Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Lynne v. Australian Government Aircraft Factories

Supreme Court brief1985

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

_—

is

supreme Court, U.S.

84-1014 -ILED

DEC 19 1984

No. ALEXANDER L. STEVAS

| CLARK |

in the Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1984

R. C. Lynne, Executor and Personal Representative of the

Estate of JImMy SHERMAN LYNNE, Deceased; MISSIONARY

AVIATION FELLOWSHIP, INc.; DONNA LYNNE, Individually

and as Parent and Next Friend of Kevin LYNNE and

Kurtis LYNNgE, Minors,

Petitioners,

versus

AUSTRALIAN GOVERNMENT AIRCRAFT FAcTorRIES and THE

COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

DARRELL PANETHIERE

Law Offices of

Windle Turley, P.C.

1000 University Tower

6440 N. Central

Expressway

Dallas, Texas 75206

214/691-4025

Counsel for Petitioners

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether the survivors of an American killed abroad in a

plane crash allegedly caused by the negligence of a for-

eign state engaged in a commercial activity has sus-

tained a “direct effect” in the United States sufficient to

satisfy the “direct effect” exception to foreign sovereign

immunity of the Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act.

2. Whether an American corporation which lost an airplane

abroad in a plane crash allegedly caused by the negli-

gence of a foreign state engaged in a commercial activity

has sustained a “direct effect” in the United States

sufficient to satisfy the “direct effect” exception to foreign

sovereign immunity of the Foreign Sovereign Immunities

Act.

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions Presented for Review .............-.:::cccceste i

IR a .scsessoiknconsnionemensennelliatiaagemennions ii

Table of Authorities 0. ieee. a ae

I I inci sinctersinirnenceconigueaiae eel 1

\ a i 2 ian ee 2

I a cscsneninsens sonciamsseleacaeesolelel-. ceelnocs 2

eres Te ii ooo sink ec cet ein css ceeneipceseessLhtonawes 2

Reasons for Granting the Petition ..................000.0 0000 5

I io vcvscesiccssvcsskeas occas ce chiscate aaa 33

eR RISE LE MER EeRD re Pen Mier icress ho A-1

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES: ;

Australian Government Aircraft Factories v. Lynne,

743 F.2d 672 (9th Cir. 1984) 200. passim

Berizzi Bros. Co. v. S. S. Pesaro,

oon cenlangyeesrorsvecsnspanessoeiésournesusesecovade 29

Berkovitz v. Islamic Republic of Iran,

735 F.2d 329 (9th Cir. 1984) 2. 19, 22, 25

Dralle v. Republic of Czechosolovakia,

[1950] Int.L.Rep. 155 (Supreme Court of

roots cssursseueaslanvoovocerscocess-roestecess 6

Alfred Dunhill, Inc. v. Republic of Cuba,

MN OO ions so csp cvcceecanecasensZesaceaeccersseiveravensed 6

Harris v. VAO Intourist, Moscow,

481 F.Supp. 1056 (E.D.N.Y. 1979) ............ 8-11, 15, 17-19

Harris Corp. v. Nat’l Iranian Radio & Television,

691 F.2d 1344 (11th Cir. 1982) 2000.0. 22

In re Rio Grande Transport, Inc.,

516 F.Supp. 1155 (S.D.N.Y. 1981) ooo. 25

Lynne v. Australian Government Aircraft Factories,

#CV 80-3198 (C.D.Cal., June 6, 1983), unpublished,

(See Appendix B) ....... PROG o Uae ea eleeis passim

Maritime Intern. Nominees v. Republic of Guinea,

693 F.2d 1094 (D.C.Cir. 1982) 200000. 13, 23

Persinger v. Islamic Republic of Iran,

729 F.2d 836 (D.C.Cir. 1984) ooo... 22-23

The Pesaro,

277 Fer. 473 (S.D.N.Y. 1921)

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — (Continued)

Page

Russello v. United States,

—-US——, 104 Be, TN SID sisccrsapntecnvevenecicosiovetst 18

The Schooner Exchange v. McFaddon,

11 US. ‘(7 Cranch) 116 (1812) 000 .....1...--.ccccseceeeseteenee 6

The S. S. Lotus,

FIOZT) P.C.1.d., BOR. Pig NO. MO: nn iecie cee cssiveceeniy teseeeee. 11

Texas Trading & Milling Corp. v. Federal Republic

of Nigeria, 647 F.2d 300 (2d Cir. 1981) .................. 22-24

Timberlane Lumber Co. v. Bank of America,

N.A. & S.A., 549 F.2d 597 (9th Cir. 1976) ................ 12, 17

Travis v. Anthes Imp. Ltd.,

OE ee sD nn siekcsncccinsien sean ctncnesestineovoians 17

Upton v. Empire of Iran,

459 F.Supp. 264 (D.D.C. 1978) 00.0.0... 8-11, 22

United States v. Aluminum Corp. of America, .

148 F.2d 416 (2d Cir. 1945) ....... re ie Rag rissa ca dias

United States v. Pizzarusso,

Be I I onc odes inencvcscnsssevescassvesssnsrrroncatr 12

Velidor v. L/P/G Benghazi,

BLES) fe | Se ener eee 22

Vencedora Oceanica Navigacion v. Compagnie

Nationale, 730 F.2d 195 (5th Cir. 1984) o.oo. 23

Verlinden, B.V. v. Central Bank of Nigeria,

— U.S.— , 103 S.Ct. 1962 (1983) ...... 5, 18-20, 26-27

Verlinden, B. V. v. Central Bank of Nigeria, ;

488 F.Supp: 1284 (S.D.N.Y. 1980) 000.00. 18, 24

Wyle v. Bank Melli of Tehran, Iran,

577 F.Supp. 1148 (N.D.Cal. 1983) 000000 25

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — (Continued)

Page

STATUTES:

yg ee eee ener eae ret aaaatetecaesedirDi eter 5

28 U.S.C. § 1605(a) (2) .. Besrilasts\c orvionah cs eeehoai passim

MISCELLANEOUS:

Cook, Counting the Dragon’s Teeth: Foreign Sovereign

Immunity and Its Impact on International

Aviation Litigation, 46 Journal of Air Law &

Commerce 687 (1981) . i Se ba jue a

Crawford, A Foreign State Immunities Act on

Australia?, 8 Austral. Year Book of Int.L. .

71 (1983) -.. pene nts a a

House Report No. 94-1487, ‘94th Coie. inns

Sess., reprinted at [1976] U.S. Code Cong.

& Ad. News 6604 et seq... 7, 10-11, 18, 15, 17, 26-27

Note, Direct Effects Jurisdiction Under the Foreign

Sovereign Immunities Act of 1976, 13 N.Y.U.J.

of Int.L. & Pol. 571 (1981) 000... . 9-10, 20-21, 24

Note, Effects Jurisdiction Under the Foreign

Sovereign Immunities Act and the Due Process

Clause, 55 N.Y.U.L. Rev. 474 (1980) 0.000000. 19

Note, Establishing Jurisdiction Under the Commercial

Activities Exception to the Foreign Sovereign

Immunities Act of 1976, 19 Houston Law J.

I RN las eh eee a 22-23

Note, Extraterritorial Jurisdiction Over Foreign

States: the “Direct Effect” Provision of the

Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act of 1976:

Carey v. National Oil Corp., 13 J. of Int.L.

Es. Rt nrecen en 10, 12

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — (Continued)

Page

Note, Foreign Sovereign Immunity and Commercial

Activity: A Conflicts Approach, 83 Col.L.Rev.

I eek ac eat 10

Note, Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act of 1976:

Direct Effects and Minimum Contacts,

Ue Crenee Cn as BF CIE oss scasssssccccissercccces. 15-16

Restatement, Second, Conflicts of Law § 37 .................... 12

Restatement, Second, Foreign Relations Law of

ik Ree I BI ois sioes os seosps erred cetenevicdidinnees 11-19

Restatement, Second, Foreign Relations Law of

UE CI OE owes chca oncrstacscvcaceonccteasanpertemtoness 6

No.

In Che Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1984

R. C. Lynne, Executor and Personal Representative of the

Estate of JIMMY SHERMAN LYNNE, Deceased; MISSIONARY

AVIATION FELLOWSHIP, INC.; DoNNA LYNNE, Individually

and as Parent and Next Friend of Kevin LYNNE and

Kurtis LYNNE, Minors,

Petitioners,

versus

AUSTRALIAN GOVERNMENT AIRCRAFT FACTORIES and THE

COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA,

Respondents.

.F

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT Cr APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW

This petition seeks review of the decision of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit which held

that the “direct effect” clause of § 1605(a) (2) of the For-

eign Sovereign Immunities Act of 1976 did not encompass

either the wrongful death injuries or the property damages

suffered in the United States by petitioners as the result

of an airplane crash in Indonesia and thus did not allow

suit against the defendant state, Australia, in the courts of

the United States. Australian Government Aircraft Fac-

tories v. Lynne, 743 F.2d 672 (9th Cir. 1984). (See Appen-

dix A)

2

Petitioners’ suit was originally instituted in the United

States District Court for the Central District of California.

The question of the court’s subject matter jurisdiction was

raised by respondents’ motion to dismiss the complaint,

which m ‘ion was denied by the district court in an opinion

filed June 24, 1983. (See Appendix B)

Appeal was taken to the United States C«wrt of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit which reversed the district court.

Petitioners filed their Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc

on October 9, 1984, which Suggestion has not yet been ruled

upon. No Petition For Rehearing was filed.

JURISDICTION

The decision of the Court of Appeals was rendered on

September 21, 1984. This petition was filed within 90 days

of the date the Court of Appeals entered judgment as per

28 U.S.C. § 2101(c). This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked ..

under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

—_

STATUTES INVOLVED

Because of the length of the statute involved herein, the

Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act of 1976, 28 U.S.C. §§ 1330,

1391 (f), 1602 et seq., that Act is set out as Appendix C.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On July 23, 1979, a Nomad 22B aircraft piloted by Jimmy

Lynne crashed somewhere near Langda Mission in Irian

Jaya, Indonesia. The pilot was killed and the plane

destroyed as a result of that crash. Petitioners in this cause

are the surviving family of Jimmy Lynne and the executor

of his estate, as well as the Missionary Aviation Fellow-

3

ship, Inc., (“MAF”) owners of the aircraft. The individual

petitioners are all citizens of Ohio and of the United States,

and MAF is a nonprofit California corporation that provides

air transportation and radio services for missionary pro-

grams to developing nations.

Respondent Australian Government Aircraft Factories

(“GAF”) is in the business of making airplanes. GAF is

wholly owned: by the Australian government and produces

both military and civilian aircraft, which it sells throughout

the world.

GAF leased and later sold to MAF the Nomad 22B air-

craft which crashed on July 23, 1979. |

The Petitioners brought a negligence and strict products

liability action against GAF and the Commonwealth of

Australia in the Central District of California. This suit,

filed July 22, 1980, alleged that the defendants were liable

for defects in the design, manufacture, testing, inspection,

sale, and service of the aircraft. Lynne’s survivors sought

damages for wrongful death, and MAF claimed damages for

the loss and destruction of the aircraft.

Respondents GAF and the Commonwealth of Australia

resisted maintenance of this suit on the grounds that they

were immune from suit under the doctrine ot sovereign

immunity. In particular, the respondents argued that none

of the exceptions to immunity codified in the Foreign

Immunities Act of 1976 (“FSIA”), 28 U.S. C. § 1602 et seq.,

applied to the facts of the present action. On this basis, it

was claimed that the United States District Court for the

Central District of California lacked both subject matter

and personal jurisdiction over the defendants. The defend-

ants alternatively argued that venue was improper in that

district court and suggested transfer to the United States

District Court for the District of Columbia. All of these

arguments weré advanced by means of a

the complaint filed April 27, 1981.

The motion to dismiss was denied on all

June 24, 1983. The Order and Memorandum Opi

after “Mem. Op.”) fully addressed the sovereign

question and concluded that the decision to exerci

diction in this cause “gives effect to the spirit/and intent

behind Congress’ enactment of the FSIA.” (Mem. Op. 2).

Specifically, the district court concluded that the third listed

exception to immunity of section 1605(a) (2) was applicable

on the facts of this case. That section provides, in pertinent

part, that “A foreign state shall not be immune from the

jurisdiction of courts of the United States or of the States

in any case ... in which, the action is based upon an act

outside the territory of the United States in connection with

the commercial activity of the foreign state elsewhere and

that act causes a direct effect in the United States.” The

district court held that the wrongful death damages suffered

by the survivors of Jimmy Lynne in the United States and

the property damages sustained by MAF in the United

States were “direct effects” of an act (the plane crash) out-

side the territory of the United States (in Indonesia) in

connection with the commercial activity of the foreign state

elsewhere (the allegedly defective manufacture, sale, and

servicing of the airplane). (Mem. Op. 22-23).

Appeal was taken to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit. That Court reversed in an opinion

entered September 21, 1984. It held that “the alleged injury

here was not a sufficiently direct effect for the assertion of

subject matter jurisdiction... [T]he direct injury to the

American interest in this case occurred overseas where the

loss of the plane took place.” Australian Government Air-

craft Factories v. Lynne, 743 F.2d 672, 675 (9th Cir. 1984).

5

REASONS FOR. GRANTING THE PETITION —

FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

This petition presents two questions of statutory inter-

pretation under the Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act of —

1976. 28 U.S.C. § 1602 et seq. They are, in their simplest

form: did the Lynnes suffer a “direct effect” in the United

States from the death of J. C. Lynne in Indonesia, and did

Missionary Aviation Fellowship, Inc. suffer a “direct effect”

in the United States from the crash of its airplane in

Indonesia? No issue concerning the “direct effect” clause

has been previously addressed by this Court. The Courts

of Appeal which have ruled on the issue are in conflict.

And the questions, concerning the amenability of foreign

sovereigns to suit in the courts of the United States and of

the States, is of the highest importance.

It is the position of the petitioners that the Ninth Circuit

has erred in its interpretation of the direct effects clause;

that its opinion is in direct conflict with the position of the

Second Circuit on this point; that the Second Circuit posi-

tion is to be preferred; and that the question involved is

of such paramount importance, touching as it does on ques-

tions of state, federal and international law, that review

should be granted in order to fulfill the Congressional

purpose of bringing uniformity and regularity to this sensi-

tive area where law and foreign relations intersect.

The Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act (“FSIA”) codi-

fies, as a matter of federal law, the restrictive theory of

sovereign immunity. Verlinden B. V. v. Central Bank of

Nigeria, —— U.S. ——, 103 S.Ct. 1962, 1968 (1983). It pro-

vides that immunity is the general rule when an action is

brought against a foreign state, 28 U.S.C. § 1604, subject to

certain enumerated exceptions, §§ 1605, 1607. The exception

6

relevant to this case provides that the normal rule of

sovereign immunity will not apply in suits “in which the

action is based upon ... an act outside the territory of the

United States in connection with the commercial activity of

the foreign state elsewhere and that act causes a direct

effect in the United States.” 28 U.S.C. § 1605(a) (2).

The exceptions to sovereign immunity in the area of com-

mercial activity which are embodied in § 1605(a) (2) of the

FSIA are well-established and internationally recognized

bases for the assertion of jurisdiction. The basic principle

is that a head of state who descends into the market place

must be treated like any private trader. Dralle v. Republic

of Czechoslovakia, [1950] Int.L.Rep. 155 (Supreme Court of

Austria, 1950), quoting Marshall, C.J. in The Schooner

Exchange v. McFaddon, 11 U.S. (7 Cranch) 116 (1812).

The Restatement, Second, of the Foreign Relations Law of

the United States is to the same effect: “The immunity of

a foreign state does not apply to a proceeding arising out

of commercial activity outside its territory...” Restatement,

§ 69. And this Court has recently reaffirmed that the asser-

tion of such jurisdiction is no insult to a foreign sovereign

when it deals in the commercial area. Alfred Dunhill, Inc. v.

Republic of Cuba, 425 U.S. 682, 704 (1976).

The fact that this action is based upon the commercial

activity of Australian Government Aircraft Factories

(“GAF”) is not in dispute. As the district court recog-

nized, GAF is in the business of making airplanes, both

military and civilian, which it in turn sells all over the world.

(Mem. Op. 3). Nor is it in dispute that this action, sound-

ing in strict products liability and negligence, is based upon

an act outside of the territory of the United States in con-

nection with the commercial activity of the foreign state

elsewhere.

7

The only true dispute is whether the allegedly tortious

conduct of the respondents which caused the death of

Jimmy Lynne and the destruction of a valuable aircraft

owned and operated by Mission Aviation Fellowship had a

“direct effect” in the United States. Petitioners submit that,

in both instances, all of the damages for which the tort is

designed to provide recompense were sustained in the United

States. If the conduct of GAF -vas in fact tortious, then

it is clear that an essential, constituent element of the

tort — damages — occurred in the United States. This

should be considered sufficient to justify the assertion of

jurisdiction pursuant to the FSIA in this case.

THE NINTH CIRCUIT ERRED IN ITS

INTERPRETATION OF THE

“DIRECT EFFECTS” CLAUSE

Although the decision below turns on the court’s interpre-

tation of the phrase “direct effect,” the Ninth Circuit did not

attempt any analysis of that key phrase and simply ruled

in a conclusory fashion that torts have no direct effects.

743 F.2d at 674-675. The opinion seems to assert that if a

person dies, he dies, and no one who may suffer emotional

damage or loss is directly affected. If a plane crashes, it

crashes, and no one who suffers pecuniary loss therefrom

is directly affected. Particularly regrettable is the Ninth

Circuit’s failure to explain its novel interpretation of direct

effect in light of the district court’s thorough, contrary

analysis and in light of the clear legislative guide to interpre-

tation provided by the House Report.

In contrast to the Court of Appeals, the district court

realized that the issue was sufficiently complicated and dis-

puted among the various circuits-to require over sixteen

8

pages of carefully reasoned discussion. The district court

also recognized that the wrongful death claim presented

different considerations than did the property claim, while

the Court of Appeals simply ruled that all direct effects of

a plane crash must be located at the locus delictus, whether

personal injury or property claims. See Mem. Op., passim,

Appendix B. :

Emphasizing the logical force of the language employed

by Congress, the district court first expressed the view that

the wrongful death damages suffered by the Lynnes must

be considered to be direct, not indirect, effects of GAF’s

alleged negligence:

Defendants’ construction of “direct effect” is plagued

by a logic territorial limitation. This court believes

defendants’ construction is arbitrary and misconceived;

it ignores the real, life-shattering effect suffered by a

family of a person wrongfully killed. The effect on such

a family is direct no matter where the death occurred.

When, as in this case, the bereaved family lives in the

United States, the direct effect of the death of a father

and husband occurs in the United States.

(Mem. Op. 8). This common-sense interpretation of the

language of the statute, an interpretation that fulfills the

statutory purpose that no change in the substantive law be

effected by the adoption of the FSIA, was not addressed

by the Ninth Circuit.

The district court next turned to the few authorities avail-

able on this subject. It noted that there was a conflict

of authority on the question and that the cases of Upton v.

Empire of Iran, 459 F. Supp. 264 (D.D.C. 1978), aff’d mem.,

607 F.2d 494 (D.C.Cir. 1979), and Harris v. VAO Intourist,

Moscow, 481 F. Supp. 1056 (E.D.N.Y. 1979), provided some

support for the defendants’ limited reading of the direct

9

effects clause in the context of a wrongful death action.

However, the district court took the position, as do the peti-

tioners herein, that these cases have been incorrectly de-

cided and are in opposition to the intent of Congress.

The court in Upton also proposed to give a “common

sense” interpretation to the phrase “direct effect,” holding

that it connoted an effect “which has no intervening ele-

ment, but, rather, flows in a straight line without deviation

or interruption.” 459 F. Supp. at 266. The Upton court did

not explain why the wrongful death claim of the plaintiffs in

that case did not fit this simple definition. (See Mem.

Op. 9) The claim of the petitioners herein should fit this

definition as there is no intervening element of any sort

between the airplane crash in Indonesia and the suffering

and property damages realized in the United States.

The Upton decision, as well as the subsequent Harris

decision, can be further faulted for their failure to distin-

guish between subject matter jurisdiction, to which the

‘direct effects’ clause relates, and the question of in personam

jurisdiction over the defendant. Both Upton and Harris

approach this question backwards. By equating the two

concepts, they have concluded that since in personam juris-

diction was lacking’ therefore subject matter jurisdiction

1This conclusion is also suspect. Both cases drew analogy from

the long-arm statute of the District of Columbia but, as the district

court noted, “Most long-arm statutes have provisions granting state

courts jurisdiction where tortious acts occur outside that cause

injury within a state, where the defendant has minimum contacts

with the state.” (Mem. Op. 13). See also, Note, Direct Effects

Jurisdiction Under the Foreign Sovereign Immunity Act of 1976,

13 N.Y.U.J. of Int’l. & Pol. 571, 597 (1981): “Rather than searching

for a particular act or injury in the forum state as required by

domestic long-arm statutes, courts should instead focus their

analysis on the ‘effect’ in the United States.”

10-

was not present either under the statute. This conclusion

is not sound, and the district court below was correct to

point out the error and isolate the question of subject matter

jurisdiction. (Mem. Op. 11-12).?

Other textual approaches to the interpretation of “direct

effects” lead to the same conclusion, that the losses suffered

by the petitioners were comprehended by the Congressional

drafters of the FSIA. For example, Websters’ New Colle-

giate Dictionary has been quoted in this context to the

effect that “direct” means “marked by an absence of an

intervening agency, instrumentality or influence.” Id., at 323

(1975), quoted in Note, Extraterritorial Jurisdiction Over

Foreign States: the ‘Direct Effect’ Provision of the Foreign

Sovereign Immunities Act of 1976: Carey v. National Oil

Corp., 13 J. of Int'l. L. & Econ. 633, 644, n.72 (1979). It

is impossible to imagine in what respect the facts of the pres-

ent case fail to conform to this definition of “direct.”

Nor is there any possibility that the phrase “direct effect”

was accidentally or fortuitously chosen by Congress. The

House Report on this legislation states that “direct effect”

was meant to embrace “commercial conduct abroad having

direct effects within the United States which would subject

such conduct to the exercise of jurisdiction by the United

2The Harris and Upton cases are further distinguished by the fact

that all of the actionable events in those cases took place within

the territory of the foreign country. “Congress [didn’t] intend to

assert jurisdiction over foreign states for events occurring wholly

within their own territory.” Note, 13 N.Y.U.J. of Int. Law. & Pol.

571, 588 (1981). See also, Note, Foreign Sovereign Immunity

and Commercial Activity: A Conflicts Approach, 83 Col.L. Rev.

1440, 1449 (1982), for view that state will be most likely to

construe exercise of effects jurisdiction “as an instrusion upon its

sovereignty when the activity involved has occurred within or sub-

stantially within its own territory. ” The injury-producing act in

the present case occurred in Indonesia, not Australia.

11

States consistent with the principles set forth in § 18, Re-

statement of the Law, Second, Foreign Relations Laws of

the United States (1965).” H.R.Rep. No. 94-1487, 94th

Cong., Second Sess. 6604 (1976) (hereafter “House Re-

port’) ; Mem. Op. 15.

It is in interpreting the language of the Restatement that

the Harris and Upton cases most obviously err. Although

the Ninth Circuit relies on both of those cases, it does not

repeat their error of misinterpreting the text of the Restate-

ment; it chooses instead to wholly ignore the Congressional

reference to the Restatement and the entire body of Inter-

national Law on “direct effects” jurisdiction which it refer-

ences. Had more attention been paid to this body of law,

petitioners submit that the error embodied in the instant

decision of the Ninth Circuit, and the consequent conflict

between this decision and the decisions of other federal

courts, could have been avoided.

Section 18 of the Restatement of the Foreign Relations

Law of the United States succinctly summarizes the devel-

oped international law on the subject of jurisdiction to pre-

scribe law based on effects within the prescribing country.

International law has long recognized the fact that an effect

which occurs within a country provides a basis for prescrib-

ing law. This is in addition to the more commonly encoun-

tered bases justifying the prescription of law, such as terri-

toriality and nationality.

The modern source of effects jurisdiction is generally said

to be the decision of the Permanent Court of International

Justice in The S.S. Lotus, [1927] P.C.I.J., ser. A, No. 10,

wherein it was held that extraterritorial jurisdiction could be

exercised “if one of the constituent elements of the offense,

and more especially its effects, have taken place there.” Id.,

12

at 23. See Note, supra., 13 J. of Int’] L. & Econ. at 644. The

classic statement of the effects doctrine in American law is

contained in the opinion of Judge L. Hand in United States

v. Aluminum Co. of America, 148 F.2d 416, 443 (2d Cir.

1945):

[I]t is settled law . . . that any state may impose lia-

bilities, even upon persons not within its allegiance,

for conduct outside its borders that has consequences

within its borders which the state reprehends; and these

liabilities other states will ordinarily recognize. —

This form of extraterritorial jurisdiction is sometimes re-

ferred to as the “objective territorial principle.” United

States v. Pizzarusso, 388 F.2d 8, 10 (2d Cir. 1968); Timber-

lane Lumber Co. v. Bank of America, N.A. & S.A., 549 F.2d

597, 610, n. 15 (9th Cir. 1976).

Effects jurisdiction is also recognized among the various

American states and is embodied in Section 37 of the Re-

statement, Second, of the Conflict of Laws (1969). The

comments to that section note that “a state has a natural

interest in the effects of an act within its territory even

though the act was done elsewhere.” Comment a, p. 156.

The Restatement of the Foreign Relations Law recognizes,

in section 18, two sorts of effects jurisdiction. The first,

wholly applicable here, is jurisdiction based on the presence

of at least one constituent element of a crime or tort in

the prescribing country. The second is based on the con-

junctive presence of four further factors, which factors may

_ also be found to be present on the facts of the present case.

Effects jurisdiction under international law is summarized

by the Restatement as follows:

§ 18. Jurisdiction to Prescribe with Respect to Effect

within Territory

13

A state has jurisdiction to prescribe a rule of law attach-

ing legal consequences to conduct that occurs outside

its territory and causes an effect within its territory, if

either

(a) the conduct and its effect are generally recog-

nized as constituent elements of a crime or tort under

the law of states that have reasonably developed legal

systems, or

(b) (i) the conduct and its effect are constituent

elements of activity to which the rule applies; (ii) the

effect within the territory is substantial; (iii) it occurs

as a direct and foreseeable result of the conduct out-

side the territory, and (iv) the rule is not inconsistent

with the principles of justice generally recognized by

states that have reasonably developed legal systems.

It is the position of the petitioners that the simple applica-

tion of the plain language of the above provision, which the

House Report states is consistent with the “principles” of

the direct effects clause, demonstrates that the petitioners

herein have a right to maintain their actions for damages

in the courts of the United States, despite the claim of

immunity raised by the Commonwealth of Australia.’ This

for the reason that (a) the damages suffered herein were

constituent elements of the torts of negiigence and strict

products liability under the law of states that have reason-

ably developed legal systems, and/or (b) the negligence of

respondents and the damages caused thereby are (i) con-

stituent elements of the causes of action brought by peti-

*The direct application of section 18 of the Restatement to resolve

“direct effect” questions has been previously employed: “In view

of Congress’s statement, and of the not dissimilar functions of

section 18 and the third clause [of § 1605(a)(2)], we consider this

source of guidance a proper one.” Maritime Intern. Nominees uv.

Republic of Guinea, 693 F.2d 1094, 1111 (D.C. Cir. 1982).

14

tioners; (ii) the effect within the United States is substan-

tial, both in terms of monetary damages and emotional and

physical injury; (iii) these damages occurred as a direct

and foreseeable result of the negligent conduct outside of

the United States; and (iv) the recovery of these damages

is not inconsistent with the principles of justice generally

recognized by states that have reasonably developed legal

systems.

Subsection (a) of the Restatement:

The maxim de minimus non curat lex, and many other

similar principles of common law, have fully established the

proposition that without damages there is no tort. Prosser,

Torts § 30, p.143 (4th ed. 1971). Damages are undeniably

a constituent element of any tort. All of the injuries for

which the torts of negligence and strict product liability are

designed to provide recompense were sustained by the peti-

tioners in the United States. But for this element of the

tort, which occurred solely in the United States, there would

be no cause of action. Far from being a secondary, deriva-

tive, or, as the Ninth Circuit found, an “indirect effect,” the

damages suffered by the petitioners herein are essential to

the cause of action and, under any fair interpretation, are

direct effects of the allegedly negligent and tortious conduct

of the respondents.

The only court which has considered the effect of the

Restatement on the facts of this case has ruled that sub-

section (a) applies: “Under Section 18(a) an action for

negligence and strict liability clearly qualifies.” (Mem.Op.

16). The Ninth Circuit, in reversing the district court’s

holding, ignored entirely the applicable provisions of the

Restatement and the fact that the “principles set forth in

15

Section 18” have been specifically recommended by Congress

as a guide to the interpretation of the “direct effect” clause.

House Rep. at 6618.

Restatement § 18 sets one standard for torts and crimes

(subsection a) and a stricter standard for other actions

(subsection b). But the interpretation of Judge Weinstein

in Harris is that the direct effects clause embodies the

principles only of subsection (b). He argues that the Con-

gressional drafters, by employing the word ‘direct,’ meant

to eliminate the distinctions between subsections (a) and

(b) and thus the distinctions between crimes and torts on

the one hand and all other actions. Instead of the two cate-

gories specified in the Restatement, all actions under the

FSIA must satisfy the requirements of subsection (b).

Harris, 481 F.Supp. at 1063.

This argument is unconvincing. Had Congress intended

its use of the word ‘direct’ to so alter the traditional law of

effects jurisdiction it would not have stated that its use of

the phrase ‘direct effect’ was to be interpreted consistently

with the principles of all of § 18 of the Restatement. It could

have specifically referred to section 18(b) if, according to

Judge Weinstein, that were the only section that could be

relevant under the FSIA.*

Moreover, the distinction between the two subsections of

§18 of the Restatement is obviously justified on policy

*As one commentator has noted, “The court’s analysis is some-

what mystifying in light of § 18’s unambiguous distinction’ between

generally recognized torts or crimes and other acts. The Harris

court begs the question when it states that Congress’s use of

‘direct’ brings such cases within § 18(b) rather than § 18(a). The

principle of §18 as a whole determines whether the greater or

lesser restriction shall apply, not a tenuous interpretation of the

word ‘direct’.” Note, 14 Cornell Int. L.J. 97, 109-110, n. 63 (1981).

4

a

16

grounds: “[A] court will infer that a defendant who com-

mits a generally recognized crime or tort has reason to fore-

see the natural consequences of his activity.” Note, Foreign

Sovereign Immunities Act of 1976: Direct Effects and

Minimum Contacts, 14 Cornell Int. L.J. 97, 110 (1981).

In the present cause, it is obvious that one in the business of

manufacturing passenger aircraft, marketing and selling tnem

to foreign purchasers, must be aware of the potential for

wrongful death and property claims arising from a possibly

defective aircraft. When a state engages in such manufac-

ture, marketing, and sales, as has the Commonwealth of

Australia herein, it must be presumed to possess the same

awareness, and the Restatement is correct to require a

lesser level of contact with the forum jurisdiction as a pre-

requisite to the assertion of jurisdiction than would be

required in antitrust or securities actions.

Since a constituent element of both the wrongful death

action of the Lynnes and of the product liability action of

MAF occurred in the United States, the principle embodied

in subsection (a) of the Restatement was completely ful-

filled. The direct effect exception to sovereign immunity of

§ 1605 (a) (2) is met in this case.

Subsection (b) of the Restatement:

A direct application of section 18 of the Restatement

would end with consideration of subsection (a) since that

clause so clearly deals with the tort problem posed by this

case and because it is obvious that the requirements of the

subsection are met on the instant facts. Since section 18 is

written in the disjunctive, it is only necessary that a plain-

tiff satisfy one of the hases for jurisdiction set forth therein.

(Mem. Op. 16) But petitioners contend that application of

the second subsection also provides a basis for the assertion

of subject matter jurisdiction.

Se

a% 17

In contrast to subsection (a) which specifically relates to

criminal and tort actions, subsection (b) has been tra-

ditionally employed in resolving jurisdictional questions

which arise in antitrust and securities cases. See, e.g.,

Timberlane Lumber Co., supra, 549 F.2d at 610-612; Travis v.

Anthes Imp. Limited, 473 F.2d 515, 528-530 (8th Cir. 1973).

The subsection requires the presence of each of four facters.

First, like subsection (a), the conduct and its effect must

be constituent elements of activity to which the rule applies.*

Second, the effect within the territory must be “substantial.”

Third, the effect must have occurred as a “direct and fore-

seeable result of the conduct outside the territory.” Finally,

the assertion of jurisdiction must not be “inconsistent with

the principles of justice generally recognized by states that

have reasonably developed legal systems.”

Unlike the Harris case, the Restatement does not indis-

criminately mix the terms “direct”, “substantial,” and “fore-

seeable” as modifiers of “effect.” Instead, each adjective is

used in a manner that indicates that the Restatement

drafters meant different things when they employed different

language. This is significant when one considers Congress’

decision to pattern the provision for effects jurisdiction under

the FSIA after the Restatement. House Rep. at 6618.

Congress did not, like the Restatement, require that the

effect sufficient to justify assertion of. jurisdiction under the

FSIA be “substantial,” though the Restatement employs

that concept in providing for non-criminal and non-tort

cases. Nor did Congress provide that the effect be “fore-

seeable,” although, again, the Restatement uses that

language. Instead, Congress stated that only one of the

three types of effects recognized under international law

5It will be observed that if this factor is present, and if the case

involves a crime or tort, then subsection (a) is satisfied, and there

is no need for further analysis. Therefore, subsection (b) can only

apply to cases which by definition are neither criminal nor tort.

a a iN a

18

must be present to satisfy the FSIA, and that effect is a

“direct effect.” Given this clear distinction in the two

statutes, it is incredible that Judge Weinstein in Harris

concluded that, “[A]s derived from section 18 of the |

Restatement (Second), of the Foreign Relations Laws of ;

the United States direct effect refers to an effect which is |

both substantial and the direct and foreseeable result of

conduct outside the jurisdiction.” 481 F.Supp at 1063. Thus, a

“direct” effect is one which is direct and then some. This is

a novel approach to statutory construction, which generally

posits that the decision to employ one word, and the corol-

lary decision not to employ other available words, means

that the rejected words are not intended. Russello v. United

States, —— U.S. , 104 S. Ct. 296, 300 (1983). Harris

rules precisely the opposite. Although the Restatement

speaks of “direct,” “substantial,” and “foreseeable” effects,

and although Congress only borrowed the single concept of

“direct” effect in drafting. the FSIA, Harris has held that

the FSIA’s direct effect is somehow a generic concept

enveloping every type of effect of which the Restatement

speaks. Under Harris, the FSIA “direct effect” is not only

direct, it is also substantial and foreseeable.

Harris has had a substantial impact in later cases which

have uncritically relied on its ‘construction’ of direct effect

as meaning more than direct, i.e., direct, substantial, and

foreseeable. Judge Weinfeld of the Southern District of

New York also held that the direct effects clause “can only

be invoked aaa roe effect within the territory

‘occurs as a direct nd foreseeable result of the conduct out-

side the territéry.’” Verlinden, B.V. v. Central Bank of

Nigeria, 488 F.Supp. 1284, 1298 (S.D.N.Y. 1980), aff’d on

other grounds, 647 F.2d 320 (2d Cir. 1981), rev’d on other

grounds, ——U.S.——, 103 S.Ct. 1962 (1983), quoting

Harris, supra, 481 F.Supp. at 1062-63 [emphasis in Ver-

Se a ae ae een

19

linden]. The only authority for Verlinden’s conclusion is the

demonstrably erroneous decision of Judge Weinstein in

Harris.°

The Ninth Circuit has given further life to this faulty

reading of the Restatement in both the present case and in

Berkovitz v. Islamic Republic of Iran, 735 F.2d 329, 332

(9th Cir. 1984).’ In both cases the court, in tort actions,

has applied the broadened definition of the “direct effects”

clause as derived from subsection (b) of the Restatement

and has ignored subsection (a) of the Restatement (which,

as demonstrated above, is the only subsection that can

logically apply in a tort action) without any critical analysis

beyond the rote citation of Harris.

Petitioners do not by the above argument concede that

the direct effects which they suffered in the United States

as a result of the actions of the respondents were not in fact

“substantial” and “foreseeable” under the Restatement

meaning. The district court fully addressed this issue in

finding that this case satisfied the requirements of both

sections of the Restatement, § 18:

Section 18(b) is satisfied because the conduct and

effect alleged by plaintiffs constitute elements of the

alleged causes of action. The loss of a husband and

father is “substantial” by any definition, as is the loss

of MAF’s airplane purchased at over four hundred

thousand dollars. The harm suffered by plaintiffs was

foreseeable. GAF sold the aircraft to MAF knowing

that it would be used outside of the United States.

It was foreseeable that if the aircraft was defective and

unreasonably dangerous the destruction of the aircraft

*“Foreseeability and substantiality are required by neither the

statute nor the nature of effects jurisdiction.” Note, Effects Juris-

diction Under the Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act and the Due

Process Clause, 55 N.Y.U.L. Rev. 474, 505, n. 173 (1980).

’The discussion of the “direct effect” clause in Berkovitz is clearly

dicta since that case initially held that plaintiff's claim did not

derive from commercial activity in the first place and thus

§ 1605(a)(2) and the direct effects clause were improperly invoked.

20

and the death of its pilot could result. Finally, there

can be no more “direct” effect on a pilot’s family than

the effect resulting from the crash of a negligently

designed and unreasonably dangerous aircraft.

(Mem. Op. 16-17).

The final argument which demonstrates the error of the

Ninth Circuit opinion is a reductio ad absurdum: if the

plaintiffs in the present action have not been affected in

the United States by the commercial tort of a foreign sover-

eign committed abroad, who ever will be? The only way that

the effect could be more direct is for the crash to have

occurred in the United States, and this situation is sep-

arately provided for in § 1605(a) (2). The statute as now

interpreted by the Ninth Circuit has been rendered nuga-

tory. This cannot have been the intent of Congress in clearly

specifying this theory of establishing liability, and in creat-

ing “a comprehensive set of legal standards governing claims

of immunity in every civil action against a foreign state or

its political subdivisions, agencies or instrumentalities.” Ver-

linden, 103 S.Ct. at 1968 [emphasis added]. “[T]he legis-

lative history does not indicate that direct effect jurisdiction

should turn on the place of injury, despite the ease with

which the drafters of the Act might have so indicated.”

Note, 13 N.Y.U.J. of Int.L. & Pol. at 597.

The Ninth Circuit’s position allows foreign states to

escape any tort liability for their commercial conduct no

matter how negligent, culpable, er sutrageous their acts

may be so long as the injured American citizens die on

foreign soil. As to property owners who suffer losses from

torts abroad, the statute has been read out of existence.

The Ninth Circuit has held that the fact that a $400,000

airplane may have been lost abroad due to another nation’s

tortious conduct has no effect on a corporation in America,

no matter that the corporation might have to replace the

plane, might have to indemnify others for the loss, might even

21

suffer a business reversal leading to insolvency. All of these

effects are simply “indirect” under the Ninth Circuit view.

743 F.2d at 675. But it is clear that the corporation suffered

no economic injury at the moment of the plane crash in

Indonesia. It would only be later that recompense would

have to be made. For instance, if the plane had been

bought on credit, then the only injury suffered occurs at

the point in time that they are required to make good on

the outstanding payments. The place of injury rule in com-

mercial cases is “a senseless factor upon which to base juris-

diction.” Note, 13 N.Y.U.J. of Int.L. & Pol. at 598. Every

injury for which the plaintiffs in this case seek recovery

was suffered in the United States. This is precisely the sort

of injury for which § 1605(a) (2) was designed to provide

a remedy.

THE IMPORTANCE OF THIS CASE

REQUIRES REVIEW OF THE DECISION BELOW

The issues raised by the present petition highlight the

unsettled nature of the law in this area and demonstrate

the importance for this Court to review the instant case.

Review on writ of certiorari is desirable in the present case

due to the existence of two of the specific considerations

governing review embodied in Rule 17 of the Rules of the

Supreme Court: (1) “a federal court of appeals has ren-

dered a decision in conflict with the decision of another

federal court of appeals on the same matter,” and (2) a

“federal court of appeals has decided an important question

of federal law which has not been, but should be, settled

by this Court.” Rule 17.1(a) (c).

Conflict Among the Circuits:

There is a conflict among the circuit courts of appeal on

the question of whether a plaintiff who has suffered dam-

ages in the United States from the act of a foreign sovereign

22

abroad has suffered\a “direct effect in the United States”

sufficient to satisfy that exception to immunity under the

FSIA. 28 U.S.C. § 1605(a) (2). The Ninth Circuit in the

present case and by dicta in the case of Berkovitz v. Islamic

Republic of Iran, 735 F.2d 329 (9th Cir. 1984), has held

that plaintiffs who have suffered such damages are not

directly affected by the action of the foreign sovereign. The

District of Columbia Court of Appeals also appears to sup-

port this view. Upton, supra, aff'd mem., 607 F.2d 494

(D.C. Cir. 1979).*

Taking the contrary position is the Second Circuit. In the

Nigerian cement cases, that court interpreted contracts for

the purchase of cement which called for payment to be

made in the United States. It was Nigeria’s failure to make

such payment, following a refusal of shipment in that coun-

try, which was held to have a direct effect on the American

corporations who suffered financial losses thereby. Texas

Trading & Milling Corp. v. Federal Republic of Nigeria, 647

F.2d 300 (2d Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1148 (1982).

The same rule obtains in the Eleventh Circuit, Harris Corp.

v. Nat’l. Iranian Radio & Television, 691 F.2d 1344, 1351

(11th Cir. 1982), and the Third Circuit also appears to sub-

scribe to this position. See, Velidor v. L/P/G Benghazi, 653

F.2d 812, 820, n. 13 (3d Cir. 1981), cert. dismissed, 455

U.S. 929 (1982); Note, Establishing Jurisdiction Under the

Commercial Activities Exception to the Foreign Sovereign

Immunities Act of 1976, 19 Houston Law J. 1003, 1004, n. 7

(1982).

*But see Persinger v. Islamic Republic , 729 F.2d 835,

842-843 (D.C. Cir. 1984), holding that the commercial tort excep-

tion under the FSIA (§ 1605(a)(2)) is broader than the non-

commercial tort exception for torts committed in the United States

(§ 1605(a)(5)). This is inconsistent with the Ninth Circuit’s holding

that, in effect, the scope of both sections is the same since at least

a part of the commercial tort must also, in the Ninth Circuit’s view,

occur in the United States.

23

The Texas Trading opinion contains the most thorough

discussion of the issues involved in the assertion of juris-

diction over a foreign sovereign in the courts of the United

States. This is understandable since the Second Circuit

has issued more’ FSIA opinions than have all of the other

federal circuits combined. See, Note, 19 Houston L. J., at

1004, n. 7. The opinion of the Second Circuit should be

entitled to great weight in this area involving international

commercial transactions. Because the opinion of the Ninth

Circuit herein directly contradicts the law of effects juris-

diction as established by the Second Circuit, the present

case should be reviewed by this Court in order that this

conflict can be resolved.

“For obvious reasons, it is highly desirable to avoid circuit

conflicts in the sensitive area of sovereign immunity.” Ven-

cedora Oceanica Navigacion v. Compagnie Nationale, 730

F.2d 195, 203 (5th Cir. 1984). The existence of this conflict

among the circuits regarding the interpretation of the “direct

effects” clause has been noted by many courts and commen-

tators. In particular, the conflict between Texas Trading and

the district court opinions on which the Ninth Circuit relies

herein has been recognized. Maritime Intern. Nominees v.

Republic of Guinea, 693 F.2d 1094, 1111 (D.C. Cir. 1982).

See also, Persinger v. Islamic Republic of Iran, 729 F.2d

835, 844 (D.C. Cir. 1984), Edwards, J., dissenting and con-

curring. Even an Australian commentator has noted the

“rather divergent results” obtained by the American courts

in interpreting the FSIA, Crawford, A Foreign State Im-

munities Act for Australia?, 8 Austral. Y.B. 71, 90-91, n.87

(1983).

To be sure, the Ninth Circuit has attempted to minimize

the conflict between its holdings and those of the Second,

Third, and Eleventh Circuits, but those efforts have been

based on obvious misreadings of the facts. Texas Trading

is said to be distinguishable because there, “no injury oc-

24

curred until the American companies were denied payment

from a New York bank .. .” Lynne, 743 F.2d at 675. The fact

that a “New York bank,” Morgan Guaranty Trust, was

involved is stressed three times. Id., at 675. The Ninth Cir-

cuit is mistaken in its facts.

Some but not all of the cases ruled by the Second Circuit’s

opinion in Texas Trading involved payment through a New

York bank. That decision decided four cases consolidated

on appeal. In at least one of the other cases, Chenax Maj-

esty, Inc. v. Fed. Rep. of Nigeria, there was no American

bank involved. Rather, payment was to be made by letter of

credit through a West German bank. 647 F.2d at 303. In

any event, the role of the bank is insignificant: “As in Ver-

linden, Morgan Guaranty’s role [in Texas Trading] was

deemed insignificant to the jurisdictional inquiry.” Note, 13

N.Y.U.J. of Int’l L. & Pol. at 591, n. 132.°

Subsequent cases arising from the same incident have

also been decided consistently with Texas Trading although

lacking the diacritical fact which the Ninth Circuit relies

on. In Reale Intern. Inc. v. Fed. Republic of Nigeria, 562

F.Supp. 54 (S.D.N.Y. 1982), it was held that a direct effect

was suffered in the United States by the breach of contract

even though payment on the letter of credit could have been

made through either a bank in the United States or one in

Spain. Id., at 56-57, relying on Chenax. Clearly, in all of the

Nigerian concrete cases it is not the location of the financing

bank which is relevant to the “direct effects” issue. Rather,

it is the fact that American companies suffered undisputed

financial losses because of the action of the State of Nigeria

outside of the United States. “Texas Trading, [held] that

financial loss to a United States corporation would satisfy,

*Also, the significance of the location of the bank may be factually

irrelevant. In Verlinden, supra., 488 F.Supp. at 1284, it was noted

that since Morgan Guaranty Trust was only a correspondent bank,

its contacts could not be the predicate for jurisdiction. The same

factual distinction is relevant to the Texas Trading cases.

25

without more, . . . the statutory requirement of a ‘direct

effect.’” Wyle v. Bank Melli of Tehran, Iran, 577 F.Supp. |

1148, 1159 (N.D. Cal. 1983). The Missionary Aviation Fel-

lowship, a United States corporation, has undoubtedly suf-

fered a financial loss. This, without more, would satisfy the

direct effects requirement in the Second Circuit. Texas

Trading, supra.

The Ninth Circuit also errs in its attempt to reconcile

its position with that taken in In re Rio Grande Transport,

Inc., 516 F.Supp. 1155, 1163-64 (S.D.N.Y. 1981). See Berko-

vitz, 735 F.2d at 332. Rio Grande is extremely close on its

facts to the instant case. It appears to be the only other

reported case in which a court has decided the “direct

effects” issue in an action involving both property loss to

a corporation and personal injury damages arising from the

same event. The district court held that it had jurisdiction

over both types of claims; over the property claims because

the financial loss to the shipping company in the United

States was a direct effect of a shipwreck abroad, and over

the personal injury claims because they were pendent to

the first claims. 516 F.Supp. at 1163-1164. The finding that

the court had pendent jurisdiction over the death claims

relieved it of the responsibility for determining whether the

plaintiffs suffered any direct effects in the United States

from their @cedents’ deaths abroad, but the Ninth Circuit

derived a holding on this undecided issue from the Rio

Grande case. Berkovitz, 735 F.2d at 332. Had the true hold-

ings of Rio Grande been endorsed by the Ninth Circuit, as

they were by the district court below (Mem.Op. 36, n. 17),

then jurisdiction would have been found to hear all of the

petitioners’ claims in this present suit. But, even if Rio

Grande is read as prescribing different results in property

cases than in death cases, the Ninth Circuit has still erred

in denying to all of the present plaintiffs jurisdiction to

recover for their losses in this country.

26

The present Petition presents two discrete issues of sub-

ject matter jurisdiction under the FSIA. Petitioners contend

that both issues should be decided the same: wrongful death

claimants are as direcily affected by torts committed abroad

as are property claimants. But, whether this position is

correct, or whether the two classes of claimants should be

treated differently, or whether, as the Ninth Circuit has

held, the claims of both classes should be rejected, it is

clear that there is widespread disagreement on when and

under what circumstances a “direct effect” is suffered in

the United States from the commercial activity of a foreign

sovereign abroad. For that reason, this petition should be

granted and the decision below reviewed by this Court.

Importance of Unresolved Federal Question:

The present Petition, presenting a question of interpreta-

tion of the “direct effects” clause of the Foreign Sovereign

Immunities Act, involves an unresolved question of federal

law which this Court has not previously addressed. Although

the specific question presented is one of interpretation under

a federal statute, the resolution of the question will also

have a significant impact on international law and on cer-

tain areas of procedure in the state courts.

One of the announced purposes of the Foreign Sovereign

Immunities Act was to bring consistency and uniformity

to the issue of when and under what circumstances foreign

sovereigns may be sued in the courts of the United States.

House Report No. 94-1487, p. 7 (1976), reprinted in [1976]

U.S.Code Cong. & Ad.News 6604. This Court has previ-

ously noted that the Act also seeks “to clarify the governing

standards” in this area of the law. Verlinden B.V. v. Central

Bank of Nigeria, ——U.S. ——, 103 S.Ct. 1962, 1968 (1983).

The unusual importance of the sovereign immunity issue

obviously derives from the nature of the defendant. Before

the adoption of the FSIA, it was common for the state

department to intervene in questions of immunity whenever

27

a foreign government was joined in a lawsuit in this country.

Congress and this Court have both recognized the “potential

sensitivity of actions against foreign states and the impor-

tance of developing a uniform’ body of law in this area.”

Verlinden, 103 S.Ct. at 1969, quoting H.R,Rep.No. 94-1487,

at 32. The Ninth Circuit has in the present case, by adopt-

ing a position different from that of the Second Circuit, intro-

duced an undesirable degree of uncertainty into this

sensitive area of law and foreign policy. As such, the opinion

below directly contravenes the goals of the FSIA. Instead

of bringing regularity and uniformity td the law of sovereign

immunity, the Ninth Circuit has created a dual system of

law whereby a foreign sovereign is immune from the direct

effects of its tortious conduct in some areas of the United

States, but answerable in tort for the very same conduct

in other areas of the United States. Indeed, it is quite easy

to imagine this disparate treatment arising from a single

incident such as a plane crash involving passengers from

both New York and California. Unless this Court reviews

the present case and provides a uniform answer to the

question decided below, it would appear that the estates

of the New York passengers could successfully sue the

foreign state airline or aircraft manufacturer, while the

survivors of the California passengers would be deemed,

under the Ninth Circuit’s view, to have suffered no direct

effect from the deaths abroad. Similarly, the question of

whether a corporation could recover for the loss of its air-

craft abroad will turn on the wholly irrational fact of

whether the corporation is located in New York or in

California.

The FSIA is also unusual in that it prescribes the juris-

dictional bases for sovereign immunity both in the state

as well as the federal courts. 28 U.S.C. §§ 1602, 1604-1605.

Therefore, the uncertainty created by the opinion of the

Ninth Circuit in this case will be amplified by the course

of future litigation in the states. Should the various state

28

courts consider themselves bound by the decisions of their

respective federal circuits on this question, then a foreign

sovereign will be amenable to suit in New York as well as

in the Second Circuit, just as it will not be amenable in

California as in the Ninth Circuit in any wrongful death

case or other case with facts similar to the present one.

There is also the possibility that the state courts will

interpret the federal statute differently and present the truly

anomalous situation of a foreign sovereign being immune to

suit in a particular federal circuit while amenable to suit

in a state within that same circuit. Such incentives to forum

shopping, while always undesirable, are wholly unacceptable

when the defendant who may feel abused by the disparate

legal rules is a foreign sovereign. For this further reason,

the present case should be reviewed by this Court in order

to bring American law into a consistent position on this

sensitive question of jurisdiction and immunity in the area

of foreign affairs.

This case also presents questions of unusual importance

because of the subject matter of the suit: an airplane crash

involving an aircraft manufactured by a state-owned manu-

facturing company. In a recent year, it was calculated that

there were approximately one hundred major foreign air

carriers and fifty major foreign air frame and component

suppliers operating in the world. Cook, Counting the

Dragon’s Teeth: Foreign Sovereign Immunity and Its

Impact On International Aviation Litigation, 46 Journal

of Air Law & Commerce 687, 705 (1981). At least 37 of

these foreign carriers appear to be wholly owned by a

foreign state or are over 50% state-owned. Id., at 705, n.

86. (See Appendix D) It is also common for foreign states

to manufacture airplanes for both commercial and private

use. Id., at 706, n. 86. From these numbers alone, it is

apparent that there is a very great potential for the reoc-

currence of the exact conflict presented by the facts of the

29

present case. It is important that this case be heard in

order that those who will potentially suffer liability under

the FSIA be made aware of the exact nature of the liability

imposed or assumed.

The failure to provide parties who have suffered damages

in the United States with any opportunity for relief in the

courts of this country, as the Ninth Circuit’s opinion does,

will have a substantial adverse affect on international trade

. and foreign relations. Indeed, the effect of the Ninth Cir-

cuit’s decision will ultimately impact adversely on the

Commonwealth of Australia in their business dealings. This

consideration was specifically recognized by early critics of

the United States’ former policy of absolute immunity:

To deprive parties injured in the ordinary course of

trade of their common and well-established legal

remedies would not only work great hardship on them,

but in the long run it would operate to the disadvantage

and detriment of those in whose favor the immunity

might be granted. Shippers would hesitate to trade with

government ships, and salvors would run few risks to

save the property of friendly sovereigns, if they were

denied recourse to our own courts and left to prosecute

their claims in foreign tribunals in distant lands.

The Pesaro, 277 Fed. 473, 481 (S.D.N.Y. 1921), opinion

later vacated, see Berizzi Bros. Co. v. S. S. Pesaro, 271 U.S.

562, 576 (1926). It is clear that problems of this nature,

as well as the growth in the governmental conduct of com-

mercial activities throughout the twentieth century, finally

prompted the government of the United States to adopt the

restrictive theory of sovereign immunity.

The present case well-illustrates the hardship foreseen by

the court in The Pesaro. The Ninth Circuit has told the

Missionary Aviation Fellowship, Inc. that even though the

plane which Australia sold them may have been defective,

no recovery can be obtained because the plane did not crash

in the United States. But, had they purchased the plane

30

from a private manufacturer, they could have maintained

suit in an American court wherever the plane may have

crashed. Can there be any doubt that when MAF purchases

a replacement aircraft they will not again make the mistake

of purchasing the plane from a government manufacturer?

On the other hand, if this Court should review the decision

of the Ninth Circuit and reverse its judgment, then the

Commonwealth of Australia, as well as the numerous other

state manufacturers of aircraft and other products, will be

able to market their goods on an equal footing with private

‘manufacturers. And, more importantly, unwary American

purchasers of products manufactured abroad will not have

their legitimate product liability claims defeated by the

disingenuous argument that their substantial financial losses

are not a ‘direct effect’ of the loss-producing event.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petitioners, R. C. and

Donna Lynne, and the Missionary Aviation Fellowship, Inc.,

pray that this Honorable Court grant the instant Petition

for Writ of Certiorari and, upon review, reverse the decision

of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, and reinstate the

Order of the District Court for the Central District

of California denying respondents’ claims of sovereign

immunity.

Respectfully submitted,

Darrell Panethiere

Law Offices of Windle Turley, P.C.

1000 University Tower

6440 N. Central Expressway

Dallas, Texas 75206

214/691-4025

Counsel for Petitioners.

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

-

NO. 83-6272

in

DC # CV 80-03198-CBM

mo

—

AUSTRALIAN GOVERNMENT ArrcrarT Factories and THE

COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA,

Petitioners-Appellants,

Us.

R. C. Lynne, Executor and Personal Representative of the

Estate of Jmummy SHERMAN Lynne, Deceased; MISSIONARY

AVIATION FELLOWSHIP, INc.; DONNA Lynng, Individually

and as Parent and Next Friend of Kevriy Lynne and

Kurtis Lynne, Minors,

Respondents-Appellees.

OPINION

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Central District of California

Consuelo B. Marshall, District Judge, Presiding

Argued May 9, 1984

Submitted May 30, 1984

Before: ELY, TANG and BOOCHEVER, Circuit Judges.

TANG, Circuit Judge:

The Commonwealth of Australia and Government Air-

craft Factories bring an interlocutory appeal of the district

court’s order denying their motion to dismiss for lack of

subject matter jurisdiction, personal jurisdiction and

improper venue. We reverse.

A-2

L

Government Aircraft Factories, wholly owned and

operated by the Department of Industry and Commerce

of the Commonwealth of Australia, produces military and

civilian aircraft for use throughout the world. In 1976, it

leased one of its planes, a Nomad 22B, to Missionary

Aviation Fellowship (MAF), a Caiifornia nonprofit cor-

poration that provides transportation and radio services to

missionary operations in developing countries. In 1977, MAF

exercised its option to buy the plane in Avalon, Australia.

On July 23, 1979, the plane crashed in Indonesia, killing

its American pilot, J. S. Lynne.

MAF and Lynne’s survivors brought an action in the

Central District of California against Government Aircraft

Factories and the Commonwealth of Australia alleging that

the defendants were liable under strict liability and neg-

ligence theories for defects in the design, manufacture,

testing, inspection, sale, and service of the aircraft. Lynne’s

survivors seek damages for wrongful death and MAF claims

damages for the loss and destruction of the aircraft.

The defendants moved to dismiss the complaint for lack

of subject matter jurisdiction, personal jurisdiction and

improper venue, arguing that the Commonwealth and GAF,

which is not legally distinct from the Commonwealth, are

immune from suit under the Foreign Sovereign Immunities

Act, 28 U.S.C. §§ 1330, 1602-1611 (1976) (FSIA). They

alleged that they lacked sufficient contacts with the forum

for the assertion of personal jurisdiction and that venue was

ee, SS Se ee ee ee ee

umbia.

The district court denied the motion to dismiss on June 24,

1983, and certified its order on August 19, 1983, for immed-

iate. appeal. This court granted permission for an inter-

locutyry gppeal under 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b).

A-3

The Australian government contends that the district

court erred in its conclusion that it could assert subject

matter jurisdiction over this case under an exception to the

general rule of foreign sovereign immunity. We agree.

Under the FSIA, a foreign sovereign maintains immunity

from suit for its public acts but not for its commercial acts

causing a direct effect in the United States. H. R. Rep.

94-1487, pp. 7-8, reprinted in 1976 Code Cong. & Ad. News

6605-06; Verlinden v. Central Bank of Nigeria, 103 S.Ct.

1962, 1968 (1983). The statutory scheme of the Act imple-

ments the doctrine of immunity but specifies several excep-

to the general rule of foreign sovereign immunity.

SC. §§ 1605-07. If one of these exceptions applies,

listrict court may assert subject matter jurisdiction

Act. 28 U.S.C. § 1330. The district court held

exception ryt in § 1605(a) (2) established the

or subject matter jurisdiction. That section provides

foreign state shall not be immune in any case in

is based “upon an act outside the territory

ited States in connection with a commercial

the foreign state elsewhere and that act causes

a direct effect in the United States.”

Concluding that the death of the pilot and the damage to

the plane overseas caused “direct effects” to the pilot’s sur-

vivors and the California corporation which owned the

plane, the district court held that it could assert jurisdiction

over the case in accordance with § 1605(a) (2).

The commercial nature of the Australian government’s

decision to market its aircraft is not disputed. The issue

before us is whether the injuries sustained by persons and

entities inside the United States as a result of the plane

crash abroad are sufficiently “direct” to fall within “direct

effect” exception to the general rule of sévereign immunity.

This court has recently addressed the question of whether

the effect on survivors of a death occurring abroad as a

Hee

es

SEE

8

rs.

&

2.

A-4

result of a foreign sovereign’s commercial activity consti-

tutes a direct effect within the meaning of the FSIA. In

Berkovitz, v. Islamic Republic of Iran, 735 F.2d 329, (9th

Cir. 1984), an American citizen was murdered in Iran by

an Iranian revolutionary group. His survivors brought an

action against Iran for wrongful death, but the district court

dismissed the case, concluding that Iran was protected by

sovereign immunity. This court affirmed, holding that the

FSIA exception for foreign actions abroad causing direct

effects in the United States was not applicable. The court

concluded that the direct effect of the Iranian action was

the death of the victim inside Iran. The incidental effect

on the victim’s survivors in the United States, however, was

insufficient to constitute a direct effect. “‘In such cases,’ ”

the court observed, “‘the injury to the victim’s bereaved

relatives living in the United States is not sufficiently

“direct” or “substantial” to support the assertion of Federal

jurisdiction.’ ” Id. at 332 (quoting Verlinden, B. V. v. Central

Bank of Nigeria, 488 F. Supp. 1284, 1298 (S.D.N.Y. 1980),

aff'd on other grounds, 647 F.2d 320 (2d Cir. 1981), rev’d on

other grounds, 103 S.Ct. 1962 (1983). See also Harris v.

VAO Intourist, Moscow, 481 F. Supp. 1056 (E.D.N.Y. 1979)

(injuries to family of American killed in Moscow hotel fire

not a “direct effect”); Upton v. Empire of Iran, 459 F. Supp.

264 (D.D.C. 1978), aff'd without opinion, 607 F.2d 494

(D.C. Cir. 1979) (effect on family of American killed when

Iranian Airport terminal collapsed not a “direct effect’).

Berkovitz controls the disposition of this case. The direct

effects of the plane crash in Indonesia are the loss of the

pilot’s life and the destruction of the aircraft. Under the

reasoning of Berkovitz, the injuries to the pilot’s family,

though tragic and painful, are indirect consequences of

the accident and thus cannot support the assertion of

subject matter jurisdiction under the direct effect exception

to foreign sovereign immunity.

Similarly, the property damage claim of Missionary Avia-

tion Fellowship for the loss of the aircraft is an

insufficient basis to assert subject matter jurisdiction under

§ 1605 (a) (2).

A-5

MAF seeks to impose liability on the defendants for the

losses sustained from its purchase of an allegedly defective

aircraft. The financial loss it seeks to recover, however, is

not sufficiently “direct” to overcome the general rule of

sovereign immunity. The direct effect of the alleged miscon-

duct was the destruction of the aircraft and the loss of its

use when it crashed in Indonesia. The financial loss, includ-

ing the cost of replacement, which was sustained in the

United States by MAF is an indirect consequences of the

plane’s destruction and the loss of its functional use.

The plaintiff's reliance on Texas Trading and Milling

Corporation v. Federal Republic of Nigeria, 647 F.2d 300

(2d Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1148 (1982), is mis-

placed. There, American companies entered into contracts

with Nigeria under which the companies would ship cement

to Nigeria in exchange for payments to be received through

a New York bank. When Nigerian ports became blocked,

Nigeria repudiated the contracts and the companies sued.

Nigeria claimed immunity under the Foreign Sovereign

Immunities Act, but the second circuit, relying on the “direct

effect” exception to sovereign immunity, held that the dis-

trict court could properly assert subject matter jurisdiction

over the case. 647 F.2d at 313. The court reasoned that the

companies suffered a “direct” effect because “[t]hey were

the beneficiaries of the contracts that were breached” and

the Nigerian breach precluded payment in the United States

through a New York bank. Jd. at 312. The court did not

have to decide whether an injury to an American corpo-

ration overseas would be sufficient in itself to cause an

effect inside the United States. The court expressly left

open the question of whether a company injured overseas

suffers a direct effect in the United States. Id. at 312 n.5.

We conclude that the alleged injury here was not a

sufficiently direct effect for the assertion of subject matter

jurisdiction. Unlike Texas Trading, where no injury occurred

until the American companies were denied payment from a

New York bank as a result of Nigeria’s repudiation of

cement contracts, the direct injury to the American interest

O

ae

A-6

in this case occurred overseas where the loss of the plane

took place.

We conclude that the injuries alleged in this case were

indirect effects of the plane crash overseas. Hence, the

“direct effect” exception of 28 U.S.C. § 1605(a) (2) is not

available to these plaintiffs to abrogate the general rule of

foreign sovereign immunity. Because we conclude that the

district court lacked subject matter jurisdiction under the

FSIA, we need not address the personal jurisdiction or

venue issues.

The order of the district court denying the motion to

dismiss for lack of subject matter jurisdiction is REVERSED

and the cause is REMANDED for entry of an order of

wold

DATED: September 21, 1984

APPENDIX B

%

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

oo

—"

CV 80-3198

-

—_

ORDER AND MEMORANDUM

OPINION DENYING DEFENDANTS’

MOTION TO DISMISS THE COMPLAINT

R. C. Lynne, Executor and Personal Representative of the

Estate of JIMMY SHERMAN LYNNE, Deceased; MISSIONARY

AVIATION FELLOWSHIP, INc.; DONNA LYNNE, Individually

and as Parent and Next Friend of Kevin LYNNE and

Kurtis LYNNE, Minors,

Plaintiffs,

vs.

AUSTRALIAN GOVERNMENT AIRCRAFT Factories and THE

COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA,

Defendants.

This matter is before the court on defendants’ motion to

dismiss the complaint for lack of subject matter jurisdiction,

lack of personal jurisdiction and for improper venue. The

underlying lawsuit is based upon the crash of an Australian-

made Nomad 22B aircraft, and the death of its pilot, Jimmy

S. Lynne (“J.S. Lynne”). Plaintiffs allege that defendants

are liable for the crash under either a negligence or strict

products liability theory. They seek damages for wrongful

death and the destruction of the aircraft.

Defendants Government Aircraft Factories (“GAF’’) and

the Commonwealth of Australia claim that they are immune

from suit under the doctrine of sovereign immunity, codi-

fied in the Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act of 1976

B-2

(“FSIA”), 28 U.S.C. § 1602 et. seq.’ Specifically, defendants

argue that this court lacks subject matter and personal

jurisdiction because plaintiffs’ action does not come within

any of the exceptions to immunity enumerated in the FSIA.

Alternatively, defendants urge that venue is improper in

this court and that the case should be transferred to the

United States District Court for the District of Columbia.

Defendants’ motion is denied on all grounds. In reaching

its decision, the court was faced with difficult issues requir-

ing interpretation of an act of Congress — the FSIA — that

is as vaguely worded as it is complex. The court was also

faced with issues that have not yet been addressed by the

Ninth Circuit. The court believes, nevertheless, that its

decision to exercise jurisdiction over defendants gives effect

to the spirit and intent behind Congress’ enactment of the

FSIA. .

BACKGROUND FACTS

Plaintiffs in the instant suit are Missionary Aviation Fel-

lowship (“MAF”), a nonprofit California corporation that

1H.R. Rep. No. 94-1487, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 6604 (1976)

(hereinafter “(House Report”) accompanied the enactment of the

FSIA. In the House Report, Congress explains that the intent of

the Act is to codify.:

the ‘restrictive’ principle of sovereign immunity, as presently

recognized in international law . . . Under this principle, the

immunity of a foreign state is ‘restricted’ to suits involving a

foreign state’s public acts (juri imperii) and does not extend

to suits based on its commercial or private acts (jure gestionis. )

This principle was adopted by the Department of State in 1952

and has been followed by the courts and by the executive

branch ever since . . . [I]t is regularly applied against the

United States in suits against the United States government

in foreign courts . . . [T]he bill would insure that this

restrictive principle of immunity is applied in litigation before

U.S. courts . . . A principle purpose of this bill is to transfer

the determination of sovereign immunity from the executive

to the judicial branch, thereby reducing the foreign policy

implications of immunity determinations and assuring litigants

that these often crucial decisions are made on purely legal

grounds and under procedures that insure due process. House

Report at 6605, 6606.

B-3

provides air transportation and radio services for missionary

programs to developing nations; R.C. Lynne, executor and

personal representative of the estate of J.S. Lynne; and

Donna Lynne, J.S. Lynne’s widow, who sues in her indi-

vidual capacity and as guardian of the decedent’s two minor

children. J.S. Lynne was an employee of MAF.

Defendant GAF is in the business of making airplanes.

GAF is wholly owned by the Australian government.? GAF

produces both military and civilian aircraft: The record is

clear that GAF sells its airplanes all over the world. GAF

manufactured the Nomad 22B aircraft that is the subject

of this litigation.

According to defendants, GAF, on behalf of the Australian

government, agreed on or about September 30, 1976 to

lease the Nomad 22B to MAF for one year with an option

to buy. Defendants allege that the negotiations for this lease

took place in Fisherman’s Beard, Australia. The aircraft was

’ delivered at Avalon, Australia. MAF exercised its option

to purchase the aircraft on September 1, 1977, in Avalon.

On July 23, 1979, J.S. Lynne was killed when the MAF-

owned Nomad 22B he was piloting crashed somewhere near

Langda Mission in Irian Jaya, Indonesia.

Plaintiffs contend that the crash of the aircraft and J.S.

Lynne’s death occurred as a result of defects and negligence

in the design, testing, manufacture, inspection, sale and

after sale service of the Nomad 22B. Plaintiffs. further assert

that jurisdiction and venue properly lie with this court, pur-

suant to the FSIA.

?GAF claims sovereign immunity on the grounds that it is the

same legal entity as the Commonwealth of Australia. GAF bases

this contention on the fact it was formed by the Australian govern-

ment primarily for naticnal defense purposes, pursuant to that

country’s Supply and Development Act of 1939. Clearly, GAF’s

production of war planes are acts by a sovereign power. These are

public acts under the FSIA. But GAF’s sideline of selling non-

military airplanes to private buyers throughout the world constitutes

“commercial” activity and brings GAF under the jurisdiction of

this court as provided for by the FSIA.

B-4

The task before this court is one of construction. The

FSIA carves out broad exceptions to sovereign immunity

where an American is involved in a suit arising out of the

commercial activities of a foreign state.* The exceptions to

immunity enumerated in the FSIA cover three basic situa-

tions out of which a lawsuit may arise and be properly

heard in courts of the United States: where the suit is

based on commercial activity in the United States; where

the suit is based on an act in the United States that is

itself based on commercial activity elsewhere; and finally,

where the suit is based on an act outside of the United

States in connection with a commercial activity elsewhere

and that act hes a direct effect in the United States. Sec-

tion 1605(a) (2). Plaintiffs claim that their suit falls in

this last category. This court agrees with plaintiffs. The

basis for the court’s decision is an inquiry that must begin

with a careful reading of the FSIA itself.

8’The House Report indicates that Congress intended that “com-

mercial activity” include

a broad spectrum of endeavor, from an individual commercial

transaction or act to a regular course of commercial conduct.

A ‘regular course of commercial conduct’ includes the carrying

on of a commercial enterprise such as a mineral extraction

company, an airline or a state trading corporation. Certainly,

if an activity is customarily carried on for profit, its commercial

nature could readily be assumed. At the other end of the

spectrum, a single contract, if of the sam. character as a

contract which might be made by a private person, could

constitute a ‘particular transaction or act.’

[I]t is the essentially commercia! nature of an activity or trans-

action that is crucial.

The courts . . . have a great deal of latitude in determining

what is a ‘commercial activity’ for purposes of this bill .. .

Activities such as a foreign government’s sale of a service or

of a product, its leasing of property, its borrowing of money,

its employment or engagement of laborers, clerical staff or

public relations or marketing, or its investment in a security of

an American corporation, would be among those included within

the definition. House Report at 6614, 6615.

B-5

RELEVANT PROVISIONS OF TITLE 28,

THE FOREIGN SOVEREIGN IMMUNITIES ACT.

Section 1330. Actions against foreign states

(a) The district courts shall have original jurisdic-

tion without regard to amount in controversy for any

nonjury civil action against a foreign state as defined

in section 1603(a) of this title as to any claim for

relief in personam with respect to which the foreign

state is not entitled to immunity either under sections

1605-1607 of this title or under any applicable inter-

national agreement.

(b) Personal jurisdiction over a foreign state shall

exist as to every claim for relief over which the district

courts have jurisdiction under subsection (a) where ser-

vice has been made under section 1608 of this title.

(c) For purposes of subsection (b), an appearance

by & foreign state does not confer personal jurisdiction

with respect to any claim for relief not arising out of

any transaction or occurrence enumerated in sections

1605-1607 of this title.

Section 1602. Findings and declaration of purpose

The Congress finds that the determination by United

States courts of the claims of foreign states to immunity

from the jurisdiction of such courts would serve the

interests of justice and would protect the rights of both

foreign states and litigants in United States courts.

Under international law, states are not immune from

the jurisdiction of foreign courts insofar as their com-

mercial activities are concerned, and their commercial

property may be levied upon for the satisfaction of

judgments rendered against them in connection with

their commercial activities. Claims of foreign states to

immunity should henceforth be decided by courts of

the United States and of the States in conformity with

the principles set forth in this chapter.

ee

B46

Section 1603. Definitions

For purposes of this chapter —

(a) A “foreign state’, except as used in section 1608

of this title, includes a political subdivision of a foreign

state or an agency or instrumentality of a foreign state

as defined in subsection (b).

(b) An ‘agency or instrumentality of a foreign state’

means any entity —

(1) which is a separate legal person, corporate or

otherwise, and

(2) which is an organ of a foreign state or political

subdivision thereof, and

(3) which is neither a citizen of a State of the

United States as defined in section 1332(c) and (d)

of this title, nor created under the laws of any third

country.

(c) The ‘United States’ includes all territory and

waters, continental or insular, subject to the jurisdic-

tion of the United States.

(d) A ‘commercial activity’ means either a regular

course of commercial conduct or a particular commer-

cial transaction or act. The commercial character of an

activity shall be determined by reference to the nature

of the course of conduct or particular transaction or

act, rather than by reference to its purpose.

(e) A ‘commercial activity carried on in the United

States by a foreign state’ means commercial activity

carried on by such state and having substantial con-

tact with the United States.

Section 1605. General exceptions to the jurisdictional

immunity of a foreign state

B-7

(a) A foreign state shall not be immune from the

jurisdiction of courts of the United States or of the

States in any case —

(2) in which the action is based upon a commer-

cial activity carried on in the United States by the

foreign state; or upon an act performed in the United

States in connection with the commercial activity of

a foreign state elsewhere; or upon an act outside the

territory of the United States in connection with the

commercial activity of the foreign state elsewhere

Pee that act causes a direct effect in the United

tates.

Section 1606. Extent of liability

As to any claim for relief with respect to which a

foreign state is not entitled to immunity under section

1605 . . . of this chapter, the foreign state shall be

liable in the same manner and to the same extent as

a private individual under like circumstances; but a

foreign state except for an agency or instrumentality

thereof shall not be liable for punitive damages; if,

however, in any case wherein death was caused, the

law of the place where the action or omission occurred

provides, or has been construed to provide, for dam-

ages only punitive in nature, the foreign state shall be

liable for actual or compensatory damages measured

by the pecuniary injuries resulting from such death

which were incurred by the persons for whose benefit

the action was brought.

SUBJECT MATTER JURISDICTION

Under the facts of this case, the relevant exception to

sovereign immunity appears in section 1605(a) (2), supra.

Clause three of this section denies immunity when the suit

is based “upon an act outside the territory of the United

States in connection with a commercial activity of the

B-8

foreign state elsewhere and that act causes a direct effect in

the United States.”

In order to assert jurisdiction under the FSIA, plaintiffs

must make a threshold showing that defendants’ activities

giving rise to the suit are “commercial” in nature, as defined

in section 1603(d). Here, it is beyond dispute that GAF’s

business of making and selling airplanes constitutes a

“regular course of commercial conduct,” and GAF’s sale of

the Nomad 22B to MAF constitutes a “particular commer-

cial transaction or act.” Therefore, the instant lawsuit arises

out ee “commercial activity” as defined in section

1603 (d).

The court now faces the dispositive issue: whether defen-

dants’ activities giving rise to the suit caused a direct effect

in the United States. The court must decide this issue

separately as to plaintiffs’ respective property damage and

wrongful death claims. Is the ioss to J. S. Lynne’s family

of a husband, father and provider a direct effect in the

United States of defendants’ alleged negligence? Does the

financial loss suffered by MAF, an American corporation,

from the destruction of its aircraft in Indonesia constitute

a direct effect in the United States?’ This court concludes

that both claims fall within the FSIA’s exception to

immunity. The Lynne family’s wrongful death claim is by

far the more difficult to apply under the direct effect clause.

The court will address this issue first.

A. THE LYNNE FAMILY’S WRONGFUL DEATH CLAIM

AND THE DIRECT EFFECT CLAUSE OF THE FSIA.

This court believes that defendants’ alleged negligence in

Australia, resulting in the crash of MAF’s Nomad 22B and

the death of J. S. Lynne in Indonesia, caused a direct effect

in the United States such that this court has subject matter

jurisdiction under the FSIA over plainiffs’ wrongful death

cause of action against defendants GAF and the Common-

wealth of Australia.

Defendants argue that tortious acts or omissions by

foreign sovereign states that cause injury or death to

B-9

American citizens abroad, do not have a direct effect in the

United States. Defendants sieze upon the word “direct”

and argue that the “direct” effect of their alleged negligence

occurred in Indonesia where the plane crashed and J. S.

Lynne died. Defendants view the loss thus incurred by the

Lynne family — the loss of a husband and father —, and

the damages sought for his wrongful death, as merely

“indirect” effects. This court disagrees. Defendants’ con-

struction of “direct effect” is plagued by a logic of territorial

limitation. This court believes defendants’ construction is

arbitrary and misconceived; it ignores the real, life-shattering

effect suffered by a family of a person wrongfully killed.

The effect on such a family is direct no matter where the

death occurred. When, as in this case, the bereaved family

lives in the United States, the direct effect of the death of

a father and husband occurs in the United States.

Defendants are not without legal precedent for their

restrictive interpretation of what constitutes a direct effect

in the United States under the FSIA. Although the issue has

not been addressed in this circuit, two federal courts have

considered whether injury to an American abroad causes

a direct effect in the United States, and have answered the

question in the negative. See Upton v. Empire of Iran, 459

F.Supp 264 (D.D.C. 1978), aff'd mem., 607 F.2d 494 (D.C.

Cir. 1979) and Harris v. VAO Intourist, Moscow, 481 F.Supp.

1056 (E.D.N.Y. 1979). Because these two cases are the

only ones to address in the context of a suit for wrongful

death what constitutes a direct effect under the FSIA, this

court shall examine them in detail.

Upton involved an action for wrongful death, survival and

personal injury brought in the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia against the Empire of Iran and

Iran’s Department of Civil Aviation. The suit arose out of

the deaths of two Americans and the serious injury of

another when the roof of the main hall of the Mehrabad

International Airport terminal building in Tehran, Iran,

collapsed on them as they were awaiting departing flights.

Plaintiffs charged defendants with negligence and strict

B-10

liability in tort, relying on section 1605(a) (2), cl. 3 of the

FSIA. The dispositive issue before the court was whether

or not defendants’ negligent operation and maintenance of

the airport terminal building caused a direct effect in the

United States.

The Upton court answered this question in the negative.

In doing so, the court relied on language in the House

Report that accompanied the statute that describes the

FSIA as a federal long-arm statute over foreign states,

patterned after the District of Columbia’s long-arm statute.‘

The court literally interpreted this reference and found that

“causing injury to American citizens abroad is insufficient

to satisfy the requirements of the District of Columbia long-

arm statute.” Id. at 266. The court also ruled that “mere

ownership of an airport abroad does not establish sufficient

contacts to satisfy [the minimum jurisdictional require-

ments] of International Shoe.” Id.°

The Upton court’s definition of “direct effect in the

United States” demonstrates an extremely restrictive view

of causation —a view that this court believes is contrary

to traditional American tort law. This is apparent in the

Upton court’s reasoning that any injuries suffered by plain-

tiffs in the United States caused by defendants’ negligence

in Iran were “indirect.” In Upton, the “common sense”

interpretation of a “direct effect” is “one which has no

intervening element, but, rather, flows in a straight line

without deviation or interruption.” The Upton court did not

specify why plaintiffs’ wrongful death claim did not fit this

definition.

The narrow reasoning in L pton was followed by the Harris

court. 481 F.Supp 1056. In Harris, suit was brought against

two state-owned Soviet tourist services and the Soviet Union

itself to recover damages for the alleged wrongful death

of an American tourist in a Moscow hotel fire. The court

*House Report at 6612.

*International Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310 (1945).

B-11

granted defendants’ motion to dismiss on the grounds that

it lacked subject matter jurisdiction because the action did

not come within any of the exceptions to immunity enum-

erated in sections 1605-1607 of the FSIA.

The defendants in Harris had sufficient minimum contacts

to satisfy the due process requirements of International

Shoe for in-personam jurisdiction. But the Harris court was

analyzing the subject matter jurisdictional provisions of

the direct effect clause of the FSIA, and so correctly

reasoned that:

the essential factual issue is not the degree of oblique

contacts of the National Hotel with the United States,

but rather whether the allegedly negligent activity of

the National Hotel had a ‘direct effect’ in the United

States . . . Systematic and continuous contacts with

the United ‘States do not provide the grounds for finding

an exception to the [FSIA] and a basis for jurisdiction.

Id. at 1060.

This court agrees with Harris that an in-personam analysis

is improper under the direct effect clause. The subject

matter jurisdictional inquiry must remain distinct from

requirements of personal jurisdiction. Under the FSIA,

standards for both subject matter and personal jurisdiction

must be met. If the court finds it has subject matter juris-

diction — that is, if defendants’ activities caused a direct

effect in the United States—only then must the court

proceed to evaluate defendants’ contacts with the forum

for the purpose of asserting in-personam jurisdiction as well.

This distinction appears to be obscured in other portions of

the Harris opinion.

Like Upton, Harris relied on interpretations given the

District of Columbia long-arm provisions in its treatment

of the direct effect clause of the FSIA. Curiously enough,

the Harris court appears not to have considered the pos-

sible argument that the District of Columbia’s long-arm

statute would itself confer jurisdiction over a wrongful death

B-12

suit in this type of factual situation.’ Instead, the Harris

court held that “indirect injurious consequences within this

country of an out-of-state act are not sufficient contacts to

satisfy the ‘direct effect’ requirement of section 1605 (a) (2).”

Id. at 1062.

In reaching this conclusion, the Harris court emphasized

Congress’ intent that jurisdiction of the courts pursuant to

the direct effect clause of the FSIA should be exercised

consistent with the principles set forth in Section 18,

Restatement of the Law, Second, Foreign Relations Laws of

the United States. H.R.Rep. No. 94-1487, 94th Cong., 2d

Sess. 13. Harris adopted language from the Restatement

to define a “direct effect” as “an effect which is both sub-

stantial and the direct and foreseeable result of conduct out-

side the jurisdiction.” Id. at 1063. The court apparently did

°*The long-arm provision of the District of Columbia statute,

provides in pertinent part:

(a) A District of Columbia court may exercise personal

jurisdiction over a person, who acts directly or by an agent,

as to a claim for relief from the person’s—

(1) transacting any business in the District of Columbia;

(2) contracting to supply services in the District of

Columbia;

(3) causing tortious injury in the District of Columbia by

an act or omission outside the District of Columbia if he

regularly does or solicits business, engages in any per-

sistent course of conduct, or derives substantial revenue

from goods used or consumed, or services rendered, in the

District of Columbia; . . .

(5) having an interest in, using, or possessing real prop-

erty in the District of Columbia; or

(6) contracting to insure or act as surety for or on any

person, property, or risk, contract, obligation, or agreement

located, executed, or to be performed within the District of

Columbia at the time of contracting, unless the parties

otherwise provide in writing.

13 D.C. Code § 13-423 (1973).

See discussion, infra, suggesting application under section 13-

423(a)(4) of the D.C. Code — tortious injury in the District .

by an act or omission outside. This section provides for long-arm

jurisdiction if certain contacts are present between the defendants

and the forum.

B-13

not consider the nature of an effect that is “substantial”

and “foreseeable,” having previously concluded that it was

dealing only with “indirect” effects. This court disagrees

with the manner in which the Harris court applies the

Restatement in interpreting the direct effect clause of the

FSIA.

The court believes that plaintiffs correctly assert that in

Upton and Harris the “direct effect” discussions are con-

fused and intertwined with the issue of in personam juris-

diction. Part of the confusion is attributable to the wording

and structure of the FSIA itself. The staute was aptly

described by the Second Circuit as:

a marvel of compression . . . Within the bounds of a

few tersely-worded sections, it purports to provide

answers to three crucial questions in a suit against a

foreign state: The availability of sovereign immunity as

a defense, the presence of subject matter jurisdiction

over the claim, and the propriety of personal jurisdiction

over the defendant.

Texas Trading and Milling Corp. v. Federal Republic of

Nigeria, 647 F.2d 313 (2nd Cir. 1981), citing the House

Report at 6611-12. |

This court is of the opinion that Upton and Harris failed

to distinguish between personal and subject matter juri-

diction, in applying the direct effect clause of the FSIA.

Upton and Harris improperly relied on the District of

Columbia’s long-arm statute to interpret the subject matter

— direct effect — provision at issue. The District of Colum-

bia’s long-arm statute is primarily concerned with personal

jurisdiction, not subject matter jurisdiction.’ In Upton the

court clearly spoke in terms of personal jurisdiction when

it found that “causing injury to American citizens abroad

is insufficient to satisfy the requirements of the District of

Columbia’s long-arm statute ... [and] . . . mere ownership

713 D.C. Code § 13-423 begins, “A District of Columbia court

may exercise personal jurisdiction over a person . . .” (emphasis

added).

B-14

of an airport abroad does not establish sufficient contacts

with the district to satisfy International Shoe.” 495 F.Supp

264, 266.

It is true in Upton that the court was without personal

_jurisdiction; the only contacts defendants had with the

United States were the wrongful death and personal injury

damages arising out of the collapse of the terminal building

roof. But the court did not limit its holding to this issue.

Instead, it interjected its finding of no personal jurisdiction

into its interpretation and application of the direct effect

clause of section 1605(a) (2).° The decision in Upton to

grant defedants’ motion to dismiss was correct, not because

®*The court’s determination of whether it has personal jurisdiction

over the parties must remain distinct from the question of subject

matter jurisdiction over the cause of action. This is evident in the

House Report sections that discuss these two bases of jurisdiction

under the FSIA. Congress’ reference to the District of Columbia

long-arm statute appears under the section entitled Personal Juris-

diction (p. 6612); section 1605(a)(2) cl. 3— the direct effect pro-

vision of the FSIA at issue here — appears under the section entitled

Subject Matter Jurisdiction. (p. 6611).

These two sections must be read together, but applied distinctly.

This court interprets Congress’ intent to be, simply, that if the act

complained of is related to a commercial activity and that act has

a direct effect in the United States, then the court has subject

matter jurisdiction. Personal. jurisdiction must also exist under the

independent, due process requirements of International Shoe. The

“direct effect” itself will not satisfy due process notions of

in-personam jurisdiction. There must be other “minimum contacts.”

The FSIA and the District of Columbia statutes are identical on

this point. The only difference is that the FSIA has one section,

1605(a)(2) cl. 3, that deals exclusively with subject matter juris-

diction, while section 13-423(a)(4) of the District of Columbia

statute — granting personal jurisdiction when tortious injury occurs

in the district by an act outside, if the actor has certain other

minimum contacts with the district — collapses the notions of sub-

ject matter and personal jurisdiction into one clause.

The manner in which Harris and Upton apply the District of

Columbia long-arm statute to the direct effect clause of the FSIA

consists of a double application of a personal jurisdiction analysis.

This is most evident in Harris, where the court held (1) sufficient

minimum contacts existed for due process assertion of personal

jurisdiction, but (2) the death of an American abroad does not

constitute a “direct effect” in the United States under the FSIA.

» Senne ee eee oa =

B-15

defendants were immune from suit under the subject matter

provisions of the FSIA, but because the court was without

personal jurisdiction over the defendants as poqened by

International Shoe.

The Harris court purports to make the crucial distinction

between subject matter and personal jurisdiction, noting

that the defendants clearly have sufficient minimum con-

tacts with the United States to support a finding of personal

jurisdiction. But then the distinction is obscured when the

court relies on the restrictive interpretation — of personal

jurisdiction — given the District of Columbia’s long-arm

statute to find that it is without jurisdiction over plaintiffs’

wrongful death claim. This is most evident when the Harris

court justifies its refusal to assert jurisdiction by citing

Maryland, Virginia and District of Columbia cases wherein

those courts rejected long-arm jurisdiction “when the only

contact in the forum is an injurious consequence of an out-

of-state act or omission.” Harris, at 1064. These cases are

inapposite. The Harris court itself found that the defen-

dants had numerous and substantial contacts with the forum

beyond the damages suffered by plaintiffs. Indeed, under

The court reached the second half of its holding utilizing standards

developed in cases construing the District of Columbia long-arm

statute — a statute concerned with in-personam jurisdiction. This

treatment represents a Catch-22 that Congress could not have

intended.

This court believes it is incorrect under the FSIA to attempt to

interpret the direct effect clause by way of the District of Columbia’s

or any other state’s long-arm statute. State long-arm statutes are

concerned with American federalism, not international relations.

This court agrees with the Second Circuit in Texas Trading &

Milling, Corp. v. Federal Republic of Nigeria, 647 F.2d 300 (2nd

Cir. 1981), that when interpreting the words “direct effect,”

[c]ourts construing either term should be mindful more of

Congress’ concern with providing ‘access to the courts’ to those

aggrieved by the commercial acts of a foreign sovereign, than

with cases defining ‘direct’ or locating effects under state

statutes passed for dissimilar purposes. Before the FSIA,

plaintiffs enjoyed a broad right to bring suits against foreign

states, subject only to State Department intervention and the

presence of attachable asses. Congress in the FSIA certainly did

not intend significantly to constrict jurisdiction; it intended to

regularize it,

B-16

the facts of Harris, the District of Columbia’s long-arm

statute, if applied, would have given the court jurisdiction.°

Most long-arm statutes have provisions granting state courts

jurisdiction where tortious acts occur outside that cause

injury within a state, where the defendant has minimum

contacts with the state. The Harris court, however, appears

not to explore this line of’ analysis. Instead, the court

bifurcates the issue of personal jurisdiction, applying it

correctly under the standards of International Shoe, but

misapplying it to what should have been an analysis of

subject matter jurisdiction under the direct effect clause of

the FSIA.”° This court respectfully disagrees with the rea-

soning employed and the conclusion reached in Harris.

In the instant case, the court is equally skeptical of defen-

dants’ argument that their alleged tortious conduct, result-

ing in the crash of the Nomad 22B and the death of-J. S.

Lynne, did not cause a direct effect in the United States.

Defendants’ basic argument — that the direct effect of their

alleged tortious conduct occurred in Indonesia, the location

of the crash — relies more on the logic of semantics than

the logic of tort liability. To argue that liability should not

attach under the FSIA because the effects on plaintiffs are

only “indirect” suggests a simplistic view of cause and effect

that this court cannot share. Nor does this court believe

that Congress intended to engage in such a fine distinction

by inserting the word “direct” before “effect.” Causation is

an elusive concept. The word “direct” is itself relative; one

is unsure where it falls in the chain of cause and effect.”

°Texas Trading at 312, citing House Report at 6605-6606.

10See n.6, supra.

See n. 8, supra.

For example, one could argue that the “direct” effect of defendants’

alleged negligence occurred in Australia where the plane was built

and the actual negligent acts, if any, took place. This would be an

argument of questionable validity, however, because substantive tort

law is more concerned with the locus of the injury than with the

locus of the act causing the injury. In the instant case, this court

is of the opinion that, even though J. S. Lynne’s death occurred in

Indonesia, the injury to his family occurred in the United States.

Thus, with respect to plaintiffs’ wrongful death cause of action,

— alleged negligence had a “direct effect” in the United

tates.

at ats CO el Ce OP Nit TE LIS SN +

Acree.

B-17

Congress intended to limit the scope of subject matter

jurisdiction. to some extent. It is the finding of this court,

however, that Congress did not intend to limit the scope of

the direct effect clause to the extent that defendants urge.

Any such intent would have to be manifested with greater

articulation than the meaning this court is able to glean from

a single word. In the absence of clear legislative direction,

this court believes its decision to reject defendants’ argu-

ment is in keeping with Congress’ basic intent that the act

is to provide a forum in United States courts for suits by

United States citizens against foreign states.”

The court finds merit in plaintiffs’ argument that if it were

to adopt defendants’ narrow view of what constitutes a

direct effect under the FSIA, this clause would be rendered

meaningless. The direct effect clause states that a foreign

state will not be immune from jurisdiction of courts of

the United States “in any case ... in which the action is

based . . . upon an act outside the territory of the United

States in connection with a commercial activity elsewhere

and that act causes a direct effect in the United States...

“Id. (emphasis added). This language explicitly requires

that the act and the commercial activity occur outside of

the United States. Therefore, the liability elements of the

cause of action must take place outside of the United States.

The losses or damages suffered in the United States are the

only effects that can be caused by the covered acts. Plaintiffs

correctly assert that the only way the effect could be more

direct would be if the crash occurred in the United States.

This is provided for separately in section 1605(a) (2) of

the FSIA.

Congress provides some insight into how this court should

interpret and apply the term “direct effect” in the House

Report accompanying the FSIA. There, Congress states that

22House Report at 6604-6605. See also Sugarman v. Aeromexico,

Inc. 626 F.2d 270 (3rd Cir. 1980); Verlinden v. The Central Bank

of Nigeria, 488 F.Supp. 1284 (S.D.N.Y. 1980).

B-18

“direct effect” is meant to~embrace: “commercial conduct

abroad having direct effects within.the United States which

subject such conduct to the exercise.of jurisdiction by the

United States consistent with the principles set forth in

Section 18, Restatement of the Law, Second, Foreign Rela-

tions Laws of the United States (1965).”’* This court previ-

ously noted that the Harris court only summarily considered

the Restatement in rendering its restrictive interpretation

of the direct effect clause. Inasmuch as this court is of the

opinion that the Restatement supports its finding that

defendants’ alleged negligence did have a direct effect in

the United States, the Restatement will be examined in

greater detail.

Section 18 of the Restatement provides:

A state has jurisdiction to prescribe a rule of law

attaching legal consequences to conduct that occurs

outside its territory and causes an effect within its

territory if either

(a) the conduct and its effect are generally recog-

nized as constituent elements of a crime or tort under

the law of states that have reasonably developed legal

systems, or

(b) (i) the conduct and its effect are constituent

elements of activity to which the rule applies; (ii) the

effect within: the territory is substantial; (iii) it occurred

as a direct and foreseeable result of the conduct outside

the territory; and (iv) the rule is not inconsistent with

the principles of justice generally recognized by states

that have reasonably developed legal systems.

Under section 18(a), an action for negligence and strict

liability clearly qualifies. Section 18(b) prescribes a stricter

standard; however, the disjunctive “or” that separates

Sections 18(a) and (b) must be read to mean that if the

first section is satisfied, the second need not be. Nonetheless,

plaintiffs’ action satisfies the requirements of either section.

13House Report at 6618.

B-19

Section 18(b) is satisfied because the conduct and effect

alieged by planitiffs constitute elements of the alleged

causes of action. The loss of a husband and father is “sub-

stantial” by any definition, as is the loss of MAF’s airplane

purchased at over four hundred thousand dollars. The harm

suffered by plaintiffs was foreseeable. GAF sold the aircraft

to MAF knowing that it would be used outside of the United

States. It was foreseeable that if the aircraft was defective

and unreasonably dangerous the destruction of the aircraft

aud the death of its pilot could result. Finally, there can be

no more “direct” effect on a pilot’s family than the effect

resulting from the crash of a negligently designed and

unreasonably dangerous aircraft.

Although the concept of “direct effect” remains elusive, the

evaluation of “causes,” “effects” and “consequences” is not

new to the law. They have been given considerable attention

in tort law, especially where the cause of action is based upon

negligence. Discussing “direct causation,” which is considered

a more restrictive alternative to foreseeable consequences,

Professor Prosser states:

‘Direct’ consequences are those which follow in se- |

quence from the effect of the defendant’s act upon con-

ditions existing and forces already in operation at the

time, without intervention of any external forces which

came into active operation later... There is an analogy

to knocking over the first of a row of blocks, after which

all of the rest fall down without the assistance of any

other force...so long as new forces do not intervene."

Under the facts of this case, defendants’ alleged negligence

appears to have the “direct consequence” of killing J. S.

Lynne. The effect on J. S. Lynne’s family is also a direct

consequence of defendants’ alleged negligence. Plaintiffs’

cause of action in wrongful death is the legal consequence

of defendants’ conduct. To analogize to Professor Prosser’s

14Prosser, Handbook of the Law Of Torts, 263 (1967).

B-20

falling blocks, the legal effect and the physical effect of

defendants’ alleged negligence are two sides of the same

block. A cause of action for wrongful death vested in Donna

Lynne the instant her husband was killed.

Similarly, the legal concept of “proximate cause” is of

central importance in the court’s interpretation of the mean-

ing of direct effect under the FSIA. One respected commen-

tator describes the doctrine in the following terms:

The breach of duty — the negligent act or omission

— must be the ‘proximate’ cause [termed ‘legal cause’

in the Torts Restatement] of the plaintiff’s injury.

The first element of legal [or proximate] cause is

cause in fact: i.e., it is necessary to show that the

defendant’s negligence contributed in some way to the

plaintiff's injury, so that “but for” the defendant’s neg-

ligence the injury would not have been sustained.

If the accident would have happened anyway, whether

the defendant was negligent or not, then his negligence

was not a cause in fact, and of course cannot be the

legal or responsible cause. The ‘but for’ rule has tradi-

tionally been applied to determine cause in fact.

Where, subsequent to the defendant’s negligent act,

an independent intervening force actively operates to

produce the injury, the chain of causation may be

broken . . . If the risk of injury might have been rea-

sonably foreseen, the defendant is liable, but . . . if the

independent intervening act is highly unusual or extra-

ordinary, not reasonably likely to happen and hence not

foreseeable, it is a superseding cause, and the defendant

is not liable.

4 Witkin, Summary of California Law, 2901-2910 (citations

omitted) .

It is clear to this court that if defendants in the instant

case were negligent as plaintiffs claim, then their negligence

was the proximate cause of the crash of the aircraft and

J. S. Lynne’s death. Substantive tort law would hold defend-

B-21

ants liable to J. S. Lynne’s family because the injuries they

suffered, and will continue to suffer, from J. S. Lynne’s

death were also proximately caused by defendants’ same

acts of negligence. In no sense is the cause of plaintiffs’

wrongful death injuries from intervening or superseding

elements. Defendants’ negligence would seem to be the

cause in fact of plaintiffs’ injuries. But for defendants’

negligence the Lynne family would not have suffered the

loss of J. S. Lynne.**

’ This court finds it conceptually impossible to think of

plaintiffs’ injuries as an indirect effect of defendants’ negli-

gence, if defendants’ negligence is the proximate cause of

plaintiffs’ injuries. If the effect is direct enough to consti-

tute proximate cause and legal liability, it is direct enough

to constitute “direct” within the meaning of section 1605 (a)

(2).

Thus, in terms of causation, injuries redressed in the

wrongful death cause of action are no less direct than the

actual death upon which the cause of action is based. If one

negligent act can be the proximate cause of more than one

injury —in this case, the death of J. S. Lynne and the

pecuniary interest of J. S. Lynne’s family — then more than

one injury, to more than one person, can be the “direct

effect” of a single negligent act. A negligent act that has the

direct effect of killing a person has the additional direct

effect of giving his beneficiaries a cause of action for wrongful

death. Under the law, it is the same “direct effect.” The

location of the death is irrelevant under the FSIA; but

extremely relevant is the location of the persons in whom

“Defendants would also seem to be liable under the Restate-

ment’s formulation of causation and legal liability. The Restate-

ment substitutes the words “proximate cause” with the term “sub-

stantial factor”:

To denote the fact that the defendant’s conduct has such an

effect in producing the harm as to lead reasonable men to

regard it as the cause, using that word in the popular

in which there always lurks the idea of responsibility. Rest.

Torts §§ 281(c), 430.

S

B-22

the cause of action accrues. J. S. Lynne’s widow and chil-

dren suffer the direct effect of his wrongful death in this

country.

The law recognizes the cause of action for wrongful death

for the very reason that the effect on plaintiff's life is so

direct and so personal. In California, the wrongful death

statute creates a new and independent cause of action in

favor of the decedent’s heirs and beneficiaries in which they

recover the damages they have and will suffer by reason of

the person’s death. Curry v. Fred Olsen Line, 367 F.2d 921

(9th Cir. 1966). This cause of action does not derive from

any rights the decedent may have had, but, as Professor

Prosser states, “[t]he action proceeds on the theory of com-

pensating the individual beneficiaries for loss of economic

benefit which they might reasonably have expected to receive

from the decedent in the form of support, services, or con-

tributions during the remainder of his life-time if he had not

been killed.” Prosser, supra at 908. Also, pecuniary loss

“may extend beyond mere contributions of food, shelter,

money or property; and there is now a decided tendency to

find that the society, care and attention of the deceased are

‘services’ to the survivor with a financial value, which may

be compensated.” Id. Thus, not only does the tortious con-

duct resulting in the death of an American abroad have a

direct effect in the United States — legally manifested in

a cause of action for wrongful death — but +e direct effect

is ongoing, measured by the jury over the decedent’s life

expectancy and even applied to such intangibles as lost

consortium.

The court finds support for its decision today in Texas

Trading & Milling Corp v. Federal Republic of Nigeria, 647

F.2d 300 (2d Cir. 1981).** There the Second Circuit held

“For an interpretation of what constitutes a “direct effect” under

the FSIA that is arguably consistent with this court’s view, see

National American Corp. v. Federal Republic of Nigeria, 448 F Supp

622, 637-639 (S.D.N.Y. 1978) aff'd, 597 F.2d 314 (2nd Cir. 1979)

(New York letter of credit payable through New York banks

where beneficiary was a New York corporation met requirements

of “direct effect”); Yessenin-Volpin v. Novosti Press Agency, Tass,

443 F Supp 849, 855 (S.D.N.Y. 1978) (suggests injury in the

United States to good name and reputation is a direct effect).

B-23

that, in a breach of contract action, financial losses that

occur in the United States caused by a foreign sovereign’s

wrongful conduct in connection with its involvement in a

“commercial activity” outside of the United States, consti-

tute a “direct effect” in the United States under the FSIA,

where corporations rather than individuals are involved.

The facts in Texas Trading centered upon contracts for

the purchase and delivery of cement entered into by Nigeria

with a large number of trading companies throughout the

world, four of which were American. Financial arrangements

consisted of letters of credit established by Nigeria with the

Central Bank of Nigeria payable through Morgan Guaranty

Trust Company of New York. Nigeria had contracted for

more cement than it could possibly use. Its harbors became

clogged with ships waiting to unload their cement cargos.

Nigeria breached its contracts and instructed Morgan not

ee ee oe ee Mennenons lawonits

ollowed.

The Court of Appeals held that: (1) jurisdiction existed

under the FSIA over claims arising out of Nigeria’s breach

of contracts to purchase cement and breach of related letters

of credit; and (2) Nigeria had sufficient contacts with the

United States to permit the exercise of personal jurisdiction

over it. Addressing the direct effect clause of the FSIA, the

court cites Upton and Harris “for a pardigm of ‘direct.’ ”

The court then distinguished the case before it:

Applying the term to a corporation is not so simple.

Unlike a natural person, a corporate entity is intangible;

it cannot be burned or crushed. It can only suffer finan-

cial loss. Accordingly, the relevant inquiry under the

direct effect clause when plaintiff is a corporation is

whether the corporation has suffered a ‘direct’ financial

loss. Here . . . breach of the cement contracts or breach

of the letters of credit, [had a ‘direct’ effect on the

suppliers]. They were beneficiaries of the contracts that

were breached.

B-24

Texas Trading at 312.

The court further found that the direct effect occurred “in

the United States,” because (1) the cement breaches pre-

cluded cement suppliers from receiving payment in the

United States and (2) the plaintiffs were American corpo-

rations."’

"The Texas Trading court limited its holding to the finding that

the “direct effect” of Nigeria’s contract breaches occurred in the

United States because the corporation’s financial injury resulted

from an American bank’s refusal to honor Nigerian letters of credit.

Since the parties’ contract called for payment in the United States,

this country became the location of the financial injury when pay-

ment was not forthcoming. The Texas Trading court expressly re-

served judgment on whether an American corporation suffering

financial injury abroad would also constitute a “direct effect” in

the United States.

This issue was answered in the affirmative by the court in In Re

Rio Grande Transport, Inc., 516 F.Supp 1115 (S.D.N.Y. 1981). The

case involved a collision on the high seas between two ships, one

of which was owned by an American corporation. The American

ship sunk. Its cargo was lost; a number of crew members were

killed and others were seriously injured. The owner of the Algerian

ship, a national corporation of the Republic of Algeria, anticipating

various claims for wrongful death, personal injury and cargo loss

to be filed against it, moved for summary judgment on the grounds

of sovereign immunity. The district court relied on Texas Trading

and held that the collision and sinking of the American ship had

a “direct effect” in the United States because the ship’s corporate

owner was a New York corporation, the ship was its sole source of

income and without it the corporation was unable to earn freight or

other monies for a considerable period of time. Jd. at 1163.

The Rio Grande court also held that once it found one “direct

effect” sufficient to convey subject matter jurisdiction it had juris-

icti out of the ision;

is court agrees with the court’s approach in Rio Grande.

This court finds that it has subject matter jurisdiction over all

ea a each independently constitutes a direct effect under

B-25

It is but a simple step to analogize the American corporate

entity that suffers financial loss from a breach of contract to

the American family that suffers the loss of a father and

husband. Although the family’s loss can be measured only by

its pecuniary interest in the life of the deceased, money can

never make it whole. The dollars and cents impact on a

corporation from a breach of contract pales in comparison.

There is no question that the loss suffered by the Lynne

plaintiffs occurred in the United States. Utilizing the exact

logic of the Second Circuit in Texas Trading, J. S. Lynne’s

family was (1) to receive support, services and contributions

from the decedent, which it was precluded from doing so

by defendants’ alleged negligence in the manufacture, sale

and service of the Nomad 22B aircraft; and (2) each plain-

tiff is an American citizen.

This court agrees with the opinion rendered in Texas

Trading. The court cannot, however, agree with the Second

Circuit’s approval of Upton and Harris, and the disparate

treatment thereby afforded the American corporation over

the American family. Justice demands equal treament. Con-

gress could have intended no less. Furthermore, Congress

certainly did not intend to undermine the wrongful death

cause of action — a cause of action that was painfully slow

in developing, but develop it did as mid-century society

came to grips with accidental death caused by corporate

indifference and neglect."*

Congress’ purpose in enacting the FSIA was to regulate

citizens’ “access to the courts in order to resolve ordinary

legal disputes,” “arising out of their contact with foreign

states and entities owned by foreign states.” House Report

at 6605. “The [FSIA] is not intended to affect the sub-

stantive law of liability.” Id. at 6610. Therefore, this court

concludes that Congress intended the FSIA to provide all

American citizens, corporate and natural, with a means to

redress the types of injury alleged in this action.

a ee ee 17 Stan. L.Rev. 1043

(1965).

B-26

Specifically, this court finds that the FSIA confers upon it

subject matter jurisdiction to entertain plaintiffs’ wrongful

death suit. The alleged negligence of defendants GAF and

the Commonwealth of Australia, resulting in the death of

J. S. Lynne outside of the United States, has a direct effect

within the United States within the meaning of section

1605 (a) (2).

B. MAF’S CLAIM FOR PROPERTY DAMAGES UNDER

THE DIRECT EFFECT CLAUSE

This court also finds that it has subject matter jurisdic-

tion over plaintiff MAF’s claim for property damages caused

by the destruction of its aircraft. In accordance with Texas

Trading, the loss of MAF’s aircraft — allegedly the result of

defendants’ negligence— caused a direct effect in the

United States within the meaning of section 1605(a) (2).

PERSONAL JURISDICTION

A. STATUTORY PERSONAL JURISDICTION

Personal jurisdiction under the FSIA is governed by the

provisions of section 1330(b). This section provides for per-

sonal jurisdiction over a foreign state as to any claim that

the district court has subject matter jurisdiction pursuant

to section 1330(a) “so long as service of process has been

made under section 1608.” Texas Trading at 313. Service of .

process is not an issue in this case. Therefore, the court,

having determined that subject matter jurisdiction exists,

satisfying section 1330(a), finds that statutory personal

jurisdiction exists under section 1330(b).

B. CONSTITUTIONAL DUE PROCESS

The court’s finding that statutory personal jurisdiction

exists under the FSIA only begins the inquiry. Due process

requires more. The assertion of personal jurisdiction over a

non-resident defendant is constitutionally permissible only

if the defendant has “certain minimum contacts with [the

forum] such that the maintenance of the suit does not

B-27

offend ‘traditional notions of fair play and substantial jus-

tice.’” International Shoe Company v. Washington, 326

U.S. 310, 216 (1945). It is also clear that due process

applies in suits where personal jurisdiction is asserted over

foreign states. Thos. P. Gonzalez Corp. v. Consejo Nacional

de Produccion de Costa Rica, 614 F.2d 1247 (9th Cir. 1980) ;

See also, Texas Trading, supra at 313, citing Gonzalez. In

personam jurisdiction may be exercised over a non-resident

defendant when that defendant’s contacts with the forum

have been either “substantial” or “continuous and syste-

matic.” Insurance Company of North America v. Marina

Salina Cruz, 649 F.2d 1266, 1270 (9th Cir. 1981); Data Disc,

Inc. v. Systems Technology Assoc., 557 F.2d 1280, 1287 (9th

Cir. 1977) ; International “supra at 319.

This court evaluates GAF’s nationwide contacts for the

purpose of asserting persona! jurisdiction. The court is not

limited to defendants’ contacts with the state of California.

This is because when a federal statute authorizes world-

wide service of process, the relevant contacts of an alien

defendant are not limited to the forum in which the suit

is brought, but may encompass the entire United States.

Wells Fargo and Co. v. Wells Fargo Express Co., 556 F.2d

406, 418 (9th Cir. 1977) (dictum, citing 15 U.S.C. sections

22, 25, 77 78aa.) In actions brought pursuant to the FSIA,

the Second Circuit has held that when service of process is

made under 28 U.S.C. section 1608, “the relevant area in

delineating contacts is the entire United States.” Texas

Trading at 314.

The court must analyze defendants’ contacts with the

United States based upon four separate determinations:

(1) the extent to which the defendant availed itself of the

privileges of American law; (2) the extent to which liti-

gation in the Unite? States was foreseeable to defendants;

(3) the inconvenience to the defendants of litigating in the

United States; and (4) the countervailing interest of the

United States in hearing the suit. Worldwide Volkswagen

Corp. v. Woodson, 444 U.S. 286 (1980); Kulko v. Superior

Court, 436 U.S. 84 (1977); Hanson v. Denckla, 357 U.S. 235

B-28

(1958); McGee v. Interzational Life Insurance Co., 355

U.S. 220 (1957) ; International Shoe, supra.

The following contacts clearly satisfy the above standards

and demonstrate that GAF’s relationship to the United

States arising out of its business of selling aircraft is “sub-

stantial ... continuous and systematic.” Marina Salina Cruz,

supra, and International Shoe, supra.

1) GAF sold the Nomad 22B to MAF with specific knowl-

edge that MAF was a California based corporation. GAF’s

knowledge of this fact is evident in phone conversations and

correspondence carried on in the course of the negotiations

surrounding the sale of the aircraft. It is further evident to

this court that at least some portion of the negotiations

culminating in the contract took place in California.”

2) In manufacturing the Nomad 22B, GAF purchased and

installed major components made in the United States. The

most significant American-made components were two air-

craft engines, produced by the Detroit Diesel Allison Divi-

sion of General Motors (Model 250-B17B), and two Hartzell

propellers, made in Piqua, Ohio. GAF is clearly “doing bus-

iness” in the United States in relationship to the manu-

facture of its Nomad 22B.”°

3) The Nomad 22B was produced and certified in accord-

ance with the Type Certificate Data Sheet issued by the

Federal Aviation Administration (“FAA”) and presumably

necessary to render the aircraft eligible for sale in the

United States. Also, the FAA issued Regulatory Dockets

specifically relating to the Nomad 22B and defects in its

manufacture. This is further evidence that GAF regularly

does business in the United States and for that privilege

must conform to United States laws. These Regulatory

Dockets, entitled Airworthiness Directives, are issued pur-

19See Exhibit A., Plaintiffs’ Suppiemental Response to Defen-

dants’ Motion To Dismiss Complaint (hereinafter ‘Plaintiffs’

Response’”’).

20See Exhibits N and O, Plaintiffs’ Response.

B-29

suant to 14 C.F.R., part 39, under Title 14 (Aeronautics

and Space) and require specific changes to be made due to

unsafe conditions. There is evidence before the court that

GAF responded to the FAA’s Airworthiness Directives in

its “Alert Service Bulletins,” offering owners of aircraft new

parts at “no charge” where the FAA mandates the change;

these parts are provided through GAF’s Nomad American

distributions.”

4) GAF distributes the Nomad 22B and replacement parts

through Hughes Aviation Service, Aircraft Sales Division,

Las Vegas, Nevada. Hughes is GAF’s nationwide sales and

service facility for the Nomad 22B.”

5) GAF extensively advertises the Nomad 22B through-

out California and the United States. Plaintiffs specifically

draw the court’s attention to advertisements in the national

aircraft industry magazine, Aviation Week and Space Tech-

nology, wherein the following language appeared with pic-

tures of the aircraft: “During the last decade, Nomads have

flown on full-schedule service . . . in the U.S.A. — from

Alaska through to Nebraska and the Caribbean . . . [The]

Nomad Filoatmaster shows its usefulness in and around the

lake regions of North America.” This is persuasive evidence

that defendants intended to enter into the United States’

market and take advantage of the commercial opportunities

therein.**

6) Finally, the court considers an additional area of con-

tacts defendants have with the United States arising out of

\ their sale of the aircraft in question to MAF. This area

centers upon the damages alleged by plaintiffs to have been

caused by the defendants’ negligence. By including MAF’s

claim of property damage and the Lynne family’s claim of

wrongful death in evaluating whether personal jurisdiction

exists, the court is not confusing personal and subject matter

21See Exhibits B and E through K, Plaintiffs’ Response.

22See Exhibit M, Plaintiffs’ Response.

28See Exhibits C and D, Plaintiffs’ Response.

B-30

jurisdiction under the FSIA. The court simply believes

that once subject matter jurisdiction is found, based upon

damages that constitute a “direct effect in the United

States,” those damages can then again be evaluated in terms

of asserting personal jurisdiction. Such damages alone may

not be sufficient contacts for the assertion of personal juris-

diction. Personal jurisdiction clearly lies, however, when

these damages are evaluated in conjunction with defendants’

other forum contacts. This analysis is in keeping with tradi-

tional long-arm, in personam inquiries.”

Defendants’ contacts with the United States and this

court’s assertion of personal jurisdiction over defendants

easily meet the four part constitutional standard enunciated

above. First, defendants availed themselves of the privileges

of American law. Defendants abided by FAA regulations

and tcok advantage of the United States market. Second, it

is reasonable to hold that it was foreseeable to defendants

that their extensive, purposeful business activity in Calli-

fornia and the United States would become the subject of

litigation, thus requiring their presence before a court of the

United States. Worldwide Volkswagen, supra. Third, the

court finds that GAF and the Commonwealth of Australia

will be little burdened in defending plaintiff’s suit in this

court. On this point, the Supreme Court commented in

24See n.11, supra, setting forth the District of Columbia long-arm

statute. 13 D.C. Code § 12-423(a)(3) provides for jurisdiction when

injury is caused within the district by a tortious act outside. See

also, section 410.10 of the California Code of Civil Procedure, which

staies in its entirety: “A court of this state may exercise jurisdic-

tion on any basis not inconsistent with the Constitution of this

state or of the United States.” In the Judicial Council’s comment

accompanying the statute, No. 9 addresses “Causing Effect in State

by Act or Omission Elsewhere”:

A state has power to exercise judicial jurisdicti

individual who causes effects in the state an omission or

act done elsewhere with respect to causes of action arising from

these effects, unless the nature of the effects and of the indi-

vidual’s relationship to the state make the exercise of such juris-

diction unreasonable. Hanson v. Denckla, 357 U.S. 235 (1958)

and McGee v. International Life Ins. Co., 355 U.S. 220 (1957).

B-31

Worldwide Volkswagen that “modern transportation and

communication have made it much less burdensome for a

party to defend himself in a state where he engages in

economic activity.” Worldwide Volkswagen at 293, quoting

McGee v. International Life Insurance Company at 222-223.

Unlike the defendants in Worldwide Volkswa efer.iants

here are clearly engaging in business actiyity in California

| and the United States with manufactyfers, distributors,

| advertisers and purchasers of their aircraft.

Finally, a court of the United States has a significant

interest in hearing this suit. This interest is underscored

by Congress’ purpose in enacting the FSIA: to codify the

“restrictive” application of sovereign immunity and to pro-

vide American residents with “access to the courts” to

resolve “ordinary legal disputes” arising out of their com-

mercial interaction with foreign states. House Report at

6605. Furthermore, the Supreme Court has recognized a

forum’s “manifest interest in providing effective means of

redress for its residents.” McGee at 223.

At this stage of the proceedings, plaintiffs need make

only a prima facie showing of jurisdictional facts to support

this court’s exercise of persona! jurisdiction over defendants

GAF and the Commonwealth of Australia, Data Disc, Inc. v.

Systems Technology Assoc., 557 F.2d at 1285. This court is

convinced that plaintiffs have made more than a prima facie

showing. Therefore, the court finds that its exercise of per-

sonal jurisdiction over defendants satisfies the constitutional

due process requirements of International Shoe.

VENUE

Defendants’ final contention is that even if the court

does find that it has jurisdiction over the subject matter

and parties of this action, venue properly lies in the District

Court for the District of Columbia, and that the case should

therefore be transferred. This court is not so inclined. The

issue of venue under the FSIA has received scarce atten-

tion by the courts. However, this court finds that Congress’

taal

B-32

intent is clearly manifested in the language of the FSIA,

and in the House Report accompanying its enactment.

Venue under the FSIA is established by 28 U.S.C.

§ 1391(f). This provision states in pertinent part:

A civil action against a foreign state ... may be brought —

(1) in any judicial district in which a substantial

part of property that is the subject of the action is

situated;

(3) in any judicial district in which the agency or

instrumentality is licensed to do business or is doing

business, if the action is brought against an agency or

instrumentality of a foreign state as defined in section

1603 (b) of this title; or

(4) in the United States District Court for the

District of Columbia if the action is brought against

a foreign state or political subdivision.

Defendants argue that GAF and the Commonwealth of

Australia constitute the same legal entity under Australian

law, and that, essentially, there is only one defendant in

this suit, the Commonwealth of Australia. Defendants dis-

tinguish between a foreign state and an agency or instru-

mentality thereof, arguing that since GAF and the Common-

wealth constitute the same legal entity, venue is only proper

in the District of Columbia. The FSIA does not so hold.

Even if defendants are a foreign state, section 1391 (f) (4)

does not mandate that the District of Columbia is the only

judicial district in which venue is proper. Section 1391 (f) (4)

allows venue in the District of Columbia; it does not

require it.

This interpretation renders the venue provisions of the

FSIA internally consistent. Defendants construction ignores

section 1391(f) (1). This section allows venue “in any judi-

cial district in which a substantial part of the events or

s

£

~

B-33

omissions giving rise to the claim occurred . . .” Because

the court believes section 1391(f) (1) applies to both foreign

states and their agencies or instrumentalities, it is unneces-

sary to address defendants’ argument that GAF and the

Commonwealth of Australia constitute the same legal entity.

The question, instead, is whether “a substantial part of the

events or omissions giving rise to the claim occurred .. .”

in this judicial district. The answer is yes.

Consistent with this court’s previous discussion of subject

matter jurisdiction, the court now finds that the injury

suffered by MAF — the loss of its airplane and the financial

damages thus incurred — constitutes “a substantial part of

the events or omissions giving rise to the claim . . .” The

court is guided to this conclusion by the House Report.

Therein, discussing section 1391(f) (1), Congress states:

This provision is analogous to 28 U.S.C. section 1391 (e),

which allows an action against the United States to be

brought, inter alia, in any judicial district in which ‘the

cause of action arose.’ The test adopted, however, is

the newer test recommended by the American Law

Institute and incorporated in S. 1876, 92 Congress, 1st

session, which does not imply that there is only one

such district applicable in each case. In cases under

section 1605(a)(2), involving a commercial activity

abroad that causes a direct effect in the United States,

venue would exist wherever the direct effect generated

‘a substantial part of the events’ giving rise to the

claim. (emphasis supplied).

This court has ruled in accordance with Texas Trading,

647 F.2d 300, that MAF’s financial loss constitutes a “direct

effect” within the meaning of section 1605 (a) (2). The court

further finds that the “direct effect” is located in MAF’s

state of incorporation, California. Venue properly lies in

the Central District and with this court because MAF’s

principal place of business is in Fullerton, California.

oj

B-34

In the interest of justice, convenience to the parties, and

to avoid multiple lawsuits arising out of the same trans-

action or occurrence, the court also finds that venue

proper in this district as to plaintiffs’ wrongful death claim.

CONCLUSION

The court, having considered the arguments and docu-

ments of counsel, and having found that it has jurisdiction

over the parties and subject matter of this action, denies

defendants’ motion to dismiss the complaint. The court,

having further found that venue is proper in this district,

also denies defendants alternative motion to transfer plain-

tiffs’ action to the District of Columbia.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATE: June 24, 1983

/s/

Consuelo B. Marshall, Judge _

United States District Court

APPENDIX C

C-1

28 U.S.C. § 1320 provides:

§ 1330. Actions against foreign states

(a) The district courts shall have original jurisdiction

without regard to amount in controversy of any nonjury

civil action against a foreign state as defined in section

1603(a) of this title as to any claim for relief in personam

with respect to which the foreign state is not entitled to

immunity either under sections 1605-1607 of this title or

under any applicable international agreement.

(b) Personal jurisdiction over a foreign state shall exist

as to every claim for relief over which the district courts

have jurisdiction under subsection (a) where service has

been made under section 1608 of this title.

(c). For purposes of subsection (b), an apperance by a

foreign state does not confer personal jurisdiction with

respect to any claim for relief not arising out of any trans-

action or occurrence enumerated in sections 1605-1607 of

this title.

28 U.S.C. § 1391(f) provides:

§ 1391. Venue generally

(f) A civil action against a ioreign state as defined in

section 1603(a) of this title may be brought —

(1) in any judicial district in which a substantial

part of the events or omissions giving rise to the claim

occurred, or a substantial part of property that is the

subject of the action is situated; .

(2) in any judicial district in which the vessel or

cargo of a foreign state is situated. If the claim is

asserted under section 1605(b) of this title;

(3) in any judicial district in which the agency or

instrumentality is licensed to do business or is doing

business, if the action is brought against an agency or

instrumentality of a foreign state as defined in sect’un

1603 (b) of this title; or

C-2

(4) in the United States District Court for the Dis-

trict of Columbia if the action is brought against a

foreign state or political subdivision thereof.

28 U.S.C. §§ 1602-1606 provide:

§ 1602. Findings and declaration of purpose

The Congress finds that the determination by United

States courts of the claims of foreign states to immunity

from the jurisdiction of such courts would serve the interests

of justice and would protect the rights of both foreign states

and litigants in United States courts. Under international

law, states are not immune from the jurisdiction of foreign

courts insofar as their commercial activities are concerned,

and their commercial property may be levied upon for the

satisfaction of judgments rendered against them in connec-

tion with their commercial activities. Claims of foreign states

to immunity should henceforth be decided by courts of the

United States and of the States in conformity with the

principles set forth in this chapter.

§ 1603. Definitions

For purposes of this chapter —

(a) A “foreign state”, except as used in section 1608

of this title, includes a political subdivision of a foreign

state or an agency or instrumentality of a foreign state

as defined in subsection (b).

(b) An “agency or instrumentality of a foreign state”

means any entity —

(1) which is a separate legal person, corporate or

otherwise, and

(2) which is an organ of a foreign state or political

subdivision thereof, or a majority of whose shares or

other ownership interest is owned by a foreign state

or political subdivision thereof, and

(3) which is neither a citizen of a State of the

United States as defined in section 1332(c) and (d)

C-3

of this title, nor created under the laws of any third

country.

(c) The “United States” includes all territory and

waters, continental or insular, subject to the jurisdiction

of the United States.

(d) A “commercial activity” means either a regular

course of commercial conduct or a particular commercial

transaction or act. The commercial character of an

activity shall be determined by reference to the nature

of the course of conduct or particular transaction or act,

rather than by reference to its purpose.

(e) A “commercial activity carried on in the United

States by a foreign state” means commercial activity

carried on by such state and having substantial contact

with the United States.

§ 1604. Immunity of a foreign state from jurisdiction

Subject to existing international agreements to which the

United States is a party at the time of enactment of this

Act a foreign state shall be immune from the jurisdiction of

the courts of the United States and of the States except as

provided in sections 1605 to 1607 of this chapter.

§ 1605. General exceptions to the jurisdictional immu-

nity of a foreign state

(a) A foreign state shall not be immune from the juris-

diction of courts of the United States or of the States in

any case —

(1) in which the foreign state has waived its immun-

ity either explicitly or by implication, notwithstanding

any withdrawal of the waiver which the foreign state

may purport to effect except in accordance with the

terms of the waiver;

(2) in which the action is based upon a commercial

activity carried on in the United States by the foreign

state; or upon an act performed in the United States in

C-4

connection with a commercial activity of the foreign

state elsewhere; or upon an act outside the territory

of the United States in connection with a commercial

activity of the foreign state elsewhere and that act;

causes a direct effect in the United States;

(3) in which rights in property taken in violation of

international law are in issue and that property or any

property exchanged for such property is present in the

United States in connection with a commercial activity

carried on in the United States by the foreign state; or

that property or any property exchanged for such prop~

erty is owned or operated by an agency or instru~-

mentality of the foreign state and that agency or instru-

mentality is engaged in a commercial activity in the

United States;

(4) in which rights in property in the United States

acquired by succession or gift or rights in immovable

property situated in the United States are in issue; or

(5) not otherwise encompassed in paragraph (2))

above, in which money damages are sought against a

foreign state for personal injury or death, or damage to

or loss of property, occurring in the United States and

caused by the tortious act or omission of that foreigm

state or of any official or employee of that foreign statie

while acting within the scope of his office or employ-

ment; except this paragraph shall not apply to —

(A) any claim based upon the exercise or per-

formance or the failure to exercise or perform a discre-

tionary function regardless of whether the discretion

be abused, or

(B) any claim arising out of malicious prosecutiom,

abuse of process, libel, slander, misrepresentatiom,

deceit, or interference with contract rights.

(b) A foreign state shall not be immune from the juriis-

diction of the courts of the United States in any case iin

which a suit in admiralty is brought te enforce a maritime

C-5

lien against a vessel or cargo of the foreign state, which

maritime lien is based upon a commercial activity of the

foreign state: Provided, That —

(1) notice of the suit is given by delivery of a copy

of the summons and of the complaint to the person, or

his agent, having possession of the vessel or cargo

against which the maritime lien is asserted; but such

notice shall not be deemed to have been delivered, nor

may it thereafter be delivered, if the vessel or cargo is

arrested pursuant to process obtained on behalf of the

party bringing the suit — unless the party was unaware

that the vessel or cargo of a foreign state was involved,

in which event the service of process of arrest shall be

deemed to constitute valid delivery of such notice; and

(2) notice to the foreign state of the commencement

of suit as provided in section 1608 of this title is initiated

within ten days either of the delivery of notice as

provided in subsection (b) (1) of this section or, in the

case of a party who was unaware that the vessel or cargo

of a foreign state was involved, of the date such party

determined the existence of the foreign state’s interest.

Whenever notice is delivered under subsection (b) (1) of

this section, the maritime lien shall thereafter be deemed to

be an in personam claim against the foreign state which at

that time owns the vessel or cargo involved: Provided, That

a court may not award judgment against the foreign state in

an amount greater than the value of the vessel or cargo upon

which the maritime lien arose, such value to be determined

as of the time notice is served under subsection (b) (1) of

this section.

§ 1606. Extent of liability

As to any claim for relief with respect to which a foreign

state is not entitled to immunity under section 1605 or 1607

of this chapter, the foreign state shall be liable in the same

manner and to the same extent as a private individual under

like circumstances; but a foreign state except for an agency

or instrumentality thereof shall not be liable for punitive

C-6

damages; if, however, in any case wherein death was caused,

the law of the place where the action or omission occurred

provides, or has been construed to provide, for damages

only punitive in nature, the foreign state shall be liable for

actual or compensatory damages measured by the pecuniary

injuries resulting from such death which were incurred by

the persons for whose benefit the action was brought.

APPENDIX D

- . a bd

, a‘ « 7 =

@. . < 7 = me 4

— -_ ens +. od ty ; “

7 : 7 - - z ’ - al

: - 7 : a - a “ 7 - ra >

: é - a 7 oe . i. Ss - a

7 _ - . 7 ¥ ; re

- 7 : - 7

: 7 + - J : ~~

=

Fy : “

- - bf * . - ‘d

7 oe ; * -

: cea —s rai - wena ae

: - 7 . = >|

. : * 4 :

. - 7

: s . * 4 - > 1 “i

+ ’ = - : . : _ ;

. 7 . i* omy ; 2

one ' « ‘ ‘ A

a - . , ? ra

ens year ete noth erans Of mets da 7 : “ : ud

7 ‘. 7 oom oe il mie ~

. 7 . *

. ’ : ' +4 7G i ~ 7

. = : 7 a ms ’

tems j + - i ad

. ¥ - - . > e

aoe

- 7 ~~ - ‘“ ~ é ‘

~ ' oe

te ’ , *

+ a bal .

1

” . ” : +

‘ . . oe 4 a

* * -

’ Tae, : -

‘ . = af oa : id

. sy * 7

7 - + - - 7 * - .

A * .

.

. - " * . 7 « : .

. , J .

. <* * *) : ‘

. : - a)

. 4 -

"4 d 7 - . ‘ .

; a ros

- ; a 4 =

- 7 7

hed ‘ - .

: : ” 4

. ¢ -

ao, * ¥} . hae ae - .

F 7 “ ry > P ‘ rm

- . . \ ~~ 8 = ° =

‘ . -

-_ 7 > 7 . od

. 7 : - ® - - 7 - oe 7 - - .

. *,

, t 2 7 7

a : , : —

- 4 7 . a . .

. - 7 =e * -_ =

, - re

=> . 7 .

2 - s

= a '

- 4 : a

eo ° 7 7

* 7 S

- 7 7

. i -

4 . . 4 :

” }

> 2 - - ‘ +

: = 7

7 * - - ¢

’ - “ 7 _

7 re * . =~ > 7

- « 7 *

~ 7 . -

* : ; * :

: 7 =» es 8 . ‘

: - wn -

7 7 % . +

ot . “ - =

. . : vs

- bl

_ = * . . hd bal

. ’ -

7 . . bd

bs —- + — ~ -*

; . >

4 ‘

“. 7 7

7 ‘ .

’ - - :

. *. .

. , 7 -

: . : ’ eo.

: 7 bh ‘ ‘

« ‘

: Lo A 4

: ‘ - ON

y 7

- * -

e . * =

* pe a

— 7 7 .

.

‘ al .

—

* “a

’ ‘

. ’ -

é - £ / -

* .

fe -

- e . *

6

7 fe

+. : ‘ ed . -

- - :

<- .

7 7 an - , . «

”

7 -~ ‘

. ' ‘ * &

' - 7 .

.

- = ‘= \ A

® : - r i ' ~~

- ; 7 . ‘

- - > ,

-_

7 x . /

’ fi = - a

“ i : : 4 - >

.- he ,

. - .

- 4 \ 7"

ee ?

=F

: B.S ot . 7 * 4 7 o.

7 ~ ~~ . - -

- rt 4 . :

z “

e ‘a

fi ae * a by sacle -

o a * 4 .

as =

ne ° 4

; ; _

> . ~~ .

: ). 4 - ®

i - * ‘ : i

- = iad x id - ’ on

ri » 4 = ~~ 4

Ws oe - - :

D-1

Counting The Dragon’s Teeth: Foreign Sovereign

Immunity And Its Impact On International Aviation

Litigation, 46 Journal of Air Law & Commerce 687

(1981)

[T]he following 14 foreign air carriers appear to be 100%

state owned:

Arelinte Eireann Ireland

Aeromexico Mexico

Aero Peru Peru

Air Canada Canada

Air India India

Air New Zealand New Zealand

Argentine Airlines Argentina

British Airways United Kingdom

British West Indian Trinidad and Tobago

Iran Air Iran

Lan-Chile Chile

Nigeria Airways Nigeria

Olympic Greece

Quantas Australia

The following 14 foreign air carriers appear to be at least

majority state-owned by the percentage shown:

Air France

Air Jamaica

Air Pacific

Air Zaire

Alitalia

Bahamasair

Dutch Antillean Air

Finnair

KLM

Lufthansa

Pakistan International

Royal Air Maroc

Sabena

Viasa

France

Jamaica

Fiji

Zaire

Italy

Bahamas

Netherlands

Finland

Netherlands

Germany

Pakistan

Morocco

Belgium

Venezuela

98.55

60.00

60.69

64.00

75.50

84.00

96.00

73.00

70.00

74.31

90.00

67.73

65.00

55.00

D-2

The following nine foreign air carriers appear to be over

50% state-owned, but their exact ownership interests are

not clear:

Aeroflot U.S.S.R.

Avianca Columbia

Czechoslovak Airlines Czechoslavakia

El Al Israel

Iberia Spain

LOT Poland

South African Airways South Africa

TAP Portugal

TAROM Romania

(46 J. of Air L. & Com. 687, 705-706, n. 86)

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.