Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Air & Liquid Systems Corp. v. DeVries, 139 S. Ct. 986 (2019) (No. 17-1104)

Supreme Court brief2019

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 17-

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

AIR AND LIQUID SYSTEMS CORP., CBS

CORPORATION, AND FOSTER WHEELER LLC,

Petitioners- Defendants,

v.

ROBERTA G. DEVRIES, Administratrix of the Estate

of John B. Devries, Deceased, and Widow in her own

right,

Respondent.

INGERSOLL RAND COMPANY,

Petitioner-Defendant,

v.

SHIRLEY MCAFEE, Executrix of the Estate of

Kenneth McAfee, and Widow in her own right,

Respondent.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Third Circuit

Benjamin M. Flowers Shay Dvoretzky

JONES DAY Counsel of Record

325 John H. McConnell JONES DAY

Blvd., Suite 600 51 Louisiana Ave NW,

Columbus, OH 43215 Washington, DC 20001

Tel.: (202) 879-3939

sdvoretzky@jonesday .com

Counsel for Petitioner CBS Corporation

(Additional counsel listed on inside cover)

Brady L. Green

WILBRAHAM, LAWLER &

BUBA

1818 Market Street,

Suite 3100

Philadelphia, PA 19103

Counsel for Petitioner

Air & Liquid Systems

Corp. (successor by mer-

ger to Buffalo Pumps,

Inc.)

Christopher J. Keale

Afigo |. Okpewho-

Fadahunsi

TANENBAUM KEALE LLLP

1085 Raymond Blvd.

One Newark Center

16th Floor

Newark, NJ 07102

Counsel for Petitioner

Foster Wheeler LLC

John J. Hare

MARSHALL DENNEHEY

WARNER COLEMAN &

GOGGIN

2000 Market Street,

Suite 2300

Philadelphia, PA 19103

Counsel for Petitioner

Ingersoll Rand, Inc.

(continued from front cover)

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Can products-liability defendants be }-:d liable

under maritime law for injuries caused by products

that they did not make, sell, or distribute?

1

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

AND RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

The respondents, who were the plaintiffs-

appellants below, are:

1. Roberta Devries, in her individual capacity and

in her capacity as administratrix of the estate of

John B. DeVries, and

2. Shirley McAfee, Executrix of the Estate of

Kenneth McAfee, Deceased, and Widow in her own

right.

The petitioners, all of whom were defendants-

appellees below, are:

1. Air & Liquid Systems Corp. is a wholly owned

subsidiary of Ampco-Pittsburgh Corporation, a pub-

licly traded corporation. It is the successor-by-

merger to Buffalo Pumps, Inc.

2. CBS Corporation is a publicly traded company.

National Amusements, Inc. and its wholly owned

subsidiary, NAI Entertainment Holdings LLC, are

privately held companies, which, in the aggregate,

own the majority of the voting stock of CBS Corpora-

tion. To CBS Corporation’s knowledge, no publicly

held corporation owns 10% or more of the voting

stock of CBS Corporation.

3. Foster Wheeler LLC is a wholly-owned indirect

subsidiary of John Wood Group ple (Scotland), a pub-

licly traded company. No known person or entity

currently owns 10% or more of John Wood Group

ple’s (Scotland) publicly traded common stock.

ill

4. The parent company for Ingersoll Rand Com-

pany is Ingersoll Rand PLC, a publicly traded corpo-

ration. No other publicly traded corporation owns

more than 10 percent of Ingersoll Rand Company

stock.

Along with the petitioners, the following parties

were listed as either defendants or defendants-

appellees on the Third Circuit’s docket below. None

of the following parties are petitioners in this Court:

20th Century Gove Corp. of Texas

Allen Bradley Co.

Allen Sherman Hoff

American Optical

American Optical Corp.

AMTICO Division of American Biltrite

Aurora Pumps

AZRock Industries, Inc.

AO SmithCorp.

10. BF Goodrich Co.

11. Baltimore Ennis Land Co. Inc.

12. Bayer Cropscience Inc.

13. Borg Warner Corp.

14. Burnham LLC

15. BW/IP Inc.

16. Carrier Corp.

17. Certain Teed Corp.

18. Cleaver Brooks Inc.

19. Crane Co.

CEIee ww =

iv

Crown Cork & Seal Co., Inc.

. Federal Mogul Asbestos Personal Injury

Trust

Gallagher Fluid Seals, Inc.

General Electric Co.

Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co.

Goulds Pumps, Inc.

Hajoca Corp.

Hampshire Industries, Inc.

28. IMO Industries, Inc.

J.A. Sexauer

J.H. France Refractories Co.

John Crane, Inc.

Metropolitan Life Insurance Co.

Minnesota Mining & Manufacturing Co.

McCord Gasket Co.

NOSROC Corporation

Oakfabco, Inc.

Owens-Illinois, Inc.

Parker Hannifin Corp.

Pecora Corp.

40. Peerless Industries, Inc.

Riley Stoker Corp.

Selby Battersby & Co.

Sid Harvey Mid Atlantic, Inc.

Therman Engineering, Inc.

Trane U.S. Inc.

v

46. Warren Pumps, LLC

47. Weil McClain Division of the Marley Co.

vi

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED...............ccccccscccceeeeeeeeeeeeeees i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING AND

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT ...................000000c000++ ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIEG.....................:00cceccceceeeeees ix

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI ............ |

TE aecsicctesecssetsesnsctecnnesdnceuasensenisctanvese 1

. ENS EONS mn 2

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ................ 3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE. ..................0cccccceseeeeeees 3

A. The DeVries Matter .....................cc0s0000 3

B. The McAfee Matter .................ccc00eeeeeeees 9

C. The Third Circuit’s consolidated

resolution of the DeVries and

McAfee appeals...................eeeeccsssseeeees 11

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ...... 14

I. THE CIRCUITS ARE SPLIT REGARD-

ING THE ANSWER TO THE QUES-

TION PRESENTED ................:0ccceeeeeeeeeeeeeees 14

ll. THE DIVISION IN THE LOWER

COURTS UNDERMINES MARITIME

LAW’S STRONG INTEREST IN UNI-

Il. THE THIRD CIRCUIT ERRED IN

ADOPTING A FORESEEABILITY

vil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

(continued)

Page

A. Maritime law does not recognize

products-liability theories under

which defendants can be liable

for injuries caused by third par-

CE IIE saccescessenesnccatcsscssenerisccscees 21

B. The Third Circuit’s ad hoc fore-

seeability test hinders the pur-

poses of maritime law ....................0+-++ 26

C. The petitioners were entitled to

summary judgment under the

foregoing principles.................<.-s:+++++++ 31

Se crciicisrccdenercsintunesacsitniiaehidtiitenitianeninasuaneen 32

APPENDIX A: Opinion of the Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit (October 3, 2017).............. la

APPENDIX B: McAfee v. 20th Century Gove

Corp. of Texas, et al.,

No. 13-cv-6856 (E.D. Pa. May 25, 2016)........... 18a

APPENDIX C: DeVries v. General Electric Co.,

et al., No. 13-cv-474

(E.D. Pa. May 19, 2016) ................cecceseeseeeeeesees 20a

APPENDIX D: In re Asbestos Products

Liability Litigation (No. VI) (McAfee),

No. 15-2667 (3d Cir. May 12, 2016).................. 43a

APPENDIX E: In re Asbestos Products

Liability Litigation (No. VI) (DeVries),

No. 15-1278 (3d Cir. February 5, 2016) ........... 48a

vill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

(continued)

APPENDIX F: McAfee v. 20th Century Glove

Corp. of Texas, et al., No. 13-cv-6856 (E.D.

Pa. October 23, 2014) (order awarding

summary judgment to Ingersoll Rand

CI veccesertevtentcicentrnnsccsistartauesueesinninsmese

APPENDIX G: DeVries v. General Electric Co.,

et al., No. 13-cv-474 (E.D. Pa. October 10,

2014) (order awarding summary judgment

to CBS Corporation)..............0000..c.cccccsccosssesees

APPENDIX H: DeVries v. General Electric Co.,

et al., No. 13-cv-474 (E.D. Pa. October 10,

2014) (order awarding summary judgment

to Foster Wheeler LLC) ........................00eee000-

APPENDIX I: DeVries v. General Electric Co.,

et al., No. 13-cv-474 (E.D. Pa. October 3,

2014) (order awarding summary judgment

to Buffalo Pumps, Enc.) ........00.c.ccccssseseseseeeeeees

Page

...19a

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Baughman v. Gen. Motors Corp.,

780 F.2d 1131 (4th Cir. 1986).................

Bell v. Foster Wheeler Energy Corp.,

2016 WL 5780104

eT ee

Boyle v. United Techs. Corp.,

GE TE Gare Ge esterctcccsesccesccsccsccsceosces

Braaten v. Saberhagen Holdings,

198 P.3d 493 (Wash. 2008) .....................

Brown v. Drake-Willock Int'l, Lid.,

530 N.W.2d 510

(Mich. Ct. App. 1995) ............-.-ces-cse0se---

Cabasug v. Crane Co.,

989 F. Supp. 2d 1027 (D. Haw. 2013).....

Calhoun v. Yamaha Motor Corp.,

216 F.3d 338 (3d Cir. 2000) .................-..

Chesher v. 3M Co.,

234 F. Supp. 3d 693 (D.S.C. 2017)..........

Cipollone v. Yale Indus. Prod., Inc.,

202 F.3d 376 (1st Cir. 2000) ...................

Conner v. Alfa Laval, Inc.,

842 F. Supp. 2d 791 (E.D. Pa. 2012) ......

DeLovio v. Boit,

7 F. Cas. 418 (C.C.D. Mass. 1815)..........

Page(s)

x

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)

Page(s)

E. River S.S. Corp. v. Transamerica

Delaval, Inc.,

Fr i ecescccnsasncccscosesenseerses 19, 24, 26

Exxon Co., U.S.A. v. Sofec, Inc.,

rn 17

Exxon Corp. v. Cent. Gulf Lines, Inc.,

I iircticencscectnnedntnnisicecssecermmsintesensnas 25

Exxon Shipping Co. v. Baker,

I Be ae i icccescecectccsceveccccscecscvsses 19, 21, 24

Foremost Ins. Co. v Richardson,

ne 18, 24

Grant v. Foster Wheeler, LLC,

140 A.3d 1242 (Maine 2016).......................... 17, 23

Hidalgo v. Fagen, Inc.,

206 F.3d 1013 (10th Cir. 2000).........................24. 23

In re Darvocet, Darvon, & Propoxyphene

Prod. Liab. Litig.,

756 F.3d 917 (6th Cir. 2014)..............ccccc cette 22

In re New York City Asbestos Litig.,

59 N.E.3d 458 (N.Y. 2016) .................ccceeeeeeeeeeeeee 17

Kealoha v. E.I. du Pont de

Nemours & Co.,

844 F. Supp. 590 (D. Haw. 1994)................... 24, 25

Kermarec v. Compagnie Generale

Transatlantique,

358 U.S. 625 (1959).................eeeeeceeees 18, 19, 21, 24

xl

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)

Lindstrom v. A-C Products Liability

Trust,

424 F.3d 488 (6th Cir. 2005)..................+.

May v. Air & Liquid Sys. Corp.,

129 A.3d 984 (Md. 2015) ...............ccceeeecees

McAlvey v. Atlas Copco Compressors,

L.L.C.,

2015 WL 5118138

(S.D. Til. Aug. 28, 2015)..................sccsee0es

MclIndoe v. Huntington Ingalls, Inc.,

817 F.3d 1170 (9th Cir. 2016)..................

Miles v. Apex Marine Corp.,

I le Be i ereeceeeresesccsnssececscccrevens

Moragne v. States Marine Lines, Inc.,

398 U.S. 376 (1970)..................sescescsrreerees

Nelson v. Air & Liquid Sys. Corp.,

2014 WL 6982476

(W.D. Wash. Dec. 9, 2014) ..............00000000-

Osterhout v. Crane Co.,

No. 2016 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 39890

(N.D.N.Y. Mar. 21, 2016)...............c0000000es

Peralta Shipping Corp. v. Smith &

Johnson (Shipping) Corp.,

470 U.S. 1031 (1985) .....e-ceccecessescesseeeeeeeens

Quirin v. Lorillard Tobacco Co.,

17 F. Supp. 3d 760 (N.D. Til. 2014)..........

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)

Page(s)

Sanders v. Ingram Equip., Inc.,

531 So. 2d 879 (Ala. 1988) ....................ceeceeeeeeeeeee 23

Stark v. Armstrong World Indus., Inc.,

21 F. App’x 371 (6th Cir. 2001) ............... 15, 20, 25

Stockton v. Ford Motor Co.,

2017 WL 2021760

(Tenn. Ct. App. May 12, 2017).....................cccc000e 28

Walton v. Harnischfeger,

796 S.W.2d 225 (Tex. App. 1990)......................0. 23

Westchem Agric. Chems., Inc. v.

Ford Motor Co..,

990 F.2d 426 (8th Cir. 1993) ...............cccccecceceeeeees 25

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY AUTHORITIES

ee I. . FEU Tia UI csesncsncnevesconcsessccsseceicucccbeiteidiand 18

FS Fe Oe Oe cncdsrsnsctsnienivtanivienncnicsianmniastinamiaal 3

A Ue PII cccococscsasonsscocconsansencsinntesiseeeaaiailaaanhaaia 3

ee I estas ccsccstinscaccenceociesncsnsisptitaiaimaian 2

ile A i ninecsccesticasctevistsccissenemnseghalumiciaiian 2

OTHER AUTHORITIES

OR ee I Oe teceictasccctencsenicmcmncssccisnsinnntinianeal 23

63A Am. Jur. 2d Prods. Liab. § 1027........................ 22

Restatement (Second) of Torts

i ruideracisccetnbenectdundatennnsnstedceneieansunsiiaiiaiiinnde 21

Restatement (Second) of Torts

EY Ea een. 21

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)

Page(s)

Restatement (Second) of Torts

NE 21

Restatement (Second) of Torts

EEE 22

Restatement (Second) of Torts

EE Ee 22

Restatement (Third) of Torts:

a 22, 25

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

This petition asks the Court to resolve an

acknowledged circuit split on an important issue of

federal law: In maritime-law cases, can a products-

liability defendant be held liable for injuries alleged-

ly caused by components that are manufactured,

sold, and distributed by third parties, and that are

added to the defendant's products post-sale? In the

Sixth Circuit, the answer is “no.” That answer fol-

lows from the principle that tort-law defendants are

liable for only the injuries that they cause—they

bear no responsibility for injuries that others cause.

Without even mentioning this foundational tort-law

principle, the Third Circuit expressly parted ways

with the Sixth Circuit, and held that a defendant

may be held liable for injuries caused by the products

of a third party. This Court should grant certiorari

to restore uniformity to maritime law, and to clarify

that maritime-law defendants are not liable for inju-

ries that they do not cause.

OPINIONS BELOW

1. Air & Liquid Systems Corp., et al, v.

DeVries. The United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Pennsylvania initially awarded

summary judgment to the petitioners in a series of

unpublished orders, all of which are available on

Westlaw at 2014 WL 6746811 (ordering summary

judgment for Foster Wheeler LLC), Pet. App. 71a;

2014 WL 6746795 (ordering summary judgment for

CBS Corporation), Pet. App. 63a; 2014 WL 6746960

(ordering summary judgment for Buffalo Pumps,

Inc.), Pet. App. 79a.

2

The United States Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit remanded in an unpublished order. Pet. App.

48a. On remand, the District Court again awarded

summary judgment, and issued an opinion published

at 188 F. Supp. 3d 454. Pet. App. 20a. The Third

Circuit reversed, in an opinion published in the Fed-

eral Reporter at 873 F.3d 232. Pet. App. 1a.

2. Ingersoll Rand Co. v. McAfee. The United

States District Court for the Eastern District of

Pennsylvania awarded summary judgment to Inger-

soll Rand in an unpublished order available on

Westlaw at 2014 WL 12601085, Pet. App. 55a.

The Third Circuit remanded in an unpublished or-

der. Pet. App. 43a. On remand, the District Court

again awarded summary judgment, again in an un-

published order. Pet. App. 18a. On appeal, the

Third Circuit consolidated the case with the DeVries

matter; the opinion in the consolidated cases is pub-

lished in the Federal Reporter at 873 F.3d 232. Pet.

App. la.

JURISDICTION

John and Roberta DeVries sued nearly 50 entities

in Pennsylvania state court. So too did Kenneth and

Shirley McAfee, in a separate action. Both cases

were removed to the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of Pennsylvania. That court had

jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1333(1) and

1442(a)(1), because both cases arose from injuries

that allegedly occurred aboard vessels on navigable

waters, and because several defendants stated a col-

orable federal common-law defense to claims arising

from their conduct as contractors for the United

States Navy.

3

After the District Court awarded summary judg-

ment to the petitioners in both cases, Roberta

Devries (in her individual capacity, and as adminis-

tratrix of John’s estate) and Shirley McAfee (in her

individual capacity, and as executrix of Kenneth’s

estate) appealed to the Third Circuit. That court had

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1291. It consolidated

the cases in a single appeal, and issued its decision

on October 3, 2017. The petitioners moved this

Court for an extension of time in which to file their

Corp., et al. v. DeVries, et al., No. 17A625. Justice

Alito granted that application, giving the petitioners

until January 31, 2018, to file. They have timely

filed, and this Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1257.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

None.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Third Circuit issued its opinion below in a

consolidated appeal that began as two separate mat-

ters: DeVries v. General Electric Co., et al., No. 13-

cv-474 (E.D. Pa.), and McAfee v. 20th Century Glove

Corp. of Texas, et al., No. 13-cv-6856 (E.D. Pa.). This

brief describes these matters separately, before turn-

ing to the Third Circuit’s decision in the consolidated

appeal.

A. The DeVries Matter

Sixty years ago, between 1957 and 1960, John B.

DeVries served in the Navy aboard the U.S.S.

Turner. He worked as an engineer. See Appendix 88

DeVries v. Buffalo Pumps, No. 15-1278 (3d Cir.)

4

(“DJA”). At first, his responsibilities included over-

seeing work in the Turner’s engine and fire rooms,

where he did not perform “actual hands-on work

with mechanical equipment.” DJA 619. Eventually,

the Navy promoted him to head of the Engineering

Department. DJA 618-19. His official duties in that

role were “limited to supervision,” but he occasional-

ly “had to show people how to” work on equipment.

DJA 619. Some of that equipment was insulated

with asbestos, and some of it contained internal

components (like gaskets and packing) made with

asbestos. According to John DeVries, his work with

this equipment exposed him to asbestos dust.

In 2012, doctors diagnosed him with lung cancer,

allegedly caused by asbestos exposure. He and his

wife, Roberta, sued nearly 50 entities that they

claimed were responsible for his injuries, seeking re-

lef under theories of negligence and strict liability.

These entities included the DeVries petitioners—

CBS Corporation, Foster Wheeler LLC, and Buffalo

Pumps (predecessor in interest to petitioner Air &

Liquid Systems Corp.)}—all of which manufactured

and supplied equipment that the Navy used aboard

the Turner during John DeVries’s service. None of

these petitioners, however, manufactured or supplied

any of the asbestos-containing insulation, gaskets, or

packing alleged to have caused his injuries. Thus,

the litigation to date has focused largely on whether

defendants in maritime cases can be held liable for

injuries caused by third-party components that they

neither manufactured, distributed, nor sold.

1. Bath Iron Works built the Turner in 1945. DJA

619. The DeVries petitioners supplied one or more of

the durable parts installed on board the ship: West-

5

inghouse Electric Corporation (the predecessor-in-

interest to petitioner CBS) supplied the Navy with

the Turner's generators, blowers, and turbines. See

DJA 558-59, 605, 607. Foster Wheeler supplied

economizers for use inside Babcock & Wilcox boilers.

DJA 1151-53. And the ship’s pumps came from

(among others) Buffalo Pumps. See DJA 327, 352-

53, 357-63.

At the time, the Navy required equipment suppli-

ers, including the petitioners, to conform their

equipment to precise Navy specifications. See, e.g.,

DJA 485, 487, 494, 940; 1475-76. One such re-

quirement is particularly relevant to this case: Con-

tractors had to supply equipment—including tur-

bines and pumps—in “bare metal” form. That is,

contractors had to supply the equipment free of exte-

rior insulation. See DJA 490.

As a result of this requirement, the petitioners had

no control over the materials the Navy would use to

insulate their equipment post-sale. That decision

was left to the Navy alone, which decided to insulate

the equipment on board the Turner with asbestos. It

made this decision based on its determination that

asbestos “best met the Navy’s military requirements”

at the time, including “optimum heat retention, low

weight, fire resistance, resistance to water damage

and insect infestation, and cost-efficiency.” DJA 491.

And the Navy made this decision notwithstanding

the dangers that asbestos posed—dangers that the

Navy knew of decades earlier, by 1922. See DJA

521-29.

The Navy used asbestos for more than insulation.

For example, it required asbestos-containing internal

components (like consumable gaskets and packing

6

used to form seals between metal components) in

certain equipment. See, e.g., DJA 491, 494, 1540.

These asbestos-containing internal components, un-

like the insulation, could be included with equipment

supplied to the Navy. But such internal components

wore out and needed to be replaced many times over

during a ship’s multi-decade lifespan. It is thus un-

contested that any asbestos-containing components

supplied with the petitioners’ equipment had worn

out and been replaced “numerous times” before John

DeVries began his service in 1957. DJA 1465, 1505.

What is more, none of the petitioners manufac-

tured the replacement parts used aboard the Turner,

supplied such parts, or did anything else to facilitate

their installation. Instead, companies other than the

petitioners made and sold the asbestos and asbestos-

containing products to which John DeVries was al-

legedly exposed during his Navy service. And the

Navy chose to continue requiring asbestos insulation

and asbestos-containing replacement parts into the

late 1970s, see DJA 492—three decades after peti-

tioners supplied their equipment for use aboard the

Turner, and at least two decades after the Navy be-

came aware that some non-asbestos thermal insula-

tion was “suitable for use on steam turbines and oth-

er machinery,” Supplemental Appendix 87 DeVries,

No. 15-1278.

2. In June 2012, more than 50 years after his ser-

vice aboard the Turner, doctors diagnosed John

DeVries with lung cancer. DJA 97. Later that year,

he and his wife, Roberta, filed suit against the peti-

tioners and numerous other entities in the Philadel-

phia Court of Common Pleas. DJA 87. Their com-

plaint alleged that John DeVries had been exposed to

7

asbestos at every site where he worked during his

55-year career—a career that included, in addition to

3 years of Navy service, 32 years as an engineer for

Rohm & Hass, and 20 more as a part-time engineer-

ing consultant. The complaint further alleged that

this asbestos exposure caused John DeVries’s cancer.

DJA 87-98. The complaint sought to hold petitioners

liable under products-liability theories of strict liabil-

ity and negligence. Pet. App. 4a.

After CBS removed the case to federal court, DJA

102-17, the DeVrieses voluntarily dismissed their

claims against some defendants. The District Court

dismissed the vast majority of other defendants,

whose summary-judgment motions the DeVrieses

chose not to oppose. This left only those defendants,

like the DeVries petitioners, that had supplied

equipment for the Turner during its construction,

but that did not make, distribute, sell, or otherwise

supply the asbestos and asbestos-containing parts

alleged to have caused John DeVries’s injuries.

Each of the DeVries petitioners moved for sum-

mary judgment under what some courts have called

the “bare-metal rule.” Under that rule, companies

that manufacture and sell equipment are not liable

for injuries caused by third-party asbestos added to

their equipment after it leaves their control. The

rule is sometimes called the “bare-metal defense.”

That, however, is a misnomer: The bare-metal rule

is not an affirmative defense, but rather an applica-

tion of the principle that plaintiffs must prove causa-

tion in order to succeed on a tort claim.

The District Court granted the petitioners’ mo-

tions. As an initial matter, it held that the claims

against the petitioners were governed by maritime

8

law, since each sought relief for injuries allegedly

caused by shipboard exposure to asbestos. Pet. App.

66a, 74a, 8la. And maritime law, the court held,

recognizes the bare-metal rule. Pet. App. 67a, 74a,

82a. In reaching this conclusion, the District Court

relied on its earlier decision in Conner v. Alfa Laval,

Inc., 842 F. Supp. 2d 791, 801 (E.D. Pa. 2012). Con-

ner reasoned that the bare-metal rule is but a specif-

ic application of the basic tort-law principle that de-

fendants are not liable for injuries caused by third

parties’ products—a principle that maritime law in-

corporates. See id. Since there was no evidence that

any of the petitioners manufactured, sold, or other-

wise had any involvement with the distribution of

the asbestos alleged to have contributed to John

DeVries’s cancer, the District Court awarded sum-

mary judgment to each. Pet. App. 69a—70a, 77a—78a,

85a—87a.

3. John DeVries died from lung cancer before the

District Court entered summary judgment. But

Roberta DeVries—acting on her own behalf and now

on behalf of John DeVries’s estate—appealed to the

Third Circuit. Her brief argued that the bare-metal

rule does not apply in maritime law. According to

her, plaintiffs in asbestos suits arising under the fed-

eral courts’ admiralty jurisdiction need not prove

that the defendant’s product caused plaintiffs harm;

instead, defendants can be held liable so long as it

was foreseeable that their product would be used in

conjunction with the alleged injury-causing product.

Because the District Court held otherwise, she ar-

gued that the Third Circuit should reverse it.

Rather than address the bare-metal rule’s applica-

bility in maritime law, the Third Circuit remanded

9

the case so that the District Court could clarify the

scope of its ruling. The Third Circuit said that it

could not “determine whether the District Court con-

sidered the negligence claim.” Pet. App. 45a. It

asked the District Court to expressly address the

bare-metal rule’s application to negligence claims.

On remand, the District Court confirmed that it

had previously considered the negligence claims be-

fore awarding the petitioners summary judgment.

Pet. App. 22a. Emphasizing the importance of uni-

formity and predictability in maritime law, the Dis-

trict Court explained that maritime law does not im-

pose liability for harms caused by third parties’

products. Pet. App 29a. A plaintiff accordingly can-

not prevail without establishing that a defendant

manufactured or supplied the product that caused

his injuries. Pet. App 29a—30a. This rule applies

equally to strict liability and negligence claims. Pet.

App 33a—34a. The District Court accordingly reaf-

firmed summary judgment for Defendants on all

claims. Pet. App 22a, 42a. Roberta DeVries again

appealed to the Third Circuit.

B. The McAfee Matter.

Kenneth McAfee served aboard the U.S.S.

Wanamassa in the late 1970s. In the early-to-mid

1980s, he served aboard the U.S.S. Commodore. See

Joint Appendix 68, 107, McAfee v. Ingersoll Rand

Company, No. 15-2667 (3d Cir.) (““MJA”). Ingersoll

manufactured and supplied compressors that the

Navy used on those ships during McAfee’s service.

The Navy required Ingersoll to conform the equip-

ment it manufactured to the Navy’s precise specifica-

tions. Supra 5. Specifically, the Navy required

Ingersoll to use certain asbestos-containing parts (for

10

example, gaskets and packing) with its compressors.

But to the extent any such parts were originally sup-

plied with Ingersoll’s equipment, they had worn out,

and been replaced by the Navy many times before

McAfee began serving on the Wanamassa and the

Commodore. See Appellants Br. 9, 22, 29, McAfee v.

Ingersoll Rand Co., No. 15-2667. Ingersoll did not

manufacture, supply, or play any other role in re-

placing the asbestos-containing parts that allegedly

injured McAfee. See Pet. App. 4a. Indeed, Kenneth

McAfee admitted that he did not know who made

any of the asbestos-containing gaskets or packing

that he handled on the Wanamassa or the Commo-

dore. See MJA 77—79.

McAfee and his wife sued nearly 50 entities, in-

cluding Ingersoll Rand, for injuries allegedly caused

by asbestos exposure aboard the Wanamassa and the

Commodore. The District Court granted summary

judgment to Ingersoll, after determining that Inger-

soll did not manufacture or supply the insulation,

gaskets, or packing that the Navy used with Inger-

soll’s compressors. See Pet. App. 61a—62a.

As it did in DeVries, the Third Circuit summarily

remanded the case with the instructions to clarify

the bare-metal rule’s application to negligence

claims. See Pet. App. 47a. And the District Court, as

it did in DeVries, reaffirmed its earlier judgment.

See Pet. App. 18a—19a. Shirley McAfee appealed on

her own behalf, and on behalf of her now-deceased

husband’s estate.

11

C. The Third Circuit's consolidated

resolution of the DeVries and McAfee

appeals

The Third Circuit consolidated the second McAfee

and DeVries appeals. For a second time, it remanded

both matters. This time, however, it addressed

whether and how the bare-metal rule applies in mar-

itime-law cases.

The court framed the appeal as presenting the fol-

lowing question: “When, if ever, should a manufac-

turer of a product that does not contain asbestos be

held liable for an asbestos-related injury most direct-

ly caused by parts added on to the manufacturer's

product?” Pet. App. 5a. It held that manufacturers

can be held liable for injuries caused by third-party

asbestos—at least in negligence cases—when those

injuries are reasonably foreseeable consequences of

the manufacturer’s own conduct. Pet. App. 15a—16a.

Whether a particular injury is the reasonably fore-

seeable consequence of a manufacturer’s conduct will

be a fact-specific inquiry, guided by five non-

exhaustive factors.

The Third Circuit’s holding grew out of its view

that the question whether manufacturers should be

held liable for injuries caused by others’ asbestos is

really all about foreseeability. In the Court’s words:

“When parties debate the bare-metal defense, they

debate when and whether a manufacturer could rea-

sonably foresee that its actions or omissions would

cause the plaintiffs asbestos-related injury.” Pet.

App. 7a. The Court cited nothing in support of this

assertion. Indeed, its opinion altogether ignored the

black-letter tort-law principle that defendants are

liable only for injuries they cause—a principle that

12

the petitioners argued required affirmance, since

Roberta DeVries and Shirley McAfee sought to hold

petitioners liable for injuries allegedly caused by as-

bestos and asbestos-containing products made, dis-

tributed, and sold by other companies.

After “rooting the bare-metal defense in foreseea-

bility,” the court characterized the issue before it as

involving a choice between two options. On the one

hand, it could adopt a bright-line rule, under which

injuries caused by third parties’ asbestos are never

reasonably foreseeable. On the other, it could adopt

a totality-of-the-circumstances test for evaluating

foreseeability.

The Third Circuit acknowledged that the Sixth

Circuit had already addressed the question before it

in Lindstrom v. A-C Products Liability Trust, 424

F.3d 488 (6th Cir. 2005). There, the Sixth Circuit

adopted what the Third Circuit characterized as the

“bright-line rule, holding that a manufacturer of a

bare-metal product is never liable for injuries caused

by later-added asbestos-containing materials.” Pet.

App. 5a. But the Third Circuit parted ways with its

sister circuit, adopting the _ totality-of-the-

circumstances approach. It held that a “manufactur-

er of a bare-metal product may be held liable for a

plaintiffs injuries suffered from later-added asbes-

tos-containing materials if the facts show the plain-

tiffs injuries were a reasonably foreseeable result of

the manufacturer’s” conduct. Pet. App. 15a. “[Fjor

example,” the court explained, “a bare-metal manu-

facturer may be subject to liability if it reasonably

could have known, at the time it placed its product

into the stream of commerce, that”:

13

(1) asbestos is hazardous, and

(2) its product will be used with an asbestos con-

taining part, because

(a) the product was originally equipped with

an asbestos containing part that could

reasonably be expected to be replaced

over the product’s lifetime,

(b) the manufacturer specifically directed

that the product be used with an asbes-

tos-containing part, or

(c) the product required an _ asbestos-

containing part to function properly.

Pet. App. 15a—16a.

The court stressed, however, that these “may or

may not be the only facts on which liability can

arise,” and noted that the “finer contours of the”

bare-metal rule “must be decided on a case-by-case

basis.” Pet. App. 16a (emphasis added).

The Third Circuit adopted this totality-of-the-

circumstances approach because it believed it would

do better than the bright-line rule at promoting mar-

itime law’s “deep[] concern” for “the protection of

sailors.” Specifically, the _ totality-of-the-

circumstances approach would permit “a greater

number of deserving sailors to receive compensa-

tion.” Pet. App. 13a. The court acknowledged that

maritime law is additionally concerned with “tradi-

tions of simplicity and practicality,” Pet. App. 13a

(quoting Kermarec v. Compagnie Generale Transat-

lantique, 358 U.S. 625, 631 (1959)); that it “seeks out

‘uniform rules to govern conduct and liability,” Pet.

App. 14a (quoting Foremost Ins. Co. v Richardson,

14

457 U.S. 668, 674-75 (1982)); and that its “funda-

mental interest” is “the protection of maritime com-

merce,” id.(quoting Exxon Corp. v. Cent. Gulf Lines,

Inc., 500 U.S. 603, 608 (1991)). But it concluded that

each of these purposes was equally consistent with

the bright-line rule it rejected and the totality-of-the-

circumstances test it adopted. Pet. App. 13a—15a.

This petition for certiorari followed.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The question presented involves an acknowledged

circuit split—one exacerbated by contradictory deci-

sions from federal district courts and state courts.

That is reason enough to grant a petition for certio-

rari in any case involving federal law. But it is a

particulariy strong reason to grant a petition arising

under this Court’s admiralty jurisdiction, which ex-

ists to ensure uniformity in maritime law. On top of

all that, the decision below is wrong, and will cause

confusion in the context of maritime-law products-

liability suits.

I. THE CIRCUITS ARE SPLIT REGARDING

THE ANSWER TO THE QUESTION

PRESENTED

Ir 4indstrom v. A-C Product Liability Trust, 424

F.3d 488, the Sixth Circuit held that maritime-law

defendants cannot be held liable for injuries caused

by exposure to asbestos from later-added insulation

and asbestos-containing parts that third parties

manufacture, distribute, and sell. Jd. at 492-95.

The Third Circuit expressly rejected that rule in fa-

vor of its totality-of-the-circumstances foreseeability

test, and thus expressly created a circuit split. Pet.

15

App. 10a, 14a. The Third and Sixth Circuits are now

in direct conflict.

The approaches that the Third and Sixth Circuits

took to answering the question presented are as in-

consistent as the answers they reached. Lindstrom

grounded its holding on the principle that tort-law

plaintiffs “must establish causation.” 424 F.3d at

492. As the Sixth Circuit explained in an earlier

case addressing the same issue, “in order to maintain

an action for either negligence or strict liability un-

der maritime law, a plaintiff must show causation of

his injury by either the defendant’s negligence or the

product defect.” Stark v. Armstrong World Indus.,

Inc., 21 F. App’x 371, 375 (6th Cir. 2001). In asbes-

tos cases, this means establishing that the defendant

made, supplied, or otherwise assisted in providing

the injury-causing asbestos. Lindstrom, 424 F.3d at

495-96. Thus, a defendant “cannot be held responsi-

ble for material ‘attached or connected’ to its prod-

uct” post-sale. Id. at 495 (quoting Stark, 21 F. App’x

at 381). This approach stands in marked contrast to

that taken by the Third Circuit, which described the

bare-metal rule as turning entirely on the concept of

foreseeability, considering the totality of the circum-

stances. Pet. App. 7a—8a.

Rulings from federal district courts around the

country have further clouded the issue. Some have

sided with Lindstrom. See, e.g., Nelson v. Air & Liq-

uid Sys. Corp., 2014 WL 6982476, at *12—*13 (W.D.

Wash. Dec. 9, 2014); Cabasug v. Crane Co., 989 F.

Supp. 2d 1027, 1039 (D. Haw. 2013). Others have

adopted something similar to the foreseeability test

embraced below. One court, for example, has held

that plaintiffs may bring failure-to-warn claims

16

against manufacturers based on later-added asbestos

if the breach of the duty to warn “regarding the orig-

inal asbestos components that the manufacturer

added to the product is a proximate cause of a subse-

quent harmful exposure to asbestos contained in an

aftermarket replacement part.” See Bell v. Foster

Wheeler Energy Corp., 2016 WL 5780104, at *6 (E.D.

La. Oct. 4, 2016) (emphasis added). Other courts

hold that manufacturers can be held liable, at least

in failure-to-warn cases, if the future use of asbestos

is in some sense “inevitable.” See Chesher v. 3M Co.,

234 F. Supp. 3d 693, 713 (D.S.C. 2017); Quirin v. Lo-

rillard Tobacco Co., 17 F. Supp. 3d 760, 769 (N.D. Il.

2014).

There is further division even within these camps.

For example, the “inevitability” courts do not agree

on what the test requires. Some posit a three-part

test, under which manufacturers can be held liable

if:

(1) “the defendant manufactured a product that,

by necessity, contained asbestos compo-

nents’;

(2) “the asbestos containing material was essen-

tial to the proper functioning of the defend-

ant’s product”; and

(3) “the asbestos-containing material would nec-

essarily be replaced by other asbestos-

containing material, whether supplied by the

original manufacturer or someone else.”

Quirin, 17 F. Supp. 3d at 769-70; accord Osterhout v.

Crane Co., No. 2016 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 39890, at *34

(N.D.N.Y. Mar. 21, 2016); McAlvey v. Atlas Copco

Compressors, L.L.C., 2015 WL 5118138, at *2 (S.D.

17

lil. Aug. 28, 2015). Others modify this test slightly,

so that failure-to-warn plaintiffs must show:

(1) that “the defendant actually incorporated

asbestos-containing components into its orig-

inal product,” and either

(2) (a) “the defendant ‘specified’ the use of asbes-

tos-containing replacement components,” or

(b) “such components were ‘essential to the

proper functioning’ of the defendant’s prod-

uct.”

Chesher, 234 F. Supp. 3d at 714 (internal quotation

marks and citations omitted).

Further complicating matters, state courts disa-

gree about the bare-metal rule’s applicability in cas-

es arising under state law. Some have adopted the

Lindstrom test. See, e.g., Grant v. Foster Wheeler,

LLC, 140 A.3d 1242, 1248—49 (Maine 2016); Braaten

v. Saberhagen Holdings, 198 P.3d 493, 502 (Wash.

2008). Others have adopted some version of a fore-

seeability-based approach. See, e.g., In re New York

City Asbestos Litig., 59 N.E.3d 458, 475 (N.Y. 2016);

May v. Air & Liquid Sys. Corp., 129 A.3d 984, 994

(Md. 2015).

While states are free to design their tort law how-

ever they wish, this divergence causes problems for

federal courts applying maritime law, because feder-

al courts “draw guidance from” state law when for-

mulating maritime-law principles. Exxon Co., U.S.A.

v. Sofec, Inc., 517 U.S. 830, 839 (1996). With the

states divided as to the rule’s application, federal

courts cannot look to state law for consistent guid-

ance regarding how (and whether) the bare-metal

rule ought to apply in the maritime context. As such,

18

the lower courts’ chances of resolving the confusion

without this Court’s help are even slimmer than they

would be in the context of a typical circuit split.

Il. THE DIVISION IN THE LOWER COURTS

UNDERMINES MARITIME LAW’S STRONG

INTEREST IN UNIFORMITY

“The judicial Power” extends to “all cases of admi-

ralty and maritime Jurisdiction.” U.S. Const., Art.

Ill, §2. This jurisdictional grant ensures “[tjhe ad-

vantages resulting to the commerce and navigation

of the United States ... from a uniformity of rules

and decisions in all maritime questions.” DeLovio v.

Boit, 7 F. Cas. 418, 443 (C.C.D. Mass. 1815) (Story,

J., riding circuit). To this day, maritime courts’ pri-

mary goals include assuring that “all operators of

vessels on navigable waters are subject to uniform

rules of conduct.” Foremost Ins., 457 U.S. at 675.

Those uniform rules should adhere to the maximum

extent possible to admiralty law’s “traditions of sim-

plicity and practicality.” Kermarec, 358 U.S. at 631.

When it comes to the bare-metal rule, admiralty-

law defendants are not “subject to uniform rules of

conduct.” The Third and Sixth Circuits have adopted

squarely contrary approaches to the question wheth-

er manufacturers are liable for injuries caused by

asbestos made and sold by third parties. This means

that sailors, ship operators, and maritime manufac-

turing companies are subject to different rules de-

pending on where on the Ohio River (Pittsburgh or

Cincinnati) or the Great Lakes (Toledo or Erie) a

barge happens to be. “The conflict between the ap-

proaches to this question taken by the Courts of Ap-

peals is reason enough to grant this petition, for uni-

formity and predictability in the maritime industry

19

were the ends sought in the Constitution when fed-

eral-court maritime jurisdiction was created in the

first instance.” Peralta Shipping Corp. v. Smith &

Johnson (Shipping) Corp., 470 U.S. 1031, 1034

(1985) (Brennan, J., dissenting from denial of certio-

rari).

The divergent approaches taken by federal district

courts and state courts show that the confusion is

spreading, not subsiding. This Court’s intervention,

therefore, is the only realistic option for restoring

uniformity as to the question presented. Until the

Court intervenes, sailors and potential defendants

will be hard-pressed to make even an educated guess

regarding the applicable law outside the Third and

Sixth Circuits. They will, in other words, be de-

prived of the chance to “look ahead with some ability

to know what the stakes are in choosing one course

of action or another.” Exxon Shipping Co. v. Baker,

554 U.S. 471, 502 (2008). Permitting that confusion

to stand “would be foreign to” admiralty law’s “tradi-

tions of simplicity and practicality.” Kermarec, 358

U.S. at 631. And it would run contrary to the princi-

ple that the rules of maritime law ought not be “too

indeterminate to enable manufacturers easily to

structure their business behavior.” FE. River S.S.

Corp. v. Transamerica Delaval, Inc., 476 U.S. 858,

870 (1986).

It is especially important to establish clear, uni-

form rules for adjudicating the liability of actions

taken pursuant to military contracts. Needless to

say, the federal government has a significant interest

in procuring the equipment it needs to defend the

country. And “[ijt is plain that the Federal Govern-

ment’s interest in the procurement of equipment is

20

implicated by suits such as the present one—even

though the dispute is one between private parties.”

Boyle v. United Techs. Corp., 487 U.S. 500, 506

(1988). Again, the Navy contracted with each of the

petitioners to provide equipment for use on board

ships, and mandated that this equipment use asbes-

tos insulation and asbestos-containing parts. Supra

5-6. Thus, Roberta DeVries and Shirley McAfee

seek to hold the petitioners liable for actions they

took in performance of military-procurement con-

tracts. Assuming petitioners can be held liable for

such conduct at all, the standards by which their lia-

bility is to be judged must be uniform. After all, con-

tractors (and prospective contractors) cannot ration-

ally predict their risk if they do not know the rules

according to which their liability will be determined.

And when risk is difficult to gauge, businesses will

insure against it either by imposing higher prices or

by leaving the market altogether. Both possibilities

undermine the government’s interest in obtaining

military equipment.

These risks are magnified in the Navy context:

“On a ship most things are connected to other

things.” Stark, 21 F. App’x at 381. As a result, most

anything that goes on a ship works with or is incor-

porated into numerous other components and sys-

tems. /d. Permitting the imposition of liability

based on foreseeable interactions between products

thus exponentially increases the potential liability—

particularly since ships are built to last for decades,

with their various components interacting all the

while.

21

Il. THE THIRD CIRCUIT ERRED IN

ADOPTING A FORESEEABILITY TEST

Finally, the Court should grant certiorari because

this is the perfect vehicle for reversing the foreseea-

bility approach that the Third Circuit wrongly

adopted below.

A. Maritime law does not recognize

products-liability theories under which

defendants can be liable for injuries

caused by third parties’ products

The judiciary develops the substantive rules of

admiralty law “in the manner of a common law

court.” Exxon Shipping, 554 U.S. at 489-90. When

fashioning a national admiralty rule, courts look to

traditional common-law principles. See, e.g., id. at

490-515. They judge the wisdom of adopting these

principles with reference to admiralty law’s underly-

ing objectives—for example, its interest in advancing

maritime commerce, ensuring predictability, and

promoting uniformity. See, e.g., Kermarec, 358 U.S.

at 630-31 (rejecting common-law distinction between

licensees and invitees, which “would be foreign to

[maritime law’s] traditions of simplicity and practi-

cality”).

1. At common law, defendants are liable only for

the injuries they cause. See Restatement (Second) of

Torts §§ 4, 315 (1965). They have neither a duty to

control third parties, nor a duty to rescue potential

plaintiffs from injuries caused by third-party acts.

See id. §§ 314, 315.

As applied to products-liability law, this means

that defendants are liable only for injuries caused by

products that they either manufactured or sold. Re-

22

gardless of whether liability is predicated upon neg-

ligence or strict liability, the law penalizes only those

parties who placed the harmful product “into the

stream of commerce”—that is, those who manufac-

tured, distributed, or sold the defective product. See

id. § 402A (strict liability only for “[o]ne who sells”

product); id. § 388 (“[o}Jne who supplies directly or

through a third person a chattel” is liable in negli-

gence for harms “caused by the use of the chattel”).

This makes sense: A defendant cannot be said to

have “caused” an injury by making and selling some-

thing other than the product that inflicted the injury.

See, e.g., In re Darvocet, Darvon, & Propoxyphene

Prod. Liab. Litig., 756 F.3d 917, 939 (6th Cir. 2014)

(concluding, under the law of 22 different states, that

branded-drug manufacturers cannot be held liable

under failure-to-warn theories in suits brought by

generic-drug consumers).

Products-liability law does not impose liability on

defendants for injuries caused by the use of other

parties’ products even when the products will be used

in combination. A manufacturer generally has no

duty of care with respect to another’s products. See,

e.g., Restatement (Third) of Torts: Prod. Liab. § 5

cmt. a (1998); 63A Am. Jur. 2d Prods. Liab. § 1027.

That is why courts have held makers of dialysis ma-

chines have no “duty to warn of the hazards” associ-

ated with dialysis-machine cleaning agents “manu-

factured by someone else.” Brown v. Drake-Willock

Int'l, Ltd., 530 N.W.2d 510, 515 (Mich. Ct. App.

1995). It is why automakers cannot be held liable for

defects in replacement wheels added to their cars

post-sale. See Baughman v. Gen. Motors Corp., 780

F.2d 1131, 1133 (4th Cir. 1986). It explains the rule

23

that manufacturers of non-defective component parts

of an integrated product cannot be held liable “for

injury that results from a defect in the integrated

product.” Cipollone v. Yale Indus. Prod., Inc., 202

F.3d 376, 379 (1st Cir. 2000); accord Hidalgo v.

Fagen, Inc., 206 F.3d 1013, 1017 (10th Cir. 2000).

And it justifies Lindstrom’s view that equipment

manufacturers cannot be held liable for injuries

caused by third parties’ asbestos added to their

equipment years after its sale. See Lindstrom, 424

F.3d at 495—96; see also, e.g., Grant, 140 A.3d at

1248; Braaten, 198 P.3d at 498, 500—01, 504.

The foregoing applies “[rjegardless of the theory

which liability is predicated upon.” 51 A.L.R.3d 1344

§ 2[a]. Because the bare-metal rule is premised on

the principle that a defendant has no duty of care

concerning another entity's products, the rule bars

claims sounding in negligence. See, e.g., Braaten,

198 P.3d at 501; Conner, 842 F. Supp. 2d at 801; see

also, e.g., Walton v. Harnischfeger, 796 S.W.2d 225,

228 (Tex. App. 1990) (“the absence of a duty” to warn

about a third party’s products “compels a summary

judgment for [a manufacturer] based upon its ‘no-

duty’ ground”). And it applies equally to suits predi-

cated on manufacturing-defect, design-defect, and

failure-to-warn theories. See, e.g., Lindstrom, 424

F.3d at 495 (in manufacturing-defect case, rejecting

liability where “asbestos that [plaintiff] may have

been exposed to in connection with [defendant’s]

product [was] attributable to some other manufac-

turer’); Sanders v. Ingram Equip., Inc., 531 So. 2d

879, 880 (Ala. 1988) (in design-defect case, “a dis-

tributor or manufacturer of a nondefective {product}

is not liable for defects in a product that it did not

24

manufacture, sell, or otherwise place in the stream of

commerce”); Braaten, 198 P.3d at 498 (describing

“majority rule” as a “manufacturer's duty to warn is

restricted to warnings based on the characteristics of

the manufacturer’s own products,” not “products of

others”).

2. The traditional rule that a manufacturer gen-

erally owes no duty of care concerning another man-

ufacturer’s product serves admiralty law’s underly-

ing purposes.

First, a bright-line rule imposing liability only for

harm caused by products that a defendant manufac-

tured or sold adheres to admiralty law's general

goals of “simplicity and practicality.” Kermarec, 358

U.S. at 631. Because defendants know which prod-

ucts they manufacture and supply, the traditional

rule enables them to accurately assess their potential

“liability and then incorporate the insurance cost in-

to the price of the product.” Kealoha v. E.I. du Pont

de Nemours & Co., 844 F. Supp. 590, 595 (D. Haw.

1994), affd, 82 F.3d 894 (9th Cir. 1996). That, in

turn, facilitates “the smooth flow of maritime com-

merce.” Foremost Ins. Co., 457 U.S. at 676; see also

Exxon Shipping, 554 U.S. at 502 (adopting rule that

allows parties to “look ahead with some ability to

know what the stakes are in choosing one course of

action or another”); E. River S.S., 476 U.S. at 870 (re-

jecting rules that are “too indeterminate to enable

manufacturers easily to structure their business be-

havior’).

Second, the traditional rule furthers admiralty

law’s goal of national uniformity. See Foremost Ins.,

457 U.S. at 675; Calhoun v. Yamaha Motor Corp.,

216 F.3d 338, 351 (3d Cir. 2000). As just noted, the

25

traditional rule is easy to apply and thus leads to

predictable results. And an easily applied, predicta-

ble test is a test capable of uniform application

throughout the country. By contrast, a malleable,

totality-of-the-circumstances test is not.

Third, the traditional rule promotes “the protec-

tion of maritime commerce” by eliminating the sub-

stantial burdens of requiring a manufacturer to en-

gage in the costly and duplicative testing of third

parties’ products. Exxon, 500 U.S. at 608; see Re-

statement (Third) of Torts: Prods. Liab. § 5 cmt. a;

Kealoha, 82 F.3d at 899-900. This concern is height-

ened in the maritime context, because “[o]n a ship

most things are connected to other things,” so any

attempt to hold one manufacturer liable in admiralty

for another’s products would “implicate[] a broad{er]

class of potential sources of exposure” than in the

land-based context. Stark, 21 F. App’x at 381; see

also McIndoe v. Huntington Ingalls, Inc., 817 F.3d

1170, 1174 (9th Cir. 2016). In addition, admiralty

law routinely involves goods like anchors or engines

that are made to last for decades. It is thus particu-

larly unreasonable to expect a manufacturer “to an-

ticipate improper installation of all foreseeable af-

termarket equipment [to its products,] and to iron-

clad [them] against every conceivable harm from

[the] improper installation” of another manufactur-

er’s defective product. Westchem Agric. Chems., Inc.

v. Ford Motor Co., 990 F.2d 426, 430 (8th Cir. 1993).

Finally, maritime law is sometimes described as

showing a “special solicitude for the welfare of those

men who undertook to venture upon hazardous and

unpredictable sea voyages.” Moragne v. States Ma-

rine Lines, Inc., 398 U.S. 375, 387 (1970). The tradi-

26

tional rule admittedly does nothing to advance this

interest, aside from creating predictable rules on the

basis of which sailors (like everyone else) can litigate

their cases. But neither does it hinder this special

solicitude: The traditional rule leaves seamen free to

sue those who cause them harm.

3. Because the relevant common-law principle is

consistent with the principles of maritime law, it

ought to be adopted as the governing principle in

maritime law cases.

B. The Third Circuit’s ad hoc foreseeability

test hinders the purposes of maritime

law

The Third Circuit did not perform anything like

the foregoing analysis. It began by declaring that

the question presented—whether maritime-law de-

fendants can be held liable for injuries caused by

others’ products—turns on foreseeability. The Third

Circuit appears to have relied on nothing beyond its

own say-so in reaching this conclusion. But regard-

less, the Third Circuit certainly did not derive the

rule from traditional common-law principles, since it

did not even consult those principles. Had it done so,

it would have recognized one such principle previous-

ly invoked by this Court in the maritime-law context:

“In products-liability law, where there is a duty to

the public generally, foreseeability is an inadequate

brake” on liability. E. River, 476 U.S. at 874.

The Third Circuit next considered the purposes of

maritime law, but only for assistance in helping it

define the breadth of the foreseeability test it had

conjured up. The court (for reasons not entirely

clear) thought itself tasked with choosing between

27

two options. On the one hand, a bright-line rule un-

der which injuries caused by others’ products are al-

ways unforeseeable—and thus never give rise to

foreseeability. On the other, a_ totality-of-the-

circumstances standard under which such injuries

are sometimes foreseeable—and thus sometimes give

rise to liability. The court looked to the purposes of

maritime law in deciding between these options.

This approach is upside down: Rather than identi-

fying a rule and testing it against the purposes of

maritime law, the Third Circuit used maritime law

to craft the rule in the first place. And in any event,

as already explained above, the rule the Sixth Cir-

cuit adopted in Lindstrom—the “bright-line rule”

that is in fact a straightforward application of the

principle that defendants are liable only for injuries

that they cause—is the one that promotes the pur-

poses of maritime law. Supra 24-26.

The Third Circuit’s contrary reasoning is unper-

suasive. For example, the Third Circuit determined

that maritime law’s concern with “simplicity and

practicality” is neutral between a bright-line rule and

a totality-of-the-circumstances standard. According

to the court, while ““simplicity’ might be seen as fa-

voring the rule-based approach,” it “could also be

seen as favoring a foreseeability-based standard, be-

cau~e simplicity is related to familiarity, and fore-

seeability is such a familiar and key part of tort law.”

Pet. App. 13a—14a. None of this makes sense. For

one thing, it is not true that familiarity implies sim-

plicity—many familiar tasks are complex to carry out

and lead to unpredictable results, as anyone who has

attempted to calculate her own taxes can attest. For

another, it is particularly dubious to suggest that

28

foreseeability, which “remains an elusive and indefi-

nite concept” after all these years, Stockton v. Ford

Motor Co., 2017 WL 2021760, at *14 (Tenn. Ct. App.

May 12, 2017), is simple because it is familiar.

What is more, the concept of foreseeability is espe-

cially elusive, indefinite, and incapable of principled

application in the bare-metal context. The Third

Circuit’s opinion directs courts to ask, in assessing

foreseeability, whether the defendant “reasonably

could have known” that its “product required an as-

bestos-containing part to function properly.” Pet.

App. 15a. Relatedly, courts are to consider whether

the defendant “reasonably could have known” that

its product “was originally equipped with an asbes-

tos-containing part that could reasonably be expected

to be replaced over the product's lifetime.” Id. Mak-

ing these determinations is an inevitably arbitrary

task. If, for example, there are three products that

are compatible with a defer¢ant’s own product, does

a defendant “know” that any given one will be used

based on the 33 percent chance that a particular con-

sumer imay select it? What about ten alternatives,

each with a 10 percent chance of being used? Is a 51

percent likelihood required, and how is that deter-

mined?

And what does it mean for equipment to “function

properly”? If the product would operate 95 percent of

the time without an asbestos-containing part, does

the product “require” that part? Could it “reasonably

be expected” that the part will be replaced with an-

other asbestos-containing part? How about if the rate

drops to 85 percent? Does a product “require” the

asbestos-containing part if it would work without it,

but slightly less efficiently? What if there is a per-

29

fect substitute for the asbestos-containing part, but it

is twice the price? Three times the price? Ten times

the price? One hundred times the price?

In addition to these metaphysical questions, there

are practical ones. Most obviously: How far into the

future are manufacturers expected to see? If a man-

ufacturer could have reasonably expected that a

product would “require” the use of asbestos in the

immediate future, but had no idea what alternative

technologies might arise later, is the exposure to as-

bestos six months down the line foreseeable? How

about a year? Ten years? Forty years? Does it de-

pend on the state of the science? Does it depend on

what the manufacturer knows about the state of the

science? The Third Circuit's foreseeability approach

cannot plausibly be described as simpler and more

predictable than a bright-line rule.

To make all of this worse, the Third Circuit’s logic

extends beyond asbestos cases; it extends to all

products-liability suits alleging an injury caused by a

hazardous substance or component added to a de-

fendant’s product post-sale. The breadth of the rule

is especially troubling as applied to Navy contrac-

tors. As addressed above, the inability to confidently

predict potential liability will cause Navy contractors

to charge more, or to cease providing goods, frustrat-

ing the Navy’s interest in efficient procurement con-

tracting. And the Third Circuit's foreseeability test

is nothing if not unpredictable. Third Circuit’s as-

sessment of maritime law’s predictability interest is

therefore difficult to credit.

The same goes for its treatment of the interest in

promoting maritime commerce and the adoption of

uniform rules. Pet. App. 14a—15a. The Third Circuit

30

concluded that these interests too were neutral be-

tween the bright-line rule and the totality-of-the-

circumstances standard. This was so, it said, be-

cause other courts had adopted both approaches,

meaning it was impossible to achieve uniformity re-

gardless of the test adopted. This is a non sequitur.

First, when courts are divided between a bright-line

rule that limits liability and a _totality-of-the-

circumstances standard that expands it, maritime

commerce is best promoted by the former, regardless

of what other courts have done. To be sure, mari-

time law’s interest in uniformity is best promoted by

adhering to decisions from other courts. But that

should have led the Third Circuit to adopt the bright-

line rule, which was at the time the only rule ever

adopted by a federal appellate court.

Having wrongly determined that the foregoing

purposes of maritime law were neutral between a

bright-line rule and a foreseeability approach, the

court below relied exclusively on the “special solici-

tude” that admiralty courts pay to seamen. And it

determined that this policy favored the foreseeability

test, because it would “permit a greater number of

deserving sailors to receive compensation.” Pet. App.

13a. Of course, this Court has never held that mari-

time law’s concern for the welfare of seamen requires

whatever rule maximizes their potential recovery.

To the contrary, it has emphasized that it is “not free

to expand remedies at will simply because it might

work tw the benefit of seamen and those dependent

upon them.” Miles v. Apex Marine Corp., 498 U.S.

19, 36 (1990) (adding: “We will not create, under our

admiralty powers, a remedy that is disfavored by a

clear majority of the States and that goes well be-

31

yond the limits of Congress’ ordered system of recov-

ery for seamen’s injury and death.”) Regardless,

since the traditional common-law rule is at least con-

sistent with the concern for seamen’s welfare, supra

25-26, this interest alone does not justify rejecting

the traditional rule.

C. The petitioners were entitled to

summary judgment under the foregoing

principles

Because maritime-law defendants cannot be held

liable for injuries caused by third parties’ products,

the petitioners are not liable as a matter of law for

John DeVries’s and Kenneth McAfee’s injuries. Ac-

cordingly, the Third Circuit erred in reversing the

District Court’s summary judgment awards.

Roberta DeVries claims that her husband was in-

jured by exposure to external asbestos insulation at-

tached to blowers, turbines, and generators manufac-

tured by Westinghouse, and pumps manufactured by

Buffalo. But the DeVries petitioners did not manu-

facture or supply any of that insulation. See DJA

490. Indeed, even Roberta DeVries’s own evidence

confirms that “[ijnsulation [was] furnished and in-

stalled by the shipbuilder.” DJA 695; see also DJA

699 (“All other required fittings and attachments will

be furnished by the purchaser, including turbine-

heat insulation and lagging.”); DJA 682 (“The naval

architect is responsible to cover the turbines and the

other piping insulation in the engine room so that

personnel will not be burned.”).

The claims in DeVries are additionally predicated

on the allegation that John DeVries’s injuries were

caused by exposure to internal asbestos-containing

32

gaskets and packing used with equipment made by

Foster Wheeler and Buffalo. Similarly, Shirley

McAfee alleges that her husband contracted cancer

caused by exposure to asbestos in replacement parts

used with Ingersoll’s compressors. None of the peti-

tioners, however, manufactured or supplied any of

the asbestos-containing parts to which DeVries and

McAfee were allegedly exposed. See Pet. App. 4a,

61a, 69a, 78a, 86a.

Because it is undisputed that the petitioners nei-

ther made nor sold the asbestos alleged to have

caused John DeVries’s and Kenneth McAfee’s inju-

ries, this case squarely presents the question—on

which the circuits are divided—whether products-

liability defendants in maritime law cases can be

held liable for injuries caused by products that they

neither made nor sold. This case thus affords the

Court an opportunity to resolve that question, and to

correct the Third Circuit’s erroneous answer.

CONCLUSION

The Court should grant this petition for a writ of

certiorari.

33

January 31, 2018 Respectfully submitted,

Benjamin M. Flowers Shay Dvoretzky

JONES DAY Counsel of Record

325 John H. McConnell JONES DAY

Blvd., Suite 600 51 Louisiana Ave., N.W.

Columbus, OH 43215 Washington, D.C. 20001

Tel: (202) 879-3939

sdvoretzky@jonesday.com

Counsel for Petitioner CBS Corporation

Brady L. Green John J. Hare

WILBRAHAM, LAWLER & MARSHALL DENNEHEY

BUBA WARNER COLEMAN &

1818 Market Street, GOGGIN

Suite 3100 2000 Market Street,

Philadelphia, PA 19103 Suite 2300

Philadelphia, PA 19103

Counsel for Petitioner

Air & Liquid Systems Counsel for Petitioner

Corp. (successor by mer- Ingersoll Rand, Inc.

wt Buffalo Pumps,

ne.

Christopher J. Keale

Afigo I. Okpewho-

Fadahunsi

TANENBAUM KEALE LLP

1085 Raymond Bivd.

One Newark Center

16th Floor

Newark, NJ 07102

Counsel for Petitioner

Foster Wheeler LLC

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

PRECEDENTIAL

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Nos. 16-2602 & 16-2669

IN RE: ASBESTOS PRODUCTS

LIABILITY LITIGATION (No. VI)

ROBERTA G. DEVRIES, Administratrix

of the Estate of John B. Devries,

Deceased, and Widow in her own right,

Appellant in 16-2602

IN RE: ASBESTOS PRODUCT

LIABILITY LITIGATION (No. VI)

SHIRLEY MCAFEE, Executrix

of the Estate of Kenneth McAfee,

Deceased, and Widow in her own right,

Appellant in 16-2669

2a

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

District Judge: Honorable Eduardo C. Robreno

(D.C. Nos. 5-13-cv-00474, 5-13-cv-06856,

2-01-md-00875)

Argued March 29, 2017

Before: VANASKIE, SHWARTZ, and RESTREPO,

Circuit Jud

(Opinion Filed: October 3, 2017)

OPINION OF THE COURT

VANASKIE, Circuit Judge.

These asbestos cases involve the availability of the

“bare-metal defense” under maritime law. The

defense’s basic idea is that a manufacturer who

delivers a product “bare metal”—that is without the

insulation or other material that must be added for the

product’s proper operation—is not generally liable for

injuries caused by asbestos in later-added materials.

A classic scenario would be if an engine manufacturer

ships an engine without a gasket, the buyer adds a

gasket containing asbestos, and the asbestos causes

injury to a worker. May the manufacturer be held

liable? Some courts say no—never. Others rely on a

more fact-specific standard and ask whether the facts

of the case made it foreseeable that hazardous

3a

asbestos materials would be used. Neither this Court

nor the Supreme Court has confronted the issue.

In that void, we survey bedrock principles of

maritime law and conclude that they permit a

manufacturer of even a bare-metal product to be held

liable for asbestos-related injuries when

circumstances indicate the injury was a reasonably

foreseeable result of the manufacturer’s actions—at

least in the context of a negligence claim. The District

Court had instead applied the bright line rule

approach and entered summary judgment against the

plaintiffs. We will vacate the entry of summary

judgment on the plaintiffs’ negligence claims, affirm

the entry of summary judgment on the plaintiffs’

product liability claims (which we conclude were

abandoned on appeal), and will remand, for further

proceedings.

L.

Appellants Roberta G. Devries and Shirley McAfee

are the widows of deceased husbands who served in

the United States Navy. Each couple filed a

Complaint in Pennsylvania state court alleging that

the husband contracted cancer caused by exposure to

asbestos. Devries alleges that on the U.S.S. Turner

from 1957-60, her husband was exposed to asbestos-

containing insulation and components that were

added onto the ship’s engines, pumps, boilers, blowers,

generators, switchboards, steam traps, and other

devices. McAfee alleges her husband was similarly

exposed through his service on two ships and in the

Philadelphia Naval Shipyard.

Devries and McAfee named a number of defendants,

of which Appellee manufacturers (“Manufacturers”)

4a

are a subset.! The Manufacturers each made their

products “bare metal,” in that if they manufactured an

engine, they shipped it without any asbestos-

containing insulation materials that would later be

added.

Devries and McAfee’s Complaints each allege claims

of negligence and strict liability. The Manufacturers

removed to the Eastern District of Pennsylvania and

invoked the bare-metal defense in support of their

respective summary judgment motions, arguing that

because they shipped their products bare metal, they

could not be held liable for the sailors’ injuries. The

District Court agreed and granted the Manufacturers

summary judgment motions.

Devries and McAfee each appealed separately,

raising an issue as to whether the District Court’s

decision addressed their negligence claims. We

summarily remanded with instructions that the

District Court address the negligence issue and also

consider a split in authority as to whether a bright-line

rule or a fact-specific standard governed the bare-

metal defense’s availability. In re Asbestos Prods.

Liab. Litig., No. 15-2667, Order (3d Cir. May 12, 2017)

(McAfee); In re Asbestos Prods. Liab. Litig., No. 15-

1278, Order (3d. Cir. Feb. 5, 2016) (Devries).

On remand, the District Court applied the bright-

line-rule version of the bare-metal defense, and

clarified that summary judgment had been entered in

favor of the Manufacturers on both the strict liability

| The Appellee-Manufacturers are Air & Liquid Systems

Corp., CBS Corp., Foster Wheeler LLC, Genera] Electric Co., IMO

Industries Inc., Warren Pumps LLC, and Ingersoll Rand Co.

5a

and negligence claims. The Court reasoned that the

rule approach was best because, according to the

Court’s view of the precedents, maritime law favors

uniformity and the rule approach was the majority

view.

Devries and McAfee appealed for a second time. We

consolidated their appeals and ordered coordinated

briefing.

Il.

The District Court had federal-officer jurisdiction

under 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)(1), and maritime

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1333(1). We have

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1291. We review the

District Court’s grant of summary judgment de novo.

Faush v. Tues. Morning, Inc., 808 F.3d 208, 215 (3d

Cir. 2015).

III.

The key question in this case is the bare-metal

defense’s availability: When, if ever, should a

manufacturer of a product that does not contain

asbestos be held liable for an asbestos-related injury

most directly caused by parts added on to the

manufacturer's product? Neither the Third Circuit

nor the Supreme Court has addressed the question,

and the courts from other jurisdictions that have are

split. Some courts apply a bright-line rule, holding

that a manufacturer of a bare-metal product is never

liable for injuries caused by later-added asbestos-

containing materials. See, e.g., Lindstrom v. A-C Prod.

Liab. Tr., 424 F.3d 488, 492, 494-97 (6th Cir. 2005);

Cabasug v. Crane Co., 989 F. Supp. 2d 1027, 1038-43

(D. Haw. 2013). Others apply a more fact-specific

standard, stating, for example, that a bare-metal

6a

manufacturer may be held liable if the plaintiffs

injury was a reasonably foreseeable result of the

manufacturer's conduct. See, e.g., Quirin v. Lorillard

Tobacco Co., 17 F. Supp. 3d 760, 768-70 (N.D. Ill. 2014)

(determining whether the addition of asbestos

material was “foreseeable” by asking whether addition

of asbestos- containing materials was “inevitable,” and

whether those added materials were “necess[ary]” or

“essential” to the manufacturer’s product); Chicano v.

Gen. Elec. Co., 2004 WL 2250990, at *6 (E.D. Pa.

Oct. 5, 2004) (asking if the addition of asbestos-

containing materials was “foreseeable”).?

In addressing this question, we (1) examine the

doctrinal roots of the bare-metal defense, and

(2) address how it should be applied in Devries and

McAfee’s negligence actions.

A.

The doctrinal root of the bare-meta! defense has

proved to be a particularly vexing question. Some

2 Illustrative of the unsettled status of this issue, we recently

certified to the Pennsylvania Supreme Court the question of

whether under Pennsylvania law a manufacturer of a product can

assert the bare metal defense in the context of a negligent failure

to warn claim arising out of exposure to asbestos. See In re

Asbestos Products Liability Lit. (No. VI), Crane Co., No. 16-3704

(3d Cir. Sept. 27, 2017) (Petition for Certification of Question of

State Law).

Whether, under Pennsylvania law, a manufacturer has a duty to

warn about the asbestos-related hazards of component parts it

has neither manufactured nor supplied.

If such a duty exists, what is the appropriate legal test to

determine whether the company is in fact liable for failing to

warn about the risks of asbestos?

Id. at 11.

7a

courts have rooted the defense in causation: When if

ever can it be said that a bare-metal manufacturer

causes an asbestos-related injury? See, e.g., Thurmon

v. Ga. Pac., LLC, 650 F. App’x 752, 756 (11th Cir. 2016)

(“the ‘bare metal defense’ is, essentially, a causation

argument”). Others locate the defense in duty: Cana

manufacturer’s duty to act with reasonable care with

respect to reasonably foreseeable risks and plaintiffs,

be said to extend to asbestos-related injuries? See, e.g.,

Quirin, 17 F. Supp. 3d at 767-70 (reviewing the issue

as one of “legal duty’). The question is more than

academic. If the elemental root is duty, the defense

should be expected to operate differently in strict

liability as compared to negligence, because a

defendant’s duty of course differs between the two

types of actions. See Chesher v. 3M Co., 234 F. Supp.

3d, 693, 700-03 (D.S.C. 2017) (holding that the defense

should apply in a weaker fashion in a negligence

action, as compared to strict liability). The opposite

might be true too—the defense should operate in

similar fashion in both negligence and strict liability if

it is rooted in causation, because the proximate cause

inquiry cuts across the two types of actions. See, e.g.,

Lindstrom, 424 F.3d at 492 (suggesting the defense

applies similarly under “both negligence and strict

liability theories”).

We find that both approaches are correct: the

defense is rooted in both duty and cause because its

keystone is the concept of foreseeability. When parties

debate the bare-metal defense, they debate when and

whether a manufacturer could reasonably foresee that

its actions or omissions would cause the plaintiff's

asbestos-related injuries. The bright-line rule

approach says it is never reasonably foreseeable, and

8a

the fact-specific standard approach says it sometimes

is. This debate over foreseeability sounds in both duty

and cause, because foreseeability is a concept

embedded in each element. See Gibbs v. Ernst, 647

A.2d 882, 891 (Pa. 1994) (highlighting “the common

law notion of foreseeability as found in the concepts of

duty and proximate cause”). In the duty element in a

negligence action, foreseeability limits a defendant’s

liability to only the risks and plaintiffs that are

reasonably foreseeable. See Restatement (Third) of

Torts: Phys. & Emot. Harm § 7, cmt. j (2010 Am. Law

Inst.) (acknowledging “widespread use” of

foreseeability as an aspect of the duty of reasonable

care, despite the Restatement’s disagreement with

such an approach). And in proximate cause,

foreseeability limits a defendant’s liability to only the

injuries that are a reasonably foreseeable result of the

defendant’s actions. Jd. § 29, cmt.j (discussing

foreseeability as an aspect of proximate cause in both

negligence and strict-liability actions).2 Thus, the

bare-metal defense is nothing more than the concept

of foreseeability, as embedded in the duty of

reasonable care in a negligence action and the

3 Instead of starting from subject-specific asbestos cases, we

maritime and tort law, as exemplified in the most reliable

treatises and restatements. Cf. M&G Polymers USA, LLC v.

Tackett, 135 S. Ct. 926, 929-30 (2015) (abrogating a circuit's

labor-law-specific rule for contract interpretation, and calling on

lower courts in labor-law cases to still adhere to “ordinary” and

“traditional” principles of contract law); Paroline v. United States,

134 S. Ct. 1710, 1719-20 (2014) (citing, as authority for the

federal common law of proximate cause, the Restatement (Third)

of Torts, Prosser and Keeton’s treatise on torts, and LaFave's

treatise on criminal law).

9a

proximate cause standard in a negligence or strict-

liability action, as applied to the facts of a certain

subset of asbestos cases.

This dual-elemental home for the defense does not,

however, totally explain when or whether the

defense’s application should differ from strict-liability

to negligence. It might be that the defense could apply

the same in both types of actions, because of the

shared proximate-cause element. Or the differences

in the two actions’ duty elements might mean the

defense is more forceful in one action than the other.

See, e.g., Chesher, 234 F. Supp. 3d at 700-03 (holding

that the defense is weaker in negligence and stronger

in strict liability, because in strict liability the

manufacturer's duty is limited to the product, but with

negligence the duty extends further); Bell v. Foster

Wheeler Energy Corp., No. 15-6394, 2016 WL 5780104,

at *5-7 (E.D. La. Oct. 4, 2016) (same). And of course

the facts of a given case could be the most important

variable.

We need not settle these doctrinal distinctions

today, because Devries and McAfee waived their strict

liability claim in this appeal. As a general matter, an

appellant waives an argument in support of reversal if

it is not raised in the opening brief. McCray v. Fidelity

Nat Title Ins. Co., 682 F.3d 229, 241 (3d Cir. 2012).

Here, in this appeal Devries and McAfee focused the

entirety of their briefing on their negligence claims,

yet attempted to also incorporate their strict-liability

claim through a footnote: “By concentrating on

[negligence] issues in this brief, Appellants do not

waive any issues argued in their original briefs as to

Defendants’ liability under [the strict liability

claims].” (Appellants’ Br. at 2 n. 1). This attempt to

10a

shoehorn in an argument outside the briefs is

insufficient to raise an issue on appeal. See John

Wyeth & Brother Lid. v. CIGNA Int'l Corp., 119 F.3d

1070, 1076 n. 6 (3d Cir. 1997) (stating that “arguments

raised in passing (such as, in a footnote), but not

squarely argued, are considered waived”); see also

Skretvedt v. El. DuPont De Nemours, 372 F.3d 193,

202-04 (3d Cir. 2004) (declining to consider arguments

not properly raised and therefore waived). In

particular, it fails to give fair notice of the claims being

contested on appeal. Thus, Devries’s and McAfee’s

waiver of their strict-liability arguments means that

we will affirm the District Court’s decision to that

extent, and need not fully explore the precise contours

of the defense’s distinctions in strict liability and

negligence, beyond the unifying principle of

foreseeability.

B.

For the negligence claims, rooting the bare-metal

defense in foreseeability does not on its own resolve

the issue, because the split in authority can be

characterized as a debate over what a bare-metal

manufacturer could reasonably foresee—no asbestos-

related injuries, see, e.g., Lindstrom, 424 F.3d at 492,

494-97, or some, see, e.g., Quirin, 17 F. Supp. 3d at 769-

70.

These two choices raise familiar tradeoffs between

rules and standards.‘ A rule is a legal directive that

4 For a review of the characteristics and tradeoffs of rules and

standards, see Bryan A. Garner et al., The Law of Judicial

Precedent 78 (2016) (noting that “rules and standards . . . denote

different levels of specificity for norms” and “judicial holding{s}”);

Kathleen M. Sullivan, The Supreme Court, 1991 Term—

lla

attempts to capture a background principle into an

easy-to-apply form that is predictable and efficient. A

speed limit is a good example: its goal is road safety,

but because liability turns on speed rather than the

amorphous definition of “safety” itself, it is easier for

drivers, police, and insurers to shape their conduct

accordingly. Rules have downsides though too, in that

they necessarily result in errors of over- and under-

inclusion. In the case of the speed limit, it furthers the

policy of road safety, but does so imperfectly: speedy

drivers get punished even if they speed safely, and

slow drivers go free even if they amble along

haphazardly.

A standard, on the other hand, collapses the

background principle into the actual legal directive,

resulting in better accuracy and “fit” with the

underlying purpose, and fewer errors of over- and

under-inclusion. Another road-safety example would

be a reckless-driving prohibition that simply prohibits

driving that is “reckless.” Such a prohibition is less

predictable and efficient than the speed limit, in that

it is harder to predict what a decisionmaker will find

to be “reckless” than whether he or she will agree that

76 miles per hour exceeds a 70 m.p.h. speed limit. But

liability better tracks the actual goal of road safety,

because almost all “reckless” drivers are unsafe.

The point is there are tradeoffs, and courts face

those tradeoffs in choosing an approach to the bare-

metal defense. The rule-based approach is efficient

and _ predictable—bare-metal manufacturers are

simply not liable—but the downside is some deserving

Foreword: The Justices of Rules and Standards, 106 Harv. L.

Rev. 22, 58-59 (1992).

12a

sailor-plaintiffs will not receive their due. On the

other hand, the standard-based approach is bound to

be less predictable and less efficient, because the

standard’s fact-centered nature will push more cases

into discovery, see, e.g., Quirin, 17 F. Supp. 3d at 771-

72 (denying defendant’s motion to dismiss after

applying the standard), but the most-deserving sailor-

plaintiffs are less likely to be denied compensation.

Thankfully, we do not weigh these tradeoffs in a

vacuum. Maritime law is undergirded by established

principles, at least four of which are implicated here.

First and perhaps foremost, maritime law is deeply

concerned with the protection of sailors, due to a

historic and “special solicitude for the welfare of those

men who undertook to venture upon hazardous and

unpredictable sea voyages.” Moragne v. States Marine

Lines, Inc., 398 U.S. 375, 387 (1970). This “special

solicitude” developed “unknown to the common law,”

and so maritime law is at times more lenient toward a

sailor than a state’s common law may be to a similarly-

situated plaintiff. Jd. This divergence is acceptable if

not appropriate because the “humane and liberal

character of” maritime law counsels that it is better “to

give than to withhold the remedy” wherever

“established and inflexible rules” do not require

otherwise. Id. (quoting The Sea Gull, 21 F. Cas. 909,

910 (C.C. Md. 1865)). For example, in Moragne v.

States Marine Lines, the Supreme Court made it

permissible for maritime plaintiffs to bring wrongful

death actions even though the common law

disapproved of such actions. 398 U.S. at 381-88, 408-

09. In arriving at that holding, the Court explicitly

referenced and discussed maritime law’s special

solicitude for sailor safety and how that solicitude

13a

permitted maritime law to have more sailor-friendly

rules than the common law. Id. at 386-88.5

Here, maritime law’s special solicitude for sailors’

safety similarly favors the adoption of the standard-

like approach to the bare-metal defense. A standard

will permit a greater number of deserving sailors to

receive compensation, and compensation that is closer

to what they deserve. Given that results for sailor-

victims will differ under a rule as compared to a

standard, and since no “established” or “inflexible”

rule prohibits the more forgiving standard, the

“humane and liberal character” of maritime law

counsels that we follow the standard. Even if certain

states’ common laws would call for a more stringent

rule, maritime law’s more liberal attitude permits us

to diverge from that path.

Second, maritime law is built on “traditions of

simplicity and practicality,” Kermarec v. Compagnie

Generale Transatlantique, 358 U.S. 625, 631 (1959),

but that principle cuts in both directions and does not

provide much guidance. On one hand, “simplicity”

might be seen as favoring the rule-based approach,

because simplicity is related to predictability, and it is

easier to predict how a rule will apply than a standard.

On the other hand, “simplicity” could also be seen as

favoring a foreseeability-based standard, because

simplicity is related to familiarity, and foreseeability

5 Moragne’s holding was based most directly on principles

other than the special solicitude for sailor safety, but the special

solicitude was still crucial to the Court's decision because it

explained why the Court’s ruling was appropriate even though it

likely diverged from the common law. Moragne, 398 U.S. at 386-

88.

l4a

is such a familiar and key part of tort law. See id. at

631-32 (choosing to adopt a familiar standard over a

“foreign” and “alien” rule while invoking maritime

law’s “traditions of simplicity and practicality”).

The third and fourth principles implicated in this

case are also not particularly helpful. Maritime law

has a “fundamental interest” in “the protection of

maritime commerce,” Exxon Corp. v. Cent. Gulf Lines,

Inc., 500 U.S. 603, 608 (1991) (quoting Sisson v. Ruby,

497 U.S. 358, 367 (1990)), and seeks out “uniform rules

to govern conduct and liability,” Foremost Ins. Co. v.

Richardson, 457 U.S. 668, 674-75 (1982). Here, the

parties all argue these two principles encourage the

Court to side with whatever side is winning in the split

in authority. The idea is that the sooner one side wins

out over the other, the sooner the split in authority is

ended and the goals of seamless commerce and

uniformity of rules will be achieved. The rub, however,

is determining which view is the majority. The bright-

line rule could be said to be in the lead because it has

on its side the Sixth Circuit, the only court of appeals

to weigh in. Lindstrom, 424 F.3d at 492, 494-97. The

standard could similarly be said to be the majority

view because the courts that have confronted the

question most recently have generally favored the

standard, and have done so after a much more

thorough analysis than that found in the Sixth

Circuit’s opinion in Lindstrom, which was decided

much earlier in ihe debate over the bare-metal

defense. Compare Chesher, 234 F. Supp. 3d at 696-712

(analyzing in painstaking detail the split in authority

and adopting a version of the standard); Bell, 2016 WL

5780104, at *3-7 (same), with Lindstrom, 424 F.3d at

494-97 (not mentioning the split in authority). We

l5a

need not decide which approach is winning in terms of

wins and losses— it is enough that the score is too close

for us to say that the goals of seamless commerce and

rule-uniformity push in one way or the other.

In sum, the special solicitude for the safety and

protection of sailors is dispositive, because it counsels

us to follow the standard-based approach, and none of

the other principles weigh heavily in either direction.

The standard-based approach is the one we will

therefore follow: foreseeability is the touchstone of the

bare-metal defense; a manufacturer of a bare-metal

product may be held liable for a plaintiffs injuries

suffered from later-added asbestos-containing

materials if the facts show the plaintiff's injuries were

a reasonably foreseeable result of the manufacturer's

failure to provide a reasonable and adequate warning;

and although cases will necessarily be fact-specific,

already-decided precedents show, for example, that a

bare-metal manufacturer may be subject to liability if

it reasonably could have known, at the time it placed

its product into the stream of commerce, that

(1) asbestos is hazardous,® and

(2) its product will be used with an asbestos-

containing part,’ because

(a) the product was originally equipped with an

asbestos containing part that could reasonably be

expected to be replaced over the product's lifetime,"

6 See Bell, 2016 WL 5780104, at *5.

7 See id.

8 See Chesher, 234 F. Supp. 3d at 714; Quirin, 17 F. Supp. 3d

at 769-71.

l6a

(b) the manufacturer specifically directed that

the product be used with an asbestos-containing

part,’ or

(c) the product required an asbestos-containing

part to function properly. '°

These may or may not be the only facts on which

liability can arise. The finer contours of the defense,

and how it should be applied to various sets of facts,

must be decided on a case-by-case basis.

IV.

Finally, the Manufacturers advanced two

alternative arguments in support of an affirmance on

the negligence claims. They argued (1) insufficient

evidence had been presented as to causation and was

fatal to Devries and McAfee’s claims, and (2) the

government-contractor defense should insulate the

Manufacturers from liability. These arguments were

also presented below, but the District Court declined

to rule on them because its bare-metal-defense holding

was sufficient to enter summary judgment in favor of

the Manufacturers. The Manufacturers urge us to

address them now. on the grounds that we may affirm

a judgment for a>., reason supported by the record.

Brightwell v. Lehman, 637 F.3d 187, 191 (3d Cir.

2011). Addressing alternative grounds for affirmance,

however, is a matter left to our discretion. See Gov't of

the V.1. v. Walker, 261 F.3d 370, 376-77 (3d Cir. 2001)

(declining to reach arguments raised before but not

decided by the lower court, and instead remanding).

9 See Bell, 2016 WL 5780104, at *5, 7.

10 See Chesher, 234 F. Supp. 3d at 714; Quirin, 17 F. Supp. 3d

at 769-70.

17a

Given that we are without the benefit of the District

Court’s well-regarded expertise, and the parties’

briefing and oral argument was appropriately focused

on the bare-metal defense, we will leave the

insufficient-evidence and contractor-defense

arguments to be dealt with on remand.

Vv.

In conclusion, maritime law’s special solicitude for

the safety and protection of sailors counsels us to

adopt a standard-based approach to the bare-metal

defense that permits a plaintiff to recover, at least in

negligence, from a manufacturer of a bare-metal

product when the facts show the plaintiffs injuries

were a reasonably foreseeable result of the

manufacturer’s conduct. We will affirm the decision of

the District Court with respect to Devries and

McAfee’s strict liability claims, and remand for further

proceedings on their negligence claims consistent with

this Opinion.

18a

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF

PENNSYLVANIA

KENNETH E. MCAFEE, CONSOLIDATED

et al. UNDER MDL 875

v. E.D. PA CIVIL

20TH CENTURY GOVE ACTION NO.

CORP. OF TEXAS, et al 13-CV-06856

ORDER

AND NOW, this 25th day of May, 2016, upon

receipt of the Third Circuit Court of Appeal’s May 11,

2016 remand order seeking this Court’s guidance as to

whether, in granting summary judgment in favor of

Ingersoll-Rand & Company on October 22, 2014 (ECF

No. 218), it:

(1) considered the negligence theory, (2) concluded

that the bare metal defense applies to it and why, or

(3) considered whether the circumstances listed in

the cases cited herein should apply to a negligence

claim brought under maritime law (and if not, why

not, and if so, why and whether the record here

would support such a claim)

In re: Asbestos Products, Docket No. 15-02667, Doc. 35

(3d Cir. Jul 16, 2015), it is hereby ORDERED that

this Court REAFFIRMS its October 22, 2014 entry of

19a

judgment and directs any interested parties to its

reasoning set forth in its May 19, 2016 explanatory

order in Devries v. General Electric Co., 13-cv-474 Doc.

369 which responds directly to these questions and

explains how the Court considers a Plaintiff's

negligence claim in the maritime context and why it

applies the so called “bare metal defense” thereto.

IT IS SO ORDERED

/s/ Eduardo Robreno

EDUARDO C. ROBRENO, J.

20a

APPENDIX C

John B. DEVRIES, et al., Plaintiffs,

v.

GENERAL ELECTRIC COMPANY, et al.,

Defendants.

CONSOLIDATED UNDER MDL 875

E.D. PA CIVIL ACTION

NO. 5:13-00474-ER

United States District Court,

E.D. Pennsylvania.

Signed May 18, 2016

Filed May 19, 2016

Robert E. Paul, Paul Reich & Myers, PC,

Philadelphia, PA, for Plaintiffs.

Stewart R. Singer, Salmon Ricchezza Singer &

Turchi LLP, Philadelphia, PA, for Defendants.

MEMORANDUM

EDUARDO C. ROBRENO, District Judge

This case was removed in January of 2013 from the

Court of Common Pleas of Philadelphia to the United

States District Court for the Eastern District of

Pennsylvania, where it became part of the

consolidated asbestos products liability multidistrict

litigation (MDL 875). The basis of jurisdiction is

2la

federal question jurisdiction (pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1442).

Plaintiffs allege that John DeVries was exposed to

asbestos from various products while serving in the

U.S. Navy during the time period 1957 to 1960. After

the completion of discovery, numerous defendants

moved for summary judgment, contending that

Plaintiffs’ evidence was insufficient to establish

causation with respect to any product(s) for which it

could be held liable. This Court determined that

maritime law was applicable to the claims against

each of the product manufacturer Defendants now

opposing Plaintiffs’ appeal' and, after applying

maritime law (including the so-called “bare metal

defense” as applied under maritime law), granted each

of these Defendants’ motions.

Plaintiffs thereafter appealed, contending that this

Court misapplied the maritime law “bare metal

defense” and, in particular, that it failed to consider

the viability of Plaintiffs’ negligence claims. By way of

Order dated February 5, 2016 (the “February 5th

Order”) (ECF No. 368 in D.C. No. 5:13-cv-474), the

United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

remanded the case to this MDL Court for explicit

consideration and clarification of the issues of whether

this MDL Court (1) considered the negligence theory

of liability when it granted summary judgment in its

entirety to the product manufacturer defendants, (2)

concluded that the “bare metal defense” applies to

claims sounding in negligence, and (3) considered

| These product manufacturer Defendants are: Buffalo

Pumps, Inc., CBS Corporation, Foster Wheeler LLC, General

Electric Company, IMO Industries, Inc., and Warren Pumps.

22a

whether the circumstances of the present case

warrant application of the legal rationale by which

certain other courts’ decisions (identified in the

February 5th Order) exempted negligence claims from

being barred by the defense. As directed by the

February 5th Order, the Court hereby clarifies its

application of the so-called “bare metal defense,” as

recognized by maritime law, to claims brought by

Plaintiffs against the appealing product manufacturer

Defendants.

I. Background and History Surrounding

the MDL’s Adoption of the Maritime

Law “Bare Metal Defense”

By way of the decision in Conner v. Alfa Laval, Inc.,

842 F.Supp.2d 791 (E.D.Pa. 2012) (Robreno, J.), this

MDL Court adopted the so-called “bare metal defense”

as applied by the United States Court of Appeals for

the Sixth Circuit in two separate maritime law cases:”

2 In addition, the Court notes that, at the time of its decision

to adopt the Lindstrom rule in February of 2012, the “bare meta!

defense” (although not necessarily identified with that coinage)

had already been considered by a magistrate judge in the MDL,

who had issued a Report and Recommendation that reached the

Holdings, Inc., No. 09-64399, 2011 WL 346822, at *6 (E.D.Pa.

Jan. 13, 2011) (Strawbridge, M.J.). The Court accepted and

adopted the recommendation, and applied it in deciding summary

judgment motions in Sweeney v. Saberhagen Holdings, Inc.,

No. 09-64399, 2011 WL 359696 (E.D.Pa. Feb. 3, 2011) (Robreno,

J.), Delatte v. A.W. Chesterton Co., No. 0969578 (multiple

summary judgment motions decided, e.g. 2011 WL 4910416

(E.D.Pa. Feb. 28, 2011) (Robreno, J.)), and Ferguson v. Lorillard

Tobacco Co., Inc., No. 09-91161 (multiple summary judgment

23a

Lindstrom v. A-C Product Liability Trust, 424 F.3d

488 (6th Cir.2005) and Stark v. Armstrong World

Industries, Inc., 21 Fed.Appx. 371 (6th Cir.2001)°—

decisions consistent with, and bolstered by, the then-

governing‘ decisions on the issue under California and

Washington state law. At the time of this MDL

Court’s decision in Conner, the Sixth Circuit was the

only federal appellate court to have considered the so-

motions decided, e.g., 2011 WL 4910416 (E.D.Pa. Mar. 2, 2011)

(Robreno, J.)).

3 Stark, standing alone, does not provide a comprehensive

outline of the “bare metal defense” and its application under

maritime law because it addresses only strict liability claims

(while acknowledging the possibility of negligent failure-to-warn

claims apparently not pursued by that plaintiff). 21 Fed_Appx. at

374-75. Nonetheless, it begins the development of the defense

under maritime law and is cited repeatedly by the Sixth Circuit

in Lindstrom, which further expounds upon the rules of law

underlying the “defense.”

* As this MDL Court acknowledged in Schwartz v. Abex Corp.,

106 F.Supp.3d 626 (E.D.Pa.2015) (Robreno, J.), “the Supreme

Court of Washington appears to have since retreated somewhat

from its earlier adoption of the so-called ‘bare metal! defense’ in

Simonetta |v. Viad Corp., 165 Wash.2d 341, 197 P.3d 127

(Wash.2008),] and Braaten |v. Saberhagen Holdings, 165

Wash.2d 373, 198 P.3d 493 (Wash.2008)j... [by later]

distinguish|[ing] the facts in Macias v. Saberhagen Holdings, Inc.,

175 Wash.2d 402, 282 P.3d 1069 (Wash.2012), and holding that a

product manufacturer can at least sometimes be liable for failure

to warn of the hazards of asbestos exposure that necessarily

occurs as a result of the intended use of the product for the

purpose for which it was designed — even if the product itself did

not contain asbestos when manufactured and supplied, and the

asbestos was released from another manufacturer's product.”

However, at the time of this MDL Court’s February 1, 2012

adoption of the “bare metal defense” under maritime law, the

defense was still the clear governing rule in Washington.

24a

called “bare metal defense” under maritime law (or

any other law) in the context of asbestos litigation.

The only two states whose highest courts had

considered the issue in the context of asbestos

litigation were California (in O'Neil v. Crane Co., 53

Cal.4th 335, 135 Cal. Rptr.3d 288, 266 P.3d 987 (2012))

and Washington (in Simonetta v. Viad Corp., 165

Wash.2d 341, 197 P.3d 127 (Wash.2008), and Braaten

v. Saberhagen Holdings, 165 Wash.2d 373, 198 P.3d

493 (Wash.2008)).5

In deciding to adopt the decisions of the Sixth

Circuit, this MDL Court was mindful that—unlike the

present case presented by the DeVries Plaintiffs—the

bulk of the thousands of asbestos cases pending in the

MDL originated in the Sixth Circuit and would be

remanded for trial (after completion of the MDL pre-

trial process) to a district court within the Sixth

Circuit (specifically, the United States District Court

5 A short, chronological summary of appellate precedent on the

“bare metal” issue in asbestos cases (nationwide) at the time of

this MDL Court's decision in Conner is as follows: (1) Stark (6th

Cir.2001) (addressing only strict liability claims under maritime

law); (2) Lindstrom (6th Cir.2005) (addressing negligence and

strict liability claims under maritime law); (3) Simonetta

under Washington law); (4) Braaten (Wash.2008) (negligence and

strict liability claims under Washington law); (5) O'Neil

(Cal.2012) (addressing negligence and strict liability claims

under California law). Each of these decisions barred al! of the

types of claims it considered where there was no (or insufficient)

evidence of exposure to asbestos from a “product” (or component

part) that the defendant(s) either manufactured or supplied.

25a

for the Northern District of Ohio—the same district in

which Lindstrom and Stark were initially decided).®

It is true that, in general, matters of substantive

federal law (such as maritime law) are applied by an

MDL Court in accordance with the law of the Circuit

in which it sits (in the case of this MDL, the law of the

Third Circuit). See, e.g., Various Plaintiffs v. Various

Defendants (“The Oil Field Cases”), 673 F.Supp.2d

358, 363 n. 3 (E.D.Pa.2009) (Robreno, J.) (“in cases

where jurisdiction is based on federal question, this

Court, as the transferee court, will apply federal law

as interpreted by the Third Circuit”); Jn re Korean Air

Lines Disaster, 829 F.2d 1171, 1178 (D.C.Cir.1987);

Menowitz v. Brown, 991 F.2d 36, 40-41 (2d Cir.1993)

(“a transferee federal court should apply its

interpretations of federal law, not the constructions of

federal law of the transferor circuit”); In re

Temporomandibular Joint (TMJ) Implant Prod. Liab.

Litig., 97 F.3d 1050, 1055 (8th Cir.1996) (holding that

“Iwilhen analyzing questions of federal law, the

transferee court should apply the law of the circuit in

which it is located”); Newton v. Thomason, 22 F.3d

1455, 1460 (9th Cir. 1994); Murphy v. F.D.LC., 208

F.3d 959, 965-66 (1 1th Cir.2000); see also In re Donald

J. Trump Casino Securities Litigation-Taj Mahal

Litigation, 7 F.3d 357, 368 n. 8 (3d Cir.1993)

(assuming without deciding that the district court

correctly applied Jn re Korean Air Lines Disaster, 829

F.2d at 1176, in holding that Third Circuit precedent

would control interpretations of federal law, but that

6 Specifically, these are the cases that comprise the MDL-875

maritime docket (often referred to as “MARDOC”). No. 2:02-md-

00875 (master docket).

26a

the law of the transferor circuit merited close

consideration); Eckstein v. Balcor Film Investors, 8

F.3d 1121, 1126-27 (7th Cir.1993) (holding that a

transferee court is not required to defer to the

interpretation of federal law utilized by the transferor

court and should, generally utilize its own

independent judgment regarding the interpretation of

federal law, and concluding that, “a transferee court

should use the rule of the transferor forum,” but only

when there is a discrepancy in law between the two

forums); McMasters v. U.S., 260 F.3d 814, 819 (7th Cir.

2001) (same). Importantly, however, the matter of the

“bare metal defense” had never been squarely

addressed by the Third Circuit in the context of

asbestos litigation (or any other type of litigation).

Therefore, the matter was one of “first impression” in

the Third Circuit, for which there was no binding

precedent.

This MDL Court was mindful that applying an

interpretation of maritime law on the matter that was

inconsistent with that of the Sixth Circuit would give

rise to inconsistencies in the handling and outcome of

the thousands of cases pending in the MDL, as some

cases were being resolved in the MDL Court during

the pretrial phase (by way of summary judgment,

settlement, etc.), while, pursuant to the requirements

of 28 U.S.C. § 1407 and the Supreme Court decision in

Lexecon Inc. v. Milberg Weiss Bershad Hynes &

Lerach, 523 U.S. 26, 118 S.Ct. 956, 140 L.Ed.2d 62

(1998), those continuing on to trial in the transferor

court would receive application of maritime law by a

trial court located within the Sixth Circuit (which

would, presumably, apply its own precedents

interpreting maritime law on the matter). In all of its

27a

cases, the MDL Court has sought to ensure

consistency in the handling of cases. See In re Korean

Air Lines Disaster, 829 F.2d at 1175-76 (citing

uniformity in the application of federal law as a

primary goal in the context of a discussion of choice-of-

Circuit-law by federal transferee courts in cases

transferred to an MDL court pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1407); Menowitz v. Brown, 991 F.2d at 41 (“It would

be unwieldy, if not impossible, for a court to apply

differing rules of federal law to various related cases

consolidated before it.”).

Although the present case brought by the DeVries

Plaintiffs is not part of the maritime docket of cases

(“MARDOC”), the application of federal maritime law

therein should be consistent with—and in uniformity

with—that applied in the MARDOC cases. See id. In

setting forth guidance on this matter, now-Supreme

Court Justice Ginsburg wrote:

For the adjudication of federal claims,... “[{t]he

federal courts comprise a single system |in which

each tribunal endeavors to apply] a single body of

law|.]”

***

Application of Van Dusen in the matter before us,

we emphasize, would not produce uniformity. There

would be one interpretation of federal law for the

cases initially filed jor decided] in districts within

lone] Circuit, and an opposing interpretation for

cases filed for decided] elsewhere.... Indeed,

because there is ultimately a single proper

interpretation of federal law, the attempt to

ascertain and apply’ diverse’ circuit

interpretations simultaneously is inherently

28a

self-contradictory. Our system contemplates

differences between different states’ laws; thus a

multidistrict judge asked to apply divergent state

positions on a point of law would face a coherent, if

sometimes difficult, task. But it is logically

inconsistent to require one judge to apply

simultaneously different and _ conflicting

interpretations of what is supposed to be a

unitary federal law.

In re Korean Air Lines Disaster, 829 F.2d at 1175

76(internal citations omitted) (emphasis added). In

considering the adoption of Lindstrom’s maritime law

“bare metal defense,” this MDL Court explained in

Conner.

[W]here, as here, a defense arises under federal law

and the U.S. Supreme Court has not ruled on the

issue, the transferee court typically applies the law

of the circuit in which it sits, that is, Third Circuit

law. See, e.g., Oil Field Cases, 673 F.Supp.2d 358,

362-63 (E.D.Pa.2009) (Robreno, J.). The law of a

transferor forum “merits close consideration,

but does not have stare decisis effect” on the

transferee court. Jn re Korean Air Lines Disaster of

Sept. 1, 1983, 829 F.2d 1171, 1176 (D.C.Cir.1987),

affd sub nom. Chan v. Korean Air Lines, Ltd., 490

U.S. 122, 109 S.Ct. 1676, 104 L.Ed.2d 113 (1989); see

also Federal Judicial Center, Manual for Complex

Litigation § 20.132, at 222 (4th ed. 2004) (“Where

the claim or defense arises under federal law,

however, the transferee judge should consider

whether to apply the law of the transferee

circuit or that of the transferor court's

circuit... .”).

29a

842 F.Supp.2d at 794 n. 4(emphasis added).

In sum, in the absence of Third Circuit precedent on

this issue of maritime law (and the absence of any

other precedent on the matter from any United States

Court of Appeals), this court factored in (1) the goal of

uniformity of application of maritime law (both within

and beyond the MDL), (2) the fact that, at the time,

the Sixth Circuit precedent of Lindstrom was (a) the

only pronunciation of maritime law on the matter from

any federal appellate court, and (b) the “majority rule”

(i.e., in keeping with the rulings of the only two states

whose highest courts had considered the issue, and

also in keeping with an earlier recommendation by an

MDL-875 magistrate judge), and (3) policy

considerations surrounding products liability law. See

842 F.Supp.2d at 800-01. After doing so, it decided to

adopt the holdings of Lindstrom in applying the

maritime law “bare metal defense” in cases pending in

MDL-875. Since its adoption of the Lindstrom rule in

2012, the MDL Court has consistently applied the rule

in dozens of cases (and hundreds of summary

judgment motions) governed by maritime law.

Il. Application of the “Bare Metal Defense”

Under Lindstrom’s Pronunciation of

Maritime Law

A. In General

Under maritime law, as set forth in Lindstrom, a

plaintiff must show evidence of (sufficient) exposure to

asbestos from a defendant's own “product” in order to

hold a product manufacturer liable under any theory

of liability (whether strict liability or negligence). See

Lindstrom, 424 F.3d at 492, 496-97. Necessarily,

then, maritime law imposes no duty upon a product

30a

manufacturer to warn of the dangers associated with

another manufacturer's “product” (or component

part). See id. For this reason, there can be no liability

in negligence for asbestos exposure arising from a

product (or component part) that a manufacturer

defendant did not manufacture or supply (as a plaintiff

will not be able to establish the breach of any duty to

warn about that other product).

To be sure, despite acknowledging the availability

under maritime law of a negligence’ cause of action

against a product manufacturer, see 424 F.3d at 492,

the Lindstrom Court nonetheless explicitly stated

that, under maritime law, a product manufacturer

(such as a pump manufacturer) “cannot be held

responsible for the asbestos contained in another

product” (such as a gasket used in connection with a

pump, but which the pump manufacturer neither

manufactured nor supplied),® 424 F.3d at 496 (citing

7 For the sake of clarity, this MDL Court notes that it deems a

“negligent failure-to-warn claim” to be a type of common law

negligence claim. A separate (but related) warning-related claim

exists in strict liability (and is, under some states’ law, subject to

different analysis): defective warning and/or defective design

(insofar as the alleged defective design is a design with either no

warning or a deficient warning).

8 In Lindstrom, defendant Coffin (a pump manufacturer) was

sued for asbestos exposure arising from the following products

used in connection with its pumps: (1) external insulation, (2)

replacement gaskets, (3) original packing rings, and (4)

replacement packing rings. The Sixth Circuit held that

defendant Coffin could not be liable for asbestos in any of these

(except for the original packing rings) because there was no

evidence that they were manufactured (or supplied) by it.

Although it acknowledged that defendant Coffin would be liable

for asbestos exposure arising from the original packing rings

3la

Stark, 21 Fed.Appx. at 381), and “cannot be held

responsible for asbestos containing material that | |

was incorporated into its product post-manufacture.”®

Id. at 497 (citing Stark, 21 Fed. Appx. at 381).

Intrinsic in these holdings are the conclusions that, in

(because the evidence indicated that they were manufactured

(and/or supplied) by defendant Coffin with its pumps), Coffin

faced no liability in connection with these asbestos products,

because there was no evidence that the plaintiff was exposed to

respirable dust from these original packing rings—and, to the

contrary, there was testimony from plaintiff that the rings were

not “dusty” when he removed them (i.e., there was no evidence of

exposure to asbestos in connection with these products).

9 The Lindstrom court found that Ingersoll Rand, a defendant

who manufactured air compressors, was not liable for asbestos

exposure arising from packing material that was used in its air

compressors, but which it did not manufacture (or supply). In

explaining the rule of maritime law, the court wrote:

Even if (plaintiff) Lindstrom’s testimony is

sufficient to establish that he came in contact

with sheet packing material containing

asbestos in connection with an Ingersoll

Rand air compressor, {product manufacturer

defendant} Ingersoll Rand cannot be held

responsible for asbestos containing material that

|] was incorporated into its product post-

manufacture. See Stark, 21 Fed.Appx. at 381;

Koonce v. Quaker Safety Products & Mfg. Co., 798

F.2d 700, 715 (Sth Cir.1986). Lindstrom did not

allege that any Ingersoll Rand product itself

contained asbestos. As a result, plaintiffs-

appellants cannot show that an Ingersoll Rand

product was a substantial factor in Lindstrom’s

illness, and we therefore affirm the district

court’s grant of summary judgment in Ingersoll

Rand's favor.

424 F.3d at 497 (emphasis added).

32a

the maritime law regime, an asbestos product

manufacturer defendant (1) has no “duty” to warn

about a “product” that it did not manufacture or

supply (and has a “duty” to warn only about “products”

it manufactured or supplied), and, in keeping with this

delineation of “duty,” (2) can only be liable in

negligence if there is evidence of (a sufficient amount

of) exposure to asbestos from a “product” it

manufactured or supplied, in part because the

“causation” element is not satisfied (i.e., a “breach” of

the “duty” to warn has only “caused” the injury at

issue where the alleged asbestos exposure has arisen

from a “product” for which the maw«facturer

defendant had a “duty” to warn). See Lindstrom, 424

F.3d at 492, 496-97.'°

10 This is apparent from the Sixth Circuit's explanation and

discussion. At the risk of repetition, for the sake of clarity and to

be fully responsive to the questions posed by the Third Circuit on

remand, that discussion, verbatim, was as follows:

(1) “Even if [plaintiff] Lindstrom’s testimony is

sufficient to establish that he came in contact

with sheet packing material containing asbestos

im connection with an Ingersoll Rand air

compressor, Ingersoll Rand cannot be held

responsible for asbestos containing

material that | |] was incorporated into its

product post-manufacture. See Stark, 21

Fed.Appx. at 381; Koonce, 798 F.2d at 715.

Lindstrom did not allege that any Ingersoll Rand

product itself contained asbestos. As a result,

plaintiffs-appellants cannot show that an

Ingersoll Rand product was a substantial factor

in Lindstrom’s illness, and we therefore affirm

the district court’s grant of summary judgment in

Ingersoll Rand’s favor.” 424 F.3d at 497

(emphasis added); and

33a

In adopting the rules of Lindstrom, this MDL Court

made clear in Conner that it was aware of and had

considered the negligence claims of the plaintiffs

therein—and that it was applying the Lindstrom

rule(s) not only to the plaintiffs’ strict liability claims,

but also to their negligence claims. Specifically, the

Conner opinion stated that, “[h]Javing held as a matter

of law that a manufacturer is not liable for harm

caused by the asbestos products that it did not

manufacture or distribute . . . Defendants are entitled

to summary judgment on Plaintiffs’ products-liability

claims based on strict liability and negligence.”

842 F.Supp.2d at 803 (emphasis added). This MDL

Court’s subsequent application of Conner in dozens of

cases (including the present case) has consistently

applied the rules of Lindstrom and Conner as a bar to

both types of claims.

B. Uniform Application to Negligence

Claims and Strict Liability Claims

Maritime law (as set forth in Lindstrom and Stark)

bars both negligent failure-to-warn claims and strict

(2) “The information presented establishes that

the only asbestos-containing products, aside from

the graphite-coated packing rings, to which

Lindstrom was exposed in connection with any

Coffin Turbo products were not manufactured by

Coffin Turbo, but rather products from another

company that were attached to a Coffin product.

Coffin Turbo cannot be held responsible for

the asbestos contained in another product.”

Id. at 496 (emphasis added).

See also footnote 11 herein (discussing “duty” and “causation” as

set forth by Lindstrom), and footnote 12 herein (discussing

“product” as defined by Lindstrom).

34a

product liability claims"! in the absence of (sufficient)

evidence of exposure to asbestos from the defendant’s

1! As explained by this MDL Court in Conner, the reason the

defense applies equally and uniformly to both types of claims

under maritime law is that, under maritime law’s construction

and definition of the term “product” (i.e., that product for which

a given defendant can be liable), as set forth in Lindstrom, (there

is an inability of a plaintiff to establish causation with respect to

the defendant's “product” (i.e., a sufficient amount of exposure to

asbestos from the defendant’s product—as opposed to asbestos

from the product of another manufacturer/supplier that is used

in connection with the defendant's product but was neither

manufactured nor supplied by the defendant)), regardless of the

theory of liability underlying the claim (as a showing of causation

is required for both negligence and strict liability claims). 842

F.Supp.2d at 797 (citing Lindstrom). In Lindstrom, the Sixth

Circuit explicitly stated this rule of maritime law:

Plaintiffs in products liability cases under

maritime law may proceed under both

negligence and strict liability theories.

Under either theory, a plaintiff must

establish causation. Stark v. Armstrong World

Indus., Inc., 21 Fed.Appx. 371, 375 (6th Cir.

2001). We have required that a plaintiff

show, for each defendant, that (1) he was

exposed to the defendant’s product, and (2)

the product was a substantial factor in causing

the injury he suffered. Id.

424 F.3d at 492 (emphasis added). Implicit in this rule is the

holding that a product manufacturer has no duty to warn about

hazards arising from another manufacturer's product (or

component part). Accordingly, the MDL Court addressed

negligence claims in Conner when it declared, “this Court adopts

Lindstrom and now holds that, under maritime law, a

manufacturer is not liable for harm caused by, and owes no

duty to warn of the hazards inherent in, asbestos products

that the manufacturer did not manufacture or distribute.”

842 F.Supp.2d at 801 (emphasis added).

35a

“product” (as defined by Lindstrom).'2 To state this

differently, Lindstrom holds that, under maritime law,

a plaintiff must show evidence of (sufficient) exposure

to asbestos from a defendant’s own “product” in order

to hold a product manufacturer liable under any

theory of liability (whether strict liability or

negligence).

It follows then that, under maritime law (unlike, for

example, Pennsylvania law, as recently predicted by

this MDL Court in Schwartz v. Abex Corp., 106

F.Supp.3d 626 (E.D.Pa.2015) (Robreno, J.)"%), it is not

necessary to analyze the two types of claims

separately, as maritime law’s definition of a “product”

for which a defendant can be liable (under either

theory of liability'*) renders the defense equally and

12 The definition of “product” utilized by maritime law, as set

forth in Lindstrom, can be inferred from that court’s discussion

and handling of the claims brought against defendants Coffin and

Ingersoll Rand. (See footnotes 8 and 9 herein.) Under maritime

law, a defendant's “product” is one that it has manufactured or

supplied. This includes original component parts (i.e., component

parts supplied by the defendant in/with the product), but does not

include external insulation or replacement components parts that

were neither manufactured nor supplied by the defendant.

13 This MDL Court's prediction of Pennsylvania law, as set

forth at length in Schwartz, was driven in large part by “the

recent Pennsylvania Supreme Court decision in Tincher, which

pronounces the availability of negligence causes of action (in

addition to strict liability causes of action) against product

manufacturers,” 106 F.Supp.3d at 652, and, unlike the maritime

law rule of Lindstrom, does not explicitly premise a negligence

cause of action upon a showing of asbestos exposure arising from

the defendant's own “product.”

14 With respect to a negligence theory of liability: under

maritime law, a product manufacturer defendant has no duty to

36a

indistinguishably applicable to both types of claims.

For this reason, this Court’s decisions on Defendants’

summary judgment motions did not analyze Plaintiff's

negligence and strict liability claims separately.

Instead, upon concluding that there was no evidence

of exposure to asbestos from a given defendant's

“product(s),” simultaneously and uniformly applied

the “bare metal defense” to all claims against it.

In short, to be clear, Conner (the governing rule

applied in the present case brought by the DeVries

Plaintiffs) holds that, under maritime law (as set forth

by Lindstrom and adopted by Conner), the so-called

“defense” applies to both negligence and strict product

liability claims (as asserted against a _ product

manufacturer defendant") and bars both types of

warn about asbestos hazards arising from another

manufacturer's product (or component part) thus no negligence

cause of action (for failure to warn) can be brought against a

product manufacturer defendant for harm amsing from exposure

to another manufacturer's product (or component part). With

respect to a strict product liability theory of liability: a product

manufacturer cannot be strictly liable for a product (or

component part) that is not its own product (i.e., over which it

had no control). See Conner, 842 F.Supp.2d at 801 (citing

Lind ).

15 To the extent that a defendant in asbestos litigation has a

status other than—or in addition to—that of “product

manufacturer” (e.g., shipowner, shipbuilder, employer, etc.), the

“bare metal defense” and analysis of the “bare metal” issue are,

generally, inapplicable; and a separate and distinct analysis of

habihty (under the concept of general common law negligence

and/or other statutes, such as the Jones Act) is likely warranted

and appropriate. See, eg., Mack v. General Electric Co., 896

F Supp.2d 333, 346 (E.D.Pa. 2012) (Robreno, J.) (holding that,

under maritime law, a Navy ship is not a “product” for purposes

of strict product liability law), and Filer v. Foster Wheeler LLC.

37a

claims where there is no evidence (or insufficient

evidence) of exposure to asbestos from the defendant's

“product.”

Ill. Maritime Law Versus State Law:

Differing Applications of the “Bare

Metal Defense”

Maritime law (as set forth in Lindstrom) has

established a bright-line rule regarding the

“product(s)” for which a product manufacturer can be

liable. This rule requires that a plaintiff establish

(sufficient) exposure to asbestos from the defendant's

own “product” in order to maintain either a negligence

or strict liability claim (thus holding (implicitly) that a

product manufacturer defendant has no duty to warn

about any product that is not its own “product”).'®

None of the circumstances or exceptions identified in

the February 5th Order (and its citation to numerous

decisions from other courts) impacts the analysis of

Plaintiffs’ maritime law claims against the present

appealing Defendants (all of whom are product

manufacturer defendants).'’ This is because, with one

994 F.Supp.2d 679, 687-95 (E.D.Pa.2012) (Robreno, J.) (holding

that, under maritime law, the builder of a Navy ship owes a

common law duty to exercise reasonable care under the

circumstances, in issuing warnings to Navy seaman (and others)

of the hazards of asbestos present aboard the Navy ships they

build).

16 See footnotes 11 and 12 herein.

'T The Court notes that the four (4) circumstances outlined by

the February 5th Order compnse an effort of the various courts

to distill into a rule of law (for application in the context of an

asbestos action) the “knew or should have known” requirement

that generally exists for a common law negligence cause of action

(and, in particular, a negligent failure-to-warn claim) brought

38a

exception, the cases cited by the February 5th Order

all involved application of a given state’s law, rather

than maritime law. See Surre v. Foster Wheeler LLC,

831 F.Supp.2d 797 (S.D.N.Y.2011) (New York law);

O'Neil, 53 Cal.4th 335, 135 Cal. Rptr.3d 288, 266 P.3d

987 (California law); May v. Air & Liquid Sys. Corp.,

446 Md. 1, 129 A.3d 984 (Md.2015) (Maryland law);

Sparkman v. Goulds Pumps, Inc., No. 1202957, 2015

WL 727937 (D.S.C. Feb. 19, 2015) (South Carolina

law); In re New York City Asbestos Litig., 121 A.D.3d

230, 990 N.Y.S.2d 174 (2014) (New York law); Braaten,

165 Wash.2d 373, 198 P.3d 493 (Washington law);

against a product manufacturer in a product liability action (and,

specifically, the element of “duty” that a plaintiff contends has

been breached). See 57A Am. Jur. 2d Negligence §§ 357, 359

(“Duty to Warn. Generally” (§ 357) (‘A person who controls an

instrumentality or agency that he or she knows or should know

to be dangerous and which creates a foreseeable peri! to others

has, if the danger is not obvious and apparent, a duty to give

warning of the danger”); “Duty to Warn. Foreseeability” (§ 359)

(lf a product has dangerous propensities, a duty to warn

generally arises where there is unequal knowledge, either actual!

or constructive, with respect to the risk of harm, and the

defendant, possessed of such knowledge, knows or should know

that harm might occur absent a warning.”)).

Importantly, however, none of the rules/circumstances identified

by the February 5th Order impacts the viability of a negligent

failure-to-warn claim brought under maritime law, because of the

fact that, under maritime law, an asbestos product manufacturer

defendant (1) has no “duty” to warn about a “product” that it did

not manufacture or supply (and has a “duty” to warn only about

“products” it manufactured or supplied), and, in keeping with this

delineation of “duty,” (2) can only be liable in negligence if there

is evidence of (a sufficient amount of) exposure to asbestos from

a “product” it manufactured or supplied, in part because the

“causation” element is not satisfied. See Lindstrom, 424 F.3d at

492, 496-97.

39a

Schwartz, 106 F.Supp.3d 626 (Pennsylvania law);

Macias, 175 Wash.2d 402, 282 P.3d 1069 (Washington

law). The rule of law set forth in each of these cases

reflects a policy determination of that particular

state—a policy determination which need not be

consistent with the policy determination underlying

maritime law.'* See East River Steamship Corp. v.

Transamerica Delaval, Inc., 476 U.S. 858, 864— 66, 106

S.Ct. 2295, 90 L.Ed.2d 865 (1986) (absent a controlling

statute, maritime law is “developed by the judiciary”

and reflects, inter alia, “public policy judgment|s]”);

Mack v. General Electric Co., 896 ¥ Supp.2d 333, 338

(E.D.Pa.2012) (Robreno, J.) (discussing policy

18 As explained by this Court in Schwartz, “whether or not a

given ... law recognizes the so-called ‘bare metal defense’... is

a matter determined largely by how that [jurisdiction] defines the

‘product’ at issue. As such, the determination is largely a matter

of policy.” 106 F.Supp.3d at 635-37.

Moreover, maritime law is concerned with promoting uniformity

in the law of the sea. See Miles v. Apex Marine Corp., 498 U.S.

19, 111 S.Ct. 317, 112 L.Ed.2d 275 (1990) (discussing Moragne v.

States Marine Lines, Inc., 398 U.S. 375, 401, 90 S.Ct. 1772, 26

L.Ed.2d 339 (1970)); Miller v. American President Lines, Lid., 989

F.2d 1450, 1462 (6th Cir. 1993). The interests of maritime law

are separate and different from those of land-based law. See e.z.,

Mack v. General Electric Co., 896 F Supp.2d 333, 338

(E.D.Pa.2012) (Robreno, J.); Norfolk Southern Railway Co. v.

Kirby, 543 U.S. 14, 25-19, 125 S.Ct. 385, 394-96, 160 L.Ed.2d 283

(2004); Cobb Coin Co., Inc. v. Unidentified, Wrecked and

Abandoned Sailing Vessel, 525 F.Supp. 186, 201— 03

(S.D.Fla.1981). As such, it need not—and likely should not—

conform to states’ policy determinations where doing so would

inconsistencies across the Third and Sixth Circuits in the

apphcation of mantime law in—and accompanying resolution

of —virtually identical asbestos cases).

40a

considerations unique to maritime law); Norfolk

Southern Railway Co. v. Kirby, 543 U.S. 14, 25-19, 125

S.Ct. 385, 394-96, 160 L.Ed.2d 283 (2004) (same);

Cobb Coin Co., Inc. v. Unidentified, Wrecked and

Abandoned Sailing Vessel, 525 F.Supp. 186, 201-03

(S.D.Fla.1981) (same).

The sole maritime law case cited by the February

5th Order is Quirin v. Lorillard Tobacco Co., 17

F Supp.3d 760 (N.D.TIL. 2014), which was decided two

years after this MDL Court’s decision in Conner. The

Court has reviewed Judge Gottschall’s thorough and

well-reasoned decision in Quirin and has identified

the source of divergence between the Conner and

Quirin decisions: Quirin is premised on Judge

Gottschall’s construction of the Lindstrom decision as

one that “did not discuss a failure to warn claim,” 17

F Supp.3d at 768, leading Judge Gottschall to proceed

with setting forth maritime law as to such a claim,

while Conner has construed Lindstrom as already

encompassing the rule of law on negligent failure-to-

warn claims (as well as strict liability defective

design/warning claims)}—a rule consistent with those

set forth regarding state law in O'Neil, Simonetta, and

Braaten——decisions which each considered and relied

upon Lindstrom in determining its respective rule of

law regarding negligent failure-to-warn.'®

'9 Specifically, in Conner, this MDL Court explained that, in

addition to strict liability for defective design/warning, “

eneiliaines te dbte Uli te Ges hese saniien haw Gn

negligent failure to warn of the risks created by its products.”

842 F.Supp.2d at 797 (emphasis added). It relied on Lindstrom

in setting forth the applicable rule of law:

“In determining whether Defendant

manufacturers are liable under maritime law for

Ala

injuries caused by asbestos parts used with their

products, whether in strict liability or

negligence, a plaintiff must establish

causation with respect to each defendant

manufacturer. See Lindstrom v. A-C Prod.

Liab. Trust, 424 F.3d 488, 492 (6th Cir.2005). A

plaintiff establishes causation under

maritime law by showing (1) that the plaintiff

was exposed to the defendant's product and

(2) that the product was a substantial factor in

causing the plaintiff's injury. See id.”

id. (emphasis added). It concluded that this construction was

accurate, in part, because of the decisions in O'Neil, Simonetta,

and Braaten, each of which considered Lindstrom as instructive

and persuasive precedent regarding a negligent failure-to-warn

claim. A summary of the relevant aspect of each of those three

cases is as follows:

After considering Lindstrom, O'Neil found that there is “no duty

to warn of defects in another manufacturer's product” and “no

duty of care to prevent injuries from another manufacturer's

product,” because “|t}he same policy considerations that militate

against imposing strict liability in this situation apply with equal

force in the context of negligence.” 135 Cal. Rptr.3d 288, 266 P.3d

at 997, 1006-07.

The Simonetta court found Lindstrom to be the precedent most

factually similar to the case before it, and held that, “[blecause

jevaporator manufacturer defendant] Viad was not in the chain

of distribution of the dangerous product [i.e., asbestos-containing

insulation used with the evaporator], we conclude not only that it

had no duty to warn under negligence, but also that it cannot be

strictly liable for failure to warn.” 197 P.3d at 138.

Extending the holding of Simonetta to replacement parts, the

Supreme Court of Washington noted in Braaten that Lindstrom

was “particularly instructive,” and held that a _ valve

manufacturer defendant (Henry Vogt) had “no duty under

common law products lability or neghgence principles to warn of

the dangers of exposure to asbestos in products it did not

manufacture and for which the manufacturer was not in the

chain of distribution. These holdings apply here and foreclose

42a

In short, the rules of law surrounding the

circumstances identified by the February 5th Order

are creatures of state law —and determinations of

state policy—that are not applicable under maritime

law (as construed by this MDL Court to have been set

forth in Lindstrom and Stark).

IV. Summary and Conclusion

In adopting the so-called “bare metal defense” under

maritime law (as set forth in Lindstrom) and applying

it to subsequent MDL cases (including the present

case), this MDL Court (1) has considered plaintiffs’

negligent failure-to-warn claims, (2) has determined

that, when applicable, the defense (as set forth by

Lindstrom) bars both strict liability and negligent

failure-to-warn claims, and (3) has concluded that

maritime law’s application of the defense (as

illustrated by Lindstrom) rejects potential liability of

a product manufacturer in negligence for products (or

component parts) that it did not manufacture or

supply (i.e., rejects separate and different analyses of

negligence liability and strict liability).

the plaintiffs products liability and negligence claims based

on failure to warn of the danger of exposure to asbestos (|)

in insulation applied to pumps and valves the defendant.

manufacturers sold to the navy, where the manufacturers did not

manufacture or sell the insulation and were not in the chain of

distribution of it and (2) in replacement packing and gaskets

installed in or connected to the pumps and valves after

they were installed aboard ships, where the

manufacturers did not manufacture or sell the

replacement packing and gaskets and were not in the

chain of distribution of these products.” 198 P.3d at 504

(emphasis added).

43a

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 15-2667

IN RE: ASBESTOS PRODUCTS LIABILITY

LITIGATION (NO. VI)

Shirley McAfee, individually and as

Executrix of the Estate of Kenneth McAfee,

Appellant

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF

PENNSYLVANIA

(D.C. No. 5-13-cv-06856)

District Judge: Hon. Gerald J. Pappert

Submitted: May 11, 2016

44a

Before: VANASKIE, SHWARTZ, and RESTREPO,

fieealt Baden

ORDER

Kenneth McAfee (“Mr. McAfee”) and Shirley

McAfee brought strict products liability and

negligence claims against a group of manufacturers

including Ingersoll-Rand & Company, (“Ingersoll”),

alleging that Mr. McAfee contracted lung cancer in

part due to his contact with asbestos-containing

products used with Ingersoll compressors aboard

United States Navy ships. Because Mr. McAfee’s

exposure to asbestos occurred while aboard Navy

vessels on navigable waters, his claims are governed

by maritime law.

The District Court granted Ingersoll’s motion for

summary judgment. It applied the so-called “bare

metal defense,” under which a manufacturer cannot be

held liable for injuries attributable to a product that it

did not manufacture or distribute, App. 11, 14, and

concluded that the evidence did not show that McAfee

was exposed to asbestos products manufactured or

sold by Ingersoll and hence could not prove that

Ingersoll’s products caused his injury. App. 14 (noting

that while “[t]here is evidence that [Mr. McAfee] was

exposed to respirable dust from asbestos-containing

gaskets, packing, and insulation used in connection

with various Ingersoll compressors ...{and] that

Ingersoll anticipated (and perhaps’ ever

recommended) use of [such] asbestos-containing

[parts] ... there is no evidence that Mr. McAfee was

45a

exposed to [asbestos from parts actually] supplied by

Ingersoll”).

In reaching its decisions, the District Court relied

upon Conner v. Alfa Laval, Inc., 842 F. Supp. 2d 791

(E.D. Pa. 2012), in which the District Court surveyed

various cases as well as the Restatement (Second) of

Torts § 402A (1965), which sets forth a theory of strict

liability. See also Schwartz v. Abex Corp., 106

F. Supp. 3d 626, 634-35 (E.D. Pa. 2015); Simonetta v.

Viad Corp., 197 P.3d 127, 134 (Wash. 2008). While

Conner appears to hold that the bare metal defense

applies to both strict liability and negligence claims,

see Connor, 842 F. Supp. 2d at 802,' the opinion in this

case contains no specific reference to negligence.

Therefore, we are unable to determine whether the

District Court considered the negligence claim or if it

meant to apply the bare metal defense to it.

We also note that several maritime and state law

cases examining the bare metal defense have

mentioned circumstances under which a

manufacturer could potentially be liable for asbestos

parts that it did not supply. The District Judge is

1 In Conner, the District Court held that

under maritime law, a manufacturer is not liable for harm

caused by, and owes no duty to warn of the hazards inherent

in asbestos products that the manufacturer did not

manufacture or distribute. This principle is consistent with

the development of products liability law based on strict

liability and negligence .... A plaintiff's burden to prove a

defendant’s product caused harm remains the same in cases

involving third-party asbestos manufacturers as it would in

other products-liability cases based on strict liability and

negligence.

Connor, 842 F. Supp. 2d at 802.

46a

familiar with these cases and has ably examined them.

See Schwartz, 106 F. Supp. 3d at 644-48. Those

circumstances include when: (1)the defendant's

product requires asbestos components to function, see

Quirin v. Lorillard Tobacco Co., 17 F. Supp. 3d 760,

769-70 (N.D. Ill. 2014); Surre v. Foster Wheeler LLC,

831 F. Supp. 2d 797, 801-02 (S.D.N.Y. 2011); O’Neil v.

Crane Co., 266 P.3d 987, 996 (Cal. 2012); May v. Air &

Liquid Sys. Corp., 129 A.3d 984, 990-92 (Md. 2015);

(2) the defendant affirmatively specifies that asbestos

components and replacement parts be used, see

Sparkman v. Goulds Pumps, Inc., Civ. No. 2:12-cv-

02957, 2015 WL 727937, at *2-3 (D.S.C. Feb. 19,

2015); Quirin, 17 F. Supp. 3d at 769-70; O'Neil, 266

P.3d at 996; In re N.Y.C. Asbestos Litig., 990 N.Y.S.2d

174, 189-90 (N.Y. App. Div. 2014); Braaten v.

Saberhagen Holdings, 198 P.3d 493, 495-96 (Wash.

2008); (3) the defendant “knew” that the customer

would use asbestos parts with its product, see

Schwartz, 106 F. Supp. 3d at 654-55; Surre, 831 F.

Supp. 2d at 801; In re N.Y.C. Asbestos, 990 N.Y.S.2d at

196, or (4) the defendant intended that the product be

used with asbestos, see Macias v. Saberhagen

Holdings, Inc., 282 P.3d 1069, 1077 n.4 (Wash. 2012).?

Because of the District Judge’s wealth of experience

with these types of cases, and because we are unable

to determine whether the District Court:

(1) considered the negligence theory, (2) concluded

that the bare metal defense applies to it and why, or

(3) considered whether the circumstances listed in the

cases cited herein should apply to a negligence claim

2 We offer no opinion at this time whether such circumstances

provide a basis for liability in this or any case.

47a

brought under maritime law (and if not, why not, and

if so, why and whether the record here would support

such a claim), and upon consideration of the

arguments by counsel presented in their briefs, it is

hereby ordered that the case is summarily remanded

to the District Court to consider these items.

In the event that a subsequent appeal is taken after

the proceedings on remand have concluded, any future

appeal will be considered by this panel after

completion of briefing.

By the Court,

s/Patty Shwartz

Circuit Judge

Dated: May 12, 2016

PDB/cc: All Counsel of Record

48a

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 15-1278

IN RE: ASBESTOS PRODUCTS LIABILITY

LITIGATION (NO. VI)

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE EASTERN

DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

(D.C. Nos. 5-13-cv-00474 & 2-01-md-00875)

District Judge: Hon. Eduardo C. Robreno

Argued: January 29, 2016

Before: VANASKIE, SHWARTZ, and RESTREPO,

Piatt Ration

49a

ORDER

John B. and Roberta G. DeVries brought strict

products liability and negligence claims against

various manufacturers, including Air & Liquid

Systems Corp., IMO Industries, Inc., Warren Pumps,

CBS Corporation, Foster Wheeler LLC, and General

Electric Company (together, “Defendants”), based

upon the theory that Defendants failed to warn

Mr. DeVries of the dangers of handling the asbestos

insulation and parts used in conjunction with their

products, which contributed to his development of

lung cancer. Because Mr. DeVries’s exposure to

asbestos occurred while at sea on board a Navy vessel,

the claims are governed by maritime law.

The District Court granted Defendants’ motions for

summary judgment. It applied the so-called “bare

metal defense,” under which a manufacturer cannot be

held liable for injuries attributable to a product that it

did not manufacture or distribute, App. 9, 17, 25, 33,

41, 49, and concluded that the evidence did not show

that Mr. DeVries was exposed to asbestos products

manufactured or sold by Defendants and hence could

not prove that they caused his injury. App. 12, 20, 29,

36-37, 44-45, 52-53.

In reaching its decisions, the District Court relied

upon Conaer v. Alfa Laval, Inc., 842 F. Supp. 2d 791

(E.D. Pa. 2012), in which the District Court surveyed

various cases as well as the Restatement (Second) of

Torts § 402A (1965), which sets forth a theory of strict

liability. See, e.g., Schwartz v. Abex Corp., 106 F.

50a

Supp. 3d 626, 634-35 (E.D. Pa. 2015); Simonetta v.

Viad Corp., 197 P.3d 127, 134 (Wash. 2008). While

Conner appears to hold that the bare metal defense

applies to both strict liability and negligence claims,

842 F. Supp. 2d at 802,' the opinions in this case

contain no specific reference to negligence. Therefore,

we are unable to determine whether the District Court

considered the negligence claim or if it meant to apply

the bare metal defense to it.

We also note that several maritime and state law

cases examining the bare metal defense have

mentioned circumstances under which a

manufacturer could potentially be liable for asbestos

parts that it did not supply. The District Judge is

familiar with these cases and has ably examined them.

See Schwartz, 106 F. Supp. 3d at 644-49. Those

circumstances include when: (1)the defendant's

product requires asbestos components to function, see

Quirin v. Lorillard Tobacco Co., 17 F. Supp. 3d 760,

769-70 (N.D. Tl. 2014); Surre v. Foster Wheeler LLC,

831 F. Supp. 2d 797, 801-02 (S.D.N.Y. 2011); O’Neil v.

Crane Co., 266 P.3d 987, 996 (Cal. 2012); May v. Air &

! In Conner, the District Court held that

under maritime law, a manufacturer is not liable for harm

caused by, and owes no duty to warn of the hazards inherent

in asbestos products that the manufacturer did not

manufacture or distribute. This principle is consistent with

the development of products liability law based on strict

liability and negligence .... A plaintiffs burden to prove the

defendant's product caused harm remains the same in cases

involving third-party asbestos manufacturers as it would in

other products liability cases based on strict liability and

negligence.

842 F. Supp. 2d at 802.

5la

Liquid Sys. Corp., — A.3d —, 2015 WL 9263907, at *9

(Md. Dec. 18, 2015); (2) the defendant affirmatively

specifies that asbestos components and replacement

parts be used, see Sparkman v. Goulds Pumps, Inc.,

Civ. No. 2:12-cv-02957, 2015 WL 727937, at *2 (D.S.C.

Feb. 19, 2015); Quirin, 17 F. Supp. 3d at 769-70;

O'Neil, 266 P.3d at 996; In re New York City Asbestos

Litig., 990 N.Y.S.2d 174, 190 (N.Y. App. Div. 2014);

Braaten v. Saberhagen Holdings, 198 P.3d 493, 495-96

(Wash. 2008); (3) the defendant “knew” that the

customer would use asbestos parts with its product,

see Schwartz, 106 F. Supp. 3d at 654-55; Surre, 831 F.

Supp. 2d at 801; In re New York City Asbestos, 121

A.D. 3d at 259; or (4) the defendant intended that the

product be used with asbestos, Macias v. Saberhagen

Holdings, Inc., 282 P.3d 1069, 1077 n.4 (Wash. 2012).?

Because of the District Judge’s wealth of experience

with these types of cases, and because we are unable

to determine whether the District Court:

(1) considered the negligence theory, (2) concluded

that the bare metal defense applies to it and why, or

(3) considered whether the circumstances listed in the

cases cited herein should apply to a negligence claim

brought under maritime law (and if not, why not, and

if so, why and whether the record here would support

such a claim), and upon consideration of the

arguments by counsel presented in their briefs and at

oral argument, it is hereby ordered that the case is

summarily remanded to the District Court to consider

these items.

2 We offer no opinion at this time whether such circumstances

provide a basis for liability in this or any case.

52a

In the event that a subsequent appeal is taken after

the proceedings on remand have concluded, any future

appeal will be considered by this panel after

completion of briefing.

By the Court,

s/ Patty Shwartz

Circuit Judge

DATED: February 5, 2016

ARR/cc: All Counsel of Record

53a

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

MARCIA M. UNITED STATES CouRT TELEPHONE

WALDRON OF APPEALS 215-597-2995

CLERK FOR THE THIRD

CIRCUIT

21400 UNITED STATES

COURTHOUSE

601 MARKET STREET

PHILADELPHIA, PA

19106-1790

Website:

February 5, 2016

ENTRY OF JUDGMENT

Today, February 05, 2016 the Court issued a case

dispositive order in the above-captioned matter which

serves as this Court’s judgment. Fed. R. App. P. 36.

If you wish to seek review of the Court’s decision, you

may file a petition for rehearing. The procedures for

filing a petition for rehearing are set forth in Fed. R.

App. P. 35 and 40, 3rd Cir. LAR 35 and 40, and

summarized below.

Time for Filing:

14 days after entry of judgment

45 days after entry of judgment in a civil case if the

United States is a party

Page Limits:

15 pages

54a

Attachments:

A copy of the panel’s dispositive order only. No other

attachments are permitted without first obtaining

leave from the Court.

Unless the petition specifies that the petition seeks

only panel rehearing, the petition will be construed as

requesting both panel and en banc rehearing. If

separate petitions for panel rehearing and rehearing

en banc are submitted, they will be treated as a single

document and will be subject to a combined 15 page

limit. If only panel rehearing is sought, the Court’s

rules do not provide for the subsequent filing of a

petition for rehearing en banc in the event that the

petition seeking only panel rehearing is denied.

Please consult the Rules of the Supreme Court of the

United States regarding the timing and requirements

for filing a petition for writ of certiorari.

Very truly yours,

s/Marcia M. Waldron

Marcia M. Waldron, Clerk

By: /s/ Aina, Case Manager

Direct Dial: 267-299-4957

APPENDIX F

United States District Court,

E.D. Pennsylvania.

Kenneth E. McAfee, et al., Plaintiffs,

v.

20% Century Glove Corp.

of Texas, et al., Defendants.

CONSOLIDATED UNDER MDL 875

E.D. PA Civil Action No. 5:13-06856—ER

Filed 10/23/2014

ORDER

EDUARDO C. ROBRENO, District Judge.

AND NOW, this 22nd day of October, 2014, it is

hereby ORDERED that the Motion for Summary

Judgment of Defendant Ingersoll-Rand & Co. (Doc.

No. 171) is GRANTED. '

! This case was removed in November of 2013 from the Court

of Common Pleas of Philadelphia to the United States District

Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania as part of MDL-

875.

Plaintiff alleges that he was exposed to asbestos while serving in

the U.S. Navy during the time period 1969 to 1991 and while

working in the Philadelphia Naval Shir yard during the years

1991 to 1993. Defendant Ingersoll-Rand & Co. (“Ingersoll” or

“Ingersoll-Rand”) manufactured compressors used aboard ships.

The alleged asbestos exposure pertinent to Defendant occurred,

inter alia, while Plaintiff was aboard:

* USS Wanamassa

* USS Commodore

Plaintiff asserts that he developed lung cancer as a result of his

exposure to Defendant’s asbestos-containing products.

Plaintiff brought claims against various defendants. Defendant

Ingersoll has moved for summary judgment, arguing that (1)

there is insufficient evidence to establish causation with respect

to its product(s), and (2) it is entitled to summary judgment on

grounds of the bare metal! defense.

Defendant asserts that maritime law applies, while Plaintiff

contends that Pennsylvania law applies.

IL. Legal Standard

A. Summary Judgment Standard

Summary judgment is appropriate if there is no genuine dispute

as to any material fact and the moving party is entitled to

judgment as a matter of law. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(a). “A motion for

summary judgment will not be defeated by ‘the mere existence’ of

some disputed facts, but will be denied when there is a genuine

issue of material fact.” Am. Eagle Outfitters v. Lyle & Scott Ltd.,

584 F.3d 575, 581 (3d Cir. 2009) (quoting Anderson v. Liberty

Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 247-248 (1986)). A fact is “material” if

proof of its existence or non-existence might affect the outcome of

the litigation, and a dispute is “genuine” if “the evidence is such

that a reasonable jury could return a verdict for the nonmoving

party.” Anderson, 477 U.S. at 248.

In undertaking this analysis, the court views the facts in the light

most favorable to the non-moving party. “After making all

reasonable inferences in the nonmoving party’s favor, there is a

57a

genuine issue of material fact if a reasonable jury could find for

the nonmoving party.” Pignataro v. Port Auth. of N.Y. & N.J/.,

593 F.3d 265, 268 (3d Cir. 2010) (citing Reliance Ins. Co. v.

Moessner, 121 F.3d 895, 900 (3d Cir. 1997)). While the moving

party bears the initial burden of showing the absence of a genuine

issue of material fact, meeting this obligation shifts the burden

to the non-moving party who must “set forth specific facts

showing that there is a genuine issue for trial.” Anderson, 477

U.S. at 250.

B. The Applicable Law

Defendant asserts that maritime law applies. Plaintiff contends

that Pennsylvania law applies because (1) some of the alleged

exposure occurred at a shipyard and is therefore land-based, and

(2) the products at issue were designed on land in Pennsylvania.

Whether maritime law is applicable is a threshold dispute that is

a question of federal law, see U.S. Const. Art. ITI, § 2; 28 U.S.C. §

1333(1), and is therefore governed by the law of the circuit in

which this MDL court sits. See Various Plaintiffs v. Various

Defendants (“Oil Field Cases”), 673 F. Supp. 2d 358, 362 (E.D. Pa.

2009)(Robreno, J.). This court has previously set forth guidance

on this issue. See Conner v. Alfa Laval, Inc., 799 F. Supp. 2d 455

(E.D. Pa. 2011)(Robreno, J.).

In order for maritime law to apply, a plaintiffs exposure

underlying a products liability claim must meet both a locality

test and a connection test. Jd. at 463-66 (discussing Jerome B.

Grubart, Inc. v. Great Lakes Dredge & Dock Co., 513 U.S. 527,

534 (1995)). The locality test requires that the tort occur on

navigable waters or, for injuries suffered on land, that the injury

be caused by a vessel on navigable waters. /d. In assessing

whether work was on “navigable waters” (i.e., was sea-based) it

is important to note that work performed aboard a ship that is

docked at the shipyard is sea-based work, performed on navigable

waters. See Sisson v. Ruby, 497 U.S. 358 (1990). This Court has

previously clarified that this includes work aboard a ship that is

in “dry dock.” See Deuber v. Asbestos Corp. Lid., No. 10-78931,

2011 WL 6415339, at *1 n.1 (E.D. Pa. Dec. 2, 2011)(Robreno,

J.)(applying maritime law to ship in “dry dock” for overhaul). By

contrast, work performed in other areas of the shipyard or on a

dock, (such as work performed at a machine shop in the shipyard,

58a

for example, as was the case with the Willis plaintiff discussed in

Conner) is land-based work. The connection test requires that

the incident could have “ ‘a potentially disruptive impact on

maritime commerce,’ ” and that “ ‘the general character’ of the

‘activity giving rise to the incident’ shows a ‘substantial

relationship to traditional maritime activity.’ ” Grubart, 513 U.S.

at 534 (citing Sisson, 497 U.S. at 364, 365, and n.2).

Locality Test

If a service member in the Navy performed some work at

shipyards (on land) or docks (on land) as opposed to onboard a

ship on navigable waters (which includes a ship docked at the

shipyard, and includes those in “dry dock”), “the locality test

is satisfied as long as some portion of the asbestos exposure

occurred on a vessel on navigable waters.” Conner, 799 F.

Supp. 2d at 466; Deuber, 2011 WL 6415339, at *1 n.1. If,

however, the worker never sustained asbestos exposure

onboard a vessel on navigable waters, then the locality test is

not met and state law applies.

Connection Test

When a worker whose claims meet the locality test was

primarily sea-based during the asbestos exposure, those

claims will almost always meet the connection test necessary

for the application of maritime law. Conner, 799 F. Supp. 2d

at 467-69 (citing Grubart, 513 U.S. at 534). This is

particularly true in cases in which the exposure has arisen as

a result of work aboard Navy vessels, either by Navy personne!

or shipyard workers. See id. But if the worker’s exposure was

primarily land-based, then, even if the claims could meet the

locality test, they do not meet the connection test and state law

(rather than maritime law) applies. Jd.

The alleged exposures pertinent to Defendant occurred aboard

ships—some of which were in “dry dock” a the shipyard.

Therefore, these exposures were during sea-based work. See

Conner, 799 F. Supp. 2d 455; Deuber, 2011 WL 6415339, at *1

n.1. Accordingly, maritime law is applicable to Plaintiff's claims

against Defendant. See id. at 462-63.

C. Bare Metal Defense Under Maritime Law

59a

This Court has held that the so-called “bare metal defense” is

recognized by maritime law, such that a manufacturer has no

liability for harms caused by—and no duty to warn about hazards

associated with—a product it did not manufacture or distribute.

Conner v. Alfa Laval, Inc., 842 F. Supp. 2d 791, 801 (E.D. Pa.

2012)(Robreno, J.).

D. Product Identification/Causation Under Maritime Law

In order to establish causation for an asbestos claim under

maritime law, a plaintiff must show, for each defendant, that “(1)

he was exposed to the defendant’s product, and (2) the product

was a substantial factor in causing the injury he suffered.”

Lindstrom v. A-C Prod. Liab. Trust, 424 F.3d 488, 492 (6th Cir.

2005); citing Stark v. Armstrong World Indus., Inc., 21 Fed.Appx.

371, 375 (6th Cir. 2001). This Court has also noted that, in light

of its holding in Conner, 842 F. Supp. 2d 791, there is also a

requirement (implicit in the test set forth in Lindstrom and

Stark) that a plaintiff show that (3) the defendant manufactured

or distributed the asbestos-containing product to which exposure

is alleged. Abbay v. Armstrong Int'l, Inc., No. 10-83248, 2012 WL

975837, at *1 n.1 (E.D. Pa. Feb. 29, 2012)(Robreno, J.).

Substantial factor causation is determined with respect to each

defendant separately. Stark, 21 Fed.Appx. at 375. In

establishing causation, a plaintiff may rely upon direct evidence

(such as testimony of the plaintiff or decedent who experienced

the exposure, co-worker testimony, or eye-witness testimony) or

circumstantial evidence that will support an inference that there

was exposure to the defendant’s product for some length of time.

Id. at 376 (quoting Harbour v. Armstrong World Indus., Inc., No.

90-1414, 1991 WL 65201, at *4 (6th Cir. April 25, 1991)).

A mere “minimal exposure” to a defendant’s product is

insufficient to establish causation. Lindstrom, 424 F.3d at 492.

“Likewise, a mere showing that defendant’s product was present

somewhere at plaintiff's place of work is insufficient.” Jd. Rather,

the plaintiff must show “ ‘a high enough level of exposure that an

inference that the asbestos was a substantial factor in the injury

is more than conjectural.’” Jd. (quoting Harbour, 1991 WL 65201,

at *4). The exposure must have been “actual” or “real”, but the

question of “substantiality” is one of degree normally best left to

the fact-finder. Redland Soccer Club, Inc. v. Dep’t of Army of

U.S., 55 F.3d 827, 851 (3d Cir. 1995). “Total failure to show that

the defect caused or contributed to the accident will foreclose as

a matter of law a finding of strict products liability.” Stark, 21

Fed.Appx. at 376 (citing Matthews v. Hyster Co., Inc., 854 F.2d

1166, 1168 (9th Cir. 1988)(citing Restatement (Second) of Torts,

§ 402A (1965))).

Ifl. Defendant Ingersoll Rand’s Motion for Summary

Judgment

A. Defendant’s Arguments

Product Identification / Causation

Defendant contends that Plaintiffs’ evidence is insufficient to

establish that any product for which it is responsible caused the

ilness at issue.

Bare Metal Defense

Defendant argues that it has no duty to warn about and cannot

be liable for injury arising from any product or component part

that it did not manufacture or supply.

B. Plaintiffs Arguments

Product Identification / Causation / Bare Metal Defense

Plaintiffs contend that they have identified sufficient product

identification/causation evidence to survive summary judgment.

In support of this assertion, Plaintiffs cite to the following

evidence, which is summarized in pertinent part as follows:

* Depositions of Plaintiff Kenneth McAfee Plaintiff testified

that he was exposed to respirable dust from asbestos-

containing gaskets, packing, and insulation used in connection

with Ingersoll compressors aboard various ships.

(P1. Exs. A and B, Doc. No. 203.)

* Discovery Responses of Defendant Plaintiffs point to

discovery responses of Defendant to support their contentions

that (1) Defendant admits that its compressors were designed

and intended to contain asbestos, and that (2) Defendant

required asbestos on high temperature gaskets on its

compressors and pumps.

(Pl. Exs. D and E, Doc. No. 203-1)

6la

* Expert Affidavit of Arthur Faherty Plaintiffs point to the

affidavit of expert Arthur Faherty, who provides testimony

that (1) “Generally, if a company supplied asbestos with its

equipment, some of that asbestos was always present unless

the record shows that the asbestos installed by the defendant

was entirely, removed,” and (2) “The removal of the entire

initial asbestos never occurred.”

(PL. Ex. C, Doc. No. 203)

+ Expert Affidavit of Dr. Arthur Frank P\aintiffs point to the

affidavit of expert Arthur Frank, who they contend will

provide testimony that Defendant knew or could or should

have known of the hazards of asbestos at the relevant times.

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.