Amicus Curiae Brief — Rucho v. Common Cause, 139 S. Ct. 1316 (2019) (No. 18-422)
Supreme Court brief2019
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
No. 18-422
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
a
ROBERT RUCHO, ET AL.,
Appellants,
-——V.-—-
COMMON CAUSE, ET AL.,
Appellees.
ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF NORTH CAROLINA
BRIEF OF COLLEAGUES OF
PROFESSOR NORMAN DORSEN
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF APPELLEES
BURT NEUBORNE
Counsel of Record
40 Washington Square South
New York, New York 10012
(212) 998-6172
burt.neuborne@nyu.edu
Attorney for Amici Curiae
Colleagues of Professor
Norman Dorsen
i
QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether an extreme partisan gerrymander that
intentionally pre-selects the overwhelmingly likely
winner in each of North Carolina’s 13 Congressional!
Districts violates the First Amendment by:
1. discriminating of the basis of viewpoint;
2. imposing depressed levels of campaign fund-
ing, speech, and electoral activity typically
associated with non-competitive elections; and
3. denying voters of all political stripes the ability
to exercise a meaningful personal choice over
who is to represent them in the legislature?
TABLE OF CONTENTS
PAGE
QUESTION PRESENTED ................. i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ................ iv
INTEREST OF AMICI .... 1.0.2.0 cece eneees l
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .............. 2
ARGUMENT—
THE FIRST AMENDMENT BARS THE
NORTH CAROLINA LEGISLATURE
(1) DISCRIMINATING ON THE BASIS OF
VIEWPOINT IN DRAWING VIRTUALLY
UNCONTESTABLE DISTRICT LINES
CONCEDEDLY DESIGNED TO FAVOR
A SINGLE POLITICAL PARTY;
(2) LOCKING AS MANY VOTERS AS
POSSIBLE INTO VIRTUALLY UNCON.
TESTABLE ELECTION DISTRICTS
CHARACTERIZED BY DEPRESSED AND
UNEQUAL LEVELS OF CAMPAIGN
SPENDING, DIMINISHED LEVELS OF
POLITICAL SPEECH AND ASSOCIATION,
AND DISAPPOINTING LEVELS OF
VOTER PARTICIPATION; AND
(3) DENYING NORTH CAROLINA
VOTERS A MEANINGFUL PERSONAL,
CHOICE CONCERNING WHO WILL
REPRESENT THEM IN CONGRESS
Introduction and Factual Summary........ 7
ii
PAGE
1. The Legal Background of
Challenges to Excessive
Partisan Gerrymandering ........... 13
2. Extreme Partisan Gerrymandering
Violates the First Amendment
Bewality Primeiphe ......cccccccsccces 18
3. Extreme Partisan Gerrymandering
Inevitably Degrades the Quantity
and Quality of Intensely Protected
ss Joc eccencecsseses 22
4. Extreme Partisan Gerrymandering
Unconstitutionally Degrades a Voter's
First Amendment Right to Play a
Significant Role in Choosing the
Agent Who Will Speak for the Voter
BP He IE c vccwccascccusccecs 28
EY eucdscnctenceccusnacccaeceds 33
Appendix Describing Amici Curiae ........ la
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
PAGE(S)
Cases
Anderson v. Celebrezze,
RE 6, 31
Arizona Free Enterprise Club v. Bennett,
ee Ce PEE EEE ho cccsccvssdeveere passim
Arkansas Writers’ Project v. Ragland,
ee i ee ek novo 20
Baker v. Carr
PE, 5 cnc cnecaccebcoces 17, 19
Benisek v. Lamone,
Se ET ED, . nv vcccccceccccees 15, 16
Board of Estimate v. Morris,
ee es I Ic ob vo cccccceccccccnce 18
Buckley v. Valeo,
I i sseene passim
Burdick v. Takushi,
ER 3, 29, 30
California Democratic Party v. Jones,
ee ey OE I, vivo ccccceccoccevcves 18
Carey v. Brown,
ee ee Ns clive ceccescccevecs 19
Citizens United v. FEC,
ee ec eeocoes passim
Common Cause v. Rucho,
318 F. Supp.3d 777
ne 17, 18
Davis v. Bandemer,
ey eo cc coueans
Davis v. Federal Election Commission,
ee Ss Pn cccoccccocvescce
Dunn v. Blumstein,
ee
Gaffney v. Cummings,
ee PIN, oc cvcceccscstace
Gill v. Whitford,
138 S. Ct. 1916 (2018) ..............
Harper v. Virginia Bd of Elections,
383 U.S. 663 (1966).................
Kramer v. Union School District,
SOG UB. GB CIGBR)... ccccccccccces
Kusper v. Pontikes,
Se IN aces ci nveseseese
PAGE(S)
... 3, 5, 22
seus 31
Lamb’s Chapel v. Center Moriches Union
Free School District,
ee See I CDs vcccccccccccsces
Lamone v. Benisek,
eS sebepens
LULAC ov. Perry,
es IED, wc ccocecccsveces
McCutcheon v. FEC,
Ss MINED vcccccecesvecses
Miami Herald v. Tornillo,
ee EE, ccucchssccecvecs
vi
PAGE(S)
Minneapolis Star & Tribune v. Minnesota
Comm 'r of Revenue,
ee Ey so vcvcecovceeess esses 19
O’Brien v. United States,
Se Se ck cnccctesvecbdecstees 32
Police Dep't of Chicago v. Mosley,
ee ys Us icc cdvrtesceasdéevsbac 5, 19
RAV v. City of St. Paul,
ee Cs ss 00 vue 0s dastunecsees 20
Reynolds v. Sims,
er ee I, ccc pinccckepsuacaune 17
Rosenberger v. University of Virginia,
SEP Wes Oe GRD cv cccccccccsve 3, 19, 20, 21
Terry v. Adams,
8 ee eee passim
Texas v. Johnson,
ee Ce Be ls xc vccdccevevacessses 32
Vieth v Jubelirer,
ee CE EEE oc vevcenucsvuewenan passim
Virginia v. Black,
fe GS | ee 20
Wesberry v. Sanders,
gk a re 3, 30
Whitney v. California,
ee Ce ee Es ip occcccccevcecnsens 29
Widmar v. Vincent,
ee es CE » cko vb cderckeakeunee 19
PAGE(S)
Williams v. Rhodes,
ee 6, 31
Statutes
Voting Rights Act of 1965, § 2.................... 15
Constitutional Provisions
ee IIS cicecccccccccscecees passim
The Fourteenth Amendment.............. passim
The United States Constitution,
EET ee 6
Other Authorities
Vincent Blasi, The First Amendment and
the Idea of Civic Courage: The Brandeis
Opinion in Whitney v. California,
29 Wm & Mary L. Rev. 653 (1988) ...... 29
Donald A. Debats, How America Voted: By
Voice, and How the Other Half Voted:
The Party Ticket States, available at
sociallogic.iath. virginia.edu
(University of Virginia)................. 32
Heather K. Evans, Competitive Elections and
Democracy in America: The Good, the
Bad, and the Ugly (2014) ............... 10
L. E. Fredman. The Australian Ballot:
The Story of an American Reform
(Michigan State University Press,
ir ee eee se ceeseeces 32
PAGE(S)
Elmer C. Griffith, The Rise and Development
of the Gerrymander (1907) .............. 11
Gary C. Jacobson, The Electoral Origins of
Divided Government: Competition in
U.S. House Elections, 1946-1988........ 10
Kenneth Karst, Equality as a Central
Principle of the First Amendment,
43 U. Chi. L. Rev. 20 (1975) ............ 5
Keena Lipsitz, Competitive Elections and
the American Voter
RN Ee re eee 10
David R. Mayhew, Congressional Elections:
The Case of the Vanishing Marginals,
6 Polity 295, 304 (1974)................. 10
Vann Newkirk II, How Redistricting Became
a Technological Arms Race, The Atlantic
(Oct. 28, 2017), available at https://www.
theatlantic.com/politics/archive/2017/10/
gerr-ymandering-technology -redmap-
EE ie ee lbuuedeathesess « 11
Bertrall Ross, Partisan Gerrymandering,
the First Amendment, and the Political
Outsider, 118 Colum. L. Rev. 2187
cacdnteduunavednosscsateddéhsessooys 27
http://cookpolitical.com/introducing -2017-
cook -political-report-partisan-voter-
DET SuGskedbbebnvedshedds dhnebeonneds<s 10
https://www.politico.com/20 1 4-election/
results/map/house/north-carolina/
FF Bapteance eis ie 8
ix
PAGE(S)
https://www.politico.com/20 16-election/
results/map/house/north-carolina/ ...... 8
https://www.politico.com/election-
results/2018/north-carolina/ ............ 8
https://www.reuters.com/article/us-usa-
shutdown-mcconnell/senate-will-not-
consider-house-democratic-bills-to-end-
shutdown-republican-mcconnell-
rn in diuguchencteces 25
https://www.wral.com/north-carolina-election-
results/17944806/?group=judges ........ 9
1
INTEREST OF AMICI
Amici, more fully described in an Appendix
following this brief, were colleagues of Professor
Norman Dorsen, who died peacefully on July 1,
2017.' Professor Dorsen devoted his career to the
teaching, study and passionate defense of the
United States Constitution. His academic career
at NYU School of Law spanned fifty-six years,
from 1961-2017, culminating as Frederick I. and
Grace A. Stokes Professor of Constitutional Law,
Co-Director of the Arthur Garfield Hays Civil
Liberties Program, and Counsellor to the
President of New York University. Professor
Dorsen’s tireless defense of the United States
Constitution included distinguished service from
1969-1991 as General Counsel and then President
of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU).
In the months preceding his death, Professor
Dorsen was engaged in preparing material for
submission to this Court opposing the cons-
titutionality of excessive partisan’ gerry-
mandering, which he viewed as a paramount
threat to American democracy. Sadly, Professor
Dorsen died before completing his work. Amici
! Blanket consents to the filing of briefs amici curiae
herein have been filed with the Clerk of the Court by all
parties. Counsel represents, pursuant to Rule 37.6, that no
party, or counsel for a party, has played a role in the
drafting or preparation of this brief amici curiae; nor did
any person or entity other than amici contribute financially
to the drafting, preparation, or filing of this brief. This
brief reflects the personal views of amici and does not
purport to express the views of New York University School
of Law, or of any other entity or institution.
2
have pledged, in his memory, to complete
Professor Dorsen’s unfinished project.
Amici submitted a brief amici curiae in Gill v.
Whitford, No. 16-1165 (June 18, 2018) reflecting
many of Professor Dorsen’s ideas. Since the
constitutional issues posed by extreme partisan
gerrymandering are, once again, before the Court
in this appeal, amici, with the blanket consent of
all parties, respectfully submit this brief amici
curiae further developing Professor Dorsen’s ideas
in the hope that the Court will find it of assistance
in confronting the challenge to American democracy
posed by uncontrolled partisan gerrymandering.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
Until very recently, most constitutional
challenges to extreme partisan gerrymandering
have focused on its unconstitutionally corrosive
effect on equality and fair political repre-
sentation, enabling a transient electoral majority
to acquire, exercise, and entrench legislative
power significantly in excess of its electoral
support in the relevant community. Faced with
highly plausible claims that extreme partisan
gerrymandering violates the guaranty of equal
protection of the laws codified in the 14%
Amendment, this Court has repeatedly recognized
the practice’s unfair and pernicious effects. for
more than three decades, this Court has struggled
to develop manageable judicial standards that, in
the view of a majority of the Court, would enable
judges to determine when politically gerry-
mandered voting and representation is so unfair
as to become unconstitutionally unequal. E.g.,
3
Davis v. Bandemer, 478 U.S. 109 (1986); Vieth v
Jubelirer, 541 U.S 267 (2004); LULAC vu. Perry,
548 U.S. 299 (2006).
As Justice Anthony Kennedy recognized in his
concurrence in Vieth, however, the constitutional
harms imposed by extreme partisan’ gerry-
mandering do not stop at the Equal Protection
Clause. 541 U.S. at 314. See also Gill v. Whitford,
138 S. Ct. 1916, 1934 (2018) (Kagan, J.,
concurring, joined by Ginsburg, Breyer, and
Sotomayor, JJ). In addition to being uncon-
stitutionally unequal under the 14° Amendment,
extreme partisan gerrymandering violates three
strands of First Amendment doctrine: (1) the First
Amendment equality principle that forbids
government, in the absence of a compelling
justification, from discriminating on the basis of
viewpoint, or treating similarly-situated speakers
differently, E.g., Rosenberger v. University of
Virginia, 515 U.S. 819 (1995) (viewpoint); Citizens
United v. Federal Elections Commission, 558 U.S.
310 (2010) (speaker); (2) the ban on government
regulation likely to depress the level of protected
First Amendment activity, especially in an
electoral context. E.g., Arizona Free Enterprise
Club v. Bennett, 564 U.S. 721 (2011); Davis v.
Federal Election Commission, 554 U.S. 724 (2008);
and (3) a voter's First Amendment right to
exercise a meaningful personal choice over who
will speak for the voter in the halls of legislative
power. Terry v. Adams, 345 U.S. 466 (1953);
Wesberry v. Sanders, 376 U.S. 1, 17 (1964). See
also Burdick v. Takushi, 504 U.S. 428, 446-49
(1992) (Kennedy, J., dissenting).
While natural sorting of the population into
contiguous homogeneous political groupings may
4
make it unduly difficult to draw genuinely
contestable electoral districts in certain areas, in
settings like North Carolina, a “swing state,”
where it is eminently feasible to draw district
lines rendering the majority of Congressional
elections genuinely contestable, the First
Amendment does not tolerate a_ carefully
gerrymandered electoral map that discriminates
on the basis of viewpoint and locks voters into
rigged elections where everyone believes that the
highly probable winners and losers have been pre-
selected by officials wielding state power.
Judicially manageable, generally accepted
metrics exist in the political science literature
that assess the probable contestability of a given
election. Briefly put, measured at the comm-
encement of an election campaign, districts
displaying a 60/40 partisan spread are deemed
uncontestable “landslide” districts; a 55/45
partisan spread creates a virtually uncontestable
“safe” district; 54/46 and 53/47 districts tilt in
favor of one candidate, but are, nevertheless,
“contestable;” while 52/48 districts are statistical
ties deemed “swing” districts. ?
Appellants challenge the accuracy of the
predictive literature described infra in _ n.7,
pointing out, correctly, that it failed to predict fut-
ure electoral contestability in Vieth. Appellants’
Br. at 45. But appellants confuse the difference
between absolute certainty and overwhelming
probability. A day of rain in the desert does
nothing to counteract the overwhelming likelihood
that the next day will be dry. Most importantly,
2 See infra at n.7 for a brief description of the political
science literature underlying the classifications.
5
since the predictive accuracy of the contestability
classifications is widely accepted by both political
leaders and voters alike, a widespread belief
exists, borne out by common sense and experience,
that in the overwhelming majority of elections
neither “landslide” nor “safe” districts are
genuinely contestable. Cf. Buckley v. Valeo, 424
U.S. 1, 26 (1976) (recognizing the importance of
“appearance” in regulating electoral behavior).
(1)
Extreme partisan gerrymandering is a
paradigm violation of the First Amendment duty
to treat viewpoints and _ similarly-situated
speakers equally. Police Dep't of Chicago v.
Mosley, 408 U.S. 92 (1972). See generally,
Kenneth Karst, Equality as a Central Principle of
the First Amendment, 43 U. Chi. L. Rev. 20 (1975).
The very purpose and effect of an extreme
partisan gerrymander is to disadvantage and
frustrate the speech, association, and electoral
efforts of a disfavored political grouping.
(2)
By pre-ordaining the highly probable electoral
outcome, extreme partisan gerrymandering sucks
the proverbial First Amendment oxygen out of the
campaign process, creating a series of non-
competitive electoral boxes within which the level
of campaign spending, speech and association is
necessarily depressed by the widespread belief
that all the speech and association in the world is
highly unlikely to alter the outcome of a rigged
election. Arizona Free Enterprise Club v. Bennett,
564 U.S. 721 (2011); Davis v. Federal Election
Commission, 554 U.S. 724 (2008).
6
(3)
At the core of the republican form of government
guaranteed by Article IV, section 4 are the First
Amendment rights of eligible voters to exercise
“an effective voice in the governmental affairs of
their country, state or community.” Terry v.
Adams, 345 U.S. 461, 466 (1953) (quoting from the
5 Circuit’s rejection of the exclusionary
practice). An extreme partisan gerrymander, by
minimizing (even eliminating) the occurrence
of genuinely competitive elections in a given
political unit, unconstitutionally degrades the act
of voting by draining it of much of its political
power. Williams v. Rhodes, 393 U.S. 23, 30 (1968);
Anderson v. Celebrezze, 460 U.S. 780, 789 (1983).
7
ARGUMENT
THE FIRST AMENDMENT BARS THE
NORTH CAROLINA LEGISLATURE FROM:
(1) DISCRIMINATING ON THE BASIS OF
VIEWPOINT IN DRAWING VIRTUALLY
UNCONTESTABLE DISTRICT LINES
CONCEDEDLY DESIGNED TO FAVOR
A SINGLE POLITICAL PARTY;
(2) LOCKING AS MANY VOTERS AS
POSSIBLE INTO VIRTUALLY UNCON-
TESTABLE ELECTION DISTRICTS
CHARACTERIZED BY DEPRESSED AND
UNEQUAL LEVELS OF CAMPAIGN
SPENDING, DIMINISHED LEVELS OF
POLITICAL SPEECH AND ASSOCIATION,
AND DISAPPOINTING LEVELS OF
VOTER PARTICIPATION; AND
(3) DENYING NORTH CAROLINA VOTERS
A MEANINGFUL PERSONAL CHOICE
CONCERNING WHO WILL REPRESENT
THEM IN CONGRESS
Introduction and Factual Summary
The court below was confronted with a ruthless
partisan gerrymander of all 13 of North Carolina's
Congressional Districts that intentionally “packs”
many of the state’s reliably Democratic voters into
three overwhelmingly Democratic “landslide”
districts that, predictably, generate massive
8
pluralities for the Democratic candidate,*® while
carefully spreading most of the state’s reliably
Republican voters over the remaining 10
Congressional districts, so that, in each of those
districts, the Republican candidate, based on
voter registration figures and past voting
patterns, enjoyed at least a 10 percentage point
edge at the commencement of the 2018
Congressional campaign. *
% The three “packed” Democratic “landslide” districts
are the 1*, with a Democratic edge in the last three
Congressional elections of 52, 47, and 40 percent; the 4",
with a Democratic edge in the last three Congressional!
elections of 49, 56, and 35 percent; and the 12", with a
democratic edge in the last three Congressional! elections of
59, 53, and 34 percent. Not surprisingly, in 2018, the
Democratic candidates in the three “landslide” districts
prevailed by landslides of 70/30; 72/24; and 73/27,
respectively. The figures are drawn from https://www.pol
itico.com/2014-election/results/map/house/north-carolina/#
XHQIJC2Z0gQ (last visited February 28, 2019); https:
//www .politico.com/2016-election/results/map/house/north-
carolina/ (last visited February 28, 2019); https://www.
politico.com/election-resulta/2018/north-carolina/ (last vis-
ited February 28, 2019).
4 The ten carefully constructed Republican-leaning
districts are the 2°¢, with a Republican edge of 14, 18, and
13 percent in the last three Congressional elections; the 3",
with a Republican edge 26, 36, and 34 percent; the 5%, with
a Republican edge of 15, 22, and 17 percent; the 6", with a
Republican edge of 22, 17, and 18 percent; the 7%, with a
Republican edge of 22 percent in the last two Congressional!
elections; the 8 with a Republican edge of 30 and 18
percent in the last two Congressional elections; the 9% with
a 16 point Republican edge in the 2016 Congressional!
election; the 10%, with a Republican edge of 14, 22, and 26
percent in the last three Congressional elections; the 11“
with a Republican spread of 15, 26, and 28 percent and the
The conceded purpose and effect of the North
Carolina gerrymander was to pre-determine the
winner in each of North Carolina’s 13
Congressional districts. The plan worked. Despite
polling approximately 50% of the vote in the 2018
statewide elections, all four of which were won
narrowly by Democrats,® Democrats were unable
to dent the Republican wall of 10 “safe” or
“landslide” Congressional seats, leaving the North
Carolina Congressional delegation at 9
Republican-3 Democratic, with one unresolved
election that had apparently been won narrowly
by the favored Republican candidate rendered
void by irregularities in the handling of absentee
ballots.®
The 2018 results did not come as a surprise.
Generally accepted guidelines based on the known
attributes of individual voters comprising the
electorate, such as past voting patterns and party
registration, measure the statistical likelihood
13”, with a Republican edge of 14, 15, and 12 percent. The
figures are drawn from the sources cited in n. 3.
5 The four state-wide races were judicial elections.
According to the official North Carolina vote tabulation,
one state Supreme Court race was won by the Democratic
candidate with 49.6% of the vote. Three state Court of
Appeals races were won by Democratic candidates with
50.8, 48.8, and 48.6% of the vote, respectively. See
https://www.wral.com/north-carolina-election-results/1794
4806/?group=judges (last visited February 28, 2019).
6 North Carolina election official have ordered a new
election in the 9% CD on the basis of mishandling of
absentee ballots. Election day tabulations had indicated a
900-vote victory for the favored candidate.
10
that a given election will be contestable with a
high degree of accuracy.’ As amici have noted,
60/40 election districts are generally viewed as
“landslide” districts that are virtually certain to
elect the favored candidate; 55/45 election
districts are “safe” districts that are highly likely
to elect the favored candidate; 54/46 and 53/47
districts are deemed “contestable,” allowing both
sides to entertain a reasonable hope for victory.
52-48 election districts are “swing” districts where
each candidate has a virtually equal chance to
win.
Thus, a_ well-executed extreme partisan
gerrymander — like the partisan gerrymander of
North Carolina’s 13 Congressional districts before
the Court in this appeal — is nothing less than a
7 A massive political science literature discusses the
relationship between political gerrymandering and
competitive elections. For a useful summary, see Heather
K. Evans, Competitive Elections and Democracy in
America: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly (2014). See also
Keena Lipsitz, Competitive Elections and the American
Voter (U. Pa. Press 2011). See David R. Mayhew,
Congressional Elections: The Case of the Vanishing
Marginals, 6 Polity 295, 304 (1974) (defining as
“reasonably safe” districts in which the majority party
routinely captures 55% or 60% of the vote); see aleo Gary
C. Jacobson, The Electoral Origins of Divided Government:
Competition in U.S. House Elections, 1946-1988, at 26
(“The two thresholds of marginality commonly found in the
literature are 55% and 60% of the vote. Winning candidates
who fall short of the threshold are considered to hold
marginal seats; those who exceed it are considered safe
from electoral threats.”). A popular practical measure, the
Cook PVI, compares “how each district performs at the
presidential level compared to the nation as a whole.”
http://cookpolitical.com/introducing -2017-cook-political-report-
partisan-voter-index (last visited February 28, 2019).
successful conspiracy by a transient electoral
majority to minimize (even eliminate) the
occurrence of genuinely competitive elections in a
political unit. While the art of gerrymandering is
as old as the Republic itself,* its transformation
into a dangerous science rests on three modern
factors: (1) extraordinary advances in technology
making possible the gathering, storage, and
manipulation of a wide swath of information
revealing the political preferences of individual
voters;® (2) the unfortunate polarization of our
political process, motivating political leaders of
both major parties to go to extremes in seeking to
gain short-term electoral advantages over
political rivals, regardless of the long-term harm
to American democracy; and (3) advances in
political science making it possible to calibrate the
likely degree of competitiveness of virtually any
electoral configuration with a high degree of
accuracy. See n. 7, supra.
If one looks forward in time from an intensely
gerrymandered election, one almost always
8 The derivation of the phrase dates from Governor
Elbridge Gerry's effort to draw 1812 electoral lines in
Massachusetts favoring his political allies. In fact, the
practice emerged earlier, when Patrick Henry altered the
electoral lines in the 1788 Virginia Congressional elections
to require James Madison to run against James Monroe.
See Elmer C. Griffith, The Rise and Development of the
Gerrymander (1907).
9 For a summary of technological changes, see Vann
Newkirk Il, How Redistricting Became a Technological
Arms Race, The Atlantic (Oct. 28, 2017), available at
https://www.theatlantic.com/politics/archive/2017/10/ gerr-
ymandering-technology-redmap-2020/543888/ (last visited
February 28, 2019).
12
observes an unfairly skewed legislature that over-
represents the transient electoral majority in
control of the gerrymandering process." If one
looks backward in time, the landscape is littered
with soporific election campaigns characterized by
depressed and unequal levels of campaign
spending, desultory exercises in speech and
association, and disappointing voter turnout.''!
Since rigged election campaigns in intensely
gerrymandered districts are: (1) concededly
intended to distribute electoral benefits and
burdens unfairly on a viewpoint-based basis; (2)
10 The partisan gerrymander before the Court in this
appeal took an evenly divided North Carolina electorate
and intentionally produced a 2016 Congressional!
delegation consisting of 10 Republicans and 3 Democrats,
and a 2018 Congressional delegation of 9 Republicans and
3 Democrats, with one district undecided pending a new
election due to the improper handling of absentee ballots.
'! Applying the generally accepted guidelines measuring
an election's competitiveness, not a single North Carolina
Congressional election district would qualify as “swing” or
“contestable.” Viewing the elections as of the commencement
of the 2018 campaign, the 1*, 3*¢, 4%, 7%, 10%, 11%, and 12%
were at least 60/40 “landslide” districts; and the 2°, 5%, 6”,
8, 9% and 13 were at least 55/45 “safe” districts. Even the
currently undecided 9** CD, where a Democrat almost closed
the “safe” seat gap, appears to have validated the statistical
prediction that the 55/45 favored candidate would win, albeit
by less than one thousand votes. While it is not impossible to
“flip” a “landslide” or a “safe” district, (it may happen in the
9% CD), it happens rarely, usually because of a local scandal,
a national crisis, population shifts, or a surge in the voter
participation of newly enrolled voters. Perhaps most
importantly, landslide and safe districts have the appearance
of inevitability that is fatal to a robust campaign. See
Buckley, 424 U.S. at 28 (recognizing that the “appearance”
of corruption justifies limiting the size of campaign
contributions).
13
naturally characterized by depressed levels of
political activity because they take place against
the widespread belief that all the speech and
association in the world is highly unlikely to affect
the outcome; and (3) destructive of the power of
voters of all political stripes to exercise a
meaningful personal choice over who will serve as
their representatives, the decision by appellants
to lock every Congressional voter in the State of
North Carolina into 13 airless, non-competitive
electoral boxes unconstitutionally burdens the
First Amendment rights of winners and losers
alike.
Accordingly, amici urge the Court to recognize
that the First Amendment bans excessive partisan
gerrymandering in settings where it is eminently
feasible to substitute “swing” or “contestable”
election districts for the steady diet of “landslide”
and “safe” districts produced by partisan political
leaders in full flight from the inconvenience of
competitive elections at the heart of a republican
form of government.
1. The Legal Background of Challenges
to Excessive Partisan Gerrymandering
This is the sixth time that the constitutionality
of political gerrymandering has been before this
Court in a plenary proceeding. Gaffney v.
Cummings, 412 U.S. 735 (1973) (upholding bi-
partisan gerrymandering designed to reflect the
partisan make-up of the electorate); Davis v.
Bandemer, 478 U.S. 109, 132 (1986) (recognizing
that extreme partisan gerrymanders are
unconstitutional when they “consistently degrade
a voter’s...influence on the political process as a
whole.” (plurality opinion of White, Brennan,
14
Marshall and Blackmun, JJ);' Vieth v. Jubelirer,
541 U.S. 267 (2004) (modifying Davis; declining to
consider 14% Amendment-based challenges to
excessive partisan gerrymandering in the absence
of an objective baseline of representative fairness
from which to measure deviation, but holding
open the possibility that a _ judicially
administrable standard may arise under the First
Amendment); LULAC v. Perry, 548 U.S. 299
12 Six members of the Davis v. Bandemer Court ruled
that 14% Amendment-based claims of excessive partisan
gerrymandering pose a justiciable case and controversy.
478 U.S. at 125. The six divided over whether the Indiana
gerrymander before the Court violated the Equal
Protection rights of Democratic voters. Justices White,
Brennan, Marshall and Blackmun held that the evidence
before the District Court did not demonstrate a sufficient
interference with Democratic voters’ ability to play a
significant role in the choice of representatives to
constitute a denial of the equal protection of the laws. 478
U.S. at 129. Justices Powell and Stewart would have
affirmed the District Court's finding of unconstitutionality
based on a showing of a purposeful state effort to
disadvantage Democratic voters that was carried out in
violation of traditional apportionment criteria. 478 U.S. at
176. Justice O'Connor, joined by Chief Justice Burger and
Justice Rehnquist, argued that 14% Amendment partisan
gerrymandering claims posed non-justiciable political
questions. 478 U.S. at 160.
13 Four members of the Vieth Court — Justices Scalia
Chief Justice Rehnquist, and Justices O'Connor and
Thomas — flatly rejected the justiciability of partisan
gerrymandering claims. 541 U.S. at 305. Four Justices —
Justices Stevens, Souter, Ginsburg and Breyer — insisted
that 14% Amendment-based partisan gerrymandering
claims were justiciable, albeit under three differing
standards. 541 U.S. at 326 (Stevens, J); Id. at 346 (Souter
J, joined by Ginsburg, J; and Jd. at 365 (Breyer, J.). Justice
Kennedy cast the swing vote, agreeing that 14%
Amendment-based partisan gerrymandering claims are
15
(2006) (declining to rule on the justiciability of
partisan gerrymandering challenges; rejecting
challenge to mid-census reapportionment;
granting partial relief under Section 2 of the
Voting Rights Act); and Gill v. Whitford, 138 S.
Ct. 1916 (2018) (unanimously vacating and
remanding 14% Amendment equality-based
challenge to statewide partisan gerrymander to
ascertain whether any named-plaintiff suffered a
cognizable injury).'®
non-justiciable in the absence of an objective definition of
political fairness to act as a baseline against which to
measure a given gerrymander, but holding out the prospect
of justiciable First Amendment-based challenges that rest
on the substantive quality of electoral participation. 541!
U.S. at 314.
4 Justice Kennedy, writing for the LULAC Court,
explicitly declined to consider whether partisan
gerrymandering claims are justiciable, continuing the
uncertainty that reigns after Davis and Vieth. 548 U.S. at
423. Two Justices, Chief Justice Roberts and Justice Alito,
ruled that the challengers had failed to provide a judicially -
manageable standard, but declined to consider the issue
generally. 548 U.S. at 492. Two Justices, Scalia and
Thomas, argued that partisan gerrymandering claims are
non-justiciable. 548 U.S. at 511. Four Justices, Stevens,
Souter, Ginsburg and Breyer continued to argue that
partisan gerrymandering claims are justiciable. 548 US. at
447, 485-86, and 492.
1 Two Justices, Thomas and Gorsuch, would have
dismissed rather than remand. 138 S.Ct. at 1941. Four
Justices, Kagan, Breyer, Ginsburg and Sotomayor, issued
a concurring opinion discussing possible justiciable First
Amendment challenges. Id. at 1939-40. A seventh plenary
case, Benisek v. Lamone, 138 S.Ct. 1942 (2018), challenging
a Democratic gerrymander of a single Maryland
Congressional District on First Amendment grounds, was
also disposed of on procedural grounds without
consideration of the merits. The Court, acting per curiam,
16
Until very recently, challengers relied solely on
the 14% Amendment to argue that excessive
partisan gerrymandering generates uncon-
stitutionally distorted representational outcomes
that intentionally deprive a disfavored group of
voters of their fair share of _ electoral
representation."© Challengers have struggled
unsuccessfully for more than three decades to
develop manageable judicial standards acceptable
to the Court’s majority that would enable judges
to determine when politically gerrymandered
representation becomes so skewed as to be
unconstitutionally unfair.'? More recently, as in
unanimously upheld the District court's denial of
preliminary injunctive relief without reaching the merits
because insufficient time existed to alter the district lines
before a forthcoming election. Jd. at 1945. The Maryland
case is once again before the Court on the merits. Lamone
v. Benisek, No 18-726.
‘6 For example, in Davis v. Bandemer, the challengers
complained that the gerrymander of the Indiana state
legislature had enabled the Republican Party to parlay
approximately 48% of the statewide vote into 57 of the 100
seats in the lower house; and approximately 47% of the
statewide vote into 12 of 25 state senate seats. 478 U.S. at
115. In Vieth, one set of plaintiffs challenged only the
statewide representational! distortion without challenging
any particular district. 541 U.S. at 296. One plaintiff
complained of an irregularly drawn district but focused
solely on the representational distortion caused by the
gerrymander. Id at 297. In Gill, the parties were so focused
on statewide representational distortion that they failed to
identify any plaintiff with standing to challenge a
particular election, requiring a remand to explore the
standing issue. 138 S. Ct. at 1933.
'7 In Davis v. Bandemer, six members of the Court
propounded two standards - the plurality asked whether
the gerrymander “consistently degrade[d] a voter's
... influence on the political process as a whole.” 478 U.S.
17
this appeal,'*® challengers have argued that not
only does excessive partisan gerrymandering
unconstitutionally taint the representational
fairness of the ensuing legislature, it violates the
First Amendment in three ways by: (1) flouting
the First Amendment equality principle; (2)
unconstitutionally degrading the quality and
quantity of First Amendment activity associated
with the intensely gerrymandered elections; '* and
at 132. Justices Powell and Stevens asked whether the
gerrymander was an intentional effort to diminish the
representation of a political rival carried out in violation of
traditional districting criteria. Jd. at 185. In Vieth, Justices
Souter and Ginsburg applied a modified Davis plurality
standard, criticizing the lower courts for requiring a
showing that a challenger’s electoral rights had been all!
but extinguished. They would have asked whether electoral
opportunities had been significantly eroded intentionally.
541 U.S. at 347-50. Justice Stevens re-asserted his Davis
standard. Id. at 333. Justice Breyer asked whether the
partisan gerrymander intentionally eroded principles of
representative fairness inherent in American democracy.
Id. at 365. In Gill, the challengers relied on a sophisticated
mathematical model to determine whether a statewide
minority had been “packed” into districts in an intentional
effort to “waste” the electoral significance of their votes.
138 S. Ct. at 1923-24.
18 In this case, the challengers have launched both an
equality-based challenge to representational distortion and
a First Amendment-based challenge to _ electoral
degradation. The three-judge court below accepted both
theories. See Common Cause v. Rucho, 318 F. Supp.3d 777,
800-01 (M.D. N. Car. 2018).
19 A similar decision whether to look forward or
backward from a violation of the one-person one-vote
principle was made by this Court in the cases following
Baker v. Carr 369 U.S. 186 (1962). Baker and Reynolds v.
Sims, 377 U.S. 533 (1964) looked backward to the
malapportioned election, noting the mathematical
18
(3) undermining the power of the ballot by shifting
the real power to choose the winner of an election
to someone other than the eligible voters
themselves. Terry v. Adams, 345 U.S. 461 (1953)
(invalidating shift of power to choose almost
certain winner to private hands); California
Democratic Party v. Jones, 530 U.S. 567 (2000)
(invalidating “blanket” primary giving too much
power to non-party members to select nominee.)
2. Extreme Partisan Gerrymandering
Violates the First Amendment Equality
Principle
The court below recognized that appellants
violated the First Amendment equality principle
by engaging in viewpoint discrimination and
intentionally imposing disparate treatment on
similarly situated speakers. 318 F. Supp. 3d at
935. It is no answer for appellants to argue that
shifting the legal lens from 14 Amendment
equality to First Amendment equality fails to
provide a reasonably objective baseline of fairness
against which to measure an allegedly unequal
gerrymander. Such an argument overlooks a
fundamental analytic difference between a 14‘
Amendment equality challenge, and a challenge
grounded in the First Amendment equality
principle.
As the Court noted in Vieth, a 14% Amendment
equality-based challenge to extreme partisan
disparity in the value of votes cast in a malapportioned
setting. In later one-person one-vote cases, the Court
unanimously declined to hold that a legislature operating
with weighted voting would cure the inequality at the
electoral level. See Board of Estimate v. Morris, 489 U.S.
688 (1989).
19
gerrymandering requires a court to construct a
subjective baseline of electoral fairness against
which to measure an allegedly unconstitutional
deviation. While that process is eminently feasible
in the one-person one-vote context of Baker v.
Carr, 369 U.S. 186 (1962) and its progeny, where
the mathematical value of one person’s vote
provides an objective baseline against which to
measure the mathematical value of a challenger’s
vote, constructing an objective baseline of fairness
has proven elusive in the context of partisan
gerrymandering, where identifying a baseline of
“fair representation” often involves a series of
subjective judgments. But no such analytic
impediment confronts a judge in a_ First
Amendment equality case. Under clearly
established First Amendment doctrine, this Court
has repeatedly held that the _ differential
treatment by the state of viewpoints or similarly-
situated speakers triggers First Amendment strict
scrutiny, without the necessity of constructing a
baseline grounded in a judge’s necessarily
subjective view of fairness. Rosenberger ov.
University of Virginia, 515 U.S. 819 (1995)
(viewpoint); Citizens United v. Federal Elections
Commission, 558 U.S. 310 (2010) (speaker).
20 For additional examples of the enforcement of the
First Amendment equality principle, see Police Dep't of
Chicago v. Mosley, 408 U.S. 92 (1972) (discrimination
between speech about labor and everything else); Carey v.
Brown, 447 U.S. 455 (1980) (same); Widmar v. Vincent, 454
U.S. 263 (1981) (discrimination between religious and
secular apeech) Lamb's Chapel v. Center Moriches Union
Free School District, 508 U.S. 384 (1983) (same);
Minneapolis Star & Tribune v. Minnesota Comm'r of
Revenue, 460 U.S. 575 (1983) (differential treatment of
20
In fact, the only baseline required in a First
Amendment equality case is a description of the
treatment afforded by the state to the favored
viewpoint or speaker. That favorable treatment
then forms the objective baseline against which to
compare the treatment afforded to a disfavored
viewpoint or speaker.
Thus, in Rosenberger v. University of Virginia,
515 U.S. 819 (1995), a state University subsidized
secular student speech but refused to provide
similar support for student speech of a religious
character. In deciding whether the First
Amendment equality principle had been violated,
this Court used as its baseline the University’s
favorable treatment of secular speech and found
that the University was treating speech with a
religious viewpoint less favorably, thereby
triggering First Amendment strict scrutiny. 515
U.S. at 845-46. Similarly, in Citizens United v.
FEC, 558 U.S. 310 (2010), in the wake of Buckley
v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976), federal statutes
permitted flesh-and-blood individuals to make
unlimited independent expenditures seeking to
affect the outcome of a federal election but
absolutely forbade corporations from expending
treasury funds in connection with a campaign for
federal office. In assessing the corporation’s First
Amendment claim, this Court used as its baseline
the favored treatment of individuals and ruled
that since the statute was treating one set of
speakers (corporations), less favorably than
similarly-situated speakers); Arkansas Writers’ Project v.
Ragland, 481 U.S. 221 (1987) (eame); RAV v. City of St.
Paul, 505 U.S. 377 (1992) (viewpoint discrimination);
Virginia v. Black, 538 U.S. 343 (2003) (same).
21
another set of speakers, (individuals), the
corporate ban was reviewable under First
Amendment strict scrutiny. 558 U.S. at 340
(applying First Amendment strict scrutiny).
In this case, the North Carolina legislature has
imposed a massive state-wide gerrymander that
intentionally favors Republican Congressional
candidates and voters over Democratic candidates
and voters by constructing 13 electorates that will,
to the maximum extent possible, allow Republican
voters to elect the largest number of representatives
of their choice, while rendering it difficult or
impossible for disfavored Democratic voters to enjoy
an equal political opportunity for representation.
Applying Rosenberger to the viewpoint
discrimination inherent in the gerrymander, and
Citizens’ United to the dis-parate treatment of
similarly-situated speakers inherent in appellants’
intentional decision to favor adherents of one
political party over another, the objective judicially
manageable baseline in this case is North
Carolina’s highly favorable treatment of Republican
voters, allowing a court readily to determine
whether Democratic voters are being treated
substantially less favorably.
Once such differential viewpoint or speaker-
based treatment is found to exist, classic First
Amendment doctrine set forth in Rosenberger and
Citizens United requires North Carolina to
demonstrate that its decision to treat Republican
and Democratic voters differently is necessary to
advance one or more compelling state interests by
the least drastic means. 558 U.S. at 340. It is, of
course, impossible for North Carolina to meet such
a burden of justification. No legitimate — much
less compelling — state interest exists that can
22
justify the state’s blatant discrimination against
Democratic candidates and voters.
3. Extreme Partisan Gerrymandering
Inevitably Degrades the Quantity and
Quality of Intensely Protected
Electoral Speech
This Court has repeatedly invalidated well-
intentioned efforts to improve the democratic
process because the reform proposal before the
Court would — or even might — depress the
quantity and quality of intensely protected
electoral speech. E.g., Miami Herald v. Tornillo,
418 U.S. 241, 256-57 (1974) ([faced with a duty to
print a reply] the “editors might well conclude
that the safe course is to avoid controversy.” As a
result, [the government-enforced] “right of access
inescapably damages the vigor and limits the
variety of public debate...”); Buckley v. Valeo, 424
U.S. 1 (1974) (campaign spending limits would
depress electoral speech); Citizens United v. FEC,
558 U.S. 310 (2010 (denying corporations the
ability to speak during an election campaign
would deprive voters of potentially valuable
information); Davis v. FEC, 554 U.S. 724 (2008)
(allowing candidates access to relaxed campaign
contribution limits to offset the advantage of
significant campaign spending by an extremely
wealthy opponent might deter the wealthy
candidate from expending money to produce
speech); Arizona Free Enterprise Club v. Bennett,
564 U.S. 721 (2011) (dollar-for-dollar match
invalid because it would deter fundraising, and
thus speech, by the privately-funded candidate);
McCutcheon v. FEC, 572 U.S. 185 (2014)
(invalidating generous cap on total campaign
contributions to federal candidates in a single
23
election cycle because it deterred “full-throated”
electoral speech).
In Arizona Free Enterprise Club v. Bennett, 564
U.S. 721 (2011), Chief Justice Roberts wrote for a
five-justice majority in invalidating an Arizona
public financing program that provided a publicly-
funded candidate with a dollar-for-dollar match of
campaign funds raised by a privately-funded
opponent. The Chief Justice predicted that the
knowledge that each dollar raised privately would
result in a dollar-for-dollar match to the
candidate’s publicly-funded opponent would deter
the level of protected fundraising and expenditure
by privately funded candidates. 564 U.S. at 745-
46. When asked to provide empirical support for
the assertion that Arizona’s matching plan would,
in fact, deter the robust exercise of fundraising
and spending by privately-funded candidates, the
Chief Justice responded:
The burden imposed by the matching fund
provision is evident and inherent in the
choice that confronts privately funded
candidates...we do not need empirical
evidence to determine that the law is
burdensome. 564 U.S. at 745-46
(emphasis added) (citing United States v.
Davis, 554 U.S. at 738-40 (“requiring no
evidence of a burden whatsoever” caused
by differential contribution rules
triggered by massive campaign spending
by an extremely wealthy candidate).
The burden on robust electoral speech and
association imposed by intentionally locking every
Congressional voter in North Carolina into
carefully rigged elections, where the voters
24
believe that their speech, association, and
campaign contributions almost certainly cannot
affect the election’s outcome, is far greater than
the deterrent impact on electoral speech imposed
by the regulations in Tornillo, Davis, and Arizona
Free Enterprise.?' Experience and common sense
teach that elections conducted inside a state-
designed airless box of apparent inevitability are
pale shadows of the real thing. Whenever
government has acted to “chill” the “full-throated”
exercise of First Amendment freedoms in the
context of an election, this Court has condemned
the government action as violative of the First
Amendment. The “evident,” “inherent,” and
“inescapable” “chilling effect” on protected
campaign activity caused by excessive partisan
gerrymandering is no different.
The court below recognized that extreme
partisan gerrymandering sucks the proverbial
*! This Court has held that the reasonable perception
of the electorate is an important measure of First
Amendment applicability. Thus, in Buckley, the Court
upheld the constitutionality of limite on the size of
campaign contributions based on the “appearance” of
corruption inherent in unregulated contributions. 424 U.S.
at 26. The lack of such an “appearance” of corruption
doomed efforts to restrict independent expenditures by
individuals and, eventually, corporations. 424 U.S. at 45.
Similarly, the lack of an appearance of corruption (defined
narrowly as quid pro quo bribery) doomed the generous
ceiling on aggregate campaign contributions in a single
election cycle. McCutcheon, 572 U.S. at 227. The
“appearance” of inevitability perceived by the electorate in
a landslide (60/40) or a “safe” (55/45) district is far more
intense that the diffuse “appearance” of corruption relied
on by this Court in Buckley, Citizens United, and
McCutcheon.
25
First Amendment oxygen out of the electoral
campaign process, leaving a series of airless, non-
competitive electoral boxes inside which campaign
speech and association are inescapably depressed.
No one — not even the pre-ordained winner — can
get terribly excited about competing in a rigged
horse race — or campaigning vigorously in a
legislative election that appears to have the
winner pre-ordained by the state.
In Buckley, the Court invoked the metaphor of
an automobile to explain why campaign spending
should be treated as “pure” speech. Campaign
money to a candidate, the Court reasoned, is the
equivalent of fuel in the driver's gas tank. 424
U.S. at 19, n. 18. When, however, the driver in
Buckley is forced by the state to “compete” in a
race with an apparently preordained winner, how
many people will be interested in buying tickets
to watch it, cheering on the drivers, or paying to
put gas in the loser’s tank?
Fund-raising by both candidates in a rigged
election that appears hopeless is_ inevitably
inhibited and skewed.** The disfavored candidate
22 The chilling effect of perceived inevitability is not
unique to the electoral arena. On January 2, 2019, Senate
Majority Leader Mitch McConnell stated, “The Senate will
not waste its time considering a Democratic bill which
cannot pass this chamber and which the President will not
sign.” https://www.reuters.com/article/us-usa-shutdown-
meconnell/senate-will-not-consider-house-democratic-bills-
to-end-shutdown-republican-mcconnell-idUSKCNIOXOI1I
(last visited February 28, 2019).
23 This Court has repeatedly noted that less campaign
money translates into less campaign speech — with a well-
informed electorate the loser. Buckley, 424 U.S. at 39;
will find it difficult if not impossible to persuade
prospective contributors and independent supp-
orters to expend substantial sums on supporting a
candidate who is almost certainly doomed to lose.
The favored candidate will find it difficult, as well,
to persuade donors or independent supporters to
spend their money on a sure thing, when the funds
could be spent on affecting the outcome in a
genuinely contestable race.
The speech and associational activities™
associated with spirited campaigns for office are
also virtually certain to be depressed. Perceived
pre-ordained losers find it difficult, if not
impossible, to mobilize volunteer support for an
apparently doomed candidacy. Sporadic protests
and resigned calls for change there may be; but
never “full throated speech,” with the quality and
intensity of electioneering powered by a plausible
hope that the election can be won.
Pre-ordained winners suffer, as well. Campaign
organizers will find it difficult or impossible to
motivate complacent supporters who see no
reason to devote substantial time and energy to
supporting a candidate who does not appear need
their support.
Citizens United, 558 U.S. at 333; McCutcheon, 572 U.S. at
197.
24 The Court has defined the First Amendment's
associational right as “that freedom to associate with
others for the common advancement of political beliefs and
ideas” and has ranked it as “a basic constitutional!
freedom.” Kusper v. Pontikes, 414 U.S. 51, 56-57 (1973)
27
Finally, voter participation will plummet.”
Why bother to vote when the outcome appears to
be a foregone conclusion?
it is, of course, no answer to argue that
depressing electoral speech or voting in a
“landslide” or a “safe” district causes little real
harm because speech and voting is highly unlikely
to have much impact in a carefully gerrymandered
district. In fact, imposing a soporific electoral
climate on a political unit risks freezing the
intellectual and political status quo, not merely in
a single election but for the foreseeable future;
and not merely in a single district, but in the
entire gerrymandered region. A diet of extreme
gerrymandering and wuncontestable elections
makes it difficult, if not impossible, to generate
the level of political and intellectual ferment
capable of challenging the status quo. See Bertrall
Ross, Partisan Gerrymandering, the First Amen-
dment, and the Political Outsider, 118 Colum. L.
Rev. 2187 (2018). Just as incumbents cannot be
beaten unless challengers are free to raise enough
money to mount a substantial challenge, the
intellectual and political status quo risks being
frozen in place in the absence of a robust free
25 North Carolina, a swing state where statewide races
for Presidential electors and the governorship enjoy a
relatively high voter turnout in excess of 50%, sometimes
reaching 60%, experiences extremely low voter turnouts in
connection with its highly predictable gerrymandered
Congressional elections. In 2018, while the nationwide
turnout in the Congressional election was 58%, not a single
gerrymandered North Carolina Congressional election
reached 50% of the eligible electorate. See supra n. 3 for
2018 North Carolina voting results.
28
market in ideas associated with competitive
elections.
Whenever government has acted to “chill” the
“full-throated” exercise of First Amendment
freedoms in the context of an election, this Court
has condemned the government action as violative
of the First Amendment. The “evident,”
“inherent,” and “inescapable” “chilling effect” on
protected campaign activity caused by excessive
partisan gerrymandering is no different.
4. Extreme Partisan Gerrymandering
Unconstitutionally Degrades a Voter’s
First Amendment Right to Play a
Significant Role in Choosing the Agent
Who Will Speak for the Voter in the
Legislature
This Court has recognized that voters are
entitled under the Constitution to exercise “an
effective voice in the governmental affairs of their
country, state or community.” Terry v. Adams, 345
U.S. 461, 466 (1953) (rejecting the idea that
casting a formal vote is the equivalent of
exercising a meaningful choice). When, as here,
the electorate has been artificially constructed by
the state so that the overwhelmingly likely
winners and losers are never in serious doubt,
voting itself is intentionally degraded from a
powerful instrument of individual choice to an
after-the-fact acknowledgment of a fait accomplis.
The votes cast for a pre-ordained losing
candidate are more accurately characterized as
expressions of protest than as “effective” exercises
29
in political power. The pre-ordained winners’
votes are downgraded from “an effective voice in
the affairs of their country, state or community”
into gestures of acquiescence in an electoral choice
already made for them by the state.”’
In Burdick v. Takushi, 504 U.S. 428 (1992), the
Court rejected the idea that voting was an
exercise of “pure speech.” 504 U.S. at 432-33.
Amici believe that the expansive definition of
“pure speech” adopted by the Court in many other
electoral settings calls the Burdick holding into
question. It is, to say the least, anomalous to grant
First Amendment protection to virtually every
form of electoral activity leading up to the
climactic moment of casting an informed ballot,
but to withdraw First Amendment protection from
the act of speech and association at the core of the
casting a ballot.
26 Protest votes in rigged elections are, of course, not
worthless. As Justice Brandeis taught us in his concurrence
in Whitney v. California, 274 U.S. 357, 377 (1927), they are
important as assertions of self-definition and human
dignity; but they are far from an exercise of genuine self-
government based on informed choice that rests at the core
of representative democracy and a republican form of
government. See Vincent Blasi, The First Amendment and
the Idea of Civic Courage: The Brandeis Opinion in Whitney
vu. California, 29 Wm & Mary L. Rev. 653 (1988).
27 It is no answer to claim that the winning voter may
have had an opportunity to exercise choice during the
nomination process, which is often riddled with obstacles
that include closed primaries in many states, some with
durational waiting requirements as long as 11 months;
financial barriers; ballot access restrictions; and low
turnouts. In any event, a primary is an adjunct to an
election, not a substitute for it.
30
It is, however, unnecessary to overrule Burdick
to recognize that extreme partisan gerry-
mandering robs voters of a genuine “choice in the
election of those who make the laws under which,
as good citizens, they must live.” Wesberry v.
Sanders, 376 U.S. 1, 17 (1964). As Justice Black
concluded in Wesberry: “Other rights, even the
most basic, are illusory if the right to vote is
undermined.” All nine members of the Burdick
court agreed that the ability to exercise an
“effective choice” is at the constitutionally
protected core of casting a ballot. 504 U.S. at 430.
What divided the Court in Burdick was whether
Hawaii's refusal to permit voters to cast write-in
ballots unconstitutionally eroded that choice.
Writing for six members of the Court, Justice
White reasoned that Hawaii's extremely liberal
ballot access laws assured voters the ability to
exercise a wide and effective choice. 504 U.S at
438-39. Justice Kennedy, joined by Justices
Stevens and Blackmun, dissented, arguing that
write-in ballots were an important aspect of
exercising a voter's free choice. 504 U.S. at 442.
Amici believe that all nine members of the
Burdick court would have agreed that voting in
election districts where the outcomes have been
almost certainly pre-ordained by the legislature
could not be called an “effective exercise of
political power” within the meaning of Terry v.
Adams, or a “choice in the election of those who
make the laws” in the words of Justice Black in
Wesberry. Accordingly, amici urge the Court to
hold explicitly what it has often recognized
31
implicitly” — that the freedom to exercise a
meaningful choice about who will serve as a
voter’s representative in the halls of power is not
merely protected by the fundamental rights prong
of the 14% Amendment's guaranty of equality,”
but by both the First Amendment and the
guaranty of a republican form of government. ”
In the early years of American democracy,
voting was physically an exercise of speech, with
voters orally expressing their choice of
representative in public, or publicly submitting a
ballot vividly decorated to reflect its party or
28 See e.g., Williams v. Rhodes, 393 U.S. 23, 30 (1968);
Anderson v. Celebreeze, 460 U.S. 780, 789 (1983)
29 See Harper v. Virginia Bd of Elections, 383 U.S. 663
(1966) (invalidating poll taxes); Kramer v. Union School
District, 395 U.S. 621 (1969) (recognizing equal right to
vote in elections affecting prospective voter); Dunn v.
Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330 (1972 (invalidating durational
residence requirements for voting)
3% Amici acknowledge that settings may arise where it
is not possible to draw “contestable” or “swing” districts
without compromising important neutral principles
governing apportionment. It is unnecessary in this case to
determine the precise point at which natural sorting makes
it unduly disruptive to draw competitive election districts
because it is clearly possible to render some or all of North
Carolina’s Congressional districts genuinely competitive
without disturbing traditional apportionment criteria like
one person-one vote, compactness and contiguity. When
non-competitive elections derive from natural sorting, no
constitutional issues are raised because state action is
absent. The Constitution is violated only when the state
imposes non-competitiveness when competitive elections
are eminently feasible.
32
candidate.*' In the late 19" century, the “secret
ballot” replaced viva voce voting in order to
protect vulnerable voters from external pressures
about how their free choice was to be exercised. *
But the communicative nature of the vote
remained intact — with the communication
becoming anonymous and directed to the official
charged with declaring the winner. Accordingly
amici urge the Court to acknowledge the
communicative act at the heart of casting a ballot,
and to begin the process of developing the
appropriate level of First Amendment protection
of the right to vote.™
3! See Donald A. Debats, How America Voted: By Voice,
and How the Other Half Voted: The Party Ticket States,
available at sociallogic.iath.virginia.edu (University of
Virginia)
32 For the history of the adoption of the Australian
ballot, see L.E. Fredman, The Australian Ballot: The Story
of an American Reform (Michigan State University Press,
1968).
33 It is not necessary in this case to determine whether
such a communicative act is entitled to the highest level of
First Amendment protection available to pure speech, or
whether intermediate First Amendment scrutiny available
to “speech brigaded with action” is more appropriate.
Compare Texas v. Johnson, 491 U.S. 397 (1989) (flag
burning as an act of protest constitutes pure speech
entitled to the highest level of free speech protection) with
O’Brien v. United States, 391 U.S. 367 (1968) (draft card
burning constitutes communicative conduct entitled to
intermediate First Amendment protection). The extreme
example of partisan gerrymandering before the Court in
this appeal clearly flunks both strict and intermediate
First Amendment scrutiny because it lacks a legitimate
state interest, much less a compelling or substantial one.
33
CONCLUSION
The quality and intensity of a voter's First
Amendment participation in the electoral process
~ listening to the candidates; choosing a preferred
candidate; working with others in support of that
candidate; and casting a ballot for a candidate of
choice — is deeply dependent on the voter's belief
that that it is the voters themselves who are
empowered to decide who will win an election.
Extreme partisan gerrymanders destroy that
belief. The decision of the court below should be
affirmed.
Dated: New York, New York
March 8, 2019
Respectfully submitted,
Burt Neuborne
(Counsel of Record)
Norman Dorsen (1930-2017)
40 Washington Square South
New York, New York 10012
(212) 998-6172 (office)
(917) 734-8478 (cell)
burt. neuborne@nyu.edu
Counsel for Amici Curiae*
* Counsel acknowledges the valuable assistance of Danie!
Milechman, a third-year student at Berkeley Law School, in the
research, writing, and preparation of this brief amici curiae.
Appendix Describing Amici Curiae
Aryeh Neier served as Executive Director of the
ACLU from 1970-1978. He worked closely with
Professor Dorsen on issues of international
human rights as Vice Chair and Executive
Director of Human Rights Watch from 1978-1993,
and President, and President Emeritus of the
Open Society Foundations from 1993- 2017.
John Shattuck served as Legislative Director of
the ACLU from 1976-1984. Ambassador Shattuck
worked closely with Professor Dorsen to advance
democracy as President and Rector of Central
European University in Budapest from 2009-2016,
Assistant Secretary of State for Democracy,
Human Rights, and Labor from 1993-1998, and
United States’ Ambassador to the Czech Republic
from 1998-2000.
John Sexton is the Benjamin Butler Professor of
Law, Dean Emeritus of NYU School of Law, and
President Emeritus of New York University.
President Sexton worked closely with Professor
Dorsen, who served from 1988-2015 as his
Counsellor as Dean and University President.
Helen Hershkoff is the Herbert M. and Svetlana
Wachtell Professor of Constitutional Law and
Civil Liberties at NYU. She served with Professor
Dorsen as Co-Director of the Arthur Garfield Hays
Civil Liberties Program, and as Associate Lega!
Director of the ACLU from 1988-1995.
Sylvia Law is the Elizabeth K. Dollard
Professor of Law, Medicine, and Psychiatry at
NYU. She served with Professor Dorsen as Co-
Director of the Arthur Garfield Hays Program,
2a
and worked closely with him in founding Society
of American Law Teachers.
Nadine Strossen is the John Marshall Harlan I!
Professor of Law at New York Law School. She
succeeded Professor Dorsen as President of the
ACLU, serving from 1991-2008.
Stephen Gillers is the Elihu Root Professor of
Law at NYU. He worked closely with Professor
Dorsen on issues related to Professional
Responsibility and legal! ethics.
Martin Guggenheim is the Fiorello LaGuardia
Professor of Clinical Law at NYU. He worked
closely with Professor Dorsen on the development
of clinical education and protection of the rights
of children.
Gara LaMarche served as Associate Director of
the New York Civil Liberties Union and, from
1984-88, as Executive Director of the Texas Civil
Liberties Union. He worked closely with Professor
Dorsen on democracy-related issues while at the
Open Society Institute and as President of
Atlantic Philanthropies.
Burt Neuborne served as Assistant Legal
Director of the ACLU from 1972-1974, and as
National Legal Director from 1981-1986. He
worked closely with Professor Dorsen in defense
of civil liberties for more than 50 years and serves
as the inaugural Norman Dorsen Professor in
Civil Liberties at New York University School of
Law.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.