Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Sabelko v. City of Phoenix

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ee | ee ee

' 981415 mR 41996

No. 95- __peeiee OF THE CLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

KATHERINE SABELKO and NANCY BARTO,

Petitioners,

Vv.

THE Ciry OF PHOENIX, SKIP RIMSZA, in his official

capacity as Mayor of the City of Phoenix, and THELDA

WILLIAMS, FRANCES EMMA BARWOOD, CRAIG TRIBKEN,

JOHN NELSON, KATHY DuBS, SALOMON PF. LEUA, and

CALVIN C. GOODE, in their official capacity as members of

the City of Phoenix City Council,

Respondents.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Keith A. Fournier Jay Alan Sekulow

THE AMERICAN CENTER FOR (Counsel of Record)

LAW AND JUSTICE Walter M. Weber

1000 Regent University Dr. THE AMERICAN CENTER FOR

Virginia Beach, VA 23464 LAW AND JUSTICE

(804) 579-2489 1000 Thomas Jefferson St.,

N.W., Suite 304

Benjamin W. Bull Washington, DC 20007

THE AMERICAN CENTER FOR (202) 337-2273

LAW AND JUSTICE

11811 N. Tatum Blvd, #P184

Phoenix, AZ 85028

(602) 953-6100

Attorneys for Petitioners

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The City of Phoenix enacted an ordinance requiring any

person engaging in "demonstration activity" within 100 feet of a

“health care facility" to withdraw, upon request, to a distance at

least eight feet away from the person making such a request. The

District Court declared this "Bubble" Ordinance unconstitutional,

but a divided panel of the Ninth Circuit reversed.

1. Does a “Bubble” Ordinance imposing an "audience

veto" on peaceful expression in a public forum

violate the First Amendment?

2 Did the Ninth Circuit err by holding that the

“captive audience” doctrine applies to people using

public sidewalks?

3. Is a "Bubble" Ordinance unconstitutiona) under this

Court’s decision in Madsen v. Women’s Health

Center, Inc., 512 U.S. __, 114 S.Ct. 2516

(1994), which struck down an_ injunction

forbidding "approaching" persons without their

consent, id. at 2529?

4. Does the Phoenix "Bubble" Ordinance violate the

right to free speech under the First Amendment?

ii

PARTIES

The caption of the case contains the names of all parties.

There are no parent companies or nonwholly owned subsidiaries.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

av ewen

a eee

TV. Pomding Related Cases... 1.2 eee ccees

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ...........

I. THE DECISION OF THE NINTH

CIRCUIT DIRECTLY CONFLICTS

WITH THIS COURT’S DECISION IN

MADSEN v. WOMEN’S HEALTH

re ey ent ee ee ee

iv

Il. THE DECISION BELOW CREATES AN

UNPRECEDENTED EXPANSION OF

THE "CAPTIVE AUDIENCE"

EXCEPTION TO FREE SPEECH BY

APPLYING THAT EXCEPTION TO AN

AUDIENCE USING A_ PUBLIC

POI, 6 boc eee ce Rib eee wet 16

Il. THE DECISION OF THE NINTH

CIRCUIT DIRECTLY CONFLICTS

WITH A DECISION OF THE EIGHTH

| Pee ee eS. Ee eer ee 18

IV. THE DECISION OF THE NINTH

CIRCUIT CONFLICTS WITH A

DECISION OF THE NORTH DAKOTA

SUPE COARSE. 5 5 URGE Sie 19

V. IF ALLOWED TO STAND, THE

DECISION BELOW PRESENTS THE

PROSPECT OF OTHER SELECTIVE

"BUBBLE" ORDINANCES. .......... 20

COURS cnt ascot camaur i eee eae 21

APPENDICES:

A. Opinion, Sabelko v. City of Phoenix

Gta Ce. Ont. 10; TOR SS Fw la

B. Order, Sabelko v. City of Phoenix

Os Che. Thee. G TORR a 6 ca Slee cece 20a

A her

—e

Vv

Memorandum of Decision and Order

Sabelko v. City of Phoenix

GA Ahy eee sk base ate ns

Judgment in a Civil Case

Sabelko v. City of Phoenix

(D. Ariz. Feb. 11, 1994) 0.0... cc cee eeee

City of Phoenix, Ordinance No. G3705 .......

Order, Edwards v. City of Santa Barbara

(C.D. Cal. March 14, 1995) ..............

Memorandum, Edwards v. City of Sania Barbara

Cas Cat, Fees a, SPO) sw hee Se eS

Motion for Leave of Court to File Brief of

Amici Curiae, Sabelko v. City of Phoenix

U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

a Sk See oa a ee

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Board of Airport Commissioners v. |

Jews for Jesus, Inc.

a Se, 1, eee rete Le as Fire 11

Boos v. Barry |

405 U.3. HOG eri eae 12, 14 |

Coates v. City of Cincinnati |

GB US. GEE ea sk cc esce cet eee 12

Cohen v. California .

13.US. 19 GSI. vc eta cee erces ei bras 17 ;

Connally v. General Const. Co.

209 U.S... SS CGR ois le. SEINE Ses ek 12

Edwards v. City of Santa Barbara

883 F.Supp. 1379 (C.D. Cal. 1995) ............. 9, 13

Edwards v. City of Santa Barbara |

No. 95-55595 (9th Cir. Nov. 22, 1995) ............ 9

Fargo Women’s Health Organization, Inc. v. .

Lambs of Christ |

488 N.W.2d 401 (N.D. 1992) ............... 10, 19 .

Forsyth County, Ga. v. Nationalist Movement |

905 UB. Ga CORR o's on 0 Vi ees aes 12

Frisby v. Schultz )

SSF U.S. Gre (R0Gee + ok ccncus Geeea ees 11, 16, 17

)

Vii

Grayned v. City of Rockford

ee NOTE Sa ctv ash tween od pene el 12

Hustler Magazine v. Falwell

RS RT Pere ee riers ek kee 20

Kovacs v. Cooper

Ss ae EE Xe 0b e se 0a 6 eee: 14, 16, 17

Lehman v. City of Shaker Heights

UE SRG ES kek Wicd ok nd v8 2 eo oe ae 16, 17

Madsen v. Women’s Health Center, Inc.

512 U.S. __, 114 S.Ct. 2516 (1994) .. 4, 10, 11, 13-17, 21

NAACP vy. Claiborne Hardware Co.

Se ee 5 no wee die i CN Obed eee ees 18

Organization for a Better Austin v. Keefe

RS gs Se geri eee ene 18

Pro-Choice Network of Western New York v.

Schenck

opm Roya 8} my. Bria ae aero eee 17

Riley v. National Fed’n of the Blind of

North Carolina, Inc.

GEE Se ME ig 655 65-0 Vo 6 oe VES wees 12

Sabelko v. City of Phoenix

68 F.3d 1169 (Sth Cir. 1995) ......... 1, 4, 8, 9, 14, 16

Sabelko v. City of Phoenix

846 F.Supp. 810 (D. Ariz. 1994) ........... 2,4, 7,8

Viii

Sabelko v. City of Phoenix

No. 94-15495 (9th Cir. Dec. 8, 1995) ............. 1

Schenck v. Pro-Choice Network of Western

New York, et al.

64 USLW 3486 (U.S. Sup. Ct. Dec. 27, 1995)

Ce Ee Siok ee kee Mole wee hee eweek bis 10

Texas v. Johnson

SR AI. Bt 6 a ESR ee aH 12, 14

United Food and Commercial Workers Int’l

Union v. IBP

857 F.2d 422 (8th Cir. 1988) ................ 10, 18

United States v. Eichman

EUS. Sete. 6a ek pe 6 hn oe eR wd 12, 14

United States v. Grace

GS CEM. S78 Cee. x 66a ae he ee KA o's 2S 11

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions

18 U.S.C. § 248, Freedom of Access to

Clinic Entrances Act of 1994 ..............-0006. 9

ee ls SR a. hile bg 6 EA I RR 2

Re Seas OE 6b od Rs CK OER eo 6

Phoenix City Code § 23-10.1 ................. 3, 4, 6

Ws CANE, FRR Bo eo 0-08 6 RRS CC eS BOG 2

U.S. Const., Amend. XIV, § AP Ce Ieee ee Fok, 4,3

Dee Hh ARM ct RE ID

Fo SNR

hd aig ED em

No. 95-

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

KATHERINE SABELKO and NANCY BARTO,

Petitioners,

Vv.

THE CiTy OF PHOENIX, SKIP RIMSZA, in his official

capacity as Mayor of the City of Phoenix, and THELDA

WILLIAMS, FRANCES EMMA BARWOOD, CRAIG TRIBKEN,

JOHN NELSON, KATHY DUBS, SALOMON F. LEIA, and

CALVIN C. GOODE, in their official capacity as members of

the City of Phoenix City Council,

Respondents.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

DECISIONS BELOW

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit is reported as Sabelko v. City of Phoenix, 68 F.3d

1169 (9th Cir. 1995}. App. la. The order denying the petition for

rehearing with suggestion for rehearing en banc is not reported.

Sabelko v. City of Phoenix, No. 94-15495 (9th Cir. Dec. 8, 1995).

App. 20a. The decision of the United States District Court for the

2

District of Arizona is reported as Sabelko v. City of Phoenix, 846

F.Supp. 810 (D. Ariz. 1994). App. 22a.

JURISDICTION

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit was entered on October 19, 1995. The Court of

Appeals entered its order denying the petition for rehearing and

rejecting the suggestion for rehearing en banc on December 8,

1995. This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND ORDINANCE

I. United States Constitution

The First Amendment to the United States Constitution

provides as follows:

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of

religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or

abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the

right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition

the Government for a redress of grievances.

U.S. Const., Amend. I.

The first section of the Fourteenth Amendment to the

United States Constitution provides as follows:

All persons born or naturalized in the United States, and

subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United

States and of the State wherein they reside. No State shall

make or enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges

or immunities of citizens of the United States; nor shall any

State deprive any person of life, liberty, or property,

ee ee eee tele et ee Oe TT 6 ee SR Oe ee ord

3

without due process of law; nor deny to any person within

its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

U.S. Const., Amend. XIV, § 1.

II. Ordinance

Sec. 23-10.1 IMPEDING ACCESS TO HEALTH CARE

FACILITIES.

A. It is unlawful for any person, in the course of

demonstration activity within the access area of a health care

facility, to fail to withdraw upon a clearly communicated request

to do so to a distance of at least eight (8) feet away from any

person who has made the request.

B. For purposes of this section:

3 "Access area" means any portion of a

public street or other public place or any place open to the

public within one hundred (100) feet of an exterior wall or

entryway of a health care facility.

2. "Demonstration activity” includes but is not

limited to protesting, picketing, distributing literature,

attempting to impede access, or engaging in oral protest,

education or counseling activities.

3. "Health care facility" means any hospital,

clinic, office, building or other place used to provide

medical, psychological, nursing or other health care

services, including family planning counseling and

pregnancy-related services.

4

C. For purposes of this section, distance shall be

measured from that part of the closest demonstrator’s body that is

nearest to the closest part of the requesting person’s body. The

term “body” includes any natural or artificial extension of a

person’s body including but not limited to an outstretched arm or

a hand-held sign. See App. 56a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In this case, a divided panel of the Ninth Circuit upheld the

constitutionality of a City of Phoenix “Bubble” Ordinance that

makes it a crime to do nothing more than engage in peaceful and

nonthreatening expression within eight feet of an audience or

bystander that does not wish to hear or see the message. Sabelko

v. City of Phoenix, 68 F.3d 1169 (9th Cir. 1995). This provision,

codified as an ordinance of general applicability, is substantially

similar to a provision held unconstitutional in Madsen v. Women’s

Health Center, Inc., 512 U.S. __, 114 §.Ct. 2516 (1994). The

District Court had held the "Bubble" Ordinance unconstitutional on

First Amendment grounds, Sabelko v. City of Phoenix, 846

F.Supp. 810 (D. Ariz. 1994), but the divided Ninth Circuit panel

reversed.

I. Petitioners

Petitioners engage in peaceful hand-to-hand leafletting and

one-on-one sidewalk counseling about abortion and abortion

alternatives. Petitioners have never been arrested or charged with

any criminal or civil violation or offense. They strongly oppose

violence, harassment, and lawlessness. They have no desire to

block or physically impede access to an abortion facility. In their

expressive activities, they have never intentionally touched or

harassed anyone or expressed themselves other than in a peaceful

and nonconfrontational manner. CR 4, 5.

tail eatin, te

ene eee eS

5

To be effective, Petitioners’ counseling must be conducted

in a quiet tone of voice on a one-on-one basis, with the

communication of empathy and supportive body language, and with

eye contact in close proximity to the person counseled. The eight

feet restriction requires Petitioners to raise their voices if they wish

to be heard over ambient street noise. Speaking in a loud voice

prevents empathy and sometimes even causes stress in the person

they are addressing. CR 4, 5, 36.

As a consequence of the enactment of the "Bubble"

Ordinance, the Petitioners curtailed their expressive activities

because of fear of prosecution under the Ordinance. CR 4, 5.

Phoenix abortion facilities employ “escorts” who attempt

to prevent the communication of anti-abortion literature and

information, by Petitioners and other pro-life activists, to persons

accessing the abortion facilities. The "escorts" place themselves

between anti-abortion leafletters and counselors and the persons to

whom they are attempting to communicate. CR 33.

Il. The "Bubble" Ordinance

In the fall of 1993, Planned Parenthood of Central and

Northern Arizona, Inc. ("Planned Parenthood") pressed ihe

Phoenix City Council for the enactment of the "Bubble" Ordinance.

Planned Parenthood complained that its abortion facilities are

"regularly the target of ‘right to life’ . . . demonstrators" that

"persist . . . in trying to badger . . . patients to listen to them or

to accept their graphic literature, even after the patient . . . stated

a desire to be left alone. ..." "In response" to Planned

Parenthood’s demands, “the Phoenix City Council passed the

Ordinance that is the subject of this litigation.” At the Phoenix

City Council Session held in connection with the enactment of the

Ordinance, the only issue raised by proponents of the Ordinance

was the allegedly offensive and emotionally unsettling anti-abortion

6

speech occurring on the public streets and sidewalks near abortion

facilities. CR 13.

On November 17, 1993, the City of Phoenix enacted the

"Bubble" Ordinance, codified as section 23-10.1 of the City Code.

The restriction applies to speech deemed “demonstration activity,"

which is undefined but includes all "protesting, picketing,

distributing literature” and all “education and counseling activities"

on any topic. The Ordinance requires any person engaging in

"demonstration activity" to withdraw to eight feet away from the

person who orders it, or to discontinue the expression. The

required separation of eight feet is measured from the end of any

“outstretched arm” or “artificial extension" held by either person.

The Ordinance operates on all public ways, including sidewalks,

within 100 feet of a defined “health care facility." “Health care

facility” is not limited to traditional medical facilities such as

hospitals or medical clinics. It includes nonmedical facilities, such

as any business, factory, or school, where one person (e.g., a nurse

or counselor) uses the "place" “te provide" “medical,

psychological, nursing, or other health care services, including

family planning counseling and pregnancy-related services." App.

57a-58a.

Ill. The Decisions Below

On November 23, 1993, five days after Phoenix enacted

the "Bubble" Ordinance, Petitioners filed this civil rights action

under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 alleging that the Ordinance was facially

unconstitutional. Petitioners requested a declaratory judgment, and

preliminary and permanent injunctive relief. Petitioners also

applied for a Temporary Restraining Order, which the District

Court granted. Pursuant to the stipulation of the parties, the TRO

remained in effect pending a determination of the Petitioners’

application for a preliminary injunction and declaratory relief. On

February 11, 1994, the District Court issued an order entitled

ze sia at

7

"Judgment in a Civil Case" and a "Memorandum of Decision and

Order" declaring the Ordinance unconstitutional and granting a

preliminary injunction. Sabelko v. City of Phoenix, 846 F.Supp.

810 (D. Ariz. 1994). App. 54a; App. 22a.

The District Court held the "Bubble" Ordinance

unconstitutional under the First Amendment on numerous grounds.

First, the Court held the Ordinance impermissibly content-

based. "“[T]he legislative history of the Ordinance demonstrates,

without qualification, that the Ordinance was enacted in direct

response to ‘anti-abortion’ speech outside medical clinics." App.

34a. Further, the Ordinance "targets ‘protest’ communications,”

while leaving nonprotest expression unrestricted. In addition, the

restrictions on speech turn on the basis of "[l]isteners reaction to

[the] speech.” App. 35a.

The District Court next held that the Ordinance was

unconstitutionally overbroad. While its “annunciated intent" was

to "prevent impeded access to health care facilities," the Ordinance

restricts "passive leafletting and handbilling," "the display of signs

. . . and even the mere voicing of statements which are of an

educational, counseling, or protesting nature." App. 38a.

Moreover, the Ordinance empowers individuals with unfettered and

standardiess authority, enforced by the City, to restrict expression.

App. 40a-41la.

The District Court then held the Ordinance

unconstitutionaily vague. The lawfulness of speech impermissibly

turns on the reactions of others. A speaker cannot know, with

constitutional certainty, what speech will be deemed

“demonstration” speech. App. 43a.

8

Last, the District Court held that by effectively banning

hand-to-hand leafletting, the Ordinance failed to provide alternative

channels of communication. App. 45a-46a.

On October 19, 1995, a panel of the Ninth Circuit, in a

divided decision (2-1), reversed the District Court and held that the

"Bubble" Ordinance passed constitutional muster. Sabelko v. City

of Phoenix, 68 F.3d 1169 (9th Cir. 1995). App. la. The majority

held that the Ordinance was content-neutral because, like the "36-

foot ‘buffer zone’" injunction in Madsen, the restriction "makes no

reference to the content of the speech it purports to regulate."

App. 6a. The Court ruled that the Ordinance is "‘narrowly tailored

to serve a significant governmental interest, and leaves open ample

alternative channels of communication’.". App. 7a. The Court

explicitly held that "persons approaching a health care facility

represent a ‘captive audience’" and that the “public area adjacent

to a health care facility" may not be "considered, for all purposes,

an open forum." App. 8a. The Court rejected the fear that clinic

“escorts or others . . . may create a [no speech] zone. . . larger

than the eight feet contemplated by the Ordinance." The Court

also reasoned that allowing "‘any person’,” such as a Clinic

"escort" or other third person, to silence a demonstrator serves to

preserve the privacy interests of the patient. App. 8a-9a. The

majority purported to distinguish the similar "consent" provision

struck down in Madsen, reasoning that, by contrast, the "Bubble"

Ordinance "permits any approach to any individual until the

individual requests a disengagement." App. 9a-10a.

In a strong dissenting opinion, Judge Beezer argued that the

Ordinance was unconstitutional "[bJecause . . . [i]t is not narrowly

drawn and overly burdens protected speech." App. 12a. He

reasoned that while the government has an interest in preserving

unimpeded patient access to medical clinics, the Ordinance places

a “‘substantial . . . burden on speech [that] does not serve to

we Sine all ——

9

advance its goals’." App. 16a. He argued that "[a]nybody in the

area of the facility," including nonpatients, “are free to effectively

silence any speech they find objectionable by invoking the

‘pubble’.” Thus, "peaceful communicator[s] . . . are chilled."

App. 16a. He also argued that the Ordinance can be used to

prevent ieafletting or handbilling on sidewalks by means of

"escorts" approaching leafletters and invoking the “bubble”

wherever the leafletter goes within "the 100-foot buffer zone."

Thus, "[s]trategic use of the ‘bubble’ could eviscerate" handbilling

and leaf “tting. App. 17a. He stressed that "[a] number of people

acting in concert can .. . effectively prevent all peaceful

communication [turning] [the] entire 100-foot buffer zone into a no

speech zone." App. 17a. He argued that, unlike the federal

Freedom of Access to Clinic Entrances Act of 1994 ("FACE"), 18

U.S.C. § 248, the “ordinance broadly sweeps at peaceful

communication that lies at the core of the First Amendment."

App. 17a-18a. Last, he pointed out that “Madsen’s

[unconstitutional] consent provision is functionally indistinguishable

from" the “Bubble” Ordinance. “In Madsen, all uninvited

approaches were barred; here, all unwanted approaches are barred.

The effect is the same; more speech than necessary is effectively

silenced." App. 18a-19a.

IV. Pending Related Cases

On March 14, 1995, in a related case, Edwards v. City of

Santa Barbara, 883 F.Supp. 1379 (C.D. Cal. 1995), the United

States District Court for the Central District of California held an

identical Santa Barbara "Bubble" Ordinance provision to be

unconstitutional for reasons similar to those expressed by Judge

Beezer. App. 82a-89a. On November 22, 1995, subsequent to the

Ninth Circuit’s decision in the case at bar, the Ninth Circuit

vacated the Edwards decision and remanded that case back to the

10

District Court in light of its Sabelko opinion. App. 97a. Edwards

is now in the District Court for further proceedings.

This Court has pending for determination a Petition for

Certiorari in Schenck v. Pro-Choice Network of Western New York,

et al., 64 USLW 3486 (Dec. 27, 1995) (No. 95-1065), involving

a similar "bubble" provision. In Schenck, a divided en banc

Second Circuit upheld a similar "bubble" provision contained in an

injunction.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The decision of the court below works a revolution in First

Amendment jurisprudence. First, the Ninth Circuit approved an

"audience veto” restriction on speech in a public forum, contrary

to many cases condemning the “heckler’s veto." Second, the Ninth

Circuit explicitly expanded the "captive audience" doctrine into the

public forum, jettisoning prior limitation on that narrow exception

to the First Amendment.

En route to its decision, the court below ran into a head-on

conflict with this Court’s decision in Madsen v. Women’s Health

Center, invalidating a substantially similar "audience consent"

provision. 114 S.Ct. at 2529. The Ninth Circuit’s decision also

conflicts directly with the Eighth Circuit’s decision in United Food

and Commercial Workers Int'l Union v. IBP, 857 F.2d 422 (8th

Cir. 1988), which held unconstitutional a statute that made it a

crime to persist in communicating with another person about

employment when the listener requested the speaker to desist. The

Ninth Circuit’s decision also directly conflicts with the decision of

the Supreme Court of North Dakota in Fargo Women’s Health

Organization, Inc. v. Lambs of Christ, 488 N.W.2d 401 (N.D.

1992), striking down an injunction provision containing a

11

restriction substantially identical to the Phoenix “Bubble"

Ordinance.

The Phoenix "Bubble" Ordinance restricts peaceful and

nonthreatening expression of all persons, including persons who

have never harassed anyone or engaged in any misconduct, in all

public fora near places used for any sort of medically related

counseling or nursing. Most significantly, unlike a site-specific

injunction that narrowly restricts only the conduct of particular

troublemakers, this restriction on speech is codified as a law of

general applicability, limiting the expressive rights of all persons.

This draconian ordinance is absolutely without precedent.

The decision below approves an ordinance which creates

100-foot zones within which abortion facilities can ban all

unwanted speech. Abortion clinic "escorts" need only “shadow"

leafletters, continuously invoking the “bubble."' Furthermore, the

Ordinance may be used to ban unwanted speech within 100 feet of

any business, factory, school, or other place where a single nurse

or counselor is brought in and "provides" some health related

service on the premises. This is in direct conflict with this Court’s

repeated admoniticns against total bans on expression in a public

forum. Madsen, 114 S.Ct. at 2527; Frisby v. Schultz, 487 U.S.

474, 486 (1988); Board of Airport Commissioners v. Jews for

Jesus, Inc. , 482 U.S. 569, 575 (1987); United States v. Grace, 461

U.S. 171, 181 (1983).

‘Indeed, at the hearing on the motion for preliminary

injunction, the City’s counsel agreed with Petitioners’ attorney that

under the Ordinance, clinic employees or volunteers could invoke

the “bubble” even if the patients they were escorting affirmatively

indicated that they wanted to talk to the sidewalk counselor or

receive pro-life literature. CR 29.

12

The "Bubble" Ordinance essentially creates an "audience

veto." The Ninth Circuit’s decision, therefore, directly conflicts

with numerous decisions of this Court holding that statutes

restricting speech on the basis of listener reaction or the

communicative impact of speech are unconstitutional content-based

restrictions. Forsyth County, Ga. v. Nationalist Movement, 505

U.S. 123, 134 (1992); United States v. Eichman, 496 U.S. 310,

317-18 (1990); Texas v. Johnson, 491 U.S. 397, 411-12 (1987);

Boos v. Barry, 485 U.S. 312, 321 (1988).

The decision below also conflicts with the vagueness

doctrine this Court has recognized under the First Amendment.

Where the lawfulness of speech turns on the reactions of others, the

restriction is unconstitutionally vague. Coates v. City of

Cincinnati, 402 U.S. 611, 614 (1971); also see Johnson, 491 U.S.

at 407-410. Also, because persons cannot know with any degree

of reasonable certainty what speech will be deemed "protest,"

"education," or "counseling," speakers, such as Petitioners, are

forced to censor their speech out of fear of prosecution. Grayned

v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104, 108-09 (1972); Riley v.

National Fed’n of the Blind of North Carolina, Inc., 487 U.S. 781,

801 (1988); Connally v. General Const. Co., 269 U.S. 385, 391

(1926).

The issues this case presents have profound national

significance well beyond the interests of the two Petitioners. While

claiming only to serve its interest in preserving unimpeded access

to health care facilities, Phoenix has restricted nonthreatening and

peaceful expression that does not impede or interfere with access.

Most significantly, dozens of other cities have already begun to

enact copycat "bubble" ordinances. For example, at least 35

California cities have "enacted or would like to enact ordinances

:

aw

en

—

: >

13

similar" to the Phoenix “Bubbie" Ordinance.* The Ninth Circuit’s

decision validating this unprecedented municipal restriction of free

speech rights has far-reaching and transcendent implications.

I, THE DECISION OF THE NINTH CIRCUIT

DIRECTLY CONFLICTS WITH THIS COURT’S

DECISION IN MADSEN v. WOMEN’S HEALTH

CENTER.

In Madsen v. Women’s Heaith Center, this Court struck

down a substantially similar “audience veto" or "consent"

provision. In Madsen, an injunction prohibited named

demonstrators from “approaching any person seeking the services

of the Clinic unless such person indicates a desire to

communicate." 114 S.Ct. at 2529. While recognizing that

protecting patients from being "stalked" or "shadowed" was a

legitimate goal, this Court had little difficulty invalidating the

provision, concluding that "[t]he ‘consent’ requirement alone

invalidates the provision; it burdens more speech than necessary to

prevent intimidation and to ensure access to the clinic." Jd. at

2529.

The Phoenix “Bubble" Ordinance is constitutionally

indistinguishable and suffers from the same deficiency. As Judge

Beezer stated below, in dissent:

*E.g., see Edwards v. City of Santa Barbara, 883 F.Supp.

1379 (C.D. Cal. 1995) (Santa Barbara’s “bubble” ordinance).

App. 60a-6la. Thirty-four different California cities appeared

jointly as amici curiae in the case at bar. They stated below:

"Amici are thirty-four cities throughout the State of California who

have enacted or would like to enact ordinances similar to the

ordinance adopted by the City of Phoenix, Arizona, at issue in this

case." App. 98a-99a.

4

Madsen’s consent provision is functionally indistinguishable

from the one at issue here. In Madsen, all uninvited

approaches were barred; here, all unwanted approaches are

barred. The effect is the same; more speech than

necessary is effectively silenced.

Sabelko, 68 F.3d at 1177 (Beezer, J., dissenting) (emphasis added)

(App. 19a). Like the Madsen "consent" provision, the Phoenix

"bubble" prohibits approaches, "regardless of how peaceful the

contact may be." Madsen, 114 S.Ct. at 2529. "Absent evidence

that the protestors’ speech is independently proscribable (i.e.,

‘fighting words’ or threats), or is so infused with violence as to be

indistinguishable from a threat of physical harm, . . . this provision

cannot stand." /d.

The Phoenix "bubble" does operate in a somewhat different

manner than the provision invalidated in Madsen. However,

nothing in the Madsen decision suggests that this distinction has

constitutional significance. Both restrictions subject the would-be

speaker to an "audience veto." Both provisions restrict speech, no

matter how nonthreatening and peaceful, simply because the

intended audience, or even a passerby, wishes to restrict it.

Although the First Amendment does not guarantee to every speaker

willing listeners, it does protect the "opportunity to win their

attention." Kovacs v. Cooper, 336 U.S. 77, 87 (1949). The First

Amendment protects the right to engage in expression even though

directed at unfriendly or unsympathetic audiences. Eichman, 496

U.S. at 318-19; Johnson, 491 U.S. at 414. And see Boos, 485

U.S. at 323. "As a general matter, we have indicated that in

public debate our own citizens must tolerate insulting, and even

outrageous, speech in order to provide adequate breathing space to

the freedoms protected by the First Amendment." Madsen, 114

S.Ct. at 2529 (quoting Boos v. Barry, 485 U.S. at 322).

Stat eee OR Ee Be aE 1 NO ES TR Re oh ers ae v ala,

15

As noted above, the Ordinance even goes beyond the

unconstitutional "consent" provision in Madsen. It restricts

expression at places having nothing at all to do with the delivery of

medical care. The definition of "health care facility" is so broad

that any "place" -- e.g., a shipyard or large plant -- can have one

"nurse" or "counselor" on premises during a lz’ >r strike and

thereby trigger the restrictions on unwanted speech within 100 feet

of the company’s "premises." Similarly, where a defined “health

- care facility" is located within an office building with other tenants,

the Ordinance will operate to restrict expression on public issues

having nothing at all to do with health services or abortion within

100 feet of the building.

Further, as Judge Beezer stressed in his dissent below, the

Ordinance permits the creation of a 100-foot ban on all unwanted

speech. Abortion facility "escorts" can simply shadow pro-life

leafletters, such as Petitioners, and invoke the “bubble” as the

leafletter approaches potential recipients. Worse yet, a clinic

employee could approach a demojistrator doing no more than

peacefully holding an anti-abortion sign, and with a series of

commands to withdraw, back the demonstrator outside the 100 foot

perimeter.

The Ninth Circuit hinged its holding on the portion of

Madsen in which this Court upheld a limited 36-foot buffer zone.

Madsen, 114 S.Ct. at 2527. In doing so, the divided panel mixed

apples with onions and effectively turned Madsen on its head. The

Phoenix "Bubble" Ordinance is plainly closer in substance to the

"consent" provision which Madsen overturned, than to the "buffer

zone" which Madsen upheld in part. Furthermore, the Ninth

Circuit’s decision completely ignores the critical basis for the

injunction in Madsen. This Court explained in Madsen that "the

state court imposed restrictions on petitioners . . . because they

repeatedly violated the court’s original order." Jd. at 2524

16

(emphasis added). The Court emphasized “the fact that the state

court originally issued a much narrower injunction, providing no

buffer, [but] this order did not succeed in protecting access to the

clinic.” Jd. at 2527. Repeated lawbreaking and violations of the

narrower order by the defendants in Madsen convinced this Court

to uphold the injunction against the defendants. Here, unlike the

lawbreakers in Madsen, it is undisputed that Petitioners and many

others have never engaged in any misconduct or disorder at an

abortion facility. Furthermore, as an ordinance of general

applicability, the Phoenix "Bubble" Ordinance restricts everyone,

not just particular troublemakers.

Il. THE DECISION BELOW CREATES AN

UNPRECEDENTED EXPANSION OF THE "CAPTIVE

AUDIENCE" EXCEPTION TO FREE SPEECH BY

APPLYING THAT EXCEPTION TO AN AUDIENCE

USING A PUBLIC FORUM.

The court below declared that “persons approaching a

health care facility represent a ‘captive audience’” and that,

therefore, public sidewalks adjacent to such a facility need not be

“considered, for all purposes, an open forum." App. 8a. This

holding guts the First Amendment and flies in the face of this

Court’s "captive audience” decisions.

This Court has upheld restrictions on speech in a handful

of cases where an unwilling listener would be unable to escape

from the speech. Examples of "captive audiences" include the

resident trapped in his home, Frisby v. Schultz, 487 U.S. 474;

listeners unable to escape sound trucks broadcasting “in a loud and

raucous manner," Kovacs v. Cooper, 336 U.S. 77; and riders on

public transportation, Lehman v. City of Shaker Heights, 418 U.S.

298 (1974).

dan

-- ”

17

No case has ever held that persons were “captive

audiences" because of a momentary encounter with speech in a

public forum. On the contrary, each of the above cases, as well as

many others, explic‘tly distinguish the “captive audience” situation

from that of a person in a public place making momentary contact

with speakers. See, e.g., Kovacs, 336 U.S. at 86-87 ("The

unwilling listener is not like the passerby who may be offered a

pamphlet in the street but cannot be made to take it"); Lehman, 418

U.S. at 303 ("Here we have no open spaces, no meeting hall, park,

street corner, or public thoroughfare"); Frisby, 487 U.S. at 484

("Although in many locations, we expect individuals simply to

avoid speech they do not want to hear [citations omitted], the home

is different").

In short, ir public places, the burden is on the unwilling

listener or viewer to “avoid further bombardment of their

sensibilities simply by averting their eyes." Cohen v. California,

403 U.S. 15, 21 (1971). In the case at hand, this avoidance would

take the form of simply walking past the picketers and counselors

and into the building.

The Ninth Circuit claims to find support in Madsen for its

novel and dramatic expansion of the “captive audience" doctrine.

In so doing, the court below badly misread this Court’s Madsen

decision. Madsen upheld an injunctive restriction on noise audible

to patients “inside the [abortion] clinic," where doctors and patients

are presumably "captives" similar to the occupant of a home.

Madsen, 114 S.Ct. at 2526, 2528. Madsen, however, never

applied the “captive audience" doctrine to the public sidewalks

outside. See Pro-Choice Network of Western New York v. Schenck,

67 F.3d 377, 406 n.5 (2nd Cir. 1995) (en banc) (Meskill, J.,

dissenting):

18

The Madsen Court simply recognized that women in the

clinic were “held ‘captive’ by medical circumstance,"

Madsen, 114 S. Ct. at 2526, thus supporting some of the

injunction’s restrictions, for example, those on banning

loud noise levels or prohibiting the use of sound

amplification equipment. This, however, does not mean

that the women approaching the clinic are captive, and

nothing in Madsen can be read as so holding.

People approaching an abortion facility, therefore, cannot be

deemed a “captive audience" anymore than could people

approaching any place of employment, any government building,

any courthouse, any school, any airport or bus terminal -- in short,

virtually any place one "has to" go. The Ninth Circuit’s rationale

is a formula for revoking the First Amendment.

Ill. THE DECISION OF THE NINTH CIRCUIT

DIRECTLY CONFLICTS WITH A DECISION OF

THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT. :

The Ninth Circuit’s decision upholding the “Bubble”

Ordinance squarely conflicts with the Eighth Circuit’s decision in

United Food and Commercial Worker's Int’l Union v. IBP, 857

F.2d 422 (8th Cir. 1988), holding that statutory restrictions on

unwanted labor speech are unconstitutional. The /BP case involved

a Nebraska statute that, in relevant part, made it unlawful to

“persist{] in talking to or communicating in any manner with

[another] person or members of the person’s family against their

will" about matters related to employment. /d. at 432. In words

equally applicable to the Phoenix Ordinance, the Eighth Circuit

stated: "That the speech is unwelcome does not deprive it of

protection.” Jd. (citing NAACP v. Claiborne Hardware Co., 458

U.S. 886, 910 (1982); Cohen, 403 U.S. at 26; Organization for a

Better Austin v. Keefe, 402 U.S. 415, 419 (1971)).

19

Under the Phoenix "Bubble" Ordinance, any business,

company, or factory -- having no other connection with the

delivery of general heaith care services -- can have a single "nurse"

or “counselor” on its premises and thereby invoke the Ordinance’s

speech restrictions on all public property within 100 feet of the

premises. For instance, in a labor dispute, a company or factory

can, under the Ordinance, trigger the restriction on labor speech by

means of bringing a “nurse” or “counselor” on the premises

ostensibly to “provide” some sort of “health care service" or

“counseling.” In short, the "Bubble" Ordinance -- and the decision

sustaining it -- cannot be reconciled with /BP.

IV. THE DECISION OF THE NINTH CIRCUIT

CONFLICTS WITH A DECISION OF THE NORTH

DAKOTA SUPREME COURT.

In addition to the JBP decision of the Eighth Circuit, the

Ninth Circuit’s decision also directly conflicts with the North

Dakota Supreme Court’s decision in Fargo Women's Health

Organization, Inc. v. Lambs of Christ, 488 N.W.2d 401 (N.D.

1992). Lambs of Christ involved an injunction against anti-abortion

demonstrators that, inter alia, prohibited then: from “speaking to

staff and patients . . . who indicate that they do not wish to be

spoken to" and from “‘distributing leaflets or brochures to any

person who has indicated orally or by gesture that such person does

not wish to receive such literature’." /d. at 407 n.1. The court

invalidated these restrictions, stressing the constitutionally protected

nature of speaking and leafletting, and holding that other measures

were available to ensure “protection from those protestors who

physically force literature on passers-by." /d. at 411. This

analysis is equally applicable to the Phoenix "Bubble" Ordinance.

20

V. IF ALLOWED TO STAND, THE DECISION BELOW

PRESENTS THE PROSPECT OF OTHER

SELECTIVE "BUBBLE" ORDINANCES.

The undisputed selectivity of the City of Phoenix in

protecting the interests of Phoenix abortion facilities from unwanted

expression presents the glaring prospect of other selective "bubble"

ordinances being enacted at the behest of others upset by

demonstrations at their places of business. For instance, in

response to animal rights demonstrators earnestly engaging

potential purchasers of fur coats, a municipality, at the insistence

of furriers and department store owners, might impose a “bubble”

ordinance aimed at demonstrations in front of clothing stores.

Similarly, during an acrimonious lettuce boycott in which there has

been documentation of some instances of shoppers being verbally

accosted by farm workers, the city might, at the urging of the

lettuce growers and operators of supermarkets, impose a "bubble"

ordinance applicable only to demonstrations at grocery stores. Or

the federal government might impose a “bubble” applicable to the

areas abutting recruiting centers to protect potential military

recruits from being “harassed” by anti-military protestors.

A truly general law that requires demonstrators to withdraw

upon request would obviously be unconstitutional. But specialized

legislation designed to protect only certain persons or businesses

from face-to-face confrontations with demonstrators, while other

less influential people similarly vexed by zealous demonstrators are

forced to rely on general criminal laws, raises core First

Amendment concerns. "For it is a central tenet of the First

Amendment that the government must remain neutral in the

marketplace of ideas." Hustler Magazine v. Falwell, 485 U.S. 46,

56 (1988). This equality principle is so basic that this Court has

ruled that it extends even to the regulation of expression not

protected by the First Amendment. See R.A.V. v. City of St. Paul,

Minnesota, 505 U.S. 377, 391-94 (1992).

a ae ee ee —

21

In Madsen, this Court explained that injunctions “carry

greater risks of censorship and discriminatory application than do

general ordinances." See Madsen, 114 S.Ct. at 2524. But an

ordinance limited to protecting certain industries -- such as abortion

businesses -- raises the same spectre of discrimination. Such an

ordinance, moreover, does not even enjoy the advantage of limiting

itself -- like an injunction -- to particular, proven malefactors. The

Phoenix "Bubble" Ordinance thus partakes of the worst of both

worlds. For while any business plagued by disruptive

demonstrations is eligible for an injunction, only politically

influentia! interests will be able to obtain specialized legislation.

CONCLUSION

The First Amendment has no value if it protects only

welcome speech. The Ninth Circuit has nevertheless upheld an

ordinance imposing an “audience veto" in a public forum. The

Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Keith A. Fournier Jay Alan Sekulow

THE AMERICAN CENTER FOR (Counsel of Record)

LAW AND JUSTICE Walter M. Weber

1000 Regent University Dr. THE AMERICAN CENTER FOR

Virginia Beach, VA 23464 LAW AND JUSTICE

(804) 579-2489 1000 Thomas Jefferson St.,

N.W., Suite 304

Benjamin W. Bull Washington, DC 20007

THE AMERICAN CENTER FOR (202) 337-2273

LAW AND JUSTICE

11811 N. Tatum Blvd, #P184

Phoenix, AZ 85028

(602) 953-6100

Attorneys for Petitioners

22

March 4, 1996

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 94-15495

KATHERINE SABELKO and NANCY BARTO,

Plaintiffs-Appellees ,

Vv.

THE Crry OF PHOENIX, SKIP RIMSZA,°2 in his official

capacity as Mayor of the City of Phoenix, and THELDA

WILLIAMS, FRANCES EMMA BARWOOD, CRAIG TRIBKEN, JOHN

NELSON, KATHY DUBS, SALOMON F. LEUA, and CALVIN C.

GOODE, in their official capacity as members of the City

of Phoenix City Council,

Defendants-Appellants.

OPINION

October 19, 1995

Before: SCHROEDER, BEEZER, and THOMPSON,

Circuit Judges.

“Skip Rimsza, current Mayor of Phoenix, is substituted for

former Mayor Paul Johnson.

2a

SCHROEDER, Circuit Judge:

In response to rising protest around abortion clinics in

Phoenix, Arizona, the City Council in November of 1993 passed

an ordinance regulating the conduct of demonstrators in public

areas within 100 feet of health care facilities. Known as the

Phoenix "bubble" ordinance, the law makes illegal a demonstrator’s

failure to honor a person's "clearly communicated request" to

withdraw to a distance of eight feet from the person if the

demonstrator is in a public area within 100 feet of a health care facility.’

'The ordinance provides:

ORDINANCE NO. G3705

AN ORDINANCE AMENDING CHAPTER 23,

ARTICLE 1 OF THE PHOENIX CITY CODE, BY

ADDING SECTION 23-10.1, RELATING TO

UNIMPEDED ACCESS TO HEALTH CARE

FACILITIES; AND DECLARING AN EMERGENCY.

WHEREAS, unimpeded access to health care services is

critically and uniquely important to the public health, safety and

welfare; and

WHEREAS, persons attempting to access health care

facilities are subject to harassing or intimidating activity tending to

impede their access to those facilities by demonstrators approaching

within extremely close proximity; and

WHEREAS, such activity near health care facilities creates

a "captive audience" situation where persons seeking services

cannot avoid the area outside the facilities, and their physical and

emotional conditions may make them especially vulnerable to the

(continued. ..)

3a

'(,. continued)

adverse physiological and emotional effects of such harassing or

intimidating activities directed at them from extremely close

proximity; and

WHEREAS, such activity in extremely close proximity

tends to undermine a person’s right to privacy and interfere with

a person’s right to seek legitimate health care treatment and

counseling; and

WHEREAS, this ordinance does not preclude all protesting,

picketing, demonstrating, leafleting or educational activities near a

health care facility but is a necessary time, place and manner

restriction intended to reconcile and protect the First Amendment

rights of demonstrators and the rights of persons using health care

facilities to be free from direct confrontation, hindrance,

harassment, intimidation and harm; and

WHEREAS, existing law does not adequately protect such

access to health care facilities; NOW THEREFORE,

BE IT ORDAINED by the Council of the City of Phoenix

as follows:

SECTION 1. Chapter 23, Article 1, Phoenix City Code,

is amended by adding section 23-10.1 to read:

Sec. 23-10.1 IMPEDING ACCESS TO HEALTH CARE

FACILITIES.

A. It is unlawful for any person, in the course of

demonstration activity within the access area of a health care

facility, to fail to withdraw upon a clearly communicated request

to do so to a distance of at least eight (8) feet away from any

person who has made the request.

B. For purposes of this section:

1. "Access area" means any portion of a public

street or other public place or any place open to the public

within one hundred (100) feet of an exterior wall or

entryway of a health care facility.

4a

Six days after Phoenix enacted the ordinance, plaintiffs

Katherine Sabelko and Nancy Barto filed suit in federal court

pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983 seeking declaratory and injunctive

relief against the City on the ground that the ordinance violated

their First Amendment rights. The plaintiffs describe themselves

as antiabortion sidewalk counselors who distribute literature in front

of Phoenix clinics and attempt to engage others in peaceful

conversation about alternatives to abortion.

The district court granted the injunction and the city now

appeals. Appearing amici curiae in this action in support of the

City are Planned Parenthood of Central and Northern Arizona, Inc.

and the City of San Jose writing on behalf of 32 other California

cities. In support of the plaintiffs-appellees is amicus Arizona Civil

Liberties Union (AzCLU).

The District Court Decision

The district court’s preliminary injunction preventing

enforcement of the ordinance rested upon no disputed issues of

fact. The district court ruled as a matter of law that the ordinance

violates the First Amendment, and all issues on appeal to this court

are presented for our de novo review.

The district court ruled the ordinance unconstitutional on

four principal grounds which we summarize as follows:

a Because the ordinance regulates “protest,” but not

supportive speech, and because it gives private citizens the

Sa

authority to silence speech, the district court ruled that it was

viewpoint discriminatory.’

2. The court ruled the ordinance overbroad because,

in the district court’s view, it effectively bans handbilling within

the 100-foot area.

3, Ruling the ordinance vague, the district court found

insufficiently clear meaning in the phrases "clearly communicated

request" to withdraw and "demonstration activity."

4. Finally, the district court rejected any analogy

between the privacy interest infringed by demonstration activity

targeting a home, as recognized in Frisby v. Schultz, 487 U.S. 474

(1988), and that affected by activity targeting a health care facility.

The district court held that the principles applicable to free speech

in a public forum as enunciated in Perry Education Ass'n. v. Perry

Local Educators’ Ass'n., 460 U.S. 37, 45 (1983), control

demonstration activity outside health care facilities.

The Madsen Decision

The district court’s injunction was entered on February 11,

1994. The Supreme Court’s subsequent decision in Madsen v.

Women's Health Center, Inc., 114 S.Ct. 2516 (1994), guides our

review and controls our opinion today.

?The plain terms of the ordinance contradict the district court’s

assertion that it restricts only certain kinds of speech. The

ordinance does not limit its reach to "oral protest, education [and]

counseling;" it merely lists them among the activities it regulates

under the rubric of "demonstration activity," and it states explicitly

that "[{flor purposes of this section . . . demonstration activity . .

. is not limited to” these activities.

6a

In Madsen, the Supreme Court considered the validity

under the First Amendment of a Florida state court injunction

against named individual antiabortion protesters and persons acting

in concert with them. The Court upheld the establishment of a

36-foot “buffer zone" around an abortion clinic in Melbourne,

Florida. Within the buffer zone, the defendants were prohibited

from demonstration activity of virtually any kind. The Supreme

Court ruled that the injunction was content neutral despite the fact

that it targeted only abortion protesters.

We can find no basis for holding the Phoenix ordinance

less content neutral than the Florida injunction. That injunction

prohibited the defendants from "congregating, picketing, patrolling,

demonstrating or entering" within 36 feet of the cliniz. Quoting

Ward v. Rock Against Racism, 491 U.S. 781, 791 (1989), tive

Court held that the “principal inquiry in determining content

neutrality is whether the government has adopted a regulation of

speech ‘without reference to the content of the regulated speech.’

" Madsen 114 S.Ct. at 2523. The Florida injunction passed this

test, the Supreme Court said, because "none of the restrictions . . .

were directed to the contents of th[e] petitioner’s message.” /d.

The Phoenix ordinance, like the Florida injunction, makes no

reference to the content of the speech it purports to regulate. The

Supreme Court’s ruling in Madsen thus forecloses the plaintiffs’

contention that the Phoenix ordinance is viewpoint based.’

‘Plaintiffs’ contention that the ordinance improperly vests

discretion in private citizens to curtail speech is likewise

insupportable. The cases they cite are concerned only with

discretion vested in agents of the government. Like the Colorado

Court of Appeals, which recently considered an even stricter

ordinance, we know of no authority “that would extend this

doctrine to limit the right of a private citizen to determine whether

(continued...)

7a

In Madsen, the Court announced that an injunction is

subject to more rigorous scrutiny than is a generally applicable

ordinance. To survive appellate review, the injunction must burden

"no more speech than necessary to serve a significant government

interest." Madsen, 114 S.Ct. at 2525 (citing NAACP v. Claiborne

Hardware Co., 458 U.S. 886, 916 (1982)). The Court explained

that the standard is more lenient in cases such as this where we

review an ordinance of general applicability. See Madsen 114

S.Ct. at 2524-25. In contrast to an injunction, a content neutral,

time, place and manner restriction in an ordinance survives First

Amendment scrutiny if it is "narrowly tailored to serve a significant

governmental interest, and leave[s] open ample alternative channels

of communication." Perry, 460 U.S. at 45 (citations omitted).

The dissent urges a more stringent standard for an ordinance than

an injunction. In Madsen, Justice Stevens propounded the same

view but the majority expressly rejected it. Madsen 114 S.Ct. at

2525. We are bound by the majority.

The Court held in Madsen that the injunction survived

scrutiny under the more rigorous standard because it burdened no

more speech than necessary to serve significant government

interests. The Court focused on several such interests that the

Phoenix ordinance likewise serves. These include a woman’s right

to abortion and other pregnancy-related treatment, see Roe v.

Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973), as well as the siate’s interest in public

safety and order, including street and sidewalk traffic control, see

Madsen, 114 S.Ct. at 2526. The Madsen Court agreed with the

*(...continued)

to permit others to confront [her] concerning medical .. .

treatment." Hill v. City of Lakewood, No. 94CA0856, 1995 WL

411983, *4 (Colo. App.) (upholding ordinance forbidding uninvited

approaches to within eight feet of a person less than 100 feet away

from entrance to a health care facility).

8a

Florida Supreme Court that "the state’s strong interest in residential

privacy, acknowledged in Frisby v. Schultz, 487 U.S. 474 (1988),

applied by analogy to medical privacy," Madsen 114 S.Ct. at 2526.

The Court approved the Florida court’s view that just as targeted

picketing of the home threatens the psychological well-being of a

“captive” resident, targeted picketing of a hospital or clinic

threatens the physical and psychological well-being of a patient held

“captive” by medical circumstance. See id. (citing Operation

Rescue v. Women’s Health Center, Inc., 626 So.2d 664, 673 (Fla.

1993)).

The Supreme Court’s decision in Madsen thus undermines

the pillars supporting the district court’s ruling that the ordinance

is unconstitutional. Under the standard announced in Madsen, the

ordinance is not viewpoint discriminatory, but is content neutral.

It is a time, place and manner restriction that serves several

significant state interests. Under Madsen, it is not violative of the

First Amendment if it is narrowly tailored to serve those interests

and leaves open ample alternative means of communication. See

Perry, 460 U.S. at 45. The provisions of the ordinance challenged

in this case are no more vague than those of the injunction in

Madsen. Finally, the Supreme Court in Madsen expressly

recognized that persons approaching a health care facility represent

a "captive audience,” thus rejecting the position of the district court

in this case that a public area adjacent to a health care facility must

be considered, for all purposes, an open forum.

Appellees’ principal contention on appeal is that the

ordinance is overbroad and not sufficiently narrowly tailored.

They contend that by permitting “any person" to ward off a

demonstrator, the ordinance curtails too much speech. They argue

that to survive scrutiny, the ordinance must permit only patients

seeking health care services to terminate unwanted confrontations

and face-to-face communication.

4

f

4

.

ete gPARPE A ace aN ee LAA ct a cen PC EY ER Nn I RENN aE IN

9a

The problem the city faces is that such narrowing would

compromise the very privacy interests the ordinance was meant to

protect. The approach appellees suggest would require a woman

to identify herself as a patient seeking pregnancy-related services

in order to terminate an unwanted confrontation. Moreover, by

preventing the parent or partner of a young or sick patient from

invoking protection on her behalf, the narrowing that appellees

advocate would tend to leave exposed to the most persistent

demonstrators those least capable of declining to receive their

message.

The appellees, amicus AzCLU and the dissent express

concern about the possibility that under this ordinance, escorts or

others who may have no relationship whatever to the patients may

create a zone around a patient even larger than the eight feet

contemplated by the ordinance. They suggest, for example, that an

escort might repeatedly invoke the "bubble" while advancing

toward a counselor beyond eight feet from the patient. The parties

provide little basis for assessing how likely such a scenario may be.

We nevertheless observe that as the Jistance between the escort and

the patient increases, so does the ability of other counselors to

approach the patient. Appellees offer no alternative provision that

would adequately protect the city’s concerns and avoid the

theoretical possibility that escorts might inflate the “bubble” zone

the city contemplated.

In support of their overbreadth position, appellees and our

dissenting colleague point us to another portion of the Madsen

disposition which they incorrectly assert is dispositive of the issues

before us. The Court in Madsen struck down as overbroad a

provision of the injunction that drew a line of 300 feet from the

facility and barred “all uninvited approaches of persons seeking the

services of the clinic regardless of how peaceful the contact may

be" within that area. Madsen, 114 S.Ct. at 2529. This injunctive

ban the Supreme Court termed a “consent” requirement. The Court

10a

held it burdened more speech than necessary to prevent intimidation

and ensure access.

The ordinance in question here has no such bar against

uninvited approaches. It permits any approach to any individual

until the individual affirmatively requests a disengagement.

Moreover, there is no limitation on approaches beyond a 100-foot

line, whereas the Madsen line was 300 feet. Finally, once the

“pubble" is invoked, communication is not prohibited or

interrupted, but simply distanced to eight feet. For these reasons

we hold that the ordinance is narrowly tailored to serve significant

interests. For similar reasons, we conclude that it also allows

ample alternative means of communication. Contrary to the claims

of appellees and the dissent, there is no bar to signs, placards, or

pictures. Counselors can handbill and approach anyone outside the

100-foot barrier, and anyone within the 100 feet until and unless

that person objects. The First Amendment protects the right of a

prospective recipient of a handbill to refuse the communication as

well as the right of the prospective communicant to offer it.

Martin v. Struthers, 319 U.S. 141 (1943); Schneider v. State, 308

U.S. 147 (1939).

The JUDGMENT OF THE DiSTRICT COURT IS

REVERSED AND THE MATTER REMANDED WITH

INSTRUCTIONS TO VACATE THE INJUNCTION.

BEEZER, Circuit Judge, dissenting.

By voice, pamphlet or placard some citizens of the United

States are actively engaged in a vigorous debate on the sidewalks,

streets and other public places adjacent to health care facilities

lla

located in cities and towns across the country. The debate is also

heard in the nation’s capitol.'

Unlike the Senators who are given a privilege on the floor

of the Senate, the citizen demonstrators in this case claim a right

to free speech protected by the First Amendment. So it is that I

address the question whether speech incident to demonstration

‘Protected by the privilege of the Speech or Debate Clause,

U.S. Const. art. I, § 6, the remarks of several Senators are

reported in the Congressional Record, 141 Cong.Rec. $8862-63

(daily ed. June 22, 1995).

Mr. SMITH.

- *” ~

In illustration No. 4, the abortionist takes a pair of scissors

and inserts the scissors into the back of the skull and then opens the

scissors up to make a gap in the back of tue skull in order to insert

a catheter to literally suck the brains from the back of that child’s

head.

That is what happens in the so-called partial-birth abortion.

* ~ ~

Ms. MOSELEY-BRAUN.

« *” .

The extreme agenda, I think, is pretty evident. I have

never seen anything as horrific, as horrendous, as awful, as ugly

and graphic as the posters and the doll figure I saw on the floor a

few minutes ago. It is outrageous to bring something like that on

the floor of the U.S. Senate to make whatever point. Whether you

are for or against choice, to bring that kind of graphic depiction of

ugliness on this floor, I think, only serves the purpose of inflaming

people around an issue that really inflames and divides the

American people, and that does go to the heart of the opposition’s

extreme agenda here.

\2a

activity in the vicinity of health care facilities may be proscribed by

city ordinance.

The City of Phoenix enacted Ordinance No. G3705

requiring any person engaged in demonstration activity within 100

feet of a health care facility to withdraw at least eight feet away

from any person who requests it. Because I believe the ordinance

is not narrowly tailored and overly burdens protected speech, |

respectfully dissent.

In 1993, due to concerns about harassment outside health

care facilities, the City of Phoenix enacted an ordinance limiting

"demonstration activity” near such clinics. The ordinance in effect

allowed individuals within 100 feet of all designated facilities to

create a “bubble” around themselves.. The ordinance requires all

persons engaging in "demonstration activity" to withdraw a distance

of eight feet when requested to do so. Specifically, the ordinance

provides:

ORDINANCE NO. G3705

AN ORDINANCE AMENDING CHAPTER 23,

ARTICLE | OF THE PHOENIX CITY CODE,

BY ADDING SECTION 23-10.1, RELATING TO

UNIMPEDED ACCESS TO HEALTH CARE

FACILITIES; AND DECLARING AN EMERGENCY.

WHEREAS, unimpeded access to health care

services is critically and uniquely important to the public

health, safety and welfare; and

WHEREAS, persons attempting to access health

care facilities are subject to harassing or intimidating

activity tending to impede their access to those facilities by

——

Re Pe ee ee ee ee ee ee Te ee

13a

demonstrators approaching within extremely close

proximity; and

WHEREAS, such activity near health care facilities

creates a “captive audience” situation where persons

seeking services cannot avoid the area outside the facilities,

and their physical and emotional conditions may make them

especially vulnerable to the adverse physiological and

emotional effects of such harassing or intimidating

activities directed at them from extremely close proximity;

and

WHEREAS, such activity in extremely close

proximity tends to undermine a person’s right to privacy

and interference with a person’s right to seek legitimate

health care treatment and counseling; and

WHEREAS, this ordinance does not preclude all

protesting, picketing, demonstrating, leafleting [sic] or

educational activities near a health care facility but is a

necessary time, place and manner restriction intended to

reconcile and protect the First .smendment rights of

demonstrators and the rights of persons using health care

facilities to be free from direct confrontation, hindrance,

harassment, intimidation and harm; and

WHEREAS, existing law does not adequately

protect such access to health care facilities; NOW

THEREFORE,

BE IT ORDAINED by the Council of the City of

Phoenix as follows:

SECTION 1. Chapter 23, Article 1, Phoenix City

Code, is amended by adding section 23-10.1 to read:

4a

Sec. 23-10.1 IMPEDING ACCESS TO HEALTH

CARE FACILITIES.

A.

It is unlawful for any person, in the course

of demonstration activity within the access area of a health

care facility, to fail to withdraw upon a clearly

communicated request to do so to a distance of at least

eight (8) feet away from any person who has made the

request.

Cc.

For purposes of this section:

i “Access area” means any portion

of a public street or other public place or

any place open to the public within one

hundred (100) feet of an exterior wall or

entryway of a health care facility.

2. "Demonstration activity” includes

but is not limited to protesting, picketing,

distributing literature, attempting to impede

access, or engaging in oral protest,

education or counseling activities.

3. "Health care facility” means any

hospital, clinic, office, building or other

place used to provide medical,

psychological, nursing or other health care

services, including family planning

counseling and pregnancy- related services.

For purposes of this section, distance shall

be measured from that part of the closest demonstrator’s

body that is nearest to the closest part of the requesting

person’s body. The term “body” includes any natural or

15a

artificial extension of a person’s body including but not

limited to an outstretched arm or a hand-held sign.

SECTION 2. WHEREAS, the immediate operation

of the provisions of this ordinance is necessary for the

preservation of the public peace, health and safety, an

EMERGENCY is hereby declared to exist, and this

ordinance shall be in full force and effect from and after its

passage by the Council as required by the City Charter and

is hereby exempted from the referendum clause of said

Charter.

PASSED by the Council of the City of Phoenix this

17th day of November, 1993.

Katherine Sabelko and Nancy Barto (collectively "Sabelko")

are pro-life leafletters and “sidewalk counselors" who engage in

activity outside abortion clinics in Phoenix. As sidewalk

counselors they distribute literature and attempt to orally

communicate the alternatives to abortion. After the passage of the

ordinance, Sabelko curtailed her activities and speech because of

fear of prosecution under the ordinance. Viewing the ordinance as

an unconstitutional infringement of speech, Sabelko filed this action

pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983 seeking declaratory and injunctive

relief. The district court granted the injunction and declared the

ordinance unconstitutional. The City of Phoenix timely appealed.

The first step in any First Amendment inquiry is to

determine whether the ordinance is content or viewpoint neutral.

I agree with the court’s opinion that the ordinance is content-neutral

and I will not repeat that analysis. A content-neutral restriction on

speech must be " ‘narrowly tailored to serve a significant

governmental interest, and ... leave open ample alternative

l6a

channels for communication of the information.’ "| Ward v. Rock

Against Racism, 491 U.S. 781, 791 (1989) (quoting Clark v.

Community for Creative Non- Violence, 468 U.S. 288, 293 (1984)).

Narrow tailoring requires that the means chosen do not "burden

substantially more speech than is necessary to further the

government’s legitimate interests." /d. at 799. More precisely,

"[a] statute is narrowly tailored if it targets and eliminates no more

than the exact source of the ‘evil’ it sees to remedy." Frisby v.

Schultz, 487 U.S. 474, 485 (1987).

It is undeniable that the City of Phoenix’s interest in

protecting access to health care facilities is substantial. The

government "has a strong interest in protecting a woman’s freedom

to scek lawful medical or counseling services in connection with

her pregnancy." Madsen v. Women’s Health Center, Inc., 114

S.Ct. 2516, 2526 (1994). On its face the ordinance appropriately

seeks to protect the users of the facilities from “harassing or

intimidating activity tending to impede . . . access to those

facilities," and the "adverse physiological and emotional effects" of

the harassment. Although the City of Phoenix’s interests are

sufficiently substantial to support an appropriately tailored

ordinance, Ordinance No. G3705 lacks such tailoring.

It is a touchstone of First Amendment jurisprudence that

"[g]overnment may not regulate expression in such a manner that

a substantial portion of the burden on speech does not serve to

advance its goals." Ward, 491 U.S. at 799. The ordinance’s

consent provision does just that. Anybody in the area around the

facility, whether they be a patient or otherwise, are free to

effectively silence any speech they find objectionable by invoking

the “bubble.” The aims of the ordinance -- to allow access,

eliminate harassment and prevent intimidating activity -- are served.

But in so doing, the peaceful communicator expressing a protected

viewpoint is also chilled.

Peers tee

i i aah TS le ii

BSE ce NRHN Sr Rel 288 hn iC TS blk a llc Pee SPO SAA ede aed Barcel tee

17a

Especially disturbing is the fact that the eight-foot bubble

would prevent leafletting or handbilling. Once the bubble is

invoked, it would be nearly impossible for any written

communication to be distributed at any time. For example, an

individual could immediately invoke the “bubble” once in the

100-foot buffer zone and prevent any handbilling on the sidewalks

or streets that provide public access to the health care facility.

Patient escorts acting in support of the facility could invoke the

"bubble" preventing access to patients who may otherwise have at

least glanced at the written materials before themselves invoking

the “bubble.” Although the First Amendment does not guarantee

a willing listener or recipient, it does protect the “opportunity to

win their attention." Kovacs v. Cooper, 336 U.S. 77, 87 (1948).

Strategic use of the "bubbie" could eviscerate that opportunity.

Even more disturbing, the ordinance allows any person to

invoke the “bubble.” A number of people acting in concert can

create a buffer around the facility exceeding eight feet and that

would effectively prevent all peaceful communication. The entire

100-foot buffer zone could be turned into a no speech zone if a

sufficient number of escorts occupied the zone and invoked the

"pubble.". The Supreme Court teaches that "[p]recision of

regulation must be the touchstone" of any restriction on speech.

The ordinance’s broad sweep goes too far. NAACP v. Button, 371

U.S. 415, 438 (1963) (citations omitted).

The City of San Jose in its amicus curiae brief focuses our

attention on the threatening and harassing activity that the ordinance

is designed to prevent. Harassment, threats and physical

obstruction of clinics has long been subject to injunctive relief and

Congress has now made such behavior criminal. Congress,

addressing such concerns, passed the Freedom of Access to Clinic

Entrances Act of 1994 (hereinafter "FACE"), 18 U.S.C. § 248.

The intentional use of force or physical obstruction to block clinic

entrances is a crime. At least one circuit has concluded that FACE

18a

does not impede peaceful protesting traditionally protected by the

First Amendment. See American Life League v. Reno, 47 F.3d 642

(4th Cir.) (upholding FACE as a content-neutral, narrowly tailored

restriction on protected speech), cert. denied, 63 U.S.L.W. 3834

(U.S. Oct. 2, 1995) (No. 94-1867). Unlike FACE, the Phoenix

ordinance broadly sweeps at peaceful communication that lies at the

core of the First Amendment.

I end my discussion with Madsen. In Madsen, the Supreme

Court considered an injunction imposed by a Florida court to

prevent protesters from impeding access to a clinic. Concluding

that an injunction is subject to a more stringent level of scrutiny

then a content-neutral, generally applicable statute, the Court

examined “each contested provision of the injunction to see if it

burdens more speech than necessary to accomplish iis goal." 114

S.Ct. at 2526. The injunction contained a variety of provisions

restricting expressive activity by protesters outside the clinic. The

City of Phoenix relies heavily on Madsen’s conclusion that a

36-foot buffer zone established in the injunction burdened no more

speech than necessary. The City of Phoenix argues that because

the more burdensome 36-foot buffer zone was upheld under an

even more stringent standard, Ordinance No. G3705 does not

improperly infringe on speech. What the City fails to acknowledge

is that the buffer zone was imposed in Madsen after the protesters

continued to ignore court orders and impeded access to the clinic.

Id. at 2524. After repeated failures to protect the entrance to the

clinic, the state court was left with no choice but to enforce a

broader injunction to protect the government interests at stake.

Also included in the Madsen injunction was a provision that

prohibited protesters from “approaching any person seeking the

services of the Clinic unless such person indicates a desire to

19a

communicate." Jd. at 2516. Despite recognizing that protecting

patients from being "stalked" or "shadowed" was a legiimate goal,

the Court had little difficulty invalidating the provision, concluding

that "[t}he ‘consent’ requirement alone invalidates this provision;

it burdens more speech than is necessary to prevent intimidation

and to ensure access to the clinic." Jd. at 2529. Madsen’s consent

provision is functionally indistinguishable from the one at issue

here. In Madsen, all uninvited approaches were barred; here, all

unwanted approaches are barred. The effect is the same; more

speech than necessary is effectively silenced.

As the Court has often stated, and recently repeated in

Madsen, " ‘[a]s a general matter, we have indicated that in public

debate our own citizens must tolerate insulting, and even

outrageous, speech in order to provide adequate breathing space to

the freedoms protected by the First Amendment.’ " Madsen, 114

S.Ct. at 2529 (quoting Boos v. Barry, 485 U.S. 312, 322 (1988)).

I believe that Phoenix Ordinance No. G3705 impermissibly

encroaches on First Amendment freedoms and its enforcement

should be enjoined.

7 Roe i

fg aetne:

| Prone

shitcenearre i

wy sae ere iki aah

petites Saree re er ayes

y ah at ap -y .

cs " 0b ste TS

Le va tat econo > at Rae : iia

,: aed

: . Bie sors ELS

sa harriers na me zm bem ae

a ea a attic nine sie

=

y

a heey Hera Riek

; ra a a ar ta 4 i Ags

7, eee. ametox ae a Ths ol

Wee

ane ae ary Sat

as N

= 7

rere he

y amb sort sepa Nir

te eit re ~~ eae a 4

we een i, a we

20a

APPENDIX B

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 94-15495

KATHERINE SABELKO and NANCY BARTO,

Plaintiffs-Appellees ,

v.

THE Crry OF PHOENIX, SKIP RIMSZA," in his official

capacity as Mayor of the City of Phoenix, and THELDA

WILLIAMS, FRANCES EMMA BARWOOD, CRAIG TRIBKEN, JOHN

NELSON, KATHY DuBS, SALOMON F. LEUA, and CALVIN C.

GOODE, in their official capacity as members of the City

of Phoenix City Council,

Defendants-Appellants.

December 8, 1995

“Skip Rimsza, current Mayor of Phoenix, is substituted for

former Mayor Paul Johnson.

ee

2la

Before: SCHROEDER, BEEZER, and THOMPSON,

Circuit Judges.

A majority of the panel as constituted above has voted to

deny the petition for rehearing and to reject the suggestion for

rehearing en banc. Judge Beezer would grant the petition for

rehearing and accept the suggestion for rehearing en banc.

The full court has been advised of the suggestion for

rehearing en banc and no judge of the court has requested a vote

on the suggestion for rehearing en banc. Fed. R. App. P. 35.

The petition for rehearing is denied and the suggestion for

rehearing en banc is rejected.

22a

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICi COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

No. CIV 93-2229-PHX-SMM

KATHERINE SABELKO and NANCY BARTO,

Plaintiffs ,

THE City OF PHOENIX, ef al.,

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM OF DECISION AND ORDER

February 11, 1994

INTRODUCTION

On November 17, 1993 Phoenix City Ordinance No.

G3705 was enacted and made immediately effective. The

Ordinance, codified as Phoenix City Code § 23-10.1, provides:

WHEREAS unimpeded access to health care

services is critically and uniquely important to the public

health, safety, and welfare; and

23a

WHEREAS persons attempting to access health

care facilities are subject to harassing or intimidating

activity tending to impede their access to those facilities by

demonstrators approaching within extremely close

proximity; and

WHEREAS such activity near health care facilities

creates a "captive audience” situation where persons

seeking services cannot avoid the area outside the facilities,

and their physical and emotional conditions may make them

especially vulnerable to the adverse physiological and

emotional effects of such harassing or intimidating

activities directed at them from extremely close proximity;

and

WHEREAS such activity in extremely ciose

proximity tends to undermine a person’s right to privacy

and interfere with a person’s right to seek legitimate health

care treatment and counseling; and

WHEREAS this ordinance does not preclude all

protesting, picketing, demonstrating, leafletting, or

educational activities near a health care facility but is a

necessary time, place, and manner restriction intended to

reconcile and protect the First Amendment rights of

demonstrators and the rights of persons using health care

facilities to be free from direct confrontation, hindrance,

harassment, intimidation, and harm; and

WHEREAS existing law does not adequately

protect such access to health care facilities; NOW

THEREFORE,

BE IT ORDAINED by the Council of the City of

Phoenix as follows:

24a

SECTION 1. Chapter 23, Article 1, Phoenix City

Code is amended by adding section 23-10.1 to read:

Sec. 23-10.1 IMPEDING ACCESS TO HEALTH

CARE FACILITIES

A.

It is unlawful for any person, in the course

of demonstration activity within the access

area of a health care facility, to fail to

withdraw upon a clearly communicated

request to do so to a distance of at least

eight (8) feet away from any person who

has made the request.

For the purposes of this section:

"Access area" means any portion

of a public street or other public

place or any place open to the

public within one hundred (100)

feet of an exterior wall or

entryway of a health care facility.

"Demonstration activity” includes

but is not limited to protesting,

picketing, distributing literature,

attempting to impede access, or

engaging in oral _ protest,

education, or counseling activities.

“Health care facility” means any

hospital, clinic, office, building or

other place used to provide

medical, psychological, nursing,

or other health care services,

25a

including family planning

counseling and pregnancy-related

services.

4. For purposes of this section,

distance shall be measured from

that part of the closest

demonstrator’s body that is nearest

to the closest part of the requesting

person’s body. The term “body”

includes any natural or artificial

extension of a person’s body

including an outstretched arm or

hand-held sign.

SECTION 2. WHEREAS the immediate operation

of the provisions of this ordinance is necessary for the

preservation of the public peace, health, and safety, an

EMERGENCY is hereby declared to exist, and this

ordinance shall be in full force and effect from and after its

passage by the Council as required by the City Charter and

is hereby exempted from the referendum clause of said

Charter.

On November 23, 1993, Plaintiffs Katherine Sabelko ad

Nancy Barto filed CIV 93-2229-PHX-SMM. The named

Defendants are the City of Phoenix, the Mayor of Phoenix, and all

members of the Phoenix City Council. The Complaint seeks

declaratory and injunctive relief from Phoenix City Code § 23-10. 1

{hereinafter, “the Ordinance"] which, according to Plaintiffs,

"restricts the exercise of pristine First Amendment rights in

traditional public fora.”

In their Complaint, Plaintiffs challenge the Ordinance as:

(1) Count One: a violation of the right to freedom of speech under

eee ene. ee ak

te ere

26a

the First Amendment to the U.S. Constitution; (2) Count Two: a

violation of the right to freedom of the press under the First

Amendment to the U.S. Constitution; (3) Count Thrce: a violation

of the right to peaceable assembly under the First Amendnient to

the U.S. Constitution; (4) a violation of ine Due Process Clause of

the Fourteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution; (5) Count

Five: a violation of the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment to the U.S. Constitution; and (6) Counts Six through

Nine: violations of applicable parallel sections of the Arizona State

Constitution.

Plaintiffs applied for a Temporary Restraining Order

("TRO") pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 65. The

Court granted the TRO, thereby temporarily restraining and

enjoining the Defendants and any and all persons acting in concert

with them, including the Phoenix Police Department, from

enforcing the Ordinance. Pursuant to the stipulation of the parties,

the TRO has been continued pending a determination by the Court

on Plaintiffs’ application for a preliminary injunction.

On December 8, 1993, Planned Parenthood of Central and

Northern Arizona, Inc. [hereinafter "Petitioner" ] filed (1) a Motion

for Leave to Intervene in the above captioned matter, and (2) an ex

parte Motion for Order Expediting Hearing on its Motion to

Intervene. That same day, the Court granted the ex parte Motion

for Expedited Hearing and set oral argument on the Motion to

Intervene for 1:00 p.m. on Monday, December 13, 1993. The

Court denied the Motion to Intervene but granted Petitioner

permission to file a brief, amicus curiae.

The Court has reviewed the briefs submitted by the parties

and the amicus. Both an evidentiary hearing and oral argument on

the application for preliminary injunction were held on Friday,

December 17, 1993. After careful consideration of relevant

precedent, the evidence submitted, and the arguments presented,

27a

the Court herein rules on Plaintiffs’ application for a preliminary

injunction.

SCOPE OF FIRST AMENDMENT JUDICIAL REVIEW

"[T]he First Amendment reflects a ‘profound national

commitment’ to the principle that debate on public issues should be

uninhibited, robust, and wide-open . . . and [the Supreme Court]

ha[s}] consistently commented on the central importance of

protecting speech on public issues." Boos v. Barry, 485 U.S. 312,

318 (1988) (citations omitted).

Judicially defining the parameters of free speech is difficult.

The United States Supreme Court and the lower federal courts have

wrestled with this issue since the adoption of the First Amendment.

The analysis is even more difficult when, as in this case, First

Amendment rights clash with other competing constitutional rights.

While the case law is replete with scholarly analyses of the issue

concerning conflicting constitutional rights, the courts that attempt

to synthesize and harmonize the conflicting viewpoints expressed

in literally hundreds of pages of precedent are faced with a

formidable task. More importantly, though, the citizens who must

apply the holdings of these cases to the exercise of their rights in

everyday life must be overwhelmed by the legal resolution of these

conflicts that sometimes seem to provide conflicting practical

guidance.

At this juncture, it should be noted that on January 21,

1994, the Supreme Court granted certiorari in Madsen v. Women’s

Health Center, Inc., 1193 WL 514541, 62 U.S.L.W. 341 (Jan. 21,

1994). By granting this review, the Supreme Court will hear

arguments stemming from the Florida Supreme Court's decision in

Operation Rescue v. Women’s Health Center, Inc., 626 So.2d 664

(Fla. 1993), which upheld the provisions of an injunction that the

eet hn cathe | te Ma te re Nr Ce a hace ROD DiC A Yay A Maa

ied ot (weal wel

ee ee eee

28a

Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals declared unconstitutional in

Cheffer v. McGregor, 6 F.3d 705 (1ith Cir. 1993).' While this

Court anticipates the decision in Madsen will address some of the

issues raised in this case, it is important to note that the procedural

development of the cases is quite different. This case involves an

ordinance of general applicability which imposes criminal penalties

for violations. In contrast, the Florida case involves the provisions

of a court-ordered injunction with limited applicability to the parties

in the case, the provisions of which are only civilly enforceable.’

Thus, the Court issues this opinion rather staying the case pending

the decision in Madsen.

‘In Cheffer, an individual brought a judicial action seeking to

preliminarily enjoin enforcement of a state court injunction that

created a “buffer zone” which restricted anti-abortion speech in the

vicinity of an abortion clinic. The district court refused to grant

the preliminary injunction. On appeal, the Eleventh Circuit vacated

the district court’s order denying the preliminary injunction and

remanded the case for further consideration not inconsistent with

the constitutional analysis contained in its opinion, indicating the

injunction should be granted.

*Some of the difficulty the Court experienced in grappling with

the issues presented by this case stems from the fact that several of

the cases upon which the parties rely are, like Cheffer, based on the

interpretation of court-ordered injunctions rather than

constitutionally based challenges to provisions of criminal or

quasi-criminal law. The distinction is not merely one of semantics,

but rather, as discussed later in the Court’s opinion, is one of

consequence.

29a

ft ’

STANDARD OF REVIEW

The purpose of a preliminary injunction is to preserve the

status quo among the parties pending the outcome of the action.

Regents of the University of California v. A.B.C., Inc., 747 F.2d

511, 515 (9th Cir. 1974). Under the Ninth Circuit’s traditional test

for determining whether to issue a preliminary injunction, the

moving party must demonstrate the following:

1. The moving party will suffer irreparable injury if

the injunctive relief is not granted;

2. The moving party has a substantial likelihood of

succeeding on the merits;

3. An injunction will not harm the non-moving party

more than it helps the moving party; and

4. Granting injunctive relief is in the public interest.

City of Tenakee Springs v. Block, 778 F.2d 1402, 1407 (9th Cir.

1985); Martin v. Int’l Olympic Comm., 740 F.2d 670, 674-75 (9th

Cir. 1984).

In recent years, an alternative test has been articulated.

Under the alternative test, the moving party must demonstrate

either:

1. Probable success on the merits and the possibility

of irreparable harm; or

2. The lawsuit raises serious questions and the

balance of hardship tips sharply in the movant’s

favor.

aes Aes:

30a

Gilder v. PGA Tour, Inc., 936 F.2d 417, 422 (9th Cir. 1991);

City of Tenakee Springs, 778 F.2d at 1407; Martin, 740 F.2d at

675; Wilson v. Watt, 703 F.2d 395, 399 (9th Cir. 1983); Beltran

v. Meyers, 677 F.2d 1317, 1320 (9th Cir. 1982).

DISCUSSION

I. IRREPARABLE HARM

"It is undisputed that the loss of First Amendment freedoms

for even minimal periods of time unquestionably constitutes

irreparable injury." Elrod v. Burns, 427 U.S. 347, 373 (1976).

Thus, the irreparable harm part of the preliminary injunction test

is satisfied and tips in favor of the Plaintiffs. See also Memphis

Comm. School Dist. v. Stachura, 477 U.S. 299 (1986) (holding

monetary recovery cannot compensate for injury to intangible rights

guaranteed by the Constitution).

ll. LIKELIHOOD OF SUCCESS ON THE MERITS

A. First Amendment Rights Are Clearly Implicated

Plaintiffs declare that the "sidewalk counseling" in which

they engage consists of "efforts to educate, counsel, persuade, or

inform passer[s]by about abortion and abortion alternatives by

means of verbal and written speech. . . .". Sabelko Declaration at

4 7; Barto Declaration at ¢ 6. There is no question that such

conduct implicates First Amendment rights. See, e.g., City of

Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. 451 (1987) (oral protest rests at the very

heart of the right to free speech); United States v. Grace, 461 U.S.

171 (1983) (distribution of literature via leafletting is a form speech

which is an “expressive activity protected by the First

Amendment”).

3la

Amicus Planned Parenthood argues that First Amendment

rights are not the central issue in the case. Instead, Amicus asserts

that whatever impact the Ordinance may have on First Amendment

rights is secondary and incidental to the fact that the Ordinance

permissibly regulates conduct. As such, the Ordinance should not

be reviewed under the traditional time, place, and manner

restriction on free speech test, but rather should be reviewed under

the regulation of conduct test as set forth in United States v.

O’Brien, 391 U.S. 367, 377 (1968). The Court disagrees with

Amicus’ characterization of this issue for several reasons.

First, the scope of the holding in O’Brien case as originally

set forth in 1968 has been narrowed by subsequent cases. See,

e.g., Church of Scientology Flag Serv. Org., Inc. v. City of

Clearwater, 2 F.3d 1514 (11th Cir. 1993); Abney v. United States,

616 A.2d 856 (D.C. 1992). Moreover, the Supreme Court's

decisions regarding expressive conduct as speech in Texas v.

Johnson, 491 U.S. 397, 414 (1990) (holding flag burning to be

expressive speech protected by the First Amendment), and United

States v. Eichman, 496 U.S. 310, 319 (1990) (holding same as

Texas v. Johnson), further limit O’Brien ’s applicability.

Second, in Ward v. Rock Against Racism, 491 U.S. 781

(1989), the Supreme Court has made clear that the O’Brien test "is

little, if any, different from the standard applied to time, place,

and/or manner restrictions." Ward, 491 U.S. at 798.

Finally, Defendants conceded in their Response in

Opposition to the Application for Preliminary Injunction and again

at oral argument that they cannot argue that the Ordinance regulates

conduct since it restricts the ability to distribute leafiets which has

repeatedly been held to be tantamount to speech. See, e.g., United

States v. Grace, 461 U.S. 171 (1983). The very face of the

Ordinance in question in this case claims its legitimacy as a “time,

se MS nae Ws

« ae

32a

place, and manner restriction." Thus, the Ordinance must be

reviewed under the time, place, and manner test.

B. he Public Forum is Clearly Implicated

The degree of judicial scrutiny of the government

regulation frequently turns on the nature of the place being

regulated. The fora in which Plaintiffs exercise their First

Amendment rights include public streets and public sidewalks.

These streets and sidewalks are often within 100 feet of the

entrances to medical facilities, the area regulated by the Ordinance

in question n the present case. These areas constitute the

"quintessential" public fora for free speech which “have been

immemorially held in trust for the use of the public, and, time out

of mind, have been used for purposes of assembly, communication

of thoughts between citizens, and discussion of public questions."

Id. (quoting Hague v. Committee for Indus. Org., 307 U.S. 496

(1939)); see also Frisby v. Schultz, 487 U.S. 474, 480 (1988)

(quoting Hague).

All of the parties agree that the communications in which

Plaintiffs wish to engage are protected by the First Amendment via

the Fourteenth Amendment. See Plaintiffs’ Brief at 10;

Defendants’ Brief at 3; Gitlow v. New York, 268 U.S. 652 (1925)

(holding the Fourteenth Amendment Due Process Clause protects

freedom of expression against state infringement). With all parties

in agreement that the Ordinance seeks to regulate activity protected

by the First Amendment in a public forum, the issue is whether the

Ordinance does so within the limits prescribed by the Constitution.

33a

C. Permissible Restrict )

First Amendment Generally

There is no doubt that the First Amendment right to free

speech does not grant an unfettered right to all types of speech.

See, e.g., Roth v. United States, 354 U.S. 476 (1957) (obscene

speech); Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568 (1942)

(fighting words). What is clear, though, is that “above all else the

First Amendment means that government has no power to restrict

expression because of its message, its ideas, its subject matter, or

its content." Police Dept. of Chicago v. Mosley, 408 U.S. 92

(1972).

The exercise of First Amendment rights in the public forum

may be limited by regulations that are valid time, place, and

manner restrictions. Frisby v. Schultz, 487 U.S. 474, 480 (1988).

The Defendants contend that the Ordinance in this case meets the

"time, place, and manner restriction" test. For a time, place, and

manner restriction to withstand constitutional scrutiny, the

restrictions must:

l. be content neutral;

2 be narrowly tailored to serve a_ significant

governmental interest; and

3. leave open ample alternative channels of

communication.

Frisby, 487 U.S. at 481. The appropriate standard under which

this three-prong test is applied to review the propriety of a time,

place, and manner restriction is strict scrutiny. United States v.

Kokinda, 497 U.S. 720, 726 (1990). Applying this test, Phoenix

City Ordinance No. G3705 does not meet constitutional standards.

eee a

34a

D. Content Neutrality

In the context of the traditional public forum, the

distinction between a content-based regulation and a content neutral

time, place, and manner regulation is a crucial one. Any law

which regulates the time, place, and manner of protected speech

must not be based on the content of the message. E.g. Forsyth

County v. Nationalist Movement, 112 S.Ct. 2395 (1992).

Plaintiffs claim the Ordinance in question is not content

neutral because is applies to the category of speech termed

“demonstration activity,” defined in subsection (1)(B)(2) of the

Ordinance as including protesting, picketing, distributing literature,

or engaging in oral protest, education, or counseling activities.

While the Ordinance seemingly applies to all non-oral protesting

such as picketing or distributing literature, it applies only to those

spoken exercises of the right to freedom of speech which

constitutes “oral protest, education, or counseling.” The

Defendants argue the Ordinance makes no distinctions regarding the

content of communication and, ipso facto, is thus content neutral.

In Ward v. Rock Against Racism, 491 U.S. 781 (1989), the

Supreme Court stated that "the principle inquiry in determining

content neutrality . . . is whether the government has adopted a

regulation of speech because of disagreement with the message it

conveys.” /d. at 789.

The evidence submitted by the parties regarding the

legislative history of the Ordinance demonstrates, without

_ qualification, that the Ordinance was enacted in direct response to

“anti-abortion” speech outside medical clinics. See Transcript of

Discussion on Item 4, Phoenix City Council Policy Session on

November 16, 1993; Transcript of Discussion on Item 28, Phoenix

City Council Meeting on November 17, 1993.

35a

In Portland Feminist Women’s Health Center v. Advocates

for Life, Inc., 859 F.2d 681 (9th Cir. 1988) [hereinafter

Portland"), an injunction against "demonstrating or distributing

literature . . .; shouting, screaming, chanting, or yelling" by

anti-abortion organizations and those acting in concert was deemed

to be both content-neutral and a reasonable time, place, and manner

restriction on speech. /d. at 686. The court found the preliminary

injunction was not a content-based restriction of expression because

it did not refer to specific viewpoints that advocates raised at

demonstrations. Rather, the injunction focused on the location and

manner of expression, protecting the clinic from loudness and

physical intimidation, not from content of speech.’

Unlike the injunction in Portland, the Ordinance in question

in this case specifically targets “protest” communications. The

very fact that protest communications are targeted by the Ordinance

indicates that the law will turn on either the content of the speech

or the viewpoint expressed. If the speaker "protests," the speech

is prohibited by the Ordinance. On the other hand, if the speaker

“supports,” the speech may or may not be violative of the

Ordinance. Thus, the Ordinance imposes criminal liability

depending on the content and viewpoint of speech. Viewpoint

discrimination is unconstitutional. R.A.V. v. City of St. Paul,

Minn., 112 S.Ct. 2538 (1992).*

*The Court recognizes that the Eleventh Circuit’s decision in

Cheffer differs from this reasoning. Cheffer, 6 t-.3d at 710 n. 10.

“Tie Court notes that (1) the decision in Portland predated the

Supreme Court’s pronouncement regarding content neutrality in

R.A.V. v. City of St. Paul; (2) Portland reviewed the terms of an

injunction under the standards annunciated in Rule 65(d). a

different standard than is applicable in this case, as the Court is

(continued...)

36a

Defendants assert this is an improper characterization of the

Ordinance. They claim the Ordinance does not "target" any type

of speech, but rather would provide for criminal liability of any

speaker who failed to withdraw to the eight-foot minimum distance,

even if the speaker is demonstrating "support." The Court finds

this argument unpersuasive since the invocation of the “bubble

zone" will likely depend upon whether the listener agrees with or

disagrees with the content of the speaker’s communication.

"Listeners’ reaction to speech is not a content neutral basis for

regulation." Forsyth, 112 S.Ct. at 2403.

However, even if, arguendo, the Ordinance were deemed

to be content neutral, the Ordinance still fails as a time, place, and

manner restriction because it is not narrowly tailored to achieve the

governmental interest specified.

E. Narrowly Tailored

The First Amendment requires that a regulation on free

speech be narrow and precise. City of Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S.

451, 464-67 (1987). A law is "narrowly tailored if it targets and

eliminates no more than the exact source of the ‘evi!’ it seeks to

remedy." Frisby, 487 U.S. at 485 (citations omitted).

The City of Phoenix claims it has a _ significant

governmental interest in protecting "the right of persons using

health care facilities to be free from direct confrontation,

*(.. continued)

reviewing a legislative ordinance; and (3) the Portland court

specifically said that its analysis would differ if the injunction

applied to all persons, rather than just the parties to that lawsuit,

thereby precluding any “chilling effect" on the exercise of First

Amendment rights in the public at large.

37a

hindrance, harassment, intimidation, and harm." Plaintiffs asserted

at oral argument that the government is seeking to protect people

from "the impact of words." The Court need not decide whether

the City’s articulated interest is a valid, significant governmental

interest within the meaning of a reasonable time, place, and manner

restriction. For the purposes of this analysis, the Court presumes,

for the sake of argument, that there is a valid, legitimate

governmental interest at stake. Yet, even with this presumption,

the Court finds the Ordinance is not narrowly tailored to achieve

this interest.

The Defendants claim "this Ordinance is very narrowly

tailored to serve the identified government{al] interest. The harms

to persons approaching health care facilities flow from the close

proximity efforts of others to force their message on unwilling

listeners. The Ordinance has no application away from health

care facilities." Defendants’ Brief at 7 (footnote added). Once

again, the Court disagrees.

1. Overbreadth

The doctrine of overbreadth concerns the precision of a

law, and an analysis of whether the law in question sweeps too

broadly by indiscriminately reaching both protected and unprotected

expression. See, e.g., Gooding v. Wilson, 405 U.S. 518 (1972).

The fact that Defendants argue the Ordinance seeks to ptiect

the “unwilling listener" demonstrates that the Ordinance is not

content neutral since "listeners’ reaction to speech is not a content

neutral basis for regulation." Forsyth, 112 S.Ct. at 2403. It is the

very fact that some are offended by the content of the speech that

affords it First Amendment protection. Hustler Magazine, Inc. v.

Falwell, 485 U.S. 46, 55 (1988).

38a

The Ordinance in this case restricts such activities as the

display of signs, the distribution of literature, and even the mere

voicing of statements which are of an educational, counseling, or

protesting nature. Yet, the Supreme Court has affirmed the

constitutionally protected status of such activities. See Boos v.

Barry, 485 U.S. 312, 318 (1988) (public demonstration, including

display of signs and placards, lies “at the core" of the "First

Amendment"); City of Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. 451 (1987) (oral

protest rests at the very heart of the right to free speech); United

States v. Grace, 461 U.S. 171 (1983) (distribution of literature via

leafletting is a form speech which is an “expressive activity

protected by the First Amendment"); Carey v. Brown, 447 U.S.

455, 466-67 (1980) (picketing is an exercise of “basic constitutional

rights in their most pristine form").

The annunciated intent of this Ordinance is to prevent

impeded access to health care facilities. The overbreadth of the

Ordinance is most evident insofar as it restricts passive leafletting

and handbilling even though the Supreme Court has warned against

time, place, and manner restrictions on such conduct in the public

forum. See, e.g., Ward, 491 U.S. at 799 n. 7 ("a ban on

handbilling, of course, would suppress a great quantity of speech

that does not cause evils that its seeks to eliminate"); see also

Martin v. Struthers, 319 U.S. 141 (1943).

Defendants argue the Ordinance is not overbroad because

its allows an individual to ban certain activities only within eight

feet of his or her person.® Citing Frisby v. Schultz, 487 U.S. 474

*The fact that an individual has the power to effectuate this ban,

once again, demonstrates that the Ordinance is not content neutral

because its application turns on the subjective reaction of the

recipient of the speech at issue. Forsyth, 112 S.Ct. at 2403; Boos,

485 U.S. at 321 (O’Connor, J., concurring).

39a

(1988), Defendants assert that Plaintiffs only have a right to

distribute literature to a person willing to receive it. Frisby,

however, upheld a municipal ordinance which prohibited picketing

around a private residence. /d. at 483-85. The Court made it clear

that the First Amendment does not permit a speaker to force an

unwilling listener to be subject to the exercise of free speech in his

home. The Ordinance in this case, unlike the one in Frisby, does

not regulate speech in and around private homes but attempts to do

so on public streets and sidewalks.

Defendants correctly state there is no First Amendment

right to block a public street or sidewalk or to block ingress and

egress to a public or private building in an effort to exercise the

rights of free speech and expression. See, e.g., Cox v. Louisiana,

379 U.S. 536 (1965). From this proposition, and the holding in

Frisby, Defendants mistakenly extrapolate the legitimacy of the

"free zone" or “bubble zone" created by the Ordinance.

Specifically, Defendants assert:

The Phoenix City Council found that the eight foot

restriction was necessary to counteract specific abuses that

impede ingress to medical facilities. Plaintiffs would have

this Court second-guess whether the Phoenix City Council

could have achieved its goals with a narrower free zone.

Faced with similar challenges, other courts have declined

to entertain quibbling over a few feet.

Defendants’ Response at 11.

In essence, the Ordinance’s distance requirement effectively

prevents handbilling and leafletting based upon the subjective

reaction of the person to whom the literature is offered. It is

physically impossible to hand a leaflet or handbill to someone from

eight feet away. Moreover, those persons who are unwilling to

40a

accept it are free to refuse. If the people distributing the literature

attempt to force a handbill or leaflet on an unwilling recipient,

other provisions of the Arizona Criminal Code protect those

interests, including the provisions governing assauit and battery,

criminal trespass, stalking, disorderly conduct, disturbing the

peace, rioting, criminal nuisance, and, in the worst case scenario,

even murder.

The Court also notes that the present Ordinance is much

broader than the injunction upheld in Portland Feminist Women’s

Health Center v. Advocates for Life, 859 F.2d 681 (9th Cir. 1988).

First, Portland dealt with a civil preliminary injunction that was of

limited duration. The Phoenix Ordinance is both criminal and

permanent. Second, the injunction in that case was binding only

on the parties to the action and no one else. In contrast, the

Ordinance in this case restricts speech of all persons. Finally, the

Ninth Circuit narrowed the scope of the injunction to include only

"shouting, screaming, . . . [and] yelling that substantially

interfere[d] with the provision of medical services within the

{medical facilities at issue], including counseling." Jd. at 686.

Thus the volume of communications was reasonably restricted in

time, place, and manner, but the content of these communications

was not restricted. The alternative of quiet oral communication

was not enjoined. The scope of the Ordinance in the present case

is much broader as it restricts all types of First Amendment

activities that may fall under the umbrella of “demonstration

activities" whether they be peaceful or boisterous, quiet or loud, or

whether they interfere with the operation of the medical facility or

not. The Ordinance is therefore unconstitutionally overbroad.

2. Vesting of Power in Private Citizens

One of the most constitutionally troublesome aspects of this

Ordinance is the fact that what is subject to criminal punishment

4la

under the terms of the Ordinance is not objectively defined. The

Ordinance empowers private citizens with unrestrained discretion

to restrict or permit First Amendment expression. Where the

criminalization of protected First Amendment expression turns on

unfettered discretion, there is a substantial risk that the discretion

can be used in the suppression of ideas and is therefore

unconstitutional. Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88 (1940).

Defendants and Amicus argue the unfettered discretion

issue was resolved by the Supreme Court in Rowan v. United States

Post Office Dep’t, 397 U.S. 728, 736 (1970). Rowan upheld a

statute under which the recipient of a mailed advertisement could

require the mailer to remove the recipient’s name from its mailing

lists if the advertisement offered to sell "matter which the addressee

in his sole discretion believes to be erotically arousing or sexually

provocative." /d. at 736-37. Thus, Rowan involved a reasonable

regulation designed to protect the privacy of homeowners. As

discussed below, the Supreme Court has upheld a number of

restrictions on First Amendment rights when the exercise of these

rights forces someone in the privacy of their own home to be an

unwilling recipient of communications. See also Frisby, 487 U.S.

at 487; Kovacs v. Cooper, 336 U.S. 77 (1949). Since this

Ordinance in the present case regulates in the public forum away

from the home the Court is not persuaded that the rationale of

Rowan is applicable to this case.

In Gooding v. Wilson, 405 U.S. 518 (1972), a Georgia

breach of the peace statute was held unconstitutionally overbroad.

The statute made it "a breach of the peace merely to speak words

offensive to some who hear them, and so [swept] too broadly." /d.

at 527. Unlike Gooding, the Ordinance in this case does not, on

its face, claim to impose criminal liability based on whether the

listener finds the expression “offensive.” However, the Ordinance

does so sub silentio. Thus, like Gooding, the application of the

: 42a

Ordinance would turn on the content of the message being

expressed. The fact that some listeners might be disturbed or feel

harassed by the content of the speech does not diminish its

constitutionally protected status. If it is the speaker's opinion that

gives rise to the offense, that consequence is a reason for according

it constitutional protection. Simon & Schuster, Inc. v. Members of

N.Y. State Crime Victims Bd., 112 S.Ct. 501, 509 (1991). In other

words, it is the very fact that members of society might find the

idea expressed to be offensive or disagreeable that is the basis for

the First Amendment protection of the message in the first place.

See Texas v. Johnson, 491 U.S. at 414; United States v. Eichman,

496 U.S. at 319.

Because a valid time, place, and manner restriction on First

Amendment freedoms must be narrowly tailored, the Ordinance

which fails to put objective criteria for its enforcement in place

cannot stand. See Forsyth County, 112 S.Ct. at 2403.

3. Vagueness

The vagueness doctrine is based on due process principles

that require fair notice and warning. It incorporates a requirement

that a law be sufficiently specific to avoid arbitrary and

discriminatory enforcement by police and courts. Connally v.

General Constr. Co., 269 U.S. 385, 391 (1926). An

unconstitutionally vague law delegates basic policy matters to

policemen, judges, and juries for resolution ou an ad hoc and

subjective basis, with the attendant dangers of arbitrary and

discriminatory application. Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S.

104, 108-09 (1972).

The most stringent of scrutiny is applied to the examination

of a statute for vagueness when the statute induces a chill on free

speech. See, e.g., Hynes v. Mayor & Council of Oradell, 425 U.S.

43a

610, 620 (1976) (stating the general test for vagueness applies with

particular force in review of laws dealing with speech); Smith v.

California, 361 U.S. 147, 149 (1959). The requirement of

specificity in legislation that impacts on First Amendment rights

seeks to preclude a chill on free speech that results from vague

laws: "“[uJjncertain meanings inevitably lead citizens to steer far

wider of the unlawful zone . . . than if the boundaries of the

forbidden areas were clearly marked." Grayned, 408 U.S. at 109

(citations omitted). Applying this test to the Ordinance in question,

it is clear that it cannot withstand constitutional scrutiny for

vagueness.

The Ordinance by its own terms is intended to protect

persons in a “captive audience"? who find certain speech

“harassing or intimidating." Where the lawfuiness of speech turns

on the reactions of others, the restriction is unconstitutional.

Coates v. Cincinnati, 402 U.S. 611, 611-14 (1971). In Coates, the

Court struck down an ordinance that made it illegal for "three or

more persons to assemble . . . on any of the sidewalks . . . and

there conduct themselves in a manner annoying to persons passing

by ...." dd. at 611. The Court held that a city cannot enact an

ordinance whose violation depends on the subjective reactions of

others. /d. at 614.

Defendants argue that unlike the situation in Coates, the

present Ordinance sets a specific standard for conduct: persons

engaged in demonstration activity must withdraw at least eight feet

from the person making the request to do so. Defendants fail to

recognize, however, that there are two distinct areas of uncertainty

"The significance of a "captive audience” is discussed below at

pages 28-32. Even if the captive audience doctrine were applicable

in this case, that would not save the Ordinance from being

unconstitutionally vague.

44a

that are at the very crux of the vagueness problem presented by this

Ordinance: (1) what is “demonstration activity"; and (2) what

constitutes a "clearly communicated request" to withdraw.

The Ordinance declares that "demonstration activity"

includes, but is not limited to, "protesting, picketing, distributing

literature, attempting to impede access, or engaging in oral protest,

education, or counseling activities." A speaker cannot, from this

definition, know with constitutional certainty when speech will be

deemed criminal under the terms of the Ordinance. For exampie,

what does the term “oral protest" include? Songs? Speeches?

Prayer? Because the resolution of such questions will turn on the

subjective and ad hoc determinations of police, judges, and juries,

the Ordinance is void for vagueness. Grayned, 408 U.S. at

108-09.

Moreover, what constitutes a clearly communicated request

to withdraw? "I do not wish to hear from you, please withdraw to

the minimum eight feet distance to allow me to pass unimpeded to

the clinic" would be a clearly articulated request under the

Ordinance, the failure with which to comply would subject the

speaker to criminal liability. More realistically, however, the

communication might be "get lost" or “buzz off." What about

"shut up!"? A grunt? A push? A roll of the eyes with a mumbled

swear word? The fact that the reactions and expressions of a

private individual can cause the speaker to be subject to criminal

liability and the fact that the speaker must interpret whether there

has been a clearly communicated request to withdraw both

demonstrate the lack of objective criteria that ordinary, reasonable

people would have to determine whether they are subject to the

provisions of the Ordinance. See Connally v. Generai Constr. Co.,

269 U.S. 385, 391 (1926).

Defendants and Amicus have pointed the Court to some

authority that suggests whether there has been a clearly articulated

45a

request to withdraw is a question of fact that would provide a

defense to someone charged under the Ordinance. This begs the

point. The very fact that someone will not know if they are subject

to criminal liability under the Ordinance until after they are

arrested and tried demonstrates why the Ordinance is vague.

Judges and juries could easily differ on whether “shut up" or a

similar comment clearly communicated a request to withdraw.

Such subjective and ad hoc determinations show the vagueness of

the Ordinance. Grayned, 408 U.S. at 108-09.

In short, the Ordinance uses terms which are so indefinite

that persons of common intelligence must guess at their meaning

and differ a to their application. The Ordinance is therefore

unconstitutionally vague. Connally, 269 U.S. at 391.

4. Alternative Channels of Communication

The Supreme Court has held that a restriction on free

speech that claims to be a valid time, place, and manner restriction

must leave open alternative channels of communication. Forsyth

County, 112 S.Ct. at 2401; Frisby, 487 U.S. at 481. Under this

test, a regulation is invalid if the restricted forum constitutes a

“uniquely valuable or important mode of communication.”

Taxpayers for Vincent, 466 U.S. at 812.

In Taxpayers for Vincent, the Court upheld a ban on the

posting of signs on pubiic property because the ban did not affect

any individual's freedom to exercise the right to speak in the same

place where the posting of signs was prohibited. Taxpayers for

Vincent, 466 U.S. at 812. Unlike in that case, the Phoenix

Ordinance reaches all types of communication that may fall within

the vague and overbroad definition of “demonstration activities.”

46a

As stated above, the Supreme Court has recognized

hand-to-hand leafletting as a uniquely valuable mode of

communication protected under the First Amendment. See, ¢.g.,

Organization for a Better Austin v. Keefe, 402 U.S. 415, 419

(1971). If a leafletter is required to move more than eight feet

away from the intended recipient, there is no equally valuable or

effective means of communication tantamount to leafletting that are

left open.

The Ordinance sought to alleviate some of the “harassing

or intimidating" types of confrontations that have unfortunately

beleaguered the persons whom this Ordinance seeks to protect.

Ironically, by preventing leafletting and handbilling, the Ordinance

leaves no mode of communication open other than withdrawing to

a certain distance and orally communicating with a raised voice.

The Ordinance thereby forces those who wish to exercise their First

Amendment rights to resort to shouting from a distance, which

inevitably leads to a more hostile and confrontory environment than

does peaceful handbilling and leafletting. Moreover, by forcing

“demonstration activities" to occur at distances that require

amplified volume for the messages to be received by the target

audience, the Ordinance may be subjecting those seeking to engage

in free speech activities to be subject to other criminal sanctions,

such as public nuisance, disorderly conduct, and disturbing the

peace. Clearly, the Ordinance therefore does not leave open ample

alternative channels of communication.

Ill. THE BALANCING OF EQUITIES

As illustrated by the analysis above, the balancing of

hardships clearly tips in favor of the Plaintiffs. Balancing the

equities in this case is most difficult, though, since First

Amendment rights are at issue on one hand and, in the most basic

of terms, the right to be left alone is on the other. See, e.g. Rowan

47a

v. United States Post Office Dep't, 397 U.S. 728, 736 (1970) ("no

one has the right to press even good ideas on an unwilling

recipient"). In describing this part of the preliminary injuncti6n

analysis, the Court in Cheffer stated:

It is difficult indeed to weigh the relative value of different

constitutional rights. Our sister circuit described a similar

abortion protest case as a "clash . . . between constitutional

rights defined by the Supreme Court: an old one tracing

its roots to the speech clause of the First Amendment and

before, and a new one stemming from Roe v. Wade."

+_ * **

The clash here is between an actual prohibition of speech

and a potential hinderance to the free exercise of abortion

rights. Should the district court issue an injunction barring

the state court from enforcing its injunction as a criminal

statute, it would promote only speech and expressive

conduct, not assault, trespass, or destruction of property.

Cheffer v. McGregor, 6 F.3d 705, 711 (11th Cir.1993).

Part of this analysis involves the application of the so-called

“captive audience” doctrine. When a case presents, as this one

does, a conflict between the right to speak and the right to be left

alone, the right of the listener is entitled to considerable weight

when the listener is a member of a captive audience. See, e.g.,

Frisby, 487 U.S. at 487; Cohen v. California, 403 U.S. 15 (1971).

In general, the captive audience doctrine does not apply

when the unwilling audience is located on a public street or

sidewalk because they can avoid the unwanted message simply by

walking away or averting their eyes. Erznoznik v. Jacksonville,

48a

422 U.S. 205, 211 (1975); Cohen v. California, 403 U.S. at 21.

It is an inevitable byproduct of life in modern day society,

especially in an urban setting, that “we are often captives outside

the sanctuary of the home and [thus] subject to objectionable

speech.” Rowan v. United States Post Office Dep't, 397 U.S. 728,

738 (1970). Due to this fact, the Supreme Court has consistently

rejected application of the captive audience docirine in cases

involving free speech that occurs outside the home or its environs.

For example, in Erznoznik v. Jacksonville, 422 U.S. 205

(1975), the Court invalidated a city ordinance prohibiting drive-in

movie theaters from showing films containing nudity where the

screen was visible from a public street. The Court specifically

found (1) the ordinance was not content neutral, and (2) the public

was not a captive audience. Similarly in Hess v. Indiana, 414 U.S.

105 (1973), the fact that persons on a public street could not shield

themselves from the use of a particularly offensive swear word in

a loud voice on a public street did not give rise to a situation where

the captive audience doctrine could apply. These cases illustrate

that the balance between the offensive speaker and the unwilling

audience may sometimes tip in favor of the speaker; the offended

listener is required to turn away. FCC v. Pacifica Foundation, 438

U.S. 726, 749 n. 27 (1978)-

The captive audience doctrine is most often applied in cases

where the unwilling audience is subjected to the speaker's

expressive activity near the home. For example, in Frisby, 487

U.S. at 487, the Court upheld a local ordinance banning “focused”

picketing of a physician's private residence on the ground that the

speech at issue made the residents of the doctor’s house “captives”

in their own home. Similarly, in Kovacs v. Cooper, 336 U.S. 77

(1949), the Court upheld a ban on amplified sound trucks because

they were so intrusive that they made it impossible for people to

escape their message.

49a

Outside of the setting of the home, especially in the public

forum, the doctrine has limited application. It is clear, though, that

the captive audience doctrine can be used outside the residential

setting "when the degree of captivity makes it impractical for the

unwilling viewer or auditor to avoid exposure." Erznoznik, 422

U.S. at 209. When a situation rises to the level of making it

impractical for the unwilling viewer or auditor to avoid exposure

is a question of degree. The most clear cut example of a captive

audience are inmates in a prison. Slightly less captive are those in

the armed forces or children in public schools. While the public

on a street fails far short of these highly captive audiences, there

are situations when the Supreme Court has applied the doctrine in

the public forum.

The most practical application of the captive audience

doctrine in the public forum occurs when the unwilling audience is

physically constrained by their environment. For example, in

Lehman v. Shaker Heights, 418 U.S. 298 (1974), a plurality

opinion by the Supreme Court found the doctrine to apply to rapid

transit passengers on municipally-owned buses.

The Court finds that the captive audience rationale does not

apply under the facts and circumstances of this case. The types of

restrictions upheld in Frisby and Kovacs are far less restrictive than

those imposed by the Ordinance in this case since those cases left

open other alternative channels for communication. Unlike in

Lehman, the forum being regulated by the Phoenix Ordinance

includes public streets and sidewalks, not the enclosure of a bus,

streetcar, or subway train.

Given the overbreadth of the Ordinance, it cannot be said

that every person seeking access to every medical facility in the

City of Phoenix is a captive to whatever message a person may be

seeking to deliver in the public fora surrounding these facilities.

50a

For example, people are not forced to take and read literature

offered to them outside a medical facility. They have the choice

not to accept a leaflet or handbill. They also have the choice to

take what is offered and simply discard it without ever reading it

by "simply averting their eyes." Erznoznik, 422 U.S. at 211. The

- ability of an individual to effectuate a ban on handbilling under the

provisions of the Ordinance demonstrates that the Ordinance simply

goes too far in seeking to protect the right o be left alone.

Additionally, because the Ordinance is not narrowly

tailored to advance the governmental interest of providing

unimpeded access to medical facilities, the captive 2udience

doctrine cannot be used to salvage the Ordinance. In City of

Watseka v. lliinois Public Action Council, 796 F.2d 1547 (7th Cir.

1986), aff'd without opinion, 499 U.S. 1048 (1987), the court

declared an ordinance unconstitutional which regulated door-to-door

solicitation of private residences. The court found that the

ordinance was not narrowly tailored to meet even the captive

audience problem of the unwilling audience in the home. The

Supreme Court summarily affirmed the decision.

Given the multiplicity of constitutional problems with this

Ordinance and the extent of these constitutional infirmities, the

First and Fourteenth Amendment rights of those who may be the

subject of criminal prosecution under the Ordinance must outweigh

the rights of those who seek to be left alone, even if a captive

audience situation were to apply.

Enjoining the enforcement of the Ordinance promotes only

speech and expressive conduct protected by the First Amendment.

By issuing the injunction today, the Court does not condone

“assault, trespass, or destruction of property,” or any other forms

of violence. Cheffer, 6 F.3d at 711. The Constitution provides for

peaceable assembly, not riotous behavior or mayhem. The City

S5la

has at its disposal many laws to deal with those individuals who

cannot peaceably assemble to exercise their freedom of expression

to which the Constitution is no bar. The City may also choose to

revise the Ordinance in question within the boundaries prescribed

by the Constitution. See National Organization for Women v.

Operation Rescue, 914 F.2d 582 (4th Cir. 1990) (upholding

injunction prohibiting pro-life organization and its members from

trespassing on, blockading, impeding, or obstructing access to or

egress from medical clinics at which abortions were performed),

rev'd in part & vacated in part, sub nom. Bray v. Alexandria

Women’s Health Clinic, 113 §.Ct. 753 (1993) (holding the Klu

Klux Klan Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1985, could not be used to bring suit

for conspiracy to deprive constitutional rights against anti-abortion

protestors).*

IV. THE PUBLIC INTEREST

Freedom of expression is at the very core of our

constitutional liberties. The First Amendment continues to reflect

a “profound national commitment to the principle that debate on

public issues should be uninhibited, robust, and wide-open .. . ."

Boos, 485 U.S. at 318. Such robust debate is always accompanied

by differences of opinion. Often these differences are profound

and spark intensity of feeling and emotion. Indeed, “vehement,

caustic, and sometimes unpleasantly sharp" speech is protected by

the Constitution. New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254,

*The Supreme Court recently held in National Organization for

Women, Inc. v. Scheidler, 1994 WL 13716, 62 U.S.L.W. 4073

(U.S. Jan. 24, 1994), that RICO statutes could be used to prosecute

demonstrators who protest outside medical facilities which provide

abortion services. While worthy of mention, the Court does not

believe that the decision in that case impacts the Court’s analysis

in the present case.

52a

270, (1964). There are, no doubt, times when all of us wish that

we did not have to put up with another person’s exercise of these

protected rights. Such, however, is the price we pay for living in

a democracy. It serves the public interest to issue the injunction

since doing so thereby fosters our democratic ideals and freedoms.

CONCLUSION

The City of Phoenix passed the Ordinance in an attempt to

provide unimpeded access to health care services for its citizens.

While the Court understands the City’s motives in establishing a

neutral zone of passage around Phoenix medical facilities, the

Court cannot overlook the fact that the mechanism the City uses to

accomplish this end is an ordinance which fails to meet

constitutional standards under the First Amendment.

For the reasons set forth above, the Court finds:

1. The Plaintiffs will suffer irreparable injury if the

injunctive relief is not granted.

2. The Plaintiffs have demonstrated a substantial

likelihood of succeeding on the merits because the

Ordinance is not a valid time, place, and manner

regulation of free speech due to the fact that:

(a) the Ordinance is not a content neutral

regulation of free speech;

(b) the Ordirance is not narrowly tailored to

achieve the stated governmental interest;

(c) the Ordinance is unconstitutionally vague;

and

53a

(d) the Ordinance fails to leave open

alternative methods of communication in

the public forum in which the law

regulates.

3. The issuance of the injunction will not harm the

City of Phoenix more than it helps the Plaintiffs.

4. Granting injunctive relief is in the public interest,

as it fosters the core constitutional value of

freedom of expression.

IT IS ORDERED that Plaintiffs’ Application for a

Preliminary Injunction is hereby GRANTED.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Phoenix City Ordinance

No. G3705, codified as Phoenix City Code § 23-10.1, is hereby

DECLARED UNCONSTITUTIONAL as violative of the First

and Fourteenth Amendments of the United States Constitution.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Defendants, and

any and all persons acting in concert with them, including, but not

limited to their agents, servants, employees, attorneys, and the

Phoenix Police Department, are hereby RESTRAINED AND

ENJOINED from enforcing Phoenix City Ordinance No. G3705,

codified as Phoenix City Code § 23-10.1, due to the

unconstitutionality of the Ordinance as described herein.

Dated this 11th day of February, 1994.

/s/ Stephen M. McNamee

United States District Judge

54a

APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

No. CIV 93-2229-PHX-SMM

KATHERINE SABELKO and NANCY BARTO,

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

THE CiTy OF PHOENIX, ef al.,

Defendants.

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

February 11, 1994

Jury Verdict. This action came before the Court for a

trial by jury. The issues have been tried and the jury : as

rendered its verdict.

Decision by Court. This action came to trial or hearing

before the Court. The Issues have been tried or heard and

a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED plaintiffs’ Application

for a Preliminary Injunction is granted.

55a

FURTHER ADJUDGED that Phoenix City Ordinance No.

G3705, codified as Phoenix City Code § 23-10.1, is hereby

declared unconstitutional as violative of the First and Fourteenth

Amendments of the United States Constitution.

FURTHER ADJUDGED that the defendants, and any and

all persons acting in concert with them, including, but not limited

to their agents, servants, employees, attorneys, and the Phoenix

Police Department, are hereby restrained and enjoined from

enforcing Phoenix City Ordinance No. G3705, codified as Phoenix

City Code § 23-10.1, due to the unconstitutionality of the

Ordinance.

February 11, 1994 Richard H. Weare

Date Clerk

/s/ C. Evans

(By) C. Evans, Deputy Clerk

56a

APPENDIX E

ORDINANCE NO. G3705

AN ORDINANCE AMENDING CHAPTER 23,

ARTICLE 1 OF THE PHOENIX CITY CODE, BY

ADDING SECTION 23-10.1, RELATING TO

UNIMPEDED ACCESS TO HEALTH CARE

FACILITIES; AND DECLARING AN EMERGENCY.

WHEREAS, unimpeded access to health care services is

critically and uniquely important to the public health, safety and

welfare; and

WHEREAS, persons attempting to access health care

facilities are subject to harassing or intimidating activity tending to

impede their access to those facilities by demonstrators approaching

within extremely close proximity; and

WHEREAS, such activity near health care facilities creates

a “captive audience” situation where persons seeking services

cannot avoid the area outside the facilities, and their physical and

emotional conditions may make them especially vulnerable to the

adverse physiological and emotional effects of such harassing or

intimidating activities directed at them from extremely close

proximity; and

WHEREAS, such activity in extremely close proximity

tends to undermine a person’s right to privacy and interfere with

a person’s right to seek legitimate health care treatment and

counseling; and

WHEREAS, this ordinance does not preclude all protesting,

picketing, demonstrating, leafleting or educational activities near a

health care facility but is a necessary time, place and manner

57a

restriction intended to reconcile and protect the First Amendment

rights of demonstrators and the rights of persons using health care

facilities to be free from direct confrontation, hindrance,

harassment, intimidation and harm; and

WHEREAS, existing law does not adequately protect such

access to health care facilities; NOW THEREFORE,

BE IT ORDAINED by the Council of the City of Phoenix

as follows:

«-

SECTION 1. Chapter 23, Article 1, Phoenix City Code,

is amended by adding section 23-10.1 to read:

Sec. 23-10.1 IMPEDING ACCESS TO HEALTH CARE

FACILITIES.

A. It is unlawful for any person, in the course of

demonstration activity within the access area of a health

care facility, to fail to withdraw upon a clearly

communicated request to do so to a distance of at least

eight (8) feet away from any person who has made the

request.

B. For purposes of this section:

1. "Access area" means any portion of

a public street or other public place or any place

open to the public within one hundred (100) feet of

an exterior wall or entryway of a health care

facility.

2. "Demonstration activity" includes

but is not limited to prctesting, picketing,

distributing literature, attempting to impede access,

58a

or engaging in oral protest, education or

counseling activities.

3. "Health care facility" means any

hospital, clinic, office, building or other place used.

to provide medical, psychological, nursing or other

health care services, including family planning

counseling and pregnancy- related services.

Ce For purposes of this section, distance shall

be measured from that part of the closest demonstrator’s

body that is nearest to the closest part of the requesting

person’s body. The term "body" includes any natural or

artificial extension of a person’s body including but not

limited to an outstretched arm or a hand-held sign.

SECTION 2. WHEREAS, the immediate operation of the

provisions of this ordinance is necessary for the preservation of the

public peace, healti and safety, an EMERGENCY is hereby

declared to exist, and this ordinance shall be in full force and effect

from and after its passage by the Council as required by the City

Charter and is hereby exempted from the referendum clause of said

Charter.

PASSED by the Council of the City of Phoenix this 17th

day of November, 1993.

/s/ Paul Johnson

Mayor

ATTEST:

/s/ Vicky Miel City Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

/s/ Rod McDougall City Attorney

REVIEWED BY:

/s/ Frank Fairbanks City Manager

= ea . he,

(ue a om i

wi me

ee mea

- ~

p ~ + te

; e) =,

wv : eatad, se

° var - * we we eri t 2

i My Ph a ee a |

”

: : os —< or ee) Ss

4 Jot to cy te oe

; ras 2 ey eae etd heer gs © aaa’ ee aoe

. be i i Nei ty ee -re i 1 ae

7 ,

7 ri ur (es r _w »

a - Pao: shy a Ss? 5 : ;

ot P

- r . ' a >. — ' - ‘ 4 »

S 7 J & ad P * -

; o

ir bate .

. = . - . ‘[ ~*~ eo , “4

a :

a |

= rind fats

¥ . ' f re Sty S- w te

%, »

“ey - é 1 U m

» - e e F :

i .

-_ J

r] a

| ial SA sein gehen nae Sree

. ; ts oe ea

= a ‘ he | , pia ba att nn 4 oe

i oo - : A oF ae

59a

APPENDIX F

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

No. CV 94-2243 RG (JRx)

VICKIE L. EDWARDS, ef al.,

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

THE City OF SANTA BARBARA, ef al.,

Defendants.

ORDER

Dated March 13, 1995

Filed March 14, 1995

Entered March 15, 1995

This matter came before the Court on Plaintiffs’ renewed

motion for a preliminary injunction and Defendants’ motion for

summary judgment. Plaintiffs’ motion is GRANTED and

Defendants’ is DENIED.

60a

I. BACKGROUND

In May of 1993, the City Council of defendant City of

Santa Barbara ("the City") adopted an ordinance limiting protest

activity outside medical clinics and places of worship ("the

Ordinance"). The Ordinance was passed in the wake of complaints

by individuals and organizations about the conduct of anti-abortion

protestors. For instance, a representative of a local Planned

Parenthood clinic complained that protestors were disrupting

traffic, impeding access to the clinic, and confronting patients and

staff members in a harassing fashion. See, e.g., Exhibits 103, 104

to Defendants’ Opposition to Preliminary Injunction (letters to City

Council members from Executive Director of Planned Parenthood

of Santa Barbara, detailing incidents and complaints and requesting

legislative response). There were also complaints that protestors

had confronted abortion providers at their churches.

A. T di

The Ordinance has two main provisions.' Section

9.99.030 ("the Driveway Provision") prohibits all "demonstration

activity” on or within eight feet of the driveway of a health care

facility or place of worship. "Demonstration activity" is defined

to include "all expressive or symbolic content, whether active or

'The full text of the Ordinance is set forth in the Appendix to

this Order.

*The second clause of Section 9.99.030 prohibits impeding

access to a clinic or place of worship: "No person shall impede

access to a driveway entrance of a health care facility or place of

worship by any conduct which delays or impedes the flow of

pedestrian or vehicular traffic in or out of such facility." Plaintiffs

do not challenge this provision.

6la

passive... ." Ordinance at 9.99.010(D). Section 9.99.020 ("the

Bubble Zone Provision") forbids a person from "impeding" or

"hampering" access to a health care facility or place of worship by

failing to withdraw to eight feet away from a person when the

person so requests. This provision is effective in the "access area",

which is the area within 100 feet of a health facility or place of

worship. Ordinance at 9.99.010(A). Obviously, both provisions

encompass activity on public sidewalks.

B._ The Instant Suit

This action was brought by two anti-abortion "sidewalk

counselors" who challenge the constitutionality of the Ordinance.

Plaintiffs Vickie Edwards ("Edwards") and Kathleen Rose

McCaulley ("McCaulley") claim that they seek, inter alia, to

“engage in peaceful hand-to-hand leafletting , one-on-one counseling

about abortion alternatives, and periodically hold signs with a pro-

life, anti-abortion message." McCaulley Declaration at { 4;

Edwards Declaration at ¢ 4. Edwards and McCaulley want to

conduct these activities outside of medical facilities providing

abortion services within the City.

Both Edwards and McCaulley claim that the Ordinance

chills and deters them from this planned expressive activity.

Specifically, they claim that they are afraid to engage in any

communicative activities within eight feet of a clinic driveway.

Edwards Declaration at 4 12-13; McCaulley Declaration at ¢{

12- 13. Edwards complains that the Bubble Zone Provision

prevents her from conducting effective one-on-one counseling or

leafletting, as the eight-foot zone makes it impossible to hand

‘Some of the cases on this subject use the term “bubble zone"

very broadly to encompass all limited-speech areas. This Court

uses it only to describe one specific provision of the Ordinance.

62a

leaflets to people and forces her to speak at a volume that "prevents

empathy and sometimes even causes stress." Second Edwards

Declaration at ¢ 9-11. Edwards has been arrested for violation of

the Driveway Provision, though the charges were dismissed.

Fourth Edwards Declaration at 444-10.*

Plaintiffs brought the instant suit for injunctive relief

against the City and members of the City Council, arguing that the

Driveway and Bubble Zone Provisions violate the First Amendment

to the United States Constitution. This Court denied a motion for

a preliminary injunction against the Driveway Provision in an order

dated May 24, 1994.°

Plaintiffs now move for a preliminary injunction against

both provisions, presenting evidence of legislative history for the

first time. Defendants move for summary judgment, arguing that

the undisputed facts show that the Ordinance is constitutional.

Il. THE LEGAL STANDARDS

A._The Standard for Summary Judgment

Under F.R.C.P. 56, summary judgment is proper if there

are no genuine issues of material fact and the moving party is

*Based <n these facts, there is no question that plaintiffs have

standing to make a facial, pre-enforcement challenge to the

Ordinance. See Virginia v. American Booksellers Ass'n, Inc. , 484

U.S. 383, 393, 108 S.Ct. 636, 98 L.Ed.2d 782 (1988); Ripplinger

v. Collins, 868 F.2d 1043, 1046 (9th Cir.1989). Defendants do

not argue otherwise.

°*To the extent that this Court’s previous ruling is inconsistent

with this opinion, it is hereby VACATED.

63a

entitled to a judgment as a matter of law. F.R.C.P. 56(c). A

party resisting summary judgment has the affirmative obligation to

bring forward evidence "on which the jury could reasonably find

for [the nonmoving party]." Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477

U.S. 242, 252, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 91 L.Ed.2d 202 (1986). A mere

scintilla of evidence will not suffice. "Where the record taken as

a whole could not lead a rational trier of fact to find for the

nonmoving party, there is no ‘genuine issue for trial’.". Matsushita

Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 587, 106

S.Ct. 1348, 89 L.Ed.2d 538 (1986).

B._ The Standard for a Prelimi —

The Ninth Circuit’s traditional test for determining whether

to issue a preliminary injunction requires the moving party to

demonstrate the following:

a The moving party will suffer irreparable injury if

the injunctive relief is not granted;

2. The moving party has a substantial likelihood of

succeeding on the merits;

3. An injunction will not harm the non-moving party

more than it helps the moving party; and

4. Granting injunctive relief is in the public interest.

City of Tenakee Springs v. Block, 778 F.2d 1402, 1407 (9th Cir.

1985); Martin v. Int’l Olympic Comm. , 740 F.2d 670, 674-75 (9th

Cir. 1984).

64a

More recently, the Ninth Circuit has articulated an

alternative test. Under this test, the moving party must

demonstrate either:

i. Probable success on the merits and the possibility

of irreparable harm; or

R The lawsuit raises serious questions and the balance

of hardships tips sharply in the movant’s favor.

Gilder v. PGA Tour, Inc., 936 F.2d 417, 422 (9th Cir. 1991).

Therefore, for the purpose of plaintiffs’ motion, this Court

must evaluate whether plaintiffs have shown probable success on

the merits and the possibility of irreparable harm.

Il, AN O Ww

This case presents a facial challenge to a time, place, and

manner restriction of speech in a public forum. Therefore, the

Court’s First Amendment analysis will proceed in discrete and

predictable stages. See, e.g., Ward v. Rock Against Racism, 491

U.S. 781, 791, 109 S.Ct. 2746, 105 L.Ed.2d 661 (1989).

First, the Court must determine if the Ordinance is content

neutral. If the Ordinance is not content neutral, it is presumptively

invalid, and will only survive if the City can show that it is

necessary to serve a compelling state interest, and narrowly tailored

to meet that end. Simon & Schuster v. Crime Victims Bd., 502

U.S. 105, --, 112 S.Ct. 501, 116 L.Ed.2d 476, 486-488 (1991).

If the Ordinance is content neutral, then it will stand if it is

narrowly tailored to serve a significant government interest. Ward,

491 U.S. at 791, 109 S.Ct. at 2746, 105 L.Ed.2d 661.

65a

A restriction of First Amendment activity is narrowly

tailored if it "targets and eliminates no more than the exact source

of the ‘evil’ it seeks to remedy." Frisby v. Schultz, 487 U.S. 474,

108 S.Ct. 2495, 101 L.Ed.2d 420 (1988). This Court’s

determination of whether the Ordinance is narrowly tailored entails

a constitutional overbreadth analysis of both the Bubble Zone and

the Driveway provisions.

"Only a statute that is substantially overbroad may be

invalidated on its face." New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747, 102

S.Ct. 3348, 73 L.Ed.2d 1113 (1982); Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413

U.S. 601, 93 S.Ct. 2908, 37 L.Ed.2d 830 (1973). Here, this

Court must first Getermine whether the enactment of the Ordinance

reaches a substantial amount of constitutionally protected conduct,

Hoffman Estates v. Flipside, Hoffman Estates, Inc., 455 U.S. at

494, 102 S.Ct. 1186, 71 L.Ed.2d 362. Special scrutiny is called

for in the case of a criminal ordinance such as this one. Winters

v. New York, 333 U.S. 507, 515, 68 S.Ct. 665 (1948).

IV. CONTENT NEUTRALITY

The first step in the First Amendment analysis of the

Ordinance is the question of content neutrality. If the Ordinance

is not content-neutral, the City must pass the nearly insurmountable

barrier of presumptive invalidity. See Simon & Schuster, 502 U.S.

-, 112 S.Ct. at 501, 116 L.Ed.2d at 486-487. If it is

content-neutral, then it will pass muster if it is “narrowly tailored

to serve a significant government interest." See Ward, 491 U.S.

at 791, 109 S.Ct. at 2746, 105 L.Ed.2d at 661; Clark v.

Community for Creative Nonviolence, 468 U.S. 288, 293, 104

S.Ct. 3065, 82 L.Ed.2d 221 (1984).

Plaintiffs’ arguments about content-neutrality may be

separated into four discrete areas: the face of the statute; the

66a

legislative intent; neutrality of enforcement; and reference to the

reaction of the audience.

A._ The Face of the Statute

As this Court found in its previous Order, the Ordinance

is facially neutral. It does not single out any viewpoint or subject,

but applies equally to all expressive activity within the proscribed

areas.°

*Plaintiffs point to Sabelko v. City of Phoenix, 846 F.Supp. 810

(D. Ariz. 1994), in which an Arizona district court found that a

similar statute was content-biased on its face. The Sabelko Court

based its decision on the fact that the statute before it focused on

“protest.” That statute read:

Demonstration activity includes but is not limited to

protesting, picketing, distributing literature, attempting to

impede access, or engaging in oral protest, education, or

counseling activities.

Id. at 814. According to the Sabelko Court, the emphasis on

“protest” meant that the statute turned on the content of the speech

or the viewpoint expressed:

If the speaker "protests," the speech is prohibited by the

Ordinance. On the other hand, if the speaker “supports,”

the speech may or may not be violative of the Ordinance.

Thus, the Ordinance imposes criminal liability depending

on the content and viewpoint of speech.

Id. at 819.

However, this case is distinguishable from Sabelko. In the

Ordinance before this Court, "demonstration activity” is defined as:

All expressive and symbolic conduct, whether active or

passive, which shall include, but not be limited to,

protesting, picketing, distributing literature, and engaging

(continued...)

67a

A facially neutral statute is still presumptively invalid if it

is designed to suppress a particular viewpoint. "The government

may not regulate [expression] based on hostility--or favoritism

--towards the underlying message expressed." R.A.V. v. St. Paul,

505 U.S. --, --, 112 S.Ct. 2538, 120 L.Ed.2d 305, 320 (1992).

However, it is important to distinguish an attempt to suppress a

viewpoint from an attempt to deal with the effects of particular

conduct or speech:

The principal inquiry in determining content neutrality, in

speech cases generally and in time, place, or manner cases

in particular, is whether the government has adopted a

regulation of the speech because of disagreement with the

message it conveys. The government’s purpose is the

controlling consideration. A_ regulation that serves

purposes unrelated to the content of expression is deemed

neutral, even if it has an incidental effect on some speakers

or messages but not others. Government regulation of

expressive activity is content-neutral so long as it is

justified without reference to the content of the regulated

speech.

°(_. continued)

in oral or silent protest, education or counseling activities.

Ordinance at 9.99.010(D) (emphasis added). Clearly, this

extraordinarily broad language does not exclude “support” while

targeting “protest,” but applies to all conceivable expression. The

phrase "all expressive and symbolic conduct” renders the Ordinance

facially neutral at the expense of gross overbreadth, as discussed

below.

68a

Ward, 491 U.S. at 791, 109 S.Ct. 2746, 105 L.Ed.2d 661 (cites

omitted, emphasis added). See also Renton v. Playtime Theatres,

475 U.S. 41, 47-49, 106 S.Ct. 925, 89 L.Ed.2d 29 (1986).

Plaintiffs assert that the legislative history of the Ordinance

demonstrates that its drafters were motivated by hostility to the

anti-abortion viewpoint. In support of this theory, Plaintiffs have

submitted extensive legislative history, including letters to City

Council members, newspaper articles, and a transcript of the City

Council meeting at which the Ordinance was adopted.

However, as Ward makes clear, it is not enough to show

that the anti-abortion protests inspired the City Council to act, or

that the Ordinance has a disproportionate effect on people with

anti-abortion views. Plaintiffs must show that drafters acted out of

hostility towards the anti-abortion viewpoint, or in an effort to

suppress it. Ward, 491 U.S. at 791, 109 S.Ct. 2746, 105 L.Ed.2d

at 661.’

Plaintiffs fall short of this showing. The legislative history

demonstrates that the City Council was motivated by concern that

anti-abortion protests were preventing free access to medical clinics

and churches. The fact that Planned Parenthood requested the

Ordinance because of anti-abortion protests demonstrates nothing

more than concern with the effects of protest conduct. The flood of

letters concerned with access to abortion clinics on the one hand,

and the free speech rights of anti-abortion protestors on the other,

centered on this issue. Similarly, the extensive citizen statements

"Plaintiffs cite Sabelko for the opposite proposition. However,

as discussed above, the Sabelko Court based its finding of content

bias on the fact that the ordinance before it banned only “protest”

expression outside clinics, unlike the Ordinance here. Sabelko, 846

F.Supp. at 819.

69a

at the City Council hearing demonstrate concerns about the effects

of anti-abortion protests and the rights of the protestors. None of

this serves as evidence that the Council acted out of animus

towards the anti-abortion viewpoint.

Plaintiffs emphasize the comments of City Council member

Harold Fairly, who opined that the Ordinance "is content

motivated, and that’s been made very clear by the nature of today’s

discussion." Hearing Transcript at 54. However, Mr. Fairly is

not an arbiter of content neutrality. The rest of his comments

reveal that he shares plaintiffs’ incorrect conception of content

neutrality: he thinks that the Ordinance is content-biased because

it was motivated by the effects of anti-abortion protests. He also

thinks that the Ordinance would become content-neutral if it dealt

with protests at schools as well. Hearing Transcript at 56.

Finally, in later comments, he acknowledges:

For my own case ... 1 would not let my vote be

interpreted as either being for abortion or against abortion.

I am voting on this issue on the basis . . . that it is an

access issue.

Transcript at 60. Mr. Fairly’s comments do not demonstrate that

the City Council acted out of hostility towards a particular

viewpoint.

Plaintiffs compare this legislative process with that in

Church of Lukumi v. Hialeah, 508 U.S. --, 113 S.Ct. 2217, 124

L.Ed.2d 472 (1993), in which the Supreme Court struck down a

local ordinance because of the viewpoint bias reflected in the

legislative history. However, the facts of Hialeah are

distinguishable from this case. The Hialeah City Council acted not

only out of concern for the effects of animal sacrifice, but out of

a distinct and pervasive hostility towards the beliefs of the Santeria

religion. For instance, the president of the Hialeah City Council

70a

asked "What can we do to prevent the Church from opening?" 508

U.S. at --, 113 S.Ct. at 2127, 124 L.Ed.2d at 496. The Resolution

adopted by the Hialeah City Council included the statement, "This

community will not tolerate religious practices which are abhorrent

to its citizens...." Jd. The Supreme Court found that the

"pattern we have recited discloses animosity to Santeria adherents

and their religious practices.. .." Id. (emphasis added). By

contrast, plaintiffs have not demonstrated that the drafters of the

Ordinance here bore any hostility towards the anti-abortion

viewpoint.

Plaintiffs suggest that they have proved viewpoint animus

by showing that certain members of the Santa Barbara City Council

were affiliated with pro-choice groups. The Ordinance was

requested by the Executive Director of Planned Parenthood of

Santa Barbara, who wrote a letter to City Council members Harriet

Miller and Eleanor Langer. See Plaintiffs’ Exhibits Nos. 918-959.

Langer was a member of the Board of Directors of Planned

Parenthood when the Ordinance was enacted. Plaintiff's Exhibit

Nos. 1242. Council member Miller “has attended Planned

Parenthood meetings." Mayor Sheila Lodge, who is on the

Council, is also a member of Planned Parenthood and serves as a

volunteer "escort." Rollings Deposition at P51, L18. Plaintiffs

conclude that these affiliations prove viewpoint discrimination.

Plaintiffs’ Opposition to Summary Judgment at 23. They have

proved no such thing. Even though such membership permits an

inference that these individuals may disagree with the anti-abortion

viewpoint, plaintiffs have utterly failed to connect that disagreement

to the enactment of this Ordinance. As discussed above, plaintiffs’

evidence shows only that the Council members wanted to protect

free access to clinics and churches.

Plaintiffs have not shown that the Ordinance was motivated

by disagreement with the anti-abortion viewpoint; in fact, their

Tla

evidence shows that it was justified by reference to effects, not

content. Therefore, their argument about legislative intent must

fail. Ward, 491 U.S. at 791, 109 S.Ct. at 2746, 105 L.Ed.2d 661.

C. Neutrality of Enforcement

Plaintiffs assert that the history of enforcement of the

Ordinance demonstrates its viewpoint bias, and argue that a law is

not content-neutral when its enforcement turns on scrutiny of the

content of expression. See, e.g., Simon & Schuster, 502 U.S. at -

-, 112 S.Ct. 501, 116 L.Ed.2d at 487 (1991); Arkansas Writer’s

Project v. Ragland, 481 U.S. 221, 230, 107 S.Ct. 1722, 95

L.Ed.2d 209 (1987); Hialeah, 508 U:S. at --, 113 S.Ct. 2127, 124

L.Ed.2d at 489-490 (1993).

Plaintiffs marshall two arguments in support of this point.

First, they show that the vast majority of those cited under the

Ordinance (97 out of 101, as of the time of the motion) were

anti-abortion protestors. Second, they cite the deposition of a

police officer for the proposition that enforcement is based on the

content of expression. See Deposition of Michael Foxen.

The evidence of arrests is inadequate to show biased

enforcement. Plaintiffs merely demonstrate that many anti-abortion

demonstrators have been cited under the Ordinance. They present

no evidence that protestors with different messages have violated

the Ordinance without being arrested. In other words, there is no

evidence to rebut the inference that anti-abortion protestors are

most often arrested because they are the ones most often in

violation of the Ordinance.

Plaintiffs’ second argument is more troubling. As they

point out, Officer Foxen testified that application of the Ordinance

depends on whether someone is expressing some type of an opinion

72a

in the prohibited zones. Foxen Deposition at 56. He gives many

damning examples; for instance, he says that someone playing a

country-western song in the zone would not be in violation, but

someone singing an anti-abortion song would be. /d. at 51.

Moreover, despite defendants’ arguments to the contrary, it appears

that Officer Foxen has put his views into practice. See, e.g.,

Foxen Deposition at 29 (person arrested for "expressing his opinion

within the zone"); /d. at 25 (person arrested because “his being in

the zone with the Bible constituted his attempting to express his

opinion within a demonstration-free zone."); /d. at 41 (arrest

because subject "was, by his presence, . . . attempting to express

his opinion").

However, based on this Court’s conclusion that the

Ordinance is overbroad, it need not resolve the difficult question of

whether this pattern of enforcement renders the Ordinance content-

based."

D. Depend Li 's React

Plaintiffs also assert that the Ordinance is not

content-neutral because it makes the legality of speech dependent

on the reaction of the audience. It is well established that a

"[lJistener’s reactions to speech is not a content neutral basis for

regulation." Forsyth County, Ga. v. Nationalist Movement, 505

U.S. --, -, 112 S.Ct. 2395, 120 L.Ed.2d 101, 114 (1992); Texas

v. Johnson, 491 U.S. 397, 109 S.Ct. 2533, 105 L.Ed.2d 342

(1989); Boos v. Barry, 485 U.S. 312, 108 S.Ct. 1157, 99 L.Ed.2d

333 (1988).

*The Court notes that Officer Foxen’s testimony provides many

practical examples of overbroad application of the Ordinance.

73a

Plaintiffs’ argument on this point must be divided into two

themes. First, they suggest that the entire Ordinance is

content-biased because it is motivated out of concern for the

psychological effects of protest on persons seeking access to the

clinics or churches. Second, they argue that the "Bubble zone"

provision is content biased because it makes the right to speak

within the 8-foot zone dependent on the listener’s willingness to

tolerate the speech.

with Ps ical Ef

It is true that the Ordinance is partially motivated by the

“adverse psychological and emotional effects of such harassing or

intimidating activities directed at them from extremely close

proximity." See Appendix A. However, this is not the sort of

government motivation that runs afoul "listener’s reaction” rule as

articulated by the Supreme Court. In Forsyth County, the Court

struck down an ordinance that set a variable for parade permits.

The fee was calculated depending on the probable cost of police

protection for the parade; thus, the vehemence of the opposition to

the parade’s message determined the cost of the expression.

Forsyth County, 505 U.S. at --, 112 $.Ct. 2395, 120 L.Ed.2d at

115. Similarly, the import of the Court’s ruling in Johnson was

that the strength of opposition to flag burning did not justify

banning it. Johnson, 491 U.S. at 408-409, 109 S.Ct. at 2553, 105

L.Ed.2d 342. In other words, this line of cases does not involve

statutes protecting listeners from emotional harm; rather, it dealt

with statutes limiting speech because of its tendency to inflame

listeners.

By contrast, the Supreme Court has upheld statutes whose

rationales include mitigation of harmful emotional and

psychological impact. Notably, in Madsen v. Women’s Health

Center, 512 U.S. --, 114 S.Ct. 2516, 129 L.Ed.2d 593 (1994), the

74a

Supreme Court approved Florida’s argument that it had a legitimate

governmental interest in restricting protests around medical clinics

because "targeted picketing of a hospital or clinic threatens not only

the psychological, but the physical well-being of the patient held

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.