Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Dean Witter Reynolds Inc. v. Alford
Supreme Court brief1991
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
€ Caurt, US.
-ED
" YOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,
IN THE CLERK
Wess
Supreme Court of the Ynited
OCTOBER TERM, 1990
DEAN WITTER REYNOLDS INC. AND DON L. HARRIS,
. Petitioners,
JOAN CHASON ALFORD,
Respondent.
Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
FRANK C. MORRIS, JR.*
THOMAS R. BAGBY
EPSTEIN BECKER & GREEN, P.C.
1227 25th Street, N.W.
Suite 700
Washington, D.C. 20037
(202) 861-0900
Of Counsel: RONALD M. GREEN
RAYMOND L. KALMANS EPSTEIN BECKER & GREEN, P.C.
JOSEPH G. GALAGAZA 250 Park Avenue
NEEL, HOOPER & KALMANS, P.C. New York, New York 10177
1700 West Loop South (212) 351-4500
Suite 1400 Attorneys for Petitioners
Houston, Texas 77027 Dean Witter Reynolds Inc.
(713) 629-1800 and Don L. Harris
* Counsel of Record
a rR ge
WILSON - Epes PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001
QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether the Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. §§1
et seg. (“FAA”), required that respondent’s employment
discrimination claims under Title VII of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964, as amended, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e et seg., be
submitted to arbitration pursuant to an individual agree-
ment by respondent to arbitrate any dispute, claim or
controversy arising out of her employment or the termi-
nation of her employment?
(i)
ii
PARTIES BELOW AND PARENT COMPANIES
The names of the parties below are identified in the
Petition. The parent companies of petitioner Dean Witter
Reynolds Inc. are Dean Witter Financial Services Inc.
and Sears, Roebuck & Co.
iii i
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
QUESTION PRESENTED ......................-....-..---.2---...0-.-- i
PARTIES BELOW AND PARENT COMPANIES...... ii
ey Vc ess.) : SER iii
pF Seg 6 yg |: ea iv
oc cs ccescnceskscesnndincnceesincssnsestnesss 1
EE 2
5 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ....00000022...20..eeeesee nee 2
a is ck cnc scnackcteoaceckuccccccvssecnes 2
B. Procecurel Becmeround .......................................... 5
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT OF CER-
pe ER dE ES TSE ly Oe 7
I. THE COURT SHOULD GRANT THE WRIT
OF CERTIORARI TO RESOLVE A CON-
FLICT AMONG THE CIRCUITS REGARD-
ING THE ARBITRABILITY OF FEDERAL
EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY
I ile heir a ineticscotqncasesecenesoensens aoc 8
II. REVIEW IN THIS CASE WILL ALLOW THE
COURT TO ADDRESS THE APPLICABIL-
ITY TO TITLE VII OF ITS RECENT SERIES
OF DECISIONS REQUIRING ARBITRATION
OF STATUTORILY-BASED CLAIMS UNDER
a Aa ae 11
ai csdniensonmndeieansons 20
EE EE la
Nee a sepactccecwsaceines 8a
EEE ree Siete Sin 12a
ae ES 13a
ae ee 14a
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: Page
Aiexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36
CRIPW ED Mcnacenontisncalnapicnichdceand mavsbiltpainh A bathbscscneceunbenania passim
Anderson v. Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc., 449
N.W.2d 468 (Minn. Ct. App. 1989) —....000000000.... 10, 11
Arnulfo P. Sulit, Inc. v. Dean Witter Reynolds,
Inc., 847 F.2d 475 (8th Cir. 1988) 2.00022. 10
Atchison, T. & S.F. Ry. v. Buell, 480 U.S. 557
5, etre ata SRNL ear ee RS La Pn one A recat abe ta 9,16
Barrentine v. Arkansas-Best Freight Sys., 450
U.S. 728 (1981) ....... Ae aot NPR Fe et 9, 16
Barrowclough v. Kidder, Peabody & Co., 752 F.2d
Oe Re Ci RD tenn datinctssinnaledassinaci. 10
Bird v. Shearson Lehman/American Exp., Inc.,
871 F.2d 292 (2d Cir.), vacated and remanded
in light of Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/
American Exp., Inc., 109 S. Ct. 1917 (1989), 110
Pee ce SO hy ee ee 10
Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc. v. Byrd, 470 U.S. 213
§ | RSE ee re ee Sr ee eee Ye 12, 18, 16
Garfield v. Thomson McKinnon Securities, Inc.,
731 F. Supp. 841 (N.D. Ill. 1988) 2.00000... 10
Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 895 F.2d
195 (4th Cir.), cert. granted, 111 S. Ct. 41
iE I vscscs eh hopbesieieaensbinneiencaedditeadeiniiaiaarieeatdh adie oad passim
Hall v. Nomura Securities Int’l, 268 Cal. Rptr. 45
PU I I tho ate ee a Te 10
Jones v. Baskin, Flaherty, Elliot & Mannino, P.C.,
670 F. Supp. 597 (W.D. Pa. 1987), aff’d, 897
F.2d 522 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 47
6 CR NS AE ee Oe 10
Lorillard v. Pons, 484 U.S. 575 (1978) ..........0......- 9
McDonald v. City of West Branch, 466 U.S. 284
(| REESE on Se SEOs e Ce ee eee 9, 16
Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-
Plymouth, 473 U.S. 614 (1985) 2.000002... passim
Moses H. Cone Memorial Hosp. v. Mercury Constr..
a we og! ee eee 12, 13, 16
Nicholson v. CPC Int'l Inc., 877 F.2d 221 (3d Cir.
RRR RL caters otaed “SY RRR Ae eke Sea AR 10, 17
Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
Pierce v. Shearson Lehman Hutton, Inc., 52 Fair
Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) 1882 (N.D. Ill. 1990) .. 10
Pihl v. Thomson McKinnon Securities, Inc., 48
Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) 922 (E.D. Pa.
chatiaceticanieenienas Ride cdiislhigh darlin iecdicieditinbubipinnedion inne 10
Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/American Exp.,
es Rk | nen eee passim
Roe v. Kidder, Peabody & Co., 52 Fair Empl. Prac.
Cas. (BNA) 1865 (S.D.N.Y. 1990) ~.................. 10
Scherk v. Alberto-Culver Co., 417 U.S. 506
(SRI EE Cae eee wee A a eae 11, 12,13
Shearson/American Exp., Inc. v. McMahon, 482
i 8), AREER ER RE eaerrmremwerncmanr seers Sune passim
Southland Corp. v. Keating, 465 U.S. 1 (1984)... 12
Steck v. Smith Barney, Harris Upham & Co., 661
F. Supp. 543 (D.N.J. 1987) -..... oe oS Ses ee 11
Steele v. L.F. Rothschild & Co., 701 F. Supp. 407
(S.D.N.Y.), appeal dismissed, 864 F.2d 1 (2d
TES Nes ae See ae eR a ene 10
Swenson v. Management Recruiters Int’l, Inc., 858
F.2d 1804 (8th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 110
| EERE ER Cone ere 10
Utley v. Goldman Sachs & Co., 883 F.2d 184 (1st
Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 110 S. Ct. 842 (1990).. 10
Wilko v. Swan, 346 U.S. 427 (1953) -...................... 18, 19
Yellow Freight System, Inc. v. Donnelly, 110 S. Ct.
I seis Ioik nes ane cinelielalininisigiboaiiniendinevntens 17
Statutes:
Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967,
as amended, 29 U.S.C. §§ 621 et seq. .................... 7
Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title VII, 42 U.S.C.
I TCO dicta scentltasnianenctenntstsenicntnainnaniennecsncoed passim
Section 706, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5 _.................... 2
Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974,
29 UBS. 86 1061 of eee. ......................-................. 10
Equal Pay Act of 1963, 29 U.S.C. § 206(d) -.......... 10
Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. §§ 1 et seq......... passim
I a ast eeereinoemsannnes 2, 6,12
SS 2 2, 12
vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
Eg EE ana eee Se 1a Era 2,12
Sn Uy Ps AE UD coca ackac allo hc adbacoskeen 6
Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations
Act, 18 U.S.C. $§ 1961 et seg. ................................ 6
Securities Act of 1933 §12(2), 15 U.S.C.
ie A 14
Securities Exchange Act of 1934 §10(b), 15
Rn ee rh 14
Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1 et seq. 000000002... 14
I a i et ca ckalcis tas sainlane 2
Minnesota Human Righis Act, Minn. Stat. § 363.03
RARER Se ae ORC te 10, 11
Rules:
ney MO or ke 8
Miscellaneous:
Burger, Isn’t There A Better Way?, 68 A.B.A. J.
RRR ae nF IEE OL SNUG Ces BN i 14
H.R. Rep. No. 96, 68th Cong., Ist Sess. (1924) ...... 12
Meyerowitz, The Arbitration Alternative, 71
Se Oe Oe We wok Oe 14
Nationai Association of Securities Dealers Code of
FD ig | cna 3
New York Stock Exchange Rule 347 _........ 3,9
Report of the Federal Courts Study Committee
I ee inten’ 14
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1990
No.
DEAN WITTER REYNOLDS INC. AND DoN L. HARRIS,
. Petitioners,
JOAN CHASON ALFORD,
Respondent.
Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
Petitioners Dean Witter Reynolds Inc. (“Dean Witter’)
and Don L. Harris (“Harris”) respectfully request that
this Court grant the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
seeking review of the decision and judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. As dis-
cussed below, a review of the issues presented in this
case is necessary to resolve a conflict among the circuits
and to enable the Court to determine whether the FAA
requires arbitration of employment discrimination claims
pursuant to an individual arbitration agreement.
OPINIONS BELOW
The decision of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Fifth Circuit is published at 905 F.2d 104 and is set
forth in the Appendix to the Petition (“Pet. App.) at
la. The opinion of the United States District Court for
2
the Southern District of Texas is reported at 712 F.
Supp. 547 and is set forth in Pet. App. at 8a.
JURISDICTION
The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit was entered on July 11, 1990. Pet.
App. at la. A petition for rehearing was denied by
order of that court dated August 3, 1990. Pet. App. at
12a, The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. § 1254(1).
STATUTES INVOLVED
The statutory provisions involved in this case are: '
Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. §§ 1 et seg.
Section 2, 9 U.S.C. § 2
Section 3, 9 U.S.C. § 3
Section 4, 9 U.S.C. § 4
Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended,
42 U.S.C. $§ 2000 et seg.
Section 706, 42 U.S.C. § 2000-5
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Petitioners seek review of a decision and judgment of
the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
that affirmed a district court order denying petitioners’
motion to dismiss and to compel arbitration under the
FAA of respondent’s claims brought under Title VII of
the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, 42 U.S.C.
S$ 2000e et seg. (“Title VII’).
A. Factual Background
Joan Chason Alford (“Alford) was employed by Dean
Witter on or about August 7, 1984 as a registered rep-
resentative of Dean Witter in the purchase and sale of
1The text of thesdé provisions is set forth in Pet. App. at
14a-25a.
3
securities for customers of the company. Harris was the
manager of the Dean Witter office where Alford was em-
ployed.
At or around the time of her employment with Dean
Witter and as a condition of her empioyment, Alford ex-
ecuted a Uniform Application For Securities Industry Reg-
istration (“Form U-4”) that contained the following
agreement:
I agree to arbitrate any dispute, claim or contro-
versy that may arise between me and my firm, or a
customer, or any other person, that is required to be
arbitrated under the rules, constitutions or by-laws
of the organizations with which I register as indi-
cated in Question 8.
Two of the organizations with which Alford registered,
as indicated in Question 8 on her application, were the
New York Stock Exchange (“NYSE”) and the National
Association of Securities Dealers (“NASD”)” NYSE
Rule 347 provides that:
Any controversy between a registered representative
and any member or member organization arising out
of the employment or termination of employment of
such registered representative by and with such mem-
ber or member organization shall be settled by arbi-
tration, at the instance of any such party, in ac-
cordance with the arbitration procedure pr>scribed
elsewhere in these rules.
In addition, NASD’s Code of Arbitration Procedure pro-
vides in relevant part as follows:
Sec. 1. This Code of Arbitration Procedure is pre-
scribed and adopted pursuant to Article VII, Section
1(a) (3) of the By-Laws of the National Association
of Securities Dealers, Inc. (the “Association”) for
the arbitration of any dispute, claim or controversy
arising out of or in connection with the business of
any member of the Association, with the exception of
disputes involving the insurance business of any
member which is also an insurance company:
eed
(1) between or among members;
(2) between or among members and public cus-
tomers, or others; and
‘(3) between or among members, registered clear-
ing agencies with which the Association has entered
into an agreement to utilize the Association’s arbi-
tration facilities and procedures, and participants,
pledgees or other persons using the facilities of a
registered clearing agency, as these terms are de-
fined under the rules of such registered clearing
agency.
Sec. 8 (a) Any dispute, claim or controversy eligi-
ble for submission under part I of this Code between
or among members and/or associated persons, and/or
certain others, arising in connection with the busi-
ness of such member(s) or in connection with the
activities of such associated person(s), shall be arbi-
trated under this Code, at the instance of:
(1) a member against another member;
(2) a member against a person associated with a
member against a member; and
(3) a person associated with a member against a
person associated with a member.’
Alford’s employment with Dean Witter was terminated
on July 31, 1987 by Harris after she proved to be an
unsatisfactory employee. Prior to and after her termina-
tion from Dean Witter, Alford filed charges of discrim-
ination with the Equal Employment Opportunity Com-
mission (“EEOC”) alleging that she had been discrim-
inated against because of her sex and retaliated against
in violation of Title VII.
* Harris also similarly was bound to submit to arbitration any
disputes either with Dean Witter or with other registered repre-
sentatives of the NYSE or persons associated with the NASD.
Thus, it is clear that the agreements contemplated that any dis-
putes of Alford with Dean Witter and/or Harris would be resolved
by arbitration.
5
B. Procedural Background
On July 5, 1988, Alford filed suit in the United States
District Court for the Southern District of Texas, Hous-
ton Division. Her complaint alleged that she was discrim-
inated against in violation of Title VII by Dean Witter
and Harris on the basis of her sex, in her terms and con-
ditions of employment and by her termination. Her com-
plaint also alleged that her termination was in retalia-
tion for her having filed a charge of discrimination with
the EEOC and for her having opposed alleged practices
which she claimed constituted unlawful sex discrimination.
By letter to Alford’s counsel dated July 28, 1988, Dean
Witter and Harris demanded that Alford submit any
claims and controversies arising out of her employment
with Dean Witter or the termination thereof to arbitra-
tion under the auspices of either the NYSE or NASD. By
letter dated August 19, 1988, Alford responded that Title
VII did not require exhaustion of remedies, such as arbi-
tration, before commencing a private action and that she
would not submit or agree to submit her claims to arbi-
tration as requested.
On September 19, 1988, Dean Witter and Harris moved
to dismiss Alford’s claims and to compel arbitration pur-
suant to the FAA.’ By order entered on May 31, 1989,
the district court concluded that the issues raised in the
motion were controlled by this Court’s decision in Alea-
3In their motion, Dean Witter and Harris requested that the
court find that the parties had entered into an agreement by which
Alford agreed to arbitrate her employment-related disputes with
Dean Witter and Harris; that Alford be required to submit her
employment-related disputes to arbitration and that her complaint
be dismissed with prejudice; and, alternatively, that Alford’s Title
VII suit be stayed and that she be ordered to submit her employ-
ment-related claims to arbitration.
6
ander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36 (1974).* Pet.
App. at 9a. The court determined that Alford’s Title VII
claims were not subject to arbitration, notwithstanding the
fact that Alexander involved arbitration pursuant to a col-
lective bargaining agreement and not pursuant to an indi-
vidual arbitration agreement. The court denied the mo-
tion to dismiss and to compel arbitration. 7d. at 11a.
Dean Witter and Harris took timely appeals to the
Fifth Circuit pursuant to 9 U.S.C. § 15. By an opinion
dated July 11, 1990, the Fifth Circuit affirmed the district
court’s denial of the dismissal of Alford’s claims and the
request of Dean Witter and Harris for an order compel-
ling arbitration. Pet. App. at la. In doing so, the Fifth
Circuit also v!timately concluded that the issue was con-
trolled by Alexander, although apparently not without
reservations. —
Before so deciding, however, the Fifth Circuit acknowl-
edged the more recent decisions of this Court, where par-
ties subject to individual arbitration agreements have
been required to arbitrate various statutorily-based
claims, including claims under the securities and anti-
trust laws and under the Racketeer Influenced and Cor-
rupt Organizations Act, 18 U.S.C. §§1961 et seg.
(“RICO”). Pet. App. at la-2a.° In light of these more
*The district court apparently recognized that Alford had an
arbitration agreement within the meaning of 9 U.S.C. §2. The
district court stated that “Alford executed . . . an agreement
. which contained a clause stating she agreed to resolve by
arbitration any controversy arising out of her employment in-
cluding her termination.” Pet. App. 8a-9a. Despite the arbitra-
tion agreement, the district court nevertheless concluded that
Alexander controlled and precluded arbitration of Alford’s Title
VII claims.
5 See Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/American Exp., Inc., 109
S. Ct. 1917 (1989) (securities claims); Shearson/American Ezp.,
Inc. v. McMahon, 482 U.S. 220 (1987) (securities and RICO
claims) ; Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, 473
U.S. 614 (1985) (antitrust claims).
aT NF
7
recent decisions of this Court involving individual arbi-
tration agreements,* the Fifth Circuit panel observed that:
If the issue were open to us to evaluate afresh, we
might well interpret Title VII consistent with these
recent decisions. But, because of the Alexander deci-
sion, the issue is not an open one.
Pet. App. at 3a.
The Fifth Circuit regarded the rationale in Alexander
to be broad enough to cover the arbitration of any Title
VII claims, whether those claims arose in the context of
a collective bargaining agreement or under an individual
agreement, such as here, to arbitrate all employment-
related disputes. Jd. at 4a. In doing so, the panel de-
termined that it was bound by Alexander “until the Court
holds otherwise.” Id. at 6a.
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT OF CERTIORARI
Petitioners Dean Witter and Harris respectfully re-
quest that the Court grant their petition for a writ of
certiorari to resolve a conflict among the circuits regard-
ing the arbitrability, pursuant to an individual arbitra-
tion agreement, of claims brought under federal equal
employment opportunity statutes. The Court has- agreed
to decide whether claims brought under the Age Discrim-
ination in Employment Act of 1967, as amended, 29 U.S.C.
§§ 621 et seg. (“ADEA”), are subject to arbitration pur-
suant to an individual arbitration agreement. See Gilmer
v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 895 F.2d 195 (4th Cir.),
cert. granted, 111 §S. Ct. 41 (1990). The Court should
grant the petition herein to ensure consistency in the
application of federal equal employment opportunity or
other employment-related statutes by determining whether
6 The Fifth Circuit panel recognized that “[plermitting enforce-
ment of statutory remedies by means of contractual arbitration
has thus become the norm rather than the exception for contracts
governed by the Federal Arbitration Act (“FAA”). Pet. App. at
3a,
8
claims brought under Title VII also are subject to arbi-
tration pursuant to an individual arbitration agreement.
In addition, review of this case will allow the Court to
reconcile the important policies favoring arbitration un-
derlying the FAA and those underlying Title VII. More-
over, such a review also will provide an opportunity for
the Court to address the applicability to Title VII claims
of its recent series of decisions requiring arbitration, pur-
suant to an individual arbitration agreement, of disputes
involving other important statutorily-based claims.
I. THE COURT SHOULD GRANT THE WRIT OF CER-
TIORARI TO RESOLVE A CONFLICT AMONG THE
CIRCUITS REGARDING THE ARBITRABILITY OF
FEDERAL EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY
CLAIMS
Petitioner’s writ of certiorari should be granted to en-
able the Court to resolve a conflict among the circuits on
the issue of whether claims brought pursuant to federal
equal employment opportunity statutes are subject to
arbitration under the FAA where the parties have agreed,
through an individual arbitration agreement, to arbitrate
all employment-related claims. Because the Court has
agreed to review this issue as it relates to claims brought
under the ADEA, it should resolve the nearly identical
issue presented herein—that is, whether Title VII claims
also are subject to arbitration under the FAA where the
parties have agreed to arbitrate all claims or disputes.
See Sup. Ct. R. 10.1(a).
On October 1, 1990, this Court granted certiorari in
Gilmer to decide the issue of whether claims brought under
the ADEA are subject to arbitration pursuant to an in-
dividual agreement to arbitrate any dispute, claim or con-
troversy arising between the parties.’ The Fourth Cir-
7 Gilmer, like Alford, was required at the time of his employ-
ment to register as a securities representative with the NYSE.
Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 895 F.2d at 196 n.l.
Gilmer’s arbitration agreement was essentially the same as that
9
cuit in Gilmer held that Gilmer’s ADEA claims were
subject to arbitration pursuant to the FAA after it de-
termined that there was nothing in the text, legislative
history or underlying purposes of the ADEA indicating a
congressional intent to preclude enforcement of arbitra-
tion agreements. 895 F.2d at 197. In this regard, the
Fourth Circuit in Gilmer noted that “Courts should be
reluctant .. . to imply in a statute an intention to pre-
clude enforcement of arbitration agreements where Con-
gress has not expressed one, particularly in light of the
countervailing intention expressed by Congress in the
FAA.” Id.
Moreover, the Fourth Circuit in Gilmer, unlike the
Fifth Circuit herein, expressly rejected Gilmer’s conten-
tion that this Court’s decision in Alexander v. Gardner-
Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36 (1974), and its progeny,® were
controlling where the arbitration agreement was not pur-
suant to a collective bargaining agreement, but rather
was pursuant to an individual agreement to arbitrate all
claims or disputes. Giimer, 895 F.2d at 201-02.
Thus, notwithstanding the fact that the “prohibitions
of the ADEA were derived in naec verba from Title VII,”
Lorillard v. Pons, 434 U.S. 575, 584 (1978), the Fourth
and Fifth Circuits have reached diametrically inconsistent
results regarding the arbitrability, pursuant to an individ-
ual arbitration agreement, of claims under Title VII and
the ADEA. In addition, numerous other decisions have
reached conflicting results on whether or not similar
executed by Alford herein and brought Gilmer under Rule 347 of
the NYSE, id., one of the Rules applicable to Alford as a result
of her agreement.
® See Atchison, T. & S.F. Ry. v. Buell, 480 U.S. 557 (1987);
McDonald v. City of West Branch, 466 U.S. 284 (1984); Barren-
tine v. Arkansas-Best Freight Sys., 450 U.S. 728 (1981).
10
claims are subject to arbitration pursuant to an individ-
ual arbitration agreement.®
®In addition to the Fourth Circuit in Gilmer, numerous other
courts have found employment-related statutory claims to be sub-
ject to arbitration pursuant to an individual arbitration agreement.
See, e.g., Arnulfo P. Sulit, Inc. v. Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc., 847
F.2d 475 (8th Cir. 1988) (claim under the Employee Retirement
Ineome Security Act of 1974, 29 U.S.C. §§ 1001 et seq. (“ERISA”) ) ;
Pierce v. Shearson Lehman Hutton, Inc., 52 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas.
(BNA) 1882 (N.D. Ill. 1990) (ADEA claim); Roe v. Kidder,
Peabody & Co., 52 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) 1865 (S.D.N.Y.
1990) (Title VII claim); Steele v. L.F. Rothschild & Co., 701
F. Supp. 407 (S.D.N.Y.), appeal dismissed, 864 F.2d 1 (2d Cir.
1988) (claim under Equal Pay Act of 19638, 29 U.S.C. § 206(d));
Garfield v. Thomson McKinnon Securities, Inc., 731 F. Supp. 841
(N.D. Ill. 1988) (ADEA claim); Pihl v. Thomson McKinnon
Securities, Inc., 48 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) 922 (E.D. Pa.
1988) (ADEA claim); Hall v. Nomura Securities Int’l, 268 Cal.
Rptr. 45 (Ct. App. 1990) (claims under California antidiscrimina-
tion statutes) ; see also Nicholson v. CPC Int'l Inc., 877 F.2d 221,
231 (3d Cir. 1989) (Becker, J., dissenting); Bird v. Shearson
Lehman/American Exp., Inc., 871 F.2d 292, 298 (2d Cir.), vacated
and remanded in light of Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/Ameri-
can Exp., Inc., 109 S. Ct. 1917 (1989), 110 S. Ct. 225 (1989)
(Cardamone, J., dissenting); Anderson v. Dean Witter Reynolds,
Inc., 449 N.W.2d 468, 470 (Minn. Ct. App. 1989) (Randall, J.,
dissenting) (“The compulsory arbitration process can provide a
speedy and fair hearing on the merits of the [Minnesota Human
Rights Act] claim.’’).
A number of other courts have held that parties may not be
compelled to arbitrate certain employment-related statutory claims
pursuant to an individual arbitration agreement. See, e.g., Nichol-
son v. CPC Int'l Inc., 877 F.2d 221 (3d Cir. 1989) (ADEA claim) ;
Utley v. Goldman Sachs & Co., 888 F.2d 184 (1st Cir. 1989),
cert. denied, 110 -S. Ct. 842 (1990) (Title VII claim); Bird v.
Shearson Lehman/American Exp., Inc., 871 F.2d 292 (2d Cir.),
vacated and remanded in light of Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/
American Ezp., Inc., 109 S. Ct. 1917 (1989), 110 S. Ct. 225 (1989)
(ERISA claim); Swenson v. Management Recruiters Int’l, Inc.,
858 F.2d 1304 (8th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 110 S. Ct. 148 (1989)
(Minnesota Human Rights Act claim, Minn Stat. § 363.03 (1988) ) ;
Barrowclough v. Kidder, Peabody & Co., 752 F.2d 928 (8d Cir.
1985) (ERISA claim) ; Jones v. Baskin, Flaherty, Elliot € Mannino,
11
Accordingly, because the Court has agreed in Gilmer
to decide whether ADEA claims are subject to arbitration
pursuant to an individual arbitration agreement, it also
should decide in this case whether Title VII claims sim-
ilarly are subject to arbitration pursuant to such an in-
dividual agreement.
II. REVIEW IN THIS CASE WILL ALLOW THE
COURT TO ADDRESS THE APPLICABILITY TO
TITLE VII OF ITS RECENT SERIES OF DECI-
SIONS REQUIRING ARBITRATION OF STATU-
TORILY-BASED CLAIMS UNDER THE FAA
Even apart from the need to resolve the conflict in
circuits as discussed above, the Court should grant the
petition to address the applicability of its recent series
of decisions requiring the arbitration of statutorily-
based claims where the parties have entered into individ-
ual agreements to arbitrate all claims or disputes. More-
over, such a review will enable the Court to reconcile the
strong policies favoring arbitration, as evidenced by these
decisions and by the FAA, with the policies underlying
Title VII and other federal equal employment opportunity
statutes.
Congress enacted the FAA to “revers(e] centuries of
judicial hostility to arbitration agreements.” Shearson/
American Exp., Inc. v. McMahon, 482 U.S. 220, 225
(1987) (quoting Scherk v. Alberto-Culver Co., 417 US.
506, 510 (1974)). This was to be accomplished by
“plac[ing] arbitration agreements ‘upon the same footing
P.C., 676 F. Supp. 597 (W.D. Pa. 1987), aff'd, 897 F.2d 522 (3d
Cir.), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 47 (1990) (ERISA claim); Steck v.
Smith Barney, Harris Upham & Co., 661 F. Supp. 543 (D.N.J.
1987) (ADEA claim); Anderson v. Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc.,
449 N.W.2d 468 (Minn. Ct. App. 1989) (Minnesota Human Rights
Act, Minn. Stat. § 363.08, subd. 1(2)(b) & (c) (1988)).
12
as other contracts’.” Scherk, 417 U.S. at 511 (quoting
H.R. Rep. No. 96, 68th Cong., Ist Sess. 2 (1924) ).2°
Section 2 of the FAA makes covered written agree-
ments to arbitrate existing or future disputes enforceable.
9 U.S.C. § 2; McMahon, 482 U.S. at 226. Section 2 of
the FAA also provides that an arbitration agreement may
be invalidated only on “such grounds as exist at law or in
equity for the revocation of any contract.” 9 U.S.C. § 2.
Section 3 of the FAA provides that a federal district
court shall stay its proceedings if it is satisfied that an
issue is within the scope of an agreement to arbitrate.
9 US.C. § 3. Finally, Section 4 of the FAA gives a court
the authority to issue an order compelling arbitration
where there has been a “failure, neglect, or refusal” to
comply with an arbitration agreement. 9 U.S.C. § 4."
This Court has observed that the first task of a court
asked to compel arbitration is to determine whether the
parties agreed to arbitrate the dispute. See Mitsubishi
Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, 473 U.S. 614,
626 (1985). That determination is to be made by apply-
ing the “ ‘federal substantive law of arbitrability, appli-
cable to any arbitration agreement within the coverage of
the Act.’” Jd. (quoting Moses H. Cone Memorial Hosp.
v. Mercury Constr. Corp., 460 U.S. 1, 24 (1983)); see
also Southland Corp. v. Keating, 465 U.S. 1, 12 (1984).
Thus, this Court has noted that the FAA establishes a
“federal policy favoring arbitration,” McMahon, 482 U.S.
10This Court has noted that the “preeminent concern of Con-
gress in passing the Act was to enforce private agreements into
which parties had entered.” Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc. v. Byrd,
470 U.S. 218, 221 (1985).
11 This Court has stated that “[bly its terms, the Act leaves no
place for the exercise of discretion by a district court, but in-
stead mandates that district courts shall direct the parties to
proceed to arbitration on issues as to which an arbitration agree-
ment has been signed.” Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc. v. Byrd, 470
U.S. at 218 (emphasis in original).
13
at 226 (quoting Moses H. Cone Memorial Hosp., 460 U.S.
at 24),!* and that this federal policy requires that “we
rigorously enforce agreements to arbitrate.” Dean Witter
Reynolds, Inc. v. Byrd, 470 U.S. 218, 221 (1985); see
also Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/American Exp.,
Ine., 109 S. Ct. 1917, 1920 (1989); McMahon, 482 US.
at 226."
The Court has held that ‘“‘[t]his duty to enforce arbi-
tration agreements is not diminished when a party bound
by an agreement raises a claim founded on statutory
rights.” McMahon, 482 U.S. at 226. As the Court noted
in McMahon, id. (quoting Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v.
Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. at 627), where a
dispute is based on a statute, “ ‘we are well past the time
when judicial suspicion of the desirability of arbitration
and of the competence of arbitral tribunals’ should inhibit
enforcement of the Act.” Moreover, this Court has made
clear that “[b]y agreeing to arbitrate a statutory claim,
a party does not forgo the substantive rights afforded by
the statute; it only submits to their resolution in an arbi-
tral, rather than judicial, forum.” Mitsubishi Motors
Corp., 473 U.S. at 628; see also Rodriguez de Quijas, 109
S. Ct. at 1920; McMahon, 482 U.S. at 229; Scherk v.
Alberto-Culver Co., 417. U.S. at 519 (characterizing arbi-
12 This Court stated in Moses H. Cone Memorial Hosp., 460 US.
at 24-25, that the FAA is a:
[Clongressional declaration of a liberal federal policy favor-
ing arbitration agreements, notwithstanding any state sub-
stantive or procedural policies to the contrary. The effect of
[the FAA] is to create a body of federal substantive law of
arbitrability, applicable to any arbitration agreement within
the coverage of the Act.... [The FAA] establishes that, as
a matter of federal law, any doubts concerning the scope
of arbitrable issues should be resolved in favor of arbitration.
See also Mitsubishi Motors, 473 U.S. at 626.
18 Thus, in the absence of any explicit congressional intention
to the contrary, see discussion below, there would appear to be
no reason ‘why Alford’s claims would not be arbitrable under the
FAA.
14
tration agreements as “in effect, a specialized kind of
forum-selection clause’’) .
With these principles in mind, it is not surprising that
in recent years this Court has upheld numerous agree-
ments to arbitrate claims arising under various federal
statutes. See Rodriguez de Quijas, 109 S. Ct. at 1920-21
(claims under Section 12(2) of the Securities Act of 1933,
15 U.S.C. § 7711(2)); McMahon, 482 U.S. at 287, 241-
42 (claims under Section 10(b) of the Securities Ex-
change Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. § 78j(b), and under RICO) ;
Mitsubishi Motors, 473 U.S. at 640 (antitrust claims
under the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. §$1 et seqg.). Thus,
the Court has observed that “[t]he Arbitration Act, stand-
ing alone . . . mandates enforcement of agreements to
arbitrate statutory claims.” McMahon, 482 U.S. at 226."
While it has enforced numerous arbitration agreements
where statutory claims are involved, the Court has deter-
mined that “the Arbitration Act’s mandate may be over-
ridden by a contrary congressional command.” Jd. Where
a party asserts that a “contrary congressional command”
precludes the enforcement of an arbitration agreement,
the party must establish the basis for the preclusion:
The burden is on the party opposing arbitration
. . . to show that Congress intended to preclude a
waiver of judicial remedies for the statutory rights
at issue. If Congress did intend to limit or prohibit
14The efficacy of arbitration of various types of disputes has
been widely recognized. See, e.g., Meyerowitz, The Arbitration
Alternative, 71 A.B.A. J. 78, 79 (1985). Moreover, arbitration has
been suggested by many as a speedy and relatively inexpensive
means of coping with the ever-increasing caseload in our judicial
system. See, e.g., Burger, Isn’t There A Better Way?, 68 A.B.A.
J. 274, 277 (1982). Like many other types of claims, the number
of employment discrimination cases filed in the federal courts has
increased dramatically in recent years. See Report of the Federal
Courts Study Committee 60-61 (Apr. 2, 1990) (“Since 1969, the
number of private employment discrimination cases filed in the
federal courts has increased more than 2,000 percent.”).
| en a Ne Te
15
waiver of a judicial forum for a particular claim,
such an intent, “will be deducible from [the stat-
ute’s] text or legislative history,” or from an in-
herent conflict between arbitration and the statute’s
underlying purposes.
Id. at 227 (quoting Mitsubishi Motors, 473 U.S. at 628)
(citations omitted) ; see also Rodriguez de Quijas, 109
S. Ct. at 1921.
Notwithstanding the clear federal policy favoring arbi-
tration, as evidenced in the FAA and in the recent de-
cisions of this Court enforcing agreements to arbitrate
statutory claims, the Fifth Circuit in the instant case de-
termined that it was not appropriate to compel the arbitra-
tion of Alford’s Title VII claims. Pet. App. at 6a-7a."
In doing so, the Fifth Circuit concluded that this Court’s
decision in Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S.
36 (1974), a case involving a collective bargaining agree-
ment and not an individual arbitration agreement, was
controlling and dictated that Alford’s Title VII claims
were not subject to arbitration. Pet. App. at 3a. In so
doing, the Fifth Circuit created a direct conflict between,
the arbitrability of claims brought under Title VII and
those brought pursuant to other important federal stat-
utes—a conflict which, it is respectfully submitted, this
Court should resolve.
In Alexander, 415 U.S. at 60, the Court determined
that an employee’s right to a trial de novo under Title VII
was not fereclosed by an adverse arbitral decision pur-
suant to the non-discrimination clause of the applicable
collective bargaining agreement. As discussed below, how-
ever, the various rationales underlying Alexander, and
relied upon by the Fifth Circuit herein, either have no
15 Neither the Fifth Circuit herein, nor other courts that have
addressed the issue, cited anything in the text or legislative
history of Title VII that addresses directly the issue of whether
the FAA mandates that Title VII claims are subject to arbitra-
tion pursuant to an individual arbitration agreement,
16
applicability to Alford’s individual arbitration agreement
or have been sufficiently eroded by later decisions of this
Court so as to provide no support for the Fifth Circuit
decision.
Because Alexander involved a collective bargaining
agreement and not an individual arbitration agreement
such as that executed by Alford herein, the Court in
Alexander did not address the important policies reflected
in the FAA, including the “ ‘federal policy favoring arbi-
tration’ requiring that ‘[courts] rigorously enforce agree-
ments to arbitrate’.” McMahon, 482 U.S. at 226 (quoting
Moses H. Cone Memorial Hosp., 460 U.S. at 24, and Dean
Witter Reynolds Inc. v. Byrd, 470 U.S. at 221); see also
Gilmer, 895 F.2d at 201. If the petition is granted herein,
the Court will have an opportunity to address fully the
application of these policies underlying the FAA to claims
brought under Title VII, particularly in light of the
Court’s recent decisions approving the arbitration of var-
ious other statutorily-based claims.
In addition, because the instant case involves an indi-
vidual arbitration agreement and not a collective bar-
gaining agreement, the Court’s concern in Alexander, 415
U.S. at 58 n.19, that “the interests of the individual em-
ployee may be subordinated to the collective interests of
all employees in the bargaining unit” simply does not -
exist herein. Thus, in the instant case, unlike in Alez-
ander, Alford would have absolute control over the arbi-
tration of her statutory claims pursuant to her individ-
ual arbitration agreement. The decisions of this Court in
Buell, McDonald, and Barrentine, therefore, are no more
instructive on the issues presented herein than is Alex-
ander because they also involved statutory claims that
arose in the context of a collective bargaining agreement
where the individual was not in command of his own
claim.
Likewise, the concern in Alexander, 415 U.S. at 53, that
an arbitrator might lack the power to invoke legislation
, |
17
that is in conflict with the collective bargaining agreement
also should not exist herein. As the Court noted in Mc-
Mahon, 482 U.S. at 231 “there is no reason to assume
at the outset that arbitrators will not follow the law,”
and judicial review of an arbitrator’s decision is “suffi-
cient to ensure that arbitrators comply with the require-
inents of the statute.” Jd.'®
Nor can a persuasive argument be made that issues
arising under Title VII would be too factually or legally
complex for an arbitrator. As the Court noted in Mc-
Mahon, 482 U.S. at 231 (quoting Mitsubishi, 473 U.S. at
633-34), “arbitral tribunals are readily capable of han-
dling the factual and legal complexities of antitrust [and
securities] claims, notwithstanding the absence of judicial
instruction and supervision.” See also Gilmer, 895 F.2d
at 201; Nicholson v. CPC Int’l Inc., 877 F.2d 221, 234
(3d Cir. 1989) (Becker, J., dissenting). Claims under
Title VII clearly are no more complex than antitrust, se-
curities, or RICO claims, all of which have been held by
this Court to be arbitrable.”
Finally, concerns expressed by this Court in Alexander,
415 U.S. at 56-58, about the adequacy of the arbitral
16 As noted above, by agreeing to arbitrate statutory claims of
discrimination pursuant to an individual arbitration agreement,
a party does not agree to forego the substantive rights afforded by
the statute, but rather merely agrees to their resolution in an
arbitral forum. See, e.g., Rodriguez de Quijas, 109 S. Ct. at 1920;
McMahon, 482 U.S. at 229; Mitsubishi Motors Corp., 473 US.
at 628.
17 Moreover, it is clear that in enacting Title VII, Congress did
not intend that the federal courts would be the exclusive forum
for vindicating rights under Title VII. See Yellow Freight Sys-
tem, Inc. v. Donnelly, 110 S. Ct. 1566, 1567, 1570 (1990) (state
courts have concurrent authority to adjudicate Title VII claims).
If anything, this grant of concurrent jurisdiction over Title VII
claims supports the notion that parties may agree to have their
claims determined in an arbitral forum. See Rodriguez de Quijas,
109 S. Ct. at 1920; Gilmer, 895 F.2d ai 200 (“Congress’ grant
of concurrent jurisdiction over ADEA suits may evince an affirm-
ative intent apart from that contained in the FAA, to permit
waiver of the judicial forum.”’).
18
process clearly are out of step with the Court’s recent
endorsements of arbitration as an effective and efficient
means to resolve disputes. For example, in Mitsubishi,
473 U.S. at 626-27, the Court stated that “we are well
past the time when judicial suspicion of the desirability
of arbitration and of the competence of arbitral tribunals
inhibited the development of arbitration as an alternative
means of dispute resolution.” In McMahon, 482 U.S. at
231, the Court also observed that “the streamlined pro-
cedures of arbitration do not entail any consequential re-
striction on substantive rights.”
Moreover, this Court in Rodriguez de Quijas, 109 S. Ct.
at 1920 (overturning its earlier decision in Wilko v.
Swan, 346 U.S. 427 (1953), which had held that claims
under the Securities Act of 1933 were not subject to arbi-
tration), recognized the unpersuasiveness of concerns such
as those expressed in Alexander regarding the adequacy
of the arbitral process:
To the extent that Wilko rested on suspicion of arbi-
tration as a method of weakening the protections af-
forded in the substantive law to would-be complain-
ants, it has fallen far out of step with our current
strong endorsement of the federal statutes favoring
this method of resolving disputes."*
18 Wilko was cited with apparent approval by the Court in
Alexander, 415 U.S. at 57-58, in support of its concerns regarding
the then-perceived inadequacies in the arbitral process. Even
prior to its decision in Rodriguez de Quijas, however, this Court
in McMahon, 482 U.S. at 231-32 (citations omitted), also had been
highly critical of the concerns expressed in Wilko regarding the
adequacy of the arbitral process:
[T]he reasons given in Wilko reflect a general suspicion of
the desirability of arbitration and the competence of arbitral
tribunals—most apply with no greater force to the arbitration
of securities disputes than to the arbitration of legal disputes
generally. It is difficult to reconcile Wilko’s mistrust of the
19
Thus, review of the Fifth Circuit decision in this case
is necessary to enable the Court to resolve the conflict
with Gilmer and to determine the applicability, if any, of
Alexander where the FAA otherwise would require arbi-
tration of Title VII claims pursuant to an individual
arbitration agreement. In addition, because the issues
presented herein involve critical questions regarding the
relationship between the FAA and Title VII that are
arising with increasing frequency in the lower courts, it
is appropriate for the Court to resolve the various im-
portant issues presented in this case.
arbitration process with this Court’s subsequent decisions
involving the Arbitration Act.
Indeed, most of the reasons given in Wilko have been re-
jected subsequently by the Court as a basis for holding claims
to be nonarbitrable. In Mitsubishi, for example, we recognized
that arbitral tribuna's are readily capable of handling the
factual and legal complexities of antitrust claims, notwith-
standing the absence of judicial instruction and supervision.
Likewise, we have concluded that the streamlined procedures
of arbitration do not entail any consequential restriction on
substantive rights. Finally, we have indicated that there is
no reason to assume at the outset that arbitrators will not fol-
low the law; although judicial scrutiny cf arbitration awards
necessarily is limited, such review is sufficient to ensure that
arbitrators comply with the requirements of the statute.
20
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, petitioners respectfully re-
quest that the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari be
granted.
Respectfully submitted,
FRANK C. MORRIS, JR.*
THOMAS R. BAGBY
EPSTEIN BECKER & GREEN, P.C.
1227 25th Street, N.W.
Suite 700
Washington, D.C. 20037
(202) 861-0900
Of Counsel: RONALD M. GREEN
RAYMOND L. KALMANS EPSTEIN BECKER & GREEN, P.C.
JOSEPH G. GALAGAZA 250 Park Avenue
NEEL, Hooper & KALMANS, P.C. New York, New York 10177
1700 West Loop South (212) 351-4500
Suite 1400 Attorneys for Petitioners
Houston, Texas 77027 Deon Witter Reynolds Inc.
(713) 629-1800 ; and Don L. Harris
* Counsel of Record
APPENDICES
la
APPENDIX A
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FIFTH CIRCUIT
No. 89-2599
JOAN CHASON ALFORD,
Plaintiff-Appellee,
V.
DEAN WITTER REYNOLDS, INC. and Don L. HARRIS,
Defendants-Appellants.
Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Texas
July 11, 1990
Before CLARK, Chief Judge, THORNBERRY, and
JONES, Circuit Judges.
EDITH H. JONES, Circuit Judge:
Joan Alford was a stockbroker with Dean Witter Reyn-
olds, Inc. (“Dean Witter’) until she was fired for al-
legedly discriminatory reasons. The issue before us is
whether she may pursue a Title VII lawsuit for sex dis-
crimination and sexual harassment or must, as the com-
pany contends, submit to commercial arbitration of her
claim. In 1974, a unanimous Supreme Court held that
Title VII claims need not be relegated to the arbitration
process governed by a collective bargaining agreement.
Alexander v. Gardner—Denver Company, 415 U.S. 36,
2a
94 S.Ct. 1011, 39 L.Ed.2d 147 (1974). We conclude that,
despite the Court’s subsequent series of decisions encour-
aging commercial arbitration, Alexander governs this
case. We therefore affirm the district court’s denial of a
dismissal or an order compelling arbitration. 712 F.Supp.
547.
This dispute requires us to reconcile the strong national
policy favoring commercial arbitration, 9 U.S.C. § 2, with
the equally important federal legislation designed to com-
bat discrimination. Dean Witter forcefully argues that
in recent Supreme Court jurisprudence, contractual pro-
visions for arbitration have prevailed against pleas for
litigation of various statutorily-founded claims, including
those under the securities, RICO and anti-trust laws.’
The Court has declared that
As a matter of federal law [the Federal Arbitration
Act], any doubts concerning the scope of arbitrable
issues should be resolved in favor of arbitration... .
Moses H. Cone Memorial Hospital v. Mercury Construc-
tion Corp., 460 U.S. 1, 24-25, 103 S.Ct. 927 at 941-42, 74
L.Ed.2d 765 (1985). The Court has also held that, “we
rigorously enforce agreements to arbitrate.” Dean Witter
Reynolds, Inc. v. Byrd, 470 U.S. 218, 221, 105 S.Ct. 1238,
1243, 84 L.Ed.2d 158 (1985). That the claim rests on
federal statutory grounds does not necessarily render it
less susceptible to arbitration:
The Arbitration Act, standing alone, therefore man-
dates enforcement of agreements to arbitrate statu-
1Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, 42
U.S.C. § 2000e et seq.
2 Rodriguez De Quijas v. Shearson/American Express, Inc.,
U.S. , 109 S.Ct. 1917, 104 L.Ed.2d 526 (1989) (Securities
claims) ; Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 482 USS.
220, 107 S.Ct. 2332, 96 L.Ed.2d 185 (1987) (RICO and Securities
Exchange Act § 10(b)) ; Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-
Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614, 105 S.Ct. 3346, 87 L.Ed.2d 444 (1985),
(antitrust).
3a
tory claims. Like any statutory directive, the Arbi-
tration Act’s mandate may be overridden by a con-
trary congressional command. The burden is on the
party opposing arbitration, however, to show that
Congress intended to preclude a waiver of judicial
remedies for the statutory rites [sic] at issue. ... If
Congress did intend to limit or prohibit waiver of a
judicial forum for a particular claim, such an intent
“will be deductible from [the statute’s] text or leg-
islative history,” . .. or from an inherent conflict
between arbitration and the statute’s underlying pur-
poses.” ... (citations omitted).
Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 482 U.S.
220, 226-27, 107 S.Ct. 2332, 2337, 96 L.Ed.2d 185 (1987).
Permitting enforcement of statutory remedies by means
of contractual arbitration has thus become the norm
rather than the exception for contracts governed by the
Federal Arbitration Act (“FAA”).
If the issue were open to us to evaluate afresh, we
might well interpret Title VII consistent with these re-
cent decisions. But, because of the Alexander decision,
the issue is not an open one. In Alexander, the Supreme
Court held that a union employee was not foreclosed by
his lack of success in an arbitration compelled by his col-
lective bargaining agreement from later pursuing a Title
VII su‘t for his employer’s racial discrimination. After
analyzing the enforcement scheme of Title VII and find-
ing that “federal courts have been assigned plenary pow-
ers to secure compliance with Title VII,” 415 U.S. at 45,
94 S.Ct. at 1018, the Court held that,
[t] here is no suggestion in the statutory scheme that
a prior arbitral decision either forecloses an individ-
ual’s right to sue or divests federal courts of juris-
diction.
415 US. at 47, 94 S.Ct. at 1019. The Court rejected a
rule of blanket deference owed by federal courts to the
prior findings of arbitrators on Title VII issues:
4a
The purpose and procedures of Title VII indicate
that Congress intended federal courts to exercise final
responsibility for enforcement of Title VII; deferral
to arbitral decisions would be inconsistent with that
goal. Furthermore, we have long recognized that ‘the
choice of forums inevitably affects the scope of the
substantive right to be vindicated.’ U.S. Bulk Car-
riers, Inc. v. Arguelles, 400 U.S. 351, 359-360, 91
S.Ct. 409, 413-14 [27 L.Ed.2d 456] (1971) (Harlan,
J., concurring).
Alexander, 415 U.S. at 56, 94 S.Ct. at 1023. In a final
footnote citing factors relevant to a federal court’s deci-
sion to admit in evidence a prior arbitral award, the
Court added:
. courts should ever be mindful that Congress,
in enacting Title VII, thought it necessary to pro-
vide a judicial forum for the ultimate resolution of
discriminatory employment claims. It is the duty
of courts to assure the full availability of this
forum.
Alexander, 415 U.S. at 60, n. 21, 94 S.Ct. at 1025,
n. Zi.
Although distinctions between Alexander and the pres-
ent case will be considered, we regard Alexander’s ra-
tionale as broad enough to speak to any arbitration of
Title VII claims. Two other circuits have already so
held. Utley v. Goldman Sachs & Co., 883 F.2d 184 (1st
Cir.1989) ; Swenson v. Management Recruiters Interna-
tional, Inc., 858 F.2d 1304, 1307 (8th Cir.1988), reh’g
denied, 872 F.2d 264 (8th Cir.1989). No circuit court
has held otherwise.*
3 But see Roe v. Kidder Peabody & Co., Inc., No. 88 Civ. 8507,
slip op. 19909 WL52200 (S.D.N.Y. Apr. 18, 1990) (Title VII claim
may be arbitrated under FAA). Circuit and district courts have
divided over the arbitrability of employee claims under the Age
Discrimination in Employment Act, which is very similar to Title
VII. See Nicholson v. CPC Int'l, Inc., 877 F.2d 221 (3d Cir.1989)
5a
Dean Witter nevertheless urges that Alexander does
not control this case for three reasons. First, Alexander
specifically held that an employee may pursue both ar-
bitration and Title VII remedies simultaneously, thus
implying that Alford may be required to arbitrate first
and sue later. Second, Alexander was premised upon the
nature of labor arbitration, which is distinguishable in
this context from arbitration under the FAA. Third,
the rationale of Alexander has been undercut by the Su-
preme Court decisions affirming the use of commercial
arbitration in statutorily-founded claims. None of these
arguments is convincing enough.
It is true that Alexander emphasized the availability
of two overlapping remedies for discrimination in that
case—the non-discrimination clause in the plaintiff’s
union contract and his Title VII claim. To conclude, as
the Court did, that the plaintiff could pursue each claim
in the appropriate forum does not equate to concluding
that a plaintiff must always “exhaust” contractual arbi-
tration remedies before filing a Title VII suit When
a plaintiff asserts only claims founded on employment
discrimination proscribed by Title VII, and she chal-
lenges no other feature of her employment relationship
except as it was affected by the alleged discrimination,
she well may find no reason to pursue arbitration. How-
ever, the contract does provide for arbitration of any
(contra arbitration) ; Cooper v. Asplundh Tree Expert Co., 836 F.2d
1544 (10th Cir.1988); Johnson v. Univ. of Wisconsin-Milwaukee,
783 F.2d 59, 62 (7th Cir.1989) ; Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane
Corp., 895 F.2d 195 (4th Cir.1990), reh’g en banc denied, (March
28, 1990) (pro arbitration); Pihl v. Thompson McKinnon Securi-
ties, Inc., 48 FEP cases 922, 924, 1988 WL54036 (E.D.Pa.1988)
(pro arbitration) ; Pierce v. Shearson Lehman Fiutton, Inc., No. 90-
C-0722, slip op., 1990 WL60751 (N.D.Ill. Apr. 25, 1990) (pro
arbitration).
4 Compare Republic Steel Corp. v. Maddox, 379 U.S. 650, 85 S.Ct.
614, 13 L.Ed.2d 580 (1965) (requiring exhaustion of collective
bargaining remedies by union employees).
6a
controversy arising out of the employment relationship
and Alexander provides that if arbitration is pursued
any award may be introduced in the court action “and
accorded such weight as the court deems appropriate.”
Alexander, 415 U.S. 60, 94 S.Ct. at 1025.
Dean Witter’s second argument against the applicabil-
ity of Alexander is that it turned on the collective bar-
gaining context in which the plaintiff’s claim arose. The
Court denied that Alexander, by being a union member,
had waived his Title VII rights or was foreclosed by the
doctrine of election of remedies from pursuing his stat-
utory claim. 415 U.S. at 50-52, 94 S.Ct. at 1020-21. The
Court was concerned that a labor arbitrator, whose duty
is to enforce the parties’ contract rather than extrinsic
law, would be unsuited to apply Title VII principles. 415
U.S. at 54, 57-59, 94 S.Ct. at 1022, 1024-25. The Court
also commented that in pursuing an employee grievance,
a Union has to satisfy its institutional interest as well
as that of the employee. This relationship may deprive
the employee of full authority over the fate of his Title
VII claim, in derogation of his statutory right. 415 U.S.
at 59, n. 19, 94 S.Ct. at 1024, n. 19.
While these points are fairly made, they do not carry
the day, because they refer to case-specific considerations
that reinforced the Court’s ultimate conclusion “that the
federal policy favoring arbitration does not establish that
an arbitrator’s resolution of a contractual claim is dis-
positive of a statutory claim under Title VII.” 415 US.
at 47, n. 6, 94 S.Ct. at 1019, n. 6. The Court’s emphasis
on arbitration pursuant to collective bargaining agree-
ments may be seen as a response to the only kind of ar-
bitration then prevalent in employment relations. Alez-
ander predates the Court’s decisions giving full rein
to the FAA, and no FAA question is likely to have been
considered in Alexander. This does not mean, however,
that Alexander should not apply until the Court holds
otherwise. As we have already stated, Alexander ap-
pears to rest first on a construction of Title VII. Al-
7a
though there are significant differences between labor
arbitration and commercial arbitration—relating to the
arbitrator’s competence in public law issues and the
autonomy with which an employee may pursue an arbi-
tration remedy—there is also a strong federal policy
favoring labor arbitration.’ The Court’s decision to sub-
ordinate that policy to Title VII gives us pause, to say
the least, before inferring that commercial arbitration
would not likewise be subordinated.
Dean Witter finally asserts that Alexander has been
overshadowed by the Court’s later decisions favoring
commercial arbitration. As the company recognizes, our
court was specifically reminded that we have no au-
thority to overrule an apparently controlling Supreme
Court decision because it “appears to rest on reasons re-
jected in some other line of decisions .. .” Rodriquez De
Quijas v. Shearson/American Express, Inc., —— US.
——, 109 S.Ct. at 1921. We are bound by the broad
wording of Alexander.
AFFIRMED.
5 United Steelworkers of America v. American Mfg. Co., 363
U.S. 564, 80 S.Ct. 1343, 4 L.Ed.2d 1403 (1960); United Steelwork-
ers of America v. Warrior & Gulf Navigation Co., 363 U.S. 574, 80
S.Ct. 1847, 4 L.Ed.2d 1409 (1960) ; United Steelworkers of America
v. Enterprise Wheel & Car Corp., 363 U.S. 593, 80 S.Ct. 1358, 4
L.Ed.2d 1424 (1960).
8a
APPENDIX B
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
HOUSTON DIVISION
Civil Action No. H-88-2295
JOAN CHASON ALFORD,
Plaintiff,
Vv.
DEAN WITTER REYNOLDS, INC., and
DON L. HARRIS,
Defendants.
[Entered May 31, 1989]
ORDER DENYING DEFENDANTS’ MOTION
TO DISMISS AND COMPEL ARBITRATION
This is a sex discrimination suit filed by Plaintiff,
Joan C. Alford (Alford) pursuant to Title VII of the
Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e-2000e-17
(1982) (Title VJI) against Defendants Dean Witter
Reynolds, Inc., and Donald L. Harris. The Defendants
have moved this Court to dismiss with prejudice Plain-
tiff’s suit and to compel arbitration of Plaintiff’s claims.
For the reasons set forth below, the Court denies De-
fendants’ Motion to Dismiss and Compel Arbitration.
As a condition of her employment with Dean Witter,
Alford executed an application and agreement for regis-
9a
tration with the New York Stock Exchange, Inc.
(NYSE), and the National Association of Security
Dealers, Inc., which contained a clause stating she agreed
to resolve by arbitration any controversy arising out of
her employment including her termination. Additionally,
Rule 347 of the NYSE also called for arbitration of
employment-related disputes upon demand by either
party. The Defendants seek to compel arbitration pur-
suant to the Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. §§ 1-14
(1982), and assert that the United States Supreme —
Court’s opinions in Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler
Chrysler-Piymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614 (1986), and
Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 482 U.S.
——, 107 S. Ct. 2332 (1987), require Alford to submit
her federally protected rights to arbitration. The Court
finds that the Supreme Court’s decisions in Title VII
cases do not require Alford to arbitrate her Title VII
claims.
This case is controlled by the Supreme Court’s decision
in Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36
(1974). In Alexander, the court held that clearly “there
can be no prospective waiver of an employee’s rights un-
der Title VII.” Jd. at 51. The court found that Congress
intended the federal courts to exercise final responsibility
for the enforcement of Title VII and that deferral to
arbitration would be inconsistent with that goal. Jd. at
56. Neither Shearson nor Mitsubishi overrules Alex-
ander.
In Mitsubishi, the Supreme Court recognized that not
all controversies implicating statutory rights should be
submitted to arbitration. Mitsubishi, 473 U.S. at 627.
There are some statutory rights which Congress intended
to preclude a waiver of the right to resort to a judicial
forum for resolution of the statutory right at issue. See
id. at 627-28. Congress’s intention to prohibit such a
waiver would be deducible from the text or legislative
history of the statute, Mitsubishi, 473 U.S. at 628, or
10a
from the inherent conflict between arbitration and the
statute’s underlying purposes, Shearson, 482 U.S. at
——; 107 S. Ct. at 2337. The court in Alexander exam-
ined the intention of Congress in passing Title VII and
found not only that Congress intended the federal courts
to exercise final responsibility for the enforcement of
Title VII, Alexander, 415 U.S. at 56, but also that there
was inherent conflict between arbitration and the con-
gressional purpose of Title VII, id. at 56-59.
The Defendants argue that Alexander has been over-
ruled by implication by the Supreme Court’s later opin-
ions in Shearson and Mitsubishi... This issue was
squarely addressed by the Eighth Cirewit Court of Ap-
peals in Swenson v. Management Recruiters Int’l, Inc.,
858 F.2d 1304 (8th Cir. 1988). In Swenson, the plain-
tiff had signed an employment agreement which pro-
vided, in part, for the arbitration of any controversies
between her and her employer pursuant to the commer-
cial arbitration rules of American Arbitration Associa-
tion. The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals noted that
the Supreme Court’s decision in Alexander did not turn
upon the issue of whether the agreement of arbitration
was pursuant to a collective bargaining agreement but
instead turned on “the unique nature of Title VII.”
Swenson, 858 F.2d at 1306. Relying upon the Supreme
Court’s opinion in Alexander, the court then held that a
commercial agreement to arbitrate under the Federal
Arbitration Act could not preempt the plaintiff’s right to
seek a judicial determination of her Title VII claims.
Swenson, 858 F.2d at 1307, 1309. Thus, the Court con-
cludes that Alford’s Title VII claims are not subject to
arbitration. Accordingly, the Court
1 The Defendants suggest that in light of these more recent opin-
ions, the Supreme Court would now overrule Alexander. The court’s
decision in Alexander, however, is binding upon this Court and the
district courts have no power to overrule it. Marcello v. Ahrens,
212 F.2d 830, 838-39 (5th Cir. 1954).
lla
ORDERS that all relief sought in Defendants’ Motion
to Dismiss and Compel Arbitration be, and is hereby,
DENIED.
SIGNED at Houston, Texas, on this 29th day of May,
1989.
/s/ David Hittner
DAVID HITTNER
United States District Judge
12a
APPENDIX C
IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
No. 89-2599
JOAN CHASON ALFORD,
Plaintiff-A ppellee,
versus
DEAN WITTER REYNOLDS, INC. and Don L. HARRIS,
Defendants-A ppellants.
Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas
ON PETITION FOR REHEARING
(August 3, 1990)
Before CLARK, Chief Judge, THORNBERRY,
JONES, Circuit Judges.
PER CURIAM:
IT IS ORDERED that the petition for rehearing filed
in the above entitled and numbered cause be and the
same is hereby DENIED.
ENTERED FOR THE COURT:
/s/ Edith H. Jones
United States Circuit Judge
8/3/90
and
13a
APPENDIX ‘D
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
No. 89-2599
D.C. Docket No. CA H 88 2295
JOAN'CHASON ALFORD,
Plaintiff-Appellee,
versus
DEAN WITTER REYNOLDS, INC., and DON L. HARRIS,
Defendants-A ppellants.
Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas
[Filed July 11, 1990]
Before CLARK, Chief Judge, THORNBERRY and
JONES, Circuit Judges.
JUDGMENT
This cause came on to be heard on the record on appeal
and was argued by counsel.
ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here
ordered and adjudged by this Court that the judgment
of the District Court in this cause is affirmed.
IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that defendants-
appellants pay to plaintiff-appellee the costs on appeal to
be taxed by the Clerk of this Court.
Issued as Mandate: Aug. 13, 1990
July 11, 1990
l4a
APPENDIX E
FEDERAL ARBITRATION ACT, 9 U.S.C. §§ 1 et seq.
Section 2, 9 U.S.C. § 2:
Validity, irrevocability, and enforcement of agree-
ments to arbitrate
A written provision in any maritime transaction
or a contract evidencing a transaction involving
commerce to settle by arbitration a controversy
thereafter arising out of such contract or transac-
tion, or the refusal to perform the whole or any part
thereof, or an agreement in writing to submit to
arbitration an existing controversy arising out of
such a contract, transaction, or refusal, shall be
valid, irrevocable, and enforceable, save upon such
grounds as exist at law or in equity for the revoca-
tion of any contract.
(July 30, 1947, c. 392, 61 Stat. 670.)
Section 3, 9 U.S.C. § 3:
Stay of proceedings where issue therein referable
to arbitration
If any suit or proceeding be brought in any of the
courts of the United States upon any issue referable
to arbitration under an agreement in writing for
such arbitration, the court in which such suit is
pending, upon being satisfied that the issue involved
in such suit or proceeding is referable to arbitration
under such an agreement, shall on application of one
of the parties stay the trial of the action until such
arbitration has been had in accordance with the
terms of the agreement, providing the applicant for
the stay is not in default in proceeding with such
arbitration.
(July 30, 1947, c. 392, 61 Stat. 670.)
15a
Section 4, 9 U.S.C. § 4:
Failure to arbitrate under agreement; petition to
United States court having jurisdiction for order
to compel arbitration; notice and service thereof;
hearing and determination
A party aggrieved by the alleged failure, neglect,
or refusal of another to arbitrate under a written
agreement for arbitration may petition any United
States district court which, save for such agreement,
would have jurisdiction under Title 28, in a civil
action or in admiralty of the subject matter of a
suit arising out of the controversy between the par-
ties, for an order directing that such arbitration
proceed in the manner provided for in such agree-
ment. Five days’ notice in writing of such applica-
tion shall be served upon the party in default. Serv-
ice thereof shall be made in the manner provided by
the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. The court
shall hear the parties, and upon being satisfied that
the making of the agreement for arbitration or the
failure to comply therewith is not in issue, the court
shall make an order directing the parties to proceed
to arbitration in accordance with the terms of the
agreement. The hearing and proceedings, under such
agreement, shall be within the district in which the
petition for an order directing such arbitration is
filed. If the making of the arbitration agreement or
the failure, neglect, or refusal to perform the same
be in issue, the court shall proceed summarily to the
trial thereof. If no jury trial be demanded by the
party alleged to be in default, or if the matter in
dispute is within admiralty jurisdiction, the court
shall hear and determine such issue. Where such an
issue is raised, the party alleged to be in default may,
except in cases of admiralty, on or before the return
day of the notice of application, demand a jury trial
of such issue, and upon such demand the court shall
16a
make an order referring the issue or issues to a jury
in the manner provided by the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure, or may specially call a jury for that pur-
pose. If the jury find that no agreement in writing
for arbitration was made or that there is no default
in proceeding thereunder, the proceeding shall be dis-
missed. If the jury find that an agreement for arbi-
tration was made in writing and that there is a de-
fault in proceeding thereunder, the court shall make
an order summarily directing the parties to proceed
with the arbitration in accordance with the terms
thereof.
(July 30, 1947, c. 392, 61 Stat. 671; Sept. 3, 1954,
ce. 1263, § 19, 68 Stat. 1233.)
TITLE VII OF THE CIVIL RIGHTS ACT OF 1964,
AS AMENDED, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e et seq.
Section 706, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5:
Enforcement provisions
(a) Power of Commission to prevent unlawful em-
ployment practices
The Commission is empowered, as hereinafter pro-
vided, to prevent any person from engaging in any
unlawful employment ‘practice as set forth in section
2000e-2 or 2000e-3 of this title. ;
(b) Charges by persons aggrieved or member of
Commission of unlawful employment practices
by employers, etc.; filing; allegations; notice to
respondent; contents of notice; investigation by
Commission; contents of charges; prohibition on
disclosure of charges; determination of reason-
able cause; conference, conciliation, and per-
suasion for elimination of unlawful practices;
prohibition on disclosure of informal endeavors
to end uniawful practices; use of evidence in
subsequent proceedings; penalties for disclosure
17a
of information; time for determination of rea-
sonable cause
Whenever a charge is filed by or on behalf of
a person claiming to be aggrieved, or by a mem-
ber of the Commission, alleging that an employer,
employment agency, labor organization, or joint
labor-management committee controlling apprentice-
ship or other training or retraining, including on-
the-job training programs, has engaged in an unlaw-
ful employment practice, the Commission shall serve a
notice of the charge (including the date, place and
circumstances of the alleged unlawful employment
practice) on such employer, employment agency, la-
bor organization, or joint labor-management commit-
tee (hereinafter referred to as the “respondent’’)
within ten days, and shall make an investigation
thereof. Charges shall be in writing under oath or
affirmation and shall contain such information and
be in such form as the Commission requires. Charges
shall not be made public by the Commission. If the
Commission determines after such investigation that
there is not reasonable cause to believe that the
charge is true, it shall dismiss the charge and
promptly notify the person claiming to be aggrieved
and the respondent of its action. In determining
whether reasonable cause exists, the Commission shall
accord substantial weight to final findings and orders
made by State or local authorities in proceedings
commenced under State or local law pursuant to the
requirements of subsections (c) and (d) of this sec-
tion. If the Commission determines after such in-
vestigation that there is reasonable cause to believe
that the charge is true, the Commission shall en-
deavor to eliminate any such alleged unlawful em-
ployment practice by informal methods of confer-
ence, conciliation, and persuasion. Nothing said or
done during and as a part of such informal endeav-
18a
ors may be made public by the Commission, its of-
ficers or employees, or used as evidence in a subse-
quent proceeding without the written consent of the
persons concerned. Any person who makes public
information in violation of this subsection shall be
fined not more than $1,000 or imprisoned for not
more than one year, or both. The Commission shall
make its determination on reasonable cause as
promptly as possible and, so far as practicable, not
later than one hundred and twenty days from the
filing of the charge or, where applicable under sub-
section (c) or (d) of this section, from the date upon
which the Commission is authorized to take action
with respect to the charge.
(c) State or local enforcement proceedings; noti-
fication of State or local authority; time for
filing charges with Commission; commencement
of proceedings
In the case of an alleged unlawful employment
practice occurring in a State, or political subdivision
of a State, which has a State or local law prohibiting
the unlawful employment practice alleged and estab-
lishing or authorizing a State or local authority to
grant or seek relief from such practice or to institute
criminal proceedings with respect thereto upon re-
ceiving notice thereof, no charge may be filed under
subsection (b) of this section by the person aggrieved
before the expiration of sixty days after proceedings
have been commenced under the State or local law,
unless such proceedings have been earlier terminated,
provided that such sixty-day period shall be extended
to one hundred and twenty days during the first year
after the effective date of such State or local law. If
any requirement for the commencement of such pro-
ceedings is imposed by a State or local authority
other than a requirement of the filing of a written
19a
and signed statement of the facts upon which the
proceeding is based, the proceeding shall be deemed
to have been commenced for the purposes of this sub-
section at the time such statement is sent by regis-
tered mail to the appropriate State or local author-
ity.
(d) State or local enforcement proceedings; noti-
fication of State or local authority; time for
action on charges by Commission
In the case of any charge filed by a member of the
Commission alleging an unlawful employment prac-
tice occurring in a State or political subdivision of a
State which has a State or local law prohibiting the
practice alleged and establishing or authorizing a
State or local authority to grant or seek relief from
such practice or to institute criminal proceedings
with respect thereto upon receiving notice thereof,
the Commission shall, before taking any action with
respect to such charge, notify the appropriate State
or local officials and, upon request, afford them a
reasonable time, but not less than sixty days (pro-
vided that such sixty-day period shall be extended to
one hundred and twenty days during the first year
after the effective day of such State or local law),
unless a shorter period is requested, to act under
such State or local law to remedy the practice al-
leged.
(e) Time for filing charges; time for service of
notice of charge on respondent; filing of charge
by Commission with State or local agency
A charge under this section shall be filed within
one hundred and eighty days after the alleged un-
lawful employment practice occurred and notice of
the charge (including the date, place and circum-
stances of the alleged unlawful employment prac-
20a
tice) shall be served upon the person against whom
such charge is made within ten days thereafter, ex-
cept that in a case of an unlawful employment prac-
tice with respect to which the person aggrieved has
initially instituted proceedings with a State or local
agency with authority to grant or seek relief from
such practice or to institute criminal proceedings
with respect thereto upon receiving notice thereof,
such charge shall be filed by or on behalf of the per-
son aggrieved within three hundred days after the
alleged unlawful employment practice occurred, or
within thirty days after receiving notice that the
State or local agency has terminated the proceedings
under the State or local law, whichever is earlier,
and a copy of such charge shall be filed by the Com-
mission with the State or local agency.
(f) Civil action by Commission, Attorney General,
or person aggrieved; preconditions; procedure;
appointment of attorney; payment of fees, costs,
or security; intervention; stay of Federal pro-
ceedings; action for appropriate temporary or
preliminary relief pending final disposition of
charge; jurisdiction and venue of United States
courts; designation of judge to hear and deter-
mine case; assignment of case for hearing; ex-
pedition of case; appointment of master
(1) If within thirty days after a charge is filed
with the Commission or within thirty days after ex-
piration of any period of reference under subsection
(c) or (d) of this section, the Commission has been
unable to secure from the respondent a conciliation
agreement acceptable to the Commission, the Com-
mission may bring a civil action against any re-
spondent not a government, governmental agency, or
political subdivision named in the charge. In the
case of a respondent which is a government, govern-
mental agency, or political subdivision, if the Com-
21a
mission has been unable to secure from the respond-
ent a conciliation agreement acceptable to the Com-
mission, the Commission shall take no further action
and shall refer the case to the Attorney General who
may bring a civil action against such respondent in
the appropriate United States district court. The
person or persons aggrieved shall have the right to
intervene in a civil action brought by the Commis-
sion or the Attorney General in a case involving a
government, governmental agency, or political sub-
division. If a charge filed with the Commission pur-
suant to subsection (b) of this section is dismissed
by the Commission, or if within one hundred and
eighty days from the filing of such charge or the
expiration of any period of reference under subsec-
tion (c) or (d) of this section, whichever is later,
the Commission has not filed a civil action under this
section or the Attorney General has not filed a civil
action in a case involving a government, governmen-
tal agency, or political subdivision, or the Commis-
sion has not entered into a conciliation agreement to
which the person aggrieved is a party, the Commis-
sion, or the Attorney General in a case involving a
government, governmental agency, or political sub-
division, shall so notify the person aggrieved and
within ninety days after the giving of such notice a
civil action may be brought against the respondent
named in the charge (A) by the person claiming to
be aggrieved or (B) if such charge was filed by a
member of the Commission, by any person whom the
charge alleges was aggrieved by the alleged unlawful
employment practice. Upon application by the com-
plainant and in such circumstances as the court may
deem just, the court may appoint an attorney for
such complainant and may authorize the commence-
ment of the action without the payment of fees, costs,
or security. Upon timely application, the court may,
in its discretion, permit the Commission, or the At-
r
22a
torney General in a case involving a government,
governmental agency, or political subdivision, to in-
tervene in such civil action upon certification that the
case is of general public importance. Upon request,
the court may, in its discretion, stay further proceed-
ings for not more than sixty days pending the termi-
nation of State or local proceedings described in sub-
section (c) or (d) of this section or further efforts
of the Commission to obtain voluntary compliance.
(2) Whenever a charge is filed with the Commis-
sion and the Commission concludes on the basis of
a preliminary investigation that prompt judicial ac-
tion is necessary to carry.out the purposes of this
Act, the Commission, or the Attorney General in a
case involving a government, governmental agency,
or political subdivision, may bring an action for ap-
propriate temporary or preliminary relief pending
final disposition of such charge. Any temporary re-
straining order or other order granting preliminary
or temporary relief shall be issued in accordance
with rule 65 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.
It shall be the duty of a court having jurisdiction
over proceedings under this section to assign cases
for hearing at the earliest practicable date and to
cause such cases to be in every way expedited.
(3) Each United States district court and each
United States court of a place subject to the jurisdic-
tion of the United States shall have jurisdiction of
actions brought under this subchapter. Such an ac-
tion may be brought in any judicial district in the
State in which the unlawful employment practice is
alleged to have been committed, in the judicial dis-
trict in which the employment records relevant to
; such practice are maintained and administered, or
i} in the judicial district in which the aggrieved person
ij ~ would have worked but for the alleged unlawful
i} employment practice, but if the respondent is not
28a
found within any such district, such an action may
be brought within the judicial district in which the
respondent has his principal office. For purposes of
sections 1404 and 1406 of Title 28, the judicial dis-
trict in which the respondent has his principal office
shall in all cases be considered a district in which
the action might have been brought.
(4) It shall be the duty of the chief judge of the
district (or in his absence, the acting chief judge)
in which the case is pending immediately to desig-
nate a judge in such district to hear and determine
the case. In the event that no judge in the district
is available to hear and determine the case, the chief
judge of the district, or the acting chief judge, as
the case may be, shall certify this fact to the chief
judge of the circuit (or in his absence, the acting
chief judge) who shall then designate a district or
circuit judge of the circuit to hear and determine
the case.
(5) It shall be the duty of the judge designated
pursuant to this subsection to assign the case for
hearing at the earliest practicable date and to cause
the case to be in every way expedited. If such judge
has not scheduled the case for trial within one hun-
dred and twenty days after issue has been joined,
that judge may appoint a master pursuant to rule
53 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.
(g) Injunctions; appropriate affirmative action; equi-
table relief; accrual of back pay; reduction of
back pay; limitations on judicial orders
If the court’ finds that the respondent has inten-
tionally engaged in or is intentionally engaging in
an unlawful employment practice charged in the
complaint, the court may enjoin the respondent from
engaging in such unlawful employment practice, and
order such affirmative action as may be appropriate,
24a
which may include, but is not limited to, reinstate-
ment or hiring of employees, with or without back
pay (payable by the employer, employment agency,
or labor organization, as the case may be, responsi-
ble for the unlawful employment practice), or any
other equitable relief as the court deems appropri-
ate. Biz2k pay liability shall not accrue from a date
more than two years prior to the filing of a charge
with the Commission. Interim earnings or amounts
earnable with reasonable diligence by the person or
persons discriminated against shall operate to reduce
the back pay otherwise allowable. No order of the
court shall require the admission or reinstatement
of an individual as a member of a union, or the hir-
ing, reinstatement, or promotion of an individual as
an employee, or the payment to him of any back
pay, if such individual was refused admission, sus-
pended, or expelled, or was refused employment or
advancement or was suspended or discharged for
any reason other than discrimination on account of
race, color, religion, sex, or national origin or in vio-
lation of section 2000e-3(a) of this title.
(h) Provisions of sections 101 to 115 of Title 29
not applicable to civil actions for prevention of
unlawful practices
The provisions of sections 101 to 115 of Title 29
shall not apply with respect to civil actions brought
under this section.
(i) Proceedings by Commission to compel compli-
ance with judicial orders
In any case in which an employer, employment
agency, or labor organization fails to comply with
an order of a court issued in a civil action brought
under this section, the Commission may commence
proceedings to compel compliance with such order.
25a
(j) Appeals
Any civil action brought under this section and any
proceedings brought under subsection (i) of this
section shall be subject to appeal as provided in
sections 1291 and 1292, Title 28.
(k) Attorney’s fee; liability of Commission and
United States for costs
In any action or proceeding under this subchapter
the court, in its discretion, may allow the prevailing
party, other than the Commission or the United
States, a reasonable attorney’s fee as part of the
costs, and the Commission and the United States
shall be liable for costs the same as a private person.
(Pub. L. 88-352, title VII, § 706, July 2, 1964, 78 Stat.
259; Pub. L. 92-261, § 4, Mar. 24, 1972, 86 Stat. 104.)
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.