage in Fenton, Missouri, for

Michaels. Michaels told Albright that Albright could not keep a

key to the apartment because there would be people in and out

of the apartment all the time.

During the spring and summer of 1981, the Ford and

Chevrolet purchased for appellant, as well as a car with the per-

sonalized license plate ‘“‘SCHEPP,’’ were seen outside the

rented apartment.

On the morning of August 11, 1981, Paul Leisure was serious-

ly injured when a bomb exploded in his car in front of his

house. A brief case, containing papers and documents from

Local 42 of the Laborer’s International Union for which Leisure

worked as a field organizer, was found on the ground near the

car. An investigation revealed that a remotely activated, high

explosive bomb was used. The Chevrolet purchased for ap-

pellant was seen parked one block away from Leisure’s house at

the time of the explosion with two men inside, later identified as

Jack Issa and George Faheen. The men kept their attention

focused on the corner Fotomat booth, from where Leisure’s

house was visible. A remote control device had recently been

purchased by a man driving a red Volkswagen, which was the

type of car driven by Faheen.

An FBI investigation led to Albright, Steibel, the rented

apartment, and the storage garage. On August 15, 1981, FBI

agents searched, without a warrant, the trash dumpster shared

by all tenants of the apartment complex and found in a plastic

garbage bag materials used in the manufacture of a bomb. In

—

another plastic bag they found mail addressed to the apartment

rented for Michaels and magazines bearing the fingerprints of

appellant and Michaels. A warranted search of the apartment

revealed that it had been wiped clean of fingerprints. However,

one fingerprint belonging to Michaels was recovered. Agents

searched the storage garage and found the Ford purchased by

Steibel for appellant.

Albright informed Michaels that the FBI had questioned him

concerning the apartment. Michaels told Albright not to worry

because the apartment had been wiped clean and that he should

not say anything if called before a grand jury. Steibel informed

appellant that the FBI was questioning him about the two cars.

Appellant told Steibel not to mention his name and that the

Ford was in a garage. On August 17, 1981, one day after speak-

ing to Steibel, appellant left St. Louis and went to California

where he remained until March 1983 when he voluntarily sur-

rendered to face the charges against him for the Leisure car

bombing.

Appellant testified that he had gone to the rented apartment

several times during the summer of 1981 with one of his ex-

brothers-in-law, Robert Peters, to drink beer and watch

baseball games. His ex-wife’s family, the Peters, was close to

the Michaels family. Appellant testified that he left St. Louis

because he received a phone call telling him that the Leisures

planned to take reprisals against everyone who had been in the

rented apartment.

During cross-examination, the government was permitted,

over objection, to ask whether appellant’s ex-brother-in-law,

Norman Peters, left town in 1964 as a result of the murder of

Richard Leisure and whether Peters had worked as a bodyguard

for Jimmy Michaels, Sr. In closing argument the government

theorized that at the time of the bombing someone was position-

ed in the Fotomat booth to signal to the men in the Chevrolet

when to activate the remote control device. The government

pay, yom

suggested that appellant’s motive for involvement in the crimes

charged may have been money. The government made mention

of organized crime in St. Louis, referred to appellant as a

criminal and argued that in leaving St. Louis appellant did not

behave as a police officer but as a hoodlum.

Admission of Flight Evidence

Appellant argues that the district court erred in admitting

evidence that he fled St. Louis following the bomb incident

upon learning that the FBI questioned Steibel about the two

cars purchased for appellant. Appellant argues that this

evidence was irrelevant or too prejudicial to be admitted. We

disagree.

It is well settled that flight of the accused subsequent to the

commission of a crime is, in certain instances, a circumstance

proper to be laid before the jury as having a tendency to prove

guilt. United States v. Peltier, 585 F.2d 314, 322-24 (8th Cir.

1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 945 (1979). In Peltier we held that

in assessing the probative value of flight evidence, the facts of

each case must be scrutinized to determine the strength and

validity of drawing the following four inferences: (1) from the

defendant’s behavior to flight; (2) from flight to consciousness

of guilt; (3) from consciousness of guilt to consciousness of guilt

concerning the crime charged; and (4) from consciousness of

guilt concerning the crime charged to actual guilt of the crime

charged. /d.; see also United States v. Rossbach, 701 F.2d 713,

719 (8th Cir. 1983); United States v. Blue Thunder, 604 F.2d

550, 556 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 902 (1979).

We hold that there are sufficient ‘‘evidentiary

manifestations,’’ see United States v. Peltier, 585 F.2d at 323, in

the present case to support all four of the necessary inferences.

Appellant fled soon after the commission of the crime and, ac-

cording to the government’s evidence, immediately upon learn-

ing that the FBI’s investigation uncovered the link between the

two cars purchased for him and the crimes. Compare United

—

States v. White, 488 F.2d 660, 662 (8th Cir. 1973) (instructing

the jury that it may consider flight evidence in its determinatin

of guilt held not appropriate where the defendant, unaware that

he was being sought for the crime charged, fled from police at-

tempting to arrest him five months after commission of crime).

Appellant’s own explanation for his flight, i.e., fear of reprisal

by the Leisure family, suggests that his decision to flee may have

been prompted by consciousness of guilt, and hence actual

guilt, of the crimes charged.

The degree to which the probative value of the flight evidence

may have been outweighed by the danger of unfair prejudice,

under Fed. R. Evid. 403, was a matter within the discretion of

the district court. The district court did caution the jury against

giving undue emphasis to the flight evidence. We find no abuse

of discretion in the admission of evidence of appellani’s flight.

Leading Questions

Appellant next argues that the district court erred in permit-

ting the government to use leading questions during its direct ex-

amination of its key witness, Steibel. The record does not reveal

a pattern of leading questions. Rather, three questions during a

long examination were objected to. Rule 611(c), Fed. R. Evid.,

permits the district court to allow leading questions when

necessary to develop testimony. The use of leading questions is

a matter left to the discretion of the district court. McClard v.

United States, 386 F.2d 495, 501 (8th Cir. 1967), cert. denied

sub nom. Ussery v. United States, 393 U.S. 866 (1968). We find

no abuse of discretion here.

Cross-Examination of Appellant

Appellant also claims reversible error in the district court’s

allowing the government to inquire of appellant on cross-

examination whether his ex-brother-in-law, Norman Peters, had

worked for Jimmy Michaels, Sr., and whether Peters left St.

Louis in 1964 as result of the murder of Richard Leisure. Ap-

— *.

pellant argues that this was an improper attempt by the govern-

ment to prejudice appellant in the eyes of the jury by showing

that his acquaintances were men of bad character and involved

in criminal activity similar to that for which appellant was

charged.

On direct examination appellant testified about the nature of

his relationship with Norman Peters and that he had last seen

Norman Peters in 1964. Under Fed. R. Evid. 601(b), cross-

examination is limited to the subject matter of direct examina-

tion and credibility, with discretion in the district court to per-

mit inquiry into additional matters where that would aid in the

development of the evidence. The permissible extent of cross-

examination is a matter within the broad discretion of the

district court. United States v. Drake, 542 F.2d 1020, 1022 (8th

Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 1050 (1977). We find no

abuse of discretion in this instance.

Coconspirator’s Statements

Appellant argues that the district court improperly admitted

several out-of-court statements of Michaels because these

statements were not made in furtherance of and during the

course of the conspiracy as required by Fed. R. Evid.

801(d)(2)(E). The specific statements challenged are the

statements to Albright and a police officer indicating Michaels’

intention to retaliate against those responsible for his grand-

father’s death, the statement to Albright that people would be

going in and out of the rented apartment, and the statement to

Albright that the apartment had been wiped clean of finger-

prints and not to say anything to a grand jury.

Fed. R. Evid. 801(d)(2)(E) provides that a statement is not

hearsay if it is offered against a party and constitutes ‘‘a state-

ment by a coconspirator of [the] party during the course and in

furtherance of the conspiracy.’’ For an out-of-court statement

to be admissible against a defendant under this provision, the

government must demonstrate by a preponderance of indepen-

—_*

dent evidence (1) that a conspiracy existed, (2) that the defen-

dant and the declarant were members of the conspiracy, and (3)

that the statement was made during the course and in fur-

therance of the conspiracy. United States v. Bentley, 706 F.2d

1498, 1506 (8th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 104 S. Ct. 2397 (1984);

United States v. Bell, 573 F.2d 1040, 1043-44 (8th Cir. 1978).

The third requirement for admissibility, in issue here, is af-

forded a broad construction, United States v. Bentley, 706 F.2d

at 1506, and we conclude that it was satisfied in the present case

with respect to the statement that people would be going in and

out of the rented apartment. The question whether the other

challenged statements were made ‘‘during the course’’ of the

conspiracy is more difficult. See 4 J. Weinstein & M. Berger,

Weinstein’s Evidence € 801(d)(2)(E)[01] (1978 & Supp. 1984),

for a discussion of admission of ‘‘pre-conspiracy”’ and ‘‘post-

conspiracy’’ statements. Even assuming, however, that these

Statements were not made during the course and in furtherance

of the conspiracy, we conclude that any error in their admission

was harmless. See United States v. Bentley, 706 F.2d at 1506.

The statements did not mention or in any way implicate ap-

pellant and there was overwhelming independent evidence of

the existence of a conspiracy and Michaels’ and appellant’s par-

ticipation therein. In the circumstances of this case, there is not

a reasonable possibility that this evidence contributed to ap-

pellant’s conviction and any error in its admission does not re-

quire reversal. See id.; United States v. Moss, 544 F.2d 954, 960

(8th Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 1077 (1977).

Closing Argument

Appellant’s final argument on appeal is that the district court

erred in not declaring a mistrial because of improper and pre-

judicial closing remarks by the government. Appellant cites as

grounds for reversal the government’s hypothesis about a con-

spirator at the Fotomat booth, suggestion regarding appellant’s

motive for participation, mention of organized crime, reference

= ———ee

EEE

—< po

to appellant as a criminal and characterization of appellant’s

behavior as that of a hoodlum.

The district court has broad discretion in controlling closing

argument, and absent a showing of abuse of that discretion, this

court will not reverse. United States v. Michaels, 726 F.2d 1307,

1315 (8th Cir. 1984); United States v. Auerbach, 682 F.2d 735,

739 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 911 (1982); United States

v. Bohr, 581 F.2d 1294, 1301 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S.

958 (1978). We believe that the first comment pointed to by ap-

ellant was fairly supported by the evidence or reasonable in-

ferences flowing therefrom and that the second comment was

invited by appellant’s closing argument asking the jury to focus

on the question of what reason appellant would have had to get

involved in the crimes charged.

We are more troubled by the government’s mention of

organized crime and especially by the government’s reference to

appellant as a criminal and characterization of appellant’s

behavior as that of a hoodlum. Statements such as these have

no place in a criminal trial. They are offensive and in no way

condoned by this court. Had a request been made, it would

have been proper for the district court to strike these remarks

and promptly instruct the jury to disregard them. The question

on appeai, however, is whether, when viewed in the context of

the entire trial, these remarks were ‘‘so offensive as to deprive

the defendant of a fair trial.’’ United States v. Bohr, 581 F.2d

at 1301. With this in mind we hold that the remarks of the

government do not require reversal. See United States v.

Michaels, 726 F.2d at 1316; United States v. Splain, 545 F.2d

1131, 1135 (8th Cir. 1976).

Accordingly, we affirm the judgment of the district court.

A true copy.

ATTEST:

CLERK, U.S. COURT OF APPEALS, EIGHTH

CIRCUIT

— A-10 —

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 83-2244-EM. September Term, 1984

United States of America,

Appellee,

VS.

Milton Russell Schepp,

Appellant.

Appeal from the United States

District Court for the

Eastern District of Missouri

Appellant’s petition for rehearing en banc has been con-

sidered by the Court and is denied.

Petition for rehearing by the panel is also denied.

November 8, 1984

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.