Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Grasso v. United States

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

me FILED

Ok -85 8 DEC 20 2004

for =

Cin G) he r

ICE GF Tk

Supreme Court of the “inited States

MICHAEL J. GRASSO, JR.,

Petitioner,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

With Appendix

Walter M. Phillips, Jr.

Counsel of Record

HOYLE, FICKLER,

HERSCHEL & MATHES

One South Broad ‘a

Suite 1500 REC

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19107

(215) 981-5700 | DEC 23 2008

tae OFFICE VF TRE CLERK

Counsel for Petitioner |_SUPREME COURT. US,

THE LEX GROUP ¢ 1108 East Main Street @ Suite 1400 Richmond, VA 23219

(804) 644-4419 @ (800) 856-4419 Fax: (804) 644-3660 ¢ www.thelexgroup.com

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

a Whether a defendant can be convicted of and

sentenced for money laundering under 18 USC. §

1956(a)(1)(A)(i) for reinvesting the proceeds of specified

unlawful activity, where the government's proof fails to

show that the money allegedly laundered represented the

proceeds, or net profits, from the unlawful activity as

opposed to gross receipts or revenue, showing instead that

they were merely ongoing business expenses.

2. Whether, in light of the this Court's decision

in Blakely v. Washington, 124 S. Ct. 2531 (2004), the

enhancement of a defendant's sentence based on the amount

of money laundered violated the defendant's Sixth

Amendment right to a jury trial where the jury did not have

to determine that the defendant had laundered the full

amounts charged in each count of the indictment in order to

find him guilty.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

OEE Pe RSEIOE 2 IR? sreeoncesceksivvssncaninstatovnevesestevevevoseneussenton i

ee ER cies iniccesinneenntisenevtninssebinsenbinrdeaiataciinitiin ii

DE TE FAR EE ClO ter cenescetitescevarecenensvictheetooniasnnontcniasnes iv

SEN ICI sasvcsnsssshinnsbekehcionsspinsesndinnnshaseguaiestinunseteiiespeainoaiadia 1

Pee BPI Naierbisciceveisiesasnesiesnesess : Seen ee:

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY, AN D

GUIDELINES PROVISIONS INVOLVED.............ccscesssesssseseeees 1

STATEMENT... siesiseslaiedipe sana elie hha diecnasaalbniociiaiiionpiianieasitiaibe 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ............ecsceeeeeee 6

A. There Is A Split In The Circuits

Regarding The Interpretation Of The

Term “Proceeds” In The Money

TANI FING ni scscsnssicsnscvscicssesenseceesssstenee 7

B. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision

Incorrectly Interpreted The Term

“Proceeds” In The Money Laundering

IT cainiinecnicsniwssnbheriosacsinlicincnipalietiiaisanivipeansiel 9

C. The Question Presented Is Of

Recurring Importance .............0rcssserscsorseseresees 15

D. The Third Circuit Should Have

Considered The Impact Of This

Court’s Decision In Blakely v.

Washington On The Constitutionality

Of Mr. Grasso’s Money Laundering

I <aisiticenscitinsnsitensicoisiiaiiit pebitauieibbniviGaiis 18

Ce NITE vescnedesislecsinaceniecieibciniinaiouiblaubinebemisipariauaeaces 19

FET OE sscvenivncseiantistiilesieiensasciauideedailieadcadciieiaiaied odes areata ia

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE(S)

CASES:

Barnes v. Cohen,

FED FAG VOOD (36 Cp, TIO sicssisinsrveniniconesiscnsivninnetivens 12

Blakely v. Washington,

TABS. GE Fae Give tenistirrcninesiiieanomaniiu 6, 18

Griffith v. Kentucky,

SFO ID, FE IIE?) wresisscacsctaisinisncseiaasvaoecinasincnpeiniataie 18

Hughen v. United States,

DF TD GEE CI cccerctesisssconcnepsacicseslatigiiiccsaiipumeanmuiias 12

United States v. 122,942 Shares of Common Stock,

847 F. Sapp. 105 (N.D. TEL T9996) .ncccsescesccoscosesenesevsnsosese 11

United States v. Akintobi,

T5D BOG GE Ge Cie. TI) ecerjuorpevcnisiannisinsgcinivncsintineninth 9

United States v. Bockius,

SAB F Sk SI (GG. CA. ZO pce sinieteninennconisialineecabibonaveion 13

United States v. Cleveland,

Crim. A. No. 96-207, 1997 WL 837707

(ED. Lin. Amite, 20s, SOT) cccoesniaisicisanictedeptncsissitietinnnins 10-11

United States v. Edgmon,

952 F.2d 1206 (10th Cir. 1991).......c-cr.secsssereserosesenes soe

United States v. Grasso,

SB1 F.Sek 160 Cok Cie, BIDE) ecinscntsiionsinovcsinsitisanactitcnstieanenan 1

United States v. Haun,

90 F.3d 1096 (6th Cir. 1996)..scssssssssssssssesee

United States v. Hurley,

63 F.3d 1 (1st Cir. 1995) ccecsessssssssssssssssssseee

United States v. Iacaboni,

363 F.3d 1 (1st Cir.),

reh’g and reh’g en banc denied(1st Cir.),

cert denied, 125 S. Ct. 480 (2004)............004

United States v. LeBlanc,

24 F.3d 340 (1st Cir. 1994) ooo eeeeeeees

United States v. Lizza Indus.,

775 F.2d 492 (2d Cir. 1985) .vcccsscssscsesese

United States v. Masters,

924 F.2d 1362 (7th Cir. 1991)..............css000

United States v. Milicia,

769 F. Supp. 877 (E.D. Pa. 1991)............0

United States v. Scialabba,

282 F.3d 475 (7th Cir.),

reh’g and reh’g en banc denied (7th Cir.),

cert. denied, 537 U.S. 1071 (2002) ..rssssssss

United States v. Simmons,

154 F.3d 765 (8th Cir. 1998)... eee

United States v. Twelve Firearms,

16 F. Supp. 2d 738 (S.D. Tex. 1998), -

aff d without opinion,

2002 WL 31688616 (5th Cir. Oct. 28, 2002)

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION:

Rts ape MIN. VE scicecisinnsttnsecnsonitstionbinninisisapntaniclpecinits 19

STATUTES:

Bee ice I steninrsidisivntieinislprmensiliceatiaaiiaiianilbpiasbataeiaal 11

Se Pe eI cisvreskitsnlichaicisnebisionnitiachcieipacoesemenninuainsintidets 12

Fe a eere ICED sdevesverionepvntebcinnsnhitoransininésasuesiiedelaniabelossien 4,12

Be a BR Ni vertissvhicisstnvinndiinisvaithbvciniadindlinansistiatiiaa 10

BAe UE Aart GF Bp evvicesviiinasslctibicasiiinessoelentsiinnscadnsiaiamibicaldciasiuises 1

RULE:

POU, Th. FA Fy Be ikivcnctertcrcccin sv cdeicniendisiaaaead 6, 18

GUIDELINES:

Ap tte pr 5.) SaaeRameenesennnpa ule Kens 2000S / nora isartan nteR aC y een 18

Ca BR EI a inevsvsssnscsennsinianintncguecncionsadulcnsiicppnnibeesenloass 18

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

132 Cong. Rec. H408-01 (Feb. 6, 1986) ........sssssssessssssssssecesnees 14

132 es Rec. $12221-01 (Sept. 10, 1986)..............ccccsecsessseees 15

Black's Law Dictionary GE UR, SII i directness 10

Brief for the United States in Opposition,

United States v. Iacaboni, 125 S. Ct. 480 (Nov. 8, 2004)

CO II) vines vscvissiniavisisnicostnriviaciliaallceesueabaddasnpiielanteds 7, 8, 16

John Berlau, Money Laundering and Mission Creep,

Insight on the News (Dec. 23, 2003) at

http:/ / www.insightmag.com/news/2004/01/06/

National/ Money.Laundering.And.Mission.Creep-

AE A stirinttinsacisnsinenerhinnenniiinbiniaticciaetiinietintinwntnins 17

Money Laundering Control Act of 1986,

PU LPOG, Fee BG NG, Fale eccesieccsspsotaceneonsennvmerineciionininnsii 16

Webster's Third New International Dictionary (1986)......... 10

No. 04-

In the Supreme Court of the United States

Michael J. Grasso, Jr.

Petitioner,

Vv.

United States of America,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App. 1a-22a) is

reported at 381 F.3d 160.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

August 23, 2004. App. la-22a. A petition for rehearing was

denied on September 21, 2004. Avp. 43a-44a). The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §

1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY, AND

GUIDELINE PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The relevant constitutional, statutory and sentencing

guideline provisions are set forth in an appendix to the

petition. App. 45a-47a.

STATEMENT

After a jury trial in the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, petitioner Grasso

was convicted of 10 counts of mail fraud, 2 counts of wire

fraud and 482 counts of money laundering. App. 23a.

Using the money laundering sentencing guidelines, the

court sentenced Mr. Grasso to 97 months of imprisonment,

to be followed by 3 years supervised release, fined $150,000

and ordered to pay $761,126.39 in restitution.! App. 23a-43a.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

affirmed Mr. Grasso’s conviction and sentencing under the

money laundering guidelines but remanded the matter to

the district court to reconsider its order regarding restitution

and fine.

i. From early 1997 until late 1999, the period

charged in the fraud/money laundering indictment,

Michael Grasso ran MJG Advertising, a sole proprietorship,

from an office in Spring House, Pennsylvania. Its principal

but not sole business was to advertise, solicit and sell work-

at-home programs and mailing lists. Individuals who

purchased the programs after seeing them advertised in

national magazines or being solicited directly by Mr. Grasso

paid between $17.95 and $39, plus a $3 mailing fee,

depending on which program they purchased. The

programs had colorful names to differentiate them, such as

IMEX, Mesa, GSECO, Rynex, Hazel Peppergood, among

others. :

L Under a separate indictment, Mr. Grasso pled guilty to

obstruction of justice and forgery of a judge’s signature and was

sentenced to 15 months imprisonment (10 months to run concurrently

with the money laundering sentence and 5 months to run consecutively),

3 years of supervised release and a fine of $30,000.

The advertisements for these programs could be

found in publications such as The Star, Redbook and other

magazines sold at virtually every newsstand. The ads made

various pitches, one of the most common being: “Earn Up

To $3,000.00 Weekly Stuffing Envelopes [Or Stapling

Booklets] At Home.” Some of Mr. Grasso's solicitations

consisted of offering for sale nothing more than a booklet

listing companies which offered work that could be done at

home, along with a description of the work to be done or the

product to be produced.

Mr. Grasso was convicted on 10 counts of mail fraud

and 2 counts of wire fraud. It was the government's theory

at trial that the defendant's sales pitches were fraudulent,

because rather than being paid over $150,000 per year to

stuff envelopes or staple booklets, those who purchased the

stuffing envelope or stapling booklet program were instead

asked to participate in what amounted to a chain letter

scheme. That is, they were instructed to solicit other people

to purchase the exact same program they did for similar

amounts that would be split with Mr. Grasso.

Mr. Grasso was also convicted on 482 counts of

money laundering. The money laundering counts consisted

solely of Mr. Grasso paying his printing, postage,

advertising and stationery bills, a total of over $2.8 million.

Each count represented the payment of a separate bill. The

work and supplies covered by the bills had been completed

or delivered when Mr. Grasso paid the bills, and his method

of payment was with a credit card, a personal check or a

wire transfer from his bank account. Both the credit cards

and his bank account were in the name either of himself or

his business.

2. The federal money laundering statute provides,

in relevant part:

Whoever, knowing that the property

involved in a financial transaction represents

the proceeds of some form of unlawful

activity, conducts or attempts to conduct

such a financial transaction which in fact

involves the proceeds of specified unlawful

activity -

(A)(i) with the intent to promote the

carrying on of specified unlawful

activity; or * * *

(B) knowing that the transaction is

designed in whole or in part -

(i) to conceal or disguise the nature, the

location, the source, the ownership, or

the control of the proceeds of

specified unlawful activity .. . . [is

guilty of a crime].

18 U.S.C. § 1956(a)(1). The statute does not define the word

“proceeds”, i.e., whether gross receipts or net income.

3. The court of appeals affirmed Mr. Grasso’s

conviction for money laundering and his sentence under the

money laundering guidelines. The court characterized the

government's money laundering case as simply that Mr.

Grasso “paid for his business expenses with the receipts

from his sales.” App.6a.

Mr. Grasso contended that the term “proceeds” in

the money laundering statute means “profits” or “net

income,” arguing that the language of the statute, the

purpose of the statute, its congressional history and the Rule

of Lenity all support such an interpretation. Mr. Grasso also

relied on the Seventh Circuit's decision that “proceeds” in

the money laundering statute means net profits. United

States v. Scialabba, 282 F.3d 475 (7th Cir.), reh’g and reh’g en

banc denied (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 537 U.S. 1071 (2002).

Therefore, since the government offered no proof of his

business's profits, argued Mr. Grasso, his conviction on

money laundering should be reversed and he should k> re-

sentenced under the fraud guidelines based on his mail and

wire fraud convictions.

In holding that “proceeds” means “gross receipts”,

the Third Circuit discussed a number of points, none of

which resolved the issue. The court initially noted that the

statute does not define “proceeds”. App.13a. The court

said that several definitions in secondary sources undercut

Mr. Grasso’s interpretation, although acknowledging that

these definitions were “neither uniform nor dispositive.” Id.

The court then noted that judicial definitions of “proceeds”,

albeit under the RICO statute, are generally more expansive

than Mr. Grasso’s interpretation. App.13a-14a. The court

pointed out that the Seventh Circuit was alone in defining

“proceeds” under the money laundering statute as “profits”.

App.14a.

After finding no clear answer from the sources it

cited, the Third Circuit examined the money laundering

statute to discern the intended scope of the term proceeds.

App.l5a. The court did not find help in the statute’s

language, but it nevertheless attacked the Seventh Circuit's

interpretation of the statute. The court first characterized

the Seventh Circuit’s opinion as reasoning “that proceeds

must be limited to net profits because money laundering is

about concealment and only profits need be concealed.”

App.15a-16a. The Third Circuit found that the money

laundering statute makes both concealment and promotion

illegal, and therefore proceeds must be something more

than profits; yet it offered little rationale for reaching this

conclusion. App.16a.

The court also never addressed the Rule of Lenity,

which requires that ambiguities in criminal statutes be

interpreted in favor of the defendant and which played an

important part in the Seventh Circuit reaching the decision

it did in Scialabba.

After oral argument in the Third Circuit and before

the panel filed its opinion, this Court rendered its decision

in Blakely v. Washington. Mr. Grasso submitted a letter

pursuant to Rule 28(j) of the Federal Rules of Appellate

Procedure, informing the panel of the impact of Blakely on

his case, contending that his money laundering sentence

was unconstitutional because he received an 18 level

increase based on the $2.8 million allegedly laundered, ¢ '».

not necessarily found by the jury. The court did not address

the Blakely issue in its opinion.

Mr. Grasso petitioned for rehearing and rehearing en

banc, both of which were denied. App. 43a-44a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

There is an irreconcilable split in the circuits

regarding the interpretation of the term “proceeds” in the

money laundering statute. The Seventh Circuit has held

that “proceeds” means “net income” or “profits”, while the

First and now the Third Circuit have held that “proceeds”

means “gross receipts.” United States v. Scialabba, 282 F.3d

475 (7th Cir.), reh’g and reh’g en banc denied (7th Cir.), cert.

denied, 537 U.S. 1071 (2002); United States v. Iacaboni, 363 F.3d

1 (1st Cir.), reh’g and reh’g en banc denied (1st Cir.), cert denied,

125 S. Ct. 480 (2004). In a recent filing in this Court, the

government acknowledged that this conflict “raises an issue

of recurring importance that warrants the Court's review in

an appropriate case.” Brief for the United States in

Opposition at 11, United States v. lacaboni, 125 S. Ct. 480

(Nov. 8, 2004) (No. 04-183).2 The government even

suggested in its brief that Mr. Grasso’s case is an

appropriate case for review. Id. at 11-14.

A. There Is A Split In The Circuits Regarding The

Interpretation Of The Term “Proceeds” In The

Money Laundering Statute

The Seventh Circuit in United States v. Scialabba, 282

F.3d 475 (7th Cir. 2002), reh'g and reh'g en banc denied (7th

Cir.), cert. denied, 537 U.S. 1071 (2002), held that a defendant

cannot be convicted of money laundering unless the

government proves that the proceeds in question

represented net income, as opposed to gross receipts, of the

underlying unlawful activity engaged in by the defendant.

In Scialabba, the defendants were charged with illegal

_ gambling through the use of video poker machines which

they placed in bars and restaurants, and with money

laundering on the ground that they shared with the bar

owners the take from the machines, using their share to

meet expenses in operating, fixing and replacing the

machines when necessary. The Seventh Circuit, in an

opinion by Judge Frank Easterbrook, threw out the money

laundering convictions on the ground that the government

failed to show that the money the defendants were charged

with laundering represented net income, as opposed to

gross receipts. The court held that without a specific

definition in the statute of the word “proceeds”, “at least

when the crime entails voluntary, business-like operations,

‘proceeds’ must be net income; otherwise the predicate

crime merges into money laundering (for no business can be

- This brief is available on the Solicitor General’s web site.

http:/ / www.usdoj.gov/osg/ briefs /2004/Oresponses/2004-0183.resp. pdf.

carried on without expenses) and the word ‘proceeds’ loses

operational significance.” 282 F.3d at 475.

The Seventh Circuit concluded that Congress had to

have intended “proceeds” to mean net profits or net income,

since money laundering is a distinct and separate crime

from the underlying specified unlawful activity, and if

“proceeds” is to be read as gross income or gross receipts,

there would be an overlapping of criminal statutes, thereby

raising the issue of whether a person can be convicted of

multiple offenses when different statutes are violated by the

same conduct. 282 F.3d at 477. This overlapping can be

avoided by reading “proceeds” to mean net profits realized

from the underlying activity. Id. The court analogized

money laundering to a congressional levy of a tax on the

“proceeds” of a casino, pointing out that the common

understanding of such a tax would be that it would be on

the net profits of the business, not on the total amount that

was wagered at the casino. Id. Similarly, money laundering

was designed by Congress to punish wrongdoing separate

and apart from the underlying transaction, that is, on the

_ reinvestment in legitimate businesses in order to launder or

whitewash the illicit funds. If the focus is entirely on the

disposition of gross revenues, as it was in Scialabba and was

here, it loses sight of the purpose for which the money

laundering statute was passed by Congress.

In United States v. lacaboni, 363 F.3d 1 (1st Cir. 2004),

cert. denied, 125 S. Ct. 480 (2004), the First Circuit concluded

that “proceeds” in the money laundering statute means

gross receipts, relying solely on its interpretation of

“proceeds” under the RICO statute. Id. at 4 (citing United

States v. Hurley, 63 F.3d 1, 21 (1st Cir. 1995). lacaboni was a

forfeiture case and did not involve a term of imprisonment.3

B. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Incorrectly

Interpreted The Term “Proceeds” In The Money

Laundering Statute

The government here, completely contrary to what

Congress intended when it passed the current money

laundering statute, turned a garden variety fraud case with

no hint of organized crime involvement into a 482 count

money laundering case. It is undisputed that the

government made no effort to prove that the money Mr.

Grasso was charged with laundering represented the profits

of his work-at-home schemes. Each of the money laundering

counts charged Mr. Grasso with paying bills for the

purchase of envelopes, for printing and for advertising. Mr.

Grasso paid these bills with checks, credit cards or wire

transfers in his or his business’s name. While the payments

were made during the course of the fraudulent scheme as

charged in the indictment, that is, from early 1997 through

late 1999, the government never presented any evidence that

the payments came from the net profits of the fraudulent

scheme as opposed to the gross receipts realized by that

scheme, and this is where the government ran afoul of

congressional intent and the plain meaning of the word

“proceeds.” As a result, Mr. Grasso should not have been

sentenced for money laundering, and the judgment of

conviction for money laundering should be set aside, as

should the forfeiture of $2.8 million.

3 The decisions of other circuits, which are sometimes cited as

resolving the definition of “proceeds”, are not on point. The Sixth

Circuit’s decision in United States v. Haun, 90 F.3d 1096, 1101 (6th Cir.

1996) involved the narrow issue whether a stolen check could constitute

proceeds. The Ninth Circuit's decision in United States v. Akintobi, 159

F.3d 401, 403 (9th Cir. 1998), addressed whether the money laundering

statute was unconstitutionally void for vagueness. Neither court was

asked to decide whether proceeds should be net or gross.

10

The money laundering statute under which Mr.

Grasso was charged and convicted provides, in relevant

part:

Whoever, knowing that the property

involved in a financial transaction represents

the proceeds of some form of unlawful

activity, conducts or attempts to conduct

such a financial transaction which in fact

involves the proceeds of specified unlawful

activity -- with the intent to promote the

carrying on of specified unlawful activity ....

[is guilty of a crime].

18 U.S.C. § 1956(a)(1)(A)(i). Conspicuously missing from

the statute is any definition of the word “proceeds”, i.e.,

whether it means gross receipts or net income. The plain

and ordinary meaning of “proceeds” found in English

dictionaries, intended by Congress and as interpreted by

federal courts, we submit, is net income or profits.

Many secondary sources define “proceeds” as profits

or net income. Webster's Third New Dictionary includes

two definitions of proceeds as the net amount received after

expenses -- “net profit made on something” and “the net

sum received (as for a check, a negotiable note, and an

insurance policy) after deduction of any discount or

charges.” Webster's Third New International Dictionary

1807 (1986). Black's Law Dictionary also defines “proceeds”

as a net return -- “the funds received from the disposition of

assets or from the issue of securities (after deduction of all

costs and fees).” Black's Law Dictionary 1204 (6th ed. 1990).

Defining proceeds to mean net rather than gross

income is also consistent with the decisions of other courts

addressing this issue, albeit in other contexts. See United

States v. Cleveland, Crim. A. No. 96-207, 1997 WL 837707, at

11

*7 (E.D. La. Aug. 26, 1997) (“net proceeds, not gross

proceeds ... are the relevant figure for forfeiture....”); United

States v. 122,942 Shares of Common Stock, 847 F. Supp. 105, 107

(N.D. Ill. 1994) (proceeds are the net revenues or profits

under the forfeiture statute); United States v. Milicia, 769 F.

Supp. 877, 889 (E.D. Pa. 1991) (finding “proceeds,” under

forfeiture statute, means revenue from illegal drug sales

minus the direct costs of purchasing the prescription drugs).

The Third Circuit's reliance on the generally more expansive

definition given to “proceeds” in the RICO forfeiture context

is misplaced, because RICO is a separate statute which

Congress instructed must be construed broadly.*

Congress has defined “proceeds” as a form of profits

in other statutes. For example, the civil forfeiture statute,

which was not addressed by the panel, breaks the term

“proceeds” into either “gross” or “net” depending on the

underlying crime. 18 U.S.C. § 981(a)(2)(A). Under that

statute, if the crime involved an illegal good, such as

narcotics, any property obtained as a result of the offense

can be forfeited and it “is not limited to the net gain or profit

realized from the offense.” 18 U.S.C. § 981(a)(2)(A). On the

other hand, if the crime involved a lawful good sold in an

illegal manner, proceeds then means the amount of money

acquired minus the direct costs of providing the good, i.e.,

4 Several of the courts cited - the Second Circuit, Seventh Circuit

and a lower court in the Third Circuit - have defined “proceeds” as some

form of profits. United States v. Masters, 924 F.2d 1362, 1369-70 (7th Cir.

1991); United States v. Lizza Indus., 775 F.2d 492, 497-99 (2d Cir. 1985);

United States v. Milicia, 769 F. Supp. 877, 888 (E.D. Pa. 1991). The

remaining RICO cases cited rely on the unique legislative history of the

RICO statute indicating that Congress used the term “proceeds” in that

statute to mean something other than net profits. E.g., United States v.

Simmons, 154 F.3d 765, 770-71 (8th Cir. 1998). These cases address the

RICO forfeiture provision which Congress intended to be a broad and

expansive remedy for the activities of organized crime. See id. (Congress

specifically instructed that this statute must be liberally construed). Such

an expansive reading, however, is not warranted where a person’s liberty

is at stake.

12

the net gain or profit. 18 U.S.C. § 981(a)(2)(B). Here, the

product Mr. Grasso was selling is not contraband and hence

would come under the second civil forfeiture provision,

making the manner in which Mr. Grasso conducted his

business illegal, not the product he sold.

While the Third Circuit acknowledged that there

exist conflicting interpretations of proceeds, the court did

not address the Rule of Lenity. The conflicting definitions

and caselaw clearly indicate that the term “proceeds” is

ambiguous and must, according to the Rule of Lenity, be

read as “net income” or “profits” -- the narrower definition

of “proceeds” under the money laundering statute. Under

the Rule of Lenity, any ambiguity must be construed against

the government and in favor of a defendant in a criminal

case. Hughen v. United States, 495 U.S. 411, 422 (1990) (lenity

principles “demand resolution of ambiguities in criminal

statutes in favor of the defendant.”); see also Barnes v. Cohen,

749 F.2d 1009, 1014 (3d Cir. 1984) (split in authority suggests

that reasonable people can disagree as to the interpretation

of a statute); United States v. Twelve Firearms, 16 F. Supp. 2d

738, 740 (S.D. Tex. 1998) (finding statute ambiguous where

there are conflicting interpretations by the courts), affd

without opinion, 2002 WL 31688616 (5th Cir. Oct. 28, 2002).

The Rule of Lenity played a role in the court's decision and

rationale in Scialabba. As Judge Frank Easterbrook pointed

out when he said that had Congress intended gross

proceeds to be the subject of money laundering, “it would

have been easy enough to write’ ‘receipts’ in lieu of

‘proceeds’ in § 1956(a)(1), and the Rule of Lenity counsels

against transmuting the latter into the former and catching

people by surprise in the process.” 282 F.3d at 477.

An interpretation of “proceeds” as “profits” is also

supported by the congressional record. When Congress

passed § 1956 as part of the Money Laundering Control Act

of 1986, Pub. L. No. 99-50, 100 Stat. 3207, it did so “to fill the

13

gap in the criminal law with respect to the post-crime hiding

of ill-gotten gains.” United States v. Bockius, 228 F.3d 305, 310

(3d Cir. 2000) (quoting United States v. LeBlanc, 24 F.3d 340,

346 (1st Cir. 1994)) (emphasis added).

The congressional record is quite clear that

Congress’s intent in passing the money laundering statute

was to address the conduct, particularly engaged in by

organized crime, of transforming illegal profits into

legitimate income, which is the very essence of money

laundering. Throughout the money laundering debate in

Congress, the record is replete with references to “profits”

generated by illicit activity, and it is clear that what

Congress meant in addressing the issue was net profits from

organized criminal activity finding its way into a legitimate

business. Gross receipts cannot make that transformation

unless and until the costs of the illicit activity in question

have been taken care of and do not exceed the gross

proceeds or revenues. Otherwise, there would be nothing to

invest, or spend, to promote further unlawful activity.

Following is a sample of some of the comments made by the

members of Congress during the debate:

Gangsters and drug traffickers have

demonstrated the importance they attach to

money laundering by making it so pervasive

and sophisticated that it has become a threat

to the reputation of America's banking

system. True, launderers do resort to casinos

and other vehicles to hide their illegal profits.

But they do not hesitate to employ local

banks, banks with international customers,

brokerage houses, and indeed America's

financial networks.

14

The crime chieftains are using a variety of

techniques and a variety of locations to inject

their profits into the American financial

system.

132 Cong. Rec. H408-01 (Feb. 6, 1986) (Statement of Rep.

Lundgren).

Simply, [money laundering] is a process by

which criminals can take their illegal profits

and give them the appearance of being

earned legitimately.

132 Cong. Rec. H408-01 (Feb. 6, 1986) (Statement of

Representative Meyers).

Eliminating money laundering, therefore,

would help to take profit out of the crime...

. [AJ]n attack on money laundering is an

attack on the profit of drug trafficking and

other organized crimes.

132 Cong. Rec. H408-01 (Feb. 6, 1986) (Statement of

Representative Fish). Finally, Senator Trible, while

commenting on international money laundering, remarked

that the money laundering statute was focused on

transactions involving the profits of an illegal enterprise:

The methods by which drug runners conceal

their illicit profits and reinvest them in the

drug trade are a vital part of the overall drug

problem. The Senate recognized this reality

when it voted 98-0 recently for a bill making

willful laundering of profits from criminal

enterprises a federal offense.

15

132 Cong. Rec. S12221-01 (Sept. 10, 1986) (statements of Sen.

Trible).

When drafting the money laundering statute,

Congress intended to create a distinct offense with s»arate

penalties, and not simply to increase the penalties for

existing crimes. United States v. Edgmon, 952 F.2d 1206, 1213-

14 (10th Cir. 1991). Thus, money laundering requires

conduct different from that which constitutes the

underlying crime, such as the concealment of the nature or

source of the profits from that crime. The government's case

against Mr. Grasso was that he paid the bills of his business

with the receipts from his business. This is not conduct

distinct from the mail fraud scheme, because any scheme to

defraud lasting more than a few days will undoubtedly

involve the payment of expenses. Thus, Mr. Grasso’s

payment of his printing, advertising and envelope bills was

nothing more than a part of the scheme to defraud, and not

money laundering.

If “proceeds” is interpreted to mean “gross receipts,”

then every crime with ongoing expenses will necessarily be

a money laundering case, and Congress surely did not

intend that money laundering occurs every time a bill is

paid. The primary evil the statute sought to address is the

reinvesting of the profits of crime into a legitimate

enterprise, thereby laundering or cleansing those profits; or

back into a criminal enterprise to grow that enterprise, not

just to pay its outstanding bills. By reading “proceeds” to

mean “profits”, Congress's intent is fulfilled.

C. The Question Presented Is Of Recurring

Importance

The interpretation of “proceeds” in the money

laundering statute presents a question of recurring

importance. This is now the third case to arrive at this

16

Court in the past two years; the Court denied the petitions

for certiorari in Scialabba and Iacabont.

The government has previously indicated that this is

an issue of recurring importance and has noted that Mr.

Grasso’s case is an appropriate case for review. In its prior

submissions to this Court, the government said that the

conflict over the definition of “proceeds” warrants the

Court’s review in an appropriate case. The government

sought review in Scialabba. In Iacaboni, the government

suggested that Mr. Grasso’s case is appropriate for review

because, unlike Iacaboni, this case involves both a money

laundering conviction with a substantial prison sentence

and there is a thorough discussion of the issue in the court

below. Brief for the United States in Opposition at 11-14,

United States v. Iacaboni, 125 S. Ct. 480 (Nov. 8, 2004) (No. 04-

183).

The broad interpretation of the term “proceeds”

permits prosecutors to expand the reach of the moncy

laundering statute far beyond its original purpose.

Prosecutors have sought to broaden the statute’s reach

because money laundering sentences are traditionally much

more severe than sentences imposed for the underlying

crimes. Thus, prosecutors are motivated to turn virtually

every fraud case into a money laundering case. The

expansion of the money laundering statute has long

troubled criminal practitioners. For example, Edwin Meese,

the Attorney General when Ronald Reagan signed the

Money Laundering Control Act of 1986, has said:

I think there have been instances in which

money-laundering laws have been used in

circumstances that are considerably different

from the original intent of the law. When

money-laundering statutes are used simply

to pile on charges where major financial

aa a la hse iui a i at aa 2 ig LON watts ae ge eer

17

manipulation was not the intent nor was it

related to syndicated crime, then I think the

statutes would be misused.

John Berlau, Money Laundering and Missio.. Creep, Insight on

the News (Lec. ys iM 2003), at

http:/ / www. insightmag.com/news/2004/01/06/ National

/Money.Laundering.And.Mission.Creep-578104.shtml.

It is quite apparent, when one examines the

applicable guidelines for both money laundering and fraud,

why the government chose to indict Mr. Grasso on 482

counts of money laundering rather than on the same

number of mail fraud counts, which it clearly could have

done given the number of mailings involved in his scheme.

The 1998 sentencing guidelines, on the facts of this case,

called for a guideline range of 97 to 121 months for money

laundering versus 51 to 63 months for fraud. A comparison

of two other work-at-home criminal cases that were brought

in the same district where Mr. Grasso was prosecuted

highlights the disparity. In United States v. Reutt, Crim. A.

No. 00-476 (E.D. Pa.), the defendant, Hans Reutt, received a

two-year prison sentence for engaging in exactly the same

type of scheme, ie., selling work-at-home programs,

although on a somewhat less grand scale than Mr. Grasso.

Michael Frumin in United States v. Frumin, Crim. A. No. 00-

619 (E.D. Pa.), also received a two-year sentence, despite the

fact that his scheme spanned three years, that it defrauded

people of some $1.5 million, and that he continued to

engage in his scheme after he was indicted. Neither Reutt

nor Frumin were charged with money laundering, even

though their schemes were identical in every way to Mr.

Grasso’s. The sentencing guidelines were designed to

ensure uniformity in sentencing, but when the government

turns a fraud case into a money laundering case in one

instance, but elects not to in two others, uniformity in

sentencing becomes illusory.

18

D. The Third Circuit Should Have Considered The

Impact Of This Court’s Decision In Blakely v.

Washington On The Constitutionality Of Mr.

Grasso’s Money Laundering Sentence

After oral argument before the Third Circuit, this

Court decided Blakely v. Washington, 124 S. Ct. 2531 (2004),

which cast serious doubt on the continued viability of the

federal sentencing guidelines. Pursuant to Rule 28(j) of the

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Mr. Grasso submitted

a letter to the Third Circuit alerting the panel to Blakely and

its impact on Mr. Grasso’s appeal. The Third Circuit did not

address the Blakely issue in either its opinion or the denial of

Mr. Grasso’s petition for rehearing.5

In Blakely, this Court struck down the Washington

state sentencing guidelines because they allowed a

defendant's sentence to be enhanced by factors not found by

the jury. This Court heard argument in two cases, United

States v. Booker, No. 04-104, and United States v. Fanfan, No.

04-105, to address the effect of Blakely on the federal

sentencing guidelines, and the cases are pending.

Mr. Grasso’s 97 month sentence for money

laundering violates Blakely because it was based on facts not

necessarily or clearly found by the jury. Mr. Grasso’s

offense level was increased 18 levels based on the amount of

money he allegedly laundered while paying for stamps,

envelopes, printing and advertising in the ordinary course

of his business. U.S. Sentencing Guidelines Manual §§

2B1.1(b)(1), 2S1.1(a)(2) (2001). The jury was not asked to and

did not have to make findings as to the amount of money

laundered in order to find Mr. Grasso guilty of the charges,

5 The rule in Blakely and this Court’s decision in Booker/Fanfan

would apply retroactively to Mr. Grasso’s case, which is pending on

direct appeal. Griffith v. Kentucky, 479 U.S. 314 (1987).

19

because it was charged that it need not find that the total

amount alleged in each count of the indictment was

laundered in order to find the defendant guilty, but only

“that at least part of the property represents such proceeds.”

In using the $2.8 million figure to enhance Mr. Grasso’s

sentence from a level 12 to a level 30, the district court made

a factual finding, namely that Mr. Grasso had laundered the

total amount of $2.8 million charged in the indictment. Yet

the jury, per the court’s charge, did not have to find, and

may well not have found, that this amount was in fact

laundered by Mr. Grasso. Accordingly, under the rationale

of Blakely, the district court denied Mr. Grasso his Sixth

Amendment right to a trial by jury. U.S. Const. Amend VI.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Walter M. Phillips, Jr.

Walter M. Phillips, Jr.

Counsel of Record

HOYLE, FICKLER,

HERSCHEL & MATHES

One South Broad

Suite 1500

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19107

(215) 981-5700

at aa

aig Le ee

B

=i G 2 : ‘ Be | - ae bas

. i “3 oe)

- ae q a0 ik oa ie Wite> OF SY

a

nd #hD)

7k ts

rts Lhe

ia

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Opinion of

The United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

Re: Affirming Conviction and Sentencing

O.thepOE Amimust Z3, ZOE. sceccccscesrecsosvesnsesnsenenvessssesevovvivn la

Judgment in a Criminal Case

entered February 4, 2003..........c.cccscecccssssssressssesesssrsere 23a

Memorandum and Order of

The United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania |

Re: Denying Defendant's Motion and Sentence

entered January 15, 2008 ............c.csccsssssssssesssserersssesers 35a

- Order of

The United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

Re: Denying Petition for Rehearing

entered September 21, 2004 ...........c-cccssscsscecorenserecevore 43a

TB Cr, CI. VE ocecitttronpsciteinsprracenerdenntinonincaisaoneniiia 45a

Fe Bd ieccrclonitckintcsndtntatsesdariainiedeinetaneniiandanesiatil 45a

eA Fe tnisnctinisecsiocenipaieep pientineiiadianalanenield 46a

Ae OP Mes A sichniindecnsniccrsnigirins shia pieainannanaabiiad 47a

la

PRECEDENTIAL

UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Nos. 03-1441 / 03-1442

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

v.

MICHAEL J. GRASSO, JR.,

Appellant

On Appeal from the

United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

D.C. Criminal Action Nos.

00-cr-00051-1/01-cr-00783-1

(Honorable Berle M. Schiller)

Argued December 12, 2003

Before: AMBRO, FUENTES

and GARTH, Circuit Judges

(Opinion filed August 23, 2004)

[ENTERED: August 23, 2004]

ee

2a

Walter M. Phillips, Jr., Esq. (Argued)

Kevin J. Kotch, Esq.

Hoyle, Fickler, Herschel & Mathes

One South Broad, Suite 1500

Philadelphia, PA 19107

Attorneys for Appellant

Patrick L. Meehan

United States Attorney

Laurie Magid

Deputy United States Attorney

for Policy and Appeals

‘Robert A. Zauzmer

Assistant United States Attorney

Senior Appellate Counsel

Anne Whatley Chain (Argued)

Assistant United States Attorney

Peter F. Schenck, Esq.

Office of United States Attorney

615 Chestnut Street, Suite 1250

Philadelphia, PA 19106

Attorneys for Appellee

OPINION OF THE COURT

AMBRO, Circuit Judge

Michael J. Grasso appeals his conviction and

sentence for money laundering. He argues that the term

"proceeds" in the money laundering statute, 18 U.S.C. §

1956, encompasses only the net profits, and not the gross

receipts, of criminal activity. This proposed statutory

construction is incompatible with the text of the statute as

well as existing case law in our Circuit. We therefore affirm

3a

Grasso's conviction. However, we do remand for the District

Court to reconsider its restitution award.

I. Factual and Procedural History

Grasso sold various fraudulent work-at-home

schemes from early 1997 until late 1999. The programs,

which were advertised in national magazines, purported to

enable purchasers to earn substantial payments for at-home

work, with profits to be divided between the participants

and Grasso. In reality, the programs simply instructed

purchasers to solicit new customers who would purchase

the same programs for similar amounts.!

In February 2000, Grasso was indicted for mail

fraud, wire fraud, and money laundering, in Criminal No.

00-51. The money laundering counts charged that he

funded his ongoing criminal activity with the proceeds of

his fraudulent schemes. Grasso allegedly reinvested the

proceeds of his criminal activity to cover advertising,

printing, and mailing expenses. Nine months later, a

superseding indictment was filed, which added a count for

obstruction of justice based on Grasso's attempt to access

frozen funds and slightly modified the money laundering

charges.? In December 2002, Grasso was indicted yet again,

for forgery and obstruction of justice, in Criminal No. 01-

783.3 In February 2002 the District Court severed the

1 In addition to fraudulently promoting work-at-home

employment schemes, Grasso allegedly sold mailing lists and engaged in

other illegal activity. He contests many of the representations made by the

Government. Because these factual matters do not affect our resolution of

the issues on appeal, we do not discuss them.

2 The original indictment contained 508 counts alleging money

laundering, whereas the superseding indictment included 482 counts.

3 The indictment charged that Grasso forged the signatures of a

district judge and a deputy clerk in conjunction with fictitious letters

directing various financial institutions to release his frozen funds.

4a

obstruction of justice count in the superseding indictment in

Criminal No. 00-51, which involved Grasso's first attempt to

obtain frozen funds, and consolidated that count with the

proceeding in Criminal No. 01-783.

Trial on the superseding indictment took place in

February 2002. At the close of the Government's case,

Grasso moved orally for judgment of acquittal on the mail

ad wire fraud counts, as well as four of the money

laundering counts. The motion was denied, and thereafter a

jury convicted Grasso on all charges.* He subsequently pled

guilty to the obstruction of justice count originally filed in

Criminal No. 00-51, and the cases were consolidated for

sentencing.

Payment of defense counsel fees was a recurring

issue during the criminal proceedings. In March 2000,

Grasso filed a motion to release funds from his frozen

accounts to pay defense counsel fees and expenses, and the

motion was denied. The case was assigned to another judge

in March 2001, and in December 2001 that judge ordered

the release of $200,000 toward these expenses. In March

2002, defense counsel sought the release of additional funds

from frozen accounts for payment of counsel fees. As a

result, Grasso was ordered to provide documentation

related to one of the non-frozen accounts, and the Probation

Office examined his income and assets. The subsequent

investigation of his accounts revealed that he had deposited

more than $800,000 into his non-frozen accounts after the

entry of a preliminary injunction in i 999, which was

intended to protect his assets for distribution to victims.

Prior to sentencing, Grasso objected to the

Government's proposed sentencing order on various

grounds. He moved for a downward departure and

4 Two money laundering counts were dismissed during the course

of the trial.

5a

submitted a memorandum in support of a "renewed"

motion for judgment of acquittal on the money laundering

counts, relying on the Seventh Circuit's recent decision in

United States v. Scialabba, 282 F.3d 475 (7th Cir.), cert, denied,

537 U.S. 1071 (2002). Although Grasso suggested in the

memorandum that he had submitted an earlier motion for

acquittal on all money laundering counts, that motion

challenged the sufficiency of the evidence as to Counts 444

through 447 only, and for factually specific reasons.

The District Court sentenced Grasso for the fraud

and money laundering convictions to 97 months

incarceration, three years supervised release, a fine of

$150,000, restitution in the amount of $761,126.39, and a

special assessment of $49,500. The Court made no findings

in support of its award of restitution. In addition, for the

obstruction of justice plea, Grasso received 15 months

imprisonment (five months of which would run

consecutively to the first sentence), a fine of $30,000, and a

$300 special assessment. The restitution, fines, and special

assessments, as well as $100,000 in counsel fees, were to be

paid from the frozen funds. Grasso appeals.5

II. Discussion

We address two principal issues. First, did the

Government need to establish that Grasso's money

laundering transactions were conducted with the net

profits, as opposed to gross receipts, of his illegal activity?

Second, did the District Court err by failing to specify in its

order of restitution the manner and schedule of payment?

5 The District Court exercised jurisdiction over this case pursuant

to 18 U.S.C. § 3231. We have appellate jurisdiction under 18 U.S.C. § 3742

and 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

6a

A. Money Laundering Convictions and Sentence

Grasso alleges that the Government transformed a

"garden variety fraud case with no hint of organized crime

involvement into a 482 count money laundering case."

Grasso's conviction for money laundering was based on his

"reinvestment of proceeds" for the purchase of

advertisements, telephone services, printing, envelopes,

and other materials in furtherance of his fraudulent activity

by means of wire transfer, checks, and credit cards. Simply

put, Grasso paid for his business expenses with the receipts

from his sales.6 The relevant sta’ste, 18 U.S.C. § 1956,

provides:

(a)(1) Whoever, knowing that the property

involved in a financial transaction represents

the proceeds of some form of unlawful

activity, conducts or attempts to conduct

such a financial transaction which in fact

involves the proceeds of specified unlawful

activity —

(A)(i) with the intent to promote the carrying

on of specified unlawful activity; or

(ii) with intent to engage in conduct

constituting a violation of section 7201 or

7206 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986; or

(B) knowing that the transaction is designed

in whole or in part—

6 Grasso argues that the payments were made for past purchases.

The Government disputes this claim as a factual matter. We have held, in

any case, that it is possible to "promote" unlawful activity, within the

meaning of the money laundering statute, even if it has already been

completed. United States v. Paramo, 998 F.2d 1212, 1218 (3d Cir. 1993).

7a

(i) to conceal or disguise the nature, the

location, the source, the ownership, or the

control of the proceeds of specified unlawful

activity; or

(ii) to avoid a_ transaction reporting

requirement under State or Federal law,

[commits a felony].

The statute does not define "proceeds." Grasso contends that

the term should be understood—as a matter of textual

interpretation, congressional intent, and policy—to mean

"net profits." The Government, by contrast, urges us to

adopt a broader definition encompassing all gross receipts

of illegal activity.

1. Standard of Review

Grasso has framed the question presented in his

appeal as "[w]hether a defendant can be convicted of and

sentenced for money laundering under 18 USC. §

1956(a)(1)(A)(i) for reinvesting the proceeds of specified

unlawful activity, where the government's proof fails to

show that the money allegedly laundered represented the

proceeds, or net profits, from the unlawful activity as

opposed to gross receipts or revenue." At its core, Grasso's

appeal challenges the sufficiency of the evidence upon

which he was convicted.” In other words, "[h]e contends

that, as a matter of law, the facts do not support the

conclusion that money laundering occurred." United States v.

Morelli, 169 F.3d 798, 802 (3d Cir. 1999) (classifying as a

"sufficiency of the evidence" argument the defendant's claim

that his conviction for money laundering was premised ona

7 It is undisputed that the Government presented no evidence

suggesting that Grasso's payments and expenditures were funded with

net profits of the fraudulent scheme rather than gross receipts.

8a

faulty statutory construction). While Grasso urges us to

review the District Court's judgment de novo, the

Government contends that we should review it for plain

error because he failed to raise his statutory argument in a

Rule 29 motion for judgment of acquittal and therefore

forfeited it.

The Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure dictate

when a criminal defendant may challenge a conviction that

is based on insufficient evidence. Rule 29 provides that a

defendant must make an appropriate motion within seven

days after a guilty verdict is entered, or within an extended

time specified by the Court during the seven-day period. If a

defendant fails timely to raise an argument that may

establish his or her innocence, the court is unlikely to find it

persuasive at a later time. See, e.g., United States v. Powell, 113

F.3d 464, 466-67 (3d Cir. 1997) ("If a defendant fails to file a

timely motion for judgment of acquittal, we review

sufficiency of evidence for plain error.").

The jury convicted Grasso on February 25, 2002. He

did not file a motion within seven days of the verdict, nor

did the Court extend the applicable period. On October 9,

2002, however, he filed a memorandum including an

argument in support of his "renewed motion for judgment

of acquittal on the money laundering counts." Although it

was clear that Grasso had failed to file a timely Rule 29

motion,’ the parties agreed at oral argument that the District

Court would consider the "renewed" motion "for the limited

purpose of determining whether Defendant should be

sentenced under the money laundering or fraud guidelines.

8 As already noted, at the close of the Government's case the

defense moved for judgment of acquittal on four of the money laundering

charges. The motion did not allege that the Government had failed to

demonstrate the use of net proceeds.

9a

"9 That motion did not serve to preserve the statutory

argument for de novo review.

9 Grasso has framed his argument as a challenge to his sentence

rather than his conviction. As a general matter, "[w]e review the district

court's application of the sentencing guidelines de novo." See United States

v. Omoniyi, 260 F.3d 291, 297 n.8 (3d Cir. 2001). We thus may vacate a

sentence if we find that it was improperly entered. But in this case the

District Court had no choice but to sentence Grasso for money

laundering. "In cases ... in which several counts, including fraud and

money laundering, have been grouped, ... the count carrying the highest

applicable offense level must apply to the entire group for sentencing

purposes. Under the guidelines as amended, ... courts have no discretion

to decide that the money laundering guideline is inappropriate or not the

most applicable guideline on the facts of a given case." United States v.

Diaz, 245 F.3d 294, 303 (3d Cir. 2001) (citation omitted). Plenary review of

the sentence alone does Grasso no good, because we may inquire only

whether, assuming he was lawfully convicted of money laundering, the

District Court properly calculated his sentence. Upon the facts presented,

there is no doubt that it did.

Grasso's strategy, of course, is slightly outside the letter of Diaz.

He urged the District Court to sentence him for fraud rather than money

laundering not because the sentencing guidelines applicable to the latter

more appropriately reflected the scope of his criminal activity, but rather

because he contended he should not save been convicted of money

laundering in the first place. Were we to accept this gambit, we would

permit Grasso to end-run the principle that a court should not disturb a

jury verdict unless the defendant timely objects. See Carlisle v. United

States, 517 U.S. 416, 433 (1996) (holding that a district court is without

discretion to grant a defendant's untimely motion for judgment of

acquittal pursuant to Rule 29).

In a similar vein, Grasso relies heavily on our decision in United

States v. Morelli, 169 F.3d 798, 801 (3d Cir. 1999), in which we held that the

defendant was not obligated to challenge his money laundering

conviction in a Rule 29 motion. In Morelli, the jury found that money

laundering was merely one among several bases for his RICO conspiracy

conviction. Because the conviction rested on independent predicate acts,

any contemporaneous objection to the money laundering allegations

would have been futile; even if the court had agreed that the money

laundering statute was inapplicable, there were adequate alternative

bases to sustain the conviction. Consequently, the defendant's

interpretation of the money laundering statute affected only his sentence,

and the District Court's decision at sentencing was "not bound up with

10a

The forfeiture principle may lead to harsh results.

No procedural principle is more familiar to this Court than

that a constitutional right,’ or a right of any other sort, 'may

be forfeited in criminal as well as civil cases by the failure to

make timely assertion of the right before a tribunal having

jurisdiction to determine it.'" United States v. Olano, 507 U.S.

725, 731 (1993) (citing Yakus v. United States, 321 U.S. 414,

444 (1944)). Its effects are mitigated, however, by Federal

Rule of Criminal Procedure 52(b), which permits a court of

appeals to consider a "plain error that affects substantial

rights ... even though it was not sedi il to the court's

attention."10

Grasso failed to file a Rule 29 motion within the

designated time. His claim does not fall within any of the

recognized exceptions to the forfeiture rule. We therefore

review his argument for plain error. We note, however, that

the standard of review is ultimately irrelevant to our

resolution of this case. Because we conclude that the District

the jury's verdict." Id. at 803. In our case, by contrast, the jury specifically

found that Grasso was guilty of money launderigg. The District Court

could not hawe modified Grasso's- — Without disturbing the

underlying conviction. ~ :

10 "Rule 52(b) leaves the decision to correct the forfeited error

within the sound discretion of the court of appeals." Olano, 507 U.S. at

732. Nonetheless, we "should not exercise that discretion unless the error

seriously affects the fairness, integrity or public reputation of judicial

proceedings." Id. (citations omitted). The Supreme Court has clarified that

we may "correct the error (either vacating for a new trial, or reversing

outright)" only if it is "plain" and "affects substantial rights." Id. (emphasis

in original).

lla

Court properly construed § 1956, we would affirm even

under de novo review.

_ Definition of "Proceeds"

Under the plain error standard, the defendant

ordinarily bears the burden of proving that: (1) the court

erred; (2) the error was "plain" at the time of appellate

consideration; and (3) the error affected substantial rights,

usually meaning that the error "must have affected the

outcome of the district court proceedings." Olano, 507 U.S. at

734; see also Johnson v. United States, 520 U.S. 461, 466-68

(1997). "If all three conditions are met, an appellate court

may then exercise its discretion to notice a forfeited error,

but only if (4) the error seriously affects the fairness,

integrity, or public reputation of judicial proceedings."

Johnson, 520 U.S. at 467 (citation omitted). Grasso cannot

meet the first and most important element because the

District Court did not err. Thus we need go no further.

We agree with the District Court that sentencing

Grasso for money laundering was within the scope of the

money laundering statute. Grasso contends, citing the

Seventh Circuit's recent decision in United States v. Scialabba,

282 F.3d 475 (7th Cir.), cert, denied, 523 U.S. 1071 (2002), that

he was improperly convicted of and sentenced for money

laundering because the Government failed to establish that

the money allegedly laundered derived from the net profits

of his illegal activity. The Seventh Circuit held in Scialabba

" Grasso argues that the Court may exercise plenary review of his

claim even if he forfeited it, because it is based on statutory interpretation.

This proposition is inconsistent with the Supreme Court's decisions in

Olano, 507 U.S. 725 (applying plain error review to interpretation of the

Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure), and Johnson v. United States, 520

U.S. 461 (1997) (reviewing for plain error the district court's failure to

submit to the jury the question whether a false statement was material

despite intervening Supreme Court case deciding as a matter of

constitutional law that materiality is a jury question).

12a

that when a "crime entails voluntary, business-like

operations, 'proceeds' must be net income; otherwise the

predicate crime merges into money laundering (for no

business can be carried out without expenses) and the word

'proceeds' loses operational significance." Id. at 475.

In Scialabba, the defendants were convicted of

operating an unlawful gambling business, filing false tax

returns, conspiring to defeat tax collection, and money

laundering. The last charge was based on the defendants'

use of revenue from their gambling operations to meet the

expenses of the business. As in our case, conviction for

money laundeiing substantially increased the defendants'

prison terms, and they therefore appealed their convictions

under the money laundering statute, § 1956(a).

The Seventh Circuit rejected the Government's

argument that use of gross receipts to fund ongoing criminal

activity constituted money laundering. The Court explained

that accepting the Government's theory would be

"equivalent to saying that every drug dealer commits money

laundering by using the receipts from sales to purchase

more stock in trade, that a bank robber commits money

laundering by using part of the loot from one heist to rent a

getaway car for the next, and so on." Id. at 476. Transactions

of this nature, the Court explained, do not implicate the

concerns underlying the statute—namely, they are not

"financial transactions to hide or invest profits in order to

evade detection, the normal understanding of money

laundering." Id.

While Judge Easterbrook's opinion in Scialabba is

well-argued and intuitively appealing, we believe it reaches

an incorrect result. We consider various interpretations of

proceeds in light of the conventional understanding of the

term, the text and purpose of § 1956, and existing case law

in our Circuit. In so doing, we conclude that "proceeds," as

13a

that term is used in the money laundering statute, means

gross receipts rather than profits.

Section 1956 does not define proceeds. Judge

Easterbrook assumed that "most speakers of English would

understand" the term proceeds to reach only the "profits of

the business." Scialabba, 282 F.3d at 477. Viewed in a

vacuum, however, we discern no clear meaning of the term.

Congress might easily have used "gross receipts" if it so

intended. Cf Scialabba, 282 F.3d at 477 ("It would have been

easy enough to write 'receipts' in lieu of 'proceeds' in §

1956(a)(1).") But it might just as readily have used the term

"profits."

Secondary sources defining the word "proceeds"

undercut Grasso's proposed interpretation based on

Scialabba. For example, the Uniform Commercial Code

defines "proceeds" as "whatever is acquired upon the sale,

lease, license, exchange, or other disposition of collateral. . .

" U.C.C. § 9-102(64)(A). Similarly, Black's Law Dictionary

1222 (7th ed. 1 999) defines "proceeds" as "the amount of

money received from a sale" and lists "net proceeds" as a

distinct sub-entry under "proceeds." Nonetheless, dictionary

definitions are neither uniform nor dispositive. Webster's

first definition of proceeds is "the total amount brought in,"

but the second is "net profit," and the third is "the net sum

received .. . after deduction of any discount or charges."

Webster's Third New International Dictionary 1807 (1986).

Judicial definitions of "proceeds" in other contexts

also vary, though they are generally more expansive than

the interpretation Grasso urges. In construing the scope of

criminal forfeiture of "proceeds" under the Racketeer

Influenced and Corrupt Organizations ("RICO") Act, most

courts have held that proceeds involve more than net

profits. In fact, the Seventh Circuit was unique in holding

otherwise. See United States v. Masters, 924 F.2d 1362, 1369-70

14a

(7th Cir. 1991). The Second Circuit and a District Court in

our Circuit have held that proceeds represent "gross profits,"

meaning total revenues minus marginal costs, but not fixed

costs. United States v. Lizza Indus., Inc., 775 F.2d 492, 497-99

(2d Cir. 1985); United States v. Milicia, 769 F. Supp. 877, 888

(E.D. Pa. 1991). The First, Fourth, and Eighth Circuits

understand the term to mean "gross revenues." United States

v. Hurley, 63 F.3d 1, 21 (1st Cir. 1995); United States v. McHan,

101 F.3d 1027, 1041-43 (4th Cir. 1996); United States v.

Simmons, 154 F.3d 765, 770-71 (8th Cir. 1998). See generally

Anup Malani, The Scope of Criminal Forfeiture Under RICO:

The Appropriate Definition of "Proceeds," 66 U. Chi. L. Rev.

1289 (1999).

Turning to the money laundering statute, the

Seventh Circuit is alone in its restrictive definition of

"proceeds." The Sixth Circuit has noted that "proceeds," as

used in § 1956, is a "commonly understood word in the

English language," and includes "what is produced by or

derived from something (as a sale, investment, levy,

business) by way of total revenue." United States v. Haun, 90

F.3d 1096, 1101 (6th Cir. 1996) (quoting Webster's Third New

International Dictionary 1807 (1971)). Similarly, the Ninth

Circuit has adopted an expansive definition of "proceeds" as

it is used in the money laundering statute, relying on

dictionary definitions to assign it the "broad[] meaning of

that which is obtained ... by any transaction." United States v.

Akintobi, 159 F.3d 401, 403 (9th Cir. 1998) (internal citation

omitted).

Only one Circuit has explicitly considered the

Seventh Circuit's decision in Sciallaba. In United States v.

Iacaboni, 221 F. Supp. 2d 104,112 (2002), reversed in part on

other grounds by 363 F.3d 1 (1st Cir. 2004), the United States

District Court for the District of Massachusetts rejected the

Seventh Circuit's conclusion that proceeds should be

interpreted as profits rather than total revenue. In March

i hg OY,

15a

2004, the First Circuit approved the District Court's

reasoning, noting simply: "We have previously rejected

[Appellant's] interpretation of the term 'proceeds' in the

RICO forfeiture context. [He] has offered no rationale for

abandoning that approach here." 3 63 F.3d at 4 (citation

omitted).

Given the many definitions of "proceeds" and the

uncertain value of congressional records in choosing among

them,!2 the best approach, we believe, is to examine the

statute itself for indications of the intended scope of the

term. The Seventh Circuit's opinion reasons that proceeds

must be limited to net profits because money laundering is

about concealment and only profits need be concealed. But

the wording of the statute suggests that concealment is only

one of the statute's two purposes. The "normal

understanding of money laundering" may entail "hid[ing] or

invest[ing] profits in order to evade detection," as the

Seventh Circuit posited, Scialabba, 282 F.3d at 476, but the

bifurcated text of the statute strongly suggests that Congress

had a broader definition of money laundering in mind.

To be sure, 18 U.S.C. § 1956 criminalizes financial

transactions that satisfy the conventional understanding of

money laundering—namely, transactions intended "to

conceal or disguise the nature, the location, the source, the

ownership, or the control of the proceeds of specified

12 Grasso presents extensive evidence that Congress intended the

Money Laundering Control Act of 1986, of which § 1956 is part, "to fill the

gap in the criminal law with respect to the post-crime hiding of ill-gotten

gains." United States v. Bockius, 228 F.3d 305, 310 (3d Cir. 2000) (quoting

United States v. LeBlanc, 24 F.3d 340, 346 (1st Cir. 1994)). "But that was not

the sole purpose of the statute." Jd. Other rationales undercut this theory.

See, e.g., lacaboni, 221 F. Supp. 2d at 112 n.2 ("[The Seventh Circuit's

interpretation would imply that] so long as the illegal enterprise had no

net profit, no money laundering prosecution would be possible. Because

Congress could not have intended such a result, the court follows the

majority of circuits in holding that 'proceeds' should be interpreted as

‘total revenue' rather than 'net profits.'").

16a

unlawful activity." 18 U.S.C. § 1956(a)(1)(B)(i). But it is

equally unlawful under the statute to engage in a financial

transaction, knowing that the property involved represents

the proceeds of unlawful activity, "with the intent to

promote the carrying on of specified unlawful activity." 18

U.S.C. § 1956(a)(1)(A)(i). In other words, the money

_laundering statute prohibits not only the concealment of

proceeds, but also the promotion of illegal activity. By

reinvesting the proceeds of his fraudulent scheme in order

to sustain it, Grasso promoted unlawful activity within the

meaning of the statute—regardless whether the funds were

profits or gross receipts.15

Finally, we note that we have explicitly rejected one

of the principal factors cited by the Seventh Circuit in

support of its construction of the statute. The Court

commented in Scialabba: "If ... the word 'proceeds' is

synonymous with gross income, then we would have to

decide whether, as a matter of statutory construction

(distinct from double jeopardy), it is appropriate to convict a

person of multiple offenses when the transactions that

violate one statute necessarily violate another." Scialabba, 282

F.3d at 477 (internal citations omitted). Our Court, however,

has concluded that § 1956 may subject an individual to

multiple penalties based on the same crime without

violating either double jeopardy or the principles governing

statutory interpretation.

3 Because we believe the meaning of "proceeds" is clear from the

text of § 1956, we need not consider the related policy arguments. We

note, however, that various factors favor adoption of a broad definition of

the term. For example, it would be very difficult to prove that "profits"

were used to promote an illegal venture, since criminals rarely keep

records of the overhead expenses of their illegal activities. Similarly, in an

ongoing criminal business, it would be difficult to determine at what

point a defendant had netted out all business expenses. When do criminal

businesses operate by recognized auditing standards?

ic aaa a 0 eh)

17a

In United States v. Conley, 37 F.3d 970, 978-79 (3d Cir.

1994), we held that prosecution for both gambling and

money laundering did not implicate double jeopardy

because the statutory elements of the offenses differ; an

individual is guilty of money laundering only if he or she

intended to conceal or promote unlawful activity. The

Seventh Circuit distinguished our decision in Conley,

suggesting that if "proceeds" is interpreted broadly, the

similarity between money laundering and the underlying

criminal activity is problematic as a matter of statutory

construction. But our Court has resolved the latter issue as

well. In United States v. Omoruyi, 260 F.3d 291, 295 (3d Cir.

2001), we recognized that "conduct constituting the

underlying offense conduct may overlap with the conduct

constituting money laundering." An individual may be

convicted for money laundering as long as the financial

transactions are conducted with proceeds of the illegal

transaction and with the intent to promote the underlying

offense. Id.

We have regularly upheld money laundering

prosecutions based on the reinvestment ("plowing back") of

proceeds. See, e.g., United States v. Diaz, 245 F.3d 294, 305 (3d

Cir. 2001); United States v, Cefaratti, 221 F.3d 502, 511 (3d Cir.

2000); Conley, 37 F.3d at 972. And we have never suggested

that proceeds must be net. We see no reason to adopt such a

requirement now. We therefore hold that "proceeds," as that

term is used in § 1956, means simply gross receipts from

illegal activity. An individual may engage in money

laundering regardless whether his or her criminal endeavor

ultimately turns a profit.

Thus we conclude that Grasso was properly

convicted and sentenced for money laundering in violation

of § 1956. In the context of our review standard, he has.

failed to establish error of any sort, let alone plain error.

18a

B. The District Court's Award of Restitution

We next address Grasso's contention that the District

Court erred by ordering him to pay restitution because it

failed to make factual findings in support of the award. We

remand for clarification.

The context is that at the time of Grasso's sentencing,

the Court ordered payment of $49,800 in special

assessments, $180,000 in fines, $100,000 in counsel fees, and

$761,126.39 in restitution to victims of Grasso's crimes.’

According to the pre-sentence report, Grasso at one time

had assets of $1,127,691.79, of which $900,000 was in "frozen

funds." But because most of the frozen funds were in

market-sensitive securities and brokerage funds, they

fluctuated in value. Indeed, from the time of the pre-

sentence report's calculation to the date of sentencing the

funds' value had decreased by more than $200,000, resulting

in an apparent shortfall for the payment of restitution.

“4 18 U.S.C. § 3612(c) sets the priority for payments by defendants

ordered at sentencing:

Any money received from a defendant shall be

disbursed so that each of the following obligations is

paid in full in the following sequence:

(1) A penalty assessment under section 3013 of title 18,

United States Code.

(2) Restitution of all victims.

(3) All other fines, penalties, costs, and other payments

required under the sentence.

Id. The District Court's judgment provided for the payment of special

assessments, fines, and counsel fees from the frozen funds, with the

restitution ordered in Criminal No. 00-51 to be paid out of the balance. On

remand, the order of payment should be reset per § 3612.

19a

The Mandatory Victims Restitution Act ("MVRA"),

18 U.S.C. §§ 3663A-3664, enacted in 1996, requires a

sentencing court to order full restitution to identified

victims of certain crimes and to specify the manner and

order in which restitution is to be paid. The MVRA

amended the provisions for restitution set out previously in

the Victim and Witness Protection Act, 18 U.S.C. § 3663 et

seq., pursuant to which district courts had discretionary

authority to award restitution and were required to consider

such factors as the defendant's financial ability to pay. See

United States v. Coates, 178 F.3d 681, 683 n.3 (3d Cir. 1999).

Under the amended provision, the discretion of a

district court in awarding restitution is limited. Coates set

out two steps for application of the statute. First, the court

must order full restitution!’ "without consideration of the

economic circumstances of the defendant." Coates, 178 F.3d

at 683 (citing 18 U.S.C. § 3664(f)(I)(A)). Second, "[a]fter

ordering full restitution, the district court 'shall specify in

the restitution order the manner in which, and the schedule

according to which, the restitution is to be paid.' In so doing,

the district court is required to consider the financial

resources, projected earnings, and financial obligations of

the defendant." Coates, 178 F.3d at 683 (citation omitted).'¢

Clearly it makes no sense, when the mandatory restitution

sums will be paid entirely from frozen funds, to require a

district court to consider the defendant's financial resources

and responsibilities. While in Coates we held that such

15 Grasso's suggestion that a preliminary determination must be

made whether each individual qualifies for restitution is plainly incorrect.

Each individual who made a payment was "directly and proximately

harmed as a result of the commission of the offense" within the meaning

of 18 U.S.C, § 3663A(a)(2) and is consequently entitled to restitution.

16 Thus, while full restitution is mandatory, "[t]he court may order

the defendani to make a lump-sum payment, reasonable periodic

payments, or, if the defendant is indigent, nominal periodic payments."

Id. at 683-84.

20a

determinations were necessary to satisfy § 3664's mandate,

id., the defendant there had no frozen funds to which the

restitution claimants could look. We now hold that when

frozen funds are adequate to satisfy restitution, a district

court may stop short of Coates' second step. Here we have

frozen funds. But we do not know their precise value, nor

the number of claims to be satisfied. At the sentencing

colloquy, the Government reported that the value of the

frozen funds had decreased to $693,467.21, and counsel for

Grasso explicitly noted that they would not cover the

ordered expenditures.!”? We are therefore persuaded that a

remand is necessary.

7 The transcript of oral argument contains the following

confusing exchange:

The Court: All right. Mr. Phillips, any reason you know

of why this sentence I've just stated should not be

imposed?

Mr. Phillips: Your Honor, the only question I have had

to do I guess with the items you listed, fine, restitution,

attorney's fees, special assessment. When you add

those numbers up, they're more than what is available

of the frozen assets.

The Court: That's correct. The balance goes to

restitution.

Mr. Phillips: Oh, it was the balance.

The Court: Right.

Mr. Phillips: Oh, okay. I'm—

The Court: Whatever's left after those monies are paid

is for restitution.

Arguably the District Court intended restitution to be paid only to the

extent of the frozen funds. As § 3664 requires full restitution, however,

this interpretation too would necessitate remand.

21a

On remand, if the District Court should determine

that the frozen funds are adequate to satisfy the full amount

of restitution (after payment of $49,800 in special

assessments), nothing further need be found to comply with

the MVRA requirements. If, however, the funds are

inadequate, the District Court should proceed in accordance

with 18 U.S.C. § 3664(f)(2) to determine the manner in

which, and schedule according to which, restitution is to be

paid.18

18 Three additional issues bear consideration on remand. First, the

Government contends that Grasso failed to claim that payment of

$180,000 in fines impaired his ability to pay restitution and that he must

therefore pay the fines from assets outside the frozen funds. In United

States v. Torres, 209 F.3d 308, 312 (3d Cir. 2000), we noted that "the

defendant has the burden of proving his or her ability to pay [fines]."

Moreover, "[w]here ... a defendant did not at sentencing raise the issue of

his or her inability to pay, a sentencing court's decision to impose a fine

and the amount of the fine is reviewed for plain error." Id. at 313.

Nonetheless, we were careful to note in Torres that the defendant had not

argued that the District Court failed to consider his overall ability to pay a

fine. Rather, he argued only that "the record before the District Court did

not establish whether he had the earning capacity to pay a fine while on

supervised release." Id. Applied to our case, if on remand there is

determined to be a shortfall of funds available for fines (obviously the

case if the funds are insufficient to pay restitution amounts), the District

Court should consider Grasso's ability to pay this amount as well.

Second, it is apparent from the record that the District Court

intended to order the payment of restitution to the 30,007 victims

identified by the Government. The judgment, however, states that the

restitution shall be paid to "any payees" identified by the Government.

We presume that these payees are in fact the identified victims.

Finally, we note a discrepancy between the District Court's

remarks during the sentencing colloquy and the payment terms set forth

in the judgment. We glean from one statement by the Court at sentencing

that it intended Grasso, upon his release from custody, to pay $100 per

month toward any outstanding financial obligations. This provision,

however, was not included in the written order. If on remand there is a

shortfall to pay restitution, the Court should justify the schedule of

payment by reference to Grasso's financial resources and obligations,

pursuant to § 3664.

22a

II. Conclusion

Reviewing for plain error, we conclude that the

District Court's interpretation of "proceeds" in the money

laundering statute was correct, and we therefore affirm

Grasso's conviction and sentence. On the issue of restitution,

we vacate the District Court's order and remand for

reconsideration in light of the value of the frozen funds. If

the Court determines that those funds are inadequate to pay

restitution in the priority scheme set by 18 U.S.C. § 3612, it

should follow the requirements of 18 U.S.C. § 3664(f)(2).

Pe een Tee

23a

Sheet 1

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

Eastern District of Pennsylvania

JUDGMENT IN A CRIMINAL CASE

(For Offenses Committed On or After November 1, 1987)

Entered February 4, 2003

UNITED STATES CASE NUMBER:

OF AMERICA 00-51-1

V.

MICHAEL J. GRASSO, JR.

Walter M. Phillips, Jr.

Defendant's Attorney

THE DEFENDANT:

pleaded guilty to count(s) 13s

UO pleaded nolo contendere to count(s)

which was accepted by the court.

ES) was found guilty on count(s) 1s - 12s; 14s - 157s 159s

- 195s; 197s - 495s_ after a plea of not guilty.

ACCORDINGLY, the court has adjudicated that the

defendant is guilty of the following offense(s):

Title & Section Nature of Offense

18: U.S.C. §1341 and 2 Mail Fraud; Aiding and Abetting

; 18: U.S.C. §1343 and2 Wire Fraud; Aiding and Abetting

18: U.S.C. §1503(a) Obstruction of Justice

18: U.S.C. §1956 Money Laundering; Aiding and

(a)(1)(A)(i) and 2 Abetting

Date Offense Count Number(s)

Concluded

9/16/99 1s - 9s, 11s

24a

4/13/99 10s, 12s

2/1/00 13s

2/20/98 14s - 157s

159s - 195s

197s - 495s

The defendant is sentenced as provided in pages 2

through 8 of this judgment. The sentence is imposed

pursuant to the Sentencing Reform Act of 1984.

O The defendant has been found not guilty on count(s)

O Count(s) CJ is LJ are dismissed on the motion

of the United States.

IT IS ORDERED that the defendant shall notify the

United States Attorney for this district within 30 days of any

change of name, residence, or mailing address until all fines,

restitution, costs and special assessments imposed by this

judgment are fully paid. If ordered to pay restitution, the

defendant shall notify the court and United States attorney

of any material change in the defendant’s economic

circumstances.

Defendant's So. Sec. No.: February 3, 2003

168-52-4934 Date of Imposition

of Judgment

Defendant's Date \s\ Berle M. Schiller

of Birth: Signature of Judicial Officer

3/18/59

Defendant's USM No.: Berle M. Schiller, U.S. District

53988-066 Juge

Name and Title of Judicial

Officer

25a

Defendant's Residence 2/4/03

Address: Date

F.D.C. at Philadelphia

P.O. Box 562

Philadelphia, PA 19106

Defendant's Mailing

Address

Same as above.

Sheet 2 - Imprisonment

Judgment - Page 2 of 8

DEFENDANT: MICHAEL J. GRASSO, JR.

CASE NUMBER: 00-51-1

IMPRISONMENT

The defendant is hereby committed to the custody of

the United States Bureau of Prisons to be imprisoned for a

total term of 97 months

60 months on each of counts One through Thirteen.

97 months on each of counts 14 -157, 159-68, 169-195, 197-

394 395-447. 448-495. All counts shall be served

concurrently.

& The court makes the following recommendations to

the Bureau of Prisons: The defendant be

incarcerated at a boot camp at F.C. Fort Dix or

Minersville.

‘= The defendant is remanded to the custody of the

United States Marshal.

O The defendant shall surrender to the United States

Marshall for this district:

O at QOam.0) p.m.on

26a

CO as notified by the United States Marshall.

O The defendant shall surrender for service of sentence

at the institution designated by the Bureau of

Prisons:

before 2:00 p.m. on

as notified by the United States Marshall.

as notified by the Probation or Pretrial Services

Office.

OOO

RETURN

I have executed this judgment as follows:

Defendant delivered on to at

, with a certified copy of this judgment.

UNITED STATES MARSHAL

By

DEPUTY UNITED STATES MARSHALL

Sheet 3 - Supervised Release

Judgment - Page 3 of 8

DEFENDANT: MICHAEL J. GRASSO, JR.

CASE NUMBER: 00-51-1

SUPERVISED RELEASE

Upon release from imprisonment, the defendant

shall be on supervised release for a term 3 Years.

The defendant shall report to the probation office in

the district to which the defendant is released within 72

hours of release from custody of the Bureau of Prisons.

27a

The defendant shall not commit another federal,

state or local crime.

The defendant shall not illegally possess a controlled

substance.

For offenses committed on or after September 13, 1994:

The defendant shall refrain from any unlawful use of

a controlled substance. The defendant shall submit to one

drug test within 15 days of release from imprisonment and

at least two periodic drug tests thereafter, as directed by the

probation officer.

O The above drug testing condition is

suspended based on the _ court's

determination that the defendant poses a low

risk of future substance abuse.

x The defendant shall not possess a firearm,

destructive device, or any other dangerous

weapon.

If this judgment imposes a fine or a restitution

obligation, it shall be a condition of supervised release that

the defendant pay any such fine or restitution that remains

unpaid at the commencement of the term of supervised |

release in accordance with the Schedule of Payments set

forth in the Criminal Monetary Penalties sheet of this

judgment.

The defendant shall comply with the standard

conditions that have been adopted by this court (set forth

below). The defendant shall also comply with the

additional conditions on the attached page.

1)

7)

3)

4)

8)

9)

28a

STANDARD CONDITIONS OF SUPERVISION

the defendant shall not leave the judicial district

without the permission of the court or probation

officer;

the defendant shall report to the probation officer

and shall submit a truthful and complete written

report within the first five days of each month;

the defendant shall answer truthfully all inquiries by

the probation officer and follow the instructions of

the probation officer;

the defendant shall support his or her dependents

and meet other family responsibilities;

the defendant shall work regularly at a lawful

occupation unless excused by the probation officer

for schooling, training, or other acceptable reasons;

the defendant shall notify the probation officer at

lease ten days prior to any change in residence or

employment;

the defendant shall refrain from excessive use of

alcohol and shall not purchase, possess, use,

distribute, or administer and controlled substance or

any paraphernalia related to any controlled

substances, except as prescribed by a physician;

the defendant shall not frequent places where

controlled substances are illegally sold, used,

distributed, or administered;

the defendant shall not associate with any persons

engaged in criminal activity, and shall not associate

10)

11)

12)

13)

29a

with any person convicted of a felony unless granted

permission to do so by the probation officer;

the defendant shall permit a probation officer to visit

him or her at any time at home or elsewhere and

shall permit confiscation of any contraband observed

in plain view of the probation officer;

the defendant shall notify the probation officer

within seventy-two hours of being arrested or

questioned by a law enforcement officer;

the defendant shall not enter into any agreement to

act as an informer or a special agent of a law

enforcement agency without the permission of the

court.

as directed by the probation officer, the defendant

shall notify third parties of risks that may be

occasioned by the defendant's criminal record or

personal history or characteristics, and shall permit

the probation officer to make such notifications and

to confirm the defendant's compliance with such

notification requirement;

Sheet 3 - Supervised Release

Judgment - Page 4 of 8

DEFENDANT: MICHAEL J. GRASSO, JR.

CASE NUMBER:00-51-1

ADDITIONAL SUPERVISED RELEASE TERMS

The defendant shall not illegally possess a controlled

substance.

30a

The defendant shall not possess a firearm or other

dangerous weapon.

The defendant shall provide the probation officer with

access to any requested financial information and shall file a -

detailed monthly financial statement with the probation

office. The financial statement shall include copies of bank

statements for all accounts (personal, commercial, and

investment), and shall also include a detailed accounting of

the defendant’s business income and expenditures, in

addition to information concerning personal expenses and

expenses to which he contributes on behalf of his

dependants.

The defendant shall not incur new credit charges or open

additional lines of credit (business or personal) without the

prior approval of the probation officer.

The defendant shall not mail, contract the mailing, or direct

the mailing of any solicitation pertaining to “work-at-home”

employment opportunities.

Prior to contracting a mailing, personally directing, or

mailing, any solicitation, or before placing any

advertisement in the form of any printed, video or electronic

medium, the defendant shall provide the probation office

and the Court with a copy of the proposed solicitation and

or advertisement for review and final approval.

The defendant shall provide the U.S. Probation Office with

access to any requested personal and/or business financial

information. The probation office is authorized to release

pre-sentence and post-sentence financial information

submitted by the defendant to the U.S. Attorney’s Office for

use in the collection of any unpaid fine or restitution. If

restitution or a fine is owed, the defendant shall notify the

U.S. Probation Office of any assets received and shall not

3la

disburse his interest in any assets, including, but not limited

to, income tax refunds, inheritance, insurance and lawsuit

settlements, or gambling winnings without the approval of

the U.S. Probation Office. ;

Upon release from imprisonment the defendant shall pay

$100.00 per month toward any outstanding financial

obligation, of any remain.

Sheet 5 - Criminal Monetary Penalties

Judgment - Page 5 of 8

DEFENDANT: MICHAEL J. GRASSO, JR.

CASE NUMBER: 00-51-1

CRIMINAL MONETARY PENALTIES

The defendant shall pay the following total criminal

monetary penalties in accordance with the schedule of

payments set forth on Sheet 5, Part B.

Assessment Fine Restitution

Totals: $49,500.00 $150,000.00 $761,126.39

OC The determination of restitution is deferred

until __. An Amended Judgment in a

Criminal Case (A O 245C) will be entered after

such determination.

O The defendant shall make restitution

(including community restitution) to the

following payees in the amount listed below.

If the defendant makes a partial payment,

each payee shall receive an approximately

proportioned payment, unless _ specified

otherwise in the priority order or percentage

32a

payment column below. However, pursuant

to 18 U.S.C. § 3664(i), all nonfederal victims

must be paid in full prior to the United States

receiving payment.

Name of Payee *Total

Amount of Loss

Amount of Priority Order or

Restitution Ordered Percentage of Payment

TOTALS $ $

C If applicable, restitution amount ordered pursuant to

plea agreement $

O The defendant shall pay interest on any fine or

restitution of more than $2,500, unless the fine or

restitution is paid in full before the fifteenth day after

the date of the judgment, pursuant to 18 U.S.C. §

3612(f). All of the payment options on Sheet 5, Part

B may be subject to penalties for delinquency and

default, pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 3612(g).

O The court determined that the defendant does not

have the ability to pay interest, and it is ordered that:

O the interest requirement is waived for the 0

fine and/or CU restitution.

O the interest requirement for the OU fine

and/or UC) restitution is modified as follows:

* Findings for the total amount of losses are required under

Chapters 109A, 110, 110A, and 113A of Title 18, United

33a

States Code, for offenses committed on or after September

13, 1994 but before April 23, 1996.

Sheet 6, Part B - Criminal Monetary Penaltie

Judgment - Page 6 of 8

DEFENDANT: MICHAEL J. GRASSO, JR.

CASE NUMBER: 00-51-1

SCHEDULE OF PAYMENTS

Having assessed the defendant's ability to pay,

payment of the total criminal monetary penalties shall be

due as follows:

A.O Lump sum payment of $ due

immediately, balance due

O not later than , or

CJ in accordance with CL] C, 0 D, or UE below,

or

B. & Payment to begin immediately (may be combined

with 0 C, OD, or & E below); or

C. O Payment in (e.g., equal, weekly, monthly,

quarterly) installments of $ over a period of

(e.g., months or years), to commence

(e.g., 30 or 60 days) after the date of this

judgment;or

D. O Payment in _ (&g:, equal, weekly, monthly,

quarterly) installments of $ over a period of

(e.g., months or years), to commence

(e.g., 30 or 60 days) after release from

imprisonment to a term of supervision; or

E. & Special instructions regarding the payment of

criminal monetary penalties:

34a

Payment of the Special Assessment, Fine, and

Counsel Fees shall be made from the defendant's

frozen account.

Restitution shall be paid from the balance of the

frozen account to any payees the U.S. Attorney’s

Office identifies.

Unless the court has expressly ordered otherwise in the

special instruction above, if this judgment imposes a period

of imprisonment, payment of criminal monetary penalties

shall be due during the period of imprisonment. All

criminal monetary penalties, except those payments made

through the Federal Bureau of Prisons’ Inmate Financial

Responsibility Program, are made to the clerk of the court,

unless otherwise directed by the court, the probation officer,

or the United States attorney.

The defendant shall receive credit for all payments

previously made toward any criminal monetary penalties

imposed.

‘= Joint and Several

Defendant Name, Case Number, and Joint and

Several Amount:

The defendant shall pay the cost of prosecution.

The defendant shall pay the following court cost(s):

The defendant shall forfeit the defendant's interest in

the following property to the United States:

OOO0

Payments shall be applied in the following order: (1)

assessment, (2) restitution principal, (3) restitution interest,

(4) fine principal, (5) community restitution, (6) fine interest

(7) penalties, and (8) costs, including cost of prosecution and

court costs.

35a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

UNITED STATES

OF AMERICA CRIMINAL ACTION

v. NO. 00-CR-51

NO. 01-CR-783

MICHAEL J. GRASSO, JR. :

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

[ENTERED: January 15, 2003]

SCHILLER, J. January 15, 2003

On November 19, 2000, in connection with Criminal

Number 00-CR-51, a grand jury issued a 495-count

Superseding Indictment against Defendant Michael Grasso,

Jr., charging him with mail fraud, wire fraud, money

laundering, and obstruction of justice.! This matter was tried

before Judge Kauffman and on February 25, 2002, a jury

found Defendant guilty on all counts.2 On December

20,2001, in connection with Criminal Number 01-CR-783,

which was assigned to Judge Schiller, Mr. Grasso was

indicted for forgery and obstruction of justice. Mr. Grasso

pled guilty to these charges on June 19, 2002. Judge Schiller,

1 On February 7, 2002, Judge Kauffman severed Count 13 (the

obstruction of justice count) from Criminal Number 00-CR.-051 and

ordered it consolidated with Criminal Number 01-CR-783 (Criminal

Number 01-CR-783, docket no. 84).

2 This does not include the obstruction of justice count that was

severed and the money laundering counts (158 & 196) that were

dismissed on February 8, 2002 (Criminal Number 00-CR-51, docket no.

88).

36a

by way of an Order dated June 21, 2002, consolidated both

of these cases for the purposes of sentencing.? On November

20, 2002, both cases were reassigned from Judge Kauffman

to Judge Schiller.

Now before the Court is Defendant's Motion for

Judgment of Acquittal on the Money Laundering Counts

and the Government's Reply Memorandum.‘ Defendant

contends that he cannot be sentenced under the money

laundering statute, 18 US.C. § 1956, because the

government failed to prove (1) the promotion prong on of

the money laundering statute and (2) that the monies

expended by Mr. Grasso in the money laundering counts

represented net income. For the reasons stated below I will

deny Defendant's Motion and will sentence Defendant

tinder the money laundering guidelines.

BACKGROUND

Between early 1997 and late 1999, Defendant

operated a series! of massive "work-at-home" schemes. (N.T.

2/25/02, pp. 20). Using various business names, Defendant

placed advertisements and sent direct mailings offering

3 These two cases were consolidated for the administrative

convenience of the Court.

‘ Mr. Grasso contends that his October 9,2002 Motion (Criminal

Number 00-CR-51, docket no. 128) is a renewed motion for Judgment of

acquittal on the money laundering Counts. Ordinarily, a motion for

judgment of acquittal under Rule 29 must be made within 7 days after the

verdict or within such time as the Court may fix during the 7-day period.

See FED. R. CRIM. P. 29(c). However, at oral argument, the parties agreed

that Defendant's motion would be considered for the limited purpose of

determining whether Defendant should be sentenced under the money

laundering or fraud guidelines.

5 These names included Alternatives, Financial Enterprises,

Financial Publishers, Greenhouse, GSECO, Hazel Peppergood, Imex,

Mesa, Modem Mailers, PMG Associates, Rod Enterprises, Rynex, Welsh

Associates, and others. (N.T. 2/25/02, pp. 22-26).

7

37a

work-at-home employment. (Id. pp. 20-26). These

advertisements and mailings stated that, for a fee ranging

from ten to forty dollars, readers could become employed

stuffing envelopes and stapling booklets at home. (Id.)

When readers mailed in their money, they received in

return a set of written instructions that explained how they

too could place advertisements offering work-at-home

employment similar to those to which they had responded.

(Id., pp. 31-32). In other words, Defendant's customers could

make money working at home only if they themselves

perpetrated the same scheme on others.

Between September 1997 and September 1999,

Defendant deposited over ten million dollars into various

bank accounts. (Id, pp. 36). Additionally, the Superseding

Indictment identifies 482 separate transactions (Counts 14

through 495) in which Defendant paid for advertisements,

telephone services, printing, envelopes, and other materials

with the proceeds of his enterprise, (Superseding Indictment

Counts 14-495, 95) (N.T. 2/25/02, pp. 51-53). The four

entities identified in the money laundering counts are

Americans Classified, Lelli Printing, Western States, and

Spare Time Magazine. (N.T. 2/25/02, pp. 52-53).

DISCUSSION

A. Promotion Prong

"Section 1956(a)(1)(A)(i) makes it unlawful to

conduct a financial transaction involving the proceeds of

unlawful activity 'with the intent to promote the carrying on

of specified unlawful activity.'" United States v. Paramo, 998

F.2d 1212, 1216 (3d Cir. 1993). The Superseding Indictment,

upon which Defendant was convicted, states that Defendant

conducted numerous financial transactions (i.e., payments

to vendors for advertising, printing, and supplies) involving

the proceeds of unlawful activity (i.e., mail and wire fraud)

38a

with the intent to promote unlawful activity (i.e., further

mail and wire fraud).

Mr. Grasso now argues that payments made to

America's Classified, Lelli Printing, Western States, and

Spare Time Magazine, for printing, advertising, postage,

and supplies cannot be considered transactions designed to

promote future specified unlawful activity or to achieve the

success of completed or ongoing criminal activity, because

the activity, i.e., mail and wire fraud, was already complete

at the time payment was made.‘ In other words, Mr. Grasso

contends that his payment for services rendered cannot be

considered promotion of an already completed fraud.

Defendant's argument must fail for two reasons.

First, contrary to Mr. Grasso's representations, not all the

payments to vendors were for work previously preformed.

A substantial number of the financial transactions were

payments for the promotion of ongoing or future fraudulent

activity. For example, because he was such a large customer,

America's Classifieds required Mr. Grasso to pay by wire

transfer when he approved advertising to eliminate the risk

that it would not be paid-after the advertising was placed,

(N.T. 2/20/02, pp. 99-101), Lelli Printing charged Mr.

Grasso for postage as it was being used for a specific project

(N.T. 2/13/02, p 155) and Spare Time Magazine billed Mr.

Grasso for advertising to be placed in multiple future issues

(N.T. 2/21/02, p.117-119).

Second, and more importantly, it is irrelevant

whether the payments were made before, during, or after

the fraudulent activity. The Third Circuit Court of Appeals

6 The Court notes that this argument is similar to the one

presented before Judge Kauffman in Defendant's Motion to Dismiss the

Money Laundering Counts. There, Defendant unsuccessfully argued that

the payment to the vendors was not money laundering because the fraud

could not be considered complete until the vendors were paid.

39a

has held that "a defendant can engage in financial

transactions that promote not only ongoing or future

unlawful activity, but also prior unlawful activity." Paramo,

998 F.2d at 1218. In an ongoing fraudulent scheme like the

one for which Defendant was convicted, money laundering

occurs when proceeds of an illegal act are used to further

the unlawful scheme. See, e.g., United States v. Cefaratti, 221

F.3d 502, 511 (3d Cir. 2000) (holding that-the defendant

laundered money when he reinvested fraudulently obtained

educational loan money into his school); United States v.

Conley, 37 F.3d 970, 980 (3d Cir. 1994} (holding that the

defendant laundered money when he used money collected

from illegal poker machines to purchase more poker

machines). Defendant was therefore promoting his

fraudulent scheme by paying the bills necessary to keep the

fraud alive and growing.

B. Net Income v. Gross Receipts

Mr. Grasso next argues that the government has

failed to establish money laundering because it did not

prove at trial that the transactions with America's Classified,

Lelli Printing, Western States, and Spare Time Magazine

were conducted with "net income " In support of his

position, Mr. Grasso cites a recently decided Seventh Circuit

case, United States v. Scialabba, 282 F.3d 475 (7 Cir. 2002). In

Scialabba, the Seventh Circuit vacated the money laundering

convictions of defendants - who illegally furnished video

poker machines to bars and restaurants - where evidence

established only that defendants used the money deposited

in the poker machines to meet expenses of the business and

to pay the owners of the establishments in which the

machines were operated. Scialabba stated that when "a crime

entails voluntary, business-like operations, 'proceeds' must

be net income; otherwise, the predicate crime merges into

money laundering (for no business can be carried on

40a

without expenses) and the word 'proceeds' loses operational

significance." Scialabba, 282 F.3d at 475.

I decline follow the reasoning set forth in Scialabba as

it is susceptible to criticism on several grounds. First, the

Seventh Circuit's definition of "proceeds" runs contrary to

authorities on the plain meaning of the word. See, e.g.,

BLACK'S LAW DICTIONARY 1222 (7th ed. 1999) (listing "net

proceeds" as a separate entry under "proceeds"). Second,

limiting "proceeds" to "net profits" as the Seventh Circuit has

done, may lead to curious results. Specifically, under the

rationale set forth in Scialabba,"[o]ne could argue that so long

as the illegal enterprise had no net profit, no money

laundering prosecution would be possible. Because

Congress could not have intended such a result, the court

follows the majority of circuits in holding that 'proceeds'

should be interpreted as "total revenue" rather than ‘net

profits."' United States v. Iacaboni, 221 F. Supp. 2d 104,112 (D.

Mass. 2002) (citing United States v. Hurley, 63 F.3d 1, 21 (1st

Cir. 1995)).

The Third Circuit has decided numerous cases in

which it has read the money laundering statute to prohibit

transactions undertaken to promote additional criminal

conduct by reinvesting the proceeds of criminal conduct.

Cefaratti, 221 F.3d at 511; Conley, 37 F.3d at 980; United States

v. Diaz, 245 F,3d 294, 305 (3d Cir. 2002); United States v.

Smith, 186 F.3d 290, 298 (3d Cir. 1999). In these opinions, the

Third Circuit has never intimated that the term "proceeds"

in 18 U.S.C. § 1956(a)(1) should be read as "net proceeds". I

will not deviate from the Third Circuit's reading of the

"money laundering statute.

4la

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, I will deny Defendant's

Motion and sentence Mr. Grasso under the money

laundering guidelines. An appropriate order follows.

42a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

UNITED STATES :

OF AMERICA : CRIMINAL ACTION

V. : NO. 00-CR-51

NO. 01-CR-783

MICHAEL J. GRASSO, JR. :

ORDER

AND NOW, this _15 _ day of January, 2003, upon

consideration of Defendant Michael Grasso's Motion for

Judgment of Acquittal on the Money Laundering Counts

(Criminal Number 00-CR-51, docket no. 128), the

Government's Reply Memorandum (Criminal Number 00-

CR-51, docket no. 133), and following oral argument therein,

it is hereby ORDERED that:

Defendant's Motion is DENIED. Accordingly,

Defendant will be sentenced under the money laundering

counts in connection with Criminal Number 00-CR-51.

BY THE COURT:

/s/ Berle M. Schiller

BERLE M. SCHILLER, J.

LT

43a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Nos. 03-1441/ 03-1442

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

v.

MICHAEL J. GRASSO, JR.,

Appellant

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

(D.C. Criminal Action Nos. 00-cr-00051-1/01-cr-00783-1)

District Judge: Honorable Berle M. Schiller

Argued December 12, 2003

[ENTERED: September 21, 2004]

Present: SCIRICA, Chief Judge. SLOVITER, NYGAARD,

ALITO, ROTH, McKEE, RENDELL, BARRY, AMBRO,

FUENTES, SMITH, CHERTOFF, FISHER, VAN

ANTWERPEN and GARTH’, Circuit judges

SUR PETITION FOR PANEL REHEARING WITH

SUGGESTION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

: Judge Garth's vote is limited to panel rehearing only.

44a

The petition for rehearing filed by Appellant having

been submitted to the judges who participated in the decision

of this Court, and to all the other available circuit judges in

active service, and no judge who concurred in the decision

having asked for rehearing, and a majority of the circuit

judges of the Circuit in regular active service not having

voted for rehearing by the court en banc, the petition for

rehearing is DENIED.

By the Court,

/s/ Thomas L. Ambro, Circuit Judge

Dated: September 21,2004

LML/cc Walter M. Phillips Jr., Esq.

(Anne W. Chain, Esq.

(Peter F. Schenck, Esq.

U.S. Const. Amend. VI:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the right

to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury of the State

and district wherein the crime shall have been committed,

which district shall have been previously ascertained by

law, and to be informed of the nature and cause of the

accusation; to be confronted with the witnesses against him;

to have compulsory process for obtaining witnesses in his

favor, and to have the Assistance of Counsel for his defense.

18 U.S.C. § 1956(a)(1). _Laundering of monetary

instruments:

(a)(1) Whoever, knowing that the property

involved in a financial transaction represents the proceeds

of some form of unlawful activity, conducts or attempts to

conduct such a financial transaction which in fact involves

the proceeds of specified unlawful activity -

(A)(i) with the intent to promote the carrying on of

specified unlawful activity; or

(ii) | with intent to engage in conduct constituting

a violation of section 7201 or 7206 of the Internal Revenue

Code of 1986; or

(B) knowing that the transaction is designed in

whole or in part -

(i) to conceal or disguise the nature, the location,

the source, the ownership, or the control of the proceeds of

specified unlawful activity; or

' (ii) to avoid a transaction reporting requirement

under State or Federal law,

shall be sentenced to a fine of not more than $500,000

or twice the value of the property involved in the

transaction, whichever is greater, or imprisonment for not

more than twenty years, or both.

46a

U.S. Sentencing Guidelines Manual § 2B1.1(b)(1) (2001):

Larceny, Embezzlement, and Other Forms of Theft; Offenses

Involving Stolen Property; Property Damage or Destruction;

Fraud and Deceit; Forgery; Offenses Involving Altered or

Counterfeit Instruments Other than Counterfeit Bearer

Obligations of the United States

* * &*

(b) Specific Offense Characteristics

(1) If the loss exceeded $5,000, increase the

offense level as follows:

Loss(Apply the Greatest) Increase in Level

(A) $5,000 or less no increase

(B) More than $5,000 add 2

(C) More than $10,000 add 4

(D) More than $30,000 add 6

(E) More than $70,000 add 8

(F) More than $120,000 add 10

(G) More than $200,000 add 12

(H) More than $400,000 add 14

(I) More than $1,000,000 add 16

J) More than $2,500,000 add 18

K) = More than $7,000,000 add 20

L) = More than $20,000,000 add 22

M) More than $50,000,000 add 24

N) More than $100,000,000 add 26

47a

U.S. Sentencing Guidelines § 2S1.1:

Laundering of Monetary Instruments; Engaging in

Monetary Transactions in Property Derived from Unlawful

Activity

(a) Base Offense Level:

(1) The offense level for the underlying offense

from which the laundered funds were derived if (A) the

defendant committed the underlying offense (or would be

accountable for the underlying offense under subsection

(a)(1)(A) of §1B1.3 (Relevant Conduct)); and (B) the offense

level for that offense can be determined; or

(2) 8 plus the number of offense levels from the

table in §2B1.1 (Theft, Property Destruction, and Fraud)

corresponding to the value of the laundered funds,

otherwise.

(b) Specific Offense Characteristics

(1) If (A) subsection (a)(2) applies; and (B) the

defendant knew or believed that any of the laundered funds

were the proceeds of, or were intended to promote (i) an

offense involving the manufacture, importation, or

distribution of a controlled substance or a listed chemical;

(ii) a crime of violence; or (iii) an offense involving firearms,

explosives, national security, terrorism, or the sexual

exploitation of a minor, increase by 6 levels.

(2) (Apply the Greatest):

(A) _ If the defendant was convicted under

18 U.S.C. § 1957, increase by 1 level.

(B) If the defendant was convicted under 18

U.S.C. § 1956, increase by 2 levels.

(C) __ If (i) subsection (a)(2) applies; and (ii)

the defendant was in the business of laundering funds,

increase by 4 levels.

(3) If (A) subsection (b)(2)(B) applies; and (B) the

offense involved sophisticated laundering, increase by 2

levels.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.