Jurisdictional Statement — Cincinnati Bell Telephone Co. v. Public Utilities Commission

Supreme Court brief1986

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ee

8 4 -6 28 Office Supreme eourt, US,

FILED

No. OCT, 16 ive

ALEXANDER L. STEVAS,

in the Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1984

CINCINNATI BELL TELEPHONE COMPANY,

Appellant,

VS.

THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF OHIO,

Appellee.

On APPEAL FROM

THE SUPREME CouRT OF OHIO

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

DonaLtp McG. Rose

2500 Central Trust Center

201 East Fifth Street

Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

(513) 651-6800

Counsel of Record for Appellant

Cincinnati Bell Telephone

Company

Of Counsel:

WILLIAM D. BASKETT, III

Mark H. LONGENECKER, JR.

Davin C. Horn

Gary A. GARFIELD

Frost & JACOBS

2500 Central Trust Center

201 East Fifth Street

Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

(513) 651-6800

THE GATES LEGAL PUBLISHING CO., CLEVELAND, OHIO—TEL. (216) 621-5647

a

4

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

This appeal is from a decision of the Supreme Court

of Ohio in which an order of The Public Utilities Com-

mission of Ohio was upheld in the face of a conflicting or-

der of the Federal Communications Commission. The de-

cision of the Supreme Court of Ohio presents two questions

for this Court’s review:

1. Whether Article III, the Full Faith and Credit

Clause (Art. IV, § 1), and the Suprernacy Clause (Art. VI,

para. 2) of the Constitution of the United States, the full

faith and credit statute (28 U.S.C. § 1738) and general

principles cf federal common law require that the Su-

preme Court of Ohio give res judicata effect to a decision

of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Cir-

cuit which involved the same parties and upheld the

validity and preemptive effect of the order of the Federal

Communications Commission.

2. Whether the Supreme Court of Ohio is required to

give effect to the order of the Federal Communications

Commission by reason of the Supremacy Clause (Article

VI, para. 2) of the Constitution of the United States and

28 U.S.C. section 2342(1) and 47 U.S.C. section 402(a)

which reserve to the United States Court of Appeals ex-

clusive jurisdiction to determine the validity of the order

of the Federal Communications Commission.

II

PARTIES BELOW

The parties below were Cincinnati Bell Telephone

Company, appellant, The Public Utilities Commission of

Ohio, appellee, and the Office of the Consumers’ Counsel,

intervenor-appellee. The Ohio Telephone Association filed

a brief as amicus curiae.

CORPORATE AFFILIATIONS

Cincinnati Bell Telephone Company is a wholly-owned

subsidiary of Cincinnati Bell Inc. American Telephone

and Telegraph Company owns 16.1 percent of the outstand-

ing common shares of Cincinnati Bell Inc.

Cincinnati Bell Enterprises Inc. is a wholly-owned sub-

sidiary of Cincinnati Bell Inc. Cincinnati Bell Supply Com-

pany, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Cincinnati Bell Enter-

prises Inc., is a 49 percent partner in a joint venture with

Anixter Bros., Inc. Cincinnati Beil Cellular Systems

Company, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Cincinnati Bell

Enterprises Inc., is a 46 percent partner in a joint venture

with American Information Technologies Corporation.

Cincinnati Bell Inc., American Telephone and Tele-

graph Company, Anixter Bros., Inc. and American Infor-

mation Technologies Corporation are publicly held cor-

porations.

III

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ELE TET I

a cieavonuendianinenvandlniioenntantes II

ecco la iaconenictiniensntient II

Neen ne a nis cccemppsianwvedioetacesenesedinminie III

eT DE pete tot V

cl actcsicen ciembstebeddavabiareciescvedinuss 1

Cee co cee Uncaeietenvisennduvannnnnmiones 1

A. The nature of the proceeding ...........................- 1

B. The judgment below and the notice of appeal 2

C. Jurisdiction is conferred by 28 U.S.C. section

I ca <caciageieabiditaoneeusersubitinessoniniines 3

Constitutional Provisions, Statutes ard Rules ................ 6

I I ac ceenduhenets snceseeeeedpowsnorseoeemmenrene: g

a cues oommtacwesesmubochcumene’ 9

B. Raising the questions 'velow .................22.......---- 14

The Questions Are Substantial 220000... eee 18

A. The Supreme Court of Ohio was required to

give res judicata effect to the judgment of

RI SI cacrirecsunceesomievoneonrenbanbenpiedvecte 19

B. The Supreme Court of Ohio was required to

give effect to the FCC’s Preemption Order .... 23

Neen nen censure sneieecsiduiunicbe nee 26

IV

Appendix (Printed under separate cover):

Opinion of the Supreme Court of Ohio (July 25,

RI assis cegerciacenescanmetorcpdetuedeesieiie centr hineiteerinsliniiiress Al

Entry on Rehearing of The Public Utilities Com-

mission of Ohio (“PUCO Order’) (March 9,

NN nee Ata RPS Rea alee ora “ServivorD Warr rrp A25

Opinion and Order of The Public Utilities Com-

mission of Ohio (“Initial Order”) (January 7,

SUE csseserieen A ecieniietnchindeitentcasieniaccisdiesinanina A36

Decision of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Fourth Circuit in Virginia State Corpora-

tion Commission v. FCC, et al., 737 F.2d 388

(4th Cir. 1984) (Motion for Rehearing En Banc

| SEN EES Es PPP LONE Seo wae Stine CVE eee A131

Memorandum Opinion and Order of the Federal

Communications Commission (“Preemption

Order’), 48 Fed. Reg. 2324 (January 18, 1983) ...A158

Judgment Entry of the Supreme Court of Ohio (July

Rs IN cate cnsestretieiesiciscaioonuntioenmceaepsesaaecsinondbceana A187

Notice of Appeal to the Supreme Court of the

United States (July 25, 1983) .........................-.. A188

Segments of Cincinnati Bell Telephone Company’s

Brief in the Supreme Court of Ohio (May 16,

DE iccwsirrsictntsicbhensseeeaaeslipssastaipiantnciiaeiantan papain A191

Segments of Cincinnati Bell Telephone Company’s

Reply Brief in the Supreme Court of Ohio (Sep-

Se i e Gcecits de qatenentscinticeren irene A200

Letter from Mark H. Longenecker, Jr. to James

Kelly, Clerk of the Supreme Court of Ohio ........ A204

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Company v.

Public Utilities Commission of California, 346 U.S.

SOR, DER CHD cerinccicencaneniniaaetaneas +

Crescent City Live-Stock Co. v. Butchers’ Union, 120

Weds WO CED sicccsetcteiciccecnscicenaaenee 20

Deposit Bank of Frankfort v. Board of Councilmen of

Frankfort, 191 U.S. 499 (1903) ........2......0.....cccccccs00- 19, 20

Des Moines Navigation & Railroad Company v. Iowa

Homestead Company, 123 1J.S. 552 (1887) ................ 15, 20

Dupasseur v. Rochereau, 88 U.S. (21 Wall.) 130

OUD seccsciercscecoveapananieddenemcndsnctuhetelinaneiauberniiee eae 19, 20, 21

East Ohio Gas Co. v. Cleveland, 106 Ohio St. 489,

BOD Fee Ge CRE, ctctirerctnccmaammnananaed 4

Efros v. Nationwide Corp., 12 Ohio St. 3d 191, 193, 465

DEBE SI, TOG COED eiccecctvckce cielo 20

Embry v. Palmer, 107 U.S. 3 (1883) .......................... 19, 20, 21

Ex Parte Williams, 277 U.S. 267 (1928) ....000000..- +

Federal Communications Commission v. ITT World

Communications, Inc., ........ co) 2 , we eS.

WE CEG vicsenssncensictnssectcntequsdcssneasmapanaiaamanamanans 23, 24

Gelston v. Hoyt, 16 U.S. (3 Wheat.) 246 (1818) ........ 20, 23

Goodson v. McDonough Power Equipment, Inc., 2 Ohio

St. 3d 193, 443 N.E.2d 978 (1983) 00000. 21

Jamison v. Texas, 318 U.S. 413, 417 (1943) 00. 4

John P. King Manufacturing Co. v. City Council of

Ammcete,, BET UTE. BD CUI) cxsvicneniecensccvcesceciscsitinetinnneaions 4

Lake Erie & Western Railroad Co. v. State Public

Utilities Commission, 249 U.S. 422 (1919) 000... 4

VI

Live Oak Water Users’ Association v. Railroad Com-

mission, 269 U.S. 354, 356 (1926) .......................----202-- +

Marine Engineers Beneficial Association v. Interlake

Steamship Company, 370 U.S. 173 (1962) -............... 25

M’Cormick v. Sullivant, 23 U.S. (10 Wheat.) 192 (1825) 20

Metcalf v. Watertown, 153 U.S. 671, 676-77 (1894) ...... 21

Mondou v. New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad

Cg Bae We 3 CRED Fister cee a 25

Myers v. International Trust Company, 263 U.S. 64, 69

CID kccctstciccivsstinstihierdineatciiegemidine aad enaae 19, 20

Newark Natural Gas & Fuel Co. v. Newt ’k, 92 Ohio St.

393, 399, 111 N.E. 150, 151 (1915), aff’d, 242 USS.

SD CEI niieesiccessinnssintianssreiguaanasaadaaemmigaiuan Maibapiasie 4

Ohio Bell Telephone Company v. Public Utilities Com-

mission of Ohio, 301 U.S. 292 (1937) .....................- 4

Parklane Hosiery Company, Inc. v. Shore, 439 U.S. 322

CFD ancessensevnsarnctuiies nivinsitivenstelinnageei atic aniline 21

Port of Boston Marine Terminal Association v.

Rederiaktiebolaget Transatlantic, 400 U.S. 62 (1970)

oienannensincdcimnnnnieiaiiitssinosiitagainpiitadide cpidemmeaatmaimnd 23

Seaboard Air Line Railroad Company v. Daniel, 333

U.S. 118 (1948) -........... ae sssiaieaicegnipiaime: we

Southwestern Bell Telephone Company v. Arkansas

Public Service Commission, No. LRC 84-247 (E.D.

Ark. March 30, 1984), rev’d, 738 F.2d 901 (8th Cir.

1984), petition for cert. filed ..............0....21.-+-- 12, 17, 22, 23

Southwestern Bell Telephone Company v. Arkansas

Public Service Commission, 738 F.2d 901 (8th Cir.

1984), petition for cert. filed 00.2... 12-13, 23

Stoll v. Gottlieb, 305 U.S. 165, 167 (1938) ................ 19, 20, 21

Sultan Railway Timber Company v. Department of

Labor and Industries, 277 U.S. 135 (1928) —............. 4

VII

Tacoma v. Taxpayers of Tacoma, 357 U.S. 320 (1958) 23

Testa v. Katt, 330 U.S. TOG (1047) nance cccccecessvecesceee 25

Trautwein v. Sorgenfrei, 58 Ohio St. 2d 493, 391 N.E.2d

EID. shccnnssikunincannipintsnsnsiessbacrniniblisihlvssaicapsglaliimiladaaeas 21

Virginia-Carolina Chemical Company v. Kirven, 215

Ss Sig eT GI incccteccscissedaDacaenepssveeaeilsacanicdaaeseass 19, 20

Virginia State Corporation Commission v. Federal

Communications Commission, 737 F.2d 388 (4th

Cir. June 18, 1984) (Motion for Rehearing En Banc

CID avr renciccinicstairecesctintiipuscoioacaa nana 2,9, 10,13

West Side Belt Railroad Co. v. Pittsburgh Censtruc-

tion Company, 219 U.S. 92, 99 (1911) 000... 19, 20

Constitutional Provisions

Ve fe 2S Se ee LF eee 6, 21

We Se Oe OB icctdcctetmicdaeencncnne 7, 20, 21

is eS eee eee 7, 16, 21, 24

Statutes

2B UE IE BITE). iii es 3, 4, 5, 7, 26

RL = eee Le me 3, 4, 7, 26

Be Wi I I ekkietetcarstecicenetceane 8,21

28 US.C. section 2342(1) ...................... RO NOW 1, 8, 16, 23, 24

aT USC. weeties GOR) nonce 1-2, 8-9, 16, 23, 24

Ohio Revised Code section 4903.13, para. 1 _.................. 9,25

Other Authorities

18 C. WricHT, A. MILLER AND E. COOPER, FEDERAL PRAC-

TICE AND PROCEDURE: JURISDICTION § 1468 ............ 20, 21

Degnan, Federalized Res Judicata, 85 YALE L.J. 741

ERIE > einsabicx i cscaphetanaineehitaicaecialecigeaneihienmadiaiaaaiimmnieiealtenis 20

THE FEDERALIST No. 80 (A. Hamilton) (E. Scott ed.

EIEN... «sccccmneneithaoaatiab lenin momaaibcipedcitiadtncidiainsaateemaannaian 21

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Ohie affirming

The Public Utilities Commission of Ohio’s Entry on Re-

hearing is reported at 12 Ohio St. 3d 280, 466 N.E.2d 848

(1984). A copy of this opinion appears in the appendix

at pages Al through A25.

The Entry on Rehearing of The Public Utilities Com-

mission of Ohio (the “PUCO Order”) in which it refused to

obey a Federal Communicaticns Commission order pre-

empting inconsistent state depreciation policies and rates

is unreported. A copy of the PUCO Order appears in

the appendix at pages A25 through A35.

The Opinion and Order of The Public Utilities Com-

mission of Ohio in which it acknowledged that it was

obliged to obey the Federal Communications Commission

Preemption Order is unreported. A copy of this order

appears in the appendix at pages A36 through A130.

This Opinion and Order was reversed by the PUCO Order,

supra.

JURISDICTION

A. The nature of the proceeding.

This dispute arises from the refusal of The Public

Utilities Commission of Ohio (the “PUCO”) to obey an

order (the “Preemption Order’) of the Federal Com-

munications Commission (“FCC”) which held that federal

law preempts the states froin prescribing a methcd of

calculating depreciation of telecommunications equipment

that is contrary to the method prescribed by the FCC. The

validity of the Preemption Ordcr was appealed to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, the

only court with jurisdiction to determine the validity of

that order as provided by 28 U.S.C. section 2342(1) and

47 U.S.C. section 402(a). The Fourth Circuit upheld the

as |

2

validity of the Preemption Order. Virginia State Cor-

poration Commission v. Federal Communications Commis-

sion, 737 F.2d 388 (4th Cir. 1984), (Motion for Rehearing

En Banc denied.)

Cincinnati Bell Telephone Company (“Cincinnati

Bell”) appealed to the Supreme Court of Ohio the validity

of the PUCO Order in which the PUCO refused to obey

the Preemption Order. Despite the prior judgment of the

Fourth Circuit and despite the fact that all parties in the

Ohio Supreme Court were also parties to the appeal in

the Fourth Circuit, the Ohio Supreme Court upheld the

PUCO Order. In so doing, the Ohio Supreme Court re-

fused to apply federal law—that is, the Preemption Order

and the statutory grant of exclusive jurisdiction in the

Court of Appeals to review FCC orders.

On July 25, 1984, the same day that the Ohio Supreme

Court issued its decision, Cincinnati Bell filed a notice

of appeal to this Court and moved the Ohio Supreme Court

for a stay of its judgment. The Ohio Supreme Court

ultimately denied that motion. On August 2, 1984, acting

on an application filed by Cincinnati Bell, Chief Justice

Warren E. Burger granted a stay of the judgment below

pending receipt of memoranda from the PUCO and the

Office of the Consumers’ Council (the “OCC”) opposing

the stay. On August 21, 1984, after receipt of such memo-

randa and a reply memorandum filed by Cincinnati Bell,

Chief Justice Burger issued an order narrowing the scc»e

of the stay to the depreciation issue, and continuing tle

stay pending final disposition of the appeal to this Court.

eR ORI

B. The judgment below and the notice of appeal.

The judgment of the Ohio Supreme Court affirming

the PUCO Order was entered on July 25, 1984. A copy of

3

the judgment is included in the appendix at page A187.

Cincinnati Bell filed a notice of appeal to this Court with

the Clerk of the Supreme Court of Ohio on July 25, 1984.

A copy of the notice of appeal is included in the appendix

at pages A188 through A190. In accordance with Rule

12 of this Court, the appeal is being docketed within 90

days from the date of entry of the judgment of the Su-

preme Court of Ohio.

C. Jurisdiction is conferred by 28 U.S.C. section

1257(1) and (2).

Cincinnati Bell invokes this Court’s jurisdiction under

28 U.S.C. section 1257(1) and (2). Section 1257 provides

for an appeal to this Court under certain circumstances

from the decision of the highest court of a state. The Ohio

Supreme Court is the highest court in the State of Ohio.

The Ohio Supreme Court upheld the PUCO Order

in the face of Cincinnati Bell’s argument that it is re-

pugnant to the Constitution and laws of the United States.

Subsection (2) of section 1257 provides for an appeal to this

Court when the validity of a “state statute” is questioned

as being repugnant to the Constitution, treaties or laws

of the United States and is upheld by the highest court

in the state. Cincinnati Bell appealed the PUCO Order to

the Ohio Supreme Court on the basis that it is repugnant

to the Supremacy Clause of the Constitution of the United

States, the Preemption Order and 47 U.S.C. section 220 of

the Communications Act of 1934. Thus the validity of the

PUCO order was questioned as being repugnant to federal

law. See the opinion of the Supreme Court of Ohio at page

A7 and portions of Cincinnati Bell’s briefs below included

in the appendix at pages A191-A203.

4

The PUCO Order is a “state statute” for purposes of

28 U.S.C. section 1257{2) from which an appeal to this

Court may be taken. Ohio Bell Telephone Company v.

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio, 301 U.S. 292 (1937).

In that case, the Court permitted an appeal under section

237 of the Judicial Code, a predecessor to 28 U.S.C. section

1257, from a ratemaking and refund order of the PUCO

that had been affirmed by the Ohio Supreme Court.

Further, on numerous other occasions this Court has

interpreted the term “state statute” as used in section

1257(2) to include administrative orders of a legislative

nature. See, e.g., Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway

Company v. Public Utilities Commission of California, 346

U.S. 346, 348 (1953); Jamison v. Texas, 318 U.S. 413, 417

(1943); John P. King Manufacturing Co. v. City Council of

Augusta, 277 U.S. 100 (1928); Ex Parte Williams, 277 U.S.

267 (1928); Sultan Railway Timber Company v. Depart-

ment of Labor and Industries, 277 U.S. 135 (1928); Live

Oak Water Users’ Association v. Railroad Commission, 269

U.S. 354, 356 (1926); Lake Erie & Western Railroad Co. v.

State Public Utilities Commission, 249 U.S. 422 (1919).

The Ohio Supreme Court long ago concluded that in Ohio

ratemaking is legislative in nature. Newark Natural Gas

& Fuel Co. v. Newark, 92 Ohio St. 393, 399, 111 N.E. 150,

151 (1915), aff’d, 242 U.S. 405 (1917). See also East Ohio

Gas Co. v. Cleveland, 106 Ohio St. 489, 140 N.E. 416

(1922). Accordingly, the PUCO Order below is a “state

statute” for purposes of section 1257(2) and that section

confers jurisdiction on this Court to hear Cincinnati Bell’s

appeal.

When the Ohio Supreme Court found the FCC’s Pre-

emption Order ultra vires it necessarily was holding it

to be invalid. Accordingly, jurisdiction is also conferred

on this Court by subsection (1) of section 1257 which

5)

provides for an appeal to this Court where the validity

of a “statute of the United States” is placed in question

and the highest court in the state decides against its

validity. The term “statute of the United States’ in-

cludes an administrative order of a legislative nature.

Seaboard Air Line Railroad Company v. Daniel, 333 US.

118 (1948). The Preemption Order is legislative in

nature.’ Cincinnati Bell appealed to the Ohio Supreme

Court on the basis that the PUCO Order had been pre-

empted by the Preemption Order. See the opinion

of the Supreme Court of Ohio at page A7 and portions of

Cincinnati Bell’s briefs below included in the appendix

at pages A191-A203. The PUCO and the OCC argued that

the FCC lacked authority to issue the Preemption Order and

that therefore the Preemption Order was void. The Ohio

Supreme Court agreed with the PUCO and OCC and

held that the Preemption Order was ultra vires. See pages

A7-A9. Because the validity of the Preemption Order was

placed directly in question and the Supreme Court of

Ohio ruled against its validity, an appeal is also proper

under section 1257(1).

1. The Preemption Order consisted of two parts: consid-

eration of a petition filed by American Telephone and Telegraph

(“AT&T”) and of a petition for declaratory judgment filed by

General Telephone Company of Ohio (“GTE’’). Cincinnati Bell

maintains and argued below that the portion of the Preemption

Order pertaining to AT&T’s petition was legislative in nature but

that the portion of the Preemption Order pertaining to GTE’s

petition was adjudicative in nature. The PUCO and OCC argued

below that the entire Preemption Order was legislative in nature.

The Ohio Supreme Court specifically held that the Preemption

Order “was legislative, as opposed to adjudicative, in nature.”

See page A7.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS,

STATUTES AND RULES

Constitutional Provisions

U.S. Cons. art. III, §§ 1 and 2, para. 1:

ARTICLE III

Section 1. The judicial Power of the United

States, shall be vested in one supreme Court, and

in such inferior Courts as the Congress may from

time to time ordain and establish. The Judges, both

of the supreme and inferior Courts, shall hold their

Offices during good Behaviour, and shall, at stated

Times, receive for their Services, a Compensation,

which shall not be diminished during their Con-

tinuance in Office.

Section 2. The judicial Power shall extend to all

Cases, in Law and Equity, arising under this Con-

stitution, the Laws of the United States, and Treaties

made, or which shall be made, under their Authority;

—to all Cases affecting Ambassadors, other public

Ministers and Consuls;—to all Cases of admiralty and

maritime Jurisdiction;—to Controversies to which the

United States shall be a Party;—to Controversies be-

tween two or more States;—between a State and Citi-

zens of another State;—between Citizens of different

States;—between Citizens of the same State claiming

Lands under Grants of different States, and between

a State, or the Citizens thereof, and foreign States,

Citizens or Subjects.

7

U.S. Cons. art. IV, § 1:

ARTICLE IV

Section 1. Full Faith and Credit shall be given

in each State to the public Acts, Records, and judicial

Proceedings of every other State. And the Congress

may by general Laws prescribe the Manner in which

such Acts, Records and Proceedings shall be proved,

and the Effect thereof.

U.S. Cons. art. VI, para. 2:

ARTICLE VI

a « oa * e

This Constitution, and the Laws of the United

States which shall be made in Pursuance thereof; and

all Treaties made, or which shall be made, under the

Authority of the United States, shall be the supreme

Law of the Land, and the Judges in every State shall

be bound thereby, any Thing in the Constitution or

Laws of any State to the Contrary notwithstanding.

Statutes

28 U.S.C. section 1257( 1) and (2):

Final judgments or decrees rendered by the high-

est court of a State in which a decision could be had,

may be reviewed by the Supreme Court as follows:

(1) By appeal, where is drawn in question the

validity of a treaty or statute of the United States

and the decision is against its validity.

(2) By appeal, where is drawn in question the

validity of a statute of any state on the ground of its

being repugnant to the Constitution, treaties or laws

of the United States, and the decision is in favor of its

validity.

28 U.S.C. section 1738:

The Acts of the legislature of any State, Territory,

or Possession of the United States, or ccpies thereof,

shall be authenticated by affixing the seal of such

State, Territory or Possession thereto.

The records and judicial proceedings of any court

of any such State, Territory or Possession, or copies

thereof, shall be proved or admitted in other courts

within the United States and its Territories and Pos-

sessions by the attestation of the clerk and seal of the

court annexed, if a seal exists, together with a cer-

tificate of a judge of the court that the said attesta-

tion is in proper form.

Such Acts, records and judicial proceedings or

copies thereof, so authenticated, shall have the same

full faith and credit in every court within the United

States and its Territories and Possessions as they have

by law or usage in the courts of such State, Territory

or Possession from which they are taken. June 25,

1948, c. 646, 62 Stat. 947.

28 U.S.C. section 2342 (1):

The court of appeals has exclusive jurisdiction to

enjoin, set aside, suspend (in whole or in part), or to

determine the validity of—

(1) all final orders of the Federal Communi-

cations Commission made reviewable by section

402 (a) of title 47.

47 U.S.C. section 402(a):

(a) Procedure

Any proceeding to enjoin, set aside, annul, or

suspend any order of the Commission under this chap-

9

ter (except those appealable under subsection (b) of

this section) shall be brought as provided by and in

the manner prescribed in chapter 158 of Title 28.

Ohio Revised Code section 4903.13, para. 1:

A final order made by the public utilities com-

mission shall be reversed, vacated, or modified by the

supreme court on appeal, if, upon consideration of the

record, such court is of the opinion that such order

was unlawful or unreasonable.

STATT MENT OF THE CASE

A. The facts.

On March 1, 1982, Cincinnati Bell filed a rate case,

Case No. 81-1338-TP-AIR, with the PUCO seeking authority

to adjust its rates and charges for Ohio customers. In its

application Cincinnati Bell determined its depreciation ex-

penses utilizing the “remaining life” and “equal life group”

depreciation accrual rates that had been prescribed by the

FCC for Cincinnati Bell. See pages A74-A75.

Subsequently, by Memorandum Opinion and Order

adopted December 22, 1982, the Preemption Order, the FCC

helc that the states were preempted from prescribing

depreciation rates different from those prescribed by the

FCC for telecommunications equipment subject concur-

rently to both state and federal jurisdiction.* The Pre-

emption Order appears in the appendix at pages A158

through A186. The PUCO, the OCC and Cincinnati Bell

2. As a practical matter, most telecommunications equip-

ment is used in both intrastate and interstate communications.

Virginia State Corporation Commission v. Federal Communica-

tions Commission, 737 F.2d at 390, included in the appendix at

page A139.

10

(joining with American Telephone and Telegraph Com-

pany and the other Bell System Companies) participated in

these proceedings. The finding of the FCC was based on

its conclusion that section 220 of the Communications Act

preempts the states with respect to equipment subject

concurrently to both federal and state jurisdiction and, in

the alternative, that it was exercising its legislative au-

thority to mandate such preemption in order to avoid

frustration of federal policies.

The Preemption Order was appealed to the United

States Court of Appeais for the Fourth Circuit by the

Virginia State Corporation Commission. That case is cap-

tioned Virginia State Corporation Commission v. Federal

Communications Commission, 737 F.2d 388 (4th Cir. 1984)

(Motion for Rehearing En Banc denied). All parties

before this Court (Cincinnati Bell, the PUCO and the

OCC) intervened and became parties in the Fourth Cir-

cuit appeal of the Preemption Order. The Virginia State

Corporation Commission, along with the PUCO, the OCC

and the other intervening state regulatory agencies, argued

that the FCC lacked authority to preempt the states from

prescribing different depreciation rates and that, therefore,

the Preemption Order was not a valid order. See page

A137. On June 18, 1984, the Fourth Circuit issued a de-

cision in which it upheld the validity of the Preemption

Order. The court specifically concluded that preemption

by the FCC was a valid exercise of legislative authority.

The Fourth Circuit’s decision appears in the appendix at

pages A131 through A157.

On January 7, 1983, in compliance with the FCC’s

Preemption Order, the PUCO issued an Opinion and Order

(the “Initial Order”: in Cincinnati Bell’s rate case re-

ferred to above, Case No. 81-1338-TP-AIR, wherein the

“remaining life’ and “equal life group” depreciation ac-

crual rates prescribed for Cincinnati Bell by the FCC were

11

adopted by the PUCO. The PUCO expressly recognized

that it was compelled by principles of federal preemption

to adopt these depreciation methods. The Initial Order

appears in the appendix at pages A36 through A130.’

On February 7, 1983, the OCC filed an Application

for Rehearing with the PUCO. The PUCO granted in part

the OCC’s Application for Rehearing by entering an Entry

on Rehearing, dated March 9, 1983. Reversing its prior

decision in the Initial Order, the PUCO concluded in the

Entry on Rehearing (the “PUCO Order’’) that it was not

bound to follow the FCC’s Preemption Order and ordered

Cincinnati Beil to calculate its depreciation expenses util-

izing the “whole-life” method of calculating depreciation,

a different depreciation accrual method from that ordered

by the FCC. The PUCO also ordered Cincinnati Bell to

utilize different rates under the “equal life group” depre-

ciation method from the rates prescribed by the FCC for

Cincinnati Bell. The effect of the PUCO Order was to

place Cincinnati Bell in the position of being subject to

two binding, yet conflicting, orders respecting the method-

ology and rates it is required to use in depreciating the

same equipment—one from the FCC and one from the

PUCO. The PUCO Order appears in the appendix at

pages A25 through A35.

On March 9, 1983, Cincinnati Bell filed its appeal to

the Ohio Supreme Court. Shortly thereafter, the Ohio

Supreme Court granted a motion by Cincinnati Bell for

a stay of the PUCO Order pending that appeal. On

appeal, Cincinnati Bell argued (1) that the PUCO Order

was contrary to federal law in that it prescribed deprecia-

tion rates which had been preempted by the FCC’s Pre-

3. The Initial Order addresses numerous issues besides the

depreciation issue which are not before the Court on appeal.

The depreciation issue is discussed at pages A74-A75.

12

emption Order and by section 220 of the Communications

Act of 1934, (2) that the Ohio Supreme Court did not

have jurisdiction to review the validity of the Preemption

Order and (3) that the Ohio Supreme Court was bound to

give effect to the Preemption Order unless and until it

was reversed on appeal by the Court of Appeals of the

United States.

On July 25, 1984, one month after the Fourth Circuit

issued its decision upholding the Preemption Order, the

Ohio Supreme Court entered a judgment affirming the

PUCO Order. The opinion of the Ohio Supreme Court

appears in the appendix at pages Al-A25.* In re-

sponse to Cincinnati Bell’s argument that the Ohio Su-

preme Court was bound to give effect to the Preemption

Order by reason of its lack of jurisdiction to review that

order, the court held it was exercising jurisdiction to

review the PUCO Order, not the Preemption Order. The

sole authority cited by the Ohio Supreme Court in sup-

port of this limited view of its jurisdiction was South-

western Bell Telephone Company v. Arkansas Public Ser-

vice Commission, No. LRC 84-247 (E.D. Ark. March 30,

1984), rev’d, 738 F.2d 901 (8th Cir. 1984), petition for cert.

filed. The Ohio Supreme Court then proceeded to quote

at length the district court’s finding in Southwestern Bell

that the Preemption Order was ultra vires. The Ohio

Supreme Court concluded by stating its agreement with

the district court’s analysis and finding the PUCO Order

to be lawful. See pages A7-A9.

However, the Ohio Supreme Court failed to acknowl-

edge that the district court decision in Southwestern Beil

had been reversed by the Eighth Circuit. See South-

western Bell Telephone Company v. Arkansas Public Ser-

4. Again, this opinion addresses numerous issues other than

depreciation. The depreciation issue, the only issue appealed to

this Court, is discussed at pages A2-A9 and A20-A23,

13

vice Commission, 738 F.2d 901 (8th Cir. 1984), petition

for cert. filed. The court also ignored the res judicata®

effect of the Fourth Circuit’s prior decision upholding

the Preemption Order in Virginia State Corporation Com-

mission v. Federal Communications Commission, 737 F.2d

388 (4th Cir. 1984). Indeed, the majority per curiam

opinion did not even cite or acknowledge the Fourth Cir-

cuit decision. To summarize, the Ohio Supreme Court sim-

ply refused to apply federal decisions, federal statutes and

a federal administrative order.

In a concurring opinion, Chief Justice Celebrezze

of the Ohio Supreme Court did acknowledge that the

Fourth Circuit had upheld the Preemption Order in

Virginia State Corporation Commission. He stated that

a majority of the Ohio Supreme Court would not acknowl-

edge federal preemption of matters traditionally subject

to state regulation absent specific congressional intent or

a judicial declaration binding on the Ohio Supreme Court.

See page A20. Thus, although acknowledging that the

Fourth Circuit already had decided the very issue of pre-

emption that the Ohio Supreme Court was now deciding, a

majority of the Ohio Supreme Court concluded that the

Fourth Circuit’s decision was not entitled to res judicata

effect. He also stated that the Ohio Supreme Court did

not have jurisdiction to enforce the Preemption Order and,

that, therefore, the PUCO Order would be enforced be-

cause it conformed to Ohio law. See page A21.

Justice William B. Brown dissented, arguing that the

majority’s “callous disregard” of the decision released by

the Fourth circuit, to which the parties in this action

were parties, was ill-advised. Justice Holmes concurred in

this dissent. See pages A21-A23.

5. The term res judicata is used throughout this Statement

to include collateral estoppel.

14

The Ohio Supreme Court’s decision complicated Cin-

cinnati Bell’s already precarious position. Cincinnati Bell

was not only subject to ccnflicting state and federal ad-

ministrative orders, it now also became subject to con-

flicting state and federal court orders—those of the Ohio

Supreme Court and the Court of Appeals for the Fourth

Circuit. Accordingly, Cincinnati Bell immediately filed

a notice of appeal to this Court. A copy of the Notice of

Appeal to the Supreme Court of the United States appears

in the appendix at pages A188-A190.

B. Raising the questions below.

This appeal presents two questions for the Court’s re-

view. These questions are as follows: (1) Whether the

Ohio Supreme Court was required to give res judicata

effect to the decision of the Fourth Circuit upholding the

validity and preemptive effect of the FCC’s Preemption

Order, and (2) whether the Ohio Supreme Court was re-

quired to give effect directly to the Preemption Order.

Both questions were raised and argued below.

The first question, involving res judicata, was raised

in the Ohio Supreme Court in Cincinnati Bell’s brief on

the merits, see pages A191-A199, and in its reply brief,

see pages A200-A203. This question was initially raised

with respect to the res judicata effects of the Preemption

Order itself as an administrative decision. Specifically,

Cincinnati Bell’s first proposition of law in its brief on the

merits stated:

When the issue of federal preemption of state pre-

scribed depreciation rates has been decided adversely

to the PUCO in an administrative proceeding to which

the PUCO was a party, the PUCO is bound by prin-

ciples of res judicata to give effect to that admin-

istrative decision.

a |

15

See page Al95. The argument and authority advanced by

Cincinnati Bell in support of that proposition are set forth

in the appendix at pages A195-A199.

Cincinnati Bell also emphasized in both briefs that

the Fourth Circuit review proceeding was pending and

that the PUCO, OCC and Cincinnati Bell were parties to

that proceeding. In its reply brief Cincinnati Bell vointed

to the Fourth Circuit case and stated that the decision

cf the Fourth Circuit would be binding on the parties in

the Ohio Supreme Court. See page A203. Further, on

June 19, 1984, the day after the Fourth Circuit rendered

its decision, Cincinnati Bell sent a copy of that decision

to the Ohio Supreme Court and argued that it was “dis-

positive of the depreciation issues pending before the

[Ohio] Supreme Court.” See pages A204-A205.

The per curiam opinion of the Ohio Supreme Court

did not mention the Fourth Circuit decision nor did it ex-

plain why that decision was not being given res judicata

effect.” The majority said only that the Preemption Or-

der itself was not to be given res judicata effect because

it was legislative and not adjudicative. See pages A6-A7.

However, Chief Justice Celebrezze’s concurring opinion

specifically discussed the Fourth Circuit decision stating

that a majority of the court would not uphold the Pre-

emption Order absent specific congressional intent or a

decision of a court with authority to bind the Ohio Su-

preme Court. See page A20. It must be inferred that

a majority of the Ohio Supreme Court did not consider

the Fourth Circuit decision to be binding even though

it involved the same issue and all parties to the Ohio Su-

6. This Court has held that the lower court’s failure to rule

on an issue before it does not preclude this Court from addressing

that issue. Des Moines Navigation & Railroad Company v. Iowa

Homestead Company, 123 U.S. 552, 555-56 (1887).

16

preme Court appeal were parties to the Fourth Circuit

proceeding.

The second question presented for review by this

Court is whether, regardless of res judicata principles, the

Ohio Supreme Court is required tc give effect to the

FCC’s Preemption Order by reason of the Supremacy

Clause (Article VI, para. 2) of the Constitution of the

United States and 28 U.S.C. section 2342(1) and 47 U.S.C.

section 402 (a).

That the Ohio Supreme Court must give effect to

the order of the FCC was unequivocally raised below.

Cincinnati Bell stated in its brief on the merits that:

Even absent principles of res judicata, the Court must

find, under well established judicial standards for de-

terming the issue of federal preemption, that the FCC

has preempted the PUCO’s authority to prescribe

depreciation rates inconsistent with those prescribed

by the FCC. It has long been an established principle

of constitutional law that the Supremacy Clause (Ar-

ticle VI, clause 2) of the Constitution of the United

States mandates that federal law preempts state law

where there is a conflict between the two.

See page A199.

Cincinnati Bell also argued below that:

. neither the PUCO nor this Court has the juris-

diction to review the FCC Preemption Order and pass

upon its merits. The United States Courts of Apveals

have exclusive jurisdiction under the Communications

Act and the Administrative Orders Review Act to re-

view final orders of the FCC. Compare 47 U.S.C.

§ 40Z(a) with 28 U.S.C. § 2342; City of Peoria v. Gen-

eral Electric Cablevision Corp. (7th Cir. 1982), 690

F.2d 116. Thus, unless and until the FCC Preemption

Order is overruled by the United States Court of Ap-

bide tus mew ies.

17

peals for the Fourth Circuit, it still is a final and bind-

ing order not subject to collateral attack by the PUCO

or the OCC, either in the PUCO Rehearing Order or

in this Ccurt.... It follows that this Court should

find that the PUCO erred to the prejudice of Cincinnati

Bell in the PUCO Rehearing Order when it failed to

give effect to the FCC Preemption Order and that the

PUCO Rehearing Order thus is unlawful insofar as it

purports to prescribe depreciation accrual rates for

Cincinnati Bell which differ from those prescribed by

the FCC.

See pages A198-A199.

The Ohio Supreme Court’s response to this argument

was two-fold. First, the Ohio Supreme Court quoted

with approval the district court’s conclusion in South-

western Bell that the Preemption Order was ultra

vires. See pages A7-A9. Thus, the Ohio Supreme Court

refused to give effect to the Preemption Order for this

reason. Second, although inconsistently, the Ohio Su-

preme Court acknowledged that it lacked jurisdiction to

determine the validity of the Preemption Order. The

court specifically said it was reviewing the PUCO Order,

not the FCC order, and it then proceeded to find the

PUCO Order “reasonable and lawful’ in the face of

the conflicting Preemption Order. See page A7. Thus,

the court simply refused to give effect to the Preemption

Order. This position was articulated by Chief Justice

Celebrezze in his concurring opinion. He stated that the

Ohio Supreme Court does not have jurisdiction to give ef-

fect to the Preemption Order and that, because the PUCO

Order is in conformity with Ohio law, it is valid. See

page A21.

Thus, both questions presented for this Court’s review

were raised below and rejected by the Ohio Supreme

Court.

18

THE QUESTIONS ARE SUBSTANTIAL

This appeal presents substantial federal questions.

The first question in its most basic form is whether a state

court must give res judicata effect to the judgment of

the United States Court of Appeals involving the same

parties and issue. It is not an exaggeration to say that

this question involves principles fundamental to our system

of federalism as outlined in the Constitution.

The second question is, in its simplest form, whether a

state court is required to give effect to an FCC order by

reason of the Supremacy Clause. Congress vested the

Court of Appeals with exclusive jurisdiction to review

FCC orders; accordingly, state courts are deprived of

jurisdiction to review the validity of FCC orders. There-

fore, must not the states give effect to a final FCC order

unless and until the order is reversed by the Court of

Appeals? This question addresses the viability of the

scheme of exclusive review established by Congress. More

importantly, the Ohio Supreme Court’s open refusal to

give effect to the FCC’s Preemption Order, that is, to

apply federal law, attacks head-on the continued vitality

of federal supremacy.

While these questions are substantial and have funda-

mental implications, prior decisions of this Court demon-

strate that the Ohio Supreme Court committed gross error

in ruling upon them against Cincinnati Bell. Accord-

ingly, Cincinnati Bell respectfully submits that it is

appropriate for the Court summarily to reverse the

decision of the Ohio Supreme Court. Plenary con-

sideration of this appeal is essential only if the Court is

inclined to review the continued validity of numerous de-

cisions of this Court and the well-established principles

discussed below. If the Court is not so inclined, prior de-

19

cisions of this Court permit summary reversal. If the

Court, however, is inclined to review the decisions and

principles discussed below, Cincinnati Bell urges the Court

to order briefing on the merits and oral argument for the

reason that the questions presented involve long standing

principles governing the relationship between the state

and federal governments and the authority of the federal

judiciary—principles which are fundamental to our Con-

stitution and system of federalism.

A. The Supreme Court of Ohio was required to

give res judicata effect to the judgment of

the Fourth Circuit.

In numerous cases, this Court has been confronted

with the question of whether and to what extent state

courts must give res judicata effect to the judgments of

federal courts. The Court has consistently stated that this

question raises a federal question subject to review by the

Court. See, e.g., Stoll v. Gottlieb, 305 U.S. 165, 167 (1938);

Myers v. International Trust Company, 263 U.S. 64, 69

(1923); West Side Belt Railroad Co. v. Pittsburgh Con-

struction Company, 219 U.S. 92, 99 (1911); Virginia-Caro-

lina Chemical Company v. Kirven, 215 U.S. 252, 257

(1909); Deposit Bank of Frankfort v. Board of Councilmen

of F'rankfort, 191 U.S. 499, 514-15 (1903); Embry v. Palmer,

107 U.S. 3, 8-9 (1883); Dupasseur v. Rochereau, 88 U.S.

(21 Wall.) 130, 131 (1875). Here, the federal question

takes on added importance because of the direct conflict

between the Ohio Supreme Court and the Fourth Circuit

on the validity of the FCC’s Preemption Order, an issue of

central importance to the structure of the telecommunica-

tions industry.

In these cases, as well as cthers, the Court has re-

peatedly held that state courts must give res judicata ef-

20

fect to decisions of federal courts. See, eg., Stoll v.

Gottlieb, 305 U.S. 165 (1938); Myers v. International Trust

Company, 263 U.S. 64, 69 (1923); West Side Belt Railroad

Co. v. Pittsburgh Construction Company, 219 U.S. 92

(1911); Virginia-Carolina Chemical Company v. Kirven,

215 U.S. 252 (1909); Deposit Bank of Frankfort v. Board

of Councilmen of Frankfort, 191 U.S. 499 (1903); Des

Moines Navigation & Railroad Company v. Iowa Home-

stead Company, 123 U.S. 552 (1887); Crescent City Live-

Stock Co. v. Butchers’ Union, 120 U.S. 141 (1887); Embry

v. Palmer, 107 U.S. 3 (1883); Dupasseur v. Rochereau, 88

U.S. (21 Wall.) 130 (1875); M’Cormick v. Sullivant, 23

U.S. (10 Wheat.) 192 (1825); Gelston v. Hoyt, 16 U.S. (3

Wheat.) 246 (1818). See generally Degnan, Federalized

Res Judicata, 85 YALE L.J. 741 (1976); 18 C. Wricut, A.

MILLER AND E. Cooper, FEDERAL PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE:

JURISDICTION § 1468, at 648-49. Indeed, on the same day

that the Ohio Supreme Court issued its decision in the

case at bar, it decided Efros v. Nationwide Corp., 12 Ohio

St. 3d 191, 193, 465 N.E.2d 1309, 1311 (1984), in which

it also acknowledged this proposition; the court said

“TBloth the federal and state courts may proceed con-

currently with the litigation, at least until judgment is

obtained in one of them which may be raised as res judicata

as to the other.”

Although the principle that state courts must give

res judicata effect to decisions of federal courts is firmly

established, it is clear that no provision of the Constitu-

tion or federal law explicitly so states.’ The Court has,

7. The full faith and credit clause makes no mention of

the states giving due effect to the judicial proceedings of the

federal government. U.S. Cons. art. IV, § 1. This omission may

well have been due to the compromise by the Framers leaving

it for Congress to create inferior federal courts. 18 C. WRIGHT,

A. MILLER AND E. COOPER, FEDERAL PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE:

JURISDICTION § 1468, at 649.

21

therefore, indicated that this principle of preclusion has

its roots in a number of places, including the full faith

and credit statute, Embry v. Palmer, 107 U.S. at 9-10, the

inherent judicial power of the United States under Article

III, Dupasseur v. Rochereau, 88 U.S. at 131, and the fed-

eral common law doctrine of res judicata, Stoll v. Gottlieb,

305 U.S. at 171. This principle is also dictated by the

concept of federalism, supremacy, and the full faith and

credit clause. See generally Metcalf v. Watertown, 153

U.S. 671, 676-77 (1894); 18 C. Wricur, A. MILLER ANp E.

CoopPEeR, FEDERAL PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE: JURISDICTION

§ 1468, at 649-50. Regardless of which provision of the

Constitution or federal law mandates preclusion, it is

manifestly clear as the Court has held throughout this

country’s history that preclusion is mandated. Id; see

generally THE FEDERALIST No. 80 (A. Hamilton) (E. Scott

ed. 1894).

The application of the above principles to this case

is not affected by the issue of whether Ohio or federal

res judicata law applies. Applying either law, the de-

cision of the Fourth Circuit upholding the Preemption

Order is binding on the Ohio Supreme Court. Ohio

has maintained traditional res judicata requirements:

“[A] point of law or a fact which was actually and di-

rectly in issue in the former action, and was there passed

upon and determined by a court of competent jurisdic-

tion, may not be drawn in question in a subsequent action

between the same parties or their privies.” Trautwein v.

Sorgenfrei, 58 Ohio St. 2d 493, 391 N.E.2d 326 (1979); see

also Goodson v. McDonough Power Equipment, Inc., 2

Ohio St. 3d 193, 443 N.E.2d 978 (1983). Federal res

judicata law differs from Ohio law only in that the mutu-

ality requirement has been relaxed in some circumstances.

See Parklane Hosiery Company, Inc. v. Shore, 439 U.S.

322 (1979).

22

Here, the traditional res judicata requirements

are satisfied. The validity of the Preemption Order

was “actually and directly in issue” in the Fourth Circuit.

The Fourth Circuit determined the Preemption Order and

its preemptive effect on the PUCO to be valid and to

bar the state ratemaking agencies, including the PUCO,

from prescribing depreciation rates which are inconsistent

with those prescribed by the FCC. Cincinnati Bell ap-

pealed to the Ohio Supreme Court specifically on the basis

that the PUCO Order was contrary to the Preemption

Order in that it prescribed rates which were inconsistent

with those prescribed by the FCC. By way of defense,

both the PUCO and the OCC argued that the Preemption

Order was invalid and, therefore, not binding on the

PUCO. Accordingly, any decision in favor of the validity

of the PUCO Order necessarily included a finding that the

Preemption Order was invalid. In fact, this is exactly what

the Ohio Supreme Court did when it stated its agreement

with the district court’s finding in Southwestern Bell that

the Preemption Order was “ultra vires.” Thus, the same

issue that was before the Ohio Supreme Court had pre-

viously been determined by the Fourth Circuit. Likewise,

all parties in the Ohio Supreme Court (Cincinnati Bell,

the PUCO and the OCC) were also parties to the proceed-

ings in the Fourth Circuit.

Therefore, principles of res judicata coupled with the

Constitution and laws of the United States, as well as

numerous decisions of this Court, required that the Ohio

Supreme Court give effect to the Fourth Circuit judgment

upholding the Preemption Order. The Ohio Supreme

Court’s failure to give res judicata effect to the Fourth

Circuit judgment was in error.

23

B. The Supreme Court of Ohio was required to

give effect to the FCC’s Preemption Order.

Recently, this Court held in Federal Communications

Commission v. ITT World Communications, Inc., ........ US.

paper , 104 S. Ct. 1936 (1984), that the United States Court

of Appeals has exclusive jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. sec-

tion 2342(1) and 47 U.S.C. section 402(a) to review final

FCC orders. In that case the Court ruled that a federal dis-

trict court does not have jurisdiction to entertain a suit to

enjoin FCC action as ultra vires. In the case at bar, the

Ohio Supreme Court decided that it had jurisdiction to

determine whether the FCC’s Preemption Order was ultra

vires. The court explicitly agreed with the district court’s

decision in Southwestern Bell Telephone Company v.

Arkansas Public Service Commission, No. LRC 84-247 (E.D.

Ark, March 30, 1984), rev’d, 738 F.2d 901 (8th Cir. 1984),

petition for cert. filed, which had held the Preemption

Order to be ultra vires. See pages A7-A9. This exercise

of jurisdiction by the Ohio Supreme Court was gross error.

See Federal Communications Commission v. ITT World

Communications, Ine., ........ US. ........, 104 S. Ct. 1936

(1984); Port of Boston Marine Terminal Association v.

Rederiaktiebolaget Transatlantic, 400 U.S. 62 (1970); Ta-

coma v. Taxpayers of Tacoma, 357 U.S. 320 (1958); Gelston

v. Hoyt, 16 U.S. (3 Wheat.) 246, 313 (1818). Indeed, this

exercise of jurisdiction by the Ohio Supreme Court is in

direct conflict with Southwestern Bell Telephone Company

v. Arkansas Public Service Commission, 738 F.2d 901 (8th

Cir. 1984), petition for cert. filed.

24

The Ohio Supreme Court also concluded that it simply

was not obliged to give effect to the Preemption Order.

It responded to the argument that it iacked jurisdiction

under 28 U.S.C. section 2342(1) and 47 U.S.C. section

402(a) by saying that it was reviewing the PUCO Order,

not the Preemption Order. See page A7. The court then

went on to conclude that the PUCO Order was reasonable

and lawful. See page A9. The OF‘o Supreme Court’s

decision to ignore altogether the binding effect of the

Preemption Order was summarized in the concurring opin-

ion of Chief Justice Celebrezze:

The unanswered question is whether the FCC rule

will be enforced against the states so as to preempt

the states’ power to fix depreciation allowances in

telecommunications cases. This court is without juris-

diction to make that essential determination and, ac-

cordingly, the majority’s decision is based upon the

fact that the commission’s order is in conformity with

Ohio’s rate-making statutes.

See page A21. This position raises a fundamental ques-

tion that was not before the Court in ITT World Com-

munications. That is, must a state court give effect to an.

order of the FCC unless and until that order is invalidated

by a court having jurisdiction to do so?

Contrary to the opinion expressed by the Ohio Su-

preme Court, fundamental and essential principles of su-

premacy dictate that the Ohio Supreme Court was required

to give effect to the Preemption Order. U.S. Cons, art.

VI, para. 2. This Court has held in a different context

that state courts are bound to give effect to rulings of a

federal agency where they do not have jurisdiction to re-

25

view rulings of that agency. See Marine Engineers Bene-

ficial Association v. Interlake Steamship Company, 370

U.S. 173 (1962). Moreover, the Supremacy Clause requires

that state courts enforce and apply federal law. See, e.g.,

Testa v. Katt, 330 U.S. 386 (1947); Mondou v. New York,

New Haven & Hartford Railroad Co., 223 U.S. 1 (1912).

Yet in this case, the Ohio Supreme Court disregarded the

federal law that it was obliged to enforce.

The Ohio Supreme Court had jurisdiction under

Ohio Revised Code section 4903.13 to determine whether

the PUCO Order was “unlawful.” The question presented

by this issue is whether the Supremacy Clause making

federal law the supreme Law of the Land and its dec-

laration that “the Judges in every State shall be bound

thereby” required the Ohio Supreme Court to enforce the

Preemption Order. The answer to this question must be

“yes” if the concept of supremacy is to have meaning.

Therefore, the Ohio Supreme Court committed gross error

in failing to give effect to the Preemption Order, permitting

this Court summarily to reverse the decision below. At

the very least, the Ohio Supreme Court’s open refusal to

apply federal law, and the underlying implications of this

refusal, mandate that this Court review by plenary consid-

eration the question of whether state courts are required

to give effect to an FCC order unless and until that order

is held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction. Here,

only the United States Court of Appeals has jurisdiction

to determine the validity of an FCC order.

26

CONCLUSION

This case reveals a “callous disregard” of federal law

by the State of Ohio.

The Public Utilities Commission of Ohio violated the

Federal Communications Commission’s Preemption Order

by ordering Cincinnati Bell to utilize a different deprecia-

tion methodology than that prescribed for Cincinnati Bell

by the FCC. The validity of the Preemption Order was

questioned by the PUCO in an appeal which was pending in

the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.

However, the PUCO did not seek a stay of the Preemption

Order from that court. Instead, it simply continued in its

violation of the order.

Cincinnati Beli then sought relief from the PUCO

Order by appealing to the Ohio Supreme Court. While

that appeal was pending the Court of Appeals for the

Fourth Circuit exercised its exclusive jurisdiction, up-

holding the validity of the Preemptior. Order. The PUCO

not only continued to violate the Preemption Order, it then

proceeded to disregard the Fourth Circuit decision. The

Ohio Supreme Court, in turn, disregarded the Fourth Cir-

cuit decision and rendered its decision upholding the

PUCO’s violation of the Preemption Order. Cincinnati

Bell then filed this appeal as its last resort to obtain pro-

tection from the PUCO’s violation of federal law.

The Supreme Court of the United States has juris-

diction to review the questions presented by this appeal

under 28 U.S.C. section 1257(1) and (2). Moreover, this

appeal raises substantial federal questions. These ques-

tions include whether state courts must give res judicata

effect to federal judgments and whether state courts must

give effect to an FCC order unless and until that order

oa .

27

is invalidated by a court of competent jurisdiction. Four

factors significantly increase the importance of these ques-

tions: (1) the direct conflict between the Ohio Supreme

Court and the United States Court of Appeals for the

Fourth Circuit; (2) the direct conflict between the Ohio

Supreme Court and the United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit; (3) the importance of the issues

in this case to the telecommunications industry; and (4)

the precarious position in which Cincinnati Bell is placed

becaus» it is subject to conflicting PUCO and FCC orders

as well as conflicting state court and federal court orders.

Because prior decisions of this Court demonstrate

that the Ohio Supreme Court committed gross error,

Cincinnati Bell respectfully requests that the Court sum-

marily reverse the decision below. If, however, the Court

is inclined to review the case law and principles discussed

above, then, because of the gravity of the issues in this

case, plenary consideration of this appeal is essential.

In this circumstance, Cincinnati Bell urges the Court to

note probable jurisdiction and set the case for briefing

and argument on the merits.

Respectfully submitted,

DonaLp McG. Rose

2500 Central Trust Center

201 East Fifth Street

Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

(513) 651-6800

Counsel of Record for Appellant

Cincinnati Bell Telephone

Company

28

Of Counsel:

WILL1AM D. BaskeETT, III

MarkK H. LONGENECKER, JR.

Davin C. Horn

Gary A. GARFIELD

Frost & JACOBS

2500 Central Trust Center

201 East Fifth Street

Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

(513) 651-6800

a "+f 7

im : On i

: ia af ;

Lie ee a

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.