Opposition Brief — Circuit City Stores, Inc. v. Ingle

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

} FILED

® MAY 15 2000

No. 99-1648

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

5

CIRCUIT CITY STORES, INC.,

Petitioner,

Vv.

CATHERINE INGLE,

Respondent.

Sd

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Ninth Circuit

Sd

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

MicHaeEL H. Crossy

Counsel of Record

D.F. Garrettson House

2366 Front Street

San Diego, California 92101

(619) 696-7330

NO ‘4

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

INTRODUCTION TO OPPOSITION.......... 1

NO JURISDICTIONAL AUTHORITY......... 1

FACTUAL BACKGROUND .................. 2

PROCEDURAL HISTORY .................4.. 4

REASONS PETITION FOR WRIT OF CER-

TIORARI SHOULD BE DENIED............. 5

A. THIS CASE IS NOT RIPE FOR SUPREME

COURT DOW EOY occ rcccesieesveccccces 5

B. THIS ISSUE IS NOT RIPE FOR SUPREME

eb gw ls.) gar pan 6

1. PETITIONER HAS OVERSTATED THE

CONFLICT IN THE CIRCUITS SINCE

AT LEAST THREE HAVE NOT YET

STATED DECISIVE POSITIONS ...... 6

2. RECENT SCHOLARLY EXCAVA-

TIONS INTO CONGRESSIONAL

RECORDS (DISCUSSED BY THE

COURTS OF APPEAL IN CRAFT AND

KOVELESKIE) PROVIDE NEW

INSIGHT INTO CONGRESS’S

INTENT AND UNDERSTANDING

WHEN IT ENACTED THE RELEVANT

STATUTORY PROVISIONS; THE

ISSUE SHOULD PERCOLATE IN THE

EADUUU GRPRPB Ds ole cc censtccecdaces 7

3. THERE IS NO FACTUAL AND DOCU-

MENTARY RECORD................. 8

C. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ RULING

DOES NOT INVOLVE INTOLERABLE

RR sigh tne BORA Yen gee eee 9

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

1.

Page

COURTS OF APPEAL SHOULD CON-

STRUE FEDERAL JURISDICTION

NARIIGVER bi ccc ciicdsasciscnsdscce

THE COURT OF APPEAL’S DIS-

MISSAL IN THIS CASE IS NOT NEC-

ESSARILY BASED ON A “BROAD

READING OF THE FAA SECTION

ONE EXCLUSION”................-.

NO PUBLIC POLICY FAVORS MAN-

DATORY ARBITRATION WHEN

IMPOSED AS A CONDITION OF

EMPLOYMENT BECAUSE SUCH

AGREEMENTS ARE UNCONSCION-

ABLE AND UNENFORCEABLE. .....

a. THE DRA IS UNCONSCION-

b. PUBLIC AND PRIVATE AGEN-

CIES HAVE DENOUNCED COM-

PULSORY ARBITRATION OF

EMPLOYMENT DISPUTES.......

D. ADDITIONAL STATUTES INVOLVED;

MISSTATEMENTS OF LAW AND FACT...

1.

CIRCUIT CITY OMITTED ANY REF-

ERENCE TO THE STATUTE CRAFT

RELIED ON, 9 U.S.C. §2 ............

PETITIONER STATES LEGAL AND

FACTUAL ISSUES ARISING FROM

QUESTION 2 INACCURATELY ......

a. THERE IS NO CONFLICT BE-

TWEEN ADAMS AND AHMED..

10

11

11

12

13

13

14

14

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued |

Page

b. MR. GILMER WAS NK JT GOV-

ERNED BY A CONTRACT OF

EMPLOYMENT BETWEEN

EMPLOYER AND EMPLOYEE... 16

Mis: EE a pc dcvnnccecaresecisaniedvens 18

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Britton v. Co-Op Banking Group, 916 F.2d 1405 (9th

CO SOE, so hcs vncgansanesd sehbeusecsnenusiseraces 2

Circuit City Stores, Inc. v. Adams, 194 F.3d 1070 (9th

Cir. 1999) (per curiam) ........cccccccccece 5, 9, 14, 15

Circuit City Stores, Inc. v. Ahmed, 195 F.3d 1131 (9th |

Cig. 1555) GOOF CPIM) occ coins cia cisccance 5, 9, 14, 15

Craft v. Campbell Soup Co., 177 F.3d 1083 (9th Cir.

1999) (per curiam)............ceeeees 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 14

Domino Sugar v. Sugar Workers Local 392, 10 F.3d

BOD. CGR GE: FIP oe 5 0k i oe b's Fee na Ken cbead bones 7

Duffield v. Robertson, Stephens & Co., 144 F.3d 1182

COU GR TPP sins co bic cia cacesecddanacnadens a, 6, i7

Gilmer v. Interstate Johnson/Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20

GRRE 6 sadn dvd chen boy sis wane enwassaceuenshaaes 10

Great Western Mortgage Corporation v. Peacock, 110

POG Zia COORG COs occ a wend ans ahvarenscdeae ce 7

Healy v0. Ralta, 292 US. 263 C29SE). «oo iw cece ccccces 9

Kokkonen v. Guardian Life Ins. Co. of America, 511

CEE BF SEPP ins deoutessscduleek sea yenrndathavie ex 9

Koveleskie v. SBC Capital Markets, Inc., 167 F.3d 361

(7th Cir.), cert. denied, 129 S.Ct. 44 (1999) .......... 8

Matter of Arbitration Between Chung and President

Enterprises, 943 F.2d 225 (2d Cir. 1991)..... Serre 2

McWilliams v. Logicon, Inc., 143 F.3d 573 (10th Cir.

SOUPS ib anda Cuabacncgnsouees dseNOe Ueber hsemEranh ead 7

Michalski v. Circuit City Stores, Inc., 177 F.3d 634

eh Cis HR ea Ba ee ee 17

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

O’Neil v. Hilton Head Hosp., 115 F.3d 272 (4th Cir.

| Rr Rie rE hy ere They Ey Ae Pe eee 7

Perry v. Thomas, 482 U.S. 483 (1987)..............4- 11

Pritzker v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith,

Inc., 7 B34 1116 (Sa Cit. W98S). 2. ces cccccnsccene 7

United Food and Commercial Workers Local 7R v.

Safeway Stores, Inc., 889 F.2d 940 (10th Cir. 1989) ...6, 7

STATUTES AND RULES

California Government Code

OO sedan acinus nants ia oe 4

I is es ea coed eed 4

Ni ciid oaks pecapevimapuameheeenc ee: 4

| ANCE HEN Re tee i ODER eae Meee 4

6 Cee WE a 4

© URE, OO 6 ook cocks tab Gapnsioens 13

COME Bbc ca Alig 6, 10, 16, 17

WR Oe css as gn sanceosuswussaecsce ae

Te ES eae a I NLL 9, 13

MURS 8. aa 4

Fed. Mes SW PS BOT a vk kon ks ve d's cand eiecncdeedunes 2

Oi eB reels ae 13

ile A Oi sisi ii Si Sings cance nncennvat 8

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION ©

FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

I. INTRODUCTION TO OPPOSITION

Respondent Catherine Ingle (“Respondent” or “Ms.

Ingle”) opposes the Petition for Writ of Certiorari for the

reasons stated in the Brief in Opposition No. 99-1379,

Circuit City Stores, Inc. v. Saint Clair Adams. Respondent

joins with Mr. Adams in urging this Court that, should

the Petition be granted, certiorari review be limited to the

First Question Presented by Circuit City Stores, Inc.

(“Petitioner” or “Circuit City”).

Ms. Ingle also raises the following distinct reasons

why certiorari should not be granted to review the dis-

missal of Circuit City’s appeal in her case.

Il. NO JURISDICTIONAL AUTHORITY

Ms. Ingle’s lawsuit was brought in federal court. Mr.

Adams and Mr. Ahmed, on the other hand, brought their

lawsuits in state court. The issue of federal court jurisdic-

tion arose in those two cases when Circuit City brought

original petitions to stay state court litigation and compel

arbitration of the disputes. This Petition arises from an

order of the United States District Court, Southern Dis-

trict of California, denying petitioner’s motion to compel

arbitration. Circuit City filed a notice of its intent to

appeal the interlocutory order. Its appeal was dismissed.

The order for which review is sought in this case is

interlocutory, not final. The orders questioned in Adams

and Ahmed are final orders dismissing petitions to compel

arbitration. See Civil Rule 54(b). In Ingle, jurisdiction

never passed from the District Court and remains there

today. See Britton v. Co-Op Banking Group, 916 F.2d 1405,

1412 (9th Cir. 1990). The appellate courts recognize the

jurisdictional distinction. See Matter of Arbitration Between

Chung and President Enterprises, 943 F.2d 225, 227-229 (2d

Cir. 1991).

Due to the absence of finality and District Court’s

uninterrupted jurisdiction over the subject matter, this

Court’s jurisdiction over the matter is questionable, at

best.

II. FACTUAL BACKGROUND

Ms. Ingle applied for the position of sales associate at

Circuit City in September 1996. At the time of applica-

tion, she was given forms and told where to sign. Ingle

was not given an opportunity to read the forms she was

told to sign. She was never offered the opportunity to

“opt-out” of the compulsory arbitration program.?

Ms. Ingle was not shown any dispute resolution

rules; no one in management explained them to her. She

never saw the rules discussed as Petitioner’s Exhibit B at

any time she worked on the job nor was she advised of

any changes in the rules.

Ms. Ingle twisted her back at work helping to trans-

port a wide-screen television in December 1997. Her

1 Due to the absence of an appellate record, the facts

stated are based upon facts stated in the complaint and

declarations of Catherine Ingle and Michael Crosby (and

exhibits to that declaration) filed in support of the opposition to

motion to compel arbitration.

supervisor, whose sexual advances toward Ms. Ingle

approached stalking, was angry that she rejected him.

When Ms. Ingle returned to work in January 1998, she

presented Anderson with a doctor’s written instructions

that her work hours and lifting be limited strictly. Ander-

son, though, assigned her to work up to 60 hours a week,

with heavy lifting. Ms. Ingle reported the harassment to

store manager Eric Gibbs. His statements, actions and

inactions caused far greater damage, so Ms. Ingle

reported the harassment to Circuit City through its “cool-

line” and by contacting its Western Regional Manager. No

one at Circuit City responded to this report by informing

Ms. Ingle of the dispute resolution rules. No one gave her

a claim form to file.

Ms. Ingle retained an attorney, her counsel of record.

Circuit City’s in-house attorney sent a copy of its pur-

ported dispute resolution rules in mid-April 1998. Ms.

Ingle’s counsel contacted the two leading alternative dis-

pute resolution providers in San Diego, J.A.M.S./

Endispute (“J.A.M.S.”) and the American Arbitration

Association (“AAA”). He provided them with copies of

Circuit City’s arbitration agreement and rules. He

inquired whether either firm would administer an arbi-

tration under those rules.

J.A.M.S. cited “Duffield” and “other factors” to

explain its decision not to administer the case. J.A.M.S.

sent its governing policy and rules, “J.A.M.S./Endispute

Policy on Er.ployment Arbitration Minimum Standards

of Procedural Fairness.”

AAA stated firmly that it would arbitrate the Ingle/

Circuit City dispute only if the parties stipulated to be

4

governed by AAA's “National Rules for the Resolution of

Employment Disputes.” In May 1998 and again in July

1999, Ms. Ingle offered to arbitrate under those rules.

Circuit City refuses to do so.

IV. PROCEDURAL HISTORY

Plaintiff filed her Complaint for Sexual Harassment

[California Government Code (“Gov.C.”) § 12940(h)];

Failure to Prevent Sexual Harassment [Gov.C. § 12940(i),

(h)(3)}; Unlawful Employment Discrimination on the

Basis of Gender or Physical Handicap [Gov.C. § 12940(a)];

Retaliation for Protesting Sexual Harassment [Gov.C.

§ 12940(f)]; Failure to Reasonably Accommodate Physical

Handicap [Gov.C. § 12940(k)]; Gender Discrimination and

Harassment [42 U.S.C. § 2000e]; Retaliation for Reporting

Employment Discrimination [42 U.S.C. § 2000e] on June

21, 1999.2 Defendant filed a motion to compel arbitration

on July 16, 1999. The motion was based in part on the

Declaration of Pamela Parsons and Exhibits A and B

thereto. Plaintiff filed her response on August 16, 1999.

The opposition was supported by declarations by Michael

Crosby (with exhibits) and Catherine Ingle. -

The motion was heard and denied by the late Honor-

able Edward J. Schwartz on August 30, 1999. (Transcript

of Hearing, 8/30/99, is Appendix 1.) A written order was

signed on September 21, 1999 and entered September 22,

1999.

2 A prior, more limited version of this complaint (Case No.

99 CV 0181] JFS) was filed on March 3, 1999 and dismissed for

lack of subject matter jurisdiction on May 24, 1999.

5

Defendant filed its notice of appeal on October 5,

1999. Respondent filed her motion to dismiss the appeal

on November 19, 1999. The motion to dismiss was

granted on January 24, 2000.

V. REASONS PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

SHOULD BE DENIED

A. THIS CASE IS NOT RIPE FOR SUPREME

COURT SCRUTINY

This case is not a promising candidate for review

because no ruling by this Court will determine whether

Ms. Ingle’s dispute with Circuit City should be arbitrated.

Judge Schwartz based his district court ruling entirely on

the Ninth Circuit’s opinion in Duffield v. Robertson, Step-

hens & Co., 144 F.3d 1182 (9th Cir. 1998) [employer may

not force employee to arbitrate employment discrimina-

tion claims as a condition of employment]. (See Appendix

B to Petition; Appendix 1, pp. 20-22.) The ruling did not

consider Craft v. Campbell Soup Co., 177 F.3d 1083 (9th Cir.

1999) (per curiam) nor the issues addressed in Circuit City

Stores, Inc. v. Adams, 194 F.3d 1070 (9th Cir. 1999) (per

curiam) and Circuit City Stores, Inc. v. Ahmed, 195 F.3d 1131

(9th Cir. 1999) (per curiam).

Even if this Court were to rule four-square in Circuit

City’s favor, it would only return the parties to the appel-

late court. The parties would have to designate a record,

then brief the materially indistinguishable Duffield deci-

sion as well as Ms. Ingle’s other challenges to enforce-

ment of the “Associate Issue Resolution Program”

(“AIRP”). The ultimate appellate decision will be in Ms.

Ingle’s favor, as Duffield was a Ninth Circuit case. Cer-

tiorari review will prejudice Ms. Ingle by delaying resolu-

tion of her case on the merits without any likelihood that

the ultimate ruling would be to compel arbitration.?

B. THIS ISSUE IS NOT RIPE FOR SUPREME

COURT SCRUTINY

1. PETITIONER HAS OVERSTATED THE

CONFLICT IN THE CIRCUITS SINCE AT

LEAST THREE HAVE NOT YET STATED

DECISIVE POSITIONS

Circuit City represents that “this broad reading of the

FAA Section One exclusion by the Ninth Circuit directly

conflicts with every other federal appellate court.” (Peti-

tion, page 10.) This assertion, however, masks conflicts

within three circuits.

In United Food and Commercial Workers Local 7R v.

Safeway Stores, Inc., 889 F.2d 940, 943-944 (10th Cir. 1989),

the Tenth Circuit held that an employee could not con-

firm and enforce an arbitration award pursuant to the

FAA because the arbitration agreement was part of a

contract of employment. The court recognized that “(t]he

Arbitration Act expressly excludes from its coverage

‘contracts of employment of... any . . . workers engaged

in foreign or interstate commerce.’ 9 U.S.C. § 1 (ellipse in

3 Circuit City would in fact have three separate appellate

occasions to delay justice: the disposition of the issue presented

here; a petition to review a subsequent Ninth Circuit decision

that arbitration may not be compelled; and finally the decision

on the merits of her harassment and discrimination claims.

original).” Nothing indicates that the employee, Cortez,

was engaged in the actual movement of products in com-

merce. The UFCW holding was not addressed in

McWilliams v. Logicon, Inc., 143 F.3d 573 (10th Cir. 1998), a

case cited by Petitioner. That opinion reads the FAA

employment contract exclusion more narrowly.

The Fourth Circuit in Domino Sugar v. Sugar Workers

Local 392, 10 F.3d 1064, 1067-1068 (4th Cir. 1993) noted a

line of its cases that had excluded collective bargaining

agreements, as “contracts of employment,” from the FAA

by force of Section One. Nonetheless, this precedent was

ignored in O'Neil v. Hilton Head Hosp., 115 F.3d 272 (4th

Cir. 1997), and by Petitioner.

The Third Circuit in Pritzker v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce,

Fenner & Smith, Inc., 7 F.3d 1110, 1119-1120 (3d Cir. 1993)

stated that “ ‘contracts of employment’ are explicitly

exempted from the FAA.” A panel of the Third Circuit

disavowed this view when it decided Great Western Mort-

gage Corporation v. Peacock, 110 F.3d 222, 226-227 (3rd Cir.

1997) and it was not mentioned by Petitioner.

2. RECENT SCHOLARLY EXCAVATIONS

INTO CONGRESSIONAL RECORDS (DIS-

CUSSED BY THE COURTS OF APPEAL IN

CRAFT AND KOVELESKIE) PROVIDE

NEW INSIGHT INTO CONGRESS’S

INTENT AND UNDERSTANDING WHEN

IT ENACTED THE RELEVANT STATU-

TORY PROVISIONS; THE ISSUE SHOULD

PERCOLATE IN THE LOWER COURTS.

This Court would be better prepared to consider the

issues presented in the Petition if it would allow these

circuits to clarify their respective constructions of Sec-

tions One and Two of the FAA. More specifically, as Mr.

Adams reasoned in his Brief in Opposition, the recent

scholarly research into the history of the FAA has only

been considered by two courts, the Ninth in Craft and the

Seventh in Koveleskie v. SBC Capital Markets, Inc., 167 F.3d

361 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 129 S.Ct. 44 (1999). Other courts

should be permitted to evaluate the FAA in light of recent

scholarship clarifying Congressional understanding and

intent.

This Court prefers to exercise certiorari review only

after an issue has been permitted to “percolate” through

the lower courts. By allowing this issue to percolate, the

remaining circuits (including those without settled posi-

tions) could then consider the new scholarship discussed

in Mr. Adams’ brief. The perceived conflicts may be

resolved through this process. In any event, further con-

sideration would distill and clarify the issue and focus

this Court’s review.

3. THERE IS NO FACTUAL AND DOCU-

MENTARY RECORD

The texts of the Petition and this Response highlight

the logistical complications review would entail. The

Petition’s footnote 1 concedes the absence of any appel-

late record. Its citation to Rules of the United States

Supreme Court (“Rule”) 16.2 solves nothing. That rule

merely directs this Court to request the record from “the

court” having possession of it. Here, there are two courts

but no record, only documents in files. The absence of an

appellate record is a symptom of the malady: unripeness.

_C. THE COURT OF APPEAL’S RULING DOES

NOT INVOLVE INTOLERABLE ERROR

1. COURTS OF APPEAL SHOULD CON-

STRUE FEDERAL JURISDICTION NAR-

ROWLY.

Circuit City’s petition requests this Court to focus on

the purported deprivation businesses will suffer if they

cannot use 9 U.S.C. § 16 to appeal orders denying

motions to compel their employees to arbitration. How-

ever, the issue is federal jurisdiction - whether original

(as in Adams and Ahmed) or appellate (Ingle).

Federal courts are of limited jurisdiction which can-

not be expanded by judicial decree. Kokkonen v. Guardian

Life Ins. Co. of America, 511 U.S. 375, 377 (1994). In fact, a

matter is presumed to be outside a federal court's jurisdic-

tion; the burden to establish federal jurisdiction falls

upon the party asserting it. Id. For similar reasons, stat-

utes purporting to besti.w federal jurisdiction must be

narrowly construed. See Healy v. Ralta, 292 U.S. 263, 270

(1934).

The Court of Appeal in Craft and its progeny, includ-

ing this case, rules prudently and according to this

Court’s direction when it limits the statutory extension of

federal jurisdiction. Its rulings to construe jurisdiction

under the FAA narrowly, therefore, do not constitute

intolerable error.

10

2. THE COURT OF APPEAL’S DISMISSAL IN

THIS CASE IS NOT NECESSARILY

BASED ON A “BROAD READING OF THE

FAA SECTION ONE EXCLUSION”

Circuit City focuses its petition on the Court of

Appeal’s construction of 9 U.S.C. § 1, the “exclusionary”

provision of the FAA. However, it overlooks the clearly

stated basis for Craft's holding:

“Based on the wording of § 2, the pre-New Deal

understanding of the Commerce Clause, the leg-

islative history of the FAA, and the suggestions

gleaned from [Textile Workers Union v. Lincoln

Mills, 353 U.S. 448 (1957); Gilmer v. Interstate/

Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20 (1991); and Allied-

Bruce Terminix Cos. v. Dobson, 513 U.S. 265

(1995)], we hold that the FAA does not apply to

labor or employment contracts. . . . Accordingly,

we have no jurisdiction over Campbell Soup’s

interlocutory appeal and this appeal is hereby

DISMISSED.” Craft, supra, 177 F.3d at 1094,

emphasis added.

Craft is constructed specifically from the “coverage” pro-

vision of the Act, Section Two. The provision enforces

written arbitration provisions “in any maritime transac-

tion or a contract evidencing a transaction involving com-

merce. ...” As Respondent discusses below, Circuit City

chose to omit reference to this statute from its petition.

11

3. NO PUBLIC POLICY FAVORS MANDA-

TORY ARBITRATION WHEN IMPOSED

AS A CONDITION OF EMPLOYMENT

BECAUSE SUCH AGREEMENTS ARE

UNCONSCIONABLE AND UNENFORCE-

ABLE

Petitioner relies heavily on the “strong liberal policy

favoring arbitration.” Congress certainly declared such a

policy when it enacted the FAA. However, that policy

extends only to the ground covered by the statute. The

liberal policy arising from the FAA cannot be used as a

bootstrap to drag uncovered transactions or contracts

into the statute’s coverage zone. See Perry v. Thomas, 482

U.S. 483, 489-490 (1987) [“Section 2, therefore, embodies a

clear federal policy of requiring arbitration unless the

agreement to arbitrate is not part of a contract evidencing

interstate commerce or is revocable ‘upon such grounds

as exist at law or in equity for the revocation of any

contract.’ 9 U.S.C. § 2.”].

a. THE DRA IS UNCONSCIONABLE

Circuit City’s arbitration agreement, known as the

Dispute Resolution Agreement [“DRA”] is unenforce-

able.* Respondent in her District Court memorandum of

points and authorities in opposition to Circuit City’s

motion to compel arbitration identified numerous legal,

factual and policy arguments why arbitration should not

be compelled.

4 Mr. Adams addresses the coverage issue in his Brief in

Opposition, No. 99-1379.

12

Unconscionability is a common ground to revoke a

contract or prove it invalid. The DRA contains so many

limits on its employees’ statutory rights that it is substan-

tively unconscionable.> The manner by which the DRA

was imposed on Ms. Ingle was procedurally unconscion-

able. The uncontroverted facts are that she wasn’t

allowed to read it and the document she saw at hiring in

1996 was different from the 1998 version Circuit City asks

the federal courts to impose on her. A number of the

deficiencies Ms. Ingle identified, particularly the require-

ment to “buy justice” have been held sufficient to invali-

date arbitration agreements.

b. PUBLIC AND PRIVATE AGENCIES

HAVE DENOUNCED COMPULSORY

ARBITRATION OF EMPLOYMENT

DISPUTES

Another indication that public policy disfavors man-

datory arbitration as a condition of employment is that

the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

(“EEOC”) concluded, in EEOC Policy Notice No. 915:002,

that “[t]he use of unilaterally imposed agreements man-

dating binding arbitration of employment discrimination

5 Respondent identified the following unfair provisions in

her District Court opposition brief: (1) unfair cost to the

employee/claimant; (2) improper time limits on back pay; (3)

improper deductions from back pay; (4) improper time limits on

front pay; (5) cap on punitive damage awards; (6) improper

attorney’s fee provision; (7) shortened statutes of limitation; (8)

limits on discovery; (9) unfair provision to designate arbitrator;

(10) limit on employee’s access to court without limiting the

company; and, of course, (11) no jury trial.

13

disputes as a condition of employment harms both the

individual civil rights claimant and the public interest in

eradicating discrimination.” (Emphasis added.)

Respondent noted in her Brief that AAA and J.A.M.S.

refused to arbitrate the Ingle/Circuit City dispute under

terms of the DRA because as AAA’s attorney wrote,

Circuit City’s DRA did not “substantially and materially

conform their employment plan to the standards of the

Due Process Protocol and the [AAA’s] National Rules for

the Resolution of Employment Disputes.”

D. ADDITIONAL STATUTES INVOLVED; MIS-

STATEMENTS OF LAW AND FACT

Rule of the United States Supreme Court (“Rule”)

15.1 instructs parties opposing certiorari to “address any

perceived misstatements of fact or law set forth in the

petition which have a bearing on the question of what

issues would properly be before the court if certiorari

were granted.” Circuit City has misstated facts and law

that could impact the nature of questions before the

Court.

1. CIRCUIT CITY OMITTED ANY REFER-

ENCE TO THE STATUTE CRAFT RELIED

ON, 9 U.S.C. § 2

Circuit City has correctly identified four statutes

implicated by the issues before the Court. However, it

failed to identify 9 U.S.C. § 2, the “coverage provision” of

the Federal Arbitration Act (“FAA”), 9 U.S.C. §§ 1-16

(1994). It is the wording of this provision that the per

14

curiam opinion in Craft v. Campbell Soup Company, 177

F.3d at 1091-1094 relied upon specifically in its holding

that “the FAA does not apply to labor or employment

contracts.” (Id. at p. 1094.)

Section Two reads:

“A written provision in any maritime transac-

tion or a contract evidencing a transaction

involving commerce to settle by arbitration a

controversy thereafter arising out of such con-

tract or transaction, or the refusal to perform the

whole or any part thereof, or any agreement in

writing to submit to arbitration an existing con-

troversy arising out of such a contract, transac-

tion, or refusal, shall be valid, irrevocable, and

enforceable, save upon such grounds as exist at

law or in equity for the revocation of any con-

tract.”

No analysis of the FAA - what it covers and what it

doesn’t - can ignore Section Two.

2. PETITIONER STATES LEGAL AND FAC-

TUAL ISSUES ARISING FROM QUES-

TION 2 INACCURATELY

a. THERE IS NO CONFLICT BETWEEN

ADAMS AND AHMED

Circuit City’s petition in its footnote 3 (page 6) sug-

gests that the holding in Circuit City Stores, Inc. v. Adams,

194 F.3d 1070 (9th Cir. 1999) (per curiam) “appears to be

directly at odds with the Ninth Circuit’s ruling in Circuit

City Stores, Inc. v. Ahmed, 195 F.3d 1131 (9th Cir. 1999) (per

15

curiam).” It further suggests the Ninth Circuit was con-

fused in its understanding of Circuit City’s AIRP, speci-

fically, whether it was compulsory or voluntary. A full

explication of the facts demonstrates that the Ninth Cir-

cuit accurately perceived the legally significant distinc-

tions between the circumstances in Adams and Ahmed.

Circuit City relates at page 7 that its AIRP was imple-

mented in March 1995, that Mr. Ahmed was employed at

that time, and that in April 1995 he received material

giving him the choice to “opt-out” of the AIRP. He did

not do so. (Ahmed, 195 F.3d at 1132.) The Court ruled that

Mr. Ahmed’s receipt of the materials and his decision not

to opt-out constituted an agreement affecting “terms and

conditions of employment,” creating a contract of

employment. (Id.)

Mr. Adams was hired in October 1995, some months

after the AIRP was initiated. The six-page application he

signed included a provision purporting to divert all

claims and disputes to binding arbitration. (Adams, 194

F.3d at 1071.) Unlike Mr. Ahmed and other individuals

employed when AIRP began, Mr. Adams was required to

accept the program as a condition of being employed in

the first place. The Ninth Circuit thus analyzed a differ-

ent fact situation in Adams, finding that Circuit City’s

arbitration agreement itself set forth terms and conditions

of employment, and thus was an employment contract.

(Id.)

As Ms. Ingle argued in her motion to dismiss the

appeal, Adams, not Ahmed, governed her case because she

16

was hired in September 1996. (Circuit City Petition, page

7.)§

b. MR. GILMER WAS NOT GOVERNED

BY A CONTRACT OF EMPLOYMENT

BETWEEN EMPLOYER AND

EMPLOYEE

Circuit City argues that this Court in Gilmer v. Inter-

state/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20, 25 n.2 (1991), held in

effect that an arbitration agreement between employer

and employee, standing alone, was not a contract of

employment in the meaning of 9 U.S.C. § 1. Petitioner

misstates the Court’s reasoning. Justice White’s footnote

reads, in pertinent part:

“The FAA requires that the arbitration clause

being enforced be in writing. See 9 U.S.C. §§ 2,

3. The record before us does not show, and the

parties do not contend, that Gilmer’s employ-

ment agreement with Interstate contained a

written arbitration clause. Rather, the arbitration

clause at issue is in Gilmer’s securities registration

application, which is a contract with the securities

‘exchange, not with Interstate. The lower courts

addressing the issue uniformly have concluded

that the exclusionary clause in § 1 of the FAA is

inapplicable to arbitration clauses contained in

such registration applications. .. . ” (Emphasis

added.)

Petitioner’s contertion that the agreement in this

case is indistinguishable from the U-4 agreement in

6 Should the Court grant certiorari, it need not reach this

issue to decide Question 1.

17

Gilmer is the opposite of Circuit City’s argument below.

Circuit City contended in its District Court papers and at

oral argument that its agreement was materially different

from the U-4. It submitted below that Ingle’s job at Cir-

cuit City was so different from a securities’ broker's that

the Ninth Circuit’s holding concerning the U-4 arbitration

provision in Duffield v. Robertson, Stephens & Co., supra

(see Appendix B to Circuit City’s Petition), did not apply.

(See Appendix 1, p. 8.)

At page 15, the petition misstates the holding in

Michalski v. Circuit City Stores, Inc., 177 F.3d 634 (7th Cir.

1999) by stating the Seventh Circuit did not find “the

agreement to arbitrate to be ‘an employment contract.’ ”

To the contrary, Michalski did not address at all whether

the agreement in question was a “contract[ ] of employ-

ment” within the meaning of 9 U.S.C. § 1.

VI. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for writ of

certiorari should be denied. If the petition is granted,

though, review should be limited to the First Question

Presented.

Respectfully submitted,

MicHaet H. Crossy

Counsel of Record

D.F. Garrettson House

2366 Front Street

San Diego, California 92101

(619) 696-7330

ie

App. 1 5 i

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

CATHERINE INGLE,

)

PLAINTIFF ) 99CV1297-S

)

ta ) SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA

CIRCUIT CITY, ) AUGUST 30, 1999

) 10:30 A.M.

DEFENDANT.

3 2 9 2 a a a 2 2 a a a a aa

TRANSCRIPT OF MOTIONS HEARING

BEFORE THE HONORABLE EDWARD J. SCHWARTZ

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

APPEARANCES:

FOR THE

PLAINTIFF: MICHAEL CROSBY, ESQ. —

| THE GARRETTSON HOUSE

2366 FRONT STREET

SAN DIEGO, CA 92101

FOR THE

DEFENDANT: DAVIS GRIMM & PAYNE

BY: REX DARRELL BERRY, ESQ.

1111 THIRD AVE., STE. 1865

SEATTLE, WA 98101

PAUL PLEVIN & SULLIVAN

BY: RICHARD PAUL, ESQ.

101 WEST BROADWAY, STE. 1330

SAN DIEGO, CA 92101

COURT

REPORTER: ISRAEL VAN BRAMER

(619) 696-0080 —

App. 2

[2] P-R-O-C-E-E-D-I-N-G-S

DEPUTY CLERK: ITEM NUMBER ONE ON

CALENDAR, CIVIL CASE 99-1297, CATHERINE INGLE

VERSUS CIRCUIT CITY ON FOR HEARING DEFEN-

DANT’S MOTION TO COMPEL ARBITRATION.

MR. BERRY: GOOD MORNING, YOUR

HONOR.

I AM REX BERRY OF THE LAW FIRM OF DAVIS,

GRIMM & PAYNE ON BEHALF Of DEFENDANT AND

MOVING PARTY CIRCUIT CITY STORES, INC.

MR. CROSBY: MICHAEL CROSBY APPEAR-

ING ON BEHALF OF CATHERINE INGLE, THE PLAIN-

TIFF.

THE COURT: ALL, RIGHT. MR. BERRY.

MR. BERRY: MAY IT PLEASE THE COURT,

THE PURPOSE OF THIS MOTION THIS MORNING IS

TO COMPEL ARBITRATION OF A DISPUTE BETWEEN

THE PARTIES BASED ON A WRITTEN AGREEMENT OF

THE PARTIES TO ARBITRATE PRECISELY THESE

TYPES OF DISPUTES.

MISS INGLE HAS FILED A LAWSUIT AGAINST

CIRCUIT CIFY CONTRARY TO THE TERMS OF THAT

AGREEMENT. THIS MOTION IS PRESENTED TO YOU

PURSUANT TO THE FEDERAL ARBITRATION ACT TO

COMPEL ARBITRATION OF A D‘SPUTE.

THE F.A.A. MAKES VALID, ENFORCEABLE AND

IRREVOCABLE PRIVATE AGREEMENTS TO SUBMIT

DISPUTES TO ARBITRATION. IT REQUIRES THIS

COURT TO ENFORCE THAT AGREEMENT IN THE

= =

App. 3

SAME MANNER THAT THIS COURT MIGHT ENFORCE

ANY OTHER SORT OF AGREEMENT.

THE FACTS LEADING TO THE OBLIGATION TO

ARBITRATE [3] ARE LARGELY UNDISPUTED BY THE

PARTIES, AT LEAST, THE FACTS THAT WE BELIEVE

REQUIRE ARBITRATION.

IN SEPTEMBER, 1996, MISS INGLE SIGNED THE

CIRCUIT CITY DISPUTE RESOLUTION AGREEMENT

AS PART OF THE JOB APPLICATION PROCESS. THE

AGREEMENT THAT SHE SIGNED STATES THAT THE

PARTIES AGREE TO SETTLE VIA FINAL AND BINDING

ARBITRATION ANY AND ALL EMPLOYMENT-

RELATED LEGAL DISPUTES.

AT THAT TIME, MISS INGLE ALSO EXECUTED

WITH THE DISPUTE RESOLUTION AGREEMENT AN

ACKNOWLEDGMENT THAT SHE WAS RECEIVING

AND THAT SHE WOULD REVIEW THE DISPUTE RESO-

LUTION RULES AND PROCEDURES, THAT IS, THE

RULES THE PARTIES AGREED TO USE FOR PURPOSES

OF THE ARBITRATION.

THE DISPUTE RESOLUTION AGREEMENT STATED

THAT SHE HAD RECEIVED AND WOULD READ THE

DISPUTE RESOLUTION RULES AND PROCEDURES,

OR THAT SHE MUST ASK FOR A COPY OF THEM

PRIOR TO SIGNING THE AGREEMENT IF SHE WASN’T

GIVEN ONE.

AT THAT POINT, MISS INGLE HAD A CHOICE.

SHE HAD A CHOICE WHETHER TO VOLUNTARILY

AGREE TO BINDING ARBITRATION OR ELSE SHE

HAD A THREE-DAY PERIOD AFTER SUBMISSION OF

App. 4

HER APPLICATION WITHIN WHICH SHE COULD

WITHDRAW HER CONSENT TO ARBITRATION, WITH-

DRAW THE APPLICATION, AND PURSUE EMPLOY-

MENT WITH SOME OTHER ELECTRONICS RETAILER.

THE DISPUTE RESOLUTION AGREEMENT

REQUIRES ARBITRATION OF THIS PARTICULAR DIS-

PUTE BASED ON LEGAL CLAIMS BROUGHT BY MISS

INGLE. SHE IS SUING FOR SEXUAL HARASSMENT [4]

ARISING OUT OF HER EMPLOYMENT, EMPLOYMENT

DISCRIMINATION BASED ON GENDER AND HAND-

ICAP, RETALIATION AND FAILURE TO ACCOMMO-

DATE A PHYSICAL DISABILITY.

NOW, CIRCUIT CITY, OF COURSE, DENIES EACH

ONE OF THESE CLAIMS. BUT THE MERITS OF THOSE

CLAIMS ARE TO BE ADDRESSED AND DETERMINED

BY AN UNBIASED ARBITRATOR CHOSEN BY THE

PARTIES WITH EQUAL SELECTION RIGHTS.

AS OF THE PRESENT COUNT, YOUR HONOR, 16

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURTS AND TWO STATE

COURTS HAVE ENFORCED THE DISPUTE RESOLU-

TION AGREEMENT AND EITHER STAYED OR DIS-

MISSED LITIGATION BROUGHT CONTRARY TO THE

DISPUTE RESOLUTION AGREEMENT; AND THAT

INCLUDES ALL SEVEN CALIFORNIA FEDERAL

COURTS THAT HAVE ADDRESSED THE ISSUE.

IN FACT, EVERY CALIFORNIA FEDERAL COURT

THAT HAS ADDRESSED THE ISSUE HAS ENFORCED

THE DISPUTE RESOLUTION AGREEMENT; ONE TIME

OUT OF THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA,

FOUR TIMES OUT OF THE CENTRAL DISTRICT OF

App. 5

CALIFORNIA AND TWICE OUT OF THE EASTERN DIS-

TRICT OF CALIFORNIA.

NOW, ON FRIDAY AFTERNOON, I BROUGHT TO

THE COURT’S ATTENTION A NEW DECISION THAT

| WE HAVE JUST RECEIVED FROM THE SOUTHERN

DISTRICT OF OHIO, ANOTHER FEDERAL COURT,

ENFORCING THE DISPUTE RESOLUTION AGREE-

MENT AND ADDRESSING VERY - IN A VERY SIMILAR

FASHION MANY OF THE CLAIMS NOW RAISED BY

MISS INGLE.

[5] THIS CASE PRESENTS THE FIRST OPPOR-

TUNITY FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFOR-

NIA TO JOIN THOSE REMAINING CALIFORNIA

DISTRICTS.

IN OPPOSITION, MISS INGLE HAS RAISED A

NUMBER OF ARGUMENTS. THE FIRST SHE RAISED IS

THE CLAIM THAT SHE NEVER SAW THE DISPUTE

RESOLUTION AGREEMENT, DIDN’T READ THE DIS-

PUTE RULES AND PROCEDURES, WHEN, IN FACT,

YOUR HONOR, THE RECORD SHOWS THAT MISS

INGLES SIGNED THE DISPUTE RESOLUTION AGREE-

MENT. IT HAS HER SIGNATURE ON IT.

AND THAT AGREEMENT SAYS, I HAVE RECEIVED

THE DISPUTE RESOLUTION RULES AND PRO-

CEDURES AND I AGREE TO READ THEM, AND IF I

DON’T HAVE THEM, I AGREE TO ASK FOR A COPY OF

THEM BEFORE I SIGN THIS DOCUMENT.

EVEN IF MISS INGLE DID NOT READ THE AGREE-

MENT, THAT FAILURE WILL NOT EXCUSE HER

OBLIGATION TO ARBITRATE. AND THAT’S SET

Beer rey or ean Oe ne

App. 6

FORTH IN THE COHEN VERSUS WEBB BUSH NOBLE &

COOK CASE OUT OF THE NINTH CIRCUIT, WE CITED,

AS WELL AS JUDGE JONES’ RECENT OPINION IN THE

GOLENIA VERSUS BOB BAKER TOYOTA CASE.

MISS INGLE NEXT ARGUES THAT J.A.M.S AND

A.A.A. WILL NOT ENFORCE THE DISPUTE RESOLU-

TION AGREEMENT. AS A PRELIMINARY MATTER, WE

DON’T THINK THERE’S ANY EVIDENTIARY BASIS

FOR THAT OTHER THAN THE HEARSAY STATEMENT

OF COUNSEL, BUT THE FACT IS, THE ASSERTION IS

SIMPLY WRONG.

A.A.A. HAS, IN FACT, PROVIDED ARBITRATORS

FOR 13 [6] SEPARATE ARBITRATIONS UNDER THE

DISPUTE RESOLUTION RULES AND PROCEDURES;

AND THAT’S SET FORTH IN THE DECLARATION OF

MISS PARSONS THAT WE’VE SUBMITTED TO YOU.

J.A.M.S., TO OUR KNOWLEDGE, HAS NEVER

BEEN ASKED TO SUBMIT ARBITRATORS FOR DISPUTE

RESOLUTION.

THE ARGUMENT IN LARGE PART IS IRRELEVANT

IN ANY EVENT, YOUR HONOR, BECAUSE THE DIS-

PUTE RESOLUTION AGREEMENT ALLOWS THE PAR-

TIES TO CHOOSE THEIR OWN ARBITRATOR. IT

DOESN’T HAVE TO BE AN A.A.A. ARBITRATOR. IT

DOESN’T HAVE TO BE A J.A.M.S ARBITRATOR.

THERE IS A DEFAULT VENDOR BY THE NAME OF

RESOLUTE SYSTEMS THAT’S WELL KNOWN

THROUGHOUT THE COUNTRY. BUT EVEN IF THE

App. 7

PARTIES DON’T WANT A RESOLUTE SYSTEMS ARBI-

TRATOR, THEY CAN AGREE TO AN ARBITRATOR

AMONG THEMSELVES.

MISS INGLE NEXT CONTENDS THAT THE FED-

ERAL ARBITRATION ACT DOES NOT APPLY TO

EMPLOYMENT CONTRACTS; AND FOR THAT, SHE

CITES THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION IN KRAFT

VERSUS CAMPBELL’S SOUP.

AS WE'VE STATED, KRAFT DOESN’T HAVE ANY

APPLICATION TO THIS CASE BECAUSE THE ARBI-

TRATION AGREEMENT IS NOT PART OF AN EMPLOY-

MENT CONTRACT. IT IS A SEPARATE, STAND-ALONE

AGREEMENT EXECUTED AT THE TIME OF HIRE.

IT APPLIES NOT ONLY TO EMPLOYEES. IT

APPLIES TO APPLICANTS. IT APPLIES TO FORMER

EMPLOYEES. SO IT IS NOT PART AND PARCEL OF AN

EMPLOYMENT CONTRACT.

[7] THIS DISTINCTION WAS RECOGNIZED VERY

RECENTLY BY DISTRICT JUDGE STOTLER IN THE

CENTRAL DISTRICT IN THE NODGE DECISION THAT

WE SUBMITTED TO YOU.

MISS INGLE NEXT ARGUES THAT THE NINTH

CIRCUIT’S DECISION IN DUFFIELD WOULD PREVENT

ARBITRATION OF THIS DISPUTE, OR AT LEAST, THE

TITLE SEVEN ASPECTS OF THIS DISPUTE.

SINCE DUFFIELD WAS ISSUED IN MAY OF 1998,

THREE CALIFORNIA DISTRICT COURTS HAVE CON-

TINUED TO UPHOLD THE DISPUTE RESOLUTION

AGREEMENT.

EON Tee er net

App. 8

DUFFIELD’S ONLY APPLICATION CONCEIVABLY

COULD BE TO CLAIMS BROUGHT PURSUANT TO

TITLE SEVEN OF THE CIVIL RIGHTS ACT OF 1964

BECAUSE CALIFORNIA COURTS HAVE STATED THAT

AS FAR AS THE CALIFORNIA ANTI-DISCRIMINATION

STATUTES GO, DUFFIELD HAS NO APPLICATION.

OUR POSITION IS THAT THIS LAWSUIT DOES

NOT GO TO ANY VALID TITLE SEVEN CLAIMS, THAT

THE PLAINTIFF HAS SIMPLY ATTEMPTED TO PLEAD

AROUND, IF YOU WILL, THE RECENT DECISION OF

DISTRICT JUDGE JONES WHICH DISMISSED THOSE

SAME TITLE SEVEN CLAIMS AS BEING PRO-

CEDURALLY FLAWED.

EVEN IF THOSE TITLE SEVEN CLAIMS WERE

VALID, HOWEVER, DUFFIELD STILL WOULD NOT

APPLY IN THIS CASE. THE NINTH CIRCUIT WAS

CLEAR THAT ITS CONCERN IN DUFFIELD WAS OVER

ARBITRATION AGREEMENTS THAT WERE, TO USE

THE COURT’S TERM, “COMPULSORY IN EVERY

SENSE OF THE WORD.”

[8] IN DUFFIELD, THE CONCERN WAS THAT THE

U-4 FORM THAT ALL BROKERS HAVE TO SIGN PRIOR

TO BEING A BROKER IN THE UNITED STATES CON-

TAINS THE ARBITRATION CLAUSE. IF A PROSPEC-

TIVE BROKER DID NOT FILL OUT THAT U-4 FORM

REGISTRATION, THEY COULD NOT BE A BROKER

ANYWHERE IN THE COUNTRY FOR ANY EMPLOYER.

IT WAS TRULY COMPULSORY IN EVERY SENSE OF

THE WORD.

BY CONTRAST, HERE, THE ARBITRATION AGREE-

MENT AT ISSUE IS NOT COMPULSORY IN EVERY

App. 9

SENSE OF THE WORD. MISS INGLE, AS I SAID, HAD A

CHOICE. SHE COULD DECIDE, I DON’T WANT TO BE

PART OF THAT ARBITRATION PROGRAM. THERE-

FORE, I'M GOING TO GO DOWN THE STREET AND

WORK FOR THE GOOD GUYS. I’M GOING TO WORK

FOR SEARS. I'M GOING TO WORK FOR ANOTHER

EMPLOYER THAT DOES NOT REQUIRE THAT.

MISS INGLE THEN CHALLENGES THE ARBITRA-

TION AGREEMENT AS HAVING INADEQUATE SUB-

STANTIVE RIGHTS AND REMEDIES. SHE SAYS THAT

IN ORDER FOR THE DISPUTE RESOLUTION AGREE-

MENT TO BE ENFORCEABLE, THE AGREEMENT

MUST EXACTLY MIRROR THE PROCEDURES OF LITI-

GATION AND HAVE EXACTLY THE SAME REMEDIES.

NO STATE OR FEDERAL CASE SO HOLDS, YOUR

HONOR. IN FACT, THE SUPREME COURT HAS REC-

OGNIZED THAT THERE ARE DIFFERENCES INHER-

ENT BETWEEN ARBITRATION AND LITIGATION IN

TERMS OF THE FORMALITY, THE SPEED AND THE

BINDING - FINAL AND BINDING EFFECT OF THE

PROCESS.

[9] THOSE DIFFERENCES WERE RECOGNIZED

WITH APPROVAL BY THE UNITED STATES SUPREME

COURT IN THE GILMER DECISION AND ALSO IN

WRIGHT.

THE RELEVANT QUESTION, YOUR HONOR, IS

WHETHER A PARTY EFFECTIVELY MAY VINDICATE

HIS OR HER STATUTORY RIGHTS UNDER THE ARBI-

TRATION AGREEMENT. AS LONG AS THOSE ARBI-

TRATION PROCEDURES ARE BASICALLY FAIR AND

App. 10

REASONABLE, THE PARTIES CAN AGREE TO ANY-

THING THEY CHOOSE.

HERE, WE THINK THE DISPUTE RESOLUTION

AGREEMENT MORE THAN MEETS THAT TASK, AND

WE THINK THAT 17 COURTS HAVE AGREED WITH

US.

THE DISPUTE RESOLUTION AGREEMENT WORKS

IN FAVOR OF THE ASSOCIATE IN A NUMBER OF

WAYS. CIRCUIT CITY ADVANCES ALL THE COSTS OF

ARBITRATION SUBJECT TO REALLOCATION BY THE

ARBITRATOR.

AN ASSOCIATE CAN LIMIT HIS OR HER EXPO-

SURE FOR ARBITRATION COSTS TO ONLY THREE

PERCENT OF THEIR MOST RECENT YEARLY INCOME.

THAT IS, IF THE ASSOCIATE MADE $20,000 LAST

YEAR, THEY CAN LIMIT THEIR TOTAL EXPOSURE

FOR FEES RELATED TO ARBITRATION TO $600.

THE ASSOCIATE, IF THEY PREVAIL, THEIR FILING

FEE IS RETURNED TO THEM. THAT DOESN'T HAPPEN

IN COURT.

IF THE ASSOCIATE PREVAILS, EVEN ON A COM-

MON LAW CLAIM, A CLAIM OF SLANDER OR A

CLAIM OF BREACH OF CONTRACT, THEY’RE ENTI-

TLED TO RECOVER THEIR ATTORNEY’S FEES. THAT

IS [10)] SOMETHING NOT AVAILABLE TO THEM IN

COURT AS WELL.

A MUCH LOWER THRESHOLD EXISTS FOR ASSO-

CIATES TO RECOVER THEIR ATTORNEY’S FEES THAN

IS ALLOTTED TO THE EMPLOYER.

[Mimnemeammmnnannensensninse sarees ta: ARR ENABLER IRIE NRATNGC CSCS SES iS EN

a =i a ina ale a oleae gps oe nares

App. 11

THE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS IS EXTENDED

FOR THE ASSOCIATE ON CERTAIN CLAIMS SUCH AS

TITLE SEVEN CLAIMS. IT MATCHES THE AVAILABLE

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS UNDER MANY OF THE

DISCRIMINATION STATUTES IN CALIFORNIA. IT

ALSO MATCHES THE DISCRIMINATION STATUTE OF

LIMITATIONS AVAILABLE UNDER SECTION 1981 IN

CALIFORNIA.

ARBITRATION ALSO REMOVES THE ADMINIS-

TRATIVE HURDLES THAT THE PLALNTIFF HAS TO GO

THROUGH FOR PURPOSES OF BRINGING A TITLE

SEVEN CLAIM. AS THE COURT WELL KNOWS, PRIOR

TO BRINGING A TITLE SEVEN CLAIM, THE PLAIN-

TIFF HAS TO FILE A CHARGE OF DISCRIMINATION

WITH THE E.E.0.C., HAS TO OBTAIN A RIGHT-TO-SUE

LETTER, THEN MAY GO TO COURT.

NONE OF THAT IS REQUIRED UNDER ARBITRA-

TION. AND IN THIS PARTICULAR CASE, IT’S RELE-

VANT BECAUSE IT WAS THE FAILURE TO TIMELY

FILE A CHARGE OF DISCRIMINATION AND RECEIVE

THE RIGHT-TO-SUE LETTER THAT JUDGE JONES

RELIED ON IN DISMISSING MISS INGLE’S TITLE

SEVEN CLAIMS PREVIOUSLY.

NONE OF THOSE HURDLES WOULD BE PRESENT

IN ARBITRATION. MISS INGLES COULD COME RIGHT

INTO ARBITRATION AND ARBITRATE THAT TITLE

SEVEN CLAIM.

THE ASSOCIATE HAS THE ABILITY TO RECOVER

THE FULL [11] ARRAY OF RELIEFS, INJUNCTIVE

RELIEF, BACK-PAY, FRONT-PAY, COMPENSATORY

App. 12

DAMAGES WITHOUT LIMIT, PUNITIVE DAMAGES

WITH SOME LIMITS, AND ATTORNEY’S FEES.

BOTH DISTRICT JUDGE LEGGE OUT OF THE

NORTHERN DISTRICT AND DISTRICT JUDGE LEVI

OUT OF THE EASTERN FOUND THE DAMAGE PROVI-

SION OF THE DISPUTE RESOLUTION AGREEMENT TO

BE ADEQUATE AND ENFORCEABLE.

ANY REMAINING ISSUES OF UNFAIRNESS OF

THE PROCEDURES OR REMEDIES WE SUBMIT

WOULD BE PROPERLY SUBMITTED TO THE ARBITRA-

TOR, AND NOT TO THIS COURT.

THE PARTIES ARE MUTUALLY BOUND TO ARBI-

TRATE THE ASSOCIATE’S CLAIMS AND HAVE AGREE

TO BE BOUND BY THAT DECISION.

IN ESSENCE, MISS INGLE ADMITS SHE SIGNED

THE DISPUTE RESOLUTION AGREEMENT. SHE

DOESN'T DISPUTE THAT THIS IS AN EMPLOYMENT-

RELATED LEGAL DISPUTE. THERE IS NO LEGAL NOR

FACTUAL BASIS WHICH EXISTS PRECLUDING

ENFORCEMENT OF THE PARTY’S AGREEMENT.

AND THUS, THIS COURT SHOULD DISMISS OR

STAY THE LAWSUIT BEFORE IT AND COMPEL THE

PARTIES TO ARBITRATE THIS DISPUTE.

THANK YOU, YOUR HONOR.

THE COURT: THANK YOU.

ALL RIGHT. MR. CROSBY.

MR. CROSBY: THANK YOU, YOUR HONOR.

App. 13

[12] I'M GOING TO TRY TO FOCUS ON THE ISSUES

NOT DISCUSSED THOROUGHLY IN THE BRIEFS OR

BOUGHT UP IN REPLY OR HERE TODAY.

BUT FIRST, I'D LIKE TO FOCUS THE COURT ON

WHAT REALLY IS AT ISSUE HERE, AND THAT IS

WHAT CONGRESS INTENDED WITH RESPECT TO THE

COMPULSORY ARBITRATION OF TITLE SEVEN AND

STATE STATUTORY DISCRIMINATION ACTIONS.

AND IT SAID WHAT IT THOUGHT THROUGH A

COMMITTEE TO THE HOUSE LABOR & EDUCATION

COMMITTEE. AND THAT STATED, AND IT’S QUOTE -

IT’S QUOTED IN DUFFIELD AT PAGE 1196: “AMERI-

CAN WORKERS SHOULD NOT BE FORCED TO

CHOOSE BETWEEN THEIR JOBS AND THEIR CIVIL

RIGHTS.” AND THAT’S THE KEY ISSUE HERE TODAY.

WHAT THE CONGRESS INTENDS, THAT WAS THE

FOCUS OF THE DUFFIELD CASE. AND IT CLEARLY

CONCLUDED - AND THE NINTH C:RCUIT IS CLEAR

ON THIS - THAT AN EMPLOYEE CANNOT BE COM-

PELLED AT THE OUTSET AS A CONDITION OF

EMPLOYMENT TO ARBITRATE DISPUTES THAT MAY

ARISE IN THE FUTURE, DISPUTES RELATING TO

TITLE SEVEN OR D.F.E.H. CLAIMS.

IN THAT RESPECT, YOUR HONOR, THE DEFENSE

HAS ARGUED THAT D.F.E.H. CLAIMS, F.E.H.A.

CLAIMS ARE NOT SUBJECT TO ARBITRATION, AT

LEAST, NOT COMPELLED BY THE DUFFIELD CASE.

THAT IS NOT WHAT DUFFIELD SAYS.

App. 14

IT SAYS JUST THE OPPOSITE. IT SAYS THAT THE

NINTH CIRCUIT HAS SAID, BOTH IN THE PRUDEN-

TIAL VERSUS LAI CASE AND [13] IN DUFFIELD THAT

CONGRESS HAS MADE - HAS STATED IN TITLE

SEVEN THAT STATE DISCRIMINATION STATUTES

SUCH AS F.E.H.A. ARE INCORPORATED AS PART OF

THE MECHANISM ANTICIPATED BY CONGRESS

BACK IN 1964 FOR THE RESOLUTION OF DISPUTES

ARISING FROM CIVIL RIGHTS, FROM EMPLOYMENT

DISCRIMINATION; AND IN TWO PLACES IN THE

DUFFIELD CASE, INCLUDING AT THE VERY END OF

THE CASE, ON PAGE 1203, THAT D.F.E.H. CLAIMS AS

WELL AS TITLE SEVEN CLAIMS ARE NOT SUBJECT TO

COMPULSORY ARBITRATION.

I’D LIKE TO FOCUS ON SOME UNDISPUTED

FACTS HERE, FACTS THAT HAVE NOT BEEN CON-

TRAVENED BY CIRCUIT CITY: ONE, THAT CAT-

HERINE INGLE WAS PREVENTED FROM READING

THE AGREEMENT.

THAT WAS STATED IN HER DECLARATION. IT’S

WHAT SHE'LL SAY IN HER DEPOSITION. AND THAT

MEANS THAT THERE WAS NOT A KNOWING WAIVER

UNDER THE STAINNDARDS OF THE NINTH CIRCUIT

SET FORTH IN CASES LIKE PRUDENTIAL VERSUS LAI.

SECOND, AND THIS IS EXTREMELY IMPORTANT

AND I WILL ADMIT, I DID NOT ADDRESS IT

DIRECTLY IN THE BRIEF. INGLE NEVER RECEIVED

NOTICE THAT THERE WAS A CHANGE OF THE

RULES. SHE SIGNED THEIR EXHIBIT A. BUT SHE

NEVER SAW OR SIGNED OR COULD HAVE SEEN OR

App. 15

SIGNED EXHIBIT B BECAUSE IT WAS NOT IN EXIS-

TENCE WHEN SHE WAS HIRED AND WHEN SHE

SIGNED THIS.

EXHIBIT B, AS I SAID, THEY’RE SLIPPING THIS IN

HERE AS IF IT’S PART OF THE CASE. IT IS NOT.

EXHIBIT A THAT SHE SIGNED, THE APPLICATION,

SAID THAT WE MAY CHANGE OUR RULES IN [14]

THE FUTURE UPON 30 DAYS NOTICE.

THERE IS NO EVIDENCE, YOUR HONOR, IN THE

RECORD THAT THEY EVER GAVE 30 DAYS NOTICE TO

ANYONE, MUCH LESS MISS INGLE, OR ANYONE IN

THE STORE IN WHICH SHE WORKED.

SO THEIR ENTIRE MOTION TO COMPEL FALLS

ON THAT EVEN IF THE COURT WERE GOING TO

CONSIDER IT ON OTHER GROUNDS, BECAUSE THE

RULES DO NOT GO INTO EFFECT ACCORDING TO

THEIR OWN CONTENT.

THIRD, THIS WAS RAISED IN A NUMBER OF THE

CASES, AND I DON’T THINK THAT THE COURT IS

GOING TO RECOGNIZE CIRCUIT CITY’S REPRESEN-

TATION OF 17 ORDERS OR EVEN THE ORDERS THAT

ARE BEFORE THE COURT. I THINK THOSE ARE OUT

OF CONTEXT AND I’VE STATED WHY I DON’T THINK

THEY SHOULD BE CONSIDERED.

AND I'VE ALSO POINTED OUT AND I THINK IT’S

OBVIOUS, WE DON’T KNOW HOW MANY COURTS

HAVE NOT ENFORCED CIRCUIT CITY’S AGREEMENT.

THEY HAD AN OPPORTUNITY TO TELL US IN THE

App. 16

DECLARATION OF PARSONS, IN THE SUPPLEMEN-

TAL DECLARATION OF PARSONS, OR SOME DECLA-

RATION OF MR. BERRY OR SOME DECLARATION OF

IN-HOUSE COUNSEL, MR. HOSEY OR SOMEONE

ELSE. WE HAW™N’T SEEN THAT.

WE KNOW THAT THE DERRICKSON CASE RULED

AGAINST IT. THERE’S A CASE HERE IN THIS COURT

IN THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT THAT HAS RULED

AGAINST IT AND THEY HAVE CALLED - IT’S ALSO

AGAINST CIRCUIT CITY, JEANNIE KOONS VERSUS

CIRCUIT CITY. I'M NOT SURE OF ITS CURRENT STA-

TUS BUT I KNOW THAT THE INITIAL [15] TWO RUL-

INGS WERE NOT TO ENFORCE.

BUT THE POINT IS THIS: THE COURT CANNOT

RELY ON SORT OF A PIG-IN-THE-POKE KIND OF

ARGUMENT LIKE TriAT.

IN THOSE CASES THOUGH, MANY OF THEM

RELIED UPON THE OPPORTUNITY OF THE

EMPLOYEE TO OPT OUT OF THE PROGRAM. MISS

INGLE DID NOT EVER HAVE THAT OPPORTUNITY.

A COUPLE OF OTHER THINGS, THE A.A.A. ISSUE

THAT WAS RAISED, I THINK THAT THE MOST REA-

SONABLE CONCLUSION, YOUR HONOR, BASED

UPON A.A.A.’S POSITION IN THIS CASE IS THAT THE

CASES THAT IT’S ARBITRATED WERE BEFORE A.A.A.

ISSUED ITS RULES SO THEY WOULD ONLY ADMINIS-

TER UNDER THE DUE PROCESS PROTOCOL THAT’S

BEEN PROVIDED WITH THE PAPERS.

I REALLY - I KNOW THAT THE ONE HERE

LOOKED AT CIRCUIT CITY’S RULES AND SAID, NO,

App. 17

IT’S INSUFFICIENT. THEY ARE INSUFFICIENT DUE

PROCESS GUIDELINES.

ONE CASE THAT’S FAIRLY IMPORTANT, A NINTH

CIRCUIT CASE, AGAIN, THAT HASN’T BEEN DEALT

WITH, THE GRAHAM OIL. THAT STATES, FOR EXAM-

PLE, TRUNCATING THE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS -

WHICH I UNDERSTAND THEY CLAIM IT DOES NOT

DO, BUT THEY’RE INCORRECT.

IT STATES THAT THAT’S ENOUGH TO END THE

INQUIRY. THERE ARE JUST ANY NUMBER OF DEFI-

CIENCIES OUTLINED IN THE BRIEF THAT I BELIEVE

IN AND OF THEMSELVES ARE ENOUGH FOR THE

CASE NOT TO BE ARBITRATED, TO FORCE ARBITRA-

TION.

THE CLEAREST ONES ARE THE COST. THE FACT

IS, MISS [16] INGLE DOES NOT HAVE TO PAY TO

COME HERE. SHE DOES HAVE TO PAY IF SHE FOL-

LOWS CIRCUIT CITY’S RULES, IF SHE ARBITRATES

UNDER CIRCUIT CITY’S RULES. AND THAT’S A REAL,

REAL IMPORTANT DISTINCTION.

THE CASES PALADINO, COLE, SHANKEL, I

THINK ARE LOOKING AT IT THE RIGHT WAY. THIS IS

CHECK - THEY’RE TALKING CHECKBOOK JUSTICE.

THEY CLAIM THEIR PEOPLE HAVE TO BE WILLING

TO PAY MAYBE A LITTLE, MAYBE A LOT, BUT HAVE

TO BE WILLING TO PAY WAY BEYOND A FILING FEE

TO GET JUSTICE. AND I DON’T KNOW HOW TO DEAL

WITH THAT OTHER THAN SAYING, THAT’S NOT THE

AMERICAN WAY.

App. 18

1 THINK THAT IT’S IMPORTANT EVERY COUPLE

OF MINUTES IN THIS CASE TO GO BACK TO THE BIG

PICTURE; THAT IS TWO THINGS. THEY’RE MAKING A

PERSON, A FORMER CHILIES WAITRESS WHO GETS A

GOOD JOB AS A SALESPERSON AT CIRCUIT CITY -

THEY’RE MAKING HER PAY FOR JUSTICE. IF SHE

CAN’T PAY, NO JUSTICE.

SECOND, THEY WANT THE RIGHT TO WITH-

DRAW FROM THE AMERICAN SYSTEM OF JUSTICE:

JUST PULL OURSELVES OUT. THEY DON’T WANT TO

WORK FOR US, OKAY. BUT IF SOMEBODY ’S GOING TO

WORK FOR US, THEY’RE GOING TO WORK UNDER

SOME OTHER SYSTEM OF JUSTICE.

I THINK THAT THE IMPACT OF THAT IS INESTIM-

ABLE. AND THAT’S WHY I’M RATHER - I REMAIN

SURPRISED THE COURT’S HAVE TAKEN A DIFFER-

ENT POSITION, BUT I THINK THAT IN THE [17]

NINTH CIRCUIT, WE CANNOT TAKE THAT POSITION.

THE NINTH CIRCUIT HAS NOT TAKEN THAT POSI-

TION.

SOME ISSUES RAISED BY MR. BERRY IN HIS ABLE

PRESENTATION, I THINK THAT KRAFT, A NINTH CIR-

CUIT EN BANC DECISION - EXCUSE ME - PER CUR-

IAM DECISION, THEY DECLINED TO SEND IT EN

BANC - RELATES TO EMPLOYMENT CONTRACTS.

OBVIOUSLY, THIS IS PART OF AN EMPLOYMENT

CONTRACT.

THE LITTLE GLITCH OR CATCH HERE IS THAT IT

MAY BE ONE THAT’S TERMINABLE AT THE WILL OF

THE PARTIES. BUT A TERMINABLE, AT-WILL CON-

TRACT IS A CONTRACT.

App. 19

AND KRAFT STATES THAT THE FEDERAL ARBI-

TRATION ACT DOES NOT APPLY TO EMPLOYMENT

CONTRACTS, FLAT-OUT DOESN’T APPLY. THEY SAID

THEY’RE COMING HERE UNDER F.A.A., AND UNDER

THE NINTH CIRCUIT RULING IN KRAFT, THEY’RE

OUT.

I THINK I HAVE DEALT WITH THE ISSUE OF THE

SUBSTANTIVE RULES AND WON’T GO INTO THEM

AGAIN.

WITH RESPECT TO DUFFIELD, THERE IS ABSO-

LUTELY NOTHING IN DUFFIELD THAT INDICATES

THAT IT ONLY APPLIES TO THE U-4 AGREEMENT.

DUFFIELD’S HOLDING ON THE FACTS ARE THAT U-4

IS NOT ENFORCEABLE BECAUSE IT REQUIRES THE

ARBITRATION OF TITLE SEVEN AND D.F.E.H.

CLAIMS. THAT’S THE REASON THAT IT’S UNENFOR-

CEABLE, NOT BECAUSE IT GOES TO LICENSURE,

ALTHOUGH CERTAINLY, THAT IS DISCUSSED.

THE COURT: WHAT ABOUT THE CONTEN-

TION THAT DUFFIELD IS RESTRICTED TO A SITUA-

TION, WHEREAS IN THAT CASE, IT [18] APPLIES

UNIVERSALLY TO ALL PROSPECTIVE EMPLOYEES?

MR. CROSBY: I THINK THAT - I THINK THAT

IF YOU WERE TO TAKE THE POSITION THAT THAT’S

ALL THAT DUFFIELD APPLIES TO, I THINK YOU

HAVE TO STEP BACK FOR A SECOND AND LOOK.

THE FOCUS OF THE DUFFIELD IS NOT THE U-4.

THE FOCUS OF DUFFIELD IS THE LEGISLATIVE HIS-

TORY OF THE 1991 CIVIL RIGHTS ACT AMEND-

MENTS. AND THE 1991 CIVIL RIGHTS ACT

App. 20

AMENDMENTS, PARTICULARLY, SECTION 118, THEY

DON’T SAY THAT THEY APPLY ONLY TO THE SECU-

RITIES INDUSTRY OR ONLY TO INDUSTRIES WHICH

REQUIRE LICENSURE OR ONLY INDUSTRIES WHERE

YOU CAN’T GO TO SOME OTHER CASE.

SO THE FOCUS ON THE PARTICULAR FACTS OF

DUFFIELD IS MISPLACED. THE PROPER FOCUS IS ON:

WHAT DID CONGRESS INTEND? AND CONGRESS

INTENDED THAT NO EMPLOYEE SHOULD HAVE TO

WAIVE THEIR CIVIL RIGHTS TO GET A JOB. THEY

STATED THAT.

THE COURT: THANK YOU.

MR. CROSBY: THANK YOU.

THE COURT: ANYTHING FURTHER, BRIEFLY,

MR. BERRY?

MR. BERRY: ONLY IF THERE SPECIFIC QUES-

TIONS THAT THE COURT HAS.

THE ONLY OBSERVATION THAT I WOULD MAKE,

YOUR HONOR, SIMPLY COMES FROM THE LAN-

GUAGE OF THE AGREEMENT THAT WAS SIGNED BY

MISS INGLE.

IT SAYS, “INCLUDED WITH THIS APPLICATION IS

THE [19] CIRCUIT CITY DISPUTE RESOLUTION RULES

AND PROCEDURES. YOU SHOULD FAMILIARIZE

YOURSELF WITH THESE RULES AND PROCEDURES

PRIOR TO SIGNING THIS AGREEMENT.

“IF THE RULES AND PROCEDURES ARE NOT

INCLUDED IN THIS BOOKLET, YOU MUST REQUEST

App. 21

A COPY FROM A CIRCUIT CITY REPRESENTATIVE

PRIOR TO SIGNING THE AGREEMENT.

“YOU WILL NOTE THAT IF YOU SIGN AT THIS

TIME, YOU DO HAVE THREE DAYS TO WITHDRAW

YOUR CONSENT. YOU MAY, OF COURSE, TAKE THE

PACKAGE WITH YOU AND RETURN IT SIGNED IF

YOU WISH TO CONTINUE THE PROCESS.”

AND THEN DIRECTLY ABOVE HER SIGNATURE,

“I HAVE READ THIS AGREEMENT AND I UNDER-

STAND THAT I SHOULD READ THE DISPUTE RESO-

LUTION RULES AND PROCEDURES OVER THE NEXT

FEW DAYS.”

MISS INGLE, AS I SAID, HAD A CHOICE. SHE

AGREED TO ARBITRATE. AND WE’RE ASKING THE

COURT TO ENFORCE THAT AGREEMENT OF THE

PARTIES.

THANK YOU.

THE COURT: THANK YOU.

WELL, IN THIS CASE, THE DEFENDANT, CIRCUIT

CITY, HAS FILED A MOTION TO COMPEL ARBITRA-

TION OF THE PLAINTIFF’S CLAIMS UNDER THE FED-

ERAL ARBITRATION AGREEMENT.

OF COURSE, THIS IS A SUBJECT THAT’S BEEN

THE FOCUS OF A GOOD MANY COURT DECISIONS IN

VARIOUS JURISDICTIONS. WE HAVE HAD DISTRICT

COURTS RULE ON IT.

[20] BUT I THINK IN THE NINTH CIRCUIT, WE

NOW HAVE THE CASE OF DUFFIELD VERSUS

ROBERTSON STEVENS & COMPANY, WHICH IS 144

App. 22

FED 3D 1182, IN WHICH THE COURT HELD THAT AN

EMPLOYER MAY NOT CONDITION EMPLOYMENT ON

A WAIVER OF JUDICIAL REMEDIES UNDER TITLE

SEVEN.

IN THIS CASE, WHEN ONE EXAMINES THE

EMPLOYMENT APPLICATION, ONE FINDS IN PARA-

GRAPH TWO THEREOF THE FOLLOWING LAN-

GUAGE: “THIS AGREEMENT REQUIRES YOU TO

ARBITRATE. CERTAIN LEGAL DISPUTES RELATED TO

YOUR APPLICATION FOR EMPLOYMENT OR

EMPLOYMENT WITH CIRCUIT CITY.”

NOW, I THINK IF IT HAD STOPPED THERE,

THERE WOULD BE NO PROBLEM IN THIS CASE. BUT

PARAGRAPH TWO OF THE EMPLOYMENT APPLICA-

TION GOES ON, “CIRCUIT CITY WILL NOT CONSIDER

YOUR APPLICATION UNLESS THIS AGREEMENT IS

SIGNED.”

NOW, THAT PLACES A PROSPECTIVE EMPLOYEE

IN A RATHER DIFFICULT SITUATION. IF HE WANTS A

JOB, IT MAY BE A JOB THAT’S PARTICULARLY FAVOR-

ABLE TO HIS SITUATION AND HIS QUALIFICATIONS,

HE’S GOT TO, AS A COMPULSORY MATTER, AGREE

TO WAIVE HIS RIGHT TO ORDINARY LITIGATION

AND TO GO BEFORE AN ARBITRATOR WITH CER-

TAIN PROBLEMS THAT EXIST IN AN ARBITRATION

SITUATION AS DISTINGUISHED FROM A PROCEED-

ING IN A FEDERAL COURT.

DUFFIELD DID INVOLVE A COMPULSORY ARBI-

TRATION AGREEMENT WHICH CONDITIONED

EMPLOYMENT ON THE WAIVER OF THE RIGHT TO

a

App. 23

LITIGATE FUTUR! EMPLOYMENT-RELATED DIS-

PUTES.

[21] IN THIS CASE, THE DEFENDANT IS RELYING

ON THE DISPUTE RESOLUTION AGREEMENT THAT

THE PLAINTIFF SIGNED AS PART OF HER APPLICA-

TION FOR EMPLOYMENT WHICH STATES THAT ANY

FUTURE CLAIMS MUST BE ARBITRATED.

THE EMPLOYMENT APPLICATION, AS I HAVE

INDICATED, EXPLICITLY STATED, PLAINTIFF WOULD

NOT BE CONSIDERED FOR THE JOB UNLESS SHE

SIGNED THE D.R.A.

I THINK THIS IS A COMPULSORY ARBITRATION

AGREEMENT WITHIN THE DEFINITION OF DUF-

FIELD.

IF ONE EXAMINES THE DUFFIELD DECISION AT

PAGE 1199, THE FOLLOWING LANGUAGE APPEARS:

“IN VIEW OF THE FACT THAT THE CONTEXT, LAN-

GUAGE AND LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF THE 1991

ACT, TOGETHER, MAKE OUT A CONCLUSIVE CASE

THAT CONGRESS INTENDED TO PRECLUDE COM-

PULSORY ARBITRATION OF TITLE SEVEN CLAIMS,

WE THINK IT INESCAPABLE THAT FORM U-4 IS

UNENFORCEABLE AS APPLIED TO SUCH CLAIMS.

“FORM U-4 COMPELS PRECISELY WHAT CON-

GRESS INTENDED TO PROHIBIT IN THE 1981 ACT,

MANDATORY REQUIREMENTS UNDER WHICH PRO-

SPECTIVE EMPLOYEES AGREE, AS A CONDITION OF

EMPLOYMENT, TO SURRENDER THEIR RIGHTS TO

LITIGATE FUTURE TITLE SEVEN CLAIMS IN A JUDI-

CIAL FORUM AND ACCEPT ARBITRATION INSTEAD.”

App. 24

I THINK THAT IS THE VICE OF THE SITUATION

THAT WE HAVE BEFORE US, THAT THIS WAS NOT

SOMETHING THAT A PROSPECTIVE EMPLOYEE

COULD EITHER AGREE TO OR WALK AWAY [22]

FROM.

UNDER THE CIRCUMSTANCES, I THINK IT

PLACED UPON A PROSPECTIVE EMPLOYEE, WHO

PROBABLY SORELY WANTS THE JOB, A DECISION TO

EITHER AGREE WILLY-NILLY, RELUCTANTLY, OR TO

SIMPLY LAY DOWN AND ACCEPT A COMPULSORY

ARBITRATION PROVISION.

ACCORDINGLY, THE MOTION BY THE DEFEN-

DANT IS DENIED.

MR. CROSBY, WILL YOU PREPARE AN APPROPRI-

ATE ORDER AND SUBMIT IT TO OPPOSING COUNSEL

FOR APPROVAL AS TO FORM?

MR. CROSBY: I WILL, YOUR HONOR. THANK

YOU.

MR. BERRY: THANK YOU, YOUR HONOR.

WOULD THE COURT BE WILLING TO HEAR JUST

ONE MORE POINT?

THE COURT: WELL, ONE MORE POINT.

HOW LONG A POINT IS IT?

MR. BERRY: IT WILL BE BRIEF.

THE COURT: ALL RIGHT.

MR. BERRY: I WOULD LIKE THE COURT TO

CONSIDER THE APPLICATION OF DUFFIELD ONLY

TO THE TITLE SEVEN CLAIM AS OPPOSED TO THE

App. 25

REMAINING CLAIMS IN THE LAWSUIT. I THINK THE

CALIFORNIA COURTS HAVE BEEN VERY CLEAR

THAT THEY DON’T AGREE THAT DUFFIELD HAS

ANY APPLICATION TO F.E.H.A. CLAIMS BROUGHT

UNDER CALIFORNIA LAW.

THE COURT: WELL, I DON’T THINK THAT IS

A NECESSARY [23] RESULT OF DUFFIELD, AND I

DON’T THINK THE POSITIONS OF THE CALIFORNIA

COURTS ARE BINDING ON THIS COURT.

THANK YOU.

MR. BERRY: THANK YOU, YOUR HONOR.

MR. CROSBY: THANK YOU, YOUR HONOR.

THE COURT: INCIDENTLY, COUNSEL, HAVE

THERE BEEN SETTLEMENT NEGOTIATIONS IN THIS

MATTER? ton

MR. BERRY: THERE HAVE NOT, YOUR

HONOR.

THE COURT: LET’S SEE, WHO IS THE MAGIS-

TRATE JUDGE?

MR. CROSBY: JUDGE STIVEN.

THE COURT: JUDGE STIVEN. I THINK IT

MIGHT NOT BE AMISS FOR YOU, SINCE YOU’RE

BOTH HERE, TO STOP DOWN AT JUDGE STIVEN’S

CHAMBERS AND SEE IF YOU CAN’T ARRANGE A

SETTLEMENT NEGOTIATION WITH HIM.

—_

MR. BERRY: THANK YOU, YOUR HONOR.

MR. CROSBY: THANK YOU.

App. 26

aa * a

(HEARING RECESSED AT 11:05 A.M.)

REPORTER’S CERTIFICATE

I, ISRAEL VAN BRAMER, CERTIFY THAT THE

FOREGOING IS THE OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPT OF THE

PROCEEDINGS IN THE ABOVE-ENTITLED MATTER;

AND THAT IT IS COMPLETE AND ACCURATE, TO

THE REST OF MY KNOWLEDGE AND ABILITY.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.