Amicus Curiae Brief — Trump v. Hawaii, 138 S. Ct. 923 (2018) (No. 17-965)
Supreme Court brief2018
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
No. 17-965
In the Supreme Court of the Anited States
DONALD J. TRUMP,
PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES, ET AL.,
Petitioners,
v.
STATE OF HAWAII, ET AL.,
Respondents.
On Writ of Certiorari to
the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit
BRIEF OF U.S. COMPANIES
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF
RESPONDENTS
ANDREW J. PINCUS
Counsel of Record
PAUL W. HUGHES
Mayer Brown LLP
1999 K Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 263-3000
apincus@mayerbrown.com
Counsel for Amici Curiae
Ee
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
pF EE ee eA A RN NO Eee iii
SenbewOat OF Cw Amsbes CUE .....ccccnerecccecscececsccescsccsceees 1
Introduction and Summary of Argument................... 2
ee iislacndctetcersntestadtecetndtesieinsieneatentintatetineiiiiarittcinenctaintascntien 5
|. The Proclamation Harms American
Innovation And Economic Growth. ....................... 5
A. Immigration provides significant
benefits to the U.S. economy............................ 5
B. The Proclamation harms the U.S.
GT censsncicencintinicnntimntenetwescceineessesemetesenced 8
1. The Proclamation creates
widespread uncertainty. ............................. 9
2. The Proclamation’s ban on travel
significantly impairs day-to-day
a a sedguionen 11
3. The Proclamation incentivizes
immigration to and investment in
foreign countries rather than the
RE IES TT 12
Il. The Proclamation Is Unlawful. ........................... 14
A. The INA does not authorize the
executive branch to implement
unilateral, permanent revisions of the
Nation’s immigration laws. ............................ 14
B. The Proclamation exceeds the authority
conferred by Section 1182. ............................. 17
1. The Proclamation does not contain a
finding sufficient to justify exercise
of the authority conferred by Section
ic tccricescdantabdededdasisecdsbebiintunnibpemsidaseds 17
i
TABLE OF CONTENTS—continued
Page
2. The Proclamation conflicts with
other provisions of the INA....................... 21
3. The Proclamation is procedurally
LE SEE Sn ea 23
C. The Proclamation violates Section
1152’s non-discrimination requirement......... 25
D. This Court can, and must, adjudicate
the scope of the President’s authority............ 28
RII NIIIINE scccsencasesusteuicenecabieasiasiediticasediadeesinennsensensdbiaitieiine 30
ill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)
Cases
Abourezk v. Reagan,
785 F.2d 1043 (D.C. Cir. 1986)................ 15, 23, 30
Amoco Oil Co. v. Envtl. Prot. Agency,
ee kf ee a eneneeeres 18
Arizona v. United States,
I 16
Bowen v. Mich. Acad. of Family Physicians,
i 28
Carlson v. Landon,
ER Re Ee Ie RD a eRe ee 17
Crawford Fitting Co. v. J. T. Gibbons, Inc.,
eT I siticcinsiocrtedsraccicncmicinsilissaicsaninainenkiniiais 27
Dalton v. Specter,
ERIE EL ARE ero es a Ban On 24, 29
Dames & Moore v. Regan,
ERA ECE ee ee m8 28
Foley v. Connelie,
REI SERRA IR SU me om 2
Franklin v. Massachusetts,
RSS REE ne eo ees RO 28
Hawaii v. Trump,
Tn i cca 3, 21
Heckler v. Chaney,
I a ienasbiol 29
Indus. Union Dep't, AFL-CIO vy.
Am. Petroleum Inst.,
SRE EEE ARSE SAP ee 18
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued
Int'l Refugee Assistance Project v. Trump,
857 F.3d 554 (4th Cir. 2017)...........0.0000..
Int'l Refugee Assistance Project v. Trump,
883 F.3d 233 (4th Cir. 2018).....................
Kent v. Dulles,
ee I i IT ncrrenicsercviccnscnconsovesenneceni
Kerry v. Din,
ere es GR, TE Ge irercccsctecessinaacensensoctees
United States ex rel. Knauff v. Shaughnessy,
Re Ps Ne Ci cicestrcninnnscininnverectsiiesiuvacs
Legal Assistance for Vietnamese Asylum
Seekers v. Dep't of State,
45 F.3d 469 (D.C. Cir. 1995)...
Mobil Oil Expl. & Producing Se. Inc. v.
United Distribution Cos.,
SF rs i ee rccncncnccscevesapesecenssascsscnnse
Motor Vehicle Mfrs. Ass'n v. State Farm
Mut. Auto. Ins. Co.,
Sy SE Mr EE icicmnrtnnciccenectoshettasmeseetion
Olsen v. Albright,
990 F. Supp. 31 (D.D.C. 1997)...................
Patel v. Reno,
134 F.3d 929 (9th Cir. 1997)................0.....
Saavedra Bruno v. Albright,
197 F.3d 1153 (D.C. Cir. 1999)..................
Sale v. Haitian Ctrs. Council, Inc.,
i Ce
Page(s)
secesevesees 3
v
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued
Page(s)
United Distribution Cos. v. F.E.R.C.,
68 F.3d 1106 (D.C. Cir. 1006) ........00.00000.060.0000000.. 18
United States v. Mead Corp.,
ee ns a apensienunnminandiabie 24
United States v. Witkovich,
ey i cerccneiesencelons 17, 18
Whitman v. Am. Trucking Ass’ns,
Ie as ii usenainiiosiaine 17
Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer,
I a eleuusubinnens 28
Zemel v. Rusk,
Be i I inssscctaccicccecandancinosnipiingeidetndcobbuaneside 17, 19
Statutes and Regulations
82 Fed. Reg.
re I sesidiiseinnielndeimniinddiaabonenans 3
Ne Ms Oe IIE DP cicrcsavsecescccccovoccneccssinecuosesons 3, 4
re Ie Bly HEF Riveni tordsvncsnnsncnmissinincieint passim
oe ge Oe III fsiscrclid cai ctn ciecbsceinaiinnasacauadiniodsavtrtnintcnaniectes 24
8 U.S.C.
REE EL SEE nas DLP Oe mate Poe 25, 26
lense aces 15, 21, 22, 23
ARES TE emer ea oe passim
2 eee 2 14, 16, 24, 27
RR TET AGP SNISS wmriaae NoMeapte im yer = TY aa 22
Other Authorities
Americas Soc’y & Council of the Americas,
Bringing Vitality to Main Street (2015) ................ 6
vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued
Page(s)
Stuart Anderson, /mmigrants Flooding
America with Nobel Prizes,
i cs seuiniion
Stuart Anderson, Nat'l Found. for Am. Pol’y,
The Contributions of the Children of
Immigrants to Science in America
a pi rraakentnsiteneninanensedatedekiclousndioveemenssees
Stuart Anderson, Nat'l Found. for Am. Pol’y,
Immigrants and Billion Dollar Startups
i
John Austin et al., Mich. Econ. Ctr., Michigan:
We Are All Migrants Here (2017)................0c000-0+ 13
Maksim Belenkiy & David Riker, Face-to-Face
Exports: The Role of Business Travel in
Trade Promotion, 51 J. Travel Res. 632
SEE iinns dudiensisvivicntiasoneetbaviansiasenteateniamitietiinateyies
BGRS, Breakthrough to the Future of Global
I csascdebuatiie
Muzaffar Chishti & Claire Bergeron,
Migration Pol’y Inst., Post-9/11 Policies
Dramatic tlly Alter the U.S. Immigration
BM GE G, FG BD ven cisccssnavecvnscvccscctssnssce
Economic Effects of Immigration Policies, Bus.
Se IE, TED cncecnsticcsrsccescincncesesencess
Robert W. Fairlie et al., Ewing Marion
Kauffman Found., The 2016 Kauffman
Index: Startup Activity (Aug. 2016)..................
wk
vil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued
Page(s)
Seth Fiegerman, Former Google Exec Calls
Trump Travel Ban an ‘Enormous Problem,’
GUE UN IN OI, EDD cocciseecteccticscnccccectecsrnes
David Steele-Figueredo, Trump’s Anti-
Immigrant Rhetoric Is Already Hurting US
Higher Education, Times Higher Educ.
CI I SI. sib vcestarsaacdddchniabinseubibinioedameinidiersiesecsee
Michael Greenstone & Adam Looney, The
Hamilton Project, Ten Economic Facts
About Immigration (Sept. 2010).......................
af & ee ler ean
Harv. Bus. Rev., Strategic Global Mobility
Ui osnnsdncenaransaivnsscscnnisinetéptanabeeadttnegesesetsceoussiess
Nune Hovhannisyan & Wolfgang Keller,
International Business Travel: An Engine
of Innovation?, 20 J. Econ. Growth 75
Immigration Laws and Iranian Students,
ae
Elizabeth MacBride, CNBC, Silicon Valley
Reeling as Trump Chokes Off a Critical
Source of Tech Talent (Mar. 15, 2018) .............
Kate M. Manuel, Cong. Research Serv.,
Executive Authority to Exclude Aliens: In
NRE a Ee Re I SE
Mass. Tech. Leadership Council, The
Economic Impact of Immigration on the
United States (Jume 2017) ...........ccccccccceeceeeeeees
nae
whe
viii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued
Page(s)
New Am. Econ., Reason for Reform:
Entrepreneurship (Oct. 2016) .........................00000+- 7
Alex Nowrasteh, Cato Inst., New Trump
Executive Order Fails Cost-Benefit Test,
I: SS I nl ac cae 13
Org. Econ. Co-operation & Dev., International
Migration Outlook 2017 (Alst ed. 2017).............. 12
Pia Orrenius, George W. Bush Inst., Benefits
of Immigration Outweigh the Costs, The
Catalyst (2016), https://goo.gl/qC9uOc.................. 7
Tara Palmeri & Bryan Bender, U.S. Diplomats
Warning GE’s Major Deals in Iraq at Risk
over Travel Ban, Politico (Feb. 1, 2017).............. 12
P’ship for a New Am. Econ., Open For
Business: How Immigrants Are Driving
Small Business Creation in the United
Be I I hice ictnihastctiatntaincdecsidesenneennwenvseces 6
P’ship for a New Am. Econ., The “New
American” Fortune 500 (2011)...............00..0000000- 5, 6
Remarks at the Opening Ceremonies of the
Statute of Liberty Centennial Celebration
A Te eam ney Aa a tae hie 8 ES SE 2
Be I Bs Be UE I ciiscaiciannchenictiientioniancistivsdoenntinie 26
Dionne Searcey & Jaime Yaya Barry, Chad,
an Ally Against Militants, Asks, “Why Us?”,
ya Pe 12
ix
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued
Page(s)
U.S. Chamber of Commerce, /mmigration:
FEED GIES PII GD cncctcccecesncecncsccecescesessnsessscese 7
Vivek Wadhwa et al., America’s New
Immigrant Entrepreneurs, Duke Univ. &
Univ. Cal. Berkeley (Jan. 4, 2007) ........................ 7
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE
Amici curiae are 115 of the Nation’s leading
companies. Amici produce iconic goods and services
that touch nearly every aspect of our lives—from
business and finance to recreation and communica-
tion. Together, amici employ millions of Americans
and contribute significantly to our country’s econo-
my. A complete list of amici is set forth in Appendix
A.!
Amici are gravely concerned about the adverse
effects of the Presidential Proclamation challenged in
this case. As amici explain below, the Proclamation
makes it more difficult for them to hire the very best
talent, to send their employees abroad, to grow their
operations, and, fundamentally, to compete in the
global economy. Amici believe that the Proclamation
will therefore stifle the Nation’s economic growth
and global competitiveness. Amici previously raised
these concerns before this Court and before the court
below. See Pet. App. 60a.
Amici’s own stories reflect the benefits that im-
migrants bring to the Nation. Many amici were
founded by immigrants, virtually all employ immi-
grants, and every amicus recognizes that the Ameri-
can economy, and the Nation as a whole, thrives
when it welcomes immigrants with properly cali-
brated policies.
' Pursuant to Rule 37.6, amici affirm that no counsel for a par-
ty authored this brief in whole or in part and that no person
other than amici or their counsel made a monetary contribution
to its preparation or submission. The parties’ consents to the fil-
ing of amicus curiae briefs are on file with the Clerk.
2
INTRODUCTION AND
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
For decades, stable U.S. immigration policy has
embodied the principles that we are a people de-
scended from immigrants, that we welcome new im-
migrants, and that we provide a home for refugees
seeking protection. As President Reagan noted when
rededicating the Statue of Liberty in 1986, “which of
us does not think of * * * grandfathers and grand-
mothers, from so many places around the globe, for
whom this statue was the first glimpse of America?”
Remarks at the Opening Ceremonies of the Statute
of Liberty Centennial Celebration (July 3, 1986),
https://goo.gl/lqwq5N. See also Foley v. Connelie, 435
U.S. 291, 294 (1978) (describing America as “a nation
of immigrants’).
At the same time, America has long recognized
the importance of protecting ourselves against those
who would do us harm. But we have done so while
maintaining our fundamental commitment to wel-
coming immigrants—through increased background
checks and other controls on people seeking to enter
our country.”
2 “In the decade since 9/11,” immigration policy has incorpo-
rated, among other things, “major new border security and law
enforcement initiatives, heightened visa controls and screening
of international travelers and would-be immigrants, the collec-
tion and storage of information in vast new interoperable data-
bases used by law enforcement and intelligence agencies, and
the use of state and local law enforcement as force multipliers
in immigration enforcement.” Muzaffar Chishti & Claire Ber-
geron, Migration Pol'y Inst., Post-9/11 Policies Dramatically Al-
ter the U.S. Immigration Landscape (Sept. 8, 2011),
https://goo.gl/6rdagt.
3
For more than fifty years, moreover, immigration
rules have been based on input from, and considera-
tion of views advanced by, all relevant stakehold-
ers—through congressional legislation and agency
notice-and-comment rulemaking—with exceptions
limited to temporary measures addressing emergen-
cy situations.
On January 27, 2017, “[o]Jne week after inaugu-
ration and without interagency review,” Executive
Order 13,769, 82 Fed. Reg. 8,977 (Wan. 29, 2017)
(“First Executive Order”), was issued. Hawaii v.
Trump, 859 F.3d 741, 756 (9th Cir.), vacated, 138 S.
Ct. 377 (2017). That Order altered immigration poli-
cy in significant respects: it barred nationals of seven
countries—Syria, Libya, Lran, Iraq, Somalia, Yemen,
and Sudan—from entering the United States for at
least 90 days (First Executive Order § 3(c)), with the
possibility of expansion to additional countries (id.
§ 3(e)-(f)), and it gave the Secretaries of State and
Homeland Security discretion to issue visas to affect-
ed nationals “on a case-by-case basis” (id. § 3(g)).
On March 6, 2017, the First Executive Order was
rescinded, and Executive Order 13,780, 82 Fed. Reg.
13,209 (Mar. 6, 2017) (“Second Executive Order’),
was issued. That Order banned nationals from six
countries for 90 days beginning on March 16—the
same countries as the first order, omitting Iraq, but
subjecting nationals from Iraq to intensive scruti-
ny—and otherwise contained many of the character-
istics of the First Executive Order. Second Executive
Order §§ 2(c), 4. That Order, like the First Executive
Order, was enjoined by multiple courts. See, e.g.,
Hawaii, 859 F.3d 741; Int'l Refugee Assistance Pro-
ject v. Trump, 857 F.3d 554 (4th Cir.), vacated, 138 S.
Ct. 353 (2017).
4
On September 24, 2017, the Second Executive
Order was supplanted by Presidential Proclamation
9645, 82 Fed. Reg. 45,161 (Sept. 24, 2017) (the “Proc-
lamation”). The Proclamation bans nationals, in
whole or in part, from eight countries—Chad, Iran,
Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela, and
Yemen—without any expiration date. Proclamation
§ 2. The Proclamation again confers discretion on
consular officers to “grant waivers on a case-by-case
basis” to nationals from the designated countries. /d.
§ 3(c). And the Proclamation creates a procedure by
which the Secretaries of Homeland Security and
State can identify new countries to subject to the
ban. Id. § 4(a)(ii). “As with EO-1 and EO-2, the Proc-
lamation faced swift legal challenge.” Jntl Refugee
Assistance Project v. Trump, 883 F.3d 233, 253 (4th
Cir. 2018). See also Pet. App. 4a.
Like its prior iterations, the Proclamation effects
a significant shift in the rules governing entry into
the United States; injects substantial uncertainty
and instability into the Nation’s immigration system;
and inflicts harm on American companies, their em-
ployees, and the entire economy. It hinders the abil-
ity of American companies to attract talented em-
ployees; increases costs imposed on business; makes
it more difficult for American firms to compete in the
international marketplace; and gives global enter-
prises a new, significant incentive to build opera-
tions—and hire new employees—outside the United
States.
The Proclamation is unlawful because it exceeds
the executive branch’s authority under the Nation's
immigration laws. Narrow statutory provisions that
authorize the executive branch to address emergency
circumstances on a temporary basis do not license
5
significant, permanent alterations to standards set
forth in immigration laws.
Moreover, to bar a class of aliens from the United
States, the executive branch must reasonably deter-
mine that their entry would be detrimental to the
Nation, and then craft an order that reasonably ad-
dresses any threat that those individuals might pose.
But the Proclamation neither explains why the tar-
geted individuals’ entry would be detrimental to the
United States nor imposes reasonable restrictions.
Finally, Congress in 1965 prohibited discrimina-
tion in immigration decisions on the basis of national!
origin precisely so that the Nation would not shut its
doors to immigrants based on where they come
from—but the Proclamation does just that. It would
turn the clock back and restore the national-origins
system that Congress expressly abolished.
The Court accordingly should affirm the decision
below barring enforcement of the Proclamation.
ARGUMENT
I. The Proclamation Harms American Innova-
tion And Economic Growth.
Immigration is a key driver of the U.S. economy.
The Proclamation, both by its direct effects and by
the signal it sends, hamstrings American innovation
and economic growth.
A. Immigration provides significant bene-
fits to the U.S. economy.
To begin with, immigrants are leading entrepre-
neurs. “The American economy stands apart because,
more than any other place on earth, talented people
from around the globe want to come here to start
their businesses.” P’ship for a New Am. Econ., The
6
“New American” Fortune 500, at 5 (2011),
http://goo.gl/ycOh7u. Indeed, “|iJmmigrants continue
to be a lot more likely than the native-born to become
entrepreneurs.” Robert W. Fairlie et al., Ewing Mar-
ion Kauffman Found., The 2016 Kauffman Index:
Startup Activity 7 (Aug. 2016), https://goo.gl-
/6Wr5Mc.
Some of these businesses are large. “Immigrants
have started more than half (44 of 87) of America’s
startup companies valued at $1 billion dollars”—so-
called “unicorns”—“and are key members of man-
agement and product development teams in over 70
percent (62 of 87) of these companies.” Stuart Ander-
son, Nat’! Found. for Am. Pol'y, Immigrants and Bil-
lion Dollar Startups 1, 4 (Mar. 2016), https://goo.g]l-
/Mk7iJM. Immigrants or their children founded more
than 200 of the companies on the Fortune 500 list,
including Apple, Kraft, Ford, General Electric,
AT&T, Google, McDonald’s, Boeing, and Disney.
P’ship for a New Am. Econ., supra, at 1-2. Collective-
ly, these companies generate annual revenue of $4.2
trillion and employ millions of Americans. /d. at 2.
Many of these businesses are small. “While ac-
counting for 16 percent of the labor force nationally
and 18 percent of business owners, immigrants make
up 28 percent of Main Street business owners.”
Americas Soc’y & Council of the Americas, Bringing
Vitality to Main Street 2 (2015), https://goo.gl-
Ai9NWc9. These are “the shops and services that are
the backbone of neighborhoods around the country.”
Id. In 2011, immigrants opened 28% of all new busi-
nesses in the United States. See P’ship for a New
Am. Econ., Open For Business: How Immigrants Are
Driving Small Business Creation in the United States
3 (Aug. 2012), https://goo.g/zqwpVQ.
7
Immigrant entrepreneurs come from all parts of
the world. In 2014, “19.1 percent of immigrants from
the Middle East and North Africa were entrepre-
neurs.” New Am. Econ., Reason for Reform: Entre-
preneurship 2 (Oct. 2016), https://goo.gl/QRd8Vb.
Immigrants also fuel the growth of the economy
as a whole. “When immigrants enter the labor force,
they increase the productive capacity of the economy
and raise GDP. Their incomes rise, but so do those of
natives.” Pia Orrenius, George W. Bush Inst., Bene-
fits of Immigration Outweigh the Costs, The Catalyst
(2016), https://goo.g/qC9uOc. Immigrants thus cre-
ate new jobs for U.S. citizens “through the businesses
they establish ... [and] play an important role in job
creation in both small and large businesses.” U.S.
Chamber of Commerce, /mmigration: Myths and
Facts 3 (2016), https://goo.gl/NizPEQ. Studies “over-
whelmingly conclude that immigrants have a net
positive effect on wages, especially in the long run.”
Economic Effects of Immigration Policies, Bus.
Roundtable 3 (Sept. 2017), https://goo.gl/PnG3pB.
Immigrants are also innovators. Since 2000,
more than one-third of all American Nobel Prize
winners in Chemistry, Medicine, and Physics have
been immigrants. See Stuart Anderson, /mmigrants
Flooding America with Nobel Prizes, Forbes (Oct. 16,
2016), http://goo.gl/RILwXU. Among individuals with
advanced educational degrees, immigrants are near-
ly three times more likely to file patents than U.S.-
born citizens. Michael Greenstone & Adam Looney,
The Hamilton Project, Ten Economic Facts About
Immigration 11 (Sept. 2010), https://goo.gl/3zpdpn.
By one estimate, noncitizen immigrants were named
on almost a quarter of all U.S.-based international
patent applications filed in 2006. Vivek Wadhwa et
8
al., America’s New Immigrant Entrepreneurs, Duke
Univ. & Univ. Cal. Berkeley 4 (@Jan. 4, 2007),
https://goo.g/wClySz. And children of immigrants
made up 83% of the top-performing students in the
well-known Intel high school science competition.
Stuart Anderson, Nat'l Found. for Am. Pol’y, The
Contributions of the Children of Immigrants to Sci-
ence in America 1-3, 5, 12 (Mar. = 2017),
https://goo.gl/7noMyC.
In sum, immigrants provide incalculable benefits
to the U.S. economy and the Nation as a whole.
B. The Proclamation harms the U.S. econ-
omy.
“[B]ecause the proclamation bans the entry of po-
tential entrepreneurs, inventers, and innovators, the
public’s interest in innovation is thwarted at both the
state and corporate levels.” Pet. App. 60a.
But that is not all. The Proclamation abandons
the principles that have undergirded U.S. immigra-
tion policy for more than half a century—clear, set-
tled standards and constrained discretion. It intro-
duces sudden changes without an opportunity for af-
fected parties to inform decisionmakers of the conse-
quences of those changes before their adoption,
provides unclear standards for implementation, and
leaves entirely to individual officers’ discretion the
exercise of case-specific waiver authority.
Moreover, nothing prevents future executive
branch changes in the immigration system unrelated
to the matters addressed in this Proclamation. Busi-
nesses need a predictable, stable system so they can
make long-term personnel and investment decisions
and be certain that they will be able to interact with
their global customers. The continuing risk of addi-
9
tional, unanticipated changes in immigration rules
creates significant uncertainty that imposes a sub-
stantial burden on managing global businesses and
planning for the future.
The Proclamation will therefore make it more
difficult and expensive for U.S. companies to recruit,
hire, and retain some of the world’s best employees.
It will disrupt ongoing business operations—making
it harder for U.S. companies to compete in today’s
global markets. And it will inhibit investment in the
United States. That will inflict significant harm on
American business, innovation, and economic
growth.
1. The Proclamation creates widespread un-
certainty.
Confusion and uncertainty are the hallmarks of
the Proclamation and its predecessors. The Procla-
mation again establishes a system of “case-by-case”
exceptions from its ban on nationals from eight coun-
tries, but leaves the application of those exceptions to
the discretion of Customs and Border Protection of-
ficers—setting forth a non-exhaustive list of circum-
stances in which such exceptions “may be appropri-
ate.” Proclamation § 3(c) (emphasis added). Because
individual immigration officers retain broad discre-
tion in issuing these individual-by-individual excep-
tions, it is unclear what exemptions will actually be
given, or why—and whether that authority is being
exercised fairly and without discrimination or favor-
itism.
Even more important, the Proclamation provides
that the ban, and its accompanying standardless ex-
ception process, may be expanded to include an un-
specified number of additional countries if those na-
10
tions do not provide information the Secretaries of
Homeland Security and State deem necessary to ap-
prove visas. See Proclamation § 4(a). Individuals and
businesses thus face the significant risk that new,
as-yet-unidentified countries will be added to the
ban—all without any governing standard.
The Proclamation will have the immediate, ad-
verse consequence of making it far more difficult and
expensive for U.S. companies to hire the world’s best
talent and compete effectively in the global market-
place. Businesses and employees have little incentive
to go through the laborious process of sponsoring or
obtaining a visa and relocating to the United States
if an employee may be unexpectedly stopped at the
border.
The Proclamation and its prior iterations have
also significantly reduced the talent pipeline: enroll-
ment data from the last year shows that they have
discouraged international students from enrolling in
U.S. colleges. David Steele-Figueredo, Trump's Anti-
Immigrant Rhetoric Is Already Hurting US Higher
Education, Times Higher Educ. (Jan. 30, 2018),
https://goo.gl//VEaVp5.
At the end of the day, skilled individuals will not
wish to immigrate to this country if they may be cut
off without warning from their spouses, grandpar-
ents, relatives, and friends. They will not pull up
roots, incur significant economic risk, and subject
their family to considerable uncertainty to immigrate
to the United States in the face of this instability.
Seth Fiegerman, Former Google Exec Calls Trump
Travel Ban an ‘Enormous Problem,’ CNN Tech (Jan.
30, 2017), https://goo.gl/vNVgLt. The Proclamation
therefore significantly disadvantages U.S. companies
in the global competition for talent.
11
2. The Proclamation’s ban on travel signifi-
cantly impairs day-to-day business.
The marketplace for today’s businesses is global.
Companies routinely send employees across borders
for conferences, meetings, or job rotations; and they
invite customers, clients, and users from abroad to
attend meetings in the U.S. Global mobility is there-
fore critical to businesses whose customers, suppli-
ers, users, and workforces are spread all around the
world. See, e.g., BGRS, Breakthrough to the Future of
Global Talent Mobility (2016), http://goo.gl/ZhIxSr;
Harv. Bus. Rev., Strategic Global Mobility (2014),
http://goo.g/AV3nhJ.
Global business travel enables employees to de-
velop new skills, take on expanded roles, and stay
abreast of new technological or business develop-
ments. It also facilitates development of new mar-
kets and business partnerships. Indeed, one study
has shown that each additional international busi-
ness trip increases exports from the United States to
the visited country by, on average, over $36,000 per
year. Maksim Belenkiy & David Riker, Face-to-Face
Exports: The Role of Business Travel in Trade Pro-
motion, 51 J. Travel Res. 632, 637 (2012). See also
Nune Hovhannisyan & Wolfgang Keller, I/nterna-
tional Business Travel: An Engine of Innovation?, 20
J. Econ. Growth 75 (2015).
But the Proclamation will mean that many com-
panies and employees (both inside and outside the
United States) would be unable to take advantage of
these opportunities. The Proclamation will prevent
companies from inviting customers to the United
States and prevent employees from outside the Unit-
ed States from traveling here. That is true even for
persons or countries not currently covered by the
12
Proclamation because there is no way to know
whether or when a country may be added to the no-
entry list.
The Proclamation also could lead to retaliatory
actions by other countries, which would seriously
hinder U.S. companies’ ability to do business or ne-
gotiate business deals abroad. U.S. companies’ deals
have already been threatened. See, e.g., Dionne
Searcey & Jaime Yaya Barry, Chad, an Ally Against
Militants, Asks, “Why Us?”, N.Y. Times (Sept. 25,
2017), https://goo.g/xSPDSo; Tara Palmeri & Bryan
Bender, U.S. Diplomats Warning GE’s Major Deals
in Iraq at Risk over Travel Ban, Politico (Feb. 1,
2017), http://goo.gl/nhj9CZ.
3. The Proclamation incentivizes immigra-
tion to and investment in foreign coun-
tries rather than the United States.
Because of the Proclamation, highly skilled indi-
viduals will be more interested in working elsewhere,
in places where they and their colleagues can travel
freely and with assurance that their immigration
status will not suddenly be revoked. Other countries
have already begun “actively pursuing foreign inves-
tors and entrepreneurs, with the aim of increasing
investment and creating jobs for the benefit of the
national economy.” Org. Econ. Co-operation & Dev.,
International Migration Outlook 2017 46 (Alst ed.
2017). See also Elizabeth MacBride, CNBC, Silicon
Valley Reeling as Trump Chokes Off a Critical Source
of Tech Talent (Mar. 15, 2018), https://goo.gl/BJscj3
(giving examples).
Non-U.S. companies have taken note, as well.
Multinational companies will have strong incentives,
including pressure from their own employees, to base
13
operations outside the United States or to move or
hire employees and make investments abroad. For-
eign companies will have significantly less incentive
to establish operations in the United States and to
hire American citizens, because the Proclamation
will preclude the ability of those companies to em-
ploy their world-class talent within their U.S. subsid-
iaries. Ultimately, American workers and the econ-
omy will suffer as a result.
These impacts are concrete and quantifiable: one
study found that the Proclamation would reduce
wages for U.S. citizens and residents by roughly $1.4
billion over the next ten years. See Alex Nowrasteh,
Cato Inst., New Trump Executive Order Fails Cost-
Benefit Test, (Sept. 25, 2017), https://goo.gl//N5Cgoj.
And these adverse effects have been felt nationwide,
from Michigan (see John Austin et al., Mich. Econ.
Ctr., Michigan: We Are All Migrants Here 10-12
(2017), https://goo.gl/D3bz99) to Massachusetts (see
Mass. Tech. Leadership Council, The Economic Im-
pact of Immigration on the United States 3-4 (June
2017), https://goo.g/Cvt3uC) and beyond.
a a a
Of course, the federal government can and
should implement targeted, appropriate adjustments
to our country’s immigration system to enhance the
Nation’s security. But a broad, open-ended ban—
together with the indication that the ban could be
expanded to other countries, or that additional, dif-
ferent restrictions could be adopted, without notice—
will undermine rather than protect American inter-
ests, producing serious, widespread adverse conse-
quences without any reasonable relationship to the
goal of making the country more secure.
14
Il. The Proclamation Is Unlawful.
The Proclamation is unlawful for several rea-
sons. We focus on three. First, the Immigration and
Nationality Act (“INA”) does not authorize the use of
unilateral executive action to fundamentally and
permanently change the character of the Nation’s
immigration laws. Second, the Proclamation is not
authorized by Section 1182 or the Immigration and
Nationality Act as a whole; the Proclamation lacks
an adequate finding of detriment; it conflicts with
other relevant statutory provisions; and it fails to
comply with necessary procedural requirements. And
third, the Proclamation’ violates the non-
discrimination requirement of Section 1152.
A. The INA does not authorize the execu-
tive branch to implement unilateral,
permanent revisions of the Nation’s
immigration laws.
The government relies primarily on the Presi-
dent’s power under the INA to “suspend the entry of
* * * any class of aliens” whose entry he finds “would
be detrimental to the interests of the United States
* * * for such period as he shall deem necessary.” 8
U.S.C. § 1182(f). It also points to Section 1185(a),
which permits the President to issue “reasonable
rules, regulations, and orders” and “limitations and
exceptions” for the entry of immigrants and nonim-
migrants. Those grants of authority, the government
claims, “authorize the President to halt any and all
foreign travel into the country at any time, from any
and all countries, for any reason he decrees, for how-
ever long he wishes, notwithstanding any other pro-
vision of law.” IRAP, 883 F.3d at 291 (Gregory, C.dJ.,
concurring).
15
But these statutory provisions do not confer such
unlimited authority. No other administration has
used these statutes to presumptively prohibit the en-
try of millions of foreign nationals solely on the basis
of their nationality—and in perpetuity. The text and
context of Sections 1182(f) and 1185(a) make clear
that an exercise of authority must be limited to a
specific, emergency situation. The Proclamation here
exceeds those limitations.
By its terms, Section 1182(f) allows the executive
branch to “suspend” the entry of certain aliens for a
designated “period”—not to prohibit entry by those
aliens in perpetuity. Pet. App. 26a. In other words,
Section 1182(f) is “a gap-filling provision,” authoriz-
ing targeted, temporary action to respond to an
emergency situation. JRAP, 883 F.3d at 296 (Grego-
ry, C.J., concurring). See Abourezk v. Reagan, 785
F.2d 1043, 1049 n.2 (D.C. Cir. 1986) (explaining that
Section 1182(f) “provides a safeguard against the
danger posed by any particular case or class of cases
that is not covered by one of the [inadmissibility]
categories in [S]ection 1182(a)”).
That was the context in which the language con-
tained in Section 1182(f) was enacted. See page 18,
infra. And it is how past administrations have em-
ployed this authority since 1952, each time issuing a
targeted restriction, usually limited to dozens or
hundreds of people on the grounds that each affected
person had engaged in culpable conduct, such as
human trafficking, illegal entry, or corruption. See
Kate M. Manuel, Cong. Research Serv., Executive
Authority to Exclude Aliens: In Brief 6-10 (Jan. 23,
2017), https://goo.gl//DObRkS; Pet. App. 35a-38a. This
consistent executive branch practice is powerful evi-
dence of the limited reach of the provision, and it is
16
consistent with the context of Section 1182(f)—as one
provision in an extraordinarily detailed set of statu-
tory rules, elaborated in administrative regulations,
that govern the issuance of visas and entry of aliens.
Similarly, Section 1185(a) permits the President
to issue “reasonable rules, regulations, and orders”
regarding the entry of aliens into the United States.
8 U.S.C. § 1185(a)(1) (emphasis added). Like Section
1182(f), it does not purport to give the executive
branch authority to engage in wholesale, permanent
revision of the Nation’s immigration laws.
These statutes cannot be read to confer absolute
authority over the Nation’s immigration system to
the executive branch. Without the important limita-
tions imposed by the statutes’ text and structure, the
executive could usurp Congress’s power under Arti-
cle I, Section 8 to “establish a uniform rule of natu-
ralization.” See also Arizona v. United States, 567
U.S. 387, 409 (2012) (“Policies pertaining to the entry
of aliens and their right to remain here are * * * en-
trusted exclusively to Congress.”) (quotation omit-
ted). Congress did not intend, and the Constitution
does not permit, that result.
The Proclamation here exceeds the powers
granted under these two statutes. It applies to mil-
lions of people, sweeping them in because of their na-
tionality, rather than on the basis of culpable con-
duct. And unlike the first two executive actions, the
Proclamation does not expire—meaning that it is the
polar opposite of a time-limited, gap-filling measure.
It is, instead, the replacement of the system estab-
lished by Congress with a new scheme crafted by the
executive branch. The INA does not authorize per-
manent unilateral revision of the immigration laws.
17
B. The Proclamation exceeds the authority
conferred by Section 1182.
Even assuming that Section 1182 confers author-
ity to permanently revise the Nation’s immigration
laws, the Proclamation fails to do so in a manner
that comports with the statute.
1. The Proclamation does not contain a find-
ing sufficient to justify exercise of the au-
thority conferred by Section 1182(f).
The text of Section 1182(f) is clear: the President
may only suspend the entry of aliens if he “finds”
that their entry “would be detrimental to the inter-
ests of the United States.” Congress could not have
made it more plain that it did not intend to confer
upon the executive branch unbounded power to bar
aliens, and instead conditioned authority under Sec-
tion 1182(f) upon an adequate finding of detriment.
That Congress required such a finding is unsur-
prising, for Congress may delegate power only if “the
executive judgment is limited by adequate stand-
ards.” Carlson v. Landon, 342 U.S. 524, 544 (1952).
An “intelligible principle” must guide the exercise of
delegated power. Whitman v. Am. Trucking Ass’ns,
531 U.S. 457, 472 (2001).
For that reason, the Court has consistently iden-
tified limits on discretionary authority delegated by
Congress, even when confronted with a clause that
seems “limitless” when read “in isolation and literal-
ly.” United States v. Witkovich, 353 U.S. 194, 198-202
(1957). See, e.g., Zemel v. Rusk, 381 U.S. 1, 17 (1965)
(rejecting the view that “simply because a statute
deals with foreign relations, it can grant the Execu-
tive totally unrestricted freedom of choice”); Kent v.
Dulles, 357 U.S. 116, 127, 128 (1958) (considering the
18
power to issue passports, the Court observed that the
executive's authority was “expressed in broad terms,”
but refused to “impute to Congress * * * a purpose to
give [the executive] unbridled discretion to grant or
withhold a passport from a citizen for any substan-
tive reason he may choose”). See also Pet. App. 39a-
42a.
Section 1182 also contains a clear limitation on
presidential action: the President must “find” that
the specified aliens’ entry would be “detrimental to
the interests of the United States.” A reasonable
finding of the requisite “detriment{]” thus “consti-
tute[s] a condition precedent to embarking upon the
exercise of regulatory power’—and such action is in-
valid in the absence of such a reasonable determina-
tion. Amoco Oil Co. v. Envtl. Prot. Agency, 501 F.2d
722, 736 (D.C. Cir. 1974). Indeed, courts in a variety
of contexts analyze whether the executive branch has
reasonably made the findings specified by Congress
as prerequisites for executive action. See, e.g., Mobil
Oil Expl. & Producing Se. Inc. v. United Distribution
Cos., 498 U.S. 211, 227 (1991); Indus. Union Dep't,
AFL-CIO vy. Am. Petroleum Inst., 448 U.S. 607, 642
(1980); United Distribution Cos. v. F.E.R.C., 88 F.3d
1105, 1139 (D.C. Cir. 1996).
The executive branch must therefore meet a
standard of reasonableness in exercising Section
1182(f) authority. Witkovich, 353 U.S. at 198-202
(holding that authority to request information that
the Attorney General “may deem fit and proper” had
an implicit limit of reasonableness). That conclusion
accords with the longstanding interpretation of the
statute by the Executive Branch. See /mmigration
Laws and Iranian Students, 4A Op. O.L.C. 133, 140
19
(1979) (recognizing that any suspension under Sec-
tion 1182(f) “must meet the test of ‘reasonableness”’).
In addition, the permissible justifications for the
exercise of this authority are limited by the context
in which Congress acted when it adopted the lan-
guage codified in Section 1182(f). Congress drew that
text from a series of narrowly drawn wartime stat-
utes, proclamations, and regulations permitting the
executive branch to exclude only limited classes of al-
iens, for limited periods of time, to address emergen-
cy situations. See Hawaii Br. 38-41. That context re-
stricts the use of the authority conferred by Section
1182. Zemel, 381 U.S. at 17-18 (statute “must take
its content from history”); Kent, 357 U.S. at 128
(grounds for refusing passport limited to those that
“it could fairly be argued were adopted by Congress
in light of prior administrative practice”).
The Proclamation transgresses this limitation on
executive authority. It provides barely any justifica-
tion for why the admission of aliens it bans from the
United States—based on nothing more than their
national origin—would be detrimental to the Nation.
Its express aim is to protect U.S. “citizens from ter-
rorist attacks and other public-safety threats,” by
preventing “foreign nationals who may * * * pose a
safety threat * * * from entering the United States.”
Proclamation, pmbl. But it “makes no finding what-
soever that foreign nationals’ nationality alone ren-
ders entry of this broad class of individuals a height-
ened security risk to the United States.” Pet. App.
45a. See also JRAP, 883 F.3d at 317 (Keenan, J., con-
curring).
Certainly there is no reasonable basis to conclude
that nationals of Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea,
Somalia, Syria, Venezuela, and Yemen, simply by
20
virtue of their national origin, will commit terrorist
activities upon entry to the United States.’ Indeed,
the ban applies to hundreds of thousands of stu-
dents, employees, and family members of citizens
who have been previously admitted to the United
States—and thus who the United States, after care-
ful, individualized review, concluded that their ad-
mission to the United States posed no security risk to
the Nation.
The past history of admitting these individuals is
especially important because “there is no finding
that the present vetting procedures are inadequate.”
Pet. App. 44a. The Proclamation simply recites well-
known facts regarding these countries as a whole,
ignoring that no alien from these countries admitted
to the United States has engaged in terroristic activi-
ty.
It is no surprise that the Proclamation falls back
on a different rationale: that the designated coun-
tries, with the exception of Somalia, “continue to
have ‘inadequate’ identity-management protocols, in-
formation-sharing practices, and risk factors.” Proc-
lamation § 1(g). But “[nJowhere in the Proclamation
does the President claim that these individuals pose
a detriment to the United States’ interests because
they are nationals of these particular countries.”
IRAP, 883 F.3d at 317 (Keenan, J., concurring). Nor
does the purported need to encourage these countries
to improve their practices amount to the statutorily
required finding that the entry of nationals from the-
® Indeed, the administration itself did not think so until it
found itself embroiled in litigation. As a study from the De-
partment of Homeland Security noted, “country of citizenship is
unlikely to be a reliable indicator of potential terrorist activity.”
Pet. App. 45a n.20.
21
se countries “would be detrimental” to the United
States. Claimed “inadequacy” cannot constitute a
reason for banning 140 million people from the Unit-
ed States based on nothing more than their national-
ity.
The Proclamation’s purported rationale falls
short for other reasons. The Proclamation does not
include thirty-nine other countries with borderline
performance; “the explanation for how the admin-
istration settled on the list of eight countries is ob-
scured.” Pet. App. 10a n.3 (quotation omitted). The
list remains both overinclusive and underinclusive:
its focus on nationality “could have the paradoxical
effect of barring entry by a Syrian national who has
lived in Switzerland for decades, but not a Swiss na-
tional who has immigrated to Syria during its civil
war.” Hawaii, 859 F.3d at 773 (quotation omitted).
And its reliance on the exclusion of several listed
countries from the Visa Waiver Program is uncon-
vincing: rather than “restricting travel from coun-
tries with inadequate risk factors,” Congress “enact-
ed provisions facilitating travel from low-risk coun-
tries.” Pet. App. 31a (emphasis added).
In sum, the Proclamation lacks the reasonable
finding of detriment required by Section 1182(f).
2. The Proclamation conflicts with other
provisions of the INA.
The Proclamation also displaces the INA’s specif-
ic requirements for excluding aliens on the basis that
they might commit acts of terrorism. See 8 U.S.C.
§ 1182(a)(3)(B). That statute—“a complex provision
with 10 different subsections” that “cover|s] a vast
waterfront of human activity” (Kerry v. Din, 135 S.
Ct. 2128, 2145, 2146 (2015) (Breyer, J., dissent-
22
ing))}—provides detailed standards for determining
when an alien may be excluded based on a potential
to commit terrorist acts. Specifically, an alien who
has never before engaged in terrorist activities or
joined a terrorist organization may be excluded only
if the government has a “reasonable ground to be-
lieve” that the alien “is likely to engage after entry in
any terrorist activity.” 8 U.S.C. § 1182(a)(3)(B)\@ dD.
The Proclamation’s system of ad hoc waivers
turns that provision on its head. Instead of creating a
presumption of admittance absent any “reasonable
ground” to think an alien will commit terrorist activ-
ities—as Section 1182(a)(3)(B) requires—the Procla-
mation creates a presumption of exclusion and leaves
it to Customs and Border Protection to decide
whether an alien has demonstrated, “to the consular
officer's * * * satisfaction,” that he or she would not
threaten national security. Proclamation § 3(c)(i).
The Proclamation thus eliminates Congress’s
substantive requirement that there be reasonable
grounds to exclude an alien on the basis of the threat
of future acts of terrorism. And it does so without
even attempting to explain why changed circum-
stances or other facts make Congress’s determina-
tions inadequate to protect the Nation.‘
As construed by the government, therefore, Sec-
tion 1182(f) would allow the executive branch to re-
‘ In addition, Congress in 2015 specifically considered the risk
that travelers from these countries might engage in terrorism,
and addressed it by exempting them from the visa waiver pro-
gram. See Pub. L. 114-113, div. O, tit. I], § 203, 129 Stat. 2242
(codified at 8 U.S.C. § 1187(a)(12)). That congressional determi-
nation, too, is overridden by the Proclamation without any jus-
tification or explanation.
23
write all of Congress’s detailed rules for when aliens
may be excluded, which are set forth in detail in Sec-
tion 1182(a). “[T)he statute lists thirty-three distinct-
ly delineated categories that conspicuously provide
standards to guide the Executive in its exercise of
the exclusion power.” Abourezk, 785 F.2d at 1051. By
banning groups of aliens at will, and for reasons that
contradict the standards specified by Congress, the
executive has “nulliffied] numerous specific provi-
sions of the INA indefinitely * * * and has overridden
Congress’s legislative responses to the same concerns
the Proclamation aims to address.” Pet. App. 32a.
Indeed, were the Court to uphold the Proclama-
tion here, an administration could use Section
1182(f) to rewrite the immigration laws in their en-
tirety, prescribing via executive order an entire new
regime—with standards for issuing visas and exclud-
ing aliens wholly different from those prescribed by
Congress. Section 1182(f) does not, as the govern-
ment would have it, empower the executive to nullify
duly enacted immigration laws at will. If it did, such
a delegation of authority would pose grave constitu-
tional concerns.
3. The Proclamation is procedurally unrea-
sonable.
The comprehensive revision of the immigration
system effected by the Proclamation—and the execu-
tive orders that apparently will follow—improperly
circumvents Congress’s directive that significant
changes in immigration rules be implemented
through notice and comment rulemaking.
Sections 2(a) to 2(f) of the Proclamation effective-
ly create a new immigration system pursuant to
which the Secretary of Homeland Security, the Sec-
24
retary of State, and the Director of National Intelli-
gence determine what unspecified “information”
countries must share with the United States in order
to allow their nationals to enter this country. Then,
these officials may recommend to the President an
expansion or extension of the ban on entry to the
United States.
In addition, the Proclamation confers effectively
unconstrained discretion on consular officers and
customs officials to “grant waivers on a case-by-case
basis to permit the entry of foreign nationals for
whom entry is otherwise suspended or limited.” Proc-
lamation § 3(c). Other than listing a series of nonex-
clusive considerations, the Proclamation neither pro-
scribes a procedural mechanism for this exercise of
discretion, nor establishes substantive guideposts to
govern the exercise of this broad discretion.
Congress expressly identified the need for rule-
making in the INA, authorizing the President to im-
pose “reasonable rules, regulations, and orders.” 8
U.S.C. § 1185(a). But no such rulemaking occurred
here, notwithstanding the Proclamation’s broad ap-
plicability. Moreover, while the Administrative Pro-
cedure Act does not generally apply to the Presi-
dent’s actions (see Dalton v. Specter, 511 U.S. 462,
469 (1994)), it does apply to the subsequent conduct
of the Departments of State and Homeland Security,
which must ultimately implement the Proclamation.
Rulemaking “foster[{s] * * * fairness and delibera-
tion” (United States v. Mead Corp., 533 U.S. 218, 230
(2001)), and gives “interested persons an opportunity
to participate in the rule making through submission
of written data, views, or arguments.” 5 U.S.C.
§ 553(c). See also Motor Vehicle Mfrs. Ass'n v. State
Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 463 U.S. 29, 43 (1983)
25
(rulemaking process ensures that an agency has not
“relied on factors which Congress has not intended it
to consider, entirely failed to consider an important
aspect of the problem, [or] offered an explanation for
its decision that runs counter to the evidence before
the agency’).
Here, the notice-and-comment process is particu-
larly important given the huge range of individuals
and entities affected by these rules, such as families
seeking to reunite, or even just to have the oppor-
tunity to visit one another; businesses wishing to in-
teract with customers, to enable employees to obtain
experience at their home offices in the United States,
or to hire individuals with expertise not otherwise
available; and cultural institutions planning perfor-
mances by artists from outside the United States.
For these reasons, Section 1182(f) does not provide a
means of circumventing the ordinary rulemaking
process for promulgating legal principles of general
applicability.
C. The Proclamation violates Section
1152’s non-discrimination requirement.
The Proclamation separately contravenes 8
U.S.C. § 1152(a)(1)(A), which provides that “no per-
son shall * * * be discriminated against in the issu-
ance of an immigrant visa because of the person’s
race, sex, nationality, place of birth, or place of resi-
dence.” “Congress could hardly have chosen more ex-
plicit language” to “unambiguously direct{] that no
nationality-based discrimination” shall occur with
respect to immigration. Legal Assistance for Viet-
namese Asylum Seekers v. Dep’t of State, 45 F.3d 469,
473 (D.C. Cir. 1995), vacated on other grounds, 519
U.S. 1 (1996).
26
Congress enacted Section 1152 to “eliminate the
national origins system as the basis for the selection
of immigrants to the United States.” Pet. App. 49a
(quoting H.R. Rep. No. 89-745, at 8 (1965) (altera-
tions omitted)). That system, as President Johnson
explained, was “incompatible with our basic Ameri-
can tradition” that we “ask not where a person comes
from but what are his personal qualities.” H.R. Rep.
No. 89-745, at 11. Congress replaced the national or-
igins system with “a new system of selection de-
signed to be fair, rational, humane, and in the na-
tional interest” (S. Rep. No. 89-748, at 13 (1965)),
based largely on “the advantage to the United States
of the special talents and skills of the immigrant.”
H.R. Rep. No. 89-745, at 18.
On its face, the Proclamation discriminates on
the basis of nationality and therefore violates Section
1152. Although the Proclamation purports to bar on-
ly the entry of designated foreign nationals, it does
so “by precluding consular officers from issuing visas
to nationals from the designated countries.” Pet.
App. 50a. “This directly contravenes Congress’s ‘un-
ambiguous directions that no nationality-based dis-
crimination occur.” Jd. (quoting Legal Assistance for
Vietnamese Asylum Seekers, 45 F.3d at 473) (altera-
tions adopted).®
Section 1152 must be understood to constrain the
powers granted by Section 1182(f). Section 1152, as
the “later-enacted, more specific provision,” “provides
®° The Proclamation also cannot be defended as creating “pro-
cedures for the processing of immigrant visa applications’ (8
U.S.C. § 1152(a)(1)(B)). That statute—at most—permits the ex-
ecutive to regulate the manner in which foreign nationals can
receive visas or enter the United States, but does not authorize
a sweeping ban on nationals from eight countries.
27
a specific anti-discrimination bar to the President’s
general § 1182(f) powers.” Pet. App. 52a. See, e.g.,
Crawford Fitting Co. v. J. T. Gibbons, Inc., 482 U.S.
437, 445 (1987) (“[W]here there is no clear intention
otherwise, a specific statute will not be controlled or
nullified by a general one, regardless of the priority
© gnactment.”) (quotation omitted). Section 1152 al-
so “clearly provides for exceptions in a number of cir-
cumstances,” and “[t]he conspicuous absence” of Sec-
tions 1182(f) and 1185(a) from that list strongly indi-
cates that Congress did not intend to include them.
Pet. App. 52a-53a.
The government asserts that there is no conflict
between the Proclamation and Section 1152 because,
“if an alien abroad is subject to the Proclamation and
does not qualify for a waiver, he is denied an immi-
grant visa because he is ineligible to enter under
Section 1182.” Pet’r Br. 51 (quotation and alteration
omitted). But it makes no difference that the aliens
who are banned by the Proclamation cannot receive
visas because they are barred from entering the
United States when the reason for that bar is their
national origin.
Congress did not allow for Section 1152 “to be so
easily circumvented.” Pet. App. 51a. Put differently,
Congress could not have intended to prohibit dis-
crimination at the embassy but permit it at the air-
port gate. Congress instead commanded “that gov-
ernment must not discriminate against particular
individuals because of the color of their skin or the
place of their birth,” because such discrimination “is
unfair and unjustified” wherever it occurs. Olsen v.
Albright, 990 F. Supp. 31, 39 (D.D.C. 1997).
In sum, the Proclamation exceeds the authority
conferred by Section 1182—but even if it does not, it
28
nonetheless violates the ban on nationality-based
discrimination codified in Section 1152.6
D. This Court can, and must, adjudicate
the scope of the President’s authority.
“Congress intends the executive to obey its statu-
tory commands and, accordingly, * * * it expects the
courts to grant relief when an executive agency vio-
lates such a command.” Bowen v. Mich. Acad. of
Family Physicians, 476 U.S. 667, 681 (1986). For this
reason, “[rjeview of the legality of Presidential action
can ordinarily be obtained in a suit seeking to enjoin
the officers who attempt to enforce the President's
directive.” Franklin v. Massachusetts, 505 U.S. 788,
828 (1992) (Scalia, J., concurring) (citing Youngstown
Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S. 579 (1952)).
It is fundamental that the President's exercise of
his statutory powers is not above review by this
Court. In Dames & Moore v. Regan, for instance, the
Court addressed claims that President Reagan’s ex-
ecutive order suspending certain claims against Iran
exceeded the President’s statutory powers, holding
that the order fell within that authority. 453 US.
654, 666-667 (1981). See also United States ex rel.
Knauff v. Shaughnessy, 338 U.S. 537, 544-547 (1950)
(reviewing on the merits claims that a presidential
proclamation violated two statutes). Respondents
here raise a similar claim, arguing that the Order
® To be sure, the text of Section 1152 only prohibits discrimi-
nation with respect to immigrant visas. But the basic nondis-
crimination principle that it embodies is reflected throughout
U.S. law. Olsen, 990 F. Supp. at 33 (addressing nonimmigrant
visas). Section 1182(f) therefore does not confer authority to
discriminate on this basis with respect to nonimmigrant visas
in the absence of a reasonable justification for displacing this
fundamental principle. Such a justification is lacking here.
29
exceeds the President’s limited authority under Sec-
tion 1182(f).
To be sure, there is a narrow exception to judicial
review where a statute gives the President unlimited
discretion to make a discrete and specific decision.
See Dalton, 511 U.S. at 477. This rule reflects the
general principle that review is unavailable when a
statute is “drawn in such broad terms that in a given
case there is no law to apply.” Heckler v. Chaney, 470
U.S. 821, 830 (1985).
The President's discretion under Section 1182(f)
is not unlimited, as it was in Dalton. Instead, the
President's authority is constrained by the require-
ment that he make an adequate finding of detriment,
and that he exercise his power under Section 1182
reasonably. Accord Sale v. Haitian Ctrs. Council,
Inc., 509 U.S. 155, 187-188 (1993) (assessing legality
of President’s exercise of Section 1182(f) authority).
The Proclamation is unlawful—and the Court should
say so.
Petitioners’ invocation of the so-called “consular
nonreviewability” doctrine is similarly misplaced.
Petr Br. 19. The question here does not involve an
individualized, discretionary “decision” by a “consu-
lar official” to “issue or withhold a visa.” Saavedra
Bruno vy. Albright, 197 F.3d 1153, 1159 (D.C. Cir.
1999). Rather than any discretionary determination,
it is the scope of the President's authority to estab-
lish broad standards banning wholesale immigration
from certain specified nationalities. Such determina-
tions are reviewable. Cf. Patel v. Reno, 134 F.3d 929,
932 (9th Cir. 1997) (“The Patels are challenging the
consul’s authority to suspend their visa applications,
not challenging a decision within the discretion of
the consul. Therefore, jurisdiction exists to consider
30
whether the consulate has the authority to suspend
the visa applications.”). And, given that many re-
spondents are not themselves foreign nationals, the
harms addressed in this case span far beyond indi-
vidualized entry or admissions decisions.
Petitioners assert that this “distinction is fun-
damentally flawed” because the doctrine of consular
nonreviewability bars any “review of the President’s
national-security and foreign-relations judgments.”
Pet’'r Br. 21-22. But that argument proves too much.
“The Executive has broad discretion over the admis-
sion and exclusion of aliens, but that discretion is not
boundless.” Abourezk, 784 F.2d at 1061. To the ex-
tent that courts ever hesitate to review statutory
claims about individualized consular officer determi-
nations, that has no bearing on the sort of claims
raised here.
CONCLUSION
The judgment of the court of appeals should be
affirmed.
Respectfully submitted.
ANDREW J. PINCUS
Counsel of Record
PAUL W. HUGHES
Mayer Brown LLP
1999 K Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 263-3000
apincus@mayerbrown.com
Counsel for Amici Curiae
MARCH 2018
See
la
APPENDIX A
LIST OF AMICI CURIAE
A Medium Corporation
Adobe Systems Incorporated
AdRoll, Inc.
Affirm, Inc.
Airbnb, Inc.
AltSchool, PBC
Amazon.com, Inc.
Ampush LLC
Asana, Inc.
Atlassian Corp. Plc
Automattic/WordPress.com
Azavea Inc.
Bigtooth Ventures
Bitly, Inc.
27.
28.
2a
Box, Inc.
Braze, Inc. (formerly Appboy, Inc.)
Brightcove Inc.
Bungie, Inc.
CareZone Inc.
Casper Sleep Inc.
Castlight Health
Checkr Inc.
Chegg, Inc.
Chobani, LLC
Civis Analytics, Inc.
ClassPass Inc.
Cloudera, Inc.
Cloudflare, Inc.
Codecademy
30.
31.
32.
33.
34.
35.
36.
37.
38.
39.
40.
41.
42.
43.
44.
3a
Color Genomics, Inc.
Copia Institute
DocuSign, Inc.
Dropbox, Inc.
eBay Inc.
Edmodo, Inc.
Electronic Arts Inc.
Eventbrite Inc.
Expa, LLC
Facebook, Inc.
Fastly, Inc.
Flipboard, Inc.
Foursquare Labs, Inc.
General Assembly Space, Inc.
GitHub, Inc.
59.
4a
Glassdoor
Google LLC
Greenough Consulting Group
Gusto
Hewlett Packard Enterprise
HP Inc.
IDEO LLP
Justworks
Kickstarter, PBC
Knotel
Lam Research Corporation
Levi Strauss & Co.
Light Labs Inc.
Linden Research, Inc. d/b/a Linden Lab
Lyft, Inc.
5a
Mapbox, Inc.
Marin Software Incorporated
Medallia, Inc.
Medidata Solutions, Inc.
Microsoft Corporation
Minted, LLC
Molecule Software, Inc.
MongoDB, Inc.
Mozilla Corporation
MPOWERD Inc.
Netflix, Inc.
NETGEAR, Inc.
NewsCred, Inc.
NIO US.
Oath, Inc.
88.
89.
6a
Pandora Media, Inc.
Patreon, Inc.
PayPal Holdings, Inc.
Pixability, Inc.
Plaid Inc.
Postmates Inc.
Pure Storage, Inc.
Quantcast Corp.
Quora, Inc.
RealNetworks, Inc.
Reddit, Inc.
Redfin Corporation
Salesforce.com, Inc.
Shutterstock, Inc.
Singularity University
90.
91.
101.
102.
103.
104.
7a
Snap Inc.
Space Exploration Technologies Corp.
Spokeo, Inc.
SpotHero, Inc.
Spotify USA Inc.
Square, Inc.
Squarespace, Inc.
Strava, Inc.
SugarCRM
Sunrun, Inc.
SurveyMonkey Inc.
TaskRabbit, Inc.
Tesla, Inc.
Thumbtack, Inc.
TripAdvisor, Inc.
105,
106,
107.
108.
109.
110.
111.
112.
113.
114.
115.
8a
Turo Ine,
Twilio Ine.
Uber Technologies, Inc.
Upwork Inc.
Verizon Communications Inc.
Via Transportation, Inc.
Warby Parker
Wikimedia Foundation, Inc.
Work & Co.
Workday, Inc.
Y Combinator Management, LLC
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.