Petition for Writ of Certiorari — San Paolo U.S. Holding Co. v. Simon

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(| Supreme Court,

oo FILED

No. 001467MAR 1 2 2001

In the Supreme Coifit"*™

OF THE

United States

SAN PAOLO U.S. HOLDING COMPANY, INC.,

Petitioner,

V.

LIONEL SIMON, DBA LIBERTY PAPER COMPANY,

Respondent.

On Petition For a Writ of Certiorari to the

Supreme Court of California

oe ae

————— ——

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Epport & RICHMAN, LLP

LAWRENCE ALLEN ABELSON

Counsel of Record

STEVEN N. RICHMAN

LAWRENCE ALLEN ABELSON

10100 Santa Monica Boulevard,

Suite 1450

Los Angeles, CA 90067

(310) 785-0885

Counsel for Petitioner

Bowne of Los Angeles, Inc., Law Printers (213) 627-2200

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

(i) Whether an award of punitive damages which is 340

times greater than the attendant award of compensatory

damages ($1,700,000.00: $5,000.00) is violative of a

defendant’s right to due process under the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution, especially

where the conduct involves a single commercial transaction

and the harm suffered is purely economic.

(ii) Whether the standard of review on a challenge to the

constitutionality of a punitive damage award is

(a) “independent and de novo,” or (b) only an “abuse of

discretion.”

(iii) In determining the reasonableness of the

relationship between an award of punitive damages and the

plaintiffs actual harm, whether it is proper to consider

_ Claims for compensatory damages which have previously

been rejected.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

The parties to the proceedings are LIONEL SIMON,

doing business as LIBERTY PAPER COMPANY, the

Plaintiff in the underlying action, and Defendant SAN

PAOLO U.S. HOLDING CO., INC., the Petitioner

herein. SAN PAOLO U.S. HOLDING CO., INCG., is a

corporation formed and existing under me laws of the State

of Delaware, and is a subsidiary of SANPAOLO IMI

S.p.A., a corporation organized under the laws of the

Republic of Italy. Also a party to this litigation (but not this

Petition) is Defendant SAN PAOLO BANK (formally

known as Istituto Bancario San Paolo Di Torino), an

affiliate of SAN PAOLO U.S. HOLDING CO., INC.

_—

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..............+++5: i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS ........... i

OPINIONS BELOW . ....... cscs cccscccveess l

JURISDICTION « oocs cs nnkassadavhaeesaionsess |

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED .. 2

STATEMENT . o.040<cdus nd estacpreneenbewieses 2

A. Factual Background..............eseeeeees 2

B. Procedural Background and Presentation of

the Federal Question... .........scsceceess

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ie. We

A. State Courts Require Guidance Regarding the

Standard of Appellate Review of the

Constitutional Excessiveness of Punitive -

Damage Awards... .....csscescseccsescess 1]

B. An Award of Punitive Damages in a Sum 340

Times Greater Than an Accompanying Award

of Compensatory Damages is Violative of a

Defendant’s Fundamental Right to Due Process

and is Excessive as a Matter of Law ......... 19

C. The Assessment of Punitive Damages Under

California Law Constitutes an Imposition of a

Criminal Punishment Without Adequate

Srondiantt. ... . s ixaskabuceeenee seeueaeat es 25

D. Compensatory Damages Based On a Claim

Expressly Rejected by the Factfinder Should

Not Be Considered in Determining the

Reasonableness of an Award of Punitive

DeAOS . oo 5 cis vn ns CARR eS on 27

CONCLUSION occ ca uscsuccupatss eeeersears 30

Sn SE nde aie Sy RU Re at Dail: BML oh en

i i ce ita a Bs

iil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Page

_ A.B. Small Co. v. American Sugar Refining Co.,

ee Dh ov on oka da kha xe eaed ona 26

Ace v. Aetna Life Ins. Co., 139 F.3d 1241 (9th Cir.

1998), cert. denied, 67 U.S.L.W. 3257 ......... 21, 22

Allsup’s Convenience Stores, Inc. v. North River Ins.

Ua sR ae eo, | en 13

Auerbach v. Great Western Bank, 74 Cal. eit 4th

CL ea io oh Wk aa WR Keak b ARO oe 22

BMW of North America v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559

iy ay pela NR ie ai ee aa passim

Bordenkircher v. Haves, 434 U.S. 357 (1978) ..... 1]

Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union of United States,

we RS |) 16

_ Continental Trend Resources v. OXY USA, 101

De) ie) 22

Cooper Industries Inc. v. Leatherman Tool Group,

Inc., United States Supreme Court No. 99-2035 .. 19

Crawford v. Southern Pacific Co., 3 Cal.2d 427

ed ek oa sia eye cbs 6c GND Sea ee 8

Devlin v. Kearny Mesa AMC/Jeep/Renaull, Inc.,

155 Cal.App.3d 381 (1984) ............0..00.. 12, 24

Federal Deposit Ins. Corp. v. Hamilton, 122 F.3d

EI, WED ga picasa dsucceuncens« 21, 22

Fortman v. Hemco, Inc., 211 Cal.App.3d 241

ae ian Laika eh add ee bi da kad ans 12

Gagnon v. Continental Casualty Co., 211

ee eG Sk. . | re 28

Gamble v. Stevenson, 305 S.C. 104, 406 S.E.2d 350

ore a hig ean ce WS ssh 4 ads Ka 4s < 13

Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 481 U.S. 323 €1974) ... 25

Giaccio v. Pennsylvania, 382 U.S. 399 (1966) ..... 25

aa tangle

wo <P atee

1V

CASES

Page

Haynes v. Washington, 373 U.S. 503 (1963) ...... 12, 16

Honda Motor Co. v. Oberg, 512 U.S. 415

SR cas G's dace we he ae aw ae wee 13, 20, 21

Hundley v. Rite Aid of South Carolina Inc., 339

DA. Zed, Dae cee BS CIO) ona sce ceewencss 13

In Re Paris Air Crash, 622 F.2d 1315 (9th Cir.

1980), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 976 (1980) ....... 26

Lane v. Hughes Aircraft Co., 22 Cal.App.4th 405

CE Gad ovat ee eka ee eebee hens a aime 17,18

Miller v. Fenton, 474 U.S. 104 (1985) ........... 16

Neal v. Farmers Ins. Exchange, 2\ Cal.3d 910

CUMOE ku aetwak ss ekieke rehash akan 12

Neibel v. Trans World Assurance Co., 108 F.3d

get Ck me. 2g Seem yr. Pt aenery ae 21, 24

Ornelas v. United States, 517 U.S. 690 (1996) .... 12, 16

Owens-Corning Fiberglass Corp. v. Ballard, 739

30.24 G03 (Fin. CtAgp. 1996) .......:.00c04 13

Pacific Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip,

ee Re 8 RE nk Ne Veen eae. 7, 15, 19, 20, 22

Parrott v. Carr Chevrolet Inc., 331 Or. 537, 2001

ee OE is ss % ina ee are 14

Pulla v. Amoco Oil Co., 72 F.3d 648 (8th Cir.

FO Kasi dikes Acs Wd en a oa a eRe ed ee 20

Rosenbloom v. Metromed.a, Inc., 403 U.S. 29

CREE habe bs don ee RAE tan ee Reet 25

Salve Regina College v. Russell, 499 U.S. 225

COED £5ivs ke Cees phe ahs eee eens 16

Seely v. Seymour, 190 Cal.App.3d 844 (1987)..... 22

Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30 (1983) ............. 25

Solem v. Helm, 463 U.S. 277 (1983) ............ 26

Southwestern Tel. & Tel. Co. v. Danaher, 238 U.S.

ONO sikks Fi cease wh bb Rtas A eee an 26

State of Ohio v. Barron, 52 Cal.App.4th 62 (1997)... 12

‘

LSE MOE aie NW le Mt A ee oO

Vv

CASES

Page

St. Louis, Iron, Mountain & S. Ry. Co. v. Williams,

ok SO. Oe COE ws Fins te eon ee eee 26

Stranahan y. Fred Meyer, Inc., 153 Or.App. 442,

O58 F.2G. BSG Gs 085s kerbs cede ees 14

Thompson v. Keohane, 516 U.S. 99 (1995) ....... 16

TXO Production Corp. v. Alliance Res. Corp.,

See Ua Ae CTO i neko ccc tia 15, 20, 22, 23, 29

United States v. Bajakajian, 524 U.S. 321 (1998) .... 26

United States v. First City Nat'l Bank, 386 U.S. 361

URGE Po od see teehee ch teehee ea 16

Wisconsin v. Constantineau, 400 U.S. 433 (1971).... 25

Statutes

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment,

WOOO oink has dean beet eee 2

ce UB. Bee: ABTA sis pink ciwesvnnes l

Miscellaneous

Cass R. Sunstein, et al., Assessing Punitive Damages

(with Notes on Cognition and Valuation in Law),

SG? YAGE 4.5. Bert Cees $6055 5e Anes 16

vi

Appendix

Reporter’s Transcript for Trial Court Hearing on

Motion for New Tnial, or Alternatively for

Remittitur of Excessive Damages ......... A-1 - A-13

Opinion of California Court of Appeal,

Second Appellate District, Division

2 Fe rr hg er A-15 - A-49

Denial of Petition for Rehearing by California

Court of Appeal, Second Appellate District,

EOOVI FE oak son k ck bac a es uceeeveanevan A-51

Order of California Supreme Court extending

time for granting or denying review............. A-53

Denial of Petition for Review by California

Ge rer rrr rey errs er errr rs A-55

Order of California Court of Appeal, Second

Appellate District, Division Four, recalling

and staying issuance of Remittitur pending

filing of Petition for a Wnt of Certiorari .. A-57 - A-58

antate

_

SAN PAOLO U.S. HOLDING CO.,_ INC.

(“SAN PAOLO”) respectfully petitions for a Writ of

Certiorari to review the Order of the California Supreme

Court in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the California Court of Appeal affirming

the judgment of the Superior Court of Los Angeles County

(App., infra, A-15 - A-49) is unreported. The denial of the

Petition for Rehearing by the California Court of Appeal

(App., infra, A-51) is unreported. The denial of the Petition

for Review by the California Supreme Court (App., infra,

A-55) is unreported.

JURISDICTION

On August 28, 2000, the California Court of Appeal,

Second Appellate District, Division Four, filed its

unpublished Opinion. On September 21, 2000, the Court of

Appeal denied a timely Petition for Rehearing filed by SAN

PAOLO. On December 13, 2000, the California Supreme

Court, en banc, issued its Order denying SAN PAOLO’S

Petition for Review. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The Fourteenth Amendment, Section 1, of the United

States Constitution provides in relevant part:

‘*... No state shall make or enforce any law which shall

abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the

United States; nor shall any State deprive any person of

life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor

deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal

protection of the laws.”

STATEMENT

A. Factual Background

This lawsuit has its genesis in the failed efforts of

LIONEL SIMON dba LIBERTY PAPER COMPANY

(“SIMON”) to purchase real property containing a

commercial office building (the “Property”), from SAN

PAOLO U.S. HOLDING COMPANY, INC. (“SAN

PAOLO”). The Property was first acquired by SAN

PAOLO on January 17, 1996, through a foreclosure sale.

(Reporter's Transcript [“R.T.”], p. 1469, 1. 19-20')

Shortly thereafter, SIMON made his first inquiry relating to

the purchase of the Property. Throughout the next

six months, the parties engaged in three different sets of

negotiations relating to SIMON’S attempts to purchase the

Property. Ultimately, those efforts failed, and the Property

was sold by SAN PAOLO to a third party in August, 1996.

(R.T., p. 1596, 1. 14-21; Joint Appendix in Lieu of Clerk’s

Transcript [“‘App.’], Vol. III, p. 1901-1908; p. 1925.)

In total, SIMON engaged in three different unsuccessful

sets of negotiations for the purchase of the Property. (R.T.,

'The Joint Appendix in Lieu of Clerk’s Transcript and the Reporter’s

Transcripts referenced herein are part of the record on appeal below.

3

p. 1336, 1. 20-28; R.T., p. 1472, 1. 24-p. 1473, 1. 3.) Two

sets of negotiations occurred in April, 1996. (R.T., p. 1340,

1. 21-26; p. 1473, 1. 5-p. 1474, 1. 4.) The third set of

negotiations occurred in June, 1996. (App. Vol. VII,

pp. 1864-1871; pp. 1899-1900.) The closest that SIMON

ever came to purchasing the Property was in June 1996,

when the parties prepared a written Letter of Intent. (App.

Vol. III, 1864-1871.) Although the Letter of Intent was

eventually signed, the transaction ultimately failed, as the

parties did not take the following steps contemplated in the

Letter of Intent: the execution of a Deposit Receipt and

Escrow Instructions and the opening and closing of Escrow.

As the jury recognized, the Letter of Intent clearly

provided that it was nonbinding. (R.T., pp. 1475, 1. 3-25.)

The Letter of Intent contained several conditions which

confirmed that it was not a binding agreement, including:

(i) approval of San Paolo Bank’s Los Angeles and New

York offices; (11) further negotiations between the parties;

(iii) preparation of a Deposit Receipt Form (i.e., formal

documentation); and (iv) approval by SIMON’S legal

counsel. (App. Vol. VII, 1864-1871.)

Immediately after signing the Letter of Intent, SIMON

and SAN PAOLO continued to negotiate the terms of the

proposed sale of the Property. (App. Vol. VII,

pp. 1872-1898.) These negotiations occurred during a period

of less than 24 hours. However, the parties still could not

reach an agreement on numerous issues. After further

unsuccessful negotiations, SAN PAOLO came to believe ~

that SIMON would never purchase the Property. (R.T.,

p. 1035, 1. 28-p. 1636, 1. 12; p. 1637, 1. 16-21; p. 1639,

1. 11-23.) SAN PAOLO therefore canceled the

negotiations in writing and sold the Property to a third

person for $100,000.00 less than SIMON’S offer. (App.

Vol. VII, p. 1899-1900; R.T., p. 1569, 1. 14-21.)

4

After SAN PAOLO agreed to sell the Property to a third

party, SIMON filed this lawsuit and recorded a lis pendens

against the Property, which was expunged on July 23, 1996.

The sale of the Property to the third party closed

immediately thereafter. (App. Vol. III, p. 1925.)

B. Procedural Background and Presentation of the

Federal Question

On June 21, 1996, SIMON filed his Complaint against

SAN PAOLO. (App. Vol. I, pp. 1-18.) The Complaint

included causes of action for Breach of Contract, Specific

Performance, Breach of the Implied Covenant of Good

Faith and Fair Dealing, and False Promise, all founded upon

an alleged promise by SAN PAOLO to sell the Property to

SIMON.

On April 30, 1997, the trial court granted SAN

PAOLO’S Motion for Summary Adjudication of Issues on

the causes of action for Specific Performance and Breach of

the Implied Covenant of Good Faith and Fair Dealing.

(App. Vol. II, pp. 585.)” This ruling left only two causes of

action remaining against SAN PAOLO: for Breach of

Contract and for False Promise.

On August 4, 1997, the case went to trial on the

remaining causes of action, and the jury returned a verdict

in favor of SAN PAOLO on the cause of action for Breach

of Contract, finding that neither the Letter of Intent nor any

other document constituted a binding, enforceable

agreement between the parties. (App. Vol. III, pp. 613-

617.) On the remaining cause of action for False Promise,

the jury returned a verdict in favor of SIMON, and awarded

?Co-Defendant San Paolo Bank filed its own Motion for Summary

Judgment at this same tire. The Motion was granted by the trial court

and affirmed on appeal by the California Court of Appeal, 2nd Civil

No. B113208 (Opinion filed May 21, 1998).

aes

pep ee a .

5

the sum of $5,000.00 as actual damages. In the punitive

damage phase, SIMON was awaraed the sum of

$2.5 million. (App. Vol. III, pp. 618.)

SAN PAOLO then filed its Motions for (a) Judgment

Notwithstanding the Verdict (which the trial court denied);

and (b) New Tnial or, Alternatively, For Remittitur of

Excessive Damages. In these Motions, among other things,

SAN PAOLO asserted that the punitive damage award,

which was 500 times the award of actual damages, was

grossly excessive as a matter of law and violative of SAN

PAOLO’S due process rights pursuant to this Court’s

decision in BMW of North America v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559

(1996) and related authorities. (App. Vol. III, pp. 634-635,

646-647; Vol. IV, pp. 1040-1044.) The trial court ruled that

it would grant the Motion for New Trial unless SIMON

accepted the reduced punitive damage’ award of

$250,000.00. (App. Vol. IV, p. 1050; Vol. V, p. 1228.)

SIMON rejected the reduced award and elected to proceed

with a new trial.

On March 9, 1998, the new trial went forward on the

limited issue of the amount of the punitive damages, if any,

to be awarded to SIMON (the “Second Trial”). Although

advised of the first jury’s findings that: (1) there was no

binding and enforceable contract (thus defeating SIMON’S

claim for breach of contract); and (ii) the only damages

sustained by SIMON on the claim of false promise was the

sum of $5,000.00, the second jury returned a verdict in favor

of SIMON for punitive damages of $1.7 million. (App. Vol.

VII, pp. 1808-1815.)

6

At the Second Trial, SIMON’S counsel argued that the

jury could consider SIMON as having suffered other

damages which the first jury previously denied him:°

“But it is harm that was suffered by LIONEL

SIMON, nonetheless, and that harm is at least

$400,000.00, the difference between the price he had

and he should have purchased the property at,

$1.1 million, and the price the property is really worth.”

(R.T. p. 1915, 1. 7-12.)4

In addition to the foregoing, SIMON’S counsel made

inflammatory statements to the jury which were

inappropriate and designed to arise passion and prejudice,

such as the following:

1. The punishment has to fit the “crime” (R.T.

p. 1918, 1. 3);

2. SAN PAOLO was a “criminal” (R.T. p. 1922, 1.

18-21; R.T. 1980, 1. 9-12);

3. SAN PAOLO’S conduct was nothing less than

attempted murder, assault or battery (akin to “shooting

a gun into a crowd”). (R.T. p. 1974, 1. 17-p. 1975,

‘20

> At the First Trial, SIMON sought damages for not only the alleged

lost value in the Property, but also the consequential damages incurred

in retaining an attorney to review the transaction. (R.T. p. 1915, 1. 7-12;

p. 1916, 1. 3-6; p. 1927, 1. 15-16.) The first jury specifically awarded

SIMON nothing for the alleged lost value in the Property, yet SIMON

still argued to the second jury that his lost value in the Property was

$400,000.00. (SAN PAOLO’S Motion in Limine on this issue was

denied. )

“The trial court denied the Motion in Limine of SAN PAOLO which

requested that SIMON be prohibited from introducing evidence on

claims of damages which had already been rejected. (App. Vol. V,

pp. 1323-1334.)

7

4. “They didn’t think anybody would find out. And

there would never be a criminal caught if they were all

perfect. And this one wasn’t.” (R.T. p. 1980, 1. 9-12.)

After the verdict in the Second Trial, SAN PAOLO filed

a Motion for New Trial, or Alternatively for Remittitur of

Excessive Damages. (App. Vol. VI, pp. 1518-1520;

Vol. VII, pp. 2010-2029.) Again, SAN PAOLO posited

that the award of punitive damages in an amount 340 times

the actual damages awarded was excessive as a matter of

law and violative of its federal due process rights. (App.

Vol. VI, p. 1519; Vol. VII, pp. 2021-2023.) The trial court

denied the Motion.

In its perfunctory treatment of SAN PAOLO’S challenge

to the excessiveness of the award under the standards set

forth in BMW and Pacific Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip,

499 U.S. 1 (1991), the court found that an award of

punitive damages “boils down to about the same sort of

analysis that the jury gives to emotional distress damages.

It’s not done with any particular precision. And the cases

have not required that it be done with particular precision. ~

[{.] I have analyzed it from the standpoint of each of the

three tests, and I have concluded that in all the facts in this

case and the two trials, the two verdicts and everything that

I heard in the case, the Motion is denied.” (App., infra,

A-11; App. Vol. VII, pp. 1826-1828; R.T., p. 1997, 1. 12-p.

1998. 1. 12, 2001, 1.19-p. 2002, 11. 1-12.)

Judgment was then entered on April 8, 1998, finding in

favor of SAN PAOLO on the claim of Breach of Contract;

finding in favor of SIMON in the amount of $ 5,000.00 on

the claim of False Promise; and awarding SIMON punitive

damages of $1,700,000.00. (App. Vol. VII, p. 1808-1815.)

On or about April 20, 1998, SAN PAOLO filed its

Notice of Appeal with regard to the entry of Judgment in

favor of SIMON on the False Promise cause of action, the

8

amount of the Judgment in favor of SIMON, and the

rulings upon which the Judgment was based. (App., Vol.

VII, pp. 1829-1834.) Respondent SIMON then filed a

Notice of Cross-Appeal as to the first jury verdict regarding

the Breach of Contract claim and the trial court’s ruling on

the (first) Motion for New Trial or, Alternatively, For

Remittitur of Excessive Punitive Damages following the first

trial. (App., Vol. VII, pp. 1851-1853.) On appeal, SAN

PAOLO contended, among other things, that any injury

suffered by SIMON was purely economic and that the

punitive-to-actual damages ratio of 340 to 1 was

constitutionally excessive and disproportionately penalized

SAN PAOLO. (Appellant’s Opening Brief, pp. 29-34,

Appellants’ Reply Brief and Cross-Respondent’s Brief,

pp. 18-21.)

On August 28, 2000, the California Court of Appeal,

Second Appellate District, Division Four, filed its

unpublished Opinion in this matter, affirming the Judgment

in its entirety and rejecting the appeals of SAN PAOLO

and SIMON. (App., infra, A-15 - A-49.) In sustaining the

award of punitive damages, the Court of Appeal employed a

deferential “substantial evidence” standard of review, which

“begins and ends with a determination as to whether there is

any substantial evidence, contradicted or uncontradicted,

which will support the conclusion reached by the jury.”

(App., infra, A-31, A-35- A-36, quoting Crawford v.

Southern Pacific Co., 3 Cal.2d 427, 429 (1935).) The Court

of Appeal prefaced its Opinion with the statement that: “We

summarize the evidence in the light most favorable to

Simon, as the prevailing party, and we give Simon the

benefit of every reasonable inference and resolving conflicts

in support of the verdict.” (App., infra, A-19 - A-20.)

Throughout the Opinion, the Court of Appeal acknowledged

the highly deferential nature of its review and repeatedly

refused to engage in an independent, de novo review of the

constitutionality of the punitive damages award.

9

In analyzing the reasonableness of the relationship of the

punitive damages awarded and harm actually suffered, the

Court of Appeal also posited that it could consider as a

factor the $400,000.00 benefit of the bargain damages

sought by SIMON in his claim for breach of contract,

which was expressly rejected by the jury. (App., infra,

A-30.) The Court concluded that, in this light, the ratio of

actual harm to punitive damages was “not 340 to 1, but just

over 4 to 1,” which was “not grossly disproportionate.”

(App., infra, A-31.) The authorities relied upon by the

Court, however, did not consider damages for alleged

potential harm which were never awarded.

On September 12, 2000, SAN PAOLO filed its Petition

for Rehearing with the Court of Appeal, pointing out several

omissions and misstatements of material facts and issues

presented on appeal. On September 21, 2000, the Petition

for Rehearing was denied. (App., infra, A-51.) On

October 6, 2000, SAN PAOLO filed a Petition for Review

with the California Supreme Court, presenting the following

issues for review:

1. Is an award of punitive damages in a sum 340 times

greater than the attendant award of compensatory

damages violative of a defendant’s right to due process

under the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution or Article 1, Section 7, of the California

Constitution, especially where the conduct involves a

single transaction and the harm suffered is purely

economic?

2. Is a ratio of 340:1 in punitive damages to

compensatory damages ($1,700,000:$5,000.00)

presumptively the result of passion and prejudice and

therefore excessive as a matter of law, where the

conduct involves a single commercial transaction and

the harm suffered is purely economic?

10

3. In determining the reasonableness of the

relationship between an award of punitive damages and

the plaintiffs actual harm, is it proper to take into

account a claim of compensatory damages which has

already been adjudicated in favor of the defendant (and

against the plaintiff)?

4. Can a defendant be found liable for a false promise

following an adjudication by the fact finder that there is

no binding and enforceable agreement between the

parties?

5. Is there a void in California law regarding the

method for determining a plaintiffs actual harm in

assessing the reasonableness of an award of punitive

damages?

On November 27, 2000, the California Supreme Court

extended the time for granting or denying review in this

matter to and including January 4, 2001, or the date upon

which review was either granted or denied. (App., infra,

A-53.) On December 13, 2000, the California Supreme

Court, en banc, issued its Order denying SAN PAOLO’S

Petition for Review. (App., infra, A-55.)

On December 18, 2000, the Clerk of the Court of Appeal

issued a Remittitur. On December 26, 2000, SAN PAOLO

filed a Motion for Recall and Stay of Issuance of Remittitur

with the Court of Appeal to stay any efforts by SIMON to

collect on his Judgment pending the filing of the instant

Petition by SAN PAOLO. On January 10, 2001, the Court

of Appeal filed its Order recalling the Remittitur and staying

its issuance for 90 days and advising that SAN PAOLO

could apply to this Court-for a further stay. (App., infra,

A-57 - A-58.)

11

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

A. State Courts Require Guidance Regarding the

Standard of Appellate Review of the Constitutional

Excessiveness of Punitive Damage Awards.

The subject award of punitive damages presents

unsettled, federal questions of law that affect the public at

large. The award of punitive damages in this case (a sum

340 times greater than the attendant award of compensatory

damages) is but one example of the excessive punitive

damage awards by both state and federal court juries in

violation of defendants’ due process rights under the

Fourteenth Amendment which continue to plague the

American judicial system. Notwithstanding the fact that

this Court has set certain legal guideposts” for determining

whether an award of punitive damages is grossly excessive,

and therefore violative of the due process protections set

forth in the Constitution, no clear standard has been set for

the review of such an award on appeal.

This Court has already held that the determination of

whether a punitive damage award is grossly excessive is of

constitutional significance. Due process requires that a

person receive “fair notice not only of the conduct that will

subject him to punishment, but also of the severity of the

penalty that a State may impose.” BMW, 517 US. at 574.

“To punish a person because he has done what the law

plainly allows him to do is a due process violation of the

most basic sort.” Jd. at 573, citing Bordenkircher v. Haves,

434 U.S. 357, 363 (1978). Further, generally, appellate

‘These guideposts include the relative reprehensibility of the

defendant’s conduct, the relationship between the jury’s actual

compensatory and punitive damage awards, and a comparison of the

award to analogous civil and criminal penalties. The Court has also

identified other comparative factors, such as whether the tort was purely

economic, intentional, and/or repeated. BMW, 517 U.S. at 575-584.

12

court review of constitutional claims based upon the Bill of

Rights is conducted de novo. See, e.g., Haynes v.

Washington, 373 U.S. 503, 515 (1963) (appellate review of

Due Process Clause claims is a “duty of constitutional

adjudication”). Such independent review is necessary “‘if-

appellate courts are to maintain control of, and to clarify, the

legal principles.” Ornelas v. United States, 517 U.S. 690,

698 (1996). This Court, however, has not firmly established

that this standard of review is to be applied by state or

federal courts when assessing the constitutional propriety of

an award of punitive damages.

In the absence of a clear standard of review from this

Court, undue deference can be (and has been) accorded to

the discretion of ‘rial courts, thereby inviting divergent

development of the law in this arena, leading to conflicting

constitutional standards throughout the United States.

Notably, when reviewing the propriety of an award of

punitive damages, California courts determine if “the entire

record viewed most favorably to the judgment indicates the

award was rendered as the result of passion and prejudice.”

Devlin v. Kearny Mesa AMC/Jeep/Renault, Inc.,

155 Cal.App.3d 381, 388 (1984); internal citation omitted;

see also Neal v. Farmers Ins. Exchange, 21 Cal.3d 910,

927 (1978). This “passion and prejudice” inquiry is a

species of the deferential substantial evidence standard of

review. Fortman v. Hemco, Inc., 211 Cal.App.3d 241, 259

(1989). This standard conflicts with the de novo standard

generally employed by California courts when reviewing

constitutional issues. See State of Ohio v. Barron,

52 Cal.App.4th '62, 67 (1997).

Other state courts throughout the country have employed

divergent appellate standards of review when conducting a

constitutional inquiry into claims of grossly excessive

13

punitive damage awards.° The New Mexico Supreme Court

has adopted a deferential “substantial evidence” standard

similar to that employed by the California courts. See

Allsup’s Convenience Stores, Inc. v. North River Ins. Co.,

127 N.M. 1, 18, 19, 976 P.2d 1 (1998) (“the amount of

[punitive] damages is left to the sound discretion of the

jury;” “there was substantial evidence in the record to

support the jury’s award of punitive damages”). The Court

of Appeals of South Carolina has adopted the even more

deferential “abuse of discretion” standard when reviewing

constitutional challenges to punitive damage awards. See

Hundley v. Rite Aid of South Carolina, Inc., 339 S.C. 285,

314, 319, 529 S.E.2d 45 (2000) (“[w]e find no abuse of

discretion in the trial court’s conclusions following its review

of the jury verdict’); Gamble v. Stevenson, 305 S.C. 104,

112, 406 S.E.2d 350 (1991) (“[t]he amount of damages,

actual and punitive, remains largely within the discretion of

the jury, as reviewed by the trial court”). This standard has

also been adopted by the District Court of Appeal of

Florida. See Owens-Corning Fiberglass Corp. v. Ballard,

739 So.2d 603, 607 (Fla.Ct.App. 1998) (“the punitive

damages award, while facially disproportionate to the

amount of compensatory damages awarded, is not against

the manifest weight of the evidence on this ground;” “we do

not find that the trial court’s failure to reduce the award was

an abuse of discretion’).

The Oregon courts employ yet a different standard when

considering a challenge to an award of punitive damages as

constitutionally excessive. On remand from Honda Motor

Co. v. Oberg, 512 U.S. 415 (1994)’, the Oregon Supreme

*Notably, in every state court opinion discussed below, the application

of a deferential standard of review resulted in the affirmance of the

challenged punitive damage award.

"In Honda Motor Co. v. Oberg, 512 U.S. 415 (1994), the Court held

that the Due Process Clause requires the availability of post-verdict

14

Court established the following criterion to be applied in

such cases: “A jury’s award of punitive damages shall not be

disturbed when it is within the range that a rational juror

would be entitled to award in the light of the record as a

whole; the range that a rational juror would be entitled to

award depends, in turn, on the statutory and common law

factors that allow an award of punitive damages for the

specific kind of claim at issue.” Oberg v. Honda Motor Co.,

Ltd., 320 Or. 544, 549 (1995).° In reliance upon Oberg, the

Oregon Supreme Court recently held that “when reviewing

a punitive damages award for excessiveness, the reviewing

court must view the facts in the light most favorable to the

jury’s verdict if there is evidence in the record to support

them” and that “the reviewing court must resolve all

disputes regarding facts and factual inferences in favor of

the jury’s verdict and then determine, on the facts as the

jury was entitled to fund them, whether the award violates

the legal standard of gross excessiveness.” Parrott v. Carr

Chevrolet Inc., 331 Or. 537, 2001 WL 25789, *10 (2001);

emphasis added.

This sampling of the decisions of various states

demonstrates the following:

1. State appellate courts across the nation are

employing different standards when _ reviewing

challenges to awards of punitive damages as grossly

judicial review of punitive damage awards, however, the Court did not

“address the more difficult question of what standard of review is

constitutionally required.” (/d. at 432, n. 10.)

In Stranahan vy. Fred Meyer, Inc., 153 Or. App. 442, 467 & n. 21, 958

P.2d 854 (1998), the Oregon Supreme Court rejected the defendant’s

request for an abuse of discretion standard of review and instead applied

its “rational juror” standard, holding that it was unable to say that the

jury’s punitive damage award of 16 times the compensatory damage

award “was not ‘within the range that a rational juror would be entitled

to award in the light of the record as a whole.’” Jd. at 471, quoting

Oberg, 320 Or. at 551.

15

excessive under the Due Process Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment.

2. State appellate courts are not engaging in an

independent, de novo review of constitutional

challenges to punitive damage awards, but are instead

applying deferential standards of review.

3. The absence of independent appellate review of

punitive damage awards by state court juries is

deteriorating the constitutional constraints on grossly

excessive punitive damage awards announced by this

Court in BMW and is yielding conflicting standards of

review of such awards among the states.

4. Unless a uniform standard of independent, de novo

review is imposed by this Court, the constitutional

safeguards against grossly excessive punitive damage

awards will be rendered meaningless.

Only through the explicit requirement of an independent

appellate review of punitive damage awards can this Court’s

substantive due process limitation on grossly excessive

punitive damage awards be meaningfully enforced and

protected. See BMW, 517 U.S. 559; TXO Production

Corp. v. Alliance Res. Corp., 509 U.S. 443(1993); Pacific

Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1. Nonetheless, these

constitutional protections are being eroded by divergent

appellate standards of review. In the instant case, the Court

of Appeal employed a highly deferential standard in

upholding an award of punitive damages 340 times greater

than the actual damages awarded. Such review effectively

deprives the defendant of any rationality or predictability to

the constitutional analysis and prevents any true adherence

to the due process limitations on excessive punitive damage

awards developed by this Court. Without an appellate

court’s independent assessment of the excessiveness of a

punitive damage award according to fixed, objective criteria,

Seema sentertoce

16

a defendant’s constitutional protections are rendered

meaningless. See BMW, 509 U.S. at 466 (Kennedy, J.,

concurring). Because punitive damage awards are mapped

“onto an unbounded scale of dollars,” they continue to be

arbitrary and unpredictable. Cass R. Sunstein, et al.,

Assessing Punitive Damages (with Notes on Cognition and

Valuation in Law), 107 Yale L.J. 2071, 2074 (1998).

Deferential standards of review in this context serve only to

sanction a jury’s irrational verdict instead of subjecting it to

the rigors of constitutional review, as required.

This Court has repeatedly held that legal issues, including

the scope of fundamental constitutional rights, are reviewed

de novo. See Salve Regina College v. Russell, 499 U.S. 225,

231-232 (1991); United States v. First City Nat'l Bank,

386 U.S. 361, 368 (1967); Haynes v. Washington, 373 U.S.

at 515; Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union of United States,

Inc., 466 U.S. 485, 502-503 (1984); Ornelas v. United

States, 517 at 697-698; Miller v. Fenton, 474 U.S. 104, 114

(1985). Only through this standard of review can precedent

be established, the risk of confusion and arbitrariness

minimized, predictability and reasonableness restored, and

constitutional limits on awards of punitive damages

enforced. See Thompson v. Keohane, 516 U.S. 99, 109-100,

115-116 (1995); Bose Corp., 466 U.S. at 502. De novo

review is necessary to guard against punitive damage awards

exceeding the constitutional limits established by this Court.

Only through ‘a detailed examination” of such awards,

constrained by the guideposts established by this Court, can

the nationwide trend of grossly excessive punitive damage

awards be curtailed. BMW, 517 US. at 595 (Breyer, J.,

concurring).

The issues raised in this Petition are of nationwide

jurisprudential significance. Recently, California Supreme

Court Justice Janice R. Brown issued a concurring opinion

(in which California Supreme Court Justice Ming W. Chin

17

concurred) discussing at some length her concerns

regarding the punitive damages system and highlighting the

need for clearer standards to be employed in assessing

whether punitive damages are excessive. Among other

things, Justice Brown observed that the Court was obligated:

“to give meaning to the term ‘excessive’ in relation to

punitive damages. Otherwise, the deferezitial standards

of review that we affirm today will inhibit us in

providing guidance to trial courts as to how their broad

discretion should be exercised... [W]ithout clear

guidance, judicial oversight of punitive damage awards

will not be uniform, and the resulting gross variability

in awards will ultimately implicate the rights of

defendants to due process and the equal protection of

the laws... Without a beginning point of reference,

punitive damage awards tend to vary widely, depending

“as much on the vicissitudes of jury decision making as

on the facts of the case. This variability can result in

disparate and fundamentally unfair treatment of

similarly situated defendants, a possibility we should

not ignore.”

Lane v. Hughes Aircraft Co., 22 Cal.4th 405, 421-422

(2000).”

Justice Brown posited that “[i]n the case of large awards,

punitive damages should rarely exceed compensatory

damages by more than a factor of three, and then only in the

most egregious circumstance clearly evident in the record,”

noting that “while deterrence and retribution are part of the

equation, fundamental notions of justice require some

*In Lane, the California Supreme Court was not called upon to

address the propriety of the amount of the punitive damage award but

instead considered the standard to be applied in reviewing an order

granting a motion for a new trial based upon the gross disproportion

between the damages awarded and the plaintiffs’ actual injuries.

18

correlation between punishment and harm.” Jd. at 423, 424.

She observed that “our sister states have most frequently

selected two or three times compensatory damages as the

appropriate limitation on punitive damages. These

jurisdictions include Connecticut, Delaware, Florida,

Illinois, Indiana, Nevada, North Dakota, Oklahoma and

Texas.” Id. at 426, citing BMW, 571 US. at 615-616

(Ginsburg, J., dissenting [appendix]). Both federal and

state courts remain without clear guidance from this Court

as to the proper standard to be applied when reviewing an

award of punitive damages subject to a federal constitutional

challenge.

Emphasizing the strong societal interest in setting further

standards for the assessment of punitive damages, Justice

Brown wrote that “arbitrariness in punitive damage awards,

even if only occasional, does not affect jury verdicts alone; it

distorts settlements by adding disproportionate leverage to a

plaintiff's demands, as well as uncertainty.” Lane, 22 Cal.

4th at 427. As a result, courts have “the responsibility to

define and restrain excessive damages, :ncluding punitive

damages. Lane, 22 Cal. 4th at 428. The instant case has

been tried to two juries and fully developed on appeal. It

serves as the perfect vehicle for this Court’s review of the

standards to be employed in assessing excessive punitive

damage awards.

In reviewing SAN PAOLO’S challenge to the

constitutionality of this award, the Court of Appeal applied

a substantial evidence (deferential) standard of review and

not the de novo standard requested in SAN PAOLO’S

Opening Brief. (App., infra, A-31, A-35-A-36; Appellant’s

Opening Brief, p. 14.) Notably, this Court has granted a

Petition for Writ of Certiorari on the issue of whether, under

the Due Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment to the

. United States Constitution, the standard of review of a

federal trial court’s ruling on a challenge to the

19

constitutionality of a punitive damage award is abuse of

discretion or de novo. Cooper Industries. Inc. v. Leatherman

Tool Group, Inc., United States Supreme Court

No. 99-2035 (punitive damage award of 90 times the |

amount of purely economic compensatory damages). Oral

argument on this appeal was scheduled to be heard on

February 26, 2001. As of the filing of this Petition, a

decision has not yet been issued.

As in the instant case, in Cooper Industries, the Ninth

Circuit Court of Appeal applied a deferential standard of

review and determined that the federal district court did not

abuse its discretion in refusing to reduce the punitive

damage award. The thrust of this appeal is that federal

constitutional due process limitations on excessive punitive

damage awards under the Fifth Amendment can be

enforced only through an independent, de novo review and

not a deferential standard which renders the constitutional

limitations illusory. SAN PAOLO’S Petition raises -this

substantial issue of federal constitutional jurisprudence

under the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution as applied by state courts.

B. An Award of Punitive Damages in a Sum 34u Times

Greater Than an Accompanying Award of Compensa-

tory Damages is Violative of a Defendant’s Fundamen-

tal Right to Due Process and is Excessive as a Matter

of Law

The punitive damages award of $1,700,000.00 must be set

aside as grossly excessive under the Due Process Clause of

the Fourteenth Amendment. In this case, a gross disparity

exists between the award of actual damages ($5,000.00) and

punitive damages ($1,700,000.00), creating a punitive-to-

actual damages ratio of 340 to 1. This Court has already

ruled that a punitive-to-actual damages ratio of 4 to 1 1s

“close to the line” and that one of 500 to | is clearly

20

excessive, when the actual harm suffered is nominal and

purely economic. Pacific Mutual Life Insurance v. Haslip,

499 U.S. 1; BMW, 517 U.S. 559. Notably, the instant case

was not based on personal injury, nor was there any claim

for bodily injury, emotional distress, wrongful death or any

other injury traditionally warranting punitive damages.

Rather, the jury found SIMON’S damages to be only the

legal fees which he expended in connection with his attempt

to purchase the Property.

The Due Process clause imposes a substantive limit on

the size of punitive damage awards. Honda Motor Co. v.

Oberg, 512 US. 415, 114 S.Ct. 2331, 2335 (1994).

Although this Court has not established a bright line rule for

identifying unconstitutionally excessive awards, it has

indicated that “general concerns of reasonableness” should

guide the inquiry and, more specifically, that punitive

exactions should not be “greater than reasonably necessary

to punish and deter.” Pacific Mutual Life Insurance v.

Haslip, 499 U.S. at 18, 22. Implicit within this “reasonably

necessary” standard is the premise that over-deterrence and

over-punishment are deemed to be unconstitutional. 7X¥O

Production Corp. v. Alliance Resources Corp., 509 U.S. at

463.

Simply put, punitive damages are punishment and, in

many cases, severe punishment. Procedural due process

requires the imposition of additional trial protections to

establish sufficient confidence in the outcome in these

situations. Indeed, many courts (including this Court) have

addressed this issue, and all conclude that the following

factors must be considered in determining an appropriate

amount of punitive damages:

1. Whether the defendant has engaged in repeated

misconduct (which is deemed more reprehensible than

an individual instance of malfeasance), or whether it is

21

an isolated and rare incident. Pulla v. Amoco Oil Co.,

72 F.3d 648 (8th Cir. 1995);

2. Whether the harm suffered involves only economic

harm, rather than harm to the health or safety of

individuals. Federal Deposit Ins. Corp. v. Hamilton,

122 F.3d 854, 862 (10th Cir. 1997);

3. Whether all three criteria for assessing punitive

damages were properly applied (amount of actual

damages; magnitude «; the offense, and the defendant’s

wealth). Ace v. Aetna Life Ins. Co., 139 F.3d 1241 (9th

Cir. 1998), cert. denied, 67 U.S.L.W. 3257;

4. Whether there is a reasonable relationship between

the punitive damages award and the harm likely to

result from the defendant’s conduct, as well as the

harm that actually has occurred. Neibel v. Trans World

Assurance Co., 108 F.3d 1123, 1132 (9th Cir. 1997);

and |

5. Whether the punitive-to-actual-damages ratio is

“unconstitutionally excessive.” Jd.

This Court has also observed that the Due Process Clause

imposes a limit on punitive damages awards which are

grossly excessive. Honda Motor Co., Ltd. v. Oberg, 512 U.S.

at 420. Judicial review of the size of punitive damages

awards has been a safeguard against excessive awards for as

long as punitive damages have been awarded. Jd. at 421. A

critical criterion in evaluating a punitive damages award

involves a comparison of the actual damages with the

punitive damages. An award of punitive damages must bear

a reasonable relationship to the amount of actual damages

awarded. BMW, 517 U.S. at 580. This “reasonable

relationship” rule exists to guard against clear excess. Jd. at

581.

The punitive damage award of $1,700,000.00 here bears

no réasonable relationship to SIMON’S actual damages of

22

$5,000.00. Federal courts have repeatedly held that punitive

damages are excessive when the ratio between punitive and

actual damages is much closer than in the present case. See,

e.g., Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. at 23 (4 to

1 is “close to the line’); Federal Deposit Ins. Corp. v.

Hamilton, 122 F.3d at 861 (10 to 1 ratio is

“unconstitutionally excessive in a broad range of cases;” a

ratio of 27 to | is unconstitutionally excessive under the

Supreme Court’s decision in BMW and the 10th Circuit’s

subsequent decision in Continental Trend Resources v. OXY

USA, 101 F.3d 634, 639 (10th Cir. 1996)); Ace v. Aetna

Life Ins. Co., 139 F.3d at 1248-1249 (130 to 1 is far beyond

any amount approved by the Alaska courts); and BMW, 517

U.S. 559, citing TXO Production Corp. v. Alliance

Resources Corp., 509 U.S. at 482 (a breathtaking 500 to |

ratio must surely “raise a suspicious judicial eyebrow.”’)

Indeed, common experience itself suggests that punitive-to-

actual damage ratios in excess of 5 to | are excessive. See

Pacific Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. at 23.'°

A punitive damages ratio of 340 to 1 awarded to SIMON

for purely economic injury is clearly excessive in light of the

above-outlined standards. The purpose and function of

punitive damages is to punish wrongdoing and thereby

protect the public from future misconduct, either by the

same defendant or by other potential wrongdoers. BMW,

517 U.S. at 568. That function of punitive damages is not

served by an award which, in light of the defendant’s wealth

and the gravity of the conduct, exceeds the level necessary

to properly punish and deter.

‘California courts have also found excessive punitive to actual

damage award ratios closer than that awarded to SIMON herein. See,

e.g., Auerbach v. Great Western Bank, 74 Cal.App.4th 1172, 1190

(1999) (385 to | found “out of proportion to the actual damages

suffered”); Seeley v. Seymour, 190 CalsApp.3d 844, 866-869 (1987)

(13.3 to 1 is clearly excessive).

23

While reiterating the well-established principle that there

is no bright-line mathematical formula for determining an

acceptable relationship between punitive and actual

damages, this Court has nevertheless recognized: “When

the ratio [of punitive to actual damages] is a breathtaking

500 to 1, however, the award must surely “raise a suspicious

judicial eyebrow.” BMW, 517 US. at 583, citing TXO

Production Corp., 509 U.S. at 482. In BMW, an individual

brought suit against an automobile manufacturer seeking

damages on the grounds that his new car had been re-

painted to conceal damaged paint before he purchased the

car, and that the value of the car had thus been diminished

without his knowledge. The result at trial, almost identical

to the result here, was an award of actual damages in the

amount of $4,000.00, and a punitive damages award of

$2,000,000.00. This Court held that the punitive damages

were grossly excessive and violative of due process, stating:

To be sure, infliction of economic injury, especially

when done intentionally through affirmative acts of

misconduct, ...can warrant a substantial penalty. But

this observation does not...justify a significant

sanction in addition to compensatory damages.

(BMW, 517 USS. at 576.)

In rejecting a punitive damages ratio of 500:1, this Court

held that infliction of economic injury, even when done

intentionally, does not justify significant sanctions on top c”

compensatory damages. Here, SIMON suffered only

economic injury. Wherever the “line of impropriety” is

drawn, punitive damages which are 340 times greater than

the actual damages is well past it, warranting a substantial

reduction (if not complete reversal) of the award. Very few

cases involve ratios of punitive to compensatory damages

anywhere close to the 340:1 ratio in the instant case.

Further, these authorities pre-date the BMW decision,

which sets forth the modern standard for determining

24

whether a punitive damages award passes constitutional

muster.

In Neibel v. Trans World Assurance Co., 108 F.3d at

1132, the Ninth Circuit held that, in economic injury cases,

if the damages are significant and the injury not hard to

detect, the ratio of punitive damages to the harm generally

cannot exceed a 10 to | ratio. Jd. The jury here was left to

impose punitive damages upon SAN PAOLO based upon

inflammatory, prejudicial, and unsupported argument and

wealth. The verdict was based upon bias and visceral

reactions, and was therefore arbitrary and discriminatory. As

one Court has noted:

The process through which a fact finder finds punitive

damages is somewhat contradictory ... The channeling

of just the correct quantum of bile to reach the correct

level of punitive damages is, to put it mildly, an

unscientific process complicated by personality

differences. Conduct which one person may view as

outrageous another may accept without feeling,

depending on such diverse characteristics as an

individual’s background, temperament and _ societal

concerns. The process is further complicated by the

lack of objective criteria from either the Legislature or

the courts as to ‘how much’ is necessary to punish and

deter.

(Devlin v. Kearny Mesa AMC/Jeep/Renault, Inc., 155

Cal.App.3d at 388.)

It is this same arbitrary process which resulted in the

award of punitive damages of over 340 times the actual

harm suffered by SIMON in this case.

25

C. The Assessment of Punitive Damages Under California

Law Constitutes an Imposition of a Criminal

Punishment Without Adequate Standards

Punitive damages are punishment and, in this case, an

excessive punishment. Under the test to determine the

requirements of procedural due process, additional

protections are required. This is especially true when

punishment is involved. In such situations, the safeguards of

criminal law are necessary.

Generally, punishment is the domain of criminal law. The

fact that states have chosen to enforce punishment through

civil action does not affect constitutional requirements. In

Giaccio v. Pennsylvania, 382 U.S. 399, 402 (1966), the

United States Supreme Court held that the placement of a

civil label on a statute did not affect the application of due

process principles. While economic regulations may be

subject to a less strict vagueness standard, punitive damages

require a heightened level of scrutiny, as they constitute

punishment. Punitive damage awards are “quasi-

criminal,”'' “serve the same function as_ criminal

penalties,”'? and are private fines imposed to punish and

deter conduct.'? Close scrutiny is appropriate because of the

stigma and loss of reputation which attaches to a punitive

damages award. See Wisconsin v. Constantineau, 400 U.S.

433 (1971).

State action is present where punitive damages are

awarded. This is due to the fact that the punitive damages

are being awarded through a_ government-sanctioned

function (namely, the judicial system). In a sense, plaintiffs

'' Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30, 59 (1983) (Rehnquist, J. dissenting).

'2Rosenbloom v. Metromedia, Inc., 403 U.S. 29, 82-84 (1971)

(Marshall, J. dissenting).

"Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 481 U.S. 323, 350 (1974).

26

are acting as private attorneys general in seeking to enforce

California law. See In Re Paris Air Crash, 622 F.2d 1315,

1320 (9th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 976(1980). The

fact that the punishment is imposed in a civil action does not

insulate the matter from due process scrutiny. A.B. Small

Co. v. American Sugar Refining Co., 267 U.S. 233, 239

(1925).

Notwithstanding the foregoing, standards relating to the

review of punitive damage awards remain vague. New

standards are needed in order to assure that punishment is

fair. Notably, as discussed above, the Court has recognized

the need for independent appellate review on virtually all

issues involving the scope of fundamental constitutional

rights. Recently, in United States v. Bajakajian, 524 US.

_ 321 (1998), the Court confronted the issue of whether a

criminal forfeiture contravened the Excessive Fines Clause

of the Eighth Amendment, which involves consideration of

many of the same factors outlined in BMW for determining

whether a punitive damage award is unconstitutionally

excessive. The Court expressly rejected abuse of discretion

review therein, holding that “the question of whether a fine

is constitutionally excessive calls for the application of a

constitutional standard to the facts of a particular case, and

in this context de novo review of that question is

appropriate.” Jd. at 337-337, n. 10.

In other cases, the Court has repeatedly implicitly

acknowledged that constitutional “excessiveness”’ challenges

to civil penalties under the Excessive Fines Clause and

criminal sentences under the Cruel and Unusual

Punishment Clause of the Eighth Amendment are to be

reviewed de novo. See St. Louis, Iron, Mountain & S. Ry.

Co. v. Williams, 251 U.S. 63, 66-67 (1919); Southwestern

Tel. & Tel. Co. v. Danaher, 238 U.S. 482, 490-491 (1915);

Solem v. Helm, 463 U.S. 277, 290-303 & n. 16 (1983). In

light of this Court’s recognition of the need for independent,

27

de novo appellate review when constitutional rights are

invoked, the deferential “substantial evidence” standard

employed by California and other state courts across the

nation when confronted with challenges to punitive damage

awards under the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment must be rejected if there is to be any

meaningful enforcement of the standards set forth in BMW.

D. Compensatory Damages Based On a Claim Expressly

Rejected by the Factfinder Should Not be Considered

in Determining the Reasonableness of an Award of

Punitive Damages

in holding that SIMON’S punitive damage award can be

based upon his alleged benefit of the bargain (or lost

profits), the Court of Appeal improperly drew an

implication directly contrary to the express factual

determinations of the first jury. After being properly

instructed as to the requirements for finding a breach of

contract, the first jury determined that there was none,

specially finding that there was no binding and enforceable

agreement between SAN PAOLO and SIMON

whatsoever. (App. Vol. III, 613.) Notably, the bulk of the

jury instructions regarding SIMON’S claim for breach of

contract were agreed upon by the parties prior to trial. (App.

Vol. II, pp. 502, 504-517.)

Because, as the first jury correctly decided, there was no

binding, enforceable contract between the parties, SIMON

was never entitled to purchase the Property. Therefore, his

alleged lost profits simply are not within the range of harm

for which punitive damages are available. SIMON’S

compensatory damages of $5,000.00 represent the only

legally recognizable actual harm which SIMON suffered in

this transaction.

In response to the claim of SAN PAOLO that the

punitive damages awarded ($1,700,000) were grossly

rans

28

disproportionate to the compensatory damages awarded

($5,000) to SIMON, the Court of Appeal determined that

the ratio was not 340:1, but was “just over 4 to 1,” based

upon its belief that “Simon’s loss was at least the $400,000

difference between the appraised value and the price at

which King falsely promised to sell the building.” (App.,

infra, A-30 - A-31.) This portion of the Opinion, however,

does not take into account the salient fact that these

damages were never even awarded. (App. Vol. III,

613-614.)

At the first trial, SIMON sought not only consequential

damages incurred in retaining an attorney to review the

transaction, but also damages for his lost “benefit of the

bargain” under his claim for breach of contract. (R.T.,

Vol. 10, 1915: 7-12, 1916: 3-6, 1927: 15-16.) The first jury

however refused to award SIMON anything for the alleged

lost value in the Property. (App. Vol. III, 613-614.) Despite

the fact that this claim was rejected, SIMON still argued to

the second jury that his lost value in the Property was

$400,000.00. The first jury had already rejected this

argument and awarded only the sum of $5,000.00,

representing attorneys’ fees incurred by SIMON in

connection with this transaction. (App. Vol. III, 616.)

Further, the amount of compensatory damages was not re-

litigated in the second trial. (R.T., Vol. 7, 1204:2-

1205:22.)

In its Opinion, the Court of Appeal posits that an analysis

of “the actual harm the plaintiff has suffered” can take into

account compensatory damages not legally available to a

plaintiff. (App., infra, A-30 - A-31.) Such is not the case

when a jury has already found against the plaintiff on his

claim for “actual harm.” The authorities cited by the Court

do not involve a prior adjudication of the actual harm

suffered by the plaintiff, as in the instant case, and do not

29

hold that a plaintiff may rely on alleged damages sought on

a dismissed claim to enhance his punitive damages award.'*

Further, the Court of Appeal’s reliance upon TXO

Production Corp., 509 U.S. 443, for the contention that the

punitive damage award should be based upon SIMON’S

alleged (but rejected) actual harm of $400,000.00 was

misplaced. (App., infra, A-31, n.9.) TXO involved an action

for slander of title, where it was shown that TXO had

engaged in a pattern of fraud nationwide and, in this case,

attempted to renegotiate an oil and gas royalty arrangement

with Alliance by deceiving it into believing that Alliance did

not have good title to oil and gas rights when they were

conveyed to TXO. Beyond the fact that the repeated

wrongful conduct by TXO soars far beyond the isolated

incident at issue herein, the Court in TXO was not

confronted with a jury verdict which awarded punitive

damages based upon alleged harm which had already been

rejected by a prior jury.

SIMON should not have been allowed to request punitive

damages based upon $400,000.00 in alleged lost profits since

(a) there was no such award, and (b) this claim had already

been rejected. The prejudice is obvious, as the jury’s

consideration of this claim improperly inflated the punitive

damages by an excessive (and unconstitutional) amount.

'*For example, in Gagnon v. Continental Casualty Co. 211

Cal.App.3d 1598 (1989), the California Court of Appeal upheld the

plaintiffs right to recover punitive damages notwithstanding the fact that

she did not have standing to recover compensatory damages arising out

of an insurer’s termination of her husband’s (the decedent’s) benefits

under a disability insurance policy. The Court did not address the

enhancement of a punitive damages recovery based upon damages

sought pursuant to a claim on which the plaintiff had already lost.

30

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Date: March 12, 2001 Respectfully submitted,

EPPoRT & RICHMAN, LLP

LAWRENCE ALLEN ABELSON

Counsel of Record

STEVEN N. RICHMAN

LAWRENCE ALLEN ABELSON

10100 Santa Monica Boulevard,

Suite 1450

Los Angeles, CA 90067

(310) 785-0885

Counsel for Petitioner

APPENDIX 1

A-l

SUPERIOR COURT OF

THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

FOR THE COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

DEPARTMENT NO. 17

HON. RICHARD P. KALUSTIAN, JUDGE

LIONEL SIMON, ET AL.,

PLAINTIFFS,

VS.

SAN PAOLO BANK, ET AL.,

DEFENDANTS.

NO. BC 152431

REPORTERS’ TRANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS

AUGUST 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 1997

OCTOBER 3, 8, 1997; DECEMBER 9, 1997

FEBRUARY 20, 1998; MARCH 6, 9, 10, 1998

MARCH 11, 12, 13, 1998; APRIL 8, 1998

APPEARANCES:

FOR THE PLAINTIFFS:

ANDRE E. JARDINI, ESQ.

MITCHELL B. LUDWIG, ESQ.

ATTORNEYS AT LAW

500 NORTH BRAND BOULEVARD

TWENTIETH FLOOR

GLENDALE, CALIFORNIA 91203

A-2

FOR THE DEFENDANTS:

STEVEN N. RICHMAN, ESQ.

BETH ANN R. YOUNG, ESQ.

ATTORNEYS AT LAW

10100 SANTA MONICA BOULEVARD

SUITE 1450

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90067

VOLUME 10 OF 10 VOLUMES.

PAGES 1828 THROUGH 2003, INCL.

ELIZABETH GARCIA, ERM.

GLORIA J. HALL, CSR #4165

OFFICIAL REPORTER

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA;

WEDNESDAY, APRIL 8, 1998

8:45 A.M.

DEPARTMENT NO. 17

HON. RICHARD P. KALUSTIAN, JUDGE

THE COURT: SIMON VERSUS SAN PAOLO

BANK.

MR. JARDINI: GOOD MORNING, YOUR HONOR.

ANDY JARDINI FOR LIONEL SIMON.

MR. LUDWIG: GOOD MORNING, YOUR HONOR.

MITCHELL LUDWIG ALSO FOR PLAINTIFF

LIONEL SIMON.

MR. RICHMAN: GOOD MORNING, YOUR) |

HONOR. STEVEN RICHMAN- FOR’ THE |

DEFENDANT. a:

I HAVE READ THE TENTATIVE RULING. I WILL

RESTRICT MY RESPONSE TO THE OPPOSITION

FILED BY MR. SIMON TO OUR MOTIONS. BEFORE

DOING THAT, HOWEVER, I WOULD LIKE TO

INQUIRE OF THE COURT. WE DID FILE

A-3

OBJECTIONS AND REQUESTS TO STRIKE

PORTIONS OF MR. LUDWIG’S —

THE COURT: I DIDN’T READ _ THE

DECLARATION AT ALL.

MR. RICHMAN: SO I ASSUME IT’S BEEN

REJECTED?

THE COURT: I DIDN’T READ IT, SO YOUR

OBJECTION IS SUSTAINED. WHEN I SAW THAT

IT WAS GOING TO BE A RECAP OF THE TRIAL, I

JUST DIDN’T READ IT.

MR. RICHMAN: THERE ARE JUST A FEW

COMMENTS I'D LIKE TO MAKE WITH REGARD

TO THE OPPOSITION FILED BY MR. SIMON’S

COUNSEL.

FIRST IS THAT COUNSEL DOES

ACKNOWLEDGE THE STATEMENTS MADE

DURING CLOSING WHICH WE BELIEVE TO BE

INFLAMMATORY. -THEY OBVIOUSLY DENY

THAT THEY ARE INFLAMMATORY, BUT THE

WORDS SPEAK FOR THEMSELVES.

TO ACCUSE SAN PAOLO OF COMMITTING A

CRIME THREE TIMES, TO USE AN ANALOGY OF

ATTEMPTED MURDER OF SOMEONE SHOOTING

A GUN INTO A CROWD, AND NOT JUST ANYONE,

BUT THE PRESIDENT OF SAN PAOLO BANK, IS

CLEARLY INAPPROPRIATE.

AND TO ACCUSE SAN PAOLO OF CRIMES AND

BRIBES WHERE THERE IS NO EVIDENCE OF IT,

AND TO USE STATEMENTS SUCH AS LUNCH

MONEY AND PARKING TICKETS WITH REGARD

TO COMPARISON TO PUNITIVE DAMAGES IS

CLEARLY INFLAMMATORY AND HAS NO PLACE

IN FRONT OF A JURY.

A-4

AND THOSE TYPES OF COMMENTS ARE MADE

FOR ONE PURPOSE ONLY, AND THAT’S TO

INFLAME THE JURY. AND THOSE COMMENTS

SHOULD NEVER BE MADE. COUNSEL SAYS

THEY ARE NOT INFLAMMATORY, BUT THEY

HAVE NO BUSINESS BEING MADE, ESPECIALLY

THE SECOND TIME AROUND.

THE COURT: I DON’T RECALL THERE BEING

AN OBJECTION.

MR. RICHMAN: THE COURT INSTRUCTED US

NOT TO MAKE ANY OBJECTIONS DURING

CLOSING. AND IT IS IN THE TRANSCRIPT AND I

CAN QUOTE IT. 1 HAVE —

THE COURT: I THINK WHAT I SAID WAS DON’T

MAKE OBJECTIONS BASED UPON~ THE

OBJECTION “MISSTATES THE EVIDENCE”

BECAUSE EACH SIDE — UNLESS IT’S A GROSS

MISSTATEMENT, SO GROSS THAT I HAVE TO

CORRECT IT. BUT EACH SIDE HAS A DIFFERENT

VIEW OF THE EVIDENCE. THAT’S WHY WE HAVE

TRIALS.

AND IF LAWYERS ARE CONTINUALLY

MAKING THE OBJECTION “MISSTATES THE

EVIDENCE,” ALL WE END UP WITH IS A

TOTALLY DISJOINTED ARGUMENT. AND THAT’S

WHY I SAID THAT. I THINK I ADMONISHED THE

JURY IN THE BEGINNING THAT THiS WAS THE

CASE, AND THEIR VIEW OF THE EVIDENCE

SHOULD PREVAIL. BUT THAT DOES NOT HAVE

ANYTHING TO DO WITH STATEMENTS YOU

CONSIDER INFLAMMATORY AND NOT PART OF —

THE EVIDENCE. SO YOU SHOULD HAVE

OBJECTED.

A-5

MR. RICHMAN, I READ THE STATEMENTS. I

DON’T FIND THEM SO INFLAMMATORY THAT

IT’S GOING TO CHANGE THE JURORS’ MINDS.

LAWYERS ARE GIVEN WIDE LATITUDE IN

ARGUMENT TO MAKE THE ARGUMENTS THAT

THEY WANT TO UNLESS THEY JUST GET WAY

OUT OF HAND. AND I DON’T SECOND GUESS

THE WAY ARGUMENTS ARE CONDUCTED. IT

DOESN’T MAKE ANY SENSE TO DO THAT.

MR. RICHMAN: I JUST DON’T SEE HOW ONE

CAN RECONCILE THE ACCUSATIONS OF

CRIMINAL CONDUCT AND - ATTEMPTED

MURDER, A GUN SHOOTING INTO THE CROWD.

THAT HAS NO BASIS IN THE CASE AT ALL.

THE COURT: BUT MR. RICHMAN, I THINK THE

JURORS COMPLETELY UNDERSTOOD WHAT MR.

JARDINI WAS SAYING. I DID. I DIDN’T ASSUME

THIS WAS CRIMINAL CONDUCT. JUST BECAUSE

SOMEBODY SAYS SOMETHING DOESN’T MEAN

THAT THE PERSON - RECEIVING’- THE

INFORMATION IS GOING TO ASSUME IT THAT

WAY. FRANKLY, I DIDN’T TAKE IT THAT WAY

AN) | DON’T THINK —

MR. RICHMAN: IT HAS NO BASIS FOR EVEN

BEING SAID. IT SHOULD NOT BE SAID IN FRONT

OF A JURY. THIS IS A CIVIL CASE. TO ACCUSE

SOMEONE OF A_ CRIME, ESPECIALLY

ATTEMPTED MURDER OR BRIBERY WHERE

THERE IS NO EVIDENCE IS TOTALLY

INAPPROPRIATE. AND WE SHOULDN’T HAVE

BEEN PUT IN A_ POSITION TODAY OF

SPECULATING WHETHER OR OT. THE JURY

TOOK THAT INTO CONSIDERATION. I WOULD

THINK THEY DID.

lh a

— - a ” —

A-6

BUT THE POINT IS COUNSEL PUT IT INTO

PLAY AND SHOULDN’T HAVE. AND I THINK IT’S

UNDISPUTED THAT THOSE TYPE - OF

ALLEGATIONS HAVE NO BASIS IN THIS TYPE OF

COURT, ESPECIALLY IN A CIVIL CASE.

THE COURT: I DISAGREE.

MR. RICHMAN: THE SECOND POINT I’D LIKE

TO MAKE IS THE OPPOSITION IGNORES THE

BMW AND HASLIT CASES. IT IGNORES THE

FACT THAT THOSE CASES SEEM TO INDICATE

THAT ANY RATIO GREATER THAN 4 TO 1 RAISES

EYEBROWS OF SUSPICION. AND ONE HAS TO

QUESTION WHETHER OR NOT IT’S’ AN

APPROPRIATE ORDER.

THIS IS FAR IN EXCESS OF THE CLEAR

MAJORITY OF THE CASES. THERE ARE ALWAYS

EXCEPTIONS CITED BY THE PLAINTIFF. BUT IN

THIS CASE, THE CONDUCT DOESN’T JUSTIFY AN

AWARD OF $1.7 MILLION DOLLARS FOR A $5,000

COMPENSATORY AWARD.

AND THOSE CASES, ESPECIALLY THE HASLIT

AND BMW CASES WHICH ARE 1990 SUPREME

COURT CASES DECIDED WITHIN THE LAST TWO

TO FOUR YEARS, HAS TO BE TAKEN IN

CONSIDERATION BY THIS COURT. AND THEY

DON’T JUSTIFY THE TYPE OF AWARD IN THIS

CASE.

I WOULD AGAIN ASK THE COURT TO

INDEPENDENTLY WEIGH THE EVIDENCE. THE

COURT HAS AN OBLIGATION TO REWEIGH THE

_ EVIDENCE. THAT IS THE DOMAIN OF THE

JUDGE. BUT THE FACT THAT WE HAVE HAD A

SECOND TRIAL OF THIS DOESN’T MEAN THAT

TWO WRONGS MAKE A RIGHT.

A-7

THE COURT PREVIOUSLY REDUCED THE

AWARD. I WOULD SUBMIT IT SHOULD DO SO

AGAIN. AT SOME POINT IT WILL BE CITED ON

APPEAL AS TO WHAT THE REASONABLENESS IS.

BUT THE POINT IS THE COURT HAS AN

INDEPENDENT DUTY TO WEIGH THE EVIDENCE

AND NOT TO ACCEPT THE JURY AT FACE

VALUE, ESPECIALLY IN LIGHT OF CONDUCT OF

COUNSEL IN CLOSING AND IN LIGHT OF THE

EVIDENCE.

COUNSEL ALSO MISSTATED THE EVIDENCE

AND THE LAW WITH REGARD TO THE ISSUE OF

HARM. WE BROUGHT A MOTION IN LIMINE TO

PREVENT ANY APPRAISALS COMING IN THE

SECOND TIME SINCE THE FIRST JURY

AWARDED $5,000. BUT YET, PLAINTIFF WAS

ALLOWED TO INTRODUCE NEW TESTIMONY

FROM A NEW EXPERT IN WHICH HE TESTIFIED

THAT IT WAS $400,000 IN HARM.

BUT THE LAW IS CLEAR THE HARM WAS

CALCULATED AT THE FIRST TRIAL AND THAT

WAS $5,000. AND IT WAS WRONG TO ALLOW

NEW EVIDENCE TO COME IN ON HARM FOR

HARM TO EVEN BE DISCUSSED BECAUSE THE

JURY HAD ALREADY ISSUED THAT AWARD.

THE COURT: WELL, THAT’S A KNOTTY LITTLE

AREA, MR. RICHMAN. I HAVE READ THE CASES

AND THAT’S A KNOTTY LITTLE AREA. AND IF

THERE IS A DAMAGE AWARD, CAN YOU STILL

CONSIDER IT THE SAME WAY YOU’D CONSIDER

IF THERE WERE NO DAMAGE AWARD, BUT THE

AWARD FOR THE PLAINTIFF WERE FOR AN

INJUNCTION OR SOME OTHER EQUITABLE

RELIEF? I AM JUST NOT SURE.

Dathse Ss O49

" ee ROT

A-8

I THINK I UNDERSTAND YOUR ARGUMENT.

AND I GUESS AT THIS POINT, LET ME MAKE

THESE COMMENTS SO YOU UNDERSTAND WHY

I AM DOING WHAT I AM DOING AND THE

COURT OF APPEAL WILL UNDERSTAND

BECAUSE I AM SURE IT WILL LAND THERE.

PROBABLY IT OUGHT TO LAND THERE, I GUESS.

LET ME TELL YOU WHAT I THINK HAPPENED.

I THINK THE JURY CONSIDERED MR. KING’S

CONDUCT REPREHENSIBLE. I KNOW YOU HAVE

A DIFFERENT VIEW OF WHAT HE DID. BUT I

JUST THINK’ THAT THE JURY CONSIDERED,

THEY LOOKED AT MR. KING, THEY LISTENED

TO MR. KING, THEY EVALUATED MR. KING. IN

FACT, BOTH JURIES DID. AND I HAVE COME TO

THE CONCLUSION AFTER TWO JURY TRIALS

THAT THEY THOUGHT KING WAS LYING. I

KNOW YOU DON’T THINK SO, AND IT MAY NOT

BE TRUE. I SIMPLY DON’T KNOW AS A MATTER

OF FACT. BUT I CAN TELL YOU THAT’S THE WAY

I READ IT.

AND THE WITNESSES WHO SUPPORTED KING,

I THINK THE JURY BELIEVED THEY LIED, TOO.

LYING IS VERY POWERFUL IN COURT IF THE

JURY BELIEVES THAT SOMEBODY LIES.

WE CAN DISCUSS WHETHER MR. KING LIED

FOREVER AND PROBABLY NEVER COME TO A

CONCLUSION, MR. RICHMAN. AND I DO NOT

PASS JUDGMENT ON WHETHER HE LIED OR

DIDN’T LIE. BUT I THINK THAT’S WHERE THE

JURY DID IT. I THINK THEY THOUGHT HIS

CONDUCT WAS TOTALLY UNCALLED FOR AND

REPREHENSIBLE. AND I THINK THAT’S WHY

THEY LEVELED THE PUNITIVE DAMAGES. A

A-9

DIFFERENT JURY HEARING ABOUT THE SAME

EVIDENCE DID IT AGAIN.

I WOULD CONSIDER $1.75 MILLION DOLLARS

VERY CLOSE TO $2.5 MILLION DOLLARS WHEN

YOU CONSIDER IT IN RELATIONSHIP TO THE

$5,000 IN COMPENSATORY DAMAGES.

MR. RICHMAN: I AM NOT HERE TO ARGUE

ABOUT MR. KING. MY POINT IS THAT THE

AWARD OF PUNITIVE DAMAGES, NO MATTER

WHAT THE JURY FELT ABOUT MR. KING IS

DISPROPORTIONATE TO THE AWARD OF

COMPENSATORY DAMAGES.

IT’S UNDISPUTED THE FIRST JURY AWARDED

$5,000 IN COMPENSATORY DAMAGES DESPITE A

REQUEST FOR OVER A MILLION DOLLARS IN

DAMAGES. I THINK THAT IS THE POINT THAT

HAS TO BE FOCUSED UPON. ONCE THAT AWARD

COMES IN AT $5,000, ANY PUNITIVE DAMAGE

AWARD HAS TO BE LIMITED TO A RATIO THAT

IS IN COMPLIANCE WITH HASLIT AND BMW.

AND REGARDLESS OF MR. KING’S CONDUCT,

NO MATTER HOW REPREHENSIBLE OR NOT, IT

HAS TO BEAR SOME RELATION TO THAT. IT’S

MY FEELING THAT THE JURY, WHEN SEEING

THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT WITH $50

MILLION DOLLARS ON IT AND HAVING NO

GUIDANCE WITH REGARD TO WHAT IS

REASONABLE IS GOING TO LOOK AT THE

FINANCIAL STATEMENT OF $50 MILLION

DOLLARS AND LISTEN TO THE - CLOSING

ARGUMENT OF COUNSEL WITH’ THE

ALLEGATIONS OF CRIMINAL CONDUCT AND

ATTEMPTED MURDER AND SAYING THAT A

$15,000 AWARD IS A PARKING TICKET OR LUNCH

A-10

MONEY AND WITHOUT ANY GUIDANCE, THEY

ARE GOING TO GO AHEAD AND AWARD A

MILLION OR $2 OR $3 MILLION DOLLARS

BECAUSE WHEN COMPARED TO A FINANCIAL

STATEMENT, IT’S INCONSEQUENTIAL.

BUT IT TOTALLY IGNORES ONE OF THE

THREE CRITICAL ELEMENTS OF AN AWARD OF

PUNITIVE DAMAGES, AND THAT IS SOME

REASONABLE RELATIONSHIP TO THE

COMPENSATORY AWARD. AND IT JUST SHOCKS

ME. AND I AM SURE ANYONE READING OR

REVIEWING THIS CASE WILL BE SHOCKED TO

SEE A COMPENSATORY AWARD OF $5,000

FOLLOWED UP BY A PUNITIVE DAMAGE AWARD

OF $1.75 MILLION DOLLARS.

THE COURT: IF THAT’S ALL YOU KNEW ABOUT

THE CASE, THOSE TWO FACTS, IT PROBABLY

WOULD SHOCK MOST PEOPLE, I AGREE. BUT

THAT ISN’T WHERE IT BEGINS NOR WHERE IT

ENDS. THERE IS A WHOLE CASE IN BETWEEN

THOSE TWO BOOKENDS.

MR. RICHMAN, I UNDERSTAND YOUR

ARGUMENT. I HAVE FULLY READ YOUR BRIEF.

IN FACT, IT’S WELL DONE. YOU MADE YOUR

POINT VERY CLEARLY.

‘MR. RICHMAN: ONE LAST POINT I’D LIKE TO

MAKE IS THAT THERE IS ALWAYS ANOTHER

STORY TO THE CASE. AND THE SAME IS TRUE

WITH THE BMW. BUT THE SUPREME COURT HAS

STATED ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION THAT

WHEN THE RATIO EXCEEDS 4 TO 1, IT HAS TO BE

LOOKED AT WITH A CRITICAL EYE. AND SOME

CASES SAY IT SHOULD BE PRESUMPTIVELY

SUBJECT TO OBJECTION AND OVERTURNED IF

A-11

IT’S GREATER THAN THOSE RATIOS. AND 4 TO 1

IS FAR IN EXCESS OF THOSE CASES AND DOES

NOT BEAR A SUPPORT OR AFFIRMATION BY

THIS COURT.

THE COURT: WELL, THERE ARE MANY CASES

ON PUNITIVE DAMAGES. AND THERE IS A

THREE PART TEST FOR PUNITIVE DAMAGES.

BUT AS A PRACTICAL MATTER, IT BOILS DOWN

TO ABOUT THE SAME SORT OF ANALYSIS THAT

THE JURY GIVES TO EMOTIONAL DISTRESS

DAMAGES. IT’S NOT DONE WITH ANY

PARTICULAR PRECISION. AND THE CASES

HAVE NOT REQUIRED THAT IT BE DONE WITH

PARTICULAR PRECISION.

I HAVE ANALYZED IT FROM~ THE

STANDPOINT OF EACH OF THE THREE TESTS,

AND I HAVE CONCLUDED THAT IN ALL THE

FACTS IN THIS CASE AND THE TWO TRIALS,

THE TWO VERDICTS AND EVERYTHING THAT I

HEARD IN THE CASE, THE MOTION IS DENIED.

MR. JARDINI: THANK YOU, YOUR HONOR.

THE COURT: I WILL PROBABLY BE SEEING

YOUR FIRST PAPERS FAIRLY SOON.

MR. RICHMAN: I WILL seeeeinaaa NOTICE OF

THE RULING.

THE COURT: MR. JARDINI, YOU WANT TO

GIV’! NOTICE?

MR. JARDINI: WELL, YOUR HONOR —

MR. RICHMAN: THERE IS A JUDGMENT. I’D

LIKE TO REVIEW IT. AND I WILL CALL COUNSEL

TODAY. I DON’T THINK WE HAVE ANY

OBJECTIONS TO IT.

oe:

i itliasol

A-12

MR. JARDINI: I WILL ADVISE THE COURT.

MR. LUDWIG: I SERVED THE JUDGMENT A

WHILE AGO ON THEIR OFFICES. IT’S BEEN WITH

THE COURT.

THE COURT: HAVE YOU TAKEN A LOOK AT IT?

MR. RICHMAN: I HAVE NOT, BUT I WILL LOOK

AT IT EITHER NOW OR WHEN I GET BACK TO

THE OFFICE AND CALL COUNSEL UP.

MR. LUDWIG: I FILED IT THE MONDAY AFTER

THE TRIAL.

THE COURT: WELL, WHY DON’T YOU GIVE US

A CALL IF THERE IS ANYTHING GLARING

ABOUT IT. GIVE US A CALL THIS AFTERNOON. IT

LOOKS LIKE IT’S IN ORDER TO ME.

ESSENTIALLY, IT’S JUST A RECITATION OF

THE JURY VERDICT, AND THAT’S WHAT THE,

NUDGMENT IS. BUT IF I DON’T HEAR ANYTHING

FROM ANYBODY, I WILL SIGN IT.

MR. RICHMAN: VERY WELL.

THE COURT: THANK YOU, GENTLEMEN. IT’S

BEEN A PLEASURE SEEING YOU TWICE.

(WHEREUPON, PROCEEDINGS WERE

CONCLUDED)

A-13

SUPERIOR COURT OF

THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

FOR THE COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

DEPARTMENT NO. 17

HON. RICHARD P. KALUSTIAN, JUDGE

LIONEL SIMON, ET AL.,

PLAINTIFFS,

VS.

SAN PAOLO BANK, ET AL.,

DEFENDANTS.

BC 152431

REPORTER’S CERTIFICATE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA Ss

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

I, GLORIA J. HALL, OFFICIAL REPORTER OF

THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF

CALIFORNIA FOR THE COUNTY OF LOS

ANGELES, DO HEREBY CERTIFY THAT THE

FOREGOING PAGES 1 THROUGH _ 2003,

COMPRISES A FULL, TRUE AND CORRECT

TRANSCRIPT OF THE PROCEEDINGS HELD ON

AUGUST 1, 1997; AUGUST 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 1997; AUGUST

11, 12, 1997; OCTOBER 3, 1997; OCTOBER 22, 1997;

DECEMBER 9, 1997; FEBRUARY 20, 1998; MARCH 6,

1998; MARCH 9, 10, 11, 12, 13; 1998 AND APRIL 8,

1998 IN THE MATTER OF THE ABOVE-ENTITLED

CAUSE.

DATED THIS 11TH DAY OF AUGUST, 1998.

/s/ GLORIA J. HALL

OFFICIAL REPORTER #4165

14

APPENDIX 2

A-15

NOT TO BE PUBLISHED

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF

CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION FOUR

LIONEL SIMON, DBA LIBERTY PAPER

COMPANY,

Plaintiff; Respondent and Cross-Appellant,

v.

SAN PAOLO U.S. HOLDING

COMPANY, INC.,

Defendant, Appellant and Cross-Respondent.

B121917

(Super. Ct. No. BC152431)

COURT OF APPEAL SECOND DISTRICT

FILED

AUGUST 28, 2000

JOSEPH A. LANE CLERK

APPEAL from a judgment of the Superior Court of Los

Angeles County, Richard P. Kalustian, Judge. Affirmed.

Epport & Richman, Lawrence A. Abelson, Beth Ann R.

Young and Steven N. Richman for Defendant, Appellant

and Cross-Respondent.

Knapp, Petersen & Clarke, Andre E. Jardini, Mitchell B.

Ludwig and Kevin J. Stack for Plaintiff, Respondent and

Cross-Appellant.

a SY ee ee ET i

A-16

BACKGROUND

On June 21, 1996, cross-appellant, Lionel Simon,

commenced this action against San Paolo Bank (hereinafter

“the bank’) and appellant, San Paolo U.S. Holding

Company, Inc. (“San Paolo”).' Simon sought specific

performance of an alleged contract to purchase real

property, located at 816 Figueroa Street in Los Angeles. He

also sought damages for breach of the contract, as well as

damages for fraud, consisting of a false promise to sell the

property to Simon under certain terms and conditions.

The issues of liability and punitive damages were tried

separately by jury, beginning on August 1, 1997.’ By special

verdict rendered on August 12, 1997, the jury found that

there had been no enforceable contract between the parties.

However, the jury found in favor of Simon on the fraud

cause of action, awarded him $5000 in compensatory

damages, and $2,500,000 in punitive damages.

San Paolo brought motions for a new trial, a reduction in

punitive damages, and judgment notwithstanding the

verdict. Simon brought a motion for new trial as to damages.

The trial court denied Simon’s motion, as well as San

Paolo’s motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict.

The trial court granted San Paolo’s motion for new trial,

subject to Simon’s acceptance of a reduction in punitive

damages to $250,000. Simon refused to accept the

'San Paolo Bank, the parent company of San Paolo U.S. Holding

Company, was eliminated as a defendant after its motion for summary

judgment was granted. We affirmed the judgment entered in its favor in

case No. B 113208, filed May 21, 1998.

*San Paolo states in its opening brief that a pretrial summary

adjudication eliminated the specific performance count and one of two

contract counts. Simon responds that the summary judgment eliminated

a cause of action for tortious breach of the covenant of good faith and

fair dealing, not a contract claim. However, neither the motion nor the

order granting it has been made a part of the record on appeal.

A-17

remittitur, and the issue of punitive damages was tried to a

new jury, beginning March 6, 1998.

The second jury assessed punitive damages in the amount

of $1,700,000, and San Paolo’s motion for new trial was

denied. On April 8; 1998, judgment was entered against San

Paolo in the amount of $1,705,000. San Paolo filed a timely

notice of appeal from the judgment, and Simon filed a

timely notice of cross-appeal.

DISCUSSION

I. San Paolo’s Appeal

A. The First Trial

We leave our summary of the evidence adduced at the

first trial to our discussion of Simon’s cross-appeal because,

although San Paolo contends that there was no substantial

evidence to support any of the elements of fraud, it refers

only to evidence presented during the second trial, which

involved just the issue of punitive damages. San Paolo’s

opening brief and reply brief have set forth none of the

evidence presented at that first trial.

It is presumed that the record contains evidence to sustain

every finding of fact, and it is the appellant’s burden to

demonstrate the absence of substantial evidence to support a

challenged finding, by setting forth all the material evidence

on the point. (Foreman & Clark Corp. v. Fallon (1971)

3 Cal.3d 875, 881; Cal. Rules of Court, rule 13.) Since San

Paolo has failed to do so, we presume the evidence was

sufficient to support the verdict, and deem the point waived.

(See Foreman & Clark Corp. v. Fallon, supra, 3 Cal.3d at

p. 881.)

San Paolo also contends that there was no liability for

fraud as a matter of law, because the jury found there was

no contract. San Paolo’s contention appears to be based

A-18

entirely upon its interpretation of the special verdict finding

that there was no “binding and enforceable agreement”

between the parties. San Paolo infers that the jury found

that no contract had been formed in the first instance. Thus,

it reasons, Simon was not induced to enter into a

transaction, and cannot be said to have relied upon the false

promise.

However, the jury was never asked to determine whether

a contract had been formed. Instead, it was asked to make

the legal conclusion as to whether an enforceable contract

existed. Further, the use of “and” instead of “or’’ to connect

“binding” and “enforceable” indicates the jury may have

found that a contract had been formed, but was not

enforceable, or that no contract had been formed at all. It is

impossible to discern from the special verdict which

conclusion the jury made.

A special verdict must call for ultimate facts, not

conclusions of law. (Code Civ. Proc., § 624; see 7 Witkin,

Cal. Procedure (4th ed. 1997) Trial, § 355, p. 404.) And it

must state those facts directly, not by implication. (Breeze v.

Doyle (1861) 19 Cal. 101, 103.) The special verdict in this

case was defective, in that it called for a conclusion of law,

which merely implied the facts upon which it was based.

The jury’s finding of fraud implies that it found that the

parties did enter into a contract, but the contract was

unenforceable. We cannot conclude that the jury found that

no contract was formed in the first instance.

San Paolo is, in effect, inviting us to infer a contradictory

finding, while rejecting a reasonable interpretation which

would support the judgment. However, San Paolo has

waived any error in the form of the special verdict, by failing

to object. (Brokaw vy. Black-Foxe Military Institute (1951)

37 Cal.2d 274, 280.) We therefore reject San Paolo’s

invitation.

A-19

A cause of action for promissory fraud requires proof of

an unperformed promise, made about a material fact,

without any intention of performing it, and with the intent to

deceive the plaintiff or to induce him to enter into a

transaction; and upon which the plaintiff justifiably relies to

his injury. (Muraoka v. Budget Rent-A-Car, Inc. (1984) 160

Cal.App.3d 107, 119; Civ. Code, §§ 1572, subd. 4, 1709,

1710.) Liability does not depend upon whether the promise

is ultimately enforceable as a contract. (Lazar v. Superior

Court (1996) 12 Cal.4th 631, 638.) ““‘If it is enforceable,

the [plaintiff] ...has a cause of action in tort as an

alternative at least, and perhaps in some instances in

addition to his cause of action on the contract.’ [ Citation. ]”

(/d.at p. 638, quoting Rest.2d Torts, § £30, subd. (1),

com. c, p. 65; and citing Tenzer v. Superscope, Inc.

(1985) 39 Cal.3d 18, 29.)

San Paolo relies upon Maynes v. Angeles Mesa Land Co.

(1938) 10 Cal.2d 587, 589, and Justice Clark’s dissent in

Egan v. Mutual of Omaha Ins. Co. (1979) 24 Cal.3d 809,

832. Neither case touches upon the requirement, or lack of

requirement, of an enforceable contract as an element of

promissory fraud.’ We therefore reject San Paolo’s

contention that there was no liability for fraud as a matter of

law.

B. The Second Trial

We summarize the evidence in the light most favorable to

Simon, as the prevailing party, and we give Simon the

benefit of every reasonable inference and resolving conflicts

Indeed, Egan does not even involve a claim of promissory fraud.

That portion of Justice Clarke’s dissent to which San Paolo refers states

merely that a careless mistake resulting from poor investigation is not

malice, and does not support an award of punitive damages. (See 24

Cal.3d at p. 832.)

A-20

in support of the verdict. (Crawford v. Southern Pacific Co.

(1935) 3 Cal.2d 427, 429.)*

When Simon agreed to purchase from San Paolo the

building located at 816 South Figueroa in Los Angeles for

$1,100,000, he objected to a term in the seller’s offer which

would make the purchase agreement non-binding until close

of escrow. San Paolo’s broker, William Atha, agreed that

the term was not normal, and prepared a draft letter of

intent which stated that it would be binding. Although the

draft letter of intent stated that it was binding, it also called

for approval of the transaction by San Paolo’s Los Angeles

and New York offices, which was to be given no later than

3:00 p.m. on June 12, 1996.

In all, the draft letter of intent contained thirteen terms

lettered A through M, including the price, terms of the

financing to be provided, and deadlines for various acts.

Simon agreed to Atha’s suggestion to include a requirement

that San Paolo negotiate only with Simon, so that “the rug

didn’t get pullec out again at the end,” as it had been several

times during the negotiations by Duane King, San Paolo’s

vice-president in charge of the se u of the building.’

“Our summary differs significantly from San Paolo’s, because San

Paolo has chosen to draw all reasonable inferences in favor of its own

position, and to disregard its obligation to set forth in its brief all the

material evidence, not merely its own. (See Foreman & Clark Corp. v.

Fallon, supra, 3 Cal.3d at p. 881.)

*On several occasions, King changed the terms of his offer after

Simon had verbally accepted them. In April 1996, Simon asked King

what it would take to buy the building, and King told him that if he

offered $1,290,000, the bank would finance the property for him, and

give him $40,000 improvement allowance. As soon as Simon agreed,

King demanded $1,350,000, and offered a $75,000 allowance. When

Simon agreed to those terms, King said he would take the offer to New

York, but Simon never heard back from him. Later that month, Simon

learned that the prior owners had a right of redemption in the property,

with eight or nine more months to run. Simon was very concerned about

A-21

Atha worded the requirement as follows: “Seller and Buyer

agree to exclusively negotiate upon execution of this letter.”

Simon was told that minor “housekeeping terms” would be

worked out in escrow.

The next day, June 12, 1996, Atha sent the final letter of

intent for Simon’s signature. It contained a few additional

terms, now lettered A through P, and the word “binding”

had been removed. However, the last paragraph stated:

“These terms and conditions are the essential elements of

this transaction and any minor modifications or further

instructions shall be identified and reflected in escrow in the

escrow instructions.” A new term requiring a deposit receipt

had been added. Concerned that the deposit receipt would

not conform to the terms of the letter of intent, Simon added

a provision to allow his attorney to approve the deposit

receipt and escrow instructions.

The final letter of intent moved back the deadline for

approval by the Los Angeles and New York offices of San

Paolo Bank, to June 13, 1996. Upon receipt of such approval

in writing, Simon was to deposit $50,000 to open escrow. He

was to make his financial statements available within

twenty-four hours after execution of the letter of intent.

Simon signed the final letter of intent, and it was sent to

King for signature. Shortly past noon on June 12, Atha told

Simon that King had signed it, and added, “We have a

deal.” Atha faxed the fully executed letter of intent to

Simon that evening (although he dated the fax cover sheet,

6-11-96”), and in the subject line of the cover sheet, after

the possibility of redemption, so he offered $1.1 million conditioned

upon a six-month escrow. Atha told him King would agree to the long

escrow, if he agreed to pay $1.2 million. However, when they met to

close the deal, King changed his offer again, demanding to close escrow

by June 28, 1996, unless Simon paid $1.35 million. Negotiations broke

off until June 10, 1996.

A-22 .

the words, “Signed Letter of Intent,” he wrote in

parentheses the word, “nonbinding.”

The very savae day that he signed the letter of intent,

King told Atha that the bank had refused to agree to allow

Simon until June 26 to finish his inspections, but would

approve it if he completed them by June 21. In fact, he had

not talked to New York before making this new demand,

and never sought approval of Simon’s purchase from anyone

with authority to give it in New York. When Simon did not

agree to move the date up earlier than June 24, King

instructed Atha to refuse to accept Simon’s financial

statements and deposit. King told his supervisor that Simon

had failed to perform, but he did not disclose to him that he

had refused to accept Simon’s documents and deposit.

On June 12, 13, and 14, without Simon’s knowledge, King

had been in frequent telephone communication concerning

the subject property, with Robert Devogelaere, a business

acquaintance of King’s, and a mutual client of San Paolo’s

outside counsel, Richard Scott, with whom King also had

several telephone conversations during the same period. On

June 13, King told Atha not to disclose to Simon that he

had another offer, or that he was negotiating with another

buyer.

Also on June 13, Simon retained attorney Donald

Mitchell, who spoke to Atha and King in a conference call

the same day, demanding that San Paolo comply wiih the

agreement. That evening, King faxed Simon a letter stating

that he was terminating negotiations with him. Simon found

the fax the next morning, June 14, when he arrived at his

office. Also on June 14, King obtained formal approval for a

sale to Devogelaere, and escrow opened same day.

On June 17, 1996, without disclosing the Devogelaere

deal, King agreed to accept June 26 as the deadline for

Simon to complete his inspections, as called for in the letter

A-23

of intent, and offered to discount the purchase price by

$5000, to defray Simon’s inspection costs. However, later

that day, he said he would need approval from Italy, and

that he would accept only $1,500,000. Soon after that, both

King and Atha stopped taking Simon’s calls.

I. San Paolo has failed to show an abuse of discretion in

denying its motions in limine to exclude evidence.

San Paolo contends that the trial court should have

granted its motions in limine to exclude evidence of certain

trust deeds and liens recorded after the sale of the property,

as well as all testimony by Simon’s expert, and any

testimony relating to compensatory damages which were not

awarded in the first trial. The trial court should have

excluded the evidence, San Paolo reasons, because it “was

inadmissible and likely misled or confused the jury as to the

real issues in the case.”

The only authorities cited in support of this assignment of

error relate generally to a trial court’s discretion under

Evidence Code section 352. (See e.g. Wagner v. Benson

(1980) 101 Cal.App.3d 27, 36 [“The trial court is vested

with the discretion to exclude evidence which may unduly

consume time or confuse the jury” ]; Chyten v. Lawrence &

Howell Investments (1993) 23 Cal.App.4th 607, 619 [“The

court could... properly conclude that... probative value

was outweighed by factors supporting exclusion.” }.)

We infer from the cited authorities that San Paolo’s

contention is not really that the evidence was inadmissible

per se, but that the trial court abused its discretion under

Evidence Code section 352, in refusing to exclude it. The

burden is on a party complaining of the trial court’s exercise

of discretion to show a clear case of abuse. (Denham v.

Superior Court (1970) 2 Cal.3d 557, 566.) An appellant

may not carry this burden simply by inviting the appellate

court to have a different opinion of the relevance of the

A-24

disputed evidence, as San Paolo has done here. (Fontana

Paving, Inc. v. Knecht, Garrison & Tait Associates, Inc.

(1965) 238 Cal.App.2d 724, 726.)

Not only is San Paolo required to demonstrate

affirmatively an abuse of discretion, it is required to show

that such abuse was “ ‘sufficiently grave to amount to a

manifest miscarriage of justice....’ [Citation.]” (Mission

Imports, Inc. v. Superior Court (1982) 31 Cal.3d 921, 932.)

In making such a showing, it is the duty of a party to support

its arguments with appropriate references to the record.

(Cal. Rules of Court, rule 15(a).) San Paolo’s references to

the record are limited to the pages where its motions in

limine are reproduced.

San Paolo fails to identify the exhibits or even to refer to

the page numbers where we might find the evidence that it

claims was admitted over its objection. Further, it fails to

refer to the trial court’s ruling on its objections, and it fails to

refer to or discuss any testimony or other evidence to show

how it was prejudiced by the unidentified trust deed and

liens and unidentified testimony; and it fails to support its

contention with applicable authority. We therefore deem

this point abandoned. (See Troensegaard v. Silvercrest

Industries, Inc. (1985) 175 Cal.App.3d 218, 228.)

2. Malice, oppression, or fraud was established in the

first trial

Referring only to evidence adduced in the second trial,

San Paolo complains Simon failed to establish fraud,

oppression, or malice by clear and convincing evidence. San

Paolo has apparently forgotten that by special verdict, the

jury in the first trial expressly found, by clear and convincing

evidence, that San Paolo had accomplished its fraud by

means of fraud, oppression, or malice. The only issue in the

second trial was the amount of punitive damages to be

awarded.

A-25

3. San Paolo has not preserved misconduct issues for

appeal

With no citation to authority, and very little argument,

San Paolo contends that Simon’s counsel made an improper

closing argument, and provides six examples of comments

which it contends to have been inflammatory, incorrect,

misleading, or baseless.

Except in extreme cases, a claim of misconduct is entitled

‘2 no consideration on appeal unless the récord shows a

timely and proper objection and a request that the jwry be

admonished. (Horn v. Atchison, T. & S.F. Ry. Co.

(1964) 61 Cal.2d 602, 610.) San Paolo does not contend

that it made any such objection or request, and our review of

counsel’s argument has turned up none. ,

A party is deemed to have waived misconduct unless “‘it

was of such an egregious nature that it could not have been

cured by a corrective instruction to the jury. [{] ... Only

misconduct so prejudicial that an admonishment would be

ineffective excuses the failure to request such

admonishment. [Citation.]” (Whitfield v. Roth (1974) 10

Cal.3d 874, 892.)

San Paolo contends that it refrained from objecting or

requesting an admonition because “the trial court

specifically instructed the parties not to object or otherwise

interrupt the other side’s closing argument.” Thus, San

Paolo reasons, it “did not have the opportunity to

challenge ...inappropriate argument at the time it

occurred.” The trial court gave no such instruction. In

reality, the court admonished counsel that it did not want to

hear objections based upon a claim that the evidence does

not support the argument.

San Paolo suggests that because the statements by

Simon’s counsel were outrageous on their face, prejudice is

obvious. Error is not presumed; it is the appe!lant’s burden

A-26

to show that the error complained of has resulted in a

miscarriage of justice. (Waller v. TJD, Inc. (1993) 12

Cal.App.4th 830, 833.) “No judgment shall be set aside, or

new trial granted, in any cause, ... or for any error as to any

matter of procedure, unless, after an examination of the

entire cause, including the evidence, the court shall be of the

opinion that the error complained of has resulted in a

miscarriage of justice.” (Cal. Const., art.6, §13.) A

miscarriage of justice is shown only when it appears

reasonably probable that a result more favorable to the

appellant would have been obtained, were it not for the

error. (People v. Watson (1956) 46 Cal.2d 818, 834-838.)

San Paolo has made no showing that a proper objection or

request for admonishment would not have been effective. It

has taken the alleged misconduct out of context, and not

discussed the evidence in relation to counsel’s argument.

Indeed, the only references to the record are to counsel’s

statements. Thus, even if the failure to object or to request

admonishment were excused due to the nature of the

comments, San Paolo has utterly failed to demonstrate any

prejudice from the comments.

4. Substantial evidence established that a corporate

officer committed the act of oppression, fraud, or

malice

San Paolo contends that because the fraud was

committed by its employee, Simon was required to present

some evidence relating to ratification, authorization, or

advance knowledg« of the employee’s unfitness. In support

of this contention, San Paolo relies upon the first sentence of

Civil Code section 3294, subdivision (b): “An employer

shall not be liable for [punitive] damages... based upon

acts of an employee of the employer, unless the employer

had advance knowledge of the unfitness of the employee and

employed him or her with a conscious disregard of the rights

A-27

or safety of others or authorized or ratified the wrongful

conduct for which the damages are awarded or was

personally guilty of oppression, fraud, or malice.”’ San Paolo

ignores the second sentence of subdivision (b) of Civil Code

section 3294: “With respect to a corporate employer, the

advance knowledge and conscious disregard, authorization,

ratification or act of oppression, fraud, or malice must be on

the part of an officer, director, or managing agent of the

corporation.”

The evidence established that San Paolo is a corporation,

and King was an officer of the corporation, with authority to

sell property on behalf of the corporation. Thus, the “act of

oppression, fraud, or malice [was] on the part of an officer,”

satisfying the requirements of the statute.

5. The award did not violate due process

San Paolo contends that the punitive-damage award was

SO excessive as to violate its right of due process under the

federal constitution. San Paolo also contends the award was

so disproportionate as to be presumptively the result of

passion and prejudice, when analyzed under the criteria

established under California law.

Punitive damage awards which are grossly excessive in

relation to a State’s legitimate interests in punishing

unlawful conduct and deterring its repetition, violate a

defendant’s right to due process, guaranteed under the

Fourteenth Amendment. (BMW of North America v. Gore

(1996) 517 U.S. 559, 568.)° The Supreme Court has

* Supreme Court decisions prior to BMW concerned the propriety of

state procedures and the review necessary to ensure due process, but

stopped short of formulating a test. (E.g., TXO Production Corp. v.

Alliance Resources Co, (1993) 509 U.S. 443, 454-456; Pacific Mutual

Life Insurance Co. v. Haslip (1991) 499 U.S. 1, 22.) California law

affords the degree of procedural due-process protection required under

Haslip. (See Las Palmas Associates v. Las Palmas Center Associates

A-28

suggested some “guideposts” in determining whether an

award is grossly excessive: the degree of reprehensibility of

the nondisclosure; the disparity between the harm or

potential harm and the punitive damages award; and the

difference between the punitive damages remedy and the

civil penalties authorized or imposed in comparable cases.

(Id. at p. 574.)

Under California law, the essential question is whether

the amount of damages awarded substantially serves the

societal interest in punishing the wrongdoer and deterring

similar misconduct; and the answer to that question is

obtained by considering three factors: the reprehensibility of

the defendant’s conduct; the relationship between the

punitive damage award and the harm done; and the amount

of the punitive damage award in proportion to the

defendant’s wealth. (Adams v. Murakami (1991) 54 Cal.3d

105, 110, citing Neal v. Farmers Ins. Exchange (1978) 21

Cal.3d 910, 928.)

The BMW guidelines are nearly identical, and serve the

same purpose as California’s criteria; thus, an award which

passes muster under California’s rules will satisfy the

requirements for federal due process. (See Sierra Club

Foundation v. Graham, supra, 72 Cal.App.4th at pp. 1160-

1163.) Since San Paolo has not addressed BMW's third

guideline, which suggests a review of civil penalties

authorized or imposed in comparable cases, we shall analyze

both contentions under the factors first set forth by the

California Supreme Court in Neal v. Farmers Ins.

Exchange, supra, 21 Cal.3d at page 928.’

(1991) 235 Cal.App.3d 1220, 1257, 1258, fn. 8.) TXO did not add to

those requirements. (Sierra Club Foundation v. Graham (1999) 72

Cal.App.4th 1135, 1162, fn. 15.) Thus, California’s procedures are

constitutionally sufficient after 7XO, as well.

"Indeed, San Paolo has objected to Simon’s attempt to compare the

award to civil penalties provided for deceptive trade practices and

A-29

Awarding punitive damages in fraud cases furthers

California public policy of punishing the defendant and

making an example, in order to discourage the defendant

and others from perpetrating fraud in the future. (Las

Palmas Associates v. Las Palmas Center Associates, supra,

235 Cal.App.3d at p. 1258; Civ. Code, § 3294, subd.(a).) If

the award exceeds the amount needed to accomplish that

goal, an appellate court can infer that the jury acted out of

passion and prejudice. (/d. at p. 1259.) When the award is

grossly disproportionate to the statutory objective, a

presumption arises that it resulted from passion and

prejudice. (Neal v. Farmers Ins. Exchange, supra, 21 Cal.3d

at p. 928.) To make that determination, we are guided by

the three Neal factors which we have already enumerated.

(See id. at p. 928.)

San Paolo calculates the proportion of punitive damages

awarded to actual harm as 340/1. It contends that with a

ratio of more than five to one, the award should be deemed

excessive, requiring reversal. There is no fixed ratio of

punitive damages to harm which results in a presumption of

passion and prejudice; however, “even an act of considerable

reprehensibility will not be seen to justify a proportionally

high amount of punitive damages if the actual harm suffered

thereby is small. [Citation.]” (Neal v. Farmers Ins.

’ Exchange, supra, 21 Cal.3d at p. 928.)

San Paolo’s calculation of 340/1 is the proportion of

punitive damages, $1,700,000, to Simon’s out-of-pocket

expenses of $5000, awarded pursuant to Civil Code

section 3343, subdivision (a)(1). In calculating this ratio,

San Paolo relies upon its own assumption that the law

requires a comparison of the actual amount awarded by the

jury as compensatory damages, with the amount of the

perjury, on the ground that it has not been charged with such offenses,

although there is nothing in BMW which would limit consideration of

comparable civil and criminal penalties to charged offenses.

A-30

punitive damage award. As we shall explain, San Paolo’s

assumption is unfounded.

Ordinarily, one who has been fraudulently induced to

enter into an unenforceable contract may recover the benefit

of the bargain, as well as out-of-pocket expenses. (Lazar v.

Superior Court, supra, 12 Cal.4th at p. 638.) However, a

defrauded purchaser of real property, who does not succeed

in acquiring the property, may recover only his or her out-of-

pocket losses, not benefit-of-the- bargain damages. (Kenly

v. Ukegawa (1993) 16 Cal.App.4th 49, 54; Civ. Code,

§ 3343.)

That does not mean that Simon did not suffer injury due

to the loss of his bargain. Simon agreed to purchase the

building for $1,100,000. His expert appraised the building’s

value as $1,500,000, as had San Paolo’s expert before the

action was filed. Simon’s loss was at least the $400,000

difference between the appraised value and the price at

which King falsely promised to sell the building.®

Although the compensatory damage award is usually a

convenient measure of the injury or damages suffered by a

plaintiff, it may or may not reflect the actual harm the

plaintiff has suffered. (Gagnon v. Continental Casualty Co.

(1989) 211 Cal.App.3d 1598, 1603-1604.) “Thus, to

meaningfully apply the ‘reasonable relation’ rule, the trier of

fact (and reviewing court) should not focus on some

*Simon also lost a unique opportunity. Small office buildings rarely

come on the market in the location of the subject five-story office

building, and Simon found it to be perfect for his paper and printing

business, partly because it would enable him to compete better with the

large suppliers like Staples, Office Depot, and Xerox. The building itself

was also ideal, because it had a finished basement with a large,

industrial-size freight elevator, which he found to be perfect for his

warehouse. He planned to use the second floor, and lease out the top

three floors, which had fancy improvements, making them attractive to

potential tenants.

A-31

bottom-line amount of an award of compensatory damages

but on the nature and degree of the actual harm suffered by

the plaintiff....” (/d. at p. 1604; Carr v. Progressive

Casualty Ins. Co. (1984) 152 Cal.App.3d 881, 892; cf,

Palmer v. Ted Stevens Honda, Inc. (1987) 193 Cal.App.3d

530, 541; but see Auerbach v. Great Western Bank (1999)

74 Cal.App.4th 1172, 1190 [expenditures required by law

are not damages, and may not be considered in awarding

punitive damages].)°

When the actual harm to Simon is considered, its ratio to

punitive damages is not 340 to 1, but just over 4 to 1, not

grossly disproportionate, without consideration of other

factors, as to suggest passion or prejudice. Thus, we measure

the reprehensibility of San Paolo’s conduct against a ratio of

4 to 1, not 340 to 1.

Discussing only evidence favorable to its position, San

Paolo contends that its conduct was not “particularly

reprehensible,” because it caused only nominal economic

harm and was a single act. Further, since King is no longer

employed by San Paolo, it contends that such conduct was

unlikely to recur.

San Paolo misapprehends the scope of review. We must

view the entire record for substantial evidence from which

the jury could reasonably conclude that the acts of San

Paolo reached the level of reprehensibility to justify the

award. (Neal v. Farmers Ins. Exchange, supra, 21 Cal.3d at

pp. 922, 927.) An appellate court’s task is not to find

*Nor does the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment

require comparison with a fixed ratio based upon the compensatory-

damage award. “It is appropriate to consider the magnitude of the

potential harm that the defendant’s conduct would have caused to its

intended victim if the wrongful plan had succeeded, as well as . the

possible harm to other victims that might have resulted if similar future

behavior were not deterred.” (7XO Production Corp. v. Alliance

Resources Corp., supra, 509 U.S. at p. 460.)

A-32

evidence from which inferences may be drawn in the

appellant’s favor, as San Paolo has done, but “begins and

ends with a determination as to whether there is any

substantial evidence, contradicted or uncontradicted, which

will support the conclusion reached by the jury.”

(Crawford v. Southern Pacific Co., supra, 3 Cal.2d at

p. 429.)

Substantial evidence not only supports the verdict, but

also contradicts San Paolo’s conclusion that the fraud was

an isolated incident. King engaged not in one act of

deception, as San Paolo urges, but in a pattern of deceit that

continued into his trial testimony. He deceived not only

Simon, but also Atha, concealing the Devogelaere deal, and

leading Atha to believe he was still negotiating in good faith

after the Devogelaere deal had already gone into escrow.

Further, King never disclosed his agreement with Simon to

Devogelaere. King deceived his own supervisor, as weil,

telling him that Simon had failed to produce financial

records, without disclosing that he had refused to accept

them.

San Paolo seeks to draw an analogy with the facts of

FDIC v. Hamilton (10th Cir.1997) 122 F.3d 854, where a

mitigating factor considered by the federal court was the

fact that the fraud was a “single contractual event,” even

though the scheme took some time. (122 F.3d at p. 862.)'°

While we do not disagree with San Paolo’s assertion that

such facts are relevant to determining the degree of

reprehensibility, we must consider all the relevant facts.

(Adams v. Murakami, supra, 54. Cal.3d at p. 110.)

'°San Paolo also relies upon an unpublished California case, without

compliance with California Rules of Court, rule 977. (See e.g., Cates

Construction, Inc. v. Talbot Partners (1997) previously published at 53

Cal.App.4th 1420, superseded by Cates Construction, Inc. v. Talbot

Partners (1999) 21 Cal.4th 28.) We will disregard the reference.

A-33

King’s deceit is not so easily dismissed as an isolated

incident. It was continuous and intricate. After this action

was filed, King filed two false declarations claiming to have

had no communication with Devogelaere concerning the

property until the evening of June 13. At trial, faced with his

own telephone records, King claimed the declarations were

true, although he should not have used the word,”

communicate,” because what he really meant was that he

did not negotiate with Devogelaere.

King then came up with a palpably unbelievable story to

support his claim that he did not negotiate with Devogelaere

prior to the evening of June 13. King testified that

Devogelaere dropped his offer off at his home that evening,

and he signed it the morning of June 14 at 8:00 a.m.’

However, the offer, made on a pre-printed deposit-receipt

form, was filled out in purple ink, dated June 12, 1996, in

purple ink, and signed by both King and Devogelaere in

purple ink, although King’s signature was written in both

blue ink and purple ink, one signature directly over the

other. King initialed each page in blue ink. The date was

changed from June 12, 1996 to June 14, 1996, by writing

“14” over the “12.” King claimed that the original date had

been recorded wrong, and had to be changed; and that

because the document had multiple copies, it was necessary

to write over his signature to make it show on all of them.

He also claimed that Devogelaere had left his purple pen

with the document.

King testified that after he signed the document at 8:00

a.m., he drove four miles to Devogelaere’s home in Pacific

Palisades, dropped it in the mailbox, then drove to his office

‘'King testified in deposition that he did not see the offer until

June 14, but he changed that testimony by writing on the transcript that

Devogelaere dropped it off at his home the evening of June 13, and that

he did not look at it until the next day. In deposition, he testified he

signed it at home on his dining-room table, but at trial, it was in his car.

A-34

in downtown Los Angeles, arriving by 8:34 a.m.,'? when he

had a telephone conversation in his office, before preparing a

memorandum regarding the sale to his supervisor, Who then

prepared another memorandum, dated June 13, 1996, which

was faxed to New York at 9:15 a.m. that morning,

June 14, 1996.

We reject San Paolo’s suggestion that the jury was not

permitted to consider King’s apparently false testimony,

because it would amount to a sanction for litigation

misconduct, instead of punishment for the conduct which

precipitated the lawsuit. We agree that the defendant’s

behavior at trial may not be the basis of the jury’s award.

(Cf., Zhadan v. Downtown L.A. Motors (1976) 66

Cal.App.3d 481, 500-501.) However, King’s false testimony

was more than litigation misconduct. It showed how he

manipulated the parties and documents at the time of the

events in mid-June 1996 in order to support his false claim

that he complied with the terms of the letter of intent, and

its claim that it was Simon who failed to perform. King’s

deception at trial showed how false he was prior to trial, and

thus, how reprehensible his conduct was.

Substantial evidence also contradicts San Paolo’s

assertion that it is unlikely to engage in similar wrongdoing

in the future. hecause King is no longer employed by San

Paolo. San P&vlo did not terminate Kings employment, or

distance itself in any way from King’s conduct. King was

never reprimanded, warned, or counseled; he suffered no job

or salary action whatsoever, and even got a bonus that year.

The jury could reasonably have concluded that it is unlikely

that San Paolo will change its policies to discourage similar

conduct in the future.

'?Simon had King’s telephone records, showing that he made a call

from his office at 8:34 a.m. Devogelaere testified that it takes at least 35

minutes to reach downtown Los Angeles from his home, when there is

no traffic, and up to 1% hours with traffic. June 14, 1996, was a Friday.

A-35

“Trickery and deceit’ are reprehensible wrongs,

especially when done intentionally through affirmative acts

of misconduct. (7XO Production Corp. v. Alliance

Resources Corp., supra, 509 U.S. at p. 462.) Our review of

the entire record does not compel a conclusion that the

- award was so grossly disproportionate to the degree of

reprehensibility or to the harm done, as to raise the

presumption that it was the result of passion and prejudice.

Having so concluded, we turn to San Paolo’s contentions

regarding wealth.

** “Also to be considered is the wealth of the particular

defendant; obviously, the function of deterrence .. . , will not

be served if the wealth of the defendant allows him to absorb

the award with little or no discomfort....By the same

token, of course, the function of punitive damages is not

served by an award which, in light of the defendant’s wealth

and the gravity of the particular act, exceeds the level

necessary to properly punish and deter.’ [Citation.]”

(Adams v. Murakami, supra, 54 Cal.3d at p. 110, citing

Neal v. Farmers Ins. Exchange, supra, 21 Cal.3d at p. 928.)

San Paolo contends that Simon’s counsel “invited error”

in his closing argument by ignoring the first two “prongs of

the test” and arguing “‘almost exclusively on the wealth of

San Paolo.”'? Its reasoning is somewhat difficult to follow,

but appears to be a contention that Simon was required to

include a discussion of all three Nea/ factors in his closing

argument, without emphasizing one over the other, and that

he was prohibited from suggesting a particular amount that

the jury should award.

The doctrine of invited error estops an appellant who has induced

the commission of error, from asserting it as a ground for reversal. (See

9 Witkin, Cal. Proc. (4th ed. 1997) Appeal, § 383, p. 434) It is not a

ground for reversal. (See 2 Cal. Evidence (3d ed. 1986) § 1371,

p. 1335.)

A-36

San Paolo has cited no authority for its assertions, not

even general authority concerning the limitations placed on

argument. Even if we assume that it was misconduct for

counsel to suggest an amount or to fail to emphasize all

three Neal factors equally, San Paolo does not claim to have

objected to the argument or to have requested an

admonishment. We therefore pass on these contentions

without consideration. (See Horn v. Atchison, T. & S.F. Ry.

Co., supra, 61 Cal.2d at p. 610.)

Substantial evidence supports a finding that San Paolo’s

net worth was between $40,000,000 and $50,000,000. Bob

Wurster, an officer of both San Paolo and its parent and sole

shareholder, San Paolo Bank, testified that at the end of

1996, the net assets of San Paolo were approximately

$46,000,000; and that at the end of the first trial the net

assets of San Paolo were approximately $55,000,000. At less

than five percent of San Paolo’s net worth, the punitive

damage award was not excessive on its face, without

evidence that such a sum would cause such undue hardship

as to render the punishment unreasonably disproportionate

to San Paolo’s ability to pay. (See Adams v. Murakami,

supra, 54 Cal.3d at pp. 111-112.) It was San Paolo’s burden

to make such a showing. (Weeks v. Baker & McKenzie

(1998) 63 Cal.App.4th 1128, 1167.)

San Paolo did not make such a showing, and does not

contend here that the amount is _ unreasonably

disproportionate to its ability to pay. It contends in its reply

brief, for the first time, that the trial court should have

excluded evidence that after the first trial, San Paolo

transferred $40,000,000 to the bank.'* Without such

evidence, it reasons, its net worth was shown at the time of

'*Wurster admitted that the transfer had been made after the first jury

awarded punitive damages. He also admitted that he had attended the

first trial, and knew that punitive damages would be the issue in the

second trial.

A-37

the second trial to be only $4,875,000, which would not

justify an award of $1,700,000, since punitive damages

awards are generally limited to 10 percent or less of the

defendant’s net worth. (See Weeks v. Baker & McKenzie,

supra, 63 Cal.App.4th at p. 1166.)

Ordinarily, a contention made for the first time in an

appellant’s reply brief may be disregarded, unless some

meritorious reason is shown why it was not made in the

opening brief. (Monk v. Ehret (1923) 192 Cal. 186, 190.)

That rule is inapplicable if the new point is raised in order to

address a contention in respondent’s brief. (See Fratessa v.

Roffy (1919) 40 Cal.App. 179, 188) In his respondent’s

brief, Simon discussed the guidelines set forth in BMW of

North America v. Gore, supra, 517 U.S. at page 574,

including the issue of the wealth of the defendant. The Burn

of Simon’s statement on the subject was as follows: “The

wealth of a defendant must also be considered. [ Citation. }

San Paolo’s wealth was appropriately considered to be

$40,000,000 to $50,000,000. The jury could rightfully reject

San Paolo’s poverty plea based on its substantial liquid net

worth and the questionable riming of the transfer of that net

worth to the parent company.”

We need not consider whether Simon’s statement opens

the door to a contention that the trial court should have

excluded evidence of the transfer of assets, because once

again, San Paolo fails to refer to its objection to the

evidence, fails to refer to the trial court’s ruling on its

objections, and fails to refer to or discuss any testimony or

other evidence to show how it was prejudiced by the

evidence; and it fails to support its contention with

applicable authority. We therefore deem the point

abandoned. (See Troensegaard v. Silvercrest Industries, Inc,

supra, 175 Cal.App.3d at p. 228.)

meee eee:

a. eee ee

A-38

4. San Paolo waived any error with respect to BAJI

No. 14.72.2

San Paolo contends that the jury instruction in BAJI

No. 14.72.2 is so vague that its right to due process was

infringed by the use of it. San Paolo does not refer to its

objection to the instruction, if any, in the trial-court record,

or to any clarifying instruction it may have proposed. Our

review of the record reveals that the parties jointly requested

BAJI No. 14.72.2.

It is a long-established rule that one may not complain of

instructions given to a jury at his own request. (Emerson v.

County of Santa Clara (1871) 40 Cal. 543.) Further, a

party may not complain on appeal about an instruction

which was correct, but incomplete or vague, unless he

requested an additional or clarifying instruction in the trial

court. (Suman v. BMW of North America, Inc. (1994) 23

Cal.App.4th 1, 9.) Since San Paolo does not contend that it

requested an additional or clarifying instruction in the trial

court, and we have found none in the record, San Paolo has

not preserved this points for appeal, and we pass it without

further consideration.

5. San Paolo’s contentions regarding California law and

criminal standards are too vague to address

San Paolo’s final contention appears to be that all

California law relating to punitive damages is

“constitutionally vague,” and the imposition of punitive

damages should be governed by the same standards which

apply to criminal penalties.

A challenge to a statute as vague in its entirety usually

involves a review of the words of the enactment, its

application in the particular case of the party challenging it,

and finally, hypothetical applications of the law. (See

Village of Hoffman Estates v. Flipside, Hoffman Estates

(1982) 455 U.S. 489, 494-495, fn. 5.) San Paolo has made

wat

A-39

no effort to make such an analysis, and has not even

identified the specific “California law” to which it objects, or

which criminal standards should apply.

Simon has understandably made no attempt to address

this contention in his respondent’s brief, and we decline San

Paolo’s -apparent invitation to address the subject of

vagueness and constitutionality in the abstract, except to

point out that in general, California’s procedures for the

imposition of punitive damages have been held to comply

with constitutional requirements of due process.'> (See

Sierra Club Foundation v. Graham, supra, 72 Cal.App.4th

at pp. 1160-1163; Las Palmas Associates v. Las Palmas

Center Associates, supra, 235 Cal.App.3d at p. 1258, fn. 8.)

II. Simon's Cross-Appeal

A. Simon's proposed special verdict form was properly

refused

The letter of intent signed by both parties provides, in

part: “Seller and Buyer agree to exclusively negotiate upon

execution of this letter.” King admitted that San Paolo was

bound by that term of the letter of intent, which prohibited

him from negotiating, at least for 24 hours, with any other

potential buyers.

Simon proposed a special verdict form which asked, “Did

the defendant and plaintiff agree to exclusively negotiate

with each other to complete the sale of the real property

located at 816 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles,

California?” Simon contends that the trial court erred in

refusing this question in favor of the special verdict as given,

which asked, “Was there a binding and enforceable

agreement between [San Paolo] and [Simon]?”

'SSee footnote 6, above.

A-40

As we have discussed in relation to San Paolo’s appeal,

the special verdict form used was ambiguous, and called for

a legal conclusion. Simon did not object to it on either of

those grounds, and does not object to it here on those

grounds, and we consider them waived. (See Brokaw v.

Black-Foxe Military Institute, supra, 37 Cal.2d at p. 280.)

Whether to allow a more or less detailed special verdict

form was within the trial court’s discretion. (See

Valentine v. Baxter Healthcare Corp. (1999) 68

Cal.App.4th 1467, 1487.) A trial court abuses its discretion

if the special verdict form fails to dispose of all elements of

the cause of action. (Falls v. Superior Court (1987) 194

Cal.App.3d 851, 854-855.) As ambiguous as it was, the

form which was used did not fail to dispose of the contract

cause of action, and the proposed question regarding

negotiation was subsumed in it. Had the jury found an

enforceable agreement to negotiate exclusively with Simon,

it would have properly answered that there was, in fact, an

enforceable agreement.

The burden is on a party complaining of the trial court’s

exercise of discretion to show a clear case of abuse.

(Denham v. Superior Court, supra, 2 Cal.3d at p. 566.)

Further, Simon was required to show that any abuse was

“sufficiently grave to amount to a manifest miscarriage of

justice. ...”” [Citation.]” (Mission Imports, Inc. v. Superior

Court, supra, 3\ Cal.3d at p. 932.) The jury found there was

no enforceable contract. Simon has not suggested how the

result would have been different if the jury had been asked

more specifically whether there was a contract to negotiate

exclusively. Nor has Simon provided any authority for his

contentions. We therefore deem the point waived. (See

Troensegaard v. Silvercrest Industries, Inc., supra,

175 Cal.App.3d at p. 228.)

A-41

B. Jury Instructions

Simon contends that if several jury instructions had not

been refused by the trial court, the jury might have found

the letter of intent, or at least part of it, to be an enforceable

contract. A letter of intent which contains all essential terms

may constitute an enforceable contract, depending on the

parties’ intent and their expectations. (See California Food

Service Corp. v. Great American Ins. Co. (1982)

130 Cal.App.3d 892, 897.) Also depending upon the intent

of the parties, a detailed letter of intent may be an

agreement to negotiate in good faith. (See Racine &

Laramie, Ltd. v. Department of Parks & Recreation (1992)

11 Cal.App.4th 1026, 1033.)

“A party is entitled upon request to correct,

nonargumentative instructions on every theory of the case

advanced by him which is supported by substantial

evidence. The trial court may not force the litigant to rely on

abstract generalities, but must instruct in specific terms that

relate the party’s theory to the particular case. [ Citations. ]”

(Soule v. General Motors Corp. (1994) 8 Cal.4th 548, 572.)

To determine whether a theory is supported by substantial

evidence we reverse the usual rule of appellate review, and

review the evidence in the light most favorable to the

appellant, in this case, the cross-appellant, Simon. (See

Henderson v. Harnischfeger Corp. (1974) 12 Cal.3d 663,

674.) Applying that standard, we agree that substantial

evidence supports the formation of a contract.'®

'°San Paolo devotes substantial energy to arguing that there was

substantial evidence showing that the letter of intent was merely an

agreement to agree (see Autry v. Republic Productions, Inc. (1947)

30 Cal.2d 144, 151), and that the parties did not intend to be bound

until they signed a deposit receipt. (See Gavina v. Smith (1944)

25 Cal.2d 501, 504.) Whether substantial evidence supports the

judgment is not, however, our inquiry; rather, it is whether substantial

A-42

After several months of on-again, off-again negotiation,

San Paolo agreed to sell Simon the property located at 816

South Figueroa, for $1.1 million. Atha drafted a two-page

letter of intent, which set forth all the terms which the

parties had negotiated regarding the sale of the building.

The first sentence of the draft letter of intent stated, “Due to

the motivation of both parties and the anticipated short

escrow, the following shall serve as a binding Letter of

Intent for purpose of entering escrow... .”

On June 12, 1996, after the parties agreed to a few

changes, Atha faxed to Simon a final version of the letter of

intent, containing more than sixteen terms, with King’s

signature already affixed. One of the changes was made

without Simon’s knowledge: King had instructed Atha to

remove the word, “binding,” from the first sentence.

However, it was still Simon’s understanding that the letter

of intent would be a binding contract, and that it contained

all the essential terms of their contract. He was told that the

only terms left tc negotiate were “housekeeping” terms,

which would be addressed in the escrow.'”

Atha testified that he also thought the letter of intent was

to be a binding contract, once it was approved by New York

and escrow was opened, and he thought that it reflected all

the essential terms of the parties’ agreement.'® Even though

he took the word, “binding,” out of the final draft at King’s

request, and described it on the cover sheet as “nonbinding”

when he faxed Simon a copy of the fully executed letter of

intent, he interpreted “nonbinding” as meaning only that the

agreement was subject to approval by San Paolo’s New

evidence supports the requested instruction. (O'Meara v. Swortfiguer

(1923) 191 Cal. 12, 15.)

"He did not say who told him.

'* Atha changed this testimony in the second trial, claiming to have

discussed the change to a non-binding letter of intent with Simon.

A-43

York office, and the opening of escrow.'” The letter of intent

stipulated that escrow was to open upon approval of the

terms and conditions of the letter of intent by San Paolo’s

Los Angeles and New York offices, which would be given no

later than 3:00 p.m. the next day. The evening of the day

that the letter of intent was signed by both Simon and King,

Atha told Simon, “We have a deal. Go home, sleep like a

baby.” King testified that although he did not intend the

letter of intent to be binding, he considered himself bound

by the promise not to negotiate with others.

We turn first to Simon’s contention that since all parties

intended to be bound by the letter of intent’s exclusive-

negotiation term, substantial evidence supports the existence

of an agreement to negotiate in good faith, and the court

should have given his proposed instruction on that issue.

That proposed instruction reads as follows: “A duty of

good faith and fair dealing may exist even in an agreement

that is not binding. Even if you determine that the letter of

intent was not binding on the defendant to sell the subject

property, you are not precluded from finding that the letter

of intent was an agreement to use best efforts or to negotiate

in good faith. If you determine that the letter of intent was

an agreement to use best efforts or to negotiate in good faith

to complete a sale of the property, and you further

determine defendant failed to negotiate in good faith or to

use best efforts to complete the sale or that the defendant

breached the term of the agreement to exclusively negotiate

with plaintiff, you may determine that here was breach of

the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing resulting

in a breach of contract.”

''Simon received that fax after the letter of intent was fully executed,

and did not read the cover sheet or notice that it contained the word,

“nonbinding.”

A-44

The determination of whether there existed an agreement

to negotiate in good faith is made according to the ordinary

rules of contract. (See Racine & Laramie, Lid. v.

Department of Parks & Recreation, supra, 11 Cal.App.4th at

pp. 1033-1035.) The jury in this case was properly

instructed on the rules of contract formation. Instructions

which are cumulative or merely amplifications of other

instructions should not be given. (Hicks v. Ocean Shore

Railroad, Inc. (1941) 18 Cal.2d 773, 783.)

“Formula instructions,” such as that proposed by Simon,

are properly refused, unless they are reasonably brief and

concise, and are accurate statements of the law,

understandable to the average juror. (See Dodge v. San

Diego Electric Ry. Co. (1949) 92 Cal.App.2d 759, 763-

764.) The proposed instruction is neither brief nor concise,

and contains the misleading statement that “[a] duty of

good faith and fair dealing may exist even in an agreement

that is not binding,” implying that a duty to negotiate in

good faith may exist in the absence of one or more elements

of contract. In fact, an agreement to negotiate in good faith

must meet the requisites of an enforceable contract. (Racine

& Laramie, Lid. v. Department of Parks & Recreation,

supra, 11 Cal.App.4th at p. 1033.) The trial court properly

refused the instruction, and was not obligated to modify it or

propose another in its place. (Fibreboard Paper Products

Corp. v. East Bay Union of Machinists (1964) 227

Cal.App.2d 675, 717.)

Relying on Jacobs v. Tenneco West, Inc. (1986) 186

Cal.App.3d 1413, and Jacobs v. Freeman (1980) 104

Cal.App.3d 177, Simon also contends that since substantial

evidence supported the formation of a contract, subject to

the approval of San Paolo’s senior management in Los

Angeles and New York, the jury should have been

instructed as to San Paolo’s obligation to seek such approval

in good faith. Simon contends that if the jury had been

A-45

instructed as to San Paolo’s obligation to exercise good faith

in seeking approval, it might have found the letter of intent

to be an enforceable contract.

In Jacobs v. Freeman, the parties’ contract contained an

express provision similar to one in the letter of intent,

conditioning the opening of escrow upon approval by the

seller’s board of directors. The court of appeal reversed a

nonsuit, holding that the provision was intended to be a

condition precedent to the seller’s duty to convey title to the

land rather than a condition precedent to the formation of a

contract. (104 Cal.App.3d at p. 189) The implied covenant

of good faith and fair dealing required the seller’s officers to

submit the contract to the board of directors, and their

failure to do so was a breach of contract. (Jd. at

pp. 189-190.)

Jacobs v. Tenneco West involved the same parties as in

Jacobs v. Freeman. The seller appealed an adverse judgment

upon retrial, contending that the buyer had failed to prove

that it had acted in bad faith in failing to submit the contract

to the board. (Jacobs v. Tenneco West, Inc., supra,

186 Cal.App.3d at p. 1415, 1418.) The court held that since

the buyers did not assume the risk of lack of cooperation,

and the lack of cooperation was not shown to be justifiable,

the seller bore the burden to establish that its failure did not

contribute materially to the nonoccurrence of the condition.

(/d. at p. 1418) When seller then responded that the board

would not have approved the contract in any case, the court

held that such an excuse for nonperformance is an

affirmative defense, upon which the seller had the burden of

proof. (/d. at p. 1419.)

Here, San Paolo interposed no such affirmative defense.

However, in his closing statement, its counsel argued that

even if the parties intended the letter of intent to be a

binding ‘contract, it was unenforceable because conditions

were not met, including the requirement of approval from

A-46

New York, and the opening of escrow, which was, in turn,

conditioned upon approval from New York. Nevertheless,

King admitted that he never submitted the letter of intent or

Simon’s offer for approval. Further, although San Paolo’s

approval procedure required the recommendation of King’s

supervisor, William Schack, then the submission of a

written memorandum to one of two officers in New York,

King never submitted anything to them, and never asked for

Schack’s recommendation.

Simon contends that under the rationale of the two

Jacobs holdings, San Paolo was estopped to argue that the

sale was not or would not have been approved by New York.

However, Simon did not object to counsel’s argument; nor

did he seek a ruling from the trial court on his estoppel

theory. Instead, he proposed four lengthy, rambling,

argumentative, and confusing instructions, and an

instruction on the implied covenant of good faith and fair

dealing.” The form of the proposed instructions alone

*° Proposed instruction number 4 reads in part: “In this case, the

agreement between plaintiff and defendant gave defendant the right to

seek written approval of the... New York offices. ... If you determine

that (1) the defendant sought written approval...and (2) that the

senior Officers rejected the terms and conditions of the contract

reasonably and in good faith, you may determine that the contract is not

enforceable. However, if you determine that the defendant failed to seek

written approval..., the condition is excused...and may be

determined by you not to prevent the formation of a binding

contract....” Number 5 states: “If you determine that the individuals

negotiating with the plaintiff... had an obligation to seek approval

from ... New York... , you must determine that such individuals had a

duty to submit the contract with a recommendation of approval. If you

find that they did not recommend approval of the terms of the

contract..., you may determine that their failure was an unreasonable

prevention of the performance of the condition which excused the

condition if you also determine that the failure to recommend the terms

and conditions of the Letter of Intent contributed materially to the

failure to obtain such approvals, you may conclude that there was a

A-47

justified their refusal. (See Dodge v. San Diego Electric Ry.

Co., supra, 92 Cal.App.2d at pp. 763-764.)

The proposed instructions are also ambiguous. On the one

hand, they appear to assume that New York’s approval was

a condition precedent to the formation of a contract. At the

same time, the proposed instructions appear to instruct the

jury to assume that a contract had been formed, and San

Paolo’s performance was conditioned upon New York

approval.

A covenant of good faith and fair dealing is implied in all

contracts. (See Universal Sales Corp. v. California etc. Mfg.

Co. (1942) 20 Cal.2d 751, 771.) However, it is not implied

if no contract has been Armed, and does not require a party

to enter into a contract. (Racine & Laramie, Lid. v.

Department of Parks & Recreation, supra, 11 Cal.App.4th at

p. 1032.) Neither Jacobs v. Freeman, nor Jacobs v. Tenneco

breach of the contract.” Number 6 reads: “Under the terms of the

contract, defendant was obligated to open escrow and attempt to

complete the sale of the property only if the terms and conditions of the

letter of intent were approved, in writing, by...New York....

However, the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing also

required defendant to make reasonable efforts to obtain the

approval ..., and if it failed to do so, the law does not permit it to take

advantage of that failure to avoid an obligation to sell the property.

Consequently, if the failure to obtain written approval . . . was caused by

defendant’s failure to make reasonable efforts to obtain such approval,

then the defendant is obligated to plaintiff in the same manner as if the

senior officers had approved .. . the letter of intent.” Number 7 states:

“If you find that the defendant made reasonable efforts to obtain such

approval, you may find that[it]had no obligation under the contract to

sell the property. On the other hand, if you find that the defendant failed

to make reasonable efforts to obtain the approval . . . , you must find that

[it] is obligated to plaintiff in the same manner as if they obtained such

approval. Unless defendant proves, by a preponderance of the evidence,

that the senior officers would not have given its approval, even if they

had made reasonable efforts to obtain such approval, you may determine

that defendant is deemed to have approved the terms and conditions of

the letter of intent.”

A-48

West held otherwise. In those cases, there was no issue

concerning the formation of a contract. There, an executory

bilateral contract to sell the land had been created,

obligating the seller to convey land upon board approval.

(Jacobs v. Freeman, supra, 104 Cal.App.3d at p. 187.)

Board approval was not a condition precedent to the

formation of the contract. (Jacobs v. Tenneco West, Inc.,

supra, 186 Cal.App.3d at p. 1415) Thus, to the extent the

instructions suggest that San Paolo was required by the

covenant of good faith and fair dealing to bring about a

condition precedent to the formation of the contract, they

are not supported by those authorities, and they were

incorrect.

Further, since San Paolo did not interpose the affirmative

defense of excuse of a condition precedent to its

performance, the court was not required to instruct as to the

burden of proof discussed in Jacobs v. Tenneco West, Inc.,

supra, 186 Cal.App.3d at pages 1418-1419. Thus, the trial

court properly refused the entirety of the instructions, and

had no duty to cull out what was proper, modify them, or

give others in lieu of them. (See Fibreboard Paper Products

Corp. v. East Bay Union of Machinists, supra, 227

Cal.App.2d at p. 717.)

A-49

DISPOSITION

The judgment is affirmed. Each party shall bear its own

costs on appeal.

Not to be Published

HASTINGS, J.

We concur:

EPSTEIN, Acting P.J.

CURRY, J.

aa

Sar. aa

gtr c” ‘oh

ye

Ci atthe : cron aha

i.e 4 a es ae r 5 os Pe «a 7 : oy ) ee waa ae 7 eae Sy 7

‘ aw bys : = 2 es ; : iio =

=

é

wes

aL.

a han eee ee eee A!

é eo ease Stay (oar ih ae i> Prey ie aot hy

_ 9 ; 7 - ee — - ae - : a se > Pe ates — i a

: a; ie ed = oe ener Pie Uae eat oo

i : te); -¥)) Peay ant i, Prin [At ae ty t a pe Red oe. om

> o. a _ _ rae aro Akos Bor tes ! wy a : : che Reel i

ah eee ee Ae ees ae hal hea eee a

: oe os a " an! 7 uae or — on 7 : ss ‘

wo ag Ss

Poe .) fe, aie - r

'

% a0 Leet

i

dy

re os oa 7 a aa j as

=. ae i La ie a ai a a c. —_, o f >

ne a ee ese hn Sp,

Seer ais PS ds 0 et Pee 2) Ad Po 9 2

Ae ae! ome n ae Vs al - — y os on)

Te OOP RCI tee Cah eras ©?)

Hi ore. a 7 5 & i "hip 7 =

en Ne lie ee ae : eee ~ : i=

7 oe a , by ~

2 i) 7

50

APPENDIX 3

A-51

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION: 4

DATE: September 21, 2000

Beth Ann R. Young

Epport & Richman, LLP

10100 Santa Monica Blvd.

Suite 1450

Los Angeles, CA 90067-4118

SIMON, LIONEL

Plaintiff-Respondent-Appellant

Vv

SAN PAOLO BANK

Defendant-Appellant-Respondent

B121917

Los Angeles County No. BE152431

THE COURT:

Petition for Rehearing is denied.

52

APPENDIX 4

A-53

SUPREME COURT

FILED

NOVEMBER 27, 2000

FREDERICK K. OHLRICH, CLERK

DEPUTY

Court of Appeal, Second Appellate District,

Division Four - No. B121917

S092092

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA

LIONEL SIMON,

Plaintiff and Respondent,

v.

SAN PAOLO U.S. HOLDING COMPANY

INCORPORATED,

Defendant and Appellant.

ee Re PT NST RT

The time for granting or denying review in the above-

entitled matter is hereby extended to and _ including

January 4, 2001, or the date upon which review is either

granted or denied.

/s/ GEORGE

Chief Justice

Se ee ae ee ee ee -

QO ODI OT I SSO ONTOS PUN 9 EO GE

APPENDIX 5

A-55

SUPREME COURT

FILED

DECEMBER 13, 2000

FREDERICK K. OHLRICH, CLERK

DEPUTY

Court of Appeal, Second Appellate District,

Division Four - No. B121917

S092092

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA

En Banc

LIONEL SIMON,

Plaintiff and Respondent,

wi

SAN PAOLO U.S. HOLDING COMPANY

INCORPORATED,

Defendant and Appellant.

Petition for review DENIED.

/s/ GEORGE

Chief Justice

s

Fe

FS

>

4

56

APPENDIX 6 |

A-57

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION FOUR

LIONEL SIMON,

Plaintiff, Respondent and Cross-Appellant,

Vv.

SAN PAOLO U.S. HOLDING COMPANY, INC.,

Defendant, Appellant and Cross-Respondent.

B121917

(Super. Ct. No. BC152431)

ORDER

COURT OF APPEAL — SECOND DIST.

FILED

JANUARY 10, 2001

JOSEPH A. LANE, CLERK

J. GUZMAN, DEPUTY CLERK

THE COURT:*

The court has received and considered the motion to

recall the remittitur issued December 18, 2000, and that

issuance be stayed pending the filing of a petition for a writ

of certiorari with the United States Supreme Court filed by

defendant San Paolo U.S. Holding Company, Inc., on

December 26, 2000. The court has also received and

considered the opposition to defendant’s motion filed on

January 5, 2001, by plaintiff Lionel Simon, doing business as

Liberty Paper-Company.

Good cause appearing, it is ordered that the remittitur

issued on December 18, 2000, is recalled and shall be stayed

for 90 days from the date of this order at which time it will

terminate and the matter will be remanded to the trial court.

A-58

The bond filed pursuant to Code of Civil Procedure in the

amount of $2,557,500 may be deficient to pay the principal

amount of the judgment and the accrued interest. Therefore,

defendant may apply to the United States Supreme Court

for any further stay. This order is made without prejudice to

plaintiff to apply for additional security on a showing that -

the present bond is substantially inadequate to protect his

interest pending the 90-day stay granted to defendant,

inadequate to protect his interest pending the 90-day stay

granted to defendant.

/s/_ CS. VOGEL

“VOGEL (CS.), P.J.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.