Amicus Curiae Brief — Am. Legion v. Am. Humanist Ass'n, 139 S. Ct. 451 (2018) (No. 17-1717)
Supreme Court brief2018
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
Nos. 17-1717, 18-18
In the Supreme Court of the Anited States
AMERICAN LEGION, et al.,
Petitioners,
Vv.
AMERICAN HUMANIST ASSOCIATION, et al.,
Respondents.
On Writs of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
Brief of Religious and Civil-Rights Organizations
as Amici Curiae in Support of Respondents
STEVEN M. FREEMAN RICHARD B. KATSKEE
DAVID L. BARKEY Counsel of Record
AMY FEINMAN PATRICK GRUBEL*
Anti-Defamation League Americans United for
605 Third Ave. Separation of Church
New York, NY 10158 and State
(212) 885-7859 1310 L St. NW, Ste. 200
Washington, DC 20005
nae yy (202) 466-3234
Hindu American katskee@au.org
Foundation DANIEL MACH
910 17th St. NW, HEATHER L. WEAVER
Ste 316A American Civil Liberties
Washington, DC 20006 Union Foundation
(202) 223-8222 915 15th St. NW
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 675-2330
(Additionai caption and counsel on inside cover)
MARYLAND—NATIONAL CAPITAL
PARK AND PLANNING COMMISSION,
Petitioner,
Vv.
AMERICAN HUMANIST ASSOCIATION, et al.,
Respondents.
ELLIOT M. MINCBERG DEBORAH A. JEON
DIANE LAVIOLETTE ACLU Foundation of
People for the American Maryland
Way Foundation 3600 Clipper Mill Rd.,
1101 15th St. NW, Ste. 600 Ste. 350
Washington, DC 20005 Baltimore, MD 21211
(202) 467-4999 (410) 889-8555
JEFFREY I. PASEK
Cozen O’Connor
1650 Market St., 28th FI.
Philadelphia, PA 19102
(215) 665-2072
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
Table of Authorities.................-----------+--seeeeeeeneeeeeneees ill
Interests of the Amici Curiae............-------------++s--0+0009" 1
Introduction and Summary of Argument................--- 2
Argument ..........-..--.---c0---ecseeceenensnnennnnnsnnesnnneenenennenennes 4
A. The Judgment Is Consistent With The
History, Purpose, And Original
Understanding Of The Religion
i csscsccconsccscsnsssinnsinniincnrensiocsanenasneenscconsees 5
1. The Religion Clauses were premised
on the recognition that
governmental involvement with
religion is a grave threat to religious
Dee, ........ccccsonssessnnstnnenectsocoenacsncsscasenscesezees 5
2. The Framers recognized that
religious pluralism and civil
harmony require strict neutrality in
matters of religion. ...............----------.--.0s:s-" 9
B. The Counties’ Cross Display Intrudes
On Religious Freedom. ..............---------+-------0" 14
1. The Latin cross is an unmistakable
and potent symbol of Christianity. ........... 14
2. The counties’ cross display
constitutes official religious
Den... cccssscnmetmiemtssennememinenscrscsnseesss 16
C. The Legal Tests Advocated By Those
Seeking To Uphold The Official Cross
Display Fall Far Short Of The Original
Guarantees Of The First Amendment........... 22
3
TABLE OF CONTENTS—continued
Page
1. A narrow focus on legal coercion
would allow official favoritism to
degrade religious freedom and
render the Establishment Clause
ENE 23
2. A test limited to considering
practices at the time of ratification
3. The absence of past challenges to an
act of religious favoritism does not
alone show lack of cognizable harm. ........ 31
i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)
CASES
Abington Sch. Dist. v. Schempp,
374 U.S. 203 (1963) 2.00.00... 26, 29, 30, 32
American Atheists, Inc. v. Duncan,
616 F.3d 1145 (10th Cir. 2010)... 16, 18
Arizona Christian Sch. Tuition Org. v. Winn,
I, CI cs cssineumsewssimeenncetngs 12
Board of Educ. v. Grumet,
EE a 26
Borden v. School Dist.,
523 F.3d 153 (3d Cir. 2008) .....0 33
Bowen v. Kendrick,
SE a a ee 24
County of Allegheny v. ACLU
Greater Pittsburgh Chapter,
492 U.S. 573 (1989) o.oo... cece ccceeceeeeeeee ee passim
Davis v. Beason,
See en I sssnenenmemmmnenenmemes 12
District of Columbia v. Heller,
Se es 26
Edwards v. Aguillard,
SR TE ee ee bd 24
Engel v. Vitale,
I re ce passim
Epperson v. Arkansas,
eee eee te 3, 30
Everson v. Board of Educ.,
RSE ek EE Se Se ee passim
Flast v. Cohen,
DUI Pk 12, 30
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued
Page(s)
Glassroth v. Moore,
335 F.3d 1282 (11th Cir. 2003)......0..0000000000000..... 33
Hosanna-Tabor Evangelical Lutheran
Church & Sch. v. EEOC,
I, Bie I iccccicccsinncncusinsennseanuntncsioce 12, 30
Illinois ex rel. McCollum v. Board of Educ.,
Se Ps Ce GR etccetrncttctcevecccnsncsccvcereccses 12, 31
Kitzmiller v. Dover Area Sch. Dist.,
400 F. Supp. 2d 707 (M.D. Pa. 2005).................. 34
Larson v. Valente,
Eee 2, 4, 24
Lee v. Weisman,
Be CI oo cscoceccocccesevscosccsesensecsnas passim
Lynch v. Donnelly,
GD UE, Ge CIO x necincececccesececcescccecscccocccseseess 3, 32
Marbury v. Madison,
5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137 (1803) .....0000. oe. 26
Marsh v. Chambers,
463 U.S. 783 (1963)....................................... 27, 30
McCreary County v. ACLU of Ky.,
545 U.S. 844 (2005)............ 0... cece ccecce cece enone passim
Murdock v. Pennsylvania,
Ss PI ..neccsemsusccmunundonscamsumnonan 28
Reynolds v. United States,
I a eee eee 12
Rosenberger v. Rector &
Visitors of Univ. of Va.,
I cnetssaiusbisiemeunetbiinlonens 24
Salazar v. Buono,
EG CII ccsandscictiasenenteesqunenidoes 3, 16, 20
MO
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES— continued
Page(s)
Santa Fe Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Doe,
530 U.S. 290 (2000)... cee ccccccccc cece eeeeteenees 3, 32
Separation of Church & State
Comm. v. City of Eugene,
93 F.3d 617 (9th Cir. 1996) ...0.. 0... 18
Texas v. Johnson,
Ge SN He Ci icvececcenccecseccvccccececeocensossesnsesens 14
Town of Greece v. Galloway,
Ee Cs He i ccccccvcccccccececcsccescsscsconevsess 27, 30
Trunk v. City of San Diego,
629 F.3d 1099 (9th Cir. 2011)..........0..00........ 18, 28
Van Orden v. Perry,
es ee I cvcsscececencensvesoccecccecesessennee 13, 31
Wallace v. Jaffree,
is II cccccssusnesscvcncoecscescvoenscensnecees 4, 29
Walz v. Tax Comm'n,
397 U.S. 664 (1970)... cece eee 12, 27, 30
Watson v. Jones,
80 U.S. (13 Wall.) 679 (1871)......-..0.0 ee. 12
West Va. Bd. of Educ. v. Barnette,
SIO U.S. GB4 (1D43B)..............00...000..0cc0... cece 14, 34
Witters v. Washington Dep't
of Servs. for the Blind,
ee ee iiitertercinscniviccecsessissrescocsescston 30
Wynne v. Town of Great Falls,
376 F.3d 292 (4th Cir. 2004)..........0000.000.... 33
Zorach vy. Clauson,
ey a I I I inccnccctinnenennetiusconeuness 24
vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued
Page(s)
CONSTITUTIONS, STATUTES, AND REGULATIONS
SR I, I Bc vcsiciccsepiniisedsncbenenenmsesiane passim
nn I I ck ean apenasnatasebiaaon 28
a lial 21
MISCELLANEOUS
Robert S. Alley, Without a Prayer: Religious
Expression in Public Schools (1996)................... 32
Akhil Reed Amar, The Bill of Rights: Creation
and Reconstruction (1998) .............:..c-ceeeseeeeeeeeeees 9
Appellant’s Brief, Staley v. Harris County,
461 F.3d 504 (5th Cir. 2006) (No. 04-20667)...... 33
Available Emblems of Belief for Placement on
Government Headstones and Markers, U.S.
Dep’t of Veterans Affairs, Nat'l Cemetery
Admin., https://bit.ly/2ydVtE3 ........................... 21
George Willard Benson, The Cross: /ts History
ee I acta ttentcetecccednrctnnieteisecnicnsens 15
Rob Boston, Plucky Lindy, Church & State
(Apr. 2004), http://tinyurl.com/h47gja2.............. 33
Daniel O. Conkle, Toward a General
Theory of the Establishment Clause,
82 Nw. U. L. Rev. 1113 (1988)............................ 28
1 A Cyclopedia of Education
CE I GE, Bi bceccccccsessccesccscenscnsscesocoseess 29
Carl H. Esbeck, Protestant Dissent and the
Virginia Disestablishment, 1776-1786,
7 Geo. J.L. & Pub. Pol’y 51 (2009)...............00....... 8
Eusebius, Life of Constantine (Averil Cameron
& Stuart G. Hall trans. 1999)............................. 15
vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued
Page(s)
The Federalist No. 10 (James Madison).................. 10
The Federalist No. 51 (James Madison).................. 10
Noah Feldman, The Intellectual Origins
of the Establishment Clause,
77 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 346 (2002)...................... 6, 7, 10
Letter from Benjamin Franklin to
Richard Price (Oct. 9, 1780),
ER 8
Edwin S. Gaustad, Roger Williams (2005)................ 7
Winthrop S. Hudson, Religion in
pS ESTER RE 9
Thomas Jefferson, The Virginia Statute
for Religious Freedom (Jan. 16, 1786),
reprinted in Founding the Republic:
A Documentary History (John J. Patrick
Ei Te ihsnsteitatictetsindntniaeeiaeediiphuainsiidiimnsnbanacenss 11, 12
Kyle D. Johnson et al., Pilot Study of the Effect
of Religious Symbols on Brain Function:
Association with Measures of Religiosity,
1 Spirituality in Clinical Practice 82 (2014),
I iis cn cceninseiiionaniabenstivcdeeines 19
Douglas Keister, Stories in Stone: A Field
Guide to Cemetery Symbolism and
iia ckictictivccnsndonewsnen 16
Ron Knox, Judge in Dover 1D. Case
Touts Legal Independence, Lawrence
Journal-World (Sept. 27, 2006),
eee UAE GI OIGE «....cccccccccsecscccccesscscesscessess 34
vill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued
Page(s)
Douglas Laycock, Government-
Sponsored Religious Displays:
nt Rationalizations
and Expedient Post-Modernism,
61 Case W. Res. L. Rev. 1211 (2011)..........--.
Douglas Laycock, Religious Liberty
and the Culture Wars,
2014 U. Ill. L. Rev. 839 (2014)...........---..
Sara Amy Leach, World War I Veterans
and Their Federal Burial Benefits,
41:4 AGS Q.: Bull. Ass’n for
Gravestone Studies 36 (2017),
https://bit.ly/2Cd Bu 7 w .........-------0eeeeeeserrereree
Lauri Lebo, The Devil in Dover (2008) .........--..--
John Locke, A Letter Concerning Toleration
(James H. Tully ed., Hackett Publ’g Co.
1983) (1G689)..........-:-ecceeeeeeeeeceseneenennerrnnssenenenees
Bruce W. Longenecker, The Cross Before
Constantine: The Early Life of a Christian
Symbol (2015).......--+----+-seeeeeceeseeneennnnenennenennenes
James Madison, Memorial and Remonstrance
Against Religious Assessments, reprinted
in Everson v. Board of Educ., 330 U.S. 1
Letter from James Madison to
William Bradford (Apr. 1, 1774),
http:/bit.ly/2h57Xm5...... 2
Letter from James Madison to
Edward Livingston (July 10, 1822),
http://bit.ly/2ZUXMBT .........--------.-2eeseeerreere
ix
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued
Page(s)
Richard P. McBrien, Caesar’s Coin: Religion
and Politics in America (1987) ......................-..++- 7
Michael W. McConnell, The Origins
and Historical Understanding of
Free Exercise of Religion,
103 Harv. L. Rev. 1409 (1990)..............00-..00...... 10
Alister E. McGrath, Christianity:
An Introduction (3d ed. 2015)................. 14, 15, 16
Jon Meacham, American Gospel: God, the
Founding Fathers, and the Making of
I iain cinta tanedunsigeieiheeonsapeosenenet 10
Andy G. Olree, “Pride Ignorance and
Knavery”: James Madison’s Formative
Experiences with Religious Establishments,
36 Harv. J.L. & Pub. Pol’y 211 (2013)................ 10
Nicholas Jackson O'Shaughnessy, Politics
and Propaganda (2004) ..........................00ee0e0000e 14
Merrill D. Peterson, Jefferson
and Religious Freedom,
Atlantic Monthly (Dec. 1994),
a. es peeeanseniosans )
Pope Francis: The Cross Is the Gate of
Salvation, Catholic News (Mar. 12, 2017),
http://bit.ly/2CLyEGE..........................ceceeeeeees 15, 16
Frank S. Ravitch, Religious
Objects as Legal Subjects,
40 Wake Forest L. Rev. 1011 (2005) .................. 16
Jonathan Riley-Smith, The Crusades:
Fy MIE cincidenticncindediiecvsscnesecscesetasenes 15
x
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued
Page(s)
Philip A. Saigh, The Effect of Perceived
Examiner Religion on the Digit Span
Performance of Lebanese Elementary
Schoolchildren,
109 J. Soc. Psychol. 167 (1979)........................... 19
Philip A. Saigh, Religious Symbols and the
WISC-R Performance of Roman Catholic
Junior High School Students,
147 J. Genetic Psychol. 417 (1986)..................... 19
S.C. Prayer Plaintiff Faces Wrath of
Community Over Lawsuit,
Church & State 20 (Nov. 2004),
http://tinyurl.com/zka3n6r.................................. 33
Wayne R. Swanson, The Christ Child
ee te Sa eticrenicresscennsdsncecessseescosssesens 32
Richard Taylor, How to Read a Church:
A Guide to Symbols and Images in
Churches and Cathedrals (2003)........................ 15
| Alexis de Tocqueville, Democracy in
America (Bradley ed. 1945) ..............................-. 29
Transcript of Oral Argument,
Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577 (1992)
NN rea nicest ciacinteisceascnsennnseds 25, 26
Transcript of Oral Argument,
Santa Fe Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Doe,
530 U.S. 290 (2000) (No. 99-62)..............00000....... 32
U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops, Built
of Living Stones: Art, Architecture, and
ESR EEE a a eS ee 16
xi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued
Page(s)
Roger Williams, The Bloudy Tenent of
Persecution for Cause of Conscience (1644),
reprinted in 3 Complete Writings of Roger
Williams (Samuel L. Caldwell ed., 1963)... 6, 7, 10
John Witte Jr., Religion and the American
Constitutional Experiment (2d ed. 2005) ........... 10
BRIEF OF RELIGIOUS AND CIVIL-RIGHTS
ORGANIZATIONS AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS
INTERESTS OF THE AMICI CURIAE
Amici are religious and civil-rights organizations
whose members include adherents to a wide array of
faiths and beliefs that have historically been subjected
to religious discrimination and official disfavor. Our
differing belief systems notwithstanding, amici are
united in respecting the important but distinct roles
of religion and government in the life of our Nation.
From the time of +he founding, the Establishmeut
Clause and the religious and philosophical ideals on
which it is premised have protected religious freedom
for all Americans by ensuring that government does
not interfere in private matters of conscience. !
A governmental display of a Latin cross as a me-
morial to veterans is deeply hurtful and exclusionary
to the countless non-Christians who have died in ser-
vice to our Nation. Amici have strong interests in en-
suring that equal sacrifices by our fellow citizens are
treated with equal regard and that this Court’s juris-
prudence remains true to the fundamental principles
on which the Religion Clauses of the First Amend-
ment are based.
' No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part,
and no person other than amici, their members, or their counsel
made a monetary contribution to fund the briefs preparation or
submission. The parties’ letters consenting to the filing of amicus
briefs are on file with the Clerk.
The amici are:
Americans United for Separation of Church
and State.
American Civil Liberties Union.
American Civil Liberties Union of Maryland.
Anti-Defamation League.
Hadassah, the Women’s Zionist Organization
of America, Inc.
Hindu American Foundation.
Interfaith Alliance Foundation.
Jewish Social Policy Action Network.
Men of Reform Judaism.
National Council of Jewish Women.
People for the American Way Foundation.
Reconstructing Judaism.
Reconstructionist Rabbinical Association.
Union for Reform Judaism.
Women of Reform Judaism.
Individual descriptions of the amici appear in the
Appendix.
INTRODUCTION AND
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
“The clearest command of the Establishment
Clause is that one religious denomination cannot be
officially preferred over another.” Larson v. Valente,
456 U.S. 228, 244 (1982); accord, e.g., McCreary
County v. ACLU of Ky., 545 U.S. 844, 860 (2005) (gov-
ernment must remain “neutral{] between religion and
3
religion, and between religion and nonreligion” (quot-
ing Epperson v. Arkansas, 393 U.S. 97, 104 (1968)).
By ordaining that governmental and religious au-
thorities operate in separate spheres, the Framers
sought to safeguard religion from governmental influ-
ence and interference, so that all may worship and
pray, or not, according to the dictates of individual
conscience. And they undertook to quell the “hatred,
disrespect, and even contempt” that historically has
resulted “whenever government ha[s] allied itself with
one particular form of religion.” Engel v. Vitale, 370
U.S. 421, 431 (1962). The First Amendment thus dis-
allows official religious favoritism, no matter how
modest or how benign in intent.
“The cross is of course the preeminent symbol of
Christianity.” Salazar v. Buono, 559 U.S. 700, 725
(2010) (Alito, J., concurring in part and concurring in
the judgment). For some Christians, contemplating a
government-sponsored symbol of their faith may be a
profoundly affirming experience. But for those who do
not subscribe to Christian beliefs, being confronted
with an official display of a Latin cross may be a pro-
found experience in a quite different way.
For members of minority faiths, the towering
Latin cross here conveys a strong message of exclusion
and secondary status, whatever the counties’ intent.
It announces that Bladensburg is a Christian polity,
where Christians “are insiders, favored members of
the political community,” and all others “are outsid-
ers.” Santa Fe Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Doe, 530 U.S. 290,
309-310 (2000) (quoting Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S.
668, 688 (1984) (O'Connor, J., concurring)). And the
harm is all the greater because the counties proclaim
4
the cross to be a memorial to all veterans, without re-
gard to the countless non-Christians who fought and
died for our country.
When government chooses, as it should, to honor
those who have made the ultimate sacrifice for our
Nation, it should recognize the equal citizenship and
equal sacrifice of all. It should not favor only those
who hold a preferred faith or set of beliefs.
This Court’s long-standing jurisprudence, which
forbids such religious favoritism, appropriately safe-
guards religious freedom for all. As the United States
becomes increasingly religiously diverse, that consti-
tutional protection is more crucial than ever. The
Court should therefore reject any invitation to forsake
our “profound commitment to religious liberty”
(McCreary, 545 U.S. at 884) and should instead reaf-
firm the fundamental principles and essential protec-
tions for religious freedom that have served this coun-
try and all its people so well for so long.
ARGUMENT
“(T]he Framers of the First Amendment forbade”
any “official denominational preference,” mandating
instead the strict “principle of denominational neu-
trality.” Larson, 456 U.S. at 246, 255.2 Petitioners ask
2 Accord, e.g., Lee vy. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577, 641 (1992) (Scalia,
J., dissenting) ([O]ur constitutional tradition, from the Declara-
tion of Independence and the first inaugural address of Washing-
ton * * * down to the present day, has * * * ruled out of order gov-
ernment-sponsored endorsement of religion * * * where the en-
dorsement is sectarian * * *.”); Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38,
113 (1985) (Rehnquist, J., dissenting) (‘The [Establishment!
Clause was * * * designed to stop the Federal Government from
asserting a preference for one religious denomination or sect over
others.”).
5
this Court to approve a towering Latin cross as an of-
ficial monument to all veterans and fallen soldiers,
without regard for the diverse faiths and beliefs of
those who actually served and died for our country.
Petitioner American Legion and a number of petition-
ers’ amici further ask the Court to rewrite Religion
Clause jurisprudence wholesale, so as to license all
manner of official favoritism toward the majority
faith. Both requests are inconsistent with the funda-
mental constitutional principles that the Framers put
in place to protect religious freedom. They should be
rejected.
A. The Judgment Is Consistent With The
History, Purpose, And Original Under-
standing Of The Religion Clauses.
I. The Religion Clauses were premised on the
recognition that governmental involve-
ment with religion is a grave threat to reli-
gious freedom.
The architects of the First Amendment recognized
that “Religion & Govt. will both exist in greater pu-
rity, the less they are mixed together.” Letter from
James Madison to Edward Livingston (July 10, 1822),
http://bit.ly/2zUXhBT. This principle—that religion
flourishes best when government is least involved—
has deep roots in theology and political philosophy
that long predate the founding of the Republic.
Grounded in the belief that freedom of conscience is
an essential component of faith, as well as the experi-
ence of a long, sad history of religiously based strife
and oppression, the constitutional principle of separa-
tion of religion and government recognizes that gov-
ernmental support for religion corrodes true belief,
risks making religious denominations and houses of
worship beholden to the state, and places subtle—or
6
not so subtle—coercive pressure on individuals and
faith groups to conform.
a. The notion of freedom of conscience as a moral
virtue traces to the thirteenth-century teachings of
Thomas Aquinas, who wrote that conscience must be
a moral guide and that acting against one’s conscience
constitutes sin. See Noah Feldman, The Intellectual
Origins of the Establishment Clause, 77 N.Y.U. L.
Rev. 346, 356-357 (2002). Martin Luther built on this
idea, teaching that the Church lacks authority to bind
believers’ consciences on spiritual questions: “the in-
dividual himself c[an] determine the content of his
conscience based on scripture and reason.” /d. at
358-359. John Calvin developed the idea further,
preaching that individual conscience absolutely de-
prives civil government of authority to dictate in mat-
ters of faith. See id. at 359-361.
These tenets found expression in the New World
teachings of Roger Williams, the Baptist theologian
and founder of Rhode Island. Williams preached that
for religious belief to be genuine, people must come to
it of their own free will. Compelled belief and punish-
ment of dissent are anathema to true faith, and reli-
gious practices are sinful unless performed “with|]
faith and true perswasion that they are the true insti-
tutions of God.” Roger Williams, The Bloudy Tenent of
Persecution for Cause of Conscience (1644), reprinted
in 3 Complete Writings of Roger Williams 12 (Samuel
L.. Caldwell ed., 1963).
Thus, Williams taught, keeping government from
involving itself with or taking sides in matters of reli-
gion is crucial to protect religious dissenters against
persecution and to safeguard religion itself against
impurity and dilution. See Williams, The Bloudy
7
Tenent, supra, at 12-13; Edwin S. Gaustad, Roger Wil-
liams 59 (2005); Richard P. McBrien, Caesar’s Coin:
Religion and Politics in America 248 n.37 (1987)
(“[T]he Jews of the Old Testament and the Christians
of the New Testament ‘opened a gap in the hedge or
wall of separation between the garden of the church
and the wilderness of the world. * * * [I]f He will ever
please to restore His garden and Paradise again, it
must of necessity be walled in peculiarly unto Himself
from the world.” (quoting Williams)). When govern-
ment involves itself in matters of religion, even if just
to give the barest nod of approval to a particular faith
or set of beliefs, the inherent coercive authority of the
state impedes the exercise of free will.
b. This theology became the foundation for the po-
litical thought on which our constitutional order was
built. Notably, John Locke incorporated it into his ar-
gument for religious toleration:
Whatsoever may be doubtful in Religion, yet
this at least is certain, that no Religion, which
| believe not to be true, can be either true, or
profitable unto me. In vain therefore do
Princes compel their Subjects to come into
their Church-communion, under pretence of
saving their Souls. * * * [W]hen all is done,
they must be left to their own Consciences.
John Locke, A Letter Concerning Toleration 38 (James
H. Tully ed., Hackett Publ’g Co. 1983) (1689). Based
on this understanding and the related concern that so-
cial division and bloodshed often follow when govern-
ment takes positions on matters of faith, Locke rea-
soned that “civil government” should not “interfere
with matters of religion except to the extent necessary
to preserve civil interests.” Feldman, /ntellectual Ori-
gins, supra, at 368.
8
Many of our Nation’s founders took these teach-
ings to heart. Benjamin Franklin, for example, stated:
When a Religion is good, | conceive it will sup-
port itself; and when it does not support itself,
and God does not care to support [it], so that
its Professors are oblig’d to call for the help of
the Civil Power, ‘tis a Sign, I apprehend, of its
being a bad one.
Letter from Benjamin Franklin to Richard Price (Oct.
9, 1780), http://bit.ly/2)MsrVO. And James Madison
viewed governmental support for religion as “[rjeli-
gious bondage [that] shackles and debilitates the
mind and unfits it for every noble enterprize.” Letter
from James Madison to William Bradford (Apr. 1,
1774), http:/bit.ly/2h57Xm5.
c. Madison’s commitment to freedom of conscience
informed his opposition to Patrick Henry’s proposal in
1784 that Virginia fund religious education with prop-
erty taxes. See Carl H. Esbeck, Protestant Dissent and
the Virginia Disestablishment, 1776-1786, 7 Geo. J.L.
& Pub. Pol’y 51, 77-78 (2009). Madison objected that
Henry’s proposal would infringe “the equal right of
every citizen to the free exercise of his Religion accord-
ing to the dictates of conscience,” intruding on reli-
gious freedom and threatening civil governance.
James Madison, Memorial and Remonstrance Against
Religious Assessments 44 12-13, 15, reprinted in Ever-
son v. Board of Educ., 330 U.S. 1, 63-72 (1947) (appen-
dix to dissent of Rutledge, J.). Governmental support
for religion would only “weaken in those who profess
[the benefited] Religion a pious confidence in its in-
nate excellence,” while “foster[ing] in those who still
reject it, a suspicion that its friends are too conucious
of its fallacies, to trust it to its own merits.” /d. 4 6.
9
These principles led to the defeat of Henry’s pro-
posal and spurred adoption instead of Thomas Jeffer-
son’s Bill for Establishing Religious Freedom (see
Merrill D. Peterson, Jefferson and Religious Freedom,
Atlantic Monthly (Dec. 1994), http://theatln.tc/
2idj7Xo), the forebear of the First Amendment's Reli-
gion Clauses (see Everson, 330 U.S. at 13).
2. The Framers recognized that religious
pluralism and civil harmony require strict
neutrality in matters of religion.
a. Though the United States was more homoge-
neous in 1789 than it is today, this country has, from
the beginning, been home to unprecedented religious
diversity. Congregationalists maintained a strong-
hold in New England; Anglicans dominated religious
life in the South; and Quakers influenced society sig-
nificantly in Pennsylvania. See Akhil Reed Amar, The
Bill of Rights: Creation and Reconstruction 45 (1998);
Winthrop S. Hudson, Religion in America 46 (3d ed.
1981).
The Framers knew that “[t]he centuries immedi-
ately before and contemporaneous with the coloniza-
tion of America had been filled with turmoil, civil
strife, and persecutions, generated in large part by es-
tablished sects determined to maintain their absolute
political and religious supremacy.” Everson, 330 U.S.
at 8-9. Religious pluralism thus represented not just
a greai national strength but also a profound threat
to civil peace. And the Framers recognized separation
of religion and government as the antidote to the lat-
ter.
Roger Williams, for example, had made the case
against using the tools of the state to promote religion
even to the slightest degree, because official religious
10
favoritism inevitably leads to “persecution for cause of
conscience” that breaches the “express command of
God that peace be kept.” Williams, The Bloudy Tenent,
supra, at 59, 61. And Locke, “[w]riting in the after-
math of religious turmoil in England and throughout
Europe,” had recognized “the tendency of both reli-
gious and governmental leaders to overstep their
bounds and intermeddle in the others’ province,” pro-
ducing civil strife. Michael W. McConnell, The Origins
and Historical Understanding of Free Exercise of Re-
ligion, 103 Harv. L. Rev. 1409, 1431-1432 (1990).
Locke had argued, therefore, that separation was a
prerequisite to lasting peace. /bid.; see also Feldman,
Intellectual Origins, supra, at 368.
The Framers thus well understood that they were
creating a government for a diverse group of people
and faiths (see Jon Meacham, American Gospel: God,
the Founding Fathers, and the Making of a Nation 101
(2006)) and that religious liberty for all would neces-
sarily require accommodation of religious pluralism
(see John Witte Jr., Religion and the American Con-
stitutional Experiment 45 (2d ed. 2005) (citing The
Federalist Nos. 10, 51 (James Madison))). Cf.
McConnell, supra, at 1513, 1516 (arguing that Free
Exercise Clause was product of, and protection for, re-
ligious pluralism).
b. It was against this philosophical and political
backdrop—aincluding the lived experience of persecu-
tion of Baptists and other religious dissenters at the
hands of the established Anglican church (see Andy G.
Olree, “Pride Ignorance and Knavery”: James Madi-
son's Formative Experiences with Religious Establish-
ments, 36 Harv. '.L. & Pub. Pol’y 211, 215, 226-227,
266-267 (2013))}—that Virginia enacted Jefferson's
11
Bill for Establishing Religious Freedom, which forth-
rightly declared it an “impious presumption of legisla-
tors and rulers, civil as well as ecclesiastical, * * * [to]
assume|] dominion over the faith of others, setting up
their own opinions and modes of thinking as the only
true and infallible, and as such endeavouring to im-
pose them on others.” Thomas Jefferson, The Virginia
Statute for Establishing Religious Freedom (Jan. 16,
1786), reprinted in Founding the Republic: A Docu-
mentary History 94 (John J. Patrick ed., 1995).
Or as Madison put it, “experience witnesseth that
ecclesiastical establishments, instead of maintaining
the purity and efficacy of Religion, have had a con-
trary operation. * * * What have been [their] fruits?
More or less in all places, pride and indolence in the
Clergy; ignorance and servility in the laity; in both,
superstition, bigotry and persecution.” Madison, Me-
morial and Remonstrance {% 7.
In short, the Virginia statute embodied the belief
that religi m neither requires nor benefits from the
support of government: “truth is great and will prevail
if left to herself.” Jefferson, Virginia Statute, supra, at
95. And it conveyed the understanding that even mod-
est, seemingly benign governmental favoritism influ-
ences individual religious practice and pressures
clergy, houses of worship, and denominations to con-
form their teachings to the predilections of bureau-
crats. See id. at 94-95 (official support in any measure
“tends only to corrupt the principles of that very Reli-
gion it is meant to encourage, by bribing with a mo-
nopoly of worldly honours and emoluments, those who
will externally profess and conform to it”).
c. “[T]he provisions of the First Amendment, in
the drafting and adoption of which Madison and Jef-
12
ferson played such leading roles, had the same objec-
tive and were intended to provide the same protection
against governmental intrusion on religious liberty as
the Virginia statute.” Everson, 330 U.S. at 13 (citing
Reynolds v. United States, 98 U.S. 145, 164 (1878);
Watson v. Jones, 80 U.S. (13 Wall.) 679 (1871); Davis
v. Beason, 133 U.S. 333, 342 (1890)). Jefferson and
Madison’s vision, premised on a commitment to robust
freedom of conscience, defined the original under-
standing of the Establishment Clause. See, e.g., Ho-
sanna-Tabor Evangelical Lutheran Church & Sch. v.
EEOC, 565 U.S. 171, 183-184 (2012) (identifying Mad-
ison as “the leading architect of the religion clauses”);
Arizona Christian Sch. Tuition Org. v. Winn, 563 U.S.
125, 166 (2011) (same); Walz v. Tax Comm'n, 397 U.S.
664, 705-706 (1970) (same); Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S.
83, 103 (1968) (same). “[T]he Virginia struggle for re-
ligious liberty thus became warp and woof of our con-
stitutional tradition, not simply by the course of his-
tory, but by the common unifying force of Madison’s
life, thought and sponsorship.” Everson, 330 U.S. at
39 (Rutledge, J., dissenting).
In recognition “that a union of government and re-
ligion tends to destroy government and to degrade re-
ligion” (Engel, 370 U.S. at 431 (1962)), “the First
Amendment rests upon the premise that both religion
and government can best work to achieve their lofty
aims if each is left free from the other within its re-
spective sphere” (/llinois ex rel. McCollum v. Board of
Educ., 333 U.S. 203, 212 (1948); accord Letter from
James Madison to Edward Livingston, supra). The Es-
tablishment Clause embodies Madison and Jefferson’s
“plan of preserving religious liberty to the fullest ex-
tent possible in a pluralistic society.” McCreary, 545
U.S. at 882 (O'Connor, J., concurring). It “stands as an
expression of principle on the part of the Founders of
13
our Constitution that religion is too personal, too sa-
cred, too holy, to permit its ‘unhallowed perversicn’ by
a civil magistrate” (Engel, 370 U.S. at 432)—perver-
sion that occurs when a faith is favored as much as
when one is disfavored (see Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S.
577, 608 (1992) (Blackmun, J., concurring) (“The fa-
vored religion may be compromised as political figures
reshape the religion’s beliefs for their own purposes;
it may be reformed as government largesse brings
government regulation.”)).
d. The Framers intended not only to protect “the
freedom of the individual to worship in his own way,”
but also to guard against “anguish, hardship and bit-
ter strife that could come when zealous religious
groups struggled with one another to obtain the Gov-
ernment’s stamp of approval.” Engel, 370 U.S. at 429.
Hence, the Religion Clauses were designed to “as-
sure the fullest possible scope of religious liberty and
tolerance for all,” which was understood to be the only
way “to avoid that divisiveness based upon religion
that promotes social conflict, sapping the strength of
government and religion alike.” Van Orden v. Perry,
545 U.S. 677, 698 (2005) (Breyer, J., concurring).
As our Nation becomes increasingly religiously di-
verse, the dangers of division become more serious,
not less. And hence, the antidote that the Framers
prescribed—the safeguarding of the fundamental
freedom for all to believe and worship, or not, accord-
ing the dictates of conscience, without influence or in-
terference from government—becomes ever more im-
portant.
14
B. The Counties’ Cross Display Intrudes On
Religious Freedom.
1. The Latin cross is an unmistakable and
potent symbol of Christianity.
a. Symbols have power. They communicate com-
plex ideas, often more effectively and more forcefully
than mere words. “The use of an emblem or flag to
symbolize some system, idea, institution, or personal-
ity, is a short cut from mind to mind.” West Va. Bd. of
Educ. v. Barnette, 319 U.S. 624, 632 (1943). Symbols
“attract public notice, they are remembered for dec-
ades or even centuries afterwards,” and they “speak[]
directly to the heart” as well as the head. Nicholas
Jackson O’Shaughnessy, Politics and Propaganda 102
(2004). That is why “[c]auses and nations, political
parties, lodges and ecclesiastical groups seek to knit
the loyalty of their followings to a flag or banner, a
color or design.” Barnette, 319 U.S. at 632; cf. Texas v.
Johnson, 491 U.S. 397, 405 (1989) (“Pregnant with ex-
pressive content, the flag as readily signifies this Na-
tion as does the combination of letters found in ‘Amer-
ica.”).
What is true for symbols generally is especially so
for religious ones, which may convey at a glance mil-
lennia of collective experience, hope, and triumph to
those who hold them dear—and at times the opposite
messages to those who do not.
b. Perhaps no symbol is more universally familiar,
or more laden with meaning, than the Latin cross.
See, e.g., Alister E. McGrath, Christianity: An Intro-
duction 256-257 (3d ed. 2015). Since the earliest days
of Christianity, “[t]he cross has been the universally
acknowledged symbol of the Christian faith.” /d. at
256.
15
It achieved special prominence beginning in the
fourth century, when the Roman Emperor Constan-
tine adopted Christianity for the Empire (Bruce W.
Longenecker, The Cross Before Constantine: The
Early Life of a Christian Symbol 2-5, 11 (2015)) and
began using the cross “as protection against the at-
tacks of the enemy” (Eusebius, Life of Constantine
1:29 (Averil Cameron & Stuart G. Hall trans. 1999)
(early Church historian’s description of Constantine’s
vision and dream leading to use of cross)).
The cross has been consistently and unequivocally
associated with Christianity ever since. See McGrath,
supra, at 256. It was the primary symbol used during
the Crusades to distinguish the crusaders from oppos-
ing forces. See Jonathan Riley-Smith, The Crusades:
A History 16 (2d ed. 2005). And it was vitally im-
portant to Medieval and Renaissance art, when “the
painted picture was invaluable as an interpreter and
exponent of religious truths,” because the cross visu-
ally communicated the Church’s message of redemp-
tion. George Willard Benson, The Cross: Its History
and Symbolism 121, 136 (1934). Thus, countless por-
trayals of Jesus’ death included the cross, not just as
representational art, but to disseminate Church doc-
trine. See McGrath, supra, at 257. For similar rea-
sons, crosses have historically adorned and been de-
sign elements for churches, inside and out. See Rich-
ard Taylor, How to Read a Church: A Guide to Sym-
bols and Images in Churches and Cathedrals 39
(2003).
Pope Francis has explained: “The Christian Cross
is not something to hang in the house ‘to tie the room
together * * * or an ornament to wear, but a call to
that love, with which Jesus sacrificed Himself to save
humanity from sin and evil.” Pope Francis: The Cross
16
Is the Gate of Salvation, Catholic News (Mar. 12,
2017), http://bit.ly/2CLyEqE; cf. U.S. Conference of
Catholic Bishops, Built of Living Stones: Art, Architec-
ture, and Worship § 91 (2000) (“[T]he image of Christ
crucified * * * makes tangible our belief that our suf-
fering when united with the passion and death of
Christ leads to redemption.”).
In short, the cross is not merely a symbol of Chris-
tianity; it is the symbol. See McGrath, supra, at 256;
Douglas Keister, Stories in Stone: A Field Guide to
Cemetery Symbolism and Iconography 172 (2004); see
also Salazar, 559 U.S. at 725 (2010) (Alito, J., concur-
ring in part and concurring in the judgment) (“The
cross is of course the preeminent symbol of Christian-
ity.”). It is a “pure religious object” (Frank S. Ravitch,
Religious Objects as Legal Subjects, 40 Wake Forest
L. Rev. 1011, 1023-1024 (2005)) that serves as the
physical embodiment of Christian tenets of resurrec-
tion and redemption.
2. The counties’ cross display constitutes
official religious favoritism.
a. As the court of appeals recognized, the invoca-
tion of Jesus’ death and Christian doctrine is precisely
why crosses are used to honor the dead—Christian
dead. See American Legion Pet. App. 18a (“[T]he
Latin cross * * * only holds value as a symbol of death
and resurrection because of its affiliation with the cru-
cifixion of Jesus Christ.”); accord, e.g., American Athe-
ists, Inc. v. Duncan, 616 F.3d 1145, 1159-1160 (10th
Cir. 2010). “All the secondary meanings to which the
cross has been put are derived from, and dependent
on,” its primary message “that the son of God died on
the cross to redeem the sins of humankind, that he
rose from the dead, and that those who believe in him
will also rise from the dead and have eternal life.”
17
Douglas Laycock, Government-Sponsored Religious
Displays: Transparent Rationalizations and Expedi-
ent Post-Modernism, 61 Case W. Res. L. Rev. 1211,
1239 (2011).
b. It is therefore entirely understandable that pri-
vate citizens in Prince George’s County and then the
American Legion, also a private group, chose to erect
a Latin cross. For them, the cross, with its deep layers
of spiritual meaning, served two distinct but mutually
reinforcing ends: It allowed them to commemorate the
life, death, honor, and sacrifice of soldiers presumed
to be Christian. And it simultaneously provided a ve-
hicle to honor the group members’ own faith and to
pledge themselves collectively to a spiritual path that
they regarded as righteous.
Thus, the original organizers required donors to
declare the existence of “ONE GOD” and pledge to fol-
low the “SPIRIT” of the fallen soldiers to “GUIDE US
THROUGH LIFE IN THE WAY OF GODLINESS,
JUSTICE AND LIBERTY.” J.A. 36. And in the hands
of the American Legion, the cross was dedicated in a
ceremony replete with Christian prayers led by Chris-
tian clergy. J.A. 1130.
In short, the Bladensburg Cross has, since its in-
ception, been a monument to the Christian faith as
much as to the 49 listed individuals.
c. No one disputes that these private groups had
the right to use the Latin cross as a tribute to their
own faith and to Christian dead. The question here is
whether Montgomery and Prince George’s Counties
were permitted to make that same choice when they
acquired the cross in 1961 (J.A. 91), rededicated it in
1985 to all veterans (J.A. 1271-1278, 1281), and main-
tained it as an official tribute to all veterans ever
18
since. The answer to that question is a resounding
“no” under settled legal doctrine, for the reasons that
the court of appeals explained. The result is also the
right one given the fundamental principles on which
the Framers built the First Amendment’s protections
for religious freedom.
In World War I, and in all wars before and since,
people of many faiths, and people of no particular
faith, fought and died for our country. The Christian
lives lost are deserving of respect, gratitude, and re-
membrance. But they are not more worthy than the
lives, deaths, and sacrifices of the many non-Chris-
tians who served beside them.
Yet that is precisely the message that the counties
have sent, intentionally or not, by adopting, dedicat-
ing, and maintaining a towering Latin cross as their
official tribute to veterans and war dead. “[A] memo-
rial Cross is not a generic symbol of death; it is a
Christian symbol of death that signifies or memorial-
izes the death of a Christian.” Duncan, 616 F.3d at
1161 (emphasis in original). Hence, “the use of exclu-
sively Christian symbolism in a memorial would * * *
‘lead observers to believe that the [government] has
chosen to honor only Christian veterans.” Trunk v.
City of San Diego, 629 F.3d 1099, 1112 (9th Cir. 2011)
(quoting Separation of Church & State Comm. v. City
of Eugene, 93 F.3d 617, 626 (9th Cir. 1996)
(O’Scannilain, J., concurring)).
By displaying the preeminent symbol of Christi-
anity, the counties have conveyed the exclusionary
message that Bladensburg is a Christian community
in which those who don’t share the Christian faith
simply do not belong. They have declared who mat-
ters; who is a “real” American; who is one of “us.” And
who isn’t.
19
The harm of that message is more than theoreti-
cal: Empirical research confirms that religious sym-
bols have real, measurable effects on adherents and
nonadherents alike, even when the symbols are dis-
played with no intent to proselytize or coerce. Viewing
religious symbols, for example, has statistically signif-
icant effects on students’ academic performance. Re-
searchers found in controlled experiments that Cath-
olic-school students did systematically better on
stendardized tests when the examiner wore a cross
and systematically worse when the examiner wore a
Star of David. See Philip A. Saigh, Religious Symbols
and the WISC-R Performance of Roman Catholic Jun-
ior High School Students, 147 J. Genetic Psychol. 417,
417-418 (1986). And both Christian and Muslim stu-
dents scored better than expected when the examiner
wore a symbol of their faith and worse than expected
when the examiner wore a symbol of the other faith.
Philip A. Saigh, The Effect of Perceived Examiner Re-
ligion on the Digit Span Performance of Lebanese Ele-
mentary Schoolchildren, 109 J. Soc. Psychol. 167, 168-
170 (1979).
These effects are not limited to children. Research
has also revealed that exposure to religious symbols
that adult test subjects viewed as negative (such as an
inverted pentagram) suppressed brain activity, while
exposure to religious symbols that the subjects re-
garded as positive (such as a dove) had no deleterious
effects. See Kyle D. Johnson et al., Pilot Study of the
Effect of Religious Symbols on Brain Function: Associ-
ation with Measures of Religiosity, | Spirituality in
Clinical Practice 82, 82, 84 (2014), http://bit.ly/
2ifUo4M.
d.The counties contend, however, that the
Bladensburg cross is not exclusionary because it has
20
always been “understood * * * as a memorial to veter-
ans and the fallen of every faith.” Counties’ Cert. Re-
ply Br. 4. But employing the preeminent symbol of
Christianity to represent all veterans disregards non-
Christian veterans’ and their families’ actual faiths
and beliefs, imposing on them all the deep theological!
commitments of the Latin cross.
The counties’ contention is also irreconcilable with
the facts on the ground, both when the private monu-
ment was planned and today. “More than 3,500 Jew-
ish soldiers gave their lives for the United States in
World War |.” Salazar, 559 U.S. at 726 (Alito, J., con-
curring in part and concurring in the judgment). So
while it is certainly true that ranks of overseas graves
from that war bear headstones in the form of white
crosses, the headstones of Jewish soldiers are instead
white Stars of David. /bid. And when, around the end
of World War I (and the private groups’ commence-
ment of the Bladensburg Cross project), the United
States first began officially allowing religious symbols
on military headstones, it likewise did not impose
crosses on Jewish soldiers but instead authorized the
use of Stars of David. See Sara Amy Leach, World War
I Veterans and Their Federal Burial Benefits, 41:4
AGS Q.: Bull. Ass’n for Gravestone Studies 36, 36-37
(2017), https://bit.ly/2CdBu7w.
Today, given the amazing diversity of faiths in the
nation and its armed forces, the United States Depart-
ment of Veterans Affairs appropriately makes availa-
ble for use on government-furnished headstones more
than 70 “emblems of belief’—including many different
types of crosses, the Jewish Star of David, the Hindu
Om, the Baha’i nine-pointed star, the Muslim crescent
and star, the Druid Awen, the Sikh Khanda, the Bud-
21
dhist Wheel of Righteousness, several Native Ameri-
can religious symbols, the Wiccan pentacle, and an
atomic whirl for atheists. See Available Emblems of
Belief for Placement on Government Headstones and
Markers, U.S. Dep’t of Veterans Affairs, Nat'l Ceme-
tery Admin., https://bit.ly/2ydVtE3. And the Depart-
ment provides a relatively simple mechanism for add-
ing other religious symbols, so that no family is sub-
jected to the indignity and spiritual harm of having
the government bury a loved one under a religious
symbol that does not reflect, and may be contrary to,
the family’s faith. See 38 C.F.R. 632. No one religious
symbol is used to honor and represent all servicemem-
bers because no one religious symbol can represent
them all.
America’s fallen soldiers and the sacrifices that
they and their families have made are all worthy of
remembrance and recognition. Rather than commem-
orate only Christian soldiers through a misguided use
of the cross, government ought to acknowledge the
equal worth, equal dignity, and equal sacrifice of all
who gave their lives in service to our Nation.
e. What is more, many people who see the
Bladensburg Cross today will simply have no idea
that it was a war memorial, whether to the 49 listed
individuals or to all veterans. But they certainly un-
derstand it to be government-sponsored. Sandwiched
between busy thoroughfares on public land, its in-
scription obscured by hedges, most who pass by see
only a towering, lighted symbol of Christianity pro-
claiming the religious identity of the community.
To many—including the Jews, Muslims, Hindus,
Sikhs, Buddhists, nonbelievers, and others who live in
Maryland—this prominent official display does pre-
cisely what the counties here deny: It communicates a
22
strong message of preference for Christians and exclu-
sion and second-class status for non-Christians. That
message is not just wrong but dangerous, for “nothing
does a better job of roiling society” than “when the gov-
ernment weighs in on one side of religious debate.”
McCreary, 545 U.S. at 876.
* * *
The Establishment Clause mandates that “reli-
gious belief is irrelevant to every citizen’s standing in
the political community.” Lee, 505 U.S. at 627 (Souter,
J., concurring). And it recognizes that “[vjoluntary re-
ligious belief and expression may be as threatened
when government takes the mantle of religion upon
itself as when government directly interferes with pri-
vate religious practices.” McCreary, 545 U.S. at 883
(O’Connor, J., concurring). The counties’ cross display
cannot be squared with those precepts or with the es-
sential protections for freedom of conscience that they
embody. It is a massive concrete thumb on the scale
in favor of a preferred set of religious beliefs, im-
properly and harmfully defining political in- and out-
groups.
C. The Legal Tests Advocated By Those Seek-
ing To Uphold The Official Cross Display
Fall Far Short Of The Original Guarantees
Of The First Amendment.
Petitioner American Legion and many of petition-
ers’ amici argue not just that the counties’ towering
Latin cross should be preserved, but also that the
Court should use this occasion to rewrite long-stand-
ing, well-settled First Amendment jurisprudence to
sanction all sorts of denominational favoritism and
governmental support for religion.
23
Some contend that the Establishment Clause
should bar only formal legal coercion—such as fines or
imprisonment for failure to participate in official reli-
gious exercises. See, e.g., American Legion Br. 24-40;
U.S. Amicus Br. 13-23; Cato Institute Amicus Br. 8-9.
Others proffer what they describe as a historical ap-
proach, under which any governmental promotion of
religion that might have occurred anywhere when the
First Amendment was adopted ought to be treated as
constitutionally licensed—or, even more aggressively,
that any acts that the Framers did not specifically
identify as barred are therefore permitted. See, e.g.,
Liberty Counsel Amicus Br. 39-42; Utah Highway Pa-
trol Ass’n Amicus Br. 6-22. Still others suggest that
governmental sponsorship of religion should be con-
stitutionally permissible merely because it has been
occurring for a long time without precipitating a legal
challenge or public outcry. See, e.g., West Virginia
Amicus Br. 2-3, 7-10.
None of these alternatives is consistent with the
Framers’ fundamental commitment to religious free-
dom for all.
1. Anarrow focus on legal coercion would al-
low official favoritism to degrade religious
freedom and render the Establishment
Clause superfluous.
a. A test that reinterpreted the Establishment
Clause to bar only formal legal coercion cannot be
squared with the “clearest command * * * that one re-
ligious denomination cannot be officially preferred
24
over another” (Larson, 456 U.S. at 244),° or the ani-
mating principle that favoritism corrupts religion and
compromises religious freedom (see Section A., supra).
As this Court has explained, the Establishment
Clause was meant to recognize that when government
acts as a “mouthpiece for competing religious ideas”
(McCreary, 545 U.S. at 883) it distorts and degrades
religion and infringes religious freedom. Thus, “the
government must not align itself with any [religion]”
but instead should “make room for as wide a variety
of beliefs and creeds as the spiritual needs of man
deem necessary.” Lee, 505 U.S. at 608 (Blackmun, J.,
concurring) (quoting Zorach v. Clauson, 343 U.S. 306,
313 (1952)). The Framers therefore designed a system
in which “preservation and transmission of religious
beliefs and worship is a responsibility and a choice
committed to the private sphere, which itself is prom-
ised freedom to pursue that mission.” Lee, 505 U.S. at
589; see also Zorach, 343 U.S. at 313 (We sponsor an
attitude on the part of government that * * * lets each
[religion] flourish according to the zeal of its adher-
ents and the appeal of its dogma.”).
A legal-coercion-only test simply would not ad-
dress these core concerns of the Establishment
Clause. See County of Allegheny v. ACLU Greater
Pittsburgh Chapter, 492 U.S. 573, 627-628 (1989)
(O'Connor, J., concurring in part and concurring in
the judgment) (‘An Establishment Clause standard
that prohibits only ‘coercive’ practices or overt efforts
8 Accord, e.g., Rosenberger v. Rector & Visitors of Univ. of Va.,
515 U.S. 819, 860-861 (1995) (Thomas, J., concurring in the judg-
ment); Bowen v. Kendrick, 487 U.S. 589, 607-608 (1988); Ed-
wards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578, 616 (1987) (Scalia, J., dissent-
ing) (governmental ‘neutrality’ toward religion is the preem-
nent goal of the First Amendment’).
25
at government proselytization * * * would not * * * ad-
equately protect the religious liberty or respect the re-
ligious diversity of the members of our pluralistic po-
litical community.”); id. at 660-661 (Kennedy, J , con-
curring in part and dissenting in part) (recogizing
that a “direct coercion” test would allow some wacon-
stitutional “[s]ymbolic recognition” of a faith).
Indeed, this Court considered and rejected just
such a narrow legal-coercion test in Lee, after detailed
questioning of the petitioners’ counsel about what
that test would license.‘ When asked whether, under
the test, a state legislature could pass a resolution
naming a particular religion as the state religion, “like
they might pass a resolution saying the bolo tie is the
State necktie,” counsel answered in the affirmative.
Tr. of Oral Arg. at 13-14, Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577
(1992) (No. 90-1014). Counsel also stated that the test
would not prohibit this Court from opening its ses-
sions with “Jesus Christ save the United States and
this Honorable Court” or the U.S. Mint from stamping
“In Jesus Christ We Trust” on our money. /d. at 12-
13. Nor, presumably, would the test bar “the perma-
nent erection of a large Latin cross on the roof of city
hall” or a public schoolhouse. Allegheny, 492 U.S. at
661 (Kennedy, J., concurring in part and dissenting in
part). Amici do not believe that anyone seriously sup-
poses the First Amendment to allow a country full of
towns erecting monuments to their preferred faiths
and denominations—and town halls consumed by
heated debates over which to favor.
As Justice Scalia straightforwardly observed dur-
ing the oral argument in Lee, a legal-coercion-only test
* Counsel of record for the American Legion here, Mr. Carvin,
was cocounsel for the petitioners in Lee.
26
“just [does not] comport[] with our tradition.” Tr. of
Oral Arg. at 12, Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577 (1992)
(No. 90-1014).
b. A legal-coercion-only test would also violate the
canons of constitutional interpretation.
There can be no doubt that the Free Exercise
Clause prevents government from compelling partici-
pation in unwanted religious exercises; that is the
very heart of the free-exercise guarantee. See, e.g.,
Abington Sch. Dist. v. Schempp, 374 U.S. 203, 223
(1963) (“[I]t is necessary in a free exercise case for one
to show the coercive effect of the enactment as it oper-
ates against him in the practice of his religion.”).
While there is certainly overlap in the prohibi-
tions and protections of the Establishment and Free
Exercise Clauses (see, e.g., Engel, 370 U.S. at 430;
Board of Educ. v. Grumet, 512 U.S. 687, 715 (1994)
(O’Connor, J., concurring in part and concurring in
the judgment)), reading the Establishment Clause to
bar only legal coercion would make it duplicative of
the Free Exercise Clause (see Lee, 505 1’ S. at 621
(Souter, J., concurring) (“[A] literal application of the
coercion test would render the Establishment Clause
a virtual nullity”); Allegheny, 492 U.S. at 628 (O’Con-
nor, J., concurring in part and concurring in the judg-
ment); Schempp, 374 U.S. at 223 (“The distinction be-
tween the two clauses is apparent—a violation of the
Free Exercise Clause is predicated on coercion while
the Establishment Clause violation need not be so at-
tended.”)). It would thus impermissibly render the Es-
tablishment Clause mere surplusage. Cf. District of
Columbia v. Heller, 554 U.S. 570, 643 (2008) (“It can-
not be presumed that any clause in the constitution is
intended to be without effect”) (quoting Marbury v.
Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137, 174 (1803)).
27
2. A test limited to considering practices at
the time of ratification would be empty.
The attempt to make some version of the histori-
cal approach of Marsh v. Chambers, 463 U.S. 783
(1983), and Town of Greece v. Galloway, 572 U.S. 565
(2014), the only mode of permissible analysis provides
no guidance for deciding most cases that arise under
the Establishment Clause.
a. In Marsh, this Court upheld legislative prayer
based primarily on congressional intent reflected in
the “unique,” “unambiguous” historical fact that the
First Congress voted to hire legislative chaplains the
same week that it approved the First Amendment.
463 U.S. at 787-788, 791-792. And in Greece, the Court
upheld a town board’s prayer practice as consistent
with the specific tradition identified in Marsh. 572
U.S. at 577, 584. The Court explained in Greece that
the Establishment Clause should be interpreted with
“historical practices and understandings” in mind, not
to posit that history is all that matters, but to illumi-
nate the mandate of the Court’s preceding sentence,
which directs that “Marsh must not be understood as
permitting a practice that would amount to a consti-
tutional violation if not for its historical foundation.”
Id. at 576.
Thus, the Court recognized, bedrock antiestab-
lishment principles barring denominational! prefer-
ences and religious coercion retain their legal force
(see Greece, 572 U.S. at 586, 589), whatever historical
practice might have been (see id. at 576). For “no one
acquires a vested or protected right in violation of the
Constitution by long use, even when that span of time
covers our entire national existence and indeed pre-
dates it.” Marsh, 463 U.S. at 790 (quoting Walz, 397
U.S. at 678).
28
b. The attempt to employ a historical approach as
the exclusive test for official conduct under the Estab-
lishment Clause also makes little sense either histor-
ically or practically.
As an initial matter, the Establishment Clause
was not applied to the states until after incorporation
through the Fourteenth Amendment in 1943. See
Everson, 330 U.S. at 8 (citing Murdock v. Pennsylva-
nia, 319 U.S. 105, 108 (1943)). Accordingly, what
states and local governments might have been doing
during the founding era is “irrelevant.” Allegheny, 492
U.S. at 670 n.7 (Kennedy, J., concurring in part and
dissenting in part). Established state churches per-
sisted decades after the Bill of Rights was ratified.
See, e.g., Mass. Const. amend. XI (disestablishment in
1833); Daniel O. Conkle, Toward a General Theory of
the Establishment Clause, 82 Nw. U. L. Rev. 1113,
1132 & nn.97-98 (1988). Yet this Court has never sug-
gested that state churches are therefore constitution-
ally permissible.
Additionally, as far as amici have been able to dis-
cern, no crosses were being erected on the mostly non-
existent federal lands at the founding. Nor would the
Framers have been thinking about states’ doing so,
because that doesn’t appear to have been happening
either. See, e.g., Trunk, 629 F.3d at 1112-1114 (detail-
ing historical rarity of crosses as war memorials). And
nothing in the submissions of petitioners or their
amici genuinely suggests otherwise.
More generally, “[t]here were only a few conflicts
between law and religious practice in the founding
era. Governments were small and the nation was
overwhelmingly Protestant.” Douglas Laycock, Reli-
gious Liberty and the Culture Wars, 2014 U. Ill. L.
Rev. 839, 842 (2014). The Framers thus had no reason
29
to consider the many issues concerning government
and religion today. To infer constitutionality from the
failure to name as violations specific actions that the
Framers likely never imagined government would
presume to undertake would license official conduct
that this Court has consistently and unequivocally
held to be barred.
Most obviously, public schools were “virtually
nonexistent” at the founding. Wallace v. Jaffree, 472
U.S. 38, 80 (1985) (O’Connor, J., concurring in the
judgment). They arose well after the First Amend-
ment was ratified. See, e.g., 1 A Cyclopedia of Educa-
tion 418 (Paul Monroe ed. 1915) (first public high
school in America established in Boston in 1821). And
they were slow to proliferate. See Schempp, 374 U.S.
at 238 n.7 (“[T]he burgeoning public school systems
did not immediately supplant the old sectarian and
private institutions; Alexis de Tocqueville, for exam-
ple, remarked after his tour of the Eastern States in
1831 that ‘{a]lmost all education is entrusted to the
clergy.” (quoting 1 Alexis de Tocqueville, Democracy
in America 309 n.4 (Bradley ed. 1945))).
“Since there then existed few [or no] government-
run schools, it is unlikely that the persons who drafted
the First Amendment, or the state legislators who rat-
ified it, anticipated the problems of interaction of
church and state in the public schools.” See Lee, 505
U.S. at 635 (Scalia, J., dissenting). Yet this Court has
long and consistently recognized that official prayer,
proselytization, and religious indoctrination in public
schools are forbidden. See, e.g., Edwards, 482 U.S. 578
(1987) (holding unconstitutional state law prohibiting
teaching of evolution unless accompanied by lessons
on creationism); Wallace, 472 U.S. 38 (holdiig uncon-
stitutional state laws promoting teacher-led prayer);
30
Epperson, 393 U.S. 97 (holding unconstitutional state
law prohibiting teaching of evolution); Schempp, 374
U.S. 203 (holding unconstitutional state law requiring
public schools to begin each day with prayer and Bible
verses); Engel, 370 U.S. 421 (holding unconstitutional
school district’s requirement to open school day with
prayers).
And the modern administrative state is, of course,
modern. See, e.g., Hosanna-Tabor, 565 U.S. at 185 (ac-
knowledging “absence of government employment
regulation generally” in historical record); cf. Alle-
gheny, 492 U.S. at 657-658 (Kennedy, J., concurring
in part and dissenting in part) (noting that expansion
of administrative state in twentieth century has com-
plicated issues of law and religion). Not only were fed-
eral and state offices uninvolved during the early
years in raising relegious monuments, but they did not
do much else either. Yet this Court has never held the
Establishment Clause inapplicable to administrative
agencies. Quite the contrary. See, e.g., Witters v.
Washington Dep't of Servs. for the Blind, 474 U.S. 481
(1986) (state agency); Walz, 397 U.S. 664 (local tax
commission); Flast, 392 U.S. 83 (federal administra-
tive action).
Concluding from early governmental silence and
inaction that the Establishment Clause permits offi-
cial promotion of religion stands the logic of Marsh
and Greece on its head: It creates a constitutional per-
mission slip to promote religion and a favored faith
based not on affirmative congressional action contem-
poraneous with adoption of the First Amendment, but
on the negative inference that because the Framers
did not encounter particular forms of religious favor-
itism and promotion that exist today, the practices are
therefore permitted.
31
3. The absence of past challenges to an act of
religious favoritism does not alone show
lack of cognizable harm.
Finally, some suggest that official promotion of a
particular faith or of religion generally should earn
constitutional license if the conduct—or, perhaps,
some other example of that conduct elsewhere—was
of long duration without previously sparking lawsuits
or other substantial public outcry.
To be sure, avoidance of divisiveness along reli-
gious lines is a central concern of the Establishment
Clause. See Section A, supra. But to assume that the
absence of open civil strife means that there is no con-
stitutionally cognizable interest at stake is to ignore
the real, substantial threats and harms that citizens
face when they stand against official religious favorit-
ism and promotion.
That no one at an earlier time may have protested
or sued over the counties’ huge Latin cross here, or
certain other cross displays, is entirely understanda-
ble—not because duration proves that no one genu-
inely cares, but because the dangers of speaking up
suppress dissent. “Suing a State over religion puts
nothing in a plaintiffs pocket and can take a great
deal out, and even with volunteer litigators to supply
time and energy, the risk of social ostracism can be
powerfully deterrent.” Van Orden, 545 U.S. at 747
(Souter, J., dissenting).
This Court’s own cases illustrate the point:
e In McCollum, Vashti McCollum received hun-
dreds of pieces of hate mail, her house was
vandalized, and her son was physically at-
tacked because of her challenge to religious in-
32
struction in the child’s public school. See Rob-
ert S. Alley, Without a Prayer: Religious Ex-
pression in Public Schools 86-87 (1996).
« In Schempp, children of a plaintiff were
beaten and their home was firebombed over a
challenge to official prayer and Bible reading
in a public school. Alley, supra, at 98.
« The “emotional scars” suffered by the plaintiff
who challenged the créche in Lynch went so
deep that he resolved never again to “take a
stand for a controversial belief that clashed
with mainstream public opinion.” Wayne R.
Swanson, The Christ Child Goes to Court 21
(1990).
« In Santa Fe, the district court allowed the
plaintiffs to proceed anonymously in their
challenge to official prayer at public-school
football games after they received threats and
their children were intimidated and as-
saulted; and the court took added measures to
safeguard the children when school officials
and others tried to ascertain the Doe plain-
tiffs’ identities. Tr. of Oral Arg. at 29-30,
Santa Fe Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Doe, 530 U.S. 290
(2000) (No. 99-62). Even non-plaintiff parents
who had voiced support fer the challenge re.
portedly removed their children from schoo!
out of fear for their safety. /d. at 30.
in the lower courts, examples are legion:
« When Kay Staley sued over a Bible monument
at a Houston courthouse, she received dozens
of harassing communications and multiple
33
graphic threats of sexual violence. Se Appel-
lant’s Br. at 57, Staley v. Harris County, 461
F.3d 504 (5th Cir. 2006) (No. 04-20667).
When other students at a New Jersey high
school mistakenly assumed that the two Jew-
ish girls on the cheerleading squad had com-
plained about coach-led prayers, they were
bullied and harassed both in person and
through voluminous anti-Semitic and sex-
ually graphic threats on the school’s electronic
bulletin board. See Borden v. School Dist., 523
F.3d 153, 184 (3d Cir. 2008) (McKee, J., con-
curring).
When Darla Wynne challenged a South Caro-
lina town’s discriminatory prayer practice in
Wynne v. Town of Great Falls, 376 F.3d 292
(4th Cir. 2004), she was victim to home inva-
sions and her pets were beaten and murdered.
S.C. Prayer Plaintiff Faces Wrath of Commu-
nity Over Lawsuit, Church & State (Nov.
2004), http://tinyurl.com/zka3n6r. In one inci-
dent, her home was broken into and her pet
parrot beheaded, its body left with a note
warning, “You're next!” /bid.
When, in Glassroth v. Moore, 335 F.3d 1282
(11th Cir. 2003), Melinda Maddox challenged
then-Chief Justice Roy Moore’s Ten Com-
mandments monument in the Alabama Judi-
cial Building, she received death threats and
had her law practice boycotted, her home, law
office, and car vandalized, and the windows of
her home shot out. Rob Boston, Plucky Lindy,
Church & State (Apr. 2004), http-//tinyur!
com/h47gja2.
34
« At least two plaintiffs in Kitzmiller v. Dover
Area School District, 400 F. Supp. 2d 707
(M.D. Pa. 2005), received death threats (in-
cluding one to a plaintiffs daughter) after
challenging creationism in public-school sci-
ence classes. See Lauri Lebo, The Devil in Do-
ver 213-214 (2008). So did the district judge
and his family. See, e.g., Ron Knox, Judge in
Dover LD. Case Touts Legal Independence,
Lawrence Journal-World (Sept. 27, 2006),
http://tinyurl.com/r6yol.
That citizens justifiably fear retaliation, bite their
tongues, and teach their children that they had better
go along to get along should not be taken to mean that
no one is disfavored, denigrated, or otherwise hurt by
official religious favoritism and promotion. The Reli-
gion Clauses were designed instead to prevent the
very religious oppression that also silences dissent.
See Everson, 330 U.S. at 9-13.
* . *
“The very purpose of [the] Bill of Rights was to
withdraw certain subjects from the vicissitudes of po-
litical controversy, to place them beyond the reach of
majorities and officials and to establish them as legal!
principles to be applied by the courts.” Barnette, 319
U.S. at 638. Thus, “we do not count heads before en-
forcing the First Amendment.” McCreary, 545 U.S. at
884 (O'Connor, J., concurring). And we do not let a
heckler’s veto silence assertions of constitutional
rights, even when the hecklers are in the majority. Cf.
Lee, 505 U.S. at 617-618 (Souter, J., concurring) (Es-
tablishment Clause does not countenance “official
preference for the faith with the most votes”). Our fun-
damental guarantees for religious freedom require
more.
35
CONCLUSION
Regardless of the counties’ intent, the Bladens-
burg Cross sends the divisive and hurtful message
that non-Christians are second-class citizens whose
sacrifices for our Nation do not count. And the re-
quests to scrap the Framers’ plan to ensure religious
freedom for all puts religious minorities, and all of us,
at risk. As Justice O’Connor put it:
At a time when we see around the world the
violent consequences of the assumption of re-
ligious authority by government, Americans
may count themselves fortunate: Our regard
for constitutional boundaries has protected us
from similar travails, while allowing private
religious exercise to flourish. * * * Those who
would renegotiate the boundaries between
church and state must therefore answer a dif-
ficult question: Why would we trade a system
that has served us so well for one that has
served others so poorly?
McCreary, 545 U.S. at 882 (O'Connor, J., concurnng
The judgment should be affirmed.
Wt
Respectfully submitted.
STEVEN M. FREEMAN
DAVID L. BARKEY
AMY FEINMAN
Anti-Defamation League
605 Third Ave.
New York, NY 10158
(212) 885-7859
SAMIR KALRA
SUHAG A. SHUKLA
Hindu American
Foundation
910 17th St. NW,
Ste. 316A
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 223-8222
ELLIOT M. MINCBERG
DIANE LAVIOLETTE
People for the American
Way Foundation
1101 15th St. NW,
Ste. 600
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 467-4999
JEFFREY |. PASEK
Cozen O'Connor
1650 Market St., 28th FI.
Philadelphia, PA 19103
(215) 665-2072
RICHARD B. KATSKEE
Counsel of Record
PATRICK GRUBEL*
Americans United for
Separation of Church
and State
1310 L St. NW, Ste. 200
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 466-3234
katskee@au.org
DANIEL MACH
HEATHER L. WEAVER
American Ciwil Liberties
Union Foundation
915 15th St. NW
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 675-2330
DEBORAH A. JEON
ACLU Foundation of
Maryland
3600 Clipper Mill Rd..,
Ste. 350
Baltimore, MD 21211
(410) 889-8555
Counsel for Amici Curiae
JANUARY 2019
' Admitted in Texas; supervised by Richard 4. Katakee of the 1).C. Har
APPENDIX
la
APPENDIX OF AMICI CURIAE
Americans United for Separation of Church and
State
Americans United for Separation of Church and
State is a national, nonsectarian public-interest or-
ganization that is committed to preserving the consti-
tutional principles of religious freedom and the sepa-
ration of religion and government. Americans United
represents more than 125,000 members and support-
ers nationwide. Since its founding in 1947, Americans
United has participated as a party, as counsel, or as
an amicus curiae in the leading church—state cases de-
cided by this Court and by the federal courts of ap-
peals throughout the country. Consistent with our
support for the separation of religion and government,
Americans United has long fought to uphold the guar-
antees of the First Amendment that government must
not favor, promote, or disfavor any faith or its adher-
ents.
American Civil Liberties Union and ACLU of
Maryland
The American Civil Liberties Union is a nation-
wide, nonprofit, nonpartisan organization with more
than 1.5 million members dedicated to defending the
principles of liberty and equality embodied in the Con-
stitution and the nation’s civil-rights laws. The ACLU
of Maryland is a state affiliate of the national ACLU.
For nearly a century, the ACLU has been at the fore-
front of efforts to safeguard the fundamental right to
religious liberty, including the core constitutional pro-
tections against governmental religious favoritism.
2a
Anti-Defamation League
Anti-Defamation League is a leading anti-hate or-
ganization. Founded in 1913 in response to an esca-
lating climate of anti-Semitism and bigotry, its time-
less mission is to stop the defamation of the Jewish
people and to secure justice and fair treatment for all.
Today, ADL continues to fight all forms of hate with
the same vigor and passion. Among ADL’s core beliefs
is strict adherence to the separation of church and
state. ADL emphatically rejects the notion that the
separation principle is inimical to religion, and holds,
to the contrary, that a high wall of separation is es-
sential to the continued flourishing of religious prac-
tice and belief in America and to the protection of mi-
nority religions and their adherents.
Hadassah, the Women’s Zionist Organization of
America, Inc.
Hadassah, the Women’s Zionist Organization of
America, Inc., founded in 1912, is the largest Jewish
and women’s membership organization in the United
States, with over 300,000 Members, Associates and
supporters nationwide. While traditionally known for
its role in developing and supporting healthcare and
other initiatives in Israel, Hadassah has a proud his-
tory of protecting the rights of women and the Jewish
community in the United States. Hadassah is a strong
supporter of the strict separation of church and state,
as it is critical to preserving the religious liberties of
all Americans and especially of religious minorities.
3a
Hindu American Foundation
The Hindu American Foundation is a nonprofit
advocacy organization for the Hindu American com-
munity. Founded in 2003, HAF’s work addresses a
range of issues—from the portrayal of Hinduism in
K-12 textbooks, to civil and human rights, to address-
ing contemporary problems such as environmental!
protection and interreligious conflict—by applying
Hindu philosophy. The Foundation educates the pub-
lic about Hinduism, speaks out about issues affecting
Hindus worldwide, and builds bridges with institu-
tions and individuals whose work aligns with HAF’s
objectives. HAF’s three areas of focus are education,
policy, and community. Since its inception, HAF has
made church-state advocacy one of its main areas of
interest. From issues of religious accommodation and
religious discrimination to defending the fundamental!
constitutional rights of free exercise and the separa-
tion of church and state, HAF has educated Ameri-
cans at large and the courts about the impact of such
issues on Hindu Americans, as well as about various
aspects of Hindu belief and practice in the context of
religious liberty.
Interfaith Alliance Foundation
Interfaith Alliance Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-
profit organization committed to advancing religious
freedom for all Americans. Founded in 1994, Inter-
faith Alliance Foundation champions individual
rights, promotes policies that strengthen the bound-
ary between religion and government, and unites di-
verse voices to challenge extremism. Our membership
reflects the rich religious and cultural diversity of the
United States, adhering to over 75 faith traditions as
well as no faith tradition.
4a
Jewish Social Policy Action Network
The Jewish Social Policy Action Network is an or-
ganization of American Jews dedicated to protecting
the constitutional liberties and civil rights of Jews,
other minorities, and the vulnerable in our society.
For most of the last two thousand years, Jews lived in
countries in which religion and state were one and mi-
nority faiths were constantly reminded of their out-
sider status by prominent governmental displays of
religious symbols. In Europe, especially, Jews and mi-
nority Christian faith communities faced discrimina-
tion, persecution, expulsion, or worse. Those who em-
igrated to America found that here one could be both
a Jew and an American, a Catholic and an American,
or an atheist and an American. JSPAN believes that
the gift of church—state separation is essential to all
our fundamental freedoms and therefore that great
care must be taken to prevent any erosion of the Es-
tablishment Clause. Critical to this effort is that mem-
bers of minority faiths not be made to feel like second-
class citizens by being subjected to government-spon-
sored displays of Christian religious symbols. Alt-
hough many Christians also find it offensive when
their sacred symbol is co-opted by government, for
Jews and other minorities—even if they believe that
not every use of a cross is intended as a specific en-
dorsement of Christianity—official use of such sym-
bols sends a viscerally divisive message that their
faith group does not enjoy the same privileged status.
National Council of Jewish Women
The National Council of Jewish Women is a grass-
roots organization of 90,000 volunteers and advocates
who turn progressive ideals into action. Inspired by
5a
Jewish values, NCJW strives for social justice by im-
proving the quality of life for women, children, and
families and by safeguarding individual rights and
freedoms. NCJW’s Principles states that “Religious
liberty and the separation of religion and state are
constitutional principles that must be protected and
preserved in order to maintain democratic society.”
Consistent with our Principles and Resolutions,
NCJW joins this brief.
People For the American Way Foundation
People For the American Way Foundation is a
nonpartisan civic organization established to promote
and protect civil and constitutional rights, including
religious liberty, as well as American values like
equality and opportunity for all. Founded in 1981 by
a group of civic, educational, and religious leaders,
PFAWF now has hundreds of thousands of members
nationwide. Over its history, PFAWF has conducted
extensive education, outreach, litigation, and other
activities to promote these values. PFAWF strongly
supports the principles that both the Free Exercise
and Establishment Clauses of the First Amendment
protect freedom of religion, and that governmental ac-
tion that promotes a particular religion, as in this
case, harms religious liberty for all and violates the
First Amendment.
Reconstructing Judaism
Reconstructing Judaism is the central organiza-
tion of the Reconstructionist movement. We train the
next generation of rabbis, support and uplift congre-
gations and havurot, and foster emerging expressions
of Jewish life—helping to shape what it means to be
Jewish today and to imagine the Jewish future. There
6a
are over 100 Reconstructionist communities in the
United States committed to Jewish learning, ethics,
and social justice. Reconstructing Judaism believes in
the importance of the separation of church and state
to ensure religious freedom and equal rights and
equal dignity for all.
Reconstructionist Rabbinical Association
The Reconstructionist Rabbinical Association is a
501(c)(3) organization that serves as the professional
association of 340 Reconstructionist rabbis, the rab-
binic voice of the Reconstructionist movement, and a
Reconstructionist Jewish voice in the public sphere.
Based on our understanding of Jewish teachings that
every human being is created in the divine image, we
have long advocated for public policies of inclusion,
antidiscrimination, and equality.
Union for Reform Judaism, Women of Reform
Judaism, and Men of Reform Judaism
The Union for Reform Judaism, whose 900 congre-
gations across North America include 1.5 million Re-
form Jews; Women of Reform Judaism, which repre-
sents more than 65,000 women in nearly 500 women’s
groups in North America and around the world; and
Men of Reform Judaism come to this issue out of our
long-standing commitment to the principle of separa-
tion of church and state, believing that the First
Amendment to the Constitution is the bulwark of re-
ligious freedom and interfaith amity. Religious free-
dom and its necessary corollary, the separation of
church and state, have lifted American Jewry as well
as other religious minorities, providing more protec-
tions, rights, and opportunities than have been known
7a
anywhere else throughout history. Government spon-
sorship of religious symbols threatens the principle of
separation of church and state, which is indispensable
for preserving that unique blessing of American de-
mocracy—religious liberty.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.