Opposition Brief — Asociacion de Reclamantes v. United Mexican States

Supreme Court brief1985

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Office Supreme Court, U.S.

| FILED

© 20 1

No. 84-992 | Fee

——SxANDER t STEVAS.

CLERK

han

IN THE —

Supreme Court of the United State

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

ASOCIACION DE RECLAMANTES, AMINTA ZARATE, LUIS RIOJAS,

FeLipa FLORES BENAVIDEZ, MARIA AGUIRRE DE SCHULTZ,

Nieves GUERRERO CHAPA, SANTOS ZARATE PRIETO,

Petitioners,

Vv.

THE UNITED MEXICAN STATES,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED MEXICAN STATES

IN OPPOSITION

JOHN H. SHENEFIELD*

DOROTHY ASHLEY DOHERTY

D. STEPHEN MATHIAS

CaROL A. CORCORAN

MILBANK, TWEED, HADLEY & McCLoy

182° Eye Street, N.W.

Suite 900

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 835-7500

* Counsel of Record

February 20, 1985

PAMDICK WASHINGTON, 0.C.—- 1801 4. OAK STREET, ARLINGTON, VA 22208-— (703) 522-6000

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether, despite the general rule of sovereign immunity

established by the Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act, the

United Mexican States (“‘Mexico”) may be sued in a US.

court on intangible claims for monetary compensation arising

from claims that were originally espoused by Mexico on behalf

of Mexican nationals and their heirs and subsequently ex-

tinguished pursuant to a 1941 bilateral claims settlement treaty,

on the ground that the suit is one in which “rights in immovable

property situated in the United Siates are in issue,” even though

those claims in no way affect title to, or possession or use of,

land in the United States.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

COOTER Ie FINES ID vcnnsesisickstictnntiblnniaisinninlamittaaninsgnns i

FR er Be ee tik ciiincidescncsiciaanbeiipetintinadans ill

Ce POT in cits cuscssininnscnanisnctiaiitiadigpiitaiunaunanatadiaasiognnes |

FEF IIT scsissinsinicinisienaytesibaiibaiapisttieciaaatichahidaibasteinbiadasiaiias l

SAE ee ee ED neni ciesnintninteilteailaticeidibitailiiaaaniinaitiaaiat 2

STA TIERGOCE Gir Tite CA weiicccniccssincntisctncsnnsssonsadinnvis 2

URE TIE wiscssctciscscissdeiitnsadeincitestinbnisapmenciiiin 2

Te CI i ccccneinsesicncticeinlciipicicenpricenciptierenihieaaaanentiss <

Bae BS TT ss criiincsssactctenssihsibistaceiaiinmcasiteamatbeasties 5

PTRASUIIEIN TE xcccnnsinswisnsistsiutescai sisaiasiattinmaimiianiaiaiaaiadaatsamiaiaidbaiiied 6

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY

CONCLUDED THAT THE FOREIGN SOV-

EREIGN IMMUNITIES ACT’S “IMMOV-

ABLE PROPERTY” EXCEPTION DOES NOT

APPLY TO PETITIONERS’ CLAIMB................ 6

A. The Court of Appeais Construed and Ap-

plied the “Immovable Property” Ex-

ception Consistently With its Plain Lan-

guage, Legislative History and Purpose...... 7

1. Plain Language, Legislative History

OUNES FUIIID sccscccniccennccenatnianisaiininiigs 7

2. The Meaning of the “Immovable

PIODOT YS” TEI orcsiccveccncsnseninssncnce 8

3. Application of the “Immovable

Property” Exception .........cccssccscccoceseee 12

B. The Court of Appeals Correctly Con-

cluded That the Comegys and Bachman

Cases Do Not Bring Petitioners’ Claims

Within the “Immovable Property”

OIIIOD. .nnsiccsnrciscinienebnaanaae 13

II. THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF AP-

PEALS RAISES NO CONSTITUTIONAL

FEET Ee sccuscyngecnsssinimsinenenntitecsicshabienaasibeniaiiaiimemntiie 16

CONCLUDING STA TEGIIG TD ccteinnsecssssscsieminieaincence 16

COIN, ccscninrintiestotensenattnntnsitemmmamaaadaal 18

APPETITES A, cccsccscsnccssseseseenmmsutiniammaalanl la

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Alfred Dunhill of London, Inc. v. Republic of Cuba,

a Ee 17

American Tobacco Co. v. Patterson, 456 U.S. 63

Nee eihacmmionss 6

Asociacion de Reclamantes v. The United Mexican

States, 735 F.2d 1517 (D.C. Cir. 1984) ................... passim

Asociacion de Reclamantes v. The United Mexican

States, 561 F. Supp. 1190 (D.D.C. 1983)... l

Bachman v. Lawson, 109 U.S. 659 ( 1884)..................- 6,13-14

Banco Nacional de Cuba v. Sabbatino, 376 U.S. 398

ea cslineeeianevcoonens 17

Comegys v. Vasse, 26 U.S. (1 Pet.) 193 ( 1828)........... 6,13-14

County Board v. German Democratic Republic, No.

78-293-A (E.D. Va. Sept. 6, 1978), reprinted in 17

Int’l Legal Materials 1404-06 (1978) ..0...........:eeee00e- 9

De Rodulfa v. United States, 462 F.2d 1240, cert.

EY C00. Se © BO TE D vcvcoscsncccneccerscerscveeesenasonse 16-17

Frelinghuysen v. United States ex rel. Key, 110 US.

NES a Se a ne a 15

Frevall v. Bache, 39 U.S. 95 (1840) 0... eee eeeeeeeee eee 15

Great Western Insurance Co. v. United States, 112

OF BO 0 BOO Pcicnncserntsocconsen Le en 15

Greene v. United States, 376 U.S. 149 (1964) ............. 17

Hawthorne Oil and Gas Corp. v. Continental Oil Co.,

ey ee ee OY GE. EB, B9TP) cecccccccreccccccesscoscce 1]

In re Rio Grande Transport, Inc., 516 F. Supp. 1155

a ccsiannnenbeunennnniiones 9,10-11

La Abra Silver Mining Co. v. United States, 175 U.S.

ENE RE Ee 15

McKeel v. Islamic Republic of Iran, 722 F.2d 582

(9th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 105 S.Ct. 243 (1984). 9

Phelps v. McDonald, 99 U.S. 298 (1878) .........cccceceeeeee 15

Rex v. Cia. Pervana de Vapores, S.A., 660 F.2d 61

(3d Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 456 U.S. 926 (1982)... 12

Ruggiero v. Compania Peruana de Vapores, 639 F.2d

ee is I Pietatishcinheisisisindinitbanindapitaiiatisiiainenatini

Teamsters v. Daniel, 439 U.S. 551 (1979) cece eeeeeeee

Texas Trading & Milling Corp. v. Federal Republic of

Nigeria, 647 F.2d 300 (2d Cir. 1981), cert. denied,

AE Rs EP sintbsbdsctenicaceaancontaetacbeanintncnbicstionnes

The Caldera Cases, 15 Ct. Cl. 546 (1879) .u...eecceeceeeeeee

2 Tudor City Place Associates v. Libyan Arab Repub-

lic Mission to the U.N., 121 Misc. 2d 945, 470

ae eG ye Re Oe, ) Renee ene

United States ex rel. Angarica v. Bayard, 127 US.

I ee ies

United States ex rel. Boynton v. Blaine, 139 U.S. 306

SE SIP. Dic chsriilapsnesdasnimectndee intitle aA al

Verlinden B.V. v. Central Bank of Nigeria, 461 U.S.

Le) REN RRC Re Pn IS ay ne ee

Williams v. Heard, 140 U.S. 529 (1891) wu...

Williams v. Shipping Corp. of India, 653 F.2d 875

(4th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 982 (1982).

FEDERAL STATUTES AND RULES

RG a RR eC ae eR

EE SERENE meen eee

Sota ear enn

Ff: EE NONI? BANE Ne Sone

Settlement of Mexican Claims Act of 1942, Pub. L.

Ps ee Se Ie WI 0 BIE D esoicccstiniccssccsatssacccanerene

FOREIGN Law

Decree of President Manuel Avila Camacho, 129

Epensee CGenal § 5 (idee. 31, 1941 ) cccccccsccccscsseccccscesess

Directo 558-61/2, Fortino Lopez Cuevas y Coags., 3rd

Chamber, Supreme Court of Justice, 1965 Report...

St ne De

Page

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

H.R. Rep. No. 1487, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. (1976),

reprinted in 1976 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News

UTA ccilsx-inituiies dcilbaccitsSspcaahetaseto ede cetaighabddeabialatelaatlidata

TREATIES

Treaty on General Claims, Sept. 8, 1923, United

States-Mexico, 43 Stat. 1730, T.S No. 678...............

Protocol Relative to General Claims, Apr. 24, 1934,

United States-Mexico, 49 Stat. 3531, E.A.S. No.

Treaty on Final Settlement of Certain Claims, Nov.

19, 1941, United States-Mexico, 56 Stat. 1347, T.S.

TREATISES AND PERIODICALS

E. Borchard, The Diplomatic Protection of Citizens

BG CT Pcrtiscdcencntitintdasandiansiee a ee

Boyd, Litigation Against Foreign Governments, Litig.,

FOE TOG crccissessiseasscccsuiisssiadicaiamaicialaiaieaaabaiiabmadbibias

Crawford, Execution of Judgments and Foreign Sov-

ereign Immunity, 75 Am. J. Int'l L. 820 (1981) .......

L. Henkin, Foreign Affairs and The Constitution

( FFTS ) sccscnintninascnenandensteeiicesasnduaditdendoamaiabiewiiaaiuassibein

R. Lillich, Jnternational Claims: Their Adjudication

by National Commissions (1962 ) ........ccccccceeeeeeceeeeeees

6 J. Moore, A Digest of International Law (1906) ......

7B J. Moore, M. Waxner, H. Fink, D. Epstein &

G. Grotheer, Jr., Moore’s Federal Practice (2d ed.

FEW U ninchsicdsninsssacncdaansetdinicreabiceinaiasidaieiibaddassmanaians

Restatement (Second) of Foreign Relations Law of

a VIG TI 0 Fe Bi cctestis sacnrvenccisicnicttinciesscnccectitiene

Restatement (Second) of Foreign Relations Law of

the United States (Revised) (Tent. Draft No. 2,

FADED ccccesocsnnnciksindtbiinnwesitstdettaietctlateslideesshdhatinbuenoiamasasiiabae: dias

Weber, The Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act of

1976: Its Origin, Meaning and Effect, 3 Yale

Studies in World Public Order 14 (1976) ou...

Page

8,10

2,3

2,3

passim

15

vl

MISCELLANY

Letter from Jack B. Tate, Acting Legal Advisor, U.S.

Dep’t of State, 26 Dep’t of State Bulletin 984

(1952), reprinted in Jurisdiction of U.S. Courts in

Suits Against Foreign States: Hearings on H.R.

11315 Before the Subcomm. on Admin. Law and

Governmental Relations of the House Comm. on the

Judiciary, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 54 (1976)

U.S. Const. amend. V

SOTO EEE EEEE EEE EEE EEE EE EEE SEES EEEEEEES

Page

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

No. 84-992

ASOCIACION DE RECLAMANTES, AMINTA ZARATE, LUIS RIOJAS,

FELIPA FLORES BENAVIDEZ, MARIA AGUIRRE DE SCHULTZ,

NIEVES GUERRERO CHAPA, SANTOS ZARATE PRIETO,

Petitioners,

Vv.

THE UNITED MEXICAN STATES,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED MEXICAN STATES

IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals,

Asociacion de Reclamantes v. The United Mexican States, is

reported at 735 F.2d 1517 (D.C. Cir. 1984) and reproduced in

Petitioners’ Appendix (“‘Pet. App.”) at pages la-l5a. The

opinion of the United States District Court for the District of

Columbia is reported at 561 F. Supp. 1190 (D.D.C. 1983) and

reproduced in Petitioners’ Appendix at pages 17a-38a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on June

5, 1984. A petition for rehearing was denied on August 28,

1984. On January 2, 1985. the time within which Respondent

2

was permitted to file its bnef in opposition to the petition for a

writ of certiorari was extended to and including February 20,

1985. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1)( 1982).

STATUTE INVOLVED

The petition involves the Foreign Sovereign Immunities

Act (“FSIA”), 28 U.S.C. §§ 1330, 1602-1611 (1982). Rele-

vant portions of this statute are reproduced in Appendix A to

this Brief.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Historical Background

Prior to 1848, both Mexico and Spain made grants of land

located in what is now Texas. in subsequent years, many of the

grantees, their heirs and descendants were driven off their land

illegally. On September 8, 1923, the United States and Mex-

ico entered into a Treaty on General Claims, Sept. 8, 1923,

United States-Mexico, 43 Stat. 1730, T.S. No. 678 (the “1923

Treaty”). That treaty established a general claims commission,

to which each nation was to submit, for adjudication, any

claims of its citizens against the other country. 1923 Treaty, art.

I. Mexico filed claims with, and sought redress from, this

commission, on behalf of those grantees who had lost their

land.

Protracted delays prompted the United States and Mexico

to enter into another agreement on the settlement of claims.

Protocol Relative to General Claims, Apr. 24, 1934, United

States-Mexico, 49 Stat. 3531, E.A.S. No. 57 (the “1934 Proto-

col”). Pursuant to that agreement, the United States and

Mexico agreed “to effect a more expeditious and more econom-

ical disposition of the claims either by means of an en bloc

settlement or a more simplified method of adjudication.” 1934

Protocol, 49 Stat. at 3532.

3

The general claims commission set up by the 1923 Treaty

and extended by the 1934 Protocol failed to resolve any of the

claims submitted by Mexico on behalf of the grantees, and its

authority to hear claims expired in 1936. Thereafter, negotia-

tions between the two sovereigns were resumed and Mexico

resubmitted the claims for diplomatic settlement. The negotia-

tions culminated in the Treaty on Final Settlement of Certain

Claims, Nov. 19, 1941, United States-Mexico, 56 Stat. 1347,

T.S. No. 980 (the “1941 Treaty”). By the terms of this Treaty,

Mexico agreed to pay $40 million in full settlement, liquidation

and satisfaction of the unadjudicated claims previously filed by

both countries with the general claims commission. Both

countries agreed to “reciprocally cancel, renounce, and hereby

declare satisfied all claims, of whatsoever nature, of nationals of

each country against the Government of the other.” 194]

Treaty, art. III.

The 1941 Treaty was not self-executing and required that

both countries enact legislation prior to the settlement of any

claims. In 1942, the U.S. Congress enacted legislation setting

up a Mexican-American Claims Commission to provide for the

settlement of claims held by U.S. nationals and espoused by the

United States in the treaty negotiations. Settlement of Mexican

Claims Act of 1942, Pub. L. No. 814, 56 Stat. 1058 (1942).

Concurrently with Mexico’s payments to the United States

for the benefit of claims held by U.S. nationals, the President of

Mexico issued a decree stating:

Whereas it is the duty of the Government to tend

to said claims of our nationals in order to satisfy them

in accordance with the role they played in the

recently concluded Convention with our neighbor

country to the North and in accordance with the rules

ex aequo et bono; as already manifested pubiicly in

the Bulletins and official declarations made as a result

of the signing of the aforementioned Convention

regarding the claims.

4

Whereas the claims [against the United States

that were settled by the 1941 Treaty] referred to

have lost their international character, and have

become internal responsibilities of our government...

as only one of our many domestic pecuniary responsi-

bilities.

Whereas it is necessary to have a law enacted by

the honorable Congress of the Union indicating the

appropriate procedure for evaluating the claims

referred to in this Decree, to judge them and to

ascribe to them the compensation to which they are

entitled ....

... | have found it proper to order the following:

Decree

I. The Secretariat of Finance shall immediately

proceed to study and prepare a draft legislative

initiative, which shall be submitted to the honorable

Congress of the Union, for the settlement, valuation,

and payment of the Mexican claims presented to the

extinct General Claims Commission... .

Decree of President Manuel Avila Camacho, 129 Diario Oficial

§5 (Dec. 31, 1941) [translation from Spanish] (emphasis

added). While legislation necessary to establish a mechanism

to adjudicate and pay the claims has not yet been submitted to

the Mexican Congress, access to the Mexican courts remains

available to Petitioners for the pursuit of their claims. Mex.

Const. art. XVIL

The Complaint

Petitioners allege that they are descendants, heirs, and

successors of the original grantees from Spain and Mexico of

5

land in Texas, whose land was taken illegally. Pet. App. at

50a. Alleging jurisdiction under the FSIA, Petitioners filed suit

in the United States District Court for the District of Columbia.

In their complaint, they sought the value of their predecessors’

claims, alleged to be at least $193 million in 1941, plus interest.

Petitioners also sought money damages to be paid into a fund,

“the distribution of which shall be supervised by the court

under an appropriate procedure to be determined.” Pet. App.

at 7la.

The Decisions Below

In granting Mexico’s motion to dismiss, the District Court

rejected Petitioners’ contention that their allegations state a case

in which “rights in immovable property situated in the United

States are in issue” under § 1605(a)(4) of the FSIA, finding

instead that the claims concerned “intangible property rights

created through the diplomatic process.” Pet. App. at 29a. The

District Court also rejected Petitioners’ argument that the fact

that legislation necessary to establish a mechanism to adjudi-

cate and pay claims has not yet been submitted to the Mexican

Congress amounted to tortious conduct within the meaning of

§ 1605(a)(5) of the FSIA. Accordingly, the District Court

held that, as a sovereign foreign state, Mexico was immune

from jurisdiction, and, in addition, that the Act of State doctrine

would prohibit adjudication on the merits even if jurisdiction

had existed. Jd. at 37a.

The Court of Appeals affirmed the District Court's dis-

missal, holding that neither the “rights in immovable property”

nor the “tortious act” exception of the FSIA was applicable. /d.

at 13a. The Court of Appeals held that Congress, in enacting

the FSIA, intended to codify “the preexisting real property

exception to sovereign immunity recognized by international

practice,” id. at 7a, which was limited to disputes “directly

implicating property interests or rights to possession.” Jd. at 9a.

The Court of Appeals also declined to find jurisdiction under

the “tortious act” exception to the FSIA, ruling that Mexico’s

conduct lacked the required nexus with the United States, id. at

14a, and declined to reach the Act of State question.

6

ARGUMENT

The Court of Appeals’ well-reasoned opinion is correct,

does not conflict with any decision of this Court or of any court

of appeals, and does not present any issue warranting review.

The only issue before the Court of Appeals was whether United

States courts have subject matter jurisdiction under the Foreign

Sovereign Immunities Act over claims like Petitioners’. The

Court of Appeals’ carefully circumscribed construction of the

FSIA’s “immovable property” exception to foreign sovereign

immunity is wholly consistent with the plain language, purpose

and legislative history of the FSIA, and its application of that

construction to the facts of this case is correct.

Bachman v. Lawson, 109 U.S. 659 (1884), and Comegys

v. Vasse, 26 U.S. (1 Pet.) 193 (1828), on which Petitioners

principally rely, are irrelevant to this case. Neither case holds

or even implies that Petitioners’ claims ever constituted rights in

“immovable property” within the meaning of the FSIA, much

less that they have that character today.

Petitioners’ assertion that this case involves a “taking” by

the United States in violation of the Fifth Amendment to the

U.S. Constitution is equally irrelevant to a case in which Mexico

is the sole defendant.

I THE COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY CON-

CLUDED THAT THE FOREIGN SOVEREIGN IMMU-

NITIES ACT’S “IMMOVABLE PROPERTY” EX-

CEPTION DOES NOT ‘PLY TO PETITIONERS’

CLAIMS.

This Court has never interpreted the “immovable proper-

ty” exception to the FSIA. Nor had any federal court of

appeals done so prior to the decision below.

The decisions of this Court teach that statutory inter-

pretation must begin with the language employed by Congress

and the assumption that the ordinary meaning accurately

expresses the legislative purpose. See, e.g., American Tobacco

Co. v. Patterson, 456 U.S. 63, 65 (1982). In interpreting the

words of a statute, a court has an “obligation to honor the clear

meaning of a statute, as revealed by its language, purpose, and

history.” Teamsters v. Daniel, 439 U.S. 551. 566 n.20 (1979).

-

A. The Court of Appeals Construed and Applied the

“Immovable Property” Exception Consistently With

Its Plain Language, Legislative History and Purpose.

1. Plain Language, Legislative History and Purpose

Petitioners argue that there is federal court jurisdiction in

this case because of the exception to the general rule of

sovereign immunity for cases “in which... rights in immov-

able property situated in the United States are in issue.” 28

U.S.C. § 1605(a)(4). Their argument, however, depends upon

a reading of the exception that was correctly found by the Court

of Appeals to be impermissibly expansive and unsupported by

the FSIA’s legislative history and purpose.

The Court of Appeals, in construing the exception as

inapplicable to Petitioners’ claims, looked first to the language,

and found its meaning to be far from plain:

[T]jhe term “rights in immovable property” is an

imprecise one, susceptible of as many different mean-

ings as there are areas of law for which that charac-

terization of an interest may be relevant.

Pet. App. at 7a.!

The Court of Appeals then proceeded, as this Court has

advised, to interpret the statutory language in light of its

“reading of the legislative history and [its] understanding of

the purpose” of the FSIA. Jd. The purpose of the Act, it found,

was

to codify the so-called “restrictive” principle of sover-

eign immunity, under which foreign sovereigns are

accorded immunity with regard to their sovereign or

public acts (actiones jure imperii), but not with

' Those who have treated the exception’s meaning as self-evident have

interpreted it, as did the Court of Appeals below at the end of the day, as

limited to actions affecting ownership interests in, or nghts to possession of,

real property. See, ¢.g., 7B J. Moore, M. Waxner, H. Fink, D. Epstein & G.

Grotheer. Jr.. Moore’s Federal Practice § 1605 at JC-800.9 (2d ed. 1984):

Boyd. Litigation Against Foreign Governments, Litig., Fall 1981, at 14, 16.

8

respect to their commercial acts (actiones jure ges-

tionis), and in addition to withhold immunity for

certain narrowly defined public acts for which local

adjudication was deemed imperative (e.g., traffic

accidents caused by employees and officials of a

foreign embassy ).

Pet. App. at 4a, citing H.R. Rep. No. 1487, 94th Cong., 2d Sess.

7, 20-21, reprinted in 1976 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 6604,

6619-20 (hereinafter cited as ““House Report”). In particular,

the purpose of the “immovable property” exception, one of

those exceptions for “narrowly defined public acts for which

local adjudication was deemed imperative,” was explicitly

declared by Congress to be

to codify, with minor exceptions not relevant here,

the pre-existing real property exception to sovereign

immunity, recognized by international practice.

Pet. App. at 7a, citing House Report at 20, referring to Letter

from Jack B. Tate, Acting Legal Advisor, U.S. Dep’t of State,

26 Dep’t of State Bulletin 984 (1952), reprinted in Jurisdiction

of U.S. Courts in Suits Against Foreign States: Hearings on

H.R. 11315 Before the Subcomm. on Administrative Law and

Governmental Relations of the House Comm. on the Judiciary,

94th Cong., 2d Sess. 54-55 (1976).

2. The Meaning of the “Immovable Property” Ex-

ception

9. 665

Having concluded that the purpose of the FSIA’s “immov-

able property” exception was to codify preexisting “inter-

national practice,” the Court of Appeals turned to that practice

and found that it

declined to extend the immunity of a foreign sover-

eign to “an action to obtain possession of or establish

a property interest in immovable property located in

the territory of the state exercising jurisdiction.”

9

Id. at 7a, quoting Restatement (Second ) of Foreign Relations

Law of the United States § 68(d)(1965) and Restatement

(Second) of Foreign Relations Law of the United States

(Revised) § 455(1)(c) and comment b (Tent. Draft No. 2,

1981) (emphasis added). The Court of Appeals therefore

concluded that the “immovable property” exception codifying

that practice “is limited to disputes directly implicating [real ]

property interests or rights to possession,” Pet. App. at 9a—in

other words, to disputes whose resolution would “affect proper-

ty interests in, or rights to possession of, land located in the

United States.” Jd. at 13a.2

Because Congress intended the FSIA to codify the pre-

existing U.S. foreign relations law with respect to the “immov-

able property” exception, the Court of Appeals’ determination

of the scope of that exception by reference to U.S. foreign

relations law was logical and necessary. See Weber, The

Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act of 1976: Its Origin, Meaning

and Effect, 3 Yale Studies in World Public Order 14, 15 (1976)

(courts are expected to interpret FSIA in light of pre-FSIA

practice). Other courts have done likewise when faced with the

necessity of construing the FSIA. See McKeel v. Islamic

Republic of Iran, 722 F.2d 582, 587 (9th Cir. 1983), cert.

denied, 105 S. Ct. 243 (1984); Texas Trading & Milling Corp. v.

Federal Republic of Nigeria, 647 F.2d 300, 310 (2d Cir. 1981),

cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1148 (1982); see also Crawford, Execu-

tion of Judgments and Foreign Sovereign Immunity, 75 Am. J.

Int’l L. 820, 852 (1981). Any other source of meaning is less

faithful to the congressional purpose and thus inherently less

reliable.

2 The lower courts that have discussed the “immovable property” ex-

ception have viewed it as encompassing only actions establishing ownership

or possessory rights in real estate. See In re Rio Grande Transport, Inc., 5\6

F. Supp. 1155, 1160 (S.D.N.Y. 1981) (“The legislative history of

§ 1605(a)(4) unequivocally indicates that immovable property refers only to

real estat-”); 2 Tudor City Place Associates v. Libyan Arab Republic Mission

to the U.N., 121 Misc. 2d 945, 470 N.Y.S.2d 30! (N.Y. Civ. Ct. 1983)

(motion to vacate default judgment of possession); County Board v. German

Democratic Republic, No. 78-293-A (E.D. Va. Sept. 6, 1978), reprinted in 17

Int'l Legal Materials 1404-06 (1978) (amendment of complaint to seek tax

lien allowing the plaintiff to sell real estate stated case within exception).

10

Petitioners’ contention that the scope of the “immovable

property” exception is far more expansive, embracing not only

“disputes directly implicating property interests or rights to

possession” but also their claims, which they describe as

“emanating from” and “deriving from” real property, is not

supported by legislative history. The only item of legislative

history cited by Petitioners in support of their interpretation is

Congress’ inclusion of “rent . . . and similar matters” in its

enumeration of matters that local states have traditionally had

the right to adjudicate. As the Court of Appeals noted,

however, the mention of rent in no way implies that Congress

intended to expand the traditional real estate exception to

include claims like Petitioners’. Pet. App. at 9a n.5, discussing

House Report at 20. Actions for rent frequently, if not always,

“call into question either ownership or possessory rights.” Jd.

Petitioners’ contention that the Court of Appeals should

have ignored U.S. foreign relations law in favor of state law as

a guide to the “immovable property” exception’s meaning is

equally unpersuasive. It is absurd to suggest that, in order to

e| minate inconsistencies in immunity determinations by the

Department of State, Congress enacted a federal law whose

meaning was to be furnished by the various laws of the fifty

states. See House Report at 7. Moreover, as the Court of

Appeals noted, the term “rights in immovable property” is

defined differently in different jurisdictions for different pur-

poses. Pet. App. at 7a. Petitioners’ ransacking of those laws

inevitably results in what the Court of Appeals aptly termed

“an artificial consensus definition,” rather than a reliable

indicator of congressional intent. Jd3

3 Even if state law were somehow relevant to the interpretation of the

FSIA’s “immovable property” exception, it would not expand that exception

SO as t© encompass Petitioners’ claims. That compensation awarded for the

compulsory conversion of real estate may be treated, for some purposes and

for some period of time, as real estate, see Petition at 24, is irrelevant. A

compensation func Joes not constitute “immovable property” for the pur-

poses of the FSIA. In re Rio Grande Transport, Inc., 516 F. Supp. 1155, 1160

(footnote continues)

WAV Ne a RCI

ny

11

Petitioners’ contention that resolution of their claims, even

if it will have no effect on the actual ownership of U.S. land,

will require determination of “the title of Petitioners’ ancestors

as well as Petitioners’ inheritance nghts” and thus “rights in

immovable property” will be “in issue” for purposes of the

FSIA, Pet. at 28, is also unpersuasive. The Court of Appeals

correctly determined that “rights in immovable property” for

the purposes of the FSIA are rights the exercise of which would

“affect property interests in, or nghts to possession of, land.”

Pet. App. at 13a. It also determined that “[n]Jeither the title to,

nor the use of the Texas lands can conceivably be affected by

the outcome of this suit” Jd. at lla. Since determination of

ancestral title rights and inheritance rights would not affect

property interests or give rise to rights of possession, those

rights are not “rights in immovable property” within the

meaning of the FSIA, even if consideration of such issues would

be necessary to a resolution of Petitioners’ claims.4

(footnote continued)

(S.D.N.Y. 1981) (disaster liability compensation fund not FSIA “immovable

property”). Furthermore, claims like Petitioners’ are not “nghts in immov-

able property” under civil law. Actions, like Petitioners’, that cannot directly

affect real property, do not “assert an interest in immovable property.” See

Hawthorne Oil and Gas Corp. v. Continental Oil Co., 377 So.2d 285 (Sup. Ct.

La. 1979) (applying La. venue statute). Mexican law excludes funds owed as

the result of a disposition of a claim in real property from the definition of the

term “immovable.” See Directo 558-61/2, Fortino Lopez Cuevas y Coags., 3rd

Chamber, Supreme Court of Justice, 1965 Rep. at 15.

4 The Court of Appeals’ reading of the “immovable property” exception is

also supported by reference to the execution immunity section, 28 U.S.C.

§ 1610(a)(4)(B). The “immovable property” exception to jurisdictional

immunity, like all other FSIA provisions, exists not in isolation but as a part of

a comprehensive statute that must be read as a whole. Therefore, it must be

interpreted consistently with the FSIA’s exception to general immunity from

attachment and execution upon a foreign state’s property in the United States

where “the execution relates to a judgment establishing rights in property . . .

which is immovable and situated in the United States” 28 U.S.C.

§ 1610(a)(4)(B) (emphasis added). Although the language is somewhat

different, there is no reason to suppose that Congress was attempting to create

shades of difference between the two sections of the statute, or that the two

sections should be read differently.

(footnote continues)

12

3. Application of the “Immovable Property” Ex-

ception

Having established that “rights in immovable property

are, for the purposes of the FSIA’s narrow exception to foreign

sovereign immunity, limited to property interests or nghts to

possession, the Court of Appeals properly turned to the precise

nature of Petitioners’ claims. Pet. App. at 10a-13a. The Court

found that those claims are not

property interests in real estate, such as a leasehold,

easement or servitude, nor possessory rights, nor even

rights to payment of money secured by an interest in

land. Neither the title to, nor the use of the Texas

lands can conceivably be affected by the outcome of

this suit.

Id. at lla. For that reason, the Court of Appeals held that

Petitioners’ claims are outside the scope of the “immovable

property” exception. Id.

Petitioners advance no argument, nor any evidence from

which it can be inferred, that title to, or the possession or use of,

U.S. land will be affected by any outcome of this suit. In the

absence of any basis for characterizing Petitioners’ claims as

ones affecting title, possession or use, the Court of Appeals

correctly concluded that those claims were outside the FSIA.

The FSIA provides the sole basis for subject matter

jurisdiction over suits against foreign states. Verlinden B.V. v.

Central Bank of Nigeria, 461 U.S. 480 (1983).5 Since neither

the “immovable property” nor any other statutory exception to

(footnote continued)

By construing the “in issue” language of the FSIA’s “immovable

property” exception to jurisdictional immunity congruently with the “estab-

lishing rights in” language of the FSIA’s “immovable property” exception to

execution immunity, the Court of Appeals acted in accord with Congress’

intent.

5 See also Ruggiero v. Compania Peruana de Vapores, 639 F.2d 872, 875-

76 (2d Cir. 1981) (Friendly, J.): see also Rex v. Cia. Pervana de Vapores,

S.A., 660 F.2d 61 (3d Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 456 U.S. 926 (1982); Williams

v. Shipping Corp. of India, 653 F.2d 875, 877-81 (4th Cir. 1981). cert. denied,

455 U.S. 982 (1982).

Se ee

13

sovereign immunity applies here, the Court of Appeals properly

found that Petitioners are barred from raising their claims

against Mexico in any United States court.

B. The Court of Appeals Correctly Concluded That the

Comegys and Bachman Cases Do Not Bring Peti-

tioners’ Claims Within the “Immovable Property”

Exception.

Contrary to Petitioners’ assertion, the decision of the Court

of Appeals that Petitioners’ claims do not involve rights in

immovable property within the meaning of the FSIA does not

conflict with any “longstanding rule” established by Comegys v.

Vasse, 26 U.S. (1 Pet.) 193 (1828), or Bachman v. Lawson, 109

U.S. 659 (1884). Comegys and Bachman did not hold that

claims like Petitioners’ involve rights in immovable property.

Nor did they imply or suggest such a thing. In fact, neither

Comegys nor Bachman involved immovable property at all.

Both involved claims arising from the capture of ships and their

cargoes belonging to U‘S. citizens.

Comegys involved a claim that had already been adjudi-

cated by an international claims commission and found to be

meritorious. The only issue was the ownership of that claim

between two private parties (specifically, an assignee in bank-

ruptcy and the bankrupt). In determining which of the parties

owned the claim, this Court considered whether “an in-

demnification for unjust captures is to be deemed ... as in the

nature of a donation, as contrasted with right,” 26 U.S. (1 Pet.)

at 217, and found that, under the Treaty of 1819 with Spain, it

was a right. Because the question was not before it, however,

this Court did not classify that nght.6 Comegys thus has no

bearing on whether Petitioners’ alleged claims are rights in

immovable property within the meaning of the FSIA.

6 To the extent the Court’s language in Comegys expressed a view as to the

nature of the right in issue there, it contradicted Petitioners’ contention. The

Court speaks in terms of “indemnification” and “an existing mght to

compensation,” 26 U.S. (1 Pet.) at 217, not of a mght for recovery that would

constitute a right “in” property, whether movable or immovable.

14

Bachman is of even less relevance. In that case, plaintiffs

sued to collect a fee pursuant to a written agreement that

promised them “‘a compensation equal to twenty-five per cent.

of whatever sum shall be collected” on a claim for com-

pensation for a captured ship, in return for their best efforts to

collect on the claim. 109 U.S. at 660. Subsequent to the

agreement, the defendants independently pursued their rights

with respect to the claim before a tribunal established by the

Treaty of Washington. Rejecting defendants’ argument that

their claim (and thus their obligation to pay plaintiffs) had

been extinguished by that Treaty, this Court held that defend-

ants’ claim before the tribunal was the same claim con-

templated by their agreement with plaintiffs. 109 U.S. at 662.

However, it never held that the right in issue had the same

character it had before submission of the claim to the tribunal,

and never characterized the right as one in property. Thus this

Court has in no way implied that Petitioners’ claims maintain

any character they may once have had as “‘nghts in immovable

property” despite the operation of the 1941 Treaty.

Petitioners’ ultimate conclusion, on the basis of their

reading of Comegys and Bachman, is that, “[a]s an essential

incident of ownership, Petitioners’ families were entitled to be

compensated for any wrongful taking of their land, a mght

neither created nor extinguished by the 1941 Treaty.” Pet. App.

at 16. This proposition is completely irrelevant to the issue of

whether this case is one in which rights in immovable property

within the United States are in issue. Even if such an

“entitle[ ment] to compensa[tion]” exists, thai fact does not

bring it within the FSIA’s “immovable property” exception. To

the contrary, the legislative history and purpose conclusively

demonstrate that such an “entitlement” would be outside the

FSIA.

Moreover, Petitioners’ ultimate conclusion is incorrect.

The 1941 Treaty expressly undertakes to cancel, renounce and

satisfy claims deriving from any such taking. 1941 Treaty, art.

III. This Court has long held that, by espousing a claim of its

national for injuries inflicted by a foreign government, the

Death

15

espousing government makes the claim its own. United States

ex rel. Boynton v. Blaine, 139 U.S. 306, 323 (1890); see also La

Abra Silver Mining Co. v. United States, 175 U.S. 423 (1899);

United States ex rel. Angarica v. Bayard, 127 U.S. 251 (1888);

Great Western Insurance Co. v. United States, 112 U.S. 193

(1884); and Frelinghuysen v. United States ex rel. Key, 110 US.

63 (1882). The espousing government may therefore do with

an espoused claim as it wishes. Williams ». Heard, 140 US.

529 (1890); Frelinghuysen v. United States ex rel. Key, 110 U.S.

at 63; Phelps v. McDonald, 99 U.S. 298 (1878); Frevall v.

Bache, 39 U.S. 95 (1840); The Caldera Cases, 15 Ct. Cl. 546

(1879).

International law likewise provides that:

The government is the sole judge of what claims it

will enforce, and of the manner, time, means and

extent of enforcement. It may refuse to present a

claim at all. After espousal of a claim, the govern-

ment may abandon it, submit it to arbitration or

make any other disposition thereof which it deems

expedient in the public interest, e.g., the government

may compromise it, or release it, without com-

pensation or for a consideration of benefit to the

general public.

E. Borchard, The Diplomatic Protection of Citizens Abroad 366

(1915). See also 6 J. Moore, A Digest of International Law,

1012-27 (1906); L. Henkin, Foreign Affairs and the Con-

Stitution 262-63 (1972); Restatement (Second) of Foreign

Relations Laws of the United States at §§ 212, 213; R. Lillich,

International Claims: Their Adjudication By National Commis-

sions 103 (1962). For this reason, the Court of Appeals

correctly concluded in this case that the claims of Petitioners’

predecessors were, vis-a-vis the United States and Mexico,

“extinguished by the 1941 Treaty.” Pet. App. at 12a.

16

Il. THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS

RAISES NO CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUE.

Contrary to Petitioners’ contention, the Court of Appeals’

reading of the 1941 Treaty does not require this Court to

determine whether, in entering into that Treaty, the United

States committed a “taking” for which compensation should be

provided under the Fifth Amendment. Pet. at 18, 19. The

Court of Appeals did not reach that issue. See Pet. App. at I5a

(Edwards, J., concurring). To reach out to that issue in this

action, to which the United States is not a party, would be both

unnecessary and inappropriate. If Petitioners ever sought to

sue the United States in the Court of Claims, it would be soon

enough for that court to reach that issue. Whether Petitioners

can bring such a suit has nothing to do with this case.

CONCLUDING STATEMENT

The Court of Appeals decisively held that the “immovable

property” exception to the FSIA did not apply to Petitioners’

claims. While the Petition has narrowed the focus of this case

to that issue alone, the United Mexican States mevertheless

wishes to bring to this Court’s attention several matters of

special importance.

Retroactivity

The FSIA, enacted in 1976, codifies the principle of

restrictive sovereign immunity, under which a foreign state is

immune from the jurisdiction of U.S. courts except in rare cases

with respect to its commercial and private acts—a principle that

had been adopted by the Department of State as a matter of

practice in 1952. Prior to that time, foreign sovereign states

were absolutely immune from suit in U.S. courts.

To the extent the FSIA has changed the rule of absolute

immunity, it has done so only prospectively. Neither the

language nor the legislative history reveals any “unequivocal

and inflexible intent,” De Rodulfa v. United States, 461 F.2d

17

1240, 1247 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 949 (1972),

quoting Greene v. United States, 376 U.S. 149 (1964), that the

legislation be retroactively applied. In the absence of that

intent, to modify the immunity to which Mexico would have

been entitled in 1941 and to apply the FSIA retroactively to

claims that allegedly arose at least 35 years prior to its

enactment would be an unfortunate and an unfair result.

Act of State Doctrine

The modern touchstone of the Act of State Doctrine is

judicial deference to the primacy of the executive branch in the

conduct of foreign policy. Alfred Dunhill of London, Inc. v.

Republic of Cuba, 425 U.S. 682 (1976); Banco Nacional de

Cuba v. Sabbatino, 376 U.S. 398 (1964). The essence of the

doctrine is that courts, looking to the nature of a dispute and the

international sensitivity of its issues, should avoid a result that

unduly challenges the sovereign authority of a foreign state’s

government.

It is difficult to envision circumsiances more sensitive or

closely related to official policy of the United Mexican States

than those presented in this case. Petitioners apparently seek to

use the judicial power of the United States to inquire into

numerous facets of Mexico’s exercise of its executive and

legislative prerogatives, and to force actions uniquely within the

competence of the executive and legislative branches of the

government of the United Mexican States. Any such invitation

thus to regulate the internal affairs of a foreign sovereign state

should be declined.

International Law

Any resolution of claims by Petitioners against the United

Mexican States must be governed by the 1941 Treaty, part of

the supreme law of the land under the U.S. Constitution. Any

inconsistent resolution of those claims implicates not only

United States law but international law as well. Petitioners’

attempts, through the use of the U.S. courts, to rewrite the

terms of the 1941 Treaty, or to frustrate its object or purpose, or

to reformulate the bilateral relationships between the United

States and Mexico, should be resisted.

CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of

certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN H. SHENEFIELD*

DoroTHy ASHLEY DOHERTY

D. STEPHEN MATHIAS

CarROL A. CORCORAN

MILBANK, TWEED, HapLey & McCLoy

1825 Eye Street, 6. W.

Suite 900

Washington. D.C. 20006

(202) 835-7500

Attorneys for Respondent

* Counsel of Record

February 20, 1985

la

APPENDIX A

28 U.S.C.

§ '602. Findings and declaration of purpose

The Congress finds that the determination by United

States courts of the claims of foreign states to immunity from

the jurisdiction of such courts would serve the interests of justice

and would protect the rights of both foreign states and litigants

in United States courts. Under international law, states are not

immune from the jurisdiction of foreign courts insofar as their

commercial activities are concerned, and their commercial

property may be levied upon for the satisfaction of judgments

rendered against them in connection with their commercial

activities. Claims of foreign states to immunity should hence-

forth be decided by courts of the United States and of the States

in conformity with the principles set forth in this chapter.

§ 1603. Definitions

For purposes of this chapter—

(a) A “foreign state”, except as used in section 1608

of this title, includes a political subdivision of a foreign

state or an agency or instrumentality of a foreign state as

defined in subsection (b).

(b) An “agency or instrumentality of a foreign state”

means any entity—

(1) which is a separate legal person, corporate

or otherwise, and 5

(2) which is an organ of a foreign state or

political subdivision thereof, or a majority of whose

shares or other ownership interest is owned by a

foreign state or political subdivision thereof, and

(3) which is neither a citizen of a State of the

United States as defined in section 1332(c) and (d) of

this title. nor created under the laws of any third

country.

2a

(c) The “United States” includes all territory and

waters, continental or insular, subject to the jurisdiction of

the United States.

(d) A “commercial activity” means either a regular

course of commercial conduct or a particular commercial

transaction or act. The commercial character of an activity

shall be determined by reference to the nature of the

course of conduct or particular transaction or act, rather

than by reference to its purpose.

(e) A “commercial activity carried on in the United

States by a foreign state” means commercial activity

carried on by such state and having substantial contact

with the United States.

§ 1604. Immunity of a foreign state from jurisdiction

Subject to existing international agreements to which the

United States is a party at the time of enactment of this Act a

foreign state shall be immune from the jurisdiction of the courts

of the United States and of the States except as provided in

sections 1605 to 1607 of this chapter.

§ 1605. General exceptions to the jurisdictional immunity of a

foreign state

(a) A foreign state shall not be immune from the

jurisdiction of courts of the United States or of the States in

any case—

(1) in which the foreign state has waived its

immunity either explicitly or by implication, notwith-

standing any withdrawal of the waiver which the

foreign state may purport to effect except in accord-

ance with the terms of the waiver;

(2) in which the action is based upon a com-

mercial activity carried on in the United States by the

foreign state: or upon an act performed in the United

States in connection with a commercial activity of the

foreign state elsewhere: or upon an act outside the

3a

territory of the United States in connection with a

commercial activity of the foreign state elsewhere and

that act causes a direct effect in the United States;

(3) in which rights in property taken in violation

of international law are in issue and that property or

any property exchanged for such property is present in

the United States in connection with a commercial

activity carried on in the United States by the foreign

state; or that property or any property exchanged for

such property is owned or operated by an agency or

instrumentality of the foreign state and that agency or

instrumentality is engaged in a commercial activity in

the United States;

(4) in which rights in property in the United

States acquired by succession or gift or rights in

immovable property situated in the United States are

in issue; or

(5) not otherwise encompassed in paragraph (2)

above, in which money damages are sought against a

foreign state for personal injury or death, or damage

to or loss of property, occurring in the United States

and caused by the tortious act or omission of that

foreign state or of any official or employee of that

foreign state while acting within the scope of his office

or employment; except this paragraph shall not apply

to—

(A) any claim based upon,the exercise or

performance or the failure to exercise or perform a

discretionary function regardless of whether the

discretion be abused, or

(B) any claim arising out of malicious prose-

cution, abuse of process, libel, slander, mis-

representation, deceit, or interference with contract

rights.

4a

(b) A foreign state shall not be immune from the

jurisdiction of the courts of the United ‘States in any case in

which a suit in admiralty is brought to enforce a maritime

lien against a vessel or cargo of the fforeign state, which

maritime lien is based upon a commercial activity of the

foreign state: Provided, That—

(1) notice of the suit is given by delivery of a

copy of the summons and of the complaint to the

person, or his agent, having possession of the vessel or

cargo against which the maritime lien is asserted; but

such notice shall not be deemed ito have been deliv-

ered, nor may it thereafter be dellivered, if the vessel

Or cargo is arrested pursuant to process obtained on

behalf of the party bringing the swit—unless the party

was unaware that the vessel or carigo of a foreign state

was involved, in which event the service of process of

arrest shall be deemed to constitute valid delivery of

such notice; and

(2) notice to the foreign state of the com-

mencement of suit as provided in section 1608 of this

title is initiated within ten days either of the delivery

of notice as provided in subsection (b)(1) of this

section or, in the case of a party who was unaware that

the vessel or cargo of a foreign state was involved, of

the date such party determined the existence of the

foreign state’s interest.

Whenever notice is delivered under subsection (b)(1) of this

section, the maritime lien shall thereafter be deemed to be an in

personam claim against the foreign state which at that time

owns the vessel or cargo involved: Provided, That a court may

not award judgment against the foreign state in an amount

greater than the value of the vessel or cargo upon which the

maritime lien arose, such value to be determined as of the time

notice is served under subsection (b)(1) off this section.

—

ee et

Sa

** * *

§ 1609. Immunity from attachment and execution of property

of a foreign state

Subject to existing international agreements to which the

United States is a party at the time of enactment of this Act the

property in the United States of a foreign state shall be immune

from attachment arrest and execution except as provided in

sections 1610 and 1611 of this chapter.

§ 1610. Exceptions to the immunity from attachment or

execution

(a) The property in the United States of a foreign

state, as defined in section 1603(a) of this chapter, used for

a commercial activity in the United States, shall not be

immune from attachment in aid of execution, or from

execution, upon a judgment entered by a court of the

United States or of a State after the effective date of this

Act, if—

(1) the foreign state has waived its immunity

from attachment in aid of execution or from execution

either explicitly or by implication, notwithstanding

any withdrawal of the waiver the foreign state may

purport to effect except in accordance with the terms

of the waiver, or

(2) the property is or was used for the com-

mercial activity upon which the claim is based, or

(3) the execution relates to a judgment estab-

lishing rights in property which has been taken in

violation of international law or which has been

exchanged for property taken in violation of inter-

national law, or

(4) the execution relates to a judgment estab-

lishing nghts in property—

(A) which is acquired by succession or gift.

or

6a

(B) which is immovable and situated in the

United States: Provided, That such property is not

-used for purposes of maintaining a diplomatic or

consular mission or the residence of the Chief of

such mission, or

(5) the property consists of any contractual

obligation or any proceeds from such a contractual

obligation to indemnify or hold harmless the foreign

state or its employees under a policy of automobile or

other liability or casualty insurance covering the claim

which merged into the judgment.

(b) In addition to subsection (a), any property in the

United States of an agency or instrumentality of a foreign

State engaged in commercial activity in the United States

shall not be immune from attachment in aid of execution,

or from execution, upon a judgment entered by a court of

the United States or of a State after the effective date of

this Act, if—

(1) the agency or instrumentality has waived its

immunity from attachment in aid of execution or from

execution either explicitly or implicitly, notwithstand-

ing any withdrawal of the waiver the agency or

instrumentality may purport to effect except in accord-

ance with the terms of the waiver, or

(2) the judgment relates to a claim for which the

agency or instrumentality is not immune by virtue of

section 1605(a)(2), (3), or (5), or 1605(b) of this

chapter, regardless of whether the property is or was

used for the activity upon which the claim is based.

(c) No attachment or execution referred to in subsec-

tions (a) and (b) of this section shall be permitted until

the court has ordered such attachment and execution after

having determined that a reasonable period of time has

elapsed following the entry of judgment and the giving of

any notice required under section 1608(e) of this chapter.

7a

(d) The property of a foreign state, as defined in

section 1603(a) of this chapter, used for a commercial

activity in the United States, shall not be immune from

attachment prior to the entry of judgment in any action

brought in a court of the United States or of a State, or

prior to the elapse of the period of time provided in

subsection (c) of this section, if—

(1) the foreign state has explicitly waived its

immunity from attachment prior to judgment, not-

withstanding any withdrawal of the waiver the foreign

state may purport to effect except in accordance with

the terms of the waiver, and

(2) the purpose of the attachment is to secure

satisfaction of a judgment that has been or may

ultimately be entered against the foreign state, and not

to obtain jurisdiction.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.