Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cooper v. Kotarski

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Sepreme Sot, aS

FiL&D

MAY 13 1987

In the Supreme Court of the Gn

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

V.L. COOPER, ET AL., PETITIONERS

V.

FRANK K. KOTARSK!

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

1rO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

CHARLES FRIED

Solicitor General

RICHARD K. WILLARD

Assistant Attorney General

DONALD B. AYER

Deputy Solicitor General

MICHAEL K. KELLOGG

Assistant To The Solicitor General

BARBARA L. HERWIG

RICHARD A. OLDERMAN

Attorneys

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

(202) 633-2217

ee

Ae, oo

Phe:

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a probationary employee, for whom the Civil

Service Reform Act of 1978 provides limited remedies for

adverse personnel actions, including referral to the Special

Counsel for investigation of allegedly “prohibited person-

nel practices” (5 U.S.C. 1206(a)(1)), but excluding a

general right of review by the Merit Systems Protection

Board or any court, may bring a Bivens action against his

superiors seeking money damages for alleged constitu-

tional violations.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

eas aida dee he oss A ee l

a re ie gk gam wo da. hd Ski wD Be |

ua reenencns SIVOIVER ©... wk eke cee 2

Oe a ree a-a be ka 4.4 6 6 64s 4 ia cas, 2

Reasons for granting the petition ................ gyre 10

elo abs Gey 0 6 whe 0 AS Ss 16

ea ie kkk hy 6 aa ra eee eas ka a ee a la

Appendix B...... Op SDA i 23a

ea eae ey ou dase 609-56 OX a Oke 30a

AppendixD........ tk ake hata eG 3la

Appendix E...... ee ree le ps ak een 2 ew es 32a

FABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents of the Federal

Bureau of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388 (1971) ............ 7, 8,

>, 10,44, 12,13, 34,15

Braun v. United States, 707 F.2d 922 (6th Cir.), cert.

rr ee re Ce asc naka see’ 14

Broadway v. Block, 694 F.2d 979 (Sth Cir. 1982) ........ 14

memes W. eee, BO 4). SO? CISSS ... 2... ccc e cde me ®

*, 3, {Z,-13, 4,

Carducci v. Regan, 714 F.2d 171 (D.C. Cir. 1983) ....... 5

Cazalas v. Dep’t of Justice, 569 F. Supp. 213 (E.D. La.

1983), aff'd, 731 F.2d 870 (Sth Cir. 1984), cert. denied,

NT BU a svc ve cee ens caKwcR See's 14

Cutts v. Fowler, 672 F.2d 138 (D.C. Cir. 1982) ......... 5

Egger v. Phillips, 710 F.2d 292 (7th Cir.), cert. denied,

ica aa ase se ss sd kas es 14

Francisco v. Schmidt, 575 F. Supp. 1200 (E.D. Wis. 1983) 14

Freedman v. Turnage, 646 F. Supp. 1460 (W.D. N.-Y.

a es ed ka 4 vo es eo es - 14

Gleason v. Malcom, 718 F.2d 1044 (11th Cir. 1983) ...... 14

Harding v. USPS, 618 F. Supp. 1330 (S.D. W.Va. 1985) . 14

Harris v. Moyer, 620 F. Supp. 1262 (N.D. Ill. 1985) ..... 14

Hubbard v. EPA, No. 85-5145 (D.C. Cir. Dec. 5, 1986) .. 14, 15

(111)

Cases — Continued: Page

Lovshin v. Department of the Navy, 767 F.2d 826 (Fed.

Cir. 1985), cert. denied, No. 85-882 (Apr. 7, 1986) .... 3

MelIntosh v. Weinberger, 810 F.2d 1411 (8th Cir. 1987) . i4

Palermo v. Rorex, 806 F.2d 1266 (Sth Cir. 1987) ........ 13

Pinar v. Dole, 747 F.2d 899 (4th Cir. 1984), cert. denied,

BTR Rl os ee en ee ee ee 13

Spagnola v. Mathis, No. 84-5530 (D.C. Cir. Dec. 5,

| PER OO PALO OE UE DCEO a CS rete EY 14, 15

United States v. Fausto, cert. granted, No. 86-595 (Jan.

eA ae a ees Pee eae he oe eee ee 15

Wells v. FAA, 755 F.2d 804 (11th Cir. 1985) ............ 13

Constitution, statutes and regulations:

U.S. Const.:

Pr are ae eae hi Le aerated 11, 14, 15

PEE Pare LAS aes a ea el ar oe eat ate ite 6

SE Re rt ee Se ee ate een ee 6

Ave Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, § 15(c)

ae ee ee is ke ee ee ee ae 5

Civil Rights Act of 1964, Tit. VII,42 U.S.C. 2000e ef seq.:

ieee 20 Oe | ee earner re ee

Pe seGe, Oe 0) ee. ee UCD eck a che ases 5

Civil Service Retorm Act of 1978, Pub. L. No. 95-454,

EI tee 28 Gh sn ray is wet ia Oe

TMI Ree Lah ree rine hn a oe ates sal re Oe 4

ee ee OE ei ea cae Ce ee Smo Lay ae 4

Se a a os kee ei ka ek ee kes 13

Dine RE. os ka ss Be ea sk RK ees 4

Pe I ea a heen kp eee eeine 4

Dt CS Be es ak cee een ee 4

PS a asc eo ne Cae eae Oe eae ee 4

ee ee ea rr ne nivale are wus ea 10

ee, ry one a ee ee 2

eae lg ign a ater hore te ta Sled 4, 32a

ek ee. REED sc aie ionc.s bates KE RS Me inca 13

SEP SA We BEN ee oe ee oe oes eee eae 10

ate, BD ED oo oo a ces ea eee 10

oe GRRE > RS ae ery fit ane Om Nar ee REECE DRA S 3

ER Ge ee se) | ream n ar he

Pe Senha wie ark e se ois 3, 34a

Constitution, statutes and regulations — Continued: Page

ENE oe | | ara ge Cet ncaa 2

OS Cage IRAE er nr ea Pp ot oaeg oeten D Bal el 2, 10

Ds RC ee ls Ce waa or a ee 3

EUR. Se, iT ge | rene” ay er

CR AO go ics vocals eee va ek Cee 3, 36a

Sr es ee ee og a kee a Pe eee

ook. e ate to | eee

See Ss vs ae oe te ee ee 2, 39a

SD ry oral Laas meg na Sa eee 3, 39a

Sg SE cc a's dag oe nk ek Oe ee 3, 39a

2th to | PE rr Oe 5

SF cd Fos be ed a 3

Oss SOE so ccs a oe os oe 8 a ae 5

Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, § 16(b), 29 U.S.C.

SE va ne ee ee ee ea

Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C. 791 ......000.... 5

Bee Gs Ns ince ee a ee )

Exec. Order No. 10,577, 3 C.F.R. 218 (1954-1958 Comp.) 10

oo ee

Pt. 213:

Section 213.101(a) ...... Pe a ee 10

SOI. ZUR See 3.6 4 oa ho on vee 10

ete ed Oe |” | a ier 10

ee I 2k hoe ee ee ee eae eee 10

Pt. 315:

section 313.004 ........4. kas ee ee 3

Section 315.805 .......... 5 oer eee, eee ee 4

Section 315.806(b) ...... PN rn mt 8 4

Section 315.907(c) ..... A ee ee 4

Section 315.906 ........... 4

Pt. 1250:

Section 1250.3(b) ..... ed Lean ete eae 4

Miscellaneous:

S. Rep. 95-969, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. (1978) ........ oe Bae O2

Jn the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OcTOBER TERM, 1986

No.

V.L. COOPER, ET AL., PETITIONERS

Vv.

FRANK K. KOTARSKI

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNIFED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

The Solicitor General —on behalf of V.L. Cooper and

A.E. Navarro, civilian employees of the Naval Air

Rework Facility (NARF), W.J. Tinston, Executive Officer

of NARF, and J.H. Kirkpatrick, Commanding Officer of

NARF —petitions for a writ of certiorari to review the

judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App., infra,

la-22a) is reported at 799 F.2d 1342. The opinion and

order of the district court (App., imfru, 23a-29a) are

unreported.

. JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeais (App., infra, 30a)

was entered on September 16, 1986. A petition for rehear-

ing and a suggestion for rehearing en banc were denied on

January 13, 1987 (App., infra, 3la). On April 6, 1987,

Justice O’Connor extended the time for filing a petition

(1)

2

for a writ of certiorari to and including May 13, 1987. The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The pertinent statutory provisions are set forth at App.,

injra, 32a-40a.

STATEMENT

1. In the Civil Service Reform Act of 1978 (CSRA),

Pub. L. No. 95-454, 92 Stat. 1111, Congress comprehen-

sively revised and restated the statutory provisions,

codified in various chapters of Title 5, United States Code,

governing the personnel procedures of federal agencies

and the rights of agency employees. In particular, Chapter

43, 5 U.S.C. 4301 ef seg., requires agencies to evaluate

employees’ performance in light of the “critical elements”

of their jobs; it authorizes removal or reduction in grade

on account of unacceptable performance and sets forth

the rights of employees who are removed or reduced in

grade tor this reason.' Chapter 75, 5 U.S.C. 7501 et seq.,

governs adverse personnel actions (including removals,

suspensions, and reductions in grade or pay) other than

removals or reductions in grade under Chapter 43.’ It

Chapter 43 provides rights to notice, representation by an at-

torney, “a reasonable time to answer orally and in writing,” and a

Written decision meeting certain standards. See 5 U.S.C 4303(b)(1). It

also provides that “any employee who is a preference eligible [/.e., a

veteran (see 5 U.S.C. 2108(3))] or is in the competitive service” may

appeal a removal or reduction in grade under Chapter 43 to the Merit

Systems Protection Board. 5 U.S.C. 4303(e).

> Chapter 75 thus differs from Chapter 43 in that all adverse actions

under Chapter 43 relate to inadequate job performance as measured

by ratings of performance on the critical elements of employees’ jobs,

Whereas actions taken under Chapter 75 may relate to inadequate job

performance or be based on other sorts of inadequacies, including

authorizes these adverse actions “for such cause as will

promote the efficiency of the service” (S U.S.C. 7513(a)),

and also sets forth the procedural rights of affected

employees.?

Both Chapters 43 and 75 provide most employees with a

right to review of most adverse personnel actions by the

Merit Systems Protection Board (MSPB), and for subse-

quent review of the MSPB’s decision in the Federal Cir-

cuit. 5 U.S.C. 7703(b)(1). However, probationary

employees are explicity excluded from these procedural

protections.* Indeed, it is a fundamental element of the

_federal competitive service that inital appointments and

promotions to supervisory Or management positions may

be made on a trial basis and only become final upon com-

pletion of a probationary period. 5 U.S.C. 3321.

it does not follow, however, that probationary

emp!oyees are without any protections under the CSRA.

While excluded from the provisions of Chapters 43 and

75, probationary employees who are either terminated

from an initial appointment or demoted from a super-

visory Or management position are entitled to written

notice in advance of the adverse action. 5 C.F.R. 315.804;

misconduct. See Lovshin v. Department of the Navy, 767 F.2d 826

(Fed. Cir. 1985), cert. denied, No. 85-882 (Apr. 7, 1986).

> Chapter 75 is similar to Chapter 43 in providing rights to notice,

representation by counsel, a reasonable time to answer, and-a written

decision. 5 U.S.C. 7503, 7513(b). It also provides that “an employee

against whom an action [more serious than a 14 day suspension] is

taken * * * is entitled to appeal to the Merit Systems Protection

Board.” 5 U.S.C. 7513(d); see also 5 U.S.C. 7503.

+ Section 4303(f) explicitly excepts from the procedural protections

of Section 4303 individuals promoted to supervisor or manager on a

probationary basis, or serving a probationary period under an initial

appointment.

Chapter 75 explicitly excludes probationary employees from the

definition of “employee” to whom its provisions apply. 5 U.S.C.

7511(a)(1); see 5 U.S.C. 7501.

4

5 C.F.R. 315.907(c).> If the adverse action is allegedly

based “on partisan political affiliation or marital status,”

probationary employees then have a right of appeal to the

MSPB, and consequent judicial review (5 C.F.R. 315.908;

S C.F.R. 315.806(b)).

Probationary employees also have an additional rem-

edy, which they share with all other federal employees.

The CSRA created an Office of Special Counsel (5 U.S.C.

1204) to investigate “prohibited personnel practices” (5

U.S.C. 2302), which are broadly defined to include actions

improperly motivated on grounds of discrimination,

retaliation, nepotism, “whistleblower” conduct, and a

wide range of other inappropriate considerations. 5

U.S.C. 2302; 5 C.F.R. 1250.3(b). The Special Counsel is

authorized (o investigate charges brought by probationary

employees, 5 U.S.C. 1206, and if he finds reasonable

grounds to believe that a prohibited personnel practice has

occurred, may recommend corrective action to the agency.

If the agency fails to implement the recommended correc-

live action, the Special Counsel may initiate a pro-

ceeding before the Board to compel such action. 5 U.S.C.

1206(c)(1 (A) and (B).° Judicial review of actions taken, or

not taken, by the Special Counsel is “limited, at most, to

ensuring compliance with the statutory requirement that

the OSC perform an adequate inquiry.” Cutts v. Fowler,

> If the termination of a probationary employee from an initial ap-

pointment ts based on conditions arising before the commencement of

service, procedures similar to those in Chapters 43 and 75, including

MSPB appeal and judicial review, are provided. 5 C.F.R. 315.805.

Phe Special Counsel also has the authority to initiate disciplinary

proceedings before the Board against a manager guilty of a prohibited

personnel practice. 5 U.S.C. 1206(g). The Board may discipline the

manager by ordering “removal, reduction in grade, or debarment

trom Federal employment tor a period not to exceed 5 years, suspen-

sion, reprimand, or an assessment of a civil penalty not to exceed

$1,000.” 5 U.S.C. 1207(b).

692 F.2d 138, 140 (D.C. Cir. 1982). See also Carducci v.

Regan, 714 F.2d 171, 175 (D.C. Cir. 1983).’

2. On January 25, 1981, respondent Frank K. Kotar-

ski, a civilian employee of the Naval Air Rework Facility

in San Diego, California, was promoted on a probationary

basis from a GM-12 Engineer to a GM-13 Supervisory In-

dustrial Engineer. On December 18, 1981, within the one-

year probationary period, respondent was notified that

because of his unsatisfactory performance he would not be

retained in the supervisory position. Respondent received

a complete explanation in writing of the reasons he was

not being retained as a supervisor, which included a failure

to guide and direct subordinates, delay in completing work

assignments, and an inability to perform duties without

close supervision. On January 24, 1982, respondent was

returned to his former position.

Respondent attempted to obtain review of this decision

by the MSPB. He asserted in a letter to the Board that his

demotion was “malicious in nature and motivated by my

marital status, living arrangements and other factors

unrelated to my performance on the job” (C.A. App. Exh.

7-C). Respondent also wrote to the Office of the Special

Counsel, alleging that “the adverse personnel action taken

against me was motivated in whole or in part by my living

arrangement with [co-worker] Ms. Janice Elaine Magana.

| allege that the relationship of a single man and woman

[here is a separate provision for judicial review of ailegations of

discrimination. 5 U.S.C. 7703(b)(2) provides that cases involving

allegations of discrimination brought by federal employees are to be

tiled as provided in Section 717(c) of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42

U.S.C. 2000e-16(c), Section 15(c) of the Age Discrimination in

Employment Act of 1967, 29 U.S.C. 633a(c), and Section 16(b) of the

Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, 29 U.S.C. 216(b), as applicable. 5

U.S.C. 7702 makes careful provision for all such claims, as well as for

cases arising under the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C. 791,

within the scheme of review by the MSPB. Probationary employees

are entitled to bring discrimination charges under these statutes.

6

living together is incompatible with managements [sic]

position in this area.” C.A. App. Exh. 7-D.

The MSPB found no jurisdiction to review respondent’s

complaint. The Office of the Special Counsel, however,

conducted an investigation, “interviewing several

witnesses, reviewing files and gathering documentary

evidence,” and subsequently informed respondent that the

investigation had failed to yield evidence to support his

allegations. “The evidence was insufficient to establish

that those matters [alleged] were significant factors in your

demotion. We found stronger evidence that you were

demoted based on management’s perceptions that your

performance as a supervisor was deficient” (C.A. App.

Exh. 8-B).

3. Following denial of his claims by the Special

Counsel, respondent filed the present lawsuit, alleging that

respondent’s supervisors, V.L. Cooper and A.E. Navarro,

and his commanding officers at the Navy Rework Facility,

W.J. Tinston and J.H. Kirkpatrick, had violated his First,

Fitth and Ninth Amendment rights by demoting him to

the GM-12 position.’ Respondent’s complaint alleged that

his demotion was due to his “private relationship with his

girlfriend,” a relationship which, respondent asserted, his

supervisors viewed as “morally wrong.” He also alleged

that his failure to be promoted was punishment for speak-

ing out and challenging certain policies of his supervisors,

particularly in retaliation for his actions in support of an

EEO complaint brought by his girlfriend (see note 8,

* Respondent also filed a second lawsuit, making essentially the

same factual allegations and asserting a violation of Section 717 of the

Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. 2000e-16. Respondent swore, in

an attidavit tiled with the court in this second suit, that “my involve-

ment in the EEO complaint of Janice E. Magna was the primary

reason for my demotion trom a GA-13 branch head to a GM-12 In-

dustrial Engineering position.” C.A. App. Exh. 7-B. This lawsuit ts

presently pending in tederal district court.

supra). Damages in the amount of $500,000 were sought

from the defendants sued in their individual capacities,

under the authority of Bivens v. Six Unknown Named

Agents of the Federal Bureau of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388

(1971). The lawsuit also sought reinstatement, back pay,

and a judgment that respondent’s demotion had been ar-

bitrary and capricious under the APA and had violated his

right to due process by taking property (/.e., an expecta-

tion that his probationary position would turn into a per-

manent One) without providing due process of law.

The district court granted the government’s motion to

dismiss. The court held that since plaintiff alleged that his

demotion was in retaliation for his support of a fellow

worker’s EEO complaint, the sole remedy available to him

was his action under 42 U.S.C. 2000e-16. The court also

held that, even if respondent’s lawsuit could be brought, a

Bivens remedy was unavailable under this Court’s decision

in Bush v. Lucas, 462 U.S. 367 (1983). “In Bush, the Court

indicated that where a federal personnel decision is at

issue, the presence of the comprehensive civil service

scheme precludes the grant of Bivens relief” (App., infra,

27a). The court rejected respondent’s argument that Bush

was distinguishable because the plaintiff in Bush had a full

panoply of procedural rights which are not available to

probationary employees. Noting that respondent had

received all the review provided by Congress for proba-

tionary employees, the court declined to override Con-

gress’s “reasoned choice that personnel decisions as to pro-

bationary employees should be governed by fewer im-

pediments to managerial discretion.” App., infra, 28a.

4. A divided panel of the court of appeals reversed. It

held, first, that Tithe VII is not an exclusive remedy for the

wrongs alleged in respondent’s Bivens complaint. It also

stated that respondent’s pursuit of a Title VII action could

not prevent him from bringing a Bivens suit “based on

alleged constitutional infractions having nothing to do

with Tithe VIL.” App., infra, Sa.

The court of appeals further held that Bush v. Lucas

does not prevent a Bivens action by respondent against his

supervisors and commanding officers. In the majority’s

view, Bush, “cannot be read apart from its pervasive em-

phasis on the remedies provided by Congress for the com-

plaining employee in that case * * *.” App., infra, 9a.

While admitting that “[t]his ruling presents a much closer

question than the Title VII issue” (App., infra, 6a), the

court of appeals determined that the remedies available to

the respondent as a probationary employee were not

“meaningful” within the meaning of Bush (App., infra,

lla). The court acknowledged that respondent’s charges

had been investigated by the MSPB’s Special Counsel and

found wanting. But because investigation by the Special

counsel is not “part of a system of enforceable relief for

constitutional violations” ‘/hbid.), the court refused to

credit this procedure as protecting a probationary

employee’s rights. “Unlike the complainant in Bush, the

probationary employee has no enforceable right, and no

judicial review, even if he or she demonstrates a constitu-

tional violation” (/bid.).

The court of appeals conceded that “management must

retain great flexibility in determining that a probationary

employee ought not to be granted permanent status”

(App., ifra, 8a), and that it may be “anomolous to give

probationary employees a greater protection of their con-

stitutional rights, by way of a Bivens action, than is

available to fully tenured employees, who are confined to

their civil service remedies” (App., infra, 13a). Also, the

court noted decisions of other courts that were in direct

conflict with its own view (App., infra, 7a). It nonetheless

reasoned that Congress “could not have intended such an

untoward result” as to “deprive probationary employees of

all meaningful protection for their constitutional rights”

(App., infra, 13a), and therefore ruled that respondent

9

could maintain a Bivens action for money damages against

his supervisors and commanding officers.?

Judge Hall, in dissent, argued that the majority had ig-

nored the holding of this Court in Bush v. Lucas, which

stressed the comprehensiveness of the remedies provided

by Congress for federal employees and did not invite

courts to second-guess the adequacy of those remedies.

Judge Hall noted that Congress had made a deliberate

decision to limit the remedies of probationary employees,

but had not left them without any protection. “Congress

has determined that review by the Special Counsel and in

certain cases by the Board sufficiently deters constitu-

tionally impermissible personnel decisions while maintain-

ing morale and efficiency.” App., infra, 2la. Thus,

“Kotarski cannot claim that ‘it is damages or nothing.’

Bivens, 403 U.S. at 410 (Harlan, J., concurring)” (ibid.).

Judge Hall concluded (ibid.):

Congress has enacted a scheme carefully tailored to

balance the many competing concerns implicated in

regulating federal employment * * * In crafting the

system, Congress has decided that different levels of

protection are required for rights of differing

magnitude * * * Bush has stated that Congress is in

the better position to decide whether a damage

remedy is appropriate.

On January 13, 1987, the panel voted unanimously to

deny rehearing, and no judge of the Court voted in favor

of rehearing en banc.

% The panel also (a) found that review of respondent’s demotion was

not available under the APA; (b) remanded to the district court the

questions of official immunity and whether there had been a due proc-

ess violation; and (c) ruled that the district court had no jurisdiction

over respondent’s claim to reinstatement and back pay, which ex-

ceeded $10,000. The panel left to the discretion of the lower court

Whether to transfer that claim to the Claims Court under 28 U.S.C.

1631.

10

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The court of appeals has incorrectly decided a question

of great and recurrent practical importance to the federal

government and its supervisory employees. Its decision is

inconsistent with decisions of several other circuits holding

that federal employees with limited remedies under the

CSRA may not bring a Bivens action seeking money

damages. This Court should grant the petition to resolve

that inconsistency and to answer the important question of

federal jurisdiction raised by this case.'°

1. The court of appeals’ decision that employees with

limited remedies under the CSRA may supplement those

remedies with a Bivens action has major ramifications. We

are advised by OPM that the government employs more

than 64,000 probationary employees. We are also advised

that there are more than 300,000 excepted service

employees with limited remedies similar to those of pro-

bationary employees (see 5 U.S.C. 4303(e); 5 U.S.C.

7511(a)(1)).'' The decision below opens the way for a

Bivens action by all such employees in response to any

dismissal, reduction in grade or pay, Or suspension,

Petitioner does not seek review of the court of appeals’ holding

that respondent's Bivens acuion was not barred by the exclusivity of his

remedy under [ithe VII of the Civil Rights Act.

The “ ‘excepted service’ consists of those civil service positions

Which are not in the competitive service or the Senior Executive Serv-

ice” (S U.S.C. 2103(a)). Excepted service positions include positions

for Which it is not practical to hold competitive examinations, such as

chaplains and attorneys (5 C.F.R. 213.3102(a) and (d)) and “positions

Which are policy-determining or which involve a close and confidential

working relationship with the head of an agency or other key ap-

pointed officials” (§ C.F.R. 213.3301). Positions may be placed tn the

excepted service by statute, by the President, or by the Office of Per-

sonnel Management. 5 U.S.C. (& Supp. IL) 3301, 3302(1); Exec. Order

No. 10,577, 3 C.F.R. 218 (1954-1958 Comp.); see 5 C.F.R.

213.101 (a).

1]

whenever that action is alleged to violate the Constitution.

it also opens the door to Bivens actions in response to

minor adverse personnel decisions, such as suspensions of

less than 15 days, as to which the CSRA denies an MSPB

appeal remedy to all employees in most circumstances. 5

U.S.C. 7503. For all three groups—probationary

employees, excepted service employees, and employees

subjected to minor adverse personnel decisions—the

primary remedy for most alleged wrongs is a complaint by

the employee to the Office of Special Counsel, the very

remedy that the court of appeals here found to be inade-

quate and, thus, supplemented with a Bivens remedy.

This new Bivens remedy will! foster lengthy and expen-

sive litigation in federal district courts and hinder, through

its in terrorem effect on supervisors, the efficient manage-

ment of the civil service (Bush, 462 U.S. at 388-389). Con-

gress made a deliberate decision to restrict the remedies of

probationary employees, noting that “[t}he probationary

or trial period * * * is an extension of the examining proc-

ess * * * [so that it] is inappropriate to restrict an agency’s

authority to separate an employee who does not perform

acceptably during this [probationary] period.” S. Rep.

95-969, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 45 (1978). Similarly, Con-

gress made deliberate decisions to grant employees in the

excepted service lesser procedural rights under the CSRA

and to provide limited remedies for minor adverse actions.

These congressional determinations have been under-

mined by the ruling of the court of appeals.

2. The court of appeals’ decision is inconsistent with

this Court’s decision in Bush v. Lucas, supra. In Bush, the

plaintiff sought a Bivens remedy against his federal

employer for alleged First Amendment violations. In its

analysis, this Court assumed that the “civil service

remedies were not as effective as an individual damages

remedy and did not fully compensate [plaintiff] for the

harm he suffered” (462 U.S. at 372 (footnote

12

omitted))—that is, that “a federal right has been violated

and Congress has provided a less than complete remedy

for the wrong” (/d. at 373). It concluded, however, that the

proper focus for analysis was not on “what remedy the

court should provide for a wrong that would otherwise go

unredressed,” but rather on “whether an_ elaborate

remedial system that has been constructed step by step,

with careful attention to conflicting policy considerations,

should be augmented by the creation of a new judicial

remedy for the constitutional violation at issue” (/d. at

388). The Court held that, in light of the comprehensive

procedural and substantive provisions of the civil service

laws governing the employment relationship between the

government and its employees—provisions which, the

Court emphasized, had been carefully constructed by

Congress over many years—it would be inappropriate to

create a new Bivens remedy (id. at 388-390; see also id. at

390-392 (Marshall, J., concurring)).

The same reasoning applies to the instant case.

Although the plaintiff in Bush enjoyed the full panoply of

procedural protections available under the CSRA, that

fact was not crucial to the Court’s holding. Rather, the

Court deferred to “Congress’s ability to make an

evenhanded assessment of the desirability of creating a

new remedy for federal employees * * *” (462 U.S. at

389). Congress has deliberately and sensibly decided to

provide different levels of protection for different groups

of employees. Probationary employees, by definition, lack

job tenure, and it would be almost a contradiction in terms

to erect procedures that make it difficult to dismiss or

demote such employees. It would indeed be anomolous

therefore, and wreak havoc upon the remedial scheme

crafted by Congress, to grant probationary employees a

Bivens remedy for adverse personnel actions denied to

their tenured counterparts. As in Bush, “the ultimate ques-

tion on the merits in this case may appropriately be

13

characterized as one of ‘federal personnel policy’ ” (id. at

380-381). And, again as in Bush, the court should “decline

to create a new substantive legal liability without

legislative aid * * * because * * * Congress is in a better

position to decide whether or not the public interest would

be served by creating it” (id. at 390 (citation and quotation

marks omitted)).

The remedies afforded the respondent here were precise-

ly as Congress intended them to be. Respondent, in addi-

tion to receiving notice of his demotion and a statement as

to why he was being demoted, invoked the jurisdiction of

the MSPB’s Special Counsel. As Judge Hall explained in

her dissent (App., infra, 20a-21la), under current law the

MSPB’s Special Counsel is empowered to investigate and

seek correction of prohibited personnel practices (5

U.S.C. 1206(a)(1)), including charges of reprisal for the

“disclosure of information by an employee or applicant

which the employee or applicant reasonably believes

evidences a violation of any law, rule or regulation * * *”

(S U.S.C. 2302(b)(9)(A)). Congress specifically designed

this remedy to protect employees’ constitutional rights (S.

Rep. No. 95-969, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. (1978)), and the

court of appeals erred in finding it inadequate. The court

should instead have deferred to Congress’s judgment,

schooled in constant oversight of the federal personnel

system.

3. There is a sharp split among the circuits on the

question whether federal employees with limited remedies

under the CSRA should be permitted to supplement those

remedies with a Bivens action against their supervisors.

Three circuits have held that a Bivens action is foreclosed

by this Court’s decision in Bush. See Pinar v. Dole, 747

F.2d 899, 905 (4th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1016

(1985) (probationary employee); Palermo v. Rorex, 806

F.2d 1266, 1270-1271 (Sth Cir. 1987) (excepted service);

Wells v. FAA, 755 F.2d 804, 810 (11th Cir. 1985) (minor

14

adverse action). See also Gleason v. Malcom, 718 F.2d

1044, 1047-1048 (11th Cir. 1983); Braun v. United States,

707 F.2d 922, 926 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 991

(1983); Broadway v. Block, 694 F.2d 979, 985 (Sth Cir.

1982); Harding v. USPS, 618 F. Supp. 1330, 1331 n.2,

1332 (S.D. W.Va. 1985); Cazalas v. Dep’t of Justice, 569

F. Supp. 213, 228-229 (E.D. La. 1983), aff'd, 731 F.2d 870

(Sth Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1207 (1985); Fran-

cisco Vv. Schmidt, 575 F. Supp. 1200, 1202 (E.D. Wis.

1983).

Three circuits, including the Ninth Circuit in this case,

have concluded that when a federal employee’s only

remedy under the CSRA is a complaint to the Special

Counsel, courts are justified in implying an additional

Bivens remedy tor such employees. Mcl/ntosh vy.

Weinberger, 810 F.2d 1411 (8th Cir. 1987); Egger v.

Phillips, 710 F.2d 292, 297-299 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 464

U.S. 918 (1983). See also Freedman v. Turnage, 646 F.

Supp. 1460 (W.D. N.Y. 1986); Harris v. Moyer, 620 F.

Supp. 1262 (N.D. Ill. 1985).

This conflict over the correct interpretation of Bush is

pointedly illustrated by two irreconcilable decisions

handed down by two panels of the District of Columbia

Circuit on the same day. Hubbard v. EPA, No. 85-5145

(Dec. 5, 1986); Spagnola v. Mathis, No. 84-5530 (Dec. 5,

1986). Both decisions have been ordered reheard en banc.

In Hubbard, an applicant who was refused a job at EPA

petitioned the MSPB’s Special Counsel, asserting that he

was denied employment because of a prohibited personnel

practice. He also brought suit alleging, inter alia, a First

Amendment Bivens claims against an EPA hiring official.

A panel of the D.C. Circuit (Judge Silberman, joined by

Judge (now Justice) Scalia with Chief Judge Wald concur-

ring in the judgment) held that Hubbard had no Bivens

remedy under Bush v. Lucas, supra, and was confined to

the administrative remedy that Congress regarded as ap-

propriate in light of his status. The panel dismissed the

15

Ninth Circuit’s decision in Cooper v. Kotarski as “unper-

Suasive,” stating that “we believe that decision misinter-

prets Bush and fails to consider fully the disruptive in-

fluence of Bivens actions on the civil service.”

In Spagnola, a second panel (Judges Wright and Wald

with Silberman dissenting) held that the very same ad-

ministrative remedy at issue in Hubbard—i.e., a com-

plaint to the MSPB’s Office of the Special Counsel — was

inadequate to preclude a~-Bivens remedy tor Spagnola’s

claim that he was harrassed and not promoted in violation

of his First Amendment rights. The panel, expressly en-

dorsing the Ninth Circuit’s analysis in the instant case,

read this Court’s decision in Bush as applying only to

situations where a court determines that the remedies

available to the employee are adequate and meaningful.

These decisions illustrate how intractably divided

judicial authority is over the application of Bush to federal

employees with limited remedies under the CSRA. This

sharp conflict in the circuits has produced a significant

disparity in the treatment of federal employees, depending

solely upon where they reside. Because the question

presented is of great importance to the integrity of the

federal civil service, the Court should grant certiorari to

resolve the conflict.!?

2 The instant case raises issues similar to those presented in United

States v. Fausto, cert. granted, No. 86-595 (Jan. 12, 1987). Fausto

presents the question whether individuals in the excepted service, who

also have limited remedies under the CSRA, may sue the United States

in the Claims Court under the Tucker Act. We argue in Fausto, as we

do here, that the CSRA prempts other, more general remedies.

16

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted.

CHARLES FRIED

Solicitor General

RICHARD K. WILLARD

Assistant Attorney General

DONALD B. AYER

Deputy Solicitor General

MICHAEL K. KELLOGG

Assistant To The Solicitor General

| BARBARA L. HERWIG

| RICHARD A, OLDERMAN

Altorneys

MIAY 1987

APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

CA No. 84-5673

DC No. 82-1636

FRANK K,. KOTARSKI,

PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT,

Vi

V. L. Cooper, A.E. NAVARRO, W.J. TINSTON,

J.H. KIRKPATRICK, NAVAL AIR REWORK FACILITY,

CapT. P.A. MONROE, IN HIS OFFICIAL CAPACITY,

DEFENDANTS-APPELLEES.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of California

Honorable William B. Enright, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted January 11, 1985

Los Angeles, California

[Filed Sep. 16, 1986]

OPINION

Betore: NELSON, CANBY and HALL, Circuit Judges

CANBY, Circuit Judge:

Plaintiff, a civilian employee of the Navy, was pro-

moted to a supervisory position subject to a probationary

period of one year. He was demoted to his former position

during that year, and brought this action in district court

(la)

to contest his demotion and seek Bivens! damages for it.

The district court dismissed his complaint with prejudice,

and plaintiff appeals. We reverse.

BACKGROUND

In 1981, plaintiff Frank Kotarski was promoted from

his position as a GS-12 civilian Navy engineer to the posi-

tion of GM-13: industrial engineer with supervisory

responsibilities. This competitive appointment was subject

to a probationary period of one year. 5 U.S.C. § 3321; 5

C.F.R. § 315.802(a) ef seg. Toward the close of this

period, Kotarski’s immediate superiors, defendants here,

notified him that his performance as a supervisor had been

unsatisfactory. Kotarski was accordingly returned to his

prior position.

Shortly thereafter, Kotarski filed this action against

defendants, seeking reinstatement, back pay, and Bivens

damages for his demotion. He also sought review of the

agency action under the Administrative Procedure Act.

The complaint alleged that defendants had violated Kotar-

ski’s first, fifth and ninth amendment rights by demoting

him from his position as supervisor. Five months later,

Kotarski tiled a second action alleging that his demotion

also violated his rights under Title VII of the Civil Rights

Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-16. That action is still pend-

ing in district court. The district court disposed of this first

action by dismissing it with prejudice, upon the govern-

ment’s motion. This appeal followed.

' In Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents of the Federal Bureau

of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388 (1971), the Supreme Court implied a

damage remedy against federal officers for the violation of plaintiff's

fourth amendment rights. /d. at 390-97. The Bivens doctrine has been

progressively expanded to embrace other constitutional violations. See

Davis v. Passman, 442 U.S. 228 (1979) (equal protection); Carlson v.

Green, 446 U.S. 14 (1980) (eighth amendment); see generally K.

Davis, Administrative Law Treatise, § 27:26 (1984).

3a

DISCUSSION

A. Jurisdiction

In addition to seeking Bivens damages against his im-

mediate superiors and review of the agency action under

the Administrative Procedure Act, Kotarski seeks

reinstatement and back pay from defendant Naval Air

Rework Facility, an instrumentality of the United States.

Although Kotarski’s prayer for relief does not specify the

amount of back pay sought, we conclude that it would ex-

ceed $10,000. See Doe v. United States Dept. of Justice,

753 F.2d 1092, 1101 (D.C. Cir. 1985). As a result, the

district court was without jurisdiction over Kotarski’s back

pay claim. The Tucker Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1346(a)(2), re-

quires that such actions be brought in the United States

Claims Court.? The claim against the Facility for reinstate-

ment is so integrated with the claim for back pay, that it

must likewise be entertained in the Claims Court. See

Schulthess v. United States, 694 F.2d 175, 178 (9th Cir.

1982); Giordano v. Roudebush, 617 F.2d 511, 514-15 (8th

Cir. 1980). Accordingly, we remand these claims to the

district court for consideration of whether the interests of

justice require transfer of Kotarski’s back pay and

reinstatement claims to the Claims Court. See 28 U.S.C.

§ 1631.3

2 For a Tucker Act claim to be brought in the district court, it must

(1) seek money (2) not exceeding $10,000 (3) from the United States

and (4) be founded either upon a contract or provision of federal law

or regulation that can fairly be interpreted as mandating compen-

sation by the Federal Government for the damages sustained. See Van

Drasek v. Lehman, 762 F.2d 1065, 1068 (D.C. Cir. 1985).

> We decline to transfer the claims ourselves, cf. Van Drasek,

supra; Wronke v. M-rsh, 767 F.2d 354 (7th Cir. 1985) (transferring to

Federal Circuit unuer 28 U.S.C. § 1631), because Kotarski may wish

to seek the leave of the district court to amend his complaint to waive

damages in excess of $10,000 and proceed in district court. See Hahn

v. United States, 757 F.2d 581, 587-88 (3d Cir. 1985); Van Drasek, 762

4a

There is no problem, however, with the district court’s

jurisdiction over Kotarski’s constitutional claims against

the individual defendants. Bivens actions brought against

federal officials in their individual capacities for violations

of a plaintiffs constitutional rights are not suits requiring

the consent of the United States. The Tucker Act is

therefore not implicated. Van Drasek v. Lehman, 762

F.2d 1065, 1070 (D.C. Cir. 1985); Doe, 753 F.2d at 1101.

The district court therefore properly entertained

Kotarski’s Bivens claims.

B. Tithe VIl as Exclusive Remedy

“The district court dismissed Kotarski’s Bivens claims on

two alternative grounds. The first was that Kotarski’s ex-

clusive remedy lay in Title VII, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-16. We

disagree.

Title VII bars discrimination in employment on the

basis of race, color, religion, sex, or national origin. 42

U.S.C §§ 2000e-2, 2000e-16. As the district court correctly

observed, the Supreme Court has held that Title VII is the

exclusive remedy for claims of discrimination in federal

employment. Brown vy. General Services Administration,

425 U.S. 820, 835 (1976). That exclusive effect, however,

extends only to claims of federal employees that are

cognizable under Title VII. See Davis v. Passman, 442

U.S. 228, 247 n.26 (1979). As a consequence, “Title VII

does not preclude separate remedies for unconstitutional

action other than discrimination based on race, sex,

religion or national origin.” White v. General Services Ad-

ministration, 652 F.2d 913, 917 (9th Cir. 1981).

F.2d at 1069 n.6. If Kotarski reduces his claim to $10,000 or less and

pursues it in the district court under the Tucker Act, appellate review

of that claim may be had only in the Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit. See 28 U.S.C. § 12958(a)(2)

Sa

Kotarski has alleged that he was demoied because his

superiors disapproved of his private relationship and liv-

ing arrangements with his woman friend, in violation of

his constitutional right of privacy. He also alleges that he

was demoted because of his expression of disagreement

with certain policies, practices and expenditures of funds

at the Naval Air Rework Facility, in violation of his first

amendment rights.* Neither of these claims is cognizable

under Title VII; accordingly, they are not barred by its

preclusive effect.

Defendants contend, however, that Kotarski effectively

admitted that his Bivens claims were subsumed by his Title

VII claim when he filed an affidavit in his Title VII action

in which he did “swear and contend” that his involvement

in an EEO complaint filed by his woman friend was “the

primary reason” for his demotion. We decline to give this

affidavit the effect that the defendants urge for it. The af-

fidavit states a contention, and it was sworn on informa-

tion and belief. It does not state that retaliation for par-

ticipation in filing an EEO complaint was the only reason

for Kotarski’s demotion. We fail to see how Kotarski’s

pursuit of a Title VII remedy based on retaliation, see

White v. General Services Administration, 652 F.2d at

917, can preclude his Bivens claims based on alleged con-

stitutional infractions having nothing to do with Title VII.

See Ethnic Employees of Library of Congress v. Boorstin,

751 F.2d 1405, 1415 & n.14 (D.C. Cir. 1985).

* The district court did not reach the merits of these constitutional

claims, nor do we. Cf. Doe v. Duling, 603 F. Supp. 960 (E.D. Va.

1985) (state statutes prohibiting fornication and cohabitation by un-

married adults unconstitutional), vacated on other grounds, 782 F.2d

1202 (4th Cir. 1986); see also Thorne v. City of El Segundo, 726 F.2d

459 (9th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 105 S.Ct. 380 (1984); Wilson v.

Taylor, 733 F.2d 1539 (Lith Cir. 1984); but cf. Andrade v. City of

Phoenix, 692 F.2d $57, 565 (9th Cir. 1982) (Wallace, J., concurring)

(“neither the Supreme Court nor this court has held ... that ex-

tramarital sexual relations are constitutionally protected”).

6a

C. The Effect of Bush v. Lucas

As an alternative ground for dismissing Kotarski’s

Bivens claims, the district court held that they were

precluded by the doctrine of Bush v. Lucas, 462 U.S. 367

(1983). This ruling presents a much closer question than

the Title VII issue, but we conclude that it, too, was er-

roneous.

In Bush, the Supreme Court rejected a Bivens claim of a

non-probationary federal employee who sought to

challenge his demotion on the ground that it was a reprisal

for constitutionally protected activity. The Court held that

the presence of a congressionally-established, comprehen-

sive regulatory scheme governing federal employer-

employee relationships was a “special factor[] counselling

hesitation” in implying a Bivens remedy. 462 U.S. at 378;

see Bivens, 403 U.S. at 396. The Court concluded that, in

light of the “elaborate remedial system” constructed by

Congress, 462 U.S. at 388, it should not add a Bivens

remedy to those provided by Congress in the exercise of its

legislative judgement. /d. at 390.

Kotarski contends that Bush is inapplicable to his case

because the employee in Bush was fully tenured and en-

titled to all of the protections of the civil service system.

Kotarski’s supervisory appointment was probationary;

with regard to that position, he was excluded from the

Civil Service Reform Act’s definition of “employee” and

the remedies that go with it. See 5 U.S.C. § 7511 (a)(1)(A);

Piskadlo v. Veterans’ Administration, 668 F.2d 82, 83 (1st

Cir. 1982).

The defendants counter that the lesson to be derived

from Bush is that the judiciary should not interfere in the

congressionally-ordered scheme of federal employment by

fashioning intrusive remedies. If Congress chose to ex-

clude probationary employees from nearly all of the pro-

tections of the Act, that decision was a conscious recogni-

tion of the fact that probation “is an extension of the ex-

Ta

amining process to determine an employee’s ability to ac-

tually perform the duties of the position. It is inap-

propriate to restrict an agency’s authority to separate an

employee who does not perform acceptably during this

period.” S. Rep. No. 969, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. 45,

reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 2723,

2767.

Defendants’ reading of Bush is not without support. In

Pinar v. Dole, 747 F.2d 899 (4th Cir. 1984), cert. denied,

105 S.Ct. 2019 (1985), the Fourth Circuit held that Bush

precluded Bivens relief for a federal employee who

claimed that his temporary promotion had been ter-

minated because of his “whistle-blowing” activities.

Because the promotion was temporary, the employee’s ad-

ministrative remedies were no greater than Kotarski’s. See

also Carroll v. United States, 721 F.2d 155 (Sth Cir. 1983)

(on rehearing) (Bush precludes Bivens action for former

employee seeking reinstatement and _ back-pay; ad-

ministrative remedy available for reinstatement but not

back-pay), cert. denied, 467 U.S. 1241 (1984); Francisco v.

Schmidt, 575 F. Supp. 1200 (E.D. Wis. 1983) (Bivens in-

appropriate in area of federal employee relations); Watson

v. United States Department of Housing and Urban

Development, 576 F. Sup. 580 (N.D. Ill. 1983) (ad-

ministrative remedies for probationary employees ade-

quate); Crumpler v. Etter, 579 F. Supp. 391 (E.D.N.C.

1983) (congressional provision of some remedy precludes

Bivens action).

With all respect, we cannot agree with the decision in

Pinar, or with those in accord with it. First, we resist the

tendency unduly to minimize the interests of the employee

on the ground that only probationary status is involved.

The primary interest asserted by the employee is a first

amendment interest in free speech. Second, we regard as

essential to the Bush holding the availability of a mean-

ingful remedy for the alleged constitutional violation.

Third, we do not regard the remedies afforded by the Civil

8a

Service Reform Act to employees in probationary status to

be adequate within the meaning of Bush. Each of these

points requires elaboration.

Probationary status is nothing new; it is agreed that

management must retain great flexibility in determining

that a probationary employee ought not to be granted per-

manent status. To grant that proposition, however, is not

to deprive probationary employees of all constitutional

protection.* Accordingly, “[a] probationary employee

may be discharged for any reason, or for no reason at all,

but not for an unconstitutional reason.” Huffstutler v.

Bergland, 607 F.2d 1090, 1092 (Sth Cir. 1979). Indeed, the

Supreme Court itself made this point quite clear in Perry

v. Sinderman, 408 U.S. 593 (1972), a case involving a

nontenured college professor:

[E]ven though a person has no “right” to a valuable

governmental benefit and even though the govern-

ment may deny him the benefit for any number of

reasons, there are some reasons upon which the

government may not rely. It may not deny a benefit to

a person on a basis that infringe his constitutionally

protected interests — especially, his interest in freedom

of speech.

Id. at 597; see Mt. Healthy City School District Board of

Education v. Doyle, 429 U.S. 274, 283-84 (1977). Proba-

> We do not tind United States v. Connolly, 716 F.2d 882 (Fed. Cir.

1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1065 (1984), relied upon by defendants,

to be contrary to our view. In Connolly, a probationary employee

contested his removal on statutory and regulatory grounds. The court

heid that he was not entitled to judicial review because Congress in-

tended no such review for probationary employees. The employee also

had a first amendment claim, however, and the court did not subject

that claim to the same analysis. Instead, the court held that the first

amendment claim was not within the Tucker Act jurisdiction of the

Claims Court because the first amendment of itself did not create an

obligation of the United States to pay money. /d. at 886-87.

9a

tionary status, therefore, cannot be the foundation for a

total negation of the first amendment rights of the

employee.

We therefore are unable to read Bush as simply placing

probationary employment off limits to the judiciary. It is

true that Bush emphasized Congress’ special interest and

authority in dealing with questions of federal employ-

ment. Bush, 462 U.S. at 398. But Bush cannot be read

apart from its pervasive emphasis on the remedies pro-

vided by Congress for the complaining employee in that

case —remedies that the Court noted were unavailable to

probationary employees. /d. at 385 n.28. The Court

stressed that the employee being demoted was entitled to a

statement of the charges, an opportunity to offer rebuttal,

a decision by a higher official, then an appeal to the

Federal Employee Appeals Authority which was required

to hold a trial-type hearing. An adverse decision was then

Subject to judicial review. 462 U.S. at 386-87. If the

employee prevailed at any stage, he was entitled to

reinstatement with retroactive seniority and full backpay.

Id. at 388. Thus, as the Court pointed out, “[t]he question

[was] not what remedy the court should provide for a

wrong that would otherwise go unredressed.” Jd. While

the remedies provided by Congress were in some respects

not as complete as those that would be available in a

Bivens action, the congressional scheme nevertheless pro-

vided “meaningful remedies for employees who may have

been unfairly disciplined for making critical comments

about their agencies.” /d. at 386 (footnote omitted). That

conclusion, we suggest, is central to the holding in Bush.

See Williams v. IRS, 745 F.2d 702, 705 (D.C. Cir. 1984)

(per curiam).

Guided by Bush, then, we view the question before us to

be whether the congressional and administrative remedies

provided for Kotarski as a probationary employee are suf-

ficient to give meaningful protection to his constitutional

10a

rights. If they are, Bush requires us to refrain from imply-

ing a Bivens remedy. See Clemente v. United States, 766

F.2d 1358, 1364 (9th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 106 S.Ct.

881 (1986). If they are not, then it seems appropriate to

overcome the hesitation counseled by the fact of federal

employment and to imply a Bivens remedy, id. at 391

(Marshall, J., concurring), at least in the absence of an ex-

press congressional negative. See id. at 378 n. 14 & 389.

Kotarski argues that he is without remedy for violation

of his constitutional rights and that, as in Bivens, “it is

damages or nothing.” Bivens, 403 U.S. at 410 (Harlan, J.,

concurring). The answer is not quite that simple, however.

The remedies provided by the congressional scheme need

not provide “complete relief” in order to be adequate to

forestall a Bivens action, Bush, 462 U.S. at 388, and

Kotarski was not wholly excluded from the congression-

ally-designed system.

As a probationary employee, Kotarski was entitled to

appeal the agency action to the Merit Systems Protection

Board if the action was based upon “partisan political af-

filiation or marital status.” 5 C.F.R. § 315.908(b). Kotar-

ski did attempt such an appeal, apparently on the theory

that his privacy claim might be one of “marital status,” but

the Board held that it was without jurisdiction over his ap-

peal. Accordingly, we may view that remedy as unavail-

able to Kotarski. Kotarski also submitted his complaint to

the Special Counsel of the Board, who is independently

authorized to receive complaints of a “prohibited person-

nel practice.” 5 U.S.C. § 1206(a)(1). The definition of

“prohibited personnel practice” includes reprisal against a

“whistleblower” as well as discrimination’ against an

employee or applicant for employment on the basis of

conduct which does not adversely affect performance of

the job. 5 C.F.R. § 1250.3(b) (8), (10). The Special

Counsel investigated Kotarski’s charges both in regard to

his relationship with his woman friend and to his whistle-

blowing activities, and informed him by letter that the

lla

evidence was “insufficient to establish that those matters

were significant factors” in his demotion. Kotarski com-

plains that the investigation consisted of interviews that

Kotarski was given no access to or record of, and thus had

no opportunity to rebut.

If this investigation by the Special Counsel were a part

of a system of enforceable relief for constitutional viola-

tions, we would be compelled to conclude that no Bivens

action could be implied. Indeed, the relief could doubtless

fall quite short of Bivens relief and still be constitutionally

adequate, in light of the designed precariousness of the

probationary position from which Kotarski was demoted.

The role of the Special Counsel in receiving and investi-

gating complaints, however, is not part of a system em-

bodying any remedy enforceable by a complainant who

demonstrates a violation of constitutional rights. While

the Special Counsel is directed by the statute to receive and

investigate any allegation of a prohibited personnel prac-

tice, 5 U.S.C. § 1206(a)(1), and to report to the Board and

the agency involved if the Specia! Counsel determines that

there are reasonable grounds to believe that a prohibited

practice has occurred, § 1206(c)(1)(A), no more need be

done. If, after a reasonable time, the agency has not taken

corrective action, the Special Counsel “may” request the

Board to consider the matter, and the Board “may” order

such corrective action as it deems appropriate.

§ 1206(c)(1)(B). Unlike the complainant in Bush, the pro-

bationary employee has no enforceable right, and no

judicial review, even if he or she demonstrates a constitu-

tional violation. Nor is there any right of participation in

the process of investigation and decision whether to take

action.

We do not regard this structure as one that provides

“meaningful remedies” to one whose constitutional rights

have been violated. While the wrong may be righted as a

matter of discretion, every constitutional violation by any

agency is subject to that kind of correction. The central

l2a

features of the congressional remedial system in Bush and

of the alternative Bivens remedy are the right to a forum in

which to establish a constitutional violation and the right

to enforce significant relief if a violation is shown. Neither

feature exists for the probationary employee whose only

means of seeking redress is to complain to the Special

Counsel.

Our conclusion is supported by Williams v. IRS, 745

F.2d 702 (D.C. Cir. 1984) (per curiam), in which the court

refused to apply Bush to defeat a claim by an Internal

Revenue Service attorney who contested his five-day

disciplinary suspension. As one ground of its decision, the

court stated:

Bush rested in large measure On the meaningful, even

it less than optimally effective, statutory remedy Con-

gress made available to the complainant, one that af-

forded him retroactive reinstatement and back pay.

Williams is differently situated; he has no CSRA-

conferred guarantee of an administrative adjudica-

tion outside the Service or of direct court review.

Id. at 705. See also Doe v. United States Department of

Justice, 753 F.2d 1092, 1118 n.2 (Wald, J., dissenting);

Harris v. Moyer, 620 F. Supp. #262 (N.D. Ill. 1985) (Bush

not applicable to defeat Bivens action by probationary

employee, because employee had no statutory right of ap-

peal to Merit System Protection Board). Similarly, Borre//

v. United States International Communications Agency,

682 F.2d 981, 988-91 (D.C. Cir. 1982), a case decided

before the Supreme Court’s decision in Bush, held that a

probationary employee could bring suit in federal court

based on her claim that she was discharged for whistle-

blowing activities. The Civil Service Reform Act was held

not to preclude her action because she was excluded from

all of its remedies except the right to complain to the

Special Counsel. See also Egger v. Phillips, 710 F.2d 292,

297-98 (7th Cir.) (en banc) (plurality opinion) (exemption

l3a

of FBI agents from civil service regulations permits Bivens

action), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 918 (1983); but see Broad-

way v. Block, 694 F.2d 979, 985-86 (Sth Cir. 1982) (Bivens

action not available to contest reassignment).

The defendants contend that it is anomalous to give pro-

bationary employees a greater protection of their constitu-

tional rights, by way of a Bivens action, than is available

to fully tenured employees, who are confined to their civil

service remedies. It may be. See Francisco v. Schmidt, 575

F. Supp. at 1203. The alternative, which strikes us at least

equally anomalous, is to hold that a Bivens action that

would otherwise be appropriate for a probationary em-

ployee is rendered inappropriate by the enactment of a

scheme of enforceable remedies from which probationary

employees are excluded by definition. See Egger v.

Phillips, 710 F.2d at 298 (plurality opinion). To reach such

a result, we would have to conclude that Congress had

both the intention and the authority to deprive proba-

tionary employees of all meaningful protection for their

constitutional rights. Like the Supreme Court in Bush, 462

U.S. at 378 n.14, we need not decide the question of Con-

gress’ authority, for we conclude that it could not have in-

tended such an untoward result.

Moreover, any distortion that occurs as the result of the

availability of a Bivens action to probationary employees

is quite limited. The greater protection for probationary

employees extends only to constitutionally based claims;

they have no right of appeal or other redress when their

probationary status is terminated for normal management

reasons. See, e.g., 5 C.F.R. § 315.908(a); Lehman v. Mor-

rissey, 779 F.2d 526 (9th Cir, 1985). Nor is it clear that the

Bivens remedy for probationary employees is invariably

preferable to the civil service remedies availableto regular

employees. Review under the civil service system is almost

certainly speedier and less costly than a Bivens action. See

Bush, 462 U.S. at 391 (Marshall, J., concurring). The civil

l4a

service complainant enjoys a more favorable burden of

proof, and avoids possible immunity defenses that are

likely to be asserted in a Bivens action. Jd. We therefore

do not regard the availability of a Bivens action to proba-

tionary employees as a startling development. Of course,

Congress can cure any lack of symmetry by bringing

Bivens-type claims of probationary employees within the

regular remedial system.

For the reasons stated above, therefore, we conclude

that Kotarski, as a probationary supervisor, is not barred

by Bush v. Lucas from pursuing his Bivens action against

those who allegedly violated his constitutional rights.

DD. Review Under the Administrative Procedure Act

Kotarski also sought review of his demotion under the

provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C.

§ 701 ef seq. This claim is foreclosed by our decision in

Viet v. Heckler, 746 F.2d 508 (9th Cir. 1984), in which we

held that federal courts had no jurisdiction to review

federal personnel actions under the Administrative Pro-

cedures Act.°®

E. Due Process

In addition to his claims based on rights of privacy and

free expression, Kotarski claimed that his fifth amend-

® We do not regard the holding or language of Veit to be contrary to

our conclusion that Kotarski may seek damages for his demotion in a

Bivens aciion. Veit dealt with the claim of a regular federal employee

that he sould have been given a higher job performance rating. We

held that, in view of the extensive remedies available to a tenured

employee under the Civil Service Reform Act, judicial review was

precluded for lack of congressional authorization, even though no ad-

ministrative remedy was provided for the wrong Veit complained of.

Veit, 746 F.2d at $511. Our conclusion that no review was available was

confined to review of Veit’s non-constitutional claim. Veit also had a

fifth amendment claim that we dealt with separately on the merits,

holding that Veit had failed to show a property interest in a claimed

merit increase. /d.

lSa

ment right to due process was violated.’ The defendants

contend that Kotarski cannot have suffered a deprivation

of property without due process, because he had no en-

titlement or property interest in his probationary super-

visor’s position. See Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134

(1974); Sampson v. Murray, 415 U.S. 61 (1974); Bishop v.

Wood, 426 U.S. 341, 345 n.8 (1976).

Kotarski counters that there was a clear expectancy that

he would remain in his supervisor’s position so long as he

performed satisfactorily, and that this expectancy

amounted to an entitlement for fifth amendment pur-

poses. See Perry v. Sindermann, 408 U.S. 593, 599-603

(1972). He supports his argument with a reference to a per-

sonnel manual. He also contends that sufficient publica-

tion of his demotion occurred or will occur that he has

been stigmatized in a manner affecting his liberty interest.

See Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 573 (1972);

but see Bishop v. Wood, 426 U.S. 341, 348-49 (1976).

The district court, having disposed of Kotarski’s claims

against the individual defendants on other grounds, did

not address the due process claim. Because the due process

issues of entitlement and stigma have subtantial factual

components, it would be inappropriate for us to address

this claim before the district court has done so. We

therefore express no opinions on the merits of the conflict-

ing contentions, and leave the matter for the district court

on remand.

F. Immunity

The individual defendants contend that they are entitled

to absolute immunity from liability for the commission of

’ To the extent that Kotarski asserts a due process claim against the

Naval Air Rework Facility as part of his claim for reinstatement and

back pay, the claim is subject to our discussion in part A, supra. The

district court appeared to treat Kotarski’s due process claim as part ot

his Bivens claims against the individual defendants. At least one of

Kotarski’s due process claims alleged in his complaint seems to be

directed at two of the individual defendants.

l6a

common law torts when acting within the scope of their

employment and authority. See Barr v. Matteo, 360 U.S.

564 (1959). With regard to Kotarski’s constitutional

claims, however, the defendants would be eniitled, at

most, to qualified immunity. Butz v. Economoun, 438 U.S.

478 (1978). They would be immune only so long as “their

conduct does not violate clearly established statutory or

constitutional rights of which a reasonable person would

have known.” Harlow v. Fitzgerald , 457 U.S. 800, 818

(1982).

Immunity, too, was not reached by the district court.

Whether the actions of defendants violated clearly

established statutory or constitutional rights, and whether

a reasonable person would have known of them, are mat-

ters which it would be premature to determine now. The

district court can address those issues, if necessary, upon

remand.

G. Conclusion

The judgment of the district court is reversed, and the

case is remanded for further proceedings consistent with

this opinion.

REVERSED AND REMANDED.

l7a

HALL, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

For what each man wishes, that he also believes to be

true,

Demosthenes, Third Olynthiac § 19 (J. Vince trans. 1930).

The majority believes that central to the holding of the

Supreme Court’s decision in Bush v. Lucas, 462 U.S. 367

(1983) is the proposition that the remedies provided by

Congress for federal employees must give “meaningful

protection to. . . constitutional rights.” Op at 11. In the

majority’s opinion, “meaningful remedies” include only

remedies where the employee has an “enforceable right,” a

right to judicial review, or the “right of participation in the

process of investigation and decision.” Op. at 13. Because

the majority believes that the remedies available to Kotar-

ski after losing his temporary promotion are not “mean-

ingful” and because the majority also believes that Bush

requires such remedies, it concludes that Kotarski is en-

titled to a full damage remedy in federal court for loss of

his temporary promotion if he can prove that his reduced

status was effected in violation of constitutional rights.

This remedy is available to Kotarski even though

employees demoted after receiving permanent promotions

in violation of their constitutional rights have no private

damage action under Bivens v. Six Unknown Named

Agents of the Federal Bureau of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388

(1971) and are limited to the administrative avenues of the

civil service system. Bush, 462 U.S. at 388-90.

The court in Bush held that a federal employee who was

demoted allegedly in violation of his first amendment

rights was not entitled to a private damage remedy under

Bivens. The majority’s belief that the focus of Bush is

upon the nature of the remedies provided by Congress is

supported by a reading of the case. Time and time

l8a

again in Bush the Court underscored that the basis of its

decision centered on the significant problems of judicial

review of federal personnel decisions coupled with the fact

that Congress is in a better position to strike a balance be-

tween the need for efficient government employees and the

need to protect the rights of those employees. These con-

cerns constituted “special factors counselling hesitation [in

the creation of a damage remedy] in the absence of affirm-

ative action by Congress.” B’. 27s, 403 U.S. at 396.

The Court punctuated its decision in Bush by repeated

disclaimers that the nature of the congressionally pre-

scribed remedies did not underlie its rationale. At the

outset, the Court explained that the meaning of the phrase

“special factors counselling hestitation” first appearing in

Bivens was illustrated by its prior decisions in United

States v. Standard Oil Co., 332 U.S. 301 (1947) and

United States v. Gilman, 347 U.S. 507 (1954). In Standard

Oil, the Court refused the government’s request for a new

damage remedy against a tortfeasor responsible for in-

juries to a soldier. The Court reasoned that Congress, “the

custodian of the national purse,” and not the courts

should bear the responsibility for fashioning national

fiscal policy. Standard Oil, 332 U.S. at 314. In Gilman,

the Court refused to allow the government to seek indem-

nification from one of its employees responsibile for

creating federal liability under the FICA. The Court in

Gilman noted that the creation of an indemnification

remedy would significantly affect the relationship between

the government and its employees, impacting employee et-

ficiency and morale as well as federal fiscal policy.

Gilman, 347 U.S. at 510. Gilman held that Congress was

in a better position than the courts to fashion such a

remedy. /d. at 511.

Bush held that the Standard Oil and Gilman decisions

demonstrated that the “special factors” inquiry focuses on

which branch of government should decide whether a

remedy should be provided.

19a -

The special factors couselling hesitation in the creation

of a new remedy in Standard Oil and Gilman did not

concern the merits of the particular remedy that was

sought. Rather, they related to the question of who

should decide whether such a remedy should be pro-

vided. We should therefore begin by considering

whether there are reasons for allowing Congress to

prescribe the scope of relief that is made available to

federal employees whose First Amendment rights have

been violated by their supervisors.

Bush, 462 U.S. at 380.

The Supreme Court in Bush stated further:

The question is not what remedy the court should pro-

vide for a wrong that would otherwise go unredressed.

It is whether an elaborate remedial system that has been

constructed step by step, with careful attention to con-

flicting policy considerations, should be augmented by

the creation of a new judicial remedy for the constitu-

tional violation at issue. That question obviously cannot

be answered simply by noting that existing remedies do

not provide complete relief for the plaintiff. The policy

judgment should be informed by a thorough under-

Standing of the existing regulatory structure and the

respective costs and benefits that would result from the

addition of another remedy for violations of employees’

First Amendment rights.

> > *x

Thus, we do not decide whether or not it would be good

policy to permit a federal employee to recover damages

from a supervisor who has improperly disciplined him

for exercising his First Amendment rights. As we did in

Standard Oil, we decline “to create a new substantive

legal liability without legislative aid and as at the com-

mon law,” 332 U.S., at 302, because we are convinced

that Congress is in a better position to decide whether or

not the public interest would be served by creating it.

Id. at 388-90. '

As the majority notes, Bush involved a demotion of a

non-probationary federal employee. In Pinar v. Dole, 747

F.2d 899 (4th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 105 S. Ct. 2019

(1985), the Fourth Circuit held that the Congressional

remedial scheme for federal employees losing temporary

promotion was constitutionally adequate, and no Bivens

remedy was required. The majority’s position today

creates a direct conflict with Pinar. I agree with the Fourth

Circuit and with the district court in this case that Bush

precludes a Bivens remedy for probationary employees as

well.

Under current law, Congress has defined a “prohibited

personnel action” as any action that is a reprisal for “a

disclosure of information by an employee or applicant

Which the employee or applicant reasonably believes

evidences a violation of any law, rule, or regulation... ”

5 U.S.C. § 2302 (b)(8). Congress enacted provisions like

secuion 2302 so that an action taken by a supervisor

“against an employee... without having proper regard

for the individual’s privacy or constitutional

rights . . . could result in dismissal, fine, reprimand, or

other discipline for the supervisor.” S. Rep. No. 95-969,

95th Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted in U.S. Code, Cong. &

Admin. News at 2745 (emphasis added). Charges of pro-

hibited practices are investigated by the Office of the

Special Counsel which may recommend corrective action

to the agency. 5 U.S.C. § 1206(a)-(c). If the agency fails to

implement the recommended corrective action, the Special

Counsel may request the Merit Systems Protections Board

to consider the matter, and the Board may in turn order

corrective action. 5 U.S.C. § 1206(c)(1)(B). Further, the

Congressional scheme allows the Special Counsel to re-

‘Only two justices took the position that the congressionally-

adopted remedy should approximate Bivens reliet. See Bush, 462 U.S.

at 390-92 (Marshall, J., concurring).

2la

quest, and the Board to grant, stays of personnel actions

the Special Counsel reasonably believes were taken as the

result of prohibited practices.

With this remedial system in place, Kotarski cannot

claim that “it is damages or nothing.” Bivens 403 U.S. at

410 (Harlan, J., concurring). Congress has enacted a

scheme carefully tailored to balance the many competing

concerns implicated in regulating federal employment and

has chosen this remedial mechanism over a system allow-

ing litigation between federal employees over

employment-related discipline. In crafting the system,

Congress has decided that different levels of protection are

required for rights of differing magnitude. For demotion

or termination of non-probationary employees, the full

complement of administrative remedies discussed in Bush

is available. For less severe personnel actions such as a ter-

mination of a probationary promotion, Congress has

determined that review by the Special Counsel and in cer-

tain cases by the Board sufficiently deters constitutionally

impermissible personnel decisions while maintaining

morale and efficiency. Bush has stated that Congress is in

the better position to decide whether a damage remedy is

appropriate. Congress has decided that it is not, and |

agree with the Fourth Circuit that Congress’ decision

precludes a Bivens remedy here. See Pinar, 747 F.2d at 911

and n.9. See also Crumpler v. Etter, 579 F. Supp. 391, 392

(E.D.N.C. 1983); Watson v. United States, 576 F. Supp.

580, 585-86 (N.D. Ill. 1983); Francisco v. Schmidt, 575 F.

Supp. 1200, 1202-03 (E.D. Wis. 1983).

This is not a case in which Congress has expressly de-

cided to provide no remedy at all or where Congress has

failed to consider the need to remedy constitutionally pro-

scribed conflict in the context of federal employment. The

majority seems to view this case as a “no remedy” case or

at least a “meaningless remedy” case, basing its conclusion

on the fact that Kotarski cannot force the Special Counsel

to take action or to bring the matter to the attention of the

22a

Board, that he cannot seek judicial review or that he can-

not participate directly in the investigation.? I find no sup-

port in Bush or Bivens for any of these requirements. The

majority concedes that the Congressionally-supplied

remedy need not be coterminous with a Bivens remedy,

and with that much I agree. I agree with Pinar, however,

that the procedures provided for the loss of a temporary

promotion are constitutionally adequate.

Congress has made a considered judgment that the

remedies provided for the loss of a temporary promotion

are sufficient to protect the rights of federal employees

while maintaining the appropriate levels of efficiency and

morale in both the supervisors and the supervised. The

Supreme Court has decided that Congress is in the best

position to make this decision and that, when it has done

so, the courts should not interfere with the balance Con-

gress has struck. The majority may wish that Congress had

done so, the courts should not interefere with the balance

Congress has struck. The majority may wish that Congress

had done more —but that is not enough.

I dissent.

* Of course, the employee does participate to the extent that he pro-

vides the Special Counsel with the facts underlying his claim and to the

extent he is required to respond to the Special Counsel’s inquiries.

23a

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

Civil No. 82-1636-E(M)

FRANK K. KOTARSKI, PLAINTIFF,

v;

V.L. COOPER, ET AL., DEFENDANTS.

[FILED FEB. 8, 1984]

[ENTERED FEB. 9, 1984]

MEMORANDUM DECISION

BACKGROUND

Plaintiff brings this lawsuit to challenge his demotion

from a probationary position as a supervisory employee

for the United States Civil Service to his original civil

service position as a ca’ \lian engineer. Plaintiff was a

GS-12 civilian engineer at the Naval Air Rework Facility

on North Island, located off the coast of San Diego,

California. He was subsequently promoted to a GM-13

position as a supervisory employee. This appointment was

clearly probationary and contingent upon the successful

conduct of plaintiff in that position. During his

probationary period, plaintiff’s supervisors, defendants in

the present case, made a determination that his perform-

ance as a supervisor had been unsatisfactory. Plaintiff was

accordingly returned to his original engineering position.

Plaintiff alleges that this demotion violates his

constitutional rights as guaranteed by the first, fifth and

24a

ninth amendments of the United States Constitution.

Jurisdiction of the court is predicated upon the court’s

general federal question jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1331 (Supp. V 1981). Specifically, plaintiff is alleging a

Bivens-type cause of action arising directly under the Con-

stitution. See Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents of

the Federal Bureau of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388 (1971).

Plaintiff contends that he was demoted from the super-

visory position as a result of his involvement in a fellow

employee’s complaint to the Equal Employment Oppor-

tunity Commission alleging racial discrimination. Plaintiff

also theorizes that he may have been demoted because he

and his girlfriend shared living accommodations but were

unmarried.

On April 19, 1983, plaintiff filed another complaint

which was also assigned to this court. Korarski v. Lehman,

Civil No. 83-0187-E. In that complaint, plaintiff alleges

that the above-described demotion was in violation of his

civil rights as protected by 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-16. Only the

earlier Bivens case is presently before this court on mo-

tions. In that Bivens case, defendants move the court to

dismiss the complaint with prejudice or, in the alternative,

for summary judgment.

HOLDING

Upon due consideration of the parties’ memoranda and

exhibits, the arguments advanced at the hearing, and for

the reasons set forth herein, the court grants defendants’

motion to dismiss with prejudice.

DISCUSSION

Plaintitt’s Bivens claim fails on two counts. First, plain-

tiff has filed suit and may have a remedy under Title VII

of the Civil Rights Act; the availability of this alternative

remedy precludes plaintiff's Bivens claim directly under

the Constitution.

25a

Section 2000e-16, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-16 (Supp. V 1981),

was added to Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42

U.S.C. §§ 2000e et seg. (Supp. V 1981), by the Equal Op-

portunity Act of 1972, which made available to federal

employees remedies for employment discrimination that

were previously limited to employees of private employers.

Section 2000e-16 prohibits the federal government from

discriminating against its employees on the basis of race,

color, religion, sex or national origin.

In Brown v. General Services Administration, 425 U.S.

820 (1976), the Supreme Court determined that Title VII

provides the exclusive avenue of relief for federal

employees to obtain redress for employment discrimina-

tion. See also White v. General Services Administration,

652 F.2d 913 (9th Cir. 1981); Scott v. Perry, 569 F.2d 1064

(9th Cir. 1978). The Supreme Court in Brown, however,

did not precisely delineate the scope of its exclusivity

holding and the circuits have differed in their analysis of

the continued availability to federal employees of causes

of action under Sections 1981, 1983 and 1985 of the Civil

Rights Acts, 42 U.S.C. §§ 1981, 1983, 1985 (1976, Supp.

IV 1980 & Supp. V 1981), and under a Bivens theory.

Compare Newbold v. United States Postal Service, 614

F.2d 46, 74 (Sth Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 878

(1980) and Scott v. Perry, supra, and Gissen v. Tackman,

537 F.2d 784, 786-87 (3d Cir. 1976) (en banc), with Penn

v. Schlesinger, 490 F.2d 700 (Sth Cir. 1973), rev'd on other

grounds, 497 F.2d 970 (Sth Cir. 1974) (en banc), cert.

denied, 426 U.S. 934 (1976), and Brosnahan vy. Eckerd,

435 F. Supp. 26, 28 (D.D.C. 1977), and Neely v. Biumen-

thal, 458 F. Supp. 945, 955 (D.D.C. 1978). The Ninth Cir-

cuit has joined the circuits which hold that Section

2000e-16, as interpreted by the Supreme Court in Brown,

is the exclusive federal employment discrimination

remedy. White v. General Services Administration, 652

F.2d 913 at 916; Scott v. Perry, supra, 569 F.2d at 1065.

26a

And, while the Ninth Circuit has not specifically addressed

the effect of the exclusivity holding on the availability of a

Bivens remedy, it has implied that the Bivens remedy is not

available to federal employees by rejecting the rationale

underlying the decisions which support the continued

availability of Bivens.

In Neely v. Blumenthal, supra, 458 F. Supp. at 955, the

district court held that, despite Brown, a cause of action

could still be stated for employment discrimination against

a federal employee by a government official acting in his

individual capacity under the Bivens rationale. The court

relied on the fact that in Brown tne Supreme Court did not

address the liability of government officials acting as in-

dividuals, but instead dealt with the liability of the federal

government as an entity. Thus, the court held that an ac-

tion could be brought for an alleged first amendment

violation against federal officials as individuals based on

Bivens.

The Ninth Circuit, in White v. General Services Ad-

ministration, supra, 652 F.2d at 916, rejects the rationale

of Neely. In its opinion, the court states: “White asserts,

however, that the holding in Brown is limited to actions

against the United States and does not extend to actions

against federal officials acting in their individual

capacities. We disagree.” /d. Further, and more import-

antly, the court went on to hold that a Bivens remedy

would not be implied where relief under Title VII was

available. /d. at 917.

In sum, in the Ninth Circuit, a federal employee cannot

State a claim based on Bivens where relief under Title VII

by way of Section 2000e-16 is available. Plaintiff in the in-

Stant case has filed a suit based on Section 2000e-16;

hence, he must succeed or fail based on that cause of

action.

In addition, plaintiff's Bivens remedy fails under the ra-

tionale of Bush v. Lucas, U.S. .., 163 §. Cr. 208

27a

(1983). In that case the Supreme Court addressed the

availability of a Bivens remedy in light of the federal

employee’s administrative remedies within the civil service

system. The Court noted that there are two situations in

which the implication of a Bivens remedy is inappropriate.

The first is when Congress has, expressly or impliedly, in-

dicated that the Court’s power should not be exercised in

favor of creating a new remedy. The second is when there

are present “special factors counselling hesitation” against

implying the new remedy. One such “special factor,” the

Bush Court concluded, is the presence of a comprehensive

federal regulatory scheme set forth by Congress. The

Court concluded that the civil service administrative ap-

peals process, which allowed an employee to obtain review

for an alleged retaliatory demotion, was such a scheme;

hence, the Court declined to imply a Bivens remedy allow-

ing the aggrieved employee to sue directly under the Con-

stitution.

The ruling in Bush precludes the implication of a Bivens

remedy in the present case. In Bush, the Court indicated

that where a federal personnel decision is at issue, the

presence of the comprehensive civil service scheme pre-

cludes the grant of Bivens relief. The Court emphasized

that the important interest it was protecting in the Bush

decision was “federal personnel policy.” 103 S. Ct. at

2412.

Plaintiff contends that because he was a probationary

employee and thus lacked the full panoply of administra-

tive remedies available to an ordinary civil service

employee, the Bush case does not control. This is not per-

suasive. The Bush Court made clear that the administra-

tive remedy need not provide complete relief:

The question is not what remedy the court should

provide for a wrong that would otherwise go unre-

dressed. It is whether an elaborate remedial system

that has been constructed step by step with careful

28a

attention to conflicting policy considerations, should

be augmented by the creation of a new judicial

remedy for the constitutional violation at issue. That

question obviously cannot be answered simply by

noting that existing remedies do not provide complete

relief for the plaintiff. The policy judgment should be

informed by a thorough understanding of the existing

regulatory structure and the respective costs and

benefits that would result from the addition of

another remedy for violations of employees’ First

Amendment rights.

The costs associated with the review of disciplinary

decisions are already significant—not only in mone-

lary terms, but also in the time and energy of

managerial personnel who must defend their decisions.

Id. at 2416-17. Plaintiff has obtained the administrative

review provided to probationary employees’ with

grievances of the type plaintiff raises. The report of the

Merit Systems Protection Board issued after review of

plaintiff's case concluded that there was no wrongdoing by

defendants. In providing probationary employees with

fewer avenues of review for challenging federal personnel

decisions, Congress made a reasoned choice that personnel

decisions as to probationary employees should be gov-

erned by tewer impediments to managerial discretion. This

court declines to interfere with that determination.

In sum, given the availability of alternative relief for

plaintiff by way of his suit under Title VII and the poten-

tial for interference with federal personnel policy, de-

fendants’ motion to dismiss plaintiff's Bivens claim is

granted.

DATED: February 7, 1984.

/S/ WILLIAM B. ENRIGHT

William B. Enright, Judge

United States District Court

Couples to:

Plaintift

Detendants

29a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

Civil No. 82-1636-E(M)

FRANK K. KOTARSKI, PLAINTIFF,

V.

V. L. COOPER, ET AL., DEFENDANTS.

(FILED FEB. 8, 1984]

[ENTERED FEB. 9, 1984]

ORDER

Pursuant to this court’s Memorandum Decision dated

February 7, 1984, the court hereby grants defendants’

motion to dismiss with prejudice.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED: February 7, 1984.

/s/ WiLtiAM B. ENRIGHT

William B. Enright, Judge

United States District Court

Copies (0:

Plaintutft

Defendants

30a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 84-5673

DC No. 82-1636

FRANK K. KOTARSKI, PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT.,

V.

V. L. Cooper, A.E. NAVARRO, W.J. TINSTON,

J.H. KIRKPATRICK, NAVAL AIR REWORK FACILITY,

Capt. P.A. MONROE, IN HIS OFFICIAL CAPACITY,

DEFENDANTS-APPELLEES.

[Filed and Entered September 16, 1986]

APPEAL trom the United States District Court for the

Southern District of California.

THIS CAUSE came on to be heard on the Transcript of

the Record from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of California and was duly submitted.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here

ordered and adjudged by this Court, that the judgment of

the said District Court in this Cause be, and hereby is

reversed & remanded.

A TRUE COPY

ATTEST 27, Jan 1987

Cathy A Catterson

by:/s/_ Ernesto M. Cruz

Ernesto M. Cruz

Deputy Clerk

3la

APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

CA No. 84-5673

FRANK K. KOTARSKI, PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT,

Vv,

V. L. COOPER, ET AL., DEFENDANTS-APPELLEES

[FILED JAN 13, 1987]

ORDER

BEFORE: NELSON, CANBY AND HALL, Circuit

Judges.

[he panel has voted unanimously to deny the petition

for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc.

lhe full court has been advised of the suggestion for

rehearing en banc and no judge of the court has requested

a vole to rehear the matter en banc.

[he petition for rehearing is hereby denied and the

suggested for rehearing en banc is rejected.

32a

APPENDIX E

STATUTES INVOLVED

CHAPTER 23— MERIT SYSTEM PRINCIPLES

§ 2302. Prohibited personnel practices

(a)(1) For the purpose of this title, “prohibited person-

nel practice” means any action described in subsection (b)

of this section.

(2) kor the purpose of this section —

(A) “personnel action” means —

(1) an appointment;

(11) a promotion;

(ili) an action under chapter 75 of this title or

other disciplinary or corrective action;

(iv) a detail, transfer, or reassignment;

(Vv) a reinstatement;

(vi) a restoration;

(vil) a reemployment;

(vill) a performance evalution under chapter

43 of this title;

(ix) a decision concerning pay, benefits, or

awards, concerning education or training if the

education or training may reasonably be ex-

pected to lead to an appointment, promotion,

performance evaluation, or other action de-

scribed in this subparagraph; and

(x) any other significant change in duties or

responsibilities which is inconsistent with the

employee's salary or grade level;

with respect to an employee in, or applicant for, a covered

position in an agency;

(B) “covered position” means any position in the

compelilive service, a career appointee position in the

Senior Executive Service, or a position in the excepted

service, but does not include —

33a

(i) a position which is excepted from the com-

petitive service because of its confidential,

policy-determining, policy-making, or policy-

advocating character; or

(ii) any position excluded from the coverage of

this section by the President based on a deter-

mination by the President that it is necessary and

warranted by conditions of good administration.

* - * a *

CHAPTER 43 —PERFORMANCE APPRAISAL

SUBCHAPTER I—GENERAL PROVISIONS

§ 4301. Definitions

For the purpose of this subchapter —

* * * * *

(2) “employee” means an individual employed in or

under an agency, but does not include —

(A) an employee outside the United States who is

paid in accordance with local native prevailing wage

rates for the area in which employed;

(B) an individual in the Foreign Service of the

United States;

(C) a physician, dentist, nurse, or other employee

in the Department of Medicine and Surgery,

Veterans’ Administration whose pay is fixed under

chapter 73 of ttle 38;

(D) an administrative law judge appointed under

section 3105 of this title;

(E) an individual in the Senior Executive Service;

(F) an individual appointed by the President; or

(G) an individual occupying a position not in the

competitive service excluded from coverage of this

subchapter by regulations of the Office of Personnel

Management; and

34a

(3) “unacceptable performance” means performance of

an employee which fails to meet established performance

standards in one or more critical elements of such

employee’s position.

§ 4303. Actions based on unacceptable performance

(a) Subject to the provisions of this section, an agency

may reduce in grade or remove an employee for unaccept-

able performance.

(b)(1) An employee whose reduction in grade or removal

is proposed under this section is entitled to—

(A) 30 days’ advance written notice of the proposed

action which identifies —

(i) specific instances of unacceptable perform-

ance by the employee on which the proposed ac-

tion is based; and

(ii) the critical elements of the employee’s posi-

tion involved in each instance of unacceptable

performance;

(B) be represented by an attorney or other represen-

tative;

(C) a reasonable time to answer orally and in

writing; and

(D) a written decision which —

(i) in the case of a reduction in grade or

removal under this section, specifies the instance

of unacceptable performance by the employee on

which the reduction in grade or removal is based,

and

(11) unless proposed by the head of the agency,

has been concurred in by an employee who is ina

higher position than the employee who proposed

the action.

(2) An agency may, under regulations prescribed by the

head of such agency, extend the notice period under

subsection (b)(1)(A) of this section for not more than 30

35a

days. An agency may extend the notice period for more

than 30 days only in accordance with regulations issued by

the Office of Personnel Management.

(c) The decision to retain, reduce in grade, or remove an

employee —

(1) shall be made within 30 days after the date of

expiration of the notice period, and

(2) in the case of a reduction in grade or removal,

may be based only on those instances of unacceptable

performance by the employee —

(A) which occurred during the l-year period

ending on the date of the notice under subsection

(b)(1)(A) of this section in connection with the

decision; and

(B) for which the notice and other re-

quirements of this section are complied with.

(d) If, because of performance improvement by the

employee during the notice period, the employee is not

reduced in grade or removed, and the employee’s perform-

ance continues to be acceptable for 1 year from the date of

the advance written notice provided under subsection

(b)(1)(A) of this section, any entry or other notation of the

unacceptable performance for which the action was pro-

posed under this section shall be removed from any agency

record relating to the employee.

(e) Any employee who is preference eligible or is in the

competitive service and who has been reduced in grade or

removed under this section is entitled to appeal the action

to the Merit Systems Protection Board under section 7701

of this title.

(f) This section does not apply to—

(1) the reduction to the grade previously held of a

supervisor or manager who has not completed the

probationary period under section 3321(a)(2) of this

litle,

36a

(2) the reduction in grade or removal of an

employee in the competitive service who is serving a

probationary or trial period under an initial appoint-

ment or who has not completed | year of current con-

tinuous employment under other than a temporary

appointment limited to 1 year or less, or

(3) the reduction in grade or removal of an

employee in the excepted service who has not com-

pleted 1 year of current continuous employment in

the same or similar positions.

* x * x *

CHAPTER 75— ADVERSE ACTIONS

SUBCHAPTER I—SUSPENSION FOR 14

DAYS OR LESS

S$ 7501. Definitions

For the purpose of this subchapter —

(1) “employee” means an individual in the com-

petitive service who is not serving a probationary or

trial period under an initial appointment or who has

completed | year of current continuous employment

in the same or similar positions under other than a

temporary appointment limited to 1 year or lessf{.]

$ 7502. Actions covered

This subchapter applies to a suspension for 14 days or

less, but does not apply to a suspension under section 7521

or 7532 of this title or any action initiated under section

1206 of this ttle.

§ 7503. Cause and procedure

(a) Under regulations prescribed by the Office of Per-

sonnel Management, an employee may be suspended for

14 days OF less for such cause a> WILL prowess

cy of the service (including discourteous conduct tO the

public confirmed by an immediate supervisor's report of

four such instances within any one-year period or any

other pattern of discourteous conduct).

(b) An employee against whom a suspension for 14 days

or less 1S proposed is entitled to —

(1) an advance written notice stating, the specific

reasons for the proposed action,

(2) a reasonable time tO answer orally and in

writing and to furnish affidavits and other documen-

tary evidence in support of the answet;

(3) be represented by an attorney OF other represen:

(4) a written decision and the specific reasons

therefor al the earliest practicable date.

(c) Copies of the notice of proposed action, the answet

of the employee if written, 4 summary thereof if made

orally, the notice of decision and reasons therefor, and

any order effecting [sic] the suspension, together with any

supporting material, shall be maintained by the agency

and shall be furnished to the Merit Systems Protection

Board upon its request and to the employee affected upon

the employee's request.

SUBCHAPTER il _REMOV AL, SUSPENSION FOR MORE

THAN 14 DAYS, REDUCTION IN GRADE OR PAY, OR

PURLOUGH FOR 30 pays OR LESS

§ 7511. Definitions, application

(a) For the purpose of this subchapter —

(1) “employee” means —

(A) an individual in the competitive service

who is not serving 4 probationary or trial period

under an initial appointment or who has com-

38a

pleted | year of current continuous employment

under other than a temporary appointment

limited to 1 year or less; and

(B) a preference eligible in an Executive agency

in the excepted service, and a preference eligible

in the United States Postal Service or the Postal

Rate Commission, who has completed | year of

current continuous service in the same or similar

positions;

* * *

(b) This subchapter does not apply to an employee —

(1) whose appointment is made by and with the ad-

vice and consent of the Senate;

(2) whose position has been determined to be of a

confidential, policy-determining, policy-making or

policy-advocating character by —

(A) the Office of Personnel Management for a

position that it has excepted from the com-

petitive service; or

(B) the President or the head of an agency for

a position which is excepted from the competitive

service by statute.

(c) The Office may provide for the application of this

subchapter to any position or group of positions excepted

from the competitive service by regulation of the Office.

§ 7512 Actions covered

This subchapter applies to—

(1) a removal;

(2) a suspension for more than 14 days;

(3) a reduction in grade;

(4) a reduction in pay; and

(5) a furlough of 30 days or less;

but does not apply to—

39a

(A) a suspension or removal under section 7532 of this

title,

(B) a reduction-in-force action under section 3502 of

this title,

(C) the reduction in grade of a supervisor or manager

who has not completed the probationary period under sec-

tion 3321{a)(2) of this title if such reduction is to the grade

held immediately before becoming such a supervisor or

manager,

(D) a reduction in grade or removal under section 4303

of this title, or

(E) an action initiated under section 1206 or 7521 of this

title.

§ 7513. Cause and procedure

(a) Under regulations prescribed by the Office of Per-

sonnel Management, an agency may take an action

covered by this subchapter against an employee only for

such cause as will promote the efficiency of the service.

(b) An employee against whom an action is proposed is

entitled to—

(1) at least 30 days’ advance written notice, unless

there is reasonable cause to believe the employee has

committed a crime for which a sentence of imprison-

ment may be imposed, stating the specific reasons for

the proposed action;

(2) a reasonable time, but not less than 7 days, to

answer orally and in writing and to furnish affidavits

and other documentary evidence in support of the

answer;

(3) be represented by an attorney or other repre-

sentative; and

(4) a written decision and the specific reasons

therefor at the earliest practicable daie.

40a

(c) An agency may provide, by regulation, for a hearing

which may be in lieu of or in addition to the opportunity

to answer provided under subsection (b)(2) of this section.

(d) An employee against whom an action is taken under

this section is entitled to appeal to the Merit Systems Pro-

tection Board under section 7701 of this title.

(e) Copies of the notice of proposed action, the answer

of the employee when written, a summary thereof when

made orally, the notice of decision and reasons therefor,

and any order effecting an action covered by this sub-

chapter,

CHAPTER 77—APPEALS

§ 7701. Appellate procedures

(a) An employee, or applicant for employment, may

submit an appeal to the Merit Systems Protection Board

from any action which is appealable to the Board under

any law, rule, or regulation. * * *

* * * * *

§ 7703. Judicial review of decisions of the Merit Systems Protection

Board

(a)(1) Any employee or applicant for employment

adversely affected or aggrieved by a final order or decision

of the Merit Systems Protection Board may obtain judicial

review of the order or decision.

(b)(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this

subsection, a petition to review a final order or final deci-

sion of the Board shall be filed in the United States Court

of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. * * *

US GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE: 1987— 181-483/403

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.