Amicus Curiae Brief — Manhattan Cmty. Access Corp. v. Halleck, 139 S. Ct. 360 (2018) (No. 17-1702)
Supreme Court brief2018
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
No. 17-1702
In Te
Supreme Court of the Anited States
,
-
MANHATTAN COMMUNITY ACCESS
CORPORATION, DANIEL COUGHLIN,
JEANETTE SANTIAGO, CORY BRYCE,
Petitioners,
Vv.
DEEDEE HALLECK, JESUS PAPOLETO MELENDEZ,
Respondents.
ee
Zs
On Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The Second Circuit
ee
¥
BRIEF OF THE NEW YORK COUNTY LAWYERS
ASSOCIATION AS AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS
oa
¥
ELLIOT DOLBY SHIELDS CAROLYN A. KUBITSCHEK
ILyssa S. FUCHS Counsel of Record
ROBERT RICKNER LANSNER & KUBITSCHEK
NEw YORK COUNTY LAWYERS 325 Broadway, Suite 203
ASSOCIATION New York, New York 10007
14 Vesey Street (212) 349-0900
New York, New York 10007 ckubitschek@Lanskub.com
Counsel for Amicus Curiae
COCKLE LEGAL BRIEFS (800) 225-6964
WWW COCELELEGALBRIEFS. COM
i
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
po FU Eee ‘ii
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE.....................+. 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ..........................045. 2
IEE titnnticenincenintceininsntadesuipernetnntanninsnusints 8
I. This Court should respect New York City’s
historic decision to create the country’s
first public access channels and designate
them as public forums ................0..000.0000000 8
A. 1965-1970: Manhattan’s initial cable
I ciesctcneniccesctetevinteenpeinensines 10
B. When New York City created the first
public access channels in 1970 it des-
ignated them as a public forum .......... 13
C. The cable companies’ operation of Man-
hattan’s public access channels under
the 1970 franchise agreements was in-
I cerininnceinsitetisintasesinn enieresiieiilitiansteiiniin 15
D. The City extracted concessions from
Time Inc. and Warner Communications
Inc. to improve public access program-
ming during their merger negotiations.... 18
E. The City used the renewal provisions
of the Cable Communications Policy
Act of 1984 to force Time Warner to
make significant investments to im-
prove public access programming in
Pe cacektcoccnneititeshnentaiindsanensanions 21
‘3
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued
Page
F. The 1990 Manhattan cable franchise
agreements strengthened the First
Amendment rights of Manhattan’s res-
idents to freely express themselves on
the public access channels.................... 25
Il. This Court should encourage public fo-
rums like Manhattan’s public access chan-
nels because they create more speech....... 28
ED ccnsescesttncresnesnntensintssimreienssteneententnns 33
Appendix—Press Release dated May 16, 1991.... App. 1
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Connick v. Myers, 461 U.S. 138 (1983) ................... 7,29
Eastern Telecom Corp. v. Borough of East
Conemaugh, 872 F.2d 30 (3d Cir. 1989).................. 22
New York Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964) ......... 4
New York Times Company v. United States, 403
SE, SIE TED cciasisdienniainstncahecseentiaiiiatbionmenstbinieiatiibesntondiaad 4
Union CATV, Inc. v. City of Sturgis, 107 F.3d 434
ee ecicctectanssecnienhetctebescasinertstesinsencceniusi 30, 31
Whalen v. Roe, 429 U.S. 589 (1977) ..................2..20000+ 30
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
Se Ir IIE Oooo echicisidenetrssiesinmananemnenenntinnsl passim
STATUTES, BILLS AND REGULATIONS
H.R. Rep. No. 98-934 (1984), 1984 U.S.C.C_ALN.
SEIT sinsstanistuisiennatanienslitunscisstseinintinastauadiannbtaisenianpainopaieanintn 22
EE: Oe UID cnichinliciitincamiaisiananisteneianindseicosmsiannbeniuaeida 28
47 U.S.C.
EIN <i iscanitndscedalagetdaneidpinndiniaptniaesidatinnasindpenaimasnnnaninn 21
REE as SER, RS ear Eee Ere rE EW 22
SERENE SAREE Aas Rese De Sao 8 eM a SE 22
CEES Saat tea ern ae 21, 22
i a ae 23
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
RULES
IRS, BI SEIN sons cescsdeeclsnecnmpentnuasiddiabadesmiasudeniaibenn l
OTHER AUTHORITIES
Clayton Knowles, 3 Given Franchises To Provide
Cables For Better City TV, N.Y. TIMEs, Dec. 3,
RAI Ti Wii aincsistnidenhicin esthenthinninlenigueahhenibiihhellanbeniaeaes 10, 11
David W. Dunlap, Pact May Improve Cable TV
Service, N.Y. TIMES, June 16, 1989, at B3......... 19, 20
David W. Dunlap, Panel Questions Time- Warner
Plan, N.Y. TIMES, May 28, 1989, at 33.............. 19, 20
Douglas Davis, Public-Access TV Is Heard in the
Land, N.Y. TIMES, June 11, 1989, at 231...... 16, 17, 21
Editorial, Topics of The Times; The Midnight TV
Drama, N.Y. Times, May 19, 1990, at 22 ................ 21
Freddie Ferretti, City Delays Its Decision on
CATV Policy, N.Y. TIMES, July 24, 1970, at 68 ....... 14
George Gent, City Starting Test of Public Cable
TV, N.Y. TIMEs, July 1, 1971, at 95................... 10, 16
Gretchen Dykstra, Public Access TV Gets Com-
munities Involved, N.Y. TIMES, May 31, 1993,
i iiisteacescicecieninsnnristinssenintsigtanentinstniniicivepienanindsiiemeionsd 26
Jack Gould, Community-Antenna TV: Picture of
Vast Potential, N.Y. Times, Dec. 6, 1965, at 75 ....... 10
James Barron, Cable TV Rates Likely to Rise in
Manhattan With New Pact, N.Y. Times, June
Bs TE ANE Uk SEY consiesstniendptniatchibanatteanotadisesibaadtiiabbniede 25
Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Laura Landro, Public-Access TV In New York
Tends Toward Sex, Sadism, WALL Sr. J., Dec.
BB, BE, GB TE ccc cccssnscnsessicssesnssetncsmnsimastnteimeesecis
Leah Churner, Out of the Vast Wasteland, Mov-
ING IMAGE Source (June 18, 2009), http://
www.movingimagesource.us/articles/out-of-the-
vast-wasteland-20090618 ..............cccccccseeeeeeeeeees
Leonard Buder, Time Warner Is Closer to a Ca-
ble Franchise Pact, N.Y. TIMES, June 3, 1990,
Livingston Rutherford, JOHN PETER ZENGER His
Press, His TRIAL, AND THE BIBLIOGRAPHY OF
ZENGER IMPRINTS 131 (New York Dodd, Mead
SCE Bi iccccncctnscciatshsicvintnpuinitnntnniasnapalins
Mike Bates, A Brief History of Booing in the
Bronx, THE HARDBALL TIMES (Apr. 30, 2018),
https//www. pn RNS history-
of-booing-in-the-bromw/..............ccccccceceeeneeeeeeeneees
MNN, ANN. REP. 2016, seheniieminien anal
sites/default/files/mnn_ar_122917.pdf..............
Noel Murray, 10 Things You Didn’t Know About
Wayne’s World, ROLLING STONE, Feb. 14, 2017,
https://www.rollingstone.com/movies/movie-
news/10-things-you-didnt-know-about-waynes-
WGN EEE 8 FI vrvesccswesecenetenernmennsinesnseneeanamnanenes
Richard Calhoun, Crr. FoR Pus. POLICY RESEARCH,
PUBLIC TELEVISION CHANNELS IN NEW YORK Cry:
THE First Six Monrus 3 (1972), https://files.
eric.ed.gov/fulltext/ED066897. pdf .................. passim
vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Robert E. Dallos, Advisers Propose More CATV
in City, N.Y. Times, Sept. 19, 1968, at 94................ 12
Todd S. Purdum, Time Warner Loses a Vote on
Cable TV, N.Y. Times, May 16, 1990, at 29—30....... 24
Wayne’s World, Box Orrice MoJo, https://www.
- “ von
(ant wished Sam. 15, SO2@) ccc. cacccecscccssssesccssesccocs..
1
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE'
The New York County Lawyers Association
(“NYCLA”) is a not-for-profit membership organization
committed to applying their knowledge and experience
in the field of law to the promotion of the public good
and ensuring access to justice for all. The Civil Rights
and Liberties Committee of the New York County Law-
yers Association produces comments and reports on lo-
cal, state and national issues relating to constitutional!
rights. Both the NYCLA and its Civil Rights and Lib-
erties Committee have a particular interest in gov-
ernment actions and the constitutional rights of
individuals in the borough of Manhattan—as Manhat-
tan is simply the municipal corporation geographically
bound by, and coterminous with, New York County.
Founded in 1908, the New York County Lawyers
Association has historically been one of the largest and
most influential county bar associations in the country.
At the time of its founding, the only existing bar asso-
ciation in Manhattan precluded some lawyers from
membership by virtue of their ethnicity, religion, gen-
der and/or race.
In 1907, a group of lawyers gathered in Carnegie
Hall to address the prospect of forming a bar group
where heritage and politics were not obstacles to
' Pursuant to Rule 37.3(a) of the Rules of this Court, counsel
for all parties received timely notice of amicus’s intent to file this
brief and consented in writing. No counsel for any party authored
this brief in any part; no person or entity other than amicus or its
counsel made a monetary contribution to fund its preparation or
submission.
2
inclusion. The bar leaders who met were determined to
create, in the words of Hon. Joseph H. Choate, who
would become president in 1912, “the great democratic
bar association of the City [where] any attorney who
had met the rigid standards set up by law for admis-
sion to the bar should, by virtue of that circumstance,
be eligible for admission.”
Throughout its history, NYCLA’s bedrock princi-
ples have been the inclusion of all lawyers who wish to
join, public education, and the active pursuit of legal
system and public policy reforms at the local, state and
national levels. NYCLA’s groundbreaking 1952 report
on public apathy toward delinquent children brought
wide acclaim and won the endorsement of Mayor Rob-
ert F. Wagner. In 1943, the Association refused to re-
new its affiliation with the American Bar Association
for its refusal to admit black lawyers. In 1949, NYCLA
sponsored a conference on civil rights in the post-
World-War-II era. In addition, NYCLA’s Women’s
Rights Committee challenged and helped change pro-
visions of the Internal Revenue Code that had a dis-
For these reasons, NYCLA has a direct and vita!
interest in the issues before this Court. This brief has
been approved by the NYCLA Executive Committee.
»
a
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
New York is well-known as a city of loud-mouths.
New Yorkers have opinions on every issue, and when
3
they voice those opinions, they don’t mince words. In
professional baseball stadiums, for example, New
Yorkers boo their favorite players when they strike out,
a form of expression that does not commonly occur in
other cities in the United States. Mike Bates, A Brief
History of Booing in the Bronx, Tuk HARDBALL TIMES
(Apr. 30, 2018), https//www.fangraphs.com/tht/a-brief-
history-of-booing-in-the-bronx/.
The esteem in which New Yorkers hold their right
to voice their opinions is deeply engrained in New
York’s history and tradition. For example, even in colo-
nial times, journalist and printer John Peter Zenger so
often published uncomplimentary statements about
the colonial governor that the governor imprisoned
Zenger and sued him for libel. “The results of the trial
had imbued the people with a new spirit; henceforth
they were united in the struggle against governmental!
oppression, and as Gouverneur Morris has well said:
‘The trial of Zenger in 1735 was the germ of American
freedom, the Morningstar of that liberty which subse-
quently revolutionized America.’” Livingston Ruther-
ford, JOHN PETER ZENGER His Press, His TRIAL, AND THE
BIBLIOGRAPHY OF ZENGER IMPRINTS 131 (New York
Dodd, Mead & Company 1905).
Exercising their right to free expression, New
Yorkers have consistently tested and expanded the
boundaries of that right. For example, in 1960, the New
York Times took a chance when it published state-
ments about civil rights issues in the South, which
Montgomery, Alabama, Public Safety Commissioner
L.B. Sullivan considered personally defamatory. His
4
libel lawsuit ended in a landmark decision from this
Court upholding and expanding freedom of the press.
New York Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964). A few
years later, in 1971, the New York Times again tested
the limits of free expression by printing the Pentagon
Papers. Again, this Court ruled in favor of free expres-
sion. New York Times Company v. United States, 403
U.S. 713 (1971). This passion for the right and oppor-
tunity to speak one’s mind underlies the instant case.
This passion led to the creation of public access
channels that gave New Yorkers an uncensored forum
to express themselves on matters of public concern,
free of charge, and on a first-come, first-served basis.
Laura Landro, Public-Access TV In New York Tends
Toward Sex, Sadism, WALL Sr. J., Dec. 20, 1982, at
D1, 14. In 1970, the City of New York granted 20-year
cable television franchises to two companies, which
five years earlier, had begun laying cable wires under
the streets of Manhattan. In exchange for granting
them 20-year monopoly franchises and public ease-
ments to lay cable wires on public property in Manhat-
tan, the City required that each company administer
two channels for New York City’s commercial-free self-
expression. /d. The public access channels, while ad-
ministered by the cable companies, were “owned” by
the City—similar to the manner in which the City,
when it sells land to real estate developers, retains
ownership of a plot of land and requires the developer
to build and maintain a public park or playground on
that plot.
5
That same passion for free expression is why, in
1990, when the City negotiated the renewal of the
Manhattan cable television franchise agreements, it
included several provisions that strengthened the
First Amendment rights of New Yorkers to freely ex-
press themselves on public access channels—most im-
portantly by requiring that the public access channels
be administered by a nonprofit community access or-
ganization chosen by the Manhattan Borough Presi-
dent, rather than by the cable companies themselves.
In 1991, Manhattan Borough President Ruth
Messinger chose the Petitioner, Manhattan Commu-
nity Access Organization, which does business as the
Manhattan Neighborhood Network (“MNN”), to ad-
minister Manhattan’s public access channels. As ex-
plained in public statements by Borough President
Messinger and MNN’s board chairperson, Gretchen
Dykstra, the City considered public access channels to
be public forums. Their statements demonstrated that
the City believed a nonprofit community access organ-
ization would do a better job of administering the pub-
lic access channels for the benefit of the public than the
cable companies themselves. Importantly, MNN’s mis-
sion was, and still is,
to ensure the ability of Manhattan residents
to exercise their First Amendment rights
through moving image media to create oppor-
tunities for communication, education, artis-
tic expression and other non-commercia! uses
of video facilities on an open and equitable ba-
818.
6
In providing services, we seek to involve the
diverse racial, ethnic and geographic commu-
nities of Manhattan in the electronic commu-
nication of their varied interest, needs,
concerns and identities.
MNN, ANN. Rep. 2016, https//www.mnn.orp/sites/default/
files/mnn_ar_122917.pdf.
In sum, the City clearly intended to create a public
forum when it created the nation’s first public access
channels in the 1970 Manhattan cable franchise agree-
ments. The public access channels themselves consti-
tute a form of property, of which the City retained
ownership, in exchange for allowing the cable compa-
nies to lay their cable wires on public land. Unfortu-
nately, because the public access channels were
administered by the private cable companies, they
were underfunded, underpublicized, and thus, un-
derused by many of Manhattan’s diverse communities.
That is why, when the City negotiated the renewal of
Manhattan’s cable franchise agreements in 1990, it re-
quired that the public access channels be administered
by a nonprofit community access organization (“CAO”),
and further required that the newly formed Time
Warner, Inc.—the parent company of both of Manhat-
tan’s cable operators—provide $5.35 miliion in startup
funding for the Manhattan CAO to create additional
public access channels. It also required that Time
Warner agree to other terms that would ensure the
CAO was properly funded, publicized and utilized by
all of Manhattan’s diverse community groups. Moreo-
ver, the City chose MNN to administer the public
7
access channels and mandated that MNN expand use
of the public access channels by all of Manhattan’s di-
verse communities, to ensure public access to a diver-
sity of opinions—especially opinions not aired in
mainstream media—on matters of public concern.
That decision—to create a public forum—should
be respected. Especially where, as here, the public fo-
rum was created by the City with the explicit intent of
increasing the diversity of voices and viewpoints on
matters of public concern. As this Court has repeatedly
reaffirmed, speech on matters of public concern “occu-
pies the highest rung on the hierarchy of First Amend-
ment values, and is entitled to speech protection.”
Connick v. Myers, 461 U.S. 138, 145 (1983).
Petitioners argue that when the state delegates
responsibility to an organization to administer the op-
eration of its property, the organization’s operation of
the property does not constitute state action. But this
is not that case. Here, the City of New York expressly
created a public forum in 1970 when it launched the
nation’s first experiment with public access television,
and in 1990, after the private cable companies had
failed to adequately administer the public access chan-
nels for nearly twenty years, required as a condition of
renewing the cable franchise agreements that the pub-
lic forum be administered by an independent nonprofit
community access organization—MNN. If the Court
accepts Petitioners’ argument, the only First Amend-
ment-protected public forums would be the ones under
strict state control. That should not be the only option.
Allowing municipalities to partner with private
8
entities to create and administer public forums will
lead to more free speech.
For these reasons, and the reasons detailed more
fully herein, the decision below correctly found that
Respondents’ amended complaint pled sufficient facts
to plausibly allege Manhattan’s unique public access
channels are designated public forums, and that Peti-
tioners, as operators of the subject public access chan-
nels, are state actors under the facts of this case.
ee
a
ARGUMENT
I. This Court should respect New York City’s
historic decision to create the country’s
first public access channels and designate
them as public forums.
Public access television is the result of an experi-
ment by the City of New York, which created the
world’s first public access channels in 1970. That year,
the City awarded 20-year monopoly cable franchises to
Teleprompter Corporation (later renamed Manhattan
Cable TV), and Sterling Manhattan Cable (later re-
named Paragon Cable). The original franchise agree-
ments, signed in the summer of 1970, required both
Sterling and Teleprompter to provide two public chan-
nels each by July 1, 1971. The agreements further re-
quired that additional public channels be made
available as channel capacity expanded. Richard
Calhoun, Crr. FoR Pus. POLICY RESEARCH, PUBLIC TEL-
EVISION CHANNELS IN NEW YorK City: THE First
9
Six Montus 3 (1972), https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/
ED066897.pdf.
Sterling and Teleprompter needed easements to
lay their cable wires on public property; in exchange,
the City required that each company make two public
access channels available to New Yorkers on a first-
come, first-served basis, and that they provide ade-
quate studio facilities and technological assistance to
noncommercial individuals and groups. Jd. at 1. The
franchise agreements also prohibited the companies
from controlling program content “except as is re-
quired to protect the Company from liability under ap-
plicable law.” Id. at 27-28. The City’s goal was that, by
opening programming time for community dialogue,
the public access channels would increase the diversity
of opinions on matters of public concern.
The purpose of the public access channels was to
afford New York’s diverse communities a chance to dis-
cuss, “some of the problems that are unique ... that
are of interest” to them and to “encourage young people
who were very militant in some areas who said that
they ... were denied access to some of the public
media, to give them an opportunity to say what they
wanted to say.” Id. at 34.
The New York Times hailed the public access
channels as, “the first genuine “Town Meeting of the
Air and a major step toward the political philosopher’s
dream of participatory democracy,” and recognized
that the City and cable companies expected, “if suc-
cessful, [would] set the pattern for the rest of the
10
country.” George Gent, City Starting Test of Public Ca-
ble TV, N.Y. TiMEs, July 1, 1971, at 95.
A. 1965-1970: Manhattan’s initial cable ex-
periment.
The 1970 franchise agreements and creation of the
four public access channels was a result of Manhat-
tan’s initial five-year experiment with cable television,
which had begun on December 2, 1965, when New York
City awarded the world’s first major urban cable tele-
vision franchises to Sterling and Teleprompter in Man-
hattan, and to CATV Enterprises in the Riverdale
neighborhood of the Bronx. Clayton Knowles, 3 Given
Franchises To Provide Cables For Better City TV, N.Y.
TIMES, Dec. 3, 1965, at 1,78. Known as Community An-
tenna Television (“CATV”), the new service promised
to ameliorate the reception problem experienced by 40
to 50 percent of Manhattan’s approximately 554,900
television homes, caused by Manhattan’s tall build-
ings, which interfered with television signals broad-
cast over the airwaves. Jack Gould, Community-
Antenna TV: Picture of Vast Potential, N.Y. Times, Dec.
6, 1965, at 75.
CATV solved the interference problem by erecting
a separate antenna where there was no interference.
The antenna received broadcast signals and relayed
those signals to subscribers via coaxial cables. Under
the 1965 agreements, the companies obtained the right
to run their cables beneath the City’s streets, while the
City maintained control of the rates and performance
11
standards. The Sterling franchise extended south from
86th Street on the East Side and 79th Street on the
West Side of Manhattan Island, while the Tele-
prompter franchise extended north, covering the rest
of the island. Jd.
The 1965 franchise agreements required the com-
panies to carry the City’s 12 broadcast channels and
prohibited “pay TV” and programming originated in
other communities. Clayton Knowles, 3 Given Fran-
chises To Provide Cables For Better City TV, Dec. 3,
1965, N.Y. TIMEs, p. 1, 78. The term of the “experi-
mental” franchise agreements was just two years. Ad-
ditionally, if the companies’ profits exceeded seven
percent, the City had the option of reducing installa-
tion and service charges. Id. Moreover, while the com-
panies were limited to airing the City’s 12 channels,
the cables had the capacity to carry more than 30 chan-
nels. Leah Churner, Out of the Vast Wasteland, MOVING
IMAGE Source (June 18, 2009), http://Awww.moving
imagesource.us/articles/out-of-the-vast-wasteland-2009
0618.
The potential public benefits of cable television
were immediately obvious, so much so that, in June
1967, Mayor John Lindsay appointed a task force,
chaired by Fred W. Friendly, the former president of
CBS News and then-current Columbia University pro-
fessor of journalism, to consider “how modern telecom-
munications technology can be best exploited to
further the economic life and social well-being of the
City, and how the benefits of this technology can best
be preserved for all who live and work in the City.”
12
Calhoun, supra, at 33. On September 18, 1968, the task
force issued its report, finding that “|w/hat is at stake
here is more than a method for the reception of tele-
vision programs. We are ultimately concerned with
methods of communication that can materially help
educate our children and meet the special needs of
those in the city who are economically and culturally
deprived.” Robert E. Dallos, Advisers Propose More
CATV in City, N.Y. Times, Sept. 19, 1968, at 94. The
task force concluded that cable franchise agreements
should require the cable operators to reinvest some
portion of their profits into “quality programming” that
is in the “public interest.” Calhoun, supra, at 13.
The cable companies publicly agreed that the new
technology should be used, in part, to serve the inter-
ests of Manhattan’s diverse communities. Manhattan
Cable was “particularly pleased” that the Task Force
report “supports what we have been advocating . . . for
some time. That is that the full capabilities of the cable
we're installing should be used in every way to benefit
the community.’” Dallos, supra, at 94. Likewise, Tele-
prompter executive Irving Kahn agreed that cable
companies had a duty to facilitate social change and
must “face up to the realities of ghetto programming—
and the whole spectrum of community relations,
employee relations, hiring practices and other issues
that go hand in hand with establishing and keeping an
effective role in the community.” Calhoun, supra, at 31.
13
B. When New York City created the first
public access channels in 1970 it desig-
nated them as a public forum.
When the City expanded its cable television exper-
iment in 1970, the proposed contracts with the cable
companies reflected the City’s vision of public access
for all New Yorkers. The new franchise agreements
called for a channel capacity of 17 by July 1, 1971, and
24 within three years. Of the original seventeen chan-
nels, 11 would be for regular UHF and VHF broadcast-
ing, two would be “public channels” and one would be
for a “company channel” on which the companies could
air their own original programming. Thereafter, addi-
tional channels would be allotted in a sequence of one
city channel, two public channels, and three “addi-
tional channels” that the company could use for any-
thing but “pay television.” Calhoun, supra, at 27.
The franchise agreements required that access to
the public channels be made available on a “first-come,
first-served basis,” and that the companies provide
“adequate studio facilities” and “appropriate technical
assistance” to “members of the public.” Moreover, the
companies were prohibited from controlling program
content “except as is required to protect the Company
from liability under applicable law” or programming
that was essentially for a commercial purpose. Cal-
houn, supra, at 27—28.
The proposed franchise agreements also required
the wiring of all prisons, hospitals, police and fire
stations, day care centers and public schools free of
14
charge for the receipt of all “basic” FCC required
services. Additionally, they required the companies to
provide “the best possible signal available under the
circumstances and quality reception of its Basic
Service to each subscriber so that both sound and
picture are produced free from visible and audible
distortion.” Jd. The terms of the agreements were to be
20-years, and called for review of basic services by the
City after five years, and rate review after eight years.
Calhoun, supra, at 28.
Recognizing that support of the public access
channels would be key to securing City approval of
their proposed 20-year monopoly cable franchise
agreements, executives from both Sterling and Tele-
prompter publicly expressed strong support for the
City’s vision of the public access channels. Charles F.
Dolan, then President of Sterling, the holder of the
southern Manhattan franchise, stated that the
proposed new contract was “a bold effort to open the
doors wide to community participation in cable
television. Under this contract no one is excluded.”
Calhoun, supra, at 28. Similarly, Teleprompter execu-
tive Irving Kahn rebuffed critics of the proposed con-
tracts, stating, “|a]ny contention that we have not, may
not or will not operate in the public interest is false.
Our record to date is one of public service. Our promise
to you safeguarded by the language of a very tough,
expertly drawn contract is that we will always operate
in the public interest.” Freddie Ferretti, City Delays
Its Decision on CATV Policy, N.Y. Times, July 24, 1970,
at 63.
15
The City ratified the proposed franchise agree-
ments, thereby creating the world’s first public access
television channels.
C. The cable companies’ operation of Man-
hattan’s public access channels under
the 1970 franchise agreements was inad-
equate.
The agreements themselves left unanswered
questions regarding public access administration,
funding, and the level of editorial control that the com-
panies could assert. Accordingly, in 1971, the City
drafted interim rules for Manhattan’s public access
channels, “to establish that anybody and everybody
who wanted an opportunity to be heard could get on
and be heard.” Calhoun, supra, at 43. The only re-
strictions were on obscene material and programming
by unaccompanied minors (under the age of 18). Id. at
4A.
The companies requested that applications for
time allotments be submitted two weeks in advance,
but that time could generally be shortened if needed.
Id. The information required to be submitted included
the program’s length, subject, list of individuals ap-
pearing in it, whether it was live or taped, the sponsor-
ing organization or individual, and whether studio
facilities would be required. /d.
Public Access Channel C was for series program-
ming, and Public Access Channel D was for non-series
programming. The City’s Interim Rules required that
16
space on Channel C be awarded on a first-come, first-
served basis with no more than two hours of prime
time (7:00-11:00 p.m.) being assigned to any one user.
Id. Users were also limited to seven hours of total pro-
Id. Channel D was for non-series, or occasional, instead
of regular, programming. Programmers were limited to
no more than one exposure in a specific time slot per
month and would be bumped if their total program-
ming for the month was greater than five hours be-
tween both channels. /d.
During the early years, the biggest challenge for
public access programming was informing communi-
ties that the channels were available for their use, free
of charge. George Gent, Public Access TV Here Under-
going Growing Pains, N.Y. Times, Oct. 26, 1971, at 83.
Besides publicity, the other problem was money. The
main video production centers were run by nonprofit
organizations and funded with seed money from pri-
vate foundations. /d.
As predicted, the Manhattan cable franchise
agreements became a model for franchising authori-
ties nationwide. Throughout the 1970s and 1980s,
to create and administer public access channels as a
condition of running cable wires on public property. By
1989, public access was “a vital part of almost 2,000
CATV systems across the United States.” Douglas Da-
vis, Public-Access TV Is Heard in the Land, N.Y. Times,
June 11, 1989, at 231.
17
Just like Sterling and Teleprompter, these other
companies knew that public access was a “major con-
sideration in awarding cable franchises.” Laura
Landro, Public-Access TV In New York Tends Toward
Sex, Sadism, WALL Sr. J., Dec. 20, 1982, at 1, 14. Unlike
New York, however, other franchising authorities
awarded cable franchises pursuant to open bidding
processes, which led cable companies “to try to outdo
each other with multimillion-dollar grants for public
programming, lots of studios, large production staffs
and crews, and state of the art equipment.” Jd. Because
of the large amount of money they received, public ac-
cess boomed “in virtually every large community be-
yond Manhattan.” Douglas Davis, Public-Access TV Is
Heard in the Land, N.Y. Times, June 11, 1989, at 231.
On the other hand, the Manhattan cable franchise
agreements, and New York City and State regulations,
provided stronger First Amendment protections for
its public access channels. This led Manhattan’s “un-
derfinanced channels C and D |to] offer .. . program-
ming that |was] thoroughly unique” and “stretchled|
our rigid notion of what television |could] be, or do.”
Id. Manhattan’s public access channels remained
“citadels of electronic democracy,” that offered “on
shoestring budgets” a variety of programs such as
“high-minded seminars on topics ranging from urban
decay to sexist mythology, video-art experiments fea-
mentary studies of often neglected subjects—like the
plight of the disenfranchised or the perils of hibiscus
mold.” Id.
18
lronically, while Manhattan public access televi-
sion was still truly avant-garde, on February 2, 1989,
in NBC’s Manhattan studios, Saturday Night Live
aired a sketch called Wayne’s World, centered on a fic-
tional local public access television program in Auror i,
Illinois, hosted by Wayne Campbell (Mike Myers), an
enthusiastic and sardonic long-haired metalhead, and
his timid and sometimes high-strung, yet equally
metal-loving sidekick and best friend, Garth Algar
(Dana Carvey). Noel Murray, 10 Things You Didn't
Know About Wayne’s World, ROLLING Stone, Feb. 14,
2017, https//www.rollingstone.com/movies/movie-news/
10-things-you-didnt-know-about-waynes-world- 1 15363/.
Wayne’s World quickly became one of the show’s most
popular recurring sketches—appearing a total of 19
times. Id. In 1992, Mike Myers and Dana Carvey’s
Wayne’s World movie, based on the sketches, became
the 8th highest grossing movie of the year. /d. Since its
release, the movie has grossed a total of approximately
$180 million. Wayne’s World, Box Orrice Movo,
https://www.boxofficemojo.com/movies/7?id=waynesworld.
htm (last visited Jan. 15, 2019).
D. The City extracted concessions from
Time Inc. and Warner Communications
Inc. to improve public access program-
ming during their merger negotiations.
It was in this backdrop that on March 4, 1989,
Time Inc. and Warner Communications Inc. announced
their plan to merge into Time Warner, Inc. and become
the largest media company in the world. The merger
19
negotiations took place approximately one year prior
to expiration of the Manhattan cable franchise agree-
ments held by Manhattan Cable Television (formerly
Sterling) and Paragon Cable Manhattan (formerly Tel-
eprompter), both of which were owned by subsidiaries
of Time Inc.
When Time and Warner Communications an-
nounced their planned merger on March 4, 1989, both
companies had to obtain approval from the City to
transfer the six cable franchises that they owned or
controlled into the merged corporation, including
Manhattan Cable TV and Paragon Manhattan Cable.
David W. Dunlap, Panel Questions Time-Warner Plan,
N.Y. Times, May 28, 1989, at 33. Time Inc. owned the
two Manhattan franchises, and Warner Communica-
tions owned four franchises in Queens and Brooklyn.
Id. Combined, the companies controlled cable televi-
sion in 60 percent of New York City’s households. /d.
The transfer negotiations were hampered by, inter alia,
the cable operators’ failure to comply with all of the
requirements of the 1970 franchise agreements. Under
the terms of the 1970 franchise agreements, Time Inc.
was supposed to have completed laying cable wire to
all of Manhattan’s residential buildings by 1974. As of
March 1989, however, an estimated 200,000 residents
lived on blocks that had not yet been wired. David W.
Dunlap, Pact May Improve Cable TV Service, N-Y.
Times, June 16, 1989, at B3. The unwired blocks were
located primarily in Harlem and the Lower East Side,
Manhattan’s poorest and most racially segregated
neighborhoods. Id.
20
City officials were particularly concerned that
Harlem and the Lower East Side were disproportion-
ately underserved by the cable operators. Jd. They
were also concerned that with one company controlling
the majority of New York City’s cable programming,
program diversity would decrease. David W. Dunlap,
Panel Questions Time-Warner Plan, N.Y. Times, May
28, 1989, at 33.
Gerald M. Levin, vice chairman of Time Inc., who
would become vice chairman of Time Warner, an-
swered that Time Warner was “absolutely committed”
to diversity, which he said was more a product of the
number of channels than the number of operators. /d.
After several months of negotiations, the City ap-
proved the franchise transfers on June 15, 1989. David
W. Dunlap, Pact May Improve Cable TV Service, N.Y.
TIMES, June 16, 1989, at B3. As a condition of the ap-
proval, however, Time Inc. agreed to complete the wir-
ing of all residential blocks in Manhattan by July
1990—-and thereby increase public access viewer-
ship—before the expiration of the original franchise
agreement. John L. Hanks, director of the city’s Bu-
reau of Franchises, stated that Time “stood no chance
whatever, as things stood a few months ago,” of getting
a renewal. /d. The agreement to transfer the franchises
did not affect the 1990 expiration dates of the underly-
ing franchise agreements.
21
E. The City used the renewal provisions of
the Cable Communications Policy Act of
1984 to force Time Warner to make signif-
icant investments to improve public ac-
cess programming in Manhattan.
Renewal negotiations were likewise hampered by
the cable companies’ failures with respect to public ac-
cess. “From the city’s point of view, the transmission of
noncommercial programs by the public, government
and nonprofit institutions is the most important issue
in cable’s future.” Editorial, Topics of The Times; The
Midnight TV Drama, N.Y. Times, May 19, 1990, at 22.
Because Manhattan Cable and Paragon had failed to
adequately fund, promote or encourage their use,
“[nlestled in the heart of the country’s most sophisti-
cated audience, access television languisheld], like a
child starving amid plenty.” Douglas Davis, Public-
Access TV Is Heard in the Land, N.Y. Times, June 11,
1989, at 31.
The renewal negotiations were governed by the
Cable Communications Policy Act of 1984, 47 U.S.C.
§§ 521 et seq. (the “Cable Act”), which provided proce-
dural and substantive rules for renewing cable fran-
chise agreements. 47 U.S.C. § 546(a)g). But for Cable
Act rules establishing the reasons a franchise author-
ity may refuse to renew a cable franchise, and the
standards and procedures the Act established, the City
likely would have lacked the bargaining power to ob-
tain strong protections for public access channels, in-
cluding the administration of those channels by an
22
independent not-for-profit community access organiza-
tion.
The Cable Act was intended, inter alia, to “estab-
lish guidelines for the exercise of Federal, State, and
local authority with respect to the regulation of cable
systems” through procedures and standards that “en-
courage the growth and development of cable systems
and which assure that cable systems are responsive to
the needs and interests of the local community.” 47
U.S.C. §§ 521(3), 521(2).
The Cable Act reflects Congress’ intent that “a ca-
ble operator whose past performance and proposal for
future performance meet the standards established by
this section [will] be granted renewal,” H.R. Rep. No.
98-934, at 7 (1984), 1984 U.S.C.C.A.N. 4667. Thus, the
Cable Act recognizes that a cable franchise operator
has “a significant federal property expectation” in the
renewal of its franchise. Eastern Telecom Corp. v. Bor-
ough of East Conemaugh, 872 F.2d 30, 35 (3d Cir. 1989).
Nonetheless, the Act does not guarantee the operator
renewal.
The Cable Act establishes formal franchise re-
newal procedures at 47 U.S.C. §§ 546(a)g). The for-
mal renewal process can be initiated by either the
franchising authority (on its own initiative) or the ca-
ble operator (by submitting a written renewal notice to
the city) during the six-month period beginning three
years before franchise expiration. If the operator does
not submit a request to the city during this six-month
window, the city is under no legal obligation to follow
23
formal Cabie Act procedures—unless the city has com-
menced a formal proceeding on its own initiative.
At the same time, the Cable Act permits a franchi-
see to pursue informal negotiations with the franchis-
ing authority. Thus, the statute explicitly encourages
state and local cable franchisors and operators to pur-
sue a “two-track” process, whereby a franchising au-
thority simultaneously pursues both the formal and
informal renewal processes. State and local franchisors
must establish procedures which allow them to pro-
ceed on both tracks.
A franchising authority may deny renewal if, after
the required administrative proceedings, the authority
finds any of the following:
* the cable operator has failed to substantially
comply with the material terms of the existing
franchise and with applicable law;
* the quality of the operator’s service has been
unreasonable in light of community needs;
* the operator lacks the requisite financial, le-
gal or technical ability; or
* the operator’s proposal is inadequate to meet
the future cable-related community needs and
interests, taking into account the cost of meet-
ing such needs and interests.
47 U.S.C. § 546(c)(1).
A renewal request may be denied based on any one
of the four statutory factors. 47 U.S.C. § 546(d)(1).
However, a decision not to renew cannot be based on
24
past defects in performance if (a) the operator was not
given notice and an opportunity to cure the defects, or
(b) if the city has waived its right to object or has ac-
quiesced in past failures to perform by failing to object
after receiving written notice from the operator of a
“failure or inability to cure.” Jd.
Because of the Manhattan cable operator’s failure
to comply with the requirements of the 1970 franchise
agreements, and their weak proposals for public access
going forward, on May 16, 1990, the City preliminarily
denied renewa! of the two cable television franchises.
Todd S. Purdum, Time Warner Loses a Vote on Cable
TV, N.Y. Times, May 16, 1990, at 29-30. Manhattan
Borough President Ruth Messinger negotiated with
Time Warner until minutes before the renewal vote,
pressing company executives for more public access
funding and better production facilities for public ac-
cess producers. /d.
The denial triggered an administrative hearing
under the Cable Act’s formal renewal provisions. Jd. At
the same time, Time Warner and the City continued to
negotiate informally.
Several weeks later, negotiators reached agree-
ment on several points. The main area of disagreement
concerned the amount of capital and operational sup-
port that Time Warner would contribute for public ac-
cess channels. Leonard Buder, Time Warner Is Closer
to a Cable Franchise Pact, N.Y. TIMES, June 3, 1990, at
40.
25
After several more weeks of negotiations, Time
Warner ultimately agreed to several provisions de-
manded by the City to ensure the public access chan-
nels were properly funded and administered, and the
City renewed the franchise agreements on June 27,
1990. James Barron, Cable TV Rates Likely to Rise in
Manhattan With New Pact, N.Y. TIMES, June 28, 1990,
at 1, 30.
F. The 1990 Manhattan cable franchise
agreements strengthened the First
Amendment rights of Manhattan’s resi-
dents to freely express themselves on the
public access channels.
When the City negotiated renewal of the franchise
agreements in 1990, it used the Cable Act and other
legal developments to require Time Warner to improve
and strengthen public access television in Manhattan.
It did so by requiring, inter alia, that, instead of being
administered by the companies themselves, the public
access channels be administered by a nonprofit com-
munity access organization chosen by the Manhattan
Borough President; Time Warner provide $5.35 million
in startup capital funding to the community access or-
ganization; and Time Warner fund a community access
grant program by paying the community access organ-
ization a fee of $3 per cable subscriber per year.
Thereafter, acting on behalf of the City of New
York, Manhattan Borough President Ruth Messinger
chose the Petitioner, Manhattan Community Access
26
Organization, which does business as the Manhattan
Neighborhood Network (“MNN”), to administer Man-
hattan’s public access channels. MNN’s mission is to
train “community-based organizations to produce pub-
lic access shows telling their individual stories” and to
ensure the ability of Manhattan’s residents to exercise
their First Amendment rights. Gretchen Dykstra, Pub-
lic Access TV Gets Communities Involved, N.Y. TIMEs,
May 31, 1993, at 22.
MNN’s bylaws and franchise agreement with the
City protect quintessential New York free speech
rights—MNN must air residents’ programs on a first-
come, first-served basis, and MNN and the City are
prohibited from exercising editorial control or other-
wise regulating public access programs based upon
content.
Borough President Messinger reaffirmed the
City’s intent to create a public forum in a press release
on May 16, 1991, the day MNN’s initial board of direc-
tors ratified its bylaws. Messinger stressed that the by-
laws contained several provisions that she had insisted
be included, including that MNN have “an open and
independent board.” Messinger highlighted several
bylaw provisions:
* A 19-member board, representing the
ethnic, economic and geographical diversity of
Manhattan will, one year after the CAO
begins training sessions for public access
* Press Release dated May 16, 1991 is appended to this brief.
27
producers, include six slots reserved for active
public access producers.
* The establishment of an Advisory Nominat-
ing Committee, to recommend individuals for
the six public access producer slots on the
Board.
* Tough prohibitions against conflicts of inter-
est, ensuring the independence and integrity
of the Board.
* In addition to its Annual Meeting the Board
will hold at least two meetings each year that
will be open to the public.
Borough President Messinger stressed that MNN
was committed to ensuring that experienced commu-
nity programming producers will participate in the
governing and setting of MNN’s policies through re-
serving six of the 18 seats on the board of directors for
such community producers.
The franchise agreement required that Time
Warner provide $5.35 million to MNN as initial
startup capital to purchase studio space and equip-
ment. Before the funds were disbursed, MNN was re-
quired to submit a capital expenditure plan to the
Borough President and State Commission on Cable
Television, detailing how it intended to spend the
funds. The franchise agreement also required Time
Warner to fund a community access grant program by
paying MNN a fee of $3 per cable subscriber per year.
The changes in the 1990 franchise agreement
were intended to ensure that Manhattan’s public
28
access channels remain a public forum where all Man-
hattan residents could freely express themselves. The
renewed agreement amplified the voices of public ac-
cess producers by requiring significant investment in
production facilities, community training in video pro-
duction and editing, and most importantly, by delegat-
ing administration of the public access channels—
which remain City property—to a nonprofit commu-
nity access organization. These choices were informed
by 20-years of neglectful administration by Manhat-
tan’s cable operators and were intended to strengthen
the Firn.t Amendment protections of New Yorkers to
freely express themselves on Manhattan’s public ac-
cess channels.
Administration of government property is a public
function, and the vehicle for protecting First Amend-
ment rights is 42 U.S.C. § 1983. Thus, MNN is a state
actor and was properly sued under § 1983 in this case.
Il. This Court should encourage public fo-
rums like Manhattan’s public access chan-
nels because they create more speech.
When the City of New York launched the world’s
first experiment with public access television in the
1970 Manhattan cable franchise agreements, it in-
tended to create a public forum, and it succeeded.
Twenty years later when the City renewed the Man-
hattan cable franchise agreements in 1990, it intended
to strengthen the First Amendment protections for the
public access channels, and to expand the public
29
forums by creating additional public access channels.
Again, it succeeded. The City of New York’s decision to
create a new public forum should be respected and pro-
tected by this Court, because it creates more speech.
As this Court has repeatedly reaffirmed, speech on
matters of public concern “occupies the highest rung
on the hierarchy of First Amendment values, and is en-
titled to speech protection.” Connick v. Myers, 461 U.S.
138, 145 (1983).
Petitioner's position, by contrast, would inhibit
free speech because it would limit the only First
Amendment-protected public forums to the ones under
strict state control. That should not be the only option.
Allowing state and local governments to partner
with private entities to create and administer new
public forums should be encouraged and protected by
this Court because doing so creates more speech and
amplifies diverse viewpoints, which is essential to the
functioning of our democracy. Where the government
clearly intended to create a public forum, the forum’s
administration by a private nonprofit corporation, in-
stead of the government itself, should not preclude a
finding that the forum is subject to constitutional pro-
tections. This is especially true, where, as here, speech
on the public forum is uncensored and uninfluenced by
commercial interests, and administered on a first-
come, first-served basis. Under these circumstances,
the intent to create a public forum could be inferred—
however, as demonstrated throughout this brief, and in
Respondents’ brief, there is no need to infer the City’s
intent, as numerous City officials, cable company
30
executives, and MNN members have explicitly stated
that the City’s intent was that the public access chan-
nels would be a First Amendment-protected public fo-
rum.
This Court has “frequently recognized that indi-
vidual States have broad latitude in experimenting
with possible solutions to problems of vital local con-
cern.” Whalen v. Roe, 429 U.S. 589, 597 (1977). This case
involves just such a matter of vital local concern: New
York City’s courageous experiment with public access
television in Manhattan. City officials, cable operators
and the media all acknowledged, when Manhattan
launched the nation’s first public access television in
1971, that the experiment would set an example for
other state and local franchising authorities nation-
wide.
New York City learned from its experiment. Thus,
when it renewed its cable franchise agreements with
Time Warner in 1990, the City significantly improved
public access television in Manhattan. Most im-
portantly, the 1990 franchise agreements removed ad-
ministration of the public access channels from the
cable operators themselves, and instead required that
all of Manhattan’s public access channels be adminis-
tered by a nonprofit community access organization.
Importantly, courts have held that they should de-
fer to state and local franchising authorities’ determi-
nations of their community's cable-related needs and
interests. See Union CATV, Inc. v. City of Sturgis, 107
F.3d 434 (6th Cir. 1997). In Sturgis, the Sixth Circuit
31
Court of Appeals held that the city franchising author-
ity’s “knowledge of the community give it an institu-
tional advantage in identifying the community’s cable
needs and interests.” 107 F.3d at 441. Particularly sig-
nificant was the court’s determination that the “grant-
ing of a cable franchise is a legislative act traditionally
entitled to considerable deference from the judiciary.”
Id. The court found that judicial review of “a munici-
pality’s identification of its cable-related needs and in-
terests is very limited” and that a court should defer to
the franchising authority’s identification of the com-
munity’s needs and interests except to the extent nec.
essary to weigh the needs and interests against the
cost of implementing them. Jd. The standard of review
the court found appropriate is to view the evidence in
the light most favorable to the City, giving it the “ben-
efit of all reasonable inferences,” and only reverse if
“reasonable minds could not come to a conclusion”
other than that reached by the City. Jd.
This Court should defer to New York City’s deci-
sion to create a public forum, administered by a private
nonprofit community access organization—_MNN. The
administrative structure of Manhattan’s current pub-
lic access channels was chosen by the City after 20
years of operating the nation’s first public access chan-
nels under the 1970 franchise agreements. Based on
that experience, the City chose to retain some
32
the goal of functioning as the proverbial “electronic
soap box.” Specifically, the City found the private cable
company’s administration of the public access chan-
nels led them to be underfunded, underpublicized and
underused. Thus, in 1990, in renewing the Manhattan
cable franchises, the City delegated administration of
the public access channels to a private nonprofit com-
munity access organization, chosen by the Manhattan
Borough President, that was properly funded, publi-
cized, and uninfluenced by either the cable operator or
the City government.
This case demonstrates the importance, in our fed-
eral system, of our state and local governments retain-
ing the freedom to experiment on matters of public
concern. Nearly a half-century ago, New York City em-
barked on the freedom enhancing experiment of desig-
nating Manhattan’s public access channels as public
forums, and it continued that experiment in 1990 when
it renewed the cable franchise agreements and dele-
gated the administration of the public forum public ac-
cess channels to a private nonprofit. Its decision
deserves respect.
>
33
CONCLUSION
The Court should affirm the judgment entered be-
low.
Respectfully submitted,
E.uiot DoLsy SHIELDS
ILyssa S. Fucus
ROBERT RICKNER
New York County LAWYERS ASSOCIATION
14 Vesey Street
New York, New York 10007
CAROLYN A. KUBITSCHEK
Counsel of Record
LANSNER & KUBITSCHEK
325 Broadway, Suite 203
New York, New York 10007
(212) 349-0900
ckubitschek@Lanskub.com
Counsel for Amicus Curiae
January 18, 2019
App. 1
— Manhattan Borough President
RUTH MESSINGER
MUNICIPAL BUILDING, 1 CENTRE STREET,
19th FLOOR, NEW YORK, N.Y. 10007
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
CONTACT: ROBERT BRAVO-WEBER
MAY 16, 1991 (212) 669-8140
MESSINGER ANNOUNCES FORMATION OF
COMMUNITY ACCESS ORGANIZATION TO AD-
MINISTER PUBLIC ACCESS CABLE CHANNELS
Several months after Manhattan Borough Presi-
dent Ruth Messinger appointed a seven-member ini-
tial board of directors to administer Manhattan’s four
public access channels, the Borough President and the
CAO’s chair Gretchen Dykstra announce today that
the Manhattan Community Access Organization has
ratified its by-laws and has filed for incorporation.
The CAO’s central charge is to administer and
manage all the public access channels of the cable tel-
evision systems in Manhattan — currently Paragon and
Manhattan cable system — and oversee the use of facil-
ities, equipment, supplies, services and other support
made available for programming.
Prior to ratifying its by-laws, the Board met with
many local public access producer groups, government
officials and the Time-Warner company. “I think this
small group of talented and dedicated individuals has
done an extraordinary job of putting together the most
extensive and thoughtful set of by-laws to govern such
App. 2
an organization. From the outset, I stressed to them
that I wanted an open and independent board and or-
ganization. I am very pleased to say they took my
charge to heart,” said the Borough President.
Highlights of the CAD’s by-laws include:
* A 19-member board, representing the ethnic,
economic and geographical diversity of Manhattan
will, one year after the CAO begins training sessions
for public access producers, include six slots reserved
for active public access producers.
* The establishment of an Advisory Nominating
Committee, to recommend individuals for the six pub-
lic access producer slots on the Board.
* Tough prohibitions against conflicts of interest,
ensuring the independence and integrity of the Board.
* In addition to its Annual Meeting the Board
will hold at least two meetings each year that will be
open to the public.
CAO’s goals include:
* A training program that will assist and train
individuals and community groups on how to use pub-
lic access television. The program will include advice
on how to plan and produce programming for public
access channel, instruction on how to use equipment
and production facilities creatively and efficiently, and
how to maximize channel time.
* An extensive outreach program that will en-
courage newcomers and beginners to participate in the
App. 3
training sessions. Likewise, outreach to experienced
producers to assist in setting the organization’s goals
and policies.
* A charge to develop additional funding re-
sources to expand and promote public access televi-
sion.
The Manhattan CAO unlike its counterparts in
the other boroughs is in a unique situation since Man-
hattan has a history of public access television while
the others do not.
“There are very high expectations for the Manhat-
tan CAO. There is a long history of public access tele-
vision here and people have very strong opinions about
how the CAO should operate. Current users and future
public access producers will be very impressed with
the openness of this organization,” said Ms. Messinger.
Under the terms of the agreement between the
City and Time-Warner, the CAO will receive a capital
grant of $5.35 million to be used for facilities and
equipment. At this time, that money is held in escrow
by the Borough President until the State Cable Com-
mission on Television (CCT) — which has jurisdiction
over cable issues — authorizes its disbursement. The
CAO is required to submit to the Borough President
and the CCT a capital expenditure plan, detailing how
the CAO intends to spend these capital funds.
In addition to the capital grant, Time-Warner is
required to pay the CAO $3 per subscriber per year to
assist in defraying operating costs. This money will
App. 4
also be used to make grants to assist public access pro-
ducers and support programming initiatives of the
CAO.
Biographies of the Board of Directors (in alphabet-
ical order)
Andrew Blau — Vice Chair — Project Coordinator
and Research Associate, Columbia Institute for Tele-
Information, Columbia Graduate School of Business.
Former Assistant for Communication Policy/Advocacy
for the United Church of Christ. Former Chair of the
group, New York Citizen’s Committee for Responsible
Media. Vice-Chair of the National Federation of Local
Cable Programmers and an active member of the As-
sociation of Independent Video and Filmakers Advo-
cacy Committee.
Gretchen Dykstra — Chair — Project Director for
National Video Resources, a project of the Rockefeller
Foundation. Served as Director of Communications for
the Charter Revision Commission. A member of the
Communications Advisory Committee for the Gay
Men’s Health Crisis. Active with Citizens Union Foun-
dation and Television Trust for the Environment.
Laura Handman is a Partner with the law firm of
Lankenau & Bickford, representing national and loca!
magazines, new weeklies and book publishers in the
areas of libel, privacy, copyright, trademark, obscenity
and other matters. Prior to that, she worked as an As-
sistant United States Attorney for the Eastern District
of New York. Serves as a Director for the Volunteer
Lawyers for the Arts.
App. 5
Christopher Poussaint, Vice President of Research
and Development with J.I1. Sopher and Company, a real
estate brokerage firm in New York City. Co-chair of
Publicity and Communications for Community Board
1. Graduate of Institute for New Cinema Artists. Inde-
pendent producer for cable and broadcast television
and a member of the National Association of Broad-
casters and the National Cable Television Association.
Ruby Rich, Director of Film and Media programs,
the New York State Council on the Arts. Former film
critic, Chicago Reader. Writer, Village Voice. Former
Director, Film Center, School of the Arts Institute.
Member of the National Advisory Board, Frameline
Festival, San Francisco.
Arthur Tsuchiya is a visiting Assistant Professor
with the Department of Theater at Middlebury Col-
lege, Vermont. Formerly with the New York State
Council on the Arts. Currently serves as Senior Con-
sultant to Independent Television Services.
Blanca Vazquez, editor, Centro Bulletin, a journal
focusing on Puerto Ricans living in the United States
and Puerto Rico, published by the Center for Puerto
Rican Studies at Hunter College, New York. Active
with El Museo del Barrio, Institute for Puerto Rican
Policy, the National Congress for Puerto Rican Rights
and Media Network.
Upon her recent election as Chair of the Manhat-
tan CAO, Gretchen Dykstra said: “Whether it’s for
entertainment, education or empowerment, we hope
to set a new standard for opening up television in
App. 6
Manhattan, so that anyone who wants, will have a
voice. We all can learn from and enjoy the diversity of
these opinions, ideas and dreams.”
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.