Amicus Curiae Brief — Dep't of Commerce v. New York, 139 S. Ct. 1249 (2019) (No. 18-966)

Supreme Court brief2019

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 18-966

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, et ai.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

STATE OF NEW YORK, et al.,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari Before Judgment

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit

BRIEF OF RONALD A. CASS AND

CHRISTOPHER C. DEMUTH, SR., AS

AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

RONALD A. CASS

Counsel of Record

Cass & ASSOCIATES, PC

10560 Fox Forest Drive

Great Falls, VA 22066-1743

(703) 438-7590

roncass@cassassociates.net

Counsel for Amici Curiae

March 6, 2019

a

WILSON-EPES PRINTING Co., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D.C. 20002

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I. Judicial Review Should Not Intrude on

Discretion Granted to Administrators by

De ccscinndcntiiatstisminneissmmmeniamieatiedeiieia

Il.

A.

Judicial Review of Actions Based on

Policy Considerations Implementing

Statutory Directives Should Be Dis-

tinguished from Statutory Interpreta-

GEG cenccneneconnerveresvssseonueviensionsilnsglaaiaanin

. Courts’ Role in Reviewing Discretion-

ary Agency Action under the APA Is

Strictly Limited ..................cccceeeeeeeeeeees

Courts Should Not Seek Extrinsic Evi-

dence of Administrators’ Motives for

Actions Challenged Under the APA..........

A.

Review of Agency Actions under the

APA Focuses on Lawfulness, Inc}nd-

ing Basis in Administrative Rev:d,

ft fe

. Concerns about Administrative Bias

and Prejudgment Apply in Other

Contexts and Are Best Addressed

through Other Means.......................06

(i)

13

17

17

22

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

C. Intrusive Inquiries into Official Motives

Impair Perceived Legitimacy of Judi-

cial Processes and Separation of

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page(s)

Action for Children’s Television v. Federal

Communications Commission,

564 F.2d 458 (D.C. Cir. 1977)................... 23

Air Transport Association of America, Inc.

v. National Mediation Board,

663 F.3d 476 (D.C. Cir. 2011)................... 23

American Trucking Associations v.

United States,

Ce 14, 15

Association of National Advertisers, Inc. v.

Federal Trade Commission,

627 F.2d 1151 (D.C. Cir. 1979), cert.

denied, 447 U.S. 921 (1980)...................... 23

Baltimore Gas & Electric Co. v. Natural

Resources Defense Council, Inc.,

I I iiaciiicieseaniiininieccinadinitlnacs 5

Barnhart v. Walton,

EE RSI ae 4,9

Camp v. Pitts,

ee ee a cretcesiennctrentsinstimensiinncen 19

Caperton v. A.T. Massey Coal Co., Inc.,

Christensen v. Harris County,

i ee 10

Christopher v. SmithKline Beecham Corp..,

TSB B.C’. BIBS (BOD) ...ccccccrecesosvecessccvesssese 4,9

Citizens to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe,

— 9) |. |. eee 16

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

City of Arlington v. Federal

Communications Commission,

133 S.Ct. 1863 (BOIS) ............00.0..00.ccecceeeees 4,9

Department of Agriculture v. Moreno,

ee i cestccnccccssticccanteasiseececsses 20

Federal Communications Commission v.

Fox Television Stations, Inc.,

| 8 passim

Federal Communications Commission v.

National Citizens Committee for

Broadcasting,

Ey SIE ccctnnettntesscbdinietecsastotnsntecs 14, 15

Fiallo v. Bell,

A le 16

Gibson v. Berryhill,

411 U.S. G64 (10738)...........0.00.c0cccccccceeceeeees. 22

Gregoire v. Biddle,

177 F.2d 579 (2d Cir. 1949) ................00000. 21

Heckler v. Chaney,

470 U.S. 821 (19885)....................00. 3, 13, 14, 16

Kisor v. Wilkie,

No. 18-15, cert. granted, Dec. 11, 2018.... 4

Loving v. United States,

TS aoa 10

Marshall v. Jerrico, Inc.,

I ces innncecennnniicneditigininniite 23

MCI Telecommunications Corp. v. AT&T Co.,

I 3

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Michigan v. Environmental

Protection Agency,

136 S.Ct. BEBO (BO1S)..........cccccccccccccseesoeees 11

Morgan v. United States,

Ls ET CE Cees 6, 18, 19

National Cable & Telecommunications

Association v. Brand X Internet Services,

545 U.S. 967 (2005).........................022..... 5, 9,13

New York v. Department of Commerce,

No. 18-CV-2921 (S.D.N.Y., Jan. 15,

ri csitcstiadiintsiaGiecheinidiiniinndipedndiaianimecnndsaponest passim

Pacific States Box & Basket Co. v. White,

4! 0 ee 15

Romer v. Evans,

Be es CI i ccccneciosiscvesnndntssanesensones 20

Smiley v. Citibank (South Dakota), N.A.,

517 U.S. 735 (1996) (Smiley) ................00 passim

Trump v. Hawaii,

No. 17-956 (U.S. Jun. 26, 2018)............... passim

Tumey v. Ohio,

ES eee 22

United States v. American Trucking

Associations,

i I ons ccncitcseussasetpnesboesnesee 3

United States v. Morgan,

| a ae passim

United States v. Mead Corp..,

ee 4,9

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Utility Air Regulatory Group v.

Environmental Protection Agency,

134 S.Ct. 2427 (2014)...........ccccceeeeccceeeseeees 11

Ward v. Village of Monroeville,

I i ceeeigcttnnnnne 22

Wayman v. Southard,

23 U.S. (10 Wheat.) 1 (1825) .................... 10

Webster v. Doe,

486 U.S. 592 (1988)...............ccccccceeeeees 13, 14, 16

Withrow v. Larkin,

ee i II viccccnacnrccuntscesssncuesemessones 23

Ziglar v. Abbasi,

4 es 20

CONSTITUTION

US. Comat., art. I, sec. 8, of. B.........ccccccc00000. 14

ns I eesmimtiolegion 22

i fl d*=, Se 22

STATUTES

Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C.

> 8 EE ae en 3,13

I i ia 5,11, 14

ER Ee ce ee ee 3,11

STITT iss iesiiabiniicaiitcnteinthaiiceaninnnbeindgbadin passim

i a 17

ne a ee ee 17

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

RENTER TENG fe eeN ye IS Nt 17

2, RSE EEA aa Spee eee ae 17

Census Act of 1790, 1 Stat. 101................... 14

Census Act of 1954, 68 Stat. 1012, 13 U.S.C.

ITN sidiniscaoactetsinaisiteacicibiabittnniientiecte aa 14

1 ESSENDON AR Aa A Sa Mn 14

CF ER ESRI Rats Seah Se a ee 14

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Larry Alexander & Saikrishna Prakash,

Delegation Really Running Riot, 93 Va.

L. Rev. 1035 (2007) .......cccccccccceccceeccocoeeees.

Jack M. Beermann, End the Failed

Chevron Experiment Now: How Chevron

Has Failed and Why It Can and Should

Be Overruled, 42 Conn. L. Rev. 779

10

Saat ieshpushthenibsiisnihnsiedidbetntanindaacinancicinds 9, 10, 17

Samuel L. Bray, Multiple Chancellors:

Reforming the National Injunction, 131

Harv. L. Rev. 417 (2017).....ccccccccccccccsceeeee.

Clark Byse, Judicial Review of Administra-

tive Interpretation of Statutes: An Analysis

of Chevron Step Two, 2 Admin. L.J. 255

“SRR a a Nob Nec nreh sa eI

Ronald A. Cass, Auer Deference: Doubling

Down on Delegation’s Defects, 87 Fordham

L. Rev. 531 (2018)............cccccccococessesesees 4, 12,17

Vili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Ronald A. Cass, Delegation Reconsidered:

A Delegation Doctrine for the Modern

Administrative State, 40 Harv. J.L. &

Pub. Pol’y 147 (2016).............cccccccceseeeeseeeeees

Ronald A. Cass, Nationwide Injunctions’

Governance Problems: Forum-Shopping,

Politicizing Courts, and Eroding Consti-

tutional Structure, Geo. Mason Legal Stud.

Research Paper No. LS 18-22, Nov. 7,

2018, available at https://www.usgovern

10

mentspending.com/recent_spending... 24, 25, 26

Ronald A. Cass, The Rule of Law in

PMATEI CBG E) oneecscnsccsscccececcrscccccsosccscceceses

Ronald A. Cass, Vive La Deference?: Rethink-

ing the Balance Between Administrative

and Judicial Discretion, 83 Geo. Wash. L.

25

Rev. 1294 (2015)..........cccccseseeeeeeeeee 4, 10, 13, 16

Ronald A. Cass, Colin S. Diver, Jack M.

Beermann & Jody Freeman, Administra-

tive Law: Cases and Materials (7th ed.

Christopher DeMuth, OJRA at Thirty, 63

Admin. L. Rev. 101 (2011) .............cccccccee

Albert Venn Dicey, Introduction to the

Study of the Law of the Constitution

CBR GIB Cri cnnsinccesnscsesocsscnennstsevvesensons

Michael Dorf, Prediction and the Rule of

Law, 42 UCLA L. Rev. 651 (1995)............

25

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

John F. Duffy, Administrative Common Law

in Judicial Review, 77 Tex. L. Rev. 113

Cap aiiictiventchanpestiiasadichiantvohindendejuaediiomaenn

William N. Eskridge, Jr. & Lauren E. Baer,

The Continuum of Deference: Supreme

Court Treatment of Agency Statutory

Interpretation from Chevron to Hamdan,

96 Geo. L.J. 1083 (2008) ..............csseeeereeees

Cynthia R. Farina, Statutory Interpretation

and the Balance of Power in the Admin-

istrative State, 89 Colum. L. Rev. 452

4, 10

(RD cvnccencccrcccnsecscesessecsnecneescasesssesssonacees 4, 10,17

Lon L, Fuller, The Morality of Law (rev. ed.

Michael Herz, Deference Running Riot:

Separating Interpretation and Lawmaking

Under Chevron, 6 Admin. L.J. Am. U.

SE Ce nitticntasttnesitidnideiidiciassenstaldetitienions

Gary Lawson, Delegation and Original

Meaning, 88 Va. L. Rev. 327 (2002)..........

Gary S. Lawson, Reconceptualizing Chevron

and Discretion: A Comment on Levin and

Rubin, 72 Chi.-Kent L. Rev. 1377 (1997).

Gary Lawson & Stephen Kam, Making Law

out of Nothing at All: The Origins of the

Chevron Doctrine, 65 Admin. L. Rev. 1

FE iihientcncsyuskennecideknansncnhtquadindgionicncionceennces

25

10

10

17

x

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Elbert Lin, States Suing the Federal Gov-

ernment: Protecting Liberty or Playing Pol-

itics?, 52 U. Rich. L. Rev. 633 (2018) ... 8, 24, 26

Sarah N. Lynch, “Attorney General Vows to

Fight Nationwide Injunctions,” Reuters,

Sep. 13, 2018, available at https:/Awww.

reuters.com/article/us-usa-justice-courts/

attorney-general-vows-to-fight-nationwide-

court-injunctions-id USKCN 1LT34<A ..........

Thomas W. Merrill, Justice Stevens and the

Chevron Puzzle, 106 Nw. U. L. Rev. 551

ERE Ns Li ca Rete

Thomas W. Merrill & Kristin E. Hickman,

Chevron’s Domain, 89 Geo. LJ. 833

Alan Neuhaus, “State Attorney Generals

Lead the Charge Against President

Donald Trump,” U.S. News & World

Rep., Oct. 27, 2017, available at https://

www.usnews.com/news/best-states/artic]

es/2017-10-27/state-attorneys-general-le

ad-the-charge-against-president-donald-tr

Paul Nolette, “State Attorneys General

Have Taken Off as a Partisan Force in

National Politics,” Wash. Post, Oct. 23,

2017, available at https://*www.washing

tonpost.com/news/monkey-cage/wp/20 17/

10/23/state-attorneys-general-have-taken-

off-as-a-partisan-force-in-national-politic

s/utm_term=.e5530ca3babb ....................

24

24

xi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Neomi Rao, Administrative Collusion: How

Delegation Diminishes the Collective Con-

gress, 90 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 1463 (2015)........ 10-11

Antonin Scalia, A Matter of Interpretation:

Federal Courts and the Law (Amy

| nn 25

Antonin Scalia, The Rule of Law as a Law

of Rules, 56 U. Chi. L. Rev. 1175 (1989) .. 25

George B. Shepherd, Fierce Compromise:

The Administrative Procedure Act Emerges

from New Deal Politics, 90 Nw. U. L. Rev.

SEE Cte icrichetuibusidsacsbncensipnencssbiateenniesionss 12

Peter L. Strauss, “Deference” Is Too

Confusing—Let’s Call Them “Chevron

Space” and “Skidmore Weight,” 112

Colum. L. Rev. 1143 (2012) ........eeeeee 10, 13

U.S. Department of Justice, Attorney

General’s Manual on the Administrative

Procedure Act 108 (1947) ..........cccccceeeeeeeees 12, 15

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 18-966

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, et al.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

STATE OF NEW YORK, et al.,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari Before Judgment

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit

BRIEF OF RONALD A. CASS AND

CHRISTOPHER C. DEMUTH, SR., AS

AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE'

Amici are teachers, scholars, and former govern-

ment officials who each have had extensive engagement

with administrative law over a period of more than 40

‘ The parties have consented in writing to the filing of this

brief, and their letters of consent have been filed with the Clerk.

No party’s counsel authored this brief in whole or in part, and no

person or entity other than amici or their counsel made a mone-

tary contribution intended to fund its preparation or submission.

2

years. Amici have served in a variety of positions in

the United States government, including positions

in the Executive Office of the President, executive

departments, independent agencies, and the judicial

branch. Amici have been responsible for making deci-

sions in official capacities and for reviewing agency

decisions. They also have been deeply involved with

organizations devoted to administrative law and have

taught classes and written numerous articles and books

on matters implicated in the questions presented in

this case. This brief reflects amici’s long-standing

interests in the subject of administrative law and

particularly in standards for judicial review of

administrative action.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The questions presented in this case address (1) the

manner in which courts decide whether an admin-

istrative action is “arbitrary” or “capricious” or “an

abuse of discretion” and (2) the degree to which courts

are permitted to inquire into the particular considera-

tions in the mind of an administrator, seeking to

obtain information outside the administrative record

to determine an administrator’s motivation. Both

matters are critical to the dividing line between

judicial authority and the authority reposed in other

branches of government. These are vital aspects of

assuring that distinct governmental powers remain

committed to the branches to which they are constitu-

tionally assigned.

The decision below is unusual in the degree to which

it substitutes judicial determinations for administra-

tive ones on matters committed to agency discretion,

see New York v. Department of Commerce, No. 18-CV-

2921, at 194-253 (S.D.N.Y., Jan. 15, 2019) (SDNY

Decision) and for its intrusive inquiry into (and

3

reliance on) the motives of official decision-makers, see

id., at 31-102, 245-53.

These aspects of the SDNY Decision, however, also

are emblematic of broader misunderstandings of the

review provisions embodied in the Administrative

Procedure Act (APA), 5 U.S.C. §§ 701-706. The errors

made in the decision below illustrate the need for this

Court to clarify both (1) the appropriate standard for

review of action that is committed to agency discretion

and (2) limitations on judicial inquiry into bases for

administrative decisions focused on official motive,

especially inquiries that delve into matters outside the

administrative record presented in court.

First, there is a stark difference between the appro-

priate standards for judicial review of questions of

statutory interpretation and judicial review of admin-

istrative implementation of statutory provisions. Under

the APA, as well as prior law, courts decide matters of

legal interpretation. See, e.g., 5 U.S.C. § 706; United

States v. American Trucking Associations, 310 U.S.

534, 544 (1940). Agencies decide matters of imple-

mentation subject to review that may be searching

on some questions but is deferential on matters within

an agency’s policy discretion. Compare, e.g., MCI

Telecommunications Corp. v. AT&T Co., 512 U.S. 218,

228-32 (1994), with Heckler v. Chaney, 470 U.S. 821,

831-35 (1985) (Chaney). The distinction between these

subjects and review standards has been misunder-

stood, with courts at times deferring to administrative

decisions on core matters of legal interpretation and

other times inserting themselves into matters of

implementation committed to agency authority. See,

e.g., Clark Byse, Judicial Review of Administrative

Interpretation of Statutes: An Analysis of Chevron Step

Two, 2 Admin. L.J. 255, 262-63, 266-67 (1988);

4

Ronald A. Cass, Auer Deference: Doubling Down on

Delegation’s Defects, 87 Fordham L. Rev. 531, 537-39,

542-47 (2018) (Auer Deference); Ronald A. Cass,

Vive La Deference?: Rethinking the Balance Between

Administrative and Judicial Discretion, 83 Geo. Wash.

L. Rev. 1294, 1311-19 (2015) (Rethinking); John F.

Duffy, Administrative Common Law in Judicial Review,

77 Tex. L. Rev. 113, 115, 120 (1998); William N.

Eskridge, Jr. & Lauren E. Baer, The Continuum of

Deference: Supreme Court Treatment of Agency Statutory

Interpretation from Chevron to Hamdan, 96 Geo. L.J.

1083, 1087-89 (2008); Cynthia R. Farina, Statutory

Interpretation and the Balance of Power in the Admin-

istrative State, 89 Colum. L. Rev. 452, 453-56, 472-75

(1989).

Recognition of confusion over the proper standards

for review, as well as their importance, has prompted

this Court to revisit questions respecting their contours

repeatedly. See, e.g., City of Arlington v. Federal

Communications Commission, 133 S.Ct. 1863 (2013)

(City of Arlington); Christopher v. SmithKline Beecham

Corp., 132 S.Ct. 2156 (2012) (Christopher); Barnhart

v. Walton, 535 U.S. 212 (2002) (Barnhart), United

States v. Mead Corp., 533 U.S. 218 (2001) (Mead). The

Court is again addressing limits on deference to agency

interpretations of law—specifically, the meaning of an

agency regulation—this Term in Kisor v. Wilkie, No.

18-15, cert. granted, Dec. 11, 2018.

The instant case focuses attention not on the limits

to deference but on the limits for judicial review, under

APA § 706(2)(A), of an exercise of policy discretion

committed to an agency by law. Many statutes commit

some measure of discretion to administrators while

setting boundaries around that discretion. The law’s

directives may tightly constrain the administrative

5

decision or may give considerable leeway. But the

reviewing court’s task is to interpret the limits set by

law and to review exercises of discretion only for the

sorts of unreasonable action that the APA proscribes:

action that is arbitrary, capricious, or an abuse of

discretion. See APA, 5 U.S.C. § 706(2)(A). This does

not include review to determine if an action is less

well-reasoned than a judge would like, or weighs

evidence and considerations differently than the judge

would have, or is associated with political considera-

tions that the judge would not embrace. See, e.g.,

Baltimore Gas & Electric Co. v. Natural Resources

Defense Council, Inc., 462 U.S. 87, 103 (1983).

Although the aspect of a decision that is committed

to agency discretion is excepted from review, § 701(a)(2),

review of other aspects of the exercise of discretion

is generally available to check abuses of discretionary

authority. That review should assess whether a decision

is so far outside the bounds of reasoned decision-

making as to constitute action that is arbitrary (i.e.,

unreasoned), capricious (based on whim), or abuses

discretion (based on reasons that cannot possibly be

credited as appropriate grounds for the action being

reviewed). Federal Communications Commission v.

Fox Television Stations, Inc., 556 U.S. 502, 511-14

(2009) (Fox Television Stations); National Cable &

Telecommunications Association v. Brand X Internet

Services, 545 U.S. 967, 981, 989 (2005) (Brand X);

Smiley v. Citibank (South Dakota), N.A.,517 U.S. 735,

740-47 (1996) (Smiley).

The SDNY Decision evidences a striking disregard

for limitations associated with review of matters com-

mitted to the discretion of administrative officers. The

sort of searching inquiry engaged in below goes beyond

careful review to assure that none of the grounds for

6

overturning discretionary actions applies. It amounts

to judicial revision of the task committed to the

administrator, substituting judicial for administrative

judgment on every significant aspect of the decision.

Indeed, the decision below would overstep the bounds

of the sort of internal evaluation typically done by

executive branch officials reviewing major decisions of

other officials—even though executive branch review,

which takes place within the same branch authorized

to implement the law, is naturally in keeping with a

more searching inquiry into the grounds for decision.

See, e.g., Christopher DeMuth, OJRA at Thirty, 63

Admin. L. Rev. 101, 106 (2011). (One of this brief’s

amici oversaw this process as Administrator of the

Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs. See id.)

Second, the SDNY Decision makes a mistake that is

both contrary to law and dangerous in its potential

effects on governance by seeking to plumb the motiva-

tion of administrative decision-makers, rather than

evaluating the consistency of their actions with legal

standards. See SDNY Decision, at 31—102, 245-53.

This Court has made clear that, in general, for a court

reviewing agency action, it is “not the function of the

court to probe the mental processes” of the administra-

tor. Morgan v. United States, 304 U.S. 1, 18 (1938)

(Morgan II). The Court has warned that delving into

the motives and thought processes of a decision-maker

in a co-equal branch of government would be “destruc-

tive” of the responsibility of administrators and would

undermine “the integrity of the administrative process.”

United States v. Morgan, 313 U.S. 409, 422 (1941)

(Morgan IV).

Last term, in Trump v. Hawaii, No. 17-956 (U.S.

Jun. 26, 2018) (Trump v. Hawaii), this Court exam-

ined another challenge to an administrative action

7

predicated in part on the assertion that claimed bases

for the action were pretextual and that the actual

bases were constitutionally proscribed (so that the

action assertedly violated plaintiffs’ legal rights). The

Court stated that there are exceptions to the general

rule that courts will not look behind the stated reasons

for administrative action, but those exceptions are

narrow and reserved for highly unusual circum-

stances. See Trump v. Hawaii, maj. op., slip op. at 32—

33. The Court concluded that the exceptions did not

apply, see id., maj. op., slip op. at 32-34, and pro-

ceeded to review the challenged action to see if it was

supported by a merely rational basis, see id., maj. op.,

slip op. at 33-37.

Amici strongly support the Court’s traditional reluc-

tance to examine the motives of administrative

decision-makers exercising legally granted authority.

Having been government decision-makers as well as

academic critics of government decisions, amici under-

score the threat to constitutionally separated powers

if reviewing judges seek to divine the motives of

officials in another branch of government, investigat-

ing their intentions rather than checking the legality

of their decisions.

Amici recognize that answers to the question when

courts may undertake an examination of administra-

tive motivation are contested. Compare id., maj. op.,

slip op. at 32—33, with id., slip op. at 3-8 (Breyer, J.,

dissenting) (making an “as applied” assessment of the

bona fides of the asserted bases for the administrative

action); id., slip op. at 1-23 (Sotomayor, J., dissenting)

(assessing purpose of administrative action based on

extrinsic evidence). In amici’s view, however, except

in extraordinary circumstances, that inquiry is not

appropriate. It is especially inappropriate if it relies on

8

extrinsic evidence, and most emphatically if it is basea

on queries to or examination of decision-makers. Such

inquiries will chill discussion of potential government

actions among a wider circle of officials—even though

discussion among a broader set of officials frequently

improves decisions. Pursuit of extra-record evidence of

official motives in court should not be countenanced

for the same reason that calling judges before the dock

to answer questions about the motives behind their

decisions is not permitted. See, e.g., Morgan IV, 313

U.S. at 422.

Finally, changing the traditional, APA-based stand-

ard of review to accommodate inquiries into official

motives encourages use of judicial review not strictly

as a means for keeping official actions within legal

bounds but as extensions of political disputes into the

judicial domain. This undermines the perceived legiti-

macy of the courts and intrudes on decisions committed

to other branches. Those concerns have been voiced in

connection with discussion of the scope of judicial

remedies and their implications for forum-shopping.

See, e.g., Trump v. Hawaii, slip op. at 5-10 (Thomas,

J., dissenting). The use of judicial challenges as

political weapons has been observed by others, includ-

ing politically-selected officials who have participated

in them. See, e.g., Elbert Lin, States Suing the Federal

Government: Protecting Liberty or Playing Politics? , 52

U. Rich. L. Rev. 633 (2018) (describing coordination

among politically-allied state attorneys general and

other groups in legal challenges). Changing the rules

of judicial review to accommodate concerns about

motives exacerbates problems associated with the

political use of judicial fora.

9

ARGUMENT

I. Judicial Review Should Not Intrude on

Discretion Granted to Administrators by

Law.

A. Judicial Review of Actions Based

on Policy Considerations Implementing

Statutory Directives Should Be Distin-

guished from Statutory Interpretation.

The appropriate standards for judicial review of

administrative actions have been the most discussed

questions in administrative law—and among the most

discussed questions in all of American law—for the

past 35 years. See, e.g., Jack M. Beermann, End the

Failed Chevron Experiment Now: How Chevron Has

Failed and Why It Can and Should Be Overruled, 42

Conn. L. Rev. 779, 782 (2010); Gary Lawson & Stephen

Kam, Making Law out of Nothing at All: The Origins

of the Chevron Doctrine, 65 Admin. L. Rev. 1, 2 (2013);

Thomas W. Merrill, Justice Stevens and the Chevron

Puzzle, 106 Nw. U. L. Rev. 551, 552-53 (2012). This

reflects both the standards’ importance and the lack

of clarity respecting them. Standards of review are

critical to the dividing line between judicial authority

and the authority reposed in other branches of gov-

ernment. They are central to assuring that distinct

governmental powers given to different branches of

government remain committed to the branches to

which they are constitutionally assigned. To that end,

this Court has repeatedly endeavored to clarify the

contours of the standards for judicial review of admin-

istrative action. See, e.g., City of Arlington, supra, 133

S.Ct. at 1868-73; Christopher, supra, 132 S.Ct. at

2165-69; Fox Television Stations, supra, 556 U.S. at

511-14; Brand X, 545 U.S. at 981-989; Barnhart,

supra, 532 U.S. at 518-22; Mead, supra, 533 US. at

10

530-34; Christensen v. Harris County, 529 U.S. 576,

587 (2000); Smiley, supra, 517 U.S. at 740-47.

Much academic commentary has focused on the

distinction between standards for review of statutory

interpretation by administrators and review of policy

decisions that often are framed in the same terms as

statutory grants of administrative authority. See, e.g.,

Beermann, supra at 788-91, 797-99, 805-07; Byse,

supra at 261-67; Cass, Rethinking, supra at 1311-15;

Eskridge & Baer, supra at 1123-35; Farina, supra at

466-67, 476-79, 499-502; Michael Herz, Deference

Running Riot: Separating Interpretation and Lawmaking

Under Chevron, 6 Admin. L.J. Am. U. 187, 198-200

(1992); Thomas W. Merrill & Kristin E. Hickman,

Chevron’s Domain, 89 Geo. L.J. 833, 863-64, 870—72

(2001); Peter L. Strauss, “Deference” Is Too Confusing—

Let’s Call Them “Chevron Space” and “Skidmore

Weight,” 112 Colum. L. Rev. 1143, 1145-50 (2012).

Statutory interpretation is the province of the courts;

but decisions necessary to implement the laws

commonly rest with administrative officials, who fre-

quently invoke statutory terminology to explain their

policy choices. So long as the delegation of discretion

is consistent with the Constitution’s commitment of

the law-making power to Congress,’ and the action of

* The evidence of legislative commitment of discretion does not,

of course, resolve the question whether the degree and nature of

the discretion accorded violate strictures on delegation of

legislative power. See, e.g., Loving v. United States, 517 U.S. 748,

757-58 (1996); Wayman v. Southard, 23 U.S. (10 Wheat.) 1, 42—

43 (1825); Larry Alexander & Saikrishna Prakash, Delegation

Really Running Riot, 93 Va. L. Rev. 1035, 1042-43 (2007); Ronald

A. Cass, Delegation Reconsidered: A Delegation Doctrine for the

Modern Administrative State, 40 Harv. J.L. & Pub. Pol’y 147,

151-61, 177 (2016); Gary Lawson, Delegation and Original Meaning,

88 Va. L. Rev. 327, 335-53 (2002); Neomi Rao, Administrative

11

the administrators does not exceed the scope of

statutorily-granted discretion, the choice of discretion-

ary actions is decidedly the province of other branches,

not the courts.

Although this distinction between interpretation

and implementation has been a source of confusion,

the standards applicable to the two distinct sorts of

decision are spelled out in the APA. The APA directs

reviewing courts to “decide all relevant questions of

law [and] interpret constitutional and statutory provi-

sions...” 5 U.S.C. § 706. It excepts agency action from

review “to the extent that .. . agency action is commit-

ted to agency discretion by law.” 5 U.S.C. § 701(a)(2).

It also directs that courts are to “hold unlawful and set

aside agency actions . . . found to be. . . arbitrary,

capricious, an abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in

accordance with law.” 5 U.S.C. § 706(2)(A).

Decisions on questions of law, such as the meaning

of a statutory provision, plainly are committed to the

courts. Reviewing judges are instructed to decide legal

questions and to interpret legal provisions. Courts’

authority over legal questions includes interpretation

of the scope of discretion granted by law. See, e.g.,

Michigan v. Environmental Protection Agency, 135

S.Ct. 2699, 2706-07 (2015); Utility Air Regulatory

Group v. Environmental Protection Agency, 134 S.Ct.

2427, 2439-49 (2014). Policy authority is exercised in

the space permitted for discretionary decisions within

the bounds of law. Unlike review of questions of law,

once the scope of policy authority is defined, review of

its exercise focuses on finding whether actions are

arbitrary, capricious, or an abuse of discretion. These

Collusion: How Delegation Diminishes the Collective Congress,

90 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 1463 (2015).

12

are narrowly tailored standards prohibiting actions

that are without reason (arbitrary), that respond to

considerations that are inexplicable, transient, and

unrelated to the merits of the matter (capricious), or

that turn on considerations that cannot be credited

as appropriate bases for decision (abuse of discretion,

such as, for example, if the Federal Communications

Commission decided to grant broadcast licenses only

to Commissioners’ relatives). See, e.g., Cass, Auer

Deference, supra at 539. The concluding phrase of

§ 706(2)(A), telling courts to set aside decisions “other-

wise not in accordance with law” cannot be read as

authorizing significant further review without violat-

ing basic rules of statutory construction and making

the rest of the section redundant.

The standards set forth in § 706(2)(A) do not contem-

plate reconsideration of the merits of policy choices,

only their fit with basic criteria for reasoned decision.

See, e.g., U.S. Department of Justice, Attorney General’s

Manual on the Administrative Procedure Act 108

(1947) (Attorney General’s Manual) (explaining APA’s

consistency with prior law; APA provision for judicial

review “does not empower a court to substitute its

discretion for that of an administrative agency”).

Commentary on behalf of the Attorney General at the

time of APA’s enactment emphasized that substitut-

ing judicial for administrative discretion would depart

from prior law, result in the courts exercising execu-

tive authority, and violate the constitutional allocation

of powers. See id., at 105-08. Even writings expressing

skepticism of the Attorney General’s Manual as a neutral

presentation of the law, see, e.g., George B. Shepherd,

Fierce Compromise: The Administrative Procedure Act

Emerges from New Deal Politics, 90 Nw. U. L. Rev.

1557, 1682-83 (1996), do not provide reason to believe

13

that the APA approved substitution of judicial for

administrative discretion on policy matters.

Thus, under the APA (and similar statutes), judicial

review of policy decisions should not be subject either

to the de novo review appropriate for issues of law that

are in the courts’ domain or to review that is so

intensive that it effectively becomes de novo review.

See, e.g., Cass, Rethinking, supra at 1314-15; Merrill

& Hickman, supra at 836; Strauss, supra at 1145-50.

Indeed, past decisions suggest a line of demarcation

for judicial review far short of that result. See, e.g., Fox

Television Stations, 556 U.S. at 511-14; Brand X, 545

U.S. at 981, 989; Smiley, 517 U.S. at 740-47; Webster

v. Doe, 486 U.S. 592, 600-01 (1988) (Webster); Chaney,

470 U.S. at 831-35.

B. Courts’ Role in Reviewing Discretion-

ary Agency Action under the APA Is

Strictly Limited.

The decision below purports to apply the review

provisions embodied in the APA, 5 U.S.C. §§ 701-706.

See SDNY Decision, at 194-253. The SDNY Decision

describes the course of events that led to the chal-

lenged administrative action in great detail. It recites

extensively the various considerations advanced by

interested parties and by public officials. Yet the tenor

of the court’s recitation of these considerations, and

its subsequent disposition of parties’ claims, indicates

that the court substituted judicial judgment for admin-

istrative judgment.

The question presented here, however, is whether

§ 706(2)(A) can be read to provide for the sort of

searching review evident in the SDNY Decision, and,

if so, whether that can co-exist with accepted legal and

constitutional standards. In the view of amici, the

14

lower court’s decision seriously misapplies § 706(2)(A)

of the APA, contravening limitations on judicial review

contained in the APA and long recognized by this

Court. See, e.g., Fox Television Stations, 556 U.S. at

511-14; Smiley, 517 U.S. at 740-47 (1996); Webster,

486 U.S. at 600-01; Chaney, 470 U.S. at 831-35;

Federal Communications Commission v. National

Citizens Committee for Broadcasting, 436 U.S. 775,

813—14 (1978) (Citizens Committee); American Trucking

Associations v. United States, 344 U.S. 298, 314-15

(1953) (Trucking Associations).

There is no question that the action challenged in

this litigation is properly subject to review under APA

§ 706(2)(A), as it is action for which the Secretary of

Commerce exercises discretionary authority under stat-

utory instructions. Responsibility for the decennial

census is constitutionally assigned to Congress, see

U.S. Const., art. I, sec. 2, cl. 3, and responsibility for

conducting the census is delegated to administrators

by law. Congress first assigned that function to mar-

shals. See Census Act of 1790, 1 Stat. 101. Currently,

the responsibility for conducting the census and mak-

ing decisions in support of that task resides with the

Department of Commerce. See Census Act of 1954, 68

Stat. 1012, 13 U.S.C. §§ 1 et seq. The law provides

broad discretion to the Secretary of Commerce. See,

e.g., id. at §§ 4, 141. That discretion undoubtedly

includes authority to select the questions asked in the

decennial census. The Secretary’s discretion is not so

broad as to bar any review under the APA’s declara-

tion that its review provisions do not apply “to the

extent that” matters are “committed to agency discre-

tion by law.” 5 U.S.C. § 701(a)(2). But the discretion

granted to the Secretary of Commerce plainly is broad

enough that his action is appropriately reviewed

under APA § 706(2)(A).

15

Section 706(2)(A) was designed as a check on misuse

of administrative discretion, see, e.g., Ronald A. Cass,

Colin S. Diver, Jack M. Beermann & Jody Freeman,

Administrative Law: Cases and Materials 126-27 (7th

ed. 2016); Trucking Associations, 344 U.S. at 314—15.

The limited nature of such review was clearly under-

stood in cases that preceded the APA and many decided

following the APA’s enactment. See, e.g., Citizens

Committee, 436 U.S. at 813-14; Trucking Associations,

344 U.S. at 314-15; Pacific States Box & Basket Co. v.

White, 296 U.S. 176, 185-86 (1935); Attorney General’s

Manual, supra at 105-08. That understanding has

been reaffirmed more recently as well. See, e.g., Fox

Television Stations, 556 U.S. at 511-14.

However, the court below condurted the | »(icial

review function in a manner more akin to de novo

review than to the review provided for under that APA

section. The district court effectively compares the

administrator’s judgments leading to and supporting

the action taken to the court’s own view of better

judgments, ones more sensitive to concerns that reso-

nate with the district judge and that balance costs and

benefits in a manner more congenial to the judge. See

SDNY Decision, at 225-45.

Despite the care taken in delineating reasons for

preferring a different set of evaluations to those made

by the Secretary of Commerce, the district court’s

approach seriously misunderstands the standard for

review in APA § 706(2)(A). See, e.g., Fox Television

Stations, 556 U.S. at 511-14; Smiley, 517 U.S. at 740-

47 (1996). The skepticism of the court below respecting

all aspects of the administrative decision permeates

the court’s discussion, including discussion of the

administrative action’s consistency with APA § 706(2)(A),

underscoring the intrusive nature of the court’s review.

16

Perhaps, the court below was misled by statements

in decisions such as Citizens to Preserve Overton Park

v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 402, 416 (1971) (Overton Park),

respecting the need for an inquiry that is “searching

and careful,” to support review that goes well beyond

assuring that exercises of discretionary authority are

not arbitrary or capricious or an abuse of discretion.

See, e.g., SDNY Decision, at 197. The decision below

seems to give weight to that statement, even though

Overton Park also cautioned that the “standard of

review is a narrow one.” Overton Park, 401 U.S. at 416.

Even if the decision below is not entirely guided by this

Court’s decision in Overton Park, the special circum-

stances in that case merit emphasis along with

instruction that the appropriate standard of review for

arbitrariness, capriciousness, or abuse of discretion

insists on congruence with standards of reason that

are within the bounds of statutory command, not on

consistency with reviewers’ preferences.

The lower court’s misunderstanding presents a

special difficulty when applied to a matter of great

public import; even more relevant to the interests of

amici, it threatens to undermine the division between

courts’ role and the role constitutionally assigned to

the political branches. Cf. Trump v. Hawaii, slip op. at

5-10 (Thomas, J., concurring) (discussing threat to

constitutional structure from judicial remedies that

unduly intrude into decisions committed to political

branches). Sensitivity to the importance of this divid-

ing line—to the separation of powers that is central to

constitutional structures—is visible in numerous cau-

tions from this Court respecting the limits of judicial

review. See, e.g., Trump v. Hawaii, maj. op., slip op. at

30-32; Webster, 486 U.S. at 600-01; Chaney, 470 U.S.

at 830-35; Fiallo v. Bell, 430 U.S. 787, 792, 799 (1977);

Morgan IV, 313 U.S. at 422. The same can be said of

17

standards, such as those in 5 U.S.C. §§ 706(2)(B)4D),

(F), which are less deferential but address matters

within the core competence (and legal assignment) of

the judiciary. See, e.g., Cass, Rethinking, supra at

1313-14. See also Beermann, supra at 788; Farina,

supra at 472-75; Gary S. Lawson, Reconceptualizing

Civevron and Discretion: A Comment on Levin and

Rubin, 72 Chi.-Kent L. Rev. 1377, 1877—78 (1997).

The APA standards of review encompassed in 5

U.S.C. § 706(2)(A)—review to identify “arbitrary” or

“capricious” actions or actions that constitute an “abuse

of discretion”—are narrow, focused, and specific. In

contrast to review for administrative decisions that

contravene constitutional or statutory commands, 5

U.S.C. §§ 706(2)(B), 706(2)(C), the specific instructions

in § 706(2)(A) identify actions that violate basic

requirements of reasoned decision-making. That stand-

ard is plainly consistent with the assignment of

discretion to administrators and with the division of

responsibilities among the branches. See, e.g., Cass,

Auer Deference, supra at 538-39. The decision of the

court below exceeds the scope authorized by APA

§ 706(2)(A).

II. Courts Should Not Seek Extrinsic Evi-

dence of Administrators’ Motives for

Actions Challenged under the APA.

A. Review of Agency Actions under the

APA Focuses on Lawfulness, Including

Basis in Administrative Record, Not on

Motives.

The second question presented—whether the court

below improperly sought and based its decision on

extrinsic information respecting (or from which the

court inferred) the motivations behind the action by

18

the Secretary of Commerce—also presents a matter of

both considerable and increasing importance. The

answer to this question, however, should be entirely

clear: courts should not inquire into official motives,

only into the consistency of official decisions with legal

requirements.

The starting point for evaluation of the issue, as this

Court has stated repeatedly over the past three-

quarters of a century, is the longstanding rule that, in

general, when reviewing agency action, it is “not the

function of the court to probe the mental processes” of

the administrator. Morgan II, 304 U.S. at 18. Three

years after this Court’s decision in Morgan II, in a

continuation of the litigation that first elicited Chief

Justice Hughes’ memorable phrase, this Court repeated

that remonstrance. Justice Frankfurter, writing for

the Court in Morgan IV, observed that seeking to

examine the motivations of an administrator—like

seeking to examine the motivations of a judge—would

be “destructive” of the “responsibility” of the official

whose motivations are the subject of inquiry and

would undermine “the integrity of the administrative

process.” Morgan IV, 313 U.S. at 422.

In particular, this Court has made plain that use of

judicial processes such as hearings and depositions to

inquire directly into the thinking of administrative

decision-makers is inappropriate. That was the focus

of the second of the four Morgan cases decided by this

Court. See Morgan II, 304 U.S. at 18. That is also an

error made by the court below in the instant case. Yet,

this case also presents an opportunity to identify broader

limits on judicial inquiries into official motives.

Justice Frankfurter’s analogy to probing the actual

motivation behind a judicial decision is apt. See

Morgan IV, 313 U.S. at 422. Disappointed litigants

19

and other critics of judicial decisions may be so certain

of the correctness of their position that they greet any

contrary decision with suspicion. Every judge is famil-

iar with speculation that something in the judge’s

background, personal life, religion, or past political

associations explains the real basis for a decision. Yet

appellate courts routinely review lower court decisions

for consistency with the law and do not permit counsel

directly to question a judge about his or her thought

processes leading to a decision or to subpoena law

clerks for similar inquiries.

This Court has stated that the role of a court review-

ing administrative actions is comparably circumscribed.

Courts properly look at the administrative record and

base a judgment on that; they do not hold hearings on

the decision-maker’s thinking about the action taken

or try to deduce that from other extrinsic evidence.

See, e.g., Trump v. Hawaii, maj. op., slip op. at 32—33;

Camp v. Pitts, 411 U.S. 138, 142—43 (1973); Morgan

IV, 313 U.S. at 422; Morgan II, 304 U.S. at 18.

In general, the appropriate judicial inquiry asks

whether the official who has taken the challenged

administrative action can offer an explanation stating

considerations that either plausibly or rationally

support the action taken. See, e.g., Trump v. Hawaii,

maj. op., slip op. at 32—34. As a rule, a contention that

an official has offered reasons in support of an action

as mere pretexts to obscure an inappropriate basis for

action, such as bias in favor of one party or against

another party, will not be entertained. That is true

both in the context of APA challenges to decisions that

are largely within the deciding official’s discretion and

in the context of challenges under other auspices, such

as claims predicated on constitutional violations for

which plaintiffs assert a cause of action implied in the

20

constitutional right. See, e.g., Ziglar v. Abbasi, 137

S.Ct. 1843 (2017).

This Court has recognized exceptional cases in

which claims have been accepted that “it is impossible

to ‘discern a relationship to legitimate state interests,’

or that the policy is inexplicable by anything but

animus.” Trump v. Hawaii, maj. op., slip op. at 33

(quoting Romer v. Evans, 517 U.S. 620, 632, 635 (1996)

(Romer)). Those are cases involving actions that this

Court said “lack any purpose other than a ‘bare...

desire to harm a politically unpopular group.” Trump

v. Hawaii, maj. op., slip op. at 33 (quoting Department

of Agriculture v. Moreno, 413 U.S. 528, 534 (1973)

(Moreno)).

This is an extremely narrow category of cases and

an exception not applicable here. Yet, even in these

cases, the sort of inquiries conducted by the court

below—seeking evidence that the explanations given

were in fact pretextual—would be unacceptable.

Expanding this narrow category of cases such as

Romer and Moreno to cases such as the instant case

would threaten to convert routine disputes over gov-

ernment policy into debates over the bona fides of the

decision-makers.

As Justice Frankfurter’s analogy to judicial deci-

sions illustrates, the distinction between reviewing a

decision and seeking to divine the motivation of the

decision-maker is essential to maintaining proper

respect for government. Amici, as former government

officials who have been privy to administrative decision-

making in many different contexts, underscore the

destructive nature of inquiries into official motives.

Such inquiries would discourage discussion of poten-

tial acticns among broader groups of officials. Among

other experiences, we have seen first-hand the effects

21

of rules that reduce the privacy of official communica-

tions among principal officers in multi-member agencies:

these rules deter collegial discourse on the most

important agency decisions. Chilling honest dialogue

on important issues among decision-makers impairs

the quality of official decisions and increases the

frictions in and costs of agency operation.

Similar concerns informed the judgment of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit,

announced by Chief Judge Learned Hand some 70

years ago, in Gregoire v. Biddle, 177 F.2d 579 (2d Cir.

1949) (Gregoire). Gregoire sued five federal officials,

including two Attorneys General of the United States,

asserting that his arrest and incarceration were based

on pretext and were in fact motivated by malice. The

circuit decision upheld the suit’s dismissal. Judge

Hand’s opinion sympathized with concerns that officials

not act willfully and maliciously to violate the law and

harm individuals, but explained that those concerns

did not justify burdening the far broader class of

officials who might be called on to justify their motives

in court. See Gregoire, 177 F.2d at 580-81. After

reviewing the precedents, Hand concluded that “it has

been thought in the end better to leave unredressed

the wrongs done by dishonest officers than to subject

those who do their duty to the constant dread of

retaliation.” Jd., at 581.

This case does not involve an assertion of individual

harm of the sort addressed in Gregoire or of personal

malice, nor do plaintiffs seek monetary damages, but

Judge Hand’s concern that subjecting officers to prob-

ing and potentially invasive judicial process would

undermine official functions applies equally in this

case. Based on our decades of experience in govern-

ment, studying government, and teaching and writing

22

about government, amici firmly believe that permit-

ting intrusive judicial inquiries into matters of official

motive would be far more likely to damage effective

government than to promote it.

B. Concerns about Administrative Bias

and Prejudgment Apply in Other Con-

texts and Are Best Addressed through

Other Means.

To be sure, there are legitimate concerns over

prevention of biased or prejudiced decision-making,

which can deprive litigants of rights under the Due

Process clauses of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amend-

ments, as this Court has held in various contexts. See,

e.g., Caperton v. A.T. Massey Coal Co., Inc., 556 U.S.

868 (2009); Gibson v. Berryhill, 411 U.S. 564 (1973);

Ward v. Village of Monroeville, 409 U.S. 57 (1972); Tumey

v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510 (1927). These cases, however,

differ from the present case in several critical respects.

First, the cases in which due process guarantees

were found to be infringed concern individual deter-

minations with direct, immediate impact on the party

advancing the due process objection.’ Second, the

contexts in which this Court has accepted such claims

almost invariably involve bias from personal financial

gain for the decision-maker. Third, the decisions at

issue are individuated adjudications or licensing deci-

sions that effectively constitute such adjudications.

® Gibson v. Berryhill, 411 U.S. 564 (1973), arguably differs in

being a rule-based determination on licensing. However, the

peculiar context of the rule being reviewed, its focus on excluding

practitioners in a single business entity, and its effect on exclud-

ing from the continued practice of optometry the individuals who

brought the challenge makes that case tantamount to the sort of

individual determination at issue in other cases.

23

Where the decisions challenged have been more in

the nature of broader policy determinations, this

Court has rejected due process claims based on a

decision-maker’s policy inclinations, announcements,

and connections. See, e.g., Withrow v. Larkin, 421 U.S.

35 (1975). Similarly, this Court has rejected chal-

lenges based on bias and self-interest where the

financial gain at issue was institutional rather than

personal and a direct personal gain was not shown.

See, e.g., Marshall v. Jerrico, Inc., 446 U.S. 238 (1980).

To the same effect, lower courts typically have rejected

such challenges to administrative proceedings where

the proceeding is not in the nature of an adjudication

or where the asserted ground of bias or prejudgment

comes from extra-record statements and more tenuous

connections. See, e.g., Association of National Advertisers,

Inc. v. Federal Trade Commission, 627 F.2d 1151 (D.C.

Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 447 U.S. 921 (1980) (prejudg-

ment claim in rulemaking rejected); Action for Children’s

Television v. Federal Communications Commission,

564 F.2d 458 (D.C. Cir. 1977) (claim of improper ex

parte contacts in rulemaking rejected).

Most important, courts in these cases did not engage

in direct inquiries into the mental state or motivations

of decision-makers. Concerns over the propriety of

officials’ participation in policy decisions have been

resolved by reference to publicly available information.

See, e.g., Air Transport Association of America, Inc. v.

National Mediation Board, 663 F.3d 476, 488 (D.C.

Cir. 2011) (denying discovery request).

C. Intrusive Inquiries into Official Motives

Impair Perceived Legitimacy of Judi-

cial Processes and Separation of Powers.

Finally, special caution is required before inquiring

into officials’ motives, as that inquiry invites greater

24

intrusion of political considerations into litigation

respecting government actions. In recent years, litiga-

tion has been used as an extension of political conflicts,

with litigants who are politically-selected among the

parties seeking judicial review of administrative actions

presenting legal questions closely related to or identi-

cal to politically-contested issues. This development,

and problems associated with it, have been noted by

judges, scholars, public officials, and news media. See,

e.g., Trump v. Hawaii, slip op. at 5-10 (Thomas, J.,

dissenting); Samuel L. Bray, Multiple Chancellors:

Reforming the National Injunction, 131 Harv. L. Rev.

417, 457—61 (2017); Ronald A. Cass, Nationwide

Injunctions’ Governance Problems: Forum-Shopping,

Politicizing Courts, and Eroding Constitutional Struc-

ture, Geo. Mason Legal Stud. Research Paper No. LS

18-22, Nov. 7, 2018, at 20-32, available at https://www.

usgovernmentspending.com/recent_spending (Nation-

wide Injunctions); Lin, supra, at 634-46; Sarah N.

Lynch, “Attorney General Vows to Fight Nationwide

Injunctions,” Reuters, Sep. 13, 2018, available at

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-usa-justice-courts/

attorney-general-vows-to-fight-nationwide-court-injun

ctions-id USKCN1LT34A; Alan Neuhaus, “State Attorney

Generals Lead the Charge Against President Donald

Trump,” U.S. News & World Rep., Oct. 27, 2017, avail-

able at https://www.usnews.com/news/best-states/arti

cles/2017-10-27/state-attorneys-general-lead-the-char

ge-against-president-donald-trump; Paul Nolette, “State

Attorneys General Have Taken Off as a Partisan Force

in National Politics,” Wash. Post, Oct. 23, 2017,

available at https://)www.washingtonpost.com/news/

monkey-cage/wp/2017/10/23/state-attorneys-general-ha

ve-taken-off-as-a-partisan-force-in-national-politics/?u

tm_term=.e5530ca3bab5b.

25

Lower court inquiries into matters such as officials’

motives for the actions being reviewed exacerbate

problems associated with complaints about politiciza-

tion of judicial process. Questions respecting unstated

motives for official action necessarily require far more

subjective inquiries than does asking whether there is

evidence of arbitrariness or capriciousness or other

grounds specified in the APA. Legal tests that turn on

more subjective judgments at times are appr )priate,

but in general such tests reduce the clarity of decisions

and provide increased scope for considerations apart

from those readily identified with the merits of the

legal dispute. Similar observations underlie calls for

narrower, more certain legal tests and more narrowly

confined sources of decision; these have come from

scholars and jurists of widely divergent views in an

array of disparate contexts. See, e.g., Ronald A. Cass,

The Rule of Law in America 4—20, 28—29 (2001); Albert

Venn Dicey, Introduction to the Study of the Law of the

Constitution 110 (1915 ed.) (1885); Lon L. Fuller, The

Morality of Law 46—94, 209-13 (rev. ed. 1969); Michael

Dorf, Prediction and the Rule of Law, 42 UCLA L. Rev.

651, 689-90 (1995); Antonin Scalia, The Rule of Law

as a Law of Rules, 56 U. Chi. L. Rev. 1175, 1176, 1178—

83 (1989).

Less clarity in the tests applied and a wider set of

materials relevant to decision increases the dispersion

of potential outcomes across decision-makers, reduc-

ing reliability and increasing incentives to seek out

decision-makers who are predicted to be more inclined

toward specific (favored) outcomes. See, e.g., Antonin

Scalia, A Matter of Interpretation: Federal Courts and

the Law 14-41 (Amy Guttman ed., 1997); Cass,

Nationwide Injunctions, supra at 20-27. When the

issues presented for decision or the settings in which

they are presented overlap with political disputes, the

26

incentives for forum-shopping can have especially

pernicious effects. These include changes in the

perceived legitimacy of judicial decisions and their

potential intrusion into responsibilities committed to

other branches of government.

The overlap between concerns about political char-

acterization of decisions and the use of legal tests that

permit inquiry into decision-makers’ motivations is

starkly illustrated by the decision below. The district

court went through the administrative record and

extrinsic evidence adduced in lower court proceedings

to discern whether political considerations played a

part in the Secretary of Commerce’s decision to add a

question to the 2020 decennial census. See SDNY

Decision, at 26-102, 204-07. The decision suggests

that they did, finding that the real reasons for the

Secretary's action were hidden from the court, were

unrelated to his stated rationale, and produced a bias

so strong that he could not rationally consider the

effects of his decision. id. at 245-53. Yet, even a

sincere effort to deduce the motivations of a decision-

maker is an exercise in guesswork. Different reviewers

of the same record easily can reach different

conclusions.

Uneven application of less-constraining legal tests,

the potential for application of such tests to vary across

courts, and the potential for politically-connected

litigants to seek out specific courts to decide legal

questions that have political significance, together

threaten to undermine confidence in our courts. See,

ec. , Bray, supra at 457-61; Cass, Nationwide Injunc-

tions, supra at 20-32; Lin, supra at 634—46; Nolette,

supra. Those concerns provide an additional reason to

restate the understanding that inquiries into decision-

makers’ motives are strongly disfavored, especially if

27

accomplished through trial proceedings designed to

adduce information not in the written record. Inquiry

into motives leads to unnecessary friction with other

branches of government and to questions about the

role of the courts. Those inquiries are not only contrary

to law but at odds with fundamental precepts of

constitutional structure as well.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the district court should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

RONALD A, CASS

Counsel of Record

CASS & ASSOCIATES, PC

10560 Fox Forest Drive

Great Falls, VA 22066-1743

(703) 438-7590

roncass@cassassociates.net

Counsel for Amici Curiae

March 6, 2019

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.