Jurisdictional Statement — Humphrey v. Committee on Professional Ethics & Conduct of the Iowa State Bar Ass'n
Supreme Court brief1986
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
ie cher gr ae EVES ASE ee foe ee ae
85- “1943
No. 85-
"pupreme Court ofthe Hated States
OcTOBER TERM, 1985.
Marx A. HuMPBREY AND FRepp J. HAAS,
d/b/a HumpuHrey & Haas,
Appellants,
v.
COMMITTZE ON PROFESSIONAL’ETHICS AND CONDUCT -
OF THE Iowa STATE BAR ASSOCIATION,
Appellee.
ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF IOWA
JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT
MaRK W. BENNETT CHARLES A.
BamicH, BENNETT & _ Davp H.
NICKERSON Covineton & BURLING
5835 Grand Ave. 1201 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
Suite 202 P.O. Box 7566
Des Moines, lowa 50312 . Washington, D.C. 20044
Cuaries S. Sas | (202) 662-6000
UNtoN FOUNDATION
132 West 43d St.
New York, N.Y. 10036
Counsel for Appellants
February 11, 1986 *Counsel of Record
| GURaT ONS PRESENTED
1. Do the standards lished by this Court under the
First Amendment Tegulating lawyer advertising apply
to advertising on ion? :
2. Are Iowa’s rules banning “dramatic” voices and
“self-laudatory” statements in lawyer advertising imper-
missibly vague, on their face or as applied?
(i)
TABLE OF CONTENTS
UNSC MEY EAI a soc Sere ect eesccaees
ens nce an oe cos $084 44.000 oko o>
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND |
RUE UNVOLVED . cise itis ieee. ee.
2. The Complaint and Answer PE JEED. CSTW
3. The Evidentiary Hearing ..................
4. The lowa Court’s Initial Decision ...........
5. The Iowa Court’s Decision on Remand ......
THE QUESTIONS ARE SUBSTANTIAL .......
A. The Ban on Dramatization Violates
the First Amendment on Its Face
NN ie as. sac ae
B. The Ads Here Were Not Potentially
Misleading “In the Medium
Defendants Chose” .....................-.
C. The Ban on “Dramatic” Voices and
“Self-Laudatory” Statements also Violates
the First Amendment ..:..................
SRA oss on ss os ACRES HiT
(Appendices Are Separately Bound)
(iii)
14
18
20
21
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES: Page
Bates v. State Bar, 433 U.S. 350 (1977) ...... passim
_ Capital Broadcasting Co. v. Mitciell,
333 F. Supp. 582 (D.D.C. 1971) (3-judge
court), aff'd mem., 405 U.S. 1000 (1972) LS 18
FCC v. Pacifica Foundation, — ,
fee ee ee 17
FTC v. Colgate-Palmolive Co., |
380 U.S. 374 (1965) ..............500ee 16
In re Primus, 436 U.S. 412 (1978) .......... 14, 16
In re R.M.J., 455 U.S. 191 (1982) .......... 14
Linmark Associates, Inc. v. Township of
Willingboro, 431 U.S. 85 (1977) ......... 15
Ohralik v. Ohio State Bar Ass'n,
436 U.S. 447 (1978) .. 0.2.0... cece eee 14
Thomas v. Collins, 323 U.S. 516 (1945) ..... 16
Zauderer v. Office of Disciplinary Counsel,
BOS S. CK ZR Ceee oS eves ccc ccc cecee's passim
CONSTITUTIONAL AND
STATUTORY PROVISIONS:
FE ee Se ree _ passim
U.S. Const., Amend. XIV,§ 1 ............ passim
p FES Foe ce er rr ere 1
Pe re EE ais dco v cv cccscccerss'’s 1
Ala. Temp. DR 2-102(B) ................. 15
Alaska DR 2-101(D) ..........-.-..eeeee- 15
PTR te Beek cee ccc deeece 15
ec ececeneaeveeuese 15
i EE occ cc sec eveccwesevertes 15
CU EE IEEE 5 oc ce ccccccdccscecns 15
BO Ws FUE ov ik oes cece ccesccceseses 15
ROM Sie PUNE bcc icccccccceccucisens 15
(iv)
pe x Wie ae Ser Pal RI EE BS
Fla. DR 2-101(D) ...........0.0......00048.
Ga. R. 4-102, Stand. 7(B) ....:...........
-Hawaii DR 2-i01(D) ....................
i Me MI a ooo vine s ope csc vive ccwenn
st aa eens
Kan. DR 2-101(B) .......................
Ky. SCR 3.135(6)(a)fii) ..................
Me. R. 3.9(d) ..
Minn. R. 7.2(b)
eer ere eve eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeene
Miss. DR Z-IOUG) 0.5. oc eee cece ccs
Mo. R. 7.2(b) Basa CUE Ke wb ewe os Fees See ees
oe ee ee ee eee
Neb. DR 2-101(B) ... 2.0.0.0... ceceeee eee
Nev. R. 164(3) .
N.H. R. 7.2(b)
N.J. RPC 7.2(a)
eeervoeaoeeascevneec eee eeceeeeeveseeane
eeeeveseeevee ee eevee eeeeeer
N.M. DR 2-101(D) ... 0... 2. eee
N.Y. DR. 2-101(F) ........ Week aVU Sieve
N.C. R. 2.2(B)
eeee sie eceeeeeeesteoeeeese eee
N.D. DR2-101(D) ........ swil lactaee.
Ohio RDIGHD) .. «8... cece... :
Okin: DA2-100@) <<... 5... e. checks
Or. DR 2-101(C)
eeseseeveeveeseeeeeveevee eee ees
S.C. DR 2-101(D)(1)_ ... 2. eee
PRE IIIOID s oie oko cbc ccccccccccece
Tenn. DR2-101)(F) .....................
TOR EO ne ow vec cc cu ecccne
Utah DR 2-101(A)(2). ............00000....
Vt. DR 2-101(B)
Va. DR 2-101{B)
MERE ws sn tawaces steers
COOSA @ ee gegeeéeeé Ge 0-6 © 408 0 6
bef OS ae
fh St ee ee
WW FO Be NID gic go ok cc cnc couccce,.
=
MISCELLANEOUS: ©
ABA Model Code of Professional
Responsibility ©
TD so a A pene
DR2-101(D) ...... pode ¥itiav ees
ABA Model Rules of Professional
Access to Legal Services: The Case
for Removing Restrictions on
- Truthful Advertising (Nov. 1984) ........
TvB News, Sept. 27. 1985 .........050055:
13
° IN THE
Supe cint let 06 the Bertted States
OcrToser TERM, 1985
No. 85-
Mark A. HUMPHREY AND FREDD J. HAAS,
d/b/a Humpurey & Haas,
Appellants,
v.
COMMITTEE ON PROFESSIONAL ETHICS AND CONDUCT
OF THE IOWA STATE Bar ASSOCIATION,
Appellee.
ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF IOWA
JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT
OPINIONS BELOW
The Iowa Supreme Court’s initial opinion in this case
(App. la-248) is reported at 355 N.W.2d 565. Its opinion
_ on remand from this Court (App. 25a-55a) is reported at ‘
377 N.W.2d 643. :
JURISDICTION |
_ The'judgment of the lowa Supreme Court, embodied in
~ its opinion (App. 25a), was issued on November 13, 1985.
_ A notice.of appeal to.this Court (App. 56a) was timely fil- |
ed on November 20, 1985. This Court’s jurisdiction is in- ee
voked under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(2). Insofar as any of the !
questions presented may properly be here on certiorari
rather than appeal, this Court’s jurisdiction is invoked oo |
’ under 28-U.S.C. § 1257(3). — ; |
2
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS |
AND RULES INVOLVED
U.S. Const., Amend. I:
“Congress shall make no law . . . abridging the
freedom of speech, or of the press... .”
U.S. Const., Amend. XIV, § 1:
“tNJor shall any State deprive any person of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law.”
DR 2-101 of the Iowa Code of Professional Respon-
sibility for Lawyers is set forth in Appendix D (App.
58a-65a).
STATEMENT
This case involves the scope of a state’s power under the
First Amendment to restrict lawyer advertising on televi-
sion. The controversy centers on DR 2-101(B) of the Iowa
Code of Professional Responsibility for Lawyers, which
permits lawyers advertising on television to display only
what may appear in a printed advertisement; the only
sound allowed is the “nondramatic” voice of an announcer
reading the message that is displayed. Other than in il-
lustrations or photographs, no one may appear on screen.
The lawyer himself may not address his audience.'
! DR 2-101(B) currently provides that information allowed in print
advertisements may be communicated by radio or television,
“articulated only by a single nondramatic voice, not that of
the lawyer, and with no other background sound. . . . In
the case of television, no visual display shall be allowed ex-
cept that allowed in print as articulated by the announcer.”
(App. 59a.) )
Prior to amendments to the rules issued by the lowa Supreme Court
on November 8, 1985, lawyers were forbidden to use illustrations or
pictures in print advertising, and could display “words and numbers
only” in television advertising. Under the rules as amended, it appears
that lawyers advertising on television may display illustration and
3
The Iowa Supreme Court in September 1984 enjs.ned
the appellants from airing advertisements that contravene
DR 2-101, and sustained the rule against First and Four-
teenth Amendment challenge. This Court in June 1985
vacated the Iowa court’s judgment (105 S. Ct. 2693) and
remanded the cause for further consideration in light of
Zauderer v. Office of Disciplinary Counsel, No. 83-2166
(May 28, 1985). On remand, the Iowa court in November
1985 reaffirmed its initial decision, “find{ing] nothing in
the Zauderer holding at variance with our prior decision.”
(App. 26a.)
1. The Advertisements
Over a three-day period in early September 1982, the
law firm of Humphrey, Haas & Gritzner aired three adver-
tisements over WHO-TV in Des Moines, Iowa. The first
ad featured an actor and actress portraying a physician
and a nurse in an examination room. While the nurse
looked at an X ray, the doctor addressed the viewer:
“We see first-hand injuries caused by the neglect
of others. If you’re seriously injured through the
negligence of others, you should be talking to a.
lawyer. The choice of a lawyer could be impor-
tant. That’s something to think about.”
The second ad featured an actor portraying a printer.
Standing in front of a printing press, he addressed the
viewer:
“I suffered ioss of wages, incurred staggering
medical bills and endured pain and suffering al!
through the negligence of others. I wasn’t aware
of my legal rights. I should have been talking to a
lawyer.”
A
pictures; but the use of live action and background sound — the crux of
the controversy in this case — remains forbidden.
4
The third featured two actors portraying bowling part-
ners. The following conversation took place at the lanes:
“Bowler #1:
Bowler #2:
Bowler #1:
Bowler #2:
Bowler #1:
I’ve got to throw like that today,
we’re one man short.
He was injured through the negli-
gence of others.
He should be talking to a lawyer.
The choice of that lawyer will be
important.
That’s something to think about.”
After the dramatization, the scene in each ad shifted to
the reception area of a law office, with an actress portray-
ing a receptionist. As the name, address, and phone num-
ber of the firm were superimposed on this picture, an off-
camera announcer said:
“If you’re injured through the negligence of
others, call the law firm of Humphrey, Haas &
Gritzner. Cases involving auto accidents, work
comp, serious personal injuries and wrongful
death handled on a percentage basis. No charge
for the initial consultation. Call now at 288-
0102.”
2. The Complaint and Answer
The three ads were scheduled to run four days a week
for 47 weeks. (Tr. 25.)? After three days on the air, how-
ever, they were discontinued by the station at the request
of the Committee on Professional Ethics and Conduct of
the Iowa State Bar Association. (Tr. 29.) The Committee
then brought an original action in the Iowa Supreme
Court against Humphrey, Haas & Gritzner, alleging that
2 “Tr.” refers to the transcript of the evidentiary hearing ordered by
the lowa Supreme Court in this case. See pp. 6-8, below.
5
their ads violated DR 2-101 of the lowa Code of Profes-
sional Responsibility for Lawyers because they
“contain more than a single nondramatic voice,
have background sound and visual displays of
two or more people characterizing themselves as
clients which make laudatory comments as to
Defendants’ services.” Petition 4 7 (App. 72a).3
The Committee asked that the lowa Supreme Court per-
manently enjoin the lawyers from airing the ads in ques-
tion or any other ads that violate the Code (App. 73a-74a);
meanwhile, it initiated a disciplinary investigation of
Humphrey and Haas, which has been stayed pending dis-
position of this action.4 On September 14, 1982, the lowa
Supreme Court, on the Committee’s ex parte application,
enjoined Humphrey and Haas from airing their ads pend-
ing further proceedings. (App. 81a-82a.)
Humphrey and Haas did not dispute that their ads
used more than a single voice and contained background
sound and visual displays. But, seeking both to defend
against the requested injunction and to invalidate the rule
on its face, they urged that DR 2-101’s restrictions of law-
yer advertising violate the First and Fourteenth Amend-
ments, both facially and as applied; and they urged that
3In addition to DR 2-101(B)’s ban on dramatization (App. 59a),
DR 2-101(A) prohibits “self-laudatory” statements in lawyer advertis-
ing (App. 58a). The Committee alleged that the ads also violated DR
2-105 (App. 65a-70a), which, at the time, allowed lawyers advertising
in print to list not more than three fields of practice and required that
such listings be accompanied by a disclaimer of expertise. Petition ¢ 8
(App. 72a). Because of subsequent amendments to the rules, the Iowa
court’s judgment on remand does not present any question under DR
2-105.
4 Committee on Professional Ethics and Conduct, /n re Humphrey,
Haas & Gritzner, File No. 8283-53 (notice of complaint issued
September 16, 1982). After the Committee commenced its action,
Gritzner withdrew from the firm and was dismissed as a defendant.
i ian eam ecm Ei
6
the rule’s ban on the use of “dramatic” voices and “self-
laudatory” statements is impermissibly vague. (App.
76a-80a.)
3. The Evidentiary Hearing
Two weeks after the lowa Supreme Court entered its in-
junction, it appointed a commissioner to conduct an evi-
dentiary hearing and to prepare a written summary of the
evidence. (App. 83a.) Following discovery, the hearing
was held, and the commissioner’s summary was filed with
the court on November 16, 1983. (App.85a.) The eviden-
tiary hearing focused entirely on the state’s justification
for DR 2-101’s prohibition of dramatization in lawyer ad-
vertising on television, and on the supposedly objection-
able characteristics of the three ads.
The Committee’s principal justification for DR 2-101’s
prohibition was that dramatization may appeal to a view-
er’s “emotions,” interfering with “rational” choice, and
that dramatization is “unnecessary” to convey pertinent in-
formation. Former Justice Robert Allbee, who was a
member of the Iowa Supreme Court when it adopted DR
2-101(B), explained that the likely viewers of such ad-
vertising “are ordinarily of a lower intellectual category
and they are less able to make an objective conclusion
from something that is passed by them in dramatic form.”
(Tr. 95.)5
$In addition to “prevent{ing] purely emotional reactions or emo-
tional impact in the selection of lawyers” (Tr. 86-87), Justice Allbee
testified that the ban was intended “to guard the public against decep-
tion either inadvertent or intended, and in turn to protect the trust and
the integrity that we want the public to have in the legal profession.
That the public not obtain the view that merchandising legal services is
like merchandising vintage wine.” (Tr. 87; see App. 89a.)
The Committee made no claim that the ads were in fact
false, deceptive, or misleading. To the contrary, Dr.
Richard Haynes, an expert retained by the Committee, tes-
tified that he saw nothing inherently misleading or decep-
tive in the use of dramatization (Tr. 210-12; see App. 91a),
and that the ads in question had not been perceived as mis-
leading or deceptive by a group of viewers paid by him to
watch them. (Tr. 210, 258; see App. 90a.) He affirmed
that dramatization is effective precisely because it “in-
volve[s] and interest[s] the viewer” (Tr. 276); indeed, he
found that 75 percent of the viewers paid to watch the ads
rated them a fair-to-excellent way of educating viewers
about their rights. (Tr. 265.)
The Committee’s counsel sought to elicit testimony that
dramatization in television advertising can generate an ex-
aggerated sense of need for a lawyer’s services, and can im-
ply distinctions between lawyers that are no more genuine
than the distinctions between name-brand and generic as-
pirin. But none of the evidence suggested that any such ef-
fects are either inherent in or peculiar to dramatized televi-
sion advertising. Nor was there any evidence that the ads
here caused such effects or that such effects, if they were
to occur, would distort consumer choice. The defense pre-
sented extensive testimony that. lawyer advertising does
not create a need for legal services and that a consumer’s
exercise of choice is inevitably more deliberate in hiring a
lawyer than in purchasing bathroom tissue. (E.g., Tr. 335,
618-19, 699.)
The Committee did not controvert the extensive defense
evidence that dramatization is critical for effective televi-
sion advertising. The evidence demonstrated, to the con-
trary, that dramatization enables advertisers to capture the
viewer’s attention (e.g., Tr. 378, 562, 686), causes the
viewer to remember the message being conveyed (e.g., Tr.
281, 379, 712), and “break[s] down the barrier that exists
between the public and lawyers” (Tr. 457). The Committee
offered no evidence to rebui the testimony of defense wit-
nesses that ads conforming to the restrictions of DR 2-101
are more likely to mislead viewers than dramatized ads
precisely because they look /ess like ads than those em-
ploying dramatization. (F.g., Tr. 688, 690-91, 754.)
Lori Andrews, research attorney for the American Bar
Foundation and former staff director of the ABA Com-
mission on Advertising, testified that more than 40 states
permit lawyer advertising on television using dramatiza-
tion, visual displays, background sounds, and the like.
(Tr. 330-31; see App. 91a.) She pointed out that DR 2-101
contains independent prohibitions against false, deceptive,
and misleading statements or claims in lawyer advertising
(Tr. 334), and she noted that the trend is simply to forbid
such statements or claims, and to permit ads of the type
aired in this case. (Tr. 332; see App. 92a.)®
® As of January 1986, five other states — Kansas, New Jersey, Ver-
mont, West Virginia, and Wyoming — had on their books television
advertising restrictions comparable to lowa’s or more severe. See Kan.
DR 2-101(B); N.J. RPC 7.2(a); Vt. DR 2-101(B) & (D); W. Va. DR
2-101(B); Wyo. DR 2-101(B). Amendments that would relax these
restr:.iions are under consideration in Kansas and West Virginia.
Rule 7.2(a) of the ABA’s Model Rules of Professional Conduct per-
mits lawyer advertising through any public media, including televi-
sion, so long as it is not false or misleading and does not involve
“solicitation.” DR 2-101(B) of the ABA’s Model Code of Professional
Responsibility also permitted lawyer advertising on television, without
special restrictions based on the lawyer’s choice of medium. The
ABA’s Comment on Madel Rule 7.2(a) states:
“Television is now one of the most powerful media for get-
ting nabs ae to the public, particularly persons of low
=e
~*~,
9
4. The Iowa Court’s Initial Decision
Notwithstanding this record — or the views of the
Federal Trade Commission, which filed an amicus brief
supporting Humphrey and Haas’ — the Iowa Supreme
Court in September 1984 sustained the restrictions sought
to be enforced by the Committee and enjoined Humphrey
and Haas from airing the ads in question. Disclaiming any
suggestion “that the advertisements here were deceitfut”
(App. Ila), the court nevertheless enjoined them from be-
ing aired on the strength of DR 2-101. It rejected Hum-
phrey and Haas’ contention that the rule’s blanket ban on
dramatization is “more extensive than necessary” to serve
any substantial state interest. “All that is prohibited,” the
Or moderate income; prohibiting television advertising,
therefore, would impede the flow of information about
legal services to many sectors of the public. Limiting the
information that may be advertised has a similar effect and
assumes that the bar can accurately forecast the kind of in-
formation that the public would regard as relevant.”
ABA’s Model Rules of Professional Conduct, reprinted in ABA/BNA
LAWYERS’ MANUAL ON PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT, p. 01:166 (1985).
” The FTC stated, among other things, that “[t]he use of dramatiza-
tions containing characterizations, visual displays and background
sound can provide a truthful, non-deceptive and effective means of
conveying important information about legal rights and the availabil-
ity and cost of legal services.” FTC amicus brief at 15 (emphasis add-
ed). In November 1984, the Staff of the FTC’s Cleveland Regional Of-
fice and the FTC’s Bureau of Economics issued a report concluding
that content-based and media-based restrictions on lawyer advertising
inhibit the extent of advertising and result in significantly higher prices
for legal services. Improving Consumer Access to Legal Services: The
Case for Removing Restrictions on Truthful Advertising 126-27 (Nov.
1984). Its recommended approach is even more tiberal than the ABA’s
Model Rule 7.2. See id. at 150-53, 156-57.
court stated, “are the tools which would manipulate the
viewer’s mind and will.” (App. 13a.)8
The court also relected Humphrey and Haas’ contention
that DR 2-101’s ban on “dramatic” voices and “self-
laudatory” statements is impermissibly vague. It did so
merely by remarking that the phrase “nondramatic voice”
is “a simple [one] which we think is commonly under-
stood” (App. 14a), and by noting that “[t]he dictionary
meaning of ‘laudatory’ is ‘expressing praise.’ ” (/d.)
Two justices dissented, finding it “undisputed that the
effect of these limitations on technique is to substantially
diminish the effectiveness of any television advertising.”
(App. 15a.) The dissenters stressed that the Committee’s
own expert had testified that dramatization is not in-
herently misleading, and that the ads in fact were not
misleading to the survey group. (App. 16a.) They disputed
the majority’s conclusion that “because television is the
medium, a mere chance of deceit is sufficient” to sustain
the restrictions at issue. (App. 17a.) They pointed out that
this Court’s statements recognizing the value of fostering
rational, intelligent, and voluntary decisionmaking were
meant “to expand the scope of lawyer advertising, not to
throttle it.” (App. 21a.)
*The court also seemed to accept the Committee’s assertion —
made for the first time in its brief but without support in the eviden-
tiary record — that, “in the medium defendants chose,” the ads could
“mislead people into believing that pursuing the listed cases is a cost-
free venture,” and might cause some viewers to infer that Humphrey
and Haas were more experienced than they in fact were. (App. 11a.)
The court did not explain how “the medium defendants chose” was
responsible for either supposed misrepresentation, or on what basis
the court accepted the Committee’s claims.
1]
5. The lowa Court’s Decision on Remand
Humphrey and Haas sought review of the lowa Supreme
Court’s September 1984 decision and on June 10, 1985,
this Court vacated the Iowa court’s judgment (105 S. Ct.
2693) and remanded the case for further consideration in
light of Zauderer v. Office of Disciplinary Counsel, 105
S. Ct. 2265 (1985).2 On remand, Humphrey and Haas
argued that the logic of this Court’s decision invalidating
Ohio’s blanket ban on illustrations in print advertising ful-
ly applied to bans on dramatization in broadcast advertis-
ing — that a generalized fear of audience “manipulation”
could no more justify “broad prophylactic rules” here than
in Zauderer and that, as there, the possibility of policing
abuses on a case-by-case basis made the prophylactic ap-
proach taken by Iowa untenable. See Zauderer, 105 S. Ct.
at 2280-81.
Nevertheless, the Iowa court reaffirmed its initial deci-
sion sustaining DR 2-101(B), “find[ing] nothing in the
Zauderer holding at variance with our prior decision.”
(App. 26a.) The Iowa court reaffirmed its view that the
‘manipulative capabilities of electronic media advertising
justified the prophylactic approach embodied in DR 2-101
(B), and ii suggested that the potential use of television for
“crass personal promotion” by lawyers eager “to improve
their image” also justified the rule’s proscriptions. (App.
31a-33a.) The only “harm” that it identified in discuss-
ing the manipulative capabilities of Humphrey and Haas’
ads, however, was the possibility that some viewers might
9 Justice Rehnquist and Justice O’Connor would have noted prob-
able jurisdiction and set the case for oral argument. 105 S. Ct. 2693.
12
be prompted to “grab the phone and make a call” without
giving the matter sufficient reflection. (App. 3la.)!°
Justice Larson, joined by Justice McCormick, again
dissented. He noted, among other things, that problems of
policing could be met “by requiring copies of a telecast or
broadcast to be kept for a specified period of time,” as
several states require, and as ABA Model Rule 7.2(b) pro-
vides (App. 48a), and he stressed the state’s lack of jus-
tification for its “outright ban” on dramatization (App.
50a). “A prophylactic rule, aimed at preventing possible
abuses in some cases by imposing a ban for all cases, has
been reiected by the Supreme Court.” (App. 49a, citing
Zauderer.)''
Although the majority went out of its way to “deny that
[its] rule amounts to a blanket ban, in the sense proscribed
by Zauderer” (App. 33a), the rule — and the court’s deci-
sion sustaining it — have effectively outlawed television
advertising by lawyers in Iowa.!?
'© The court lost only one member of its original majority, Justice
Uhlenhopp, who concluded that “the rules which defendants challenge
cannot stand” in light of Zauderer. (App. 43a.) Chief Justice
Reynoldson, coricurring specially, condemned Zauderer itself for “en-
danger[ing] the capability of the courts to identify and dislodge lawyer
print advertising that is false, deceptive, or misleading.” (App. 41a.)
Although he complained that state courts lack the resources to police
“dishonest scams” even in the print media (App. 36a), he did not ad-
dress the fact that at least 44 states permit what DR 2-101(B) forbids.
''Much of Justice Larson’s dissent attacks a provision of DR
2-101(A) deleted by the court in an order entered five days before its
opinion on remand was issued — a proviso forbidding lawyers to com-
municate any information not “specifically permitted” by rule. The
questions presented by such a restriction, which Humphrey and Haas
raised in their initial appeal in this case, are no longer live.
'2See Affidavit of Norton C. Frickey, II, ¢ 6 (App. 97a-99a),
prepared after the entry of the Iowa court’s judgment on remand. Mr.
Frickey, vice-president of the company that produced the television
13
THE QUESTIONS ARE SUBSTANTIAL
The Iowa Supreme Court has treated this case as though
all of the rules that this Court has established for lawyer
advertising in the print media are inapplicable simply be-
cause this case involves television. But television is “one of
the most powerful media for getting information to the
public” (ABA Com :nt on Model Rule 7.2(a)), and noth-
ing in this Court’s .. ses suggests that merely because this
medium is involved all First Amendment bets are off.
There may be characteristics of the electronic media that
warrant special treatment, but none of the differences be-
tween television and other media support the broad pro-
phylactic restriction upheld here. Based on nothing more
than unsubstantiated fears of audience manipulability and
concerns that the medium might be misused, lowa has
drastically and gratuitously limited the effective use of
television by lawyers. The state may not be reconciled to
the standards announced by this Court in its lawyer adver-
tising cases or in its commercial speech cases generally;
but judged by those standards, Iowa’s rule — both on its
face and as applied — is clearly unconstitutional. For this
reason, and for the other reasons discussed below, the
lowa court’s judgment cannot stand.
ads at issue in this case, polled the 14 largest television stations in lowa
this January and confirmed that there is virtually no television adver-
tising by lawyers in the state. Three of the stations that he polled
specifically cited DR 2-101(B) and the lowa Supreme Court’s decision
as the reason. Meanwhile, according to a September 1985 report by
the Television Bureau of Advertising, lawyers spent $28.2 million on
television advertising nationwide in 1984 — a 58 percent increase over
the previous year — and their spending increased by one-third in the
first half of 1985. TvB News, Sept. 27, 1985, p. 1.
14
A. The Ban on Dramatization Violates the First
Amendment on Its Face and as Applied
In sustaining DR 2-101(B)’s rétriction on lawyer adver-
tising on television to displays of what may appear in a
printed advertisement, accompanied only by an off-screen
“nondramatic” voice, the lowa court disobeyed the teach-
ings of this Court’s lawyer advertising cases, Zauderer,
supra; In re R.M.J., 455 U.S. 191 (1982); Ohralik v. Ohio
State Bar Ass’n, 436 U.S. 447 (1978); In re Primus, 436
U.S. 412 (1978); Bates v. State Bar, 433 U.S. 350 (1977).
Those cases teach that a state may impose prophylactic re-
strictions on lawyer advertising only “where the particular
advertising is inherently likely to deceive or where the
record indicates that a particular form or method of ad-
vertising has in fact been deceptive” (R.M.J., 455 U.S. at
202), and “the potential abuses . . . cannot be combatted
by any means short of a blanket ban.” Zauderer, 105 S.
Ct. at 2281. See Ohralik, 436 U.S. at 466; R.M.J., 455
U.S. at 203, 206-07.
There is no claim that the ads here were false, mislead-
ing, or deceptive. To the contrary, the Committee’s expert
witness specifically testified that the ads were not in fact
misleading or deceptive, and the Iowa Supreme Court it-
self disclaimed any suggestion “that the advertisements
here were deceitful.” (App. 1la.)'? The Committee’s ex-
pert testified, moreover, that he found nothing inherently
'3 The only actua! “harm” that the lowa court identified was the
possibility that the dramatization in Humphrey and Haas’ ads might
prompt some viewers to “grab the phone and make a call” without giv-
ing the matter due reflection. (App. 31a.) Even if this were so, it could
not justify a ban on a means of expression shown to be so critical in at-
tracting viewer attention. Viewers would not call Humphrey and Haas
“merely to ascertain if they have a clean bill of legal health.” Bares,
433 U.S. at 374.
15
misleading or deceptive in the use of dramatization, and
he conceded that dramatization is effective in television
advertising precisely because it “involve[s] and interest[s]
the viewer.” (Tr. 276.) Thus, the question presented is
whether the state may enforce a prophylactic rule to enjoin
Humphrey and Haas from airing their ads on the theory
that other dramatized television ads might be deceptive.
As Zauderer confirmed, however, the First Amendment
permits no such prophylactic rule.
The Iowa Supreme Court upheld DR 2-101(B)’s prohibi-
tion on the basis of its unsubstantiated belief that televi-
sion dramatization “manipulate[s] the viewer’s mind and
will” — despite this Court’s admonition that “commercial
speech cannot be-banned because of an unsubstantiated
belief that its impact is ‘detrimental.’ ” Linmark Asso-
ciates, Inc. v. Township of Willingboro, 431 U.S. 85, 92
n.6 (1977); Bates, 433 U.S. at 374-75. Although it hinted
that it considers the task of policing electronic media ad-
vertising unmanageable (App. 30a-3la & n.2), it offered
no “evidence or authority” for this view (Zauderer, 105 S.
Ct. at 2281); and the practice of the other states — and the
approach embodied in the ABA’s Model Rule 7.2 (b) —
belies this concern.'* In striking down Ohio’s illustration
'* At least 36 states require lawyers to retain copies of the ads they
air and some require lawyers to make these copies available to state
authorities after airing. See Ala. Temp. DR 2-102(B); Alaska DR
2-101(D); Ariz. ER 7.2(b); Ark. R. 7.2(b); Cal. R. 2-101(E); Colo. DR
2-101(D); Del. R. 7.1(c)(3); D.C. DR 2-101(D); Fla. DR 2-101(D): Ga.
R. 4-102, Stand. 7(B); Hawaii DR 2-10i(D); Ill. R. 2-101(e); Ind. DR
2-101(E); Ky. SCR 3.135(6)(a)(ii); Me. R. 3.9(d); Minn. R. 7.2(b);
Miss. DR 2-101(D); Mo. R. 7.2(b); Mont. R. 7.2(b); Neb. DR
2-101(B); Nev. R. 164(3); N.H. R. 7.2(b); N.M. DR 2-101(1); N.Y.
DR 2-101(F); N.C. R. 2.2(B); N.D. DR 2-101(D); Ohio DR 2-101(D);
Okla. DR 2-102(B); Ore. DR 2-101(C); S.C. DR 2-101(D)(1); S.D. DR
2-101(D); Tenn. DR 2-101(F); Tex. DR 2-101(E); Utah DR
2-101(A)(2); Va. DR 2-101(B); Wash. RPC 7.2(b). See also ABA
Model Code DR 2-101(D).
16
ban in Zauderer, this Court in fact cited a television case
for the proposition that advertising abuses in “the visual
media” may be, and therefore must be, policed on a case-
by-case basis. 105 S. Ct. at 2281 (citing FTC v. Colgate-
Palmolive Co., 380 U.S. 374 (1965)).'°
The lowa court may have upheld DR 2-101(B) on the
supposition that the likely viewers of lawyer advertising on
television “are ordinarily of a lower intellectual category
and [thus] less able to make an objective conclusion from
something that is passed by them in dramatic form.” (See
p. 6, above.) But this Court has squarely rejected re-
strictions premised on the assumption “that the public is
not sophisticated enough to realize the limitations of ad-
vertising.” Bates, supra, 433 U.S. at 374-75. It has refused
to restrict lawyer advertising when the restriction “rests on
an underestimation of the public.” Jd. “If the naivete of
the public will cause advertising by attorneys to be
misleading, then it is the bar’s role to assure that the popu-
lace is sufficiently informed as to enable it to place adver-
tising in its proper perspective.” Jd. at 375. -
Nor is there any foundation in the First Amendment for
justifying DR 2-101(B)’s ban on the ground that dramati-
zation appeals to the “emotions” rather than “reason.” !6
1S The lowa court’s concern that dramatization may facilitate “crass
personal promotion” by lawyers (App. 32a-33a) is likewise insufficient
to sustain DR 2-101(B)’s ban. This Court rejected a comparable
justification in Bates, 433 U.S. at 368-72, and in any case the siaitc
does not need a blanket ban on dramatization to avoid the specific
form of promotion with which the majority seemed to be concerned
— celebrity endorsements.
16 DR 2-101(A) includes a separate injunction against lawyer adver-
tisements that “appeal to the emotions” (App. 58a), whatever this
phrase may mean. Cf. Thomas v. Collins, 323 U.S. 516, 535 (1945);
Primus, 436 U.S. at 431-32. ~
17
As the evidence in this case demonstrates, drama can facil-
itate effective communication by Capturing a viewer’s
attention through a personal appeal to the viewer’s needs
— an approach that the lowa court condemned as “manip-
ulative” — while viewers may be more easily misled by
advertising that purports to be “objective” than by adver-
tising that makes no™secret of its commercial aims.
Dramatization, like the use of illustrations or pictures in
Zauderer, “serves important communicative functions: it
attracts the attention of the audience to the advertiser’s
message, and it may also serve to impart information
directly.” 105 S. Ct. at 2280. The Iowa Supreme Court
believed that DR 2-101(B) draws a permissible line “be-
tween what informs the public and what promotes the law-
yer” (App. 12a), but as Justice Larson observed in dissent,
the rule is in fact “a prescription for dullness” — one that
“substantially diminish[es] the effectiveness of any televi-
sion advertising” (App. 15a).
The Iowa court, both in its initial decision (App. 9a-
10a), and in its decision on remand (App. 29a-30a), in-
voked this Court’s admonition that “the special problems
of advertising on the electronic broadcast media will war-
rant special consideration.” Bates, 433 U.S. at 384. See
also Zauderer, 105 S. Ct. at 2294 n.1 (O’Connor, J.).
Reliance on this admonition was misplaced here. Al-
though the broadcast media undoubtedly have “estab-
lished a uniquely pervasive presence” in our lives, FCC v.
Pacifica Foundation, 438 U.S. 726, 748 (1978), this alone
cannot justify special restrictions on otherwise, protected
commercial speech. This is not a case in which a restriction
on advertising in the electronic media can be justified by
the government’s interest in protecting innocent young
minds (compare Pacifica), or on the ground that the prod-
uct being advertised is itself reputedly harmful (compare
18
Capital Broadcasting Co. v. Mitchell, 333 F. Supp. 582
(D.D.C. 1971) (3-judge court), affd mem., 405 U.S. 1000
(1972)). Whatever the Iowa court may believe about the
manipulative capabilities of television advertising, there is
simply no support in the extensive record in this case — in
fact, the Committee’s own evidence is to the contrary —
that the use of dramatization in television advertising by
lawyers is inherently misleading or deceptive so as to jus-
tify a complete prophylactic proscription.
B. The Ads Here Were Not Potentially Misleading
“In the Medium Defendants Chose”
Humphrey and Haas also seek review of the Iowa
court’s conclusion that, “in the medium defendants chose,”
their ads were potentially misleading with respect to cost
and quality of service. (App. 11a.) First, the court offered
no support (and the record contained none) for its conclu-
sion that the ads could well “mislead people into believing
that pursuing the listed cases is a cost-free venture” (App.
10a-11a); nor did the court supply any explanation for its
view that television was responsible for this supposed
deception.'’ Second, nothing in the ads overstated Hum-
phrey and Haas’ qualifications in the fields of practice
they listed; at most, the ads implied that they were
'7We do not question Iowa’s power to require appropriate
disclosures where, as here, lawyers offer to handle cases on a “percent-
age basis.” See Zauderer, 105 S. Ct. at 2282. But as Justice Larson
noted in his initial dissent (App. 19a), no such disclosures are required
under Iowa’s rules. The rules, as they stood when Humphrey and
Haas aired their ads, required only that lawyers offering to handle
cases on a “contingent-fee” basis indicate whether fees are computed
“before or after deduction of costs,” and Humphrey and Haas were
not charged with violating the rule requiring such a disclosure. The
Iowa court subsequently added a more elaborate disclosure require-
ment (App. 61a), which is not at issue here.
19
qualified to practice in those fields, and, as the dissent
stated, “there is no evidence, nor even a claim, that they
were in fact not qualified.” (App. 20a.)'*§ Offering no
discussion, the majority merely said it thought viewers
might think Humphrey and Haas more able than they are
(App. lla); but this Court in Zauderer confirmed that a
state may not “prevent an attorney from making accurate
statements of fact regarding the nature of his practice
merely because it is possible that some readers will infer
that he has expertise in those areas.” 105 S. Ct. at 2276
n.9.
Wholly apart from the First Amendment obstacles to
the lowa court’s conclusion that the ads were potentially
misleading with respect to cost or quality of service, it
plainly violated due process for the court to enjoin Hum-
phrey and Haas from running their ads on this ground —
or for its findings in this respect here to support possible
future disciplinary action against Humphrey and Haas.
The Committee’s complaint did not allege that the ads
were misleading in any respect, and it presented no evi-
dence on these matters at the hearing before the commis-
sioner. It first raised these claims in its brief to the Iowa
court, obviously groping for some solid basis for the relief .
it had requested. Although a majority of this Court re-
jected a due process attack on similar maneuvering by
state authorities in Zauderer (105 S. Ct. at 2283-84), the
issue should be reconsidered here. It is intolerably per-
'§ Humphrey, a 1979 Drake Law School graduate, had been editor-
in-chief of the law review and had clerked for a federal magistrate dur-
ing law schoo!. Haas, also a 1979 Drake Law School graduate, was
also on the law review and served as student bar president. As of the
summer of 1983, the two lawyers (who had formed their firm in
November 1980) had handled or were handling over 150 personal in-
jury cases, in addition to their worker’s compensation cases.
\
\
20
nicious for state authorities, unable to muster proof of
their charges in evidentiary hearings, to be permitted at the
briefing stage to urge remedial action on entirely new
grounds. See id. at 2292-93 (Brennan, J., joined by Mar-
shall, J., dissenting in part).
C. The Ban on “Dramatic” Voices and “Self-
Laudatory” Statements Also Violates The First
Amendment
The Iowa court sustained DR 2-101(A)’s ban on
“dramatic” voices without analysis; to it, the meaning of
the term is “commonly understood,” and therefore DR 2-
101(A)’s ban could not be condemned as vague. Humphrey
and Haas submit that the court was wrong. A ban on the
use of “dramatic” voices is inherently vague, for there is no
voice that cannot be considered “dramatic,” and no prin-
cipled basis for distinguishing between the voice that is
“dramatic” and a voice that is not. Indeed, by prohibiting
a lawyer from speaking in his own television ads, the rule
requires a lawyer to employ an actor if he desires to have
his message heard; and it is hard to imagine how an actor’s
voice could be regarded as anything other than “dra-
matic.”
No test of intonation or other criterion is provided by
the rule for determining when a voice is “dramatic,” and
the rule’s prescription is thus a recipe for arbitrary and
discriminatory treatment of lawyers who advertise on tele-
vision. This case is a perfect illustration. There was no
shouting in the ads in question; there were no histrionics.
The ads involved actors playing everyday people, speaking
in everyday language about everyday needs, in perfectly
measured tones. If there was anything “dramatic” about
their voices, neither the Committee nor the lowa Supreme
Court explained what it was.
ea”
21
Nor could Humphrey and Haas ever have suspected that
the ads would be deemed “self-laudatory.” Their ads made
no claim as to the quality of their services, did not recite
their credentials (although the rules permit credentials to
be listed), and did not claim or suggest that the firm would
render better service than other firms. If these ads were
“self-laudatory,” then all ads are “self-laudatory,” and the
ban on “self-laudatory” statements amounts to a ban on
all ads. Applied to enjoin these ads on the ground that
they contain “self-laudatory” statements in violation of
DR 2-101(A), the rule is impermissibly vague — equivalent
to the blanket advertising prohibitions held impermissible
by Bates and its progeny.
CONCLUSION
Probable jurisdiction should be noted and the case set
for briefing and argument.
Respectfully submitted, -
MarK W. BENNETT CHARLES A. Horsky*
BABICH, BENNETT & Davip H. REMES
NICKERSON COVINGTON & BURLING
5835 Grand Ave. 1201 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
Suite 202 P.O. Box 7566
Des Moines, lowa 50312 Washington, D.C. 20044
CHARLES S. SIMS (202) 662-6000
AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES
UNION FOUNDATION
132 West 43d St.
New York, N.Y. 10036
Counsel for Appellants
February 11, 1986 *Counsel of Record
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.