Amicus Curiae Brief — Bucklew v. Precythe, 139 S. Ct. 306 (2018) (No. 17-8151)

Supreme Court brief2018

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 17-8151

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

—-_ =

RUSSELL BUCKLEW,

— Petitioner,

ANNE PRECYTHE, et al.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE THE AMERICAN CIVIL

LIBERTIES UNION AND THE ACLU OF MISSOURI,

IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

David D. Cole Cassandra Stubbs

Amanda W. Shanor Counsel of Record

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES Olivia Ensign

UNION FOUNDATION AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES

915 15th Street, NW UNION FOUNDATION

Washington, D.C. 20005 201 W. Main Street, Suite 402

Steven Watt Durham, NC 27701

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES (919) 682-5659

UNION FOUNDATION cstubbs@aclu.org

125 Broad Street, 18th Floor Anthony E. Rothert

New York, NY 10004 Gillian Wilcox

Jessie Steffan

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES

UNION OF MISSOURI

FOUNDATION

906 Olive Street, Suite 1130

St. Louis, MO 63101

Counsel for Amici Curiae

April 6, 2018

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ......................-..

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT.......................

OO, 8, ae

THE COURT SHOULD GRANT

CERTIORARI TO CLARIFY THAT

PRISONERS RAISING AS-APPLIED

CHALLENGES TO THE METHOD OF

AN EXECUTION BASED ON THEIR

UNIQUE MEDICAL CONDITIONS

NEED NOT DEMONSTRATE A

READILY AVAILABLE ALTERNA-

TIVE METHOD OF EXECUTION......

THE COURT SHOULD GRANT

CERTIORARI TO ADDRESS

CONFUSION IN THE LOWER

COURTS REGARDING THE

PROCEDURES GOVERNING AS-

APPLIED CHALLENGES TO THE

METHOD OF EXECUTION ...............

IED cnecenscncnitastersencsssnesccsonettenencees

APPENDIX:

INTER-AMERICAN COMMISSION ON

HUMAN RIGHTS, REPORT NO. 28/18,

CASE 12,958, REPORT ON MERITS,

RUSSELL BUCKLEW, UNITED STATES

GERI BE, Bp peccccccsccssccescccsccsscssecsnces

13

20

la

ss

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE(S)

Cases

Bucklew v. Precythe,

883 F.3d 1087 (8th Cir. 2018)................. 10, 11

Campbell v. Jenkins,

138 8S. Ct. 466 (2017) .............................. 7

In re Campbell,

874 F.3d 454 (6th Cir. 2017)..........0.0...... 7,8,9

Estelle v. Gamble,

TTL ALA ATT 10

Glossip v. Gross,

135 S. Ct. 2726 (2015) ...................... 3, 4,9, 10

Hall v. Florida,

134 S. Ct. 1986 (2014) ............................ 13

Hamm v. Comm’r, Ala. Dep’t of Corr.,

No. 18-10636, 2018 WL 1020051

gS 15, 16

Hamm v. Dunn,

eee 14, 16

Hamm v. Dunn,

No. 2:17-cv-02083, 2018 WL 723104

8 SS ee eee 14, 15

In re Kemmler,

136 U.S. 496 (1800) ................................ 10

Moore v. Texas,

137 S. Ce. 168 CBO17) .......2..cccccecce-ce0e--. 5

Rhodes v. Chapman,

462 U.S. 337 (1961) ............................... 10

ili

PAGE(S)

Roper v. Simmons,

I I i atic 11, 12

Trop v. Dulles,

EI 11

Weems v. United States,

ER eee 10

Wilkerson v. Utah,

STII: MP UII «sss cenictnetncnaneaneasoenion 10

Statutes

ES Ee a eee x

Constitutional Provisions

The Eighth Amendment ............................ passim

Other Authorities

Columbia Law School Media Advisory,

Bernard Harcourt and the State of

Alabama Settle Civil Rights and Habeas

Corpus Lawsuits (March 27, 2018),

http://www.law.columbia.edu/news/

2018/03/bernard-harcourt-and-state-

alabama-settle-civil-rights-and-habeas-

ED dcestccensteincommmtenmiscssentesess: 17

Tracy Connor, Lawyer describes aborted

execution attempt for Doyle Lee Hamm

as ‘Torture’, NBC News (Feb. 25, 2018),

https://www.nbcnews.com/storyline/

lethal-injection/ lawyer-calls-aborted-

execution-attempt-doyle-lee-hamm-

I nncincenddnstecbsessisbintagacnieics 17

iv

PAGE(S)

Tracy Connor, Ohio cancels execution of

Alva Campbell after failing to find vein,

NBC News (Nov. 15, 2017), https://www.

nbcnews.com/storyline/lethal-injection/

ohio-set-execute-inmate-alva-campbell-

who-needs-wedge-pillow-n820956 ........... 7

Decision and Order Denying Motion to

Certify for Interlocutory Appeal,

In re Ohio Execution Protocol Litigs.,

No. 2:11-cv-1016

(S.D. Ohio Nov. 7, 2017) .......................-. 8

Inter-American Commission on Human

Rights, Report No. 28/18, Case No. 12,958,

Report on Merits, Russell Bucklew,

United States (March 18, 2018)........ 11, 12, 18

Sandee LaMotte, Death row inmate sues

after ‘botched’ execution, CNN

(March 7, 2018), https://www.cnn.com/

2018/03/07/health/alabama-execution-

lawsuit/index.html............................0..0.. 16, 17

Motion for Stay, Campbell v. Ohio,

No. 17-3855 (6th Cir. Nov. 8, 2017) ........ 6

Petition for Writ of Certiorari,

Campbell v. Jenkins, 138 S. Ct. 466

(2017) (No. 17-6688) ...........................0.-. 6

Petition for Writ of Certiorari,

Hamm v. Dunn, 138 S. Ct. 828

RR 15, 16

PAGE(S)

Liliana Segura, Another Failed Execution:

the Torture of Doyle Lee Hamm,

Intercept (March 3, 2018), https://the

intercept.com/2018/03/03/doyle-hamm-

alabama-execution-lethal-injection/........ 17

Marty Schladen, After four unsuccessful

needle pokes, Columbus killer’s execution

called off, Columbus Dispatch

RS ERE eee 7

Liam Stack, Execution in Ohio is Halted

After No Usable Vein Can Be Found,

N.Y. Times (Nov. 15, 2017),

https://www.nytimes.com/2017/11/15/

us/ohio-execution-alva-campbell htm] .... 7

Holly Zachariah, Ohio Death Row Inmate

Campbell Dies of Natural Causes,

Columbus Dispatch (March 3, 2018),

http://www.dispatch.com/news/20 180303/

ohio-death-row-inmate-alva-campbell-

dies-of-natural-causes. ........................... 8

1

INTEREST OF AMICI!

The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) is a

nationwide, nonprofit, nonpartisan organization of

approximately 1.6 million members dedicated to the

principles of liberty and equality embedded in the

United States Constitution. Founded nearly a

century ago, the ACLU has appeared in myriad cases

before this Court, both as merits counsel and as

amicus curiae, to defend the Bill of Rights. The ACLU

has often appeared in this Court to address those

portions of the Bill of Rights having to do with

administration of the criminal justice system. The

organization has a strong interest in ensuring that

capital punishment protocols practiced in the United

States do not violate the Eighth Amendment. And it

has a particular interest in this case because it

represents Petitioner Russell Bucklew before the

Inter-American Commission on Human Rights,

where he has argued, successfully, that proceeding

with his execution under the circumstances unique to

his case would violate the prohibition on cruel and

inhuman punishment and could amount to torture.

The ACLU of Missouri is one of the ACLU’s

statewide affiliates and has more than 19,000

members. The ACLU of Missouri provided direct

representation in numerous state and federal cases

challenging secrecy about the administration of the

death penalty.

' No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in

part, and no person or entity, other than amici curiae, their

members, and their counsel, made a monetary contribution t

the preparation or submission of this brief. The parties have

consented to the filing of this brief and their indications of

consent have been filed with the Clerk.

2

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This case raises critically important questions

about how the courts should adjudicate claims that a

method of execution, even if generally constitutional,

is unconstitutional as applied to a particular prisoner

because of his idiosyncratic medical condition.

Petitioner Russell Bucklew suffers from a rare

medical disease, cavernous hemangioma, which poses

a unique threat of excruciating pain during execution

by lethal injection, the method Missouri has chosen to

kill him. As a result of his medical condition, he is

likely to choke on his own blood and suffocate for up

to four minutes during his execution.

The court of appeals declined relief to Mr. Bucklew

because it found that he was unable to identify an

alternative method of execution that would cause less

suffering to an individual with his medical condition.

And in so concluding, it approved special procedural

obstacles, applicable only to this case, which made it

virtually impossible for him to meet the burden the

courts imposed on him. Petitioner seeks certiorari to

challenge both the requirement that a prisoner

advancing an individualized as-applied challenge to a

method of execution bears the burden of identifying

an available alternative and the special procedural

obstacles imposed on him.

This is not the first time such questions have been

presented to this Court. In two prior cases, involving

Alva Campbell and Doyle Hamm, respectively, this

Court declined review of similar issues presented by

death row inmates with idiosyncratic medical

conditions. Both Mr. Campbell and Mr. Hamm

maintained that their medical conditions created a

substantial risk that their executions would be cruel

and unusual. In both cases, this Court denied

3

applications for stays and petitions for certiorari. The

states attempted to carry out the executions, and in

both cases what the inmates feared came to pass.

Both Mr. Campbell and Mr. Hamm were subjected to

botched executions that had to be halted—but not

before inflicting horrific and needless suffering.

Neither man was ultimately executed, but both

suffered unconstitutionally cruel and unusual

punishment because of the complications created by

their medical conditions. By granting review here and

resolving confusion in the lower courts about how

Glossip v. Gross, 135 S. Ct. 2726 (2015), governs

individualized as-applied challenges, the Court has

the opportunity—and _ responsibility—to avert

another botched execution. The Court should grant

certiorari to address the unfortunately recurring

question of how courts should assess claims that

otherwise permissible methods of execution, when

applied to prisoners with particular compromised

health conditions, will cause needless pain and

sullering, violating the Eighth Amendment. The

courts below erected insurmountable hurdles to

adjudicating such claims fairly. Only this Court can

ensure that Mr. Bucklew avoids the unconstitutional

experience that Mr. Campbell and Mr. Hamm were

made to suffer.

4

ARGUMENT

1. THE COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI

TO CLARIFY THAT PRISONERS RAISING

AS-APPLIED CHALLENGES TO THE METH-

OD OF AN EXECUTION BASED ON THEIR

UNIQUE MEDICAL CONDITIONS NEED

NOT DEMONSTRATE A READILY AVAIL-

ABLE ALTERNATIVE METHOD OF EXE-

CUTION.

In Glossip v. Gross, this Court held that prisoners

challenging a method of execution as a violation of

the Eighth Amendment on its face must demonstrate

that the method poses a “risk of severe pain” that is

“substantial when compared to the known and

available alternatives.” 135 S. Ct. at 2737. The

requirement that prisoners plead and prove a known

and available alternative method of execution was

imposed to ensure that such a challenge not become a

sub rosa challenge to the death penalty as such. The

Court reasonei that, “because it is settled that

capital punishment is constitutional, ‘[i]t necessarily

follows that there must be a [constitutional] means of

carrying it out.” /d. at 2732 (quoting Baze v. Rees, 553

U.S. 35, 47 (2008)). If the only method of execution

available to a State is deemed unconstitutional, the

decision would have the practical effect of precluding

any executions in that State. Accordingly, to avoid

that outcome, the Court required a showing of an

alternative method of execution.

The central questions in this case concern whether

that requirement of establishing an available

alternative should apply to an individual who does

not challenge a method of execution in general, but

only as applied to his particular circumstances, and

how the courts should adjudicate and assess such

5

challenges as a procedural matter. Similar questions

were presented to this Court before, and both times

the Court denied review, with deeply unfortunate

consequences. Those experiences should guide the

Court in its assessment of whether to grant review

this time. The Court has the opportunity to avert

another terribly botched execution. As the last court

that stands between Mr. Bucklew and a cruel and

unusual execution, the Court should take up the

questions and resolve them now.

There is good reason not to require individuals in

Mr. Bucklew’s condition to identify an alternative

method of execution. A holding that lethal injection is

unconstitutional as applied to Mr. Bucklew because

of his rare medical condition does not risk

invalidating the death penalty altogether. It affects

only a single execution. Like this Court’s holdings

that it is unconstitutional to execute individuals with

intellectual disabilities, see, e.g., Moore v. Texas, 137

S. Ct. 1039, 1048 (2017), a ruling sparing Mr.

Bucklew from the death penalty will not render that

penalty unavailable as to anyone else. Accordingly, if

he shows that Missouri’s lethal injection regime as

applied to him will cause suffering that renders its

application cruel and unusual, the Eighth

Amendment should bar his execution unless prison

officials identify another method that will not cause

an unconstitutional degree of suffering.

In addition, where an individual has demonstrated

that a method of execution, as applied to his unique

medical condition, will inflict an unacceptable level of

pain, the burden should shift to the State, both

because it is its obligation to conduct an execution

without an unconstitutionally unacceptable level of

pain and suffering, and because it alone is likely to

have the knowledge and experience with alternative

6

methods of execution to inform the question whether

acceptable alternatives exist that would end the

prisoner's life without inflicting unconstitutional pain

and suffering. A death row prisoner is nut in a

position to assess how alternative methods of

execution would interact with his particular medical

conditions. Thus, in individualized as-applied

challenges, the burden should shift to the State once

a prisoner demonstrates that the proposed method of

execution poses a constitutionally unacceptable risk

of inflicting cruel and unusual punishment.

Alva Campbell objected to his method of execution

on grounds similar to Mr. Bucklews challenge.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari, Campbell v. Jenkins,

138 S. Ct. 466 (2017) (mem.) (No. 17-6688). At the

time of Ohio’s attempt to execute him, Mr. Campbell,

69 years old, had compromised veins, and was

terminally ill with cancer, severe chronic obstructive

pulmonary disease, and end stage emphysema,

requiring four breathing treatments every day.

Motion for Stay at 17-18, Campbell v. Ohio, No.

17-3855 (6th Cir. Nov. 8, 2017). He maintained that

his deteriorating medical condition posed a

substantial likelihood that he would suffer obstructed

breathing and “air hunger” during the lethal injection

procedure. Jd. He further alleged that the prison’s

doctors anticipated it would be perilous and difficult

to insert an IV given the quality of his veins, and

contemplated using a tourniquet to attempt to

establish IV access. Jd. at 1, 10. He contended that

given his medical condition, lethal! injection would

subject him to severe, needless pain and suffering, in

violation of the Eighth Amendment. /d. at 10.

7

This Court denied Mr. Campbell’s request for a

stay and certiorari. Campbell, 138 S. Ct. 466.2 Ohio

proceeded with its execution attempt on the morning

of November 15, 2017. The execution team examined

Mr. Campbell’s arms and legs for an hour before

transporting him to the execution chamber in a

wheelchair. Marty Schladen, After four unsuccessful

needle pokes, Columbus killer’s execution called off,

Columbus Dispatch (Nov. 15, 2017). The execution

team had to help Mr. Campbell onto the gurney. /d.

They used an ultraviolet light for the next half hour

in search of a vein through which to inject the drugs

that would kill him, stabbing Mr. Campbell

repeatedly in his arms and leg. After they stabbed his

leg, Mr. Campbell threw back his head and cried out

in pain. /d. “The executioners tried to comfort Mr.

Campbell as they searched for a way to execute him,

the A.P. said, by patting him on the arm and the

shoulder.” Liam Stack, Execution in Ohio is Halted

After No Usable Vein Can Be Found, N.Y. Times

(Nov. 15, 2017), https://www.nytimes.com/2017/11/15/

us/ohio-execution-alva-campbell. html. The prison

called off the execution after concluding they could

not find an injection site. Tracy Connor, Ohio cancels

execution of Alva Campbell after failing to find vein,

NBC News (Nov. 15, 2017), https://www.nbcnews.com

/storyline/lethal-injection/ohio-set-execute-inmate-

alva-campbell-who-needs-wedge-pillow-n820956. Mr.

Campbell died of natural causes in his cell

2 The petition in this Court was limited to a question

regarding successive petitions, but the Sixth Circuit deemed Mr.

Campbell's challenge a successive petition after rejecting his

contention that an as-applied challenge based on an individual's

particular medical condition should be treated like a Ford-

competency claim that is not ripe until an execution date is set.

In re Campbell, 874 F.3d 454, 466 (6th Cir. 2017).

8

approximately three months later. Holly Zachariah,

Ohio Death Row Inmate Campbell Dies of Natural

Causes, Columbus Dispatch (March 3, 2018),

http://www.dispatch.com/news/20 180303/ohio-death-

row-inmate-alva-campbell-dies-of-natural-causes.

The botched execution in Alva Campbell's case was

a direct result of the Sixth Circuit’s ruling that Mr.

Campbell had to plead a statutorily authorized

alternative method of execution in order to proceed

with his as-applied challenge to the execution

protocol. In re Campbell, 874 F.3d at 461-62.5 The

Sixth Circuit acknowledged that his alleged medical

claims, “if substantiated, could raise a significant

problem with administering a lethal injection,” but

concluded that Mr. Campbell’s claims failed as a

matter of law because he had not identified an

alternative means of execution. /d. at 465. When this

Court denied a stay and certiorari, the execution

went forward, with disastrous consequences—largely

as predicted by Mr. Campbell. The ordeal that Ohio

put Mr. Campbell through was plainly cruel and

unusual, regardless of whether another procedure

might have avoided such suffering.

As Judge Moore, dissenting in /n re Campbell,

explained, the rationale for imposing the “alternative

3 Mr. Campbell had filed both a § 1983 challenge to his

execution and a habeas petition alleging that he was

categorically exempt from the death penalty, both predicated on

his individual medical condition. In the § 1983 suit, Mr.

Campbell had attempted to plead that the firing squad was a

superior alternative method of execution, but the federal court

rejected his amendment on the ground that the firing squad was

not authorized by Ohio law. Decision and Order Denying Motion

to Certify for Interlocutory Appeal at 2-3, In re Ohio Execution

Protocol Litigs., No. 2:11-cv-1016 (8.D. Ohio Nov. 7, 2017), ECF

No. 1366.

9

method” requirement is inapposite where, as here, an

individual does not challenge the planned method of

execution as a general matter, but only because of

complications arising from his unique medical

condition:

Were Campbell simply challenging Ohio's

generalized use of a particular execution

protocol ... | agree with the majority that

Glossip v. Gross, 135 S. Ct. 2726, 2739

(2015), would foreclose his claim. Such a

ruling would be tantamount to declaring the

death penalty as a whole unconstitutional in

a given state. ... | see an important

distinction between Glossip and Campbell’s

case, however, in the fact that while Glossip

featured an across-the-board challenge to the

only approved methods of execution in

Oklahoma, this case concerns only whether

the fact of Campbell’s sentence itself is

constitutional in light of Campbell’s personal

biological characteristics and the currently

available means of execution.

In re Campbell, 874 F.3d at 468 (Moore, J.,

dissenting). As Judge Moore notes, this Court made

clear in Glossip that its rule was driven by concern

that a decision upholding a generalized challenge to a

method of execution without an available alternative

would mean the end of the death penalty in that

state. See generally, Pet. 30-32; Glossip, 135 S. Ct. at

2732-33. Where that is not a concern, the alternative

method requirement should not apply.

In this case, as in Mr. Campbell’s, the court of

appeals relied on Glossip to deny Mr. Bucklew relief

because he had not sufficiently alleged and

established an alternative method of execution that

10

would cause less pain. Bucklew v. Precythe, 883 F.3d

1087, 1091 (8th Cir. 2018). Unlike Glossip, however,

which involved an across-the-board challenge to an

execution protocol, Mr. Bucklew’s as-applied chal-

lenge rests on his idiosyncratic medical vulnerability,

and therefore ruling in his favor is not tantamount to

invalidating the death penalty. As a result, he should

not be required to demonstrate an alternative method

of execution to prevail on his Eighth Amendment

claim.

For more than one hundred years, this Court has

recognized that the death penalty cannot be imposed

in a manner that will “involve torture” or be

“inhuman and barbarous—something more than the

mere extinguishment of life.” In re Kemmler, 136 U.S.

436, 447 (1890); see also Wilkerson v. Utah, 99 US.

130, 135-36 (1878); Weems v. United States, 217 U.S.

349, 368 (1910); Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97, 102

(1976); Rhodes v. Chapman, 452 U.S. 337, 345-46

(1981); see also Glossip, 135 S. Ct. at 2747 (Scalia, J.,

concurring) (stating that Eighth Amendment bars

“added terror, pain, or disgrace to an otherwise

permissible capital sentence” (internal quotation

marks and citation omitted)). An otherwise permis-

sible execution protocol that inflicts added terror,

pain, and torture because of the prisoner's unique

medical condition violates the Eighth Amendment.

The Eighth Circuit accepted as undisputed for

purposes of summary judgment that Mr. Bucklew is

likely to experience extreme pain and suffocation

during the lethal injection procedure. Bucklew, 883

F.3d at 1094. It is also conceded that execution by

lethal gas is a feasible and available alternative. /d.

The Eighth Circuit declined to issue a stay of

execution, however, concluding that there was

insufficient evidence that lethal gas would

1!

substantially reduce the risk of pain and suffocation

for Mr. Bucklew. /d. at 1096. But in an individualized

as-applied challenge that does not threaten to

invalidate the death penalty as such, this should not

matter. If lethal injection will cause excessive pain

and suffering to Mr. Bucklew because of his rare

medical condition, it is unconstitutional to subject

him to it regardless of how lethal gas—or any other

procedure—might work. Indeed, if both methods

available to the State would cause excessively

excruciating pain and suffering, then both methods

would be unconstitutionally cruel and unusual. A

prisoner in Mr. Bucklew’s shoes should not have to

identify an alternative procedure; rather, that should

be the State’s burden if it seeks to execute him but

has not yet proposed a way to do so without

excruciating pain.

This conclusion is supported by international

human rights standards, which inform Eighth

Amendment jurisprudence. “[A]jt least from the time

of the Court’s decision in Trop| v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86

(1958)], the Court has referred to the laws of other

countries and to international authorities as

instructive for its interpretation of the Eighth

Amendment's prohibition of ‘cruel and unusual

punishments.” Roper v. Simmons, 543 U.S. 551, 575

(2005). Mr. Bucklew has brought his case to the

Inter-American Commission on Human Rights

(LACHR?”), which recently ruled that executing Mr.

Bucklew in light of the medical vulnerabilities he

suffers would inflict cruel and inhuman punishment

on him and could result in torture, both of which are

prohibited by the American Declaration of the Rights

and Duties of Man. App. (Inter-American

Commission on Human Rights, Report No. 28/18,

12

Case No. 12,958, Report on Merits, Russell Bucklew

(March 18, 2018)).4 The Commission concluded:

The Commission considers that this

particular risk of choking on his own blood,

being aware of it, and for a period of up to

four minutes, taking in consideration the

context of extreme stress and anxiety, would

constitute cruel and inhuman punishment.

The LACHR finds that the severity of the

suff-ring that would be imposed under such

circumstances could amount to torture.

App. 42a (LACHR Report 15 (4 78)). The Commission

also determined that whether a proposed punishment

constituted cruel and inhuman punishment or torture

in this case is not dependent upon the existence of

less painful alternatives. App. 43a-45a (IACHR

Report 16 (%4 80-82)). As the Commission ruled,

proceeding with the execution of Mr. Bucklew in the

face of the knowledge of the heightened pain and

suffering that would be involved for him would

violate the United States’ international obligations to

ensure it does not inflict cruel and inhuman

punishment. App. 45a (LACHR Report 16 (4 83)).

“By protecting even those convicted of heinous

crimes, the Eighth Amendment reaffirms the duty of

the government to respect the dignity of all persons.”

Roper, 543 U.S. at 560. In light of Mr. Bucklew’s

* As a Member State of the Organization of American

States, the 1948 American Declaration of the Rights and Duties

of Man imposes international legal obligations on the United

States. App. 33a-34a (ACHR Report 12 (J 60)). The American

Declaration guarantees the right of everyone to be free from

cruel and inhuman treatment or punishment and torture. /d. at

4ia (ACHR Report 16 (J 76)). And the [ACHR is the entity

charged with the enforcement of these rights.

13

uniquely compromised physical condition, the

execution method proposed by prison officials violates

“the basic dignity the Constitution protects.” Hall v.

Florida, 134 S. Ct. 1986, 2001 (2014). The Court

should grant certiorari and hold that in individual as-

applied challenges to methods of execution, a showing

that the method will inflict excruciating pain on a

prisoner above that suffered by others is sufficient to

violate the Eighth Amendment, without regard to

whether alternative methods of execution exist.

Il. THE COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI!

TO ADDRESS CONFUSION IN THE LOWER

COURTS REGARDING THE PROCEDURES

GOVERNING AS-APPLIED CHALLENGES

TO THE METHOD OF EXECUTION.

Mr. Bucklew also seeks certiorari on two questions

regarding the procedures the lower courts employed

in rejecting his Eighth Amendment challenge. The

court of appeals assumed without any evidentiary

basis that the individuals responsible for carrying out

Mr. Bucklew’s execution were competent to do so, and

barred Mr. Bucklew’s requests for discovery

concerning their ability to address the complications

presented by his rare medical condition—a condition

with which there is no reason to believe state officials

have any prior experience at all. Pet. 21-25. It did so

even though prison officials’ own protocols do not

assume that the employees are competent to access

particularly challenging veins that may well be

necessary in Mr. Bucklew’s case. Pet. 22-23. And the

court further demanded that Mr. Bucklew must prove

that an available alternative would reduce the risks

of needless pain through a single witness. Pet. 26-27.

Together, these rulings made it virtually impossible

for Mr. Bucklew to make the showing

alternative methods of execution that the Eighth

14

Circuit also imposed on him. These obstacles find no

justification in the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

or the Federal Rules of Evidence. In the capital

punishment context, the courts should be demanding

full and fair adversarial testing, not constructing one-

time-only obstacles that no other litigant must face.

The risks of error where courts impose heightened

obstacles and employ one-sided procedures in these

cases are substantial, as the botched execution of

Doyle Hamm graphically illustrates. Here, too, the

Court's prior denial of similar claims by a

particularly vulnerable death row inmate, and the

horrific consequences that followed, counsel in favor

of granting Mr. Bucklew’s request for certiorari now,

before it is too late.

On February 22, 2018, after this Court denied a

stay of execution and a petition for certiorari, Hamm

v. Dunn, 138 S. Ct. 828 (2018) (mem.), Alabama

attempted to execute Doyle Hamm. The result was a

torturous and bloody hours-long ordeal, in which

prison officials ultimately gave up, but not before

inflicting substantial needless and excruciating pain.

Mr. Hamm had challenged lethal injection as applied

in his case because of his compromised medical

condition, including large-cell lymphoma cancer and

severely deteriorated veins. Hamm v. Dunn, No. 2:17-

cv-02083, 2018 WL 723104, at *1 (N.D. Ala. Feb. 6,

2018). The district court accepted that Mr. Hamm

had proferred sufficient evidence to create material

issues of fact regarding whether his peripheral veins

were too compromised for injection, and whether

central line placement was unduly dangerous because

his enlarged lymph nodes created an increased risk of

puncturing a central artery, causing severe and

unnecessary pain. /d. at *1-*2. Rather than grant an

injunction, however, the court appointed its own

15

independent, anonymous medical doctor to evaluate

whether Mr. Hamm could sustain lethal injection. /d.

at *2.

On February 16, 2018, days before Mr. Hamm’s

scheduled execution, the district court conducted a

highly unusual hearing. The independent doctor

communicated in camera and ex parte with the

district court and later filed a written report. Hamm

v. Comm’r, Ala. Dep't of Corr., No. 18-10636, 2018 WL

1020051, at *1-*2 (llth Cir. Feb. 22, 2018). The

doctor did not testify in court, and Mr. Hamm was

not permitted to cross-examine him, or to present

rebuttal evidence of any kind. The doctor found that

Mr. Hamm’s veins in his arm were not suitable for

placement of the intravenous catheters required by

Alabama's protocol. Jd. at *2. At the district court's

invitation, Alabama then agreed to alter its protocol

to limit any injections to Mr. Hamm’s legs or central

venous access. Mr. Hamm was not permitted to

respond. /d.; see also, Petition for Writ of Certiorari,

Hamm, 138 S. Ct. 828 (No. 17-7855).

The district court also found that central line

access would require the use of ultrasound and would

need to be administered by an “advanced level

practioner.” Hamm, No. 18-10636, 2018 WL 1020051,

at *7. It ordered the execution to proceed with the

modifications it had crafted. Jd. Mr. Hamm appealed

and sought a stay from the Eleventh Circuit. The

Eleventh Circuit found that the record below was

inadequate to determine whether Alabama was

capable of following the modifications ordered by the

district court. It ordered Alabama to submit, within

six hours, sworn affidavits addressing some of the

unanswered questions. /d. Alabama filed three

affidavits in the appellate court, and the Eleventh

16

Circuit, too, ordered that the execution could proceed.

Id. Again, Mr. Hamm had no opportunity to respond.

Mr. Hamm filed a motion for stay and petition for

certiorari with this Court, alleging that he should

have been provided an opportunity to test the

evidence and that the federal courts had themselves

improperly devised an alternative protocol. See

Petition for Writ of Certiorari, Hamm, 138 S. Ct. 828

(No. 17-7855). He argued, for example, that one of the

affidavits submitted was misleading because it said,

in response to whether a doctor was available to

insert the IV, only that a doctor would be “present.”

Id. at 6. This response did not address whether the

doctor would participate in the setting of the central

line. Jd. This Court denied relief, but two Justices

would have granted Mr. Hamm’s stay on the ground

that he should have been afforded an opportunity to

challenge through the adversarial process the last

minute conclusions and evidence. See Hamm, 138 S.

Ct. at 828 (Ginsburg, J., dissenting from the denial of

the application for stay and the denial of certiorari).

When Alabama proceeded with its plan to execute

Mr. Hamm, the prison staff could not find a vein for

peripheral lethal injection—just as Mr. Hamm had

predicted. They tried for two and a half hours to find

a suitable vein, repeatedly slapping his legs and

stabbing his legs and ankles. During some of these

attempts, the execution team members left needles in

Mr. Hamm’s legs for several minutes, moving around

in a painful search for a vein. Sandee LaMotte, Death

row inmate sues after ‘botched’ execution, CNN

(March 7, 2018), https://www.cnn.com/2018/03/07/

health/alabama-execution-lawsuit/index. html. The

executioners then attempted central vencus access

through Mr. Hamm’s right groin—the area where Mr.

Hamm’s expert had warned that access could be

17

excruciating because of his cancer. The procedure was

extremely painful and caused profuse bleeding,

soaking the underlying pad in blood—again, as

predicted. Jd. Over the course of the more than two-

hour ordeal, Mr. Hamm prayed the execution would

succeed to end his pain. Tracy Connor, Lawyer

describes aborted execution attempt for Doyle Lee

Hamm as ‘Torture, NBC News (Feb. 25, 2018),

https://www.nbcnews.com/storyline/lethal-injection/

lawyer-calls-aborted-execution-attempt-doyle-lee-ha

mm_-torture-n851006. “When he was finally removed

from the gurney, he collapsed.” Liliana Segura,

Another Failed Execution: the Torture of Doyle Lee

Hamm, Intercept (March 3, 2018), https://the

intercept.com/20 18/03/03/doyle-hamm-alabama-execu

tion-lethal-injection/.

After the botched execution, Mr. Hamm and

Alabama entered a private settlement agreement,

dismissing all of Mr. Hamm’s litigation and offering

“great relief’ to Mr. Hamm. See Columbia Law School

Media Advisory, Bernard Harcourt and the State of

Alabama Settle Civil Rights and Habeas Corpus

Lawsuits (March 27, 2018), http://www.law.columbia.

edu/news/2018/03/bernard-harcourt-and-state-ala

bama-settle-civil-rights-and-habeas-corpus-lawsuits.

While the terms are confidential, it is a reasonable

inference that Alabama will not again attempt to

execute Mr. Hamm.

As in Mr. Hamm’s case, the courts in Mr. Bucklew’s

case also crafted unique procedural rules for

evaluating his as-applied challenge to lethal

injection. As noted above, the Eighth Circuit simply

assumed the competence of key players in the

execution process, even though prison official’s own

protocols do not assume such competence. The court

barred any discovery into the question. And it applied

18

a new rule, with no foundation in the rules governing

civil litigation, that Mr. Bucklew must make a

comparative showing about alternative methods of

execution through a single witness.

Serious challenges to execution protocols based «a

an individual’s specific medical condition warrant the

full benefit of the adversarial process. Such claims

ask the courts to avoid a torturous execution. There is

no basis to subject the Eighth Amendment's

guarantee against cruel and unusual punishment to

special procedural obstacles applicable only to

challenges to the method of execution. The [ACHR in

Mr. Bucklew’s case also found that the extraordinary

obstacles imposed on Mr. Bucklew violated

international human rights obligations. As _ the

LACHR concluded:

In capital cases, the State has an enhanced

obligation to ensure that the person

sentenced to death has access to all the

relevant information regarding the manner

in which he or she is going to die. In

particular, the convicted person must have

access to information related to the precise

procedures to be followed, the drugs and

doses to be used in the case of execution by

lethal injection, and the composition of the

execution team as well as the training of its

members. ... Any person subjected to the

death penalty must have the opportunity to

challenge every aspect of the execution

procedure and such information is necessary

to file a challenge.

App. 39a (LACHR Report 14 (44 71-72)).

Mr. Bucklew should be permitted to challenge the

training and qualifications of the prison staff to carry

19

out his execution in light of his rare medical

condition. The Eighth Circuit erred in denying him

any discovery on that issue, and indeed pretermitted

the issue by adopting an unfounded assumption of

competence that the State itself does not adopt. In

Mr. Hamm’s case, the absence of full and fair

adversarial testing led the federal courts to rely on

demonstrably erroneous factual conclusions, and

allowed Alabama to proceed with a horribly botched

execution. This history is in danger of repeating

itself. The Court has an opportunity to avert such a

repetition, by granting review and holding that

medically compromised prisoners should be granted

access to information about the training and

qualifications of the execution team if it is relevant to

their sufficiently pleaded claims, and should not be

subject to unique procedural obstacles to full and fair

adversarial adjudication.

20

CONCLUSION

For all the above reasons, the Court should grant

the petition for a writ of certiorari.

April 6, 2018 Respectfully submitted,

Cassandra Stubbs

Counsel of Record

Olivia Ensign

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES

UNION FOUNDATION

201 W. Main Street, Suite 402

Durham, NC 27701

(919) 682-5659

cstubbs@aclu.org

David D. Cole

Amanda W. Shanor

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES

UNION FOUNDATION

915 15th Street, NW

Washington, D.C. 20005

Steven Watt

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES

UNION FOUNDATION

125 Broad Street, 18th Floor

New York, NY 10004

Anthony E. Rothert

Gillian Wilcox

Jessie Steffan

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION

OF MISSOURI FOUNDATION

906 Olive Street, Suite 1130

St. Louis, MO 63101

Counsel for Amici Curiae

APPENDIX

la

[LOGO]

INTER-AMERICAN COMMISSION

ON HUMAN RIGHTS

REPORT No. 28/18

CASE 12,958

REPORT ON MERITS

RUSSELL BUCKLEW

UNITED STATES

OEA/Ser.L/V/II.

Doc. 33

www.cidh.org

Approved by the Commission on March 18, 2018.

Cite as: IACHR, Report No. 28/18, Case 12.958.

Merits. Russell Bucklew. United States, March 18,

2018.

[LOGO] Organization of American States

IV.

INDEX

I i eae dade leeiaaegeneammeennennntne 4

POSITIONS OF THE PARTIBS.................. 6

A. Position of the Petitioners...................... 6

Bk IN Ge GD Bi ccccececccsccccveccscscncceses 9

Ee 12

A. The application of Lethal Injection

in the State of Missouri ............................... 12

B. Russell Bucklew’s criminal conviction and

his medical condition ...........................00-++-+- 13

C. Judicial actions challenging Missouri's

lethal injection protocol ............................... 15

1. Judicial proceedings before 2014........... 15

2. Judicial proceedings since 2014............. 17

SE GRIT ceatinersesnenmtnsitonncsnemneniinnscedies 31

A. Preliminary considerations on the [ACHR’s

standard of review in cases involving the

tienen eneieniintnetemeestiedenneane 31

B. Right to humane treatment, and not to

undergo cruel, degrading, and unusual

punishment and right to a fair trial in

relation to the method of execution and

D.

3a

2. Analysis of the case.......................... 40

Right of protection against arbitrary

arrest, to humane treatment, and not

to undergo cruel, infamous, or unusual

punishment, with respect to the

deprivation of liberty on death row....... 45

The right to life and not to receive

cruel, infamous, or unusual punishment

with respect to the eventual execution

of Russell Bucklew ................................ 51

CONCLUSIONS AND

RECOMMENDATIONS ....00. ooo. eee 53

I. SUMMARY

1. On May 19, 2014, the Inter-American

Commission on Human Rights (hereinafter, “the

Inter-American Commission” or “the LACHR”)

submitted on behalf of Russell Bucklew (hereinafter,

“the alleged victim” or “Mr. Bucklew”) deprived of his

liberty on death row in the state of Missouri.'

2. The Commission adopted its Admissibility

Report No. 54/14 on July 21, 2014.? On July 28, 2014

3 On May 20, 2014, the Commission adopted Resolution

5a

3. The petitioners alleged that the lethal

injection protocol in Missouri creates an intolerable

risk of excruciating pain. They claimed that, given a

serious congenital medical condition that Mr.

Bucklew suffers, the current protocol creates a

substantial risk that the drug will not circulate

properly, leading the alleged victim to hemorrhage,

choke and suffocate. Petitioners further argued that

the secrecy surrounding the development and

implementation of lethal injection protocols in

Missouri has effectively prevented death row

prisoners from arguing that a given method of

execution violates the prohibition of cruel and

unusual punishment. On March 14, 2018 the

petitioners informed the Commission that the

execution of the alleged victim was scheduled by the

state of Missouri for March 20, 2018.4

4. The State argued that the alleged victim has

been provided his due process rights and judicial

guarantees, and that the domestic courts have

considered his allegations concerning the method of

execution and Missouris protocol. The State

maintained that the death penalty is not incompatible

with international law and that lethal injection has

been considered to be a more humane method.

5. Having examined the positions of the parties

and the established facts, the Inter-American

Commission concluded that the United States is

responsible for violating Articles I (right to life,

liberty and personal security), XVIII (right to a fair

trial), XXV (right of protection from arbitrary arrest)

4 On the same date, the [ACHR sent this information to

within a period of two days. The [ACHR did not receive the

observations of the United States.

6a

and XXVI (right to due process of law) of the

American Declaration of the Rights and Duties of

Man (hereinafter “American Declaration”) in the case

of Russell Bucklew. In the event the execution of Mr.

Russell Bucklew is carried out, the State would be

responsible for a serious and irreparable violation of

the fundamental right to life protected in Article | of

the American Declaration.

Il. POSITIONS OF THE PARTIES

A. Position of the Petitioners

6. The petitioners stated that Russell Bucklew

was sentenced to death on May 15, 1997, in the state of

Missouri in the United States. They indicated that the

Missouri Supreme Court first set his execution date for

May 21, 2014, but on May 9, 2014, Mr. Bucklew filed

suit in the United States District Court-Western

District of Missouri challenging Missouri's execution

protocol as it would apply to him specifically. On May

20, 2014, the United States Supreme Court granted Mr.

Bucklew a stay and ordered the United States Court of

Appeals for the Eighth Circuit to hear his case.

Petitioners affirmed that the Eighth Circuit

subsequently ruled that the federal district court erred

in dismissing Mr. Bucklew’s complaint because it was

not patently obvious that he could not prevail or that

an amendment to the complaint would be futile.

Petitioners informed that, on June 15, 2017, the district

court granted summary judgment in favor of the State.

This decision was later affirmed by the Eighth Circuit

Court of Appeals on March 6, 2018. According to the

most recent information provided, Mr. Bucklew’s

execution has been scheduled for March 20, 2018.

7. With regard to the suit filed by Mr. Bucklew

challenging Missouri's execution protocol before the

7a

United States District Court, petitioners reported

that the Eighth Circuit concluded Mr. Bucklew failed

to establish that the lethal injection, as applied to

him, constitutes cruel and unusual punishment

under the Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments.

According to the information petitioners provided, the

court did not challenge Mr. Bucklew’s contention that

lethal injection posed “a substantial risk of serious

and imminent harm” to him but considered, under

the Supreme Court’s decision in Glossip v. Gross, that

he had failed to show that his proposed alternative

method of execution-induced hypoxia (lethal gas)—

was a “feasible, readily implemented” method that

would substantially reduce his suffering.

8. The petitioners affirmed that the lethal

injection protocol that the state of Missouri plans to

use for the execution of Mr. Bucklew calls for the

administration of five grams of pentobarbital,

administered through an IV line into the execution

chamber, where the prisoner is alone and strapped to

a gurney. The petitioners opposed the protocol

because it calls for proceeding with executions using

compounded pentobarbital; for removing methylene

blue from the saline fluids used to start and flush the

IV line; and it provides the option to use a central

venous line (femoral, jugular, or subclavian) for the

placement of the intravenous line, over the periphera!

line access, commonly used in other states’ protocols.

They stated that during the execution no medica!

personnel would be close at hand; but would monitor

the prisoner remotely from the “execution support

room” while non-medical personne! administer the

lethal drug by injecting it into a syringe.

9. The petitioners indicated that Mr. Bucklews

execution with this protoco! presents a unique threat of

cruel, inhuman, or degrading treatment and even

8a

torture. They explained that Mr. Bucklew suffers since

infancy from cavernous hemangioma in his neck and

head, a blood vessel condition that causes clumps of

weakened, malformed vessels to grow in his head, face,

and throat, displacing healthy tissue and rupturing

under stress. They further explained that Mr. Bucklew

also has a massive vascular tumor occupying his nose,

throat and airway passages. As a result, petitioners

affirmed that his conditions create a very substantial

risk that he will suffer excruciating, even torturous,

pain during an execution. Petitiomers added that, in

light of the medications that Mr. Bucklew takes to

manage his medical condition, there is a risk of adverse

events resulting from drug interactions. In this respect,

they determined that the risks arising from drug

interactions and the anesthetic effects of pentobarbital

are further exacerbated by the use of compounded

pentobarbital, which, unlike a manufactured drug,

carries no guarantees of its safety, potency, or purity.

10. The petitioners argued that the state of

Missouri has acquired its pentobarbital in a suspect

manner, in the absence of any regulation or

accountability. They sustained that the Missouri

Department of Corrections refuses to disclose any

information about the drugs safety, purity, and

potency, and will not even confirm whether the drug

is subject to any laboratory testing at all.

11. The petitioners argued that the secrecy

surrounding the use of untested drugs for execution

is incompatible with human rights standards because

the realization of specific rights imposes a duty of

transparency on states, and that it undermines the

public’s right to information needed to establish

whether deprivation of life is arbitrary or lawful. The

petitioners affirmed that while international law does

not per se prohibit the death penalty, it does limit the

9a

methods that may be used to carry it out. In their

view, countries that choose to retain the death

penalty have a clear obligation to disclose the details

of their application of the penalty, including the

methods and protocols of execution, and must carry

out the execution in a manner that “causes the least

possible physical and mental suffering.”

12. Petitioners indicated that the object of the

petition is to challenge the following defects in the

lethal injection protocol that will be applied in this

case: (a) the protocol poses the risk of excruciating

pain; (b) it is experimental, shrouded in secrecy and

involves drug combinations that have not been

approved by the Food and Drug Administration; and

(c) it is administered by individuals who lack the

necessary training. In light of the foregoing, the

petitioners asked the Commission to determine that

Mr. Bucklew’s case presents violations of rights

protected under the American Declaration, including

the right to life (Article I), security of the person and

freedom from cruel, infamous or unusual punishment

(Article XXVI), and the rights to a fair trial and due

process (Articles XVIII, XXVI).

B. Position of the State

13. The State asked the Commission to

reconsider its decision on the admissibility of the

instant case arguing that it “never received a petition

under Article 23 of the Commission’s Rules, nor a

notice of consideration motu propio under Article 24

(...) rather the US received a request for precautionary

measures.” On this point the Commission notes that

in its communication of May 20, 2014, it informed the

United States about the processing of the petition

and granted the timeframe provided in its Rules of

Procedure to present allegations on its admissibility.

10a

14. The State maintained that the American

Declaration “is a nonbinding instrument and does not

create legal rights or impose legal duties on member

states of the Organization of American States.” The

State also informed that, although it considers

precautionary measures to be a “nonbinding

recommendation,” it transmitted the request to the

Governor and Attorney General of Missouri on May

20, 2014.

15. The State argued that the alleged victim has

had access to an extensive domestic judicial review

process in which his claims were reviewed. It indicated

that the Missouri Supreme Court, after considering

his claims raised at that point and weighing whether

capital punishment was disproportionate, affirmed

Mr. Bucklew’s convictions on August 25, 1998. The

State also made reference to the applications filed by

the alleged victim, including requests for certiorari

and habeas corpus, as well as the claims pursued by

Mr. Bucklew and other death row inmates to challenge

the lethal injection protocol in the state of Missouri. It

further referred to the proceedings that took place in

2014 after an execution date was scheduled by the

Missouri Supreme Court for May 21, 2014, and the

stay of execution that was later granted.

16. The State alleged that any decision on the

merits in this case would entail the fourth instance

formula, which prevents the Commission from “freely

second-guessing domestic courts’ legal and evidentiary

judgments calls.” In this sense, the State reiterated

that the alleged victim has had due process through

many opportunities to challenge both his conviction for

capital murder and the proposed method of execution.

17. In addition, the State argued that the claims

concerning Missouri’s current protocol and _ the

lla

allegations on the secrecy surrounding such documents,

should not be considered either, given the fourth

instance standard as it concerns matters of domestic

law. Nonetheless, the State maintained that there is

sufficient public information regarding the details of

Missouri's injection protocol, which in fact was taken

into account to successfully secure a stay of execution

from the U.S. Supreme Court in favor of the alleged

victim. Therefore, the State considered that the right to

due process has not been violated with respected to the

alleged secrecy surrounding Missouri's protocol.

18. The State indicated that international law

permits capital punishment when it is duly prescribed

for the commission of the most serious crimes and

carried out by a State in accordance with due process

of law and stringent procedural safeguards, as it

considers is the situation in the United States. Thus,

the State affirmed that capital punishment is

compatible with the right to life under international

law and highlighted that the United States has not

signed or ratified any international convention

obligating it to abolish capital punishment.

19. As for lethal injection as a method of

execution, the State alleged that this method has

often been adopted as more humane than other

methods that have been tried, and that the United

Nations Human Rights Committee has found that

lethal injection does not violate the International

Covenant on Civil and Political Rights. The State

contended that it should be given a “wide margin of

appreciation,” deferring to the discretion of local

actors who have to deal with complicated medical and

scientific circumstances and are in the best position

to assess such matters. In this sense, the State

referred to domestic decisions in other death penalty

cases which found that lethal injection did not

12a

constitute cruel and unusual punishment and was in

fact deemed to be more humane than other methods.

Ill. PROVEN FACTS

A. The application of lethal injection in

the State of Missouri

20. The Commission takes note of the Protocol for

Preparation and Administration of Chemicals for

Lethal Injection of the Missouri Department of

Corrections. Under this protocol, the state of Missouri

regulates different elements of the preparation and

application of the lethal injection, such as: the

execution team members, the preparation of

chemicals, the intravenous lines, the monitoring of

prisoners, the administration of chemicals and the

documentation of chemicals.°®

21. According to the text of the abovementioned

protocol, medical personnel are responsible for the

preparation of the lethal chemicals before the

execution; for the determination of the most

appropriate locations for intravenous (IV) lines and

insertion; and for monitoring of the prisoner during

the execution.* With regard to the insertion of the IV

lines, the protocol calls for two, the primary IV line

that may be inserted as a peripheral line or as a

central venous line (eg., femoral, jugular, or

subclavian) provided they have appropriate training,

5 Missouri Department of Corrections. Preparation and

mec one inte de age: Angee sr ar onal a

6 Missouri Department of Corrections. Preparation and

ee Sa on

l3a

education, and experience for that procedure; and the

secondary IV line as a peripheral line. The second IV

should not be used if the prisoner's physical condition

makes it unduly difficult to insert more than one.

22. Additionally, the protocol calls for the

execution team to be comprised of department

employees and _ contracted medical personnel

including a physician, nurse, and pharmacist. In

general terms, it proscribes that the team will also

include anyone selected by the department director

“who provides direct support for the administration of

lethal chemicals, including individuals who prescribe,

compound, prepare, or otherwise supply the

chemicals for use in the lethal injection procedure.”’

The members of the execution team under the

observation of medical personnel are to be responsible

for the injection of the chemicals into the prisoner.*

B. Russell Bucklew’s criminal conviction

and his medical condition

23. On May 1997, Mr. Bucklew was sentenced to

death for first degree murder, after a jury trial. He

also received prison sentences of 30 years for

kidnapping, 30 years for burglary, 30 years for rape,

and five years for armed criminal action.’ Since then,

7 Missouri Department of Corrections. Preparation and

Administration — for a oe — at.

8 Missouri Department of Corrections. Preparation and

mena 2 ithe thee pee Aer - sn te wd nad

9 State's submission dated March 28, 2016, p.2. See also:

Bucklew v. Lombardi, No. 14-8000-CV-W-BP.

l4a

Mr. Bucklew has been detained at the Potosi

Correctional Center in Mineral Point, Missouri.'°

24. The available information indicates that Mr.

Bucklew’s conviction and sentence were affirmed on

direct appeal. Likewise, his petition for post-

conviction relief was denied and this was affirmed by

the Supreme Court of Missouri. Mr. Bucklew also

filed a petition for a federal writ of habeas corpus

which was denied and this was affirmed by the

United States Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals. An

application for certiorari to the U.S. Supreme Court

was denied as well.!!

25. It is not disputed that Mr. Bucklew suffers

from a rare and congenital medical condition, known

as “cavernous hemangioma.” !?

10 Initial petition before the L[ACHR, p. 6.

‘| See: Initial petition before the IACHR; State's

submission dated March 28, 2016; and Bucklew v. Precythe, No.

17-3052, 2018 WL 1163360.

12 Initial petition before the [ACHR, p. 2. The petitioner

explained that “carvernous hemangioma is a blood vessel

condition that causes large tumors of malformed blood vessels to

grow on Mr. Bucklew’s head, face, and neck. Stricken with this

condition since childhood, Mr. Bucklew frequently endures

severe pain, nausea, dizziness and difficulty breathing. The

tumors are so large that the blood vessels within them are

distended and weak. Under stress, they rupture. His airway is

compromised by a vascular tumor.” Petitioner's submission

dated March 14, 2018, p. 2. See also: Bucklew v. Lombardi, No.

14-8000-CV-W-BP.

l5a

C. Judicial actions challenging Missouri’s

lethal injection protocol

1. Judicial proceedings before 2014

26. According to the available information, Mr.

Bucklew has filed three different judicial actions

raising allegations regarding the lethal injection

protocol in the State of Missouri, as well as specific

considerations as to his medical condition and the use

of certain drugs for the execution. The Commission

does not have detailed information about the course

of these proceedings, as the petitioners and the State

only made brief references to them. In the State’s

submission dated March 28, 2016 it presented a brief

timeline of these actions.

27. Specifically the State referred to the first suit

filed in 2009 before the Missouri District Court by

Mr. Bucklew and other death row inmates. According

to the State, this suit challenged the lethal injection

protocol in the state of Missouri and claimed that

Missouri authorities did not obtain the drugs used in

this method lawfully, that they were not prescribed

by a licensed practitioner, and that these were not

approved by the Federal Food and Drug Administration

for use in lethal injections. Specifically this action

sought a declaratory judgment that Missouri’s lethal

injection violates the Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act

(“FDCA”) as well as the Controlled Substances Act

(“CSA”).'3 The State indicated that, on May 19, 2009,

the district court decided in favor of the Missouri

13 The State cited: Ringo v. Lombardi, No. 09-4095-CV-C-

NKL, 2009 WL 1406980, at *1(W.D. Mo. May 19, 2009). State's

submission dated March 28, 2016.

l6a

Department of Corrections.'* This decision was then

appealed to the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals

which dismissed the complaint considering that the

protocol being challenged had changed due to supply

issues. '© In addition, the State mentioned that

litigation was brought to unseal documents in the

court's docket, including the deposition of an

anesthesiologist, which the litigants considered could

reveal key information about Missouri's execution

procedures.'® Lastly, the State said that, on January

6, 2016, the district court denied the request to

unseal.

28. According to the State, the second suit was

filed by Mr. Bucklew and a group of death row

inmates in 2012 against various officials of the

Missouri Department of Corrections. It claimed that

Missouri's execution protocol creates a substantial

risk of severe pain constituting cruel and unusual

punishment; that the protocol constitutes deliberate

indifference to serious medical needs in violation of

due process; that the process for setting execution

dates denies the inmates access to the courts in

violation of due process; that the failure to comply

with the injection protocol violates due process and

equal protection rights; and that Missouri has

concealed information from the public.'? On May 2,

2014 the district court dismissed the case. The State

affirmed at that time that litigation was still ongoing

4 —- The State cited: Ringo v. Lombardi, No. 09-4095-CV-C-

NKL, 2009 WL 1406980, at *1(W.D. Mo. May 19, 2009). State's

submission dated March 28, 2016.

‘5 The State cited: Ringo v. Lombardi, 677 F.3d 793 (8th

Cir. 2012). State's submission dated March 28, 2016.

'6 State's submission dated March 28, 2016.

'7 State's submission dated March 28, 2016, p.4.

17a

on plaintiffs’ motion to unseal documents from the

docket for the public. The Commission does not have

further information regarding this proceeding.

2. Judicial proceedings since 2014

29. Both parties referred in detail to the judicial

proceedings initiated from 2014 to the present and

which are summarized as follows.

30. On April 9, 2014 the Missouri Supreme Court

set Mr. Bucklew’s execution for May 21, 2014.'*

31. On May 9, 2014 Mr. Bucklew filed a new

lawsuit in the United States District Court for the

Western District of Missouri, alleging that Missouri's

lethal injection method posed a unique risk to him

because of his medical condition. He also sought a

preliminary injunction and a stay of execution.

Among his allegations, Mr. Bucklew claimed that

failing to take reasonable and necessary steps to

assess the risk he would face during his execution

“constitutes deliberate indifference to his serious

medical needs and violates his rights under the

Eighth Amendment and the Due Process Clause of

the Fourteenth Amendment.”'®

32. On May 19, 2014 the district court denied

both motions.” In its decision, the court reviewed

affidavits from three experts submitted by Mr.

Bucklew, and found that these were “insufficient to

'8 Initial petition before the LACHR, p. 6.

'9 State's submission dated March 28, 2016, p.4 and

petitioners’ submission dated February 4, 2015, p. 8. They cited:

Bucklew v. Lombardi, No. 14-8000-CV-W-BP, 2014.

20 =“ State’s submission dated March 28, 2016, p.4 and

petitioners’ submission dated February 4, 2015, p. 8. They cited:

Bucklew v. Lombardi, No. 14-8000-CV-W-BP, 2014.

18a

conclude that any adverse consequences [Mr.

Bucklew] may suffer rise to the level of

unconstitutional pain.” Moreover the court considered

that:

Although the affidavits contain words such as

“significant” and “substantial risk,” a closer

look reveals that the affidavits do not contain

the specificity necessary to prevail on an

Eighth Amendment claim. For example, when

discussing the possibility of adverse drug

interactions, [Expert Z.| fails to explain how

the medications could interact to increase

Bucklew’s pain. Although he concludes there is

a substantial risk that drug interactions could

cause pain, he bases this conclusion on the fact

that medications “may” interact with

pentobarbital. When discussing the possibility

that the lethal drug will not circulate as

intended, there is no explanation as to how the

drug should circulate or will

circulate. Similarly there is no explanation as

to how he defines “prolonged” or “extremely

painful.” Lastly, the affidavits are void of

discussion regarding the length of time

Bucklew may suffer pain. [...] See Fierro v.

Gomez |...]| (determining that execution by

lethal gas is cruel and unusual! punishment by

considering: (1) the extreme pain an inmate

would suffer; (2) the specific length of time this

extreme pain lasts; and (3) the substantial risk

that an inmate will suffer this extreme pain for

several minutes); see also Brewer v. Landrigan,

131 S. Ct. 445 (2010) (holding that “speculation

cannot substitute for evidence that the use of

the drug is sure or very likely to cause serious

illness and needless suffering”) [...] Whitaker v.

19a

Livingston, 732 F.3d 465, 468-69 (5th Cir.

2013)(“It is indeed not unreasonable to assume

that if a prisoner has the right to be free from a

demonstrated risk of severe pain when

compared to a known and available alternative,

he ought to have the opportunity to prove the

risk of pain and the availability of alternatives.

Even so, plaintiffs must point to some likelihood

that such pain will be severe and that some

alternative may exist. It is unacceptable to

claim that some unspecified amount of time is

required, just in case they might be able to

show that there might be some risk of

potentially excessive pain ...” “{U]nknown

unknowns [about the dangerous propensity of

a drug used for lethal injection] are insufficient

to demonstrate a risk of harm; something more

is needed to meet the difficult preliminary-

injunction standard.”)?!

33. Mr. Bucklew appealed this decision to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth

Circuit. On May 20, 2014 the Eighth Circuit initially

reversed this decision and granted the stay of

execution, the motion having been heard by a three-

judge panel and granted by a vote of 2-1.

Immediately on the same date, the Eighth Circuit

later sitting en banc reversed the ruling of the panel,

and decided the execution would proceed.”

2! Bucklew v. Lombardi, No. 14-8000-CV-W-BP, 2014.

22 = State’s submission dated March 28, 2016, p.4 and

petitioner's submission dated February 4, 2015, p. 8. They cited:

Bucklew v. Lombardi, 565 F. App’x 562, 564 (8th Cir.), opinion

vacated on rehearing en banc (May 20, 2014); and Bucklew v.

Lombardi, 565 F. App'x 562 (8thCir. 2014), revd en banc

(mem.).

20a

34. Mr. Bucklew then applied to the US.

Supreme Court for a stay of execution. On May 21,

2014, the U.S. Supreme Court ordered that the

execution be stayed, pending disposition of the appeal

by the Eighth Circuit.2*

35. On March 6, 2015 the Eighth Circuit Court

ruled that in dismissing Mr. Bucklew’s compiaint the

federal district court erred “because it was not

patently obvious that he could not prevail or that an

amendment to the complaint would be futile.”** The

Eighth Circuit Court remanded the case to the

district court to further examine petitioner's proposed

alternatives to the current protocol and Missouri's

willingness to alter its procedure to accommodate

those alternatives. At the time, the State indicated

that “this ruling technically ended the Supreme

Court’s stay of execution, but the Missouri Supreme

Court has not set a new date of execution, so the

effect has been that of an indefinite stay.””°

36. After the mandate issued by the Eighth

Circuit Court, Mr. Bucklew filed several amended

complaints, three of which were dismissed. The

fourth amended complaint asserted an Eighth

Amendment challenge, alleging that Missouri's

method of execution is unconstitutional if applied to

Mr. Bucklew due to his medical condition. Further

23 = State’s submission dated March 28, 2016, p.4 and

petitioner's submission dated February 4, 2015, p. 4. They cited:

Bucklew v. Lombardi, 134 S. Ct. 2333 (2014). 572 U.S. Order

13A1153 (May 21, 2014) (staying the case and denying

certiorari); Order, Bucklew v. Missouri, Case No. 13-10165 (U.S.

May 20, 2014); and Bucklew v. Lombardi, Case No. 14-2163 (8th

Cir. May 20, 2014).

%4 Petitioners’ submission dated March 14, 2018, p. 1.

*5 —_‘ State’s submission dated March 28, 2016, p.5.

Zila

specific allegations in this last amended complaint

indicated that using any lethal drug and carrying out

the execution by lethal injection will pose “an

enormous risk that Mr. Bucklew will suffer extreme,

excruciating and prolonged pain- all accompanied by

choking and struggling for air.” It was also alleged

that allowing Mr. Bucklew the possibility to adjust in

the gurney would not be sufficient, as “the stress of

the execution may unavoidably cause Mr. Bucklew’s

hemangiomas to rupture, leading to hemorrhaging,

bleeding in his throat and through his facial orifices,

and coughing and choking on his own blood.” In

addition, it was requested that a complete set of

imaging studies be conducted to fully evaluate and

establish the risks involved in the execution by lethal

injection considering his medical condition.”®

37. On June 15, 2017, the district court granted

summary judgment at the Missouri Department of

Corrections’ request, after finding that Mr. Bucklew’s

complaint failed to show that execution by nitrogen

hypoxia would substantially reduce the risk of pain or

suffering.?’

38. A copy of this decision is included in the

Commission’s case file. The pertinent parts of the

ruling are summarized as follows.“

39. The decision took into consideration the

available information on Missouri's death penalty

protocol, stating that while such information “has not

been succinctly described” the parties “implicitly

agree” that it involves the intravenous administration

26 See: Bucklew v. Precythe, No. 17-3052, 2018 WL

1163360.

27 ~_— Petitioner's submission dated March 14, 2018, p. 2.

“8 ~- Bucklew v. Lombardi, No. 14-8000-CV-W-BP.

22a

of pentobarbital. The court also referred to Mr.

Bucklew’s medical condition, but stated that from the

pertinent parts of the protocol it is confirmed that “a

central line in the femoral vein may be used instead

of inserting an IV in the peripheral veins.”” It also

considered the information on the risk of Mr.

Bucklew’s femoral vein rupturing, based on the

expert opinion proposed by Mr. Bucklew’s defense,

who “testified that the femoral vein is large and

capable of ‘taking a fair amount of fluid’ when the

central line is properly placed, and the risk of that

vein rupturing is ‘unlikely.” Based on this expertise,

the court asserted that “the risk of [Mr. Bucklew’s]

veins rupturing was limited to his peripheral veins.

According to the expert, there was no reason to

believe that Mr. Bucklew’s medical condition “made

his femoral vein more susceptible to rupture than

might otherwise be expected.”

40. In addition and based on the file record, the

court established that Mr. Bucklews medical

condition “will not affect the flow of chemicals in his

bloodstream once they are introduced through the

femoral vein, or otherwise affect his expected

response to the pentobarbital.”

41. As for the factual disputes, the court also

noted that these involved (i) Mr. Bucklew’s ability to

adjust his breathing once the pentobarbital begins to

take effect, since it was claimed that due to his

medical condition he has difficulty breathing while in

2“ The Court noted that this scenario was “assuming that

an IV could be placed [in the peripheral veins] in the first place”

considering the agreement from the parties that because of the

“cavernous hemangioma” Mr. Bucklew’s peripheral veins cannot

be used for the execution because “of the risk that they will

rupture.”

23a

the “supine position,” which is the position required

for inserting a central line:*° and (ii) how quickly the

pentobarbital will deprive Mr. Bucklew “of the ability

to sense that he is choking or unable to breathe.”

While the court referred to expert opinions from both

Mr. Bucklew’s defense and the Missouri Department

of Corrections on this latter point, which were

contradictory, the decision stated that the issue could

not be resolved on summary judgment.*!

30s On this point, the decision recalled that “when required

to be on his back [Mr. Bucklew] can adjust his breathing so that

he can remain in that position” for instance as it was possible for

him “to lie on his back approximately an hour while undergoing

an MRI.” Bucklew v. Lombardi, No. 14-8000-CV-W-BP.

31s The pertinent parts of these expert opinions are referred

to in the decision of the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals dated

March 6, 2018:

Bucklew’s expert opined that his condition will cause him

to experience severe choking and suffocation during

execution by lethal injection. When Bucklew is supine,

gravity pulls the hemangioma tumor into his throat which

causes his breathing to be labored and the tumor to

rupture and bleed. When conscious, Bucklew can “adjust”

his breathing with repeated swallowing that prevents the

tumor from blocking his airway. But during the “twilight

stage” of a lethal injection execution, [expert] Dr. Zivot

opined that Bucklew will be aware he is choking on his own

blood and in pain before the pentobarbital renders him

unconscious and unaware of pain. Based on a study of

lethal injections in horses, Dr. Zivot estimated there could

be a period as short as 52 seconds and as long as 240

seconds when Bucklew is conscious but immobile and

unable to adjust his breathing; his attempts to breath will

create friction, causing the tumor to bleed and possibly

hemorrhage. In Dr. Zivot’s opinion, there is a “very, very

high likelihood” that Bucklew will suffer “choking

complications, including visible hemorrhaging,” if he is

24a

42. In sum, the court established that “construing

the record in [Mr. Bucklew’s] favor reveals that it

could be fifty-two to 240 seconds before the

pentobarbital induces a state in which [Mr. Bucklew]

could no longer sense that he is choking or unable to

breathe.”

43. As for the legal analysis, the court considered

the ruling of the Supreme Court in Glossip v. Gross

on “what a prisoner must establish to succeed on an

Eighth Amendment method-of-execution claim,”

which requires him or her: (i) to establish that the

method to be utilized “presents a risk that is sure or

very likely to cause serious illness and needless

suffering, and give rise to sufficiently imminent

executed by any means of lethal injection, including using

the drug pentobarbital.

According to [Missouri Department of Corrections, expert]

Dr. Antognini, pentobarbital causes death by “producing

rapid, deep unconscious[ness], respiratory depression,

followed by...complete absence of respiration, decreased

oxygen levels, slowing of the heart, and then the heart

stopping.” In contrast to Dr. Zivot, Dr. Antognini opined

that pentobarbital would cause ‘rapid and deep

unconsciousness” within 20-30 seconds of entering

Bucklews blood stream, rendering him insensate to

bleeding and choking sensations. Dr. Antognini also

challenged Dr. Zivot’s opinion that a supine Bucklew,

unable to adjust his breathing, will be aware he is choking

on his own blood and in pain from the tumor blocking his

airway before the pentobarbital renders him unconscious.

Dr. Antognini noted that, between 2000 and 2003, Bucklew

underwent general anesthesia eight times, at least once in

a supine position. In December 2016, Bucklew lay supine

for over an hour undergoing an MRI, with no more than

discomfort. The MRI revealed that his tumor had slightly

shrunk since 2010.

See: Bucklew v. Precythe, No. 17-3052, 2018 WL 1163360.

25a

dangers;” (ii) to “identify a known and available

alternative method of execution that entails a lesser

risk of pain,” this alternative must be “feasible,

readily implemented, and in fact significantly reduce

[the] substantial risk of severe pain.”

44. On the risk of serious illness or suffering, the

court concluded that inserting the line in Mr.

Bucklew’s femoral vein “does not present any risk of

serious illness or needless suffering;” and that from

the file record it was not possible to establish a

“conclusive determination regarding the risk that

{[Mr. Bucklew] will choke and be unable to breathe for

a period of time that would violate the Eighth

Amendment.”

45. Among other considerations, the court noted

that Mr. Bucklew was not able to establish a legal

argument to discuss the evidence presented by the

Missouri Department of Corrections indicating that

the line could be inserted in his femoral vein to

administer the execution drugs. In this regard, the

decision acknowledged that the factual issues raised

by Mr. Bucklew’s allegations addressed the “potential

difficulty in locating the femoral vein and the fact

that medical personnel might require multiple

attempts to locate it... [which as alleged by Mr.

Bucklew] will increase his stress, thereby increasing

his breathing rate and making it more likely that he

will choke.” The court concluded that Mr. Bucklew

did not quantify such risks nor did he explain how

these facts independently establish that Missouri's

current protocol presented a risk of serious illness or

needless suffering for him. The court also dismissed

this allegation based on its speculative nature and

that an Eighth Amendment claim cannot be

grounded on the likelihood that the medical

procedure would be performed incorrectly.

26a

46. In addition, considering the factual dispute as

to how long Mr. Bucklew will be aware that he is

choking or unable to breathe but unable to adjust his

breathing to remedy this situation after the drugs are

administered, the court reiterated that these issues

could not be resolved on summary judgment but at

trial. The court stated that “solely for purposes of

further discussion, ...[it] presume[d] that there is a

substantial risk that [Mr. Bucklew] will experience

choking and an inability to breathe for up to four

minutes.”

47. On the alternative measures standard, the

court considered Mr. Bucklews request that the

execution be performed with nitrogen gas-induced

hypoxia as he contended that it will “significantly

reduce the risks of severe pain and suffering.”

Regarding this allegation, Mr. Bucklew also raised

opposition to the application of the Glossip standard

to his case contending that this judgment involved

“facial challenge” while his case presented an “as-

applied challenge.” The court dismissed this

argument deeming there was no distinction set by the

Glossip standard between these two _ possible

challenges.

48. The decision then analyzed two main

questions: (i) whether the use of nitrogen gas will

cause Mr. Bucklew “to become unaware of his

choking and breathing difficulties sooner than he

would under the current protocol,” which is expected

to cover four minutes if the pentobarbital is used; and

(ii) whether “that difference in time [was] sufficient to

permit the court to find that nitrogen gas will make a

‘significant’ difference in [Mr. Bucklew] suffering.”

Mainly the court considered one of the expert

opinions based on which it established that there was

no significant difference between these two methods,

27a

nor in the “speed” of their lethal effect. In general,

the court considered that Mr. Bucklew did not

provide sufficient and competent evidence to support

that the effects of nitrogen gas will act faster than

pentobarbital.

49. On March 6, 2018, the Eighth Circuit Court

of Appeals affirmed the district court’s grant of

summary judgment in favor of the Missouri

Department of Corrections, and dismissed Mr.

Bucklew’s challenge to lethal injection in his case.

Circuit Judge Colloton dissented. The pertinent parts

of the ruling and the dissent are summarized as

follows.

50. The decision centered the debate on whether

the Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments would bar

Missouri authorities from employing a procedure that

is authorized by Missouri statute to execute Mr.

Bucklew. The court analyzed the information from

the two expert opinions presented by the parties as

well as the application of the Glossip standard. The

ruling also noted that, while the challenged decision

declined to rely on the likelihood of needless

suffering, it established that Mr. Bucklew failed to

provide “adequate evidence” that the alternative

method of execution he proposed would “significantly

reduce a substantial risk of severe pain.”

51. Considering the issue as to whether a method

of execution would constitute cruel and unusual

punishment, the court deemed it appropriate to rule

on this specific “issue of law” by summary judgment.

The court then considered that:

32 Bucklew v. Precythe, No. 17-3052, 2018 WL 1163360.

28a

Nitrogen hypoxia is an authorized method

of execution under Missouri Law, but it has

not been used since 1965 and does not have

a protocol in force for execution by lethal

gas;

Even though Mr. Bucklew was allowed to

submit “extensive discovery” regarding his

proposed method of execution, given

“Missouri's lack of recent experience such

discovery produced little relevant evidence

and no evidence that the risk posed by

lethal injection is substantial when

compared to the risk by lethal gas;”

Neither the assessment provided by Mr.

Bucklew’s appointed expert nor the State’s

expert were conclusive or sufficient to

support the use of lethal gas as opposed to

lethal injection;

Comparing both expert opinions at the

request of Mr. Bucklew regarding the time

it will take him to be unconscious or to

cause him brain death, the decision

establishes that “both methods would result

in unconsciousness in approximately the

same amount of time;”

Mr. Bucklews claim on _ experiencing

choking sensations if lethal injection is

used, rests on the proposition that he could

not be seated, which would be possible with

lethal gas, but this argument lacks factual

support in the record and in particular,

there was no assertion as to what changes

this would require in applying Missouri's

lethal injection protocol in his execution;

29a

The Director of Corrections has_ the

authority to make changes in the execution

protocol such as how the primary IV line

will be inserted in the central femoral vein

or how the gurney will be positioned, if the

execution team advises that changes are

needed during the preparation;

While Mr. Bucklew sought and was denied

discovery of the identities of the execution

team’s medical members, he never urged

the district court to establish a suitable

fact-finding procedure for discovery of facts

needed for the Director of Corrections to

define the as-applied challenge in using the

current lethal injection protocol on him;

While the Director of Corrections had

proposed to reposition the gurney during

the execution, the record does not disclose

whether Mr. Bucklew will in fact be supine

during the execution nor does it disclose

that a “cut-down” procedure will not be

used to place the primary IV line in his

central femoral vein, a procedure that was

considered unnecessary by the State's

expert; and,

Mr. Bucklew’s allegations are based on

speculation that the Missouri authorities

will employ such risk-increasing procedures.

52. In conclusion and based on the foregoing, the

court reaffirmed that there was no basis to conclude

Mr. Bucklews “risk of severe pain would be

substantially reduced by use of nitrogen hypoxia

instead of lethal injection as the method of execution”

and that he therefore failed to establish that lethal

injection as applied to him would constitute cruel and

30a

unusual punishment under the LFEighth and

Fourteenth Amendments.

53. The ruling also dismissed Mr. Bucklew’s

claim for access to background information on the

members of the execution team, in particular the

technicians’ qualifications, training and experience.

The decision considered that these arguments

proceeded from the premise that the State's

personnel “may not be qualified for the positions for

which they have been hired” or that they “are

incompetent or unqualified to perform their assigned

duties.” Moreover the court recalled that “the

votentiality that something may go wrong in an

execution does not give rise to an Eighth Amendment

violation” as “some risk of pain is inherent in any

method of execution —no matter how humane- if only

from the prospect of error in following the required

procedure.” It also evoked its previous decision

stating that Mr. Bucklew “may not be permitted to

supervise every step of the execution process” and

that it must be assumed that “those responsible for

carrying out the sentence are competent and

qualified to do so, and that the procedure will go as

intended.”

54. As for the dissenting opinion of Judge Collon,

the Commission notes that it was based on the

consideration that the case involved “genuine

disputes of material fact that require findings of fact

by the district court before this dispute can be

resolved.” Therefore Judge Collon was of the opinion

that the case should be remanded to the district court

to promptly conduct further proceedings.

55. Mr. Bucklew’s execution is scheduled for

March 20, 2018.

3la

IV. ANALYSIS OF LAW

56. Taking into account the arguments of the

parties and the proven facts, the Commission will

conduct its analysis of law in the following order: i)

Preliminary considerations on the L[ACHR’s standard

of review in cases involving the death penalty; ii)

Right to humane treatment, and not to undergo cruel,

degrading, and unusual punishment, and right to a

fair trial in relation to the method of execution and

judicial remedies; iii) Right to humane treatment,

and not to undergo cruel, degrading, and unusual

punishment in relation to Mr. Bucklew’s time on

death row; and iv) The right to life and not to receive

cruel, infamous, or unusual punishment with respect

to an eventual execution.

A. Preliminary considerations on the

IACHR’s standard of review in cases

involving the death penalty

57. Before embarking on its analysis of the

merits in the instant case, the Inter-American

Commission considers it relevant to reiterate its

previous decisions regarding the heightened scrutiny

to be applied in cases involving the death penalty.

The right to life has received broad recognition as the

supreme human right and as a condition sine qua

non for the enjoyment of all other rights.

58. That gives rise to the particular importance of

the IACHR’s obligation to ensure that any

deprivation of life that may arise from the

enforcement of the death penalty strictly abides by

the requirements set forth in the applicable

instruments of the Inter-American human rights

32a

system, including the American Declaration.* That

heightened scrutiny is consistent with the restrictive

approach adopted by other international human

rights bodies when analyzing cases that involve the

imposition of the death penalty,™ and it has been set

out and applied by the Inter-American Commission in

previous capital cases brought before it.

“3 See, in this respect, [ACHR, The death penalty in the

Inter-American System of Human Rights: From restrictions to

abolition, OF A/Ser.L/V/1L. Doc. 68, December 31, 2011.

“ ~——s« See, for example: I/A Court H. R., Advisory Opinion OC-

16/99 (October 1, 1999), The Right to Information on Consular

Sai _ IACHR, Report No. 11/15, Case 12.833, Merits

para. 54; Report No. 44/14, Case 12.873, Merits (Publication),

33a

59. As the Inter-American Commission has

explained, this standard of review is the necessary

consequence of the specific penalty at issue and the

right to a fair trial and all attendant due process

guarantees, among others.” In the words of the

Commission:

due in part to its irrevocable and irreversible

nature, the death penalty is a form of

punishment that differs in substance as well as

in degree in comparison with other means of

punishment, and therefore warrants a

particularly stringent need for reliability in

determining whether a person is responsible

for a crime that carries a penalty of death.*”

60. The Inter-American Commission _ will

therefore review the petitioner's allegations in the

present case with a heightened level of scrutiny, to

ensure in particular that the rights to life, due

process and fair trial, among others set out in the

American Declaration have been respected by the

State. With regard to the legal status of the American

Declaration, the LACHR reiterates that:

[t}he American Declaration is, for the Member

States not parties to the American Convention,

the source of international obligations related

Edgar Tamayo Arias, United States, July 17, 2014, para. 127;

Report No. 57/96, Andrews, United States, [ACHR Annual

Report 1997, paras. 170-171.

% IACHR, The death penalty in the Inter-American

System of Human Rights: From restrictions to abolition,

OEA/Ser.L/V/IL. Doc. 68, December 31, 2011, para. 41.

37 ~1ACHR, Report No. 78/07, Case 12.265, Merits

(Publication), Chad Roger Goodman, The Bahamas, October 15,

2007, para. 34.

34a

to the OAS Charter. The Charter of the

Organization gave the [ACHR the principal

function of promoting the observance and

protection of human rights in the Member

States. Article 106 of the OAS Charter does

not, however, list or define those rights. The

General Assembly of the OAS at its Ninth

Regular Period of Sessions, held in La Paz,

Bolivia, in October, 1979, agreed that those

rights are those enunciated and defined in the

American Declaration. Therefore, the American

Declaration crystallizes the fundamental

principles recognized by the American States.

The OAS General Assembly has also repeatedly

recognized that the American Declaration is a

source of international obligations for the

member states of the OAS.**

61. Finally, and bearing in mind the State's

position, the Commission recalls that its review does

not consist of determining that the death penalty and

of itself violates the American Declaration. What this

section addresses is the standard of review of the

alleged human rights violations in the context of a

judicial process culminating in the death penalty.

B. Right to humane treatment, and not

to undergo cruel, degrading, and

unusual punishment and right to a

fair trial in relation to the method of

execution and judicial remedies

62. Article XVIII of the American Declaration

establishes the right to judicial protection as follows:

38 LACHR, Report No. 44/14, Case 12,873, Report

on Merits (Publication), Edgar Tamayo Arias, United States,

duly 17, 2014, para. 214.

35a

Every person may resort to the courts to

ensure respect for his legal rights. There

should likewise be available to him a simple,

brief procedure whereby the courts will protect

him from acts of authority that, to his

prejudice, violate any fundamental constitutional

rights.

63. Article XXVI of the American Declaration

establishes the right to due process as follows:

(...) Every person accused of an offense has

the right (...) not to receive cruel, infamous or

unusual punishment.

1. General considerations

64. The Commission notes that even though the

American Declaration does not prohibit the death

penalty, the State has a heightened obligation to

ensure that the method of execution does not

constitute cruel, infamous or unusual punishment.

In this regard, the U.N. Special Rapporteur on

torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading

treatment or punishment observed that “[t|he fact

that a number of execution methods have been

deemed to constitute torture or CIDT, together with a

growing trend to review all methods of execution for

their potential to cause severe pain and suffering,

highlights the increasing difficulty with which a state

may impose the death penalty without violating

international law.”*

39 = =6The death penalty and the absolute prohibition of

Torture and Cruel, Inhuman, and Degrading Treatment or

Punishment, Juan E. Mendez, Human Right Brief, Volume 20,

Issue 1, Article 1, p. 3.

36a

65. Along these same lines, various supervisory

bodies have considered that an execution method is

incompatible with the right to humane treatment and

the prohibition of torture when it is not designed to

inflict the least possible suffering,“° and have raised

questions on the compatibility of the method of lethal

injection with the prohibition of torture.

66. The Special Rapporteur on Extrajudicial,

Summary or Arbitrary Executions has indicated with

respect to the methods for the execution of the death

penalty that

the extraordinary power conferred on the State

to end a person’s life through a firing squad,

hanging, lethal injection or other means to kill,

poses a dangerous risk of abuse. This power

can be kept under control only through the

public supervision of the punishment. It is a

commonplace that due process serves to protect

the accused. However, due process is also a

mechanism through which society ensures that

the punishments inflicted on their behalf are

fair.)

67. The Human Rights Committee has considered

that when the death penalty is applied by a State

40 ‘In that respect, guideline xi) of the “UE Guidelines on

Death Penalty” establishes that “Where capital punishment

occurs, it shall be carried out so as to inflict the minimum

possible suffering. It may not be carried out in public or in any

ised and updated ,

41 A/HRC/30/18, Human Rights Council, Capital punish-

ment and the implementation of the safeguards guaranteeing

protection of the rights of those facing the death penalty, Yearly

supplement of the Secretary-General to his quinquennial report

on capital punishment, para. 50.

37a

party for the most serious crimes, it must not only be

strictly limited in accordance with Article 6 of the

International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights

(ICCPR) but must also be carried out in such a way

as to cause the least possible physical and mental

suffering.42 The Committee has evaluated the methods

of execution of the death penalty in light of the

prohibition of torture and cruel, inhuman or

degrading treatment provided for in the ICCPR and

has concluded that the methods of stoning**, injection

of untested lethal drugs, gas chambers,“ burning and

burying alive,“ and public executions“ are contrary

to Article 7.47

68. With regard to the injection of untested lethal

drugs, in its concluding observations on the fourth

periodic report of the United States, the Human

Rights Committee noted with concern reports “about

the administration, by some states, of untested lethal

drugs to execute prisoners and the withholding of

information about such drugs.” The Committee

recommended that the State “ensure that lethal

42 Human Rights Committee, General Comment No: 20:

Article 7 (Prohibition of Torture, or Other Cruel, Inhuman or

Degrading Treatment or Punishment), 10 March 1992, para. 6.

43 Human Rights Committee, Concluding Observations:

Iran (2011), para. 12.

44 Human Rights Committee, Communication No. 469/

1991, Ng v Canada, Views adopted on 5 Nov 1993, para. 16.4.

45 Human Rights Committee, Malawi Africa Association v

Mauritania, Report of the ACHPR of 11 May 2000, para. 120.

46 —_ Concluding Observations: Democratic Republic of Korea

(2001), para. 13.

47 See Human Rights Committee, Draft General Comment

No.36 on Article 6 of the International Covenant on Civil and

Political Rights, on the right to life, para 44.

38a

drugs used for executions originate from legal,

regulated sources, and are approved by the United

States Food and Drug Administration and that

information on the origin and composition of such

drugs is made available to individuals scheduled for

execution.”*8

69. Similarly, the Committee Against Torture has

expressed its concerned that death penalty executions

in the United States can be accompanied by severe

pain and suffering and has called on the State to

“carefully review its execution methods, in particular

lethal injection, in order to prevent severe pain and

suffering.”*9

70. The Special Rapporteur on torture and other

cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment

has considered that the method of lethal injection “as

currently administered, does not work as efficiently

as intended. Some prisoners take minutes to die and

others become very distressed. New studies conclude

that even if lethal injection is administered without

technical error, those executed may experience

suffocation, and therefore the conventional view of

lethal injection as peaceful and painless death is

questionable.”™© The Special Rapporteur has under-

lined that States must ensure that the method of

execution employed causes the least possible physical

48 Human Rights Committee, Concluding observations on

the fourth periodic report of the United States of America,

CCPR/C/USA/COA4, para. 8.

49 Committee against Torture, Conclusions and

recommendations of the Committee against Torture, United

States of America, 25 July 2006, CAT/C/USA/CO/2, para. 31.

50 _ Interim Report of the Special Rapporteur on torture and

other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment,

A/67/229, 9 August 2012, para. 38.

39a

and mental suffering and has the burden of proof of

establishing that there are no more humane

alternatives available. °'

71. In capital cases the State has an enhanced

obligation to ensure that the person sentenced to

death has access to all the relevant information

regarding the manner in which he or she is going to

die. In particular, the convicted person must have

access to information related to the precise

procedures to be followed, the drugs and doses to be

used in the case of execution by lethal injection, and

the composition of the execution team as well as the

training of its members.®2

72. Any person subjected to the death penalty

must have the opportunity to challenge every aspect

of the execution procedure and such information is

necessary to file a challenge. The [ACHR notes in

this regard that the obligation of the State to provide

due process is not limited to the conviction and post-

conviction proceedings.®* Accordingly, the State has

the duty to inform the person sentenced to death, in a

timely manner, about the drug and method of

execution that will be used, so he or she is not

precluded from litigating the right to be executed in a

manner devoid of cruel and unusual suffering.

51 Interim Report of the Special Rapporteur on torture and

other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment,

A/67/229, 9 August 2012, para. 80 (b).

52 ACHR, Report No. 53/13, Case 12.864, Merits

(Publication), Ivan Teleguz, United States, July 15, 2013, para.

123.

53° IACHR, Report No. 53/13, Case 12.864, Merits

(Publication), Ivan Teleguz, United States, July 15, 2013, para.

123.

40a

2. Analysis of the case

73. The Commission notes that it is undisputed

that Mr. Bucklew, sentenced to the death penalty in

1997, suffers from “cavernous hemangioma,” a rare

and congenital medical condition that causes large

tumors of malformed blood vessels to grow on his

head, face and neck. These tumors cause difficulty

breathing and rupture under stress. The petitioners

have argued before the Commission and the domestic

judicial authorities that, due to this condition, there

is a high risk that the application of Missouri's

protocol of execution for lethal injection will cause

excruciating suffering and pain to Mr. Bucklew.

Taking into account the standard of the U.S.

Supreme Court for these cases, Mr. Bucklew

proposed “nitrogen hypoxia” as the alternative that

could cause him less pain. As established in the

proven facts, domestic judicial proceedings regarding

this claim ended on March 6, 2018, with a decision of

the Eight Circuit Court of Appeals in favor of the

Missouri Department of Corrections and dismissing

Mr. Bucklew’s allegations. As of the date of the

present report, his execution is scheduled for March

20, 2018.

74. The LACHR must analyze whether the United

States provided an effective judicial remedy to Mr.

Bucklew, and whether its actions and omissions

during the judicial proceedings were compatible with

its international obligations under the American

Declaration, including strict compliance with the

right not to be subjected to torture and cruel,

infamous or unusual punishment.

75. From the judgments of June 15, 2017 and

March 6, 2018 described in the proven facts, the

Commission finds that they were clearly decided on

4la

the basis of the standards set out by the U-S.

Supreme Court in Glossip v. Gloss. The Commission

recalls that according to that judgment, the prisoner

has the burden to demonstrate three concurring

elements: (i) that the method to be applied “presents

a risk that is sure or very likely to cause serious

illness and needless suffering and give rise to

sufficiently imminent dangers;” (ii) the identification

of a “known and available alternative method” that

entails a lesser risk of pain; and (iii) that this

alternative is “feasible, readily implemented” and

would “in fact significantly reduce” the risk of severe

pain.

76. The Commission notes that the burden of

argumentation and proof with respect of each of the

three elements resides primarily with the prisoner,

and that the standard to be met to establish the three

concurring elements jointly considered is very high.

The LACHR considers that the effectiveness of a

remedy that imposes such burdefis in order to

succeed must be analyzed taking into account that, in

the instant case, access to justice is directly linked to

the prohibition of torture and cruel and inhumane

punishments. Therefore, it must be analyzed under

the undisputed premise that the prohibition of

torture is a peremptory norm of international law.

Also, that under the American Declaration and other

principal human rights instruments the use of

torture and cruel and inhumane punishment is

strictly prohibited. The United States has an

obligation to ensure that no such treatment is

imposed on persons under its jurisdiction, and this

has implications in the analysis of judicial

proceedings related to methods of execution that

could breach that obligation.

42a

77. The fact that the United States international

obligations do not prohibit the death penalty does not

mean that in can be imposed in a manner that could

entail torture or inhumane or cruel treatment. In

death penalty cases, in the event that the State

becomes aware that there is a significant risk that

the specific method of execution could cause a breach

of its international obligations, including peremptory

norms of international law, it is required to abstain

from proceeding with the execution under those

circumstances, regardless of whether there is an

alternative method.

78. In the instant case, the judicial proceedings

described in the proven facts reflect that, since 2014,

Mr. Bucklews defense has been presenting

information on the risk that he would suffer

excruciating pain upon the application of Missouri's

protocol of execution by lethal injection. These

arguments were supported by an expert opinion that

established that, if subjected to execution by the

existing protocol for lethal injection, during the

execution Mr. Bucklew “will be aware he is choking

on his own blood and in pain before the pentobarbital

renders him unconscious and unaware of pain.” The

expert indicated that the period of suffering in such

circumstances could last up to four minutes. The

Commission considers that this particular risk of

choking on his own blood, being aware of it, and for a

per» of up to four minutes, taking in consideration

the context of extreme stress and anxiety, would

constitute cruel and inhuman punishment. The

[ACHR finds that the severity of the suffering that

would be imposed under such circumstances could

amount to torture.

79. The Commission notes that the Missouri

Department of Corrections presented another expert

43a

opinion challenging, among other issues, the length of

the period of time during which Mr. Bucklew would

suffer. Because the district court ruled in favor of the

Department of Corrections at the stage of summary

judgment, the factual determinations were not fully

litigated. In light of the findings at the stage of

summary judgment, both the district court and the

Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals found that Mr.

Bucklew’s defense had not sufficiently established the

risk of needless suffering under the first requirement

of Glossip v. Gloss. The decisions of June 15, 2017

and March 6, 2018 indicate that the courts ruled in

favor of summary dismissal of the claims without a

full trial to explore and resolve these factual disputes,

taking into account that, in any case, Mr. Bucklew

failed to demonstrate the existence of an alternative

that would significantly reduce the level of pain.

80. The Commission highlights that the relevant

question under the American Declaration is not the

relative merits of lethal injection versus “nitrogen

hypoxia” but whether the method planned to execute

Mr. Bucklew will cause cruel and inhuman

punishment or torture. Consequently, the main issue

for analysis in light of the prohibition of cruel and

inhuman punishment and torture is precisely the

“factual disputes” with regard to the level and

likelihood of suffering that execution by means of

lethal injection would cause to Mr. Bucklew. The

[ACHR reiterates that, under peremptory norms of

international human rights law and as reflected in

the American Declaration, the United States has the

duty to abstain from carrying out an execution when

there is significant risk that it would breach the

prohibition of cruel and inhuman treatment or

torture. Compliance with this duty cannot be

conditioned on the existence of “alternatives.”

4Aa

81. In this case, a very concrete risk of extreme

suffering was presented to the courts by means of

allegations and an expert opinion on the particular

situation of Mr. Bucklew. Under international law,

judicial authorities had the obligation to respond with

due diligence to fully consider that risk before

authorizing that execution could proceed. The district

court identified the existence of factual disputes

regarding the extent to which and length of time

during which Mr. Bucklew would be aware of choking

and being unable to breathe and that those disputes

could not be resolved on summary judgment but only

through a trial. For purposes of analysis, the district

court “presume|d] that there is a substantial risk that

{Mr. Bucklew] will experience choking and an

inability to breathe for up to four minutes.” The

domestic courts, while accepting the existence of a

specific risk in the particular situation of Mr.

Bucklew, and expressly recognizing that key factual

questions could not be fully resolved by means of a

summary judgment, decided to proceed with the

execution because Mr. Bucklew’s defense had failed

to establish the existence of an alternative method

that would reduce the suffering.

82. The Commission considers that the summary

dismissal of such claims demonstrates a failure to act

with due diligence to fully examine them in light of

the prohibition of torture and cruel and inhuman

punishment. The Commission also observes that the

‘andards applic« effectively condition the granting

of relief from a situation of cruel and inhuman

treatment on a showing by the person concerned of a

feasible alternative that will cause less suffering.

What is required is a process that fully explores the

possibility of the risk of cruel and inhuman suffering.

Both the conditionality and the placing of the burden

45a

of proof on the affected person are inconsistent with

the guarantees required from an OAS Member State.

83. Taking into account the considerations above,

the Commission concludes that the United States did

not provide Mr. Bucklew with effective access to

judicial protection with regard to his right to be free

from torture and cruel and inhuman punishment in

the context of the application of lethal injection as the

method of execution. Therefore, the Commission

establishes that the State is responsible for the

violation of Articles XVIII and XXVI of the American

Declaration to the detriment of Mr. Bucklew.

C. Right of protection against arbitrary

arrest, to humane treatment, and not

to undergo cruel, infamous, or unusual

punishment, with respect to the

deprivation of liberty on death row

84. As indicated above, Article XXVI of the

American Declaration establishes that “Every person

accused of an offense has the right (...) not to receive

cruel, infamous or unusual punishment.”

85. In both international human rights law and

comparative law, the issue of long term deprivation of

liberty on death row, known as the death row

phenomenon, has been developed for decades, in light

of the prohibition of cruel, inhuman, or degrading

punishment in constitutions and in multiple

international treaties, including the American

Declaration of the Rights and Duties of Man (Articles

XXV and XXVI). Bearing in mind the equivalent

nature of the protections envisaged in this regard in

the American Declaration and other international

instruments, the Commission considers it relevant to

cite a number of developments that have taken place

46a

in the inter-American and other protection systems,

including the regional and United Nations systems.

86. To start with, the Commission takes note of

the concept of the death row phenomenon that the

United Nations Special Rapporteur on torture and

other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or

punishment has taken into consideration:

(...) it consists of a combination of circum-

stances that produce severe mental trauma

and physical deterioration in prisoners under

sentence of death. ™ Those circumstances

include the lengthy and anxiety-ridden wait for

reduced human contact and even the physical

conditions in which some inmates are held.

Death row conditions are often worse than

those for the rest of the prison population, and

prisoners on death row are denied many basic

human necessities.

87. In the case of Soering vs. The United

Kingdom, the European Court of Human Rights, in

its interpretation of the norm banning cruel,

inhuman, and unusual punishment and in reference

to the death penalty, pointed out that:

‘4 United Nations. Report of the Special Rapporteur on

torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment of

punishment. 9 August 2012. A/67/279, para 42. Citing: Patrick

Hudson, “Does the death row phenomenon violate a prisoner's

rights under international law” European Journal of

International Law, vol. 11, No. 4 (2000), pp. 834-837.

55 United Nations. Report of the Special Rapporteur on

torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment of

punishment. 9 August 2012. A/67/279. para 42.

47a

The manner in which it is imposed or executed,

the personal circumstances of the condemned

person and a disproportionality to the gravity

of the crime committed, as well as the conditions

of detention awaiting execution, are examples

of factors capable of bringing the treatment or

punishment received by the condemned person

within the proscription under Article 3. %

88. The European Court was referring to an

average of six to eight years on death row from

imposition of the penalty to execution and it noted

that proceedings and appeals subsequent to the

imposition of the death penalty themselves have a

bearing on the time spent on death row. The

European Court nonetheless stated that:

(...) just as some lapse of time between

sentence and execution is inevitable if appeal

safeguards are to be provided to the

condemned person, so it is equally part of

human nature that the person will cling to life

by exploiting those safeguards to the full.

However well-intentioned and even potentially

beneficial is the provision of the complex of

post-sentence procedures in Virginia, the

consequence is that the condemned prisoner

has to endure for many years the conditions on

death row and the anguish and mounting

tension of living in the ever-present shadow of

death. 57

56

No.

57

No.

ECtHR. Case of Soering v. The United Kingdom. Report

14038/88. Judgment, July 7, 1989. para. 104.

ECtHR. Case of Soering v. The United Kingdom. Report

14038/88. Judgment, July 7, 1989. para. 106.

48a

7.

For any prisoner condemned to death, some

element of delay between imposition and

execution of the sentence and the experience of

severe stress in conditions necessary for strict

incarceration are inevitable.

(...)

However, in the Court’s view, having regard to

the very long period of time spent on death row

in such extreme conditions, with the ever

present and mounting anguish of awaiting

execution of the death penalty, and to the

personal circumstances of the applicant,

especially his age and mental state at the time

of the offence, the applicant’s extradition to the

United States would expose him to a real risk

of treatment going beyond the threshold set by

Article 3.%

89. Furthermore, in a comparative law context,

the Commission notes that in 1993 the Privy Council

of the British House of Lords ruled on the issue of the

death row phenomenon in the Pratt and Morgan v.

Jamaica case, that:

In their Lordships’ view a State that wishes to

retain capital punishment must accept the

responsibility of ensuring that execution

follows as swiftly as practicable after sentence,

allowing a reasonable time for appeal and

consideration of reprieve. It is part of the

human condition that a condemned man will

take every opportunity to save his life through

use of the appellate procedure. If the appellate

No. 14038/88. Judgment, July 7, 1989. para. 111.

ECtHR. Case of Soering v. The United Kingdom. Report

49a

procedure enables the prisoner to prolong the

appellate hearings over a period of years, the

fault is to be attributed to the appellate system

that permits such delay and not to the prisoner

who takes advantage of it. Appellate procedures

that echo down the years are not compatible

with capital punishment. The death row

phenomenon must not become established as a

part of our jurisprudence.

(...)

The total period of delay is shocking and now

amounts to almost fourteen years. It is double

the time that the European Court of Human

Rights considered would be an infringement of

Article 3 of the European Convention and their

Lordships can have no doubt that an execution

would now be an infringement of section 17(1)

of the Jamaican Constitution.

To execute these men now after holding them

in custody in an agony of suspense for so many

years would be inhuman punishment within

the meaning of section 17(1).

=

These considerations lead their Lordships to

the conclusion that in any case in which

execution is to take place more than five years

after sentence there will be strong grounds for

believing that the delay is such as to constitute

“inhuman or degrading punishment or other

treatment”.

6 Pratt and Morgan v. The Attorney General for Jamaica

and another (Jamaica) [1993] UKPC 1 (2nd November, 1993),

paragraphs 73, 74, 75, and 84.

50a

90. In the same vein, the Supreme Court of

Uganda considered in 2009 that “to execute a person

after a delay of three years in conditions that were

not acceptable by Ugandan standards would amount

to cruel, inhuman punishment.” For its part, the

Supreme Court of Zimbabwe has pointed out since

1993 that “having regard to judicial and academic

consensus concerning the death row phenomenon, the

prolonged delays and the harsh conditions of

incarceration, a sufficient degree of seriousness had

been attained to entitle the applicant to invoke the

protection concerning the prohibition of torture and

inhuman or degrading punishment.” That Supreme

Court maintained that “52 and 72 months,

respectively, on death row constituted a violation of

the prohibition of torture and would render an actual

execution unconstitutional.”®!

91. As established under proven facts, Russell

Bucklew has been deprived of his liberty on death

row from 1997 to the date of the present report, i.e.,

for more than 20 years. The Commission notes that

the time spent by Russell Bucklew on death row

greatly exceeds the length of time that other

international and domestic courts have characterized

as cruel, inhuman, and degrading treatment. The

very fact of spending 20 years on death row is, by any

account, excessive and inhuman. Consequently, the

United States is responsible for violating, to the

detriment of Russell Bucklew, the right to humane

©) Supreme Court of Uganda in Attorney General v. Susan

Kigula and 417 others (Constitutional Appeal No. 3 of 2006),

2009.

61 Judgment of the Supreme Court of Zimbabwe of 24 June

1993 in Catholic Commissioner for Justice and Peace in

Zimbabwe v. Attorney General (4) SA 239 (ZS).

5la

treatment, and not to receive cruel, infamous, or

unusual punishment established in Article XXVI of

the American Declaration.

D. The right to life and not to receive

cruel, infamous, or unusual punish-

ment with respect to the eventual

execution of Russell Bucklew

92. Article I of the American Declaration sets

forth the right to life, liberty and personal security,

as follows: “Every human being has the right to life,

liberty and the security of his person.” The

Commission already cited the relevant part of Article

XXVI which also applies to the analysis in this

section.

93. The Commission reiterates that it is not

competent to review judgments handed down by

domestic courts acting within their spheres of

competence and with due judicial guarantees. In

principle that is because the [ACHR does not have

the authority to superimpose its own interpretations

on the assessment of facts made by national courts.

The fourth instance formula, however, does not

preclude the Commission from considering a case in

which the petitioners allegations entail a possible

violation of any of the rights set forth in the

Declaration.*? This authority is heightened in cases

involving imposition of the death penalty, given its

irreversibility.

94. As indicated above, the Inter-American

Commission considers that it is incumbent upon the

national courts, not the Commission, to interpret and

62 See, mutatis mutandis, [ACHR, Report No. 57/96, Case

11.139, William Andrews, United States, December 6, 1996.

52a

apply national law. Nevertheless, the [ACHR must

ensure that any deprivation of life resulting from

imposition of the death penalty complies with the

requirements of the American Declaration.“

95. Throughout this report, the Commission

established that Mr. Bucklew did not have access to

an effective judicial remedy to challenge the method

of execution and its specific consequences for his right

to humane treatment and not to receive cruel,

infamous or unusual punishment. The Commission

also established that this violation was particularly

serious, taking into account the actual risk of

excruciating suffering in the event of the application

of the lethal injection protocol. Moreover, the

Commission already established that the more than

20 years that Mr. Bucklew has been in death row

constitute cruel and inhuman treatment.

96. Under these circumstances, the [ACHR has

maintained that executing a person after proceedings

that were conducted in violation of his rights would

be extremely grave and constitute a deliberate

violation of the right to life established in Article I of

the American Declaration.™ Also, taking into account

the specific circumstances of this case, the Commission

considers sufficiently established that the execution

of Mr. Bucklew, taking into account his medical

condition, presents a substantial risk of imposing

cruel and inhuman suffering.

63 [ACHR, Report No. 53/13, Case 12.864, Merits

(Publication), [van Teleguz, United States, July 15, 2013, para.

129.

64 IACHR, Report No. 11/15, Case 12.833, Merits

(Publication), Félix Rocha Diaz, United States, March 23, 2015,

para. 106.

53a

97. In light of the foregoing and taking into

account the determinations made throughout this

report, the [ACHR concludes that the execution of

Russell Bucklew would constitute a serious violation

of his rights to life and not to receive cruel, infamous,

or unusual punishment established in Articles I and

XXVI of the American Declaration.

Vv. CONCLUSIONS AND

RECOMMENDATIONS

98. Based on the legal and factual considerations

set forth in this report, the Inter-American

Commission concludes that the United States is

responsible for violating Articles I (right to life,

liberty, personal security and integrity), XVIII (right

to a fair trial) and XXVI (right to due process of law)

of the American Declaration to the detriment of

Russell Bucklew. If Russell Bucklew were to be

executed, the State would also be responsible for a

serious and irreparable violation of the fundamental

rights to life and not to receive cruel, infamous, or

unusual punishment protected by Articles | and

XXVI of the American Declaration.

99. Russell Bucklew is the beneficiary of

precautionary measures adopted by the Inter-

American Commission under Article 25 of its Rules of

Procedure. The Inter-American Commission reaffirms

to the State that carrying out a death sentence in the

circumstances of the present case would not only

cause irreparable harm to the person but would also

deny his right to petition the Inter-American human

rights system and to obtain an effective result, and

that such a measure would be contrary to the

fundamental human rights obligations of the United

States as a member of the OAS pursuant to the

54a

Charter of the Organization and the instruments

deriving from it.

Accordingly,

THE INTER-AMERICAN COMMISSION

ON HUMAN RIGHTS RECOMMENDS

THAT THE UNITED STATES:

1. Grant Russell Bucklew effective relief. Taking

into account the conclusions of the LACHR on the lack

of an effective remedy to challenge the method of

execution, the time Russell Bucklew has already been

held on death row, his rare medical condition and the

significant risk, due to that condition, that his

execution would cause excessive suffering incompatible

with the American Declaration, the Commission

recommends that his sentence be commuted, that he

be transferred out of death row, and that the State

ensure that his conditions of detention are compatible

with his human dignity.

2. Review its laws, procedures, and practices to

ensure that the persons sentenced to the death

penalty have access to effective judicial remedies to

65 See: LACHR, Report No. 81/11, Case 12.776, Merits,

Jeffrey Timothy Landrigan, United States, July 21, 2011, para.

66; Report No. 52/01, Case No. 12.243, Juan Radl Garza, United

States, Annual Report of the [ACHR 2000, para. 117; LACHR,

Fifth Report on the Situation of Human Rights in Guatemala,

Doc.OEA/Ser.L/V/IL. 1 1doc.21irev. (April 6, 2001) paras. 71 and

72. See also: International Court of Justice, Case re. the Vienna

Convention on Consular Relations (Germany v. United States of

America), Request for the Indication of Provisional Measures,

Order of March 3, 1999, General List, No. 104, paras. 22-28;

United Nations Human Rights Committee, Dante Piandiong et

al. v. Philippines, Communication No. 869/1999, UN Doc.

CCPR/C/70/D/869.

55a

challenge the possible impact of the method of

execution on their fundamental rights in accordance

with the standards set forth in this merits report.

3. Given the violations of the American

Declaration the LACHR has established in the

present case and in others involving application of

the death penalty, the Inter-American Commission

also recommends to the United States that it adopt a

moratorium on the execution of persons sentenced to

death.

Approved by the Inter-American Commission on

Human Rights on the 18“ day of the month of March,

2018. (Signed): Esmeralda Arosemena Bernal de

Troitifio, First Vice President; Luis Ernesto Vargas

Silva, Second Vice President; Francisco José

Eguiguren, Joel Hernandez, Antonia Urrejola and

Flavia Piovesan, Commissioners.

The undersigned, Paulo Abréo, Executive

Secretary of the Inter-American Commission on

Human Rights, in keeping with Article 49 of the

Commission’s Rules of Procedure, certifies that this is

an accurate copy of the original deposited in the

archives of the [ACHR Secretariat.

Paulo Abrao

Executive Secretary

66 See in this regard, IACHR, The death penalty in the

Inter-American Human Rights System: From restrictions to

abolition, OF A/Ser.L/V/I1L. Doc 68, December 31, 2011.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Amicus Curiae Brief — Bucklew v. Precythe, 139 S. Ct. 306 (2018) (No. 17-8151) | Frix