Jurisdictional Statement — Louisiana ex rel. Guste v. United States

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

89-557, TTS

a

sesso oct 5 Beg

NIOL, JR

CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United aa

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY AND

AGRICULTURAL AND MECHANICAL COLLEGE,

Appellant,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellee.

On Appeal from a Three-Judge Panel of the

United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Louisiana

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

WILLIAM J. JEFFERSON

Counsel of Record

TREVOR G. BRYAN

VINCENT P. BLANSON

JEFFERSON, BRYAN, JUPITER,

LEWIS & BLANSON

650 Poydras, Suite 1850

New Orleans, LA 70130-6101

(504) 561-8933

WILSON - EPEs PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the imposition of a desegregation remedy

that restructures Louisiana’s higher education system,

abolishes its constitutionally authorized governance boards,

creates a comprehensive community college system, estab-

lishes a hierarchical tiering system for universities, and

imposes new college admission standards, among other

drastic measures, unnecessarily and improperly involved

the district court in higher educational policy choices;

2. Whether the district court’s power to fashion a

remedy below was limited by the consent decree pre-

viously entered into by the parties, and/or by the re-

medial standards for higher education desegregation pre-

scribed by the U.S. Department of Education under Title

VI of the 1964 Civil Rights Act;

3. Whether the racial identifiability of a State’s higher

educational institutions and governance boards is a suf-

ficient basis for finding a violation of the Fourteenth

Amendment or of Title VI, when the State has long ago

abandoned its laws requiring racial separation in its col-

leges and has instituted good faith non-discriminatory

hiring and admission policies and practices, and whether,

in any event, the United States may raise such a Four-

teenth Amendment claim; and

4. Whether the district court’s rulings on the findings

of the Special Master in this cause, and the district court’s

failure to hold hearings on Consent Decree compliance or

on the merger of the Southern University Law Center

into the Louisiana State University Law Center violated

Due Process requirements and Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure 52 and 65(d).

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

I ____coasietintipbasibincianiantiogsnman 2

en 2

HOW THE FEDERAL QUESTION WAS RAISED.... 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE............ aires aticnigh biahasanaes 4

THE QUESTIONS ARE SUBSTANTIAL... 15

CONCLUSION....... Riaipandelladaiieelisundscnientenientaidiacetonnttianetuin 30

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Adams v. Bell, 711 F.2d 161 (D.C. Cir. 1983),

cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1065, 104 S.Ct. 1272

(1984) .......... schedacecaunahakaniingedenemisiiacaascnpnadicaniaiabadamadinads

Adams v. Califano, 430 F. Supp. 118 (D.D.C.

1977) (Order, 430 F. Supp. at 121) —....

Adams v. Richardson, 356 F. Supp. 92 (D.D.C.

1973), modified and aff'd per curiam, 480 F.2d

RO Giese CII cibstitcnndtinciinteeicegttastcirtemidndcduniion

Adams v. Richardson. 480 F. Supp. 118 (D.D.C.

1977) ...... niet ilianishicheninstiaieidaeiaageatincsenaaialiaicasadeduaadiniaitals

Alabama State Teachers Association (ASTA) v.

Alabama Public School and College Authority,

289 F. Supp. 784, 788 (M.D. Ala. 1968) (Three-

Judge Court), aff’d per curiam, without written

opinion, 393 U.S. 400, 89 S.Ct. 68 (1969) ..18, 26,

Anderson v. Celebrezze, 460 U.S. 780, 103 S.Ct.

RS IS 1 se ae

Ashwander v. T.V.A., 297 U.S. 288, 56 S.Ct. 466

NUIT os scctehicistcisheiumunarisesbonstnanenmedatnmnicedtinmapiaanmanenae

Atiyeh v. Capps, 449 U.S. 1312, 101 S.Ct. 829

RII asctdnsintsanpanatsicnigageiieessauamnnsaneneidamecniatiaaiaeeadinllineions

Ayers v. Allain, 674 F. Supp. 1523 (N.D. Miss.

1987), appeal pending appeal docketed No. 88&-

4103 (5th Cir. argued May 1, 1989) ...................

Batterton v. Francis, 432 U.S. 416, 97 S.Ct. 2399

tj aaa a ae

Board of Curators of the University of Missouri v.

Horowitz, 435 U.S. 78 (1978)_...... OTT Ee

Caritativo v. California, 357 U.S. 549 (1958) _......

Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense

Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 104 S.Ct. 2778

PIII nth caeedhabiedaionclh beicednigthiataialaldaheanatuanindastasenanneninc

City of Richmond v. J. A. Crossen Company,

USS. Ss : ¥-% F: | eRe

Cleveland Bd. of Ed. v. Loudermill, 470 U.S. 2532

IIIT si. a. a occ cacieetialcnecendindahmabaasiacsghansaciatesenabedaehenehs

Columbus Bd. of Ed. v. Penick, 443 U.S. 449, 465

(1 RESEERRSCR Re SR RSE acento SPO Tae

Page

16

16

16, 20

25

27, 28

27

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Columbus Bd. of Ed. v. Penick, 439 U.S. 1348,

Oe GG Te CI ikctctecccencshcncctinncicccastieedadatiniacbcanias

Dartmouth College v. Woodward, 4 Wheat. 512

I ia ice nsceecs deudeshcehistninaceimasiiesaspanlatadaias

Day v. Wayne County Bd. of Auditors, 749 F.2d

Se hs I icciiniecnrincsntate dicdinbamtaeiiadictiabens

Dayton Bd. of Ed. v. Brinkman, 438 U.S. 406, 99

OF BR RR Ce ee

Earle v. McVeigh, 91 U.S. 503 (1876) _..................

Epperson v. Arkansas, 393 U.S. 97 (1968) ...........

Firefighters Local Union No. 1784 v. Stotts, 467

U.S. 561, 104 S.Ct. 2676 (1984) ..........................

Ford Motor Credit Co. v. Milhollin, 444 U.S. 556,

OR Fe RF, eee

Geier v. Alexander, 801 F.2d 799 (6th Cir. 1986) ..

Green v. County School Board of New Kent

County, 391 U.S. 430, 88 S.Ct. 1689 (1968) ........

Hicks v. Miranda, 422 U.S. 332, 95 S.Ct. 2281

PRSIIIEID sc ciccaciss secedepmobapetiinbonbabesadaeai-ssackxauamaiataealaaseadion

Hopfmann v. Connolly, 471 U.S. 459, 105 S.Ct.

I Ge seciccchinceceeisheihinknncnnnniscnasisinsiansbisbiniepaimeaiias lalate

Hughes v. United States, 342 U.S. 353, 72 S.Ct.

SE CI son srlanccccancsnsnronmninenntteunuiianadidaatadibichieceieen

Keyes v. School District No. 1 Denver, Colo., 413

U.S. 189, 98 S.Ct. 2686 (1978) .............................

Liddell v. Missouri, 731 F.2d 1294 (8th Cir. 1984).

cert. denied, 469 U.S. 816, 105 S.Ct. 82 (1984) ..

Local Number 93, International Association of

Firefighters v. City of Cleveland, 54 U.S.L.W.

Be 8 RR

Mandel v. Bradley, 432 U.S. 173, 97 S.Ct. 2238

| a a Teepe ncbnelsr Pees es SEY FE

Mandel v. U.S. Dept. of HEW, 411 F. Supp. 542

EM ER RRR RE tae ates ts AN ol

Mayor and City Council of Baltimore v. Matthews,

S68 9.26 S16 (4 Cir. 2677)

Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923) —.............

Milliken v. Bradley, 418 U.S. 717, 94 S.Ct. 3112

‘eo sR ae Ree eR

Page

18

21

22

denen

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Milliken v. Bradley, 433 U.S. 389, 97 S.Ct. 2749

(1977) (Milliken I) ......... Secviaishbeketabithindiadedebeten 13

New York Trust Co. v. Eisner, 256 U.S. 345, 41

Recs: IEE: METI sci cnssccrneupnssnpiasltabictabideinddienditeaesiddaddaias 13

NLRB v. United Food and Commercial Workers

Union, Local 23, AFL-CIO, ——- U.S. , 108

Me Le 16

NLRB v. Southwestern Bell Telephone Co., 730

i of 6 OL | ee Se 22

Norris v. State Council of Higher Education for

Virginia, 327 F. Supp. 1368 (E.D. Va. 1971),

aff'd per curiam sub nom. Board of Visitors of

the College of William & Mary in Virginia v.

Norris, 404 U.S. 907, 92 S.Ct. 227 (1971) 0.0... 27, 28

Pasadena City Bd. of Ed. v. Spangler, 427 U.S.

UIE i TEED \eciiciecsndhedtcabeaasdbanieiniaieneumaaiaienieaaainediean 18

Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U. S. 510 (1925). 21

Price v. Denison Independent School District Bd.

of Ed., 348 F.2d 1010 (5th Cir. 1965) 0000000. 17

Regents of the University of California v. Bakke,

438 U.S. 265, 98 S.Ct. 27383 (1978) .....0. 29, 30

Regents of the University of Michigan v. Ewing,

474 U.S. 214, 106 S.Ct. 507 (1985)... 18

Rizzo v. Goode, 423 U.S. 362, 96 S.Ct. 598 (1976) .. 18

Ruiz v. Estelle, 650 F.2d 555 (5th Cir. 1981), cert.

denied, 460 U.S. 1042 (1988) ..... 19

Singleton v. Jackson Municipal Separate School

District, 348 F.2d 729 (5th Cir. 1965) — 0... 16

Sixty-Seven Minnesota State Senate v. Beens, 406

ise we Fe a ee 18

Spector Motor Service v. McLaughlin, 323 US.

me OF ioe 6, ee Sa 30

Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Bd. of Ed., 402

is i gee ee Ue ee er 18

Three Affiliated Tribes of Ft. Bertole Reservation

v. Wold Engineering, 467 U.S. 138, 104 S. Ct

I 1 a 30

United States v. Armour & Co., 402 U.S. 673, 91

v. 3) le. : ) PRBS Io REN ie 23

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

United States v. Atlantic Refining Co., 360 U.S. 19,

TO BG, BOG Ce ccecccsccenesetsententnsentecesintenteenee 23, 24

United States v. City of Philadelphia, 644 F.2d

ee ee Ls sceailediaceansantansatie 29

United States v. ITT Continental Baking Co., 420

GD ye 24, 25

United States v. Jefferson County Bd. of Ed., 372

F.2d 836 (5th Cir. 1966), aff'd en banc, 380 F.2d

385 (5th Cir. 1967), cert. denied, 386 U.S. 1001

| a eee 17

United States v. Mattson, 600 F.2d 1295 (9th

I ee eee Ee 29

United States v. Overton, 834 F.2d 1171 (5th Cir.

RIED inicedsetesuntn -citiinsenesitansaaniniasnsimaiamniiaissaiininineinis 24

United States v. Solomon, 563 F.2d 1121 (4th Cir.

TFET re nicnnnicnnsitesttinMivsnarssnnnnerntdiiaccatcisiiashtabeaathaiatataednes 29

United States v. State of Alabama, 791 F.2d 1450

CS TI BD . i ncisciicssienieetinieeiredeniansonstadinipisegions 30

United States v. State of Alabama, 828 F.2d 1532

(11th Cir. 1987) (per curiam), cert. denied

sub nom. Board of Trustees of Alabama State

University v. Auburn _.... stl Baa ear aoe 29

United States v. Swift & Co., 286 U.S. 106, 52

S.Ct. 460 (1932)... ia 23

Whitcomb v. Chavis, 403 U Ss. 124, 91 S.Ct. 1858

ITNT” sce cctctcocisnepeeeeudetmacasintestedanadahiadiciaddaiabacsiinnats 18

Williams v. Edwards, 547 F. 2d 1206 (5th Cir.

1977) .. ah eed edie Reena 23

Young v. Community Nutrition Institute, 476 USS.

974, 106 S.Ct. 2360 (1986) ae 16

STATUTES

I chiens 2

, gir Te | eee ee 3

She SR RES nas 3

42 U.S.C.A. 2000d, 2000d-1 (Title VI)... passim

L.S.A.-R.S. Title 17:3121-3133 and Title 17 :3201-

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

CONSTITUTION Page

Article 8, §§ 5-7, Louisiana Constitution 1974 4, 5, 6,7

Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Con-

EAE ES a co ee passim

RULES AND REGULATIONS

RS EL eae nalboidapeadl 3

Fed. R. Civ. P. 65(d), 28 U.S.C.A. lodoabascidtdiatle 22, 23

Eis Bis Gis Bro Gis BD Cs nccccccnscasecescensesacesecsees 22

Revised Criteria Specifying the Ingredients of

Acceptable Plans to Desegregate State Systems

of Public Higher Education, 43 Fed. Reg. 6658

(February 15, 1978) —...... 2 ie EN tO passim

Rule 12 of the United States District Court for the

Middle District of Louisiana... ns RSS 3

LAW REVIEW ARTICLES

Baier, Framing and Reviewing a Desegregation

Decree: Of the Chancellor's Foot and Fifth Cir-

cuit Control, 47 La. L. Rev. 123 (1986)... 21

Chayes, Foreword: Public Law Litigation and the

Burger Court, 96 Harv. L. Rev. 4 (1982)... 18

K. Saunders, Agency Interpretations and Judicial

Review: A Search for Limitations on the Con-

trolling Effect Given Agency Statutory Con-

structions, 30 Ariz. L. Rev. 769 (1988)... 17

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

No.

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF SOUTHERN UNIVERSITY AND

AGRICULTURAL AND MECHANICAL COLLEGE,

. Appellant,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellee.

On Appeal from a Three-Judge Panel of the

United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Louisiana

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

The Board of Supervisors of Southern University and

A&M College, the appellant, appeals from the final judg-

ment of a Three-Judge District Court entered in separate

decisions:

(1) Its Order and Reasons of August 2, 1988, which

held that the State of Louisiana and other defendants

maintained a dual system of public higher education in

violation of Title VI of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, 42

U.S.C.A. § 2000d (1981) ;

(2) Its Opinion and Order of July 19, 1989, which

held, inter alia, that the system’s dualism also violated

the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Consti-

tution and which imposed a remedy; and

(3) Its Supplemental Reasons and Order of August 4,

1989, denying motions for a new trial and for a stay of

2

the court’s prior judgment and imposing additional reme-

dies.

OPINIONS BELOW

The August 2, 1988, judgment of the three-judge dis-

trict court, which appears in the appendix hereto, p. 3a,

infra, is reported at 692 F. Supp. 642 (E.D. La. 1988).

The July 19, 1989 and August 4, 1989, judgments are

not reported and are reprinted in the appendix hereto,

pp. 39a and 78a, respectively.

The final recommendations of the Special Master ap-

pointed in the proceedings below by the three-judge panel,

upon which the court’s judgment in part depends, is also

unreported, but appears in the appendix, p. 623a, infra.

JURISDICTION

The final order of the three-judge court constituting

the judgment herein was entered on August 4, 1989, fol-

lowing the district court’s consideration and denial of

appellant’s post-trial motions.

A notice of appeal to this Court was timely filed in the

United States District Court for the Eastern District of

Louisiana on August 10, 1989.

This appeal is being docketed within sixty (60) days

of the filing of the notice of appeal. The jurisdiction of

this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1253. These and

other statutes, rules and constitutional provisions relied

upon are set forth in ithe appendix hereto.

HOW THE FEDERAL QUESTION WAS RAISED

The federal question was raised in the complaint of the

United States, filed March 14, 1974, and amended on No-

vember 17, 1980. This action was brought pursuant to

the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Consti-

tution; Sections 601 and 602 of the Civil Rights Act of

1964, 42 U.S.C.A. 2000d, 2000d-1, and regulations issued

3

thereunder, 45 C.F.R. Part 80, pp. 115a and 887a, infra

and jurisdiction was claimed under 28 U.S.C.A. 13845.

The complaint alleged, inter alia, that the

... (A)ets and practices of the defendants and their

agents maintain and perpetuate an unlawful dual

system of higher education based upon race, and

thereby deprive black students attending state-

supported schools, and prospective black students, of

equal protection of the laws and equal educational

opportunities in violation of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment to the-Constitution of the United States and in

violation of Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

and the regulations issued pursuant thereto.

Further, the United States prayed that the

(C)ourt enter an order enjoining the defendants, their

agents, officers, employees, successors, and all persons in

active concert with them from maintaining and perpetu-

ating racial dualism in the State-supported’ system of

higher education within the State of Louisiana.”

‘“

.

On the same date on which the original complaint was

filed, the United States filed a request for a three-judge

Court, under 28 U.S.C.A. §§ 2281, 2284, and Rule 12 of

the United States District Court for the Middle District

of Louisiana, infra, appendix, p. 184a. And, on March

28, 1974, an order was entered by the Chief Judge of the

Fifth Cireuit Court of Appeals constituting a court of

thr 2 judges to hear the case, which three-judge court has

been reconstituted four times since, on April 16, 1974, on

November 7, 1979, on November 16, 1979, and on No-

vember 26, 1979.

In its judgment of August 2, 1988, the district court

noted that a three-judge court had been properly requested

and convened, p. 10a, infra, and ruled that the United

States had standing to bring the action under Title VI,

and that the twenty institutions under the four higher

education boards were continuing to be operated under an

unlawful, dual system of education, in violation of Title

VI. Additionally, in its opinion of July 19, 1989, the

4

court stated that the “. .. present scheme for governing

education in Louisiana—three operating boards and one

coordinating board—has perpetuated illegal segregation

in Louisiana’s higher education . . .” and that the “. ..

system of multiple boards is therefore a defect in the

State’s system of higher education that violates the fed-

eral constitution.” Further, the court held that statistics

regarding student performance “. . . demonstrate addi-

tional particular constitutional defects inherent in and

perpetuated by Louisiana’s present system of higher ed-

ucation,” appendix hereto, p. 45a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

More than twenty years ago, on January 13, 1969, a

letter was sent from the Department of Health, Educa-

tien;-and Welfare to the State of Louisiana, advising that

Louisiana operated its system of higher education in vio-

lation of Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. This

message was repeated in letters dated October 21, 1969,

May 21, 1973, November 10, 1973 and November 30,

1973. Louisiana responded that its system complied with

federal law. The facts set forth in these letters-and the

response of the State of Louisiana are the acorn from

which this giant oak of a case sprouted. Through the

years, like the oak from the acorn, it has grown into

something quite different from its beginnings. Louisiana

has changed—in particular its laws on race relations and

the enfranchisement of its black citizens—and so have

many of the facts giving rise to this case. The court be-

low, and now this Court, then, are put to judge allega-

tions now twenty years old against present day facts.

The -appellant, Board of Supervisors of Southern Uni-

versity and Agricultural and Mechanical College, is one

of three higher education management boards established

by the Louisiana State Constitution of 1974, Article 8,

$$ 5-7. The State Constitution also provides, in Article 8,

§ 5 thereof, for a coordinating or policy board, the Lou-

isiana Board of Regents. The Constitution containing

5

these provisions was proposed by a bi-racial Constitu-

tional Convention, adopted by the people of Louisiana on

April 20, 1974, and cleared by the U. S. Department of

Justice as comporting with the 1965 Voting Rights Act.

When the people selected the multi-board higher educa-

tion governance structure, they consciously chose between

alternative propositions on the referendum ballot—Prop-

osition A, for a multi-board structure; and Proposition

B, for a single board, appendix hereto, p. 914a, infra.

So adopted, the Constitution of 1974 replaced the 1921

Constitution, and became effective at midnight on Decem-

ber 31, 1974.

To implement its new constitutionally-mandated higher

education system, the Louisiana Legislature, in an ex-

traordinary session held in 1974, and a regular session in

1975, enacted extensive and new enabling statutes. L.S.A.-

R.S. Title 17:3121-3133 and Title 17:3201-3383, appen-

dix hereto, pp. 126a-148a and 1048a and 1067a. These

statutes and other laws tied to the constitutional gov-

ernance board structure became effective at various times

beginning January 1, 1975.

The foregoing constitutional provisions and laws au-

thorize the Louisiana State University (LSU) system;

the State Colleges and Universities system; and the South-

ern University system. The Southern University system

presently consists of four institutions of higher learning:

(1) Southern University and Agricultural and Mechani-

cal College at Baton Rouge; (2) Southern University at

Shreveport; (3) Southern University at New Orleans;

and (4) the Southern University Law Center. L.S.A.-

R.S. Title 17:3216 placed the Southern University system

under the authority of the Southern University Board of

Supervisors. And, L.S.A.-R.S. Title 17:3335 empowered

appellant and each other management board to operate as

a body corporate and, within certain limited exceptions,

to exercise “all power to direct, control, supervise and

manage the institutions under its control,’ appendix

hereto, pp. 126a-127a,

6

More than 13,000 students are currently enrolled at

the institutions of the Southern University system. Each

institution in the Southern system is predominantly black.

The Southern University Board is predominantly black.

Every other public higher education governance board in

Louisiana is predominantly white. Grambling State Uni-

versity, governed by the Board of Trustees, is also major-

ity black. The productive capacity of Southern and Gram-

bling in graduating black baccalaureate degree holders in

Louisiana has been singularly impressive: fifty-nine per-

cent of the State’s total number of baccalaureate degrees

granted to blacks in 1985 were granted by Southern and

Grambling. In 1986, that figure was sixty-two percent.

National studies have ranked Southern University and

A&M College in the top ten of institutions producing

black college graduates in the nation, appendix hereto,

pp. 947a and 1087a.

However, none of the referenced constitutional provi-

sions or laws require any particular racial make-up of

any of the State’s governance boards, nor of any of its

colleges... The records of the Constitutional Convention

disclose no racial motivation for the adoption of the Con-

stitution of 1974, and, in particular, its higher education

articles. Indeed, a black legislator proposed the creation

of the Southern University Board, appendix, p. 857a,

infra.

The Louisiana Constitution of 1974 manifests a clear

break with Louisiana’s segregative past. It outlaws all

forms of racial discrimination in Louisiana, including in

higher education. The preamble to Article 8 of the

Louisiana Constitution of 1974 proclaims: “The goal of

the public educational system is to provide learning en-

1 The State’s present governor has appointed twenty-nine persons

to the State’s governance boards since his term of office began in

March of 1988. In each case, he appointed a white person to replace

a departing white and a black to replace a departing black. The

racial make-up of the boaids is a product of an exercise of execu-

tive discretion.

7

vironments and experiences, at all stages of human de-

velopment, that are humane, just and designed to promote

excellence in order that every individual may be afforded

an equal opportunity to develop his full potential.”

Indeed, the State repealed its remaining laws requir-

ing separate educational facilities for blacks and whites

at various legislative sessions between 1972 and 1975.

Through Louisiana’s new educational governance struc-

ture, as provided for in the Louisiana Constitution of

1974, each of the State’s undergraduate colleges, except

Louisiana State University and A&M College, is an open

admissions institution. Thus, any student who graduates

from a Louisiana high school is guaranteed admission to

the college of his or her choice, whether the graduate is

black or white. The State’s graduate schools have modest

selective admission standards. None of the State’s gov-

ernance boards created in the 1974 Constitution, particu-

larly Southern’s Board, has ever adopted any official

policy or practice of denying admission to any student

because of the student’s race. No institution now gov-

erned by appellant has ever had any such policy at any

time, however. No evidence was presented at trial to

show any present-day policy or practice on the part of

the State, or any governance board, or any State college,

of denying any person admission to any State institution

of higher learning because of that person’s race. And

new laws adopted by the State legislature, particularly

the “Taylor Plan” legislation, guarantee a free college

education to students meeting certain academic require-

ments regardless of race, appendix hereto, p. 144a.

The United States commenced this action on March 14,

1974, prior to the adoption of the State’s present Consti-

tution. It alleged a racially dual system of higher educa-

tion in Louisiana. The United States purported to bring

suit under Title VI of the 1964 Civil Rights Act as well

as the Fourteenth Amendment.

The complaint was amended on November 17, 1980, to

substitute defendants, and it was at this time that appel-

8

lant and the other governance boards created by the

1974 Constitution became parties. The defendants below,

including Southern, denied liability.2 No allegation was

ever made in the initial or amended complaint that the

laws authorizing the governance boards were unconsti-

tutional or a vestige of de jure segregation.

On September 8, 1981, the parties settled the suit and

signed a Consent Decree, appendix hereto, p. 199a. The

Consent Decree was on that date entered as a judgment,

following a hearing before the district court at which

the court determined that the Decree was “. . . consistent

with the objectives of the Fourteenth Amendment and

Title VI. . .,” appendix hereto, p. 200a. (See also ap-

pendix pp. 262a and 266a).

The Consent Decree provided, inter alia, for affirma-

tive steps to recruit other-race students and faculty, es-

tablishing goals and timetables; for measures to reduce

attrition and require developmental education; for other-

race faculty fellowship programs; and for scholarships for

black students: pursuing medicine, law, and veterinary

science at historically white institutions; for cooperative

efforts between proximate, historically white and black

institutions; and for the enhancement of predominantly

2 The parties participating in the proceedings below not listed

in caption are:

(1) STATE OF LOUISIANA, Defendant Below

(2) BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF STATE COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES,

Defendant Below

(3) BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF STATE COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES,

Defendant Below

(4) BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF LOUISIANA-STATE UNIVERSITY

AND A&M COLLEGE, Defendant Below

(5) GRAMBLING STATE ALUMNI ASSOCIATION, Litigating Amicus

(6) LOUISIANA BOARD OF REGENTS, Defendant Below

(7) ST. BERNARD PARISH SCHOOL BOARD, Defendant Below

(8) BOSSIER PARISH SCHOOL BOARD, Defendant Below

(9) LOUISIANA STATE BOARD OF ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY

EDUCATION, Defendant Below

9

black institutions, through strengthening existing aca-

demic programs, lecating new high-demand, high-cost

academic programs, and improving physical facilities. It

provided for monitoring progress under the Decree and

for reporting to the court. With respect to governance,

it left the boards intact, and provided that the Regents,

Trustees, and LSU Boards be desegregated to “approxi-

mately reflect the racial composition of the State’s popu-

lation,” but that the Southern Board would “reflect the

racial composition of the State’s population inversely.”

The Southern Board’s present make-up complies with this

requirement.

Part III of the Consent Decree, headed “Effect of De-

cree” stated that it “. . . resolves all issues in contention

between plaintiff and defendants in this lawsuit relating

to compliance with and enforcement of the Fourteenth

Amendment and Title VI.” Further, Part III states in

paragraph B: “The defendants’ compliance with this

Decree, or any modification thereof, as between the par-

ties, shall be deemed compliance with the Fourteenth

Amendment and Title VI as to all matters addressed

hereunder this Decree.” Appendix hereto, p. 234a.

The court retained jurisdiction to assure implementa-

tion of the Consent Decree. The court’s jurisdiction, how-

ever, ended and the Consent Decree terminated on Decem-

ber 31, 1987, unless, the plaintiff or another party by

motion “requests this Court to conduct a hearing for the

purpose of determining whether the defendants have fully

implemented all provisions of this Decree and are operat-

ing the system of public higher education on a unitary

basis.”” Appendix hereto, p. 235a.

On December 29, 1987, the plaintiff, the United States,

filed the contemplated motion, contending that the Con-

sent Decree had not been effectively implemented, and

requesting a hearing at which such determination could

be made, appendix, p. 267a, infra. On December 31,

1987, appellant joined in appellee’s motion, p. 560a,

infra. Yet, the court never held a hearing on these

motions,

_—_—aa sl

10

In refusing to do so, the court relied upon Part IV,

Paragraph E of the decree, which states:

Should this court determine at the time of the hear-

ing that any provision of the Consent Decree has not

been effectively implemented or that the defendants

are not operating the system of public higher educa-

tion in a manner consistent with the goals and ob-

jectives of this Decree, this court shall enter such

orders as are necessary to provide additional or fur-

ther relief as is appropriate and shall retain juris-

diction. until] such implementation has been accom-

plished. Appendix hereto, p. 236a.

The court read the words of Paragraph E “to provide

additional or further reiief as is appropriate” to mean

that “this Court may find that the decree has failed in

its purpose and thus may craft a remedy as if no decree

had ever been made.” 692 F.Supp. at 649, appendix

hereto, p. 15a.

Finally, the Consent Decree established a compliance

standard. It required the parties to make a “good faith”

effort to achieve and implement its goals and commit-

ments. Appendix hereto, p. 237a. The goals of the Decree

were “not to be construed as quotas and therefore the

failure to achieve any goal” would “not in itself consti-

tute non-compliance” with the Decree. Appendix hereto,

p. 237a. Parties were also permitted, where required ac-

tions were not feasible, to pursue reasonable alternatives,

or, in some cases, to move for relief from the obligation.

Appendix hereto, p. 237a. An Addendum to the Consent

Decree and an Amendment to the Addendum were

adopted by the court in September of 1982 and May of

1983, containing substantially the provisions of the prin-

cipal Decree, but applying to the Shreveport, Louisiana

area institutions.

Instead of determining compliance with the Consent

Decree, the court, in a Minute Entry of March 30, 1988,

directed the parties to file summary judgment motions

on the issue of whether a racially dual system existed

11

in Louisiana. At the court’s direction, motions for sum-

mary judgment were filed by the United States, the Board

of Regents, and by the Bossier Parish School Board.

On August 2, 1988, the motion of the United States

was granted and the defendants held liable for violation

of Title VI. While not deciding upon a remedy, the

court suggested one, then warned in its opinion that “a

drastic change” might be required to remedy the remain-

ing vestiges of the former de jure segregated system,

ie., the racial identifiability of the State’s colleges and

boards, appendix, p. 3a at 35a. The district court’s sug-

gested remedy strongly resembled political proposals of-

fered by the State’s governor, but rejected by the state

legislature, appendix, pp. 834a-853a. The governor of-

fered these proposals, not for desegregation purposes, but

rather, for “reform purposes,” appendix, pp. 1001a-1022a.

On October 19, 1988, appellant filed a motion for an

evidentiary hearing and reurged its demand for a deter-

mination of Consent Decree compliance, appendix, p.

569a. The district court denied the motion and required

the parties to fashion a remedy acceptable to the court,

appendix, pp. 577a and 579a.

The parties tried unsuccessfully to reach accord on a

voluntary remedial plan. Thereafter, on December 2,

1988, the court appointed a Special Master to develop a

plan. The Special Master entered his “Recommended Re-

medial Plan” on April 18, 1989. On May 30, 1989, the

Special Master submitted to the court his “Final Report”

embodying his suggested remedy to desegregate Louisi-

ana’s higher education system, which remedy tracked

that suggested by the court in its August 2 Opinion.

Appellant and other parties below, particularly appellee

herein, filed extensive objections to the Special Master’s

initial and final recommendations. Appendix hereto, pp.

582a-617a and 721la-733a. Nonetheless, the district court

issued a judgment on July 19, 1989, adopting most of the

recommendations of the Special Master.

12

As presaged by the court, the remedy it ordered was

drastic indeed. For the first time, the court declared

Louisiana’s governance structure and its higher educa-

tion system unconstitutional, based on the Fourteenth

Amendment. It required that within thirty days of the

entry of its order “the four boards currently governing

public higher education in Louisiana shall be disbanded

and their powers consolidated into a single State govern-

ing board.” The court gave this new board “ultimate au-

thority over academic, budgetary, personnel and admin-

istrative affairs of each public institution currently

overseen by the Board of Trustees, the Southern Super-

visors, and the LSU Supervisors.” Appendix hereto, p.

63a. The court also gave the board the special mission

of monitoring and implementing the court’s remedial plan

and of insuring progress toward eliminating Louisiana’s

racially dual system.

The court set the size of this judicially created board

at seventeen members, plus one non-voting student mem-

ber; fixed the term of office of its members; established

the appointing authority; provided for staggered terms;

set certain qualifications for board members; reserved

to itself the right to appoint members to the board, un-

der certain circumstances, and, in any event, to veto its

composition or any appointee thereto; empowered the

board to appoint a president and an interim president to

run the system and called for a substantial administra-

tive staff whose qualifications it also set; and mandated

advisory boards for each college, appendix hereto, pp.

63a-66a. In setting up the board, the court rejected a

finding of the Special Master that a specific racial make-

up of the board, seven black members out of seventeen,

was necessary to protect the interests of historically black

colleges and black students. Appendix hereto, p. 53a.

The district court structured the State’s colleges into

a hierarchical tier, establishing a flagship/research uni-

versity, several doctoral and graduate program institu-

tions, and comprehensive institutions. With respect to

13

each tier, the court prescribed selective or open admission

standards. For the new selective institutions, the court

provided for a rule of ten percent admissions exceptions

for other-race students, principally because of its con-

cern for the negative effect selective admissions might

have on black students. Indeed, the court decreed an end

to the traditional system of open admissions to all State

universities, in effect, limiting present student choice and

set deadlines for the adoption of new admission standards.

It also limited the availability of remedial education pro-

grams in the State’s four-year colleges, which programs

principally assist in the college education of black stu-

dents. Appendix hereto, pp. 56a, 67a and 7la.

The district court also ordered the establishment of a

new comprehensive community college system, beginning

with the State’s four existing two-year institutions, and

its vocational schools, and then expanding into other areas

of the State with the creation of new community colleges,

It set the requirement for the system’s administrative

head and for his qualifications and mandated admission

standards.’ Appendix hereto pp. 70a-71a.

3 These remedies are less than obvious desegregation tools. Mr.

Justice Holmes has stated in another context, “a page of history

is worth a volume of logic.” New York Trust Co. v. Eisner, 256 U.S.

345, 349, 41 S.Ct. 506, 507 (1921). Here, literally volumes of

history show the irrelevance of the district court’s remedies to

desegregation. For instance, Florida has had a sircle governance

board since 1905 (Florida Statutes, Title 16, Section 240.205;

Florida State Constitution, Article 9, Section 1); Georgia, since

1931 (Georgia State Constitution, Article 8, § 4); and Mississippi,

since 1910 (Mississippi Statutes, 37-101-3, et seq.; Mississippi Con-

stitution, Article 8, § 2134, et seq.) Yet each was charged by HEW

and/or the U.S. Department of Justice with Title VI violations, as

was Louisiana, a multi-board state. What these states historically

had in common was not their governance structures, but their

official policies and practices of racial discrimination. No state

has ever adopted a single governance structure as a desegregation

remedy, nor selective admissions, nor a community college system;

and the United States did not seek nor support this remedy here.

Compare Milliken v. Bradley, 433 U.S. 289, 297, 97 S.Ct. 2749,

2757-2758 (1977) (Milliken II) (requiring remedies to be related to

desegregation).

ne

14

Although the Southern University Law Center is ad-

mittedly integrated—with a student body that is 58 per-

cent black and 42 percent white, and a faculty that is 50

percent black and 50 percent white—the court ordered its

elimination and merger into the LSU Law Center, where

less than one percent of the student body is black. The

court justified this order on the grounds that: (1) the

merger would eliminate program duplication, a claimed

impediment to desegregation, and (2) the percentage of

Southern graduates who passed the state bar examination

on their first attempt demonstrated that Southern’s was

an “inferior law school,” producing “a secondary class

of lawyers unable to compete fully in the professional

context.” No evidence was adduced at trial to support

these conclusions or this merger. No notice or opportunity

for a hearing was given to the parties of the court’s in-

tention in this regard. The Special Master specifically

recommended against merger of the law centers or any

other institutions.

The court ordered funding to improve the quality of

the State’s predominantly black universities, but only

“whenever fiscally possible”, a standard left undefined.

And it required its newly crtated board to develop a pro-

gram of “financial incentives” for institutions meeting or

exceeding board-established desegregation goals, and “re-

verse incentives or taxes” for those consistently failing

to meet their goals. Appendix hereto, p. 75a.

The court established a monitoring committee to evalu-

ate the progress of the new board and of each institution

toward “specific compliance” with its Order. The court

also appointed members to the specific monitoring board,

including a Dr. Paul Murrill, a former Chancellor of LSU

and A&M College. The court cloaked the monitoring com-

mittee with authority to recommend appointees to the

governance board in certain cases. The court ordered that

if the governance board did not “achieve substantial

progress toward eliminating the racial identifiability of

Louisiana’s universities” within five years, then the moni-

15

toring committee was mandated “to recommend to the

court more direct solutions, including court appointment

of board members or direct control by the committee of

the system of higher education and merger of institu-

tions.” Neither the term “substantial progress” nor

“racial identifiability” were defined in this context. How-

ever, the court retained “continuing jurisdiction to take

appropriate action” to enforce its Order. Appendix hereto,

pp. 76a and 77a.

On July 31, 1989, appellant, the Grambling State Uni-

versity Alumni Association, and appellee filed post-trial

motions variously for a new trial, to amend or alter

judgment, or to have the court’s judgment reconsidered,

appendix hereto, pp. 734a, 779a, and 785a. Additionally,

appellant filed a motion to stay the district court’s judg-

ment. On August 2, 1989, the State of Louisiana,

through its Attorney General, joined in appellant's mo-

tions. On August 4, the district court denied the motion

to stay, and issued a “Supplemental Order,” granting in

part and denying in part the post-trial motions of the

several parties in an effort “to obviate any ambiguity or

uncertainty” contained in its Judgment of July 19, 1989.

Its August 4 Order provided measures to desegregate in-

institutional staffs and administrators. It ordered the

State’s four governance boards to “cease operation .. . no

later than thirty (30) days from entry of the court’s

Order of July 19”; and limited the period of the effect

of its Order to December 1994, appendix hereto, pp. 105a-

108a.

On August 18, 1989, this Court granted appellant’s

and the State of Louisiana’s applications for a stay of the

enforcement of the district court’s judgment in this mat-

ter pending the timely docketing of this appeal and the

final disposition of this case, appendix hereto, p. 2a.

THE QUESTIONS ARE SUBSTANTIAL

The appropriate standards for crafting a desec -egation

remedy in the context of a higher education case, brought

under the Fourteenth Amendment and Title VI, presents

16

a novel and substantial question. It has never been ad-

dressed by this Court.

Appellant asserts that the controlling remedial stand-

ards are embodied in the Revised Criteria Specifying the

Ingredients of Acceptable Plans to Desegregate State

Systems of Public Higher Education, 43 Fed. Reg. 6658

(February 15, 1978). The Criteria were promulgated by

the then Department of Health, Education and Welfare

(HEW), and are now administered by the Department

of Education. Thus, they represent the agency’s inter-

pretation of Title VI compliance standards, as Congress

has specifically required the agency to interpret the laws

its administers. The agency’s interpretation of this law

is a duty reposed to the agency by Congress and is bind-

ing upon courts, according to recent Supreme Court cases.

NLRB v. United Food and Commercial Workers Union,

Local 23, AFL-CIO, US. , 108 S. Ct. 426

(1987); Young v. Community Nutrition Institute, 476

U.S. 974, 106 S.Ct. 2860 (1986); Chevron U.S.A., Ine. v.

Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837,

843, 104 S.Ct. 2778 (1984); Ford Motor Credit Co. v.

Milhollin, 444 U.S. 555, 100 S.Ct. 790 (1980); Batterton

v. Francis, 482 U.S. 416, 425-26, 97 S.Ct. 2899 (1977).

See also Adams v. Bell, 711 F.2d 161, 165 n.28, 29 (D.C.

Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1065, 104 S.Ct. 1272

(1984); Adams v. Califano, 480 F. Supp. 118 (D.D.C.

1977) (Order, 480 F. Supp. at 121). See also Adams v.

Richardson, 356 F. Supp. 92 (D.D.C. 1973), modified and

aff'd per curiam, 480 F.2d 1159, 1164-1167 (D.C. Cir.

1973).

Similarly, in Singleton v. Jackson Municipal Separate

School District, 348 F.2d 729 (5th Cir. 1965), the Fifth

Circuit ordered the district court to apply HEW Criteria

developed for elementary and secondary schools. The ap-

peals court recognized that, in enacting Title VI and in

requiring such promulgations, Congress intended a uni-

form national policy in desegregation cases, and enforce-

ment of that policy by a national agency under nationally

17

applicable guidelines. See also United States v. Jefferson

County Bd. of Ed., 372 F.2d 836 (5th Cir. 1966) aff'd

en bane, 380 F.2d 385 (5th Cir. 1967), cert. denied, 386

U.S. 1001 (1967); Price v. Denison Indepedent School

District Bd. of Ed., 348 F.2d 1010, 1015 (5th Cir. 1965) ;

K. Saunders, Agency Interpretations and Judicial Re-

view: A Search for Limitations on the Controlling Effect

Given Agency Statutory Constructions, 30 Ariz. L. Rev.

769, 770, 800 (1988).

In the instant case, the district court held that the

Criteria applied “only during the voluntary compliance

period” and were “not intended to be applied by courts

adjudicating Title VI violations,” appendix, p. 85a. Thus,

it refused to accord the Criteria any weight whatsoever.

This Court should decide whether there will be uniform

national legal standards regarding higher education de-

segregation remedies, or ad hoc district by district court

articulation of such standards to enforce Title VI. Uni-

form enforcement of the Equal Protection Clause through-

out the United States is one of the chief benefits of Title

VI. Therefore, Title VI compliance requirements should

not differ from state to state nor should they differ de-

pending upon whether compliance is voluntary or not.

The district court’s remedy strikes down provisions of

Louisiana’s Constitution of 1974 and the numerous State

laws that implemented them; eliminates a productive, his- -

torically black professional school; and re-writes, as would

a legislature, broad new chapters of higher education law

for the State. In contrast, the Criteria provide a far less

intrusive remedy.

Even without reference to the court’s disregard of the

Criteria, the sweeping remedial scheme it fashioned was

overly broad, presenting a substantial federal question.

The district court was required to narrowly tailor its rem-

edy to fit the violation of rights involved. It would be jus-

tified in striking Louisiana’s laws as unconstitutional only

where it was necessary to do so to cure the violation. The

18

least intrustive remedy was required to be employed. City

of Richmond v. J. A. Crossen Company, U.S. —,

109 S. Ct. 706 (1989); Dayton Bd. of Ed. v. Brinkman,

433 U.S. 406, 99 S.Ct. 2766 (1978); Milliken v. Brad-

ley, 418 U.S. 717, 744, 94 S.Ct. 3112, 3127 (1974) (Mil-

liken I); Whitcomb v. Chavis, 403 U.S. 124, 160-161,

91 S.Ct. 1858, 1877-78 (1971); Swann v. Charlotte

Mecklenburg Bd. of Ed., 402 U.S. 1, 16, 91 S.Ct. 1267,

1276 (1971); Pasadena City Bd. of Ed. v. Spangler, 427

U.S. 424, 484 (1976); and Rizzo v. Goode, 423 U.S. 362,

377 (1976); Columbus Bd. of Ed. v. Penick, 439 U.S.

1348, 1853, 99 S.Ct. 24, 26-27 (1978). See also Sixty-

Seven Minnesota State Senate v. Beens, 406 U.S. 187,

92 S.Ct. 1477 (1972) (A federal reapportionment court

should accommodate the relief ordered to the appropri-

ate provisions of State statutes relating to the legisla-

ture’s size as far as possible; drastically changing the

size of the State senate and the size of the house of repre-

sentatives of the legislature is not required by the federal

Constitution and is not justified as an exercise of federal

power). Cf. Chayes, Foreword: Public Law Litigation

and the Burger Court, 96 Harv. L. Rev. 4, 49 (1982).

This is particularly true in education cases, where the

Supreme Court has shown increasing reluctance to allow

federal courts to trench on the prerogatives of State and

local educational institutions, but instead leaves public

education, insofar as constitutionally possible, under the

control of state and local authorities. Regents of the Uni-

versity of Michigan v. Ewing, 474 U.S. 214, 226, 106 S.Ct.

507, 513 (1985); Columbus Bd. of Ed. v. Penick, 443

U.S. 449, 465 (1979); Board of Curators of the Univer-

sity of Missouri v. Horowitz, 485 U.S. 78, 90 (1978) ;

Keyes v. School District No. 1 Denver, Colo., 413 U.S.

189, 213 (1973); Alabama State Teachers Association

(ASTA) v. Alabama Public School and College Authority,

289 F. Supp. 784, 788 (M.D. Ala. 1968) (Three-Judge

Court), aff'd per curiam, without written opinion, 393

U.S. 400, 89 S. Ct. 68 (1969); Epperson v. Arkansas,

393 U.S. 97, 104 (1968).

19

In the instant case, the district court could have at-

tacked the offending “racial identifiability” it found in

the governance boards by specific orders requiring a given

racial make-up, and specific orders respecting attracting

other-race faculty and students, leaving to state authori-

ties the details of bringing the state into compliance, if a

valid constitutional violation were found. Ruiz v. Estelle,

650 F.2d 555 (5th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 460 U.S. 1042

(1983). Thus, there is no geometric fit between the rem-

edy of a single board or the other restructuring ordered

and the claimed violation of racially identifiable boards

and institutions.

Speculation by the Special Master, later adopted by the

court, that under a single board funds would be “freed

up... presumably to aid in the desegregation process”;

that it is “sensible that efficient decisions [of a single

board] might aid in desegregation”; and that while the

“improvement” in desegregation in Florida under a single

board is a “predictive”... “but by no means implausi-

ble’ judgment for Louisiana, is too weak a support

to dismantle a system of governance, admissions, and

organization adopted fourteen -years ago, subsequent to

the de jure segregative actions of the State. Appendix

hereto, p. 658a.

Application of the Criteria or the prevailing jurispru-

dence to this case would not have required or permitted

the elimination of the Southern University Law School.

The Criteria declare a “unique role” for “traditionally

black colleges.” They command that historically “white

and black institutions are to function as part of a unitary

system free of the vestiges of state-imposed racial segre-

gation” appendix hereto, pp. 87la, 878a. To disestablish

the dual structure, the Criteria require a given State or

agency to “specify steps to be taken to strengthen the

role of traditionally black institutions in the state sys-

tem.” * As a desegregation goal, the Criteria seek more

4 As to the unique role of historically black colleges in the edu-

cation of the historical victims of discrimination, see Brief of

20

and better-trained minority group doctors, lawyers, engi-

neers, and other professionals.

The court-ordered merger jeopardizes Southern’s proven

capacity to produce qualified black lawyers in return for

the uncertain prospect of a judicially perceived greater

quality institution. Besides, the court’s reasoning is a

non sequitur. Law graduates who do not pass the oar

do not become attorneys. If bar passage is the stan/lard

of quality, then, can Southern law graduates who pass

the bar be denominated a secondary class? Must they not

be presumed equal in competence to other lawyers who

pass the bar? Are they not, therefore, fully able to com-

pete in the professional context? To condemn those

Southern graduates who become attorneys simply because

they graduated from Southern is to ask, as Nathaniel did

of Philip respecting Jesus Christ; “Can anything good

come out of Nazareth?”—an unfounded and unreasonable

Amicus, National Association for Equal Opportunity in Higher

Education, filed and referenced in Adams v. Richardson, 480 F.2d

1159, 1164-1165 (D.C. Cir. 1973), appendix, pp. 975a-984a. The brief

argues, inter alia, that equal educational attainment—achieving

college degrees—not just equal access, is a goal of Title VI and

the Fourteenth Amendment. See also “Statement by the National

Associatior for Equal Opportunity in Higher Education,” appendix,

pp. 976a, 985a-987a.

In Adams, the court stated:

The problem of integrating higher education must be dealt

with on a state-wide rather than a school-by-school basis. Per-

haps the most serious problem in the area is the lack of state-

wide planning to provide more and better trained minority

group doctors, lawyers, engineers and other professionals. A

predicate for minority access to quality post graduate pro-

grams is a viable, coordinated statewide higher education

policy that takes into account the special problems of minority

students and of black colleges. As Amicus points out, these

black institutions currently fulfill a crucial need and will con-

tinue to play an important role in black higher education,

21

question, then and now.’ The Criteria suggest that im-

proving the quality of the already desegregated histori-

cally black law school, if indeed necessary, would more

effectively assist black citizens to overcome the effects of

de jure segregation, one of which is a paucity of black

lawyers.®

The Southern Law Center was sua sponte ordered

closed without a hearing and without regard to proper

legal standards, in violation of the procedural and sub-

stantive due process rights of appellant and of the law

center’s faculty and students. Cleveland Bd. of Ed. v.

Loudermill, 470 U.S. 2532 (1985); Meyer v. Nebraska,

262 U.S. 390 (1923); Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268

U.S. 510 (1925) ; Cf. Dartmouth College v. Woodward, 4

Wheat 512 (1819). “Audi alteram partem—hear the

other side!—a demand made insistently through the cen-

turies, is now a command spoken with the voice of the

Due Process Clause.” Caritativo v. California, 357 U.S.

549, 558 (1958) (Frankfurter, J., dissenting). Earl v.

McVeigh, 91 U.S. 503, 510 (1876). This is a principle

of universal obligation. See also Baier, Framing and

Reviewing a Desegregation Decree: Of the Chancellor’s

Foot and Fifth Circuit Control, 47 La. L. Rev. 123, 138

(1986).

The district court’s finding of a constitutional infirm-

ity because the State maintains in the same city two

5 See John 1:46

“And Nathaniel said to him, can anything good come out of

Nazareth? Philip said to him, come and see.”

Only a court that indulges the notion espoused by certain parties

to this cause that a predominantly black law center is necessarily

inferior could, on the basis of such a fleeting glimpse at the

Southern Law Center as the court below had in this case, confirm

its inferiority. As with Philip, the district court was required

to “come and see” in the form of a hearing and supporting record,

to avoid making, as here, an uniformed judgment.

6 Virtually all of Southern’s law graduates pass the bar exam,

although not on the first attempt, appendix, p. 860a.

_—

22

law schools with different admission standards and dif-

ferent orientations is not supported on the record, and is

an impermissible tampering with the State’s valid educa-

tional choices.’

The Criteria also recognize, and the Special Master

specifically found below, that the enhancement of pre-

dominantly black institutions (PBIs) is an essential in-

gredient of a plan to desegregate higher education. In

the light of a clear record, the Special Master ordered

that a percentage of the State’s operating and capital

budgets be set aside each year to enhance PBIs. Under

Rule 52 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, this

finding should have been implemented by the court since

it was not “clearly erroneous.” This reasoning also ap-

plies to the Special Master’s finding that merger of the

Southern Law Center into the LSU Law Center was not

justified on the record. See Day v. Wayne County Bd. of

Auditors, 749 F.2d 1199 (6th Cir. 1984) ; NLRB ». South-

western Bell Telephone Co., 730 F.2d 166, 168 (5th Cir.

1984) ; See also Criteria, I1(B), appendix hereto, p. 875a.

The vague and unclear order of the court to provide en-

hancement funding whenever fiscally possible, violates

both the specificity requirements of Fed. R. Civ. P.

65(d), and the well-stated rule that a State’s fiscal pos-

ture may not be taken into account in fashioning a de-

segregation remedy. See, Liddell v. Missouri, 731 F.2d

1294, 1820 (8th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 816,

7Indeed, the record argues otherwise. Two distinguished law

school deans, Peter Hay, Associate Dean of the University of

Illinois School of Law, and Charles Meyers, Dean of Standford

Law School, visited Louisiana law schools, including Southern

University Law Center, and rendered a report to the State Board

of Regents on legal education in Louisiana. This Report was

attached to Chancellor B. K. Agnihotri’s witness statement sub-

mitted to the Special Master which was before the district court.

See appendix, infra, pp. 1030a-1038a. These distinguished legal

educators concluded that: “[I]t is essential for the well-being of all

the people of Louisiana, not just the blacks, for Southern University

Law School to remain in existence and to grow in size and strength.”

Appendix, infra pp. 1044a-1045a and 1047a.

23

105 S.Ct. 82 (1984) ; Atiyeh v. Capps, 449 U.S. 1312, 101

S.Ct. 829 (1981); and Williams v. Edwards, 547 F.2d

1206, 1213 (5th Cir. 1977), presenting other substantial

federal questions. Further, the district court’s failure to

specifically limit the term of its continuing jurisdiction,

and the basis on which it is empowered to act to fashion

new or additional remedies; as well as the failure to

define the terms “substantial progress” and “racial iden-

tifiability,” also violate Fed. R. Civ. P. 65(d).

Similarly, the court below condemned the Consent

Decree—the parties’ voluntary settlement of their dis-

pute, and their voluntary acceptance of a remedy—

without a hearing, even though a hearing was mandated

by the Consent Decree itself. The court simply eye-balled

the racial make-up of the colleges and boards—a test not

permitted by the terms of the Decree—and concluded that

the Decree had not and could not work, appendix hereto,

pp. 34a-35a. It also made unsubstantiated and incorrect

findings related to Consent Decree implementation, ap-

pendix hereto, pp. 35a, 572a-573a. The remedy imposed

by the district court’s judgment was thus unnecessary,

overriding the existing final judgment on remedy already

entered in the case. See Firefighters Local Union No.

1784 v. Stotts, 467 U.S. 561, 590-591, 104 S.Ct. 2576,

2594-2595 (1984) ; United States v. Swift & Co., 286 U.S.

106, 115-117, 52 S.Ct. 460, 462-463 (1932).

The Decree operated as a judgment, whether a predi-

cate violation of Title VI or the Fourteenth Amendment

existed, or whether its remedies were broader than legally

required. Local Number 93, International Association of

Firefighters v. City of Cleveland, 54 U.S.L.W. 5005,

5009-5010 (U.S. July 2, 1986). Since the scope of a consent

decree must be discerned within its four corners, the dis-

trict court clearly exceeded its jurisdiction when it con-

sidered the question of liability under Title VI and the

Fourteenth Amendment, and when it fashioned an en-

tirely new remedy. United States v. Armour & Co., 402

U.S. 673, 682, 91 S.Ct. 1752, 1757 (1971) ; United States

24 Sa

v. Atlantic Refining Co., 360 U.S. 19, 23, 79 S.Ct. 944,

946 (1959); and Hughes v. United States, 342 U.S. 353,

72 S.Ct. 306 (1952).

The district court’s strained reasoning that it had au-

thority under the cited language of the Consent Decree

to “provide additional or further relief as appropriate,”

disregards the obvious requirement that such a deter-

mination must be made “at the time of the hearing” on

Consent Decree compliance, pp. 12a-13a, supra, a hearing

that was never held. Even then, the Consent Decree al-

lows “additional or further relief as appropriate” only

to the extent necessary to insure its effective implemen-

tation.

No party argued, as the district court suggests, that

merely signing the Consent Decree rendered the State’s

system unitary, appendix hereto, p. 15a. But since the

Decree had been entered as a judgment consistent with

Title VI and the Fourteenth Amendment, a determina-

tion of compliance or not with its provisions was neces-

sarily the same as determining whether the system was

unitary. The court’s assertion that it could not enforce

Consent Decree-required remedies at a hearing held after

the December 31, 1987 termination date of the Decree,

even though the enforcement process of requesting a

hearing began prior to the termination date, is non-

sensical. Appendix, pp. 15a-16a. Its reliance on United

States v. Overton, 834 F.2d 1171, 1174, 1176 (5th Cir.

1987), is erroneous. In Overton, the parties’ Consent De-

cree (or stipulated agreement), unlike in the instant

case, had terminated before relief under it was sought.

Understandably, the Overton court could not enforce a

decree that had expired by its own terms. Here, the

plaintiff’s motion was timely filed, thus, in accordance

with the express provisions of the Consent Decree, ex-

tending its life and making its remedies enforceable at

a compliance hearing, appendix hereto, pp. 235a and

236a.

Although a final judgment, a consent decree must be

construed as a contract for enforcement purposes. United

25

States v. ITT Continental Baking Co., 420 U.S. 223, 238,

95 S.Ct. 926, 935 (1975). Thus, the district court lacked

the power to enter a new remedy, but could only enforce

the Decree by its terms. By its clear provisions, the Con-

sent Decree permitted the existence of both racially iden-

tifiable boards and institutions at the end of its term, as

long as the parties discharged their obligations in good

faith, pp. 202a and 237a, supra. The court’s disregard

of the Consent Decree thwarts a national policy favoring

voluntary resolution of Title VI claims, and discourages

settlement of desegregation cases—matters worthy of

consideration by this Court.

Even if the court would apply the Criteria to voluntary

compliance only, as the court below asserts, the Consent

Decree obviously represents voluntary compliance by the

parties. Therefore, the Criteria should have been applied

to this case for this further reason.

Additionally, the court’s requirements of selective ad-

missions, of a community college system, of reverse in-

centives for institutions failing to meet desegregation

goals, and of eliminating remedial education in senior

colleges, place disproportionate burdens on black students

and black institutions, in violation of the Criteria and

relevant jurisprudence.* The Criteria declare that the

8See Adams v. Richardson, 480 F. Supp. 118 (D.D.C. 1977),

where the court stated:

The process of desegregation must not place a greater burden

on black institutions or black students’ opportunity to receive

a quality public higher education. The desegregation process

should take into account the unequal status of black colleges,

and the real danger that desegregation will diminish higher

educational opportunities for Blacks. Without suggesting the

answer to this complex problem, it is the responsibility of

HEW to devise criteria for higher education desegregation

plans which will take into account the unique importance of

black colleges and at the same time comply with the congres-

sional mandate. Cf. Mayor and City Council of Baltimore v.

Matthews, 562 F.2d 914, 922 and n.7 (4th Cir. 1977); and

Mandel v. U.S. Dept. of HEW, 411 F.Supp. 542 (D.C. Md.

1976).

26

“transition to a unitary system must not be accomplished

by placing a disproportionate burden upon black students,

faculty or institutions or by reducing the educational op-

portunities currently available to blacks,” appendix hereto,

p. 837a. Selective admissions, particularly the unre-

strained use of ACT scores which the district court per-

mits, will unduly limit the number of black students at-

tending college. Apparently recognizing this fact, the

court ordered the institutions to reserve up to ten percent

of admissions as “exceptions.” But these exceptions them-

selves will introduce new burdens for black students,

labeling them as second class students.

The requirement of incentives and reverse incentives to

reward and to penalize institutions for progress in ac-

hieving desegregation goals overlooks the obvious fact

that historically black colleges can be expected to make

slower progress. The result will be that these schools,

which need more resources to desegregate, will get less;

and getting less they will be less successful in achieving

integration. The court’s threat of merger of racially

identifiable colleges at the end of the five year term of

the court’s order is, therefore, an ominous one-—portend-

ing the elimination of historically black colleges and their

productive capacity. And, contrary to the district court’s

conclusion, community colleges in the State of Florida

have increased burdens rather than opportunities for mi-

nority students in higher education, appendix hereto, pp.

916a-919a and 957a-974a.

In ASTA, supra, a three-judge court held that where a

State has eliminated de jure racial segregation, as long as

the State or its institutions deal with admissions, faculty

and staff in good faith, it discharges its affirmative duty

to dismantle the racially dual system on the college level.

289 F. Supp. at 790. The Supreme Court’s per curiam

affirmance in ASTA, 393 U.S. 400, 89 S.Ct. 681 (1969)

was a decision on the merits necessarily deciding the

ASTA holding and was, therefore, binding on the district

court. See Hopfmann v. Connolly, 471 U.S. 459, 105 S.Ct.

27

2106 (1985); Anderson v. Celebrezze, 460 U.S. 780, 784,

103 S.Ct. 1564, 1568, n. 5 (1983); Mandel v. Bradley,

432 U.S. 173, 176, 97 S.Ct. 2238, 2240 (1977). The dis-

trict court declined to follow this precedent. Cf. Ayers v.

Allain, 674 F. Supp. 1523 (N.D. Miss. 1987) appeal pend-

ing appeal docketed No. 88-4103 (5th Cir. argued May 1,

1989); Hicks v. Miranda, 422 U.S. 332, 344, 95 S.Ct.

2281, 2289 (1975).

ASTA correctly recognizes that a State cannot assign

students to colleges as it can assign them to elementary

schools; a State, therefore, cannot be forced by a court

judgment to do something it has no power to do. Hence,

the relative degree of integrati.a of its colleges, without

more, does not determine whether the state has satisfied

its affirmative duty to dismantle a dual system.

The Sixth Circuit in Geier v. Alexander, 801 F.2d 799

(6th Cir. 1986) appears to reach a result opposite to that

of Ayers and ASTA, but in erroneous reliance on the

Supreme Court’s summary affirmance in Norris v. State

Council of Higher Education for Va., 327 F.Supp. 1368

(E.D. Va. 1971), aff'd per curiam sub. nom., Board of

Visitors of the College of William & Mary in Virginia v.

Norris, 404 U.S. 907, 92 S.Ct. 227 (1971). The Norris

court, unlike the court in ASTA, declined to “trace the

perimeter of a state’s obligation to dismantle all racial

characteristics of a system of higher education that was

initially segregated by law.” Norris’ holding, far from

reaching this monumental question, held simply “that one

agency of the state . . . cannot impede another agency of

the state . .. in its efforts to fully integrate its student

body.” 327 F.Supp. at 1373. Thus, Norris’ precedential

value is limited to that simple holding. The court below

misconstrued the Norris holding and incorrectly followed

it.”

* The hope expressed in Green v. County School Board of New

Kent County, 391 U.S. 430, 432, 88 S.Ct. 1689 (1968), for no

white or black elementary and secondary schools, “just schools,”

and the dictum in Norris, 1327 F. Supp. 1373 for “just colleges,”

28

Even if ASTA does not state the controlling law, as

appellant believes, then AS7'A and Ayers, on the one hand,

| and Norris and Geier on the other, present a conflict be-

tween lower courts and the circuits on this most substan-

tial national issue.

Further, the actions that the State agreed to un-

dertake and those that it did undertake under the

Consent Decree must be deemed affirmative steps to dis-

mantle the dual system, to the extent that such are de-

manded by the good faith requirement. The United

States and appellant have argued below that incompar-

able physical facilities at PBIs indirectly exclude cer-

tain white students and affect their free choice, and dis-

proportionately burden the choices of black students who

choose to attend PBIs. Thus, a part of the good faith

test, consistent with ASTA’s rule of unfettered student

choice, is the removal of any impediments to such choice

lingering from the dual system. A state may address this

problem through added resources or other action designed

to improve the integration and offerings of PBIs. The

emphasis here is not on “separate, but equal”, as the dis-

trict court incorrectly observed, since no racial separa-

tion is legally required; it is rather on ending racial sep-

aration through enhancement, appendix hereto, p. 33a.

Appellant believes this is a reasonable reading of ASTA’s

good faith standard, or at the very least, can be en-

do not necessarily argue that majority black public colleges offend

the Constitution. Appellant’s hope is that availing black and

white students of equal access and opportunity in the settings of

hisorically white and black colleges will permit colleges such as

are managed by appellant to be recognized as “just colleges’’—not

predominantly black or formerly all black—within the letter and

spirit of Green, supra.

Indeed, the Criteria commit States to the “goal of organizing

and operating the system and institutions of higher education in

a manner that promises realistically to overcome the effects of past

discrimination and to disestablish the dual system, and which

assures that students will be attracted to each institution on the

basis of educational programs and opportunities uninhibited by

past practices of segregation.” (Emphasis added.)

ee Te a

29

grafted upon the ASTA standard without derogating from

it—-presenting another important and unresolved federal

question.*°

The great weight of authority holds that the United

States may not maintain a claim strictly under the Fovur-

teenth Amendment. Yet, the district court permitted the

United States to do so and struck down Louisiana’s con-

stitution and laws as violative of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment, raising an additional substantial question. United

States v. State of Alabama, 828 F.2d 1532, 1547 (11th

Cir. 1987) (per curiam) (The United States conceded

that it had no standing to raise the Fourteenth Amend-

ment claim.), cert. denied, sub. nom. Board of Trustees

of Alabama State University v. Auburn, —— U.S. —~,

108 S.Ct. 1857 (1988) ; United States v. City of Philadel-

phia, 644 F.2d 187 (3rd Cir. 1980); United States v.

Mattson, 600 F.2d 1295 (9th Cir. 1979); United States

v. Solomon, 563 F.2d 1121 (4th Cir. 1977). Although

this Court has not ruled directly on this issue, based on

the uniform authority of the various circuits, only Title

VI claims were before the district court. Whether appel-

lee could raise Fourteenth Amendment claims is critical.

The district court’s expansive remedy is grounded in con-

stitutional violations, testing the limits of its equitable

powers. Title VI provides a more limited remedy, and

the court could not strike Louisiana’s laws as unconstitu-

tional if appellee could not raise constitutional claims. A

decision on Title VI grounds is distinct from an exercise

in constitutional interpretation. Regents of the Univer-

sity of California v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265, 281, 98 S.Ct.

1° For instance, just to bring the physical facilities of Grambling

and Southern to a level of comparability with agreed upon histori-

cally white institutions, the State committed during the term of the

Consent Decree to spend $79 million in capital outlay at Southern

and $41 million at Grambling. How»ver, it spent only $14 million at

Southern and $16 million at Grambling in capital outlay funds

during this period. These disparities and the failure to fund

them are admitted on the record and must be dealt with in order

to afford a truly free choice to students, appendix hereto, p. 364a.

30

2738, 2748 (1978). Cf. U.S. v. State of Alabama, 791

F.2d 1450, 1456 n. 6 (11th Cir. 1986). Thus, the dis-

trict court’s findings of unconstitutionality of Louisiana’s

laws is ultra vires.

Furthermore, the district court should have decided the

case on statutory grounds or on the basis of the Criteria,

and avoided the constitutional question. Under well-

settled principles of judicial restraint articulated by this

Court, it was required to do so. Three Affiliated Tribes of

Ft. Bertole Reservation v. Wold Engineering, 467 U.S.

138, 104 S. Ct. 2267 (1984); Regents of the University

of California v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265, 281, 98 S.Ct. 2733,

2743 (1978); Spector Motor Service v. McLaughlin, 323

U.S. 101, 65 S.Ct. 152 (1944) ; and Ashwander v. T.V.A.,

297 U.S. 288, 347, 56 S.Ct. 466, 483 (1936).

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, this Court should note probable ju-

risdiction of this appeal.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM J. JEFFERSON

Counsel of Record

TREVOR G. BRYAN

VINCENT P. BLANSON

JEFFERSON, BRYAN, JUPITER,

LEWIS & BLANSON

650 Poydras, Suite 1850

_New Orleans, LA 70130-6101

(504) 561-8933

I

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.