Amicus Curiae Brief — Am. Legion v. Am. Humanist Ass'n, 139 S. Ct. 451 (2018) (No. 17-1717)
Supreme Court brief2018
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
Nos. 17-1717, 18-18
3n the Supreme Court of the Hnited States
Tue AMERICAN LEGION, et ai.,
Petitioners,
V.
AMERICAN HUMANIST ASSOCIATION, et ai.,
Respondents.
MARYLAND-NATIONAL CaprrAL PARK AND PLANNING COMMISSION,
Petitioner,
Vv.
AMERICAN HUMANIST ASSOCIATION, et ai.,
Respondents.
On Petitions for Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN CENTER
FOR LAW & JUSTICE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS
FRANCIS J. MANION Jay ALAN SEKULOW
Georrrey R. Surreres Counsel of Record
AMERICAN CENTER Sruart J. Rotu
ror Law & Justice WALTER M. WEBER
P.O. Box 60 JORDAN SEKULOW
New , KY 40052 AMERICAN CENTER FOR LAW & JUSTICE
(502) 549-7020 201 Maryland Ave., N.E.
ane 20002
Epwarp L. Wurre III (202) 54
ERIK M. ZIMMERMAN sekulow@aclj.org
AMERICAN CENTER
ror Law & Justice
3001 Pl uth Road
Suite
Ann Arbor, MI 48105
(734) 680-8007
Counsel for Amicus Curiae
Becker Gallagher - Cnxinmat, OH - Washington, D.C. ~- 800.890.5001
TABLE OF CONTENTS
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ................... ii
INTEREST OF AMICUS ............00000005: 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT AND
nn sc ds ade oe Mewes sas ocae beeen 2
EEE ca dcupacndseweckatSisecevsvawaen's 3
I. Van Orden’s Eschewal of Lemon .......... 3
II. Disarray of Current Establishment Clause
ED cd bce ndpaeuducevesneena cs 6
Ill. Town of Greece sets forth the appropriate
test for deciding Establishment Clause
.ceawnewntheaubaneunaeedh eee oe 10
A. The Historical Foundations Criterion .. 10
B. The Coercion Criterion .............. 17
NE. fata ain non Weed nen ans cewes ets 21
‘i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES
American Civil Liberties Union of Ky. v.
Mercer Cnty.,
432 F.3d 624 (6th Cir. 2005) .............. 1,9
ACLU Neb. Found. v. City of Plattsmouth,
419 F.3d 772 (8th Cir. 2005) .............. 1,6
ACLU v. Schundler,
104 F.3d 1435 (3d Cir. 1997) ................ 4
Am. Atheists, Inc. v. Port Auth..,
760 F.3d 227 (2d. Cir. 2014) ................ 6
Am. Humanist Ass’n v. Md. Nat-Capital Park &
Planning Comm'n,
147 F. Supp. 3d (D. Md. 2015).............. 10
Am. Humanist Ass’n v. Md.-Nat'l Capital Park &
Planning Comm'n,
874 F.3d 195 (4th Cir. 2017) .... 3, 14, 15, 18, 19
Am. Jewish Cong. v. Chicago,
827 F.2d 120 (7th Cir. 1987) ............... 19
Books v. City of Elkhart,
235 F.3d 292 (7th Cir. 2000) ................ 1
Card v. City of Everett,
520 F.3d 1009 (9th Cir. 2008) ............... 7
Comm. for Pub. Educ. & Religious Liberty v.
Regan, 444 U.S. 646 (1980) ................. 9
County of Allegheny v. ACLU,
492 U.S. 573 (1989) .......... 11, 12, 13, 17, 19
Croft v. Perry,
624 F.3d 157 (5th Cir. 2010) .............. 8,9
Cutter v. Wilkinson,
Gis PEED oo bc Soe sec ccwsces “veocvn 7
Elk Grove Unified Sch. Dist. v. Newdow,
542 U.S. 1(2004) .. 0... ccc ccc ee eee ee 13
Elmbrook Sch. Dist. v. Doe,
134 S. Ct. 2283 (2014) ............... 9, 12, 20
Felix v. City of Bloomfield,
841 F.3d 848 (10th Cir. 2016) ............... 6
Felix v. City of Bloomfield,
847 F.3d 1214 (10th Cir. 2017) ............. 21
Freedom from Religion Found., Inc. v. Concord
Cmty. Schs.,
885 F.3d 1038 (7th Cir. 2018) ............ 8, 21
Galloway v. Town of Greece,
681 F.3d 20 (2d Cir. 2012) ................. 11
Glassroth v. Moore,
335 F.3d 12862 (11th Cir. 2003) .............. 4
Green v. Haskell Cnty. Bd. of Comm'rs,
574 F.3d 1235 (10th Cir. 2009) .............. 8
Kondrat’yev v. City of Pensacola,
Case No.: 3:16-cv-195, 2017 U.S. Dist. LEXIS
203588 (N.D. Fla. June 19, 2017),
appeal pending, No. 17-13025 (11th Cir.) ..... 10
Lamb’s Chapel v. Center Moriches Union Free
School Dist., 508 U.S. 384 (1993) ......... 1, 10
iv
Larson v. Valente,
eB, 4,8
Lee v. Weisman,
505 U.S. 577 (1992) ..............25- 8, 14, 19
Lemon v. Kurtzman,
Se Gs GUD cc cccccccccccncens passim
Lynch v. Donnelly,
465 U.S. 668 (1984) ............. 3, 4, 8, 13, 16
Marsh v. Chambers,
Sy SPEED as de s cin eed ee secceees 4,12
Matal v. Tam,
oR ee ere 1
Mount Soledad Mem’ Ass’n v. Trunk,
ee rs bc enewetons 9
Pleasant Grove City v. Summum,
ee PED 6 6c occ ces tsevcsivocens 1
Red River Freethinkers v. City of Fargo,
764 F.3d 948 (8th Cir. 2014) ................ 7
Rowan Cnty. v. Lund,
No. 17-565, 2018 U.S. LEXIS 4040
Ss «ss sone usd hs 6 aeb0d.0.00% 0-08 i]
Salazar v. Buono,
Ss SED voc bcc ce ees cbscces 14, 15
Sch. Dist. of Abington Twp. v. Schempp,
Be Ge OED cceccccccceccccccses 12, 19
Smith v. Jefferson Cnty. Bd. of Sch. Comm'rs,
788 F.3d 580 (6th Cir. 2015) ............. 8, 21
Vv
Soc’y of Separationists v. Pleasant Grove City,
416 F.3d 1239 (10th Cir. 2005) .............. 1
Staley v. Harris Cnty.,
461 F.3d 504 (5th Cir. 2006) ................ 7
Stone v. Graham,
449 U.S. 39 (1980) ...............-2.2005. 19
Town of Greece v. Galloway,
134 S. Ct. 1811 (2014) ...............- passim
Trinity Lutheran Church of Columbia, Inc. v.
Comer, 137 S. Ct. 2012 (2017) ............... 1
Trump v. Hawaii,
BOD &. CB. SR GERD onc cece cccccsccccs 7
Trunk v. City of San Diego,
629 F.3d 1099 (9th Cir. 2011) ............... 7
Trunk v. City of San Diego,
660 F.3d 1091 (9th Cir. 2011) .............. 16
Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans United
for Separation of Church & State,
G6 Ws GEO GHD ccc ccvecccccvssenvess 18
Van Orden v. Perry,
351 F.3d 173 (5th Cir. 2003) ................ 4
Van Orden v. Perry,
ik eg ee passim
Wallace v. Jaffree,
Gee a PD 0 6-00 000060045 5s4bUe ee 6,9
Zubik v. Burwell,
> > ee So of Peer 1
vi
OTHER AUTHORITIES
Michael McConnell, Religious Freedom at a
Crossroads, 59 U. Chi. L. Rev. 115 (1992) .... 13
Eric Rassbach, Town of Greece v. Galloway: The
Establishment Clause and the Rediscovery of
History, 2013-14 Cato Sup. Ct. Rev. 71 ...... 12
J. Story, Commentaries on the Constitution of the
United States, Vol. 111, 728 (1833)........... 16
1
INTEREST OF AMICUS’
Amicus, the American Center for Law & Justice
(“ACLJ”), is an organization dedicated to the defense of
constitutional liberties secured by law. ACL.J attorneys
often appear before this Court as counsel for a party,
e.g., Pleasant Grove City v. Summum, 555 U.S. 460
(2009); Lamb’s Chapel v. Center Moriches Union Free
School Dist., 508 U.S. 384 (1993), or amici curiae, e.g.,
Trinity Lutheran Church of Columbia, Inc. v. Comer,
137 S. Ct. 2012 (2017); Matal v. Tam, 137 S. Ct. 1744
(2017); Zubik v. Burwell, 136 S. Ct. 1557 (2016).
In addition, ACLJ has represented numerous local
governments in challenges involving passive displays
both in this Court, Pleasant Grove City v. Summum,
and in the lower courts, e.g., ACLU of Kentucky v.
Mercer County, 432 F.3d 624 (6th Cir. 2005); ACLU
Nebraska Found. v. City of Plattsmouth, 419 F.3d 772
(8th Cir. 2005) (en banc); Soc’y of Separationists v.
Pleasant Grove City, 416 F.3d 1239 (10th Cir. 2005);
Books v. City of Elkhart, 235 F.3d 292 (7th Cir. 2000).
Amicus therefore has considerable legal expertise in
the subject matter underlying the petitions.
‘ Counsel of record for the parties received notice of the intent to
of amicus briefs and counsel for Respondents has provided written
consent. No counsel for any party in this case authored this brief
in whole or in part. No person or entity aside from Amicus, their
members, or their respective counsel made a monetary
contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief.
2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
AND INTRODUCTION
Relying on this Court’s decision in Lemon ov.
Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971), and the perceptions of
a “reasonable observer,” the Fourth Circuit has ordered
the removal of a near century-old monument dedicated
to the memory of local soldiers who perished in the
Great War. What is in need of dismantling in this case,
however, is not the memorial at issue, but the
confounding jurisprudence used by the court below in
reaching its erroneous conclusion.
The Fourth Circuit’s rationale and decision conflicts
with this Court’s decisions in Van Orden v. Perry, 545
U.S. 677 (2005), and Town of Greece v. Galloway, 134
S. Ct. 1811 (2014). Despite the fact that those decisions
notably eschewed both Lemon and the “reasonable
observer test” in deciding whether a passive display
and legislative prayer violated the Establishment
Clause, the Fourth Circuit invoked both to dispose of
Bladensburg’s Peace Cross.
This Court should grant the petitions to reaffirm
what it held in Van Orden and to make explicit what it
implicitly held in Town of Greece: the test for adjudging
whether state action that partakes of the religious
violates the Establishment Clause, be it prayer or a
passive display, does not turn on the application of any
prongs of Lemon, including a reasonable observer's
perceptions of endorsement. Instead, according to those
two decisions, a court should look to relevant historical
practices and understandings and whether the state
action at issue imposes unwarranted governmental
coercion on others. This jurisprudential standard will
not only provide lower courts a more objective
3
benchmark in determining whether a passive display
comports with the Establishment Clause, such as the
one at issue here, it will provide state and local
governments firmer guidance in deciding whether to
keep, alter, or create anew a governmental display that
partakes of the religious. It will reaffirm the important
truth that the Constitution does not “require
separation of church and state; it affirmatively
mandates accommodation, not merely tolerance, of all
religions, and forbids hostility toward any.” Lynch v.
Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668, 673 (1984).
The petitions should be granted.
ARGUMENT
L Van Orden’s Eschewal of Lemon.
In ruling that the public display of the Peace Cross
violates the Establishment Clause, the Fourth Circuit
decided the case “pursuant to the three-prong test in
Lemon with due consideration given to the factors
outlined in Van Orden.” Am. Humanist Ass’n v. Md.-
Nat'l Capital Park & Planning Comm'n, 874 F.3d 195,
206 (4th Cir. 2017) (“AHA”). Given the fact that neither
the Van Orden plurality aor Justice Breyer’s
concurrence in that case thought Lemon to be
beneficial, let alone necessary, to evaluating the Texas
Ten Commandments monument, the Fourth Circuit’s
rubric makes little sense. Van Orden has radically
4
undermined, at least with respect to passive displays,
any continuing authority of Lemon.”
In Van Orden, this Court upheld a passive display
of the Ten Commandments on the grounds of the Texas
State Capitol. While the Fifth Circuit used Lemon to
decide that case, holding that that the monolith was
created with a valid secular purpose and did not
impermissibly endorse religion, Van Orden v. Perry,
351 F.3d 173, 180, 182 (5th Cir. 2003), this Court did
not use the Lemon test. In a plurality opinion, Chief
Justice Rehnquist noted that the “test” derived from
Lemon was simply “not useful in dealing with the sort
of passive monument” like the one at issue in that case.
The plurality noted that Lemon and its “prongs” were
described as providing “no more than helpful signposts”
only two years after that decision was handed down,
and the test had only been selectively used by this
Court in deciding challenges under the Establishment
Clause. Van Orden, 545 U.S. at 686 (plurality opinion);
see also Lynch, 465 U.S. at 679 (noting that the Court
did not consider Lemon to be “relevant” in deciding
Marsh v. Chambers, 463 U.S. 783 (1983), or “useful” in
Larson v. Valente, 456 U.S. 228 (1982)).
Instead of applying any part of Lemon’s test to the
Texas monument, and doubting “the fate of the Lemon
* To be clear, Amicus believes that the monument at issue satisfies
any standard for measuring an Establishment Clause violation,
including the one set forth in Lemon. The gravamen of this brief is
simply that the “much-maligned test” of Lemon should no longer
be retained. ACLU v. Schundler, 104 F.3d 1435, 1440 (3d Cir.
1997); Glassroth v. Moore, 335 F.3d 1282, 1295 (11th Cir. 2003)
(beginning Establishment Clause inquiry with the “obligatory
observation that the Lemon test is often maligned”).
5
test in the larger scheme of Establishment Clause
jurisprudence,” the plurality undertook an “analysis...
driven both by the nature of the monument and by our
Nation’s history.” 545 U.S. at 686. Surveying the
country’s legal and cultural heritage, it held that even
though the Ten Commandments are unquestionably
religious, they also have “an undeniable historical
meaning.” Jd. at 690.
Based on that dual significance of the
Decalogue—“partaking of both religion and
government”—the plurality ruled that Texas’s display
of the monument, standing among other monuments
“representing the several strands in the State’s
political and legal history,” was consistent with the
demands of the Establishment Clause. Jd. at 690-91.
Justice Breyer concurred in the judgment only. Like
the plurality, Justice Breyer did not use Lemon to
evaluate the monolith’s legality. While he opined that
the display might survive the Court’s more formal
Establishment Clause tests, id. at 703 (Breyer, J.,
concurring in the judgment), Justice Breyer preferred
instead to apply “the exercise of legal judgment,” an
analysis that would “reflect and remain faithful to the
underlying purposes of the Clauses, and .. . take
account of context and consequences measured in light
of those purposes.” Jd. at 700. Evaluating the
underlying case-specific facts of the case in tandem
with these purposes, Justice Breyer believed that the
Texas display “falls on the permissible side of the
constitutional line.” Jd. at 703.
In neither the plurality decision nor Justice Breyer’s
concurrence did a “reasonable observer's” perceptions
6
of endorsement play any role.’ It was not necessary to
decide whether this reasonable observer thought that
the State of Texas was advocating the Ten
Commandments as a religious code, or a moral code, or
both, or neither. This observer’s feelings of exclusion,
his religious sensibilities, or his thoughts of religious
endorsement at viewing the monument were simply not
considered.
In short, and in direct conflict with the legal
framework used by the court below, Van Orden was
decided without Lemon and the need to invoke any
“reasonable observer.”
Il. Disarray of Current Establishment Clause
Jurisprudence
The Fourth Circuit is not alone in continuing to
apply Lemon after Van Orden in deciding cases
involving passive displays. See, e.g., Am. Atheists, Inc.
v. Port Auth., 760 F.3d 227 (2d. Cir. 2014) (Ground Zero
cross at the National September 11 Museum); Felix v.
City of Bloomfield, 841 F.3d 848 (10th Cir. 2016) (Ten
Commandments monument). The Eighth Circuit, on
the other hand, has adhered to Van Orden. See, e.z.,
ACLU Neb. Found. v. City of Plattsmouth, 419 F.3d
772, 778, 0.8 (8th Cir. 2005) (en banc) (“Taking our cue
from Chief Justice Rehnquist’s opinion for the Court
* The “reasonable observer” standard of the endorsement test—a
modification of the purpose and effects prongs of Lemon—was first
proposed by Justice O’Connor in Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38, 76
(1985) (O’Connor, J., concurring in judgment) (stating that the
relevant issue was whether an “objective observer, acquainted with
the text, legislative history, and implementation of the statute,
would perceive it as a state endorsement of prayer in public
schools”).
7
and Justice Breyer’s concurring opinion in Van Orden,
we do not apply the Lemon test.”); Red River
Freethinkers v. City of Fargo, 764 F.3d 948 (8th Cir.
2014) (same). And in a case involving a public display
of the Bible, the Fifth Circuit focused on both Justice
Breyer’s Van Orden concurrence and the “reasonable
observer” standard—nowhere, as mentioned, found in
Justice Breyer’s opinion itself. See Staley v. Harris
Cnty., 461 F.3d 504 (5th Cir. 2006).
Additionally, the Ninth Circuit has held that while
Lemon “remains the general rule for evaluating
whether an Establishment Clause violation exists,” it
does “not use the Lemon test to determine the
constitutionality of some longstanding plainly religious
displays that convey a historical or secular message in
a nonreligious context.” Card v. City of Everett, 520
F.3d 1009, 1016 (9th Cir. 2008). But subsequent to
Card, in the protracted litigation over the Mount
Soledad Cross, the Ninth Circuit used both Lemon and
Van Orden to adjudicate the case. Trunk v. City of San
Diego, 629 F.3d 1099 (9th Cir. 2011).
Outside the public display context, and given this
Court’s movement away from Lemon in such other
cases, e.g., Cutter v. Wilkinson, 544 U.S. 709, 717, n.6
(2005) (noting, after setting forth the Lemon test, “[wle
resolve this case on other grounds”), the lower courts
are in disarray as to which Establishment Clause test
to apply, or whether to apply more than one of them.“
‘ This Court’s recent Establishment Clause decision in Trump v.
Hawaii, 138 S. Ct. 2392 (2018), continues the trend of not using
Lemon.
8
The Fifth Circuit, for example, has used a “multi-
test analysis” involving “Larson v. Valente’s no-sect-
preference test,” prongs of “the Lemon test,” “Lynch's
endorsement test,” and a coercion examination under
Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577 (1992). Croft v. Perry, 624
F.3d 157, 165-69 (5th Cir. 2010).
Recently, the Sixth Circuit “weavel[d] together three
main jurisprudential threads” for deciding a case
arising under the Establishment Clause: “the Lemon
test,” “an endorsement analysis,” and “a historical
approach.” Smith v. Jefferson Cnty. Bd. of Sch.
Comm'rs, 788 F.3d 580, 586-87 (6th Cir. 2015).
Earlier this year, the Seventh Circuit noted in a
case involving a public school’s holiday show that this
Court “has employed at least three ways to assess
whether a local governmental body . . . violates the
Establishment Clause: the endorsement, coercion, and
purpose tests.” Freedom from Religion Found., Inc. v.
Concord Cmty. Schs., 885 F.3d 1038, 1045-46 (7th Cir.
2018). Concurring in the judgment in that case, Judge
Easterbrook doubted the correctness of many of those
tests and wrote that, under a proper reading of the
Establishment Clause, “li/Jt takes taxation or
compulsory worship to establish a religion; some form
of coercion is essential.” Jd. at 1053 (Easterbrook, J.,
concurring in the judgment).
In light of the various and motley frameworks used
by the lower courts in adjudicating Establishment
Clause challenges, it is littke wonder that the
jurisprudence in this area has been described as a
“judicial morass,” Green v. Haskell Cnty. Bd. of
Comm'rs, 574 F.3d 1235, 1235 n.1 (10th Cir. 2009)
(Kelly, J., dissenting from denial of rehearing), “rife
9
with confusion,” Croft, 624 F.3d at #65, and as
“Establishment Clause purgatory.” American Civil
Liberties Union of Ky. v. Mercer Cnty., 432 F.3d 624,
636 (6th Cir. 2005).
Indeed, given that numerous past and present
Justices of this Court have opined on the lack of clerity,
the lower courts can hardly be blamed for their
confusion. See, e.g., Rowan Cnty. v. Lund, No. 17-565,
2018 U.S. LEXIS 4040, at *1 (June 28, 2018) (Thomas,
J., dissenting from denial of certiorari, joined by
Gorsuch, J.) (“This Court’s Establishment Clause
jurisprudence is in disarray. Sometimes our precedents
focus on whether a ‘reasonable observer’ would think
that a government practice endorses religion; other
times our precedents focus on whether a government
practice is supported by this country’s history and
tradition.”); Elmbrook Sch. Dist. v. Doe, 134 S. Ct.
2283, 2284 (2014) (Scalia, J., dissenting from denial of
certiorari) (lamenting the “infinitely malleable
standard |that] asks whether governmental action has
the purpose or effect of ‘endorsing’ religion”); Mount
Soledad Mem’ Ass’n v. Trunk, 567 U.S. 944, 944 (2012)
(Alito, J., concurring in the denial of certiorari) (“This
Court’s Establishment Clause jurisprudence is
undoubtedly in need of clarity.”); Wallace v. Jaffree,
472 U.S. 38, 110 (1985) (Rehnquist, J., dissenting)
(“The three-part test lof Lemon] has simply not
provided adequate standards for deciding
[Establishment Clause cases, as this Court has slowly
come to realize.”); Comm. for Pub. Educ. & Religious
Liberty v. Regan, 444 U.S. 646, 671 (1980) (Stevens, J.,
dissenting) (criticizing “the sisyphean task of trying to
patch together the blurred, indistinct, and variable
barrier described in Lemon”).
10
In sum, as the district court noted in this very case,
“Establishment Clause jurisprudence is .. . a trial
judge’s nightmare.” Am. Humanist Ass’n v. Md. Nat'l-
Capital Park & Planning Comm'n, 147 F. Supp. 3d 373,
381 (D. Md. 2015).° Now is the time for this Court to
relieve the lower courts from their collective bad
dream, laying to rest, once and for all, the recurring
“ghoul” of that nightmare. See Lamb’s Chapel, 508 U.S.
at 398 (Scalia, J., concurring in judgment).
Ill. Town of Greece sets forth the appropriate
test for deciding Establishment Clause
claims.
A. The Historical Foundations Criterion
Nine years after this Court’s decision in Van Orden,
and consistent with that decision, the Court in Town of
Greece provided an objective jurisprudential framework
for resolving Establishment Clause challenges such as
the one at issue here. That framework does not involve
the subjective task of discerning whether a reasonable
observer would think the government is endorsing
religion through a public display or other form of state
action, or the application of one or more prongs of the
Lemon test.
In Town of Greece, this Court was presented with
the issue of whether sectarian invocations at the
beginning of town council meetings comported with the
* See also Kondrat’yev v. City of Pensacola, Case No.: 3:16-cv-195,
2017 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 203588, at *4 (N.D. Fla. June 19, 2017),
appeal pending, No. 17-13025 (11th Cir.) (describing current
Establishment Clause jurisprudence, in case involving a public
display of a cross, as “historically ummoored, confusing, |and)
inconsistent”).
11
Establishment Clause. The Second Circuit reasoned
that because “an objective, reasonable person would
believe that the town’s prayer practice had the effect of
affiliating the town with Christianity,” the council’s
prayers were unconstitutional. Galloway v. Town of
Greece, 681 F.3d 20, 33 (2d Cir. 2012).
In reversing that decision, however, this
Court—like the plurality opinion and Justice Breyer’s
concurrence in Van Orden—did not suggest that the
Second Circuit misapplied Lemon, or any of its prongs,
or that the “reasonable observer” would conclude
differently. In fact, except for being cited once in
dissent, Lemon is nowhere invoked, or even mentioned,
in Town of Greece. 134 S. Ct. at 1841 (Breyer, J.,
dissenting).© The Court thus dispensed with divining
the mind of a hypothetical “reasonable observer” to
determine endorsement and adopted a different
analytical framework entirely.
Rather, stating that “the Establishment Clause
must be interpreted ‘by reference to historical practices
and understandings,” 134 S. Ct. at 1819 (quoting
County of Allegheny v. ACLU, 492 U.S. 573, 670 (1989)
(Kennedy, J.)), the Court looked to objective and
historical facts, including the longstanding tradition of
legislative prayer dating back to the founding
generation. The Court held that the line that must be
drawn “between the permissible and _ the
impermissible” under the Establishment Clause has
nothing to do with the reasonable observer and his
perceptions of endorsement, but instead must be “one
* The term “reasonable observer” appears once in the plurality, but
only in passing and not as an invocation of the “endorsement test.”
Id. at 1825 (plurality opinion).
12
which accords with history and faithfully reflects the
understanding of the Founding Fathers.” Jd. (quoting
Sch. Dist. of Abington Twp. v. Schempp, 374 U.S. 203,
294 (1963) (Brennan, J., concurring)).
Importantly, Town of Greece nowhere suggests that
its history-based criterion is limited only to the context
of legislative prayer. In fact, the Court made it clear
that its decision in Marsh v. Chambers, 463 U.S. 783
(1983), often described as an “exception” to
Establishment Clause jurisprudence, 134 S. Ct. at
1818, “must not be understood as permitting a practice
that would amount to a constitutional violation if not
for its historical foundation.” Jd. at 1819. In other
words, a historical foundation is not a basis for holding
that an otherwise unconstitutional practice or display
should be permitted, but a criterion for determining
their constitutionality in the first place. See Elmbrook
Sch. Dist. v. Doe, 134 S. Ct. 2283, 2284 (2014) (Scalia,
J., dissenting in denial of certiorari) (“Town of Greece
left no doubt that the Establishment Clause must be
interpreted by reference to historical practices and
understandings.”) (internal quotations omitted).’
A historical foundation criterion, however, should
not be “confined to the inquiry into whether the
challenged practice itself is a part of our accepted
traditions dating back to the Founding.” Allegheny, 492
U.S. at 669 (Kennedy, J.). Instead, “[w|hatever test we
" See also Eric Rassbach, Town of Greece v. Galloway: The
Establishment Clause and the Rediscovery of History, 2013-14 Cato
Sup. Ct. Rev. 71, 84 (noting that, in Town of Greece, the Court has
“introduce/d] a ‘historical override’ to all Establishment Clause
claims,” and “Marsh’s historical analysis trumps the Lemon test,
not the other way around”).
13
choose to apply must permit not only legitimate
practices two centuries old but also any other practices
with no greater potential for an establishment of
religion.” Id. Nowhere in Town of Greece (or in any
other decision, for that matter) does the Court suggest
that only practices engaged in by the founding
generation could withstand an Establishment Clause
challenge. While, for example, the tradition of this
Court’s invocation, “God save the United States and
this Honorable Court,” may not stretch back all the
way back to the founding of the Court, it is nonetheless
a tradition in keeping with the Founders’
understanding of what the Establishment Clause
allows. The same rationale applies to the Pledge of
Allegiance, the National Motto, and Presidential
proclamations and speeches that invoke the Divine.
Town of Greece, 134 S. Ct. at 1825 (plurality opinion);
see also Elk Grove Unified Sch. Dist. v. Newdow, 542
U.S. 1, 25-30 (2004) (Rehnquist, C.J., concurring in the
judgment).*
Finally, Town of Greece’s history criterion is
consistent with this Court’s observations that there is
an “unbroken history of official acknowledgment by all
three branches of government of the role of religion in
American life,” Lynch, 465 U.S. at 674, and that a
“relentless and all-pervasive attempt to exclude
religion from every aspect of public life could itself
* As Michael McConnell has observed: “The early practice in the
Republic was replete with governmental proclamations and other
actions that endorsed religion in noncoercive ways, without
favoring one sect over another... . The Religion Clauses were not
directed against the evil of perceived messages, but of government
power.” Religious Freedom at a Crossroads, 59 U. Chi. L. Rev. 115,
155 (1992).
14
become inconsistent with the Constitution,” Lee v.
Weisman, 505 U.S. 577, 598 (1992). Justice Scalia’s call
for “an Establishment Clause jurisprudence that is in
accord with our Nation’s past and present practices,
and that can be consistently applied,” also comports
with the approach taken in Town of Greece. Van Orden,
545 U.S. at 692 (Scalia, J., concurring).
Looking at the “nature of the monument” at issue in
this case, Van Orden, 545 U.S. at 686, and the
“historical practices and understandings” of the
undeniable role religion has played in the character
and culture of this country, Town of Greece, 134 S. Ct.
at 1819, it is clear that the Fourth Circuit gravely erred
as a matter of law in holding that Bladensburg Peace
Cross violates the Establishment Clause.
The cross was not erected with the intent to
proclaim Christianity as a government-sanctioned
religion. It was not created to be a center of religious
worship or to honor and praise the Christian faith. The
cross, quite simply but profoundly, was erected “to
honor 49 World War I soldiers” from Prince George's
County. AHA, 874 F.3d at 200. Indeed, what a plurality
of this Court observed in Salazar v. Buono, 559 U.S.
700 (2010), regarding a similar memorial, with a
similar history, applies with equal force here:
Private citizens put the cross on Sunrise Rock to
commemorate American servicemen who had
died in World War I. Although certainly a
Christian symbol, the cross was not emplaced on
Sunrise Rock to promote a Christian
message. . . . Placement of the cross on
Government-owned land was not an attempt to
set the imprimatur of the state on a particular
15
creed. Rather, those who erected the cross
intended simply to honor our Nation’s fallen
soldiers.
559 U.S. at 715 (Kennedy, J., plurality).
The fact that a cross was chosen as the object to
memorialize the soldiers, instead of a poppy or some
other symbol from World War I, see AHA, 874 F.3d at
207, n.10, does not doom the monument from start, as
the panel below all but suggests. Instead, as was noted
in Buono,
a Latin cross is not merely a reaffirmation of
Christian beliefs. It is a symbol often used to
honor and respect those whose heroic acts, noble
contributions, and patient striving help secure
an honored place in history for this Nation and
its people. . . . It evokes thousands of small
crosses in foreign fields marking the graves of
Americans who fell in battles, battles whose
tragedies are compounded if the fallen are
forgotten.
559 U.S. at 721 (Kennedy, J., plurality).
In fact, it has been a long historical practice in this
country, consistent with the historical understanding
of the Establishment Clause, to use the symbol of the
cross in the context of giving honor to members of the
armed forces. As has been correctly observed, as a
114 Civil War monuments include a cross; the
fallen in World Wars I and II are memorialized
ee ee
Arlington Cemetery is to three war
16
memorial crosses, and Gettysburg is home to
two more; and military awards often use the
image of a cross to recognize service, such 3 the
Army’s Distinguished Service Cross, the Navy
Cross, the Air Force Cross, the Distinguished
Flying Cross, and the most famous cross meant
to symbolize sacrifice—the French “Croix de
Guerre.”
Trunk v. City of San Diego, 660 F.3d 1091, 1100 (9th
Cir. 2011) (Bea, J., dissenting from the denial of
rehearing en banc).
Like the Ten Commandments monument at issue in
Van Orden, and the sectarian prayers at issue in Town
of Greece, the Peace Cross partakes of both the
religious and the secular. The cross is not being used to
call attention to the history or importance of
Christianity, but the history and importance of 49 local
soldiers who made the ultimate sacrifice in defense of
their country. By no means is it a “treacherous step
towards establishment of a state church.” Town of
Greece, 134 S. Ct. at 1818; see also Lynch, 465 U.S. at
678 (“The real object of the [First] Amendment was . .
to prevent any national ecclesiastical establishment,
which should give to an hierarchy the exclusive
patronage of the national government.”) (quoting
J. Story, Commentaries on the Constitution of the
United States, Vol. Il, 728 (1833)). And just as courts
should not act as “supervisors and censors of religious
speech” in the context of religious invocations, 134 S.
Ct. at 1822, neither should they act, as did the Fourth
Circuit here, as park supervisors, adjudging the
legitimacy of a public monument that was erected, and
17
is maintained, for an obvious (and laudable) secular
reason.
While Amicus maintains that the monument would
pass constitutional muster under Lemon, and that the
Fourth Circuit was wrong to conclude otherwise, if
Lemon can be so readily applied to order the removal a
longstanding, historical monument such as the Peace
Cross, it is Lemon that must be discarded, not the
monument. Cf. Town of Greece, 134 S. Ct. at 1811 (“A
test that would sweep away what has so long been
settled would create new controversy and begin anew
the very divisions along religious lines that the
Establishment Clause seeks to prevent.”).
B. The Coercion Criterion
Town of Greece did not look solely to historical
practices and understandings in determining the
constitutionality of the challenged prayer practice, but
to an additional factor: coercion. “It is an elemental
First Amendment principle that government may not
coerce its citizens ‘to support or participate in any
religion or its exercise.” 134 S. Ct. at 1825 (opinion of
Kennedy, J.) (quoting Allegheny, 492 U.S. at 659
(Kennedy, J.)); see also id. (citing Van Orden, 545 U.S.
at (plurality opinion) (recognizing that our
“institutions must not press religious observances upon
their citizens”)).
Though a majority in Town of Greece did not agree
on what type or level of coercion would have to be
present in order to find an Establishment Clause
violation, there would be no need to resolve that issue
in this case because Respondents have not been coerced
18
into doing anything, much less “compelled .. . to
engage in a religious observance.” /d.
Like the plaintiffs in Town of Greece, who “stated
that the prayers gave them offense and made them feel
excluded and disrespected,” id. at 1826, the
Respondents claim that they have come into
“unwelcome direct contact with the Cross” and “are
offended by the prominent government display of the
Cross.” AHA, 874 F.3d at 203. While one of the
individual plaintiffs alleged that he “is personally
offended and feels excluded” by the monument, the
other two individual plaintiffs did not even allege
offense—only that they have come into “unwelcome
contact” with the monument and “object” to it.
Complaint, 74 6-10, ECF Doc. 1, American Humanist
Ass'n et al. v. Md.-Nat Capital Park & Planning
Comm'n, 8:14-cv-00550-DKC.”
“Offense, however, does not equate to coercion.
Town of Greece, 134 S. Ct. at 1826 (opinion of Kennedy,
J.). Just as “lajdults often encounter speech they find
disagreeable,” id., so too might they encounter
monuments or displays, as Respondents
have here. “|A]n Establishment Clause violation is not
* For these reasons, the Fourth Circuit erred in holding that
Respondents have Article [II standing to press their
Establishment Clause claim. See AHA, 874 F.3d at 203-4. Like the
plaintiffs in Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans United for
Separation of Church & State, Respondents “fail to identify any
personal injury suffered by them as a consequence of the alleged
constitutional error, other than the psychological consequence
presumably produced by observation of conduct with which one
disagrees. That is not an injury sufficient to confer standing under
Art. ITI, even though the disagreement is phrased in constitutional!
terms.” 454 U.S. 464, 485-86 (1982).
19
made out any time a person experiences a sense of
affront from the expression” of views which are
contrary to his own. Id. Indeed, it is difficult to see how
“passive and symbolic” displays create a “risk of
infringement of religious liberty.” Allegheny, 492 U.S.
at 662 (Kennedy, J.). Cases involving public school
children are inapplicable here. See, eg., Lee v.
Weisman. 545 U.S. at 691 (plurality opinion); Stone v.
Graham, 449 U.S. 39 (1980) (per curiam); Sch. Dist. of
Abington Twp. v. Schempp, 374 U.S. at 203.
Here, Respondents are not forced into participating
in any religious exercise by a passive monument that
they only observe while traveling in the vicinity. AHA,
874 F.3d at 202; see Allegheny, 492 U.S. at 664
(Kennedy, J.) (“Passersby who disagree with the
message conveyed by these displays are free to ignore
them, or even to turn their backs, just as they are free
to do when they disagree with any other form of
government speech.”); see also Am. Jewish Cong. v.
Chicago, 827 F.2d 120, 133 (7th Cir. 1987)
(Easterbrook, J., dissenting) (“The holder of a nickel
need not trust in God, no matter what the coin says,
and need not contribute the nickel (or even three
pence) to a church.”).
The lower court’s Establishment Clause analysis is
therefore not only plainly inconsistent with Town of
Greece’s historical foundations criterion, but its
coercion criterion as well. Indeed, as a practical matter,
why should the plaintiffs in Town of Greece, who
witnessed sectarian prayers at a town council meeting,
and who felt offended thereby, ultimately fail in their
Establishment Clause challenge, while Respondents
here, who come into “unwelcome contact” with a
20
passive Latin cross while driving a car or riding a bike,
prevail? See Complaint, { 6 (noting that Plaintiff Lowe
often passes by the cross when driving his car or riding
his bike). If Town of Greece means what it says, then
the monument in this case can no more violate the
Establishment Clause than the sectarian legislative
prayers in Town of Greece. \t strains credulity to
suggest otherwise.
While this Court did not explicitly announce in
Town of Greece the demise of Lemon, including its
endorsement and reasonable observer progeny, the
rationale of Town of Greece, which notably avoided
those rubrics entirely, strongly indicates that they have
now been abrogated. At least two Justices have noted
that they think so. See Elmbrook Sch. Dist., 134 8. Ct.
at 2284 (Scalia, J., dissenting from the denial of
certiorari, joined by Thomas, J.) (“Town of Greece
abandoned the antiquated ‘endorsement test,’ which
formed the basis for the decision below.”). But until this
Court makes a clear and unambiguous announcement,
the lower courts will continue applying the much
maligned test of Lemon, even in the face of Town of
Greece, which did not rely on that decision despite the
obvious and admittedly religious nature of the practice
at issue.
The petitions in this case present a clean vehicle for
this Court to reaffirm what it held in Van Orden and to
make explicit what it held in Town of Greece: Lemon
and the reasonable observers perceptions of
endorsement have no role to play in deciding cases
under the Establishment Clause—at least with respect
to passive displays and prayer practices. An express
ruling to that effect will provide much-needed clarity to
21
the courts of appeals. See Concord Cmty. Schs., 885
F.3d at 1045 n.1 (noting that it did “feel free to jettison”
the endorsement test in light of Town of Greece because
the Court in that case did not make it “explicit”);
Jefferson Cnty. Bd. of Sch. Comm'rs, 788 F.3d at 601
(Batchelder, J., concurring in part) (“[N]otwithstanding
Town of Greece’s broad language regarding the test
that properly governs the Establishment Clause .. .
unless and until the Supreme Court explicitly holds
that it has abandoned the Lemon/endorsement test, the
lower courts are bound to continue applying that test in
contexts where the Court has previously employed it”);
see also Felix v. City of Bloomfield, 847 F.3d 1214, 1221
(10th Cir. 2017) (Kelly, J., dissenting from the denial of
rehearing en banc) (noting that “returning to a more
historically-congruent understanding of the
Establishment Clause is the ultimate province of the
Supreme Court”).
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, Amicus respectfully asks
the Court to grant the petitions.
22
Respectfully submitted,
JAY ALAN SEKULOW
Counsel of Record
STUART J. ROTH
WALTER M. WEBER
JORDAN SEKULOW
AMERICAN CENTER FOR LAW & JUSTICE
201 Maryland Ave., N.E.
Washington, D.C. 20002
(202) 546-8890
sekulow@aclj.org
FRANCIS J. MANION
GEOFFREY R. SURTEES
AMERICAN CENTER FOR LAW & JUSTICE
P.O. Box 60
New Hope, Kentucky 40052
(502) 549-7020
EDWARD L. WHITE III
ERIK M. ZIMMERMAN
AMERICAN CENTER FOR LAW & JUSTICE
3001 Plymouth Road
Suite 203
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48105
(734) 680-8007
Counsel for Amicus Curiae
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.