Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Tesfagababer v. Holder (No. 08-693)

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Co =

° ret Us

\(Y

| 08-693 Nov21 2008

No. 08-__OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

SOLOMON D. TESFAGABER,

Petitioner,

v.

MICHAEL B. MUKASEY, ATTORNEY GENERAL,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

DONALD B. AYER _ CHRISTIAN G. VERGONIS

SAMUEL ESTREICHER Counsel of Record

MEIR FEDER LAURA TUELL PARCHER

NYU LAW SCHOOL JULIET JOHNSON KARASTELEV

SUPREME COURT CLINIC JONES DAY

40 Washington Sq. 51 Louisiana Avenue, N.W.

South Washington, DC 20001

New York, NY 10012 (202) 879-3939

(212) 998-6226

November 21, 2008 Counsel for Petitioner

WILSON-EPES PRINTING Co., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D.C. 20002

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a circuit court’s decision to stay an alien’s

removal pending consideration of the alien’s petition

for review is governed by section 242(f)(2) of the

Immigration and Nationality Act, 8 U.S.C.

§ 1252(f—-which provides that no court shall “enjoin”

the removal of an alien unless the alien shows by

clear and convincing evidence that the entry or

execution of such order is prohibited as a matter of

law—as the court below and one other court of

appeals have held, or whether that determination is

instead governed by the _ traditional (and

substantially less demanding) multifactor balancing

test for stays and preliminary injunctive relief, as

eight other courts of appeal have held.

r

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The parties to the proceeding below are contained

in the caption of the case.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED ...........ccccsccsesesssseseseeeececeee. i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ..............ccseece000+- ii

TATE CFF WAT TIIOIT II oo ovees csc ecsscesccseeccessceccsesseess v

CI oc ccicssciscsccscctsdscecsececsueviasssscdsce 1

ss basen van sadbsansbdvedons 1

Fe I vvnesccoscnccssesseccsccsncecscesscesseeoscacs 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .............cccccccceccceeceeeeees 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION........ 6

I. THE FEDERAL COURTS ARE DEEPLY

DIVIDED ON THE IMPORTANT

QUESTION WHETHER SECTION 242(F)

GOVERNS THE ISSUANCE OF STAYS

_OF REMOVAL PENDING JUDICIAL

REVIEW OF BIA ORDERS ...........c.cccccceceeeeeeeees 9

II. THIS CASE IS A GOOD VEHICLE FOR

RESOLVING THE CIRCUIT SPLIT................ 13

III. RESOLUTION OF THE QUESTION

PRESENTED REQUIRES REVIEW OF

AN INTERLOCUTORY ORDER .............cccc000- 20

IV. THE COURT BELOW APPLIED THE

INCORRECT STANDARD..........cccccccccscecscessees 22

SR NEPTIPT spssunaith sale devAlAbsuonenbaaceicschcesnsbuaveiuipaaeesn 27

lV

TABLE OF CONTENTS

(Continued)

APPENDIX

Order of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit (Nov. 12, 2008)...........

Decision of the Board of Immigration Appeals

a a tihnnsea

Decision and Order of the Immigration Court

PN BG IID Stidadecckphicditadertincbntatabinniisiivasinerenens

Declaration of Solomon Tesfagaber ..................06+.

Page

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases

Alimi v. Ashcroft, 391 F.3d 888 (7th Cir. 2004)...... 14

Alretae v. Chertoff 471 F.3d 353 (2d Cir. 2006) .... 19

Amegashie v. Gonzales,

188 F. App’x 226 (4th Cir. 2006).................. 18, 20

Andretiu v. Ashcroft,

253 F.3d 477 (9th Cir. 2001)............ 11, 24, 25, 26

Arevalo v. Ashcroft, _

. 344 F.3d 1 (1st Cir. 2009)................. 11, 16, 25, 26

Barefoot v. Estelle, 463 U.S. 880 (1983) ............. 9, 21

Beyani v. INS, 271 F.3d 670 (6th Cir. 2001) .......... 11

Bell v. Cone, 543 U.S. 447 (2005).............cccceccseeeeseees 8

Borges v. Gonzales, 402 F.3d 398 (3d Cir. 2005)....20

Dada v. Mukasey, 128 S. Ct. 2307 (2008)............... 14

Davies v. INS, 10 F. App’x 223 (4th Cir. 2001)....... 18

Dorelien v. U.S. Attorney General,

317 F.3d 1314 (11th Cir. 2008) ................... soe 13

Deuglas v. Ashcroft, 374 F.3d 230 (3d Cir. 2004)...11

Gulfstream Aerospace Corp. v. Mayacamas

I I SP, FE COO ncccccsccccnnseccccscccossesees 23

Hor v. Gonzales, 400 F.3d 482

(7th Cir. BO0G).........0......2 11, 13, 15, 16, 23, 25, 26

INS v. Cardoza-Fonseca, 480 U.S. 421 (1987)........ 15

Kay v. Ashcroft, 387 F.3d 664 (7th Cir. 2004)........ 15

Kenyeres v. Ashcroft,

| 12, 13, 14

Khouzam v. Hogan, .

497 F. Supp. 2d 615 (M.D. Pa. 2007)............. vis a

LeSane v. Hall’s Security Analyst, Inc.,

239 F.3d 206 (2d Cir. 2001)....... 0. ceceeeeee 19

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(Continued)

Page

Lim v. Ashcroft, 375 F.3d 1011 (10th Cir. 2004)....11

Mohammed v. Reno,

309 F.3d 95 (2d Cir. 2002)................c0000 11, 16, 26

Nibagwire v. Gonzales,

450 F.3d 153 (4th Cir. 2006) ........................0000. 17

Santiago v. Attorney General,

216 F. App’x 232 (Sd Cir. 20077) ............ccccccccseese 18

Sembiring v. Gonzales,

499 F.3d 981 (9th Cir. 2007) ..........................008. 19

Silva-Carvalho Lopes v. Mukasey,

617 F.3d 166 Gd Cir. 2008)................................ 17

Tairova v. Gonzales,

207 F. App’x 886 (9th Cir. 2006)................0000.... 19

Testamichael v. Gonzales,

411 F.3d 169 (5th Cir. 2005)...... 11, 23, 24, 25, 26

Teshome-Gebreegziabher v. Mukasey,

528 F.3d 330 (4th Cir. 2008) .................... 7, 10, 11

Teshome-Gebreegziabher v. Mukasey,

No. 08-1060, 2008 WL 4741721

(oem Gare. Gres. So, Bae) ..........................00 7, 12, 24

UAW, Local 283 v. Scofield,

SEZ U.S. 205 (1965) .........cccscccccccecees iciieaaillicasaain 22

Weng v. U.S. Attorney General,

287 F.3d 1335 (11th Cir. 2002) .......................... 11

William v. Gonzales,

Mae te Ee CMEEE GIB, BOOT) ........000ccccscccccccscccese 14

Woldemichael v. Gonzales,

197 F. Appx 712 (Oth Cir. 2006)...............cccccscoee 15

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(Continued)

Page

Statutes

Immigration and Nationality Act

§ 106, 8 U.S.C. § 1105a(a)(8) (repealed 1996) .....9

OF RR ovina es snnsoncccnnsnosiasanhantceneonns 18

BG, BUF. 9 TG ivcsccncecccccsccsssccccess 17, 19, 20

I OF EE Os Bie cscseccscccsssnsncasecsoncsecses passim

EE ee a i, Z3

EEA apomean eaanreae 21

a icteetdsaeunarebenadeaieniene 26

Rules and Regulations

il sais deniignaiihipasniaicaiisieiliia 6

i aindlcmnmiannemenuninlias 14

a cada sas tacemlanaeen 24

SE ee aD ‘siemens 24

Other Authorities

U.S. Department of State, 2007 Country Reports

on Human Fights Practices, Ethiopia (2008)....15

OPINIONS BELOW

The order of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Fourth Circuit denying Petitioner’s request for a

stay of removal (Pet. App. 1a) is unreported. The

order of the Board of Immigration Appeals dismissing

Petitioner’s appeal (Pet. App. 2a—3a) and the decision

and order of the Immigration Court denying his

motion to reopen (Pet. App. 4a—-10a) are also

unreported.

JURISDICTION

Petitioner seeks review of an interlocutory order of

the court of appeals before entry of judgment in that

court. The order was entered on November 12, 2008.

This Court has jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

STATUTE INVOLVED

This case involves section 242 of the Immigration

and Nationality Act, 8 U.S.C. § 1252, which provides

in relevant part:

(b)(3)(B) Stay of order

Service of the petition [for review] . . . does not

stay the removal of an alien pending the court’s

decision on the petition, unless the court orders

otherwise.

© Limit on injunctive relief

(1) In general

Regardless of the nature of the action or claim or

of the identity of the party or parties bringing the

2

action, no court (other than the Supreme Court)

shall have jurisdiction or authority to enjoin or

restrain the operation of the provisions of part IV

of this subchapter, as amended by the Illegal

Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility

Act of 1996, other than with respect to the

application of such provisions to an individual

alien against whom proceedings under such part

have been initiated.

(2) Particular cases

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no

court shall enjoin the removal of any alien

pursuant to a final order under this section unless

the alien shows by clear and convincing evidence

that the entry or execution of such order is

prohibited as a matter of law.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner seeks review of the Fourth Circuit's

denial of his motion for a stay of removal pending

disposition of his petition for review of an order of the

Board of Immigration Appeals (“BIA” or “Board”).

The BIA order under review in the Fourth Circuit

denied on procedural grounds Petitioner’s motion to

reopen the remova! proceedings that resulted in an in

absentia order of his removal. Petitioner’s motion to

reopen is premised upon, inter alia, a claim that he

will be tortured if returned to Ethiopia, thus

rendering his removal illegal under the Convention

Against Torture (“CAT”), as implemented by federal

law.

3

Petitioner is an ethnic Eritrean who was born and

raised in Ethiopia. Pet. App. lla. While living in

Ethiopia from 1965 until approximately 1986,

Petitioner was persecuted and tortured by

government authorities on account of his Eritrean

ethnicity and his family’s political affiliation with the

pro-independence opposition group, the Eritrean

Liberation Front. /d. On account of these affiliations

and supposed wrongs against the ruling regime,

Petitioner was frequently detained without charges

by Ethiopian authorities. Pet. App. 12a. In one

instance, he was arrested for not participating in pro-

Ethiopian political activities, and during the ensuing

detention was whipped to such an extent that he

required hospitalization following his release. Jd. On

another occasion, he was detained in a tiny cell

without a bed for two weeks as part of a government

round up of Eritreans in retaliation for an Ethiopian

military defeat at the hands of Eritrean forces. /d.

During this detention, government officials savagely

beat Petitioner into unconsciousness. /d. Once,

Petitioner was fired upon by Ethiopian soldiers and

was fortunate to escape with his life. /d Petitioner’s

father and five siblings also suffered abuse at the

hands of the Ethiopian regime. Pet. App. lla. Asa

result of this persecution, Petitioner’s five siblings

were each granted asylum or similar status in the

United States, Canada or Italy. Jd.

In September 1986, Petitioner entered the United

States via Greece as a refugee from Ethiopia. Pet.

App. 12a—13a. While in the United States, Petitioner

attended college, worked a steady job, paid taxes on a

4

timely basis and assisted in the care of family

members. Pet. App. 13a. In 1995, Petitioner entered

an A/ford plea to charges of conspiracy to possess

cocaine with intent to distribute and was sentenced

to three years, all but 139 days of which were

suspended. Pet. App. 13a—14a. Although Petitioner

maintains his innocence, id., he was, as a result of

this conviction, detained and placed into removal

proceedings in approximately June 1999. Pet. App.

14a.

In December 1999, Petitioner appeared without

counsel in Immigration Court in Baltimore for a

removal hearing. /d. Despite being present in the

courtroom, Petitioner did not hear his case called and

was told at the end of the hearing that he had been

ordered removed in absentia. Id. At the instruction

of the Immigration Judge, Petitioner immediately

sought assistance from the clerk of the Immigration

Court. /d. The clerk helped Petitioner file a motion

to reopen, but failed to properly instruct him on

service of the motion, causing Petitioner to

mistakenly serve the Immigration Judge’s clerk

rather than counsel for the government. /d. Based

solely on this procedural defect, the court denied the

motion. Upon learning of this problem, Petitioner

diligently attempted to remedy the error by re-filing

the motion to reopen, but was told that he was not

permitted to do so. /d. Petitioner therefore believed

that his opportunity to reopen his removal

proceedings was foreclosed.

+)

Unbeknownst to Petitioner, on March 22, 2001, the

Board of Immigration Appeals overruled the

Immigration Judge’s denial of the motion to reopen

and ordered the removal proceedings reopened. Pet.

App. 7a. Neither Petitioner nor the undersigned

counsel learned of this order or the subsequent

hearing until after the filing of the motion to reopen

that is the subject of the insta. ° proceedings. See

Mot. Stay of Removal at 4 n.3.

On March 28, 2001, the Immigation Court mailed

a notice to appear for a hearing to Petitioner. Pet.

App. 7a. Notice was sent to Petitioner’s permanent

address at St. Michael’s Circle in Odenton, Maryland.

Pet. App. 2a. This address is the home of Petitioner’s

sister, with whom he maintains a residence to this

day. Pet. App. 3a, 13a. At the time the hearing

notice was sent, however, Petitioner was temporarily

absent (Pet. App. 3a) as a result of a domestic dispute

with his sister. See Mot. Stay Removal at 3—4 & n.3.

Petitioner’s sister returned the notices to the

Immigration Court Pet. App. 7a.

On June 13, 2001, the [Immigration Court held a

removal hearing in Petitioner’s case, but Petitioner

was not present due to lack of notice. /d. As a result,

the Immigration Judge ordered Petitioner removed in

absentia. Id.

In August 2007, Petitioner was taken into custody

by Immigration and Customs Enforcement. /d In

March 2008, Petitioner, still proceeding without the

assistance of counsel, unsuccessfully attempted to file

another motion to reopen. /d. Then, in June 2008,

6

the undersigned counsel was retaiied to assist

Petitioner on a pro bono basis. Counsel filed a

motion to reopen along with a motion for stay of

removal. Jd. Emphasizing that Petitioner had never

been heard on the merits, counsel sought a hearing

on, inter alia, Petitioner’s claim that his removal is

prohibited by the Convention Against Torture (““CAT”

or “Convention”), as implemented by 8 C.F.R.

§ 208.16(c)(2). Jd. In support, counsel submitted a

declaration by Petitioner that detailed his past

persecution in Ethiopia and the substantial grounds

for believing that Petitioner, as an ethnic Eritrean,

will be subjected to torture if removed to Ethiopia.

Pet. App. lla—15a.

Without holding a hearing or allowing counsel to

present evidence, the Immigration Judge denied

Petitioner’s motions as procedurally barred and (in

the alternative) on the ground that, notwithstanding

his unrebutted declaration, Petitioner had “presented

no independent evidence” in support of his CAT

claim. Pet. App. 9a—10a. Petitioner appealed to the

BIA, challenging both conclusions.

On October 1, 2008, the BIA dismissed Petitioner's

appeal of the Immigration Judge’s ruling in a one-

paragraph order. Pet. App. 2a. The Board did not

address whether Petitioner had presented sufficient

evidence in support of his CAT claim. Pet. App. 2a—

3a. Regarding the Immigration Judge’s procedural

holding, the Board acknowledged that “there is

evidence in the record to support the fact that when

the [2001] hearing notice was sent, [Petitioner]

7

temporarily was not living at [his address of record]”

and therefore did not receive the notice. Pet. App. 3a.

The Board noted, however, that “[Petitioner] does not

claim that he filed a proper notice of a new address.”

Id. The Board therefore concluded that the

Immigration Judge’s denial of the motion to reopen

on procedural grounds was proper. /d.

Petitioner filed a petition for review of the BIA’s

order with the Fourth Circuit on October 9, 2008,

along with a motion for a stay of removal pending

that court’s consideration of the petition for review.

Although Petitioner raised and preserved the issue of

the proper standard for the issuance of a stay of

removal, both parties assumed in their briefing that

the Fourth Circuit would follow its new precedent,

Teshome-Gebreegziabher, 528 F.3d 330 (4th Cir.

2008), rehg en banc denied, No. 08-1060, 2008 WL

4741721 (4th Cir. Oct. 30, 2008), and apply the

stringent standard of review set forth in section

242(f)(2) of the INA.

On November 12, 2008, a panel of the Fourth

Circuit denied Petitioner’s motion for stay of removal

pending consideration of his petition for review. Pet.

App. la. Although the court’s order did not expressly

cite section 242(f)(2), the parties (as noted) had

litigated the propriety of the stay under that section

and the government had proffered no alternative

basis for decision. In addition, the order was issued

just thirteen days after the court denied rehearing en

banc in TVeshome-Gebreegziabher. See 2008 WL

4741721, at *1. The panel in this case was keenly

8

aware of that decision, given that all three judges

had authored or joined an opinion respecting that

denial of rehearing and discussing in detail the

applicability of section 242(f)(2) to stay requests. Jd;

see also Bell v. Cone, 543 U.S. 447, 456 (2005)

(“absent an affirmative indication to the contrary,”

the Court “presume[s]” that courts follow their own

precedent).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

This case presents the question whether section

242(f)(2) of the INA supplies the standard governing

the issuance of a stay of removal pending an alien’s

petition for review of a BIA order. Section 242(f)(2)

provides that no court shall “enjoin” the removal of

an alien absent clear and convincing evidence that

removal is prohibited as a matter of law. The Fourth

Circuit (in this case and others) and the Eleventh

Circuit read the word “enjoin” in section 242(f)(2) to

encompass the issuance of a stay pending judicial

review. In contrast, eight other Circuits reject the

applicability of section 242(f)(2) to stay applications,

ard instead apply the traditional (and substantially -

less demanding) multifactor balancing test for stays

and preliminary injunctive relief.

This Court should grant the petition because the

question presented is an important and recurring one

on which the circuit courts are hopelessly divided.

Justice Kennedy has previously opined—when the

circuit split was far less pronounced than it is

today—that the question presented warrants the

Court’s review in an appropriate.case. This is such a

9

case because the Fourth Circuit’s choice of standard

likely affected the outcome of Petitioner’s request for

a stay. Moreover, as in Barefoot v. Estelle, 463 U.S.

880, 887 (1983), because the question presented

involves “the appropriate standard for granting or

denying a stay .. . pending disposition of [a case on

the merits] by a federal court of appeals,” certiorari

before the court of appeals renders final judgment is

both appropriate and necessary.

I. THE FEDERAL COURTS ARE DEEPLY

DIVIDED ON THE IMPORTANT QUESTION

WHETHER SECTION 242(F) GOVERNS THE

ISSUANCE OF STAYS OF REMOVAL

PENDING JUDICIAL REVIEW OF BIA

ORDERS

The question presented is which of two competing

standards controls a circuit court’s determination

whether to stay an alien’s removal pending

consideration of the alien’s petition for review of a

BIA order. Before 1996, most removable aliens were

entitled to automatic stays of their removal orders

pending circuit-court review of those orders. See INA

§ 106, 8 U.S.C. § 1105a(a)(3) (repealed 1996). That

changed with enactment of the Illegal Immagration

Reform and Immigrant Responsibility Act of 1996

(“IIRIRA”), which amended the INA to provide that

the filing of a petition for review with the circuit

court “does not stay the removal of {the} alien

pending the court’s decision on the petition, unless

the court orders otherwise.” INA § 242(b)(3)(B),

8 U.S.C. § 1252(b)(3)(B). Section 242(b)(3)(B) does

10

not, however, specify the standard that a court

should use in deciding whether to grant:a stay.

The United States has taken the position that a

separate provision of the INA added by the IITRIRA,

namely section 242(f), 8 U.S.C. § 1252(f), provides the

applicable standard. That subsection, entitled “Limit

on injunctive relief,” contains two subparts. The first

subpart restricts the availability of class-action and

pre-enforcement injunctions in the immigration

context by providing that “no court (other than the

Supreme Court) shall have jurisdiction or authority

to enjoin or restrain the operation of the

[immigration laws], other than with respect to the

application of such provisions to an individual alien

against whom proceedings under such part have been

initiated.” INA § 242(f)(1), 8 U.S.C. § 1252(f)(1). The

second subpart, in turn, provides a standard for

injunctions in the case of an individual against whom

enforcement proceedings have been initiated: “[NJo

court shall enjoin the removal of any alien pursuant

to a final order under this section unless the alien

shows by clear and convincing evidence that the

entry or execution of such order is prohibited as a

matter of law.” INA § 242(f)(2), 8 U.S.C. § 1252(f)(2).

With four judges dissenting from the denial of

rehearing en banc, the Fourth Circuit recently joined

the Eleventh Circuit in adopting the government’s

position and concluding that section 242(f)(2)

provides the standard for a stay pending circuit-court

review of a BIA order. See Teshome-Gebreegziabher,

528 F.3d at 332-35, rehg en banc denied, 2008 WL

il

4741721, at *1; Weng v. U.S. Att'y Gen., 287 F.3d

1335, 1336-40 (11th Cir. 2002). ‘These courts have

reasoned that “stay’ is a subset of the broader term

‘enjoin”; that “it is a ‘kind of injunction’ directed at a

judicial case or proceedings within it’; and that

section 242(f)(2) therefore applies to requests for

stays pending review. Teshome-Gebreegziabher,

528 F.3d at 333; accord Weng, 287 F.3d at 1338.

By contrast, eight circuit courts have rejected the

reasoning of the Fourth and Eleventh Circuits and

have held instead that an alien’s request for a stay is

governed by the traditional multifactor test for stays

and preliminary injunctive relief, pursuant to which

a court measures and balances the applicant’s

likelihood of success on the merits, the respective

hardships to the parties, and the public interest. See

Testamichael v. Gonzales, 411 F.3d 169, 171—76 (5th

Cir. 2005); Hor v. Gonzales, 400 F.3d 482, 483-85

(7th Cir. 2005); Douglas v. Ashcroft, 374 F.3d 230,

233-34 (3d Cir. 2004); Lim v. Ashcroft, 375 F.3d

1011, 1012 (10th Cir. 2004); Arevalo v. Ashcroft,

344 F.3d 1, 6-9 (1st Cir. 2003); Mohammed v. Reno,

309 F.3d 95, 98-100 (2d Cir. 2002); Beyani v. INS,

271 F.3d 670, 687-89 (6th Cir. 2001); Andreiu v.

Ashcroft, 253 F.3d 477, 480-83 (9th Cir. 2001) (en

banc). These courts take the position that stays and

injunctions are distinct legal concepts and that the

issuance of a stay for the duration of an alien’s

petition for review therefore does not “enjoin” the

alien’s removal within the meaning of section

242(f)(2).

12

Justice Kennedy opined on the necessity of

resolving this circuit split—at a time when just four

circuits had considered the matter—in his in-

chambers opinion in Kenyeres v. Ashcroft, 538 U.S.

1301, 1303—05 (2003). He observed then that “[t]he

courts on each side of the split have considered the

contrary opinions of their sister Circuits and have

adhered to their own expressed views.” Jd. at 1304.

Since Kenyeres, the split has only deepened, with

several of the nation’s circuit judges rendering

additional comprehensive and well-reasoned opinions

on both sides of the issue. Moreover, the Eleventh

Circuit’s ruling is no longer just an early outlier. The

Fourth Circuit’s decision to adopt the minority view

is the most recent ruling in this area, and that court,

in the face of contrary authority from eight of its

sister Circuits, firmly rejected a request to reconsider

the holding en banc. See Teshome-Gebreegziabher,

2008 WL 4741721, at *1-4 (Shedd, J., concurring in

the denial of rehearing en banc); see also id,

2008 WL 4741721, at *4-9 (Michael, J., dissenting

from the denial of rehearing en banc).

As Justice Kennedy further noted, “[t]he issue is

important” because the “opportunity to present one’s

meritorious grievances to a court’—which might be

lost if an excessively stringent standard is applied to

stay applications—“‘supports the legitimacy and

public acceptance of a _ statutory regime,”

“particularly .. . in the immigration context.” Jd. at

1305. This is especially so where, as here, “[a]pplying

a heightened burden of proof to temporary stays of

deportation will have a unique effect on a great

13

number of litigants.” Dorelien v. U.S. Att’y Gen.,

1325 (llth Cir. 2003) (Barkett, J.) (dissenting from

denial of rehearing en banc). In the Fourth and the

Eleventh Circuits, all but an infinitesimally few

number of aliens wiil be subject to removal pending

judicial review of the merits of their claims. See Hor,

400 F.3d at 483. Many of these aliens may be subject

to persecution or torture upon their removal to the

designated country. And although the INA allows

aliens to continue to litigate certain claims from

abroad, and to return to the United States if

victorious, this right “would not be worth much if the

alien has been maimed or murdered in the interim.”

Id. at 485.

Because the heightened standard of review is all

but insurmountable, and the repercussions may be

life-threatening, Justice Kennedy’s conclusion in

Kenyeres holds true today: “Given the significant

nature of the issue and the acknowledged

disagreement among the lower courts, the Court...

should examine <¢ id resolve the question in an

appropriate case.” 538 U.S. at 1305..

Il. THIS CASE IS A GOOD VEHICLE FOR

RESOLVING THE CIRCUIT SPLIT

Kenyeres was not an appropriate case for certiorari

in Justice Kennedy’s view because the alien there

was unlikely to prevail in his request for a stay under

either of the competing standards. Jd. This is an

appropriate case, by contrast, because the Fourth

Circuit’s application of section 242(f)(2) led to the

denial of a stay that would have been warranted

14

under the less demanding multifactor balancing test.

See Kenyeres, 538 U.S. at 1306-07 (“[m]y assessment

likely would be different in a case where the choice of

[the] standard applicable to a request for a stay could

influence the outcome” (emphasis added)).

For one thing, in applying section 242(f)(2), the

Fourth Circuit was prohibited from taking into

account three of the four traditional elements, each of

which strongly counsels in favor of a stay in this case.

There is no question that Petitioner will suffer

irreparable harm if he is removed to Ethiopia: he

will arguably lose all opportunity for judicial review

of the denial of his motion to reopen because once an

alien leaves the United States, “pursuant to

regulation, the motion to reopen will be deemed

withdrawn.” Dada v. Mukasey, 128 S. Ct. 2307, 2318

(2008);. accord 8 C.F.R. § 1003.2(d) (“{aJny departure

from the United States, including the deportation or

removal ofa person . . . occurring after the filing of a

motion to reopen or a motion to reconsider, sha//

constitute a withdrawal of such motion’ (emphasis

added)); see also Alimi v. Ashcroft, 391 F.3d 888, 893

(7th Cir. 2004) (alien’s loss of “all possibility of

judicial review” constitutes “irreparable injury”). But .

see William v. Gonzales, 499 F.3d 329, 334 (4th Cir.

2007) (holding 8 C.F.R. § 1003.2(d) invalid).

Even more importantly, Petitioner will likely be

tortured if returned to Ethiopia. As set forth in his

uncontroverted declaration, Pet. App. 1la—15a, when

he lived in Ethiopia, Petitioner was, because of his

ethnicity and political beliefs, the victim of arbitrary

15

arrests and detentions, beating? and attempted

murder, all perpetrated by the Ethiopian

- government. See supra pp. 2—-3.! In addition, as a

result of ongoing tensions between Ethiopia and

Eritrea, which obtained independence from Ethiopia

in 1998 after a war of almost thirty years, the

Ethiopian regime continues to engage in the unlawful

killing, beating, abuse, mistreatment, and arbitrary

arrest and detention of ethnic Eritreans. See U.S.

Dep’t of State, 2007 Country Reports on Human

Rights Practices, Ethiopia (2008). This ongoing

tension and simmering conflict between the two

nations creates a significant risk of harm for someone

like Petitioner, who will be considered an enemy to

Ethiopia’s ruling party and will be a prime target for

torture and detention. See 1d.

As courts have recognized, the physical and

psychological injuries from torture are irreparable

harms that can never be fully redressed. See INS v.

Cardoza-Fonseca, 480 U.S. 421, 449 (1987); Hor,

400 F.3d at 485. Moreover, this grievous and

irreparable harm far outweighs the “lesser ‘injury’ to

the Government” of permitting Mr. Tesfagaber, who

1 Such “personal prior detention and physical abuse at the

hands of the [government],” as well as the “physical abuse .. . of

{Petitioner’s] family members” (see Pet. App. 11a), are precisely

the kind of circumstances that “establish prima facie eligibility

under CAT.” Kay v. Ashcroft, 387 F.3d 664, 675 (7th Cir. 2004);

see also Woldemichael v. Gonzales, 197 F. App’x 712, 714 (9th

Cir. 2006) (“[djetention, beatings, and threats of death by

[Ethiopian] government officials because of his Eritrean

heritage are sufficient to establish past persecution”).

16

has lived in the United States for more than two

decades, to remain here for a few extra months

pending appeal. Mohammed v. Reno, 309 F.3d 95,

102 (2d Cir. 2002). And a stay of removal also serves

the public good of ensuring that the United States

complies with its treaty obligations and does not

inappropriately send an alien to a regime in which he

will be tortured without ever giving that alien a

single opportunity to be heard on the merits of his

CAT claim. See Khouzam v. Hogan, 497 F. Supp. 2d

615, 627 (M.D. Pa. 2007).

Just as significantly, although Petitioner was

unable (to the circuit court’s satisfaction) to

demonstrate “by clear and convincing evidence” that

his removal is “prohibited as a matter of law,”

Petitioner nevertheless can also satisfy the fourth

element of the traditional standard by demonstrating

(as shown below) a high likelihood of success on the

merits of his petition for review. There is, of course,

nothing incongruous about this situation. As several

courts have recognized, aliens with meritorious

claims will often find it difficult to satisfy the

requirements of section 242(f)(2). See, eg. Hor,

400 F.3d at 483 (“[a]s a practical matter, removal is

‘prohibited by law’ only when the person is a citizen

of the United States or holds a visa of unquestioned

validity”); Arevalo, 344 F.3d at 8 (noting that section

242(f)(2) would “require the alien to carry a burden of

proof Aigher than she would have to carry on the

merits”). This is especially so in a case like this one,

in which the alien’s principal argument is that

equitable considerations require the tolling or

17

suspension of certain procedural bars to relief. Such

equitable relief excuses strict compliance with legal

requirements; by definition, then, removal in the face

of equitable considerations is not “prohibited as a

matter of law.”

Regarding his ltkelihoed of success on the merits,

first, Petitioner is likely to succeed on his argument

that the BIA should have granted the motion to

reopen because the Petitioner lacked notice of the

hearing that resulted in the in absentia order of

removal. Binding circuit precedent holds that the

Board should grant a motion to reopen a hearing that

resulted in an in absentia removal order if the alien

can prove that he did not receive notice of the

hearing. Nibagwire v. Gonzales, 450 F.3d 153, 156

(4th Cir. 2006) (citing 8 U.S.C. § 1229a(b)(5)(C)(ii));

see also Silva-Carvalho Lopes v. Mukasey, 517 F.3d

156, 158-60 (2d Cir. 2008) (collecting cases). Here, it

is undisputed that Petitioner did not receive actual

notice of the 2001 removal hearing that resulted in

the outstanding in absentia removal order: as the

Immigration Judge found, the notices of that hearing

“were returned to the [Immigration] Court by an

individual who appear|ed] to live at” Petitioner's St.

Michael’s Circle address and who told the

Immigration Court that “she [was] not able to

contact” Petitioner. Pet. App. 7a. This individual

was Petitioner's sister, and when the notice was

mailed, Petitioner had temporarily moved from her

home, Pet. App. 3a, as the result of a domestic

dispute. See Mot. Stay Removal at 3—4 & n.3.

18

Nor is there merit to the Board’s contention that

the motion to reopen should -be denied because

titioner failed to notify the immigration authorities

that he had moved from the St. Michael’s Circle

address. As the BIA noted, Petitioner’s departure

was “temporar[y],” and he “has .. . used [that

address} since that time,” including in connection

with his 2008 application for asylum. /d. While the

INA does require “the alien . . . [to] provide the

Attorney General immediately with a written record

of any change of the alien’s address,” INA

§ 239(a)(1)(F\(ii), 8 U.S.C. § 1229(a)(1)(F)Qi), this

provision does not require notice of temporary

absences due to domestic circumstances. See

Santiago v. Att’y Gen., 216 F. App’x 232, 233-34, 236

(3d Cir. 2007) (per curiam) (alien moved from address

of record to avoid spousal abuse).

Second, even if Petitioner’s temporary move

somehow constitutes a forfeiture of his right under

the INA to a reopening for lack of notice, Petitioner is

likely to succeed on the merits of his argument that

equitable considerations nevertheless require the

BIA to reopen his removal proceedings. Courts,

including the Fourth Circuit, have held that

procedural requirements in the immigration context

should give way where “it would be unconscionable to

enforce [those requirements] against the party and

gross injustice would result.” Amegashie v. Gonzales,

188 F. App’x 226, 227 (4th Cir. 2006) (per curiam)

(internal quotation marks omitted); see also Davies v.

INS, 10 F. App’x 223, 224 (4th Cir. 2001) (per curiam)

19

(holding procedural requirements equitably tolled

given facts and circumstances of case).

As Petitioner argued in his motion for a stay,

numerous considerations warrant equitable relief

from the Act’s procedural requirements in this case.

Among these are Petitioner’s prior pro se status, see,

e.g., LeSane v. Hall’s Sec. Analyst, Inc., 239 F.3d 206,

209 (2d Cir. 2001); Sembiring v. Gonzales, 499 F.3d

981, 990 (9th Cir. 2007); the fact that Petitioner

diligentiy attempted to comply with the immigration

laws but was thwarted in his efforts to have his case

heard by the immigration court’s several errors

(supra pp. 4-5) and by his sister (supra p. 5), see, e.z.,

Alrefae v. Chertoff, 471 F.3d 353, 360 (2d Cir. 2006);

Tairova v. Gonzales, 207 F. App’x 886, 887 (9th Cir.

2006); and the fact that Petitioner has never had a

hearing on the merits of his claims even though, as

discussed above, his uncontested declaration

establishes a likelihood of torture should he be

returned to Ethiopia. Given these circumstances,

Petitioner is likely to convince the reviewing court

that the decision to remove him to Ethiopia without a

hearing would be “unconscionable” and a “gross

injustice,” Amegashie, 188 F. App’x at 227, and

therefore to exercise its equity jurisdiction to require

the BIA to excuse any procedural bars that might

stand in the way of Petitioner’s motion to reopen.

Third, these same equitable considerations also

entitle Petitioner to a reopening of his removal

proceedings pursuant to section 240(b)(5)(C)(i) of the

INA, 8 U.S.C. § 1229a(b)(5)(C)(i), which provides for

20

reopening “if the alien demonstrates that the failure

to appear was because of exceptional circumstances.”

The circumstances described above, all of which were

“beyond the control of’ Petitioner, INA § 240(e)(1),

8 U.S.C. § 1229a(e)(1), certainly qualify «as

exceptional. Moreover, although the INA requires a

motion under this subsection to be filed within 180

days after the date of the order of removal, that

procedural requirement, too, is subject to equitable

tolling. See Amegashie, 188 F. App’x at 227 (citing

cases); Borges v. Gonzales, 402 F.3d 398, 406 (3d Cir.

2005). The 180-day time limit should be equitably

tolled here for all of the reasons discussed above, and

also because Petitioner did not learn about the 2001

in absentia order until after he filed the instant

motion to reopen. See Mot. Stay Removal! at 4 n.3.

In sum, it is likely that Petitioner would have

prevailed below in his motion for a stay under the

traditional criteria by demonstrating a likelihood of

success on the merits of his petition for review,

irreparable harm if the stay were not granted, and a

‘balance of equities tilting strongly in his favor. The

Fourth Circuit’s selection of the more demanding

standard therefore likely changed the outcome below.

As a result, this case is a purticularly appropriate

vehicle for resolving the question presented.

UI. RESOLUTION OF THE QUESTION

PRESENTED REQUIRES REVIEW OF AN

INTERLOCUTORY ORDER

Although this Court does not regularly grant

certiorari to review interlocutory orders of the courts

21

_ of appeals, it plainly has jurisdiction to do so. See

28 U.S.C. §§ 1254(1) & 2101(e). Moreover, this is the

unusual case in which such review is warranted. The

very issue on which the circuits are split is the

standard for issuing that interlocutory order. And if

certiorari is not granted prior to judgment on the

merits by the court of appeals, that issue will evade

review by this Court. In every case, once a court of

appeals renders judgment on the underlying merits

of a petition for review, the question whether the

alien was entitled to an interim stay pending that

decision will have become moot.

This case is therefore identical in all relevant

respects to Barefoot v. Estelle, 463 U.S. 880 (1983).

In Barefoot, the court of appeals denied a stay of

execution pending its review of the merits of the

habeas petitioner’s appeal. The denial of the stay

itself raised substantial legal questions requiring this

Court’s review. See id. at 888-96. Accordingly, the

Court treated the petitioner’s application for a stay as

a petition for a writ of certiorari before judgment, and

granted certiorari to review “the appropriate

standard for granting or denying a stay of execution

pending disposition of an appeal by a federal court of

appeals.” Jd. at 887.2 Similarly, 11 United Auto

Workers v. Scofield, this Court granted certiorari to

2 In Barefoot, the Court simultaneously granted certiorari

before judgment on the underlying merits of the petitioner's

habeas petition. Petitioner here does not seek this Court's

_ review of the merits of the BIA’s ruling because the court of

appeals is best positioned to consider those merits issues in the

first instance.

22

review the standard governing the issuance by the

court of appeals of an interlocutory order (the denial

of a motion to intervene) and stayed further

proceedings in the court of appeals until this Court’s

completion of that review. See UAW, Local 283 v.

Scofield, 382 U.S. 205, 207 (1965).

In sum, where, as in Barefoot, Scofield, and this

case, the standard governing the issuance by the

courts of appeals of a class of interlocutory orders is

the very question at issue, the Court must, if it is to

review the question at all, grant certiorari before the

case proceeds to judgment on the merits in the court

of appeals.

IV. THE COURT BELOW APPLIED THE

INCORRECT STANDARD

For several reasons, the Fourth Circuit erred below

in interpreting section 242(f)(2) tc apply to an alien’s

motion for a stay of removal pending merits review of

an order of the BIA.

First, both history and common usage establish a

difference between injunctions, which are expressly

governed by section 242(f), and stays of judicial or

quasi-judicial proceedings. As Judge Easterbrook

has explained, the two concepts “cover different

domains”:

An “injunction” is an order issued as the relief in

independent litigation, while a “stay” is an order

integral to a system of judicial review: an appellate

court may stay a district judge’s order, or its own

mandate, or an agency's decision when the agency

23

plays the role of the district court and the initial

judicial tribunal is a court of appeals.

Hor, 400 F.3d at 484; accord Tesfamichael, 411 F.3d

at 173 (“history and usage counsel that the two words

carry: different legal meanings”). “Treating a rule

addressed to ‘injunctions’ as covering ‘stays,” Judge

Easterbrook concluded, “would impoverish the

language and make the legislative task more

difficult. Our legal vocabulary contains distinct

words for distinctive judicial actions. Keeping them

separate makes it easy to address one, both, or

neither... .” Hor, 400 F.3d at 484. Indeed, this

Court has held in another context that “[a]n order by

a federal court that relates. only to the conduct or

progress of litigation before that court ordinarily is

not considered an injunction.” Gulfstream Aerospace

Corp. v. Mayacamas Corp., 485 U.S. 271, 279 (1988).

The procedure employed by courts in connection

with the issuance of stays of removal supports this

interpretation. As Judge Michael noted:

If [the circuit court] had agreed to the petitioner’s

request, a simple stay would have done the job. It

would not have been necessary for [the court] tc

enjoin or restrain the Attorney General of the

United States (the named respondent)

individually. To turn a stay into an injunction in

these circumstances is overkill, and it depreciates

the traditional force of a simple stay, which

assumes automatic respect for our orders without

the need for formal restraint or prohibition of

individual parties.

24

Teshome-Gebreegziabher, 2008 WL 4741721, at *6

(Michael, J., dissenting}; accord Andreiu,. 253 F.3d at

483 (“injunctions run against parties; stays run

against courts and judgments’).

The distinction between stays and injunctions is

recognized in the very provisions governing the

issuance of stays by the courts of appeals. Rule 8 of

the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, entitled

“Stay or Injunction Pending Appeal,” recognizes a

“stay” and an “injunction” as two separate and

distinct legal orders, with the “stay” acting upon “the

judgment or order of a district court pending appeal.”

Fed. R. App. P. 8(a)(1)(A) & (C). And Rule 18, which

applies to petitions for review of agency decisions,

characterizes an order from the circuit court —

restraining enforcement of an agency decision or

order as a “stay.” Fed. R. App. P. 18. “It is

noteworthy,” in other words, “that rule 18 nowhere

uses the word ‘enjoin’ or ‘injunction’ but maintains

the linguistic distinction [recognized in Rule 8] by

discussing ‘stays——a peculiar procedural medium.”

Tesfamichael, 411 F.3d at 174.

The structure and language of the IIRIRA confirms

this understanding. For one thing, stays pending

appellate review are specifically addressed in section

242(b)(3)(B) of the INA, 8 U.S.C. § 1252(b)(3)(B),

which abrogates the pre-IIRIRA rule that such stays

were, in most cases, automatic. “This provision,

consequently, would have been the natural place to

locate an amendment to the operative standard

governing their issuance, but no such standard is

25

found {there].” Tesfamichael, 411 F.3d at 174. This

silence is “deafening.” Jd.; see also Andretu, 253 F.3d

at 481 (“[i]t would be quite strange to announce the

abolition of automatic stay orders in [one provision],

but announce the replacement standards in

[another]”). “{I]f Congress had wanted to break from

the routine of the past and apply a heightened

standard to stays pending appeal, it most likely

would have included such a standard in INA

§ 242(b)(3) itself.” Arevalo, 344 F.3d at 8. Indeed, if

Congress had truly intended that a court could issue

a stay only upon a showing that the order was

“prohibited as a matter of law,” there would have

been “no need” to state in section 242(b)(3)(B) that

stays are not automatic. Tesfamichael, 411 F.3d at

175-76 (internal quotation marks omitted); accord

Andreiu, 253 F.3d at 481 (noting that if section

242(f)(2) has the effect.the government claims, then

“all of [section 242(b)(3)(B)] would be reduced to

surplusage’”).

In addition, subsection (f)(1) refers to the authority

of courts, in the class-action and pre-enforcement

contexts, “to enjoin or restrain” the operation of the

immigration laws. Subsection (f)(2), by contrast, uses

only the term “enjoin,” thus evincing a congressional

recognition that injunctions do not include the entire

universe of judicial restraints. “[T]his linguistic shift

makes it appear likely that Congress intended the

words ‘enjoin’ and ‘restrain’ to have different

meanings,” for otherwise “the use of the word

‘restrain’ in subsection (f)(1) would be pointless.”

Arevalo, 344 F.3d at 7; see also Hor, 400 F.3d at 485

- 26

(“Title 8 as a whole refers to ‘stay’ 14 times .. . and

‘enjoin’ or ‘injunction’ a total of 7 times; these words

are n° treated as coterminous in any provision.”). -

Cong 3s would have understood that “the word

‘enjoin ... refer[s] to permanent injunctions and the

word ‘restrain’. . . refer[s] to temporary injunctive

relief (such as a stay),” a distinction found in the

Hobbs Act, 28 U.S.C. § 2349(a) & (b), which is

expressly incorporated in the INA. Areva/o, 344 F.3d

at 7 (citing INA § 242(a)(1)).

The practical consequences of applying section

242(f) to temporary stays pending review also counsel

against doing so. As several circuits have recognized,

“the adoption of the standard [set forth in section

242(f)} weuld render stays of deportation almost

impossible to obtain.” Tesfamichael, 411 F.3d at 173;

accord Hor, 400 F.3d at 483. Whether or not this is

an “absurd result{],” Andrezu, 253 F.3d at 482, it is at

least a peculiar one. It would, for example, “require

full-scale briefing at the beginning of the appellate

process, often before the petitioner has even received

a copy of the administrative record.” Jd. at 482. As

Judge Selya observed, applying section 242(f) to stays

would prematurely “necessitate full deliberation on

the merits of the underlying case and, in the bargain,

require the alien to carry a burden of proof Aigher

than she would have to carry on the merits.”

Arevalo, 344 F.3d at 8. The inevitable result would

be “the removal of some aliens with meritorious

claims against removal.” Mohammed, 309 F.3d at

100.

27

For all of these reasons, section 242(f)(2) is

inapplicable to requests for stays pending judicial

review of BIA orders. Accordingly, the court below

applied the incorrect standard to Petitioner’s motion

for a stay.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

DONALD B. AYER CHRISTIAN G. VERGONIS

SAMUEL ESTREICHER Counsel of Record

MEIR FEDER LAURA TUELL PARCHER

NYU LAW SCHOOL JULIET JOHNSON KARASTELEV

SUPREME COURT CLINIC JONES DAY

40 Washington Sq. 51 Louisiana Avenue, N.W.

South Washington, DC 20001

New York, NY 10012 (202) 879-3939

(212) 998-6226 ;

November 21, 2008 Counsel for Petitioner

APPENDIX

la

FILED: November 12, 2008

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 08-2118

(A0206-809-010)

SOLOMON DEBESSAY TESFAGABEFR,

Petitioner

v. a

MICHAEL B. MUKASEY, Attorney General.

Respondent

ORDER

Upon review of submissions relative to the motion

for stay pending appeal, the Court denies the motion.

Entered at the direction of Judge Shedd with the

concurrence of Chief Judge Williams and Judge

Michael.

For the Court

/s/ Patricia S. Connor, Clerk

2a

U.S. Department of Decision of the Board of

Justice Immigration Appeals

Executive Office for

Immigration Review

Falls Church, Virginia

22041

File: A026-809-010 — Baltimore, MD Date: 10/1/08

In Re: TESFAGABER, SOLOMON DEBESSAY

IN REMOVAL PROCEEDINGS

APPEAL

ON BEHALF OF RESPONDENT:

Parcher, Laura Tuell, Esquire

ORDER:

PER CURIAM. The respondent has appealed from

the Immigration Judge’s decision dated June 30,

2068. Im tmat decision, an Immigration Judge denied

tae respondent’s motion to reopen and stay removal,

because the respondent had not provided evidence

that he received inadequate notice of the June 13,

2001 hearing, which the respondent failed to attend

and which, accordingly, resulted in an in absentia

order of removal. As background, we note that the

respondent previously was ordered removed in

absentia on December 12, 1999. In a March 22, 2001,

order, we sustained the respondent’s appeal of the

Immigration Judge’s denial of his motion to reopen,

reopened proceedings, and remanded the record. On

remand, despite the proper service in March 2001 by

regular mail of a hearing notice to the respondent’s

last address of record on St. Michael’s Circle in

Odenton, Maryland, the respondent claims that he

did not receive the notice because he was not living

3a

there at the time the notice was sent. He argues he

only became aware of the June 2001 in absentia

order against him in 2007 when he was apprehended

by the Department of Homeland Security. See

Motion to Reopen at Exh. B. Although there is

evidence in the record to support the fact that when

the hearing notice was sent, the respondent

temporarily was not living at the St. Michael’s Circle

address, there is no contention that the respondent

notified the DHS or the Immigration Court of a new

sedress, as required under the terms of the Notice to

Appear. We also note that despite the contention

that the respondent was not living on St. Michael’s _

Circle in Odenton at the time of the June 2001

hearing, this address was used prior to that time in

the respondent’s pro se filings on appeal and has

been used since that time in his current (March 2008),

Application for Asylum. See Motion to Reopen at

Exh. D. Because the respondent does not claim that

he filed a proper notice of a new address (despite the

fact that the respondent’s prior in absentia order of

removal rendered him keenly aware of the dire

consequences of failing to appear), the Immigration

Judge’s denial of the motion to reopen was proper.

Accordingly, the appeal is dismissed.

/s/

FOR THE BOARD

4a

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

EXECUTIVE OFFICE FOR IMMIGRATION

REVIEW

UNITED STATES IMMIGRATION COURT

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND

IN THE MATTER OF: -

TESFAGABER, Solomon )

RESPONDENT

IN REMOVAL PROCEEDINGS)

File #: A26-809-010

CHARGE: INA § 237(a)(2)(A)(iii), as amend-

ed, in that, at any time after

admission, the Respondent has

been convicted of an aggravated

felony as defined in Section

101(a)(43)(B) of the Act, an

offense relating to the illicit

trafficking in a_ controlled

substance, as described in section

102 of the Controlled Substances

Act, including a drug trafficking

crime, as defined in section 924(c)

of Title 18, United States Code.

INA § 237(a)(2)(B)(i), as amended,

in that, at any time after ad-

mission, the Respondent was

convicted of a violation of (or a

conspiracy or attempt to violate)

APPLICATION:

ON BEHALF OF

RESPONDENT:

5a

any law or regulation of a State,

the United States, or a foreign

country relating to a controlled

substance (as defined in Section

102 of the Controlled Substances

Act, 21 U.S.C. 802), other than a

single offense involving

possession for one’s own use of 30

grams or less of marijuana.

Motion to Reopen and Stay

Deportation

APPEARANCES

ON BEHALF OF THE

DHS: |

Laura T. Parcher, Esq. Brian M. Fish, Esq.

Jones Day

Assistant Chief Counsel

51 Louisiana Ave. NW 31 Hopkins Plaza,

Washington DC 20001 7th’ Floor

Baltimore, MD 21201

6a

DECISION AND ER ON RESPONDENT'S

MOTION TO REOPEN AND MOTION TO on ‘AY

DEPORTATION

I. PROCEDURAL HISTORY

Respondent is a native and citizen of Ethiopia. He

was admitted to the United States on September 26,

1986. In 1999, Respondent was served with a Notice

to Appear (“NTA”). The NTA _ alleges that:

(1) Respondent is not a native or citizen of the United

States; (2) Respondent is a native of Ethiopia and a

citizen of Ethiopia; (3) Respondent was admitted to

the United States at New York, Now York on or

about September 26, 1986 as a refugee; (4) On

October 13, 1993, his status was adjusted to that of a

lawful permanent resident as of September 26, 1986;

(5) He was, on April 21, 1995, convicted in the Circuit

Court for Howard County, Maryland for the offense of

Possession of Cocaine, a controlled substance, in

violation of Article 27, Section 287 of the Annotated

Code of Maryland; and (6) He was, on September 21,

1995, convicted in the Circuit Court for Prince

George’s County, Maryland, for the offense of

Conspiracy to Possess Cocaine with Intent to

Distribute, in violation of the Common Law of

Maryland. As such, Respondent was charged with

removability pursuant to INA § 237(a)(2)(A)(@ii) and

INA § 237(a)(2)(B)()).

In a decision dated December 12, 1999, this Court

ordered Respondent removed for failing to timely

appear at a hearing on December 1, 1999.

Respondent appealed, asking the Board of

Immigration Appeals (“BIA”) to rescind the in

absentia order of removal. He claimed that he was

present in the courtroom and did not hear his case

Ja

being called. On March 22, 2001, the BIA ordered

the record reopened and remanded the case to this

Court based on evidence submitted by Respondent.

On March 28, 2001, Respondent was mailed

notification that a Master Calendar hearing was

scheduled for June 13,.2001. These notices were

returned to the Court by an individual who appears

to live at Respondent’s former address. She notified

the Court that he no longer lives at that address, and

that she is not able to contact him. On June 13, 2001,

Respondent failed to appear at the scheduled hearing

and was again ordered removed in absentia.

Respondent was taken into ‘custody’ by

Immigration and Customs Enforcement on August 2,

2007. In March 2008, Responded filed a Motion to

Reopen, which was rejected by this Court for failing

to comply with several Local Operating Procedures.

On June 12, 2008, Respondent filed an additional

Emergency Motion to Reopen and Motion to Stay

Deportation with this Court, as well a Form I-589

Application for Asylum and Withholding of Removal.

Respondent’s Motions also indicate that he is seeking

protection under the United Nations Convention

Against Torture (“CAT”). On June 24, 2008, the

Department of Homeland Security (“DHS”) filed its

Opposition to Respondent’s Motions.

The Court has considered these documents, as well

as all evidence submitted by both parties. The Court’s

decision and order now follow.

Il. DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE PRESENTED

Emergency Motion to Reopen and Motion to Stay

Deportation

A. Declaration of Respondent

8a

Form 1-589, Application for Asylum and

Withholding of Removal

Motion to Reopen, Returned April 8, 2008

Department of State Country Report on Ethiopia

Department of State Country Report on Eritrea

Central Intelligence Agency World Fact Book:

Eritrea

News Articles on the Ethiopian-Eritrean Con “ict

. Statements of Respondent

Reports, Circuit Court of Maryland

Application for a Stay of Deportation or Removal

Case law

. STATEMENT OF LAW AND FINDINGS OF

THE COURT

The Court has considered the entire record

carefully, and all of the evidence has been considered,

even if not specifically discussed further in this

decision. For the reasons set forth below, the Court

shall deny Respondent’s Emergency Motion to

Reopen and Motion to Stay Deportation.

Generally, only one motion to reopen may be filed

before the Immigration Court and such motion must

be tiled within 90 days of the entry of a final

administrative order of removal, deportation, or

exclusion. 8 C.F.R. § 1003.23(b)(1). The motion must

state new facts that will be proven at a hearing if the

motion is granted, and it must be supported by

affidavits and other evidentiary material. 8 C.F.R.

§ 1003.23(b)(3). A motion to reopen will not be

granted unless the Immigration Judge is satisfied

that the evidence offered is material and was not

available and could not have been discovered or

presented at the former hearing. /d.; see also Zhao v.

U.S. Dept. of Justice, 265 F.3d 83 (2d Cir. 2001)

HASH ro smo oD

9a

(stating that a motion to reopen must be supported

by new evidence; a. motion that is based upon an

error of law or fact in the original decision is treated

as a motion to reconsider). Additionally, any motion

to reopen for the purpose of applying for relief from

removal, deportation, or exclusion must be accom-

panied by the appropriate application for relief and

all supporting documents. /d. Finally, the Immi-

gration Judge has discretion to deny a motion to

reopen even if the moving party demonstrates prima

facie eligibility for relief. Jd.

Respondent’s Emergency Motion to Reopen and

Motion to Stay Deportation is denied for the following

reasons. First, Respondent was already granted the

opportunity to renew his case before this Court by the

BIA, following the first in absentia removal order.

However, Respondent again failed to appear before

the Court on June 13, 2001. Respondent also failed

to comply with his obligation to notify the Court of

any change in address, though he was informed of

this obligation in the 1999 NTA. See 8 C.F.R.

§ 1003.15(d)(2). There is no notice issue in this case.

The Court mailed the hearing notice to the address

Respondent used in his appeal to the BIA.

The Court has also considered Respondent’s

applications for . Withholding of Removal and

protection under the CAT, and_= supporting

documentation. Respondent has been present in the

United Slates since 1986, and has had ample

opportunity to present these claims. The Court notes

that 7 years passed between the issuance of the NTA

and the present Motions, during which time

Respondent never came forward with the alleged

claims for relief. Furthermore, Respondent presented

10a

no independent evidence of past persecution or

torture in either Ethiopia or Eritrea, nor has he

presented any evidence supporting a claim that he is

likely to be persecuted or tortured in either country

in the future. The Court recognizes that human

fights conditions in Ethiopia and Eritrea are

generally poor. See Exhibits D and E. However,

Respondent has not demonstrated prima facie

eligibility for relief. Finally, the aggravated felony

drug crimes Respondent was convicted of in 1999

preclude the Court from granting him either asylum

or withholding of removal, and limit the availability

of relief under CAT.2 INA § 208(b)(2)(A)(ii); 8 C.F.R

1208.13(c)(1); INA § 241(b)(8)(B) (ii).

For the aforementioned reasons, Respondent’s

Emergency Motion to Reopen and Motion to Stay

Deportation is denied.

Il. ORDER

It is hereby ordered that Respondent’s Emergency

Motion to Reopen and Motion to Stay Deportation is

DENIED.

June 30, 2008 /s/ Bruce M. Barrett

Date Bruce M. Barrett

United States Immigration Judge

Baltimore, Maryland

2 An alien who is barred from withholding under CAT but who

demonstrates that he is entitled to protection under CAT shall

be ordered removed, but his removal shall be deferred until such

time as the deferral is terminated under 8 C.F.R. § 1208.17.

lla

DECLARATION OF SOLOMON TESFAGABER

I, Solomon Tesfagaber, state as follows:

_1. JI was born on July 27, 1965 in Asmara, Eritrea in

Ethiopia.

2. I am currently being detained at the Howard

County Detention Center in Jessup Maryland.

3. I first arrived in the United States in September,

1986. I was a refugee and I arrived through

Greece. Due to the emergency nature of my _

escape from Ethiopia and Eritrea, I do not have a

valid passport. Shortly after my arrival I

adjusted my status to that of a Legal Permanent

Resident.

4. I fled Ethiopia because I had suffered persecution

at the hands of the government and I feared

future persecution. The persecution I suffered

was on account of my Eritrean ethnicity and my

actual and imputed political opinions.

5. My father was politically active and supported

Eritrean independence. He was detained

numerous times and suffered physical harm at

the hands of the Ethiopian government because

he was Eritrean and because of his political

opinions and actions.

6. My five siblings that also fled Ethiopia were also

detained numerous’ times’ and __— suffered

persecution because they are Eritrean and

because of their actual and imputed political

opinions. All five of my siblings escaped from

Ethiopia and have asylum or a similar status.

One lives in the U.S., one in Italy and the rest in

Canada.

10.

12a

While in Ethiopia and Eritrea I personally

suffered much persecution at the hands of the

Ethiopian government. I was repeatedly targeted

and detained because I am Eritrean and because

I supported Eritrean independence.

On two occasions I was detained for long periods

of time and beaten severely. On the first occasion

I was arrested. for refusing to participate in

political activities supporting the Ethiopian

government. On that occasion I was whipped so

badly that I required hospitalization. On the

second occasion I was detained solely because I

was Eritrean. The Ethiopian government had

just suffered a defeat by the Eritrean forces and

came to my town and rounded up Eritreans to

punish them. I was one of many. I was held for

approximately 14 days in a tiny cell with no bed

or room to lay down. I was beaten severely with

a stick until I lost consciousness. My mother

brought me food every morning because there

was no food in the jail. When I was released I

could barely move for weeks and required

medical treatment.

On another occasion I tried to escape Ethiopia

and was shot at by military personnel. I feared

for my life and considered myself lucky that I was

not shot. I fell to the ground and was detained

and questioned.

When I was approximately 17, I was forced to

join the Ethiopian army. I did not want to join.

But I was not given a choice. I was sent for

training to prepare to fight in Ethiopia’s defense.

I did not want to fight. So I escaped out of

Ethiopia to Greece. I was in Greece as a refugee

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

13a

for just over two years before I was finally —

admitted to the United States.

When I arrived in the United States I was

suffering from the torture, persecution, threats

and harassment I suffered in Ethiopia. I later

sought treatment for post traumatic stress

disorder because of the trauma I experienced in

Ethiopia.

While in the United States I have attended

college and worked a steady job. I have paid

taxes on a timely basis. [I also spend time with

my sister and her family who live in Maryland.

For extended periods of time I have assisted in

taking care of my sister’s children. I attend

church on a regular basis. I have worked hard to

be a contributing member to society.

In 1995 I was associated with a woman who was

using drugs and associated with others who were

buying and selling drugs. I have never used

drugs and I never participated in the purchase or

sale of drugs. On one occasion I was with her

when she attempted to sell drugs. She tried to

get me to participate, but I refused.

One of the persons she was trying to deal with

was an undercover police officer. I was arrested

at this time and charged with drug offenses. The

police officer pushed me to cooperate and assist

with his undercover operation. I tried to help,

but ultimately was too afraid of the consequences.

In 1995 1 went to court regarding criminal

charges having to do with conspiracy to

distribute cocaine. My public defender convinced

me to accept an Alford Plea, and told me I would

16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

l4a

not be pleading guilty. The result was I was

released from jail. |

I later learned that even though I did not plead

guilty, I was convicted of a felony and sentenced

to three years. But the judge suspended all but

the time I had already served, which was 139

days.

Because of this criminal conviction, the

immigration service began deportation

proceedings against me in approximately June of

1999. In December of 1999 I attended a hearing

on my deportation case. I was present in the

court room on the correct day, but I did not hear

my case called. After the judge adjourned for the

day I asked him about my case. He told me he

had ordered me removed in abstentia.

The judge then told me I could file a motion to

reopen my case. I talked to the Judge’s clerk and

she directed me to the court clerk. I then went

straight to the court clerk. She assisted me in

writing up a motion to reopen. She accepted

what I completed and stamped it. She gave me a

copy and I provided it to the Judge’s clerk. I

thought I had successfully filed my motion.

I learned later that the Court denied my motion

because I had not properly served the

government’s lawyer. I thought by giving it to

the Judge’s clerk I had done that.

I went back in April of 2000 and tried to properly

re-file my application with copies for the court

and the government. The clerk of the court told

me that I could not file another application. That

I am only permitted to file one.

21.

22.

l5a

I was picked up again by ICE on approximately

August 2, 2007 and have been in detention ever

since. In March of 2008 I attempted to file

another motion to reopen accompanied by an I-

589 seeking relief under the Convention Against

Torture and seeking Withholding of Removal.

This filing was sent back for procedural defects.

I am very afraid that I will be tortured and

persecuted if forced to return to Ethiopia. I am

not Ethiopian, I am Eritrean. I am afraid that if

forced to return to Ethiopia, the government will

- torture and persecute me both because I am

23.

Eritrean and because of my history of supporting

Eritrean independence.

I am also afraid of being returned to Eritrea. I

left and have never returned since I was 17. I

have not registered with the independent

government and I have not paid the 2% required

tax. I did not anticipate ever returning to Eritrea.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of

the United States of America that the lien is

true and correct.

Executed: June 10, 2008 /s/ Solomon Tesfagaber

Solomon Tesfagaber

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.